Holiday Notice: The Office of the Texas Secretary of State will be closed Monday, May 29th in observance of Memorial Day. The office will resume normal operating hours of 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Tuesday, May 30th. Electronic filing and business document searches will be available through SOSDirect.
Election Outlook: Voters who do not possess and cannot reasonably obtain one of the seven forms of approved photo ID have additional options at the polls  |  More about Identification Requirements for Voting
Elections and Voter Information

Voter Information

Offices up for Election in 2014

Note: This is a preliminary list that is subject to change as we are notified about vacancies and newly-created offices. Also, visit our website for an unofficial list of candidates once filing is underway.

Office Term
Federal Offices
United States Senator

John Cornyn

6 yr. term
All 36 United States Representatives 2 yr. term
State Offices
Governor 4 yr. term
Lieutenant Governor 4 yr. term
Attorney General 4 yr. term
Comptroller of Public Accounts 4 yr. term
Commissioner of General Land Office 4 yr. term
Commissioner of Agriculture 4 yr. term
1 Commissioner of the Railroad Commission

Barry Smitherman

6 yr. term
3 Members of the Texas Supreme Court

Chief Justice, Place 1 (Wallace B. Jefferson)
Justice, Place 7 (Jeffrey S. Boyd)
Justice, Place 8 (Phil Johnson)

6 yr. term
3 Members of the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals

Judge, Place 3 (Tom Price)
Judge, Place 4 (Paul Womack)
Judge, Place 9 (Cathy Cochran)

6 yr. term
15 State Senators

District 2
District 3
District 5
District 7
District 8
District 9
District 10
District 14
District 15
District 16
District 17
District 23
District 25
District 30
District 31

4 yr. term
All 150 State Representatives 2 yr. term
7 State Board of Education Members

District 2
District 3
District 4
District 7
District 11
District 12
District 13

4 yr. term
Chief Justice of Courts of Appeals

3rd Court of Appeals
4th Court of Appeals
7th Court of Appeals
8th Court of Appeals
9th Court of Appeals
12th Court of Appeals
14th Court of Appeals

6 yr. term
Various Court of Appeals Justices 6 yr. term
Various District Judges 4 yr. term
Various Criminal District Judge 4 yr. term
Various Family District Judges 4 yr. term
District Attorneys 4 yr. term
Criminal District Attorneys 4 yr. term
County Offices
County Judge 4 yr. term
Judge, County Court-at-Law 4 yr. term
Judge, County Criminal Court 4 yr. term
Judge, County Probate Court 4 yr. term
District Clerks 4 yr. term
District & County Clerks 4 yr. term
County Clerks 4 yr. term
County Treasurer 4 yr. term
County Surveyor 4 yr. term
County Commissioners, Precincts 2 & 4 4 yr. term
Justices of the Peace 4 yr. term
Constable 4 yr. term

NOTE: For many years, article XVI, Section 65 of the Texas Constitution set out which county offices would be up for election. This language (setting up the staggering scheme) was omitted in 1999 in "clean-up" legislation. Our office requested an attorney general opinion, expressing our concern about the omitted staggering scheme. The attorney general opined that because the staggering scheme was removed, any newly-created offices would be on the next ballot for the full four-year term. See Texas Attorney General Opinion Number JC-0519 (2002). You will need to check your county records to see if your county created new offices since the 1999 constitutional change.

NOTE: Please visit our website for an unofficial list of candidates.