PROPOSED

ULE

Proposed rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing rules.
A state agency shall give at least 30 days' notice of its intention to adopt a rule before it
adopts the rule. A state agency shall give all interested persons a reasonable opportunity to

submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing (Government Code, Chapter 2001).

Symbols in proposed rule text. Proposed new language is indicated by underlined text. [Square-brackets-and-strikethrough]
indicate existing rule text that is proposed for deletion. “(No change)” indicates that existing rule text at this level will not be

amended.

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION

PART 3. OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY
GENERAL

CHAPTER 69. PROCUREMENT
SUBCHAPTER D. CONTRACT MONITORING
1 TAC §69.55

The Office of the Attorney General (OAG), Contracts and Asset
Management Division, proposes adding Subchapter D, §69.55,
concerning identifying and escalating contracts that require en-
hanced contract or performance monitoring.

The 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session (2015), enacted
Senate Bill (SB) 20, effective September 1, 2015. SB 20 relates
to state contracting and amends, among other things, numer-
ous sections within the Texas Government Code relating to state
agency purchasing and contracting. In particular, newly-enacted
§2261.253(c) of the Government Code, "Required Posting of
Certain Contracts; Enhanced Contract and Performance Mon-
itoring," requires:

« each state agency, by rule, to establish a procedure to:

- identify contracts that require enhanced contract or perfor-
mance monitoring; and

- submit information on these contracts to the agency's govern-
ing official.

+ Additionally, the agency's contract management office or pro-
curement director is required to immediately notify the agency's
governing official of any serious issue or risk that is identified with
respect to a contract monitored under §2261.253(c).

Mr. Louis Sellers, Chief, Contracts and Asset Management Divi-
sion, has determined that for the first five-year period the section
is in effect there will be no additional estimated costs to the state
expected as a result of enforcing or administering the rule.

Mr. Sellers has determined that for each year of the first five
years the section is in effect the public benefit anticipated as a
result of the addition of the section will be a more streamlined
monitoring of contracts.

Mr. Sellers has also determined that there is no anticipated cost
to persons who are required to comply with the section as pro-
posed.

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted for 30
days following the publication of this notice to Mr. Louis Sellers,
Chief, Contracts and Asset Management Division, Office of the
Attorney General, P.O. Box 12548, Austin, Texas 78711-2548,
Louis.Sellers@texasattorneygeneral.gov.

The new section is proposed in accordance with Government
Code, §2261.253(c), which requires the OAG to establish a pro-
cedure to identify each contract that requires enhanced contract
or performance monitoring.

No other code, article or statute is affected by this proposal.

$69.55.  Identification and Escalation of Contracts that Require En-
hanced Contract or Performance Marketing.

(a) The agency will complete a risk assessment to identify con-
tracts that require enhanced contract or performance monitoring.

(b) Information on these contracts will be reported to the First
Assistant Attorney General at least quarterly. The First Assistant At-
torney General will be notified immediately of any serious issue or risk
that is identified with respect to such a contract.

(c) This subchapter does not apply to a memorandum of un-
derstanding, interagency contract, interlocal agreement, or contract for
which there is not a cost.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 26,

2016.

TRD-201600343

Amanda Crawford

General Counsel

Office of the Attorney General

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7940

¢ ¢ ¢

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 352. MEDICAID AND CHILDREN'S
HEALTH INSURANCE PROGRAM PROVIDER
ENROLLMENT

1 TAC §§352.3, 352.7, 352.9, 352.21

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
proposes amendments to §352.3, concerning Definitions;
§352.7, concerning Applying for Enroliment; §352.9, concerning
Screening Levels; and §352.21, concerning Duty to Report
Changes.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION
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Providers enrolled in Texas Medicaid and Medicare histori-
cally have been able to submit new location information using
Provider Information Change (PIC) forms alone; however,
§352.7 currently requires providers to submit a completed
enrollment application for each practice location.

The use of PIC forms to add practice locations is allowable under
federal and state law and in alignment with federal direction that
state Medicaid programs can access the CMS enrollment sys-
tem, or the Medicare Provider Enrollment, Chain, and Ownership
System (PECOS), to verify provider location information. After
implementation of the Affordable Care Act (ACA), CMS further
encouraged use of PECOS by the states to determine whether
practice locations were screened under Medicare, instead of re-
quiring state Medicaid programs to redundantly screen Medi-
care-enrolled practice locations.

The current state requirement that a completed enroliment ap-
plication be submitted for each new practice location creates
an unnecessary administrative burden for providers, particularly
considering that under the ACA, all providers must re-enroll by
March 24, 2016. Texas Medicaid has a strong interest in en-
suring that the administrative burden associated with enroliment
and re-enroliment is not in excess of what is required by state
and federal law, as long as all practice locations are screened
and validated and mandated disclosures are still collected.

To ensure practice locations are enrolled in compliance with state
and federal rules, while limiting the administrative burden for
providers, these amendments revise rule provisions to require
one enrollment application for each provider and all applicable
application fees, and then leverage available Medicare data to
ensure practice locations not included in the initial enroliment ap-
plication are screened and validated. PIC forms, in lieu of a com-
plete new application, will be accepted for limited-risk Medicaid
providers and providers enrolled in both Medicaid and Medicare
to update their practice locations. PIC forms or other supple-
mental forms will be revised as needed to indicate to the Texas
Medicaid and Health Partnership and the HHSC Office of the In-
spector General when the submitted form is not sufficient and
will indicate that an enrollment application must be submitted for
the new practice location (e.g. if the new location is associated
with a new program or provider type or ownership change).

The proposed amendments will occur concurrently with amend-
ments proposed for Chapter 371, Subchapter E of this title (re-
lating to Provider Disclosure and Screening). The amendments
to Chapter 371 were published in the January 29, 2016, issue of
the Texas Register (41 TexReg 717).

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

Proposed §352.3 is amended to clarify that the definition for "Ap-
plicant" includes the enroliment of a practice location as defined
in paragraph (7) of the rule. Paragraph (7) is further proposed for
amendment to include the use of a supplemental enroliment form
to add practice locations for Medicare-enrolled or limited-risk
providers.

Proposed §352.7 removes language that requires a completed
enrollment application for each practice location, to align with
changes allowing for the use of a PIC form to add new practice
location information for certain enrolled providers.

Proposed §352.9 clarifies that HHSC may rely on Medicare
screening data as required under 42 Code of Federal Regula-
tions §455.410. The amendment also clarifies that screenings

of provider practice locations may be conducted by a designee
of HHSC.

Proposed §352.21 adds language clarifying that certain supple-
mental forms (including a PIC form) may be used by providers,
as determined by HHSC, to notify HHSC of certain changes to
its enroliment.

FISCAL NOTE

Greta Rymal, Deputy Executive Commissioner for Financial Ser-
vices, has determined that for each year of the first five years the
amended rule are in effect, there will be no impact to costs or rev-
enues of state or local governments.

SMALL BUSINESS AND MICRO-BUSINESS IMPACT ANALY-
SIS

HHSC has determined that there will be no adverse economic ef-
fect on small businesses or micro-businesses to comply with the
amended rules, as they will not be required to alter their business
practices to their detriment as a result of the amended rules.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COSTS

Gary Jessee, State Medicaid Director, has determined that for
each year of the first five years the rules are in effect, the public
will benefit from the adoption of the rules. The anticipated public
benefit will be a decreased administrative burden on Medicaid
providers.

Ms. Rymal has also determined that during the first five years
the proposal is in effect, there are no anticipated costs to persons
required to comply from implementing and enforcing the rule as
proposed.

HHSC has determined that the amended rules will not affect a
local economy. There is no anticipated negative impact on local
employment.

REGULATORY ANALYSIS

HHSC has determined that this proposal is not a "major environ-
mental rule" as defined by §2001.0225 of the Texas Government
Code. A "major environmental rule" is defined to mean a rule the
specific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce
risk to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of a state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

HHSC has determined that this proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under §2007.043 of the Government Code.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to
Alexander Melis; by fax to (512) 730-7472; by mail to P.O.
Box 13247, MC H310, Austin, Texas 78711; or by e-mail to
alex.melis@hhsc.state.tx.us within 30 days of publication of this
proposal in the Texas Register.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are proposed under Texas Government Code
§531.033, which provides the Executive Commissioner of HHSC
with broad rulemaking authority, and Texas Human Resources
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Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code §531.021(a), which
provide HHSC with the authority to administer the federal medi-
cal assistance (Medicaid) program in Texas.

The proposed amendments implement Texas Human Resources
Code, Chapter 32, and Texas Government Code, Chapter 531.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by this proposal.

$§352.3.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, have the
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) Applicant--An individual or an entity that submits an
enrollment application to enroll or re-enroll as [beceme] a provider or
to enroll a new practice location in Medicaid or CHIP as described in
paragraph (7) of this section.

(2) CHIP--The Texas State Children's Health Insurance
Program established under Title XXI of the federal Social Security
Act (42 U.S.C. §§1397aa, et seq.) and Chapter 62 of the Health and
Safety Code.

(3) Change of ownership--A change of ownership related
to a partnership, sole proprietorship, corporation, or leasing arrange-
ment as defined in 42 CFR §489.18.

(4) Designee--An entity to which HHSC has delegated cer-
tain functions for provider enrollment purposes. A designee may in-
clude:

(A) an HHSC contractor;
(B) ahealth and human services agency; or

(C) amanaged care organization (MCO) that contracts
with HHSC under Medicaid or CHIP.

(5) Disenroll--To end a provider's participation in Medic-
aid or CHIP before the end of the provider's current enrollment period.

(6) Enrollment--The process for applying to become
a provider, including contracting and procedures for determining
whether to grant approval to enter into a provider agreement.

(7) Enrollment application--Documentation required [A
form preseribed] by HHSC that an applicant [er re-enrolling provider|
submits to HHSC [er its designee] to enroll or re-enroll as a provider
or to add a new practice location. An enrollment application includes
supplemental forms used to add practice locations for Medicare-en-
rolled or limited-risk providers, as determined by HHSC.

(8) Enrollment type--A type of enrollment category that
identifies how the applicant seeks to enroll, such as individual, group,
performing provider, or facility.

(9) Entity--A provider group, a facility, an organization, or
a business registered with the Texas Secretary of State.

(10) Health care practitioner--A physician or non-physi-
cian licensed or certified health care provider who is recognized by fed-
eral law or by HHSC as a provider who can bill for medical services or
benefits, submits orders or referrals for services to treat, certifies medi-
cal need for services, or supervises other individuals providing services
and benefits to Medicaid or CHIP recipients.

(11) Health and human services agency--A state agency
identified in §531.001(4) of the Government Code.

(12) HHSC--The Texas Health and Human Services Com-
mission or its designee.

(13) Medicaid--The medical assistance program, a state
and federal cooperative program authorized under Title XIX of the

Social Security Act that pays for certain medical and health care costs
for people who qualify.

(14) National Provider Identifier--A unique ten-digit iden-
tification number assigned by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid
Services.

(15) Overpayment--A payment made to a provider in ex-
cess of the amount that is allowable for the service provided, plus any
accrued interest.

(16) Person with an ownership or control interest--Has the
meaning assigned by §371.1003 of this title (relating to Definitions).

(17) Provider--An applicant that successfully completes
the enrollment process outlined in this chapter and in Chapter 371 of
this title (relating to Medicaid and Other Health and Human Services
Fraud and Abuse Program Integrity).

(18) Provider agreement--An agreement between HHSC
and a provider wherein the provider agrees to certain contract provi-
sions as a condition of participation.

(19) Re-enrolling provider--A provider that submits an en-
rollment application before the end of the provider's current enrollment
period.

(20) Recipient--A person receiving benefits under Medic-
aid or CHIP.

(21) Surety bond--One or more bonds issued by one or
more surety companies under 31 U.S.C. §§9304 - 9308 and 31 CFR
parts 223, 224, and 225.

(22) Terminate--To take an adverse action against a
provider whose participation in Medicaid or CHIP has ended at federal
or state agency direction due to violation of state rules or federal
regulations.

(23) Third-party billing vendor--A vendor registered with
HHSC or its designee that submits claims for reimbursement on behalf
of a provider.

$352.7.  Applying for Enrollment.

(a) To apply for enrollment or re-enrollment, an applicant or
re-enrolling provider must:

(1) meet the requirements outlined in §352.5 of this chapter
(relating to Provider Enrollment Requirements) and Chapter 371 of this
title (relating to Medicaid and Other Health and Human Services Fraud
and Abuse Program Integrity);

(2) complete an enrollment application [feor each practice
leeatien] in accordance with the criteria specified by HHSC or its de-
signee and the instructions contained in the application;

(3) submit a supplemental application form or forms for
any new practice location in accordance with the criteria specified by
HHSC and the instructions contained in the form;

(4)  [3)] submit an application fee for each practice loca-
tion, as described in subsection (b) of this section;

(5) [¢4)] submit documentation to show proof of registra-
tion and good standing with the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts,
the Texas Secretary of State, or any other documentation requested by
HHSC or its designee, as applicable;

(6) [65)] provide a copy of a surety bond obtained pursuant
to §352.5 of this chapter;
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(7)  [€6)] certify that the information contained in the appli-
cation is true and accurate to the best of the applicant's or re-enrolling
provider's knowledge; and

(8) [€H] submit a signed provider agreement with each en-
rollment application. By signing the provider agreement, the applicant
or re-enrolling provider acknowledges that the applicant or re-enrolling
provider will comply with all terms and conditions of the provider
agreement.

(b) If an applicant or re-enrolling provider must pay an appli-
cation fee pursuant to 42 CFR §455.460 in an amount determined by
42 CFR §424.514, the applicant or re-enrolling provider must submit:

(1) the application fee; or

(2) documentation showing proof of payment of the appli-
cation fee within the current enrollment period (as defined by 42 CFR
§424.515) under Title XVIII or any other state's program under Title
XIX or Title XXI of the Social Security Act.

(c) An applicant or re-enrolling provider must provide all ad-
ditional information requested by HHSC or its designee in connection
with the processing of the enrollment application, by the deadline and
in the manner indicated in the request. If the applicant or re-enrolling
provider fails to comply with this requirement, the enrollment applica-
tion will be closed.

(d) Ifan applicant or re-enrolling provider fails to meet any of
the requirements in this section, HHSC or its designee will consider
the enrollment application incomplete and the application will not be
processed.

§352.9.  Screening Levels.
(a) HHSC assigns an applicant or re-enrolling provider a
screening level of "Limited," "Moderate," or "High" based on:

(1) the federal screening level for the type of provider as
provided by 42 CFR §424.518, if applicable;

(2) the federal screening level for the type of provider as
provided by 42 CFR §455.450; or

(3) HHSC's assessment of:

(A) the risk level for potential fraud, waste, or abuse
associated with the type of provider or the geographical area; or

(B) other factors as determined by HHSC, including:
(i) achange in business structure or organization;
(ii) past practices and circumstances; and
(iii)  access to care in a geographical area.

(b) For a screening level of "Limited" or "Moderate" assigned
under subsection (a) of this section, HHSC may assign a higher screen-
ing level based on provider, type of provider, or geographical area. For
the requirements outlined in subsection (c) of this section, HHSC may

(iii) conducts database checks pursuant to 42 CFR
§455.436.

(B) A provider assigned a screening level of "Limited"
must submit a new enrollment application at least every five years, un-
less HHSC determines a shorter enrollment period.

(2) Moderate.

(A) For a provider assigned a screening level of "Mod-
erate," HHSC:

(i) performs the screening described in paragraph
(1)(A) of this subsection; and

(i) performs at least one unscheduled and unan-
nounced pre- and post-enrollment site visit in accordance with 42 CFR
§455.432.

(B) A provider assigned a screening level of "Moder-
ate" must submit a new enrollment application at least every five years,
unless HHSC determines a shorter enrollment period.

(3) High.

(A) Foraprovider assigned a screening level of "High,"
HHSC:

(i) performs the screening described in paragraph
(2)(A) of this subsection;

(i) conducts a criminal background check; and

(iii)  requires the submission of a set of fingerprints
if applicable under 42 CFR §455.434.

(B) A provider assigned a screening level of "High"
must submit a new enrollment application at least every three to five
years, unless:

(i) HHSC determines a shorter enrollment period; or

(i) the provider meets the requirements of
§371.1007 of this title (relating to Screening Levels).

(d) In addition to the screening requirements provided under
this section, additional screening may be performed under §371.1009
of this title (relating to Verifications Required for Each Screening
Level).

(e) A screening level assigned under subsection (a)(3) of this
section is within the sole discretion of HHSC and is not subject to ad-
ministrative review.

$352.21.  Duty to Report Changes.

(a) As a condition of continued enrollment, a provider must
notify HHSC or its designee in writing of any change in its status or
condition with respect to the information disclosed in an enrollment
application or other supplemental form to an enrollment application,
as determined by HHSC, including:

rely on other validated screenings performed by Medicare, as provided
for by 42 C.F.R. §455.410.

(¢) Requirements for screening levels.
(1) Limited.

(A) For a provider assigned a screening level of "Lim-
ited," HHSC:

(i) verifies that a provider meets any federal or state
requirements for that type of provider;

(ii) verifies licensure certifications, including licen-
sure certifications in Texas and any other state; and

(1) National Provider Identifier or associated taxonomy

code;

(2) Medicare number;

(3) Medicare certification status;

(4) federal tax identification number;

(5) responsible billing party for the provider;

(6) physical address for the provider or responsible billing
party;
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(7) the name, address, date of birth, and Social Security
number of any managing employee of the provider;

(8) enrollment type;
(9) provider licensure, certification, accreditation;

(10) any change of ownership as required by 42 CFR
§489.18;

(11) a change in the person with an ownership or control
interest in the provider;

(12) information required to be disclosed under Chapter
371 of this title (relating to Other Health and Human Services Fraud
and Abuse Program Integrity);

(13) third-party billing vendor services; or

(14) any other information required by HHSC or its de-
signee.

(b) Time frame for reporting changes.

(1) If a change described in subsection (a) of this section
occurs due to a change of ownership or control interest, the provider
must report the change to HHSC or its designee within 30 days of the
change of ownership.

(2) For all other changes, the provider must report the
change to HHSC or its designee within 90 days of the occurrence.

(¢) Upon notification of a change that is reported in accordance
with this section, HHSC or its designee may require the submission of a
new enrollment application and fee, if applicable, provider agreement,
provider licensure or certification, or other documentation necessary to
verify the reported change.

(d) If a provider does not report a change as required by this
section or 42 CFR §489.18, or does not submit an item HHSC or its
designee requires under subsection (c) of this section, HHSC or its de-
signee may, retroactive to the date that the change should have been
reported:

(1) disenroll the provider or terminate the provider's partic-
ipation in Medicaid or CHIP;

(2) deny further reimbursement; and
(3) recoup payments made to the provider.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,

2016.

TRD-201600441

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION

PART 3. TEXAS ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGE COMMISSION

CHAPTER 33. LICENSING
SUBCHAPTER A. APPLICATION
PROCEDURES

16 TAC §33.9

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission proposes amend-
ments to §33.9, relating to Fees for On-Line Transactions.

Section 33.9 sets the fees for on-line transactions with the com-
mission. The proposal clarifies that a credit card transaction in-
curs a 25 cent fee, plus an additional fee of 2.75 percent of the
total transaction amount. These fees for the use of a credit card
would not be changed under the proposal.

A transaction paid by ACH or electronic check currently incurs a
25 cent fee plus an additional fee of 0.5% of the total transaction
amount. The proposal would modify the fee structure for these
transactions by eliminating the 25 cent fee and imposing a flat
fee of one dollar rather than basing the fee on the transaction
amount.

The proposed amendments are consistent with the fees required
by Texas.Gov, which processes the commission's on-line trans-
actions.

Section 33.9 is also being reviewed under Government Code
§2001.039, which requires each state agency to periodically re-
view and consider for readoption each of its rules. The commis-
sion has determined that the need for the section continues to
exist but that it should be amended.

Martin Wilson, Assistant General Counsel, has determined that
for each year of the first five years that the proposed amend-
ments will be in effect, there will be no fiscal impact on local
government attributable to the amendments. There should be
no fiscal impact on state government, as the fees are calculated
to recover the costs of the services provided.

The proposed amendments will have no fiscal or regulatory im-
pact on micro-businesses and small businesses or persons reg-
ulated by the commission. Fees for credit card transactions are
unchanged in the proposal. The impact of proposed changes to
the fees for ACH or electronic check transactions will vary de-
pending on the amount of the transaction, but in most cases the
total amount will be less than the total current fees. There is no
anticipated negative impact on local employment.

Mr. Wilson has determined that for each year of the first five
years that the proposed amendments will be in effect, the public
will benefit because the costs of providing on-line transactions
will be covered by those making such transactions.

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted in
writing to Martin Wilson, Assistant General Counsel, Texas Alco-
holic Beverage Commission, at P.O. Box 13127, Austin, Texas
78711-3127 or by facsimile transmission to (512) 206-3280.
They may also be submitted electronically through the com-
mission's public website at http://www.tabc.texas.gov/laws/pro-
posed_rules.asp. Comments will be accepted for 30 days
following publication in the Texas Register.

The staff of the commission will hold a public hearing to receive
oral comments on the proposed amendments on Thursday, Feb-
ruary 25, 2016, at 1:30 p.m. in the commission meeting room at
the commission's headquarters, which is located at 5806 Mesa
Drive in Austin, Texas.
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The proposed amendments are authorized by Alcoholic Bever-
age Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules nec-
essary to carry out the provisions of the Code, and §5.55, which
allows the commission to charge a reasonable service fee to ap-
plicants using electronic or internet service to apply for licenses,
permits and certificates.

The proposed amendments affect Alcoholic Beverage Code
§5.31 and §5.55 and Government Code §2001.039.

$§33.9.  Fees for On-Line Transaction.
(a) This rule relates to §5.55 of the Alcoholic Beverage Code.

(b) A service fee of $0.25 shall be assessed for each on-line
transaction paid by credit card.

(c) An additional fee of 2.75% of the total transaction amount
shall be assessed for transactions paid by credit card.

(d) A service [An additional] fee of one dollar ($1.00) [6-5%
of the total transaction amount] shall be assessed for transactions paid
by ACH or electronic check.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 29,
2016.

TRD-201600387

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 41. AUDITING

SUBCHAPTER C. RECORDS AND REPORTS
BY LICENSEES AND PERMITTEES

16 TAC §41.52

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission proposes amend-
ments to §41.52, relating to Private Clubs--In General.

Section 41.52 sets forth general rules relating to private clubs.
Most of the proposed changes are grammatical, change out-
dated references, correct internal references, change gender-
specific references to gender-neutral references, or change the
word "administrator" to "executive director" (pursuant to Alco-
holic Beverage Code §5.11(b) and commission practice).

Currently, the language of subsection (c)(1)(F) references a tax
bond requirement. Consistent with the commission's treatment
of tax bonds generally, the reference would be changed to apply
to any bond that may otherwise be required but to remove an
affirmative obligation in this section that a bond be maintained.

The proposal also addresses food service requirements in sub-
section (e). The requirement for "complete" meals would be
eliminated. Under the proposal, clubs could fulfill the food ser-
vice obligation by contracting with an outside vendor. The food
would have to be available upon request and be delivered to and
served on the club's premises. In addition, payment for the food
service would have to be made by the member to the club, and
not to the outside vendor.

Section 41.52 is also being reviewed under Government Code
§2001.039, which requires each state agency to periodically re-
view and consider for readoption each of its rules. The commis-
sion has determined that the need for the section continues to
exist but that it should be amended.

Martin Wilson, Assistant General Counsel, has determined that
for each year of the first five years that the proposed amend-
ments will be in effect, there will be no fiscal impact on local or
state government attributable to the amendments.

The proposed amendments will have no fiscal or regulatory im-
pact on micro-businesses and small businesses or persons reg-
ulated by the commission. There is no anticipated negative im-
pact on local employment.

Mr. Wilson has determined that for each year of the first five
years that the proposed amendments will be in effect, the pub-
lic will benefit because regulatory burdens regarding bonds and
food service are relaxed in a manner consistent with the com-
mission's mission.

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted in
writing to Martin Wilson, Assistant General Counsel, Texas Alco-
holic Beverage Commission, at P.O. Box 13127, Austin, Texas
78711-3127 or by facsimile transmission to (512) 206-3280.
They may also be submitted electronically through the com-
mission's public website at http://www.tabc.texas.gov/laws/pro-
posed_rules.asp. Comments will be accepted for 30 days
following publication in the Texas Register.

The staff of the commission will hold a public hearing to receive
oral comments on the proposed amendments on Thursday, Feb-
ruary 25, 2016 at 1:30 p.m. in the commission meeting room at
the commission's headquarters, which is located at 5806 Mesa
Drive in Austin, Texas.

The proposed amendments are authorized by Alcoholic Bever-
age Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules nec-
essary to carry out the provisions of the Code.

The proposed amendments affect Alcoholic Beverage Code
§5.31 and Government Code §2001.039.

$41.52.  Private Clubs--In General.

(a) Scope. This section does not apply to temporary mem-
bers or to hotel patrons, as described in the Alcoholic Beverage Code,
§§32.09, 32.10, and 32.11. In addition, subsection (c)(1)(G) and (H)
and subsection (e) of this section do not apply to fraternal organizations
or to veterans' organizations.

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used
in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) Club--A private club.

(2) Member and membership--a member of and member-
ship in a private club.

(¢) Membership and related topics.

(1) No private club shall be qualified to hold a private club
registration permit unless it shall:

(A) have 50 or more members at all times;

(B) have a membership committee composed of three
or more members of the club and vested with authority by charter,
by-law or regulation to approve or reject membership applications and
terminate existing memberships. The governing body of a club, if
qualified under this provision, may be the membership committee, and
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when functioning as such shall be subject to and governed by all provi-
sions herein relating to the membership committee. When considering
a membership application or termination of membership, the member-
ship committee shall keep written minutes showing the meeting date,
the names of all committee members present, the name of any person
admitted to membership, and the name of any person whose member-
ship was terminated. No minutes shall be required of any discussion or
action regarding a membership application which is denied;

(C) have, other than charter members, no members ex-
cept those approved by at least three members of the membership com-
mittee at a meeting of such a committee;

(D) keep a well-bound [well beund] book in which is
shown the following about each member: the [Fhe] full name of the
member, the member's [his] initial membership number which shall
be issued in sequence, the current complete address of such member,
the date such member was admitted to membership, and the date such
member was removed from membership. When [Previded that when]
a member has been removed from membership, the [his] membership
number may be reassigned to another member. Additional well-bound
[Provided further that additional well bound] books may be used if nec-
essary to record the information required by this paragraph, but all such
books shall be kept permanently by the club. A [Provided further that a]
club using a computer system [business machine] to maintain its mem-
bership records shall not be required to keep a well-bound [well beund]
book if such computer system [machine] provides the [saeh] informa-
tion as [shall be] required by the executive director [administrator], and
is approved in writing by the executive director or the executive direc-
tor's designee [administrator];

(E) keep all books, records and minutes required herein
on the premises of such club, and make them available to any repre-
sentative of the commission upon reasonable notice;

(F) maintain in force any bond required and executed
by [a bend executed by]: the corporation[;] as principal, if an incor-
porated club,[;] or[5] by an officer of the club[;] as principal, if an un-
incorporated club. Such bond shall be executed by a surety company
duly authorized and qualified to do business in this state, as surety, in
an amount required by rule of the commission payable to the State of
Texas conditioned that all fees and taxes owed [ewned] by such club to
the State of Texas shall be paid. Such bond shall be in a form approved
by the executive director [administrator] and the attorney general of
Texas;

(G) if operating under the locker system, at all times
keep all liquor owned by each member under the locker system in a
locker located on the premises and rented only to such member, except
when the member, one of the member's [his] family or the member's
[his] guest is present on the premises and using such liquor; and

(H) if operating under the pool system, keep a well-
bound [well beund] book in which is recorded the following about each
member of the pool: the member's [His] name and membership num-
ber, the date and amount of each liquor pool assessment, and the date
of payment of the assessment. The information required to be kept in
a book by this subparagraph [paragraph] may be kept in the book re-
quired in subparagraph (D) of this paragraph. A [Previded that a] club
using a computer system [business machine] to bill each member of its
liquor pool shall not be required to have such well-bound [well beund]
book if such computer system [machine] provides the [sueh] informa-
tion [as shall be] required by the executive director [administrator] and
is approved by the executive director or the executive director's de-
signee [administrator].

(2) No membership shall be terminated except by action
of the membership committee or by written resignation of the mem-

ber. Resignation of any member shall be recorded immediately in the
minute book of the membership committee and in the records required

by subparagraph [paragraph (1)](D) of this paragraph [subseetion].

(3) The executive director [administrator] may, after notice
and hearing, refuse to issue a private club registration permit if the
executive director [he] finds that the applicant has failed to comply with
any requirement set forth in this subsection.

(4) After notice and hearing the executive director
[administrater] may suspend for a period not exceeding 60 days, or
cancel, a private club registration permit if the executive director
[ke] finds that the holder of the permit, its governing body, or any
of its committees, officers, directors, members, agents, servants, or
employees has failed to comply with any requirement set forth in this
section.

(d) Who may consume. As provided in the Alcoholic Bever-
age Code, §32.01, alcoholic beverages owned by members of a private
club may be served only to and consumed only by a member, a mem-
ber's family, or their guests.

(1) The word "member" shall mean a person who has been
admitted to membership as provided in subsection (c) of this section.

(2) Theterm "member's family" shall mean the spouse, par-
ents, and adult children of the member.

(3) The word "guest" shall mean an individual who is per-
sonally known by the member or one of the member's family and who
is admitted to the club premises by personal introduction of, or in the
physical company of, the member or one of the member's family.

(e) Foodservice. A private club shall provide regular food ser-
vice adequate for its members and their guests. The term "food service
adequate for its members and their guests" shall mean that [eemplete]
meals shall be available on the club premises for service to members,
their families, and guests. The food service requirement may be ful-
filled through the use of a concession or catering agreement with an
outside vendor. Prepared food must be available upon request, and
must be delivered and served at the licensed premises. Payment for
food service must be made to the private club.

(f) Suspension and cancellation. After notice and hearing the
executive director [administrator] may suspend for a period not exceed-
ing 60 days, or cancel, a private club registration permit if the executive
director [he] finds that the club or any of its members, agents, servants,
or employees has:

(1) served, consumed or permitted another person to con-
sume an alcoholic beverage on the premises of the club at any time
when the private club registration permit of such club is suspended by
an order of the executive director [administrater]; or [and)]

(2) made a false statement or a misrepresentation in any
book, record, minutes or report, or other written matter required to be
kept or reported by this section or by any provision of the Alcoholic
Beverage Code.

(g) Permittees may access electronically readable information
on a driver's license, commercial driver's license or identification cer-
tificate for the purpose of verifying the accuracy of the records required
by this rule. Information so accessed may not be retained longer than is
reasonably necessary to insure verification. The information may not
be marketed in any manner. Written consent must be obtained from
the club member or prospective member when accessing electronically
readable [Heense] information and proof of such consent must be main-
tained with the permittee's membership records.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600430

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489

¢ ¢ ¢

16 TAC §41.54

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission proposes the repeal
of §41.54, relating to Destructions.

Section 41.54 addresses the procedures to be followed by cer-
tain permittees and licensees who wish to obtain a tax exemp-
tion or tax credit for alcoholic beverages that are destroyed. The
commission has reviewed the section pursuant to Government
Code §2001.039 and has determined that the need for a rule
continues to exist but that substantial revisions are necessary.
Therefore, the commission is proposing to repeal the text of this
section as it currently exists and separately replace it with new
text under the same rule number and title.

Martin Wilson, Assistant General Counsel, has determined that
for each year of the first five years that the proposed repeal will
be in effect, there will be no fiscal impact on state or local gov-
ernment.

The proposed repeal will have no fiscal or regulatory impact on
micro-businesses and small businesses or persons regulated by
the commission. There is no anticipated negative impact on local
employment.

Mr. Wilson has determined that for each year of the first five
years that the proposed repeal will be in effect, the public will
benefit because outdated and outmoded procedures will be re-
moved so that more efficient procedures can replace them.

Comments on the proposed repeal may be submitted in writing
to Martin Wilson, Assistant General Counsel, Texas Alcoholic
Beverage Commission, at P.O. Box 13127, Austin, Texas 78711-
3127 or by facsimile transmission to (512) 206-3280. They may
also be submitted electronically through the commission's public
website at http://www.tabc.texas.gov/laws/proposed_rules.asp.
Comments will be accepted for 30 days following publication in
the Texas Register.

The staff of the commission will hold a public hearing to receive
oral comments on the proposed repeal on Thursday, February
25, 2016, at 1:30 p.m. in the commission meeting room at the
commission's headquarters, which is located at 5806 Mesa Drive
in Austin, Texas.

The proposed repeal is authorized by Alcoholic Beverage Code
§5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary to
carry out the provisions of the Code.

The proposed repeal affects Alcoholic Beverage Code §5.31 and
Government Code §2001.039.

$41.54.  Destructions.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 29,
2016.

TRD-201600389

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489

¢ ¢ ¢

16 TAC §41.54

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission proposes hew
§41.54, relating to Destructions.

Section 41.54 addresses the procedures to be followed by cer-
tain permittees and licensees who wish to obtain a tax exemp-
tion or tax credit for alcoholic beverages that are destroyed. In
a separate rulemaking, the commission has reviewed the cur-
rent section pursuant to Government Code §2001.039 and has
determined that the need for a rule continues to exist but that
substantial revisions to the existing rule are necessary. There-
fore, in that separate rulemaking the commission is proposing
to repeal the text of this section as it currently exists and in this
rulemaking the commission is proposing to replace it with new
text under the same rule number and title.

Proposed subsection (a) specifies which permittees and li-
censees are entitled to a tax exemption or tax credit for alcoholic
beverages that are destroyed in accordance with the section.

Proposed subsection (b) defines which destructions qualify for a
tax exemption or tax credit.

Proposed subsection (c) specifies the timeline to notify the com-
mission prior to a destruction and that an Application for Destruc-
tion of Alcoholic Beverages must be used to provide the notice.
It also requires that written approval be received before the de-
struction occurs.

Proposed subsection (d) specifies the documents to be retained
after a destruction, including a copy of the Application for De-
struction of Alcoholic Beverages signed by an authorized rep-
resentative of the commission, any receipt for fees charged by
the facility where the destruction occurred, and an affidavit of de-
struction executed by an employee of the permittee or licensee
who witnessed the destruction.

Proposed subsection (e) provides that the approved Application
for Destruction of Alcoholic Beverages must be submitted with
the monthly excise tax report filed with the commission upon
which the tax exemption is claimed. If a permittee or licensee is
unable to claim the destruction as an exemption on a tax report,
the subsection would allow the permittee or licensee to submit a
letter requesting issuance of an authorized tax credit.

Proposed subsection (f) requires that the permittee or licensee
retain a copy of the Application for Destruction of Alcoholic Bev-
erages.

Proposed subsection (g) specifies that the commission may re-
quire that the alcoholic beverages designated for destruction be
physically inspected by the commission's authorized represen-
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tative prior to destruction and/or that the actual destruction be
witnessed by such a representative.

Martin Wilson, Assistant General Counsel, has determined that
for each year of the first five years that the proposed new rule
will be in effect, there will be no fiscal impact on local or state
government.

The proposed new rule will have no fiscal or regulatory impact
on micro-businesses and small businesses or persons regulated
by the commission. There is no anticipated negative impact on
local employment.

Mr. Wilson has determined that for each year of the first five
years that the proposed new rule will be in effect, the public will
benefit because the procedures for claiming a tax exemption or
tax credit on destroyed alcoholic beverages will be clear.

Comments on the proposed new rule may be submitted in writing
to Martin Wilson, Assistant General Counsel, Texas Alcoholic
Beverage Commission, at P.O. Box 13127, Austin, Texas 78711-
3127 or by facsimile transmission to (512) 206-3280. They may
also be submitted electronically through the commission's public
website at http://www.tabc.texas.gov/laws/proposed_rules.asp.
Comments will be accepted for 30 days following publication in
the Texas Register.

The staff of the commission will hold a public hearing to receive
oral comments on the proposed new rule on Thursday, February
25, 2016 at 1:30 p.m. in the commission meeting room at the
commission's headquarters, which is located at 5806 Mesa Drive
in Austin, Texas.

The proposed new rule is authorized by Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary
to carry out the provisions of the Code.

The proposed new rule affects Alcoholic Beverage Code §5.31.
§41.54.  Destructions.

(a) Each permittee subject to the provisions of Alcoholic Bev-
erage Code §§201.03, 201.04, or 201.42, and each licensee subject to
the provisions of Alcoholic Beverage Code §203.01, shall be entitled
to receive a tax exemption or a tax credit for alcoholic beverages de-
stroyed in accordance with the provisions of this section.

(b) To be claimed as a destruction for purposes of receiving a
tax exemption or a tax credit, the alcoholic beverages must be destroyed
in such a manner that the product is rendered unrecoverable or unfit for
human consumption.

(c) Prior to the destruction of alcoholic beverages for which a
tax exemption or tax credit is claimed, the permittee or licensee must
comply with the requirements of this subsection.

(1) Atleast three full working days prior to the destruction,
the permittee or licensee must notify the nearest authorized represen-
tative of the commission of the intent to destroy the alcoholic bever-
ages. This notification must be made in writing on an Application for
Destruction of Alcoholic Beverages and contain a complete listing by
brand, quantity, container size, and package size of the alcoholic bev-
erages to be destroyed. This requirement for a complete listing may
be satisfied by attaching a computerized listing that provides all the re-
quired documentation to the Application for Destruction of Alcoholic
Beverages.

(2) The permittee or licensee must receive written approval

from the nearest authorized representative of the commission to con-
duct the destruction.

(d) To support a claim for a tax exemption or tax credit for
a destruction, the permittee or licensee must retain the documentation
referenced in this subsection and make it available to an authorized
representative of the commission upon request.

(1) A signed copy of the Application for Destruction of Al-
coholic Beverages indicating that it was approved shall be provided to
the permittee or licensee by the nearest authorized representative of the
commission when the destruction is approved.

(2) If the alcoholic beverages were destroyed at a location
which charges a fee for this service, the permittee or licensee shall re-
tain a copy of the receipt for payment of this fee.

(3) An employee of the permittee or licensee who wit-
nessed the destruction of the alcoholic beverages must execute an
affidavit of destruction. The affidavit shall include the date of destruc-
tion, the destruction location, and a description of how the alcoholic
beverages were destroyed. A separate affidavit must be prepared for
distilled spirits and wine, for ale and malt liquor, and for beer.

(e) The approved Application for Destruction of Alcoholic
Beverages (including any attachments) shall be submitted with the
monthly excise tax report filed with the commission upon which the
exemption for the destruction is claimed. If the permittee or licensee
is unable to claim the destruction as an exemption on a tax report,
it may submit a letter to the Commission requesting issuance of an
authorized tax credit.

(f) A copy of the approved Application for Destruction of Al-
coholic Beverages (including any attachments) should be retained in
the permittee's or licensee's files and made available upon request for
inspection by an authorized representative of the commission.

(g) The commission may require that the alcoholic beverages
designated for destruction be physically inspected and inventoried by
a representative of the commission prior to the scheduled destruction
and/or that the actual destruction be witnessed by an authorized repre-
sentative of the commission.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 29,
2016.

TRD-201600394

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 19. EDUCATION

PART 1. TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION
COORDINATING BOARD

CHAPTER 1. AGENCY ADMINISTRATION
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
19 TAC §1.6

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes amendments to §1.6, concerning
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Advisory Committees. Specifically, the proposed amendment to
§1.6(g) provides a nomination process for non-higher education
institutional representatives on certain Coordinating Board advi-
sory committees. This section is also amended to specify that
the Board may replace a member who becomes unassociated
with the nominating institution or entity.

Ms. Linda Battles, Deputy Commissioner for Agency Operations
and Communications/COO, has determined that for each year of
the first five years the section is in effect, there will not be a fiscal
impact to the state.

Ms. Battles has determined that the public benefit anticipated as
a result of administering this section will be the expanded oppor-
tunity for stakeholders who are not affiliated with an institution of
higher education to participate on certain THECB advisory com-
mittees. There is no effect on small businesses. There are no
anticipated economic costs to persons who are required to com-
ply with the section as proposed. There is no impact on local
employment.

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted to
Ms. Linda Battles, Deputy Commissioner for Agency Opera-
tions and Communications/COO, THECB, 1200 East Anderson
Lane, Austin, Texas 78752, linda.battles@thecb.state.tx.us.
Comments will be accepted for 30 days following publication of
the proposal in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under the Texas Government
Code, Chapter 2110, which provides the Coordinating Board with
the authority to create advisory committees.

The amendments affect Texas Administrative Code, Title 19,
Chapter 1, Subchapter A, §1.6.

§1.6.  Advisory Committees.

(a) - (f) (No change.)

(g) Membership. The Board shall solicit nominations and
make appointments from such nominations for membership on advi-
sory committees from presidents and chancellors, or the respective
designee. For advisory committees that include members not asso-
ciated with an institution of higher education, the Board shall solicit
nominations from appropriate entities, such as stakeholder organi-
zations whose membership consists of the type of representative the
advisory committee is seeking. Except as otherwise provided by law,
all members of advisory committees are appointed by and serve at
the pleasure of the Board. Board members may not serve on advisory
committees. If an advisory committee member resigns, is no longer
associated with the nominating institution or entity, dies, becomes
incapacitated, is removed by the Board, otherwise vacates his or her
position, or becomes ineligible prior to the end of his or her term, the
Board may appoint a replacement who shall serve the remainder of
the unexpired term.

(h) - (n) (No change.)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 28,
2016.
TRD-201600366

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER E. STUDENT COMPLAINT
PROCEDURE
19 TAC §§1.110, 1.113 - 1.115

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes amendments to §§1.110 and 1.113
- 1.115, concerning the Student Complaint Procedure. The
amended rules clarify and update the procedures for filing a
student complaint against an institution of higher education.
The new language provides for the use of a more efficient online
student complaint form, updates the mailing address for com-
plaints mailed to the Agency, and specifies that the evaluation
of a student's academic performance is under the sole purview
of the student's institution and its faculty.

Jerel Booker, J.D., Assistant Commissioner for College Readi-
ness and Success, has determined that for each year of the first
five years the sections are in effect, there will not be any fiscal
implications for state or local governments as a result of enforc-
ing or administering the rules.

Mr. Booker has also determined that for each of the first five
years the sections are in effect, the public benefit anticipated as
a result of administering the sections will be an improved under-
standing of the student complaint process. There is no effect on
small businesses. There are no anticipated economic costs to
persons who are required to comply with the sections as pro-
posed. There is no impact on local employment.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Jerel Booker,
J.D., THECB, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711 or via email
at jane.caldwell@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will be accepted
for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the Texas
Register.

The amendments are proposed under the Texas Education
Code, §61.031, which provides the Coordinating Board with
the authority to adopt rules for handling student complaints
concerning higher education institutions.

The amendments affect Texas Education Code, §61.031.
$1.110.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall
have the following meaning, unless the context clearly indicates other-
wise:

(1)-(5) (No change.)

(6) Student complaint form--A standard form required for
filing a student complaint with the Agency, available [in dewnloadable
format] on the Agency's website or by request in hard copy form from
the Agency[; whieh is required to be used in filing any student eom-
plaint with the Agency].

(7) (No change.)

§1.113. Complaints Not Reviewed by the Agency.

The following is a non-exhaustive list of student complaints that are
not reviewed by the Agency:
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(1) (No change.)

(2) The Agency does not intervene in matters solely con-
cerning an individual's grades, [er] examination results, or evaluation
of academic performance, as these are within the sole purview of the
institution and its faculty.

(3) - (8) (No change.)
§1.114. Filing a Complaint.
(a) (No change.)

(b) Complainants shall submit [send] student complaint forms
through the online process provided on the agency's website, by elec-
tronic mail (email) to StudentComplaints@thecb.state.tx.us, or by hard
copy sent [mail] to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board,
College Readiness and Success Division [Office of the General Coun-
sel], P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711-2788. Facsimile (FAX)
transmissions of the student complaint form are not accepted.

(c) - (¢) (No change.)
$§1.115.  Referral of Certain Complaints to Other Agencies or Entities.

Once the Agency receives a student complaint form, the Agency may
refer the complaint to another agency or entity as follows:

(1) Complaints alleging that an institution has violated
state consumer protection laws, e.g., laws related to fraud or false ad-
vertising, may [shall] be referred to the Consumer Protection Division
of the Office of the Attorney General of Texas for investigation and
resolution.

(2) - (4) (No change.)
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600457

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 4. RULES APPLYING TO

ALL PUBLIC INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER
EDUCATION IN TEXAS

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
19 TAC §4.11

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes amendments to §4.11, concerning
the Common Admission Application Forms. The amended rule
adds needed definitions and reorganizes old subsections of the
rule to better group related topics. Old language is amended
to reflect the multiple common admissions applications that are
available and to reflect that two-year public institutions are now
required to accept Apply Texas applications. New language indi-
cates institutions failing to pay their share of the cost by the due
date may be denied access to incoming application data until
such time that payments are received.

Jerel Booker, J.D., Assistant Commissioner for College Readi-
ness and Success, has determined that for each year of the first
five years the section is in effect, there will not be any fiscal im-
plications for state or local governments as a result of enforcing
or administering the rule.

Mr. Booker has also determined that for each of the first five
years the section is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as
a result of administering the section will be an improved under-
standing of the Apply Texas System requirements and options
by participating institutions of higher education. There is no ef-
fect on small businesses. There are no anticipated economic
costs to persons who are required to comply with the section as
proposed. There is no impact on local employment.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Jerel Booker,
J.D., THECB, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711 or via email
at applytexasapplication@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will be
accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the
Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under the Texas Education
Code, §51.762, which provides the Coordinating Board with
the authority to adopt rules for the Apply Texas Admission
Application Forms.

The amendments affect Texas Education Code, §51.762.

$4.11.  Common Admission Application Forms.
(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in

this subchapter, shall have the following meanings:

(1) Apply Texas Advisory Committee--An advisory com-
mittee composed of representatives of general academic teaching insti-
tutions, community college districts, public state colleges, and public
technical institutes, authorized by Texas Education Code, §51.762 and
established in accordance with Board rules, Chapter 1, Subchapter G,
§§1.128 - 1.134 of this title (relating to Apply Texas Advisory Com-
mittee), to provide the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board as-
sistance in developing and implementing admissions application forms

and procedures.

(2) Apply Texas System--the state's system for applying for
admission to Texas public institutions of higher education. The Sys-
tem includes an access portal for completing application forms; help
desks to provide users assistance; and a portal through which Texas
high school counselors access status data regarding student progress in
applying for admission to and financial aid for college.

fa) A commeon application form for freshman and undergrad-
pursuant to Texas Education Code; §51.762. The form is adepted in
both a printed format; distributed each August to Texas high schools
and available at www.collegeforalltexans.com; and in an electronic for-
mat (www-applytexas-org). The Board; with the assistance of an advi-
sory committee established by, and in accordance with; Board rules;
Chapter 1; Subchapter G; §§1-128 - 1134 of this title (relating to Ap-
any changes for subsequent academie years-}

(b) Acceptance of Admission Applications.
(1) Public community [janier] colleges, public state col-

leges, and public technical institutes shall [must] accept freshman and
undergraduate transfer applications submitted using the Board's elec-
tronic common admission application forms [ferm].

(2) General academic teaching institutions shall [must] ac-
cept freshman and undergraduate transfer applications submitted using
either the Board's electronic or printed forms [format].
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(c) Application Forms. Adjustments to Paper Forms. When
sending a printed common application form to a student with or without
other materials, an institution shall not alter the form in any way and
shall include instructions for completing the form, general application
information, and instructions for accessing a list of deadlines for all
institutions.

information regarding gender, race/ethnicity, and date of birth as part of
the application process and report this information to the Coordinating
Board}

K Mgeﬂefalaeadem&eteaehmgmsﬁmﬂeﬂsshaﬂadherefe
the following
no general academic teaching institution's name or logo shall appear
on the form.]

H2) When sending the commeon application to a student
a viewbook, it shall be included with no alterations and shall include
the instraetions for completing the application; the general application
information and the list of deadlines for all general academic teaching
institutions.]

(d) [€e)] Outreach to Public High Schools. The Coordinating
Board shall ensure that copies of the freshman common admission ap-
plication forms [ferm] and information for their [its] use are available
[for distribution] to appropriate personnel at each Texas public high
school. The Coordinating Board will work with institutions and high
schools to ensure that all high schools have access to either the printed
or electronic common application forms [form]. [Participating institu-

tions may charge a reasonable fee for the filing of a commen applieation
form:-|

(e) Data to be Collected.

(1) Common application forms are to include questions
needed for determining an applicant's residence status with regard to
higher education and other information the Board considers appropri-
ate.

(2) Each general academic teaching institution, public
community college, public state college, and public technical institute
shall collect information regarding gender, race/ethnicity, and date of
birth as part of the application process and report this information to
the Coordinating Board. Common application forms do not have to
be the source of those data.

(3) Institutions of higher education may require an appli-
cant to submit additional information within a reasonable time after
the institution has received a common application form.

(f) Publicity. The Board shall publicize in both electronic and
printed formats the availability of the common admission forms.

(g) [€D] Subcontract for Technical Support. The Coordinating
Board shall enter into a contract with a public institution of higher ed-
ucation to maintain the electronic common application system for use
by the public in applying for admission to participating institutions and
for distribution of the electronic application to the participating insti-
tutions designated by the applicant.

(h) Costs.

(1) Participating institutions may charge a reasonable fee
for the filing of a common application form.

(2) Operating costs of the system will be paid for by all
institutions required to use the common application plus independent
and health-related institutions that contract to use the electronic appli-
cation.

(3) Each participating institution shall pay a portion of the
cost based on the percentage of its enrollment compared to the total en-
rollment of all participating institutions based on the [previous year's]
certified enrollment data of the most recent fall semester. The Coor-
dinating Board will monitor the cost of the system and notify the in-
stitutions on an annual basis of their share of the cost. Billings for the
services for the coming year will be calculated and sent to the institu-
tions by September 1 [July 15th] of each fiscal year and payments must
be received no later than December 1[5] of each fiscal year.

(4) The Coordinating Board shall send participating insti-
tutions reminders of payment amounts and the due date. Institutions
failing to pay their share of the cost by the due date may be denied ac-
cess to in-coming application data until such time that payments are
received.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600458

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 21. STUDENT SERVICES
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
19 TAC §21.1

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes amendments to §21.1 concerning
the General Provisions. This section regarding the interest and
sinking fund is amended to reflect current student loan bond
covenants and industry standards.

Dr. Charles W. Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner,
Student Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the section is in effect, there will be
no fiscal implications to state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering the rule.

Dr. Puls has also determined that for each year of the first five
years the section is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a
result of administering this section will be the institution's ability
to better meet the needs of their student populations and local
community's workforce. There is no effect on small businesses.
There are no anticipated economic costs to persons who are
required to comply with the section as proposed. There is no
impact on local employment.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Charles W.
Puls, Ed. D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Student Financial
Aid Programs, THECB, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711,
(512) 427-6365, charles.puls@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will
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be accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in
the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Education Code,
Chapter 52, Subchapter A, which provides the Coordinating
Board with the authority to adopt rules to implement the General
Provisions of the Student Financial Assistance Act of 1975.

The amendments affect Texas Education Code, §52.17.

$21.1.  Fund Requirements for Student Loan Bonds Interest and Sink-
ing Fund.

(a) There shall be deposited into the interest and sinking fund
the following:[-]

(1) Money received in each Fiscal Year as repayment of
student loans granted under the General Provisions of the Student Fi-
nancial Assistance Act of 1975. The accumulated amount for all out-
standing bonds at each fiscal year end shall be sufficient to pay the
interest on and principal due in the ensuing fiscal year.

(2) Money transferred by the Board from the Student Loan
Auxiliary Fund to the extent permitted by law, including Subchapter F
of the General Provisions of the Student Financial Assistance Act of
1975, the Interest and Sinking Fund in the event funds on deposit in
the Interest and Sinking Fund are insufficient to pay principal of and
interest on any of previously issued bonds and additional bonds; and
to the extent permitted by law, including Subchapter F of the General
Provisions of the Student Financial Assistance Act of 1975, to transfer
to other funds and accounts established by the Board to comply with
covenants related to maintaining the tax-exempt status of the bonds.

(3) Accrued interest earned by the interest and sinking ac-
count, if any.

(4) In the event funds on deposit in the Interest and Sink-
ing Fund are insufficient to pay principal of and interest on any of all
outstanding bonds at year end, money required by the Constitutional
Provision and the General Provisions of the Student Financial Assis-
tance Act of 1975 is to be transferred into the Interest and Sinking Fund
by the Comptroller out of first moneys coming into the State Treasury
in each Fiscal Year not otherwise appropriated by the State Constitu-
tion.

HH From the proceeds of the bonds; an amount of money
sufficient to pay the interest on the bonds for a period of 24 months from
the date of the bonds. Such funds so deposited should remain in the
%hebe&résuehmeﬂeymaybe&aﬂsfe&edte%heiexaseppeﬁum&ypl&n
fund to the extent that it will not be needed beeause of money received
as repayment of student loans and interest thereon; and such transfers
should be made only when loan demand has exceeded expectations and
proecedure to reduce transfers between funds to a minimum-]}

H2) From the proceeds of the bends; an ameunt whieh;
when added to the amount now to the eredit of the reserve portion; will
be equal to the average annual prineipal and interest requirements on
the bonds and the outstanding bonds. Such funds so deposited in the
reserve portion of the interest and sinking fund should remain in the
reserve portion and be used only in cases of emergency when no other
treasury; or to make final payments of prineipal and interest to become
due on the bonds: The amount of average annual principal and interest

requirements shall be recomputed only at such times as immediately
after each sale of additional bonds; or; in the event no bond sales eceur

during a fiscal year; only at the elose of a fiseal year]

13) Meney received in each fiseal year as repayment of
student loans granted under the Aet and interest thereon; including in-
terest payments received from the federal government on behalf of stu-
dent borrowers; sufficient to pay the interest on and principal of bonds
to become due during the ensuing fiseal year and sufficient to maintain
the reserve portion equal to the average annual principal and interest
requirements on all bonds; outstanding bonds; and additional bonds at
the time unpaid]
Act to be transferred into the interest and sinking fund by the state trea-
in each fiscal year not otherwise appropriated by the constitution-}

f5) Meney in the interest and sinking fund; ineluding the
and prineipal of the bends

(b) The board may transfer funds, in excess of the ensuing fis-
cal year requirement above, to the Texas Opportunity Plan Fund or the
Student Loan Auxiliary Fund at the beginning of each ensuing fiscal
year.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600423

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢
19 TAC §§21.9 - 21.11

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes the repeal of §§21.9 - 21.11, con-
cerning General Provisions. Section 21.9 is repealed (House Bill
700, 84th Texas Legislature) as it is no longer relevant. Section
21.10 and §21.11 are repealed and readopted to reflect renum-
bering and new language.

Dr. Charles W. Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner,
Student Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the sections are in effect, there will be
no fiscal implications to state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering the rules.

Dr. Puls has also determined that for each year of the first five
years the sections are in effect, there is no impact on the public
as a result of administering these sections. There is no effect
on small businesses. There are no anticipated economic costs
to persons who are required to comply with the sections as pro-
posed. There is no impact on local employment.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Charles W.
Puls, Ed. D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Student Financial
Aid Programs, THECB, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711,
(512) 427-6365, charles.puls@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will
be accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in
the Texas Register.
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The repeals are proposed under Texas Education Code, Chapter
52, Subchapter A, which provides the Coordinating Board with
the authority to adopt rules to implement the General Provisions
of the Student Financial Assistance Act of 1975.

The repeals affect Texas Education Code §56.465.

$§21.9.  Collection of Tuition Set Aside for Texas B-On-Time Loan Pro-
gram.

§21.10. Exclusion of Certain Resources in Determining Need for
State Aid.

$§21.11.  Priority Deadline for Applying for State Aid.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600413

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢
19 TAC §21.9, §21.10

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes new §21.9 and §21.10, concerning
General Provisions. These sections are being repealed and re-
placed with new sections to reflect renumbering and new lan-
guage. New §21.10 is revised to eliminate reference to the first
academic year (2013-2014, or later) to which the financial aid
priority application deadline was applicable.

Dr. Charles W. Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner,
Student Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the sections are in effect, there will be
no fiscal implications to state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering the rules.

Dr. Puls has also determined that for each year of the first five
years the sections are in effect, the public benefit anticipated as
a result of administering these sections will be the institution's
ability to better meet the needs of their student populations and
local community's workforce.

There is no effect on small businesses. There are no anticipated
economic costs to persons who are required to comply with the
sections as proposed. There is no impact on local employment.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Charles W.
Puls, Ed. D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Student Financial
Aid Programs, THECB, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711,
(5612) 427-6365, charles.puls@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will
be accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in
the Texas Register.

The new sections are proposed under Texas Education Code,
Chapter 52, Subchapter A, which provides the Coordinating
Board with the authority to adopt rules to implement the General
Provisions of the Student Financial Assistance Act of 1975.

The new sections affect Texas Education Code, §56.008.

$21.9.  Exclusion of Certain Resources in Determining Need for State
Aid.

The right of a person to receive payments or benefits from the Higher
Education Savings Plan, Prepaid Tuition Unit Undergraduate Educa-
tion Program: Texas Tomorrow Fund II, or the Texas Save and Match
Program, authorized in the Texas Education Code, Chapter 54, Sub-
chapters G, H, or I, is not to be considered an asset of the person or
otherwise included in the person's household income or other finan-
cial resources for purposes of determining the person's eligibility for a
TEXAS grant or other state-funded financial assistance.

§21.10.  Priority Deadline for Applying for State Aid.

(a) All general academic teaching institutions shall use March
15 as their priority application deadline for application for state finan-
cial assistance for the following year.

(b) The priority deadline is not to serve as a determination of
eligibility for state financial assistance, but otherwise eligible students
who apply on or before the deadline shall be given priority considera-
tion for available state financial assistance before other applicants.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600419

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. HINSON-HAZLEWOOD
COLLEGE STUDENT LOAN PROGRAM: ALL
LOANS MADE BEFORE FALL SEMESTER,
1971, NOT SUBJECT TO THE FEDERALLY
INSURED STUDENT LOAN PROGRAM

19 TAC §21.100

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes the repeal of §21.100 concerning the
Hinson-Hazlewood College Student Loan Program: All Loans
Made Before Fall Semester, 1971, Not Subject To The Feder-
ally Insured Student Loan Program. Senate Bill 215, 83rd Texas
Legislature, repealed Texas Education Code, §52.56, which re-
quired the Coordinating Board to provide an annual report on the
operations of the Texas Opportunity Plan Fund. Since §52.56
has been repealed, it is appropriate to delete §21.100 from the
rules.

Dr. Charles W. Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner,
Student Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the section is in effect, there will be
no fiscal implications to state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering the rule.

Dr. Puls has also determined that for each year of the first five
years the section is in effect, there is no impact on the public.
There is no effect on small businesses. There are no anticipated
economic costs to persons who are required to comply with the
section as proposed. There is no impact on local employment.
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Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Charles W.
Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Student Financial
Aid Programs, THECB, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711,
(512) 427-6365, charles.puls@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will
be accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in
the Texas Register.

The repeal is proposed under Texas Education Code, Chapter
52, which provides the Coordinating Board with the authority to
adopt rules to implement the Hinson-Hazlewood College Stu-
dent Loan Program: All Loans Made Before Fall Semester, 1971,
Not Subject To The Federally Insured Student Loan Program

The repeal affects Texas Education Code, §52.56, which was
repealed in FY 2013 (Senate Bill 215, 83rd Texas Legislature).

§21.100. Annual Report.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600429

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER H. TEACHER EDUCATION
LOAN PROGRAM
19 TAC §§21.191 - 21.207

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes the repeal of §§21.191 - 21.207 con-
cerning the Teacher Education Loan Program. The 71st Texas
Legislature repealed the Teacher Education Loan Program in
1989, and there are no remaining loans in repayment. Since
this is no longer an active program, it is appropriate to delete the
rules.

Dr. Charles W. Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner,
Student Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the sections are in effect, there will be
no fiscal implications to state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering the rules.

Dr. Puls has also determined that there will be no impact on
the public. There is no effect on small businesses. There are
no anticipated economic costs to persons who are required to
comply with the sections as proposed. There is no impact on
local employment.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Charles W.
Puls, Ed. D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Student Financial
Aid Programs, THECB, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711,
(512) 427-6365, charles.puls@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will
be accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in
the Texas Register.

The repeals are proposed under Texas Education Code, Chapter
54, §54.101, which provided the Coordinating Board with the au-
thority to adopt rules to implement the Teacher Education Loan
Program.

The repeals relate to Texas Education Code, Chapter 54, former
§54.101, which was repealed in 1989.

$§21.191.  Purpose.

$21.192.  Administration.

§21.193.  Delegation of Powers and Duties.

§21.194 Designation of Institutional Representative.
$21.195.  Definitions.

$§21.196.  Qualifications for Loans.

§21.197.  Allocation of Funds.

$21.198.  Amount of Loan.

§21.199.  Notification of Availability of Teacher Education Loans.
$§21.200. Payments to Students.

§$21.201. Student Status.

$§21.202.  Period of Loans.

$§21.203. Loan Interest.

$§21.204. Repayment of Loans.

$21.205. Loan Cancellation.

$21.206. Postponements.

§21.207.  Enforcement of Collection.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600433

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER I. FUTURE TEACHER LOAN
PROGRAM
19 TAC §§21.221 - 21.241

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) proposes the repeal of §§21.221 - 21.241 concerning the
Future Teacher Loan Program. The 71st Texas Legislature re-
pealed the program in 1989, and there are no remaining loans
in repayment. Since this is no longer an active program, it is ap-
propriate to delete the rules.

Dr. Charles W. Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner,
Student Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the sections are in effect, there will be
no fiscal implications to state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering the rules.

Dr. Puls has also determined that there will be no impact on
the public. There is no effect on small businesses. There are
no anticipated economic costs to persons who are required to
comply with the sections as proposed. There is no impact on
local employment.
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Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Charles W.
Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Student Finan-
cial Aid Programs, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711, (512)
427-6365, charles.puls@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will be
accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the
Texas Register.

The repeal is proposed under Texas Education Code, §60.03
which, prior to the program's repeal in 1989, provided the Coor-
dinating Board with the authority to adopt rules to implement the
Future Teacher Loan Program.

The repeal relates to Texas Education Code, former §60.03,
which was repealed in 1989.

$§21.221.  Purpose.

$21.222.  Administration.

§21.223. Delegation of Powers and Duties.

$§21.224.  Definitions.

$§21.225.  Loans.

§21.226. Eligible Institutions.

§21.227.  Qualifications for Loans.

$§21.228.  Allocation of Funds.

§21.229.  Amount of Loan.

§21.230. Reasonable Expenses for a Student.

§21.231.  Notification of Availability of Future Teacher Loans.
$§21.232.  Identification of Student Records.

$21.233.  Preloan Interview.

§21.234.  Payments to Student.

$21.235.  Student Status.

$§21.236. Period of Loans.

§21.237. Loan Interest.

§21.238.  Repayment under Provisions of Public Law 89-329, the

Higher Education Act of 1965, as Amended, of Loans of Deceased or
Disabled Borrowers.

$§21.239.  Repayment of Loans.
$§21.240. Cancellation of Certain Loan Repayments.
§21.241.  Enforcement of Collections.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600434

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ L4 ¢
SUBCHAPTER L. PAUL DOUGLAS TEACHER
SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM

19 TAC §§21.301 - 21.325

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board) proposes the repeal of §§21.301 - 21.325 concerning the

Paul Douglas Teacher Scholarship Program. Federal legislation
rescinded funding for this program in 1995, and there are no
remaining loans in repayment. Since this is no longer an active
program, it is appropriate to delete the rules.

Dr. Charles W. Puls, Ed. D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner,
Student Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the sections are in effect, there will be
no fiscal implications to state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering the rules.

Dr. Puls has also determined that there will be no impact on
the public. There is no effect on small businesses. There are
no anticipated economic costs to persons who are required to
comply with the sections as proposed. There is no impact on
local employment.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Charles W.
Puls, Ed. D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Student Finan-
cial Aid Programs, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711, (512)
427-6365, charles.puls@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will be
accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the
Texas Register.

The repeal is proposed under Title V Part C (formerly Part D), of
the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, which provides
the Coordinating Board with the authority to adopt rules to im-
plement the Paul Douglas Teacher Scholarship Program.

The repeal affects Title V Part C (formerly Part D), of the Higher
Education Act of 1965, as amended and administered under 34
CFR Part 653.

$§21.301.  Purpose.

$21.302.  Administration.

§21.303.  Delegation of Powers and Duties.
§21.304.  Definitions.

$21.305. Scholarship.

§21.306. Eligible Institutions of Higher Education.
$21.307.  Qualifications for Scholarships.

$21.308.  Criteria for Selecting Scholars.

$§21.309. Special Consideration.

§21.310. Award Amounts.

$21.311.  Criteria for Subsequent Scholarships.
$21.312.  Application Priority Deadlines.

$§21.313.  Notification of Availability of Paul Douglas Teacher Schol-
arship.

$21.314.  Expenditure of Funds.

§21.315.  Payments to Students.

$21.316. Student Status.

§21.317.  Scholarship Conditions.

$21.318.  Noncompliance with the Scholarship Conditions.
$21.319. Period of Loan.

$21.320. Loan Interest.

§21.321. Repayment of Loans.

§21.322.  Minimum Repayment Amounts.

$21.323.  Deferments.

§21.324.  Enforcement of Collection.

$21.325.  Provisions for Disability and Death.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600435

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER O. EARLY CHILDHOOD CARE
PROVIDER STUDENT LOAN REPAYMENT
PROGRAM

19 TAC §§21.465 - 21.477

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes the repeal of §§21.465 - 21.477 con-
cerning the Early Childhood Care Provider Student Loan Repay-
ment Program. No funds have been appropriated for this pro-
gram since FY2005.

Dr. Charles W. Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner,
Student Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the sections are in effect, there will be
no fiscal implications to state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering the rules.

Dr. Puls has also determined that there will be no impact on
the public. There is no effect on small businesses. There are
no anticipated economic costs to persons who are required to
comply with the sections as proposed. There is no impact on
local employment.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Charles W.
Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Student Financial
Aid Programs, THECB, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711,
(512) 427-6365, charles.puls@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will
be accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in
the Texas Register.

The repeals are proposed under Texas Education Code, Chapter
61, §61.871, which provided the Coordinating Board with the
authority to adopt rules to implement the Early Childhood Care
Provider Student Loan Repayment Program.

The repeals relate to Texas Education Code, Chapter 61, former
§8§61.871 - 61.879, which no longer appear in the statute.

$§21.465. Purpose.

§21.466. Definitions.

§21.467. Priorities of Application Acceptance and Selection Crite-
ria.

§21.468.  Eligible Education Loan.

$§21.469. Qualifications for Participation.

$§21.470. Participation Agreement.

§21.471.  Amount of Repayments and Limitations.

$§21.472.  Repayments During the Required Two-Year Service Period.
$§21.473.  Repayments Beyond the Required Two-Year Service Period.

$§21.474.  Terms of Early Childhood Care Provider Loans.
$21.475.  Enforcement of Collection.

$21.476.  Provisions for Disability and Death.

$§21.477.  Dissemination of Information.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600436

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER S. BORDER COUNTY
DOCTORAL FACULTY EDUCATION LOAN
REPAYMENT PROGRAM

19 TAC §§21.590 - 21.596

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes amendments to §§21.590 - 21.596
concerning the Border County Doctoral Faculty Education Loan
Repayment Program. The intent of these amendments is to clar-
ify the definition of eligible institution, align the description of eli-
gible lender and eligible loans with the description used for other
loan repayment program rules, and provide more information on
the application process.

Section 21.590 is re-titled "Authority and Purpose" and amended
to eliminate the redundant scope statement and add the words
"eligible" and "Texas" to the purpose statement.

Section 21.591 regarding eligible institution is amended to state
that medical and dental units are not considered eligible institu-
tions for purposes of this program. Additionally, for institutions
that are not the main campus, both the main campus and the
campus where the faculty member works must be located in a
Texas county that borders Mexico to qualify a faculty member for
participation in the program. A definition for Board is also added.

Section 21.592 is re-titled "Application Process". The amend-
ments to this section provide a description of the application
process, including the role of the institutional presidents and/or
their designees in inviting faculty to submit an application, estab-
lishing objective ranking criteria, and submitting the applications
to the Board in priority order.

Section 21.593 is re-titled "Priority Applications and Ranking Cri-
teria." This amendment suggests possible ranking criteria, mir-
roring criteria documented by officials at some participating in-
stitutions in recent years.

Section 21.594 is re-titled "Eligible Lender and Eligible Education
Loan" and amended to align with the description that appears for
this section in other state loan repayment programs.

Section 21.595 is amended to state that the faculty member must
have received a doctoral degree from an institution that is ac-
credited by a recognized accrediting agency. Subsection (b) is
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shortened to state "eligible institution", which is defined. Subsec-
tion (c) clarifies that applications are submitted by faculty to in-
stitutional officials. This section's outline format is also amended
to conform to that of other sections.

Section 21.596 is amended to state that the annual repayment
shall be payable to the servicer(s) or holder(s) of the loan(s), in
keeping with the procedure for all loan repayment programs.

Dr. Charles W. Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner,
Student Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the sections are in effect, there will be
no fiscal implications to state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering the rules.

Dr. Puls has also determined that for each year of the first five
years the sections are in effect, the public benefit anticipated as
a result of administering these sections will be the institution's
ability to recruit and retain eligible faculty.

There is no effect on small businesses. There are no anticipated
economic costs to persons who are required to comply with the
sections as proposed. There is no impact on local employment.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Charles W.
Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Student Finan-
cial Aid Programs, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711, (512)
427-6365, charles.puls@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will be
accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the
Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Education Code,
Chapter 61, §61.708, which provided the Coordinating Board
with the authority to adopt rules to implement the Border County
Doctoral Faculty Education Loan Repayment Program.

The amendments relate to Texas Education Code, Chapter 61,
§§61.701, 61.7021, and 61.703 - 61.708.

$21.590.  Authority, Scope, and Purpose.
(a) Authority. Authority for this subchapter is provided in the

Texas Education Code, §§61.701- 61.708 [§61-701 through §61.708].

whe have recetved a doctoral degree on or after September 1; 1994;
from an institution of higher education and are employed as a full-time
faculty member with instructional duties in an eligible institution of
higher education that is located in a county that borders Mexico-}

(b) [€e)] Purpose. The purpose of these rules is to implement
the Border County Doctoral Faculty Education Loan Repayment Pro-
gram in order to recruit and retain persons holding a doctoral degree
to become and/or remain full-time faculty with instructional duties in
eligible [Fexas] institutions of higher education located in Texas coun-
ties that border Mexico.

§21.591.  Definitions.
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall

have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise:

(1) Eligible Institution of Higher Education--A public [er

and independent] institution as defined in the Texas Education

Code, §61.003, except for medical and dental units, located in a Texas

county that borders Mexico and, if it is not the main campus of the in-

stitution, whose main campus is located in a Texas county that borders

Mexico. [and an out-of-state institution of higher education that is ac-
eredited by a recognized acerediting ageney:|

(2)-(5) (No change.)

(6) Board--The Texas Higher Education Coordinating

Board.
$21.592.  Application Process [Dissemination of Information].

(a) The Board shall distribute rules and application [pertinent]
information regarding [abeut] the Border County Doctoral Faculty Ed-
ucation Loan Repayment Program to the presidents and/or their de-
signees and to the personnel office at each eligible institution of higher
education [lecated in a Fexas county that borders Mexice], appropriate
professional associations, and other entities.

(b) Institutional presidents and/or their designees shall estab-
lish objective criteria for ranking applications, invite eligible faculty to
submit applications to them or their designees, and rank the applica-
tions in priority order according to instructions from the board.

(c) By the deadline established by the board, institutional pres-
idents and/or their designees shall submit faculty applications to the
board, ranked in priority order, and accompanied by a written descrip-
tion of the ranking criteria.

$§21.593.  Priority Applications and Ranking Criteria [Priorities of
Application Acceptance].

(a) Acceptance of applicants will depend upon the availability
of appropriated funds. Renewal applicants will be given priority over
first-time applicants. [Prier conditional approval shall be communi-

cated to eligible faculty, contingent upon availability of funds and the

&ppkeaﬂ%shamgmet&ﬁpmgmmrequ&emeﬂtsaﬁheeﬂdef@heser-
viee -]

(b) The ranking criteria established for eligible faculty who are
first-time applicants may include, but are not limited to the following:
length of service to the institution, ratio of income to student loan debt,
total amount of student loan debt, institutional need in terms of aca-
demic disciplines, and documented excellence in job performance.

§21.594.  Eligible Lender and Eligible Education Loan.

(a) The Board shall retain the right to determine the eligibil-
ity of lenders and holders of education loans to which payments may
be made. An eligible lender or holder shall, in general, make or hold
education loans made to individuals for purposes of undergraduate and
graduate education and shall not be any private individual. An eli-
gible lender or holder may be, but is not limited to, a bank, savings
and loan association, credit union, institution of higher education, sec-
ondary market, governmental agency, or private foundation.

(b) To be [An education loan that is] eligible for repayment,
an education loan must [is ene that]:

(1) be evidenced by a promissory note for loans to pay for
the cost of attendance for undergraduate or graduate education [was
obtained through a lender for the purpose of attending an eligible insti-
tation of higher edueation|;

[(2) is cvidenced by a promissory note:]

HA) for funds obtained through a federal or state loan
program for higher edueation:]
[(B) with language that clearly indicates that loan pro-

(2) [€)] [is] not be in default at the time the application is
received by the board; [and]

(3) [)] [dees] not entail an [a serviee] obligation to pro-
vide service for loan forgiveness through another program;|-]
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(4) not be subject to repayment through another student
loan repayment program or loan forgiveness program or repayment
assistance provided by the faculty member's employer at the time of

application;
(5) be evident from documentation of the portion of the
consolidated debt that was originated to pay for the cost of attendance

for the faculty member's undergraduate or graduate education, if the
loan was consolidated with other loans; and

(6) not be an education loan from an insurance policy or
pension plan.

§21.595.  Eligible Faculty.
To be eligible for participation in the program, an applicant must:

(1) have received a doctoral degree on or after September
1, 1994, from an institution of higher education that is accredited by a
recognized accrediting agency;

(2) be employed as a full-time faculty member with in-
structional duties in an eligible institution [ef higher education that is
located in a county that borders Mexieo]; and

(3) submitacompleted application to the institutional pres-
ident or his/her designee [beard; agreeing to meet the conditions ef loan
repayment through the program].
$§21.596. Repayment of Education Loans.

Eligible education loans of qualified faculty members shall be repaid
under the following conditions:

(1) the annual repayment(s) shall be made payable
[co-payable] to the servicer(s) or [faculty member and] the holder(s)
of the loan(s);

(2) the annual repayment(s) shall be made upon the faculty
member's completion of the service period; and

(3) the maximum annual loan repayment amount shall be
$5,000 for a period of up to 10 years.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600431

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER DD. MINORITY DOCTORAL
INCENTIVE PROGRAM OF TEXAS
19 TAC §§21.970 - 21.980

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes the repeal of §§21.970 - 21.980
concerning the Minority Doctoral Incentive Program of Texas.
No funds have been appropriated for this program since the
2004-2005 biennium.

Dr. Charles W. Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner,
Student Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each

year of the first five years the sections are in effect, there will be
no fiscal implications to state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering the rules.

Dr. Puls has also determined that there will be no impact on
the public. There is no effect on small businesses. There are
no anticipated economic costs to persons who are required to
comply with the sections as proposed. There is no impact on
local employment.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Charles W.
Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Student Financial
Aid Programs, THECB, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711,
(512) 427-6365, charles.puls@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will
be accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in
the Texas Register.

The repeals are proposed under Texas Education Code,
§56.162, which provides the Coordinating Board with the author-
ity to adopt rules to implement the Minority Doctoral Incentive
Program of Texas.

The repeals affect Texas Education Code, §§56.161 - 56.171.

$21.970.  Authority and Purpose.

$§21.971.  Definitions.

§21.972.  Eligible Lender or Holder.

$21.973.  Eligible Education Loan.

§21.974.  Responsibilities of Institutional Personnel.
$§21.975.  Qualifications for Participation in the Program.
$21.976.  Priority of Application Acceptance.

$21.977.  Responsibilities and Liabilities of the Eligible Doctoral Stu-
dent.

$21.978.  Guarantee of Payment of Education Loans.
$21.979.  Repayment of Education Loans.

§21.980. Appeals for Exceptions.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600460

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER LL. EARLY CHILDHOOD
CARE PROVIDER STUDENT LOAN
REPAYMENT PROGRAM

19 TAC §§21.2050 - 21.2056

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes the repeal of §§21.2050 - 21.2056
concerning the Early Childhood Care Provider Student Loan Re-
payment Program. No funds have been appropriated for this
program since FY2005.
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Dr. Charles W. Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner,
Student Financial Aid Programs, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the sections are in effect, there will be
no fiscal implications to state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering the rules.

Dr. Puls has also determined that there will be no impact on
the public. There is no effect on small businesses. There are
no anticipated economic costs to persons who are required to
comply with the sections as proposed. There is no impact on
local employment.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Charles W.
Puls, Ed.D., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Student Financial
Aid Programs, THECB, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711,
(512) 427-6365, charles.puls@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will
be accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in
the Texas Register.

The repeals are proposed under Texas Education Code, Chapter
61, §61.871, which provided the Coordinating Board with the
authority to adopt rules to implement the Early Childhood Care
Provider Student Loan Repayment Program.

The repeals relate to Texas Education Code, Chapter 61, former
§8§61.871 - 61.879, which no longer appear in the statute.

$§21.2050.  Authority and Purpose.

§21.2051.  Definitions.

§21.2052.  Priorities of Application Acceptance and Selection Crite-
ria.

$§21.2053. Eligible Education Loan.

$21.2054.  Qualifications for Participation.

$21.2055.  Amount of Repayments and Limitations.

§21.2056.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Dissemination of Information.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600437

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS

PART 9. TEXAS MEDICAL BOARD

CHAPTER 170. PAIN MANAGEMENT
22 TAC §170.3

The Texas Medical Board (Board) proposes amendments to
§170.3, concerning Minimum Requirements for the Treatment
of Chronic Pain.

The amendments are related to pain management agreements.

Section 170.3(4)(C) adds new language relating to limitations on
the number of physicians who may prescribe to a patient dan-
gerous and scheduled drugs for the treatment of chronic pain.
The new language now allows a covering physician acting in
compliance with Chapter 177, Subchapter E of this title (relating
to Physician Call Coverage Medical Services) to prescribe dan-
gerous and scheduled drugs for the treatment of chronic pain.
New language also specifies that if a patient is treated for acute
chronic pain by a physician other than the physician who is party
to the pain management agreement or the covering physician,
that the patient must inform notify the primary or covering physi-
cian, at the next date of service, about the prescription. The rule
sets out specific requirements for the content of this notification.

The amendments to paragraph (4)(D) amend the exception to
the one pharmacy requirement of pain management agreements
by eliminating the requirement that the designated pharmacy
be out of stock of the drug prescribed, and substituting broader
language involving "circumstances for which the patient has no
control or responsibility, that prevent the patient from obtaining
prescribed medications at the designated pharmacy under the
agreement." The amendment includes the requirement that if
such circumstances apply and a prescription is filled at a phar-
macy other than the designated pharmacy, the patient inform
the primary or covering physician of the circumstances and the
name of the pharmacy that dispensed the medication.

Scott Freshour, General Counsel for the Board, has determined
that for each year of the first five years the section as proposed
is in effect the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing
this proposal will be to clarify the minimum requirements for pain
management agreements and provide reasonable flexibility to
patients subject to such agreements. A further public benefit is
that issues of diversion and doctor shopping will be more effec-
tively regulated by the Board.

Mr. Freshour has also determined that for the first five-year pe-
riod the section is in effect there will be no fiscal implication to
state or local government as a result of enforcing the section as
proposed. There will be no effect to individuals required to com-
ply with this rule as proposed. There will be no effect on small
or micro businesses.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Rita Chapin,
P.O. Box 2018, Austin, Texas 78768-2018 or e-mail comments
to: rules.development@tmb.state.tx.us. A public hearing will be
held at a later date.

The amendment is proposed under the authority of the Texas Oc-
cupations Code Annotated, §153.001, which provides authority
for the Board to adopt rules and bylaws as necessary to: govern
its own proceedings; perform its duties; regulate the practice of
medicine in this state; enforce this subtitle; and establish rules
related to licensure.

The amendment is also authorized by Chapter 107, Texas Oc-
cupations Code.

§170.3.  Minimum Requirements for the Treatment of Chronic Pain.

A physician's treatment of a patient's pain will be evaluated by con-
sidering whether it meets the generally accepted standard of care and
whether the following minimum requirements have been met:

(1)-(3) (No change.)

(4) Agreement for treatment of chronic pain. A proper pa-
tient-physician relationship for treatment of chronic pain requires the
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physician to establish and inform the patient of the physician's expec-
tations that are necessary for patient compliance. If the treatment plan
includes extended drug therapy, the physician must use a written pain
management agreement between the physician and the patient outlin-
ing patient responsibilities, including the following provisions:

(A) the physician may require laboratory tests for drug
levels upon request;

(B) the physician may limit the number and frequency
of prescription refills;

(C) only the [ene] physician or another physician cov-
ering for the physician in compliance with Chapter 177, Subchapter
E of this title (relating to Physician Call Coverage Medical Services),
may [will] prescribe dangerous and scheduled drugs for the treatment
of chronic pain. For any prescriptions issued for medications to treat
acute or chronic pain by a person other than the physician or covering
physician, the terms of the agreement must require that at or before the
patient's next date of service, the patient notify the primary or covering
physician about the prescription(s) issued. The terms of the agreement
must require that such notice include at a minimum the name and con-
tact information for the person who issued the prescription, the date of
the prescription, and the name and quantity of the drug prescribed;

(D) only one pharmacy designated by the patient will
be used for prescriptions for the treatment of chronic pain, with an ex-
ception for those circumstances for which the patient has no control or
responsibility, that prevent the patient from obtaining prescribed med-
ications at the designated pharmacy under the agreement. For such
circumstances, the agreement's terms must require that at or before the
patient's next date of service, the patient notify the primary or cov-
ering physician of the circumstances and identify the pharmacy that
dispensed the medication [unless the designated pharmaey under the
agreement is out of stock of the drug preseribed at the time that the
preseription is communicated by the physician to the pharmaey or pa-
tient presents to have the drug dispensed]; and

(E) reasons for which drug therapy may be discontinued
(e.g. violation of agreement).

(5) - (7) (No change.)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600461

Mari Robinson, J.D.

Executive Director

Texas Medical Board

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 174. TELEMEDICINE
22 TAC §174.11

The Texas Medical Board (Board) proposes amendments to
§174.11, concerning On-Call Services.

The amendment to §174.11 amends and adds language to refer
readers to Chapter 177 of this title (relating to Business Organi-
zations) and newly proposed Subchapter E, concerning Physi-

cian Call Coverage Medical Services, which was proposed for
amendment in the January 29, 2016, issue of the Texas Regis-
ter (41 TexReg 766). The subchapter provides physicians guid-
ance and sets forth the requirements relating to on-call services
and agreements. The proposed amendment to relocate the sub-
stantive requirements related to the topic of "on-call" services to
Chapter 177 results from the Board's meetings with stakehold-
ers who expressed the need for more clarity with respect to the
application of the rule and whether it applied to all physicians or
just those physicians practicing in the area of telemedicine. The
removal of the substantive requirements for "on-call" services
from Chapter 174 of this title (relating to Telemedicine), and re-
location of the call coverage topic to Chapter 177 of this title, will
alleviate such confusion and provide more clarity as to the rules'
applicability.

Scott Freshour, General Counsel for the Board, has determined
that for each year of the first five years the section as proposed is
in effect the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing this
proposal will be to improve all physicians' understanding of the
rules relating to call coverage and clearly provide guidance and
parameters necessary for allowing physicians to provide conti-
nuity of care to patients in Texas while protecting patient health
and welfare, through the elimination of the strict rule of reciprocity
and relocation.

Mr. Freshour has also determined that for the first five-year pe-
riod the section is in effect there will be no fiscal implication to
state or local government as a result of enforcing the section as
proposed. There will be no effect to individuals required to com-
ply with the rule as proposed. There will be no effect on small or
micro businesses.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Rita Chapin,
P.O. Box 2018, Austin, Texas 78768-2018 or e-mail comments
to: rules.development@tmb.state.tx.us. A public hearing will be
held at a later date.

The amendment is proposed under the authority of the Texas Oc-
cupations Code Annotated, §153.001, which provides authority
for the Board to adopt rules and bylaws as necessary to: govern
its own proceedings; perform its duties; regulate the practice of
medicine in this state; enforce this subtitle; and establish rules
related to licensure.

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by this proposal.

§174.11.  On-Call [On-cetl] Services.

Physicians, who [are of the same specialty and provide reciproeal ser-
viees; may] provide on-call telemedicine medical services must meet
the requirements set forth under Chapter 177, Subchapter E of this ti-
tle (relating to Business Organizations and Agreements, Physician Call
Coverage Medical Services) [for each other's active patients].

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600459

Mari Robinson, J.D.

Executive Director

Texas Medical Board

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7016
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¢ ¢ ¢
PART 11. TEXAS BOARD OF NURSING

CHAPTER 211. GENERAL PROVISIONS
22 TAC §211.6

Introduction. The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) proposes
amendments to §211.6, concerning Committees of the Board.
The amendments are proposed under the authority of the
Occupations Code §301.151 and §301.1595.

Background. Section 301.1595 of the Nursing Practice Act re-
quires the Board to adopt rules regarding the purpose, structure,
and use of advisory committees. The section also enumerates
additional issues that the Board must address by rule. The pro-
posed amendments are necessary to ensure compliance with
the requirements of §301.1595 and for consistency with amend-
ments to §213.23 of this chapter (relating to Decision of the
Board) that are being proposed simultaneously with this proposal
and published elsewhere in this issue of the Texas Register.

First, the proposed amendments remove reference to the De-
ferred Disciplinary Action Pilot Program Advisory Committee
from the rule text. This committee ceased operation when
the deferred disciplinary action pilot program ended and was
scheduled to be abolished no later than January 1, 2014 by
the provisions of the rule. As such, the proposed amendments
eliminate the obsolete provision from the rule.

Second, the proposed amendments clarify that committee mem-
bers will be appointed by the Board and that the majority of the
members of a committee must be present at a meeting in order
to establish a quorum.

Third, the proposed amendments reiterate the statutory require-
ment of §301.1595(d) that, although a Board member may serve
as a liaison to a committee and report to the Board the recom-
mendations of the committee for consideration by the Board, the
role of a Board member liaison is limited to clarifying the Board's
charge and intent to the advisory committee.

Fourth, although the Board assigns topics to its committees for
evaluation and recommendation, the proposed amendments
make clear that committee members may identify topics and/or
issues for development and communication to the Board for the
consideration and/or issuance of a formal charge. Further, the
proposed amendments permit committee members to request
and/or receive training to assist them in completing their work.

Finally, the proposed amendments include provisions that are
consistent with changes that are being simultaneously proposed
to §213.23 (Decision of the Board) of this chapter. These
changes clarify that the Eligibility and Disciplinary Committee of
the Board may make final decisions in all matters relating to the
granting or denial of a license or permit, discipline, temporary
suspension, or administrative and civil penalties, including
consideration and resolution of a default dismissal from the
State Office of Administrative Hearings pursuant to Texas Gov-
ernment Code §2001.058(d-1). These proposed changes are
being published elsewhere in this issue of the Texas Register.

Section by Section Overview. Proposed amended §211.6(b)(3)
provides that the Board's Disciplinary Committee shall have
the authority to determine all matters of eligibility for licensure
and discipline of licenses, including temporary suspension of
a license, administrative and civil penalties, and consideration
and resolution of a default dismissal from the State Office of

Administrative Hearings pursuant to Texas Government Code
§2001.058(d-1).

Proposed amended §211.6(f)(1)(E) eliminates the Deferred Dis-
ciplinary Action Pilot Program Advisory Committee from the rule.

Proposed amended §211.6(f)(2) states that members shall be
appointed by the Board.

Proposed amended §211.6(f)(3) states that the role of a Board
member liaison is limited to clarifying the Board's charge and
intent to the advisory committee.

Proposed amended §211.6(f)(5) provides that each committee's
work and usefulness shall be evaluated periodically.

Proposed amended §211.6(f)(6) provides that the committees
will provide notice of meetings on the Secretary of State's web
site to allow the public an opportunity to participate.

Proposed amended §211.6(f)(8) states that committees may
identify topics and/or issues for development and communi-
cation to the Board for the consideration and/or issuance of a
formal charge.

Proposed amended §211.6(f)(9) requires the majority of the
members of a Committee to be present at a meeting in order to
establish a quorum.

Proposed amended §211.6(f)(13) states that committee mem-
bers may request and/or receive training as necessary to assist
them in completing their work.

Fiscal Note. Katherine Thomas, Executive Director, has deter-
mined that for each year of the first five years the proposed
amendments will be in effect, there will be no fiscal impact to
state or local governments.

Public Benefit/Cost Note. Ms. Thomas has also determined that
for each year of the first five years the proposed amendments
are in effect, the anticipated public benefit will be the adoption of
requirements that comply with statutory mandates. Further, the
proposed amendments more clearly delineate the role and use
of the Board's advisory committees. There are no anticipated
costs of compliance with the proposal.

Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
for Small and Micro Businesses. As required by the Government
Code §2006.002(c) and (f), the Board has determined that the
proposed amendments will not have an adverse economic effect
on any individual, Board regulated entity, or other entity required
to comply with the proposed amendments because there are no
anticipated costs of compliance with the proposal. As such, the
Board is not required to prepare a regulatory flexibility analysis.

Takings Impact Assessment. The Board has determined that
no private real property interests are affected by this proposal
and that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right
to property that would otherwise exist in the absence of govern-
ment action and, therefore, does not constitute a taking or re-
quire a takings impact assessment under the Government Code
§2007.043.

Request for Public Comment. To be considered, written com-
ments on the proposal or any request for a public hearing must
be submitted no later than 5:00 p.m. on March 13, 2016 to James
W. Johnston, General Counsel, Texas Board of Nursing, 333
Guadalupe, Suite 3-460, Austin, Texas 78701, or by e-mail to
dusty.johnston@bon.texas.gov, or faxed to (512) 305-8101. If
a hearing is held, written and oral comments presented at the
hearing will be considered.
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Statutory Authority. The amendments are proposed under the
Occupations Code §301.151 and §301.1595.

Section 301.151 authorizes the Board to adopt and enforce rules
consistent with Chapter 301 and necessary to: (i) perform its du-
ties and conduct proceedings before the Board; (ii) regulate the
practice of professional nursing and vocational nursing; (iii) es-
tablish standards of professional conduct for license holders un-
der Chapter 301; and (iv) determine whether an act constitutes
the practice of professional nursing or vocational nursing.

Section 301.1595(a) provides that the Board may appoint advi-
sory committees to perform the advisory functions assigned by
the Board.

Section 301.1595(b) states that an advisory committee shall pro-
vide independent expertise on Board functions and policies, but
may not be involved in setting Board policy.

Section 301.1595(c) states that the Board shall adopt rules re-
garding the purpose, structure, and use of advisory committees,
including rules on: the purpose, role, responsibility, and goal of
an advisory committee; the size and quorum requirements for
an advisory committee; the composition and representation of
an advisory committee; the qualifications of advisory commit-
tee members, such as experience or area of residence; the ap-
pointment procedures for advisory committees; the terms of ser-
vice for advisory committee members; the training requirements
for advisory committee members, if necessary; the method the
Board will use to receive public input on issues addressed by
an advisory committee; and the development of Board policies
and procedures to ensure advisory committees meet the require-
ments for open meetings under Chapter 551, Government Code,
including notification requirements.

Section 301.1595(d) provides that a Board member may not
serve as a member of an advisory committee, but may serve
as a liaison between an advisory committee and the Board. A
Board member liaison that attends advisory committee meetings
may attend only as an observer and not as a participant. Further,
a Board member liaison is not required to attend advisory com-
mittee meetings. Finally, the role of a Board member liaison is
limited to clarifying the Board's charge and intent to the advisory
committee.

Section 301.1595(e) states that to the extent of any conflict with
Chapter 2110, Government Code, this section and Board rules
adopted under this section control.

Cross Reference to Statute. The following statutes are affected
by this proposal:

Rule §211.6: Occupations Code §301.151 and §301.1595

§211.6. Committees of the Board.
(a) (No change.)

(b) Eligibility and Disciplinary Committee.
(1)-(2) (No change.)

(3) Duties and powers. The disciplinary committee shall
have the authority to determine all matters of eligibility for licensure
and discipline of licenses, including temporary suspension of a license,
[end] administrative and civil penalties, and consideration and resolu-
tion of a default dismissal from the State Office of Administrative Hear-
ings pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code §2001.058(d-1).

(4) - (5) (No change.)
(c) - (e) (No change.)

(f) Advisory Committees. The president may appoint, with the
authorization of the board, advisory committees for the performance of
such activities as may be appropriate or required by law.

(1) The board has established the following committees
that advise the board on a continuous basis or as charged by the Board:

(A) - (D) (No change.)

Advisory Committee (DDAPPAC) assists the Board in overseeing
Program). The DDAPPAC shall be abelished when the deferred
an end; but in no event later than January 1, 2014. The PDAPPAC is

£} Texas Association of Vocational Nurse Edueca-
tors (TAVNE);]

e Li | Voeational N ation of
Texas (LVNAT):]

[(iii)  Texas League of Vocational Nurses (TLVN):]

f(iv) Texas Organization of Associate Degree Nurs-

Hvit)  Coalition for Nurses in Advanced Practiee;
and}
[(ix)  other members approved by the Board, includ-
(2) Members shall be appointed by the Board. The Board
may amend [the] committee memberships as needed.

(3) A board member or members appointed by the Presi-
dent of the board or the board may serve as a liaison(s) to a committee
and report to the Board the recommendations of the committee for con-
sideration by the Board. The role of a Board member liaison, however,
is limited to clarifying the Board's charge and intent to the advisory
committee.

(4) (No change.)
(5) Each committee's work and usefulness shall be evalu-
ated periodically [annually].

(6) The committees will provide notice of meetings[; as
feasible;] on the Secretary of State's web site to allow the public an
opportunity to participate.

(7) (No change.)

(8) Committees may identify topics and/or issues for devel-
opment and communication to the Board for the consideration and/or
issuance of a formal charge. [The committee may consult with the
i i o authorize the e 0] ; identified top-
ies or issues pending the development and communication of a formal
charge by the Board.]

(9) The majority of the members of a Committee must be
present at a meeting in order to establish a quorum. Committee mem-
bers will be expected to attend meetings. The chairperson has the dis-
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cretion to recommend the dismissal of a member who does not reg-
ularly attend. The Board or Executive Director has the authority to
approve the dismissal of a member.

(10) - (12) (No change.)

(13) Committee members may request and/or receive train-
ing as necessary to assist them in completing their work.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 28,
2016.

TRD-201600364

Jena Abel

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Board of Nursing

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6822

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 213. PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE
22 TAC §213.23

Introduction. The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) proposes
amendments to §213.23, concerning Decision of the Board.
The amendments are proposed under the authority of the
Occupations Code §§301.151, 301.463(a) - (c), and 301.464(a)
and the Government Code §2001.056 and §2001.058(d-1).

Background. In September 2011, the State Office of Administra-
tive Hearings (SOAH) adopted §155.501(d). This rule permitted
SOAH, in default proceedings where notice was adequate, to
dismiss a matter from its docket and remand the case to the re-
ferring agency for final disposition. During the 84th Legislative
Session, the Texas Legislature enacted amendments (House Bill
2154) to the Government Code §2001.058(d-1) authorizing the
dismissal and remand of default cases.

The Board has considered and resolved default dismissals from
SOAH at its regularly scheduled quarterly meetings since the
enactment of §155.501(d) in 2011. Since that time, the number
of default dismissals has continued to increase. In addition to
the consideration of default dismissals at the Board's quarterly
meetings, the proposed amendments make clear that the Eligi-
bility and Disciplinary Committee of the Board may also consider
and resolve default dismissals from SOAH. This amendment is
intended to increase the Board's efficiency in resolving these
cases and to assist in the management of the Board's quarterly
meeting agendas.

The proposed amendments also affect an individual's submis-
sion of information to the Board. Currently, the Board permits in-
dividuals to appear at its regularly scheduled quarterly meetings
to address the Board prior to its deliberation and vote on a pro-
posal for decision (PFD). In order to do so, however, the Board's
current rule requires the submission of written information to the
Board within certain prescribed time frames. The time frames
vary, depending upon whether or not a modification is being pro-
posed to a PFD. The proposed amendments, however, eliminate
this distinction, and instead, impose a single time frame for any
individual wishing to appear before the Board or submit written
information for the Board's consideration regarding a PFD and/or

default dismissal from SOAH. This proposed change is intended
to simplify the process for individuals and to enable more timely
preparation of the Board's quarterly meeting agenda and appear-
ance schedules.

Section by Section Overview. Proposed amended §213.23(a)
provides that either the Board or the Eligibility and Disciplinary
Committee of the Board may make final decisions in all matters
relating to the granting or denial of a license or permit, disci-
pline, temporary suspension, or administrative and civil penal-
ties. This includes the consideration and resolution of a default
dismissal from the State Office of Administrative Hearings pur-
suant to Texas Government Code §2001.058(d-1).

Proposed amended §213.23(e) provides that parties shall have
an opportunity to file written exceptions and/or briefs with the
Board. Further, an individual wishing to file written exceptions
and/or a brief for the Board's consideration must do so no later
than 15 calendar days prior to the date of the next regularly
scheduled meeting where the Board or the Eligibility and Disci-
plinary Committee will deliberate on the proposal for decision or
default dismissal. Additionally, an individual wishing to make an
oral presentation regarding a proposal for decision or default dis-
missal must request to do so, and file written exceptions and/or
a brief, no later than 15 calendar days prior to the date of the
next regularly scheduled meeting where the Board or the Eligi-
bility and Disciplinary Committee will deliberate on the proposal
for decision or default dismissal. The Board will not consider any
requests for an oral presentation and/or any written exceptions
and/or briefs submitted in violation of these requirements.

Fiscal Note. Katherine Thomas, Executive Director, has deter-
mined that for each year of the first five years the proposed
amendments will be in effect, there will be no fiscal impact to
state or local governments.

Public Benefit/Cost Note. Ms. Thomas has also determined that
for each year of the first five years the proposed amendments
are in effect, the anticipated public benefit will be the adoption of
requirements that better enable the Board to resolve contested
cases in a timely and efficient manner and to manage its work-
load in a more orderly and efficient manner. There are no antic-
ipated costs of compliance with the proposal.

Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
for Small and Micro Businesses. As required by the Government
Code §2006.002(c) and (f), the Board has determined that the
proposed amendments will not have an adverse economic effect
on any individual, Board regulated entity, or other entity required
to comply with the proposed amendments because there are no
anticipated costs of compliance with the proposal. As such, the
Board is not required to prepare a regulatory flexibility analysis.

Takings Impact Assessment. The Board has determined that
no private real property interests are affected by this proposal
and that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right
to property that would otherwise exist in the absence of govern-
ment action and, therefore, does not constitute a taking or re-
quire a takings impact assessment under the Government Code
§2007.043.

Request for Public Comment. To be considered, written com-
ments on the proposal or any request for a public hearing must
be submitted no later than 5:00 p.m. on March 13, 2016 to James
W. Johnston, General Counsel, Texas Board of Nursing, 333
Guadalupe, Suite 3-460, Austin, Texas 78701, or by e-mail to
dusty.johnston@bon.texas.gov, or faxed to (512) 305-8101. If
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a hearing is held, written and oral comments presented at the
hearing will be considered.

Statutory Authority. The amendments are proposed under the
Occupations Code §§301.151, 301.463(a) - (c), and 301.464(a)
and the Government Code §2001.056 and §2001.058(d-1).

Section 301.151 authorizes the Board to adopt and enforce rules
consistent with Chapter 301 and necessary to: (i) perform its du-
ties and conduct proceedings before the Board; (ii) regulate the
practice of professional nursing and vocational nursing; (iii) es-
tablish standards of professional conduct for license holders un-
der Chapter 301; and (iv) determine whether an act constitutes
the practice of professional nursing or vocational nursing.

Section 301.463(a) states that, unless precluded by Chapter 301
or other law, the Board may dispose of a complaint by stipulation;
agreed settlement; agreed order; or dismissal.

Section 301.463(b) states that an agreed disposition of a com-
plaint is considered to be a disciplinary order for purposes of
reporting under Chapter 301 and an administrative hearing and
proceeding by a state or federal regulatory agency regarding the
practice of nursing.

Section 301.463(c) states that an agreed order is a public record.

Section 301.463(a) provides that the Board by rule shall adopt
procedures governing informal disposition of a contested case
under §2001.056, Government Code; and an informal proceed-
ing held in compliance with §2001.054, Government Code.

Section 2001.056 states that, unless precluded by law, an infor-
mal disposition may be made of a contested case by stipulation;
agreed settlement; consent order; or default.

Section 2001.058(d-1) provides that, on making a finding that a
party to a contested case has defaulted under the rules of the
State Office of Administrative Hearings, the administrative law
judge may dismiss the case from the docket of the State Office
of Administrative Hearings and remand it to the referring agency
for informal disposition under §2001.056. After the case is dis-
missed and remanded, the agency may informally dispose of the
case by applying its own rules or the procedural rules of the State
Office of Administrative Hearings relating to default proceedings.
This subsection does not apply to a contested case in which the
administrative law judge is authorized to render a final decision.

Cross Reference To Statute. The following statutes are affected
by this proposal:

Rule §213.23: Occupations Code §§301.151, 301.463(a) -
(c), and 301.464(a) and Government Code §2001.056 and
§2001.058(d-1).

$§213.23.  Decision of the Board.

(a) Except as to those matters expressly delegated to the ex-
ecutive director for ratification, either the Board or the Eligibility and
Disciplinary Committee of the Board, may make final decisions in all
matters relating to the granting or denial of a license or permit, disci-
pline, temporary suspension, or administrative and civil penalties. This
includes the consideration and resolution of a default dismissal from the
State Office of Administrative Hearings pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code

§2001.058(d-1).

(b) - (d) (No change.)

(e) Following the issuance of a proposal for decision or de-
fault dismissal, parties shall have an opportunity to file written excep-

tions and/or briefs with the Board [eeneerning & propesal for deeision].
An opportunity shall be given to file a response to written exceptions

and/or briefs. An individual wishing to file written exceptions and/or a
brief for the Board's consideration must do so no later than 15 calendar
days prior to the date of the next regularly scheduled meeting where
the Board or the Eligibility and Disciplinary Committee will deliber-
ate on the proposal for decision or default dismissal. An individual
wishing to make an oral presentation regarding a proposal for decision
or default dismissal must request to do so, and file written exceptions
and/or a brief, no later than 15 calendar days prior to the date of the
next regularly scheduled meeting where the Board or the Eligibility and
Disciplinary Committee will deliberate on the proposal for decision or
default dismissal. The Board will not consider any requests for an oral
presentation and/or any written exceptions and/or briefs submitted in
violation of these requirements. [The folowing requirements govern
the submission of written exeeptions and/or briefs to the Board:]

D) Individuals wishing to file wri . !
briefs with the Board, but not wishing to make an oral presentation to
the Board concerning a proposal for decision. A Respondent wishing
to file written exceptions and/or briefs with the Board concerning a pro-
posal for decision must do so no later than 10 days prior to the date of
the next regularly scheduled Board meeting where the Board will de-

. . | ofs submitted in violation of this e
ment}

2 Individuals wishing to make an oral presentation to the
Board concerning a propesal for decision: An individual wishing te
make an oral presentation to the Board must file written exceptions
and/er briefs with the Board: f no medification is proposed to the pro-
briefs with the Board at least 21 days prior to the date of the next regu-
propesal for decision. I a meodification is propesed to the propesal
for decision; an individual must file a written response to the propesed
10 days prior to the date of the regularly scheduled Board meeting
vidual will not be permitted to make an oral presentation to the Board

-1 (No change.)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 28,
2016.

TRD-201600365

Jena Abel

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Board of Nursing

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6822

¢ ¢ ¢
22 TAC §213.32

Introduction. The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) proposes an
amendment to §213.32, concerning Corrective Action Proceed-
ings and Schedule of Administrative Fines. The amendment is
proposed under the authority of the Occupations Code §301.151
and §301.652.

Background. In 2009, the Nursing Practice Act (NPA) was
amended to grant the Board authority to resolve contested
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cases through the use of corrective actions. Pursuant to the
Occupations Code §301.652, a corrective action may consist of
a fine, remedial education, or a combination of a fine or remedial
education. Further, a corrective action is not a disciplinary
action.

The Board is required, pursuant to the Health Care Quality Im-
provement Act of 1986 and the Social Security Act, to report dis-
ciplinary actions to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB).
The Board also reports disciplinary actions to other members
of the Nurse Licensure Compact under the Occupations Code
Chapter 304. However, because a corrective action is not a dis-
ciplinary action, the Board does not report corrective actions to
NPDB or to other nursing boards.

The proposed amendment affects individuals who are practicing
in Texas on a nurse licensure privilege, but who maintain their
home state residence in another nurse licensure compact state.
The proposed amendment clarifies that corrective actions will not
be available to these individuals for the resolution of a contested
case matter in Texas. The proposed amendment conforms to
the Board's practice since 2009 in this regard. Although correc-
tive actions are currently utilized for the resolution of minor prac-
tice violations, the Board has determined that offering corrective
actions to individuals practicing in Texas on a nurse licensure
privilege is not appropriate because this information would not
be reported to other state boards of nursing who may have an
interest in their licensees' conduct in Texas.

Section by Section Overview. Proposed amended §213.32(4)
provides that an agreed corrective action will not be available
to an individual who is practicing nursing in Texas on a nurse
licensure compact privilege.

Fiscal Note. Katherine Thomas, Executive Director, has deter-
mined that for each year of the first five years the proposed
amendment will be in effect, there will be no fiscal impact to state
or local governments.

Public Benefit/Cost Note. Ms. Thomas has also determined that
for each year of the first five years the proposed amendment is in
effect, the anticipated public benefit will be the adoption of a rule
that maintains effective communication between the Board and
other nursing boards in the Nurse Licensure Compact regarding
the conduct of their licensees in Texas. There are no anticipated
costs of compliance with the proposal.

Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
for Small and Micro Businesses. As required by the Government
Code §2006.002(c) and (f), the Board has determined that the
proposed amendment will not have an adverse economic effect
on any individual, Board regulated entity, or other entity required
to comply with the proposed amendment because there are no
anticipated costs of compliance with the proposal. As such, the
Board is not required to prepare a regulatory flexibility analysis.

Takings Impact Assessment. The Board has determined that
no private real property interests are affected by this proposal
and that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right
to property that would otherwise exist in the absence of govern-
ment action and, therefore, does not constitute a taking or re-
quire a takings impact assessment under the Government Code
§2007.043.

Request for Public Comment. To be considered, written com-
ments on the proposal or any request for a public hearing must
be submitted no later than 5:00 p.m. on March 13, 2016, to
James W. Johnston, General Counsel, Texas Board of Nursing,

333 Guadalupe, Suite 3-460, Austin, Texas 78701, or by e-mail
to dusty.johnston@bon.texas.gov, or faxed to (512) 305-8101. If
a hearing is held, written and oral comments presented at the
hearing will be considered.

Statutory Authority. The amendment is proposed under the Oc-
cupations Code §301.151 and §301.652.

Section 301.151 authorizes the Board to adopt and enforce rules
consistent with Chapter 301 and necessary to: (i) perform its du-
ties and conduct proceedings before the Board; (ii) regulate the
practice of professional nursing and vocational nursing; (iii) es-
tablish standards of professional conduct for license holders un-
der Chapter 301; and (iv) determine whether an act constitutes
the practice of professional nursing or vocational nursing.

Section 301.652(a) states that the Board may impose a correc-
tive action on a person licensed or regulated under Chapter 301
who violates Chapter 301 or a rule or order adopted under Chap-
ter 301. The corrective action: may be a fine, remedial educa-
tion, or any combination of a fine or remedial education; is not a
disciplinary action under Subchapter J; and is subject to disclo-
sure only to the extent a complaint is subject to disclosure under
§301.466. Section 301.652(b) provides that the Board by rule
shall adopt guidelines for the types of violations for which a cor-
rective action may be imposed.

Cross Reference To Statute. The following statutes are affected
by this proposal:

Rule §213.32: Occupations Code §301.151 and §301.652.

$213.32.
tive Fines.
A corrective action may be imposed by the Board as specified in the
following circumstances.

(1)-(3) (No change.)

(4) The opportunity to enter into an agreed corrective ac-
tion order is at the sole discretion of the Executive Director as a con-
dition of settlement by agreement and is not available as a result of a
contested case proceeding conducted pursuant to the Government Code
Chapter 2001. An agreed corrective action will not be available to an
individual who is practicing nursing in Texas on a nurse licensure com-

pact privilege.
(5)-(7) (No change.)
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Corrective Action Proceedings and Schedule of Administra-

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 25,
2016.

TRD-201600328

Jena Abel

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Board of Nursing

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6822

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 31. NATURAL RESOURCES AND
CONSERVATION

PART 1. GENERAL LAND OFFICE
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CHAPTER 3. GENERAL PROVISIONS
SUBCHAPTER E. PURCHASING

31 TAC §3.51
INTRODUCTION AND BACKGROUND

The General Land Office (GLO) proposes new §3.51 in Chapter
3, Subchapter E, relating to Enhanced Contract Monitoring. The
proposed new §3.51 will establish a new rule for enhanced con-
tract monitoring. This new rule proposal has been undertaken
as a result of the passage of Senate Bill (SB) 20 during the 84th
Texas Legislature, which amended portions of Chapter 2261 of
the Texas Government Code (TGC).

SB 20 modifies Chapter 2261 of the TGC to require state agen-
cies to establish a procedure to identify each contract that re-
quires enhanced contract or performance monitoring and submit
information on the contract to the agency's governing body.

The proposed new rule sets forth the agency's procedure to meet
SB 20's requirement to conduct enhanced monitoring of con-
tracts, the factors that are to be considered, the requirement of
establishing procedures to administer the monitoring, and the re-
quirement of reports being delivered to the agency's governing
body.

FISCAL IMPACTS

Anne Idsal, Chief Clerk, has determined that for each year of the
first five years the new section as proposed is in effect there will
be no fiscal implications for state government or local govern-
ments as a result of enforcing or administering the new section.
This rule will not have any fiscal impact or affect on state or local
governments as monitoring of contracts is not a new require-
ment. The new requirement is the identification of contracts that
warrant a more in-depth level of monitoring by the GLO.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND EMPLOYMENT IMPACT

Chief Clerk Anne Idsal has also determined that for each year
of the first five years the proposed new rule is in effect, the pub-
lic will benefit from the enhanced monitoring as the proposed
rule will help ensure that contracts are awarded in line with the
state's contract procurement laws and administered in line with
the agency's contract manager's manual.

Chief Clerk Anne Idsal has further determined that the proposed
rulemaking will have no adverse local employment impact that
requires an employment impact statement pursuant to the Gov-
ernment Code, §2001.022.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

The GLO has evaluated the proposed rulemaking in accordance
with Texas Government Code, §2007.043(b), and §2.18 of the
Attorney General's Private Real Property Rights Preservation
Act Guidelines, to determine whether a detailed takings impact
assessment is required. The GLO has determined that the pro-
posed rulemaking does not affect private real property in a man-
ner that requires real property owners to be compensated as
provided by the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United
States Constitution or Article I, §17 and §19, of the Texas Consti-
tution. Furthermore, the GLO has determined that the proposed
rulemaking would not affect any private real property in a manner
that restricts or limits the owner's right to the property that would
otherwise exist in the absence of the rulemaking. The GLO has
determined that the proposed rulemaking will not result in a tak-
ing of private property and that there are no adverse impacts on

private real property interests inasmuch as the property subject
to the proposed rulemaking is owned by the state.

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS BY THE PUBLIC

To comment on the proposed new rule, please send a written
comment to Mr. Walter Talley, the GLO Texas Register Liaison,
at Texas General Land Office, P.O. Box 12873, Austin, Texas
78711-2873. Comments may also be sent by facsimile at (512)
463-6311 or by email to walter.talley@glo.state.tx.us.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new rule is proposed under of the Texas Government
Code §2261.253, which requires state agencies to establish, in
agency rule, a procedure to identify each contract that requires
enhanced contract or performance monitoring and submit infor-
mation on the contract to the governing body of the agency.

STATUTORY SECTIONS AFFECTED

Chapter 2261 of the Texas Government Code is affected by the
proposed new rule.

§3.51.  Enhanced Contract Monitoring Program.
(a) The General Land Office (GLO) shall identify contracts

that require enhanced monitoring.

(b) In determining which contracts require enhanced monitor-
ing, the GLO shall consider factors including:

(1) contract amount;

(2) risk;

(3) special circumstances of project; and

(4) scope of goods or services provided.

(c) The GLO shall adopt procedures to administer the en-
hanced contract monitoring program.

(d) Enhanced contract monitoring reports shall be regularly
provided to the commissioner, chief clerk, and when applicable, to the
School Land Board or the Veterans Land Board.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 29,
2016.

TRD-201600393

Anne L. Idsal

Chief Clerk, Deputy Land Commissioner

General Land Office

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1859

¢ ¢ ¢

PART 17. TEXAS STATE SOIL AND
WATER CONSERVATION BOARD

CHAPTER 519. TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE
SUBCHAPTER A. TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE
PROGRAM

31 TAC §519.8
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The Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board (State
Board) proposes an amendment to 31 TAC §519.8, Eligible
Pay Rates. Specifically, this proposed amendment changes the
maximum pay rate that is eligible for reimbursement from the
State Board. The current pay rate of $15.00 per hour is being
increased to $20.00 per hour.

Mr. Kenny Zajicek, Fiscal Officer, State Board has determined
that for the first five year period there will be no fiscal implications
for state or local government as a result of administering this
amended rule.

Mr. Zajicek has also determined that for the first five-year pe-
riod this amended rule is in effect, the public benefit anticipated
as a result of administering this rule will be the possibility of im-
proved district operations by districts being able to compete with
the public workforce for qualified employees.

There are no anticipated costs to small businesses or individuals
resulting from this amended rule.

Comments on the proposed amendment may be submitted in
writing to Rex Isom, Executive Director, Texas State Soil and
Water Conservation Board, P.O. Box 658, Temple, Texas 76503,
(254) 773-2250 ext. 231.

The amendment is proposed under Agriculture Code of Texas,
Title 7, Chapter 201, §201.020, which authorizes the State Board
to adopt rules that are necessary for the performance of its func-
tions under the Agriculture Code.

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by this amend-
ment.

§519.8.  Eligible Pay Rates.

The State Board hereby establishes a maximum pay rate of $20.00
[$15-00] per hour not to exceed a maximum of 40 hours per week. With
the prior approval of the State Board a district may exceed the maxi-
mum pay rate or maximum hours per week. Expenditures for wages or
salaries that are above the maximum pay rate or expenditures for hours
over the maximum hours per week will not otherwise be eligible for
reimbursement.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600442

Mel Davis

Special Projects Coordinator

Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (254) 773-2250 x252

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC
ACCOUNTS

CHAPTER 1. CENTRAL ADMINISTRATION
SUBCHAPTER A. PRACTICE AND
PROCEDURES

DIVISION 2. LEGAL SERVICES BOND
DIVISION

34 TAC §§1.51, 1.52, 1.54 - 1.56, 1.58 - 1.60

The Comptroller of Public Accounts proposes the repeal of
§81.51, concerning presentation of municipal bonds and other
public securities for registration before issuance; 1.52, concern-
ing certificates provided; 1.54, concerning registration numbers;
1.55, concerning release of bonds after registration; 1.56,
concerning maintenance of transcript of proceedings for each
bond issue; 1.58, concerning registration of bond ownership;
1.59; concerning conversion of form of a bond from bearer bond
to registered bond and from registered bond to bearer bond
and presentation for exchange; and 1.60, concerning form of
registration certificates to be printed on bonds. These sections
are being repealed due to a change from paper to electronic
registration that has occurred over time in public security regis-
tration practices under Government Code, Chapter 1203.

Tom Currah, Chief Revenue Estimator, has determined that for
the first five-year period the repeals will be in effect, there will
be no significant revenue impact on the state or units of local
government.

Mr. Currah also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the repeals are in effect, the public benefit anticipated
as a result of enforcing the rules will be by removing outdated
provisions from the Texas Administrative Code. The proposed
repeals would have no fiscal impact on small businesses. There
is no significant anticipated economic cost to individuals who are
required to comply with the proposed repeals.

Comments on the repeals may be submitted to Tom Smelker,
Division Director, Treasury Operations Division, P.O. Box 13528,
Austin, Texas 78711. Comments must be received no later than
30 days from the date of publication of the proposal in the Texas
Register.

These repeals are proposed under Government Code,
§1203.026, which provides the comptroller with the authority
to adopt rules relating to the comptroller's performance of
registration of public securities under Chapter 1203.

The proposed repeals do not affect Government Code, Chapter
1203, Subchapters A, B, and C, §1203.001 et seq.

§1.51.  Presentation of Municipal Bonds and Other Public Securities
for Registration Before Issuance.

§1.52.  Certificates Provided.

§1.54. Registration Numbers.

§1.55.  Release of Bonds After Registration.

§1.56.  Maintenance of Transcript of Proceedings for Each Bond Is-
sue.

§1.58.  Registration of Bond Ownership.

$1.59.  Conversion of Form of a Bond from Bearer Bond to Registered

Bond and from Registered Bond to Bearer Bond and Presentation for
Exchange.

§1.60. Form of Registration Certificates To Be Printed on Bonds.
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 28,

2016.
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TRD-201600363

Lita Gonzalez

General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387

3 ¢ *
CHAPTER 3. TAX ADMINISTRATION
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL RULES
34 TAC §3.9

The Comptroller of Public Accounts proposes amendments to
§3.9, concerning electronic filing of returns and reports; elec-
tronic transfer of certain payments by certain taxpayers. The
amendment corrects grammar in subsection (b)(2)(A)(ii) - (viii)
and (x) - (xii). The amendment will update the statute cite in sub-
section (e)(1)(A). Additionally, the amendment will correct gram-
mar in the itemized list of taxes under subsection (e)(1)(A). The
amendment inserts a new subparagraph (B) which requires fran-
chise tax information reports to be filed electronically pursuant
to SB 1364, 84th Legislature, 2015. Subsection (i)(2)(A)(i) is
amended for readability. This amendment memorializes a policy
change effective for reports due on or after September 1, 2015,
and edits the section to improve readability.

Tom Currah, Chief Revenue Estimator, has determined that for
the first five-year period the rule will be in effect, there will be no
significant revenue impact on the state or units of local govern-
ment.

Mr. Currah also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the rule is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as
a result of enforcing the rule will be by conforming the rule to
current state statutes, and clarifying the rule's provisions. This
rule is proposed under Tax Code, Title 2, and does not require
a statement of fiscal implications for small businesses. There is
no significant anticipated economic cost to individuals who are
required to comply with the proposed rule.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Teresa G.
Bostick, Director, Tax Policy Division, P.O. Box 13528, Austin,
Texas 78711-3528. Comments must be received no later than
30 days from the date of publication of the proposal in the Texas
Register.

This amendment is proposed under Tax Code, §111.002, which
provides the comptroller with the authority to prescribe, adopt,
and enforce rules relating to the administration and enforcement
of the provisions of Tax Code, Title 2.

The amendments implement Tax Code, §111.0626 (Collection
Procedures).

§3.9.  Electronic Filing of Returns and Reports; Electronic Transfer
of Certain Payments by Certain Taxpayers.

(a) Voluntary electronic filing of returns and reports. The
comptroller may authorize a taxpayer to file any report or return
required to be filed with the comptroller under Tax Code, Title 2, by
means of electronic transmission under the following circumstances:

(1) the taxpayer or its authorized agent has registered with
the comptroller to use an approved reporting method, such as WebFile,
or the taxpayer is filing a return or report other than a return showing
a tax liability; and

(2) the method of electronic transmission of each return or
report complies with any requirements established by the comptroller
and is compatible with the comptroller's equipment and facilities.

(b) Required electronic transfer of certain payments by certain
taxpayers pursuant to Tax Code, §111.0625.

(1) Taxpayers who have paid the comptroller a total of
$100,000 or more in a single category of payments or taxes during
the preceding state fiscal year, and who the comptroller reasonably
anticipates will pay at least that amount during the current fiscal year,
shall transfer all payment amounts in that category of payments or
taxes during the subsequent calendar year to the comptroller using the
State of Texas Financial Network (TexNet), pursuant to Chapter 15 of
this title (relating to Electronic Transfer of Certain Payments to State
Agencies).

(2) Taxpayers who paid at least $10,000, but less than
$100,000, in a single category of payments or taxes during the preced-
ing state fiscal year, and who the comptroller reasonably anticipates
will pay at least that amount during the current state fiscal year,
shall transfer all payments in that category of payments or taxes to
the comptroller by means of electronic funds transfer as set out in
subparagraph (C) of this paragraph.

(A) This paragraph applies only to:
(i) state and local sales and use taxes;
(it) direct payment sales tax [taxes];
(iii)  gas severance tax [taxes];
(iv) oil severance tax [taxes];
(v) franchise tax [taxes];
(vi) gasoline tax [taxes];
(vii) diesel fuel tax [taxes];
(viii) hotel occupancy tax [taxes];
(ix) insurance premium taxes;
(x) mixed beverage gross receipts tax [taxes];
(xi) mixed beverage sales tax [taxes]; and
(xii) motor vehicle rental tax [taxes].

(B) The comptroller may add or remove a category of
payments or taxes to or from this paragraph if the comptroller deter-
mines that such action is necessary to protect the interests of the state
or of taxpayers.

(C) Payments under this paragraph shall be made by
those electronic funds transfer methods approved by the comptroller,
which include, but are not limited to, TexNet, electronic check (We-
bEFT), and the electronic transmission of credit card information. The
comptroller may require payments in specific categories to be made by
specific methods of electronic funds transfer.

(D) A taxpayer required under this paragraph to use
electronic funds transfer who cannot comply due to hardship, im-
practicality, or other valid reason may submit a written request to the
comptroller for a waiver of the requirement.

(c) Payment date for electronic transfer of funds.

(1) A taxpayer making payment using TexNet. Pursuant
to §15.33 of this title (relating to Determination of Settlement Date), a
person who enters payment information into TexNet may choose either
to accept the settlement date that TexNet offers or enter a settlement
date up to 30 days from the business day after payment is submitted.
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TexNet will offer the business day following the day on which payment
information is entered into TexNet, provided that the information is
entered by 6:00 p.m. central time on any business day.

(2) A taxpayer who files combined tax returns and makes
payments through the electronic data interchange (EDI) system must
submit the payment information to the comptroller by 2:30 p.m. central
time to meet the 6:00 p.m. central time requirement that is noted in
paragraph (1) of this subsection.

(3) A taxpayer who makes payment by an electronic funds
transfer method approved by the comptroller other than TexNet or the
EDI system must transmit payment information by 11:59 p.m. central
time on the date payment is due.

(d) The administrative rules found in Chapter 15 of this title
on electronic funds transfer under Government Code, §404.095 using
TexNet apply to all such payments to the comptroller.

(e) Required electronic filing of certain reports by certain tax-
payers.

(1) Reports required by Tax Code, §111.0626.

(A) Pursuant to Tax Code, §111.0626(a)(1), taxpayers
who are required to use electronic funds transfer for payments of certain
taxes must also file report data electronically, including reports required
by the International Fuel Tax Agreement. This requirement applies to:

(i) state and local sales and use taxes;
(ii)  direct payment sales tax [taxes];
(iii)  gas severance tax [taxes];

(iv) oil severance tax [taxes]; and

(v) motor fuel tax [taxes].

(B) Pursuant to Tax Code, §111.0626(a)(2), taxpayers
who owe no tax and are required to file an information report under
Tax Code, §171.204 must file the information report electronically.

(C) [B)] Pursuant to Tax Code, §111.0626(b-1), tax-
payers who paid $50,000 or more during the preceding fiscal year must
file report data electronically. A taxpayer filing a report electronically
may use an application provided by the comptroller, software provided
by the comptroller, or commercially available software that satisfies
requirements prescribed by the comptroller. This subparagraph only
applies after issuance to the taxpayer of the 60 days notice required by
subsection (f) of this section.

(2) Reports by brewers, manufacturers, wholesalers, and
distributors of alcoholic beverages required by Tax Code, Chapter 151,
Subchapter I-1.

(A) For purposes of this paragraph, a "seller" means a
person who is a brewer with a brewer's self-distribution permit, man-
ufacturer with a manufacturer's self-distribution license, wholesaler,
winery, distributor, or package store local distributor, as described in
Tax Code, §§151.461(1) - (4) and (6), 151.465, and 151.466; and a
"retailer" means a person who holds one or more of the permits listed
in Tax Code, §151.461(5).

(B) On or before the 25th day of each month, each seller
holding a comptroller-issued tax identification number must file a re-
port of alcoholic beverage sales to retailers in this state. The report
must be filed by a means of electronic transmission approved by the
comptroller. The report must contain the following information:

(i) each Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission
(TABC) permit or license associated with the seller's comptroller-is-
sued tax identification number;

(i) the TABC permit or license number for each
seller location from which a sale was made to a retailer during the
preceding calendar month;

(iii) the TABC permit or license number, comptrol-
ler-issued tax identification number, and TABC trade name and physi-
cal address (street name and number, city, state, and zip code) of each
retail location to which the seller sold alcoholic beverages during the
preceding calendar month;

(iv) the information required by Tax Code,
§151.462(b) regarding the seller's monthly sales to each retailer
holding a separate TABC permit or license, including:

(1) the individual container size of each product,
such as the individual bottle or can container size, sold to retailers;

(1I) the brand name of the alcoholic beverage
sold;

(IlI) the beverage class code for distilled spirits,
wine, beer, or malt beverage;

(1V)  the Universal Product Code (UPC) of the al-
coholic beverage sold;

(V) the number of individual containers of alco-
holic beverages sold for each brand, UPC, and container size. Multi-
unit packages, such as cases, must be broken down into the number of
individual bottles or cans;

(V) the total selling price of the containers sold;
and

(v) any other information deemed necessary by the
comptroller for the efficient administration of this subsection.

(C) Ifaperson fails to file a report required by subpara-
graph (B) of this paragraph, or fails to file a complete report, the comp-
troller may:

(i) suspend or cancel one or more permits issued to
the person under Tax Code, §151.203;

(i) impose a civil penalty under Tax Code,
§151.703(d);

(iti) impose a criminal penalty under Tax Code,
§151.709; and/or

(iv) notify the TABC of the failure and the TABC
may take administrative action against the person for the failure under
the Alcoholic Beverage Code.

(D) In addition to the penalties imposed under subpara-
graph (C) of this paragraph, if a person violates Tax Code, Chapter 151,
Subchapter I-1, or this paragraph, the comptroller shall collect from
the seller an additional civil penalty of not less than $25 or more than
$2,000 for each day the violation continues.

(E) The requirements of this paragraph apply to sales
occurring on or after September 1, 2011.

(3) Reports by wholesalers and distributors of cigarettes.
Pursuant to Tax Code, §154.212, on or before the 25th day of each
month each wholesaler or distributor of cigarettes shall file a report
of sales to retailers in this state. The report must be filed by a means
of electronic transmission approved by the comptroller and must con-
tain the following information for the preceding calendar month's sales
made to each retailer:
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(A) the name of the retailer and the address, including
city and zip code, of the retailer's outlet location to which the whole-
saler or distributor delivered cigarettes;

(B) the comptroller-assigned taxpayer number of the re-
tailer, if the wholesaler or distributor is in possession of the number;

(C) the cigarette permit number of the outlet location to
which the wholesaler or distributor delivered cigarettes;

(D) the monthly net sales made to the retailer, including
the quantity and units of cigarettes in stamped packages sold to the
retailer and the price charged to the retailer; and

(E) any other information deemed necessary by the
comptroller for the efficient administration of this subsection.

(4) Reports by wholesalers and distributors of cigars and
tobacco products. Pursuant to Tax Code, §155.105, on or before the
25th day of each month each wholesaler or distributor of cigars or to-
bacco products shall file a report of sales to retailers in this state. The
report must be filed by a means of electronic transmission approved
by the comptroller and must contain the following information for the
preceding calendar month's sales made to each retailer:

(A) the name of the retailer and the address, including
the city and zip code, of the retailer's outlet location to which the whole-
saler or distributor delivered cigars or tobacco products;

(B) the comptroller-assigned taxpayer number of the re-
tailer, if the wholesaler or distributor is in possession of the number;

(C) the tobacco permit number of the outlet location to
which the wholesaler or distributor delivered cigars or tobacco prod-
ucts;

(D) the monthly net sales made to the retailer, including
the quantity and units of cigars and tobacco products sold to the retailer
and the price charged to the retailer;

(E) the net weight as listed by the manufacturer for each
unit of tobacco products other than cigars; and

(F) any other information deemed necessary by the
comptroller for the efficient administration of this subsection.

(5) Except as provided by Tax Code, §111.006, informa-
tion contained in the reports required by paragraphs (2), (3), and (4) of
this subsection is confidential and not subject to disclosure under Gov-
ernment Code, Chapter 552.

(6) The reports required by paragraphs (2), (3), and (4) of
this subsection are required in addition to any other reports required by
the comptroller.

(7) The reports required by paragraphs (2), (3), and (4) of
this subsection must be filed each month even if no sales were made to
retailers during the preceding month.

(f) Notification of affected persons. The comptroller shall no-
tify taxpayers who are affected by subsection (b) or (¢)(1) of this section
no less than 60 days before the first required electronic transmittal of
report data or payment.

(g) A taxpayer who is required to file report data electronically
under subsection (e)(1) of this section may submit a written request to
the comptroller for a waiver of the requirement. A taxpayer who is
required to electronically file a report under subsection (e)(3) or (4) of
this section may submit a written request to the comptroller for a waiver
of the requirement and authorization of an alternative filing method.

(h) Pursuant to Tax Code, §111.063, the comptroller may im-
pose separate penalties of 5.0% of the tax due for failure to pay the tax

due by electronic funds transfer, as required by this section, or for fail-
ure to file a report electronically, as required by Tax Code, §111.0626.

(1) Protest payments by electronic funds transfer. Protested tax
payments made under Tax Code, §112.051, must be accompanied by
a written statement that fully and in detail sets out each reason for re-
covery of the payment. Protested tax payments are not required to be
submitted by electronic funds transfer.

(1) A person who is otherwise required to pay taxes by
means of electronic funds transfer may make protested payments by
other means, including cash, check, or money order. A written state-
ment of protest that fully and in detail sets out each reason for recovery
of the payment must accompany the non-electronic payment.

(2) A person may submit a protested tax payment by means
of electronic funds transfer if the written statement is submitted in com-
pliance with the requirements set out in subparagraph (A) of this para-
graph.

(A) A person may submit a protest payment by means
of electronic funds transfer only if:

(i) awritten statement of protest is delivered by fac-
simile transmission or hand-delivery [aetaally reeeived] at one of the
comptroller's offices in Austin, Texas;

(ii) the written statement of protest is delivered to
the comptroller within 24 hours before or after the electronic transfer
of the payment;

(iii) the written statement of protest identifies the
date of electronic payment, the taxpayer number under which the
electronic payment was or will be submitted, and the amount paid
under protest; and

(iv) the electronic payment is specifically identified
as a protest payment by the method, if any (such as a special transaction
code or accompanying electronic message), that the comptroller may
designate as appropriate to the method by which the person transferred
the funds electronically.

(B) The failure of a taxpayer to submit a written state-
ment in compliance with subparagraph (A) of this paragraph means the
tax payment that the taxpayer made is not considered to be a protest tax
payment as provided by Tax Code, §112.051.

(C) If a person submits multiple written statements of
protest that relate to the same electronic payment, then only the first
statement that the comptroller actually receives is considered the writ-
ten protest for purposes of Tax Code, §112.051.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 29,
2016.

TRD-201600385

Lita Gonzalez

General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387
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SUBCHAPTER NN. FIREWORKS TAX
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34 TAC §3.1281

The Comptroller of Public Accounts proposes amendments
to §3.1281, concerning fireworks tax. The amendments are
proposed to implement the provisions of Senate Bill 761, 84th
Legislature, 2015, which repealed the tax on fireworks effective
September 1, 2015.

The section is amended by adding new subsection (a) indicating
that the rule applies to periods prior to September 1, 2015. All
subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

Relettered subsection (d) is amended to correct the title of
§3.286 (Seller's and Purchaser's Responsibilities, including
Nexus, Permits, Returns and Reporting Periods, and Collection
and Exemption Rules).

Tom Currah, Chief Revenue Estimator, has determined that for
the first five-year period the rule will be in effect, there will be no
significant revenue impact on the state or units of local govern-
ment.

Mr. Currah also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the rule is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as
a result of enforcing the rule will be by conforming the rule to
current statutes. This rule is proposed under Tax Code, Title 2,
and does not require a statement of fiscal implications for small
businesses. There is no significant anticipated economic cost to
individuals who are required to comply with the proposed rule.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Teresa G.
Bostick, Director, Tax Policy Division, P.O. Box 13528, Austin,
Texas 78711-3528. Comments must be received no later than
30 days from the date of publication of the proposal in the Texas
Register.

The amendments are proposed under Tax Code, §111.002,
which provides the comptroller with the authority to prescribe,
adopt, and enforce rules relating to the administration and
enforcement of the provisions of Tax Code, Title 2.

The amendments implement the repeal of Tax Code, Chapter
161 (Fireworks Tax).
$3.1281.

(a) This section applies to sales made prior to September 1,
2015. Effective September 1, 2015, the fireworks tax is repealed.

(b) [€2)] Definitions. The following words and terms, when
used in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the con-
text clearly indicates otherwise.

Fireworks Tax.

(1) Consignment sale--An arrangement where a consignee
pays a distributor only for items that the consignee sells and returns any
unsold items.

(2) Fireworks--Any composition or device that is designed
to produce a visible or audible effect by combustion, explosion, defla-
gration, or detonation that is classified as Division 1.4G explosives by
the United States Department of Transportation in 49 C.F.R. Part 173
as of September 1, 1999. Examples of fireworks include items that are
commonly known as firecrackers, bottle rockets, Roman candles, and
shooting stars.

(3) Retail sale--Any sale of fireworks directly to the public.
(4) Sales tax--The tax imposed by Tax Code, Chapter 151.

() [®)] Imposition. A 2.0% tax is imposed on the retail sale
of fireworks in Texas. The fireworks tax imposed under Tax Code,
Chapter 161, is in addition to any state and local sales taxes that are
due on the retail sale of fireworks.

(d) [€e)] Collection. Each seller must collect the fireworks tax
from the purchaser on the total price of each retail sale of fireworks in
Texas. The fireworks tax is collected in the same manner as sales tax.
See §3.286 of this title (relating to Seller's and Purchaser's Responsi-
bilities, including Nexus, Permits, Returns and Reporting Periods, and
Collection and Exemption Rules[; and Criminal Penalties]) for infor-
mation on the collection and remittance of sales tax.

(e) [€d)] Consignment sales. For Texas tax purposes, distribu-
tors who make consignment sales of fireworks are considered the sell-
ers of the fireworks and are responsible for reporting and remitting the
sales and fireworks taxes due on all retail sales made by consignees.

(f) [€e)] Exclusions and exemptions.

(1) The following items are excluded from the fireworks
tax base, but retail sales of these items may be subject to sales tax:

(A) atoy pistol, toy cane, toy gun, or other device that
uses a paper or plastic cap;

(B) a model rocket or model rocket motor that is de-
signed, sold, and used for the purpose of propelling a recoverable aero
model;

(C) a propelling or expelling charge that consists of a
mixture of sulfur, charcoal, and potassium nitrate;

(D) anovelty or trick noisemaker;

(E) apyrotechnic signaling device or distress signal that
is designed for marine, aviation, or highway use in an emergency situ-
ation;

(F) afusee or railway torpedo for use by a railroad;

(G) ablank cartridge that is sold for use in a radio, tele-
vision, film, or theater production, for signal or ceremonial purposes in
athletic events, or for industrial purposes; or

(H) a pyrotechnic device that is sold for use by a mili-
tary organization.

(2) No fireworks tax is due on a sale that is exempt from
sales tax.

(3) A seller who accepts a valid and properly completed
resale or exemption certificate for sales tax is not required to collect
the fireworks tax. All sales that are unsupported by valid resale or
exemption certificates or by other exemption documentation acceptable
under the law are considered to be retail sales, and the seller will be
liable for the fireworks tax on those sales.

(g) [€D] Reports. A seller must report the fireworks tax to the
comptroller on forms that the comptroller prescribes. A seller who fails
to receive the correct form from the comptroller is not relieved of the
responsibility for filing a fireworks tax report and for payment of the
tax by the due date.

(h) [€2)] Due dates for reports and payments. A seller must
report and remit fireworks tax on or before the applicable due date for
the sales period as specified in this section.

(1) The due dates are:

(A) August 20 for tax collected on sales that occur dur-
ing:

(i) the period that begins May 1 and ends at mid-
night on May 5 at a location that is not more than 100 miles from the
Texas-Mexico border in a county in which the commissioners court has
approved the sale of fireworks during that period; and
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(ii) the period that begins on June 24 and ends at
midnight on July 4; and

(B) February 20 for tax collected on sales that occur
during the period that begins December 20 and ends at midnight on
January 1.

(2) Reports and remittances that are due on Saturdays, Sun-
days, or legal holidays may be submitted on the next business day.

(3) Reports submitted by mail must be postmarked on or
before the due date to be considered timely.

(4) Reports filed electronically must be completed and sub-
mitted by 11:59 p.m., central time, on the due date to be considered
timely.

(i) [(h)] Prepayment and timely filing discounts.

(1) The 1.75% sales tax prepayment discount does not ap-
ply to fireworks tax.

(2) A seller who timely files the fireworks report and pays
the tax due on or before the applicable due date may retain 0.5% of the
gross fireworks tax due.

(j) [@)] Late filing of reports and payment of tax due; penalty
and interest.

(1) Ifthe tax is paid or postmarked one to 30 days after the
due date, a penalty of 5.0% of the tax due is imposed.

(2) [If'the tax is paid or postmarked more than 30 days after
the due date, a penalty of 10% of the tax due is imposed.

(3) [Ifthe tax is paid or postmarked more than 60 days after
the due date, interest is also due on the late payment. Interest is applied
at the applicable annual rate to the amount of the delinquent tax due,
exclusive of any late penalty. The comptroller publishes the annual
interest rate online at www.window.state.tx.us and by phone at 1-877-
44RATEA4.

(4) A late filing penalty of $50 is imposed for each report
that is not filed on or before the due date. The penalty is due regardless
of whether the person subsequently files the report or whether no taxes
are due for the reporting period. The $50 penalty is due in addition to
any other penalties assessed for the reporting period.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 29,
2016.

TRD-201600386

Lita Gonzalez

General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 37. PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORREC-
TIONS

PART 11. TEXAS JUVENILE JUSTICE
DEPARTMENT

CHAPTER 341. JUVENILE PROBATION
DEPARTMENT GENERAL STANDARDS

The Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) proposes to re-
peal §§341.1 - 341.4, 341.9, 341.10, 341.20, 341.29, 341.35 -
341.41, 341.47 - 341.51, 341.65 - 341.71, and 341.80 - 341.91,
relating to Juvenile Probation Department General Standards.

TJJD simultaneously proposes new §§341.100, 341.102,
341.200, 341.202, 341.300, 341.302, 341.400, 341.500,
341.502, 341.504, 341.506, 341.600, 341.602, 341.604,

341.606, 341.700, 341.702, 341.704 - 341.706, 341.708,
341.710, 341.712, 341.800, 341.802, 341.804, 341.806,
341.808, 341.810, 341.812, and 341.814, relating to General
Standards for Juvenile Probation Departments.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

The repeal of §341.1 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.100.

The repeal of §341.2 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.200.

The repeal of §341.3 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.202.

The repeal of §341.4 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.102.

The repeal of §341.9 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.300.

The repeal of §341.10 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.302.

The repeal of §341.20 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.502.

The repeal of §341.29 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.400.

The repeal of §341.35 will allow for the content to be revised and
consolidated with new §341.100.

The repeal of §341.36 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.500.

The repeal of §§341.37 - 341.41 will allow for the content to be
revised and republished within new §341.504 and §341.506.

The repeal of §341.47 will allow for the content to be revised and
consolidated with new §341.100.

The repeal of §341.48 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.600.

The repeal of §341.49 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.602.

The repeal of §341.50 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.604.

The repeal of §341.51 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.606.

The repeal of §341.65 will allow for the content to be revised and
consolidated with new §341.100.

The repeal of §341.66 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.702.

The repeal of §341.67 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.704.
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The repeal of §341.68 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.706.

The repeal of §341.69 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.708.

The repeal of §341.70 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.710.

The repeal of §341.71 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.712.

The repeal of §341.80 will allow for the content to be revised and
consolidated with new §341.100.

The repeal of §341.81 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.800.

The repeal of §341.82 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.802.

The repeal of §341.83 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.804.

The repeal of §341.84 will allow for the content to be revised and
moved to new §341.808.

Specifically, the revised chapter will no longer require each ju-
venile probation officer (JPO) to receive 20 hours of training
in empty-hand defense tactics before carrying a firearm in the
course of the JPQO's duties. New §341.808 will require each ju-
venile probation department that authorizes a JPO to carry a
firearm to specify in the department's policies and procedures
the amount of required training in empty-hand defense tactics
and intermediate weapons before the JPO may carry a firearm
in the course of the JPO's duties. The provision in §341.84 re-
quiring the use of force by a JPO who carries a firearm to be
consistent with Chapter 9 of the Texas Penal Code will be re-
flected in new §341.808. Additionally, the provision in §341.84
requiring a JPO who carries a firearm to also carry an interme-
diate weapon will be reflected in new §341.808.

The repeal of §341.85 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.806.

The repeal of §341.86 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.808.

The repeal of §341.87 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.810.

The repeal of §341.88 will allow for the content to be revised and
republished as §341.812.

Section 341.89 is proposed for repeal to eliminate certain provi-
sions that are redundant with other sections within the chapter.
Additionally, the repeal will allow for certain provisions in §341.89
to be revised and addressed by other sections within the revised
chapter. For example, the revised chapter will no longer require
JPOs who carry firearms to receive 20 hours of continuing edu-
cation in certain firearms-related topics every two years. How-
ever, new §341.808 will require each juvenile probation depart-
ment that authorizes a JPO to carry a firearm to specify in its
policies and procedures the amount of required continuing ed-
ucation in those firearms-related topics. The repeal of §341.89
will also allow for the requirement for firearms-related training to
be provided by an instructor approved by the Texas Commission
on Law Enforcement to be moved to new §341.808.

Section 341.90 is proposed for repeal because it duplicates in-
formation found elsewhere in the chapter.

Section 341.91 is proposed for repeal to allow new §341.808 to
address the justification for discharging a firearm and to address
whether use of striking weapons is allowable. However, new
§341.808 will not authorize or prohibit any specific practices in
this regard. New §341.808 will require each juvenile probation
department that authorizes a JPO to carry a firearm to establish
in its policies and procedures the circumstances and limitations
under which a JPO who carries a firearm may use force. New
§341.808 will also require such policies and procedures to spec-
ify the type(s) of intermediate weapons to be used.

New §341.100 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.1. Changes include: 1) consolidating definitions
throughout the chapter into one rule; 2) adding definitions of
Alternative Referral Plan, Criminogenic Needs, Department,
Initial Disposition, Inter-County Transfer, Intern, Juvenile, Juve-
nile Board, Resident, Responsivity Factors, TCOLE, Title IV-E
Approved Facility, TJJD Mental Health Screening Instrument,
Transport Personnel, and Volunteer; 3) deleting the definitions
of Alleged Victim, Case Plan, Case Plan Review, Courtesy
Supervision, Exit Plan, Referral, On-Duty, Paper Complaint,
Paper Formalized, and Substitute Care Provider; 4) changing
the term Approved Physical Restraint to Approved Personal
Restraint Technique and revising the definition to match existing
definitions in other TAC chapters adopted by TJJD; 5) clarifying
the definition of Approved Mechanical Restraint Devices to re-
flect that the devices must be commercially available, removing
the requirement for the juvenile board to adopt the approved
mechanical restraint devices, adding Soft Restraints to the list
of TJJD-approved devices, and removing Anklets and Wristlets
from the list of TJJD-approved devices; and 6) changing the
definition of Intermediate Weapons to reflect that electronic
restraint devices, irritants, and impact weapons are examples
of intermediate weapons, rather than the only allowable types
of such weapons.

New §341.102 republishes information currently found in §341.4.

New §341.200 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.2. Changes include: 1) removing the requirement
for the juvenile board to specify the responsibilities and functions
of the juvenile probation department and the chief administrative
officer; 2) clarifying that the required ratio of one juvenile pro-
bation officer for every 100 annual referrals is based on formal
referrals; 3) clarifying that a person designated by the juvenile
board (rather than the juvenile board itself) must participate
in community resource coordination groups; 4) clarifying that
the signs provided by TJJD relating to complaint procedures
must be posted in English and Spanish; 5) combining the items
relating to research studies and experimentation and moving
the combined item from §341.3 to §341.200; 6) providing more
explanation regarding what constitutes prohibited experimenta-
tion; 7) clarifying that if the juvenile board designates a board
member or staff member to approve research studies on behalf
of the board, the designation must be in writing; and 8) adding
a requirement that for juvenile boards who adopt an alternative
referral plan under Texas Family Code §53.01(d), the most
recent version of the plan must be submitted to TJJD's general
counsel.

New §341.202 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.3. Changes include: 1) clarifying that the require-
ment to establish a deferred prosecution policy applies only
if the juvenile board adopts a fee schedule for the collection
of deferred prosecution fees, removing the specific reference
to the $15 maximum monthly fee, and referring to the Family
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Code section that contains the monthly maximum; 2) adding a
requirement for the policy on volunteers and interns to include
a prohibition on having unsupervised contact with juveniles if
the volunteer/intern has a criminal history that does not meet
the requirements of 37 TAC Chapter 344 and removing the
requirement for the policy to require the volunteer/intern sign-in
log to record the names of the juveniles contacted or served; 3)
clarifying that the zero-tolerance policy refers to sexual abuse
as defined in 37 TAC Chapter 358 and adding that the policy
must address conduct by volunteers, interns, and contractors;
4) adding a requirement for the juvenile board to establish a
policy that specifies whether juveniles under age 17 who have
been transferred for criminal prosecution under Family Code
§54.02 may be detained in a juvenile facility pending trial; and 5)
adding a requirement for the juvenile board to establish a policy
that specifies whether juvenile probation officers may take a
juvenile into custody and whether force is allowed in doing so. If
force is allowed, the policy must address certain topics related
to use of force, such as training, circumstances when force is
authorized, prohibited conduct, and documentation.

New §341.300 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.9. Changes include requiring the annual review
of policies and procedures to occur within the same calendar
month as the previous year's review, rather than once every
365 days.

New §341.302 republishes information currently found in
§341.10.

New §341.400 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.29. Changes include: 1) adding several items to
the list of duties that may be performed only by certified juvenile
probation officers (i.e., acting as the primary supervising officer
in a collaborative supervision agreement; taking a child into
custody under applicable Texas Family Code sections; serving
as the designated inter-county transfer officer and performing
the duties required by Texas Family Code §51.072; referring
a child to a local mental health or mental retardation authority
as required by Texas Family Code §54.0408; explaining to the
juvenile and parent/guardian/custodian who will have access to
the juvenile's record and when the record may be eligible for
restricted access or sealing; and providing a written copy of the
explanation); 2) clarifying that persons hired as juvenile proba-
tion officers who are not yet certified may perform the duties of
a certified officer if they have completed 40 hours of training
including the mandatory topics listed in 37 TAC Chapter 344
(rather than an unspecified number of training hours covering
the duties currently listed in §341.29); and 3) clarifying that a
non-certified officer may continue to perform duties of a certified
officer as long as the application for certification has been filed
by the deadline in Chapter 344.

New §341.500 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.36. Changes include: 1) clarifying that a mental
health screening is not required if a licensed mental health pro-
fessional completes a clinical assessment within the established
time frame; and 2) clarifying that the person who administers
the mental health screening instrument must have received
training from TJJD or its predecessor agency or from a person
who is documented to have received training from TJJD or its
predecessor agency.

New §341.502 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.20. Changes include: 1) adding a requirement
to complete the risk and needs assessment at least once every
six months after disposition; and 2) clarifying that the risk and

needs assessment is required before each disposition in a
child's case (in the event there is more than one disposition).

New §341.504 establishes basic requirements for a juvenile
probation department's policies and procedures relating to case
management.

New §341.506 establishes requirements for case plans. This
new section significantly revises information currently found in
§8§341.37 - 341.41. Changes include: 1) requiring completion of
the case plan within 30 days after initial disposition, rather than
60 days; 2) requiring the case plan to address relevant crim-
inogenic need(s), goals, action steps, responsible persons, time
frames, and status; 3) removing the requirement to complete
signed case plan reviews every six months; 4) adding a require-
ment for the juvenile probation officer to document monthly dis-
cussions with the juvenile and parent/guardian/custodian regard-
ing the juvenile's progress; 5) adding a requirement for the juve-
nile probation officer to document monthly updates to the status
of the case plan goals and action steps; 6) adding an exemp-
tion from certain case plan requirements while an inter-county
transfer request is being processed; 7) requiring documentation
when the parent/guardian/custodian cannot be located or is un-
able or unwilling to participate in case planning; and 8) adding an
exemption from all requirements of §341.506 for juveniles who
receive specialized case plans under the Title IV-E foster care
program or the Special Needs Diversionary Program.

New §341.600 republishes information currently found in
§341.48 with minor, non-substantive wording changes.

New §341.602 republishes information currently found in
§341.49 with minor, non-substantive wording changes.

New §341.604 republishes information currently found in
§341.50 with minor, non-substantive wording changes.

New §341.606 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.51. Changes include narrowing backup and
restoration requirements to apply only to juvenile probation
departments who do not use the Juvenile Case Management
System (JCMS).

New §341.700 limits Subchapter G (Restraints) to apply only to
juveniles who are not residents of a secure pre-adjudication de-
tention facility, secure post-adjudication correctional facility, or
non-secure correctional facility.

New §341.702 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.66. Changes include: 1) adding transport per-
sonnel as individuals who are authorized to use restraints; and
2) clarifying that the criteria for using restraints (i.e., imminent
or active self-injury, injury to others, serious property damage)
and the requirement to terminate the restraint when the criteria
are no longer present does not apply to restraints used during
routine transportation or when a juvenile probation officer takes
a juvenile into custody.

New §341.704 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.67. Changes include: 1) replacing the term face
down with prone or supine position to match wording used
in other TAC chapters adopted by TJJD; and 2) adding that
restraints that place anything around the juvenile's neck are
prohibited.

New §341.705 requires transport personnel to maintain current
certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation, first aid, and a
TJJD-approved personal restraint technique.
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New §341.706 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.68. Changes include: 1) adding that using
mechanical restraints during routine transportation and taking
a juvenile into custody are not required to be documented as
restraints unless cooperation is compelled through the use of
a personal restraint or the juvenile receives an injury related to
the restraint event; 2) requiring that documentation of a restraint
must include a narrative description of the event from each staff
member who participated in the restraint; and 3) clarifying that
the documentation must indicate the specific type of personal
restraint hold or type of mechanical restraint applied.

New §341.708 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.69. Changes include: 1) changing the required
frequency of retraining in the personal restraint technique to be
once every 365 calendar days or as required by the specific
restraint technique, whichever time frame is shorter (instead
of once every two years); and 2) moving the requirement for
juvenile probation departments to use only TJJD-approved
personal restraint techniques to this section from §341.65.

New §341.710 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.70. Changes include: 1) specifying that mechani-
cal restraint devices must have documented inspections at least
once each year within the same calendar month as the previous
year's inspection; 2) adding a requirement to restrict faulty or
malfunctioning mechanical restraint devices from use until they
are repaired; 3) adding a requirement for all maintenance of
mechanical restraint equipment to adhere to the manufacturer's
guidelines; 4) clarifying that mechanical restraints may not be
used to secure a juvenile in a prone, supine, or lateral position
with arms and hands behind his/her back and secured to his/her
legs; and 5) moving the requirement for juvenile probation
departments to use only TJJD-approved mechanical restraint
devices to this section from §341.65.

New §341.712 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.71. Changes include deleting the provision that
excludes routine transportation and taking a juvenile into cus-
tody from the requirement to document the use of mechanical
restraints. That provision is now addressed in new §341.706.

New §341.800 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.81. Changes include: 1) clarifying that a juvenile
probation officer is not disqualified from carrying a firearm if
he/she has been found to be a designated perpetrator in a TJJD
abuse, neglect, or exploitation investigation if that designation
has since been overturned; and 2) removing the provision that
states this subchapter does not authorize an officer to carry
a firearm while not on duty. There is no longer a definition of
on duty in this chapter. Instead, the chapter will now use the
statutory phrase in the course of the officer's official duties when
describing when an officer is authorized to carry the firearm.

New §341.802 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.82. Changes include: 1) increasing the deadline
to 30 calendar days (instead of five workdays) for submitting
required documents to TJJD after receiving the initial or renewal
firearms proficiency certificate; and 2) adding a requirement
for the juvenile probation department to include its current
weapons-related policies and procedures when submitting
required documents to TJJD.

New §341.804 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.83. Changes include removing the requirement
for a juvenile probation officer who carries a firearm to notify
TJJD if the officer is arrested for, charged with, or convicted of

any criminal office. New §341.806 requires the chief adminis-
trative officer to notify TJJD in such cases.

New §341.806 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.85. Changes include: 1) removing the require-
ment for the chief administrative officer or the supervisor of an
officer who carries a firearm to comply with all requirements of
this subchapter. New §341.808 requires the juvenile probation
department to determine any such responsibilities and address
them in department policies and procedures; 2) removing the
requirement for the juvenile probation department to notify the
Texas Commission on Law Enforcement within 24 hours when
the department rescinds its authorization for an officer to carry a
firearm or when an officer who carries a firearm separates from
employment; 3) clarifying that an internal investigation must
be conducted whenever an officer does any of the following
during the course of his/her official duties: uses an empty-hand
defense tactic in an incident involving another person; draws or
uses an intermediate weapon in an incident involving another
person; or draws or discharges a firearm in any incident; 4)
specifying that in cases where the chief administrative officer is
the subject of the investigation, the juvenile board or the board's
designee must conduct the investigation; 5) removing use of
empty-hand defense tactics as an incident that requires the
officer to be placed on administrative leave or reassigned to a
no-contact position; 6) specifying that an officer must be placed
on administrative leave or reassigned to a no-contact position
when the officer, in the course of his/her official duties, draws or
uses an intermediate weapon in an incident involving another
person or draws or discharges a firearm in any incident; and
7) adding a requirement for the chief administrative officer to
ensure TJJD is notified within 24 hours after the chief admin-
istrative officer learns that an officer who carries a firearm is
arrested for, charged with, or convicted of a criminal offense.

New §341.808 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.86. Changes include adding that, in juvenile
probation departments that authorize a juvenile probation officer
to carry a firearm, the department's weapons-related policies
and procedures must: 1) specify the amount of training in
empty-hand defense tactics and intermediate weapons that is
required before an officer may carry a firearm; 2) specify the
amount of continuing education required for officers who carry
a firearm; 3) specify the duties and training requirements of a
chief administrative officer or direct supervisor when the direct
supervisor does not carry a firearm but supervises an officer
who does carry a firearm; 4) require all weapons-related training
to be received from a Texas Commission on Law Enforce-
ment-certified instructor; 5) state whether intermediate weapons
are to be purchased and maintained by the department or
by the officer; 6) specify whether the firearm must be fully
loaded when carried or worn in the course of official duties (this
replaces a requirement that it must always be fully loaded); 7)
specify how the officer must carry or display his/her identifying
credentials when carrying a firearm in the course of official
duties (this replaces a requirement to always display them);
8) specify the type(s) of intermediate weapons to be used; 9)
state the manner in which the firearm must be worn or carried
(this replaces a requirement to be encased in a holster); 10)
require documentation of each incident in which an officer, in
the course of official duties, uses an empty-hand defense tactic,
uses an intermediate weapon, or draws or discharges a firearm
(this replaces a general requirement to define the process for
reporting use of force incidents); 11) require an officer to carry
an intermediate weapon at all times while carrying a firearm;
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and 12) specify the manner in which the intermediate weapon(s)
must be carried.

New §341.810 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.87. Changes include specifying that reports to
TJJD are required when an officer, in the course of official du-
ties, uses an empty-hand defense tactic in an incident involving
another person; draws or uses an intermediate weapon in an
incident involving another person; or draws or discharges a
firearm in any incident.

New §341.812 revises and republishes information currently
found in §341.88. Changes include: 1) removing the require-
ment for juvenile probation departments to keep the Firearms
Proficiency for Juvenile Probation Officers Application in the
officer's personnel file; and 2) adding a requirement to keep in
the officer's personnel file an acknowledgment that the officer
has reviewed the department's current weapons-related policies
and procedures.

FISCAL NOTE

Mike Meyer, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the new sections and repeals are in
effect, there will be no significant fiscal impact for state govern-
ment as a result of enforcing or administering the sections and
repeals. Mr. Meyer has determined that in very limited circum-
stances there will be a small fiscal impact for local governments;
however, insufficient data exist to determine the scope or size of
the impact.

PUBLIC BENEFIT/COSTS

James Williams, Senior Director of Probation and Community
Services, has determined that for each year of the first five years
the new and repealed sections are in effect, the public benefits
anticipated as a result of administering the sections will be: 1)
more effective probation case plans as a result of basing them
on validated risk and needs assessments; 2) enhanced safety
and clarified expectations as a result of juvenile probation de-
partments developing local policies to address the taking of ju-
veniles into custody; and 3) more flexibility for juvenile probation
departments to develop policies and procedures regarding car-
rying of handguns and other weapons.

Mr. Meyer has also determined that there will be no effect on
small businesses or micro-businesses. There is no anticipated
economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the
sections as proposed. No private real property rights are af-
fected by adoption of these sections.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Comments on the proposal may be submitted within 30 days af-
ter publication of this notice to Steve Roman, Policy Coordina-
tor, Texas Juvenile Justice Department, P.O. Box 12757, Austin,
Texas 78711 or email to policy.proposals@tjjd.texas.gov.

SUBCHAPTER A. DEFINITIONS
37 TAC §341.1
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable rules that
provide minimum standards for various aspects of the operation
of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide adequate and
effective probation services.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

§$341.1.  Definitions.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600400

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. JUVENILE BOARD
RESPONSIBILITIES

37 TAC §§341.2 - 341.4
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable rules that
provide minimum standards for various aspects of the operation
of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide adequate and
effective probation services.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

$341.2.  Administration.
$§341.3.  Policy and Procedures.
$341.4.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Waiver or Variance to Standards.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600401

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE
OFFICER RESPONSIBILITIES

37 TAC §341.9, §341.10

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable rules that
provide minimum standards for various aspects of the operation
of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide adequate and
effective probation services.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.
§$341.9.  Policy and Procedure Manual.

PROPOSED RULES February 12, 2016 41 TexReg 1091


mailto:policy.proposals@tjjd.texas.gov

$341.10.  Participation Coordination
Groups.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority

to adopt.

in  Community Resource

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600402

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. ASSESSMENT AND
SCREENING

37 TAC §341.20

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable rules that
provide minimum standards for various aspects of the operation
of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide adequate and
effective probation services. The repeal is also proposed un-
der Texas Human Resources Code §221.003(e), which requires
TJJD to adopt rules to ensure that youth in the juvenile justice
system are assessed using a validated risk and needs assess-
ment.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

§341.20. Risk and Needs Assessment.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600403

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER F. REQUIREMENTS FOR
CERTIFIED OFFICERS

37 TAC §341.29

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable rules that
provide minimum standards for various aspects of the operation
of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide adequate and
effective probation services.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

$341.29.  Duties of Certified Juvenile Probation Officers.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600404

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER G. CASE MANAGEMENT
STANDARDS

37 TAC §§341.35 - 341.41
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable rules that
provide minimum standards for various aspects of the operation
of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide adequate and
effective probation services. The repeals are also proposed un-
der Texas Human Resources Code §221.004(a), which requires
TJJD to adopt rules that provide case management standards for
all probation services provided by local probation departments.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

§$341.35.  Definitions.

$341.36.  Screening.

§341.37.  Case Planning.
§$341.38.  Field Supervision.
§$341.39.  Residential Placement.
§$341.40. Level of Supervision.
$341.41.  Exit Plan.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,

2016.

TRD-201600405

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER H. DATA COLLECTION
STANDARDS

37 TAC §§341.47 - 341.51

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable rules that

41 TexReg 1092

February 12, 2016 Texas Register



provide minimum standards for various aspects of the operation
of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide adequate and
effective probation services. The repeals are also proposed un-
der Texas Human Resources Code §221.004(a), which requires
TJJD to adopt rules that provide standards for the collection and
reporting of information about juvenile offenders by local proba-
tion departments.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

$§341.47.  Definitions.
§$341.48. Data Coordinator.
$341.49. TJJD EDI Extract.
§341.50.  Accuracy of Data.
$341.51.  Security of Data.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600406

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢
SUBCHAPTER J. RESTRAINTS
37 TAC §§341.65 - 341.71
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable rules that
provide minimum standards for various aspects of the operation
of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide adequate and
effective probation services.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

§$341.65.  Definitions.

$341.66. Requirements.
§$341.67.  Prohibitions.
$341.68. Documentation.
§341.69. Physical Restraint.
$341.70. Mechanical Restraint.
$341.71.  Transporting.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600407

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER K. CARRYING OF WEAPONS
37 TAC §§341.80 - 341.91
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable rules that
provide minimum standards for various aspects of the operation
of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide adequate and
effective probation services.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

$§341.80.  Definitions.

$§341.81.  Applicability and Authorization.

$341.82.  Documentation Requirements.

§341.83.  Responsibilities of a Juvenile Probation Officer Authorized
to Carry a Firearm.

$341.84. Use of Force Continuum.

$341.85. Responsibilities of Chief Juvenile Probation Olfficers or
Other Supervising Officer.

§$341.86.  Written Policies and Procedures.

$§341.87.  Reporting and Investigating Use of Force Incidents.
§$341.88.  Records.

$341.89.  Training and Qualification Requirements.

$341.90. Disqualifying Conduct.

$341.91.  Prohibited Conduct.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600409

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 341. GENERAL STANDARDS FOR
JUVENILE PROBATION DEPARTMENTS
SUBCHAPTER A. DEFINITIONS AND
GENERAL PROVISIONS

37 TAC §341.100, §341.102

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are proposed under Texas Human Resources
Code §221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable
rules that provide minimum standards for various aspects of
the operation of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide
adequate and effective probation services. The new sections
are also proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.004(a), which requires TJJD to adopt rules that provide
case management standards for all probation services provided
by local probation departments and to adopt rules that provide
standards for the collection and reporting of information about
juvenile offenders by local probation departments.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.
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§341.100.  Definitions.

The following words and terms have the following meanings when
used in this chapter, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Alternative Referral Plan--A procedure that deviates
from the requirements of Texas Family Code §53.01(d) regarding
referral of cases to the prosecutor.

(2) Approved Personal Restraint Technique ("personal
restraint")--A professionally trained, curriculum-based, and compe-
tency-based restraint technique that uses a person's physical exertion
to completely or partially constrain another person's body movement
without the use of mechanical restraints.

(3) Approved Mechanical Restraint Devices ("mechanical
restraint")--A professionally manufactured and commercially available
mechanical device designed to aid in the restriction of a person's bodily
movement. The only mechanical restraint devices approved for use are

the following:

(A) Ankle Cuffs--Metal band designed to be fastened
around the ankle to restrain free movement of the legs.

(B) Handcuffs--Metal devices designed to be fastened
around the wrist to restrain free movement of the hands and arms.

(C) Plastic Cuffs--Plastic devices designed to be fas-
tened around the wrists or legs to restrain free movement of hands,
arms, or legs. Plastic cuffs must be designed specifically for use in hu-
man restraint.

(D) Soft Restraints--Non-metallic wristlets and anklets
used as stand-alone restraint devices. These devices are designed to
reduce the incidence of skin, nerve, and muscle damage to the subject's
extremities.

(E) Waist Belt--A cloth, leather, or metal band designed
to be fastened around the waist and used to secure the arms to the sides
or front of the body.

(4) Case Management System--A computer-based tracking
system that provides a systematic method to track and manage juvenile
offender caseloads.

(5) Chief Administrative Officer--Regardless of title, the
person hired by a juvenile board who is responsible for oversight of the
day-to-day operations of a juvenile probation department, including the
juvenile probation department of a multi-county judicial district.

(6) Comprehensive Folder Edit--A report generated in the
Caseworker or Juvenile Case Management System (JCMS) application
that performs an extensive edit of the case file information. This report
identifies incorrectly entered data and questionable data that impact the
accuracy of the reports and programs.

(7) Criminogenic Needs--Issues, risk factors, characteris-
tics, and/or problems that relate to a person's risk of reoffending.

(8) Data Coordinator--A person employed by a juvenile
probation department who is designated to serve and function as the
primary contact with TJID on all matters relating to data collection
and reporting.

(9) Department--A juvenile probation department.

(10) Draw--To unholster a weapon in preparation for use
against a perceived threat.

(11) EDI Specifications--A document developed by TJJID
outlining the data fields and file structures that each juvenile probation
department is required to follow in submitting the TJJD EDI extract.

(12) Empty-Hand Defense--Defensive tactics through the
use of pressure points, releases from holds, and blocking and striking
techniques using natural body weapons such as an open hand, fist, fore-

arm, knee, or leg.

(13) Field Supervision--Supervision ordered by a juvenile
court in accordance with Texas Family Code §54.04(d)(1)(A) where
the child is placed on probation in the child's home or in the custody of
a relative or another fit person.

(14) Formal Referral--An event that occurs only when all
three of the following conditions exist:

(A) ajuvenile has allegedly committed delinquent con-
duct, conduct indicating a need for supervision, or a violation of pro-
bation;

(B) the juvenile probation department has jurisdiction
and venue; and

(C) the office or official designated by the juvenile
board has:

(i) made face-to-face contact with the juvenile and
the alleged offense has been presented as the reason for this contact; or

(i) given written or verbal authorization to detain

the juvenile.

(15) Initial Disposition--The disposition of probation
issued by a juvenile court after a child is:

(A) formally referred to a juvenile probation depart-
ment for the first time; or

(B) formally referred to a juvenile probation de-
partment after any and all previous periods of supervision by the
department have ended.

(16) Inter-County Transfer--As described in Texas Family
Code §51.072, a transfer of supervision from one juvenile probation
department in Texas to another juvenile probation department in Texas
for a juvenile who moves or intends to move to another county and
intends to remain in that county for at least 60 days.

(17) Intermediate Weapons--Weapons designed to neutral-
ize or temporarily incapacitate an assailant, such as electronic restraint
devices, irritants, and impact weapons. This level of self-defense em-
ploys the use of tools to neutralize aggressive behavior when deadly
force is not justified but when empty-hand defense is not sufficient.

(18) Intern--An individual who performs services for a ju-
venile justice program or facility through a formal internship program
that is sponsored by a juvenile justice agency or is part of an approved
course of study through an accredited college or university.

(19) Juvenile--A person who is under the jurisdiction of the
juvenile court, confined in a juvenile justice facility, or participating in
a juvenile justice program.

(20) Juvenile Board--A governing board created under
Chapter 152 of the Texas Human Resources Code.

(21) Juvenile Justice Program--A program or department

that:

(A) serves juveniles under juvenile court or juvenile
board jurisdiction; and

(B) is operated wholly or partly by the governing board,
juvenile board, or by a private vendor under a contract with the gov-
erning board or juvenile board. The term includes:

(i) _juvenile justice alternative education programs;
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(i) _non-residential programs that serve juvenile of-
fenders under the jurisdiction of the juvenile court; and

(iii) _juvenile probation departments.

(22) Resident--A juvenile or other individual who has been
lawfully admitted into a pre-adjudication secure juvenile detention fa-
cility, post-adjudication secure juvenile correctional facility, or a non-
secure juvenile correctional facility.

(23) Residential Placement--Supervision ordered by a ju-
venile court in which the child is placed on probation outside the child's
home in a foster home or a public or private institution or agency.

(24) Restraints--Personal or mechanical restraint.

(25) Responsivity Factors--Factors that are not necessarily
related to criminal activity but are relevant to the way in which the juve-
nile reacts to different types of interventions (e.g., learning styles and
abilities, self-esteem, motivation for treatment, resistance to change,

etc.).

(26) SRSXEdit--An audit program developed by TJJID
to assist juvenile probation departments not using the Caseworker
or JCMS application with verifying their data prior to submission to
TJID.

(27) Supervision--The case management of a juvenile by
the assigned juvenile probation officer or designee through contacts
(e.g., face-to-face, telephone, office, home, or collateral contacts) with
the juvenile, the juvenile's family, and/or other persons or entities in-
volved with the juvenile.

(28) TCOLE--Texas Commission on Law Enforcement.

(29) Title IV-E Approved Facility--A facility licensed
and/or approved by the Texas Department of Family and Protective
Services for Title IV-E participation.

(30) TJID--Texas Juvenile Justice Department.

(31) TJID Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) Extract--An
automated process to extract and submit modified case records from
the department's case management system to TJJD. The extract must
be completed in accordance with this chapter.

(32) TIJID Mental Health Screening Instrument--An instru-
ment selected by TJJD to assist in identifying juveniles who may have
mental health needs.

(33) Transport Personnel--An employee of a juvenile pro-
bation department, other than a juvenile supervision officer, whose pri-
mary job duty is to transport juveniles.

(34) Volunteer--An individual who performs services for
the juvenile probation department without compensation from the de-

partment who has:

(A) any unsupervised contact with juveniles in a juve-
nile justice program or facility; or

(B) regular or periodic supervised contact with juve-
niles in a juvenile justice program or facility.

§341.102.

Waiver or Variance to Standards.

Unless expressly prohibited by another standard, an application for a
waiver or variance of any standard in this chapter may be submitted in
accordance with §349.200 of this title.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600416

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. JUVENILE BOARD
RESPONSIBILITIES

37 TAC §341.200, §341.202

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are proposed under Texas Human Resources
Code §221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable
rules that provide minimum standards for various aspects of the
operation of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide ade-
quate and effective probation services.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.
$§341.200. Administration.

(a) Local Juvenile Probation Services Administration.

(1) For each autonomous juvenile probation department,
the juvenile board must employ a chief administrative officer who
meets the standards set forth in Chapter 344 of this title.

(2) When probation services for adult and juvenile offend-
ers are provided by a single probation office, the juvenile board must
ensure that the juvenile probation department's policies, programs, and
procedures are clearly differentiated.

(b) Referral Ratio. The juvenile probation department shall
employ at least one certified juvenile probation officer for each 100
formal referrals made to the juvenile probation department annually.

(c) Participation in Community Resource Coordination
Groups.
(1) A person designated by the juvenile board must partici-

pate in the system of community resource coordination groups pursuant
to Texas Government Code §531.055.

(2) The chair of the juvenile board or his/her designee must
serve as representative to the interagency dispute resolution process
required by Government Code §531.055.

(d) Notice of Complaint Procedures.
The juvenile board must ensure the English and Spanish signs provided
by TJJD relating to complaint procedures are posted in a public area of:

(1) the juvenile probation department; and

(2) any facility operated by the juvenile board or by a pri-
vate entity through a contract with the juvenile board.

(e) Research Studies and Experimentation.

(1) The juvenile board must establish a policy that prohibits
participation by juveniles in research that employs an experimental de-
sign to test a medical, pharmaceutical, or cosmetic product or proce-
dure.

(2) Participation by juveniles in any other kind of research
is prohibited unless:
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(A) the research study is approved in writing by the ju-
venile board or its designee; and

(B) the juvenile board has established policies that:

(i) _govern all authorized research studies;

(ii) prohibit studies that involve medically invasive
procedures; and

(iii) _adhere to all federal requirements governing hu-
man subjects and confidentiality.

(3) Ifthe juvenile board authorizes a board member or staff

(D) a prohibition on having unsupervised contact with
juveniles for volunteers and interns whose criminal history does not
meet the requirements in Chapter 344 of this title;

(E) the orientation and training requirements, including
training on recognizing and reporting abuse, neglect, and exploitation;

(F) arequirement that volunteers and interns meet min-
imum professional requirements if serving in a professional capacity;
and

(G) arequirement to maintain a sign-in log that docu-
ments the name of the volunteer/intern, the purpose of the visit, the

member to approve research studies on behalf of the board, the autho-

date of the service, and the beginning and ending time of the service

rization must be in writing.

(4) Approved research studies must adhere to all applicable
policies of the authorizing juvenile board.

(5) Before a research study approved by the juvenile board
begins, the research study must be reported to TJJD in a format pre-

scribed by TJJD.
(6) Results of a completed study must be made available to
TJJD upon request.
(f) Alternative Referral Plans. If a juvenile board adopts an

alternative referral plan under Texas Family Code §53.01(d), the board
must ensure the most recent version of the plan is submitted to the TJJD

general counsel.
§341.202.  Policies and Procedures.

(a) Personnel Policies. The juvenile board must establish writ-
ten personnel policies.

(b) Department Policies. The juvenile board must establish
written department policies and procedures. These policies must in-
clude, at a minimum, the following provisions, if applicable.

(1) Deferred Prosecution.

(A) If the juvenile board adopts a fee schedule for the
collection of deferred prosecution fees, the board must establish a writ-
ten policy that includes the following requirements.

(i) The monthly fee must be determined after obtain-
ing a financial statement from the parent or guardian and may not ex-
ceed the maximum set by Texas Family Code §53.03.

(ii) The fee schedule must be based on total par-
ent/guardian income.

(iii) The chief administrative officer or his/her de-
signee must approve in writing the fee assessed for each child includ-
ing any waiver of deferred prosecution fees.

(B) A deferred prosecution fee may not be imposed if
the juvenile board does not adopt a fee schedule and rules for waiver
of the deferred prosecution fee.

(2) Volunteers and Interns. If a juvenile probation depart-
ment utilizes volunteers or interns, the juvenile board must establish
policies for the volunteer and/or internship program that include:

(A) adescription of the scope, responsibilities, and lim-
ited authority of volunteers and interns who work with the department;

(B) selection and termination criteria, including dis-
qualification based on specified criminal history;

(C) arequirement to conduct criminal history searches
as described in §344.310 of this title for volunteers and interns who
will have direct, unsupervised access to juveniles;

performed for the department.

(3) Zero-Tolerance for Sexual Abuse. The juvenile board
must establish zero-tolerance policies and procedures regarding sexual
abuse as defined in Chapter 358 of this title. The policies and proce-
dures must:

(A) prohibit sexual abuse of juveniles under the juris-
diction of the department by department staff, volunteers, interns, and
contractors;

(B) establish the actions department staff must take in
response to allegations of sexual abuse and TJJID-confirmed incidents
of sexual abuse; and

(C) provide for administrative disciplinary sanctions
and referral for criminal prosecution.

(4) Pretrial Detention for Certain Juveniles. As required
by Texas Human Resources Code §152.0015, the juvenile board must
establish a policy that specifies whether a person who has been trans-
ferred for criminal prosecution under Texas Family Code §54.02 and
is younger than 17 years of age may be detained in a juvenile facility

pending trial.

(5) Taking Juveniles into Custody. The juvenile board
must establish a policy that specifies whether juvenile probation
officers may take a juvenile into custody as allowed by Texas Family
Code §§52.01(a)(4), 52.01(a)(6), or 52.015.

(A) If the policy allows juvenile probation officers to
take a juvenile into custody, the policy must specify whether the officers
are allowed to use force in doing so.

(B) If the policy allows juvenile probation officers to
use force in taking a juvenile into custody, the policy must:

(i) address prohibited conduct, circumstances under
which force is authorized, and training requirements;

(i) require each use of force to be documented, ex-
cept when the only force used is the placement of mechanical restraints

on the juvenile.
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600417

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014
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SUBCHAPTER C. CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE
OFFICER RESPONSIBILITIES

37 TAC §341.300, §341.302
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are proposed under Texas Human Resources
Code §221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable
rules that provide minimum standards for various aspects of the
operation of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide ade-
quate and effective probation services.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

$341.300.  Policy and Procedure Manual.

(a) The chief administrative officer must develop, maintain,
and enforce a policy and procedure manual for the juvenile probation
department, which must include the policies and procedures of the ju-

(1) recommending a disposition in formal court proceed-

(2) providing final approval of written social history re-

e}
=
-

(3) acting as the primary supervising officer for court-or-
dered and deferred prosecution cases;

(4) acting as the primary supervising officer in a collabora-
tive supervision agreement under Texas Family Code §51.075;

(5) developing and implementing case plans in accordance
with Subchapter E of this chapter;

(6) conducting intake interviews and preliminary investi-
gations and making release decisions under Texas Family Code §53.01,
unless another staff member is designated to do so by the juvenile
board;

(7) taking a child into custody as authorized by Texas Fam-
ily Code §§52.01(a)(4), 52.01(a)(6), or 52.015;

venile probation department as established by the juvenile board.

(b) The chief administrative officer must provide all employ-

(8) serving as the designated inter-county transfer officer
and performing the duties required by Texas Family Code §51.072;

ees with a copy of or access to the policy and procedure manual, review
the manual no later than the last day of the calendar month of the pre-
vious year's review, maintain documentation of this review, and update
the manual as necessary.

§$341.302.  Participation in Community Resource Coordination
Groups.

The chief administrative officer or his/her designee must serve as the
liaison to the local community resource coordination group pursuant to
Texas Government Code §531.055.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600420

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. REQUIREMENTS FOR
JUVENILE PROBATION OFFICERS

37 TAC §341.400

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new section is proposed under Texas Human Resources
Code §221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable
rules that provide minimum standards for various aspects of the
operation of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide ade-
quate and effective probation services.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

§341.400.  Duties of Certified Juvenile Probation Officers.

(a) The following duties and responsibilities may be per-
formed only by certified juvenile probation officers, except as allowed
by subsection (b) of this section:

(9) referring a child to a local mental health or mental re-
tardation authority as required by Texas Family Code §54.0408;

(10) explaining to the juvenile and to the juvenile's par-
ent, guardian, or custodian, the following, as required by Texas Family

Code §58.209:

(A) who will have access to the juvenile's record; and

(B) under what circumstances that record may be eligi-
ble for restricted access or sealing; and

(11) providing the juvenile with a written copy of the ex-
planation in paragraph (10) of this subsection.

(b) Subject to the application deadline established in Chapter
344 of this title, an individual hired as a juvenile probation officer who
is not yet certified as a juvenile probation officer may perform the duties
under subsection (a) of this section if the individual has completed a
minimum of 40 hours of training, which must include the mandatory
topics required in Chapter 344 of this title.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600422

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER E. CASE MANAGEMENT
37 TAC §§341.500, 341.502, 341.504, 341.506
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are proposed under Texas Human Resources
Code §221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable
rules that provide minimum standards for various aspects of
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the operation of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide
adequate and effective probation services. The new sections
are also proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.004(a), which requires TJJD to adopt rules that provide
case management standards for all probation services provided
by local probation departments. Additionally, §341.500 and
§341.502 are proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.003(e), which requires TJJD to adopt rules to ensure
that youth in the juvenile justice system are assessed using a
validated risk and needs assessment and also using a mental
health screening instrument or clinical assessment.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

$341.500.  Mental Health Screening.

(a) The TJJD mental health screening instrument must be com-
pleted for all juveniles who receive a formal referral to the juvenile pro-
bation department, except in the specific circumstances listed in para-
graphs (1) - (2) of this subsection.

(1) A clinical assessment by a licensed mental health pro-
fessional may be substituted for the TJJD mental health screening in-
strument if the assessment is completed within the time frames listed
in subsection (b) of this section.

(2) The department is not required to complete an addi-
tional screening if the TJJD mental health screening instrument has
been completed within the previous two weeks and is contained in the
juvenile's case record.

(b) Ifthe juvenile is not admitted into detention, the TJJD men-
tal health screening instrument must be administered no later than 14
calendar days after the date of the first face-to-face contact between
the juvenile and a juvenile probation officer. If the juvenile is admitted
into detention, the detention facility is required under §343.404 of this
title to administer the TJJD mental health screening instrument within
48 hours after admission and to send the results to the supervising ju-
venile probation officer.

(c) The individual administering the TJJD mental health
screening instrument must have received training from:

(1) TIID or its predecessor agency on administering the
mental health screening instrument; or

(2) anindividual who is documented to have received train-
ing from TJJD or its predecessor agency on administering the mental
health screening instrument.

§341.502.  Risk and Needs Assessment.

(a) A juvenile probation department must complete a risk and
needs assessment for a juvenile:

(1) before each disposition in a juvenile's case; and

(2) at least once every six months.

(b) The risk and needs assessment instrument must be:

1) wvalidated; and
(2) approved or provided by TJJD.

(c) The risk and needs assessment instrument must be admin-
istered by an individual trained to administer the instrument.

§341.504. Case Management Policies and Procedures.

Each department's case management policies and procedures must:

(1) establish that individualized case management prac-
tices are based on a consideration of the following factors, at a
minimum:

(A) results of the department's risk and needs assess-
ment instrument;

(B) criminogenic needs;

(C) risk level to reoffend;

(D) responsivity factors; and

(E) involvement of the parent(s), guardian, or custo-

dian; and

(2) require a minimum of one face-to-face-contact per
month with each juvenile under supervision unless otherwise noted in

the case plan.
§341.506. Case Plans.

(a) A case plan must be developed for each juvenile assigned
to progressive sanctions level three, four, or five, as defined in Texas
Family Code Chapter 59, and for each juvenile given determinate sen-
tence probation under Texas Family Code §54.04(q).

(b) The case plan must be completed within 30 calendar days
after the date of initial disposition. The case plan must be:

(1) developed by a juvenile probation officer in coordina-
tion with the juvenile and the juvenile's parent, guardian, or custodian;

(2) signed by a juvenile probation officer, the juvenile, and
the juvenile's parent, guardian, or custodian; and

(3) retained, with copies provided to:

(A) the juvenile;

(B) the juvenile's parent, guardian, or custodian; and

(C) upon placement of a juvenile in a residential place-
ment, staff at the residential placement.

(c) The case plan must address:

(1) relevant criminogenic need(s), as determined by the de-
partment; and

(2) the following information for each criminogenic need
addressed in the case plan:

A oal(s); and

B) for each goal:

(i) _action step(s);

(ii) person(s) responsible for completing the action

step(s);

(iii) time frame for completing the action step(s);

and

(iv) _status of the goal;

(3) identification of relevant community services for the
juvenile and the juvenile's parent(s), guardian, or custodian to access

while the juvenile is under supervision and after supervision ends;

(4) facility name and phone number, if the juvenile is in a
residential placement; and

(5) level of supervision.

(d) Except as noted in subsection (f) of this section, the juve-
nile probation officer must complete and document the following ac-
tions each calendar month after the case plan has been developed:

(1) discuss progress toward meeting case plan goals with:

(A) the juvenile;
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(B) the juvenile's parent(s), guardian, or custodian; and

(C) theresidential provider where the juvenile is placed,
if applicable; and

(2) update the status and progress toward meeting case plan
goals and action steps.

(e) If the parent, guardian, or custodian cannot be located or
is unable or unwilling to participate in developing or updating the case
plan as required in subsection (b) or (d) of this section, documentation
of the reason the parent, guardian, or custodian did not participate must
be maintained.

(f) The requirements in subsection (d) of this section do not
apply after a request for an inter-county transfer has been submitted and
before the sending and receiving counties have agreed on the official
start date, as described in Texas Family Code §51.072(f-1).

(g) Within 30 calendar days after the official start date for an
inter-county transfer, the receiving county must:

(1) assume responsibility for the monthly updates de-
scribed in subsection (d) of this section; or

(2) complete a new case plan in accordance with subsec-
tions (b) and (c) of this section.

(h) Section 341.506 does not apply to:

(1) juveniles on field supervision in departments that cur-
rently participate in Title IV-E reasonable candidacy;

(2) juveniles who have been certified or are pending certi-
fication as Title IV-E eligible; or

(3) juveniles who are receiving services under the Special
Needs Diversionary Program administered by TJJD.

(1) A case plan is required in accordance with subsections (b)
and (c) of this section within 30 calendar days after any of the following
events:

(1) ajuvenile is discharged from the Title IV-E foster care
reimbursement program or is determined to be ineligible for the Title

IV-E program;

(2) ajuvenile is discharged from the Special Needs Diver-
sionary Program; or

(3) a department ceases to participate in claiming Title
IV-E reasonable candidate costs.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600424

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014
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SUBCHAPTER F. DATA COLLECTION
37 TAC §§341.600, 341.602, 341.604, 341.606

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are proposed under Texas Human Resources
Code §221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable
rules that provide minimum standards for various aspects of
the operation of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide
adequate and effective probation services. The new sections
are also proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.004(a), which requires TJJD to adopt rules that provide
standards for the collection and reporting of information about
juvenile offenders by local probation departments.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

§341.600. Data Coordinator.
(a) Training Requirements.

(1) The data coordinator must have a thorough understand-
ing of TJJID's reporting requirements.

(2) The data coordinator must complete training related to
data reporting provided by TJJD as required.

(b) Duties.

(1) The data coordinator is responsible for ensuring that all
data submitted to TJJD by the juvenile probation department is accu-
rate, timely, and consistent with TJJD's reporting requirements.

(2) The data coordinator must ensure that the TJJD EDI
Extract is submitted to TJID on or before the applicable due date.
$341.602. TJJD EDI Extract.
(a) The TJID EDI Extract must be sent to TJJD electronically.

(b) The extract is due to TJID no later than the tenth calendar
day of each month following the reporting period.

(c) The TJJID EDI Extract data must include all data fields re-
quired by the EDI Specifications.

(d) TJJD staff must discuss any proposed changes to the spec-
ifications with juvenile probation departments' designated representa-
tives before making substantive changes to the specifications.

$341.604.  Accuracy of Data.
(a) The juvenile probation department must fill in all applica-
ble data fields for each referral in the department's case management

system.

(b) The juvenile probation department must run the Compre-
hensive Folder Edit or SRSXEdit on a monthly basis.

(c) Errors detected by the Comprehensive Folder Edit must be
corrected prior to the next submission of the EDI Extract.

(d)  Errors detected by TJJID must be corrected prior to the date
provided by TJJD.

§341.606. Security of Data.

(a) Each user of the juvenile probation department's case man-
agement system must obtain a password to the system. Passwords must
not be shared with department employees or other persons.

(b) The juvenile probation department must limit the number
of employees who are authorized to delete information in the depart-
ment's case management system.

(c) Access to the department's case management system must
be removed concurrent with the termination of a user's employment.

(d) A juvenile probation department that does not use the Ju-
venile Case Management System (JCMS) must:
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(1) establish and follow a written policy for backup and
restoration procedures relating to data in its case management system,

(7) _Restraints must be terminated as soon as the juvenile's
behavior no longer indicates an imminent threat of self-injury, injury to

and

(2) maintain an off-site backup storage system.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600426

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER G. RESTRAINTS

37 TAC §§341.700, 341.702, 341.704 - 341.706, 341.708,
341.710, 341.712

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are proposed under Texas Human Resources
Code §221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable
rules that provide minimum standards for various aspects of the
operation of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide ade-
quate and effective probation services.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.
$§341.700.  Applicability.

This subchapter applies only to juveniles who are not residents of a
juvenile pre-adjudication secure detention facility, a juvenile post-ad-
judication secure correctional facility, or a non-secure juvenile correc-
tional facility.

§341.702.  Requirements.

The use of restraints is governed by the following criteria.

(1) Personal restraints may be used only by juvenile proba-
tion officers and transport personnel who are trained in the use of the
approved personal restraint technique.

(2) Mechanical restraints may be used only by juvenile pro-
bation officers and transport personnel who are trained in the use of all
approved mechanical restraint devices.

(3) Except during routine transportation or when a juvenile
probation officer takes a juvenile into custody under Texas Family Code

others, or serious property damage, except during routine transporta-
tion or when a juvenile probation officer takes a juvenile into custody.

§341.704.  Prohibitions.

Restraints that employ a technique listed in this section are prohibited:

(1) restraints used for punishment, discipline, retaliation,
harassment, compliance, or intimidation;

(2) restraints that deprive the juvenile of basic human ne-
cessities, including restroom opportunities, water, food, and clothing;

(3) restraints that are intended to inflict pain;

(4) restraints that put a juvenile in a prone or supine posi-
tion with sustained or excessive pressure on the back or chest cavity;

(5) restraints that put a juvenile in a prone or supine posi-
tion with pressure on the neck or head;

(6) restraints that obstruct the airway or impair the breath-
ing of the juvenile, including a procedure that places anything in, on,
or over the juvenile's mouth or nose or around the juvenile's neck;

(7) restraints that interfere with the juvenile's ability to
communicate;

(8) restraints that obstruct the view of the juvenile's face;

(9) any technique that does not require the monitoring of
the juvenile's respiration and other signs of physical distress during the
restraint; and

(10) percussive or electrical shocking devices.

§341.705.

Transport personnel must maintain current certification in the following
topics:

Transport Personnel.

(1) cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR);

(2) first aid; and
(3) apersonal restraint technique approved by TJID.
$341.706.  Documentation.

(a) Restraints must be fully documented and the documenta-
tion must be maintained, except as noted in subsection (b) of this sec-
tion. Written documentation regarding the use of restraints must in-
clude, at a minimum:

(1) name of the juvenile;

(2) name and title of each staff member who administered
the restraint;

(3) narrative description of the restraint event from each
staff member who participated in the restraint;

§52.01 or §52.015, restraints may be used only in instances of threat of
imminent or active:

(A) self-injury;
(B) injury to others; or

(C) serious property damage.

(4) Restraints may be used only as a last resort.

(5) Only the amount of force and type of restraint necessary
to control the situation may be used.

(6) Restraints must be implemented in such a way as to
protect the health and safety of the juvenile and others.

(4) date of the restraint;

(5) duration of each type of restraint (e.g., personal or me-
chanical), including notation of the time each type of restraint began
and ended;

(6) location of the restraint;

(7) events and behavior that prompted the initial restraint
and any continued restraint;

(8) de-escalation efforts and restraint alternatives at-
tempted;

(9) type of restraint(s) applied, including, as applicable:
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(A) the specific type of personal restraint hold applied;

and

(B) the type of mechanical restraint device(s) applied;

and

(10) any injury that occurred during the restraint.

(b) The following events are not required to be documented as
a restraint, except as noted in subsection (¢) of this section:

(1) using mechanical restraints during routine transporta-
tion; and

(2) ajuvenile probation officer taking a juvenile into cus-
tody under Texas Family Code §52.01 or §52.015.

(c) The exception in subsection (b) of this section does not
apply when:

(1) the juvenile's cooperation is compelled through the use
of a personal restraint;

(2) thejuvenile receives an injury in relation to the restraint
event or restraint devices.

$341.708.  Personal Restraint.

(a) A juvenile probation department may not use a personal
restraint technique before it has been approved for use by TJJD.

(b) Staff members who are authorized to use personal re-
straints must be retrained in the approved personal restraint technique
in accordance with the requirements of the technique or at least once
every 365 calendar days, whichever time frame is shorter.

§341.710.  Mechanical Restraint.
The use of mechanical restraints is governed by the following criteria.

(1) Requirements.

(A) Only approved mechanical restraint devices may be
used by the juvenile probation department.

(B) Mechanical restraints must be used only in a man-
ner consistent with their intended use.

(C) Mechanical restraint devices must be inspected at
least once each year, no later than the last day of the calendar month
of the previous year's inspection. The dates of the inspections must be
documented.

(D) Faulty or malfunctioning devices must be restricted

(F) A juvenile in mechanical restraints may not partic-
ipate in any physical activity.

(G) Plastic cuffs may be used only in emergency situa-

tions.

$341.712.  Transporting.

(a) During transportation in a vehicle, the juvenile may not be
affixed to any part of the vehicle.

(b) During transportation in a vehicle, a juvenile may not be
secured to another juvenile.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600427

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014
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SUBCHAPTER H. CARRYING OF WEAPONS

37 TAC §§341.800, 341.802, 341.804, 341.806, 341.808,
341.810, 341.812

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new sections are proposed under Texas Human Resources
Code §221.002(a), which requires TJJD to adopt reasonable
rules that provide minimum standards for various aspects of the
operation of a juvenile board that are necessary to provide ade-
quate and effective probation services.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.
§341.800.  Applicability and Authorization.

(a) Applicability. This subchapter applies only to actively cer-
tified juvenile probation officers who are authorized to carry firearms
under this subchapter.

from use until they are repaired. Any maintenance performed must
adhere to the manufacturer's guidelines.

(2) Prohibitions.

(A) Mechanical restraint devices may not be altered

(b) Authorization to Carry a Firearm.

(1) In accordance with §142.006 of the Texas Human
Resources Code, a juvenile probation officer is authorized to carry a
firearm during the course of the officer's official duties if:

from the manufacturer's design.

(B) A juvenile may not be placed in a prone position

(A) the juvenile probation officer has been employed
for at least one year by the juvenile probation department described

while restrained in any mechanical restraint for a period of time longer

in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph;

than necessary to apply the restraint devices.

(C) A mechanical restraint may not be used to secure a

(B) the chief administrative officer of the juvenile pro-
bation department that employs the juvenile probation officer autho-

juvenile in a prone, supine, or lateral position with the juvenile's arms

rizes the juvenile probation officer to carry a firearm in the course of

and hands behind his/her back and secured to his/her legs.

(D) Mechanical restraint devices may not be secured so
tightly as to interfere with circulation or so loosely as to cause chafing

the officer's official duties; and

(C) the juvenile probation officer possesses a certificate
of firearms proficiency issued by the Texas Commission on Law En-

of the skin.

(E) Mechanical restraint devices may not be used to se-
cure a juvenile to a stationary object.

forcement (TCOLE) under §1701.259 of the Texas Occupations Code.

(2) A juvenile probation officer is disqualified from being
authorized to carry a firearm during the course of the officer's official
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duties if the officer has been found to be a designated perpetrator in a
TJJID abuse, neglect, or exploitation investigation, unless that designa-

(3) documentation of successful completion of the amount
of continuing education specified by the department's policies and pro-

tion has been overturned.

(3) Inaccordance with §221.35 of this title, a juvenile pro-
bation officer must successfully complete TCOLE's current firearms
training program for juvenile probation officers to be authorized to

cedures relating to the use of a firearm, intermediate weapon, or empty-
hand defense tactic; and

(4) the department's current policies and procedures de-
scribed in §341.808 of this title.

carry a firearm in the course of the officer's official duties.

(4) Alicense obtained under Chapter 411, Subchapter H, of

§341.804.  Responsibilities of a Juvenile Probation Olfficer Autho-
rized to Carry a Firearm.

the Texas Government Code (i.e., a concealed handgun license) does
not enable a certified juvenile probation officer to carry a firearm in the
course of the officer's official duties and does not satisfy, and may not
be accepted in lieu of, the requirements in this subchapter.

$341.802.  Documentation Requirements.

(a) Documents Required after Obtaining an Initial Firearms
Proficiency Certificate. Within 30 calendar days after receiving the
initial firearms proficiency certificate from TCOLE, the chief admin-
istrative officer must ensure the following documents are provided to
TJJD:

(1) acopy of the Juvenile Probation Officer Firearms Pro-
ficiency Certificate from TCOLE; and

(2) acompleted, signed, and notarized copy of TJJD's Ver-
ification of Eligibility for Juvenile Probation Officer to Carry Firearm
form, including the following required attachments:

(A) appropriate documentation that the juvenile proba-
tion officer has been subjected to a complete search of local, state, and
national records to disclose any criminal record or criminal history;

(B) written documentation from each chief administra-
tive officer who has authorized the juvenile probation officer's partic-
ipation in the juvenile probation officer firearms proficiency training
program that the officer has been examined by a psychologist who was
selected by the current employing department and who is licensed by
the Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists;

(C) awritten declaration from the examining psycholo-
gist that the juvenile probation officer possesses the requisite psycho-

A juvenile probation officer who is authorized to carry a firearm in
accordance with this subchapter must:

(1) comply with the requirements of this subchapter, the
officer's department policies and procedures, and the laws of this state
and of the United States;

(2) be knowledgeable of the places where firearms or other
weapons are prohibited;

(3) immediately report to the chief administrative officer if
the officer is arrested for, charged with, or convicted of any criminal
offense;

(4) comply with all training, firearms proficiency, and cer-
tification requirements in §221.35 of this title;

(5) maintain the firearm and all authorized intermediate
weapons in proper working order at all times;

(6) be responsible for the safe handling of the firearm and
all authorized intermediate weapons; and

(7) store the firearm and all authorized intermediate
weapons in a secure, locked location designed for secure storage of
a weapon when the firearm or other weapon is not on the officer's
person.
$341.806.  Responsibilities of Chief Administrative Olfficers or Other
Supervising Olfficers.

(a) The chief administrative officer or his/her designee must
notify TJJID within 24 hours if:

logical and emotional health to carry a firearm in the course of the of-
ficer's official duties;

(D) documentation of successful completion of
TCOLE's current firearms training program for juvenile probation
officers;

(E) documentation of successful completion of the
amount of training specified by the department's policies and proce-
dures in the following areas:

(i) _use of an empty-hand defense tactic; and

(it) use of an intermediate weapon; and

(F) the department's current policies and procedures de-

(1) the department rescinds its authorization for a juvenile
probation officer to carry a firearm; or

(2) an officer who is authorized to carry a firearm separates
from the department.

(b) An internal investigation must be conducted for all inci-
dents in which a juvenile probation officer, during the course of his/her
official duties:

(1) uses an empty-hand defense tactic in an incident involv-
ing another person;

(2) draws or uses an intermediate weapon in an incident
involving another person; or

scribed in §341.808 of this title.

(b) Documents Required after Obtaining Renewed Firearms
Proficiency Certificate. Within 30 calendar days after receiving a re-
newal of a firearms proficiency certificate from TCOLE, the chief ad-
ministrative officer must ensure the following documents are provided
to TJID:

(1) a copy of the renewed Juvenile Probation Officer

(3) draws or discharges a firearm in any incident.

(¢) The investigation described in subsection (b) of this section
must be conducted by:

(1) the chief administrative officer or his/her designee; or

(2) the juvenile board or the board's designee in cases
where the chief administrative officer is the subject of the investiga-

Firearms Proficiency Certificate from TCOLE;

(2) acompleted, signed, and notarized copy of TIJD's Re-
newal of Verification of Eligibility for Juvenile Probation Officer to

tion.

(d) A juvenile probation officer must be immediately placed
on administrative leave or reassigned to a position having no contact

Carry Firearm form;

with juveniles or the relatives of a juvenile involved in the incident
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if the juvenile probation officer, while in the course of his/her official
duties:

(1) draws or uses an intermediate weapon in an incident
involving another person; or

(2) draws or discharges a firearm in any incident.

(e) The administrative leave or reassignment described in sub-
section (d) of this section must remain in effect until the conclusion of
the internal investigation.

(f) The chief administrative officer must ensure that TJJD is
notified if an officer who is authorized to carry a firearm is arrested for,
charged with, or convicted of any criminal offense. This notification is
required within 24 hours after the chief administrative officer learns of

(10) specify how credentials identifying the officer as a cer-
tified juvenile probation officer must be carried and/or displayed while
the officer is carrying a firearm in accordance with this subchapter;

(11) describe the circumstances and limitations under
which the officer is justified to use force, which must be consistent
with Chapter 9 of the Texas Penal Code;

(12) specify the firearms to be carried, including the type
of firearm, manufacturer, model, and caliber;

(13) specify the type of ammunition authorized for use in
the firearm;

(14) specify the type(s) of intermediate weapons to be

used;

the arrest, charge, or conviction.

$341.808.  Written Policies and Procedures.

Each juvenile probation department that employs a juvenile probation
officer who is authorized to carry a firearm in accordance with the re-
quirements in this subchapter must maintain and implement written
policies and procedures that:

(1) define which juvenile probation officers within the de-
partment are authorized to carry firearms;

(2) specify the amount of required training hours in the fol-
lowing areas before a juvenile probation officer may carry a firearm in
the course of the officer's duties:

(A) use of an empty-hand defense tactic; and

(B) use of at least one intermediate weapon;

(3) specify the amount of continuing education hours re-
quired every two years for an officer to continue to carry a firearm in
the course of the officer's duties;

(4) require continuing education hours to be in areas that
enhance the officer's skills and knowledge relating to the proficient and
legal use of a firearm, empty-hand defense tactics, and intermediate
weapons in the context of self-defense and defense of third parties,
including the following topics, at a minimum:

(A) use of force;

(B) weapons retention; and

(C) crisis intervention;

(5) specify the duties and training requirements of the chief
administrative officer or the direct supervisor of a juvenile probation
officer in cases where the following circumstances exist:

(A) ajuvenile probation officer is authorized to carry a
firearm in the course of his/her official duties; and

(B) the direct supervisor of the juvenile probation offi-
cer does not carry a firearm in the course of his/her official duties;

(6) require all training described in this section to be re-
ceived from a TCOLE-certified instructor;

(7) state whether firearms and intermediate weapons are to
be purchased and maintained by the department or the individual offi-
cer;

(8) require that the firearm and intermediate weapons re-
main under the control of the officer authorized to carry the firearm

and weapon(s);

(9) specify whether the firearm must be fully loaded when
carried or worn when the officer is in the course of his/her official du-

(15) state whether the firearm must be carried in plain view
or concealed and the manner in which it must be worn or carried;

(16) require documentation of each incident in which a ju-
venile probation officer, while in the course of his/her official duties,
uses an empty-hand defense tactic, uses an intermediate weapon, or
draws or discharges a fircarm;

(17) require the officer to carry an intermediate weapon at
all times while the officer is carrying a firearm;

(18) specify the manner in which the intermediate
weapon(s) must be carried;

(19) define the process for rescinding or suspending the au-
thorization to carry a firearm;

(20) prohibit the consumption of alcohol while carrying a
firearm or intermediate weapon;

(21) define the process for conducting an internal investi-
gation when required by §341.806(b) of this title;

(22) require that a juvenile probation officer be placed on
administrative leave or be reassigned to a position having no contact
with juveniles or relatives of the juvenile involved in the incident when
required by §341.806(d) of this title.

$341.810.  Reporting Use of Force Incidents to TJJD and Law En-
orcement.

(a) The chief administrative officer or his/her designee must
report to TJJD each incident in which a juvenile probation officer, dur-
ing the course of his/her official duties:

(1) uses an empty-hand defense tactic in an incident involv-
ing another person;

(2) draws or uses an intermediate weapon in an incident
involving another person; or

(3) draws or discharges a fircarm in any incident.

(b) The initial report must be made to TJJD immediately, but
no later than four hours after the conclusion of the use of force incident.

(c) The initial report must be made using the toll-free number
designated by TJID.

(d) Within 24 hours after the report by phone, the Juvenile Pro-
bation Officer Use of Force Incident Report form must be submitted to
TJJD via fax or e-mail.

(e) The chief administrative officer or his/her designee must
report to local law enforcement any discharge of a firearm by a juvenile
probation officer immediately, but no later than one hour after the time

of discharge.
§341.812.  Records.
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(a) The personnel file of each juvenile probation officer autho-
rized to carry a firearm in accordance with this subchapter must contain

a copy of the:
(1) PID Assignment (TCOLE C-1 form);

(2) results of criminal history checks conducted pursuant
to the requirements of this subchapter;

(3) Licensee Psychological and Emotional Health Declara-
tion (TCOLE L-3 form);

(4) proof of annual firearms proficiency;

(5) verification of successful completion of TCOLE's
firearms training program for juvenile probation officers; and

(6) acknowledgment that the officer has reviewed the de-
partment's current policies and procedures specified in §341.808 of this
title.

(b) Juvenile probation departments must allow TCOLE, other
law enforcement agencies, and TJJD access to records pertaining to
firecarms and use of force incidents for monitoring and investigation

purposes.
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600428

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014
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CHAPTER 343. SECURE JUVENILE
PRE-ADJUDICATION DETENTION AND
POST-ADJUDICATION CORRECTIONAL
FACILITIES

SUBCHAPTER D. SECURE POST-
ADJUDICATION CORRECTIONAL FACILITY
STANDARDS

The Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) proposes to
amend §343.616, concerning Content of Resident Records, and
§343.688, concerning Residential Case Plan Coordination.

TJJD simultaneously proposes to repeal §343.690, concerning
Residential Case Plan Review.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

The amended §343.616 will remove references to the case plan
and case plan review from the list of documents that must be in-
cluded in each resident's record. These documents will no longer
be required in post-adjudication facilities as a result of proposed
changes in Chapter 341 of this title.

The amended §343.688 will no longer require facility staff to com-
plete an initial case plan for each resident upon admission to a
secure post-adjudication facility. This amendment corresponds

with changes in Chapter 341 of this title, which are also proposed
in this issue of the Texas Register. The revised Chapter 341
will require the supervising juvenile probation officer to maintain
a juvenile's case plan throughout the duration of the juvenile's
time on probation, including time spent in a secure post-adjudi-
cation facility. The amended §343.688 will instead require the fa-
cility administrator to ensure: 1) the resident is made available to
the juvenile probation officer to participate in monthly status and
progress reviews; 2) a staff member who is knowledgeable about
the resident's progress in facility programming participates in the
monthly reviews with the juvenile probation officer and provides
a written monthly summary of the resident's progress in facility
programming; and 3) documentation of these monthly activities
is maintained in the resident's file.

The repeal of §343.690 is proposed due to corresponding
changes in Chapter 341 of this title, which are also proposed in
this issue of the Texas Register. Post-Adjudication facilities will
no longer be required to complete 90-day case plan reviews.
The revised Chapter 341 will require the supervising juvenile
probation officer to complete monthly status and progress
updates, which will encompass any time a youth may spend in
a post-adjudication facility.

FISCAL NOTE

Mike Meyer, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the sections are in effect, there is no
significant fiscal impact for state or local governments as a result
of enforcing or administering the sections.

PUBLIC BENEFIT/COSTS

James Williams, Senior Director of Probation and Community
Services, has determined that for each year of the first five years
the amended and repealed sections are in effect, the public ben-
efits anticipated as a result of administering the sections will be
enhanced continuity of care and reduced duplication of effort
through the use of one case plan for a juvenile's entire time on
probation, including time in a secure placement.

Mr. Meyer has also determined that there will be no effect on
small businesses or micro-businesses. There is no anticipated
economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the
sections as proposed. No private real property rights are af-
fected by adoption of these sections.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Comments on the proposal may be submitted within 30 days af-
ter publication of this notice to Steve Roman, Policy Coordina-
tor, Texas Juvenile Justice Department, P.O. Box 12757, Austin,
Texas 78711 or email to policy.proposals@tjjd.texas.gov.

37 TAC §343.616, §343.688
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amended sections are proposed under Texas Human Re-
sources Code §221.002(a), which authorizes TJJD to adopt rea-
sonable rules that provide minimum standards for public and pri-
vate juvenile post-adjudication secure correctional facilities.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.
$§343.616. Content of Resident Records.
Each resident's record shall include the following:

(1) delinquent history;

(2) inventory of cash and property surrendered;

41 TexReg 1104 February 12, 2016 Texas Register


mailto:policy.proposals@tjjd.texas.gov

(3) list of approved visitors;
(4) name of the assigned probation officer;

(5) behavioral record, including any special incidents, dis-
cipline, or grievances;

(6) progress reports[; including the resident's ease plan as
required in §343.688 of this title and ease plan review as required in
§343.690 of this title]; and

(7) final release or transfer report.
$343.688.  [Residential] Case Plan Coordination.

The facility administrator shall ensure that:

(1) the resident is made available to the juvenile probation
officer to participate in monthly status and progress reviews, as de-
scribed in §341.506 of this title;

(2) a staff member who is knowledgeable about the resi-
dent's progress in the facility's programming:

(A) participates in monthly status and progress reviews
with the juvenile probation officer; and

(B) provides a monthly written summary of the resi-
dent's progress in the facility's programming to the juvenile probation
officer; and

(3) documentation of the actions required in paragraphs (1)
and (2) of this section is maintained in the resident's file.

calendar days from the resident's date of placement]
[(b) The case plan shall contain documentation acknowledg-
resident's parent, legal guardian, or custodian; and the supervising ju-
[(¢) The case plan shall contain specific goals for at least the
following nine ins:
safety and seeurity;]
recreational;]

permanency; and]

[(d) The case plan shall be signed by the resident; the resi-
the supervising juvenile probation officer. If the parent, legal guardian,
or custodian refuses to participate or sign the ease plan or the facility's
designee cannot locate the person; the facility's designee shall doeu-
ment this in writing in the resident's ease plang

fte) The date of the faeility designee's signature on the ease
plan shall be the ease plan completion date}

HH The ease plan shall be retained in the resident's case file
the resident's parent, legal guardian, or custodian; and the supervising

EETETTIETETE
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600439

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

37 TAC §343.690
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is proposed under Texas Human Resources Code
§221.002(a), which authorizes TJJD to adopt reasonable rules
that provide minimum standards for public and private juvenile
post-adjudication secure correctional facilities.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.
§343.690. Residential Case Plan Review.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600438

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 355. NON-SECURE CORREC-
TIONAL FACILITIES

SUBCHAPTER F. RESIDENT RIGHTS AND
PROGRAMMING

37 TAC §355.654

The Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) proposes to
amend §355.654, concerning Residential Case Plan and Case
Plan Review.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

The amended section will require the facility administrator to en-
sure: 1) the resident is made available to the juvenile proba-
tion officer to participate in monthly status and progress reviews;
2) a staff member who is knowledgeable about the resident's
progress in facility programming participates in the monthly re-
views with the juvenile probation officer and provides a written
monthly summary of the resident's progress in facility program-
ming; and 3) documentation of these monthly activities is main-
tained in the resident's file.
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This amendment corresponds with changes in Chapter 341 of
this title, which are also proposed in this issue of the Texas Reg-
ister. The revised Chapter 341 will require the supervising juve-
nile probation officer to maintain a juvenile's case plan through-
out the duration of the juvenile's time on probation, including time
spent in a non-secure facility.

FISCAL NOTE

Mike Meyer, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that for each
year of the first five years the section is in effect, there is no
significant fiscal impact for state or local governments as a result
of enforcing or administering the section.

PUBLIC BENEFIT/COSTS

James Williams, Senior Director of Probation and Community
Services, has determined that for each year of the first five years
the amended section is in effect, the public benefits anticipated
as a result of administering the section will be enhanced conti-
nuity of care and reduced duplication of effort through the use of
one case plan for a juvenile's entire time on probation, including
time in a non-secure placement.

Mr. Meyer has also determined that there will be no effect on
small businesses or micro-businesses. There is no anticipated
economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the
section as proposed. No private real property rights are affected
by adoption of this section.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Comments on the proposal may be submitted within 30 days af-
ter publication of this notice to Steve Roman, Policy Coordina-
tor, Texas Juvenile Justice Department, P.O. Box 12757, Austin,
Texas 78711 or email to policy.proposals@tjjd.texas.gov.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amended section is proposed under Texas Human Re-
sources Code §221.002(a), which authorizes TJJD to adopt
reasonable rules that provide minimum standards for public and
private juvenile non-secure correctional facilities.

No other statute, code, or article is affected by this proposal.

§355.654.  [Residential] Case Plan Coordination [and Case Plan Re-

view].

The facility administrator shall ensure that: [A ease plan shall be eom-

pleted and reviewed for every adjudicated youth in the facility in ae-
(1) the resident is made available to the juvenile probation

officer to participate in monthly status and progress reviews, as de-
scribed in §341.506 of this title; and

(2) a staff member who is knowledgeable about the resi-
dent's progress in the facility's programming:

(A) participates in monthly status and progress reviews
with the juvenile probation officer; and

(B) provides a monthly written summary of the resi-
dent's progress in the facility's programming to the juvenile probation
officer; and

(3) documentation of the actions required in paragraphs (1)
and (2) of this section is maintained in the resident's file.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 1,
2016.

TRD-201600440

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 43. TRANSPORTATION

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 9. CONTRACT AND GRANT
MANAGEMENT

SUBCHAPTER G. HIGHWAY IMPROVEMENT
CONTRACT SANCTIONS

43 TAC §§9.102, 9.107, 9.111, 9.113, 9.114

The Texas Department of Transportation (department) proposes
amendments to §§9.102, 9.107, 9.111, 9.113, and 9.114, con-
cerning Highway Improvement Contract Sanctions.

EXPLANATION OF PROPOSED AMENDMENTS

The legislature and department policy have declared that it is
the department's duty to: (1) promote the health, safety, welfare,
convenience, and enjoyment of the traveling public; and (2) pro-
tect the public investment in the interstate and primary systems.

By statute, the department awards highway improvement
contracts to the lowest qualified bidder (Transportation Code,
§223.0041). Contractors that acquire work and then do not
advance the work in a timely manner negatively impact the trav-
eling public and business along the construction corridor. There
are many reasons that contribute to contractors' schedules not
being met; some of these reasons are outside of the contractor's
control. The amendments provided under these rules allow the
department to take action against a contractor whose schedules
are not being met due to factors that are under its control. This
rule is not applicable to projects awarded prior to its effective
date.

Amendments to §9.102, Definitions, delete the definition of "af-
filiated entity" because the definition has proven too vague to
be helpful in imposing sanctions on affiliates. The amendments
re-designate the paragraphs of this section accordingly. A new
substantive provision for determining affiliated entities for the
purposes of Chapter 9, Subchapter G, is added in §9.113.

Amendments to §9.107, Grounds for Sanctions, adds a new
ground for which sanctions may be imposed. Under the new pro-
vision, a sanction may be imposed if the department determines,
using the criteria specified in the provision, that a contractor fails
to timely complete a project.

Amendments to §9.111, Application of Sanction, add to the chart
in Figure: 43 TAC §9.111(c) the descriptions of various sanctions
that may be imposed by the executive director for a contractor's
failure to timely complete projects under contract, as determined
under §9.107(b).
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Amendments to §9.113, Indirect Sanction on an Affiliated Entity,
add a new provision to be used to determine if entities are af-
filiated for the purposes of Chapter 9, Subchapter G. To ensure
conformity between Subchapters B and G of Chapter 9, the new
provision refers to the criteria provided under 43 TAC §9.12(d)
for determining the affiliation of two or entities. The provision is
added at the beginning of the section, as new subsection (a);
the existing subsections are re-designated accordingly, with an
amendment to a cross reference to reflect the re-designation of
existing subsection (c).

Amendments to §9.114, Lessening or Removal of Sanction,
change a reference to a subsection in §9.113 from §9.113(b) to
§9.113(c) to reflect the re-designation of subsections within that
section, as described above.

FISCAL NOTE

Benjamin H. Asher, Interim Chief Financial Officer, has deter-
mined that for each of the first five years in which the amend-
ments as proposed are in effect, there will be no fiscal implica-
tions for state or local governments as a result of enforcing or
administering the amendments.

Tracy D. Cain, P.E., Director, Construction Division, has certified
that there will be no significant impact on local economies or
overall employment as a result of enforcing or administering the
amendments.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST

Mr. Cain has also determined that for each year of the first five
years in which the sections are in effect, the public benefit an-
ticipated as a result of enforcing or administering the amend-
ments will be a lessened administrative overhead and improved
enforcement efforts by the department, making enforcement of
sanctions more transparent to the public and predictable to sign
owners. There are no anticipated economic costs for persons
required to comply with the sections as proposed. There will be
no adverse economic effect on small businesses.

SUBMITTAL OF COMMENTS

Written comments on the proposed amendments to §§9.102,
9.107, 9.111, 9.113, and 9.114 may be submitted to Rule
Comments, Office of General Counsel, Texas Department of
Transportation, 125 East 11th Street, Austin, Texas 78701-2483
or to RuleComments@txdot.gov with the subject line "Sanction
Rules." The deadline for receipt of comments is 5:00 p.m. on
March 14, 2016. In accordance with Transportation Code,
§201.811(a)(5), a person who submits comments must disclose,
in writing with the comments, whether the person does business
with the department, may benefit monetarily from the proposed
amendments, or is an employee of the department.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are proposed under Transportation Code,
§201.101, which provides the Texas Transportation Commission
with the authority to establish rules for the conduct of the work
of the department.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE
None.
$§9.102.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter [ehaptet],
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise.

pﬂﬂelﬁalempleyeesasﬂiesaﬂeﬁeﬁedefsuspeﬂded%ﬁgaew;]

(1) [©)] Assistant executive director--An assistant execu-
tive director of the Texas Department of Transportation.

(2) [3)] Commission--The Texas Transportation Commis-
sion.

(3) [€4)] Contractor--An entity that is eligible to bid on a
highway improvement contract or that functions or seeks to function as
a subcontractor under a highway improvement contract or as a supplier
of materials or equipment to be used in the construction or maintenance
of a part of the state highway system.

(4) [65)] Debarment--Disqualification of a contractor from
entering into an agreement with a state or federal agency.

(5) [€6)] Department--The Texas Department of Trans-
portation.

(6) [€H] Executive director--The executive director of the
Texas Department of Transportation.

(7) [€8)] Highway improvement contract--A contract en-
tered under Transportation Code, Chapter 223, Subchapter A for the
construction, reconstruction, or maintenance of a segment of the state
highway system, or for the construction or maintenance of a building
or other facility appurtenant to a building.

(8) [9] Reprimand--A written warning issued by the de-
partment that documents an act or omission committed by a contractor.

(9) [€9)] Sanction--A consequence imposed on a contrac-
tor for failure to comply with this subchapter including suspension, rep-
rimand, prohibition against participation in a specified agreement, or
debarment.

(10) [(HD)] Suspension--Immediate, temporary disqualifi-
cation of a contractor from entering into or attempting to enter into an
agreement with the department.

$9.107.  Grounds for Sanction.
(a) Sanctions may be imposed under this section for:

(1) failure to execute a highway improvement contract af-
ter a bid is awarded, unless the contractor honors a bid guaranty sub-
mitted under §9.14(d) of this chapter (relating to Submittal of Bid);

(2) the rejection by the commission of two or more bids
by the contractor during the 36-month period preceding the month in
which the determination is being made because of contractor error;

(3) the department's declaration of a contractor in default
on a highway improvement contract; [er]

(4) violation of §10.101 of this title (relating to Required
Conduct); or[-]

(5) failure to timely complete projects under contract.

(b) For purposes of subsection (a)(5) of this section, a con-
tractor fails to timely complete a project if the district engineer of the
district in which the project is located determines that:

(1) the contractor:

(A) has not completed the project within the time al-
lowed under the contract, as adjusted by all applicable change orders;
or

(B) has used more than 80 percent of the time allocated
for the project, as adjusted by all applicable change orders, and the
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percent of allocated time used divided by the percent of the contract
completed, both as adjusted by all applicable change orders, is greater
than 1.2; and

(2) the contractor is more than 10 percent behind on all of
its other contracted department projects, as adjusted by all applicable

change orders.
$9.111.

(a) The executive director, at the executive director's sole dis-
cretion, may impose a sanction that is less severe, but not more severe,
than the sanction recommended under subsection (¢) of this section.

Application of Sanction.

(b) If a contractor commits multiple violations arising out of
separate occurrences, the executive director may impose multiple sanc-
tions in accordance with subsection (c) of this section.

(c) Figure 43 TAC §9.111(c) sets forth guidelines for applica-
tion of a sanction by assigning, for specific violations of §9.107 of this
subchapter (relating to Grounds for Sanction), the sanctions available
to the executive director as described in §9.110(a) of this subchapter
(relating to Available Sanctions), taking into consideration the factors
described in §9.110(b) of this subchapter.

Figure: 43 TAC §9.111(c)
[Figure: 43 TAC §9-H1e)]
$9.113.  Indirect Sanction on an Affiliated Entity.

(a) For the purposes of this subchapter, an entity is an affiliated
entity of a contractor if the entity and contractor satisfy any of the af-
filiation criteria provided under §9.12(d)(1) of this chapter. In addition
to those affiliation criteria, the department, in making a determination
of affiliation, may consider:

(1) the frequency of transactions between the entities; and

(2) the extent to which the entities share equipment, per-
sonnel, office space, and finances.

(b) [€®)] A sanction imposed on a contractor under this sub-
chapter will also be imposed as an indirect sanction on an affiliated
entity of the contractor.

(c) [p)] The affiliated entity will receive notice of the indirect
sanction that will:

(1) state the sanction and the period of the sanction, if ap-
plicable;

(2) summarize the facts and circumstances underlying the
sanction;

(3) explain how the sanction was selected, using §9.111(c)
of this subchapter (relating to Application of Sanction) as a basis for
explanation;

(4) if applicable, inform the affiliated entity of the impo-
sition of a suspension under §9.108(d) of this subchapter (relating to
Procedure); and

(5) state that the affiliated entity may appeal the indirect
sanction in accordance with subsection (d) [¢e)] of this section.

(d) [€e)] An affiliated entity, in accordance with this subsec-
tion, may petition the executive director for an informal hearing on the
imposition of an indirect sanction or suspension that is imposed on the
affiliated entity solely because of its status as an affiliated entity.

(1) Not later than the 30th day after the date of receipt of
the written request, the executive director will hold an informal hearing
with the affiliated entity to discuss the relationship associated with the
affiliation.

(2) Within 15 days after the date the informal hearing is
held, the department will conduct a review to determine the affiliation
of the entities. The review will include, but is not limited to, consider-
ation of the entities":

(A) intercompany transactions;
(B) equipment;

(C) personnel;

(D) office space;

(E) finances; and

(F) other affiliation criteria.

(3) The executive director will consider the evidence pre-
sented and inform the affiliated entity in writing within 30 days of the
informal hearing of the final determination to continue or lift the indi-
rect sanction or suspension.

(4) The executive director may grant an exception to the
indirect sanction only if the department finds that the operations and
control of an affiliated entity affected by an indirect sanction are inde-
pendent from the directly sanctioned entity.

(5) The granting of a sanction or suspension exception does
not remove the affiliation classification between the affected business
entities.

(6) The department may conduct follow-up reviews and
may recommend that the executive director revoke the exception if the
department determines that the affiliated entities are no longer indepen-
dent.

(e) [€&)] If the executive director does not grant or revoke an
exception and determines to continue an indirect sanction or suspen-
sion, the affiliated entity may request the opportunity for a hearing be-
fore the commission at a regularly scheduled open meeting.

(1) The commission may consider oral presentations and
written documents presented by the department and interested parties.
The chair will set the hearing and the amount of time allowed for pre-
sentation.

(2) The commission's determination of the appeal will be
adopted by minute order and reflected in the minutes of the meeting.

(3) The executive director will issue a final order on the
indirect sanction based on the commission's determination.

§$9.114.  Lessening or Removal of Sanction.

(a) A contractor or affiliated entity may request the reduction
or removal of a sanction imposed under this subchapter by delivering to
the executive director the request in writing and written documentation
in support of the request demonstrating changes in the circumstances
that were described in the notice of sanction under §9.109 or §9.113(c)
[§9-H3(b)] of this subchapter (relating to Notice of Sanction and Indi-
rect Sanction on an Affiliated Entity, respectively).

(b) The executive director, at the executive director's sole dis-
cretion, may decide to reduce or remove the sanction. The executive
director will send a written notice of the decision to the contractor or
affiliated entity.

(c) The executive director will consider not more than one re-
quest under this section during any 12-month period.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.
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Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on January 29,

2016.

TRD-201600397

Joanne Wright

Deputy General Counsel

Texas Department of Transportation

Earliest possible date of adoption: March 13, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8630
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