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Adopted rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing
LE S rules. A rule adopted by a state agency takes effect 20 days after the date on which it is
filed with the Secretary of State unless a later date is required by statute or specified in
the rule (Government Code, §2001.036). If a rule is adopted without change to the text of the proposed rule, then the
Texas Register does not republish the rule text here. If a rule is adopted with change to the text of the proposed rule, then
the final rule text is included here. The final rule text will appear in the Texas Administrative Code on the effective date.

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION

PART 12. COMMISSION ON STATE
EMERGENCY COMMUNICATIONS

CHAPTER 251. 9-1-1 SERVICE--STANDARDS
1 TAC §251.16

The Commission on State Emergency Communications (CSEC)
adopts new §251.16, relating to direct access to 9-1-1 service
from a telephone system including a multi-line telephone system
(telephone system), with changes to the proposed text published
in the October 30, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg
7503). CSEC has determined that changes to the proposed text
do not require re-proposing the rule as the changes do not (1)
change the nature or scope of the rule so much that it could
be deemed a different rule; (2) affect individuals who would not
have been impacted by the rule as proposed; or (3) impose more
stringent requirements for compliance.

CSEC received comments on the proposed rule from the Texas
Hotel & Lodging Association (TH&LA) and the Texas 9-1-1
Alliance (the Alliance). As a result of the Alliance's comments,
CSEC adopts proposed new §251.16 with non-substantive
changes as described herein.

TH&LA Comment: TH&LA commended the Commission's ef-
forts in implementing Kari's Law and urges adoption of the rule
as proposed.

CSEC Response: No response required. CSEC appreciates the
support and efforts of TH&LA in helping to address the issue of
directly accessing 9-1-1 service via a telephone system.

Alliance Comment: The Alliance supports adoption of the rule
and proposes two changes to the rule as published. First, that
the text "on or" in subsection (c) and (d)(7) regarding the place-
ment of the instructional sticker be clarified to "on and/or." Sec-
ond, that the website link in subsection (e) for receipt of waiver
requests be changed from www.csec.texas.gov/TexasKariLaw
to a statewide website link such as Texas911.org.

CSEC Response: CSEC concurs with the Alliance's comments.
CSEC makes non-substantive changes to the published text of
subsections (c) and (d)(7) to clarify that the instructional sticker
must be placed adjacent to a non-compliant telephone hand-
set and, optionally, may also be placed on the handset. CSEC
makes non-substantive changes to the published text of subsec-
tion (e) to change the URL for the website and to add an e-mail
and regular mail address for the submission of waiver request
affidavits.

The new rule is adopted pursuant to Texas Health and Safety
Code §771A.001(f) and §771.051.

No other statute, article, or code is affected by the adoption.

$251.16. Direct Access to 9-1-1 Service.

(a) Purpose. The purpose of this rule is to facilitate the im-
plementation of Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 771A ("Kari's
Law") requiring telephone systems that provide outbound dialing ca-
pacity to be configured to provide direct access to 9-1-1 service and, in
instances where no hardware changes are necessary, to provide notifi-
cation of a 9-1-1 call to a central location on the site of the residential
or business facility from which a 9-1-1 call is made using a telephone
system.

(b) Definitions. For the purposes of this rule:

(1) "9-1-1 service" means a communications service that
connects users to a public safety answering point through a 9-1-1 sys-
tem.

(2) "Additional location" means an optional location, other
than a central location, that receives notification of a 9-1-1 call that
should be staffed 24x7 with personnel that can assist emergency first
responders in accessing the residential or business facility from which
a9-1-1 call is made and determining the location of the 9-1-1 call, e.g.,
Campus Police, Security Office.

(3) "Business service" means a telecommunications or
communications service provided a customer where the use is primar-
ily of a business, professional, institutional, or otherwise occupational
nature.

(4) "Business service user" means a user of business
service that provides telecommunications or communications service,
including 9-1-1 service, to end users through a publicly or privately
owned or controlled telephone switch. Business service user includes
a "governmental body" as defined in §552.003, Government Code,
including an institution of higher education.

(5) "Central location" means a designated location on the
site of a residential or business facility from which a 9-1-1 call is made
that receives notification of the 9-1-1 call. A central location is not
required to have a person available at the location to receive or respond
to the notification.

(6) "Commission" means the Commission on State Emer-
gency Communications.

(7) "Internet Protocol enabled service" or "IP" has the
meaning assigned by §51.002, Texas Ultilities Code.

(8) "Local exchange access line" or "Equivalent local ex-
change access line" has the meaning assigned in Commission Rule
255.4 (Title 1, Part 12 Texas Admin. Code, §255.4).

(9) "Notification" refers to a telephone system feature that
can send notice to a central location and optional additional location
that a 9-1-1 call has been made. Common notifications include "screen
pops" with audible alarms for security desk computers using a client
application, text messages for smartphones, and email for administra-
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tors. Where feasible, notification should provide the telephone number
or extension and location information of the telephone system handset
from which the 9-1-1 call is made.

(10) "Telephone switch" refers to the function of switch-
ing inbound and outbound calls in order to allow multiple end-users
to share a defined number of local exchange access lines or equivalent
local exchange access line.

(11) "Telephone system" refers to a legacy system, or
equivalent system using Internet Protocol enabled service, comprised
of common control units, interconnected telephone or handsets, control
hardware and software, and adjunct systems that allow for advanced
features such as call handling and transferring, conference calling, call
metering and accounting, private and shared voice message boxes, di-
rect inward/outward dialing. A telephone system, commonly referred
to as a "multi-line telephone system" or MLTS, includes network and
premises based systems such as Centrex and VoIP, as well as private
branch exchange (PBX), Hybrid, and Key Telephone Systems (as
classified by the Federal Communications Commission under Part 68
of Title 47, Code of Federal Regulations) and includes systems used,
owned, or leased by governmental agencies and political subdivisions,
for-profit businesses, and non-profit entities.

(12) Any term not expressly defined in this rule, has the
meaning assigned in Commission Rule 252.7, Definitions.

(c) A business service user that owns or controls a telephone
system that provides outbound dialing capacity or access shall con-
figure the telephone system to allow a person initiating a 9-1-1 call
on the system to directly access 9-1-1 service by dialing in order the
digits 9, 1, and 1 without an additional code, digit, prefix, postfix, or
trunk-access code. All non-compliant telephone handsets that provide
outbound dialing capacity or access must have immediately adjacent
to, and optionally on, the telephone the instructional sticker required in
subsection (d)(7).

(d) A business service user shall be granted a one-year waiver
(September 1 - August 31) of the requirements of Kari's Law and this
rule upon submission of an affidavit not later than September 1 of each
year that provides:

(1) name (legal and any D/B/A), address, and contact in-
formation of the business service user;

(2) address of all locations within Texas served by a non-
complaint telephone system;

(3) anarrative of efforts demonstrating a good faith attempt
to reprogram or replace non-compliant telephone systems;

(4) astatement that compliance with this rule is unduly and
unreasonably cost prohibitive;

(5) the manufacturer and model number of each non-com-
pliant telephone system and the estimated costs to reprogram or replace
each system;

(6) a projected date for compliance with Kari's Law and
this rule; and

(7) confirmation that the business service user agrees to or
has placed an instructional sticker immediately adjacent to, and option-
ally on, each non-compliant telephone handset instructing the user how
to access 9-1-1 service. The instructional sticker must be printed in at
least 16-point boldface type, in a contrasting color using a font that is
easily readable, and is written in English and Spanish.

(e) A business service user's waiver request affidavit may be
submitted electronically to http://texas911.org/karislaw/ or mailed to
the appropriate address provided in the website link.

(f) Abusiness service user that provides residential or business
facilities and owns or controls a telephone system that provides out-
bound dialing capacity or access shall configure the telephone system
to provide notification when a person within a residential or business
facility dials 9-1-1 if the telephone system is able to be configured to
provide the notification without an improvement to the system's hard-
ware. The notification requirement is separate from and in addition
to the requirement in Texas law that "9-1-1 service" connects a 9-1-1
caller to the public safety answering point designated for the area from
which the call is made.

(g) A business service user in compliance with this rule is
deemed a "third party or other entity involved in the providing of
9-1-1 service" as that term is used to limit liability in §771.053, Texas
Health and Safety Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 10,
2016.

TRD-201600649

Patrick Tyler

General Counsel

Commission on State Emergency Communications
Effective date: March 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: October 30, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 305-6922

L4 L4 ¢
TITLE 13. CULTURAL RESOURCES

PART 2. TEXAS HISTORICAL
COMMISSION

CHAPTER 26. PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) adopts amendments to
Chapter 26, concerning Rules of Practice and Procedure, §26.3
related to Definitions; §26.14 related to Issuance and Restric-
tions of Archeological Permits; §26.20 related to Application for
Historic Buildings and Structures Permits; §26.21 related to Is-
suance and Restriction of Historic Buildings and Structures Per-
mits; and §26.22 related to Historic Buildings and Structures Per-
mit Categories, without changes to the text as published in the
November 20, 2015 issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg
8082). The amendments implement §2005.003 of the Texas
Government Code, related to Permit Processing Periods, and
offer minor clarification regarding definitions and when certain
permit types are needed.

The permit applications for Archeology and Historic Buildings
and Structures generally follow similar review processes, but
there are some significant differences due to the types of per-
mits and the nature of the proposed work for different cultural re-
sources. An example is that a Historic Buildings and Structures
Permit may be issued for restoration or demolition of a structure,
but Archeological Permits are not issued for restoration or de-
molition. Conversely, Archeological Permits may be issued for
intensive survey or monitoring of a known or suspected arche-
ological site, but Historic Buildings and Structures Permits are
not issued for intensive survey or monitoring. Consequently, it
is necessary and appropriate for the proposed rules to estab-
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lish different timelines for processing of the Archeological Permit
applications versus Historic Buildings and Structures Permit ap-
plications.

When a permit application is received, the THC may take any of
the following actions:

(1) Accept the permit application and issue the permit;
(2) Request more project information from the permit applicant;

(3) Request a revised scope of work or research design from the
permit applicant;

(4) Refer the application to the Antiquities Advisory Board for
consideration; or

(5) Deny issuing the permit.

If the THC requests more information or revisions from a permit
applicant, the permit processing time starts upon receipt of the
complete permit application.

Some examples of cases where a permit might be denied would
include:

(1) A permit application is submitted by someone who does not
meet the professional qualifications listed in §26.4;

(2) An Archeological Permit application is submitted for survey
work, but THC determines (or previously determined) that the
survey is not warranted;

(3) An Archeological Permit application is submitted by a project
sponsor or agency because they mistakenly believed the permit
was for the development project (rather than an archeological
investigation), or they believed that the permit application was a
required part of the initial project review inquiry;

(4) A Historic Buildings and Structures Permit application is sub-
mitted for routine maintenance that does not require a permit, for
work outside the designated State Antiquities Landmark bound-
aries, or for a property that is not designated as a landmark; or

(5) A Historic Buildings and Structures Permit application is sub-
mitted for demolition or other proposed work that the THC deter-
mines is inappropriate and does not meet the Secretary of the
Interior's Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties.

Section 26.3(63) is the definition of State Antiquities Landmark,
referred to throughout the rules as a landmark. The proposed
revision clarifies what may be considered a landmark, in addition
to those officially designated by the THC. The phrase "eligible
to be designated as a landmark" is replaced by a more precise
reference to the interim protection of properties nominated and
determined eligible for designation, as described in §26.8(d).

Section 26.14 describes the process for issuance of Archeolog-
ical Permits. Proposed revisions to §26.14(a) provide additional
details regarding the process by which the commission reviews
and issues permits. Commission staff will notify the applicant of
any additional information needed to complete the review within
30 days of receipt of the permit application. Within 30 days of re-
ceipt of a complete application, the commission will take action
on the permit application, as described above.

The procedures for submission of applications for Archeologi-
cal Permits are consistent with the Antiquities Code of Texas,
§191.054 and §191.093, Texas Natural Resources Code and al-
low sufficient time for proposals to receive review by commis-
sion staff and approval by the director of the Archeology Division.
Archeological Permits are considered granted upon issuance of

the permit number, and the permit itself may take additional time
to process. For Archeological Permits issued in fiscal year 2015,
between September 1, 2014 and August 31, 2015, the process-
ing time for permits ranged between 1 and 14 days, with a me-
dian permit processing time of one day from receipt of the permit
application.

Section 26.20 describes the application procedures for Historic
Buildings and Structures Permits. No changes are proposed
to the timelines or procedures established in this section. The
commission completes its review of an initial notification of pro-
posed work to a State Antiquities Landmark within 30 days of
receipt and specifies in its response if a formal permit applica-
tion is needed. A permit application should be submitted at least
60 days prior to the commencement of work or issuance of bid
documents. Section 26.20(a)(2) is revised in a similar manner
to §26.3, as described above. Information on the timing of per-
mit issuance has moved from §26.20(a)(9) to §26.21. Section
26.20(a)(9) is also revised to indicate that, if contract documents
are issued prior to receiving a permit, the THC will not be respon-
sible for any delays or costs associated with changes needed to
meet the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for the Treatment
of Historic Properties.

Section 26.21 describes the process for issuance of Historic
Buildings and Structures Permits.  Proposed revisions to
§26.21(a) provide additional details regarding the process by
which the commission reviews and issues permits.. While com-
mission staff will notify an applicant promptly if there are obvious
omissions in the permit application and supporting material,
thorough review of plans and specifications may be necessary
to determine if additional information is needed to issue the
permit. Such information could include additional drawings,
construction details, or product information. The commission
will notify the applicant of any additional information needed
to complete the review within 30 days of receipt of the permit
application. Within 60 days of receipt of a complete application,
the commission will take action on the permit application, as
described above.

The procedures for submission of applications for Historic Build-
ings and Structures Permits are consistent with the Antiquities
Code of Texas, §191.054 and §191.093, Texas Natural Re-
sources Code and allow sufficient time for proposals to receive
review by commission staff and approval by the director of the
Division of Architecture and the executive director of the com-
mission. For Historic Buildings and Structures Permits issued in
fiscal year 2015, between September 1, 2014 and August 31,
2015, the processing time for permits ranged between 1 and
70 days, with a median permit processing time of 22 days from
receipt of the permit application. During this period, 99% of all
permits were issued within 60 days.

Section 26.22 lists and describes the Historic Buildings and
Structures permit categories. Additional language in §26.22(4)
and (9) describes the limited circumstances in which a Historic
Buildings and Structures permit could be required for a land-
mark that is significant as an archeological site. In particular,
Division of Architecture staff review permits for reconstruction
of missing features to ensure the design is accurate and meets
the Secretary of the Interior's Standards for Reconstruction.
In some instances, architectural review of new construction
projects at archeological sites may also be appropriate.

Mark Wolfe, Executive Director, has determined that for the first
five-year period the new rules are in effect there will be no fiscal
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implications for state or local government as a result of enforcing
or administering the rule.

Mr. Wolfe has also determined that for each year of the first five
year period these new rules are in effect the public benefit an-
ticipated will be an increased efficiency and effectiveness in the
implementation of the Antiquities Code of Texas. Additionally,
Mr. Wolfe has determined that there will be no effect on small
businesses.

No comments were received regarding adoption of the amend-
ments.

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
13 TAC §26.3

Adoption of these amendments is authorized under
§8§442.005(b), 442.005(q), and 442.005(r), Texas Government
Code; §191.052, Texas Natural Resources Code; and
§2005.003, Texas Government Code, which provide the Texas
Historical Commission with the authority to promulgate rules
and conditions to reasonably effect the purposes of this chapter.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by these
sections.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600595

Mark Wolfe

Executive Director

Texas Historical Commission

Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 20, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 463-1858
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SUBCHAPTER C. ARCHEOLOGY
13 TAC §26.14

Adoption of these amendments is authorized under
§8§442.005(b), 442.005(q), and 442.005(r), Texas Government
Code; §191.052, Texas Natural Resources Code; and
§2005.003, Texas Government Code, which provide the Texas
Historical Commission with the authority to promulgate rules
and conditions to reasonably effect the purposes of this chapter.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by these
sections.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600596

Mark Wolfe

Executive Director

Texas Historical Commission

Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 20, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 463-1858

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. HISTORIC BUILDINGS
AND STRUCTURES
13 TAC §§26.20 - 26.22

Adoption of these amendments is authorized under
§§442.005(b), 442.005(q), and 442.005(r), Texas Government
Code; §191.052, Texas Natural Resources Code; and
§2005.003, Texas Government Code, which provide the Texas
Historical Commission with the authority to promulgate rules
and conditions to reasonably effect the purposes of this chapter.
No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by these
sections.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600597

Mark Wolfe

Executive Director

Texas Historical Commission

Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 20, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 463-1858

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 19. EDUCATION

PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY

CHAPTER 97. PLANNING AND
ACCOUNTABILITY

SUBCHAPTER EE. ACCREDITATION
STATUS, STANDARDS, AND SANCTIONS
19 TAC §97.1073

The Texas Education Agency adopts an amendment to
§97.1073, concerning accreditation status, standards, and
sanctions. The amendment is adopted without changes to the
proposed text as published in the December 25, 2015 issue of
the Texas Register (40 TexReg 9430) and will not be repub-
lished. The section establishes criteria for the appointment of a
monitor, conservator, management team, or board of managers.
The adopted amendment modifies the rule to reflect changes
made by House Bill (HB) 1842, 84th Texas Legislature, Regular
Session, 2015, to the Texas Education Code (TEC), §39.107
and §39.112, regarding appointed boards of managers.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. In response to HB 1, 79th Texas
Legislature, Third Called Session, 2006, the commissioner exer-
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cised rulemaking authority to adopt rules for accreditation stan-
dards and sanctions in 19 TAC Chapter 97, Subchapter EE, ef-
fective January 6, 2008. Included in this subchapter is 19 TAC
§97.1073, which addresses the establishment of criteria for the
appointment of a monitor, conservator, management team, or
board of managers. This rule was last amended effective Feb-
ruary 5, 2015, to update references to statute and to other rules.

The adopted amendment to 19 TAC §97.1073, Appointment of
Monitor, Conservator, or Board of Managers, modifies the rule to
reflect changes made by HB 1842, 84th Texas Legislature, Reg-
ular Session, 2015, regarding appointed boards of managers, as
follows.

Adopted new subsection (f) requires the commissioner to notify
boards of managers and trustees when the appointment of a
board of managers will expire no later than two years from the
time of the appointment.

Adopted new subsection (g) requires a board of managers ap-
pointed to a district, during the period of its appointment, to order
the election of members of the board of trustees of the district in
accordance with applicable provisions of law. Adopted rule lan-
guage specifies that elections for trustees with three-year terms
must be ordered to be held annually, in accordance with the TEC,
§11.059(b), and that elections for trustees with four-year terms
must be ordered to be held biennially in accordance with the
TEC, §11.059(c). Moreover, adopted new subsection (g) speci-
fies the timeframe for the replacement of the board of managers
by members elected to the school district board of trustees as
well as describes the order, process, and sequence for the re-
placement.

Adopted new subsection (g) states that the commissioner may at
any time replace a member of the board of managers and may
expand their number commensurate with the number of mem-
bers of the board of trustees at any time during the board of man-
agers' appointment. Adopted new subsection (g) explains the
powers and duties of an individual elected to a board of trustees
and stipulates when those powers and duties will be counted for
the purposes of constituting a quorum.

Finally, adopted new subsection (h) incorporates the statutory re-
quirement that training in effective leadership strategies be pro-
vided to individuals appointed by the commissioner to a board of
managers and, following the expiration of that board's appoint-
ment, to the board of trustees of the school district.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSES. The
public comment period on the proposal began December 25,
2015, and ended January 25, 2016. No public comments were
received.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is adopted under
the Texas Education Code (TEC), §39.107, as amended by
House Bill (HB) 1842, 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session,
2015, which authorizes the commissioner to order the appoint-
ment of a board of managers to govern a district as provided by
TEC, §39.112(b), to replace a member of a board of managers
appointed under TEC, §39.107, and to adopt rules necessary
to implement that section, and TEC, §39.112, as amended by
HBs 1842 and 3106, 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session,
2015, which authorizes the commissioner to appoint boards of
managers and provides a process by which board of managers
members are appointed, removed, or replaced.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment imple-
ments the Texas Education Code, §39.107, as amended by

House Bill (HB) 1842, 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session,
2015, and §39.112, as amended by HBs 1842 and 3106, 84th
Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2015.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600615

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS

PART 23. TEXAS REAL ESTATE
COMMISSION

CHAPTER 535. GENERAL PROVISIONS
SUBCHAPTER R. REAL ESTATE
INSPECTORS

22 TAC §535.210

The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) adopts amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.210 concerning Fees without changes
to the proposed text as published in the November 20, 2015,
issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 8094).

The amendment aligns the rule with statutory changes to Chap-
ter 1101, Texas Occupations Code, adopted by the 84th Legis-
lature, and rule changes to the education course delivery stan-
dards. A charge for providing certified copies of documents was
also added.

The reasoned justification for the amendment is consistency with
statutory provisions, greater consumer protection and clarity.

No comments were received on this proposal as published.

The amendments are adopted under Texas Occupations Code,
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission
to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chapters
1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and ethics
for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and
1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102.

The statutes affected by this amendment are Texas Occupations
Code, Chapters 1101 and 1102. No other statute, code or article
is affected by the amendment.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600616
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Kristen Worman

Deputy General Counsel

Texas Real Estate Commission

Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 20, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 936-3093

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 25. HEALTH SERVICES

PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE
HEALTH SERVICES

CHAPTER 289. RADIATION CONTROL

The Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Ser-
vices Commission, on behalf of the Department of State Health
Services (department), adopts amendments to §289.201 con-
cerning general provisions for radioactive material; §289.202
concerning standards for protection against radiation from ra-
dioactive materials; §289.251 concerning exemptions, general
licenses, and general license acknowledgements; §289.252
concerning licensing of radioactive material; and §289.257 con-
cerning packaging and transportation of radioactive material.
The amendment to §289.252 is adopted with changes to the
proposed text as published in the November 20, 2015, issue
of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 8106). Sections 289.201,
289.202, 289.251, and 289.257 are adopted without changes,
and therefore, the sections will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE

Amendments to §§289.201, 289.202, 289.251, 289.252, and
289.257 are necessary to comply with compatibility require-
ments of the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission
(NRC), to which Texas is subject as an Agreement State. The
amendments are the result of the NRC's adoption of new and
revised terminology and definitions, and regulatory standards
and requirements for: the physical protection of Category 1
and Category 2 quantities of radioactive material; licensing
termination under restricted conditions; exemptions for source
material and other radioactive materials; general licenses for,
and transfers of, small quantities of source material; other
general licenses; sealed source or device evaluation; and
packaging and transportation of radioactive material.

Subsequent to the terrorist events of September 11, 2001, the
NRC issued orders for increased controls to certain licensees
who were authorized to possess radioactive material in quan-
tities of concern. The essential substance of those orders was
added to federal regulation with the NRC's adoption of Part 37 to
Title 10, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), "Physical Protec-
tion of Category 1 and Category 2 Quantities of Radioactive Ma-
terial." Those federal regulations provide the basis for compati-
ble provisions in the proposed amendments relating to physical
protection of Category 1 and Category 2 quantities of radioactive
material.

Other amendments are made to §§289.201, 289.202, 289.251,
289.252, and 289.257 to clarify or include new or refined termi-
nology, definitions, and requirements for: portable and mobile
device utilization records; waste management; recordkeeping
and reporting; specific terms and conditions of licenses; and the
transportation and storage of radioactive material.

In addition, amendments to §§289.201, 289.202, 289.251,
289.252, and 289.257 include changes which update, cor-
rect, improve, or clarify: rule citation references; terminology;
obsolete language; language consistency; units of measure;
grammar; and minor typographical and formatting errors.

Government Code, §2001.039, requires that each state agency
review and consider for readoption each rule adopted by that
agency. Sections 289.201, 289.202, 289.251, 289.252, and
289.257 have been reviewed and the department has deter-
mined that the reasons for adopting these sections continue
to exist because rules on this subject are needed to protect
public health and safety, to fulfill the department's statutory
responsibilities as the state's Radiation Control Agency, and to
comply with NRC compatibility requirements.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

To maintain rules that are compatible with the NRC, several new
definitions are added to §289.201(b) to accommodate the new
physical protection requirements for Category 1 and Category 2
quantities of radioactive material that are being incorporated into
§289.252. The new definitions are designated as paragraphs
(3). (8), (12), (14), (20), (21), (38), (45), (50), (67), (73), (75),
(78), (109), (112), (113), (115), (128), (135), and (138). Subse-
quent definitions are renumbered.

Language is added to the definition of "becquerel" in new
§289.201(b)(16) regarding commonly used multiples to create
consistency with the comparable inclusion of common multiples
in the definition of "curie."

In new §289.201(b)(19)(C) - (E), language is added to the defi-
nition of "byproduct material" to specify certain sources are con-
sidered to be byproduct material if the production, extraction, or
conversion after extraction occurred "before, on, or after August
8, 2005," because, as an agreement state, Texas is subject to
federal rule compatibility requirements for this definition.

The definition of effective dose equivalent in new
§289.201(b)(42) corrects the equation "(H, = *w. H )" to read
"(H.= ZW_H,)" to be consistent with the use of a similar equation
in new §289.201(b)(27).

New definitions for "portable device" and "stationary device" are
added as §289.201(b)(86) and (126) respectively, to define ter-
minology currently used without definition in Chapter 289.

Current Figure: 25 TAC §289.201(b)(106)(B) is replaced with
new Figure: 25 TAC §289.201(b)(124)(B) to reflect the new para-
graph number due to the renumbering of paragraphs in the sub-
section.

Language is revised in new §289.201(b)(139) for the definition
of "unrefined and unprocessed ore" to maintain rules that are
compatible with NRC's rules.

Arule reference is revised in new §289.201(b)(143) to reflect the
new paragraph number due to the renumbering of paragraphs in
the subsection.

The term 'licensing state" has been removed throughout
§289.201 because the Suggested State Regulations for Control
of Radiation (SSRCR), as written by the Conference of Radiation
Control Program Directors, Inc. (CRCPD), no longer uses the
terminology. Revisions are reflected in §289.201(g)(1)(B), (C),
and (H); and (g)(3). The definition has not been removed since
other references remain in sections to which these amendments
have not yet been made.
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References to "the agency," "the NRC," or "any agreement
state," or the regulations of these agencies, are revised to
be consistent with language used throughout the chapter.
Revisions are made in §289.201(g)(1)(B), (C), and (H); and
§289.201(g)(3).

The words "or equivalent regulations of the NRC or any agree-
ment state" are added to §289.201(g)(1)(B) to recognize com-
parable NRC or agreement states, in the interest of promoting
nationwide consistency in the control and regulation of radioac-
tive materials.

References to "telegram" and "mailgram" are deleted in
§289.201(k)(2) as these terms are obsolete and updated lan-
guage is added to specify facsimile and other electronic media
transmission as acceptable forms of transmission, in addition to
mailing.

Other changes to §289.201 are made to correct, clarify, or im-
prove phrasing, grammar, punctuation, and consistency within
the section and/or chapter; to add, define, or remove acronyms
or their definitions; to eliminate unnecessary or redundant ver-
biage; and to replace existing numerical references that were
spelled out with their corresponding Arabic numerals.

Based upon requirements for compatibility with NRC regula-
tions, the words "to ensure against recurrence" are added to
§289.202(e)(4) relating to corrective action taken for exceeding
the dose restraint limit.

References to "telegram" and "mailgram" are deleted in
§289.202(j)(2)(C), (k)(5)(B), (ee)(4), and (xx)(3), as these terms
are obsolete, and language is added to allow the referenced
communication by other electronic media transmission, in
addition to the other modes remaining in existing rule.

References to "the agency," "the NRC," or "any agreement
state," or the regulations of these agencies, are revised to be
consistent with language used throughout the chapter. Revi-
sions are made in §289.202(p)(3)(A) and (ff)(2)(J).

The term ‘'licensing state" has been removed from
§289.202(p)(3)(A) because the SSRCR, as written by the
CRCPD, no longer uses the terminology.

New §289.202(y)(4) and (5) are added regarding utilization
record requirements for portable and mobile devices to be
consistent with equivalent requirements for the industrial ra-
diography, well logging, and generally licensed devices rule
sections.

Language is added to §289.202(ff)(1)(C) and new (ff)(3) is
added to the general requirements for waste management in
order to reference requirements of the Texas Commission on
Environmental Quality (TCEQ) and/or the Railroad Commission
of Texas. Subsequent paragraphs are renumbered.

New §289.202(ff)(1)(E) is added to allow the transfer of residual
radiopharmaceutical waste for decay in storage back to a person
who originally manufactured, compounded, and supplied the ra-
diopharmaceutical, and who otherwise meets TCEQ exemption
requirements.

Rule reference citations are revised in §289.202(ff)(6) and (7)
due to the renumbering of definitions in §289.201(b).

Recordkeeping language is revised in §289.202(p)(2), (mm)(2),
(nn)(1), (nn)(3), (00), and (pp) to reference that the record reten-
tion requirements are specified in the table in §289.202(ggg)(5),

and for use of language consistent with NRC compatibility re-
quirements and within the chapter.

New §289.202(nn)(2) is added to clarify the required information
for calibration records.

To clarify information required in reports of stolen, lost, or
missing licensed sources of radiation, the words "the source
and/or device manufacturer, model number and serial number"
are added in §289.202(ww)(2)(A), (xx)(8)(A)(vi), (xx)(8)(B)iii),
(yy)(2)(B), and (bbb), and "dose limit exceeded" is added to
§289.202(yy)(2)(B).

To ensure that department rules achieve the essential objec-
tives of comparable NRC regulations, where required, new
§289.202(ddd)(3), with subparagraphs (A) and (B), is added to
address criteria for license termination under restricted condi-
tions. Subsequent paragraphs are renumbered.

Due to the addition of §289.202(ddd)(3) and the renum-
bering of subsequent paragraphs, rule references in new
§289.202(ddd)(4)(B), (5), and (5)(A)(ii) are revised.

New Figure: 25 TAC §289.202(ggg)(2)(F) replaces the figure
with the same label in current rule to make corrections to the
tables in that figure, which contain values for annual limits on
intake (ALI) and derived air concentrations of radionuclides
for occupational exposure; effluent concentrations; and con-
centrations for release to sanitary sewerage. The spelling of
the word "montly" is corrected to read "monthly" in the figure's
subheading, "Monthly Average Concentrations" under the Table
lIl column heading, "Release to Sewers." The values in each of
the radionuclides Nitrogen-132 (Atomic No. 7) and Oxygen-152
(Atomic No. 8) were moved over one column to the left to be
correctly listed in Columns ("Col.") 2 and 3 of Table I. In the
"Class" column for Titanium-44 (Atomic No. 22), the repeated
word "nitrates" is removed as redundant. The term "LLI Wall"
replaces "Bone Surf" for the oral ingestion ALl in Table |, Col-
umn ("Col.") 1, for Einsteinium-254m (Atomic No. 99), as the
previous use of "Bone Surf" was incorrect.

In addition, Figure: 25 TAC §289.202(ggg)(2)(F) adds a super-
scripted "1" after the word "Submersion," in the column headed
"Class," for the radionuclides Nitrogen-13 (Atomic No. 7) and
Oxygen-15 (Atomic No. 8); a superscripted "1" is placed after
the word "Submersion," in the column headed "Class," for the ra-
dionuclides Nitrogen-13 (Atomic No. 7) and Oxygen-15 (Atomic
No. 8); a subscripted "3" is added in two places following "SrTiO"
under the "Class" column for Strontium-80 (Atomic No. 38); and
a subscripted "2" is added following "MoS" in the "Class" column
for Molybdenum-90 (Atomic No. 42) and following "PuQ" in two
places in the "Class" column for Plutonium-234 (Atomic No. 94)
to correct previous omissions.

The following are additional changes made in Figure: 25 TAC
§289.202(ggg)(2)(F), due to typographical errors and/or omis-
sions. In Table |, "Occupational Values," Column (labeled "Col.")
1, the stomach wall (labeled "St wall") oral ingestion ALI for Chlo-
rine-38 (Atomic No. 17) is changed to read "(3E+4)"; in Table I,
Column 1, the thyroid ALI for lodine-120m (Atomic No. 53) is
changed to read "(1E+4)," and, for lodine-121 (Atomic No. 53),
is changed to read "(3E+4)"; in Column 2, the thyroid ALI for lo-
dine-120 (Atomic No. 53) is changed to read "(1E+4)"; and in
Table |, Column ("Col.") 2, the non-stochastic bone surface ALI
for Gadolinium-148 (Atomic No. 64), Class D, for all compounds
except those given for W, is corrected to read "8E-3," and the
stochastic ALl is corrected to read "(2E-2)."
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Further changes to Figure: 25 TAC §289.202(ggg)(2)(F) include
the following corrections. In the "Class" column for Fluorine-182
(Atomic No. 9), "RB" is replaced with "Rb" to reflect the correct
symbol for the element. In the "Radionuclide" column, an "m" is
added to correct the entry for "Niobium-892 (66 min)" (Atomic
Number 41), to now read Niobium-89m?2 which is correct. In
the "Class" column for Uranium-230 (Atomic No. 92), the let-
ter strings "D, UF, UOF, UO(NO)," "W, UO, UF, UCIL" and "Y,
UO, UO" are replaced with "D, UF, UO,F,, UO,(NO,),," "W, UQ,,
UF,, UCL," and "Y, UO,, U,O,," respectively. In Table I, Column
2, the inhalation ALI for the "W" class of Uranium-238 (Atomic
No. 92) is input to read "(8E-1)." In the radionuclide column for
Neptunium-236 (22.5 h) (Atomic No. 93) an "m" is placed after
"236." In addition, rule references are added in footnotes 2 and 3
and the "?" symbol in the final formula in numbered note 4 under
"NOTES" is corrected to read "<."

Figure: 25 TAC §289.202(ggg)(4)(A)(iii)(V) is replaced to change
"five years" to "5 years" for consistency of usage throughout the
chapter.

The time requirements for the record keeping table in Figure:
25 TAC §289.202(ggg)(5) are revised to add the portable and
mobile device utilization records category, which is a new re-
quirement in §289.202(y)(5). The names of the record were
changed for subsection (lI)(4) to delete the word "additional,"
and, for subsection (nn)(1), to replace "package surveys" with
"package monitoring" to more accurately reflect the record types.
In the "Specific Subsection" column, "(nn)(2)" is deleted and re-
placed with "(nn)(3)" as new paragraph (nn)(2) was added to the
rule text, and the (B) is deleted in "(qq)(B)" to accurately reflect
the subsection reference.

Further changes to Figure: 25 TAC §289.202(ggg)(5) include
the replacement in the time interval column for (rr)(1) - (3) of the
words "Update annually" with "Entries at no >1 year intervals, by
April 30 each year" to accurately reflect the time interval required
by rule for those records. In addition, the words "after the record
was made" were added to the "Time Interval Required for Record
Keeping" column for subsections (y)(5), (nn)(1), and (pp) for the
entry addressing records used to prepare RC Form 202-2, in
order to clearly reflect the date from which the time period is to
be measured.

Language is revised in footnote f of Figure: 25 TAC
§289.202(ggg)(6) to more clearly state the limits for the average
and maximum radiation levels associated with surface contam-
ination resulting from beta-gamma emitters. The last sentence
of footnote f is added as it was inadvertently omitted in current
rule. In addition, the word "shall" is substituted for the word
"should" in footnotes a, e, f, and g so they will not be read as
discretionary or merely advisory.

Figure: 25 TAC §289.202(ggg)(7) is revised to correct the an-
nual generator disposal limit for lodine-123 (I-123) in the table
for concentration and activity limits of nuclides for disposal in a
Type | municipal solid waste site or a hazardous waste facility.

Other changes to §289.202 are made to correct, clarify, or im-
prove terminology, phrasing, grammar and usage, punctuation,
and consistency within the section and/or chapter; to add, de-
fine, or remove acronyms or their definitions; to eliminate un-
necessary or redundant verbiage; to renumber citations and rule
provisions based on added and deleted provisions; and to make
corrections to units of measure misstated in current rule.

Section 289.251(d)(3) is revised to add the phrase, "to the ex-
tent that such person," based upon requirements for compatibil-
ity with NRC rule language.

Based upon requirements for compatibility with NRC regulations,
§289.251(d)(3)(B)(i) and (ii) revises the exemptions for source
material relating to glazed ceramic tableware and glassware, in-
cluding revisions to add the words "manufactured before August
27, 2013."

In §289.251(d)(3)(E), an exemption to certain counterweights
containing depleted uranium which are manufactured in accor-
dance with an NRC license is deleted; in §289.251(d)(3)(E)(i)
and (ii), exemptions to counterweights manufactured under a
specific license issued by the Atomic Energy Commission are
added; and in §289.251(d)(3)(E)(iii), the words "or other" are
added and the words "or labeling" are deleted. These changes
are made to ensure that, as an agreement state, Texas meets
requirements for compatibility with NRC regulations.

In reference to finished optical lenses under exemptions for
source materials, the terms "uranium" and "mirror" are added
and the words "10% by weight of thorium or uranium or, for
lenses manufactured before August 27, 2013," are added in
§289.251(d)(3)(G) based upon requirements for compatibility
with NRC regulations.

Based upon requirements for compatibility with NRC regulations,
new §289.251(d)(5) is added to prohibit unauthorized persons
from initially transferring for sale or distribution a product con-
taining source material to persons who are exempt under spec-
ified regulations.

Changes are made to §289.251(e)(1)(B) and (C), removing "or
the general license provided in §289.252(ee) of this title," from
subparagraph (B), and "any agreement state, or any licensing
state" from subparagraph (C), based upon requirements for com-
patibility with NRC regulations.

References to "the agency," "the NRC," or "any agreement
state," or the regulations of these agencies, are revised to
be consistent with language used throughout the chapter.
Revisions are made in §289.251(e)(2)(E); (e)(3)(A)(i)(IV);
(e)(3)(C)(iii);  (F)4)D)(ii(I);  (F)(4)(H)(i);  ()(4)(H)v)(IT)(-c-);
(@)(H)(iv)(VIl) and (IX); and (f)(4)(K)(ii)(V1).

The term 'licensing state" has been removed throughout
§289.251 because the SSRCR, as written by the CRCPD,
no longer uses the terminology. Revisions are reflected in
§289.251(e)(1)(B) and (C); (€)(2)(D) and (E); (e)(3)A)(IV);
(€)3)C)i; — (AND)) and (i) HEANC)(V):
EBE?)(G)(I")(I); (()(4)(H)(i); and (f)(4)(H)(v)(IIT)(-c-), (VII), and

The word "commission" is replaced with "NRC" in
§289.251(e)(2)(E) to accurately reflect the current standard
federal agency nomenclature.

Changes are made to §289.251(e)(3)(A)(i)(IV) and (V), remov-
ing "any agreement state, or any licensing state," from (V) and
deleting (V), based upon requirements for compatibility with NRC
regulations.

A category for a general license for small quantities of source
material is added to §289.251(f)(3)(A) with the revision and dele-
tion of current language and the addition of requirements under
the new category of general license, based upon requirements
for compatibility with NRC regulations.
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Figures: 25 TAC  §289.251(f)(4)(D)iii)(ll)(-b-)  and
§289.251(f)(4)(G)(iii)(II)(-b-) are replaced to remove the term
"licensing state" because the SSRCR, as written by the
CRCPD, no longer uses the terminology. In addition, the words
"or equivalent regulations of the NRC or any agreement state"
are added to be consistent with language used throughout the
chapter.

In §289.251(f)(4)(F)(i) and (ii), rule references are added to spec-
ify, under clause (i), exceptions to the sections of the chapter
from which persons who transport and store radioactive mate-
rial in accordance with a general license under that paragraph
are exempt, and, under clause (ii), to specify the provisions in
accordance with which the referenced incident notifications are
to be filed with the department.

Language is revised in §289.251(f)(4)(H)(iv)(XV) to clarify gen-
eral license requirements regarding holding devices that are not
in use for longer than 24 months.

Section 289.251(f)(4)(H)(iv)(XV)(-b-) adds language providing
an alternative to disposal for an agency-approved plan for future
use.

In §289.251(f)(4)(K)(ii)(V) and (VI), to improve compatibility with
the NRC, the words, "or under equivalent regulations of the NRC,
or any agreement state" are added to subclause (V), and "the
NRC, or any agreement state" are added to subclause (VI), relat-
ing to general license requirements for certain items and self-lu-
minous products containing radium-226.

In addition, §289.251(f)(4)(K)(ii)(VI) replaces "Radiation Safety
Licensing Branch" with the word "agency," and adds "agency" to
the statement "agency, the NRC, or any agreement state" to be
consistent with wording used throughout the chapter.

To maintain appropriate compatibility with NRC regulations,
the elements Polonium (84) and Radium (88) are deleted from
Figure: 25 TAC §289.251(1)(1), and the elements Beryllium-7,
Radon-222, and Strontium-87m are deleted from Figure: 25
TAC §289.251(1)(2). In addition, minor typographical corrections
are made to Figure: 25 TAC §289.251(I)(1).

Other changes to §289.251 are made to correct, clarify, or im-
prove terminology, phrasing, grammar and usage, punctuation,
and consistency within the section and/or chapter; to include
becquerel as well as curie values where both are not included
in current rule; to correct or update rule citations, or to renumber
citations and rule provisions based on added and deleted provi-
sions; to add, define, or remove acronyms or their definitions; to
replace existing numerical references that were spelled out with
their corresponding Arabic numerals; and to eliminate unneces-
sary or redundant verbiage.

In §289.252(d)(8)(A), the words "Division of Licensing, Registra-
tion and Standards" are replaced with the word "agency" to be
consistent with language used throughout the chapter.

References to "the agency," "the NRC," or "any agreement
state," or the regulations of these agencies, are revised to be
consistent with language and wording used throughout the
chapter. Revisions are made in §289.252(d)(9)(A) and (10);
(N(1) and (3); (N(4)(B) and (F); (I)(7)(C) and (D); (n)(2); (0)(2);
(s)(4)(G); (v)(8)(B)(i); (cc)(3) and (4)(B); and (ee)(1), (1)(E)),
(2), and (2)(B).

The term ‘"licensing state" has been removed throughout
§289.252 because the SSRCR, as written by the CRCPD,
no longer uses the terminology. Revisions are reflected in

§289.252(d)(9)(A); (1)(1) and (3); (I)(4)(B) and (F); (I)(7)(C),
(C)(iii), and (D); ()(8); (n)(2); (0)(2); (cc)(2)(D), (3), and (4)(B);
and (ee)(1), (ee)(1)(E)(i), (2) and (2)(B).

In §289.252(f)(4)(C)(iii), the words "Nuclear" and "Medical" are
transposed to correctly reflect the name of the certification of
Nuclear Medical Physics.

The figures in §289.252(1)(1)(C)(iii)(1l) and (p)(3)(B) are revised
to remove wording relating to "licensing state" because the SS-
RCR, as written by the CRCPD, no longer uses the terminology.
In addition, reference is added to "the agency, the NRC, or any
agreement state" for improved compatibility with the NRC.

Recordkeeping language is revised in §289.252(1)(7)(D),
((2)(C), (NB)(G), (s)(4)(G), (x)(10), (gg)(7), and (II)(2), due to
the addition of a new records retention table in §289.252(mm),
and to use consistent language within the chapter and with
NRC compatibility requirements, both in the provisions referring
to the records retention table in §289.252(mm) and in those
imposing recordkeeping requirements without such reference.

To improve requisite compatibility with NRC regulations,
throughout §289.252(v), the words "certificate of" are added
in front of the term "registration" relating to sealed source or
device evaluations.

The term "Radiation Safety Licensing Branch" is replaced with
the word "agency" in §289.252(v)(2), (v)(10)(A), and (x)(6) to be
consistent with language used throughout the chapter.

New §289.252(x)(11) adds language concerning radioactive
waste or sources or devices that are not in use for longer than 24
months to ensure they are being disposed of in a timely fashion.
The new language also adds provisions allowing licensees to
submit a plan for sources and devices kept in standby for future
use or for an alternative timeline for disposal, if the 24-month
timeframe cannot be met.

The words "at an entire site" are added to §289.252(y)(4)(C) and
the words "in accordance with §289.202(p) of this title" are added
to §289.252(y)(15)(B)(ii) to clarify requirements for the expiration
and termination of licenses and decommissioning of sites.

New §289.252(cc)(6) adds requirements for the transfer of small
quantities of source material for purposes of compatibility with
NRC regulations in Title 10, CFR, §40.54 and §40.55.

Current §289.252(ii), relating to "Increased Controls" for "quan-
tities of concern" is replaced with the new "Physical protection
requirements of Category 1 and Category 2 quantities of radioac-
tive material" because as an agreement state, Texas must adopt
rules that meet the requirements for compatibility with NRC reg-
ulations adopted in Title 10, CFR, Part 37. These new provi-
sions include requirements relating to background investigations
and access authorization programs; physical protection require-
ments during use; physical protection in transit; and recordkeep-
ing requirements.

Current Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(jj)(2) is replaced with a new
table to place a "T" before the "c" in "Tc-98" in the second to
last line of the second group of radionuclides in Figure: 25 TAC
§289.252(jj)(2), since it erroneously appears as "c-98" in the fig-
ure bearing the same title in current rule.

Current Figure: 25 TAC §289.251(jj)(7) is replaced with a new
table to correct the formatting of the alpha and gamma symbols
to properly display as such in Figure: 25 TAC §289.251(jj)(7),
which they do not in the Figure with the same label published in
the current rule. The lettering for the word "emitter" in the third
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to last row under the third column bearing the title "Radioactive
Material" is also corrected in the new table.

Section 289.252(jj)(9) and Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(jj)(9) are
revised to reflect and refer to Category 1 and Category 2 quan-
tities of radioactive material, and to delete language in current
§289.252(jj)(9) and the current Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(jj)(9)
relating to "quantities of concern." These changes are made
based upon requirements for compatibility with NRC regulations.

New §289.252(mm) is added to provide one all-inclusive loca-
tion that specifies the applicable record/document retention time-
frames for records required throughout §289.252. Change is re-
flected in new Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(mm).

Other changes to §289.252 are made to correct, clarify, or im-
prove terminology, phrasing, grammar and usage, punctuation,
and consistency within the section and/or chapter; to add, de-
fine, or remove acronyms or their definitions; to replace existing
numerical references that were spelled out with their correspond-
ing Arabic numerals; and to include becquerel as well as curie
values where both are not included in current rule.

Definitions for "freight forwarder," "registered freight forwarder,"
"registered shipper," "registered transporter," and "transporter”
are added as §289.257(d)(19), (35), (36), (37), and (44) respec-
tively, to clarify the different types of persons or entities that may
be transporting radioactive material. Subsequent definitions are
renumbered.

The words, "the following limits are not exceeded" is deleted
from the definition of "SCO (Surface contaminated object)-1l" in
§289.257(d)(43)(B), since it is redundant of language contained
in each clause that follows.

References to "the agency," or an agency license, are revised to
be consistent with language used throughout the chapter. Revi-
sions are made in §289.257(d)(20), (49), and (51).

The new paragraph title "Transporter proof of financial respon-
sibility" is added to §289.257(e)(4) and the current paragraph is
revised and divided into four subparagraphs to clarify the require-
ments for transporters providing proof of financial responsibility.

In §289.257(e)(4)(A), the term "Radiation Safety Licensing
Branch" is replaced with the word "agency" to be consistent
with language used throughout the chapter. In addition, the
words "a registration letter" replace the words "approval of this
documentation" to clarify the form in which transporters receive
agency approval of their proof of financial responsibility.

Section 289.257(e)(4)(B) is added to specify the expiration date
of the transporter registration.

Section 289.257(e)(4)(C) - (D) is revised to include financial re-
sponsibility requirements relating to the renewal of the trans-
porter registration, and to add the requirement to provide new
proof of financial responsibility if the amount of the liability cov-
erage is reduced or a new policy is purchased.

Language is revised in §289.257(f)(2) regarding exemptions for
certain transportation and storage of radioactive material.

The words "transporter and" are added to §289.257(p) to clarify
that transporters, in addition to shippers, shall comply with the
reports requirement.

References to "telegram" and "mailgram" are deleted in
§289.257(p), as the terms are obsolete and language is added
to include electronic media transmission as an acceptable mode
for meeting the referenced reporting requirements.

In §289.257(q)(3), the words "the shipment" and "licensed" are
added and the word "shipments" is deleted, based upon require-
ments for compatibility with NRC regulations.

Recordkeeping language is revised in §289.257(q)(4)(D) to be
consistent with language used throughout the chapter.

The words "registration requirements" are added to the sub-
section in §289.257(r) and current language is revised as new
§289.257(r)(1) to clarify how submission of an emergency plan
is approved by the agency.

New §289.257(r)(2) - (4) are added to include specific details
relating to the submission, application, expiration, and renewal
of an emergency plan registration.

Inadvertent use of a cross-reference to "this subpart," an NRC
regulatory, rather than state, rule cross-reference, was deleted
and replaced with the specific applicable Chapter 289 rule refer-
ences in §289.257(s)(1)(C)(ii) to correct the cross-references.

New §289.257(cc)(8) adds a requirement for shippers to submit
a list of approved shipping containers intended for use to ship low
level radioactive waste for disposal to ensure proper containers
are being utilized. Quality assurance documentation and proof of
control measures is also required of shippers licensed in Texas
who hold a "CoC," a Certificate of Compliance.

Language is deleted to remove reference to "the board" in
§289.257(dd)(3) as the term referencing the "Board of Health"
is obsolete.

Other changes to §289.257 are made to correct, clarify, or im-
prove terminology, phrasing, grammar and usage, punctuation,
and consistency within the section and/or chapter; to add, de-
fine, or remove acronyms or abbreviations, or their definitions;
to replace existing numerical references that were spelled out
with their corresponding Arabic numerals; and to renumber rule
provisions based on added and deleted provisions.

COMMENTS

A public hearing was conducted on December 9, 2015. A repre-
sentative from Gardere was present for the public hearing. The
attendee did not have any comments.

The department, on behalf of the commission, has reviewed and
prepared responses to the comments received regarding the
proposed rules during the comment period, which the commis-
sion has reviewed and accepts. The commenters represented
Gardere; VEGA Americas, Inc.; and the NRC. The commenters
were in favor of the rules, however, some recommendations for
change were suggested or are required as discussed in the sum-
mary of comments.

A representative from VEGA Americas, Inc., made a recommen-
dation for a typographical change to a posted information memo-
randum concerning rule revisions, comment deadline, and public
hearing date which accompanied the proposed rule text for Sec-
tion 289.251 on the radiation program website. The department
corrected the information memorandum to reflect that "...devices
that are not in use for longer than 24 months." The information
memorandum was withdrawn from the website after the com-
ment period ended.

Comment: A representative from Gardere expressed concern
regarding the implementation timeframe for these rules.

Response: The commission acknowledges the concern and
provides the following information. The intention is to have the
rules in place and effective no later than March 19, 2016. If, for
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whatever reason, it appears that the rules will not be in place
by that date, licensing conditions will be applied which will be
in effect by that date. Additional implementation information
was posted on the radiation website on January 14, 2016,
at http://www.dshs.state.tx.us/radiation/proposed.shtm. No
change was made to the rules as a result of the comment.

Comment: The NRC stated that the Mail Stop for NRC's Criminal
History Program in §289.252(ii)(5)(C)(i) needs to be updated to
read "TWB-05 B32M" as the mail stop has changed.

Response: The commission agrees and the correction has been
made.

Comment: The NRC stated that the word "federal" needs
to be removed before the words "agency/employer" in
§289.252(ii)(6)(A)(xii) and §289.252(ii)(6)(B) to meet the
Compatibility Category B designation assigned to 10 CFR
37.29(a)(12) and 37.29(b).

Response: The commission agrees and the word "federal"
has been removed in the rule text in §289.252(ii)(6)(A)(xii) and
(ii)(6)(B). The figure in §289.252(mm) has also been revised in
the second column titled Name of Records. In the rule cross
reference for §289.252(ii)(6)(A)(xii) and (ii)(6)(B), the word
"federal" was removed to reflect the same wording as in the rule
text.

Comment: Regarding §289.252(ii)(9)(A)(ii), the NRC stated that
the first sentence should read "An applicant for a new license and
each licensee that would become newly subject to..." to meet
the Compatibility Category B designation assigned to 10 CFR
37.41(a).

Response: The commission agrees and the word "newly" has
been added.

Comment: Regarding §289.252(ii)(21)(A) - (D), the NRC stated
that the NRC addresses for advance notification need to be re-
placed with the appropriate state agency information to meet
the Compatibility Category B designation assigned to 10 CFR
37.77(a) - (d).

Response: The commission agrees. References to the NRC
have been removed and replaced with references to the Texas
Department of Public Safety, Office of Homeland Security, as
the appropriate agency to be notified in advance of shipments of
Category 1 and Category 2 quantities of radioactive material in
Texas.

DEPARTMENT COMMENTS

The department staff, on behalf of the commission, provided one
comment and the commission has reviewed and agrees to the
following change.

The word "agency" was added in §289.252(ii)(21)(F) to correctly
include licensees of the agency.

LEGAL CERTIFICATION

The Department of State Health Services General Counsel, Lisa
Hernandez, certifies that the rules, as adopted, have been re-
viewed by legal counsel and found to be a valid exercise of the
agencies' legal authority.

SUBCHAPTER D. GENERAL
25 TAC §289.201, §289.202
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Health and Safety Code,
Chapter 401, which provides for the department's radiation con-
trol rules and regulatory program to be compatible with federal
standards and regulation; §401.065, which permits Texas to en-
ter an agreement with the federal government to perform func-
tions relating to radiation control, in cooperation with the federal
government, and Texas' status thereto as an Agreement State,
under which it is required to comply with NRC requirements for
compatibility with its regulations; §401.051, which provides the
required authority to adopt rules and guidelines relating to the
control of sources of radiation; §401.052, which provides author-
ity for rules that provide for transportation and routing of radioac-
tive material and waste in Texas; §401.103, which provides au-
thority for licensing and registration for transportation of sources
of radiation; §401.104 which provides for rulemaking authority for
general or specific licensing of radioactive material and devices
or equipment using radioactive material; §401.224, which pro-
vides rulemaking authority relating to the packaging of radioac-
tive waste; and Government Code, §531.0055; and Health and
Safety Code, §1001.075, which authorize the Executive Com-
missioner of the Health and Human Services Commission to
adopt rules and policies for the operation and provision of health
and human services by the department and for the administra-
tion of Health and Safety Code, Chapter 1001. The review of the
rules implements Government Code, §2001.039.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 10,
2016.

TRD-201600651

Lisa Hernandez

General Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: March 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 20, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 776-6972

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER F. LICENSE REGULATIONS

25 TAC §§289.251, 289.252, 289.257
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Health and Safety Code,
Chapter 401, which provides for the department's radiation con-
trol rules and regulatory program to be compatible with federal
standards and regulation; §401.065, which permits Texas to en-
ter an agreement with the federal government to perform func-
tions relating to radiation control, in cooperation with the federal
government, and Texas' status thereto as an Agreement State,
under which it is required to comply with NRC requirements for
compatibility with its regulations; §401.051, which provides the
required authority to adopt rules and guidelines relating to the
control of sources of radiation; §401.052, which provides author-
ity for rules that provide for transportation and routing of radioac-
tive material and waste in Texas; §401.103, which provides au-
thority for licensing and registration for transportation of sources
of radiation; §401.104 which provides for rulemaking authority for
general or specific licensing of radioactive material and devices
or equipment using radioactive material; §401.224, which pro-
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vides rulemaking authority relating to the packaging of radioac-
tive waste; and Government Code, §531.0055; and Health and
Safety Code, §1001.075, which authorize the Executive Com-
missioner of the Health and Human Services Commission to
adopt rules and policies for the operation and provision of health
and human services by the department and for the administra-
tion of Health and Safety Code, Chapter 1001. The review of the
rules implements Government Code, §2001.039.

$289.252.  Licensing of Radioactive Material.
(a) Purpose. The intent of this section is as follows.

(1) This section provides for the specific licensing of ra-
dioactive material.

(2) Unless otherwise exempted, no person shall receive,
possess, use, transfer, own, or acquire radioactive material except as
authorized by the following:

(A) aspecific license issued in accordance with this sec-
tion and/or any of the following sections:

(1) §289.255 of'this title (relating to Radiation Safety
Requirements and Licensing and Registration Procedures for Industrial
Radiography);

(i) §289.256 of this title (relating to Medical and
Veterinary Use of Radioactive Material);

(iii)  §289.258 of this title (relating to Licensing and
Radiation Safety Requirements for Irradiators); and/or

(iv)  §289.259 of this title (relating to Licensing of
Naturally Occurring Radioactive Material (NORM)); or

(B) a general license or general license acknowledg-
ment issued in accordance with §289.251 of this title (relating to
Exemptions, General Licenses, and General License Acknowledge-
ments).

(3) A person who receives, possesses, uses, transfers,
owns, or acquires radioactive materials prior to receiving a license is
subject to the requirements of this chapter.

(b) Scope. In addition to the requirements of this section, the
following additional requirements are applicable.

(1) All licensees, unless otherwise specified, are subject to
the requirements in the following sections:

(A) §289.201 of'this title (relating to General Provisions
for Radioactive Material);

(B) §289.202 of this title (relating to Standards for Pro-
tection Against Radiation from Radioactive Materials);

(C) §289.203 of this title (relating to Notices, Instruc-
tions, and Reports to Workers; Inspections);

(D) §289.204 of this title (relating to Fees for Certifi-
cates of Registration, Radioactive Material Licenses, Emergency Plan-
ning and Implementation, and Other Regulatory Services);

(E) §289.205 of this title (relating to Hearing and En-
forcement Procedures); and

(F) §289.257 of this title (relating to Packaging and
Transportation of Radioactive Material).

(2) Licensees engaged in well logging service operations
and tracer studies are subject to the requirements of §289.253 of this
title (relating to Radiation Safety Requirements for Well Logging Ser-
vice Operations and Tracer Studies).

(3) Licensees engaged in industrial radiographic opera-
tions are subject to the requirements of §289.255 of this title.

(4) Licensees using radioactive material for medical or vet-
erinary use are subject to the requirements of §289.256 of this title.

(5) Licensees using sealed sources in irradiators are subject
to the requirements of §289.258 of this title.

(6) Licensees possessing or using naturally occurring ra-
dioactive material are subject to the requirements of §289.259 of this
title.

(c) Types oflicenses. Licenses for radioactive materials are of
two types: general and specific.

(1) General licenses provided in §289.251 and §289.259
of this title are effective without the filing of applications with the
agency or the issuance of licensing documents to the particular per-
sons, although the filing of an application for acknowledgement with
the agency may be required for a particular general license. The gen-
eral licensee is subject to any other applicable portions of this chapter
and any limitations of the general license.

(2) Specific licenses require the submission of an applica-
tion to the agency and the issuance of a licensing document by the
agency. The licensee is subject to all applicable portions of this chapter
as well as any limitations specified in the licensing document.

(d) Filing application for specific licenses. The agency may,
at any time after the filing of the original application, require further
statements in order to enable the agency to determine whether the ap-
plication should be denied or the license should be issued.

(1) Applications for specific licenses shall be filed in a
manner prescribed by the agency.

(2) Each application shall be signed by the chief executive
officer or other individual delegated the authority to manage, direct, or
administer the licensee's activities.

(3) Anapplication for a license may include a request for a
license authorizing one or more activities. The agency may require the
issuance of separate specific licenses for those activities.

(4) Each application for a specific license, other than a li-
cense exempted from §289.204 of this title, shall be accompanied by
the fee prescribed in §289.204 of this title.

(5) Each application shall be accompanied by a completed
RC Form 252-1 (Business Information Form).

(6) Each applicant shall demonstrate to the agency that the
applicant is financially qualified to conduct the activity requested for
licensure, including any required decontamination, decommissioning,
reclamation, and disposal before the agency issues a license. Each li-
censee shall demonstrate to the agency that it remains financially quali-
fied to conduct the licensed activity before a license is renewed. Meth-
ods for demonstrating financial qualifications are specified in subsec-
tion (jj)(8) of this section. The requirement for demonstration of finan-
cial qualification is separate from the requirement specified in subsec-
tion (gg) of this section for certain applicants or licensees to provide
financial assurance.

(7) If facility drawings submitted in conjunction with the
application for a license are prepared by a professional engineer or en-
gineering firm, those drawings shall be final and shall be signed, sealed
and dated in accordance with the requirements of the Texas Board of
Professional Engineers, Title 22, Texas Administrative Code (TAC),
Chapter 131.
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(8) Applications for licenses shall be processed in accor-
dance with the following time periods.

(A) The first period is the time from receipt of an appli-
cation by the agency to the date of issuance or denial of the license or
a written notice outlining why the application is incomplete or unac-
ceptable. This time period is 60 days.

(B) The second period is the time from receipt of the
last item necessary to complete the application to the date of issuance
or denial of the license. This time period is 30 days.

(C) These time periods are exclusive of any time period
incident to hearings and post-hearing activities required by the Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 2001.

(9) Except as provided in this paragraph, an application for
a specific license to use radioactive material in the form of a sealed
source or in a device that contains the sealed source shall:

(A) identify the source or device by manufacturer and
model number as registered in accordance with subsection (v) of this
section or with equivalent regulations of the United States Nuclear Reg-
ulatory Commission (NRC) or any agreement state, or for a source or a
device containing radium-226 or accelerator-produced radioactive ma-
terial registered in accordance with subsection (v) of this section; or

(B) contain the information specified in subsection
(v)(3) - (4) of this section.

(10) For sources or devices manufactured before October
23, 2012, that are not registered in accordance with subsection (v) of
this section or with equivalent regulations of the NRC or any agreement
state, and for which the applicant is unable to provide all categories
of information specified in subsection (v)(3) - (4) of this section, the
application shall include:

(A) all available information identified in subsection
(v)(3) - (4) of this section concerning the source, and, if applicable,
the device; and

(B) sufficient additional information to demonstrate
that there is reasonable assurance that the radiation safety properties
of the source or device are adequate to protect health and minimize
danger to life and property. Such information shall include:

(i) adescription of the source or device;
(ii) a description of radiation safety features;

(iii)  the intended use and associated operating expe-
rience; and

(iv) the results of a recent leak test.

(11) For sealed sources and devices allowed to be dis-
tributed without registration of safety information in accordance with
subsection (v)(8)(A) of this section, the applicant shall supply only the
manufacturer, model number, and radionuclide and quantity.

(12) Ifitis not feasible to identify each sealed source and
device individually, the applicant shall propose constraints on the num-
ber and type of sealed sources and devices to be used and the conditions
under which they will be used, in lieu of identifying each sealed source
and device.

(13) Notwithstanding the provisions of §289.204(d)(1) of
this title, reimbursement of application fees may be granted in the fol-
lowing manner.

(A) In the event the application is not processed in the
time periods as stated in paragraph (8) of this subsection, the applicant
has the right to request of the director of the Radiation Control Pro-

gram full reimbursement of all application fees paid in that particular
application process. If the director does not agree that the established
periods have been violated or finds that good cause existed for exceed-
ing the established periods, the request will be denied.

(B) Good cause for exceeding the period established is
considered to exist if:

(i) the number of applications for licenses to be pro-
cessed exceeds by 15% or more the number processed in the same cal-
endar quarter the preceding year;

(ii) another public or private entity utilized in the ap-
plication process caused the delay; or

(iii)  other conditions existed giving good cause for
exceeding the established periods.

(C) If the request for full reimbursement authorized by
subparagraph (A) of this paragraph is denied, the applicant may then
request a hearing by appeal to the Commissioner of Health for a reso-
Iution of the dispute. The appeal will be processed in accordance with
Title 1, TAC, Chapter 155, and the Formal Hearing Procedures, §§1.21,
1.23, 1.25, and 1.27 of this title.

(14) Applications for licenses may be denied for the fol-
lowing reasons:

(A) any material false statement in the application or
any statement of fact required under provisions of the Texas Radiation
Control Act (Act);

(B) conditions revealed by the application or statement
of fact or any report, record, or inspection, or other means that would
warrant the agency to refuse to grant a license on an application; or

(C) failure to clearly demonstrate how the requirements
in this chapter have been addressed.

(15) Action on a specific license application will be consid-
ered abandoned if the applicant does not respond within 30 days from
the date of a request for any information by the agency. Abandonment
of such actions does not provide an opportunity for a hearing; however,
the applicant retains the right to resubmit the application in accordance
with paragraphs (1) - (7) of this subsection.

(e) General requirements for the issuance of specific licenses.
A license application will be approved if the agency determines that:

(1) the applicant and all personnel who will be handling the
radioactive material are qualified by reason of training and experience
to use the material in question for the purpose requested in accordance
with this chapter in such a manner as to minimize danger to occupa-
tional and public health and safety and the environment;

(2) the applicant's proposed equipment, facilities, and pro-
cedures are adequate to minimize danger to occupational and public
health and safety and the environment;

(3) the issuance of the license will not be inimical to the
health and safety of the public;

(4) the applicant satisfied any applicable special require-
ment in this section and other sections as specified in subsection
(a)(2)(A) of this section;

(5) theradiation safety information submitted for requested
sealed source(s) or device(s) containing radioactive material is in ac-
cordance with subsection (v) of this section;

(6) qualifications of the designated radiation safety officer
(RSO) as specified in subsection (f) of this section are adequate for the
purpose requested in the application;
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(7) the applicant submitted adequate operating, safety, and
emergency procedures;

(8) the applicant's permanent facility is located in Texas (if
the applicant's permanent facility is not located in Texas, reciprocal
recognition shall be sought as required by subsection (ee) of this sec-
tion);

(9) the owner of the property is aware that radioactive ma-
terial is stored and/or used on the property, if the proposed facility is
not owned by the applicant. The applicant shall provide a written state-
ment from the owner, or from the owner's agent, indicating such. This
paragraph does not apply to property owned or held by a government
entity or to property on which radioactive material is used under an au-
thorization for temporary job site use;

(10) there is no reason to deny the license as specified in
subsections (d)(14) or (x)(9) of this section; and

(11) the applicant is listed on the Secretary of State's web-
site as authorized to conduct business in the state, unless the applicant
is exempt. All applicants using an assumed name in their application
shall file an assumed name certificate with the Secretary of State and/or
the office of the county clerk as required under the Business and Com-
merce Code, Chapter 71.

(f) Radiation safety officer.

(1) An RSO shall be designated for every license issued by
the agency. A single individual may be designated as RSO for more
than one license if authorized by the agency.

(2) The RSO's documented qualifications shall include as
a minimum:

(A) possession of a high school diploma or a certificate
of high school equivalency based on the GED test;

(B) completion of the training and testing requirements
specified in this chapter for the activities for which the license applica-
tion is submitted; and

(C) training and experience necessary to supervise the
radiation safety aspects of the licensed activity.

(3) The specific duties of the RSO include, but are not lim-
ited to, the following:

(A) to establish and oversee operating, safety, emer-
gency, and as low as reasonably achievable (ALARA) procedures,
and to review them at least annually to ensure that the procedures are
current and conform with this chapter;

(B) to oversee and approve all phases of the training
program for operations and/or personnel so that appropriate and effec-
tive radiation protection practices are taught;

(C) to ensure that required radiation surveys and leak
tests are performed and documented in accordance with this chapter,
including any corrective measures when levels of radiation exceed es-
tablished limits;

(D) to ensure that individual monitoring devices are
used properly by occupationally-exposed personnel, that records are
kept of the monitoring results, and that timely notifications are made
in accordance with §289.203 of this title;

(E) to investigate and cause a report to be submitted to
the agency for each known or suspected case of radiation exposure to an
individual or radiation level detected in excess of limits established by
this chapter and each theft or loss of source(s) of radiation, to determine
the cause(s), and to take steps to prevent a recurrence;

(F) to investigate and cause a report to be submitted to
the agency for each known or suspected case of release of radioactive
material to the environment in excess of limits established by this chap-
ter;

(G) tohave a thorough knowledge of management poli-
cies and administrative procedures of the licensee;

(H) toassume control and have the authority to institute
corrective actions, including shutdown of operations when necessary in
emergency situations or unsafe conditions;

(I) to ensure that records are maintained as required by
this chapter;

(J) to ensure the proper storing, labeling, transport, use
and disposal of sources of radiation, storage, and/or transport contain-
ers;

(K) to ensure that inventories are performed in accor-
dance with the activities for which the license application is submitted,

(L) to perform a physical inventory of the radioactive
sealed sources authorized for use on the license every 6 months and
make, maintain, and retain records of the inventory of the radioactive
sealed sources authorized for use on the license every 6 months, to
include, but not be limited to the following:

(i) isotope(s);

(i) quantity(ies);

(iii)  activity(ies);

(iv) date inventory is performed;

(v) location;

(vi) unique identifying number or serial number; and
(vii) signature of person performing the inventory;

(M) to ensure that personnel are complying with this
chapter, the conditions of the license, and the operating, safety, and
emergency procedures of the licensee;

(N) to serve as the primary contact with the agency; and

(O) to have knowledge of and ensure compliance with
federal and state security measures for radioactive material.

(4) Requirements for RSOs for specific licenses for broad
scope authorization for research and development. In addition to the
requirements in paragraphs (1) and (3) of this subsection, the RSO's
qualifications for specific licenses for broad scope authorization for re-
search and development shall include evidence of the following:

(A) a bachelor's degree in health physics, radiological
health, physical science or a biological science with a physical science
minor and 4 years of applied health physics experience in a program
with radiation safety issues similar to those in the program to be man-
aged;

(B) a master's degree in health physics or radiological
health and 3 years of applied health physics experience in a program
with radiation safety issues similar to those in the program to be man-
aged;

(C) 2 years of applied health physics experience in a
program with radiation safety issues similar to those in the program to
be managed and one of the following:

(i) doctorate degree in health physics or radiological
health;
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(i) comprehensive certification by the American
Board of Health Physics;

(iii) ~ certification by the American Board of Radiol-
ogy in Nuclear Medical Physics;

(iv) certification by the American Board of Science
in Nuclear Medicine in Radiation Protection; or

(v) certification by the American Board of Medical
Physics in Medical Health Physics; or

(D) equivalent qualifications as approved by the
agency.

(5) The qualifications in paragraph (4)(A) - (D) do not ap-
ply to individuals who have been adequately trained and designated as
RSOs on licenses issued prior to October 1, 2000.

(g) Duties and responsibilities of the Radiation Safety Com-
mittee (RSC). The duties and responsibilities of the RSC include but
are not limited to the following:

(1) meeting as often as necessary to conduct business but
no less than 3 times a year;

(2) reviewing summaries of the following information pre-
sented by the RSO:

(A) over-exposures;

(B) significant incidents, including spills, contamina-
tion, or medical events; and

(C) items of non-compliance following an inspection;

(3) reviewing the program for maintaining doses ALARA,
and providing any necessary recommendations to ensure doses are
ALARA;

(4) reviewing the overall compliance status for authorized
users;

(5) sharing responsibility with the RSO to conduct periodic
audits of the radiation safety program;

(6) reviewing the audit of the radiation safety program and
acting upon the findings;

(7) developing criteria to evaluate training and experience
of new authorized user applicants;

(8) evaluating and approving authorized user applicants
who request authorization to use radioactive material at the facility;

(9) evaluating new uses of radioactive material;

(10) reviewing and approving permitted program and pro-
cedural changes prior to implementation; and

(11) having knowledge of and ensuring compliance with
federal and state security measures for radioactive material.

(h) Specific licenses for broad scope authorization for multi-
ple quantities or types of radioactive material for use in research and
development.

(1) In addition to the requirements in subsection (e) of this
section, a specific license for multiple quantities or types of radioac-
tive material for use in research and development, not to include the
internal or external administration of radiation or radioactive material
to humans, will be issued if the agency approves the following docu-
mentation submitted by the applicant:

(A) that staff has substantial experience in the use of a
variety of radioisotopes for a variety of research and development uses;

(B) ofafull-time RSO meeting the requirements of sub-
section (f)(4) of this section;

(C) establishment of an RSC, including names and
qualifications, with duties and responsibilities in accordance with
subsection (g) of this section. The RSC shall be composed of an RSO,
a representative of executive management, and 1 or more persons
trained or experienced in the safe use of radioactive materials.

(2) Unless specifically authorized, persons licensed ac-
cording to paragraph (1) of this subsection shall not conduct tracer
studies involving direct release of radioactive material to the environ-
ment.

(3) Unless specifically authorized, in accordance with a
separate license, persons licensed according to paragraph (1) of this
subsection shall not:

(A) receive, acquire, own, possess, use, or transfer de-
vices containing 100,000 curies (Ci) (3700 terabecquerels) or more of
radioactive material in sealed sources used for irradiation of materials;

(B) conductactivities for which a specific license issued
by the agency in accordance with subsections (i) - (u) of this section
and §289.255, §289.256, and §289.259 of this title as required,

(C) add or cause the addition of radioactive material to
any food, beverage, cosmetic, drug, or other product designed for in-
gestion or inhalation by, or application to, a human being; or

(D) commercially distribute radioactive material.

(1) Specific licenses for introduction of radioactive material
into products in exempt concentrations.

(1) In addition to the requirements in subsection (e) of this
section, a specific license authorizing the introduction of radioactive
material into a product or material in the possession of the licensee or
another to be transferred to persons exempt from this chapter in accor-
dance with §289.251(e)(1)(A) of this title will be issued if the agency
approves the following information submitted by the applicant:

(A) adescription of the product or material into which
the radioactive material will be introduced;

(B) intended use of the radioactive material and the
product or material into which it is introduced;

(C) method of introduction;

(D) initial concentration of the radioactive material in
the product or material;

(E) control methods to assure that no more than the
specified concentration is introduced into the product or material;

(F) estimated time interval between introduction and
transfer of the product or material;

(G) estimated concentration of the radioactive material
in the product or material at the time of transfer; and

(H) procedures for disposition of unwanted or unused
radioactive material.

(2) The applicant shall provide reasonable assurance that:

(A) the concentrations of radioactive material at the
time of transfer will not exceed the concentrations in §289.251(m)(1)
of this title;

(B) reconcentration of the radioactive material in con-
centrations exceeding those in §289.251(m)(1) of this title will not oc-
cur;
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(C) the use of lower concentrations is not feasible; and

(D) the product or material is not to be incorporated in
any food, beverage, cosmetic, drug, or other commodity or product
designed for ingestion or inhalation by, or application to, a human.

(3) Eachperson licensed in accordance with this subsection
shall file an annual report with the agency and shall identify the type and
quantity of each product or material into which radioactive material has
been introduced during the reporting period. The report shall cover the
year ending June 30, shall be filed within 30 days thereafter, and shall
include the following:

(A) name and address of the person who owned or pos-
sessed the product or material when the radioactive material was intro-
duced;

(B) the type and quantity of radionuclide introduced
into each such product or material; and

(C) the initial concentrations of the radionuclide in the
product or material at time of transfer of the radioactive material by the
licensee.

(4) If no transfers of radioactive material have been made
in accordance with this subsection during the reporting period, the re-
port shall so indicate.

(5) No person may introduce radioactive material into a
product or material knowing or having reason to believe that it will
be transferred to persons exempt in accordance with §289.251 of this
title except as specified with a license issued by the NRC.

(j) Specific licenses for commercial distribution of radioactive
material in exempt quantities.

(1) Authority to transfer possession or control by the man-
ufacturer, processor, or producer of any equipment, device, commod-
ity, or other product containing source material, byproduct material,
or naturally occurring and accelerator-produced radioactive material
(NARM) whose subsequent possession, use, transfer, and disposal by
all other persons are exempted from regulatory requirements may be
obtained only from the United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission
(NRC), Washington, DC 20555 in accordance with Title 10, Code of
Federal Regulations (CFR), §32.18.

(2) Licenses issued in accordance with this subsection do
not authorize the following:

(A) combining of exempt quantities of radioactive ma-
terial in a single device;

(B) any program advising persons to combine exempt
quantity sources and providing devices for them to do so; and

(C) the possession and use of combined exempt
sources, in a single unregistered device, by persons exempt from
licensing in accordance with §289.251(¢)(2) of this title.

(k) Specific licenses for incorporation of byproduct material or
NARM into gas and aerosol detectors. A specific license authorizing
the incorporation of byproduct material or NARM into gas and aerosol
detectors to be distributed to persons exempt from this chapter shall be
issued only by the NRC in accordance with Title 10, CFR, §32.26.

(1) Specific licenses for the manufacture and commercial dis-
tribution of devices to persons generally licensed in accordance with
§289.251(f)(4)(H) of this title.

(1) In addition to the requirements in subsection (e) of this
section, a specific license to manufacture or commercially distribute
devices containing radioactive material to persons generally licensed in

accordance with §289.251(f)(4)(H) of this title or equivalent require-
ments of the NRC or any agreement state will be issued if the agency
approves the following information submitted by the applicant:

(A) the design, manufacture, prototype testing, quality
control, labels, proposed uses, installation, servicing, leak testing, op-
erating and safety instructions, and potential hazards of the device to
provide reasonable assurance that:

(i) the device can be safely operated by persons not
having training in radiological protection;

(i7) under ordinary conditions of handling, storage,
and use of the device, the radioactive material contained in the device
will not be released or inadvertently removed from the device, and it is
unlikely that any person will receive in any period of one year a dose
in excess of 10% of the limits specified in §289.202(f) of this title; and

(iii) under accident conditions (such as fire and ex-
plosion) associated with handling, storage, and use of the device, it is
unlikely that any person would receive an external radiation dose or
dose commitment in excess of the following organ doses:

(1) 15 rems to the whole body; head and trunk;
active blood-forming organs; gonads; or lens of eye;

(1) 200 rems to the hands and forearms; feet and
ankles; localized areas of skin averaged over areas no larger than 1
square centimeter (cm?2); or

(11I) 50 rems to other organs;

(B) procedures for disposition of unused or unwanted
radioactive material;

(C) each device bears a durable, legible, clearly visible
label or labels approved by the agency that contain the following in a
clearly identified and separate statement:

(i) instructions and precautions necessary to assure
safe installation, operation, and servicing of the device (documents
such as operating and service manuals may be identified in the label
and used to provide this information);

(ii)  the requirement, or lack of requirement, for leak
testing, or for testing any "on-oft" mechanism and indicator, including
the maximum time interval for such testing, and the identification of
radioactive material by isotope, quantity of radioactivity, and date of
determination of the quantity; and

(iii)  the information called for in one of the follow-
ing statements, as appropriate, in the same or substantially similar
form:

(I) For radioactive materials other than NARM,
the following statement is appropriate:
Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(1)(1)(C)(iii)(I) (No change.)

(II) For NARM, the following statement is ap-
propriate:
Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(1)(1)(C)(iii)(II)

(IlI) The model and serial number and name of
manufacturer or distributor may be omitted from this label provided
they are elsewhere stated in labeling affixed to the device.

(D) Each device having a separable source housing that
provides the primary shielding for the source also bears, on the source
housing, a durable label containing the device model number and serial
numbers, the isotope and quantity, the words, "Caution-Radioactive
Material," the radiation symbol described in §289.202(z) of this title,
and the name of the manufacturer or initial distributor.
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(E) Each device meeting the criteria of §289.251(g)(1)
of this title, bears a permanent (for example, embossed, etched,
stamped, or engraved) label affixed to the source housing if separable,
or the device if the source housing is not separable, that includes
the words, "Caution-Radioactive Material," and, if practicable, the
radiation symbol described in §289.202(z) of this title.

(F) The device has been registered in the Sealed Source
and Device Registry.

(2) In the event the applicant desires that the device be re-
quired to be tested at intervals longer than 6 months, either for proper
operation of the "on-off" mechanism and indicator, if any, or for leak-
age of radioactive material, or for both, the applicant shall include in
the application sufficient information to demonstrate that the longer in-
terval is justified by performance characteristics of the device or sim-
ilar devices and by design features that have a significant bearing on
the probability or consequences of radioactive material leakage from
the device or failure of the "on-off" mechanism and indicator. In de-
termining the acceptable interval for the test for radioactive material
leakage, the agency will consider information that includes, but is not
limited to the following:

(A) primary containment (sealed source capsule);
(B) protection of primary containment;

(C) method of sealing containment;

(D) containment construction materials;

(E) form of contained radioactive material;

(F) maximum temperature withstood during prototype

tests;

(G) maximum pressure withstood during prototype
tests;

(H) maximum quantity of contained radioactive mate-
rial;

(I) radiotoxicity of contained radioactive material; and

(J) operating experience with identical devices or simi-
larly designed and constructed devices.

(3) In the event the applicant desires that the general li-
censee in accordance with §289.251(f)(4)(H) of this title or in accor-
dance with equivalent regulations of the NRC or any agreement state,
be authorized to mount the device, collect the sample to be analyzed
by a specific licensee for radioactive material leakage, perform mainte-
nance of the device consisting of replacement of labels, rust and corro-
sion prevention, and for fixed gauges, repair and maintenance of sealed
source holder mounting brackets, test the "on-off" mechanism and indi-
cator, or remove the device from installation, the applicant shall include
in the application written instructions to be followed by the general li-
censee, estimated annual doses associated with such activity or activ-
ities, and bases for such estimates. The submitted information shall
demonstrate that performance of such activity or activities by an in-
dividual untrained in radiological protection, in addition to other han-
dling, storage, and use of devices in accordance with the general li-
cense, is unlikely to cause that individual to receive an annual dose in
excess of 10% of the limits specified in §289.202(f) of this title.

(4) Before the device may be transferred, each person li-
censed in accordance with this subsection to commercially distribute
devices to generally licensed persons shall furnish:

(A) acopy of the general license in §289.251(f)(4)(H)
of this title to each person to whom the licensee directly commercially

distributes radioactive material in a device for use in accordance with
the general license in §289.251(f)(4)(H) of this title;

(B) a copy of the general license in the NRC's or any
agreement state's regulation equivalent to §289.251(f)(4)(H) of this ti-
tle, or alternatively, a copy of the general license in §289.251(f)(4)(H)
of this title to each person to whom the licensee directly commercially
distributes radioactive material in a device for use in accordance with
the general license of the NRC or any agreement state. If certain re-
quirements of the regulations do not apply to the particular device,
those requirements may be omitted. If a copy of the general license in
§289.251(f)(4)(H) of this title is furnished to such a person, it shall be
accompanied by an explanation that the use of the device is regulated
by the NRC or any agreement state in accordance with requirements
substantially the same as those in §289.251(f)(4)(H) of this title;

(C) acopy of §289.251(g) of this title;

(D) alist of the services that can only be performed by
a specific licensee;

(E) information on acceptable disposal options includ-
ing estimated costs of disposal;

(F) the name or position, address, and phone number of
a contact person at the agency, the NRC, or any agreement state, from
which additional information may be obtained; and

(G) anindication thatitis the NRC's policy to issue high
civil penalties for improper disposal if the device is commercially dis-
tributed to a general licensee of the NRC.

(5) Analternative approach to informing customers may be
submitted by the licensee for approval by the agency.

(6) In the case of a transfer through an intermediate
person, each licensee who commercially distributes radioactive
material in a device for use in accordance with the general license
in §289.251(f)(4)(H) of this title, shall furnish the information in
paragraph (4) of this subsection to the intended user prior to the initial
transfer to the intermediate person.

(7) Eachperson licensed in accordance with this subsection
to commercially distribute devices to generally licensed persons shall:

(A) report to the agency all commercial distributions of
devices to persons for use in accordance with the general license in
§289.251(f)(4)(H) of this title and all receipts of devices from general
licensees licensed in accordance with §289.251(f)(4)(H) of this title.

(i) The report shall:
(I) cover each calendar quarter;
(1l) be filed within 30 days thereafter;

(IlI) be submitted on a form prescribed by the
agency or in a clear and legible report containing all of the data re-
quired by the form;

(IV) clearly indicate the period covered by the re-
port;

(V) clearly identify the specific licensee submit-
ting the report and include the license number of the specific licensee;

(VI) identify each general licensee by name and
mailing address for the location of use; if there is no mailing address for
the location of use, an alternate address for the general licensee shall
be submitted along with information on the actual location of use;

(VIl) identify an individual by name, title, and
phone number who has knowledge of and authority to take required
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actions to ensure compliance with the appropriate regulations and re-
quirements;

(VIII) identify the type, model and serial number
of device, and serial number of sealed source commercially distributed,

(1X) identify the quantity and type of radioactive
material contained in the device; and

(X) include the date of transfer.

(i) 1If one or more intermediate persons will tem-
porarily possess the device at the intended place of use prior to its
possession by the user, the report shall also include the information
in accordance with paragraph (7)(A)(i) of this subsection for both the
intended user and each intermediate person and clearly designate the
intermediate person(s).

(iii)  If no commercial distributions have been made
to persons generally licensed in accordance with §289.251(f)(4)(H) of
this title during the reporting period, the report shall so indicate.

(iv) For devices received from a general licensee,
the report shall include the identity of the general licensee by name
and address, the type, model number, and serial number of the device
received, the date of receipt, and, in the case of devices not initially
transferred by the reporting licensee, the name of the manufacturer or
initial transferor.

(B) report the following to the NRC to include cover-
ing each calendar quarter to be filed within 30 days thereafter, clearly
indicating the period covered by the report, the identity of the specific
licensee submitting the report, and the license number of the specific
licensee:

(i) all commercial distributions of such devices to
persons for use in accordance with the NRC general license in Title
10, CFR, §31.5 and all receipts of devices from general licensees in
areas under NRC jurisdiction including the following:

(1) identity of each general licensee by name and
address;

(II) the type, model and serial number of device,
and serial number of sealed source commercially distributed;

(11I) the quantity and type of radioactive material
contained in the device;

(IV) the date of transfer; or

(it) if the licensee makes changes to a device pos-
sessed in accordance with the general license in §289.251(f)(4)(H) of
this title, such that the label must be changed to update required in-
formation, the report shall identify the licensee, the device, and the
changes to information on the device label;

(iii) in the case of devices not initially transferred
by the reporting licensee, the name of the manufacturer or initial trans-
feror;

(iv) if no commercial distributions have been made
to the NRC licensees during the reporting period; the report shall so
indicate;

(C) reportto the agency or any agreement state all trans-
fers of devices manufactured and commercially distributed in accor-
dance with this subsection for use in accordance with a general license
in that state's requirements equivalent to §289.251(f)(4)(H) of this title
and all receipts of devices from general licensees.

(i) The report shall:

(I) be submitted within 30 days after the end
of each calendar quarter in which such a device is commercially
distributed to the generally licensed person;

(1l) clearly indicate the period covered by the re-
port;

(I1l) clearly identify the specific licensee submit-
ting the report and include the license number of the specific licensee;

(1V) identify each general licensee by name and
mailing address for the location of use; if there is no mailing address
for the location of use an alternate address for the licensee shall be
submitted along with the information on the actual location of use;

(V) identify an individual by name, position, and
phone number who has knowledge of and authority to take required
actions to ensure compliance with the appropriate regulations and re-
quirements;

(VI) include the type, model and serial number
of the device, and serial number of sealed source commercially dis-
tributed;

(VIl) include the quantity and type of radioactive
material contained in the device; and

(VIID)

(i) 1f one or more intermediate persons will tem-
porarily possess the device at the intended place of use prior to its pos-
session by the user, the report shall also include the same information
for both the intended user and each intermediate person, and clearly
designate the intermediate person(s).

include the date of receipt.

(iii)  If no commercial distributions have been made
to persons in the agreement state during the reporting period, the report
shall so indicate.

(iv) For devices received from a general licensee,
the report shall include the identity of the general licensee by name
and address, the type, model number, and serial number of the device
received, the date of receipt, and, in the case of devices not initially
transferred by the reporting licensee, the name of the manufacturer or
initial transferor; and

(D) make, maintain, and retain records required by this
paragraph for inspection by the agency in accordance with subsection
(mm) of this section, including the name, address, and the point of con-
tact for each general licensee to whom the licensee directly or through
an intermediate person commercially distributes radioactive material
in devices for use in accordance with the general license provided in
§289.251(f)(4)(H) of this title, or equivalent requirements of the NRC
or any agreement state.

(i) The records shall include the following:
() the date of each commercial distribution;

(1I) the isotope and the quantity of radioactivity
in each device commercially distributed;

(I1I)  the identity of any intermediate person; and

(1V) compliance with the reporting requirements
of this subsection.

(i) If no commercial distributions have been made
to persons generally licensed in accordance with §289.251(f)(4)(H) of
this title during the reporting period, the records shall so indicate.

(8) If a notification of bankruptcy has been made in accor-
dance with subsection (x)(6) of this section or the license is to be ter-
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minated, each person licensed in accordance with this subsection shall
provide, upon request to the NRC and to any appropriate agreement
state, records of final disposition required in accordance with subsec-
tion (y)(16)(A) of this section.

(9) Each device that is transferred after February 19, 2002,
shall meet the labeling requirements in accordance with paragraph
(1)(C) - (E) of this subsection.

(m) Specific licenses for the manufacture, assembly, repair, or
initial transfer of luminous safety devices containing tritium or prome-
thium-147 for use in aircraft for distribution to persons generally li-
censed in accordance with §289.251(f)(4)(B) of this title. In addi-
tion to the requirements in subsection (e) of this section, a specific li-
cense to manufacture, assemble, repair, or initially transfer luminous
safety devices containing tritium or promethium-147 for use in air-
craft, for distribution to persons generally licensed in accordance with
§289.251(f)(4)(B) of this title, will be issued if the agency approves the
information submitted by the applicant. The information shall satisfy
the requirements of Title 10, CFR, §§32.53, 32.54, 32.55, and 32.56,
or their equivalent.

(n) Specific licenses for the manufacture or initial transfer of
calibration sources containing americium-241 or radium-226 for com-
mercial distribution to persons generally licensed in accordance with
§289.251(f)(4)(D) of this title.

(1) In addition to the requirements in subsection (e) of this
section, a specific license to manufacture or initially transfer calibra-
tion sources containing americium-241, or radium-226 to persons gen-
erally licensed in accordance with §289.251(f)(4)(D) of this title will be
issued if the agency approves the information submitted by the appli-
cant. The information shall satisfy the requirements of Title 10, CFR,
§§32.57, 32.58, 32.59, and §70.39 or their equivalent.

(2) Each person licensed in accordance with this subsec-
tion shall perform a dry wipe test on each source containing more than
0.1 pCi (3.7 kilobecquerels (kBq)) of americium-241 or radium-226
before transferring the source to a general licensee in accordance with
§289.251(f)(4)(D) of this title or equivalent regulations of the NRC or
any agreement state. This test shall be performed by wiping the entire
radioactive surface of the source with a filter paper with the application
of moderate finger pressure. The radioactivity on the filter paper shall
be measured by using radiation detection instrumentation capable of
detecting 0.005 pCi (0.185 kBq) of americium-241 or radium-226. If
a source has been shown to be leaking or losing more than 0.005 puCi
(0.185 kBq) of americium-241 or radium-226 by methods described in
this paragraph, the source shall be rejected and shall not be transferred
to a general licensee in accordance with §289.251(f)(4)(D) of this title
or equivalent regulations of the NRC or any agreement state.

(o) Specific licenses for the manufacture and commercial dis-
tribution of sealed sources or devices containing radioactive material
for medical use. In addition to the requirements in subsection (e) of this
section, a specific license to manufacture and commercially distribute
sealed sources and devices containing radioactive material to persons
licensed in accordance with §289.256 of this title for use as a calibra-
tion, transmission, or reference source or for use of sealed sources listed
in §289.256(q), (1r), (bbb), and (ddd) of this title will be issued if the
agency approves the following information submitted by the applicant:

(1) an evaluation of the radiation safety of each type of
sealed source or device including the following:

(A) the radioactive material contained, its chemical and
physical form, and amount;

(B) details of design and construction of the sealed
source or device;

(C) procedures for, and results of, prototype tests to
demonstrate that the sealed source or device will maintain its integrity
under stresses likely to be encountered in normal use and accidents;

(D) for devices containing radioactive material, the ra-
diation profile of a prototype device;

(E) details of quality control procedures to assure that
production sources and devices meet the standards of the design and
prototype tests;

(F) procedures and standards for calibrating sealed
sources and devices;

(G) instructions for handling and storing the sealed
source or device from the radiation safety standpoint. These instruc-
tions are to be included on a durable label attached to the sealed source
or device or attached to a permanent storage container for the sealed
source or device, provided that instructions that are too lengthy for
the label may be summarized on the label and printed in detail on a
brochure that is referenced on the label; and

(H) alegend and methods for labeling sources and de-
vices as to their radioactive content;

(2) documentation that the label affixed to the sealed source
or device, or to the permanent storage container for the sealed source
or device, contains information on the radionuclide, quantity, and date
of assay, and a statement that the name of the sealed source or device is
licensed by the agency for commercial distribution to persons licensed
for use of sealed sources in the healing arts or by equivalent licenses of
the NRC or any agreement state;

(3) documentation that in the event the applicant desires
that the sealed source or device be required to be tested for radioactive
material leakage at intervals longer than 6 months, the applicant shall
include in the application sufficient information to demonstrate that the
longer interval is justified by performance characteristics of the sealed
source or device or similar sources or devices and by design features
that have a significant bearing on the probability or consequences of
radioactive material leakage from the sealed source;

(4) documentation that in determining the acceptable inter-
val for testing radioactive material leakage, information will be consid-
ered that includes, but is not limited to the following:

(A) primary containment (sealed source capsule);
(B) protection of primary containment;

(C) method of sealing containment;

(D) containment construction materials;

(E) form of contained radioactive material;

(F) maximum temperature withstood during prototype

tests;

(G) maximum pressure withstood during prototype
tests;

(H) maximum quantity of contained radioactive mate-
rial;

(I) radiotoxicity of contained radioactive material; and

(J) operating experience with identical sealed sources
or devices or similarly designed and constructed sealed sources or de-
vices; and

(5) the source or device has been registered in the Sealed
Source and Device Registry.
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(p) Specific licenses for the manufacture and commercial dis-
tribution of radioactive material for certain in vitro clinical or labora-
tory testing in accordance with the general license. In addition to the
requirements in subsection (e) of this section, a specific license to man-
ufacture or commercially distribute radioactive material for use in ac-
cordance with the general license in §289.251(f)(4)(G) of this title will
be issued if the agency approves the following information submitted
by the applicant:

(1) documentation that the radioactive material will be pre-
pared for distribution in prepackaged units of:

(A) 1iodine-125 in units not exceeding 10 pCi (0.37
megabecquerel (MBq)) each;

(B) iodine-131 in units not exceeding 10 pCi (0.37
MBq) each;

(C) carbon-14 in units not exceeding 10 pCi (0.37
MBq) each;

(D) hydrogen-3 (tritium) in units not exceeding 50 uCi
(1.85 MBq) each;

(E) iron-59 in units not exceeding 20 pnCi (0.74 MBq)
each;

(F) cobalt-57 in units not exceeding 10 uCi (0.37 MBq)
each;

(G) selenium-75 in units not exceeding 10 pCi (0.37
MBq) each; or

(H) mock iodine-125 in units not exceeding 0.05 uCi
(1.85 kBq) of iodine-129 and 0.005 pCi (0.185 kBq) of americium-241
each;

(2) evidence that each prepackaged unit will bear a durable,
clearly visible label:

(A) identifying the radioactive contents as to chemical
form and radionuclide, and indicating that the amount of radioactivity
does not exceed 10 pCi (0.37 MBq) of iodine-125, iodine-131, car-
bon-14, cobalt-57, or selenium-75; 50 pCi (1.85 MBq) of hydrogen-3
(tritium); 20 pCi (0.74 MBq) of iron-59; or mock iodine-125 in units
not exceeding 0.05 nCi (1.85 kBq) of iodine-129 and 0.005 pCi (0.185
kBq) of americium-241; and

(B) displaying the radiation caution symbol in accor-
dance with §289.202(z) of this title and the words, "CAUTION, RA-
DIOACTIVE MATERIAL," and "Not for Internal or External Use in
Humans or Animals";

(3) that one of the following statements, as appropriate,
or a substantially similar statement appears on a label affixed to each
prepackaged unit or appears in a leaflet or brochure that accompanies
the package:

(A) option 1:
Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(p)(3)(A) (No change.)

(B) option 2:
Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(p)(3)(B)

(4) that the label affixed to the unit, or the leaflet or
brochure that accompanies the package, contains adequate informa-
tion as to the precautions to be observed in handling and storing the
radioactive material. In the case of a mock iodine-125 reference or
calibration source, the information accompanying the source shall
also contain directions to the licensee regarding the waste disposal
requirements of §289.202(ff) of this title.

(qQ) Specific licenses for the manufacture and commercial dis-
tribution of ice detection devices. In addition to the requirements of
subsection (e) of this section, a specific license to manufacture and
commercially distribute ice detection devices to persons generally li-
censed in accordance with §289.251(f)(4)(E) of this title will be issued
if the agency approves the information submitted by the applicant. This
information shall satisfy the requirements of Title 10, CFR, §§32.61
and 32.62.

(r) Specific licenses for the manufacture, preparation, or trans-
fer for commercial distribution of radioactive drugs containing radioac-
tive materials for medical use.

(1) In addition to the requirements in subsection (e) of this
section, a specific license to manufacture, prepare, or transfer for com-
mercial distribution, radioactive drugs containing radioactive material
for use by persons authorized in accordance with §289.256 of this title
will be issued if the agency approves the following information sub-
mitted by the applicant:

(A) evidence that the applicant is at least one of the fol-
lowing:

(i) registered with the United States Food and Drug
Administration (FDA) as the owner or operator of a drug establish-
ment that engages in the manufacture, preparation, propagation, com-
pounding, or processing of a drug in accordance with Title 21, CFR,
§207.20(a);

(ii) registered or licensed with a state agency as a
drug manufacturer;

(iii) licensed as a pharmacy by the Texas State Board
of Pharmacy;

(iv)  operating as a nuclear pharmacy within a federal
medical institution; or

(v) apositron emission tomography (PET) drug pro-
duction facility registered with a state agency;

(B) radionuclide data relating to the following:
(i) chemical and physical form;

(i) maximum activity per vial, syringe, generator,
or other container of the radioactive drug; and

(iii)  shielding provided by the packaging to show it
is appropriate for the safe handling and storage of the radioactive drugs
by medical use licensees;

(C) labeling requirements including the following:

(i) that each transport radiation shield, whether it is
constructed of lead, glass, plastic, or other material, of a radioactive
drug to be transferred for commercial distribution shall include the fol-
lowing:

(1) the radiation symbol and the words "CAU-
TION, RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL" or "DANGER, RADIOAC-
TIVE MATERIAL;"

(II) the name of the radioactive drug or its abbre-
viation; and

(IlI) the quantity of radioactivity at a specified
date and time (the time may be omitted for radioactive drugs with a
half life greater than 100 days); and

(ii) that each syringe, vial, or other container used
to hold a radioactive drug to be transferred for commercial distribution
shall include the following:
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(1) radiation symbol and the words, "CAUTION,
RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL" or "DANGER, RADIOACTIVE MA-
TERIAL;" and

(II) an identifier that ensures that the syringe,
vial, or other container can be correlated with the information on the
transport radiation shield.

(2) A licensee shall possess and use instrumentation to
measure the radioactivity of radioactive drugs and shall have proce-
dures for the use of the instrumentation. The licensee shall measure,
by direct measurement or by a combination of measurements and
calculations, the amount of radioactivity in dosages of alpha, beta,
or photon-emitting radioactive drugs prior to transfer for commercial
distribution. In addition, the licensee shall:

(A) perform tests before initial use, periodically, and
following repair, on each instrument for accuracy, linearity, and ge-
ometry dependence, as appropriate for the use of the instrument; and
make adjustments when necessary;

(B) check each instrument for constancy and proper op-
eration at the beginning of each day of use; and

(C) make, maintain, and retain records of the tests and
checks required in this paragraph for inspection by the agency in ac-
cordance with subsection (mm) of this section.

(3) A licensee described in paragraph (1)(A)(iii) or (iv) of
this subsection shall prepare radioactive drugs for medical use as de-
fined in §289.256 of this title with the following provisions.

(A) Radioactive drugs shall be prepared by either an au-
thorized nuclear pharmacist, as specified in subparagraphs (B) and (D)
of this paragraph, or an individual under the supervision of an autho-
rized nuclear pharmacist as specified in §289.256(s) of this title.

(B) A pharmacist shall be allowed to work as an autho-
rized nuclear pharmacist if:

(i) the individual qualifies as an authorized nuclear
pharmacist as defined in §289.256 of this title;

(ii) the individual meets the requirements specified
in §289.256(k)(2) and (m) of this title, and the licensee has received
from the agency, an approved license amendment identifying this indi-
vidual as an authorized nuclear pharmacist; or

(iii)  the individual is designated as an authorized nu-
clear pharmacist in accordance with subparagraph (D) of this para-
graph.

(C) The actions authorized in subparagraphs (A) and
(B) of this paragraph are permitted in spite of more restrictive language
in license conditions.

(D) A licensee may designate a pharmacist, as defined
in §289.256 of this title, as an authorized nuclear pharmacist if:

(i) the individual was a nuclear pharmacist prepar-
ing only radioactive drugs containing accelerator-produced radioactive
material; and

(ii)  the individual practiced at a pharmacy at a gov-
ernment agency or federally recognized Indian Tribe or at all other
pharmacies prior to the effective date of this rule as noticed by the NRC
or the agency.

(E) The licensee shall provide the following to the
agency:

(i) acopy of each individual's certification by a spe-
cialty board whose certification process has been recognized by the

NRC, agency, or an agreement state as specified in §289.256(k)(1) of
this title with the written attestation signed by a preceptor as required
by §289.256(k)(2)(C) of this title; or

(ii) the agency, NRC, or another agreement state li-
cense; or

(iii)  the permit issued by a broad scope licensee or
the authorization from a commercial nuclear pharmacy authorized to
list its own authorized nuclear pharmacist; or

(iv) documentation that only accelerator-produced
radioactive materials were used in the practice of nuclear pharmacy
at a government agency or federally recognized Indian Tribe or at all
other locations of use prior to the effective date of this rule as noticed
by the NRC or the agency; and

(v) acopy of the Texas State Board of Pharmacy li-
censure or registration, no later than 30 days after the date that the 1i-
censee allows, in accordance with subparagraph (B)(i) and (iii) of this
paragraph, the individual to work as an authorized nuclear pharmacist.

(F) The radiopharmaceuticals for human use shall be
processed and prepared according to instructions that are furnished by
the manufacturer on the label attached to or in the FDA-accepted in-
structions in the leaflet or brochure that accompanies the generator or
reagent kit.

(G) If the authorized nuclear pharmacist elutes gener-
ators or processes radioactive material with the reagent kit in a man-
ner that deviates from instructions furnished by the manufacturer on
the label attached to or in the leaflet or brochure that accompanies the
generator or reagent kit or in the accompanying leaflet or brochure, a
complete description of the deviation shall be made and maintained for
inspection by the agency in accordance with subsection (mm) of this
section.

(4) Nothing in this subsection relieves the licensee from
complying with applicable FDA, or other federal and state require-
ments governing radioactive drugs.

(s) Specific licenses for the manufacture and commercial dis-
tribution of products containing depleted uranium for mass-volume ap-
plications.

(1) In addition to the requirements in subsection (e) of this
section, a specific license to manufacture products and devices contain-
ing depleted uranium for use in accordance with §289.251(f)(3)(D) of
this title or equivalent regulations of the NRC or an agreement state,
will be issued if the agency approves the following information sub-
mitted by the applicant:

(A) the design, manufacture, prototype testing, quality
control procedures, labeling or marking, proposed uses, and potential
hazards of the product or device to provide reasonable assurance that
possession, use, or commercial distribution of the depleted uranium in
the product or device is not likely to cause any individual to receive in
any period of one year a radiation dose in excess of 10% of the limits
specified in §289.202(f) of this title; and

(B) reasonable assurance is provided that unique bene-
fits will accrue to the public because of the usefulness of the product
or device.

(2) Inthe case of a product or device whose unique benefits
are questionable, the agency will issue a specific license in accordance
with paragraph (1) of this subsection only if the product or device is
found to combine a high degree of utility and low probability of un-
controlled disposal and dispersal of significant quantities of depleted
uranium into the environment.
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(3) The agency may deny any application for a specific li-
cense in accordance with this subsection if the end use(s) of the product
or device cannot be reasonably foreseen.

(4) Each person licensed in accordance with paragraph (1)
of this subsection shall:

(A) maintain the level of quality control required by the
license in the manufacture of the product or device, and in the installa-
tion of the depleted uranium into the product or device;

(B) label or mark each unit to:

(i) identify the manufacturer of the product or device
and the number of the license under which the product or device was
manufactured, the fact that the product or device contains depleted ura-
nium, and the quantity of depleted uranium in each product or device;
and

(ii) state that the receipt, possession, use, and com-
mercial distribution of the product or device are subject to a general
license or the equivalent and the requirements of the NRC or of an
agreement state;

(C) assure that before being installed in each product
or device, the depleted uranium has been impressed with the following
legend clearly legible through any plating or other covering: "Depleted
Uranium";

(D) furnish a copy of the following:

(i) the general license in §289.251(f)(3)(D) of this
title to each person to whom the licensee commercially distributes de-
pleted uranium in a product or device for use in accordance with the
general license in §289.251(f)(3)(D) of this title;

(ii) the NRC's or agreement state's requirements
equivalent to the general license in §289.251(f)(3)(D) of this title and
a copy of the NRC's or agreement state's certificate; or

(iii) alternately, a copy of the general license in
§289.251(f)(3)(D) of this title to each person to whom the licensee
commercially distributes depleted uranium in a product or device for
use in accordance with the general license of the NRC or an agreement
state;

(E) report to the agency all commercial distributions of
products or devices to persons for use in accordance with the general
license in §289.251(f)(3)(D) of this title.

(i) Thereport shall be submitted within 30 days after
the end of each calendar quarter in which such a product or device
is commercially distributed to the generally licensed person and shall
include the following:

(1) identity of each general licensee by name and
address;

(1) identity of an individual by name and/or po-
sition who may constitute a point of contact between the agency and
the general licensee;

(IlI) the type and model number of devices com-
mercially distributed; and

(IV) the quantity of depleted uranium contained
in the product or device.

(i) If no commercial distributions have been made
to persons generally licensed in accordance with §289.251(f)(3)(D) of
this title during the reporting period, the report shall so indicate;

(F) report to the NRC and each responsible agree-
ment state agency all commercial distributions of industrial products
or devices to persons for use in accordance with the general li-
cense in the NRC's or agreement state's equivalent requirements to
§289.251(f)(3)(D) of this title. The report shall meet the provisions of
subparagraph (E)(i) and (ii) of this paragraph; and

(G) make, maintain, and retain records including the
name, address, and point of contact for each general licensee to whom
the licensee commercially distributes depleted uranium in products
or devices for use in accordance with the general license provided in
§289.251(f)(3)(D) of this title or equivalent requirements of the NRC
or any agreement state. The records shall be maintained for inspection
by the agency in accordance with subsection (mm) of this section and
shall include the date of each commercial distribution, the quantity of
depleted uranium in each product or device commercially distributed,
and compliance with the report requirements of this section.

(t) Specific licenses for the processing of loose radioactive ma-
terial for manufacture and commercial distribution. In addition to the
requirements in subsection (e) of this section, a license to process loose
radioactive material for manufacture and commercial distribution of
radioactive material to persons authorized to possess such radioactive
material in accordance with this chapter will be issued if the agency
approves the following information submitted by the applicant:

(1) radionuclides to be used, including the chemical and/or
physical form and the maximum activity of each radionuclide;

(2) intended use of each radionuclide and the sealed
sources and/or other products to be manufactured that includes:

(A) receipt of radioactive material;
(B) chemical or physical preparations;
(C) sealed source construction;

(D) final assembly or processing;

(E) quality assurance testing;

(F) quality control program;

(G) leak testing;

(H) American National Standards Institute (ANSI) test-
ing procedures;

(I) transportation containers;
(J) shipping procedures; and

(K) disposition of unwanted or unused radioactive ma-
terial;

(3) scaled drawings of the facility to include, but not be
limited to:

(A) air filtration;
(B) ventilation system;
(C) plumbing; and
(D) radioactive material handling systems and, when
applicable, remote handling hot cells;
(4) details of the environmental monitoring program; and

(5) documentation of training as specified in subsection
(47)(1) of this section for all personnel who will be handling radioactive
materials.

(u) Specific licenses for other manufacture and commercial
distribution of radioactive material. In addition to the requirements
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in subsection (e) of this section, a license to manufacture and commer-
cially distribute radioactive material to persons authorized to possess
such radioactive material in accordance with these requirements will
be issued if the agency approves the following information submitted
by the applicant:

(1) the radionuclides to be used, including the chemical
and/or physical form and the maximum activity of each radionuclide;

(2) the intended use of each radionuclide and the sealed
sources and/or other products to be manufactured that includes:

(A) receipt of radioactive material;
(B) chemical or physical preparations;
(C) sealed source construction;

(D) final assembly or processing;

(E) quality assurance testing;

(F) quality control program;

(G) leak testing;

(H) ANSI testing procedures;

(I) transportation containers;

(J) shipping procedures; and

(K) disposition of unwanted or unused radioactive ma-
terial;
(3) scaled drawings of radioactive material handling sys-
tems; and

(4) documentation of training as specified in subsection
(37)(1) of this section for all personnel who will be handling radioactive
material.

(v) Sealed source or device evaluation.

(1) Any manufacturer or initial distributor of a sealed
source or device containing a sealed source shall submit a request
to the agency for evaluation of radiation safety information about its
product and for its registration.

(2) The request for review shall be sent to the agency in
accordance with §289.201(k) of this title and shall be submitted in du-
plicate accompanied by the appropriate fee specified in §289.204 of
this title.

(3) In order to provide reasonable assurance that the radi-
ation safety properties of the source or device are adequate to protect
health and minimize danger to life and property, the request for evalu-
ation of a sealed source or device shall include sufficient information
about the:

(A) design;

(B) manufacture;

(C) prototype testing;

(D) quality control program;
(E) labeling;

(F) proposed uses; and

(G) leak testing.

(4) The request for evaluation of a device shall also include
sufficient information about:

(A) installation;

(B) service and maintenance;
(C) operating and safety instructions; and
(D) its potential hazards.

(5) The agency normally evaluates a sealed source or a de-
vice using radiation safety criteria in accepted industry standards. If
these standards and criteria do not readily apply to a particular case, the
agency formulates reasonable standards and criteria with the help of the
manufacturer or distributor. The agency shall use criteria and standards
sufficient to ensure that the radiation safety properties of the device or
sealed source are adequate to protect health and minimize danger to life
and property. Section 289.251(e)(1) - (3) of this title includes specific
criteria that apply to certain exempt products and §289.251(f) of this
title includes specific criteria applicable to certain generally licensed
devices. This section includes specific provisions that apply to certain
specifically licensed items.

(6) After completion of the evaluation, the agency issues
a sealed source and device (SS & D) certificate of registration to the
person making the request. The SS & D certificate of registration ac-
knowledges the availability of the submitted information for inclusion
in an application for a specific license proposing use of the product, or
concerning use under an exemption from licensing or general license
as applicable for the category of SS & D certificate of registration.

(7) The person submitting the request for evaluation and SS
& D certificate of registration of safety information about the product
shall manufacture and distribute the product in accordance with:

(A) the statements and representations, including qual-
ity control program, contained in the request; and

(B) the provisions of the SS & D certificate of registra-
tion.

(8) Authority to manufacture or initially distribute a sealed
source or device to specific licensees shall be provided in the license
without the issuance of a SS & D certificate of registration in the fol-
lowing cases:

(A) calibration and reference sources shall contain no
more than:

(i) 1mCi (37 MBq) for beta and/or gamma emitting
radionuclides; or

(i) 10 pCi (0.37 MBq) for alpha emitting radionu-
clides; or

(B) the intended recipients are qualified by training and
experience and have sufficient facilities and equipment to safely use
and handle the requested quantity of radioactive material in any form
in the case of unregistered sources or, for registered sealed sources con-
tained in unregistered devices, are qualified by training and experience
and have sufficient facilities and equipment to safely use and handle
the requested quantity of radioactive material in unshielded form, as
specified in their licenses; and

(i) the intended recipients are licensed in accordance
with this section or equivalent regulations of the NRC or any agreement
state; or

(ii)  the recipients are authorized for research and de-
velopment; or

(iii)  the sources and devices are to be built to the
unique specifications of the particular recipient and contain no more
than 20 Ci (740 GBq) of tritium or 200 mCi (7.4 GBq) of any other
radionuclide.
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(9) Afterthe SS & D certificate of registration is issued, the
agency may conduct an additional review as it determines is necessary
to ensure compliance with current regulatory standards. In conducting
its review, the agency will complete its evaluation in accordance with
criteria specified in this section. The agency may request such addi-
tional information as it considers necessary to conduct its review and
the SS & D certificate of registration holder shall provide the informa-
tion as requested.

(10) Inactivation of SS & D certificate(s) of registration.

(A) AnSS & D certificate of registration holder who no
longer manufactures or initially transfers any of the sealed source(s) or
device(s) covered by a particular SS & D certificate of registration is-
sued by the agency shall request inactivation of the SS & D certificate
of registration. Such a request shall be made to the agency by an ap-
propriate method in accordance with §289.201(k) of this title and shall
normally be made no later than 2 years after initial distribution of all
of the source(s) or device(s) covered by the SS & D certificate of reg-
istration has ceased. However, if the SS & D certificate of registra-
tion holder determines that an initial transfer was in fact the last initial
transfer more than 2 years after that transfer, the SS & D certificate of
registration holder shall request inactivation of the SS & D certificate
of registration within 90 days of this determination and briefly describe
the circumstances of the delay.

(B) If a distribution license is to be terminated in ac-
cordance with subsection (y) of this section, the licensee shall request
inactivation of its SS & D certificate of registration(s) associated with
that distribution license before the agency will terminate the license.
Such a request for inactivation of the SS & D certificate(s) of registra-
tion shall indicate that the license is being terminated and include the
associated specific license number.

(C) A specific license to manufacture or initially trans-
fer a source or device covered only by an inactivated SS & D certificate
of registration no longer authorizes the licensee to initially transfer such
sources or devices for use. Servicing of devices shall be in accordance
with any conditions in the SS & D certificate of registration, including
in the case of an inactive SS & D certificate of registration.

(w) Issuance of specific licenses.

(1) When the agency determines that an application meets
the requirements of the Act and the rules of the agency, the agency
will issue a specific license authorizing the proposed activity in such
form and containing the conditions and limitations as the agency deems
appropriate or necessary.

(2) The agency may incorporate in any license at the time
of issuance, or thereafter by amendment, additional requirements and
conditions with respect to the licensee's receipt, possession, use, and
transfer of radioactive material subject to this section as the agency
deems appropriate or necessary in order to:

(A) minimize danger to occupational and public health
and safety and the environment;

(B) require reports and the keeping of records, and to
provide for inspections of activities in accordance with the license as
may be appropriate or necessary; and

(C) prevent loss or theft of radioactive material subject
to this chapter.

(3) The agency may request, and the licensee shall provide,
additional information after the license has been issued to enable the
agency to determine whether the license should be modified in accor-
dance with subsection (dd) of this section.

(x) Specific terms and conditions of licenses.

(1) Eachlicense issued in accordance with this section shall
be subject to the applicable provisions of the Act and to applicable
rules, now or hereafter in effect, and orders of the agency.

(2) No license issued or granted in accordance with this
section and no right to possess or utilize radioactive material granted by
any license issued in accordance with this section shall be transferred,
assigned, or in any manner disposed of, either voluntarily or involun-
tarily, directly or indirectly, through transfer of control of any license
to any person unless the agency shall, after securing full information,
find that the transfer is in accordance with the provisions of the Act and
to applicable rules, now or hereafter in effect, and orders of the agency,
and shall give its consent in writing.

(3) An application for transfer of license shall include:

(A) theidentity, technical and financial qualifications of
the proposed transferee; and

(B) financial assurance for decommissioning informa-
tion required by subsection (gg) of this section.

(4) Each person licensed by the agency in accordance with
this section shall confine use and possession of the radioactive material
licensed to the locations and purposes authorized in the license. Ra-
dioactive material shall not be used or stored in residential locations
unless specifically authorized by the agency.

(5) The licensee shall notify the agency, in writing within
15 calendar days, of any of the following changes:

(A) name;
(B) mailing address; or
(©) RSO.

(6) Each licensee shall notify the agency, in writing, imme-
diately following the filing of a voluntary or involuntary petition for
bankruptcy by the licensee or its parent company, if the parent com-
pany is involved in the bankruptcy.

(7) The notification in paragraph (6) of this subsection shall
include:

(A) the bankruptcy court in which the petition for bank-
ruptcy was filed; and

(B) the date of the filing of the petition.

(8) A copy ofthe petition for bankruptcy shall be submitted
to the agency along with the written notification.

(9) In making a determination whether to grant, deny,
amend, renew, revoke, suspend, or restrict a license, the agency may
consider the technical competence and compliance history of an
applicant or holder of a license. After an opportunity for a hearing,
the agency shall deny an application for a license, an amendment to a
license, or renewal of a license if the applicant's compliance history
reveals that three or more agency actions have been issued against
the applicant, within the previous six years, that assess administrative
or civil penalties against the applicant, or that revoke or suspend the
license.

(10) Each licensee preparing technetium-99m radiophar-
maceuticals from molybdenum-99/technetium-99m generators or
rubidium-82 from strontium-82/rubidium-82 generators shall test the
generator eluates for molybdenum-99 breakthrough or strontium-82
and strontium-85 contamination, respectively, in accordance with
§289.256 of this title. The licensee shall make, maintain, and retain
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a record of the results of each test for inspection by the agency in
accordance with subsection (mm) of this section.

(11) Licensees shall not hold radioactive waste, sources,
or devices not authorized for disposal by decay in storage, and that
are not in use for longer than 24 months following the last principal
activity use. Sources and devices kept in standby for future use may be
excluded from the 24-month time limit if the agency approves a plan
for future use. A plan for an alternative disposal timeframe may be
submitted by the licensee if the 24-month time limit cannot be met.
Licensees shall submit plans to the agency at least 30 days prior to the
end of the 24 months of nonuse.

(y) Expiration and termination of licenses and decommission-
ing of sites and separate buildings or outdoor areas.

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection
and subsection (z)(2) of this section, each specific license expires at the
end of the day, in the month and year stated in the license.

(2) Expiration of the specific license does not relieve the
licensee of the requirements of this chapter.

(3) Alllicense provisions continue in effect beyond the ex-
piration date, with respect to possession of radioactive material until
the agency notifies the former licensee in writing that the provisions of
the license are no longer binding. During this time, the former licensee
shall:

(A) Dbe limited to actions involving radioactive material
that are related to decommissioning; and

(B) continue to control entry to restricted areas until the
location(s) is suitable for release for unrestricted use in accordance with
the requirements in §289.202(ddd) of this title.

(4) Within 60 days of the occurrence of any of the follow-
ing, each licensee shall provide notification to the agency in writing and
either begin decommissioning a site, or any separate building or out-
door area that contains residual radioactivity, so that the building and/or
outdoor area is suitable for release in accordance with §289.202(eee)
of this title, or submit within 12 months of notification a decommis-
sioning plan, if required by paragraph (7) of this subsection, and begin
decommissioning upon approval of that plan if:

(A) the license has expired or has been revoked in ac-
cordance with this subsection or subsection (dd) of this section;

(B) the licensee has decided to permanently cease prin-
cipal activities, as defined in §289.201(b) of this title, at the entire site
or in any separate building or outdoor area;

(C) no principal activities at an entire site as specified
in the license have been conducted for a period of 24 months; or

(D) no principal activities have been conducted for a pe-
riod of 24 months in any separate building or outdoor area that contains
residual radioactivity such that the building or outdoor area is unsuit-
able for release in accordance with §289.202(eee) of this title.

(5) Coincident with the notification required by paragraph
(4) of this subsection, the licensee shall maintain in effect all decom-
missioning financial assurances established by the licensee in accor-
dance with subsection (gg) of this section in conjunction with a license
issuance or renewal or as required by this section. The amount of the
financial assurance shall be increased, or may be decreased, as appro-
priate, with agency approval, to cover the detailed cost estimate for
decommissioning established in accordance with paragraph (10)(E) of
this subsection.

(6) The agency may grant a request to delay or postpone
initiation of the decommissioning process if the agency determines that
such relief is not detrimental to the occupational and public health and
safety and is otherwise in the public interest. The request shall be sub-
mitted no later than 30 days before notification in accordance with para-
graph (4) of this subsection. The schedule for decommissioning set
forth in paragraph (4) of this subsection may not commence until the
agency has made a determination on the request.

(7) A decommissioning plan shall be submitted if required
by license condition or if the procedures and activities necessary to
carry out decommissioning of the site or separate building or outdoor
area have not been previously approved by the agency and these pro-
cedures could increase potential health and safety impacts to workers
or to the public, such as in any of the following cases:

(A) procedures would involve techniques not applied
routinely during cleanup or maintenance operations;

(B) workers would be entering areas not normally occu-
pied where surface contamination and radiation levels are significantly
higher than routinely encountered during operation;

(C) procedures could result in significantly greater air-
borne concentrations of radioactive materials than are present during
operation; or

(D) procedures could result in significantly greater re-
leases of radioactive material to the environment than those associated
with operation.

(8) The agency may approve an alternate schedule for sub-
mittal of a decommissioning plan required in accordance with para-
graph (4) of this subsection if the agency determines that the alternative
schedule is necessary to the effective conduct of decommissioning op-
erations and presents no undue risk from radiation to the occupational
and public health and safety and is otherwise in the public interest.

(9) The procedures listed in paragraph (7) of this subsec-
tion may not be carried out prior to approval of the decommissioning
plan.

(10) The proposed decommissioning plan for the site or
separate building or outdoor area shall include the following:

(A) adescription of the conditions of the site or separate
building or outdoor area sufficient to evaluate the acceptability of the
plan;

(B) a description of planned decommissioning activi-
ties;
(C) a description of methods used to ensure protection

of workers and the environment against radiation hazards during de-
commissioning;

(D) adescription of the planned final radiation survey;

(E) an updated detailed cost estimate for decommis-
sioning, comparison of that estimate with present funds set aside for
decommissioning, and a plan for assuring the availability of adequate
funds for completion of decommissioning; and

(F) for decommissioning plans calling for completion
of decommissioning later than 24 months after plan approval, a jus-
tification for the delay based on the criteria in paragraph (15) of this
subsection.

(11) The proposed decommissioning plan will be approved
by the agency if the information in the plan demonstrates that the de-
commissioning will be completed as soon as practicable and that the
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health and safety of workers and the public will be adequately pro-
tected.

(12) Except as provided in paragraph (14) of this subsec-
tion, licensees shall complete decommissioning of the site or separate
building or outdoor areas as soon as practicable but no later than 24
months following the initiation of decommissioning.

(13) Except as provided in paragraph (14) of this subsec-
tion, when decommissioning involves the entire site, the licensee shall
request license termination as soon as practicable but no later than 24
months following the initiation of decommissioning.

(14) The agency may approve a request for an alternate
schedule for completion of decommissioning of the site or separate
building or outdoor area, and license termination if appropriate, if the
agency determines that the alternative is warranted by consideration of
the following:

(A) whether it is technically feasible to complete de-
commissioning within the allotted 24 month period,;

(B) whether sufficient waste disposal capacity is avail-
able to allow completion of decommissioning within the allotted 24
month period;

(C) whether a significant volume reduction in wastes re-
quiring disposal will be achieved by allowing short-lived radionuclides
to decay;

(D) whether a significant reduction in radiation expo-
sure to workers can be achieved by allowing short-lived radionuclides
to decay; and

(E) other site-specific factors that the agency may con-
sider appropriate on a case-by-case basis, such as the regulatory re-
quirements of other government agencies, lawsuits, groundwater treat-
ment activities, monitored natural ground-water restoration, actions
that could result in more environmental harm than deferred cleanup,
and other factors beyond the control of the licensee.

(15) As the final step in decommissioning, the licensee
shall do the following:

(A) certify the disposition of all licensed material, in-
cluding accumulated wastes; and

(B) conduct a radiation survey of the premises where
the licensed activities were carried out and submit a report of the results
of this survey unless the licensee demonstrates that the premises are
suitable for release in accordance with the radiological requirements
for license termination specified in §289.202(ddd) of this title. The
licensee shall do the following, as appropriate:

(i) report the following levels:

(I) gamma radiation in units of microroentgen
per hour (uR/hr) (millisieverts per hour (mSv/hr)) at 1 meter (m) from
surfaces;

(1) radioactivity, including alpha and beta,
in units of disintegrations per minute (dpm) or microcuries (nCi)
(megabecquerels (MBq)) per 100 square centimeters (cm?) for sur-
faces;

(1) pCi (MBq) per milliliter for water; and

(1V) picocuries (pCi) (becquerels (Bq)) per gram
(g) for solids such as soils or concrete; and

(ii) specify the manufacturer's name and model and
serial number of survey instrument(s) used and certify that each instru-

ment is properly calibrated in accordance with §289.202(p) of this title
and tested.

(16) The agency will provide written notification to spe-
cific licensees, including former licensees with provisions continued in
effect beyond the expiration date in accordance with paragraph (3) of
this subsection, that the provisions of the license are no longer binding.
The agency will provide such notification when the agency determines
that:

(A) radioactive material has been properly disposed;

(B) reasonable effort has been made to eliminate resid-
ual radioactive contamination, if present;

(C) aradiation survey has been performed that demon-
strates that the premises are suitable for release in accordance with
the radiological requirements for license termination specified in
§289.202(ddd) of this title, or other information submitted by the
licensee is sufficient to demonstrate that the premises are suitable for
release in accordance with the radiological requirements for license
termination specified in §289.202(ddd) of this title; and

(D) any outstanding fees in accordance with §289.204
of this title are paid and any outstanding notices of violations of this
chapter or of license conditions are resolved.

(17) Each licensee shall submit to the agency all records re-
quired by §289.202(nn)(2) of this title before the license is terminated.

(z) Renewal of licenses.

(1) Requests for renewal of specific licenses shall be filed
in accordance with subsection (d)(1) - (3) and (5) - (7) of this section.
In any application for renewal, the applicant may incorporate drawings
by clear and specific reference (for example, title, date and unique num-
ber of drawing), if no modifications have been made since previously
submitted.

(2) In any case in which a licensee, not less than 30 days
prior to expiration of an existing license, has filed a request in proper
form for renewal or for a new license authorizing the same activities,
such existing license shall not expire until the request has been finally
determined by the agency. In any case in which a licensee, not more
than 90 days after the expiration of an existing license, has filed a re-
quest in proper form for renewal or for a new license authorizing the
same activities, the agency may reinstate the license and extend the ex-
piration until the request has been finally determined by the agency.
The requirements in this subsection are subject to the provisions of
Government Code, §2001.054.

(3) Anapplication for technical renewal of a license will be
approved if the agency determines that the requirements of subsection
(e) of this section have been satisfied.

(aa) Amendment of licenses at request of licensee.

(1) Requests for amendment of a license shall be filed in
accordance with subsection (d)(1) - (3) of this section shall be signed
by management or the RSO, and shall specify the respects in which
the licensee desires a license to be amended and the grounds for the
amendment.

(2) Requests for amendments to delete a subsite from a li-
cense shall be filed in accordance with subsections (d)(1) and (2) and
(y)(3) and (15) of this section.

(bb) Agency action on requests to renew or amend. In consid-
ering a request by a licensee to renew or amend a license, the agency
will apply the criteria in subsection (e) of this section as applicable.

(cc) Transfer of material.
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(1) No licensee shall transfer radioactive material except
as authorized in accordance with this chapter. This subsection does not
include transfer for commercial distribution.

(2) Except as otherwise provided in a license and subject to
the provisions of paragraphs (3) and (4) of this subsection, any licensee
may transfer radioactive material:

(A) to the agency (A licensee may transfer material to
the agency only after receiving prior approval from the agency);

(B) to the United States Department of Energy (DOE);

(C) to any person exempt from this section to the extent
permitted in accordance with such exemption;

(D) to any person authorized to receive such material
in accordance with the terms of a general license or its equivalent, or a
specific license or equivalent licensing document, issued by the agency,
the NRC, or any agreement state, or to any person otherwise authorized
to receive such material by the federal government or any agency of the
federal government, the agency, or any agreement state; or

(E) as otherwise authorized by the agency in writing.

(3) Before transferring radioactive material to a specific li-
censee of the agency, the NRC, or any agreement state, or to a general
licensee who is required to register with the agency, the NRC, or any
agreement state prior to receipt of the radioactive material, the licensee
transferring the material shall verify that the transferee's license autho-
rizes the receipt of the type, form, and quantity of radioactive material
to be transferred.

(4) The following methods for the verification required by
paragraph (3) of this subsection are acceptable.

(A) The transferor may possess and have read a current
copy of the transferee's specific license.

(B) When a current copy of the transferee's specific li-
cense described in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph is not readily
available or when a transferor desires to verify that information re-
ceived is correct or up-to-date, the transferor may obtain and record
confirmation from the agency, the NRC, or any agreement state that
the transferee is licensed to receive the radioactive material.

(5) Preparation for shipment and transport of radioactive
material shall be in accordance with the provisions of subsection (ff)
of this section.

(6) Requirements for transfer of small quantities of source
material.

(A) An application for a specific license to initially
transfer source material for use in accordance with §289.251(f)(3)
of this title; Title 10, CFR, §40.22; or equivalent regulations of any
agreement state, will be approved if:

(i) the applicant satisfies the general requirements
specified in subsection (e) of this section; and

(ii) the applicant submits adequate information on,
and the agency approves the methods to be used for quality control,
labeling, and providing safety instructions to recipients.

(B) Quality control, labeling, safety instructions, and
records and reports. Each person licensed under subparagraph (A) of
this paragraph shall:

(i) label the immediate container of each quantity of
source material with the type of source material and quantity of material
and the words, "radioactive material."

(ii) ensure that the quantities and concentrations of
source material are as labeled and indicated in any transfer records.

(iii) provide the information specified in this clause
to each person to whom source material is transferred for use under
§289.251(f)(3) of this title; Title 10, CFR, §40.22; or equivalent reg-
ulations of any agreement state. This information must be transferred
before the source material is transferred for the first time in each calen-
dar year to the particular recipient. The required information includes:

(1) acopy, as applicable, of §289.251(f)(3) of this
title; Title 10, CFR, §40.22; or the equivalent agreement state regula-
tion that applies; and of this subsection; Title 10, CFR, §40.51; or the
equivalent agreement state regulations that apply; and

(II) appropriate radiation safety precautions and
instructions relating to handling, use, storage, and disposal of the ma-
terial.

(iv) report transfers as follows:

(1) File areport with the agency and the Director,

Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards, U.S. Nuclear Regu-
latory Commission, Washington, DC 20555. The report shall include
the following information:

(-a-) the name, address, and license number
of the person who transferred the source material;

(-b-) for each general licensee under
§289.251(f)(3) of this title; Title 10, CFR, §40.22; or equivalent reg-
ulations of any agreement state to whom greater than 50 grams (0.11
Ib) of source material has been transferred in a single calendar quarter,
the name and address of the general licensee to whom source material
is distributed; a responsible agent, by name and/or position and phone
number, of the general licensee to whom the material was sent; and the
type, physical form, and quantity of source material transferred; and

(-c-) the total quantity of each type and phys-
ical form of source material transferred in the reporting period to all
such generally licensed recipients.

(II) File a report with each responsible agree-
ment state agency that identifies all persons, operating under
§289.251(f)(3) of this title; Title 10, CFR, §40.22, or equivalent reg-
ulations of any agreement state to whom greater than 50 grams (0.11
Ib) of source material has been transferred within a single calendar
quarter. The report shall include the following information specific to
those transfers made to the agreement state being reported to:

(-a-) the name, address, and license number
of the person who transferred the source material; and

(-b-) the name and address of the general li-
censee to whom source material was distributed; a responsible agent,
by name and/or position and phone number, of the general licensee to
whom the material was sent; and the type, physical form, and quantity
of source material transferred; and

(-c-) the total quantity of each type and phys-
ical form of source material transferred in the reporting period to all
such generally licensed recipients within the agreement state.

(III) The following are to be submitted to the
agency by January 31 of each year:

(-a-) each report required by subclauses (I)
and (II) of this clause covering all transfers for the previous calendar
year;

(-b-) if no transfers were made during the
current period to persons generally licensed in accordance with
§289.251(f)(3) of this title; Title 10, CFR, §40.22; or equivalent
regulations of any agreement state, a report to the agency indicating
so; and
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(-c-) ifno transfers have been made to general
licensees in a particular agreement state during the reporting period,
this information shall be reported to the responsible agreement state
upon request of that agency; and

(v) maintain all information that supports the reports
required by this subparagraph concerning each transfer to a general
licensee for inspection by the agency in accordance with subsection
(mm) of this section.

(dd) Modification, suspension, and revocation of licenses.

(1) The terms and conditions of all licenses shall be subject
to revision or modification. A license may be modified, suspended or
revoked by reason of amendments to the Act, by reason of rules in this
chapter, or orders issued by the agency.

(2) Any license may be revoked, suspended, or modified,
in whole or in part, for any of the following:

(A) any material false statement in the application or
any statement of fact required under provisions of the Act;

(B) conditions revealed by such application or state-
ment of fact or any report, record, or inspection, or other means that
would warrant the agency to refuse to grant a license on an original
application;

(C) wviolation of, or failure to observe any of the terms
and conditions of the Act, this chapter, the license, or order of the
agency; or

(D) existing conditions that constitute a substantial
threat to the public health or safety or the environment.

(3) Each specific license revoked by the agency ends at the
end of the day on the date of the agency's final determination to revoke
the license, or on the revocation date stated in the determination, or as
otherwise provided by the agency order.

(4) Except in cases in which the occupational and public
health or safety requires otherwise, no license shall be suspended or
revoked unless, prior to the institution of proceedings therefore, facts
or conduct that may warrant such action shall have been called to the
attention of the licensee in writing and the licensee shall have been
afforded an opportunity to demonstrate compliance with all lawful re-
quirements.

(ee) Reciprocal recognition of licenses.

(1) Subject to this section, any person who holds a specific
license from the NRC or any agreement state, and issued by the agency
having jurisdiction where the licensee maintains an office for directing
the licensed activity and at which radiation safety records are normally
maintained, is granted a general license to conduct the activities autho-
rized in such licensing document within the State of Texas provided
that:

(A) the licensing document does not limit the activity
authorized by such document to specified installations or locations;

(B) the out-of-state licensee notifies the agency in writ-
ing at least three working days prior to engaging in such activity. If, for
a specific case, the three-working-day period would impose an undue
hardship on the out-of-state licensee, the licensee may, upon applica-
tion to the agency, obtain permission to proceed sooner. The agency
may waive the requirement for filing additional written notifications
during the remainder of the calendar year following the receipt of the
initial notification from a person engaging in activities in accordance
with the general license provided in this subsection. Such notification
shall include:

(i) the exact location, start date, duration, and type
of activity to be conducted;

(ii) the identification of the radioactive material to
be used;

(iii) the name(s) and in-state address(es) of the indi-
vidual(s) performing the activity;

(iv) acopy of the applicant's pertinent license;

(v) a copy of the licensee's operating, safety, and
emergency procedures; and

(vi) afee as specified in §289.204 of this title;

(C) the out-of-state licensee complies with all applica-
ble rules of the agency and with all the terms and conditions of the
licensee's licensing document, except any such terms and conditions
that may be inconsistent with applicable rules of the agency;

(D) the out-of-state licensee supplies such other infor-
mation as the agency may request;

(E) the out-of-state licensee shall not transfer or dispose
of radioactive material possessed or used in accordance with the gen-
eral license provided in this subsection except by transfer to a person:

(i) specifically licensed by the agency, the NRC, or
any agreement state to receive such material, or

(i) exempt from the requirements for a license for
such material in accordance with §289.251(e)(1) of this title; and

(F) the out-of-state licensee shall have the following
documents in their possession at all times when conducting work in
Texas, and make them available for agency review upon request:

(i) a copy of the agency letter granting the licensee
reciprocal recognition of their out-of-state license;

(i) acopy ofthe licensee's operating and emergency
procedures;

(iii) a copy of the licensee's radioactive material li-
cense;

(iv) a copy of all applicable sections of 25 TAC,
Chapter 289; and

(v) acopy of the completed RC Form 252-3 notify-
ing the agency of the licensee's intent to work in Texas.

(2) In addition to the provisions of paragraph (1) of this
subsection, any person who holds a specific license issued by the NRC
or any agreement state authorizing the holder to manufacture, transfer,
install, or service the device described in §289.251(f)(4)(H) of this title,
within areas subject to the jurisdiction of the licensing body, is granted
a general license to install, transfer, demonstrate, or service the device
in the State of Texas provided that:

(A) the person files a report with the agency within 30
days after the end of each calendar quarter in which any device is trans-
ferred to or installed in the State of Texas. Each report shall identify by
name and address, each general licensee to whom the device is trans-
ferred, the type of device transferred by manufacturer's name, model
and serial number of the device, and serial number of the sealed source,
and the quantity and type of radioactive material contained in the de-
vice;

(B) the device has been manufactured, labeled, in-
stalled, and serviced in accordance with applicable provisions of the
specific license issued to the person by the NRC or any agreement
state;
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(C) the person assures that any labels required to be af-
fixed to the device in accordance with requirements of the authority that
licensed manufacture of the device bear a statement that "Removal of
this label is prohibited"; and

(D) the holder of the specific license furnishes to each
general licensee to whom the holder of the specific license transfers the
device, or on whose premises the holder of the specific license installs
the device, a copy of the general license contained in §289.251(f)(4)(H)
of this title.

(3) The agency may withdraw, limit, or qualify its accep-
tance of any specific license or equivalent licensing document issued
by another agency, or any product distributed in accordance with the
licensing document, upon determining that the action is necessary in
order to prevent undue hazard to occupational and public health and
safety and the environment.

(ff) Preparation of radioactive material for transport. Require-
ments for the preparation of radioactive material for transport are spec-
ified in §289.257 of this title.

(gg) Financial assurance and record keeping for decommis-
sioning.

(1) The applicant for a specific license or renewal of a spe-
cific license, or holder of a specific license, authorizing the possession
and use of radioactive material shall submit and receive written autho-
rization for a decommissioning funding plan as described in paragraph
(4) of this subsection in an amount sufficient to allow the agency to en-
gage a third party to decommission the site(s) specified on the license
for the following situations:

(A) when unsealed radioactive material requested or
authorized on the license, with a half-life greater than 120 days, is in
quantities exceeding 105 times the applicable quantities set forth in
subsection (jj)(2) of this section;

(B) when a combination of the unsealed radionuclides
requested or authorized on the license, with a half-life greater than
120 days, results in the R of the radionuclides divided by 105 being
greater than 1 (unity rule), where R is defined as the sum of the ratios
of the quantity of each radionuclide to the applicable value in subsec-
tion (jj)(2) of this section;

(C) when sealed sources or plated foils requested or au-
thorized on the license, with a half-life greater than 120 days and in
quantities exceeding 10'2 times the applicable quantities set forth in
subsection (jj)(2) of this section (or when a combination of isotopes is
involved if R, as defined in this subsection, divided by 10'2 is greater
than 1), shall submit a decommissioning funding plan as described in
paragraph (4) of this subsection; or

(D) when radioactive material requested or authorized
on the license is in quantities more than 100 mCi (3.7 gigabecquerels
(GBq)) of source material in a readily dispersible form.

(2) The applicant for a specific license or renewal of a spe-
cific license or the holder of a specific license authorizing possession
and use of radioactive material as specified in paragraph (3) of this sub-
section shall either:

(A) submit a decommissioning funding plan as de-
scribed in paragraph (4) of this subsection in an amount sufficient to
allow the agency to engage a third party to decommission the site(s)
specified on the license; or

(B) submit financial assurance for decommissioning in
the amount in accordance with paragraph (3) of this subsection using
one of the methods described in paragraph (6) of this subsection in

an amount sufficient to allow the agency to engage a third party to
decommission the site(s) specified on the license

(3) The required amount of financial assurance for decom-
missioning is determined by the quantity of material authorized by the
license and is determined as follows:

(A) $1,125,000 for quantities of material greater than
10* but less than or equal to 105 times the applicable quantities in sub-
section (jj)(2) of this section in unsealed form. (For a combination of
radionuclides, if R, as defined in paragraph (1) of this subsection, di-
vided by 10¢ is greater than 1 but R divided by 105 is less than or equal
to 1);

(B) $225,000 for quantities of material greater than 103
but less than or equal to 104 times the applicable quantities in subsec-
tion (jj)(2) of this section in unsealed form. (For a combination of ra-
dionuclides, if R, as defined in paragraph (1) of this subsection, divided
by 103 is greater than 1 but R divided by 104 if less than or equal to 1);

(C) $113,000 for quantities of material greater than
1010 but less than or equal to 1012 times the applicable quantities in
subsection (jj)(2) of this section in sealed sources or plated foils. (For
a combination of radionuclides, if R, as defined in paragraph (1) of
this subsection, divided by 1010 is greater than 1, but R divided by
1012 is less than or equal to 1); or

(D) $225,000 for quantities of source material greater
than 10 mCi (0.37 GBq) but less than or equal to 100 mCi (3.7 GBq)
in a readily dispersible form.

(4) Each decommissioning funding plan shall:

(A) Dbe submitted for review and approval and shall con-
tain the following:

(i) a detailed cost estimate for decommissioning in
an amount reflecting:

(1) the cost of an independent contractor to per-
form all decommissioning activities;

(1) the cost of meeting the criteria of
§289.202(ddd)(2) of this title for unrestricted use, provided that, if the
applicant or licensee can demonstrate its ability to meet the provisions
of §289.202(ddd)(3) of this title, the cost estimate may be based on
meeting the criteria of §289.202(ddd)(3) of this title;

(I1I) the volume of onsite subsurface material
containing residual radioactivity that will require remediation to meet
the criteria for license termination; and

(1V) an adequate contingency factor.

(ii) identification of and justification for using the
key assumptions contained in the detailed cost estimate;

(iii)  a description of the method of assuring funds
for decommissioning from paragraph (5) of this subsection, including
means for adjusting cost estimates and associated funding levels peri-
odically over the life of the facility;

(iv) a certification by the licensee that financial as-
surance for decommissioning has been provided in the amount of the
cost estimate for decommissioning; and

(v) asigned original of the financial instrument ob-
tained to satisfy the requirements of paragraph (5) of this subsection
(unless a previously submitted and accepted financial instrument con-
tinues to cover the cost estimate for decommissioning); and

(B) at the time of license renewal and at intervals not to
exceed three years, the decommissioning funding plan, be resubmitted
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with adjustments as necessary to account for changes in costs and the
extent of contamination. If the amount of financial assurance will be
adjusted downward, this cannot be done until the updated decommis-
sioning funding plan is approved. The decommissioning funding plan
shall update the information submitted with the original or prior ap-
proved plan, and shall specifically consider the effect of the following
events on decommissioning costs:

(i) spills of radioactive material producing addi-
tional residual radioactivity in onsite subsurface material;

(i) waste inventory increasing above the amount
previously estimated,

(iii) waste disposal costs increasing above the
amount previously estimated;

(iv) facility modifications;
(v) changes in authorized possession limits;

(vi) actual remediation costs that exceed the previ-
ous cost estimate;

(vii) onsite disposal; and
(viii) use of a settling pond.

(5) Financial assurance in conjunction with a decommis-
sioning funding plan shall be submitted as follows:

(A) for an applicant for a specific license, financial as-
surance as described in paragraph (6) of this subsection, may be ob-
tained after the application has been approved and the license issued
by the agency, but shall be submitted to the agency prior to receipt of
licensed material; or

(B) for an applicant for renewal of a specific license,
or a holder of a specific license, a signed original of the financial in-
strument obtained to satisfy the requirements of paragraph (6) of this
subsection shall be submitted with the decommissioning funding plan.

(6) Financial assurance for decommissioning shall be pro-
vided by one or more of the following methods. The financial instru-
ment obtained shall be continuous for the term of the license in a form
prescribed by the agency. The applicant or licensee shall obtain written
approval of the financial instrument or any amendment to it from the
agency.

(A) Prepayment. Prepayment is the deposit into an ac-
count segregated from licensee assets and outside the licensee's admin-
istrative control of cash or liquid assets such that the amount of funds
would be sufficient to pay decommissioning costs. Prepayment may
be in the form of a trust, escrow account, government fund, certificate
of deposit, or deposit of government securities.

(B) A surety method, insurance, or other guarantee
method. These methods guarantee that decommissioning costs will
be paid. A surety method may be in the form of a surety bond, letter
of credit, or line of credit. A parent company guarantee of funds for
decommissioning costs based on a financial test may be used if the
guarantee and test are as contained in subsection (jj)(3) of this section.
A parent company guarantee may not be used in combination with
other financial methods to satisfy the requirements of this section.
For commercial corporations that issue bonds, a guarantee of funds
by the applicant or licensee for decommissioning costs based on a
financial test may be used if the guarantee and test are as contained in
subsection (jj)(4) of this section. For commercial companies that do
not issue bonds, a guarantee of funds by the applicant or licensee for
decommissioning costs may be used if the guarantee and test are as
contained in subsection (jj)(5) of this section. For nonprofit entities,

such as colleges, universities, and nonprofit hospitals, a guarantee of
funds by the applicant or licensee may be used if the guarantee and
test are as contained in subsection (jj)(6) of this section. A guarantee
by the applicant or licensee may not be used in combination with any
other financial methods to satisfy the requirements of this section or
in any situation where the applicant or licensee has a parent company
holding majority control of the voting stock of the company. Any
surety method or insurance used to provide financial assurance for
decommissioning shall contain the following conditions.

(i) The surety method or insurance shall be open-
ended or, if written for a specified term, such as five years, shall be re-
newed automatically unless 90 days or more prior to the renewal date,
the issuer notifies the agency, the beneficiary, and the licensee of its
intention not to renew. The surety method or insurance shall also pro-
vide that the full face amount be paid to the beneficiary automatically
prior to the expiration without proof of forfeiture if the licensee fails
to provide a replacement acceptable to the agency within 30 days after
receipt of notification of cancellation.

(i) The surety method or insurance shall be payable
in the State of Texas to the Radiation and Perpetual Care Account.

(iii)  The surety method or insurance shall remain in
effect until the agency has terminated the license.

(C) An external sinking fund in which deposits are
made at least annually, coupled with a surety method or insurance,
the value of which may decrease by the amount being accumulated
in the sinking fund. An external sinking fund is a fund established
and maintained by setting aside funds periodically in an account seg-
regated from licensee assets and outside the licensee's administrative
control in which the total amount of funds would be sufficient to
pay decommissioning costs at the time termination of operation is
expected. An external sinking fund may be in the form of a trust,
escrow account, government fund, certificate of deposit, or deposit of
government securities. The surety or insurance provisions shall be in
accordance with subparagraph (B) of this paragraph.

(D) Inthe case of federal, state, or local government li-
censees, a statement of intent containing a cost estimate for decommis-
sioning or an amount in accordance with paragraph (4) of this subsec-
tion, and indicating that funds for decommissioning will be obtained
when necessary.

(E) When a governmental entity is assuming custody
and ownership of a site, there shall be an arrangement that is deemed
acceptable by such governmental entity.

(7) Each person licensed in accordance with this section
shall make, maintain, and retain records of information important to the
safe and effective decommissioning of the facility in an identified lo-
cation for inspection by the agency in accordance with §289.252(mm)
of this section. If records of relevant information are kept for other
purposes, reference to these records and their locations may be used.
Information the agency considers important to decommissioning con-
sists of the following:

(A) records of spills or other unusual occurrences in-
volving the spread of contamination in and around the facility, equip-
ment, or site. These records may be limited to instances when con-
tamination remains after any cleanup procedures or when there is rea-
sonable likelihood that contaminants may have spread to inaccessible
areas, as in the case of possible seepage into porous materials such as
concrete. These records shall include any known information on iden-
tification of involved nuclides, quantities, forms, and concentrations;

(B) as-built drawings and modifications of structures
and equipment in restricted areas where radioactive materials are used
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and/or stored, and of locations of possible inaccessible contamination
such as buried pipes that may be subject to contamination. If required
drawings are referenced, each relevant document need not be indexed
individually. If drawings are not available, the licensee shall substitute
appropriate records of available information concerning these areas and
locations;

(C) except for areas containing only sealed sources
(provided the sealed sources have not leaked or no contamination
remains after any leak) or byproduct materials having only half-lives
of less than 65 days, a list contained in a single document and updated
every two years, of the following:

(i) all areas designated and formerly designated as
restricted areas as defined in §289.201(b) of this title;

(ii)  all areas outside of restricted areas that require
documentation under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph; and

(iii) ~ all areas outside of restricted areas where cur-
rent and previous wastes have been buried as documented in accor-
dance with §289.202(tt) of this title; and

(D) records of the cost estimate performed for the de-
commissioning funding plan or of the amount certified for decommis-
sioning, and records of the funding method used for assuring funds.

(8) Any licensee who has submitted an application before
January 1, 1995, for renewal of license in accordance with this section
shall provide financial assurance for decommissioning in accordance
with paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection.

(hh) Emergency plan for responding to a release.

(1) A new or renewal application for each specific license
to possess radioactive materials in unsealed form, on foils or plated
sources, or sealed in glass in excess of the quantities in subsection
(37)(7) of this section shall contain either:

(A) an evaluation showing that the maximum dose to a
person offsite due to a release of radioactive material would not exceed
1 rem effective dose equivalent or 5 rems to the thyroid; or

(B) an emergency plan for responding to a release of
radioactive material.

(2) One or more of the following factors may be used to
support an evaluation submitted in accordance with paragraph (1)(A)
of this subsection:

(A) the radioactive material is physically separated so
that only a portion could be involved in an accident;

(B) all or part of the radioactive material is not subject
to release during an accident because of the way it is stored or pack-
aged;

(C) the release fraction in the respirable size range
would be lower than the release fraction in subsection (jj)(7) of this
section due to the chemical or physical form of the material;

(D) the solubility of the radioactive material would re-
duce the dose received;

(E) facility design or engineered safety features in the
facility would cause the release fraction to be lower than that in sub-
section (jj)(7) of this section;

(F) operating restrictions or procedures would prevent
arelease fraction as large as that in subsection (jj)(7) of this section; or

(G) other factors appropriate for the specific facility.

(3) An emergency plan for responding to a release of ra-
dioactive material submitted in accordance with paragraph (1)(B) of
this subsection shall include the following information.

(A) Facility description. A brief description of the li-
censee's facility and area near the site.

(B) Types of accidents. An identification of each type
of radioactive materials accident for which protective actions may be
needed.

(C) Classification of accidents. A classification system
for classifying accidents as alerts or site area emergencies.

(D) Detection of accidents. Identification of the means
of detecting each type of accident in a timely manner.

(E) Mitigation of consequences. A brief description of
the means and equipment for mitigating the consequences of each type
of accident, including those provided to protect workers onsite, and a
description of the program for maintaining the equipment.

(F) Assessment of releases. A brief description of the
methods and equipment to assess releases of radioactive materials.

(G) Responsibilities. A brief description of the respon-
sibilities of licensee personnel should an accident occur, including
identification of personnel responsible for promptly notifying offsite
response organizations and the agency; also, responsibilities for
developing, maintaining, and updating the plan.

(H) Notification and coordination. A commitment to
and a brief description of the means to promptly notify offsite response
organizations and request offsite assistance, including medical assis-
tance for the treatment of contaminated injured onsite workers when
appropriate. A control point shall be established. The notification and
coordination shall be planned so that unavailability of some person-
nel, parts of the facility, and some equipment will not prevent the no-
tification and coordination. The licensee shall also commit to notify
the agency immediately after notification of the appropriate offsite re-
sponse organizations and not later than one hour after the licensee de-
clares an emergency. These reporting requirements do not supersede or
release licensees from complying with the requirements in accordance
with the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know-Act of
1986, Title 111, Publication L. 99-499 or other state or federal reporting
requirements.

(I) Information to be communicated. A brief descrip-
tion of the types of information on facility status, radioactive releases,
and recommended protective actions, if necessary, to be given to off-
site response organizations and to the agency.

(J) Training. A brief description of the frequency, per-
formance objectives, and plans for the training that the licensee will
provide workers on how to respond to an emergency, including any spe-
cial instructions and orientation tours the licensee would offer to fire,
police, medical, and other emergency personnel. The training shall fa-
miliarize personnel with site-specific emergency procedures. Also, the
training shall thoroughly prepare site personnel for their responsibili-
ties in the event of accident scenarios postulated as most probable for
the specific site, including the use of team training for such scenarios.

(K) Safe shutdown. A brief description of the means of
restoring the facility to a safe condition after an accident.

(L) Exercises. Provisions for conducting quarterly
communications checks with offsite response organizations at inter-
vals not to exceed three months and biennial onsite exercises to test
response to simulated emergencies. Communications checks with
offsite response organizations shall include the check and update of
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all necessary telephone numbers. The licensee shall invite offsite
response organizations to participate in the biennial exercises. Partici-
pation of offsite response organizations in biennial exercises, although
recommended, is not required. Exercises shall use accident scenarios
postulated as most probable for the specific site and the scenarios shall
not be known to most exercise participants. The licensee shall critique
each exercise using individuals not having direct implementation
responsibility for the plan. Critiques of exercises shall evaluate the
appropriateness of the plan, emergency procedures, facilities, equip-
ment, training of personnel, and overall effectiveness of the response.
Deficiencies found by the critiques shall be corrected.

(M) Hazardous chemicals. A certification that the ap-
plicant has met its responsibilities in accordance with the Emergency
Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986, Title III, Pub-
lication L. 99-499, if applicable to the applicant's activities at the pro-
posed place of use of the radioactive material.

(4) The licensee shall allow the offsite response organiza-
tions expected to respond in case of an accident 60 days to comment on
the licensee's emergency plan before submitting it to the agency. The
licensee shall provide any comments received within the 60 days to the
agency with the emergency plan.

(i) Physical protection of category 1 and category 2 quantities
of radioactive material.

(1) Specific exemptions. A licensee that possesses radioac-
tive waste that contains category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioac-
tive material is exempt from the requirements of paragraphs (2) - (23)
of this subsection, except that any radioactive waste that contains dis-
crete sources, ion-exchange resins, or activated material that weighs
less than 2,000 kilograms (4,409 pounds) is not exempt from the re-
quirements of this subsection. The licensee shall implement the fol-
lowing requirements to secure the radioactive waste:

(A) use continuous physical barriers that allow access
to the radioactive waste only through established access control points;

(B) use a locked door or gate with monitored alarm at
the access control point;

(C) assess and respond to each actual or attempted
unauthorized access to determine whether an actual or attempted theft,
sabotage, or diversion occurred; and

(D) immediately notify the local law enforcement
agency (LLEA) and request an armed response from the LLEA upon
determination that there was an actual or attempted theft, sabotage, or
diversion of the radioactive waste that contains category 1 or category
2 quantities of radioactive material.

(2) Personnel access authorization requirements for cate-
gory 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive material.

(A) General.

(i) Each licensee that possesses an aggregated quan-
tity of radioactive material at or above the category 2 threshold shall
establish, implement, and maintain its access authorization program in
accordance with the requirements of this paragraph and paragraphs (3)
- (8) of this subsection.

(i)  An applicant for a new license and each licensee
that would become subject to the requirements of this paragraph and
paragraphs (3) - (8) of this subsection upon application for modifica-
tion of its license shall implement the requirements of this paragraph
and paragraphs (3) - (8) of this subsection, as appropriate, before tak-
ing possession of an aggregated category 1 or category 2 quantity of
radioactive material.

(iii) Any licensee that has not previously imple-
mented the security orders or been subject to this paragraph and
paragraphs (3) - (8) of this subsection shall implement the provisions
of these paragraphs before aggregating radioactive material to a
quantity that equals or exceeds the category 2 threshold.

(B) General performance objective. The licensee's ac-
cess authorization program must ensure that the individuals specified
in subparagraph (C)(i) of this paragraph are trustworthy and reliable.

(C) Applicability.

(i) Licensees shall subject the following individuals
to an access authorization program:

() any individual whose assigned duties require
unescorted access to category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive
material or to any device that contains the radioactive material; and

(1I) reviewing officials.

(i) Licensees need not subject the categories of in-
dividuals listed in paragraph (6)(A)(i) - (xiii) of this subsection to the
investigation elements of the access authorization program.

(iii) Licensees shall approve for unescorted access
to category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive material only those
individuals with job duties that require unescorted access to category 1
or category 2 quantities of radioactive material.

(iv) Licensees may include individuals needing ac-
cess to safeguards information-modified handling in accordance with
Title 10, CFR, Part 73, in the access authorization program under this
paragraph and paragraphs (3) - (8) of this subsection.

(3) Access authorization program requirements.
(A) Granting unescorted access authorization.

(i) Licensees shall implement the requirements of
paragraph (2), this paragraph, and paragraphs (4) - (8) of this subsec-
tion for granting initial or reinstated unescorted access authorization.

(i) Individuals who have been determined to be
trustworthy and reliable shall also complete the security training
required by paragraph (10)(C) of this subsection before being allowed
unescorted access to category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive
material.

(B) Reviewing officials.

(i) Reviewing officials are the only individuals who
may make trustworthiness and reliability determinations that allow in-
dividuals to have unescorted access to category 1 or category 2 quan-
tities of radioactive materials possessed by the licensee.

(i) Each licensee shall name one or more individ-
uals to be reviewing officials. After completing the background in-
vestigation on the reviewing official, the licensee shall provide under
oath or affirmation, a certification that the reviewing official is deemed
trustworthy and reliable by the licensee. The fingerprints of the named
reviewing official must be taken by a law enforcement agency, federal
or state agencies that provide fingerprinting services to the public, or
commercial fingerprinting services authorized by a state to take finger-
prints. The licensee shall recertify that the reviewing official is deemed
trustworthy and reliable every 10 years in accordance with paragraph
(4)(B) of this subsection.

(iii) Reviewing officials must be permitted to have
unescorted access to category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive
materials or access to safeguards information or safeguards informa-
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tion-modified handling, if the licensee possesses safeguards informa-
tion or safeguards information-modified handling.

(iv) Reviewing officials cannot approve other indi-
viduals to act as reviewing officials.

(v) A reviewing official does not need to undergo a
new background investigation before being named by the licensee as
the reviewing official if:

() the individual has undergone a background
investigation that included fingerprinting and a Federal Bureau of In-
vestigation (FBI) criminal history records check and has been deter-
mined to be trustworthy and reliable by the licensee; or

(1I) the individual is subject to a category listed
in paragraph (6)(A) of this subsection.

(C) Informed consent.

(i) Licensees may not initiate a background investi-
gation without the informed and signed consent of the subject individ-
ual. This consent must include authorization to share personal infor-
mation with other individuals or organizations as necessary to complete
the background investigation. Before a final adverse determination, the
licensee shall provide the individual with an opportunity to correct any
inaccurate or incomplete information that is developed during the back-
ground investigation. Licensees do not need to obtain signed consent
from those individuals that meet the requirements of paragraph (4)(B)
of this subsection. A signed consent must be obtained prior to any rein-
vestigation.

(i) The subject individual may withdraw his or her
consent at any time. Licensees shall inform the individual that:

() if an individual withdraws his or her consent,
the licensee may not initiate any elements of the background investi-
gation that were not in progress at the time the individual withdrew his
or her consent; and

(1) the withdrawal of consent for the back-
ground investigation is sufficient cause for denial or termination of
unescorted access authorization.

(D) Personal history disclosure. Any individual who is
applying for unescorted access authorization shall disclose the personal
history information that is required by the licensee's access authoriza-
tion program for the reviewing official to make a determination of the
individual's trustworthiness and reliability. Refusal to provide, or the
falsification of, any personal history information required by paragraph
(2), this paragraph, and paragraphs (4) - (8) of this subsection is suffi-
cient cause for denial or termination of unescorted access.

(E) Determination basis.

(i) The reviewing official shall determine whether
to permit, deny, unfavorably terminate, maintain, or administratively
withdraw an individual's unescorted access authorization based on an
evaluation of all of the information collected to meet the requirements
of paragraph (2), this paragraph, and paragraphs (4) - (8) of this sub-
section.

(i) The reviewing official may not permit any indi-
vidual to have unescorted access until the reviewing official has evalu-
ated all of the information collected to meet the requirements of para-
graph (2), this paragraph, and paragraphs (4) - (8) of this subsection
and determined that the individual is trustworthy and reliable. The re-
viewing official may deny unescorted access to any individual based on
information obtained at any time during the background investigation.

(iii)  The licensee shall document the basis for con-
cluding whether or not there is reasonable assurance that an individual
is trustworthy and reliable.

(iv) The reviewing official may terminate or admin-
istratively withdraw an individual's unescorted access authorization
based on information obtained after the background investigation
has been completed and the individual granted unescorted access
authorization.

(v) Licensees shall maintain a list of persons cur-
rently approved for unescorted access authorization. When a licensee
determines that a person no longer requires unescorted access or meets
the access authorization requirement, the licensee shall:

(I) remove the person from the approved list as
soon as possible, but no later than 7 working days; and

(II) take prompt measures to ensure that the in-
dividual is unable to have unescorted access to the material.

(F) Procedures. Licensees shall develop, implement,
and maintain written procedures for implementing the access autho-
rization program. The procedures must:

(i) include provisions for the notification of individ-
uals who are denied unescorted access;

(it)  include provisions for the review, at the request
of the affected individual, of a denial or termination of unescorted ac-
cess authorization; and

(iii)  contain a provision to ensure that the individual
is informed of the grounds for the denial or termination of unescorted
access authorization and allow the individual an opportunity to provide
additional relevant information.

(G) Right to correct and complete information.

(i) Prior to any final adverse determination, li-
censees shall provide each individual subject to paragraph (2), this
paragraph, and paragraphs (4) - (8) of this subsection with the right to
complete, correct, and explain information obtained as a result of the
licensee's background investigation. Confirmation of receipt by the
individual of this notification must be maintained by the licensee for
inspection by the agency in accordance with subsection (mm) of this
section.

(ii) If, after reviewing his or her criminal history
record, an individual believes that it is incorrect or incomplete in any
respect and wishes to change, correct, update, or explain anything in
the record, the individual may initiate challenge procedures. These
procedures include direct application by the individual challenging the
record to the law enforcement agency that contributed the questioned
information or a direct challenge as to the accuracy or completeness
of any entry on the criminal history record to the Federal Bureau of
Investigation, Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS) Division,
ATTN: SCU, Mod. D-2, 1000 Custer Hollow Road, Clarksburg, WV
26306 as set forth in Title 28, CFR, §§16.30 - 16.34. In the latter
case, the FBI will forward the challenge to the agency that submit-
ted the data, and will request that the agency verify or correct the
challenged entry. Upon receipt of an official communication directly
from the agency that contributed the original information, the FBI
Identification Division makes any changes necessary in accordance
with the information supplied by that agency. Licensees shall provide
at least 10 days for an individual to initiate action to challenge the
results of an FBI criminal history records check after the record being
made available for his or her review. The licensee may make a final
adverse determination based upon the criminal history records only
after receipt of the FBI's confirmation or correction of the record.
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(H) Records. The licensee shall make, maintain, and
retain the following records/documents for inspection by the agency in
accordance with subsection (mm) of this section. The licensee shall
maintain superseded versions or portions of the following records/doc-
uments for inspection by the agency in accordance with subsection
(mm) of this section:

(i) documentation regarding the trustworthiness and
reliability of individual employees;

(i) a copy of the current access authorization pro-
gram procedures; and

(iii) the current list of persons approved for un-
escorted access authorization.

(4) Background investigations.

(A) Initial investigation. Before allowing an individual
unescorted access to category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive
material or to the devices that contain the material, licensees shall com-
plete a background investigation of the individual seeking unescorted
access authorization. The scope of the investigation must encompass
at least the 7 years preceding the date of the background investigation
or since the individual's eighteenth birthday, whichever is shorter. The
background investigation must include at a minimum:

(i) fingerprinting and an FBI identification and crim-
inal history records check in accordance with paragraph (5) of this sub-
section;

(ii)  verification of true identity. Licensees shall:

() verify the true identity of the individual who
is applying for unescorted access authorization to ensure that the appli-
cant is who he or she claims to be;

(II) review official identification documents
(e.g., driver's license; passport; government identification; certificate
of birth issued by the state, province, or country of birth) and compare
the documents to personal information data provided by the individual
to identify any discrepancy in the information;

(III)  document the type, expiration, and identifi-
cation number of the identification document, or maintain a photocopy
of identifying documents on file in accordance with paragraph (7) of
this subsection;

(1V)  certify in writing that the identification was
properly reviewed; and

(V) maintain the certification and all related doc-
uments for inspection by the agency in accordance with subsection
(mm) of this section;

(iii) employment history verification. Licensees

shall:

(I) complete an employment history verification,
including military history; and

(1l) verify the individual's employment with each
previous employer for the most recent 7 years before the date of appli-
cation;

(iv) verification of education. Licensees shall ver-
ify that the individual participated in the education process during the
claimed period,

(v) character and reputation determination. Li-
censees shall complete reference checks to determine the character
and reputation of the individual who has applied for unescorted access
authorization. Unless other references are not available, reference

checks may not be conducted with any person who is known to be a
close member of the individual's family, including but not limited to
the individual's spouse, parents, siblings, or children, or any individual
who resides in the individual's permanent household. Reference
checks as specified in paragraphs (2) and (3), this paragraph, and
paragraphs (5) - (8) of this subsection must be limited to whether the
individual has been and continues to be trustworthy and reliable;

(vi) thelicensee shall also, to the extent possible, ob-
tain independent information to corroborate that provided by the indi-
vidual (e.g., seek references not supplied by the individual); and

(vii) if a previous employer, educational institution,
or any other entity with which the individual claims to have been en-
gaged fails to provide information or indicates an inability or unwill-
ingness to provide information within a time frame deemed appropriate
by the licensee but at least after 10 business days of the request or if the
licensee is unable to reach the entity, the licensee shall document the
refusal, unwillingness, or inability in the record of investigation; and
attempt to obtain the information from an alternate source.

(B) Grandfathering.

(i) Individuals who have been determined to be
trustworthy and reliable for unescorted access to category 1 or category
2 quantities of radioactive material as specified in the fingerprint orders
may continue to have unescorted access to category 1 and category 2
quantities of radioactive material without further investigation. These
individuals shall be subject to the reinvestigation requirement.

(ii) Individuals who have been determined to be
trustworthy and reliable in accordance with Title 10, CFR, Part 73, or
the security orders for access to safeguards information, safeguards
information-modified handling, or risk-significant material may
have unescorted access to category 1 and category 2 quantities of
radioactive material without further investigation. The licensee shall
document that the individual was determined to be trustworthy and
reliable under Title 10, CFR, Part 73, or a security order. Security
order, in this context, refers to any order that was issued by the NRC
that required fingerprints and an FBI criminal history records check
for access to safeguards information, safeguards information-modified
handling, or risk significant material such as special nuclear material
or large quantities of uranium hexafluoride. These individuals shall be
subject to the reinvestigation requirement.

(C) Reinvestigations. Licensees shall conduct a rein-
vestigation every 10 years for any individual with unescorted access to
category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive material. The rein-
vestigation shall consist of fingerprinting and an FBI identification and
criminal history records check in accordance with paragraph (5) of this
subsection. The reinvestigations must be completed within 10 years of
the date on which these elements were last completed.

(5) Requirements for criminal history records checks of in-
dividuals granted unescorted access to category 1 or category 2 quan-
tities of radioactive material.

(A) General performance objective and requirements.

(i) Except for those individuals listed in paragraph

(6) of this subsection and those individuals grandfathered under para-

graph (4)(B) of this subsection, each licensee subject to the require-

ments of paragraphs (2) - (4), this paragraph, and paragraphs (6) - (8)
of this subsection shall:

() fingerprint each individual who is to be per-

mitted unescorted access to category 1 or category 2 quantities of ra-
dioactive material;
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(1I) transmit all collected fingerprints to the NRC
for transmission to the FBI; and

(III) use the information received from the FBI
as part of the required background investigation to determine whether
to grant or deny further unescorted access to category 1 or category 2
quantities of radioactive materials for that individual.

(i) The licensee shall notify each affected individ-
ual that his or her fingerprints will be used to secure a review of his or
her criminal history record, and shall inform him or her of the proce-
dures for revising the record or adding explanations to the record.

(iii)  Fingerprinting is not required if a licensee is re-
instating an individual's unescorted access authorization to category 1
or category 2 quantities of radioactive materials if:

() the individual returns to the same facility that
granted unescorted access authorization within 365 days of the termi-
nation of his or her unescorted access authorization; and

(1I) the previous access was terminated under fa-
vorable conditions.

(iv)  Fingerprints do not need to be taken if an indi-
vidual who is an employee of a licensee, contractor, manufacturer, or
supplier has been granted unescorted access to category 1 or category 2
quantities of radioactive material, access to safeguards information, or
safeguards information-modified handling by another licensee, based
upon a background investigation conducted in accordance with para-
graphs (2) - (4), this paragraph, and paragraphs (6) - (8) of this sub-
section, the fingerprint orders, or Title 10, CFR, Part 73. An existing
criminal history records check file may be transferred to the licensee
asked to grant unescorted access in accordance with the requirements
of paragraph (7)(C) of this subsection.

(v) Licensees shall use the information obtained as
part of a criminal history records check solely for the purpose of deter-
mining an individual's suitability for unescorted access authorization to
category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive materials, access to
safeguards information, or safeguards information-modified handling.

(B) Prohibitions.

(i) Licensees may not base a final determination to
deny an individual unescorted access authorization to category 1 or
category 2 quantities of radioactive material solely on the basis of in-
formation received from the FBI involving:

(I) an arrest more than one year old for which
there is no information of the disposition of the case; or

(II) an arrest that resulted in dismissal of the
charge or an acquittal.

(i) Licensees may not use information received
from a criminal history records check obtained under paragraphs (2)
- (4), this paragraph, and paragraphs (6) - (8) of this subsection in a
manner that would infringe upon the rights of any individual under
the First Amendment to the Constitution of the United States, nor
shall licensees use the information in any way that would discriminate
among individuals on the basis of race, religion, national origin,
gender, or age.

(C) Procedures for processing of fingerprint checks.

(i) For the purpose of complying with paragraphs
(2) - (4), this paragraph, and paragraphs (6) - (8) of this subsection, li-
censees shall use an appropriate method listed in Title 10, CFR, §37.7,
to submit to the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Director, Divi-
sion of Facilities and Security, 11545 Rockville Pike, ATTN: Criminal

History Program/Mail Stop TWB-05 B32M, Rockville, Maryland
20852-2738, one completed, legible standard fingerprint card (Form
FD-258, ORIMDNRCOOOZ), electronic fingerprint scan or, where
practicable, other fingerprint record for each individual requiring
unescorted access to category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive
material. Copies of these forms may be obtained by writing the
Office of Information Services, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission,
Washington, DC 20555-0001, by calling (630) 829-9565, or by email
to FORMS.Resource@nrc.gov. Guidance on submitting electronic
fingerprints can be found at http://www.nrc.gov/site-help/e-submit-
tals.html.

(i)  Fees for the processing of fingerprint checks are
due upon application. Licensees shall submit payment with the appli-
cation for the processing of fingerprints through corporate check, certi-
fied check, cashier's check, money order, or electronic payment, made
payable to "U.S. NRC." (For guidance on making electronic payments,
contact the Security Branch, Division of Facilities and Security at (301)
492-3531.) Combined payment for multiple applications is acceptable.
The NRC publishes the amount of the fingerprint check application fee
on the NRC's public website. (To find the current fee amount, go to
the Electronic Submittals page at http://www.nrc.gov/site-help/e-sub-
mittals.html and see the link for the Criminal History Program under
Electronic Submission Systems.)

(iii) The NRC will forward to the submitting li-
censee all data received from the FBI as a result of the licensee's
application(s) for criminal history records checks.

(6) Relief from fingerprinting, identification, and criminal
history records checks and other elements of background investigations
for designated categories of individuals permitted unescorted access to
certain radioactive materials.

(A) Fingerprinting, and the identification and criminal
history records checks required by Section 149 of the Atomic Energy
Act of 1954, as amended, and other elements of the background inves-
tigation are not required for the following individuals prior to granting
unescorted access to category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive
materials:

(i) an employee of the NRC or of the Executive
Branch of the U.S. Government who has undergone fingerprinting for
a prior U.S. Government criminal history records check;

(ii) a member of Congress;

(iii) an employee of a member of Congress or Con-
gressional committee who has undergone fingerprinting for a prior U.S.
Government criminal history records check;

(iv) the governor of a state or his or her designated
state employee representative;

(v) federal, state, or local law enforcement person-
nel;

(vi) state radiation control program directors and
state homeland security advisors or their designated state employee
representatives;

(vii) agreement state employees conducting security
inspections on behalf of the NRC under an agreement executed as spec-
ified in §274.i. of the Atomic Energy Act;

(viii) representatives of the International Atomic
Energy Agency (IAEA) engaged in activities associated with the
U.S./IAEA Safeguards Agreement who have been certified by the
NRC;
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(ix) emergency response personnel who are re-
sponding to an emergency;

(x) commercial vehicle drivers for road shipments of
category 1 and category 2 quantities of radioactive material;

(xi) package handlers at transportation facilities
such as freight terminals and railroad yards;

(xii) any individual who has an active federal secu-
rity clearance, provided that he or she makes available the appropri-
ate documentation. Written confirmation from the agency/employer
that granted the federal security clearance or reviewed the criminal his-
tory records check must be provided to the licensee. The licensee shall
maintain this documentation for inspection by the agency in accordance
with subsection (mm) of this section; and

(xiii) any individual employed by a service provider
licensee for which the service provider licensee has conducted the
background investigation for the individual and approved the indi-
vidual for unescorted access to category 1 or category 2 quantities of
radioactive material. Written verification from the service provider
must be provided to the licensee. The licensee shall maintain and
retain the documentation for inspection by the agency in accordance
with subsection (mm) of this section.

(B) Fingerprinting, and the identification and criminal
history records checks required by Section 149 of the Atomic Energy
Act of 1954, as amended, are not required for an individual who has
had a favorably adjudicated U.S. Government criminal history records
check within the last 5 years, under a comparable U.S. Government
program involving fingerprinting and an FBI identification and crimi-
nal history records check provided that he or she makes available the
appropriate documentation. Written confirmation from the agency/em-
ployer that reviewed the criminal history records check must be pro-
vided to the licensee. The licensee shall maintain this documentation
for inspection by the agency in accordance with subsection (mm) of
this section. These programs include, but are not limited to:

(i) National Agency Check;

(i) Transportation Worker Identification Creden-
tials (TWIC) under Title 49, CFR, Part 1572;

(iii) Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Ex-
plosives background check and clearances under Title 27, CFR, Part
555;

(iv) Health and Human Services security risk assess-
ments for possession and use of select agents and toxins under Title 42,
CFR, Part 73;

(v) Hazardous Material security threat assessment
for hazardous material endorsement to commercial drivers license
under Title 49, CFR, Part 1572; and

(vi) Customs and Border Protection's Free and Se-
cure Trade (FAST) Program.

(7) Protection of information.

(A) Each licensee who obtains background information
on an individual under paragraphs (2) - (6), this paragraph, or paragraph
(8) of this subsection shall establish and maintain a system of files and
written procedures for protection of the record and the personal infor-
mation from unauthorized disclosure.

(B) The licensee may not disclose the record or personal
information collected and maintained to persons other than the sub-
ject individual, his or her representative, or to those who have a need
to have access to the information in performing assigned duties in the

process of granting or denying unescorted access to category 1 or cat-
egory 2 quantities of radioactive material, safeguards information, or
safeguards information-modified handling. No individual authorized
to have access to the information may disseminate the information to
any other individual who does not have a need to know.

(C) The personal information obtained on an individual
from a background investigation may be provided to another licensee:

(i) upon the individual's written request to the
licensee holding the data to disseminate the information contained in
his or her file; and

(ii) the recipient licensee verifies information such
as name, date of birth, social security number, gender, and other appli-
cable physical characteristics.

(D) The licensee shall make background investigation
records obtained under paragraphs (2) - (6), this paragraph, and para-
graph (8) of this subsection available for examination by an authorized
representative of the agency to determine compliance with the regula-
tions and laws.

(E) The licensee shall maintain all fingerprint and
criminal history records on an individual (including data indicating
no record) received from the FBI, or a copy of these records if the
individual's file has been transferred, for inspection by the agency in
accordance with subsection (mm) of this section.

(8) Access authorization program review.

(A) Each licensee shall be responsible for the continu-
ing effectiveness of the access authorization program. Each licensee
shall ensure that access authorization programs are reviewed to con-
firm compliance with the requirements of paragraphs (2) - (7) and this
paragraph of this subsection and that comprehensive actions are taken
to correct any noncompliance that is identified. The review program
shall evaluate all program shall performance objectives and require-
ments. Each licensee shall review the access program content and im-
plementation at least every 12 months.

(B) The results of the reviews, along with any recom-
mendations, must be documented. Each review report must identify
conditions that are adverse to the proper performance of the access au-
thorization program, the cause of the condition(s), and, when appropri-
ate, recommend corrective actions, and corrective actions taken. The
licensee shall review the findings and take any additional corrective
actions necessary to preclude repetition of the condition, including re-
assessment of the deficient areas where indicated.

(C) Review records must be maintained for inspection
by the agency in accordance with subsection (mm) of this section.

(9) Security program.
(A) Applicability.

(i) Each licensee that possesses an aggregated cat-
egory 1 or category 2 quantity of radioactive material shall establish,
implement, and maintain a security program in accordance with the
requirements of this paragraph and paragraphs (10) - (17) of this sub-
section.

(i)  An applicant for a new license and each licensee
that would become newly subject to the requirements of this paragraph
and paragraphs (10) - (17) of this subsection upon application for mod-
ification of its license shall implement the requirements of this para-
graph and paragraphs (10) - (17) of this subsection, as appropriate, be-
fore taking possession of an aggregated category 1 or category 2 quan-
tity of radioactive material.
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(iii) Any licensee that has not previously imple-
mented the security orders or been subject to the provisions of this
paragraph and paragraphs (10) - (17) of this subsection shall provide
written notification to the agency at least 90 days before aggregating
radioactive material to a quantity that equals or exceeds the category
2 threshold.

(B) General performance objective. Each licensee shall
establish, implement, and maintain a security program that is designed
to monitor and, without delay, detect, assess, and respond to an actual
or attempted unauthorized access to category 1 or category 2 quantities
of radioactive material.

(C) Program features. Each licensee's security program
must include the program features, as appropriate, described in para-
graphs (10) - (16) of this subsection.

(10) General security program requirements.
(A) Security plan.

(i) Each licensee identified in paragraph (9)(A) of
this subsection shall develop a written security plan specific to its facil-
ities and operations. The purpose of the security plan is to establish the
licensee's overall security strategy to ensure the integrated and effec-
tive functioning of the security program required by paragraph (9), this
paragraph, and paragraphs (11) - (17) of this subsection. The security
plan must, at a minimum:

(1) describe the measures and strategies used to
implement the requirements of paragraph (9), this paragraph, and para-
graphs (11) - (17) of this subsection; and

(II) identify the security resources, equipment,
and technology used to satisfy the requirements of paragraph (9), this
paragraph, and paragraphs (11) - (17) of this subsection.

(ii) The security plan must be reviewed and ap-
proved by the individual with overall responsibility for the security
program.

(iii) A licensee shall revise its security plan as nec-
essary to ensure the effective implementation of agency and NRC re-
quirements. The licensee shall ensure that:

(I) the revision has been reviewed and approved
by the individual with overall responsibility for the security program;
and

(1l) the affected individuals are instructed on the
revised plan before the changes are implemented.

(iv) The licensee shall maintain a copy of the cur-
rent security plan as a record for inspection by the agency in accor-
dance with subsection (mm) of this section. If any portion of the plan
is superseded, the licensee shall maintain the superseded material for
inspection by the agency in accordance with subsection (mm) of this
section.

(B) Implementing procedures.

(i) The licensee shall develop and maintain written
procedures that document how the requirements of paragraph (9), this
paragraph, and paragraphs (11) - (17) of this subsection and the security
plan will be met.

(ii) The implementing procedures and revisions to
these procedures must be approved in writing by the individual with
overall responsibility for the security program.

(iii)  The licensee shall maintain a copy of the current
procedure as a record for inspection by the agency in accordance with

subsection (mm) of this section. Superseded portions of the procedure
shall be maintained for inspection by the agency in accordance with
subsection (mm) of this section.

(C) Training.

(i) Each licensee shall conduct training to ensure
that those individuals implementing the security program possess and
maintain the knowledge, skills, and abilities to carry out their assigned
duties and responsibilities effectively. The training must include
instruction in:

(1) the licensee's security program and proce-
dures to secure category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive
material, and in the purposes and functions of the security measures
employed;

(1l) the responsibility to report promptly to the
licensee any condition that causes or may cause a violation of the re-
quirements of the agency;

(I1I) the responsibility of the licensee to report
promptly to the local law enforcement agency and licensee any actual
or attempted theft, sabotage, or diversion of category 1 or category 2
quantities of radioactive material; and

(IV) the appropriate response to security alarms.

(ii) In determining those individuals who shall be
trained on the security program, the licensee shall consider each in-
dividual's assigned activities during authorized use and response to po-
tential situations involving actual or attempted theft, diversion, or sab-
otage of category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive material.
The extent of the training must be commensurate with the individual's
potential involvement in the security of category 1 or category 2 quan-
tities of radioactive material.

(iii) Refresher training must be provided at a fre-
quency not to exceed 12 months and when significant changes have
been made to the security program. This training must include:

() review of the training requirements of this
subparagraph of this paragraph and any changes made to the security
program since the last training;

(II) reports on any relevant security issues, prob-
lems, and lessons learned,

(Ill) relevant results of inspections by the
agency; and

(IV) relevant results of the licensee's program re-
view and testing and maintenance.

(iv) The licensee shall maintain records of the initial
and refresher training for inspection by the agency in accordance with
subsection (mm) of this section. The training records shall include:

(1) the dates of the training;
(II) the topics covered;

(IIl) a list of licensee personnel in attendance;
and

(IV) any related information.
(D) Protection of information.

(i) Licensees authorized to possess category 1 or cat-
egory 2 quantities of radioactive material shall limit access to and unau-
thorized disclosure of their security plan, implementing procedures,
and the list of individuals that have been approved for unescorted ac-
cess.
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(ii)  Efforts to limit access shall include the develop-
ment, implementation, and maintenance of written policies and proce-
dures for controlling access to, and for proper handling and protection
against unauthorized disclosure of, the security plan and implementing
procedures.

(iii) Before granting an individual access to the se-
curity plan or implementing procedures, licensees shall:

(I) evaluate an individual's need to know the se-
curity plan or implementing procedures; and

(1l) if the individual has not been authorized for
unescorted access to category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive
material, safeguards information, or safeguards information-modified
handling, the licensee must complete a background investigation to de-
termine the individual's trustworthiness and reliability. A trustworthi-
ness and reliability determination shall be conducted by the reviewing
official and shall include the background investigation elements con-
tained in paragraph (4)(A)(ii) - (vii) of this subsection.

(iv) Licensees need not subject the following indi-
viduals to the background investigation elements for protection of in-
formation:

(1) the categories of individuals listed in para-
graph (6)(A)(i) of this subsection; or

(II) security service provider employees, pro-
vided written verification that the employee has been determined to be
trustworthy and reliable, by the required background investigation in
paragraph (4)(A)(ii) - (vii) of this subsection, has been provided by
the security service provider.

(v) The licensee shall document the basis for con-
cluding that an individual is trustworthy and reliable and should be
granted access to the security plan or implementing procedures.

(vi) Licensees shall maintain a list of persons cur-
rently approved for access to the security plan or implementing proce-
dures. When a licensee determines that a person no longer needs access
to the security plan or implementing procedures or no longer meets the
access authorization requirements for access to the information, the li-
censee shall:

(I) remove the person from the approved list as
soon as possible, but no later than 7 working days; and

(1) take prompt measures to ensure that the indi-
vidual is unable to obtain the security plan or implementing procedures.

(vii) When not in use, the licensee shall store its se-
curity plan and implementing procedures in a manner to prevent unau-
thorized access. Information stored in nonremovable electronic form
shall be password protected.

(viii) The licensee shall make, maintain, and retain
as a record for inspection by the agency in accordance with subsection
(mm) of this section:

(I) a copy of the information protection proce-
dures; and

(1) the list of individuals approved for access to
the security plan or implementing procedures.

(11) LLEA coordination.

(A) A licensee subject to paragraphs (9) and (10), this
paragraph, and paragraphs (12) - (17) of this subsection shall coordi-
nate, to the extent practicable, with an LLEA for responding to threats

to the licensee's facility, including any necessary armed response. The
information provided to the LLEA must include:

(i) a description of the facilities and the category 1
and category 2 quantities of radioactive materials along with a descrip-
tion of the licensee's security measures that have been implemented to
comply with paragraphs (9) and (10), this paragraph, and paragraphs
(12) - (17) of this subsection; and

(i) a notification that the licensee will request
a timely armed response by the LLEA to any actual or attempted
theft, sabotage, or diversion of category 1 or category 2 quantities of
material.

(B) The licensee shall notify the agency within 3 busi-
ness days if:

(i) the LLEA has not responded to the request for
coordination within 60 days of the coordination request; or

(i) the LLEA notifies the licensee that the LLEA
does not plan to participate in coordination activities.

(C) Thelicensee shall document its efforts to coordinate
with the LLEA. The documentation must be kept for inspection by the
agency in accordance with subsection (mm) of this section.

(D) The licensee shall coordinate with the LLEA at
least every 12 months, or when changes to the facility design or
operation adversely affect the potential vulnerability of the licensee's
material to theft, sabotage, or diversion.

(12) Security zones.

(A) Licensees shall ensure that all aggregated category
1 and category 2 quantities of radioactive material are used or stored
within licensee established security zones. Security zones may be per-
manent or temporary.

(B) Temporary security zones shall be established as
necessary to meet the licensee's transitory or intermittent business ac-
tivities, such as periods of maintenance, source delivery, and source
replacement.

(C) Security zones must, at a minimum, allow un-
escorted access only to approved individuals through:

(i) 1isolation of category 1 and category 2 quantities
of radioactive materials by the use of continuous physical barriers that
allow access to the security zone only through established access con-
trol points. A physical barrier is a natural or man-made structure or
formation sufficient for the isolation of the category 1 or category 2
quantities of radioactive material within a security zone; or

(ii) direct control of the security zone by approved
individuals at all times; or

(iii) a combination of continuous physical barriers
and direct control.

(D) For category 1 quantities of radioactive material
during periods of maintenance, source receipt, preparation for ship-
ment, installation, or source removal or exchange, the licensee shall,
at a minimum, provide sufficient individuals approved for unescorted
access to maintain continuous surveillance of sources in temporary
security zones and in any security zone in which physical barriers or
intrusion detection systems have been disabled to allow such activities.

(E) Individuals not approved for unescorted access to
category 1 or category 2 quantities of radioactive material must be es-
corted by an approved individual when in a security zone.

(13) Monitoring, detection and assessment.
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(A) Monitoring and detection.
(i) Licensees shall:

() establish and maintain the capability to con-
tinuously monitor and detect without delay all unauthorized entries into
its security zones;

(II) provide the means to maintain continuous
monitoring and detection capability in the event of a loss of the
primary power source; or

(IlI) provide for an alarm and response in the
event of a loss of this capability to continuously monitor and detect
unauthorized entries.

(ii) Monitoring and detection must be performed by:

(I) amonitored intrusion detection system that is
linked to an onsite or offsite central monitoring facility;

(II) electronic devices for intrusion detection
alarms that will alert nearby facility personnel;

(III) a monitored video surveillance system;

(1V) direct visual surveillance by approved indi-
viduals located within the security zone; or

(V) direct visual surveillance by a licensee des-
ignated individual located outside the security zone.

(iii) A licensee subject to paragraphs (9) - (12), this
paragraph, and paragraphs (14) - (17) of this subsection shall also have
a means to detect unauthorized removal of the radioactive material
from the security zone. This detection capability must provide:

(1) for category 1 quantities of radioactive mate-
rial, immediate detection of any attempted unauthorized removal of the
radioactive material from the security zone. Such immediate detection
capability must be provided by:

(-a-) electronic sensors linked to an alarm;

(-b-) continuous monitored video surveil-
lance; or

(-c-) direct visual surveillance; and

(II) for category 2 quantities of radioactive ma-
terial, weekly verification through physical checks, tamper indicating
devices, use, or other means to ensure that the radioactive material is
present.

(B) Assessment. Licensees shall immediately assess
each actual or attempted unauthorized entry into the security zone to
determine whether the unauthorized access was an actual or attempted
theft, sabotage, or diversion.

(C) Personnel communications and data transmission.
For personnel and automated or electronic systems supporting the
licensee's monitoring, detection, and assessment systems, licensees
shall:

(i) maintain continuous capability for personnel
communication and electronic data transmission and processing
among site security systems; and

(i) provide an alternative communication capability
for personnel, and an alternative data transmission and processing ca-
pability, in the event of a loss of the primary means of communication
or data transmission and processing. Alternative communications and
data transmission systems may not be subject to the same failure modes
as the primary systems.

(D) Response. Licensees shall immediately respond to
any actual or attempted unauthorized access to the security zones, or ac-
tual or attempted theft, sabotage, or diversion of category 1 or category
2 quantities of radioactive material at licensee facilities or temporary
job sites. For any unauthorized access involving an actual or attempted
theft, sabotage, or diversion of category 1 or category 2 quantities of
radioactive material, the licensee's response shall include requesting,
without delay, an armed response from the LLEA.

(14) Maintenance and testing.

(A) Each licensee subject to paragraphs (9) - (13), this
paragraph, and paragraphs (15) - (17) of this subsection shall imple-
ment a maintenance and testing program to ensure that intrusion alarms,
associated communication systems, and other physical components of
the systems used to secure or detect unauthorized access to radioactive
material are maintained in operable condition and are capable of per-
forming their intended function when needed. The equipment relied on
to meet the security requirements of this subsection must be inspected
and tested for operability and performance at the manufacturer's sug-
gested frequency. If there is no suggested manufacturer's suggested
frequency, the testing must be performed at least annually, not to ex-
ceed 12 months.

(B) The licensee shall maintain records on the mainte-
nance and testing activities for inspection by the agency in accordance
with subsection (mm) of this section.

(15) Requirements for mobile devices. Each licensee that
possesses mobile devices containing category 1 or category 2 quantities
of radioactive material shall:

(A) have two independent physical controls that form
tangible barriers to secure the material from unauthorized removal
when the device is not under direct control and constant surveillance
by the licensee; and

(B) for devices in or on a vehicle or trailer, unless the
health and safety requirements for a site prohibit the disabling of the
vehicle, the licensee shall utilize a method to disable the vehicle or
trailer when not under direct control and constant surveillance by the
licensee. Licensees shall not rely on the removal of an ignition key to
meet this requirement.

(16) Security program review.

(A) Each licensee shall be responsible for the continu-
ing effectiveness of the security program. Each licensee shall ensure
that the security program is reviewed to confirm compliance with the
requirements of paragraphs (9) - (15), this paragraph, and paragraph
(17) of this subsection, and that comprehensive actions are taken to
correct any noncompliance that is identified. The review shall include
the radioactive material security program content and implementation.
Each licensee shall review the security program content and implemen-
tation at least every 12 months.

(B) The results of the review, along with any recom-
mendations, must be documented.

(i) Each review report must:

(1) identify conditions that are adverse to the
proper performance of the security program,

(II) identify the cause of the condition(s); and

(III) when applicable, recommend corrective ac-
tions, and identify and document any corrective actions taken.

(i) The licensee shall review the findings and take
any additional corrective actions necessary to preclude repetition of
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the condition, including reassessment of the deficient areas where in-
dicated.

(C) The licensee shall make, maintain, and retain the
documentation of the review required under subparagraph (B) of this
paragraph for inspection by the agency in accordance with subsection
(mm) of this section.

(17) Reporting of events.

(A) The licensee shall immediately notify the LLEA af-
ter determining that an unauthorized entry resulted in an actual or at-
tempted theft, sabotage, or diversion of a category 1 or category 2
quantity of radioactive material. As soon as possible after initiating
a response, but not at the expense of causing delay or interfering with
the LLEA response to the event, the licensee shall notify the agency
at (512) 458-7460. In no case shall the notification to the agency be
later than 4 hours after the discovery of any attempted or actual theft,
sabotage, or diversion.

(B) The licensee shall assess any suspicious activity re-
lated to possible theft, sabotage, or diversion of category 1 or category
2 quantities of radioactive material and notify the LLEA as appropri-
ate. As soon as possible but not later than 4 hours after notifying the
LLEA, the licensee shall notify the agency at (512) 458-7460.

(C) Each initial telephonic notification required by sub-
paragraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph must be followed within a pe-
riod of 30 days by a written report submitted to the agency. The report
must include sufficient information for agency analysis and evaluation,
including identification of any necessary corrective actions to prevent
future instances.

(18) Additional requirements for transfer of category 1 and
category 2 quantities of radioactive material. A licensee transferring a
category 1 or category 2 quantity of radioactive material to a licensee
of the agency, the NRC, or any agreement state shall meet the license
verification requirements listed below instead of those listed in subsec-
tion (cc)(4) of this section.

(A) Any licensee transferring category 1 quantities
of radioactive material to a licensee of the agency, the NRC, or any
agreement state, prior to conducting such transfer, shall verify with the
NRC's license verification system or the license issuing authority that
the transferee's license authorizes the receipt of the type, form, and
quantity of radioactive material to be transferred and that the licensee
is authorized to receive radioactive material at the location requested
for delivery. If the verification is conducted by contacting the license
issuing authority, the transferor shall document the verification. For
transfers within the same organization, the licensee does not need to
verify the transfer.

(B) Any licensee transferring category 2 quantities
of radioactive material to a licensee of the agency, the NRC, or any
agreement state, prior to conducting such transfer, shall verify with the
NRC's license verification system or the license issuing authority that
the transferee's license authorizes the receipt of the type, form, and
quantity of radioactive material to be transferred. If the verification is
conducted by contacting the license issuing authority, the transferor
shall document the verification. For transfers within the same organi-
zation, the licensee does not need to verify the transfer.

(C) In an emergency where the licensee cannot reach
the license issuing authority and the license verification system is non-
functional, the licensee may accept a written certification by the trans-
feree that it is authorized by license to receive the type, form, and quan-
tity of radioactive material to be transferred.

(i) The certification must include:

(1) the license number;

(II) the current revision number;
(IlI)  the issuing authority;

(1V)  the expiration date; and

(V) for a category 1 shipment, the authorized ad-
dress.

(i) The licensee shall keep a copy of the certifica-
tion.

(iii) The certification must be confirmed by use of
the NRC's license verification system or by contacting the license issu-
ing authority by the end of the next business day.

(D) The transferor shall keep a copy of the verification
documentation required under this paragraph as a record for inspection
by the agency in accordance with subsection (mm) of this section.

(19) Applicability of physical protection of category 1 and
category 2 quantities of radioactive material during transit. The ship-
ping licensee shall be responsible for meeting the requirements of para-
graph (18), this paragraph, and paragraphs (20) - (23) of this subsection
unless the receiving licensee has agreed in writing to arrange for the
in-transit physical protection required under paragraph (18), this para-
graph, and paragraphs (20) - (23) of this subsection.

(20) Preplanning and coordination of shipment of category
1 and category 2 quantities of radioactive material.

(A) Each licensee that plans to transport, or deliver to
a carrier for transport, licensed material that is a category 1 quantity
of radioactive material outside the confines of the licensee's facility or
other place of use or storage shall:

(i) preplan and coordinate shipment arrival and de-
parture times with the receiving licensee;

(i) preplan and coordinate shipment information
with the governor or the governor's designee of any state through
which the shipment will pass to:

(1) discuss the state's intention to provide law en-
forcement escorts; and

(1I) identify safe havens; and

(iti)  document the preplanning and coordination ac-
tivities.
(B) Each licensee that plans to transport, or deliver to
a carrier for transport, licensed material that is a category 2 quantity
of radioactive material outside the confines of the licensee's facility or
other place of use or storage shall coordinate the shipment no-later-
than arrival time and the expected shipment arrival with the receiving
licensee. The licensee shall document the coordination activities.

(C) Each licensee who receives a shipment of a cate-
gory 2 quantity of radioactive material shall confirm receipt of the
shipment with the originator. If the shipment has not arrived by the
no-later-than arrival time, the receiving licensee shall notify the origi-
nator.

(D) Each licensee, who transports or plans to transport
a shipment of a category 2 quantity of radioactive material, and de-
termines that the shipment will arrive after the no-later-than arrival
time provided pursuant to subparagraph (B) of this paragraph, shall
promptly notify the receiving licensee of the new no-later-than arrival
time.
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(E) Thelicensee shall make, maintain, and retain a copy
of the documentation for preplanning and coordination and any revi-
sion thereof, as a record for inspection by the agency in accordance
with subsection (mm) of this section.

(21) Advance notification of shipment of category 1 quan-
tities of radioactive material. As specified in subparagraphs (A) and
(B) of this paragraph, for shipments initially made by an agreement
state licensee, each licensee shall provide advance notification to the
Texas Department of Public Safety and the governor of a state, or the
governor's designee, of the shipment of licensed material in a category
1 quantity, through or across the boundary of the state, before the trans-
port, or delivery to a carrier for transport of the licensed material out-
side the confines of the licensee's facility or other place of use or stor-
age.

(A) Procedures for submitting advance notification.

(i) The notification must be made to the Texas De-
partment of Public Safety and to the office of each appropriate governor
or governor's designee.

(I) The contact information, including telephone
and mailing addresses, of governors and governors' designees, is
available on the NRC's Web site at http://nrc-stp.ornl.gov/special/de-
signee.pdf. A list of agreement state advance notification contact
information is also available upon request from the Director, Division
of Material Safety, State, Tribal, and Rulemaking Programs, Office
of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory
Commission, Washington, DC 20555-0001.

(1) Notifications to the Texas Department of
Public Safety must be to the Director, Texas Department of Public
Safety, Office of Homeland Security, P.O. Box 4087, Austin, Texas
78773 or by fax to (512) 424-5708.

(i) A notification delivered by mail must be post-
marked at least 7 days before transport of the shipment commences at
the shipping facility.

(iii)) A notification delivered by any means other
than mail must reach the Texas Department of Public Safety at least 4
days before the transport of the shipment commences; and

(iv) A notification delivered by any means other than
mail must reach the office of the governor or the governor's designee at
least 4 days before transport of a shipment within or through the state.

(B) Information to be furnished in advance notification
of shipment. Each advance notification of shipment of category 1 quan-
tities of radioactive material must contain the following information, if
available at the time of notification:

(i) the name, address, and telephone number of the
shipper, carrier, and receiver of the category 1 radioactive material;

(ii)  the license numbers of the shipper and receiver;

(iii) a description of the radioactive material con-
tained in the shipment, including the radionuclides and quantity;

(iv)  the point of origin of the shipment and the esti-
mated time and date that shipment will commence;

(v) the estimated time and date that the shipment is
expected to enter each state along the route;

(vi) the estimated time and date of arrival of the ship-
ment at the destination; and

(vii) apoint of contact, with a telephone number, for
current shipment information.

(C) Revision notice.

(i) The licensee shall provide any information not
previously available at the time of the initial notification, as soon as the
information becomes available but not later than commencement of the
shipment, to the governor of the state or the governor's designee and to
the Director, Texas Department of Public Safety, Office of Homeland
Security, P.O. Box 4087, Austin, Texas 78773 or by fax to (512) 424-
5708.

(i) A licensee shall provide notice as follows of any
changes to the information provided in accordance with subparagraphs
(B) and (C)(i) of this paragraph.

(1) Promptly notify the governor of the state or
the governor's designee.

(1) Immediately notify the Director, Texas De-
partment of Public Safety, Office of Homeland Security, P.O. Box 4087,
Austin, Texas 78773 or by fax to (512) 424-5708.

(D) Cancellation notice.

(i) Each licensee who cancels a shipment for which
advance notification has been sent shall send a cancellation notice to:

(1) the governor of each state or to the governor's
designee previously notified; and

(1l) the Director, Texas Department of Public
Safety, Office of Homeland Security, P.O. Box 4087, Austin, Texas
78773 or by fax to (512) 424-5708.

(i) The licensee shall send the cancellation notice
before the shipment would have commenced or as soon thereafter as
possible.

(iii) The licensee shall state in the notice that it is
a cancellation and identify the advance notification that is being can-
celled.

(E) Records. The licensee shall make, maintain, and
retain a copy of the advance notification and any revision and cancel-
lation notices as a record for inspection by the agency in accordance
with subsection (mm) of this section.

(F) Protection of information. State officials, state em-
ployees, and other individuals, whether or not licensees of the agency,
the NRC, or any agreement state, who receive schedule information of
the kind specified in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph shall protect
that information against unauthorized disclosure as specified in para-
graph (10)(D) of this subsection.

(22) Requirements for physical protection of category 1 or
category 2 quantities of radioactive material during shipment.

(A) Shipments by road.

(i) Each licensee who transports, or delivers to a car-
rier for transport, in a single shipment, a category 1 quantity of radioac-
tive material shall:

(I) ensure that movement control centers are es-
tablished that maintain position information from a remote location.
These control centers shall monitor shipments 24 hours a day, 7 days
a week, and have the ability to communicate immediately, in an emer-
gency, with the appropriate law enforcement agencies;

(II) ensure that redundant communications are
established that allow the transport to contact the escort vehicle
(when used) and movement control center at all times. Redundant
communications may not be subject to the same interference factors
as the primary communication;
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(III)  ensure that shipments are continuously and
actively monitored by a telemetric position monitoring system or an
alternative tracking system reporting to a movement control center. A
movement control center shall provide positive confirmation of the lo-
cation, status, and control over the shipment. The movement control
center must be prepared to promptly implement preplanned procedures
in response to deviations from the authorized route or a notification of
actual, attempted, or suspicious activities related to the theft, loss, or
diversion of a shipment. These procedures will include, but not be lim-
ited to, the identification of and contact information for the appropriate
LLEA along the shipment route;

(IV) provide an individual to accompany the
driver for those highway shipments with a driving time period greater
than the maximum number of allowable hours of service in a 24-hour
duty day as established by the Department of Transportation Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Administration. The accompanying individual
may be another driver; and

(V)  develop written normal and contingency pro-
cedures to address:

(-a-) notifications to the communication cen-
ter and law enforcement agencies;

(-b-) communication protocols, which must
include a strategy for the use of authentication codes and duress codes
and provisions for refueling or other stops, detours, and locations where
communication is expected to be temporarily lost;

(-c-) loss of communications; and

(-d-) responses to an actual or attempted theft
or diversion of a shipment.

(i) Each licensee who makes arrangements for the
shipment of category 1 quantities of radioactive material shall ensure
that drivers, accompanying personnel, and movement control center
personnel have access to the normal and contingency procedures.

(iii) Each licensee that transports category 2 quan-
tities of radioactive material shall maintain constant control and/or
surveillance during transit and have the capability for immediate
communication to summon appropriate response or assistance.

(iv) Each licensee who delivers to a carrier for trans-
port, in a single shipment, a category 2 quantity of radioactive material
shall:

(I) use carriers that have established package
tracking systems. An established package tracking system is a docu-
mented, proven, and reliable system routinely used to transport objects
of value. In order for a package tracking system to maintain constant
control and/or surveillance, the package tracking system must allow
the shipper or transporter to identify when and where the package was
last and when it should arrive at the next point of control;

(II) use carriers that maintain constant control
and/or surveillance during transit and have the capability for immedi-
ate communication to summon appropriate response or assistance; and

(III) use carriers that have established tracking
systems that require an authorized signature prior to releasing the pack-
age for delivery or return.

(B) Shipments by rail.

(i) Each licensee who transports, or delivers to a car-
rier for transport, in a single shipment, a category 1 quantity of radioac-
tive material shall:

() ensure that rail shipments are monitored by a
telemetric position monitoring system or an alternative tracking system
reporting to the licensee, third-party, or railroad communications cen-

ter. The communications center shall provide positive confirmation of
the location of the shipment and its status. The communications cen-
ter shall implement preplanned procedures in response to deviations
from the authorized route or to a notification of actual, attempted, or
suspicious activities related to the theft or diversion of a shipment.
These procedures will include, but not be limited to, the identification
of and contact information for the appropriate LLEA along the ship-
ment route; and

(1I) ensure that periodic reports to the communi-
cations center are made at preset intervals.

(i) Each licensee who transports, or delivers to a
carrier for transport, in a single shipment, a category 2 quantity of ra-
dioactive material shall:

(1) use carriers that have established package
tracking systems. An established package tracking system is a docu-
mented, proven, and reliable system routinely used to transport objects
of value. In order for a package tracking system to maintain constant
control and/or surveillance, the package tracking system must allow
the shipper or transporter to identify when and where the package was
last and when it should arrive at the next point of control;

(II) use carriers that maintain constant control
and/or surveillance during transit and have the capability for immedi-
ate communication to summon appropriate response or assistance; and

(III) use carriers that have established tracking
systems that require an authorized signature prior to releasing the pack-
age for delivery or return.

(C) Investigations.

(i) Each licensee who makes arrangements for the
shipment of category 1 quantities of radioactive material shall imme-
diately conduct an investigation upon the discovery that a category 1
shipment is lost or missing.

(i) Each licensee who makes arrangements for the
shipment of category 2 quantities of radioactive material shall imme-
diately conduct an investigation, in coordination with the receiving li-
censee, of any shipment that has not arrived by the designated no-later-
than arrival time.

(23) Reporting of events.

(A) The shipping licensee shall notify the appropriate
LLEA and shall notify the agency at (512) 458-7460 within one hour
of its determination that a shipment of category 1 quantities of radioac-
tive material is lost or missing. The appropriate LLEA would be the
law enforcement agency in the area of the shipment's last confirmed lo-
cation. During the investigation required by paragraph (22)(C) of this
subsection, the shipping licensee will provide agreed upon updates to
the agency on the status of the investigation.

(B) The shipping licensee shall notify the agency at
(512) 458-7460 within 4 hours of its determination that a shipment
of category 2 quantities of radioactive material is lost or missing. If,
after 24 hours of its determination that the shipment is lost or missing,
the radioactive material has not been located and secured, the licensee
shall immediately notify the agency.

(C) The shipping licensee shall notify the designated
LLEA along the shipment route as soon as possible upon discovery of
any actual or attempted theft or diversion of a shipment or suspicious
activities related to the theft or diversion of a shipment of a category
1 quantity of radioactive material. As soon as possible after notifying
the LLEA, the licensee shall notify the agency at (512) 458-7460 upon
discovery of any actual or attempted theft or diversion of a shipment,
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or any suspicious activity related to the shipment of category 1 radioac-
tive material.

(D) The shipping licensee shall notify the agency at
(512) 458-7460 as soon as possible upon discovery of any actual or
attempted theft or diversion of a shipment, or any suspicious activity
related to the shipment, of a category 2 quantity of radioactive material.

(E) The shipping licensee shall notify the agency at
(512) 458-7460 and the LLEA as soon as possible upon recovery of
any lost or missing category 1 quantities of radioactive material.

(F) The shipping licensee shall notify the agency at
(512) 458-7460 as soon as possible upon recovery of any lost or
missing category 2 quantities of radioactive material.

(G) The initial telephonic notification required by sub-
paragraphs (A) - (D) of this paragraph must be followed within a period
of 30 days by a written report submitted to the agency. A written re-
port is not required for notifications on suspicious activities required
by subparagraphs (C) and (D) of this paragraph. In addition, the li-
censee shall provide one copy of the written report addressed to the
Director, Division of Security Policy, Office of Nuclear Security and
Incident Response, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Washing-
ton, DC 20555-0001. The report must set forth the following informa-
tion:

(i) a description of the licensed material involved,
including kind, quantity, and chemical and physical form;

(ii)  a description of the circumstances under which
the loss or theft occurred;

(iii)  a statement of disposition, or probable disposi-
tion, of the licensed material involved;

(iv) actions that have been taken, or will be taken, to
recover the material; and

(v) procedures or measures that have been, or will
be, adopted to ensure against a recurrence of the loss or theft of licensed
material.

(H) Subsequent to filing the written report, the licensee
shall also report any additional substantive information on the loss or
theft within 30 days after the licensee learns of such information.

(24) Form of records. Each record required by this sub-
section shall be legible throughout the retention period specified in the
agency's rules. The record may be the original or a reproduced copy or
a microform, provided that the copy or microform is authenticated by
authorized personnel and that the microform is capable of producing a
clear copy throughout the required retention period. The record may
also be stored in electronic media with the capability for producing
legible, accurate, and complete records during the required retention
period. Records such as letters, drawings, and specifications, must in-
clude all pertinent information such as stamps, initials, and signatures.
The licensee shall maintain adequate safeguards against tampering with
and loss of records.

(25) Record retention. All records/documents referenced
in this subsection shall be made and maintained by the licensee for
inspection by the agency in accordance with subsection (mm) of this
section. If a retention period is not otherwise specified, these records
must be retained until the agency terminates the facility's license. All
records related to this subsection may be destroyed upon agency termi-
nation of the facility license.

(jj) Appendices.

(1) Subjects to be included in training courses:

(A) fundamentals of radiation safety:
(i) characteristics of radiation;

(ii)  units of radiation dose (rem) and activity of ra-
dioactivity (curie);

(iii)  significance of radiation dose;

() radiation protection standards; and

(1I) Dbiological effects of radiation;
(iv) levels of radiation from sources of radiation;
(v) methods of controlling radiation dose;

(1) time;

(1) distance; and

(I1I) shielding;

(vi) radiation safety practices, including prevention
of contamination and methods of decontamination; and

(vii)  discussion of internal exposure pathways;
(B) radiation detection instrumentation to be used:
(i) radiation survey instruments:
(1) operation;
(II) calibration; and
(III) limitations;
(it) survey techniques; and
(iii)  individual monitoring devices;
(C) equipment to be used:
(i) handling equipment and remote handling tools;
(it)  sources of radiation;

(iii) storage, control, disposal, and transport of
equipment and sources of radiation;

(iv) operation and control of equipment; and
(v) maintenance of equipment;

(D) the requirements of pertinent federal and state reg-
ulations;

(E) the licensee's written operating, safety, and emer-
gency procedures; and

(F) the licensee's record keeping procedures.

(2) Isotope quantities (for use in subsection (gg) of this sec-
tion).
Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(3j)(2)

(3) Criteriarelating to use of financial tests and parent com-
pany guarantees for providing reasonable assurance of funds for de-
commissioning.

(A) Introduction. An applicant or licensee may provide
reasonable assurance of the availability of funds for decommissioning
based on obtaining a parent company guarantee that funds will be avail-
able for decommissioning costs and on a demonstration that the parent
company passes a financial test. This paragraph establishes criteria for
passing the financial test and for obtaining the parent company guaran-
tee.

(B) Financial test.
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(i) To pass the financial test, the parent company
shall meet the criteria of either subclause (I) or (II) of this clause.

(I) The parent company shall have:
(-a-) two of the following three ratios:

(-1-) aratio of total liabilities to net
worth less than 2.0;

(-2-) a ratio of the sum of net in-
come plus depreciation, depletion, and amortization to total liabilities
greater than 0.1; and

(-3-) aratio of current assets to cur-
rent liabilities greater than 1.5;

(-b-) net working capital and tangible net
worth each at least six times the current decommissioning cost es-
timates for the total of all facilities or parts thereof (or prescribed
amount if a certification is used);

(-c-) tangible net worth of at least $10 mil-
lion; and

(-d-) assets located in the United States
amounting to at least 90% of total assets or at least six times the current
decommissioning cost estimates for the total of all facilities or parts
thereof (or prescribed amount if a certification is used.)

(II) The parent company shall have:

(-a-) a current rating for its most recent bond
issuance of AAA, AA, A, or BBB as issued by Standard and Poor's or
Aaa, Aa, A, or Baa as issued by Moody's;

(-b-) tangible net worth each at least six times
the current decommissioning cost estimate for the total of all facilities
or parts thereof (or prescribed amount if a certification is used);

(-c-) tangible net worth of at least $10 mil-
lion; and

(-d-) assets located in the United States
amounting to at least 90% of total assets or at least six times the current
decommissioning cost estimates for the total of all facilities or parts
thereof (or prescribed amount if certification is used).

(i) The parent company's independent certified pub-
lic accountant shall have compared the data used by the parent company
in the financial test, which is derived from the independently audited,
year-end financial statements for the latest fiscal year, with the amounts
in such financial statement. In connection with that procedure, the li-
censee shall inform the agency within 90 days of any matters coming
to the auditor's attention that cause the auditor to believe that the data
specified in the financial test should be adjusted and that the company
no longer passes the test.

(iii)  After the initial financial test, the parent com-
pany shall repeat the passage of the test within 90 days after the close
of each succeeding fiscal year.

(iv) If the parent company no longer meets the re-
quirements of clause (i) of this subparagraph, the licensee shall send
notice to the agency of intent to establish alternate financial assurance
as specified in the agency's regulations. The notice shall be sent by cer-
tified mail within 90 days after the end of the fiscal year for which the
year end financial data show that the parent company no longer meets
the financial test requirements. The licensee shall provide alternate fi-
nancial assurance within 120 days after the end of such fiscal year.

(C) Parent company guarantee. The terms of a parent
company guarantee that an applicant or licensee obtains shall provide
that:

(i) the parent company guarantee will remain in
force unless the guarantor sends notice of cancellation by certified mail

to the licensee and the agency. Cancellation may not occur, however,
during the 120 days beginning on the date of receipt of the notice of
cancellation by both the licensee and the agency, as evidenced by the
return receipts;

(ii) if the licensee fails to provide alternate financial
assurance as specified in the agency's rules within 90 days after receipt
by the licensee and the agency of a notice of cancellation of the parent
company guarantee from the guarantor, the guarantor will provide such
alternative financial assurance in the name of the licensee;

(iii)  the parent company guarantee and financial test
provisions shall remain in effect until the agency has terminated the
license; and

(iv) if a trust is established for decommissioning
costs, the trustee and trust shall be acceptable to the agency. An
acceptable trustee includes an appropriate state or federal government
agency or an entity that has the authority to act as a trustee and whose
trust operations are regulated and examined by a federal or state
agency.

(4) Criteriarelating to use of financial tests and self guaran-
tees for providing reasonable assurance of funds for decommissioning.

(A) Introduction. An applicant or licensee may provide
reasonable assurance of the availability of funds for decommission-
ing based on furnishing its own guarantee that funds will be available
for decommissioning costs and on a demonstration that the company
passes a financial test of subparagraph (B) of this paragraph. Subpara-
graph (B) of this paragraph establishes criteria for passing the financial
test for the self guarantee and establishes the terms for a self guarantee.

(B) Financial test.

(i) To pass the financial test, a company shall meet
all of the following criteria:

(I) tangible net worth at least 10 times the total
current decommissioning cost estimate for the total of all facilities or
parts thereof (or the current amount required if certification is used for
all decommissioning activities for which the company is responsible as
self guaranteeing licensee and as parent-guarantor);

(1I) assets located in the United States amounting
to atleast 90% of total assets or at least 10 times the total current decom-
missioning cost estimate (or the current amount required if certification
is used for all decommissioning activities for which the company is re-
sponsible as self-guaranteeing licensee and as parent-guarantor); and

(III)  a current rating for its most recent bond is-
suance of AAA, AA, A as issued by Standard and Poor's, or Aaa, Aa,
A as issued by Moody's.

(i) To pass the financial test, a company shall meet
all of the following additional criteria:

() the company shall have at least one class of
equity securities registered under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934;

(1I) the company's independent certified public
accountant shall have compared the data used by the company in the
financial test that is derived from the independently audited year-end fi-
nancial statements, based on United States generally accepted account-
ing practices, for the latest fiscal year, with the amounts in such finan-
cial statement. In connection with that procedure, the licensee shall
inform the agency within 90 days of any matters coming to the audi-
tor's attention that cause the auditor to believe that the data specified
in the financial test should be adjusted and that the company no longer
passes the test; and
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(III) after the initial financial test, the company
shall repeat the passage of the test within 90 days after the close of
each succeeding fiscal year.

(iii)  If the licensee no longer meets the criteria of
clause (i) of this subparagraph, the licensee shall send immediate notice
to the agency of its intent to establish alternate financial assurance as
specified in the agency's rules within 120 days of such notice.

(C) Company self guarantee. The terms of a self guar-
antee that an applicant or licensee furnishes shall provide that:

(i) the company guarantee will remain in force un-
less the licensee sends notice of cancellation by certified mail to the
agency. Cancellation may not occur, however, during the 120 days
beginning on the date of receipt of the notice of cancellation by the
agency, as evidenced by the return receipt;

(ii)  the licensee shall provide alternate financial as-
surance as specified in the agency's rules within 90 days following re-
ceipt by the agency of a notice of cancellation of the guarantee;

(iii)  the guarantee and financial test provisions shall
remain in effect until the agency has terminated the license or until
another financial assurance method acceptable to the agency has been
put in effect by the licensee;

(iv)  thelicensee will promptly forward to the agency
and the licensee's independent auditor all reports covering the latest fis-
cal year filed by the licensee with the Securities and Exchange Com-
mission in accordance with the requirements of the Securities and Ex-
change Act of 1934, §13;

(v) if, at any time, the licensee's most recent bond
issuance ceases to be rated in any category of "A" or above by either
Standard and Poor's or Moody's, the licensee will provide notice in
writing of such fact to the agency within 20 days after publication of
the change by the rating service. If the licensee's most recent bond
issuance ceases to be rated in any category of A or above by both Stan-
dard and Poor's and Moody's, the licensee no longer meets the criteria
of subparagraph (B)(i) of this paragraph; and

(vi) the applicant or licensee shall provide to the
agency a written guarantee (a written commitment by a corporate
officer) that states that the licensee will fund and carry out the required
decommissioning activities or, upon issuance of an order by the
agency, the licensee will set up and fund a trust in the amount of the
current cost estimates for decommissioning.

(5) Criteriarelating to use of financial tests and self guaran-
tees for providing reasonable assurance of funds for decommissioning
by commercial companies that have no outstanding rated bonds.

(A) Introduction. An applicant or licensee may provide
reasonable assurance of the availability of funds for decommission-
ing based on furnishing its own guarantee that funds will be available
for decommissioning costs and on a demonstration that the company
passes the financial test of subparagraph (B) of this paragraph. The
terms of the self-guarantee are in subparagraph (C) of this paragraph.
This paragraph establishes criteria for passing the financial test for the
self-guarantee and establishes the terms for a self-guarantee.

(B) Financial test.

(i) To pass the financial test a company shall meet
the following criteria:

() tangible net worth greater than $10 million,
or at least 10 times the total current decommissioning cost estimate
(or the current amount required if certification is used), whichever is

greater, for all decommissioning activities for which the company is
responsible as self-guaranteeing licensee and as parent-guarantor;

(1l) assets located in the United States amounting
to at least 90% of'total assets or at least 10 times the total current decom-
missioning cost estimate (or the current amount required if certification
is used) for all decommissioning activities for which the company is re-
sponsible as self-guaranteeing licensee and as parent-guarantor; and

(III) aratio of cash flow divided by total liabili-
ties greater than 0.15 and a ratio of total liabilities divided by net worth
less than 1.5.

(i) In addition, to pass the financial test, a company
shall meet all of the following requirements:

(1) the company's independent certified public
accountant shall have compared the data used by the company in the
financial test, that is required to be derived from the independently
audited year end financial statement based on United States generally
accepted accounting practices for the latest fiscal year, with the
amounts in the financial statement. In connection with that procedure,
the licensee shall inform the agency within 90 days of any matters that
may cause the auditor to believe that the data specified in the financial
test should be adjusted and that the company no longer passes the test;

(II) after the initial financial test, the company
shall repeat passage of the test within 90 days after the close of each
succeeding fiscal year; and

(II1)  if the licensee no longer meets the require-
ments of subparagraph (B)(i) of this paragraph, the licensee shall send
notice to the agency of intent to establish alternative financial assurance
as specified in the agency's rules. The notice shall be sent by certified
mail, return receipt requested, within 90 days after the end of the fis-
cal year for which the year end financial data show that the licensee no
longer meets the financial test requirements. The licensee shall provide
alternative financial assurance within 120 days after the end of such fis-
cal year.

(C) Company self-guarantee. The terms of a self-guar-
antee that an applicant or licensee furnishes shall provide the following.

(i) The guarantee shall remain in force unless the li-
censee sends notice of cancellation by certified mail, return receipt re-
quested, to the agency. Cancellation may not occur until an alternative
financial assurance mechanism is in place.

(i) The licensee shall provide alternative financial
assurance as specified in the agency rules within 90 days following
receipt by the agency of a notice of cancellation of the guarantee.

(iii)  The guarantee and financial test provisions shall
remain in effect until the agency has terminated the license or until
another financial assurance method acceptable to the agency has been
put in effect by the licensee.

(iv) The applicant or licensee shall provide to the
agency a written guarantee (a written commitment by a corporate of-
ficer) that states that the licensee will fund and carry out the required
decommissioning activities or, upon issuance of an order by the agency,
the licensee will set up and fund a trust in the amount of the current cost
estimates for decommissioning.

(6) Criteria relating to use of financial tests and self-guar-
antees for providing reasonable assurance of funds for decommission-
ing by nonprofit entities, such as colleges, universities, and nonprofit
hospitals.

(A) Introduction. An applicant or licensee may provide
reasonable assurance of the availability of funds for decommissioning
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based on furnishing its own guarantee that funds will be available for
decommissioning costs and on a demonstration that the applicant or li-
censee passes the financial test of subparagraph (B) of this paragraph.
The terms of the self-guarantee are in subparagraph (C) of this para-
graph. This paragraph establishes criteria for passing the financial test
for the self-guarantee and establishes the terms for a self-guarantee

(B) Financial test.

(i) To pass the financial test, a college or university
shall meet the criteria of subclause (I) or (II) of this clause. The college
or university shall meet one of the following:

(1) for applicants or licensees that issue bonds, a
current rating for its most recent uninsured, uncollateralized, and un-
encumbered bond issuance of AAA, AA, or A as issued by Standard
and Poor's or Aaa, Aa, or A as issued by Moody's; or

(1) for applicants or licensees that do not issue
bonds, unrestricted endowment consisting of assets located in the
United States of at least $50 million, or at least 30 times the total
current decommissioning cost estimate (or the current amount required
if certification is used), whichever is greater, for all decommissioning
activities for which the college or university is responsible as a
self-guaranteeing licensee.

(i) To pass the financial test, a hospital shall meet
the criteria in subclause (I) or (II) of this clause. The hospital shall
meet one of the following:

(1) for applicants or licensees that issue bonds, a
current rating for its most recent uninsured, uncollateralized, and un-
encumbered bond issuance of AAA, AA, or A as issued by Standard
and Poor's or Aaa, Aa, or A as issued by Moody's; or

(1l) for applicants or licensees that do not issue

bonds, all the following tests shall be met:

(-a-) (total revenues less total expenditures)
divided by total revenues shall be equal to or greater than 0.04;

(-b-) long term debt divided by net fixed as-
sets shall be less than or equal to 0.67;

(-c-) (current assets and depreciation fund)
divided by current liabilities shall be greater than or equal to 2.55; and

(-d-) operating revenues shall be at least 100
times the total current decommissioning cost estimate (or the current
amount required if certification is used) for all decommissioning activi-
ties for which the hospital is responsible as a self-guaranteeing licensee.

(iii) In addition, to pass the financial test, a licensee
shall meet all the following requirements:

(I) the licensee's independent certified public ac-
countant shall have compared the data used by the licensee in the finan-
cial test that is required to be derived from the independently audited
year-end financial statements, based on United States generally ac-
cepted accounting practices, for the latest fiscal year, with the amounts
in the financial statement. In connection with that procedure, the li-
censee shall inform the agency within 90 days of any matters coming
to the attention of the auditor that cause the auditor to believe that the
data specified in the financial test should be adjusted and that the li-
censee no longer passes the test; and

(II) after the initial financial test, the licensee
shall repeat passage of the test within 90 days after the close of each
succeeding fiscal year;

(I11)  if the licensee no longer meets the require-
ments of subparagraph (A) of this paragraph, the licensee shall send
notice to the agency of its intent to establish alternative financial as-
surance as specified in the agency's rules. The notice shall be sent by

certified mail, return receipt requested, within 90 days after the end
of the fiscal year for which the year end financial data show that the
licensee no longer meets the financial test requirements. The licensee
shall provide alternate financial assurance within 120 days after the end
of such fiscal year.

(C) Self-guarantee. The terms of a self-guarantee that
an applicant or licensee furnishes shall provide the following:

(i) The guarantee shall remain in force unless the li-
censee sends notice of cancellation by certified mail, and/or return re-
ceipt requested, to the agency. Cancellation may not occur unless an
alternative financial assurance mechanism is in place.

(i) The licensee shall provide alternative financial
assurance as specified in the agency's regulations within 90 days fol-
lowing receipt by the agency of a notice of cancellation of the guaran-
tee.

(iii)  The guarantee and financial test provisions shall
remain in effect until the agency has terminated the license or until
another financial assurance method acceptable to the agency has been
put in effect by the licensee.

(iv) The applicant or licensee shall provide to the
agency a written guarantee (a written commitment by a corporate offi-
cer or officer of the institution) that states that the licensee will fund and
carry out the required decommissioning activities or, upon issuance of
an order by the agency, the licensee will set up and fund a trust in the
amount of the current cost estimates for decommissioning.

(v) If, at any time, the licensee's most recent bond
issuance ceases to be rated in any category of "A" or above by either
Standard and Poor's or Moody's, the licensee shall provide notice in
writing of the fact to the agency within 20 days after publication of the
change by the rating service.

(7) Quantities of radioactive materials requiring consider-
ation of the need for an emergency plan for responding to a release.
The following table contains quantities of radioactive materials requir-
ing consideration of the need for an emergency plan for responding to
a release.

Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(jj)(7)

(8) Requirements for demonstrating financial qualifica-
tions.

(A) Ifan applicant or licensee is not required to submit
financial assurance in accordance with subsection (gg) of this section,
that applicant or licensee shall demonstrate financial qualification by
submitting attestation that the applicant or licensee is financially qual-
ified to conduct the activity requested for licensure, including any re-
quired decontamination, decommissioning, reclamation, and disposal
before the agency issues a license.

(B) If an applicant or licensee is required to submit fi-
nancial assurance in accordance with subsection (gg) of this section,
that applicant or licensee shall:

(i) submit one of the following:

() the bonding company report or equivalent
(from which information can be obtained to calculate a ratio in clause
(i1) of this subparagraph) that was used to obtain the financial assurance
instrument used to meet the financial assurance requirement specified
in subsection (gg) of this section. However, if the applicant or licensee
posted collateral to obtain the financial instrument used to meet the
requirement for financial assurance specified in subsection (gg) of
this section, the applicant or licensee shall demonstrate financial

41 TexReg 1484 February 26, 2016 Texas Register



qualification by one of the methods specified in subclause (II) or (III)
of this clause;

(1l) Securities and Exchange Commission docu-
mentation (from which information can be obtained to calculate a ratio
as described in clause (ii) of this subparagraph, if the applicant or li-
censee is a publicly-held company); or

(III) a self-test (for example, an annual audit re-
port certifying a company's assets and liabilities and resulting ratio as
described in clause (ii) of this subparagraph or, in the case of a new
company, a business plan specifying expected expenses versus capital-
ization and anticipated revenues); and

(ii) declare its Standard Industry Classification
(SIC) code. Several companies publish lists, on an annual basis,
of acceptable assets-to liabilities (assets divided by liabilities) ratio
ranges for each type of SIC code. If an applicant or licensee submits
documentation of its current assets and current liabilities or, in the
case of a new company, a business plan specifying expected expenses
versus capitalization and anticipated revenues, and the resulting ratio
falls within an acceptable range as published by generally recognized
companies (for example, Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial
Ratios, Industry NORM and Key Business Ratios, Dun & Bradstreet
Industry publications, and Manufacturing USA: Industry Analyses,
Statistics, and Leading Companies), the agency will consider that
applicant or licensee financially qualified to conduct the requested or
licensed activity.

(C) If the applicant or licensee is a state or local gov-
ernment entity, a statement of such will suffice as demonstration that
the government entity is financially qualified to conduct the requested
or licensed activities.

(D) The agency will consider other types of documenta-
tion if that documentation provides an equivalent measure of assurance
of the applicant's or licensee's financial qualifications as found in sub-
paragraphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph.

(9) Category 1 and category 2 radioactive materials. Li-
censees shall use Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(jj)(9) to determine whether
a quantity of radioactive material constitutes a Category 1 or Category
2 quantity of radioactive material.

Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(jj)(9)

(kk) Requirements for the issuance of specific licenses for a
medical facility or educational institution to produce Positron Emission
Tomography (PET) radioactive drugs for noncommercial transfer to
licensees in its consortium.

(1) Alicense application will be approved if the agency de-
termines that an application from a medical facility or educational in-
stitution to produce PET radioactive drugs for noncommercial transfer
to licensees in its consortium authorized for medical use in accordance
with §289.256 of this title includes:

(A) a request for authorization for the production
of PET radionuclides or evidence of an existing license issued in
accordance with this section, the NRC, or another agreement states
requirements for a PET radionuclide production facility within its
consortium from which it receives PET radionuclides;

(B) evidence that the applicant is qualified to produce
radioactive drugs for medical use by meeting one of the criteria in sub-
section (r)(1)(A) of this section;

(C) identification of individual(s) authorized to prepare
the PET radioactive drugs if the applicant is a pharmacy, and documen-
tation that each individual meets the requirements of an authorized nu-
clear pharmacist as specified in subsection (r)(3)(B) of this section; and

(D) information identified in subsection (r)(1)(B) of this
section on the PET drugs to be noncommercially transferred to mem-
bers of its consortium.

(2) Authorization in accordance with paragraph (1) of this
subsection to produce PET radioactive drugs for noncommercial trans-
fer to medical use licensees in its consortium does not relieve the li-
censee from complying with applicable FDA, other federal, and state
requirements governing radioactive drugs.

(3) Each licensee authorized in accordance with paragraph
(1) of this subsection to produce PET radioactive drugs for noncom-
mercial transfer to medical use licensees in its consortium shall:

(A) satisfy the labeling requirements in subsection
(r)(1)(C) of this section for each PET radioactive drug transport
radiation shield and each syringe, vial, or other container used to hold
a PET radioactive drug intended for noncommercial distribution to
members of its consortium; and

(B) possess and use instrumentation meeting the
requirements of §289.202(p)(3)(D) of this title to measure the ra-
dioactivity of the PET radioactive drugs intended for noncommercial
distribution to members of its consortium and meet the procedural,
radioactivity measurement, instrument test, instrument check, and
instrument adjustment requirements in subsection (r)(2) of this section.

(4) A licensee that is a pharmacy authorized in accordance
with paragraph (1) of this subsection to produce PET radioactive drugs
for noncommercial transfer to medical use licensees in its consortium
shall require that any individual that prepares PET radioactive drugs
shall be:

(A) an authorized nuclear pharmacist that meets the re-
quirements in subsection (r)(3)(B) of this section; or

(B) anindividual under the supervision of an authorized
nuclear pharmacist as specified in §289.256(s) of this title.

(5) A pharmacy, authorized in accordance with paragraph
(1) of this subsection to produce PET radioactive drugs for noncom-
mercial transfer to medical use licensees in its consortium that allows
an individual to work as an authorized nuclear pharmacist, shall meet
the requirements of subsection (r)(3)(E) of this section.

(1)  Specific licenses for installation, repair, or maintenance of
devices containing sealed sources of radioactive material.

(1) In addition to the requirements in subsection (¢) of this
section, a specific license authorizing persons to perform installation,
repair, or maintenance of devices containing sealed source(s) including
source exchanges will be issued if the agency approves the information
submitted by the applicant.

(2) Each installation, repair, or maintenance activity shall
be documented and a record maintained for inspection by the agency
in accordance with subsection (mm) of this section. The record shall
include the date, description of the service, initial survey results, and
name(s) of the individual(s) who performed the work.

(3) Installation, repair, maintenance, or source exchange
activities shall be performed by a specifically licensed person unless
otherwise authorized in accordance with subsection (v) of this section.

(mm) Records/documents retention.  Each licensee shall
make, maintain, and retain at each authorized use site and for the time
period set forth in the table, the records/documents described in the
following table and in the referenced rule provision, and shall make
them available to the agency for inspection, upon reasonable notice.
Figure: 25 TAC §289.252(mm)
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 10,
2016.

TRD-201600652

Lisa Hernandez

General Counsel

Department of State Health Services

Effective date: March 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 20, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 776-6972

L4 L4 L4
TITLE 28. INSURANCE

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE

CHAPTER 5. PROPERTY AND CASUALTY
INSURANCE

The Texas Department of Insurance adopts new 28 TAC Chap-
ter 5, Subchapter M, Division 5, §5.9323 and new Subchapter
Q, Division 1, §5.9700 with changes to the proposed text pub-
lished in the August 28, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40
TexReg 5445). The new sections are necessary to implement
Insurance Code §2301.056, added by SB 112, 83rd Legislature,
Regular Session (2013). On November 5, 2015, TDI held a pub-
lic hearing on the proposal. In response to comments, TDI made
a number of changes to the text, which are detailed below.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. For residential property insur-
ance policy forms, Insurance Code §2301.056 requires that:

1. the declarations page state the exact dollar amount of each
deductible under the policy; and

2. the declarations page or a page separate from the declara-
tions page:

a. list and identify each type of deductible under the residential
property policy; and

b. identify or disclose any policy provision or endorsement that
may cause the exact dollar amount of a deductible to change.

The new sections clarify that for residential property policy insur-
ance forms:

1. insurers must file declarations pages with TDI for review and
approval under Insurance Code §2301.006;

2. insurers must file renewal and amended declarations pages,
and renewal certificates used as declarations pages;

3. no deductibles are exempt;

4. insurers must issue declarations pages at renewal if a de-
ductible changes;

5. if using a separate disclosure page under §2301.056(c), that
page must follow immediately after the declarations page; and

6. insurers that choose to provide separate disclosure pages
must include them each time they provide a declarations page
or renewal certificate to a policyholder.

Before SB 112, no statute specifically required insurers to file
declarations pages, although some insurers did so. With the en-
actment of SB 112, Insurance Code §2301.056 provides specific
requirements for declarations pages, and TDI must now review
them for compliance.

TDI is implementing Insurance Code §2301.056 in two separate
rule sections. Section 5.9323 contains the filing requirements
and will be part of the Filings Made Easy rules. Section 5.9700
contains the substantive requirements related to disclosing de-
ductibles. These sections are effective September 1, 2016.

This order summarizes the comments TDI received on the pro-
posed rules. In response to comments on the published pro-
posal, TDI has adopted changes to the proposed text to improve
clarity. The changes do not introduce new subject matter, create
additional costs, or affect persons other than those previously on
notice from the proposal.

Section 5.9323. Residential Property Declarations Page Forms.
To ensure all declarations page forms comply with §2301.056,
new §5.9323 specifies that insurers must file residential prop-
erty insurance policy declarations page forms, including forms
for renewal declarations pages, renewal certificates, amended
declarations pages, and separate disclosure pages. Section
5.9323(b) specifies that insurers must file forms completed with
sample - not actual - policyholder information, so TDI can verify
that insurers will list the required deductible information.

TDI made changes to the proposed text in response to com-
ments. These changes do not affect persons not previously on
notice, nor do they raise new issues. The section heading of
adopted §5.9323 is changed to "Residential Property Declara-
tions Page Forms," and subsections (a) and (b) also now include
the word "forms" to clarify that insurers must file sample decla-
rations page forms rather than actual declarations pages. TDI
added the phrase "not actual" to adopted subsection (b), to re-
iterate that insurers need only file sample policyholder informa-
tion, rather than actual policyholder information. These changes
clarify the filing requirements, and do not affect persons not pre-
viously on notice, nor do they raise new issues.

Section 5.9700. Residential Property Declarations Pages
and Deductible Disclosures. For ease of use, new §5.9700
includes the statutory requirements for disclosing deductibles.
Insurance Code §2301.056 does not exempt any deductibles,
so §5.9700(a) specifies that deductibles include each type of
deductible in the policy, which includes applicable endorse-
ments. In response to comments, TDI removed the word
"subdeductible" from §5.9700(a) as proposed, and added an
example of how an insurer can identify a deductible.

Section 5.9700(b) reiterates the requirement in Insurance Code
§2301.056(b) that the declarations page or a separate disclosure
page identify or include a written disclosure that clearly identifies
the applicable policy provision or endorsement if a residential
property insurance policy or endorsement contains a provision
that may cause the exact dollar amount of a deductible under
the policy to change. In response to comments, TDI added an
example of how an insurer can identify the applicable policy pro-
vision or endorsement.

Insurance Code §2301.056 also allows insurers to provide the
required disclosures on a page separate from the declarations
page. To ensure that policyholders can easily find the disclo-
sures, §5.9700(c) requires that the separate disclosure page fol-
low immediately after the declarations page.
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Responding to comments, TDI revised §5.9700 as proposed to
insert a new subsection (d) to clarify that a declarations page and
a separate disclosure page may each consist of more than one
page.

To ensure policyholders have the most current information, if a
deductible changes on the declarations page or a separate dis-
closure page, adopted §5.9700(e), which was proposed as sub-
section (d), requires insurers, at renewal, to issue a declarations
page or renewal certificate. In response to comments, TDI re-
moved the word "updated” from the proposed text to avoid con-
fusion.

Section 5.9700(f), which was proposed as subsection (e), re-
quires that insurers and agents include the separate disclosure
page each time they provide a declarations page or renewal cer-
tificate to a policyholder, to further ensure that the policyholder
has access to the most current deductible information. In re-
sponse to comments, TDI specified that use of a separate dis-
closure page is at the option of the insurer or agent. Insurers
that choose to provide separate disclosure pages must include
the disclosure pages with the declarations page each time they
provide a declarations page or renewal certificate to a policy-
holder.

None of the changes to §5.9700 as adopted affect persons not
previously on notice, nor do they raise new issues.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSE.
General Comments
Comment: Two commenters requested a public hearing.

Agency Response: TDI held a public hearing on November 5,
2015, in accordance with Government Code §2001.029.

Comment: A commenter asked TDI to limit the scope of the rules
to personal lines residential property.

Agency Response: Both §5.9323 and §5.9700 specifically refer
to residential property insurance policy declarations page forms,
reflecting the requirement in Insurance Code §2301.056. Noth-
ing in the rule or statute suggests that the scope extends beyond
residential property.

Comment: A commenter asked TDI to extend the effective date
12 months, so insurers may implement necessary changes to
comply with the new rules.

Agency Response: Section 2301.056 was effective September
1, 2013, and insurers should already be complying with declara-
tion page requirements. Nonetheless, to allow insurers time to
adapt to filing forms with sample policyholder information, TDI
will extend the effective date six months. The adopted rules will
be effective September 1, 2016.

Comment: A commenter stated that the Legislature did not in-
tend to require prior approval of declarations pages when pass-
ing SB 112; but instead, the Legislature intended to simply re-
quire clear descriptions of how deductibles are calculated, and to
provide the dollar amounts rather than percentage deductibles.
The commenter expresses concern that prior approval of decla-
rations pages is an additional regulatory burden.

Agency Response: Insurance Code §2301.056 requires resi-
dential insurance policy forms to include declarations pages. In-
surance Code §2301.006 requires insurers to file policy forms.
Therefore, insurers must file declarations pages as part of resi-
dential property insurance policy forms.

Comment: A commenter stated that the cost estimate should be
higher than stated in the proposal if insurers are required to make
multiple new filings of renewal declarations pages and required
separate disclosure pages.

Agency Response: Insurers are not required to file declarations
or disclosure pages sent to actual policyholders. Rather, they
are only required to file the forms, completed with sample policy-
holder information. TDI clarified this by adding the word "forms"
to the filing requirements in §5.9323. TDI finds that the cost es-
timate as proposed is accurate.

Comments on §5.9323

Comment: A commenter asked that TDI delete the word "disclo-
sure" from the section heading, and instead substitute the word
"page" because "disclosure" is confusing.

Agency Response: TDI changed the section heading as
adopted. As adopted, the section heading for §5.9323 is "Resi-
dential Property Declarations Page Forms."

Comment: A commenter expressed concern that the rule would
require insurers to file new policy forms for each policy issued
and refile every time there is any change in the dollar amount of
a deductible or at renewal for each individual policyholder. The
commenter suggested providing brackets and adding language
similar to the variable material in life and health filings.

Agency Response: TDI revised §5.9323 as proposed to clarify
that insurers are only required to file forms and not issued poli-
cies, disclosures, or declarations pages. If the insurer's declara-
tions page form changes, the insurer must file the form, complete
with sample information, as opposed to each unique policyholder
declarations page. TDI revised subsection (b) as proposed to
emphasize that insurers must not file any actual policyholder in-
formation, including policy numbers or other personal identifying
information.

Comments on §5.9700

Comment: A commenter suggested TDI define "lists" and "iden-
tifies" as described in proposed §5.9700 or provide guidance
as to what is acceptable. The commenter asks for clarification
on what constitutes a sufficient listing or identification of a de-
ductible, to help insurers generate compliant declarations pages.

Agency Response: TDI revised §5.9700(a) and (b) to add clar-
ifying examples: "To identify a deductible, the insurer must pro-
vide a brief description, such as: 'Wind and Hail,' 'Earthquake,’
or 'Jewelry," and "To identify the applicable policy provision or
endorsement, the insurer must provide a brief description and
reference, such as, 'Inflation Adjustments: See page 1, Section
A2a"

Comment: A commenter asks that TDI allow insurers to com-
bine the declarations page and the separate disclosure into one
document and affirmatively state insurers have the option to is-
sue declarations pages that consist of more than one page to
include all information required by the statute.

Agency Response: TDI clarified §5.9700 by adding new sub-
section (d) to provide that declarations pages and separate dis-
closures pages may each consist of more than one page. If an
insurer chooses to use separate disclosures pages, the pages
must immediately follow the declarations pages.

Comment: A commenter states the term "subdeductible" is un-
clear.
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Agency Response: The statute requires that a declarations page
list and identify each type of deductible. This does not exclude
any deductibles, so TDI removed "subdeductible" in subsection
(a) to avoid confusion.

Comment: A commenter states that in proposed §5.9700(d), the
word "updated" and the alternative language at the end of the
sentence is ambiguous and confusing and may create compli-
ance issues, depending on how future TDI employees interpret
the language.

Agency Response: As adopted, TDI removed the word "up-
dated" and inserted additional text to the subsection, which was
adopted as subsection (e), to clarify that if a deductible changes,
insurers must issue a declarations page or renewal certificate at
renewal.

Comment: A commenter suggests that proposed §5.9700(e) ap-
pears to require a separate disclosure page for each policy and
asks for its removal.

Agency Response: TDI revised part of proposed §5.9700(e),
adopted as subsection (f), clarifying that only insurers that pro-
vide separate disclosure pages must include them when they
provide declarations pages or renewal certificates to policyhold-
ers.

NAMES OF THOSE COMMENTING FOR AND AGAINST THE
PROPOSAL.

For with changes: National Association of Mutual Insurance
Companies, American Insurance Association, the Insurance
Council of Texas, and the Texas Coalition of Affordable Insur-
ance Solutions.

Against: Property Casualty Insurers Association of America.
SUBCHAPTER M. FILING REQUIREMENTS
DIVISION 5. FILINGS MADE EASY -
REQUIREMENTS FOR PROPERTY AND
CASUALTY POLICY FORM, ENDORSEMENT,
AND MANUAL RULE FILINGS

28 TAC §5.9323

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. Section 5.9323 is adopted under
Insurance Code §§2301.056, 2301.055, and 36.001. Sec-
tion 2301.056 requires that declarations pages for residential
property insurance policy forms fully disclose all deductibles.
Section 2301.055 provides that the commissioner may adopt
reasonable and necessary rules to implement Chapter 2301,
Subchapter B. Section 36.001 provides that the commissioner
may adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement
the powers and duties of TDI under the Insurance Code and
other laws of this state.

$§5.9323.  Residential Property Declarations Page Forms.

(a) Insurers must file residential property insurance policy dec-
larations page forms for approval under §5.9320 of this title (relating
to Required Information for the Preparation and Submission of Pol-
icy Form, Endorsement, and Manual Rule (Other than Rating Man-
ual) Filings). Declarations pages include renewal declarations pages,
renewal certificates, amended declarations pages, and separate disclo-
sure pages allowed under §5.9700 of this title (relating to Residential
Property Declarations Pages and Deductible Disclosures).

(b) Filed declarations page forms must be completed with
sample - not actual - policyholder information sufficient to demon-

strate how the insurer will comply with this rule and Insurance Code
§2301.056.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 11,
2016.

TRD-201600658

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: August 28, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER Q. GENERAL PROPERTY AND
CASUALTY RULES

DIVISION 1. RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY

28 TAC §5.9700

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. Section 5.9700 is adopted under
Insurance Code §§2301.056, 2301.055, and 36.001. Sec-
tion 2301.056 requires that declarations pages for residential
property insurance policy forms fully disclose all deductibles.
Section 2301.055 provides that the commissioner may adopt
reasonable and necessary rules to implement Chapter 2301,
Subchapter B. Section 36.001 provides that the commissioner
may adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement
the powers and duties of TDI under the Insurance Code and
other laws of this state.

$§5.9700. Residential Property Declarations Pages and Deductible
Disclosures.

(a) All residential property insurance policy declarations
pages must list and identify each type of deductible in the policy,
including applicable endorsements, and state the exact dollar amount
of each deductible. To identify a deductible, the insurer must provide a
brief description, such as "Wind and Hail," "Earthquake," or "Jewelry."

(b) If a residential property insurance policy or endorsement
contains a provision that may cause the exact dollar amount of a de-
ductible under the policy to change, the declarations page or a sepa-
rate disclosure page must identify or include a written disclosure that
clearly identifies the applicable policy provision or endorsement. The
policy provision or endorsement must explain how any change in the
applicable deductible amount is determined. To identify the applica-
ble policy provision or endorsement, the insurer must provide a brief
description and reference, such as "Inflation Adjustments: See page 1,
Section A.2.a."

(c) Insurers may provide disclosures under this section on a
separate disclosure page. The separate disclosure page must follow
immediately after the declarations page.

(d) A declarations page and a separate disclosure page may
each consist of more than one page.

(e) Insurers must issue a declarations page at renewal if the
dollar amount of a deductible changes on the declarations page or sep-
arate disclosure page. Alternatively, insurers may issue a renewal cer-
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tificate that meets the requirements of this rule and Insurance Code
§2301.056.

(f) Insurers and agents that provide separate disclosure pages
must include them with the declarations page each time they provide a
declarations page, as defined in §5.9323(a), to a policyholder.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 11,
2016.

TRD-201600659

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: August 28, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE

PART 19. DEPARTMENT OF FAMILY
AND PROTECTIVE SERVICES

CHAPTER 745. LICENSING

The Health and Human Services Commission adopts, on behalf
of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS),
the repeal of the current version of Subchapter O, Indepen-
dent Court-Ordered Social Studies, consisting of §§745.9060,
745.9061, 745.9063, 745.9065, 745.9067, 745.9068, 745.9069 -
745.9071, 745.9073, 745.9075, 745.9077, 745.9079, 745.9081,
745.9083, 745.9085, 745.9087, 745.9089, 745.9090, 745.9091
-745.9097, and 745.9100; and new Subchapter O, Independent
Court-Ordered Adoption Evaluations, consisting of §§745.9041,
745.9043, 745.9045, 745.9047, 745.9049, 745.9051, 745.9053,
745.9055, 745.9057, 745.9059, 745.9061, 745.9063, 745.9065,
745.9067, 745.9069, 745.9071, 745.9073, 745.9075, 745.9077,
745.9079, 745.9081, 745.9083, 745.9085, 745.9087, 745.9089,
745.9091, 745.9093, 745.9095, 745.9097, and 745.9098, with-
out changes to the proposed text published in the November
13, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 7999).

The justification of the revision is to implement portions of House
Bill (HB) 1449 that was passed by the 84th Texas Legislature in
2015. The changes to the law overhaul the current statutes re-
garding "social studies" in Chapter 107 of the Texas Family Code
(TFC). The new statutory language divides "social studies" into
two sections: Child Custody Evaluations and Adoption Evalua-
tions. TFC, Chapter 107, Subchapter E, Adoption Evaluations,
requires DFPS to establish minimum requirements for what is
now called "pre-placement and post-placement portions of an
adoption evaluation." No rules are mandated for Child Custody
Evaluations.

These rules do not apply to adoption evaluations conducted by
DFPS, contractors of DFPS, or child placing agencies (CPAs),
which are governed by other laws and standards. These rules
will only apply in independent adoption situations where a court
orders an adoption evaluator to conduct an adoption evaluation.

Child Care Licensing (CCL) has no authority over or enforcement
powers regarding the adoption evaluators. CCL's only role is to
propose and adopt rules. The courts who appoint the evaluators
will be responsible for enforcing these rules.

The new version of Subchapter O implements the new language
of the statute, clarifies the new law, and updates the minimum
requirements for the pre-placement and post-placement portions
of an adoption evaluation.

A summary of the changes follows:

New §745.9041 defines the words to be used in this subchap-
ter, including the new terms "adoption evaluation" and "adoption
evaluator.”

New §745.9043 states that the purpose of this subchapter is to
establish minimum requirements for the pre-placement and post-
placement portions of an adoption evaluation.

New §745.9045 clarifies that the rules in this subchapter only
apply to independent adoptions and do not apply to adoption
evaluations conducted by DFPS employees, DFPS contractors,
or CPAs.

New §745.9047 specifies the requirements for an adoption eval-
uator to make assessments, conclusions, and recommendations
when conducting an adoption evaluation.

New §745.9049 clarifies that an adoption evaluator may not con-
sider an adoptive parent's membership in the armed forces as a
negative factor in an adoption evaluation.

New §745.9051 requires an adoption evaluator to report suspi-
cious illegal adoptive placements to DFPS.

New §745.9053 clarifies that usually the pre-placement portion
of an adoption evaluation is conducted before the child begins
living in the adoptive parents' home.

New §745.9055 specifies the information about the child that is
required in the pre-placement portion of an adoption evaluation.

New §745.9057 specifies the information about the adoptive par-
ents that is required in the pre-placement portion of an adoption
evaluation.

New §745.9059 specifies who must be interviewed during the
pre-placement portion of an adoption evaluation.

New §745.9061 clarifies the interview documentation require-
ments for the pre-placement portion of an adoption evaluation.

New §745.9063 clarifies the requirements for visiting the adop-
tive parents' home when conducting the pre-placement portion
of an adoption evaluation.

New §745.9065 clarifies the requirements for assessing the
adoptive parents’ home and grounds when conducting the
pre-placement portion of an adoption evaluation.

New §745.9067 requires additional screening of the adoptive
parents when they have previously been screened to be adop-
tive parents or foster parents by another CPA.

New §745.9069 specifies the information about the child's birth
parents that is required in the pre-placement portion of an adop-
tion evaluation.

New §745.9071 clarifies that updates are recommended if the
adoptive child is not placed with the adoptive parents within six
months of the completion of the pre-placement portion of an
adoption evaluation.
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New §745.9073 clarifies that an update is required if the adop-
tive parents plan to adopt another child, either in addition to or
instead of the child for whom the pre-placement portion of an
adoption evaluation was completed.

New §745.9075 clarifies the requirements for an update of the
pre-placement portion of an adoption evaluation.

New §745.9077 specifies the written information that must be
included in the pre-placement portion of an adoption evaluation
report.

New §745.9079 clarifies that the pre-placement and post-place-
ment portions of an adoption evaluation and reports may be com-
bined and a single report completed when the suit for adoption
is filed after the child began living in the adoptive parents' home.

New §745.9081 clarifies that the interviews for the post-place-
ment portion of an adoption evaluation must be conducted after
the child has resided in the adoptive parents' home for at least
five months. However, the gathering of written information for
the post-placement portion of an adoption evaluation may start
after the child begins living in the adoptive parents' home.

New §745.9083 specifies who must be interviewed during the
post-placement portion of an adoption evaluation.

New §745.9085 clarifies what issues must be addressed in the
interviews for the post-placement portion of an adoption evalua-
tion.

New §745.9087 clarifies the interview documentation require-
ments for the post-placement portion of an adoption evaluation.

New §745.9089 clarifies the requirements for visiting the adop-
tive parents' home when conducting the post-placement portion
of an adoption evaluation.

New §745.9091 specifies the written information that must be
included in the post-placement portion of an adoption evaluation
report.

New §745.9093 clarifies that the adoptive parents, adoptive par-
ents' attorney, or the adoption evaluator must request: (1) a fin-
gerprint based criminal history background check from the De-
partment of Public Safety and the Federal Bureau of Investiga-
tions; and (2) a central registry background check from DFPS.

New §745.9095 clarifies that the adoption evaluator may also re-
quest from DFPS a complete, unredacted copy of any investiga-
tive record regarding abuse or neglect that relates to any person
residing in the adoptive parents' home.

New §745.9097 clarifies that the adoptive parents are entitled
to receive a copy of the pre-placement and post-placement por-
tions of the adoption evaluation reports before the court issues
a final order regarding the adoption.

New §745.9098 explains to the adoptive parents who they or
their attorney may contact regarding a complaint on how the
adoption evaluation was conducted, including: (1) the court that
ordered the adoption evaluation; and/or (2) the board that li-
censes the person who primarily conducted the adoption eval-
uation, if applicable.

The sections will function by being in compliance with Texas
Family Code, §107.159(a) and §107.160(a); and strengthening
the adoption evaluation process.

No comments were received regarding adoption of the sections.

SUBCHAPTER O. INDEPENDENT
COURT-ORDERED ADOPTION EVALUATIONS
DIVISION 1. DEFINITIONS, PURPOSE, AND
SCOPE

40 TAC §§745.9041, 745.9043, 745.9045

The new sections are adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The new sections implement portions of HB 1449, which adds
Subchapter E, Adoption Evaluations, to Chapter 107 of the
Texas Family Code. More specifically, these modifications
primarily implement §§107.151, 107.152, 107.159(a), and
107.160(a).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600600

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 2. MAKING ASSESSMENTS,
CONCLUSIONS, AND RECOMMENDATIONS
40 TAC §§745.9047, 745.9049, 745.9051

The new sections are adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The new sections implement portions of HB 1449, which adds
Subchapter E, Adoption Evaluations, to Chapter 107 of the
Texas Family Code (TFC). More specifically, these modifica-
tions primarily implement §§107.151, 107.158, 107.159(a), and
107.160(a) and TFC, §162.0025.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600602

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS
FOR THE PRE-PLACEMENT PORTION OF AN
ADOPTION EVALUATION AND REPORT

40 TAC §§745.9053, 745.9055, 745.9057, 745.9059,
745.9061, 745.9063, 745.9065, 745.9067, 745.9069, 745.9071,
745.9073, 745.9075, 745.9077, 745.9079

The new sections are adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The new sections implement portions of HB 1449, which adds
Subchapter E, Adoption Evaluations, to Chapter 107 of the
Texas Family Code. More specifically, these modifications
primarily implement §107.151 and §107.159(a).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,

2016.

TRD-201600603

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 4. MINIMUM REQUIREMENTS
FOR THE POST-PLACEMENT PORTION OF AN
ADOPTION EVALUATION AND REPORT

40 TAC §§745.9081, 745.9083, 745.9085, 745.9087,
745.9089, 745.9091

The new sections are adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The new sections implement portions of HB 1449, which adds
Subchapter E, Adoption Evaluations, to Chapter 107 of the
Texas Family Code. More specifically, these modifications
primarily implement §107.151 and §107.160(a).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600604

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 5. BACKGROUND CHECK
INFORMATION

40 TAC §745.9093, §745.9095

The new sections are adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The new sections implement portions of HB 1449, which adds
Subchapter E, Adoption Evaluations, to Chapter 107 of the
Texas Family Code. More specifically, these modifications
primarily implement §§107.151, 107.159(a), and §107.163.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600606
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Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 6. COPIES OF ADOPTION
EVALUATION REPORTS AND COMPLAINTS
40 TAC §745.9097, §745.9098

The new sections are adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The new sections implement portions of HB 1449, which adds
Subchapter E, Adoption Evaluations, to Chapter 107 of the
Texas Family Code. More specifically, these modifications
primarily implement §§107.151, 107.159(d), and 107.160(d).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600609

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER O. INDEPENDENT
COURT-ORDERED SOCIAL STUDIES
DIVISION 1. DEFINITIONS

40 TAC §§745.9060, 745.9061, 745.9063

The repeals are adopted under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department.

The repeals implement portions of HB 1449, which adds Sub-
chapter E, Adoption Evaluations to Chapter 107 of the Texas
Family Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600610

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 2. MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS
AND OTHER REQUIREMENTS
40 TAC §§745.9065, 745.9067, 745.9068

The repeals are adopted under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department.

The repeals implement portions of HB 1449, which adds Sub-
chapter E, Adoption Evaluations to Chapter 107 of the Texas
Family Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600611

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. PRE-ADOPTIVE SOCIAL

STUDIES

40 TAC §§745.9069 - 745.9071, 745.9073, 745.9075,
745.9077, 745.9079, 745.9081, 745.9083, 745.9085, 745.9087,
745.9089, 745.9090
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The repeals are adopted under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department.

The repeals implement portions of HB 1449, which adds Sub-
chapter E, Adoption Evaluations to Chapter 107 of the Texas
Family Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600612

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 4. POST-PLACEMENT ADOPTIVE
SOCIAL STUDY AND REPORT
40 TAC §§745.9091 - 745.9097

The repeals are adopted under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department.

The repeals implement portions of HB 1449, which adds Sub-
chapter E, Adoption Evaluations to Chapter 107 of the Texas
Family Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600613

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 5. COMPLAINTS
40 TAC §745.9100

The repeal is adopted under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department.

The repeal implements portions of HB 1449, which adds Sub-
chapter E, Adoption Evaluations to Chapter 107 of the Texas
Family Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 9,
2016.

TRD-201600614

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: February 29, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 748. MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR
GENERAL RESIDENTIAL OPERATIONS
SUBCHAPTER A. PURPOSE AND SCOPE

40 TAC §748.7

On behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Services
(DFPS), the Health and Human Services Commission adopts
new §748.7, concerning the applicability of Chapter 42, Human
Resources Code, and licensing rules and statutes in general to
family residential centers operated by contractors of U.S. Immi-
gration and Customs Enforcement (ICE), with changes to the
proposed text as published in the November 13, 2015, issue of
the Texas Register (40 TexReg 8009).

The justification for §748.7 is to define the term "family residential
center" (FRC) and to make FRCs subject to regulation as Gen-
eral Residential Operations (GROs). Requiring FRCs to comply
with all requirements for GROs will be more protective of chil-
dren than taking no action regarding the provision of child care
without a license.

DFPS first adopted §748.7 on an emergency basis effective
September 2, 2015 as published in the September 18, 2015,
issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 6229). The emergency
rule tailored minimum standards for GROs to FRCs so that
DFPS could most effectively regulate them. In its publication of
the emergency rule, DFPS cited that the July 24, 2015 ruling
of Flores v. Johnson, CV 85-4544 DMG (C.D. Cal. July 24,
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2015) "highlighted a gap in the oversight of the children" housed
in family residential centers. DFPS found that there was an
imminent peril to the public's health, safety, or welfare due to the
lack of "comprehensive oversight of the care of children housed
in the facilities by an independent agency." /d.

Grassroots Leadership, Inc., a non-profit organization, filed suit
seeking declaratory and injunctive relief from the emergency rule
on September 30, 2015, in the 353rd District Court in Travis
County. Judge Karin Crump of the 250th Travis County Dis-
trict Court granted a Temporary Restraining Order halting the
adoption and implementation of the emergency rule on Septem-
ber 30, 2015. Grassroots v. TDFPS, No. D-1-GN-15-004336
(353rd Dist. Ct., Travis County, Tex. Sept. 30, 2015). On
November 20, 2015, Judge Crump issued a Temporary Injunc-
tion halting the adoption of the emergency rule until a trial on the
merits can be held on May 9, 2016. Grassroots v. TDFPS, No.
D-1-GN-15-004336 (353rd Dist. Ct., Travis County, Tex. Nov.
20, 2015). The Court specifically held that the Temporary Injunc-
tion did not preclude DFPS "from proceeding with traditional rule
adoption procedures.” Id. at 7. Accordingly, DFPS published
§748.7 as a proposed rule in the November 13, 2015, issue of
the Texas Register (40 TexReg 8009).

The adoption of the rule ensures the continued protection of chil-
dren housed in the facilities by making the facilities subject to
the regulatory authority of CCL along with its associated require-
ments, with limited exception.

The section will function by enhancing the quality of care for chil-
dren housed in FRCs.

The essence of the new rule is the application of Child-Care Li-
censing's (CCL's) regulations related to GROs to FRCs, as de-
fined in the rule. That definition, found in subsection (a), applies
regulations for GROs to FRCs that are operated by or under con-
tract with ICE to enforce federal immigration laws and that detain
children who remain with parents or other adult family members,
who provide direct care for the child except in specific circum-
stances. The definition currently would apply only to the South
Texas Family Residential Center (STFRC) operated by the Cor-
rections Corporation of America in Dilley, Texas, and the Karnes
County Residential Center operated by the GEO Group, Inc. in
Karnes City, Texas.

Subsection (b) classifies the FRCs as GROs and requires them
to comply with all associated requirements unless CCL issues a
waiver or variance, or an exception is granted by the section it-
self. While the rule applies the standards to the FRCs and does
not go into extensive detail regarding those standards, incorpo-
rating the standards for GROs by reference means incorporat-
ing a broad and comprehensive regulatory scheme designed to
protect and enhance the well-being of children in care. As is
discussed in additional detail in DFPS' responses to public com-
ments received on the proposed rule, the regulatory overlay in
place for GROs involves statutory mandates and direction, rules
general applicable to all regulated operations including GROs
which are found in Chapter 745 of this title, Licensing, as well as
Minimum Standards specific to GROs found in Chapter 748 of
this title. Those Minimum Standards include governing require-
ments across many domains that range from the qualifications
for the Child Care Administrator each facility must employ to re-
quirements for food storage to restrictions on the use of emer-
gency behavior intervention.

Subsection (b) further clarifies that DFPS does not oversee re-
quirements that pertain to other law. Of particular relevance to

the comments received to the proposed rule, DFPS explicitly
clarifies that it has no role in determining whether the FRC is
classified as secure.

Subsection (c) lists several exceptions that DFPS determined at
the outset were appropriate in recognition of the unique charac-
ter of the FRCs. First, because children are housed with parents
or family members, and there may be sibling groups of more
than four children, DFPS recognized that the limitation on four
room occupants could be directly at odds with the need to house
families together wherever possible and safely achievable. Sec-
ondly, because children would be sharing rooms with parents or
other family members, DFPS recognized that the FRCs would
not be required to comply with all of the requirements related to
children sharing a bedroom with an adult. Finally, because sib-
lings may be of the opposite gender, and because there may be
circumstances where young children of different families would
be housed together, DFPS granted a partial exception to the lim-
itations on children of the opposite gender sharing a room. It
should be emphasized that the text of the subsection noted that
the facilities would not be required to comply with all of the pro-
visions in the referenced standards, which makes clear that the
FRCs may be required to comply with portions of the standards in
question. Furthermore, and more significantly, DFPS reiterated
in subsection (d) its ultimate discretion to place conditions on any
exceptions and described some examples of such conditions by
way of illustration. Specifically, DFPS offered a non-exhaustive
list of possible conditions on the exceptions to allow flexibility
in the agency's exercise of its authority in recognition of its re-
sponsibility for overseeing the safety and well-being of children
in care, which include: limits on the number of room occupants
to meet fire safety standards, or limitations on allowing children
of opposite genders to share a room only if they are in the same
family. DFPS then reiterated its discretion to place "any other
limitation determined by the department to be necessary to the
health, safety, or welfare of children in care."

Finally, in subsection (e) DFPS added a provision again in recog-
nition of the FRCs' unique characteristics, which requires any
documentation DFPS deems necessary to clarify the division of
caretaking responsibility between FRC staff and the parents or
family of a child in care. DFPS must not merely receive the docu-
mentation but must also approve it during the application process
and at the point of any subsequent amendments to the documen-
tation.

During the public comment period, DFPS sought public feedback
regarding the proposed rules through multiple channels. In to-
tal, DFPS received 1486 comments in writing. DFPS received
3 responses through the U.S. Postal Service that were not also
received either through email or in hard copy at the public meet-
ing on the rule.

In total DFPS received 1460 responses via email. Of those re-
sponses, 701, or 48 percent were received from individuals or
groups who reside outside the state of Texas. The vast majority
of the comments (approximately 1350) were comprised of two
standardized emails. The first of the two standardized emails
appears to have been issued primarily in response to the emer-
gency rule adopted by DFPS on September 2, 2015, the imple-
mentation of which was temporarily enjoined by the 250th Dis-
trict Court in Austin on November 12, 2015. Indeed, 488 of those
comments were received prior to the publication of the proposed
rule and could not, therefore, have been in response to the pub-
lication of the proposed rule. However, because the comments
appear to be directed both at the emergency rule adoption as
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well as the substance of the rule and because several of the stan-
dardized emails were received following publication of the pro-
posed rule, DFPS considered the substance of the standardized
email in its discussion of comments and the agency's response.
DFPS also considered the substance of the second standardized
email, which opposed licensing the FRCs, and incorporated the
substance into the summaries of the comments.

In addition, DFPS announced that it would hold a public meeting
on the rule proposal on December 9, 2015, in the following
ways: (1) in the Texas Register Open Meetings section; (2)
through the govdelivery.com service, which allows interested
persons to sign up for email or text updates regarding DFPS
or other governmental agencies; and (3) on the DFPS website
page for items of interest to stakeholders. The meeting was
well attended and received media coverage. Forty-five people
testified, some in their individual capacities and others on behalf
of an organization or group. In addition, 11 speakers handed
in individual written testimony. An advocacy group submitted
approximately 800 written comments to the panel of DFPS and
HHSC representatives present to take testimony. DFPS subse-
quently determined that all but 12 of those printed comments
were identical printouts to emails previously received by DFPS.
The entire meeting was transcribed and published on the DFPS
public website at http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/About_DFPS/Pub-
lic_Meetings/Stakeholders/documents/2015-12-09-Licens-
ing_Hearing_transcript_acc.pdf.

The public comments received by the agency included those
submitted by interested groups or associations, as well as leg-
islators in their official capacity. Specifically, the groups and offi-
cials submitted comments generally in opposition to the adop-
tion of the rule include: the Interfaith Welcome Coalition; the
Texas School of Law Immigration Clinic; Methodist Healthcare
Ministries of South Texas; the Texas Catholic Conference; the
Benedictine Sisters; CARA Family Detention Pro Bono Project
(comprised of the Catholic Legal Immigration Network, Inc.; the
American Immigration Council; the Refugee and Immigrant Cen-
ter for Education and Legal Services; and the American Immigra-
tion Lawyers Association); Heartland Alliance's National Immi-
grant Justice Center; Texas Pediatric Society; Rio Grande Equal
Voice Network; Representative Trey Martinez Fischer, Chair-
man, Texas Mexican American Legislative Caucus; Texas Sen-
ators: Judith Zaffirini, José Rodriguez, José Menéndez, Sylvia
R. Garcia, Rodney Ellis, Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa, John Whitmire,
and Kirk Watson; the De Anda Law Firm; CASA Latina; Mexican
American Legal Defense and Education Fund; Grassroots Lead-
ership; Unitarian Universalist Service Committee; Texas Impact;
Women's Refugee Commission; American Civil Liberties Union
of Texas; Unitarian Universalist Association; National Associa-
tion of Social Workers, Texas Chapter (NASW); and Catholic
Charities of the Rio Grande Valley.

The following groups and officials submitted comments generally
supporting the adoption of the rule: Representative James White
and a representative of the Karnes County Residential Center.

Finally, while not formal public comment, the rule proposal was
covered in various media outlets. Included in the coverage were
two editorial pieces regarding the proposed rule. The Fort Worth
Star-Telegram on December 10, 2015, noted that the testimony
in the public meeting was to the effect that the family residen-
tial centers have "a long way to go" to provide care to children.
The Star-Telegram further indicated that it was "a shame" licen-
sure by DFPS had taken so long. In addition, the San Antonio
Express News on December 15, 2015, noted that so long as

women and children are being detained in the facilities, the state
has some obligation to oversee the care of children who are de-
tained there.

All of the public comments, whether submitted via mail, email or
orally in the public meeting, were reviewed and considered by
DFPS staff. The feedback generally fell into themes, which are
summarized below, along with the agency's response.

(1) Comments Supporting Licensure As a Means to Protect Chil-
dren and Improve Current Practice:

Comment: Two commenters, including one state representative,
supported licensure. The representative noted that the state is
statutorily obligated to ensure the safety and wellbeing of all chil-
dren in Texas, and by providing oversight to the FRCs, DFPS
would be able to ensure the children's safety and pass on its in-
stitutional knowledge of child safety and wellbeing to the federal
government. The commenter further noted that by expanding
its regulatory purview, DFPS would be able to play a vital role
in identifying and providing services to children and families that
are at high risk of human trafficking. Another commenter, who
provides representation to one of the FRCs, noted that licensure
is not merely an endorsement of the status quo as the FRCs
would not only be required to meet the standards of a GRO, but
would be required to provide evidence of compliance. The com-
menter cited to the significant fiscal impact to the FRCs to come
into compliance with the proposed requirements, including in-
creasing staff to detainee ratio, recruiting qualified staff to pro-
vide necessary services mandated by the rule, meeting the pub-
lic hearing requirements, ensuring CPR certifications, obtaining
background checks for employees, meeting square footage re-
quirements, and submitting materials clarifying the supervisory
and caretaking responsibilities of staff and family members. The
commenter also noted that the exemptions to minimum stan-
dards, which DFPS has authority to place limits on, were for-
mulated to allow children to continue residing with their mothers
and not to continue the status quo.

Response: DFPS agrees with the comments.

(2) Comments Expressing Concern with Licensure and Any Ex-
ceptions, Waivers, or Variances Associated with Licensure:

Comment: A significant number of commenters expressed con-
cern that licensing the Karnes County and Dilley Centers with
exemptions, as the rule allows, would amount to the mere rub-
ber stamping of the centers as they currently operate without
meaningful consideration of their ability to provide adequate child
care. Specifically, the commenters argued that the rule would
not ameliorate the conditions of the centers, but would rather al-
low the centers to continue operating as detention centers in a
manner that is contrary to the safety and well-being of children.
One commenter noted that the Karnes County center has a his-
tory of temporarily altering its conditions, such as redecorating,
providing extra toys, and improving food quality, in preparation
for visitations by external entities; however, it has not made sig-
nificant and permanent improvements. According to the com-
menters, licensure would not change the inherent purpose and
overall substandard environment of the Karnes County and Dil-
ley centers.

Response: The Texas regulatory scheme in place for GROs is
comprehensive, extensive, and rooted in basic tenets of child
protection and welfare. By properly designating the FRCs as
GROs, DFPS brings to bear not only the single rule adopted
here but a host of statutory, regulatory, and policy-based re-
quirements aimed directly at protecting the health, safety, and
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well-being of children in care. (See HRC §42.001). First, the
Texas legislature has established the basic framework for the
licensure of child-care facilities, primarily in CCL's enabling au-
thority in HRC Chapter 42, as well as DFPS' general enabling
statutes in HRC Chapter 40. (See in particular HRC §40.002(b)).
The legislature has directed CCL, through the Executive Com-
missioner of HHSC, to adopt rules and standards to accomplish
various purposes including: promoting the health, safety, and
welfare of children; ensuring adequate supervision of children
by capable, qualified, and healthy personnel; and ensuring that
facilities follow the directions of health care professionals. (See
HRC §42.042(e)). In addition to general direction to promulgate
standards, the legislature has mandated certain critical aspects
of the licensure process and its underlying requirements. For ex-
ample, the Texas legislature has enacted laws related to the re-
quirement for submission of an application (see HRC §42.046);
requirements related to conducting and abiding by the results of
criminal and abuse/neglect history checks (see HRC §42.056);
the requirement that each facility hire and maintain a licensed
child-care administrator for the facility (see HRC Chapter 43);
and the requirement that a potential operation convene a pub-
lic hearing in counties of a certain population size (see HRC
§42.0461).

Based on its general statutory authority and duties, CCL has
adopted a broad regulatory framework in Chapter 745 of this ti-
tle, Licensing, contains rules of general applicability to various
operations regulated by the agency. Of particular significance
to this rule, Chapter 745 contains requirements and restrictions
related to the criminal or abuse/neglect history of a person em-
ployed or present at the facility. (See Chapter 745, Subchapter
F, Background Checks).

Next, CCL has various rule chapters in place recognizing the
different operation types and the services they provide. (See
HRC §42.042(f) and (g)). The various subchapters in this
chapter related to GROs address a multitude of topics, many
of which are discussed in greater detail in this preamble, in-
cluding requirements related to training for staff, the provision
of medical and dental care, the use of emergency behavior
intervention. Examples of other topics covered by regulation
and not discussed in great detail in this preamble include:
requirements related to admission and service planning, the
physical site of the operation, and transportation. Should
there be any further question regarding the content of DFPS'
standards, all are readily available to the public, both through
the Secretary of State's website for the Texas Administrative
Code (see http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.View-
TAC?tac_view=3&ti=40&pt=19) and DFPS' website (see
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Care/Child_Care_Stan-
dards_and_Regulations/default.asp). Moreover, the entire
policy handbook in use by CCL staff is publicly available at any
time (see https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/handbooks/Licensing/de-
fault.asp).

Against this extensive regulatory backdrop, the FRCs would be
required to go through the same process as other GROs in the
state and to demonstrate compliance with the various require-
ments of Texas statute and regulation discussed herein. First,
they would be required to submit an application. Residential
Child Care Licensing (RCCL) has 21 days to accept the appli-
cation. (See §745.301 of this title (relating to How long does
Licensing have to review my application and let me know my ap-
plication status?)). During that time, RCCL reviews the applica-
tion for completeness and ensures that policies and procedures
that are required at application are included, and that applicable

fees have been paid. Attimes, RCCL may need to request addi-
tional information or clarification from the GRO in order to accept
the application or RCCL may return the application.

Once the application is accepted, RCCL has up to two months to
complete a Standard by Standard inspection to evaluate compli-
ance with Minimum Standards. (See §745.321 of this title (relat-
ing to What will Licensing do after accepting my application?)).
Concurrently, in counties with a population of less than 300,000
people, the GRO has one month from the date the application
was accepted to hold a public hearing. (See §745.275(2)(C) of
this title (relating to What are the specific requirements for a pub-
lic notice and hearing?)). Notice of the public hearing must be
published at least ten days prior to the date of the hearing in a
newspaper of general circulation in a community where the ser-
vices will be provided. (HRC §42.061(b) and §745.275(1) of this
title (relating to What are the specific requirements for a public
notice and hearing?)).

Once the public hearing occurs, the GRO has ten working days
to submit a verbatim record of the hearing and a complete com-
ment summary report to RCCL. (See §745.275(2)(C) of this title
(relating to What are the specific requirements for a public notice
and hearing?)). RCCL has two months after the date of the com-
plete application being accepted to issue or deny the initial permit
unless there is good cause to extend the timeframe, such as re-
viewing extensive comments of a public hearing. (See §745.321
of this title (relating to What will Licensing do after accepting my
application?)).

RCCL may deny the application if the operation fails to comply
with Minimum Standards, administrative rules, or the law. HRC
§42.072(a) and §745.8605 of this title (relating to When can Li-
censing take remedial action against me?) further authorizes
certain remedial actions related to failure to comply with aspects
of the application process. Additionally, RCCL may deny the per-
mit if information obtained through the public hearing process in-
dicates licensure is inappropriate. (HRC §42.0461(e), §745.279
of this title (relating to How may the results of a public hearing
affect my application for a permit or a request to amend my per-
mit?), and §745.8605(21) of this title (relating to When can Li-
censing take remedial action against me?)).

When an initial permit is issued, it is valid for a period of six
months. (HRC §42.051 and §745.347 of this title (relating to How
long is an initial permit valid?)). During the initial permit period,
RCCL will generally conduct a minimum of three unannounced
inspections to determine compliance with Minimum Standards,
administrative rules, and law. (§745.351 of this title (relating to If
| have an initial permit, when will | be eligible for a non-expiring
permit?)). If during the first initial permit period, the GRO fails to
establish continued compliance and additional time is necessary
to determine a pattern of compliance, RCCL may issue a second
initial permit to establish ongoing compliance. If the second ini-
tial permitis issued, RCCL will again conduct at least three unan-
nounced inspections. If after the first initial permit period or the
second initial permit period, the GRO has established continued
compliance, RCCL may issue a full permit. When a GRO is is-
sued a full permit, RCCL will conduct at least one unannounced
inspection per year, in addition to any other inspections or inves-
tigations that may be necessary as a result of reports received.
(§745.8407 of this title (relating to When will Licensing inspect
and/or investigate an operation?)).

The purpose of this rule is to apply the licensure requirements to
the operations, a necessary byproduct of which is that they will
come into compliance with said requirements. If a current prac-

41 TexReg 1496 February 26, 2016 Texas Register


https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/handbooks/Licensing/de
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Care/Child_Care_Stan
http://texreg.sos.state.tx.us/public/readtac$ext.View

tice is inconsistent with CCL standards, then the practice would
be addressed in the licensure process. To argue that a given
practice does not currently comply with regulations for child-care
is to misapprehend the purpose of licensure and all that it entails.

Comment: Several commenters opposed the exceptions to Min-
imum Standards contained in the proposed rule stating that they
are overbroad, arbitrary and capricious, set a dangerous prece-
dent for regulating childcare facilities, and essentially allow the
FRCs to continue operating under the status quo of a prison. The
commenters noted that federal and state law do not provide any
basis for lowering the standards for facilities that house accom-
panied minors as opposed to unaccompanied minors. They fur-
ther noted that the exemptions effectively create a second-class
of children subject to a lower, disparate standard from children
under the custody of DFPS or unaccompanied minors. Several
commenters expressed concern that the exceptions not only fail
to address the problems of abuse and neglect, but increase the
risk of physical and sexual abuse and maltreatment by allowing
different genders and unrelated family members to be housed to-
gether in large numbers. One commenter noted that there have
already been numerous allegations of assault and potential sex-
ual abuse because of the lack of age and gender restrictions, and
another commenter noted that the exemptions compromise the
families' ability to file complaints for poor living conditions and
abuse and neglect. While some commenters acknowledged a
need for oversight, they contended that DFPS should only adopt
rules consistent with those for child care facilities by requiring the
FRCs to meet all current minimum standards and ensure appro-
priate therapeutic and trauma-informed settings as is required
for other GROs.

Response: From the outset, DFPS recognized that the charac-
ter of the FRCs is without an identical counterpart in the current
regulatory structure. Children are housed with their mothers or
other adult family members, yet by virtue of being divested of
some or all of their authority to direct the daily activities, place of
residence, and other aspects of their children's lives, the moth-
ers cannot be considered the sole caregivers as they would be
outside the setting. Moreover, while the families are generally
housed together, there are times in which a mother may be sep-
arated from her child, e.g. when capacity is extremely high and
some of the children are housed in a common, dormitory-like
fashion. To the extent the mothers are not exercising full parental
control, and may not be with their children at a given time, the
staff in the FRCs are assuming child-care responsibilities, and it
is important that this care receives oversight from the cognizant
state agency.

However, in recognition of the uniqueness of the setting, DFPS
included several exceptions to Minimum Standards in both the
emergency rule and the rule now under consideration. The first
exception, related to the limitation on the number of room oc-
cupants is intended to permit living arrangements that preserve
family units. DFPS included in subsection (d) of the rule lan-
guage to clarify that there may be conditions related to the outer
limit on the number of occupants, particularly where such a limit
is necessary to comply with fire safety standards. DFPS will re-
quire a minimum of sixty square feet per child, and as discussed
herein, DFPS applies exceptions, waivers and variances in light
of their potential implications to child safety, and would not im-
plement the exception such that it was inconsistent with its child
protection obligations.

The second exception in the rule relates to children sharing a
bedroom with an adult, and is intended to permit children to sleep

in a room with their mothers. While DFPS' current standards re-
lated to adults sharing a bedroom with children relates to adults
who are in care at the facility, unlike the mothers at the FRCs
who are not in care, DFPS felt it was important to clarify from the
outset that the limitation would be flexibly applied. Again, sub-
section (d) as well as DFPS' overall regulatory authority means
that the exception is not unfettered, and DFPS may place con-
ditions on it appropriate to the circumstances.

The third exception, like the others, is intended to permit the
preservation of family units and may be tempered by any limita-
tions DFPS deems appropriate. This particular exception relates
to children of the opposite gender sharing a room. DFPS under-
stands the concerns of commenters related to potential miscon-
duct. However, DFPS intends to permit children of the opposite
gender to share a room only if they are members of the same
family or under the age of six. The goal of the exception is to
strike a balance between family preservation within the current
facility and the paramount concern of child safety.

However, because the rule text initially generated confusion and
concern regarding the scope and purpose of the exceptions,
DFPS has modified the proposed text to provide further clarifica-
tion. First, the exception regarding the limitation on room occu-
pants has been modified to make explicit that the number of chil-
dren permitted in the room will be based on the square footage
of the room, with no fewer than sixty square feet per child. Sec-
ond, the exception related to children sharing a bedroom has
been clarified to specify that the exception relates to children re-
maining with their own family. Third, the exception permitting
children of the opposite gender to share a bedroom has been
amended so that children from different families who are oppo-
site gender may not share a bedroom unless they are under the
age of 6. Finally, DFPS incorporates by reference in subsection
(d) its regulation in §745.8313 of this title (relating to Is a waiver
or variance unconditional?), which makes it explicit that DFPS
retains the discretion to place conditions on any waiver or vari-
ance, as well as the exceptions contained in §748.7.

Comment: One commenter suggested that in light of the aim of
the regulation to preserve family units, subsection (c) be modi-
fied to preface the exceptions with the language "Because the
designated facilities house mothers with their children..."

Response: DFPS declines to make the change. By definition
which is part of the rule, an FRC is a facility in which a child is
detained with the child's mother or other family member, and the
adult or other family member provides direct care and supervi-
sion. For this reason, DFPS views the change as substantively
unnecessary.

Comment: Similarly to previous comments regarding the excep-
tions contained in the rule text, several commenters raised con-
cerns that because DFPS may grant a waiver or variance to a
Minimum Standard, in addition to the exceptions listed in the
published rule, child safety could be compromised and there may
be a disparate standard for unaccompanied minors compared to
those housed with their mothers in the FRCs.

Response: It is true that all GROs, including the FRCs, are
potentially eligible for a waiver or variance of a particular stan-
dard. However, the issuance of any waiver or variance is guided
by published standards and policy and tempered always by the
need to protect children.

Waivers and variances are tools to assist child-care providers
to comply with standards within a specified period of time,
without compromising the safety of children served by the
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operation. A waiver or variance is not an entitlement. (See
§745.8301 of this title (relating to What if | cannot comply
with a specific minimum standard?)). Staff must evaluate
the risk to children, along with several other specified vari-
ables, before granting approval for a waiver or variance.
(See §745.8307 of this title (relating to How does Licensing
make the decision to grant or deny my waiver or variance
request?), and Licensing Policy and Procedures Handbook
Section 5110 (available at https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/hand-
books/Licensing/Files/LPPH_pg_5000.asp#LPPH_5100)). A
waiver or variance may not be granted if child safety would
be negatively impacted. All waivers and variances, and any
conditions placed on the waivers and variances, are time
limited, and may be revoked or amended by CCL at any time
if appropriate. (See §745.8317 of this title (relating to Can
Licensing amend or revoke a waiver or variance, including its
conditions?)). When granting a waiver or variance, conditions
must be put into place to ensure that children are not at risk.
(See §745.8313 of this title (relating to Is a waiver or variance
unconditional?)) Such conditions must be easily observable
and measurable by CCL staff as well as the caregivers in
the facility. Licensing Policy & Procedure Handbook Section
5120 (available at http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/handbooks/Li-
censing/Files/LPPH_pg_5000.asp#LPPH_5120) Conditions are
another way of achieving compliance with minimum standards
and reducing risk to children. Conditions must be evaluated
during each inspection and during each investigation relevant
to the standard and the conditions. /d.

(3) Comments Relating to Problems with Detention in General
and in the Individual FRCs:

Comment: Several commenters expressed opposition to the
proposed rule on the grounds that the FRCs DFPS is seeking
to license are not child care centers but rather detention centers
designed to house individuals in the custody of ICE during im-
migration proceedings. Commenters argued that although the
children are housed with their mothers, the mothers are stripped
of authority to make decisions for their children's well-being.
Commenters stated that the centers are similar to prisons in
that they are enclosed within tall walls and barbed wire fences;
house a large number of individuals rather than adhere to any
specific child-to-provider ratio; require the families to submit to
badge checks several times a day and pass through electroni-
cally locked doors for access to basic areas; limit and monitor
access to telephones and computers which are provided to
families at a monetary cost; discipline the families through the
use of pepper spray and harsh consequences for children's
misbehavior; threaten to remove children from mothers for
failure to follow rules or if complaints are made; and house
unrelated adults and children of different genders together in
small non-private spaces. Many commenters further noted that
the centers are operated by private prison corporations and
staffed by individuals with backgrounds in law enforcement
rather than individuals with experience and training in child
care. Commenters also noted that simply hiring more staff with
a background in law enforcement rather than child care will not
change conditions in the FRCs.

Response: In both the rule and this adoption preamble, DFPS
has stressed repeatedly that whether the FRC is operated as a
detention or secure FRC is outside its purview. However, pre-
cisely because it appears that the mothers in the FRCs are di-
vested of some or even all of their parental authority (when sepa-
rated from their children, for example), DFPS has concluded that
the FRCs and their staff are providing child care. The purpose of

licensure is to ensure compliance with the standards for the pro-
vision of such care. Those standards, as previously discussed,
are robust. Of particular relevance to this question, there are
many standards that relate to the appropriate use of discipline
and punishment found in Subchapter M of this chapter (relating
to Administrative Reviews and Due Process Hearings). There
are detailed standards regarding the limited use of Emergency
Behavior Intervention (EBI) found in Subchapter N of this chap-
ter (relating to Administrator Licensing).

Next, while it may be true that the FRCs have heretofore hired
staff with law enforcement experience, this does not translate
inexorably to the same practices continuing in the future, nor
does it alter the FRCs' obligation to comply with the child-care re-
lated training requirements placed on GROs by Minimum Stan-
dards. While the training requirements vary somewhat based
on the services provided in a particular GRO, any caregiver at
a licensed operation must participate in orientation, pre-service
training, and annual training. Orientation gives the caregiver the
opportunity to learn about the philosophy, organizational struc-
ture, policies, and a description of the services and programs the
operation offers, as well as the needs and characteristics of chil-
dren that the operation serves. Pre-service training focuses on
topics relevant to job duties and must include, inter alia, content
on appropriate discipline; child development; measures to iden-
tify, treat, and report suspected abuse, neglect and exploitation;
and safety and emergency procedures. See §748.881 of this ti-
tle (relating to What curriculum components must be included in
the general pre-service training?)) Each caregiver would be re-
quired to receive a minimum of 16 hours of pre-service training
in a course led by a qualified instructor. (See §748.863 of this
title (relating to What are the pre-service hourly training require-
ments for caregivers and employees?) and §748.869 of this title
(relating to What are the instructor requirements for providing
pre-service training?)). It must be competency based and re-
quire participants to demonstrate competency upon completion.
Each caregiver must complete a minimum of 20 hours of addi-
tional training annually, including specific training on EBI if it is
used in the facility. (See §748.931 of this title (relating to What
are the annual training requirements for caregivers and employ-
ees?)). Overall, the comments imply that licensure as a GRO
would not change current practice in the FRC, a contention with
which, as discussed above, DFPS disagrees.

Comment: Many commenters expressed concern over the risk
of psychological harm for children and families residing in the
centers. These commenters stated that the risk is particularly
acute for immigrants, who have often fled persecution, abuse,
and frequent trauma in their homelands. Commenters also as-
serted that children are especially at risk of developing short
and long-term mental health issues due to being detained in the
centers. One commenter specifically noted that infants living in
detention centers have problems with brain development and
social functioning due to disruptions in emotional attachments
to their mothers, and children living in detention centers tend
to have greater maladaptive social and emotional development,
academic failure, and criminal involvement than children not liv-
ing in detention centers. One commenter noted that the children
know they are in detention centers and feel they are being pun-
ished, thereby, normalizing the concept of detention and nega-
tively impacting their moral development and understanding of
the criminal justice system. Further, commenters stated that
many women and children in the centers are exhibiting symp-
toms of post-traumatic stress disorder, anxiety, depression, and
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other mental illnesses, and are not receiving adequate treatment
for these issues.

Response: While DFPS is sympathetic to the concerns raised,
the agency has no role in whether a person is placed or detained
in one of the FRCs. However, so long as children are housed
there, and so long as mothers are not permitted to fully exer-
cise their parental responsibility, DFPS considers the FRCs to
be providing child care. It is more protective of the children in
the FRCs for DFPS to exercise its oversight than to abdicate its
responsibility based on the notion that the centers are harmful.

Comment: A number of commenters expressed concern that the
living conditions in the centers fail to meet the basic needs of chil-
dren and families and pose fundamental threats to their health
and safety. Commenters' specific concerns included residents'
inadequate access to healthy, regular meals and snacks; cold
temperatures in the centers and residents' inadequate access
to heating or blankets; close living quarters in the centers with
a large number of unrelated individuals; unhygienic living con-
ditions; other poor living conditions and inadequate access to
education for minors in the centers.

Response: Living conditions, to the extent they are covered by
CCL's Minimum Standards for GROs, would addressed during
the licensure process. To the extent the living conditions relate
to be the practices of the federal government or its contractors
with respect to adults in the FRCs, they are outside DFPS' scope
of authority.

Comment: A significant number of commenters expressed con-
cern that residents' health care needs are not being met in the
Karnes County and Dilley centers. One commenter noted that
the US Commission on Civil Rights found that the Karnes County
center failed to comply with federal standards for medical care.
Commenters asserted that specific problems at the centers in-
clude: failure to administer proper medical protocol; failure of
medical staff to obtain informed consent of patients prior to med-
ical treatment; unavailability of doctors when residents are ill;
failure to timely treat residents' illnesses; failure to timely refer
patients to hospitals when they are critically ill; administration of
adult doses of vaccines to children; prescription of solely wa-
ter or Vick's Vaporub to treat various ilinesses, including serious
illnesses; lack of follow-up care; unreasonably lengthy waiting
times to receive care; and mothers being asked to sign waivers
stating they have declined medical care if they leave the medical
facility for any reason, despite long waiting times.

Response: DFPS' scope of authority is limited to the provision
of medical care to children in the facility, and defers to the exper-
tise of medical professionals in the determination of frequency
and mode of treatment. However, Minimum Standards contain
requirements specifically geared at ensuring a baseline of ade-
quate medical treatment for children in care.

Generally speaking, an operation must provide medical and den-
tal care to children in the operation. A child in care must re-
ceive medical and dental care: (1) initially, upon admission; (2)
at as early an age as necessary; (3) as needed for relief of pain
and infections (dental) or as needed for injury, iliness, and pain
(medical); and (4) as needed for ongoing maintenance of den-
tal or medical health. See §748.1501 of this title (relating to
What general dental requirements must my operation meet?)
and §748.1531 of this title (relating to What general medical re-
quirements must my operation meet?).

A licensed dentist must determine the need and frequency of on-
going maintenance of dental health. (See §748.1503 of this title

(relating to Who must determine the need and frequency of on-
going maintenance of dental health for a child?). A health-care
professional must determine the need and frequency for ongo-
ing maintenance of medical care and treatment for a child. (See
§748.1533 of this title (relating to Who determines the need and
frequency for ongoing maintenance of medical care and treat-
ment for a child?)). The operation must comply with dentist and
health-care professional recommendations for examinations and
treatment for each child. (See §748.1501(d) and §748.1531(d)
of this title). Subchapter J of this chapter (relating to Child Care)
contains additional requirements related to various aspects of
health care, including immunizations, communicable diseases,
and nutrition and hydration, among others. Additional rights for
children in care related to treatment are found in Subchapter H
of this chapter (relating to Child Rights).

Comment: Several commenters expressed concerns related to
issues with the staff at the centers. One commenter expressed
concern about the ethical practices of the management of the
Karnes County center after her experience as a social worker
there. The commenter reported being repeatedly asked to omit
written information about residents' mental health needs from re-
ports, to lie to federal immigration officials, and to withhold infor-
mation from residents about their rights within the center. Other
commenters asserted that staff misconduct regarding abuse and
sexual assault has not been adequately addressed. In addition,
one commenter stated that the centers are not complying with
the Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) solitary confinement
practices, which require that solitary confinement of minors to
keep them or other residents safe only be used as a last resort.
A few commenters noted that not only are the centers under-
staffed, but the employees are not qualified or trained to serve
the families.

Response: Some of the concerns are outside DFPS' scope,
such as extent of compliance with PREA. However, CCL will be
implementing and enforcing Minimum Standards that would ad-
dress some of the concerns regarding staff, at least insofar as
they are serving in the role as a caregiver to a child. As pre-
viously discussed, Minimum Standards contain relatively exten-
sive training requirements for all caregivers. For any facility that
utilizes EBI, the training must include current information on EBI,
and DFPS regulations generally require de-escalation and other
age-appropriate techniques prior to utilization of any more se-
vere measures. DFPS could not monitor staffing as a general
proposition, but would monitor the adequacy of staff for the pur-
poses of child-to-caregiver ratios in place in the FRCs. Minimum
Standards also require various measures related to personnel
and record keeping. In particular a permit holder must ensure the
reporting of serious incidents including suspected abuse, neglect
and exploitation. (See §748.105 of this title (relating to What are
my operational responsibilities as the permit holder?)). Record
keeping must ensure accurate and current child records. (See
§748.393 of this title (relating to How must | maintain an active
child record?)).

Comment: Several commenters advised that DFPS should take
heed and not partake in the historical repetition of using fam-
ily detention centers that inflict harm upon children and families.
Commenters described how the T. Don Hutto Family Detention
Center, ICE's first detention center in Texas that opened in 2006
and was operated by the for-profit corporation CCA, became a
national and international scandal due to its substandard living
quarters, inadequate health care, and inhumane treatment of
children. Commenters noted that the American Civil Liberties
Union of Texas (ACLU) and the University of Texas Immigration
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Law Clinic successfully sued ICE to stop the use of the center
for the detainment of immigrant children and families.

Response: DFPS does not influence whether a family or child is
placed in an FRC; rather, DFPS is carrying out its duty "to protect
the health, safety, and well-being of the children of the state who
reside in child-care facilities by establishing statewide minimum
standards for their safety and protection and by regulating the
facilities through a licensing program" for those children who are
placed in the FRC. (See HRC §42.001).

(4) Comments Relating to DFPS' Authority to Investigate Abuse
and Neglect Allegations in the Facilities Without Licensure:

Comment: Several commenters opposed licensure, stating that
DFPS has statutory authority to investigate abuse and neglect
in non-licensed FRCs, and therefore, can already provide reg-
ular and comprehensive oversight of the centers without licen-
sure. The commenters stated that DFPS offers no explanation
of how licensing and exempting the FRCs from minimum child-
care standards will protect the children from abuse and neglect.
Furthermore, the commenters asserted that creating exemptions
will weaken DFPS' ability to ensure child safety and well-being.
One commenter suggested that rather than licensing the FRCs,
DFPS should instead appoint an independent medical and psy-
chological team to investigate reports of abuse, neglect, and ex-
ploitation in order to monitor and assure the well-being of the
detained children.

Response: DFPS has consistently maintained that CPS could
investigate reports of abuse or neglect by a parent or caretaker
in the FRCs. Conducting abuse or neglect investigations, how-
ever, is only one part of regulation. A child abuse or neglect
investigation conducted by childcare licensing should be con-
ducted within the scope of the operation's effort to comply with
relevant minimum standards.

Significantly, for the purposes of child protection, licensure of-
fers an ongoing avenue to monitor medical care as well as al-
legations of abuse and neglect and other deficiencies in FRCs.
While the commenters were concerned that the only additional
authority in the licensure would be to inspect specific licensing
requirements, this is in truth a significant enhancement, as de-
tailed herein, and invokes a comprehensive regulatory and pro-
tective scheme. Responding to reports of abuse and neglect is
reactive, and it assumes that a vulnerable individual has access
to a telephone or the Internet to freely make the report. Licen-
sure is comprehensive, ongoing, and gives DFPS the authority
to make both announced and unannounced inspections, in ad-
dition to investigating individual reports of abuse or neglect. If a
staff member is found to have abused or neglected a child there
could be implications to the staff member's ability to work in the
operation, which would not occur if the facility were not subject
to regulation as a child-care facility, specifically as a GRO.

Finally, DFPS lacks authority to appoint an independent medi-
cal and psychological team to investigate reports of abuse, ne-
glect and exploitation. The agency itself has the authority to in-
vestigate, but cannot without additional statutory authority and
resources abdicate this responsibility and grant it instead to an
independent group of medical and psychological professionals.

(5) Comments Relating to the Flores Settlement:

Comment: Many commenters argued that placing children in the
Dilley and Karnes County centers violates the Flores settlement,
which provides that children in immigration custody be placed in
the least restrictive setting appropriate to their age and special

needs, generally, a non-secure FRC licensed to care for depen-
dent, as opposed to delinquent, minors. Commenters argued
that the prison-like environments of the FRCs violate Flores, and
licensing the FRCs with various exceptions will not remedy the
violation. One commenter was concerned that the potential li-
censure of the two FRCs would permit ICE and its private part-
ners to attempt to claim compliance with Judge Gee's July 24,
2015, and August 21, 2015, orders. One commenter noted that
the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights conducted an extensive
investigation into the FRCs and found that the Department of
Homeland Security and its contractors are not holding children
in the least restrictive settings. Additionally, one commenter as-
serted detainment is unnecessary because the majority of the
families at the FRCs have already demonstrated credible fear to
an asylum officer, do not pose a threat to public safety, and have
relatives in the United States to house them while they await a
hearing.

Response: DFPS has repeatedly emphasized that its role with
respect to the two FRCs currently in Texas is to oversee the care
of the children who are housed with their mothers or family mem-
bers there, not to determine whether the facility is secure. DFPS
has no control over whether individuals are placed in the FRCs,
and any outcome in the litigation is a matter outside the scope
of DFPS' purview.

(6) Comment Concerning DFPS' Overall Authority to License the
FRCs:

Comment: One commenter argued that DFPS' regulation of
FRCs was unlawful and without authority because the FRCs
violate state laws regarding the detention of juveniles. The
commenter argued that the Texas Family Code offers a "robust
series of statutes that specifically prohibit, and even criminalize
placement of certain children in secure detention facilities."
The commenter documented reasons why the FRCs should be
considered secure detention facilities, including the use of tech-
niques such as isolation as punishment, the existence of high
walls, restrictions on movement, and so forth. The commenter
then argued that because they are secure detention facilities
where children are held, the FRCs, and any licensure of those
FRCs, violates Texas laws regarding juvenile offenders. Specif-
ically, the commenter asserts both that DFPS lacks statutory
authority for and that DFPS is explicitly banned from licensure
of the FRCs, though for the latter point no particular authority
is cited. The rule, per the commenter, is without legal authority
because children in the FRCs may be detained beyond statutory
time frames and in contravention of other restrictions in Chapter
51 of the Texas Family Code (TFC), and because the children
are never adjudicated in front of a Texas juvenile court but are
being housed to enforce deportation laws, in contravention of
TFC §54.011(f). Further, the commenter suggested that DFPS'
licensure effectively aids in the commission of a Class B mis-
demeanor under the same statutory provision of TFC §54.011.
The commenter explained that Texas juvenile detention laws
prohibit the secure detention of children under the age of ten.
Finally, after arguing that DFPS has no authority to regulate the
centers as child-care facilities, the commenter concluded that
DFPS was obligated to immediately order the FRCs to cease
operation because they have been operating without such a
license for more than one year pursuant to CCL's enabling
chapter.

Response: The commenter's arguments related to the TFC are
misplaced. As noted in materials attached by the commenter,
the chapters of the TFC in question relate to facilities operated
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by or on behalf of the Texas Juvenile Justice Department or on
behalf of a juvenile board in the state of Texas. They do not gov-
ern federal facilities, including the FRCs under discussion in this
rule promulgation. To the commenter's point that DFPS should
immediately order the FRCs to cease operation as unlicensed fa-
cilities, DFPS has not previously issued regulatory guidance re-
garding the FRCs' status and to take enforcement action against
the operators of the FRCs would in all likelihood violate the Ad-
ministrative Procedure Act, Chapter 2001 of the Texas Govern-
ment Code, in addition to being patently unjust. DFPS declines
to take any such action on the basis of a previously nonexistent
regulatory pronouncement.

(7) Comments Relating to the Proposed Rule Being Contrary to
DFPS' mission:

Comment: A significant number of commenters argued that the
proposed rule is at odds with DFPS' mission to protect children
and families from abuse, neglect, and exploitation. These com-
menters expressed concern over the FRCs' ability to provide for
the safety and well-being of children when the FRCs were cre-
ated to detain immigrants under federal immigration law and are
managed by privately-owned prison companies under contract
with ICE. A few commenters called DFPS' integrity into ques-
tion, asserting that the decision to license these FRCs is not mo-
tivated by concern for the children because licensing would not
address or solve the problem of family detention. Specifically,
one commenter argued that the rule does not have the best in-
terests of children in mind, but rather exists only because these
FRCs were determined to be outside of compliance by the court
system. Additionally, many commenters argued that if DFPS
truly wanted to hold these FRCs accountable for the well-be-
ing of children, DFPS would have responded to the numerous
complaints received and investigated the FRCs under current
authority.

Response: DFPS has concluded that licensure of the FRCs is
mandated and consistent with its mission to protect vulnerable
children in care. DFPS views the licensure process as a tool to
enhance the FRCs' ability to provide for the children's safety and
well-being. DFPS seeks not to solve the problem of family deten-
tion, but rather to provide protective oversight for children who
find themselves in the FRCs. Finally, based on careful and ongo-
ing review of the issues over the course of time, DFPS' position
has evolved and culminated in the regulatory action contained
herein.

(8) Comments Relating to the Fiscal Implications of the Proposed
Rule:

Comment: A few commenters noted that the Child Care Licens-
ing Division of DFPS already has limited resources so licensing
two large facilities would have negative fiscal implications and in-
volve a drain on other crucial agency resources. One commenter
expressed concern over DFPS' estimate that the rule will have
no fiscal impact upon the agency, questioning how DFPS would
provide the essential protection of regular and comprehensive
oversight to the centers without a budget. Additionally, the com-
menter expressed concern for the lack of budget line items for
psychiatrists, psychologists, or counselors in the private opera-
tors' budget of $32 million a year for both centers. Additionally, a
few commenters noted that there are other established alterna-
tives that could address the government's legitimate interests in
managing immigration and ensuring child safety without inflicting
further trauma on the families and at a lower financial cost.

Response: DFPS has concluded that it can absorb the workload
associated with the rule within current resources, at least during
the first five years following the rule's effective date. One of the
FRCs submitted commentary that DFPS' fiscal estimates were
too low, as discussed herein. DFPS believes its estimates are
sound. Ultimately, the FRCs will assess the true costs of com-
pliance to them and engage in the requisite cost-benefit balance
analysis to determine how to proceed. Alternatives to the federal
government's current immigration practice are outside the scope
of this rule and DFPS' authority.

(9) Comments Relating to the Berks County Residential Center
in Leesport, Pennsylvania:

Comment: Two commenters noted that the Pennsylvania De-
partment of Human Services has publicly stated that it will refuse
to renew the license of Berks County Residential Center, an ICE
family detention center in Pennsylvania housing immigrant chil-
dren and families similar to the Karnes County and Dilley cen-
ters, if the practice of using the facility as a secure family de-
tention center continues because such practice is inconsistent
with its current license as a child residential facility. The com-
menters urged DFPS to follow suit and refuse to license the
Karnes County and Dilley centers.

Response: DFPS respects Pennsylvania's interpretation of its
licensing laws and regulations. For the purposes of Texas law,
DFPS has determined that the oversight inherent in licensure
better serves the aims of child protection than the lack thereof.

(10) Comments Relating to the City of Dilley's Lack of Infrastruc-
ture to Support the Dilley Center:

Comment: One commenter opposed the rule, not due to the rule
itself, but because the city of Dilley, with a population of only
3,894 residents, does not possess the infrastructure to support
a large detention center. The commenter noted that water has
cut out several times for the entire city since the Dilley center
opened, and the center has had to call the city's emergency ser-
vices for other unrelated incidents rather than being able to re-
solve such issues internally.

Response: DFPS would make basic assessments regarding the
physical site as part of the licensure process. An assessment of
the city's infrastructure would be beyond DFPS' authority, which
would focus on the adequacy of the facility and its utilities vis-a-
vis the provision of child care.

(11) Comments of Reasons for Adoption:

Comment: DFPS received two requests for a written, detailed
rationale of the reasons for its adoption, or non-adoption, of the
rule in question.

Response: While no particular authority was cited, DFPS will err
on the side of maximum transparency and construe the requests
to be requests for a statement of reasons for or against adoption
pursuant to Texas Government Code §2001.030. Again, in the
interest of maximum transparency, DFPS will include the state-
ment in this preamble, though such inclusion is not required by
the Government Code.

The principal reasons urged against the adoption of the rule may
be summarized by reference to themes 2-10 detailed in the com-
ments and response section. DFPS' reasoning for overruling the
considerations and adopting the rule is discussed in detail in the
summary section as well. It may be summarized by reiterating
that the agency has concluded the broad regulatory scheme in
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place for GROs will be more protective of children than taking no
action regarding the provision of child care without a license.

Section 748.7 is being adopted with change. DFPS staff made
modifications to subsection (c), paragraphs (1), (2), (3), and sub-
section (d) to clarify the extent of and reasons for the variances.

The new section is adopted under §40.0505, Human Resources
Code, and §531.0055, Government Code, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services.

The new section implements §42.042(a), Human Resources
Code.

§748.7.  How are these regulations applied to family residential cen-
ters?

(a) Definition. A family residential center is one that meets all
of the following requirements:

(1) The center is operated by or under a contract with
United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement;

(2) The center is operated to enforce federal immigration
laws;

(3) Each child at the center is detained with a parent or
other adult family member, who remains with the child at the center;
and

(4) A parent or family member with a child provides the
direct care for the child except for specific circumstances when the
child is cared for directly by the center or another adult in the custody
of the center.

(b) Classification. A family residential center is a general res-
idential operation (GRO) and must comply with all associated require-
ments for GROs, unless the family residential center is approved for an
individual waiver or variance or an exception is provided in this section.
The department is responsible for regulating the provision of childcare
as authorized by Chapters 40 and 42, Texas Human Resources Code
and Chapter 261, Texas Human Resources Code. The department does
not oversee requirements that pertain to other law, including whether
the facilities are classified as secure or in compliance with any operable
settlement agreements or other state or federal restrictions.

(c) Exceptions. A family residential center is not required to
comply with all terms of the following Minimum Standards:

(1) the limitation of room occupants to four in §748.3357
of this title (relating to What are the requirements for floor space in a
bedroom used by a child?), except that nothing in this exception shall
be construed to require fewer than 60 square feet per child,

(2) the limitation on a child sharing a bedroom with an
adult in §748.3361 of this title (relating to May a child in care share
a bedroom with an adult?), if the bedroom is being shared in order to
allow a child to remain with the child's parent or other family member;
and

(3) the limitations on children of the opposite gender shar-
ing a room in §748.3363 of this title (relating to May children of oppo-
site genders share a bedroom?), except that nothing in this exception
shall be construed to permit children from different families who are
over the age of six and members of the opposite gender to share a bed-
room.

(d) Limitation of exception. Notwithstanding subsection (c)
of'this section, and as further described in §745.8313 of this title (relat-
ing to Is a waiver or variance unconditional?), the department retains
the authority for placing conditions on the scope of the exceptions au-
thorized for a family residential center, including conditions related to
limiting occupancy in accordance with fire safety standards, limitations
related to allowing children and adults of the opposite gender to occupy
the same room only if they are part of the same family, and any other
limitation determined by the department to be necessary to the health,
safety, or welfare of children in care.

(e) Division of responsibility. In addition to the application
materials described in §745.243(6) of this title (relating to What does a
completed application for a permit include?), an applicant for a license
under this section must submit the policies, procedures, and any other
documentation that the department deems necessary to clarify the divi-
sion of supervisory and caretaking responsibility between employees
of the facility and the parents and other adult family members who are
housed with the children. The department must approve the documen-
tation during the application process and any subsequent amendments
to the policies and procedures.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on February 10,
2016.
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Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: March 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015
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