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Adopted rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing
LE S rules. A rule adopted by a state agency takes effect 20 days after the date on which it is
filed with the Secretary of State unless a later date is required by statute or specified in
the rule (Government Code, §2001.036). If a rule is adopted without change to the text of the proposed rule, then the
Texas Register does not republish the rule text here. If a rule is adopted with change to the text of the proposed rule, then
the final rule text is included here. The final rule text will appear in the Texas Administrative Code on the effective date.

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION

after the effective date of the rules. However, based on the

PART 4. OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY
OF STATE

CHAPTER 98. DENTAL SUPPORT
ORGANIZATIONS

The Office of the Secretary of State (hereinafter referred to as
"Office") adopts new rules under Chapter 98, concerning dental
support organizations (DSOs). The Office adopts §98.5 without
changes to the proposed text as published in the December 25,
2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 9404). The Office
adopts §§98.1, 98.2, 98.3 and 98.4 with changes to the proposed
text as published in the December 25, 2015, issue of the Texas
Register (40 TexReg 9404). The changes to proposed §§98.1,
98.2, 98.3 and 98.4 are adopted to address certain comments
raised during the comment period, and are limited to clarification
and procedural, non-substantive modifications. Sections 98.1 -
98.4 will be republished.

Section 98.1 is added to define relevant terms. Paragraph (1)
defines the term "dental support agreement." Paragraph (2) de-
fines the term "non-dentist owner." Paragraph (3) defines "Pro-
fessional Entity."

Section 98.2 specifies the procedures for registering with the
secretary of state as well as renewing a registration as a DSO.

Section 98.3 provides that a registration for a DSO is valid for
one year and must be renewed annually. The section also pro-
vides clarification as to the time period in which DSOs must first
register.

Section 98.4 sets forth the procedures and time periods to submit
a certificate of correction.

Section 98.5 is added to set forth the required fees under Chap-
ter 73 of the Business & Commerce Code. Subsection (a) sets
forth the fee for registering or renewing the registration of a DSO.
Subsection (b) sets forth the fee for filing a statement of correc-
tion.

Three comments were received regarding adoption of the new
rules.

Steve Bresnan, on behalf of the Association of Dental Support
Organizations, submitted the following comments. The Office's
response to each comment is included with the description of
each comment:

1. The first comment requests clarification regarding when
DSOs are required to register. The comment suggests that
DSOs in existence as of the effective date of the rules, with
dental support agreements in existence as of the effective
date of the rules, be required to register no later than 90 days

language of SB 519, it is the position of this Office that the
statute provides for the timing of all registrations. In order to
clarify what is already provided in SB 519, §98.3(c) and (d) are
added to provide specific language as to the timing of the initial
registration for DSOs.

2. The second comment requests that the proposed rules be
amended to include that registration is required where the agree-
ments are between a professional entity owned by one or more
dentists and services are provided to such a professional entity.
After careful review, the Office finds that such a change to the
rules would be unnecessary because the language of SB 519
specifies that a dental support organization is defined as "an en-
tity that, under an agreement, provides two or more business
support services to a dentist." The types of agreements contem-
plated by the statute, whether entered into with a professional
entity or a dentist, still provide support services to a dentist. As a
result, the Office understands that registration would be required
whether or not the parties to an agreement include a professional
entity. However, to assist with some clarification, the Office has
added a definition to §98.1(3) to define professional entity, has
clarified §98.2(b)(2) to refer to the support services being pro-
vided to the dentist under a dental support agreement, has mod-
ified the definition of a dental support agreement in §98.1(1) to
refer to support services being provided to a dentist under an
agreement, and has included the name of the professional entity
through which dental services are provided, if any, to the regis-
tration requirements in §98.2(b)(2)(B).

3. The third comment requests changes to the language of the
proposed rules, where they refer to "applicant” and "applica-
tion [for registration]." Specifically, it generally requests that the
Office replace words such as "applicant" and "application" with
"registrant" and "registration”, respectively, contending that the
former language implies that the Office has regulatory authority
not given to it by SB 519, and thus allegedly exceeds the au-
thority of this Office. After careful review, the Office rejects the
notion that the language implies regulatory authority the Office
does not have because the Office retains the authority to reject
registrations for various reasons when the registration does not
facially comply with the statutory requirements (i.e., is missing
information required by §73.004 of the Business and Commerce
Code) or does not include the required fee, both of which the
comment itself recognizes are within the Office's authority. How-
ever, the Office is not opposed to the language suggested in the
third comment and therefore amends §§98.2, 98.3, and 98.4 to
replace references to "applicant" and "application" (as well as
"application for registration") with "registrant" and "registration"
or "registration form", as requested.

4. The fourth comment requests an extension to the time period
for submitting a statement of correction each quarter, to 45 days
after the end of the calendar quarter during which a change in
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the original registration occurs. The Office has amended §98.4
to include this 45-day time period.

5. The fifth comment requests an amendment to the pro-
posed rules to remove the requirement that the registration
include trade names. The fifth comment also contends that
§98.2(b)(2)(B) is surplus language as the DSO registrant's
name is already on the registration; however, the Office notes
that §98.2(b)(2)(B) refers to information to be provided regard-
ing the dentist, not the DSO, and, in any event, as amended,
§98.2(b)(2)(B) now refers to the name of a professional entity
through which a dentist provides services, in accordance with
the Office's response to the second comment. The Office also
amends §98.2 and §98.3 to remove references to trade names,
and only refer to legal names, and has clarified that the DSO
must include a legal name in any Statement of Correction in
§98.4(b)(1).

6. The sixth comment addresses the registration form and did
not request any changes to the proposed rules. The Office has
not made any modifications to the proposed rules based on the
sixth comment.

7. The seventh comment requests that the requirement regard-
ing notarizations be removed and that a registration be signed
by a person authorized to signed on behalf of the registrant and
include in the form an attestation to that effect. The Office incor-
porates this change by removing the notarization requirement in
§98.3 and §98.4.

Craig S. Armstrong, on behalf of the Texas Dental Association,
sent in a comment in support of the proposed rules.

Jordan Dixon, clerk of the Senate Committee on Health and Hu-
man Services, submitted a question regarding whether the rules
contained a clarification of the registration deadlines in SB 519;
this has been addressed in the adopted rules in response to Mr.
Bresnan's first comment as described above.

SUBCHAPTER A. DEFINITIONS
1 TAC §98.1
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The rule is adopted under the general rulemaking authority in
§2001.004 of the Texas Government Code, which requires state
agencies to adopt rules regarding the nature and requirements of
all formal and informal procedures. Furthermore, the new rule is
adopted pursuant to the authority of the secretary of state to set
a fee for filing under §73.004(b), Texas Business and Commerce
Code.

No other code or statute (besides Chapter 73 of Texas Business
& Commerce Code (referenced in the adopted and proposed
rules)) is affected by the adoption.

$98.1.  Definitions.

Words and terms defined in Chapter 73 of the Business & Commerce
Code shall have the same meaning in this chapter. In addition the fol-
lowing words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the fol-
lowing meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Dental Support Agreement--The agreement under
which a dental support organization provides two or more business
support services to a dentist.

(2) Non-Dentist Owner--A person, including a corpo-
ration, association, limited partnership, limited liability company,
limited liability partnership, sole proprietorship, or other legal entity,

who is not a licensed dentist but maintains 10% or more ownership in
a dental support organization.

(3) Professional Entity--A professional corporation, pro-
fessional limited liability company, professional association, general
partnership that provides a professional service, or limited partnership
that provides a professional service.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 21, 2016.

TRD-201601337

Lindsey Wolf

General Counsel

Office of the Secretary of State

Effective date: April 10, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 463-5586

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. REGISTRATION
AND RENEWAL OF DENTAL SUPPORT
ORGANIZATIONS

1 TAC §98.2, §98.3

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The rules are adopted under the general rulemaking authority in
§2001.004 of the Texas Government Code, which requires state
agencies to adopt rules regarding the nature and requirements of
all formal and informal procedures. Furthermore, the new rules
are adopted pursuant to the authority of the secretary of state to
set a fee for filing under §73.004(b), Texas Business and Com-
merce Code.

No other code or statute (besides Chapter 73 of Texas Business
& Commerce Code (referenced in the adopted and proposed
rules)) is affected by the adoption.

$98.2.  Registration and Renewal of Dental Support Organizations.
(a) A complete initial registration or renewal is comprised of:
(1) A completed registration form (See Form 3801);

(2) Payment of the filing fee stated in §98.5 of this chapter
(relating to Filing Fees); and

(3) A registrant contact sheet (See Form 3802).

(b) A registration or renewal must comply with the Business
& Commerce Code, §73.004, and also provide:

(1) For the dental support organization:
(A) The legal name; and

(B) The business address and mailing address, if differ-
ent.

(2) For each dentist who is being provided two or more
business support services under a dental support agreement:

(A) The dentist's name and business address;

(B) If the dentist provides services through a profes-
sional entity, the legal name of the professional entity; and
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(C) A disclosure of the business support services pro-
vided pursuant to any dental support agreement the dental support or-
ganization has.

(3) For each person who owns 10% or more of the dental
support organization:

(A) The name and address of the owner; and
(B) Whether the owner is a dentist or non-dentist owner.

(c) Each registration shall be signed by a person authorized to
act by or on behalf of the dental support organization.

$98.3.  Timing of Registration.

(a) Registrations will expire annually on December 31 of each
year. Renewals may be submitted from 90 days prior to expiration until
January 31 of the year for which the next registration will be effective,
by submitting a completed registration form and paying the filing fee,
except as provided in subsection (b) of this section.

(b) In the event a dental support organization meets the re-
quirements for registration under §73.004 of the Business & Commerce
Code after January 31, the dental support organization must file an ap-
plication for registration within 90 days after the date of execution of
a dental support agreement.

(c) The initial registration for a dental support organization
that has entered into a dental support agreement prior to February 1,
2016 must be filed not later than January 31, 2017.

(d) The initial registration for a dental support organization
that first enters into a dental support agreement on or after February 1,
2016 must be filed not later than the 90th day after the date the agree-
ment is executed.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 21, 2016.

TRD-201601338

Lindsey Wolf

General Counsel

Office of the Secretary of State

Effective date: April 10, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 463-5586

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. STATEMENT OF
CORRECTION

1 TAC §98.4

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The rule is adopted under the general rulemaking authority in
§2001.004 of the Texas Government Code, which requires state
agencies to adopt rules regarding the nature and requirements of
all formal and informal procedures. Furthermore, the new rule is
adopted pursuant to the authority of the secretary of state to set
a fee for filing under §73.004(b), Texas Business and Commerce
Code.

No other code or statute (besides Chapter 73 of Texas Business
& Commerce Code (referenced in the adopted and proposed
rules)) is affected by the adoption.

$§98.4.  Corrections.

(a) A dental support organization must submit a statement of
correction if, during the quarter, any information provided in the reg-
istration changes.

(b) A statement of correction must include the following in-
formation:

(1) The legal name of the dental support organization;
(2) The date of the last filed registration;

(3) Any identification number assigned by the secretary of
state assigned to the dental support organization; and

(4) A statement identifying the information that has
changed.

(c) A dental support organization that is required to submit a
statement of correction in accordance with subsection (a) shall do so
according to the following schedule:

(1) First quarter (January 1 - March 31) - Statement of cor-
rection due not later than the 45th day after March 31.

(2) Second quarter (April 1 - June 30) - Statement of cor-
rection due not later than the 45th day after June 30.

(3) Third quarter (July 1 - September 30) - Statement of
correction due not later than the 45th day after September 30; and

(4) Fourth quarter (October 1 - December 31) - Statement
of correction due not later than the 45th day after December 31.

(d) Each statement of correction shall be signed by a person
authorized to act by or on behalf of the dental support organization.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 21, 2016.

TRD-201601339

Lindsey Wolf

General Counsel

Office of the Secretary of State

Effective date: April 10, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 463-5586

L4 14 24
SUBCHAPTER D. FILING FEES
1 TAC §98.5
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The rule is adopted under the general rulemaking authority in
§2001.004 of the Texas Government Code, which requires state
agencies to adopt rules regarding the nature and requirements of
all formal and informal procedures. Furthermore, the new rule is
adopted pursuant to the authority of the secretary of state to set
a fee for filing under §73.004(b), Texas Business and Commerce
Code.

No other code or statute (besides Chapter 73 of Texas Business
& Commerce Code (referenced in the adopted and proposed
rules)) is affected by the adoption.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 21, 2016.

TRD-201601340

Lindsey Wolf

General Counsel

Office of the Secretary of State

Effective date: April 10, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 463-5586

L4 L4 ¢
TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION

PART 4. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
LICENSING AND REGULATION

CHAPTER 120. LICENSED DYSLEXIA
THERAPISTS AND LICENSED DYSLEXIA
PRACTITIONERS

The Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commis-
sion) adopts new rules at 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC)
Chapter 120, §§120.1, 120.10, 120.20, 120.21, 120.26, 120.65,
120.67 - 120.70, 120.90 and 120.95, regarding the Licensed
Dyslexia Therapists and Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners pro-
gram, without changes to the proposed text as published in the
December 25, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg
9413). These rules will not be republished.

The Commission adopts new rules at 16 TAC Chapter 120,
§§120.22 - 120.25, 120.66 and 120.80 with changes to the
proposed text as published in December 25, 2015, issue of
the Texas Register (40 TexReg 9413). These rules will be
republished.

The Texas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 202 (S.B. 202), 84th
Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which, in part, transferred
13 occupational licensing programs in two phases from the De-
partment of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Commission
and the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (Depart-
ment). The Licensed Dyslexia Therapists and Licensed Dyslexia
Practitioners program is part of the phase 1 transfer.

The adopted new rules under 16 TAC Chapter 120 are necessary
to implement S.B. 202 and to regulate the Licensed Dyslexia
Therapists and Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners program under
the authority of the Commission and the Department. The rules
provide for the Department to perform the various functions, in-
cluding licensing, compliance, and enforcement, necessary to
regulate the program. These adopted new rules are separate
from and are not to be confused with the DSHS rules located
at 25 TAC Chapter 140, Subchapter K, regarding the Dyslexia
Therapists and Dyslexia Practitioners program, which are still in
effect.

Sections 120.1, 120.10, and 120.65 - 120.69 are adopted with
an effective date of April 15, 2016, to enable the Department
to form the Dyslexia Therapists and Practitioners Advisory
Committee in advance of the date that the Licensed Dyslexia
Therapists and Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners program begins
operation at the Department. The remaining rule sections

are adopted with an effective date of October 1, 2016. The
Department will officially commence all regulatory functions
for the Licensed Dyslexia Therapists and Licensed Dyslexia
Practitioners program on October 3, 2016.

The adopted new §120.1 provides the statutory authority to reg-
ulate licensed dyslexia therapists and practitioners.

The adopted new §120.10 creates the definitions to be used in
this chapter.

The adopted new §120.20 establishes the application criteria.

The adopted new §120.21 establishes the licensing require-
ments for dyslexia therapists.

The adopted new §120.22 establishes the licensing require-
ments for dyslexia practitioners.

The adopted new §120.23 creates the examination guidelines.

The adopted new §120.24 sets the requirements for training pro-
grams.

The adopted new §120.25 creates the continuing education re-
quirements for all licenses in this program.

The adopted new §120.26 sets the parameters for renewing a
license.

The adopted new §120.65 establishes the authority and mem-
bership of the Dyslexia Therapists and Practitioners Advisory
Committee.

The adopted new §120.66 creates the duties of the Dyslexia
Therapists and Practitioners Advisory Committee.

The adopted new §120.67 sets the terms and vacancies process
for the Dyslexia Therapists and Practitioners Advisory Commit-
tee.

The adopted new §120.68 provides for a presiding officer of the
Dyslexia Therapists and Practitioners Advisory Committee.

The adopted new §120.69 sets the parameters and provides in-
struction for calling a meeting of the Dyslexia Therapists and
Practitioners Advisory Committee.

The adopted new §120.70 creates the responsibilities for license
holders.

The adopted new §120.80 establishes the fees related to the
licensed dyslexia therapists and licensed dyslexia practitioners
program.

The adopted new §120.90 creates professional standards that
all licensees must adhere to. This section also establishes the
basis on which disciplinary action may be taken.

The adopted new §120.95 provides information on how the pub-
lic may reach the department to file a complaint against a license
holder.

The Department drafted and distributed the proposed rules to
persons internal and external to the agency. The proposed rules
were published in the December 25, 2015, issue of the Texas
Register (40 TexReg 9413). The deadline for public comments
was January 25, 2016. The Department held a public hearing
on the proposed rules on January 12, 2016. The Department re-
ceived written comments from four interested parties and three
oral comments, including two from the Academic Language
Therapy Association on the proposed rules during the 30-day
public comment period.
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Comment--Three commenters expressed general approval of
the proposed rules, including specifically the provisions for on-
line renewal and updating personal information, the requirement
to conduct background checks on applicants, the requirement
for the advisory committee meetings to be held in compliance
with the Open Meetings Act, the focus in the rules on what is
best for the public, the availability of the toll-free complaint line,
the consideration of dyslexia treatment as a health profession,
and not charging subscription or convenience fees.

Department Response--The Department acknowledges and ap-
preciates the expressions of satisfaction with the proposed rules.
No changes have been made to the rules in response to these
comments.

Comment--Three commenters expressed concern about the
meaning and implications of the phrase "...Academic Language
Therapy Association or its equivalent, as approved by the
department..." appearing in the rules in relation to certifications
and to continuing education programs offered or approved by
the Academic Language Therapy Association (ALTA). The com-
menters expressed concern about whether the future Dyslexia
Therapists and Practitioners Advisory Committee members
would play a role in the approvals, and how those members
would be chosen to serve on the committee.

Department Response--The Texas Occupations Code, Chapter
403 does not require or authorize the Department to accept only
ALTA certifications or programs or approvals of programs of con-
tinuing education. Therefore the Department has included this
language to recognize that ALTA is currently approved but that
other providers or a successor entity to ALTA could be approved
in the future. The Dyslexia Therapists and Practitioners Advi-
sory Committee members would be involved in the evaluation of
other providers, but the power to approve them is reserved to
the Department. The Department conducts the recruitment and
examination of the credentials of potential committee members,
and the presiding officer of the Commission appoints the mem-
bers upon approval by the Commission. The member selection
process is governed by Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 51
and 16 TAC Chapters 60 and 120 (these rules). The Department
and Commission have considerable experience applying the re-
quirements for evaluating and selecting qualified candidates for
multiple advisory bodies. No change has been made to the rules
in response to this comment.

Comment--Five commenters expressed concern that licensees
who obtained therapist licensure without a master's degree in
the past might now be required to obtain a master's degree in
order to renew their licenses. One of the commenters requested
that the rules include a provision stating that the master's degree
requirement will not now be imposed on dyslexia therapists who
are currently licensed.

Department Response--The Department will continue to renew
licenses that were validly issued under the requirements appli-
cable at the time of issuance as long as all current renewal re-
quirements are satisfied, including completion of continuing ed-
ucation requirements and payment of fees. Requirements for
renewal of the therapist license do not include the requirement
to hold a master's degree. The Department will not impose at
renewal, retroactively or otherwise, requirements for initial licen-
sure that were not applicable at the time of issuance. However;
all applicants for new or renewal licenses may be subject to new
requirements that are imposed by law. Applicants who let their li-
censes lapse and who no longer qualify to late-renew the license

must meet the current requirements for licensure. No change
has been made to the rules in response to these comments.

Comment--Three commenters suggested that the term "aca-
demic language teacher" should be removed from the rules
because there is no longer such a credential.

Department Response--The Department agrees and has re-
moved the term "academic language teacher" from the rule.

Comment--Two commenters pointed out that there are not
two dyslexia licensing examinations available as indicated in
§120.23 and §120.66.

Department Response--The Department agrees and has modi-
fied §120.23 and §120.66 to make the correction.

Comment--Three commenters expressed concern that §120.24
lists only one of the requirements specified in Texas Occupations
Code §403.106(a), and are concerned that the requirements in
the statute are still applicable.

Department Response--All requirements in Texas Occupations
Code, Chapter 403 and in the adopted rules are applicable and
enforceable. Most of the provisions in Chapter 403 are not re-
peated in the rules in the interest of clarity and brevity. The
§403.106(a)(11) provision was included in the rule in order to
update the referenced version of the cited publication only. A
clarifying change was made to the rule in §120.24 to include the
applicability of Texas Occupations Code §403.106.

Comment--One commenter questioned the ability of the Depart-
ment and the advisory committee to determine whether a train-
ing program meets the requirements of Texas Occupations Code
§403.106, as provided in proposed rule §120.24(b), due to the
special expertise required to make such a determination.

Department Response--The requirement for the Department to
consult with the advisory committee to determine whether a train-
ing program meets the requirements of §403.106 is located in
§403.106(c). The repetition of this requirement in rule is not nec-
essary therefore, the Department has removed it. It is within the
Department's power to summon all necessary resources to make
any such determination as needed.

The Department made changes to the proposed rules based on
written comments and oral comments received during the public
hearing held on January 12, 2016. At its meeting on March 9,
2016, the Commission adopted the proposed rules with the rec-
ommended changes and with separate effective dates. Sections
120.1,120.10, and 120.65 - 120.69 are adopted with an effective
date of April 15, 2016, and the remaining sections are adopted
with an effective date of October 1, 2016.

16 TAC §§120.1, 120.10, 120.65 - 120.69

The new rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code,
Chapters 51 and 403, which authorize the Commission, the
Department's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to
implement these chapters and any other law establishing a
program regulated by the Department.

The statutory provisions affected by the adoption are those set
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 403. No other
statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the adoption.

§120.66. Duties.

The committee shall advise the department regarding rules relating to
the licensure and regulation of dyslexia therapists and dyslexia practi-
tioners, including continuing education requirements and the approved
examination for licensure.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 18, 2016.

TRD-201601280

William H. Kuntz, Jr.

Executive Director

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Effective date: April 15, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179
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16 TAC §§120.20 - 120.26, 120.70, 120.80, 120.90, 120.95

The new rules are adopted under Texas Occupations Code,
Chapters 51 and 403, which authorize the Commission, the
Department's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to
implement these chapters and any other law establishing a
program regulated by the Department.

The statutory provisions affected by the adoption are those set
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 403. No other
statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the adoption.

§120.22. Dpyslexia Practitioner Licensing Requirements.

(a) A person who holds current certification as an academic
language practitioner issued by the Academic Language Therapy As-
sociation or its equivalent, as approved by the department, may be li-
censed as a dyslexia practitioner if the person has earned a bachelor's
degree from an accredited public or private institution of higher edu-
cation.

(b) A person who qualifies for licensure under subsection (a),
is not required to provide documentation to the department that the
person meets the requirements of Occupations Code §403.104(a)(2) -
(5), Eligibility for Licensed Dyslexia Practitioner License.

(c) A licensed dyslexia practitioner may practice only in an
educational setting, including a school, learning center, or clinic.

$§120.23.  Examination.

(a) The examination designated and approved by the depart-
ment for licensure as a dyslexia therapist is the Alliance National Reg-
istration Examination, Therapist Level, administered by the Academic
Language Therapy Association.

(b) The examination designated and approved by the depart-
ment for licensure as a dyslexia practitioner is the Alliance National
Registration Examination, Practitioner Level, administered by the Aca-
demic Language Therapy Association.

(c) The applicable licensure examination requirement is
waived for a person who holds current certification as an academic
language therapist or academic language practitioner issued by the
Academic Language Therapy Association, or its equivalent, as ap-
proved by the department.

§120.24.  Requirements for Training Programs.

(a) For purposes of determining whether an applicant satisfies
the training requirements for a license under the Act, a multisensory
structured language education training program completed by the
applicant must meet the requirements in Occupations Code, §403.106
and must have provided instruction based on the Texas Education
Agency publication "The Dyslexia Handbook: Procedures Concerning

Dyslexia and Related Disorders" (2014) or a revised version of that
publication approved by the department.

(b) Training programs accredited by the International Multi-
sensory Structured Language Education Council (IMSLEC), meet the
requirements of the Act.

$§120.25. Continuing Education.

(a) A license holder must complete 20 clock-hours of contin-
uing education during each two-year licensure period.

(b) Continuing education credit taken by a license holder for
renewal shall be acceptable if the experience falls in one or more of the
following categories and meets the requirements of subsection (c):

(1) academic courses at a regionally accredited college or
university;

(2) in-service educational programs, training programs, in-
stitutes, seminars, workshops and conferences;

(3) instructing or presenting education programs or activ-
ities at an academic course, in-service educational programs, training
programs, institutes, seminars, workshops and conferences not to ex-
ceed five clock-hours each continuing education period;

(4) publishing a book or an article in a peer review journal
not to exceed five clock-hours each continuing education period; or

(5) successful completion of a self-study program, not to
exceed ten clock-hours each continuing education period.

(¢) Continuing education credit taken by a license holder, shall
be in one or more of the following content areas:

(1) basic language and/or learning disorders;
(2) applied multisensory practice and methodology;
(3) curricula in academic language therapy;

(4) related research in medicine, psychology, education, or
linguistics; or

(5) professional practice, including relevant laws, rules,
and ethics of practice.

(d) Continuing education experience shall be credited as fol-
lows:

(1) Completion of course work at or through an accredited
college or university, shall be credited for each semester hour on the
basis of ten clock-hours of credit for each semester hour successfully
completed for credit or audit as evidenced by a certificate of successful
completion or official transcript.

(2) Parts of programs that meet the criteria of subsection
(¢)(2) or (3), shall be credited on a one-for-one basis with one clock-
hour of credit for each clock-hour spent in the continuing education
experience.

(3) A clock-hour shall be 50 minutes of attendance and par-
ticipation in an acceptable continuing education experience.

(4) Continuing education programs, as described in sub-
section (¢)(2) and (3), must be offered or approved by the Academic
Language Therapy Association or its equivalent, as approved by the
department.

(5) Successful completion of continuing education experi-
ence, as described in subsection (c)(2) and (3), is evidenced by a cer-
tificate of completion or attendance issued by the approved sponsoring
organization of the course.
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(6) Successful completion of continuing education experi-
ence, as described in subsection (b)(4), is evidenced by submission of
a copy of the publication.

(7) Successful completion of continuing education experi-
ence, described in subsection (b)(5), is evidenced by a certificate of
completion presented by the sponsoring organization of the self-study
program.

(e) The department shall employ an audit system for contin-
uing education reporting. The license holder shall be responsible for
maintaining a record of his or her continuing education experiences.
The certificates, diplomas, or other documentation verifying earning
of continuing education hours, are not to be forwarded to the depart-
ment at the time of renewal unless the license holder has been selected
for audit.

(f) The audit process shall be as follows.

(1) The department shall select for audit, a random sample
of license holders for each renewal month. License holders will be no-
tified of the continuing education audit when they receive their renewal
documentation.

(2) All license holders selected for audit shall submit
copies of certificates, transcripts or other documentation satisfactory to
the department, verifying the license holder's attendance, participation
and completion of the continuing education. All documentation must
be provided at the time of renewal.

(3) Failure to timely furnish this information or providing
false information during the audit process or the renewal process are
grounds for disciplinary action against the license holder.

(4) A license holder who is selected for continuing educa-
tion audit may renew through the online renewal process. However,
the license will not be considered renewed until the required continu-
ing education documents are received, accepted and approved by the
department.

(g) Licenses will not be renewed until continuing education
requirements have been met.

(h) A person who fails to complete continuing education re-
quirements for renewal may not renew the license. The person may
obtain a new license by complying with the current requirements and
procedures for obtaining a license.

(i) The department may not grant continuing education credit
to any license holder for:

(1) education incidental to the regular professional activi-
ties of a license holder, such as learning occurring from experience or
research;

(2) professional organization activity, such as serving on
committees or councils or as an officer;

(3) any continuing education activity completed before or
after the period of time described in subsection (a); or

(4) performance of duties that are routine job duties or re-
quirements.

$§120.80. Fees.

(a) Unless otherwise specified, the fees established in this sec-
tion must be paid to the department before a license will be issued or
renewed.

(b) All fees paid to the department are nonrefundable.

(c) Licensing fees are as follows:

(1) application and initial license--$150
(2) renewal--$150

(d) Late renewal fees for licenses issued under this chapter are
prescribed under §60.83 of this title (relating to Late Renewal Fees).

(e) The fee for a dishonored/returned check or payment is the
fee prescribed under §60.82 of this title (relating to Dishonored Pay-
ment Device).

(f) The fee for a criminal history evaluation letter is the fee
prescribed under §60.42 of this title (relating to Criminal History Eval-
uation Letters).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 18, 2016.

TRD-201601281

William H. Kuntz, Jr.

Executive Director

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Effective date: October 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179

L4 L4 ¢
TITLE 19. EDUCATION

PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY

CHAPTER 74. CURRICULUM REQUIRE-
MENTS

SUBCHAPTER A. REQUIRED CURRICULUM
19 TAC §74.6

The State Board of Education (SBOE) adopts new §74.6, con-
cerning required curriculum. The new section is adopted with-
out changes to the proposed text as published in the Decem-
ber 25, 2015 issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 9419) and
will not be republished. The rule action adopts charts indicating
the alignment of the College and Career Readiness Standards
(CCRS) and the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS),
as required by House Bill (HB) 1613, 84th Texas Legislature,
Regular Session, 2015.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. In 2006, the 79th Texas Legisla-
ture required the Texas Education Agency (TEA) and the Texas
Higher Education Coordination Board (THECB) to establish ver-
tical teams composed of public school educators and faculty
from institutions of higher education that would develop college-
and career-ready standards in the areas of English/language
arts, mathematics, science, and social studies. The work of the
vertical teams was organized in three phases. The first phase
entailed a series of team meetings to create the CCRS for the
four subject areas. Phase two required the vertical teams to
make recommendations regarding alignment of the TEKS with
the CCRS. Phase three required the vertical teams to develop
or establish instructional strategies, professional development
materials, and online support materials for students who need
additional assistance in preparing to successfully perform col-
lege-level work. Teams also engaged in a series of gap analyses
to ensure alignment between the adopted TEKS and the CCRS.
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The THECB adopted the CCRS in January 2008. The commis-
sioner of education approved the CCRS, and the SBOE incorpo-
rated them into the TEKS as follows: English language arts and
reading TEKS in 2008; mathematics and science TEKS in 2009;
and social studies TEKS in 2010.

The 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, passed HB
1613, amending the Texas Education Code (TEC), §28.008, to
require the SBOE to adopt a chart by rule that clearly indicates
the alignment of the college readiness standards and expecta-
tions with the TEKS. New 19 TAC §74.6 adopts in rule charts
demonstrating the alignment of the TEKS with the mathematics,
science, social studies, and cross-disciplinary CCRS. The SBOE
will adopt a chart demonstrating the alignment of the TEKS with
the English/language arts CCRS following adoption of revisions
to the English and Spanish language arts and reading TEKS.

New 19 TAC Chapter 74, Curriculum Requirements, Subchapter
A, Required Curriculum, §74.6, College and Career Readiness
and Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills Alignment, was ap-
proved by the SBOE for first reading and filing authorization at
its November 20, 2015 meeting and for second reading and final
adoption at its January 29, 2016 meeting.

In accordance with the TEC, §7.102(f), the SBOE approved the
new section for adoption by a vote of two-thirds of its mem-
bers to specify an effective date earlier than the beginning of the
2016-2017 school year. The earlier effective date is necessary
in order to meet the statutory requirement for the approval of the
alignment.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES. No public
comments were received on the proposal.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new section is adopted under
the Texas Education Code, §28.008, as amended by HB 1613,
84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, which requires
the SBOE to adopt a chart by rule that clearly indicates the align-
ment of the college readiness standards and expectations with
the TEKS.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The new section imple-
ments the Texas Education Code, §28.008, as amended by HB
1613, 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2015.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 17, 2016.

TRD-201601270

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: April 6, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 102. EDUCATIONAL PROGRAMS
SUBCHAPTER AA. COMMISSIONER'S
RULES CONCERNING EARLY CHILDHOOD
EDUCATION PROGRAMS

19 TAC §102.1003

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) adopts new §102.1003, con-
cerning the high-quality prekindergarten grant program. The
new section is adopted with changes to the proposed text as
published in the February 5, 2016 issue of the Texas Register
(41 TexReg 903). The adopted new section outlines the require-
ments of a new grant program authorized by House Bill (HB) 4,
84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2015.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. Texas Education Code (TEC),
§29.165, as added by HB 4, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015,
requires the commissioner to by rule establish a grant funding
program under which funds are awarded to school districts and
open-enrolliment charter schools to implement a high-quality
prekindergarten grant program.

In accordance with the TEC, §29.165, adopted new 19 TAC
§102.1003, High-Quality Prekindergarten Grant Program, out-
lines school district and charter school eligibility for grant fund-
ing and qualifications for students eligible to receive instruction
under the grant program.

In accordance with TEC, §29.167, adopted new §102.1003(c)
requires school districts and charter schools to implement a
curriculum that addresses all of the Texas Prekindergarten
Guidelines (updated 2015). Adopted new §102.1003(d) re-
quires districts and charter schools to measure the progress of
each student in meeting the recommended outcomes identified
in the Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines (updated 2015) using a
progress monitoring tool selected from the commissioner's list of
approved prekindergarten instruments in order to be eligible to
receive grant funding under this program. In response to public
comment, a reference to the statutory requirement related to
kindergarten readiness assessments was added at adoption
(§102.1003(d)(2)).

Also in accordance with TEC, §29.167, the adopted new rule
outlines the requirements teachers must meet in order to pro-
vide instruction in a high-quality prekindergarten program. In
response to public comment, the following changes were also
made at adoption.

Documented completion of the Texas School Ready Training
Program (TSR Comprehensive) was added as an additional
qualification (§102.1003(e)(5)).

Language was adjusted to clarify that professional development
must be completed in the Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines in
addition to other relevant topics related to high-quality prekinder-
garten and that not all professional development must be com-
pleted solely related to the Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines
(§102.1003(e)(6)).

The requirement related to professional development completed
prior to the 2016-2017 school year was amended to reference
the Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines that were approved prior
to 2015 (§102.1003(e)(6)).

The requirement that at least half of the professional devel-
opment hours be completed in face-to-face training opportu-
nities was removed and the reference to "master teachers"
was replaced with "specialists in early childhood education"
(§102.1003(€e)(6)).

In accordance with TEC, §29.168, the adopted rule also identi-
fies the family engagement components that districts and charter
schools are required to address in a family engagement plan in
order to be eligible to receive grant funding under this program.
In response to public comment, a requirement that a district or
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charter make the family engagement plan available on the dis-
trict, charter, or campus website was added (§102.1003(f)).

In accordance with TEC, §29.169, the adopted new rule also
identifies reporting requirements related to the grant program.
In response to public comment, the requirement for districts and
charters to report the results of the district's or charter school's
kindergarten students on a kindergarten readiness instrument
was adjusted from 100% to 95% (§102.1003(g)).

In response to public comment, the following statutory require-
ment was added to the rule as new §102.1003(i), "A school dis-
trict or an open-enroliment charter school that receives funding
under this grant must attempt to maintain an average ratio in
any prekindergarten program class of not less than one certified
teacher or teacher's aide for every 11 students."

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSES. The
public comment period on the proposal began February 5, 2016,
and ended March 7, 2016. Following is a summary of the pub-
lic comments received and corresponding agency responses re-
garding proposed new 19 TAC 102, Educational Programs, Sub-
chapter AA, Commissioner's Rules Concerning Early Childhood
Education Programs, §102.1003, High-Quality Prekindergarten
Grant Program.

Comment. The Waterford Institute asked if the prekindergarten
curriculum needs to be identified and written into the grant appli-
cation.

Agency Response. This comment is outside the scope of the
rulemaking process.

Comment. Early Matters (Dallas), Early Matters (Houston),
United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, First 3 Years, the Dallas
Early Education Alliance, the Budd Center, Momentous Institute,
and Stand for Children asked for confirmation that a locally
developed curriculum can satisfy the curriculum requirements
outlined in proposed §102.1003(c) and be reported as the
curriculum used under proposed §102.1003(g)(1).

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. Districts may implement and report a locally developed
curriculum that addresses all of the Texas Prekindergarten
Guidelines to satisfy the curriculum requirements outlined
in proposed §102.1003(c) and reporting requirements under
proposed §102.1003(g)(1).

Comment. The superintendent of KIPP Houston Public Schools
expressed hope that the agency would allow participating school
districts and public charter schools the opportunity to vet and up-
date the state's selected list of suggested literacy and mathemat-
ics curriculum.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. The state does not have a list of suggested literacy
and mathematics curricula. Decisions regarding curriculum have
been left to local discretion.

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators ex-
pressed support for the flexibility in proposed new §102.1003(c)
that allows districts to make decisions locally about the sched-
ule and delivery of instruction on the ten domains in the revised
Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has maintained lan-
guage as proposed.

Comment. The Waterford Institute asked whether an approved
progress monitoring instrument must be used or if districts can

purchase a curriculum and progress monitoring instrument sep-
arately.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. Under TEC, §29.169(c), an assessment instrument ad-
ministered to a prekindergarten program class must be selected
from a list of appropriate prekindergarten assessment instru-
ments identified by the commissioner.

Comment. Early Matters (Dallas), Early Matters (Houston),
United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, First 3 Years, the Dallas Early
Education Alliance, the Budd Center, Momentous Institute, and
Stand for Children recommended adding physical development
to the list of required domains to be measured using a progress
monitoring instrument under proposed §102.1003(d)(1).

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that in order to measure student progress toward kindergarten
readiness the list of domains to be measured is appropriate as
proposed.

Comment. Early Matters (Dallas), Early Matters (Houston),
United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, First 3 Years, the Dallas Early
Education Alliance, the Budd Center, Momentous Institute, and
Stand for Children recommended amending §102.1003(d)(2)
to include a reference to TEC, §28.006(b), which outlines
the requirements in state law related to kindergarten reading
instruments.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has amended TEC,
§102.1003(d)(2), to read, "the preparation of each student for
kindergarten using a kindergarten readiness instrument for read-
ing as described in TEC, §28.006."

Comment. Early Matters (Dallas), Early Matters (Houston),
United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, First 3 Years, the Dallas
Early Education Alliance, the Budd Center, Momentous Institute,
Stand for Children, and an individual recommended align-
ing the target percentage of kindergarten students for whom
kindergarten readiness instrument results are reported with the
agency's accountability "safe guard" targets for participation on
STAAR of 95%.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has amended
§102.1003(g)(3)(B) to read, "the results for at least 95% of
the district's or charter school's kindergarten students on the
kindergarten readiness instrument.”

Comment. United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, First 3 Years,
the Dallas Early Education Alliance, the Budd Center, Momen-
tous Institute, and Stand for Children expressed concern that
if progress monitoring is tied to reported program evaluation,
teachers might be incentivized to inflate the results and then
prekindergarten will look strong but ineffective if the results do
not show in kindergarten. The commenters asked if sampling
would be permissible.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. The agency has determined that sampling would not be
permissible. Under TEC, §29.1532, a district that administers an
assessment instrument to students in prekindergarten classes
must report to the agency a description and the results of each
type of assessment instrument.

Comment. Lumin Education asked for clarification regarding
whether a child with an individualized education program (IEP)
would be exempt from the requirement that a district or char-
ter report the results of a kindergarten readiness instrument for
100% of students.
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Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. In response to other comments, the agency has amended
§102.1003(g)(3)(B) to read "the results for at least 95% of the
district's or charter school's kindergarten students on the kinder-
garten readiness instrument."

Comment. Lumin Education expressed full support for the
choice of using a "progress monitoring tool" rather than an
assessment or test. The commenter indicated that focusing
on progress at this age is more valuable and informative than
having a child take a test.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has maintained lan-
guage as proposed.

Comment. An individual asked if a district will have to complete
the full Circle assessment, including measures on science, so-
cial studies, physical health development, etc., or if the district
will only have to complete the components addressed in the new
rule.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. A school district or charter school would be required to
measure the progress of each student in social and emotional
development, language and communication, emergent literacy
reading, emergent literacy writing, and mathematics.

Comment. The superintendent of KIPP Houston Public Schools
asked if I-Station will continue to be free for districts that partici-
pate in the new prekindergarten grant.

Agency Response. This comment is outside the scope of the
rulemaking process.

Comment. The Association of Texas Professional Educators
expressed the belief that granting school districts maximum
flexibility in choosing how to measure state-determined student
success metrics and avoiding the appearance of preferential
treatment of one or a limited number of vendors are both highly
advantageous goals and stated that the agency should allow
grantees to choose vendor(s) either on or outside of the com-
missioner's list to monitor progress in the content areas listed in
§102.1003(d)(1).

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. Under TEC, §29.169(c), an assessment instrument ad-
ministered to a prekindergarten program class must be selected
from a list of appropriate prekindergarten assessment instru-
ments identified by the commissioner.

Comment. The Waterford Institute asked if the family engage-
ment plan must include home visits.

Agency Response. The agency provided the following clarifi-
cation. Home visits are not specifically required in the rule. A
school district has the authority to identify the specific strategies
it will use to meet the required components of the family engage-
ment plan.

Comment. Early Matters (Dallas), Early Matters (Houston),
United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, First 3 Years, the Dallas
Early Education Alliance, the Budd Center, Momentous Insti-
tute, and Stand for Children recommended adding language to
proposed §102.1003(f) that would require districts to publish the
family engagement plan on the district or school website.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has amended
§102.1003(f) to read, "To be eligible to receive grant funding
under this program, a school district or an open-enroliment
charter school shall develop, implement, and make available on

the district, charter, or campus website a family engagement
plan to assist the district in achieving and maintaining high
levels of family involvement and positive family attitudes toward
education. An effective family engagement plan creates a
foundation for the collaboration of mutual partners, embraces
the individuality and uniqueness of families, and promotes a
culture of learning that is child centered, age appropriate, and
family driven."

Comment. The superintendent of KIPP Houston Public Schools
commented that the proposed rule contains 40 requirements for
a family engagement plan and suggested that this list should be
scaled down significantly.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The rule requires that a family engagement plan include
six components. The strategies that follow the term "such as"
for each of the six required components in the rule are examples
and are not required to be included in the family engagement
plan.

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators
asked for confirmation that examples of family engagement
strategies following the phrase "such as" are examples only and
that a district's grant application will not be penalized if only a
portion of the examples are included in its family engagement
program.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The strategies that follow the term "such as" for each of the
six required components in the rule are examples only and are
not required to be included in the family engagement plan.

Comment. Texans Care for Children recommended revising the
proposed rule to address TEC, §29.167(d), which states that a
school district must attempt to maintain an average ratio in any
prekindergarten class of not less than one certified teacher or
teacher's aide for every 11 students. The commenter also rec-
ommended clarifying in the proposed rule or through guidance
provided to districts a process to demonstrate that a district either
meets the ratio requirement or is making a reasonable attempt to
do so. This commenter suggested that the process could include
requiring each district to report the average teacher/aide-to-stu-
dentratio in each prekindergarten class and submit a written plan
to the Texas Education Agency to remedy any classroom ratio
over 11:1 over a three-year period.

Agency Response. The agency agrees with the addition of
language that would require districts and charters to attempt to
maintain an average teacher- or teacher aide-to-student ratio.
In response to this and other comments, the agency has added
new §102.1003(i) to read, "A school district or an open-enroll-
ment charter school that receives funding under this grant must
attempt to maintain an average ratio in any prekindergarten
program class of not less than one certified teacher or teacher's
aide for every 11 students."

The agency disagrees that a process should be included to re-
quire a district or charter to submit a written plan to remedy
any classroom ratio over 11:1 over a three-year period because
statute only requires that districts and charters attempt to meet
the ratio.

The agency also provides the following clarification. Data will be
collected to allow the agency to calculate the teacher- or teacher
aide-to-student ratio in prekindergarten classrooms without re-
quiring school districts and charters to specifically report the ra-
tio.
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Comment. Literacy Connexus commented that it endorsed the
comments of Texans Care for Children regarding the need for a
required student-to-teacher class ratio, optimally at the recom-
mended 11:1 ratio.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that statute only requires that districts and charters attempt
to meet the student-to-teacher ratio. In response to other
comments, the agency has added new §102.1003(i) to read,
"A school district or an open-enroliment charter school that
receives funding under this grant must attempt to maintain
an average ratio in any prekindergarten program class of not
less than one certified teacher or teacher's aide for every 11
students."

Comment. Two Montessori school principals expressed support
of the rule as proposed. The commenters expressed agreement
with the lack of specification around class size or student-to-
teacher ratios.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has determined that
districts have the authority to identify class size and student-to-
teacher ratios appropriate for their programs.

Comment. An individual expressed a desire to see student-to-
teacher ratios addressed in the rule and suggested a cap of not
more than 18:1.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that statute only requires that districts and charters attempt
to meet the student-to-teacher ratio. In response to other
comments, the agency has added new §102.1003(i) to read,
"A school district or an open-enrollment charter school that
receives funding under this grant must attempt to maintain
an average ratio in any prekindergarten program class of not
less than one certified teacher or teacher's aide for every 11
students.”

Comment. An individual recommended taking a step toward a
student-to-teacher ratio of 11:1.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has added new
§102.1003(i) to read, "A school district or an open-enroliment
charter school that receives funding under this grant must at-
tempt to maintain an average ratio in any prekindergarten pro-
gram class of not less than one certified teacher or teacher's aide
for every 11 students."

Comment. The Texas Center for Public Policy Priorities rec-
ommended including nationally recognized class-size limits and
staff-child ratios in the criteria for a high-quality program.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that statute only requires that districts and charters attempt
to meet the student-to-teacher ratio. In response to other
comments, the agency has added new §102.1003(i) to read,
"A school district or an open-enroliment charter school that
receives funding under this grant must attempt to maintain
an average ratio in any prekindergarten program class of not
less than one certified teacher or teacher's aide for every 11
students."

Comment. The chief of staff for Representative Mary Gonzalez
asked why the teacher-to-student ratio/class size language in-
cluded in House Bill 4 was excluded from the proposed rule and
asked whether there must be a rule that references the language
of the enabling statute if legislative language exists.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. Administrative rules do not need to repeat language

that already exists in statute. In response to other comments,
the agency has added new §102.1003(i) to read, "A school dis-
trict or an open-enroliment charter school that receives funding
under this grant must attempt to maintain an average ratio in
any prekindergarten program class of not less than one certified
teacher or teacher's aide for every 11 students."

Comment. The Texas Classroom Teachers Association ex-
pressed the belief that the statutory requirement for school
districts to attempt to maintain a 1:11 staff/student ratio must be
included in the rule.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has added new
§102.1003(i) to read, "A school district or an open-enroliment
charter school that receives funding under this grant must at-
tempt to maintain an average ratio in any prekindergarten pro-
gram class of not less than one certified teacher or teacher's aide
for every 11 students."

Comment. Raise Your Hand Texas commented that the pro-
posed rule does not offer guidance or collect information regard-
ing TEC, §29.167(d), which requires a district or charter school to
attempt to maintain a prekindergarten program class of not less
than one certified teacher or teacher's aide for every 11 students.
The commenter stated that the commissioner should require dis-
tricts to submit documentation describing their plans and proce-
dures to maintain this ratio in an effort to align with bill language
and promote transparency.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees with the comment that
districts should be required to submit documentation describing
plans and procedures to maintain the ratio. In response to other
comments, the agency has added new §102.1003(i) to read, "A
school district or an open-enrollment charter school that receives
funding under this grant must attempt to maintain an average
ratio in any prekindergarten program class of not less than one
certified teacher or teacher's aide for every 11 students."

Comment.  The superintendent of KIPP Houston Public
Schools expressed agreement with the lack of prescribed
student-to-teacher ratio.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has determined that
districts have the authority to identify class size and student-to-
teacher ratios appropriate for their programs.

Comment. One teacher expressed concern regarding the grant
program's certification requirements for prekindergarten teach-
ers. The commenter recommended grandfathering the creden-
tials of teachers who are already teaching prekindergarten for
the grant program.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that there are multiple avenues provided for school districts to
identify teachers as qualified. In response to other comments,
the agency has made other modifications to the grant pro-
gram's certification requirements for prekindergarten teachers
in §102.1003(e).

Comment. One teacher expressed concern that teachers would
be expected to pay for new certification and/or training require-
ments and that if teachers must complete training or coursework
during the school day, the cost of employing substitute teachers
would not be covered.

Agency Response. This comment is outside the scope of the
rulemaking process.

Comment. One teacher expressed concern that the certification
requirements for prekindergarten teachers under the grant pro-

ADOPTED RULES April 1, 2016 41 TexReg 2483



gram would force teachers currently teaching prekindergarten
out of the classroom.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that there are multiple avenues provided for school districts to
identify teachers as qualified.

Comment. An early childhood program supervisor commented
that the teacher qualifications seem to discount the value of an
early childhood teacher certification from the State Board for Ed-
ucator Certification (SBEC). She further commented that while a
Child Development Associate (CDA) provides valuable prepara-
tion on early childhood development, it does not appear to pre-
pare teachers for their role in preparing children to enter the K-12
world academically. The commenter also stated that the qualifi-
cations do not seem to respect the value of the university course-
work of a new teacher.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that there are multiple avenues provided for school districts to
identify teachers as qualified.

Comment. One administrator expressed concern that while the
professional development requirements are welcomed, districts
will need more time and support for implementation. The com-
menter stated that sorting through documentation to see which
teachers need additional hours, coordinating a flexible profes-
sional development plan that includes all of the required com-
ponents, and effectively executing the plan by the end of the
2016-2017 school year will be a challenge.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that there are multiple avenues provided for school districts to
identify teachers as qualified, including allowing teachers multi-
ple years to comply with the professional development option.

Comment. One administrator suggested that education service
centers either offer face-to-face trainings that meet the require-
ments of the grant or assist districts in coordinating multi-district
cooperatives for providing some of the training.

Agency Response. This comment is outside the scope of the
rulemaking process.

Comment. One administrator suggested reducing the training
requirements for the first year from 30 to 15 hours.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that 30 hours is equivalent to one week of training and is appro-
priate as proposed. In response to other comments, the agency
has made other modifications to the grant program's qualifica-
tion requirements for prekindergarten teachers in §102.1003(e).

Comment. Collaborative for Children stated that the group
felt that 12 college credit hours in early childhood education
or early childhood development would be another helpful and
important equivalent to a CDA credential to add to proposed
new §102.1003(e). The commenter stated that the National
Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) has
already defined this as an equivalent to a CDA.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that the teacher qualification requirements identified for the grant
program are appropriate as proposed. In response to other com-
ments, the agency has made other modifications to the grant
program's qualification requirements for prekindergarten teach-
ers in §102.1003(e).

Comment. The Children's Learning Institute, Early Matters (Dal-
las), Early Matters (Houston), United Way of Metropolitan Dallas,

First 3 Years, the Dallas Early Education Alliance, the Budd Cen-
ter, Momentous Institute, and Stand for Children recommended
the addition of the Texas School Ready Training Program (TSR
Comprehensive) as an additional qualification under the teacher
qualification requirements in proposed §102.1003(e).

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has added new
§102.1003(e)(5) to read, "documented completion of the Texas
School Ready Training Program (TSR Comprehensive)."

Comment. Early Matters (Dallas), Early Matters (Houston),
United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, First 3 Years, the Dallas
Early Education Alliance, the Budd Center, Momentous Institute,
and Stand for Children recommended amending proposed new
§102.1003(e)(5)(B) to require teachers who have not completed
the first 30 hours of required training for the grant programs to
complete 10 hours within the first six weeks of the school year
or, if hired after the school year starts, within six weeks after the
hire date.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that the teacher qualification requirements identified for the grant
program allow for appropriate flexibility. In response to other
comments, the agency has made other modifications to the grant
program's certification requirements for prekindergarten teach-
ers in §102.1003(e).

Comment. Early Matters (Dallas), Early Matters (Houston),
United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, First 3 Years, the Dallas
Early Education Alliance, the Budd Center, Momentous Institute,
and Stand for Children recommended amending proposed new
§102.1003(e)(5)(C) to read, "at least half of the hours required
by subparagraph (A) or (B) of this paragraph are completed in
face-to-face training opportunities (which may include the use
of distance based technology) that include experiential learning,
practical application, and direct interaction with specialists in
early childhood education (including hours interacting with an
instructional coach)."

Agency Response. The agency disagrees that the rule should
state "face-to-face training opportunities (which may include
the use of distance based technology)" because the statement
appears to be contradictory and would likely create confusion.
However, in response to this and other comments, the agency
has amended proposed new §102.1003(e)(5)(C), adopted as
§102.1003(e)(6)(C), to read, "at least half of the hours required
by subparagraph (A) or (B) of this paragraph shall include
experiential learning, practical application, and direct interaction
with specialists in early childhood education or instructional
coaches."

Comment. Early Matters (Houston) and an early childhood
program supervisor commented that it would be helpful to clarify
that a district's prekindergarten teacher training plan will allow
districts to continue to provide professional development for
prekindergarten teachers in topics other than the ten domains of
the revised Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines because districts
train teachers on a variety of necessary skills, such as classroom
management. The commenter agreed that teachers need to
have quality early childhood-specific training, but also indicated
that participating school districts and charter schools should
have the flexibility to ensure that prekindergarten teachers get
all of the training they need to be effective teachers.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has amended
proposed new §102.1003(e)(5)(A) and (B), adopted as
§102.1003(e)(6)(A) and (B), to state "...all ten domains in the
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Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines...in addition to other relevant
topics related to high-quality prekindergarten...."

Comment. Early Matters (Houston) commented that the require-
ment that half of a teacher's continuing professional education
(CPE) hours be face-to-face will likely be problematic for some
smaller and rural districts and that technological advancements
have made remote instruction, including coaching to individual
teachers, widely available and effective. The commenter re-
quested that the agency consider amending the rule to allow for
such remote and technological training.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has amended pro-
posed new §102.1003(e)(5)(C), adopted as §102.1003(e)(6)(C),
to read, "at least half of the hours required by subparagraph (A)
or (B) of this paragraph shall include experiential learning, prac-
tical application, and direct interaction with specialists in early
childhood education or instructional coaches."

Comment. United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, First 3 Years, the
Dallas Early Education Alliance, the Budd Center, Momentous
Institute, and Stand for Children recommended adding neuro-
logical basis of learning, learning environment, academic and
nonacademic learning through play, family engagement, and in-
formal assessments to the topics that must be covered in the
required training in proposed new §102.1003(e).

Agency Response. The agency disagrees with the recommen-
dation to include a specific list of additional professional devel-
opment topics because it could be overly limiting for districts and
charters. However, in response to this and other comments,
the agency has amended proposed §102.1003(e)(5)(A) and (B),
adopted as §102.1003(e)(6)(A) and (B), to state "...all ten do-
mains in the Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines...in addition to
other relevant topics related to high-quality prekindergarten...."

Comment. United Way of Metropolitan Dallas, First 3 Years, the
Dallas Early Education Alliance, the Budd Center, Momentous
Institute, and Stand for Children recommended adding a require-
ment that not later than the 2017-2018 school year and forward,
districts implement a prekindergarten instructional coach train-
ing program that should include individualized coaching linked
to classroom observation and child progress monitoring results.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that statutory authority does not exist to include such a require-
ment in the grant program.

Comment. The superintendent of Austin Independent School
District commented that, as currently worded, no teacher
could qualify under proposed §102.1003(e)(5)(A) because the
prekindergarten guidelines were not updated until late 2015 and
recommended that the language be amended to reference the
Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines as they existed prior to the
2015 update.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has amended pro-
posed §102.1003(e)(5)(A), adopted as §102.1003(e)(6)(A), to
read, "prior to assignment in a prekindergarten class, teachers
who provide prekindergarten instruction have completed at least
150 cumulative hours of documented professional development
addressing all ten domains in the Texas Prekindergarten Guide-
lines that were approved prior to 2015 in addition to other rel-
evant topics related to high-quality prekindergarten over a con-
secutive five-year period."

Comment. The superintendent of Austin Independent School
District commented that the term "master teachers" as refer-
enced in proposed §102.1003(e)(5)(C) is not defined and would

be too limiting and suggested adding a definition and including
"specialists in early childhood education."

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has amended pro-
posed new §102.1003(e)(5)(C), adopted as §102.1003(e)(6)(C),
to read "at least half of the hours required by subparagraph (A)
or (B) of this paragraph shall include experiential learning, prac-
tical application, and direct interaction with specialists in early
childhood education or instructional coaches."

Comment. The Texas Classroom Teachers Association
expressed concern that the enabling statute provides that
prekindergarten teachers in school districts are eligible if the
district received approval from the commissioner for the dis-
trict's prekindergarten-specific instructional training plan that the
teacher uses in the teacher's prekindergarten classroom and
the commenter does not believe that a reasonable interpretation
of "district's prekindergarten-specific instructional training plan"
is that a district must ensure that its prekindergarten teachers
complete 150 hours of continuing professional education in
prekindergarten. The commenter requested that the proposed
rule language be stricken.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that the teacher qualification requirements identified for the grant
program are appropriate as proposed. In response to other com-
ments, the agency has made other modifications to the grant
program's certification requirements for prekindergarten teach-
ers in §102.1003(e).

Comment. The Texas Classroom Teachers Association com-
mented that teachers who are certified to teach prekindergarten
have already demonstrated, by virtue of passing the relevant cer-
tification examination, that they have the knowledge and skills
that the state has deemed necessary in order to be able to teach
prekindergarten. The commenter added that to require them to
complete additional training in order to be eligible to teach in the
prekindergarten grant program requires more of them than their
counterpart prekindergarten teachers who do not hold the appro-
priate certificate to teach prekindergarten and is unnecessary.
The commenter requested that the proposed rule language be
stricken.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that there are multiple avenues provided for school districts to
identify teachers as qualified.

Comment. The Texas Classroom Teachers Association noted
that although TEC, §29.167(c), provides that a school district
may allow a teacher employed by the district to receive the train-
ing required to be awarded a CDA credential from a regional ed-
ucation service center, the proposed rule does not include this
provision and requested that it be included.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that it is not necessary to address the method by which a teacher
meets one of the qualifications in the rule.

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators
asked if the requirement in proposed new §102.1003(e)(5)(A) is
above and beyond the 150 CPE hours a teacher needs to retain
his or her teaching certificate as required by 19 TAC §232.13,
orif it is intended to satisfy the certification requirement.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The agency has removed the reference to CPE in proposed
§102.1003(e)(5)(A), adopted as §102.1003(e)(6)(A), to increase
flexibility in the professional development that may be used to
meet the requirement.
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Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators
asked how teachers will be expected to complete training if
there are no approved providers on the TEA-approved provider
list for CPE.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The agency has removed the reference to CPE in proposed
§102.1003(e)(5)(A), adopted as §102.1003(e)(6)(A), to increase
flexibility in the professional development that may be used to
meet the requirement.

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators
expressed concern that the requirements in proposed new
§102.1003(e)(5) are onerously weighted against public school
teachers and discredits those with experience teaching in a
public school prekindergarten classroom by not counting that
experience as one of the additional qualifications.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that there are multiple avenues provided for school districts to
identify teachers as qualified.

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators ex-
pressed the belief that the proposed rule exceeds the authority
of TEC, §29.167(b)(2)(D), that dictates a district-specific train-
ing plan by mandating a one-size-fits-all state-level versus dis-
trict-specific training.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and provides the
following clarification. The agency has removed the refer-
ence to CPE in proposed §102.1003(e)(5)(A), adopted as
§102.1003(e)(6)(A), and has clarified that professional devel-
opment must address the Texas Prekindergarten guidelines in
addition to other relevant topics related to high-quality prekinder-
garten to increase flexibility in the professional development
that may be used to meet the requirement.

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators ex-
pressed the belief that proposed new §102.1003(e)(5) does not
allow a district with established high-quality prekindergarten pro-
grams to continue to provide its own quality professional devel-
opment to the teachers participating in the grant program.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. In response
to other comments the agency has amended proposed
§102.1003(e)(5)(A) and (B), adopted as §102.1003(e)(6)(A)
and (B), to state "...all ten domains in the Texas Prekinder-
garten Guidelines...in addition to other relevant topics related to
high-quality prekindergarten...."

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators
expressed concern that the requirement in proposed new
§102.1003(e)(5)(A) is not a feasible option because the updated
guidelines were not available until February 2016.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has amended pro-
posed §102.1003(e)(5)(A), adopted as §102.1003(e)(6)(A), to
read, "prior to assignment in a prekindergarten class, teachers
who provide prekindergarten instruction have completed at least
150 cumulative hours of documented professional development
addressing all ten domains in the Texas Prekindergarten Guide-
lines that were approved prior to 2015 in addition to other rel-
evant topics related to high-quality prekindergarten over a con-
secutive five-year period."

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators rec-
ommended that the language in proposed new §102.1003(e)(5)
be stricken.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that the teacher qualification requirements identified for the grant
program are appropriate as proposed. In response to other com-
ments, the agency has made other modifications to the grant
program's certification requirements for prekindergarten teach-
ers in §102.1003(e).

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators
recommended that the rule allow prekindergarten teachers who
have the EC-4 or EC-6 certification and at least two years of
experience in a public prekindergarten setting to satisfy the
additional qualification needed for eligibility.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that there are multiple avenues provided for school districts
to identify teachers as qualified and the teacher qualification
requirements identified for the grant program are appropriate
as proposed. In response to other comments, the agency has
made other modifications to the grant program's requirements
for prekindergarten teachers in §102.1003(e).

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators rec-
ommended that the rule allow those who obtained the prekinder-
garten endorsement when it was an option in SBEC rule to have
satisfied the additional qualification requirement.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that there are multiple avenues provided for school districts to
identify teachers as qualified and the teacher credentials iden-
tified for the grant program are appropriate as proposed. In re-
sponse to other comments, the agency has made other modifi-
cations to the grant program's requirements for prekindergarten
teachers in §102.1003(e).

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators rec-
ommended that a rule be added that allows flexibility for a district
to meet the needs of its young students when developing a dis-
trict prekindergarten-specific instructional training plan and that
aligns with TEC, §29.167(b)(D).

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has amended
§102.1003(e)(5)(A) and (B), adopted as §102.1003(e)(6)(A)
and (B), to state, "...all ten domains in the Texas Prekinder-
garten Guidelines...in addition to other relevant topics related to
high-quality prekindergarten...."

Comment. An individual asked whether teachers will have to
complete the 150 cumulative hours of professional development
every five years or only for the first five years.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. A teacher would only need to complete the 150 cumulative
hours once and not every five years.

Comment. Two individuals asked what is considered a master
teacher.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following
clarification. The agency has amended proposed new
§102.1003(e)(5)(C), adopted as §102.1003(e)(6)(C), to read,
"at least half of the hours required by subparagraph (A) or (B)
of this paragraph shall include experiential learning, practical
application, and direct interaction with specialists in early child-
hood education or instructional coaches."

Comment. Raise Your Hand Texas asked whether all 150 hours
of professional development must be related to the prekinder-
garten guidelines.
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Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The agency has amended proposed new §102.1003(e)(5),
adopted as §102.1003(e)(6), to clarify that the professional de-
velopment must address all ten domains in the Texas Prekinder-
garten Guidelines (updated 2015) in addition to other relevant
topics related to high-quality prekindergarten.

Comment. Raise Your Hand Texas asked whether teachers who
have completed the 150 required hours with 30 hours in early
childhood must continue to complete 30 hours of their next 150
hours in CPE related to the prekindergarten guidelines for as
long as their district receives grant funding.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. In order to use the teacher qualifications in proposed
new §102.1003(e)(5), adopted as §102.1003(e)(6), all 150 hours
must be related to high-quality prekindergarten. A teacher would
not be required to continue to complete hours of professional de-
velopment beyond the 150-hour requirement for this purpose.

Comment. Raise Your Hand Texas commented that the require-
ments in proposed new §102.1003(e)(5) are unclear as to their
application to charter schools and indicated an understanding
that the provisions of TEC, Chapter 29, Subchapter E-1, apply
to both school districts and charter schools that receive a grant.

Agency Response. The agency agrees that the provisions of the
high-quality prekindergarten program grant apply to both school
districts and charter schools and clarifies that the teacher qualifi-
cations in proposed new §102.1003(e) also apply to both school
districts and charter schools.

Comment. The superintendent of KIPP Houston Public Schools
asked for a definition of "master teacher."

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. In response to this and other comments the agency
has amended proposed new §102.1003(e)(5)(C), adopted as
§102.1003(e)(6)(C), to read "at least half of the hours required by
subparagraph (A) or (B) of this paragraph shall include experien-
tial learning, practical application, and direct interaction with spe-
cialists in early childhood education or instructional coaches."

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators
asked if documented completion of the Texas School Readiness
Training Program would be added to the rule.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. In response to other comments the agency has added new
§102.1003(e)(5) to read, "documented completion of the Texas
School Ready Training Program (TSR Comprehensive)."

Comment. The Texas Charter Schools Association requested
that the commissioner of education use his authority to allow for
the greatest flexibility, while still ensuring quality, in the teacher
requirements for open-enroliment charter schools. The com-
menter suggested that one method of granting such a request
would be to provide for a waiver from the teacher certification re-
quirement thus providing open-enrollment charter schools with
the opportunity to access the grant funds.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. Under statute, TEC, §29.167(b)(1), each teacher for
a prekindergarten program class must be certified under TEC,
Chapter 21, Subchapter B. The comment regarding the granting
of a waiver is outside the scope of the rulemaking process.

Comment. A.W. Brown Fellowship-Leadership Academy and
Tekoa Academy of Accelerated Studies STEM School recom-
mended adding language to require a teacher at an open-enroll-

ment charter school to meet the requirements outlined in TEC,
§12.129, rather than be certified under TEC, Chapter 21. The
commenter stated that requiring prekindergarten charter school
teachers to be state certified would place an undue burden on
charter schools without an attendant benefit.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. Under statute, TEC, §29.167(b)(1), each teacher for
a prekindergarten program class must be certified under TEC,
Chapter 21, Subchapter B.

Comment. Lumin Education strongly urged the agency to make
the qualifications for prekindergarten teachers inclusive of and
consistent with the qualifications allowed for charter school
teachers and asked that the qualification be listed as certified or
a qualification listed under the proposed §102.1003(e)(1)-(5).

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. Under statute, TEC, §29.167(b)(1), each teacher for
a prekindergarten program class must be certified under TEC,
Chapter 21, Subchapter B.

Comment. KIPP Houston Charter School urged the agency to
consider creating flexibility for proven prekindergarten programs
with regard to the requirement for a Chapter 21 certified teacher
and to consider rewarding good performance with an ease in
regulation.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. Under statute, TEC, §29.167(b)(1), each teacher for
a prekindergarten program class must be certified under TEC,
Chapter 21, Subchapter B.

Comment. The superintendent of KIPP Houston Public Schools
urged the agency to consider clarifying the commissioner's ability
to waive the teacher certification requirement for proven public
charter school prekindergarten programs.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. Under statute, TEC, §29.167(b)(1), each teacher for
a prekindergarten program class must be certified under TEC,
Chapter 21, Subchapter B. The comment regarding the granting
of a waiver is outside the scope of the rulemaking process.

Comment. The Texas Center for Public Policy Priorities re-
quested that the agency clarify that grant awards will be based
on actual children enrolled in prekindergarten and not based on
average daily attendance counts.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. Grant awards will be based on the number of actual children
enrolled.

Comment. The Texas Center for Public Policy Priorities re-
quested that the agency set the grant amount at the maximum
to better assist districts in implementing a high-quality program.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. The amount of funding per qualifying
student will be determined based on the total amount of appro-
priated funding, the number of eligible grant applicants, and the
number of qualifying students served by each eligible grant ap-
plicant.

Comment. The superintendent of Austin Independent School
District requested clarification on the ability of a school district
to decline the grant if the cost to implement the statute and rule
exceeds the grant funds awarded.

Agency Response. This comment is outside the scope of the
rulemaking process.
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Comment. The CEO of Community Family Centers asked if any
provisions were considered for partnerships and/or contractual
opportunities with nonprofits providing quality early childhood
education.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. Under TEC, §29.171, a school district that participates in
the grant program may enter into a contract with an eligible pri-
vate provider to provide services or equipment for the program.

Comment. The Association of Texas Professional Educators
recommended requiring school districts and charter schools
to preregister their intent to apply for funding for an upcoming
school year by a cutoff date and establishing a timeline by which
the agency will inform preregistered potential applicants what
the minimal award under the program would be. The commenter
stated that allowing districts and charters to knowledgeably plan
their resource allocation with a higher degree of information and
certainty would promote better stewardship of limited education
dollars.

Agency Response. This comment is outside the scope of the
rulemaking process.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new section is adopted under
the Texas Education Code (TEC), §29.1532, as amended by
House Bill (HB) 4, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015, which adds a re-
quirement that school districts that offer prekindergarten classes,
including a high-quality prekindergarten program class, report
a description and the results of each type of assessment in-
strument if the district elects to administer an assessment in-
strument to students enrolled in district and campus prekinder-
garten program classes and report curricula used in the district's
prekindergarten program classes; TEC, §29.165, as added by
HB 4, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015, which requires the commis-
sioner to by rule establish a grant funding program under which
funds are awarded to school districts and open-enroliment char-
ter schools to implement a high-quality prekindergarten grant
program; TEC, §29.166, as added by HB 4, 84th Texas Legisla-
ture, 2015, which addresses the student qualifications and gen-
eral school district and charter eligibility for funding under this
grant program; TEC, §29.167, as added by HB 4, 84th Texas
Legislature, 2015, which requires school districts and charter
schools to select and implement a curriculum for a high-quality
prekindergarten grant program that includes the prekindergarten
guidelines established by the TEA, measures the progress of
students in meeting the recommended learning outcomes, and
does not use national curriculum standards developed by the
Common Core State Standards Initiative. This section also out-
lines requirements that each teacher of a prekindergarten pro-
gram class must meet, including employment as a prekinder-
garten teacher in a school district that has received approval
from the commissioner for the district's prekindergarten-specific
instructional training plan that the teacher uses in the teacher's
prekindergarten classroom, and allows for equivalent qualifica-
tions; TEC, §29.168, as added by HB 4, 84th Texas Legisla-
ture, 2015, which requires a school district or charter school
to develop and implement a family engagement plan to assist
the district in achieving and maintaining high levels of family in-
volvement and positive family attitudes toward education. The
local family engagement plan must be based on the family en-
gagement strategies established by the TEA in collaboration with
other state agencies; TEC, §29.169, as added by HB 4, 84th
Texas Legislature, 2015, which requires a school district to select
and implement appropriate methods for evaluating the district's
program classes by measuring student progress and make data

from the results of program evaluations available to parents; and
TEC, §29.172, as added by HB 4, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015,
which permits the commissioner of education to adopt rules nec-
essary to implement this grant program.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The new section imple-
ments the TEC, §§29.1532, 29.165-29.169, and 29.172, as
amended and added by HB 4, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015.

$102.1003. High-Quality Prekindergarten Grant Program.

(a) From funds appropriated for this purpose, all eligible
school districts and open-enrollment charter schools may receive grant
funding for each qualifying student in average daily attendance in a
high-quality prekindergarten program in the district or charter school.

(1) The amount of funding per qualifying student will be
determined based on the total amount of appropriated funding, the
number of eligible grant applicants, and the number of qualifying stu-
dents served by each eligible grant applicant. Funding under this pro-
gram for each qualifying student in attendance for the entire instruc-
tional period on a school day shall not exceed $1,500.

(2) Each applicant seeking funding through the high-qual-
ity prekindergarten grant program authorized by the Texas Education
Code (TEC), §29.165, must submit an application in a format pre-
scribed by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) through a request for
application (RFA).

(3) Each applicant must meet all the requirements estab-
lished under the TEC, Chapter 29, Subchapter E-1.

(b) An eligible applicant receiving funds under this program
must provide educational services to qualifying students. A student
qualifies for additional funding under this grant program if the student
is four years of age on September 1 of the year the student begins the
program and:

(1) is unable to speak and comprehend the English lan-
guage;
(2) is educationally disadvantaged;

(3) isahomeless child, as defined by 42 United States Code
§11434a, regardless of the residence of the child, of either parent of the
child, or of the child's guardian or other person having lawful control
of the child;

(4) is the child of an active duty member of the armed
forces of the United States, including the state military forces or a
reserve component of the armed forces, who is ordered to active duty
by proper authority;

(5) is the child of a member of the armed forces of the
United States, including the state military forces or a reserve compo-
nent of the armed forces, who was injured or killed while serving on
active duty; or

(6) isorever has been in the conservatorship of the Depart-
ment of Family and Protective Services following an adversary hearing
held as provided by the Texas Family Code, §262.201.

(c) To be eligible to receive grant funding under this program,
a school district or an open-enrollment charter school shall implement
a curriculum for a high-quality prekindergarten grant program that ad-
dresses all of the Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines (updated 2015) in
the following domains:

(1) social and emotional development;
(2) language and communication;

(3) emergent literacy reading;

41 TexReg 2488 April 1, 2016 Texas Register



(4) emergent literacy writing;

(5) mathematics;

(6) science;

(7) social studies;

(8) fine arts;

(9) physical development and health; and
(10) technology.

(d) To be eligible to receive grant funding under this program,
a school district or an open-enrollment charter school shall measure:

(1) the progress of each student in meeting the rec-
ommended end of prekindergarten year outcomes identified in the
Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines (updated 2015) using a progress
monitoring tool included on the commissioner's list of approved
prekindergarten instruments that measures:

(A) social and emotional development;
(B) language and communication;

(C) emergent literacy reading;

(D) emergent literacy writing; and

(E) mathematics; and

(2) the preparation of each student for kindergarten using
a kindergarten readiness instrument for reading as described in TEC,
§28.006.

(e) To be eligible to receive grant funding under this program,
each teacher of a high-quality prekindergarten grant program must be
certified under the TEC, Chapter 21, Subchapter B, and have one of the
following additional qualifications:

(1) aChild Development Associate (CDA) credential;

(2) acertification offered through a training center accred-
ited by Association Montessori Internationale or through the Montes-
sori Accreditation Council for Teacher Education;

(3) atleast eight years' experience of teaching in a nation-
ally accredited child care program;

(4) a graduate or undergraduate degree in early childhood
education or early childhood special education;

(5) documented completion of the Texas School Ready
Training Program (TSR Comprehensive); or

(6) be employed as a prekindergarten teacher in a school
district that has ensured that:

(A) prior to assignment in a prekindergarten class,
teachers who provide prekindergarten instruction have completed at
least 150 cumulative hours of documented professional development
addressing all ten domains in the Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines
that were approved prior to 2015 in addition to other relevant topics
related to high-quality prekindergarten over a consecutive five-year
period,;

(B) teachers who have not completed training re-
quired in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph prior to assignment in a
prekindergarten class complete:

(i) the first 30 hours of 150 cumulative hours of doc-

umented professional development addressing all ten domains in the
Texas Prekindergarten Guidelines (updated 2015) in addition to other

relevant topics related to high-quality prekindergarten before the end
of the 2016-2017 school year; and

(i) complete the additional hours in the subsequent
four years in order to continue providing instruction in a high-quality
prekindergarten classroom; and

(C) at least half of the hours required by subparagraph
(A) or (B) of this paragraph shall include experiential learning, prac-
tical application, and direct interaction with specialists in early child-
hood education or instructional coaches.

(f) Tobeeligible to receive grant funding under this program, a
school district or an open-enrollment charter school shall develop, im-
plement, and make available on the district, charter, or campus website
a family engagement plan to assist the district in achieving and main-
taining high levels of family involvement and positive family attitudes
toward education. An effective family engagement plan creates a foun-
dation for the collaboration of mutual partners, embraces the individ-
uality and uniqueness of families, and promotes a culture of learning
that is child centered, age appropriate, and family driven.

(1) The following terms, when used in this section, shall
have the following meanings.

(A) Family--Adults responsible for the child's care and
children in the child's life who support the early learning and develop-
ment of the child.

(B) Family engagement--The mutual responsibility of
families, schools, and communities to build relationships to support
student learning and achievement and to support family well-being and
the continuous learning and development of children, families, and ed-
ucators. Family engagement is fully integrated in the child's educa-
tional experience and supports the whole child and is both culturally
responsive and linguistically appropriate.

(2) The family engagement plan shall:

(A) facilitate family-to-family support using strategies
such as:
(i) creating a safe and respectful environment where
families can learn from each other as individuals and in groups;
(ii) inviting former program participants, including
families and community volunteers, to share their education and career
experiences with current families; and

(iii)  ensuring opportunities for continuous participa-
tion in events designed for families by families such as training on fam-
ily leadership;

(B) establish a network of community resources using
strategies such as:

(i) building strategic partnerships;
(ii) leveraging community resources;

(iii) monitoring and evaluating policies and prac-
tices to stimulate innovation and create learning pathways;

(iv) establishing and maintaining partnerships with
businesses, faith-based organizations, and community agencies;

(v) identifying support from various agencies,
including mental and physical health providers;

(vi) partnering with local community-based organi-
zations to create a family-friendly transition plan for students arriving
from early childhood settings;
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(vii) providing and facilitating referrals to family
support or educational groups based on family interests and needs;

(viii) communicating short- and long-term program
goals to all stakeholders; and

(ix) identifying partners to provide translators and
culturally relevant resources reflective of home language;

(C) increase family participation in decision making us-
ing strategies such as:

(i) developing and supporting a family advisory
council;

(ii) developing, adopting, and implementing identi-
fied goals within the annual campus/school improvement plan targeting
family engagement;

(iii)  developing and supporting leadership skills for
family members and providing opportunities for families to advocate
for their children/families;

(iv)  collaborating with families to develop strategies
to solve problems and serve as problem solvers;

(v) engaging families in shaping program activities
and cultivating the expectation that information must flow in both di-
rections to reflect two-way communication;

(vi) developing, in collaboration with families,
clearly defined goals, outcomes, timelines, and strategies for assessing
progress;

(vii) providing each family with an opportunity to
review and provide input on program practices, policies, communica-
tions, and events in order to ensure the program is responsive to the
needs of families; and

(viii) using appropriate tools such as surveys or fo-
cus groups to gather family feedback on the family engagement plan;

(D) equip families with tools to enhance and extend
learning using strategies such as:

(i) designing or implementing existing home educa-
tional resources to support learning at home while strengthening the
family/school partnership;

(i) providing families with information and/or
training on creating a home learning environment connected to formal
learning opportunities;

(iii) equipping families with resources and skills to
support their children through the transition to school and offering op-
portunities for families and children to visit the school in advance of
the prekindergarten school year;

(iv) providing complementary home learning activi-
ties for families to engage in at home with children through information
presented in newsletters, online technology, social media, parent/fam-
ily-teacher conferences, or other school- or center-related events;

(v) providing families with information, best prac-
tices, and training related to age-appropriate developmental expecta-
tions;

(vi) emphasizing benefits of positive family prac-
tices such as attachment and nurturing that complement the stages of
children's development;

(vii)  collaborating with families to appropriately re-
spond to children's behavior in a non-punitive, positive, and supportive
way;

(viii) encouraging families to reflect on family expe-
riences and practices in helping children; and

(ix) assisting families to implement best practices
that will help achieve the goals and objectives identified to meet the
needs of the child and family;

(E) develop staff skills in evidence-based practices that
support families in meeting their children's learning benchmarks using
strategies such as:

(i) providing essential professional development for
educators in understanding communication and engagement with fam-
ilies, including training on communicating with families in crisis;

(i) promoting and developing family engagement
as a core strategy to improve teaching and learning among all educators
and staff; and

(iii)  developing staff skills to support and use cultur-
ally diverse, culturally relevant, and culturally responsive family en-
gagement strategies; and

(F) evaluate family engagement efforts and use evalua-
tions for continuous improvement using strategies such as:

(i) conducting goal-oriented home visits to identify
strengths, interests, and needs;

(i) developing data collection systems to monitor
family engagement and focusing on engagement of families from spe-
cific populations to narrow the achievement gap;

(iii) using data to ensure alignment between family
engagement activities and district/school teaching and learning goals
and to promote continuous family engagement;

(iv) ensuring an evaluation plan is an initial compo-
nent that guides action;

(v) using a cyclical process to ensure evaluation re-
sults are used for continuous improvement and adjustment; and

(vi) ensuring teachers play a role in the family en-
gagement evaluation process.

(g) In a format prescribed by the TEA, a school district or an
open-enrollment charter school that receives funding under this grant
shall:

(1) report the curriculum used in the high-quality
prekindergarten program classes as required by subsection (c) of this
section;

(2) report a description and the results of each prekinder-
garten instrument used in the high-quality prekindergarten program
classes as required by subsection (d) of this section; and

(3) report:

(A) adescription of each kindergarten readiness instru-
ment used in the district or charter school to measure the effectiveness
of the district's or charter school's high-quality prekindergarten pro-
gram classes as required by subsection (d) of this section; and

(B) the results for at least 95% of the district's or char-
ter school's kindergarten students on the kindergarten readiness instru-
ment.

(h) A school district or an open-enrollment charter school that
receives funding under this grant shall:
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(1) select and implement appropriate methods for evaluat-
ing the district's or charter school's high-quality prekindergarten pro-
gram by measuring student progress; and

(2) make data from the results of program evaluations
available to parents.

(1) A school district or an open-enrollment charter school that
receives funding under this grant must attempt to maintain an average
ratio in any prekindergarten program class of not less than one certified
teacher or teacher's aide for every 11 students.

(j) A school district or an open-enrollment charter school that
receives funding under this grant may only use the funding to improve
the quality of the district's or charter school's high-quality prekinder-
garten program. Program funds must be used in accordance with the
requirements stated in the RFA.

(k) A school district or an open-enrollment charter school that
receives funding under this grant shall maintain locally and provide
at the TEA's request the necessary documentation to ensure fidelity of
high-quality prekindergarten program implementation.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 17, 2016.

TRD-201601272

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: April 6, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 5, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 113. TEXAS ESSENTIAL
KNOWLEDGE AND SKILLS FOR SOCIAL
STUDIES

SUBCHAPTER C. HIGH SCHOOL

19 TAC §113.49

The State Board of Education (SBOE) adopts new §113.49, con-
cerning Texas essential knowledge and skills (TEKS) for social
studies. The new section is adopted without changes to the pro-
posed text as published in the December 25, 2015 issue of the
Texas Register (40 TexReg 9435) and will not be republished.
The adoption adds TEKS for a new personal financial literacy
one-half credit elective course.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. The 83rd Texas Legislature,
Regular Session, 2013, passed House Bill (HB) 5, amending
the Texas Education Code (TEC), §28.025, to change the high
school graduation programs from the current minimum, recom-
mended, and advanced high school programs to one foundation
high school program with endorsements to increase flexibility
in graduation requirements for students. The 83rd Texas Leg-
islature also passed HB 2662, amending the TEC, §28.0021,
to require school districts and open-enroliment charter schools
offering a high school program to provide a one-half credit elec-
tive course in personal financial literacy. In August 2013, the
SBOE held a work session to discuss changes to the graduation
requirements in order to align with legislative requirements from

the 83rd Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2013, including a
discussion of the new courses required by HB 5 and HB 2662.
At the January 2014 meeting, the SBOE approved the final
adoption of new 19 TAC Chapter 74, Curriculum Requirements,
Subchapter B, Graduation Requirements. At that time, the
SBOE also discussed new course development priorities.

At the April 2014 meeting, the board prioritized the new courses
to be developed and requested that Texas Education Agency
(TEA) staff move forward with the development of TEKS for two
new mathematics courses, the one-half credit elective course in
personal financial literacy, a one-credit career and technical ed-
ucation personal financial literacy course approved to satisfy a
mathematics credit, and a one-credit combined world geogra-
phy/world history course. In April 2014, the board approved for
second reading and final adoption proposed revisions to 19 TAC
Chapter 74, Curriculum Requirements, Subchapter A, Required
Curriculum, to align rules for the required secondary curriculum
with requirements from the 83rd Texas Legislature, Regular Ses-
sion, 2013.

A committee of secondary and postsecondary educators and
business and industry representatives was convened in Austin
in May 2015 for a face-to-face meeting to begin working on rec-
ommendations for the personal financial literacy elective course.
The committee conducted three additional virtual meetings to
finalize its first draft recommendations. The course develop-
ment committee also made additional recommendations to its
proposal in response to feedback from the Texas Council on
Economic Education and the Texas Social Studies Supervisors
Association. The recommendations of the course development
committee were presented to the SBOE at its November 2015
and January 2016 meetings for consideration in accordance with
statutory requirements that the SBOE adopt TEKS for a new per-
sonal financial literacy one-half credit elective course.

New 19 TAC Chapter 113, Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills
for Social Studies, Subchapter C, High School, §113.49, Per-
sonal Financial Literacy, (One-Half Credit), Adopted 2016, was
approved by the SBOE for first reading and filing authorization
at its November 20, 2015 meeting and for second reading and
final adoption at its January 29, 2016 meeting.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES. Following is a
summary of the public comments received and the correspond-
ing responses regarding proposed new 19 TAC §113.49.

Comment. Two administrators asked if the requirement in 19
TAC §74.1(b) to offer a personal financial literacy course can be
fulfilled by offering a career and technical education course that
addresses personal financial literacy.

Response. This comment is outside the scope of the proposed
rulemaking.

Comment. One administrator asked if the proposed new Per-
sonal Financial Literacy course would be offered as a one-half
credit course.

Response. The SBOE provides the following clarification. The
board took action to approve §113.49, Personal Financial Liter-
acy, as a one-half credit course.

Comment. One parent asked if the proposed course is going
to replace §118.4, Economics with Emphasis on the Free Enter-
prise System and Its Benefits.

Response. The SBOE provides the following clarification. Eco-
nomics with Emphasis on the Free Enterprise System and Its
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Benefits is a required course that satisfies the economics grad-
uation requirement. The Personal Financial Literacy elective
course will not replace Economics with Emphasis on the Free
Enterprise System and lts Benefits, nor will it satisfy the eco-
nomics graduation requirement.

Comment. One administrator stated that §118.4, Economics
with Emphasis on the Free Enterprise System and Its Benefits,
includes student expectations related to personal financial liter-
acy but that trying to cover them and all the Economics student
expectations is extremely difficult.

Response. This comment is outside the scope of the proposed
rulemaking.

Comment. One parent inquired whether the proposed Personal
Financial Literacy course is a new course or already in effect.
The commenter stated that he is interested in the course for his
children in the future.

Response. The SBOE provides the following clarification. The
SBOE took action to approve §113.49, Personal Financial Lit-
eracy, for implementation beginning with the 2016-2017 school
year.

Comment. One teacher suggested offering personal financial
literacy courses in elementary and middle schools. The com-
menter added that the proposed course would require modifica-
tions to be taught at earlier grade levels, but stated that the topic
is too important to be offered as an elective and only in high
school.

Response. The SBOE disagrees and determined that personal
financial literacy instruction is already appropriately addressed
in the mathematics TEKS for Kindergarten-Grade 8.

Comment. One parent asked whether the proposed course is a
high school course.

Response. The SBOE provides the following clarification. The
SBOE took action to approve §113.49, Personal Financial Liter-
acy, to provide a one-half credit high school elective course in
personal financial literacy.

Comment. One community member expressed support for the
proposed new Personal Financial Literacy TEKS. The com-
menter added that this course will help students learn how to be
financially mature in our society and wished she had been given
the opportunity to take the course in high school.

Response. The SBOE agrees and has determined that the
course would benefit many students.

Comment. One administrator stated that a district in the com-
menter's service area is considering offering the proposed new
course to eighth grade students.

Response. This comment is outside the scope of the proposed
rulemaking.

Comment. One administrator stated that the proposed course
will be very beneficial to students and recommended it be a re-
quired course rather than an elective.

Response. The SBOE agrees that the course would benefit
many students but determined that the course is appropriate as
a high school elective as proposed.

Comment. One administrator stated that the proposed new Per-
sonal Financial Literacy course is a good course to offer as an
elective.

Response. The SBOE agrees and has determined that the
course is appropriate as a high school elective.

Comment. One administrator asked whether the proposed new
Personal Financial Literacy course would satisfy a social studies
or mathematics graduation requirement.

Response. The SBOE provides the following clarification. Un-
der statute, TEC, §28.0021, the Texas Essential Knowledge and
Skills must include instruction in personal financial literacy in one
or more courses offered for high school graduation, including a
course that meets the requirements for a one-half credit elective
course. The SBOE took action to approve the course as a social
studies elective course as proposed.

Comment. One administrator and one community member
questioned the inclusion of §113.49(b) in the introduction of the
concept of constitutional republics. The commenters stated that
the content seems out of place in this particular course.

Response. The SBOE disagreed and has determined that the
introduction for the course was appropriate as proposed.

Comment. Two administrators asked whether teachers of the
proposed new course will be required to have a social studies
composite, economics, or other specific social studies teaching
certificate.

Response. This comment is outside the scope of the proposed
rulemaking.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY.

The new section is adopted under the Texas Education Code
(TEC), §7.102(c)(4), which requires the SBOE to establish
curriculum and graduation requirements; TEC, §28.002, which
identifies the subjects of the required curriculum and requires
the SBOE to by rule identify the essential knowledge and
skills of each subject in the required curriculum that all stu-
dents should be able to demonstrate and that will be used in
evaluating instructional materials and addressed on the state
assessment instruments; TEC, §28.0021, which requires each
school district and each open-enrollment charter school that
offers a high school program to provide an elective course
in personal financial literacy that meets the requirements for
a one-half elective credit, using materials approved by the
SBOE; and TEC, §28.025, which requires the SBOE by rule to
determine the curriculum requirements for the foundation high
school graduation program that are consistent with the required
curriculum under §28.002.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The new section im-
plements the Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(4), 28.002,
28.0021, and 28.025.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 17, 2016.

TRD-201601273

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: April 6, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497
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TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC
ACCOUNTS

CHAPTER 3. TAX ADMINISTRATION
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL RULES
34 TAC §3.9

The Comptroller of Public Accounts adopts amendments to
§3.9, concerning electronic filing of returns and reports; elec-
tronic transfer of certain payments by certain taxpayers, without
changes to the proposed text as published in the February
12, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 1083). The
amendment corrects grammar in subsection (b)(2)(A)(ii) - (viii)
and (x) - (xii). The amendment will update the statute cite in
subsection (e)(1)(A). Additionally, the amendment will correct
grammar in the itemized list of taxes under subsection (e)(1)(A).
The amendment inserts a new subparagraph (B) which requires
franchise tax information reports to be filed electronically pur-
suant to SB 1364, 84th Legislature, 2015. Subsection (i)(2)(A)(i)
is amended for readability. This amendment memorializes a
policy change effective for reports due on or after September 1,
2015, and edits the section to improve readability.

No comments were received regarding adoption of the amend-
ment.

This amendment is adopted under Tax Code, §111.002, which
provides the comptroller with the authority to prescribe, adopt,
and enforce rules relating to the administration and enforcement
of the provisions of Tax Code, Title 2.

The amendments implement Tax Code, §111.0626 (Collection
Procedures).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 16, 2016.

TRD-201601255

Don Neal

Chief Deputy General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Effective date: April 5, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 12, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER NN. FIREWORKS TAX
34 TAC §3.1281

The Comptroller of Public Accounts adopts amendments to
§3.1281, concerning fireworks tax, without changes to the
proposed text as published in the February 12, 2016, issue of
the Texas Register (41 TexReg 1085). The amendments are
adopted to implement the provisions of Senate Bill 761, 84th
Legislature, 2015, which repealed the tax on fireworks effective
September 1, 2015.

The section is amended by adding new subsection (a) indicating
that the rule applies to periods prior to September 1, 2015. All
subsequent subsections are relettered accordingly.

Relettered subsection (d) is amended to correct the title of
§3.286 (Seller's and Purchaser's Responsibilities, including
Nexus, Permits, Returns and Reporting Periods, and Collection
and Exemption Rules).

No comments were received regarding adoption of the amend-
ment.

The amendments are adopted under Tax Code, §111.002, which
provides the comptroller with the authority to prescribe, adopt,
and enforce rules relating to the administration and enforcement
of the provisions of Tax Code, Title 2.

The amendments implement the repeal of Tax Code, Chapter
161 (Fireworks Tax).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 17, 2016.

TRD-201601264

Don Neal

Chief Deputy General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Effective date: April 6, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 12, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 19. STATE ENERGY
CONSERVATION OFFICE

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
34 TAC §19.2

The Comptroller of Public Accounts adopts an amendment to
§19.2, concerning state energy conservation office business lo-
cation and mailing address, without changes to the proposed text
as published in the October 2, 2015, issue of the Texas Register
(40 TexReg 6873). The amendment updates SECQO's physical
address.

One comment was received regarding this amendment. Doug
Lewin with the South-central Partnership for Energy Efficiency
as a Resource (SPEER) expresses support for the proposed
amendment. No response to this comment is necessary.

The amendment is adopted under Government Code,
§447.002(b), which authorizes SECO to "establish procedures
and adopt rules relating to the development and implementation
of energy and water conservation measures and programs
applicable to state buildings and facilities."

The amendment implements Government Code, Chapter 447,
regarding the State Energy Conservation Office.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 18, 2016.
TRD-201601282
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Don Neal

Chief Deputy General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Effective date: April 7, 2016

Proposal publication date: October 2, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387

¢ L4 ¢
SUBCHAPTER B. STATE FACILITY ENERGY
AND WATER MANAGEMENT

34 TAC §§19.12 - 19.14, 19.16, 19.17

The Comptroller of Public Accounts adopts amendments to
§19.12, concerning application, and §19.14, concerning energy
and water management plan, without changes to the proposed
text as published in the October 2, 2015, issue of the Texas
Register (40 TexReg 6873). The comptroller also adopts
amendments to §19.13, concerning definitions; §19.16, con-
cerning long range utility services plan; and §19.17, concerning
utility consumption data reporting, with changes to the proposed
text as published in the October 2, 2015, issue of the Texas
Register (40 TexReg 6873).

The amendment to §19.12 implements the requirements of Gov-
ernment Code, §447.009 regarding energy and water manage-
ment planning and reporting by clarifying the responsibilities and
reporting requirements for Providing Agencies and Tenant Agen-
cies.

The amendment to §19.13 updates the definitions to reflect
changes made in other sections of Chapter 19. The proposed
amendment adds the definitions of "Energy and Water Manage-
ment Plan," "Providing agency," "SECO," "Tenant agency," and
"Utility consumption data," and removes definitions that are no
longer used in this chapter.

The amendment to §19.14 implements the requirements of Gov-
ernment Code, §447.009 regarding energy and water manage-
ment planning and reporting by renaming this section as "En-
ergy and Water Management Plan," replacing the "Resource Ef-
ficiency Plan" with the "Energy and Water Management Plan,"
and outlining the submission and implementation requirements
for the plan.

The amendment to §19.16 implements the requirements of Gov-
ernment Code, §447.009 regarding energy and water manage-
ment planning and reporting by removing the requirement to sub-
mit the Long Range Utility Services Plan to the State Energy
Conservation Office (SECO) and requiring SECO to post guide-
lines for the plan on its website. It also removes duplicative lan-
guage by deleting the term "State Energy Conservation Office."

The amendment to §19.17 implements the requirements of
Government Code, §447.009 regarding energy and water
management planning and reporting by requiring agencies to
report utility consumption data, and directing agencies and
institutions to prepare and submit the data in accordance with
the guidelines located on SECO's website by October 31 of
each year. The amendment also removes the requirement that
"each state agency or institution of higher education review
and audit utility billings and contracts to detect billing errors"
because this requirement is already stated in Government
Code, §447.007(c). The amendment also renames the section
"Utility Consumption Data Reporting." Due to the submission
schedule of this rulemaking, the date for first submission of

utility consumption data described in §19.17(c) as "beginning
October 31, 2015" has been deleted from the proposed text as
unnecessary. Additionally, the word "report" has been changed
to "submit" in §19.17(a) and the words "submission of" has
been added between "for" and "utility" in §19.17(b) to make
the language consistent with the language in other rules in this
chapter.

Three comments were received regarding these amendments.

Cyrus Reed with the Lone Star Chapter of the Sierra Club re-
quests the addition of the words "energy and water use" between
"utility" and "reduction”" in the definition of "Energy and Water
Management Plan" in §19.13(1). The comptroller agrees with
this comment and adopts the change.

Mr. Reed comments that §19.16 should clarify that a Long
Range Utility Services Plan may include any self-generation
storage or demand response efforts. In response to this com-
ment, a definition of "Long Range Utility Services Plan" has
been added as new §19.13(3), which clarifies that a Long Range
Utility Services Plan may include any self-generation storage or
demand response efforts.

Mr. Reed also suggests that the submission of a Long Range
Utility Services Plan should be required under §19.16, not "upon
request," and should be published on a publicly available web-
site. The comptroller declines to adopt the change requiring
submission to SECO because it is unnecessary, but accepts
the change requiring publication on a publicly available web-
site, which enhances access to these plans and promotes trans-
parency.

Dawn Jones with the Texas Workforce Commission asks for clar-
ification as to due dates for the Energy and Water Management
Plan under §19.14(c) and Utility Data Consumption Reporting
under §19.17(c). The comptroller responds that the due date for
each document is October 31 of each year.

Doug Lewin with the South-central Partnership for Energy Effi-
ciency as a Resource (SPEER) expresses support for the pro-
posed amendments. No response to this comment is necessary.

The amendments are adopted under Government Code,
§447.002(b), which authorizes SECO to "establish procedures
and adopt rules relating to the development and implementation
of energy and water conservation measures and programs
applicable to state buildings and facilities."

The amendments implement Government Code, Chapter 447
(State Energy Conservation Office).

$§19.13.  Definitions.
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter shall have
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Energy and Water Management Plan--A comprehen-
sive plan prepared by a state agency or institution of higher education
that includes a progress report of utility energy and water use reduc-
tion measures, goals for reducing utility consumption, a strategy and
implementation schedule, a description of methods of financing im-
provements, and an employee awareness plan.

(2) Institution of higher education--Has the meaning that is
assigned by Education Code, §61.003.

(3) Long Range Utility Services Plan--A long range plan
for the delivery of reliable, cost-effective utility services for a state
agency or institution of higher education, including any on-site gen-
eration, energy storage or demand response.
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(4) Providing agency--A state agency or institution of
higher education that occupies or manages a state-owned building and
is responsible for paying utility bills.

(5) SECO--The Comptroller of Public Accounts State En-
ergy Conservation Office or legally designated successor.

(6) State agency--Any department, commission, board, of-
fice, or other agency in the executive, judicial, or legislative branch of
state government that exists under the constitution or a statute of this
state and that has authority that is not limited to a geographical portion
of the state.

(7) Tenant agency--A state agency or institution of higher
education that occupies a building managed by another party and is not
responsible for building renovation projects. A tenant agency may or
may not be responsible for directly paying utility bills.

(8) Utility--Electricity, gas, thermal, or other energy
resource, water, and wastewater.

(9) Utility consumption data--The measured amount of the
agency's or institution's water, electricity, gasoline, or natural gas us-
age.

§19.16. Long Range Utility Services Plan.

(a) Requirement. A state agency or institution of higher ed-
ucation that purchases utilities shall prepare a long range plan for the
delivery of reliable, cost-effective utility services for the agency or in-
stitution.

(b) Guidelines. SECO shall post guidelines for the Long
Range Utility Services Plan on its website.

(c) Frequency. The agency or institution shall update the Long
Range Utility Services Plan at least every five years to support five-year
construction and major renovation planning.

(d) Posting/Submission. The plan shall be:
(1) posted on a publicly available website; and
(2) submitted to SECO upon request.
$19.17.

(a) Requirement. Each state agency or institution of higher
education shall submit utility consumption data to SECO.

Utility Consumption Data Reporting.

(b) Guidelines. SECO shall post guidelines for the submission
of utility consumption data on its website.

(c) Frequency. Utility consumption data shall be submitted no
later than October 31 of each year.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 18, 2016.

TRD-201601283

Don Neal

Chief Deputy General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Effective date: April 7, 2016

Proposal publication date: October 2, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387

. . .
34 TAC §§19.15, 19.18, 19.19

The Comptroller of Public Accounts adopts the repeal of §19.15,
concerning implementation of resource efficiency plan recom-
mendations; §19.18, concerning semiannual reporting; and
§19.19, concerning extension of time, without changes to the
proposed text as published in the October 2, 2015, issue of the
Texas Register (40 TexReg 6876).

The repeal for §19.15 removes the requirements relating to the
Resource Efficiency Plan, which is no longer required by Gov-
ernment Code, §447.009. Instead, the statute replaced the Re-
source Efficiency Plan with the Energy and Water Management
Plan, which is addressed in the amendment to §19.14 of this
chapter.

The repeal of §19.18 removes the requirements relating to semi-
annual reporting, which are no longer required by the State En-
ergy Conservation Office (SECO).

The repeal of §19.19 removes the requirements relating to exten-
sion of time to submit any required plan or report, and clarifies
that no extensions will be permitted since SECO has a limited
amount of time after the deadline to submit this information to
the legislature.

One comment was received regarding these repeals. Doug
Lewin with the South-central Partnership for Energy Efficiency
as a Resource (SPEER) expresses support for the proposed
repeal of §19.15 and §19.19. No response to this comment is
necessary.

The repeals are adopted under Government Code, §447.002(b),
which authorizes SECO to "establish procedures and adopt rules
relating to the development and implementation of energy and
water conservation measures and programs applicable to state
buildings and facilities."

The repeals implement Government Code, Chapter 447.009
(State Energy Conservation Office).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 18, 2016.

TRD-201601284

Don Neal

Chief Deputy General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Effective date: April 7, 2016

Proposal publication date: October 2, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. ENERGY CONSERVATION
DESIGN STANDARDS
34 TAC §§19.31 - 19.34

The Comptroller of Public Accounts adopts amendments to
§19.31, concerning requirement to use design standards;
§19.33, concerning major renovation projects; and §19.34,
concerning submission of certification and compliance docu-
mentation, without changes to the proposed text as published
in the October 2, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg
6877). The comptroller also adopts an amendment to §19.32,
concerning energy and water conservation design standards,
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with changes to the proposed text as published in the October
2, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 6877).

The amendment to §19.31 removes duplicative language by
deleting the term "State Energy Conservation Office."

The amendment to §19.32 updates the energy conservation de-
sign standards and water conservation design standards for new
construction or major renovation of existing buildings in com-
pliance with Government Code, §447.004, which requires the
State Energy Conservation Office (SECO) to establish and pub-
lish mandatory energy and water conservation design standards
for state buildings or major renovation projects and to review
and update the standards biennially. The amendment also clari-
fies that the standards apply to state agencies and institutions of
higher education, and removes duplicative language by deleting
the term "State Energy Conservation Office." The effective dates
in subsection (a)(1) and (2) have been changed from "January
1, 2016," to "June 1, 2016" due to the submission schedule of
this rulemaking. Additionally, the date of the Water Conserva-
tion Design Standards has been changed from "April 2015" to
"April 2016" in subsection (b) to correct a typographical error in
the proposed text.

The amendment to §19.33 clarifies major renovation projects by
specifying that the implementation costs are those associated
with energy and water efficiency improvements, and that the cost
estimate is the engineering cost estimate.

The amendment to §19.34 requires agencies and institutions to
use the certification form located on SECO's website, and re-
moves duplicative language by deleting the term "State Energy
Conservation Office."

Three comments were received regarding these amendments.

Jonathan Kleinman with AIQUEOUS suggests the following
changes to the Water Conservation Design Standards for State
Buildings and Institutions of Higher Education Facilities under
§19.32(b):

1. Add the following to the list of Standards' goals in the
Overview section: "Highlight the auxiliary and embedded energy
savings associated with implemented water conservation mea-
sures." The comptroller declines to adopt this change because
the suggested addition is covered in existing ltem 4.

2. Change "alternate water source" to "alternative onsite wa-
ter" in the definition section to align it with the definitions in H.B.
1902, passed in the 2015 legislative session. The comptroller
agrees with this comment and adopts this change. In addition,
the definition of "graywater" has been changed to conform with
the definition of that term in H.B. 1902.

3. Add "multi-stream rotational" to the list of water-conserving
technology described in Item 3 of the Standards for Irrigation.
The comptroller agrees with this comment and adopts this
change.

4. Add "digitally-connected soil moisture sensors" to the list of
weather-based irrigation controllers described in Item 6 of the
Standards for Irrigation. In response to this comment, the comp-
troller adds "soil moisture sensors" to Item 7, instead of making
this change in ltem 6.

5. Add "for irrigation system operation" to the end of Item 13
of the Standards for Irrigation. The comptroller agrees with this
comment and adopts this change.

6. Consider specifying a percentage of non-turf, non-planted
permeable areas or stating that such areas need to be integrated
into the overall landscape design, and maximized as consistent
with the building programming needs in the Standards for Land-
scape Design. The comptroller declines to make this change be-
cause specifying a percentage will be too challenging for compli-
ance purposes. The approach is to provide more vegetation in-
stead of turf grass area, and planted area is typically surrounded
by mulch.

7. For major renovation, recommend an economic feasibility
study for converting landscaped areas to non-turf, non-planted
permeable areas and retiring irrigation zones, as appropriate.
The comptroller declines to adopt this change because this is a
list of standards, not best practices.

8. Define "minimal irrigation” in Item 5 of the Standards for Land-
scape Design. In response to this comment, the comptroller
deletes the words "minimal irrigation" from Item 5.

9. Consider adding a requirement for commissioning of water
conservation measures in the Standards for Heating, Ventilation
and Air Conditioning that is parallel with any requirements for
commissioning of energy efficiency measures. The comptroller
declines to adopt this change because a commissioning practice
is a best practice, not a standard; however, this comment will be
considered for any future list of best practices.

10. Consider specifying that "harvesting and delivery" in Item
3 of the Standards for Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning
specifically refer to "condensate water." The comptroller agrees
with this comment and adopts this change.

11. Consider using the term "alternative onsite water" in the
Rainwater Harvesting, Reclaimed Water, Recycled Water, and
Reuse section to align it with recent legislation. The comptroller
agrees with this comment and adopts this change.

12. Consider a requirement for system commissioning in the
Rainwater Harvesting, Reclaimed Water, Recycled Water, and
Reuse section. The comptroller declines to make this change
because a commissioning practice is a best practice, not a stan-
dard; however, this comment will be considered for any future
list of best practices.

13. In the Plumbing Fixtures and Pumps section, require an eco-
nomic feasibility study for waterless urinals and toilets, where
building programming is consistent with such a design. The
comptroller declines to adopt this change because the standards
for plumbing fixtures and pumps were recommended by the Wa-
ter Conservation Standards Working Group, based on their ex-
perience and practical constraints, and based on the water sav-
ing performance standards in 30 TAC §290.252.

14. Consider including a requirement in Item 2 of the Standards
for Plumbing Fixtures that toilets meet a 0.8 gpf standard. The
comptroller declines to adopt this change because these stan-
dards were recommended by the Water Conservation Standards
Working Group, based on their experience and practical con-
straints.

15. Consider including a requirement in ltem 5 of the Stan-
dards for Plumbing Fixtures that showerheads meet a 1.5 gpm
standard, as well as manual shutoff valves for when occupants
need to leave a shower for a period of time and wish to main-
tain hot water temperature. The comptroller declines to adopt
this change because these standards were recommended by the
Water Conservation Standards Working Group, based on their
experience and practical constraints.
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16. In Item 1 of the Standards for Garbage Disposal, require an
economic feasibility study to assess composting as an alterna-
tive to food waste disposal. The comptroller declines to adopt
this change because the Water Conservation Working Group
agreed that composting may not be a suitable or reasonable ap-
proach for a commercial operation; particularly in consideration
of sanitary health constraint aspects and maintenance of an in-
stallation.

17. Correct a typographical error in the title of the Pools, Spas,
and Special Water Features section. The comptroller agrees
with this comment and adopts this change.

18. Clarify what "where practical" means for requiring pool cov-
ers in Item 4 of the Standards for Pools and Spas. The comptrol-
ler declines to adopt this change because agencies determine
the practicality of covering pools and spas based on shape, size,
economic feasibility and other factors.

19. In ltem 1 of the Standards for Special Water Features, con-
sider establishing a limit to annual potable water consumption for
a special water feature, rather than simply a capacity limit. The
comptroller declines to adopt this change because these limits
are dependent on a variety of external factors.

Cyrus Reed with the Lone Star Chapter of the Sierra Club sug-
gests that SECO allow the 2015 International Energy Conserva-
tion Code (IECC) to be used as an alternate code to the proposed
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning
Engineers (ASHRAE)/llluminating Engineering Society of North
America (IESNA), 90.1-2013 standards. The comptroller agrees
with this comment and adopts this change in §19.32.

Mr. Reed also expresses concern with the current blanket ex-
emption for historic buildings in §19.32. The comptroller declines
to adopt this change because no changes to the historic building
exemption are being proposed in this rulemaking.

Doug Lewin with the South-central Partnership for Energy as a
Resource (SPEER) recommends that the historic buildings ex-
emption be replaced in §19.32 with language from the 2015 In-
ternational Energy Conservation Code relating to historic build-
ings. The comptroller declines to adopt this change because no
changes to the historic building exemption are being proposed
in this rulemaking.

Mr. Lewin with also recommends that §19.33 regarding Major
Renovation Projects be deleted in its entirety. The comptrol-
ler declines to adopt this change because Government Code,
§447.004(a) requires SECO to define "major renovation project.”

The amendments are adopted under Government Code,
§447.002(b), which authorizes SECO to "establish procedures
and adopt rules relating to the development and implementation
of energy and water conservation measures and programs
applicable to state buildings and facilities."

The amendments implement Government Code, §447.004 re-
garding design standards.

§19.32.  Energy and Water Conservation Design Standards.

(a) SECO adopts by reference the following minimum energy
standards for state agencies and institutions of higher education:

(1) for any new construction or major renovation project,
except low-rise residential buildings, with a design assignment made
on or after June 1, 2016, the energy conservation design standard of the
American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning En-
gineers (ASHRAE)/Illuminating Engineering Society of North Amer-
ica (IESNA), Energy Standard for Buildings, ASHRAE/IESNA Stan-

dard 90.1-2013, and any errata sheet for 90.1-2013 that is published by
the ASHRAE Standards Committee or the 2015 International Conser-
vation Code as published by the International Code Council, provided
however the following buildings or structures are exempt from com-
pliance with this section:

(A) a building or structure that is listed in the State or
National Register of Historic Places;

(B) abuilding or structure that is designated as a historic
property under local or state designation law or survey;

(C) abuilding or structure that is certified as a contribut-
ing resource with a National Register listed or locally designated his-
toric district; or

(D) with an opinion or certification by the State His-
toric Preservation Officer or Keeper of the National Register of His-
toric Places, a building or structure that is eligible to be listed on the
National or State Registers of Historic Places either individually or as
a contributing building to a historic district;

(2) for any new construction or major renovation project
of a low-rise residential building with a design assignment made on or
after June 1, 2016, the residential chapter of the 2015 International En-
ergy Conservation Code as published by the International Code Coun-
cil.

(b) Effective June 1,2016, SECO adopts by reference the "Wa-
ter Conservation Design Standards for State Buildings and Institutions
of Higher Education Facilities" prepared by SECO, dated April 2016,
as the water conservation design standards for any new construction or
major renovation project.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 18, 2016.

TRD-201601285

Don Neal

Chief Deputy General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Effective date: April 7, 2016

Proposal publication date: October 2, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387

L4 L4 L4
SUBCHAPTER D. LOAN PROGRAM FOR
ENERGY RETROFITS

34 TAC §§19.41 - 19.45

The Comptroller of Public Accounts adopts amendments to
§19.41, concerning description of program; §19.43, concerning
eligibility; and §19.45, concerning project funding and repay-
ment, without changes to the proposed text as published in
the October 2, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg
6878). The comptroller also adopts amendments to §19.42,
concerning definitions, and §19.44, concerning fund availability,
with changes to the proposed text as published in the October
2, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 6878).

The amendment to §19.41 clarifies that water efficiency mea-
sures are eligible for LoanSTAR funding and removes duplica-
tive language by deleting the term "State Energy Conservation
Office."
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The amendment to §19.42 expands the definition of "building"
to include not only the structure, but also the associated site
where energy or water consumption takes place; clarifies the
definition of "Estimated simple payback period," while specifying
that interest is included in the total estimated utility cost reduc-
tion measure costs; clarifies that water efficiency measures are
eligible for LoanSTAR funding by adding the word "water," and
by changing references from "energy" to "utility" and from "con-
servation" to "cost reduction"; removes "public junior colleges"
from the definition of "public sector institution" because they are
included within an "institution of higher education," which is cur-
rently part of the definition of "public sector institution"; clarifies
that certain measures that do not save energy but can result in
lower utility costs are eligible for LoanSTAR funding by changing
"conservation" to "cost reduction"; adds the definitions of "Utility
Assessment Report," "Utility Cost Reduction Measure" and "Util-
ity Cost Reduction Project"; removes the definitions of terms that
are no longer used in this subchapter; and removes duplicative
language by deleting the term "State Energy Conservation Of-
fice." The word "and," between the comma and "engineering,"
has been deleted in the third sentence of paragraph (2), and the
acronym "UCRM" has been changed to "UCRMSs" in the second
sentence of paragraph (10), to correct typographical errors in the
proposed text.

The amendment to §19.43 clarifies that water efficiency mea-
sures are eligible for LoanSTAR funding by changing references
from "energy" to "utility" and from "conservation" to "cost reduc-
tion"; clarifies loan eligibility requirements by providing that the
loan candidates must own and occupy the buildings where the
proposed projects will take place; clarifies the types and require-
ments of eligible Utility Cost Reduction Measures; and provides
that a Utility Assessment Report must be prepared by a State of
Texas licensed professional engineer in a format that follows the
LoanSTAR Program guidelines located on the SECO website,
unless SECO specifically waives this requirement.

The amendment to §19.44 simplifies the fund availability notifi-
cation process. The title of the section is also changed to "Fund
Availability" to more accurately reflect the amended content.

The amendment to §19.45 clarifies the term for repayment of
a loan; that loan disbursement is on a reimbursement basis;
that the borrower will receive a Loan Repayment Schedule upon
completion and acceptance of a project by SECO; and that there
is no penalty for the early repayment of a loan.

Two comments were received regarding these amendments.

Doug Lewin with the South-central Partnership for Energy Effi-
ciency as a Resource (SPEER) expresses support for the pro-
posed amendments. No response to this comment is necessary.

Cyrus Reed with the Lone Star Chapter of the Sierra Club sug-
gests changing §19.43(2)(M) to read: "thermal or electric energy
storage systems than help reduce or shift demand." The comp-
troller declines to adopt this change because the current text of
§19.43(2)(M) is sufficiently broad to include these systems.

The amendments are adopted under Government Code,
§2305.011(f), which authorizes the comptroller to "establish
procedures and adopt rules as necessary to administer" the
LoanSTAR program.

The amendments implement Government Code, §2305.032 re-
garding the LoanSTAR program.

§19.42.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise.

(1) Building--A structure and its associated site where en-
ergy or water consumption takes place.

(2) Estimated simple payback period--The estimated num-
ber of years necessary for the savings from the utility cost reduction
measure (UCRM) improvements to equal the cost of installing the im-
provements. The formula used in this determination is the total esti-
mated UCRM costs (including audit, metering, installation, equipment,
and engineering design, but excluding interest) divided by the annual
estimated utility cost savings. For Energy Savings Performance Con-
tracts only, the formula used in this determination is the total estimated
UCRM costs (including audit, metering, installation, equipment, en-
gineering design, and interest) divided by the annual estimated utility
cost savings.

(3) Facility--Any major energy or water using group of
buildings in geographic proximity to each other or a major energy or
water using system that one or more public sector institutions own and
occupy.

(4) Interest rate--The percentage of the loan amount
charged on an annual basis by SECO to a borrower for the use of the
LoanSTAR program proceeds.

(5) Loan agreement--The written agreement between an
applicant and SECO that details all terms and requirements under
which the loan is issued, including the intended use of the loan
proceeds.

(6) LoanSTAR Program--The state Revolving Loan Pro-
gram that SECO administers and which funds Utility Cost Reduction
Projects. The program is comprised of five elements: energy and water
audits, energy and water efficiency retrofits or enhancements, a revolv-
ing loan financing mechanism, program monitoring, and evaluation.

(7) Project cost--All costs that SECO determines to be di-
rectly related to the identification, design, implementation, metering,
and monitoring of UCRM.

(8) Public sector institution--Any state agency; community
college; institution of higher education as defined in Education Code,
§61.003; unit of local government including a county, city, town, or
public hospital; a public school; or political subdivision of the state.

(9) Utility Assessment Report (UAR)--A technical report
which identifies and documents energy, water, and other cost saving
measures. This report must be submitted to SECO by potential
LoanSTAR borrowers for financing approval. The UAR is prepared
by a State of Texas licensed professional engineer.

(10) Utility Cost Reduction Measure (UCRM)--A com-
mercially available energy efficient device, technique, or technology
that is designed to reduce energy consumption, peak energy demand,
water consumption or utility costs at an existing facility that a public
sector institution owns and occupies, and that is permanently affixed to
the building or is permanently installed on the site. Retrofit measures
that result from renewable energy resources are eligible UCRM:s.

(11)  Utility Cost Reduction Project--The identification, de-
sign, installation, monitoring, and evaluation of one or more energy and
water efficient measures that are designed to reduce energy consump-
tion, peak energy demand, water consumption, or utility cost.

$19.44.  Fund Availability.

Fund Availability. From time to time, SECO may publish a Notice
of Loan Fund Availability (NOLFA) regarding the availability of
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LoanSTAR loans under this subchapter. The notice shall be published
in the Texas Register or the Electronic Business Daily, and on the
SECO website.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 18, 2016.
TRD-201601286

Don Neal

Chief Deputy General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Effective date: April 7, 2016

Proposal publication date: October 2, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387

¢ ¢ ¢

TITLE 37. PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORREC-
TIONS

PART 7. TEXAS COMMISSION ON
LAW ENFORCEMENT

CHAPTER 219. PRELICENSING, REACTIVA-
TION, TESTS, AND ENDORSEMENTS
37 TAC §219.25

The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement (Commission)
adopts amended §219.25, concerning License Requirements
for Persons with Military Special Forces Training, with changes
to the proposed text as published in the October 30, 2015, issue
of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 7593).

This amended rule updates the qualifications to take the state
licensing examination. New licensing standards are added and
service time restrictions are removed. A special forces training
course is added and the amended rule eliminates the need for
the individual to show proof of completion.

These amendments are necessary to streamline the licensing
process for persons with military special forces training.

No comments were received regarding adoption of this amend-
ment.

The amendment is adopted under Texas Occupations Code
§1701.151, General Powers of the Commission; Rulemaking
Authority, and §1701.315, License Requirements for Persons
with Military Special Forces Training.

$§219.25.  License Requirements for Persons with Military Special
Forces Training.

(a) Inthis section, "special forces" means a special forces com-
ponent of the United States armed forces, including:

(1) the United States Army Special Forces;
(2) the United States Navy SEALs;
(3) the United States Air Force Pararescue;

(4) the United States Marine Corps Force Reconnaissance;
and

(5) any other component of the United States Special Op-
erations Command approved by the commission.

(b) An applicant qualifies to take the basic licensing examina-
tion if the applicant:

(1) meets minimum licensing standards;

(2) has provided military service records documenting that
the applicant has served in the special forces;

(3) successfully completes a training course developed for
special forces veterans; and

(4) completes a supplemental peace officer training course.
(c) The effective date of this section is May 1, 2016.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 16, 2016.

TRD-201601262

Kim Vickers

Executive Director

Texas Commission on Law Enforcement

Effective date: May 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: October 30, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 936-7713

¢ ¢ ¢

PART 11. TEXAS JUVENILE JUSTICE
DEPARTMENT

CHAPTER 380. RULES FOR STATE-
OPERATED PROGRAMS AND FACILITIES
SUBCHAPTER G. GENERAL PROVISIONS

The Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) adopts amend-
ments to the following rules without changes to the proposed
text as published in the December 4, 2015, issue of the Texas
Register (40 TexReg 8735): §380.9931 (Student Trust Fund),
§380.9951 (Training for Juvenile Correctional Officers), and
380.9955 (Staffing Requirements for Juvenile Correctional
Officers).

TJJD also adopts amendments to the following rules with
changes to the proposed text as published in the December 4,
2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 8735): §380.9909
(Access to Youth Information and Records) and §380.9933
(Spending Money for Released Youth).

TJJD also adopts the repeal of the following rules without
changes to the proposed text as published in the December 4,
2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 8735): §380.9901
(Confidentiality Regarding Youth Alcohol and Drug Abuse) and
§380.9911 (Youth Masterfile Records).

The changes to the proposed text of §380.9909 consist of cor-
recting minor grammatical errors.

The changes to the proposed text of §380.9933 consist of cor-
recting a cross-reference to another TJJD rule.

JUSTIFICATION FOR CHANGES

The justification for these amended and repealed rules is the
availability of rules that have been updated to conform to current
law and to more accurately reflect TJJD's current organizational
structure and practices. The rule changes will also promote more
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effective supervision of youth by allowing for modified staffing
patterns in high-restriction facilities.

Additional public benefits anticipated as a result of the rule
changes are standardization of practices for forwarding youths'
personal funds upon their departure from TJJD facilities and
ensuring youth have enough spending money to purchase
meals if traveling by public transportation to reach their homes
or parole placements.

SUMMARY OF CHANGES

The repeal of §380.9901 allows for information from this rule to
be consolidated into the amended §380.9909.

The amended §380.9909: 1) clarifies that this rule applies to
all youth committed to TJJD; 2) removes a statement that indi-
cated TJJD would not provide records in response to a request
from a confined youth or his/her agent; 3) removes requirements
concerning access to youth orders of adjudication and sealing
of youth records as this information is addressed in state law;
4) adds circumstances under which TJJD may allow access to
records that have been designated as restricted access, such as
when the juvenile court gives permission to provide the records
to a party in a civil suit when the person who is the subject of
the records has put facts relating to the person's records at is-
sue, or when the person who is the subject of the records is an
applicant for enlistment in the military and gives permission to
provide the records to military personnel; 5) clarifies that TJJD
will allow access to records that have been designated as re-
stricted access by the person who is the subject of the records
on an order from the juvenile court granting the petition filed by
or on behalf of the person who is the subject of the records; and
6) removes the requirement for TJJD to reply that no record ex-
ists when TJJD receives a request for information about records
that have been designated by court order as restricted access,
as this is no longer required under Texas Family Code §58.207.

The amended §380.9909 also adds requirements previously
found in §380.9911, such as provisions relating to custody,
transportation, and storage of youth records and information.

Additionally, the amended §380.9909 adds requirements previ-
ously found in §380.9901, such as provisions relating to identify-
ing the types of drug and alcohol information that are confidential
and requirements for notifying youth of the confidential nature of
this information.

The repeal of §380.9911 allows for certain information from this
rule to be consolidated into the amended §380.9909.

The amended §380.9931: 1) clarifies that TJJD is not responsi-
ble for funds that are lost or stolen after being transferred to a
youth's possession upon release or discharge; 2) clarifies that
the 15-day hold TJJD places on money orders does not apply
to U.S. Postal Service money orders; 3) clarifies that youth in
high-restriction facilities are not permitted to handle withdrawn
funds; 4) adds a requirement to notify the youth when TJJD must
withdraw funds from a youth's account when TJJD is charged for
a problem with a deposit, such as a charge for insufficient funds;
5) clarifies that TJJD will establish a savings account for a youth
who has a balance of at least $5,100 and the youth is expected
to stay at the current facility for at least six months; 6) adds a
requirement for youth who establish savings accounts to main-
tain at least $100 in their student trust fund accounts; 7) clarifies
that when a youth is moved to a contract residential facility that
does not have a banking system, TJJD does not forward the stu-
dent trust fund balance to the new facility. Instead, TJJD holds

the funds until the youth designates a third party to receive the
funds or personally requests the funds once he/she is released
from the facility; 8) clarifies that when a youth is paroled to a
home location, the total amount of his/her trust fund is provided
unless the youth has a balance over $50, in which case the youth
is provided up to $50 in cash and a check for the remainder is
mailed to the parole officer to be picked up by the youth at the
first parole meeting; 9) adds requirements for forwarding the bal-
ance of a youth's student trust fund when a youth is discharged
from TJJD and is sent to any type of residential placement, such
as adult prison, an Immigration and Customs Enforcement de-
tention facility, or a group home; and 10) adds a requirement for
TJJD to hold the funds in a youth's student trust fund account un-
til the account is cleared of any questions that prevented it from
being closed upon the youth's departure from the facility.

The amended §380.9933 increases the amount provided to
youth upon discharge or release from $10 to $15, which applies
only when youth do not have at least $15 in their student trust
fund accounts. The amended rule also clarifies that youth who
have at least $15 available in their student trust fund accounts
are provided an amount of cash upon release as specified in
§380.9931.

The amended §380.9951 reduces the amount of training juvenile
correctional officers (JCOs) must receive before assuming sole-
supervision responsibility from 300 hours to 240 hours. The rule
now requires at least 60 hours of additional training within the
first year of employment. The amended rule also requires the
training topics to include trauma-informed care and the signs and
symptoms of human trafficking.

The amended §380.9955 generally requires JCOs to rotate as-
signed stations at least once every 12 months, rather than every
six months. The amended rule also generally requires a JCO
to serve at least 12 months in another station, rather than six
months, before returning to a previously assigned station. Ad-
ditionally, the amended rule clarifies that a JCO who does not
meet the requirements for sole supervision may be included in
the staff-to-youth ratio if the JCO has completed training in ap-
propriate restraint techniques, first aid, and cardiopulmonary re-
suscitation.

SUMMARY OF PUBLIC COMMENTS

TJJD did not receive any public comments on the proposed
amendments or repeals.

RULE REVIEW

In the Proposed Rules section of the December 4, 2015, issue of
the Texas Register (40 TexReg 8735), TJJD published a notice
of intent to review §§380.9901, 380.9909, 380.9911, 380.9931,
380.9933, 380.9951, and 380.9955, as required by Texas Gov-
ernment Code §2001.039. TJJD did not receive any public com-
ments regarding the rule review.

TJJD has determined that the reasons for adopting §380.9901
and §380.9911 no longer exist. Accordingly, these rules are re-
pealed as previously described in this notice.

TJJD has determined that the reasons for adopting §§380.9931,
380.9951, and 380.9955 continue to exist. Accordingly, these
rules are readopted without changes as previously described in
this notice.

TJID has also determined that the reasons for adopting
§380.9909 and §380.9933 continue to exist. Accordingly, these
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rules are readopted with changes as previously described in
this notice.

DIVISION 1. ' YOUTH RECORDS
37 TAC §380.9901, §380.9911
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeals are adopted under Texas Human Resources Code
§242.003, which authorizes TJJD to adopt rules appropriate to
the proper accomplishment of its functions and to adopt rules for
governing TJJD schools, facilities, and programs.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 18, 2016.

TRD-201601294

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Effective date: April 15, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 4, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

37 TAC §380.9909
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amended section is adopted under Texas Human Re-
sources Code §242.003, which authorizes TJJD to adopt rules
appropriate to the proper accomplishment of its functions and to
adopt rules for governing TJJD schools, facilities, and programs.

$380.9909.  Access to Youth Information and Records.

(a) Purpose. This rule establishes controls on access to Texas
Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) youth records and information in
compliance with federal and state laws and regulations that limit access
to youth records.

(b) Applicability. This rule applies to all youth committed to
TIID.

(c) General Provisions. Records and information concerning
youth:

(1) must be marked "confidential;"

(2) must remain in the custody and control of authorized
personnel at all times;

(3) may not be disclosed except as allowed by law; and

(4) mustbe stored and transported in a manner that ensures
security and confidentiality.

(d) Access by a Youth or Parent.

(1) In the interest of protecting TJJD youth and the public,
TJJID may disclose records and other information concerning a youth
to the youth and the youth's parent or guardian only if the disclosure
would not:

(A) materially harm the treatment and rehabilitation of
the youth; or

(B) substantially decrease the likelihood of TJID
receiving information from the same or similar sources in the future.

(2) IfTJID decides it is appropriate to disclose information
to the parent or guardian concerning a youth who is at least 18 years
old, TIJID may do so only with the youth's written consent.

(e) Educational Information.

(1) Educational information is made available in accor-
dance with Title 20 of the United States Code §1232¢g and Title 34 of
the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR).

(2) A TIID youth who is at least 18 years old may access
his/her own educational information or grant consent to another indi-
vidual to access his/her information. If the youth is under the age of
18, the parent or guardian has the right to access the youth's educational
information or grant consent to another individual to access the youth's
educational information.

(3) TJID may disclose educational information of a youth
who is at least 18 years old to a parent without the youth's consent if
the parent is claiming the youth as a "dependent student" as defined in
Section 152 of the Internal Revenue Code.

(4) No consentisnecessary if TJJD is releasing educational
information on a youth to school officials within TJJD or to the school
district where the youth seeks to attend.

(f) Alcohol and Drug Treatment Records.

(1) Access to youth records that contain certain informa-
tion identifying the youth as chemically dependent or as a substance
abuser may be disclosed only as provided in 42 CFR Part 2. Confiden-
tiality requirements for this type of information are more restrictive
than requirements in other regulations.

(2) Drug and alcohol information that may not be released
includes any information that:

(A) would identify a youth as an alcohol or drug abuser;
or

(B) is obtained for the purpose of treating alcohol or
drug abuse, making a diagnosis for that treatment, or making a referral
for that treatment.

(3) At the time of admission, youth diagnosed as alcohol
or drug abusers must:

(A) be informed that federal laws protect the confiden-
tiality of their alcohol and drug abuse records; and

(B) be given a written copy of the summary of the fed-
eral law and regulations.

(4) If a document contains information regarding alcohol
and drug abuse but it also contains other information that may appro-
priately be released, TJJD must redact the alcohol and drug abuse in-
formation unless appropriate release forms have been completed.

(g) Restricted Access to Youth Records. If records have been
designated as restricted access by court order pursuant to Texas Family
Code §58.201, et seq., TJID must not permit access to these records
except:

(1) by a criminal justice agency for a criminal justice pur-
pose, as those terms are defined by Texas Government Code §411.082;
or

(2) by the person who is the subject of the records, on an
order from the juvenile court granting the petition filed by or on behalf
of the person who is the subject of the records; or

(3) by TIID for research purposes; or
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(4) with the permission of the juvenile court, by a party to
a civil suit if the person who is the subject of the records has put facts
relating to the person's records at issue in the suit; or

(5) with the written permission of the individual, by mili-
tary personnel, including a recruiter, of this state or the United States
if the individual is an applicant for enlistment in the armed forces.

(h) Release of Information upon Escape. TJJD may dissemi-
nate the following information upon an escape of a youth:

(1) the youth's name, including other names by which the
youth is known;

(2) the youth's physical description, including sex, weight,
height, race, ethnicity, eye color, hair color, scars, marks, and tattoos;

(3) aphotograph of the youth; and

(4) if necessary to protect the welfare of the community,
any other information that reveals dangerous tendencies of the youth
or expedites the apprehension of the youth.

(i) Access under Federal Protection and Advocacy Systems.
Pursuant to Title 42 of the United States Code §10805 and §15043,
federal law provides for a federally funded system of mental health
advocates and a federally funded system of advocates for the develop-
mentally disabled and grants those advocates access to facilities and
TJJD records for the purpose of investigating abuse and neglect of the
mentally ill or developmentally disabled.

(j) Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act.

(1) TJIDisnot a covered entity under the Health Insurance
Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) because it does not engage
in covered transactions as defined by 45 CFR §160.103. Records cre-
ated by an entity covered by HIPAA are subject to TJJID's regular con-
fidentiality rules and procedures.

(2) Protected health information generated by HIPAA-cov-
ered contract providers (University of Texas Medical Branch) to youth
in high-restriction facilities and halfway house programs is the property
of TJJD. The status of the source of the information does not impose
HIPAA restrictions on the use of that healthcare information.

(3) To the extent that any healthcare information obtained
by TJJD may be covered by HIPAA as it applies to youth at high-restric-
tion facilities and halfway houses, that healthcare information is for the
governmental uses and purposes enumerated in 45 CFR §164.512, in-
cluding but not limited to:

(A) the provision of healthcare to that youth;
(B) the health and safety of that youth or other youths;

(C) the health and safety of the officers or employees of
or others at a high-restriction facility or halfway house;

(D) the health and safety of such individuals and offi-
cers or other persons responsible for the transporting of youths or their
transfer from one institution, facility, or setting to another;

(E) law enforcement on the premises of a high-restric-
tion facility or halfway house; and

(F) the administration of the safety, security, and good
order of a high-restriction facility or halfway house.

(4) A contract healthcare provider who is a HIPAA-cov-
ered entity and provides services to TJJD youth other than those in
high-restriction facilities or halfway houses is required as a condition
of the contract to secure all necessary consents or authorizations to pro-
vide to or obtain from TJJD protected health information.

(k) Release of Certain Information for a Legitimate Need.
TJJD may disclose information regarding a youth's location and com-
mitting court to a person having a legitimate need for the information
(e.g., to provide a location for a bench warrant or service of process
to be issued the youth).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 18, 2016.

TRD-201601295

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Effective date: April 15, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 4, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 2. YOUTH FUNDS
37 TAC §380.9931, §380.9933
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment to §380.9331 is adopted under Texas Human
Resources Code §242.063, which requires TJJD to adopt rules
governing the administration of the student trust fund.

The amendment to §380.9933 is adopted under Texas Human
Resources Code §245.106, which requires TJJD to adopt rules
that establish an amount of money to be provided to each child
released under supervision.

$380.9933.  Spending Money for Released Youth.

(a) The Texas Juvenile Justice Department (TJJD) provides
$15 in cash from TJJD funds to each youth who:

(1) isreleased or discharged from a residential facility op-
erated by TJID;

(2) will travel by public transportation to his/her home
placement; and

(3) does not have at least $15 available to withdraw from
his/her student trust fund account.

(b) A youth who has at least $15 available to withdraw from
his/her student trust fund account is provided cash from his/her student
trust fund account in accordance with §380.9931 of this title upon re-
lease or discharge.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 18, 2016.

TRD-201601297

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Effective date: April 15, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 4, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

41 TexReg 2502 April 1, 2016 Texas Register



DIVISION 3.
OFFICERS
37 TAC §380.9951, §380.9955
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amended rules are adopted under Texas Human Resources
Code §242.009, which requires TJJD to adopt rules to administer
the training and staffing requirements for juvenile correctional
officers set forth in this section.

JUVENILE CORRECTIONAL

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 18, 2016.

TRD-201601298

Jill Mata

General Counsel

Texas Juvenile Justice Department

Effective date: April 15, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 4, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 490-7014

¢ ¢ ¢

TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE

PART 2. DEPARTMENT OF ASSISTIVE
AND REHABILITATIVE SERVICES

CHAPTER 109. OFFICE FOR DEAF AND
HARD OF HEARING SERVICES

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
on behalf of the Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative
Services (DARS), adopts amendments to §109.105 in Sub-
chapter A, General Rules; amendments to §§109.205, 109.217,
109.221, 109.223 and 109.231, in Subchapter B, Division 1,
Board for Evaluation of Interpreters (BEI) Interpreter Certi-
fication; amendments to §109.315, in Division 2, BEI Court
Interpreter Certification; and new §§109.451, 109.453, and
109.457 in new Division 4, BEI Medical Interpreter Certification.

The amendment to §109.217 is adopted with changes to the
proposed text published in the November 13, 2015, issue of
the Texas Register (40 TexReg 7973). The amendments to
§8§109.105, 109.205, 109.221, 109.223, 109.231, and 109.315;
and new §§109.451, 109.453, and 109.457 are adopted without
changes; therefore, the sections will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

DARS has recently completed an agency initiative to develop a
new medical interpreter performance test (called the BEI Medical
Performance Test) for the BEI Interpreter Certification program.
The test is designed for interpreters seeking medical certifica-
tion. Interpreters certified as medical interpreters assist persons
who are deaf or hard of hearing in communicating with medical
professionals in settings such as hospitals or medical offices.

In partnership with the University of Arizona, DARS Office for
Deaf and Hard of Hearing Services (DHHS) has also developed

the American Sign Language (ASL) Proficiency Test and Perfor-
mance Test for persons who are deaf or hard of hearing and who
are seeking interpreter certification. The ASL Proficiency Test
and Performance Test will replace the current test for persons
who are deaf or hard of hearing and who are seeking interpreter
certification.

HHSC, on behalf of DARS, is adopting new rules for the Medical
Performance Test and amending existing BEI rules to incorpo-
rate the new ASL Proficiency Test and Performance Test. Rules
for the BEI Interpreter Certification program fee schedule will be
amended to include new fees for these tests. Test fees help de-
fray the costs of test development, administration, and rating.

Additionally, Senate Bill (S.B.) 1307, 84th Legislature, Regular
Session, 2015, requires rule amendments that pertain to mili-
tary personnel. Senate Bill 1307 addresses exceptions to the
requirements for military personnel and spouses of military per-
sonnel, which are applicable to the BEI Interpreter Certification
program. Rule amendments address fee waivers for military
personnel applying for certification when the applicant otherwise
meets all requirements, as required by S.B. 807, 84th Legisla-
ture, Regular Session, 2015.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

HHSC, on behalf of DARS, adopts amendments to §109.105,
Definitions, to add a new definition for "certified medical inter-
preter."

HHSC, on behalf of DARS, adopts amendments to §109.205,
Definitions, to add definitions of "active duty" and "armed forces
of the United States" and to modify definitions for "military service
member," "military spouse," and "military veteran" to align with
S.B. 1307.

HHSC, on behalf of DARS, adopts amendments to §109.217,
Qualifications and Requirements for a BEI Certificate, to estab-
lish the option to take an ASL proficiency test and a performance
test for persons who are deaf or hard of hearing. This rule sec-
tion establishes eligibility requirements and clarifies that appli-
cants must pass the American Sign Language (ASL) Proficiency
Test to take the Performance Test. In addition, this rule section
eliminates the prerequisite and performance tests previously re-
quired of persons who are deaf or hard of hearing and who are
seeking certification.

HHSC, on behalf of DARS, adopts amendments to §109.221,
Validity of Certificates and Recertification, to extend the time by
two years for a person who has served in the military to earn all
continuing education units, in accordance with S.B. 1307.

HHSC, on behalf of DARS, adopts amendments to §109.223,
Certificate Renewal, to allow a person who has served in the
military and who has an expired court certificate to renew certifi-
cation within two years, in accordance with S.B. 1307.

HHSC, on behalf of DARS, adopts amendments to §109.231,
Schedule of Fees, to establish a fee for persons taking the Med-
ical Performance Test and the ASL Proficiency Test and Per-
formance Test for persons who are deaf or hard of hearing. It
eliminates the prerequisite and performance tests previously re-
quired of persons who are deaf or hard of hearing and who are
seeking certification. It establishes application fees for persons
who have taken the BEI test in another state and want to become
Texas certified as Basic, Advanced, or Master. In addition, this
rule section is amended to address the waiver of fees for military
personnel, in accordance with S.B. 807.
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HHSC, on behalf of DARS, adopts amendments to §109.315,
Qualifications and Requirements of Court Certificate, to allow
military service members and military veterans to be issued an
expedited BEI court interpreter certificate, in accordance with
S.B. 1307.

HHSC, on behalf of DARS, adopts new §109.451, Purpose, to
establish a new Division 4, BEI Medical Interpreter Certification.

HHSC, on behalf of DARS, adopts new §109.453, Legal Author-
ity, to establish the legal authority for medical certification under
the BEI program.

HHSC, on behalf of DARS, adopts new §109.457, Qualifications
and Requirements for Medical Certificate, to establish the quali-
fications and requirements for a person applying for medical in-
terpreter certification. This rule section is also being added to
establish an annual renewal requirement and a five-year contin-
uing education requirement.

COMMENTS

DARS received comments from twelve commenters during the
30-day comment period. A summary of the comments along with
the agency's responses follow.

Comment: Three commenters supported the changes to the pro-
posed rules. One commenter supported the requirements of the
20 clock hours for medical recertification and the prerequisite
certification for taking the medical test as required by §109.457,
relating to Qualifications and Requirements for Medical Certifi-
cate.

Response: DARS agrees with these comments.

Comment: One commenter, relating to §109.105, Definitions,
inquired if a medical certificate should be added to the definition
of "specialty certificate."

Response: Based on DARS's review of the comment and
DARS' recommendation, this rule is being adopted without
change. The term specialty certificate has been removed from
§109.217, Qualifications and Requirements for a BEI Certificate,
and is only referenced as a definition. At this time, medical
certificate is not added to this definition.

Comment: One commenter, relating to §109.217, stated that the
use of the American Sign Language (ASL) Proficiency Test may
not be useful when many interpreters work in K-12 and other
educational settings and not the public sector.

Response: The ASL Proficiency Test is for individuals who are
deaf or hard of hearing. Interpreter candidates who are deaf or
hard of hearing are required to pass the ASL Proficiency Test to
be eligible for the performance test for persons who are deaf or
hard of hearing. The ASL Proficiency Test is not geared for a
particular setting.

Section 109.217 is being adopted with a change in order to cor-
rect an editorial error. Subsection (c)(2) should include an "and"
instead of a period in order to include subsection (c)(3) as part
of the requirement to take a BEI performance test.

Comment: Two commenters, relating to the new rules proposed
for Division 4, BEI Medical Interpreter Certification, are con-
cerned about the current shortage of interpreters and to impose
a medical interpreter certification would add to the shortage.
One commenter inquired when requirement of a medical certifi-
cation would begin.

Response: Based on DARS's review of the comments and
DARS' recommendation, these rules are being adopted without
change, as medical certification is not required to interpret in
medical settings. Establishing a voluntary certification would
not impact the availability of qualified interpreters but rather
enhance the field by providing an alternative means to qualify
interpreters in medical settings. The new medical test is sched-
uled for release in the spring of 2016.

Comment: Four commenters requested that §109.457, Qual-
ifications and Requirements for Medical Certificate, allow for
grandfathering certified BEI Advanced and Master certificate
holders who have many years of experience in medical inter-
preting.

Response: Based on DARS's review of the comments and
DARS' recommendation, this rule is being adopted without
change. Medical certification is optional for interested inter-
preters when working with hospitals and physicians and is not
required to interpret in medical settings. This is the first time
that DARS has used medical certification; therefore, there is no
grandfathering for this certification.

Comment: One commenter, relating to §109.457, inquired if the
medical certification was for both sign language and oral inter-
preters as there is a need for both modes of interpreting in a
medical setting.

Response: Based on DARS's review of the comment and DARS'
recommendation, this rule is being adopted without change. The
Medical Performance Test is designed for sign language inter-
preters. DARS may develop a test for oral interpreters as fund-
ing becomes available.

Comment: One commenter, relating to §109.457, inquired if per-
sons who are deaf could take the Medical Performance Test.
One commenter asked if interpreters who are deaf could inter-
pret in medical settings since they are not eligible to take the
Medical Performance Test.

Response: Based on DARS's review of the comment and DARS'
recommendation, this rule is being adopted without change. The
medical test is designed to test the skills of interpreters who can
hear at the conversational level. Medical certification is not re-
quired to interpret in medical settings and deaf interpreters could
still interpret in a medical setting.

Comment: One commenter, relating to §109.457, requested
that interpreters applying for certification be required to have
a background check and take a Tuberculosis (TB) test. The
commenter stated that one hospital and a school system
required interpreters to have a TB test before interpreting at
their facilities, which makes it a hardship on interpreter referral
agencies to find interpreters willing to take the TB test. Since
this is requested, it would be better to require a background
check and TB test when the interpreter updates the certification.

Response: Based on DARS's review of the comment and DARS'
recommendation, this rule is being adopted without change. The
BEI program focuses on the skill sets needed to become certified
rather than on employment requirements that individual employ-
ers may establish for interpreters.

Comment: Four commenters inquired about the training re-
quirements to take the Medical Performance Test as required by
§109.457. Comments included defining a credit hour, counting
experience towards training, requiring types of medical training,
considering mentoring for training, and receiving credit for past
courses. The commenters also inquired if a study guide will be
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provided and will recommendations from the HHSC Advisory
Committee on Qualifications for Healthcare Translators be
a guide to determine training types. One commenter stated
that content knowledge of medical terms and procedures are
essential.

Response: Based on DARS's review of the comments and
DARS' recommendation, this rule is being adopted without
change. Credit hours are used to mean clock hours and are
consistent with language currently in rule. In addition, experi-
ence does not qualify towards training and DARS DHHS must
approve training, including mentoring and workshops. Policy
will be developed to provide additional guidance on training
requirements. A study guide will be developed and published
to the DARS website. No restrictions have been established by
these proposed rules as to when courses may be taken.

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL RULES

40 TAC §109.105
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted amendments are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 111, §111.051, Chapter 117, and
Chapter 81. The amendments are adopted pursuant to HHSC's
statutory rulemaking authority under Texas Government Code,
Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to promulgate rules
for the operation of and provision of health and human services
by the health and human services agencies.

No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 17, 2016.

TRD-201601265

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: April 6, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050
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SUBCHAPTER B. BOARD FOR EVALUATION
OF INTERPRETERS

DIVISION 1. BEI INTERPRETER
CERTIFICATION

40 TAC §§109.205, 109.217, 109.221, 109.223, 109.231
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted amendments are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 111, §111.051, Chapter 117, and
Chapter 81. The amendments are adopted pursuant to HHSC's
statutory rulemaking authority under Texas Government Code,
Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to promulgate rules
for the operation of and provision of health and human services
by the health and human services agencies.

No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.
§109.217.  Qualifications and Requirements for a BEI Certificate.

(a) To apply for or to take any examination for a BEI Certifi-
cate, an applicant must:

(1) be at least 18 years old;

(2) have earned a high school diploma or its equivalent;
and

(3) not have a criminal conviction that could qualify as
grounds for denial, probation, suspension, or revocation of a BEI cer-
tificate, or other disciplinary action against any holder of a BEI certifi-
cate.

(b) To take the written Test of English Proficiency or to take
the American Sign Language Proficiency Test for persons who are deaf
or hard of hearing, an applicant must have:

(1) met all the criteria in subsection (a) of this section; and

(2) earned at least 30 credit hours from an accredited col-
lege or university, with a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher.

(c) To take a BEI performance test, an applicant must have:
(1) met all the criteria in subsection (a) of this section;

(2) earned an associate degree and/or a minimum of 60
credit hours from an accredited college or university, with a cumula-
tive GPA of 2.0 or higher, unless the applicant is applying for a court,
medical, or trilingual certificate or except as provided in subsections
(e) and (f) of this section; and

(3) earned a passing score on the Test of English Profi-
ciency, unless the applicant is applying for a court, medical, or trilin-
gual certificate; or

(4) earned a passing score on the American Sign Language
Proficiency Test if the applicant is deaf or hard of hearing.

(d) To apply for and to be issued a BEI certificate, an applicant
must have:

(1) met all criteria in subsection (a) of this section; and

(2) earned an associate degree and/or a minimum of 60
credit hours from an accredited college or university, with a cumulative
GPA of 2.0 or higher, except as provided in subsections (e) and (f) of
this section; and earned a passing score on the requisite examination
for the certificate level sought.

(e) A BEI certificate holder who holds an active and valid BEI
certificate awarded as a result of proceedings initiated before January
1, 2012, is exempt from the educational or degree requirements in sub-
sections (b), (c), and (d) of this section, as long as the BEI certificate
remains active and valid.

(f) A BEI certificate holder who holds an active and valid BEI
certificate awarded as a result of proceedings initiated before January
1, 2012, and who applies for an additional BEI certificate level after
January 1, 2012, may be exempt from the educational or degree re-
quirements of subsections (b), (c), and (d) of this section, if, at the time
the certificate holder applies for, takes, and passes any BEI examina-
tion for the additional certificate, the BEI certificate holder:

(1) has an active and valid BEI certificate that is fully com-
pliant with BEI's annual certificate maintenance and five-year recerti-
fication rules and requirements;

(2) is not under any type of active or pending disciplinary
action from BEI or DHHS; and
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(3) satisfies all other rules and requirements applicable to
the additional BEI certificate level sought.

(g) A certified interpreter wanting to take a higher level BEI
performance test must have the following prerequisite certificate for
the corresponding BEI performance test:

Figure: 40 TAC §109.217(g)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 17, 2016.

TRD-201601267

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: April 6, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050
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DIVISION 2. BEI COURT INTERPRETER
CERTIFICATION

40 TAC §109.315

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted amendments are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 111, §111.051, Chapter 117, and
Chapter 81. The amendments are adopted pursuant to HHSC's
statutory rulemaking authority under Texas Government Code,
Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to promulgate rules
for the operation of and provision of health and human services
by the health and human services agencies.

No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 17, 2016.

TRD-201601268

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: April 6, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050
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DIVISION 4. BEI MEDICAL INTERPRETER
CERTIFICATION

40 TAC §§109.451, 109.453, 109.457

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rules are authorized by the Texas Human Re-
sources Code, Chapter 111, §111.051, Chapter 117, and Chap-
ter 81. The new rules are adopted pursuant to HHSC's statutory
rulemaking authority under Texas Government Code, Chapter
531, §531.0055(¢e), which provides the Executive Commissioner
of HHSC with the authority to promulgate rules for the operation
of and provision of health and human services by the health and
human services agencies.

No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on March 17, 2016.

TRD-201601269

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: April 6, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 13, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050
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