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Adopted rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing
LE S rules. A rule adopted by a state agency takes effect 20 days after the date on which it is
filed with the Secretary of State unless a later date is required by statute or specified in
the rule (Government Code, §2001.036). If a rule is adopted without change to the text of the proposed rule, then the
Texas Register does not republish the rule text here. If a rule is adopted with change to the text of the proposed rule, then
the final rule text is included here. The final rule text will appear in the Texas Administrative Code on the effective date.

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 353. MEDICAID MANAGED CARE
SUBCHAPTER G. STAR+PLUS
1 TAC §353.608

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts amendments to §353.608, concerning Minimum Pay-
ment Amounts to Qualified Nursing Facilities, with changes to
the proposed text as published in the March 4, 2016, issue of
the Texas Register (41 TexReg 1553). The text of the rule will
be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

During its 84th Session, the Texas Legislature, through the 2016-
2017 General Appropriations Act (Article I, House Bill 1, 84th
Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, Rider 97), directed HHSC to
transition the Nursing Facility Minimum Payment Amounts Pro-
gram (MPAP) from a program solely based on enhanced pay-
ment rates to publically owned nursing facilities to a Quality In-
centive Payment Program (QIPP) for all nursing facilities that
have a source of public funding for the non-federal share. The
additional payments to nursing facilities through the QIPP were
to be based on improvements in quality and innovation in the
provision of nursing facility services.

Proposed new §353.609 (41 TexReg 11), concerning Quality In-
centive Payment Program for Nursing Facilities, described the
QIPP.

The proposed amendments to §353.608 allowed a transition pe-
riod for existing MPAP participants to make the shift to QIPP.
In this transition period, current MPAP participants would be al-
lowed to receive MPAP payments at approximately 50 percent
of their current MPAP payment level. Facilities not currently en-
rolled in MPAP would not be eligible for transition MPAP pay-
ments.

The proposed amendment added a new eligibility period; de-
scribed eligibility requirements for the new eligibility period; and
indicated that, for the new eligibility period, the MPAP payment
was to be equal to that calculated as per the existing MPAP
methodology divided by two. Additionally, this proposed amend-
ment changed the time period in which reconciliations would oc-
cur, added the option for HHSC to perform interim reconciliations
for the new eligibility period only, and updated the consequences
to participants that do not timely provide the non-federal share
of the MPAP payment.

HHSC submitted a QIPP concept paper to the Centers for Medi-
care and Medicaid Services (CMS) for review and comment on
October 30, 2015. In February and March of 2016, HHSC began
to receive feedback from CMS regarding the concept paper.

HHSC was unable to resolve CMS concerns to allow for imple-
mentation of QIPP on September 1, 2016. HHSC is continuing
to work with CMS with a goal of resolving their concerns in time
to enable a March 1, 2017, rollout of QIPP. In the interim, the
initiation of a transition period for QIPP is no longer necessary.
As a result, the proposed amendments to §353.608 are being
adopted with the following changes to the proposed text.

Proposed subsection (b)(9) is amended to indicate that Eligibility
Period Three will end February 28, 2017, rather than August 31,
2017.

Proposed subsection (d)(4) is deleted. This paragraph indicated
that the MPAP payment for Eligibility Period Three would be
equal to the MPAP payment calculated under the existing
methodology divided by two. MPAP participants will instead
be eligible for the entire amount available under the existing
methodology. Therefore, MPAP participants will receive roughly
the same amount in the six-month extension as they would
receive under the original proposal.

Proposed subsection (g)(4)(B) is amended to indicate that HHSC
may complete interim reconciliations for Eligibility Period Three
between February 28, 2017, and February 28, 2019, rather than
between August 31, 2017, and August 31, 2019.

Proposed subsection (j) is amended to indicate that the MPAP
program will expire on February 28, 2017.

The end result of these changes upon adoption will be to extend
the existing MPAP program for current participants who chose to
re-enroll for Eligibility Period Three through February 28, 2017,
allowing MPAP payments to continue flowing to these partici-
pants while HHSC continues negotiations with CMS regarding
QIPP. In effect, the status quo with regard to the MPAP program
will be maintained for six more months.

COMMENTS

The 30-day comment period ended April 4, 2016. During this
period, HHSC received no comments regarding the proposed
amendments to this rule.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendment is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.033, which provides the Executive Commissioner of HHSC
with broad rulemaking authority; Texas Human Resources
Code §32.021 and Texas Government Code §531.021(a),
which provide HHSC with the authority to administer the federal
medical assistance (Medicaid) program in Texas; and Texas
Government Code §531.021(b), which establishes HHSC as the
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agency responsible for adopting reasonable rules governing the
determination of fees, charges, and rates for medical assistance
(Medicaid) payments under Texas Human Resources Code
Chapter 32.

$355.608.  Minimum Payment Amounts to Qualified Nursing Facili-
ties.

(a) Introduction. This section establishes minimum payment
amounts for certain non-state government-owned nursing facility
providers participating in the STAR+PLUS Program, or other Medic-
aid managed care programs offering nursing facility services, and the
conditions for receipt of these amounts.

(b) Definitions.

(1) Calculation Period--A month used to calculate the Min-
imum Payment Amount. There are six calculation periods in Eligibility
Period One and twelve calculation periods in Eligibility Period Two.

(2) CHOW Application--An application filed with the De-
partment of Aging and Disability Services for a nursing facility change
of ownership.

(3) Clean Claim--A claim submitted by a provider for
health care services rendered to an enrollee with the data necessary for
the managed care organization to adjudicate and accurately report the
claim. Claims for Nursing Facility Unit Rate services that meet the
Department of Aging and Disability Services' criteria for clean claims
submission are considered Clean Claims. Additional information
regarding Department of Aging and Disability Services' criteria for
clean claims submission is included in HHSC's Uniform Managed
Care Manual, which is available on HHSC's website.

(4) DADS--The Texas Department of Aging and Disability
Services.

(5) Eligibility Period--A period of time for which a Qual-
ified Nursing Facility may receive the Minimum Payment Amounts
described in this section.

(6) Eligibility Period One--The first period of time for
which a Qualified Nursing Facility may receive the Minimum Payment
Amounts described in this section, covering dates of service from the
later of March 1, 2015, or the date on which nursing facility services
become managed care services, to August 31, 2015.

(7) Eligibility Period Two--The second period of time for
which a Qualified Nursing Facility may receive the Minimum Pay-
ment Amounts described in this section, covering dates of service from
September 1, 2015, to August 31, 2016.

(8) Eligibility Period Two-A--The third period of time for
which a Qualified Nursing Facility may receive the Minimum Payment
Amounts described in this section, covering dates of service from De-
cember 1, 2015, to August 31, 2016.

(9) Eligibility Period Three--The fourth period of time for
which a Qualified Nursing Facility may receive the Minimum Pay-
ment Amounts described in this section, covering dates of service from
September 1, 2016, to February 28, 2017.

(10) First Payment--The payment made in the ordinary
course of business by MCOs to Qualified Nursing Facilities for the
provision of covered services to Medicaid recipients.

(11) HHSC--The Texas Health and Human Services Com-
mission or its designee.

(12) Intergovernmental transfer (IGT)--A transfer of public
funds from a non-state governmental entity to HHSC.

(13) IGT Responsibility--The IGT owed by a non-state
governmental entity, as determined by HHSC, for funding the non-fed-
eral share of the increase in the payments to the MCOs due to the
Minimum Payment Amount program.

(14) MCO--A Medicaid managed care organization con-
tracted with HHSC to provide nursing facility services to Medicaid re-
cipients.

(15) Minimum Payment Amount--The minimum payment
amount for a Qualified Nursing Facility, as calculated under subsection
(d) of this section.

(16) Network Nursing Facility--A nursing facility that has
a contract with an MCO for the delivery of Medicaid covered benefits
to the MCO's enrollees.

(17) Non-state Governmental Entity--A hospital authority,
hospital district, health district, city or county.

(18) Non-state Government-owned Nursing Facility--A
network nursing facility where a non-state governmental entity holds
the license and is a party to the nursing facility's Medicaid provider
enrollment agreement with the state.

(19) Nursing Facility Add-on Services--The types of ser-
vices that are provided in the nursing facility setting by a provider, but
are not included in the Nursing Facility Unit Rate, including but not
limited to emergency dental services, physician-ordered rehabilitative
services, customized power wheel chairs, and augmentative communi-
cation devices.

(20) Nursing Facility Unit Rate--The types of services
included in the DADS daily rate for nursing facility providers, such
as room and board, medical supplies and equipment, personal needs
items, social services, and over-the-counter drugs. The Nursing
Facility Unit Rate also includes applicable nursing facility rate en-
hancements as described in §355.308 of this title (relating to Direct
Care Staff Rate Component), and professional and general liability
insurance. Nursing Facility Unit Rates exclude Nursing Facility
Add-on Services.

(21) Qualified Nursing Facility--A Non-state Government-
Owned Network Nursing Facility that meets the eligibility require-
ments described in subsection (e) of this section.

(22) Public Funds--Funds derived from taxes, assessments,
levies, investments, and other public revenues within the sole and unre-
stricted control of a non-state governmental entity that holds the license
and is party to the Medicaid provider enrollment agreement with the
state. Public funds do not include gifts, grants, trusts, or donations, the
use of which is conditioned on supplying a benefit solely to the donor
or grantor of the funds.

(23) Regional Healthcare Partnership (RHP)--A collabora-
tion of interested participants that work collectively to develop and sub-
mit to the state a regional plan for health care delivery system reform as
defined and established under Chapter 354, Subchapter D of this title
(relating to Texas Healthcare Transformation and Quality Improvement
Program).

(24) RUG--For the purpose of calculations described in
subsection (d)(1) of this section, a resource utilization group under
Medicare Part A as established by the Centers for Medicare & Med-
icaid Services (CMS). For the purpose of calculations described in
subsection (d)(2) of this section, a resource utilization group under
the RUG-III 34 group classification system, Version 5.20, index
maximizing, as established by the state and CMS.
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(25) Second Payment--The amount a Qualified Nursing
Facility can receive that is equal to the Minimum Payment Amount
less adjustments to that amount, as described in subsection (d) of this
section.

(c) Payment of Minimum Payment Amount to Qualified Nurs-
ing Facilities.

(1) An MCO must pay a Qualified Nursing Facility at or
above the Minimum Payment Amount in two installment payments for
a Calculation Period, using the calculation methodology described in
subsection (d) of this section.

(A) The MCO must make the First Payment no later
than ten calendar days after a Qualified Nursing Facility or its agent
submits a Clean Claim for a Nursing Facility Unit Rate to the HHSC-
designated portal or the MCO's portal, whichever occurs first. The
MCO will make the First Payment for the Nursing Facility Unit Rate
at or above the prevailing rate established by HHSC for the date of ser-
vice. HHSC's website includes information concerning HHSC's pre-
vailing rates. The MCO must make the Second Payment no later than
10 calendar days after being notified of the Second Payment amount by
HHSC. The Second Payment will be the difference between the Min-
imum Payment Amount and the adjustment to the Minimum Payment
Amount, as calculated by HHSC and described in subsection (d) of this
section.

(B) For purposes of illustration only, if a Qualified
Nursing Facility provider files a Clean Claim for a Nursing Facility
Unit Rate on March 6, 2015, the MCO must make the First Payment
no later than March 16, 2015, and the Second Payment no later than
10 calendar days after being notified of the Second Payment amount
by HHSC.

(2) HHSC will provide each MCO with a list of its Quali-
fied Nursing Facilities for each Calculation Period as well as the Second
Payment amount, as calculated by HHSC and described in subsection
(d) of this section, associated with the MCO's members for each of its
Qualified Nursing Facilities.

(d) Calculation of the Second Payment. HHSC will calcu-
late the Second Payment for each Qualified Nursing Facility using the
methodology detailed in this subsection. If a Qualified Nursing Facility
is contracted with more than one MCO, HHSC will calculate a sepa-
rate Second Payment for each MCO with which the Qualified Nursing
Facility is contracted.

(1) Calculate the Minimum Payment Amount. The Min-
imum Payment Amount is made up of multiple subsidiary amounts.
There is a subsidiary amount for each RUG.

(A) To determine the subsidiary amount for a particular
RUG, use the formula: Subsidiary Amount = Days of Service x Medi-
care Rate, where:

(i) "Days of Service" is the total Medicaid days of
service for a particular RUG for clean claims for services that were
provided during the Calculation Period; and

(i) "Medicare Rate" is the Medicare skilled nursing
facility payment rate for the RUG in effect on the date of service.

(B) The Minimum Payment Amount is equal to the sum
of all subsidiary amounts calculated in accordance with subparagraph
(A) of this paragraph.

(2) Calculate the Adjustment to the Minimum Payment
Amount. The adjustment to the Minimum Payment Amount is equal
to the sum of all adjustments for each RUG. The adjustment to the
Minimum Payment Amount is determined as follows:

(A) First, determine the amount of the First Payment to
the nursing facility using the formula: First Payment = Days of Service
x MCO Rate, where:

(i) "Days of Service" is the total Medicaid days of
service for a particular RUG for clean claims for services that were
provided during the Calculation Period; and

(i) "MCO Rate" is the rate paid by the MCO for the
particular RUG.

(B) Second, sum the result in subparagraph (A) of this
paragraph for each RUG.

(C) Third, add or subtract, as necessary, the amount of
payment adjustments to Nursing Facility Unit Rate claims for services
that were provided during the Calculation Period from the result in
subparagraph (B) of this paragraph.

(D) Fourth, determine the amount related to the Nursing
Facility Add-on Services using the formula: Nursing Facility Add-on
Amount = Days of Service x Per Diem, where:

(i) "Days of Service" equals the number used in sub-
paragraph (A)(i) of this paragraph; and

(i) "Per Diem" is an estimate, as determined by
HHSC, of the weighted average per diem payment amount for Nursing
Facility Add-on Services provided to Medicaid recipients in Qualified
Nursing Facilities.

(1) For Eligibility Period One, the per diem will
equal $3.48.

(1I) For Eligibility Period Two, the per diem will
equal $3.48 plus medical inflation between the mid-point of Eligibility
Period One and the mid-point of Eligibility Period Two, as determined
by HHSC.

(I1I) For Eligibility Period Two-A, the per diem
will equal $3.48 plus medical inflation between the mid-point of Eli-
gibility Period One and the mid-point of Eligibility Period Two-A, as
determined by HHSC.

(1V) For Eligibility Period Three, the per diem
will equal $3.48 plus medical inflation between the mid-point of Eli-
gibility Period One and the mid-point of Eligibility Period Three, as
determined by HHSC.

(E) Fifth, sum the result in subparagraph (D) of this
paragraph for each RUG.

(F) Sixth, determine the adjustment to the Minimum
Payment Amount by subtracting the result from subparagraph (E) of
this paragraph from the result from subparagraph (C) of this paragraph.

(3) Calculate the Second Payment. To determine the
Second Payment, subtract the adjustment to the Minimum Payment
Amount described in paragraph (2)(F) of this subsection from the Min-
imum Payment Amount described in paragraph (1) of this subsection.

(e) Eligibility for Receipt of Minimum Payment Amounts.

(1) A nursing facility is eligible to receive the Minimum
Payment Amounts described in this section if it complies with the re-
quirements described in this subsection for each Eligibility Period.

(2) Eligibility Period One. A nursing facility is eligible to
receive Minimum Payment Amounts for Eligibility Period One if it
meets the following requirements:

(A) The nursing facility must be a Non-state Govern-
ment-owned Nursing Facility with a Medicaid contract effective date
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of October 1, 2014, or earlier. HHSC will finalize its list of eligible
facilities on November 1, 2014. A facility may only be eligible if its
contract is assigned by DADS to a non-state government entity by Oc-
tober 31, 2014, with an effective date of October 1, 2014, or earlier.

(B) The Non-state Governmental Entity that owns the
nursing facility must have entered into an IGT Responsibility agree-
ment with HHSC by November 3, 2014. The IGT Responsibility agree-
ment will cover the estimated IGT Responsibility for the nursing facil-
ity for the Eligibility Period.

(C) The Non-state Governmental Entity that owns the
nursing facility must certify the following facts on a form prescribed
by HHSC and the form must be received by HHSC by November 3,
2014.

(i) That it is a Non-state Government-owned Nurs-
ing Facility where a Non-state Governmental Entity holds the license
and is party to the facility's Medicaid contract.

(i) That all funds transferred to HHSC via IGT for
use as the state share of payments are Public Funds.

(iii) That no part of any payment made under the
Minimum Payment Amount program under this section will be used
to pay a contingent fee, consulting fee, or legal fee associated with the
nursing facility's receipt of the Minimum Payment Amount funds.

(3) Eligibility Period Two. A nursing facility is eligible to
receive the Minimum Payment Amounts for Eligibility Period Two if
it has met the following requirements:

(A) The nursing facility must be a Non-state Govern-
ment-owned Nursing Facility with a Medicaid contract effective date
of March 1, 2015, or earlier. HHSC will finalize its list of eligible fa-
cilities on March 1, 2015. A facility may only be eligible if its contract
is assigned by DADS to a non-state government entity by February 28,
2015, with an effective date of March 1, 2015, or earlier.

(B) The Non-state Governmental Entity that owns the
nursing facility must have entered into an IGT Responsibility agree-
ment with HHSC by February 28, 2015. The IGT Responsibility agree-
ment will cover the estimated IGT Responsibility for the nursing facil-
ity for the Eligibility Period.

(C) The Non-state Governmental Entity that owns the
nursing facility must certify the following facts on a form prescribed
by HHSC and the form must be received by HHSC by February 28,
2014.

(i) That it is a Non-state Government-owned Nurs-
ing Facility where a Non-state Governmental Entity holds the license
and is party to the facility's Medicaid contract.

(i) That all funds transferred to HHSC via IGT for
use as the state share of payments are Public Funds.

(iii) That no part of any payment made under the
Minimum Payment Amount program under this section will be used
to pay a contingent fee, consulting fee, or legal fee associated with the
nursing facility's receipt of the Minimum Payment Amount funds.

(D) The Non-state Governmental Entity that owns the
nursing facility must submit to HHSC, upon demand, copies of any
contracts it has with third parties that reference the administration of,
or payments from, the Minimum Payment Amount program.

(4) Eligibility Period Two-A. A nursing facility is eligi-
ble to receive the Minimum Payment Amounts for Eligibility Period
Two-A if it has met the following requirements:

(A) The nursing facility must not be eligible to receive
the Minimum Payment Amounts for Eligibility Period Two.

(B) The nursing facility must be a Non-state Govern-
ment-owned Nursing Facility with a Medicaid contract effective date
of June 1, 2015, or earlier. HHSC will finalize its list of eligible facil-
ities on June 1, 2015. A facility may only be eligible if its contract is
assigned by DADS to a non-state government entity by May 31, 2015,
with an effective date of June 1, 2015, or earlier.

(C) The nursing facility must have given DADS written
notice of the change of ownership on or before February 1, 2015, but
have not qualified for Eligibility Period Two because its contract was
not assigned by DADS to a non-state government entity by February
28, 2015.

(D) DADS must have received all required documents
pertaining to the change of ownership (i.e., DADS must have a com-
plete application for a change of ownership license as described under
40 TAC §19.201(b) (relating to Criteria for Licensing)) by April 15,
2015.

(E) The Non-state Governmental Entity that owns the
nursing facility must have entered into an IGT Responsibility agree-
ment with HHSC by May 31, 2015. The IGT Responsibility agreement
must cover the estimated IGT Responsibility for the nursing facility for
the Eligibility Period.

(F) The Non-state Governmental Entity that owns the
nursing facility must certify the following facts on a form prescribed
by HHSC and the form must be received by HHSC by May 31, 2015:

(i) thatitis a Non-state Government-owned Nursing
Facility where a Non-state Governmental Entity holds the license and
is party to the facility's Medicaid contract;

(i7) that all funds transferred to HHSC via IGT for
use as the state share of payments are Public Funds; and

(iii) that no part of any payment made under the
Minimum Payment Amount program under this section will be used
to pay a contingent fee, consulting fee, or legal fee associated with the
nursing facility's receipt of the Minimum Payment Amount funds.

(G) The Non-state Governmental Entity that owns the
nursing facility must submit to HHSC, upon demand, copies of any
contracts it has with third parties that reference the administration of,
or payments from, the Minimum Payment Amount program.

(5) Eligibility Period Three. A nursing facility is eligible
to receive the Minimum Payment Amounts for Eligibility Period Three
if it has met the following requirements:

(A) The nursing facility was eligible to receive the Min-
imum Payment Amounts for Eligibility Period Two or Eligibility Pe-
riod Two-A.

(B) The Non-state Governmental Entity that owns the
nursing facility must have entered into an IGT Responsibility agree-
ment with HHSC by a date determined by HHSC. The IGT Responsi-
bility agreement must cover the estimated IGT Responsibility for the
nursing facility for the Eligibility Period.

(C) The Non-state Governmental Entity that owns the
nursing facility must certify the following facts on a form prescribed
by HHSC and the form must be received by HHSC by a date determined
by HHSC:

(i) thatitis a Non-state Government-owned Nursing
Facility where a Non-state Governmental Entity holds the license and
is party to the facility's Medicaid contract;
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(ii) that all funds transferred to HHSC via IGT for
use as the state share of payments are Public Funds; and

(iii) that no part of any payment made under the
Minimum Payment Amount program under this section will be used
to pay a contingent fee, consulting fee, or legal fee associated with the
nursing facility's receipt of the Minimum Payment Amount funds.

(D) The Non-state Governmental Entity that owns the
nursing facility must submit to HHSC, upon demand, copies of any
contracts it has with third parties that reference the administration of,
or payments from, the Minimum Payment Amount program.

(6) Geographic Proximity to Nursing Facility.

(A) For eligibility period one, any nursing facility with
a CHOW Application approved by DADS with an effective date on or
after October 1, 2014, must be located in the same Regional Healthcare
Partnership (RHP) as the Non-state Governmental Entity taking own-
ership of the nursing facility.

(B) For eligibility periods two, two-A, and three, any
nursing facility with a CHOW Application approved by DADS with an
effective date on or after October 1, 2014, must be located in the same
RHP as, or within 150 miles of, the Non-state Governmental Entity
taking ownership of the nursing facility.

(f) Claims Filing Deadline. A Qualified Nursing Facility must
file a Clean Claim for a Nursing Facility Unit Rate no later than 60
calendar days after the end of the Calculation Period within which the
service is provided for the claim to qualify for the Minimum Payment
Amount described in this section. The MCO must pay a Clean Claim
that is filed after this deadline but within 365 calendar days of the
date of service, at the standard rate established in the network provider
agreement for Nursing Facility Unit Services; however, claims filed
after the 60 deadline will not be incorporated in the calculation of the
Minimum Payment Amount.

(g) IGT Responsibility.

(1) Timing. HHSC will determine IGT responsibilities
prior to the first day of the Eligibility Period.

(2) Aggregate IGT Responsibility. The aggregate IGT re-
sponsibility for all Qualified Nursing Facilities for an Eligibility Period
will be equal to the non-federal share of the increase in the MCOs' cap-
itation rates due to the Minimum Payment Amount program multiplied
by the estimated number of member months for which the MCOs will
receive the capitation rate during the eligibility period multiplied by
1.1.

(3) Allocation of Aggregate IGT Responsibility to Individ-
ual Nursing Facilities. HHSC will allocate the aggregate IGT respon-
sibility to each qualified nursing facility based on the percentage of the
total increase in the MCOs' capitation rates due to the Minimum Pay-
ment Amount program associated with the nursing facility in the base
period data used to develop the capitation rates.

(4) Reconciliation. HHSC will complete the reconciliation
in two parts.

(A) The first reconciliation will occur no later than 120
days after the end of the eligibility period.

(i) HHSC will compare the amount transferred by
the Non-state Governmental Entity to HHSC for the eligibility period
to the non-federal amount expended during the eligibility period by
HHSC for all Qualified Nursing Facilities owned by the Non-state Gov-
ernmental Entity.

(i) The calculation of the non-federal amount ex-
pended during the eligibility period by HHSC for all Qualified Nurs-
ing Facilities owned by the Non-state Governmental Entity will be the
same as the calculation of allocated aggregate IGT responsibility to all
Qualified Nursing Facilities owned by the Non-state Governmental En-
tity as described in paragraphs (2) and (3) of this subsection with two
exceptions:

(I) "Member months" will be revised to reflect
actual known member months for the eligibility period. The revision
will be conducted no sooner than the day after the last day of the eligi-
bility period and no later than 120 days after the end of the eligibility
period.

(1) The "Aggregate IGT Responsibility" de-
scribed in paragraph (2) of this subsection will be equal to the
non-federal share of the increase in the MCO's capitation rates due
to the Minimum Payment Amount program multiplied by the revised
member months. The calculation will not include the additional ten
percent included in the calculation of the original aggregate IGT
responsibility.

(III) No other changes will be made to the calcu-
lation of the allocated aggregate IGT responsibility and no other data
points included in the calculation will be updated for purposes of this
reconciliation.

(iii)  1f the amount transferred by the Non-state Gov-
ernmental Entity exceeds the non-federal amount expended during the
eligibility period by HHSC for all Qualified Nursing Facilities owned
by the Non-state Governmental Entity, HHSC will refund the excess
amount to the Non-state Governmental Entity, less two percent of the
amount expended during the eligibility period by HHSC for all Quali-
fied Nursing Facilities owned by the Non-state Governmental Entity.

(iv) If the amount transferred by the Non-state Gov-
ernmental Entity is less than the non-federal amount expended dur-
ing the eligibility period by HHSC for all Qualified Nursing Facilities
owned by the Non-state Governmental Entity, HHSC will notify the
Non-state Governmental Entity of the amount of the shortfall and of a
deadline for the Non-state Governmental Entity to transfer the shortfall
plus two percent of the amount expended during the eligibility period
by HHSC for all Qualified Nursing Facilities owned by the Non-state
Governmental Entity.

(B) For Eligibility Period Three only, HHSC may com-
plete interim reconciliations between February 28, 2017, and February
28, 2019, as updated enrollment data for the Program Period, as re-
flected in adjusted member months, becomes available. HHSC will
follow the process described in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph for
such interim reconciliations.

(C) The second reconciliation will occur no later than
25 months after the end of the eligibility period.

(i) HHSC will compare the amount transferred by
the Non-state Governmental Entity to HHSC for the eligibility period
to the non-federal amount expended during the eligibility period by
HHSC for all Qualified Nursing Facilities owned by the Non-state Gov-
ernmental Entity.

(i) The calculation of the non-federal amount ex-
pended during the eligibility period by HHSC for all Qualified Nurs-
ing Facilities owned by the Non-state Governmental Entity will be the
same as the calculation of allocated aggregate IGT responsibility to
all Qualified Nursing Facilities owned by the Non-state Governmental
Entity as described in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph except that
member months will be revised to reflect updated actual known mem-
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ber months for the eligibility period. The revision will be conducted
sometime during the 25th month after the end of the eligibility period.

(iii)  1f the amount transferred by the Non-state Gov-
ernmental Entity exceeds the non-federal amount expended during the
eligibility period by HHSC for all Qualified Nursing Facilities owned
by the Non-state Governmental Entity, HHSC will refund the excess
amount to the Non-state Governmental Entity.

(iv)  If the amount transferred by the Non-state Gov-
ernmental Entity is less than the non-federal amount expended dur-
ing the eligibility period by HHSC for all Qualified Nursing Facilities
owned by the Non-state Governmental Entity, HHSC will notify the
Non-state Governmental Entity of the amount of the shortfall and of a
deadline for the Non-state Governmental Entity to transfer the short-
fall.

(D) If the Non-state Governmental Entity does not
timely complete the transfer described in subparagraph (A), (B), or
(C) of this paragraph, HHSC may:

(i) determine that all nursing facilities owned by the
Non-state Governmental Entity are ineligible to receive the Minimum
Payment Amount for future eligibility periods;

(i) withhold any or all future Medicaid payments
from the Non-state Governmental Entity until HHSC has recovered an
amount equal to the shortfall; and

(iii) retain any funds that would normally be
returned to the Non-state Governmental Entity as part of the reconcil-
iation process.

(5) All IGT calculations are solely at the discretion of
HHSC and are not open to desk review or appeal.

(h) Changes of Ownership. If a Qualified Nursing Facility
changes ownership to another non-state government entity during ei-
ther of the eligibility periods described in subsection (e) of this section,
then the data used for the calculations described in subsection (d) of this
section will include data from the facility for the entire Calculation Pe-
riod, including data relating to payments for days of service provided
under the prior owner.

(i) Recoupment.

(1) If payments under this section result in an overpayment
to a nursing facility, or in the event of a disallowance by CMS of federal
participation related to a nursing facility's receipt of or use of payment
amounts authorized under subsection (d) of this section, the MCO(s)
may recoup an amount equivalent to the amount of the second payment
amount that was overpaid or disallowed.

(2) Second payment amount payments under this section
may be subject to any adjustments for payments made in error, includ-
ing, without limitation, adjustments made under the Texas Adminis-
trative Code, the Code of Federal Regulations and state and federal
statutes. The MCO(s) may recoup an amount equivalent to any such
adjustment from the nursing facility in question.

(3) IfHHSC determines that part of any payment made un-
der the Minimum Payment Amount program was used to pay a contin-
gent fee, consulting fee, or legal fee associated with the nursing facil-
ity's receipt of the Minimum Payment Amount funds, the MCO(s) may
recoup an amount equal to the second payment amount from the nurs-
ing facility in question.

(4) If HHSC determines that an ownership change to a
Non-state Governmental Entity was based on fraudulent or misleading
statements on a nursing facility CHOW application or during the
CHOW process, the MCO(s) may recoup an amount equal to the

second payment amount from the nursing facility in question for any
eligibility period affected by the fraudulent or misleading statement.

(j) Dates the Minimum Payment Amount is available. The
minimum payment requirements described in this section will only
cover dates of service from the later of March 1, 2015, or the date on
which nursing facility services become managed care services, to Feb-
ruary 28, 2017.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 2, 2016.

TRD-201602089

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Effective date: May 22, 2016

Proposal publication date: March 4, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900

L4 L4 ¢
TITLE 19. EDUCATION

PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY

CHAPTER 61. SCHOOL DISTRICTS
SUBCHAPTER BB. COMMISSIONER'S
RULES ON REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
19 TAC §61.1027

The Texas Education Agency adopts an amendment to
§61.1027, concerning reporting requirements. The amendment
is adopted without changes to the proposed text as published
in the January 1, 2016 issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg
73) and will not be republished. The section addresses the
report on the number of disadvantaged students. The adopted
amendment modifies the rule to reflect changes in statute made
by House Bill (HB) 1305, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. The Texas Education Code
(TEC), §33.901, provides requirements for certain school dis-
tricts and open-enroliment charter schools to provide a free or
reduced-price breakfast program for eligible students. HB 1305,
84th Texas Legislature, 2015, amended the TEC, §33.901, to
allow a school district or charter school that would otherwise be
required to participate in the national School Breakfast Program
(SBP) to instead develop and implement a locally funded pro-
gram to provide free or reduced-price meals to all students in
the school(s) who are eligible for the national program.

The TEC, §42.152, establishes the state compensatory educa-
tion (SCE) allotment and provides the methods for determining
the number of educationally disadvantaged students in a district.
Before amendment by HB 1305, the TEC, §42.152(b), allowed
school districts and open-enroliment charter schools to use the
alternative reporting method only if no campuses participated
in the NSLP or SBP. HB 1305 amended the statute to permit
districts and open-enrollment charter schools to generate SCE
funding both for students who participate in the NSLP or SBP at
one or more campuses in the district and for students who par-
ticipate in a locally funded program at one or more campuses in
the district.
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HB 1305 also amended the TEC, §42.152, to change the calcu-
lation of the number of educationally disadvantaged students for
purposes of calculating the SCE allotment within the Foundation
School Program (FSP) from averaging the best six months' en-
rollment in the NSLP for the preceding school year to averaging
the best six months' number of students eligible for enroliment
in the NSLP.

Finally, the TEC, §42.152, was changed by HB 1305 to allow a
student receiving a full-time virtual education to be included in
the determination of the number of educationally disadvantaged
students in a district if the school district submits a plan to the
commissioner detailing the enhanced services that will be pro-
vided to the students and the plan is approved by the commis-
sioner.

The adopted amendment to 19 TAC §61.1027 reflects the
changes made by HB 1305. Subsection (a) was amended
to clarify which school districts and open-enroliment charter
schools may use the alternative method of calculating the
number of disadvantaged students. In addition, language was
added to subsection (b) to specify the requirements school
districts and charter schools must follow in order to count
students receiving a full-time virtual education in the number of
disadvantaged students.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSES. The
public comment period on the proposal began January 1, 2016,
and ended February 1, 2016. Following is a summary of the
comment received and the corresponding agency response re-
garding the proposed amendment to 19 TAC Chapter 61, School
Districts, Subchapter BB, Commissioner's Rules on Reporting
Requirements, §61.1027, Report on the Number of Disadvan-
taged Students.

Comment: Texas State Senator Larry Taylor and State Rep-
resentative Greg Bonnen proposed using August 2015 and
September 2015 local data for districts with one or more cam-
puses that discontinued participation in the NSLP or SBP in
anticipation of the bill's implementation when calculating fiscal
year (FY) 2016 SCE funding.

Agency Response: The agency agrees. Using the FSP pay-
ment system's existing SCE module, the agency will coordinate
the collection and submission of local SCE data for August 2015
and September 2015 for the school districts and open-enroliment
charter schools that discontinued participation in the NSLP or
SBP in anticipation of the bill's implementation. The data will be
captured in the SCE module's Alternative Basic Monthly Claims
reporting mechanism, and FY 2016 SCE funding will be adjusted
accordingly on the summary of finances. Since this comment re-
lates to agency processes rather than the rule itself, no changes
to the proposed amendment are necessary.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is adopted under
the Texas Education Code, §42.152, as amended by House Bill
1305, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015, which authorizes the com-
missioner to adopt rules to provide a method other than partici-
pation in the National School Lunch Program for school districts
to count their educationally disadvantaged students in order to
qualify for compensatory education program funding.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment imple-
ments the Texas Education Code, §42.152, as amended by
House Bill 1305, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2016.

TRD-201602004

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: May 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: January 1, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

L4 L4 ¢
TITLE 28. INSURANCE

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE

CHAPTER 13. MISCELLANEOUS INSURERS
AND OTHER REGULATED ENTITIES
SUBCHAPTER F. PROFESSIONAL
EMPLOYER ORGANIZATIONS SPONSORING
SELF-FUNDED EMPLOYEE HEALTH BENEFIT
PLANS

The Texas Department of Insurance adopts new 28 TAC Sub-
chapter F, §§13.510 - 13.513, 13.520 - 13.524, 13.530 - 13.534,
13.540 - 13.545, 13.550 - 13.557, 13.560 - 13.568, 13.570
- 13.573, and 13.580 - 13.583 concerning the regulation of
self-funded employee health benefit plans (plans) sponsored by
professional employer organizations (PEOs) under Labor Code
Chapter 91, concerning Professional Employer Associations.
The commissioner also adopts by reference the Statutory De-
posit Transaction Form, Form No. FIN407; the Declaration of
Trust Form, Form No. FIN453; the Texas PEO Annual Report,
Form No. FIN410, and the Texas PEO Quarterly Report, Form
No. FIN409, including all instructions and requirements included
on those forms. These new sections are adopted with changes
to the proposed text published in the December 25, 2015, issue
of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 9460). The changes from the
proposal are nonsubstantive and reflect the TDI style guidelines.

A nonsubstantive change is made to §13.523 removing subsec-
tion (a)(4) which references Insurance Code Chapter 38, Sub-
chapter C, concerning Data Collection and Reporting Relating
to HIV and AIDS. This statute was repealed by SB 784, 84th
Leg., Regular Session (2015), Effective September 1, 2015. All
paragraphs from (5) to (107) were renumbered to reflect the re-
moval of the provision citing the repealed statute.

Nonsubstantive changes are made to §§13.523(a)(38);
13.523(a)(83); 13.523(a)(101); 13.524(a), and (a)(8), (21), and
(43); 13.534(f); 13.561; 13.572; 13.573(b); 13.580(d); and
§13.582(a) and (c) as adopted to correct errors in the headings
of statutes and rules that are cited in these provisions. A
nonsubstantive edit is made to §13.552(a) to update the new
title of the TDI section responsible for a plan amendment filing.

A nonsubstantive change is made to §13.532(a)(10) to add a
parenthetical reference to the heading of a section the provision
cites, and another nonsubstantive edit is made to §13.532(b)(1)
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to clarify that a reference in the paragraph is to Division 6 of 28
TAC Chapter 13, Subchapter F.

Nonsubstantive changes are made to §13.542 and §13.582(e)
to correct punctuation.

A nonsubstantive change is made to §13.553(d) to correct the
use of section symbols in a citation.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. The adopted sections are neces-
sary to augment and implement the regulation of plans that are
not fully insured and are sponsored by PEOs licensed by the
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR), as re-
quired by Labor Code §91.0411, enacted under Senate Bill 1286,
83rd Legislature, Regular Session (2013), effective September
1, 2013.

Division 1 - Purpose and Definitions

This division addresses the purpose and application of the rule
and provides definitions.

Section 13.510 states that the purpose of the new subchapter is
to augment and implement the regulation of a PEO-sponsored
self-funded employee health benefit plan, in compliance with La-
bor Code Chapter 91.

Section 13.511 identifies the PEQ's sponsoring benefit plans
that are and are not subject to the subchapter, and specifies
that a PEO subject to the subchapter must be licensed by
both TDLR and the department before offering a self-funded
employee health benefit plan.

Section 13.512 states that the subchapter applies to a PEO and
its plan and trust to the extent permitted by ERISA, and the sec-
tion includes a severability provision.

Section 13.513 defines terms relevant to the subchapter. Where
appropriate, definitions are drawn from Labor Code Chapter 91,
from the Insurance Code, and from ERISA.

Division 2 - Applicability of Insurance Code and Administrative
Code Provisions

This division provides a list of Insurance Code and Administrative
Code provisions regulating a self-funded PEO-sponsored plan.

Section 13.521 establishes that the department will consider an
approved PEO to be a large employer and will regulate its plan
as a large employer health benefit plan for purposes of applying
the Insurance and Administrative Codes.

Section 13.522 authorizes an approved PEO to delegate by con-
tract to other entities regulated by the department (such as a
third party administrator (TPA)) the performance of the PEO's or
trust's statutory and regulatory requirements. The PEO or trust
and the contracting regulated entity may be held jointly and sev-
erally liable by the department for noncompliance with respect
to the delegated responsibilities. A PEO or trust must give the
department notice of its intent to enter into, terminate, or replace
a delegated contract. Notice must include pertinent information
about the proposed contracting regulated entity, or other rele-
vant information, such as whether on contract termination the
functions performed under that contract will be performed by the
PEO or trust, or by another contracted regulated entity. The sec-
tion also includes procedures to be followed when a contracting
regulated entity is terminated for cause. Day-to-day operations
of the plan and trust must be performed by a TPA.

The balance of Division 2, §13.522 and §13.523, lists the sec-
tions of the Insurance Code and Administrative Code with which

an approved PEO must comply. These are provisions which ap-
ply, almost without exception, to a fully insured large employer
health benefit plan regulated by the department. Section 13.522
and §13.523 each include subsections to clarify whether the ap-
proved PEO is considered an issuer or an employer for purposes
of applicable Insurance Code and Administrative Code provi-
sions where both entities are referenced.

Division 3 - Certificate of Approval
Division 3 sets out the certificate of approval requirements.

Section 13.530 requires a PEO to receive a certificate of ap-
proval from the department before sponsoring a plan in Texas.
A PEO sponsoring a plan without approval will be considered
an unauthorized insurer. This requirement, and the balance of
the application requirements, are similar to those applied to risk-
bearing entities seeking to do the business of health insurance
in Texas.

Section 13.531 establishes that a PEO must apply for a certifi-
cate of approval by providing the information required by the di-
vision and must include an application fee of $5,050.

Section 13.532 lists the information to be provided by an appli-
cant seeking a certificate of approval.

Section 13.533 requires that an applicant include an indepen-
dent actuarial opinion that describes the extent to which pro-
jected plan contributions are:

* not excessive or discriminatory;
* adequate to pay all plan benefits and expenses; and
* sufficient to maintain adequate plan reserves and surplus.

The independent actuarial opinion will also show the expected
allocation of client employers' contributions to fund the plan's ad-
ministrative expenses, reserves, and other expenses.

Section 13.534 provides for the commissioner's review and ap-
proval or denial of a PEQ's application for a certificate of ap-
proval, and the process to appeal a denial.

Division 4 - Conduct of Approved PEO

Division 4 sets out the requirements for management of the PEO
and administration of the plan and trust.

Section 13.540 addresses the qualifications of the individuals re-
sponsible for the management of the PEO and the administration
of the plan and trust. The section permits the PEO to maintain its
books and records outside the state as permitted by Insurance
Code Chapter 803, concerning Location of Books, Records, Ac-
counts, and Offices Outside of This State.

Section 13.541 requires an approved PEO plan sponsor to con-
tract for stop-loss insurance covering the plan and trust until a
board of trustees has been established to manage the plan and
trust.

Section 13.542 requires an approved PEO to maintain a fidelity
bond or a zero-deductible crime policy to cover all individuals
responsible for handling or administering plan funds or servicing
the plan. This requirement remains in effect even after a board
of trustees has been established to administer the plan and trust,
because the PEO will be responsible for collecting and remitting
contributions to the trust.

Section 13.543 regulates the approved PEO's conduct with re-
spect to the plan and trust, including the establishment of plan
contribution amounts, payments to the trust from PEO assets
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and accounts, and reimbursement to the PEO from plan assets
for its costs to establish and initially administer the plan and to
comply with the subchapter's requirements. The section pro-
hibits PEO transactions affecting the plan and trust and its as-
sets that would violate state or federal law.

Section 13.544 regulates an approved PEQO's marketing materi-
als and offers of enrollment, and it requires guaranteed renewa-
bility in compliance with applicable state and federal law. Only
employees of the PEQO's clients and their dependents are eligible
to enroll in an approved PEQO's plan.

Section 13.545 governs an approved PEQO's representations to
clients and plan participants about pricing, billing, and notices of
increased contributions. The section also requires the PEO to
accept sole responsibility, without obligating its clients, for fund-
ing any asset amount needed to equal the liabilities owed by the
plan should there be a shortfall in trust assets, and it renders un-
enforceable any client services agreement provision in conflict
with the subchapter. Finally, the section prescribes certain lan-
guage to be included in the summary plan description provided
to plan participants.

Division 5 - Formation, Governance and Operation of Plan and
Trust

Division 5 addresses the administration of an approved PEQO's
plan and trust.

Section 13.550 requires an approved PEQ's plan to be estab-
lished in compliance with ERISA and to contain specified provi-
sions. The section authorizes an approved PEO to amend its
plan without approval by the plan's trustees. All plan amend-
ments must be submitted to the department for review and ap-
proval by the commissioner as described by §13.552 before be-
coming effective.

Section 13.551 requires an approved PEQO's plan trust, in which
all funds used to administer and pay claims are to be held, be
established in compliance with the Trust Code and with ERISA.
The trust must be governed by a board of trustees under a trust
agreement, terms of which are set out in the subchapter. The
trustees are authorized to amend the trust agreement without
the approval of the approved PEO. All trust amendments must
be submitted to the department for review and approval by the
commissioner as described by §13.552 before becoming effec-
tive.

Section 13.552 specifies that the approved PEO must submit
for approval by the commissioner to designated TDI offices all
amendments to the documents of both the plan and the trust.
The approved PEO must certify that the approved PEO and
the plan will remain in compliance with the subchapter and with
ERISA if a proposed plan amendment is approved and adopted.
The trustees must certify that the trust will remain in compli-
ance with the subchapter and with ERISA if a proposed trust
amendment is approved and adopted. Transactions between
affiliated parties are subject to Insurance Code Chapter 823,
Subchapters B and C.

Section 13.553 establishes a plan fiduciary's duty, consistent
with a fiduciary's duty under ERISA, and provides that the stan-
dard may change if the federal standard is modified. The sec-
tion provides standards of conduct for a plan fiduciary involved
in a transaction involving the plan or trust, and it requires that all
plan and trust expenses be paid from plan assets. Finally, the
section establishes the requirements for a voluntary trust termi-
nation, including a requirement that assets remaining in the trust

may not be distributed until the commissioner has cancelled the
approved PEQ's certificate of approval.

Section 13.554 regulates the appointment and number of plan
trustees by the approved PEO, and it specifies that a person
who is receiving or has received compensation from the trust is
ineligible to serve as a board member.

Section 13.555 establishes the trustees' responsibilities and
authority, including the duty of prudence, the responsibility for
all operations of the plan, and the safeguarding of plan assets.
Within 12 months of the board's formation, the trustees, either
directly or through an appointed agent, must contract with a
TPA and with a stop-loss carrier. Members of the board serve
without compensation.

Section 13.556 requires that the trustees protect the plan's as-
sets by buying fidelity coverage for those responsible for han-
dling or administering plan assets, by buying errors and omis-
sions insurance for the trustees' performance of their duties, and
by annually reviewing documentation that the approved PEO has
maintained and is maintaining its own fidelity coverage required
under this subchapter.

Section 13.557 provides that all claims or other disputes arising
under an approved PEQ's plan are subject to the Insurance Code
and other relevant state law, to the extent the Insurance Code
and state law are not inconsistent with ERISA.

Division 6 - Financial Solvency Requirements for PEO Plans

Division 6 provides for financial requirements for approved PEO
plans.

Section 13.560 establishes the methodology to be used to cal-
culate claim reserves maintained in the plan's trust.

Section 13.561 requires that the trust invest its assets in compli-
ance with Insurance Code Chapter 425, Subchapter C.

Section 13.562 requires an approved PEO to establish a deposit
or letter of credit that represents at least 25 percent of the ag-
gregate limit attachment point in the plan and trust's stop-loss
agreement before beginning to enroll participants. The deposit
or letter of credit must be maintained continually, and any deposit
or letter of credit must be held for TDI's control.

In §13.562 TDI adopts by reference the Statutory Deposit Trans-
action Form, Form No. FIN407. This form requires information
necessary for the department to record the deposit, substitution,
or withdrawal of securities, including: the name and address of
the PEO establishing the deposit; whether the transaction estab-
lishes, substitutes, or withdraws securities; the authority under
which the deposited securities are held; the name of the desig-
nated custodian; security specific information, including the iden-
tification number, description, interest rate, par value amount,
maturity date, and rating information; the total deposit or with-
drawal amount for the transaction; a dated signature of an au-
thorized officer of the entity establishing the deposit; and the total
deposit, total withdrawal, and net balance after the transaction.

In §13.562 TDI also adopts by reference the Declaration of Trust
Form, Form No. FIN453, which affirms that securities are unen-
cumbered assets of the person or entity making a deposit and
are pledged to the commissioner by reasons of law. This form
requires information necessary to identify: the entity or person
making a deposit, its principal place of business, its custodian
or bank, and security specific information including the CUSIP
number; interest rate; maturity date; and par value amount.
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Section 13.563 specifies the form of the required deposit.

Section 13.564 requires that the amount of the deposit be recal-
culated annually, and it prescribes how changes to the deposit
are to be made.

Section 13.565 provides the requirements for a letter of credit
that can be used to replace or supplement a deposit to meet
financial responsibility standards.

Section 13.566 requires that the amount of the letter of credit
be recalculated annually, and discusses the consequences if a
letter of credit is replaced, is not renewed, or is suspended.

Section 13.567 addresses the requirements for the stop-loss in-
surance that the plan trustees, or the approved PEO acting on
the trustees' behalf, must maintain in the name of and for the
benefit of the trust. The section regulates the issuer's qualifica-
tions and directs that certain terms be included in the stop-loss
contract. It also establishes the trust's maximum retention of ex-
pected claims. The section permits the trustees to request from
the commissioner a waiver or reduction in coverage amount.
The commissioner will grant a waiver if the commissioner de-
termines that the interests of the PEQ's clients and the plan par-
ticipants are adequately protected.

Section 13.568 provides the requirements for the fidelity bond
or crime policy required under §13.542 and §13.556, which di-
rect an approved PEO and a plan's board of trustees to maintain
fidelity coverage for each person responsible for handling or ad-
ministering plan assets. The requirements are consistent with
similar requirements included in ERISA.

Division 7 - Quarterly and Annual Filings;, Examinations; Haz-
ardous Conditions

Division 7 addresses financial reporting, examination by TDI,
and hazardous condition regulation. Section 13.570 describes
both the quarterly and annual filings of the plan and trust's fi-
nancial statement to be submitted by an approved PEO using
generally accepted accounting principles of the United States
as modified by the subchapter. The section states that the PEO
must submit quarterly a certified unaudited financial statement,
and annually both a certified unaudited financial statement for
the previous four financial quarters and by June 1 of each year
an audited financial statement meeting requirements set out in
Insurance Code Chapter 401.

In §13.570 TDI adopts by reference the Texas PEO Annual
Report, Form No. FIN410, and the Texas PEO Quarterly Re-
port, Form No. FIN409, which are spreadsheets the PEO will
file with information for TDI to assess facts about the PEQO's
financial condition. These forms may be requested by emailing
PEO@tdi.texas.gov, and they are also available for inspection
on TDI's website at www.tdi.texas.gov/rules/2015/index.html.
The PEO must also file an annual actuarial opinion completed
by a qualified actuary which includes a description of the actuar-
ial soundness of the plan, a calculation of reserves as required
by §13.560, and a recommendation on the level of specific and
aggregate stop-loss insurance the trust should maintain.

Section 13.571 requires the PEO submit a fee with its annual
statement filings.

Section 13.572 addresses the commissioner's examination of
the affairs of an approved PEO and the plan and trust to the
same extent that the commissioner can examine the affairs of a
licensed domestic insurer.

Section 13.573 outlines what will be considered hazardous con-
ditions for the plan and trust, and it identifies the regulatory ac-
tions the commissioner will order to correct or address those haz-
ardous conditions.

Division 8 - Market EXxit

Division 8 provides the requirements for approved PEO plans to
exit the market.

Section 13.580 requires an approved PEO to file a withdrawal
plan for review by the commissioner if it wants to voluntarily ter-
minate its plan or is directed by the department to terminate its
plan. The section details the contents of a withdrawal plan, and
establishes conditions that must be met before the commissioner
will approve such a plan. These requirements and conditions
are designed to ensure the benefit plan's participants are pro-
tected from disruption by its dissolution. The commissioner has
authority to modify or deny the withdrawal plan and take actions
authorized under the Insurance Code if the approved PEO is un-
able to meet its contractual and financial obligations. The section
also provides for the appeal of a commissioner's denial of a with-
drawal plan.

Section 13.581 provides that the commissioner will limit, sus-
pend, or cancel an approved PEQ's certificate of approval in
response to notice that TDLR has taken action against its li-
cense to operate in Texas. An approved PEO must notify the
department within 10 days of receiving notice that TDLR is con-
templating taking action against its license. While its license is
suspended, an approved PEO cannot contract with a new client
to allow the enroliment of new plan participants. If TDLR termi-
nates a PEO's license, the PEO must file a withdrawal plan under
§13.580 within 30 days; when the PEO has fulfilled its withdrawal
plan, the commissioner will cancel the PEO's license. If TDLR
reinstates a PEO's license or grants a new license, the PEO may
reapply to TDI for a license.

Section 13.582 provides that the commissioner will limit, sus-
pend, or cancel an approved PEQO's certificate of approval if the
commissioner finds that the approved PEO or its plan or trust
do not meet the requirements of applicable Insurance Code pro-
visions or of the subchapter. The section also provides for the
appeal of an action by the commissioner.

Section 13.583 requires that an approved PEO must file a with-
drawal plan within 30 days of receiving a notice of suspension.
If the commissioner determines an approved PEQ's certificate
should be canceled, the PEO must file a withdrawal plan under
§13.580, and upon the plan's completion, the commissioner will
cancel the PEO's certificate of approval.

TDI adopts by reference the Statutory Deposit Transaction Form,
Form No. FIN407; the Declaration of Trust Form, Form No.
FIN453; the Texas PEO Annual Report, Form No. FIN410; and
the Texas PEO Quarterly Report, Form No. FIN409, including
all instructions and requirements included in those forms. These
forms are available on TDI's website.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSE. TDI
received oral comments from two people. TDI did not receive
any written comments. Commenters in support of the proposal
were: Employer Flexible and the National Association of Profes-
sional Employer Organizations. TDI did not receive any com-
ments in opposition to the proposal.

Two commenters provided general comments supportive of the
rule and commended TDI staff's efforts on the rule. TDI is ap-
preciative of the supportive comments.
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One commenter requested that TDI continue to be willing to work
with the industry as unexpected issues can arise out of the most
well intentioned rules. TDI acknowledges the request.

DIVISION 1. PURPOSE AND DEFINITIONS
28 TAC §§13.510 - 13.513

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted under
Labor Code §91.0411 and Insurance Code §36.001.

Labor Code §91.0411 provides for the commissioner of insur-
ance to adopt rules necessary to augment and implement the
regulation of benefit plans sponsored by PEOs licensed by
TDLR, which include requirements that must be met by the
licensed PEO and plan. The rules must include initial and final
approval requirements, authority to prescribe forms and items
to be submitted to the commissioner by the license holder, a
fidelity bond, use of an independent actuary, use of a third-party
administrator, authority for the commissioner to examine an
application or plan, the minimum number of clients and covered
employees covered by the plan, standards for those natural
persons managing the plan, the minimum amount of gross
contributions, the minimum amount of written commitment,
binder, or policy for stop-loss insurance, the minimum amount
of reserves, and a fee in the amount reasonable and necessary
to defray the costs of administering the section to be deposited
to the credit of the operating fund of the Texas Department of
Insurance.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner of in-
surance may adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to im-
plement the powers and duties of the Texas Department of In-
surance under the Insurance Code and other laws of this state.

$13.510. Purpose.

The purpose of this subchapter is to augment and implement the regu-
lation of an employee health benefit plan that is not fully insured and
is sponsored by a PEO as permitted by Texas Labor Code Chapter 91,
concerning Professional Employer Organizations.

§13.511. Regulated PEOs,; Approval Required.

(a) PEOs subject to this subchapter. This subchapter applies
to a PEO sponsoring a self-funded employee health benefit plan if:

(1) its primary business location is in this state; or

(2) a majority of the eligible employees of at least one of
its clients are employed in this state; or

(3) the primary business location of at least one of its
clients is in this state, where no other state contains a majority of that
employer's eligible employees.

(b) PEOs not subject to this subchapter. This subchapter does
not apply to a PEO sponsoring an employee health benefit plan that
consists only of benefits provided through a group insurance policy
or evidence of coverage that guarantees the payment of claims for all
eligible benefits issued by a carrier authorized to do business in this
state.

(c) License and certificate of approval required. A PEO to
which this subchapter applies may not offer a self-funded employee
health benefit plan unless the PEO is:

(1) licensed and in good standing with TDLR; and

(2) has a certificate of approval from TDI issued under this
subchapter.

(d) Insurance Code Chapter 846. Insurance Code Chapter 846,
concerning Multiple Employer Welfare Arrangements, does not apply
to a plan sponsored by a PEO unless:

(1) a PEO that does not have a certificate of approval to
sponsor a PEO plan under this subchapter performs activities that re-
quire a certificate of authority under Chapter 846; or

(2) an approved PEO files a withdrawal plan that is ap-
proved by the commissioner, and relinquishes its certificate of approval
as a PEO plan sponsor under this subchapter.

§13.512. ERISA's Applicability; Severability of Subchapter's Provi-

sions.

(a) This subchapter applies to an approved PEO and its plan
and trust to the extent permitted by the Employee Retirement Income
Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. §§1001-1191c.

(b) Ifacourtof competent jurisdiction holds that any provision
of this subchapter or its application to any person or circumstance is
invalid for any reason, the invalidity does not affect other provisions
or applications of this subchapter that can be given effect without the
invalid provision or application. To this end, the provisions of this
subchapter are severable.

§13.513.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, have the
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) Affiliate--A person is defined as an affiliate under
§7.202(a)(2) of this title (relating to Definitions).

(2) Approved PEO--A PEO that has received a certificate
of approval from TDI to sponsor a plan.

(3) Cash--Currency and demand deposits with banks and
other financial institutions.

(4) Client--A person who enters into a professional em-
ployer services agreement with a licensed PEO.

(5) Coemployment relationship--A contractual rela-
tionship between a client and a PEO that involves the sharing of
employment responsibilities with or allocation of employment respon-
sibilities to covered employees in compliance with the professional
employer services agreement and Labor Code Chapter 91, concerning
Professional Employment Organizations.

(6) Commissioner--The commissioner of insurance.

(7) Contracting regulated entity--An entity regulated by
TDI that has contracted with an approved PEO to accept responsibility
for the performance of any requirement of this subchapter.

(8) Controlling person--A person that directly or indirectly
and alone or under an agreement with one or more other persons, exer-
cises such a controlling influence over the management or policies of
the PEO that it is necessary or appropriate in the public interest or for
the protection of the PEQ's covered employees that the person be con-
sidered to control the PEO. A person is presumed to be a controlling
person if:

(A) the person or a person and members of the person's
immediate family directly or indirectly, own, control, or hold with the
power to vote 10 percent or more of the voting securities or authority
of the PEO; or

(B) the person holds proxies representing 10 percent or
more of the voting securities or authority of the PEO, but is not a cor-
porate officer or director of the PEO.
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(9) Covered employee--An individual having a coemploy-
ment relationship with a PEO and a client.

(10) Dependent--A person eligible to enroll in a plan be-
cause of the person's relationship to a covered employee.

(11)  Fiduciary--To the extent not inconsistent with the Em-
ployee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29 U.S.C.
§1002, concerning Definitions, a person is a plan fiduciary to the extent
that the person:

(A) exercises any discretionary authority or discre-
tionary control with respect to management of the plan, or exercises
any authority or control with respect to management or disposition of
plan assets; or

(B) has any discretionary authority or discretionary re-
sponsibility in the administration of the plan.

(12) Health status-related factor--Health status; medical
condition, including both physical and mental illnesses; claims expe-
rience; receipt of health care; medical history; genetic information;
evidence of insurability, including conditions arising out of acts of
domestic violence; and disability, to the extent not inconsistent with
ERISA, 29 U.S.C. §1182, concerning Prohibiting Discrimination
Against Individual Participants and Beneficiaries Based on Health
Status.

(13) Organizational documents--With respect to the plan
and trust, the contracts, articles, bylaws, agreements, plan documents,
trust agreements, or other documents or instruments describing the
rights and obligations of:

(A) the PEQ, its clients and coemployees; and

(B) the plan sponsor, its plan, plan trustees, administra-
tors, and participants.

(14) Participant--A covered employee or dependent en-
rolled in a plan, to the extent not inconsistent with ERISA, 29 U.S.C.
§1002 and §1144, concerning Other Laws.

(15) Person--An individual, corporation, partnership, asso-
ciation, joint stock company, trust, or unincorporated organization, or
a similar entity or a combination of the listed entities acting in concert.
The term does not include a securities broker while performing no more
than a function that is usual and customary for a securities broker.

(16) Professional employer organization or PEO--A busi-
ness entity that offers professional employer services, as defined in La-
bor Code Chapter 91.

(17) Plan--A self-funded employee health benefit plan es-
tablished under Labor Code Chapter 91.

(18) Qualified financial institution--An institution that:

(A) isorganized or, in the case of a United States branch
or agency office of a foreign banking organization, licensed under the
laws of the United States or any state of the United States; and

(B) isregulated, supervised, and examined by a federal
or state authority that has regulatory authority over banks and trust
companies.

(19) Reserves--A liability representing plan benefit obliga-
tions that have been incurred, whether known or unknown.

(20) TDI--The Texas Department of Insurance.

(21) TDLR--The Texas Department of Licensing and Reg-
ulation.

(22) Third party administrator--A person that holds a cer-
tificate of authority under Insurance Code Chapter 4151, Third Party
Administrators.

(23) Trust--A trust established under Texas Property Code
Title 9, Subtitle B, and ERISA, 29 U.S.C. §1103, concerning Establish-
ment of Trust.

(24) Trustee--A person defined as a trustee under Texas
Property Code Title 9, Subtitle B, to the extent not inconsistent with
ERISA as provided in ERISA, 29 U.S.C. §1144, concerning Other
Laws.

(25) Ultimate controlling person--A person that is not con-
trolled by another person.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2016.

TRD-201601985

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: May 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584
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DIVISION 2. APPLICABILITY OF
INSURANCE CODE AND ADMINISTRATIVE
CODE PROVISIONS

28 TAC §§13.520 - 13.524

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted under
Labor Code §91.0411 and Insurance Code §36.001.

Labor Code §91.0411 provides for the commissioner of insur-
ance to adopt rules necessary to augment and implement the
regulation of benefit plans sponsored by PEOs licensed by
TDLR, which include requirements that must be met by the
licensed PEO and plan. The rules must include initial and final
approval requirements, authority to prescribe forms and items
to be submitted to the commissioner by the license holder, a
fidelity bond, use of an independent actuary, use of a third-party
administrator, authority for the commissioner to examine an
application or plan, the minimum number of clients and covered
employees covered by the plan, standards for those natural
persons managing the plan, the minimum amount of gross
contributions, the minimum amount of written commitment,
binder, or policy for stop-loss insurance, the minimum amount
of reserves, and a fee in the amount reasonable and necessary
to defray the costs of administering the section to be deposited
to the credit of the operating fund of the Texas Department of
Insurance.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner of in-
surance may adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to im-
plement the powers and duties of the Texas Department of In-
surance under the Insurance Code and other laws of this state.

§13.520.  Applicability of Insurance Code Provisions to an Approved
PEO, Plan, or Trust.
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Under Labor Code §91.0411, this division lists Insurance Code and
Administrative Code provisions that are necessary to augment and im-
plement the regulation of a plan that is not fully insured.

$13.521.
Terms.

Applicable Insurance Code and Administrative Code

For purposes of this subchapter and for purposes of regulation by TDI:

(1) PEO as large employer. An approved PEO is a large
employer as defined in Insurance Code Chapter 1501, concerning the
Health Insurance Portability and Availability Act, unless a provision in
this subchapter clearly indicates otherwise.

(2) PEO plan as large employer health benefit plan. An
approved PEO's plan is a large employer health benefit plan as defined
in Insurance Code Chapter 1501 unless a provision in this subchapter
clearly indicates otherwise.

(3) Provisions applicable to both small and large employer
plans. An Insurance Code or Administrative Code provision that refers
to both small and large employer health benefit plans or their issuers
applies to an approved PEO as a large employer health benefit plan
issuer and to its plan as a large employer health benefit plan unless a
provision in this subchapter clearly indicates otherwise.

(4) Plan document is group policy. An approved PEO's
plan document is a group policy unless a provision in this subchap-
ter clearly indicates otherwise.

(5) Certificate of coverage is certificate of insurance. An
approved PEQO's certificate of coverage is a certificate of insurance. An
approved PEO's certificate of coverage must comply with ERISA, 29
U.S.C. §1022 (Summary plan description).

$§13.522.  Delegation of Functions to a Contracting Regulated Entity.

(a) Delegation to regulated entity. An approved PEO or the
plan trustees may delegate to a contracting regulated entity the respon-
sibility to perform any requirement of this subchapter that the contract-
ing regulated entity is authorized by law to perform.

(b) Joint and several liability. If an approved PEO or the plan
trustees delegate responsibility to perform any requirement of this sub-
chapter, TDI in its sole discretion may hold the PEO, the plan trustees,
and the contracting regulated entity jointly or severally liable for non-
compliance with respect to the responsibilities delegated.

(c) Notice of contract with regulated entities. An approved
PEO or the plan trustees must give the commissioner a written notice
of intent to enter into a contract with a regulated entity at least 30 days
before the effective date of that contract. A notice of intent must in-
clude the information about the contracting regulated entity required
by §13.532(b)(6) of this title (relating to Application Requirements).

(d) Notice of termination of contract with regulated entity. Ex-
cept as provided in subsection (g) of this section, an approved PEO or
the plan trustees must give the commissioner a written notice of intent
to terminate a contract with a regulated entity at least 30 days before
the effective date of that termination.

(e) Third party administrator. An approved PEO or the plan
trustees may not terminate under any circumstances a contract with
the plan's third party administrator unless they have contracted with a
replacement third party administrator to perform the day-to-day oper-
ations of the plan with no lapse in administrative services to the plan.

(f) Notice of replacement contracting regulated entity. Except
as provided in subsection (h) of this section, if an approved PEO or
the plan trustees intend to enter into a contract with a regulated entity
to perform the functions for which a terminating contracting regulated
entity was responsible, the approved PEO or the plan trustees must

provide the commissioner notice that complies with subsection (c) of
this section.

(g) Notice of contract termination for cause. If an approved
PEO or the plan trustees terminate a contract with a regulated entity for
cause as permitted by the terms of that contract, the approved PEO or
the plan trustees must give the commissioner written notice of the con-
tract's termination not later than five days after the effective date of that
termination, including a statement explaining whether the functions for
which the terminating contracting regulated entity is responsible will
be performed by the approved PEO or by another contracting regulated
entity.

(h) Notice of intent to contract with replacement regulated en-
tity. After a termination under subsection (g) of this section, if the plan
and trust functions will be performed by another contracting regulated
entity, the approved PEO or the plan trustees must give the commis-
sioner written notice of intent to enter into a contract with that new
regulated entity as soon as is practicable, but not later than 10 days
after the effective date of that contract. The notice of intent must in-
clude the information about the contracting regulated entity required
by §13.532(b)(6) of this title.

$13.523.  Applicable Insurance Code Provisions.

(a) The following provisions of the Insurance Code are appli-
cable to an approved PEO to the same extent as the provisions apply to
any entity TDI regulates under those provisions:

(1) Insurance Code Chapter 36, Subchapter C, concerning
General Subpoena Powers; Witnesses and Production of Records;

(2) Insurance Code Chapter 36, Subchapter D, concerning
Judicial Review;

(3) Insurance Code §38.001, concerning Inquiries;

(4) Insurance Code Chapter 38, Subchapter F, concerning
Data Collecting and Reporting Relating to Mandated Health Benefits
and Mandated Offers of Coverage;

(5) Insurance Code Chapter 38, Subchapter H, concerning
Health Care Reimbursement Rate Information;

(6) Insurance Code Chapter 40, concerning Duties of State
Office of Administrative Hearings and Commissioner in Certain Pro-
ceedings; Rate Setting Proceedings;

(7) Insurance Code Chapters 82, concerning Sanctions;

(8) Insurance Code Chapter 83, concerning Emergency
Cease and Desist Orders;

(9) Insurance Code Chapter 84, concerning Administrative
Penalties;

(10) Insurance Code Chapter 101, concerning Unautho-
rized Insurance;

(11) Insurance Code Chapter 461, concerning General Pro-
visions;

(12) Insurance Code §521.005, concerning Notice to Ac-
company Policy;

(13) Insurance Code Chapter 541, Subchapter A, concern-
ing General Provisions;

(14) Insurance Code Chapter 541, Subchapter B, concern-
ing Unfair Methods of Competition and Unfair or Deceptive Acts or
Practices Defined,;

(15) Insurance Code Chapter 541, Subchapter B-1, con-
cerning Advertising Requirements;

ADOPTED RULES May 13,2016 41 TexReg 3485



(16) Insurance Code Chapter 542, concerning Processing
and Settlement of Claims;

(17) Insurance Code Chapter 543, concerning Prohibited
Practices Related to Policy or Certificate of Membership;

(18) Insurance Code Chapter 544, Subchapter A, con-
cerning General Prohibitions Against Discrimination by an Insurer or
Health Maintenance Organization;

(19) Insurance Code Chapter 544, Subchapter B, concern-
ing Other General Prohibitions Against Discrimination by Insurers;

(20) Insurance Code Chapter 544, Subchapter C, concern-
ing English Fluency;

(21) Insurance Code Chapter 544, Subchapter D, concern-
ing Family Violence;

(22) Insurance Code Chapter 544, Subchapter E, concern-
ing Fibrocystic Breast Condition;

(23) Insurance Code Chapter 545, concerning HIV Testing;

(24) Insurance Code Chapter 546, concerning Use of Ge-
netic Testing Information;

(25) Insurance Code §550.002, concerning Increase in Cer-
tain Premium Payments;

(26) Insurance Code Chapter 558, concerning Refund of
Unearned Premium;

(27) Insurance Code Chapter 560, concerning Prohibited
Rates;

(28) Insurance Code Chapter 601, concerning Privacy;

(29) Insurance Code Chapter 602, concerning Privacy of
Health Information;

(30) Insurance Code Chapter 701, concerning Insurance
Fraud Investigations;

(31) Insurance Code Chapter 705, concerning Misrepre-
sentations by Policyholders;

(32) Insurance Code Chapter 801, concerning Certificate
of Authority;

(33) Insurance Code Chapter 803, concerning Location of
Books, Records, Accounts, and Offices Outside of this State;

(34) Insurance Code Chapter 804, concerning Service of
Process;

(35) Insurance Code Chapter 823, Subchapter B, concern-
ing Registration;

(36) Insurance Code Chapter 823, Subchapter C, concern-
ing Transactions of Registered Insurer;

(37) Insurance Code Chapter 823, Subchapter D, concern-
ing Control of Domestic Insurer; Acquisition or Merger;

(38) Insurance Code §1201.013, concerning Programs Pro-
moting Disease Prevention, Wellness, and Health;

(39) Insurance Code §1201.059, concerning Termination
of Coverage Based on Age of Child in Individual, Blanket, or Group
Policy;

(40) Insurance Code §1201.062, concerning Coverage for
Certain Children in Individual or Group Policy or in Plan or Program;

(41) Insurance Code §1201.063, concerning Prohibition of
Certain Criteria Relating to a Child's Coverage in Individual or Group
Policy;

(42) Insurance Code §1201.064, concerning Coverage for
Child of Spouse in Individual or Group Policy;

(43) Insurance Code Chapter 1203, concerning Coordina-
tion of Benefits Provisions;

(44) Insurance Code Chapter 1204, Subchapter A, con-
cerning Payments to Certain Public Hospitals;

(45) Insurance Code Chapter 1204, Subchapter B, concern-
ing Assignment of Benefit Payments;

(46) Insurance Code Chapter 1204, Subchapter D, con-
cerning Payments for Certain Publicly Provided Services;

(47) Insurance Code Chapter 1204, Subchapter E, concern-
ing Exclusionary Clauses;

(48) Insurance Code Chapter 1204, Subchapter F, concern-
ing Payment of Benefits to Conservator of Minor;

(49) Insurance Code Chapter 1205, concerning Certificate
of Creditable Coverage;

(50) Insurance Code Chapter 1206, concerning Denial of
Health Benefit Plan Enrollment Based on Existing Coverage Prohib-
ited;

(51) Insurance Code Chapter 1207, concerning Enrollment
of Medical Assistance Recipients and Children Eligible for State Child
Health Plan;

(52) Insurance Code Chapter 1208, concerning Identity of
Available Employee of Health Benefit Plan Issuer;

(53) Insurance Code Chapter 1210, concerning Notice of
Certain Policy Provisions;

(54) Insurance Code Chapter 1213, concerning Electronic
Health Care Transactions;

(55) Insurance Code Chapter 1214, concerning Advertis-
ing for Certain Health Benefits;

(56) Insurance Code Chapter 1215, concerning Reporting
of Claims Information;

(57) Insurance Code Chapter 1216, concerning Out-of-
Country Coverage Prohibited;

(58) Insurance Code Chapter 1251, Subchapter C, concern-
ing Group Accident and Health Insurance: Required Provisions;

(59) Insurance Code Chapter 1251, Subchapter D,
concerning Group Accident and Health Insurance: Coverage for
Dependents;

(60) Insurance Code Chapter 1251, Subchapter E, concern-
ing Group Accident and Health Insurance: General Provisions;

(61) Insurance Code Chapter 1251, Subchapter F, concern-
ing Continuation or Conversion Privilege on Termination of Coverage
under Group Policy, except that an approved PEO may not offer a con-
version policy under Insurance Code §1251.256, concerning Conver-
sion of Group Policy;

(62) Insurance Code Chapter 1251, Subchapter G, con-
cerning Continuation of Group Coverage for Certain Family Members
and Dependents;
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(63) Insurance Code Chapter 1252, concerning Discontin-
uation and Replacement of Group and Group-Type Health Benefit Plan
Coverage;

(64) Insurance Code Chapter 1274, concerning Electronic
Transmission of Eligibility and Payment Status;

(65) Insurance Code Chapter 1301, concerning Preferred
Provider Benefit Plans, except that a small PEO plan is not subject to
§1301.009, concerning Annual Report;

(66) Insurance Code Chapter 1351, concerning Home
Health Services;

(67) Insurance Code Chapter 1352, concerning Brain In-
Jury;

(68) Insurance Code Chapter 1355, concerning Benefits for
Certain Mental Disorders;

(69) Insurance Code Chapter 1356, concerning Low-Dose
Mammography;

(70) Insurance Code Chapter 1357, concerning Mastec-
tomy;
(71) Insurance Code Chapter 1358, concerning Diabetes;

(72) Insurance Code Chapter 1359, concerning Formulas
for Individuals with Phenylketonuria or Other Heritable Diseases;

(73) Insurance Code Chapter 1360, concerning Diagnosis
and Treatment Affecting Temporomandibular Joint;

(74) Insurance Code Chapter 1361, concerning Detection
and Prevention of Osteoporosis;

(75) Insurance Code Chapter 1362, concerning Certain
Tests for Detection of Prostate Cancer;

(76) Insurance Code Chapter 1363, concerning Certain
Tests for Detection of Colorectal Cancer;

(77) Insurance Code Chapter 1364, concerning Coverage
Provisions Relating to HIV, Aids, or HIV-Related Illnesses;

(78) Insurance Code Chapter 1365, concerning Loss or Im-
pairment of Speech or Hearing;

(79) Insurance Code Chapter 1366, concerning Benefits
Related to Fertility and Childbirth;

(80) Insurance Code Chapter 1367, concerning Coverage
of Children;

(81) Insurance Code Chapter 1368, concerning Availabil-
ity of Chemical Dependency Coverage;

(82) Insurance Code Chapter 1369, concerning Benefits
Related to Prescription Drugs and Devices and Related Services;

(83) Insurance Code Chapter 1370, concerning Certain
Tests for Detection of Human Papillomavirus, Ovarian Cancer, and
Cervical Cancer;

(84) Insurance Code Chapter 1371, concerning Coverage
for Certain Prosthetic Devices, Orthotic Devices, and Related Services;

(85) Insurance Code Chapter 1376, concerning Certain
Tests for Early Detection of Cardiovascular Disease;

(86) Insurance Code Chapter 1377, concerning Coverage
for Certain Amino Acid-Based Elemental Formulas;

(87) Insurance Code Chapter 1379, concerning Coverage
for Routine Patient Care Costs for Enrollees Participating in Certain
Medical Trials;

(88) Insurance Code Chapter 1451, concerning Access to
Certain Practitioners and Facilities;

(89) Insurance Code Chapter 1453, concerning Disclosure
of Reimbursement Guidelines under Managed Care Plan;

(90) Insurance Code Chapter 1454, concerning Equal
Health Care for Women,;

(91) Insurance Code 1455,

Telemedicine and Telehealth;

Chapter concerning

(92) Insurance Code Chapter 1456, concerning Disclosure
of Provider Status;

(93) Insurance Code Chapter 1460, concerning Standards
Required Regarding Certain Physician Rankings by Health Benefit
Plans;

(94) Insurance Code Chapter 1467, concerning Out-of-
Network Claim Dispute Resolution;

(95) Insurance Code Chapter 1501, Subchapter A, con-
cerning General Provisions;

(96) Insurance Code Chapter 1501, Subchapter C, concern-
ing Provision of Coverage;

(97) Insurance Code Chapter 1501, Subchapter M, con-
cerning Large Employer Health Benefit Plans;

(98) Insurance Code Chapter 1502, concerning Health
Benefit Plans for Children;

(99) Insurance Code Chapter 1503, concerning Coverage
of Certain Students;

(100) Insurance Code Chapter 1504, concerning Medical
Child Support;
(101) Insurance Code Chapter 1507, Subchapter A, con-

cerning Consumer Choice of Benefits Health Insurance Plans;

(102) Insurance Code Chapter 1653, concerning High De-
ductible Health Plan;

(103) Insurance Code Chapter 1661, concerning Informa-
tion Technology;

(104) Insurance Code Chapter 1701, concerning Policy
Forms;

(105) Insurance Code Chapter 4201, concerning Utiliza-

tion Review Agents; and

(106) Insurance Code Chapter 4202, concerning Indepen-
dent Review Organizations.

(b) Approved PEO as insurer; client as policyholder. For pur-
poses of applying provisions addressing refunds of unearned premiums
in Insurance Code Chapter 558, an approved PEO is the equivalent of
an insurer, and the approved PEO's client is the equivalent of a policy-
holder.

(c) Client as plan sponsor. For purposes of applying Insurance
Code Chapter 1215, a client is the equivalent of a plan sponsor as de-
fined by Insurance Code §1215.001, concerning Definitions.

(d) Approved PEO as insurer and employer. For purposes of
applying Insurance Code Chapter 1251, Subchapters E, F, and G, an
approved PEO is the equivalent of both an insurer and an employer.
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(e) Approved PEO as insurer; client as group policyholder.
For purposes of applying Insurance Code §1301.0061, an approved
PEO is the equivalent of an insurer, and the approved PEO's client is
the equivalent of a group policyholder.

(f) Approved PEO as employer. For purposes of applying pro-
visions addressing required offers of coverage in Insurance Code Title
8, Subtitle E, concerning Benefits Payable under Health Coverages, an
approved PEO is the equivalent of an employer entitled to elect or de-
cline an offer of coverage required by the Insurance Code.

(g) Approved PEO as carrier; client as policyholder. For pur-
poses of applying Insurance Code Chapter 1501, Subchapter A, an ap-
proved PEO is the equivalent of a health insurance carrier, and the ap-
proved PEO's client is the equivalent of a policyholder.

(h) Approved PEO as large employer issuer; client as em-
ployer. For purposes of applying Insurance Code Chapter 1501,
Subchapter C, an approved PEO is the equivalent of a large employer
health benefit plan issuer, and the approved PEO's client is the equiva-
lent of an employer.

(1) Approved PEO as issuer; client as group contract holder.
For purposes of applying provisions in Insurance Code Chapter 1365
addressing required offers of coverage, an approved PEO is the equiva-
lent of a group health benefit plan issuer, and the approved PEO's client
is the equivalent of a group contract holder.

§13.524.  Applicability of Administrative Code Provisions to an Ap-
proved PEO, Plan, or Trust.

(a) Applicable Administrative Code provisions. The follow-
ing provisions of this title are applicable to an approved PEO, or to its
plan and trust, as appropriate, to the same extent as the provisions ap-
ply to any entity TDI regulates under those provisions:

(1) Chapter 1 of this title (relating to General Administra-
tion);

(2) Chapter 3, Subchapter A of this title (relating to Sub-
mission Requirements for Filings and Departmental Actions Related
to Such Filings);

(3) Chapter 3, Subchapter E of this title (relating to Group
Life, and/or Accident and Health Insurance Policies and Certificates);

(4) Chapter 3, Subchapter G of this title (relating to Plain
Language Requirements for Health Benefit Policies);

(5) Chapter 3, Subchapter M of this title (relating to Dis-
cretionary Clauses);

(6) Chapter 3, Subchapter U of this title (relating to New-
born Children Coverage);

(7) Section 3.3601 of this title (relating to Orthodontic
Coverages);

(8) Chapter 3, Subchapter V of this title (relating to Coor-
dination of Benefits);

(9) Chapter 3, Subchapter X of this title (relating to Pre-
ferred and Exclusive Provider Plans);

(10) Chapter 3, Subchapter BB of this title (relating to
Pharmaceutical Services);

(11) Chapter 3, Subchapter HH of this title (relating to
Standards for Reasonable Cost Control and Utilization Review for
Chemical Dependency Treatment Centers);

(12) Chapter 7, Subchapter B of this title (relating to Insur-
ance Holding Company Systems);

(13) Chapter 12 of this title (relating to Independent Re-
view Organizations);

(14) Chapter 19, Subchapter R of this title (relating to Uti-
lization Review for Health Care Provided Under a Health Benefit Plan
or Health Insurance Policy);

(15) Chapter 21, Subchapter A of this title (relating to Un-
fair Competition and Unfair Practices of Insurers, and Misrepresenta-
tion of Policies);

(16) Chapter 21, Subchapter B of this title (relating to Ad-
vertising, Certain Trade Practices, and Solicitation);

(17) Chapter 21, Subchapter C of this title (relating to Un-
fair Claims Settlement Practices);

(18) Chapter 21, Subchapter E of this title (relating to Un-
fair Discrimination Based on Sex or Marital Status);

(19) Chapter 21, Subchapter H of this title (relating to Un-
fair Discrimination);

(20) Chapter 21, Subchapter K of this title (relating to Cer-
tification of Creditable Coverage);

(21) Chapter 21, Subchapter L of this title (relating to Med-
ical Child Support, Unfair Practices);

(22) Chapter 21, Subchapter M of this title (relating to
Mandatory Benefit Notice Requirements);

(23) Chapter 21, Subchapter P of this title (relating to Men-
tal Health Parity);

(24) Chapter 21, Subchapter Q of this title (relating to
Complaint Records to be Maintained);

(25) Chapter 21, Subchapter R of this title (relating to Di-
abetes);

(26) Chapter 21, Subchapter T of this title (relating to Sub-
mission of Clean Claims);

(27) Chapter 21, Subchapter V of this title (relating to Phar-
macy Benefits);

(28) Chapter 21, Subchapter W of this title (relating to
Coverage for Acquired Brain Injury);

(29) Chapter 21, Subchapter Y of this title (relating to Un-
fair Discrimination in Compensation for Women's Healthcare);

(30) Chapter 21, Subchapter Z of this title (relating to Data
Collecting and Reporting Relating to Mandated Health Benefits and
Mandated Offers of Coverage);

(31) Chapter 21, Subchapter AA of this title (relating to
Consumer Choice Health Benefit Plans);

(32) Chapter 21, Subchapter BB of this title (relating to
Dental Care Benefits);

(33) Chapter 21, Subchapter CC of this title (relating to
Electronic Health Care Transactions);

(34) Chapter 21, Subchapter DD of this title (relating to
Eligibility Statements);

(35) Chapter 21, Subchapter EE of this title (relating to
High Deductible Health Plans);

(36) Chapter 21, Subchapter FF of this title (relating to
Obligation to Continue Premium Payment and Coverage After Notice
of Lost Group Eligibility);
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(37) Chapter 21, Subchapter II of this title (relating to
Recognition of National Certifying Organizations for Noninvasive
Screening of Cardiovascular Disease);

(38) Chapter 21, Subchapter JJ of this title (relating to
Autism Spectrum Disorder Coverage);

(39) Chapter 21, Subchapter KK of this title (relating to
Health Care Reimbursement Rate Information);

(40) Chapter 21, Subchapter MM of this title (relating to
Wellness Programs);

(41) Chapter 21, Subchapter NN of this title (relating to
Noninsurance Benefits and Features);

(42) Chapter 21, Subchapter PP of this title (relating to
Out-Of-Network Claim Dispute Resolution);

(43) Chapter 21, Subchapter RR of this title (relating to
Standard Proof of Health Insurance for Medical Benefits for Injuries
Incurred as a Result of a Motorcycle Accident);

(44) Chapter 21, Subchapter SS of this title (relating to
Continuation and Conversion Provisions);

(45) Chapter 22 of this title (relating to Privacy); and

(46) Chapter 26 of this title (relating to Small Employer
Health Insurance Regulations).

(b) Plan as large employer plan. For purposes of applying
Chapter 21, Subchapter P or W of this title, a plan sponsored by an ap-
proved PEO is the equivalent of a large employer health benefit plan,
regardless of the size of any of the approved PEO's clients.

(c) Approved PEO as insurer; client as group policyholder.
For purposes of applying Chapter 21, Subchapter FF of this title, an
approved PEO is the equivalent of a health insurer, and the approved
PEO's client is the equivalent of a group policyholder.

(d) Approved PEO as large employer carrier and large em-
ployer. Except as provided in subsection (e) of this section, for pur-
poses of applying Chapter 26 of this title, an approved PEO is the equiv-
alent of both a large employer carrier and a large employer.

(e) Approved PEO as large employer carrier; client as large
employer. For purposes of applying §26.303 and §§26.307 - 26.309 of
this title, (relating to Coverage Requirements, Fair Marketing, Renewa-
bility of Coverage and Cancellation, and Refusal to Renew and Appli-
cation to Reenter Large Employer Market), an approved PEO is the
equivalent of a large employer carrier, and the approved PEO's client
is the equivalent of a large employer.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2016.

TRD-201601986

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: May 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL

28 TAC §§13.530 - 13.534

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted under
Labor Code §91.0411 and Insurance Code §36.001.

Labor Code §91.0411 provides for the commissioner of insur-
ance to adopt rules necessary to augment and implement the
regulation of benefit plans sponsored by PEOs licensed by
TDLR, which include requirements that must be met by the
licensed PEO and plan. The rules must include initial and final
approval requirements, authority to prescribe forms and items
to be submitted to the commissioner by the license holder, a
fidelity bond, use of an independent actuary, use of a third-party
administrator, authority for the commissioner to examine an
application or plan, the minimum number of clients and covered
employees covered by the plan, standards for those natural
persons managing the plan, the minimum amount of gross
contributions, the minimum amount of written commitment,
binder, or policy for stop-loss insurance, the minimum amount
of reserves, and a fee in the amount reasonable and necessary
to defray the costs of administering the section to be deposited
to the credit of the operating fund of the Texas Department of
Insurance.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner of in-
surance may adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to im-
plement the powers and duties of the Texas Department of In-
surance under the Insurance Code and other laws of this state.

§13.530. Certificate of Approval Required.

A PEO may not sponsor a plan in Texas unless the PEO has received
a certificate of approval issued under this subchapter and is operating
its plan and trust as required by this subchapter. If a PEO receives
and maintains a certificate of approval under this subchapter, it will not
be considered an unauthorized insurer for purposes of Insurance Code
Chapter 101, concerning Unauthorized Insurance.

§13.531.

(a) Form of application. A PEO must apply for a certificate of
approval by providing the information required by this division.

Forms and Fees.

(b) Application fee. Each application for a certificate of ap-
proval must be accompanied by a nonrefundable application fee of
$5,050.

§13.532.  Application Requirements.

(a) Organizational information. An applicant must provide the
following information and documentation about its structure and oper-
ations:

(1) its name, federal employer identification number, loca-
tion, and a means for contacting its representative for purposes of the
application;

(2) the physical location of the plan and trust's books and
records, and its means of maintaining the books and records;

(3) the name of the applicant's ultimate controlling person
or persons;

(4) the documents or instruments describing the rights and
obligations between the applicant and its clients, including but not lim-
ited to all forms of its professional employer services agreement;

(5) a description of the applicant's basic organizational
structure, including organizational charts or lists that show:

(A) the relationships and contracts between the appli-
cant and any affiliates of the applicant that affect the plan; and
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(B) the internal organizational structure of the appli-
cant's management and administrative staff;

(6) disclosure of any suit or judgment filed in a matter in-
volving dishonesty, breach of trust, or a financial dispute within the last
10 years against the applicant, an ultimate controlling person, or any
other persons from whom biographical information is provided under
paragraph (10) of this subsection;

(7) acopy of its most recent TDLR license;

(8) afinancial statement of the applicant covering a period
ending not more than 180 days prior to the date of the application, that is
prepared using generally accepted accounting principles of the United
States and includes:

(A) abalance sheet that reflects a solvent financial po-
sition;

(B) an income statement;

(C) a cash flow statement; and

(D) the sources and uses of all funds;

(9) evidence that the applicant has engaged or will engage
a sufficient number of competent persons to:

(A) administer the plan; and

(B) provide claims adjusting and underwriting services
to the plan;

(10) evidence of the PEO's fidelity coverage that complies
with §13.542 of this title (relating to PEO's Fidelity Coverage); and

(11)  for all plans sponsored by the applicant, whether oper-
ating in Texas or in any other state, a list of and access to all reports for
the last three years created and filed with the United States Department
of Labor in compliance with Employee Retirement Income Security
Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. §§1021(g), concerning Reporting by
Certain Arrangements; 1023, concerning Annual Reports; and 1024,
concerning Filing and Furnishing of Information.

(b) Plan and trust information and documentation. An appli-
cant must provide the following information and documentation about
its plan and trust:

(1) proof of deposit or letter of credit satisfying the finan-
cial solvency requirements of Division 6 of this subchapter;

(2) financial projections of the trust covering three full
years of operation that are prepared using generally accepted account-
ing principles of the United States and include:

(A) a balance sheet that reflects a solvent financial po-
sition;

(B) an income statement;

(C) a cash flow statement; and

(D) the sources and uses of all funds;

(3) awritten investment plan in compliance with Insurance
Code §425.105, concerning Written Investment Plan;

(4) anactuarial opinion supporting the structure of the plan
meeting the requirements of §13.533 of this title (relating to Actuarial
Opinion Requirements);

(5) a description of the applicant's plan to service plan
billings, claims, and underwriting;

(6) the name and Texas license number of each contracted
regulated entity the trust proposes to engage to service the plan, and

a copy of each agreement or proposed agreement with a contracted
regulated entity;

(7) each organizational document of the plan and trust, in-
cluding:

(A) the plan document;

(B) the plan's summary plan description, created in
compliance with ERISA, 29 U.S.C. §1022, concerning Summary Plan
Description; and

(C) the trust agreement;

(8) the name of the named fiduciary or fiduciaries who
jointly or severally will have authority to control and manage the
operation and administration of the plan, as required by ERISA, 29
U.S.C. §1102(a), concerning Establishment of Plan;

(9) thename ofthe administrator designated by the terms of
the instrument under which the plan is operated, as defined by ERISA,
29 U.S.C. §1002(16)(A);

(10) biographical information about each person who gov-
erns or manages the affairs of the applicant or the plan and trust, ac-
companied by information sufficient to allow the commissioner to de-
termine the competence, fitness, and reputation of each officer or direc-
tor of the applicant or other controlling person, and including disclo-
sure of whether the person is prohibited from serving in any capacity
under ERISA, 29 U.S.C. §1111, (concerning Persons Prohibited from
Holding Certain Positions). An applicant must provide the required
biographical information on TDI form number FIN311, Biographical
Affidavit, available on TDI's website, and must list the full name and
address of the PEO where the form requires "Full Name and Address
of Company/HMO;"

(11) a complete set of fingerprints for the individuals de-
scribed in paragraph (10) of this subsection using the procedures set out
in Chapter 1, Subchapter D of this title (relating to Effect of Criminal
Conduct), unless the individual meets the exemption in that subchap-
ter or provides evidence that the individual has successfully completed
the fingerprinting process conducted during the applicant's licensing or
license renewal process through TDLR;

(12) evidence of the trustees' fidelity coverage and errors
and omissions policy that comply with §13.556 of this title (relating to
Protection of Plan and Trust Assets); and

(13) an attestation that the plan and trust have been estab-
lished in compliance with §13.550 and §13.551 of this title (relating to
Plan Formation and Trust Formation).

(c) Officers' attestation. An applicant must provide a written
attestation signed by two principal officers of the applicant who have
submitted biographical affidavits that the information and documenta-
tion provided in compliance with subsections (a) and (b) of this section
is true and correct and complies with applicable federal and state laws
and regulations, including this subchapter, to the best of their knowl-
edge and belief.

(d) Service of Process. An applicant must appoint the com-
missioner as its resident agent for purposes of service of process as pro-
vided in Insurance Code Chapter 804, concerning Service of Process,
in the same manner as a domestic company.

§13.533.  Actuarial Opinion Requirements.
The independent actuarial opinion submitted with the application must:

(1) describe the extent to which projected plan contribu-
tions:

(A) are not excessive;
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(B) are not unfairly discriminatory;

(C) are adequate to pay all of the plan's:
(i) benefit payments;
(i) administrative expenses;
(iii)  other operational expenses; and

(D) are sufficient to maintain the required reserves and
surplus to be held in trust for the plan's participants; and

(2) include a statement allocating the projected plan con-
tributions to be charged to clients for plan coverage for:

(A) the plan's administrative expenses;
(B) plan reserves; and

(C) all other expenses associated with operation of the
applicant's plan.

§13.534.  Application Review, Approval, and Denial.

(a) Commissioner's review. The commissioner will review the
applicant's submission and other pertinent information, including infor-
mation from TDLR, to ensure the applicant's compliance with applica-
ble statutes and regulations, and:

(1) conduct any investigation that the commissioner con-
siders necessary to determine whether the applicant has obtained an
appropriate license or has delegated to contracting regulated entities,
adequate facilities, resources, and competent personnel, as determined
by the commissioner, to administer the plan and trust;

(2) examine under oath any person interested in or con-
nected with the applicant or its plan or trust; or

(3) perform an examination to confirm compliance with ap-
plicable Texas statutes and rules, including funding of the trust.

(b) Application approval. After completing the review, the
commissioner will approve an application for a certificate of approval
if the commissioner has determined there is no cause for denial as listed
in subsection (d) of this section and if the application for certificate of
approval meets the requirements of §13.532 of this title (relating to Ap-
plication Requirements).

(c) Term of certificate of approval. A certificate of approval
remains in effect until terminated at the request of the approved PEO
or canceled by the commissioner.

(d) Application denial. The commissioner will deny the appli-
cation in writing in the following circumstances:

(1) if the applicant does not meet the requirements of
§13.532 of this title; or

(2) if the applicant, any person representing the applicant,
a member of the board of trustees, or any person that has a fiduciary
relationship with the trust:

(A) makes a material misstatement or omission in the
application for a certificate of approval;

(B) obtains or attempts to obtain at any time a certifi-
cate of approval or license for an insurance entity through intentional
misrepresentation or fraud;

(C) misappropriates or converts to the person's own use
or improperly withholds money under any fiduciary relationship;

(D) is prohibited from serving in any capacity under
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, 29 U.S.C. §1111;

(E) without reasonable cause or excuse, fails to appear
in response to a subpoena, examination, or any other order lawfully
issued by the commissioner;

(F) has previously been subject to a determination by
the commissioner resulting in:

(i) suspension or revocation of a certificate of ap-
proval or license; or

(ii) denial of a certificate of approval or license on
grounds that would be sufficient for suspension or revocation; or

(G) is not eligible for licensure under Chapter 1, Sub-
chapter D of this title (relating to Effect of Criminal Conduct).

(e) Notice of denial. If the commissioner denies the applica-
tion, the commissioner will issue a written notice of denial to the ap-
plicant. The notice will state the basis for the denial.

(f) Hearing on denial. If, within 30 days of receiving a notice
under subsection (e) of this section, the applicant submits a written re-
quest for a hearing, the commissioner will file a request to set a hearing
at the State Office of Administrative Hearings, at which the applicant
will be given an opportunity to show compliance with the related In-
surance Code provisions and regulations. Hearings described in this
subchapter will be conducted as required by Government Code Chap-
ter 2001, concerning Administrative Procedure; Insurance Code Chap-
ter 40, concerning Duties of State Office of Administrative Hearings
and Commissioner in Certain Proceedings; Rate Setting Proceedings;
TDI's and State Office of Administrative Hearing's rules of procedure;
and any other applicable law and regulations.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2016.

TRD-201601987

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: May 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 4. CONDUCT OF APPROVED PEO
28 TAC §§13.540 - 13.545

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted under
Labor Code §91.0411 and Insurance Code §36.001.

Labor Code §91.0411 provides for the commissioner of insur-
ance to adopt rules necessary to augment and implement the
regulation of benefit plans sponsored by PEOs licensed by
TDLR, which include requirements that must be met by the
licensed PEO and plan. The rules must include initial and final
approval requirements, authority to prescribe forms and items
to be submitted to the commissioner by the license holder, a
fidelity bond, use of an independent actuary, use of a third-party
administrator, authority for the commissioner to examine an
application or plan, the minimum number of clients and covered
employees covered by the plan, standards for those natural
persons managing the plan, the minimum amount of gross
contributions, the minimum amount of written commitment,
binder, or policy for stop-loss insurance, the minimum amount
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of reserves, and a fee in the amount reasonable and necessary
to defray the costs of administering the section to be deposited
to the credit of the operating fund of the Texas Department of
Insurance.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner of in-
surance may adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to im-
plement the powers and duties of the Texas Department of In-
surance under the Insurance Code and other laws of this state.

§13.540. Governance and Operation of Approved PEO.

(a) Management of approved PEO. An approved PEO must
be managed by competent and trustworthy individuals. An individ-
ual responsible for risk management, financial reporting, underwriting,
claims, or investment functions of the plan and trust must be eligible for
licensure based on the guidelines established in Chapter 1, Subchapter
D of this title (relating to Effect of Criminal Conduct) and hold any
necessary licenses as required by the Insurance Code.

(b) Initial plan administration. An approved PEO must con-
tract with a third party administrator to perform the day-to-day oper-
ations of the plan until the plan's trustees have contracted with a third
party administrator to perform the day-to-day operations of the plan as
provided in §13.555 of this title (relating to Trustees' Responsibility
and Authority).

(c) Location of books and records. An approved PEO may
request to maintain the plan and trust's books and records outside this
state in compliance with Insurance Code Chapter 803.

§$13.541.  Stop-Loss Insurance.

An approved PEO must contract for stop-loss insurance in the name of
and on behalf of the plan and trust that complies with §13.567 of this
title (relating to Stop-Loss Insurance), until the trustees have contracted
for stop-loss insurance as provided in §13.555 of this subchapter.

$§13.542.  PEO's Fidelity Coverage.

An approved PEO must maintain a fidelity bond or a zero-deductible
crime policy that complies with the requirements of §13.568 of this
title (relating to Standards for Fidelity Coverage). The fidelity bond or
zero-deductible crime policy must cover each person responsible for
handling or administering plan assets, including: the approved PEO; its
directors, officers, and employees; or any other individual responsible
for servicing the plan.

§13.543.  Approved PEO's Conduct with Respect to the Plan and
Trust.

(a) Assessed contributions. Contributions assessed by the ap-
proved PEO from clients for coverage for their participants must be
sufficient to fund at least 100 percent of the plan and trust's aggregate
stop-loss retention, as provided in Division 6 of this subchapter, plus
all other expenses of the plan and trust.

(b) Payments to the trust. An approved PEO must transfer to
the trust all payments from clients or participants that represent or that
are intended as contributions to the trust as soon as those amounts can
reasonably be segregated from the approved PEO's general assets, but
no later than 15 days after receipt. These payments are plan assets.

(¢) Reimbursement from plan assets. An approved PEO may
be reimbursed by the trust for its reasonable expenses incurred to:

(1) establish and initially administer the plan and trust; and

(2) comply with this subchapter, including contracting for
stop-loss insurance and fidelity coverage.

(d) Transactions with respect to plan and trust. An approved
PEO in its transactions with respect to the plan and trust must not:

(1) deal with plan assets in its own interest or for its own
account;

(2) act on behalf of or represent a person whose interests
are adverse to the interests of the plan or the interests of its participants;
or

(3) receive any consideration from any person dealing with
the plan and trust in connection with a transaction involving plan assets.

(e) Conduct with respect to plan and trust. An approved PEO's
conduct with respect to the plan and trust must remain in compliance
with applicable federal and state laws.

§13.544.  Marketing Materials; Offers of Enrollment.

(a) Marketing material. An approved PEO's marketing mate-
rial discussing the plan and trust must be fair and accurate, and must
not represent the plan or a prospective client's projected contributions
to be assessed for coverage under the plan in a way that is materially
inaccurate or misleading.

(b) Offer of enrollment. An approved PEO must offer enroll-
ment in the plan to the covered employees of any client that agrees to
meet the terms and conditions of the PEO's professional employer ser-
vices agreement and elects to enroll its covered employees in the plan.

(c) Guaranteed renewability. A PEO may not deny a client
whose employees are covered under the plan continued access to cov-
erage under the terms of the plan, other than:

(1) for nonpayment of contributions;

(2) for fraud or other intentional misrepresentation of ma-
terial fact by the client;

(3) for noncompliance with material plan provisions;

(4) because the plan is ceasing to offer any coverage in a
geographic area;

(5) in the case of a plan that offers benefits through a net-
work plan, there is no longer any individual enrolled through the client
who lives, resides, or works in the service area of the network plan and
the plan applies this paragraph uniformly without regard to the claims
experience of clients or any health status-related factor in relation to
such individuals or their dependents; or

(6) for failure to meet the terms of an applicable collective
bargaining agreement, to renew a collective bargaining or other agree-
ment requiring or authorizing contributions to the plan, or to employ
employees covered by such an agreement.

$13.545.  Representations to Clients and Participants.

(a) Pricing and billing. An approved PEO must be fair and ac-
curate in its pricing and billings with respect to the plan, and may not
make any materially inaccurate, knowingly or recklessly misleading,
or fraudulent misrepresentations of the projected contributions to be
assessed for plan coverage for a client's covered employees or partici-
pants.

(b) Notice of increased contribution. An approved PEO may
not increase a client's contribution amount without giving the client at
least 60 days' advance notice of the amount of the increase.

(c¢) PEO solely responsible if trust assets insufficient. An ap-
proved PEO's professional employer services agreement must provide
that the PEO, and not the client, will be responsible for funding any ad-
ditional asset amount needed to equal the liabilities owed by the plan.
An approved PEO may not contractually obligate its clients to make up
any shortfall in trust assets.

41 TexReg 3492 May 13, 2016 Texas Register



(d) Agreement in conflict with this subchapter. An approved
PEO's professional employer services agreement is unenforceable to
the extent that it conflicts with the requirements of this subchapter.

(¢) Summary plan description. An approved PEO must pro-
vide each participant an evidence of coverage and a summary plan de-
scription specific to the participant's plan. The summary plan descrip-
tion must contain the following statement: "The benefits and coverages
described in this document are provided through a self-funded health
benefit plan and trust fund established and funded by your employ-
ers, {insert the name of the covered employer and the approved PEO}.
The plan and trust are established in compliance with Chapter 91 of the
Texas Labor Code and the Employee Retirement Income Security Act
of 1974, 29 U.S.C. §§1001-1191c. This is not an insurance contract,
and you are not protected by an insurance guarantee fund or other pro-
tective governmental program."

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2016.

TRD-201601988

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: May 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 5.  FORMATION, GOVERNANCE,
AND OPERATION OF PLAN AND TRUST
28 TAC §§13.550 - 13.557

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted under
Labor Code §91.0411 and Insurance Code §36.001.

Labor Code §91.0411 provides for the commissioner of insur-
ance to adopt rules necessary to augment and implement the
regulation of benefit plans sponsored by PEOs licensed by
TDLR, which include requirements that must be met by the
licensed PEO and plan. The rules must include initial and final
approval requirements, authority to prescribe forms and items
to be submitted to the commissioner by the license holder, a
fidelity bond, use of an independent actuary, use of a third-party
administrator, authority for the commissioner to examine an
application or plan, the minimum number of clients and covered
employees covered by the plan, standards for those natural
persons managing the plan, the minimum amount of gross
contributions, the minimum amount of written commitment,
binder, or policy for stop-loss insurance, the minimum amount
of reserves, and a fee in the amount reasonable and necessary
to defray the costs of administering the section to be deposited
to the credit of the operating fund of the Texas Department of
Insurance.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner of in-
surance may adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to im-
plement the powers and duties of the Texas Department of In-
surance under the Insurance Code and other laws of this state.

§13.550. Plan Formation.
(a) Establishing the plan. A PEO applying for a certificate of
approval must establish its plan in compliance with the Employee Re-

tirement Income Security Act of 1974, 29 U.S.C. §1102, concerning
Establishment of Plan.

(b) Required plan provisions. The plan:
(1) must be a nonprofit entity;

(2) must hold all plan assets in a trust as established under
§13.551 of this title (relating to Trust Formation);

(3) must accept as participants the covered employees or
dependents of covered employees of every client that elects to allow
its covered employees to participate in the plan; and

(4) may not condition participation on a client's claims his-
tory or its covered employees' health status-related factors.

(c) Plan amendment. An approved PEO may amend the terms
of its plan without the approval of the plan's trustees; the trustees may
not amend the terms of the plan.

(d) Approval of plan amendment. A plan amendment must
be submitted to TDI as provided in §13.552 of this title (relating to
Required Filings) for review and approval by the commissioner before
becoming effective.

§13.551.  Trust Formation.

(a) Establishing the trust. A PEO applying for a certificate of
approval must establish a trust in compliance with both Texas Prop-
erty Code Title 9, Subtitle B, concerning Texas Trust Code: Creation,
Operation, and Termination of Trusts; and the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act of 1974, 29 U.S.C. §1103, concerning Establish-
ment of Trust, in which all funds used to administer and pay claims and
expenses arising from the plan must be held.

(b) Powers of the trust. Except as otherwise provided in the
trust document, the powers of the trust must be exercised by a board of
trustees elected to carry out the purposes established by the organiza-
tional documents of the trust.

(c) Trust agreement. The trust agreement or other document
establishing the trust must:

(1) include the names of the persons creating the trust and
the names and signatures of each of the initial trustees;

(2) state that all plan assets will be kept continuously in a
qualified financial institution;

(3) outline the powers and duties of the board of trustees;

(4) provide that board decisions must be made by at least a
simple majority;

(5) give the trustees exclusive authority and discretion to
manage and control plan assets;

(6) provide that the trustees will not be subject to the direc-
tion of a named fiduciary; and

(7) provide that plan assets will never inure to the benefit
of any employer and will be held for the exclusive purposes of provid-
ing benefits to plan participants and defraying reasonable expenses of
administering the plan.

(d) Trust amendment. The trust agreement or other document
establishing the trust must provide that:

(1) only the plan's trustees may amend the terms of the
trust, and may do so without the approval of the approved PEO;

(2) anamendment to the trust document must be approved
by at least a simple majority of the trustees; and
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(3) a trust amendment must be submitted to TDI as pro-
vided in §13.552 of this title (relating to Required Filings) for review
and approval by the commissioner before becoming effective.

§13.552.  Required Filings.

(a) Plan amendment. An approved PEO must file each plan
amendment with the Life and Health Lines Office of TDI for prior ap-
proval by the commissioner. An amendment will not be effective until
approved by the commissioner. The approved PEO's filing must in-
clude a statement by the approved PEO certifying that, to the best of
the signer's knowledge and belief, in adopting the plan amendment,
the approved PEO and the plan will remain in compliance with this
subchapter and all applicable provisions of the Employee Retirement
Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. §§1001-1191c.

(b) Trust amendment. An approved PEO must file each
amendment to the trust agreement or any other organizational docu-
ment of the trust with the Company Licensing and Registration Office
of TDI for prior approval by the commissioner. An amendment will
not be effective until approved by the commissioner. The approved
PEO's filing must include a statement by the plan's trustees certifying
that, to the best of the trustees' knowledge and belief, in adopting the
trust amendment the plan and the trust will remain in compliance with
this subchapter and all applicable provisions of ERISA, 29 U.S.C.
§§1001-1191c.

(c) Transactions between parties. Agreements and transac-
tions between or among the approved PEO, an affiliate, and the trust are
subject to Insurance Code Chapter 823, Subchapters B and C, includ-
ing the filing requirements of these subchapters. For the purposes of
this subchapter, an affiliate and a trust are each considered members of
an insurance holding company system as described in Insurance Code
§823.006, concerning Description of Insurance Holding Company Sys-
tem.

$§13.553.  Plan and Trust Governance and Operation.

(a) Fiduciary duty. A fiduciary must discharge his or her duties
with respect to a plan solely in the interest of the participants, and:

(1) for the exclusive purposes of:
(A) providing benefits to participants; and

(B) defraying reasonable expenses of administering the
plan;

(2) with the care, skill, prudence, and diligence under the
circumstances then prevailing that a prudent person acting in like ca-
pacity and familiar with such matters would use in the conduct of an
enterprise of a like character and with like aims; and

(3) incompliance with the documents and instruments gov-
erning the plan so long as those documents and instruments are consis-
tent with this subchapter and with all other applicable state and federal
laws.

(b) Transactions between fiduciary and plan. A fiduciary in its
transactions with respect to the plan and trust must not:

(1) deal with plan assets in its own interest or for its own
account;

(2) act on behalf of or represent a person whose interests
are adverse to the interests of the plan or the interests of its participants;
or

(3) receive any consideration from any party dealing with
the plan and trust in connection with a transaction involving plan assets.

(c) Plan and trust expenses. All expenses of the plan and trust
must be paid from plan assets. Expenses include but are not limited to:

(1) administration of the plan and trust; and

(2) the plan and trust's reasonable expenses incurred to
comply with this subchapter, including contracting for stop-loss
insurance, fidelity coverage, and errors and omissions insurance.

(d) Voluntary termination of trust. The trust agreement must
provide for the distribution of plan assets on dissolution of the trust.
The distribution of assets must be consistent with of the Employee Re-
tirement Income Security Act of 1974, 29 U.S.C. §1103 and §1104,
concerning Fiduciary Duties, and related guidance by the U.S. Depart-
ment of Labor. The trust's assets may not be distributed until the com-
missioner has canceled the approved PEO's certificate of approval un-
der Division 8 of this title (relating to Market Exit).

§13.554.  Board of Trustees.

(a) Appointment. An approved PEO may appoint members of
the board of trustees.

(b) Number of members. The board of trustees must have no
fewer than three members.

(c) Ineligible individuals. An owner, officer, or employee of
a third party administrator or contracted regulated entity that provides
services to the approved PEO, or any other person that has received
compensation from the plan or trust may not serve as a board member.

$§13.555.  Trustees' Responsibility and Authority.

(a) Responsible for operations and assets. Members of the
board of trustees are responsible for all operations of the trust and must
take all necessary precautions to safeguard plan assets.

(b) Contract for plan administration. Within 12 months of the
establishment of the initial board of trustees, the board of trustees must
contract with a third party administrator to perform the day-to-day op-
erations of the plan.

(c) Insure payment of claims. Within 12 months of the estab-
lishment of the initial board of trustees, the board of trustees, or an
approved PEO acting as their agent, will contract for, and pay for with
plan assets, a stop-loss insurance agreement in the name of and for
the benefit of the plan and trust that complies with the requirements of
§13.567 of this title (relating to Stop-Loss Insurance) to insure payment
of all claims arising under the terms of the plan.

(d) Appointment of agents. The trustees may appoint agents
for the trust as necessary to meet the obligations of the plan and trust.
Each agent may only exercise the authority and perform the duties re-
quired in the management of the trust and the affairs of the plan that is
delegated to them by the board of trustees.

(e) Service without compensation. A member of the board of
trustees serves without compensation except for actual and necessary
expenses.

$13.556.  Protection of Plan and Trust Assets.

(a) Trustees' fidelity coverage. The board of trustees must
maintain a fidelity bond or a zero-deductible crime policy that complies
with the requirements of §13.568 of this title (relating to Standards for
Fidelity Coverage). The fidelity bond or zero-deductible crime policy
must cover each person responsible for handling or administering plan
assets, including the board of trustees, the approved PEO, its directors,
officers, agents and employees, or any other individual responsible for
servicing the plan.

(b) Errors and omissions insurance. The board of trustees must
purchase an errors and omissions policy in the amount of $500,000 to
cover the performance of their duties to the plan and trust. The policy
must be purchased from a company that satisfies the requirements of
§13.568(a)(2) of this title.
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(c) Ensuring existence of PEO's fidelity coverage. The trustees
must annually require that the approved PEO provide them with doc-
umentation that it has maintained and is maintaining in effect fidelity
coverage that complies with §13.542 of this title (relating to PEO's Fi-
delity Coverage).

§13.557.  Disputes Arising Under the Plan or Trust.

Benefit claims or other disputes arising under an approved PEQO's plan
are subject to the Insurance Code, including utilization review and in-
dependent review under Insurance Code Title 14, concerning Utiliza-
tion Review and Independent Review, and to resolution under state law
in the same manner as are benefit claims or disputes arising under a
large employer health benefit plan issued under Insurance Code Chap-
ter 1501, concerning the Health Insurance Portability and Availability
Act, to the extent not inconsistent with the Employee Retirement In-
come Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) as provided in ERISA, 29 U.S.C.
§1144.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2016.

TRD-201601989

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: May 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 6. FINANCIAL SOLVENCY
REQUIREMENTS FOR PEO PLANS
28 TAC §§13.560 - 13.568

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted under
Labor Code §91.0411 and Insurance Code §36.001.

Labor Code §91.0411 provides for the commissioner of insur-
ance to adopt rules necessary to augment and implement the
regulation of benefit plans sponsored by PEOs licensed by
TDLR, which include requirements that must be met by the
licensed PEO and plan. The rules must include initial and final
approval requirements, authority to prescribe forms and items
to be submitted to the commissioner by the license holder, a
fidelity bond, use of an independent actuary, use of a third-party
administrator, authority for the commissioner to examine an
application or plan, the minimum number of clients and covered
employees covered by the plan, standards for those natural
persons managing the plan, the minimum amount of gross
contributions, the minimum amount of written commitment,
binder, or policy for stop-loss insurance, the minimum amount
of reserves, and a fee in the amount reasonable and necessary
to defray the costs of administering the section to be deposited
to the credit of the operating fund of the Texas Department of
Insurance.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner of in-
surance may adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to im-
plement the powers and duties of the Texas Department of In-
surance under the Insurance Code and other laws of this state.

§13.560. Annual and Quarterly Reserves.

The financial statements filed by an approved PEO under §13.570 of
this title (relating to Financial Filing Requirements) must report the
trust's reserves as described below:

(1) the trust's year-end reserves must be calculated as the
difference between the trust's total claim distributions and the aggregate
limit attachment point of its stop-loss insurance agreement for each
plan year;

(2) the total claim distributions number used in paragraph
(1) of this section must be the amount of paid claims reduced by any
amount either received or recoverable by the trust associated with the
specific attachment point included in its stop-loss insurance agreement;

(3) the trust's quarterly reserves must equal the total
amount of its known unpaid claims as the end of the respective
calendar quarter; and

(4) the known unpaid claims number used in paragraph (3)
of this section is the amount of reserve established for a claim when it
is received, reduced by any amount recoverable by the trust associated
with the specific attachment point included in its stop-loss insurance
agreement.

§13.561.

The trust must invest its assets in compliance with Insurance Code
Chapter 425, Subchapter C, concerning Authorized Investments and
Transactions for Capital Stock, Life, Health, and Accident Insurers.

§13.562.  Deposit or Letter of Credit Required.

(a) Initial deposit or letter of credit. Before receiving a cer-
tificate of approval, a PEO applying for a certificate of approval must
establish a deposit of at least 25 percent of the attachment point of the
aggregate limit included in the plan's stop-loss insurance agreement or
establish a letter of credit for that amount.

(b) Proof of deposit. The commissioner adopts by refer-
ence both Statutory Deposit Transaction Form, Form No. FIN407
(rev.1115), and Declaration of Trust Form, Form No. FIN453
(rev.1115). Both forms are available on TDI's website. An applicant
must give proof of its deposit on both TDI's Statutory Deposit Trans-
action Form and TDI's Declaration of Trust Form.

Authorized Investments.

(c) Continuing deposit or letter of credit. An approved PEO
sponsoring a plan must maintain a deposit or letter of credit of at least
25 percent of the attachment point of the aggregate limit included in
the plan's stop-loss insurance agreement.

(d) Deposit to be held for TDI's control. Any deposit must be
held for TDI's control and may not be withdrawn or substituted without
the commissioner's approval.

§13.563.  Form of Deposit.
A deposit must consist of funds in the form of:

(1) money of the United States including certificates of de-
posit issued by a qualified financial institution, but the amount of total
deposits by the approved PEO in the qualified financial institution may
not exceed the greater of:

(A) the limits of federal insurance coverage for the de-
posits; or

(B) ten percent of the issuing qualified financial institu-
tion's net worth, provided that its net worth is in excess of $25 million;

(2) bonds of Texas;
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(3) bonds or other evidences of indebtedness of the United
States that are guaranteed as to principal and interest by the United
States government; or

(4) Dbonds or other interest-bearing evidences of indebted-
ness of a county or municipality of this state.

$§13.564.  Annual Recalculation; Changes to Deposit.

(a) Annual recalculation. An approved PEO must recalculate
its deposit required every year, not later than 60 days after negotiating
the plan's stop-loss insurance agreement for the current plan year, using
the formula stated in §13.562(b) of this title (relating to Deposit or
Letter of Credit Required).

(b) Changes to deposit.

(1) An approved PEO may request to change its deposit
by submitting both the Statutory Deposit Transaction Form, Form
No. FIN407 (rev.1115), and the Declaration of Trust Form, Form No.
FIN453 (rev.1115), and must submit a safekeeping receipt showing
that the securities are pledged to TDI.

(2) Ifthe commissioner approves the release of any portion
of a deposit, TDI's bond and securities officer will execute a release of
any pledge, and the funds will be returned to the approved PEO.

(3) Anapproved PEO that requests a release of any part of
its deposit because the deposit amount exceeds the amount calculated
under §13.562(b) of this title must provide supporting documentation
that justifies the release, including:

(A) the reasons for the release; and

(B) evidence satisfactory to the commissioner that its
deposit exceeds the amount required in §13.562(b) of this title.

(4) Allinterest income due on its deposit funds may be paid
directly to the approved PEO by the bank.

§13.565. Letter of Credit.

(a) Requirements. Instead of a deposit, an approved PEO may
maintain a letter of credit. A letter of credit must comply with the
following requirements:

(1) the letter of credit cannot be supported or collateralized
by a guaranty;

(2) the letter of credit and all amendments to the letter of
credit must be filed with TDI; and

(A) be clean, irrevocable, unconditional, and issued by
a qualified financial institution;

(B) contain an issue date;

(C) stipulate that the beneficiary is the commissioner,
that the commissioner need only draw a draft under the letter of credit
and present it to obtain funds, and that no other document need be
presented;

(D) show only one amount on the letter of credit;

(E) state that the letter of credit is not subject to any
conditions or qualifications outside of the letter of credit and must not
contain reference to any other agreements, documents, or entities;

(F) contain a statement to the effect that the obligation
of the qualified financial institution under the letter of credit is in no
way contingent on reimbursement; and

(G) state that the letter of credit is subject to and gov-
erned by either the laws of this state or the laws of the state in which the
issuing qualified financial institution is domiciled, and that all drafts

drawn on the letter of credit will be presentable at any office in the
United States of the issuing qualified financial institution.

(b) Conditions not permitted. The letter of credit must not:
(1) have a schedule of periodic payments;
(2) name any beneficiary other than the commissioner; and

(3) in aggregate of all letters of credit issued to the ap-
proved PEO by one qualified financial institution, exceed 10 percent
of the financial institution's total equity capital, as shown in the quali-
fied financial institution's most recent report of condition as filed with
the appropriate federal or state financial institution regulatory agency.

(¢) Term of letter of credit. The term of the letter of credit
must be for at least one year and must contain an evergreen clause that
prevents the expiration of the letter of credit without written notice from
the issuer. The evergreen clause must provide for a period of no less
than 30 days' written notice to the commissioner prior to the expiration
date or nonrenewal.

§13.566. Annual Recalculation; Changes to Letter of Credit.

(a) Annual recalculation. An approved PEO must recalculate
the required amount of its letter of credit every year, not later than 60
days after negotiating the plan's stop-loss insurance agreement for the
current plan year, using the formula stated in §13.562(b) of this title
(relating to Deposit or Letter of Credit Required).

(b) Changes to letter of credit.

(1) Ifaletter of credit is not renewed or replaced, the com-
missioner must not be prevented from withdrawing the balance of the
letter of credit and placing that sum in trust to secure continuing obli-
gations until the commissioner has received a renewal letter of credit
or an acceptable substitute.

(2) [Ifaletter of credit is not renewed or replaced, or if it is
suspended, the approved PEO and the issuing qualified financial insti-
tution must give the commissioner immediate notice of the nonrenewal,
replacement, or suspension.

$13.567.  Stop-Loss Insurance.

(a) Minimum specific and aggregate coverage. The plan and
trust must maintain specific and aggregate stop-loss insurance that is
not less than the recommended minimum level included in the annual
actuarial opinion required by §13.570(c)(2) of this title (relating to Fi-
nancial Filing Requirements).

(b) Terms of contract for stop-loss insurance. The trustees,
or an approved PEO acting on behalf of the trustees, must contract
for stop-loss insurance in the name of and for the benefit of the plan
and trust, as evidenced by a written commitment, binder, or policy for
stop-loss insurance issued by an unaffiliated insurer authorized to do
business in this state, which must include the following:

(1) no less than 30 days' notice to the commissioner of any
amendment, cancellation, or nonrenewal of coverage;

(2) provide both specific and aggregate coverage with
an aggregate retention of no more than 125 percent of the amount
of expected claims for the subsequent plan year and the specific
retention amount as determined by the actuarial opinion required by
§13.570(c)(2) of this title;

(3) both the specific and aggregate coverage must require
all claims to be submitted within 90 days after the claim is reported,
and

(4) a requirement that the stop-loss carrier provide the
trustees and the PEO any renewal quote at least 90 days before the
expiration of the current policy.
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(c) Request for waiver. The trustees, or an approved PEO act-
ing on behalf of the trustees, may request in writing, including sup-
porting documentation, that the commissioner waive or reduce the re-
quirement for aggregate stop-loss insurance. The commissioner, after
reviewing the request and documentation, and any additional informa-
tion requested by and provided to TDI, will approve the request if the
commissioner determines that the interests of the clients and partici-
pants are adequately protected.

$13.568.  Standards for Fidelity Coverage.

(a) Fidelity bond or crime policy. A fidelity bond or crime pol-
icy required by any section of this rule must be for an amount of at least
$500,000. The commissioner will consider information of all inter-
ested parties and determine any amount required in excess of $500,000.
The bond or policy must:

(1) obligate the surety to pay any loss of money or other
property the plan or trust sustains because of an act of fraud or dis-
honesty by a person covered by the bond or policy, acting alone or in
concert with others; and

(2) be issued by an unaffiliated insurer that holds a certifi-
cate of authority in this state, and that is a corporate surety company
that is an acceptable surety on Federal bonds under authority granted
by the Secretary of the Treasury under 31 U.S. Code Chapter 93. If
the commissioner determines, after reviewing information from the ap-
proved PEO or the plan and trust's board of trustees, that a fidelity
bond or a zero-deductible crime policy is not available from a quali-
fied unaffiliated insurer that holds a certificate of authority in this state,
the approved PEO or board of trustees may obtain a fidelity bond or
a zero-deductible crime policy from a surplus lines agent in this state
in compliance with Insurance Code Chapter 981, concerning Surplus
Lines Insurance, or from a corporate surety company which is an ac-
ceptable surety on Federal bonds under authority granted by the Secre-
tary of the Treasury under 31 U.S. Code Chapter 93.

(b) Cash deposit. Instead of a fidelity bond or zero-deductible
crime policy, the approved PEO or board of trustees may place on
deposit with a qualified financial institution securities meeting the re-
quirements of §13.564 of this title (relating to Annual Recalculation;
Changes to Deposit) for the benefit of the commissioner. The deposit
must be maintained in the amount and is subject to the same conditions
required for fidelity coverage under this section. The deposit must be
held for TDI's control and may not be withdrawn or substituted without
the commissioner's approval.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2016.

TRD-201601990

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: May 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 7.  QUARTERLY AND ANNUAL
FILINGS; EXAMINATIONS; HAZARDOUS
CONDITIONS

28 TAC §§13.570 - 13.573

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted under
Labor Code §91.0411 and Insurance Code §36.001.

Labor Code §91.0411 provides for the commissioner of insur-
ance to adopt rules necessary to augment and implement the
regulation of benefit plans sponsored by PEOs licensed by
TDLR, which include requirements that must be met by the
licensed PEO and plan. The rules must include initial and final
approval requirements, authority to prescribe forms and items
to be submitted to the commissioner by the license holder, a
fidelity bond, use of an independent actuary, use of a third-party
administrator, authority for the commissioner to examine an
application or plan, the minimum number of clients and covered
employees covered by the plan, standards for those natural
persons managing the plan, the minimum amount of gross
contributions, the minimum amount of written commitment,
binder, or policy for stop-loss insurance, the minimum amount
of reserves, and a fee in the amount reasonable and necessary
to defray the costs of administering the section to be deposited
to the credit of the operating fund of the Texas Department of
Insurance.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner of in-
surance may adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to im-
plement the powers and duties of the Texas Department of In-
surance under the Insurance Code and other laws of this state.

$§13.570. Financial Filing Requirements.

(a) Approved quarterly filing form. TDI adopts by reference
PEO Quarterly Report, Form No. FIN409 (rev. 1115). The form is
available on TDI's website. An approved PEO must submit its quar-
terly filings as described in subsection (c¢) of this section on PEO Quar-
terly Report, Form No. FIN409, using generally accepted accounting
principles of the United States as modified by this subchapter.

(b) Approved annual filing form. TDI adopts by reference
PEO Annual Report, Form No. FIN410 (rev. 1115). The form is avail-
able on TDI's website. An approved PEO must submit its annual filings
as described in subsection (d)(1) of this section on PEO Annual Report,
Form No. FIN410, using generally accepted accounting principles of
the United States as modified by this subchapter.

(¢) Quarterly filings. An approved PEO must file electroni-
cally with the commissioner within 45 days of the end of each calendar
quarter an unaudited quarterly financial statement of the plan and trust,
certified by an appropriate officer or agent of:

(1) the trustees; or
(2) the approved PEO.

(d) Annual filings. An approved PEO must file electronically
with the commissioner by March 1 of each year:

(1) anunaudited financial statement of the plan and trust re-
flecting the financial transactions and results of the four previous quar-
ters, certified by an appropriate officer or agent of:

(A) the trustees; or
(B) the approved PEO; and

(2) an annual actuarial opinion prepared and certified by
an actuary who is not an employee of the approved PEO, and who is a
fellow of the Society of Actuaries, a member of the American Academy
of Actuaries, or an enrolled actuary approved by the Joint Board for the
Enrollment of Actuaries to perform actuarial services required under
ERISA, 29 U.S.C. §§1001-1191¢. The annual actuarial opinion must
include:
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(A) adescription of the actuarial soundness of the plan
and trust, including any recommended actions that the approved PEO
should take to improve the plan and trust's actuarial soundness;

(B) a calculation of reserves as required by §13.560 of
this title (relating to Annual and Quarterly Reserves); and

(C) arecommended minimum level of specific and ag-
gregate stop-loss insurance the plan and trust should maintain.

(3) Audited financial statements for the plan and trust must
be filed annually by June 1 of each year and meet the requirements of
Insurance Code Chapter 401, Subchapter A, concerning Independent
Audit of Financial Statements, and §7.88 of this title (relating to Inde-
pendent Audits of Insurer and HMO Financial Statements and Insurer
and HMO Internal Control Over Financial Reporting) using generally
accepted accounting principles of the United States as modified by this
subchapter.

$13.571.  Annual Fee.

With its annual filings an approved PEO must pay to TDI an annual
statement filing fee of $500. This fee does not include the form filing
fees required under §13.521 of this title (relating to Applicable Insur-
ance Code and Administrative Code Terms).

§13.572.  Examination of Approved PEO, Plan, and Trust.

The commissioner or any person appointed by the commissioner has
the power to examine the affairs of the approved PEO and the plan and
trust as set forth in Insurance Code Chapter 401, concerning Audits and
Examinations and §7.83 and §7.84 of this title (relating to Appeal of
Examination Reports and Examination Frequency), as those provisions
apply to domestic insurers licensed to transact the business of insurance
in this state.

§13.573.  Hazardous Condition, Violations of Statute.

(a) Hazardous conditions. An approved PEO's plan and trust
are considered to be in hazardous condition if any of the following
conditions exist with respect to the plan and trust:

(1) assets to liability ratio less than 1:1;
(2) negative financial position;

(3) negative net income combined with negative retained
earnings;

(4) negative cash flow;
(5) failing to maintain minimum reserves;

(6) the trust failing to receive all monthly contributions
paid by clients to the approved PEO;

(7) transfers of funds between the trust and the approved
PEO not authorized under the trust agreement; or

(8) mismanagement by the third party administrator,
trustees, or approved PEO that endanger the solvency or operations of
the plan and trust.

(b) Regulation of solvency. An approved PEO and its plan and
trust are subject to Insurance Code Chapters 404, concerning Financial
Condition; 406, concerning Special Deposits Required Under Poten-
tially Hazardous Conditions; 441, concerning Supervision and Con-
servatorship; and 443, concerning the Insurer Receivership Act.

(c) Order of actuarial review. On finding of good cause, the
commissioner will order an actuarial review of an approved PEO in
addition to the actuarial opinion. The approved PEO must pay the cost
of any additional actuarial review ordered by the commissioner.

(d) Order to correct deficiencies. If the commissioner deter-
mines that the approved PEO's plan and trust do not comply with this

section or are found to be in hazardous condition, the commissioner
will order the approved PEO to correct the deficiencies. The commis-
sioner will take action authorized by the Insurance Code and other ap-
plicable laws against the approved PEO and its plan and trust if the
approved PEO does not initiate immediate corrective action.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2016.

TRD-201601992

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: May 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 8. MARKET EXIT
28 TAC §§13.580 - 13.583

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new sections are adopted under
Labor Code §91.0411 and Insurance Code §36.001.

Labor Code §91.0411 provides for the commissioner of insur-
ance to adopt rules necessary to augment and implement the
regulation of benefit plans sponsored by PEOs licensed by
TDLR, which include requirements that must be met by the
licensed PEO and plan. The rules must include initial and final
approval requirements, authority to prescribe forms and items
to be submitted to the commissioner by the license holder, a
fidelity bond, use of an independent actuary, use of a third-party
administrator, authority for the commissioner to examine an
application or plan, the minimum number of clients and covered
employees covered by the plan, standards for those natural
persons managing the plan, the minimum amount of gross
contributions, the minimum amount of written commitment,
binder, or policy for stop-loss insurance, the minimum amount
of reserves, and a fee in the amount reasonable and necessary
to defray the costs of administering the section to be deposited
to the credit of the operating fund of the Texas Department of
Insurance.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner of in-
surance may adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to im-
plement the powers and duties of the Texas Department of In-
surance under the Insurance Code and other laws of this state.

§13.580.  Withdrawal from Market.

(a) Withdrawal plan. An approved PEO that undertakes of its
own initiative or is required by §13.581 or §13.582 of this title (relating
to Limitation, Suspension, or Cancellation of Certificate of Approval in
Response to TDLR Action and Limitation, Suspension, or Cancellation
of Certificate of Approval in Response to TDI Action) to terminate
its health benefit plan must file a withdrawal plan for review by the
commissioner prior to terminating the plan. The withdrawal plan must
include:

(1) the approved PEO's reasons for the withdrawal;

(2) atimeline for withdrawal, including the date on which
the approved PEO intends to complete the withdrawal process;
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(3) a copy of the proposed notice to be sent to client em-
ployers and plan participants giving them at least 180 days' notice of
the plan's termination;

(4) the number and names of clients and the number of plan
participants affected by the proposed withdrawal;

(5) a procedure for handling plan participants' claims for
benefits;

(6) a procedure for identifying plan participants with spe-
cial circumstances, as defined in Insurance Code §1301.153, concern-
ing Continuity of Care;

(7) provisions for meeting all contractual obligations of the
approved PEO;

(8) provisions for meeting any applicable statutory obliga-
tions; and

(9) verification of reserves to complete a solvent resolution
of the plan's obligations.

(b) Novation and resolution of plan claim obligations. The
commissioner will not grant the request of an approved PEO to cancel
its certificate of approval unless the approved PEO novates its remain-
ing plan obligations with an unaffiliated authorized insurer or satisfies
its remaining plan obligations under an agreement filed with and ap-
proved in writing by the commissioner. For purposes of this subsec-
tion, those obligations are:

(1) known claims and expenses associated with those
claims; and

(2) incurred but not reported claims and expenses associ-
ated with those claims.

(¢) Approval of withdrawal plan. Except as provided by sub-
section (d) of this section, the commissioner will approve a withdrawal
plan that satisfies the requirements of subsections (a) and (b) of this
section.

(d) Modification or denial of withdrawal plan. If the approved
PEO is unable to meet its contractual and financial obligations in a sol-
vent and compliant manner, the commissioner will modify or deny an
approved PEO's filed withdrawal plan, and take action authorized under
Insurance Code Chapters 404, Financial Condition; 406, concerning
Special Deposits Required Under Potentially Hazardous Conditions;
441, concerning Supervision and Conservatorship; 443, concerning the
Insurer Receivership Act; or all other applicable law.

(e) Notice of modification. The commissioner will issue a
written notice to an approved PEO stating the basis for a modification
under subsection (d) of this section. If within 30 days of receiving a
notice of modification the approved PEO submits a written request for
review by the commissioner and submits additional information that
its withdrawal plan satisfies the requirements of subsections (a) and (b)
of this section, the commissioner will reconsider the modification and
give the PEO written notice of his decision.

(f) Notice of denial; State Office of Administrative Hearings
hearing request. The commissioner will issue a written notice of de-
nial to an approved PEO stating the basis for a denial under subsection
(d) of this section. If within 30 days of receiving the commissioner's
notice the approved PEO submits a written request for a hearing on de-
nial of withdrawal plan, the commissioner will file a request to set a
hearing at the State Office of Administrative Hearings under Govern-
ment Code Chapter 2001, concerning Administrative Procedure; and
Insurance Code Chapter 40, concerning Duties of State Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearings and Commissioner in Certain Proceedings; Rate

Setting Proceedings. At the hearing the approved PEO will be given
an opportunity to show compliance with this section.

§$13.581. Limitation, Suspension, or Cancellation of Certificate of
Approval in Response to TDLR Action.

(a) Notice of TDLR action against approved PEO's license.
The commissioner will limit, suspend, or cancel an approved PEO's
certificate of approval in response to an action by TDLR against the
approved PEO's license.

(b) Notice of TDLR's contemplated action. An approved PEO
must notify the commissioner through TDI's licensing section within
10 business days of first receiving notice that TDLR is contemplating
taking action against its license. The approved PEO's notice to the
commissioner must include a copy of TDLR's notice.

(c) Limitation or suspension of certificate of approval. If the
commissioner receives notice that TDLR is contemplating taking ac-
tion against an approved PEO's license, at the commissioner's discre-
tion the approved PEO's certificate of approval may be limited or sus-
pended. While an approved PEO's certificate of approval is suspended,
the approved PEO cannot contract with a new client to allow enrollment
of new plan participants. When the commissioner receives satisfactory
notice that all outstanding issues between TDLR and the approved PEO
are resolved to TDLR's satisfaction, TDI will remove the limitation or
suspension of the approved PEO's certificate of approval.

(d) Notice of TDLR action terminating license. If TDLR re-
vokes an approved PEO's license, the approved PEO must terminate
its health benefit plan in compliance with §13.580 of this title (relat-
ing to Withdrawal from Market). An approved PEO must notify the
commissioner through TDI's licensing section within 10 business days
of receiving notice that TDLR has revoked its license. The approved
PEO's notice to the commissioner must include:

(1) acopy of TDLR's notice of termination; and

(2) confirmation that the approved PEO will file its with-
drawal plan within 30 days.

(e) Cancellation. When an approved PEO has fulfilled all re-
quirements of its withdrawal plan, the commissioner will cancel the
approved PEO's certificate of approval.

(f) Reapplication. If TDLR later reinstates the PEO's license
or grants the PEO a new license in good standing, the PEO may reapply
to TDI for a certificate of approval in order to sponsor another plan
under this subchapter.

§13.582.  Limitation, Suspension, or Cancellation of Certificate of
Approval in Response to TDI Action.

(a) Commissioner's authority. Nothing in this section limits
the commissioner's authority under Insurance Code Chapters 404, Fi-
nancial Condition; 406, Special Deposits Required Under Potentially
Hazardous Conditions; 441, Supervision and Conservatorship; or 443,
the Insurer Receivership Act.

(b) Limitation, suspension, or cancellation of certificate. The
commissioner will limit, suspend, or cancel an approved PEO's certifi-
cate of approval if the commissioner finds that the approved PEO or
its plan or trust do not meet the requirements of applicable Insurance
Code provisions or this subchapter.

(c) Notice of limitation; commissioner's hearing. The com-
missioner will issue a written notice to an approved PEO stating the
basis for a limitation under subsection (b) of this section. If within 30
days of receiving a notice of limitation the approved PEO submits a
written request for review by the commissioner, the commissioner will
schedule a hearing under Insurance Code Chapter 40, at which the ap-
proved PEO will be given an opportunity to show compliance with this
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subchapter. Hearings described in this subchapter will be conducted
as required by Government Code Chapter 2001, concerning Admin-
istrative Procedure; Insurance Code Chapter 40, concerning Duties of
State Office of Administrative Hearings and Commissioner in Certain
Proceedings; Rate Setting Proceedings; TDI's and State Office of Ad-
ministrative Hearing's rules of procedure; and any other applicable law
and regulations.

(d) Notice of suspension or cancellation. The commissioner
will issue a written notice of suspension or of intent to cancel to an
approved PEO stating the basis for the suspension or cancellation under
subsection (b) of this section.

(e) Hearing request in contested case. An approved PEO may
submit a written request to the commissioner for a hearing at the State
Office of Administrative Hearings under Government Code Chapter
2001, Administrative Procedure, within 30 days of receiving notice that
its certificate of approval:

(1) remains limited after a commissioner's hearing under
subsection (c) of this section,

(2) is suspended under subsection (d) of this section, or
(3) will be canceled under subsection (d) of this section.

(f) At that hearing the approved PEO will be given an oppor-
tunity to show compliance with this subchapter.

§13.583.

(a) Plan termination. If the commissioner determines that an
approved PEO's certificate of approval should be canceled, the ap-
proved PEO must terminate its health benefit plan in compliance with
§13.580 of this title (relating to Withdrawal from Market). The ap-
proved PEO must file its withdrawal plan within 30 days of receiving
the commissioner's written notice of suspension.

Cancellation of Certificate of Approval.

(b) Cancellation of certificate of approval. When an approved
PEO has fulfilled all requirements of its approved withdrawal plan, the
commissioner will cancel the approved PEO's certificate of approval.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2016.

TRD-201601993

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: May 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584
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TITLE 30. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

PART 1. TEXAS COMMISSION ON
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

CHAPTER 39. PUBLIC NOTICE
SUBCHAPTER L. PUBLIC NOTICE OF
INJECTION WELL AND OTHER SPECIFIC
APPLICATIONS

30 TAC §39.651

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ,
agency, or commission) adopts the amendment to §39.651, with
change to the proposed text as published in the December 25,
2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 9487).

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Adopted
Rule

This rulemaking implements House Bill (HB) 655, 84th Texas
Legislature, 2015, addressing the commission's regulation of
aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) projects in Texas. ASR
involves the use of one or more injection wells for the purpose
of placing a water supply into a subsurface geologic formation,
or aquifer, for storage so that the water may be subsequently
recovered and used by the project operator. The adopted
amendment to §39.651 implements the requirements of HB 655
for providing public notice for an individual injection well permit
application for an ASR injection well. There are no requirements
for providing individual public notice on ASR injection wells that
are authorized by rule.

In corresponding rulemaking published in this issue of the Texas
Register, the commission also adopts revisions to 30 TAC Chap-
ter 295, Water Rights, Procedural; 30 TAC Chapter 297, Water
Rights, Substantive; and 30 TAC Chapter 331, Underground In-
jection Control.

Section Discussion

The commission adopts the amendment of §39.651 to im-
plement the public notice requirements in Texas Water Code
(TWC), §27.153(d). Section 39.651(d)(6) is amended to add
"Class V" to establish a 30-day comment period for Class V
injection well permit applications in the requirements for the
Notice of Application and Preliminary Decision. In response to
comments, §39.651(h) is added to address the specific notice
of application requirements for an application for an individual
permit for an injection well for an ASR project as required in HB
655 and as required to maintain requirements for an authorized
Underground Injection Control (UIC) program under the federal
Safe Drinking Water Act.

Final Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination

The commission reviewed the adopted rulemaking action in light
of the regulatory analysis requirements of Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225, and determined that the action is not sub-
ject to Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 because it does
not meet the definition of a "major environmental rule" as de-
fined in the statute. "Major environmental rule" means a rule,
the specific intent of which is to protect the environment or re-
duce risks to human health from environmental exposure and
that may adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sec-
tor of the economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environ-
ment, or the public health and safety of the state or a sector of the
state. The adopted action implements legislative requirements
in HB 655, which revises the requirements for the commission's
regulation of injection wells associated with ASR projects. The
adoption does not meet the definition of "major environmental
rule" because the rulemaking does not affect in a material way
the economy, a sector of the economy, productivity, competition,
jobs, the environment or public health and safety of the state or
a sector of the state. The adopted rule implements public notice
requirements for certain injection well permit applications asso-
ciated with ASR projects, consistent with the requirements of HB
655 and Texas statutes.
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Furthermore, the adopted rule does not meet any of the four
applicability requirements listed in Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225(a). The adopted rule does not exceed a standard
set by federal law, because the adopted rule is consistent with
applicable federal standards regarding public notice required
for injection well permit applications. The adopted rule does
not exceed an express requirement of state law because it
is consistent with the express requirements of HB 655 and
TWC, Chapter 27, Subchapter G. The adopted rule does not
exceed requirements set out in the commission's UIC program
authorized for the state of Texas under the federal Safe Drinking
Water Act. The rulemaking is not adopted under the general
powers of the agency and is adopted under the express require-
ments of HB 655 and TWC, §§27.019, 27.153, and 27.154.

The commission invited public comment regarding the Draft
Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination during the public
comment period. The commission did receive comments on the
Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination from Benbrook
Water Authority (Benbrook) and Prairielands Groundwater
Conservation District (Prairielands GWCD).

Comment

Benbrook and Prairielands GWCD refer to Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225 to claim that state regulations may exceed
federal requirements as long as the additional requirements are
authorized by state law. Prairielands GWCD contends that the
amendments to §39.651 exceed federal requirements and the
notice requirements in HB 655.

Response

The commission stands by its determination that the amend-
ment to public notice requirements in §39.651 is not a "major
environmental rule" as defined in Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. The public notice requirements are procedural
rules and do not protect the environment or reduce risks to
human health from environmental exposure. A state agency
is required to perform a regulatory analysis of rulemaking
under Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 only for a major
environmental rule. Further, under Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225(a)(1), the state agency is required to perform the
regulatory analysis of a major environmental rule with the result
to exceed a standard set by federal law, unless the rule is
specifically required by state law. However, as discussed in the
Response to Comments section of this preamble, the adopted
rule has been revised to include the public notice requirements
for an application for an individual Class V injection well permit
in adopted §39.651(h) consistent with the requirements of HB
655 and requirements to maintain an authorized UIC program
under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act.

Comment

Benbrook questions statements from the commission's draft reg-
ulatory impact analysis that the proposed rule regarding public
notice requirements do not exceed a standard set by federal law.
Benbrook contends that the proposed rule appears to exceed
federal standards as set out in 40 Code of Federal Regulations
(CFR) §124.10. Prairielands GWCD contends that the amend-
ments to §39.651 exceed federal requirements and the notice
requirements in HB 655.

Response

The amendment to §39.651 establishes requirements for provid-
ing public notice for individual permit applications to authorize
Class V injection wells associated with ASR projects. These in-

clude requirements for the method of providing notice and the
designated recipients of the notice. These provisions do not ex-
ceed any numerical or measured standard set by federal law
because they are procedural requirements and not environmen-
tal protection standards. The permitting requirements for a state
UIC program, including the provision of public notice, are iden-
tified in 40 CFR §145.11. TCEQ is not required to implement
identical provisions to the United States Environmental Protec-
tion Agency's public notice requirements in 40 CFR Part 124.
The public notice requirements in adopted §39.651(h) for ap-
plications for individual Class V injection well permits for ASR
projects are consistent with the public notice requirements in HB
655 and requirements to maintain an authorized UIC program
under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act. Therefore, the public
notice requirements in §39.651 do not exceed a standard estab-
lished by federal law and are specifically required by state law
as provided in Texas Government Code, §2001.0225(a)(1).

Takings Impact Assessment

The commission evaluated this rulemaking action and performed
a preliminary assessment of whether Texas Government Code,
Chapter 2007 is applicable. The adopted action implements leg-
islative requirements in HB 655, which revises the requirements
for the commission's regulation of injection wells associated with
ASR projects.

The adopted rule would be neither a statutory nor a constitu-
tional taking of private real property. The adopted rule is proce-
dural and would establish public notice requirements for certain
injection well permit applications associated with ASR projects,
consistent with the requirements of HB 655 and Texas statutes.
The adopted rule does not affect a landowner's rights in private
real property because this rulemaking action does not burden
(constitutionally), nor restrict or limit, the owner's right to prop-
erty and reduce its value by 25% or more beyond which would
otherwise exist in the absence of the regulations.

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission reviewed the adopted rule and found that it
is neither identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implementation
Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(b)(2) or (4), nor will it affect any ac-
tion/authorization identified in Coastal Coordination Act Imple-
mentation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(a)(6). Therefore, the adopted
rule is not subject to the Texas Coastal Management Program
(CMP).

The commission invited public comment regarding the consis-
tency with the CMP during the public comment period. No com-
ments were received regarding the consistency with the CMP.

Public Comment

The commission held a public hearing on January 22, 2016.
The comment period closed on February 8, 2016. The commis-
sion received comments from Benbrook; Brazos Valley Ground-
water Conservation District (Brazos Valley GWCD); Clearwa-
ter Underground Water Conservation District (Clearwater Under-
ground WCD); Hemphill Underground Water Conservation Dis-
trict (Hemphill Underground WCD); High Plains Underground
Water Conservation District (High Plains Underground WCD);
the Honorable Lyle Larson, Texas State Representative, District
122, who authored HB 655 (Representative Larson); Llano Es-
tacado Underground Water Conservation District (Llano Esta-
cado Underground WCD); Lone Star Groundwater Conservation
District (Lone Star GWCD); Mesa Underground Water Conser-
vation District (Mesa Underground WCD); Permian Basin Un-
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derground Water Conservation District (Permian Basin Under-
ground WCD); Prairielands GWCD; Sandy Land Underground
Water Conservation District (Sandy Land Underground WCD);
Sledge Law and Public Strategies (Sledge Law); South Plains
Underground Water Conservation District (South Plains Under-
ground WCD); Texas Alliance of Groundwater Districts; Texas
Farm Bureau; and the Upper Trinity Groundwater Conservation
District (Upper Trinity GWCD).

All commenters generally were in support of the proposed rules,
although a common comment was that certain rules were not
consistent with HB 655.

Response to Comments
Comment

Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground WCD,
Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground WCD,
Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Underground
WCD, and South Plains Underground WCD supports the pro-
posed language added to §39.651(c)(4); (d)(4) and (6); and
(f)(3)(B) with respect to Notice of Receipt of Application and
Intent to Obtain a Permit, Notice of Application and Preliminary
Decision, and Notice of Contested Case Hearing.

Response

The commission acknowledges the support for the rule as pro-
posed. However, in consideration of comments submitted on the
proposed rule as discussed later in this Response to Comments
section, the commission is amending §39.651 and adding sub-
section (h) to specify the public notice requirements for an ap-
plication for an individual permit for an injection well for an ASR
project, consistent with the public notice requirements specified
in HB 655 and requirements to maintain an authorized UIC pro-
gram under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act.

Comment

Prairielands GWCD and Benbrook commented that the pro-
posed notice requirements for ASR projects authorized by
individual permits exceed both federal requirements and TWC,
§27.153(d) as provided in HB 655. Prairielands GWCD and
Benbrook also commented that the notice requirements for
individual permits should be revised to exclude requirements
that are not mandated by federal requirements or HB 655.
Prairielands GWCD commented that requirements for public
notice that are more expansive than what is required by the
legislature are illogical. Benbrook commented that the pro-
posed notice requirements for individual permit applications are
burdensome and not consistent with HB 655. Texas Alliance
of Groundwater Districts and Clearwater Underground WCD
commented that the notice requirements for an ASR project
under an individual permit exceed the requirements established
in TWC, §27.153(d) of HB 655. Lone Star GWCD commented
that the notice requirements for ASR projects seeking an indi-
vidual permit are not consistent with the notice requirements in
HB 655. Sledge Law commented that requiring mailed notice
to individual landowners and mineral interest owners can be
onerous and also that the commission should use the specific
notice requirements established in HB 655. Texas Alliance of
Groundwater Districts and Clearwater Underground WCD ques-
tioned whether the cost and extent to which a permit applicant
must provide notice under the proposed rule is reasonable. The
Upper Trinity GWCD and Representative Larson commented
that the proposed notice requirements for ASR projects autho-

rized by an individual permit are inconsistent with the notice
requirements provided in HB 655.

Response

The commission regrets any confusion regarding the proposed
rule on public notice requirements for ASR projects authorized
by an individual permit. The commission had proposed that the
requirements for public notice for ASR projects to be authorized
by an individual permit in §39.651 be consistent with state statu-
tory requirements, including specific public notice requirements
in HB 655 and general requirements applicable to other injection
well permit applications. Upon consideration of these comments
and as discussed later in this Response to Comments section,
the commission is revising §39.651 by creating new subsection
(h) to apply the specific public notice requirements for an individ-
ual Class V injection well permit application for an ASR project
as provided in HB 655 and as required as part of the TCEQ's au-
thorized UIC program under 40 CFR §145.11. The adopted rule
will require only one notice of the application, the Notice of Appli-
cation and Preliminary Decision, which will be mailed after tech-
nical review is complete to the groundwater conservation district
(GWCD) in which the injection wells will be located, as required
by HB 655, and to the persons listed in §39.413(7) - (9), which
are the local, state and federal governmental entities for which
notice is required under 40 CFR §124.10(c), persons who have
requested to be on a mailing list developed and maintained in
accordance with 40 CFR §124.10(c)(1)(ix), and the applicant.

Under the Code Construction Act a later enacted statute gen-
erally prevails over an earlier enacted statute that conflicts, and
specific statute generally prevails over a general statute that con-
flicts. Therefore, although there are general notice requirements
for an application for an individual UIC permit in TWC, Chap-
ters 5 and 27 that were previously enacted, it is reasonable to
interpret HB 655, which specifically addresses notice require-
ments for ASR projects, as providing the exclusive state notice
of application requirements for an individual UIC permit for an
ASR project. In addition, a statute should be interpreted so that
all words are given effect and meaning. If the general notice
requirements for UIC individual permits were applicable, there
would have been no need for HB 655 to require that notice be
given by first class mail to a GWCD in which the wells will be
located, because such notice would have already been required
under the general requirements for notice of UIC individual per-
mits in TWC, Chapter 27. Furthermore, if the general statutory
requirements for notice were applicable, the requirement in HB
655 that notice be published in a newspaper of general circu-
lation in the county in which the wells are located would be su-
perfluous, because the general requirements for notice of UIC
individual permits, as implemented in commission rule, already
require that notice be published in the largest newspaper of gen-
eral circulation in the county. While HB 655 provides the exclu-
sive state notice of application requirements for an individual UIC
permit for an ASR project, additional federal notice requirements
must be met in order to meet requirements to maintain an autho-
rized UIC program under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act.

Comment

Brazos Valley GWCD commented that public notice should be
provided to GWCDs and adjacent landowners, when the ASR
project is authorized under a general permit, individual permit, or
by rule. Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground
WCD, Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground
WCD, Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Under-
ground WCD, and South Plains Underground WCD commented
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that the proposed rule violates the intent of HB 655 because
there is no public notice requirement for ASR projects that are
authorized by rule. Texas Farm Bureau commented that it ex-
pected that all ASR projects would be subject to public notice.

Response

HB 655 does not specify that notice must be provided to ad-
jacent landowners and does not establish any public notice re-
quirements for ASR projects authorized by rule. Authorization
by rule is fulfilled by complying with the requirements of the ap-
plicable rules in Chapter 331. Class V injection wells may be
authorized by rule under the requirements of the federal Safe
Drinking Water Act. ASR projects may be authorized by rule as
established in HB 655. There are no public notice requirements
in the federal regulations or in state statutes that are applicable
to ASR projects authorized by rule. No changes were made di-
rectly in response to these comments. However, as noted later
in this Response to Comments section, the commission is revis-
ing 30 TAC §331.7(h) to require that the executive director inform
a GWCD of any ASR project proposed to be authorized by rule
for a project that is located within that district. Although the ex-
ecutive director will inform GWCDs of such projects as provided
in §331.7, the public notice requirements in §39.651 will not be
revised.

Comment

Texas Alliance of Groundwater Districts, Clearwater Under-
ground WCD, Lone Star GWCD, Upper Trinity GWCD, and
Representative Larson requested that the rule be amended
to require that TCEQ's executive director forward notice to a
GWCD for a proposed ASR project authorized by rule that
is located within the jurisdiction of the district. Brazos Valley
GWCD commented that the rule should be amended to require
TCEQ's executive director to notify GWCDs of any pending ASR
project within the district's boundaries. Brazos Valley GWCD
and Representative Larson commented that the rule fails to
require notice to GWCDs for ASR projects authorized by rule.

Response

The commission expects that ASR project operators will work
closely with GWCDs, landowners, and local authorities before
seeking any requisite approvals from TCEQ. The commission
believes that ASR project operators will benefit from information
sharing and the coordination in the planning of their projects with
these local interests. While HB 655, other state laws, and federal
UIC program requirements do not require the provision of public
notice for injection wells that are authorized by rule, the commis-
sion is revising §331.7(h) to require that the executive director
inform a GWCD of any ASR project proposed to be authorized
by rule for a project that is located within that district. Although
the executive director will inform GWCDs of such projects as
provided in §331.7, the public notice requirements in §39.651
will not be revised.

Comment

Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground WCD,
Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground WCD,
Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Underground
WCD, and South Plains Underground WCD commented that all
ASR projects should be required to obtain an individual permit
and that authorization by rule should only be used in a dire emer-
gency, such as declared disaster area or systematic drought.
Texas Farm Bureau commented that all ASR projects should be

authorized by an individual permit so that property owners can
participate in the permit process.

Response

HB 655 provided that the commission may authorize the use of
a Class V injection well as an ASR injection well by rule, under
an individual permit, or under a general permit. Class V injection
wells are typically authorized by rule as allowed under federal
UIC program requirements and state statute. The commission
is not going to require all ASR projects to be authorized by an
individual permit at this time. The executive director has the au-
thority in 30 TAC §331.9 to require any operator of an injection
well authorized by rule to apply for and obtain an injection well
permit. The commission expects that the executive director will
exercise this discretion carefully. The commission may decide
to re-evaluate the suitability of the authorization by rule process
for ASR projects at some future point. No changes were made
in response to the comments.

Statutory Authority

The amendment is adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC),
§5.103, which provides the commission the authority to adopt
any rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties under
TWC and other laws of this state; TWC, §5.105, which autho-
rizes the commission to establish and approve all general policy
of the commission by rule; TWC, §5.120, which authorizes the
commission to administer the law so as to promote the judicious
use and maximum conservation and protection of the environ-
ment and natural resources of the state; TWC, §27.019, which
requires the commission to adopt rules reasonably required for
the regulation of injection wells; and TWC, §27.153, which re-
quires the commission to adopt rules for authorization of aquifer
storage and recovery injection wells by rule or by permit.

The adopted amendment implements House Bill 655, 84th Texas
Legislature, 2015, and TWC, Chapter 27, Subchapter G.

$39.651.  Application for Injection Well Permit.

(a) Applicability. This subchapter applies to applications for
injection well permits that are declared administratively complete on
or after September 1, 1999.

(b) Preapplication local review committee process. Ifan appli-
cant decides to participate in a local review committee process under
Texas Health and Safety Code, §361.063, the applicant shall submit a
notice of intent to file an application to the executive director, setting
forth the proposed location and type of facility. The applicant shall
mail notice to the county judge of the county in which the facility is to
be located. In addition, if the proposed facility is to be located in a mu-
nicipality or the extraterritorial jurisdiction of a municipality, a copy of
the notice must be mailed to the mayor of the municipality.

(c) Notice of Receipt of Application and Intent to Obtain Per-
mit.

(1) On the executive director's receipt of an application, or
notice of intent to file an application, the chief clerk shall mail notice
to the state senator and representative who represent the area in which
the facility is or will be located.

(2) After the executive director determines that the appli-
cation is administratively complete, notice must be given as required
by §39.418 of'this title (relating to Notice of Receipt of Application and
Intent to Obtain Permit). This notice must contain the text as required
by §39.411(b)(1) - (9) and (11) of this title (relating to Text of Pub-
lic Notice). Notice under §39.418 of this title will satisfy the notice
of receipt of application required by §281.17(d) of this title (relating
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to Notice of Receipt of Application and Declaration of Administrative
Completeness).

(3) After the executive director determines that the appli-
cation is administratively complete, in addition to the requirements of
§39.418 of this title, notice must be given to the School Land Board,
if the application will affect lands dedicated to the permanent school
fund. The notice must be in the form required by Texas Water Code,
§5.115(c).

(4) For Notice of Receipt of Application and Intent to Ob-
tain a Permit concerning Class I or Class III underground injection
wells, the chief clerk shall also mail notice to:

(A) persons who own the property on which the existing
or proposed injection well facility is or will be located, if different from
the applicant;

(B) landowners adjacent to the property on which the
existing or proposed injection well facility is or will be located;

(C) persons who own mineral rights underlying the ex-
isting or proposed injection well facility;

(D) persons who own mineral rights underlying the
tracts of land adjacent to the property on which the existing or pro-
posed injection well facility is or will be located; and

(E) any groundwater conservation district established
in the county in which the existing or proposed injection well facil-
ity is or will be located.

(5) The chief clerk or executive director shall also mail a
copy of the application or a summary of its contents to the mayor and
health authority of a municipality in whose territorial limits or extrater-
ritorial jurisdiction the solid waste facility is located and to the county
judge and the health authority of the county in which the facility is lo-
cated.

(6) For Class I underground injection wells, the published
notice must be at least 15 square inches (96.8 square centimeters) with
a shortest dimension of at least three inches (7.6 centimeters) and the
notice must appear in the section of the newspaper containing state or
local news items.

(d) Notice of Application and Preliminary Decision. The no-
tice required by §39.419 of this title (relating to Notice of Application
and Preliminary Decision) must be published once under §39.405(f)(2)
of this title (relating to General Notice Provisions) after the chief clerk
has mailed the preliminary decision and the Notice of Application and
Preliminary Decision to the applicant. This notice must contain the
text as required by §39.411(c)(1) - (6) of this title. In addition to the
requirements of §39.405(h) and §39.419 of this title, the following re-
quirements apply.

(1) The applicant shall publish notice at least once in a
newspaper of general circulation in each county that is adjacent or con-
tiguous to each county in which the proposed facility is located. One
notice may satisfy the requirements of §39.405(f)(2) of this title and of
this subsection, if the newspaper meets the requirements of both rules.

(2) For Class I underground injection wells, the published
notice must be at least 15 square inches (96.8 square centimeters) with
a shortest dimension of at least three inches (7.6 centimeters) and the
notice must appear in the section of the newspaper containing state or
local news items.

(3) The chief clerk shall mail notice to the persons listed
in §39.413 of this title (relating to Mailed Notice) and to local govern-
ments located in the county of the facility. "Local governments" have
the meaning as defined in Texas Water Code, Chapter 26.

(4) For Notice of Application and Preliminary Decision
concerning Class I or Class III underground injection wells, the chief
clerk shall also mail notice to:

(A) persons who own the property on which the existing
or proposed injection well facility is or will be located, if different from
the applicant;

(B) landowners adjacent to the property on which the
existing or proposed injection well facility is or will be located;

(C) persons who own mineral rights underlying the ex-
isting or proposed injection well facility;

(D) persons who own mineral rights underlying the
tracts of land adjacent to the property on which the existing or pro-
posed injection well facility is or will be located; and

(E) any groundwater conservation district established
in the county in which the existing or proposed injection well facil-
ity is or will be located.

(5) If the application concerns a hazardous waste facility,
the applicant shall broadcast notice under §39.503(d)(2) of this title
(relating to Application for Industrial or Hazardous Waste Facility Per-
mit).

(6) The deadline for public comments on industrial solid
waste, Class III, or Class V injection well permit applications will be
not less than 30 days after newspaper publication, and for hazardous
waste applications, not less than 45 days after newspaper publication.

(e) Notice of public meeting.

(1) If an application for a new hazardous waste facility is
filed:

(A) Dbefore September 1, 2005, the agency shall hold a
public meeting in the county in which the facility is proposed to be
located to receive public comment concerning the application; or

(B) on or after September 1, 2005, the agency:

(i) may hold a public meeting under §55.154 of this
title (relating to Public Meetings) in the county in which the facility
is proposed to be located to receive public comment concerning the
application; but

(ii)  shall hold a public meeting under §55.154 of this
title in the county in which the facility is proposed to be located to
receive public comment concerning the application:

() on the request of a member of the legislature
who represents the general area in which the facility is proposed to be
located; or

(1) ifthe executive director determines that there
is substantial public interest in the proposed facility.

(2) Ifan application for a major amendment to or a Class 3
modification of an existing hazardous waste facility permit is filed:

(A) before September 1, 2005, the agency shall hold a
public meeting in the county in which the facility is located to receive
public comment on the application if a person affected files with the
chief clerk a request for a public meeting concerning the application
before the deadline to file public comment or to file requests for recon-
sideration or hearing; or

(B) on or after September 1, 2005, the agency:

(i) may hold a public meeting under §55.154 of this
title in the county in which the facility is located to receive public com-
ment on the application; but
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(ii)  shall hold a public meeting under §55.154 of this
title in the county in which the facility is located to receive public com-
ment concerning the application:

(1) on the request of a member of the legislature
who represents the general area in which the facility is located; or

(1) ifthe executive director determines that there
is substantial public interest in the facility.

(3) For purposes of this subsection, "substantial public in-
terest" is demonstrated if a request for a public meeting is filed by:

(A) alocal governmental entity with jurisdiction over
the location in which the facility is located or proposed to be located
by formal resolution of the entity's governing body;

(B) a council of governments with jurisdiction over the
location in which the facility is located or proposed to be located by
formal request of either the council's solid waste advisory committee,
executive committee, or governing board;

(C) ahomeowners' or property owners' association for-
mally organized or chartered and having at least ten members located
in the general area in which the facility is located or proposed to be
located; or

(D) a group of ten or more local residents, property
owners, or businesses located in the general area in which the facility
is located or proposed to be located.

(4) A public meeting is not a contested case proceeding un-
der the Administrative Procedure Act. A public meeting held as part of
a local review committee process under subsection (b) of this section
meets the requirements of this subsection if public notice is provided
in accordance with this subsection.

(5) The applicant shall publish notice of the public meeting
once each week during the three weeks preceding a public meeting
under §39.405(f)(2) of this title. The published notice must be at least
15 square inches (96.8 square centimeters) with a shortest dimension
of at least three inches (7.6 centimeters).

(6) The chief clerk shall mail notice to the persons listed in
§39.413 of this title.

(f) Notice of contested case hearing.

(1) Applicability. This subsection applies if an application
is referred to the State Office of Administrative Hearings for a contested
case hearing under Chapter 80 of this title (relating to Contested Case
Hearings).

(2) Newspaper notice.

(A) If the application concerns a facility other than a
hazardous waste facility, the applicant shall publish notice at least once
in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the facility
is located and in each county and area that is adjacent or contiguous to
each county in which the proposed facility is located.

(B) For Class I underground injection wells, the pub-
lished notice must be at least 15 square inches (96.8 square centime-
ters) with a shortest dimension of at least three inches (7.6 centimeters)
and the notice must appear in the section of the newspaper containing
state or local news items.

(C) Ifthe application concerns a hazardous waste facil-
ity, the hearing must include one session held in the county in which
the facility is located. The applicant shall publish notice of the hearing
once each week during the three weeks preceding the hearing under
§39.405(f)(2) of this title. The published notice must be at least 15

square inches (96.8 square centimeters) with a shortest dimension of
at least three inches (7.6 centimeters). The notice must appear in the
section of the newspaper containing state or local news items. The text
of the notice must include the statement that at least one session of the
hearing will be held in the county in which the facility is located.

(3) Mailed notice.

(A) For all applications concerning underground injec-
tion wells, the chief clerk shall mail notice to persons listed in §39.413
of this title.

(B) For notice of hearings concerning Class I or Class
III underground injection wells, the chief clerk shall also mail notice
to:

(i) persons who own the property on which the exist-
ing or proposed injection well facility is or will be located, if different
from the applicant;

(i) landowners adjacent to the property on which
the existing or proposed injection well facility is or will be located;

(iii)  persons who own mineral rights underlying the
existing or proposed injection well facility;

(iv) persons who own mineral rights underlying the
tracts of land adjacent to the property on which the existing or proposed
injection well facility is or will be located; and

(v) any groundwater conservation district estab-
lished in the county in which the existing or proposed injection well
facility is or will be located.

(C) If the applicant proposes a new solid waste man-
agement facility, the applicant shall mail notice to each residential or
business address, not listed under subparagraph (A) of this paragraph,
located within 1/2 mile of the facility and to each owner of real prop-
erty located within 1/2 mile of the facility listed in the real property ap-
praisal records of the appraisal district in which the facility is located.
The notice must be mailed to the persons listed as owners in the real
property appraisal records on the date the application is determined to
be administratively complete. The notice must be mailed no more than
45 days and no less than 30 days before the contested case hearing.
Within 30 days after the date of mailing, the applicant shall file with
the chief clerk an affidavit certifying compliance with its obligations
under this subsection. Filing an affidavit certifying facts that constitute
compliance with notice requirements creates a rebuttable presumption
of compliance with this subparagraph.

(4) Radio broadcast. If the application concerns a haz-
ardous waste facility, the applicant shall broadcast notice under
§39.503(d)(2) of this title.

(5) Deadline. Notice under paragraphs (2)(A), (3), and (4)
of this subsection must be completed at least 30 days before the con-
tested case hearing.

(g) Approval. All published notices required by this section
must be in a form approved by the executive director prior to publica-
tion.

(h) Applications for individual Class V injection well permits
for aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) projects. Notwithstanding the
requirements of subsections (c¢) and (d) of this section, this subsection
establishes the public notice requirements for an application for an in-
dividual Class V injection well permit for an ASR project. Issuance of
the Notice of Receipt of Application and Intent to Obtain a Permit is
not required for an application for an individual Class V injection well
permit for an ASR project. The notice required by §39.419 of this title
must be published by the applicant once in a newspaper of general cir-
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culation in the county in which the injection well will be located after
the chief clerk has mailed the preliminary decision and the Notice of
Application and Preliminary Decision to the applicant. The chief clerk
shall provide notice by first class mail to any groundwater conserva-
tion district in which the wells associated with the ASR project will be
located. The chief clerk shall also mail notice to the persons listed in
§39.413(7) - (9) of this title. This notice must contain the text as re-
quired by §39.411(c)(1) - (6) of this title.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 29, 2016.

TRD-201602027

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Effective date: May 19, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 293. WATER DISTRICTS
SUBCHAPTER C. SPECIAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION
DISTRICTS

30 TAC §§293.17, 293.20, 293.22, 293.23

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ,
agency, or commission) adopts the amendments to §§293.17,
293.20, 293.22, and 293.23 without change to the proposed
text as published in the November 20, 2015, issue of the Texas
Register (40 TexReg 8172), and therefore, these amendments
will not be republished.

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Adopted
Rules

In 2015, the 84th Texas Legislature passed House Bill (HB or
bill) 2767, relating to the powers, duties, and administration of
groundwater conservation districts (GCDs) and amending pro-
visions that authorize fees. HB 2767 makes non-substantive,
conforming, or clarification language changes throughout Texas
Water Code (TWC), Chapter 36. Some of the changes made by
HB 2767 do not affect the agency's rules. However, the com-
mission has chosen to include all of the changes made by the
bill in the Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the
Adopted Rules section of this preamble to provide context to the
changes that HB 2767 does require.

Specifically, HB 2767 adds a definition to TWC, §36.001, for "op-
erating permit" to mean any type of GCD permit for operation of
or production from a water well including a permit to drill or com-
plete a water well if a district does not require a separate permit
for those actions. The bill adds a provision in TWC, §36.058, for
GCD directors to be subject to Local Government Code, Chapter
176, relating to disclosure of conflicts. HB 2767 strikes language
in TWC, §36.061, related to audit reporting standards and adds
language in TWC, §36.153, consistent with TWC, Chapter 49,
audit requirements and reporting standards. The bill amends
TWC, §36.157(a), to add that a county or counties where the
district is to be located may pay all costs and expenses incurred

in the creation and organization of the district. HB 2767 also
amends TWC, §36.251, by providing that only a GCD, an appli-
cant, and parties to a contested case may participate in an ap-
peal that was the subject of the contested case. The commission
does not have rules governing the items listed in this paragraph;
therefore, there are no changes for the commission to make to
its rules to accommodate these amendments made by the bill.

Additionally, HB 2767 repeals TWC, §36.1082, Petition for
Inquiry, and moves the repealed language to amended TWC,
§36.3011, Commission Inquiry and Action Regarding District
Duties. This move also included amendments to the newly
placed language. The commission has rules governing these
items; therefore, the commission amended the rule language in
30 TAC Chapter 293, Water Districts, to ensure the TWC cita-
tions included in the chapter are current and conform language
to the TWC as amended.

HB 2767 closely follows bill language that was developed by
the Texas Water Conservation Association over the interim. HB
2767 was authored by Representative Jim Keffer, sponsored by
Senator Charles Perry, and became effective June 10, 2015.

Section by Section Discussion
§293.17, Purpose

The commission adopts the amendment to §293.17(3) by adding
the word "and" to introduce the §293.17(4) provision. The com-
mission adopts the amendment to §293.17(4) by inserting lan-
guage to note that HB 2767 moved the petitions for inquiry to
TWC, Chapter 36, Subchapter |. Additionally, the commission
adopts the deletion of §293.17(5) because the rule language is
not needed for commission inquiry or action regarding GCD du-
ties. These changes are required by the amendments HB 2767
made to TWC, §36.3011.

§293.20, Records and Reporting

The commission adopts the amendment to §293.20(d) by
changing the TWC citation from §36.1082 to §36.3011. HB 2767
repealed TWC, §36.1082, and moved the repealed language
to amended TWC, §36.3011. This change brings the citations
within the agency's rules into agreement with the TWC.

§293.22, Noncompliance Review and Commission Action

The commission adopts the amendment to §293.22(a)(5) and (e)
by changing the TWC citation from §36.1082 to §36.3011. HB
2767 repealed TWC, §36.1082, and moved the repealed lan-
guage to amended TWC, §36.3011. These changes bring the
citations within the agency's rules into agreement with the TWC.

§293.23, Petition Requesting Commission Inquiry

The commission adopts the amendment to §293.23(a) by chang-
ing the definition of "affected person" to match the definition of
"affected person" as defined in TWC, §36.3011, added by the
bill. Additionally, the commission adopts removing the citation
to TWC, §36.1082 that was repealed. These changes bring the
agency's rules into agreement with the TWC.

The commission adopts the amendment to §293.23(b) by edit-
ing paragraphs (4) - (7) to include conforming changes made to
TWC, §36.3011(b).

The commission adopts the amendment to §293.23(g)(4) by
changing the TWC citation from §36.1082 to §36.3011. HB 2767
repealed TWC, §36.1082, and moved the repealed language
to amended TWC, §36.3011. This change brings the citations
within the agency's rules into agreement with the TWC.
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Final Regulatory Impact Determination

The commission reviewed the adopted rulemaking in light of the
regulatory analysis requirements of Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225, and determined that the rulemaking is not subject
to Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 because it does not
meet the definition of a "major environmental rule" as defined
in the Texas Administrative Procedure Act. A "major environ-
mental rule" is a rule that is specifically intended to protect the
environment or reduce risks to human health from environmen-
tal exposure and that may adversely affect in a material way the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state.

This rulemaking does not meet the statutory definition of a "major
environmental rule" because the specific intent of the rule is not
to protect the environment or reduce risks to human health from
environmental exposure. The specific intent of the adopted rule-
making is to implement legislative changes enacted by HB 2767.
HB 2767 repeals TWC, §36.1082, and moves the repealed lan-
guage to amended TWC, §36.3011.

Further, the rulemaking does not meet the statutory definition of
a "major environmental rule" because the adopted amendments
do not adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of
the economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. The
cost of complying with the adopted rulemaking is not expected
to be significant with respect to the economy as a whole or a
sector of the economy; therefore, the adopted rulemaking does
not adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of
the economy, productivity, competition, or jobs.

Furthermore, the adopted rulemaking does not meet the statu-
tory definition of a "major environmental rule" because it does not
meet any of the four applicability requirements listed in Texas
Government Code, §2001.0225(a). Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225(a) only applies to a major environmental rule, the
result of which is to: 1) exceed a standard set by federal law,
unless the rule is specifically required by state law; 2) exceed an
express requirement of state law, unless the rule is specifically
required by federal law; 3) exceed a requirement of a delega-
tion agreement or contract between the state and an agency or
representative of the federal government to implement a state
and federal program; or 4) adopt a rule solely under the general
powers of the agency instead of under a specific state law. The
adopted rulemaking does not meet the four applicability require-
ments, because the adopted amendments: 1) do not exceed a
standard set by federal law; 2) do not exceed an express require-
ment of state law; 3) do not exceed a requirement of federal del-
egation agreement or contract between the state and an agency
or representative of the federal government to implement a state
and federal program as no such federal delegation agreement
exists with regard to the adopted rules; and 4) are not an adop-
tion of a rule solely under the general powers of the commission
as the adopted rules are required by HB 2767.

The commission invited public comment regarding the Draft
Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination during the public
comment period. The commission did not receive any com-
ments regarding this section of the preamble.

Takings Impact Assessment

The commission evaluated this adopted rulemaking and per-
formed an assessment of whether the adopted rulemaking con-
stitutes a taking under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007.
The commission adopted this rulemaking for the specific pur-

pose of implementing legislation enacted by the 84th Texas Leg-
islature in 2015. The commission's analysis revealed that the
rulemaking would achieve consistency with TWC, §36.3011, as
amended by HB 2767. The adopted rulemaking amends the rule
sections to ensure the TWC citations included in Chapter 293 are
current and conform to the language as amended by HB 2767.

A "taking" under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007, means
a governmental action that affects private real property in a man-
ner that requires compensation to the owner under the United
States or Texas Constitution, or a governmental action that af-
fects real private property in a manner that restricts or limits the
owner's right to the property and reduces the market value of
affected real property by at least 25%. Because no taking of pri-
vate real property would occur by ensuring the TWC citations
included within Chapter 293 are current and conform to the lan-
guage as amended, the commission has determined that pro-
mulgation and enforcement of this adopted rulemaking is nei-
ther a statutory nor a constitutional taking of private real prop-
erty. Specifically, there are no burdens imposed on private real
property under the rules because the adopted rulemaking neither
relates to, nor has any impact on, the use or enjoyment of private
real property, and there would be no reduction in real property
value as a result of the rulemaking. Therefore, the adopted rule-
making does not constitute a taking under Texas Government
Code, Chapter 2007.

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission reviewed the adopted rulemaking and found the
adopted rulemaking is identified in the Coastal Coordination Act
Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(b)(4), relating to rules
subject to the Texas Coastal Management Program (CMP), and,
therefore, requires that goals and policies of the CMP be consid-
ered during the rulemaking process.

The commission reviewed this rulemaking for consistency with
the CMP goals and policies in accordance with the regulations
of the Coastal Coordination Advisory Committee and determined
that the rulemaking is administrative in nature and does not have
a substantive effect on commission actions subject to the CMP
and is, therefore, consistent with CMP goals and policies.

The commission invited public comment regarding the consis-
tency with the CMP during the public comment period. The com-
mission did not receive any comments on the CMP section of the
preamble.

Public Comment

The commission held a public hearing on December 15, 2015.
The comment period closed on January 4, 2016. The com-
mission received comments from the High Plains Underground
Water Conservation District (High Plains UWCD). High Plains
UWCD suggested changes to the proposed rule as discussed in
the Response to Comments section of this preamble.

Response to Comments
Comment

High Plains UWCD commented that the acronym GCD was mis-
spelled in §293.23(a)(2). High Plains UWCD also commented
that using the term "GDC district" in §293.23(a)(2) is duplicative
and unnecessary since the term district includes a groundwater
conservation district under §293.17. High Plains UWCD recom-
mends striking GCD from the proposed rules.

Response
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The commission acknowledges this comment. The proposed
version of the rule published on November 20, 2015, in the
Texas Register (40 TexReg 8172) does not contain a misspelled
acronym or include the duplicative term of "GCD district" in
§293.23(a)(2). The proposed rule language published in the
Texas Register states "a GCD or subsidence district in or
adjacent to the management area." No changes were made in
response to this comment.

Statutory Authority

These amendments are adopted under Texas Water Code
(TWC), §5.102, General Powers, which establishes the commis-
sion's general authority necessary to carry out its jurisdiction;
TWC, §5.103, Rules, which establishes the commission's gen-
eral authority to adopt rules; TWC §5.105, General Policy, which
establishes the commission's authority to set policy by rule;
and TWC, §36.3011, Commission Inquiry and Action Regarding
District Duties, which allows an affected person to file a petition
for inquiry.

The adopted amendments implement House Bill 2767.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 29, 2016.

TRD-201602026

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Effective date: May 19, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 20, 2015
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 295. WATER RIGHTS,
PROCEDURAL

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ,
agency, or commission) adopts the repeal of §295.21 and
§295.22; new §295.21; and an amendment to §295.202.

New §295.21 is adopted with change to the proposed text as
published in the December 25, 2015, issue of the Texas Regis-
ter (40 TexReg 9496). The repeal of §295.21 and §295.22 and
the amendment to §295.202 are adopted without change to the
proposed text and, therefore, will not be republished.

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Adopted
Rules

This rulemaking implements House Bill (HB) 655, 84th Texas
Legislature, 2015, addressing the commission's regulation of
aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) projects in Texas. ASR
involves the use of one or more injection wells for the purpose
of placing a water supply into a subsurface geologic formation,
or aquifer, for storage so that the water may be subsequently
recovered and used by the project operator. The adopted revi-
sions to Chapter 295 implement amendments to Texas Water
Code (TWC), §11.153 and the repeal of TWC, §11.154 under
HB 655. HB 655 eliminated the requirement that ASR projects
using appropriated water must first develop a pilot project. The
adopted revisions in this chapter implement HB 655 by remov-
ing the requirements that an ASR project using surface water

under a water right develop the project in separate phases.
HB 655 states that a water right holder or a person who has
contracted for the use of water under a contract that does not
prohibit the use of the water in an ASR project may undertake
an ASR project without obtaining any additional authorization
under the water rights program. An ASR project must comply
with applicable requirements under TWC, Chapters 27 and 36.

In corresponding rulemaking published in this issue of the Texas
Register, the commission also adopts amendments to 30 TAC
Chapter 39, Public Notice; 30 TAC Chapter 297, Water Rights,
Substantive; and 30 TAC Chapter 331, Underground Injection
Control.

Section by Section Discussion
§295.21, Aquifer Storage and Retrieval Projects

The commission adopts the repeal of §295.21. Existing §295.21
includes the requirements for water rights permitting from TWC,
§11.153(d) and (e). HB 655 amended TWC, §11.153, to remove
subsections (d) and (e); therefore, the commission adopts the
repeal of the corresponding requirements in §295.21.

§295.21, Aquifer Storage and Recovery Projects

HB 655 also amended TWC, §11.153(a) - (c), to allow a water
right holder or a person who has contracted for the use of water
under a contract that does not prohibit the use of the water in
an ASR project to undertake an ASR project without obtaining
any additional authorization under TWC, Chapter 11. However,
TWC, §11.153, as amended by HB 655, requires the applicant
to obtain any necessary authorizations for an ASR project under
TWC, Chapter 27, Subchapter G, and TWC, Chapter 36, Sub-
chapter N. The commission adopts new §295.21 to incorporate
these changes to the TWC.

Adopted new §295.21 allows a water right holder or contractee
to undertake an ASR project without obtaining any additional
authorization under TWC, Chapter 11, for the project. In addi-
tion, adopted new §295.21 specifies that a person undertaking
an ASR project must obtain any required authorizations under
TWC, Chapter 27, Subchapter G, and TWC, Chapter 36, Sub-
chapter N and comply with the terms of the applicable water right.

Current TCEQ rules in 30 TAC §297.42(d) allow the commis-
sion to consider water availability on a case-by-case basis for
projects, including ASR projects, that are not based on continu-
ous availability of historical streamflow. Water for these projects
could be available on a variable or non-constant basis and the
commission could consider lower water availability for a water
right application that includes an ASR project if the proposed
project is viable for the intended purpose and the water can be
beneficially used without waste. Adopted new §295.21(b) is in-
cluded to allow TCEQ to continue to consider the storage made
available through an ASR project in its water availability determi-
nation under §297.42(d) even though the ASR project does not
require a water rights permit.

§295.22, Additional Requirements for the Underground Storage
of Surface Water for Subsequent Retrieval and Beneficial Use

The commission adopts the repeal of §295.22. This section con-
tains additional requirements for the underground storage of sur-
face water for subsequent retrieval and beneficial use associated
with Phase | and Il ASR projects. These requirements are from
TWC, §11.154. HB 655 repealed TWC, §11.154; therefore, the
commission adopts the repeal of this corresponding rule section.

§295.202, Reports
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Section 295.202(e) contains requirements for operations reports
for ASR projects. HB 655 amended TWC, §11.153(a) - (c), to
allow a water right holder or contractee to undertake an ASR
project without obtaining any additional authorization under
TWC, Chapter 11, for the project. In addition, HB 655 repealed
TWC, §11.153(d) and (e), and §11.154, which pertained to
ASR projects; therefore, the commission adopts the deletion of
subsection (e).

Final Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination

The commission reviewed the adopted rulemaking action in light
of the regulatory analysis requirements of Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225, and determined that the action is not sub-
ject to Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 because it does
not meet the definition of a "major environmental rule" as de-
fined in the statute. "Major environmental rule" means a rule, the
specific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce
risks to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. The
adopted action implements legislative requirements in HB 655,
which revises the requirements for the commission's regulation
of injection wells associated with ASR projects and associated
water rights. The adoption does not meet the definition of "major
environmental rule" because the rulemaking does not affect in a
material way the economy, a sector of the economy, productivity,
competition, jobs, the environment or public health and safety of
the state or a sector of the state. The adopted rules implement
the statutory repeal of the requirement to establish a pilot project
for an ASR project under HB 655.

Furthermore, the adopted rules do not meet any of the four
applicability requirements listed in Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225(a). The adopted rules do not exceed a standard
set by federal law, because there are no federal standards
regarding Texas water rights. The adopted rules do not exceed
an express requirement of state law because the rules are
consistent with the express requirements of HB 655 and TWC,
§11.153. The adopted rules do not exceed requirements of a
federal delegation agreement or contract because there is no
federal delegation or contract for the Texas Water Rights pro-
gram. The rulemaking is not adopted under the general powers
of the agency and is adopted under the express requirements
of HB 655, Section 6.

The commission invited public comment regarding the Draft
Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination during the public
comment period. The commission did not receive comments
on the regulatory impact analysis determination for the Chapter
295 rules.

Takings Impact Assessment

The commission evaluated this rulemaking action and performed
a preliminary assessment of whether Texas Government Code,
Chapter 2007 is applicable. The adopted action implements leg-
islative requirements in HB 655, which revises the requirements
for the commission's regulation of water rights associated with
ASR projects.

The adopted rules would be neither a statutory nor a constitu-
tional taking of private real property. The adopted rules eliminate
a requirement that ASR projects first establish a pilot project and
develop the project in phases consistent with the requirements
of HB 655. The adopted rules do not affect a landowner's rights
in private real property because this rulemaking action does not

burden (constitutionally), nor restrict or limit, the owner's right
to property and reduce its value by 25% or more beyond which
would otherwise exist in the absence of the regulations.

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission reviewed the adopted rulemaking and found
the adoption is a rulemaking identified in the Coastal Coordina-
tion Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(b)(4), relating to
rules subject to the Texas Coastal Management Program (CMP),
and will, therefore, require that goals and policies of the CMP be
considered during the rulemaking process.

The commission reviewed this rulemaking for consistency with
the CMP goals and policies in accordance with the regulations
of the Coastal Coordination Advisory Committee and determined
that the rulemaking is procedural in nature and will have no sub-
stantive effect on commission actions subject to the CMP and is,
therefore, consistent with CMP goals and policies.

The commission invited public comment regarding the consis-
tency with the CMP during the public comment period. The com-
mission did not receive comments on the CMP.

Public Comment

The commission held a public hearing on January 22, 2016.
The comment period closed on February 8, 2016. The com-
mission received comments from the Benbrook Water Authority
(Benbrook), Hemphill Underground Water Conservation District
(Hemphill Underground WCD), High Plains Underground Water
Conservation District (High Plains Underground WCD), Llano
Estacado Underground Water Conservation District (Llano Es-
tacado Underground WCD), Mesa Underground Water Conser-
vation District (Mesa Underground WCD), Permian Basin Un-
derground Water Conservation District (Permian Basin Under-
ground WCD), Sandy Land Underground Water Conservation
District (Sandy Land Underground WCD), Sledge Law and Pub-
lic Strategies (Sledge Law), and South Plains Underground Wa-
ter Conservation District (South Plains Underground WCD).

The Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground
WCD, Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground
WCD, Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Under-
ground WCD, and South Plains Underground WCD supported
the rulemaking. Benbrook and Sledge Law suggested changes
as discussed in the Response to Comments section of this
preamble.

Response to Comments

Section by Section Discussion of §295.21, Aquifer Storage and
Recovery Projects

Comment

Benbrook and Sledge Law requested that the commission in-
clude additional preamble language to explain what the commis-
sion means by the words: "...not based on continuous availabil-
ity of historical streamflow" in the preamble discussion of new
§295.21. Benbrook commented that they believe these words
were meant as a clarification that an applicant for a water right
could use ASR to help prove up a water right that qualifies a firm
yield demonstration through storage (i.e. municipal use right).

Response

The commission responds that adopted §295.21(b) implements
TWC, §11.053(c). Water for ASR projects could be available on
avariable or non-constant basis. Under adopted new §295.21(b)
the commission could consider lower water availability for a wa-
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ter right application that includes an ASR project if the proposed
project is viable for the intended purpose and the water can
be beneficially used without waste. Adopted new §295.21(b)
allows TCEQ to continue to consider the storage made avail-
able through an ASR project in its water availability determina-
tions under §297.42(d), even though the ASR component of the
project does not require a water rights permit. The commission
clarified the Section by Section discussion of adopted §295.21
in response to this comment.

Subchapter A: Requirements of Water Rights Applications Gen-
eral Provisions

Division 2: Additional Requirements for the Storage of Appropri-
ated Surface Water in Aquifers

Comment

The Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground
WCD, Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground
WCD, Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Under-
ground WCD, and South Plains Underground WCD commented
that they support the repeal of existing §295.21 and §295.22
and the new rule language in §295.21.

Response

The commission acknowledges this comment. No changes were
made in response to this comment.

Comment

Benbrook and Sledge Law commented that the commission
should add the words, "as defined in §297.1 of this title (relating
to Definitions)" after the words, "aquifer storage and recovery
project” in §295.21(b). The commenters stated that the sug-
gested language is in repealed §295.21 and that without the
language there is no definition for an ASR project in Chapter
295.

Response

The commission agrees with the commenters. Section

§295.21(b) was changed in response to this comment.
Subchapter F: Miscellaneous
Comment

The Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground
WCD, Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground
WCD, Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Under-
ground WCD, and South Plains Underground WCD commented
that they support the amendment of §295.202.

Response

The commission acknowledges this comment. No changes were
made in response to this comment.

SUBCHAPTER A. REQUIREMENTS OF
WATER RIGHTS APPLICATIONS GENERAL
PROVISIONS

DIVISION 2. ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS
FOR THE STORAGE OF APPROPRIATED
SURFACE WATER IN AQUIFERS

30 TAC §295.21, §295.22

Statutory Authority

The repeal is adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC), §5.103,
which provides the commission the authority to adopt any rules
necessary to carry out its powers and duties under TWC and
other laws of this state; TWC, §5.105, which authorizes the com-
mission to establish and approve all general policy of the com-
mission by rule; TWC, §5.120, which authorizes the commission
to administer the law so as to promote the judicious use and
maximum conservation and protection of the environment and
natural resources of the state; and House Bill (HB) 655, Section
6, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015.

The adopted repeal implements HB 655; TWC, §11.153; and the
repeal of TWC, §11.154.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 29, 2016.

TRD-201602028

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Effective date: May 19, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ ¢ ¢

30 TAC §295.21
Statutory Authority

The new section is adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC),
§5.103, which provides the commission the authority to adopt
any rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties under
TWC and other laws of this state; TWC, §5.105, which autho-
rizes the commission to establish and approve all general policy
of the commission by rule; TWC, §5.120, which authorizes the
commission to administer the law so as to promote the judicious
use and maximum conservation and protection of the environ-
ment and natural resources of the state; and House Bill (HB)
655, Section 6, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015.

The adopted new section implements HB 655; TWC, §11.153;
and the repeal of TWC, §11.154.

$295.21.  Aquifer Storage and Recovery Projects.

(a) A water right holder or a person who has contracted for the
use of water under a contract that does not prohibit the use of the wa-
ter in an aquifer storage and recovery project may undertake an aquifer
storage and recovery project without obtaining any additional autho-
rization under Texas Water Code (TWC), Chapter 11, for the project.
A person, as described in this section, undertaking an aquifer storage
and recovery project must:

(1) obtain any required authorizations under TWC, Chapter
27, Subchapter G, and TWC, Chapter 36, Subchapter N; and

(2) comply with the terms of the applicable water right.

(b) This section does not preclude the commission from con-
sidering an aquifer storage and recovery project, as defined in §297.1
of this title (relating to Definitions), to be a component of a project per-
mitted under TWC, Chapter 11, that is not required to be based on the
continuous availability of historic, normal stream flow.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 29, 2016.

TRD-201602029

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Effective date: May 19, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER F. MISCELLANEOUS
30 TAC §295.202
Statutory Authority

The amendment is adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC),
§5.103, which provides the commission the authority to adopt
any rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties under
TWC and other laws of this state; TWC, §5.105, which autho-
rizes the commission to establish and approve all general policy
of the commission by rule; TWC, §5.120, which authorizes the
commission to administer the law so as to promote the judicious
use and maximum conservation and protection of the environ-
ment and natural resources of the state; and House Bill (HB)
655, Section 6, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015.

The adopted amendment implements HB 655; TWC, §11.153;
and the repeal of TWC, §11.154.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 29, 2016.

TRD-201602030

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Effective date: May 19, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 297. WATER RIGHTS,
SUBSTANTIVE

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ,
agency, or commission) adopts the amendments to §§297.1,
297.13, and 297.19 without changes to the proposed text as
published in the December 25, 2015, issue of the Texas Register
(40 TexReg 9500) and, therefore, will not be republished.

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Adopted
Rules

This rulemaking implements House Bill (HB) 655, 84th Texas
Legislature, 2015, addressing the commission's regulation of
aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) projects in Texas. ASR
involves the use of one or more injection wells for the purpose
of placing a water supply into a subsurface geologic formation,

or aquifer, for storage so that the water may be subsequently
recovered and used by the project operator. The adopted
amendments to Chapter 297 implement amendments to Texas
Water Code (TWC), §11.153 and the repeal of TWC, §11.154
under HB 655 regarding the storage of appropriated water in
ASR projects.

The 84th Texas Legislature also passed HB 2031. HB 2031
relates to the diversion, treatment, and use of marine seawa-
ter and the discharge of treated marine seawater and waste re-
sulting from the desalination of marine seawater. HB 2031 cre-
ated TWC, Chapter 18, to address marine seawater desalination
projects. New TWC, §18.001, added a definition for "Marine sea-
water." The commission intends to implement statutory require-
ments for desalination in a separate rulemaking project (Rule
Project Number 2015-029-295-OW). Because the commission
is adopting changes to definitions in §297.1 to implement HB
655, the commission is also adopting changes to this section to
include a definition from HB 2031 to avoid open section conflicts
under Texas Register publication requirements when the rest of
HB 2031 is implemented in the separate rulemaking project.

In corresponding rulemaking published in this issue of the Texas
Register, the commission also adopts revisions to 30 TAC Chap-
ter 39, Public Notice; 30 TAC Chapter 295, Water Rights, Proce-
dural; and 30 TAC Chapter 331, Underground Injection Control.

Section by Section Discussion

In addition to adopting amendments to implement HB 655 and
HB 2031, the commission adopts grammatical, stylistic, and
various other non-substantive changes to update the rules
in accordance with current Texas Register style and format
requirements, improve readability, and establish consistency
in the rules. These non-substantive changes are not intended
to alter the existing rule requirements in any way and are not
specifically discussed in this preamble.

§297.1, Definitions

The commission adopts the amendment to §297.1(5) and adds
§297.1(30). The commission amends the definition of "Aquifer
Storage and Retrieval Project" in §297.1(5). HB 655 created new
TWC, Chapter 27, Subchapter G, which contains a definition of
"Aquifer storage and recovery project." The commission amends
the existing term and definition in §297.1(5) to bring it into agree-
ment with "Aquifer storage and recovery project" as defined in
the amendments to the TWC made by HB 655.

The commission also adds a definition for "Marine seawater" as
§297.1(30). HB 2031 created TWC, Chapter 18, to address ma-
rine seawater desalination projects. New TWC, §18.001, added
a definition for "Marine seawater." Because the commission has
opened §297.1 to amend the definition of "Aquifer Storage and
Retrieval Project," the commission also simultaneously adopts
the addition of the definition of "Marine seawater" to avoid a po-
tential open section conflict with another agency rulemaking.

Additionally, the commission adopts the renumbering of the ex-
isting definitions to accommodate the addition of §297.1(30).

§297.13, Temporary Permit under the Texas Water Code,
§11.138

The adopted amendment to §297.13 revises the title to remove
the TWC reference to TWC, §§11.153 - 11.155, because a tem-
porary permit is no longer required for an ASR project under
TWC, Chapter 11. HB 655 amended TWC, §11.153(a) - (c),
to allow a water right holder or a person who has contracted
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for the use of water under a contract that does not prohibit the
use of the water in an ASR project to undertake an ASR project
without obtaining any additional authorization under TWC, Chap-
ter 11. However, TWC, §11.153, as amended by HB 655, re-
quires the applicant to obtain any necessary authorizations for an
ASR project under TWC, Chapter 27, Subchapter G, and TWC,
Chapter 36, Subchapter N. In addition, HB 655 repealed TWC,
§11.153(d) and (e), and §11.154, which included the repeal of
Phase | ASR projects. The commission amends §297.13(a),
which includes a description of the types of projects a tempo-
rary permit is designed for, by deleting, "evaluation of Phase | of
an aquifer storage and retrieval project" since HB 655 repealed
Phase | ASR projects.

§297.19, Term Permit under Texas Water Code, §11.1381

The adopted amendment to §297.19 revises the title to remove
the TWC reference to TWC, §§11.153 - 11.155, and deletes
§297.19(d) because the term permit is no longer required for an
ASR project under TWC, Chapter 11, as amended by HB 655.

Final Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination

The commission reviewed the adopted rulemaking action in light
of the regulatory analysis requirements of Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225, and determined that the action is not sub-
ject to Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 because it does
not meet the definition of a "major environmental rule" as de-
fined in the statute. "Major environmental rule" means a rule, the
specific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce
risks to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. The
adopted action implements legislative requirements in HB 655,
which revises the requirements for the commission's regulation
of injection wells associated with ASR projects and associated
water rights; and implements HB 2031, by adding a definition
of "Marine seawater." The adoption does not meet the definition
of "major environmental rule" because the rulemaking does not
affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the economy,
productivity, competition, jobs, the environment or public health
and safety of the state or a sector of the state. The adopted rules
implement the statutory repeal of the requirement to establish a
pilot project for an ASR project under HB 655 by removing rule
requirements for temporary and term permits for ASR projects
and amends definitions consistent with HB 655 and HB 2031.

Furthermore, the adopted rules do not meet any of the four
applicability requirements listed in Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225(a). The adopted rules do not exceed a standard
set by federal law, because there are no federal standards
regarding Texas water rights. The adopted rules do not exceed
an express requirement of state law because the rules are
consistent with the express requirements of HB 655; TWC,
§11.153; the repeal of TWC, §11.154; and TWC, §18.001, as
established in HB 2031. The adopted rules do not exceed
requirements of a federal delegation agreement or contract
because there is no federal delegation or contract for the Texas
Water Rights program. The rulemaking is not adopted under the
general powers of the agency and is adopted under the express
requirements of HB 655, Section 6.

The commission invited public comment regarding the Draft
Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination during the public
comment period. The commission did not receive comments

on the regulatory impact analysis determination for the Chapter
297 rules.

Takings Impact Assessment

The commission evaluated this rulemaking action and performed
a preliminary assessment of whether Texas Government Code,
Chapter 2007 is applicable. The adopted action implements leg-
islative requirements in HB 655, which revises the requirements
for the commission's regulation of water rights associated with
ASR projects; and implements HB 2031 by adding a definition of
"Marine seawater."

The adopted rules would be neither a statutory nor a con-
stitutional taking of private real property. The adopted rules
eliminate requirements for temporary or term permits because
ASR projects do not have to establish a pilot project or develop
the project in phases under the requirements of HB 655. The
adopted rules also amend definitions to implement HB 655 and
HB 2031. The adopted rules do not affect a landowner's rights
in private real property because this rulemaking action does not
burden (constitutionally), nor restrict or limit, the owner's right
to property and reduce its value by 25% or more beyond which
would otherwise exist in the absence of the regulations.

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission reviewed the adopted rulemaking and found
the adoption is a rulemaking identified in the Coastal Coordina-
tion Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(b)(4), relating to
rules subject to the Texas Coastal Management Program (CMP),
and will, therefore, require that goals and policies of the CMP be
considered during the rulemaking process.

The commission reviewed this rulemaking for consistency with
the CMP goals and policies in accordance with the regulations
of the Coastal Coordination Advisory Committee and determined
that the rulemaking is procedural in nature and will have no sub-
stantive effect on commission actions subject to the CMP and is,
therefore, consistent with CMP goals and policies.

The commission invited public comment regarding the consis-
tency with the CMP during the public comment period. The com-
mission did not received comments regarding the consistency
with the CMP.

Public Comment

The commission held a public hearing on January 22, 2016.
The comment period closed on February 8, 2016. The commis-
sion received comments from the Hemphill Underground Water
Conservation District (Hemphill Underground WCD), High Plains
Underground Water Conservation District (High Plains Under-
ground WCD), Llano Estacado Underground Water Conserva-
tion District (Llano Estacado Underground WCD), Mesa Under-
ground Water Conservation District (Mesa Underground WCD),
Permian Basin Underground Water Conservation District (Per-
mian Basin Underground WCD), Sandy Land Underground Wa-
ter Conservation District (Sandy Land Underground WCD), and
South Plains Underground Water Conservation District (South
Plains Underground WCD).

The Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground
WCD, Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground
WCD, Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Under-
ground WCD, and South Plains Underground WCD supported
the rulemaking.

Response to Comments

41 TexReg 3512 May 13, 2016 Texas Register



Comment

The Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground
WCD, Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground
WCD, Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Under-
ground WCD, and South Plains Underground WCD commented
that they support the amendment of §§297.1, 297.13, and
297.19.

Response

The commission acknowledges this comment. No changes were
made in response to this comment.

SUBCHAPTER A. DEFINITIONS AND
APPLICABILITY

30 TAC §297.1

Statutory Authority

The amendment is adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC),
§5.103, which provides the commission the authority to adopt
any rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties under
TWC and other laws of this state; TWC, §5.105, which autho-
rizes the commission to establish and approve all general policy
of the commission by rule; TWC, §5.120, which authorizes the
commission to administer the law so as to promote the judicious
use and maximum conservation and protection of the environ-
ment and natural resources of the state; and House Bill (HB)
655, Section 6, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015.

The adopted amendment implements HB 655, TWC, §11.153,
and the repeal of TWC, §11.154; and HB 2031, 84th Texas Leg-
islature, 2015, and TWC, §18.001.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 29, 2016.

TRD-201602031

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Effective date: May 19, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. CLASSES OF WATER
RIGHTS

30 TAC §297.13, §297.19

Statutory Authority

The amendments are adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC),
§5.103, which provides the commission the authority to adopt
any rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties under
TWC and other laws of this state; TWC, §5.105, which autho-
rizes the commission to establish and approve all general policy
of the commission by rule; TWC, §5.120, which authorizes the
commission to administer the law so as to promote the judicious
use and maximum conservation and protection of the environ-
ment and natural resources of the state; and House Bill (HB)
655, Section 6, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015.

The adopted amendments implement HB 655; TWC, §11.153;
and the repeal of TWC, §11.154.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 29, 2016.

TRD-201602032

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Effective date: May 19, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 331. UNDERGROUND INJECTION
CONTROL

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ,
agency, or commission) adopts amendments to §§331.2, 331.7,
331.11, and 331.181 - 331.186.

The amendments to §331.7 and §§331.182 - 331.186 are
adopted with changes to the proposed text as published in the
December 25, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg
9552). The amendments to §§331.2, 331.11, and 331.181 are
adopted without changes to the proposed text and, therefore,
will not be republished.

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Adopted
Rules

This rulemaking implements House Bill (HB) 655, 84th Texas
Legislature, 2015, addressing the commission's regulation of
aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) projects in Texas. ASR
involves the use of one or more injection wells for the purpose
of placing a water supply into a subsurface geologic formation,
or aquifer, for storage so that the water may be subsequently
recovered and used by the project operator. ASR allows the
operator to utilize an existing aquifer as a storage reservoir
rather than using aboveground storage options. The stored
water can be available for public or private drinking water
supplies, agriculture, or industrial uses. The operator must
assure that the aquifer formation receiving the injected water
has appropriate geologic and hydrologic properties that are
amenable to injection and will allow the control or containment
of the injected water. The operator must assure that injection
will not endanger any drinking water source that supplies or
can reasonably be expected to supply any public water system.
Such a drinking water source is endangered if injection may
result in the presence of any contaminant that may result in the
system not being compliant with any national primary drinking
water regulation, or if injection may otherwise adversely affect
the health of persons. TCEQ's Underground Injection Control
(UIC) program regulates the authorization, construction, oper-
ation, and closure of the injection wells used for ASR projects.
Because ASR injection wells inject fluids into a formation that
is considered an underground source of drinking water, ASR
injection wells are classified as Class V injection wells. Other
TCEQ regulatory programs, such as the Water Rights program
or the Public Drinking Water program, may also be involved with
ASR projects, depending on the original source of the injected
water or the final use of the recovered water. Projects situated
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within a groundwater conservation district may be subject to the
requirements of that district as provided in HB 655.

HB 655 amended Texas Water Code (TWC) to revise the re-
quirements that apply to authorization for ASR projects. TWC,
§11.153 was amended to allow the injection of appropriated wa-
ter for an ASR project without obtaining any additional authoriza-
tions under TWC, Chapter 11, and to specify that commission
approval of an ASR project is not contingent on the continuous
availability of historic, normal stream flow. TWC, §11.155 was
amended to remove the requirement for a pilot project prior to
approval of an ASR project. TWC, Chapter 27 was amended to
add TWC, Chapter 27, Subchapter G, Aquifer Storage and Re-
covery Projects, §§27.151 - 27.157. Under new TWC, §27.151,
definitions were provided for the following terms: "Aquifer stor-
age and recovery project," "ASR injection well," "ASR recovery
well," "Native groundwater," and "Project operator." Under new
TWC, §27.152, the commission is granted exclusive jurisdiction
over the regulation and permitting of ASR injection wells. Under
new TWC, §27.153, the commission may authorize the use of a
Class V ASR injection well by rule, individual permit, or under a
general permit. Under new TWC, §27.153(b), in adopting rules
or when issuing a permit for an ASR injection well, the commis-
sion shall consider if the injection of water will comply with the
standards of the federal Safe Drinking Water Act, the amount
of injected water that can be recovered, the effect of the ASR
project on existing water wells, and the effect of the injected wa-
ter on the physical, chemical, or biological quality of the native
groundwater that would render the water produced harmful or
detrimental to people, vegetation, or property. All wells associ-
ated with a single ASR project must be located within a continu-
ous perimeter boundary. The commission is required to provide
for public notice and comment on a proposed general permit,
and the applicant for an individual permit is required to provide
first class mailed notice to any groundwater conservation district
in which the ASR wells will be located, and is required to pub-
lish notice in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in
which the well will be located. Under new TWC, §27.154, the
commission is directed to adopt technical standards governing
the approval of the use of a Class V injection well as an ASR in-
jection well. For an ASR project located within the jurisdiction of
a groundwater conservation district or other special purpose dis-
trict with authority to regulate groundwater withdrawal, the vol-
ume of groundwater recovered at an ASR project is limited to
the volume of water injected. If the commission determines that
aloss of injected water or loss of native water will occur, the com-
mission shall impose additional restrictions on the amount of wa-
ter that may be recovered to account for the loss. The commis-
sion may not deny a permit based on a determination that such a
loss will occur. The commission shall prescribe by rule construc-
tion and completion standards, metering, and reporting require-
ments for ASR injection and recovery wells. The commission
may not adopt or enforce groundwater protection standards for
the quality of water injected that are more stringent than federal
standards. New TWC, §27.155 requires an ASR project operator
to install a meter on each ASR injection and recovery well asso-
ciated with the ASR project. The project operator also must pro-
vide monthly reports to the commission on the volume of water
injected, and the volume of water recovered for beneficial use.
New TWC, §27.156 requires an ASR operator to perform annual
water quality testing on water to be injected and on recovered
water, and to provide testing results to the commission. New
TWC, §27.157 provides that new TWC, Chapter 27, Subchapter
G does not affect the ability to regulate an ASR project under
specific legislation applicable to the Edwards Aquifer Authority,

the Harris-Galveston Subsidence District, the Fort Bend Subsi-
dence District, the Barton Springs Edwards Aquifer Conserva-
tion District, or the Corpus Christi Aquifer Storage and Recovery
Conservation District. New TWC, Chapter 27, Subchapter G,
does not affect the commission's authority regarding recharge
projects in certain portions of the Edwards underground reser-
voir under TWC, §11.023 or injection wells that transect or ter-
minate in certain portions of the Edwards Aquifer under TWC,
§27.0516.

In corresponding rulemaking published in this issue of the Texas
Register, the commission also adopts revisions to 30 TAC Chap-
ter 39, Public Notice; 30 TAC Chapter 295, Water Rights, Pro-
cedural; and 30 TAC Chapter 297, Water Rights, Substantive.

Section by Section Discussion

In addition to adopting amendments to implement HB 655, the
commission adopts grammatical, stylistic, and various other
non-substantive changes to update the rules in accordance
with current Texas Register style and format requirements, im-
prove readability, and establish consistency in the rules. These
non-substantive changes are not intended to alter the existing
rule requirements in any way and are not specifically discussed
in this preamble.

§331.2, Definitions

The commission adopts an amendment to §331.2 to implement
HB 655 new definitions established in TWC, §27.151. Section
331.2 is amended to add definitions for the following terms:
"Aquifer storage and recovery injection well," "Aquifer storage
and recovery production well," "Aquifer storage and recovery
project," "Native groundwater," and "Project operator." The
existing definition for the term "Aquifer storage well" is amended
to "Aquifer storage and recovery," as the amended definitions
for the terms "Aquifer storage and recovery injection well" and
"Aquifer storage and recovery production well" now supersede
the existing definition for "Aquifer storage well." Existing defini-
tions in this section are renumbered accordingly.

§331.7, Permit Required

The commission adopts the amendment to §331.7 to add sub-
section (h), under which a Class V injection well associated with
an ASR project may be authorized by permit, general permit,
or authorization by rule. Adopted §331.7(h) implements TWC,
§27.153(a). The commission expects that most ASR projects
can be authorized by rule as provided in HB 655 and as allowed
for Class V injection wells under the commission's UIC program
approved by the United States Environmental Protection Agency
(EPA) under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act. Under exist-
ing authority in §331.9(c), the executive director may require the
owner or operator of an injection well otherwise authorized by
rule to apply for and obtain an injection well permit. The execu-
tive director may use this authority, on a case-by-case basis, to
require that an owner or operator of ASR project seek authoriza-
tion under a permit rather than by rule. Because the commission
expects that most ASR projects can be authorized by rule, the
commission does not plan to develop a general permit for ASR
at this time.

Based on comments received, the proposed rule is amended to
refer to "individual permit" in the adopted rule, as the term "indi-
vidual permit" is consistent with TWC, §27.153(a)(2). Addition-
ally, based on comments received, adopted §331.7(h) includes
the requirements that the executive director inform a groundwa-
ter conservation district of any ASR project proposed to be au-
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thorized by rule for a project that is located within that district.
Lastly, proposed §331.7(h) was amended at adoption to state
that Class V injection well associated with an ASR project may be
"authorized by individual permit, general permit, or by rule" rather
than "authorized by permit, general permit, or by permit-by-rule."
"Permit-by-rule" is not a term used to describe authorizations un-
der Chapter 331. This change will make the adopted rule con-
sistent with TWC, §27.153(a)(1).

§331.11, Classification of Injection Wells

The commission adopts the amendment to §331.11(a)(4)(L) to
refer to wells used for the injection of water for storage and sub-
sequent retrieval for beneficial use as part of an ASR project.
Revision of the description of this type of Class V well addresses
the adopted definition for the term "Aquifer storage and recovery
injection well" at §331.2(9).

Subchapter K, Additional Requirements for Class V Injection
Wells Associated with Aquifer Storage and Recovery Projects

The commission adopts amending the title of Subchapter K
from "Additional Requirements for Class V Aquifer Storage
Wells" to "Additional Requirements for Class V Injection Wells
Associated with Aquifer Storage and Recovery Projects." This
adopted amendment is necessary for consistency with the
adopted definition for the term "Aquifer storage and recovery
injection well."

§331.181, Applicability

The commission adopts the amendment to §331.181 to refer to
"Class V aquifer storage and recovery injection wells" instead of
"aquifer storage wells" to be consistent with the adopted defini-
tion for "Aquifer storage and recovery injection well" at §331.2(9)
and with the adopted amendment to §331.11(a)(4)(L) regarding
the classification of Class V wells used for ASR.

§331.182, Area of Review

The commission adopts the amendment of §331.182 to remove
the area of review determination for a Phase | Class V aquifer
storage well, as the requirement for a pilot project (Phase ) was
repealed from TWC, §11.153(b) and (c) under HB 655. The area
of review requirements that applied to the Phase Il aquifer stor-
age well is retained and will apply to an ASR project. The com-
mission adopts §331.182(4) to require an applicant for an autho-
rization to provide all of the information to the executive director
that is required under adopted §331.186(a) to implement TWC,
§27.153(b), as amended by HB 655.

Based on comments received, the commission revised the rule
to specify that the area of review for an ASR project is the area
determined by a radius of 1/2 mile from the proposed ASR in-
jection well. For an ASR project that includes more than one
proposed injection well, the area of review in the adopted rule
is the area determined by a radius of 1/2 mile from the centroid
of the injection well field. In a case where the extent of the un-
derground stored water of the ASR project will exceed the area
determined by the 1/2 mile radius, the adopted rule includes the
requirement that the area of review is the area determined by
the projected extent of the underground stored water as calcu-
lated by using site-specific hydrogeologic information. Addition-
ally, based on comments received, the adopted rule refers to
"water" rather than "state water."

§331.183, Construction and Closure Standards

The commission adopts the amendment to §331.183 to refer
to "aquifer storage and recovery injection wells" rather than

"aquifer storage wells" to be consistent with the adopted def-
inition for "Aquifer storage and recovery injection wells" at
§331.2(9) and with the adopted amendment to §331.11(a)(4)(L)
regarding the classification of Class V injection wells used
for ASR. The commission also adopts an amendment to this
section to revise the term "operator" to "project operator" to
be consistent with the latter term as it is defined in adopted
§331.2(92). Lastly, the commission adopts §331.183(4) and (5).
Under adopted §331.183(4), an ASR injection well may be used
as an ASR production well, as specified in TWC, §27.154(c), as
added by HB 655. To maintain consistency with existing 30 TAC
§290.41, which applies to water wells that are used to supply
water to a public water system, adopted paragraph (4) includes
the requirement that an ASR injection well that also is used as
an ASR production well must be constructed and operated in
accordance with the requirements in §290.41 if the recovered
water will serve a public water system.

Adopted §331.183(5) addresses TWC, §27.153(c), as added by
HB 655, under which all wells associated with an ASR project
must be within a continuous perimeter boundary of one parcel
of land, or within two or more adjacent parcels of land under the
common ownership, lease, joint operating agreement, or con-
tract.

Based on comments received, proposed §331.183(4) was
amended to apply to all ASR production wells, not just those
that serve as both an ASR injection well and an ASR production
well.

§331.184, Operating Requirements

The commission adopts the amendment of §331.184 to refer to
"aquifer storage and recovery injection wells" rather than "aquifer
storage wells" to be consistent with the adopted definition for
"Aquifer storage and recovery injection wells" at §331.2(9) and
with the adopted amendment to §331.11(a)(4)(L) regarding the
classification of Class V wells used for ASR. The commission
adopts the amendment of §331.184(e) to remove the require-
ment that water injected for storage and subsequent recovery
for beneficial use must meet the water quality standards in 30
TAC Chapter 290, Public Drinking Water.

The commission adds §331.184(f), under which all ASR injec-
tion and production wells must be installed with a flow meter for
measuring the volume of water injected and the volume of the
water recovered or produced. Section 331.184(f) implements
TWC, §27.155(a), as added by HB 655.

The commission adds §331.184(g) to address the requirements
of TWC, §27.154(b), as added by HB 655. Under adopted
§331.184(g), the requirements of TWC, Chapter 36, Subchapter
N apply to an ASR project that is within the jurisdiction of a
groundwater conservation district or other special-purpose dis-
trict with the authority to regulate the withdrawal of groundwater.
For ASR projects located within the jurisdiction of a district, the
commission will not authorize the recovery of a volume of water
that exceeds the volume of water injected as provided in TWC,
§27.154(b). Under TWC, Chapter 36, Subchapter N, an ASR
operator is subject to a district's requirements for registration
and reporting of ASR production wells; reporting of injection
and production volumes; reporting of volume of water produced
that exceeds the volume injected; district permitting, spacing,
and production requirements for volume of produced water
that exceeds the volume of water injected; and the district's
requirements regarding fees and surcharges, as they apply to
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the volume of water produced that exceed the volume of water
injected.

Based on comments received, several revisions were made to
this section. Section 331.184(a) was revised to remove the ref-
erence to pollution. In adopted §331.184(a), all Class V ASR
injection wells must be operated in a manner to assure that in-
jection will not endanger drinking water sources if it may result
in the presence in underground water which supplies or can rea-
sonably be expected to supply any public water system of any
contaminant, and if the presence of such contaminant may re-
sult in such system's not complying with any national primary
drinking water regulation or may otherwise adversely affect the
health of persons. This change makes §331.184(a) consistent
with HB 655, as the revised language is consistent with the fed-
eral Safe Drinking Water Act, §1421(d)(2). Second, §331.184(e)
was revised to remove the requirements regarding treatment of
water prior to injection when such treatment was considered to
be necessary to avoid pollution of native groundwater. Section
331.184(e) was revised in the adopted rule to reference the re-
quirements of §331.186(a)(1). As discussed in the Response
to Comments section of this preamble, this change was made
to make the adopted rule consistent with HB 655. The require-
ment of subsection (e) that water that will be recovered from an
ASR and provided to a public water system be subject to ap-
plicable requirements of Chapter 290 is retained in the adopted
rule. Section 331.184(g)(1) was revised at adoption to specify
that an authorization or permit issued under Chapter 331 may
not authorize a volume of water to be recovered that exceeds the
volume of water that is injected, or the volume of injected water
that the commission determines can be recovered, whichever is
less. Section 331.184(g)(2) was revised also to specify that the
requirements of TWC, Chapter 36, Subchapter N apply to the
volume of water recovered from an ASR project that exceeds
the volume of water the commission determines can be recov-
ered, and otherwise as applicable. Section 331.184(g)(3) was
deleted.

§331.185, Monitoring and Reporting Requirements

The commission adopts the amendment of §331.185(a) to re-
place the requirement for quarterly reporting to the TCEQ with
monthly reporting. The commission amends subsection (a) to in-
clude requirements for reporting of the volume of water injected
for storage, and for the reporting of the volume of water pro-
duced for beneficial use, as required under TWC, §27.155, as
added by HB 655. Reporting of monthly average injection pres-
sures and reporting of other information, as required by the exec-
utive director, necessary for protection of underground sources
of drinking water are retained. The commission adopts amend-
ments to remove the existing requirement in §331.185(a)(4) for
monthly reporting of water quality analyses of injected water.
TWC, §27.156, added by HB 655, requires water quality testing
on an annual basis, which is now required under the adopted
amendment to §331.185(b), discussed in this Section by Sec-
tion Discussion.

The commission adopts the amendment to §331.185(b) to
remove reference to the report required for Phase | of an ASR
project, as this requirement has been removed from TWC,
§11.153(b) and (c). The commission also amends §331.185(b)
to require annual water quality testing and reporting as required
under TWC, §27.156, as added by HB 655.

Based on comments received, the proposed rule is amended
to refer to "individual permit" in the adopted rule, as the term
"individual permit" is consistent with TWC, §27.153(a)(2).

§331.186, Additional Requirements

Existing requirements for regulating an ASR project in two
phases (initial and final) was removed from TWC, §11.153(b)
and (c) under HB 655. TCEQ now can authorize by rule, or
issue individual or general permit for an ASR project without
requiring a pilot project (Phase 1). For this reason, the commis-
sion amends the title of §331.186 and deletes the requirement
in §331.186 for submission of the information obtained during
the first phase of an ASR project. The commission also adopts
the amendment of §331.186 to refer to "aquifer storage and
recovery injection wells" rather than "aquifer storage wells" to
be consistent with the adopted definition for "Aquifer storage
and recovery injection wells" at §331.2(9) and with the adopted
amendment to §331.11(a)(4)(L) regarding the classification of
Class V injection wells used for ASR. The commission adopts
amendments to reorganize the sequence of existing §331.186
so that the information that was previously required to be
provided after Phase | is now provided to the executive director
after the completion of the injection well in adopted §331.186(b).

The commission amends §331.186 by creating a subsection (a)
to include factors the TCEQ (either the executive director when
considering applications for individual, general permit, or autho-
rizations by rule; or the commission when considering contested
applications) shall consider when issuing a new permit for an
ASR project. TCEQ must consider whether the injection of the
water will comply with the standards set forth in the federal Safe
Drinking Water Act; the extent to which the cumulative volume
of water injected for storage can be recovered; the effect of the
ASR project on existing water wells; and whether the introduction
of water in the subsurface will alter the physical, chemical or bi-
ological quality of the native groundwater to a degree that would
render produced water harmful or detrimental, or would require
an unreasonable higher level of treatment to render the produced
water suitable for beneficial use. Section 331.186(a) was revised
to include the executive director's consideration of the factors
specified in TWC, §27.153(a) and (b). Adopted §331.186(a) im-
plements TWC, §27.153(a) and (b), as added by HB 655.

Based on comments received, the proposed rule is amended
to refer to "individual permit" in the adopted rule, as the term
"individual permit" is consistent with TWC, §27.153(a)(2).

Final Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination

The commission reviewed the adopted rulemaking action in light
of the regulatory analysis requirements of Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225, and determined that the action is not sub-
ject to Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 because it does
not meet the definition of a "major environmental rule" as de-
fined in the statute. "Major environmental rule" means a rule, the
specific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce
risks to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. The
adopted action implements legislative requirements in HB 655,
which revises the requirements for the commission's regulation
of injection wells associated with ASR projects. The adoption
does not meet the definition of "major environmental rule" be-
cause the rulemaking does not adversely affect in a material way
the economy, a sector of the economy, productivity, competition,
jobs, the environment or public health and safety of the state or
a sector of the state. Prior to the enactment of HB 655, the com-
mission had previously authorized only two ASR projects and
does not expect a great number of new projects. The adopted
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rules implement the legislative directives of HB 655 and do not
impose additional regulatory burdens that would affect the econ-
omy or a sector of the economy in a material way.

Furthermore, the adopted rules do not meet any of the four
applicability requirements listed in Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225(a). The adopted rules do not exceed a standard
set by federal law, because the adopted rules are consistent
with applicable federal standards for Class V ASR injection
wells. The adopted rules do not exceed an express requirement
of state law because the adopted rules are consistent with
the express requirements of HB 655 and TWC, Chapter 27,
Subchapter G. The adopted rules do not exceed requirements
set out in the commission's UIC program authorized for the
state of Texas under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act. The
rulemaking is not adopted under the general powers of the
agency, but is adopted under the express requirements of HB
655 and TWC, §§27.019, 27.153, and 27.154.

The commission invited public comment regarding the Draft
Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination during the public
comment period. No comments were received on the Draft
Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination for the Chapter 331
rules.

Takings Impact Assessment

The commission evaluated this rulemaking action and performed
a preliminary assessment of whether Texas Government Code,
Chapter 2007 is applicable. The adopted action implements leg-
islative requirements of HB 655, which revises the requirements
for the commission's regulation of injection wells associated with
ASR projects.

The adopted rules would be neither a statutory nor a constitu-
tional taking of private real property. The adopted rules would
establish conditions and requirement for certain injection activ-
ities associated with ASR projects, consistent with the require-
ments of HB 655. The adopted rulemaking does not affect a
landowner's rights in private real property because this rulemak-
ing action does not burden (constitutionally), nor restrict or limit,
the owner's right to property and reduce its value by 25% or more
beyond which would otherwise exist in the absence of the regu-
lations.

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission reviewed the adopted rules and found that they
are neither identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implementa-
tion Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(b)(2) or (4), nor will they affect any
action/authorization identified in Coastal Coordination Act Imple-
mentation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(a)(6). Therefore, the adopted
rules are not subject to the Texas Coastal Management Program
(CMP).

The commission invited public comment regarding the consis-
tency with the CMP during the public comment period. No com-
ments were received regarding the consistency with the CMP
during the public comment period.

Public Comment

The commission held a public hearing on January 22, 2016.
The comment period closed on February 8, 2016. The com-
mission received comments from Benbrook Water Authority
(Benbrook); Brazos Valley Groundwater Conservation District
(Brazos Valley GWCD); Clearwater Underground Water Con-
servation District (Clearwater Underground WCD); Hemphill
Underground Water Conservation District (Hemphill Under-

ground WCD); High Plains Underground Water Conservation
District (High Plains Underground WCD); the Honorable Lyle
Larson, Texas State Representative, District 122, who authored
HB 655 (Representative Larson); Llano Estacado Underground
Water Conservation District (Llano Estacado Underground
WCD); Lone Star Groundwater Conservation District (Lone
Star GWCD); Mesa Underground Water Conservation District
(Mesa Underground WCD); Permian Basin Underground Water
Conservation District (Permian Basin Underground WCD);
Prairielands Groundwater Conservation District (Prairielands
GWCD); Sandy Land Underground Water Conservation District
(Sandy Land Underground WCD); Sledge Law and Public
Strategies (Sledge Law); South Plains Underground Water
Conservation District (South Plains Underground WCD); Texas
Alliance of Groundwater Districts; Texas Farm Bureau; and the
Upper Trinity Groundwater Conservation District (Upper Trinity
GWCD).

All commenters generally were in support of the proposed rules,
although there were numerous suggested changes, as detailed
in the Response to Comments section of this preamble. A com-
mon comment was that certain rules were not consistent with HB
655.

Response to Comments
General
Comment

Representative Larson, Hemphill Underground WCD, High
Plains Underground WCD, Llano Estacado Underground WCD,
Mesa Underground WCD, Permian Basin Underground WCD,
Sandy Land Underground WCD, South Plains Underground
WCD, Upper Trinity GWCD, Texas Farm Bureau, Prairielands
GWCD, Upper Trinity GWCD, Sledge Law, Benbrook, Texas
Alliance of Groundwater Districts, and Lone Star GWCD com-
mented that the proposed rules should be revised to ensure
consistency with HB 655.

Response

The commission agrees that the adopted rules should be consis-
tent with the provisions of HB 655. To ensure that these rules are
consistent with HB 655, all comments were carefully reviewed,
and, as detailed in the responses, changes to the proposed rules
were made, as appropriate, to maintain consistency with HB 655.

Comment

Sledge Law commented that the preamble to this rulemaking
did not include the Corpus Christi Aquifer Storage and Recovery
Conservation District as an entity that new TWC, Chapter 27,
Subchapter G does not affect regarding that districts ability to
regulate groundwater.

Response

The commission agrees with this comment, as this entity was
included in TWC, §27.157. The preamble to the adopted rules
has been amended to include the Corpus Christi Aquifer Storage
and Recovery Conservation District.

Subchapter A: General Provisions
§331.2, Definitions
Comment

The Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground
WCD, Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground
WCD, Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Un-
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derground WCD, South Plains Underground WCD, and Upper
Trinity GWCD commented that the commission did not use the
exact terms in TWC, §27.151(2) and (3), as amended by HB
655, for the new definitions at §331.2(9) and (10), respectively,
for the terms "ASR recovery well" and "ASR production well."
Commenters suggested that to be consistent with HB 655, the
commission use the terms in TWC, §27.151(2) and (3) in the
new definitions, and that the terms in TWC, §27.151(2) and (3)
be used throughout the Chapter 331 adopted rules.

Response

The commission acknowledges that the terms defined at
§331.2(9) and (10) are not the exact terms used at TWC,
§27.151(2) and (3), respectively, although the rule definition
for each term is identical to the respective definition in TWC,
§27.151(2) and (3). The proposed rule defined the term "Aquifer
storage and recovery injection well" instead of the term "ASR in-
jection well," used in TWC, §27.151(2). Similarly, the proposed
rule defined the term "Aquifer storage and recovery production
well" instead of the term "ASR recovery well," used in TWC,
§27.151(3). The commission made these modifications to
avoid a possible reference to an "aquifer storage and recovery
recovery well." The double "recovery" in this term could create
confusion when the ASR acronym is stated in full. This mod-
ification does not deviate from the intent of the definitions at
TWC, §27.151(2) and (3), as the actual definitions in the rules
are identical to the respective definitions in TWC, §27.151(2)
and (3). No changes were made in response to this comment.

§331.7, Permit Required
Comment

The Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground
WCD, Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground
WCD, Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Un-
derground WCD, and the South Plains Underground WCD
commented that proposed §331.7(h) be revised to refer to
"individual permit" rather than to "permit."

Response

The commission agrees with this comment, as the term "individ-
ual permit" is used in TWC, §27.153(a)(2). Adopted §331.7(h)
is amended to refer to "individual permit" rather than to "permit."
Additionally, as discussed in corresponding rulemaking for 30
TAC Chapter 39 published in this issue of the Texas Register,
proposed §331.7(h) was amended at adoption to require that the
executive director inform a groundwater conservation district of
any ASR project proposed to be authorized by rule for a project
that is located within that district. Lastly, proposed §331.7(h)
was amended at adoption to state that the commission may au-
thorize an ASR project by individual permit, general permit, or
by rule, rather than by individual permit, general permit, or per-
mit-by-rule. This change will make the adopted rule consistent
with TWC, §27.153(a), under which the commission may autho-
rize the use of a Class V injection well as an ASR injection well
under an individual permit, under a general permit, or by rule.

Subchapter K: Additional Requirements for Class V Injection
Wells Associated With Aquifer Storage and Recovery Projects

§331.182, Area of Review
Comment

The Prairielands GWCD, Upper Trinity GWCD, Benbrook,
Lone Star GWCD, and Sledge Law commented that proposed
§331.182 should refer simply to "water" rather than to "state wa-

ter," as management of water at an ASR project is not restricted
to state water.

Response

The commission agrees with this comment. At TWC,
§27.151(1), the term "aquifer storage and recovery project” is
defined as a project involving the injection of water (emphasis
added) into a geologic formation for the purpose of subse-
quent recovery and beneficial use by the project operator. As
discussed in the following response to comments, proposed
§331.182 has been revised to address how the area of review is
determined. Based on those comments, the reference to "state
water" is amended to "water."

Comment

Benbrook commented that the proposed rule language at
§331.182 regarding the area of review was unclear, and sug-
gested the proposed rule be amended to adopt a default area of
review, which they described as "a circle of a 1/2 mile radius."
Benbrook commented that a typical ASR project has a radius
of 200 feet. Benbrook further commented that if information
submitted in the application indicated the extent of stored water
was greater than the area described by a radius of 1/2 mile, the
area of review could be extended. Benbrook stated that this
recommendation is based on the difficulty and costs associated
with determining the location of the "buffer zone" in order to
establish a 1/4 mile area of review from the buffer zone.

Response

Prior to amendment of TWC by HB 655, the area of review was
described in §331.182 as the area determined by a radius of
1/4 mile from the perimeter of a buffer zone as described un-
der 30 TAC §295.22(e)(5). Under §295.22(e)(5), an application
for an ASR project had to include "the location of a buffer zone
surrounding the land surface area under which the underground
storage of state water will occur and beyond which pumpage by
other wells will not interfere or significantly affect the movement
or storage of the state water." In a corresponding rulemaking for
30 TAC Chapter 295, published in this issue of the Texas Reg-
ister, the commission repeals §295.22. Although §295.22 was
repealed, HB 655 did not remove the requirements that are in
§331.182 regarding information in §331.182(1) - (3), which per-
tain to the area of review. That is to say, HB 655 did not remove
the requirement for an area of review under existing §331.182.
Additionally, an area of review is required to address the require-
ment at TWC, §27.153(b)(3), under which the commission shall
consider the effect of the ASR project on existing water wells. In
their comments, Benbrook stated that at a typical ASR project,
the extent of the stored water is within an area with a radius of
about 200 feet. Benbrook also stated that determination of a
buffer zone is difficult and expensive, and that the area of review
should be a circle of 1/2 mile radius (presumably centered on
an ASR well or wells). The commission agrees that the area of
review should be based on a distance from an identifiable fea-
ture; in this case, an ASR injection well, or, in the case of an
ASR project for which there will be more than one injection well,
the centroid of the injection well field. Benbrook also stated that
the radius of a typical ASR project is approximately 200 feet. In
consideration of this fact, the adopted rule identifies an area of
review, defined as the area described by a radius of 1/2 mile from
either the ASR injection well or from the centroid of the injection
well field, as applicable. This requirement will address the ex-
isting requirements in §331.182, as well as the requirements in
TWC, §27.153(b)(3). Based on comments from Benbrook, the
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adopted rule also is amended to specify that should the area of
injected water exceed an area determined by a radius of 1/2 mile
from the ASR injection well or the well field centroid, the area of
review will be determined by the projected extent of the under-
ground stored water as calculated by using site-specific hydro-
geologic information.

§331.183, Construction and Closure Standards
Comment

The Texas Farm Bureau commented that although the pro-
posed rules adequately address injection of water, they do
not address issues associated with production of water, and
asked what mechanism will be used for monitoring production
of water at an ASR project to ensure that native groundwater
is not withdrawn. Prairielands GWCD commented that the
proposed rules did not address regulation of ASR production
wells, and that the adopted rules should include requirements
for such wells. Upper Trinity GWCD commented that under HB
655, the commission was granted authority to regulate both
ASR injection wells and ASR production wells. Benbrook and
Lone Star GWCD commented that although the proposed rules
address regulation of a well that serves as both an injection
and production ASR well, they do not address requirements for
wells that are only for production. The Brazos Valley GWCD
commented that the commission now has authority over both
ASR injection and production wells, and that this authority
should be addressed in the rules.

Response

Standards for water wells are found in existing §290.41, and in-
clude construction and operating requirements. Under proposed
§331.183(4), an ASR injection well that also serves as an ASR
production well must comply with the applicable requirements in
§290.41. To address this comment, adopted §331.183(4) has
been revised to apply the requirements in §290.41 to all ASR
production wells.

Comment

The Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground
WCD, Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground
WCD, Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Under-
ground WCD, and the South Plains Underground WCD com-
mented that the qualifier "within" in proposed §331.183(5)(A)
and (B) be removed and placed at the beginning of §331.183(5).

Response

Section 331.183(5)(A) and (B) is adopted to address the re-
quirement at TWC, §27.153(c) that "all wells associated with
a single aquifer storage and recovery project must be located
within a continuous perimeter boundary of one parcel of land, or
two or more adjacent parcels of land under common ownership,
lease, joint operating agreement, or contract." The commis-
sion responds that the placement of the qualifier "within" at
§331.183(5) adequately conveys the intent of TWC, §27.153(c).
No changes were made in response to this comment.

Comment

Brazos Valley GWCD commented that the proposed rules do not
address a method to determine the amount of land required to be
owned or controlled by an ASR operator. Brazos Valley GWCD
commented that the proposed rules should include a definitive
method to address this issue, including determination of a buffer
zone. Otherwise, according to Brazos Valley GWCD, the com-
mission may have a situation involving "underground trespass."

Lastly, Brazos Valley GWCD commented that ASR project oper-
ators need assurance that their injected water is protected from
extraction by adjacent landowners.

Response

In accordance with proposed §331.183(5)(A) and (B), all ASR in-
jection wells and all ASR production wells must be located within
a continuous boundary of one parcel of land, or two or more ad-
jacent parcels of land under common ownership, lease, joint op-
erating agreement, or contract. An applicant for an ASR project
will have to provide proof that this requirement is satisfied. Such
information will be required in an ASR project application form.
It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure he or she has
control of an adequate amount of property such that the planned
ASR project is contained within that parcel of land. Given the
importance of the injected water to an ASR operator, it is in the
interest of the ASR project manager to limit loss of any injected
water and to acquire sufficient acreage for the ASR project to
ensure, to the greatest extent possible, that his or her injected
water does not migrate out of the ASR project, or that the injected
water is not captured by an adjacent landowner. The commis-
sion notes that the purpose of the area of review requirements at
amended §331.182 is to address issues related to operation of
an ASR project. No change was made in response to this com-
ment.

§331.184, Operating Requirements
Comment

Representative Larson commented that with respect to TWC,
§27.153(b) and §27.154(d) regarding assessment of water qual-
ity impacts, the commission rules should allow for consideration
of natural processes that occur in an aquifer, as such a consid-
eration is consistent with EPA policy and reasonable interpreta-
tions of federal law. Representative Larson further commented
that the rules should provide flexibility to evaluate drinking water
standards at a logical distance from an ASR injection well. Rep-
resentative Larson stated that an ASR project manager should
be allowed to propose monitoring and testing to evaluate the ef-
fects injected water may have on groundwater. Such testing and
monitoring would enable the operator to consider microbial, geo-
chemical, and physical processes that occur in the aquifer when
assessing whether or not injection will cause a violation of TWC,
§27.153(b)(4). Prairielands GWCD commented that proposed
§331.184(e) should be amended to be consistent with the statu-
tory test regarding commission consideration of water quality im-
pacts established in TWC, §27.153(b). Sledge Law, Benbrook,
Clearwater Underground WCD, and the Upper Trinity GWCD
commented that proposed §331.184(a) and (e) are inconsistent
with the statutory test set forth in HB 655, and that the terms
"pollution" and "pathogens and other organisms" are not used in
HB 655. Upper Trinity GWCD, Texas Alliance of Groundwater
Districts, and Clearwater Underground WCD commented that
proposed §331.184(a) and (e) should be amended to be con-
sistent with the statutory test established in TWC, §27.153(b)(4)
and §27.154(d). Sledge Law commented that there have been
recent public written interpretations by the EPA regarding stan-
dards for ASR projects, and that these comments were care-
fully considered by the Texas Water Conservation Association
Committee and the Texas Legislature in development of HB 655.
Sledge Law further commented that the demonstration an appli-
cant for an ASR project must make is in TWC, §27.154(d). Ben-
brook commented that the rules should allow applicants for an
ASR project the flexibility to propose monitoring and testing of
water quality impacts, with consideration of natural processes,
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including microbial, geochemical, and geophysical processes
that occur underground that provide treatment of injected water.
Benbrook commented that this approach is consistent with cur-
rent EPA policy and also is a reasonable interpretation of federal
laws that apply to UIC. Additionally, Benbrook commented that
state rules regarding regulation of ASR projects should not be
more stringent than federal requirements regarding water quality
testing for ASR projects. Benbrook commented that the commis-
sion should allow, as does EPA, for situations to be addressed
on a case-by-case basis to allow for ASR project operations that
may cause a violation of primary drinking water regulations under
40 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 142 on the ASR site,
but that are managed in such a manner as to prevent any off-site
endangerment as described in the federal Safe Drinking Water
Act at §1421(d)(2). Lone Star GWCD commented that proposed
§331.184(e) be amended to be consistent with HB 655 regard-
ing water quality impacts.

Response

The commission acknowledges that the term "pollution" is not
used in HB 655. In response to this comment, the commission
revised the language in §331.184(a) to mirror the language in the
federal Safe Drinking Water Act §1421(d)(2). Section 331.184(e)
has also been revised.

With regards to the comment that the commission should allow,
as does the EPA, for situations to be addressed on a case-by-
case basis to allow for ASR project operations that may cause
a violation of primary drinking water regulations under 40 CFR
Part 142 on the ASR site, but that are managed in such a manner
as to prevent any off-site endangerment as described in the fed-
eral Safe Drinking Water Act at §1421(d)(2), the commission ac-
cepts the findings in the September 27, 2013, letter to Mr. Mark
Thomasson, Director of the Division of Water Resource Man-
agement of the Florida Department of Environmental Protection
from Dr. Peter Grevatt, Director of the EPA's Office of Ground
Water and Drinking Water. This letter addresses the situation in
Florida where injection of treated drinking water at ASR facilities
has resulted in leaching of arsenic from the formation material
of the aquifer in which the water was injected. In this letter, Dr.
Grevatt states that this situation, which technically is a violation
of a primary drinking water standard, is allowed under federal
regulations provided the ASR operator institutes controls to re-
strict the occurrence and migration of the arsenic. As noted by
Dr. Grevatt in this letter, this situation should be addressed by
issuance of a Class V UIC permit for the Class V UIC wells as-
sociated with the ASR project.

The commission accepts the findings in Dr. Grevatt's letter, and
notes in his conclusion he states that the purpose of the letter
is to explain how Safe Drinking Water Act and UIC regulations
allow states to address water shortages and at the same time
protect the quality of future water supplies. Further, although this
letter does not address the specific case presented by the com-
menter regarding reliance of natural attenuation and geochemi-
cal processes in the subsurface to control certain constituents in
the injected water, the commission agrees that these processes
may be considered in authorizing an ASR project. On a case-
by-case basis, the commission may consider the effects of natu-
ral processes including microbial, geochemical, and geophysical
process in the subsurface. To evaluate the effects of these pro-
cesses, the commission may require controls such as monitor-
ing and testing of the injected water. To provide maximum flex-
ibility to operators regarding consideration of these processes,
the commission will rely on adopted §331.186(a)(1). The com-

mission, before issuing an individual permit, general permit, or
authorization by rule for an ASR project, will consider whether
the injection of water will comply with the standards set forth un-
der the federal Safe Drinking Water Act (42 United States Code,
§8300f, et seq.).This approach allows flexibility in the ASR au-
thorization process to consider the factors presented by com-
menters, and to consider other factors that may be appropriate
on a case-by-case basis. Finally, the adopted rule is consistent
with TWC, §27.153(b) and §27.154(d), as amended by HB 655.

The commission is amending §331.184(e) in the adopted rule
to remove reference to "pathogens," and to include the require-
ments in TWC, §27.153(b), in which the federal Safe Drinking
Water Act (42 USC, §§300f et seq); is specifically referenced.
By doing this, the commission may, on a case-by-case basis,
consider proposed ASR projects with respect to determinations
of how the requirements of §331.5 and 40 CFR §144.12(a) are
met. In making such a determination, the commission may rely
on EPA policy memoranda, EPA guidance, or case law.

Comment

The Texas Farm Bureau commented that for an ASR project lo-
cated with the jurisdiction of a groundwater conservation district,
that district should receive all water quality data required by the
commission. Additionally, the Texas Farm Bureau commented
that any adjacent district also should receive these data. Ben-
brook commented that local authority (presumably the ground-
water conservation district) should receive monthly water quan-
tity and water quality reports.

Response

In accordance with TWC, §36.453(b), for an ASR project within
the jurisdiction of a groundwater conservation district, if an ASR
project operator produces more water than was authorized by
TCEQ, that operator must report to the district the volume of
water produced that exceeds the volume authorized to be re-
covered. The ASR operator also must provide a monthly re-
port that includes the information required under TWC, §27.155.
These requirements are addressed in adopted §331.184(g), un-
der which an ASR project is subject to TWC, Chapter 36, Sub-
chapter N. With regards to reporting of water data to an adja-
cent groundwater conservation district, no such requirement is
included in HB 655. No changes were made in response to this
comment.

Comment

The Texas Farm Bureau and Upper Trinity GWCD commented
that all ASR production wells within the jurisdiction of a ground-
water conservation district, not just those that produce a volume
of water in excess of the volume of water injected, must comply
with the requirements of TWC, Chapter 36, Subchapter N.

Response

Enforcement of the specific requirements in TWC, Chapter 36,
Subchapter N (or any provisions in TWC, Chapter 36, for that
matter) is the responsibility of the individual groundwater con-
servation districts, not the commission. The commission does
not have the authority to compel an ASR project operator to pay
fees imposed by a district, for example. With regards to ap-
plication of TWC, Chapter 36, Subchapter N, the commission
cannot prohibit the production of native groundwater by an ASR
project if the production complies with TWC, Chapter 36, Sub-
chapter N. To address this consideration, the commission pro-
posed §331.184(g). No changes were made in response to this
comment.
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Comment

The Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground
WCD, Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground
WCD, Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Un-
derground WCD, and the South Plains Underground WCD
commented that proposed §331.184(g)(3) be amended to
specify that a project manager of an ASR project "shall," rather
than "may" be subject to registration, reporting, fee or other
requirements of a groundwater conservation district or other
special-purpose district with the authority to regulate the with-
drawal of water. Lone Star GWCD commented that §331.184(g)
should be clarified that an ASR project in the jurisdiction of
a groundwater conservation district or other special-purpose
district with authority to regulate withdrawal of groundwater is
subject to the requirements of TWC, Chapter 36, Subchapter N.

Response

Section 331.184(g)(3) was proposed to address the requirement
in TWC, §27.154(b), under which an ASR project located within
the jurisdiction of a groundwater conservation district or other
special-purpose district with authority to regulate the withdrawal
of water is subject to the requirements of TWC, Chapter 36, Sub-
chapter N. The proposed rule was intended to summarize certain
TWC, Chapter 36, Subchapter N requirements. However, based
on this comment, the commission has revisited this rule, and
finds it does not adequately capture the intent of TWC, Chapter
36, Subchapter N. Therefore, in the adopted rule, §331.184(g)(3)
is removed, and §331.184(g)(2) references TWC, Chapter 36,
Subchapter N. Additionally, §331.184(g)(2) is revised to apply to
the volume of water recovered that exceeds the volume of wa-
ter the commission determines can be recovered. These revi-
sions will remove any ambiguity regarding the requirements for
an ASR project located within the jurisdiction of a groundwater
conservation district or other special-purpose district with author-
ity to regulate the withdrawal of water.

§331.185, Monitoring and Reporting Requirements
Comment

The Texas Farm Bureau commented by asking what is the mech-
anism for monitoring withdrawals from ASR projects to ensure
that injected water and not native groundwater is being with-
drawn. The Farm Bureau further commented that this is a critical
question because withdrawal of native groundwater subject to
the rules of a groundwater conservation district or other special-
purpose district with authority to regulate withdrawal of ground-
water. Lastly, the Texas Farm Bureau commented that moni-
tor wells, operated by local groundwater districts, should be re-
quired within a buffer zone of an ASR project. Clearwater Under-
ground WCD and Texas Alliance of Groundwater Districts com-
mented that a mechanism or protocol by which a groundwater
conservation district's groundwater monitoring network might be
leveraged to detect injected water migration should be strongly
considered by the commission

Response

The monitoring of the amount of water produced in association
with an ASR project is addressed in proposed §331.185(a)(1)
and (2). Under these rules, an ASR operator must report to
the commission the volume of water injected for storage and
the volume of water recovered for beneficial use. Also, under
§331.184(g)(2), an operator of an ASR project that is within the
jurisdiction of an groundwater conservation district is subject to
TWC, Chapter 36, Subchapter N for the amount of water pro-

duced that exceeds the volume of water that the commission de-
termines can be recovered. With regards to monitor wells com-
pleted on the periphery of an ASR project, with the purpose of
detecting movement of injected water that may migrate offsite,
the commission could require such monitor wells as part of an
ASR project in cases where such monitoring may be needed.
However, the requirement for an ASR operator to install and op-
erate such wells would be determined on a case-by-case ba-
sis, depending on local geology and hydrogeology. Any monitor
wells installed as part of an ASR project would be operated by
the ASR operator, not a groundwater conservation district. No
changes were made in response to this comment.

Comment

The Hemphill Underground WCD, High Plains Underground
WCD, Llano Estacado Underground WCD, Mesa Underground
WCD, Permian Basin Underground WCD, Sandy Land Un-
derground WCD, and the South Plains Underground WCD
commented that proposed §331.185(b) should refer to an "indi-
vidual permit" rather than to a "permit," and also should refer to
an "authorization by rule" rather than to an "authorization."

Response

The commission agrees with these suggested changes, and the
adopted rule was revised to refer to an "individual permit" rather
than to a "permit," and to an "authorization by rule" rather than
to an "authorization."

§331.186, Additional Requirements
Comment

Upper Trinity GWCD, Sledge Law, and Brazos Valley GWCD
commented that proposed §331.186 (regarding the factors the
commission shall consider before authorizing an ASR project)
applied to applications for individual permits and for authorization
under a general permit, but not to an application for authorization
of an ASR project by rule. These entities commented that the
requirements of §331.186 should also apply to an application for
authorization of an ASR project by rule.

Response

The commission agrees with this comment. The factors the com-
mission or executive director must consider regarding authoriza-
tion of an ASR project apply to permits (individual and general)
and to an authorization by rule (TWC, §27.153(b)). Based on
this comment, adopted §331.186(a) is amended to apply to an
application for an individual permit, a general permit, or an au-
thorization by rule and includes the executive director's consid-
eration.

Comment

Prairielands GWCD, Lone Star GWCD, and Upper Trinity GWCD
commented that the proposed rules in Chapter 331 should be re-
vised to require the commission to make a determination of how
much of the injected water can be recovered by an ASR project
operator to account for any loss of injected water. Prairieland
GWCD commented that this accounting by the commission is
important to ensure that native groundwater is not produced with-
out complying with local district restriction, and that such an ac-
counting should be consistently reflected in the rules.

Response

As discussed subsequently in this Response to Comments, pro-
posed §331.186(a) has been revised to require the commission,
prior to authorizing an ASR project by individual permit, gen-
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eral permit, or by rule, shall consider the extent to which the
cumulative volume of water injected for storage in the receiv-
ing geologic formation can be successfully recovered from the
geologic formation for beneficial use, taking into account that
the injected water may be commingled to some degree with na-
tive groundwater. The commission responds that in considering
these factors, it is in fact making the determination required in
TWC, §27.154(b). The commission notes that this determina-
tion will be made on information provided by the applicant, and
that no determination will be made until sufficient information is
provided by the applicant. For projects within the jurisdiction of
a groundwater conservation district, §331.184(g)(1) was revised
to provide that an authorization or permit may not authorize a vol-
ume of water to be recovered that exceeds the volume of water
that is injected or the volume of injected water that the commis-
sion determines can be recovered.

Comment

Upper Trinity GWCD commented that the proposed rules require
that ASR production wells be included in an ASR project permit
or authorization by rule.

Response

At TWC, §27.154(c), the commission is directed to adopt rules
for the construction and completion standards and metering and
reporting requirements for ASR injection wells and ASR recov-
ery wells, including an ASR injection well that also serves as an
ASR production well. Construction and completion of an ASR
injection well are addressed in existing Chapter 331, Subchap-
ter H (Standards for Class V Wells). Standards for construction
and completion of an ASR production well are addressed in ex-
isting §290.41, and are referenced in adopted §331.183(4), as
are ASR injection wells that also serve as an ASR production
well. The commission notes that ASR injection wells will be au-
thorized under a Class V UIC individual permit, general permit,
or by rule. While TCEQ has exclusive jurisdiction over ASR in-
jection wells under TWC, §27.152, other regulatory entities, such
as the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation, may be
involved with the regulation of water wells. ASR production wells
associated with a Class V ASR permit or authorization by rule will
be identified in that permit or authorization. No changes were
made in response to this comment.

Comment

Clearwater Underground WCD and Texas Alliance of Groundwa-
ter Districts commented that regular water quality monitoring that
includes geochemical analysis and project evaluation should be
required. Clearwater Underground WCD also commented that
sufficient water quality testing should be considered for the re-
ceiving aquifer prior to ASR project authorization.

Response

In accordance with TWC, §27.156, an ASR project manager
shall perform annual water quality testing on water to be in-
jected and on produced water. This requirement is included in
adopted §331.185(b). The commission agrees that the quality
of the groundwater in the receiving aquifer should be adequately
characterized prior to any injection. No changes were made in
response to this comment.

Comment

Clearwater Underground WCD and Texas Alliance of Ground-
water Districts commented that regular monitoring and modeling
of water migration is necessary in order to define jurisdictional

boundaries between ASR recovery and neighboring groundwa-
ter production.

Response

TCEQ has exclusive jurisdiction over the regulation and per-
mitting of ASR injection wells. Well location requirements for
an ASR project are established under adopted §331.183(5). A
project operator will be required to demonstrate the extent to
which the cumulative volume of water injected for storage in the
receiving formation can be successfully recovered, taking into
account that injected water may be commingled to some degree
with native groundwater. If that ASR project is within the jurisdic-
tion of a groundwater conservation district or other special-pur-
pose district with authority to regulate withdrawal of water, then
the applicable requirements of TWC, Chapter 36, Subchapter N
apply. No changes were made in response to this comment.

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
30 TAC §§331.2, 331.7, 331.11
Statutory Authority

The amendments are adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC),
§5.103, which provides the commission the authority to adopt
any rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties under
TWC and other laws of this state; TWC, §5.105, which autho-
rizes the commission to establish and approve all general policy
of the commission by rule; TWC, §5.120, which authorizes the
commission to administer the law so as to promote the judicious
use and maximum conservation and protection of the environ-
ment and natural resources of the state; TWC, §27.019, which
requires the commission to adopt rules reasonably required for
the regulation of injection wells; TWC, §27.153, which requires
the commission to adopt rules for authorization of aquifer stor-
age and recovery injection wells by rule or by permit; and TWC,
§27.154, which requires the commission to adopt technical stan-
dards for aquifer storage and recovery injection wells.

The adopted amendments implement House Bill 655, 84th Texas
Legislature, 2015, and TWC, Chapter 27, Subchapter G, which
confers commission jurisdiction and establishes requirements
for injection wells associated with aquifer storage and recovery
projects.

$§331.7.  Permit Required.

(a) Exceptas provided in §331.9 of this title (relating to Injec-
tion Authorized by Rule) and by subsections (d) - (f) of this section,
all injection wells and activities must be authorized by an individual
permit.

(b) For Class III in situ uranium solution mining wells, Frasch
sulfur wells, and other Class III operations under commission jurisdic-
tion, an area permit authorizing more than one well may be issued for a
defined permit area in which wells of similar design and operation are
proposed. The wells must be operated by a single owner or operator.
Before commencing operation of those wells, the permittee may be re-
quired to obtain a production area authorization for separate production
or mining areas within the permit area.

(c) The owner or operator of a large capacity septic system, a
septic system which accepts industrial waste, or a subsurface area drip
dispersal system, as defined in §222.5 of this title (relating to Defini-
tions) must obtain a wastewater discharge permit in accordance with
Texas Water Code, Chapter 26 or Chapters 26 and 32, and Chapter 305
of this title (relating to Consolidated Permits), and must submit the
inventory information required under §331.10 of this title (relating to
Inventory of Wells Authorized by Rule).
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(d) Pre-injection units for Class I nonhazardous, noncommer-
cial injection wells and Class V injection wells permitted for the dis-
posal of nonhazardous waste must be either authorized by a permit is-
sued by the commission or registered in accordance with §331.17 of
this title (relating to Pre-Injection Units Registration). The option of
registration provided by this subsection shall not apply to pre-injec-
tion units for Class I injection wells used for the disposal of byprod-
uct material, as that term is defined in Chapter 336 of this title (relat-
ing to Radioactive Substance Rules). Pre-injection units for Class I
wells authorized to inject only nonhazardous desalination concentrate
or nonhazardous drinking water treatment residuals are not subject to
authorization by registration but are subject to authorization by an in-
dividual permit or under the general permit issued under Subchapter L
of this chapter (relating to General Permit Authorizing Use of a Class
I Injection Well to Inject Nonhazardous Desalination Concentrate or
Nonhazardous Drinking Water Treatment Residuals).

(e) The commission may issue a general permit under Sub-
chapter L of this chapter. The commission may determine that an injec-
tion well and the injection activities are more appropriately regulated
under an individual permit than under a general permit based on find-
ings that the general permit will not protect ground and surface fresh
water from pollution due to site-specific conditions.

(f) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, an injection
well authorized by the Railroad Commission of Texas to use nonhaz-
ardous desalination concentrate or nonhazardous drinking water treat-
ment residuals as an injection fluid for enhanced recovery purposes
does not require a permit from the commission. The use or disposal of
radioactive material under this subsection is subject to the applicable
requirements of Chapter 336 of this title.

(g) Permits issued before September 1, 2007 for Class 111 wells
for uranium mining will expire on September 1, 2012 unless the permit
holder submits an application for permit renewal under §305.65 of this
title (relating to Renewal) before September 1, 2012. Any holders of
permits for Class III wells for uranium mining issued before Septem-
ber 1, 2007 who allow those permits to expire by not submitting a per-
mit renewal application by September 1, 2012 are not relieved from
the obligations under the expired permit or applicable rules, including
obligations to restore groundwater and to plug and abandon wells in
accordance with the requirements of the permit and applicable rules.

(h) Class V injection wells associated with an aquifer storage
and recovery (ASR) project may be authorized by individual permit,
general permit, or by rule. The executive director will notify a ground-
water conservation district of an ASR project proposed to be authorized
by rule that is located within the jurisdictional boundary of that ground-
water conservation district.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 29, 2016.

TRD-201602033

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Effective date: May 19, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER K. ADDITIONAL
REQUIREMENTS FOR CLASS V INJECTION
WELLS ASSOCIATED WITH AQUIFER
STORAGE AND RECOVERY PROJECTS

30 TAC §§331.181 - 331.186

Statutory Authority

The amendments are adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC),
§5.103, which provides the commission the authority to adopt
any rules necessary to carry out its powers and duties under
TWC and other laws of this state; TWC, §5.105, which autho-
rizes the commission to establish and approve all general policy
of the commission by rule; TWC, §5.120, which authorizes the
commission to administer the law so as to promote the judicious
use and maximum conservation and protection of the environ-
ment and natural resources of the state; TWC, §27.019, which
requires the commission to adopt rules reasonably required for
the regulation of injection wells; TWC, §27.153, which requires
the commission to adopt rules for authorization of aquifer stor-
age and recovery injection wells by rule or by permit; and TWC,
§27.154, which requires the commission to adopt technical stan-
dards for aquifer storage and recovery injection wells.

The adopted amendments implement House Bill 655, 84th Texas
Legislature, 2015, and TWC, Chapter 27, Subchapter G, which
confers commission jurisdiction and establishes requirements
for injection wells associated with aquifer storage and recovery
projects.

§$331.182.  Area of Review.

The area of review for an aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) project
is the area determined by a radius of 1/2 mile from the proposed ASR
injection well. For an ASR project that includes more than one pro-
posed injection well, the area of review is the area determined by a
radius of 1/2 mile from the centroid of the injection well field. If the
extent of the underground stored water of the ASR project will exceed
the area determined by the 1/2 mile radius as described in this section,
the area of review is the area determined by the projected extent of the
underground stored water as calculated by using site-specific hydroge-
ologic information. In the application for authorization, the applicant
shall provide information on the activities within the area of review in-
cluding the following factors and their adverse impacts, if any, on the
injection operation:

(1) location of all artificial penetrations that penetrate the
interval to be used for aquifer storage and recovery, including but not
limited to: water wells and abandoned water wells from commission
well files or ground water district files; oil and gas wells and saltwater
injection wells from the Railroad Commission of Texas files; and waste
disposal wells/other injection wells from the commission disposal well
files;

(2) completion and construction information, where avail-
able, for identified artificial penetrations;

(3) site specific, significant geologic features, such as faults
and fractures; and

(4) all information required for the consideration of an
aquifer storage and recovery injection well under §331.186(a) of this
title (relating to Additional Requirements).

$331.183.  Construction and Closure Standards.

All Class V aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) injection wells shall be
designed, constructed, completed, and closed to prevent commingling,
through the wellbore and casing, of injection waters with other fluids
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outside of the authorized injection zone; mixing through the wellbore
and casing of fluids from aquifers of substantively different water qual-
ity; and infiltration through the wellbore and casing of water from the
surface into ground water zones.

(1) Plans and specifications. Except as specifically re-
quired in the terms of the Class V injection well authorization, the
drilling and completion of a Class V ASR injection well shall be done
in accordance with the requirements of §331.132 of this title (relating
to Construction Standards) and the closure of a Class V ASR injection
well shall be done in accordance with the requirements of §331.133 of
this title (relating to Closure Standards for Injection Wells).

(A) Ifthe project operator proposes to change the injec-
tion interval to one not reviewed during the authorization process, the
project operator shall notify the executive director immediately. The
project operator may not inject into any unauthorized zone.

(B) The executive director shall be notified immedi-
ately of any other changes, including but not limited to, changes in the
completion of the well, changes in the setting of screens, and changes
in the injection intervals within the authorized injection zone.

(2) Construction materials. Casing materials for Class V
ASR injection wells shall be constructed of materials resistant to cor-
rosion.

(3) Construction and workover supervision. All phases of
any ASR injection well construction, workover or closure shall be su-
pervised by qualified individuals who are knowledgeable and experi-
enced in practical drilling engineering and who are familiar with the
special conditions and requirements of injection well and water well
construction.

(4) An ASR production well, or an ASR injection well that
is also serving as an ASR production well, and is providing water to a
public water system must comply with the applicable requirements for
groundwater sources in §290.41 of this title (relating to Water Sources).

(5) All ASR injection wells and all ASR production wells
associated with a single ASR project must be located:

(A) within a continuous perimeter boundary of one par-
cel of land; or

(B) within two or more adjacent parcels of land under
the common ownership, lease, joint operating agreement, or contract.

$331.184.  Operating Requirements.

(a) All Class V aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) injection
wells shall be operated in such a manner that injection will not endan-
ger drinking water sources. Underground injection endangers drinking
water sources if such injection may result in the presence in under-
ground water which supplies or can reasonably be expected to supply
any public water system of any contaminant, and if the presence of
such contaminant may result in such system's not complying with any
national primary drinking water regulation or may otherwise adversely
affect the health of persons.

(b) Injection pressure at the wellhead shall not exceed a maxi-
mum which shall be calculated so as to assure the pressure in the injec-
tion zone does not cause movement of fluid out of the injection zone.

(¢) The owner or operator of an ASR injection well that has
ceased operations for more than two years shall notify the executive
director 30 days prior to resuming operation of the well.

(d) The owner or operator shall maintain the mechanical in-
tegrity of all wells operated under this section.

(e) The quality of the water injected at an ASR project must
meet the requirements in §331.186(a)(1) of this title (relating to Ad-
ditional Requirements). Water recovered from an ASR project that is
provided to a public water system is subject to all applicable require-
ments, maximum contaminant levels, and treatment techniques under
Chapter 290 of this title (relating to Public Drinking Water).

(f) All ASR injection and ASR production wells must be in-
stalled with a flow meter for measuring the volume of water injected
and the volume of the water recovered.

(g) This subsection only applies to an ASR project that is lo-
cated within the jurisdiction of a groundwater conservation district or
other special-purpose district with the authority to regulate the with-
drawal of groundwater.

(1) An authorization or permit issued under this chapter
may not authorize a volume of water to be recovered that exceeds the
volume of water that is injected or the volume of injected water that the
commission determines can be recovered, whichever is less; and

(2) The requirements of Texas Water Code, Chapter 36,
Subchapter N apply to the volume of water recovered from an ASR
project that exceeds the volume of water the commission determines
can be recovered, and otherwise as applicable.

$§331.185.  Monitoring and Reporting Requirements.

(a) An aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) project operator
shall monitor each ASR injection well and each ASR production well
associated with an ASR project. Each calendar month the project op-
erator shall provide the executive director either a written or electronic
report of the following information for the previous month:

(1) the volume of water injected for storage;
(2) the volume of water recovered for beneficial use;
(3) monthly average injection pressures; and

(4) other information as determined by the executive direc-
tor as necessary for the protection of underground sources of drinking
water.

(b) On an annual basis, an ASR project operator shall perform
water quality testing on water to be injected at an ASR project and on
water that is recovered from that project. The ASR project operator
shall provide the executive director either a written or electronic report
of the results of this testing. The report shall include the test results for
all water quality parameters identified in the individual permit, general
permit, or authorization by rule.

§331.186. Additional Requirements.

(a) The executive director or commission shall consider the
following before issuing an individual permit, a general permit, or an
authorization by rule for an aquifer storage and recovery (ASR) injec-
tion well:

(1) whether the injection of water will comply with the
standards set forth under the federal Safe Drinking Water Act (42
United States Code, §§300f, et seq),

(2) the extent to which the cumulative volume of water in-
jected for storage in the receiving geologic formation can be success-
fully recovered from the geologic formation for beneficial use, taking
into account that the injected water may be comingled to some degree
with native groundwater;

(3) the effect of the ASR project on existing water wells;
and
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(4) whether the introduction of water into the receiving ge-
ologic formation will alter the physical, chemical, or biological quality
of the native groundwater to a degree that would:

(A) render the groundwater produced from the receiv-
ing formation harmful or detrimental to people, animals, vegetation, or
property; or

(B) require an unreasonably higher level of treatment of
the groundwater produced from the receiving geologic formation than
is necessary for the native groundwater in order to render the ground-
water suitable for beneficial use.

(b) Upon completion of an ASR injection well, the following
information shall be submitted to the executive director within 30 days
of receipt of the results of all analyses and test results:

(
(2) all logging and testing data on the well;

—

) as-built drilling and completion data on the well;

(3) formation fluid analyses;
(4) injection fluid analyses;

(5) injectivity and pumping tests determining well capacity
and reservoir characteristics;

(6) hydrogeologic modeling, with supporting data, predict-
ing mixing zone characteristics and injection fluid movement and qual-
ity; and

(7) other information as determined by the executive direc-

tor as necessary for the protection of underground sources of drinking
water.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 29, 2016.
TRD-201602034

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Effective date: May 19, 2016

Proposal publication date: December 25, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ 14 ¢
TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC
ACCOUNTS

CHAPTER 3. TAX ADMINISTRATION
SUBCHAPTER O. STATE AND LOCAL SALES
AND USE TAXES

34 TAC §3.320

The Comptroller of Public Accounts adopts amendments to
§3.320, concerning Texas emissions reduction plan surcharge;
off-road, heavy-duty diesel equipment, with changes to the pro-
posed text as published in the November 6, 2015, issue of the
Texas Register (40 TexReg 7796). This section is amended to
implement House Bill 7 (HB 7), 84th Legislature, 2015. Effective
September 1, 2015, Tax Code, §151.0515(b) (Texas Emissions

Reduction Plan Surcharge) is amended to reduce the off-road,
heavy-duty diesel Texas Emissions Reduction Plan Surcharge
to 1.5%.

Subsection (a) contains definitions. Paragraph (3) is changed
from the proposed rule to correct a typographical error by re-
placing the term "sale price" with the term "sales price."

Subsection (b) addresses the imposition of the surcharge. Sub-
section (b) is changed from the proposed rule. Proposed new
paragraph (4) is deleted and existing paragraphs (4) and (5) are
not renumbered. The proposed language is incorporated into
existing paragraphs.

Paragraph (1) now provides both the new rate of 1.5% and the
previous rate of 2.0% for applicable periods for sales.

Paragraph (2) now provides both the new rate of 1.5% and the
previous rate of 2.0% for applicable periods for financing leases.

Paragraph (3) now provides both the new rate of 1.5% and the
previous rate of 2.0% for applicable periods for operating leases.

Paragraph (4) now provides both the new rate of 1.5% and the
previous rate of 2.0% for applicable periods on equipment pur-
chased, leased, or rented out of state and brought into Texas for
use.

Paragraph (5) is amended to make the paragraph easier to read.

Subsection (c) is amended to correct the name of §3.286 of this
title (relating to Seller's and Purchaser's Responsibilities, includ-
ing Nexus, Permits, Returns and Reporting Periods, and Collec-
tion and Exemption Rules).

Additional minor revisions are adopted in subsection (e) to make
the subsection easier to read.

We received one comment from Ms. Pam Bushnell with Equip-
ment Depot in Waco. The comment recommended amending
the definition of "sales price" in subsection (a)(3) to exclude
charges for transportation and other expenses connected to the
sale, lease, or rental of new or used off-road, heavy-duty diesel
equipment. In her comment, Ms. Bushnell also requested
that Texas rental companies be allowed to collect the reduced
surcharge rate on existing leases executed prior to September
1, 2015, similar to subsection (b)(4), which applies the reduced
rate to off-road, heavy-duty diesel equipment brought into Texas
on or after September 1, 2015, regardless of when the lease
took effect.

After carefully considering Ms. Bushnell's comments, we deter-
mined the suggestions to amend the definition of "sales price"
and to apply the reduced surcharge rate on leases executed prior
to September 1, 2015, were beyond the scope of HB 7. However,
based on Ms. Bushnell's comments, we amended subsection (b)
to clarify the imposition of the surcharge on off-road, heavy-duty
diesel equipment sold, leased, or rented in Texas. Paragraphs
(1) - (3) notify sellers and purchasers the rate is imposed on
Texas sales, leases, or rentals when the purchaser takes pos-
session or title of the equipment. In contrast, the surcharge
for off-road, heavy-duty diesel equipment purchased, leased, or
rented outside the state and brought into Texas for use, is im-
posed at the time the equipment is brought into this state for
use.

This amendment is adopted under Tax Code, §111.002 (Comp-
troller's Rules; Compliance; Forfeiture), which provides the
comptroller with the authority to prescribe, adopt, and enforce
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rules relating to the administration and enforcement of the
provisions of Tax Code, Title 2.

The amendment implements Tax Code, Chapter 151, §151.0515
(Texas Emissions Reduction Plan Surcharge).

$§3.320. Texas Emissions Reduction Plan Surcharge; Off-Road,
Heavy-Duty Diesel Equipment.

(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used
in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Off-road, heavy-duty diesel equipment--Diesel-pow-
ered equipment of 50 horsepower or greater, other than motor vehicles
and equipment used directly in oil and gas exploration and production
at an oil or gas well site. See §3.96 of this title (relating to Imposition
and Collection of a Surcharge on Certain Diesel Powered Motor Vehi-
cles) for information about the imposition of the surcharge on motor
vehicles. Off-road, heavy-duty diesel equipment includes accessories
and attachments sold with the equipment. Off-road, heavy-duty diesel
equipment includes, but is not limited to, the following diesel-powered
equipment:

(A) backhoes;

(B) bore equipment and drilling rigs, except drilling
rigs used to drill oil and gas wells;

(C) bulldozers;
(D) compactors (plate compactors, etc.);
(E) cranes;

(F) crushing and processing equipment (rock and gravel
crushers, etc.);

(G) dumpsters and tenders;

(H) excavators;

(I) forklifts (rough terrain forklifts, etc.);

(J) graders;

(K) light plants (generators) and signal boards;
(L) loaders;

(M) mining equipment;

(N) mixers (cement mixers, mortar mixers, etc.);

(O) off-highway vehicles and other moveable special-
ized equipment (equipment, such as a motorized crane, that does not
meet the definition of a motor vehicle because it is designed to perform
a specialized function rather than designed to transport property or per-
sons other than the driver);

(P) paving equipment (asphalt pavers, concrete pavers,
etc.);

(Q) rammers and tampers;

(R) rollers;

(S) saws (concrete saws, industrial saws, etc.);
(T) scrapers;

(U) surfacing equipment;

(V) tractors; and

(W) trenchers.

(2) Surcharge--A fee imposed on the sale, lease, or rental
in Texas of new or used off-road, heavy-duty diesel equipment and on

the storage, use, or other consumption of such equipment subject to
use tax as provided for in §3.346 of this title (relating to Use Tax).
This surcharge is in addition to state and local sales and use taxes that
are due on the equipment and is for the benefit of the Texas Emissions
Reduction Fund, which is administered by the Texas Commission on
Environmental Quality.

(3) Sales price--The total amount a purchaser pays a
seller for the purchase, lease, or rental of off-road, heavy-duty diesel
equipment as set out in Tax Code, §151.007. The sales price includes
charges for accessories, transportation, installation, services, and other
expenses that are connected to the sale.

(b) Imposition of Surcharge.

(1) A surcharge is due on the sales price of off-road, heavy-
duty diesel equipment sold in Texas. If the purchaser takes possession
of or title to the equipment on or after September 1, 2015, the surcharge
is 1.5% of'the sales price. If the purchaser took possession of or title to
the equipment on or after July 1, 2003, and before September 1, 2015,
the surcharge is 2.0% of the sales price.

(2) A surcharge is due on the sales price, excluding sepa-
rately stated interest charges, of off-road, heavy-duty diesel equipment
leased under a financing lease, as defined in §3.294 of this title (relat-
ing to Rental and Lease of Tangible Personal Property). If the lessee
takes possession of the equipment on or after September 1, 2015, the
surcharge is 1.5% of the sales price. If the lessee took possession of
the equipment on or after July 1, 2003, and before September 1, 2015,
the surcharge is 2.0% of the sales price.

(3) A surcharge is due on the lease payments for off-road,
heavy-duty diesel equipment that is leased under an operating lease,
as defined in §3.294 of this title. If the lessee takes possession of the
equipment on or after September 1, 2015, the surcharge is 1.5% of the
lease payments. If the lessee took possession of the equipment on or
after July 1, 2003, and before September 1, 2015, the surcharge is 2.0%
of the lease payments.

(4) A surcharge is due on the sales price of off-road, heavy-
duty diesel equipment purchased, leased, or rented out of state and
brought into Texas for use. If the purchaser brings the equipment into
Texas for use on or after September 1, 2015, the surcharge is 1.5% of
the sales price. If the purchaser brought the equipment into Texas for
use on or after July 1, 2003, and before September 1, 2015, the sur-
charge is 2.0% of the sales price. See §3.346 of this title.

(5) A 1.0% surcharge is due on off-road, heavy-duty diesel
construction equipment sold, leased, or rented if the purchaser took
possession of or title to the equipment on or after August 31, 2001 and
before July 1, 2003. No surcharge is due on equipment sold, leased, or
rented during this time period if the equipment is subject to use tax or
is used in non-construction activities.

(c) Collection of surcharge. A seller must collect the surcharge
from the purchaser on the sales price of each sale, lease, or rental in
Texas of oft-road, heavy-duty diesel equipment that is not exempt from
sales tax. The surcharge is collected at the same time and in the same
manner as sales or use tax. See §3.286 of this title (relating to Seller's
and Purchaser's Responsibilities, including Nexus, Permits, Returns
and Reporting Periods, and Collection and Exemption Rules) for in-
formation on the collection and remittance of sales or use tax. The
surcharge is collected in addition to state and local sales or use taxes
but is not collected on the amount of the sales or use tax.

(d) Exemptions. No surcharge is collected on the sale, lease,
or rental of off-road, heavy-duty diesel equipment that is exempt from
sales and use tax. A seller who accepts a valid and properly completed
resale or exemption certificate, direct payment exemption certificate,
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or other acceptable proof of exemption from sales and use tax is not
required to collect the surcharge. For example, a seller may accept an
exemption certificate in lieu of collecting sales tax and the surcharge
from a farmer who purchases a bulldozer to be used exclusively in the
construction or maintenance of roads and water facilities on a farm that
produces agricultural products that are sold in the regular course of
business.

(e) Reports and payments.

(1) A seller or purchaser with a surcharge account, includ-
ing a direct payment holder, must report and pay the surcharge in the
same manner as sales or use tax, but separate reports and payments for
the surcharge are required.

(A) A seller's or purchaser's reporting period (i.e.,
monthly, quarterly, or yearly) and due date for the surcharge are deter-
mined by the amount of surcharge that the seller collects or purchaser
owes. See §3.286 of this title.

(B) A purchaser who does not hold a surcharge account
must report and pay the surcharge by the 20th day of the month follow-
ing the month in which the purchaser acquired off-road, heavy-duty
diesel powered equipment on which the seller did not collect the sur-
charge.

(2) A seller or purchaser must report and pay the surcharge
to the comptroller on forms prescribed by the comptroller for the sur-
charge. A seller or purchaser is not relieved of the responsibility for
filing a surcharge report and paying the surcharge by the due date be-
cause the seller or purchaser fails to receive the correct form from the
comptroller.

(3) The penalties and interest imposed for failure to timely
file and pay the surcharge are the same as those imposed for failure
to timely file and pay sales or use tax. Likewise, the 0.5% discount
for timely filing and payment is applicable to surcharge reports and
payments. No prepayment discount will be paid a seller or purchaser
for prepayment of the surcharges.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 27, 2016.

TRD-201602007

Lita Gonzalez

General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Effective date: May 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: November 6, 2015

For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387
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PART 3. TEACHER RETIREMENT
SYSTEM OF TEXAS

CHAPTER 31. EMPLOYMENT AFTER
RETIREMENT

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
34 TAC §31.1

The Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS) adopts amend-
ments to §31.1, which provides definitions to certain terms ap-

plicable to Chapter 31, including school year, substitute, and
third-party entity for purposes of employment after retirement.
The amended rule is adopted without changes to the proposed
rule text as published in the March 4, 2016, issue of the Texas
Register (41 TexReg 1662).

The amended rule modifies §31.1(b) regarding the definition of
a substitute to include work in a vacant position, provided the re-
tiree does not serve more than 20 days in a vacant position or
positions. The 20-day cap on working in a vacant position will al-
low ample time for a retiree to discover that the position is vacant
and/or for the employer to make other arrangements for the as-
signment without jeopardizing the retiree's annuity. Limiting the
number of days the retiree may serve in a vacant position is also
in keeping with the concept of a substitute being a person who
serves on a "temporary basis." The amended rule also clarifies
that a retiree will not be considered a substitute while serving in
a vacant position that was last held by that retiree. The amend-
ments also incorporate the requirement in §824.602(a)(1) that a
retiree may work without limit as a substitute only if the pay is
not more than the daily rate of substitute pay established by the
employer.

No comments were received on the rule proposal.

Statutory Authority: The amended rule is adopted under
§824.601 of the Government Code, which authorizes TRS to
adopt rules necessary for administering Chapter 824, Subchap-
ter G, of the Government Code concerning loss of benefits on
resumption of service, and §825.102 of the Government Code,
which authorizes the board to adopt rules for the administration
of the funds of the retirement system.

Cross-Reference to Statute: The adopted amendments affect
Government Code, §824.601, which provides for loss of annuity
by any service or disability retiree who works for a TRS-covered
employer unless such employment is exempted by law from for-
feiture of annuity; Government Code; §824.602, which sets forth
the exceptions to the loss of monthly annuities of retirees em-
ployed in Texas public educational institutions; §824.6022, which
requires employers to file a monthly certified statement of em-
ployment of retirees and makes it an offense for an administrator
who is responsible for filing such a statement to knowingly fail to
do so; §825.4092, which provides for a pension surcharge for
re-employed retirees; and Insurance Code, §1575.204, which
provides for a retiree health benefit (TRS-Care) surcharge for
re-employed retirees.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on April 26, 2016.

TRD-201601982

Brian K. Guthrie

Executive Director

Teacher Retirement System of Texas

Effective date: May 16, 2016

Proposal publication date: March 4, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 542-6438
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TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE
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PART 19. DEPARTMENT OF FAMILY
AND PROTECTIVE SERVICES

CHAPTER 700. CHILD PROTECTIVE
SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER P. SERVICES AND BENEFITS
FOR TRANSITION PLANNING TO A
SUCCESSFUL ADULTHOOD

DIVISION 3. TEXAS TUITION AND FEE
WAIVER FOR YOUTH RETURNING TO A
PARENT

40 TAC §700.1630

The Health and Human Services Commission adopts, on behalf
of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS),
new §700.1630 without changes to the proposed text published
in the March 4, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg
1664). Current law allows youth who exit foster care prior to
their 18th birthday to a non-parent managing conservator to po-
tentially qualify for the Texas Tuition and Fee waiver. However,
youth who exit foster care to a parent's permanent managing
conservatorship do not. Since the Texas Tuition and Fee Waiver
is a valuable benefit there is a disincentive for youth to exit foster
care to a parent's care prior to turning 18 because if the youth
ages out of DFPS conservatorship he or she can potentially qual-
ify for the waiver. Senate Bill (SB) 206, Section 3, 84th Legis-
lature, Regular Session, was enacted to help alleviate this is-
sue and promote permanency by allowing youth who return to
a parent whether parental rights have been terminated or not to
qualify for the Texas Tuition and Fee Waiver. The rules were
drafted in consultation with the Texas Higher Education Coordi-
nating Board as required by SB 206, Section 3.

New §700.1630 specifies the eligibility criteria for the Texas Tu-
ition and Fee Waiver when the youth is returned to a parent,
including the starting age for youth. DFPS proposes: (1) the
starting age of 14 for those in permanent managing conserva-
torship of DFPS as this is a pivotal age for youth; and (2) the

starting age of 16 or older for those in temporary managing con-
servatorship (TMC) as the potential length of a TMC case could
be close to 24 months (when a monitored return occurs) until the
case is either dismissed or the department is named permanent
managing conservator. Also the title to Subchapter P is changed
to "Services and Benefits for Transition Planning to a Successful
Adulthood."

The section will function so that more former foster care youth will
attend college which will assist youth in building an independent
and successful life.

No comments were received regarding adoption of the section.

The new section is adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The new section implements Senate Bill 206, Section 3, as cod-
ified at Texas Education Code §54.366(c).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 2, 2016.

TRD-201602080

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: June 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: March 4, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-2611
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