
TITLE 13. CULTURAL RESOURCES 

PART 2. TEXAS HISTORICAL 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 13. ADMINISTRATION OF THE 
STATE FRANCHISE TAX CREDITS FOR 
CERTIFIED REHABILITATION OF CERTIFIED 
HISTORIC STRUCTURES 
13 TAC §§13.1, 13.2, 13.6 
The Texas Historical Commission proposes amendments to 13 
TAC §13.1, relating to Definitions, §13.2, relating to Qualifica-
tion Requirements, and §13.6, relating to the application review 
process. These changes are necessary to clarify the circum-
stances under which lessees may be eligible to apply for the 
franchise tax credit, to clarify requirements for non-profit entities 
newly allowed to participate in the program, and to allow certain 
partial rehabilitations to participate in the program. 

Section 13.1 defines the words and terms used in the rules. The 
proposed amendment to that section specifies which long-term 
lessees may be considered to be an owner of a property and 
thus may become eligible to receive a tax credit. The require-
ment proposed is consistent with the requirements of Internal 
Revenue Code §47(c)(2). A long-term lessee of a property may 
be considered an owner if their current lease term is at minimum 
27.5 years for residential rental property, or 39 years for nonres-
idential real property. 

The proposed amendment to §13.2 implements changes to the 
Tax Code made by House Bill 3230, 84th Texas Legislature. This 
legislation established that entities not subject to the franchise 
tax under §171.063, Tax Code, are not ineligible to claim eligible 
costs and expenses as part of the tax credit program. Although 
this policy change was directly addressed by a previous amend-
ment to §13.1, eligibility for these projects is secondarily con-
strained by an existing rule in §13.2 that disqualifies applicants 
if they fail to submit an application prior to project completion. 
Some otherwise eligible projects could be incidentally disquali-
fied by this provision due to the timing of the legislative change. 
The proposed amendment to §13.2 will waive this requirement 
only for the affected projects in the calendar year between the 
date when this program went into effect, and the date when H.B. 
3230 went into effect, thus eliminating this inconsistency and en-
suring these projects will remain eligible. 

Section 13.6 describes the application review process and fur-
ther specifies how the scope of the project may be defined for 
review purposes. The third proposed amendment will, under cer-

tain circumstances, allow portions of a larger scope of work to be 
considered as an individual project. 

Mark Wolfe, Executive Director, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the amended rules are in effect there will be no 
fiscal implications for state or local government as a result of en-
forcing or administering the rules. There will be no fiscal impact 
on small or micro businesses. 

Mr. Wolfe has also determined that for each year of the first 
five-year period these amended rules are in effect the public ben-
efit anticipated will be an increased efficiency and effectiveness 
in the implementation of the Texas Administrative Code. Addi-
tionally, Mr. Wolfe has determined that there will be no effect on 
small businesses. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Mark Wolfe, Ex-
ecutive Director, Texas Historical Commission, P.O. Box 12276, 
Austin, Texas 78711. Comments will be accepted for 30 days 
after publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Government Code 
§442.005 and Texas Tax Code §171.909, which provide the 
Commission with authority to promulgate rules that will reason-
ably effect the purposes of those chapters. 

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by these 
amendments. 

§13.1. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in these rules shall have the 
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

(1) Applicant--The entity that has submitted an application 
for a building or structure it owns or for which it has a contract to 
purchase. 

(2) Application--A fully completed Texas Historic Preser-
vation Tax Credit Certification Application form submitted to the Com-
mission, which includes three parts: 

(A) Part A - Evaluation of Significance, to be used by 
the Commission to make a determination whether the building is a cer-
tified historic structure; 

(B) Part B - Description of Rehabilitation, to be used by 
the Commission to review proposed projects for compliance with the 
Standards for Rehabilitation; and 

(C) Part C - Request for Certification of Completed 
Work, to be used by the Commission to review completed projects for 
compliance with the work approved under Part B. 

(3) Application fee--The fee charged by the Commission 
and paid by the applicant for the review of Part B and Part C of the 
application as follows: 
Figure: 13 TAC §13.1(3) (No change.) 
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(4) Audited cost report--Such documentation as defined by 
the Comptroller in 34 TAC Chapter 3, Tax Administration. 

(5) Building--Any edifice enclosing a space within its 
walls, and usually covered by a roof, the purpose of which is prin-
cipally to shelter any form of human activity, such as shelter or 
housing, or to provide working, office, parking, display, or sales space. 
The term includes among other examples, banks, office buildings, 
factories, warehouses, barns, railway or bus stations, and stores and 
may also be used to refer to a historically and functionally related 
unit, such as a courthouse and jail or a house and barn. Functional 
constructions made usually for purposes other than creating human 
shelter or activity such as bridges, windmills, and towers are not 
considered buildings under this definition and are not eligible to be 
certified historic structures. 

(6) Certificate of eligibility--A document issued by the 
Commission to the Owner, following review and approval of a Part C 
application, that confirms the property to which the eligible costs and 
expenses relate is a certified historic structure and the rehabilitation 
qualifies as a certified rehabilitation; and specifies the date the certified 
historic structure was first placed in service after the rehabilitation. 

(7) Certified historic structure--A building or buildings lo-
cated on a property in Texas that is certified by the Commission as: 

(A) listed individually in the National Register of His-
toric Places; 

(B) designated as a Recorded Texas Historic Landmark 
under §442.006, Texas Government Code, or as a State Antiquities 
Landmark under Chapter 191, Texas Natural Resources Code; §21.6 
and §26.3(63) - (64) of this title; or 

(C) certified by the Commission as contributing to the 
historic significance of: 

(i) a historic district listed in the National Register 
of Historic Places; or 

(ii) a certified local district as per 36 CFR §67.9. 

(8) Certified local district--A local historic district certified 
by the United States Department of the Interior in accordance with 36 
C.F.R. §67.9. 

(9) Certified rehabilitation--The rehabilitation of a certified 
historic structure that the Commission has certified as meeting the Stan-
dards for Rehabilitation. If the project is submitted for the federal re-
habilitation tax credit it must be reviewed by the National Park Service 
prior to a determination that it meets the requirements for a certificated 
rehabilitation under this rule. In the absence of a determination for the 
federal rehabilitation tax credit, the Commission shall have the sole re-
sponsibility for certifying the project. 

(10) Commission--The Texas Historical Commission. For 
the purpose of notifications or filing of any applications or other cor-
respondence, delivery shall be made via postal mail to: Texas His-
toric Preservation Tax Credit Program, Texas Historical Commission, 
P.O. Box 12276, Austin, Texas 78711-2276; or by overnight delivery 
at: Texas Historic Preservation Tax Credit Program, Texas Historical 
Commission, 1700 North Congress Avenue, Suite B-65, Austin, Texas 
78701. 

(11) Comptroller--The Texas Comptroller of Public Ac-
counts. 

(12) Contributing--A building in a historic district consid-
ered to be historically, culturally, or architecturally significant accord-
ing to the criteria established by state or federal government, includ-
ing those formally promulgated by the National Park Service and the 

United States Department of the Interior at 36 C.F.R. Part 60 and ap-
plicable National Register bulletins. 

(13) Credit--The tax credit for the certified rehabilitation 
of certified historic structures available pursuant to Chapter 171, Sub-
chapter S of the Texas Tax Code. 

(14) District--A geographically definable area, urban or ru-
ral, possessing a significant concentration, linkage, or continuity of 
sites, buildings, structures, or objects united by past events or aesthet-
ically by plan or physical development. A district may also comprise 
individual elements separated geographically but linked by association 
or history. 

(15) Eligible costs and expenses--The qualified rehabilita-
tion expenditures as defined by §47(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, in-
cluding rehabilitation expenses as set out in 26 C.F.R. §1.48-12(c), in-
curred during the project. The depreciation and tax-exempt use provi-
sions of §47(c)(2) do not apply to the costs and expenses incurred by 
an entity exempt from the tax imposed by §171.063 of the Tax Code. 

(16) Federal rehabilitation tax credit--A federal income tax 
credit for 20% of qualified rehabilitation expenditures with respect to 
a certified historic structure, as defined in §47, Internal Revenue Code; 
26 C.F.R. §1.48-12; and 36 C.F.R. Part 67. 

(17) National Park Service--The agency of the U.S. De-
partment of the Interior that is responsible for certifying projects to 
receive the federal rehabilitation tax credit. 

(18) Owner--A person, partnership, company, corporation, 
whether for profit or not, governmental body, or other entity holding a 
legal or equitable interest in a Property or Structure, which can include 
a full or partial ownership interest. A long-term lessee of a property 
may be considered an owner if their current lease term is at minimum 
27.5 years for residential rental property, or 39 years for nonresidential 
real property, as referenced by §47(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code. 

(19) Phased development--A rehabilitation project which 
may reasonably be expected to be completed in two or more distinct 
states of development, as defined by United States Treasury Regula-
tion 26 C.F.R. §1.48-12(b)(2)(v). Each phase of a phased development 
can independently support an Application for a credit as though it was 
a stand-alone rehabilitation. If any completed phase of the rehabilita-
tion project does not meet the requirements of a certified rehabilitation, 
future applications by the same owner for the same certified historic 
structure will not be considered. 

(20) Placed in service--A status obtained upon completion 
of the rehabilitation project when the building is ready to be reoccupied 
and any permits and licenses needed to occupy the building have been 
issued. Evidence of the date a property is placed in service includes a 
certificate of occupancy issued by the local building official and/or an 
architect's certificate of substantial completion. 

(21) Property--A parcel of real property containing one or 
more buildings or structures that is the subject of an application for a 
credit. 

(22) Rehabilitation--The process of returning a building or 
buildings to a state of utility, through repair or alteration, which makes 
possible an efficient use while retaining those portions and features of 
the building and its site and environment which are significant. 

(23) Rehabilitation plan--Descriptions, drawings, con-
struction plans, and specifications for the proposed rehabilitation of a 
certified historic structure in sufficient detail to enable the Commission 
to evaluate compliance with the Standards for Rehabilitation. 
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(24) Standards for Rehabilitation--The United States Sec-
retary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation as defined in 36 
C.F.R. §67.7. 

(25) Structure--A building; see also certified historic struc-
ture. 

§13.2. Qualification Requirements. 

(a) Qualification for credit. 

(1) An Owner is eligible for a credit for eligible costs and 
expenses incurred in the certified rehabilitation of a certified historic 
structure if: 

(A) the rehabilitated certified historic structure is placed 
in service on or after September 1, 2013; 

(B) the Owner has an ownership interest in the certified 
historic structure in the year during which the structure is placed in 
service after the rehabilitation; and 

(C) the total amount of the eligible costs and expenses 
incurred exceeds $5,000. 

(2) A property for which eligible costs and expenses are 
submitted for the credit must meet Internal Revenue Code §47(c)(2) 
which includes: 

(A) non-residential real property; or 

(B) residential rental property. 

(b) Eligible costs and expenses. Eligible costs and expenses 
means those costs and expenses allowed pursuant to Internal Revenue 
Code §47(c)(2). Such eligible costs and expenses, include, but are not 
limited to: 

(1) expenditures associated with structural components as 
defined by United States Treasury Regulation §1.48-1(e)(2) including 
walls, partitions, floors, ceilings, windows and doors, stairs, elevators, 
escalators, sprinkling systems, fire escapes, components of central air 
conditioning, heating, plumbing, and electrical systems and other com-
ponents related to the operation or maintenance of the building; 

(2) architectural services; 

(3) engineering services; 

(4) construction management and labor, materials, and rea-
sonable overhead; 

(5) subcontracted services; 

(6) development fees; 

(7) construction period interest and taxes; and 

(8) other items referenced in Internal Revenue Code 
§47(c)(2). 

(c) Ineligible costs and expenses. Eligible costs and expenses 
as defined in Internal Revenue Code §47(c)(2) do not include the fol-
lowing: 

(1) the cost of acquiring any interest in the property; 

(2) the personal labor by the applicant; 

(3) any cost associated with the enlargement of an existing 
building; 

(4) site work expenditures, including any landscaping, 
sidewalks, paving, decks, outdoor lighting remote from the building, 
fencing, retaining walls or similar expenditures; or 

(5) any cost associated with the rehabilitation of an out-
building or ancillary structure unless it is certified by the Commission 
to contribute to the historical significance of the property. 

(d) Eligibility date for costs and expenses. 

(1) If the rehabilitated certified historic structure is placed 
in service on or after September 1, 2013, but before January 1, 2015, 
the Application may include eligible costs and expenses for the project 
incurred up to 60 months prior to the date the property is placed in 
service. 

(2) If the rehabilitated certified historic structure is placed 
in service on or after January 1, 2015, Part A of the Texas Historic 
Preservation Tax Credit Certification Application must be submitted 
prior to the building being placed in service. Projects completed on or 
after January 1, 2015, but before January 1, 2016, are exempt from this 
requirement only if their costs and expenses were incurred by an entity 
exempt from the tax imposed by §171.063 of the Tax Code within a 60 
month period prior to the building's placed in service date. 

(3) While the credit may be claimed for eligible costs and 
expenses incurred prior to the filing of an application, potential appli-
cants are urged to file Parts A and B of the application at the earliest 
possible date. This will allow the Commission to review the applica-
tion and provide guidance to the applicant that will increase the chances 
that the application will ultimately be approved and the credit received. 

(e) Phased development. Part B applications for rehabilita-
tion of the same certified historic structure may be submitted by the 
same owner only if they describe clearly defined phases of work that 
align with a cost report that separates the eligible costs and expenses 
by phase. Separate Part B and C applications shall be submitted for re-
view by the Commission prior to issuance of a certificate of eligibility 
for each phase. 

(f) Amount of credit. The total amount of credit available is 
twenty-five percent (25%) of the aggregate eligible costs and expenses 
incurred in the certified rehabilitation of the certified historic structure. 

§13.6. Application Review Process. 
(a) Application form. The Commission staff will develop the 

application and may modify it as needed over time. All required forms, 
including application Parts A, B, C, and amendment forms, are avail-
able from the Commission at no cost. 

(b) Delivery. Applications will be accepted beginning on Jan-
uary 1, 2015 and continuously thereafter. Applications should be de-
livered to the Commission by mail, hand delivery, or courier service. 
Faxed or emailed applications will not be accepted. 

(c) Application Part A - Evaluation of Significance. Part A 
of the application will be used by the Commission to confirm historic 
designation or to determine if the property is eligible for qualification 
as a certified historic structure. 

(1) If a property is individually listed in the National Regis-
ter of Historic Places or designated as a Recorded Texas Historic Land-
mark or State Antiquities Landmark, the property is qualified as a cer-
tified historic structure. 

(2) The applicant will be responsible for providing suffi-
cient information to the Commission with which the Commission staff 
may make a determination. If all requested information is not provided 
to make a determination that a building is eligible for designation as a 
certified historic structure, the staff may request additional information 
from the applicant. If the additional information requested is not pro-
vided in a timely manner, the application will be considered incomplete 
and review of the application will be placed on hold until sufficient in-
formation is received. 
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(3) The Commission staff review of Part A of a complete 
application, unless otherwise provided in §13.8 of this title, and shall 
notify the applicant in writing of any determination it makes upon com-
pleting the review of Part A of the application. 

(4) There is no fee to review Part A of the application. 

(d) Application Part B - Description of Rehabilitation. Part B 
of the application will be used by the Commission to review proposed 
projects for compliance with the Standards for Rehabilitation. 

(1) The applicant will be responsible for providing suffi-
cient information, including photographs taken prior to the project, to 
the Commission with which the Commission staff may make a deter-
mination. If all requested information is not provided to make a deter-
mination that a project is eligible as a certified rehabilitation, staff may 
request additional information from the applicant, usually required to 
be submitted within 30 days. If the additional information requested 
is not provided in a timely manner, the application will be considered 
incomplete and review of the application will be placed on hold until 
sufficient information is received. 

(2) The Commission staff will review Part B of a complete 
application, unless otherwise provided in §13.8 of this title, and shall 
notify the applicant in writing of any determination it makes upon com-
pleting the review of Part B of the application. In reviewing Part B of 
the application, the Commission shall determine if Part B is approved 
or not as follows: 

(A) Consistent with the Standards for Rehabilitation as 
determined by the Commission. If all aspects of the Part B of the appli-
cation meet the standards for rehabilitation, no additional information 
is required, and no conditions are imposed on the work, Part B is ap-
proved. 

(B) Consistent with the Standards for Rehabilitation 
with specific conditions of work required. The Commission may 
determine that the work described in the plan must be performed in 
a specific manner or with specific materials in order to fully comply 
with the Standards for Rehabilitation. In such cases, the Part B may 
be approved with specific conditions required. For applications found 
to be consistent with the Standards for Rehabilitation with specific 
conditions required, the applicant shall provide written acceptance 
to the Commission of all specific conditions required. Otherwise the 
application will be determined to be not consistent with the Standards 
for Rehabilitation; applications found to be consistent with the Stan-
dards for Rehabilitation with specific conditions required may proceed 
with the work but will only be eligible for the credit if the conditions 
listed are met as part of the rehabilitation work. Failure to follow the 
conditions may result in a determination by the Commission that the 
project is not consistent with the Standards for Rehabilitation; or 

(C) Not consistent with the Standards for Rehabilita-
tion. Applications found not to be consistent with the Standards for Re-
habilitation will be considered to be ineligible applications; the Com-
mission shall make recommendations to the applicant that might bring 
the project into conformance with the Standards for Rehabilitation, 
however no warranty is made that the recommendations will bring the 
project into compliance with the Standards for Rehabilitation; the ap-
plicant may reapply and it will be treated as a new application and will 
be subject to a new application fee. 

(3) An application fee is required to be received by the 
Commission before Commission review of Part B of the application. 
The fee is based on the estimated amount of eligible costs and expenses 
listed by the applicant on Part B of the application. 

(A) Applicants must submit the fee with their Part B 
application or the application will be placed on hold until the fee is 

received. The fee is calculated according to a fee schedule approved 
by the Commission and included in the application. 

(B) The fee is based on the estimated aggregate eligi-
ble costs and expenses indicated in the Part B application and is not 
refundable. Resubmission of a rejected application or under any other 
circumstances will require a new fee. Amendments to a pending appli-
cation or approved project do not require additional fees. 

(4) Amendment Sheet. Changes to the project not antic-
ipated in the original application shall be submitted to the Commis-
sion on an amendment sheet and must be approved by the Commission 
as consistent with the Standards for Rehabilitation before they are in-
cluded in the project. The Commission shall review the amendment 
sheet and issue a determination in writing regarding whether or not the 
proposed change in the project is consistent with the Standards for Re-
habilitation. 

(5) Scope of Review. The review encompasses the build-
ing's site and environment as well as any buildings that were function-
ally related historically. Therefore, any new construction and site im-
provements occurring on the historic property are considered part of 
the project. Individual condominiums or commercial spaces within a 
larger historic building are not considered individual properties apart 
from the whole. The scope of review for a project is not limited to the 
work that qualifies as an eligible expense. Likewise, all work com-
pleted by the current owner twenty-four (24) months before the sub-
mission of the application is considered part of the project, as is the cu-
mulative effect of any work in previously completed or future phases. 

(A) An applicant may elect to apply to receive the credit 
on only the exterior portions of a larger project that includes other work, 
in which case the scope of review will be limited to the exterior work. 
For properties that are individually listed on the National Register of 
Historic Places, are designated as a Recorded Texas Historic Landmark 
or State Antiquities Landmark, or determined to be eligible for these 
designations, the scope of review must also include primary interior 
spaces. 

(B) For these projects described above, all work com-
pleted by the current owner twenty-four (24) months before the sub-
mission of the application, and within the same scope of review (e.g. 
exterior and/or primary interior) is considered part of the project, as is 
the cumulative effect of any work in previously completed or future 
phases within the same scope of review. 

(e) Application Part C - Request for Certification of Com-
pleted Work. Part C of the application will be used by the Commission 
to review completed projects for compliance with the work approved 
under Part B. 

(1) The applicant shall file Part C of the application after 
the building is placed in service. 

(2) The applicant will be responsible for providing suffi-
cient information, including photographs before and after the project, 
to the Commission by which the Commission staff may verify com-
pliance with the approved Part B. If all requested information is not 
provided to make a determination that a project is eligible as a certified 
rehabilitation, the application is incomplete and review of the applica-
tion will be placed on hold until sufficient information is received. 

(3) The Commission staff will review Part C of a complete 
application, unless otherwise provided in §13.8 of this title, and shall 
notify the applicant in writing of any determination it makes upon com-
pleting the review of Part C of the application. 

(A) If the completed project is found to be in compli-
ance with the approved Part B and any required conditions and consis-
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tent with the Standards for Rehabilitation, and the building is a certified 
historic structure at the time of the application, the Commission shall 
approve the project. The Commission then shall issue to the applicant a 
certificate of eligibility that confirms the property to which the eligible 
costs and expenses relate is a certified historic structure and the reha-
bilitation qualifies as a certified rehabilitation and specifies the date the 
certified historic structure was first placed in service after the rehabili-
tation. 

(B) If the completed project is not consistent with the 
Standards for Rehabilitation, with the approved Part B, and/or the spe-
cific conditions required, and the project cannot, in the opinion of the 
Commission, be brought into compliance, or if the building is not a cer-
tified historic structure at the time of the application, then the Commis-
sion shall deny Part C of the application and no certificate of eligibility 
shall be issued. 

(C) If the completed project is not consistent with the 
Standards for Rehabilitation, with the approved Part B, and/or the spe-
cific conditions required, and the project can, in the opinion of the 
Commission, be brought into compliance, the Commission may issue 
remedial conditions that will bring the project into compliance. The 
applicant shall complete the remedial work and file an amended Part 
C. If the remedial work, in the opinion of the Commission, brings the 
project into compliance, then the Commission shall issue a certificate 
of eligibility. 

(4) An application fee is charged before Commission re-
view of the Part C of the application based on the amount of eligible 
costs and expenses listed by applicant on Part C of the application. 

(A) Applicants must submit the fee with their Part C 
application or the application will be placed on hold until the fee is 
received. The fee is calculated according to a fee schedule approved 
by the Commission and included in the application. 

(B) The fee is based on the eligible costs and expenses 
as indicated in the audited cost report and is not refundable. Resub-
mission of a rejected application or under any other circumstances will 
require a new fee. Amendments do not require additional fees. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2016. 
TRD-201602168 
Mark Wolfe 
Executive Director 
Texas Historical Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-6094 

CHAPTER 19. TEXAS MAIN STREET 
PROGRAM 
13 TAC §19.1, §19.5 
The Texas Historical Commission (THC) proposes amendments 
to §19.1 and §19.5 of Chapter 19 (Title 13, Part 2 of the Texas 
Administrative Code) relating to the Texas Main Street Program 
("the program"). 

The Texas Historical Commission's Texas Main Street Program 
is the agency's responsibility under §442.014, Title 4 Subtitle D 
of the Texas Government Code. The Texas Main Street Pro-

gram utilizes a national model established by the National Trust 
for Historic Preservation and the agency has been the state coor-
dinating program for thirty-five years. Administration of the pro-
gram must comply with the requirements of the national Main 
Street America program. Local communities in Texas wishing 
to participate in the program must apply and participate under 
the auspices of the Texas Historical Commission. Currently, 
eighty-seven communities with populations from approximately 
1,800 to 325,000 actively participate in the program statewide. 

The purpose of the Texas Main Street Program is to assist com-
munities in the preservation and revitalization of their historic 
downtowns and commercial neighborhood districts. The Main 
Street Approach advocates a return to community self-reliance, 
local empowerment and the rebuilding of traditional commercial 
districts based on their unique assets: distinctive architecture, a 
pedestrian-friendly environment, personal service, local owner-
ship and a sense of community. The Main Street Approach is a 
comprehensive strategy tailored to meet local needs and oppor-
tunities. It encompasses work in four distinct areas combined 
to address all of the commercial district's needs. The model is 
based on the premise of a local organization of volunteers led 
by a local professional manager working in cooperation with the 
city and business communities. The Texas Historical Commis-
sion provides training, technical, and organizational assistance 
to the local participants. 

The amendment of Chapter 19 is proposed to clarify language 
in the administration of the Texas Main Street Program. The Na-
tional Trust for Historic Preservation, through its non-profit sub-
sidiary the National Main Street Center has revised nomencla-
ture within their Main Street America model of the program. For 
consistency, the amended §19.1 and §19.5 will refer to the Main 
Street Approach rather than the specific points for which nomen-
clature has changed and may change again in the future. 

Mark Wolfe, Executive Director, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the amended rules are in effect there will be no 
fiscal implications for state or local government as a result of 
enforcing or administering these rules. 

Mr. Wolfe has determined for each year of the first five-year 
period the amendment of the rules are in effect the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of the amendment of the existing rules will 
be an increased clarity of the administration of the Texas Main 
Street Program. Additionally, Mr. Wolfe has determined there 
will be no effect on small or micro businesses. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Mark Wolfe, Ex-
ecutive Director, Texas Historical Commission, P.O. Box 12276, 
Austin, Texas 78711-2276. Comments will be accepted for 30 
days after publication in the Texas Register. 

Amendment of §19.1 and §19.5 of Chapter 19 (Title 13, Part 2 of 
the Texas Administrative Code) relating to the Texas Main Street 
Program ("the program") is proposed under §442.005(q), Title 4 
Subtitle D of the Texas Government Code, which provides the 
Texas Historical Commission with the authority to promulgate 
rules and conditions to reasonably effect the purposes of this 
chapter. 

The proposal of these amended rules implements §442.014 of 
the Texas Government Code. 

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by these 
amendments. 

§19.1. Object. 

PROPOSED RULES May 20, 2016 41 TexReg 3575 



♦ ♦ ♦ 

(a) The Texas Historical Commission (Commission) is specif-
ically empowered to designate and provide assistance to Texas cities 
through the Texas Main Street Program. 

(b) The mission of the Texas Main Street Program is to as-
sist Texas communities in the preservation and revitalization of historic 
downtowns and commercial neighborhood districts in accordance with 
the national [National] Main Street [Four Point] Approach [of organi-
zation, economic restructuring, design, and promotion]. 

§19.5. Assistance Provided. 

(a) Training. Each new Texas Main Street City will receive 
at no charge basic training for its Main Street manager at the begin-
ning of the program. All new Main Street boards will receive at no 
charge comprehensive board training at the beginning of their city's 
Main Street Program. Additional training and continuing education 
is available throughout a city's participation in the Texas Main Street 
Program. Provisional and affiliate participants may receive training 
through the program subject to available Commission resources. 

(b) Technical assistance. Each Texas Main Street City receives 
technical assistance and training in the Main Street Approach [areas of 
design, economic restructuring, promotion and organization]. Provi-
sional and affiliate participants receive technical assistance at the dis-
cretion of the program subject to available Commission resources. 

(c) Main Street network. Each Texas Main Street City is eligi-
ble to receive Texas Main Street publications and participate in Texas 
Main Street networking opportunities. Provisional and affiliate partic-
ipants are eligible for the Main Street network. 

(d) Fees. Participants in the Texas Main Street Program will 
pay a fee for participation in the program. The amount of the fee is 
determined by the Commission. After a city's [cities] acceptance into 
the program, any subsequent fees based on population shall be based 
on the most recent decennial census. The Commission may waive the 
fee for a Texas Main Street Small City in their first three years of par-
ticipation. 

(e) Main Street Status. In order to remain a Texas Main Street 
City, the community must be certified on an annual basis by the Texas 
Main Street office to confirm that the community meets all of the re-
quirements for designation. 

(f) Reclassification. Participants shall be reclassified as nec-
essary between Texas Main Street Small City and Texas Main Street 
Urban City based on the most recent decennial census. Changes in 
fees necessitated by reclassification of a city shall be assessed upon the 
following year's renewal. The Commission may establish a fee sched-
ule in subsection (d) of this section that graduates fee increases caused 
by reclassification. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 4, 2016. 
TRD-201602169 
Mark Wolfe 
Executive Director 
Texas Historical Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-2315 

CHAPTER 24. RESTRICTED CULTURAL 
RESOURCE INFORMATION 
13 TAC §§24.7, 24.13, 24.15, 24.17, 24.19 
The Texas Historical Commission (THC) proposes amendments 
to 13 TAC Chapter 24, §24.7 concerning Definitions, §24.13 
concerning Restricted Information, §24.15 concerning Access 
to Both Public and Restricted Cultural Resource Information, 
§24.17 concerning Criteria for Access to Restricted Information, 
and §24.19 concerning Restricted Information Application Sub-
mission and Review Procedures. These changes are needed to 
further clarify the conditions and procedures related to access 
to restricted information under the control of the Commission. 

Mark Wolfe, Executive Director, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the amended rules are in effect there will be no 
fiscal implications for state or local government as a result of 
enforcing or administering these rule amendments. 

Mr. Wolfe has also determined that for each year of the first 
five-year period the rule amendments are in effect the public 
benefit anticipated as a result of these amendments will be im-
proved care of site locational information associated with cultural 
resources in the State of Texas. Additionally, Mr. Wolfe as deter-
mined that there will be no effect on small businesses, and there 
is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to 
comply with these rule amendments as proposed. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Mark Wolfe, Ex-
ecutive Director, Texas Historical Commission, P.O. Box 12276, 
Austin, Texas 78711. Comments will be accepted for 30 days 
after publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Title 9, Chapter 191 of the 
Texas Natural Resources Code, which provides the Commission 
with authority to promulgate rules that will reasonably effect the 
purposes of this chapter. 

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by these pro-
posed amendments. 

§24.7. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Access account--Confidential transaction record veri-
fying an individual's identity and authority to access the restricted in-
formation within the THSA database. 

(2) Access agreement--A contract signed or otherwise ac-
cepted by all users of RCRI, which states that they agree to comply 
with the rules governing the use of RCRI, including the restricted data 
contained within the THSA database. 

(3) Access committee--The RCRI Access Committee. A 
standing committee composed of the Director of the Archeology Divi-
sion, the Director of the History Programs Division, the State Marine 
Archeologist, and the Director of the Texas Archeological Research 
Laboratory of the University of Texas at Austin, or their designees, 
which has the authority to determine an applicant's qualification for 
access to restricted information, and the ability to grant or deny such 
access. 

(4) Agency--A department, commission, board, office or 
other federal or state governmental agency body. 

(5) Applicant--An individual who submits an application 
request for access to RCRI data sources, including the THSA database. 
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(6) Application [form]--The personal data submitted 
[completed information packet filed] by an applicant being considered 
for access privileges to RCRI. 

(7) Cultural resource information--Data pertaining to cul-
tural resources, including but not limited to site records, reports, loca-
tion information, notes, photographs, and maps. 

(8) Atlas--The Texas Historic Sites Atlas (THSA). 

(9) Cultural resource--A site or place where there is phys-
ical evidence of past human activities, such as structures, shipwrecks, 
artifacts or alterations of the natural environment, and which is fifty or 
more years old. 

(10) Curriculum vitae--Brief account of the applicant's ca-
reer and qualifications. 

(11) Database--Structured information and data contained 
in a computer file. 

(12) Legitimate scientific or legal interest--An interest 
based on specific research goals associated with professional archeo-
logical, historical, or architectural research as defined in Chapter 191 
of the Texas Natural Resources Code, or [legal jurisdiction directly 
related to] ownership and management of sites classified as restricted 
under this title. 

[(A) Firms engaged in the business of cultural resource 
management for profit that do not have a qualified staff archeologist do 
not have a legitimate scientific or legal interest.] 

[(B) Entities granted access to RCRI solely on the basis 
of ownership shall be granted access only to information on the sites 
they actually own, to the extent it is practical to limit such access. They 
shall not be granted statewide access to the restricted portion of the 
THSA.] 

[(C) Technical support personnel working with and un-
der the supervision of a currently authorized RCRI user that has a le-
gitimate scientific or legal interest.] 

[(D) College students must submit a letter from a spon-
soring professor, verifying their need to access the restricted data of 
the THSA together with the RCRI application form. If access is ap-
proved, students must work under the supervision of a currently autho-
rized RCRI user.] 

(13) Political subdivision--A political subdivision of the 
State, as defined in §191.003 [Chapter 191] of the Texas Natural 
Resources Code. 

(14) RCRI--Restricted Cultural Resource Information con-
tained within the THSA database, the libraries, files, documents and 
maps held by the commission. 

(15) RCRI user--An individual who accesses and uses re-
stricted information contained within the THSA database or within the 
libraries, files, documents, and maps held by the commission. 

(16) Site--A cultural resource location containing physical 
evidence of either a prehistoric and/or historic occupation, or activity, 
building, or structure, whether standing, in ruin, or vanished, where the 
location itself maintains historical or archeological integrity regardless 
of the integrity of any existing structure. 

(17) Site location--Information concerning the location, 
placement, or locality of a cultural resource. 

(18) Site records--All data and information relating to the 
character, condition, and location of any archeological site or other cul-
tural resource, and all data and information pertinent to collections of 

material remains. Site records include, but are not limited to, digi-
tal and hard copy images, photographs, maps, notes, drawings, site 
data forms, documents, sound tapes, spatial imagery and other forms 
of electronic data. 

(19) Spatial imagery--Imagery used to illustrate and indi-
cate locations on the surface of the earth, including but not limited to 
geographic maps; plotting; aerial, satellite and remote sensing imagery; 
georeferenced images. 

(20) Steward--A current member of the Texas Archeologi-
cal Stewardship Network. 

(21) Texas Historic Sites Atlas--The electronic database 
documenting historical and archeological sites and properties in the 
state of Texas, survey locational data, as well as the computer database 
server on which this information resides and the system that provides 
access to this database through the Internet. 

(22) THSA [TSHA] Coordinator--A member of the com-
mission staff appointed [to this position] by the Executive Director to 
have primary responsibility for operation and maintenance of THSA. 

§24.13. Restricted Information. 

The following categories of information are [hereby defined as] Re-
stricted Cultural Resource Information (RCRI). 

(1) All archeological survey site location and site record 
information that contains location descriptions, coordinate data, or 
[locational data such as longitude and latitude, Universal Transverse 
Mercator coordinates, and] spatial imagery [or detailed descriptions] 
that would allow an individual to determine the location of an archeo-
logical site. 

(2) The address or site location of historic structures or 
other non-archeological cultural resources nominated for or listed in 
the National Register of Historic Places or registered as State Arche-
ological Landmarks, if the owner of the property has specifically re-
quested that such information not be distributed to the general public. 

(3) The site location of cemeteries determined by the com-
mission to be at risk of harm. 

§24.15. Access to Both Public and Restricted Cultural Resource In-
formation. 

All persons desiring to view or use RCRI compiled and maintained by 
the commission, in its libraries, files, and maps, or within the THSA 
database must be approved through the commission's application 
process as defined in §24.17 and §24.19 of this title (relating to 
Restricted Information Access Criteria and Application Submission 
and Review Procedures), and agree to abide by the rules of usage 
established by an RCRI Access Agreement. No access agreement 
document is needed for persons wishing to access public information 
in the THSA database or the libraries or files of the commission if 
restricted information is not contained within those materials. Persons 
wishing to view or use the RCRI data must submit an [a written] 
application on a form supplied by the commission, and agree to the 
terms of the [sign an RCRI Access Agreement if approved for] RCRI 
access agreement approved for RCRI access. RCRI access is granted 
for up to a 4-year period and is renewable. 

§24.17. Criteria for Access to Restricted Information. 

(a) Qualified applicants meeting one or more of the following 
criteria may be granted access by the THSA Coordinator: 

(1) Meet the Secretary of Interior's Professional Qualifica-
tions Standards (36 CFR Part 61) for Archeology. 
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(2) Meet the definition of professional archeologist, or 
principal investigator as defined by §26.5 of this title (relating to 
Definitions). 

(3) Be a current member of the Texas Archeological Stew-
ardship Network. 

(b) Applications from persons not meeting the criteria set forth 
in subsection (a) of this section must have a clear and legitimate sci-
entific or legal interest in being granted access to RCRI. Their appli-
cations will be reviewed by the access committee, and access will be 
granted or denied by the committee as specified in §24.19 of this ti-
tle (relating to Restricted Information Application Submission and Re-
view Procedures). 

(c) If an applicant is denied access to RCRI, the applicant 
may appeal that decision before the commission at one of its regularly 
scheduled public meetings. Appeals must be submitted in writing to 
the commission at least 30 days prior to a scheduled meeting of the 
commission. 

(d) Limitations on access to RCRI. 

(1) Firms engaged in the business of cultural resource man-
agement for profit that do not have a qualified staff archeologist do not 
have a legitimate scientific or legal interest and may not be granted ac-
cess to RCRI. 

(2) Entities granted access to RCRI solely on the basis of 
ownership shall be granted access only to information on the sites they 
actually own, to the extent it is practical to limit such access. They shall 
not be granted statewide access to the restricted portion of the THSA. 

(3) Technical support personnel working with and under 
the supervision of a currently authorized RCRI user who has a legit-
imate scientific or legal interest may be granted access. 

(4) College students must submit a letter from a sponsoring 
professor, verifying their need to access the restricted data of the THSA 
together with the RCRI application form. If access is approved, stu-
dents must work under the supervision of a currently-authorized RCRI 
user. 

§24.19. Restricted Information Application Submission and Review 
Procedures. 

(a) Application forms. All persons requesting access to RCRI 
must complete and submit the application form provided by the com-
mission. This application [form] must indicate the type of information 
to which access is desired, the nature of the proposed research and any 
special user requirements during access, the name of the person de-
siring access, when access is needed, and for how long. For student 
applications, a letter is also required from a sponsoring professor, ver-
ifying the applicants' legitimate scientific need for access. 

(b) Curriculum vitae. To prove his or her credentials for ac-
cess, an applicant who is not a member of the Texas Archeological 
Stewardship Network must also submit a current curriculum vitae to 
the commission, if such a document is not already on file with the com-
mission. 

(c) Access agreement. The applicant must also agree to the 
terms of the [sign an] access agreement provided by the commission 
and submit it. A copy of the access agreement document will be kept 
on file at the commission. 

(d) Initial review by the THSA Coordinator. The THSA Co-
ordinator reviews all applications and vitae for completeness and will 
notify the applicant of any additional information required. 

(e) Consideration of qualified application. When all required 
application information has been received and reviewed, the THSA 

Coordinator will either rule on access relative to criteria set forth in 
§24.17(a) of this title (relating to Criteria for Access to Restricted In-
formation), or forward the application to the access committee. If the 
applicant is approved for RCRI access under §24.17(a) of this title, the 
THSA Coordinator will notify the applicant of this approval within 10 
working days. The access committee will review all applications re-
quiring further consideration for qualification within 20 working days 
of receipt under §24.17(b) of this title, and the THSA Coordinator will 
notify the applicant of the committee's decision. 

(f) Denial of application. If an application is denied, the THSA 
Coordinator will notify the applicant in writing or through electronic 
submission of the reasons for denial. Any appeals of these decisions 
must be made before the commission at one of its regularly scheduled 
public meetings. 

(g) Registration of approved applicant. The THSA Coordi-
nator will register the applicant as an RCRI user, and a [written] no-
tice documenting registration will be forwarded to the registered RCRI 
user. The [When appropriate, the] commission will also supply the ap-
plicant with a THSA Access Account, which will enable the applicant 
to access the restricted portion of the THSA database. 

(h) The commission may conduct an investigation to verify 
any information submitted on an application. 

(i) False information. If the access committee determines that 
an applicant provided false information on an application, the commit-
tee will take the following actions. 

(1) Recommend denial of the application. 

(2) Notify the applicant of the information considered to be 
false and give the applicant a reasonable period of time, not to exceed 
30 days, to respond. 

(3) If, upon examination of the applicant's response, or fail-
ure to respond, the access committee determines that false information 
was knowingly provided on the application, the access committee may 
recommend to the commission that the applicant be denied access to 
RCRI for a period not to exceed two years. 

(4) The commission may consider and act on this recom-
mendation[, upon due notice to the applicant,] at any regular or called 
meeting of the commission. The applicant will be given notice of at 
least seven days of the intent to consider the application at the meeting. 

(j) Special provision for access to the THC Library or RCRI 
data. Temporary access to the archeological materials in the THC Li-
brary or information in the RCRI may be granted to persons qualified 
under either §24.17(a) or (b) of this title by a THC staff archeologist. 
Such authorization must be signed by the THC staff member and a copy 
kept on file at the commission. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 6, 2016. 
TRD-201602199 
Mark Wolfe 
Executive Director 
Texas Historical Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-1858 

CHAPTER 28. HISTORIC SHIPWRECKS 
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13 TAC §28.6, §28.9 
The Texas Historical Commission (THC) proposes amendments 
to 13 TAC Chapter 28, §28.6 concerning Conduct of Activities 
and §28.9 concerning Analysis and Presentation of Data. These 
changes are needed to further clarify the collection and presen-
tation of marine remote-sensing data as part of permitted under-
water archeological investigations. 

Mark Wolfe, Executive Director, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the amended rules are in effect there will be no 
fiscal implications for state or local government as a result of 
enforcing or administering these rule amendments. 

Mr. Wolfe has also determined that for each year of the first 
five-year period the rule amendments are in effect the public 
benefit anticipated as a result of these amendments will be im-
proved care of site locational information associated with cultural 
resource in the State of Texas. Additionally, Mr. Wolfe as deter-
mined that there will be no effect on small businesses, and there 
is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to 
comply with these rule amendments as proposed. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Mark Wolfe, Ex-
ecutive Director, Texas Historical Commission, P.O. Box 12276, 
Austin, Texas 78711. Comments will be accepted for 30 days 
after publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Title 9, Chapter 191 of the 
Texas Natural Resources Code, which provides the Commission 
with authority to promulgate rules that will reasonably effect the 
purposes of this chapter. 

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by these pro-
posed amendments. 

§28.6. Conduct of Activities. 

(a) All persons shall conduct their activities in Texas' sub-
merged lands in a manner designed to avoid damage to shipwrecks 
in Texas' submerged lands, and to protect and preserve the cultural 
resources of Texas. If, during the conduct of activities in submerged 
state land tracts, a person discovers the existence of a shipwreck, the 
person shall promptly notify the commission of the existence of the 
historic property and shall conduct the activities in a manner that will 
avoid damage to the shipwreck. 

(b) When a person submits an application for a permit from the 
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the person shall describe the proposed 
activity in sufficient detail to enable the commission to review the U.S. 
Army Corps of Engineers' public notice publication, and determine if 
the proposed activity may impact a shipwreck. 

(c) If the proposed activity is in an area where a shipwreck is 
known to exist, or where there is a likelihood that a shipwreck exists, 
the commission may require an archeological survey, the purpose of 
which is to locate shipwrecks. 

(d) Conduct of such a survey may be recommended by the 
commission to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, and may be required 
as a condition of issuance of the permit from the U.S. Army Corps of 
Engineers. Such survey must be done under a Texas Antiquities Permit 
issued by the commission. The Texas Antiquities Permit is issued only 
to a qualified archeologist and allows the commission to monitor the 
quality and results of the survey. 

(e) The commission has set the following minimum standards 
for conducting a survey. 

(1) Horizontal positioning. 

(A) Texas' submerged lands within bays and rivers and 
within the 3 nautical mile line in the Gulf of Mexico. 

(i) The avoidance margin in this area is fifty (50) me-
ters. 

(ii) The maximum survey line spacing in this area is 
twenty (20) meters. 

(B) Texas' submerged lands offshore beyond the 3 nau-
tical mile line in the Gulf of Mexico. 

(i) The avoidance margin in this area is one-hundred 
and fifty (150) meters. 

(ii) The maximum survey line spacing in this area is 
thirty (30) meters. 

(C) The geographical extent of an archeological survey 
must include the construction impacts (e.g. anchor patterns of con-
struction barges) at the margin of the primary activity and the size of the 
avoidance margin. Survey for a linear project (e.g. pipelines, dredged 
channels, and utility lines) must include the centerline of the project 
route and at least one offset line each side of the centerline. A sur-
vey for marine seismic activity that employs drilling and detonation of 
buried explosive charges must, at a minimum, collect data along at least 
one line of survey crossing each source point and extending at least 20 
meters to either side of each source point. The survey area must be ade-
quate to allow movement of the proposed activity such that it is outside 
of the avoidance margin of any significant magnetic anomaly or sonar 
target yet fully within the area surveyed. 

(D) If avoidance of an anomaly or target determined to 
be significant by the archeologist holding the survey permit is not fea-
sible, further investigation of the anomaly or target will be required as 
stated in subsections (g), (i) and (j) of this section. Such further inves-
tigation must also be conducted under a permit issued by the commis-
sion. 

(2) Instrumentation and Survey Procedures. Instrumenta-
tion is classified as remote sensing equipment that detects the presence 
of an object by its inherent physical properties or by signals reflected 
from the object. The preferred suite of remote sensing equipment in-
cludes, but is not limited to, a marine magnetometer, a high-resolution 
side-scan sonar, and a recording fathometer. 

(A) The magnetometer should be set to detect and 
record the magnetic environment at 1-second intervals or less and 
the data should be recorded on computer disc or other appropriate 
computer media. The distance of the magnetometer should not exceed 
6 meters from the marine bed. 

(B) The side-scan sonar should use a transceiver des-
ignated as a 300 kHz transceiver minimum and should be operated in 
that frequency or a higher frequency if available and the data should be 
recorded on computer disc or other appropriate computer media. 

(C) The fathometer must be capable of recording bathy-
metric data through digital output to a computer. 

(D) The magnetometer, side-scan sonar, and fathome-
ter, to the extent possible, should be interfaced, either directly or 
through computer files, with the global positioning system receiver to 
coordinate positions with the remote sensing equipment data. 

(E) A differentially corrected global positioning system 
(GPS) receiver or system of equal or greater accuracy will be used for 
navigation and positioning. 

(F) The positioning system must collect accurate posi-
tion data at the same time interval as the magnetometer to preclude the 
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necessity of interpolating positions between more widely spaced posi-
tion fixes. 

(3) Variance from the parameters specified in this section 
may be requested from the commission. Such variance must be based 
on quantifiable factors, e.g. the water is too shallow for effective use of 
side-scan sonar. Likewise, the commission may modify the parameters 
for a given survey area based on information held by the commission, 
e.g. survey line spacing may be decreased in the immediate vicinity of 
a known state archeological landmark beyond the 3 nautical mile line 
in the Gulf of Mexico. 

(f) If a person detects a significant anomaly or sonar target as 
a result of conducting the survey described in this section, the person 
shall record a specific UTM, Latitude/Longitude, or state plane coordi-
nate position, along with the geodetic datum in which the coordinates 
were recorded, and either: 

(1) Conduct a thorough and good faith effort to search out 
the object causing the anomaly or sonar target and identify whether 
the object might possibly be a state archeological landmark or eligible 
property in Texas' submerged lands. Excavation in order to make an 
identification at this stage of investigation is prohibited without a per-
mit issued by the commission. Or, the person may: 

(2) Relocate the activity to an area outside of the appropri-
ate avoidance margin in order to avoid disturbance of the object causing 
the anomaly or sonar target and thereby avoid damage to a shipwreck. 

(g) If the person determines, through actions conducted under 
subsection (e) of this section, that the object causing the significant 
anomaly or sonar target is definitely not a shipwreck, and if the com-
mission concurs with that determination, the person may perform the 
activity in a normal, routine manner. 

(h) If the person determines, through actions conducted under 
subsection (e) of this section, that the object causing the significant 
anomaly or sonar target is a shipwreck or might be a shipwreck, the 
person shall either: 

(1) Notify the commission of the existence of a shipwreck 
or possible shipwreck, report the coordinate position to the commission 
and relocate the activity to an area outside of the appropriate avoidance 
margin in order to avoid disturbance of the object causing the signifi-
cant anomaly or sonar target and thereby avoid damage to a shipwreck; 
or 

(2) Notify the commission of the existence of a shipwreck 
or possible shipwreck and report the coordinate position to the commis-
sion; whereupon the commission can perform its activities described in 
Subchapter C, Powers and Duties, and Subchapter E, Prohibitions, of 
the Antiquities Code of Texas. The commission may require additional 
archeological investigations of the shipwreck or possible shipwreck, or, 
if the commission concurs that no damage will occur to the shipwreck 
from the proposed activity, the commission may authorize the person 
to proceed with the proposed activity in a normal, routine manner. 

(i) Investigation by archeological divers to identify the source 
of an anomaly or sonar target is appropriate under a survey permit. 
Such investigations may involve removal of overburden to expose 
small section of a buried object but shall not involve extensive exca-
vation or artifact recovery. Survey level diving investigations must be 
approved as part of the survey permit issued to the archeologist or as a 
separate survey permit. 

§28.9. Analysis and Presentation of Data. 

Analysis and presentation of magnetometer and side-scan sonar data 
upon completion of a survey to locate submerged cultural resources 

are subject to the following, in addition to requirements under §26.24 
of this title (relating to Reports Relating to Archeological Permits). 

(1) If the survey is of sufficient duration, the magnetometer 
data will be corrected for diurnal variation using either separate data 
collected concurrently specifically for the purpose of diurnal correc-
tions or through the use of an appropriate algorithm or mathematical 
formula. 

(2) Magnetometer data will be presented on maps, aerial, 
or satellite imagery in a contour format. In order to facilitate review 
of this data by the THC, it should be presented at a scale sufficient 
for examination. Magnetic anomalies recommended for avoidance or 
investigation shall be illustrated at a scale and showing isolines at ap-
propriate levels to illustrate the complexity and intensity of individual 
anomalies. Illustrating anomalies at this scale may require separate il-
lustrations from the overall survey map. 

(3) Maps illustrating magnetic anomalies will show the ac-
tual survey lines followed by the survey vessel and thus the position of 
each anomaly in relation to the survey lines. 

(4) Positive and negative nodes of magnetic anomalies 
shall be indicated either by different colors of isolines (e.g. red for 
positive node, blue for negative node) or by variation in line type (e.g. 
hatched or dashed) for the negative isolines. 

(5) Sonar data will be presented as a mosaic on maps, 
aerial, or satellite imagery. Sonar targets recommended for avoidance 
shall be presented at a scale suitable to show diagnostic attributes and 
may require separate illustrations from the overall survey map. 

(6) The avoidance margin for significant magnetic anoma-
lies and sonar targets, defined in 13 TAC Chapter 28, Rule §28.2, must 
be illustrated in the overall contour maps and sonar mosaics. 

(7) [(6)] A map of the survey area must be included in the 
survey report showing both the proposed survey lines and the actual 
survey lines. 

(8) [(7)] A table of anomalies and sonar targets recom-
mended for avoidance or investigation, including the positions of 
those anomalies, or targets, shall be included in the report. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 6, 2016. 
TRD-201602200 
Mark Wolfe 
Executive Director 
Texas Historical Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-1858 

CHAPTER 29. MANAGEMENT AND CARE 
OF ARTIFACTS AND COLLECTIONS 
13 TAC §§29.4 - 29.6 
The Texas Historical Commission (THC) proposes amendments 
to 13 TAC Chapter 29, §29.4 concerning Definitions, §29.5 con-
cerning Disposition of Archeological Collections, and §29.6 con-
cerning Certification of Curatorial Facilities for State-Associated 
Held-in-Trust Collections under the jurisdiction of the Antiquities 
Code of Texas (Title 9, Chapter 191, of the Texas Natural Re-
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sources Code). These changes are needed to further clarify the 
conditions and procedures related to the management and care 
of artifacts and collections under the control of the Commission. 

Mark Wolfe, Executive Director, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the amended rules are in effect there will be min-
imal fiscal implications for state or local governments as a result 
of enforcing or administering the amended rules. 

Mr. Wolfe has also determined that for each year of the first 
five-year period the rules are in effect the public benefit antic-
ipated as a result of the implementation of these rules will be 
better care of artifacts collected with public funds. There will be 
minimal effects on small businesses or micro-businesses. There 
are minimal anticipated economic costs to persons who are re-
quired to comply with the rules as proposed. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Mark Wolfe, Ex-
ecutive Director, Texas Historical Commission, P.O. Box 12276, 
Austin, Texas 78711. Comments will be accepted for 30 days 
after publication in the Texas Register. 

The rule amendments are proposed under both §442.005(q) of 
the Texas Government Code and §191.052, Title 9, Chapter 191 
of the Texas Natural Resources Code, which provides the Texas 
Historical Commission with the authority to promulgate rules and 
conditions to reasonably effect the purposes of this chapter. 

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by these pro-
posed amendments. 

§29.4. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter and the An-
tiquities Code of Texas, shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Accession--means the formal acceptance of a collection 
and it's recording into the holdings of a curatorial facility and generally 
includes a transfer of title. For held-in-trust collections, stewardship 
but not title is transferred to the curatorial facility. 

(2) Accessions inventory--means an inventory conducted 
at the time of accessioning when a collection or historical item is placed 
at the designated curatorial facility. It is similar to a baseline inventory 
in that it is comprised of the categories represented in the collection, 
quantities, and linear feet of documentation as appropriate. 

(3) Antiquities--means the tangible aspects of the past, 
which relate to human life and culture. Some examples include 
objects, written histories, architecture [architectural significance], 
cultural traditions and patterns, art forms, and technologies. 

(4) Artifact--means an object that has been removed from 
an archeological site. 

(5) Baseline inventory--means the most basic inventory 
done by summary count within general categories (similar to an entry 
or accessions inventory). 

(6) Cataloging--means assigning an object to an estab-
lished classification system and having a record containing identifica-
tion, provenience, accession and catalog numbers, and location of that 
object in the collection storage area. 

(7) Certification--means a process through which a curato-
rial facility establishes that it has achieved certain standards and fol-
lows acceptable practices with respect to its collections. 

(8) Certified curatorial facility--means a museum or repos-
itory that has been certified by the Commission for the purposes of 
curating state-associated collections. 

(9) Collection--means an associated set of objects, sam-
ples, records, or documents or an associated set of documents only. 

(10) Commission--means the Texas Historical Commis-
sion and its staff. 

(11) Conservation--means scientific laboratory process for 
cleaning, stabilizing, restoring, and preserving artifacts. 

(12) Conservation Survey--means inspection and docu-
mentation by facility staff, of condition of collection objects on an 
ongoing basis as part of routine collections management work. 

(13) Cultural resource--means any building, site, district, 
structure, object, historic [pre-twentieth century] shipwreck, data, and 
locations of historical, archeological, educational, or scientific interest, 
including, but not limited to, prehistoric and historic Native American 
or aboriginal campsites, dwellings, and habitation sites, archeological 
sites of every character, treasure embedded in the earth, sunken or aban-
doned ships and wrecks of the sea or any part of the contents thereof, 
maps, records, documents, books, artifacts, and implements of culture 
in any way related to the inhabitants' prehistory, history, natural history, 
government, or culture. Examples of cultural resources include Native 
American mounds and campgrounds, aboriginal lithic resource areas, 
early industrial and engineering sites, rock art, early cottage, and craft 
industry sites, bison kill sites, cemeteries, battlegrounds, all manner of 
historical structures, local historical records, etc. 

(14) Curatorial facility--means a museum or repository that 
professionally manages collections on a long term basis. 

(15) Deaccession--means the permanent removal of an ob-
ject or collection from the holdings of a curatorial facility. 

(16) Designated curatorial facility--means any curatorial 
facility that is holding or seeking to hold any state associated collection 
on behalf of the Commission. 

(17) Destructive analysis--means destroying all or a por-
tion of an object or sample to gain specialized information. For pur-
poses of these rules, it does not include analysis of objects or samples 
prior to their being accessioned by a curatorial facility. 

(18) Disposal--means the discard of an object or sample 
after being recovered and prior to accession, or after deaccession. 

(19) Held-in-trust agreement--means the document signed 
by the Commission and the designated curatorial facility that provides 
for the transfer of stewardship to the curatorial facility for the state-as-
sociated collection, provides the state-associated collection's accession 
number and accessions inventory, and notes any conditions or restric-
tions. 

(20) Held-in-trust collection--means those state-associated 
collections under the authority of the Texas Historical Commission that 
are placed in a curatorial facility for care and management; stewardship 
is transferred to that curatorial facility but not ownership. 

(21) Inventory--means a physically-checked, itemized list 
of the objects in a curatorial facility's holdings. Itemized refers to hav-
ing some sort of categorization, whether it be object-by-object or some 
type of grouping. Inventory is usually performed by numerical count, 
but weight may be considered in addition to or instead of a count, where 
it may be appropriate. 

(22) Museum--means a legally organized not-for-profit in-
stitution, essentially educational in nature; having a formally stated 
mission; with a professionally trained staff that uses and interprets ob-
jects for the public through regularly scheduled programs and exhibits; 
with a program of documentation, care, and use of collection or tangi-
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ble objects; and having a program of maintenance and presentation of 
exhibits. 

(23) Political subdivision--means a local government en-
tity created and operating under the laws of this state, including a city, 
county, school district, or special district created under the Texas Con-
stitution, Article III, Section 52(b)(1) or (2), or Article XVI, Section 
59. 

(24) Preventive conservation--means to maintain the col-
lections in stable condition through preventive maintenance, condition 
surveys, environmental controls, and pest management. 

(25) Public lands--means non-federal public lands that are 
owned or controlled by the State of Texas or any of its political sub-
divisions, including the tidelands, submerged land, and the bed of the 
sea within the jurisdiction of the State of Texas. 

(26) Relocation inventory--means a physically-checked, 
itemized list of a specific subset of objects that have been moved from 
their permanent location within the holdings of the curatorial facility. 

(27) Repository--means a permanent, not-for-profit educa-
tional or research-oriented agency or institution, having a profession-
ally trained staff, that provides in-perpetuity legal housing and curation 
of collections. 

(28) Significance--means a trait attributable to sites, 
buildings, structures and objects of historical, architectural, and 
archeological (cultural) value which are eligible for designation to 
State Antiquities [Archeological] Landmark status and protection 
under the Antiquities Code of Texas. Similarly, a trait attributable 
to properties included in or determined eligible for inclusion in the 
National Register of Historic Places. 

(29) Site--means any place or location containing physical 
evidence of human activity. Examples of sites include: the location 
of prehistoric or historic occupations or activities, a group or district of 
buildings or structures that share a common historical context or period 
of significance, and designed landscapes such as parks and gardens. 

(30) Spot-check inventory--means an organized location 
search to produce a physically-checked, itemized list of a predeter-
mined subset of objects for which the curatorial facility is responsible. 

(31) State-associated collections--means the collections 
owned by the State and under the authority of the Texas Historical 
Commission. This includes the following: 

(A) Permitted collections--means collections that are 
the result of work governed by the Texas Antiquities Code of Texas on 
land or under waters belonging to the State of Texas or any political 
subdivision of the State requiring the issuance of a permit by the 
Commission. 

(B) Non-permitted collections--means collections that 
are the result of work governed by the Antiquities Code on land or un-
der waters belonging to the State of Texas or any political subdivision 
of the State conducted by Commission personnel without the issuance 
of a permit. 

(C) Purchased collections--means collections that are 
the result of the acquisition of significant historical items by the Com-
mission through Texas Historical Artifacts Acquisition Program or use 
of other State funds. 

(D) Donated collections--means collections that are the 
result of a gift, donation, or bequest to the Commission. 

(E) Court-action collections--means collections that are 
awarded to the Commission by a court through confiscation of ille-

gally-obtained archeological artifacts or any other material that may 
be awarded to the Commission by a court of law. 

(32) State Antiquities [Archeological] Landmark--means 
an archeological site, archeological collection, ruin, building, struc-
ture, cultural landscape, site, engineering feature, monument or other 
object, or district that is eligible to be designated as a landmark or is 
already officially designated as a landmark. [any cultural resource or 
site located in, on, or under the surface of any lands belonging to the 
State of Texas or any county, city, or other political subdivision of the 
state, or a site officially designated as a landmark at an open public 
meeting before the Commission.] 

§29.5. Disposition of State Associated Collections [Archeological 
Collections]. 

(a) Ownership. All specimens, artifacts, materials, and sam-
ples plus original field notes, maps, drawings, photographs, and stan-
dard state site survey forms, resulting from the investigations remain 
the property of the State of Texas. Certain exceptions left to the discre-
tion of the Commission are contained in the Texas Natural Resources 
Code, §191.052(b). The Commission will determine the final disposi-
tion of all artifacts, specimens, materials, and data recovered by inves-
tigations on State Antiquities [Archeological] Landmarks or potential 
landmarks, which remain the property of the State. These state-associ-
ated collections [Antiquities from State Archeological Landmarks] are 
of inestimable historical and scientific value and should be preserved 
and utilized in such a way as to benefit all the citizens of Texas. It is 
the rule of the Commission that such antiquities shall never be used for 
commercial exploitation. (see also 13 TAC §26.17 [§26.27] (relating 
to Principal Investigator's Responsibilities for Disposition of Archeo-
logical Artifacts and Data)). 

(b) Housing, conserving, and exhibiting state-associated col-
lections [antiquities from State Archeological Landmarks]. (see also 
13 TAC §26.17 [§26.27]) 

(1) After investigations conducted under the jurisdiction of 
the Antiquities Code of Texas have [investigation of a State Arche-
ological Landmark has] culminated in the reporting of results, these 
state-associated collections [the antiquities] will be permanently pre-
served in research collections at a curatorial facility certified by the 
Commission. Prior to the expiration of a permit, proof that state-asso-
ciated [archeological] collections [and related field notes] are housed 
in a curatorial facility is required. Failure to demonstrate proof before 
the permit expiration date may result in the principal investigator and 
co-principal investigator falling into default status. (see also 13 TAC 
§26.17 [§26.27]) 

(2) Institutions housing state-associated collections 
[antiquities from State Archeological Landmarks] will also be respon-
sible for adequate security of the collections, continued conservation, 
periodic inventory, and for making the collections available to qual-
ified institutions, individuals, or corporations for research purposes. 
(see also 13 TAC §26.17 [§26.27]) 

(3) Exhibits of state-associated collections [materials re-
covered from State Archeological Landmarks] will be made in such a 
way as to provide the maximum amount of historical, scientific, arche-
ological, and educational information to all the citizens of Texas. First 
preference will be given to traveling exhibits following guidelines pro-
vided by the Commission and originating at an adequate facility nearest 
to the point of recovery. Permanent exhibits of antiquities may be pre-
pared by institutions maintaining such collections following guidelines 
provided by the Commission. A variety of special, short-term exhibits 
may also be authorized by the Commission. (see also 13 TAC §26.17 
[§26.27]) 
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(c) Access to state-associated collections [antiquities] for re-
search purposes--collections [antiquities] retained under direct super-
vision of the Commission will be available under the following condi-
tions: 

(1) Request for access to collections must be made in writ-
ing to the curatorial facility holding the collections indicating to which 
collection and what part of the collection access is desired; nature of 
research and special requirements during access; who will have access, 
when, and for how long; type of report which will result; and expected 
date of report. 

(2) Access will be granted during regular working hours 
to qualified institutions or individuals for research culminating in non-
permit reporting. A copy of the report will be provided to the Commis-
sion. 

(3) Data such as descriptions or photos when available will 
be provided to institutions or individuals on a limited basis for research 
culminating in nonprofit reporting. A copy of the report will be pro-
vided to the Commission. 

(4) Access will be granted to corporations or individuals 
preparing articles or books to be published on a profit-making basis 
only if there will be no interference with conservation activities or reg-
ular research projects; photos are made and data collected in the facil-
ity housing the collection; arrangements for access are made in writing 
at least one month in advance; cost of photos and data and a reason-
able charge of or supervision by responsible personnel are paid by the 
corporation or individual desiring access; planned article or publica-
tion does not encourage or condone treasure hunting activity on public 
lands, State Antiquities [Archeological] Landmarks, or National Reg-
ister sites, or other activities which damage, alter, or destroy cultural 
resources; proper credit for photos and data are indicated in the report; 
a copy of the report will be provided to the Commission. 

(5) The Commission may maintain a file of standard pho-
tographs and captions available for purchase by the public. 

(6) A written agreement containing the appropriate stipu-
lations will be prepared and executed prior to the access. 

(7) Curatorial facilities certified by the Commission shall 
promulgate reasonable procedures governing access to those collec-
tions under their stewardship. 

(d) Deaccession. The Commission's rules for deaccession rec-
ognize the special responsibility associated with the receipt and main-
tenance of objects of cultural, historical, and scientific significance in 
the public trust. Although curatorial facilities become stewards of held-
in-trust collections, title is retained by the Commission for the State. 
Thus, the decision to deaccession held-in-trust objects or state-asso-
ciated collections is the responsibility of the Commission. The Com-
mission recognizes the need for periodic reevaluations and thoughtful 
selection necessary for the growth and proper care of collections. The 
practice of deaccessioning under well-defined guidelines provides this 
opportunity. 

(1) Deaccessioning may be through voluntary or involun-
tary means. The transfer, exchange, or deterioration beyond repair or 
stabilization or other voluntary removal from a collection in a curato-
rial facility is subject to the limitations of this rule. 

(2) Involuntary removal from collections occurs when ob-
jects, samples, or records are lost through theft, disappearance, or nat-
ural disaster. If the whereabouts of the object, sample, or record is 
unknown, it may be removed from the responsibility of the curatorial 
facility, but the Commission will not relinquish title in case the object, 
sample, or record subsequently is returned. 

(e) Certified curatorial facilities. Authority to deal with deac-
cessioning of limited categories of objects and samples from held-in-
trust collections is delegated to a curatorial facility certified by the 
Commission to hold state held-in-trust collections through a contrac-
tual agreement between the curatorial facility and the Commission. 
Annual reports will be submitted to the Commission on these deac-
cessioning actions. 

(1) If the Commission determines that a curatorial facility 
has acted in violation of the contractual agreement and this rule, the 
contractual agreement will be terminated. From that date forward, the 
Commission will review and decide on all deaccession actions of that 
curatorial facility concerning held-in-trust objects and samples. A new 
contractual agreement may be executed at such time as the Commission 
determines that the curatorial facility has come into compliance with 
this rule. 

(2) Curatorial facilities not yet certified by the Commission 
to hold state held-in-trust collections shall submit written deaccession 
requests of objects and samples from held-in-trust collections to the 
Commission. 

(3) Requests to deaccession a held-in-trust collection in its 
entirety must be submitted to the Commission. 

(4) The reasons for deaccessioning all or part of held-in-
trust collections include, but are not limited to, the following: 

(A) Objects lacking provenience that are not significant 
or useful for research, exhibit, or educational purposes in and of them-
selves; 

(B) Objects or collections that do not relate to the stated 
mission of the curatorial facility. Objects or collections that are relevant 
to the stated mission of the curatorial facility may not be deaccessioned 
on the grounds that they are not relevant to the research interests of 
current staff or faculty; 

(C) Objects that have decayed or decomposed beyond 
reasonable use or repair or that by their condition constitute a hazard 
in the collections; 

(D) Objects that have been noted as missing from a col-
lection beyond the time of the next collections-wide inventory are de-
termined irretrievable and subject to be deaccessioned as lost; 

(E) Objects suspected as stolen from the collections 
must be reported to the Commission in writing immediately for 
notification to similar curatorial facilities, appropriate organizations, 
and law enforcement agencies. Objects suspected as stolen and not 
recovered after a period of three years or until the time of the next 
collections-wide inventory are determined irretrievable and subject to 
being deaccessioned as stolen; 

(F) Objects that have been stolen and for which an in-
surance claim has been paid to the curatorial facility; 

(G) Objects that may be subject to deaccessioning as 
required by federal laws; and 

(H) Deaccession for reasons not listed above must be 
approved on a case-by-case basis by the Commission. 

(f) Title to Objects or Collections Deaccessioned. If deacces-
sioning is for the purpose of transfer or exchange, Commission retains 
title for the State to the object or collection. A new held-in-trust agree-
ment must be executed between the receiving curatorial facility and the 
THC. 

(1) If deaccessioning is due to theft or loss, the Commis-
sion will retain title for the State to the object or collection in case it is 
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ever recovered, but the curatorial facility will no longer be responsible 
for the object or collection. 

(2) If deaccessioning is due to deterioration or damage be-
yond repair or stabilization, the Commission relinquishes title for the 
State to the object or collection and the object or collection must be 
discarded in a suitable manner. 

(g) Destructive Analysis. The Commission's rules for destruc-
tive analysis apply only to samples and objects from held-in-trust col-
lections accessioned into the holdings of a curatorial facility. Destruc-
tive analysis of samples or objects prior to placement in a curatorial 
facility is covered by the research design approved for the Antiqui-
ties Permit. Authority to deal with destructive analysis requests of ap-
proved categories of objects and samples from state-associated held-
in-trust collections is delegated to a curatorial facility certified by the 
Commission to hold state held-in-trust collections through a contrac-
tual agreement between the curatorial facility and the Commission. 
Annual reports will be submitted to the Commission on these destruc-
tive analysis actions. 

(1) A written research proposal must be submitted to the 
curatorial facility stating research goals, specific samples or objects 
from a held-in-trust collection to be destroyed, and research credentials 
in order for the curatorial facility to establish whether the destructive 
analysis is warranted. 

(2) If the Commission determines that a curatorial facility 
has acted in violation of the contractual agreement and this rule, the 
contractual agreement will be terminated. From that date forward, the 
Commission will review and decide on all destructive analysis actions 
of that curatorial facility concerning held-in-trust objects and samples. 
A new contractual agreement may be executed at such time as the Com-
mission determines that the curatorial facility has come into compli-
ance with these rules. 

(3) Curatorial facilities not yet certified by the Commission 
to hold state held-in-trust collections shall submit destructive analysis 
requests of objects and samples from held-in-trust collections to the 
Commission. 

(4) Conditions for approval of destructive analysis may in-
clude qualifications of the researcher, uniqueness of the project, scien-
tific value of the knowledge sought to be gained, and the importance, 
size, and condition of the object or sample. 

(5) Objects and samples from held-in-trust collections ap-
proved for destructive analysis purposes are loaned to the institution 
where the researcher is affiliated. Objects and samples will not be 
loaned to individuals for destructive analysis. 

(6) If the curatorial facility denies a request for destructive 
analysis of a sample or object from a held-in-trust collection, appeal of 
the decision is through the Commission. 

(7) Information gained from the analysis must be provided 
to the curatorial facility as a condition of all loans for destructive anal-
ysis purposes. After completion of destructive analysis, the researcher 
must return the information (usually in the form of a research report) in 
order for the loan to be closed. Two copies of any publications result-
ing from the analysis must be sent to the curatorial facility. If the object 
or sample is not completely destroyed by the destructive analysis, the 
remainder must be returned to the curatorial facility. 

(8) It is the responsibility of the curatorial facility to mon-
itor materials on loan for destructive analysis, to assure their correct 
use, and to note the returned data in the records. 

(9) The Commission does not relinquish title for the State 
to an object or sample that has undergone destructive analysis and the 
object or sample is not deaccessioned. 

§29.6. Certification of Curatorial Facilities for State-Associated 
Held-in-Trust Collections. 

(a) Establishment of certification program. 

(1) The Commission shall determine through the program 
established by this subchapter appropriate facilities to house state-asso-
ciated held-in-trust collections generated or purchased by the Commis-
sion, generated through antiquities permits issued under the authority 
of the Commission as provided by the Texas Natural Resources Code, 
Chapter 191, donated to the Commission, or placed with the Commis-
sion through the order of a court. 

(2) The certification process shall consider the manage-
ment and care of all state-associated collections at the curatorial 
facility. 

(3) The requirements of this subchapter related to the 
placement of state-associated collections in certified curatorial facili-
ties shall apply to the following: 

(A) All collections placed in curatorial facilities by the 
Commission after December 31, 2005; and, 

(B) All collections generated under antiquities permits 
on public lands after December 31, 2005. 

(4) Except as provided in paragraph (9) of this subsection, 
no collection or any component of a collection as described under the 
jurisdiction of this subchapter may be placed in a curatorial facility that 
is not certified through the process established by this section. 

(5) This section does not apply to the placement of collec-
tions in curatorial facilities prior to the effective date of this require-
ment as specified in subsection (a)(3), above. It does apply to any sub-
sequent transfer of collections or a component of a collection taking 
place after the effective date of this requirement as specified in subsec-
tion (a)(3)(A) - (B), above. 

(6) This section does not apply to the loan of a collection 
or a component of a collection to a facility not certified by the Com-
mission. 

(7) Certification shall be effective for a period of ten years, 
after which time, the curatorial facility must apply for renewal [through 
the procedures provided in this subchapter]. Renewal will be based 
upon a review of the standing of the facility in regards to disabling 
or deficiency factors assigned during the initial certification and the 
standards for certification in place at the time renewal is requested. 

(8) The certification process shall be implemented upon the 
effective date of these rules, and the staff of the Commission shall de-
velop procedures to begin the review of applicants at the earliest possi-
ble date. The requirement that all new collections shall be placed only 
in certified curatorial facilities shall be effective as specified in subsec-
tion (a)(3)(A) - (B), above. 

(9) A curatorial facility that has submitted the application 
for certification provided by subsection (b)(1) of this section by the 
date provided in subsection (a)(3) of this section may continue to ac-
cept held-in-trust collections after that date so long as its application 
is pending and the application process has not been terminated or its 
application rejected by the commission. 

(b) Procedures for Certification. 
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(1) Application. A curatorial facility seeking certification 
from the Commission shall apply to the Commission on a form pro-
vided by the Commission. 

(A) The form shall require the applicant to provide es-
sential information and documentation to allow the Commission to de-
termine whether the facility is a curatorial facility within the definition 
of that term. 

(B) Staff of the Commission shall evaluate the applica-
tion and make a recommendation to the executive director on whether 
the facility should be allowed to proceed with the certification process. 

(C) The executive director may determine that the cer-
tification review should be terminated at this point in the process. Such 
termination would be due to a clear failure of the curatorial facility to 
meet the criteria for certification developed under this subchapter. 

(2) Submission of written materials for certification. 

(A) The form shall require the applicant to provide es-
sential information and documentation to allow the Commission to de-
termine whether the facility is a curatorial facility within the definition 
of that term. 

(B) The self-evaluation and other materials must be 
submitted to the Commission within six months after the certification 
review packet is mailed. A one time extension not to exceed six 
months may be granted by the Commission staff upon request. 

(C) The completed documentation shall be reviewed by 
the Commission. If clarification or additional information is requested 
by the Commission, the facility shall have 30 days to furnish the infor-
mation required. 

(D) Failure to provide the requested information or in-
adequacy of the materials provided may lead to the termination of the 
review process. 

(E) Staff of the Commission shall review the self-evalu-
ation and other written materials provided and make a recommendation 
to the executive director on whether the facility should be allowed to 
proceed with the certification process. 

(F) The executive director may determine that the re-
view should be terminated at this point in the process. 

(3) Field review. 

(A) A curatorial facility that has submitted its self-eval-
uation and other written materials and approved to proceed with the 
certification process shall be contacted to arrange for a field review. 

(B) At a time to be agreed upon by the Commission staff 
and the facility, an on-site evaluation of the facility shall be conducted 
by the Commission. 

(C) Field review of the curatorial facility will be con-
ducted by qualified staff of the Commission. Confidentiality will be 
maintained within the limits of the Public Information Act. 

(D) An applicant for certification must make their facil-
ities and records freely available to the field reviewers of the Commis-
sion in order to be considered for certification. 

(E) Upon completion of the on-site evaluation, the per-
sons performing the evaluation shall complete a written report of the 
on-site evaluation. 

(F) The written report and recommendation shall be 
submitted to the executive director for his review. The executive 
director may approve, disapprove, or amend the recommendation. 

(G) The applicant shall be provided not less than 30 
days notice of the Commission meeting when its application will be 
considered and provided a copy of the executive director's recommen-
dation, the report of the on-site evaluation, and any other relevant doc-
uments. 

(H) The applicant shall have the opportunity to present 
written and oral information in support of its application to the staff 
and the Commission or committees thereof. 

(4) Consideration by the Commission. 

(A) The Commission may direct that this matter be con-
sidered in a committee of the Commission prior to consideration by the 
full Commission. 

(B) The Commission shall consider the recommenda-
tions of the staff and/or executive director and all other matters sub-
mitted or prepared in connection with the application and shall make a 
decision on the certification of the curatorial facility. The decision of 
the Commission shall be provided in writing to the curatorial facility. 
If certification is denied, the Commission shall provide reasons for the 
denial to the curatorial facility. 

(C) The decision of the Commission shall be based on 
the matters properly submitted in the certification process, and the de-
cision shall measure the qualifications, stated objectives, and resources 
of the curatorial facility against the standards for certification estab-
lished by the Commission. 

(i) The Commission shall consider the evaluation of 
the curatorial facility and determine which, if any, disabling and defi-
ciency factors may be present in the curatorial facility. 

(ii) The Commission shall grant certification of the 
curatorial facility based on the disabling and deficiency factors by the 
following standards: 

(I) Four or more disabling factors, certification 
denied; 

(II) Three or fewer disabling factors and no more 
than four deficiency factors, certification granted; 

(III) Three or fewer disabling factors and five or 
six deficiency factors, provisional status granted; or 

(IV) Three or fewer disabling factors and seven 
or more deficiency factors, certification denied. 

(D) If a curatorial facility is certified with existing dis-
abling factors or deficiencies, these factors must be addressed before 
subsequent certification can take place. The curatorial facility must 
submit a plan and schedule for correcting the factors to the Commis-
sion within 90 days of the notice of certification. The Commission shall 
consider the plan and schedule and either approve it or return it to the 
curatorial facility with suggested revisions. The curatorial facility shall 
resubmit the plan and schedule until approved by the Commission. If 
these factors have not been addressed by the end of its certification 
period, then the curatorial facility will be decertified at the end of the 
certification period. The curatorial facility must wait two years before 
reapplying for certification, at which time it will be certified only if it 
has addressed all prior deficiency and disabling factors. 

(E) Provisional status. 

(i) If the Commission determines that the curatorial 
facility does not meet all of the qualifications for certification, but 
should be granted provisional status, the curatorial facility must submit 
a plan and schedule for correcting the factors to the Commission 
within 90 days of the approval of provisional status. The Commission 
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shall consider the plan and schedule and either approve it or return 
it to the curatorial facility with suggested revisions. The curatorial 
facility shall resubmit the plan and schedule until approved by the 
Commission. If such factors are addressed and appropriate evidence 
of such measures is presented to the Commission, the Commission 
may grant certification to the curatorial facility at the next succeeding 
quarterly meeting of the Commission. 

(ii) A curatorial facility that is granted provisional 
status shall be considered as a certified curatorial facility unless it sub-
sequently fails to address the disabling and deficiency factors within 
the time allotted, at which time the Commission may vote to deny cer-
tification. 

(iii) Provisional status shall initially be granted for 
a period of three years. The period may be extended for up to three 
one-year increments by the Commission if the curatorial facility is de-
termined to be making progress in remedying the disabling and de-
ficiency factors. Provisional status may not be extended beyond the 
six-year limit. Each extension will require justification and a vote of 
the Commission. 

(F) Except as provided by this subchapter, a curatorial 
facility that is denied certification by the Commission may not reapply 
for certification within one year of the denial of its application. 

(c) Appeal. 

(1) If the executive director has determined that the review 
of an application for certification of a curatorial facility should be ter-
minated prior to field review, the curatorial facility may appeal that 
decision to the Commission by requesting in writing a review of the 
decision at the next succeeding quarterly Commission meeting, pro-
vided that such request must be received not less than 30 days prior 
to the meeting. The curatorial facility and the executive director may 
submit arguments in writing to the Commission concerning the appeal. 

(2) If the executive director and/or staff recommend 
against certification of a curatorial facility, the facility may respond in 
writing to such recommendation. If the curatorial facility determines 
that it needs additional time to respond to the staff and/or executive 
director's recommendation, it may request that the consideration 
of the certification be delayed until the next succeeding quarterly 
meeting, and shall submit its response not less than 30 days prior to 
the next succeeding quarterly meeting. Only one such delay in the 
consideration of certification shall be granted, except on vote of the 
Commission. 

(3) The staff or the executive director may comment on any 
response of the curatorial facility. 

(4) Except as may otherwise be provided by law, the deci-
sion of the Commission on certification of a curatorial facility is final. 

(d) Criteria for Certification. Each applicant for certification 
must meet the following criteria to be certified. 

(1) The Commission shall develop and adopt objective cri-
teria for the evaluation of curatorial facilities. 

(2) The criteria shall be in writing and shall be made avail-
able to any person requesting them. 

(3) The evaluation shall focus on the care and management 
of all state-associated held-in-trust collections present at the facility. 

(4) The following certification criteria will be used to eval-
uate curatorial facilities: 

(A) Governance. 

(i) specific mission statement; 

(ii) institutional organization document; and 

(iii) evidence of not-for-profit status. 

(B) Clear Fiscal Plan. 

(C) Policy. Written, integrated collections management 
policy addressing: 

(i) acquisitions; 

(ii) scope of collections; 

(iii) legal title; 

(iv) held-in-trust agreements; 

(v) contract of gift; 

(vi) accessioning; 

(vii) deaccessioning and disposal of collections or 
collection items; 

(viii) cataloging; 

(ix) loans; 

(x) destructive loans of held-in-trust collections; 

(xi) inventory; 

(xii) adequate and appropriate insurance; 

(xiii) appraisals; 

(xiv) access to collections; 

(xv) record keeping; 

(xvi) collections care; 

(xvii) conservation; 

(xviii) emergency preparedness; 

(xix) integrated pest management; and 

(xx) security. 

(D) Procedures. Written, integrated collections man-
agement procedures addressing: 

(i) acquisitions; 

(ii) held-in-trust agreement; 

(iii) accessioning; 

(iv) deaccessioning and disposal of collections or 
collection items; 

(v) cataloging; 

(vi) loans; 

(vii) destructive loans of held-in-trust collections; 

(viii) inventory; 

(ix) insurance; 

(x) access to collections; 

(xi) record keeping; 

(xii) collections care; 

(xiii) conservation; 

(xiv) emergency preparedness; 

(xv) integrated pest management; and 
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(xvi) security. 

(E) Physical Facilities. 

(i) sound, appropriate structure; 

(ii) adequate and appropriate insurance; 

(iii) security system; 

(iv) fire prevention, detection, and suppression pro-
grams; and 

(v) environmental controls (temperature, relative 
humidity, air particulates). 

(F) Staff. 

(i) written code of ethics; 

(ii) written job descriptions; 

(iii) minimum one full-time staff member trained in 
collections care; and 

(iv) support for staff training programs in collections 
care and memberships to museum-related organizations. 

(G) Visiting scholars and researchers. 

(i) written policy concerning access to collections; 
and 

(ii) written procedures concerning security, access, 
and handling of collections. 

(H) Records management. 

(i) functional accession, catalog, inventory, and 
photo documentation system; 

(ii) updated and current list of held-in-trust state-as-
sociated collections; and 

(iii) baseline inventory of each held-in-trust state-
associated collection. 

(I) Collections care. 

(i) housing; 

(I) appropriate housing units with adequate and 
appropriate space; and 

(II) accessible and organized collections. 

(ii) packaging; 

(I) appropriate materials; 

(II) appropriate object spacing; and 

(III) appropriate organization of collections. 

(e) Application of criteria. In making the determination of cer-
tification status, all of the above criteria are considered. In particular, at 
the Application stage, the curatorial facility must fit the definition; have 
a mission statement, a statement of purpose, and a scope-of-collections 
statement; and have a written integrated collections management pol-
icy. If the curatorial facility does not meet these three basic criteria, 
then certification is denied and the process goes no further. At the Com-
mission level, disabling factors could prevent certification. Deficiency 
factors could result in provisional status or denial. Where appropri-
ate, the criteria for evaluation for curatorial facilities to be developed 
by the commission will contain objective standards against which dis-
abling and deficiency factors are measured. 

(1) Disabling factors are the absence of any of the follow-
ing: 

(A) written procedures and plans; 

(B) written held-in-trust agreements for state-associ-
ated collections; 

(C) list of held-in-trust state-associated collections; 

(D) baseline inventory for each held-in-trust state-asso-
ciated collection; 

(E) record keeping system; 

(F) accession system; 

(G) catalog system; 

(H) inventory system; 

(I) environmental controls (temperature, relative hu-
midity, air particulates); 

(J) fire prevention, detection, and suppression pro-
grams; 

(K) full-time employee trained in collections care; 

(L) appropriate physical facilities; and 

(M) appropriate housing or housing conditions. 

(2) Deficiency factors are the following: 

(A) substandard policies; 

(B) substandard procedures and plans; 

(C) incomplete held-in-trust agreements for state-asso-
ciated collections; 

(D) incomplete list of held-in-trust state-associated col-
lections; 

(E) incomplete baseline inventory for each held-in-trust 
state-associated collection; 

(F) inadequate record keeping system; 

(G) inadequate accession system; 

(H) inadequate catalog system; 

(I) incomplete cataloging of held-in-trust state associ-
ated collections; 

(J) inadequate inventory system; 

(K) substandard environmental controls (temperature, 
relative humidity, air particulates); 

(L) substandard fire prevention, detection, or suppres-
sion programs; 

(M) substandard physical facilities; 

(N) substandard housing or housing conditions; and 

(O) substandard packaging. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 6, 2016. 
TRD-201602201 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

Mark Wolfe 
Executive Director 
Texas Historical Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-1858 

TITLE 19. EDUCATION 

PART 1. TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION 
COORDINATING BOARD 

CHAPTER 25. OPTIONAL RETIREMENT 
PROGRAM 
SUBCHAPTER A. OPTIONAL RETIREMENT 
PROGRAM 
19 TAC §§25.3 - 25.6 
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating 
Board) proposes amendments to §§25.3, 25.4, 25.5 and 25.6 
concerning the Optional Retirement Program (ORP). The intent 
of these amendments is to incorporate changes in state law and 
IRS-related interpretations; to make technical corrections; and 
to add clarifying language. 

Amendments to §25.3 (Definitions) incorporate changes in state 
law made by HB 9 (2015) that eliminated the 90-day waiting pe-
riod for active membership in the Employees Retirement System 
of Texas (ERS); improve clarity in the definition of "Full-time" by 
focusing on the term's meaning for ORP purposes (rather than 
including part of the Teacher Retirement System of Texas (TRS) 
definition); clarify that an employee's "Initial ORP Eligibility Date" 
is the first date that all four eligibility criteria are met; improve clar-
ity in the definition of "Initial ORP Eligibility Period" by referencing 
the "Initial ORP Eligibility Date" definition; and improve clarity in 
the definition of "ORP Election Period" by replacing "appropri-
ate" forms with "TRS-28 ORP election" form or, for employees 
of the Coordinating Board, the ORP election form provided by 
the Board. 

Amendments to §25.4 (Eligibility to Elect ORP) improve clarity 
in the "100 Percent Effort" eligibility requirement; incorporate 
changes in state law made by HB 9 (84th Texas Legislature) 
that eliminated the 90-day waiting period for active membership 
in ERS; improve clarity by replacing "appropriate" forms with 
"TRS-28 ORP election" form or, for employees of the Coordinat-
ing Board, the ORP election form provided by the Board; clarify 
that an employee who elects ORP after the first day of the month 
must earn enough compensation between the election date and 
the end of that month to cover the amount of the employee's 
ORP contribution for that month (otherwise, the ORP participa-
tion start date must be the first of the following month); clarify that 
institutional orientation and enrollment procedures must include 
both new employees and current employees who transfer to an 
ORP-eligible position; and remove provisions regarding exten-
sion of a participant's 90-day ORP election period if the institu-
tion fails to notify the participant in a timely manner of his or her 
eligibility to elect ORP. This change is being made in response to 
an interpretation by TRS of IRS code and regulations that affect 
both retirement plans. 

Amendments to §25.5 (ORP Vesting and Participation) replace 
the specific definition of a temporary position with a reference 

to the TRS definition; and update language to incorporate IRS 
changes regarding a participant's transfer of ORP funds from 
one ORP company to another ("contract exchange"). 

Amendments to §25.6 (Uniform Administration of ORP) make 
a technical correction by replacing "plan" year with "tax" year 
regarding the timeframe for stopping ORP contributions once a 
participant meets applicable IRS contribution limits (to account 
for institutions with plan years that don't coincide with the tax 
year); clarify that withdrawn TRS member contributions cannot 
be rolled over into a participant's ORP account prior to termi-
nation of ORP participation; improve clarity by replacing "ap-
propriate" forms with "TRS-28 ORP election" form; clarify that 
ORP employers must maintain documentation of a participant's 
first date of participation in Texas ORP (for determining a partic-
ipant's grandfather status) whether or not the employer provides 
an ORP supplement; replace specific proportionality provisions 
that apply to the funding sources of employer contributions with 
a reference to applicable state law and the General Appropria-
tions Act; clarify that ORP companies must deposit ORP funds 
on the same "business" day as received (rather than same day); 
and update language to incorporate IRS changes regarding a 
participant's transfer of ORP funds from one ORP company to 
another ("contract exchange") and to another ORP employer's 
plan ("plan-to-plan transfer"). 

Amendments to §25.6 also clarify that prohibited pre-termination 
"access" to ORP funds includes partial and full withdrawals; clar-
ify that "plan provisions" are governing documents for the pro-
gram (in addition to applicable laws and regulations); clarify that 
an ORP company is authorized to release a participant's ORP 
funds when the institution sends a notice that the participant has 
retired (not just when a "break in service" has occurred); replace 
specific provisions for rectifying a prohibited distribution with a 
reference to applicable IRS procedures; update the normal due 
date for institutions to submit the annual ORP report (changed 
from November 1 to October 1 to provide the Legislative Budget 
Board with earlier access to the data); specify that ORP employ-
ers must provide a link to the Coordinating Board's ORP website 
(rather than providing a specific link to the "Overview of TRS and 
ORP" or placing the document on the employer's webpage) to 
ensure that ORP-eligible employees will access the most recent 
version;         
tion against withdrawing all ORP funds not only to terminating 
participants who may anticipate enrolling in the retiree group in-
surance program administered by ERS at a future date but also 
to participants at the time of enrollment (based on ERS interpre-
tation of insurance statute). 

Ms. Tonia Scaperlanda, Director of Human Resources, has de-
termined that for the first five years there will be no fiscal implica-
tions for state or local governments as a result of the proposed 
amendments. 

Ms. Scaperlanda has also determined that for the first five years 
the amendments are in effect, the public benefits anticipated as 
a result of administering the sections will be improved admin-
istration of this retirement program for public higher education 
employees. There are no significant economic costs anticipated 
to persons and institutions who are required to comply with the 
sections as proposed. There is no impact on local employment. 

Comments on the proposed amendments may be submitted by 
mail to Tonia Scaperlanda, Director of Human Resources, Texas 
Higher Education Coordinating Board, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, 

and specify that ORP employers must provide a cau-

Texas 78711 or via email at texorp@thecb.state.tx.us. Com-
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ments will be accepted for 30 days following publication of the 
proposal in the Texas Register. 

The amended sections are proposed under the Texas Educa-
tion Code, §61.027, which provides the Coordinating Board 
with general rulemaking authority; Texas Government Code, 
§830.002(c), which provides the Coordinating Board with au-
thority to develop policies, practices, and procedures to provide 
greater uniformity in the administration of ORP; §830.101(b), 
which provides the Coordinating Board with specific rulemaking 
authority to establish eligibility for participation in ORP; and 
§830.006(b), which provides that institutions must keep records, 
make certifications, and furnish to the Coordinating Board 
information and reports as required by the Coordinating Board 
to enable it to carry out its ORP-related functions. 

The proposed amendments affect the implementation of Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 830, §§830.001 - 830.205. 

§25.3. Definitions. 
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall 
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise: 

(1) - (4) (No change.) 

(5) ERS--[The] Employees Retirement System of Texas. 

[(6) ERS Waiting Period--A period of 90 calendar days be-
ginning with the first day of employment with the Board in a position 
that is otherwise eligible for membership in ERS. In accordance with 
state law, active membership in ERS does not become effective until 
the 91st calendar day.] 

[(A) The ERS waiting period does not apply to:] 

[(i) new employees of the Board who are already 
members of ERS based on contributions made during prior employ-
ment with the Board or other state agency that have not been with-
drawn; or] 

[(ii) new employees of the Board who elected ORP 
in lieu of ERS in a prior period of employment with the Board and who 
are eligible to resume ORP participation.] 

[(B) As provided in §25.4(h) of this title (relating to Ac-
tive Membership in Retirement System Requirement), a new employee 
of the Board who becomes employed in an ORP-eligible position and 
who is subject to the ERS waiting period is not permitted to elect ORP 
in lieu of ERS until satisfying the ERS waiting period because the elec-
tion of ORP is in lieu of active membership in ERS.] 

(6) [(7)] Full-time--For purposes of determining initial 
ORP eligibility, the term "full-time" shall mean employment for 
the standard full-time workload established by the institution ("100 
percent effort") [at a rate comparable to the rate of compensation for 
other persons in similar positions for a definite period of four and 
one-half months or a full semester of more than four calendar months]. 

(7) [(8)] Initial ORP Eligibility Date--The first day of an 
ORP-eligible employee's 90-day ORP election period. An employee's 
initial ORP eligibility date shall be the first date that the employee 
meets all four criteria in §25.4(a) of this title (relating to Eligibility 
Criteria), including employment in an ORP-eligible position that is ex-
pected to be full-time (i.e., 100 percent effort) for a period of at least 
one full semester or four and one-half months. [determined as follows:] 

[(A) Employees of Institutions of Higher Education. 
For employees of a Texas public institution of higher education, the 
initial ORP eligibility date shall be the first day of employment in an 
ORP-eligible position.] 

[(B) Employees of the Board.] 

[(i) Non-ERS Members. For a new employee of the 
Board who has never been a member of ERS or who is a former member 
of ERS who canceled membership by withdrawing employee contribu-
tions from ERS after termination from a prior period of employment, 
the initial ORP eligibility date shall be the 91st calendar day of employ-
ment in an ERS-eligible position that is also an ORP-eligible position.] 

[(ii) Current ERS Members. For an employee of the 
Board who is a current member of ERS at the time that he or she be-
comes employed in an ORP-eligible position, the initial ORP eligibility 
date shall be the first day of employment in an ORP-eligible position.] 

(8) [(9)] Initial ORP Eligibility Period--The period of time 
an ORP participant must be employed on a full-time basis ("100 percent 
effort") beginning with the initial ORP eligibility date, as defined in 
paragraph (7) of this section, and ending after [first date of employment 
in an ORP-eligible position that is expected to be 100 percent effort for 
a period of at least] one full semester or four and one-half months. [For 
new employees of the Board who become employed in an ORP-eligible 
position, the initial ORP eligibility period includes the 90-day ERS 
waiting period, if applicable.] 

(9) [(10)] Major Department Requirement--One of the fac-
tors used to determine whether a position is ORP-eligible in the "Other 
Key Administrator" category as defined in §25.4(k) of this title (relat-
ing to Eligible Positions). A department or budget entity at a public 
institution of higher education shall meet this requirement if: 

(A) the department or budget entity is considered a "ma-
jor" department by the institution based on the specific organizational 
size and structure of that institution; and 

(B) the department or budget entity has its own budget, 
policies and programs. 

(10) [(11)] ORP--[The] Optional Retirement Program. 

(11) [(12)] ORP Election Period--The period of time dur-
ing which ORP-eligible employees have a once-per-lifetime opportu-
nity to elect to participate in ORP in lieu of the applicable retirement 
system. The ORP election period shall begin on an employee's initial 
ORP eligibility date, as defined in paragraph (7) of this section, and 
shall end on the earlier of: 

(A) the date the employee makes an ORP election by 
signing the TRS-28 ORP election form or, for employees of the Board, 
the ORP election form provided by the Board [and submitting the ap-
propriate forms to the ORP employer]; or 

(B) the 90th calendar day after the employee's initial 
ORP eligibility date, not including the initial ORP eligibility date and 
including the 90th calendar day. If the 90th calendar day after the initial 
ORP eligibility date falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline shall be 
extended until the first business [working] day after the 90th calendar 
day. 

(12) [(13)] ORP Employer--All public institutions of 
higher education in Texas and the Board. 

(13) [(14)] ORP Retiree--An individual who participated 
in ORP while employed with a Texas public institution of higher edu-
cation or the Board and who established retiree status by meeting the 
applicable retiree insurance requirements and enrolling in retiree group 
insurance provided by ERS, The University of Texas System, or The 
Texas A&M University System, regardless of whether currently en-
rolled. 

(14) [(15)] Principal Activity Requirement--One of the fac-
tors used to determine whether a position is ORP-eligible based on the 
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percent of effort required by the position to be devoted to ORP-eligi-
ble duties. The principal activity requirement shall be met if at least 
51 percent of the position's duties are devoted to ORP-eligible duties 
in one of the ORP-eligible categories defined in §25.4(k) of this title 
(relating to Eligible Positions), with two exceptions: 

(A) During Initial ORP Eligibility Period. During an 
employee's initial ORP eligibility period (when the position is required 
to be 100 percent effort to qualify as ORP-eligible), if the ORP-eligible 
duties associated with an ORP-eligible category are less than 51 percent 
of the activities for a particular position, the position shall be consid-
ered to meet the principal activity requirement if all of the position's 
other duties are ORP-eligible duties under one of the other ORP-eligi-
ble categories defined in §25.4(k) of this title (relating to Eligible Posi-
tions), for a total of 100 percent effort devoted to ORP-eligible duties, 
as would be the case, for example, for a position with required duties 
that are 50 percent instruction and/or research (faculty position) and 50 
percent department chair (faculty administrator position). 

(B) After Initial ORP Eligibility Period. For a partici-
pant who has completed the initial ORP eligibility period but who has 
not vested in ORP and who fills a position that is less than 100 percent 
effort but at least 50 percent effort, then the principal activity require-
ment shall be considered met if at least 50 percent effort is devoted to 
applicable ORP-eligible duties in one of the ORP-eligible categories 
defined in §25.4(k) of this title (relating to Eligible Positions). 

(15) [(16)] TRS--[The] Teacher Retirement System of 
Texas. 

(16) [(17)] Vesting Requirement--The minimum amount of 
ORP participation required to attain vested status. An ORP participant 
shall be considered vested on the first day of the second year of active 
participation in lieu of the applicable retirement system, as provided in 
§25.5(a) of this title (relating to Vesting Requirement). A vested partic-
ipant shall have ownership rights to the employer contributions in his or 
her ORP accounts, meaning that, upon termination of employment with 
all ORP employers or reaching age 70-1/2, he or she may access both 
the employee and employer contributions (and any net earnings) in his 
or her accounts. A vested participant shall remain in ORP even if sub-
sequently employed in a position that is not ORP-eligible, as provided 
in §25.5(f) of this title (relating to Employment in a non-ORP-Eligible 
Position). 

§25.4. Eligibility to Elect ORP. 
(a) Eligibility Criteria. An employee shall be eligible to make 

a once-per-lifetime irrevocable election of ORP in lieu of the applicable 
retirement system if all of the following criteria are met: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) 100 Percent Effort: Employment in an ORP-eligible 
position that is expected to be [on a] full-time [basis] (i.e., 100 percent 
effort) for a period of at least one full semester or four and one-half 
months [(including the 90-day waiting period for active membership 
in ERS for employees of the Board, if applicable)]. 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(3) - (4) (No change.) 

(b) - (e) (No change.) 

(f) 90-Day ORP Election Period. An employee who meets the 
eligibility criteria in subsection [section] (a) of this section shall be pro-
vided an ORP election period, as defined in §25.3 of this title (relating 
to Definitions), during which an election to participate in ORP may be 
made by signing the TRS-28 ORP election form or, for employees of 
the Board, the ORP election form provided by the Board [and submit-
ting the appropriate forms to the ORP employer]. 

[(1) After 90-Day ERS Waiting Period. For new employ-
ees of the Board, the 90-day ORP election period shall follow the 
90-day ERS membership waiting period, if applicable.] 

(1) [(2)] Beginning and Ending Dates. The 90-day ORP 
election period shall begin on the employee's initial ORP eligibility 
date, as defined in §25.3 of this title (relating to Definitions), and shall 
end on the earlier of: 

(A) the date the employee makes an ORP election by 
signing the TRS-28 ORP election form or, for employees of the Board, 
the ORP election form provided by the Board [and submitting the ap-
propriate forms to the ORP employer]; or 

(B) the 90th calendar day after the employee's initial 
ORP eligibility date, not including the initial ORP eligibility date and 
including the 90th calendar day. If the 90th calendar day after the initial 
ORP eligibility date falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline shall be 
extended until the first business [working] day after the 90th calendar 
day. 

(2) [(3)] Written Notification. In accordance with 
§25.6(h)(2) of this title (relating to ORP Election Period Dates), each 
ORP employer shall, within 15 business days of an ORP-eligible 
employee's initial ORP eligibility date, provide written notification to 
the ORP-eligible employee that indicates the beginning and ending 
dates of his or her ORP election period and the local procedures for 
submitting the election form and additional required paperwork. 

(3) [(4)] Once-per-Lifetime Irrevocable Election. An em-
ployee who is eligible to elect ORP shall have only one opportunity 
during his or her lifetime, including any future periods of employment 
in Texas public higher education, to elect ORP in lieu of the applicable 
retirement system, and the election may never be revoked. 

(A) Default Election. Failure to elect ORP during the 
90-day ORP election period shall be a default election to continue 
membership in the applicable retirement system. 

(i) ORP in Lieu of TRS. An employee of a Texas 
public institution of higher education who does not elect ORP in lieu 
of TRS during the 90-day ORP election period shall never again be 
eligible to elect ORP in lieu of TRS, even if subsequently employed in 
an ORP-eligible position at the same or another Texas public institution 
of higher education. 

(ii) ORP in Lieu of ERS. An employee of the Board 
who does not elect ORP in lieu of ERS during the 90-day ORP election 
period shall never again be eligible to elect ORP in lieu of ERS, even 
if subsequently employed in an ORP-eligible position at the Board. 

(B) Irrevocable. An election of ORP shall be irrevo-
cable. An employee who elects ORP shall remain in ORP, except as 
provided by §25.5(f) and (g) [subsections (f) and (g) of §25.5] of this 
title (relating to ORP Vesting and Participation). A default election of 
the applicable retirement system, as described subparagraph [(3)](A) 
of this paragraph [subsection] shall be irrevocable. An employee who 
fails to elect ORP during the ORP election period shall remain in the 
applicable retirement system in accordance with the laws and rules gov-
erning eligibility for the retirement system. 

(C) Separate Elections. As provided in subsection (d) 
of this section, an election of ORP in lieu of TRS at a Texas public 
institution of higher education shall be considered separate and distinct 
from an election of ORP in lieu of ERS at the Board; therefore, an 
election of ORP in lieu of one retirement system shall not preclude 
an eligible employee's election of ORP in lieu of the other retirement 
system if subsequently employed in a position that is eligible to elect 
ORP in lieu of the other retirement system. 
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(4) [(5)] Company Selection Required at Election. An em-
ployee who elects to participate in ORP shall select an ORP company 
from the ORP employer's list of authorized companies in conjunction 
with the election of ORP. An ORP employer shall establish a policy 
that failure to select an authorized company may result in disciplinary 
action up to and including termination of employment because retire-
ment contributions are required by law as a condition of employment. 

(5) [(6)] Waiver of Retirement System Benefits. An elec-
tion of ORP shall be a waiver of the employee's rights to any bene-
fits that may have accrued from prior membership in the applicable 
retirement system, other than benefits resulting from transfers of ser-
vice credit between the applicable retirement systems and reinstate-
ment of withdrawn service credit under the ERS/TRS service transfer 
law, even if the participant has met the applicable system's vesting re-
quirement. Except as provided by §25.5(f) and (g) [subsections (f) and 
(g) of §25.5] of this title (relating to ORP Vesting and Participation) 
and the ERS/TRS service transfer law, an ORP participant shall not 
be eligible to become an active member of the applicable retirement 
system or receive any benefits from the system other than a return of 
employee contributions that may have been deposited with the system 
(and accrued interest, if any). 

(g) Participation Start Date. The first day that ORP contribu-
tions are made shall be determined as follows. 

(1) Election on Initial ORP Eligibility Date. 

(A) Employees of Institutions of Higher Education. 

(i) New Employees. For new employees who sign 
the TRS-28 ORP election form [and submit the appropriate ORP elec-
tion forms] on or before their initial ORP eligibility date, the participa-
tion start date shall be the initial ORP eligibility date (i.e., first day of 
ORP-eligible employment). 

(ii) Transfers within Same Institution. For employ-
ees who transfer from a non-ORP-eligible position to an ORP-eligible 
position within the same institution and who sign the TRS-28 ORP 
election form [and submit the appropriate ORP election forms] on or 
before their initial ORP eligibility date, the participation start date shall 
be the initial ORP eligibility date (i.e., first day of ORP-eligible em-
ployment), unless the initial ORP eligibility date is not the first day of 
the month, in which case, to avoid dual contributions to both TRS and 
ORP during the same month, as provided in §25.6(a)(4) of this title 
(relating to No Dual Contributions), the participation start date shall be 
the first day of the month following the month in which the initial ORP 
eligibility date falls[, or the first day of the applicable payroll period, if 
payroll is not processed on a monthly basis]. 

(B) Employees of the Board. [The participation start 
date for ORP-eligible Board employees who elect ORP on their initial 
ORP eligibility date, as defined in §25.3 of this title (relating to Defi-
nitions), by signing and submitting the appropriate forms on or before 
their initial ORP eligibility date shall be based on whether they were 
subject to the 90-day ERS waiting period.] 

(i) [Board Employees not subject to 90-Day ERS 
Waiting Period.] 

[(I)] New Employees. For new Board employ-
ees [who are not subject to the 90-day ERS waiting period because 
they are already members of ERS and] who sign [and submit] the 
[appropriate] ORP election form provided by the Board [forms] on or 
before their initial ORP eligibility date, the participation start date shall 
be the initial ORP eligibility date (i.e., first day of ORP-eligible em-
ployment). 

(ii) [(II)] Transfers within the Board. For Board em-
ployees [who are not subject to the 90-day ERS waiting period because 
they are already members of ERS and] who transfer from a non-ORP-
eligible position at the Board to an ORP-eligible position at the Board, 
and who sign [and submit] the [appropriate] ORP election form [forms] 
provided by the Board on or before their initial ORP eligibility date, the 
participation start date shall be the initial ORP eligibility date (i.e., first 
day of ORP-eligible employment), unless the initial ORP eligibility 
date is not the first day of the month, in which case, to avoid dual con-
tributions to both ERS and ORP during the same month, as provided in 
§25.6(a)(4) of this title, the participation start date shall be the first day 
of the month following the month in which the initial ORP eligibility 
date falls[, or the first day of the applicable payroll period, if payroll is 
not processed on a monthly basis]. 

[(ii) Board Employees subject to 90-Day ERS Wait-
ing Period. To avoid partial month contributions for employees who are 
subject to the 90-day ERS waiting period and who sign and submit the 
appropriate ORP election forms on or before their initial ORP eligibil-
ity date, the amount of the ORP contribution for the month in which 
their initial ORP eligibility date falls shall be based on salary earned 
during that entire month, so the participation start date shall be the first 
day of the month in which the initial ORP eligibility date falls, or the 
first day of the applicable payroll period, if payroll is not processed on 
a monthly basis.] 

(2) Election After Initial ORP Eligibility Date. The par-
ticipation start date for ORP-eligible employees who sign the TRS-28 
ORP election form or, for employees of the Board, the ORP election 
form provided by the Board [and submit the appropriate ORP election 
forms] after their initial ORP eligibility date, shall be the first day of 
the month following the date that the form is [forms are] signed [and 
submitted], with the following exceptions: 

(A) During Month of Initial ORP Eligibility Date. ORP 
employers may establish a policy that employees who elect ORP by 
signing the TRS-28 ORP election form or, for employees of the Board, 
the ORP election form provided by the Board [and submitting the ap-
propriate forms] after their initial ORP eligibility date but before the 
end of [payroll has been processed for] the month in which the initial 
ORP eligibility date falls may be treated as if they had signed [and sub-
mitted] the form [forms] on or before their initial ORP eligibility date 
as provided by paragraph (1) of this subsection, provided the employee 
earns enough compensation between the date of the election and the end 
of the month in which the initial ORP eligibility date falls to cover the 
employee's ORP contribution for the entire month. 

(B) After Month of Initial ORP Eligibility Date: ORP 
employers may establish a policy that employees who elect ORP by 
signing the TRS-28 ORP election form or, for employees of the Board, 
the ORP election form provided by the Board [and submitting the ap-
propriate forms] after the month in which their initial ORP eligibility 
date falls, but before the end of [payroll has been processed for] the 
month in which the form is [forms are] signed [and submitted], may 
start participating in the month in which the form is [forms are] signed 
[and submitted] rather than the first of the following month, provided 
the employee earns enough compensation between the date of the elec-
tion and the end of the month in which the form is signed to cover 
the employee's ORP contribution for the entire month. To avoid par-
tial month payments, contributions for these participants shall be based 
on salary earned during the entire month in which the form is [forms 
are] signed [and submitted, or during the entire pay period in which 
the forms are signed and submitted, if payroll is not processed on a 
monthly basis]. 

(C) (No change.) 
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(h) Active Membership in Retirement System Requirement. 
Participation in ORP shall be an alternative to active membership in 
the applicable retirement system. 

[(1) Board Employees Subject to 90-Day ERS Waiting Pe-
riod. Employees who are not current members of ERS when they be-
come employed in an ORP-eligible position at the Board shall not be 
eligible to elect ORP in lieu of ERS until the 90-day ERS waiting pe-
riod has been satisfied.] 

[(2) Retirees Not Eligible. Employees who have retired 
from TRS or ERS are no longer active members of the applicable re-
tirement system; therefore, a] 

(1) A TRS retiree shall not be eligible to elect ORP in lieu 
of TRS at a Texas public institution of higher education. [and an] 

(2) An ERS retiree shall not be eligible to elect ORP in lieu 
of ERS at the Board. 

(i) Automatic Retirement System Enrollment. A new em-
ployee at a Texas public institution of higher education who is eligible 
to elect ORP in lieu of TRS shall be automatically enrolled in TRS 
until an election to participate in ORP is made by signing the TRS-28 
ORP election form [and submitting the appropriate forms to the 
institution] as provided in subsection (g) of this section. A new Board 
employee who is eligible to elect ORP in lieu of ERS shall be automat-
ically enrolled in ERS[, following the 90-day ERS waiting period, if 
applicable,] until an election to participate in ORP is made by signing 
the ORP election form provided by the Board [and submitting the 
appropriate forms to the Board] as provided in subsection (g) of this 
section. 

(j) - (n) (No change.) 

(o) Administrative Errors. 

(1) Orientation Procedures. Each ORP employer shall de-
velop and implement effective orientation and enrollment procedures 
to ensure appropriate and timely processing of newly eligible employ-
ees' retirement plan choices, including procedures for both new em-
ployees and current employees who transfer to an ORP-eligible posi-
tion. 

(2) Rectification. In the event an administrative error oc-
curs which prevents the normal processing of an ORP-eligible em-
ployee's election, the ORP employer shall rectify the error as soon as 
practicable and in a manner that results in a situation that is as close to 
the originally expected outcome as possible, within applicable federal 
and state laws and rules. 

(A) To ensure compliance with applicable IRS code and 
regulations, an ORP-eligible employee shall not be eligible to elect 
ORP after the end of the employee's ORP election period as defined 
by §25.3 of this title (relating to Definitions). 

(B) If an ORP employer fails to provide an opportunity 
for an ORP-eligible employee to elect ORP on or before the employee's 
initial ORP eligibility date, the ORP employer shall, immediately upon 
discovery of the failure, provide notification to the employee that the 
administrative error occurred. 

(i) If the ORP employer's notification is made within 
the ORP-eligible employee's ORP election period as defined in §25.3 
of this title (relating to Definitions), the employee shall only be eligible 
to elect ORP in lieu of the applicable retirement system within the re-
mainder of the employee's ORP election period. The employee's ORP 
election period shall not be extended due to an ORP employer's failure 
to provide an opportunity for the ORP-eligible employee to elect ORP 
on or before the employee's initial ORP-eligibility date. 

(ii) If the ORP employer's notification is not made 
within the ORP-eligible employee's ORP election period as defined in 
§25.3 of this title (relating to Definitions), the employee shall not be 
eligible to elect ORP in lieu of the applicable retirement system. 

(C) An ORP-eligible employee's ORP election period 
shall not be extended due to an ORP employer's failure to timely 
process an ORP-eligible employee's ORP election form. 

(3) (No change.) 

[(4) Failure to Notify Error. If an ORP employer fails to no-
tify an ORP-eligible employee of his or her eligible status on or before 
the employee's initial ORP eligibility date, the ORP employer shall no-
tify the eligible employee as soon as the oversight is discovered. The 
90-day ORP election period for the eligible employee shall begin on 
the date that the employee is notified, and the participation start date 
shall be determined in accordance with subsection (g) of this section.] 

(p) (No change.) 

§25.5. ORP Vesting and Participation. 
(a) - (f) (No change.) 

(g) Employment in a Non-Benefits-Eligible Position. 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) Definition. For purposes of this subsection, a non-ben-
efits-eligible position shall be defined as a position that is one or more 
of the following: 

(A) less than 50 percent effort; 

(B) temporary, as defined by TRS for employees of 
Texas public institutions of higher education [expected to last less 
than a full semester or a period of four and one-half months (i.e., 
temporary)]; or 

(C) requires student status as a condition of employ-
ment. 

(4) - (7) (No change.) 

(h) - (i) (No change.) 

(j) Termination of Participation. An employee shall terminate 
participation in ORP only upon death, retirement (including disability 
retirement), or termination of employment with all Texas public insti-
tutions of higher education (if the election of ORP was in lieu of TRS) 
or termination of employment with the Board (if the election of ORP 
was in lieu of ERS). 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) Transfer of Funds is not a Termination. A transfer of 
ORP funds between ORP accounts or ORP companies (contract ex-
change) shall not be considered a termination of employment for ORP 
purposes. 

§25.6. Uniform Administration of ORP. 
(a) Contributions. 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) IRS Limits on Defined Contributions. Contributions 
to a participant's ORP account shall not exceed the maximum amount 
allowed under §415(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as 
amended. 

(A) (No change.) 

(B) Stopping ORP Contributions. In the absence of a 
415(m) plan, an ORP employer shall discontinue ORP contributions 
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for participants who reach the 415(c) limit for the remainder of the 
applicable tax [plan] year. 

(C) (No change.) 

(3) No Co-Mingling of ORP and non-ORP Funds. 

(A) No Non-Texas ORP Funds. No non-Texas ORP 
funds, including any withdrawn TRS member contributions, may be 
rolled over or transferred to an ORP account prior to the participant's 
termination of ORP participation. 

(B) - (C) (No change.) 

(4) No Dual Contributions. A contribution to the applica-
ble retirement system and to an ORP company within the same cal-
endar month shall not be permitted, except when a person terminates 
employment in a position covered by the applicable retirement system 
and, prior to the end of the calendar month in which the termination 
occurs, becomes employed in an ORP-eligible position at a different 
ORP employer and elects to participate in ORP by signing the TRS-28 
ORP election form or, for employees of the Board, the ORP election 
form provided by the Board on a date that results in an [and submitting 
the appropriate forms to the ORP employer in such manner that the] 
ORP participation start date that is prior to the end of that same calen-
dar month, as provided in §25.4(g) of this title (relating to Participation 
Start Date). 

(5) Eligible Compensation. 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(C) Stopping ORP Contributions. An ORP employer 
shall discontinue ORP contributions for participants who reach the 
401(a)(17) limit for the remainder of the applicable tax [plan] year. 

(6) Contribution Rates. The amount of each participant's 
ORP contribution shall be a percentage of the participant's eligible 
compensation as established by the ORP statute and the General Ap-
propriations Act for each biennium. Each contribution shall include an 
amount based on the employee rate and an amount based on the em-
ployer rate. 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(C) Supplemental Employer Rate. Institutions may 
provide a supplement to the state base rate under the following 
conditions: 

(i) - (v) (No change.) 

(vi) All ORP employers shall maintain documenta-
tion of a participant's first date to participate in ORP in lieu of the appli-
cable retirement system at any ORP employer and shall provide that in-
formation to any future ORP employers of the participant for purposes 
of determining the participant's grandfather status. This information 
shall be maintained for as long as the employer's plan exists regard-
less of whether the ORP employer provides a supplemental employer 
rate contribution and regardless of the amount of any supplemental em-
ployer rate contribution provided. 

(7) Proportionality. ORP employers shall pay ORP em-
ployer contributions from the appropriate funding source in accordance 
with applicable proportionality provisions, including provisions in the 
General Appropriations Act and §830.201 of the Texas Government 
Code. 

[(A) ORP employers Other than Community Colleges. 
Texas public institutions of higher education, not including public com-
munity colleges, and the Board shall pay ORP employer contributions 
on a proportionate basis from the same funding source that a partici-
pant's salary is paid from. General Revenue funds may only be used 

for ORP employer contributions for the portion of a participant's salary 
that is actually paid with General Revenue.] 

[(B) Public Community Colleges. Public community 
colleges shall pay ORP employer contributions on a proportionate ba-
sis from the same funding source that a participant's salary is paid from, 
except that all participants who are eligible to have all or part of their 
salary paid from General Revenue shall be eligible for General Rev-
enue funding of their ORP employer contributions for the part of their 
salaries that is eligible for General Revenue funding, whether or not the 
salary is actually paid from General Revenue. Eligibility for General 
Revenue funding shall be based on the Elements of Expenditure.] 

[(C) Not Applicable to Supplemental Employer Contri-
butions. The proportionality provisions in this paragraph do not apply 
to supplemental employer contributions that an ORP employer may 
make as provided by subparagraph (6)(C) of this subsection.] 

(8) - (9) (No change.) 

(10) Same-Day Credit. ORP companies shall deposit each 
participant's ORP contributions into the accounts and/or funds desig-
nated by the participant effective on the same business day that the 
contributions are received by the company if the funds are received be-
fore the close of business and on the next business day if the funds are 
received after the close of business. A company that does not com-
ply with this provision shall not be eligible to be authorized as an ORP 
company by any ORP employer. 

(11) (No change.) 

(b) Withdrawal of Retirement System Funds. An em-
ployee who elects to participate in ORP may withdraw any member 
[employee] contributions (plus accrued interest, if any) that he or she 
may have accumulated in the applicable retirement system prior to the 
election of ORP. Withdrawn member contributions shall not be rolled 
over into the participant's ORP account prior to termination of ORP 
participation. 

(c) ORP Companies. 

(1) - (5) (No change.) 

(6) Participant's Change of Companies. 

(A) - (D) (No change.) 

(E) Transfers of Prior Contributions. 

(i) Each ORP employer shall include a provision in 
the employer's ORP plan that permits participants to execute a con-
tract exchange to [Participants may] transfer ORP funds that were con-
tributed during the current or prior periods of employment with the 
[same or another] ORP employer to another ORP company that is au-
thorized by the employer to receive the funds[, but only if their current 
ORP employer authorizes it after confirming that the funds are being 
transferred to a valid ORP contract]. A contract exchange [transfer of 
prior contributions] shall not be counted against the number of changes 
required under subparagraph (B) of this paragraph. 

(ii) Each ORP employer may include provisions in 
the employer's ORP plan that permit participants to transfer ORP funds 
from one ORP employer's plan to another ORP employer's plan pro-
vided both employer plans include provisions authorizing such plan-
to-plan transfers. 

(7) - (16) (No change.) 

(d) - (e) (No change.) 

(f) Distribution Restrictions. 

(1) Restricted Access. 
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(A) No Pre-Termination Access unless Age 70-1/2. 
ORP participants shall not access any of their ORP funds by any 
means (including partial or full withdrawals) until the earlier of the 
date that they: 

(i) terminate all employment with all ORP employ-
ers; or 

(ii) reach age 70-1/2 years. 

(B) No Loans or Hardship Withdrawals. 

(i) Loans, financial hardship withdrawals, or any 
other method that provides a participant with any type of access 
to ORP funds prior to the earlier of termination of employment or 
attainment of age 70-1/2 shall not be permitted. 

(ii) ORP products may provide for loans or hardship 
withdrawals after the participant's termination of employment or attain-
ment of age 70-1/2, if permissible under applicable laws, [and] regula-
tions and plan provisions. 

(C) - (D) (No change.) 

(E) Transfer of Funds is not a Termination. A transfer 
of ORP funds between ORP accounts or ORP companies (contract ex-
change) shall not be considered a termination of employment for ORP 
purposes. 

(F) - (G) (No change.) 

(2) Authorization to Release ORP Funds. An ORP com-
pany shall not release any ORP funds to a participant until receipt of 
notification from the participant's ORP employer that a break in service 
or retirement has occurred, except when the participant has reached age 
70-1/2, in which case, the ORP company may release funds upon verifi-
cation that the participant has reached age 70-1/2. The ORP employer's 
termination notification may be referred to as a vesting letter because it 
indicates whether the participant has met the ORP vesting requirement. 

(A) (No change.) 

(B) Vested Participants. If a participant terminates af-
ter meeting the vesting requirement, all funds shall be available in ac-
cordance with applicable federal law, plan provisions and contractual 
provisions, but non-ORP-related early withdrawal penalties, such as 
additional federal income taxes or contractual surrender fees, may ap-
ply depending on factors such as the participant's product selection and 
age at termination. 

(3) Prohibited Distribution by ORP Company. If an ORP 
company provides a participant with any access to ORP funds prior 
to the earlier of the participant's termination of employment with all 
ORP employers or attainment of age 70-1/2, then the ORP employer, 
as the plan sponsor, and the ORP company, as the trustee of the funds, 
shall rectify the situation in accordance with applicable IRS procedures. 
[that company shall be responsible for making a prohibited distribution 
and the following provisions apply.] 

[(A) Redeposit. The participant's ORP employer shall 
require the company to:] 

[(i) redeposit funds to the employee's ORP account 
as if no withdrawal had been made; and] 

[(ii) provide written verification to the ORP em-
ployer that the account has been fully restored with no adverse impact 
to the employee.] 

[(B) Company Suspension. The ORP employer may 
suspend a company from doing further business with the ORP em-

ployer's participants at any time a company fails to comply with these 
provisions.] 

[(C) Separate Transaction Not Related to ORP. A pro-
hibited distribution, such as a loan that is not authorized under the ORP 
statute, is not related to ORP and shall be treated as a separate transac-
tion between the company and the individual, for example, as an unse-
cured loan.] 

(g) ORP Employer Reports. 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) Annual Report. 

(A) (No change.) 

(B) Due Date. The required information shall be re-
ported on a fiscal year basis and shall normally be due on October 
[November] 1 of each year for the most recent fiscal year ending Au-
gust 31. 

(3) (No change.) 

(h) Required Notices to Employees. 

(1) Basic Information for Newly Eligible Employees. On 
or before an ORP-eligible employee's initial ORP eligibility date, 
which is the first day of his or her 90-day ORP election period, each 
institution shall provide the ORP-eligible employee with written 
introductory information on ORP developed by the Board and titled, 
"An Overview of TRS and ORP for Employees Eligible to Elect ORP." 

(A) (No change.) 

(B) Electronic Notification. An institution may meet 
this notification requirement by: 

(i) placing [on its website the electronic version of 
the Overview document that is provided by the Board, and/or placing] 
a link on its website to [the Overview document that is available on] 
the Board's ORP website; 

(ii) providing the ORP-eligible employee with local 
internet/intranet access to the [electronic version of the document or] 
link to the Board's ORP website; and 

(iii) within the required timeframe, notifying the 
ORP-eligible employee in writing of the location of the [electronic 
version or] link to the Board's ORP website. 

(2) - (3) (No change.) 

(4) Possible Retiree Group Insurance Eligibility. ORP em-
ployers shall include in their normal out-processing procedures for ter-
minated employees, a notification to ORP participants that includes the 
following information: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(C) for ORP employers that are covered under the group 
insurance program administered by ERS, a caution to the participant to 
refrain from withdrawing all of his or her ORP funds if the participant 
enrolls [anticipates enrolling] in the group insurance program adminis-
tered by ERS as an ORP retiree or anticipates enrolling at a later date. 

(D) (No change.) 

(5) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
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PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY 

CHAPTER 97. PLANNING AND 
ACCOUNTABILITY 
SUBCHAPTER AA. ACCOUNTABILITY AND 
PERFORMANCE MONITORING 
19 TAC §97.1005 
(Editor's note: In accordance with Texas Government Code, 
§2002.014, which permits the omission of material which is "cum-
bersome, expensive, or otherwise inexpedient," the figure in 19 TAC 
§97.1005(b) is not included in the print version of the Texas Register. 
The figure is available in the html version of the May 20, 2016, issue 
of the Texas Register on-line.) 

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) proposes an amend-
ment to §97.1005, concerning accountability and performance 
monitoring. The section describes the purpose of the Per-
formance-Based Monitoring Analysis System (PBMAS) and 
manner in which school districts and charter school performance 
is reported. The section also adopts the most recently published 
PBMAS Manual. The proposed amendment would adopt the 
2016 PBMAS Manual. Earlier versions of the manual will remain 
in effect with respect to the school years for which they were 
developed. 

House Bill 3459, 78th Texas Legislature, 2003, added the Texas 
Education Code (TEC), §7.027, limiting and redirecting moni-
toring done by the TEA to that required to ensure school dis-
trict and charter school compliance with federal law and regula-
tions; financial accountability, including compliance with grant re-
quirements; and data integrity for purposes of the Public Educa-
tion Information Management System and accountability under 
TEC, Chapter 39. Legislation passed in 2005 renumbered TEC, 
§7.027, to TEC, §7.028. To meet this monitoring requirement, 
the agency developed the PBMAS, which is used in conjunction 
with other evaluation systems, to monitor performance and pro-
gram effectiveness of special programs in school districts and 
charter schools. 

The TEA has adopted its PBMAS Manual in rule since 2005. 
The PBMAS is a dynamic system that evolves over time, so the 
specific criteria and calculations for monitoring performance and 
program effectiveness may differ from year to year. The intent is 
to update 19 TAC §97.1005 annually to refer to the most recently 
published PBMAS Manual. 

The proposed amendment to 19 TAC §97.1005 would update 
the current rule by adopting the 2016 PBMAS Manual, which 
describes the specific criteria and calculations that will be used 
to assign 2016 PBMAS performance levels. 

The 2016 PBMAS includes several key changes from the 2015 
system. The ongoing transition to the State of Texas Assess-
ments of Academic Readiness (STAAR®) is reflected in the 
2016 PBMAS with the incorporation of STAAR® performance 

standards in accordance with 19 TAC §101.3041, Performance 
Standards. Any STAAR® mathematics data from the 2015 
PBMAS used in the 2016 PBMAS for aggregation or required 
improvement purposes reflect the new Grades 3-8 STAAR® 
mathematics performance standards. Additionally, the 2016 
PBMAS includes STAAR® data based on the Student Success 
Initiative grade-advancement requirements that were reinsti-
tuted for mathematics in the 2015-2016 school year. New cut 
points that reflect the ongoing STAAR® transition were imple-
mented for the STAAR® end-of-course (EOC) indicators, and 
performance level assignments were added for the STAAR® 
EOC English language arts (ELA, i.e., English I and English II) 
indicators. 

New cut points were implemented for the annual dropout rate 
and graduation rate indicators in all four program areas to ac-
count for statutory changes in graduation requirements and ex-
pectations. The Recommended High School Program and Dis-
tinguished Achievement Program indicators in all four program 
areas were deleted since these indicators no longer correspond 
with current state graduation requirements and expectations. 

In addition to the new cut points for the graduation rate indica-
tors referenced above, the graduation rate in the Bilingual Edu-
cation/English as a Second Language program area will be de-
termined based on students identified as an English Language 
Learner (ELL) at any time while attending Grades 9-12 in a Texas 
public school rather than determined only based on students 
identified as ELLs in their last year in a Texas public school. This 
change provides a more comprehensive evaluation of ELL grad-
uation rates and increases the number of students included in 
the indicator, thereby increasing the number of districts meeting 
minimum size requirements and evaluated under the indicator. 

For the 2015 PBMAS, special performance level (PL) provisions 
were added to the Career and Technical Education (CTE) EOC 
indicator that evaluates students served in special education 
(SPED): Indicator #4(i-iv) (CTE SPED STAAR EOC Passing 
Rate). These provisions were designed to address the inclusion 
of STAAR® A and STAAR® Alternate 2 results. For the 2016 
PBMAS, the targeted hold harmless component of those provi-
sions will be discontinued, and PL assignments will be based on 
the new cut points applicable to the other CTE EOC indicators. 

For the 2015 PBMAS, special PL provisions were added to 
SPED Indicator #1(i-v) (SPED STAAR 3-8 Passing Rate) and 
SPED Indicator #3(i-iv) (SPED STAAR EOC Passing Rate). 
These provisions were designed to address the inclusion of 
STAAR® A and STAAR® Alternate 2 results. For the 2016 
PBMAS, the targeted hold harmless component of those pro-
visions will be discontinued. However, the PL 4 assignment 
added in the 2015 PBMAS will continue to be assigned in the 
2016 PBMAS. Additionally, the PL 3 and PL 4 assignments for 
SPED Indicator #1(i-v) will be based on adjusted cut points. 

The 6-11 and 12-21 age groups that were used for the SPED 
Regular Class ≥80% Rate and SPED Regular Class <40% Rate 
indicators have been combined into one 6-21 age group, result-
ing in the deletion of two indicators. To meet federal require-
ments under 20 U.S.C. §1418(d) and 34 Code of Federal Reg-
ulations §300.646, the two remaining 6-21 age group indicators 
will include Report Only designations of significant disproportion-
ality based on race or ethnicity. 

Additionally, the 2016 PBMAS marks the beginning of a transi-
tion to a new PL structure for SPED Indicator #11 (SPED African 
American [Not Hispanic/Latino] Representation), SPED Indica-
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tor #12 (SPED Hispanic Representation), and SPED Indicator 
#13 (SPED LEP Representation). This new structure aligns with 
the transition already made in the 2015 PBMAS for the special 
education discipline indicators' PL structure and will, beginning 
with the 2017 PBMAS, replace the current percentage point dif-
ference with a disproportionality rate. Changes to the PBMAS 
indicators for 2016 are marked in the manual as "New!" for easy 
reference. 

The proposal would establish in rule the PBMAS procedures for 
assigning the 2016 PBMAS performance levels. Applicable pro-
cedures will be adopted each year as annual versions of the PB-
MAS Manual are published. 

The proposed amendment would have no locally maintained pa-
perwork requirements. 

FISCAL NOTE. Criss Cloudt, associate commissioner for as-
sessment and accountability, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the amendment is in effect there will be no ad-
ditional costs for state or local government as a result of enforc-
ing or administering the amendment. There is no effect on local 
economy for the first five years that the proposed amendment 
is in effect; therefore, no local employment impact statement is 
required under Texas Government Code, §2001.022. 

PUBLIC BENEFIT/COST NOTE. Dr. Cloudt has determined that 
for each year of the first five years the amendment is in effect 
the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the amend-
ment will be to continue to inform the public of the existence of 
annual manuals specifying PBMAS procedures by including this 
rule in the Texas Administrative Code. There is no anticipated 
economic cost to persons who are required to comply with the 
proposed amendment. 

ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY 
FLEXIBILITY ANALYSIS FOR SMALL BUSINESSES AND 
MICROBUSINESSES. There is no direct adverse economic 
impact for small businesses and microbusinesses; therefore, 
no regulatory flexibility analysis, specified in Texas Government 
Code, §2006.002, is required. 

REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT. The public comment pe-
riod on the proposal begins May 20, 2016, and ends June 20, 
2016. Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Cristina 
De La Fuente-Valadez, Rulemaking, Texas Education Agency, 
1701 North Congress Avenue, Austin, Texas 78701. Comments 
may also be submitted electronically to rules@tea.texas.gov. A 
request for a public hearing on the proposal submitted under the 
Administrative Procedure Act must be received by the commis-
sioner of education not more than 14 calendar days after notice 
of the proposal has been published in the Texas Register on May 
20, 2016. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is proposed under 
the Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.028, which authorizes 
the agency to monitor as necessary to ensure school district 
and charter school compliance with state and federal law and 
regulations; TEC, §29.001(5), which authorizes the agency 
to effectively monitor all local educational agencies (LEAs) to 
ensure that rules relating to the delivery of services to children 
with disabilities are applied in a consistent and uniform manner, 
to ensure that LEAs are complying with those rules, and to 
ensure that specific reports filed by LEAs are accurate and 
complete; TEC, §29.010(a), which authorizes the agency to 
adopt and implement a comprehensive system for monitoring 
LEA compliance with federal and state laws relating to special 
education, including ongoing analysis of LEA special education 

data; TEC, §29.062, which authorizes the agency to monitor the 
effectiveness of LEA programs concerning students with limited 
English proficiency; TEC, §39.051 and §39.052, which authorize 
the commissioner to determine criteria for accreditation statuses 
and to determine the accreditation status of each school district 
and open-enrollment charter school; TEC, §39.054(b-1), which 
authorizes the agency to consider the effectiveness of district 
programs for special populations, including career and technical 
education programs, when determining accreditation statuses; 
TEC, §§39.056-39.058, which authorize the commissioner to 
adopt procedures relating to on-site and special accreditation 
investigations; and TEC, §39.102 and §39.104, which authorize 
the commissioner to implement procedures to impose interven-
tions and sanctions for school districts and open-enrollment 
charter schools. 

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment im-
plements the Texas Education Code, §§7.028, 29.001(5), 
29.010(a), 29.062, 39.051, 39.052, 39.054(b-1), 39.056-39.058, 
39.102, and 39.104. 

§97.1005. Performance-Based Monitoring Analysis System. 

(a) In accordance with Texas Education Code, §7.028(a), the 
purpose of the Performance-Based Monitoring Analysis System (PB-
MAS) is to report annually on the performance of school districts and 
charter schools in selected program areas: bilingual education/English 
as a Second Language, career and technical education, special educa-
tion, and certain Title programs under [the] federal law [No Child Left 
Behind Act]. The performance of a school district or charter school 
is reported through indicators of student performance and program ef-
fectiveness and corresponding performance levels established by the 
commissioner of education. 

(b) The assignment of performance levels for school districts 
and charter schools in the 2016 [2015] PBMAS is based on specific cri-
teria and calculations, which are described in the 2016 PBMAS [2015] 
Manual provided in this subsection. 
Figure: 19 TAC §97.1005(b) 
[Figure: 19 TAC §97.1005(b)] 

(c) The specific criteria and calculations used in the PBMAS 
are established annually by the commissioner of education and com-
municated to all school districts and charter schools. 

(d) The specific criteria and calculations used in the annual 
PBMAS manual adopted for prior school years remain in effect for all 
purposes, including accountability and performance monitoring, data 
standards, and audits, with respect to those school years. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602272 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS 

PART 11. TEXAS BOARD OF NURSING 
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CHAPTER 211. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
22 TAC §211.9 
The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) proposes an amendment 
to §211.9, concerning General Considerations. The amend-
ment is proposed under the authority of the Occupations Code 
§301.151. Section 301.151 authorizes the Board to adopt rules 
necessary to perform its statutory duties and conduct its busi-
ness. The proposed amendment addresses the parliamentary 
procedures under which Board proceedings will be conducted. 

Background 

The Board's current rule provides that all Board and commit-
tee meetings will be conducted under the provisions of Robert's 
Rules of Order Newly Revised. While Robert's Rules of Order 
may serve large assemblies and professional parliamentarians 
well, they are comprehensive, detailed, and overly complex for 
the majority of situations faced by typical occupational boards. 
Occupational licensing boards are usually small, and individuals 
appointed to serve on them are typically private citizens selected 
for their expertise in the regulated industry. Because of this, the 
Board desires to simplify the parliamentary processes utilized at 
its meetings. 

At its April 2016 meeting, the Board voted, in open meeting, 
to adopt a Simplified Parliamentary Policy (policy) to govern its 
committee and board meetings. The policy is designed to allow 
flexibility in handling situations that are unique to the Board and 
to conform to the specific requirements of Texas law. Further, the 
policy is designed to be applied in a manner that encourages fair 
and open debate; majority rule; courtesy; good order; common 
sense; and efficiency. 

The newly adopted policy addresses several major issues that 
the Board routinely encounters during its meetings. First, the pol-
icy addresses Board decisions. Under the newly adopted policy, 
all Board decisions must be decided by a majority of the mem-
bers present at a meeting in which a quorum of the Board has 
been convened. The policy also defines a quorum of the Board 
consistent with the specific requirements of the Texas Govern-
ment Code §551.001 and Board Rule §211.5. 

Second, the policy defines the duties and powers of the Board's 
presiding officer in simple terms. Under the policy, the Board's 
chairperson may engage in debate, initiate action, and vote on 
the Board's agenda items. The policy also simplifies the voting 
process for the Board, requiring motions and seconds to be uti-
lized by the members when voting on agenda items. The policy 
also allows for matters to be deemed approved when no objec-
tions from Board members are noted. 

The policy also regulates the Board's general course of debate. 
For instance, under the policy, general discussion of a matter 
may be had prior to a motion determinative of the matter, if per-
mitted by the Board's chairperson. The policy also allows a mo-
tion determinative of a matter to be made without the necessity 
of debate. The policy also encourages the orderly presentation 
of matters by requiring individuals to be recognized by the chair-
person before speaking; for all discussion and debate to be ad-
dressed to the chairperson or the body generally; and for all re-
marks to be civil in content and tone. Further, in order for mo-
tions to be easily understood by those voting on them, the pol-
icy requires all motions to be cast in affirmative language, when 
possible, and dilatory, frivolous, rude, or absurd motions are pro-
hibited. 

The policy also requires all members to vote on every matter 
coming before the Board, unless they are disqualified under the 
Board's conflict of interest and recusal policy. The policy also 
requires every member to timely disclose any conflicts of inter-
est and/or potential grounds for disqualification from voting on a 
particular matter in accordance with the Board's conflict of inter-
est and recusal policy. Finally, the policy contains a simplified 
process for raising points of order, appeals, suspension and/or 
amendment of the rules, and adjournment of a meeting. 

In many ways, the newly adopted policy reflects the processes 
under which the Board currently operates. However, the newly 
adopted policy may help clarify some procedural issues that may 
arise and serves to encourage the resolution of the Board's busi-
ness in an efficient and easily comprehensible manner. 

Section by Section Overview 

Proposed amended §211.9(a) provides that Board and commit-
tee meetings shall be conducted pursuant to the Board's adopted 
Simplified Parliamentary Policy. 

Fiscal Note. Katherine Thomas, Executive Director, has deter-
mined that for each year of the first five years the proposed 
amendment will be in effect, there will be no fiscal impact to state 
or local governments. 

Public Benefit/Cost Note. Ms. Thomas has also determined that 
for each year of the first five years the proposed amendment 
is in effect, the anticipated public benefit will be the adoption of 
rules that encourage the resolution of the Board's business in an 
efficient and easily comprehensible manner and encourage fair 
and open debate; majority rule; courtesy; good order; common 
sense; and compliance with the requirements of Texas law. 

There are no anticipated costs of compliance with the proposal. 
The proposed amendment affects the processes under which 
the Board's meetings are conducted; however, the proposal 
does not impose any direct requirement upon any Board reg-
ulated entity. The parliamentary policy adopted by the Board 
is merely intended to simplify the processes under which the 
Board's meetings are conducted. As such, the Board does 
not anticipate that any costs of compliance will result from the 
proposal. 

Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 
for Small and Micro Businesses. As required by the Government 
Code §2006.002(c) and (f), the Board has determined that the 
proposed amendment will not have an adverse economic effect 
on any individual, Board regulated entity, or other entity required 
to comply with the proposed amendment because there are no 
anticipated costs of compliance with the proposal. As such, the 
Board is not required to prepare a regulatory flexibility analysis. 

Takings Impact Assessment. The Board has determined that 
no private real property interests are affected by this proposal 
and that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right 
to property that would otherwise exist in the absence of govern-
ment action and, therefore, does not constitute a taking or re-
quire a takings impact assessment under the Government Code 
§2007.043. 

Request for Public Comment. To be considered, written com-
ments on the proposal or any request for a public hearing must 
be submitted no later than 5:00 p.m. on June 20 to James 
W. Johnston, General Counsel, Texas Board of Nursing, 333 
Guadalupe, Suite 3-460, Austin, Texas 78701, or by e-mail to 
dusty.johnston@bon.texas.gov, or faxed to (512) 305-8101. If 
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a hearing is held, written and oral comments presented at the 
hearing will be considered. 

Statutory Authority. The amendment is proposed under the au-
thority of the Occupations Code §301.151. 

Section 301.151 addresses the Board's rulemaking authority. 
Section 301.151 authorizes the Board to adopt and enforce 
rules consistent with Chapter 301 and necessary to: (i) perform 
its duties and conduct proceedings before the Board; (ii) regu-
late the practice of professional nursing and vocational nursing; 
(iii) establish standards of professional conduct for license 
holders under Chapter 301; and (iv) determine whether an act 
constitutes the practice of professional nursing or vocational 
nursing. 

Cross Reference To Statute. The following statutes are affected 
by this proposal: Occupations Code, §301.151. 

§211.9. General Considerations. 

(a) Parliamentary procedure. Board and committee meetings 
shall be conducted pursuant to the Board's adopted Simplified Parlia-
mentary Policy [provisions of Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised]. 

(b) - (e) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602247 
Jena Abel 
Assistant General Counsel 
Texas Board of Nursing 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6822 

PART 23. TEXAS REAL ESTATE 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 535. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
SUBCHAPTER E. REQUIREMENTS FOR 
LICENSURE 
22 TAC §535.53 
The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.53, Requirements for Licensure, in Chap-
ter 535, General Provisions. 

The amendments are proposed to clarify that a business entity 
must be qualified to transact business in Texas at all times to 
maintain an active license and that the business entity must no-
tify TREC when it is no longer qualified to transact business in 
Texas. In addition, the amendments more fully set out the scope 
of required errors and omissions insurance coverage. 

Kerri Lewis, General Counsel, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect there 
will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of local gov-
ernment as a result of enforcing or administering the section. 
There is no significant anticipated impact on small businesses, 
micro-businesses or local or state employment as a result of im-
plementing the section. There is no anticipated significant eco-

nomic cost to persons who are required to comply with the pro-
posed amendments. 

Ms. Lewis also has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the section as proposed is in effect, the public benefit an-
ticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be better clarity 
in the rule and greater consumer protection. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kerri Lewis, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission 
to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chapters 
1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and ethics 
for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 
1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. 

The statutes affected by this proposal are Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected 
by the proposed amendments. 

§535.53. Business Entity; Designated Broker. 
(a) Business Entity. 

(1) A business entity must be qualified to transact business 
in Texas to receive, maintain or renew a broker license. 

(2) A Franchise Tax Account Status page from the Texas 
Comptroller of Public Accounts issued within 21 days prior to the date 
of its license or renewal application constitutes evidence of being qual-
ified to transact business in Texas. 

(3) A business entity must notify the Commission not later 
than the 10th day after the date it receives notice that it is not qualified 
to transact business in Texas. 

(4) [(3)] A foreign business entity must meet the additional 
requirements of §535.132 of this chapter to be eligible for a broker's 
license. 

(b) Designated Broker. 

(1) For the purposes of qualifying for, maintaining, or re-
newing a license, a business entity must designate an individual hold-
ing an active Texas real estate broker license in good standing with the 
Commission to act for it. 

(2) An individual licensed broker is not in good standing 
with the Commission if: 

(A) the broker's license is revoked or suspended, in-
cluding probated revocation or suspension; 

(B) a business entity licensed by the Commission while 
the broker was the designated broker for that business entity had its 
license revoked or suspended, including probated revocation or sus-
pension, in the past two years; 

(C) the broker has any unpaid or past due monetary 
obligations to the Commission, including administrative penalties and 
recovery fund payments; or 

(D) a business entity licensed by the Commission has 
any unpaid or past due monetary obligations to the Commission, in-
cluding administrative penalties and recovery fund payments, that were 
incurred while the broker was the designated broker for the entity; 

(3) Regardless of the type of business entity, the designated 
broker must be a managing officer of the business entity. 
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(4) The business entity may not act as a broker during any 
period in which it does not have a designated broker to act for it who 
meets the requirements of the Act. 

(5) To obtain or renew a license, or upon any change in 
the business entity's designated broker, the entity must provide to the 
Commission: 

(A) proof of the designated broker's current status as an 
officer, manager or general partner for that entity; and 

(B) if the designated broker does not own directly at 
least 10 percent of the business entity, proof that the business entity 
maintains [appropriate] errors and omissions insurance: [if the desig-
nated broker does not own directly at least 10 percent of the entity] 

(i) in at least the minimum coverage limits required 
by the Act; and 

(ii) that provides coverage for losses due to a viola-
tion of the Act or this Chapter. 

(6) A broker may not act as a designated broker at any time 
while the broker's license is inactive, expired, suspended, or revoked. 

[(c) If a licensed corporation or limited liability company is 
dissolved with the secretary of state then any license held by that cor-
poration or company immediately becomes null and void.] 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 3, 2016. 
TRD-201602104 
Kerri Lewis 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3092 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
22 TAC §535.55 
The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.55, Education and Sponsorship Require-
ments for a Salesperson, in Chapter 535, General Provisions. 

The amendments are proposed to align the rule with statutory 
changes in SB 699, enacted by the 84th Legislature regard-
ing the number of hours required for continuing education and 
changing term "salesperson" to "sales agent." 

Kerri Lewis, General Counsel, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect there 
will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of local gov-
ernment as a result of enforcing or administering the section. 
There is no significant anticipated impact on small businesses, 
micro-businesses or local or state employment as a result of im-
plementing the section. There is no anticipated significant eco-
nomic cost to persons who are required to comply with the pro-
posed amendments. 

Ms. Lewis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed is in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be greater 
consistency in the rules. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kerri Lewis, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission 
to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chapters 
1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and ethics 
for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 
1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. 

The statutes affected by this proposal are Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected 
by the proposed amendments. 

§535.55. Education and Sponsorship Requirements for a Sales Agent 
[Salesperson] License. 

(a) Education requirements for an initial sales agent 
[salesperson] license. An applicant for an initial sales agent 
[salesperson] license must provide the Commission with satisfactory 
evidence of completion of 180 hours of qualifying real estate courses 
as required under the Act as follows: 

(1) 60 hours of Principles of Real Estate; 

(2) 30 hours of Law of Agency; 

(3) 30 hours of Law of Contracts; 

(4) 30 hours of Promulgated Contracts Forms; and 

(5) 30 hours of Real Estate Finance. 

(b) Additional education requirements. A sales agent 
[salesperson] must complete an additional 90 classroom hours in qual-
ifying courses by the expiration date of the sales agent's [salesperson's] 
initial licensing period and report those hours in accordance with the 
requirements of §535.91 of this title. 

(c) The Commission may waive the education required for a 
real estate sales agent [salesperson] license if the applicant: 

(1) was licensed either as a Texas real estate broker or as a 
Texas real estate sales agent [salesperson] within two years before the 
filing of the application; and 

(2) completed any qualifying real estate courses or real es-
tate related courses that would have been required for a timely renewal 
of the prior license, or, if the renewal of the prior license was not subject 
to the completion of qualifying real estate courses or real estate related 
courses, completed at least the number of [15] hours of continuing ed-
ucation courses required by §535.92(a) of this title within the two-year 
period before filing an application for an active license. 

(d) The Commission will issue an applicant an inactive sales 
agent [salesperson] license upon satisfaction of subsection (a) of this 
section. An inactive sales agent [salesperson] may not practice as a 
licensed sales agent [salesperson] until sponsored by an active Texas 
licensed broker. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 3, 2016. 
TRD-201602105 
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Kerri Lewis 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3092 

SUBCHAPTER F. REQUIREMENTS FOR 
EDUCATION PROVIDERS, COURSES 
AND INSTRUCTORS FOR QUALIFYING 
EDUCATION 
22 TAC §535.65 
The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.65, Responsibilities and Operations of 
Providers of Qualifying Courses, in Chapter 535, General Provi-
sions. 

The amendments are proposed to remove the requirement for 
education completion certificates to include the registration date 
since that information not necessary for the Commission to cal-
culate compliance with statutory timeframes for course comple-
tion. 

Kerri Lewis, General Counsel, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect there 
will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of local gov-
ernment as a result of enforcing or administering the section. 
There is no significant anticipated impact on small businesses, 
micro-businesses or local or state employment as a result of im-
plementing the section. There is no anticipated significant eco-
nomic cost to persons who are required to comply with the pro-
posed amendments. 

Ms. Lewis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed is in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be reduction 
of work and duplication on education certificates. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kerri Lewis, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission 
to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chapters 
1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and ethics 
for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 
1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. 

The statutes affected by this proposal are Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected 
by the proposed amendments. 

§535.65. Responsibilities and Operations of Providers of Qualifying 
Courses. 

(a) - (i) (No change.) 

(j) Course completion certificate. 

(1) Upon successful completion of a core course, a 
provider shall issue a course completion certificate that a student can 
submit to the Commission. The course completion certificate shall 
show: 

(A) the provider's name and approval number; 

(B) the instructor's name and instructor license number 
assigned by the Commission; 

(C) the course title; 

(D) course numbers; 

(E) the number of classroom credit hours; 

(F) the dates the student [registered for,] began and 
completed the course; and 

(G) printed name and signature of an official of the 
provider on record with the Commission. 

(2) A provider may withhold any official completion doc-
umentation required by this subsection from a student until the student 
has fulfilled all financial obligations to the provider. 

(3) A provider shall maintain adequate security against 
forgery for official completion documentation required by this subsec-
tion. 

(k) - (m) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 3, 2016. 
TRD-201602106 
Kerri Lewis 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3092 

SUBCHAPTER G. REQUIREMENTS FOR 
CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS, 
COURSES AND INSTRUCTORS 
22 TAC §535.72 
The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.72, Approval of Non-elective Continuing 
Education Courses in Chapter 535, General Provisions. 

The amendments are proposed to clarify that classroom 
students must take the promulgated final examination indepen-
dently prior to the instructor reviewing the correct answers. 

Kerri Lewis, General Counsel, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect there 
will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of local gov-
ernment as a result of enforcing or administering the section. 
There is no significant anticipated impact on small businesses, 
micro-businesses or local or state employment as a result of im-
plementing the section. There is no anticipated significant eco-
nomic cost to persons who are required to comply with the pro-
posed amendments. 

Ms. Lewis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed is in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be greater 
clarity in the rule. 
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Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kerri Lewis, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission 
to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chapters 
1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and ethics 
for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 
1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. 

The statutes affected by this proposal are Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected 
by the proposed amendments. 

§535.72. Approval of Non-elective Continuing Education Courses. 

(a) - (h) (No change.) 

(i) Course examinations. 

(1) A provider must administer a final examination promul-
gated by the Commission for non-elective CE courses beginning Jan-
uary 1, 2017 as follows: 

(A) For classroom delivery, the examination will be 
given as a part of class instruction time with each student answering 
the examination questions independently followed by a review of 
the correct answers [being reviewed] by the instructor. There is no 
minimum passing grade required to receive credit. [and students will 
not be graded;] 

(B) For distance education delivery, the examination 
will be given after completion of regular course work and must be: 

(i) proctored by a member of the provider faculty or 
staff, or third party proctor set out in §535.65(i)(5) of this title, who 
is present at the test site and has positively identified that the student 
taking the examination is the student registered for and who took the 
course; or 

(ii) administered using a computer under conditions 
that satisfy the Commission that the student taking the examination is 
the student registered for and who took the course; and 

(iii) graded with a pass rate of 70% in order for a 
student to receive credit for the course; and 

(iv) kept confidential. 

(2) A provider may not give credit to a student who fails a 
final examination and subsequent final examination as provided for in 
subsection (j) of this section. 

(j) - (m) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 3, 2016. 
TRD-201602107 
Kerri Lewis 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3092 

SUBCHAPTER H. RECOVERY FUND 
22 TAC §535.83 
The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes new 
§535.83, Association of Designated Broker on Claim, in Chapter 
535, General Provisions. 

The new section is proposed to clarify which designated broker 
is to be associated with a licensed business entity when a Real 
Estate Recovery Trust Account claim is filed or paid on behalf of 
that licensed business entity. 

Kerri Lewis, General Counsel, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the proposed new section is in effect there will be 
no fiscal implications for the state or for units of local government 
as a result of enforcing or administering the section. There is no 
significant anticipated impact on small businesses, micro-busi-
nesses or local or state employment as a result of implementing 
the section. There is no anticipated significant economic cost to 
persons who are required to comply with the proposed new sec-
tion. 

Ms. Lewis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed is in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be greater 
consumer protection. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kerri Lewis, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The new section is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commis-
sion to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chap-
ters 1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and 
ethics for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 
1101 and 1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 
1102. 

The statutes affected by this proposal are Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected 
by the proposed new section. 

§535.83. Association of Designated Broker on Claim. 
For purposes of §1101.6011 and §1101.610(e) of the Act, the desig-
nated broker associated with the claim against a business entity is the 
broker who was the designated broker at the time of the act that is the 
subject of the underlying judgment. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 3, 2016. 
TRD-201602109 
Kerri Lewis 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3092 

SUBCHAPTER L. INACTIVE LICENSE 
STATUS 

PROPOSED RULES May 20, 2016 41 TexReg 3601 

mailto:sel@trec.texas.gov
mailto:sel@trec.texas.gov
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22 TAC §535.123 
The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.123, Inactive Broker Status, in Chapter 
535, General Provisions. 

The amendments are proposed to clarify that a licensed busi-
ness entity becomes inactive when it is no longer qualified to 
transact business in Texas or its designated broker's license is 
suspended, including probated suspension. 

Kerri Lewis, General Counsel, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect there 
will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of local gov-
ernment as a result of enforcing or administering the section. 
There is no significant anticipated impact on small businesses, 
micro-businesses or local or state employment as a result of im-
plementing the section. There is no anticipated significant eco-
nomic cost to persons who are required to comply with the pro-
posed amendments. 

Ms. Lewis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed is in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be greater 
consumer protection. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kerri Lewis, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission 
to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chapters 
1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and ethics 
for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 
1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. 

The statutes affected by this proposal are Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected 
by the proposed amendments. 

§535.123. Inactive Broker Status. 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) The license of a business entity broker immediately be-
comes inactive when: 

(1) the Commission receives an application for inactive 
status from the broker; 

(2) the entity is not qualified to transact business in Texas 
[forfeits its charter]; 

(3) the designated broker's license: 

(A) expires; 

(B) is suspended, including a probated suspension; or 

(C) is [or] revoked; or 

(4) the designated broker dies or resigns as designated bro-
ker. 

(c) The broker must confirm to the Commission in writing that 
the broker has given all sales agents [salespersons] sponsored by the 
broker written notice of termination of sponsorship at least 30 days 
before filing the application for inactive status. 

(d) - (e) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 3, 2016. 
TRD-201602110 
Kerri Lewis 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3092 

SUBCHAPTER Q. ADMINISTRATIVE 
PENALTIES 
22 TAC §535.191 
The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.191, Schedule of Administrative Penal-
ties, in Chapter 535, General Provisions. 

The amendments are proposed to lower the administrative 
penalty for bad check violations and include a penalty for 
violations of 22 TAC §535.53. 

Kerri Lewis, General Counsel, has determined that for the first 
five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect there 
will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of local gov-
ernment as a result of enforcing or administering the section. 
There is no significant anticipated impact on small businesses, 
micro-businesses or local or state employment as a result of im-
plementing the section. There is no anticipated significant eco-
nomic cost to persons who are required to comply with the pro-
posed amendments. 

Ms. Lewis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the section as proposed is in effect, the public benefit 
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section will be greater 
consumer protection. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kerri Lewis, 
General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, P.O. Box 
12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or via email to general.coun-
sel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 days after 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission 
to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chapters 
1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and ethics 
for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 
1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. 

The statutes affected by this proposal are Texas Occupations 
Code, Chapter 1101. No other statute, code or article is affected 
by the proposed amendments. 

§535.191. Schedule of Administrative Penalties. 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) An administrative penalty range of $100-$1,500 per viola-
tion per day may be assessed for violations of the following sections of 
the Act and Rules: 

(1) §1101.552; 

(2) §1101.652(a)(3) 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

(3) [(2)] §1101.652(a)(7); 

(4) [(3)] §§1101.652(a-1)(3); 

(5) [(4)] §1101.652(b)(23); 

(6) [(5)] §1101.652(b)(29); 

(7) [(6)] 22 TAC §535.21(a); 

(8) 22 TAC §535.53; 

(9) [(7)] 22 TAC §535.91(d); 

(10) [(8)] 22 TAC §535.154; and 

(11) [(9)] 22 TAC §535.300. 

(d) An administrative penalty range of $500-$3,000 per viola-
tion per day may be assessed for violations of the following sections of 
the Act and Rules: 

(1) §§1101.652(a)(4)[(3)]-(5); 

(2) §1101.652(a-1)(2); 

(3) §1101.652(b)(1); 

(4) §§1101.652(b)(7)-(8); 

(5) §1101.652(b)(12); 

(6) §1101.652(b)(14); 

(7) §1101.652(b)(22); 

(8) §1101.652(b)(28); 

(9) §§1101.652(b)(30)-(31); 

(10) §1101.654(a); 

(11) 22 TAC §535.2; and 

(12) 22 TAC §535.144. 

(e) - (f) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 3, 2016. 
TRD-201602111 
Kerri Lewis 
General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3092 

SUBCHAPTER R. REAL ESTATE 
INSPECTORS 
22 TAC §§535.227 - 535.233 
The Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) proposes amend-
ments to 22 TAC §535.227, Standards of Practice: General 
Provisions, §535.228, Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspec-
tion Requirements for Structural Systems, §535.229 Standards 
of Practice: Minimum Inspection Requirements for Electrical 
Systems, §535.230 Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspection 
Requirements for Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning 
Systems, §535.231 Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspection 
Requirements for Plumbing Systems, §535.232 Standards of 

Practice: Minimum Inspection Requirements for Appliances, 
and §535.233 Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspection Re-
quirements for Optional Systems in Subchapter R, Real Estate 
Inspectors. 

The proposed amendments to §535.227, Standards of Prac-
tice: General Provisions, provide clarity and consistency by re-
structuring and renumbering this section, streamlining wording, 
and removing redundant language. These amendments move 
§535.227(b) to subsection (a), and renumber the other subsec-
tions accordingly. Language was added to subsection (a) clar-
ifying when the SOPs apply, and the definitions for "special-
ized equipment," "specialized procedures," "substantially com-
pleted," and "technically exhaustive" were incorporated into the 
body of subsection (a) because those definitions are not used 
elsewhere in the rules. 

The proposed amendments to §535.228, Standards of Practice: 
Minimum Inspection Requirements for Structural Systems, and 
§535.233, Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspection Require-
ments for Optional Systems, renumber and restructure those 
provisions, streamline wording, and remove redundant language 
to provide clarity and consistency. 

The proposed amendments to §535.229, Standards of Prac-
tice: Minimum Inspection Requirements for Electrical Systems, 
§535.230, Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspection Require-
ments for Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning Systems, 
§535.231, Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspection Require-
ments for Plumbing Systems, and §535.232, Standards of Prac-
tice: Minimum Inspection Requirements for Appliances, renum-
ber and restructure those provisions for clarity and consistency. 

Kristen Worman, Deputy General Counsel, has determined that 
for the first five-year period the proposed amendments are in ef-
fect there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units 
of local government as a result of enforcing or administering the 
sections. There is no anticipated impact on small businesses, 
micro-businesses or local or state employment as a result of im-
plementing the sections. There is no anticipated significant eco-
nomic cost to persons who are required to comply with the pro-
posed amendments. 

Ms. Worman also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the sections as proposed are in effect the public ben-
efits anticipated as a result of enforcing the sections will be re-
quirements that are consistent with the statute and easier for 
consumers and license holders to read and understand. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kristen Wor-
man, Deputy General Counsel, Texas Real Estate Commission, 
P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or via email to gen-
eral.counsel@trec.texas.gov. The deadline for comments is 30 
days after publication in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code, 
§1101.151, which authorizes the Texas Real Estate Commission 
to adopt and enforce rules necessary to administer Chapters 
1101 and 1102; and to establish standards of conduct and ethics 
for its license holders to fulfill the purposes of Chapters 1101 and 
1102 and ensure compliance with Chapters 1101 and 1102. 

The statute affected by this proposal is Chapter 1102, Texas Oc-
cupations Code. No other statute, code or article is affected by 
the proposed amendments. 

§535.227. Standards of Practice: General Provisions. 

(a) Scope. 
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(1) These standards of practice apply when a professional 
inspector or real estate inspector who is licensed under this chapter ac-
cepts employment to perform a real estate inspection for a prospective 
buyer or seller of real property. 

(2) These standards of practice define the minimum re-
quirements for a real estate inspection conducted on a one to four 
family unity that is substantially completed. Substantially completed 
means the stage of construction when a new building, addition, 
improvement, or alteration to an existing building can be occupied or 
used for its intended purpose. 

(3) For the purposes of these standards of practice a real 
estate inspection: 

(A) is a limited visual survey and basic performance 
evaluation of the systems and components of a building using normal 
controls that provides information regarding the general condition of a 
residence at the time of inspection. 

(B) is not intended to be a comprehensive investigation 
or exploratory probe to determine the cause of effect of deficiencies 
noted by the inspector; and 

(C) does not require the use of: 

(i) specialized equipment, including but not limited 
to: 

(I) thermal imaging equipment; 

(II) moisture meters; 

(III) gas or carbon monoxide detection equip-
ment; 

(IV) environmental testing equipment and de-
vices; 

(V) elevation determination devices; or 

(VI) ladders capable of reaching surfaces over 
one story above ground surfaces; or 

(ii) specialized procedures, including but not limited 
to: 

(I) environmental testing; 

(II) elevation measurement; 

(III) calculations; or any method employing de-
structive testing that damages otherwise sound materials or finishes. 

(4) These standards of practice do not prohibit an inspector 
from providing a higher level of inspection performance than required 
by these standards of practice or from inspecting components and sys-
tems in addition to those listed under the standards of practice. 

(b) [(a)] Definitions. 

(1) Accessible--In the reasonable judgment of the inspec-
tor, capable of being approached, entered, or viewed without: 

(A) hazard to the inspector; 

(B) having to climb over obstacles, moving furnishings 
or large, heavy, or fragile objects; 

(C) using specialized equipment or procedures; 

(D) disassembling items other than covers or panels in-
tended to be removed for inspection; 

(E) damaging property, permanent construction or 
building finish; or 

(F) using a ladder for portions of the inspection other 
than the roof or attic space. 

(2) Chapter 1102--Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1102. 

(3) Component--A part of a system. 

(4) Cosmetic--Related only to appearance or aesthetics, 
and not related to performance, operability, or water penetration. 

(5) Deficiency--In the reasonable judgment of the inspec-
tor, a condition that: 

(A) adversely and materially affects the performance of 
a system, or component; or 

(B) constitutes a hazard to life, limb, or property as 
specified by these standards of practice. 

(6) Deficient--Reported as having one or more deficiencies. 

(7) Inspect--To operate in normal ranges using ordinary 
controls at typical settings, look at and examine accessible systems 
or components and report observed deficiencies as specified by these 
standards of practice. 

(8) Performance--Achievement of an operation, function 
or configuration relative to accepted industry standard practices with 
consideration of age and normal wear and tear from ordinary use. 

(9) Report--To provide the inspector's opinions and find-
ings on the standard inspection report form as required by §535.222 
and §535.223 of this title. 

[(10) Specialized equipment--Equipment such as thermal 
imaging equipment, moisture meters, gas or carbon monoxide detec-
tion equipment, environmental testing equipment and devices, eleva-
tion determination devices, and ladders capable of reaching surfaces 
over one story above ground surfaces.] 

[(11) Specialized procedures--Procedures such as environ-
mental testing, elevation measurement, calculations and any method 
employing destructive testing that damages otherwise sound materials 
or finishes.] 

(10) [(12)] Standards of practice--§§535.227 - 535.233 of 
this title. 

[(13) Substantially completed--The stage of construction 
when a new building, addition, improvement, or alteration to an ex-
isting building is sufficiently complete that the building, addition, im-
provement or alteration can be occupied or used for its intended pur-
pose.] 

[(14) Technically Exhaustive--A comprehensive investiga-
tion beyond the scope of a real estate inspection which would involve 
determining the cause or effect of deficiencies, exploratory probing or 
discovery, the use of specialized knowledge, equipment or procedures.] 

[(b) Scope.] 

[(1) These standards of practice define the minimum levels 
of inspection required for substantially completed residential improve-
ments to real property up to four dwelling units. A real estate inspection 
is a non-technically exhaustive, limited visual survey and basic perfor-
mance evaluation of the systems and components of a building using 
normal controls and does not require the use of specialized equipment 
or procedures. The purpose of the inspection is to provide the client 
with information regarding the general condition of the residence at 
the time of inspection. The inspector may provide a higher level of in-
spection performance than required by these standards of practice and 
may inspect components and systems in addition to those described by 
the standards of practice.] 
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(c) [(2)] General Requirements. The inspector shall: 

(1) [(A)] operate fixed or installed equipment and appli-
ances listed herein in at least one mode with ordinary controls at typical 
settings; 

(2) [(B)] visually inspect accessible systems or compo-
nents from near proximity to the systems and components, and from 
the interior of the attic and crawl spaces; and 

(3) [(C)] complete the standard inspection report form as 
required by §535.222 and §535.223 of this title. 

(d) [(3)] General limitations. The inspector is not required to: 

(1) [(A)] inspect: 

(A) [(i)] items other than those listed within these stan-
dards of practice; 

(B) [(ii)] elevators; 

(C) [(iii)] detached buildings, decks, docks, fences, or 
waterfront structures or equipment; 

(D) [(iv)] anything buried, hidden, latent, or concealed; 

(E) [(v)] sub-surface drainage systems; 

(F) [(vi)] automated or programmable control systems, 
automatic shut-off, photoelectric sensors, timers, clocks, metering de-
vices, signal lights, lightning arrestor system, remote controls, security 
or data distribution systems, solar panels or smart home automation 
components; or 

(G) [(vii)] concrete flatwork such as driveways, side-
walks, walkways, paving stones or patios; 

(2) [(B)] report: 

(A) [(i)] past repairs that appear to be effective and 
workmanlike except as specifically required by these standards; 

(B) [(ii)] cosmetic or aesthetic conditions; or 

(C) [(iii)] wear and tear from ordinary use; 

(3) [(C)] determine: 

[(i) insurability, warrantability, suitability, adequacy, 
compatibility, capacity, reliability, marketability, operating costs, 
recalls, counterfeit products, product lawsuits, life expectancy, age, en-
ergy efficiency, vapor barriers, thermostatic performance, compliance 
with any code, listing, testing or protocol authority, utility sources, 
or manufacturer or regulatory requirements except as specifically 
required by these standards;] 

(A) [(ii)] the presence or absence of pests, termites, or 
other wood-destroying insects or organisms; 

(B) [(iii)] the presence, absence, or risk of: [asbestos, 
lead-based paint, mold, mildew, corrosive or contaminated drywall 
"Chinese Drywall" or any other environmental hazard, environmental 
pathogen, carcinogen, toxin, mycotoxin, pollutant, fungal presence or 
activity, or poison;] 

(i) asbestos; 

(ii) lead-based paint; 

(iii) mold, mildew; 

(iv) corrosive or contaminated drywall "Chinese 
Drywall"; or 

(v) any other environmental hazard, environmental 
pathogen, carcinogen, toxin, mycotoxin, pollutant, fungal presence or 
activity, or poison; 

(C) [(iv)] types of wood or preservative treatment and 
fastener compatibility; or 

(D) [(v)] the cause or source of a condition; 

(E) the cause or effect of deficiencies; 

(F) any of the following issues concerning a system or 
component: 

(i) insurability or warrantability; 

(ii) suitability, adequacy, compatibility, capacity, re-
liability, marketability, or operating costs; 

(iii) recalls, counterfeit products, or product law-
suits; 

(iv) life expectancy or age; 

(v) energy efficiency, vapor barriers, or thermostatic 
performance; 

(vi) compliance with any code, listing, testing or 
protocol authority; 

(vii) utility sources; or 

(viii) manufacturer or regulatory requirements, ex-
cept as specifically required by these standards; 

(4) [(D)] anticipate future events or conditions, including 
but not limited to: 

(A) [(i)] decay, deterioration, or damage that may occur 
after the inspection; 

(B) [(ii)] deficiencies from abuse, misuse or lack of use; 

(C) [(iii)] changes in performance of any component or 
system due to changes in use or occupancy; 

(D) [(iv)] the consequences of the inspection or its ef-
fects on current or future buyers and sellers; 

(E) [(v)] common household accidents, personal injury, 
or death; 

(F) [(vi)] the presence of water penetrations; or 

(G) [(vii)] future performance of any item; 

(5) [(E)] operate shut-off, safety, stop, pressure or pres-
sure-regulating valves or items requiring the use of codes, keys, com-
binations, or similar devices; 

(6) [(F)] designate conditions as safe; 

(7) [(G)] recommend or provide engineering, architectural, 
appraisal, mitigation, physical surveying, realty, or other specialist ser-
vices; 

(8) [(H)] review historical records, installation instruc-
tions, repair plans, cost estimates, disclosure documents, or other 
reports; 

(9) [(I)] verify sizing, efficiency, or adequacy of the ground 
surface drainage system; 

(10) [(J)] verify sizing, efficiency, or adequacy of the gutter 
and downspout system; 

(11) [(K)] operate recirculation or sump pumps; 
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(12) [(L)] remedy conditions preventing inspection of any 
item; 

(13) [(M)] apply open flame or light a pilot to operate any 
appliance; 

(14) [(N)] turn on decommissioned equipment, systems or 
utility services; or 

(15) [(O)] provide repair cost estimates, recommendations, 
or re-inspection services. 

(e) [(4)] In the event of a conflict between the [specific pro-
visions and] general provisions set out in this section, and the specific 
provisions specified elsewhere in the standards of practice, specific pro-
visions shall take precedence. 

(f) [(5)] Departure provision. 

(1) [(A)] An inspector may depart from the inspection of a 
component or system required by the standards of practice only if: 

(A) [(i)] the inspector and client agree the item is not to 
be inspected; 

(B) [(ii)] the inspector is not qualified to inspect the 
item; 

(C) [(iii)] in the reasonable judgment of the inspector, 
the inspector determines that: [conditions exist that prevent inspection 
of an item;] 

(i) conditions exist that prevent inspection of an 
item; 

(ii) conditions or materials are hazardous to the 
health or safety of the inspector; or 

(iii) the actions of the inspector may cause damage 
to the property; 

(D) [(iv)] the item is a common element of a multi-fam-
ily development and is not in physical contact with the unit being in-
spected, such as the foundation under another building or a part of the 
foundation under another unit in the same building.[;] 

[(v) the inspector reasonably determines that condi-
tions or materials are hazardous to the health or safety of the inspector; 
or] 

[(vi) in the reasonable judgment of the inspector, the 
actions of the inspector may cause damage to the property.] 

(2) [(B)] If an inspector departs from the inspection of a 
component or system required by the standards of practice, the inspec-
tor shall: 

(A) [(i)] notify the client at the earliest practical oppor-
tunity that the component or system will not be inspected; and 

(B) [(ii)] make an appropriate notation on the inspec-
tion report form, stating the reason the component or system was not 
inspected. 

(3) [(C)] If the inspector routinely departs from inspection 
of a component or system required by the standards of practice, and 
the inspector has reason to believe that the property being inspected in-
cludes that component or system, the earliest practical opportunity for 
the notice required by this subsection is the first contact the inspector 
makes with the prospective client. 

(g) [(c)] Enforcement. Failure to comply with the standards 
of practice is grounds for disciplinary action as prescribed by Chapter 
1102. 

§535.228. Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspection Requirements 
for Structural Systems. 

(a) Foundations. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) [(1)] render a written opinion as to the performance 
of the foundation; and 

(B) [(2)] report: 

(i) [(A)] the type of foundations; 

(ii) [(B)] the vantage point from which the crawl 
space was inspected; 

(C) [(3)] generally report present and visible indications 
used to render the opinion of adverse performance, such as: 

(i) [(A)] binding, out-of-square, non-latching doors; 

(ii) [(B)] framing or frieze board separations; 

(iii) [(C)] sloping floors; 

(iv) [(D)] window, wall, floor, or ceiling cracks or 
separations; and 

(v) [(E)] rotating, buckling, cracking, or deflecting 
masonry cladding. 

(D) [(4)] report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] deteriorated materials; 

(ii) [(B)] deficiencies in foundation components 
such as; beams, joists, bridging, blocking, piers, posts, pilings, 
columns, sills or subfloor; 

(iii) [(C)] deficiencies in retaining walls related to 
foundation performance; 

(iv) [(D)] exposed or damaged reinforcement; 

(v) [(E)] crawl space ventilation that is not perform-
ing; and 

(vi) [(F)] crawl space drainage that is not perform-
ing. 

(2) [(5)] The inspector is not required to: 

(A) enter a crawl space or any area where headroom is 
less than 18 inches or the access opening is less than 24 inches wide 
and 18 inches high; 

(B) provide an exhaustive list of indicators of possible 
adverse performance; or 

(C) inspect retaining walls not related to foundation 
performance. 

(b) Grading and drainage. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall report as Deficient: 

(A) drainage around the foundation that is not perform-
ing; 

(B) deficiencies in grade levels around the foundation; 
and 

(C) deficiencies in installed gutter and downspout sys-
tems. 

(2) The inspector is not required to: 

(A) inspect flatwork or detention/retention ponds (ex-
cept as related to slope and drainage); 
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(B) determine area hydrology or the presence of under-
ground water; or 

(C) determine the efficiency or performance of under-
ground or surface drainage systems. 

(c) Roof covering materials. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) [(1)] inspect the roof covering materials from the 
surface of the roof; 

(B) [(2)] report: 

(i) [(A)] type of roof coverings; 

(ii) [(B)] vantage point from where the roof was in-
spected; 

(iii) [(C)] evidence of water penetration; 

(iv) [(D)] evidence of previous repairs to the roof 
covering material, flashing details, skylights and other roof penetra-
tions; and 

(C) [(3)] report as Deficient deficiencies in: 

(i) [(A)] fasteners; 

(ii) [(B)] adhesion; 

(iii) [(C)] roof covering materials; 

(iv) [(D)] flashing details; 

(v) [(E)] skylights; and 

(vi) [(F)] other roof penetrations. 

(2) [(4)] The inspector is not required to: 

[(A) determine the remaining life expectancy of the 
roof covering;] 

(A) [(B)] inspect the roof from the roof level if, in the 
inspector's reasonable judgment:[, the inspector cannot safely reach or 
stay on the roof or significant damage to the roof covering materials 
may result from walking on the roof;] 

(i) the inspector cannot safely reach or stay on the 
roof; or 

(ii) significant damage to the roof covering materials 
may result from walking on the roof; 

(B) [(C)] determine: 

(i) the remaining life expectancy of the roof cover-
ing; or 

(ii) the number of layers of roof covering material; 

(C) [(D)] identify latent hail damage; 

(D) [(E)] exhaustively examine all fasteners and adhe-
sion, or 

(E) [(F)] provide an exhaustive list of locations of defi-
ciencies and water penetrations. 

(d) Roof structures and attics. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) [(1)] report: 

(i) [(A)] the vantage point from which the attic space 
was inspected; 

(ii) [(B)] approximate average depth of attic insula-
tion; 

(iii) [(C)] evidence of water penetration; 

(B) [(2)] report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] attic space ventilation that is not perform-
ing; 

(ii) [(B)] deflections or depressions in the roof sur-
face as related to adverse performance of the framing and decking; 

(iii) [(C)] missing insulation; 

(iv) [(D)] deficiencies in: 

(I) [(i)] installed framing members and decking; 

(II) [(ii)] attic access ladders and access open-
ings; and 

(III) [(iii)] attic ventilators. 

(2) [(3)] The inspector is not required to: 

(A) enter attics or unfinished spaces where openings are 
less than 22 inches by 30 inches or headroom is less than 30 inches; 

(B) operate powered ventilators; or 

(C) provide an exhaustive list of locations of deficien-
cies and water penetrations. 

(e) Interior walls, ceilings, floors, and doors. [The inspector 
shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) [(1)] report evidence of water penetration; 

(B) [(2)] report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] deficiencies in the condition and perfor-
mance of doors and hardware; 

(ii) [(B)] deficiencies related to structural perfor-
mance or water penetration; and 

(iii) [(C)] the absence of or deficiencies in fire sepa-
ration between the garage and the living space and between the garage 
and its attic. 

(2) [(3)] The inspector is not required to: 

(A) report cosmetic damage or the condition of floor, 
wall, or ceiling coverings; paints, stains, or other surface coatings; cab-
inets; or countertops, or 

(B) provide an exhaustive list of locations of deficien-
cies and water penetrations. 

(f) Exterior walls, doors, and windows. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) [(1)] report evidence of water penetration; 

(B) [(2)] report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] the absence of performing emergency es-
cape and rescue openings in all sleeping rooms; 

(ii) [(B)] a solid wood door less than 1-3/8 inches in 
thickness, a solid or honeycomb core steel door less than 1-3/8 inches 
thick, or a 20-minute fire-rated door between the residence and an at-
tached garage; 

(iii) [(C)] missing or damaged screens; 
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(iv) [(D)] deficiencies related to structural perfor-
mance or water penetration; 

(v) [(E)] deficiencies in: 

(I) [(i)] weather stripping, gaskets or other air 
barrier materials; 

(II) [(ii)] claddings; 

(III) [(iii)] water resistant materials and coatings; 

(IV) [(iv)] flashing details and terminations; 

(V) [(v)] the condition and performance of exte-
rior doors, garage doors and hardware; and 

(VI) [(vi)] the condition and performance of win-
dows and components. 

(2) [(3)] The inspector is not required to: 

(A) report the condition of awnings, blinds, shutters, se-
curity devices, or other non-structural systems; 

(B) determine the cosmetic condition of paints, stains, 
or other surface coatings; or 

(C) operate a lock if the key is not available. 

(D) provide an exhaustive list of locations of deficien-
cies and water penetrations. 

(g) Exterior and interior glazing. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) [(1)] report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] insulated windows that are obviously 
fogged or display other evidence of broken seals; 

(ii) [(B)] deficiencies in glazing, weather stripping 
and glazing compound in windows and doors; and 

(iii) [(C)] the absence of safety glass in hazardous 
locations. 

(2) The inspector is not required to: 

(A) exhaustively inspect insulated windows for evi-
dence of broken seals; 

(B) exhaustively inspect glazing for identifying labels; 
or 

(C) identify specific locations of damage. 

(h) Interior and exterior stairways. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) [(1)] report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] spacing between intermediate balusters, 
spindles, or rails for steps, stairways, guards, and railings that permit 
passage of an object greater than 4 inches in diameter, except that on 
the open side of the staircase treads, spheres less than 4-3/8 inches in 
diameter may pass through the guard rail balusters or spindles; and 

(ii) [(B)] deficiencies in steps, stairways, landings, 
guardrails, and handrails. 

(2) The inspector is not required to exhaustively measure 
every stairway component. 

(i) Fireplaces and chimneys. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) [(1)] report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] built-up creosote in accessible areas of the 
firebox and flue; 

(ii) [(B)] the presence of combustible materials in 
near proximity to the firebox opening; 

(iii) [(C)] the absence of fireblocking at the attic pen-
etration of the chimney flue, where accessible; and 

(iv) [(D)] deficiencies in the: 

(I) [(i)] damper; 

(II) [(ii)] lintel, hearth, hearth extension, and fire-
box; 

(III) [(iii)] gas valve and location; 

(IV) [(iv)] circulating fan; 

(V) [(v)] combustion air vents; and 

(VI) [(vi)] chimney structure, termination, cop-
ing, crown, caps, and spark arrestor. 

(2) The inspector is not required to: 

(A) verify the integrity of the flue; 

(B) perform a chimney smoke test; or 

(C) determine the adequacy of the draft. 

(j) Porches, Balconies, Decks, and Carports. [The inspector 
shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) [(1)] inspect: 

(i) [(A)] attached balconies, carports, and porches; 

(ii) [(B)] abutting porches, decks, and balconies that 
are used for ingress and egress; and 

(B) [(2)] report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] on decks 30 inches or higher above the ad-
jacent grade, spacings between intermediate balusters, spindles, or rails 
that permit passage of an object greater than four inches in diameter; 
and 

(ii) [(B)] deficiencies in accessible components. 

(2) [(3)] The inspector is not required to: 

(A) exhaustively measure every porch, balcony, deck, 
or attached carport components; or 

(B) enter any area where headroom is less than 18 
inches or the access opening is less than 24 inches wide and 18 inches 
high. 

§535.229. Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspection Requirements 
for Electrical Systems. 

(a) Service entrance and panels. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) [(1)] report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] a drop, weatherhead or mast that is not se-
curely fastened to the building; 

(ii) [(B)] the absence of or deficiencies in the 
grounding electrode system; 
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(iii) [(C)] missing or damaged dead fronts or covers 
plates; 

(iv) [(D)] conductors not protected from the edges 
of electrical cabinets, gutters, or cutout boxes; 

(v) [(E)] electrical cabinets and panel boards not ap-
propriate for their location; such as a clothes closet, bathrooms or where 
they are exposed to physical damage; 

(vi) [(F)] electrical cabinets and panel boards that 
are not accessible or do not have a minimum of 36-inches of clearance 
in front of them; 

(vii) [(G)] deficiencies in: 

(I) [(i)] electrical cabinets, gutters, cutout boxes, 
and panel boards; 

(II) [(ii)] the insulation of the service entrance 
conductors, drip loop, separation of conductors at weatherheads, and 
clearances; 

(III) [(iii)] the compatibility of overcurrent de-
vices and conductors; 

(IV) [(iv)] the overcurrent device and circuit for 
labeled and listed 240 volt appliances; 

(V) [(v)] bonding and grounding; 

(VI) [(vi)] conductors; 

(VII) [(vii)] the operation of installed ground-
fault or arc-fault circuit interrupter devices; and 

(viii) [(H)] the absence of: 

(I) [(i)] trip ties on 240 volt overcurrent devices 
or multi-wire branch circuit; 

(II) [(ii)] appropriate connections; 

(III) [(iii)] anti-oxidants on aluminum conductor 
terminations; 

(IV) [(iv)] a main disconnecting means. 

(2) The inspector is not required to: 

(A) determine present or future sufficiency of service 
capacity amperage, voltage, or the capacity of the electrical system; 

(B) test arc-fault circuit interrupter devices when the 
property is occupied or damage to personal property may result, in the 
inspector's reasonable judgment; 

(C) conduct voltage drop calculations; 

(D) determine the accuracy of overcurrent device label-
ing; 

(E) remove covers where hazardous as judged by the 
inspector; 

(F) verify the effectiveness of overcurrent devices; or 

(G) operate overcurrent devices. 

(b) Branch circuits, connected devices, and fixtures. [The in-
spector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) [(1)] manually test the installed and accessible 
smoke and carbon monoxide alarms; 

(B) [(2)] report the type of branch circuit conductors; 

(C) [(3)] report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] the absence of ground-fault circuit inter-
rupter protection in all: 

(I) [(i)] bathroom receptacles; 

(II) [(ii)] garage receptacles; 

(III) [(iii)] outdoor receptacles; 

(IV) [(iv)] crawl space receptacles; 

(V) [(v)] unfinished basement receptacles; 

(VI) [(vi)] kitchen countertop receptacles; and 

(VII) [(vii)] receptacles that are located within 
six feet of the outside edge of a sink; 

(ii) [(B)] the failure of operation of ground-fault cir-
cuit interrupter protection devices; 

(iii) [(C)] missing or damaged receptacle, switch or 
junction box covers; 

(iv) [(D)] the absence of: 

(I) [(i)] equipment disconnects; 

(II) [(ii)] appropriate connections, such as cop-
per/aluminum approved devices, if branch circuit aluminum conduc-
tors are discovered in the main or sub-panel based on a random sam-
pling of accessible receptacles and switches; 

(v) [(E)] deficiencies in: 

(I) [(i)] receptacles; 

(II) [(ii)] switches; 

(III) [(iii)] bonding or grounding; 

(IV) [(iv)] wiring, wiring terminations, junction 
boxes, devices, and fixtures, including improper location; 

(V) [(v)] doorbell and chime components; 

(VI) [(vi)] smoke and carbon monoxide alarms; 

(vi) [(F)] improper use of extension cords; 

(vii) [(G)] deficiencies in or absences of conduit, 
where applicable; and 

(vii) [(H)] the absence of smoke alarms: 

(I) [(i)] in each sleeping room; 

(II) [(ii)] outside each separate sleeping area in 
the immediate vicinity of the sleeping rooms; and 

(III) [(iii)] in the living space of each story of the 
dwelling. 

(2) [(4)] The inspector is not required to: 

(A) inspect low voltage wiring; 

(B) disassemble mechanical appliances; 

(C) verify the effectiveness of smoke alarms; 

(D) verify interconnectivity of smoke alarms; 

(E) activate smoke or carbon monoxide alarms that are 
or may be monitored or require the use of codes; 

(F) verify that smoke alarms are suitable for the hear-
ing-impaired; 
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(G) remove the covers of junction, fixture, receptacle or 
switch boxes unless specifically required by these standards. 

§535.230. Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspection Requirements 
for Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning Systems. 

(a) Heating equipment. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) General requirements. [report:] 

(A) The inspector shall report: 

(i) [(A)] the type of heating systems; 

(ii) [(B)] the energy sources; 

(B) [(2)] report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] inoperative units; 

(ii) [(B)] deficiencies in the thermostats; 

(iii) [(C)] inappropriate location; 

(iv) [(D)] the lack of protection from physical dam-
age; 

(v) [(E)] burners, burner ignition devices or heat-
ing elements, switches, and thermostats that are not a minimum of 18 
inches above the lowest garage floor elevation, unless the unit is listed 
for garage floor installation; 

(vi) [(F)] the absence of an opening that would al-
low access to equipment for inspection, service, repair or replacement 
without removing permanent construction or building finish; 

(vii) [(G)] when applicable; a floored passageway 
and service platform that would allow access for equipment inspec-
tion, service, repair or replacement; 

(viii) [(H)] deficiencies in mounting and perfor-
mance of window and wall units; 

(2) [(I)] in electric units, deficiencies in: 

(A) [(i)] performance of heat pumps; 

(B) [(ii)] performance of heating elements; and 

(C) [(iii)] condition of conductors; and 

(3) [(J)] in gas units: 

(A) [(i)] gas leaks; 

(B) [(ii)] flame impingement, uplifting flame, improper 
flame color, or excessive scale buildup; 

(C) [(iii)] the absence of a gas shut-off valve within six 
feet of the appliance; 

(D) [(iv)] the absence of a gas appliance connector or 
one that exceeds six feet in length; 

(E) [(v)] gas appliance connectors that are concealed 
within or extended through walls, floors, partitions, ceilings or appli-
ance housings; and 

(F) [(vi)] deficiencies in: 

(i) [(I)] combustion, and dilution air; 

(ii) [(II)] gas shut-off valves; 

(iii) [(III)] access to a gas shutoff valves that pro-
hibits full operation; 

(iv) [(IV)] gas appliance connector materials; and 

(v) [(V)] the vent pipe, draft hood, draft, proximity 
to combustibles, and vent termination point and clearances; and 

(b) Cooling equipment. [other than evaporative coolers. The 
inspector shall:] 

(1) Requirements for cooling units other than evaporative 
coolers. [report the type of systems;] 

(A) the inspector shall report the type of systems; 

(B) [(2)] the inspector shall report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] inoperative units; 

(ii) [(B)] inadequate cooling as demonstrated by its 
performance; 

(iii) [(C)] the absence of an opening that would al-
low access to equipment for inspection, service, repair or replacement 
without removing permanent construction or building finish; 

(iv) [(D)] when applicable; a floored passageway 
and service platform that would allow access for equipment inspection, 
service, repair or replacement; 

(v) [(E)] noticeable vibration of blowers or fans; 

(vi) [(F)] water in the auxiliary/secondary drain pan; 

(vii) [(G)] a primary drain pipe that discharges in a 
sewer vent; 

(viii) [(H)] missing or deficient refrigerant pipe in-
sulation; 

(ix) [(I)] dirty coils, where accessible; 

(x) [(J)] condensing units lacking adequate clear-
ances or air circulation or that has deficiencies in the fins, location, 
levelness, or elevation above grade surfaces; 

(xi) [(K)] deficiencies in: 

(I) [(i)] the condensate drain and auxiliary/sec-
ondary pan and drain system; 

(II) [(ii)] mounting and performance of window 
or wall units; and 

(III) [(iii)] thermostats. 

(2) [(c)] Requirements for evaporative [Evaporative] cool-
ers. [The inspector shall:] 

(A) [(1)] The inspector shall report: 

(i) [(A)] type of systems; 

(ii) [(B)] the type of water supply line; 

(B) [(2)] The inspector shall report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] inoperative units; 

(ii) [(B)] inadequate access and clearances; 

(iii) [(C)] deficiencies in performance or mounting; 

(iv) [(D)] missing or damaged components; 

(v) [(E)] the presence of active water leaks; and 

(vi) [(F)] the absence of backflow prevention. 

(c) [(d)] Duct systems, chases, and vents. [The inspector shall 
report as Deficient:] 

(1) The inspector shall report as Deficient: 
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(A) [(1) damaged duct systems or improper material; 

(B) [(2)] damaged or missing duct insulation; 

(C) [(3)] the absence of air flow at accessible supply 
registers; 

(D) [(4)] the presence of gas piping and sewer vents 
concealed in ducts, plenums and chases; 

(E) [(5)] ducts or plenums in contact with earth; and 

(2) [(6)] The inspector shall report as Deficient deficiencies 
in: 

(A) filters; 

(B) grills or registers; and 

(C) the location of return air openings. 

(d) [(e)] For heating, ventilation, and air conditioning systems 
inspected under this section, the [The] inspector is not required to 
perform the following actions: 

(1) program digital thermostats or controls; 

(2) inspect: 

(A) for pressure of the system refrigerant, type of re-
frigerant, or refrigerant leaks; 

(B) winterized or decommissioned equipment; or 

(C) duct fans, humidifiers, dehumidifiers, air purifiers, 
motorized dampers, electronic air filters, multi-stage controllers, se-
quencers, heat reclaimers, wood burning stoves, boilers, oil-fired units, 
supplemental heating appliances, de-icing provisions, or reversing 
valves; 

(3) operate: 

(A) setback features on thermostats or controls; 

(B) cooling equipment when the outdoor temperature is 
less than 60 degrees Fahrenheit; 

(C) radiant heaters, steam heat systems, or unvented 
gas-fired heating appliances; or 

(D) heat pumps, in the heat pump mode, when the out-
door temperature is above 70 degrees; 

(4) verify: 

(A) compatibility of components; 

(B) tonnage match of indoor coils and outside coils or 
condensing units; 

(C) the accuracy of thermostats; or 

(D) the integrity of the heat exchanger; or 

(5) determine: 

(A) sizing, efficiency, or adequacy of the system; 

(B) balanced air flow of the conditioned air to the vari-
ous parts of the building; or 

(C) types of materials contained in insulation. 

§535.231. Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspection Requirements 
for Plumbing Systems. 

(a) Plumbing systems. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: [report:] 

(A) report: [location of water meter;] 

(i) [(A) location of water meter; 

(ii) [(B)] location of homeowners main water supply 
shutoff valve; and 

(iii) [(C)] static water pressure; 

(B) [(2)] report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] the presence of active leaks; 

(ii) [(B)] the lack of a pressure reducing valve when 
the water pressure exceeds 80 PSI; 

(iii) [(C)] the lack of an expansion tank at the water 
heater(s) when a pressure reducing valve is in place at the water supply 
line/system; 

(iv) [(D)] the absence of: 

(I) [(i)] fixture shut-off valves; 

(II) [(ii)] dielectric unions, when applicable; 

(III) [(iii)] back-flow devices, anti-siphon de-
vices, or air gaps at the flow end of fixtures; and 

(v) [(E)] deficiencies in: 

(I) [(i)] water supply pipes and waste pipes; 

(II) [(ii)] the installation and termination of the 
vent system; 

(III) [(iii)] the performance of fixtures and 
faucets not connected to an appliance; 

(IV) [(iv)] water supply, as determined by view-
ing functional flow in two fixtures operated simultaneously; 

(V) [(v)] fixture drain performance; 

(VI) [(vi)] orientation of hot and cold faucets; 

(VII) [(vii)] installed mechanical drain stops; 

(VIII) [(viii)] commodes, fixtures, showers, tubs, 
and enclosures; and 

(IX) [(ix)] the condition of the gas distribution 
system. 

(2) [(3)] The inspector is not required to: 

(A) operate any main, branch, or shut-off valves; 

(B) operate or inspect sump pumps or waste ejector 
pumps; 

(C) verify the performance of: 

(i) the bathtub overflow; 

(ii) clothes washing machine drains or hose bibbs; 
or 

(iii) floor drains; 

(D) inspect: 

(i) any system that has been winterized, shut down 
or otherwise secured; 

(ii) circulating pumps, free-standing appliances, so-
lar water heating systems, water-conditioning equipment, filter sys-
tems, water mains, private water supply systems, water wells, pressure 
tanks, sprinkler systems, swimming pools, or fire sprinkler systems; 

(iii) inaccessible gas supply system components for 
leaks; 
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(iv) for sewer clean-outs; or 

(v) for the presence or performance of private 
sewage disposal systems; or 

(E) determine: 

(i) quality, potability, or volume of the water supply; 
or 

(ii) effectiveness of backflow or anti-siphon devices. 

(b) Water heaters. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) General Requirements. [report:] 

(A) The inspector shall: 

(i) report: 

(I) [(A)] the energy source; 

(II) [(B)] the capacity of the units; 

(ii) [(2)] report as Deficient: 

(I) [(A)] inoperative units; 

(II) [(B)] leaking or corroded fittings or tanks; 

(III) [(C)] damaged or missing components; 

(IV) [(D)] the absence of a cold water shut-off 
valve; 

(V) [(E)] if applicable, the absence of a pan or a 
pan drain system that does not terminate over a waste receptor or to the 
exterior of the building above the ground surface; 

(VI) [(F)] inappropriate locations; 

(VII) [(G)] the lack of protection from physical 
damage; 

(VIII) [(H)] burners, burner ignition devices or 
heating elements, switches, or thermostats that are not a minimum of 
18 inches above the lowest garage floor elevation, unless the unit is 
listed for garage floor installation; 

(IX) [(I)] the absence of an opening that would 
allow access to equipment for inspection, service, repair or replacement 
without removing permanent construction or building finish; 

(X) [(J)] when applicable; a floored passageway 
and service platform that would allow access for equipment inspection, 
service, repair or replacement; 

(XI) [(K)] the absence of or deficiencies in the 
temperature and pressure relief valve and discharge piping; 

(XII) [(L)] a temperature and pressure relief 
valve that failed to operate, when tested manually; 

(B) The inspector is not required to: 

(i) verify the effectiveness of the temperature and 
pressure relief valve, discharge piping, or pan drain pipes; 

(ii) operate the temperature and pressure relief valve 
if the operation of the valve may, in the inspector's reasonable judg-
ment, cause damage to persons or property; or 

(iii) determine the efficiency or adequacy of the unit. 

(2) [(M)] Requirements for [in] electric units. The inspec-
tor shall report as Deficient[,] deficiencies in: 

(A) [(i)] performance of heating elements; and 

(B) [(ii)] condition of conductors; and 

(3) [(N)] Requirements for [in] gas units. The inspector 
shall report as Deficient: 

(A) [(i)] gas leaks; 

(B) [(ii)] flame impingement, uplifting flame, improper 
flame color, or excessive scale build-up; 

(C) [(iii)] the absence of a gas shut-off valve within six 
feet of the appliance; 

(D) [(iv)] the absence of a gas appliance connector or 
one that exceeds six feet in length; 

(E) [(v)] gas appliance connectors that are concealed 
within or extended through walls, floors, partitions, ceilings or appli-
ance housings; 

(F) [(vi)] deficiencies in: 

(i) [(I)] combustion and dilution air; 

(ii) [(II)] gas shut-off valves; 

(iii) [(III)] access to a gas shutoff valves that prohibit 
full operation; 

(iv) [(IV)] gas appliance connector materials; and 

(v) [(V)] vent pipe, draft hood, draft, proximity to 
combustibles, and vent termination point and clearances. 

[(3) The inspector is not required to:] 

[(A) verify the effectiveness of the temperature and 
pressure relief valve, discharge piping, or pan drain pipes;] 

[(B) operate the temperature and pressure relief valve if 
the operation of the valve may, in the inspector's reasonable judgment, 
cause damage to persons or property; or] 

[(C) determine the efficiency or adequacy of the unit.] 

(c) Hydro-massage therapy equipment. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall report as Deficient: 

(A) report as Deficient: 

(i) [(A)] inoperative units; 

(ii) [(B)] the presence of active leaks; 

(iii) [(C)] deficiencies in components and perfor-
mance; 

(iv) [(D)] missing and damaged components; 

(v) [(E)] the absence of an opening that would allow 
access to equipment for inspection, service, repair or replacement with-
out removing permanent construction or building finish; and 

(vi) [(F)] the absence or failure of operation of 
ground-fault circuit interrupter protection devices; and 

(2) The inspector is not required to determine the adequacy 
of self-draining features of circulation systems. 

§535.232. Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspection Requirements 
for Appliances. 

(a) General provisions. The inspector is not required to: 

(1) operate or determine the condition of other auxiliary 
components of inspected items; 

(2) test for microwave oven radiation leaks; 
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(3) inspect self-cleaning functions; 

(4) disassemble appliances; 

(5) determine the adequacy of venting systems; or 

(6) determine proper routing and lengths of duct systems. 

(b) [(a)] Dishwashers. The inspector shall report as Deficient: 

(1) inoperative units; 

(2) deficiencies in performance or mounting; 

(3) rusted, missing or damaged components; 

(4) the presence of active water leaks; and 

(5) the absence of backflow prevention. 

(c) [(b)] Food waste disposers. The inspector shall report as 
Deficient: 

(1) inoperative units; 

(2) deficiencies in performance or mounting; 

(3) missing or damaged components; and 

(4) the presence of active water leaks. 

(d) [(c)] Range hoods and exhaust systems. The inspector 
shall report as Deficient: 

(1) inoperative units; 

(2) deficiencies in performance or mounting; 

(3) missing or damaged components; 

(4) ducts that do not terminate outside the building, if the 
unit is not of a re-circulating type or configuration; and 

(5) improper duct material. 

(e) [(d)] Electric or gas ranges, cooktops, and ovens. The in-
spector shall report as Deficient: 

(1) inoperative units; 

(2) missing or damaged components; 

(3) combustible material within thirty inches above the 
cook top burners; 

(4) absence of an anti-tip device, if applicable; 

(5) gas leaks; 

(6) the absence of a gas shutoff valve within six feet of the 
appliance; 

(7) the absence of a gas appliance connector or one that 
exceeds six feet in length; 

(8) gas appliance connectors that are concealed within or 
extended through walls, floors, partitions, ceilings or appliance hous-
ings; 

(9) deficiencies in: 

(A) thermostat accuracy (within 25 degrees at a setting 
of 350° F); 

(B) mounting and performance; 

(C) gas shut-off valves; 

(D) access to a gas shutoff valves that prohibits full op-
eration; and 

(E) gas appliance connector materials. 

(f) [(e)] Microwave ovens. The inspector shall inspect built-in 
units and report as Deficient: 

(1) inoperative units; 

(2) deficiencies in performance or mounting; and 

(3) missing or damaged components. 

(g) [(f)] Mechanical exhaust systems and bathroom heaters. 
The inspector shall report as Deficient: 

(1) inoperative units; 

(2) deficiencies in performance or mounting; 

(3) missing or damaged components; 

(4) ducts that do not terminate outside the building; and 

(5) a gas heater that is not vented to the exterior of the 
building unless the unit is listed as an unvented type. 

(h) [(g)] Garage door operators. The inspector shall report as 
Deficient: 

(1) inoperative units; 

(2) deficiencies in performance or mounting; 

(3) missing or damaged components; 

(4) installed photoelectric sensors located more than six 
inches above the garage floor; and 

(5) door locks or side ropes that have not been removed or 
disabled. 

(i) [(h)] Dryer exhaust systems. The inspector shall report as 
Deficient: 

(1) missing or damaged components; 

(2) the absence of a dryer exhaust system when provisions 
are present for a dryer; 

(3) ducts that do not terminate to the outside of the build-
ing; 

(4) screened terminations; and 

(5) ducts that are not made of metal with a smooth interior 
finish. 

[(i) The inspector is not required to:] 

[(1) operate or determine the condition of other auxiliary 
components of inspected items;] 

[(2) test for microwave oven radiation leaks;] 

[(3) inspect self-cleaning functions;] 

[(4) disassemble appliances;] 

[(5) determine the adequacy of venting systems; or] 

[(6) determine proper routing and lengths of duct systems.] 

§535.233. Standards of Practice: Minimum Inspection Requirements 
for Optional Systems. 

(a) An inspector is not required to inspect the components or 
systems described under this section. 

(b) If an inspector agrees to inspect a component or system 
described under [in] this section, the general provisions under §535.227 
of this title [(relating to Standards of Practice: General Provisions)] and 
the [applicable] provisions and requirements of this section applicable 
to that component or system [of this section] apply. 
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(c) [(1)] Landscape irrigation (sprinkler) systems. [The in-
spector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) manually operate all zones or stations on the system 
through the controller; 

(B) report as Deficient: 

(i) the absence of a rain or moisture sensor, 

(ii) inoperative zone valves; 

(iii) surface water leaks; 

(iv) the absence of a backflow prevention device; 

(v) the absence of shut-off valves between the water 
meter and backflow device; 

(vi) deficiencies in the performance and mounting of 
the controller; 

(vii) missing or damaged components; and 

(viii) deficiencies in the performance of the water 
emission devices; such as, sprayer heads, rotary sprinkler heads, bub-
blers or drip lines. 

(2) [(C)] The inspector is not required to inspect: 

(A) [(i)] for effective coverage of the irrigation system; 

(B) [(ii)] the automatic function of the controller; 

(C) [(iii)] the effectiveness of the sensors; such as, rain, 
moisture, wind, flow or freeze sensors; or 

(D) [(iv)] sizing and effectiveness of backflow preven-
tion device. 

(d) [(2)] Swimming pools, spas, hot tubs, and equipment. [The 
inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) report the type of construction; 

(B) report as Deficient: 

(i) the presence of a single blockable main drain (po-
tential entrapment hazard); 

(ii) a pump motor, blower, or other electrical equip-
ment that lacks bonding; 

(iii) the absence of or deficiencies in safety barriers; 

(iv) water leaks in above-ground pipes and equip-
ment; 

(v) the absence or failure in performance of ground-
fault circuit interrupter protection devices; and 

(vi) deficiencies in: 

(I) surfaces; 

(II) tiles, coping, and decks; 

(III) slides, steps, diving boards, handrails, and 
other equipment; 

(IV) drains, skimmers, and valves; 

(V) filters, gauges, pumps, motors, controls, and 
sweeps; 

(VI) lighting fixtures; and 

(VII) the pool heater that these standards of prac-
tice require to be reported for the heating system. 

(2) [(C)] The inspector is not required to: 

(A) [(i)] disassemble filters or dismantle or otherwise 
open any components or lines; 

(B) [(ii)] operate valves; 

(C) [(iii)] uncover or excavate any lines or concealed 
components of the system; 

(D) [(iv)] fill the pool, spa, or hot tub with water; 

(E) [(v)] inspect any system that has been winterized, 
shut down, or otherwise secured; 

(F) [(vi)] determine the presence of sub-surface water 
tables; 

(G) [(vii)] determine the effectiveness of entrapment 
covers; 

(H) [(viii)] determine the presence of pool shell or sub-
surface leaks; or 

(I) [(ix)] inspect ancillary equipment such as computer 
controls, covers, chlorinators or other chemical dispensers, or water 
ionization devices or conditioners other than required by this section. 

(e) [(3)] Outbuildings. [The inspector shall report as Defi-
cient:] 

(1) [(A)] The inspector shall report as Deficient the absence 
or failure in performance of ground-fault circuit interrupter protection 
devices in grade-level portions of unfinished accessory buildings used 
for storage or work areas, boathouses, and boat hoists; and 

(2) [(B)] The inspector shall report as Deficient deficien-
cies in the structural, electrical, plumbing, heating, ventilation, and 
cooling systems that these standards of practice require to be reported 
for the principal building. 

(f) [(4)] Private water wells. [The inspector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) operate at least two fixtures simultaneously; 

(B) recommend or arrange to have performed coliform 
testing; 

(C) report: 

(i) the type of pump and storage equipment; 

(ii) the proximity of any known septic system; 

(D) report as Deficient deficiencies in: 

(i) water pressure and flow and performance of pres-
sure switches; 

(ii) the condition of accessible equipment and com-
ponents; and 

(iii) the well head, including improper site drainage 
and clearances. 

(2) [(E)] The inspector is not required to: 

(A) [(i)] open, uncover, or remove the pump, heads, 
screens, lines, or other components of the system; 

(B) [(ii)] determine the reliability of the water supply or 
source; or 
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(C) [(iii)] locate or verify underground water leaks. 

(g) [(5)] Private sewage disposal (septic) systems. [The in-
spector shall:] 

(1) The inspector shall: 

(A) report: 

(i) the type of system; 

(ii) the location of the drain or distribution field; 

(iii) the proximity of any known water wells, under-
ground cisterns, water supply lines, bodies of water, sharp slopes or 
breaks, easement lines, property lines, soil absorption systems, swim-
ming pools, or sprinkler systems; 

(B) report as Deficient: 

(i) visual or olfactory evidence of effluent seepage 
or flow at the surface of the ground; 

(ii) inoperative aerators or dosing pumps; and 

(iii) deficiencies in: 

(I) accessible components; 

(II) functional flow; 

(III) site drainage and clearances around or adja-
cent to the system; and 

(IV) the aerobic discharge system. 

(2) [(C)] The inspector is not required to: 

(A) [(i)] excavate or uncover the system or its compo-
nents; 

(B) [(ii)] determine the size, adequacy, or efficiency of 
the system; or 

(C) [(iii)] determine the type of construction used. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 3, 2016. 
TRD-201602112 
Kristen Worman 
Deputy General Counsel 
Texas Real Estate Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3093 

TITLE 25. HEALTH SERVICES 

PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
HEALTH SERVICES 

CHAPTER 1. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS 
SUBCHAPTER D. STATE EMPLOYEE 
HEALTH FITNESS AND EDUCATION 
PROGRAMS 
25 TAC §1.61 

The Executive Commissioner of the Health and Human Services 
Commission, on behalf of the Department of State Health Ser-
vices (department), proposes the repeal of §1.61, concerning the 
Worksite Wellness Advisory Board (board). 

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE 

The purpose of the repeal is to implement Government Code, 
Chapter 664, amended by Senate Bill (SB) 277, 84th Legislature, 
Regular Session, 2015, which abolished the board. 

The board was created by the Legislature in 2007 to advise the 
department, executive commissioner, and statewide wellness 
coordinator on worksite wellness issues, including funding and 
resource development for worksite wellness programs; identify-
ing food service vendors that successfully market healthy foods; 
best practices for worksite wellness used by the private sector; 
and worksite wellness features and architecture for new state 
buildings based on features and architecture used by the private 
sector. 

The board was one of several advisory committees recom-
mended for abolishment by the Sunset Advisory Commission in 
2014. Subsequent to the repeal of the statutory requirements 
for this and other committees, the commission conducted a 
comprehensive analysis and sought stakeholder input on the 
continuation of the advisory committees abolished in statute to 
determine if there was a need to recreate any of the committees 
in rule. No comments were received regarding the discontinu-
ation of the board. The department will continue to obtain input 
on worksite wellness issues through ongoing interactions with 
staff of state agencies and stakeholder groups. 

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

Section 1.61 is being repealed because this rule is no longer 
necessary. SB 277 amended Government Code, Chapter 664, 
by abolishing the board. 

FISCAL NOTE 

Mr. Brett Spencer, Manager of the Primary Prevention Branch, 
has determined that for each year of the first five years that the 
repeal will be in effect, there will be no fiscal implications to the 
state or local governments as a result of enforcing or adminis-
tering the repealed section as proposed. 

SMALL AND MICRO-BUSINESS IMPACT ANALYSIS 

Mr. Spencer has determined that there will be no effect on small 
businesses or micro-businesses or persons who are required 
to comply with the section as proposed. This was determined 
by consideration that the topics addressed by the board applied 
only to Texas state agencies and imposed no responsibilities or 
limitations on small or micro-businesses. 

ECONOMIC COSTS TO PERSONS AND IMPACT ON LOCAL 
EMPLOYMENT 

There are no anticipated economic costs to persons who are 
required to comply with the section as proposed. There is no 
anticipated negative impact on local employment. 

PUBLIC BENEFIT 

Mr. Spencer has also determined that for each year of the first 
five years that the section will be repealed, the public will benefit 
from repeal of the section. The public benefit anticipated from 
enforcing or administering the repealed section is to remove a 
rule from the department's rules database that is longer neces-
sary. 
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REGULATORY ANALYSIS 

The department has determined that this is not a "major envi-
ronmental rule" as defined by Government Code, §2001.0225. 
"Major environmental rule" is defined to mean a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risk 
to human health from environmental exposure and that may ad-
versely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sector of the 
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment or the 
public health and safety of a state or a sector of the state. This 
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment 
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure. 

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

The department has determined that the proposed repeal does 
not restrict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that 
would otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, 
therefore, does not constitute a taking under Government Code, 
§2007.043. 

PUBLIC COMMENT 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Brett 
Spencer, Primary Prevention Branch, Department of State 
Health Services, Mail Code 1965, P.O. Box 149347, 
Austin, Texas 78714-9347, (512) 776-6161, or by email to 
Brett.Spencer@dshs.state.tx.us. Comments will be accepted 
for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the Texas 
Register. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The repeal is authorized by Government Code, Chapter 664, 
which has been amended to remove reference to rules concern-
ing the Worksite Wellness Advisory Board; and Government 
Code, §531.0055, and Health and Safety Code, §1001.075, 
which authorize the Executive Commissioner of Health and 
Human Services Commission to adopt rules and policies nec-
essary for the operation and provision of health and human 
services by the department and for the administration of Health 
and Safety Code, Chapter 1001. 

The repeal affects Government Code, Chapters 551 and Chap-
ter 664; and Health and Safety Code, Chapter 1001. 

§1.61. Worksite Wellness Advisory Board. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602262 
Lisa Hernandez 
General Counsel 
Department of State Health Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 776-6972 

PART 6. STATEWIDE HEALTH 
COORDINATING COUNCIL 

CHAPTER 571. HEALTH PLANNING AND 
RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT 

The Statewide Health Coordinating Council (council) proposes 
an amendment to §571.1 and the repeal of §§571.11 - 571.13, 
concerning general provisions, state health plan and plan im-
plementation, and the Health Information Technology Advisory 
Committee (advisory committee). 

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE 

The council issues directives for and provides guidance on the 
development of the state health plan, submits the plan to the 
Health and Human Services Commission for review and com-
ment, and approves the plan for submission to the governor. 
The Department of State Health Services (department), in accor-
dance with rules adopted by the council, prepares and reviews a 
proposed state health plan every six years and revises and up-
dates the plan biennially. The department submits the proposed 
plan to the council. The rules proposed for amendment, read-
option, and repeal implement Health and Safety Code, Chapter 
104, Statewide Health Coordinating Council and State Health 
Plan, and outline the development and implementation of the 
state health plan. 

The council formed the advisory committee in 2006 pursuant to 
Health and Safety Code, §104.0156 and developed a long-range 
plan for health care information technology, including the use of 
electronic medical records, computerized clinical support sys-
tems, computerized physician order entry, regional data sharing 
interchanges for health care information, and other methods of 
incorporating information technology in pursuit of greater cost-ef-
fectiveness and better patient outcomes in health care. The rules 
proposed for repeal implemented the advisory committee. 

Government Code, §2001.039, governs an agency's review of 
rules, and generally requires that a state agency review a rule 
no later than the fourth anniversary of the date on which the 
rule takes effect and every four years after that date. A state 
agency's review of a rule must include an assessment of whether 
the reasons for adopting each rule continue to exist. 

The amendment to §571.1 and the readoption of §571.2 are nec-
essary to comply with Health and Safety Code, §104.012. Sec-
tion 571.2 is readopted without changes to the rule. 

The repeal of §§571.11 - 571.13 for the advisory committee is 
necessary as the council's reasons for initially adopting the rules 
no longer exist, given the completion of the long-range plan man-
dated by Health and Safety Code, §104.0156. 

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

The amendment to §571.1(c) replaces the "Texas Department of 
Health" with the "Texas Department of State Health Services" to 
reflect House Bill 2292, 78th Legislature, Regular Session, 2003, 
which abolished the Texas Department of Health and created the 
department. 

FISCAL NOTE 

Matthew Turner, PhD, MPH, Center for Health Statistics, has de-
termined that for each year of the first five years that the sections 
are in effect, there will be no fiscal implications to state or local 
governments as a result of enforcing and administering the sec-
tions as proposed. 

SMALL AND MICRO-BUSINESS IMPACT ANALYSIS 

Dr. Turner has also determined that there will be no adverse eco-
nomic costs to small businesses or micro-businesses required to 
comply with the sections as proposed. This was determined by 
interpretation of the rules that small businesses and micro-busi-
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nesses will not be required to alter their business practices in 
order to comply with the sections. 

ECONOMIC COSTS TO PERSONS AND IMPACT ON LOCAL 
EMPLOYMENT 

There are no anticipated costs to persons who are required to 
comply with the sections as proposed. There is no anticipated 
negative impact on local employment. 

PUBLIC BENEFIT 

In addition, Dr. Turner also has determined that for each year of 
the first five years the sections are in effect, the public will benefit 
from their adoption. These updated rules clarify the relationship 
between the council and the department and remove outdated 
text. 

REGULATORY ANALYSIS 

The council has determined that this proposal is not a "major en-
vironmental rule" as defined by Government Code, §2001.0225. 
"Major environmental rule" is defined to mean a rule the spe-
cific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risk 
to human health from environmental exposure and that may ad-
versely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sector of the 
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment or the 
public health and safety of a state or a sector of the state. This 
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment 
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure. 

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

The council has determined that the proposed rules do not re-
strict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that would oth-
erwise exist in the absence of government action and, therefore, 
do not constitute a taking under Government Code, §2007.043. 

PUBLIC COMMENT 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Matthew 
Turner, PhD, MPH, Health Professions Resource Center, Cen-
ter for Health Statistics, Department of State Health Services, 
Mail Code 1898, P.O. Box 149347, Austin, Texas 78714-9347 
or by email to matt.turner@dshs.texas.gov. Comments will be 
accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the 
Texas Register. 

SUBCHAPTER A. STATEWIDE HEALTH 
COORDINATING COUNCIL 
25 TAC §571.1 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is authorized by Health and Safety Code, 
§104.012, which authorizes the council to adopt rules govern-
ing the development and implementation of the state health 
plan. The review of the rules implements Government Code, 
§2001.039. 

The amendment affects Health and Safety Code, Chapter 104. 

§571.1. General Provisions. 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) Assistance. The Texas Department of State Health 
Services (department) shall assist the council in performing the 
council's duties and functions as described in a memorandum of 
understanding between the council and the department. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 3, 2016. 
TRD-201602098 
Matt Turner 
Health Professions Resource Center 
Statewide Health Coordinating Council 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 776-6972 

SUBCHAPTER B. HEALTH INFORMATION 
TECHNOLOGY ADVISORY COMMITTEE 
25 TAC §§571.11 - 571.13 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The repeals are authorized by Health and Safety Code, 
§104.012, which authorizes the council to adopt rules govern-
ing the development and implementation of the state health 
plan. The review of the rules implements Government Code, 
§2001.039. 

The repeals affect Health and Safety Code, Chapter 104. 

§571.11. Definitions.
 
§571.12. Objectives.
 
§571.13. Committee Constitution.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 3, 2016. 
TRD-201602099 
Matt Turner 
Health Professions Resource Center 
Statewide Health Coordinating Council 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 776-6972 

TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE 

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC 
ACCOUNTS 

CHAPTER 3. TAX ADMINISTRATION 
SUBCHAPTER V. FRANCHISE TAX 
34 TAC §3.584 
The Comptroller of Public Accounts proposes amendments to 
§3.584, concerning margin: reports and payments. The amend-
ments implement Senate Bill 1, 82nd Legislature, First Called 
Session, 2011 (SB 1); House Bill 500, 83rd Legislature, 2013 
(HB 500); House Bill 32, 84th Legislature, 2015 (HB 32); House 
Bill 2891, 84th Legislature, 2015 (HB 2891); Senate Bill 1049, 
84th Legislature, 2015 (SB 1049); and Senate Bill 1364, 84th 
Legislature, 2015 (SB 1364). The amendments also update the 
section to reflect policy decisions and to improve readability. 
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Subsection (b) is now titled "definitions" and is amended to in-
clude definitions currently located throughout this section and to 
add definitions for terms not previously defined for use within this 
section. Information originally in subsection (b) concerning non-
taxable entity reporting is now in new subsection (c)(7). 

New paragraph (1) is added to include the definition of "begin-
ning date" for franchise tax reporting purposes. This definition 
was originally under subsection (c)(1)(A) and is amended to add 
the beginning date for a taxable entity that qualifies as a new 
veteran-owned business as provided in SB 1049. 

New paragraph (2) defines the term "primarily engaged in retail 
or wholesale trade." The new definition incorporates information 
that was provided in subsection (d)(3) of the current section, with 
changes. The subparagraphs have been rearranged. Informa-
tion for taxable entities that produce some of the products they 
sell is now located in subparagraph (C). Clauses (i) - (iii) are 
added to subparagraph (C) to include guidance for determining 
whether a taxable entity produces the products it sells. The con-
tent of subparagraph (C)(i), regarding modifications made to an 
acquired product, was previously provided in subsection (d)(3). 
Subparagraph (C)(ii) and (iii) are added to memorialize comp-
troller policy from STAR Accession No. 201508350L. 

New paragraph (3) adds an updated definition of "retail trade." 
The meaning of retail trade was originally included in former sub-
section (d)(3), concerning the rate, but was referenced only as 
being "under Division...G" of the Standard Industrial Classifica-
tion (SIC) Manual. Subparagraph (A) defines retail trade as origi-
nally provided in House Bill 3, 79th Legislature, Third Called Ses-
sion, 2006 (HB 3), to mean "the activities described in Division 
G" of the SIC Manual. Subparagraph (B) expands the defini-
tion of retail trade under SB 1, to include apparel rental activities 
classified as SIC Industry 5999 or 7299. Subparagraph (C) adds 
to the definition of retail trade, as further expanded by HB 500, 
to include SIC Industry Group 753, Automotive Repair Shops; 
rental-purchase agreement activities regulated by Chapter 92, 
Business & Commerce Code; activities involving the rental or 
leasing of tools, party and event supplies, and furniture that are 
classified as SIC Industry 7359; and heavy construction equip-
ment rental or leasing activities classified as SIC Industry 7353. 

New paragraph (4) defines and abbreviates the term "Standard 
Industrial Classification Manual" as SIC Manual to improve read-
ability throughout this section. 

New paragraph (5) adds the definition of "wholesale trade" as 
originally defined in HB 3, to mean "the activities described in 
Division F" of the SIC Manual. The meaning of wholesale trade 
was originally included in former subsection (d)(3), referenced 
only as being "under Division F" of the SIC Manual. 

New paragraph (6) defines the term "unrelated party." This term 
is used in the definition of "primarily engaged in retail or whole-
sale trade" in subsection (b)(2) and was not previously defined. 

Subsection (c) concerning reports and due dates is amended for 
readability and to eliminate redundant information. The informa-
tion regarding each type of report was separated and renum-
bered to be addressed as individual paragraphs that include ini-
tial reports, first annual reports, annual reports, and final reports. 
Subsequent paragraphs include reporting information regarding 
extensions, transition, nontaxable entities, passive entities, com-
bined reporting, postmark dates, and receivership. 

Paragraph (1) now includes only the filing information for initial 
reports from former subparagraph (B) without change. The infor-

mation in former paragraph (1) on first annual reports and initial 
reports is removed because the same information was also pro-
vided in former subparagraphs (B) and (C). The information in 
former paragraph (1) on reporting for a taxable entity in receiver-
ship is moved to new paragraph (12). The definition of "begin-
ning date" in former subparagraph (A) is moved to new subsec-
tion (b) concerning definitions. The information in former sub-
paragraph (C)(i) on first annual reports is moved to paragraph 
(2), replacing the information in paragraph (2) on the date of fil-
ing which is moved to new paragraph (11). The information in 
former subparagraph (C)(ii) on annual reports is moved to new 
paragraph (3). The information in former subparagraphs (D)- (H) 
has been moved to new paragraphs (4), (5), (6), (8), and (9) re-
spectively. New paragraph (5) is amended to add the title to the 
referenced Tax Code section. 

Paragraph (2), now titled "First annual reports," includes infor-
mation from former paragraph (1)(C)(i) without change. 

New paragraph (3) includes the information on annual reports 
previously provided in former paragraph (1)(C)(ii) without 
change. 

New paragraph (4) includes the reference to §3.592 of this ti-
tle for information on final reports previously provided in former 
paragraph (1)(E) but is amended to specify the due date for final 
reports. 

New paragraph (5) amends the information on extensions pre-
viously provided in former paragraph (1)(D) by including the in-
formation on extensions from Tax Code, §111.057 (Extension for 
Filing a Report) instead of referencing §3.1 of this title because 
§3.1 no longer contains information on extensions. 

New paragraph (6) includes the transition information previously 
provided in former paragraph (1)(F) without change. 

New paragraph (7) includes the information on nontaxable enti-
ties previously provided in subsection (b) without change. 

New paragraph (8) includes the information on passive entities 
previously provided in former paragraph (1)(G) without change. 

New paragraph (9) includes the information on combined re-
porting previously provided in former paragraph (1)(H) but is 
amended to delete the name of §3.590 of this title as it has al-
ready been referenced in new subsection (b)(6). 

New paragraph (10) on new veteran-owned businesses is added 
to reference §3.574 of this title for information concerning the 
reporting requirements of a qualifying new veteran-owned busi-
ness. 

New paragraph (11), titled "Date of filing," amends former para-
graph (2) by replacing the original information with a reference to 
§3.13 of this title which provides updated information regarding 
postmarks, timely filing of reports, and timely payments. 

New paragraph (12) is added to include information on receiver-
ship previously provided in former paragraph (1) without change. 

Under subsection (d), the annual election language in paragraph 
(1) is deleted as it is no longer relevant. A policy change retroac-
tively allows the method of computing margin to be amended to 
the cost of goods sold or compensation methods regardless of 
what method was elected on an original report. Paragraphs (2) 
- (8) are renumbered accordingly. 

Renumbered paragraph (1) is retitled "margin computation" to be 
consistent with Tax Code, §171.101 (Determination of Taxable 
Margin), and is restructured to implement HB 500, which adds 
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a fourth method for computing margin. The information in origi-
nal subparagraphs (A), (B), and (C) providing each of the three 
computation methods historically allowed for computing margin 
are renumbered as (i), (ii), and (iii) and are included in new sub-
paragraph (A) which provides the margin computation for reports 
originally due on or after January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 
2014. New subparagraph (B) provides the margin computation 
for reports due on or after January 1, 2014, which includes a $1 
million deduction from total revenue as a fourth method. 

Renumbered paragraph (2), titled "rate," is restructured to imple-
ment HB 32; to include the historic tax rates and their effective 
dates; and to move definitions to subsection (b). The phrase 
referencing retail and wholesale trade as "under Division F or G 
of the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification Manual published 
by the Federal Office of Management and Budget" is removed 
from this paragraph and replaced with expanded, updated def-
initions of retail and wholesale trade in subsections (b)(3) and 
(5) respectively. The definition of "primarily engaged in retail or 
wholesale trade" in former subparagraphs (A)-(C) is moved to 
subsection (b)(2). 

New subparagraph (A) provides the rates for reports originally 
due on or after January 1, 2008, and before January 1, 2014. 
Subparagraph (B) now provides the rates for reports originally 
due on or after January 1, 2014, and before January 1, 2015, as 
provided in HB 500. Subparagraph (C) now provides the rates 
for reports originally due on or after January 1, 2015, and before 
January 1, 2016, as provided in HB 500. Subparagraph (D) now 
provides the tax rates for reports originally due on or after Jan-
uary 1, 2016, as provided in HB 32. 

Renumbered paragraph (4) is amended to implement the elec-
tronic filing requirement for No Tax Due Reports under SB 1364, 
and to clarify that the tiered partnership exception relates to the 
filing of No Tax Due Reports. To maintain consistency with report 
titles, the word "Information" is deleted from the report previously 
titled "No Tax Due Information Report" throughout the section as 
the name of the report has been revised for 2016. Clause (iii) 
of subparagraph (A) is amended to implement HB 500, which 
repealed the $600,000 no tax due threshold, making the $1 mil-
lion threshold permanent although increased to $1,030,000 un-
der Tax Code, §171.006 (Adjustment of Eligibility for No Tax Due, 
Discounts, and Compensation Deduction), which requires the 
threshold to be adjusted biennially based on the Consumer Price 
Index (CPI). Clause (iv) is added to include the CPI-adjusted no 
tax due threshold for reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2014, but before January 1, 2016. Clause (v) is added to include 
the CPI-adjusted no tax due threshold for reports originally due 
on or after January 1, 2016, but before January 1, 2018. Clause 
(vi) provides that the threshold amount for reports originally due 
on or after January 1, 2018, will be determined under Tax Code, 
§171.006. 

Renumbered paragraph (5) is amended to implement the repeal 
of the discounts from HB 500. 

Renumbered paragraph (6) is amended to implement HB 32, 
which increased the total revenue threshold for qualification to 
file using the E-Z Computation method and decreased the E-Z 
Computation tax rate. New subparagraph (A) is added to pro-
vide the threshold and rate information originally provided under 
this paragraph, changed only by the addition of an effective date 
and an amended reference to renumbered paragraph (5). New 
subparagraph (B) is added to provide the threshold and rate in-
formation for reports originally due on or after January 1, 2016. 
New subparagraph (C) is added to provide the restrictions on de-

ductions originally provided under this paragraph but is amended 
to clarify that no deductions to compute margin, credits, or other 
adjustments are allowed. 

Renumbered paragraph (7)(A) is amended to correct the refer-
ences to renumbered paragraphs (4), (5), and (6). 

Subsection (e)(1), (3)(A), (4), and (6) are amended to add titles 
for the referenced Tax Code sections. 

Subsection (f)(1), concerning amended reports, is amended to 
reflect the policy change that removed the restrictions on chang-
ing margin computation methods to cost of goods sold or com-
pensation. Paragraph (5) is amended to add title to referenced 
Tax Code section. 

Subsection (i)(1) and (2) are titled to improve readability. Para-
graph (1), now titled "public information report," is amended to in-
clude additional entities required to file a public information report 
under HB 2891. Paragraph (2), now titled "ownership informa-
tion report," is reworded to make a distinction between taxable 
entities required to file a public information report and an own-
ership information report. Paragraphs (1), (2), (3), and (4) are 
amended to add titles of referenced Tax Code sections. Para-
graph (4) is also amended to correct the Tax Code section refer-
enced. 

Tom Currah, Chief Revenue Estimator, has determined that for 
the first five-year period the rule will be in effect, there will be no 
significant revenue impact on the state or units of local govern-
ment. 

Mr. Currah also has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the rule is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result 
of enforcing the rule will be by conforming the rule to current 
legislation and policy. This rule is proposed under Tax Code, 
Title 2, and does not require a statement of fiscal implications for 
small businesses. There is no significant anticipated economic 
cost to individuals who are required to comply with the proposed 
rule. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Teresa G. 
Bostick, Director, Tax Policy Division, P.O. Box 13528, Austin, 
Texas 78711-3528. Comments must be received no later than 
30 days from the date of publication of the proposal in the Texas 
Register. 

This amendment is proposed under Tax Code, §111.002 (Comp-
troller's Rules; Compliance; Forfeiture) which provides the 
comptroller with the authority to prescribe, adopt, and enforce 
rules relating to the administration and enforcement of the 
provisions of Tax Code, Title 2. 

This amendment implements Tax Code, §§111.057 (Extension 
or Filing a Report), 171.0001 (General Definitions), 171.0022 
Temporary Permissive Alternative Rates for 2014), 171.0023 
Temporary Permissive Alternative Rates for 2015), 171.101 
Determination of Taxable Margin), and 171.1014 (Combined 
eporting; Affiliated Group Engaged in Unitary Business). 

3.584. Margin: Reports and Payments. 
(a) Effective date. The provisions of this section apply to fran-

hise tax reports originally due on or after January 1, 2008, except as 
therwise noted. 

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used 
n this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context 
learly indicates otherwise. [Nontaxable entities. See §3.581 of this 
itle (relating to Margin: Taxable and Nontaxable Entities) for infor-
ation concerning nontaxable entities. Except for passive entities (see 
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§3.582 (relating to Margin: Passive Entities)), a nontaxable entity that 
has not notified the comptroller or the secretary of state that it is do-
ing business in Texas, or that has previously notified the comptroller 
that it is not taxable, must notify the comptroller in writing only when 
the entity no longer qualifies as a nontaxable entity. If an entity re-
ceives notification in writing from the comptroller asking if the entity 
is taxable, the entity must reply to the comptroller within 30 days of 
the notice.] 

(1) Beginning date--

(A) except as provided by subparagraph (B) of this 
paragraph: 

(i) for a taxable entity chartered or organized in this 
state, the date on which the taxable entity's charter or organization takes 
effect; and 

(ii) for a foreign taxable entity, the date on which the 
taxable entity begins doing business in this state; or 

(B) for a taxable entity that qualifies as a new veteran-
owned business, as defined in §3.574 of this title (relating to Margin: 
New Veteran-Owned Businesses), the earlier of: 

(i) the fifth anniversary of the date on which the tax-
able entity begins doing business in this state; or 

(ii) the date the taxable entity ceases to qualify as a 
new veteran-owned business. 

(2) Primarily engaged in retail or wholesale trade--A tax-
able entity is primarily engaged in retail or wholesale trade only if: 

(A) the taxable entity does not provide retail or whole-
sale utilities, including telecommunications services, electricity, or gas. 

(B) the total revenue from the taxable entity's activities 
in retail and wholesale trade is greater than the total revenue from its 
activities in trades other than retail and wholesale trade; and 

(C) less than 50% of the total revenue from the taxable 
entity's activities in retail or wholesale trade comes from the sale of 
products the taxable entity produces or products produced by an entity 
that is part of an affiliated group to which the taxable entity also be-
longs, except for those businesses under Major Group 58 (eating and 
drinking establishments). For purposes of this subparagraph only: 

(i) A taxable entity produces the product that it sells 
if the taxable entity acquires the product and makes modifications to 
the product that increase the sales price of the product by more than 
10%. 

(ii) A taxable entity produces the product that it sells 
if the taxable entity manufactures, develops, or creates tangible per-
sonal property that is incorporated into, installed in, or becomes a com-
ponent part of the product that it sells. For example: 

(I) A taxable entity produces an electronic device 
that it sells when the taxable entity produces a computer program, such 
as an application or operating system, that is installed in the device, 
even if the device is manufactured by an unrelated party. 

(II) A taxable entity produces a drug that it sells 
when the taxable entity produces the active ingredient in the drug, even 
it the drug is manufactured by an unrelated party. 

(iii) A taxable entity does not produce a product that 
it sells if the product is manufactured by an unrelated party to the tax-
able entity's specifications. 

(3) Retail trade--

(A) for reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2008, and before January 1, 2012, the activities described in Division 
G of the SIC Manual; 

(B) for reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2012, and before January 1, 2014: 

(i) the activities described in Division G of the SIC 
Manual; and 

(ii) apparel rental activities classified as Industry 
5999 or 7299 of the SIC Manual; and 

(C) for reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2014: 

(i) the activities described in Division G of the SIC 
Manual; 

(ii) apparel rental activities classified as Industry 
5999 or 7299 of the SIC Manual; 

(iii) the activities classified as Automotive Repair 
Shops, Industry Group 753 of the SIC Manual; 

(iv) rental-purchase agreement activities regulated 
by Business & Commerce Code, Chapter 92; 

(v) rental or leasing of tools, party and event sup-
plies, and furniture, classified as Industry 7359 of the SIC Manual; and 

(vi) heavy construction equipment rental or leasing 
activities, classified as Industry 7353 of the SIC Manual. 

(4) SIC Manual--The 1987 Standard Industrial Classifica-
tion Manual published by the federal Office of Management and Bud-
get. 

(5) Wholesale trade--The activities described in Division F 
of the SIC Manual. 

(6) Unrelated party--With respect to a taxable entity, 
an entity that is not part of the same affiliated group, as defined in 
§3.590(b)(1) of this title (relating to Margin: Combined Reporting). 

(c) Reports and due dates. 

[(1) Each taxable entity subject to the franchise tax levied 
by Tax Code, §171.001, with a beginning date of October 4, 2009, or 
later, must file a first annual franchise tax report, and thereafter an an-
nual franchise tax report, and at the same time must pay the franchise 
tax and any applicable penalties and interest due by the taxable entity. 
Each taxable entity subject to the franchise tax levied by Tax Code, 
§171.001, with a beginning date prior to October 4, 2009, must file 
an initial franchise tax report, and thereafter an annual franchise tax re-
port, and at the same time must pay the franchise tax and any applicable 
penalties and interest due by the taxable entity. It is the responsibility 
of a receiver to file franchise tax reports and pay the franchise tax of a 
taxable entity in receivership. A debtor in possession or the appointed 
trustee or receiver of a taxable entity in reorganization or arrangement 
proceedings under the Bankruptcy Act is responsible for filing fran-
chise tax reports and paying the franchise tax pursuant to the plan of 
reorganization or arrangement.] 

[(A) "Beginning date" means:] 

[(i) for a taxable entity chartered or organized in this 
state, the date on which the taxable entity's charter or organization takes 
effect; and] 

[(ii) for a foreign taxable entity, the date on which 
the taxable entity begins doing business in this state.] 
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(1) [(B)] Initial report. For taxable entities with a begin-
ning date prior to October 4, 2009, both the initial report and payment 
of the tax due, if any, are due no later than 89 days after the first an-
niversary date of the beginning date. The taxable margin computed on 
the initial report is based on the business done during the period be-
ginning on the beginning date and ending on the last accounting period 
ending date for federal income tax purposes that is at least 60 days be-
fore the original due date of the initial report, or, if there is no such 
ending date, then ending on the day that is the last day of the calendar 
month nearest to the end of the taxable entity's first year of business. 
If the period used to compute business done for purposes of the ini-
tial report differs from the taxable entity's last accounting period for 
federal income tax purposes, then the taxable entity's total revenue for 
purposes of the initial report shall be computed as if the taxable entity 
had reported its federal taxable income on an Internal Revenue Service 
form covering the period used to compute business done for purposes 
of the initial report. The privilege period for the initial report is from 
the beginning date through December 31 of the year in which the initial 
report is originally due. 

[(C) Annual report.] 

(2) [(i)] First annual report. For taxable entities with a be-
ginning date of October 4, 2009, or later, both the first annual report 
and payment of the tax due, if any, are due no later than May 15 of the 
year following the year the entity became subject to the tax (i.e., the 
beginning date). The taxable margin computed on the first annual re-
port is based on the business done during the period beginning on the 
beginning date and ending on the last accounting period ending date 
for federal income tax purposes that is in the same calendar year as the 
beginning date. The privilege period for the first annual report is from 
the beginning date through December 31 of the year in which the first 
annual report is originally due. 

(3) [(ii)] Annual report. The annual franchise tax report 
must be filed and the tax paid no later than May 15 of each year. The 
taxable margin computed on an annual report is based on the business 
done during the period beginning with the day after the last date upon 
which tax was computed under Tax Code, Chapter 171 on a previous re-
port, and ending with the last accounting period ending date for federal 
income tax purposes ending in the calendar year before the calendar 
year in which the report is originally due, or, if there is no such ending 
date, then ending on December 31 of the calendar year before the cal-
endar year in which the report is originally due. A taxable entity that 
uses a 52 - 53 week accounting year end and has an accounting year 
ending the first four days of January of the year in which the annual 
report is originally due may use the preceding December 31 as the date 
through which taxable margin is computed. If the period used to com-
pute business done for purposes of the annual report differs from the 
taxable entity's last accounting period for federal income tax purposes, 
then the taxable entity's total revenue for purposes of the annual report 
shall be computed as if the taxable entity had reported its federal tax-
able income on an Internal Revenue Service form covering the period 
used to compute business done for purposes of the annual report. The 
privilege period for an annual report is January 1 through December 31 
of the year in which the annual report is originally due. 

(4) Final report. A final tax report and payment of the 
additional tax are due within 60 days after the taxable entity no longer 
has sufficient nexus with Texas to be subject to the franchise tax. See 
§3.592 of this title (relating to Margin: Additional Tax) for further 
information concerning the additional tax imposed by Tax Code, 
§171.0011. 

(5) [(D)] Extensions. [See §3.1 of this title (relating to Re-
quest for Extension of Time in Which to File Report), for extensions 
of time to file an initial or final report.] 

(A) Annual report. See §3.585 of this title (relating to 
Margin: Annual Report Extensions), for extensions of time to file an 
annual report, including the first annual report. 

(B) Final report. A taxable entity will be granted a 
45-day extension of time to file a final report, if the taxable entity: 

(i) requests the extension on or before the filing date; 

(ii) requests the extension on a form provided by the 
comptroller; and 

(iii) remits 90% or more of the tax reported as due 
on the final report. 

(6) [(F)] Transition. See §3.595 of this title (relating to 
Margin: Transition) for transitional information concerning tax rates 
and privilege periods as a result of certain legislative changes. 

(7) Nontaxable entities. See §3.581 of this title (relating to 
Margin: Taxable and Nontaxable Entities) for information concerning 
nontaxable entities. Except for passive entities (see §3.582 of this title 
(relating to Margin: Passive Entities)), a nontaxable entity that has not 
notified the comptroller or the secretary of state that it is doing business 
in Texas, or that has previously notified the comptroller that it is not 
taxable, must notify the comptroller in writing only when the entity no 
longer qualifies as a nontaxable entity. If an entity receives notification 
in writing from the comptroller asking for information to determine if 
the entity is a taxable entity, the entity must reply to the comptroller 
within 30 days of the notice. 

(8) [(G)] Passive entities. See §3.582 of this title, for infor-
mation concerning the reporting requirements for a passive entity. 

(9) [(H)] Combined reporting. Taxable entities that are part 
of an affiliated group engaged in a unitary business must file a com-
bined group report in lieu of individual reports, except that a public 
information report or ownership information report must be filed for 
each member of the combined group with nexus. See §3.590 of this 
title [(relating to Margin: Combined Reporting),] for rules on filing a 
combined report. 

(10) New veteran-owned businesses. See §3.574 of this ti-
tle for information concerning the reporting requirements for a quali-
fying new veteran-owned business. 

(11) Date of filing. See §3.13 (relating to Postmarks, 
Timely Filing of Reports, and Timely Payment of Taxes and Fees) for 
information concerning the requirements for timely filing. 

(12) Receivership. It is the responsibility of a receiver to 
file franchise tax reports and pay the franchise tax of a taxable entity 
in receivership. A debtor in possession or the appointed trustee or re-
ceiver of a taxable entity in reorganization or arrangement proceedings 
under the Bankruptcy Act is responsible for filing franchise tax reports 
and paying the franchise tax pursuant to the plan of reorganization or 
arrangement. 

[(2) The postmark date (or meter-mark if there is no post-
mark) on the envelope in which the report or payment is received de-
termines the date of filing.] 

(d) Calculation of tax. 

[(1) Annual Election. If eligible, a taxable entity must 
make an annual election to deduct cost of goods sold or compensation 
by the due date or at the time the report is filed, whichever is later. The 
election is made by filing the franchise tax report using one method or 
the other. (See §3.588 of this title (relating to Margin: Cost of Goods 
Sold) and §3.589 of this title (relating to Margin: Compensation) for 
eligibility.). If an election is not made, the taxable entity's margin 
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will be calculated as 70% of total revenue. After the due date of the 
report, a taxable entity may not amend its report to change its election 
to cost of goods sold or compensation. However, a taxable entity may 
amend its report to change its method of computing margin from cost 
of goods sold or compensation to 70% of total revenue or, if eligible, 
the E-Z Computation.] 

(1) [(2)] Margin computation. [Calculation.] A taxable en-
tity's margin equals the least of the following [three ]calculations, if el-
igible: 

(A) For reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2008, and before January 1, 2014: 

(i) [(A)] total [Total] revenue minus cost of goods 
sold; 

(ii) [(B)] total [Total] revenue minus compensation; 
or 

(iii) [(C)] 70% of total revenue. 

(B) For reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2014: 

(i) total revenue minus cost of goods sold; 

(ii) total revenue minus compensation; 

(iii) 70% of total revenue; or 

(iv) total revenue minus $1 million. 

(2) [(3)] Rate. Except as provided by paragraph (6) of this 
subsection: 

(A) For reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2008, but before January 1, 2014: 

(i) a [A] tax rate of 1.0% of taxable margin applies 
to most taxable entities; and[. A] 

(ii) a tax rate of 0.5% of taxable margin applies to 
taxable entities primarily engaged in retail or wholesale trade. [under 
division F or G of the 1987 Standard Industrial Classification Manual 
published by the Federal Office of Management and Budget. A taxable 
entity is primarily engaged in retail or wholesale trade only if:] 

(B) For reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2014, but before January 1, 2015: 

(i) a tax rate of 0.975% of taxable margin applies to 
most taxable entities; and 

(ii) a tax rate of 0.4875% of taxable margin applies 
to taxable entities primarily engaged in retail or wholesale trade. 

(C) For reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2015, but before January 1, 2016: 

(i) a tax rate of 0.95% of taxable margin applies to 
most taxable entities; and 

(ii) a tax rate of 0.475% of taxable margin applies to 
taxable entities primarily engaged in retail or wholesale trade. 

(D) For reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2016: 

(i) a tax rate of 0.75% of taxable margin applies to 
most taxable entities; and 

(ii) a tax rate of 0.375% of taxable margin applies to 
taxable entities primarily engaged in retail or wholesale trade. 

[(A) the total revenue from its activities in retail and 
wholesale trade is greater than the total revenue from its activities in 
trades other than the retail and wholesale trade;] 

[(B) less than 50% of the total revenue from activities 
in retail or wholesale trade comes from the sale of products it produces 
or products produced by an entity that is part of an affiliated group to 
which the taxable entity also belongs, except for those businesses under 
Major Group 58 (eating and drinking establishments). A product is 
not considered to be produced if modifications made to the acquired 
product do not increase its sales price by more than 10%; and] 

[(C) the taxable entity does not provide retail or whole-
sale utilities, including telecommunications services, electricity or 
gas.] 

(3) [(4)] Annualized Total Revenue. When the accounting 
period on which a report is based is more or less than 12 months, a 
taxable entity must annualize its total revenue to determine its eligi-
bility for the no tax due threshold, discounts, and E-Z Computation. 
The amount of total revenue used in the actual tax calculations will not 
change as a result of annualizing revenue. To annualize total revenue, 
an entity will divide total revenue by the number of days in the period 
upon which the report is based, and then multiply the result by 365. 
Examples are as follows: 

(A) a taxable entity's 2010 franchise tax report is based 
on the period September 15, 2009 through December 31, 2009 (108 
days), and its total revenue for the period is $375,000. The taxable en-
tity's annualized total revenue is $1,267,361 ($375,000 divided by 108 
days multiplied by 365 days). Based on its annualized total revenue, 
the taxable entity does not qualify for the $1,000,000 no tax due thresh-
old but is eligible to file using the E-Z computation. The discounts do 
not apply in years when the no tax due threshold is $1,000,000; 

(B) a taxable entity's 2010 franchise tax report is based 
on the period March 1, 2008 through December 31, 2009 (671 days), 
and its total revenue for the period is $1,375,000. The taxable entity's 
annualized total revenue is $747,951 ($1,375,000 divided by 671 days 
multiplied by 365 days). Based on its annualized total revenue, the 
taxable entity qualifies for the $1,000,000 no tax due threshold and is 
eligible to file using the No Tax Due Information Report. 

(4) [(5)] No tax due. Effective September 1, 2015, No Tax 
Due Reports are required to be filed electronically. See §3.587(c)(8)(C) 
of this title (relating to Margin: Total Revenue) for the tiered partner-
ship exception to filing No Tax Due Reports. 

(A) A taxable entity owes no tax and may file a No Tax 
Due [Information] Report if its annualized total revenue is: 

(i) for reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2008, but before January 1, 2010, $300,000 or less; 

(ii) for reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2010, but before January 1, 2012, $1 million or less; [and] 

(iii) for reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2012, but before January 1, 2014, $1,030,000 [$600,000] or less;[, or 
the amount determined under Tax Code, §171.006.] 

(iv) for reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2014, but before January 1, 2016, $1,080,000 or less; 

(v) for reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2016, but before January 1, 2018, $1,110,000 or less; and 

(vi) for reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2018, the amount determined under Tax Code, §171.006 (Adjustment 
of Eligibility for No Tax Due, Discounts, and Compensation Deduc-
tion). 
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(B) A taxable entity that has zero Texas receipts owes 
no tax and may file a No Tax Due [Information] Report. 

(C) A taxable entity that has tax due of less than $1,000 
owes no tax; however, the entity cannot file a No Tax Due [Information] 
Report and must file a regular annual report or, if qualified, the E-Z 
Computation Report. 

(5) [(6)] Discount. A taxable entity is entitled to a discount 
of the tax imposed as follows. 

(A) For reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2008, but before January 1, 2010, if annualized total revenue is: 

(i) greater than $300,000 and less than $400,000, the 
discount is 80% of tax due; 

(ii) greater than or equal to $400,000 and less than 
$500,000, the discount is 60% of tax due; 

(iii) greater than or equal to $500,000 and less than 
$700,000, the discount is 40% of tax due; 

(iv) greater than or equal to $700,000 and less than 
$900,000, the discount is 20% of tax due. 

(B) For reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2010 [but before January 1, 2012,] there are no discounts. 

[(C) For reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2012, if annualized total revenue is:] 

[(i) greater than $600,000 and less than $700,000, 
the discount is 40% of tax due;] 

[(ii) greater than or equal to $700,000 and less than 
$900,000, the discount is 20% of tax due.] 

(6) [(7)] E-Z Computation. 

(A) For reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2008, and before January 1, 2016, a [A] taxable entity with annualized 
total revenue of $10 million or less may choose to pay the franchise tax 
by using the E-Z Computation method. For this period, under [Under] 
the E-Z Computation, a taxable entity's tax liability is computed by ap-
plying a tax rate of 0.575% to apportioned total revenue and subtracting 
any applicable discount as provided by paragraph (5) [(6)] of this sub-
section. 

(B) For reports originally due on or after January 1, 
2016, a taxable entity with annualized total revenue of $20 million or 
less may choose to pay the franchise tax by using the E-Z Computation 
method. For this period, under the E-Z Computation, a taxable entity's 
tax liability is computed by applying a tax rate of 0.331% to appor-
tioned total revenue. 

(C) No deductions to compute margin, [deduction is al-
lowed for cost of goods sold or compensation if a taxable entity chooses 
to compute its tax liability under the E-Z Computation. Additionally, 
no other] credits, or other adjustments are allowed if a taxable entity 
chooses to compute its tax liability under the E-Z Computation. 

(7) [(8)] Tiered partnership provision. See §3.587[(b)(14) 
and (c)(8)] of this title for information concerning the tiered partnership 
provision. 

(A) Eligibility for no tax due, discounts and the E-Z 
Computation. For eligible entities choosing to file under the tiered part-
nership provision, paragraphs (4), (5), and (6) [and (7)] of this subsec-
tion do not apply to an upper or lower tier entity if, before the attribution 
of total revenue by a lower tier entity to upper tier entities, the lower 
tier entity does not meet the criteria. 

(B) Tiered Partnership Report. The lower tier entity 
must submit a report to the comptroller indicating its total revenue be-
fore attribution and the amount of total revenue that each upper tier 
entity must include with the upper tier entity's own total revenue. Each 
upper tier entity must submit a report to the comptroller indicating the 
lower tier entity's total revenue before attribution and the amount of the 
lower tier entity's total revenue that was passed to the upper tier entity 
and is included in the total revenue of the upper tier entity. 

(e) Penalty and interest on delinquent taxes. 

(1) Tax Code, §171.362 (Penalty for Failure to Pay Tax or 
File Report), imposes a 5.0% penalty on the amount of franchise tax 
due by a taxable entity that fails to report or pay the tax when due. 
If any part of the tax is not reported or paid within 30 days after the 
due date, an additional 5.0% penalty is imposed on the amount of tax 
unpaid. There is a minimum penalty of $1.00. Delinquent taxes accrue 
interest beginning 60 days after the due date. For example, if payment 
is made on the 61st day after the due date, one day's interest is due. 
The annual rate of interest on delinquent taxes is the prime rate plus 
one percent, as published in The Wall Street Journal on the first day of 
each calendar year that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. 

(2) When a taxable entity is issued an audit assessment or 
other underpayment notice based on a deficiency, penalties under Tax 
Code, §171.362, and interest are applied as of the date that the under-
paid tax was originally due, including any extensions, not from the date 
of the deficiency determination or date the deficiency determination is 
final. 

(3) A deficiency determination is final 30 days after the 
date on which the service of the notice of the determination is com-
pleted. Service by mail is complete when the notice is deposited with 
the United States Postal Service. 

(A) The amount of a determination is due and payable 
10 days after it becomes final. If the amount of the determination is 
not paid within 10 days after the day it became final, a penalty under 
Tax Code, §111.0081 (When Payment is Required), of 10% of the tax 
assessed will be added. For example, if a deficiency determination is 
made in the amount of $1,000 tax (plus the initial penalty and interest), 
but the total amount of the deficiency is not paid until the 41st day after 
the deficiency notice is served, $1,200 plus interest would be due (i.e., 
$1,000 tax, $100 initial penalty for not paying when originally due, 
$100 penalty for not paying deficiency determination within 10 days 
after it became final, plus interest accrued to the date of payment at the 
applicable statutory rate). 

(B) A petition for redetermination must be filed within 
30 days after the date on which the service of the notice of determina-
tion is completed, or the redetermination is barred. 

(C) A decision on a petition for redetermination be-
comes final 20 days after service on the petitioner of the notice of 
the decision. The amount of a determination is due and payable 20 
days after the decision is final. If the amount of the determination is 
not paid within 20 days after the day the decision becomes final, a 
penalty under Tax Code, §111.0081, of 10% of the tax assessed will 
be added. Using the previous example, on the 41st day after service of 
the decision, $1,200 plus interest would be due (i.e., $1,000 tax, $100 
initial penalty, $100 additional penalty and the applicable accrued 
interest). 

(4) A jeopardy determination is final 20 days after the date 
on which the service of the notice is completed unless a petition for re-
determination is filed before the determination becomes final. Service 
by mail is complete when the notice is deposited with the United States 
Postal Service. The amount of the determination is due and payable im-
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mediately. If the amount determined is not paid within 20 days from 
the date of service, a penalty, under Tax Code, §111.022 (Jeopardy De-
termination), of 10% of the amount of tax and interest assessed will be 
added. 

(5) If the comptroller determines that a taxable entity exer-
cised reasonable diligence to comply with the statutory filing or pay-
ment requirements, the comptroller may waive penalties or interest for 
the late filing of a report or for a late payment. The taxable entity 
requesting waiver must furnish a detailed description of the circum-
stances that caused the late filing or late payment and the diligence ex-
ercised by the taxable entity in attempting to comply with the statutory 
requirements. See §3.5 of this title (relating to Waiver of Penalty or 
Interest) for additional information. 

(6) If a taxable entity fails to comply with Tax Code, 
§171.212 (Report of Changes to Federal Income Tax Return), the 
taxable entity is liable for a penalty of 10% of the tax that should have 
been reported and had not previously been reported to the comptroller 
under Tax Code, §171.212. This penalty is in addition to any other 
penalty provided by law. 

(f) Amended reports. In filing an amended report, the taxable 
entity must type or print on the top of the report the phrase "Amended 
Report." The report should be forwarded with a cover letter of explana-
tion, with enclosures necessary to support the amendment. Applicable 
penalties and interest must be reported and paid along with any addi-
tional amount of tax shown to be due on the amended report. 

(1) A taxable entity may file an amended report for the pur-
pose of correcting a mathematical or other error in a report, for the 
purpose of supporting a claim for refund, or to change its method of 
computing margin [to 70% of total revenue] or, if qualified, to use the 
E-Z Computation. [After the due date of the report, an amended report 
may not be filed to change the method of computing margin to a cost 
of goods sold deduction or to a compensation deduction.] 

(2) A taxable entity that has been audited by the Internal 
Revenue Service must file an amended franchise tax report within 120 
days after the Revenue Agent's Report (RAR) is final, if the RAR re-
sults in changes to taxable margin reported for franchise tax purposes. 
An RAR is final when all administrative appeals with the Internal Rev-
enue Service have been exhausted or waived. An administrative ap-
peal with the Internal Revenue Service does not include an action or 
proceeding in the United States Tax Court or any other federal court. 

(3) A taxable entity whose taxable margin is changed as a 
result of an audit or other adjustment by a competent authority other 
than the Internal Revenue Service must file an amended franchise tax 
report within 120 days after the adjustment is final. An adjustment is 
final when all administrative or other appeals have been exhausted or 
waived. For the purposes of this section, a competent authority in-
cludes, but is not limited to, the United States Tax Court, United States 
District Courts, United States Courts of Appeals, and United States 
Supreme Court. 

(4) A taxable entity must file an amended franchise tax re-
port within 120 days after the taxable entity files an amended federal 
income tax return that changes the taxable entity's taxable margin. A 
taxable entity is considered to have filed an amended federal income 
tax return if the taxable entity is a member of an affiliated group during 
a period in which an amended consolidated federal income tax return 
is filed. 

(5) A final determination resulting from an Internal Rev-
enue Service administrative proceeding (including an audit), or a judi-
cial proceeding arising from an administrative proceeding, that affects 
the amount of franchise tax liability must be reported to the comptroller 

before the expiration of 120 days after the day on which the determina-
tion becomes final. See Tax Code, §111.206 (Exception to Limitation: 
Determination Resulting from Administrative Proceeding). 

(6) Because the 10% penalty provided for in Tax Code, 
§171.212 only applies to deficiencies, failure to file an amended re-
turn in which a refund would result will not cause a 10% penalty to be 
imposed. 

(g) Comptroller audit. During the course of an audit or other 
examination of a taxable entity's franchise tax account, the comptroller 
may examine financial statements, working papers, registers, memo-
randa, contracts, corporate minutes, and any other business papers used 
in connection with its accounting system. In connection with the ex-
amination, the comptroller may also examine any of the taxable entity's 
officers or employees under oath. 

(h) Payment of determination. The payment of a determina-
tion issued to a taxable entity for an estimated tax liability shall not 
satisfy the reporting requirements set forth in Tax Code, Chapter 171, 
Subchapter E, concerning reports and records. 

(i) Information report. Each taxable entity on which the fran-
chise tax is imposed must file an information report. 

(1) Public information report. For a taxable entity legally 
formed as a corporation, limited liability company, limited partnership, 
professional association, or financial institution, a public information 
report as described in Tax Code, §171.203 (Public Information Report), 
is due at the same time each initial and annual, including the first an-
nual, report is due. An authorized person must sign the public infor-
mation report on behalf of the taxable entity under a certification that: 

(A) all information contained in the report is true and 
correct to the best of the authorized person's knowledge; and 

(B) a copy of the report has been mailed to each person 
named in the report who is an officer, director, or manager and who is 
not employed by the taxable entity or a related (at least 10% ownership) 
taxable entity on the date the report is filed. 

(C) A report that is filed electronically complies with 
the signature and certification requirements of this provision. 

(2) Ownership information report. Taxable [For all other 
taxable] entities not required to file a public information report must 
file[,] an ownership information report as described in Tax Code, 
§171.201 (Initial Report) and §171.202 (Annual Report) is due at the 
same time each initial and annual, including the first annual, report is 
due. 

(3) Failure to file or sign a public information report or 
ownership information report shall result in the forfeiture of corporate 
or business privileges as provided by Tax Code, §171.251 (Forfeiture 
of Corporate Privileges) and §171.2515 (Forfeiture of Right of Taxable 
Entity to Transact Business in this State). If the corporate or business 
privileges are forfeited, each officer or director of the taxable entity 
may be liable for each debt of the taxable entity that is created or in-
curred in Texas after the date on which the report is due and before the 
corporate or business privileges are revived, as provided by Tax Code, 
§171.255 (Liability of Directors and Officers). 

(4) The provisions of paragraph (3) of this subsection, con-
cerning forfeiture of corporate privileges do not apply to a banking tax-
able entity or a savings and loan association, as defined in Tax Code, 
§171.0001 (General Definitions) [§171.001]. 

(5) For purposes of this subsection: 

(A) authorized person means, in the case of a corpora-
tion, an officer, director or other authorized person of the corporation; 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

(B) authorized person means, in the case of a limited 
liability company, a member, manager or other authorized person of 
the limited liability company; 

(C) authorized person means, in the case of a limited 
partnership, a partner or other authorized person of the partnership; 

(D) director includes a manager of a limited liability 
company, a general partner in a limited partnership and a general part-
ner in a partnership registered as a limited liability partnership; 

(E) authorized person also includes a paid preparer au-
thorized to sign the report. 

(6) Taxable entities that are members of a combined group 
and do not have nexus in Texas are not required to file an ownership 
information report or a public information report. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602267 
Don Neal 
Chief Deputy General Counsel 
Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387 

34 TAC §3.588 
The Comptroller of Public Accounts proposes amendments 
to §3.588, concerning margin: cost of goods sold. Subsec-
tion (b)(3) is amended to correct the definition of the term 
"goods" to conform with the statutory language in Tax Code, 
§171.1012(a)(1) (Determination of Cost of Goods Sold). The 
amendment specifically deletes the portion of the definition of 
"goods" that incorrectly includes the husbandry of animals, the 
growing and harvesting of crops, and the severance of timber 
from realty. These terms are statutorily defined as "goods" solely 
for purposes of Tax Code, §171.1012(e)(14), which addresses 
compensation paid to an undocumented worker. The agency 
has determined that there is no statutory basis for expanding 
the definition of "goods" found in Tax Code, §171.1012(a)(1) to 
incorporate these activities. Subsection (b)(11), defining "un-
documented worker," is deleted because this term also applies 
only for the purposes of Tax Code, §171.1012(e)(14). The lan-
guage deleted from subsection (b)(3) and (11) is incorporated 
in subsection (g)(14) to conform with the statutory language in 
Tax Code, §171.1012(e)(14). 

Subsection (g)(14) is amended to incorporate the deleted por-
tion of the definition of "goods" under subsection (b)(3) and the 
definition of "undocumented worker" deleted from subsection 
(b)(11) to conform with the statutory language in Tax Code, 
§171.1012(e)(14). 

Tom Currah, Chief Revenue Estimator, has determined that for 
the first five-year period the rule will be in effect, there will be no 
significant revenue impact on the state or units of local govern-
ment. 

Mr. Currah also has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the rule is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result 
of enforcing the rule will be by conforming the rule's provisions to 
current statutes. This rule is proposed under Tax Code, Title 2, 

and does not require a statement of fiscal implications for small 
businesses. There is no significant anticipated economic cost to 
individuals who are required to comply with the proposed rule. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Teresa G. 
Bostick, Director, Tax Policy Division, P.O. Box 13528, Austin, 
Texas 78711-3528. Comments must be received no later than 
30 days from the date of publication of the proposal in the Texas 
Register. 

This amendment is proposed under Tax Code, Chapter 171 and 
Tax Code, §111.002 (Comptroller's Rules; Compliance; Forfei-
ture) which provides the comptroller with the authority to pre-
scribe, adopt, and enforce rules relating to the administration and 
enforcement of the provisions of Tax Code, Title 2, and taxes, 
fees, or other charges which the comptroller administers under 
the law. 

The amendment implements Tax Code, §171.1012 (Determina-
tion of Cost of Goods Sold). 

§3.588. Margin: Cost of Goods Sold. 

(a) Effective Date. The provisions of this section apply to fran-
chise tax reports originally due on or after January 1, 2008. 

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used 
in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Arm's length--The standard of conduct under which en-
tities that are not related parties and that have substantially equal bar-
gaining power, each acting in its own interest, would negotiate or carry 
out a particular transaction. 

(2) Computer program--A series of instructions that are 
coded for acceptance or use by a computer system and that are 
designed to permit the computer system to process data and provide 
results and information. The series of instructions may be contained 
in or on magnetic tapes, printed instructions, or other tangible or 
electronic media. 

(3) Goods--Real or tangible personal property sold in the 
ordinary course of business of a taxable entity. ["Goods" includes:] 

[(A) the husbandry of animals;] 

[(B) the growing and harvesting of crops;] 

[(C) the severance of timber from realty.] 

(4) Heavy construction equipment--Self-propelled, 
self-powered, or pull-type equipment that weighs at least 3,000 pounds 
and is intended to be used for construction. The term does not include 
a motor vehicle required to be titled and registered. 

(5) Lending institution--An entity that makes loans and: 

(A) is regulated by the Federal Reserve Board, the Of-
fice of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Federal Deposit Insurance 
Corporation, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission, the Office 
of Thrift Supervision, the Texas Department of Banking, the Office of 
Consumer Credit Commissioner, the Credit Union Department, or any 
comparable regulatory body; 

(B) is licensed by, registered with, or otherwise regu-
lated by the Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending; 

(C) is a "broker" or "dealer" as defined by the Securities 
Exchange Act of 1934 at 15 U.S.C. §78c; or 

(D) provides financing to unrelated parties solely for 
agricultural production. 
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(6) Principal business activity--The activity in which a tax-
able entity derives the largest percentage of its "total revenue". 

(7) Production--Construction, manufacture, installation 
occurring during the manufacturing or construction process, develop-
ment, mining, extraction, improvement, creation, raising, or growth. 

(8) Related party--A person, corporation, or other entity, 
including an entity that is treated as a pass-through or disregarded entity 
for purposes of federal taxation, whether the person, corporation, or 
entity is subject to the tax under this chapter or not, in which one person, 
corporation, or entity, or set of related persons, corporations, or entities, 
directly or indirectly owns or controls a controlling interest in another 
entity. 

(9) Service costs--Indirect costs and administrative over-
head costs that can be identified specifically with a service department 
or function, or that directly benefit or are incurred by reason of a ser-
vice department or function. For purposes of this section, a service 
department includes personnel (including costs of recruiting, hiring, 
relocating, assigning, and maintaining personnel records or employ-
ees); accounting (including accounts payable, disbursements, and pay-
roll functions); data processing; security; legal; general financial plan-
ning and management; and other similar departments or functions. 

(10) Tangible personal property--

(A) includes: 

(i) personal property that can be seen, weighed, 
measured, felt, or touched or that is perceptible to the senses in any 
other manner; 

(ii) films, sound recordings, videotapes, live and 
prerecorded television and radio programs, books, and other similar 
property embodying words, ideas, concepts, images, or sound, without 
regard to the means or methods of distribution or the medium in which 
the property is embodied, for which, as costs are incurred in producing 
the property, it is intended or is reasonably likely that any medium in 
which the property is embodied will be mass-distributed by the creator 
or any one or more third parties in a form that is not substantially 
altered; and 

(iii) a computer program, as defined in paragraph (2) 
of this subsection. 

(B) does not include: 

(i) intangible property or 

(ii) services. 

[(11) Undocumented worker--A person who is not lawfully 
entitled to be present and employed in the United States.] 

(c) General rules for determining cost of goods sold. 

(1) Affiliated entities. Notwithstanding any other provi-
sion of this section, a payment made by one member of an affiliated 
group to another member of that affiliated group not included in the 
combined group may be subtracted as a cost of goods sold only if it is 
a transaction made at arm's length. 

(2) Capitalization or expensing of certain costs. The elec-
tion to capitalize or expense allowable costs is made by filing the fran-
chise tax report using one method or the other. The election is for the 
entire period on which the report is based and may not be changed after 
the due date or the date the report is filed, whichever is later. A taxable 
entity that is allowed a subtraction by this section for a cost of goods 
sold and that is subject to Internal Revenue Code, §§263A, 460, or 471 
(including a taxable entity subject to §471 that elects to use LIFO under 
§472), may elect to: 

(A) Capitalize those costs in the same manner and to the 
same extent that the taxable entity capitalized those costs on its federal 
income tax return, except for those costs excluded under subsection (g) 
of this section, or in accordance with subsections (d), (e), and (f) of this 
section. A taxable entity that elects to capitalize costs on its first report 
due on or after January 1, 2008, may include, in beginning inventory, 
costs allowable for franchise tax purposes that would be in beginning 
inventory for federal income tax purposes. 

(i) If the taxable entity elects to capitalize those costs 
allowed under this section as a cost of goods sold, it must capitalize 
each cost allowed under this section that it capitalized on its federal 
income tax return. 

(ii) If the taxable entity later elects to begin expens-
ing those costs allowed under this section as a cost of goods sold, the 
entity may not deduct any cost incurred before the first day of the pe-
riod on which the report is based, including any ending inventory from 
a previous report. 

(B) Expense those costs, except for those costs ex-
cluded under subsection (g) of this section, or in accordance with 
subsections (d), (e), and (f) of this section. 

(i) If the taxable entity elects to expense those costs 
allowed under this section as a cost of goods sold, costs incurred before 
the first day of the period on which the report is based may not be 
subtracted as a cost of goods sold. 

(ii) If the taxable entity later elects to begin capital-
izing those costs allowed under this section as a cost of goods sold, 
costs incurred prior to the accounting period on which the report is 
based may not be capitalized. 

(3) Election to subtract cost of goods sold. A taxable entity, 
if eligible, must make an annual election to subtract cost of goods sold 
in computing margin by the due date, or at the time the report is filed, 
whichever is later. The election to subtract cost of goods sold is made 
by filing the franchise tax report using the cost of goods sold method. 
An amended report may be filed within the time allowed by Tax Code, 
§111.107 to change the method of computing margin to the cost of 
goods sold deduction method or from the cost of goods sold deduction 
method to the compensation deduction method, 70% of total revenue, 
or, if otherwise qualified, the E-Z computation method. An election 
may also be changed as part of an audit. See §3.584 of this title (relating 
to Margin: Reports and Payments). 

(4) Exclusions from total revenue. Any expense excluded 
from total revenue (see §3.587 of this title (relating to Margin: Total 
Revenue)) may not be included in the determination of cost of goods 
sold. 

(5) Film and broadcasting. A taxable entity whose princi-
pal business activity is film or television production or broadcasting 
or the sale of broadcast rights or the distribution of tangible personal 
property described by subsection (b)(10)(A)(ii) of this section, or any 
combination of these activities, and who elects to use cost of goods sold 
to determine margin, may include as cost of goods sold: 

(A) the costs described in this section in relation to the 
property; 

(B) depreciation, amortization, and other expenses di-
rectly related to the acquisition, production, or use of the property, in-
cluding 

(C) expenses for the right to broadcast or use the prop-
erty. 
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(6) Lending institutions. Notwithstanding any other pro-
vision of this section, if the taxable entity is a lending institution that 
offers loans to the public and elects to subtract cost of goods sold, the 
entity may subtract as a cost of goods sold an amount equal to interest 
expense. 

(A) This paragraph does not apply to entities primarily 
engaged in an activity described by category 5932 of the 1987 Stan-
dard Industrial Classification Manual published by the federal Office 
of Management and Budget. 

(B) For purposes of this subsection, an entity engaged 
in lending to unrelated parties solely for agricultural production offers 
loans to the public. 

(7) Mixed transactions. If a transaction contains elements 
of both a sale of tangible personal property and a service, a taxable en-
tity may only subtract as cost of goods sold the costs otherwise allowed 
by this section in relation to the tangible personal property sold. 

(8) Owner of goods. A taxable entity may make a subtrac-
tion under this section in relation to the cost of goods sold only if that 
entity owns the goods. The determination of whether a taxable entity 
is an owner is based on all of the facts and circumstances, including 
the various benefits and burdens of ownership vested with the taxable 
entity. 

(A) A taxable entity furnishing labor or materials to a 
project for the construction, improvement, remodeling, repair, or in-
dustrial maintenance (as the term "maintenance" is defined in §3.357 
of this title (relating to Nonresidential Real Property Repair, Remod-
eling, and Restoration; Real Property Maintenance)), of real property 
is considered to be an owner of the labor or materials and may include 
the costs, as allowed by this section, in the computation of the cost of 
goods sold. 

(B) Solely for the purposes of this section, a taxable 
entity shall be treated as the owner of goods being manufactured or 
produced by the entity under a contract with the federal government, 
including any subcontracts that support a contract with the federal 
government, notwithstanding that the Federal Acquisition Regulations 
may require that title or risk of loss with respect to those goods 
be transferred to the federal government before the manufacture or 
production of those goods is complete. 

(9) Rentals and leases. Notwithstanding any other provi-
sion of this section, the following taxable entities may subtract as cost 
of goods sold the costs otherwise allowed by this section in relation to 
tangible personal property that the entity rents or leases in the ordinary 
course of business of the entity: 

(A) a motor vehicle rental company that remits a tax on 
gross receipts imposed under Tax Code, §152.026 or a motor vehicle 
leasing company; 

(B) a heavy construction equipment rental or leasing 
company; and 

(C) a railcar rolling stock rental or leasing company. 

(10) Reporting methods. A taxable entity shall determine 
its cost of goods sold, except as otherwise provided by this section, in 
accordance with the methods used on the federal income tax return on 
which the report under this chapter is based. This subsection does not 
affect the type or category of cost of goods sold that may be subtracted 
under this section. 

(11) Restaurants and bars. Entities engaged in activities de-
scribed in Major Group 58 (Eating and Drinking Places) of the Stan-
dard Industrial Classification Manual may deduct for cost of goods sold 

only those expenses allowed under subsections (d), (e) and (f) of this 
section, that relate to the acquisition and production of food and bev-
erages. Any costs related to both the production of food and beverages 
and to other activities must be allocated to production on a reasonable 
basis. 

(d) Direct costs. The cost of goods sold includes all direct 
costs of acquiring or producing the goods. Direct costs include: 

(1) Labor costs. A taxable entity may include in its cost 
of goods sold calculation labor costs, other than service costs, that are 
properly allocable to the acquisition or production of goods and are of 
the type subject to capitalization or allocation under Treasury Regu-
lation Sections 1.263A-1(e) or 1.460-5 as direct labor costs, indirect 
labor costs, employee benefit expenses, or pension and other related 
costs, without regard to whether the taxable entity is required to or ac-
tually capitalizes such costs for federal income tax purposes. 

(A) For purposes of this section, labor costs include 
W-2 wages, IRS Form 1099 payments for labor, temporary labor 
expenses, payroll taxes, pension contributions, and employee benefits 
expenses, including, but not limited to, health insurance and per 
diem reimbursements for travel expenses, to the extent deductible for 
federal tax purposes. 

(B) Labor costs under this paragraph shall not include 
any type of costs includable in subsection (f) or excluded in subsection 
(g) of this section. Costs for labor that do not meet the requirements 
set forth in this paragraph may still be subtracted as a cost of goods 
sold if the cost is allowed under another provision of this section. For 
example, service costs may be included in a taxable entity's cost of 
goods sold calculation to the extent provided by subsection (f) of this 
section. 

(2) Incorporated materials. A taxable entity may include 
in its cost of goods sold calculation the cost of materials that are an 
integral part of specific property produced. 

(3) Consumable materials. A taxable entity may include in 
its cost of goods sold calculation the cost of materials that are consumed 
in the ordinary course of performing production activities. 

(4) Handling costs. A taxable entity may include in its cost 
of goods sold calculation handling costs, including costs attributable to 
processing, assembling, repackaging, and inbound transportation. 

(5) Storage costs. A taxable entity may include in its cost 
of goods sold calculation storage costs, including the costs of carrying, 
storing, or warehousing property, subject to subsection (g) of this sec-
tion, concerning excluded costs. 

(6) Depreciation, depletion, and amortization. A taxable 
entity may include in its cost of goods sold calculation depreciation, 
depletion, and amortization reported on the federal income tax return 
on which the report under this chapter is based, to the extent associated 
with and necessary for the production of goods, including recovery 
described by Internal Revenue Code, §197, and property described in 
Internal Revenue Code, §179. 

(7) Rentals and leases. A taxable entity may include in its 
cost of goods sold calculation the cost of renting or leasing equipment, 
facilities, or real property directly used for the production of the goods, 
including pollution control equipment and intangible drilling and dry 
hole costs. 

(8) Repair and maintenance. A taxable entity may include 
in its cost of goods sold calculation the cost of repairing and maintain-
ing equipment, facilities, or real property directly used for the produc-
tion of the goods, including pollution control devices. 
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(9) Research and development. A taxable entity may in-
clude in its cost of goods sold calculation the costs attributable to re-
search, experimental, engineering, and design activities directly related 
to the production of the goods, including all research or experimental 
expenditures described by Internal Revenue Code, §174. 

(10) Mineral production. A taxable entity may include in 
its cost of goods sold calculation geological and geophysical costs in-
curred to identify and locate property that has the potential to produce 
minerals. 

(11) Taxes. A taxable entity may include in its cost of 
goods sold calculation taxes paid in relation to acquiring or produc-
ing any material, including property taxes paid on buildings and equip-
ment, and taxes paid in relation to services that are a direct cost of 
production. 

(12) Electricity. A taxable entity may include in its cost 
of goods sold calculation the cost of producing or acquiring electricity 
sold. 

(13) A taxable entity may include in its cost of goods sold 
calculation a contribution to a partnership in which the taxable entity 
owns an interest that is used to fund activities, the costs of which would 
otherwise be treated as cost of goods sold of the partnership, but only 
to the extent that those costs are related to goods distributed to the 
contributing taxable entity as goods-in-kind in the ordinary course of 
production activities rather than being sold by the partnership. 

(e) Additional costs. In addition to the amounts includable un-
der subsection (d) of this section, the cost of goods sold includes the 
following costs in relation to the taxable entity's goods: 

(1) deterioration of the goods; 

(2) obsolescence of the goods; 

(3) spoilage and abandonment, including the costs of re-
work, reclamation, and scrap; 

(4) if the property is held for future production, preproduc-
tion direct costs allocable to the property, including storage and han-
dling costs, as provided by subsection (d)(4) and (5) of this section; 

(5) postproduction direct costs allocable to the property, in-
cluding storage and handling costs, as provided by subsection (d)(4) 
and (5) of this section; 

(6) the cost of insurance on a plant or a facility, machinery, 
equipment, or materials directly used in the production of the goods; 

(7) the cost of insurance on the produced goods; 

(8) the cost of utilities, including electricity, gas, and water, 
directly used in the production of the goods; 

(9) the costs of quality control, including replacement of 
defective components pursuant to standard warranty policies, inspec-
tion directly allocable to the production of the goods, and repairs and 
maintenance of goods; and 

(10) licensing or franchise costs, including fees incurred 
in securing the contractual right to use a trademark, corporate plan, 
manufacturing procedure, special recipe, or other similar right directly 
associated with the goods produced. 

(f) Indirect or administrative overhead costs. A taxable entity 
may subtract as a cost of goods sold service costs, as defined in sub-
section (b)(9) of this section, that it can demonstrate are reasonably 
allocable to the acquisition or production of goods. The amount sub-
tracted may not exceed 4.0% of total indirect and administrative over-
head costs. 

(1) Any costs already subtracted under subsections (d) or 
(e) of this section may not be subtracted under this subsection. 

(2) Any costs excluded under subsection (g) of this section 
may not be subtracted under this subsection. 

(g) Costs not included. The cost of goods sold does not include 
the following costs in relation to the taxable entity's goods: 

(1) the cost of renting or leasing equipment, facilities, or 
real property that is not used for the production of the goods; 

(2) selling costs, including employee expenses related to 
sales; 

(3) distribution costs, including outbound transportation 
costs; 

(4) advertising costs; 

(5) idle facility expenses; 

(6) rehandling costs; 

(7) bidding costs, which are the costs incurred in the solic-
itation of contracts ultimately awarded to the taxable entity; 

(8) unsuccessful bidding costs, which are the costs incurred 
in the solicitation of contracts not awarded to the taxable entity; 

(9) interest, including interest on debt incurred or contin-
ued during the production period to finance the production of the goods; 

(10) income taxes, including local, state, federal, and for-
eign income taxes, and franchise taxes that are assessed on the taxable 
entity based on income; 

(11) strike expenses, including costs associated with hiring 
employees to replace striking personnel, but not including the wages of 
the replacement personnel, costs of security, and legal fees associated 
with settling strikes; 

(12) officers' compensation; 

(13) costs of operation of a facility that is: 

(A) located on property owned or leased by the federal 
government; and 

(B) managed or operated primarily to house members 
of the armed forces of the United States; 

(14) any compensation paid to an undocumented worker 
used for the production of goods, provided that, as used in this para-
graph only, the following terms shall have the following meanings:[; 
and] 

(A) "undocumented worker" means a person who is not 
lawfully entitled to be present and employed in the United States; and 

(B) "goods" includes the husbandry of animals, the 
growing and harvesting of crops, and the severance of timber from 
realty; and 

(15) costs funded by a partnership contribution, to the ex-
tent that the contributing taxable entity made the cost of goods sold 
deduction under subsection (d)(13) of this section. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 5, 2016. 
TRD-201602192 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

Don Neal 
Chief Deputy General Counsel 
Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387 

TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE 

PART 15. TEXAS VETERANS 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 460. FUND FOR VETERANS' 
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
The Texas Veterans Commission (Commission) proposes 
amendments to Chapter 460, Subchapter A, §460.10, con-
cerning Limitations on Grant Funds; Subchapter B, §460.21, 
concerning Monitoring Activities; and Subchapter C, §460.31, 
concerning Noncompliance. 

PURPOSE AND BACKGROUND 

The proposed amendments are made following a comprehen-
sive review of the chapter under Government Code §2001.039, 
which requires each state agency to periodically review and con-
sider for readoption each of its rules. The Commission has de-
termined that the need for these rules continues to exist but that 
they should be amended to update or clarify where needed. 

The proposed rule amendments update obsolete references 
to provide current citations to the Code of Federal Regulations 
which provide a government-wide framework for grants man-
agement. Previous federal regulations found in OMB Circulars 
are now superseded by recent modifications to the Uniform 
Grant Guidance in the Code of Federal Regulations. 

The Executive Office of the President, Office of Management and 
Budget (OMB) is streamlining the federal government's guidance 
on Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Re-
quirements for Federal Awards. The OMB has consolidated the 
guidance previously contained in multiple OMB Circulars, includ-
ing A-87 (Cost Principles for State and Local, and Indian Tribal 
Governments) and A-122 (Cost Principles for Nonprofit Orga-
nizations), into a streamlined format that aims to improve both 
clarity and accessibility. The final guidance is now located in 
Title 2, Part 200 of the Code of Federal Regulations (2 C.F.R. 
200, Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and 
Audit Requirements for Federal Awards). This new guidance be-
came effective December 26, 2014. 

EXPLANATION OF SECTIONS 

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS REGARDING THE 
FUND FOR VETERANS' ASSISTANCE GRANT PROGRAM 

§460.10. Limitations on Grant Funds. 

Section 460.10(10) deletes obsolete references to OMB Circu-
lars A-87 and A-122 and replaces them with the updated refer-
ence to Title 2, Part 200 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

SUBCHAPTER B. MONITORING ACTIVITIES 

§460.21. Monitoring Activities. 

Section 460.21(c) deletes obsolete references to OMB Circulars 
A-87 and A-122 and replaces them with the updated reference 
to Title 2, Part 200 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

SUBCHAPTER C. CORRECTIVE ACTION 

§460.31. Noncompliance. 

Section 460.31(a)(4) deletes obsolete references to OMB Circu-
lars A-87 and A-122 and replaces them with the updated refer-
ence to Title 2, Part 200 of the Code of Federal Regulations. 

IMPACT STATEMENTS 

Michelle Nall, Chief Financial Officer, Texas Veterans Commis-
sion, has determined that for each year of the first five years the 
rules will be in effect, the following statements will apply: 

There will be no increase in expenditures or revenue for state 
government and no fiscal impact for local government as a result 
of the proposed amended rules. 

There are no anticipated economic costs to persons required to 
comply with the proposed amended rules. 

An Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Anal-
ysis is not required because the proposed amended rules will 
not have an economic effect on small businesses as defined in 
Texas Government Code §2006.001(2). 

Tim Shatto, Operations Manager/Interim Director, Veterans 
Employment Services, Texas Veterans Commission, has de-
termined that there is no significant negative impact upon 
employment conditions in the state as a result of the proposed 
amended rules. 

Charles Catoe, Director, Fund for Veterans' Assistance, Texas 
Veterans Commission, has determined that for each year of the 
first five years the rules are in effect, the public benefit anticipated 
as a result of enforcing or administering the amended rules will 
be the rules will contain the appropriate references to the reg-
ulations applicable to the Fund for Veterans' Assistance Grant 
Program, which are now consolidated and easier to apply and 
administer. 

COMMENTS 

Comments on the proposed amended rules may be submitted to 
Texas Veterans Commission, Attention: General Counsel, P.O. 
Box 12277, Austin, Texas 78711; faxed to (512) 463-3288; or 
emailed to rulemaking@tvc.texas.gov. For comments submit-
ted electronically, please include "Proposed Rules" in the sub-
ject line. The Commission must receive comments postmarked 
no later than 30 days from the date this proposal is published in 
the Texas Register. 

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
REGARDING THE FUND FOR VETERANS' 
ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
40 TAC §460.10 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amended rule is proposed under Texas Government Code 
§434.010, which provides the Texas Veterans Commission with 
the authority to establish rules that it considers necessary for the 
effective administration of the agency; and Texas Government 
Code §434.017, which authorizes the Commission to establish 
rules governing the award of grants by the Commission. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

The amendments implement the Uniform Administrative Re-
quirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for 
Federal Awards, 2 C.F.R. Part 200. 

§460.10. Limitations on Grant Funds. 

Grant funds cannot be used for the following: 

(1) - (9) (No change.) 

(10) any cost that is not allowable under the Grant Agree-
ment, the Fund for Veterans' Assistance Fiscal Guidelines, State of 
Texas Uniform Grant Management Standards (UGMS), or 2 C.F.R. 
200 - Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Au-
dit Requirements for Federal Awards [OMB Circular A-87 (Cost Prin-
ciples for State and Local, and Indian Tribal Governments) or under 
OMB Circular A-122 (Cost Principles for Nonprofit Organizations)]. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602259 
Charles Catoe 
Director, Fund for Veterans' Assistance 
Texas Veterans Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2916 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-6535 

SUBCHAPTER B. MONITORING ACTIVITIES 
40 TAC §460.21 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amended rule is proposed under Texas Government Code 
§434.010, which provides the Texas Veterans Commission with 
the authority to establish rules that it considers necessary for the 
effective administration of the agency; and Texas Government 
Code §434.017, which authorizes the Commission to establish 
rules governing the award of grants by the Commission. 

The amendments implement the Uniform Administrative Re-
quirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for 
Federal Awards, 2 C.F.R. Part 200. 

§460.21. Monitoring Activities. 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) Monitoring activities shall assess a Grantee's compliance 
with the Grant Agreement, the Fund for Veterans' Assistance Fiscal 
Guidelines, the State of Texas Uniform Grant Management Standards 
(UGMS), and 2 C.F.R. 200 - Uniform Administrative Requirements, 
Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards [OMB 
Circular A-87 (Cost Principles for State and Local, and Indian Tribal 
Governments) or OMB Circular A-122 (Cost Principles for Nonprofit 
Organizations)]. 

(d) - (e) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602260 

Charles Catoe 
Director, Fund for Veterans' Assistance 
Texas Veterans Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2916 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-6535 

SUBCHAPTER C. CORRECTIVE ACTION 
40 TAC §460.31 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amended rule is proposed under Texas Government Code 
§434.010, which provides the Texas Veterans Commission with 
the authority to establish rules that it considers necessary for the 
effective administration of the agency; and Texas Government 
Code §434.017, which authorizes the Commission to establish 
rules governing the award of grants by the Commission. 

The amendments implement the Uniform Administrative Re-
quirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for 
Federal Awards, 2 C.F.R. Part 200. 

§460.31. Noncompliance. 
(a) The Agency may assess corrective action for failure to en-

sure, at any time during the grant period, compliance with the follow-
ing: 

(1) - (3) (No change.) 

(4) the Grant Agreement, the Fund for Veterans' Assistance 
Fiscal Guidelines, the State of Texas Uniform Grant Management Stan-
dards (UGMS), and 2 C.F.R. 200 - Uniform Administrative Require-
ments, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards 
[OMB Circular A-87 (Cost Principles for State and Local, and Indian 
Tribal Governments) or OMB Circular A-122 (Cost Principles for Non-
profit Organizations)]. 

(b) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602261 
Charles Catoe 
Director, Fund for Veterans' Assistance 
Texas Veterans Commission 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2916 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-6535 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

PART 19. DEPARTMENT OF FAMILY 
AND PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

CHAPTER 700. CHILD PROTECTIVE 
SERVICES 
SUBCHAPTER D. SCHOOL INVESTIGATIONS 
40 TAC §§700.401 - 700.412 
The Health and Human Services Commission proposes, on 
behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS), amendments to §§700.401 - 700.412, concerning 
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school investigations, in Chapter 700, Child Protective Services 
(CPS). The primary purpose of the revisions is to comply with 
legislative changes from the most recent legislative session. 
Senate Bill (SB) 206, enacted during the 84th Regular Ses-
sion of the Texas Legislature, amended Texas Family Code 
§261.406(b) regarding entities that must be notified when DFPS 
completes an investigation of alleged abuse or neglect of a child 
by school personnel or volunteers in a school setting. Prior law 
mandated that upon completion of a school investigation, DFPS 
send a copy of the investigation report to the Texas Education 
Agency (TEA), the State Board for Educator Certification, the 
local school board or the school's governing body, the superin-
tendent of the school district, and the school principal or director 
(unless the principal or director is alleged to have committed the 
abuse and neglect), to allow those officials to take appropriate 
action. The statute was amended to limit DFPS's duty to only 
providing notification of the completed report to TEA. The 
rationale for the change was that the notice requirement was 
unnecessarily burdensome for CPS caseworkers and that other 
provisions in the Family Code already contained more appro-
priate reporting provisions to ensure proper steps are taken to 
notify any entity within the school hierarchy as necessary to 
protect a child from potential harm. The entities other than TEA 
may still receive copies of the completed report upon request. 

In addition, minor edits were made to update and "clean-up" the 
current rules. 

The amendment to §700.401: (1) clarifies that CPS inves-
tigates abuse and neglect in a school setting as defined in 
§700.402(a)(2) of this title (relating to What do the terms used 
in this subchapter mean when Child Protective Services in-
vestigates reports of child abuse and neglect in a school?); 
(2) updates the rule to a question and answer format; and 
(3) updates the name of the department to the Department of 
Family and Protective Services. 

The amendment to §700.402: (1) clarifies which terms and def-
initions only apply to school investigations and which terms and 
definitions apply to school investigations as well as investiga-
tions that are not conducted in a school setting; (2) deletes terms 
and definitions that are already defined in Subchapter E of this 
chapter (relating to Intake, Investigation, and Assessment In-
vestigations); (3) updates the definition of school personnel and 
volunteers to persons who have access to children in a school 
setting and are providing services to or caring for children; (4) 
clarifies that a school setting for purposes of a Child Protec-
tive Services school investigation does not include school set-
tings involving only children in facilities of the Texas Department 
of Aging and Disability Services and the Texas Department of 
State Health Services when the facility contracts with the local 
school district to provide educational services and does not in-
clude school settings that are a part of childcare operations reg-
ulated by the Child Care Licensing division of the Texas Depart-
ment of Family and Protective Services (DFPS); (5) updates the 
definition of a reporter as the person who makes a report of child 
abuse or neglect to DFPS or a law enforcement agency; (6) adds 
the definition for alleged victim; (7) updates the rule to a question 
and answer format; and (8) reorganizes the structure of the rule. 

The amendment to §700.403: (1) deletes the definition of "rea-
sonable physical discipline" as it is already defined in Subchap-
ter E of this chapter; (2) rewrites subsection (b) to clarify that 
any action that school personnel or volunteers take to avoid im-
minent harm to the child or others should not involve acts of un-
necessary force or inappropriate use of restraints or seclusion; 

(3) adds a new subsection (c) to clarify that notwithstanding sub-
section (b), which concerns acts that are not considered abuse 
and neglect in a school setting, allegations that otherwise meet 
the definition of abuse or neglect will be investigated by the de-
partment; (4) updates the rule to a question and answer format; 
and (5) updates a citation in subsection (a). 

The amendment to §700.404: (1) updates the rule to a question 
and answer format; (2) updates a citation in subsection (a)(1); 
and (3) updates the name of the department to the Department 
of Family and Protective Services in subsection (a)(6). 

The amendment to §700.405: (1) updates the rule to a question 
and answer format; and (2) clarifies that Child Protective Ser-
vices is not the only division in the Department of Family and 
Protective Services that provides notice to law enforcement of a 
report of child abuse or neglect occurring in a school setting. 

The amendment to §700.406: (1) updates the rule to a ques-
tion and answer format; (2) clarifies that in addition to a CPS 
supervisor, an Investigation Screener may also review intake re-
ports and approve or change the initial priority and action rec-
ommended for the report; and (3) changes Child Protective Ser-
vices (CPS) to the Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS) to clarify that CPS is not the only division of DFPS that 
assigns priorities for investigations. 

The amendment to §700.407 updates the rule to a question and 
answer format. 

The amendment to §700.408: (1) updates the rule to a question 
and answer format; (2) clarifies that investigative action and su-
pervisor approval of an investigation must be completed within 
30 calendar days and 10 calendar days respectively; (3) adds 
a citation from rule §700.507 of this title (relating to Response 
to Allegations of Abuse or Neglect.) in subsection (d) to clarify 
when an investigation may be closed administratively; and (4) 
updates an incorrect citation in subsection (d). 

The amendment to §700.409: (1) clarifies that interviews and 
examinations conducted in a school investigation must follow all 
applicable standards; (2) clarifies that appropriate school per-
sonnel must be notified when the investigator interviews and ex-
amines a child on school premises; (3) updates the rule to a 
question and answer format; and (4) updates the name of the 
department to the Department of Family and Protective Services 
in subsection (a). 

The amendment to §700.410 are non-substantive and include 
updating the rule to a question and answer format. 

The amendment to §700.411: (1) updates the rule to clarify that 
DFPS is only mandated to send a copy of the completed report 
of the investigation to the Texas Education Agency (TEA) and 
that DFPS will send a copy of the report to State Board for Ed-
ucation Certification, the president of the local school board or 
local governing body for the school, the superintendent of the 
school district, and the school principal only upon request; (2) 
adds new subsection (b) to notify the entities other than TEA 
that they can find information on obtaining a redacted copy of 
the report from the DFPS public website; (3) new subsection (c) 
clarifies that when the overall investigation disposition is "rea-
son-to-believe" in an investigation in a school under the jurisdic-
tion of TEA, the report of the investigation must include informa-
tion about the designated perpetrator's right to challenge the dis-
position through the Office of Consumer Affairs review process, 
in addition to an administrative review of the investigation find-
ings; (4) new subsection (d) clarifies that after the completion 
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of an investigation of a school that is not under the jurisdiction 
of TEA, DFPS does not release the results of the investigation 
to persons having control over the designated perpetrator's ac-
cess to children, but instead follows the provisions in Subchap-
ter F of this chapter (relating to Release Hearings) prior to re-
leasing the results of the investigation; (5) changes Child Pro-
tective Services (CPS) to Department of Family and Protective 
Services (DFPS) throughout the rule to clarify that CPS is not the 
only agency in DFPS that provides notification to school officials 
when a school investigation is closed; (6) updates the depart-
ment's name to the Department of Family and Protective Ser-
vices in subsection (e); and (7) updates the rule to a question 
and answer format. 

The amendment to §700.412: (1) updates the rule to a question 
and answer format; (2) updates a citation within the rule; and 
(3) changes Child Protective Services to Department of Family 
and Protective Services (DFPS) to clarify that other divisions in 
DFPS are involved in notifying school and non-school entities 
when a school investigation is closed. 

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that 
for the first five-year period the proposed amendments will be in 
effect there will be no fiscal implications for state or local govern-
ment as a result of enforcing or administering the sections. 

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the amendments are in effect the public benefit an-
ticipated as a result of enforcing the amendments will be that 
the public will have a better understanding of what constitutes 
abuse and neglect in a school setting and how DFPS investi-
gates abuse and neglect in a school setting. In addition, the 
amendment to §700.411, which requires DFPS to send a copy 
of the completed investigation report in a school investigation to 
TEA only, rather than several other entities with the knowledge 
that the other entities already communicate with each other and 
still have the option of requesting the report, will allow casework-
ers to spend more time on other pertinent issues. There will be 
no effect on large, small, or micro-businesses because the pro-
posed changes do not impose new requirements on any busi-
ness and do not require the purchase of any new equipment or 
any increased staff time in order to comply. There is no antici-
pated economic cost to persons who are required to comply with 
the proposed amendments. 

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed amendments do 
not restrict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that 
would otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, 
therefore, do not constitute a taking under §2007.043, Govern-
ment Code. 

Questions about the content of the proposal may be directed to 
Sophia Karimjee at (512) 438-4358 in DFPS's Legal Division. 
Electronic comments may be submitted to Sophia Karim-
jee@dfps.state.tx.us. Written comments on the proposal may 
be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Services-540, 
Department of Family and Protective Services E-611, P.O. Box 
149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, within 30 days of publica-
tion in the Texas Register. 

The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 

§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment to §700.409 implements Texas Family Code 
§261.303. The amendment to §700.411 implements revised 
Texas Family Code §261.406(b). 

§700.401. What is the purpose of Subchapter D of this chapter? 
[Purpose of Investigation in School Setting.] 

The purpose of this subchapter is to define abuse and neglect of chil-
dren by school personnel or volunteers in a school setting as defined by 
§700.402(a)(2) of this title (relating to What do the terms used in this 
subchapter mean when Child Protective Services investigates reports of 
child abuse and neglect in a school?); [public or private schools] and 
to describe procedures for its report, investigation, and review by the 
Child Protective Services division of the Texas Department of Family 
and Protective [and Regulatory] Services pursuant to [Chapter 261,] 
Texas Family Code, Chapter 261; and to describe related procedures. 

§700.402. What do the terms used in this subchapter mean when 
Child Protective Services investigates reports of child abuse and ne-
glect in a school? [Definitions.] 

(a) The following terms and definitions apply only to school 
investigations: 

(1) School personnel and volunteers--Persons who have 
access to children in a school setting and are providing services to or 
caring for the children. School personnel include but are not limited to 
school employees, contractors, school volunteers, school bus drivers, 
school cafeteria staff, and school custodians. 

(2) School setting--The physical location of a child's school 
or of an event sponsored or approved by the child's school, or any other 
location where the child is in the care, custody, or control of school 
personnel in their official capacity, including transportation services. 
This    

(A) school settings involving only children in facilities 
of the Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services, and the 
Texas Department of State Health Services when the facility contracts 
with the local school district to provide education services; or 

(B) school settings that are a part of childcare opera-
tions regulated by the Child Care Licensing division of the Texas De-
partment of Family and Protective Services (DFPS). 

(b) The following terms and definitions apply to all Child Pro-
tective Services (CPS) investigations: [The terms used in this subchap-
ter shall have the meanings assigned to those terms in Texas Family 
Code, Chapter 261, and in Subchapter E of this chapter, unless the con-
text clearly indicates otherwise or the term is otherwise defined below:] 

(1) Alleged perpetrator--A person who is alleged or sus-
pected of being responsible for the abuse or neglect of a child. 

(2) Alleged victim--A child who is alleged to be the victim 
of abuse or neglect. 

(3) [(2)] Child--A person under 18 years of age who is not 
and has not been married or who has not had the disabilities of minority 
removed for general purposes. 

[(3) CPS--Child Protective Services, a program within the 
Texas Department of Family and Protective Services.] 

does not include:
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[(4) Designated perpetrator--A person who has been deter-
mined by a preponderance of evidence to have been responsible for 
abuse or neglect of a child in a school setting.] 

[(5) Designated victim--A child who has been determined, 
based on a preponderance of the evidence, to have been abused or ne-
glected in a school setting.] 

(4) [(6)] Preponderance of evidence--Evidence which is of 
greater weight or more convincing than the evidence which is offered 
in opposition to it; that is, evidence which as a whole shows that the 
fact sought to be proved is more probable than not. 

[(7) Reason-to-believe--A finding that an allegation of 
abuse or neglect against school personnel or volunteers in a school 
setting is supported by a preponderance of the evidence.] 

(5) [(8)] Reporter--An individual who makes a[, on his own 
initiative, makes an unsolicited] report to DFPS [the Texas Department 
of Family and Protective Services (DFPS)] or to a duly constituted law 
enforcement agency[,] alleging the abuse or neglect of a child. If more 
than one individual makes a [an unsolicited] report alleging abuse or 
neglect of the same child, all such individuals shall have the designation 
of reporter. 

[(9) Ruled-out--A finding by a preponderance of the evi-
dence that an allegation of abuse or neglect did not occur or was not 
committed by the alleged perpetrator.] 

[(10) School personnel and volunteers--Persons school 
employees, contractors, school volunteers, school bus drivers, school 
cafeteria staff, and school custodians.] 

[(11) School setting--The physical location of a child's 
school, or of an event sponsored or approved by the child's school, or 
any other location where the child is in the care, custody, or control 
of school personnel in their official capacity, including transportation 
services, and excluding school settings involving only children in 
facilities of the Texas Department of Mental Health and Mental 
Retardation (MHMR) when the facility contracts with the local school 
district to provide educational services, and excluding school settings 
involving only children in facilities regulated by the Texas Department 
of Family and Protective Services.] 

[(12) Unable to complete--A finding that CPS was not able 
to draw a conclusion regarding an investigation of an allegation of 
abuse or neglect against school personnel or volunteers in a school set-
ting because the alleged victim:] 

[(A) could not be located to begin the investigation, or 
moved and could not be located to finish the investigation; or] 

[(B) was unwilling to cooperate with the investigation.] 

[(13) Unable to determine--A finding that an allegation of 
abuse or neglect can neither be supported nor ruled-out by a prepon-
derance of the available evidence.] 

(c) Terms used in this subchapter that are not defined in this 
subchapter shall have the meanings assigned to those terms in Texas 
Family Code, Chapter 261, and in Subchapter E of this chapter (relat-
ing to Intake, Investigation, and Assessment Investigations), unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise. 

§700.403. How does the Texas Department of Family and Protective 
Services define child abuse and neglect for purposes of a school inves-
tigation? [Definition of Child Abuse and Neglect in School Investiga-
tions.] 

(a) For purposes of an investigation in a school setting, the 
terms abuse and neglect shall have the meaning assigned to those terms 

in the Texas Family Code[,] §261.001(1) and (4), as those terms are fur-
ther defined in Subchapter E of this chapter (relating to Intake, Investi-
gation, and Assessment Investigations) [§700.501 of this title (relating 
to Terminology Used in Statutory Definitions of Child Abuse and Ne-
glect and Person Responsible for a Child's Care, Custody, or Welfare)], 
unless the definition is clearly inapplicable to reports of abuse or ne-
glect in school settings or as otherwise provided in this section. 

(b) Abuse and neglect in this context do not include the fol-
lowing: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) actions that school personnel or volunteers at the child's 
school reasonably believe to be immediately necessary to avoid immi-
nent harm to the child [self] or other individuals, if the actions: 

(A) are limited only to those actions reasonably be-
lieved to be necessary under the existing circumstances; and[. The 
actions] 

(B) do not include acts of unnecessary force or the in-
appropriate use of restraints or seclusion, such as use of restraints or 
seclusion as a substitute for lack of staff; [or] 

(3) reasonable [physical] discipline. [Reasonable physical 
discipline is appropriate to the child's age and development and the rea-
son for which the discipline is being administered and is without phys-
ical injuries that result in substantial harm or without genuine threat of 
substantial harm from physical injury to the child.] 

(c) Notwithstanding subsection (b) of this section, if there are 
allegations in the report that otherwise meet the definition of "abuse" 
or "neglect" by school personnel in a school setting, those allegations 
will be investigated in accordance with this subchapter. 

§700.404. When does the Texas Department of Family and Protec-
tive Services investigate a report of alleged abuse or neglect occurring 
in a school setting? [Criteria for Accepting Reports and Conducting 
School Investigations.] 

(a) A report of alleged abuse or neglect occurring in a school 
setting will be assigned for investigation by Child Protective Services 
(CPS) if the following criteria are met: 

(1) the allegations must meet the definitions of abuse or 
neglect contained in §700.403 of this title (relating to How does the 
Texas Department of Family and Protective Services define child abuse 
and neglect for purposes of a school investigation? [Definition of Child 
Abuse or Neglect in School Investigations]); 

(2) - (5) (No change.) 

(6) the same allegations involving the school setting must 
not have already been investigated by the Texas Department of Family 
and Protective [and Regulatory] Services. 

(b) A report of alleged abuse and neglect which does not meet 
the criteria for investigation specified in this section shall be referred 
to an appropriate law enforcement entity or other investigating agency 
in accordance with Texas Family Code[,] §261.105. 

(c) (No change.) 

§700.405. Who must the Texas Department of Family and Protective 
Services notify when the agency receives a report of child abuse or 
neglect in a school setting? [Notification to Law Enforcement Agencies 
of Reports of Abuse or Neglect in School Investigations.] 

The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) 
[Child Protective Services (CPS)] must provide notification of all 
school-related reports of child abuse or neglect to the law enforcement 
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entity with jurisdiction for criminal investigations in the geographical 
area where the alleged incident occurred, within the time frames 
set out in §700.506(1) of this title (relating to Notification of Law 
Enforcement Agencies). 

§700.406. What priorities and time frames for initiating school in-
vestigations apply? [Priorities and Time Frames for Initiating School 
Investigations.] 
The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services [Child Pro-
tective Services (CPS)] shall assign a priority to all reports accepted 
for investigation, and shall initiate an investigation within the corre-
sponding time frame, as specified in §700.505 of this title (relating to 
Priorities for Investigation and Assessment). Prior to initiating an in-
vestigation, a Child Protective Services [CPS] supervisor or an Inves-
tigation Screener must review the intake report and either approve or 
change the initial priority and the action recommended for the report. 

§700.407. Which school personnel must be notified prior to initiating 
a school investigation? [Notification to School Principal of Impending 
School Investigation.] 
Prior to conducting an investigation under this subchapter, Child Pro-
tective Services (CPS) must notify the school principal (or the princi-
pal's supervisor if the school principal is an alleged perpetrator) of the 
fact that a report has been assigned for investigation, the nature of the 
allegations contained in the report, and the date and time when the in-
vestigator plans to visit the school campus to begin the investigation. 
The CPS investigator must request that the school principal (or the prin-
cipal's supervisor) not alert the alleged perpetrator or others regarding 
the report until the investigator has had an opportunity to interview the 
alleged perpetrator. 

§700.408. How does Child Protective Services conduct a school in-
vestigation? [Conducting the School Investigation.] 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) The CPS investigator must complete the investigation, 
reach a disposition as to each allegation made in the report, and submit 
the investigation report and findings to a supervisor for approval within 
30 calendar days after initiating the investigation, unless an extension 
of time is approved by the worker's supervisor due to extenuating 
circumstances. The CPS supervisor must approve the investigation or 
return it to the investigator for further action, within 10 calendar [ten] 
days of receiving the investigative report. If the tenth day falls on a 
weekend or state holiday, the supervisor has until the next working 
day to complete the required review. 

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, an in-
vestigation may be closed administratively as provided by §700.507 of 
this title (relating to Response to Allegations of Abuse or Neglect) or 
at any point during the investigation[,] if it becomes apparent after ini-
tiating the investigation that the allegations made in the report do not, 
in fact, meet one or more of the criteria for investigation specified in 
§700.404 of this title (relating to When does the Texas Department of 
Family and Protective Services investigate a report of alleged abuse or 
neglect occurring in a school setting?) [Criteria for Accepting Reports 
and Conducting School Investigations)]. If a case is closed administra-
tively, all allegations in the case are given the disposition of "adminis-
trative closure." 

§700.409. What procedures apply when Child Protective Services 
conducts an interview or examination during a school investigation? 
[Conducting Interviews or Examinations.] 

(a) School officials or other persons related to the school 
setting may not interfere with an investigation of a report of child 
abuse or neglect conducted by the Texas Department of Family and 
Protective [and Regulatory] Services, pursuant to Texas Family Code 

§261.303, Interference with Investigation[:] Court Order. Interviews 
and examinations in a school investigation may take place on or off 
the school premises, as deemed appropriate by the Child Protective 
Services (CPS) investigator, pursuant to all applicable standards. The 
CPS [provided the] investigator must notify appropriate school person-
nel [notifies the school principal (or that individual's supervisor in the 
event that the principal is the alleged perpetrator)] prior to conducting 
an interview or examination on school premises. CPS may request 
that school personnel or volunteers not be present during the interview 
or examination of an alleged victim, an alleged perpetrator, an adult or 
child witness, or any other person who may have information relevant 
to the investigation if the investigator determines that: 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(b) (No change.) 

§700.410. How does Child Protective Services make dispositions and 
assign roles in a case after completing the investigation? [Dispositions 
in School Investigations.] 

(a) [Dispositions.] At the conclusion of the investigation, 
Child Protective Services (CPS) must assign an individual disposition 
to each allegation of abuse or neglect, as well as an overall disposition 
to the investigation. 

(b) [Assignment of allegation dispositions.] CPS uses the fol-
lowing allegation dispositions for investigations in school settings: 

(1) - (5) (No change.) 

(c) [Overall disposition.] The overall investigation disposition 
is the summary finding about the abuse or neglect that was investigated. 
The overall disposition is determined in the following manner: 

(1) - (5) (No change.) 

(d) [Overall role.] The overall role for the alleged perpetrator 
and alleged victim at the end of an investigation in the school setting 
is the summary finding about the person's involvement in the abuse or 
neglect that was investigated. An individual's overall role is determined 
as follows: 

(1) - (5) (No change.) 

§700.411. How does the Texas Department of Family and Protective 
Services provide notice to school officials when a school investigation 
is closed? [Notification to School Officials of Findings in a School 
Investigation.] 

(a) After the Texas Department of Family and Protective [and 
Regulatory] Services (DFPS) has closed an investigation in a [public or 
private] school under the jurisdiction of the Texas Education Agency 
(TEA), DFPS [Child Protective Services (CPS)] is statutorily required 
to provide a report of the investigation, redacted to remove the iden-
tity of the reporter, to TEA (Director of Education Investigations). On 
request, DFPS shall provide a redacted copy of the report to the fol-
lowing: 

[(1) TEA (Division of Continuing Education, Services to 
Children, Youth and Families Unit);] 

(1) [(2)] State Board for Educator Certification; 

(2) [(3)] president of the local school board or local gov-
erning body for the school; [and] 

(3) the superintendent of the school district; and 

(4) (No change.) 

(b) The four entities listed above can find information on ob-
taining a redacted copy of the report on the DFPS public website at 
https://www.dfps.state.tx.us/policies/caserecord.asp. 
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(c) [(b)] If the overall investigation disposition is "reason-to-
believe[,]" in an investigation in a school under the jurisdiction of TEA, 
the report must include information about the designated perpetrator's 
right to challenge the disposition through an administrative review of 
the investigation findings (ARIF), and through the Office of Consumer 
Affairs (OCA) review process if the finding is upheld at the ARIF. The 
report must also state that DFPS [CPS] will notify TEA and any of 
the above entities that originally requested a copy of the report of the 
investigation in the event that the dispositions are changed as a result 
of an ARIF or other challenge. 

(d) [(c)] After the completion of an investigation of a school 
not under the jurisdiction of TEA, DFPS [When the overall disposition 
in an investigation is "reason-to-believe" and the school is a private 
school not under the jurisdiction of TEA, CPS] does not [automatically] 
release the results of the investigation to the entities listed in subsec-
tion (a) of this section. DFPS follows[, but must follow] the provisions 
in Subchapter F of Chapter 700 of this title (relating to Release Hear-
ings) prior to releasing the results of the investigation to persons having 
control over the designated perpetrator's access to children. [When the 
overall disposition in an investigation is other than "reason-to-believe," 
CPS may release the findings to the appropriate school officials when 
the investigation is complete.] 

(e) [(d)] Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, 
notice need not be provided to a school official if a report of abuse 
or neglect is closed administratively prior to notification to any school 
official that a report was received by DFPS [the Texas Department of 
Protective and Regulatory Services]. 

§700.412. How does the Texas Department of Family and Protective 
Services provide notice to non-school officials when a school investi-
gation is closed? [Notification of Findings to Non-School Officials in 
a School Investigation.] 
In addition to the notification of findings required under §700.411 of 
this title (relating to How does the Texas Department of Family and 
Protective Services provide notice to school officials when a school in-
vestigation is closed?), the Texas Department of Family and Protective 
Services [Notification to School Officials of Findings in a School Inves-
tigation, Child Protective Services (CPS))] must comply with the no-
tification requirements contained in Texas Family Code, Chapter 261, 
and in §700.513 of this title (relating to Notification about Results). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602244 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4358 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER Q. PURCHASED PROTECTIVE 
SERVICES 
DIVISION 1. RESIDENTIAL CHILD-CARE 
CONTRACTS 
40 TAC §700.1701 

The Health and Human Services Commission proposes, on 
behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS), new §700.1701, in Chapter 700, concerning Child 
Protective Services. The new section is proposed in Subchapter 
Q, Purchased Protective Services, in a new Division 1, Resi-
dential Child-Care Contracts. All current rules in Subchapter Q 
are moved to a new Division 2, Post Adoption Services. The 
purpose of the new section is to comply with the mandates 
of Senate Bill 830 from the 84th Texas Legislature, Regular 
Session 2015, which amended Chapter 531 of the Texas 
Government Code by adding Subchapter Y and also amended 
§40.0041 of the Human Resources Code by adding Subsections 
(g) and (h) concerning the Ombudsman For Children and Youth 
in Foster Care. 

Pursuant to the bill, the Health and Human Services Commis-
sion was tasked with appointing an ombudsman for children and 
youth in the conservatorship of DFPS to serve as a neutral party 
in assisting the children and youth with complaints regarding 
issues concerning any Health and Human Services (HHSC) 
agency, including DFPS. 

The summary of the changes is as follows: 

New §700.1701: (1) specifies in subsection (a) that residential 
child-care facilities that care for children in the conservatorship of 
DFPS must prominently display a sign produced by DFPS or the 
Ombudsman For Children and Youth in Foster Care related to 
the existence and contact information for the ombudsman office; 
and (2) specifies in subsection (b) that the residential child care 
facilities must implement procedures to allow children and youth 
in the conservatorship of DFPS to make complaints in private or 
in a space that is separate from facility staff, volunteers, or the 
foster family. 

The Department discussed the rule proposal and collaborated 
with HHSC's Office of the Ombudsman prior to drafting the rules. 
Additional stakeholder input will be obtained during the public 
comment period for the rules. 

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that 
for the first five-year period the proposed new section will be in 
effect there will be no fiscal implications for state or local govern-
ment as a result of enforcing or administering the section. 

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the new section is in effect the public benefit anticipated 
as a result of enforcing the new section will be that children and 
youth in foster care will have an avenue to make complaints re-
garding any issues or concerns they have while in foster care 
to an entity that is independent of DFPS in order to ensure that 
their rights are protected. There should be no adverse effect 
on large, small, or micro-businesses as a result of the proposed 
rule change other than an extremely nominal cost to residential 
child-care facilities who care for children in the conservatorship 
of DFPS to print or copy signs that will be developed by DFPS 
and the Ombudsman For Children and Youth in Foster Care 
for posting in the facilities, as required by new rule §700.1701. 
There is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are re-
quired to comply with the proposed new section. 

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed new section does 
not restrict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that 
would otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, 
therefore, do not constitute a taking under §2007.043, Govern-
ment Code. 
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Questions about the content of the proposal may be directed to 
Jose A. Martinez at (512) 929-6739 in DFPS's Office of Con-
sumer Affairs Division. Electronic comments may be submit-
ted to Jose.Martinez@dfps.state.tx.us. Written comments on the 
proposal may be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Ser-
vices-550, Department of Family and Protective Services E-611, 
P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, within 30 days of 
publication in the Texas Register. 

The new section is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The new section implements Texas Human Resources Code 
§40.0041. 

§700.1701. What are the posting requirements for residential child-
care facilities who care for children in the conservatorship of the De-
partment of Family and Protective Services related to the Ombudsman 
For Children and Youth in Foster Care? 

(a) Residential child-care facilities who care for children in the 
conservatorship of the Department of Family and Protective Services 
must prominently display a sign produced by DFPS or the Ombudsman 
For Children and Youth in Foster Care related to the existence and con-
tact information for the Ombudsman For Children and Youth in Foster 
Care. 

(b) The residential child care facilities must implement proce-
dures to allow children and youth to make complaints in private or in a 
space that is separate from facility staff, volunteers, or the foster fam-
ily. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602249 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4358 

CHAPTER 702. GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 
The Health and Human Services Commission proposes, on 
behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS), amendments to §§702.801, 702.811, 702.813, 702.841, 
702.843, 702.845, 702.847, and 702.849; repeal of §§702.815, 
702.817, 702.819, 702.821, 702.823, and 702.825; and new 
§§702.815, 702.817, 702.819, 702.821, 702.823, 702.825, 
702.827, and 702.829, in Chapter 702, concerning General 
Administration. The purpose of the amendments, repeals, and 
new sections is to comply with the mandates of Senate Bill 
830 from the 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session 2015, 
which amended Chapter 531 of the Texas Government Code 

by adding Subchapter Y and also amended Section 40.0041 of 
the Human Resources Code by adding Subsections (g) and (h) 
concerning the Ombudsman For Children and Youth in Foster 
Care. 

Pursuant to the bill, the Health and Human Services Commission 
(HHSC) was tasked with appointing an ombudsman for children 
and youth in the conservatorship of DFPS to serve as a neutral 
party in assisting the children and youth with complaints regard-
ing issues concerning any HHSC agency, including DFPS. Pur-
suant to the bill, the following new rules are being proposed: 

(1) New rule §702.815 which clarifies that a current foster child 
or youth may file complaints with the Ombudsman For Children 
and Youth in Foster Care and explains the types of issues for 
which the foster children or youth may file a complaint and seek 
assistance from the office. 

(2) New rule §702.817 which explains how DFPS will assist the 
Ombudsman for Children and Youth in Foster Care in reviewing 
and investigating complaints. 

In addition to the above changes, the purpose of the amend-
ments and repeals to Subchapter I of this chapter is also to up-
date the rules where they are no longer accurate, as the rules 
were last updated in 2002. The updates seek to conform the 
rules to the Office of Consumer Affairs' (OCA's) current practice 
and policy concerning its process for receiving and reviewing 
complaints regarding case-specific activities of the DFPS pro-
gram areas as well as reviewing substantiated findings of child 
abuse or neglect. 

The summary of the changes is as follows: 

The amendment to §702.801: (1) clarifies that OCA only reviews 
designated perpetrator findings for child abuse and neglect alle-
gations; and (2) updates the name of the department and OCA. 

The amendment to §702.811 updates the names of the depart-
ment and OCA as well as the link to the DFPS public website. 

The amendment to §702.813 clarifies that the following individ-
uals may file complaints with OCA, in addition to the individuals 
already listed in the rule: (1) consumers, service recipients, and 
persons or entities regulated by DFPS who have a concern or 
complaint regarding a specific case; (2) individuals from the pub-
lic who have a concern or complaint regarding a specific case, 
including but not limited to extend family, friends of the family, 
or foster parents; (3) other state agencies when the complaint 
is regarding a specific case; (4) government officials, including 
judges; and (5) former foster children or youth, including youth 
that are 18 years of age or older and are in extended foster care. 
The rule also updates the names of the department and OCA. 

Section 702.815 is being repealed and incorporated into new 
§702.819. 

New §702.815 explains (1) that children and youth under 18 
years of age that are currently in the conservatorship of DFPS 
may file complaints with HHSC's Ombudsman For Children and 
Youth in Foster Care regarding any issues that are within the 
authority of any agency under HHSC, including DFPS, and fur-
ther provides the various methods of contacting the office to file 
a complaint; (2) that current foster youth and children may also 
contact the office to seek assistance in reporting allegations of 
abuse or neglect to DFPS. 

Section 702.817 is being repealed and incorporated into new 
§702.821. 

41 TexReg 3636 May 20, 2016 Texas Register 

mailto:Jose.Martinez@dfps.state.tx.us


New §702.817 explains that DFPS will assist the Ombudsman 
For Children and 

Youth in Foster Care in reviewing and investigating complaints 
filed by current foster children and youth by: (1) collaborating 
with the office to develop and implement an annual outreach 
plan to promote awareness of the office among the youth and 
children; (2) providing the office with access to DFPS records 
relating to complaints, cooperating with the office in responding 
to questions that the office may have regarding complaints, and 
providing information requested by the office in order to assist in 
resolving complaints; and (3) cooperating with the office to cre-
ate consequences, based on the circumstances of the complaint 
and the severity of the retaliation, for any person who is found to 
have retaliated against a child or youth in the conservatorship of 
DFPS because of a complaint made to the office. 

Section 702.819 is being repealed and incorporated into new 
§702.823. 

New §702.819 incorporates the contents of repealed §702.815 
except for the following changes: (1) clarifies that the Review 
of Perpetrator Designation is only available for substantiated 
child abuse and neglect findings; (2) clarifies that the complaint 
process is not available for complaints related to civil rights 
issues and DFPS personnel issues, or when OCA determines 
that a review of the complaint would interfere with an ongoing 
litigation, investigation, or prosecution; (3) updates the title of 
the rule; and (4) updates the names of the department and OCA. 

Section 702.821 is being repealed and incorporated into new 
§702.825. 

New §702.821 incorporates the contents of repealed §702.817 
except for the following changes: (1) updates OCA's toll-free 
number, fax number, email, and link to the DFPS public web-
site for purposes of contacting OCA to file a complaint; and (2) 
updates the names of the department and OCA. 

Section 702.823 is being repealed and incorporated into new 
§702.827. 

New §702.823 incorporates the contents of repealed §702.819 
except that the names of the department and OCA have been 
updated. 

New §702.825 incorporates the contents of repealed §702.821 
except for the following changes: (1) updates the rule to clarify 
that the Office of Consumer Affairs provides the complainant in-
formation by mail or telephone regarding the procedure for inves-
tigating and resolving a complaint; and (2) updates the names of 
the department and OCA. 

Section 702.827 is being repealed and incorporated into new 
§702.823. 

New §702.827 incorporates the contents of repealed §702.823 
except for the following changes: (1) clarifies that OCA reviews 
complaints to determine whether applicable rule and statute 
were violated in addition to DFPS's policies and procedures; 
(2) clarifies that OCA adheres to confidentiality requirements 
specified in state and federal law in addition to the Texas Open 
Records Act; (3) deletes the part of subsection (a) that states 
that OCA does not investigate issues in ongoing or forthcoming 
litigation or when the complaint relates to a law enforcement 
investigation or criminal prosecution if OCA determines it would 
interfere with the litigation and investigation as it has been 
incorporated into new rule §702.819; (4) clarifies that OCA 
provides status information on a quarterly basis to all persons 

or entities who file a complaint regarding a specific case, if there 
is a pending complaint, unless the information would jeopardize 
an undercover investigation; (5) updates the rule to reflect that 
electronic and paper copies of OCA case files will be purged 
every two years after the complaint is closed; and (6) updates 
the names of the department and OCA. 

New §702.829 incorporates the contents of repealed §702.825 
except for the following changes: (1) clarifies that reports regard-
ing the number, type, and resolution of complaints made against 
DFPS must be sent to the State Office Program Administrators, 
and not the executive director; (2) updates the rule to note that 
OCA also provides monthly reports to the HHSC's Office of the 
Ombudsman that is included in the written report to HHSC's ex-
ecutive director; and (3) updates the names of department and 
OCA. 

The amendment to §702.841: (1) reflects that a Review of Per-
petrator Designation is only available for substantiated findings 
of child abuse or neglect; (2) clarifies that a review is not avail-
able if the request for review is to challenge orders or findings 
made by the court in which the suit affecting the parent-child 
relationship has been filed, if there is pending litigation against 
DFPS that relates to the designation, or if the requestor does 
not otherwise qualify for a review regardless of if the requestor 
qualified for an Administrative Review of Investigation Findings 
(ARIF); and (3) updates the names of the department and OCA. 

The amendment to §702.843: (1) updates OCA's toll-free num-
ber, fax number, email, and link to the DFPS public website for 
purposes of contacting OCA to request a Review of Perpetrator 
Designation; (2) clarifies that a designated perpetrator of child 
abuse or neglect has 45 days from the date of the ARIF to re-
quest a review; and (3) updates the names of the department 
and OCA. 

The amendment to §702.845 updates the name of OCA and 
deletes the timeframe for acknowledgement of a request for a 
Review of Perpetrator Designation. 

The amendment to §702.847 clarifies that a Review of Perpetra-
tor Designation is conducted as a desk review and updates the 
names of the department and OCA. 

The amendment to §702.849 reflects the current procedure OCA 
follows once a Review of Perpetrator Designation is complete, 
including clarifying that: (1) if OCA does not concur with the 
ARIF, the ARIF documents and OCA review material are for-
warded to the CPS assistant commissioner or designee for con-
sideration; (2) if OCA and the program assistant commissioner or 
designee do not agree on the disposition, the case is forwarded 
to the DFPS general counsel who reviews the case and makes 
the final decision as the DFPS commissioner's designee. It also 
updates the names of the department and OCA. 

The Department discussed the rule proposals and collaborated 
with HHSC's Office of the Ombudsman prior to drafting the rules. 
Additional stakeholder input will be obtained during the public 
comment period for the rules. 

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that 
for the first five-year period the proposed amendments, repeals, 
and new sections will be in effect, there will not be any significant 
costs or revenues to state or local government as a result of 
enforcing or administering these sections. 

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the amendments, repeals, and new sections are in effect, 
the public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing these rule 
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changes will be that children and youth in foster care will have 
an avenue to make complaints regarding any issues or concerns 
they have while in foster care to an entity that is independent of 
DFPS in order to ensure that their rights are protected. There 
is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to 
comply with the proposed amendments, repeals and new sec-
tions. 

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed amendments, re-
peals, and new sections do not restrict or limit an owner's right 
to his or her property that would otherwise exist in the absence 
of government action and, therefore, do not constitute a taking 
under §2007.043, Government Code. 

Questions about the content of the proposal may be directed to 
Jose A. Martinez at (512) 929-6739 in DFPS's Office of Con-
sumer Affairs Division. Electronic comments may be submit-
ted to Jose.Martinez@dfps.state.tx.us. Written comments on the 
proposal may be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Ser-
vices-550, Department of Family and Protective Services E-611, 
P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, within 30 days of 
publication in the Texas Register. 

SUBCHAPTER I. OFFICE OF CONSUMER 
AFFAIRS SERVICES 
DIVISION 1. OFFICE OF CONSUMER 
AFFAIRS 
40 TAC §702.801 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment generally implements Human Resources Code 
§40.0041. 

§702.801. What is the Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Of-
fice]? 

(a) The Office of Consumer Affairs of the Texas Department 
of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) [Ombudsman Office PRS] 
is a neutral party that reviews complaints regarding case-specific activ-
ities of the DFPS [PRS] program areas to determine if DFPS's [PRS's] 
policies and procedures were followed. The complaint process is de-
scribed in Division 2 of this subchapter (relating to Office of Consumer 
Affairs [Ombudsman Office] Complaint Process). 

(b) The Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] also 
conducts reviews of case-specific findings that designate an individual 
as a [an alleged] perpetrator of abuse or[,] neglect[, or exploitation]. 
The review process is described in Division 3 of this subchapter (re-
lating to Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] Review of 
[Alleged] Perpetrator Designation). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 

TRD-201602250 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 929-6739 

DIVISION 2. OFFICE OF CONSUMER 
AFFAIRS COMPLAINT PROCESS 
40 TAC §§702.811, 702.813, 702.815, 702.817, 702.819, 
702.821, 702.823, 702.825, 702.827, 702.829 
The amendments and new sections are proposed under Hu-
man Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code 
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services 
Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation and 
provision of services by the health and human services agencies, 
including the Department of Family and Protective Services; and 
HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective 
Services Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments and new sections implement Texas Govern-
ment Code §§531.992; 531.993; 531.995 and Texas Human Re-
sources Code §40.0041. 

§702.811. How can a member of the public find out about the com-
plaint process? 
The Texas Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) 
[PRS] publicizes the availability of the complaint process and the 
mailing address and telephone number to which complaints should be 
sent through: 

(1) signs displayed in DFPS [PRS] offices; 

(2) DFPS [Ombudsman Office] brochures; 

(3) the DFPS [PRS] public web site at 
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us[. The address is http://www.td-
prs.state.tx.us]; and 

(4) other methods determined by DFPS [PRS]. 

§702.813. Who may file complaints? 
The Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] complaint 
process is available to: 

(1) consumers, service recipients, and persons or entities 
regulated by the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) 
who have a concern or complaint regarding a specific case [PRS]; 

(2) individuals from the public who have a concern or com-
plaint regarding a specific case, including but not limited to extended 
family, friends of the family, or foster parents; 

(3) [(2)] other state agencies when the complaint is regard-
ing a specific case; 

(4) [(3)] government officials, including judges and state 
and federal legislative and executive offices; [and] 

(5) [(4)] DFPS [PRS] employees, if the complaint alleges 
a violation of DFPS [PRS] policy in a case-specific situation; and[.] 

(6) former foster children or youth, including youth that 
are 18 years of age or older and are in extended foster care. A child 
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or youth who is currently in the conservatorship of DFPS, may still 
file a complaint through the process described in §702.815 of this title 
(relating to May current foster children and youth file complaints?). 

§702.815. May current foster children and youth file complaints? 
(a) Yes. If a child or youth who is under 18 years of age and 

currently in the conservatorship of the Department of Family and Pro-
tective Services (DFPS) seeks to file a complaint, the child or youth 
should be directed to the Health and Human Services Commission's 
Ombudsman For Children and Youth in Foster Care. To file the com-
plaint, the current foster child or youth may contact the Ombudsman 
for Children and Youth in Foster Care through the following methods: 

(1) Toll-free phone: 1-844-286-0769; 

(2) Toll-free fax: 1-888-780-8099; 

(3) Mail: Texas Health and Human Services Commission, 
Foster Care Ombudsman, MC H-700, P.O. Box 13247, Austin, Texas 
78711-3247; or 

(4) Email: fco@hhsc.state.tx.us 

(b) A current foster child or youth may file a complaint regard-
ing any issues that are within the authority of DFPS or another health 
and human services agency. This includes individual complaints that 
allege violations of agency procedures or policies or other violations. 

(c) A current foster child or youth may also contact the Om-
budsman For Children and Youth in Foster Care to seek assistance in 
reporting allegations of abuse or neglect to DFPS. 

§702.817. How will the Department of Family and Protective Ser-
vices (DFPS) assist the Health and Human Services Commission's Om-
budsman For Children and Youth in Foster Care office in reviewing and 
investigating complaints filed by current foster children or youth? 

(a) DFPS will collaborate with the Ombudsman For Children 
and Youth in Foster Care to develop and implement an annual outreach 
plan to promote awareness of the office among children and youth in 
the conservatorship of DFPS. 

(b) DFPS will provide the Ombudsman For Children and 
Youth in Foster Care with access to DFPS records relating to the 
complaint, cooperate with the office in responding to questions that 
the Ombudsman may have regarding the complaint, and provide 
information requested by the office in order to assist in resolving 
complaints. 

(c) DFPS will cooperate with the Ombudsman for Children 
and Youth in Foster Care to create consequences, based on the cir-
cumstances of the complaint and the severity of the retaliation, for any 
person who is found to have retaliated against a child or youth in the 
conservatorship of DFPS because of a complaint made to the Ombuds-
man. 

§702.819. When does the Office of Consumer Affairs not accept com-
plaints for review? 
The complaint process is not available: 

(1) to individuals who have been designated as perpetrators 
of abuse or neglect. Those individuals must use procedures specified 
in Division 3 of this subchapter (relating to Office of Consumer Affairs 
Review of Perpetrator Designation), unless the complaint relates to is-
sues other than the case disposition; 

(2) for complaints the Office of Consumer Affairs has 
reviewed multiple times and has made all reasonable efforts within 
agency policy and procedures to resolve; 

(3) for complaints related to civil rights issues; 

(4) for complaints regarding or from Department of Family 
and Protective Services staff relating to personnel issues; or 

(5) if the Office of Consumer Affairs discovers that the sub-
ject of a complaint is an issue in ongoing or forthcoming litigation 
against DFPS, except for ongoing Child Protective Services conser-
vatorship cases, or is the subject of a law enforcement investigation or 
criminal prosecution, and the Office of Consumer Affairs determines 
that the review would interfere with the litigation, investigation, or 
prosecution. 

§702.821. How does a complainant file a complaint? 

A complainant may contact the Office of Consumer Affairs for di-
rect case-specific complaints concerning the Department of Family and 
Protective Services (DFPS) using one of the following methods: 

(1) sending a correspondence via mail to the Office of Con-
sumer Affairs, Texas Department of Family and Protective Services, 
Mail Code Y-946, P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030; 

(2) calling the toll-free number: 1-800-720-7777; 

(3) sending a facsimile to the Office of Consumer Affairs 
at (512) 339-5892; 

(4) using the DFPS public web site at 
http://www.dfps.state.tx.us; or 

(5) sending an email to oca@dfps.state.tx.us. 

§702.823. Must a complainant go through another agency complaint 
process before contacting the Office of Consumer Affairs? 

No. Although the Department of Family and Protective Services en-
courages complaint resolution at the local level, a complainant may file 
a complaint with the Office of Consumer Affairs at any time, without 
going through another agency process for complaint resolution. 

§702.825. How does a complainant know if the Office of Consumer 
Affairs received the complaint? 

(a) The Office of Consumer Affairs acknowledges receipt of 
each complaint, informs the complainant whether the complaint meets 
the criteria for an Office of Consumer Affairs complaint, and provides 
the complainant information by mail or telephone regarding the proce-
dures for investigating and resolving a complaint. 

(b) A complaint may be accepted initially and later refused if 
subsequent investigation or developments determine that the complaint 
is no longer appropriate for the Office of Consumer Affairs. 

§702.827. How does the complaint process work? 

(a) The Office of Consumer Affairs reviews complaints to de-
termine whether applicable rule, statute, or the policies and procedures 
of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) were fol-
lowed. 

(b) The Office of Consumer Affairs provides status informa-
tion at least quarterly to the complainant, if there is a pending com-
plaint, unless the information would jeopardize an undercover investi-
gation. 

(c) The Office of Consumer Affairs notifies the complainant of 
the findings made by the Office of Consumer Affairs, within the limits 
of confidentiality required by the Texas Open Records Act and state 
and federal law. 

(d) If the Office of Consumer Affairs determines that applica-
ble rule, statute, or DFPS's policies and procedures were not followed, 
the Office of Consumer Affairs notifies appropriate agency staff so ap-
propriate corrective measures can be taken. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

(e) The Office of Consumer Affairs keeps a file for each com-
plaint. The electronic file and paper copies of the records will be purged 
every two years after the complaint is closed. 

§702.829. What are the reporting requirements of the Office of Con-
sumer Affairs? 

The Office of Consumer Affairs prepares and delivers a report annu-
ally to the Commissioner for the Department of Family and Protective 
Services (DFPS) and State Office Program Administrators regarding 
the number, type, and resolution of complaints made against DFPS. 
The Office of Consumer Affairs also provides a monthly report to the 
Health and Human Services Commission's Office of the Ombudsman 
that is included in the written report to the Health and Human Services 
Commission's executive director. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602251 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 929-6739 

♦   ♦ ♦
DIVISION 2. OMBUDSMAN COMPLAINT 
PROCESS 
40 TAC §§702.815, 702.817, 702.819, 702.821, 702.823, 
702.825 
The repeals are proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC) 
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that 
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall 
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the 
health and human services agencies, including the Department 
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study 
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and 
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department. 

The repeals generally implement Human Resources Code 
§40.0041. 

§702.815. Who may not file complaints with the Ombudsman Office? 

§702.817. How does a complainant file a complaint? 

§702.819. Must a complainant go through another agency complaint 
process before contacting the Ombudsman Office? 

§702.821. How does a complainant know if the Ombudsman Office 
received the complaint? 

§702.823. How does the complaint process work? 

§702.825. What are the reporting requirements of the Ombudsman 
Office? 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602252 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 929-6739 

DIVISION 3. OFFICE OF CONSUMER 
AFFAIRS REVIEW OF PERPETRATOR 
DESIGNATION 
40 TAC §§702.841, 702.843, 702.845, 702.847, 702.849 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment generally implements Human Resources Code 
§40.0041. 

§702.841. Who can request an Office of Consumer Affairs 
[Ombudsman Office] Review of [alleged] perpetrator designation? 

(a) Anyone who has been determined to be a perpetrator of 
abuse or[,] neglect[, or exploitation] as a result of an investigation con-
ducted by the Child Protective Services (CPS) Program of the Depart-
ment of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) [PRS] can request an 
Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] Review. The in-
dividual must use the Administrative Review of Investigative Find-
ings (ARIF) process offered by the Child Protective Services Program 
before the individual is eligible for the Office of Consumer Affairs 
[Ombudsman Office] Review. 

(b) An Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] Re-
view is not available in the following situations: 

(1) if DFPS [PRS] determines that a court of competent 
jurisdiction has issued an order that is legally consistent with the DFPS 
[PRS] finding on the allegation of abuse[,] or neglect[, or exploitation] 
for which the Review was requested;[.] 

(2) if the complaint is to challenge any other orders or find-
ings made by the court in which the suit affecting the parent-child re-
lationship has been filed, including removal orders; 

(3) if there is pending litigation against DFPS related to the 
designation; or 

(4) if the requester does not qualify for an Office of Con-
sumer Affairs Review even if the requester qualified for the ARIF. 

§702.843. Are there timeframes for requesting the Office of Con-
sumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] Review? 

(a) Yes. Except for good cause determined by the Office of 
Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] director, an individual must 
request an Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] Review in 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

writing within 45 calendar [30] days after the date the Administrative 
Review of Investigative Findings (ARIF) notification letter was sent. 

(b) An individual may request the Office of Consumer Affairs 
Review using one of the following methods: 

(1) mailing the [The Review] request [must be sent] to the 
Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office], Texas Department of 
Family and Protective [and Regulatory] Services, Mail Code Y-946, 
P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030;[. The Review request 
may also be sent] 

(2) sending a [by] facsimile to the Office of Consumer Af-
fairs [Ombudsman Office] at (512) 339-5892; [512-834-3782, or by 
contacting the Ombudsman Office] 

(3) using the Department of Family and Protective Services 
[PRS] public web site at http://www.dfps.state.tx.us; or[. The address 
is: http://www.tdprs.state.tx.us.] 

(4) sending an email to oca@dfps.state.tx.us. 

§702.845. How does a requester know if the Office of Consumer Af-
fairs [Ombudsman Office] received the request? 
The Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] acknowledges 
receipt of the request in writing [within 30 days from the date the re-
quest is received]. 

§702.847. How does the Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman 
Office] Review work? 

[(a)] The Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] re-
views: 

(1) the program case record; 

(2) the Administrative Review of Investigation Findings 
documents; and 

(3) additional information that was available during the 
original investigation and either was considered or should have been 
considered by staff performing the investigation. Only in extraordi-
nary circumstances, at the discretion of the Office of Consumer Affairs 
[Ombudsman Office] director, will new information be considered in 
the Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] Review. 

[(b) The Ombudsman Office determines whether an interview 
with the requester is needed to facilitate the Review process.] 

§702.849. What happens when the Office of Consumer Affairs 
[Ombudsman Office] completes the Review? 
After completing the Review, the Office of Consumer Affairs 
[Ombudsman Office] prepares written findings and recommendations. 

(1) If the Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] 
findings sustain the Administrative Review of Investigation Findings 
(ARIF), the Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] director 
or designee notifies the requester of the final disposition of the case. 

(2) If the Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] 
does not concur with the ARIF, the ARIF documents and Office of Con-
sumer Affairs [Ombudsman Office] Review materials are forwarded to 
the program assistant commissioner [deputy director] or [his] designee 
for consideration. [The Ombudsman Office director and staff meet with 
the program deputy director or the director's designee to examine the 
evidence to reach concurrence on the case finding.] 

(A) If concurrence is reached, the Office of Consumer 
Affairs [Ombudsman Office] forwards a notification letter to the re-
quester advising the requester of the findings. 

(B) If the Office of Consumer Affairs [Ombudsman Of-
fice] and the CPS assistant commissioner or designee [program deputy 

director] do not agree, the case is forwarded to Department of Fam-
ily and Protective Services' [PRS's] general counsel, who reviews the 
case and makes the final decision as the DFPS commissioner's designee 
[recommendations to PRS's executive director for final disposition]. 
The Office of Consumer Affairs [executive director or the director's 
designee] then notifies the requester of the final case disposition. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602256 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 929-6739 

CHAPTER 705. ADULT PROTECTIVE 
SERVICES 
The Health and Human Services Commission proposes, on 
behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS), amendments to §§705.1001, 705.2105, 705.2107, 
705.3102, 705.4103, 705.4105, 705.4107, 705.6101, 705.7103, 
and 705.7105; new §705.2103; and the repeal of §705.2103 
in Chapter 705, concerning Adult Protective Services. The 
purpose of the amendments, new rules and repeal is to imple-
ment Senate Bills 760 and 1880 (84th Legislature), the APS 
Scope and Jurisdiction Bills, which expanded the APS Provider 
(formally Facility) program's jurisdiction to investigate abuse, 
neglect, and exploitation. These bills ensured continued State 
of Texas compliance with the Center for Medicaid and Medicare 
Services (CMS) requirements for the health and welfare of recip-
ients of home and community-based services (HCBS). The bills 
(1) expanded the authority of Adult Protective Services (APS) 
to investigate, inter alia, all home and community-based service 
providers whether providing services in a traditional or managed 
care service delivery model, (2) clarified and addressed the 
gaps and inconsistencies that resulted from evolving service 
delivery changes and changes in contracting arrangements, 
and (3) updated statutory language and requirements related to 
provider and agency responsibilities. 

The proposed rules implement APS's expanded jurisdiction and 
modify existing DFPS rules, as applicable, to the expanded ju-
risdiction. These rules will take effect on September 1, 2016. 
The updates in Chapters 705 will implement statutory changes 
as required by the APS Scope and Jurisdiction Bills. 

A summary of the changes are as follows: 

The amendment to §705.1001 updates and adds definitions for 
emergency protective services, home and community support 
services agencies (HCSSA) agency, paid caretaker, protective 
services, and purchased client services, and removes definitions 
of terms not used in this subchapter. 

Section 705.2103 is repealed and proposed new to update who 
is eligible for purchased client services and when purchased 
client services are available. 
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The amendment to §705.2105 and §705.2107 updates terms 
and establishes who is eligible for purchased client services and 
when purchased client services are available. 

The amendment to §705.3102 clarifies when APS can apply for 
a protective order. 

The amendment to §705.4103 clarifies the circumstances in 
which a designated perpetrator has the right to appeal a vali-
dated finding. 

The amendment to §705.4105 clarifies to whom APS may re-
lease the findings of an investigation when the findings of the 
investigation are valid. 

The amendment to §705.4107 updates language. 

The amendment to §705.6101 clarifies when APS uses assess-
ments in an in-home case and when a case worker must consult 
with a supervisor. 

The amendment to §705.7103 deletes outdated language. 

The amendment to §705.7105 updates terms to align with APS 
Scope and Jurisdiction bills. In particular the APS Provider pro-
gram's expanded authority to investigate providers; make minor 
edits. 

APS coordinated and held stakeholder meetings July 16, 2015, 
August 4, 2015, October 15, 2015, January 8, 2016, and Febru-
ary 8, 2016. These meetings discussed stakeholder concerns, 
recommendations, and rule proposals. Stakeholder feedback 
was incorporated into rule development. 

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that 
for the first five-year period the proposed sections will be in effect 
there will be fiscal implications for state or local government as 
a result of enforcing or administering the sections. 

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first 
five years the sections are in effect the public benefit anticipated 
as a result of enforcing the sections will be that the expanded 
authority of DFPS to investigate abuse, neglect, and exploitation 
of individuals receiving services from certain providers. Due 
to needed additional staffing and technology, the estimated 
impact on state government and appropriated funding levels 
is $1,603,723 for Fiscal Year (FY) 2016, $1,712,345 FY 2017, 
$1,712,345 FY 2018, $1,712,345 FY 2019, and $1,712,345 FY 
2020. The impact on federal government will be $333,585 FY 
2016, $370,716 FY 2017, $370,716 FY 2018, $370,716 FY 
2019, and $370,716 FY2020. Upon implementation, actual ex-
perience has yielded higher caseloads than originally assumed 
resulting in additional costs to the state. The fiscal impact of 
these additional costs cannot be estimated at this time. There 
will be no effect on large, small, or micro-businesses because 
the proposed change does not impose new requirements on 
any business and does not require the purchase of any new 
equipment or any increased staff time in order to comply. There 
is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to 
comply with the proposed sections. 

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed sections do not re-
strict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that would 
otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, there-
fore, do not constitute a taking under §2007.043, Government 
Code. 

Questions about the content of the proposal may be di-
rected to Lauren Villa at (512) 438-3803 in DFPS's Legal 
Division. Electronic comments may be submitted to Lau-

ren.Villa@dfps.state.tx.us. Written comments on the proposal 
may be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Ser-
vices-552, Department of Family and Protective Services E-611, 
P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, within 30 days of 
publication in the Texas Register. 

SUBCHAPTER A. DEFINITIONS 
40 TAC §705.1001 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC Chapter 48, as amended 
by S.B. 1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 -
48.258 and Family Code §261.404. 

§705.1001. How are the terms in this chapter defined? 
The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

(1) - (4) (No change.) 

(5) Alleged victim/perpetrator--An adult with a disability 
or aged 65 or older who has been reported to APS [adult protective 
services] to be in a state of or at risk of self-neglect. 

(6) - (14) (No change). 

(15) Emergency Protective Services-- Services provided to 
an alleged victim subject to an investigation conducted under Subchap-
ter F, Chapter 48, Human Resources Code, to alleviate danger of seri-
ous harm or death. 

(16) [(15)] Emotional harm--A highly unpleasant mental 
reaction with observable signs of distress, such as anguish, grief, fright, 
humiliation, or fury. 

(17) Home and community support services agency (HC-
SSA)-- An agency licensed under Chapter 142, Health and Safety 
Code. 

(18) [(16)] Intimidation--Behavior by actions or words cre-
ating fear of physical injury, death, or abandonment. 

(19) [(17)] Ongoing relationship--A personal relationship 
that includes: 

(A) frequent and regular interaction; 

(B) a reasonable assumption that the interaction will 
continue; and 

(C) an establishment of trust, beyond a commercial or 
contractual agreement. 

(20) [(18)] Paid caretaker--

(A) An employee of a home and community support 
services agency (HCSSA) providing non-Medicaid services to an al-
leged victim; [licensed under Chapter 142, Health and Safety Code, to 
provide personal care services to an alleged victim,] or 

(B) An [an] individual or family member privately 
hired and receiving monetary compensation to provide personal care 
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services, as defined in §142.001(22-a) of the Health and Safety Code, 
to an alleged victim. ["Personal care" is defined in §142.001(22-a) of 
the Health and Safety Code.] 

(21) [(19)] Person with a disability--An adult with a phys-
ical, mental, or developmental disability that substantially impairs the 
adult's ability to adequately provide for his own care or protection. 

(22) [(20)] Physical injury--Physical pain, harm, illness, or 
any impairment of physical condition. 

(23) [(21)] Protective services--The services furnished by 
DFPS or by a protective services agency to an [a] alleged or designated 
victim (including a designated victim/perpetrator) or to the alleged or 
designated victim's relative or caretaker if DFPS determines the ser-
vices are necessary to prevent the designated victim from being in or 
returning to a state of abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation. These 
services may include social casework, case management, and arranging 
for psychiatric and health evaluation, home care, day care, social ser-
vices, health care, respite services, and other services consistent with 
Human Resources Code, Chapter 48. The term does not include the 
investigation of an allegation of [services of DFPS or another protec-
tive services agency in conducting an investigation regarding an alle-
gation of] abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation. (Human Resources 
Code, §48.002) 

(24) Purchased Client Services--A type of protective 
service provided in accordance with Human Resources Code 
§48.002(a)(5), including, but not limited to, emergency shelter, medi-
cal, and psychiatric assessments, in-home care, residential care, heavy 
housecleaning, minor home repairs, money management, transporta-
tion, emergency food, medication, and other supplies. 

(22) Provider agency or entity (contractor)--An agency or 
entity that has contracted with DFPS to provide authorized protective 
services to clients. 

(25) [(23)] Reporter--A person who makes a report to 
DFPS about a situation of alleged abuse, neglect, or financial exploita-
tion of an alleged victim. 

(26) [(24)] Serious harm--In danger of sustaining signifi-
cant physical injury or death; or danger of imminent impoverishment 
or deprivation of basic needs. 

(27) [(25)] Substantially impairs--When a disability 
grossly and chronically diminishes an adult's physical or mental ability 
to live independently or provide self-care as determined through 
observation, diagnosis, evaluation, or assessment. 

(28) [(26)] Sustained perpetrator--A designated perpetra-
tor whose validated finding of abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation 
of a designated victim has been sustained by an administrative law 
judge in a due process hearing, including a release hearing or Employee 
Misconduct Registry (EMR) hearing, or the designated perpetrator has 
waived the right to a hearing. 

(29) [(27)] Unreasonable confinement--An act that results 
in a forced isolation from the people one would normally associate 
with, including friends, family, neighbors, and professionals; an in-
appropriate restriction of movement; or the use of any inappropriate 
restraint. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602263 

Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER D. ELIGIBILITY 
40 TAC §705.2103 
The repeal is proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC) 
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that 
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall 
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the 
health and human services agencies, including the Department 
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study 
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and 
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department. 

The repeal implements HRC Chapter 48, as amended by S.B. 
1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 - 48.258 
and Family Code §261.404. 

§705.2103. What are emergency client services? 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602264 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
40 TAC §§705.2103, 705.2105, 705.2107 
The new section and amendments are proposed under Human 
Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code 
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services 
Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation 
and provision of services by the health and human services 
agencies, including the Department of Family and Protective 
Services; and HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family 
and Protective Services Council shall study and make rec-
ommendations to the Executive Commissioner and the DFPS 
Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of services 
to persons who are served or regulated by the department. 

The new section and amendments implement HRC Chapter 48, 
as amended by S.B. 1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, 
§§48.251 - 48.258 and Family Code §261.404. 

§705.2103. Who is eligible for emergency protective services? 
Emergency protective services may be offered to: 

(1) An individual receiving services from a provider as de-
fined by Human Resources Code §48.251(a)(9); or 

(2) An adult who lives in a residence that is owned, 
operated, or controlled by a provider of home and community-based 
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services under the home and community-based services waiver pro-
gram described by §534.001(11)(B), Government Code, regardless 
of whether the adult is receiving services under that waiver program 
from the provider. 

§705.2105. Who is eligible for purchased [emergency] client ser-
vices? 
To be eligible for purchased [emergency] client services, an alleged 
victim must be receiving [adult] protective services in accordance with 
Human Resources Code, §48.002(a)(5) and §48.205. The alleged vic-
tim must have a service plan developed by DFPS under these sections 
indicating that [emergency] client services are needed to remedy abuse, 
neglect, or financial exploitation. 

§705.2107. When are purchased [emergency] client services avail-
able? 

(a) State and local resources must be used before purchased 
[emergency] client services are expended. 

(b) Not all purchased [emergency] client services are available 
in all geographic areas of the state. DFPS may limit the units of service 
or length of time that clients can receive purchased [emergency] client 
services, based upon service plans, availability of funds, and availabil-
ity of service providers. 

(c) If the region does not have sufficient funds to provide 
purchased [emergency] client services to all eligible clients, the client 
will not be able to receive purchased [emergency] client services at the 
time the client is determined eligible. Clients who are still in need of 
purchased [emergency] client services when services are available will 
be given priority based upon the date of the service plan indicating the 
need for purchased [emergency] client services. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602265 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803 

♦   ♦ ♦
SUBCHAPTER G. FAMILY VIOLENCE 
40 TAC §705.3102 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Services 
Council shall study and make recommendations to the Exec-
utive Commissioner and the DFPS Commissioner regarding 
rules governing the delivery of services to persons who are 
served or regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC Chapter 48, as amended 
by S.B. 1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 -
48.258 and Family Code §261.404. 

§705.3102. Can DFPS apply for protective orders? 

When APS staff validate an allegation that an alleged victim is a vic-
tim of family violence as specified in the Texas Family Code, §71.004, 
DFPS may apply for a protective order to protect the victim. Before fil-
ing the protective order, the APS caseworker contacts the victim and a 
non-abusive [nonabusive] adult member of the household, if available: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) to request assistance in developing a safety plan for the 
protection of the victim and any non-abusive [nonabusive] household 
members. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602266 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803 

SUBCHAPTER J. RELEASE HEARINGS 
40 TAC §§705.4103, 705.4105, 705.4107 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Services 
Council shall study and make recommendations to the Exec-
utive Commissioner and the DFPS Commissioner regarding 
rules governing the delivery of services to persons who are 
served or regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC Chapter 48, as amended 
by S.B. 1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 -
48.258 and Family Code §261.404. 

§705.4103. Does the designated perpetrator have the right to ap-
peal? 

(a) When APS staff validates an allegation of abuse, neglect, 
or financial exploitation against a designated perpetrator and an entity 
or employer (such as a contracting agency or senior center) allows such 
designated perpetrator [of a designated victim and an entity such as a 
provider agency, home and community support services agency (HC-
SSA), senior center, or other employer allows the designated perpetra-
tor] to have access to adults with disabilities, adults aged 65 or older, or 
children, then the APS caseworker may notify the entity of the findings 
by complying with this subchapter. If the findings are to be released to 
any [the] entity or employer, the designated perpetrator must be given 
prior written notification, except in emergencies, and an opportunity 
to request an Administrative Review of Investigative Findings and a 
hearing before the State Office of Administrative Hearings. 

(b) - (d) (No change.) 

§705.4105. How is the designated perpetrator notified of the intent 
to release? 

(a) The caseworker must give written notification to each des-
ignated perpetrator if: 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) the findings are to be released outside of DFPS to an 
entity or employer which allows the designated perpetrator access to 
adults with disabilities, adults aged 65 or older, or children; and 

(3) (No change.) 

(b) Written notification must include: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) the entity or employer to which the findings will be re-
leased; 

(3) - (8) (No change.) 

§705.4107. What is the designated perpetrator's role during an ad-
ministrative review? 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) The designated perpetrator is responsible for: 

(1) any costs incurred [he incurs] for the review, except for 
interpreter services provided by DFPS. 

(2) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602268 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803 

SUBCHAPTER L. RISK ASSESSMENT 
40 TAC §705.6101 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Services 
DFPS Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC Chapter 48, as amended 
by S.B. 1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 -
48.258 and Family Code §261.404. 

§705.6101. What assessments does APS use in an in-home case? 

(a) APS uses assessments to determine whether an elderly per-
son or individual with a disability is in [at] imminent danger [risk] of 
abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation [and needs protective services] 
or is in a state of abuse, neglect, or financial exploitation and needs 
protective services. 

(b) - (d) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602269 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803 

SUBCHAPTER M. CONFIDENTIALITY AND 
RELEASE OF RECORDS 
40 TAC §705.7103, §705.7105 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Services 
Council shall study and make recommendations to the Exec-
utive Commissioner and the DFPS Commissioner regarding 
rules governing the delivery of services to persons who are 
served or regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC Chapter 48, as amended 
by S.B. 1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 -
48.258 and Family Code §261.404. 

§705.7103. To which [Which] investigations does [do] this subchap-
ter apply [to]? 

These rules apply to investigations conducted by the Department of 
Family and Protective Services Adult Protective Services staff under 
Chapter 48 of the Human Resources Code and §261.404 of the Texas 
Family Code [(investigations of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of per-
sons under age 18 years receiving services for mental health or mental 
retardation)]. 

§705.7105. Which [What] definitions apply to this subchapter? 

The following words and terms have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 

(1) Adult Protective Services (APS) client--An elderly 
person or [disabled] person with a disability as defined in Human 
Resources Code, §48.002(1) and (8), or a person under age 18 years 
receiving services from certain providers as described [for mental 
health or mental retardation as described] in §261.404 of the Texas 
Family Code. 

(2) Case records--All records described in §48.101 or 
§48.102 of the Human Resources Code, which were collected, devel-
oped, or used in an abuse, neglect, or exploitation investigation, or in 
providing services as a result of an investigation, and which are under 
the custody and control of DFPS. [Case records include investigation 
records, as well as service records.] 

(3) - (4) (No change.) 

(5) Report--An allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploita-
tion, as described in §48.002 of the Human Resources Code, this Chap-
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ter, and [or] Chapter 711 of this title (relating to Investigations of In-
dividuals Receiving Services from Certain Providers [in TDMHMR 
Facilities and Related Programs]) made to DFPS. 

(6) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602270 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803 

CHAPTER 711. INVESTIGATIONS IN DADS 
AND DSHS FACILITIES AND RELATED 
PROGRAMS 
SUBCHAPTER O. EMPLOYEE MISCONDUCT 
REGISTRY 
The Health and Human Services Commission proposes, on 
behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS), amendment to §§711.1402, 711.1404, 711.1408, 
711.1413 - 711.1415, 711.1417, 711.1427, 711.1429, 711.1431, 
711.1432, and 711.1434; the repeal of §711.1406 and 
§711.1411; and new §711.1406 in Chapter 711, concerning 
Investigations in Department of Aging and Disability Services 
(DADS) and Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Fa-
cilities and Related Programs. The purpose of the amendments 
and repeals is to update the terminology and process require-
ments regarding the due process rights of an employee prior to 
placement on the Emergency Misconduct Registry (EMR). 

The EMR is a publicly available, searchable database main-
tained by the Department of Aging and Disability Services pur-
suant to Chapter 253 of the Texas Health and Safety Code. The 
EMR is a list of persons who are not permitted to work in cer-
tain settings because they have been found to have committed 
reportable conduct. A finding of reportable conduct is a finding 
that an employee has been found to have committed certain, 
more serious abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a person who is 
elderly or a person with a disability. 

Under authority in Chapter 48 of the Texas Human Resources 
Code, Subchapter I, DFPS is required to submit the names of 
certain employees whom Adult Protective Services (APS) has 
determined committed reportable conduct to DADS for place-
ment on the EMR. If APS determines an employee has commit-
ted reportable conduct, the employee is offered a due process 
hearing prior to placement on the EMR, and if the finding is up-
held, the employee is given an opportunity to file for judicial re-
view of the finding. 

The changes make APS' requirements consistent with governing 
Texas law, the Administrative Procedures Act, found in Chapter 
2001 of the Texas Government Code. In addition, they standard-
ize terminology so that the employee's administrative remedies 
are more clearly explained. They also make modest updates 
to reflect changes enacted in the 84th Regular Session of the 

Texas legislature that expanded APS' investigative scope and 
jurisdiction in certain settings, including some settings in which 
employees are eligible for potential placement on the EMR. Fi-
nally, the changes streamline unnecessary provisions out of the 
subchapter so that it is easier to follow. 

A summary of the changes follows: 

Amendment to §711.1402 removes definitions of terms not used 
in the subchapter and updates definitions for changes made in 
84th Regular Session, including changes in Senate Bill (SB) 
1880 and SB 760: (1) makes definition of "agency" consistent 
with law; (2) updates terminology from "facility investigation" to 
"provider investigation" and clarifies meaning; (3) adds definition 
of "individual receiving services"; and (4) renumbers and makes 
minor edits. 

Amendments to §711.1404: (1) updates section title so that it 
is comprehensive; and (2) modifies sections defining physical 
abuse, sexual abuse, emotional or verbal abuse, neglect, ex-
ploitation and financial exploitation for in-home and provider in-
vestigations by referring to the identical definitions already in 
rule. Specifically, for in-home investigations the operative terms 
are defined in 40 TAC Chapter 705, Subchapter A. For provider 
investigations the operative terms are defined in Subchapter A 
of Chapter 711. Rather than repeat the definitions in full, rules 
were modified to refer back to the definitions in other provisions 
of the rules. 

The repeal of §711.1406 modifies definitions for provider inves-
tigations as described above and combines the remaining sub-
section into §711.1404 of this chapter. 

New §711.1406 adds clarity regarding the meaning of the term 
"agency", the employees of which are potentially subject to the 
EMR. 

Amendment to §711.1408 has minor rewording for clarity and 
consistency. 

The repeal of §711.1411 deletes unnecessary provision as the 
substance of the rule is also covered in §711.1432 of this chapter. 

Amendment to §711.1413: (1) clarifies terminology regarding the 
"appeal" of a finding of reportable conduct. Terminology was 
used inconsistently to refer both to the EMR hearing as well as a 
subsequent request for judicial review; and (2) adds a provision 
to the notice of finding letter for an employee who is found to 
have committed reportable conduct, requiring the employee to 
keep DFPS informed of the employee's current employment and 
residential contact information. 

Amendment to §711.1414: (1) updates terminology; shortens 
and clarifies provision; and (2) adds requirement that the em-
ployee is responsible for providing DFPS with current telephone 
numbers in addition to the physical address the employee is al-
ready required to provide to DFPS. 

Amendment to §711.1415 updates terminology regarding EMR 
hearings for consistency. 

Amendment to §711.1417 updates terminology regarding EMR 
hearings for consistency. 

Amendment to §711.1427 adds requirement that the costs of 
transcribing testimony from an EMR hearing be paid by the em-
ployee seeking judicial review unless the employee establishes 
indigence. 

Amendment to §711.1429 updates terminology and cross-refer-
ence. 
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Amendment to §711.1431 makes timelines and requirements for 
requesting judicial review of a finding of reportable conduct con-
sistent with the Texas Administrative Procedures Act. Specifi-
cally: (1) makes the filing of a timely motion for rehearing in ac-
cordance with Subchapters F and G of Government Code Chap-
ter 2001 a prerequisite to judicial review; (2) updates the guid-
ance regarding seeking judicial review by referring to the oper-
ative law on point, Subchapters F and G of Government Code 
Chapter 2001; and (3) clarifies the time frame for reporting a find-
ing to the EMR after an order becomes final. 

Amendment to §711.1432 provides clarity regarding the exhaus-
tion of an employee's administrative remedies and DFPS' ac-
tions once those rights have been exhausted. 

Amendment to §711.1434 updates terminology. 

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that 
for the first five-year period the proposed amendments and re-
peals will be in effect there will not be costs or revenues to state 
or local government as a result of enforcing or administering the 
amendments and repeals. 

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each of the first five 
years that the amendments and repeals will be in effect, the pub-
lic benefit anticipated as a result of the rule change will be that 
employees who are potentially subject to the EMR will have a 
better understanding of the process for disputing a finding made 
against them that is eligible for the EMR. In addition, employers 
will have a greater understanding of the process that may lead 
to an employee's placement on the EMR. There is a very small 
economic cost anticipated to persons who are required to comply 
with the proposed sections. The amendment to §711.1427 con-
forms the rules to general civil practice by requiring a petitioner 
who is seeking judicial review to pay the costs of transcribing 
the hearing and preparing the record, unless the petitioner is 
indigent. However for the small number of EMR cases filed in 
district court each year (with 7 annually being a high number), 
the petitioner will bear the expense of the transcript of the hear-
ing. Given the wide variety in transcription costs based on vari-
ations in hearing length and testimony, specific costs were not 
estimated at this time. There is no anticipated adverse impact 
on small or micro businesses as a result of the proposed rule 
change because the proposed rule change should not affect the 
cost of doing business; does not impose new requirements on 
any business; and does not require the purchase of any new 
equipment or any increased staff time in order to comply. 

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed amendments and 
repeals do not restrict or limit an owner's right to his or her prop-
erty that would otherwise exist in the absence of government ac-
tion and, therefore, do not constitute a taking under §2007.043, 
Government Code. 

Questions about the content of the proposal may be directed 
to Audrey Carmical at (512) 438-3854 in DFPS's Legal Ser-
vices Division. Electronic comments may be submitted to 
Audrey.Carmical@dfps.state.tx.us. Written comments on the 
proposal may be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal 
Services-549, Department of Family and Protective Services 
E-611, P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, within 30 
days of publication in the Texas Register.. 

40 TAC §§711.1402, 711.1404, 711.1406, 711.1408, 711.1413 
- 711.1415, 711.1417, 711.1427, 711.1429, 711.1431, 
711.1432, 711.1434 

The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement Human Resources Code §§48.401 
- 48.408. 

§711.1402. How are the terms in this subchapter defined? 

The following words and terms when used in this subchapter, shall have 
the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) Agency--An entity, person, [or] facility, or provider, as 
defined in §711.1406 of this chapter; 

(3) - (6) (No change.) 

(7) Employee--A person who: 

(A) (No change.) 

(B) provides personal care services, active treatment, or 
any other [personal] services to an individual receiving agency ser-
vices, an individual who is a child for whom an investigation is autho-
rized under Family Code §261.404, or an individual receiving services 
through the consumer-directed service option, as defined by Govern-
ment Code §531.051; and 

(C) (No change.) 

(8) - (9) (No change.) 

(10) Individual Receiving Services: an individual receiv-
ing services as provided in §711.3 of this title (relating to How are 
the terms in this chapter defined?); [Facility investigation--An inves-
tigation conducted by APS under Chapter 48, Subchapters F and H, 
Human Resources Code, that involves an employee of one of the fol-
lowing agency types:] 

[(A) a home and community-based services (HCS) 
provider;] 

[(B) a community center as defined in §531.002, Health 
and Safety Code;] 

[(C) a licensed intermediate care facility for persons 
with intellectual disabilities and related conditions (ICF-IID);] 

[(D) a local authority as defined in this chapter;] 

[(E) the Rio Grande State Center;] 

[(F) a state-supported living center; or] 

[(G) a state hospital;] 

[(11) HCSSA--A home and community support services 
agency, sometimes referred to as a home health agency, licensed un-
der Chapter 142, Health and Safety Code;] 

[(12) HCS--A person or an agency exempt from licensure 
under §142.003(a)(19), Health and Safety Code, that provides home 
and community-based services to persons with intellectual disabilities 
and related conditions;] 
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[(13) ICF-IID--An intermediate care facility for individ-
uals with an intellectual disability or related condition. A licensed 
ICF-IID is a privately owned and operated facility licensed by the De-
partment of Aging and Disability Services under Chapter 252, Health 
and Safety Code. A state supported living center operated by DADS 
or DSHS is also an ICF-IID. A local authority may also operate an 
ICF-IID;] 

(11) [(14)] In-home investigation--An investigation con-
ducted by APS under Chapter 705 of this title (relating to Adult 
Protective Services); 

(12) Provider investigation--An investigation conducted 
by APS under Chapter 48, Subchapter F, Human Resources Code, or 
§261.404, Texas Family Code, as applicable; 

[(15) Person served--An adult or child receiving services 
from an agency as defined in this subchapter;] 

(13) [(16)] Reportable conduct--A confirmed or validated 
finding of abuse, neglect or exploitation that meets the definition 
in §48.401(5), Human Resources Code, and as further defined in 
§711.1408 of this title (relating to What is reportable conduct?); 

[(17) Rio Grande State Center--A facility operated by the 
Department of State Health Services that provides in-patient mental 
health services and services through an ICF-IID;] 

[(18) State hospital--A hospital operated by the Depart-
ment of State Health Services that provides in-patient mental health 
services; and] 

[(19) State supported living center--An ICF-IID operated 
by the Department of Aging and Disability Services.] 

§711.1404. How are the terms physical abuse, sexual abuse, emo-
tional or verbal abuse, neglect, exploitation, and financial exploitation 
defined for the purpose of this subchapter [In-home investigations]? 

(a) For In-home investigations, the definitions of physical 
abuse, sexual abuse, emotional or verbal abuse, neglect, and financial 
exploitation are adopted pursuant to §48.002(c), Human Resources 
Code, and are found [defined] in Subchapter A of Chapter 705 of this 
title (relating to Definitions) [(relating to Adult Protective Services)] 
in the rules adopted pursuant to §48.002(c) of the Human Resources 
Code. [Additional guidance for some of the terms used in these 
definitions can be found at §705.1001 of this title (relating to How are 
the terms in this chapter defined?). The following definitions apply:] 

[(1) "Physical abuse."] 

[(A) When an alleged perpetrator is a caretaker, family 
member, or other individual who has an ongoing relationship with the 
alleged victim, physical abuse is defined as any knowing, reckless, or 
intentional act or failure to act, including unreasonable confinement, 
corporal punishment, inappropriate or excessive force, or intimidation, 
which caused physical injury, death, or emotional harm.] 

[(B) When an alleged perpetrator is a paid caretaker, 
physical abuse is defined as any knowing, reckless, or intentional act 
or failure to act, including unreasonable confinement, corporal punish-
ment, inappropriate or excessive force, or intimidation, which caused 
or may have caused physical injury, death, or emotional harm.] 

[(2) "Sexual abuse."] 

[(A) When an alleged perpetrator is a caretaker or paid 
caretaker, family member, or other individual who has an ongoing rela-
tionship with the alleged victim, sexual abuse is defined as nonconsen-
sual sexual activity, which may include, but is not limited to, any ac-
tivity that would be a sexually-oriented offense per Texas Penal Code, 
Chapters 21, 22, or 43.] 

[(B) There is no consent when:] 

[(i) the alleged perpetrator knows or should know 
that the alleged victim is incapable of consenting because of impair-
ment in judgment due to mental or emotional disease or defect;] 

[(ii) consent is induced by force or threat against any 
person;] 

[(iii) the alleged victim is unconscious or physically 
unable to resist;] 

[(iv) the alleged perpetrator has intentionally im-
paired the alleged victim by administering any substance without the 
person's knowledge; or] 

[(v) consent is coerced due to fear of retribution or 
hardship, or by exploiting the emotional dependency of the alleged vic-
tim on the alleged perpetrator.] 

[(3) "Emotional or verbal abuse."] 

[(A) When an alleged perpetrator is a caretaker, family 
member, or other individual who has an ongoing relationship with the 
alleged victim, emotional or verbal abuse is defined as any act or use 
of verbal or other communication to threaten violence that makes a 
reasonable person fearful of imminent physical injury.] 

[(B) When an alleged perpetrator is a paid caretaker, 
emotional or verbal abuse is defined as any act or communication that 
is:] 

[(i) used to curse, vilify, humiliate, degrade, or 
threaten and that results in emotional harm; or] 

[(ii) of such a serious nature that a reasonable person 
would consider it emotionally harmful.] 

[(4) "Neglect."] 

[(A) When the alleged perpetrator is an alleged vic-
tim/perpetrator, neglect is defined as the failure of one's self to provide 
the protection, food, shelter, or care necessary to avoid emotional 
harm or physical injury.] 

[(B) When an alleged perpetrator is a caretaker or paid 
caretaker, neglect is defined as:] 

[(i) the failure to provide the protection, food, shel-
ter, or care necessary to avoid emotional harm or physical injury; or] 

[(ii) a negligent act or omission that caused or may 
have caused emotional harm, physical injury, or death.] 

[(5) "Financial exploitation."] 

[(A) When an alleged perpetrator is a caretaker or paid 
caretaker, family member, or other individual who has an ongoing re-
lationship with the alleged victim, financial exploitation is defined as 
the illegal or improper act or process of an alleged perpetrator using, or 
attempting to use, the resources of the alleged victim, including the al-
leged victim's social security number or other identifying information, 
for monetary or personal benefit, profit, or gain without the informed 
consent of the alleged victim. There is no informed consent when it is:] 

[(i) not voluntary;] 

[(ii) induced by deception or coercion; or] 

[(iii) given by an alleged victim who the actor 
knows or should have known to be unable to make informed and 
rational decisions because of diminished capacity or mental disease or 
defect.] 

41 TexReg 3648 May 20, 2016 Texas Register 



[(B) When an alleged perpetrator is a caretaker, family 
member, or other individual who has an ongoing relationship with the 
alleged victim, financial exploitation excludes Theft in Chapter 31 of 
the Texas Penal Code.] 

[(C) When an alleged perpetrator is a paid caretaker, fi-
nancial exploitation includes, but is not limited to, Theft in Chapter 31 
of the Texas Penal Code.] 

(b) For provider investigations--the definitions of physical 
abuse, sexual abuse, verbal/emotional abuse, neglect, and exploitation 
are adopted pursuant to §48.002(b), Human Resources Code, and are 
found in Subchapter A of this chapter (relating to Introduction). 

§711.1406. How is the term agency defined for the purpose of this 
subchapter? 

(a) For the purpose of this chapter, the term "agency" has the 
meaning given by §48.401, Human Resources Code, as further clarified 
in this rule. Any terms used within the definition of "agency" have the 
meaning given by statute or elaborated upon by this chapter or chapter 
705 of this title. The purpose of this rule is to provide a non-exhaus-
tive list of agencies, the employees of which are subject to being listed 
on the EMR if they are found to have committed reportable conduct. 
The list is illustrative and not exclusionary. Employees of agencies not 
specifically enumerated that are within the meaning of §48.401 con-
tinue to be eligible for the EMR without regard to whether the agency 
is specifically enumerated below. 

(b) The term "agency" means: 

(1) a home and community support services agency li-
censed under Chapter 142, Health and Safety Code; 

(2) a person exempt from licensure who provides home 
health, hospice, habilitation, or personal assistance services only to per-
sons receiving benefits under: 

(A) the home and community-based services (HCS) 
waiver program; 

(B) the Texas home living (TxHmL) waiver program; 

(C) the STAR + PLUS or other Medicaid managed care 
program under the program's HCS or TxHmL certification; or 

(D) Section 534.152, Government Code; 

(3) an intermediate care facility for individuals with an 
intellectual disability or related conditions (ICF-IID) licensed under 
Chapter 252, Health and Safety Code; or 

(4) a provider investigated by DFPS under Subchapter F, 
Human Resources Code or §261.404, Family Code. Such providers 
include: 

(A) a facility as defined in §711.3 of this chapter; 

(B) a community center, local mental health authority, 
and local intellectual and developmental disability authority, as defined 
in §711.3 of this chapter; 

(C) a person who contracts with a health and human 
services agency or managed care organization to provide home and 
community-based services (HCBS) as that term is defined in §48.251, 
Human Resources Code and which is the umbrella term for various 
long-term services and supports within the Medicaid program, whether 
delivered in a fee-for-service, managed care, or other service delivery 
model, and which includes but is not limited to: 

(i) Waiver programs including: 

(I) community living assistance and support ser-
vices (CLASS); 

(II) Deaf Blind Multiple Disabilities; 

(III) HCS; 

(IV) TxHmL; 

(V) Medically Dependent Child Program 
(MDCP); and 

(VI) Youth Empowerment Services (YES); 

(ii) Community First Choice; 

(iii) Texas Dual Eligible Integrated Care Project; 

(iv) State plan services including: 

(I) Community attendant services; and 

(II) Personal attendant services; 

(v) Managed Care Programs including: 

(I) HCBS - Adult Mental Health; 

(II) STAR + PLUS Managed Care program; and 

(III) STAR Kid Managed Care program; and 

(vi) any other program, project, waiver demonstra-
tion, or service providing long-term services and supports through the 
Medicaid program; 

(D) a person who contracts with a Medicaid managed 
care organization to provide behavioral health services as that term is 
defined in §48.251 and which include but are not limited to: 

(i) Targeted Case Management; and 

(ii) Psychiatric Rehabilitation services; 

(E) a managed care organization; 

(F) an officer, employee, agent, contractor, or subcon-
tractor of a person or entity listed in subsections (A) - (E) above; and 

(G) an employee, fiscal agent, case manager, or service 
coordinator of an individual employer participating in the consumer 
directed service option, as defined by §531.051, Government Code. 

§711.1408. What is reportable conduct? 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) For purposes of subsection (a) of this section, the terms 
abuse, neglect, sexual abuse, and financial exploitation have the mean-
ings provided in Subchapter A of Chapter 705 (relating to Definitions) 
or Subchapter A of this Chapter and incorporated by reference in 
§711.1404 of this title (relating to How are the terms physical abuse, 
sexual abuse, emotional or verbal abuse, neglect, exploitation, and 
financial exploitation defined for the purpose of this subchapter?). 
[In-home investigations?) and §711.1406 of this title (relating to How 
are the terms abuse, neglect, and financial exploitation defined for 
Facility investigations?), depending upon the type of agency for which 
the employee worked.] 

(c) - (d) (No change.) 

§711.1413. What notice must DFPS give to an employee before the 
employee's name is submitted to the Employee Misconduct Registry? 

When DFPS determines that an employee committed reportable con-
duct, DFPS must provide a written "Notice of Finding" to the em-
ployee. The notice must include: 

(1) (No change.) 
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(2) a statement of the employee's right to dispute [appeal] 
the finding by filing a "Request for EMR Hearing" and the instructions 
for doing so; 

(3) - (6) (No change.) 

(7) a statement that DFPS reserves the right to make an 
emergency release of the findings to any subsequent employer of the 
employee if the employee has access to similar clients or persons served 
[while the appeal is pending]; 

(8) a statement that the employee is responsible for keeping 
DFPS timely informed of the employee's current employment and res-
idential contact information, including addresses and phone numbers, 
[address] pending the outcome of any appeal filed by the employee; 
and 

(9) a statement that if the employee fails, without good 
cause, to file a timely request for an EMR hearing [appeal of the No-
tice of Finding], the employee will be deemed to have waived the em-
ployee's rights to dispute the finding [appeal] and the employee's name 
will be submitted to the EMR. 

§711.1414. How will the Notice of Finding be provided to an em-
ployee and who is responsible for ensuring that the department has a 
valid mailing address for an employee? 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) It is the responsibility of the employee [who is investigated 
for alleged abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a client or person served 
by an agency subject to this subchapter] to provide the department with 
a valid address where notice can be mailed or, if no address is available, 
with valid contact information, including telephone numbers. It is also 
the responsibility of the employee to immediately notify DFPS of any 
change of address or contact information throughout the investigation 
and any period of time during which a dispute of the finding [an appeal] 
is pending. 

§711.1415. How does an employee dispute [appeal] a finding of re-
portable conduct and what happens if the "Request for EMR Hearing" 
[appeal] is not filed or not filed properly? 

(a) An employee may dispute [appeal] a finding of reportable 
conduct by submitting a Request for EMR Hearing. The Notice of 
Finding will contain instructions for filing the Request for EMR Hear-
ing. 

(b) The employee will be deemed to have accepted the finding 
of reportable conduct and DFPS will submit the employee's name for 
inclusion in the Employee Misconduct Registry if the employee: 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) files a Request for EMR Hearing, but fails to follow the 
filing instructions and, as a result, DFPS does not receive the Request 
for EMR Hearing in a timely manner or cannot determine the matter 
being disputed [appealed]. 

§711.1417. What is the deadline for filing the Request for EMR Hear-
ing? 

(a) - (c) (No change.) 

(d) If an employee files the Request for EMR Hearing after 
the deadline, DFPS will notify the employee that the request was not 
filed by the deadline, no EMR [appeal] hearing will be granted, and 
the employee's name will be submitted for inclusion in the Employee 
Misconduct Registry. 

(e) (No change.) 

§711.1427. How is the EMR hearing conducted? 

(a) - (j) (No change.) 

(k) The hearing will be recorded by audio or video tape in or-
der to preserve a record of the hearing. A transcription of the hearing 
tape will not be made or provided unless an employee seeks judicial 
review, as provided in this subchapter. The costs of transcribing the 
testimony and preparing the record for judicial review shall be paid 
by the party who files for judicial review, unless the party establishes 
indigence as provided in Rule 20 of the Texas Rules of Appellate Pro-
cedure. 

(l) (No change.) 

§711.1429. How and when is the decision made after the EMR hear-
ing? 

(a) The administrative law judge will prepare a "Hearing Or-
der" which will be mailed to the employee at the employee's last known 
mailing address. The Hearing Order must contain the following: 

(1) separate statements of the findings of fact and conclu-
sions of law that uphold, reverse, or modify the findings as to whether: 

(A) the employee committed abuse, neglect, or finan-
cial exploitation [of a client or person served]; and 

(B) (No change.) 

(2) if reportable conduct is found to have occurred: 

(A) (No change.) 

(B) a statement that the finding of reportable conduct 
will be forwarded to the Department of Aging and Disability Services 
to be recorded in the Employee Misconduct Registry unless the em-
ployee [makes a] timely files a petition [request] for judicial review as 
provided in §711.1431 of this title (relating to How is judicial review 
requested?) [and the court reverses the finding of reportable conduct]. 

(b) (No change.) 

§711.1431. How is judicial review requested and what is the dead-
line? 

(a) A timely motion for rehearing is a prerequisite to judi-
cial review and must be filed in accordance with Subchapters F and 
G, Chapter 2001, Government Code. The motion for rehearing must 
be served on the administrative law judge and on DFPS's attorney of 
record. [To request judicial review of a Hearing Order, the employee 
must file a petition for judicial review in a Travis County district court, 
as provided by Government Code, Chapter 2001, Subchapter G.] 

(b) To seek judicial review of a Hearing Order, a party must 
file a petition for judicial review in a Travis County district court, in ac-
cordance with Subchapters F and G, Chapter 2001, Government Code. 
[The petition must be filed with the court no later than the 30th day af-
ter the date the Hearing Order becomes final, which is the date that the 
Hearing Order is received by the employee.] 

(c) (No change.) 

(d) Unless citation for a petition for judicial review is served 
on DFPS within 90 [45] days after the date on which the order under 
review becomes final [Hearing Order is mailed to the employee], DFPS 
will submit the employee's name for inclusion in the Employee Mis-
conduct Registry. If valid service of citation is received after the em-
ployee's name has been recorded in the registry, DFPS will[ determine 
whether the lawsuit was timely filed and, if so, immediately] request 
that the employee's name be removed from the registry pending the 
outcome of the judicial review in district court. 

§711.1432. What action does DFPS take when an employee has ex-
hausted the employee's administrative remedies [all appeal rights have 
been exhausted]? 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

(a) An employee has exhausted the employee's administrative 
remedies if the employee has been found to have committed reportable 
conduct and the employee has received or is no longer eligible for: 

(1) an EMR hearing; 

(2) a rehearing of the employee's case following an EMR 
hearing; or 

(3) judicial review. 

(b) DFPS takes the following actions once an employee has 
exhausted the employee's administrative remedies [In any case in 
which an employee filed a timely appeal, DFPS will take the following 
actions once the appeal has been finally resolved]: 

(1) modifies [modify] DFPS's internal records to reflect the 
final outcome in the case [of the appeal]; 

(2) provides [provide] notice of the final outcome in the 
case [of the appeal] to any person or entity that was previously notified 
of DFPS's findings, if the finding is modified; and 

(3) sends [send] the employee's name and required in-
formation to the Employee Misconduct Registry if the finding of 
reportable conduct was sustained [upheld]. 

§711.1434. What special considerations apply to employees of state-
operated facilities? 

(a) The sole way to dispute [appeal] a finding of reportable 
conduct and submission of the employee's name to the Employee Mis-
conduct Registry is provided by the procedures in this subchapter. A 
Request for EMR hearing [An appeal] filed under this subchapter is not 
a request for a grievance on disciplinary action from an employer. 

(b) (No change.) 

(c) When an employee files both a Request of EMR hearing 
[an appeal of reportable conduct] under this subchapter and a grievance 
on disciplinary action based on DFPS's finding of reportable conduct, 
the EMR [appeal] hearing will take place prior to the grievance hearing. 

(d) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602257 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854 

40 TAC §711.1406, §711.1411 
The repeals are proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC) 
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that 
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall 
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the 
health and human services agencies, including the Department 
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study 
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and 
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department. 

The repeals implement Human Resources Code §§48.401 -
48.408. 

§711.1406. How are the terms abuse, neglect, and financial exploita-
tion defined for Facility investigations?
 
§711.1411. Under what circumstances does DFPS submit an em-
ployee's name to the Employee Misconduct Registry?
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602258 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854 

CHAPTER 744. MINIMUM STANDARDS 
FOR SCHOOL-AGE AND BEFORE OR 
AFTER-SCHOOL PROGRAMS 
The Health and Human Services Commission proposes, 
on behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Ser-
vices (DFPS), amendments to §§744.401, 744.403, 744.605, 
744.901, 744.1303, 744.1305, 744.1307, 744.1309, 744.1311, 
744.2301, 744.2401, 744.2507, 744.2523, 744.3551, 744.3553, 
744.3559, 744.3561; new §744.2667 and §744.2669; and 
repeal of §744.3555, in Chapter 744, concerning Minimum 
Standards for School-Age and Before or After-School Programs. 
The purpose of the amendments, new rules and repeal are to 
implement needed changes to comply with the Child Care and 
Development Block Grant Act of 2014. 

The Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 
2014 (the "Act") is the first comprehensive revision of the Child 
Care and Development Fund (CCDF) program since 1998. (The 
CCDF is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq.) The Texas Workforce 
Commission (TWC) administers the CCDF, which is the primary 
federal funding source devoted to providing low-income families 
with access to child care. The Act makes significant reforms to 
the CCDF programs to raise the health, safety, and quality of 
child care. The Act does this by mandating that states comply 
with a multitude of additional requirements in order to continue 
receiving CCDF funding. Although TWC is the lead agency for 
determining eligibility and distributing the subsidy monies, DFPS 
is the agency responsible for licensing child care operations, es-
tablishing health and safety regulations, and monitoring eligible 
operations for compliance. Many of the Act's additional require-
ments relate to the responsibilities of DFPS. The provisions of 
the Act that have a significant impact on Child Care Licensing 
(CCL) and this chapter relate to the following topics: health and 
safety requirements and training on those requirements. 

The changes related to training will impact Before-School and 
After-School Programs (BAPs and SAPs). The new health and 
safety training requirements mandated by the Act include the 
following topics for pre-service training and annual training: (1) 
food allergies; (2) handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous 
materials; (3) more robust emergency preparedness plans; 
(4) administering medication; and (5) building and physical 
premises safety. 
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There is also one topic required by the Act that is already re-
quired in annual training, but is not currently required in the pre-
service training for BABs and SAPs. The additional health and 
safety training requirement that has been added to the pre-ser-
vice training is training on precautions in transporting children if 
the operation transports a child whose chronological or develop-
mental age is younger than nine years old. 

In addition to the training requirements the Act increases health 
and safety requirements for BAPs and SAPs. The health and 
safety requirements correlate to some of the training topics, in-
cluding requiring operations to (1) obtain food allergy emergency 
plans for children with known food allergies, post a list of food al-
lergies at the operation, and carry the child's emergency plan on 
field trips; and (2) use, store, and dispose of hazardous materi-
als as recommended by the manufacturer. 

The summary of the changes are: 

The amendments to §744.401: (1) adds a list of each child's 
food allergies (with a parent's permission) to the school-age and 
before and after-school program's posting requirements; (2) up-
dates the name of the Parent Notification Poster, and (3) makes 
other wording changes for consistency. 

The amendments to §744.403: (1) clarifies that the list of each 
child's food allergies must be posted (with a parent's permission) 
where food is prepared and in each room where the child may 
spend time; and (2) deletes the posting information about an 
emergency evacuation and relocation plan because it is duplica-
tive. 

The amendment to §744.605 adds a requirement for programs 
to obtain a completed food allergy emergency plan before ad-
mitting a child into care, if applicable; and if a parent wants the 
information posted, permission from the parent to post the infor-
mation. 

The amendment to §744.901 updates a cite and makes the lan-
guage consistent. 

The amendments to §744.1303: (1) clarifies the wording to be 
consistent with the current wording of the operational policies 
rule; (2) adds components that must be addressed in the 
overview of prevention, recognition, and reporting of child abuse 
and neglect; and (3) requires programs to share the emergency 
preparedness plan with all employees. 

The amendment to §744.1305 adds six topics that must be cov-
ered in the pre-service training of caregivers hired after Septem-
ber 1, 2016; and updates the existing language for a current 
training topic. 

The amendment to §744.1307 clarifies when a caregiver is ex-
empt from pre-service training. 

The amendments to §744.1309: (1) adds six topics that must be 
covered in the annual training of caregivers and site directors; 
(2) deletes a redundant paragraph about transportation safety 
training; and (3) increases from 50% to 80% the amount of an-
nual training hours that may be obtained through self-instruc-
tional training. 

The amendments to §744.1311: (1) adds six topics that must 
be covered in the annual training of operation directors and pro-
gram directors; (2) deletes a redundant paragraph about trans-
portation safety training; and (3) increases from 50% to 80% the 
amount of annual training hours that may be obtained through 
self-instructional training. 

The amendment to §744.2301: adds the requirement that care-
givers must have a copy of a child's food allergy emergency plan 
and medications, if applicable, when going on field trips. 

The amendments to §744.2401: (1) adds that children must not 
be served foods identified on their food allergy emergency plan; 
and (2) deletes the requirement "you must not use food as . 
. . punishment", because this requirement is already noted in 
§744.2105. 

The amendment to §744.2507 requires a program to use, store, 
and dispose of hazardous materials as recommended by the 
manufacturer to ensure a healthy environment for children. 

The amendment to §744.2523 clarifies in more detail what the 
universal precautions as outlined by the Centers for Disease 
Control (CDC) entail, including placing gloves contaminated with 
blood in a sealed plastic bag and discarding them immediately. 

New §744.2667 defines a food allergy emergency plan, including 
a list of foods a child is allergic too, possible symptoms, and what 
steps to take if there is an allergic reaction. 

New §744.2669 requires: (1) a food allergy emergency plan 
for each child with a known food allergy; and (2) the plan to 
be signed by the child's health care professional and a parent, 
posted if the parent consents, and taken on field trips. 

The amendment to §744.3551 clarifies in more detail what an 
emergency preparedness plan is by distinguishing between an 
evacuation, relocation, and sheltering. 

The amendments to §744.3553 adds to the requirements for an 
emergency preparedness plan to also include: (1) the staff re-
sponsibility in a sheltering emergency for the orderly movement 
of children to a designated location within the operation where 
children should gather; (2) how staff will continue to care for chil-
dren until each child has been released; and (3) how children will 
be reunified with their parents at evacuation, relocation, or when 
sheltering is lifted. 

The repeal of §744.3555 is because all of the information is al-
ready included in §744.1303(4) and §744.507. 

The amendment to §744.3559 adds the "sheltering" language 
for clarification. 

The amendment to §744.3561 clarifies the wording of an emer-
gency evacuation and relocation diagram and where the diagram 
should be posted. 

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that 
for the first five-year period the proposed sections will be in effect 
there will be no fiscal implications for state or local government 
as a result of enforcing or administering the sections. 

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the sections are in effect, the public benefit anticipated as 
a result of enforcing the sections will be that: (1) DFPS will be in 
compliance with the Child Care and Development Block Grant 
Act of 2014; (2) there will be clarification regarding health and 
safety requirements and training on those requirements; and (3) 
there will be a reduced risk to children. 

There is an anticipated economic cost for persons required to 
comply with some of the proposed rule changes. The proposed 
changes are anticipated to have an adverse impact on busi-
nesses, including small and micro-businesses. The proposed 
changes will impact School Age Programs and Before and After 
School Programs. According to the Fiscal Year (FY) 2015 DFPS 
Annual Report and Data Book as of August 31, 2015, there were, 
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1,551 School Age Programs and Before and After School Pro-
grams. 

Chapter 2006 of the Government Code defines a small business 
as one that is for-profit, independently owned, and has fewer 
than 100 employees or less than six million dollars in annual 
gross receipts. A small business that has no more than 20 em-
ployees is also defined as a micro-business. A 2010 survey con-
ducted by CCL indicated that approximately 55% of Licensed 
Child Care Centers, including School Age Programs and Before 
and After School Programs, are for profit businesses, 70% are 
independently owned, 98% have fewer than 100 employees, and 
68% have fewer than 20 employees. 

The fiscal impact to these operations primarily results from ad-
ditional staff time to develop or modify curriculum. 

Licensing staff developed the methodologies used to calculate 
the fiscal impact of these rules. The impacts were calculated us-
ing cost research conducted by staff and assumptions regarding 
child-care practices. The key assumptions and methodologies 
are described in detail below, as these underlie the individual 
impact calculations for each rule that are projected to have a fis-
cal impact on at least some programs. 

For School Age Programs and Before and After School Pro-
grams, the staff time required to comply with the standards will 
impact Directors and caregivers. For use in this impact anal-
ysis, DFPS will use the following mean wages that were ob-
tained from the Texas Workforce Commission's website for Oc-
cupational Wages based on 2014 estimates: (1) for all Direc-
tors and Primary Caregivers, DFPS is using a $24.27 per hour 
mean wage from the Occupational Title of Education Adminis-
trator, Preschool and Childcare Center; and (2) for all caregivers 
(other than a Primary Caregiver) DFPS is using a $9.49 per hour 
mean wage from the Occupational Title of Childcare Workers. 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §744.1305(b). This section adds six 
additional topics that must be covered in the pre-service training 
for caregivers hired on or after September 1, 2016. One of the 
six topics is precautions in transporting children and is only re-
quired for operations that transport children whose chronological 
or developmental age is younger than nine years old. There is 
no increase in the number of pre-service training hours required; 
there is only a change in the content of the required training. Any 
costs associated with this rule change depends upon whether 
a program pays for outside training, utilizes free training in the 
community, or provides in-house training to the caregivers. For 
programs that: 

(1) Pay for outside training to obtain pre-service training for care-
givers, there are no additional costs associated with this change 
in training content; 

(2) Utilize free training in the community (for example AgriLife 
training modules) to obtain pre-service training for caregivers, 
the only additional costs with this change in training content re-
lates to the new topic regarding precautions in transporting chil-
dren. For example, the relevant AgriLife training modules that 
could be used to comply with five of the six additional topics are 
free. However, the AgriLife training module relating to transport-
ing children has a $14.00 cost. Therefore, it is anticipated that 
each program that transports children whose chronological or 
developmental age is younger that nine year old will need to pay 
the $14.00 costs for the transportation module for each care-
giver. 

(3) Provide in-house pre-service training to caregivers, there are 
costs associated with modifying their current pre-service cur-
riculum for these six topics. However, the time to modify the 
curriculum is not anticipated to be extensive, because the pro-
gram will have already developed new curriculum for annual 
training on these six topics, see "Fiscal Impact for Proposed 
§744.1309(d)". It is anticipated that a director, or curriculum de-
veloper that is similarly paid, will spend approximately 20 hours 
to modify the pre-service training curriculum. Therefore, the ap-
proximate one-time cost to modify the pre-service training cur-
riculum is $485.40 (20 X $24.27). 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §744.1309(d). This section adds six 
additional topics that must be covered in the annual training for 
caregivers and site directors. There is no increase in the num-
ber of annual training hours required; there is only a change in 
the content of the required training. Any costs associated with 
this rule change depends on whether a program pays for out-
side training, utilizes free training in the community, or provides 
in-house training to the caregivers and site directors. For pro-
grams that: 

(1) Pay for outside training or utilize free training in the com-
munity to obtain annual training for caregivers and site directors, 
there are possible costs with employees that may take more than 
the mandated 15 hours of annual training to comply with the six 
additional topics. For example, the training modules with AgriL-
ife are two hours each. It is anticipated that five AgriLife modules 
will be needed to comply with the six additional topics. These ten 
hours of AgriLife training plus the already mandated six hours of 
annual training (§744.1309(c)) would mean that a caregiver or 
site director would be taking 16 hours of annual training instead 
of the 15 hours of mandated annual training. It is anticipated that 
each program would need to pay each caregiver $9.49 per hour 
and site director $24.27 per hour for each additional training hour 
that is taken. It is anticipated that over time more training mod-
ules will be created that will have a shorter time frame for training 
on these six topics. When that happens, these costs would no 
longer be associated with this rule change; and 

(2) Provide annual in-house training to caregivers and site direc-
tors, there are costs associated with developing new curriculum 
for these six topics. This section does not mandate a time frame 
for training on these six topics. However, for purposes of estimat-
ing a cost for developing training on these topics, it is assumed 
that training on these six topics will be two to three hours. A com-
mon industry standard is 40 hours to develop one hour of curricu-
lum for face-to-face training. It is anticipated that a director, or 
curriculum developer that is similarly paid, will spend an average 
of 80 to 120 hours to develop the two to three hour curriculum 
on these six topics. Therefore, the approximate one-time cost for 
the development of the annual curriculum is between $1,941.60 
(80 X $24.27) and $2,912.40 (120 X $24.27). 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §744.1311(d). This section adds six 
additional topics that must be covered in the annual training for 
an operation or program director. There is no increase in the 
number of annual training hours required; there is only a change 
in the content of the required training. For programs that pay for 
outside training or utilize free training in the community to obtain 
annual training for operation and program directors, there are 
no additional costs associated with this change in training con-
tent. For programs that actually provide annual in-house training 
to operation and program directors, there are costs associated 
with developing new curriculum for these six topics. However, 
the program will have already developed the same curriculum 
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for caregivers in response to §744.1309, see "Fiscal Impact for 
Proposed §744.1309(d)". Therefore, CCL assumes there will be 
no costs associated with this rule change. 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis: A regulatory flexibility analysis 
is not required for the proposed rules with fiscal implications be-
cause the proposed rules are specifically required by federal law 
(The Child Care and Development Block Grant of 2014). There-
fore, the proposed rules are consistent with the health and safety 
of children, whom the law was intended to protect. 

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed sections do not re-
strict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that would 
otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, there-
fore, do not constitute a taking under §2007.043, Government 
Code. 

Questions about the content of the proposal may be directed 
to Gerry Williams at (512) 438-5559 in DFPS's Child Care Li-
censing Division. Electronic comments may be submitted to 
CCLRules@dfps.state.tx.us. Written comments on the proposal 
may be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Services-551, 
Department of Family and Protective Services E-611, P.O. Box 
149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, within 30 days of publication 
in the Texas Register. 

SUBCHAPTER B. ADMINISTRATION AND 
COMMUNICATION 
DIVISION 3. REQUIRED POSTINGS 
40 TAC §744.401, §744.403 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014,          

§744.401. What items must I post at my operation at all times? 

You must post the following items: 

(1) - (3) (No change.) 

(4) Your emergency [Emergency and] evacuation and relo-
cation diagram as specified in §744.3561 of this title (relating to Must 
I have an emergency evacuation and relocation diagram?) [plans]; 

(5) (No change.) 

(6) The Licensing Parent Notification Poster; [Notice of 
Availability for Review of:] 

[(A) The most recent fire inspection report, if applica-
ble;] 

[(B) The most recent sanitation inspection report, if ap-
plicable;] 

[(C) The most recent gas inspection report, if applica-
ble; and] 

which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq.

[(D) The applicable Licensing minimum standards;] 

(7) Telephone numbers specified in §744.405 of this title 
(relating to What telephone numbers must I post and where must I post 
them?); [and] 

(8) A list of each child's food allergies, with a parent's per-
mission as specified in §744.605(16) of this title (relating to What ad-
mission information must I obtain for each child?); and 

(9) [(8)] Any other Licensing notices with specific instruc-
tions to post the notice. 

§744.403. When and where must these items be posted? 
(a) (No change.) 

(b) With the permission of the child's parent, you must post a 
list of each child's food allergies where you prepare or serve food and 
in each room where the child may spend time. The posting must be in a 
place where employees may easily view it. [Emergency and evacuation 
relocation plans must be posted in each room used by children.] 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602202 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER C. RECORD KEEPING 
DIVISION 1. RECORDS OF CHILDREN 
40 TAC §744.605 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§744.605. What admission information must I obtain for each child? 
You must obtain at least the following information before admitting a 
child to the operation: 

(1) - (13) (No change.) 

(14) The name and telephone number of the school that a 
school-age child attends, unless the operation is located at the child's 
school; [and] 

(15) Permission for a school-age child to ride a bus, [or] 
walk to or from school or home, or to be released to the care of a sibling 
under 18 years old, if applicable; and[.] 
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(16) A completed food allergy emergency plan for the 
child, if applicable, and if a parent wants the information posted, 
permission from a parent to post the child's allergy information. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602203 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

DIVISION 4. PERSONNEL RECORDS 
40 TAC §744.901 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§744.901. What information must I maintain in my personnel 
records? 

You must have the following records at the operation and available for 
review during your hours of operation for each employee, caregiver, 
substitute, and volunteer as specified in this chapter: 

(1) - (9) (No change.) 

(10) A statement signed and dated by the employee ver-
ifying the date the employee attended training during orientation that 
includes an overview regarding the prevention, recognition, and report-
ing [of symptoms] of child abuse and[,] neglect, [and sexual abuse and 
the responsibility for reporting these] as outlined in §744.1303 of this 
title (relating to What must [should] orientation for employees at [to] 
my operation include?). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602204 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER D. PERSONNEL 
DIVISION 4. PROFESSIONAL DEVELOP-
MENT 
40 TAC §§744.1303, 744.1305, 744.1307, 744.1309, 744.1311 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§744.1303. What must [should] orientation for employees at [to] my 
operation include? 
Your orientation for employees must include at least the following: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) An overview of operational [Your operation's] policies, 
including discipline and[,] guidance practices[,] and procedures for the 
release of children; 

(3) An overview regarding the prevention, recognition, and 
reporting [of symptoms] of child abuse and[,] neglect including:[, and 
sexual abuse and the responsibility for reporting these;] 

(A) Factors indicating a child is at risk of abuse or ne-
glect; 

(B) Warning signs indicating a child may be a victim of 
abuse or neglect; 

(C) Internal procedures for reporting child abuse or ne-
glect; and 

(D) Community organizations that have training pro-
grams available to child-care center staff members, children, and par-
ents; 

(4) An overview of the [The] procedures to follow in han-
dling emergencies, which includes sharing the emergency preparedness 
plan with all employees. Emergencies may include, but are not limited 
to, fire, explosion, tornado, toxic fumes, volatile persons, and severe 
injury or illness of a child or adult; and 

(5) The [use and] location and use of fire extinguishers and 
first-aid equipment. 

§744.1305. What must be covered in the eight clock hours of pre-
service training for caregivers? 

(a) Before a caregiver can be counted in the child/caregiver ra-
tio, the caregiver must complete eight clock hours of pre-service train-
ing that covers the following areas: 

(1) Developmental stages of children; 

(2) Age-appropriate activities for children; 

(3) Positive guidance and discipline of children; 

(4) Fostering children's self-esteem; 

(5) Supervision and safety practices in the care of children; 
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(6) Positive interaction with children; and 

(7) Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable 
diseases, including immunizations. 

(b) Pre-service training for caregivers you hire on or after 
9/1/2016 must also cover the following areas: 

(1) The emergency preparedness plan for your operation; 

(2) Administering medication, if applicable, including 
compliance with §744.2653 of this title (relating to What authorization 
must I obtain before administering a medication to a child in my 
care?); 

(3) Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food 
or an allergic reaction; 

(4) Understanding building and physical premises safety, 
including identification and protection from hazards, bodies of water, 
and vehicular traffic; 

(5) Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materi-
als; and 

(6) Precautions in transporting children, if your operation 
transports a child whose chronological or developmental age is younger 
than nine years old. 

§744.1307. Are any caregivers exempt from the pre-service training? 
Yes. A caregiver is exempt from the pre-service training requirements 
if the caregiver has: 

(1) At [Caregivers with at] least six months prior experi-
ence in a regulated operation; or 

(2) Documentation of at least eight clock hours of training 
in the areas specified in §744.1305 of this title (relating to What must be 
covered in the eight clock hours of pre-service training for caregivers?) 
at another regulated operation [with documentation of equivalent child-
care training are exempt from the pre-service training requirements]. 

§744.1309. How many clock hours of annual training must be ob-
tained by caregivers and site directors? 

(a) Each caregiver and site director must obtain at least 15 
clock hours of training each year relevant to the age of the children 
for whom the person provides care. 

(b) The 15 clock hours of annual training are exclusive of 
requirements for orientation, pre-service training [requirements], CPR 
and first aid training, transportation safety training, and high school 
child-care work-study classes. 

(c) [(b)] At least six clock hours of the annual training hours 
must be in one or more of the following topics: 

(1) Child growth and development; 

(2) Guidance and discipline; 

(3) Age-appropriate curriculum; and 

(4) Teacher-child interaction. 

(d) While there are no clock hour requirements for the topics 
in this subsection, the annual training hours must also include training 
on the following topics: 

(1) Emergency preparedness; 

(2) Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable 
diseases, including immunizations; 

(3) Administering medication, if applicable, including 
compliance with §744.2653 of this title (relating to What authorization 

must I obtain before administering a medication to a child in my 
care?); 

(4) Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food 
or an allergic reaction; 

(5) Understanding building and physical premises safety, 
including identification and protection from hazards that can cause bod-
ily injury such as electric hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic; 
and 

(6) Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materi-
als including compliance with §744.2523 of this title (relating to Must 
caregivers wear gloves when handling blood or bodily fluids contain-
ing blood?). 

(e) [(c)] The remaining [clock hours of] annual training hours 
must be in one or more of the following topics: 

(1) Care of children with special needs; 

(2) Child health (for example, nutrition or physical activ-
ity); 

(3) Safety; 

(4) Risk management; 

(5) Identification and care of ill children; 

(6) Cultural diversity for children and families; 

(7) Professional development (for example, effective com-
munication with families and[,] time and stress management); 

[(8) Preventing the spread of communicable diseases;] 

(8) [(9)] Topics relevant to the particular age group the 
caregiver is assigned; 

(9) [(10)] Planning developmentally appropriate learning 
activities; and 

(10) [(11)] Minimum standards and how they apply to the 
caregiver. 

[(d) A caregiver who transports a child whose chronological or 
developmental age is younger than nine years old must meet additional 
training requirements as outlined in §744.1317 of this title (relating to 
What additional training must a person have in order to transport a child 
in care?).] 

(f) [(e)] No [A caregiver or site director may obtain no] more 
than 80% [50%] of the annual training hours may be obtained through 
self-instructional training. 

§744.1311. How many clock hours of training must an operation di-
rector or a program director obtain each year? 

(a) An operation director and/or a program director must ob-
tain at least 20 clock hours of training each year relevant to the age of 
the children for whom the operation provides care. 

(b) The 20 clock hours of annual training are exclusive of 
any requirements for [CPR and first aid,] orientation, pre-service 
training, CPR and first aid training, and transportation safety training 
[requirements]. 

(c) [(b)] At least six clock hours of the annual training hours 
must be in one or more of the following topics: 

(1) Child growth and development; 

(2) Guidance and discipline; 

(3) Age-appropriate curriculum; 
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(4) Teacher-child interaction; and 

(5) Serving children with special care needs. 

(d) While there are no clock hour requirements for the topics 
in this subsection, the annual training hours must also include training 
on the following topics: 

(1) Emergency preparedness; 

(2) Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable 
diseases, including immunizations; 

(3) Administering medication, if applicable, including 
compliance with §744.2653 of this title (relating to What authorization 
must I obtain before administering a medication to a child in my 
care?); 

(4) Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food 
or an allergic reaction; 

(5) Understanding building and physical premises safety, 
including identification and protection from hazards that can cause bod-
ily injury such as electric hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic; 
and 

(6) Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materi-
als including compliance with §744.2523 of this title (relating to Must 
caregivers wear gloves when handling blood or bodily fluids contain-
ing blood?). 

(e) [(c)] An operation director or program director with: 

(1) Five [five] or fewer years of experience as a designated 
director of an operation or as a program director must [also] complete 
at least six clock hours of the annual training hours in management 
techniques, leadership, or staff supervision; or[.] 

(2) [(d)] More [A director with more] than five years of 
experience as a designated director of an operation or as a program 
director must complete at least three clock hours of the annual training 
hours in management techniques, leadership, or staff supervision. 

(f) [(e)] The remainder of the 20 clock hours of annual train-
ing must be selected from the training topics specified in §744.1309(e) 
[§744.1309(c)] of this title (relating to How many clock hours of an-
nual training must be obtained by caregivers and site directors?). 

[(f) If the operation transports a child whose chronological or 
developmental age is younger than nine years old, the director must 
complete two hours of annual training on transportation safety, as out-
lined in §744.1317 of this title (relating to What additional training 
must a person have in order to transport a child in care?).] 

(g) An operation [The] director or program director may ob-
tain clock hours or CEUs from the same sources as caregivers. 

(h) Training hours may not be earned for presenting training 
to others[, with the exception of up to two hours of training on trans-
portation safety]. 

(i) No more than 80% [50%] of the annual training hours may 
be obtained through self-instructional training. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602205 

Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER I. FIELD TRIPS 
40 TAC §744.2301 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§744.2301. May I take children away from my operation for field 
trips? 

Yes. You must ensure the safety of all children on field trips or excur-
sions and during any transportation provided by the operation. Any-
time you take a child on [away from the operation for] a field trip, you 
must comply with each of the following requirements: 

(1) - (4) (No change.) 

(5) Caregivers must have a copy of a child's food allergy 
emergency plan and allergy medications, if applicable; 

(6) [(5)] Each child must wear a shirt, nametag, or other 
identification listing the name of the operation and the operation's tele-
phone number; 

(7) [(6)] Each caregiver must be easily identifiable by all 
children on the field trip by wearing a hat, operation tee-shirt, brightly-
colored clothes, or other easily spotted identification; 

(8) [(7)] Each caregiver supervising a field trip must have 
transportation available, [or] a communication device such as a cellular 
phone, message pager, or two-way radio available, or an alternate plan 
for transportation at the field-trip location in case of emergency; and 

(9) [(8)] Caregivers with training in CPR and first aid with 
rescue breathing and choking must be present on the field trip. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602206 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 
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SUBCHAPTER J. NUTRITION AND FOOD 
SERVICE 
40 TAC §744.2401 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§744.2401. What are the basic requirements for snack and meal-
times? 

(a) You must serve all children regular meals and morning and 
afternoon snacks as specified in this subchapter. 

(b) [(1)] If breakfast is served, a morning snack is not required. 

(c) [(2)] A child must not go more than three hours without a 
meal or snack being offered, unless the child is sleeping. 

(d) [(3)] If your operation is participating in the Child and 
Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) administered by the Texas Depart-
ment of Agriculture, you may elect to meet those requirements rather 
than those specified in this section [subsection]. 

(e) [(b)] You must ensure a supply of drinking water is readily 
available to each child and is served at every snack, mealtime, and after 
active play in a safe and sanitary manner. 

(f) [(c)] You must not serve beverages with added sugars, such 
as carbonated beverages, fruit punch, or sweetened milk. 

(g) [(d)] You must not use food as a reward [or punishment]. 

(h) You must not serve a child a food identified on the child's 
food allergy emergency plan as specified in §744.2667 of this title (re-
lating to What is a food allergy emergency plan?). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602207 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER K. HEALTH PRACTICES 
DIVISION 1. ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 
40 TAC §744.2507, §744.2523 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 

provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§744.2507. What steps must I take to ensure a healthy environment 
for children at my operation? 
You must clean, repair, and maintain the building, grounds, and equip-
ment to protect the health of the children. This includes, but is not 
limited to: 

(1) - (8) (No change.) 

(9) Sanitizing table tops, furniture, and other similar equip-
ment used by children when soiled or contaminated with matter such 
as food or bodily [body] secretions; [and] 

(10) Clearly marking cleaning supplies and other toxic ma-
terials and keeping them separate from food and inaccessible to chil-
dren; and[.] 

(11) Using, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials 
as recommended by the manufacturer. 

§744.2523. Must caregivers wear gloves when handling blood or 
bodily fluids containing blood? 
Yes. Caregivers must follow universal precautions outlined by the Cen-
ters for Disease Control (CDC) when handling blood, vomit, or other 
bodily fluids that may contain blood including: 

(1) Using [Use of] disposable, nonporous gloves; 

(2) Placing gloves contaminated with blood in a sealed 
plastic bag and discarding them immediately; 

(3) [(2)] Discarding all other [the] gloves immediately after 
one use; and 

(4) [(3)] Washing hands after using and disposing of the 
gloves. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602208 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER L. SAFETY PRACTICES 
DIVISION 2. MEDICATION AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE 
40 TAC §744.2667, §744.2669 
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The new sections proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The new sections implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§744.2667. What is a food allergy emergency plan? 
A food allergy emergency plan is an individualized plan prepared by 
the child's health care professional that includes: 

(1) a list of each food the child is allergic to; 

(2) possible symptoms if exposed to a food on the list; and 

(3) the steps to take if the child has an allergic reaction. 

§744.2669. When must I have a food allergy emergency plan for a 
child? 
You must have a food allergy emergency plan for each child with a 
known food allergy. The child's heath care professional and parent 
must sign and date the plan. You must keep a copy of the plan in the 
child's file, post it as specified in §744.403(b) of this title (relating to 
When and where must these items be posted?), and take it on any field 
trip that the child is on. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602209 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER P. FIRE SAFETY AND 
EMERGENCY PRACTICES 
DIVISION 2. EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS 
40 TAC §§744.3551, 744.3553, 744.3559, 744.3561 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§744.3551. What is an emergency preparedness plan? 

An emergency preparedness plan is designed to ensure the safety of 
children during an emergency by addressing staff responsibility and 
facility readiness with respect to emergency evacuation, [and] relo-
cation, and sheltering. The plan addresses the types of responses to 
emergencies most likely to occur in your area including: [but not lim-
ited to natural events such as tornadoes, floods or hurricanes, health 
events such as medical emergencies, communicable disease outbreak, 
and human-caused events such as intruder with weapon, explosion, or 
chemical spill.] 

(1) An evacuation of the children and caregivers to a des-
ignated safe area in an emergency such as a fire or gas leak; 

(2) A relocation of the children and caregivers to a desig-
nated, alternate shelter in an emergency such as a flood, a hurricane, 
medical emergency, or communicable disease outbreak; and 

(3) The sheltering of children and caregivers within the op-
eration to temporarily shelter them from situations such as a tornado, 
volatile person on the premises, or an endangering person in the area. 

§744.3553. What must my emergency preparedness plan include? 

Your emergency preparedness plan must include written procedures 
for: 

(1) Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering of children in-
cluding: 

(A) The [That in an emergency, the] first responsibility 
of staff in an emergency evacuation or relocation is to move the children 
to a designated safe area or alternate shelter known to all employees, 
caregivers, parents, and volunteers; 

(B) How children will be evacuated or relocated to the 
designated safe area or alternate shelter, including but not limited to 
specific procedures for evacuating and relocating children with limited 
mobility or who otherwise may need assistance in an emergency, such 
as children who have mental, visual, or hearing impairments; 

(C) (No change.) 

(D) The staff responsibility in a sheltering emergency 
for the orderly movement of children to a designated location within 
the operation where children should gather; 

(E) [(D)] Name and address of the alternate shelter 
away from the operation you will use as needed; and 

(F) [(E)] How children in attendance at the time of the 
emergency will be accounted for at the designated safe area or alternate 
shelter;[.] 

(2) Communication, including: 

(A) The emergency telephone number that is on file 
with us; and 

(B) How you will communicate with local authorities 
(such as fire, law enforcement, emergency medical services, health de-
partment), parents, and us; and 

(3) How your staff will evacuate and relocate with the es-
sential documentation including: 

(A) Parent and emergency contact telephone numbers 
for each child in care; 
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(B) Authorization for emergency care for each child in 
care; and 

(C) The child tracking system information for children 
in care;[.] 

(4) How your staff will continue to care for children until 
each child has been released; and 

(5) How you will reunify the children with their parents at 
evacuation, relocation, or when sheltering is lifted. 

§744.3559. Must I practice my emergency preparedness plan 
[plans]? 
The following components of your operation's emergency prepared-
ness plan [plans] must be practiced as specified below: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) You must practice a severe weather or sheltering drill 
at least once every three months; and 

(3) You must document these drills, including the date of 
the drill, time of the drill, and length of time for the evacuation, [or] 
relocation, or sheltering to take place. 

§744.3561. Must I have an emergency evacuation and relocation di-
agram? 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) You must post an emergency evacuation and relocation 
diagram [plan] in each room the children use. You must post the plan 
[in a prominent place] near the entrance and/or exit of the room and 
where children and employees may easily view the diagram. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602210 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
40 TAC §744.3555 
The repeal is proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC) 
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that 
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall 
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the 
health and human services agencies, including the Department 
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study 
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and 
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department. 

The repeal implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and portions 
of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 2014, 
which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§744.3555. With whom must I share this plan? 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602211 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

CHAPTER 745. LICENSING 
The Health and Human Services Commission proposes, on 
behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Services 
(DFPS), an amendment to §745.505 and §745.615 and new 
§745.616 in Chapter 745, concerning Licensing. The purpose 
of the amendments and new section is to implement needed 
changes to comply with the Child Care and Development Block 
Grant Act of 2014 and Senate Bill (S.B) 1496, 84th Regular 
Legislative Session. 

The Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 
2014 (the "Act") is the first comprehensive revision of the Child 
Care and Development Fund (CCDF) program since 1998. (The 
CCDF is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq.) The Texas Workforce 
Commission (TWC) administers the CCDF, which is the primary 
federal funding source devoted to providing low-income families 
with access to child care. The Act makes significant reforms to 
the CCDF programs to raise the health, safety, and quality of 
child care. The Act does this by mandating that states comply 
with a multitude of additional requirements in order to continue 
receiving CCDF funding. Although TWC is the lead agency for 
determining eligibility and distributing the subsidy monies, DFPS 
is the agency responsible for licensing child care operations, es-
tablishing health and safety regulations, and monitoring eligible 
operations for compliance. Many of the Act's additional require-
ments relate to the responsibilities of DFPS. The provisions of 
the Act that have a significant impact on Child Care Licensing 
(CCL) and this chapter relate to background checks. Finally, 
there will be additional requirements of the Act addressed in fu-
ture rulemaking. 

In regards to background checks, Senate Bill (S.B.) 1496, 84th 
Regular Legislative Session, amended HRC §42.0523 and 
§42.056 in order to comply with the Act's requirements. A sum-
mary of the background check changes in response to the Act 
and S.B. 1496 include: (1) requiring Listed Family Homes that 
provide care to unrelated children to pay biennial background 
check fees of $2.00 per person; and (2) requiring Licensed 
Child-Care Homes, Registered Child-Care Homes, and Listed 
Family Homes that provide care to unrelated children to obtain 
fingerprint-based criminal history checks (these homes were 
previously only required to have name-based criminal history 
checks). There is also a transitional rule which clarifies which 
persons are required to have a fingerprint-based criminal history 
check and when the checks are due. 

The summary of the changes are: 

The amendment to §745.505 requires Listed Family Homes that 
provide care to unrelated children to pay biennial background 
check fees of $2.00 per person. 

The amendment to §745.615 requires Licensed Child-Care 
Homes, Registered Child-Care Homes, and Listed Family 
Homes that provide care to unrelated children, to request 
fingerprint-based criminal history checks. 
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New §745.616 clarifies which persons in these homes are re-
quired to have a fingerprint-based criminal history check and 
when the request for checks are due. 

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that 
for the first five-year period the proposed sections will be in effect 
there will be no fiscal implications for state or local government 
as a result of enforcing or administering the sections. According 
to the DFPS Centralized Background Check Unit (CBCU), imple-
mentation of the legislation requiring fingerprint-based criminal 
history checks for additional persons will increase the CBCU's 
workload; however, the Legislature provided an FTE to cover 
the increase in the workload. 

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the sections are in effect the public benefit anticipated as 
a result of enforcing the sections will be that: (1) DFPS will be 
in compliance with the Child Care and Development Block Grant 
Act of 2014; (2) DFPS will be in compliance with HRC §42.056 
(S.B. 1496); (3) there will be clarification regarding background 
checks; and (4) there will be a reduced risk to children. 

There is an anticipated economic cost for persons required to 
comply with some of the proposed rule changes. The proposed 
changes are anticipated to have an adverse impact on busi-
nesses, including small and micro-businesses. The proposed 
changes will impact Licensed Child-Care Homes, Registered 
Child-Care Homes, and Listed Family Homes. According to 
the FY 2015 DFPS Annual Report and Data Book as of August 
31, 2015 there were: (1) 1,720 Licensed Child-Care Homes; 
(2) 4,678 Registered Child-Care Homes; and (3) 5,026 Listed 
Family Homes. 

Chapter 2006 of the Government Code defines a small busi-
ness as one that is for-profit, independently owned, and has 
fewer than 100 employees or less than six million dollars in an-
nual gross receipts. A small business that has no more than 20 
employees is also defined as a micro-business. CCL is assum-
ing virtually all Homes (Licensed Child-Care Homes, Registered 
Child-Care Homes, and Listed Family Homes) meet the defini-
tions of a small and micro-business. 

The fiscal impact to these operations results from (1) background 
check fees for Listed Family Homes; and (2) costs for fingerprint-
based criminal history checks for all three types of Homes. 

The size of Licensed Child-Care Homes and Registered Child-
Care Homes and the number of their employees vary. Also, for 
all Homes, the number of household members varies. Given 
these variations, it is not possible to project the fiscal impact to 
each home; however, it is possible to project an average "unit 
cost" for background checks that are newly required by the rules 
proposed. 

Licensing staff developed the methodologies used to calculate 
the fiscal impact of these rules. The impacts were calculated us-
ing cost research conducted by staff and assumptions regarding 
child care practices. The key assumptions and methodologies 
are described in detail below, as these underlie the individual 
impact calculations for each rule that is projected to have a fis-
cal impact on at least some operations. 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §745.505. This section requires a 
listed family home that provides care to unrelated children to pay 
a background check fee of $2.00 per person biennially. The to-
tal impact will depend upon how many household members a 
listed family home has that are required to receive a background 
check. 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §745.615. This section requires 
licensed child-care homes, registered child-care homes, and 
listed family homes to request fingerprint-based criminal history 
checks on certain persons at a cost of $41.25 per person. This 
is generally a one-time cost. Once a person has undergone 
an initial fingerprint-based criminal history check, the person 
is not required to re-request fingerprints in the future provided 
the person does not move out-of-state after the initial check 
and the person undergoes name-based background checks at 
least every two years. The total impact will depend upon how 
many employees a Licensed Child-Care Home or Registered 
Child-Care Home has and how many household members 
each home (Licensed Child-Care Home, Registered Child-Care 
Home, or Listed Family Home) has that are required to have a 
fingerprint-based criminal history check. 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis: A regulatory flexibility analysis is 
not required for the proposed rules with fiscal implications be-
cause the proposed rules are specifically required by state law 
(S.B. 1496) and federal law (The Child Care and Development 
Block Grant of 2014). Therefore, the proposed rules are consis-
tent with the health and safety of children, whom the laws were 
intended to protect. 

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed sections do not re-
strict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that would 
otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, there-
fore, do not constitute a taking under §2007.043, Government 
Code. 

Questions about the content of the proposal may be directed 
to Gerry Williams at (512) 438-5559 in DFPS's Child Care Li-
censing Division. Electronic comments may be submitted to 
CCRules@dfps.state.tx.us. Written comments on the proposal 
may be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Services-551, 
Department of Family and Protective Services E-611, P.O. Box 
149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, within 30 days of publication 
in the Texas Register. 

SUBCHAPTER E. FEES 
40 TAC §745.505 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §§42.042, 42.0421, 42.0523, 
and 42.056 and portions of the Child Care and Development 
Block Grant Act of 2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et 
seq. 

§745.505. What fees must I pay to list my family home and maintain 
the listing? 

(a) The following chart contains the fees required for listed 
family homes, when the fees are due, and the consequences for failure 
to pay the fees on time:[. Note that for listed family homes the fees 
for background checks are included in the $20 application and annual 
fees.] 
Figure: 40 TAC §745.505(a) 

PROPOSED RULES May 20, 2016 41 TexReg 3661 

mailto:CCRules@dfps.state.tx.us


♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

[Figure: 40 TAC §745.505(a)] 

(b) The fees listed in subsection (a) of this section are waived 
for a person with a listing who only provides child care to a related 
child in the child's own home as approved by the Texas Workforce 
Commission's Listed Family Home Fee Waiver Authorization form. 
[A listed family home in which a relative child-care provider cares for 
the child(ren) in the child(ren)'s own home is exempt from paying fees.] 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602212 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER F. BACKGROUND CHECKS 
DIVISION 2. REQUESTING BACKGROUND 
CHECKS 
40 TAC §745.615, §745.616 
The amendment and new section are proposed under Human 
Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code 
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services 
Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation 
and provision of services by the health and human services 
agencies, including the Department of Family and Protective 
Services; and HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family and 
Protective Services Council shall study and make recommen-
dations to the Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner 
regarding rules governing the delivery of services to persons 
who are served or regulated by the department. 

The amendment and new section implement HRC §§42.042, 
42.0421, 42.0523, and 42.056 and portions of the Child Care 
and Development Block Grant Act of 2014, which is codified in 
42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§745.615. On whom must I request background checks? 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) In addition to any other background check required by this 
section, you must request fingerprint-based criminal history checks on 
the following: 

(1) If you are a permit holder, or applicant for a permit, for a 
child-placing agency, general residential operation, independent foster 
home, child-care center, before or after-school program, [or] school-
age program, licensed child-care home, registered child-care home, or 
listed family home providing care to unrelated children, then you must 
request a fingerprint-based criminal history check for each person who 
is required to have a name-based background check under subsection 
(a)(1) - (6) of this section; and 

(2) (No change.) 

(c) - (d) (No change.) 

§745.616. Transitional rule for requesting fingerprint-based criminal 
history checks for listed family homes, registered child-care homes, and 
licensed child-care homes as required by the 84th Texas Legislature. 

(a) The 84th Texas Legislature enacted changes to Human Re-
sources Code (HRC) §42.056, imposing new fingerprint-based crim-
inal history check (fingerprint-based check) requirements on certain 
persons affiliated with listed family homes that provide care to un-
related children, registered child-care homes, and licensed child-care 
homes who had not previously been required to undergo these checks. 
See S.B. 1496, 84th Regular Legislative Session. The purpose of this 
transitional rule is to provide guidance on when a fingerprint-based 
check should be requested and when Licensing will begin to cite a home 
for a violation of minimum standards for failing to request a required 
fingerprint-based check. This rule applies only to listed family homes, 
registered child-care homes, or licensed child-care homes, and only 
with respect to persons who were not previously required to undergo 
a fingerprint-based check under HRC §42.056, as that statute existed 
before the changes from S.B. 1496 became effective on September 1, 
2016. 

(b) Beginning September 1, 2016, before we issue you a per-
mit to operate a listed family home, registered child-care home, or li-
censed child-care home you must: 

(1) Request fingerprint-based checks for all persons listed 
in §745.615(a)(1) - (6) of this title (relating to On whom must I request 
background checks?); and 

(2) Request these fingerprint-based checks when you re-
quest the initial background checks that you must request according 
to §745.625(a) of this title (relating to When must I submit a request 
for an initial or renewal background check?). 

(c) For listed family homes, registered child-care homes, or 
licensed child-care homes that have been issued a permit to operate a 
home before September 1, 2016, you must request fingerprint-based 
checks for all persons listed in §745.615(a)(1) - (6) who do not already 
have a valid fingerprint-based check on file, in accordance with the 
timeframes listed below: 
Figure: 40 TAC §745.616(c) 

(d) For persons described in subsection (b) of this section, Li-
censing will begin citing new homes for violation of minimum stan-
dards for any deficiencies relating to fingerprint-based checks after 
September 1, 2016. 

(e) For persons described in subsection (c) of this section, Li-
censing will provide technical assistance to listed family homes, reg-
istered child-care homes, or licensed child-care homes until Septem-
ber 1, 2017, and will begin citing operations for violation of minimum 
standards for any deficiencies relating to fingerprint-based checks after 
September 1, 2017. 

(f) This rule expires on December 31, 2017. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602213 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 
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CHAPTER 746. MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 
CHILD-CARE CENTERS 
The Health and Human Services Commission proposes, 
on behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Ser-
vices (DFPS), amendments to §§746.401, 746.403, 746.605, 
746.901, 746.1303, 746.1305, 746.1307, 746.1309, 746.1311, 
746.3001, 746.3301, 746.3407, 746.3425, 746.3505, 746.5201, 
746.5202, 746.5205, and 746.5207; new §746.3817 and 
§746.3819; and repeal of §746.5203, in Chapter 746, concern-
ing Minimum Standards for Child-Care Centers. The purpose 
of the amendments, new and repeal is to implement needed 
changes to comply with the Child Care and Development Block 
Grant Act of 2014. 

The Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 
2014 (the "Act") is the first comprehensive revision of the Child 
Care and Development Fund (CCDF) program since 1998. (The 
CCDF is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq.) The Texas Workforce 
Commission (TWC) administers the CCDF, which is the primary 
federal funding source devoted to providing low-income families 
with access to child care. The Act makes significant reforms to 
the CCDF programs to raise the health, safety, and quality of 
child care. The Act does this by mandating that states comply 
with a multitude of additional requirements in order to continue 
receiving CCDF funding. Although TWC is the lead agency for 
determining eligibility and distributing the subsidy monies, DFPS 
is the agency responsible for licensing child care operations, es-
tablishing health and safety regulations, and monitoring eligible 
operations for compliance. Many of the Act's additional require-
ments relate to the responsibilities of DFPS. The provisions of 
the Act that have a significant impact on Child Care Licensing 
(CCL) and this chapter relate to the following topics: health and 
safety requirements and training on those requirements. 

The changes related to training will impact Licensed Child Care 
Centers. The new health and safety training requirements man-
dated by the Act include the following topics for pre-service train-
ing and annual training: (1) food allergies; (2) handling, storing, 
and disposing of hazardous materials; (3) more robust emer-
gency preparedness plans; (4) administering medication; and 
(5) building and physical premises safety. 

There is also one topic required by the Act that is already re-
quired in annual training, but is not currently required in the pre-
service training for Licensed Child-Care Centers. The additional 
health and safety training requirement that has been added to 
the pre-service training is training on precautions in transporting 
children if the operation transports a child whose chronological 
or developmental age is younger than nine years old. 

In addition to the training requirements the Act increases health 
and safety requirements for Licensed Child-Care Centers. The 
health and safety requirements correlate to some of the train-
ing topics. The changes to the minimum standards support the 
health and safety requirements, including requiring operations to 
(1) obtain food allergy emergency plans for children with known 
food allergies, post a list of food allergies at the operation, and 
carry the child's emergency plan on field trips; and (2) use, store, 
and dispose of hazardous materials as recommended by the 
manufacturer. 

The summary of the changes are: 

The amendments to §746.401: (1) adds a list of each child's 
food allergies (with a parent's permission) to a licensed child-
care center's posting requirements; (2) updates the name of the 

Parent Notification Poster, and (3) makes other wording changes 
for consistency. 

The amendment to §746.403: (1) clarifies that the list of each 
child's food allergies must be posted (with a parent's permis-
sion) where food is prepared and in each room where the child 
may spend time; and (2) deletes the posting information about 
an emergency evacuation and relocation plan because it is du-
plicative. 

The amendment to §746.605 adds a requirement for centers to 
obtain a completed food allergy emergency plan before admitting 
a child into care, if applicable; and if a parent wants the informa-
tion posted, permission from the parent to post the information. 

The amendment to §746.901 updates a cite and makes the lan-
guage consistent. 

The amendments to §746.1303: (1) clarifies the wording to be 
consistent with the current wording of the operational policies 
rule; (2) adds components that must be addressed in the 
overview of prevention, recognition, and reporting of child abuse 
and neglect; and (3) requires centers to share the emergency 
preparedness plan with all employees. 

The amendment to §746.1305 adds six topics that must be cov-
ered in the pre-service training of caregivers hired after Septem-
ber 1, 2016; and updates the existing language for a current 
training topic. 

The amendment to §746.1307 clarifies when a caregiver is ex-
empt from pre-service training. 

The amendments to §746.1309: (1) adds six topics that must 
be covered in the annual training of caregivers; (2) deletes a 
redundant paragraph about transportation safety training; and 
(3) increases from 50% to 80% the amount of annual training 
hours that may be obtained through self-instructional training. 

The amendments to §746.1311: (1) adds six topics that must 
be covered in the annual training for child-care center directors; 
(2) deletes a redundant paragraph about transportation safety 
training; and (3) increases from 50% to 80% the amount of an-
nual training hours that may be obtained through self-instruc-
tional training. 

The amendment to §746.3001 adds the requirement that care-
givers must have a copy of a child's food allergy emergency plan 
and medications, if applicable, when going on field trips. 

The amendments to §746.3301: (1) adds that children must not 
be served foods identified on their food allergy emergency plan; 
and (2) deletes the requirement "you must not use food as . 
. . punishment", because this requirement is already noted in 
§746.2805. 

The amendment to §746.3407 requires a child-care center 
to use, store, and dispose of hazardous materials as recom-
mended by the manufacturer. 

The amendment to §746.3425 clarifies that caregivers must fol-
low universal precautions as outlined by the CDC when handling 
bodily fluids that may contain blood, including placing gloves 
contaminated with blood in a sealed plastic bag and discarding 
them immediately. 

The amendment to §746.3505 clarifies that a child's soiled cloth-
ing must be placed in a sealed plastic bag and be sent home with 
the child. 
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New §746.3817 defines a food allergy emergency plan, including 
a list of foods a child is allergic to, possible symptoms, and what 
steps to take if there is an allergic reaction. 

New §746.3819 requires: (1) a food allergy emergency plan 
for each child with a known food allergy; and (2) the plan to 
be signed by the child's health care professional and a parent, 
posted if the parent consents, and taken on field trips. 

The amendment to §746.5201 clarifies in more detail what an 
emergency preparedness plan is by distinguishing between an 
evacuation, relocation, and sheltering. 

The amendments to §746.5202 adds to the requirements for an 
emergency preparedness plan to also include: (1) the staff re-
sponsibility in a sheltering emergency for the orderly movement 
of children to a designated location within the center where chil-
dren should gather; (2) how staff will continue to care for children 
until each child has been released; and (3) how children will be 
reunified with their parents at evacuation, relocation, or when 
sheltering is lifted. 

The repeal of §746.5203 is because all of the information is al-
ready included in §746.1303(4) and §746.507. 

The amendment to §746.5205 adds the "sheltering" language 
for clarification. 

The amendment to §746.5207 clarifies the wording of an emer-
gency evacuation and relocation diagram and where the diagram 
should be posted. 

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that 
for the first five-year period the proposed sections will be in effect 
there will be no fiscal implications for state or local government 
as a result of enforcing or administering the sections. 

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the sections are in effect the public benefit anticipated as 
a result of enforcing the sections will be that: (1) DFPS will be 
in compliance with the Child Care and Development Block Grant 
Act of 2014; (2) there will be clarification regarding the health and 
safety requirements and training on those requirements; and (3) 
there will be a reduced risk to children. 

There is an anticipated economic cost for persons required to 
comply with some of the proposed rule changes. The proposed 
changes are anticipated to have an adverse impact on busi-
nesses, including small and micro-businesses. The proposed 
changes will impact Licensed Child-Care Centers. According to 
the FY 2015 DFPS Annual Report and Data Book as of August 
31, 2015 there were 7,888 Licensed Child-Care Centers. 

Chapter 2006 of the Government Code defines a small business 
as one that is for-profit, independently owned, and has fewer 
than 100 employees or less than six million dollars in annual 
gross receipts. A small business that has no more than 20 em-
ployees is also defined as a micro-business. A 2010 survey con-
ducted by CCL indicated that approximately 55% of Licensed 
Child Care Centers are for profit businesses, 70% are indepen-
dently owned, 98% have fewer than 100 employees, and 68% 
have fewer than 20 employees. 

The fiscal impact to these centers primarily results from addi-
tional staff time to develop or modify curriculum. 

Licensing staff developed the methodologies used to calculate 
the fiscal impact of these rules. The impacts were calculated us-
ing cost research conducted by staff and assumptions regarding 
child-care practices. The key assumptions and methodologies 

are described in detail below, as these underlie the individual 
impact calculations for each rule that are projected to have a fis-
cal impact on at least some centers. 

For Licensed Child-Care Centers, the staff time required to com-
ply with the standards will impact Directors. For use in this im-
pact analysis, DFPS will use the following mean wages that were 
obtained from the Texas Workforce Commission's website for 
Occupational Wages based on 2014 estimates: For all Directors, 
DFPS is using a $24.27 per hour mean wage from the Occupa-
tional Title of Education Administrator, Preschool and Childcare 
Center. 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §746.1305(c). This section adds six 
additional topics that must be covered in the pre-service training 
for caregivers hired on or after September 1, 2016. One of the 
six topics is precautions in transporting children and is only re-
quired for centers that transport children whose chronological or 
developmental age is younger than nine years old. There is no 
increase in the number of pre-service training hours required; 
there is only a change in the content of the required training. 
Any costs associated with the rule change depends on whether 
a center pays for outside training, utilizes free training in the com-
munity, or provides in-house training to the caregivers. For cen-
ters that: 

(1) Pay for outside training to obtain pre-service training for care-
givers, there are no additional costs associated with this change 
in training content; 

(2) Utilize free training in the community (for example AgriLife 
training modules) to obtain pre-service training for caregivers, 
the only additional costs with this change in training content re-
lates to the new topic regarding precautions in transporting chil-
dren. For example, the relevant AgriLife training modules that 
could be used to comply with five of the six additional topics are 
free. However, the AgriLife training module relating to transport-
ing children has a $14.00 cost. Therefore, it is anticipated that 
each center that transports children whose chronological or de-
velopmental age is younger that nine years old will need to pay 
the $14.00 costs for the transportation module for each care-
giver; and 

(3) Provide in-house pre-service training to caregivers, there are 
costs associated with modifying their current pre-service curricu-
lum for these six topics. However, the time to modify the curricu-
lum is not anticipated to be extensive, because the center will 
have already developed new curriculum for annual training on 
these six topics, see "Fiscal Impact for Proposed §746.1309(f)". 
It is anticipated that a director, or curriculum developer that is 
similarly paid, will spend approximately 20 hours to modify the 
pre-service training curriculum. Therefore, the approximate one-
time cost to modify the pre-service training curriculum is $485.40 
(20 X $24.27). 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §746.1309(f). This section adds six 
additional topics that must be covered in the annual training for 
caregivers. There is no increase in the number of annual train-
ing hours required; there is only a change in the content of the 
required training. Any costs associated with the rule change de-
pends on whether a center pays for outside training, utilizes free 
training in the community, or provides in-house training to the 
caregivers. For centers that: 

(1) Pay for outside training or utilize free training in the commu-
nity to obtain annual training for caregivers, there are no addi-
tional costs associated with this change in training content; and 
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(2) Provide annual in-house training to caregivers, there are 
costs associated with centers developing new curriculum for 
these six topics. This section does not mandate a time frame for 
training on these six topics. However, for purposes of estimating 
a cost for developing training on these topics, it is assumed that 
training on these six topics will be two to three hours. A common 
industry standard is 40 hours to develop one hour of curriculum 
for face-to-face training. It is anticipated that a director, or cur-
riculum developer that is similarly paid, will spend an average of 
80 to 120 hours to develop the two to three hour curriculum on 
these six topics. Therefore, the approximate one-time cost for 
the development of the annual curriculum is between $1,941.60 
(80 X $24.27) and $2,912.40 (120 X $24.27). 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §746.1311(f). This section adds six 
additional topics that must be covered in the annual training for 
a child-care center director. There is no increase in the num-
ber of annual training hours required; there is only a change in 
the content of the required training. For centers that pay for out-
side training or utilize free training in the community to obtain 
annual training for a director, there are no additional costs as-
sociated with this change in training content. For centers that 
provide annual in-house training to directors, there are costs as-
sociated with centers developing new curriculum for these six 
topics. However, the center will have already developed the 
same curriculum for caregivers in response to §746.1309, see 
"Fiscal Impact for Proposed §746.1309(f)". Therefore, CCL as-
sumes there will be no additional costs associated with this rule 
change. 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis: A regulatory flexibility analysis 
is not required for the proposed rules with fiscal implications be-
cause the proposed rules are specifically required by federal law 
(The Child Care and Development Block Grant of 2014). There-
fore, the proposed rules are consistent with the health and safety 
of children, whom the law was intended to protect. 

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed sections do not re-
strict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that would 
otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, there-
fore, do not constitute a taking under §2007.043, Government 
Code. 

Questions about the content of the proposal may be directed 
to Gerry Williams at (512) 438-5559 in DFPS's Child Care Li-
censing Division. Electronic comments may be submitted to 
CCLRules@dfps.state.tx.us. Written comments on the proposal 
may be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Services-551, 
Department of Family and Protective Services E-611, P.O. Box 
149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, within 30 days of publication 
in the Texas Register. 

SUBCHAPTER B. ADMINISTRATION AND 
COMMUNICATION 
DIVISION 3. REQUIRED POSTINGS 
40 TAC §746.401, §746.403 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 

governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§746.401. What items must I post at my child-care center at all times? 

You must post the following items: 

(1) - (3) (No change.) 

(4) Your emergency [Emergency and] evacuation and relo-
cation diagram as specified in §746.5207 of this title (relating to Must 
I have an emergency evacuation and relocation diagram?) [plans]; 

(5) - (6) (No change.) 

(7) The Licensing Parent Notification Poster; [Notice of 
Availability for Review of]: 

[(A) The most recent fire inspection report;] 

[(B) The most recent sanitation inspection report;] 

[(C) The most recent gas inspection report, if applica-
ble; and] 

[(D) The Licensing minimum standards applicable for 
child-care centers;] 

(8) (No change.) 

(9) A list entitled "Current Employees." The list must be at 
least 8 1/2 inches by 11 inches in size, printed legibly, and must include 
each employee's first and last name; [and] 

(10) A list of each child's food allergies, with a parent's 
permission as specified in §746.605(16) of this title (relating to What 
admission information must I obtain for each child?); and 

(11) [(10)] Any other Licensing notices with specific in-
structions to post the notice. 

§746.403. When and where must these items be posted? 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) With the permission of the child's parent, you must post a 
list of each child's food allergies where you prepare or serve food and 
in each room where the child may spend time. The posting must be in a 
place where employees may easily view it. [Emergency and evacuation 
relocation plans must be posted in each room used by children.] 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602214 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER C. RECORD KEEPING 
DIVISION 1. RECORDS OF CHILDREN 
40 TAC §746.605 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§746.605. What admission information must I obtain for each child? 

You must obtain at least the following information before admitting a 
child to care: 

(1) - (13) (No change.) 

(14) The name and telephone number of the school that a 
school-age child attends, unless the operation is located at the child's 
school; [and] 

(15) Permission for a school-age child to ride a bus, [or] 
walk to or from school or home, or to be released to the care of a sibling 
under 18 years old, if applicable; and[.] 

(16) A completed food allergy emergency plan for the 
child, if applicable, and if a parent wants the information posted, 
permission from a parent to post the child's allergy information. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602215 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

DIVISION 4. PERSONNEL RECORDS 
40 TAC §746.901 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§746.901. What information must I maintain in my personnel 
records? 
You must have the following records at the child-care center and avail-
able for review during hours of operation for each employee, caregiver, 
substitute, and volunteer as specified in this chapter: 

(1) - (9) (No change.) 

(10) A statement signed and dated by the employee verify-
ing the date the employee attended training during orientation that in-
cludes an overview of your policy on the prevention, recognition, and 
reporting of child [preventing and responding to] abuse and neglect 
[of children as] outlined in §746.1303 of this title (relating to What 
must [should] orientation for employees at [to] my child-care center 
include?). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602216 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER D. PERSONNEL 
DIVISION 4 PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT 
40 TAC §§746.1303, 746.1305, 746.1307, 746.1309, 746.1311 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§746.1303. What must [should] orientation for employees at [to] my 
child-care center include? 
Your orientation for employees must include at least the following: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) An overview of your [Your center's] operational poli-
cies, including discipline[,] and guidance practices[,] and procedures 
for the release of children; 

(3) An overview of your policy on the prevention, recog-
nition, and reporting of child [preventing and responding to] abuse and 
neglect, including: [of children;] 

(A) Factors indicating a child is at risk of abuse or ne-
glect; 
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(B) Warning signs indicating a child may be a victim of 
abuse or neglect; 

(C) Internal procedures for reporting child abuse or ne-
glect; and 

(D) Community organizations that have training pro-
grams available to child-care center staff members, children, and par-
ents; 

(4) An overview of the [The] procedures to follow in han-
dling emergencies, which includes sharing the emergency preparedness 
plan with all employees. Emergencies may include, but are not limited 
to, fire, explosion, tornado, toxic fumes, volatile persons, and severe 
injury or illness of a child or adult; and 

(5) The [use and] location and use of fire extinguishers and 
first-aid equipment. 

§746.1305. What must be covered in pre-service training for care-
givers? 

(a) Pre-service training for caregivers must cover the follow-
ing areas: 

(1) - (6) (No change.) 

(7) Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable 
diseases, including immunizations. 

(b) If a caregiver provides care for children younger than 24 
months of age, one hour of that caregiver's pre-service training must 
cover the following topics: 

(1) Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome 
and abusive head trauma; 

(2) Understanding and using safe sleep practices and pre-
venting [Preventing] sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS); and 

(3) (No change.) 

(c) Pre-service training for caregivers you hire on or after 
September 1, 2016, must also cover the following areas: 

(1) The emergency preparedness plan for your center; 

(2) Administering medication, if applicable, including 
compliance with §746.3803 of this title (relating to What authorization 
must I obtain before administering a medication to a child in my 
care?); 

(3) Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food 
or an allergic reaction; 

(4) Understanding building and physical premises safety, 
including identification and protection from hazards that can cause bod-
ily injury such as electric hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic; 

(5) Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materi-
als including compliance with §746.3425 of this title (relating to Must 
caregivers wear gloves when handling blood or bodily fluids contain-
ing blood?); and 

(6) Precautions in transporting children if your center 
transports a child whose chronological or developmental age is 
younger than nine years old. 

§746.1307. Are any caregivers exempt from the pre-service training? 
Yes. A caregiver is exempt from the pre-service training requirements 
if the caregiver [he] has: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) Documentation of at least 24 clock hours of training in 
the areas specified in §746.1305 of this title (relating to What must be 

covered in pre-service training for caregivers?) at another regulated 
child-care center. 

§746.1309. How many clock hours of annual training must be ob-
tained by caregivers? 

(a) Each caregiver must obtain at least 24 clock hours of train-
ing each year relevant to the age of the children for whom the caregiver 
provides care. 

(b) The 24 clock hours of annual training are exclusive of any 
requirements for orientation, pre-service training [requirements], CPR 
and first aid training, transportation safety training, and high school 
child-care work-study classes. 

(c) [(b)] At least six clock hours of the annual training hours 
must be in one or more of the following topics: 

(1) Child growth and development; 

(2) Guidance and discipline; 

(3) Age-appropriate curriculum; and 

(4) Teacher-child interaction. 

(d) [(c)] At least one clock hour of the annual training hours 
must focus on prevention, recognition, and reporting of child abuse and 
neglect, including: 

(1) Factors indicating a child is at risk for abuse or neglect; 

(2) Warning signs indicating a child may be a victim of 
abuse or neglect; 

(3) Internal procedures for reporting child abuse or neglect; 
and 

(4) Community organizations that have training programs 
available to child-care center staff members, children, and parents. 

(e) If a caregiver provides care for children younger than 24 
months of age, one clock hour of the annual training hours must cover 
the following topics: 

(1) Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome 
and abusive head trauma; 

(2) Understanding and using safe sleep practices and pre-
venting sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS); and 

(3) Understanding early childhood brain development. 

(f) While there are no clock hour requirements for the topics 
in this subsection, the annual training hours must also include training 
on the following topics: 

(1) Emergency preparedness; 

(2) Preventing the spread of communicable diseases, in-
cluding immunizations; 

(3) Administering medication, if applicable, including 
compliance with §746.3803 of this title (relating to What authorization 
must I obtain before administering a medication to a child in my 
care?); 

(4) Preventing and controlling and responding to emergen-
cies due to food or an allergic reaction; 

(5) Understanding building and physical premises safety, 
including identification and protection from hazards that can cause bod-
ily injury such as electric hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic; 
and 

(6) Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materi-
als including compliance with §746.3425 of this title (relating to Must 
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caregivers wear gloves when handling blood or bodily fluids contain-
ing blood?). 

(g) [(d)] The remaining [clock hours of] annual training hours 
must be in one or more of the following topics: 

(1) Care of children with special needs; 

(2) Child health (for example, nutrition and activity); 

(3) Safety; 

(4) Risk management; 

(5) Identification and care of ill children; 

(6) Cultural diversity for children and families; 

(7) Professional development (for example, effective com-
munication with families and[,] time and stress management); 

[(8) Preventing the spread of communicable diseases;] 

(8) [(9)] Topics relevant to the particular age group the 
caregiver is assigned (for example, caregivers assigned to an infant or 
toddler group should receive training on biting and toilet training); 

(9) [(10)] Planning developmentally appropriate learning 
activities; 

(10) [(11)] Observation and assessment; 

(11) [(12)] Attachment and responsive care giving; and 

(12) [(13)] Minimum standards and how they apply to the 
caregiver. 

[(e) If a caregiver provides care for children younger than 24 
months of age, one hour of that caregiver's annual training must cover 
the following topics:] 

[(1) Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome;] 

[(2) Preventing sudden infant death syndrome; and] 

[(3) Understanding early childhood brain development.] 

[(f) A caregiver who transports a child whose chronological or 
developmental age is younger than nine years old must meet additional 
training requirements, as outlined in §746.1316 of this title (relating 
to What additional training must a person have in order to transport a 
child in care?).] 

(h) [(g)] No [A caregiver may obtain no] more than 80% [50%] 
of the annual training hours may be obtained through self-instructional 
training. 

§746.1311. How many clock hours of training must my child-care 
center director obtain each year? 

(a) The child-care center director must obtain at least 30 clock 
hours of training each year relevant to the age of the children for whom 
the child-care center provides care. 

(b) The 30 clock hours of annual training are exclusive of any 
requirements for [CPR and first aid,] orientation, pre-service training, 
CPR and first aid training [requirements], and transportation safety 
training. 

(c) [(b)] At least six clock hours of the annual training hours 
must be in one or more of the following topics: 

(1) Child growth and development; 

(2) Guidance and discipline; 

(3) Age-appropriate curriculum; 

(4) Teacher-child interaction; and 

(5) Serving children with special care needs. 

(d) [(c)] At least one clock hour of the annual training hours 
must focus on prevention, recognition, and reporting of child abuse and 
neglect, including: 

(1) Factors indicating a child is at risk for abuse or neglect; 

(2) Warning signs indicating a child may be a victim of 
abuse or neglect; 

(3) Internal procedures for reporting child abuse or neglect; 
and 

(4) Community organizations that have training programs 
available to child-care center staff members, children, and parents. 

(e) If the center provides care for children younger than 24 
months of age, one hour of the annual training hours must cover the 
following topics: 

(1) Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome 
and abusive head trauma; 

(2) Understanding and using safe sleep practices and pre-
venting sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS); and 

(3) Understanding early childhood brain development. 

(f) While there are no clock hour requirements for the topics 
in this subsection, the annual training hours must also include training 
on the following topics: 

(1) Emergency preparedness; 

(2) Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable 
diseases, including immunizations; 

(3) Administering medication, if applicable, including 
compliance with §746.3803 of this title (relating to What authorization 
must I obtain before administering a medication to a child in my 
care?); 

(4) Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food 
or an allergic reaction; 

(5) Understanding building and physical premises safety, 
including identification and protection from hazards that can cause bod-
ily injury such as electric hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic; 
and 

(6) Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materi-
als including compliance with §746.3425 of this title (relating to Must 
caregivers wear gloves when handling blood or bodily fluids contain-
ing blood?). 

(g) [(d)] A director with: 

(1) Five [five] or fewer years of experience as a designated 
director of a child-care center must [also] complete at least six clock 
hours of the annual training hours in management techniques, leader-
ship, or staff supervision; or[.] 

(2) [(e)] More [A director with more] than five years of 
experience as a designated director of a child-care center must complete 
at least three clock hours of the annual training hours in management 
techniques, leadership, or staff supervision. 

[(f) If the center provides care for children younger than 24 
months of age, one hour of the annual training must cover the following 
topics:] 

[(1) Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome;] 

[(2) Preventing sudden infant death syndrome; and] 
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[(3) Understanding early childhood brain development.] 

(h) [(g)] The remainder of the 30 clock hours of annual train-
ing must be selected from the training topics specified in §746.1309(g) 
[§746.1309(d)] of this title (relating to How many clock hours of an-
nual training must be obtained by caregivers?). 

[(h) If the center transports a child younger than nine years old, 
the director must complete two hours of annual training on transporta-
tion safety in addition to the other training requirements.] 

(i) The director may obtain clock hours or CEUs from the same 
sources as caregivers. 

(j) Training hours may not be earned for presenting training to 
others[, with the exception of up to two hours of training on transporta-
tion safety]. 

(k) No more than 80% [50%] of the annual training hours may 
be obtained through self-instructional training. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602217 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER N. FIELD TRIPS 
40 TAC §746.3001 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§746.3001. May I take children away from my child-care center for 
field trips? 

Yes. You must ensure the safety of all children on field trips or excur-
sions and during any transportation provided by the child-care center. 
Anytime you take a child on [away from the child-care center for] a 
field trip, you must comply with each of the following requirements: 

(1) - (4) (No change.) 

(5) Caregivers must have a copy of a child's food allergy 
emergency plan and allergy medications, if applicable; 

(6) [(5)] Each child must wear a shirt, nametag, or other 
identification listing the name of the child-care center and the child-care 
center's telephone number; 

(7) [(6)] Each caregiver must be easily identifiable by all 
children on the field trip by wearing a hat, child-care center tee-shirt, 
brightly-colored clothes, or other easily spotted identification; 

(8) [(7)] Each caregiver supervising a field trip must have 
transportation available, [or] a communication device such as a cellular 
phone, message pager, or two-way radio available, or an alternate plan 
for transportation at the field-trip location in case of emergency; and 

(9) [(8)] Caregivers with training in CPR and first aid with 
rescue breathing and choking must be present on the field trip. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602218 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER Q. NUTRITION AND FOOD 
SERVICE 
40 TAC §746.3301 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§746.3301. What are the basic requirements for snack and meal-
times? 

(a) You must serve all children ready for table food regular 
meals and morning and afternoon snacks as specified in this subchapter. 

(b) [(1)] If breakfast is served, a morning snack is not required. 

(c) [(2)] A child must not go more than three hours without a 
meal or snack being offered, unless the child is sleeping. 

(d) [(3)] If your child-care center is participating in the Child 
and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) administered by the Texas 
Department of Agriculture, you may elect to meet those requirements 
rather than those specified in this section [subsection]. 

(e) [(b)] You must ensure a supply of drinking water is always 
available to each child and is served at every snack, mealtime, and after 
active play in a safe and sanitary manner. 

(f) [(c)] You must not serve beverages with added sugars, such 
as carbonated beverages, fruit punch, or sweetened milk except for a 
special occasion such as a holiday or birthday celebration. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

(g) [(d)] You must not use food as a reward [or punishment]. 

(h) You must not serve a child a food identified on the child's 
food allergy emergency plan as specified in §746.3817 of this title (re-
lating to What is a food allergy emergency plan?). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602219 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER R. HEALTH PRACTICES 
DIVISION 1. ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 
40 TAC §746.3407, §746.3425 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§746.3407. What steps must I take to ensure a healthy environment 
for children at my child-care center? 

You must clean, repair, and maintain the building, grounds, and equip-
ment to protect the health of the children. This includes, but is not 
limited to: 

(1) - (10) (No change.) 

(11) Sanitizing table tops, furniture, and other similar 
equipment used by children when soiled or contaminated with matter 
such as food, body secretions, or excrement; [and] 

(12) Clearly marking cleaning supplies and other toxic ma-
terials and keeping them separate from food and inaccessible to chil-
dren; and[.] 

(13) Using, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials 
as recommended by the manufacturer. 

§746.3425. Must caregivers wear gloves when handling blood or 
bodily fluids containing blood? 

Yes. Caregivers must follow universal precautions outlined by the Cen-
ters for Disease Control (CDC) when handling blood, vomit, or other 
bodily fluids that may contain blood including: 

(1) Using [Use] disposable, nonporous gloves [when han-
dling blood, vomit, or other bodily fluids that may contain blood]; 

(2) Placing gloves contaminated with blood in a sealed 
plastic bag and discarding them immediately; 

(3) [(2)] Discarding all other [Discard the] gloves immedi-
ately after one use; and 

(4) [(3)] Washing [Wash] hands after using and disposing 
of the gloves. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602220 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

DIVISION 2. DIAPER CHANGING 
40 TAC §746.3505 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§746.3505. What must I do to prevent the spread of germs when dia-
pering children? 

(a) You must wash your hands as specified in[. Refer to] 
§746.3419 of this title (relating to How must children and employees 
wash their hands?). 

(b) You must wash the infant's hands or see that the child's 
hands are washed after each diaper change as specified in[. See] 
§746.3421 of this title (relating to How must I wash an infant's hands?). 

(c) - (f) (No change.) 

(g) You must place soiled clothing in a sealed plastic bag to be 
sent home with the child. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602221 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER S. SAFETY PRACTICES 
DIVISION 2. MEDICATIONS AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE 
40 TAC §746.3817, §746.3819 
The new sections are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The new sections implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§746.3817. What is a food allergy emergency plan? 
A food allergy emergency plan is an individualized plan prepared by 
the child's health care professional that includes: 

(1) a list of each food the child is allergic to; 

(2) possible symptoms if exposed to a food on the list; and 

(3) the steps to take if the child has an allergic reaction. 

§746.3819. When must I have a food allergy emergency plan for a 
child? 
You must have a food allergy emergency plan for each child with a 
known food allergy. The child's heath care professional and parent 
must sign and date the plan. You must keep a copy of the plan in the 
child's file, post it as specified in §746.403(b) of this title (relating to 
When and where must these items be posted?), and take it on any field 
trip that the child is on. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602222 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER W. FIRE SAFETY AND 
EMERGENCY PRACTICES 
DIVISION 2. EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS 

40 TAC §§746.5201, 746.5202, 746.5205, 746.5207 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§746.5201. What is an emergency preparedness plan? 

An emergency preparedness plan is designed to ensure the safety of 
children during an emergency by addressing staff responsibility and fa-
cility readiness with respect to emergency evacuation, relocation, and 
sheltering. The plan addresses the types of responses to emergencies 
most likely to occur in your area, including: [and relocation. The plan 
addresses the types of emergencies most likely to occur in your area 
including but not limited to natural events such as tornadoes, floods 
or hurricanes, health events such as medical emergencies, communica-
ble disease outbreak, and human-caused events such as intruder with 
weapon, explosion, or chemical spill.] 

(1) An evacuation of the children and caregivers to a des-
ignated safe area in an emergency such as a fire or gas leak; 

(2) A relocation of the children and caregivers to a desig-
nated, alternate shelter in an emergency such as a flood, a hurricane, 
medical emergency, or communicable disease outbreak; and 

(3) The sheltering of children and caregivers within the 
center to temporarily shelter them from situations such as a tornado, 
volatile person on the premises, or an endangering person in the area. 

§746.5202. What must my emergency preparedness plan include? 

Your emergency preparedness plan must include written procedures 
for: 

(1) Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering of children in-
cluding: 

(A) The [That in an emergency, the] first responsibility 
of staff in an emergency evacuation or relocation is to move the children 
to a designated safe area or alternate shelter known to all employees, 
caregivers, parents, and volunteers; 

(B) How children will be evacuated or relocated to the 
designated safe area or alternate shelter, including specific procedures 
for evacuating and relocating children who are under 24 months of age, 
who have limited mobility, or who otherwise may need assistance in 
an emergency, such as children who have mental, visual, or hearing 
impairments; 

(C) The staff responsibility in a sheltering emergency 
for the orderly movement of children to a designated location within 
the center where children should gather; 

(D) [(C)] An emergency evacuation and relocation dia-
gram as outlined in §746.5207 of this title (relating to Must I have an 
emergency evacuation and relocation diagram?); 

(E) [(D)] Name and address of the alternate shelter 
away from the center you will use as needed; and 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

(F) [(E)] How children in attendance at the time of the 
emergency will be accounted for at the designated safe area or alternate 
shelter. 

(2) Communication, including: 

(A) The emergency telephone number that is on file 
with us; and 

(B) (No change.) 

(3) How your staff will evacuate and relocate with the es-
sential documentation including: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(C) The child tracking system information for children 
in care;[.] 

(4) How your staff will continue to care for the children 
until each child has been released; and 

(5) How you will reunify the children with their parents at 
evacuation, relocation, or when sheltering is lifted. 

§746.5205. Must I practice my emergency preparedness plan 
[plans]? 
Yes, the following components of your center's emergency prepared-
ness plan [plans] must be practiced as specified below: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) You must practice a severe weather or sheltering drill 
at least once every three months; and 

(3) You must document these drills, including the date of 
the drill, time of the drill, and length of the time for the evacuation, [or] 
relocation, or sheltering to take place. 

§746.5207. Must I have an emergency evacuation and relocation di-
agram? 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) You must post an emergency evacuation and relocation 
diagram [plan] in each room the children use. You must post the 
diagram [plan in a prominent place] near the entrance and/or exit of the 
room and where children and employees may easily view the diagram. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602223 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
40 TAC §746.5203 
The repeal is proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC) 
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that 
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall 
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the 
health and human services agencies, including the Department 
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study 
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and 

the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department. 

The repeal implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and portions 
of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 2014, 
which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§746.5203. With whom must I share this plan? 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602224 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

CHAPTER 747. MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 
CHILD-CARE HOMES 
The Health and Human Services Commission proposes, 
on behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Ser-
vices (DFPS), amendments to §§747.401, 747.605, 747.901, 
747.1007, 747.1107, 747.1119, 747.1309, 747.1401, 747.1403, 
747.2901, 747.3101, 747.3203, 747.3221, 747.3307, 747.5001, 
747.5003, and 747.5005; new §§747.1301, 747.1303, 
747.1305, 747.1307, 747.3617, and 747.3619; and repeal of 
§§747.1109, 747.1301, 747.1303, 747.1305, 747.1307, and 
747.2713 in Chapter 747, concerning Minimum Standards for 
Child-Care Homes. The purpose of the amendments, new 
sections and repeals is to implement needed changes to comply 
with the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 2014. 

The Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) Act of 
2014 (the "Act") is the first comprehensive revision of the Child 
Care and Development Fund (CCDF) program since 1998. (The 
CCDF is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq.) The Texas Workforce 
Commission (TWC) administers the CCDF, which is the primary 
federal funding source devoted to providing low-income families 
with access to child care. The Act makes significant reforms to 
the CCDF programs to raise the health, safety, and quality of 
child care. The Act does this by mandating that states comply 
with a multitude of additional requirements in order to continue 
receiving CCDF funding. Although TWC is the lead agency for 
determining eligibility and distributing the subsidy monies, DFPS 
is the agency responsible for licensing child care operations, es-
tablishing health and safety regulations, and monitoring eligible 
operations for compliance. Many of the Act's additional require-
ments relate to the responsibilities of DFPS. The provisions of 
the Act that have a significant impact on Child Care Licensing 
(CCL) and this chapter relate to the following topics: health and 
safety requirements and training on those requirements. 

The changes related to training will impact Licensed Child-Care 
Homes (LCCHs) and Registered Child-Car Homes (RCCHs). 
The new health and safety training requirements mandated by 
the Act include the following topics for pre-service training and 
annual training: (1) food allergies; (2) handling, storing, and dis-
posing of hazardous materials; (3) more robust emergency pre-
paredness plans; (4) administering medication; and (5) building 
and physical premises safety. 
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There are also some topics required by the Act that are already 
required in annual training, but are not currently required in the 
orientation for LCCHs and RCCHs. These additional health and 
safety training requirements that have been added for orienta-
tion are as follows: (1) recognizing and preventing shaken baby 
syndrome; (2) understanding safe sleep practices; (3) under-
standing early childhood brain development; and (4) precau-
tions in transporting children if the home transports a child whose 
chronological or developmental age is younger than nine years 
old. 

In addition to the training requirements the Act increases health 
and safety requirements for LCCHs and RCCHs. The health and 
safety requirements correlate to some of the training topics. The 
changes to the minimum standards support the health and safety 
requirements, including requiring homes to: (1) obtain food al-
lergy emergency plans for children with known food allergies, 
post a list of food allergies at the home, and carry the child's 
emergency plan on field trips; and (2) use, store, and dispose of 
hazardous materials as recommended by the manufacturer. 

The summary of the changes are: 

The amendment to §747.401 adds a list of each child's food al-
lergies (with a parent's permission) to a home's posting require-
ments, and requires it to be posted where food is prepared and 
served and in a prominent place where caregivers may easily 
view it. 

The amendment to §747.605 adds a requirement for homes to 
obtain a completed food allergy emergency plan before admitting 
a child into care, if applicable, and if a parent wants the informa-
tion posted, permission from a parent to post the information. 

The amendment to §747.901 updates a cite and makes the lan-
guage consistent. 

The amendment to §747.1007 requires an additional qualifica-
tion for a primary caregiver of a RCCH to include proof of training 
on ten new topics. 

The amendment to §747.1107 requires an additional qualifica-
tion for a primary caregiver of a LCCH to include proof of training 
on ten new topics. 

The repeal of §747.1109 deletes an outdated grandfather rule. 

The amendment to §747.1119 corrects a cite. 

The repeal of §747.1301 moves the content of this rule to new 
§747.1303. 

New §747.1301: (1) includes the content of previous §747.1305; 
(2) clarifies the wording to be consistent with the current word-
ing of the operational policies rule; (3) adds components that 
must be addressed in the overview of prevention, recognition, 
and reporting of child abuse and neglect; and (4) adds nine new 
orientation topics for caregivers. 

The repeal of §747.1303 moves the content of this rule to new 
§747.1307. 

New §747.1303 includes the content of previous §747.1301. 

The repeal of §747.1305 moves the content of this rule to new 
§747.1301. 

New §747.1305: (1) includes the content of previous §747.1307; 
(2) adds six topics that must be covered in the annual training of 
caregivers; and (3) deletes a redundant paragraph about trans-
portation safety training. 

The repeal of §747.1307 moves the content of this rule to new 
§747.1305, with one minor modification. 

New §747.1307: (1) includes most of the content of previous 
§747.1303 with one minor modification; (2) deletes the pre-ap-
plication course content from previous §747.1303 because it is 
already required at §747.1007; and (3) adds a reference to the 
transportation safety training requirement. 

The amendment to §747.1309: (1) adds six topics that must 
be covered in the annual training of primary caregivers; and (2) 
deletes a redundant paragraph about transportation safety train-
ing. 

The amendment to §747.1401 updates some cites and clarifies 
the language in the rule. 

The amendment to §747.1403 deletes a reference to a rule and 
spells out all but one of the requirements of the deleted refer-
ence to include: (1) an overview of the home's policies; (2) an 
overview of child abuse and neglect, including reporting; (3) the 
procedures to follow in an emergency; and (4) the location and 
use of fire extinguishers and first-aid equipment. The deleted re-
quirement for an overview of the minimum standards is no longer 
needed, because this new rule only applies to household mem-
bers. 

The repeal of §747.2713 because the information is already in-
cluded in §747.503, §747.1301(2), and §747.1403(1). 

The amendment to §747.2901: (1) adds the requirement that 
caregivers must have a copy of a child's food allergy emergency 
plan and medications, if applicable, when going on field trips; 
and (2) makes the language consistent. 

The amendment to §747.3101: (1) adds that children must not 
be served foods identified on their food allergy emergency plan; 
and (2) deletes the requirement "you must not use food as . 
. . punishment", because this requirement is already noted in 
§747.2705. 

The amendment to §747.3203 clarifies that a child-care home 
must use, store, and dispose of hazardous materials as recom-
mended by the manufacturer. 

The amendment to §747.3221 clarifies that caregivers must fol-
low universal precautions as outlined by the CDC when handling 
bodily fluids that may contain blood, including placing gloves 
contaminated with blood in a sealed plastic bag and discarding 
them immediately. 

The amendment to §747.3307 clarifies that a child's soiled cloth-
ing must be placed in a sealed plastic bag and be sent home with 
the child. 

New §747.3617 defines a food allergy emergency plan, including 
a list of foods a child is allergic too, possible symptoms, and what 
steps to take if there is an allergic reaction. 

New §747.3619 requires: (1) a food allergy emergency plan 
for each child with a known food allergy; and (2) the plan to 
be signed by the child's health care professional and a parent, 
posted if the parent consents, and taken on field trips. 

The amendment to §747.5001 clarifies in more detail what an 
emergency preparedness plan is by distinguishing between an 
evacuation, relocation, and sheltering. 

The amendment to §747.5003 adds to the requirements for the 
emergency prepared plan to also include: (1) staff's responsibil-
ity in a sheltering emergency for the orderly movement of chil-
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dren to a designated location within the home where children 
should gather; (2) how staff will continue to care for children un-
til each child has been released; and (3) how children will be 
reunified with their parents at evacuation, relocation, or when 
sheltering is lifted. 

The amendment to §747.5005 adds the "sheltering" language 
for clarification. 

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that 
for the first five-year period the proposed sections will be in effect 
there will be no fiscal implications for state or local government 
as a result of enforcing or administering the sections. 

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the sections are in effect the public benefit anticipated as 
a result of enforcing the sections will be that: (1) DFPS will be 
in compliance with the Child Care and Development Block Grant 
Act of 2014; (2) there will be clarification of the health and safety 
requirements and training on those requirements; and (3) there 
will be a reduced risk to children. 

There is an anticipated economic cost for persons required to 
comply with some of the proposed rule changes. The proposed 
changes are anticipated to have an adverse impact on busi-
nesses, including small and micro-businesses. The proposed 
changes will impact LCCHs and RCCHs. According to the FY 
2015 DFPS Annual Report and Data Book as of August 31, 2015 
there were 1,720 LCCHs and 4,678 RCCHs. 

Chapter 2006 of the Government Code defines a small business 
as one that is for-profit, independently owned, and has fewer 
than 100 employees or less than six million dollars in annual 
gross receipts. A small business that has no more than 20 em-
ployees is also defined as a micro-business. CCL is assuming 
virtually all of the homes (both LLCHs and RCCHs) meet the def-
inition of a small and micro-business. 

The fiscal impact to these homes primarily results from (1) ad-
ditional staff time to attend trainings; and (2) additional Primary 
Caregiver time to develop or modify curriculum. 

Licensing staff developed the methodologies used to calculate 
the fiscal impact of these rules. The impacts were calculated us-
ing cost research conducted by staff and assumptions regarding 
child-care practices. The key assumptions and methodologies 
are described in detail below, as these underlie the individual 
impact calculations for each rule that are projected to have a fis-
cal impact on at least some homes. 

For LCCHs and RCCHs, the staff time required to comply with 
the standards will impact Primary Caregivers and other care-
givers. For use in this impact analysis, DFPS will use the follow-
ing mean wages that were obtained from the Texas Workforce 
Commission's website for Occupational Wages based on 2014 
estimates: (1) for Primary Caregivers DFPS is using a $24.27 
per hour mean wage from the Occupational Title of Education 
Administrator, Preschool and Childcare Center; and (2) for all 
caregivers (other than a Primary Caregiver) DFPS is using a 
$9.49 mean wage from the Occupational Title of Childcare Work-
ers. 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §747.1007. This section adds to the 
qualification requirements for primary caregivers in a RCCH (the 
primary caregiver is also the person that obtains the registration 
for the home) to include proof of training in ten different topics. 
One of the ten topics is precautions in transporting children and is 
only required for homes that transport children whose chronolog-
ical or developmental age is younger than nine years old. These 

qualifications will be needed before the primary caregiver will be 
able to obtain the registration. There are two possible costs as-
sociated with the trainings: the costs for the time it takes a pri-
mary caregiver to participate in the trainings, and the costs for the 
actual training. While attending or participating in these trainings 
will take some time, it is not assumed that the primary caregiver 
as the applicant will pay oneself for this time. These costs asso-
ciated with paying for the trainings are minimal, as well. There 
are free training modules available from AgriLife to cover all of 
the trainings except for the topic related to precautions in trans-
porting children. This particular topic will cost the primary care-
giver $14.00 to enroll in the training. 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §747.1107. This section adds to the 
qualification requirements for primary caregivers in a LCCH (the 
primary caregiver is also the person that obtains the license for 
the home) to include proof of training in ten different topics. One 
of the ten topics is precautions in transporting children and is only 
required for homes that transport children whose chronological 
or developmental age is younger than nine years old. These 
qualifications will be needed before the primary caregiver will be 
able to obtain the license. There are two possible costs associ-
ated with the trainings: the costs for the time it takes a primary 
caregiver to participate in the trainings, and the costs for the ac-
tual training. While attending or participating in these trainings 
will take some time, it is not assumed that the primary caregiver 
as the applicant will pay oneself for this time. These cost associ-
ated with paying for the trainings are minimal, as well. There are 
free training modules available from AgriLife to cover all of the 
trainings except for the topic related to precautions in transport-
ing children. This particular topic will cost the primary caregiver 
$14.00 to enroll in the training. 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §747.1301. This section adds nine 
topics that must be covered in the orientation for caregivers of 
homes. There are costs associated with modifying the current 
orientation to include these nine additional topics. This section 
does not mandate a time frame for training on these nine topics. 
However, for purposes of estimating a cost for developing orien-
tation on these topics, it is assumed that orientation on these six 
topics will be for three to four hours. A common industry standard 
is 40 hours to develop one hour of curriculum for face-to-face 
training. This same standard is being used to modify the orien-
tation. It is anticipated that a primary caregiver, or curriculum de-
veloper that is similarly paid, will spend an average of 120 to 160 
hours to develop the three to four hour orientation on these nine 
topics. Therefore, the approximate one-time cost for the devel-
opment of the orientation is between $2,912.40 (120 X $24.27) 
and $3,883.20 (160 X $24.27). (Note: It was not assumed that 
homes had already developed annual trainings on any of these 
topics, because in most homes it is assumed that annual train-
ings are obtained from outside sources.) 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §747.1305(e). This section adds six 
additional topics that must be covered in the annual training for 
caregivers. There is no increase in the number of annual train-
ing hours required; there is only a change in the content of the 
required training. Any costs associated with this rule change de-
pends on the type of home (licensed or registered) and whether 
a home pays for outside training, utilizes free training in the com-
munity, or provides in-house training to the caregivers. 

(1) For LCCHs that pay for outside training or utilize free training 
in the community to obtain the mandated 24 hours of annual 
training for caregivers, there are no additional costs associated 
with this change in training content. 

41 TexReg 3674 May 20, 2016 Texas Register 

http:3,883.20
http:2,912.40


(2) For RCCHs that pay for outside training or utilize free training 
in the community to obtain the mandated 15 hours of annual 
training for caregivers, there are possible costs with employees 
that may take more than the mandated 15 hours to comply with 
the six additional topics. For example, the training modules with 
AgriLife are two hours each. It is anticipated that five AgriLife 
modules will be needed to comply with the six additional topics. 
These ten hours (five modules X two hours each) of AgriLife 
training plus the already mandated six hours of annual training at 
§744.1309(c) and mandated one hour of training for caregivers 
of homes that provide care to children younger than 24 months at 
§744.1309(d), would mean that a caregiver would be taking 16 or 
17 hours of annual training instead of the 15 hours of mandated 
annual training. It is anticipated that each program would need 
to pay each caregiver $9.49 per hour for each additional training 
hour that is taken. It is anticipated that over time more training 
modules will be created that will have a shorter time frame for 
training on these six topics. When that happens, these costs 
would no longer be associated with this rule change; and 

(3) It is not assumed that many LCCHs and RCCHs provide di-
rect training to caregivers. However, if they do, there are costs 
associated with developing new curriculum for these six topics. 
This section does not mandate a time frame for training on these 
six topics. However, for purposes of estimating a cost for de-
veloping training on these topics, it is assumed that training on 
these six topics will be for two to three hours. A common indus-
try standard is 40 hours to develop one hour of curriculum for 
face-to-face training. It is anticipated that a primary caregiver, or 
curriculum developer that is similarly paid, will spend an average 
of 80 to 120 hours to develop the two to three hour curriculum 
on these six topics. Therefore, the approximate one-time cost for 
the development of the annual curriculum is between $1,941.60 
(80 X $24.27) and $2,912.40 (120 X $24.27). 

Fiscal Impact for Proposed §747.1309(e). This section adds 
six additional topics that must be covered in the annual train-
ing hours for a primary caregiver. There is no increase in the 
number of annual training hours required; there is only a change 
in the content of the required training. For homes that pay for 
outside training or utilize free training in the community to ob-
tain annual training for a primary caregiver, there are no addi-
tional costs associated with this change in training content. It 
is not assumed that many LCCHs and RCCHs provide direct 
training to caregivers. However, for homes that provide annual 
in-house training to primary caregivers, there are costs associ-
ated with developing new curriculum for these six topics. How-
ever, the home will have already developed the same curriculum 
for caregivers in response to §747.1305, see "Fiscal Impact for 
Proposed §747.1305(e)". Therefore, CCL assumes there will be 
no additional costs associated with this rule change. 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis: A regulatory flexibility analysis is 
not required for the proposed rules with fiscal implications be-
cause the proposed rules are specifically required by state law 
(S.B. 1496) and federal law (The Child Care and Development 
Block Grant of 2014). Therefore, the proposed rules are consis-
tent with the health and safety of children, whom the laws were 
intended to protect. 

The proposed change does not impose new requirements on any 
business and does not require the purchase of any new equip-
ment or any increased staff time in order to comply. There is no 
anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to com-
ply with the sections. 

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed sections does not 
restrict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that would 
otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, there-
fore, do not constitute a taking under §2007.043, Government 
Code. 

Questions about the content of the proposal may be directed 
to Gerry Williams at (512) 438-5559 in DFPS's Child Care Li-
censing Division. Electronic comments may be submitted to 
CCLRules@dfps.state.tx.us. Written comments on the proposal 
may be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Services-551, 
Department of Family and Protective Services E-611, P.O. Box 
149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, within 30 days of publication 
in the Texas Register. 

SUBCHAPTER B. ADMINISTRATION AND 
COMMUNICATION 
DIVISION 3. REQUIRED POSTINGS 
40 TAC §747.401 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.401. What items must I post at my child-care home during hours 
of operation? 

(a) You must post the following in a prominent and publicly 
accessible place where parents and others may easily view them during 
all hours of operation: 

(1) The child-care home's license or registration certificate; 

(2) The letter or form from the most recent Licensing in-
spection or investigation; 

(3) The Licensing notice Keeping Children Safe; 

(4) Telephone numbers specified in this division; 

(5) A list of your employees, as defined in §745.21[(16)] 
of this title (relating to What do the following word and terms mean 
when used in this chapter?). The list must be printed on paper at least 8 
1/2 inches by 11 inches in size and must include each employee's first 
and last name; and 

(6) Any other Licensing notices requiring posting. 

(b) You must post a list of each child's food allergies, with a 
parent's permission as specified in §747.605(16) of this title (relating 
to What admission information must I obtain for each child?), where 
you prepare and serve food and in a prominent place where caregivers 
may easily view the list. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602225 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER C. RECORD KEEPING 
DIVISION 1. RECORDS OF CHILDREN 
40 TAC §747.605 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.605. What admission information must I obtain for [on] each 
child? 

You must obtain at least the following information before admitting a 
child to care: 

(1) - (13) (No change.) 

(14) The name and telephone number of the school a 
school-age child attends; [and] 

(15) Permission for a school-age child to ride a bus, [or] 
walk to or from school or home, or to be released to the care of a sibling 
under 18 years old, if applicable; and[.] 

(16) A completed food allergy emergency plan for the 
child, if applicable, and if a parent wants the information posted, 
permission from a parent to post the child's allergy information. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602226 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

DIVISION 4. RECORDS ON CAREGIVERS 
AND HOUSEHOLD MEMBERS 
40 TAC §747.901 

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.901. What information must I maintain in my personnel 
records? 

You must keep at least the following at the child-care home for each 
assistant caregiver and substitute caregiver, as specified in this chapter: 

(1) - (8) (No change.) 

(9) A statement signed and dated by the caregiver in a li-
censed child-care home verifying the date the caregiver attended train-
ing during orientation that includes an overview regarding the preven-
tion, recognition, and reporting [of symptoms] of child abuse[,] and 
neglect, as specified in §747.1301 of this title (relating to What must 
orientation for caregivers at my child-care home include? [and sexual 
abuse and the responsibility of reporting these as outlined in §747.1305 
of this title (relating to What should orientation to my child-care home 
include?)]. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602227 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER D. PERSONNEL 
DIVISION 1. PRIMARY CAREGIVER OF A 
REGISTERED CHILD-CARE HOME 
40 TAC §747.1007 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.1007. What qualifications must I meet to be the primary care-
giver of a registered child-care home? 

Except as otherwise provided in this division, you must: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2)	 Have a[:] 

[(A)] high [High] school diploma[;] or equivalent; 

[(B) High school equivalent;] 

(3) Have a certificate of completion of the Licensing pre-
application course [orientation] within one year prior to your applica-
tion date; 

(4) Have current certification in CPR and first aid with res-
cue breathing and choking; [and] 

(5) Be free of active tuberculosis, if required by the re-
gional Texas Department of State Health Services [TB program] or lo-
cal health authority; and[.] 

(6) Have proof of training in the following: 

(A) Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome 
and abusive head trauma; 

(B) Understanding and using safe sleep practices and 
preventing sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS); 

(C) Understanding early childhood brain development; 

(D) Emergency preparedness; 

(E) Preventing and controlling the spread of communi-
cable diseases, including immunizations; 

(F) Administering medication, if applicable, including 
compliance with §747.3603 of this title (relating to What authorization 
must I obtain before administering a medication to a child in my care?); 

(G) Preventing and responding to emergencies due to 
food and allergic reaction; 

(H) Understanding building and physical premises 
safety, including identification and protection from hazards that can 
cause bodily injury such as electric hazards, bodies of water, and 
vehicular traffic; 

(I) Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous mate-
rials including compliance with §747.3221 of this title (relating to Must 
caregivers wear gloves when handling blood or bodily fluids contain-
ing blood?); and 

(J) Precautions in transporting children if your child-
care home plans to transport a child whose chronological or develop-
mental age is younger than nine years old. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602228 

Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

DIVISION 2. PRIMARY CAREGIVER OF A 
LICENSED CHILD-CARE HOME 
40 TAC §747.1107, §747.1119 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.1107. What qualifications must I meet to be the primary care-
giver of a licensed child-care home? 

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this division, a primary 
caregiver for a licensed child-care home must: 

(1) - (2) (No change.) 

(3) Have a certificate of completion of the Licensing pre-
application course [orientation] within one year prior to your applica-
tion date; 

(4) Have current certification in CPR and first aid with res-
cue breathing and choking; [and] 

(5) Have proof of training in the following: 

(A) Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome 
and abusive head trauma; 

(B) Understanding and using safe sleep practices and 
preventing sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS); 

(C) Understanding early childhood brain development; 

(D) Emergency preparedness; 

(E) Preventing the spread of communicable diseases, 
including immunizations; 

(F) Administering medication, if applicable, including 
compliance with §747.3603 of this title (relating to What authorization 
must I obtain before administering a medication to a child in my care?); 

(G) Preventing and responding to emergencies due to 
food and allergic reaction; 

(H) Understanding building and physical premises 
safety, including identification and protection from hazards that can 
cause bodily injury such as electric hazards, bodies of water, and 
vehicular traffic; 

(I) Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous mate-
rials including compliance with §747.3221 of this title (relating to Must 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

caregivers wear gloves when handling blood or bodily fluids contain-
ing blood?); and 

(J) Precautions in transporting children if your child-
care home plans to transport a child whose chronological or develop-
mental age is younger than nine years old; and 

(6) [(5)] Have one of the following combinations of educa-
tion and experience in a licensed child-care center, or in a licensed or 
registered child-care home, as defined in §747.1113 of this title (relat-
ing to What constitutes experience in a licensed child-care center, or in 
a licensed or registered child-care home?): 
Figure: 40 TAC §747.1107(a)(6) 
[Figure: 40 TAC §747.1107(a)(5)] 

(b) Options (D) and (F) of subsection (a)(6) of this section re-
quire periodic renewal. 

§747.1119. What credit courses does Licensing recognize as child de-
velopment? 
Due to a large variation in credit course titles and content, it is im-
possible to list all courses that may be counted toward the child de-
velopment requirement. Courses in early childhood education, child 
growth and development, psychology, sociology, classroom manage-
ment, child psychology, health and safety of children, elementary edu-
cation related to pre-kindergarten through third grade, youth develop-
ment and other similar courses may be counted if they are related to 
child development or the topics specified in §747.1305 [§747.1307] of 
this title (relating to What topics must the [15 clock hours of] annual 
training for caregivers include?). Abnormal psychology and secondary 
education courses are not recognized as child development. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602229 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
40 TAC §747.1109 
The repeal is proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC) 
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that 
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall 
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the 
health and human services agencies, including the Department 
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study 
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and 
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department. 

The repeal implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and portions 
of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 2014, 
which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.1109. Are there exemptions from the qualifications listed in this 
division? 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602230 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

DIVISION 4. PROFESSIONAL DEVELOP-
MENT 
40 TAC §§747.1301, 747.1303, 747.1305, 747.1307 
The repeals are proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC) 
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that 
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall 
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the 
health and human services agencies, including the Department 
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study 
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and 
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department. 

The repeals implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and portions 
of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 2014, 
which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.1301. What training must I ensure that my caregivers have? 
§747.1303. What training must I have? 
§747.1305. What should orientation to my child-care home include? 
§747.1307. What topics must the annual training for caregivers in-
clude? 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602231 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

40 TAC §§747.1301, 747.1303, 747.1305, 747.1307, 747.1309 
The new sections and amendment are proposed under Human 
Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code 
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services 
Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation 
and provision of services by the health and human services 
agencies, including the Department of Family and Protective 
Services; and HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family and 
Protective Services Council shall study and make recommen-
dations to the Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner 
regarding rules governing the delivery of services to persons 
who are served or regulated by the department. 

The new sections and amendment implements HRC §42.042 
and §42.0421 and portions of the Child Care and Development 
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Block Grant Act of 2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et 
seq. 

§747.1301. What must orientation for caregivers at my child-care 
home include? 

Orientation for caregivers at your child-care home must include at least 
the following: 

(1) An overview of the minimum standards found in this 
chapter; 

(2) An overview of your operational policies, including 
discipline and guidance practices and procedures for the release of 
children, and the provision of copies of these practices and procedures; 

(3) An overview regarding the prevention, recognition, and 
reporting of child abuse and neglect, including: 

(A) Factors indicating a child is at risk of abuse or ne-
glect; 

(B) Warning signs indicating a child may be a victim of 
abuse or neglect; 

(C) Internal procedures for reporting child abuse or ne-
glect; and 

(D) Community organizations that have training pro-
grams available to child-care staff, children, and parents; 

(4) An overview of your home's Emergency Preparedness 
Plan; 

(5) Locating and using fire extinguishers and first-aid 
equipment; 

(6) Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome 
and abusive head trauma; 

(7) Understanding and using safe sleep practices and pre-
venting sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS); 

(8) Understanding early childhood brain development; 

(9) Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable 
diseases, including immunizations; 

(10) Administering medication, if applicable, including 
compliance with §747.3603 of this title (relating to What authorization 
must I obtain before administering a medication to a child in my 
care?); 

(11) Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food 
or an allergic reaction; 

(12) Understanding building and physical premises safety, 
including identification and protection from hazards that can cause bod-
ily injury such as electric hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic; 

(13) Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materi-
als including compliance with §747.3221 of this title (relating to Must 
caregivers wear gloves when handling blood or bodily fluids contain-
ing blood?); and 

(14) Precautions in transporting children if your child-care 
home transports a child whose chronological or developmental age is 
younger than nine years old. 

§747.1303. What training must I ensure that my caregivers have? 

You must make sure that each caregiver has the following training: 

(1) Orientation to your child-care home as specified in 
§747.1301 of this title (relating to What must orientation for caregivers 
at my child-care home include?) within seven days of employment; 

(2) 15 clock hours of annual training for a caregiver in a 
registered child-care home as specified in §747.1305 of this title (relat-
ing to What topics must the annual training for caregivers include?); 

(3) 24 clock hours of annual training for a caregiver in a 
licensed child-care home as specified in §747.1305 of this title; 

(4) Current first-aid and CPR training as specified in 
§747.1313 of this title (relating to Who must have first-aid and CPR 
training?); and 

(5) If a caregiver transports children whose chronological 
or developmental age is younger than nine years old, transportation 
safety training as specified in §747.1314 of this title (relating to What 
additional training must a person have in order to transport a child in 
care?). 

§747.1305. What topics must the annual training for caregivers in-
clude? 

(a) Each caregiver counted in the child/caregiver ratio on 
more than ten separate occasions in one training year, as specified 
in §747.1311 of this title (relating to When must the annual training 
be obtained?) must obtain annual training relevant to the age of the 
children for whom the caregiver provides care. 

(b) Annual training is exclusive of any requirements for ori-
entation, first aid and CPR training, transportation safety training, and 
any training received through a high school child-care work-study pro-
gram. 

(c) At least six clock hours of the annual training hours must 
be in one or more of the following topics: 

(1) Child growth and development; 

(2) Guidance and discipline; 

(3) Age-appropriate curriculum; and 

(4) Teacher-child interaction. 

(d) If your home provides care for a child younger than 24 
months, one hour of the annual training hours must cover the following 
topics: 

(1) Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome 
and abusive head trauma; 

(2) Understanding and using safe sleep practices and pre-
venting sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS); and 

(3) Understanding early childhood brain development. 

(e) While there are no clock hour requirements for the topics 
in this subsection, the annual training hours must also include training 
on the following topics: 

(1) Emergency preparedness; 

(2) Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable 
diseases, including immunizations; 

(3) Administering medication, if applicable, including 
compliance with §747.3603 of this title (relating to What authorization 
must I obtain before administering a medication to a child in my 
care?); 

(4) Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food 
or an allergic reaction; 

(5) Understanding building and physical premises safety, 
including identification and protection from hazards that can cause bod-
ily injury such as electric hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic; 
and 
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(6) Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materi-
als including compliance with §747.3221 of this title (relating to Must 
caregivers wear gloves when handling blood or bodily fluids contain-
ing blood?). 

(f) The remaining annual training hours must be in one or more 
of the following topics: 

(1) Care of children with special needs; 

(2) Child health (for example, nutrition and physical activ-
ity); 

(3) Safety; 

(4) Risk management; 

(5) Identification and care of ill children; 

(6) Cultural diversity of children and families; 

(7) Professional development (for example, effective com-
munication with families and time and stress management); 

(8) Topics relevant to the particular ages of children in care 
(for example, caregivers working with infants or toddlers should re-
ceive training on biting and toilet training); 

(9) Planning developmentally appropriate learning activi-
ties; 

(10) Observation and assessment; 

(11) Attachment and responsive care giving; and 

(12) Minimum standards and how they apply to the care-
giver. 

(g) No more than 80% of the annual training hours may be 
obtained from self-instructional training. 

§747.1307. What training must I have? 
You must have the following training: 

(1) 30 clock hours of annual training as specified in 
§747.1309 of this title (relating to (What topics must my annual 
training include?); 

(2) Current first-aid and CPR training as specified in 
§747.1313 of this title (relating to Who must have first-aid and CPR 
training; and 

(3) If you transport children whose chronological or devel-
opmental age is younger that nine years old, transportation safety train-
ing as specified in §747.1314 of this title (relating to What additional 
training must a person have in order to transport a child in care?). 

§747.1309. What [training] topics must [be included in] my annual 
training include [as the primary caregiver]? 

(a) You must obtain at least 30 clock hours of training 
[annually that is:] 

[(1)] each year relevant [Relevant] to the age of the chil-
dren for whom you provide care.[;] 

(b) [(2)] The 30 clock hours of annual training are exclusive 
of any requirements for [Exclusive of] the Licensing pre-application 
course, [interview, CPR and] first-aid and CPR training, and transporta-
tion safety training.[; and] 

[(3) Not earned for presenting training to others.] 

(c) [(b)] At least six clock hours of the annual training hours 
must be in one or more of the following topics: 

(1) Child growth and development; 

(2) Guidance and discipline; 

(3) Age-appropriate curriculum; and 

(4) Teacher-child interaction. 

(d) If your home provides care for children younger than 24 
months, one hour of the annual training hours must cover the following 
topics: 

(1) Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome; 

(2) Understanding and using safe sleep practices and pre-
venting sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS); and 

(3) Understanding early childhood brain development. 

(e) While there are no clock hour requirements for the topics 
in this subsection, the annual training hours must also include training 
on the following topics: 

(1) Emergency preparedness; 

(2) Preventing and controlling the spread of communicable 
diseases, including immunizations; 

(3) Administering medication, if applicable, including 
compliance with §747.3603 of this title (relating to What authorization 
must I obtain before administering a medication to a child in my 
care?); 

(4) Preventing and responding to emergencies due to food 
or an allergic reaction; 

(5) Understanding building and physical premises safety, 
including identification and protection from hazards that can cause bod-
ily injury such as electric hazards, bodies of water, and vehicular traffic; 
and 

(6) Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materi-
als including compliance with §747.3221 of this title (relating to Must 
caregivers wear gloves when handling blood or bodily fluids contain-
ing blood?). 

(f) If you have: 

(1) [(c)] Five [A primary caregiver with five] or fewer years 
of experience as a primary caregiver in a licensed or registered child-
care home, you must complete at least six of the annual training [30 
clock] hours in management techniques, leadership, or staff supervi-
sion; or[.] 

(2) [(d)] More [A primary caregiver with more] than five 
years of experience as a primary caregiver in a licensed or registered 
child-care home, you must complete at least three of the annual training 
[30 clock] hours in management techniques, leadership, or staff super-
vision. 

[(e) If the home provides care for children younger than 24 
months, one hour of annual training must cover the following topics:] 

[(1) Recognizing and preventing shaken baby syndrome;] 

[(2) Preventing sudden infant death syndrome; and] 

[(3) Understanding early childhood brain development.] 

(g) [(f)] The remainder of annual training hours must 
be selected from the training topics specified in §747.1305(f) 
[§747.1307(d)] of this title (relating to What topics must the annual 
training for caregivers include?). 

(h) You may obtain clock hours or CEUs from the same 
sources as other caregivers. 
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(i) Training hours may not be earned for presenting training to 
other caregivers. 

[(g) If the home transports children whose chronological or de-
velopmental age is younger than nine years old, the primary caregiver 
must complete two hours of annual training on transportation safety in 
addition to the other training hours.] 

(j) [(h)] No [A primary caregiver may obtain no] more than 
80% of annual training may be obtained from self-instructional training 
[materials]. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602232 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

DIVISION 5. HOUSEHOLD MEMBERS, 
VOLUNTEERS, AND PEOPLE WHO OFFER 
CONTRACTED SERVICES 
40 TAC §747.1401, §747.1403 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.1401. Must members of my household meet specific qualifica-
tions? 

(a) For each household member that you are required to re-
quest a background check on, as specified in, Subchapter F of Chapter 
745 of this title (relating to Background Checks), the member must: 

(1) Provide a copy of a health card or physician's state-
ment verifying they are free of active tuberculosis if required by the 
regional Texas Department of State Health Services [TB program] or 
local health authority; and 

(2) Complete orientation to your child-care home as spec-
ified in §747.1403 of this title (relating to What must orientation for 
household members at my child-care home include?). 

(b) Any household member who is counted in the child/care-
giver ratio on more than ten separate occasions in one training year, 
whether paid or unpaid, must meet the minimum qualifications for as-
sistant caregivers and training requirements for [assistant] caregivers 
as specified in this subchapter. 

(c) Any household member who is left in charge of the child-
care home in the absence of the primary caregiver, whether paid or un-
paid, must meet the minimum qualifications for a substitute caregiver 
and training requirements for [substitute] caregivers specified in this 
subchapter. 

(d) (No change.) 

§747.1403. What must orientation [to my child-care home] for 
household members at my child-care home include? 
The orientation for household members at your child-care home must 
include at least the following: [topics specified in §747.1305 of this title 
(relating to What should orientation to my child-care home include?).] 

(1) An overview of your home's child-care policies, includ-
ing discipline and guidance practices and the procedures for the release 
of children, and the provision of copies of these practices and proce-
dures; 

(2) An overview of symptoms of child abuse and neglect 
and the responsibility for reporting these; 

(3) The procedures to follow in handling emergencies. 
Emergencies include fire, explosion, tornado, toxic fumes, volatile 
individuals, and severe injury or illness of a child or adult; and 

(4) The location and use of fire extinguishers and first-aid 
equipment. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602233 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER L. DISCIPLINE 
40 TAC §747.2713 
The repeal is proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC) 
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that 
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall 
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the 
health and human services agencies, including the Department 
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study 
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and 
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department. 

The repeal implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and portions 
of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 2014, 
which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.2713. Must I give a copy of my written discipline and guidance 
policy to parents, my caregivers, and household members? 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
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TRD-201602234 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

♦   ♦ ♦
SUBCHAPTER N. FIELD TRIPS 
40 TAC §747.2901 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.2901. May I take children away from my child-care home for 
field trips? 

(a) Yes. You must ensure the children's safety on field trips and 
excursions and during any transportation provided by the child-care 
home. Anytime you take a child on [away from the child-care home 
for] a field trip you must comply with each of the following require-
ments: 

(1) - (4) (No change.) 

(5) You must have a copy of a child's food allergy emer-
gency plan and allergy medications, if applicable; 

(6) [(5)] Each child must wear a shirt, name tag, or other 
identification listing the name and telephone number of the child-care 
home; 

(7) [(6)] Each caregiver must be easily identifiable by 
all children on the field trip, by wearing a hat, specialized tee-shirt, 
brightly colored clothes, or other easily spotted identification; 

(8) [(7)] Each caregiver supervising a field trip must have 
transportation available, [or] a communication device such as a cellular 
phone, message pager, or two-way radio available, or an alternate plan 
for transportation at the field trip location in case of emergency; and 

(9) [(8)] You must ensure that a caregiver trained in CPR 
and first aid with rescue breathing and choking is present on the field 
trip. 

(b) A walk around the caregiver's neighborhood must comply 
only with paragraphs (2), (5) and (9) [(8)] of subsection (a) of this 
section. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602235 

Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER Q. NUTRITION AND FOOD 
SERVICE 
40 TAC §747.3101 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.3101. What are the basic requirements for snack and meal-
times? 

(a) You must serve all children ready for table food regular 
meals and morning and afternoon snacks as specified in this subchapter. 

(b) [(1)] If breakfast is served, a morning snack is not required. 

(c) [(2)] A child must not go more than three hours without a 
meal or snack being offered, unless the child is sleeping. 

(d) [(3)] If your child-care home is participating in the Child 
and Adult Care Food Program (CACFP) administered by the Texas 
Department of Agriculture, you may elect to meet those requirements 
rather than those specified in this section [subsection]. 

(e) [(b)] You must ensure a supply of drinking water is always 
available to each child and is served at every snack, mealtime, and after 
active play in a safe and sanitary manner. 

(f) [(c)] You must not serve beverages with added sugars, such 
as carbonated beverages, fruit punch, or sweetened milk except for a 
special occasion such as a holiday or birthday celebration. 

(g) [(d)] You must not use food as a reward [or punishment]. 

(h) You must not serve a child a food identified on the child's 
food allergy emergency plan as specified in §747.3617 of this title (re-
lating to What is a food allergy emergency plan?). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602236 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER R. HEALTH PRACTICES 
DIVISION 1. ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH 
40 TAC §747.3203, §747.3221 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.3203. What steps must I take to ensure a healthy environment 
for children at my child-care home? 

You must clean, repair, and maintain your child-care home, grounds, 
and equipment to protect the health of the children. This includes, but 
is not limited to: 

(1) - (10) (No change.) 

(11) Sanitizing table tops, furniture, and other similar 
equipment used by children when soiled or contaminated with matter 
such as food, body secretions, or excrement; [and] 

(12) Clearly marking cleaning supplies and other toxic ma-
terials and keeping them separate from food and inaccessible to chil-
dren; and[.] 

(13) Using, storing and disposing of hazardous materials 
as recommended by the manufacturer. 

§747.3221. Must caregivers [I] wear gloves when handling blood or 
bodily [body] fluids containing blood? 

Yes, caregivers must follow universal precautions outlined by the Cen-
ters for Disease Control (CDC) when handling blood, vomit, or other 
bodily fluids that may contain blood including: 

(1) Using [Use] disposable, nonporous gloves [when han-
dling blood or blood-containing body fluids or discharge from injured 
tissue]; 

(2) Placing gloves contaminated with blood in a sealed 
plastic bag and discarding them immediately; 

(3) [(2)] Discarding all other [Discard the] gloves immedi-
ately after one use; and 

(4) [(3)] Washing [Wash] your hands with soap and running 
water after using and disposing of the gloves. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602237 

Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

DIVISION 2. DIAPER CHANGING 
40 TAC §747.3307 
The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.3307. What must I do to prevent the spread of germs when dia-
pering children? 

(a) - (e) (No change.) 

(f) You must place soiled clothing in a sealed plastic bag to be 
sent home with the child. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602238 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER S. SAFETY PRACTICES 
DIVISION 2. MEDICATION AND MEDICAL 
ASSISTANCE 
40 TAC §747.3617, §747.3619 
The new sections are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

The new sections implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.3617. What is a food allergy emergency plan? 
A food allergy emergency plan is an individualized plan prepared by 
the child's health care professional that includes: 

(1) a list of each food the child is allergic to; 

(2) possible symptoms if exposed to a food on the list; and 

(3) the steps to take if the child has an allergic reaction. 

§747.3619. When is this plan required? 
A food allergy emergency plan is required for each child with a known 
food allergy. The child's health care professional and parent must sign 
and date the plan. You must keep a copy of the plan in the child's file, 
post it as specified in §747.401 of this title (relating to What items must 
I post at my child-care home during hours of operation?), and take it 
on any field trip that the child is on. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602239 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559 

SUBCHAPTER W. FIRE SAFETY AND 
EMERGENCY PRACTICES 
DIVISION 2. EMERGENCY PREPAREDNESS 
40 TAC §§747.5001, 747.5003, 747.5005 
The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC §42.042 and §42.0421 and 
portions of the Child Care and Development Block Grant Act of 
2014, which is codified in 42 USC §9857 et seq. 

§747.5001. What is an emergency preparedness plan? 
An emergency preparedness plan is designed to ensure the safety of 
children during an emergency by addressing staff responsibility and 
your home's [facility] readiness with respect to emergency evacua-
tion, [and] relocation, and sheltering. The plan addresses the types of 
responses to emergencies most likely to occur in your area including:[, 
but not limited to, natural events such as tornadoes, floods or hurri-
canes, health events such as medical emergencies, communicable dis-
ease outbreak, and human-caused events such as intruder with weapon, 
explosion, or chemical spill.] 

(1) An evacuation of your home to a designated safe area 
in an emergency such as a fire or gas leak; 

(2) A relocation of the children and caregivers to a desig-
nated, alternate shelter in an emergency such as a flood, a hurricane, 
medical emergency, or communicable disease outbreak; and 

(3) The sheltering of children and caregivers within your 
home to temporarily shelter them from situations such as a tornado, 
volatile person on the premises, or an endangering person in the area. 

§747.5003. What must my emergency preparedness plan include? 
Your emergency preparedness plan must include written procedures 
for: 

(1) Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering of children, in-
cluding: 

(A) Your [That in an emergency, your] first 
responsibility in an emergency evacuation or relocation is to move 
the children to a designated safe area or alternate shelter known to all 
household members, caregivers, parents, and volunteers; 

(B) How children will be evacuated or relocated to the 
designated safe area or alternate shelter, including specific procedures 
for evacuating or relocating children who are under 24 months of age, 
who have limited mobility, or who otherwise may need assistance in 
an emergency, such as children who have mental, visual, or hearing 
impairments; 

(C) (No change.) 

(D) The caregivers' responsibility in a sheltering emer-
gency for the orderly movement of children to a designated location in 
your home where children should gather; 

(E) [(D)] Name and address of the alternate shelter 
away from your home you will use as needed; and 

(F) [(E)] How children in attendance at the time of the 
emergency will be accounted for at the designated safe area or alternate 
shelter;[.] 

(2) Communication, including: 

(A) The emergency telephone number that is on file 
with us; and 

(B) How you will communicate with local authorities 
(such as fire, law enforcement, emergency medical services, health de-
partment), parents, and us; [and] 

(3) How you will evacuate and relocate with the essential 
documentation including: 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(C) The attendance record information for children in 
care at the time of the emergency;[.] 

(4) How you will continue to care for the children until 
each child has been released; and 

(5) How you will reunify the children with their parents at 
evacuation, relocation, or when sheltering is lifted. 

§747.5005. Must I practice my emergency preparedness plan 
[plans]? 
Yes, the following components of your home's emergency prepared-
ness plan [plans] must be practiced as follows: 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) You must practice a severe weather or sheltering drill 
at least once every three months. 
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-	
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority	 
to adopt.	 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016. 
TRD-201602240
 

Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 19, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5559
 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
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