PROPOSED

Proposed rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing rules.

ULE

A state agency shall give at least 30 days' notice of its intention to adopt a rule before it
adopts the rule. A state agency shall give all interested persons a reasonable opportunity to

submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing (Government Code, Chapter 2001).

Symbols in proposed rule text. Proposed new language is indicated by underlined text. [Square-brackets-and-strikethrough]
indicate existing rule text that is proposed for deletion. “(No change)” indicates that existing rule text at this level will not be

amended.

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 355. REIMBURSEMENT RATES
SUBCHAPTER H. REIMBURSEMENT
METHODOLOGY FOR 24-HOUR CHILD CARE
FACILITIES

1 TAC §355.7103

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
proposes amendments to §355.7103, concerning Rate-Setting
Methodology for 24-Hour Residential Child-Care Reimburse-
ments, to correct and clarify the reimbursement methodology
for payment rates for Child Placing Agencies (CPAs) retainage.

Background and Justification

HHSC, under its authority and responsibility to administer and
implement rates, is proposing to amend this rule to reflect the
correct reimbursement methodology for CPA retainage. The
2016-17 General Appropriations Act (DFPS Rider 42, Article
Il, H.B. 1, 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015) provides
appropriations for a 5.1 percent rate increase for CPA retainage.
Retainage is the portion of the rate that includes the CPA's
costs for administering the service, including recruiting and
training foster families, matching children with foster families,
monitoring foster families and foster homes, and the associated
overhead costs. The rate increase was to be 5.1 percent when
weighted across all service levels, meaning that the rates for
different service levels could increase by different amounts, as
long as the weighted average increase for all CPA retainage
rates equaled 5.1 percent. However the previous amendment
(published in the August 21, 2015, issue of the Texas Register
as adopted) applied the 5.1 percent rate increase equally to all
levels of service.

This amendment corrects the reimbursement methodology to
apply specific CPA retainage percentage rate increases to each
service level to bring the rule into compliance with the Appro-
priations Act. The percentage rate increases as laid out in this
amendment were determined in concert with the Department of
Family and Protective Services, the administrative agency for the
24-Hour Residential Child-Care (24 RCC) program based upon
access-to-care needs, cost report data and stakeholder input.
Additionally, the amendment clarifies that a CPA may pay a fos-
ter home no more than the CPA rate, which is the minimum daily
rate paid for foster homes plus the CPA retainage.

Section-by-Section Summary

Proposed §355.7103(q)(2)(A) describes the reimbursement
methodology for the CPA retainage. For the basic level of
service, the rate will be equal to the rate in effect on August 31,
2015, plus a 9.39 percent increase. For the moderate level of
service, the rate will be equal to the rate in effect on August 31,
2015, plus a 1.14 percent increase. For the specialized level
of service, the rate will be equal to the rate in effect on August
31, 2015, plus a 0.42 percent increase. For the intense level of
service, the rate will be equal to the rate in effect on August 31,
2015, plus a 0.01 percent increase. Additionally, the CPA rate is
clarified to be equal to the minimum daily rate for foster homes
plus the CPA retainage. The amount paid to a foster home from
a CPA may never exceed the CPA rate.

Fiscal Note

Greta Rymal, Deputy Executive Commissioner for Financial Ser-
vices for HHSC, has determined that, for each year of the first
five years the proposed rule will be in effect, there will be no
fiscal impact to the state government. This rule corrects the re-
imbursement methodology from a single percent increase to a
weighted average percent increase, resulting in no additional ex-
penditures or cost savings. There are no fiscal implications for
local governments as a result of enforcing or administering the
amendment.

Ms. Rymal does not anticipate that there will be any economic
costs to persons who are required to comply with the proposed
amendment during the first five years the rule will be in effect.
The amendment will not affect local employment.

Small Business and Micro-Business Impact Analysis

HHSC has determined that there is no adverse economic effect
on small businesses or micro-businesses as a result of enforc-
ing or administering the amendment. The implementation of the
proposed amendment does not require any change in practice
or any additional cost to the contracted provider.

Public Benefit

Pam McDonald, Director of Rate Analysis, has determined that,
for each year of the first five years the amendment will be in
effect, the public benefits expected as a result of this amendment
will be to ensure the adopted reimbursement methodology is in
compliance with the 2016-17 General Appropriations Act.

Regulatory Analysis

HHSC has determined that this proposal is not a "major environ-
mental rule" as defined by §2001.0225 of the Texas Government
Code. A "major environmental rule" is defined to mean a rule the
specific intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce
risk to human health from environmental exposure and that may
adversely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment or the
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public health and safety of a state or a sector of the state. This
proposal is not specifically intended to protect the environment
or reduce risks to human health from environmental exposure.

Takings Impact Assessment

HHSC has determined that this proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under §2007.043 of the Government Code.

Public Comment

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted to Sarah
Hambrick, Senior Rate Analyst, Rate Analysis Department,
Texas Health and Human Services Commission, Mail Code
H-400, P.O. Box 85200, Austin, Texas 78705-5200, by fax to
(512) 730-7475, or by e-mail to RAD-LTSS@hhsc.state.tx.us
within 30 days after publication of this proposal in the Texas
Register.

Statutory Authority

The amendment is proposed under Texas Government Code
§531.033, which provides the Executive Commissioner of HHSC
with broad rulemaking authority. The proposal implements Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531.

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by this proposal.

§355.7103.  Rate-Setting Methodology for 24-Hour Residential
Child-Care Reimbursements.

(a) The following is the authority and process for determining
payment rates:

(1) For payment rates established prior to September 1,
2005, the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS;
formerly the Department of Protective and Regulatory Services)
reviewed payment rates for providers of 24-hour residential child
care services every other year in an open meeting, after considering
financial and statistical information, DFPS rate recommendations
developed according to the provisions of this subchapter, legislative
direction, staff recommendations, agency service demands, public
testimony, and the availability of appropriated revenue. Before the
open meeting in which rates were presented for adoption, DFPS sent
rate packets containing the proposed rates and average inflation factor
amounts to provider association groups. DFPS also sent rate packets
to any other interested party, by written request. Providers who wished
to comment on the proposed rates could attend the open meeting and
give public testimony. Notice of the open meeting was published on
the Secretary of State's web site at http://www.sos.state.tx.us/open.
DFPS notified all foster care providers of the adopted rates by letter.

(2) For payment rates established September 1, 2005 and
thereafter, the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) ap-
proves rates that are statewide and uniform. In approving rate amounts
HHSC takes into consideration staff recommendations based on the ap-
plication of formulas and procedures described in this chapter. How-
ever, HHSC may adjust staff recommendations when HHSC deems
such adjustments are warranted by particular circumstances likely to
affect achievement of program objectives, including economic condi-
tions and budgetary considerations. Reimbursement amounts will be
determined coincident with the state's biennium. HHSC will hold a
public hearing on proposed reimbursements before HHSC approves re-
imbursements. The purpose of the hearing is to give interested parties
an opportunity to comment on the proposed reimbursements. Notice
of the hearing will be provided to the public. The notice of the pub-
lic hearing will identify the name, address, and telephone number to

contact for the materials pertinent to the proposed reimbursements. At
least ten working days before the public hearing takes place, material
pertinent to the proposed statewide uniform reimbursements will be
made available to the public. This material will be furnished to anyone
who requests it.

(b) For payment rates in effect for state fiscal year (SFY) 2002
and 2003, DFPS develops rate recommendations for Board consider-
ation for foster homes serving Levels of Care 1 through 4 children as
follows:

(1) For all Level of Care 1 rates, DFPS analyzes the most
recent statistical data available on expenditures for a child published
by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) from middle
income, dual parent households for the "Urban South." USDA data
includes costs for age groupings from 0 to 17 years of age. An age
differential is included with one rate for children ages 0-11 years, and
another rate for children 12 years and older. Foster homes providing
services to Level of Care 1 children receive the rate that corresponds
to the age of the child in care.

(A) DFPS excludes health care costs, as specified in the
USDA data, from its calculations since Medicaid covers these costs.
USDA specified child-care and education costs are also excluded since
these services are available in other DFPS day-care programs.

(B) DEFPS includes the following cost categories for
both age groups as specified in the USDA data: housing, food,
transportation, clothing, and miscellaneous.

(C) The total cost per day is projected using the Implicit
Price Deflator-Personal Consumption Expenditures (IPD-PCE) Index
from the period covered in the USDA statistics to September 1 of the
second year of the biennium, which is the middle of the biennium that
the rate period covers. Information on inflation factors is specified in
subsection (h) of this section.

(2) ForLevels of Care 2 through 4 rates, DFPS analyzes the
information submitted in audited foster home cost surveys and related
documentation in the following ways:

(A) A statistically valid sample of specialized (thera-
peutic, habilitative, and primary medical) foster homes complete a cost
survey covering one month of service if they meet the following crite-
ria:

(i) the foster home currently has a DFPS foster
child(ren) residing in the home; and

(ii) the number of children in the home, including
the children of the foster parents, is 12 or fewer.

(B) For rates covering the fiscal year 2002-2003 bien-
nium, child-placing agency homes are the only foster homes that com-
plete a cost survey because the children they serve are currently as-
signed levels of care verified by an independent contractor. By Septem-
ber 1, 2001, children served in DFPS specialized foster homes will also
be assigned levels of care verified by an independent contractor. All
future sample populations completing a one-month foster home cost
survey will include both child-placing agency and DFPS specialized
foster homes. As referenced in subsection (j) of this section, during the
2004-2005 biennium, when the rate methodology is fully implemented,
DFPS specialized foster homes and child-placing agency foster homes
will be required to receive at a minimum the same foster home rate as
derived by this subsection.

(C) Cost categories included in the one-month foster
home cost survey include:
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(i) shared costs, which are costs incurred by the en-
tire family unit living in the home, such as mortgage or rent expense
and utilities;

(ii)  direct foster care costs, which are costs incurred
for DFPS foster children only, such as clothing and personal care items.
These costs are tracked and reported for the month according to the
level of care of the child; and

(iti) administrative costs that directly provide for
DFPS foster children, such as child-care books, and dues and fees for
associations primarily devoted to child care.

(D) A cost per day is calculated for each cost category
and these costs are combined for a total cost per day for each level of
care served.

(E) A separate sample population is established for each
type of specialized foster home (therapeutic, habilitative, and primary
medical). Each level of care maintenance rate is established by the
sample population's central tendency, which is defined as the mean, or
average, of the population after applying two standard deviations above
and below the mean of the total population.

(F) The rates calculated for each type of specialized fos-
ter home are averaged to derive one foster care maintenance rate for
each of the Levels of Care 2 through 4.

(G) The total cost per day is projected using the IPD-
PCE Index from the period covered in the cost report to September 1
of the second year of the biennium, which is the middle of the biennium
that the rate period covers. Information on inflation factors is specified
in subsection (h) of this section.

(c) For payment rates in effect for state fiscal year (SFY) 2002
and 2003, DFPS develops rate recommendations for Board consider-
ation for child-placing agencies serving Levels of Care 1 through 4
children as follows:

(1) The rate-setting model defined in subsection (g) of this
section is applied to child-placing agencies' cost reports to calculate a
daily rate.

(2) At a minimum, child-placing agencies are required to
pass through the applicable foster home rate derived from subsection
(b) of this section to their foster homes. The remaining portion of the
rate is provided for costs associated with case management, treatment
coordination, administration, and overhead.

(3) For rate-setting purposes, the following facility types
are included as child-placing agencies and will receive the child-plac-
ing agency rate:

(A) child-placing agency;
(B) independent foster family/group home;
(C) independent therapeutic foster family/group home;

(D) independent habilitative foster family/group home;
and

(E) independent primary medical needs foster fam-
ily/group home.

(d) For payment rates in effect for state fiscal year (SFY) 2002
and 2003, DFPS develops rate recommendations for Board considera-
tion for residential care facilities serving Levels of Care 1 through 6 as
follows:

(1) For Levels of Care 1 and 2, DFPS applies the same rate
paid to child-placing agencies as recommended in subsection (c) of this
section.

(2) For Levels of Care 3 through 6, the rate-setting model
defined in subsection (g) of this section is applied to residential care
facilities' cost reports to calculate a daily rate.

(3) For rate-setting purposes, the following facility types
are included as residential care facilities and will receive the residential
care facility rate:

(A) residential treatment center;

(B) therapeutic camp;

(C) institution for mentally retarded;
(D) Dbasic care facility;

(E) halfway house; and

(F) maternity home.

(e) For payment rates in effect for state fiscal year (SFY) 2002
and 2003, DFPS develops rate recommendations for Board considera-
tion for emergency shelters as follows:

(1) DFPS analyzes emergency shelter cost report informa-
tion included within the rate-setting population defined in subsection (f)
of this section. Emergency shelter costs are not allocated across levels
of care since, for rate-setting purposes, all children in emergency shel-
ters are considered to be at the same level of care.

(2) For each cost report in the rate-setting population, the
total costs are divided by the total number of days of care to calculate
a daily rate.

(3) The total cost per day is projected using the IPD-PCE
Index from the period covered in the cost report to September 1 of the
second year of the biennium, which is the middle of the biennium that
the rate period covers. Information on inflation factors is specified in
subsection (h) of this section.

(4) The emergency shelter rate is established by the popu-
lation's central point or central tendency. The measure of central ten-
dency is defined as the mean, or average, of the population after ap-
plying two standard deviations above and below the mean of the total
population.

(f) For payment rates in effect for state fiscal year (SFY) 2002
and 2003, level of care rates for contracted providers including child-
placing agencies, residential care facilities, and emergency shelters are
dependent upon provider cost report information. The following crite-
ria applies to this cost report information:

(1) DFPS excludes the expenses specified in §700.1805
and §700.1806 of this title (relating to Unallowable Costs and Costs
Not Included in Recommended Payment Rates). Exclusions and
adjustments are made during audit desk reviews and on-site audits.

(2) DFPS includes therapy costs in its recommended pay-
ment rates for emergency shelters and for Levels of Care 3 through 6,
and these costs will be considered as allowable costs for inclusion on
the provider's annual cost report, only if one of the following conditions
applies. The provider must access Medicaid for therapy for children in
their care unless:

(A) the child is not eligible for Medicaid or is transi-
tioning from Medicaid Managed Care to fee-for-service Medicaid;

(B) the necessary therapy is not a service allowable un-
der Medicaid;

(C) service limits have been exhausted and the provider
has been denied an extension;
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(D) there are no Medicaid providers available within 45
miles that meet the needs identified in the service plan to provide the
therapy; or

(E) it is essential and in the child's best interest for a
non-Medicaid provider to provide therapy to the child and arrange for
a smooth coordination of services for a transition period not to exceed
90 days or 14 sessions, whichever is less. Any exception beyond the
90 days or 14 sessions must be approved by DFPS before provision of
services.

(3) DFPS may exclude from the database any cost report
that is not completed according to the published methodology and the
specific instructions for completion of the cost report. Reasons for ex-
clusion of a cost report from the database include, but are not limited
to:

(A) receiving the cost report too late to be included in
the database;

(B) low occupancy;
(C) auditor recommended exclusions;
(D) days of service errors;

(E) providers that do not participate in the level of care
system;

(F) providers with no public placements;
(G) not reporting costs for a full year;
(H) using cost estimates instead of actual costs;

(I) not using the accrual method of accounting for re-
porting information on the cost report;

(J) not reconciling between the cost report and the
provider's general ledger; and

(K) not maintaining records that support the data re-
ported on the cost report.

(4) DFPS requires all contracted providers to submit
a cost report unless they meet one or more of the conditions in
§355.105(b)(4)(D) of this title (relating to General Reporting and
Documentation Requirements, Methods, and Procedures).

(g) For payment rates in effect for state fiscal year (SFY) 2002
and 2003, a rate-setting model is applied to child-placing agencies' and
residential care facilities' cost report information included within the
rate-setting population defined in subsection (f) of this section. Three
allocation methodologies are used in the rate-setting model to allocate
allowable costs among the levels of care of children that are served.
The methodologies are explained below and are applied as follows:

(1) The first methodology is a staffing model, validated by a
statistically valid foster care time study, driven by the number of direct
care and treatment coordination staff assigned to a child-placing agency
or residential care facility to care for the children at different levels of
care. The staffing model produces a staffing complement that is applied
to direct care costs to allocate the costs among the levels of care.

(A) Staffpositions reported on the direct care labor area
of the cost report are grouped into the following categories to more
clearly define the staffing complement required at each level of care:

(i) case management;
(i) treatment coordination;
(iii)  direct care;

(iv) direct care administration; and

(v) medical.

(B) A categorized staffing complement for each Level
of Care 1 through 6 is derived as follows:

(i) A 14-day foster care time study is applied to a
representative sample of residential care facilities and child-placing
agencies that completed a cost report.

(i) Contracted staff, or employees, within the
sampled facilities complete a foster care time study daily activity log
that assigns half-hour units of each employee's time to the individual
child(ren) with whom the employee is engaged during the time period.
By correlating the distribution of the employee's time with the level of
care assigned to each child, the employee's time is distributed across
the Levels of Care 1 through 6.

(iii)  The foster care time study daily activity log also
captures the type of activity performed. The total amount of time spent
in each of these activities is a component in determining the number of
staff needed in each of the categories included in the staffing comple-
ment. The activities performed include:

(1) care and supervision;
(Il) treatment planning and coordination;
(III) medical treatment and dental care; and

(1V) other (administrative, managerial, training
functions, or personal time).

(iv)  An analysis of the cumulative frequency distri-
bution of these time units by level of care of all children served in the
sample population, by category of staff performing the activity, and by
type of activity, establishes appropriate staffing complements for each
level of care in child-placing agencies and in residential care facilities.
These time units by level of care are reported as values that represent
the equivalent of a full-time employee. The results are reported in the
following chart for incorporation into the rate-setting model:

Figure: 1 TAC §355.7103(g)(1)(B)(iv) (No change.)

(v) The foster care time study should be conducted
every other biennium, or as needed, if service levels substantially
change.

(C) Staff position salaries and contracted fees are re-
ported as direct care labor costs on the cost reports. Each staff posi-
tion is categorized according to the staffing complement outlined for
the time study. The salaries and contracted fees for these positions
are grouped into the staffing complement categories and are averaged
for child-placing agencies and residential care facilities included in
the rate-setting population. This results in an average salary for each
staffing complement category (case management, treatment coordina-
tion, direct care, direct care administration, and medical).

(D) The staffing complement values, as outlined in the
chart at paragraph (1)(B)(iv) of this subsection, are multiplied by the
appropriate average salary for each staffing complement category. The
products for all of the staffing complement categories are summed for
a total for each level of care for both child-placing agencies and res-
idential care facilities. The total by level of care is multiplied by the
number of days of service in each level of care, and this product is used
as the primary allocation statistic for assigning each provider's direct
care costs to the various levels of care.

(E) Direct care costs include the following areas from
the cost reports:

(i) direct care labor;

(ii) total payroll taxes/workers compensation; and
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(iii)  direct care non-labor for supervision/recreation,
direct services, and other direct care (not CPAs).

(2) The second methodology allocates the following costs
by dividing the total costs by the total number of days of care for an
even distribution by day regardless of level of care. This amount is
multiplied by the number of days served in each level:

(A) direct care non-labor for dietary/kitchen;
(B) building and equipment;

(C) transportation;

(D) tax expense; and

(E) net educational and vocational service costs.

(3) The third methodology allocates the following admin-
istrative costs among the levels of care by totaling the results of the
previous two allocation methods, determining a percent of total among
the levels of care, and applying those percentages:

(A) administrative wages/benefits;
(B) administration (non-salary);
(C) central office overhead; and
(D) foster family development.

(4) The allocation methods described in paragraphs (1) -
(3) of this subsection are applied to each child-placing agency and res-
idential care facility in the rate-setting population, and separate rates
are calculated for each level of care served. Rate information is in-
cluded in the population to set the level of care rate if the following
criteria are met:

(A) Providers must have at least 30% of their service
days within Levels of Care 3 through 6 for residential settings. For ex-
ample, for the provider's cost report data to be included for calculating
the Level of Care 3 rate, a provider must provide Level of Care 3 ser-
vices for at least 30% of their service days.

(B) For Levels of Care 5 and 6, a contracted provider
could provide up to 60% of "private days" services to be included in the
rate-setting population. They must provide at least 40% state-placed
services.

(5) Considering the criteria in paragraph (4) of this subsec-
tion, the rate-setting population is fully defined for each level of care.
Based on this universe, each level of care rate will be established by
the group's central point or central tendency. The measure of central
tendency is defined as the mean, or average, of the population after ap-
plying two standard deviations above and below the mean of the total
population.

(6) The total cost per day for each child-placing agency and
residential care facility is projected using the IPD-PCE Index from the
period covered in the cost report to September 1 of the second year of
the biennium, which is the middle of the biennium that the rate period
covers. Information on inflation factors is specified in subsection (h)
of this section.

(h) For payment rates in effect for state fiscal year (SFY) 2002
and 2003, DFPS uses the Implicit Price Deflator - Personal Consump-
tion Expenditures (IPD-PCE) Index, which is a general cost inflation
index, to calculate projected allowable expenses. The IPD-PCE Index
is a nationally recognized measure of inflation published by the Bureau
of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce.
DFPS uses the lowest feasible IPD-PCE Index forecast consistent with
the forecasts of nationally recognized sources available to DFPS when

the rates are prepared. Upon written request, DFPS will provide infla-
tion factor amounts used to determine rates.

(1) All reimbursement rates will be equitably adjusted to the
level of appropriations authorized by the Legislature.

(j) There will be a transition period for the fiscal year 2002-
2003 biennium. During this period current rates will not be reduced,
and any increased funding will be applied to those levels of care that
are less adequately reimbursed according to the methodology. Since
increased funding was appropriated at a different percentage for each
year of the 2002-2003 biennium, the rates will be set separately for
each year instead of setting a biennial rate, and inflation factors will be
applied to the middle of each year of the biennium.

(k) For the SFY 2004 through 2005, DFPS determines pay-
ment rates using the rates determined for SFY 2002 and 2003 from
subsections (a) - (h) of this section, with adjustments for the transition
from a six level of care system to a four service level system of pay-
ment rates.

() For the state fiscal year 2006 through 2007 biennium, the
2005 payment rates in effect on August 31, 2005 will be adjusted by
equal percentages based on a prorata distribution of additional appro-
priated funds.

(m) For the state fiscal year 2008 through 2009 biennium, rates
are paid for each level of service identified by the DFPS. For foster
homes, the payments effective September 1, 2007 through August 31,
2009 for each level of service will be equal to the minimum rate paid
to foster homes for that level of service in effect August 31, 2007 plus
4.3 percent. For Child Placing Agencies (CPAs), the rates effective
September 1, 2007, through August 31, 2009 for each level of service
will be equal to the rate paid to CPAs for that level of service in ef-
fect August 31, 2007, plus 4.3 percent. Additional appropriated funds
remaining after the rate increase for foster homes and CPAs shall be
distributed proportionally across general residential operations and res-
idential treatment centers based on each of these provider type's ratio
of costs as reported on the most recently audited cost report to existing
payment rates.

(n) HHSC may adjust payment rates, if determined appropri-
ate, when federal or state laws, rules, standards, regulations, policies,
or guidelines are changed or adopted. These adjustments may result in
increases or decreases in payment rates. Providers must be informed of
the specific law, rule, standard, regulation, policy or guideline change
and be given the opportunity to comment on any rate adjustment re-
sulting from the change prior to the actual payment rate adjustment.

(o) To implement Chapter 1022 of the Acts of the 75th Texas
Legislature, §103, the executive director may develop and implement
one or more pilot competitive procurement processes to purchase sub-
stitute care services, including foster family care services and special-
ized substitute care services. The pilot programs must be designed to
produce a substitute care system that is outcome-based and that uses
outcome measures. Rates for the pilot(s) will be the result of the com-
petitive procurement process, but must be found to be reasonable by
the executive director. Rates are subject to adjustment as allowed in
subsections (a) and (m) of this section.

(p) Payment rates for psychiatric step-down services are de-
termined on a pro forma basis in accordance with §355.105(h) of this
title (relating to General Reporting and Documentation Requirements,
Methods, and Procedures). Payment rates for psychiatric step-down
services effective September 1, 2015, will be equal to the rates in ef-
fect on August 31, 2015.

(qQ) Rates effective September 1, 2015.
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(1) Definitions.

(A) Child-placing agency (CPA)--Child-placing agen-
cies as defined in 40 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §745.21.

(B) CPA retainage--The portion of the rate that includes
the CPA's costs for administering the service, including, but not limited
to recruiting and training foster families, matching children with foster
families, monitoring foster families and foster homes, and the associ-
ated overhead costs.

(C) Emergency Care Services--Emergency care ser-
vices as defined in 40 TAC §748.61.

(D) Foster home--Foster home as defined in 40 TAC
§749.43 and §750.43.

(E) General Residential Operation (GRO)--General
residential operations as defined in 40 TAC §748.43.

(F) Levels of service--Levels of service as described in
40 TAC Chapter 700, Subchapter W.

(G) Residential Treatment Center (RTC)--Residential
treatment center as defined in 40 TAC §748.43.

(2) Rates are paid for each level of service identified by
DFPS.

HA) Eor foster homes; the minimum daily rate to be
paid to a foster home effective September 15 2015; for each level of
serviee will be equal to the rate for that level of serviee in effeet Au-
gaust 345 20457

(A) [€B)] For CPAs, the rate consists of a foster home
payment described in subparagraph (B) of this paragraph and a CPA
retainage. Effective [the rates effeetive] September 1, 2015, [for] the
CPA retainage for each level of service will be equal [te the rate paid to
CPAs for the] CPA retainage for that level of service in effect August

31, 2015:[; plas 5-1 pereent:]

(i) plus 9.39 percent for the basic level of service;

(ii) plus 1.14 percent for the moderate level of ser-

vice;

(iii)  plus 0.42 percent for the specialized level of ser-

vice; and

(iv) _plus 0.01 percent for the intense level of service.

(B) For foster homes, the minimum daily rate to be paid
to a foster home effective September 1, 2015, for each level of service
will be equal to the rate for that level of service in effect August 31,
2015.

(C) For GROs and RTCs, the rates effective September
1, 2015, will be equal to the rates paid to GROs and RTCs in effect
August 31, 2015:

(i) plus 9.58 percent for the specialized level of ser-
vice;

(ii) plus 0.3 percent for the intense level of service;
and

(iii) unchanged for other levels of service.

(D) For emergency care services the rates effective
September 1, 2015, will be equal to the rates in effect August 31,
2015, plus 6.0 percent.

(r) Payment rates for Single Source Continuum Contractors
under Foster Care Redesign are determined on a pro forma basis in
accordance with §355.105(h) of this title.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602382

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION

PART 4. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
LICENSING AND REGULATION

CHAPTER 59. CONTINUING EDUCATION
REQUIREMENTS
16 TAC §§59.3,59.10, 59.20, 59.21, 59.30, 59.51, 59.80, 59.90

The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (Depart-
ment) proposes amendments to existing rules at 16 Texas
Administrative Code (TAC) Chapter 59, §§59.3, 59.10, 59.20,
59.21, 59.30, 59.51, 59.80, and 59.90, regarding Continuing
Education Requirements.

The proposed amendments update the continuing education
requirements for the different professions regulated by the
Department and provide general language clean up. The
proposed amendments are necessary to allow the Depart-
ment to streamline continuing education requirements across
several professions. The proposed amendments provide the
Department with better enforcement tools to hold the continuing
education providers accountable to the consumers they serve.

The proposed amendments to §59.3 add "booting operators",
"elevator contractor responsible party and registered elevator
inspector", and "property tax professionals" to the occupations
which are required to take continuing education. Also, "licensed
court interpreters" was removed from the listed professions since
the Department no longer has regulatory authority over the pro-
fession.

The proposed amendments to §59.10 add "current on the pay-
ment" to the definitions and clarifies the definition of "continuing
education provider". Editorial changes are made to renumber
the section.

The proposed amendments to §59.20 remove the requirement
for a separate provider registration per occupation and add the
requirement for the provider to be current on all fees.

The proposed amendments to §59.21 add the requirement for
providers seeking renewal to be current on all fees.

The proposed amendments to §59.30 allow the Department to
approve courses in increments of less than one hour and prevent
the Department from approving a continuing education course
from a provider that is not current on required fees.

The proposed amendments §59.51 require the course comple-
tion report to include the total amount of continuing education
record fees owed to the Department, if any. The proposed
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amendments also require the provider to pay all required fees
and prohibit the provider from enrolling a participant into a
continuing education course without Department approval if
fees are owed.

The proposed amendments to §59.80 add a record fee and clean
up expired language.

The proposed amendments to §59.90 allow the Department to
seek an administrative sanction against a person for failing to
pay the Department all required fees, including record fees, or
administrative penalties and allow the Executive Director to pro-
bate a license.

William H. Kuntz, Jr., Executive Director, has determined that
for the first five-year period the proposed amendments are in
effect there will be no direct cost to state or local government as
a result of enforcing or administering the proposed rules. There
is no estimated decrease or increase in revenue to the state or
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the
proposed rules.

Mr. Kuntz also has determined that for each year of the first five-
year period the proposed amendments are in effect, the public
will benefit by having better skilled and informed professionals in
the designated occupations.

There will be no anticipated economic effect on small and mi-
cro-businesses that are required to comply with the rules as pro-
posed.

Since the agency has determined that the proposed amend-
ments will have no adverse economic effect on small or micro-
businesses, preparation of an Economic Impact Statement and
a Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, under Texas Government Code
§2006.002, is not required.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted by mail to Pauline
Easley, Legal Assistant, General Counsel's Office, Texas De-
partment of Licensing and Regulation, P.O. Box 12157, Austin,
Texas 78711; or by facsimile to (512) 475-3032; or electronically
to erule.comments@tdir.texas.gov. The deadline for comments
is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code,
Chapter 51, which authorize the Commission, the Department's
governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement these
chapters and any other law establishing a program regulated by
the Department.

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 51. No other statutes,
articles, or codes are affected by the proposal.

§59.3.  Purpose and Applicability.

These rules are promulgated to establish continuing education provider
and course requirements for the following occupations regulated by the
Department of Licensing and Regulation:

(1) Air conditioning and refrigeration contractors, as pro-
vided by Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 1302. Additional contin-
uing education requirements relating to air conditioning and refrigera-
tion contractors may be found in Chapter 75 of this title.

(2) Auctioneers, as provided by Texas Occupations Code,
Chapter 1802. Additional continuing education requirements relating
to auctioneers may be found in Chapter 67 of this title.

(3) Booting operators, as provided by Texas Occupations

(4) [63)] Cosmetologists, as provided by Texas Occupa-
tions Code, Chapters 1602 and 1603. Additional continuing education
requirements relating to cosmetologists may be found in Chapter 83 of
this title.

(5) [#4)] Electricians, as provided by Texas Occupations
Code, Chapter 1305. Additional continuing education requirements
relating to electricians may be found in Chapter 73 of this title.

(6) Elevator contractor responsible party and registered el-
evator inspector, as provided by Texas Health and Safety Code, Chap-
ter 754, Subchapter B. Additional continuing education requirements
relating to responsible parties may be found in Chapter 74 of this title.

H5) Licensed court interpreters; as provided by Texas Gov-
ernment Code; Chapter 57; Subehapter €. Additional continuing edu-
cation requirements relating to licensed court interpreters may be found
in Chapter 80 of this title]

(7) [€6)] Polygraph examiners, as provided by Texas Occu-
pations Code, Chapter 1703. Additional continuing education require-
ments relating to polygraph examiners may be found in Chapter 88 of
this title.

(8) [EP] Property tax consultants, as provided by Texas Oc-
cupations Code, Chapter 1152. Additional continuing education re-
quirements relating to property tax consultants may be found in Chap-
ter 66 of this title.

(9) Property tax professionals, as provided by Texas Oc-
cupations Code, Chapter 1151, Subchapter D. Additional continuing
education requirements relating to property tax professionals may be
found in Chapter 94 of this title.

(10) [€8®)] Registered accessibility specialists, as provided
by Texas Government Code, Chapter 469. Additional continuing edu-
cation requirements relating to registered accessibility specialists may
be found in Chapter 68 of this title.

(11) [€9)] Towing operators, as provided by Texas Occu-
pations Code, Chapter 2308. Additional continuing education require-
ments relating to towing operators may be found in Chapter 86 of this
title.

(12) [E9)] Water well drillers and pump installers, as pro-
vided by Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 1901 and 1902. Addi-
tional continuing education requirements relating to water well drillers
and pump installers may be found in Chapter 76 of this title.

§59.10.  Definitions.

The following terms, when used in this chapter, have the following
meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

D Department—The Texas Department of Licensing and
Regulation.]

(1) [€)] Commission--The Texas Commission of Licens-
ing and Regulation.

(2) [63)] Continuing Education Courses or Courses--De-
partment-approved courses that may be completed to satisfy continuing
education requirements.

(3) [#] Continuing Education Provider or Provider--A
person registered by the department to offer continuing education
courses, in any occupation that offers continuing education.

(4) Current on the Payment--A provider applicant or
provider is considered current on the payment of any required fees
or administrative penalties if the provider applicant or provider is

Code, Chapter 2308. Additional continuing education requirement re-

making payments as provided by an agreed payment schedule with

lating to booting may be found in Chapter 89 of this title.

the department.
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(5) Day--A calendar day.
(6) Department--The Texas Department of Licensing and
Regulation.
§59.20.  Provider Registration.
(a) (No change.)
) A separate provider registration is required for each ocen-
(b) [€e)] To register, an applicant shall:

(1) file a completed application on the appropriate depart-
ment-approved form; [and)]

(2) pay all applicable fees;[-]

(3) be current on the payment of any unpaid required fees,
including record fees, or administrative penalties; and

(4) demonstrate the capability to meet the requirements of
this chapter and other applicable department requirements.

Hd) To be registered as a provider; an applicant must demen-
strate the capability to meet the requirements of this chapter and other
$59.21.  Provider Registration Renewals.

(a) (No change.)

(b) To renew a registration, a provider shall:

(1) file a completed application for renewal on the appro-
priate department-approved form; [and]

(2) pay all applicable fees; and[-]

(3) be current on the payment of any unpaid required fees,
including record fees, or administrative penalties.

(¢) (No change.)

$59.30. Continuing Education Courses.
(a) - (k) (No change.)

(I) The department may [net] approve courses in increments
of less than one hour of continuing education credit.

(m) - (n) (No change.)

(o) The department may not approve a continuing education
course from a provider that is past due or not current on the payment
of any unpaid required fees, including record fees, or administrative

penalties.

§59.51.  Responsibilities of Providers.
(a) - (d) (No change.)

(e) A provider must submit to the department, on the appro-
priate department-approved form, a course completion report no later
than seven days after the course completion date. The report shall in-
clude the following information:

(1) name and number of course;

(2) course completion date;

(3) provider name and number;

(4) the location where the course was taught;

(5) the number of participants to whom a certificate was
issued; [and]

(6) the name, license type and license number of each par-
ticipant to whom a certificate of completion was issued; and[-]

(7) the total amount of continuing education record fees
owed to the department, if any.

- (@) (No change.)

(m) A provider must pay all required fees, including record
fees, or administrative penalties, in a manner prescribed by the depart-
ment.

(n) Upon notification by the department that a provider is past
due or not current on the payment of any unpaid required fees, includ-
ing record fees, or administrative penalties, a provider may not enroll
a participant in a continuing education course without department ap-

proval.
$59.80. Fees.
(a) (No change.)

(b) Provider renewal application fee--[$250 per eceupation for
registrations expiring before April 1, 2014:] $200 [for registrations cx-
piring on or after April 1; 2044].

(¢) - (d) (No change.)
(e) Record fee, if required--$5 per licensee.

(f) [€e)] All fees paid to the department are non-refundable.

$59.90. Sanctions--Administrative Sanctions and Penalties.
(a) (No change.)

(b) Any of the following actions by a person is a violation of
this chapter and may result in the assessment of administrative penalties
or administrative sanctions against the person:

(1)- (4) (No change.)

(5) Fraud or misrepresentation regarding maintenance of
records, teaching method, program content, or issuance of certificates;
[or]

(6) Failing to cooperate with the department in an investi-
gation or audit; or[<]

(7) Failing to pay the department all required fees, includ-
ing record fees, or administrative penalties.

(¢) An order of suspension issued under this section may be
probated upon reasonable terms and conditions as determined by the
commission or executive director.

(d) (No change.)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 10, 2016.

TRD-201602292

William H. Kuntz, Jr.

Executive Director

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 19. EDUCATION

PART 1. TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION
COORDINATING BOARD
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CHAPTER 4. RULES APPLYING TO
ALL PUBLIC INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER
EDUCATION IN TEXAS

SUBCHAPTER C. TEXAS SUCCESS
INITIATIVE

19 TAC §4.54

The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating
Board or THECB) proposes amendments to §4.54, concerning
the Texas Success Initiative (TSI), to incorporate into existing
rules changes that address the college readiness benchmarks
for the new College Board SAT examinations administered
on or after March 5, 2016. Specifically, the amendment to
§4.54(a)(1)(B), the TSI exemption for the SAT examinations,
would add the college readiness benchmarks set by The Col-
lege Board and would provide additional clarification of rule
application.

R. Jerel Booker, J.D., Assistant Commissioner for College
Readiness and Success, has determined that for each year of
the first five years the section is in effect, there will not be any
fiscal implications for state or local governments as a result of
enforcing or administering the rule.

Mr. Booker has also determined that for each of the first five
years the section is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as
a result of administering the section will be consistent and clear
application for TSI purposes of the college readiness benchmark
for the new SAT examinations administered on or after March 5,
2016.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Jerel Booker,
J.D., THECB, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 78711 or via
email in care of Suzanne Morales-Vale, who may be reached
at suzanne.morales-vale@thecb.state.tx.us. Comments will be
accepted for 30 days following publication of the proposal in the
Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Education Code
(TEC), §51.3062, which provides the THECB with the author-
ity to establish policies and procedures relating to the TSI and
§51.307, which provides the THECB with the authority to adopt
and publish rules and regulations to effectuate the provisions of
Chapter 51, Subchapter F of the TEC.

The amendments affect TEC, §51.3062.
§4.54. Exemptions, Exceptions, and Waivers.

(a) The following students shall be exempt from the require-
ments of this title, whereby exempt students shall not be required to
provide any additional demonstration of college readiness and shall
be allowed to enroll in any entry-level freshman course as defined in
§4.53(12) of this title (relating to Definitions):

(1) For a period of five (5) years from the date of testing, a
student who is tested and performs at or above the following standards
that cannot be raised by institutions:

(A) ACT: composite score of 23 with a minimum of 19
on the English test shall be exempt for both the reading and writing
sections of the TSI Assessment, and/or 19 on the mathematics test shall
be exempt for the mathematics section of the TSI Assessment;

(B) SAT:

(i) SAT administered prior to March 5,2016: a com-
bined critical reading (formerly "verbal") and mathematics score of

1070 with a minimum of 500 on the critical reading test shall be ex-
empt for both reading and writing sections of the TSI Assessment; a
combined critical reading (formerly "verbal") and mathematics score
of 1070 with a minimum of; and/er] 500 on the mathematics test shall
be exempt for the mathematics section of the TSI Assessment.[; of]

(i) SAT administered on or after March 5, 2016: a
minimum score of 480 on the Evidenced-Based Reading and Writing
(EBRW) test shall be exempt for both reading and writing sections of
the TSI Assessment; a minimum score of 530 on the mathematics test
shall be exempt for the mathematics section of the TSI Assessment.
There is no combined score.

(iii) Mixing or combining scores from the SAT ad-
ministered prior to March 5, 2016 and the SAT administered on or after
March 5, 2016 is not allowable.

(2) - (10) (No change.)
(b) - (d) (No change.)
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602357

Bill Franz

General Counsel

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114

¢ ¢ ¢
PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY

CHAPTER 97. PLANNING AND
ACCOUNTABILITY

SUBCHAPTER AA. ACCOUNTABILITY AND
PERFORMANCE MONITORING

19 TAC §97.1001

(Editor's note: In accordance with Texas Government Code,
$2002.014, which permits the omission of material which is "cum-
bersome, expensive, or otherwise inexpedient,” the figure in 19 TAC
$§97.1001(b) is not included in the print version of the Texas Register.
The figure is available in the html version of the May 27, 2016, issue
of the Texas Register on-line.)

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) proposes an amendment
to §97.1001, concerning accountability. The section describes
the state accountability rating system and annually adopts the
most current accountability manual. The proposed amendment
would adopt applicable excerpts of the 2016 Accountability Man-
ual. Earlier versions of the manual will remain in effect with re-
spect to the school years for which they were developed.

The TEA has adopted its academic accountability manual in rule
since 2000. The accountability system evolves from year to
year, so the criteria and standards for rating and acknowledg-
ing schools in the most current year differ to some degree over
those applied in the prior year. The intention is to update 19
TAC §97.1001 annually to refer to the most recently published
accountability manual.
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The proposed amendment to 19 TAC §97.1001 would adopt ex-
cerpts of the 2016 Accountability Manual into rule as a figure.
The excerpts, Chapters 2-9 of the 2016 Accountability Manual,
specify the indicators, standards, and procedures used by the
commissioner of education to determine accountability ratings
for districts, campuses, and charter schools. These chapters
also specify indicators, standards, and procedures used to deter-
mine distinction designations on additional indicators for Texas
public school campuses and districts. The TEA will issue ac-
countability ratings and distinction designations under the pro-
cedures specified in the 2016 Accountability Manual by August
15, 2016. Ratings and distinction designations may be revised
as a result of investigative activities by the commissioner as au-
thorized under TEC, §39.056 and §39.057.

In 2016, campuses and districts will be evaluated using a
performance index framework. The framework includes four in-
dices. These indices include performance on the State of Texas
Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR®) assessments
for Grades 3-8 and end-of-course, longitudinal graduation
rates, four-year Recommended High School Program/Dis-
tinguished Achievement Program (RHSP/DAP) graduation
rate, four-year Foundation High School Program (FHSP) with
endorsement/distinguished level of achievement graduation
rate, and annual dropout rates. These indices incorporate the
various criteria mandated by statute as set out in the statutory
authority section. In 2016, the distinction designations system
will award seven distinctions to eligible campuses that receive
a Met Standard rating: Academic Achievement in English Lan-
guage Arts/Reading, Academic Achievement in Mathematics,
Academic Achievement in Science, Academic Achievement
in Social Studies, Top 25 Percent Student Progress, Top 25
Percent Closing Performance Gaps, and Postsecondary Readi-
ness. Districts will be eligible for a distinction designation for
Postsecondary Readiness.

There are four substantive changes to the accountability sys-
tem for 2016. First, results of STAAR® assessments for math-
ematics, Grades 3-8, are included. These assessments were
excluded from the 2015 accountability ratings due to the imple-
mentation of the new mathematics Texas Essential Knowledge
and Skills (TEKS) at Grades 3-8 in 2014-2015. Second, the re-
sults of STAAR A are included in all four indices and STAAR
Alternate 2 results are included in Index 1, Index 2, and Index 3.
These assessments were excluded from the 2015 accountabil-
ity ratings because they were administered for the first time in
2014-2015. Third, the calculation for the graduation plan com-
ponent of Index 4 now includes students who graduate under
the FHSP. This year, two percentages are calculated: the per-
centage of students graduating under the RHSP/DAP, and the
percentage of students graduating under either the RHSP/DAP
or the FHSP with an endorsement (FHSP-E) or the distinguished
level of achievement (DLA).

The percentage that contributes the most points to the Index 4
score will be used.

This change was made so that districts with students graduating
under the FHSP sooner than required would not be disadvan-
taged.

Fourth, and finally, the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) assess-
ment is replacing the exit-level Texas Assessment of Knowledge
and Skills (TAKS) in the postsecondary component of Index 4.
This change is being made because the results of the exit-level
TAKS are no longer available.

The proposed amendment to 19 TAC §97.1001 would also in-
clude minor technical changes such as date changes and new
language in Chapter 2 that explains the special processing rules
that will be applied to tests affected by the spring 2016 testing
issues.

The proposed rule action would place the specific procedures
contained in Chapters 2-9 of the 2016 Accountability Manual
for annually rating school districts and campuses in the Texas
Administrative Code. Applicable procedures would be adopted
each year as annual versions of the accountability manual are
published.

The proposed amendment would have no locally maintained pa-
perwork requirements.

FISCAL NOTE. Criss Cloudt, associate commissioner for as-
sessment and accountability, has determined that for the first
five-year period the amendment is in effect there are no addi-
tional costs for state or local government as a result of enforc-
ing or administering the amendment. There is no effect on local
economy for the first five years that the proposed amendments
are in effect; therefore, no local employment impact statement is
required under Texas Government Code, §2001.022.

PUBLIC BENEFIT/COST NOTE. Dr. Cloudt has determined that
for each year of the first five years the amendment is in effect the
public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the amendment
will be to continue to inform the public of the existence of annual
manuals specifying rating procedures for the public schools by
including this rule in the Texas Administrative Code. There is no
anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to comply
with the proposed amendment.

ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY
FLEXIBILITY ANALYSIS FOR SMALL BUSINESSES AND
MICROBUSINESSES. There is no direct adverse economic
impact for small businesses and microbusinesses; therefore,
no regulatory flexibility analysis, specified in Texas Government
Code, §2006.002, is required.

REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT. The public comment pe-
riod on the proposal begins May 27, 2016, and ends June 27,
2016. Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Cristina
De La Fuente-Valadez, Rulemaking, Texas Education Agency,
1701 North Congress Avenue, Austin, Texas 78701. Comments
may also be submitted electronically to rules@tea.texas.gov. A
request for a public hearing on the proposal submitted under the
Administrative Procedure Act must be received by the commis-
sioner of education not more than 14 calendar days after notice
of the proposal has been published in the Texas Register on May
27, 2016.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is proposed under
the Texas Education Code (TEC), §39.052(a) and (b)(1)(A),
which require the commissioner to evaluate and consider the
performance on achievement indicators described in TEC,
§39.053(c), when determining the accreditation status of each
school district and open-enrollment charter school; TEC,
§39.053, which requires the commissioner to adopt a set of
performance indicators related to the quality of learning and
achievement in order to measure and evaluate school districts
and campuses; TEC, §39.0535, which provides a temporary
provision that the commissioner shall assign each district and
campus a performance rating not later than August 15 of each
year; TEC, §39.054, which requires the commissioner to adopt
rules to evaluate school district and campus performance
and to assign a performance rating; TEC, §12.104(b)(2)(L),
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which subjects open-enrollment charter schools to the rules
adopted under public school accountability in Chapter 39; TEC,
§39.0545, which requires each school district to evaluate and
report to the agency its own performance and the performance
of each of its campuses in community and student engagement;
TEC, §29.081(e), which defines criteria for alternative educa-
tion programs for students at risk of dropping out of school
and subjects those campuses to the performance indicators
and accountability standards adopted for alternative education
programs; TEC, §39.0548, which requires the commissioner
to designate campuses that meet specific criteria as dropout
recovery schools and to use specific indicators to evaluate them;
TEC, §39.055, which prohibits the use of assessment results
and other performance indicators of students in a residential
facility in state accountability; TEC, §39.151, which provides
a process for a school district or an open-enroliment charter
school to challenge an academic or financial accountability
rating; TEC, §39.201, which requires the commissioner to award
distinction designations to a campus or district for outstanding
performance; TEC, §39.2011, which makes charter districts
and campuses that earn a Met Standard rating eligible for
distinction designations; and TEC, §39.202 and §39.203, which
authorize the commissioner to establish criteria for distinction
designations for campuses and districts.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment
implements the Texas Education Code, §8§39.052(a) and
(b)(1)(A), 39.053, 39.0535, 39.054, 39.0545, 39.0548, 39.055,
39.151, 39.201, 39.2011, 39.202, 39.203, 29.081(e), and
12.104(b)(2)(L).

§97.1001.  Accountability Rating System.

(a) The rating standards established by the commissioner
of education under Texas Education Code (TEC), §§39.052(a) and
(b)(1)(A); 39.053, 39.0535, [and] 39.054, [as these seetions existed
on January 1 2015;] 39.0545, 39.0548, [as added by Senate Bill
section existed on January 1 2015; 39.0545; as added by Heuse
Bill 5; 83rd Texas Legislature; Sesston; 2043;] 39.055,[;]
39.151,[;] 39.201, 39.2011,[:] 39.202,[;] 39.203,[;] 29.081(e),[:]
and 12.104(b)(2)(L), shall be used to evaluate the performance of
districts, campuses, and charter schools. The indicators, standards,
and procedures used to determine ratings will be annually published
in official Texas Education Agency publications. These publications
will be widely disseminated and cover the following:

(1) indicators, standards, and procedures used to determine
district ratings;

(2) indicators, standards, and procedures used to determine
campus ratings;

(3) indicators, standards, and procedures used to determine
distinction designations; and

(4) procedures for submitting a rating appeal.

(b) The procedures by which districts, campuses, and charter
schools are rated and acknowledged for 2016 [2045] are based upon
specific criteria and calculations, which are described in excerpted sec-
tions of the 2016 [2045] Accountability Manual provided in this sub-
section.

Figure: 19 TAC §97.1001(b)

[Figure: 19 TAC §97.1001(b)]

(c) Ratings may be revised as a result of investigative activities
by the commissioner as authorized under TEC, §39.056 and §39.057.

(d) The specific criteria and calculations used in the account-
ability manual are established annually by the commissioner of educa-
tion and communicated to all school districts and charter schools.

(e) The specific criteria and calculations used in the annual ac-
countability manual adopted for prior school years remain in effect for
all purposes, including accountability, data standards, and audits, with
respect to those school years.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602369

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS

PART 8. TEXAS APPRAISER
LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION
BOARD

CHAPTER 153. RULES RELATING TO
PROVISIONS OF THE TEXAS APPRAISER
LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION ACT

22 TAC §153.5

The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB
or Board) proposes amendments to §153.5, Fees. The pro-
posed amendments add a reference to the fee for voluntary
appraiser trainee experience reviews previously adopted by the
Board in 22 TAC §153.22 at its meeting on February 19, 2016.
The amendments also propose a new fee for fingerprint-based
criminal history checks or other related services as recom-
mended by the Working Group for AQB Criminal History Check
Criteria.

The Legislature delegated authority to the Board to adopt rules
requiring applicants and license holders to provide fingerprints
for the purpose of obtaining criminal history record information.
The Board appointed the Working Group in November 2015 to
consider whether to implement fingerprint-based criminal his-
tory checks to comply with criteria adopted by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board (AQB). The Working Group recommends
implementing national fingerprint-based criminal history checks
for applicants and current license holders. The fee for finger-
print-based criminal history checks or other related services al-
low the Board to recoup the costs of these checks and services
from license holders.

Kristen Worman, General Counsel, has determined that for the
first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect,
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the
proposed amendments. There is no anticipated significant im-
pact on small businesses, micro-businesses or local or state em-
ployment as a result of implementing the proposed amendments.
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There is no significant anticipated economic cost to persons who
are required to comply with the proposed amendments.

Ms. Worman also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the section as proposed is in effect the public benefit
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section as proposed will
be recovery of direct costs from applicants for implementation of
rule requirements consistent with state and federal law.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kristen Wor-
man, General Counsel, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certi-
fication Board, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or
emailed to general.counsel@talcb.texas.gov. The deadline for
comments is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code
§§1103.151, 1103.152, and 1103.2031, which authorize TALCB
to: adopt rules relating to certificates and licenses; prescribe
qualifications for appraisers that are consistent with the qualifica-
tions established by the AQB; and require applicants and current
license holders to submit fingerprints for the purpose of obtain-
ing criminal history record information.

The statute affected by these amendments is Texas Occupations
Code, Chapter 1103. No other statute, code or article is affected
by the proposed amendments.

§153.5. Fees.

(a) The Board shall charge and the Commissioner shall collect
the following fees:

(1) a fee of $400 for an application for a certified general
appraiser license;

(2) afeeof$350 for an application for a certified residential
appraiser license;

(3) afeeof$325 foran application for a licensed residential
appraiser license;

(4) afee of $300 for an application for an appraiser trainee
license;

(5) afeeof $360 for a timely renewal of a certified general
appraiser license;

(6) afeeof $310 for a timely renewal of a certified residen-
tial appraiser license;

(7) afee of $290 for a timely renewal of a licensed residen-
tial appraiser license;

(8) afeeof$250 foratimely renewal of an appraiser trainee
license;

(9) afeeequal to 1-1/2 times the timely renewal fee for the
late renewal of a license within 90 days of expiration;

(10) afee equal to two times the timely renewal fee for the
late renewal of a license more than 90 days but less than six months
after expiration;

(11) a fee of $250 for nonresident license;

(12) the national registry fee in the amount charged by the
Appraisal Subcommittee;

(13) an application fee for licensure by reciprocity in the
same amount as the fee charged for a similar license issued to a Texas
resident;

(14) afee of $40 for preparing a certificate of licensure his-
tory, active licensure, or supervision;

(15) afee of $20 for an addition or termination of sponsor-
ship of an appraiser trainee;

(16) a fee of $20 for replacing a lost or destroyed license;

(17) a fee for a returned check equal to that charged for a
returned check by the Texas Real Estate Commission;

(18) a fee of $200 for an extension of time to complete re-
quired continuing education;

(19) afee of $25 to request a license be placed on inactive
status;

(20) a fee of $50 to request a return to active status;

(21) a fee of $50 for evaluation of an applicant's criminal
history;

(22) an examination fee as provided in the Board's current
examination administration agreement;

(23) afee of $20 per certification when providing certified
copies of documents;

(24) a fee of $75 to request a voluntary appraiser trainee
experience review;

(25) the fee charged by the Federal Bureau of Investigation,
the Texas Department of Public Safety or other authorized entity for
fingerprinting or other service for a national or state criminal history
check in connection with a license application or renewal;

(26) [24)] a fee of $20 for filing any application, renewal,
change request, or other record on paper when the person may other-
wise file electronically by accessing the Board's website and entering
the required information online; and

(27) [25)] any fee required by the Department of Informa-
tion Resources for establishing and maintaining online applications.

(b) Fees must be submitted in U.S. funds payable to the order
of the Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board. Fees are not
refundable once an application has been accepted for filing. Persons
who have submitted a check which has been returned, and who have
not made good on that check within thirty days, for whatever reason,
shall submit all future fees in the form of a cashier's check or money
order.

(c) Licensing fees are waived for members of the Board staff
who must maintain a license for employment with the Board only and
are not also using the license for outside employment.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602359

Kristen Worman

General Counsel

Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652

¢ ¢ 4
22 TAC §153.9

The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB
or Board) proposes amendments to §153.9, Applications. The
proposed amendments implement fingerprint-based criminal
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history checks for license applicants as recommended by the
Working Group for AQB Criminal History Check Criteria and
clarify when the Board may terminate an application.

The Legislature delegated authority to the Board to adopt rules
requiring fingerprint-based criminal history checks. The Board
appointed the Working Group in November 2015 to consider
whether to implement fingerprint-based criminal history checks
for appraisers to comply with criteria adopted by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board (AQB). The Working Group recommends
implementing fingerprint-based criminal history checks for appli-
cants and current license holders. The proposed amendments
add this requirement to the rule and clarify that the Board may
terminate an application if an applicant fails to provide finger-
prints or satisfy other licensing requirements within one year from
the date an application is filed.

Kristen Worman, General Counsel, has determined that for the
first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect,
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the
proposed amendments. There is no anticipated significant im-
pact on small businesses, micro-businesses or local or state em-
ployment as a result ofimplementing the proposed amendments.
There is no significant anticipated economic cost to persons who
are required to comply with the proposed amendments.

Ms. Worman also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the section as proposed is in effect the public benefits
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section as proposed will
be increased consumer protection, clarity for license holders and
a requirement that is consistent with state and federal law.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kristen Wor-
man, General Counsel, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certi-
fication Board, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or
emailed to general.counsel@talcb.texas.gov. The deadline for
comments is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code
§§1103.151, 1103.152, and 1103.2031, which authorize TALCB
to: adopt rules relating to certificates and licenses; prescribe
qualifications for appraisers that are consistent with the qualifica-
tions established by the AQB; and require applicants and current
license holders to submit fingerprints for the purpose of obtain-
ing criminal history record information.

The statute affected by these amendments is Texas Occupations
Code, Chapter 1103. No other statute, code or article is affected
by the proposed amendments.

$§153.9.  Applications.

(a) A person desiring to be licensed as an appraiser or[;] ap-
praiser trainee[; or temperary eut-of-state appraiser] shall file an appli-
cation using forms prescribed by the Board or the Board's online appli-
cation system, if available. The Board may decline to accept for filing
an application that is materially incomplete or that is not accompanied
by the appropriate fee. Except as provided by the Act, the Board may
not grant a license to an applicant who has not:

(1) paid the required fees;

(2) submitted a complete and legible set of fingerprints as
required in §153.12 of this title;

(3) [)] satisfied any experience and education require-
ments established by the Act, Board rules, or the AQB,;

(4) [63)] successfully completed any qualifying examina-
tion prescribed by the Board;

(5) [#4] provided all supporting documentation or infor-
mation requested by the Board in connection with the application;

(6) [€5)] satisfied all unresolved enforcement matters and
requirements with the Board; and

(7) [€6)] met any additional or superseding requirements
established by the Appraisal Qualifications Board.

(b) Termination of application. An application is [may be con-
sidered] void and subject to no further evaluation or processing if:

(1) an applicant fails to provide information or documen-
tation within 60 days after the Board makes a written request for the
information or documentation; or[-]

(2) within one year from the date an application is filed, an
applicant fails to satisfy:

(A) a current education, experience or exam require-

ment; or

(B) the fingerprint and criminal history check require-
ments in §153.12 of this title.

(c) A license is valid for the term for which it is issued by
the Board unless suspended or revoked for cause and unless revoked,
may be renewed in accordance with the requirements of §153.17 of this
title (relating to Renewal or Extension of Certification and License or
Renewal of Trainee Approval).

(d) The Board may deny a license to an applicant who fails
to satisfy the Board as to the applicant's honesty, trustworthiness, and
integrity.

(¢) The Board may deny a license to an applicant who submits
incomplete, false, or misleading information on the application or sup-
porting documentation.

(f) When an application is denied by the Board, no subse-
quent application will be accepted within two years after the date of
the Board's notice of denial as required in §157.7 of this title.

(g) This subsection applies to an applicant who is a military
service member, a military veteran, or the spouse of a person serving
on active duty as a member of the armed forces of the United States.

(1) The Board shall waive the license application and ex-
amination fees for an applicant who is:

(A) a military service member or military veteran
whose military service, training, or education substantially meets all
of the requirements for the license; or

(B) amilitary service member, military veteran, or mil-
itary spouse who holds a current license issued by another jurisdiction
that has licensing requirements that are substantially equivalent to the
requirements for the license in this state.

(2) The Board shall issue on an expedited basis a license to
an applicant who holds a current license issued by another state or juris-
diction that has licensing requirements that are substantially equivalent
to the requirements for the license issued in this state.

(3) The Board may issue a license to an applicant who
within the five years preceding the application date, held the license
in this state.

(4) The Board may allow an applicant to demonstrate com-
petency by alternative methods in order to meet the requirements for
obtaining a particular license issued by the Board. For purposes of this
subsection, the standard method of demonstrating competency is the
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specific examination, education, and/or experience required to obtain
a particular license.

(5) Inlieu of the standard method(s) of demonstrating com-
petency for a particular license and based on the applicant's circum-
stances, the alternative methods for demonstrating competency may
include any combination of the following as determined by the Board:

(A) education;

(B) continuing education;

(C) examinations (written and/or practical);
(D) letters of good standing;

(E) letters of recommendation;

(F) work experience; or

(G) other methods required by the commissioner.

(h) This subsection applies to an applicant who is serving on
active duty or is a veteran of the armed forces of the United States.

(1) The Board will credit any verifiable military service,
training or education obtained by an applicant that is relevant to a li-
cense toward the requirements of a license.

(2) This subsection does not apply to an applicant who
holds a restricted license issued by another jurisdiction.

(3) The applicant must pass the qualifying examination, if
any, for the type of license sought.

(4) The Board will evaluate applications filed by an appli-
cant who is serving on active duty or is a veteran of the armed forces of
the United States consistent with the criteria adopted by the AQB and
any exceptions to those criteria as authorized by the AQB.

(1) A person applying for license under subsection (g) or (h) of
this section must also:

(1) submit the Board's approved application form for the
type of license sought;

(2) submit the appropriate fee for that application; and

(3) submit the supplemental form approved by the Board
applicable to subsection (g) or (h) of this section.

(j) The commissioner may waive any prerequisite to obtaining
a license for an applicant as allowed by the AQB.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602360

Kristen Worman

General Counsel

Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652

¢ ¢ ¢
22 TAC §153.12

The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB
or Board) proposes new §153.12, Criminal History Checks. As
recommended by the Working Group for AQB Criminal History

Check Criteria, the proposed rule implements fingerprint-based
criminal history checks to comply with criteria adopted by the
Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB).

The Legislature delegated authority to the Board to adopt rules
requiring applicants and license holders to provide fingerprints
for the purpose of obtaining criminal history record information.
The Board appointed the Working Group in November 2015 to
consider whether to implement fingerprint-based criminal history
checks to comply with criteria adopted by the Appraiser Quali-
fications Board (AQB). The Working Group recommends imple-
menting fingerprint-based criminal history checks for applicants
and current license holders. The proposed new section would
require applicants to undergo fingerprint-based criminal history
checks as part of the application process. The proposed new
section would require current license holders to undergo finger-
print-based criminal history checks when renewing their license.

Kristen Worman, General Counsel, has determined that for the
first five-year period the proposed new rules is in effect, there
will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of local gov-
ernment as a result of enforcing or administering the proposed
new rule. There is no anticipated significant impact on small
businesses, micro-businesses or local or state employment as
a result of implementing the proposed new rule. There is no sig-
nificant anticipated economic cost to persons who are required
to comply with the proposed rule.

Ms. Worman also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the rule as proposed is in effect the public benefits an-
ticipated as a result of enforcing the section as proposed will be
increased consumer protection and a requirement that is consis-
tent with state and federal law.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kristen Wor-
man, General Counsel, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certi-
fication Board, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or
emailed to general.counsel@talcb.texas.gov. The deadline for
comments is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register.

The new rule is proposed under Texas Occupations Code
§§1103.151, 1103.152, and 1103.2031, which authorize TALCB
to: adopt rules relating to certificates and licenses; prescribe
qualifications for appraisers that are consistent with the quali-
fications established by the AQB; and require applicants and
current license holders to submit fingerprints for the purpose of
obtaining criminal history record information.

The statute affected by the new rule is Texas Occupations Code,
Chapter 1103. No other statute, code or article is affected by the
proposed new rule.

§153.12.  Criminal History Checks.

(a) An applicant or license holder applying for or renewing a
license issued by the Board must submit a complete and legible set
of fingerprints, in a manner approved by the Board, to the Board, the
Texas Real Estate Commission, the Texas Department of Public Safety,
or other authorized entity for the purpose of obtaining criminal history
record information from the Texas Department of Public Safety and the
Federal Bureau of Investigation.

(b) The Board will conduct a criminal history check of each
applicant for a license or renewal of a license.

(c) If an applicant or license holder has previously submitted
fingerprints on behalf of the Board or Commission as provided in (a),
no additional fingerprints are required.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602361

Kristen Worman

General Counsel

Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652

¢ ¢ ¢
22 TAC §153.15

The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB
or Board) proposes amendments to §153.15, Experience Re-
quired for Licensing. The proposed amendments clarify the cri-
teria required for awarding experience credit for applicants and
license holders. The proposed amendments also remove redun-
dant language and reorganize this section to improve readability.

Kristen Worman, General Counsel, has determined that for the
first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect,
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the
proposed amendments. There is no anticipated significant im-
pact on small businesses, micro-businesses or local or state em-
ployment as a result of implementing the proposed amendments.
There is no significant anticipated economic cost to persons who
are required to comply with the proposed amendments.

Ms. Worman also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the section as proposed is in effect the public benefits
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section as proposed will
be clarity for applicants and license holders and a requirement
that is easier to understand and consistent with state and federal
law.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kristen Wor-
man, General Counsel, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certi-
fication Board, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or
emailed to general.counsel@talcb.texas.gov. The deadline for
comments is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code
§§1103.151 - 1103.152, which authorize TALCB to: adopt rules
relating to certificates and licenses and prescribe qualifications
for appraisers that are consistent with the qualifications estab-
lished by the AQB.

The statute affected by these amendments is Texas Occupations
Code, Chapter 1103. No other statute, code or article is affected
by the proposed amendments.

§153.15.  Experience Required for Licensing.

(a) An applicant for a certified general real estate appraiser li-
cense must provide evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant
possesses the equivalent of 3,000 hours of real estate appraisal experi-
ence over a minimum of 30 months. At least 1,500 hours of experience
must be in non-residential real estate appraisal work. [Heurs may be
treated as eumulative in order to achieve the necessary hours of ap-
praisal experienee:]

(b) An applicant for a certified residential real estate appraiser
license must provide evidence satisfactory to the Board that the appli-
cant possesses the equivalent of 2,500 hours of real estate appraisal

experience over a minimum of 24 months. [Heurs may be treated as
cumulative in order to achieve the necessary hours of appraisal expe-
rience. |

(c) An applicant for a state real estate appraiser license must
provide evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant possesses
at least 2,000 hours of real estate appraisal experience over a minimum
of twelve months.

(d) Experience by endorsement: An applicant who is currently
licensed and in good standing in a state that has not been disapproved
by the ASC is deemed to satisfy the experience requirements for the
same level of license in Texas. The applicant must provide appropriate
documentation as required by the Board.

() The Board awards experience credit in accordance with
current criteria established by the AQB and in accordance with the pro-
visions of the Act specifically relating to experience requirements. An
hour of experience means 60 minutes expended in one or more of the
acceptable appraisal experience areas. Calculation of the hours of ex-
perience is based solely on actual hours of experience. Hours may be
treated as cumulative in order to achieve the necessary hours of ap-
praisal experience. Any one or any combination of the following cat-
egories may be acceptable for satisfying the applicable experience re-
quirement. Experience credit may be awarded for:

(1) An [Fee or staff] appraisal or appraisal analysis when
[it is] performed in accordance with Standards 1 and 2 and other pro-
visions of the USPAP edition in effect at the time of the appraisal or
appraisal analysis.

(2) Mass appraisal, including ad [Ad] valorem tax ap-
praisal that:

(A) conforms to USPAP Standard 6; and

(B) demonstrates proficiency in appraisal principles,
techniques, or skills used by appraisers practicing under USPAP
Standard 1.

(3) [#] Appraisal [Technieal] review [appraisal to the ex-
tent] that: [it]

(A) conforms to USPAP Standard 3; and

(B) demonstrates proficiency in appraisal principles,
techniques, or skills used by appraisers practicing under USPAP
Standard 1.

f5) Appraisal analysis: A market analysis typieally per-
formed by a real estate broker or salesperson may be awarded experi-
encc credit when the analysis is prepared in conformity with USPAP
Standards 1 and 2.}

(4) [€6)] Appraisal [Real property appraisal] consulting ser-

vices, including market analysis, cash flow and/or investment analysis,
highest and best use analysis, and feasibility analysis when it demon-
strates proficiency in appraisal principles, techniques, or skills used by
appraisers practicing under USPAP Standard 1 and performed in accor-
dance with USPAP Standards 4 and 5.

(f) Experience credit may not be awarded for teaching ap-
praisal courses.

(g) Each applicant must submit a Board-approved Appraisal
Experience Log and Appraisal Experience Affidavit listing each ap-
praisal assignment or other work for which the applicant is seeking

experience credit.
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(1) The Board may grant experience credit for those real
property appraisals listed on an applicant's Appraisal Experience Log

(2) If the Board requests documentation from an applicant
to verify experience claimed by an applicant, the applicant has 60 days

that:

(A) comply with the USPAP edition in effect at the time
of the appraisal;

(B) are verifiable and supported by:

(i) work files in which the applicant is identified as
participating in the appraisal process; or

(i) appraisal reports that:

(I) name the applicant in the certification as pro-
viding significant real property appraisal assistance; or

(1I) _the applicant has signed;

(C) were performed when the applicant had legal au-
thority to do so; and

(D) comply with the acceptable categories of experi-
ence established by the AQB and stated in subsection (e) of this section.

(2) The Board, at its sole discretion, may accept evidence
other than an applicant's Appraisal Experience Log and Appraisal Ex-
perience Affidavit to demonstrate any experience claimed by an appli-
cant.

an Appraisal Experience Log with an accompanying Appraisal Expe-
rience Affidavit.]
D In exceptional situations; the Beard; at its diseretion;

HA) requiring the applicant to complete a form;
the eity or county where the appraisal was performed; the type and
deseription of the building or property ised; the approaches to
value utilized in the appraisal; the actual number of hours expended
on the appraisal; name of elient; and other information determined to
be approepriate by the Board; or}

[B) engaging in eother investigative research deter-
mined to be appropriate by the Board]

(h) [3)] The Board must verify the experience claimed by

each applicant. [will require verification of aceeptable experience of
all applicants. Applicants have 60 days to provide all documentation
requested by the Board- The]

(1) Verification [verifieation] may be obtained by:

(A) requesting copies of appraisals and all supporting
documentation, including the work files; and [requiring the applicant
teeempleteafemapprevedbytheBeaférthatmeludesdetaﬂedhs{—
the applicant, the city or county where the appraisal was performed;
the type and deseription of the building or property appraised; the ap-
proaches to value utilized in the appraisal; the actual number of hours
expended on the appraisal; name of elient; and other information deter-
mined to be appropriate by the Board;]

[B) requesting copies of appraisals and all supperting

(B) [€©)] engaging in other investigative research deter-
mined to be appropriate by the Board.

to provide the requested documentation to the Board.

(3) [4)] Failure to comply with a request for
documentation to Verlfy experlence [verification of experienee],
or submission of experience that is found not to comply with the
requirements for experience credit, is a violation of these rules and
may result in denial of a license application, and any disciplinary
action up to and including revocation.

real preperty appraisals that:}

D  comply with the USPAR edition in effect at the time of
the appraisal:}

{2 are verifiable and supperted by workfiles in which the
applicant is identified as participating in the appraisal process;}

3> ere performed when the applicant had legal auther-

4 ecomply with the aceeptable categories of experience
as per the AQB experience eriteria and stated in subsection (e) of this
section-}
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602363

Kristen Worman

General Counsel

Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652

¢ ¢ ¢
22 TAC §153.16

The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB
or Board) proposes amendments to §153.16, License Reinstate-
ment. As recommended by the Working Group for AQB Criminal
History Check Criteria, the proposed amendments implement
fingerprint-based criminal history checks for applicants who ap-
ply for license reinstatement.

The Legislature delegated authority to the Board to adopt rules
requiring fingerprint-based criminal history checks. The Board
appointed the Working Group in November 2015 to consider
whether to implement fingerprint-based criminal history checks
for appraisers to comply with criteria adopted by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board (AQB). The Working Group recommends
implementing fingerprint-based criminal history checks for appli-
cants and current license holders. The proposed amendments
implement this requirement for persons who apply to reinstate
their license.

Kristen Worman, General Counsel, has determined that for the
first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect,
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the
proposed amendments. There is no anticipated significant im-
pact on small businesses, micro-businesses or local or state em-
ployment as a result of implementing the proposed amendments.
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There is no significant anticipated economic cost to persons who
are required to comply with the proposed amendments.

Ms. Worman also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the section as proposed is in effect the public bene-
fits anticipated as a result of enforcing the section as proposed
will be increased consumer protection and a requirement that is
consistent with state and federal law.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kristen Wor-
man, General Counsel, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certi-
fication Board, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or
emailed to general.counsel@talcb.texas.gov. The deadline for
comments is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code
§§1103.151, 1103.152, and 1103.2031, which authorize TALCB
to: adopt rules relating to certificates and licenses; prescribe
qualifications for appraisers that are consistent with the qualifica-
tions established by the AQB; and require applicants and current
license holders to submit fingerprints for the purpose of obtain-
ing criminal history record information.

The statute affected by these amendments is Texas Occupations
Code, Chapter 1103. No other statute, code or article is affected
by the proposed amendments.

§153.16. License Reinstatement.
(a) This section applies only to a person who:

(1) previously held an appraiser license issued by the Board
that has expired; and

(2) seeks to obtain the same level of appraiser license pre-
viously held by the person before its expiration.

(b) A person described in subsection (a) may apply to reinstate
the person's former license by:

(1) submitting an application for reinstatement on a form
approved by the Board;

(2) paying the applicable fee;

(3) satisfying the Board as to the person's honesty, trust-
worthiness and integrity; [and]

(4) satisfying the experience requirements in this section;
and[+]

(5) satisfying the fingerprint and criminal history check re-
quirements in §153.12 of this title.

(c) Applicants for reinstatement under this section must
demonstrate completion of 14 hours of appraiser continuing education
for each year since the last renewal of the person's previous license.

(d) Applicants for reinstatement must demonstrate that their
appraisal experience complies with USPAP as follows:

(1) Persons who have work files/license expired less than
5 years. A person described in subsection (a) who has appraisal work
files and whose previous license has been expired less than five years
may apply to reinstate the person's previous license by submitting an
experience log as follows:

(A) For reinstatement as a licensed residential ap-
praiser, a minimum of 10 residential appraisal reports representing at
least 200 hours of residential real estate appraisal experience.

(B) For reinstatement as a certified residential real es-
tate appraiser, a minimum of 10 residential appraisal reports represent-
ing at least 250 hours of residential real estate appraisal experience.

(C) For reinstatement as a certified general appraiser, a
minimum of 10 non-residential appraisal reports representing at least
300 hours of non-residential real estate appraisal experience.

(2) Persons who do not have work files/license expired
more than 5 years.

(A) A person described in subsection (a) who does not
have appraisal work files or whose previous license has been expired
for more than five years may apply for a license as an appraiser trainee
for the purpose of acquiring the appraisal experience required under
this subsection.

(B) Anappraiser trainee licensed under this section may
apply for reinstatement at the same level of appraiser license that the
applicant previously held, after the applicant completes the required
number of appraisal reports or hours of real estate appraisal experience
as follows:

(i) For reinstatement as a licensed residential ap-
praiser, the applicant must complete a minimum of 10 residential
appraisal reports or 200 hours of residential real estate appraisal
experience, whichever is more.

(i) For reinstatement as a certified residential ap-
praiser, the applicant must complete a minimum of 10 residential ap-
praisal reports or 250 hours of residential real estate appraisal experi-
ence, whichever is more.

(iii) For reinstatement as a certified general ap-
praiser, the applicant must complete a minimum of 10 non-residential
appraisal reports or 300 hours of non-residential real estate appraisal
experience, whichever is more.

(C) Upon completion of the required number of
appraisal reports or hours of real estate appraisal experience, the
applicant must submit an experience log.

(e) Consistent with §153.15, the Board will evaluate each ap-
plicant's real estate appraisal experience for compliance with USPAP
based on the submitted experience log.

(f) For those persons described in subsection (a) the Board
may waive the following requirements:

(1) Proof of qualifying education;
(2) College education or degree requirement; and
(3) Examination.

(g) Consistent with this chapter, upon review of the applicant's
real estate appraisal experience, the Board may:

(1) Reinstate the applicant's previous appraiser license;

(2) Reinstate the applicant's previous appraiser license,
contingent upon completion of additional education, experience or
mentorship; or

(3) Deny the application.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.
TRD-201602364
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Kristen Worman

General Counsel

Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652

¢ ¢ ¢
22 TAC §153.17

The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB
or Board) proposes amendments to §153.17, Renewal or Ex-
tension of License. As recommended by the Working Group for
AQB Criminal History Check Criteria, the proposed amendments
implement fingerprint-based criminal history checks for license
holders when renewing their license.

The Legislature delegated authority to the Board to adopt rules
requiring fingerprint-based criminal history checks. The Board
appointed the Working Group in November 2015 to consider
whether to implement fingerprint-based criminal history checks
for appraisers to comply with criteria adopted by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board (AQB). The Working Group recommends
implementing fingerprint-based criminal history checks for appli-
cants and current license holders. The proposed amendments
implement this requirement for current license holders who re-
new their license.

Kristen Worman, General Counsel, has determined that for the
first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect,
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the
proposed amendments. There is no anticipated significant im-
pact on small businesses, micro-businesses or local or state em-
ployment as a result of implementing the proposed amendments.
There is no significant anticipated economic cost to persons who
are required to comply with the proposed amendments.

Ms. Worman also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the section as proposed is in effect the public bene-
fits anticipated as a result of enforcing the section as proposed
will be increased consumer protection and a requirement that is
consistent with state and federal law.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kristen Wor-
man, General Counsel, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certi-
fication Board, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or
emailed to general.counsel@talcb.texas.gov. The deadline for
comments is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code
§§1103.151, 1103.152, and 1103.2031, which authorize TALCB
to: adopt rules relating to certificates and licenses; prescribe
qualifications for appraisers that are consistent with the qualifica-
tions established by the AQB; and require applicants and current
license holders to submit fingerprints for the purpose of obtain-
ing criminal history record information.

The statute affected by these amendments is Texas Occupations
Code, Chapter 1103. No other statute, code or article is affected
by the proposed amendments.

§153.17. Renewal or Extension of License.
(a) General Provisions.

(1) The Board will send a renewal notice to the license
holder at least 90 days prior to the expiration of the license. It is the
responsibility of the license holder to apply for renewal in accordance
with this chapter, and failure to receive a renewal notice from the Board

does not relieve the license holder of the responsibility to timely apply
for renewal.

(2) A license holder renews the license by timely filing an
application for renewal, paying the appropriate fees to the Board, and
satisfying all applicable education, experience, fingerprint and criminal
history check [and experienee] requirements.

(3) Anapplication for renewal or extension received by the
Board is timely and acceptable for processing if it is:

(A) complete;
(B) accompanied with payment of proper fees; and

(C) postmarked by the U.S. Postal Service, accepted by
an overnight delivery service, or accepted by the Board's online pro-
cessing system on or before the date of expiration.

(b) Certified General, Certified Residential and Licensed Res-
idential Appraisers.

B A license holder may renew the license by timely filing
an application for renewal, paying the appropriate fees to the Board

(1) [€2)] In order to renew on active status, the license
holder must complete the ACE report form approved by the Board
and, within 20 days of filing the renewal, submit course completion
certificates for each course that was not already submitted by the
provider and reflected in the license holder's electronic license record.

(A) The Board may request additional verification of
ACE submitted in connection with a renewal. If requested, such docu-
mentation must be provided within 20 days after the date of request.

(B) Knowingly or intentionally furnishing false or mis-
leading ACE information in connection with a renewal is grounds for
disciplinary action up to and including license revocation.

(2) [63)] The Board may grant, at the time it issues a license
renewal, an extension of time of up to 60 days after the expiration date
of the previous license to complete ACE required to renew a license,
subject to the following:

(A) The license holder must:

(i) timely submit the completed renewal form with
the appropriate renewal fees;

(i) complete an extension request form; and
(iii) pay an extension fee of $200.

(B) ACE courses completed during the 60-day exten-
sion period apply only to the current renewal and may not be applied
to any subsequent renewal of the license.

(C) A person whose license was renewed with a 60-day
ACE extension:

(i) will not perform appraisals in a federally related
transaction until verification is received by the Board that the ACE
requirements have been met;

(i) may continue to perform appraisals in non-fed-
erally related transactions under the renewed license;

(iii) must, within 60 days after the date of expira-
tion of the previous license, complete the approved ACE report form
and submit course completion certificates for each course that was not
already submitted by the provider and reflected in the applicant's elec-
tronic license record; and
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(iv) will have the renewed license placed in inactive
status if, within 60 days of the previous expiration date, ACE is not
completed and reported in the manner indicated in paragraph (2) of
this subsection. The renewed license will remain on inactive status
until satisfactory evidence of meeting the ACE requirements has been
received by the Board and the fee to return to active status required by
§153.5 of this title (relating to Fees) has been paid.

(c) Appraiser Trainees.

(1) Appraiser trainees must maintain an appraisal log and
appraisal experience affidavits on forms approved by the Board, for
the license period being renewed. It is the responsibility of both the
appraiser trainee and the supervisory appraiser to ensure the appraisal
log is accurate, complete and signed by both parties at least quarterly
or upon change in supervisory appraiser. The appraiser trainee will
promptly provide copies of the experience logs and affidavits to the
Board upon request.

(2) Appraiser trainees may not obtain an extension of time
to complete required continuing education.

(d) Renewal of Licenses for Persons on Active Duty. A person
who is on active duty in the United States armed forces may renew an
expired license without being subject to any increase in fee imposed in
his or her absence, or any additional education or experience require-
ments if the person:

(1) did not provide appraisal services while on active duty;

(2) provides a copy of official orders or other documenta-
tion acceptable to the Board showing the person was on active duty
during the last renewal period;

(3) applies for the renewal within two years after the per-
son's active duty ends;

(4) pays the renewal application fees in effect when the pre-
vious license expired; and

(5) completes ACE requirements that would have been im-
posed for a timely renewal.

(e) Late Renewal. If an application is filed within six months
of the expiration of a previous license, the applicant shall also provide
satisfactory evidence of completion of any continuing education that
would have been required for a timely renewal of the previous license.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602365

Kristen Worman

General Counsel

Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652

¢ ¢ ¢

22 TAC §153.23

The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB
or Board) proposes amendments to §153.23, Inactive Status.
As recommended by the Working Group for AQB Criminal His-
tory Check Criteria, the proposed amendments implement fin-
gerprint-based criminal history checks for license holders with

an inactive license and license holders who seek to renew an
expired license on inactive status.

The Legislature delegated authority to the Board to adopt rules
requiring fingerprint-based criminal history checks. The Board
appointed the Working Group in November 2015 to consider
whether to implement fingerprint-based criminal history checks
for appraisers to comply with criteria adopted by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board (AQB). The Working Group recommends
implementing fingerprint-based criminal history checks for appli-
cants and current license holders. The proposed amendments
implement this requirement for license holders whose license is
already on inactive status and for license holders who seek to
renew an expired license on inactive status.

Kristen Worman, General Counsel, has determined that for the
first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect,
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the
proposed amendments. There is no anticipated significant im-
pact on small businesses, micro-businesses or local or state em-
ployment as a result ofimplementing the proposed amendments.
There is no significant anticipated economic cost to persons who
are required to comply with the proposed amendments.

Ms. Worman also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the section as proposed is in effect the public bene-
fits anticipated as a result of enforcing the section as proposed
will be increased consumer protection and a requirement that is
consistent with state and federal law.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kristen Wor-
man, General Counsel, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certi-
fication Board, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or
emailed to general.counsel@talcb.texas.gov. The deadline for
comments is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code
§8§1103.151, 1103.152, and 1103.2031, which authorize TALCB
to: adopt rules relating to certificates and licenses; prescribe
qualifications for appraisers that are consistent with the qualifica-
tions established by the AQB; and require applicants and current
license holders to submit fingerprints for the purpose of obtain-
ing criminal history record information.

The statute affected by these amendments is Texas Occupations
Code, Chapter 1103. No other statute, code or article is affected
by the proposed amendments.

$153.23.  Inactive Status.

(a) Alicense holder may request to be placed on inactive status
by filing a request for inactive status on a form approved by the Board
and paying the required fee.

(b) A license holder whose license has expired may renew on
inactive status within six months after the license expiration date by:

(1) filing an application for renewal on a form approved by
the Board;

(2) indicating on the application that the license holder
wishes to renew on inactive status; [and]

(3) paying the required late renewal fees; and[-]

(4) satisfying the fingerprint and criminal history check re-
quirements in §153.12 of this title.

(c) A license holder on inactive status:
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(1) shall not appraise real property, engage in appraisal
practice, or perform any activity for which a license is required; and

(2) must file the proper renewal application and pay all re-
quired fees, except for the national registry fee, in order to renew the
license.

(d) To return to active status, a license holder who has been
placed on inactive status must:

(1) request to return to active status on a form approved by
the Board,

(2) pay the required fee;

(3) satisfy all ACE requirements that were not completed
while on inactive status, except that the license holder is not required
to complete the most current USPAP update course more than once
in order to return to active status and shall substitute other approved
courses to meet the required number of ACE hours; and][-]

(4) satisfy the fingerprint and criminal history check re-
quirements in §153.12 of this title.

(e) A license holder who has been on inactive status may not
resume practice until the Board issues an active license.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602366

Kristen Worman

General Counsel

Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652

¢ ¢ ¢
22 TAC §153.25

The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB
or Board) proposes amendments to §153.25, Temporary Out-
of-State Appraiser License. The proposed amendments clarify
the requirements an applicant must satisfy when applying for a
temporary out-of-state license.

The Legislature delegated authority to the Board to adopt rules
requiring fingerprint-based criminal history checks. The Board
appointed the Working Group in November 2015 to consider
whether to implement fingerprint-based criminal history checks
for appraisers to comply with criteria adopted by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board (AQB).

The Working Group recognizes that applicants who apply for a
temporary out-of-state license are appraisers who are already
licensed in another jurisdiction with a regulatory program that
is approved by the Appraisal Subcommittee (ASC). Because
those regulatory programs are also subject to the same crim-
inal history check criteria adopted by the Appraiser Qualifica-
tions Board (AQB), those jurisdictions also require applicants to
undergo criminal history checks. The Working Group also rec-
ognizes that federal law prohibits the Board from imposing bur-
densome requirements for temporary practice and requires the
Board to issue a temporary out-of-state license within five busi-
ness days of receipt of a completed application. Accordingly, be-
cause applicants for a temporary out-of-state license are subject
to criminal history checks in their original licensing jurisdiction

and because subjecting applicants for a temporary out-of-state
license would impose an unreasonable and burdensome delay
in the Board's ability to process such applications, the Work-
ing Group does not recommend implementing fingerprint-based
criminal history checks for these applicants.

The proposed amendments make clear that applicants for a tem-
porary out-of-state registration must submit the Board-approved
application form, pay the appropriate fee, and provide all sup-
porting documentation or information requested by the Board;
however, these applicants are not subject to the fingerprint re-
quirements in §153.12.

Kristen Worman, General Counsel, has determined that for the
first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect,
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the
proposed amendments. There is no anticipated significant im-
pact on small businesses, micro-businesses or local or state em-
ployment as a result ofimplementing the proposed amendments.
There is no significant anticipated economic cost to persons who
are required to comply with the proposed amendments.

Ms. Worman also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the section as proposed is in effect the public benefits
anticipated as a result of enforcing the section as proposed will
be clarity for applicants who apply for a temporary out-of-state
license and a requirement that is consistent with state and fed-
eral law.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kristen Wor-
man, General Counsel, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certi-
fication Board, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or
emailed to general.counsel@talcb.texas.gov. The deadline for
comments is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code
§8§1103.151, 1103.152, and 1103.2031, which authorize TALCB
to: adopt rules relating to certificates and licenses; prescribe
qualifications for appraisers that are consistent with the qualifica-
tions established by the AQB; and require applicants and current
license holders to submit fingerprints for the purpose of obtain-
ing criminal history record information.

The statute affected by these amendments is Texas Occupations
Code, Chapter 1103. No other statute, code or article is affected
by the proposed amendments.

§153.25.  Temporary Out-of-State Appraiser License

(a) A person licensed as an appraiser by another state, com-
monwealth, or territory may register with the Board so as to qualify
to appraise real property in this state without holding a license issued
under the Act if:

(1) the state, commonwealth or territory licensing program
under which the person holds a license has not been disapproved by the
ASC; and

(2) the appraiser's business in this state is of a temporary
nature not to exceed six months.

(b) A person wishing to be registered under this section must:

(1) submit an [a eompleted] application for registration on
a form approved by the Board;[-]

(2) pay the required fees; and

(3) provide all supporting documentation or information
requested by the Board in connection with the application for regis-
tration.
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(c) A personregistered under this section must submit an irrev-
ocable consent to service of process in this state on a form approved by
the Board.

(d) A person registered under this section may apply for a 90
day extension to the original expiration date of the temporary registra-
tion, provided the person:

(1) is continuing the same appraisal assignment listed on
the original application for temporary out-of-state appraiser registra-
tion; and

(2) requests an extension on a form approved by the Board,
received by the Board or postmarked prior to the expiration of the cur-
rent temporary registration.

(e) A person who registers under this section is not required to
comply with the fingerprint requirements in §153.12 of this title.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602367

Kristen Worman

General Counsel

Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652

¢ ¢ ¢
22 TAC §153.27

The Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB
or Board) proposes amendments to §153.27, License by Reci-
procity. As recommended by the Working Group for AQB
Criminal History Check Criteria, the proposed amendments im-
plement fingerprint-based criminal history checks for applicants
who apply for or renew a license by reciprocity.

The Legislature delegated authority to the Board to adopt rules
requiring fingerprint-based criminal history checks. The Board
appointed the Working Group in November 2015 to consider
whether to implement fingerprint-based criminal history checks
for appraisers to comply with criteria adopted by the Appraiser
Qualifications Board (AQB). The Working Group recommends
implementing fingerprint-based criminal history checks for appli-
cants and current license holders. The proposed amendments
implement this requirement for persons who apply for or renew
a license by reciprocity. A person applying for or renewing a li-
cense by reciprocity is subject to the same requirements for other
applicants who apply for or renew a license under §153.9 and
§153.17, including the requirement for fingerprint-based crimi-
nal history checks.

Kristen Worman, General Counsel, has determined that for the
first five-year period the proposed amendments are in effect,
there will be no fiscal implications for the state or for units of
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the
proposed amendments. There is no anticipated significant im-
pact on small businesses, micro-businesses or local or state em-
ployment as a result of implementing the proposed amendments.
There is no significant anticipated economic cost to persons who
are required to comply with the proposed amendments.

Ms. Worman also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the section as proposed is in effect the public bene-

fits anticipated as a result of enforcing the section as proposed
will be increased consumer protection and a requirement that is
consistent with state and federal law.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Kristen Wor-
man, General Counsel, Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certi-
fication Board, P.O. Box 12188, Austin, Texas 78711-2188 or
emailed to general.counsel@talcb.texas.gov. The deadline for
comments is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Occupations Code
§§1103.151, 1103.152, and 1103.2031, which authorize TALCB
to: adopt rules relating to certificates and licenses; prescribe
qualifications for appraisers that are consistent with the qualifica-
tions established by the AQB; and require applicants and current
license holders to submit fingerprints for the purpose of obtain-
ing criminal history record information.

The statute affected by these amendments is Texas Occupations
Code, Chapter 1103. No other statute, code or article is affected
by the proposed amendments.

§153.27.  License by Reciprocity.

(a) A person who is licensed as an appraiser under the laws of
a state whose appraiser program has not been disapproved by the ASC
may apply for a Texas license at that same level by completing and
submitting to the Board the application for [er] license by reciprocity
and paying the appropriate fee to the Board.

(b) The Board shall verify that the applicant's license is valid
and in good standing by checking the National Appraiser Registry. A
reciprocal license may not be issued without the verification required
by this subsection.

() Renewal of a license granted through reciprocity shall be
in the same manner, and with the same requirements, term, and fees,
as for the same classification of license as provided in §153.17 of this
title [(relating to Renewal or Extension of License)].

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602368

Kristen Worman

General Counsel

Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3652

¢ ¢ ¢
PART 11. TEXAS BOARD OF NURSING

CHAPTER 211. GENERAL PROVISIONS
22 TAC §211.10

Introduction. The Texas Board of Nursing (Board) proposes
new §211.10, relating to Training and Education Reimburse-
ment. The section is proposed under the Occupations Code
§301.151 and is necessary to comply with Texas Government
Code, Chapter 656. The proposed rule prescribes requirements
for the reimbursement of training or education expenses for
Board employees, including: eligibility requirements, employee
responsibility, the obligations assumed by employees upon
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receiving those funds, and the requirement that the Executive
Director approve education and training reimbursement.

Background. Texas Government Code §656.047 authorizes a
state agency to spend public funds as appropriate to pay the
salary, tuition and other fees, travel and living expenses, train-
ing stipend, expense of training materials, and other necessary
expenses of an instructor, student, or other participant in a train-
ing or education program. Pursuant to Texas Government Code
§656.048, a state agency is required to adopt rules relating to
the eligibility of the agency's employees for training and educa-
tion supported by the agency, as well as the obligations assumed
by employees upon receiving those funds.

House Bill (HB) 3337, passed by the 84th Texas Legislature,
Regular Session (2015), amended Texas Government Code,
Chapter 656, by establishing additional requirements for the
reimbursement of training or education expenses, including
a request that the agency executive director authorize tuition
reimbursement before any payments may be made.

At the Board's April 2016 regular Board meeting, the Board ap-
proved a proposed rule to address these statutory requirements.

Overview. For an agency employee to be reimbursed for the ex-
penses associated with training or education, the proposed rule
requires that the training or education be related to the duties, or
prospective duties of the employee. The proposed rule permits
for reimbursement for training or education that is undertaken
by an employee at the request of the agency. If the training or
education is not undertaken at the request of the agency, then
the employee must meet the all of the requirements in the rule
in order to be eligible for reimbursement. First, the employee
must have been employed full-time at the Board for a period of
six (6) months. Second, the employee must be currently em-
ployed full-time at the Board. Third, the employee must have
a performance evaluation of 3.0 or above, and must have no
current employment disciplinary record. Further, there are min-
imum performance expectations for the training or education. If
the course is completed at an accredited institution of higher ed-
ucation, there are minimum grade requirements that apply. If
the course is completed at an accredited institution of higher ed-
ucation, the employee must achieve a grade of "C" or above for
undergraduate work or a grade of "B" or above for graduate work
to be eligible for reimbursement. If the course is a pass/fail ac-
tivity, then the employee must pass the course. If the employee
does not meet these expectations, then the employee will not be
reimbursed for the training or education.

The proposed rule also addresses obligations that are under-
taken by an employee who chooses to participate in an educa-
tion or training program. The employee must remain employed
with the agency for a period of one (1) year following the edu-
cation or training. If the employee does not meet this obligation,
the employee will be required to refund the expenses incurred
by the agency.

The proposed rule also limits the maximum reimbursement
amount to one thousand ($1,000) per fiscal year, which is
contingent upon the availability of agency resources.

Finally, the proposed rule requires that the Executive Director
authorize under the rule, which meets the requirements of Texas
Government Code §656.048(b).

Fiscal Note. Katherine Thomas, Executive Director, has deter-
mined that for each year of the first five (5) years the proposed
section is in effect, there will be no additional fiscal implications

for state or local government as a result of implementing the pro-
posal.

Public Benefit/Cost Note. Ms. Thomas has also determined that
for each year of the first five years the proposed section is in ef-
fect, the anticipated public benefit will be the adoption of clear,
concise requirements that meet the requirements of Texas Gov-
ernment Code, Chapter 656, and benefit the Board and its par-
ticipating employees by: (1) preparing for technological, nursing,
and legal developments; (2) increasing work capabilities; (3) in-
creasing the number of qualified employees in areas for which
the Board has difficulty in recruiting and retaining employees;
and (4) increasing the competence of agency employees. The
Board is charged with protecting the health, safety, and welfare
of the people of Texas. The Board seeks to fulfill this obligation,
in part, by promoting the competency of the Staff of the Board
of Nursing. The competence of the staff of the Board of Nursing
is improved by encouraging employees to pursue education and
training which assists them in performing their duties.

There are no anticipated costs of compliance with the proposal.
The proposal does not impose any direct requirement upon any
Board regulated entity.

Economic Impact Statement and Regulatory Flexibility Analysis
for Small and Micro-Businesses. As required by the Government
Code §2006.002(c) and (f), the Board has determined that the
proposed section will not have an adverse economic effect on
any individual, Board regulated entity, or other entity required to
comply with the proposed section because there are no antici-
pated costs of compliance with the proposal. As such, the Board
is not required to prepare a regulatory flexibility analysis.

Takings Impact Assessment. The Board has determined that
no private real property interests are affected by this proposal
and that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right
to property that would otherwise exist in the absence of govern-
ment action and, therefore, does not constitute a taking or re-
quire a takings impact assessment under the Government Code
§2007.043.

Request for Public Comment. To be considered, written com-
ments on the proposal or any request for a public hearing must
be submitted no later than 5:00 p.m. on June 27, 2016, to James
W. Johnston, General Counsel, Texas Board of Nursing, 333
Guadalupe, Suite 3-460, Austin, Texas 78701, or by e-mail to
dusty.johnston@bon.texas.gov, or faxed to (512) 305-8101. If
a hearing is held, written and oral comments presented at the
hearing will be considered.

Statutory Authority. This section is proposed under Texas Occu-
pations Code §301.151 and Texas Government Code §656.048.

Section 301.151 of the Texas Occupations Code authorizes the
Board to adopt and enforce rules consistent with Chapter 301
and necessary to: (i) perform its duties and conduct proceed-
ings before the Board; (ii) regulate the practice of professional
nursing and vocational nursing; (iii) establish standards of pro-
fessional conduct for license holders under Chapter 301; and (iv)
determine whether an act constitutes the practice of professional
nursing or vocational nursing.

Section 656.048 of the Texas Government Code requires a state
agency to adopt rules relating to training and education. The rule
must address the eligibility of the agency's administrators and
employees for training and education supported by the agency
and the obligations assumed by the administrators and employ-
ees on receiving the training and education. The rule also must
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include a requirement that before an administrator or employee
of the agency may be reimbursed, the executive head of the
agency must authorize the tuition reimbursement payment.

Cross Reference to Statute. The following statutes are affected
by this proposal: Texas Occupations Code §301.151 and Texas
Government Code §656.048.

$211.10.  Training and Education Reimbursement.

(a) The Board may use public funds to reimburse for the train-
ing and education for its employees. The training or education must be
related to the duties or the prospective duties of the employee.

(b) An employee may be eligible for education and training
reimbursement if the employee is taking the course at the request of

the agency or:

(1) has been employed full-time at the Board for a period
in excess of six (6) months;

(2) is currently employed full-time;

(3) has a performance evaluation of 3.0 or above; and

(4) does not have a current employment disciplinary

record.

(c) If the course is completed at an accredited institution of
higher education, the employee must achieve a grade of "C" or above
for undergraduate work or a grade of "B" or above for graduate work
to be eligible for reimbursement.

(d) If the education or training is a pass/fail activity, the em-
ployee must pass the course to be eligible for reimbursement.

(e) Permission to participate in any education or training pro-
gram must be approved by the Executive Director and may be with-
drawn if the Executive Director determines that participation would
negatively impact the employee's job duties or performance or that par-
ticipation is no longer in the agency's best interest.

() If the employee does not remain employed at the agency
for one (1) year following completion of the course or training, the
employee will be required to refund all expenses reimbursed by the
Board.

(g) Before an employee of the agency may be reimbursed, the
Executive Director must authorize the reimbursement.

(h) For purposes of this rule, reimbursement only includes tu-
ition, building fees, lab fees and student service fees. Tuition will be
reimbursed up to half of the cost with a maximum of $1,000 per fiscal
year contingent upon availability of agency resources.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602356

James W. Johnston

General Counsel

Texas Board of Nursing

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6821

¢ ¢ ¢
PART 22. TEXAS STATE BOARD OF
PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY

CHAPTER 501.
CONDUCT
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS
22 TAC §501.51

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) proposes
an amendment to §501.51, concerning Preamble and General
Principles.

RULES OF PROFESSIONAL

Background, Justification and Summary

The amendment to §501.51 deletes the word "insure" and re-
places it with "ensure" and moves the word "adequately" to pre-
cede the word "serving" in section (c).

Fiscal Note

William Treacy, Executive Director of the Board, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposed amendment is in
effect, there will be no additional estimated cost to the state, no
estimated reduction in costs to the state and to local govern-
ments, and no estimated loss or increase in revenue to the state,
as a result of enforcing or administering the amendment.

Public Benefit Cost Note

Mr. Treacy has determined that for the first five-year period the
amendment is in effect the public benefits expected as a result
of adoption of the proposed amendment will be a grammatically
correct rule.

There will be no probable economic cost to persons required
to comply with the amendment and a Local Employment Impact
Statement is not required because the proposed amendment will
not affect a local economy.

Small Business and Micro-Business Impact Analysis

Mr. Treacy has determined that the proposed amendment will
not have an adverse economic effect on small businesses or
micro-businesses because the amendment does not impose
any duties or obligations upon small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses, therefore, an Economic Impact Statement and a
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is not required.

Public Comment

Written comments may be submitted to J. Randel (Jerry) Hill,
General Counsel, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, 333
Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 900, Austin, Texas 78701 or faxed to
his attention at (512) 305-7854, no later than noon on June 27,
2016.

The Board specifically invites comments from the public on the
issues of whether or not the proposed amendment will have
an adverse economic effect on small businesses; if the pro-
posed rule is believed to have an adverse effect on small busi-
nesses, estimate the number of small businesses believed to be
impacted by the rule, describe and estimate the economic im-
pact of the rule on small businesses, offer alternative methods
of achieving the purpose of the rule; then explain how the Board
may legally and feasibly reduce that adverse effect on small busi-
nesses considering the purpose of the statute under which the
proposed rule is to be adopted, finally describe how the health,
safety, environmental and economic welfare of the state will be
impacted by the various proposed methods. See Texas Govern-
ment Code, §2006.002(c).

Statutory Authority
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The amendment is proposed under the Public Accountancy Act
("Act"), Texas Occupations Code, §901.151, which authorizes
the Board to adopt rules deemed necessary or advisable to ef-
fectuate the Act.

No other article, statute or code is affected by this proposed
amendment.

$§501.51. Preamble and General Principles.

(a) These rules of professional conduct were promulgated un-
der the Public Accountancy Act, which directs the Texas State Board
of Public Accountancy to promulgate rules of professional conduct "in
order to establish and maintain high standards of competence and in-
tegrity in the practice of public accountancy and to ensure [insure] that
the conduct and competitive practices of licensees serve the purposes
of the Act and the best interest of the public.”

(b) The services usually and customarily performed by those
in the public, industry, or government practice of accountancy involve
a high degree of skill, education, trust, and experience which are pro-
fessional in scope and nature. The use of professional designations car-
ries an implication of possession of the competence associated with a
profession. The public, in general, and the business community, in par-
ticular, rely on this professional competence by placing confidence in
reports and other services of accountants. The public's reliance, in turn,
imposes obligations on persons utilizing professional designations to
their clients, employers and to the public in general. These obligations
include maintaining independence in fact and in appearance, while in
the client practice of public accountancy, continuously improving pro-
fessional skills, observing GAAP and GAAS, when required, promot-
ing sound and informative financial reporting, holding the affairs of
clients and employers in confidence, upholding the standards of the
public accountancy profession, and maintaining high standards of per-
sonal and professional conduct in all matters.

(c) The board has an underlying duty to the public to ensure
[insure] that these obligations are met in order to achieve and maintain
a vigorous profession capable of attracting the bright minds essential

to adequately serving [adequately] the public interest.

(d) These rules recognize the First Amendment rights of the
general public as well as licensees and do not restrict the availability of
accounting services. However, public accountancy, like other profes-
sional services, cannot be commercially exploited without the public
being harmed. While information as to the availability of accounting
services and qualifications of licensees is desirable, such information
should not be transmitted to the public in a misleading fashion.

(e) The rules are intended to have application to all kinds of
professional services performed in the practice of public accountancy,
including services relating to:

(1) accounting, auditing and other assurance services,
(2) taxation,

(3) financial advisory services,

(4) litigation support,

(5) internal auditing,

(6) forensic accounting, and

(7) management advice and consultation.

(f) Finally, these rules also recognize the duty of certified pub-
lic accountants to refrain from committing acts discreditable to the pro-
fession. These acts, whether or not related to the accountant's practice,
impact negatively upon the public's trust in the profession.

(g) In the interpretation and enforcement of these rules, the
board may consider relevant interpretations, rulings, and opinions is-
sued by the boards of other jurisdictions and appropriate committees
of professional organizations, but will not be bound thereby.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602330

J. Randel (Jerry) Hill

General Counsel

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7842

¢ ¢ ¢
22 TAC §501.52

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) proposes
an amendment to §501.52, concerning Definitions.

Background, Justification and Summary

The amendment to §501.52 revises a paragraph reference, in
paragraph (17) and revises the definition of Good Standing in
paragraph (13) to include compliance with Peer Review.

Fiscal Note

William Treacy, Executive Director of the Board, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposed amendment is in
effect, there will be no additional estimated cost to the state, no
estimated reduction in costs to the state and to local govern-
ments, and no estimated loss or increase in revenue to the state,
as a result of enforcing or administering the amendment.

Public Benefit Cost Note

Mr. Treacy has determined that for the first five-year period the
amendment is in effect the public benefits expected as a result
of adoption of the proposed amendment will be to put everyone
on notice that compliance with peer review is an element of good
"standing" and to have the correct rule referenced.

There will be no probable economic cost to persons required
to comply with the amendment and a Local Employment Impact
Statement is not required because the proposed amendment will
not affect a local economy.

Small Business and Micro-Business Impact Analysis

Mr. Treacy has determined that the proposed amendment will
not have an adverse economic effect on small businesses or
micro-businesses because the amendment does not impose
any duties or obligations upon small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses, therefore, an Economic Impact Statement and a
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is not required.

Public Comment

Written comments may be submitted to J. Randel (Jerry) Hill,
General Counsel, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, 333
Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 900, Austin, Texas 78701 or faxed to
his attention at (512) 305-7854, no later than noon on June 27,
2016.

The Board specifically invites comments from the public on the
issues of whether or not the proposed amendment will have
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an adverse economic effect on small businesses; if the pro-
posed rule is believed to have an adverse effect on small busi-
nesses, estimate the number of small businesses believed to be
impacted by the rule, describe and estimate the economic im-
pact of the rule on small businesses, offer alternative methods
of achieving the purpose of the rule; then explain how the Board
may legally and feasibly reduce that adverse effect on small busi-
nesses considering the purpose of the statute under which the
proposed rule is to be adopted, finally describe how the health,
safety, environmental and economic welfare of the state will be
impacted by the various proposed methods. See Texas Govern-
ment Code, §2006.002(c).

Statutory Authority

The amendment is proposed under the Public Accountancy Act
("Act"), Texas Occupations Code, §901.151 which authorizes the
Board to adopt rules deemed necessary or advisable to effectu-
ate the Act.

No other article, statute or code is affected by this proposed
amendment.

$501.52.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in title 22, part 22 of the
Texas Administrative Code relating to the Texas State Board of Pub-
lic Accountancy, shall have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise. The masculine shall be construed to in-
clude the feminine or neuter and vice versa, and the singular shall be
construed to include the plural and vice versa.

(1) "Act" means the Public Accountancy Act, Chapter 901,
Occupations Code;

(2) "Advertisement" means a message which is transmitted
to persons by, or at the direction of, a person and which has reference
to the availability of the person to perform Professional Accounting
Services;

(3) "Affiliated entity" means an entity controlling or being
controlled by or under common control with another entity, directly or
indirectly, through one or more intermediaries;

(4) "Attest Service" means:

(A) an audit or other engagement required by the board
to be performed in accordance with the auditing standards adopted by
the AICPA, PCAOB, or another national or international accountancy
organization recognized by the board;

(B) a review or compilation required by the board to
be performed in accordance with standards for accounting and review
services adopted by the AICPA or another national or international ac-
countancy organization recognized by the board,

(C) an engagement required by the board to be per-
formed in accordance with standards for attestation engagements
adopted by the AICPA or another national or international accountancy
organization recognized by the board; or

(D) any other assurance service required by the board to
be performed in accordance with professional standards adopted by the
AICPA or another national or international accountancy organization
recognized by the board;

(5) "Board" means the Texas State Board of Public Ac-
countancy;

(6) "Charitable Organization" means an organization
which has been granted tax-exempt status under the Internal Revenue
Code of 1986, §501(c), as amended;

(7) "Client" means a party who enters into an agreement
with a license holder or a license holder's employer to receive a profes-
sional accounting service or professional accounting work;

(8) "Client Practice of Public Accountancy" is the offer to
perform or the performance by a person for a client or a potential client
of professional accounting services or professional accounting work,
and also includes:

(A) the advice or recommendations in connection with
the sale or offer for sale of products (including the design and imple-
mentation of computer software), when the advice or recommenda-
tions routinely require or imply the possession of accounting or au-
diting skills or expert knowledge in auditing or accounting; and

(B) the performance of litigation support services;

(9) "Commission" means compensation for recommending
or referring any product or service to be supplied by another party;

(10) "Contingent fee" means a fee for any service where
no fee will be charged unless a specified finding or result is attained, or
in which the amount of the fee is otherwise dependent upon the find-
ing or result of such service. However, a person's non-Contingent fees
may vary depending, for example, on the complexity of the services
rendered. Fees are not contingent if they are fixed by courts or gov-
ernmental entities acting in a judicial or regulatory capacity, or in tax
matters if determined based on the results of judicial proceedings or
the findings of governmental agencies acting in a judicial or regulatory
capacity, or if there is a reasonable expectation of substantive review
by a taxing authority;

(11) "Financial Statements" means a presentation of fi-
nancial data, including accompanying notes, derived from accounting
records and intended to communicate an entity's economic resources
or obligations at a point in time, or the changes therein for a period
of time, in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles
or other comprehensive basis of accounting. Incidental financial data
to support recommendations to a client or in documents for which the
reporting is governed by Statements or Standards for Attestation En-
gagements and tax returns and supporting schedules do not constitute
financial statements for the purposes of this definition;

(12) "Firm" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, lim-
ited liability partnership, limited liability company, corporation or other
legally recognized business entity engaged in the practice of public ac-
countancy,

(13) "Good standing" means compliance by a licensee with
the board's licensing rules, including the mandatory continuing edu-
cation requirements, Peer Review, and payment of the annual license
fee, and any penalties and other costs attached thereto. In the case
of board-imposed disciplinary or administrative sanctions, the person
must be in compliance with all the provisions of the board order to be
considered in good standing;

(14) "Licensee" means the holder of a license issued by the
board to a person pursuant to the Act, or pursuant to provisions of a
prior Act;

(15) "Out of state practitioner and out of state firm" means
aperson licensed in another jurisdiction practicing in Texas pursuant to
a practice privilege as provided for in §901.461 and §901.462 of the Act
(relating to Practice by Certain Out-of-State Firms and Practice by Out-
of-State Practitioner with Substantially Equivalent Qualifications);

(16) "Peer review", "Quality Review" or "Compliance As-
surance" means the study, appraisal, or review of the professional ac-
counting work of a public accountancy firm that performs attest ser-
vices by a certificate holder who is not affiliated with the firm;
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(17) "Person" means an individual, sole proprietorship,
partnership, limited liability partnership, limited liability company,
corporation or other legally recognized business entity that provides
or offers to provide professional accounting services or professional
accounting work as defined in paragraph (22) [(21)] of this section;

(18) '"Principal office" means the location specified by the
client as the address to which a service described in §517.1(a)(2) of this
title (relating to Practice by Certain Out of State Firms) is directed and
is synonymous with Home Office where it appears in the Act;

(19) "Practice unit" means an office of a firm required to be
licensed with the board for the purpose of the client practice of public
accountancy;

(20) "Practice privilege" means the privilege for an out-
of-state person to provide certain Professional Accounting Services or
Professional Accounting Work in Texas to the extent permitted under
Chapter 517 of this title (relating to Practice by Certain Out of State
Firms and Individuals);

(21) "Preparation engagement" means the preparation of fi-
nancial statements that do not include an audit, review or a compilation
report on those financial statements in accordance with Standards for
Accounting and Review Services adopted by the AICPA;

(22) "Professional Accounting Services" or "professional
accounting work" means services or work that requires the specialized
knowledge or skills associated with certified public accountants, in-
cluding but not limited to:

(A) issuing reports on financial statement(s);
(B) preparation engagements pursuant to SSARS;

(C) providing management or financial advisory or con-
sulting services;

(D) preparing tax returns;

(E) providing advice in tax matters;

(F) providing forensic accounting services; and
(G) providing internal auditing services.

(23) "Report" means an opinion, report, or other document,
prepared in connection with an attest service that states or implies as-
surance as to the reliability of financial statement(s); and includes or
is accompanied by a statement or implication that the person issuing
the opinion, report, or other document has special knowledge or com-
petence in accounting or auditing. A statement or implication of as-
surance as to the reliability of a financial statement or as to the special
knowledge or competence of the person issuing the opinion, report, or
other document includes any form of language that is conventionally
understood to constitute such a statement or implication. A statement
or implication of special knowledge or competence in accounting or
auditing may arise from the use by the issuer of the opinion, report,
or other document of a name or title indicating that the person is an
accountant or auditor; or the language of the opinion, report, or other
document itself.

(24) Interpretive Comment: The practice of public accoun-
tancy is defined in §901.003 of the Act (relating to the Practice of Public
Accountancy).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602331

J. Randel (Jerry) Hill

General Counsel

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7842

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. PROFESSIONAL
STANDARDS
22 TAC §501.60

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) proposes
an amendment to §501.60, concerning Auditing Standards.

Background, Justification and Summary

The amendment to §501.60 reformats the rule to recognize sev-
eral of the sources of GAAS.

Fiscal Note

William Treacy, Executive Director of the Board, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposed amendment is in
effect, there will be no additional estimated cost to the state, no
estimated reduction in costs to the state and to local govern-
ments, and no estimated loss or increase in revenue to the state,
as a result of enforcing or administering the amendment.

Public Benefit Cost Note

Mr. Treacy has determined that for the first five-year period the
amendment is in effect the public benefits expected as a result
of adoption of the proposed amendment will be a more easily
understood rule.

There will be no probable economic cost to persons required
to comply with the amendment and a Local Employment Impact
Statement is not required because the proposed amendment will
not affect a local economy.

Small Business and Micro-Business Impact Analysis

Mr. Treacy has determined that the proposed amendment will
not have an adverse economic effect on small businesses or
micro-businesses because the amendment does not impose
any duties or obligations upon small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses, therefore, an Economic Impact Statement and a
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is not required.

Public Comment

Written comments may be submitted to J. Randel (Jerry) Hill,
General Counsel, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, 333
Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 900, Austin, Texas 78701 or faxed to
his attention at (512) 305-7854, no later than noon on June 27,
2016.

The Board specifically invites comments from the public on the
issues of whether or not the proposed amendment will have
an adverse economic effect on small businesses; if the pro-
posed rule is believed to have an adverse effect on small busi-
nesses, estimate the number of small businesses believed to be
impacted by the rule, describe and estimate the economic im-
pact of the rule on small businesses, offer alternative methods
of achieving the purpose of the rule; then explain how the Board
may legally and feasibly reduce that adverse effect on small busi-
nesses considering the purpose of the statute under which the
proposed rule is to be adopted, finally describe how the health,
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safety, environmental and economic welfare of the state will be
impacted by the various proposed methods. See Texas Govern-
ment Code, §2006.002(c).

Statutory Authority

The amendment is proposed under the Public Accountancy Act
("Act"), Texas Occupations Code, §901.151 which authorizes the
Board to adopt rules deemed necessary or advisable to effectu-
ate the Act.

No other article, statute or code is affected by this proposed
amendment.

§$501.60. Auditing Standards.

A person shall not permit his name to be associated with financial
statements in such a manner as to imply that he is acting as an audi-
tor with respect to such financial statements, unless he has complied
with GAAS. Each of the following are considered to be sources of
GAAS: [SAS issued by the AICPA, auditing standards included in
Standards for Audit of Gevernment Organizations; Programs; Aetiv-
fessional practice standards to be used by registered public aceounting
generally recognized authority, are considered to be interpretations of
GAAS]

(1) SAS issued by the AICPA;

(2) auditing standards included in Standards for Audit of
Government Organizations, Programs, Activities and Functions issued

by the U.S. GAO;
(3) auditing and related professional practice standards to

be used by registered public accounting firms issued by the PCAOB;
as well as,

(4) other pronouncements having similar generally recog-
nized authority.
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-

posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602332

J. Randel (Jerry) Hill

General Counsel

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7842

¢ ¢ ¢
22 TAC §501.62

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) proposes
an amendment to §501.62, concerning Other Professional Stan-
dards.

Background, Justification and Summary

The amendment to §501.62 adds additional professional stan-
dards which must be following in the performance of accounting
services.

Fiscal Note

William Treacy, Executive Director of the Board, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposed amendment is in
effect, there will be no additional estimated cost to the state, no

estimated reduction in costs to the state and to local govern-
ments, and no estimated loss or increase in revenue to the state,
as a result of enforcing or administering the amendment.

Public Benefit Cost Note

Mr. Treacy has determined that for the first five-year period the
amendment is in effect the public benefits expected as a result
of adoption of the proposed amendment will be notice that CPAs
may be required to follow the International Financial Reporting
Standards.

There will be no probable economic cost to persons required
to comply with the amendment and a Local Employment Impact
Statement is not required because the proposed amendment will
not affect a local economy.

Small Business and Micro-Business Impact Analysis

Mr. Treacy has determined that the proposed amendment will
not have an adverse economic effect on small businesses or
micro-businesses because the amendment does not impose
any duties or obligations upon small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses, therefore, an Economic Impact Statement and a
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is not required.

Public Comment

Written comments may be submitted to J. Randel (Jerry) Hill,
General Counsel, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, 333
Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 900, Austin, Texas 78701 or faxed to
his attention at (512) 305-7854, no later than noon on June 27,
2016.

The Board specifically invites comments from the public on the
issues of whether or not the proposed amendment will have
an adverse economic effect on small businesses; if the pro-
posed rule is believed to have an adverse effect on small busi-
nesses, estimate the number of small businesses believed to be
impacted by the rule, describe and estimate the economic im-
pact of the rule on small businesses, offer alternative methods
of achieving the purpose of the rule; then explain how the Board
may legally and feasibly reduce that adverse effect on small busi-
nesses considering the purpose of the statute under which the
proposed rule is to be adopted, finally describe how the health,
safety, environmental and economic welfare of the state will be
impacted by the various proposed methods. See Texas Govern-
ment Code, §2006.002(c).

Statutory Authority

The amendment is proposed under the Public Accountancy Act
("Act"), Texas Occupations Code, §901.151, which authorizes
the Board to adopt rules deemed necessary or advisable to ef-
fectuate the Act.

No other article, statute or code is affected by this proposed
amendment.

§501.62.  Other Professional Standards.

A person in the performance of consulting services, accounting and
review services, any other attest service, financial advisory services, or
tax services shall conform to the professional standards applicable to
such services. For purposes of this section, such professional standards
are considered to be interpreted by:

(1) AICPA issued standards, including but not limited to:

(A) Statements on Standards on Consulting Services
(SSCS);
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(B) Statements on Standards for Accounting and Re-
view Services (SSARS);

(C) Statements on Standards for Attestation Engage-
ments (SSAE);

(D) Statements on Standards for Tax Services (SSTS);

(E) Statements on Standards for Financial Planning
Services (SSFPS); or

(F) Statements on Standards for Valuation Services
(SSVS).

(2) pronouncements by other professional entities having
similar national or international authority recognized by the board
including but not limited to the International Financial Reporting Stan-
dards (IFRS) promulgated by the International Accounting Standards

Board (IASB).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602333

J. Randel (Jerry) Hill

General Counsel

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7842

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. RESPONSIBILITIES TO
CLIENTS
22 TAC §501.75

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) proposes
an amendment to §501.75, concerning Confidential Client Com-
munications.

Background, Justification and Summary

The amendment to §501.75 recognizes Peer Review communi-
cations and the review of the financials related to the prospective
purchase, sale or merger of a CPA firm will not be subject to con-
fidentiality.

Fiscal Note

William Treacy, Executive Director of the Board, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposed amendment is in
effect, there will be no additional estimated cost to the state, no
estimated reduction in costs to the state and to local govern-
ments, and no estimated loss or increase in revenue to the state,
as a result of enforcing or administering the amendment.

Public Benefit Cost Note

Mr. Treacy has determined that for the first five-year period the
amendment is in effect the public benefits expected as a result of
adoption of the proposed amendment will be the ability to review
the financials of a CPA firm prior to its purchase or merger.

There will be no probable economic cost to persons required
to comply with the amendment and a Local Employment Impact
Statement is not required because the proposed amendment will
not affect a local economy.

Small Business and Micro-Business Impact Analysis

Mr. Treacy has determined that the proposed amendment will
not have an adverse economic effect on small businesses or
micro-businesses because the amendment does not impose
any duties or obligations upon small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses, therefore, an Economic Impact Statement and a
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is not required.

Public Comment

Written comments may be submitted to J. Randel (Jerry) Hill,
General Counsel, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, 333
Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 900, Austin, Texas 78701 or faxed to
his attention at (512) 305-7854, no later than noon on June 27,
2016.

The Board specifically invites comments from the public on the
issues of whether or not the proposed amendment will have
an adverse economic effect on small businesses; if the pro-
posed rule is believed to have an adverse effect on small busi-
nesses, estimate the number of small businesses believed to be
impacted by the rule, describe and estimate the economic im-
pact of the rule on small businesses, offer alternative methods
of achieving the purpose of the rule; then explain how the Board
may legally and feasibly reduce that adverse effect on small busi-
nesses considering the purpose of the statute under which the
proposed rule is to be adopted, finally describe how the health,
safety, environmental and economic welfare of the state will be
impacted by the various proposed methods. See Texas Govern-
ment Code, §2006.002(c).

Statutory Authority

The amendment is proposed under the Public Accountancy Act
("Act"), Texas Occupations Code, §901.151 which authorizes the
Board to adopt rules deemed necessary or advisable to effectu-
ate the Act.

No other article, statute or code is affected by this proposed
amendment.

§501.75.  Confidential Client Communications.

(a) Except by permission of the client or the authorized repre-
sentatives of the client, a person or any partner, member, officer, share-
holder, or employee of a person shall not voluntarily disclose informa-
tion communicated to him by the client relating to, and in connection
with, professional accounting services or professional accounting work
rendered to the client by the person. Such information shall be deemed
confidential. The following includes, but is not limited to, examples of
authorized representatives:

(1) the authorized representative of a successor entity be-
comes the authorized representative of the predecessor entity when the
predecessor entity ceases to exist and no one exists to give permission
on behalf of the predecessor entity; and

(2) an executor/administrator of the estate of a deceased
client possessing an order signed by a judge is an authorized repre-
sentative of the estate.

(b) The provisions contained in subsection (a) of this section
do not prohibit the disclosure of information required to be disclosed
by:

(1) the professional standards for reporting on the examina-
tion of a financial statement and identified in Chapter 501, Subchapter
B of this title (relating to Professional Standards);

(2) applicable federal laws, federal government regula-
tions, including requirements of the PCAOB;
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(3) a summons under the provisions of the Internal Rev-
enue Code of 1986 and its subsequent amendments, a summons under
the provisions of the Securities Act of 1933 (15 U.S.C. Section 77a
et seq.) and its subsequent amendments, a summons under the provi-
sions of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. Section 78a
et seq.) and its subsequent amendments, or under a court order signed
by a judge if the summons or the court order:

(A) is addressed to the license holder;
(B) mentions the client by name; and
(C) requests specific information concerning the client.

(4) the public accounting profession in reporting on the ex-
amination of financial statements;

(5) acongressional or grand jury subpoena;
(6) investigations or proceedings conducted by the Board;

(7) ethical investigations conducted by a private profes-
sional organization of certified public accountants; [ef]

(8) apeer review; or [in the course of peer reviews:|

(9) a review in conjunction with a prospective purchase,
sale, or merger of all or part of a member's practice if both firms enter
into a written nondisclosure agreement with regard to all client infor-
mation shared between the firms.

(¢) The provisions contained in subsection (a) of this section
do not prohibit the disclosure of information already made public, in-
cluding information disclosed to others not having a confidential com-
munications relationship with the client or authorized representative of
the client.

(d) Interpretive comment. The definition of a successor entity
does not include the purchaser of all assets of an entity.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602334

J. Randel (Jerry) Hill

General Counsel

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7842

¢ ¢ ¢

22 TAC §501.76

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) proposes
an amendment to §501.76, concerning Records and Work Pa-
pers.

Background, Justification and Summary

The amendment to §501.76 clarifies what constitutes Records
and Work Papers and other minor revisions.

Fiscal Note

William Treacy, Executive Director of the Board, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposed amendment is in
effect, there will be no additional estimated cost to the state, no
estimated reduction in costs to the state and to local govern-
ments, and no estimated loss or increase in revenue to the state,
as a result of enforcing or administering the amendment.

Public Benefit Cost Note

Mr. Treacy has determined that for the first five-year period the
amendment is in effect the public benefits expected as a result
of adoption of the proposed amendment will be to clarify what
records must be returned to a client.

There will be no probable economic cost to persons required
to comply with the amendment and a Local Employment Impact
Statement is not required because the proposed amendment will
not affect a local economy.

Small Business and Micro-Business Impact Analysis

Mr. Treacy has determined that the proposed amendment will
not have an adverse economic effect on small businesses or
micro-businesses because the amendment does not impose
any duties or obligations upon small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses, therefore, an Economic Impact Statement and a
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is not required.

Public Comment

Written comments may be submitted to J. Randel (Jerry) Hill,
General Counsel, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, 333
Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 900, Austin, Texas 78701 or faxed to
his attention at (512) 305-7854, no later than noon on June 27,
2016.

The Board specifically invites comments from the public on the
issues of whether or not the proposed amendment will have
an adverse economic effect on small businesses; if the pro-
posed rule is believed to have an adverse effect on small busi-
nesses, estimate the number of small businesses believed to be
impacted by the rule, describe and estimate the economic im-
pact of the rule on small businesses, offer alternative methods
of achieving the purpose of the rule; then explain how the Board
may legally and feasibly reduce that adverse effect on small busi-
nesses considering the purpose of the statute under which the
proposed rule is to be adopted, finally describe how the health,
safety, environmental and economic welfare of the state will be
impacted by the various proposed methods. See Texas Govern-
ment Code, §2006.002(c).

Statutory Authority

The amendment is proposed under the Public Accountancy Act
("Act"), Texas Occupations Code, §901.151 which authorizes the
Board to adopt rules deemed necessary or advisable to effectu-
ate the Act.

No other article, statute or code is affected by this proposed
amendment.

§501.76.  Records and Work Papers.
(a) Records.

(1) A person shall return original client records to a client
or former client within a reasonable time (promptly, not to exceed 10
business days) after the client or former client has made a request for
those records. Original client [Client] records are those records pro-
vided to the person by the client or former client in order for the per-
son to provide professional accounting services to the client or former
client. Original client [Client] records also include those documents
obtained by the person on behalf of the client or former client in or-
der for the person to provide professional accounting services to the
client or former client[- Client records include only the original elient
deeuments] and do not include the electronic and hard copies of in-
ternal work papers [that the firm preduees]. The person shall provide
these records to the client or former client, regardless of the status of
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the client's or former client's account and cannot charge a fee to pro-
vide such records. Such records shall be returned to the client or for-
mer client in the same format, to the extent possible, that they were
provided to the person by the client or former client. The person may
make copies of such records and retain those copies.

(2) A person's work papers, to the extent that such work
papers include records which would ordinarily constitute part of the
client's or former client's books and records and are not otherwise avail-
able to the client or former client, shall also be furnished to the client
within a reasonable time (promptly, not to exceed 20 business days)
after the client has made a request for those records. The person can
charge a reasonable fee for providing such work papers. Such work pa-
pers shall be in a format that the client or former client can reasonably
expect to use for the purpose of accessing such work papers. Work pa-
pers which constitute client records include, but are not limited to:

(A) documents in lieu of books of original entry such as
listings and distributions of cash receipts or cash disbursements;

(B) documents in lieu of general ledger or subsidiary
ledgers, such as accounts receivable, job cost and equipment ledgers,
or similar depreciation records;

(C) all adjusting and closing journal entries and sup-
porting details when the supporting details are not fully set forth in
the explanation of the journal entry; and

(D) consolidating or combining journal entries and doc-
uments and supporting detail in arriving at final figures incorporated in
an end product such as financial statements or tax returns.

(b) Work papers. Work papers, regardless of format, are those
documents developed by the person incident to the performance of his
engagement which do not constitute records that must be returned to the
client in accordance with subsection (a) of this section. Work papers
developed by a person during the course of a professional engagement
as a basis for, and in support of, an accounting, audit, consulting, tax,
or other professional report prepared by the person for a client, shall be
and remain the property of the person who developed the work papers.

(c) For areasonable charge, a person shall furnish to his client
or former client, upon request from his client made within a reasonable
time after original issuance of the document in question:

(1) acopy of the client's tax return; or

(2) a copy of any report or other document previously is-
sued by the person to or for such client or former client provided that
furnishing such reports to or for a client or former client would not
cause the person to be in violation of the portions of §501.60 of this
chapter (relating to Auditing Standards) concerning subsequent events.

(d) This rule imposes no obligation on the person who pro-
vides services to a business entity to provide documents to anyone in-
volved with the entity except the authorized representative of the entity.

(e) Documentation or work documents required by profes-
sional standards for attest services shall be maintained in paper or
electronic format by a person for a period of not less than five years
from the date of any report issued in connection with the attest service,
unless otherwise required by another regulatory body. Failure to
maintain such documentation or work papers constitutes a violation of
this section and may be deemed an admission that they do not comply
with professional standards.

(f) Interpretive Comment: Itis recommended that a person ob-
tain a receipt or other written documentation of the delivery of records
to a client.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602335

J. Randel (Jerry) Hill

General Counsel

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7842

¢ L4 ¢
SUBCHAPTER E. RESPONSIBILITIES TO
THE BOARD/PROFESSION

22 TAC §501.94

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) proposes
an amendment to §501.94, concerning Mandatory Continuing
Professional Education.

Background, Justification and Summary
The amendment to §501.94 corrects a rule reference.
Fiscal Note

William Treacy, Executive Director of the Board, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposed amendment is in
effect, there will be no additional estimated cost to the state, no
estimated reduction in costs to the state and to local govern-
ments, and no estimated loss or increase in revenue to the state,
as a result of enforcing or administering the amendment.

Public Benefit Cost Note

Mr. Treacy has determined that for the first five-year period the
amendment is in effect the public benefits expected as a result
of adoption of the proposed amendment will be to have a correct
rule reference so that the public can understand the applicable
rule.

There will be no probable economic cost to persons required
to comply with the amendment and a Local Employment Impact
Statement is not required because the proposed amendment will
not affect a local economy.

Small Business and Micro-Business Impact Analysis

Mr. Treacy has determined that the proposed amendment will
not have an adverse economic effect on small businesses or
micro-businesses because the amendment does not impose
any duties or obligations upon small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses, therefore, an Economic Impact Statement and a
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is not required.

Public Comment

Written comments may be submitted to J. Randel (Jerry) Hill,
General Counsel, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, 333
Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 900, Austin, Texas 78701 or faxed to
his attention at (512) 305-7854, no later than noon on June 27,
2016.

The Board specifically invites comments from the public on the
issues of whether or not the proposed amendment will have
an adverse economic effect on small businesses; if the pro-
posed rule is believed to have an adverse effect on small busi-
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nesses, estimate the number of small businesses believed to be
impacted by the rule, describe and estimate the economic im-
pact of the rule on small businesses, offer alternative methods
of achieving the purpose of the rule; then explain how the Board
may legally and feasibly reduce that adverse effect on small busi-
nesses considering the purpose of the statute under which the
proposed rule is to be adopted, finally describe how the health,
safety, environmental and economic welfare of the state will be
impacted by the various proposed methods. See Texas Govern-
ment Code, §2006.002(c).

Statutory Authority

The amendment is proposed under the Public Accountancy Act
("Act"), Texas Occupations Code, §901.151 which authorizes the
Board to adopt rules deemed necessary or advisable to effectu-
ate the Act.

No other article, statute or code is affected by this proposed
amendment.

$501.94.  Mandatory Continuing Professional Education.

Each certificate or registration holder shall comply with the manda-
tory CPE reporting and the mandatory CPE attendance requirements
of Chapter 523 of this title (relating to Continuing Professional Educa-
tion). Once an individual's license has been suspended for three consec-
utive years by the board for failing to complete the 120 hours of CPE re-
quired by §523.112 of this title (relating to Required [Mandatery] CPE
Participation [Attendanee]), the individual's certificate shall be subject
to revocation and may not be reinstated for at least 12 months from the
date of the revocation.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602336

J. Randel (Jerry) Hill

General Counsel

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7842

¢ ¢ ¢
CHAPTER 518. UNAUTHORIZED PRACTICE
OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY

22 TAC §518.3

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) proposes
an amendment to §518.3, concerning Violation of a Cease and
Desist Order.

Background, Justification and Summary
The amendment to §518.3 corrects a rule reference.
Fiscal Note

William Treacy, Executive Director of the Board, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposed amendment is in
effect, there will be no additional estimated cost to the state, no
estimated reduction in costs to the state and to local govern-
ments, and no estimated loss or increase in revenue to the state,
as a result of enforcing or administering the amendment.

Public Benefit Cost Note

Mr. Treacy has determined that for the first five-year period the
amendment is in effect the public benefits expected as a result
of adoption of the proposed amendment will be a correct rule
reference so the public can understand the applicable rule.

There will be no probable economic cost to persons required
to comply with the amendment and a Local Employment Impact
Statement is not required because the proposed amendment will
not affect a local economy.

Small Business and Micro-Business Impact Analysis

Mr. Treacy has determined that the proposed amendment will
not have an adverse economic effect on small businesses or
micro-businesses because the amendment does not impose
any duties or obligations upon small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses, therefore, an Economic Impact Statement and a
Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is not required.

Public Comment

Written comments may be submitted to J. Randel (Jerry) Hill,
General Counsel, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, 333
Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 900, Austin, Texas 78701 or faxed to
his attention at (512) 305-7854, no later than noon on June 27,
2016.

The Board specifically invites comments from the public on the
issues of whether or not the proposed amendment will have
an adverse economic effect on small businesses; if the pro-
posed rule is believed to have an adverse effect on small busi-
nesses, estimate the number of small businesses believed to be
impacted by the rule, describe and estimate the economic im-
pact of the rule on small businesses, offer alternative methods
of achieving the purpose of the rule; then explain how the Board
may legally and feasibly reduce that adverse effect on small busi-
nesses considering the purpose of the statute under which the
proposed rule is to be adopted, finally describe how the health,
safety, environmental and economic welfare of the state will be
impacted by the various proposed methods. See Texas Govern-
ment Code, §2006.002(c).

Statutory Authority

The amendment is proposed under the Public Accountancy Act
("Act"), Texas Occupations Code, §901.151 which authorizes the
Board to adopt rules deemed necessary or advisable to effectu-
ate the Act.

No other article, statute or code is affected by this proposed
amendment.

$518.3.  Violation of a Cease and Desist Order.

(a) Whenever the board, through its executive director, deter-
mines that a person subject to a cease and desist order issued by the
board has violated that order, the board, through its executive director,
after notice and an opportunity for a hearing, may assess an administra-
tive penalty, after consulting with the board's presiding officer, against
the person in violation in accordance with the guidelines contained in
§518.6 of this chapter (relating to Administrative Penalty Guidelines
for the Unauthorized Practice of Public Accountancy) [§518-4 of this
Cease and Desist Orders)] and Subchapter L of the Act, as amended.

(b) The board staff acting through the executive director will
offer the person found in violation of a cease and desist order an agreed
consent order.

(1) The agreed consent order will act as the preliminary re-
port as required by §901.553 of the Act (relating to Report and Notice

PROPOSED RULES May 27,2016 41 TexReg 3829



of Violation and Penalty), including findings of fact to support the ad-
ministrative penalty as well as the amount of the penalty to be imposed.

(2) Board staff will advise the person found in violation of
a cease and desist order that he has 20 days to either sign the agreed
consent order or to request a hearing in writing, as required by §901.554
of the Act (relating to Penalty to be Paid or Hearing Requested).

(3) If the person found to be in violation of a cease and
desist order signs the agreed consent order, then the agreed consent
order will be presented to the board for its consideration. If the board
ratifies the agreed consent order, then it will issue a board order.

(c) Ifthe board, through its executive director, determines that
a person subject to a cease and desist order issued by the board has
violated that order, the board, through its executive director and after
consulting with the board's presiding officer, may seek to enjoin the
person in violation in state district court.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602337

J. Randel (Jerry) Hill

General Counsel

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7842

¢ ¢ ¢
22 TAC §518.4

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) proposes
the repeal of §518.4, concerning Administrative Penalty Guide-
lines for Violations of Cease and Desist Orders.

Background, Justification and Summary

The repeal of §518.4 will allow a new rule regarding Injunctive
Relief to be placed more appropriately within the Chapter 518
rules.

Fiscal Note

William Treacy, Executive Director of the Board, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposed repeal is in effect,
there will be no additional estimated cost to the state, no esti-
mated reduction in costs to the state and to local governments,
and no estimated loss or increase in revenue to the state, as a
result of enforcing or administering the repeal.

Public Benefit Cost Note

Mr. Treacy has determined that for the first five-year period the
repeal is in effect the public benefits expected as a result of adop-
tion of the proposed repeal will be a new rule place more appro-
priately within Chapter 518.

There will be no probable economic cost to persons required to
comply with the repeal and a Local Employment Impact State-
ment is not required because the proposed repeal will not affect
a local economy.

Small Business and Micro-Business Impact Analysis

Mr. Treacy has determined that the proposed repeal will not have
an adverse economic effect on small businesses or micro-busi-
nesses because the repeal does notimpose any duties or obliga-

tions upon small businesses or micro-businesses, therefore, an
Economic Impact Statement and a Regulatory Flexibility Analy-
sis is not required.

Public Comment

Written comments may be submitted to J. Randel (Jerry) Hill,
General Counsel, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, 333
Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 900, Austin, Texas 78701 or faxed to
his attention at (512) 305-7854, no later than noon on June 27,
2016.

The Board specifically invites comments from the public on
the issues of whether or not the proposed repeal will have an
adverse economic effect on small businesses; if the proposed
repeal is believed to have an adverse effect on small busi-
nesses, estimate the number of small businesses believed to
be impacted by the repeal, describe and estimate the economic
impact of the repeal on small businesses, offer alternative meth-
ods of achieving the purpose of the repeal; then explain how the
Board may legally and feasibly reduce that adverse effect on
small businesses considering the purpose of the statute under
which the proposed repeal is to be adopted, finally describe how
the health, safety, environmental and economic welfare of the
state will be impacted by the various proposed methods. See
Texas Government Code, §2006.002(c).

Statutory Authority

The repeal is proposed under the Public Accountancy Act ("Act"),
Texas Occupations Code, §901.151 which authorizes the Board
to adopt rules deemed necessary or advisable to effectuate the
Act.

No other article, statute or code is affected by this proposed re-
peal.

$518.4.  Administrative Penalty Guidelines for Violations of Cease
and Desist Orders.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.
TRD-201602338

J. Randel (Jerry) Hill

General Counsel

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 305-7842

¢ ¢ ¢
22 TAC §518.4

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) proposes
new rule §518.4, concerning Injunctive Relief and Penalties.

Background, Justification and Summary

New rule §518.4 establishes the process for seeking injunctive
relief.

Fiscal Note

William Treacy, Executive Director of the Board, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposed new rule is in ef-
fect, there will be no additional estimated cost to the state, no es-
timated reduction in costs to the state and to local governments,
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and no estimated loss or increase in revenue to the state, as a
result of enforcing or administering the new rule.

Public Benefit Cost Note

Mr. Treacy has determined that for the first five-year period the
new rule is in effect the public benefits expected as a result of
adoption of the proposed new rule will be an enforceable process
that protects the public from persons misleading the public as to
their qualifications.

There will be no probable economic cost to persons required
to comply with the new rule and a Local Employment Impact
Statement is not required because the proposed new rule will
not affect a local economy.

Small Business and Micro-Business Impact Analysis

Mr. Treacy has determined that the proposed new rule will not
have an adverse economic effect on small businesses or micro-
businesses because the new rule does not impose any duties or
obligations upon small businesses or micro-businesses, there-
fore, an Economic Impact Statement and a Regulatory Flexibility
Analysis is not required.

Public Comment

Written comments may be submitted to J. Randel (Jerry) Hill,
General Counsel, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, 333
Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 900, Austin, Texas 78701 or faxed to
his attention at (512) 305-7854, no later than noon on June 27,
2016.

The Board specifically invites comments from the public on the
issues of whether or not the proposed new rule will have an ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses; if the proposed rule
is believed to have an adverse effect on small businesses, esti-
mate the number of small businesses believed to be impacted by
the rule, describe and estimate the economic impact of the rule
on small businesses, offer alternative methods of achieving the
purpose of the rule; then explain how the Board may legally and
feasibly reduce that adverse effect on small businesses consid-
ering the purpose of the statute under which the proposed rule
is to be adopted, finally describe how the health, safety, envi-
ronmental and economic welfare of the state will be impacted by
the various proposed methods. See Texas Government Code,
§2006.002(c).

Statutory Authority

The new rule is proposed under the Public Accountancy Act
("Act"), Texas Occupations Code, §901.151 which authorizes the
Board to adopt rules deemed necessary or advisable to effectu-
ate the Act.

No other article, statute or code is affected by this proposed new
rule.

$518.4.  Injunctive Relief and Penalties.

(a) Whenever the executive director has determined that evi-
dence supports a person(s) has or is engaging in an act(s) that violates
§§901.451, 901.452, 901.453 901.454 or 901.456 of the Act (relating
to Use of Title or Abbreviation for "Certified Public Accountant"; Use
of Title or Abbreviation for "Public Accountant"; Use of Other Titles or
Abbreviations; Title Used by Certain Out-of-State or Foreign Accoun-
tants; and Reports on Financial Statements; Use of Name or Signature
on Certain Documents) or any combination of these sections of the Act,
the executive director may, pursuant to §901.604 of the Act (relating to
Single Act as Evidence of Practice), seek the issuance of an injunction

and the assessment of penalties against that person(s) in state district
court on behalf of the board.

(b) Penalties will be determined in accordance with the
guidelines in §518.6 of this chapter (relating to Administrative Penalty
Guidelines for the Unauthorized Practice of Public Accountancy).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602339

J. Randel (Jerry) Hill

General Counsel

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7842

¢ 4 ¢
22 TAC §518.6

The Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (Board) proposes
new rule §518.6, concerning Administrative Penalty Guidelines
for the Unauthorized Practice of Public Accountancy.

Background, Justification and Summary

New rule §518.6 is former §518.4, which is being repealed, and
includes proposed revisions to the administrative penalty guide-
lines to address repeat offenders.

Fiscal Note

William Treacy, Executive Director of the Board, has determined
that for the first five-year period the proposed new rule is in ef-
fect, there will be no additional estimated cost to the state, no es-
timated reduction in costs to the state and to local governments,
and no estimated loss or increase in revenue to the state, as a
result of enforcing or administering the new rule.

Public Benefit Cost Note

Mr. Treacy has determined that for the first five-year period the
new rule is in effect the public benefits expected as a result of
adoption of the proposed new rule will be to permit appropriate
penalties for repeat offenders.

There will be no probable economic cost to persons required
to comply with the new rule and a Local Employment Impact
Statement is not required because the proposed new rule will
not affect a local economy.

Small Business and Micro-Business Impact Analysis

Mr. Treacy has determined that the proposed new rule will not
have an adverse economic effect on small businesses or micro-
businesses because the new rule does not impose any duties or
obligations upon small businesses or micro-businesses, there-
fore, an Economic Impact Statement and a Regulatory Flexibility
Analysis is not required.

Public Comment

Written comments may be submitted to J. Randel (Jerry) Hill,
General Counsel, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy, 333
Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 900, Austin, Texas 78701 or faxed to
his attention at (512) 305-7854, no later than noon on June 27,
2016.

PROPOSED RULES May 27,2016 41 TexReg 3831



The Board specifically invites comments from the public on the
issues of whether or not the proposed new rule will have an ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses; if the proposed rule
is believed to have an adverse effect on small businesses, esti-
mate the number of small businesses believed to be impacted by
the rule, describe and estimate the economic impact of the rule
on small businesses, offer alternative methods of achieving the
purpose of the rule; then explain how the Board may legally and
feasibly reduce that adverse effect on small businesses consid-
ering the purpose of the statute under which the proposed rule
is to be adopted, finally describe how the health, safety, envi-
ronmental and economic welfare of the state will be impacted by
the various proposed methods. See Texas Government Code,
§2006.002(c).

Statutory Authority

The new rule is proposed under the Public Accountancy Act
("Act"), Texas Occupations Code, §901.151 which authorizes the
Board to adopt rules deemed necessary or advisable to effectu-
ate the Act.

No other article, statute or code is affected by this proposed new
rule.

$518.6.  Administrative Penalty Guidelines for the Unauthorized
Practice of Public Accountancy.

(a) Anyadministrative penalty assessed under this chapter will
be in accordance with the following guidelines:

(1) an unlicensed individual who uses terms restricted for
use by CPAs in violation of §§901.451, 901.452, 901.453 or 901.454 of
the Act (relating to Use of Title or Abbreviation for "Certified Public
Accountant"; Use of Title or Abbreviation for "Public Accountant";
Use of Other Titles or Abbreviations; and Title Used by Certain Out-
of-State or Foreign Accountants) shall pay a penalty of no less than
$1,000.00 and no more than $5,000.00 for a first offense; and no less
than $5,000.00 and no more than $25,000.00 for two or more offenses;

(2) anunlicensed entity that uses terms restricted for use by
licensed firms in violation of §901.351(a) of the Act (relating to Firm
License Required) shall pay a penalty of no less than $5,000.00 and no
more than $10,000.00 for a first offense; and no more than $25,000.00
for two or more offenses;

(3) anunlicensed individual who asserts an expertise in ac-
counting through use of the term "accounting service" or any variation
of that term shall pay a penalty of no less than $1,000.00 and no more
than $5,000.00 for a first offense; and no more than $25,000.00 for two
or more offenses;

(4) anunlicensed entity that asserts an expertise in account-
ing through use of the term "accounting service" or any variation of that
term shall pay a penalty of no less than $5,000.00 and no more than
$10,000.00 for a first offense; and no more than $25,000.00 for two or
more offenses;

(5) an unlicensed individual who claims to provide attest
services shall pay a penalty of no less than $5,000.00 and no more than
$25,000.00;

(6) an unlicensed entity that claims to provide attest ser-
vices shall pay a penalty of no less than $5,000.00 and no more than
$25,000.00;

(7) an unlicensed individual who claims to be a CPA shall
pay a penalty of no less than $5,000.00 and no more than $25,000.00;
and

(8) an unlicensed entity that claims to be a CPA firm shall
pay a penalty of no less than $5,000.00 and no more than $25,000.00.

(b) An offense is counted as a second or more offense when the
person has been notified in writing by the board that the person's actions
violate the Public Accountancy Act and the person fails to correct the
violation(s) within the time required in the written notification.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602340

J. Randel (Jerry) Hill

General Counsel

Texas State Board of Public Accountancy

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7842
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TITLE 28. INSURANCE

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE

CHAPTER 3. LIFE, ACCIDENT, AND HEALTH
INSURANCE AND ANNUITIES

SUBCHAPTER X. PREFERRED AND
EXCLUSIVE PROVIDER PLANS

DIVISION 1. GENERAL REQUIREMENTS

28 TAC §3.3705, §3.3708

The Texas Department of Insurance proposes amendments to
28 TAC Chapter 3, Subchapter X, Division 1, §3.3705, relat-
ing to Nature of Communications with Insureds; Readability,
Mandatory Disclosure Requirements, and Plan Designations,
and §3.3708, relating to Payment of Certain Basic Benefit
Claims and Related Disclosures. The amendments are neces-
sary because of amendments made to Texas Insurance Code
Chapter 1467.

EXPLANATION. SB 481, 84th Legislature, Regular Session
(2015) amended Insurance Code Chapter 1467 (Out-of-Net-
work Claim Dispute Resolution). As a result, TDI must make
conforming changes to 28 TAC Chapter 3, Subchapter X.

Parts of both §3.3705 and §3.3708 relate to the mediation
process mandated by Chapter 1467. SB 481 lowered the
threshold for mediation to amounts greater than $500, for
services provided on or after September 1, 2015. The rules
at §3.3705 and §3.3708 need to be updated to include these
provisions and make nonsubstantive changes to conform to
agency style and usage guidelines.

A description of changes to specific sections follows.

Section 3.3705. The proposal adds assistant surgeons to the list
of covered hospital-based physicians and lowers the threshold
amount for teleconferences and mediation to amounts greater
than $500. The proposal also deletes redundant material and
makes nonsubstantive changes to conform to agency style and
usage guidelines.
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Section 3.3708. The proposal lowers the threshold amount for
teleconferences and mediation to amounts greater than $500.

FISCAL NOTE AND LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATE-
MENT. Patricia Brewer, team lead for the Life and Health Regu-
latory Initiatives Team, has determined that during each year of
the first five years that the proposed amendments are in effect,
there will be no fiscal impact on state or local governments as a
result of enforcing or administering the sections, other than that
imposed by the statute. There will not be any measurable effect
on local employment or the local economy as a result of the pro-
posal.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE. Ms. Brewer has also de-
termined that for each year of the first five years the amendments
are in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result of admin-
istration and enforcement of the amended sections will be: (i)
assurance that TDI's rules comply with Insurance Code Chapter
1467 as amended by SB 481, and (ii) a possible reduction in bal-
ance billing of patients for some out-of-network services. There
is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to
comply with the proposed amendments beyond that imposed by
the statute.

ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEX-
IBILITY ANALYSIS FOR SMALL AND MICRO BUSINESSES.
As required by Government Code §2006.002(c), TDI has
determined that these proposed amendments will not have
an adverse economic effect on small or micro businesses
because, to the extent they contain requirements, they simply
implement statutory requirements or contain minor revisions
to existing forms. Therefore, in accordance with Government
Code §2006.002(c), TDI is not required to prepare a regulatory
flexibility analysis.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT. TDI has determined that no
private real property interests are affected by this proposal and
that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right to
property that would otherwise exist in the absence of government
action and, therefore, does not constitute a taking or require a
takings impact assessment under Government Code §2007.043.

REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT. TDl invites the public and
affected persons to comment on this proposal. Submit your
written comments on the proposal no later than 5 p.m., Cen-
tral time, on June 27, 2016. Send written comments by mail
to the Office of the Chief Clerk, MC 113-2A, Texas Department
of Insurance, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104 or
by email to chiefclerk@tdi.texas.gov. You must simultaneously
submit an additional copy of the comments by mail to Patri-
cia Brewer, Team Lead, Life and Health Regulatory Initiatives
Team, Regulatory Policy Division, MC 106-1A, Texas Depart-
ment of Insurance, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104
or by email to LHLComments@tdi.texas.gov. You must submit
any request for a public hearing separately to the Office of the
Chief Clerk, MC 113-2A, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O.
Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104 or by email to chief-
clerk@tdi.texas.gov before the close of the public comment pe-
riod. If a hearing is held, written comments and public testimony
presented at the hearing will be considered.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. These amendments are proposed
under Insurance Code §§1467.001, 1467.003, 1467.051,
1301.007, 1301.0042, and 36.001, and amendments made by
Section 5 of SB 481, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015)
to Insurance Code §1467.051(a)(1).

Section 1467.001 contains definitions, including a definition for
the facility-based physicians to whose billings Chapter 1467 ap-
plies.

Section 1467.003 requires the commissioner to adopt rules as
necessary to implement the commissioner's powers and duties
under Chapter 1467. Section 1467.051 sets out the availability
of mandatory mediation under Chapter 1467.

Section 1301.007 authorizes the commissioner to adopt rules to
implement Insurance Code Chapter 1301 and ensure reason-
able accessibility and availability of preferred provider services
to residents of Texas.

Section 1301.0042 provides that a provision of the Insurance
Code or another insurance law of Texas that applies to a pre-
ferred provider benefit plan applies to an exclusive provider ben-
efit plan except to the extent that the commissioner determines
the provision to be inconsistent with the function and purpose of
an exclusive provider benefit plan.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner may
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement TDl's
powers and duties under the Insurance Code and other laws of
this state.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The proposed amend-
ments implement Insurance Code Chapter 1467 and Section
5 of SB 481, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which
amends Insurance Code §1467.001(4) and §1467.051(a)(1).
Specifically, the amendments to 28 TAC §3.3705 implement
§1467.001(4) and §1467.051(a)(1), and the amendment to
§3.3708 implements §1467.051(a)(1).

$§3.3705.  Nature of Communications with Insureds; Readability,
Mandatory Disclosure Requirements, and Plan Designations.
(a)- () (No change.)

(f) Notice of rights under a network plan required. An insurer
must include the notice specified in Figure: 28 TAC §3.3705(f)(1)[5] for
a preferred provider benefit plan that is not an exclusive provider bene-
fit plan[;] or Figure: 28 TAC §3.3705(f)(2)[5] for an exclusive provider
benefit plan[;] in all policies, certificates, disclosures of policy terms
and conditions provided to comply with [pursuant to] subsection (b)
of this section, and outlines of coverage in at least 12-point [12 peint]
font:

(1) Preferred provider benefit plan notice.
Figure: 28 TAC §3.3705(f)(1)
[Eigure: 28 TAC §33705(H()]

(2) (No change.)

(2) - (@9 (No change.)

§3.3708.  Payment of Certain Basic Benefit Claims and Related Dis-
closures.

(a) - (d) (No change.)

(e) When services are rendered to an insured by a nonpre-
ferred facility-based physician and the difference between the allowed
amount and the billed charge is at least $500 [$1,000], the insurer must
include a notice on the applicable explanation of benefits that the in-
sured may have the right to request mediation of the claim of an un-
contracted facility-based provider under Insurance Code Chapter 1467
and may obtain more information at www.tdi.texas.gov/consumer/cp-
mmediation.html. An insurer is not in violation of this subsection if
it provides the required notice in connection with claims that are not
eligible for mediation.

(f) (No change.)
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 12, 2016.

TRD-201602321

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 21. TRADE PRACTICES
SUBCHAPTER PP. OUT-OF-NETWORK
CLAIM DISPUTE RESOLUTION

The Texas Department of Insurance proposes amendments
to 28 TAC Chapter 21, Subchapter PP, §§21.5001 - 21.5003,
21.5010 - 21.5013, 21.5020, 21.5030, and 21.5031, relating to
Out-of-Network Claim Dispute Resolution. The amendments
are necessary because of amendments made to Texas Insur-
ance Code Chapter 1467.

EXPLANATION. SB 481, 84th Legislature, Regular Session
(2015) amended Insurance Code Chapter 1467 (Out-of-Net-
work Claim Dispute Resolution). As a result, TDI must make
conforming changes to 28 TAC Chapter 21, Subchapter PP.

Both Chapter 1467 and Subchapter PP provide for mediation of
certain claims by certain facility-based physicians for services
provided to enrollees of preferred provider benefit plans issued
under Insurance Code Chapter 1301 and to enrollees of health
benefit plans, other than health maintenance organization plans,
provided under Insurance Code Chapter 1551 (the Texas Em-
ployees Group Benefits Act).

SB 481 added assistant surgeons to the list of covered physi-
cians and lowered the threshold amount for mediation to
amounts greater than $500 for services provided on or after
September 1, 2015. The rules at 28 TAC Chapter 21, Sub-
chapter PP, need to be updated to include these changes and
adopt a new mediation request form. The proposal also makes
it clear that the statute does not allow claims to be unilaterally
reduced to an amount below the mediation threshold to avoid
mediation of a qualified claim and allow balance billing, and
makes nonsubstantive changes to conform to agency style and
usage guidelines.

A description of changes to specific sections follows.

Section 21.5001. The proposal makes nonsubstantive changes
to conform to agency style and usage guidelines.

Section 21.5002. The proposal removes the phrase "provided
the claimis filed on or after November 1, 2010," because the time
limitation is no longer required, since there should be no claims
still pending that were filed before that date. The proposal also
makes nonsubstantive changes to conform to agency style and
usage guidelines.

Section 21.5003. The proposal adds assistant surgeons to the
list of covered hospital-based physicians effective September 1,
2015, to conform to SB 481. The proposal also makes nonsub-
stantive changes to conform to agency style and usage guide-
lines.

Section 21.5010. The proposal changes the threshold amount
for mediation to an amount greater than $500, effective Septem-
ber 1, 2015, to conform to SB 481. The proposal recognizes
that a claim qualified for mandatory mediation under Insurance
Code §1467.051 does not lose that status by being reduced
without the consent of the enrollee so that the provider can bal-
ance bill without mediation, and there is no procedure to remove
the claim from mediation under §1467.054. The proposal also
makes nonsubstantive changes to conform to agency style and
usage guidelines.

Section 21.5011. The proposal changes a reference to the
Health Insurance Mediation Request Form to correct nomencla-
ture and the form's location. The proposal adds an authorization
to allow disclosure of protected health or other confidential
information to simplify the mediation process by ensuring that
the authorization is obtained at the start of the process. The
proposal also corrects addresses and telephone numbers, and
makes nonsubstantive changes to conform to agency style and
usage guidelines.

Sections 21.5012 - 21.5013. The proposal makes nonsubstan-
tive changes to conform to agency style and usage guidelines.

Section 21.5020. The proposal removes the phrase "on or after
November 1, 2010," because the time limitation is no longer re-
quired, since there should be no claims still pending that were
filed before that date. The proposal also makes nonsubstantive
changes to conform to agency style and usage guidelines.

Section 21.5030. The proposal corrects addresses and tele-
phone numbers, and makes nonsubstantive changes to conform
to agency style and usage guidelines.

Section 21.5031. The proposal makes nonsubstantive changes
to conform to agency style and usage guidelines.

FISCAL NOTE AND LOCAL EMPLOYMENT IMPACT STATE-
MENT. Patricia Brewer, team lead for the Life and Health Regu-
latory Initiatives Team, has determined that during each year of
the first five years that the proposed amendments are in effect,
there will be no fiscal impact on state or local governments as a
result of enforcing or administering the sections, other than that
imposed by the statute. There will not be any measurable effect
on local employment or the local economy as a result of the pro-
posal.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST NOTE. Ms. Brewer has also de-
termined that for each year of the first five years the amend-
ments are in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result
of administration and enforcement of the amended sections will
be: (i) adoption of a revised mediation request form that incor-
porates an authorization to disclose protected health informa-
tion; (ii) clarification that once a claim is qualified for mediation, it
does not lose that status by virtue of billing being reduced with-
out the enrollee's consent; (iii) assurance that TDI's rules comply
with Insurance Code Chapter 1467 as amended by SB 481; and
(iv) a possible reduction in balance billing of patients for some
out-of-network services. There is no anticipated economic cost
to persons who are required to comply with the proposed amend-
ments beyond that imposed by the statute.

ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY FLEX-
IBILITY ANALYSIS FOR SMALL AND MICRO BUSINESSES.
As required by Government Code §2006.002(c), TDI has
determined that these proposed amendments will not have
an adverse economic effect on small or micro businesses
because, to the extent they contain requirements, they simply
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implement statutory requirements or contain minor revisions
to existing forms. Therefore, in accordance with Government
Code §2006.002(c), TDI is not required to prepare a regulatory
flexibility analysis.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT. TDI has determined that no
private real property interests are affected by this proposal and
that this proposal does not restrict or limit an owner's right to
property that would otherwise exist in the absence of government
action and, therefore, does not constitute a taking or require a
takings impact assessment under Government Code §2007.043.

REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT. TDI invites the public and
affected persons to comment on this proposal. Submit your writ-
ten comments on the proposal no later than 5 p.m., Central time,
on June 27, 2016. Send written comments by mail to the Of-
fice of the Chief Clerk, Mail Code 113-2A, Texas Department
of Insurance, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104 or
by email to chiefclerk@tdi.texas.gov. You must simultaneously
submit an additional copy of the comments by mail to Patri-
cia Brewer, Team Lead, Life and Health Regulatory Initiatives
Team, Regulatory Policy Division, MC 106-1A, Texas Depart-
ment of Insurance, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104
or by email to LHLComments@tdi.texas.gov. You must submit
any request for a public hearing separately to the Office of the
Chief Clerk, MC 113-2A, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O.
Box 149104, Austin, Texas 78714-9104 or by email to chief-
clerk@tdi.texas.gov before the close of the public comment pe-
riod. If a hearing is held, written comments and public testimony
presented at the hearing will be considered.

DIVISION 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
28 TAC §§21.5001 - 21.5003

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. These amendments are proposed
under Insurance Code §§1467.001, 1467.003, 1467.051,
1467.054, and 36.001, and amendments made by Sections
4 - 6 of SB 481, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015) to
Insurance Code §1467.001(4) and §1467.051(a)(1).

Section 1467.001 contains definitions, including a definition for
the facility-based physicians to whose billings Chapter 1467 ap-
plies.

Section 1467.003 requires the commissioner to adopt rules as
necessary to implement the commissioner's powers and duties
under Chapter 1467.

Section 1467.051 sets out the availability of mandatory media-
tion under Chapter 1467.

Section 1467.054 sets out the procedure for requesting media-
tion and preliminary procedures for that mediation, and provides
that a request for mandatory mediation must be provided to the
department on a form prescribed by the commissioner.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner may
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement TDI's
powers and duties under the Insurance Code and other laws of
this state.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The proposed amend-
ments implement Insurance Code Chapter 1467 and Sections 4
- 6 of SB 481, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which
amend Insurance Code §1467.001(4) and §1467.051(a)(1).
Specifically, the amendment to 28 TAC §21.5003(6) implements
§1467.001(4), the amendment to 28 TAC §21.5010(a)(3) imple-
ments §1467.051(a)(1), the amendment to 28 TAC §21.5010(d)

implements §1467.051(a) and §1467.054, and the amendment
to 28 TAC §21.5011(a)(7) implements §1467.054.

§21.5001.

As authorized by [under the] Insurance Code §1467.003, concerning
Rules, the purpose of this subchapter is to:

Purpose.

(1) prescribe the process for requesting and initiating
mandatory mediation of claims as authorized in [the] Insurance Code
Chapter 1467, concerning Out-of-Network Claim Dispute Resolution;
and

(2) facilitate the process for the investigation and review of
a complaint filed with the department that relates to the settlement of
an out-of-network claim under [the] Insurance Code Chapter 1467.

$21.5002.  Scope.

(a) This subchapter applies to a qualified claim filed under
health benefit plan coverage:

(1) issued by an insurer as a preferred provider benefit
plan under [the] Insurance Code Chapter 1301, concerning Preferred
Provider Benefit Plans [previded the elaim is filed on or after Novem-
ber 1; 2010]; or

(2) administered by an administrator of a health benefit
plan, other than a health maintenance organization (HMO) plan, under
[the] Insurance Code Chapter 1551, concerning Texas Employees
Group Benefits Act [provided the elaim is filed on or after November
1; 2610].

(b) This subchapter does not apply to a claim for health bene-
fits, including medical and health care services [andf]or supplies, that
is not a covered claim under the terms of the health benefit plan cover-
age.

$21.5003. Definitions.

The following words and terms [when used in this subehapter shall]
have the following meanings when used in this subchapter unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Administrator--An administering firm or a claims ad-
ministrator for a health benefit plan, other than a health maintenance or-
ganization (HMO) [an HMO] plan, providing coverage under [the] In-
surance Code Chapter 1551, concerning Texas Employees Group Ben-
efits Act.

(2) Chief administrative law judge--The chief administra-
tive law judge of the State Office of Administrative Hearings.

(3) Claim--A request to a health benefit plan for payment
for health benefits under the terms of the health benefit plan's coverage,
including medical and health care services and[/ef] supplies, provided
that the [sueh] services and [er] supplies:

(A) are furnished for [pursuant te] a single date of ser-
vice; or

(B) if furnished for [pursuant to] more than one date of
service, are provided as a continuing [and/]or related course of treat-
ment over a period of time for a specific medical problem or condition,
or in response to the same initial patient complaint.

(4) Enrollee--An individual who is eligible to receive ben-
efits through a health benefit plan.

(5) Health benefit plan--A plan that provides coverage un-
der:

(A) a preferred provider benefit plan offered by an in-
surer under [the] Insurance Code Chapter 1301, concerning Preferred
Provider Benefit Plans; or
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(B) a plan, other than an HMO [a health maintenanece
organizatien] plan, under [the] Insurance Code Chapter 1551.

(6) Hospital-based physician--A radiologist, an anesthe-
siologist, a pathologist, an emergency department physician, [ef] a
neonatologist, or an assistant surgeon if the assistant surgeon's services
are provided on or after September 1, 2015:

(A) to whom the hospital has granted clinical privi-
leges; and

(B) who provides services to patients of the hospital un-
der those clinical privileges.

(7) Insurer--A life, health, and accident insurance com-
pany, health insurance company, or other company operating under
[the] Insurance Code Chapters 841, concerning Life, Health, or Acci-
dent Insurance Companies; 842, concerning Group Hospital Service
Corporations; 884, concerning Stipulated Premium Insurance Com-
panies; 885, concerning Fraternal Benefit Societies; 982, concerning
Foreign and Alien Insurance Companies; or 1501, concerning Health
Insurance Portability and Availability Act, that is authorized to issue,
deliver, or issue for delivery in this state a preferred provider benefit
plan under [the] Insurance Code Chapter 1301.

(8) Mediation--A process in which an impartial mediator
facilitates and promotes agreement between the insurer offering a pre-
ferred provider benefit plan or the administrator and a hospital-based
physician or the physician's representative to settle a qualified claim of
an enrollee.

(9) Mediator--An impartial person who is appointed to
conduct mediation under [the ] Insurance Code Chapter 1467, con-
cerning Out-of-Network Claim Dispute Resolution.

(10)  Out-of-network claim--A claim for payment for med-
ical or health care services [and/]or supplies [that are] furnished by a
hospital-based physician that is not contracted as a preferred provider
with a preferred provider benefit plan or [eontracted with an] adminis-
trator.

(11) Preferred provider--A hospital or hospital-based
physician that contracts on a preferred-benefit basis with an insurer
issuing a preferred provider benefit plan under [the] Insurance Code
Chapter 1301 to provide medical care or health care to enrollees
covered by a health insurance policy.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 12, 2016.

TRD-201602322

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584
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DIVISION 2. MEDIATION PROCESS
28 TAC §§21.5010 - 21.5013

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. These amendments are proposed
under Insurance Code §§1467.001, 1467.003, 1467.051,
1467.054, and 36.001, and amendments made by Sections

4 - 6 of SB 481, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015) to
Insurance Code §1467.001(4) and §1467.051(a)(1).

Section 1467.001 contains definitions, including a definition for
the facility-based physicians to whose billings Chapter 1467 ap-
plies.

Section 1467.003 requires the commissioner to adopt rules as
necessary to implement the commissioner's powers and duties
under Chapter 1467.

Section 1467.051 sets out the availability of mandatory media-
tion under Chapter 1467.

Section 1467.054 sets out the procedure for requesting media-
tion and preliminary procedures for that mediation, and provides
that a request for mandatory mediation must be provided to the
department on a form prescribed by the commissioner.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner may
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement TDI's
powers and duties under the Insurance Code and other laws of
this state.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The proposed amend-
ments implement Insurance Code Chapter 1467 and Sections 4
- 6 of SB 481, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which
amend Insurance Code §1467.001(4) and §1467.051(a)(1).
Specifically, the amendment to 28 TAC §21.5003(6) implements
§1467.001(4), the amendment to 28 TAC §21.5010(a)(3) imple-
ments §1467.051(a)(1), the amendment to 28 TAC §21.5010(d)
implements §1467.051(a) and §1467.054, and the amendment
to 28 TAC §21.5011(a)(7) implements §1467.054.

§21.5010. Qualified Claim Criteria.

(a) Required criteria [Criteria]. An enrollee may request
mandatory mediation of an out-of-network claim under §21.5011 of
this title [divisien] (relating to Mediation Request Form and Proce-
dure) if the claim complies with the criteria specified in [paragraphs
D and ) of] this subsection. An out-of-network claim that complies
with those [sueh] criteria is referred to as a "qualified claim" in this
subchapter.

(1) The out-of-network claim must be for medical services
[and/Jor supplies provided by a hospital-based physician in a hospital
that is a preferred provider with the insurer or that has a contract with
the administrator.

(2) For services provided before September 1, 2015, the
[Fhe] aggregate amount for which the enrollee is responsible to the
hospital-based physician for the out-of-network claim, not including
copayments, deductibles, coinsurance, or amounts paid by an insurer
or administrator directly to the enrollee, must be greater than $1,000.

(3) For services provided on or after September 1, 2015,
the aggregate amount for which the enrollee is responsible to the hos-
pital-based physician for the out-of-network claim, not including co-
payments, deductibles, coinsurance, or amounts paid by an insurer or
administrator directly to the enrollee, must be greater than $500.

(b) Submission of multiple claim forms [Multiple Claim
Eorms]. The use of more than one form in the submission of a
claim, as defined in §21.5003(3) of this title [subehapter] (relating
to Definitions), does not prevent [preclude] eligibility of a claim for
mandatory mediation under this subchapter if the claim otherwise
meets the requirements of this section.

(c) Ineligible claims [Claims].

(1) An out-of-network claim is not eligible for mandatory
mediation under this subchapter if:
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(A) the hospital-based physician has provided a com-
plete disclosure to an enrollee under [the] Insurance Code §1467.051,
concerning Availability of Mandatory Mediation; Exception, and this
subsection before providing the medical service [and/]or supply and
has obtained the enrollee's written acknowledgment of that disclosure;
and

(B) the amount billed by the hospital-based physician is
less than or equal to the maximum amount specified in the disclosure.

(2) A complete disclosure under paragraph (1) of this sub-
section must:

(A) explain that the hospital-based physician does not
have, as applicable, either a contract with the enrollee's health benefit
plan as a preferred provider or a contract with the administrator of the
plan, other than an HMO plan, provided under [the] Insurance Code
Chapter 1551, concerning Texas Employees Group Benefits Act;

(B) disclose projected amounts for which the enrollee
may be responsible; and

(C) disclose the circumstances under which the enrollee
would be responsible for those amounts.

(d) Qualification continues. A qualified claim does not lose
that status by virtue of the aggregate amount for which the enrollee is
responsible being reduced below the thresholds set out in this section
without the consent of the enrollee.

§21.5011.

(a) Mediation request form
commissioner adopts by reference Form No. CP029 [EHE619]

(Health Insurance Mediation Request Form), which is avail-
able at www.tdi.texas.gov/consumer/cpmmediation.html
[http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/consumer/cpmmediation.html]. Form
No. CP029 [EHLE619] (Health Insurance Mediation Request Form)
requires information necessary for the department to properly identify
the qualified claim, including:

Mediation Request Form and Procedure.

[Request 1 The

(1) the name and contact information, including a tele-
phone number, of the enrollee requesting mediation;

(2) abriefdescription of the qualified claim to be mediated;

(3) the name and contact information, including a tele-
phone number, of the requesting enrollee's counsel, if the enrollee
retains counsel;

(4) the name of the hospital-based physician;
(5) the name of the insurer or administrator; [an€]

(6) the name and address of the hospital where services
were rendered; and[-]

(7) _an authorization allowing TDI to disclose the enrollee's
protected health information or other confidential information to the
enrollee's health benefit plan's insurer or administrator, the appointed
mediator, and the State Office of Administrative Hearings.

(b) Submission of request [Reguest]. An enrollee may submit
arequest for mediation by completing and submitting Form No. CP029
[EHE619] (Health Insurance Mediation Request Form) as provided in
paragraphs (1) - (4) of this subsection.

[(D] The request may be submitted:

(1) Dby [via] mail[;] to the Texas Department of Insurance,
Consumer Protection Section, MC [Bivisien; Mail Code] 111-1A, P.O.
Box 149091, Austin, Texas 78714-9091;[-]

(2) Dby [The request may be submitted via] fax[;] to (512)
490-1007; [(542) 475-1971]

(3) by email [The request may be submit-
ted wia e-mail;] to ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov;  or
[CensumerProtectiont@tdistate-txus:|

(4) online, when the department makes [Upen the depart-
ment's making] Form No. CP029 [EHE619] (Health Insurance Medi-
ation Request Form) available to be completed and submitted online[;
an enrollee may submit the request in this manner).

(c) Assistance. Assistance with submitting a request for medi-

ation is available at the department's toll-free telephone number, 1-800-
252-3439.

$§21.5012.  Informal Settlement Teleconference.

An insurer or administrator [that is] subject to mandatory mediation re-
quested by an enrollee under §21.5011 of this title [division] (relating
to Mediation Request Form and Procedure) must [shall] use best ef-
forts to coordinate the informal settlement teleconference required by
[the] Insurance Code §1467.054, concerning Request and Preliminary
Procedures for Mandatory Mediation, [§1467-054(d}] by:

(1) arranging a date and time when the insurer or adminis-
trator, the enrollee or the enrollee's representative if the enrollee or the
enrollee's representative chooses to participate, and the hospital-based
physician or the hospital-based physician's representative can partici-
pate in the informal settlement teleconference, which must [shall] occur
not later than the 30th day after the date on which the enrollee submit-
ted a request for mediation; and

(2) providing a toll-free telephone number for participation
in the informal settlement teleconference.

$§21.5013. Mediation Participation.

(a) An insurer or administrator subject to mediation under this
subchapter must [shall] participate in mediation in good faith and is
subject to any rules adopted by the chief administrative law judge in
accordance with [pursuant to the] Insurance Code §1467.003, concern-
ing Rules.

(b) Under [the] Insurance Code §1467.101, concerning Bad
Faith, conduct that constitutes bad faith mediation includes failing to:

(1) [failing to] participate in the mediation;

(2) [failing to] provide information that the mediator be-
lieves is necessary to facilitate an agreement; or

(3) [failing to] designate a representative participating in
the mediation with full authority to enter into any mediated agreement.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 12, 2016.

TRD-201602323

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584
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PROPOSED RULES May 27, 2016 41 TexReg 3837


mailto:ConsumerProtection@tdi.state.tx.us
mailto:ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas.gov
http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/consumer/cpmmediation.html
www.tdi.texas.gov/consumer/cpmmediation.html

DIVISION 3. PLAN ADMINISTRATOR'S
REQUIRED NOTICE OF CLAIMS DISPUTE
RESOLUTION

28 TAC §21.5020

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. These amendments are proposed
under Insurance Code §§1467.001, 1467.003, 1467.051,
1467.054, and 36.001, and amendments made by Sections
4 - 6 of SB 481, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015) to
Insurance Code §1467.001(4) and §1467.051(a)(1).

Section 1467.001 contains definitions, including a definition for
the facility-based physicians to whose billings Chapter 1467 ap-
plies.

Section 1467.003 requires the commissioner to adopt rules as
necessary to implement the commissioner's powers and duties
under Chapter 1467.

Section 1467.051 sets out the availability of mandatory media-
tion under Chapter 1467.

Section 1467.054 sets out the procedure for requesting media-
tion and preliminary procedures for that mediation, and provides
that a request for mandatory mediation must be provided to the
department on a form prescribed by the commissioner.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner may
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement TDI's
powers and duties under the Insurance Code and other laws of
this state.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The proposed amend-
ments implement Insurance Code Chapter 1467 and Sections 4
- 6 of SB 481, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which
amend Insurance Code §1467.001(4) and §1467.051(a)(1).
Specifically, the amendment to 28 TAC §21.5003(6) implements
§1467.001(4), the amendment to 28 TAC §21.5010(a)(3) imple-
ments §1467.051(a)(1), the amendment to 28 TAC §21.5010(d)
implements §1467.051(a) and §1467.054, and the amendment
to 28 TAC §21.5011(a)(7) implements §1467.054.

$§21.5020.  Required Notice of Claims Dispute Resolution.

An administrator of a plan under [the] Insurance Code Chapter 1551,
concerning Texas Employees Group Benefits Act, must [shall] include
a notice [notifieation] of the availability of mandatory mediation under
this subchapter with each explanation of benefits sent to an enrollee
for an out-of-network claim [filed on or after November 1; 2010;] for
services [and/]or supplies furnished in a hospital that has a contract
with the administrator.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 12, 2016.

TRD-201602324

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584
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DIVISION 4. COMPLAINT RESOLUTION
AND OUTREACH
28 TAC §21.5030, §21.5031

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. These amendments are proposed
under Insurance Code §§1467.001, 1467.003, 1467.051,
1467.054, and 36.001, and amendments made by Sections
4 - 6 of SB 481, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015) to
Insurance Code §1467.001(4) and §1467.051(a)(1).

Section 1467.001 contains definitions, including a definition for
the facility-based physicians to whose billings Chapter 1467 ap-
plies.

Section 1467.003 requires the commissioner to adopt rules as
necessary to implement the commissioner's powers and duties
under Chapter 1467.

Section 1467.051 sets out the availability of mandatory media-
tion under Chapter 1467.

Section 1467.054 sets out the procedure for requesting media-
tion and preliminary procedures for that mediation, and provides
that a request for mandatory mediation must be provided to the
department on a form prescribed by the commissioner.

Insurance Code §36.001 provides that the commissioner may
adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to implement TDI's
powers and duties under the Insurance Code and other laws of
this state.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The proposed amend-
ments implement Insurance Code Chapter 1467 and Sections 4
- 6 of SB 481, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which
amend Insurance Code §1467.001(4) and §1467.051(a)(1).
Specifically, the amendment to 28 TAC §21.5003(6) implements
§1467.001(4), the amendment to 28 TAC §21.5010(a)(3) imple-
ments §1467.051(a)(1), the amendment to 28 TAC §21.5010(d)
implements §1467.051(a) and §1467.054, and the amendment
to 28 TAC §21.5011(a)(7) implements §1467.054.

$§21.5030. Complaint Resolution.

(a) Written complaint [Complaint].

(1) An individual may submit [to the department] a
written complaint to the department regarding a qualified claim
or a mediation that has been requested under §21.5010 of this
title [subehapter]| (relating to Qualified Claim Criteria). A rec-
ommended form for filing a complaint under this subsection is
available online at www.tdi.texas.gov/consumer/cpmmediation.html
[http/Awwwtdistate-teus/consumer/epportalbhtml].  The complaint
may be submitted by:

(A) mail[;] to the Texas Department of Insurance, Con-
sumer Protection Section, MC [Pivision; Mail Coede] 111-1A, P.O. Box
149091, Austin, Texas 78714-9091;

(B) faxto (512) 490-1007 [(512) 475-1771];

(C) email [e-mail;] to ConsumerProtection@tdi.texas-
.gov [CensumerProtection(@tdi-state-txus]; or

(D) online submission.

(2) Assistance with filing a complaint is available at the
department's toll-free telephone number, 1-800-252-3439.

(b) Complaint form [Eerm]. The recommended form for filing
a complaint under subsection (a) of this section requests [that eertain]
information concerning the complaint [be proevided], including:
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(1) whether the complaint is within the scope of [the] Insur-
ance Code Chapter 1467, concerning Out-of-Network Claim Dispute
Resolution;

(2) whether medical care has been delayed or has not been
given;

(3) whether the medical service [and/]or supply that is the
subject of the complaint was for emergency care; and

(4) specific information about the qualified claim, includ-

ing:

(A) the type and specialty of the hospital-based physi-
cian;

(B) the type of service performed or supplies provided,;

(C) the city and county where service was performed;
and

(D) the dollar amount of the disputed claim.

(c) Department Processing. The department will [shall] main-
tain procedures to ensure that a written complaint made under this sec-
tion is not dismissed without appropriate consideration, including:

(1) review of all of the information submitted in the written
complaint;

(2) contact with the parties that are the subject of the com-
plaint;

(3) review of the responses received from the subjects of
the complaint to determine if and what further action is required, as
appropriate; and

(4) notification to the enrollee of the mediation process, as
described in [the] Insurance Code Chapter 1467, Subchapter B, con-
cerning Mandatory Mediation.

§21.5031.

Department Outreach.

In addition to the notice provided to consumers regarding the avail-
ability of mandatory mediation [as] described in §21.5030(c) of this
title [divisienr] (relating to Complaint Resolution), the department will
provide outreach as required by [the] Insurance Code §1467.151(a)(2),
concerning Consumer Protection Rules, by making information con-
cerning the availability of this mandatory mediation process available:

(1) on the department's website; and
(2) in [via] consumer publications.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 12, 2016.

TRD-201602325

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584
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TITLE 30. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

PART 1. TEXAS COMMISSION ON
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

CHAPTER 39. PUBLIC NOTICE
SUBCHAPTER O. PUBLIC NOTICE FOR
MARINE SEAWATER DESALINATION
PROJECTS

30 TAC §§39.901 - 39.903

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ,
agency, or commission) proposes new §§39.901 - 39.903.

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Proposed
Rules

In 2015, the 84th Texas Legislature passed House Bill (HB) 2031
and HB 4097. HB 2031 relates to the diversion, treatment, and
use of marine seawater and the discharge of treated marine sea-
water and waste resulting from the desalination of marine sea-
water. HB 4097 addresses seawater desalination for industrial
purposes.

In HB 2031, the legislature declared that: "With this state facing
an ongoing drought, continuing population growth, and the need
to remain economically competitive, every effort must be made to
secure and develop plentiful and cost-effective water supplies to
meet the ever-increasing demand for water." The legislature also
declared that: "In this state, marine seawater is a potential new
source of water for drinking and other beneficial uses. This state
has access to vast quantities of marine seawater from the Gulf
of Mexico." To that end, the legislature stated the purpose of HB
2031 was to "...streamline the regulatory process for and reduce
the time required for and cost of marine seawater desalination."

In HB 2031, the legislature created new Texas Water Code
(TWC), Chapter 18, to address marine seawater desalination
projects. HB 2031 also amended TWC, §5.509, Temporary
or Emergency Order Relating to Discharge of Waste or Pol-
lutants; TWC, §5.551, Permitting Procedures; Applicability;
TWC, §7.302, Grounds for Revocation or Suspension of Permit;
TWC, §11.0237, Water Rights for Instream Flows Dedicated
to Environmental Needs or Bay and Estuary Inflows; TWC,
§11.082, Unlawful Use: Civil Penalty; TWC, §11.0842, Ad-
ministrative Penalty; TWC, §11.121, Permit Required; TWC,
§16.053, Regional Water Plans; and, TWC, §26.0291, Water
Quality Fee. In addition, HB 2031 amended Texas Health and
Safety Code (THSC), Chapter 341, Subchapter C, by adding
THSC, §341.0316, Desalination of Marine Seawater for Drinking
Water, and repealed TWC, §16.060, Desalination Studies and
Research.

TWC, §18.003(a), requires a person to obtain a permit to divert
and use state water that consists of marine seawater if: 1) the
point of diversion is located less than three miles seaward of
any point located on the coast of this state; or 2) the seawater
contains a total dissolved solids (TDS) concentration based on
a yearly average of samples taken monthly at the water source
of less than 20,000 milligrams per liter (mg/L). TWC, §18.003(b),
creates an exemption from permitting to divert and use marine
seawater if TWC, §18.003(a), does not apply. In addition, TWC,
§18.005(c), requires a person to obtain a permit to discharge: 1)
treated marine seawater into a natural stream in this state or a
lake, reservoir, or other impoundment in this state; or 2) waste
resulting from the desalination of marine seawater into the Gulf
of Mexico.

HB 2031 also directs the commission to issue a bed and banks
permit to convey marine seawater in any flowing natural stream
or lake, reservoir, or other impoundment. The bill prohibits: 1)

PROPOSED RULES May 27,2016 41 TexReg 3839



the discharge of treated marine seawater into a flowing natural
stream and impoundment for conveyance purposes without a
discharge permit issued under TWC, Chapter 18; and 2) the di-
version of marine seawater and the discharge of waste resulting
from the desalination of marine seawater in a bay and estuary
under the expedited permit process as allowed by TWC, Chap-
ter 18. A person has the option to submit an application under
TWC, Chapter 11 or 26 to seek a permit to divert or discharge in
a bay or estuary.

Further, HB 2031 directs the commission to adopt rules to ex-
pedite permitting and related processes for the diversion of ma-
rine seawater and the discharge of both treated marine seawater
and waste resulting from the desalination process, in accordance
with TWC, Chapter 18. In addition, the bill requires the commis-
sion to establish reasonable measures to minimize impingement
and entrainment associated with the diversion of marine seawa-
ter.

Finally, HB 2031 requires that the Texas Parks & Wildlife Depart-
ment (TPWD) and the Texas General Land Office (GLO) conduct
a study to identify zones in the Gulf of Mexico that are appropri-
ate for the diversion of marine seawater and for the discharge
of waste resulting from the desalination of marine seawater and
for the commission to adopt rules designating diversion zones
by September 1, 2020. Under TWC, §18.003(j) and §18.005(g),
an applicant for a permit to divert marine seawater must consult
with the TPWD and the GLO regarding the point(s) of diversion
or discharge until such time as the commission adopts rules des-
ignating diversion or discharge zones.

HB 4097 relates to seawater desalination projects. This bill
creates TWC, §11.1405, Desalination of Seawater for Use for
Industrial Purposes, and TWC, §26.0272, Permits Authorizing
Discharges from Certain Seawater Desalination Facilities; and
amends TWC, §27.021, Permit for Disposal of Brine from
Desalination Operations or Drinking Water Treatment Residuals
in Class | Injection Wells, and TWC, §27.025, General Permit
Authorizing Use of Class | Injection Well to Inject Nonhazardous
Brine from Desalination Operations or Nonhazardous Drinking
Water Treatment Residuals, to address seawater desalination
for industrial purposes.

TWC, §11.1405(a), requires a person to obtain a permit to divert
and use state water that consists of seawater if: 1) the point of
diversion is located less than three miles seaward of any point
located on the coast of this state; or 2) the seawater contains a
TDS concentration based on a yearly average of samples taken
monthly at the water source of less than 20,000 mg/L. TWC,
§11.1405(b) creates an exemption from permitting to divert and
use seawater if TWC, §11.1405(a) does not apply. When a per-
mit application is required, TWC, §11.1405(e) specifies that the
application does not require a finding of water availability and
TWC, §11.1405(f) requires the permit to be consistent with the
commission's adopted environmental flow standards in 30 TAC
Chapter 298, Environmental Flow Standards for Surface Water.
TWC, §11.1405(h), directs the commission to adopt rules to ex-
pedite permitting and related processes for the diversion of sea-
water.

In addition, TWC, §26.0272(b), indicates that TCEQ may issue
a permit for the discharge of water treatment residuals from the
desalination of seawater into the portion of the Gulf of Mexico
inside the territorial limits of the state. TWC, §26.0272(c), spec-
ifies that prior to issuing a permit, TCEQ must evaluate the dis-
charge of water treatment residuals from the desalination of sea-
water into the Gulf of Mexico for compliance with the state wa-

ter quality standards, requirements of the Texas Pollutant Dis-
charge Elimination System program, and applicable federal law.
TWC, §26.0272(d), indicates that permits may be individual or
general. TWC, §26.0272(d), also specifies that for individual
permits, an application review procedure, at a minimum, must
comply with the requirements of TWC, Chapter 5, Subchapter
M; and the commission must comply with the requirements of
TWC, §26.040, for a general permit.

TWC, §27.021, allows TCEQ to issue an individual Class | injec-
tion well permit authorizing the disposal of water treatment resid-
uals produced by the desalination of seawater. TWC, §27.025,
allows TCEQ to authorize a Class | injection well under a gen-
eral permit for the disposal of concentrate produced by the de-
salination of seawater. TWC, §27.025, specifies that the general
permit must include any requirements necessary to maintain del-
egation of the federal underground injection control program ad-
ministered by TCEQ.

In October 2015, the commission held a stakeholder meeting to
solicit comments regarding the implementation of HB 2031 and
HB 4097. The executive director based these proposed rules on
consideration of the comments received from the stakeholders,
sound science and other public interest and relevant factors.

In corresponding rulemakings published in this issue of the
Texas Register, the commission also proposes new sections
in 30 TAC Chapter 295, Water Rights, Procedural; 30 TAC
Chapter 297, Water Rights, Substantive; and, 30 TAC Chapter
318, Marine Seawater Desalination Discharges to implement
HB 2031 and HB 4097.

Section by Section Discussion

Subchapter O: Public Notice for Marine Seawater Desalination
Projects

§39.901, Applicability

Proposed new §39.901 identifies the types of applications
subject to Chapter 39, Subchapter O, which establishes the
public notice process for treated marine seawater and off-shore
discharge permits from marine seawater desalination projects
under TWC, Chapter 18. This section clarifies that the terms
"Treated marine seawater," "Off-shore discharges," and "Marine
seawater desalination project" have the same meanings as the
terms are defined in 30 TAC §318.2.

§39.902, Public Notice and Comment for Treated Marine Sea-
water Discharges

Proposed new §39.902 identifies the public notice and comment
process. Proposed §39.902(a) specifies that the executive di-
rector will file the application, draft permit, technical summary,
and draft notice of application and preliminary decision with the
chief clerk. Proposed §39.902(b) describes the contents of the
notice. Proposed §39.902(c) specifies that the notice of appli-
cation and preliminary decision, the administratively and tech-
nically complete application, the draft permit, and the techni-
cal summary will be published on the TCEQ website for pub-
lic review and comment. Additionally, these documents will be
emailed to the state senator and representative who represent
the area where the facility is or will be located and to the TPWD
and the GLO. Proposed §39.902(d) requires a new notice if ma-
jor amendments or transfers are made after notice is published.
Proposed §39.902(e) specifies that the public comment period
ends 10 days after notice is published unless the comment pe-
riod is extended by the executive director for good cause. This
section also specifies that the comment period is extended to the
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close of any public meeting. Proposed §39.902(f) describes the
public meeting notice content. Proposed §39.902(g) specifies
that notice of a public meeting will be mailed or emailed to any
person who submitted comments or requested a public meeting;
emailed to the state senator and representative who represent
the area where the facility is or will be located, the TPWD and
the GLO; and published on the TCEQ website.

§39.903, Public Notice and Comment for Off-Shore Discharges

Proposed new §39.903 identifies the public notice and comment
process for off-shore discharges. Proposed §39.903(a) speci-
fies that the executive director will file the application, draft per-
mit, technical summary, and draft notice of application and pre-
liminary decision with the chief clerk. Proposed §39.903(b) de-
scribes the contents of the notice. Proposed §39.903(c) spec-
ifies that the notice of application and preliminary decision, the
administratively and technically complete application, the draft
permit, and technical summary will be published on the TCEQ
website for public review and comment. Additionally, these doc-
uments will be emailed to the state senator and representative
who represent the area where the facility is or will be located
and to the TPWD and the GLO. Proposed §39.903(d) requires
new notice if major amendments or transfers are made after no-
tice is published. Proposed §39.903(e) specifies that the public
comment period ends 10 days after the notice is published un-
less the comment period is extended by the executive director
for good cause. Late comments will be added to the applica-
tion file but will not be processed. Proposed §39.903(f) specifies
that after the close of the comment period, the executive director
will evaluate timely and relevant public comments and develop
a final technical summary. The final technical summary will in-
clude a summary of all timely and relevant public comments, a
response to the issues raised in public comments, and the exec-
utive director's final decision on the application. This response
to issues raised is not intended to be a detailed discussion and
response to each comment, but rather a high level discussion
and response to the issues raised in public comment. This high
level discussion is to demonstrate that the executive director re-
viewed and considered the issues raised in public comment.

Fiscal Note: Costs to State and Local Government

Jeffrey Horvath, Analyst in the Chief Financial Officer Division,
has determined that for the first five-year period the proposed
rules are in effect, no significant fiscal implications are antici-
pated for the agency and no fiscal implications are expected for
other units of state or local government as a result of the admin-
istration or enforcement of the proposed rules.

The rules are proposed in order to implement HB 2031 which cre-
ated an expedited permitting process for marine seawater desali-
nation projects. HB 2031 directs the commission to adopt rules
to expedite permitting and related processes for the discharge of
both treated marine seawater and waste resulting from the de-
salination process.

These proposed rules in Chapter 39 establish the public notice
and comment process for treated marine seawater and off-shore
discharge permit applications from marine seawater desalina-
tion projects. Although the permitting process is expedited, the
agency does not expect significant costs or cost savings due to
the implementation of the proposed rules. Agency staff does not
expect a need for additional resources to issue any permits un-
der the proposed rules as they do not expect a significant num-
ber of permit applications. Under the current permitting process,
permittees must publish two legal notices in the largest news-

paper in the county where the facility is or will be located. The
expedited permitting process in the proposed rulemaking allows
for a single web-based public notice rather than two newspaper
public notices. This change is not expected to significantly im-
pact agency operations.

Desalination plants are not expected to be owned or operated by
other units of state or local government. No significant revenue
or costs are expected for the agency due to the administration
of the proposed rules.

Public Benefits and Costs

Mr. Horvath has also determined that for each year of the first
five years the proposed rules are in effect, the public benefit an-
ticipated from the changes seen in the proposed rules would be
compliance with state law and a streamlined regulatory process
for marine seawater desalination that would assist the state to
develop new water supplies to meet the ever-increasing demand
for water.

No significant fiscal implications are anticipated for businesses
or for individuals as a result of the administration and enforce-
ment of the proposed rules.

Under the current permitting process, permittees must publish
two legal notices in the largest newspaper in the county where
the facility is or will be located. The expedited permitting process
in the proposed rulemaking allows for a single web-based public
notice rather than two newspaper public notices. Legal notices in
newspapers can range from approximately $500 for small news-
papers and up to $4,000 for large newspapers. So the cost sav-
ings from using web-based notices rather than two newspaper
publications can be $1,000 - $8,000 depending on the location
of the facility.

According to agency staff, there are currently no marine seawa-
ter desalination plants in Texas nor are there a significant num-
ber expected to be constructed in the first five years after the
proposed rules would come into effect. Any marine seawater de-
salination plants that would be constructed would be owned by
large businesses capable of funding large financial capital ex-
penditures. Even though individuals would pay for water from
a desalination plant, they would also benefit from having a new
water supply.

Small Business and Micro-Business Assessment

No adverse fiscal implications are anticipated for small or mi-
cro-businesses as a result of the proposed rules. The proposed
rules would have the same effect on a small business as it does
on a large business. The proposed rules do not affect the reg-
ulatory burden on small or micro-businesses unless they intend
to own or operate a marine seawater desalination plant. Under
the proposed rules, if a business does apply for a permit associ-
ated with a marine seawater desalination plant, there would be
some cost savings from using web-based notices rather than two
newspaper publications.

Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The commission has reviewed this proposed rulemaking and de-
termined that a small business regulatory flexibility analysis is not
required because the proposed rules are necessary in order to
comply with state law and does not adversely affect small or mi-
cro-businesses in a material way for the first five years that the
proposed rules are in effect.

Local Employment Impact Statement
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The commission has reviewed this proposed rulemaking and de-
termined that a local employment impact statement is not re-
quired because the proposed rulemaking does not adversely af-
fect a local economy in a material way for the first five years that
the proposed rules are in effect.

Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination

The commission reviewed the proposed rulemaking in consid-
eration of the regulatory analysis of major environmental rules
required by Texas Government Code, §2001.0225, and deter-
mined that the rulemaking is not subject to Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225(a) because it does not meet the definition of
a "major environmental rule" as defined in Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225(g)(3). The following is a summary of that re-
view.

Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 applies to a "major envi-
ronmental rule" adopted by a state agency, the result of which is
to exceed standards set by federal law, exceed express require-
ments of state law, exceed requirements of delegation agree-
ments between the state and the federal government to imple-
ment a state and federal program, or adopt a rule solely under
the general powers of the agency instead of under a specific
state law. A "major environmental rule" is a rule, the specific
intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks to
human health from environmental exposure and that may ad-
versely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector or the state.

The legislature enacted HB 2031, creating TWC, Chapter 18,
which relates to marine seawater desalination. HB 2031 states
that the purpose of the new law is to remain economically com-
petitive in order to secure and develop plentiful and cost-effec-
tive water supplies to meet the ever-increasing demand for wa-
ter. More specifically, the legislature stated the purpose of HB
2031 was to "...streamline the regulatory process for and reduce
the time required for and cost of marine seawater desalination.”
Therefore, the specific intent of the proposed rulemaking is to
add procedures for the development of plentiful and cost-effec-
tive water supplies to meet the ever-increasing demand for wa-
ter and to streamline the process for these permits. The pro-
posed rules in Chapter 39 are for the development of plentiful
and cost-effective water supplies to meet the ever-increasing de-
mand for water and to streamline the processes for obtaining a
permit to discharge treated marine seawater and waste resulting
from the desalination of marine seawater under TWC, Chapter
18. The proposed new rules will protect the health and safety
of aquatic and wildlife resources, as well as water quality, how-
ever, the proposed rules will not adversely affect the economy,
a sector of the economy, productivity, competition, or jobs within
the state or a sector of the state. Accordingly, the commission
concludes that the proposed rulemaking does not meet the def-
inition of a "major environmental rule."

Even if this rulemaking was a "major environmental rule," this
rulemaking meets none of the criteria in Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225 for the requirement to prepare a full Regu-
latory Impact Analysis. First, this rulemaking is not governed
by federal law. Second, it does not exceed state law but
rather creates an expedited process under state law to ensure
efficient regulatory oversight, while comprehensively protecting
the state's natural resources. Third, the proposed rulemaking
does not come under a delegation agreement or contract with a
federal program, and finally, it is not being proposed under the
TCEQ's general rulemaking authority. This rulemaking is being

proposed under specific state statutes enacted in HB 2031.
Therefore, the commission does not proposed the rules solely
under the commission's general powers.

Written comments on the Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis De-
termination may be submitted to the contact person at the ad-
dress listed under the Submittal of Comments section of this pre-
amble.

Takings Impact Assessment

The commission evaluated the proposed rulemaking and per-
formed an analysis of whether it constitutes a taking under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 2007. The following is a summary
of that analysis. The specific purpose of the proposed rulemak-
ing is to modify the TAC to implement the changes to the TWC,
from HB 2031, which creates procedures for the development of
plentiful and cost-effective water supplies to meet the ever-in-
creasing demand for water and to streamline the process for
these permits. The proposed rulemaking will substantially ad-
vance this stated purpose by proposing rules in Chapter 39, that
are intended to articulate and expedite the permitting process for
marine seawater desalination discharges in accordance with HB
2031 and TWC, Chapter 18.

Promulgation and enforcement of the proposed rules will not be
a statutory or constitutional taking of private real property be-
cause, as the commission's analysis indicates, Texas Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 2007 does not apply to these proposed
rules because these rules do not impact private real property.
In HB 2031, the legislature expressed that "In this state, ma-
rine seawater is a potential new source of water for drinking and
other beneficial uses. This state has access to vast quantities of
marine seawater from the Gulf of Mexico." Specifically, the pro-
posed rulemaking does not apply to or affect any landowner's
rights in any private real property because it does not burden
(constitutionally), restrict, or limit any landowner's right to real
property and reduce any property's value by 25% or more be-
yond that which would otherwise exist in the absence of the reg-
ulations. For marine seawater, there are no real property rights
that have been granted for use of the water in the Gulf of Mex-
ico. These actions will not affect or burden private real property
rights because of the amount of water in the Gulf of Mexico, or
a bay or arm of the Gulf of Mexico.

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission reviewed the proposed rulemaking and found
that the proposal is subject to the Texas Coastal Management
Program (CMP) in accordance with the Coastal Coordination
Act, Texas Natural Resources Code, §§33.201 et seq., and
therefore must be consistent with all applicable CMP goals
and policies. The commission conducted a consistency de-
termination for the proposed rules in accordance with Coastal
Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §505.22 and
found the proposed rulemaking is consistent with the applicable
CMP goals and policies.

CMP goals applicable to the proposed rules include: 1) to pro-
tect, preserve, restore, and enhance the diversity, quality, quan-
tity, functions, and values of coastal natural resource areas (CN-
RAs); and, 2) to ensure sound management of all coastal re-
sources by allowing for compatible economic development and
multiple human uses of the coastal zone. CMP policies appli-
cable to the proposed rules include: discharges must comply
with water quality-based effluent limits; discharges that increase
pollutant loadings to coastal waters must not impair designated
uses of coastal waters and must not significantly degrade coastal
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water quality, unless necessary for important economic or social
development; and to the greatest extent practicable, new waste-
water outfalls must be located where they will not adversely af-
fect critical areas.

Promulgation and enforcement of these rules will not violate or
exceed any standards identified in the applicable CMP goals
and policies. The proposed rules are consistent with these CMP
goals and policies because these rules do not create or have a
direct or significant adverse effect on any CNRAs, and because
the proposed rules do not allow a discharge from marine seawa-
ter desalination projects into or adjacent to water in the state, ex-
cept in accordance with an individual permit issued by the com-
mission. Individual permits issued under these proposed rules
will include effluent limitation to ensure compliance with water
quality standards. Further, the expedited permitting process in
these proposed rules cannot be used to authorize discharges of
reject water into bays and estuaries. Reject water must be dis-
charged into the Gulf of Mexico, and applicants must consult with
the TPWD and the GLO regarding the outfall location(s).

Written comments on the consistency of this rulemaking may be
submitted to the contact person at the address listed under the
Submittal of Comments section of this preamble.

Announcement of Hearing

The commission will hold a public hearing on this proposal in
Austin on June 21, 2016, at 2:00 p.m., in Building E, Room 2018,
at the commission's central office located at 12100 Park 35 Cir-
cle. The hearing is structured for the receipt of oral or written
comments by interested persons. Individuals may present oral
statements when called upon in order of registration. Open dis-
cussion will not be permitted during the hearing; however, com-
mission staff members will be available to discuss the proposal
30 minutes prior to the hearing.

Persons who have special communication or other accommoda-
tion needs who are planning to attend the hearing should con-
tact Sandy Wong, Office of Legal Services at (512) 239-1802 or
1-800-RELAY-TX (TDD). Requests should be made as far in ad-
vance as possible.

Submittal of Comments

Written comments may be submitted to Ms. Kris Hogan, MC
205, Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission on Environ-
mental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087
or faxed to (512) 239-4808. Electronic comments may be
submitted at:  http.//www1.tceq.texas.gov/rules/ecomments/.
File size restrictions may apply to comments being sub-
mitted via the eComments system. All comments should
reference Rule Project Number 2015-029-295-OW. The com-
ment period closes on July 5, 2016. Copies of the proposed
rulemaking can be obtained from the commission's website
at http.//www.tceq.texas.gov/rules/propose_adopt.htmi. For
further information, please contact Kathy Ramirez, Water Avail-
ability Division, at (512) 239-6757 or Laurie Fleet, Wastewater
Permitting Section, at (512) 239-5445.

Statutory Authority

The rules are proposed under Texas Water Code (TWC), §5.013
which establishes the general jurisdiction of the commission;
TWC §5.102 which provides the commission with the authority
to carry out its duties and general powers under its jurisdictional
authority as provided by TWC, §5.103; TWC, §5.103 which re-
quires the commission to adopt any rule necessary to carry out
its powers and duties under the TWC and other laws of the state;

TWC, §5.120 which requires the commission to administer the
law so as to promote judicious use and maximum conservation
and protection of the environment and the natural resources of
the state; TWC, §26.011 which provides the commission with the
authority to establish the level of quality to be maintained in, and
to control the quality of, the water in the state by subjecting waste
discharges or impending waste discharges to reasonable rules
or orders adopted or issued by the commission in the public in-
terest; TWC, §26.027 and §26.041 which authorize the commis-
sion to issue permits for the discharge of waste or pollutants into
or adjacent to water in the state, and to set standards to prevent
the discharge of waste that is injurious to the public health; and
TWC, §18.005(e) which directs the commission to adopt rules to
expedite permitting and related processes for the discharge of
both treated marine seawater and waste resulting from the de-
salination process, in accordance with TWC, Chapter 18.

The proposed rules implement TWC, §18.005 and House Bill
2031 (84th Texas Legislature, 2015).

$39.901.  Applicability.

The provisions of this subchapter establish the public notice process
for treated marine seawater discharge permits and off-shore discharge
permits from marine seawater desalination projects under Texas Wa-
ter Code, Chapter 18. For the purposes of this subchapter, the terms
"Treated marine seawater," "Off-shore discharges," and "Marine sea-
water desalination project" have the same meaning as the definitions
of these terms found in §318.2 of this title (relating to Definitions).

$39.902.  Public Notice and Comment for Treated Marine Seawater
Discharges.

(a) Filing the administrative record. After the technical review
is completed, the executive director shall file the application, draft per-
mit, technical summary, and draft notice of application and preliminary
decision with the chief clerk.

(b) Notice text. The notice of application and preliminary de-
cision must contain the following information:

(1) the permit number;

(2) the name, address, and telephone number of the appli-

cant;

(3) abrief description of the location and nature of the pro-
posed marine seawater desalination project, including the location of
each outfall;

(4) asummary of the executive director's preliminary deci-
sion and whether the executive director has prepared a draft permit;

(5) if applicable, a statement that the application is subject
to the Coastal Management Program and must be consistent with the
Coastal Management Program goals and policies;

(6) a brief description of public comment procedures, in-
cluding:

(A) adescription of the manner in which comments re-
garding the executive director's preliminary decision may be submitted;

(B) the deadline to file comments; and

(C) the deadline to request a public meeting or a con-
tested case hearing;
(7) a statement that the executive director will respond to

comments raising issues that are timely received and are relevant, ma-
terial or otherwise significant;

(8) a brief description of procedures by which the public
may request a public meeting and a statement that a public meeting
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will be held by the executive director if requested by a member of the

representative who represent the area where the facility is or will be lo-

legislature who represents the general area where the facility will be

cated, the Texas Parks & Wildlife Department, and the Texas General

located or there is substantial public interest in the proposed activity;

Land Office; and published on the TCEQ website at least 14 calendar

(9) a statement that there is an opportunity for a contested
case hearing, the procedures by which the public may request a con-
tested case hearing, and that only disputed issues of fact or mixed issues
of fact and law that are relevant and material to the commission's deci-
sion that are raised during the comment period can be considered if a

days prior to the meeting date. The chief clerk need not mail or email
notice of the public meeting to persons submitting public comment or
public meeting requests who have not provided a return mailing ad-
dress or email address.

§39.903.  Public Notice and Comment for Off-Shore Discharges.

contested case hearing is granted;

(10) a statement that the executive director may issue fi-
nal approval of the application unless a timely contested case hearing
request is filed with the chief clerk after transmittal of the executive
director's decision and response to public comment;

(11) the name and telephone number of an agency contact
that interested persons may contact for further information; and

(12) any additional information required by the executive
director.

(c) Publication of the notice. The notice of application and
preliminary decision, the administratively and technically complete ap-
plication, the draft permit, and the technical summary, excluding over-
sized documents, will be published on the TCEQ website for public
review and comment. Additionally, these documents will be emailed
to the state senator and representative who represent the general area
in which the facility is or will be located, the Texas Parks & Wildlife
Department, and the Texas General Land Office at the email address
on file for these individuals and agencies.

(d) Amendment after notice. No amendments to an applica-
tion which would constitute a major amendment under the terms of
§318.6 of this title (relating to Amendment of a Permit) can be made
by the applicant after the notice of application and preliminary decision
has been published, unless new notice is published which includes a de-
scription of the proposed amendments to the application. For purposes
of this subsection, an attempted transfer of an application shall consti-
tute an amendment requiring additional notice.

(e) Public comment. Public comments must be filed with the
chief clerk within the time period specified in the notice. The public
notice period shall end 10 calendar days after the date of publication on
the TCEQ website unless extended by the executive director for good
cause. The public comment period shall be extended to the close of
any public meeting.

(f) Public meeting notice. Notice of a public meeting must
include the following information:

(1) the information required by subsection (b)(1) - (3) and
(11) of this section;

(2) the date, time, and place of the meeting;

(3) a brief description of the nature and purpose of the
meeting, including the applicable rules and procedures; and

(4) a brief description of public comment procedures, in-
cluding a description of the manner in which comments regarding the
executive director's preliminary decision may be submitted and a state-
ment in the notice for any permit application for which there is an op-
portunity for contested case hearing, that only relevant and material
issues raised during the comment period can be considered if a con-
tested case hearing is granted.

(g) Recipients of public meeting notice. Notice of a public
meeting will be mailed or emailed to any person who submitted com-
ments or requested a public meeting; emailed to the state senator and

(a) Filing the administrative record. After the technical review
is completed, the executive director shall file the application, draft per-
mit, technical summary, and draft notice of application and preliminary
decision with the chief clerk.

(b) Notice text. The notice of application and preliminary de-
cision must contain the following information:

(1) the permit number;

(2) the name, address, and telephone number of the appli-

cant;

(3) abrief description of the location and nature of the pro-
posed marine seawater desalination project, including the location of
each outfall;

(4) asummary of the executive director's preliminary deci-
sion and whether the executive director has prepared a draft permit;

(5) astatement that the application is subject to the Coastal
Management Program and must be consistent with the Coastal Man-
agement Program goals and policies;

(6) adescription of the manner in which comments regard-
ing the executive director's preliminary decision may be submitted and
the deadline to file comments;

(7) a statement that the executive director will evaluate
comments raising issues that are timely received and are relevant, ma-
terial or otherwise significant and develop a final technical summary;

(8) the name and telephone number of an agency contact
that interested persons may contact for further information; and

(9) any additional information required by the executive di-

rector.

(c) Publication of the notice. The notice of application and
preliminary decision, the administratively and technically complete ap-
plication, the draft permit, and the technical summary, excluding over-
sized documents, will be published on the TCEQ website for public
review and comment. Additionally, these documents will be emailed
to the state senator or representative who represent the area where the
facility is or will be located, the Texas Parks & Wildlife Department,
and the Texas General Land Office at the email address on file for these
individuals and agencies.

(d) Amendment after notice. No amendments to an applica-
tion which would constitute a major amendment under the terms of
§318.6 of this title (relating to Amendment of a Permit) can be made
by the applicant after the notice of application and preliminary decision
has been published, unless new notice is published which includes a de-
scription of the proposed amendments to the application. For purposes
of this subsection, an attempted transfer of an application shall consti-
tute an amendment requiring additional notice.

(e) Public comment. Public comment must be filed with the
chief clerk within the time period specified in the notice. The public
notice period shall end 10 calendar days after the date of publication on
the TCEQ website unless extended by the executive director for good
cause. A public comment that is not filed with the chief clerk by the
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deadline provided in the notice shall be accepted by the chief clerk and
placed in the application file but the chief clerk shall not process it.

(f) Response to comments and final decision. After the close
of the comment period, the executive director shall:

(1) evaluate all timely received and relevant, material or
otherwise significant issues raised in public comments;

(2) develop a final technical summary which includes:

(A) asummary of all timely received and relevant, ma-
terial or otherwise significant issues raised in public comments;

(B) aresponse to the issues raised in public comments;

and

(C) asummary of the executive director's final decision;

(3) revise the draft permit in response to comments, if nec-
essary; and
(4) file the final technical summary and revised draft per-

mit, if applicable, with the chief clerk within the shortest practical time
after the comment period ends.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602345

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 295. WATER RIGHTS,
PROCEDURAL

SUBCHAPTER G. DESALINATION,
PROCEDURAL

30 TAC §§295.300 - 295.306

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ,
agency, or commission) proposes new §§295.300 - 295.306.

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Proposed
Rules

In 2015, the 84th Texas Legislature passed House Bill (HB) 2031
and HB 4097. HB 2031 relates to the diversion, treatment, and
use of marine seawater and the discharge of treated marine sea-
water and waste resulting from the desalination of marine sea-
water. HB 4097 addresses seawater desalination for industrial
purposes.

In HB 2031, the legislature declared that: "With this state facing
an ongoing drought, continuing population growth, and the need
to remain economically competitive, every effort must be made to
secure and develop plentiful and cost-effective water supplies to
meet the ever-increasing demand for water." The legislature also
declared that: "In this state, marine seawater is a potential new
source of water for drinking and other beneficial uses. This state
has access to vast quantities of marine seawater from the Gulf
of Mexico." To that end, the legislature stated the purpose of HB

2031 was to "...streamline the regulatory process for and reduce
the time required for and cost of marine seawater desalination."

In HB 2031, the legislature created new Texas Water Code
(TWC), Chapter 18, to address marine seawater desalination
projects. HB 2031 also amended TWC, §5.509, Temporary
or Emergency Order Relating to Discharge of Waste or Pol-
lutants; TWC, §5.551, Permitting Procedures; Applicability;
TWC, §7.302, Grounds for Revocation or Suspension of Permit;
TWC, §11.0237, Water Rights for Instream Flows Dedicated
to Environmental Needs or Bay and Estuary Inflows; TWC,
§11.082, Unlawful Use: Civil Penalty; TWC, §11.0842, Ad-
ministrative Penalty; TWC, §11.121, Permit Required; TWC,
§16.053, Regional Water Plans; and, TWC, §26.0291, Water
Quality Fee. In addition, HB 2031 amended Texas Health and
Safety Code (THSC), Chapter 341, Subchapter C, by adding
THSC, §341.0316, Desalination of Marine Seawater for Drinking
Water, and repealed TWC, §16.060, Desalination Studies and
Research.

TWC, §18.003(a), requires a person to obtain a permit to divert
and use state water that consists of marine seawater if: 1) the
point of diversion is located less than three miles seaward of
any point located on the coast of this state; or 2) the seawater
contains a total dissolved solids (TDS) concentration based on
a yearly average of samples taken monthly at the water source
of less than 20,000 milligrams per liter (mg/L). TWC, §18.003(b),
creates an exemption from permitting to divert and use marine
seawater if TWC, §18.003(a), does not apply. In addition, TWC,
§18.005(c), requires a person to obtain a permit to discharge: 1)
treated marine seawater into a natural stream in this state or a
lake, reservoir, or other impoundment in this state; or 2) waste
resulting from the desalination of treated marine seawater into
the Gulf of Mexico.

HB 2031 also directs the commission to issue a bed and banks
permit to convey marine seawater in any flowing natural stream
or lake, reservoir, or other impoundment. The bill prohibits: 1)
the discharge of treated marine seawater into a flowing natural
stream and impoundment for conveyance purposes without a
discharge permit issued under TWC, Chapter 18; and 2) the di-
version of marine seawater and the discharge of waste resulting
from the desalination of marine seawater in a bay and estuary
under the expedited permit process as allowed by TWC, Chap-
ter 18. A person has the option to submit an application under
TWC, Chapter 11 or 26 to seek a permit to divert or discharge in
a bay or estuary.

Further, HB 2031 directs the commission to adopt rules to ex-
pedite permitting and related processes for the diversion of ma-
rine seawater and the discharge of both treated marine seawater
and waste resulting from the desalination process, in accordance
with TWC, Chapter 18. In addition, the bill requires the commis-
sion to establish reasonable measures to minimize impingement
and entrainment associated with the diversion of marine seawa-
ter.

Finally, HB 2031 requires that the Texas Parks & Wildlife Depart-
ment (TPWD) and the Texas General Land Office (GLO) conduct
a study to identify zones in the Gulf of Mexico that are appropri-
ate for the diversion of marine seawater and for the discharge
of waste resulting from the desalination of marine seawater and
for the commission to adopt rules designating diversion zones
by September 1, 2020. Under TWC, §18.003(j) and §18.005(g),
an applicant for a permit to divert marine seawater must consult
with the TPWD and the GLO regarding the point(s) of diversion

PROPOSED RULES May 27, 2016 41 TexReg 3845



or discharge until such time as the commission adopts rules des-
ignating diversion or discharge zones.

HB 4097 relates to seawater desalination projects. This bill
creates TWC, §11.1405, Desalination of Seawater for Use for
Industrial Purposes, and TWC, §26.0272, Permits Authorizing
Discharges from Certain Seawater Desalination Facilities; and
amends TWC, §27.021, Permit for Disposal of Brine from
Desalination Operations or Drinking Water Treatment Residuals
in Class | Injection Wells, and TWC, §27.025, General Permit
Authorizing Use of Class | Injection Well to Inject Nonhazardous
Brine from Desalination Operations or Nonhazardous Drinking
Water Treatment Residuals, to address seawater desalination
for industrial purposes.

TWC, §11.1405(a), requires a person to obtain a permit to divert
and use state water that consists of seawater if: 1) the point of
diversion is located less than three miles seaward of any point
located on the coast of this state; or 2) the seawater contains a
TDS concentration based on a yearly average of samples taken
monthly at the water source of less than 20,000 mg/L. TWC,
§11.1405(b) creates an exemption from permitting to divert and
use seawater if TWC, §11.1405(a) does not apply. When a per-
mit application is required, TWC, §11.1405(e) specifies that the
application does not require a finding of water availability and
TWC, §11.1405(f) requires the permit to be consistent with the
commission's adopted environmental flow standards in 30 TAC
Chapter 298, Environmental Flow Standards for Surface Water.
TWC, §11.1405(h), directs the commission to adopt rules to ex-
pedite permitting and related processes for the diversion of sea-
water.

In October 2015, the commission held a stakeholder meeting to
solicit comments regarding the implementation of HB 2031 and
HB 4097. The executive director based these proposed rules on
consideration of the comments received from the stakeholders,
sound science and other public interest and relevant factors.

In corresponding rulemakings published in this issue of the
Texas Register, the commission also proposes new sections in
30 TAC Chapter 39, Public Notice; 30 TAC Chapter 297, Water
Rights, Substantive; and 30 TAC Chapter 318, Marine Seawater
Desalination Discharges to implement HB 2031 and HB 4097.

Section by Section Discussion
Subchapter G: Desalination, Procedural

The commission proposes new Subchapter G in Chapter 295
to contain all of the requirements for a water right application
to divert marine seawater or seawater and a water right appli-
cation to convey treated marine seawater in the bed and banks
of a watercourse. This new subchapter also contains the re-
quirements for notice of a water right application to divert marine
seawater or seawater and for notice of a water right application
to convey treated marine seawater in the bed and banks of a
watercourse. The commission must adopt rules to implement
TWC, §11.1405 and Chapter 18. The commission specifically
invites commenters to provide any relevant information that may
differ from its proposed rules, which in the commenter's opinion
would assist the commission in deciding on adopted rules for wa-
ter right applications to divert marine seawater or seawater and
for water right applications to convey treated marine seawater
in the bed and banks of a watercourse. The adopted rules may
differ from this proposal and may include additional components
based on public comment. The commission invites comments
on all aspects of the proposed rules.

§295.300, Applicability

The commission proposes new §295.300 to describe the pur-
pose of Subchapter G and under what circumstances it applies.
Subchapter G is intended to provide an alternate procedure for
obtaining an authorization to divert and use state water that con-
sists of marine seawater, to divert and desalinate water for in-
dustrial purposes from a bay or arm of the Gulf of Mexico, and to
convey treated marine seawater in the bed and banks of a wa-
tercourse.

§295.301, Definitions

The commission proposes new §295.301. The proposed sec-
tion has definitions of terms that only apply to Chapter 295, Sub-
chapter G. 30 TAC Chapter 55 does not apply to applications
to divert marine sea water from the Gulf of Mexico or to take
seawater from a bay or arm of the Gulf of Mexico for industrial
purposes, except for Chapter 55, Subchapter G. In §295.301(1)
the commission proposes a definition of "Affected person." In
§295.301(2) the commission proposes a definition of "Marine
seawater" consistent with TWC, §18.001(2). In §295.301(3) the
commission proposes a definition of "Seawater" as water that is
derived from a bay or arm of the Gulf of Mexico.

§295.302, Requirements for Diversion of Marine Seawater and
Diversion of Seawater.

The commission proposes new §295.302. The proposed sec-
tion sets out the application requirements for a water rights ap-
plication to divert marine seawater or seawater that will apply
only to applications under Subchapter G. In §295.302(a) and
(b), the commission proposes that an application for diversion
of marine seawater or seawater conform to the requirements
in §295.2 and §295.14 so that an application to divert marine
seawater or seawater will be submitted in the form of a water
rights application. In §295.302(c) and (d) the commission pro-
poses that an application for a water right permit to divert marine
seawater or seawater should include the location of the diver-
sion point(s), the total amount of marine seawater or seawater
to be diverted and the rate of diversion for the marine seawater
or seawater to be consistent with the requirements for a water
right application for a new diversion. In §295.302(e) the com-
mission proposes that the application shall include a purpose of
use, and if the diverted marine seawater is to be used for more
than one purpose, the specific amount to be used annually for
each purpose. The commission proposes this requirement so
that it can determine whether the proposed use is a beneficial
use, and whether the proposed treatment of the marine seawa-
ter is consistent with the proposed use. The commission further
proposes new §295.302(f) requiring the applicant to provide ev-
idence that the marine seawater or seawater will be treated in
accordance with commission rules based on the purpose of use
for which the marine seawater or seawater will be used in accor-
dance with TWC, §18.002(d). In §295.302(g) and (h) the com-
mission proposes that an application to divert marine seawater
or seawater include a Water Conservation Plan and evidence
that the application is consistent with the State and Regional
Water Plans because under TWC, §18.002(a)(1), TWC, Chapter
11, including the requirement for a conservation plan and con-
sistency with state and regional water plans, applies to a per-
mit to divert marine seawater. In §295.302(i), the commission
proposes a requirement that an application include a determina-
tion of the TDS concentration of the water source in accordance
with TWC, §18.003(c). Proposed §295.302(j) includes a require-
ment relating to measures to minimize impingement and entrain-
ment associated with the requested diversion as prescribed by
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TWC, §18.003(h). Finally, in §295.302(k) the commission pro-
poses that an application to divert marine seawater shall include
evidence of consultation with the TPWD and the GLO in accor-
dance with TWC, §18.005(i). The commission proposes that an
applicant for diversion of seawater should also provide evidence
of consultation because diversion zones have not been identi-
fied at the time of this rulemaking.

§295.303, Review Timeframes

The commission proposes new §295.303 regarding review time-
frames for a water right application to divert marine seawater
and to divert seawater for industrial use from a bay or arm of
the Gulf of Mexico to provide for an expedited review of applica-
tions submitted under Subchapter G in accordance with TWC,
§18.003(e). In §295.303(a) the commission proposes that an
application must be administratively complete when submitted in
order for expedited review to apply. In §295.303(b) applications
will be reviewed within 10 working days to determine whether
the application is administratively complete and contains the in-
formation required under §295.302. In §295.303(c) the commis-
sion proposes that technical review of a water right application
to divert marine seawater be completed within 60 working days
in order to provide for expedited review of these applications. In
§295.303(d) the commission proposes requirements and time-
frames that would apply to a water right application to divert
marine seawater or seawater if the information required under
§295.302 is not sufficient for a complete review. The commis-
sion proposes that an applicant be provided no less than 30 days
to submit the necessary information and provides that if the nec-
essary information is not received, the application may be re-
turned. The commission proposes this requirement to expedite
processing of water right applications to divert marine seawater
and seawater.

§295.304, Notice of Application to Divert Marine Seawater or
Seawater

The commission proposes new §295.304 to provide the notice
requirements for an application to divert marine seawater or to
divert and desalinate seawater for industrial use. In §295.304(a)
the commission proposes that mailed notice of an application be
provided to the TPWD and the GLO because water right appli-
cations to divert marine seawater and to divert and desalinate
seawater for industrial use would not be located in a river basin
as set out in TWC, §11.002(11). The notice requirements in this
section do not apply to points of diversion which are located in a
river basin as set out in TWC, §11.002(11). In §295.304(b)(1) -
(8) the commission proposes that the notice include the applica-
ble information required for mailed notice of a water right applica-
tion, as set out in §295.151. In §295.304(b)(9) the commission
proposes that the notice state that an affected person may sub-
mit written comments and request a contested case hearing in
accordance with TWC, §18.003(e). In §295.304(b)(11) the com-
mission proposes that the notice can also include any additional
information the commission considers necessary which provides
the commission flexibility to ensure that the notice includes all
relevant information on the application. In §295.304(c) the com-
mission proposes that requests for a contested case hearing
submitted on applications to divert marine seawater or seawa-
ter will be processed in accordance with 30 TAC Chapter 55,
Subchapter G.

§295.305, Requirements for an Authorization to Convey Treated
Marine Seawater in Bed and Banks

The commission proposes new §295.305. The proposed sec-
tion sets out the application requirements for a water rights
application to convey treated marine seawater in the bed and
banks of a watercourse that will apply only to applications under
Subchapter G. In §295.305(a), the commission proposes that
an applicant for a water right to convey treated marine seawater
in the bed and banks of a watercourse provide evidence that the
marine seawater will be treated so as to meet standards that are
at least as stringent as the commission's adopted water quality
standards for the watercourse in which the treated marine sea-
water will be conveyed in accordance with TWC, §18.004(a).
In §295.305(b) the commission proposes that treated marine
seawater conveyed under an authorization granted under
this section may only be used by the person to whom the
authorization is granted in accordance with TWC, §18.004(d).
The commission proposes §295.305(c) to implement TWC,
§18.004(f), which states that §295.305 does not prohibit a
person from conveying marine seawater in any other manner
authorized by law. The commission proposes §295.305(d) to
provide the application requirements for a water right permit
to convey treated marine seawater in the bed and banks of a
watercourse. The requirements in §295.305(d) are substantially
the same requirements for an application under §295.113; how-
ever, §295.305(d) does not include requirements for information
on interbasin transfers because the conveyed treated marine
seawater does not originate from a river basin. The com-
mission's proposed application requirement in §295.305(d)(4)
implements TWC, §18.004(c), which relates to discharge of
the treated marine seawater, and the commission's proposed
application requirement in §295.305(d)(5), relating to consis-
tency with environmental flow standards, implements TWC,
§11.1405(f) and (g). The commission's proposed application
requirement in §295.305(d)(6) ensures that sufficient informa-
tion is provided in the application to allow the commission to
determine whether other water rights could be affected by the
application. The commission's proposed application require-
ment in §295.305(d)(7) facilitates expedited processing of an
application because the accounting plan will be required to be
submitted with the application.

§295.306, Notice of Application to Convey Treated Marine Sea-
water in Bed and Banks

The commission proposes new §295.306 to provide the notice
requirements for a water right application to convey treated
marine seawater in the bed and banks of a watercourse. In
§295.306(a) - (c) the commission proposes that mailed notice
of an application be provided to every water right holder of
record downstream of the discharge point, that the application
not require published notice, and that the applicant shall be
responsible for the costs of providing notice. The commission's
proposed notice is consistent with the notice requirements in
§295.161, which states the notice requirements for an applica-
tion under TWC, §11.402(c) consistent with TWC, §18.004(e).
In §295.306(d)(1) - (7) and (10), the commission proposes
that notice include general information on the application and
contact information for the agency. Section 295.306(d)(8) and
(9) specifically implements TWC, §18.004(b), relating to notice.
In §295.306(d)(11) the commission proposes that the notice
can also include any additional information the commission
considers necessary which provides the commission flexibility
to ensure that the notice includes all relevant information on the
application. Finally, in §295.306(e) the commission proposes
that requests for a contested case hearing submitted on appli-
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cations to divert marine seawater or seawater will be processed
in accordance with Chapter 55, Subchapter G.

Fiscal Note: Costs to State and Local Government

Jeffrey Horvath, Analyst in the Chief Financial Officer Division,
has determined that for the first five-year period the proposed
rules are in effect, no significant fiscal implications are antici-
pated for the agency and no fiscal implications are expected for
other units of state or local government as a result of the admin-
istration or enforcement of the proposed rules.

The proposed rules implement HB 2031 and HB 4097. HB 2031
establishes an expedited permitting process for marine seawa-
ter desalination projects. HB 4097 addresses seawater desali-
nation as it is used for industrial purposes. The proposed rules
implement a new expedited permitting process that will be ap-
plied by TCEQ staff during the administrative and technical re-
views of applicable water rights applications associated with the
diversion of marine seawater, the conveyance of treated marine
seawater in the bed and banks of a watercourse, and the diver-
sion of seawater for desalination and use for industrial purposes.
The rulemaking does not propose any new fees.

Although the permitting process is expedited, the agency does
not expect the need for additional resources to issue any permits
under the proposed rules as staff does not expect a significant
number of permit applications. The rulemaking will require the
applicant to consult with the TPWD and the GLO in accordance
with the provisions of HB 2031 prior to submitting an application.
The permit application fee for a water rights permit under this
expedited permitting process would not change from the current
fee for applying for a water rights permit.

Although governmental entities could apply for a water rights per-
mit under the proposed expedited permitting process, no state
or local governments are anticipated to do so at this time. Be-
cause few marine seawater diversion, conveyance, or industrial
use permit applications are expected under the proposed rules,
no significant fiscal implications are anticipated for the agency.

Public Benefits and Costs

Mr. Horvath has also determined that for each year of the first
five years the proposed rules are in effect, the public benefit an-
ticipated from the changes seen in the proposed rules would be
compliance with state law and a streamlined regulatory process
for marine seawater desalination that would assist the state to
develop new water supplies to meet the ever-increasing demand
for water.

No fiscal implications are anticipated for businesses or individu-
als as a result of the administration and enforcement of the pro-
posed rules. The proposed rules would affect businesses or in-
dividuals who apply for water rights permits associated with the
diversion of marine seawater, the conveyance of treated marine
seawater in the bed and banks of a watercourse, and the diver-
sion of seawater for desalination and its use for industrial pur-
poses.

The proposed rules would require any person or business entity
that plans to divert and use state water that consists of marine
seawater to determine the TDS concentrations of the seawater
at the water source by monthly analysis and sampling for a pe-
riod of one year. The data collected is to be provided to TCEQ
in accordance with provisions in HB 2031 and HB 4097. Costs
associated with TDS sampling would include monthly sample
collection for one year, sampling equipment, laboratory costs,
data analysis and submittal to TCEQ. The proposed rules re-

quire reasonable measures to minimize impingement and en-
trainment and also allow that marine seawater may be diverted
for any beneficial purpose (if the seawater is treated before it is
used). Personnel costs for the required sample collection and
data analysis, as well as laboratory costs and reasonable mea-
sures to minimize impingement and entrainment will be specific
to each applicant. These specific costs are context dependent
and can't be quantified without knowing the specific nature of
each application.

Small Business and Micro-Business Assessment

No adverse fiscal implications are anticipated for small or mi-
cro-businesses as a result of the administration and enforcement
of the proposed rules. The proposed rules would have the same
effect on a small business as it does on a large business. It is
not known how many small or micro-businesses would submit
water rights applications under the proposed rules. The pro-
posed rules do not increase the regulatory burden on small or
micro-businesses unless they intend to obtain water rights per-
mits associated with the diversion of marine seawater, the con-
veyance of treated marine seawater in the bed and banks of a
watercourse, or the diversion of seawater for desalination and
its use for industrial purposes. If a small or micro-business does
apply for such a water rights permit, then it is assumed that any
costs would be recovered through increased costs passed on to
its customers.

Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The commission has reviewed this proposed rulemaking and de-
termined that a small business regulatory flexibility analysis is not
required because the proposed rules are necessary in order to
comply with state law and does not adversely affect small or mi-
cro-businesses in a material way for the first five years that the
proposed rules are in effect.

Local Employment Impact Statement

The commission has reviewed this proposed rulemaking and de-
termined that a local employment impact statement is not re-
quired because the proposed rulemaking does not adversely af-
fect a local economy in a material way for the first five years that
the proposed rules are in effect.

Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination

The commission has reviewed this rulemaking under Texas Gov-
ernment Code, §2001.0225, "Regulatory Analysis of Major Envi-
ronmental Rules," and has determined that this rulemaking is not
a "major environmental rule." The legislature enacted HB 2031,
creating TWC, Chapter 18, which relates to marine seawater de-
salination, and HB 4097, creating TWC, §11.1405, relating to
seawater desalination projects for industrial purposes. HB 2031
states that the purpose of the new law is to remain economically
competitive in order to secure and develop plentiful and cost-ef-
fective water supplies to meet the ever-increasing demand for
water. The legislature also stated that in this state, marine sea-
water is a potential new source of water for drinking and other
beneficial uses, and that this state has access to vast quanti-
ties of marine seawater from the Gulf of Mexico. The legislature
stated that the purpose of HB 2031 was to "...streamline the reg-
ulatory process for and reduce the time required for and cost of
marine seawater desalination."

Therefore, the purpose of the rulemaking is not "to protect the
environment or reduce risks to human health from environmen-
tal exposure," in a way that may "adversely affect in a material
way the economy, a sector of the economy, productivity, com-
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petition, jobs, the environment, or the public health and safety
of the state or a sector of the state" (Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225(g)(3)). The purpose of this rulemaking is to add pro-
cedures for the development of plentiful and cost-effective water
supplies to meet the ever-increasing demand for water and to
streamline the process for these permits. The rules proposed in
Chapter 295 streamline the processes for obtaining a permit to
divert or transport marine seawater under TWC, Chapter 18, and
to divert seawater for industrial purposes under TWC, §11.1405.

Even if this rulemaking was a "major environmental rule," this
rulemaking meets none of the criteria in Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225 for the requirement to prepare a full Reg-
ulatory Impact Analysis. This rulemaking is not governed by
federal law, does not exceed state law, does not come under a
delegation agreement or contract with a federal program, and
is not being proposed under the TCEQ's general rulemaking
authority. This rulemaking is being proposed under specific
state statutes enacted in HB 2031 and HB 4097.

Written comments on the Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis De-
termination may be submitted to the contact person at the ad-
dress listed under the Submittal of Comments section of this pre-
amble.

Takings Impact Assessment

The commission evaluated these proposed rules and performed
analysis of whether these proposed rules constitute a takings un-
der Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007. The specific pur-
pose of these proposed rules is to add procedures for the devel-
opment of plentiful and cost-effective water supplies to meet the
ever-increasing demand for water and to streamline the process
for these permits. The proposed rules would substantially ad-
vance this stated purpose by adding provisions to Chapter 295
to streamline the processes for obtaining a permit to divert or
transport marine seawater under TWC, Chapter 18, and to di-
vert seawater for industrial purposes under TWC, §11.1405.

The commission's analysis indicates that Texas Government
Code, Chapter 2007 does not apply to these proposed rules
because these rules do not impact private real property. In
HB 2031, the legislature expressed that "In this state, marine
seawater is a potential new source of water for drinking and
other beneficial uses. This state has access to vast quantities of
marine seawater from the Gulf of Mexico." For marine seawater,
there are no permanent water rights, real property rights that
have been granted for use of the water in the Gulf of Mexico. For
seawater in a bay or arm of the Gulf of Mexico, very few water
rights have been granted for this water. There is no potential
for harm to other water rights by this rulemaking. The burden
on private real property rights will be nonexistent or minimal
because of the amount of water in the Gulf of Mexico, or a bay
or arm of the Gulf of Mexico. Diversions of seawater in a bay or
arm of the Gulf of Mexico are also limited to industrial water and
water for municipal and domestic needs will not be taken from
this part of the Gulf of Mexico.

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission reviewed the proposed rulemaking and found
that the proposal is subject to the Texas Coastal Management
Program (CMP) in accordance with the Coastal Coordination
Act, Texas Natural Resources Code, §§33.201 et seq., and
therefore must be consistent with all applicable CMP goals
and policies. The commission conducted a consistency de-
termination for the proposed rules in accordance with Coastal
Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §505.22 and

found the proposed rulemaking is consistent with the applicable
CMP goals and policies.

CMP goals applicable to the proposed rules include: 1) to pro-
tect, preserve, restore, and enhance the diversity, quality, quan-
tity, functions, and values of coastal natural resource areas (CN-
RAs); and 2) to ensure sound management of all coastal re-
sources by allowing for compatible economic development and
multiple human uses of the coastal zone. CMP policies appli-
cable to the proposed rules include those contained in 31 TAC
§501.33(a). The proposed rules implement HB 2031 and HB
4097, which direct the commission to regulate the diversion,
treatment, and use of marine seawater and the discharge of
treated marine seawater and waste resulting from the desalina-
tion of marine seawater through expedited permitting and related
processes. In HB 2031, the legislature finds "...that it is neces-
sary and appropriate to grant authority and provide for expedited
and streamlined authorization for marine seawater desalination
facilities, consistent with appropriate environmental and water
right protections,..." Since one of the purposes of the proposed
rules is to protect coastal natural resources, the rules are con-
sistent with the CMP goals and policies.

Promulgation and enforcement of these rules will not violate or
exceed any standards identified in the applicable CMP goals and
policies because the proposed rules are consistent with these
CMP goals and policies, because these rules do not create or
have a direct or significant adverse effect on any CNRAs, and
because one of the purposes of the proposed rules is to protect
coastal and natural resources.

Written comments on the consistency of this rulemaking may be
submitted to the contact person at the address listed under the
Submittal of Comments section of this preamble.

Announcement of Hearing

The commission will hold a public hearing on this proposal in
Austin on June 21, 2016, at 2:00 p.m., in Building E, Room 2018,
at the commission's central office located at 12100 Park 35 Cir-
cle. The hearing is structured for the receipt of oral or written
comments by interested persons. Individuals may present oral
statements when called upon in order of registration. Open dis-
cussion will not be permitted during the hearing; however, com-
mission staff members will be available to discuss the proposal
30 minutes prior to the hearing.

Persons who have special communication or other accommoda-
tion needs who are planning to attend the hearing should con-
tact Sandy Wong, Office of Legal Services at (512) 239-1802 or
1-800-RELAY-TX (TDD). Requests should be made as far in ad-
vance as possible.

Submittal of Comments

Written comments may be submitted to Ms. Kris Hogan, MC
205, Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission on Environ-
mental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087
or faxed to (512) 239-4808. Electronic comments may be
submitted at:  http://www1.tceq.texas.gov/rules/ecomments/.
File size restrictions may apply to comments being sub-
mitted via the eComments system. All comments should
reference Rule Project Number 2015-029-295-OW. The com-
ment period closes on July 5, 2016. Copies of the proposed
rulemaking can be obtained from the commission's website
at http:.//www.tceq.texas.gov/rules/propose_adopt.html. For
further information, please contact Kathy Ramirez, Water Avail-
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ability Division, at (512) 239-6757 or Kathy Alexander, Water
Availability Division, at (512) 239-0778.

Statutory Authority

The rules are proposed under Texas Water Code (TWC),
§5.102, concerning General Powers, §5.103, concerning Rules,
and §5.105, concerning General Policy, which authorize the
commission to adopt rules as necessary to carry out its power
and duties under the TWC; TWC, §5.013(a)(1), concerning the
TCEQ's authority over water and water rights; TWC, Chapter
18, concerning Marine Seawater Desalination Projects; and
TWC, §11.1405, concerning Desalination of Seawater for the
Use of Industrial Purposes.

The proposed rules implement TWC, §§5.013, 5.102, 5.103,
5.120, and 18.005; and House Bill (HB) 2031 and HB 4097
(84th Texas Legislature, 2015).

§295.300.  Applicability.

(a) This subchapter only applies to diversion and use of marine
seawater, diversion of seawater from a bay or arm of the Gulf of Mex-
ico, and conveyance of marine seawater through the bed and banks of a
flowing stream. The commission may issue a permit under this section

(2) Marine seawater--Water that is derived from the Gulf
of Mexico.

(3) Seawater--Water that is derived from a bay or arm of
the Gulf of Mexico.

$295.302.  Requirements for Diversion of Marine Seawater and Di-
version of Seawater.

(a) An application for diversion of marine seawater or diver-
sion of seawater from a bay or arm of the Gulf of Mexico for industrial
purposes must be submitted in accordance with §295.2 of this title (re-
lating to Preparation of Application) and include, for each applicant,
the full name, post office address, telephone number, and federal iden-
tification number. If the applicant is a partnership, it shall be designated
by the firm name followed by the words "a partnership." If the appli-
cant is acting as trustee for another, it shall be designated by the trustee's
name followed by the word "trustee." If one other than the named appli-
cant executes the application, the name, position, post office address,
and telephone number of the person executing the application shall be

given.

(b) The application shall include the signature of the applicant
in accordance with §295.14 of this title (relating to Signature of Ap-

to authorize a diversion of state water from the Gulf of Mexico or a bay

plicant). Each applicant shall subscribe and swear to the application

or arm of the Gulf of Mexico for desalination and use if:

(1) the point of diversion is located less than three miles
seaward of any point located on the coast of this state; or

(2) the seawater contains a total dissolved solids concentra-
tion based on a yearly average of samples taken monthly at the water
source of less than 20,000 milligrams per liter.

(b) A person may divert and use state water that consists of
marine seawater or seawater without obtaining a permit if subsection
(a) of this section does not apply.

(c) A person may not begin construction of a facility for the di-
version of marine seawater or seawater without obtaining a permit until
the person has provided data to the commission based on the analysis
of samples taken at the water source over a period of at least one year
demonstrating that subsection (a)(2) of this section does not apply.

(d) A person who has begun construction of a facility for the

before any person entitled to administer oaths, who shall also sign his
or her name and affix his or her seal of office to the application.

(c) The application shall state the location of point(s) of diver-
sion and provide latitude and longitude coordinates in decimal degrees
to six decimal places for each point.

(d) The total amount of marine seawater or seawater from a
bay or arm of the Gulf of Mexico to be diverted and used shall be stated
in definite terms, i.e., a definite number of acre-feet annually and the
application shall state the maximum rate of diversion in gallons per
minute or cubic feet per second.

(e) The application shall state the purpose or purposes of each
use in definite terms. If the marine seawater is to be used for more than
one purpose, the specific amount to be used annually for each purpose
shall be clearly set forth. If the application requests authorization to use
marine seawater for multiple purposes, the application shall expressly
state an annual amount of marine seawater to be used for the multiple

diversion of marine seawater or seawater without obtaining a permit be-

purposes as well as for each purpose of use.

cause the person has demonstrated that subsection (a)(2) of this section
does not apply is not required to obtain a permit for the facility if the
total dissolved solids concentration of the marine seawater or seawater
at the water source subsequently changes so that subsection (a)(2) of

this section applies.

(¢) This section does not apply to a diversion of marine sea-
water from a point of diversion located in a bay or estuary unless the
application is for a diversion of seawater for industrial use under Texas
Water Code (TWC), §11.1405.

(f) TWC, Chapter 11, applies to a permit or authorization un-
der this section in the same manner as that chapter applies to a permit
or authorization under that chapter.

$295.301.  Definitions.
The following words or phrases have the following meanings in this
subchapter unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) Affected person--A person who has a personal justicia-

(f) The applicant shall provide evidence that the marine sea-
water or seawater diverted from a bay or arm of the Gulf of Mexico
will be treated in accordance with applicable commission rules, based
on the purpose for which the water is to be used, before it is used.

(g) The application must include a water conservation plan
meeting the requirements contained in §297.208 of this title (relating
to Consideration of Water Conservation).

(h) An application shall contain information describing how
it addresses a water supply need in a manner that is consistent with
the state water plan or the applicable approved regional water plan or,
in the alternative, describe conditions that warrant a waiver of this re-

quirement.

(i) The application must include a determination of the total
dissolved solids concentration of the marine seawater or seawater at
the water source based on monthly sampling and analysis and provide
the data collected to the commission.

ble interest related to a legal right, duty, privilege, power, or economic
interest affected by the application. An interest common to members
of the general public does not qualify as a personal justiciable interest.
The determination of whether a person is affected shall be governed by
§55.256 of this title (relating to Determination of Affected Person).

(j) The application shall provide documentation that the appli-
cant will take reasonable measures to minimize impingement and en-
trainment associated with the diversion of marine seawater or seawater.
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(k) The application shall include evidence of consultation with
Texas Parks & Wildlife Department and the Texas General Land Office

(6) state the purpose and amount of the proposed diversion
of marine seawater or seawater;

regarding the point or points from which a facility the person proposes
to construct may divert marine seawater or seawater before submitting
an application for a permit for the facility if §295.300(a)(1) of this title
(relating to Applicability) applies or before beginning construction of

(7) identify the location of the diversion point(s);

(8) state the executive director's recommendation regard-
ing the application;

the facility if §295.300(a)(2) of this title applies.
$295.303.  Review Timeframes.

(a) The review timeframes in this section only apply to appli-
cations which are determined to be administratively complete when

(9) state that an affected person may submit written com-
ments and request a contested case hearing;

(10) include the name and address of the agency, and the
telephone number of an agency contact from whom interested persons

submitted. If the application is not administratively complete, the ap-

may obtain future information; and

plication will not be considered for expedited processing under this
section.

(b) Applications shall be reviewed by the staff for administra-
tive completeness within 10 working days of receipt of the application
by the executive director.

(c) After an application is determined by the executive director

(11) give any additional information the commission con-
siders necessary.

(¢) Requests for a contested case hearing will be processed in
accordance with Chapter 55, Subchapter G of this title (relating to Re-
quests for Contested Case Hearing and Public Comment on Certain
Applications).

to be administratively complete, the executive director shall commence
a technical review as necessary and appropriate. For purposes of this
subchapter, the technical review period is that period of time beginning
with the completion of the initial review period and will continue for a
period of time not to exceed 60 working days.

(d) The applicant shall be promptly notified of any additional
technical material as may be necessary for a complete review. If the ap-
plicant provides the information within the period of time prescribed by
subsection (c) of this section, the executive director will complete pro-
cessing of the application within the technical review period extended

§295.305.  Requirements for an Authorization to Convey Treated Ma-
rine Seawater in Bed and Banks.

(a) The application shall include evidence that the marine sea-
water conveyed under a permit subject to the requirement in this section
will be treated so as to meet standards that are at least as stringent as
the water quality standards adopted by the commission and applicable
to the receiving stream or impoundment.

(b) Treated marine seawater that is conveyed under an autho-
rization granted under this section may be used only by the person to

by the number of days required for the additional data. If the necessary

whom the authorization is granted.

additional information is not received by the executive director prior
to expiration of the technical review period and the information is con-
sidered essential by the executive director to make recommendations
to the commission on a particular matter, the executive director may
return the application to the applicant. In no event, however, will the

(c) This section does not prohibit a person from conveying
treated marine seawater in any other manner authorized by law.

(d) A person wishing to place treated marine seawater into a
stream or watercourse, convey the treated marine seawater in the water-

applicant have less than 30 days to provide the technical data before

course or stream, and subsequently divert such treated marine seawater

an application is returned. Decisions to return material to the applicant

shall file an application with the commission containing the following

during the technical review stage will be made on a case-by-case ba-

information:

sis. The applicant has the option of having the question of sufficiency
of necessary technical data referred to the commission for a decision
instead of having the application returned.

§295.304.  Notice of Application to Divert Marine Seawater or Sea-
water.

(a) At the time that the technical review of an application for
a permit to divert marine seawater or seawater has been completed and
the technical memoranda have been filed by the executive director with
the chief clerk of the commission, the chief clerk shall give notice by
email to the Texas Parks & Wildlife Department and the Texas General

(1) the name, mailing address, and telephone number of the
applicant;
(2) the name of the stream and the locations of the point

of discharge and diversion as identified on a United States Geological
Survey 7.5-minute topographical map(s);

(3) the source, amount, and rates of discharge and diver-

sion;

(4) a description of the water quality of the water dis-
charged and the permit number and name of any related discharge

Land Office.

(b) The notice must:

(1) state the name and address of the applicant;

(2) state the date on which the application was received by
the commission,;

(3) state the date the application was filed by the executive

permit;
(5) anassessment of the adequacy of the quantity and qual-

ity of flows remaining after the proposed diversion to meet instream
uses and bay and estuary freshwater inflow needs;

(6) the estimated amount of treated marine seawater that
will be lost to transportation, evaporation, seepage, channel or other
associated carriage losses from the point of discharge to the point of

director with the chief clerk as required by §281.17(a) or (b) of this

diversion, including the method used to calculate the losses;

title (relating to Notice of Receipt of Application and Declaration of
Administrative Completeness);

(4) state that the executive director has determined that the

(7) an accounting plan that demonstrates that the applicant
will only divert the amount of treated marine seawater discharged less
losses; and

technical review of the application is complete;

(5) state the application number;

(8) any other information the executive director may need
to complete an analysis of the application.
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§295.306. Notice of Application to Convey Treated Marine Seawater
in Bed and Banks.

(a) Notice of an application to convey treated marine seawater
in the bed and banks of a stream or watercourse shall be provided by
first class mail, postage prepaid, by the commission to every water right
holder of record downstream of the discharge point at least 30 days
prior to commission consideration of the application.

(b) No published notice shall be required for an application
under this section.

(c) The applicant shall be responsible for the costs of providing
notice under this section.

(d) The notice must:

(1) state the name and address of the applicant;

(2) state the date on which the application was received by
the commission;

(3) state the date the application was filed by the executive
director with the chief clerk as required by §281.17(a) or (b) of this
title (relating to Notice of Receipt of Application and Declaration of
Administrative Completeness);

(4) state that the executive director has determined that the
technical review of the application is complete;

(5) state the application number;

(6) state the purpose of use for the conveyed treated marine
seawater;

(7) state the executive director's recommendation regard-
ing the application;

(8) forapplications that do not request authorization to con-
vey treated marine seawater through a reservoir or impoundment the
notice shall state that an affected person may provide written comments
but may not request a contested case hearing;

(9) for applications that request authorization to convey
treated marine seawater through a reservoir or impoundment the
notice shall state that an affected person may request a contested case
hearing;

(10) include the name and address of the agency, and the
telephone number of an agency contact from whom interested persons
may obtain future information; and

(11) give any additional information the commission con-
siders necessary.

(e) Requests for a contested case hearing will be processed in
accordance with Chapter 55, Subchapter G of this title (relating to Re-
quest for Contested Case Hearing and Public Comment on Certain Ap-

plications).

(f) Nothing in this section is intended to deny any additional
notice to an affected person that may be required under the Texas Ad-
ministrative Procedure Act.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.
TRD-201602346

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 297. WATER RIGHTS,
SUBSTANTIVE

SUBCHAPTER K. DESALINATION,
SUBSTANTIVE

30 TAC §§297.200 - 297.210

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ,
agency, or commission) proposes new §§297.200 - 297.210.

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Proposed
Rules

In 2015, the 84th Texas Legislature passed House Bill (HB) 2031
and HB 4097. HB 2031 relates to the diversion, treatment, and
use of marine seawater and the discharge of treated marine sea-
water and waste resulting from the desalination of marine sea-
water. HB 4097 addresses seawater desalination for industrial
purposes.

In HB 2031, the legislature declared that: "With this state facing
an ongoing drought, continuing population growth, and the need
to remain economically competitive, every effort must be made to
secure and develop plentiful and cost-effective water supplies to
meet the ever-increasing demand for water." The legislature also
declared that: "In this state, marine seawater is a potential new
source of water for drinking and other beneficial uses. This state
has access to vast quantities of marine seawater from the Gulf
of Mexico." To that end, the legislature stated the purpose of HB
2031 was to"... streamline the regulatory process for and reduce
the time required for and cost of marine seawater desalination."

In HB 2031, the legislature created new Texas Water Code
(TWC), Chapter 18, to address marine seawater desalination
projects. HB 2031 also amended TWC, §5.509, Temporary
or Emergency Order Relating to Discharge of Waste or Pol-
lutants; TWC, §5.551, Permitting Procedures; Applicability;
TWC, §7.302, Grounds for Revocation or Suspension of Permit;
TWC, §11.0237, Water Rights for Instream Flows Dedicated
to Environmental Needs or Bay and Estuary Inflows; TWC,
§11.082, Unlawful Use: Civil Penalty; TWC, §11.0842, Ad-
ministrative Penalty; TWC, §11.121, Permit Required; TWC,
§16.053, Regional Water Plans; and, TWC, §26.0291, Water
Quality Fee. In addition, HB 2031 amended Texas Health and
Safety Code (THSC), Chapter 341, Subchapter C, by adding
THSC, §341.0316, Desalination of Marine Seawater for Drinking
Water, and repealed TWC, §16.060, Desalination Studies and
Research.

TWC, §18.003(a), requires a person to obtain a permit to divert
and use state water that consists of marine seawater if: 1) the
point of diversion is located less than three miles seaward of
any point located on the coast of this state; or 2) the seawater
contains a total dissolved solids (TDS) concentration based on
a yearly average of samples taken monthly at the water source
of less than 20,000 milligrams per liter (mg/L). TWC, §18.003(b),
creates an exemption from permitting to divert and use marine
seawater if TWC, §18.003(a), does not apply. In addition, TWC,
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§18.005(c), requires a person to obtain a permit to discharge: 1)
treated marine seawater into a natural stream in this state or a
lake, reservoir, or other impoundment in this state; or 2) waste
resulting from the desalination of treated marine seawater into
the Gulf of Mexico.

HB 2031 also directs the commission to issue a bed and banks
permit to convey treated marine seawater in any flowing natural
stream or lake, reservoir, or other impoundment. The bill pro-
hibits: 1) the discharge of treated marine seawater into a flow-
ing natural stream and impoundment for conveyance purposes
without a discharge permit issued under TWC, Chapter 18; and
2) the diversion of marine seawater and the discharge of waste
resulting from the desalination of marine seawater in a bay and
estuary under the expedited permit process as allowed by TWC,
Chapter 18. A person has the option to submit an application
under TWC, Chapter 11 or 26 to seek a permit to divert or dis-
charge in a bay or estuary.

Further, HB 2031 directs the commission to adopt rules to ex-
pedite permitting and related processes for the diversion of ma-
rine seawater and the discharge of both treated marine seawater
and waste resulting from the desalination process, in accordance
with TWC, Chapter 18. In addition, the bill requires the commis-
sion to establish reasonable measures to minimize impingement
and entrainment associated with the diversion of marine seawa-
ter.

Finally, HB 2031 requires that the Texas Parks & Wildlife Depart-
ment (TPWD) and the Texas General Land Office (GLO) conduct
a study to identify zones in the Gulf of Mexico that are appropri-
ate for the diversion of marine seawater and for the discharge
of waste resulting from the desalination of marine seawater and
for the commission to adopt rules designating diversion zones
by September 1, 2020. Under TWC, §18.003(j) and §18.005(qg),
an applicant for a permit to divert marine seawater must consult
with the TPWD and the GLO regarding the point(s) of diversion
or discharge until such time as the commission adopts rules des-
ignating diversion or discharge zones.

HB 4097 relates to seawater desalination projects. This bill
creates TWC, §11.1405, Desalination of Seawater for Use for
Industrial Purposes, and TWC, §26.0272, Permits Authorizing
Discharges from Certain Seawater Desalination Facilities; and
amends TWC, §27.021, Permit for Disposal of Brine from
Desalination Operations or Drinking Water Treatment Residuals
in Class | Injection Wells, and TWC, §27.025, General Permit
Authorizing Use of Class | Injection Well to Inject Nonhazardous
Brine from Desalination Operations or Nonhazardous Drinking
Water Treatment Residuals, to address seawater desalination
for industrial purposes.

TWC, §11.1405(a), requires a person to obtain a permit to divert
and use state water that consists of seawater if: 1) the point of
diversion is located less than three miles seaward of any point
located on the coast of this state; or 2) the seawater contains a
TDS concentration based on a yearly average of samples taken
monthly at the water source of less than 20,000 mg/L. TWC,
§11.1405(b) creates an exemption from permitting to divert and
use seawater if TWC, §11.1405(a) does not apply. When a per-
mit application is required, TWC, §11.1405(e) specifies that the
application does not require a finding of water availability and
TWC, §11.1405(f) requires the permit to be consistent with the
commission's adopted environmental flow standards in 30 TAC
Chapter 298, Environmental Flow Standards for Surface Water.
TWC, §11.1405(h), directs the commission to adopt rules to ex-

pedite permitting and related processes for the diversion of sea-
water.

In October 2015, the commission held a stakeholder meeting to
solicit comments regarding the implementation of HB 2031 and
HB 4097. The executive director based these proposed rules on
consideration of the comments received from the stakeholders,
sound science and other public interest and relevant factors.

In corresponding rulemakings published in this issue of the
Texas Register, the commission also proposes new sections in
30 TAC Chapter 39, Public Notice; 30 TAC Chapter 295, Water
Rights, Procedural; and 30 TAC Chapter 318, Marine Seawater
Desalination Discharges to implement HB 2031 and HB 4097.

Section by Section Discussion
Subchapter K: Desalination, Substantive

The commission proposes new Subchapter K in Chapter 297 to
contain the approval criteria for a water right application to di-
vert marine seawater and seawater and a water right application
to convey treated marine seawater in the bed and banks of a
watercourse. The commission must adopt rules to implement
TWC, §11.1405 and Chapter 18. The commission specifically
invites commenters to provide any relevant information that may
differ from its proposed rules, which in the commenter's opinion
would assist the commission in deciding on adopted rules for
water right applications to divert marine seawater or seawater
and for water right applications to convey treated marine seawa-
ter in the bed and banks of a watercourse. The adopted rules
may differ from this proposed rule and may include additional
components based on public comment. The commission invites
comments on all aspects of the proposed rules.

§297.200, Applicability

The commission proposes new §297.200 to describe the pur-
pose of Subchapter K. Subchapter K is intended to provide the
approval criteria for an authorization to divert and use state wa-
ter that consists of marine seawater or seawater and to convey
treated marine seawater in the bed and banks of a watercourse.

§297.201, Definitions

The commission proposes new §297.201. The proposed sec-
tion has definitions of terms that only apply to Subchapter K.
In §297.201(1) the commission proposes a definition of "Marine
seawater" consistent with TWC, §18.001(2). In §297.201(2) the
commission proposes a definition of "Seawater" as water that is
derived from a bay or arm of the Gulf of Mexico.

§297.202, Approval Criteria for Diversion of Marine Seawater
and Seawater

The commission proposes new §297.202. The proposed sec-
tion sets out the approval criteria for a water rights application to
divert marine seawater or seawater that will apply only to applica-
tions considered under Subchapter K. In §297.202, the commis-
sion proposes that an application for diversion of marine seawa-
ter or seawater may only be granted if the application conforms
to the requirements in 30 TAC §295.302 to ensure that the com-
mission considers only applications that meet the requirements
in its rules and the requirements of TWC, §18.002(a)(1).

§297.203, Water Availability

The commission proposes new §297.203 stating that a finding
of water availability is not required for an application for a water
right permit to divert marine seawater or seawater in accordance
with TWC, §11.1405(e).
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§297.204, Applicability of Environmental Flow Standards

The commission proposes new §297.204 stating that it will eval-
uate whether a water right application for diversion of marine
seawater or seawater is consistent with the commission's rules
in 30 TAC Chapter 298 (Environmental Flow Standards for Sur-
face Water). The new section allows the commission to include
provisions in a water rights permit to divert marine seawater or
seawater to comply with Chapter 298 rules in accordance with
TWC, §11.1405(f) and (g).

§297.205, Determination of Total Dissolved Solids Concentra-
tion

The commission proposes new §297.205 to specifically state
that it will review water quality information submitted under
§295.302(i) to ensure that any permit issued meets the re-
quirements for an expedited permit under TWC, §11.1405(a)(2)
and §18.003(a)(2). The commission proposes §297.205(b) to
ensure that if the application is an amendment to an existing
water right, the commission's review of the application is in
accordance with TWC, §11.122(b).

§297.206, Treatment of Diverted Marine Seawater and Seawater

The commission proposes new §297.206 to ensure that any per-
mit issued under 30 TAC Chapter 295, Subchapter G, complies
with TWC, §18.003(d).

§297.207, Diversion of Marine Seawater and Seawater

The commission proposes new §297.207 to ensure that the
proposed point of diversion for an application submitted under
Chapter 295, Subchapter G, is not located in a bay or estuary
in accordance with TWC, §18.003(f) unless the diversion is for
industrial use under TWC, §11.1405.

§297.208, Consideration of Water Conservation

The commission proposes new §297.208 to provide that the wa-
ter conservation requirements for an application to divert ma-
rine seawater or seawater are those requirements under Chap-
ter 295, Subchapter G. The commission proposes that the water
conservation review would determine whether there are practi-
cable alternatives, whether the amount requested in the appli-
cation is reasonable and necessary and whether the applicant
will use reasonable diligence to avoid waste and achieve wa-
ter conservation. The commission proposes new §297.208(b)
to provide that the contents of the water conservation plan are
those required under §295.302. HB 2031, Section 1(a) states
the purpose of the act is not to hinder efforts to conserve or de-
velop other surface water supplies. Under TWC, §18.002(a)(1),
TWC, Chapter 11 applies to a permit to divert marine seawater.

§297.209, Impingement and Entrainment

The commission proposes new §297.209 to require that an ap-
plicant for a water rights permit to divert marine seawater or sea-
water take reasonable measures to avoid impingement and en-
trainment in accordance with TWC, §18.003(h).

§297.210, Approval Criteria for an Application to Convey Treated
Marine Seawater in the Bed and Banks

The commission proposes new §297.210. The proposed sec-
tion sets out the approval criteria for a water rights application to
convey treated marine seawater in the bed and banks that will
apply only to applications considered under Subchapter K. In
§297.210(1) - (3), the commission proposes that an application
for conveyance of treated marine seawater may only be granted
if the application conforms to the requirements in §295.305 to

ensure that the commission considers only applications that
meet the requirements in its rules and the requirements in TWC,
§18.004(a) and (c). In §297.210(4) and (5), the commission pro-
poses that its decision to grant an application to convey treated
marine seawater in the bed and banks consider whether losses
are reasonable and appropriate and whether the accounting
plan has been approved by the executive director. This will en-
sure that existing water rights are not affected by an application
to convey treated marine seawater as the commission proposes
in §297.210(6).

Fiscal Note: Costs to State and Local Government

Jeffrey Horvath, Analyst in the Chief Financial Officer Division,
has determined that for the first five-year period the proposed
rules are in effect, no significant fiscal implications are antici-
pated for the agency and no fiscal implications are expected for
other units of state or local government as a result of the admin-
istration or enforcement of the proposed rules.

The proposed rules implement HB 2031 and HB 4097. HB 2031
establishes an expedited permitting process for marine seawa-
ter desalination projects. HB 4097 addresses seawater desali-
nation as it is used for industrial purposes. The proposed rules
implement a new expedited permitting process that will be ap-
plied by TCEQ staff during the administrative and technical re-
views of applicable water rights applications associated with the
diversion of marine seawater, the conveyance of treated marine
seawater in the bed and banks of a watercourse, and the diver-
sion of seawater for desalination and use for industrial purposes.
The rulemaking does not propose any new fees.

Although the permitting process is expedited, the agency does
not expect the need for additional resources to issue any permits
under the proposed rules as staff does not expect a significant
number of permit applications. The rulemaking will require the
applicant to consult with the TPWD and the GLO in accordance
with the provisions of HB 2031 prior to submitting an application.
The permit application fee for a water rights permit under this
expedited permitting process would not change from the current
fee for applying for a water rights permit.

Although governmental entities could apply for a water rights per-
mit under the proposed expedited permitting process, no state
or local governments are anticipated to do so at this time. Be-
cause few marine seawater diversion, conveyance, or industrial
use permit applications are expected under the proposed rules,
no significant fiscal implications are anticipated for the agency.

Public Benefits and Costs

Mr. Horvath has also determined that for each year of the first
five years the proposed rules are in effect, the public benefit an-
ticipated from the changes seen in the proposed rules would be
compliance with state law and a streamlined regulatory process
for marine seawater desalination that would assist the state to
develop new water supplies to meet the ever-increasing demand
for water.

No fiscal implications are anticipated for businesses or individu-
als as a result of the administration and enforcement of the pro-
posed rules. The proposed rules would affect businesses or in-
dividuals who apply for water rights permits associated with the
diversion of marine seawater, the conveyance of treated marine
seawater in the bed and banks of a watercourse, and the diver-
sion of seawater for desalination and its use for industrial pur-
poses.
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The proposed rules would require any person or business entity
that plans to divert and use state water that consists of marine
seawater to determine the TDS concentrations of the seawater
at the water source by monthly analysis and sampling for a pe-
riod of one year. The data collected is to be provided to TCEQ
in accordance with provisions in HB 2031 and HB 4097. Costs
associated with TDS sampling would include monthly sample
collection for one year, sampling equipment, laboratory costs,
data analysis and submittal to TCEQ. The proposed rules re-
quire reasonable measures to minimize impingement and en-
trainment and also allow that marine seawater may be diverted
for any beneficial purpose (if the seawater is treated before it is
used). Personnel costs for the required sample collection and
data analysis, as well as laboratory costs and reasonable mea-
sures to minimize impingement and entrainment will be specific
to each applicant. These specific costs are context dependent
and can't be quantified without knowing the specific nature of
each application.

Small Business and Micro-Business Assessment

No adverse fiscal implications are anticipated for small or mi-
cro-businesses as a result of the administration and enforcement
of the proposed rules. The proposed rules would have the same
effect on a small business as it does on a large business. It is
not known how many small or micro-businesses would submit
water rights applications under the proposed rules. The pro-
posed rules do not increase the regulatory burden on small or
micro-businesses unless they intend to obtain water rights per-
mits associated with the diversion of marine seawater, the con-
veyance of treated marine seawater in the bed and banks of a
watercourse, or the diversion of seawater for desalination and
its use for industrial purposes. If a small or micro-business does
apply for such a water rights permit, then it is assumed that any
costs would be recovered through increased costs passed on to
its customers.

Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The commission has reviewed this proposed rulemaking and de-
termined that a small business regulatory flexibility analysis is not
required because the proposed rules are necessary in order to
comply with state law and does not adversely affect small or mi-
cro-businesses in a material way for the first five years that the
proposed rules are in effect.

Local Employment Impact Statement

The commission has reviewed this proposed rulemaking and de-
termined that a local employment impact statement is not re-
quired because the proposed rules do not adversely affect a lo-
cal economy in a material way for the first five years that the
proposed rules are in effect.

Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination

The commission has reviewed this rulemaking under Texas Gov-
ernment Code, §2001.0225, "Regulatory Analysis of Major Envi-
ronmental Rules," and has determined that this rulemaking is not
a "major environmental rule." The legislature enacted HB 2031,
creating TWC, Chapter 18, which relates to marine seawater de-
salination, and HB 4097, creating TWC, §11.1405, relating to
seawater desalination projects for industrial purposes. HB 2031
states that the purpose of the new law is to remain economically
competitive in order to secure and develop plentiful and cost-ef-
fective water supplies to meet the ever-increasing demand for
water. The legislature also stated that in this state, marine sea-
water is a potential new source of water for drinking and other

beneficial uses, and that this state has access to vast quanti-
ties of marine seawater from the Gulf of Mexico. The legislature
stated that the purpose of HB 2031 was to "... streamline the
regulatory process for and reduce the time required for and cost
of marine seawater desalination."

Therefore, the purpose of the rulemaking is not "to protect the
environment or reduce risks to human health from environmen-
tal exposure," in a way that may "adversely affect in a material
way the economy, a sector of the economy, productivity, com-
petition, jobs, the environment, or the public health and safety
of the state or a sector of the state" (Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225(g)(3)). The purpose of this rulemaking is to estab-
lish the requirements for obtaining permits for the diversion and
transport of marine seawater and the diversion of seawater. The
proposed rules in Chapter 297 are for the development of plenti-
ful and cost-effective water supplies to meet the ever-increasing
demand for water and to streamline the process for these per-
mits.

Even if this rulemaking was a "major environmental rule," this
rulemaking meets none of the criteria in Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225 for the requirement to prepare a full Reg-
ulatory Impact Analysis. This rulemaking is not governed by
federal law, does not exceed state law, does not come under a
delegation agreement or contract with a federal program, and
is not being proposed under the TCEQ's general rulemaking
authority. This rulemaking is being proposed under specific
state statutes enacted in HB 2031 and HB 4097.

Written comments on the Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis De-
termination may be submitted to the contact person at the ad-
dress listed under the Submittal of Comments section of this pre-
amble.

Takings Impact Assessment

The commission evaluated these proposed rules and performed
analysis of whether these proposed rules constitute a takings un-
der Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007. The specific pur-
pose of these proposed rules is to add procedures for the devel-
opment of plentiful and cost-effective water supplies to meet the
ever-increasing demand for water and to streamline the process
for these permits. The proposed rules would substantially ad-
vance this stated purpose by adding requirements for the diver-
sion or transport of marine seawater under TWC, Chapter 18,
and the diversion of seawater for industrial purposes under TWC,
§11.1405.

The commission's analysis indicates that Texas Government
Code, Chapter 2007, does not apply to these proposed rules
because these rules do not impact private real property. In
HB 2031, the legislature expressed that "In this state, marine
seawater is a potential new source of water for drinking and
other beneficial uses. This state has access to vast quantities of
marine seawater from the Gulf of Mexico." For marine seawater,
there are no permanent water rights, real property rights that
have been granted for use of the water in the Gulf of Mexico. For
seawater in a bay or arm of the Gulf of Mexico, very few water
rights have been granted for this water. There is no potential
for harm to other water rights by this rulemaking. The burden
on private real property rights will be nonexistent or minimal
because of the amount of water in the Gulf of Mexico, or a bay
or arm of the Gulf of Mexico. Diversions of seawater in a bay
or arm of the Gulf of Mexico are also limited to industrial water.
Water for municipal and domestic needs will not be taken from
this part of the Gulf of Mexico.
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Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission reviewed the proposed rulemaking and found
that the proposal is subject to the Texas Coastal Management
Program (CMP) in accordance with the Coastal Coordination
Act, Texas Natural Resources Code, §§33.201 et seq., and
therefore must be consistent with all applicable CMP goals
and policies. The commission conducted a consistency de-
termination for the proposed rules in accordance with Coastal
Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §505.22 and
found the proposed rulemaking is consistent with the applicable
CMP goals and policies.

CMP goals applicable to the proposed rules include: 1) to pro-
tect, preserve, restore, and enhance the diversity, quality, quan-
tity, functions, and values of coastal natural resource areas (CN-
RAs); and, 2) to ensure sound management of all coastal re-
sources by allowing for compatible economic development and
multiple human uses of the coastal zone. CMP policies appli-
cable to the proposed rules include those contained in 31 TAC
§501.33(a). The proposed rules implement HB 2031 and HB
4097, which direct the TCEQ to regulate the diversion, treat-
ment, and use of marine seawater and the discharge of treated
marine seawater and waste resulting from the desalination of
marine seawater through expedited permitting and related pro-
cesses. In HB 2031, the legislature finds "...that it is necessary
and appropriate to grant authority and provide for expedited and
streamlined authorization for marine seawater desalination facil-
ities, consistent with appropriate environmental and water right
protections,..." Since one of the purposes of the proposed rules
is to protect coastal natural resources, the rules are consistent
with the CMP goals and policies.

Promulgation and enforcement of these rules will not violate or
exceed any standards identified in the applicable CMP goals and
policies because the proposed rules are consistent with these
CMP goals and policies, because these rules do not create or
have a direct or significant adverse effect on any CNRAs, and
because one of the purposes of the proposed rules is to protect
coastal and natural resources.

Written comments on the consistency of this rulemaking may be
submitted to the contact person at the address listed under the
Submittal of Comments section of this preamble.

Announcement of Hearing

The commission will hold a public hearing on this proposal in
Austin on June 21, 2016, at 2:00 p.m., in Building E, Room 201S,
at the commission's central office located at 12100 Park 35 Cir-
cle. The hearing is structured for the receipt of oral or written
comments by interested persons. Individuals may present oral
statements when called upon in order of registration. Open dis-
cussion will not be permitted during the hearing; however, com-
mission staff members will be available to discuss the proposal
30 minutes prior to the hearing.

Persons who have special communication or other accommoda-
tion needs who are planning to attend the hearing should con-
tact Sandy Wong, Office of Legal Services at (512) 239-1802 or
1-800-RELAY-TX (TDD). Requests should be made as far in ad-
vance as possible.

Submittal of Comments

Written comments may be submitted to Ms. Kris Hogan, MC
205, Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission on Environ-
mental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087
or faxed to (512) 239-4808. Electronic comments may be

submitted at:  http://www1.tceq.texas.gov/rules/ecomments/.
File size restrictions may apply to comments being sub-
mitted via the eComments system. All comments should
reference Rule Project Number 2015-029-295-OW. The com-
ment period closes on July 5, 2016. Copies of the proposed
rulemaking can be obtained from the commission's website
at http://www.tceq.texas.gov/rules/propose_adopt.html. For
further information, please contact Kathy Ramirez, Water Avail-
ability Division, at (512) 239-6757 or Kathy Alexander, Water
Availability Division, at (512) 239-0778.

Statutory Authority

The rules are proposed under Texas Water Code (TWC),
§5.102, concerning General Powers, §5.103, concerning Rules,
and §5.105, concerning General Policy, which authorize the
commission to adopt rules as necessary to carry out its power
and duties under the TWC; TWC, §5.013(a)(1), concerning the
TCEQ's authority over water and water rights; TWC, Chapter
18, concerning Marine Seawater Desalination Projects; and
TWC, §11.1405, concerning Desalination of Seawater for the
Use of Industrial Purposes.

The proposed rules implement House Bill (HB) 2031 and HB
4097 (84th Texas Legislature, 2015).

$297.200.  Applicability.

This subchapter only applies to diversion and use of marine seawater
and seawater and conveyance of treated marine seawater in the bed and
banks of a watercourse. The requirements for an application to divert
marine seawater and seawater and to convey treated marine seawater
in the bed and banks of a watercourse are in Chapter 295, Subchapter
G of this title (relating to Desalination, Procedural).

§297.201.

Definitions.

The following words or phrases have the following meanings in this
subchapter unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) Marine seawater--Water that is derived from the Gulf
of Mexico.

(2) Seawater--Water that is derived from a bay or arm of
the Gulf of Mexico.

$§297.202.  Approval Criteria for Diversion of Marine Seawater and
Seawater.

The commission shall grant an application for a water right to divert
marine seawater or seawater only if:

(1) the application conforms to the requirements prescribed
by §295.302 of this title (relating to Requirements for Diversion of
Marine Seawater and Diversion of Seawater) and is accompanied by

the prescribed fee;

(2) the point of diversion is located less than three miles
seaward of any point located on the coast of this state; or the ma-
rine seawater contains a total dissolved solids concentration based on
a yearly average of samples taken monthly at the water source of less
than 20,000 milligrams per liter;

(3) the diverted marine seawater or seawater is intended for
a beneficial use and the marine seawater or seawater will be treated in
accordance with applicable commission rules, based on the purpose for
which the marine seawater or seawater is to be used, before it is used;

(4) the application is not detrimental to the public welfare;

(5) the applicant has consulted with Texas Parks & Wildlife
Department and the Texas General Land Office;

41 TexReg 3856 May 27, 2016 Texas Register


http://www.tceq.texas.gov/rules/propose_adopt.html
http://www1.tceq.texas.gov/rules/ecomments

(6) the application addresses a water supply need in a man-
ner that is consistent with the state water plan and the relevant ap-

(1) supports the applicant's proposed use of marine seawa-
ter or seawater with consideration of the water conservation goals of

proved regional water plan unless the commission determines that new,

the water conservation plan;

changed, or unaccounted for conditions warrant waiver of this require-
ment; and

(7) the applicant has provided evidence that reasonable
diligence will be used to avoid waste and achieve water conservation
as defined by §297.1 of this title (relating to Definitions).

§297.203.

The commission is not required to make a finding of water availability

Water Availability.

(2) evaluates conservation as an alternative to the proposed
diversion of marine seawater or seawater; and

(3) evaluates other feasible alternatives to new water devel-
opment. It shall be the burden of proof of the applicant to demonstrate
that the requested amount is necessary and reasonable for the proposed
use.

§297.209. Impingement and Entrainment.

for an application under Chapter 295, Subchapter G of this title (relat-
ing to Desalination, Procedural).

§297.204.  Applicability of Environmental Flow Standards.

(a) The commission shall evaluate whether an application for
a diversion of marine seawater or seawater under Chapter 295, Sub-
chapter G of this title (relating to Desalination, Procedural) is consis-

An application to divert marine seawater or seawater under Chapter
295, Subchapter G of this title (relating to Desalination, Procedural)
shall include a written statement of facility-specific, reasonable mea-
sures to minimize impingement and entrainment that will be imple-
mented at the proposed desalination facility.

$§297.210.  Approval Criteria for an Application to Convey Treated

tent with any applicable environmental flow standards established un-

Marine Seawater in the Bed and Banks.

der Chapter 298 of this title (relating to Environmental Flow Standards

for Surface Water).

(b) The commission may include any provisions in a permit is-
sued under Chapter 295, Subchapter G of this title that the commission
considers necessary to comply with the environmental flow standards
established under Chapter 298 of this title.

$§297.205.  Determination of Total Dissolved Solids Concentration.

(a) Inits consideration of an application for a new or amended

The commission shall grant an application for a water right to convey
treated marine seawater in the bed and banks of a watercourse only if:

(1) the application conforms to the requirements prescribed
by §295.305 of this title (relating to Requirements for an Authorization
to Convey Treated Marine Seawater in Bed and Banks) and is accom-
panied by the prescribed fee;

(2) the marine seawater to be conveyed is treated so as to
meet standards that are at least as stringent as the water quality stan-

water right to divert marine seawater or seawater, the commission shall

dards adopted by the commission and applicable to the receiving stream

review the information required under §295.302(i) of this title (relat-

or impoundment;

ing to Requirements for Diversion of Marine Seawater and Diversion
of Seawater) and determine whether the application meets the require-
ments of Texas Water Code (TWC), §11.1405(a)(2) and §18.003(a)(2).

(b) The assessment of any conditions upon a proposed
amendment to a water right under this section shall be limited by
§297.45(b) of this title (relating to "No Injury" Rule) as provided by
TWC, §11.122(b).

§297.206. Treatment of Diverted Marine Seawater and Seawater.

The commission shall review the information submitted under

(3) the treated marine seawater conveyed will only be used
by the person to whom the authorization is granted;

(4) the estimate of the amount of treated marine seawater
that will be lost to transportation, evaporation, seepage, channel or
other associated carriage losses is reasonable and appropriate for the
stream in which the treated marine seawater will be conveyed;

(5) the accounting plan submitted required by
§295.305(d)(7) of this title has been approved by the executive
director; and

§295.302(f) of this title (relating to Requirements for Diversion of
Marine Seawater and Diversion of Seawater) and determine whether
the diverted marine seawater or seawater will be treated in accordance
with applicable commission rules, based on the purpose for which the
marine seawater or seawater is to be used.

§297.207.  Diversion of Marine Seawater and Seawater.

The commission shall review the information submitted under
§295.302(c) of this title (relating to Requirements for Diversion of
Marine Seawater and Diversion of Seawater) to ensure that the point
of diversion is not located in a bay or estuary unless the application is
for industrial use under Texas Water Code, §11.1405.

§297.208. Consideration of Water Conservation.

(a) Information in the water conservation plan provided by an
applicant for a water right permit to divert marine seawater or seawa-
ter shall be considered by the commission in determining whether any
practicable alternative exists, whether the requested amount is reason-
able and necessary for the proposed use, and to ensure that reasonable
diligence will be used to avoid waste and achieve water conservation.

(b) A water conservation plan submitted with an application
requesting to divert marine seawater or seawater must include data and
information which:

(6) the application does not impair existing water rights or
vested riparian rights.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.
TRD-201602347

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 318. MARINE SEAWATER
DESALINATION DISCHARGES

The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ,
agency, or commission) proposes new §§318.1 - 318.9, 318.21
- 318.30, 318.40 - 318.43, 318.60, and 318.61.
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Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Proposed
Rules

In 2015, the 84th Texas Legislature passed House Bill (HB) 2031
and HB 4097. HB 2031 relates to the diversion, treatment, and
use of marine seawater and the discharge of treated marine sea-
water and waste resulting from the desalination of marine sea-
water. HB 4097 addresses seawater desalination for industrial
purposes.

In HB 2031, the legislature declared that: "With this state facing
an ongoing drought, continuing population growth, and the need
to remain economically competitive, every effort must be made to
secure and develop plentiful and cost-effective water supplies to
meet the ever-increasing demand for water." The legislature also
declared that: "In this state, marine seawater is a potential new
source of water for drinking and other beneficial uses. This state
has access to vast quantities of marine seawater from the Gulf
of Mexico." To that end, the legislature stated the purpose of HB
2031 was to "...streamline the regulatory process for and reduce
the time required for and cost of marine seawater desalination."

In HB 2031, the legislature created new Texas Water Code
(TWC), Chapter 18, to address marine seawater desalination
projects. HB 2031 also amended TWC, §5.509, Temporary
or Emergency Order Relating to Discharge of Waste or Pol-
lutants; TWC, §5.551, Permitting Procedures; Applicability;
TWC, §7.302, Grounds for Revocation or Suspension of Permit;
TWC, §11.0237, Water Rights for Instream Flows Dedicated
to Environmental Needs or Bay and Estuary Inflows; TWC,
§11.082, Unlawful Use: Civil Penalty; TWC, §11.0842, Ad-
ministrative Penalty; TWC, §11.121, Permit Required; TWC,
§16.053, Regional Water Plans; and, TWC, §26.0291, Water
Quality Fee. In addition, HB 2031 amended Texas Health and
Safety Code (THSC), Chapter 341, Subchapter C, by adding
THSC, §341.0316, Desalination of Marine Seawater for Drinking
Water, and repealed TWC, §16.060, Desalination Studies and
Research.

TWC, §18.003(a), requires a person to obtain a permit to divert
and use state water that consists of marine seawater if: 1) the
point of diversion is located less than three miles seaward of
any point located on the coast of this state; or 2) the seawater
contains a total dissolved solids (TDS) concentration based on
a yearly average of samples taken monthly at the water source
of less than 20,000 milligrams per liter (mg/L). TWC, §18.003(b),
creates an exemption from permitting to divert and use marine
seawater if TWC, §18.003(a), does not apply. In addition, TWC,
§18.005(c), requires a person to obtain a permit to discharge: 1)
treated marine seawater into a natural stream in this state or a
lake, reservoir, or other impoundment in this state; or 2) waste
resulting from the desalination of marine seawater into the Gulf
of Mexico.

HB 2031 also directs the commission to issue a bed and banks
permit to convey marine seawater in any flowing natural stream
or lake, reservoir, or other impoundment. The bill prohibits: 1)
the discharge of treated marine seawater into a flowing natural
stream and impoundment for conveyance purposes without a
discharge permit issued under TWC, Chapter 18; and 2) the di-
version of marine seawater and the discharge of waste resulting
from the desalination of marine seawater in a bay and estuary
under the expedited permit process as allowed by TWC, Chap-
ter 18. A person has the option to submit an application under
TWC, Chapter 11 or 26 to seek a permit to divert or discharge in
a bay or estuary.

Further, HB 2031 directs the commission to adopt rules to ex-
pedite permitting and related processes for the diversion of ma-
rine seawater and the discharge of both treated marine seawater
and waste resulting from the desalination process, in accordance
with TWC, Chapter 18. In addition, the bill requires the commis-
sion to establish reasonable measures to minimize impingement
and entrainment associated with the diversion of marine seawa-
ter.

Finally, HB 2031 requires the Texas Parks & Wildlife Department
(TPWD) and the Texas General Land Office (GLO) to conduct a
study to identify zones in the Gulf of Mexico that are appropri-
ate for the diversion of marine seawater and the discharge of
waste resulting from the desalination process. The commission
must adopt rules designating diversion and discharge zones by
September 1, 2020. Until such time as the commission adopts
rules designating diversion and discharge zones, an applicant
for a permit to divert marine seawater or discharge waste result-
ing from the desalination process must consult with the TPWD
and the GLO regarding the point(s) of diversion and discharge.

HB 4097 relates to seawater desalination projects. This bill
creates TWC, §11.1405, Desalination of Seawater for Use for
Industrial Purposes, and TWC, §26.0272, Permits Authorizing
Discharges from Certain Seawater Desalination Facilities; and
amends TWC, §27.021, Permit for Disposal of Brine from
Desalination Operations or Drinking Water Treatment Residuals
in Class | Injection Wells, and TWC, §27.025, General Permit
Authorizing Use of Class | Injection Well to Inject Nonhazardous
Brine from Desalination Operations or Nonhazardous Drinking
Water Treatment Residuals, to address seawater desalination
for industrial purposes.

TWC, §11.1405(a), requires a person to obtain a permit to divert
and use state water that consists of seawater if: 1) the point of
diversion is located less than three miles seaward of any point
located on the coast of this state; or 2) the seawater contains a
TDS concentration based on a yearly average of samples taken
monthly at the water source of less than 20,000 mg/L. TWC,
§11.1405(b) creates an exemption from permitting to divert and
use seawater if TWC, §11.1405(a) does not apply. When a per-
mit application is required, TWC, §11.1405(e) specifies that the
application does not require a finding of water availability and
TWC, §11.1405(f) requires the permit to be consistent with the
commission's adopted environmental flow standards in 30 TAC
Chapter 298, Environmental Flow Standards for Surface Water.
TWC, §11.1405(h), directs the commission to adopt rules to ex-
pedite permitting and related processes for the diversion of sea-
water.

In addition, TWC, §26.0272(b), indicates that TCEQ may issue
a permit for the discharge of water treatment residuals from the
desalination of seawater into the portion of the Gulf of Mexico
inside the territorial limits of the state. TWC, §26.0272(c), spec-
ifies that prior to issuing a permit, TCEQ must evaluate the dis-
charge of water treatment residuals from the desalination of sea-
water into the Gulf of Mexico for compliance with the state wa-
ter quality standards, requirements of the Texas Pollutant Dis-
charge Elimination System program, and applicable federal law.
TWC, §26.0272(d), indicates that permits may be individual or
general. TWC, §26.0272(d), also specifies that for individual
permits, an application review procedure, at a minimum, must
comply with the requirements of TWC, Chapter 5, Subchapter
M; and the commission must comply with the requirements of
TWC, §26.040, for a general permit.

41 TexReg 3858 May 27, 2016 Texas Register



TWC, §27.021, allows TCEQ to issue an individual Class | injec-
tion well permit authorizing the disposal of water treatment resid-
uals produced by the desalination of seawater. TWC, §27.025,
allows TCEQ to authorize a Class | injection well under a gen-
eral permit for the disposal of concentrate produced by the de-
salination of seawater. TWC, §27.025, specifies that the general
permit must include any requirements necessary to maintain del-
egation of the federal underground injection control program ad-
ministered by TCEQ.

In October 2015, the commission held a stakeholder meeting to
solicit comments regarding the implementation of HB 2031 and
HB 4097. The executive director based these proposed rules on
consideration of the comments received from the stakeholders,
sound science and other public interest and relevant factors.

In corresponding rulemakings published in this issue of the
Texas Register, the commission also proposes new sections in
30 TAC Chapter 39, Public Notice; 30 TAC Chapter 295, Water
Rights, Procedural; and, 30 TAC Chapter 297, Water Rights,
Substantive to implement HB 2031 and HB 4097.

Section by Section Discussion
General Comments

The major substance of this proposed chapter was developed
from existing regulations related to the permitting process such
as 30 TAC Chapters 39, 50, 55, 281, and 305. They were then
revised to remove requirements that don't apply to wastewater
discharges, to expedite the existing permitting process for waste-
water discharges, and to incorporate only the required proce-
dural elements in TWC, §18.005(e)(1) - (3).

The chapter is organized into four subchapters: General Re-
quirements for Marine Seawater Desalination Discharges;
Treated Marine Seawater Discharges; Off-Shore Discharges;
and Near-Shore Discharges. This organizational structure
allows for clearly and separately defined permitting procedures
for each type of permit.

Some key terms, which are defined in the proposal, will help
improve understanding of this preamble: "Off-shore discharges”
are the discharge of wastewater from a marine seawater de-
salination project into the Gulf of Mexico where the point of
discharge is located three or more miles from any point located
on the coast of Texas; and "Near-shore discharges" are the
discharge of wastewater from a marine seawater desalination
project into the Gulf of Mexico where the point of discharge is
located within three miles from any point located on the coast
of Texas.

Subchapter A: General Requirements for Marine Seawater De-
salination Discharges

§318.1, Applicability and Purpose

Proposed new §318.1, identifies the purpose of Chapter 318,
which is to establish an expedited permitting process for new,
renewal, and amendment applications for treated marine
seawater discharges, off-shore discharges, and near-shore
discharges that originate from a marine seawater desalina-
tion project. These types of discharges may, alternatively,
be authorized under the provisions of TWC, Chapter 26 and
30 TAC Chapter 305. Proposed new §318.1 also identifies
which portions of the chapter apply to near-shore discharges.
These types of discharges are governed by the Texas Pollutant
Discharge Elimination System program and as such must be
processed in accordance with the Memorandum of Agreement

between TCEQ and the United States Environmental Protection
Agency (EPA). Lastly, proposed new §318.1 states that this
chapter does not apply to discharges into a bay, estuary, or
fresh waterbody. This provision complies with TWC, §18.005(f).

§318.2, Definitions

Proposed new §318.2, defines words and terms that are used
in the chapter. The definitions for "Off-shore discharges" and
"Near-shore discharges" are discussed earlier in this Section by
Section Discussion and are consistent with TWC, §18.005(e)(2).
Other definitions that would benefit from further discussion are
"Facility" and "Marine seawater desalination project." The term
"Facility" includes all contiguous land and fixtures, structures, or
appurtenances used for the collection, transportation, and treat-
ment of marine seawater and the storage, transportation, and
discharge of treated marine seawater and wastewater from a
marine seawater desalination project. The term "Marine sea-
water desalination project" is limited to the operation that desali-
nates marine seawater.

Desalination plants in other areas of the world are often co-lo-
cated with power plants. The power plants also have wastewa-
ter discharges. Power plant discharges would not be authorized
under the expedited process in the proposed rules because the
power plant does not desalinate marine seawater. Additionally,
other operations may be occurring at the site, such as a water
bottling operation or an operation that uses the desalinated water
in an industrial process. Wastewater generated by the bottling
operation or the industrial operation would not be authorized un-
der the expedited process in the proposed rules because the bot-
tling plant and industrial operation do not desalinate marine sea-
water. Conversely, the operation that desalinates marine sea-
water may generate multiple types of wastewater, such as brine
concentrate which is sometimes called reject water, filter back-
wash wastewater, and domestic wastewater from restrooms at
the desalination operation. These wastewater discharges, if they
are near-shore discharges or off-shore discharges, could be au-
thorized under the expedited process in the proposed rules be-
cause they are generated by the operation that desalinates ma-
rine seawater.

These definitions are crucial for limiting the applicability of the
proposed rules to only wastewaters generated by the operation
that desalinates marine seawater, not wastewater generated by
other operations such as a co-located power plant or water bot-
tling plant.

§318.3, Application Requirements

Proposed new §318.3, requires the owner and the operator, if the
operator is a different entity, to apply for the permit. The original
application and three copies must be submitted to the executive
director on forms provided by the executive director. The remain-
ing portions of proposed new §318.3 identify the contents of the
permit application. It is the intent of the executive director to
develop an application form specific to treated marine seawater
discharges and off-shore discharges processed under this chap-
ter. Developing an application form specific to these discharges
allows the executive director to collect and review information
relevant to these discharges. This will assist in reducing the ap-
plication review time for these permit applications.

§318.4, Application Fees and Water Quality Fees

Proposed new §318.4, identifies the application fees for each
type of permit action and identifies other regulations for the wa-
ter quality fee. The application fees are consistent with fees in
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30 TAC §305.53 (Application Fee) for minor facilities subject to
the EPA's categorical standards. The water quality fees are con-
sistent with the fees for marine seawater desalination plants that
obtain a permit under existing procedural rules.

§318.5, Permit Conditions

Proposed new §318.5, identifies other regulations that are appli-
cable to these permits.

§318.6, Amendment of a Permit

Proposed new §318.6, defines the types of amendments and
modifications, who can initiate amendments, specifies the con-
tents of an amendment application, and the effect of an amend-
ment application on the expiration of the existing permit. Pro-
posed new §318.6 also specifically allows an applicant who files
a major amendment application to simultaneously request a re-
newal of the permit. This provision allows the permittee to get
a full five-year permit following a major amendment rather than
retaining the expiration date of the current permit.

§318.7, Renewal of a Permit

Proposed new §318.7, specifies the timing for submitting a re-
newal application, the effect of a renewal application on the ex-
piration of the existing permit, and a requirement that a renewal
application must request continuation of the same requirements
and conditions of the expiring permit.

§318.8, Other Permit Actions

Proposed new §318.8, identifies other regulations that are ap-
plicable to these permits for the following permit actions: permit
transfers; permit denial, suspension, and revocation; permit can-
cellation; and corrections to permits.

§318.9, Discharge Zones for Near-Shore and Off-Shore Dis-
charges

Proposed new §318.9, requires an applicant to include docu-
mentation of consultation with the TPWD and the GLO regarding
the outfall locations in the permit application for near-shore dis-
charges and off-shore discharges. This requirement only applies
to new permit applications and amendment applications that pro-
pose a new outfall or a new location for an existing outfall.

Subchapter B: Treated Marine Seawater Discharges
§318.21, Applicability

Proposed new §318.21, identifies the application types that this
subchapter applies to. In addition to applications seeking autho-
rization for treated marine seawater discharges, this subchapter
also applies to applications for a single permit to authorize both
treated marine seawater and off-shore discharges.

§318.22, Application Review for Treated Marine Seawater Dis-
charges

Proposed new §318.22, identifies the administrative and techni-
cal review process that the executive director will use. The ap-
plication will be assigned a permit number and reviewed for ad-
ministrative completeness within five business days of receipt.
If an application is not administratively complete, the applicant
will be notified by email and must provide a response within five
business days of the request for additional information. If the ap-
plicant fails to provide the additional information by the deadline,
the application will be considered withdrawn unless there are ex-
tenuating circumstances. The administrative review process is
expedited by reducing the review period and using email for in-
coming and outgoing correspondence with applicants.

After the application is administratively complete, it will undergo
a technical review for a period of time not to exceed 30 busi-
ness days from the date the application is declared administra-
tively complete. If an application is not technically complete, the
applicant will be notified by email and must provide a response
within the timeframe established by the technical review staff.
The timeframe for submitting additional technical information can
vary based on the level of complexity of the data requested. If the
applicant fails to provide the additional information by the dead-
line, the executive director may return the application. The appli-
cant can request that the commission determine the sufficiency
of the technical data prior to having the application returned. The
technical review process is expedited by reducing the review pe-
riod and using email for incoming and outgoing correspondence
with applicants. Additionally, developing an application form that
is specific to marine seawater desalination discharges will assist
the executive director in conducting an expedited technical re-
view. After the application is declared technically complete, the
executive director will prepare a draft permit and technical sum-
mary unless a recommendation is made to not grant the appli-
cation. The proposed rule describes the contents of the tech-
nical summary. The draft permit and technical summary will be
emailed to the applicant for a 10-day review period. The public
notice and comment procedures are proposed in new 30 TAC
§39.902.

§318.23, Public Meeting

Proposed new §318.23, specifies that public meetings held on
applications under Chapter 318 are subject to the provisions out-
lined in 30 TAC §55.154. Notice of a public meeting must comply
with the requirements in proposed new §39.902.

§318.24, Public Comment Processing

Proposed new §318.24, identifies other regulations that pre-
scribe how the executive director will process timely filed public
comments. The executive director will respond to all timely
filed public comments. Late comments will be added to the
application file but will not be processed.

§318.25, Action by the Executive Director

Proposed new §318.25, specifies that actions by the executive
director on applications under Chapter 318 are subject to the
provisions outlined in 30 TAC §§50.133, 50.135, and 50.137.

§318.26, Motion to Overturn Executive Director's Decision

Proposed new §318.26, specifies that Motions to Overturn the
Executive Director's decision on applications under Chapter 318
are subject to the provisions outlined in 30 TAC §50.139.

§318.27, Request for Contested Case Hearing on an Application

Proposed new §318.27, identifies the application actions that are
subject to contested case hearings and specifies that requests
for a contested case hearing on those applications under Chap-
ter 318 are subject to the provisions outlined in 30 TAC §§55.201,
55.203, 55.205, and 55.209.

§318.28, Direct Referrals

Proposed new §318.28, specifies that direct referrals on appli-
cations under Chapter 318 are subject to the provisions outlined
in 30 TAC §55.210.

§318.29, Action by the Commission

Proposed new §318.29, specifies that actions by the commis-
sion on applications under Chapter 318 are subject to the provi-
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sions outlined in 30 TAC §§50.113, 50.115, 50.117, 50.119, and
55.211.

§318.30, Contested Case Hearing Proceedings

Proposed new §318.30, identifies other regulations that pre-
scribe how contested case hearings are conducted.

Subchapter C: Off-Shore Discharges
§318.40, Applicability

Proposed new §318.40, specifies that this subchapter applies
to applications seeking authorization for off-shore discharges.
However, as noted in proposed new §318.21, if an application is
seeking authorization for both off-shore discharges and treated
marine seawater discharges, the application is subject to the re-
quirements in proposed new Subchapter B.

§318.41, Application Review for Off-Shore Discharges

Proposed new §318.41, identifies the administrative and techni-
cal review process that the executive director will use. The ap-
plication will be assigned a permit number and reviewed for ad-
ministrative completeness within five business days of receipt.
If an application is not administratively complete, the applicant
will be notified by email and must provide a response within five
business days of the request for additional information. If the ap-
plicant fails to provide the additional information by the deadline,
the application will be considered withdrawn unless there are ex-
tenuating circumstances. The administrative review process is
expedited by reducing the review period and using email for in-
coming and outgoing correspondence with applicants.

After the application is administratively complete, it will undergo
a technical review for a period of time not to exceed 30 busi-
ness days from the date the application is declared administra-
tively complete. If an application is not technically complete, the
applicant will be notified by email and must provide a response
within the timeframe established by the technical review staff.
The timeframe for submitting additional technical information can
vary based on the level of complexity of the data requested. If the
applicant fails to provide the additional information by the dead-
line, the executive director may return the application. The appli-
cant can request that the commission determine the sufficiency
of the technical data prior to having the application returned. The
technical review process is expedited by reducing the review pe-
riod and using email for incoming and outgoing correspondence
with applicants. Additionally, developing an application form that
is specific to marine seawater desalination discharges will assist
the executive director in conducting an expedited technical re-
view.

After the application is declared technically complete, the exec-
utive director will prepare a draft permit and technical summary
unless a recommendation is made to not grant the application.
The proposed rule describes the contents of the technical sum-
mary. The draft permit and technical summary will be emailed to
the applicant for a 10-day review period. The public notice and
comment procedures are proposed in new 30 TAC §39.903.

§318.42, Action by the Executive Director

Proposed new §318.42, specifies that actions by the executive
director on applications under Chapter 318 are subject to the
provisions outlined in §§50.133, 50.135, and 50.137.

§318.43, Motion to Overturn Executive Director's Decision

Proposed new §318.43, specifies that Motions to Overturn the
Executive Director's decision on applications under Chapter 318
are subject to the provisions outlined in §50.139.

Subchapter D: Near-Shore Discharges
§318.60, Applicability

Proposed new §318.60, identifies the application types that this
subchapter applies to.

§318.61, Application Review and Processing for Near-Shore
Discharges

Proposed new §318.61, explains why an expedited permitting
process will not be codified in this chapter; identifies other regula-
tions that prescribe how near-shore discharges will be reviewed
and processed; and, states that the executive director will make
every reasonable effort to expedite the application review within
the current framework.

Fiscal Note: Costs to State and Local Government

Jeffrey Horvath, Analyst in the Chief Financial Officer Division,
has determined that for the first five-year period the proposed
rules are in effect, no significant fiscal implications are antici-
pated for the agency and no fiscal implications are expected for
other units of state or local government as a result of the admin-
istration or enforcement of the proposed rules.

The proposed rules implement HB 2031 which created an
expedited permitting process for marine seawater desalination
projects. HB 2031 directs the commission to adopt rules to
expedite permitting and related processes for the discharge of
both treated and marine seawater and waste resulting from the
desalination process.

HB 2031 also requires that the TPWD and the GLO conduct a
study to identify zones in the Gulf of Mexico that are appropriate
for the discharge of waste resulting from the marine seawater
desalination process. The bill requires the commission to adopt
rules designating discharge zones by September 1, 2020. An
applicant for a permit to discharge waste resulting from the ma-
rine seawater desalination process must consult with the TPWD
and the GLO regarding the point(s) of discharge until such time
as the commission adopts rules designating discharge zones.

Although the permitting process is expedited, the agency does
not expect the need for additional resources to issue any per-
mits under the proposed rules. Agency staff does not expect a
significant number of permit applications for desalination plants
in Texas.

The proposed rulemaking establishes application fees and an-
nual water quality fees for discharges associated with marine
seawater desalination. Under the proposed rules, a new permit
application fee would be $1,250; a major amendment (with or
without renewal) of an existing permit would be $1,250; and a
renewal of an existing permit would be $1,215. An annual wa-
ter quality fee would be assessed in accordance with 30 TAC
Chapter 21. This fee is calculated using several criteria and is
capped by statute at $150,000. No permittee has ever reached
the $150,000 cap (the highest current annual water quality fee
is $116,000 and the cap is not expected to be reached for sev-
eral years). The minimum fee may not be less than $1,250 for
each active permit or contract. No significant revenue is antici-
pated and no significant costs are expected for the agency due
to the low number of anticipated permit applications. Desalina-
tion plants are not expected to be owned or operated by other
units of state or local government.
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Public Benefits and Costs

Mr. Horvath has also determined that for each year of the first
five years the proposed rules are in effect, the public benefit an-
ticipated from the changes seen in the proposed rules would be
compliance with state law and a streamlined regulatory process
for marine seawater desalination that would assist the state to
develop new water supplies to meet the ever-increasing demand
for water.

No fiscal implications are anticipated for businesses or individ-
uals as a result of the administration and enforcement of the
proposed rules. The proposed rulemaking provides an alterna-
tive, expedited procedure for obtaining a discharge permit for
a marine seawater desalination plant. Discharges associated
with marine seawater desalination may also alternatively be au-
thorized under the provisions of TWC, Chapter 26, and 30 TAC
Chapter 305.

According to agency staff, there are currently no marine seawa-
ter desalination plants in Texas nor are there a significant num-
ber expected to be constructed in the first five years after the
proposed rules would come into effect. Any marine seawater
desalination plants that would be constructed would be owned
by large businesses capable of funding large capital projects.
Even though individuals may pay a higher cost for water from
a desalination plant, they would also benefit from having a new
water supply.

Additionally, a facility that applies for a permit for only
off-shore discharges (no treated marine seawater discharges
or near-shore discharges) would not be subject to a contested
case hearing. A contested case hearing can add a significant
cost for obtaining a permit. Costs for a contested case hearing
would vary depending on the costs for hiring attorneys, technical
experts, and travel expenses.

The proposed rulemaking establishes application fees and an-
nual water quality fees for discharges associated with marine
seawater desalination. Under the proposed rules, a new permit
application fee would be $1,250; a major amendment (with or
without renewal) of an existing permit would be $1,250; and a
renewal of an existing permit would be $1,215. An annual water
quality fee would be assessed against permittees in accordance
with Chapter 21. This fee is calculated using several criteria and
is capped by statute at $150,000. No permittee has ever reached
the cap (the highest current annual water quality fee is $116,000
and the $150,000 cap is not expected to be reached for sev-
eral years). The minimum fee may not be less than $1,250 for
each active permit or contract. This fiscal note assumes that any
operating costs for businesses or individuals that own or oper-
ate marine seawater desalination plants would be offset through
charges and fees assessed to their customers.

Small Business and Micro-Business Assessment

No adverse fiscal implications are anticipated for small or mi-
cro-businesses as a result of the proposed rules. The proposed
rules would have the same effect on a small business as it does
on a large business. The proposed rules only would affect those
businesses that intend to own or operate a marine seawater de-
salination plant and would provide an alternative, expedited pro-
cedure for obtaining discharge permits which could result in pos-
itive fiscal implications. This fiscal note also assumes that any
operating costs for businesses or individuals that own or oper-
ate marine seawater desalination plants would be offset through
charges and fees assessed to their customers.

Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Analysis

The commission has reviewed this proposed rulemaking and de-
termined that a small business regulatory flexibility analysis is not
required because the proposed rules are necessary in order to
comply with state law and does not adversely affect small or mi-
cro-businesses in a material way for the first five years that the
proposed rules are in effect.

Local Employment Impact Statement

The commission has reviewed this proposed rulemaking and de-
termined that a local employment impact statement is not re-
quired because the proposed rule does not adversely affect a
local economy in a material way for the first five years that the
proposed rules are in effect.

Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination

The commission has reviewed the proposed rulemaking in con-
sideration of the regulatory analysis of major environmental rules
required by Texas Government Code, §2001.0225, and deter-
mined that the rulemaking is not subject to Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225(a) because it does not meet the definition of
a "major environmental rule" as defined in Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225(g)(3). The following is a summary of that re-
view.

Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 applies to a "major envi-
ronmental rule" adopted by a state agency, the result of which is
to exceed standards set by federal law, exceed express require-
ments of state law, exceed requirements of delegation agree-
ments between the state and the federal government to imple-
ment a state and federal program, or adopt a rule solely under
the general powers of the agency instead of under a specific
state law. A "major environmental rule" is a rule, the specific
intent of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks to
human health from environmental exposure and that may ad-
versely affect in a material way the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the
public health and safety of the state or a sector or the state.

The legislature enacted HB 2031, creating TWC, Chapter 18,
which relates to marine seawater desalination. HB 2031 states
that the purpose of the new law is to remain economically com-
petitive in order to secure and develop plentiful and cost-effec-
tive water supplies to meet the ever-increasing demand for wa-
ter. More specifically, the legislature stated the purpose of HB
2031 was to "...streamline the regulatory process for and reduce
the time required for and cost of marine seawater desalination."
Therefore, the specific intent of the proposed rulemaking is to
add procedures for the development of plentiful and cost-effec-
tive water supplies to meet the ever-increasing demand for wa-
ter and to streamline the process for these permits. The pro-
posed rules in Chapter 318 are for the development of plentiful
and cost-effective water supplies to meet the ever-increasing de-
mand for water and to streamline the processes for obtaining a
permit to discharge treated marine seawater and waste result-
ing from the desalination process under TWC, Chapter 18. The
proposed new rules will protect the health and safety of aquatic
and wildlife resources, as well as water quality, however, the pro-
posed rules will not adversely affect the economy, a sector of the
economy, productivity, competition, or jobs within the state or a
sector of the state. Accordingly, the commission concludes that
the proposed rulemaking does not meet the definition of a "major
environmental rule."
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Even if this rulemaking was a "major environmental rule," this
rulemaking meets none of the criteria in Texas Government
Code, §2001.0225 for the requirement to prepare a full Regu-
latory Impact Analysis. First, this rulemaking is not governed
by federal law. Second, it does not exceed state law but rather
creates an expedited process under state law to ensure efficient
regulatory oversight, while comprehensively protecting the
state's natural resources. Third, it does not come under a dele-
gation agreement or contract with a federal program, and finally,
it is not being proposed under the TCEQ's general rulemaking
authority. This rulemaking is being proposed under specific
state statutes enacted in HB 2031. Therefore, the commission
does not adopt the rule solely under the commission's general
powers.

Written comments on the Draft Regulatory Impact Analysis de-
termination may be submitted to the contact person at the ad-
dress listed under the Submittal of Comments section of this pre-
amble.

Takings Impact Assessment

The commission evaluated the proposed rulemaking and per-
formed an analysis of whether it constitutes a taking under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 2007. The following is a summary of
that analysis. The specific purpose of the proposed rulemaking
is to modify the TAC to implement the changes to the TWC, from
HB 2031, which creates procedures for the development of plen-
tiful and cost-effective water supplies to meet the ever-increasing
demand for water and to streamline the process for these per-
mits. The proposed rulemaking will substantially advance this
stated purpose by proposing rules in a new Chapter 318 that
are intended to articulate and expedite the permitting process
for marine seawater desalination discharges in accordance with
HB 2031 and TWC, Chapter 18.

Promulgation and enforcement of the proposed rules will not be
a statutory or constitutional taking of private real property be-
cause, as the commission's analysis indicates, Texas Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 2007 does not apply to these proposed
rules because these rules do not impact private real property.
In HB 2031, the legislature expressed that "In this state, ma-
rine seawater is a potential new source of water for drinking and
other beneficial uses. This state has access to vast quantities of
marine seawater from the Gulf of Mexico." Specifically, the pro-
posed rulemaking does not apply to or affect any landowner's
rights in any private real property because it does not burden
(constitutionally), restrict, or limit any landowner's right to real
property and reduce any property's value by 25% or more be-
yond that which would otherwise exist in the absence of the reg-
ulations. For marine seawater, there are no real property rights
that have been granted for use of the water in the Gulf of Mex-
ico. These actions will not affect or burden private real property
rights because of the amount of water in the Gulf of Mexico, or
a bay or arm of the Gulf of Mexico.

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program

The commission has reviewed the proposed rulemaking and
found that the proposal is subject to the Texas Coastal Man-
agement Program (CMP) in accordance with the Coastal
Coordination Act, Texas Natural Resources Code, §§33.201 et
seq., and therefore must be consistent with all applicable CMP
goals and policies. The commission conducted a consistency
determination for the proposed rules in accordance with Coastal
Coordination Act Implementation Rules, 31 TAC §505.22 and

found the proposed rulemaking is consistent with the applicable
CMP goals and policies.

CMP goals applicable to the proposed rules include: 1) to pro-
tect, preserve, restore, and enhance the diversity, quality, quan-
tity, functions, and values of coastal natural resource areas (CN-
RAs); and, 2) to ensure sound management of all coastal re-
sources by allowing for compatible economic development and
multiple human uses of the coastal zone. CMP policies appli-
cable to the proposed rules include: discharges must comply
with water quality-based effluent limits; discharges that increase
pollutant loadings to coastal waters must not impair designated
uses of coastal waters and must not significantly degrade coastal
water quality, unless necessary for important economic or social
development; and to the greatest extent practicable, new waste-
water outfalls must be located where they will not adversely af-
fect critical areas.

Promulgation and enforcement of these rules will not violate or
exceed any standards identified in the applicable CMP goals
and policies. The proposed rules are consistent with these CMP
goals and policies because these rules do not create or have a
direct or significant adverse effect on any CNRAs, and because
the proposed rules do not allow a discharge from marine seawa-
ter desalination projects into or adjacent to water in the state, ex-
cept in accordance with an individual permit issued by the com-
mission. Individual permits issued under these proposed rules
will include effluent limitations to ensure compliance with water
quality standards. Further, the expedited permitting process in
these proposed rules cannot be used to authorize discharges
of wastewater into bays and estuaries. Wastewater must be dis-
charged into the Gulf of Mexico, and applicants must consult with
the TPWD and the GLO regarding the outfall location(s).

Written comments on the consistency of this rulemaking may be
submitted to the contact person at the address listed under the
Submittal of Comments section of this preamble.

Announcement of Hearing

The commission will hold a public hearing on this proposal in
Austin on June 21, 2016, at 2:00 p.m., in Building E, Room 201S,
at the commission's central office located at 12100 Park 35 Cir-
cle. The hearing is structured for the receipt of oral or written
comments by interested persons. Individuals may present oral
statements when called upon in order of registration. Open dis-
cussion will not be permitted during the hearing; however, com-
mission staff members will be available to discuss the proposal
30 minutes prior to the hearing.

Persons who have special communication or other accommoda-
tion needs who are planning to attend the hearing should con-
tact Sandy Wong, Office of Legal Services at (512) 239-1802 or
1-800-RELAY-TX (TDD). Requests should be made as far in ad-
vance as possible.

Submittal of Comments

Written comments may be submitted to Ms. Kris Hogan, MC
205, Office of Legal Services, Texas Commission on Environ-
mental Quality, P.O. Box 13087, Austin, Texas 78711-3087
or faxed to (512) 239-4808. Electronic comments may be
submitted at:  http://www1.tceq.texas.gov/rules/ecomments/.
File size restrictions may apply to comments being sub-
mitted via the eComments system. All comments should
reference Rule Project Number 2015-029-295-OW. The com-
ment period closes on July 5, 2016. Copies of the proposed
rulemaking can be obtained from the commission's website
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at http://www.tceq.texas.gov/rules/propose_adopt.html. For
further information, please contact Kathy Ramirez, Water Avail-
ability Division, at (512) 239-6757 or Laurie Fleet, Wastewater
Permitting Section, at (512) 239-5445.

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL REQUIRE-
MENTS FOR MARINE SEAWATER DESALINA-
TION DISCHARGES

30 TAC §§318.1 - 318.9

Statutory Authority

The rules are proposed under Texas Water Code (TWC), §5.013
which establishes the general jurisdiction of the commission;
TWC, §5.102 which provides the commission with the authority
to carry out its duties and general powers under its jurisdictional
authority as provided by TWC, §5.103; TWC, §5.103 which re-
quires the commission to adopt any rule necessary to carry out
its powers and duties under the TWC and other laws of the state;
TWC, §5.120 which requires the commission to administer the
law so as to promote judicious use and maximum conservation
and protection of the environment and the natural resources of
the state; TWC, §26.011 which provides the commission with the
authority to establish the level of quality to be maintained in, and
to control the quality of, the water in the state by subjecting waste
discharges or impending waste discharges to reasonable rules
or orders adopted or issued by the commission in the public in-
terest; TWC, §26.027 and §26.041 which authorize the commis-
sion to issue permits for the discharge of waste or pollutants into
or adjacent to water in the state, and to set standards to prevent
the discharge of waste that is injurious to the public health; and
TWC, §18.005(e) which directs the commission to adopt rules to
expedite permitting and related processes for the discharge of
both treated marine seawater and waste resulting from the de-
salination process, in accordance with TWC, Chapter 18.

The proposed rules implement TWC, §18.005 and House Bill
2031 (84th Texas Legislature, 2015).

§318.1.  Applicability and Purpose.

(a) The provisions of this chapter establish an expedited
process for new, renewal, and amendment applications for treated
marine seawater discharges, off-shore discharges, and near-shore
discharges that originate from a marine seawater desalination project
under Texas Water Code (TWC), Chapter 18. Discharges from a
marine seawater desalination project may, alternatively, be authorized
under the provisions of TWC, Chapter 26 and Chapter 305 of this title
(relating to Consolidated Permits).

(b) Near-shore discharges from marine seawater desalination
projects are subject to, and must comply with, §318.9 of this title (re-
lating to Discharge Zones for Near-Shore and Off-Shore Discharges)
and Subchapter D of this chapter (relating to Near-Shore Discharges).

(c) This chapter does not apply to discharges into a bay, estu-
ary, or fresh waterbodies.

§318.2.  Definitions.

The definitions contained in Texas Water Code, §26.001 apply to this
chapter. The following words and terms, when used in this chapter,
have the following meanings.

(1) Affected person--A person who has a personal justicia-
ble interest related to a legal right, duty, privilege, power, or economic
interest affected by the application. An interest common to members
of the general public does not qualify as a personal justiciable interest.

The determination of whether a person is affected shall be governed by
§55.203 of this title (relating to Determination of Affected Person).

(2) Application--A formal written request for commission
action relative to a permit, together with all materials and documents
submitted to complete the application.

(3) Commission--The Texas Commission on Environmen-

tal Quality.

(4) Facility--Includes all contiguous land and fixtures,
structures, or appurtenances used for the collection, transportation,
and treatment of marine seawater and the storage, transportation,
and discharge of treated marine seawater and wastewater from a
marine seawater desalination project. A facility may consist of several
storage, processing, treatment, or disposal units.

(5) Marine seawater--Water that is derived from the Gulf
of Mexico.

(6) Marine seawater desalination project--An operation
that desalinates marine seawater. Marine seawater desalination project
does not include other businesses, entities, or operations that do not
desalinate marine seawater regardless of whether or not they are
associated with the desalination operation by ownership, location,
business structure, or business dependencies.

(7) Near-shore discharges--The discharge of wastewater
from a marine seawater desalination project into the Gulf of Mexico
where the point of discharge is located within three miles seaward of
any point located on the coast of Texas.

(8) Off-shore discharges--The discharge of wastewater
from a marine seawater desalination project into the Gulf of Mexico
where the point of discharge is located three or more miles seaward
from any point located on the coast of Texas.

(9) Operator--The person responsible for the overall oper-
ation of a facility.
(10) Outfall--The point or location where treated marine

seawater or reject water is discharged from a marine seawater desali-
nation project into or adjacent to water in this state.

(11) Owner--The person who owns a facility or part of a

facility.

(12) Permit--A written document issued by the commis-
sion which, by its conditions, may authorize the permittee to construct,
install, modify, or operate, in accordance with stated limitations, a spec-
ified facility for treated marine seawater and reject water discharges.

(13) Site--The land or water area where any marine seawa-
ter desalination project is physically located or conducted, including
adjacent land or water used in connection with the marine seawater de-

salination project.

(14) Treated marine seawater--Marine seawater that has
been treated to reduce salinity. Treated marine seawater is not a

pollutant discharge.

$318.3.  Application Requirements.

(a) Any person who requests a permit or who requests an
amendment, modification, or renewal of a permit for treated marine
seawater discharges or off-shore discharges shall complete, sign, and
submit an application to the executive director according to the re-
quirements of this chapter. A permittee shall keep records of data used
to complete the final application and any supplemental information
throughout the term of the permit.

(b) It is the duty of the owner of a facility to submit an appli-
cation for a permit. However, if the facility is owned by one person
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and operated by another, it is the duty of the operator and the owner to

ter, as applicable, described in enough detail to allow evaluation of the

jointly submit an application for a permit.

(c) Only one application needs to be filed for each geographi-
cal location from which treated marine seawater or wastewater is dis-

water and environmental quality considerations involved; and

(6) the applicant shall provide other information as reason-
ably may be required by the executive director for an adequate under-

charged, even though there may be more than one outfall requested in

standing of the project, and which is necessary to provide the commis-

the application.

(d) The original and three copies of the permit application shall
be submitted on forms provided by or approved by the executive direc-
tor, and shall be accompanied by a like number of copies of all technical
supplements and attachments.

(e) All applications shall be signed in accordance with §305.44
of this title (relating to Signatories to Applications).

(f) _Each application for a permit must include the following:

(1) the name, mailing address, and location of the facility

sion an adequate opportunity to ascertain whether the facility will be
constructed and operated in compliance with all pertinent state and fed-
eral statutes.

(g) If the applicant is an individual, the application shall con-
tain:

(1) the individual's full legal name and date of birth;

(2) the street address of the individual's place of residence;

(3) the identifying number from the individual's driver's li-
cense or personal identification certificate issued by the state or country

for which the application is submitted;

(2) the ownership status as federal, state, private, public, or
other entity;

(3) the applicant's name, mailing address, email address,

in which the individual resides;

(4) the individual's sex; and

(5) any assumed business or professional name of the indi-
vidual filed under Texas Business and Commerce Code, Chapter 36.

and telephone number;

(4) a topographic map, ownership map, county highway
map, or a map prepared by a Texas licensed professional engineer,
Texas licensed professional geoscientist, or a registered surveyor which
shows the facility and each of its intake and outfall structures. Maps
must be of material suitable for a permanent record, and shall be on
sheets 8-1/2 inches by 11 inches or folded to that size, and shall be on
a scale of not less than one inch equals one mile. The map shall de-
pict the approximate boundaries of the tract of property owned or to
be used by the applicant and shall extend at least one mile beyond the
tract boundaries sufficient to show the following:

(A) each well, spring, and surface water body or other
water in the state within the map area;

(B) the general character of the areas adjacent to the
facility, including public roads, towns and the nature of development
of adjacent lands such as residential, commercial, agricultural, recre-
ational, undeveloped, and so forth; and

(C) the location of any waste disposal activities con-
ducted on the tract not included in the application;

(5) a supplementary technical report submitted in connec-
tion with an application. The report must be prepared either by a Texas
licensed professional engineer, a Texas licensed professional geosci-
entist, or by a qualified person who is competent and experienced in
the field to which the application relates and thoroughly familiar with
the proposed marine seawater desalination project. The report must in-
clude the following:

(A) a general description of the facilities and systems
used for or in connection with the intake, collection, transportation,
and treatment of marine seawater and the storage, transportation, and
discharge of treated marine seawater and wastewater; and

(B) for each outfall:

(i) the volume and rate of the discharge of treated
marine seawater and wastewater, including daily average flow, daily
maximum flow, and detailed information regarding patterns of dis-
charge; and

(ii) the chemical, physical, thermal, organic, bacte-
riological, or radiological properties or characteristics of the wastewa-

§$318.4.  Application Fees and Water Quality Fees.

(a) Anapplicant shall include with each application a fee. The
application fee is due at the time that the application is filed with the
commission. Unless the recommendation of the executive director is
that the application be denied, the commission will not consider an
application for final decision until such time as the application fee is
paid.

(b) The permit application fees are as follows:

(1) new - $1,250;

(2) major amendment (with or without renewal) of an ex-
isting permit - $1,250;

(3) renewal of an existing permit - $1,215;

(4) minor amendment and minor modification of an exist-
ing permit - $150.

(¢) An annual water quality fee will be assessed against per-
mittees authorized under this chapter in accordance with Chapter 21 of
this title (relating to Water Quality Fees).

§318.5.  Permit Conditions.

(a) A permit issued under this chapter is subject to the require-
ments of:

(1) §305.122 of this title (relating to Characteristics of Per-

mits);

(2) §305.123 of this title (relating to Reservation in Grant-
ing Permit);

(3) §305.124 of this title (relating to Acceptance of Permit,

Effect);
(4) §305.125 of this title (relating to Standard Permit Con-
ditions); and

(5) §305.127 of this title (relating to Conditions to be De-
termined for Individual Permits).

(b) All reports required by permits issued under this chapter
and other information requested by the executive director shall be
signed in accordance with §305.128 of this title (relating to Signatories

to Reports).
§318.6.

Amendment of a Permit.
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(a) Amendments generally. A change in a term, condition, or
provision of a permit requires an amendment, except corrections to

() Amendment initiated by the executive director. If the ex-
ecutive director determines to amend a permit, notice of the determi-

permits under subsection (c)(2)(A) of this section and permit transfers

nation stating the reason for the amendment and a copy of a proposed

under §318.8 of this title (relating to Other Permit Actions).

(b) Application for amendment. An application for amend-
ment shall include all requested changes to the permit. Information
sufficient to review the application shall be submitted in the form and
manner and under the procedures specified in §318.3 of this title (re-

amendment draft shall be mailed, by United States Postal Service or
electronic mail, to the permittee at the last address of record with the
commission.

()  Amendment initiated permit expiration. The existing per-
mit will remain effective and will not expire until commission action

lating to Application Requirements). The application shall include a

on the application for amendment is final. The commission may extend

statement describing the reason for the requested changes.

(c) Types of amendments.

(1) A major amendment is an amendment that changes a
substantive term, provision, requirement, or a limiting parameter of a

permit.

(2) A minor amendment is an amendment to improve or
maintain the permitted quality or method of disposal of treated marine
seawater or wastewater if there is neither a significant increase of the
quantity of treated marine seawater or wastewater to be discharged nor
a material change in the pattern or place of discharge. A minor amend-
ment includes any other change to a permit issued under this chapter
that will not cause or relax a standard or criterion which may result in a
potential deterioration of quality of water in the state. A minor amend-
ment may also include, but is not limited to:

(A) correcting typographical errors;

(B) changing an interim compliance date in a schedule
of compliance, provided the new date is not more than 120 days after
the date specified in the existing permit and does not interfere with

the term of a permit when taking action on an application for amend-
ment.

(g) Amendment application with renewal. An application for
a major amendment to a permit may include a request for a renewal of

the permit.

$318.7 . Renewal of a Permit.

Any permittee with an effective permit shall submit an application for
renewal at least 180 days before the expiration date of the effective
permit, unless permission for a later date has been granted by the ex-
ecutive director. The executive director shall not grant permission for
applications to be submitted later than the expiration date of the exist-
ing permit.

(1) An application for renewal shall be in the same form as
that required for the original permit application.

(2) An application for renewal shall request continuation
of the same requirements and conditions of the expiring permit.

(3) Ifanapplication for renewal in fact requests a modifica-
tion of requirements and conditions of the existing permit, an applica-

attainment of the final compliance date;

(C) requiring more frequent monitoring or reporting by
the permittee;

(D) changing the construction schedule for a discharger.
No such change shall affect a discharger's obligation to have all pollu-
tion control equipment installed and in operation before discharge; and

(E) deleting an outfall when the discharge from that out-
fall is terminated and does not change the discharge from other outfalls
except within permit limits.

(d) Good cause for amendments. If good cause exists, the ex-
ecutive director may initiate and the commission may order a major
amendment, minor amendment, or minor modification to a permit and

tion for amendment shall be filed in place of an application for renewal.

(4) If an application for renewal is received by the execu-
tive director before the permit expiration date, the existing permit will
remain in full force and effect and will not expire until commission ac-
tion on the application for renewal is final.

(5) The commission may deny an application for renewal
for the grounds set forth in §305.66 of this title (relating to Permit De-
nial, Suspension, and Revocation).

(6) During the renewal process, the executive director may
make any changes or additions to permits authorized by §318.6 of this
title (relating to Amendment of a Permit).

§318.8.  Other Permit Actions.

the executive director may request an updated application if necessary.
Good cause includes, but is not limited to:

(1) there are material and substantial changes to the permit-
ted facility or activity which justify permit conditions that are different
or absent in the existing permit;

(2) information, not available at the time of permit is-
suance, is received by the executive director, justifying amendment of
existing permit conditions;

(3) the standards or regulations on which the permit or a
permit condition was based have been changed by statute, through pro-
mulgation of new or amended standards or regulations, or by judicial
decision after the permit was issued; or

(4) an act of God, strike, flood, material shortage, or other

(a) Permit transfer. A permit issued under this chapter is is-
sued to a specific person and may be transferred only upon approval
of the commission in accordance with §305.64 of this title (relating to
Transfer of Permits).

(b) Permit denial, suspension, and revocation. A permit issued
under this chapter does not become a vested right and may be denied,
suspended, or revoked in accordance with §305.66 of this title (relating
to Permit Denial, Suspension, and Revocation).

(c) Permit cancellation. Ifa permittee no longer desires to con-
tinue the activity authorized under a permit issued under this chapter,
or is agreeable to a suspension of authorization for a specified period
of time, the permittee should file with the executive director a written
request, or a written consent and waiver in accordance with §305.67 of
this title (relating to Revocation and Suspension upon Request or Con-

event over which the permittee has no control and for which there is no

sent). In the absence of a request filed by the permittee or of sufficient

reasonably available alternative may be determined to constitute good

consent and waiver, the commission may revoke or suspend a permit

cause for amendment of a compliance schedule.

in accordance with §305.66 of this title.
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(d) Correction to permits. Nonsubstantive changes to a permit

§318.22.  Application Review for Treated Marine Seawater Dis-

issued under this chapter may be made in accordance with §50.145 of

charges.

this title (relating to Corrections to Permits).

§$318.9.  Discharge Zones for Near-Shore and Off-Shore Discharges.
An application for near-shore discharges or off-shore discharges must

(a) Upon receipt of an application, the executive director or
his designee shall assign the application a number for identification
purposes.

contain documentation of consultation with the Texas Parks & Wildlife
Department and the Texas General Land Office regarding the outfall lo-
cation(s) as required by Texas Water Code, §18.005(h). This provision
only applies to new applications and amendment applications that pro-
pose a new outfall or a new location for an existing outfall.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602348

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812

¢ ¢ ¢
SUBCHAPTER B. TREATED MARINE
SEAWATER DISCHARGES
30 TAC §§318.21 - 318.30
Statutory Authority

The rules are proposed under Texas Water Code (TWC), §5.013
which establishes the general jurisdiction of the commission;
TWC, §5.102 which provides the commission with the authority
to carry out its duties and general powers under its jurisdictional
authority as provided by TWC, §5.103; TWC, §5.103 which re-
quires the commission to adopt any rule necessary to carry out
its powers and duties under the TWC and other laws of the state;
TWC, §5.120 which requires the commission to administer the
law so as to promote judicious use and maximum conservation
and protection of the environment and the natural resources of
the state; TWC, §26.011 which provides the commission with the
authority to establish the level of quality to be maintained in, and
to control the quality of, the water in the state by subjecting waste
discharges or impending waste discharges to reasonable rules
or orders adopted or issued by the commission in the public in-
terest; TWC, §26.027 and §26.041 which authorize the commis-
sion to issue permits for the discharge of waste or pollutants into
or adjacent to water in the state, and to set standards to prevent
the discharge of waste that is injurious to the public health; and
TWC, §18.005(e) which directs the commission to adopt rules to
expedite permitting and related processes for the discharge of
both treated marine seawater and waste resulting from the de-
salination process, in accordance with TWC, Chapter 18.

The proposed rules implement TWC, §18.005 and House Bill
2031 (84th Texas Legislature, 2015).

§$318.21.  Applicability.
This subchapter applies to:

(1) applications to discharge treated marine seawater from
a marine seawater desalination project; and

(2) applications for a consolidated permit to discharge
treated marine seawater and off-shore discharges.

(b) Applications for permits shall be reviewed by the staff for
administrative completeness within five business days of receipt of the
application by the executive director.

(c) If an application is received which is not administratively
complete, the executive director shall notify the applicant of the defi-
ciencies by email by the end of the five-day review period.

(1) If the additional information is received within five
business days of notice of the deficiency, the executive director will
evaluate the information within five business days of receipt of the
additional information.

(2) If the additional information is not received within five
business days of notice of the deficiency, the application shall be con-
sidered withdrawn unless there are extenuating circumstances.

(d) Afteran application is determined by the executive director
to be administratively complete, the executive director shall commence
a technical review as necessary and appropriate for a period of time not
to exceed 30 business days from the date the application is declared
administratively complete.

(e) If an application is received which is not technically com-
plete, the executive director shall notify the applicant by email and prior
to the end of the 30-day review period of any additional technical ma-
terial as may be necessary for a complete review.

(1) If the additional information is received within the
timeframe established by the technical review staff, the staff will
review the additional information to determine if the application is
technically complete.

(2) If the additional information is not received within the
timeframe established by the technical review staff, and the information
is considered essential by the executive director to make recommenda-
tions to the commission on a particular matter, the executive director
may return the application to the applicant. In no event, however, will
the applicant have less than 15 days to provide the technical data before
an application is returned. Decisions to return an application during the
technical review stage will be made on a case-by-case basis. The appli-
cant has the option of having the question of sufficiency of necessary
technical data referred to the commission for a decision prior to having
the application returned.

(f) After an application is determined by the executive direc-
tor to be technically complete, the executive director shall prepare a
draft permit consistent with all applicable commission rules, unless a
recommendation is made not to grant an application. The draft permit
will be filed with the commission to be included in the consideration of
the application for permit and is subject to change during the course of
the proceedings on the application. The draft permit shall be available

for public review.

(g) The executive director shall prepare a technical summary
which sets forth the principal facts and the significant factual, legal,
methodological, and policy questions considered in preparing the draft
permit. The summary shall include the following information, where
applicable:

(1) a brief description of the marine seawater desalination
project which is the subject of the draft permit;
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(2) the quantity of treated marine seawater that is proposed
to be discharged;

(3) abrief summary of the basis for the draft permit condi-
tions including references to applicable statutory or regulatory provi-
sions;

(4) reasons why any requested variances or alternatives to
required standards do or do not appear justified;

(5) a description of the procedures for reaching a final de-
cision on the draft permit, including procedures by which the public
may participate in the final decision; and

(6) the name and telephone number of agency personnel to
contact for additional information.

(h) After the draft permit and technical summary are prepared
and prior to issuance of public notice, the executive director shall email
the draft permit and technical summary to the applicant. The applicant
shall have 10 business days to review and provide comment on the draft

permit.

(i)  Public notice and comment must comply with procedures in
§39.902 of this title (relating to Public Notice and Comment for Treated
Marine Seawater Discharges).

$318.23.  Public Meeting.

(a) Applications for a discharge permit for treated marine
seawater shall comply with the relevant public meeting provisions in

(b) Requests for a Contested Case Hearing are subject to the
provisions in §§55.201, 55.203, 55.205, and 55.209 of this title (relat-
ing to Requests for Reconsideration or Contested Case Hearing; De-
termination of Affected Person; Request by Group or Association; and
Processing Requests for Reconsideration and Contested Case Hearing,

respectively).
§318.28.  Direct Referrals.

The executive director or the applicant may file a request with the chief
clerk that the application be sent directly to the State Office of Admin-
istrative Hearings for a hearing on the application, pursuant to the pro-
visions in §55.210 of this title (relating to Direct Referrals).

§318.29. Action by the Commission.

Commission consideration of the following items are subject to the pro-
visions in §§50.113, 50.115, 50.117, 50.119, and 55.211 of this title (re-
lating to Applicability and Action on Application; Scope of Contested
Case Hearings; Commission Actions; Notice of Commission Action;
Motion for Rehearing; and Commission Action of Requests for Recon-
sideration and Contested Case Hearing, respectively). The commission
may refer an application to the State Office of Administrative Hearings
if the commission finds that an applicant's compliance history, as deter-
mined under Chapter 60 of this title (relating to Compliance History),
raises an issue regarding the applicant's ability to comply with a mate-
rial term of its permit.

$318.30.  Contested Case Hearing Proceedings.

§55.154 of this title (relating to Public Meetings), except as noted in
this section.

(b) New, major amendment, and renewal applications have the
opportunity for a public meeting. Minor amendment and minor modi-
fication applications are not subject to a public meeting.

(¢) Notice of a public meeting must follow the procedures in
§39.902(f) and (g) of this title (relating to Public Notice and Comment
for Treated Marine Seawater Discharges).

§318.24.  Public Comment Processing.
(a) Iftimely comments are received, the following procedures
shall apply to applications processed under this subchapter:

(1) §55.156 of this title (relating to Public Comment Pro-
cessing); and

(2) §39.420(a), (b), and (f) of this title (relating to Trans-
mittal of Executive Director's Response to Comments and Decision).

(b) A public comment that is not filed with the chief clerk by
the deadline provided in the notice shall be accepted by the chief clerk
and placed in the application file but the chief clerk shall not process it.

§318.25. Action by the Executive Director.

Actions by the executive director under this subchapter are subject to
the provisions in §§50.133, 50.135, and 50.137 of this title (relating to
Executive Director Action on Application or WQMP Update; Effective
Date of Executive Director Action; and Remand for Action by Execu-
tive Director, respectively).

$318.26.  Motion to Overturn Executive Director's Decision.

A motion to overturn may be filed under this subchapter in accordance
with the provisions in §50.139 of this title (relating to Motion to Over-
turn Executive Director's Decision).

§318.27. Request for Contested Case Hearing on an Application.
(a) New, major amendment, and renewal applications have the

opportunity for a contested case hearing. Minor amendment and minor

modification applications are not subject to a contested case hearing.

Contested case hearings on applications for discharges of treated ma-
rine seawater shall be conducted in accordance with Chapter 80 of this
title (relating to Contested Case Hearings).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602349

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812
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SUBCHAPTER C. OFF-SHORE DISCHARGES
30 TAC §§318.40 - 318.43
Statutory Authority

The rules are proposed under Texas Water Code (TWC), §5.013
which establishes the general jurisdiction of the commission;
TWC, §5.102 which provides the commission with the authority
to carry out its duties and general powers under its jurisdictional
authority as provided by TWC, §5.103; TWC, §5.103 which re-
quires the commission to adopt any rule necessary to carry out
its powers and duties under the TWC and other laws of the state;
TWC, §5.120 which requires the commission to administer the
law so as to promote judicious use and maximum conservation
and protection of the environment and the natural resources of
the state; TWC, §26.011 which provides the commission with the
authority to establish the level of quality to be maintained in, and
to control the quality of, the water in the state by subjecting waste
discharges or impending waste discharges to reasonable rules
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or orders adopted or issued by the commission in the public in-
terest; TWC, §26.027 and §26.041 which authorize the commis-
sion to issue permits for the discharge of waste or pollutants into
or adjacent to water in the state, and to set standards to prevent
the discharge of waste that is injurious to the public health; and
TWC, §18.005(e) which directs the commission to adopt rules to
expedite permitting and related processes for the discharge of
both treated marine seawater and waste resulting from the de-
salination process, in accordance with TWC, Chapter 18.

The proposed rules implement TWC, §18.005 and House Bill
2031 (84th Texas Legislature, 2015).
§318.40. Applicability.
This subchapter applies to off-shore discharges from a marine seawater
desalination project.
§$318.41.
(a) Upon receipt of an application, the executive director or
his designee shall assign the application a number for identification
purposes.
(b) Applications for permits shall be reviewed by the staff for

administrative completeness within five business days of receipt of the
application by the executive director.

Application Review for Off-Shore Discharges.

(c) If an application is received which is not administratively
complete, the executive director shall notify the applicant of the defi-
ciencies by email by the end of the five-day review period.

(1) If the additional information is received within five
business days of notice of the deficiency, the executive director will
evaluate the information within five business days of receipt of the
additional information.

(2) Ifthe additional information is not received within five
business days of notice of the deficiency, the application shall be con-
sidered withdrawn unless there are extenuating circumstances.

(d) Afteran application is determined by the executive director
to be administratively complete, the executive director shall commence
a technical review as necessary and appropriate for a period of time not
to exceed 30 business days from the date the application is declared
administratively complete.

(e) Ifan application is received which is not technically com-
plete, the executive director shall notify the applicant by email and prior
to the end of the 30-day review period of any additional technical ma-
terial as may be necessary for a complete review.

(1) If the additional information is received within the
timeframe established by the technical review staff, the staff will

draft permit consistent with all applicable commission rules, unless a
recommendation is made not to grant an application. The draft permit
will be filed with the commission to be included in the consideration of
the application for permit and is subject to change during the course of
the proceedings on the application. The draft permit shall be available

for public review.

(g) The executive director shall prepare a technical summary
which sets forth the principal facts and the significant factual, legal,
methodological, and policy questions considered in preparing the draft
permit. The summary shall include the following information, where
applicable:

(1) a brief description of the marine seawater desalination
project which is the subject of the draft permit;

(2) the sources and quantity of wastewater that is proposed
to be discharged,

(3) abrief summary of the basis for the draft permit condi-
tions including references to applicable statutory or regulatory provi-
sions;

(4) reasons why any requested variances or alternatives to
required standards do or do not appear justified;

(5) adescription of the procedures for reaching a final deci-
sion on the draft permit, including procedures whereby the public may
participate in the final decision; and

(6) the name and telephone number of any persons to con-
tact for additional information.

(h)  After the draft permit and technical summary are prepared
and prior to issuance of public notice, the executive director shall email
the draft permit and technical summary to the applicant. The applicant
shall have 10 business days to review and provide comment on the draft
permit.

(i) Public notice and comment must comply with the proce-
dures in §39.903 of this title (relating to Public Notice and Comment
for Off-Shore Discharges).

§318.42.  Action by the Executive Director.

Actions by the Executive Director under this subchapter are subject to
the provisions in §§50.133, 50.135, and 50.137 of this title (relating to
Executive Director Action on Application or WQMP Update; Effective
Date of Executive Director Action; and Remand for Action by Execu-
tive Director, respectively).

§318.43.  Motion to Overturn Executive Director's Decision.

A motion to overturn may be filed under this subchapter in accordance

review the additional information to determine if the application is

with the provisions in §50.139 of this title (relating to Motion to Over-

technically complete.

(2) If the additional information is not received within the
timeframe established by the technical review staff, and the information
is considered essential by the executive director to make recommenda-
tions to the commission on a particular matter, the executive director
may return the application to the applicant. In no event, however, will
the applicant have less than 15 days to provide the technical data before
an application is returned. Decisions to return the application during
the technical review stage will be made on a case-by-case basis. The
applicant has the option of having the question of sufficiency of nec-
essary technical data referred to the commission for a decision prior to
having the application returned.

(f) After an application is determined by the executive direc-
tor to be technically complete, the executive director shall prepare a

turn Executive Director's Decision).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602350

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812
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SUBCHAPTER D. NEAR-SHORE
DISCHARGES

30 TAC §318.60, §318.61

Statutory Authority

The rules are proposed under Texas Water Code (TWC), §5.013
which establishes the general jurisdiction of the commission;
TWC, §5.102 which provides the commission with the authority
to carry out its duties and general powers under its jurisdictional
authority as provided by TWC, §5.103; TWC, §5.103 which re-
quires the commission to adopt any rule necessary to carry out
its powers and duties under the TWC and other laws of the state;
TWC, §5.120 which requires the commission to administer the
law so as to promote judicious use and maximum conservation
and protection of the environment and the natural resources of
the state; TWC, §26.011 which provides the commission with the
authority to establish the level of quality to be maintained in, and
to control the quality of, the water in the state by subjecting waste
discharges or impending waste discharges to reasonable rules
or orders adopted or issued by the commission in the public in-
terest; TWC, §26.027 and §26.041 which authorize the commis-
sion to issue permits for the discharge of waste or pollutants into
or adjacent to water in the state, and to set standards to prevent
the discharge of waste that is injurious to the public health; and
TWC, §18.005(e) which directs the commission to adopt rules to
expedite permitting and related processes for the discharge of
both treated marine seawater and waste resulting from the de-
salination process, in accordance with TWC, Chapter 18.

The proposed rules implement TWC, §18.005 and House Bill
2031 (84th Texas Legislature, 2015).

§318.60. Applicability.

This subchapter applies to near-shore discharges from a marine seawa-
ter desalination project.

$318.61.
charges.

Wastewater discharges within three miles of any point on the coast
of Texas are governed by the Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination
System program. As such, the permitting process for these discharges
must comply with Chapters 39, 50, 55, 80, 281, and 305 of this title
(relating to Public Notice; Action on Applications and Other Autho-
rizations; Requests for Reconsideration and Contested Case Hearings;
Public Comment; Contested Case Hearings; Applications Processing;
and Consolidated Permits). The executive director will make every
reasonable effort to expedite the administrative and technical reviews,
including the use of email for correspondence.

Application Review and Processing for Near-Shore Dis-

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 13, 2016.

TRD-201602351

Robert Martinez

Director, Environmental Law Division

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 239-6812
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TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC
ACCOUNTS

CHAPTER 3. TAX ADMINISTRATION
SUBCHAPTER O. STATE AND LOCAL SALES
AND USE TAXES

34 TAC §3.369

The Comptroller of Public Accounts proposes amendments to
§3.369, concerning sales tax holiday--certain energy star prod-
ucts.

This section is being amended to implement Senate Bill 1356,
84th Legislature, 2015, which added Tax Code, §151.3335 to
provide a sales tax exemption for certain water-efficient prod-
ucts sold during a limited period. Sales of certain water-con-
serving products and products that have been designated as
a WaterSense certified product under the WaterSense program
operated by the United States Environmental Protection Agency
are exempt from sales and use tax if sold during the 3-day pe-
riod each May described by Tax Code, §151.333. Additional
non-substantive revisions are made throughout the section for
clarity and consistency with other sales tax holiday provisions.

The title of §3.369 is amended to reference the exemption for
certain water-conserving and WaterSense products.

The definition of "energy-efficient product" provided in subsec-
tion (a)(1) is amended to add subparagraphs (A) - (H) and to
specify the definition is limited to the list of items provided in
those paragraphs. This list of specific items is currently included
under the definition of "qualifying products" provided in subsec-
tion (a)(5).

The definition of "layaway" in paragraph (4) is amended by delet-
ing the last sentence to make the definition consistent with the
definition of the term in other sections of this title addressing
sales tax holiday provisions.

The definition of "qualifying products” provided in paragraph (5)
is amended to include water-conserving and WaterSense prod-
ucts. The definition is also amended to delete the list of specific
energy-efficient items, as it is now provided in subsection (a)(1).

New paragraph (7) defines the term "water-conserving product"
and includes examples of water-conserving products. Subpara-
graphs (7)(C) and (D) explain when items are used in a business
or trade and are not water-conserving products for purposes of
this section. New paragraph (8) defines the term "WaterSense
product." Both definitions are based on Tax Code, §151.3335.

Subsection (b)(4) is amended for readability and consistency
with other sales tax holiday provisions. No substantive change
is intended.

Subsection (c)(1) is amended to specify that sales of energy-ef-
ficient items other than those specifically included in subsection
(a)(1) are taxable and do not qualify for an exemption under this
section.

Paragraph (2) is added to specify that sales of products that con-
serve water but do not fall within the definition of water-conserv-
ing products in subsection (a)(7) are taxable and do not qualify
for the exemption under this section. Subsequent paragraphs
are renumbered accordingly.

Renumbered paragraph (3) is amended to replace the term "En-
ergy Star qualified products" with the defined term "qualifying
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products" to make clear that repair and replacement parts for
WaterSense and water-conserving products, as well as Energy
Star qualified products, do not qualify for the sales tax exemp-
tion.

Renumbered paragraphs (4), (5), and (6) are amended to make
the paragraphs easier to read. No substantive change is in-
tended.

Subsection (f)(2)(B) is amended to provide that nontaxable
charges for energy-efficient or WaterSense products must be
separately stated from charges for taxable nonresidential repair
and remodeling. Products that may conserve water but are
installed on nonresidential property do not meet the definition of
a water-conserving product and do not qualify for exemption.

Subsection (g)(1) is amended to specify that an exemption or re-
sale certificate is not required for purchases of energy-efficient
or WaterSense products by real estate developers, dealers, ser-
vice providers, and contractors.

Paragraph (2) is added to require a purchaser to issue a resale
certificate in lieu of tax, even during the exemption period, for
purchases of water-conserving products that are resold to cus-
tomers or incorporated into real property under a separated con-
tract.

Paragraph (3) is added to specify an exemption or resale cer-
tificate may not be provided for products that will be incorpo-
rated into real property under a lump sum contract because such
products do not meet the definition of water-conserving products.
Subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

New paragraph (4) includes language previously under para-
graph (1) and corrects a grammatical error.

Renumbered paragraph (5) addresses items held in inventory.
Subparagraphs (A) and (B) are amended to add WaterSense
products and provides in subparagraph (B) that use tax is due
on products purchased tax-free as water-conserving products
that no longer meet the definition of water-conserving products
because they are incorporated into real property under a lump
sum contract.

Subsection (i) is amended to correct a grammatical error and to
make the subsection easier to read.

Subsection (j) is amended to include provisions in existing sub-
section (n) addressing purchases by means other than in per-
son and to address WaterSense and water-conserving products.
The subsection is amended for consistency with other sales tax
holiday provisions.

Subsection (I) is amended for consistency with other sales tax
holiday provisions. Paragraphs (1) and (2) are amended to
delete language that for an exchange required the qualifying
products be of the same type. Paragraph (3), addressing
exchanges for different types of qualifying products, is deleted.
Subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly.

Provisions in subsection (m) that provide for a 30-day period
during which tax cannot be refunded without documentation are
deleted as the requirement is not limited to 30 days.

Provisions of subsection (n) relating to purchases by means
other than in person are incorporated into subsection (j). Sub-
section (n) is deleted. Subsequent subsection (0) is relettered
accordingly. The existing provision of relettered subsection (n) is
moved to new paragraph (1) and applies to energy-efficient and
WaterSense products. Paragraph (2) is added to specify that a

seller is not required to obtain an exemption certificate for items
listed as examples of water-conserving products in subsection
(a)(7). A seller should obtain an exemption certificate for items
that are not listed as examples but may be used in a manner
that qualifies as a water-conserving product.

Tom Currah, Chief Revenue Estimator, has determined that for
the first five-year period the rule will be in effect, there will be no
significant revenue impact on the state or units of local govern-
ment.

Mr. Currah also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the rule is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as
a result of enforcing the rule will be by conforming the rule to
current statutes. This rule is proposed under Tax Code, Title 2,
and does not require a statement of fiscal implications for small
businesses. There is no significant anticipated economic cost to
individuals who are required to comply with the proposed rule.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Teresa G.
Bostick, Director, Tax Policy Division, P.O. Box 13528, Austin,
Texas 78711-3528. Comments must be received no later than
30 days from the date of publication of the proposal in the Texas
Register.

The section is proposed under Tax Code, §111.002 (Comptrol-
ler's Rules; Compliance; Forfeiture), which provides the comp-
troller with the authority to prescribe, adopt, and enforce rules
relating to the administration and enforcement of the provisions
of Tax Code, Title 2.

The amendment implements Tax Code, §151.3335 (Water-Effi-
cient Products).

$3.369.  Sales Tax Holiday--Certain Energy Star Products, Certain
Water-Conserving Products, and WaterSense Products.

(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used
in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context
clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Energy-efficient product--A product that has been des-
ignated as an Energy Star qualified product under the Energy Star pro-
gram jointly operated by the United States Environmental Protection
Agency and the United States Department of Energy and that is an:[<]

(A) air conditioner priced at $6,000 or less (room and
central units);

(B) clothes washer;

(C) ceiling fan;

(E) dishwasher;

(F) incandescent or fluorescent light bulb;

(G) programmable thermostat; or

(H) refrigerator (including a mini-fridge) priced at
$2,000 or less.

(2) Exchange--The act of giving or taking one thing in re-
turn for another.

(3) Exemption period--The period beginning at 12:01 a.m.
on the Saturday preceding the last Monday in May (Memorial Day)
and ending at 11:59 p.m. on the last Monday in May.

(4) Layaway sales--A transaction in which merchandise is
set aside for future delivery to a person who makes a deposit, agrees
to pay the balance of the purchase price over a period of time, and, at
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the end of the payment period, receives the merchandise. [An erder
items from normal inventory or elearly identifies the items as sold te
the persen:]

(5) Qualifying products--Energy-efficient, water-conserv-
ing, and WaterSense products eligible for exemption from sales and
use tax if purchased, leased, or rented during the exemption period.
[desetibed in paragraph (3) of this subsection as established under Tax
Code; §4§H33—Quahﬁy+&g produets are limited to the following en-

[(A) air conditioners priced at $6,000 or less (room and
central units);]
clothes washers;]
dehumidifiers;}
incandescent or fluorescent light bulbs;]
programmable thermestats; and}
ncludi nifrid priced at

EICICICICIGEC

$2,000 or fess:}

(6) Rain check--A document assuring that a person can
take advantage of a sale or special offer made by a seller at a later time
if the item offered is not available.

(7) Water-conserving product--

(A) tangible personal property that is used on residen-
tial property and is not used for business or trade, and when used or
planted in an outdoor residential property, may result in:

(i) water conservation or groundwater retention;

(ii) _water table recharge; or

(iii) adecrease in ambient air temperature that limits
water evaporation.
(B) Examples of water-conserving products include:

(i) asoaker or drip-irrigation hose;

(ii) a moisture control for a sprinkler or irrigation

system,

iii) mulch;

(iv) _arain barrel or an alternative rain and moisture
collection system;

(v) a permeable ground cover surface that allows
water to reach underground basins, aquifers, or water collection points;

(vi) _grasses, plants, shrubs, and trees; and

(vii) water-saving surfactants designed to help water
penetrate the soil.
(C) Products purchased by a business, including an

apartment complex or nursing home, are used for business or trade
and are not water-conserving products.

(D) Products that are incorporated into real property un-
der a lump-sum contract are used for business or trade by the person
improving the real property and are not water-conserving products.

(8) WaterSense product--A product that has been desig-
nated as a WaterSense certified product under the WaterSense program

operated by the United States Environmental Protection Agency, or a
similar successor program.

(b) Exempt sales.

(1) Sales or use tax is not due on the sale of a qualifying
product if the sale takes place during the exemption period.

(2) There is no limit to the number of qualifying products
one can purchase exempt from sales tax during the exemption period.

(3) The exemption applies to each qualifying product sold
during the exemption period, regardless of how many qualifying prod-
ucts are sold on the same invoice to a person. For example, if a per-
son purchases two refrigerators for $1,800 each, then both refrigerators
qualify for the exemption, even though the person's total purchase price
($3,600) exceeds $2,000.

(4) Qualifying products may be rented or leased tax-free,
including under a "rent to own" contract, if the rental or lease con-
tract is executed during the exemption period. [Rentals and leases of
qualifying produets; including "rent to own'" contracts; qualify for ex-
emption when the contract for the rental or lease is entered into during
the exemption peried:] The exemption applies only to the specified
rental or lease period designated by the contract. Extensions or re-
newals of rental or lease contracts do not qualify for the exemption
unless executed [the contraet is renewed or extended] during the ex-
emption period.

(c) Taxable sales. The exemption under this section does not

apply to:

(1) products designated as Energy Star products under the
Energy Star program that are [#tems] not specifically identified in sub-
section (a)(1)[€5)] of this section[; including other types of energy-effi-
eient produets such as home insulation materials; water heaters; elothes
dryers; attic fans; heat pumps; wine refrigerators; kegerators; freezers;
or residential beverage ehillers];

(2) products that may conserve water but that do not meet
the definition of a water-conserving product provided in subsection
(a)(7) of this section;

(3) [€2)] repair or replacement parts for qualifying [Energy
Star qualified] products that are used to repair or remodel products al-
ready owned by a person and that do not otherwise qualify for exemp-
tion. For example, an individual may own a central air conditioner with
a faulty compressor. The individual cannot obtain the exemption on the
purchase of a new Energy Star qualified compressor;

(4) [3)] [the first $6,000 of] an Energy Star qualified air
conditioner that sells for more than $6,000. For example, if a person
purchases an Energy Star qualified air conditioner that costs $6,055,
then sales tax is due on the entire $6,055;

(5) [4)] [the first $2,000 of] an Energy Star qualified re-
frigerator that sells for more than $2,000. For example, if a customer
purchases an Energy Star qualified refrigerator that costs $2,055, then
sales tax is due on the entire $2,055;

(6) [65] system components sold individually. Qualifying
products must be sold as a unit in order to qualify for the exemption.
The components cannot be priced separately and sold as individual
items in order to obtain the exemption. For example, central air condi-
tioners must be priced at $6,000 or less and [must be] sold as a unit in
order to qualify for the exemption. If an Energy Star qualified central
air conditioner sells for $7,000, the entire $7,000 charge is subject to
tax and cannot be split into separate charges for a compressor, metering
device, evaporator coil and blower in order to qualify for the exemp-
tion; and
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(7) [€6)] disposal fees charged for the removal of old appli-
ances. Disposal or "haul away" fees charged for the removal of an old
appliance are taxable as a waste removal service.

(d) Sales of pre-packaged combinations containing both ex-
empt and taxable items.

(1) When a qualifying product is sold together with taxable
merchandise in a pre-packaged combination or single unit, the full price
is subject to sales tax unless the price of the qualifying product is sep-
arately stated. For example, a clothes washer and clothes dryer sold as
a "set" for a single price is taxable if the washer and dryer are separate
appliances. A separately stated charge for the Energy Star rated wash-
ing machine is eligible for the sales tax exemption during the holiday
period. Tax is due on the dryer. An Energy Star rated combination
washer and dryer unit that is designed to be sold as a single unit and
that cannot be sold separately will, however, qualify for the exemption.

(2) When a qualifying product is sold in a pre-packaged
combination that also contains a taxable item as a free gift, and no ad-
ditional charge is made for the gift, the qualifying product may qualify
for the exemption under this section. For example, the sale of a dish-
washer may include a free bottle of rinse aid. If the price of the set is
the same as the price of the dishwasher sold separately, the product that
is being sold is the dishwasher, which is exempt from tax if sold during
the exemption period. Note: When a retailer gives a taxable item away
free of charge, the retailer owes sales or use tax on the purchase price
that the retailer paid for the item. See §3.301 of this title (relating to
Promotional Plans, Coupons, Retailer Reimbursement).

(e) Delivery charges.

(1) Air conditioners and refrigerators. Delivery charges
that are billed by the seller to the purchaser are included as part of
the total sales price of a qualifying product, regardless of whether the
charges are separately stated, and as such must be considered when
determining whether air conditioners and refrigerators qualify for the
exemption. The addition of delivery charges to the retail price of a re-
frigerator or air conditioner will cause the loss of the exemption if the
total price exceeds the applicable cap. For example, assume a person
purchases an Energy Star qualified refrigerator priced at $1,985. The
charge to deliver the refrigerator is $25, causing the total sales price to
be $2,010. Since the total sales price of the refrigerator exceeds $2,000,
the refrigerator does not qualify for the exemption, and tax is due on
the total sales price of $2,010.

(2) Items other than air conditioners and refrigerators. De-
livery charges that are billed by the seller to the purchaser are exempt
if the product sold is exempt. For example, delivery fees billed in con-
nection with the sale of a qualifying energy-efficient dishwasher during
the exemption period are exempt.

(3) "Peritem" delivery fees. Delivery charges billed on a
"per item" basis must be properly allocated when a delivery to the same
person contains both exempt and taxable items. Except as provided
in paragraph (4) of this subsection, if multiple items are shipped on
a single invoice, the delivery charges must be allocated to each item
ordered and separately identified on the invoice. For example, assume
that a person purchases a qualifying clothes washer tax-free during the
exemption period. The same person also purchases a clothes dryer,
which does not qualify for the exemption. The retailer charges the
person an additional fee of $25 per appliance for delivery. The $25
delivery fee connected to the delivery of the qualifying clothes washer
is exempt from sales tax, but the $25 fee connected to the delivery of
the clothes dryer is subject to tax.

(4) "Flatrate" delivery fees. If the delivery charge is a flat
rate per delivery address, and the amount charged is the same regardless

of how many items are included in the delivery, for purposes of the
exemption, the total charge may be attributed to one of the items in the
delivery rather than proportionately allocated between the items. The
delivery fee can be allocated to either an exempt qualifying product
or a taxable product. The following examples illustrate the way these
charges should be handled.

(A) Delivery fee allocated to exempt item. Assume a
seller charges a flat fee of $50 per customer address for delivery re-
gardless of the number of items delivered to that address and during
the exemption period, a person purchases an Energy Star qualified re-
frigerator priced at $1,900, a taxable stove and a taxable microwave.
The seller may attribute the $50 delivery charge to the sale of the re-
frigerator bringing the sales price of the refrigerator to $1,950. The
refrigerator sales price does not exceed $2,000, so it still qualifies for
the exemption. The seller does not have to allocate the delivery charge
between the refrigerator, stove and microwave. The sales invoice must
clearly identify that the delivery charge was attributed to the exempt
item and must separately state the tax due on the taxable items.

(B) Delivery fee allocated to taxable item. Assume a
seller charges a flat fee of $50 per customer address for delivery re-
gardless of the number of items delivered to that address and during
the exemption period, a person purchases an Energy Star qualified re-
frigerator priced at $1,975 and a taxable stove. The seller may attribute
the entire $50 delivery charge to the sale of the stove, thus allowing the
total sales price of the refrigerator to remain $1,975. Since the refriger-
ator sales price does not exceed $2,000 it still qualifies for the exemp-
tion. The seller does not have to allocate the delivery charge between
the refrigerator and stove. The sales invoice must clearly identify that
the delivery charge was attributed to the taxable stove and must sepa-
rately state the tax due on the taxable item.

(f) Installation charges. A charge for the installation of a qual-
ifying product purchased during the exemption period qualifies for ex-
emption only if the item remains tangible personal property after in-
stallation. If the product becomes real property after installation, the
charge for installation labor may be taxable or nontaxable depending
on whether the product is installed in residential or nonresidential prop-
erty or as part of a new construction contract.

(1) Tangible personal property. Products that are
free-standing or mobile, such as clothes washers, dehumidifiers, re-
frigerators, portable dishwashers and window or room air conditioning
units are tangible personal property. If qualifying tangible personal
property retains its identity as tangible personal property after instal-
lation, the installation charge billed by the seller of the item becomes
part of the sales price of the item. As part of the sales price, an
installation charge billed by the seller qualifies for the exemption, even
if the installation is performed after the exemption period. If however,
the charge for installation of an Energy Star qualified refrigerator,
which remains tangible personal property after installation, causes the
total sales price to exceed $2,000, the entire charge of the refrigerator,
delivery and installation, is taxable.

(2) Improvements to real property. Items such as pro-
grammable thermostats, central air conditioning units, ceiling fans
and built-in refrigerators and dishwashers that are plumbed, wired or
otherwise permanently attached to a building structure are improve-
ments to real property. For items that become improvements to real
property, the taxability of the installation labor is determined by the
type of jobsite: residential, new construction or nonresidential repair
or remodeling.

(A) Residential and new construction. No tax is due on
charges for labor to install items such as ceiling fans, programmable
thermostats or central air conditioning units in residential property or
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during a new construction project. See §3.291 of this title (relating to
Contractors).

(B) Nonresidential repair and remodeling. Nonresiden-
tial repair and remodeling is a taxable service. Therefore, tax is due
on charges for labor to install ceiling fans, built-in appliances, pro-
grammable thermostats and central air conditioning units in existing
nonresidential real property, regardless of when the installation is per-
formed. Charges for installation labor performed on existing nonresi-
dential real property should be separately stated on the invoice from the
sales price of [the] qualifying energy-efficient or WaterSense products.
Separately stated charges for products that may conserve water but that
are not water-conserving products because they are installed in nonres-
idential real property are taxable [produet]. A lump sum charge for the
purchase of a qualifying product and installation labor is subject to tax
as the purchase of nonresidential repair and remodeling. See §3.357 of
this title (relating to Nonresidential Real Property Repair, Remodeling,
and Restoration; Real Property Maintenance).

(g) Purchases by real estate developers, dealers, service
providers and contractors. Real estate developers, dealers, service
providers and contractors may purchase qualifying products tax-free
during the sales tax holiday as discussed in this subsection.

(1) An exemption or resale certificate is not required for
purchases of energy-efficient or WaterSense products.[; and there]

(2) A resale certificate must be provided for purchases of
water-conserving products that will be subsequently resold to cus-
tomers or incorporated into customers' real property under a separated
contract.

(3) An exemption certificate or resale certificate may not
be provided for purchases of products that may conserve water but will
be incorporated into real property under a lump-sum contract.

(4) There is no limit to the number of qualifying products
a person [suech persens] may purchase tax-free during the exemption
period.

(5) [©)]Held in inventory. Qualifying products purchased
tax-free during the exemption period may be held in inventory until
ready for use as discussed in this subsection.

(A) No use tax is due if an energy-efficient product or
WaterSense [a qualifying] product purchased tax free during the ex-
emption period by a contractor, developer, etc., is subsequently incor-
porated into the realty of a contractor's customer under a lump sum
contract for new construction or residential repair and remodeling. See
§3.291 of'this title. Use tax is due on products that may conserve water
but do not meet the definition of water-conserving products provided
in subsection (a)(7) of this section because the products were incorpo-
rated into real property under a lump sum contract.

(B) Sales tax is due on sales of energy-efficient or Wa-
terSense [gualifyring] products transferred to customers as part of a non-
residential repair and remodeling contract preformed after the exemp-
tion period. Nonresidential repair and remodeling service providers are
responsible for collecting sales tax from customers on sales of energy-
efficient or WaterSense [qualifyring] products under a separated con-
tract or under a lump sum contract for nonresidential repair and re-
modeling, unless the transaction (the sale of the energy-efficient or
WaterSense [qualifying] product) between the customer and service
provider, dealer or contractor occurs during the exemption period un-
der a separated contract. See §3.357 of this title.

(h) Discounts and coupons. An Energy Star qualified air con-
ditioner must be priced at $6,000 or less in order to qualify for the ex-
emption. An Energy Star qualified refrigerator must be priced at $2,000

or less to qualify for the exemption. A seller may offer a discount or
a coupon that reduces the sales price of an Energy Star qualified air
conditioner or refrigerator. A discount or a coupon affects the appli-
cation of the exemption as explained in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this
subsection. The total sales price of the product includes delivery and
installation charges as explained in subsections (e) and (f) of this sec-
tion. See §3.301 of this title.

(1) Discounts. If a discount reduces the sales price of an
Energy Star qualified air conditioner to $6,000 or less, or reduces the
sales price of an Energy Star qualified refrigerator to $2,000 or less, the
air conditioner or refrigerator qualifies for the exemption under this sec-
tion. For example, a person buys an Energy Star qualified free-standing
refrigerator that has a sales price of $2,050, including shipping, han-
dling and installation of tangible personal property, from a seller who
offers a 10% discount. After application of the 10% discount, the final
sales price of the refrigerator is $1,845. The refrigerator is exempt be-
cause its sales price does not exceed $2,000.

(2) Coupons. When sellers accept a manufacture's or other
coupon as a part of the sales price of any taxable item, the value of the
coupon reduces the sales price, the same as a cash discount, regardless
of whether the retailer is reimbursed for the amount that the coupon
represents. Therefore, a coupon can be used to reduce the sales price
of an Energy Star qualified air conditioner to $6,000 or less, or to re-
duce the sales price of an Energy Star qualified refrigerator to $2,000
or less. The item then qualifies for exemption under this section. For
example, a person buys an Energy Star qualified free-standing refriger-
ator that has a sales price of $2,050, including shipping, handling and
installation of tangible personal property, with a coupon worth $100.
After application of the $100 coupon, the sales price of the refrigerator
is $1,950. The refrigerator is exempt because its sales price does not
exceed $2,000.

(i) Rebates.

(1) Rebates given at the time of sale. [Retailer rebates:]
Rebates provided by a seller are cash discounts when given at the
time of sale and as such are excludable from the tax base. The rebate
[discount], like a discount when taken at the time of the sale, is a re-
duction in the amount subject to tax.

(2) Rebates that occur after the sale. Rebates that are paid
to a purchaser after the exemption period do not affect the sales price
of an item purchased for purposes of determining whether an item
qualifies for exemption under this section. [Third party and manu-
facturer rebates: Third party and manufacturer rebates oceur after the
sale and do not change the sales price of an item and therefore; do not
full amount of the sales price; before the rebate; is used to determine
whether the exemption applies:] The full amount of the sales price, be-
fore the rebate, is used to determine whether the exemption applies. For
example, if a person purchases an Energy Star qualified air conditioner
for $6,050 and receives a $300 mail-in rebate from the manufacturer,
the seller must collect tax on the $6,050 sales price of the air condi-
tioner.

(j) Layaway sales and purchases by means other than in per-
son. [The sale of a qualifying product under a layaway plan qualifics
for exemption when either:]

(1) the sale of an energy-efficient product, WaterSense
product, or water-conserving product under a layaway plan or pur-
chased by mail, telephone, email, internet, custom order, or any other
means other than in person qualifies for exemption when: [final pay-
during the exemption period; or]
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(A) the purchaser places the item on layaway during the
exemption period and the seller accepts the order for immediate deliv-
ery upon full payment, even if delivery is made after the exemption

period;

(B) the purchaser places the order and the seller accepts
the order during the exemption period for immediate shipment, even if
delivery is made after the exemption period; or

(C) final payment on a layaway order is made by, and
the merchandise is given to, the purchaser during the exemption period.

(2) For purposes of this subsection, the seller accepts an
order when the seller has taken action to fill the order for immediate
shipment. Actions to fill an order include placement of an "in date"
stamp on a mail order, or assignment of an "order number" to a tele-
phone order. An order is for immediate shipment notwithstanding that
the shipment may be delayed because of a backlog of orders or because
stock is currently unavailable to, or on back order by, the seller. [the
purchaser seleets the qualifying produet and the seller aceepts the order
full payment; even if delivery is made after the exemption period:]

(k) Rain checks. Qualifying products that are purchased dur-
ing the exemption period with use of a rain check qualify for the exemp-
tion regardless of when the rain check was issued. However, issuance
of arain check during the exemption period will not cause the purchase
of a qualifying product to be exempt if the item is actually purchased
after the exemption period.

() Exchanges.

(1) If a person purchases a qualifying product during the
exemption period, and, after the exemption period has ended, ex-
changes the item for a [the same type of] qualifying product of equal or
lesser value, no additional tax is due. For example, a person purchases
a $60 qualifying dehumidifier during the exemption period. After
the exemption period, the person exchanges it for a $60 qualifying
dehumidifier of a different brand. Tax is not due on the $60 sales price
of the new dehumidifier.

(2) If a person purchases a qualifying product during the
exemption period, and after the exemption period has ended, exchanges
the product for a [the same type of] qualifying product of greater value,
tax is due on the difference between the prices of the two products.
For example, assume a person purchases a $60 qualifying dehumidifier
during the exemption period. After the exemption period, the person
exchanges it for [a] $70 in qualifying light bulbs [dehumidifier]. Tax
is due on the $10 difference between the two sales prices.

[(3) If a person purchases a qualifying product during the
the product for a different type of qualifying product, tax is due on the
original sales price of the qualifying product the person obtained in the
exchange. For example, assume a person purchases a $60 qualifying
dehumidifier during the exemption period. After the exemption period,

(3) [4)] If a person purchases a qualifying product during
the exemption period, and after the exemption period has ended, ex-
changes the products for a nonqualifying item, tax is due on the original
sales price of the nonqualifying item. For example, assume a person
purchases a $60 qualifying dehumidifier during the exemption period.
After the exemption period, the person exchanges it for a $60 nonquali-
fying microwave. Tax is due on the $60 sales price of the nonqualifying
microwave.

(4) [€5)] If a person purchases a qualifying product before
the exemption period, but, during the exemption period, returns the
product and receives credit on the purchase of a different qualifying
product, no sales tax is due on the sale of the new product if the new
item is purchased during the exemption period. For example, assume a
person purchases a $60 qualifying dehumidifier before the exemption
period. During the exemption period, the person returns the dehumidi-
fier and receives credit on the purchase of a $70 qualifying ceiling fan.
No tax is due on the sale of the ceiling fan if it is purchased during the
exemption period.

(m) Returned merchandise. When [Eer a 30-day period after
the exemption period; when] a person returns an item that would qual-
ify for the exemption, no credit for or refund of sales tax shall be given
unless the person provides a receipt or invoice that shows tax was paid,
or the retailer has sufficient documentation to show that tax was paid
on the specific item.

Monday in May and ends 30 calendar days later with no exclusions for
weekend days or helidays}

H2) This 30-day period is set solely for the purpese of des-
ignating a time period during which the purchaser must provide doeu-
mentation that shows that sales tax was paid on returned merchandise-
The 30-day period is not intended to change a retailer's policy on the
time period during which the retailer will aceept returns-

Hn) Purchases by means other than in person: A qualifying
product purchased by mail; telephone; email; Internet or custom order
[(1) the item is both transferred to and paid for by the per-

son during the exemption period; or]

H2) the person orders and pays for the item and the seller
an order when the seller has taken action to fill the order for immediate
shipment. Actions to fill an order include placement of an "in date”
stamp on a mail order; or assignment of an "order number" to a tele-
does not request delayed shipment. An order is for immediate ship-
ment notwithstanding that the shipment may be delayed because of a
backlog of orders or because stoek is currently unavailable to; or on
back order by the seller.]

(n) [$e)] Documenting exempt sales.

(1) A seller is not required to obtain an exemption certifi-
cate on sales of energy-efficient or WaterSense [qualifyring] products
during the exemption period; however, the retailer's records should
clearly identify the type of item sold, the date on which the item was
sold, and the sales price of the item.

(2) A seller is not required to obtain an exemption cer-
tificate on sales of items identified as examples of water-conserving
products in subsection (a)(7)(B) of this section; however, the retailer's
records should clearly identify the type of item sold, the date on which
the item was sold, and the sales price of the item. A seller should ob-
tain an exemption certificate on sales of items that do not clearly meet
the definition of a water-conserving product.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.
TRD-201602383
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Lita Gonzalez

General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387

¢ ¢ ¢

TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE

PART 19. DEPARTMENT OF FAMILY
AND PROTECTIVE SERVICES

CHAPTER 711. INVESTIGATIONS OF
INDIVIDUALS RECEIVING SERVICES FROM
CERTAIN PROVIDERS

The Health and Human Services Commission proposes,
on behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Ser-
vices (DFPS), amendments to §§711.1, 711.5, 711.7, 711.11,
71113, 71117, 711.19, 711.21, 711.23, 711.201, 711.403,
711.419, 711.423, 711.603, 711.609, 711.611, 711.613, 711.801,
and 711.802; the repeal of §§711.3, 711.9, 711.15, 711.25,
711.401, 711.405, 711.407, 711.409, 711.411, 711.605, 711.607,
711.1001 - 711.1003, 711.1005, 711.1007, 711.1009, 711.1011 -
711.1013, 711.1015, 711.1201, 711.1203, 711.1205, 711.1207,
and 711.1209; and new §§711.3, 711.401, 711.405, 711.605,
711.804, 711.806, 711.901, 711.903, 711.905, 711.907, 711.909,
711.911, 711.913, and 711.915 in Chapter 711, concerning
Investigations in Department of Aging and Disability Services
(DADS) and Department of State Health Services (DSHS)
Facilities and Related Programs. The purpose of the amend-
ments, new rules, and repeals is to implement Senate Bills
(SB) 760 and 1880, 84th Legislature (Adult Protection Ser-
vices (APS) Scope and Jurisdiction Bills), which expanded the
APS Provider (formerly APS Facility) program's jurisdiction
to investigate abuse, neglect, and exploitation. These bills
ensure continued State of Texas compliance with the Center for
Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) requirements for the
health and welfare of recipients of home and community-based
services (HCBS). The bills (1) expanded the authority of APS to
investigate, inter alia, all home and community-based service
providers whether providing services in a traditional or managed
care service delivery model, (2) clarified and addressed the
gaps and inconsistencies that resulted from evolving service
delivery changes and changes in contracting arrangements,
and (3) updated statutory language and requirements related to
provider and agency responsibilities.

These amendments, new rules, and repeals implement APS's
expanded jurisdiction and modify existing rules to reflect such ex-
pansion, as applicable. These rules will take effect on Septem-
ber 1, 2016. The updates in Chapter 711 will implement statutory
changes as required by the APS Scope and Jurisdiction Bills.

A summary of the changes are as follows:

DFPS is changing the chapter title to Investigations of Individ-
uals Receiving Services from Certain Providers: (1) conforms
with the name used in the APS Scope and Jurisdiction Bills; and
(2) reflects APS's expanded authority to investigate individuals
receiving services from certain providers.

Amendment to §711.1: (1) updates the purpose to align the sec-
tion with APS Scope and Jurisdiction Bills; and (2) describes
APS's expanded investigatory authority.

Section 711.3 is being repealed and new §711.3 updates terms
and abbreviations to align with APS Scope and Jurisdiction bills
and other clarifications made in this rule proposal including: di-
rect provider, facility, home and community-based services, in-
dividual receiving services, limited service provider, non-seri-
ous physical injury, provider, serious physical injury, and service
provider.

Amendment to §711.5: (1) updates and clarifies what APS in-
vestigates; (2) deletes provision on sexual exploitation as it is
subsumed within the definition of sexual abuse; and (3) deletes
the term "person served" and uses statutory term "individual re-
ceiving services" instead to define whom can be an alleged vic-
tim.

Amendment to §711.7: (1) updates and clarifies what APS does
not investigate; (2) deletes confusing examples; (3) expands ex-
clusion of investigating business or operational issues related to
managed care or consumer directed services; and (4) expands
exclusion of investigating clinical issues to all licensed profes-
sionals rather than just specific ones.

The repeal of §711.9 deletes guidance that will be written into
policy as it was confusing and rarely applicable.

Amendment to §711.11: (1) updates and clarifies language to
more appropriately align with APS Scope and Jurisdiction Bills;
and (2) expands rule citations for restraints for new providers
resulting from APS expanded authority.

Amendment to §711.13: (1) updates and clarifies language to
more appropriately align with APS Scope and Jurisdiction Bills;
and (2) updates the definition of sexual exploitation as part of
sexual abuse definition in subsection (a)(8).

The repeal of §711.15 moves the content of the rule into
§711.13(a)(8) as part of the sexual abuse definition.

Amendment to §711.17 updates and clarifies language to more
appropriately align with APS Scope and Jurisdiction Bills.

Amendment to §711.19 updates language to more appropriately
align with APS Scope and Jurisdiction Bills, and clarifies confus-
ing examples.

Amendment to §711.21: (1) updates and clarifies who is an al-
leged perpetrator of exploitation to align with APS Scope and
Jurisdiction Bills; and (2) expands definition of exploitation to in-
clude attempted exploitation and theft in a home or community
setting other than HCS and TxHml waiver programs.

Amendment to §711.23: (1) updates and clarifies language to
more appropriately align with APS Scope and Jurisdiction Bills;
(2) clarifies what is not considered abuse, neglect, or exploita-
tion; and (3) expands rule citations for new providers resulting
from APS expanded authority.

Section 711.25 is repealed because it expires September 1,
2016.

Amendment to §711.201: (1) clarifies reporting requirements;
and (2) maintains one hour notification for facilities, community
centers, local authorities, and HCS/TxHmL waiver programs.

Section 711.401 is repealed and new §711.401: (1) updates the
notification chart of whom APS notifies following an intake of an
allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploitation; and (2) updates the
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requirements for APS notification to providers, law enforcement,
and the Office of Inspector General (OIG).

Amendment to §711.403 clarifies steps taken when a general
complaint is received.

Section 711.405 is repealed and new §711.405 clarifies what ac-
tion is taken if the alleged perpetrator is a licensed professional.

The repeal of §§711.407, 711.409 and 711.411 consolidates all
affected rules into §711.405.

Amendment to §711.419 clarifies who is notified of investigation
extensions.

Amendment to §711.423 updates terms related to unknown per-
petrator and system issues.

Amendment to §711.603 clarifies what is included in the investi-
gation report.

Section 711.605 is repealed and new §711.605 clarifies and up-
dates who receives the investigation report.

The repeal of §711.607 moves the content of the rule §711.605.

Amendmentto §711.609 and §711.611 updates and clarifies how
the reporter and alleged victim, guardian, or parent are notified
of the finding and how to appeal.

Amendment to §711.613 clarifies when the report can be re-
leased by the service provider.

Amendment to §711.801 and §711.802 clarifies: (1) what steps
an investigator takes if an individual receiving services from an
HCS waiver program provider requires emergency protective
services; and (2) what steps an investigator takes if an individual
receiving services from an ICF-IID provider requires emergency
protective services.

New §711.804 and §711.806 identifies what steps an investiga-
tor takes if an individual, adult or child, living in an HCS waiver
provider home but not receiving HCS waiver services requires
emergency protective services.

New Subchapter J, Appealing the Investigation Finding, provides
rules for appealing the investigation finding.

New §711.901 defines and describes an appeal of the investiga-
tion finding.

New §711.903 clarifies how an appeal of the investigation finding
affects an act of reportable conduct.

New §711.905 clarifies who may request an appeal of the inves-
tigation finding.

New §711.907 describes how a qualified party requests an ap-
peal of the investigation finding.

New §711.909 describes the timeline for an appeal of the inves-
tigation finding.

New §711.911 describes how and when an appeal of the inves-
tigation finding is conducted.

New §711.913 describes the process for the administrator of a
state-operated facility to contest a decision of the APS Assistant
Commissioner.

New §711.915 describes when a finding may be changed without
an appeal of the investigation finding.

The repeal of Subchapter K consists of §§711.1001, 711.1002,
711.1003, 711.1005, 711.1007, 711.1009, 711.1011, 711.1012,

711.1013, and 711.1015: the substance of this subchapter has
been maintained but has been updated, consolidated, and clar-
ified for APS's expanded authority in new Subchapter J.

The repeal of Subchapter M consists of §§711.1201, 711.1203,
711.1205, 711.1207, and 711.1209: the substance of this sub-
chapter has been maintained but has been updated, consoli-
dated, and clarified for APS's expanded authority in new Sub-
chapter J.

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that
for the first five-year period the proposed sections will be in effect
there will be fiscal implications for state or local government as
a result of enforcing or administering the sections.

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first
five years the sections are in effect the public benefit anticipated
as a result of enforcing the sections will be that the expanded
authority of DFPS to investigate abuse, neglect, and exploitation
of individuals receiving services from certain providers. Due
to needed additional staffing and technology, the estimated
impact on state government and appropriated funding levels
is $1,603,723 for Fiscal Year (FY) 2016, $1,712,345 FY 2017,
$1,712,345 FY 2018, $1,712,345 FY 2019, and $1,712,345 FY
2020. The impact on federal government will be $333,585 FY
2016, $370,716 FY 2017, $370,716 FY 2018, $370,716 FY
2019, and $370,716 FY2020. Upon implementation, actual ex-
perience has yielded higher caseloads than originally assumed
resulting in additional costs to the state. The fiscal impact of
these additional costs cannot be estimated at this time. There
will be no effect on large, small, or micro-businesses because
the proposed change does not impose new requirements on
any business and does not require the purchase of any new
equipment or any increased staff time in order to comply. There
is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to
comply with the proposed sections.

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed sections do not re-
strict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that would
otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, there-
fore, do not constitute a taking under §2007.043, Government
Code.

Questions about the content of the proposal may be di-
rected to Lauren Villa at (512) 438-3803 in DFPS's Legal
Division.  Electronic comments may be submitted to Lau-
ren.Villa@dfps.state.tx.us. Written comments on the proposal
may be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Ser-
vices-552, Department of Family and Protective Services E-611,
P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, within 30 days of
publication in the Texas Register.

SUBCHAPTER A. INTRODUCTION

40 TAC §§711.1, 711.3, 711.5, 711.7, 711.11, 711.13, 711.17,
711.19, 711.21, 711.23

The new section and amendments are proposed under Human
Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services
Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation
and provision of services by the health and human services
agencies, including the Department of Family and Protective
Services; and HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family
and Protective Services Council shall study and make rec-
ommendations to the Executive Commissioner and the DFPS
Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of services
to persons who are served or regulated by the department.
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The new section and amendments implement HRC Chapter 48,
as amended by S.B. 1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F,
§8§48.251 - 48.258 and Family Code §261.404.

§711.1. What is the purpose of this chapter?

The purpose of this chapter is to:

(1) implement [the] Human Resources Code (HRC), Chap-
ter 48, Subchapter F, [§48-255(a) and (¢) and §48.355(¢);] and Texas
Family Code §261.404[; which require the Texas Department of Eamily
and Protective Services (DEPS) to develop joint rules with the Texas
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to facilitate investiga-
tions in DADS and DSHS facilities and related programs:|;

(2) describe [Adult Protective Services investigations of al-
legations invelving adults and ehildren in the following pregrams]:

(A) Adult Protective Services (APS) investigations of
allegations of abuse, neglect, and exploitation involving:

(i) adults or children receiving services from a
provider, as that term is defined in HRC §48.251(9), if the person
alleged or suspected to have committed the abuse, neglect, or exploita-

(A) 18 years of age or older; or

(B) under 18 years of age who:

(i) is or has been married; or

(i) has had the disabilities of minority removed pur-
suant to the Texas Family Code, Chapter 31.

(2) Alleged perpetrator--A direct provider alleged to have
committed an act of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.

(3) APS--Adult Protective Services, a division of DFPS.

(4) Agent--An individual (e.g., student, volunteer), not em-
ployed by but working under the auspices of a service provider.

(5) Allegation--A report by an individual that an individual
receiving services has been or is in a state of abuse, neglect, or exploita-
tion as defined by this subchapter.

(6) Child--A person under 18 years of age who:

(A) is not and has not been married; or

(B) has not had the disabilities of minority removed
pursuant to the Texas Family Code, Chapter 31.

tion is a provider;
(i) adults or children who live in a residence

(7) Clinical practice--Relates to the demonstration of pro-
fessional competence of a licensed professional as described by the

that is owned, operated, or controlled by a provider in the home

appropriate licensing professional board.

and community-based services (HCS) waiver program described
by §534.001(11)(B), Government Code, regardless of whether the
individual is receiving services under the home and community-based
services (HCS) waiver program; and

(iii) _ children receiving services from a home and

(8) Community center--A community mental health cen-
ter; community center for individuals with intellectual or developmen-
tal disabilities; or community mental health center and community cen-
ter for individuals with intellectual or developmental disabilities, es-
tablished under the Health and Safety Code, Title 7, Chapter 534, Sub-

community support services agency licensed under Chapter 142,

chapter A.

Health and Safety Code, if the person alleged or suspected to have
committed the abuse, neglect, or exploitation is an officer, employee,
agent, contractor, or subcontractor of the home and community support
services agency; and

(B) that APS does not investigate allegations if the
provider alleged or suspected to have committed the abuse, neglect, or

(9) Consumer Directed Services (CDS) employer--A con-
sumer directed services client or their legally authorized representative.

(10) DADS--Department of Aging and Disability Services.

(11) Designated Perpetrator--A direct provider who has
committed an act of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.

exploitation is operated, licensed, or certified, or registered by a state
agency that has the authority to investigate a report of abuse, neglect,
or exploitation of an individual by the provider;

HE) community eenters:}
with intell | disabilitios and related it JCE-HD): and]
HE) a contractor or agent of one of the programs listed
in subparagraphs (A) - (E) of this paragraph:}

(3) define abuse, neglect, and exploitation for investiga-
tions conducted under Human Resources Code, Chapter 48, Subchap-
ter F and Texas Family Code §261.404 [of a person served by the pro-
grams listed in paragraph (2) of this seetion];

(4) - (5) (No change.)

§711.3.  How are the terms in this chapter defined?

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, have the

(12) Direct Provider--A person, employee, agent, contrac-
tor, or subcontractor of a service provider responsible for providing
services to an individual receiving services.

(13) DFPS--Department of Family and Protective Ser-

vices.

(14) DSHS--Department of State Health Services.

(15) Emergency order for protective services--A court or-
der for protective services obtained under Human Resources Code,

§48.208.
16) Facility--

(A) DADS and DSHS central offices, state supported
living centers, state hospitals, the Rio Grande State Center, the Waco
Center for Youth, the El Paso Psychiatric Center, and community ser-
vices operated by DADS or DSHS;

(B) A person contracting with a health and human ser-
vices agency to provide inpatient mental health services; and

(C) Intermediate care facilities for individuals with an
intellectual disability or related conditions (ICF-IID) licensed under
Chapter 252, Health and Safety Code.

following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) Adult--An adult is a person:

(17) HHSC--Texas Health and Human Services Commis-

sion.
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(18) Home and community-based services--Have the
meaning given to them in §48.251(a)(5) as services provided in the

(28) Perpetrator--A direct provider who has committed or
alleged to have committed an act of abuse, neglect, or exploitation.

home or community in accordance with 42 U.S.C. §1315, 42 U.S.C.
§1315a, 42 U.S.C. §1396a, or 42 U.S.C. §1396n.

(19) Home and community-based services (HCS) waiver

(29) Preponderance of evidence--Evidence which is of
greater weight or more convincing than the evidence which is offered
in opposition to it; that is, evidence which as a whole shows that the

program--The Medicaid program authorized under §1915(c) of the fed-

fact sought to be proved is more probable than not.

eral Social Security Act (42 U.S.C. §1396n(c)) for the provision of ser-
vices to persons with an intellectual or developmental disability de-
scribed by §534.001(11)(B), Government Code.

(20) Home and community support services agency (HC-

(30) Prevention and management of aggressive behavior
(PMAB)--DADS and DSHS' proprietary risk management program
that uses the least intrusive, most effective options to reduce the risk
of injury for persons served and staff from acts or potential acts of

SSA)--An agency licensed under Chapter 142, Health and Safety Code.

(21) ICF-IID--A licensed intermediate care facility for in-
dividuals with an intellectual disability or related conditions as de-
scribed in Chapter 252, Health and Safety Code.

(22) Incitement--To spur to action or instigate into activity;
the term implies responsibility for initiating another's actions.

(23) Individual receiving services--

(A) An adult or child who receives services from a

aggression.
(31) Provider--A provider is:
(A) afacility;

(B) a community center, local mental health authority,
and local intellectual and developmental disability authority;

(C) aperson who contracts with a health and human ser-
vices agency or managed care organization to provide home and com-
munity-based services;

provider as that term is defined in §48.251(a)(9), Human Resources
Code.

(B) An adult or child who lives in a residence that is
owned, operated, or controlled by an HCS waiver program provider
regardless of whether the individual is receiving HCS waiver program
services; or

(C) A child receiving services from a HCSSA.

(24) Investigator--An employee of Adult Protective Ser-
vices who has:

(A) demonstrated competence and expertise in con-
ducting investigations; and

(B) received training on techniques for communicating
effectively with individuals with a disability.

(25) Limited Service Provider--An entity that contracts
with a service provider to provide services.

(26) Local authority--Either:

(A) a local mental health authority designated by the
HHSC executive commissioner in accordance with §533.035, Health
and Safety Code, and as defined by §531.002, Health and Safety Code;
or

(B) alocal intellectual and developmental disability au-
thority designated by the HHSC executive commissioner in accordance
with §533A.035, Health and Safety Code, and as defined by §531.002,
Health and Safety Code.

(27) Non-serious physical injury--

(A) In state supported living centers and state hospitals
only, any injury requiring minor first aid and determined not to be seri-
ous by a registered nurse, advanced practice registered nurse (APRN),
or physician.

(B) For all other service providers any injury de-
termined not to be serious by the appropriate medical personnel.
Examples of non-serious physical injury include:

(i) _superficial laceration;

(i) _contusion two and one-half inches in diameter or

smaller; or

(iii) _abrasion.

(D) a person who contracts with a Medicaid managed
care organization to provide behavioral health services;

(E) amanaged care organization;

(F) an officer, employee, agent, contractor, or subcon-
tractor of a person or entity listed in subparagraphs (A) - (E) of this

paragraph; and
(G) an employee, fiscal agent, case manager, or service

coordinator of an individual employer participating in the consumer-
directed service option, as defined by §531.051, Government Code.

(32) Reporter--The person, who may be anonymous, mak-
ing an allegation.

(33) Serious physical injury--

(A) In state supported living centers and state hospitals
only, any injury requiring medical intervention or hospitalization or
any injury determined to be serious by a physician or APRN. Medical
intervention is treatment by a licensed medical doctor, osteopath, podi-
atrist, dentist, physician's assistant, or APRN. For the purposes of this
subchapter, medical intervention does not include first aid, an exami-
nation, diagnostics (e.g., x-ray, blood test), or the prescribing of oral or
topical medication;

(B) For all other service providers, any injury deter-
mined to be serious by the appropriate medical personnel. Examples
of serious physical injury include:

(i) fracture;

(ii) dislocation of any joint;

(iii) _internal injury;

(iv) _contusion larger than two and one-half inches in

diameter;

(vi) second or third degree burn; or

(vii) any laceration requiring sutures or wound clo-
sure.

(34) Service Provider--A provider, HCSSA, or HCS
waiver program provider responsible for employing, contracting with,
or supervising the direct provider.
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(35) Texas Home Living (TxHmL) waiver program--The
Medicaid program authorized under §1915(c) of the federal Social
Security Act (42 U.S.C. §1396n(c)) for the provision of services to
persons with an intellectual or developmental disability described by
§534.001(11)(D), Government Code.

(36) Sexually transmitted disease--Any infection with or
without symptoms or clinical manifestations that can be transmitted
from one person to another by sexual contact.

(37) Victim--An individual receiving services who is al-
leged to have been abused, neglected, or exploited.

§711.5.

What does APS investigate under this chapter?

(a) When the alleged perpetrator is a direct provider, [an em-
ployee; contractor; agent;] or is unknown, and the alleged victim is an
individual receiving services [a person served], APS investigates alle-
gations of:

(1)-(2) (No change.)
(3) [f4] verbal/emotional abuse;
4) [65)] neglect; and

(5) [6)] exploitation.
(b) APS also investigates:

(1) pregnancy of an individual receiving services from [a
persen served by| a facility or facility contractor if there is:

(A) medical verification that conception could have oc-
curred while the individual receiving services [persen served] was a
resident of the facility or facility contractor; and

(B) a reasonable expectation that conception occurred
while the individual [persen] was a resident of the facility or facility
contractor;

(2) sexually transmitted disease (STD) of an individual re-
ceiving services from [a person served by] a facility or facility con-
tractor, if the individual [perser] could have acquired the STD while a
resident of the facility or facility contractor; and

(3) injury of unknown origin if [the] appropriate medical
personnel, after examining the individual receiving services [petsen
served], suspect the injury is the result of abuse or neglect.

§711.7.

What does APS not investigate under this chapter?
APS does not investigate:

(1) (No change.)

(2) general complaints[;] such as:

(A) [a] rights violations [vielatien];

(B) daily administrative operations;

{B) theft of property;}

D) failure to carry out a person served's program or
treatment plan; that dees not result in a speeific incident or allegation
involving a person served; or}

KE) failure to maintain adequate numbers of appropri-
ately trained staff that does not result in a speeifie ineident or allegation
inveolving a person served:}

HE) failure to provide care or services to a person
served that dees net result in emotional or physieal harm to the persen
and that is determined not to place the person at risk for harm:}

HG) situations in which a staff member other than the

responsible staff member provided eare or supervision to the person
served and no harm came to the person served; or]

(3) operational issues related to the business of managed
care or consumer directed services; or

(4) [€3)]ifthe allegation involves only the clinical practice
of a licensed professional [physician; dentist; registered nurse; licensed
voeational nurse; or pharmaeist].

§711.11.

In this chapter, when the alleged perpetrator is a direct provider [an
employee; agent; or eontraeter|, physical abuse is defined as:

How is physical abuse defined?

(1) anactor failure to act performed knowingly, recklessly,
or intentionally, including incitement to act, which caused or may have
caused physical injury or death to an individual receiving services [a
persen served];

(2) an act of inappropriate or excessive force or corporal
punishment, regardless of whether the act results in a physical injury
to an individual receiving services [a persen served]; or

(3) theuse of chemical or bodily restraints on an individual
receiving services [a petsen served] not in compliance with federal and
state laws and regulations, including:

(A) (No change.)

(B) 25 TAC Chapter 404, Subchapter E (relating to
Rights of Persons Receiving Mental Health Services);

(C) [(B)] 40 TAC Chapter 3, Subchapter F (relating to
Restraints);

(D) 40 TAC Chapter 90, Subchapter C (relating to Stan-
dards for Licensure);

(E) 40 TAC Chapter 2, Subchapter G (relating to Role
and Responsibilities of a Local Authority);

(F) [€)] 40 TAC Chapter 9, Subchapter D (relating to
Home and Community-based Services (HCS) Program and Commu-
nity First Choice (CFC)); [and]

(G) 40 TAC Chapter 9, Subchapter N (relating to Texas
Home Living (TxHmL) Program and Community First Choice (CFC));
[and]

(H) T[] 40 TAC Chapter 97 [99], Subchapter H [€]
(relating to Standards Specific to Agencies Licensed to Provide Hos-
pice Services [for Licensure]);[-]

(I) 40 TAC Chapter 42, Subchapter D (relating to Ad-
ditional Program Provider Provisions); and

(J) 1 TAC Chapter 353, Subchapter C (Member Bill of

Rights).
§711.13.  How is sexual abuse defined?

(a) In this chapter, when the alleged perpetrator is a direct

provider [an employee; agent; or contractor], sexual abuse is defined
as any sexual activity, including but not limited to:

(1) kissing an individual receiving services [a petsen
served]| with sexual intent;

(2) hugging an individual receiving services [a persen
served] with sexual intent;
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(3) stroking an individual receiving services [a persen
served] with sexual intent;

(4) fondling an individual receiving services [a petsen
served]| with sexual intent;

(5) engaging in with an individual receiving services [a
person served]:
(A) - (B) (No change.)
(6) requesting, soliciting, or compelling an individual re-
ceiving services [a persen served] to engage in:
(A) - (B) (No change.)
(7) in the presence of an individual receiving services [a
person served]:
(A) - (B) (No change.)
(8) committing sexual exploitation. Sexual exploitation is
[as] defined as: [in §7H-15 of this title (relating to How is sexual ex-
pleitation defined?) against a persen served;]
(A) apattern, practice, or scheme of conduct against an
individual receiving services, which may include sexual contact, that

can reasonably be construed as being for the purposes of sexual arousal
or gratification or sexual abuse of any person.

(B) The term does not include obtaining information
about a patient's sexual history within standard accepted clinical prac-
tice.

(9) committing sexual assault as defined in the Texas Pe-
nal Code §22.011, against an individual receiving services [a person
served];

(10) committing aggravated sexual assault as defined in the
Texas Penal Code, §22.021, against an individual receiving services [a
person served]; and

(11) causing, permitting, encouraging, engaging in, or
allowing the photographing, filming, videotaping, or depicting of an
individual receiving services [& persen served] if the direct provider
[employee; agent; or eontractor] knew or should have known that the
resulting photograph, film, videotape, or depiction of the individual
receiving services [persen served] is obscene as defined in the Texas
Penal Code, §43.21, or is pornographic.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision in this section, con-
sensual sexual activity between a direct provider [an employee; agent;
or contraetor;] and an adult receiving services [an alleged vietim] is
not considered sexual abuse if the consensual sexual relationship began
prior to the direct provider [employee; agent; or contractor| becoming
a paid direct provider [employee; agent; or contraeter].

§711.17.  How is verbal/emotional abuse defined?

(a) In this chapter, when the alleged perpetrator is a direct
provider [an employee; agent; er eentractor|, verbal/emotional abuse
is defined as any act or use of verbal or other communication, includ-
ing gestures, to:

(1) curse, vilify, or degrade an individual receiving services
[a persen served]; or

(2) threaten an individual receiving services [a petsen
served] with physical or emotional harm.

(b) In order for the definition of verbal/emotional abuse to be
met, the act or communication must:

(1) result in observable distress or harm to the individual
receiving services [person served]; or

(2) (No change.)
§711.19.  How is neglect defined?

(a) In this chapter, when the alleged perpetrator is a direct

provider [an employee; agent; or eontractor], neglect is defined as a
negligent act or omission [by any individual responsible for providing
serviees to a persen served;| which caused or may have caused physi-
cal or emotional injury or death to an individual receiving services [a
persen served| or which placed an individual receiving services [a per-
son served] at risk of physical or emotional injury or death.

(b) Examples of neglect may include [Negleet includes], but
are [#s] not limited to, the failure to:

(1) establish or carry out an appropriate individual pro-
gram plan or treatment plan for a specific individual receiving services
[persen served], if such failure results in physical or emotional injury
or death to an individual receiving services or which placed an in-
dividual receiving services at risk of physical or emotional injury or

death [a speeifie ineident or allegation invelving a persen served];

(2) provide adequate nutrition, clothing, or health care to
a specific individual receiving services [persen served] in a residential
or inpatient program if such failure results in physical or emotional
injury or death to an individual receiving services or which placed an
individual receiving services at risk of physical or emotional injury or
death; or

(3) provide a safe environment for a specific individual re-
ceiving services [persen served], including the failure to maintain ad-
equate numbers of appropriately trained staff, if such failure results in
physical or emotional injury or death to an individual receiving services
or which placed an individual receiving services at risk of physical or
emotional injury or death [a speeific incident or allegation invelving a
persen served).

§711.21.

(a) In this chapter, when the alleged perpetrator is a direct
provider to an individual receiving services in or from a facility, lo-
cal authority, community center, or HCS waiver program or TxHmL
waiver program provider, [an employee; agent; or eontractor;] exploita-
tion:

How is exploitation defined?

(1) 1is defined as the illegal or improper act or process of
using an individual receiving services [a person served] or the resources
of an individual receiving services [a persen served] for monetary or
personal benefit, profit, or gain; and[-]

(2) excludes theft as defined in Chapter 31 of the Texas
Penal Code.

(b) In this chapter when the alleged perpetrator is a direct
provider to an individual receiving services from any other services
provider, exploitation:

(1) is defined as the illegal or improper act or process of
using or attempting to use an individual receiving services or the re-
sources of an individual receiving services for monetary or personal
benefit, profit, or gain; and

(2) includes theft as defined in Chapter 31 of the Texas Pe-
nal Code.

§711.23,

Abuse, neglect, and exploitation do not include the following:

What is not considered abuse, neglect, or exploitation?

(1) the proper use of restraints and seclusion, including
Prevention and Management of Aggressive Behavior (PMAB), and the
approved application of behavior modification techniques as described
in:
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(A) - (B) (No change.)

(C) 40 TAC Chapter 3, Subchapter F (relating to Re-
straints); [and]

(D) 40 TAC Chapter 90, Subchapter C (relating to Stan-
dards for Licensure);

(E) 40 TAC Chapter 2, Subchapter G (relating to Role
and Responsibilities of a Local Authority);

(F) 40 TAC Chapter 9, Subchapter D (relating to Home
and Community-based Services (HCS) Program and Community First

Choice (CFQC));

(G) 40 TAC Chapter 9, Subchapter N (relating to Texas
Home Living (TxHmL) Program and Community First Choice (CFC));

(H) 40 TAC Chapter 97, Subchapter H (Standards Spe-
cific to Agencies Licensed to Provide Hospice Services);

(I) 40 TAC Chapter 42, Subchapter D (relating to Ad-
ditional Program Provider Provisions); and

(J) 1 TAC Chapter 353, Subchapter C (Member Bill of

Rights).

(2) actions taken in accordance with the rules of DADS,

DSHS, or HHSC [the Texas Department of Aging and Disability Ser-
vices and the Texas Department of State Health Services]; or

(3) actions that a direct provider [an employee; contractor;
or agent| may reasonably believe to be immediately necessary to avoid
imminent harm to self, individuals receiving services [persens served],
or other individuals provided the actions are limited only to those ac-
tions reasonably believed to be necessary under the existing circum-
stances. [Such actions do not include acts of unnecessary foree or the
inappropriate use of restraints or seclusion; including PMAB-]

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602271

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803

¢ ¢ ¢
40 TAC §§711.3, 711.9, 711.15, 711.25

The repeals are proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the DFPS Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery
of services to persons who are served or regulated by the de-
partment.

The repeals implement HRC Chapter 48, as amended by S.B.
1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 - 48.258
and Family Code §261.404.

§$711.3.  How are the terms in this chapter defined?

$§711.9. How does APS determine if it has jurisdiction to investigate
in situations when a person served by the program is also an employee
of the program?

$711.15.  How is sexual exploitation defined?

$§711.25.  What effect do Senate Bill (SB) 1880 and SB 760 (84th Texas
Legislature, Regular Session) have on the jurisdiction of Adult Protec-
tive Services (APS) to investigate allegations of abuse, neglect, or ex-
ploitation of individuals receiving services from certain providers?

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602273

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. DUTY TO REPORT
40 TAC §711.201

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC Chapter 48, as amended
by S.B. 1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 -
48.258 and Family Code §261.404.

§711.201.  What is your duty to report if you are a direct provider or
service provider [are an employee; agent, or contractor of a facility:
loeal authority: connmunity center- or HCS]?

(a) If you know or suspect that any individual receiving ser-
vices [a persen served] is being or has been abused, neglected, or ex-
ploited or meets other criteria specified in §711.5 of this title (relating
to What does APS investigate under this chapter?), you must:

(1) report such knowledge or suspicion to DFPS immedi-
ately, if possible, [but in ne case meore than one hour after
or suspieton] by calling the DFPS toll-free number at 1-800-647-7418
or using [by use of] the Internet at http://www.txabusehotline.org;

(2) preserve and protect any evidence related to the allega-
tion in accordance with instructions from DFPS; and

(3) cooperate with the investigator during the investigation.

(b) For facilities, community centers, local authorities, and
HCS waiver program and TxHmL waiver program providers, the report
made under subsection (a)(1) of this section must be made no more than
one hour after knowledge or suspicion of abuse, neglect, or exploita-
tion of an individual receiving services.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602274

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER E. CONDUCTING THE
INVESTIGATION
40 TAC §§711.401, 711.405, 711.407, 711.409, 711.411

The repeals are proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the DFPS Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery
of services to persons who are served or regulated by the de-
partment.

The repeals implement HRC Chapter 48, as amended by S.B.
1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 - 48.258
and Family Code §261.404.

§711.401.  Who and when does the investigator notify of an allegation
and when is the identity of the reporter revealed?

§711.405.  What action does the investigator take if the alleged per-
petrator is a physician, dentist, registered nurse, licensed vocational
nurse, or pharmacist for a state-operated facility or a licensed ICF-1ID
that maintains a peer review committee?

$711.407.  What action does the investigator take if the alleged per-
petrator is a licensed professional other than a physician, dentist, reg-
istered nurse, licensed vocational nurse, or pharmacist for a facility?
$711.409.  What action does the investigator take if the alleged per-
petrator is a physician, dentist, registered nurse, licensed vocational
nurse, or pharmacist for a community center, local authority, licensed
ICF-IID without a peer review committee, or HCS?

$§711.411.  What action does the investigator take if the alleged perpe-
trator is a licensed professional other than a physician, dentist, regis-
tered nurse, licensed vocational nurse, or pharmacist for a community
center, local authority, licensed ICF-1ID, or HCS?

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602275

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803

¢ ¢ ¢
40 TAC §§711.401, 711.403, 711.405, 711.419, 711.423

The amendments and new sections are proposed under Hu-
man Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services
Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation and
provision of services by the health and human services agencies,
including the Department of Family and Protective Services; and
HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective
Services Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the DFPS Commissioner regard-
ing rules governing the delivery of services to persons who are
served or regulated by the department.

The amendments and new sections implement HRC Chapter 48,
as amended by S.B. 1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F,
§8§48.251 - 48.258 and Family Code §261.404.

§711.401.  Who and when does the Investigator notify for allegations
of abuse, neglect, or exploitation and when is the identity of the reporter
revealed?

(a) For all allegations of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of an
individual receiving services, the investigator makes the following no-
tifications, as appropriate:

Figure: 40 TAC §711.401(a)

(b) For notifications described in subsection (a) of this section,
the identity of the reporter is revealed only if the alleged perpetrator is
a mental health service provider and the allegation is sexual exploita-
tion in accordance with Chapter 81, Texas Civil Practice and Remedies
Code.

(c) The investigator notifies law enforcement within one hour
of receipt of the allegation by DFPS and reveals the identity of the
reporter for:

(1) any allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploitation involv-
ing a child; and
(2) any allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploitation involv-

ing an individual receiving services believed to constitute a criminal
offense under any law.

(d) The investigator notifies the Office of Inspector General
within one hour of receipt of the allegation by DFPS and reveals the
identity of the reporter for any allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploita-
tion believed to constitute a criminal offense under any law involving
an individual receiving services:

(1) in a state supported living center;

(2) the ICF-IID component of the Rio Grande State Center;

(3) in a state hospital.

$§711.403.  Who and when does the investigator notify upon receiving
an allegation that relates to a general complaint?

Within 24 hours or the next working day following receipt of an alle-
gation that relates to a general complaint, as described in §711.7(2) of
this title (relating to What does APS not investigate under this chap-
ter?), the investigator makes notifications per §711.401(a) of this title
(relating to Who and when does the investigator notify for allegations
of abuse, neglect, or exploitation and when is the identity of the re-
porter revealed?) if the service provider is identified at intake [netifies
the administrator of the general complaint|.

§711.405.  What action does the investigator take if the alleged per-
petrator is a licensed professional?
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(a) The investigator determines whether the allegation
involves clinical practice by consultation with an appropriate profes-
sional, and in state hospitals, in accordance with 25 TAC §417.509
(relating to Peer Review).

(b) Ifthe allegation is determined to involve clinical practice,
the investigator refers the allegation to the service provider for peer
or professional review. If the service provider does not have a peer
or professional review process, the investigator refers the allegation to
the service provider as well as the appropriate professional licensing
board.

(c) Ifthe allegation is determined to not involve clinical prac-
tice, the investigator investigates the allegation.

(d) If there are multiple allegations, the investigator refers
any allegation involving clinical practice to the service provider for
peer/professional review and investigates any allegation not involving

clinical practice.

§711.419.  What if the investigator cannot complete the investigation
on time?

(a) Ifadditional time is required to complete the investigation,
the investigator must request an extension by submitting an Extension
Request form to the appropriate [regional] APS program administrator.

(b) The [regional] APS program administrator may grant an
extension for good cause for one to 14 calendar days depending on the
needs of the investigation.

(c) The investigator must notify the service provider
[administrater] of all extensions.

$§711.423.  Is the investigator required to designate a perpetrator or
alleged perpetrator?

(a) (No change.)

(b) The perpetrator is [investigator indicates] "perpetrator un-
known" when a positive identification of the responsible person(s) can-
not be made.

(c) The perpetrator is [investigator indieates] "systems issue"
when the investigator determines [it is determined] that the lack of es-

tablished policy or procedure contributed to the abuse, neglect, or ex-
ploitation.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602276

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER G. RELEASE OF REPORT AND
FINDINGS
40 TAC §§711.603, 711.605, 711.609, 711.611, 711.613

The amendments and new section are proposed under Human
Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services

Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation
and provision of services by the health and human services
agencies, including the Department of Family and Protective
Services; and HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family and
Protective Services Council shall study and make recommen-
dations to the Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner
regarding rules governing the delivery of services to persons
who are served or regulated by the department.

The amendments and new section implement HRC Chapter 48,
as amended by S.B. 1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F,
§848.251 - 48.258 and Family Code §261.404.

§711.603.  What is included in the investigative report?

The investigative report includes the following:

(1) - (4) (No change.)

(5) concerns and recommendations, if any, resulting from
the investigation;

(6) - (7) (No change.)

(8) the physician's exam and treatment of abuse/neglect re-

lated injuries documented on the DADS or DSHS Client Injury/Inci-
dent Report for state supported living centers or state hospitals [{state-

operated faeilities only)];
(9)- (10) (No change.)
(11) asigned and dated Client Abuse and Neglect Report

(AN-1-A) form, as appropriate, reflecting the information contained in
paragraphs (4), (6), and (7) of this section.

§711.605.

Who receives the investigative report?

(a) The investigator sends a copy of the investigative report to:

(1) The notification contact identified in §711.401(a) of this
title (relating to Who and When does the investigator notify for allega-
tions of abuse, neglect, or exploitation and when is the identity of the
reporter revealed?) with the identity of the reporter revealed in accor-
dance with §711.401(b);

(2) The appropriate health and human service agency in-

cluding:

(A) HHSC for investigations involving managed care
organization members;

(B) DADS State Office, if the investigation involves:

(i) A state supported living center;

(ii) An HCS waiver program or TxHmL waiver pro-
gram providers; or

(iii) Licensed ICF-IID; and
(C) DSHS State Office, if the investigation involves:

(i) Youth Empowerment Services (YES) waiver
program, the waiver authorized under 1915¢ of the Social Security
Act; or

(i) Home and Community-based Services-Adult
Mental Health Program (HCBS-AMH), the program authorized under
19151 of the Social Security Act;

(3) The DADS Assistant Commissioner of state supported
living centers (SSLC) or the DSHS Assistant Commissioner for Mental
Health and Substance Abuse Services or their designee for an investi-
gation in a facility, as applicable;
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(4) Local law enforcement when an individual receiving
services has been abused, neglected, or exploited in a manner that con-
stitutes a criminal offense under any law, including Texas Penal Code

§22.04;

(5) The Office of the Inspector General when an individual

(F) [€5)] for licensed ICFs-1ID--40 TAC Chapter 90,
Subchapter G (relating to Abuse, Neglect, and Exploitation; Complaint
and Incident Reports and Investigations); and[-]

(2) For all other service providers, the investigator makes
the notification within 5 business days following the date the investi-

receiving services at a state hospital, SSLC, or ICF-1ID component of

gation report was signed and dated by the investigator.

the Rio Grande State Center has been abused, neglected, or exploited
in a manner that constitutes a criminal offense under any law; and

(6) The state office of Adult Protective Services for any
confirmed finding against a licensed professional except for investiga-
tions involving licensed professionals employed at a state hospital or
state supported living center.

(b) The state office of APS forwards a copy of the report re-
ceived under subsection (a)(6) of this section to the appropriate profes-
sional licensing board.

(c) A provider who contracts with a managed care organiza-
tion must forward any completed investigation report received under
subsection (a) of this section to the managed care organization with
which the provider contracts for services for the alleged victim.

(d) Law enforcement or a prosecutor may request that DFPS
delay the release of the investigative report, or may request that DFPS
delay forwarding a copy of the report to the appropriate licensing au-

thority.

$§711.609. Is [How and when is] the reporter notified of the finding
and the method to appeal, and if so, how?

Yes; the reporter is notified [Within 30 calendar days of completion] of

the finding of the investigation and the method to appeal the finding.

Thel[; the] investigator makes the notification within 5 business days of

completion of the investigation. [netifies the reperter in writing of the:]
[D) finding of the i igation: and]

$§711.611. Is the victim or alleged victim, guardian, or parent notified

of the finding and the method to appeal, and if so, how?

Yes; the[- Fhe] victim or alleged victim, guardian, or parent (if the
victim or alleged victim is a child) is notified of the finding of the in-
vestigation and the method to appeal the finding.[5]

(1) For facilities, community centers, local authorities, and
HCS waiver program or TxHmL waiver program providers providing
services to an individual enrolled in the HCS or TxHmL waiver pro-
grams, the notification is made in accordance with the following rules
of DADS and DSHS:

(A) [€D] for state hospitals and the mental health ser-
vices of the Rio Grande State Center--25 TAC §417.510 (relating to
Completion of the Investigation);

(B) [)] for state supported living centers and the ICF-
IID component of the Rio Grande State Center--40 TAC §3.305(c) (re-
lating to Completion of an Investigation);

(C) [#3)] for local authorities and community centers-
-25 TAC §414.555 and 40 TAC §4.555 (relating to Information To Be
Provided to Victim or Alleged Victim and Others);

(D) [4] for HCS waiver programs--40 TAC Chapter 9,
Subchapter D (relating to Home and Community-based Services (HCS)
program; [and]

(E) for TxHmL waiver programs--40 TAC Chapter 9,
Subchapter N (relating to Texas Home Living (TxHmL) program); or

§711.613. Can the investigative report be released by a service

provider [the State Supported Living Centers, the State Hospitals,
licensed ICFs-11D, local authorities, or HCSs]?

Upon request, the investigative report (with any information concealed
that would reveal the identities of the reporter and any individual re-
ceiving services [persen served]| who is not the victim or alleged victim)
may be released:

(1) by a facility [for facilities and their contraetors;] to:

(A) the victim or alleged victim, guardian, or parent (if
the victim or alleged victim is a child), in accordance with 25 TAC
§417.511(b) (relating to Confidentiality of Investigative Process and
Report), and 40 TAC §3.305(k) (relating to Completion of an Investi-
gation); and [; ef]

(B) the perpetrator in accordance with 25 TAC
§417.512(d) (relating to Classifications and Disciplinary Actions) and
40 TAC §3.305(e);

(2) by a [fer] local authority or [autherities;] community
center [eenters; and their respeetive contraetors] to:

(A) (No change.)

(B) the perpetrator or alleged perpetrator; [by the ad-
ministrator or contractor CEO; and]

(3) for HCS waiver program or TxHmL waiver program
providers providing services to an individual enrolled in the HCS
waiver program or TxHmL waiver programs [HESs and their eontrae-
tors;] to the victim or alleged victim, guardian, or parent (if the victim
or alleged victim is a child), in accordance with 40 TAC Chapter
9, Subchapter D (relating to Home and Community-based Services
(HCS) Program) and 40 TAC Chapter 9, Subchapter N (relating to
Texas Home Living (TxHmL) Program); and[-]

(4) for all other service providers, the investigative report
shall not be released except in accordance with §711.605(c) of this
chapter (relating to Who receives the investigative report?).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602277

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803

¢ ¢ ¢

40 TAC §711.605, §711.607

The repeals are proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
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of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the DFPS Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery
of services to persons who are served or regulated by the de-
partment.

The repeals implements HRC Chapter 48, as amended by S.B.
1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 - 48.258
and Family Code §261.404.

$711.605.  Who receives the investigative report?

§711.607.  Does the investigator reveal the identity of the reporter in
the investigative report released to the administrator, contractor CEO,
or Consumer Rights and Services?

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602278

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER I. PROVISION OF SERVICES
40 TAC §§711.801, 711.802, 711.804, 711.806

The amendments and new sections are proposed under Hu-
man Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services
Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation and
provision of services by the health and human services agencies,
including the Department of Family and Protective Services; and
HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective
Services Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendments and new sections implement HRC Chapter 48,
as amended by S.B. 1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F,
§8§48.251 - 48.258 and Family Code §261.404.

$§711.801.  What action does the investigator take if an individual en-
rolled in the HCS waiver program receiving services from [a person
served by] an HCS waiver program provider needs emergency ser-
vices?

(a) If the investigator determines that an individual receiving
HCS waiver program services from [a persen served by] an HCS
waiver program provider is in immediate threat of serious physical
harm or death as a result of abuse, neglect, or exploitation, then
the investigator requests that the HCS waiver program provider, if
appropriate, [te] take action to remove the threat of physical harm or
death. In deciding whether it is appropriate to request that the HCS
waiver program provider take action, the investigator considers the
following factors at a minimum:

(1) the ability of the HCS waiver program provider to take
action in a timely manner;

(2) (No change.)

(3) setting/location [leeation] of the HCS waiver program
provider [site]; and

(4) (No change.)

(b) If the investigator determines that it is not appropriate to
request that the HCS waiver program provider [te] take action, or if
the HCS waiver program provider does not respond appropriately to a
request, then the investigator utilizes the resources of the APS In-home
staff to provide emergency services necessary to prevent serious phys-
ical harm or death.

(c) The investigator informs DADS Office of Consumer
Rights and Services of the investigator's determination that an indi-
vidual enrolled in the HCS waiver program receiving services from
an HCS waiver program provider [a persen served by an HES] was
in immediate threat of serious physical harm or death as a result of
abuse, neglect, or exploitation, within 24 hours or the next working
day of such determination.

§711.802.  What action does the investigator take if an individual re-
ceiving services from [a person served by| a licensed ICF-IID needs
emergency services?

(a) If the investigator determines that an individual receiving
services from [a person served by] a licensed ICF-IID is in immediate
threat of serious physical harm or death as a result of abuse, neglect, or
exploitation, then the investigator requests that the licensed ICF-IID, if
appropriate, [te] take action to remove the threat of physical harm or
death. In deciding whether it is appropriate to request that the licensed
ICF-IID take action, the investigator considers the following factors at
a minimum:

(1) - (4) (No change.)

(b) If the investigator determines that it is not appropriate to
request the licensed ICF-IID to take action or if the licensed ICF-IID
does not respond appropriately to a request, then the investigator
contacts DADS [the Department of Aging and Disability Services
BAPS)] Regulatory division and provides DADS with all infor-
mation that DFPS believes makes it necessary for DADS to file a
petition for temporary care and protection of a resident. If DADS
determines, based on information from the DFPS investigator, that
immediate removal is necessary to protect the resident from further
abuse, neglect, or exploitation, DADS will file the petition.

§711.804.  What action does the investigator take if an adult lives in
a residence that is owned, operated, or controlled by an HCS waiver
program provider but does not receive HCS waiver services and needs
emergency services?

(a) If the investigator determines that an adult who lives in a
residence that is owned, operated, or controlled by an HCS waiver pro-
gram provider but does not receive HCS waiver services is in immedi-
ate threat of serious physical harm or death as a result of abuse, neglect,
or exploitation, then the investigator requests that the HCS waiver pro-
gram provider, if appropriate, take action to remove the threat of phys-
ical harm or death. In deciding whether it is appropriate to request that
the provider take action, the investigator considers the following fac-
tors at a minimum:

(1) ability of the provider to take action in a timely manner;

(2) identity of the alleged perpetrator;

(3) setting of the service provision; and

(4) type of action needed to remove the threat.

(b) If the investigator determines that it is not appropriate to
request that the HCS waiver program provider take action or if the HCS
waiver program provider does not respond appropriately to a request,
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then the investigator utilizes the resources of the APS In-home staff to
provide emergency services necessary to prevent serious physical harm
or death.

§$711.806.  What action does the investigator take if a child lives in

The new sections implement HRC Chapter 48, as amended
by S.B. 1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 -
48.258 and Family Code §261.404.

§711.901.  What is an appeal of the investigation?

a residence that is owned, operated, or controlled by an HCS waiver
program provider but does not receive HCS waiver services and needs

(a) An appeal is a challenge of the findings of the investiga-
tion, as described in §711.421 of this chapter (relating to What are the

emergency services?

(a) If the investigator determines that a child who lives in a
residence that is owned, operated, or controlled by an HCS waiver pro-
gram provider but does not receive HCS waiver services is in immedi-
ate threat of serious physical harm or death as a result of abuse, neglect,

possible findings of an investigation?) by a qualified party, as described
by §711.905 of this chapter (relating to Who may request an appeal of

the investigation?).

(b) An appeal may not challenge the determination of whether
a confirmation rises to the level of reportable conduct for purposes of

or exploitation, then the investigator requests that the HCS waiver pro-

the Employee Misconduct Registry.

gram provider, if appropriate, take action to remove the threat of phys-
ical harm or death. In deciding whether it is appropriate to request that
the HCS waiver program provider take action, the investigator consid-
ers the following factors at a minimum the:

(1) ability of the provider to take action in a timely manner;

(2) identity of the alleged perpetrator;

(3) setting/location of the HCS waiver program provider;

(c) There are two levels of appeal:

(1) The first level of appeal is conducted by the Director of
Provider Investigations or their designee, or a reviewer designated by
the Assistant Commissioner of APS.

(2) If a qualified party disagrees with the decision of the
first appeal, the qualified party may further appeal. This second appeal
is conducted by a reviewer designated by the Assistant Commissioner

and

(4) type of action needed to remove the threat.

(b) Ifthe investigator determines that it is not appropriate to re-
quest that the HCS waiver program provider take action or if the HCS
waiver program provider does not respond appropriately to a request,

of APS.

(d) The determination resulting from the second appeal is final
and cannot be appealed by any qualified party except Disability Rights
Texas.

$711.903.  How is an appeal affected by a determination that the per-

then the investigator contacts the parent, legally authorized representa-

petrator's confirmed act of abuse, neglect, or exploitation may rise to

tive, or Child Protective Services (CPS) conservator.

(c) If the parent or legally authorized representative does not
respond appropriately to a request, the investigator makes a case-re-
lated special request for services to CPS.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602279

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER J. APPEALING THE
INVESTIGATION FINDING

40 TAC §§711.901, 711.903, 711.905, 711.907, 711.909,
711.911, 711.913, 711.915

The new sections are proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Services
Council shall study and make recommendations to the Exec-
utive Commissioner and the DFPS Commissioner regarding
rules governing the delivery of services to persons who are
served or regulated by the department.

the level of reportable conduct?

An appeal that is described in this subchapter is not affected by a de-
termination that the confirmed act(s) of abuse, neglect, or exploitation
may rise to the level of reportable conduct. The designated perpetra-
tor will not receive notice about their right to request an EMR hearing
until the timeframe for all appeals described in this subchapter have ex-
pired, or until the second appeal is completed and a confirmed finding
that rises to the level of reportable conduct is upheld.

$711.905.  Who may request an appeal of the investigation?
(a) In order to be a qualified party to request an appeal, you
must be:

(1) the administrator of the service provider or their attor-

ney;
(2) the CDS employer or their legal representative;

(3) the reporter;

(4) the victim or alleged victim, or the legal guardian or
parent (if the victim or alleged victim is a child); or

(5) Disability Rights Texas, only if Disability Rights Texas
represents the victim or alleged victim or is authorized by law to rep-
resent the victim or alleged victim.

(b) An alleged or designated perpetrator may not request an
appeal even if they are otherwise a qualified party. An alleged or des-
ignated perpetrator may not coerce a CDS employer into requesting an
appeal on their behalf.

§711.907.  How does a qualified party request an appeal?

(a) To request an appeal, the qualified party must complete ei-
ther the DFPS' "Request for Appeal of an APS Provider Investigation"
form or "Appeal Addendum," as appropriate to the level of appeal,
and send the completed form either via email to APS Provider Ap-
peals@dfps.state.tx.us or via mail to APS Provider Appeals, Adult Pro-
tective Services Division, Department of Family and Protective Ser-
vices, P.O. Box 149030, E-561, Austin, Texas, 78714-9030.
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(b) The victim, alleged victim, legal guardian, parent (if the
victim or alleged victim is a child), and reporter may request an appeal
by calling DFPS toll-free at 1-888-778-4766.

§711.909.  What is the timeline for requesting an appeal?
(a) To request a first level appeal:

(1) Service providers may request an appeal no later than
the 30th calendar day following the date the investigative report was
signed and dated by the investigator;

(2) Reporters, alleged victims, and legal guardians may re-
quest an appeal no later than the 60th calendar day following the date
the investigative report was signed and dated by the investigator;

(3) Disability Rights Texas may request an appeal no later
than the 60th calendar day following the date the investigative report
was signed and dated by the investigator; and

(4) DFPS may accept a request for appeal after the deadline
for good cause as determined by DFPS.

(b) To challenge the decision from the first level appeal, a qual-
ified party has 30 calendar days following the date the appeal decision

letter is signed.

$711. 911.  How and when is the appeal conducted?

(a) A firstlevel appeal is conducted by the Director of Provider
Investigations or their designee, or a reviewer designated by the Assis-
tant Commissioner of APS, who:

(1) analyzes the investigative report and the methodology
used to conduct the investigation and makes a decision to sustain, alter,
or reverse the original finding;

(2) completes the review within 14 calendar days after re-
ceipt of the request; and

(3) notifies the appeal requestor of the appeal decision; and

(4) as appropriate, notifies the service provider, victim,
and/or reporter if the finding changed.

(b) A secondary appeal is conducted by a reviewer designated
by the Assistant Commissioner of APS, who:

(1) analyzes the investigative report and makes a decision
to sustain, alter, or reverse the original finding;

(2) completes the review within 14 calendar days after re-
ceipt of the request; and

(3) notifies the appeal requestor of the appeal decision; and

(4) as appropriate, notifies the service provider, victim,
and/or reporter if the finding changed.

§711.913.  What if the administrator of a state-operated facility dis-
agrees with the secondary appeal decision?

If the administrator of a state-operated facility disagrees with the sec-
ondary appeal decision, as referenced in §711.911(b) of this chapter
(relating to How and when is the appeal conducted?), then they may
contest the decision in accordance with 25 TAC §417.510(g)(2) (relat-
ing to Completion of the Investigation) and 40 TAC §3.305(b) (relating
to Completion of an Investigation).

$§711.915.  Is a finding ever changed without an appeal?

DFPS, in its sole discretion, may designate a person to conduct a re-
view of the investigation records or reopen an investigation to collect
additional evidence. If a review of the records and any additional in-
vestigating results in a change of the finding, DFPS will notify the ap-
propriate parties in writing.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602280

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER K. REQUESTING A
REVIEW OF FINDING IF YOU ARE THE
ADMINISTRATOR OR CONTRACTOR CEO

40 TAC §§711.1001 - 711.1003, 711.1005, 711.1007,
711.1009, 711.1011 - 711.1013, 711.1015

The repeals are proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the DFPS Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery
of services to persons who are served or regulated by the de-
partment.

The repeals implement HRC Chapter 48, as amended by S.B.
1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 - 48.258
and Family Code §261.404.

§711.1001. What if the administrator or contractor CEO wants to
request a review of the finding or the methodology used to conduct the
investigation?

§711.1002. How is a request for review affected by a determination
that the perpetrator's confirmed act of abuse, neglect, or exploitation
may rise to the level of reportable conduct?

§711.1003.  How is a review as described in §711.1001 of this title
(relating to What if the administrator or contractor CEO wants to re-
quest a review of the finding or the methodology used to conduct the
investigation?) requested?

$§711.1005.  Is there a deadline to request a review?

§711.1007. How is the review of a finding conducted?

$711.1009. How is the review of the methodology conducted?
§711.1011.  What if the administrator or contractor CEO wants to
challenge the methodological review decision(s) made by the regional
APS program administrator?

§711.1012. Is there a deadline for the administrator or contractor
CEO to challenge the methodological review decision(s) made by the
regional APS program administrator?

§711.1013. What if the administrator of a state-operated facility dis-
agrees with the finding review decision?

§711.1015.  Is a finding ever changed without a request for review of
finding or methodology?

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.
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Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602281

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER M. REQUESTING AN APPEAL
IF YOU ARE THE REPORTER, ALLEGED
VICTIM, LEGAL GUARDIAN, OR WITH
DISABILITY RIGHTS TEXAS

40 TAC §§711.1201, 711.1203, 711.1205, 711.1207, 711.1209

The repeals are proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the DFPS Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery
of services to persons who are served or regulated by the de-
partment.

The repeals implement HRC Chapter 48, as amended by S.B.
1880 and S.B. 760, notably Subchapter F, §§48.251 - 48.258
and Family Code §261.404.

§711.1201.

§711.1203.  How does the reporter, victim or alleged victim, legal
guardian or parent, or Disability Rights Texas request an appeal?

Who may request an appeal?

$711.1205.  Is there a deadline to request an appeal?
§711.1207. How is the appeal conducted?
§711.1209. Is a finding ever changed without a request for appeal?

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602282

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3803

L4 L4 ¢
CHAPTER 745. LICENSING

The Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) pro-
poses, on behalf of the Department of Family and Protective
Services (DFPS), an amendment to §§745.21, 745.243,
745.301, 745.303, 745.321, 745.341, 745.343, 745.345,
745.347, 745.351, 745.385, 745.403, 745.439, and 745.8521
and new §8§745.471, 745473, 745.475, 745.477, 745.479,
745.481, 745.483, and 745.485 in Chapter 745, concerning

Licensing. The recommended changes are needed to: (1)
implement recommendations the Sunset Advisory Commission
made in the Department of Family and Protective Services
Staff Report with Commission Decisions published in August
2014, and required by Senate Bill (S.B.) 206, Sections 77,
78, and 79, that was passed by the 84th Texas Legislature in
2015 relating to the renewal of permits; (2) make conforming
changes in Subchapters D and K relating to the implementation
of a renewal process; and (3) make other clarifying changes
and updates to Subchapters A and D of this chapter, as part
of Licensing's comprehensive review of all Licensing rules and
minimum standards.

S.B. 206 amended §§42.048, 42.050, and 42.052 of the Human
Resources Code (HRC). The amended statute requires a re-
newal process for child care licenses, certifications, and registra-
tions and directs DFPS to develop rules relating to: (1) renewal
periods; (2) a process for staggered renewals; (3) a process for
resolving a late application for renewal; (4) expiration dates; and
(5) conditions for renewal.

A summary of the changes related to permit renewal includes:
(1) defining the terms "full license," "full permit," and "initial li-
cense;" (2) removing references to a "non-expiring" permit or li-
cense; (3) requiring the renewal of a full license, certificate, and
registration every two years to avoid expiration; (4) designating
a "renewal period" during which the operation is to apply for re-
newal of its permit; (5) allowing an operation 30 additional days
after the renewal period to apply for renewal if the operation is
late in applying; (6) staggering the renewals so that all affected
operations would not have to renew their permits at the same
time; (7) outlining what an operation must submit as part of a
renewal application; (8) detailing what happens after Licensing
receives a renewal application; (9) explaining under what circum-
stances a permit expires and how an expired permit affects an
operation; (10) adding language to indicate a full license is effec-
tive as long as it has not expired; (11) clarifying that a permit is
subject to renewal requirements even if an enforcement action
is being taken by Licensing; (12) requiring a registered home or
licensed operation to apply for renewal if the permit is due for
renewal while it is voluntarily suspended; and (13) requiring an
operation to post the written notice of the permit's renewal.

DFPS is also requesting HHSC to propose changes to Subchap-
ter D of this chapter (relating to Application Process), that are
not related to permit renewal. HRC §42.042(b) requires DFPS
to evaluate rules at least every six years. In addition, part of Li-
censing's business plan is to review, analyze, and update rules
to strengthen the protection of children in out-of-home care and
improve providers' understanding of the rules. DFPS has re-
vised the proposed rules to clarify and update rules with current
laws and practices in the industry. DFPS will request HHSC to
propose rule changes to the remaining Subchapters in Chapter
745 at a later date.

A summary of the changes not related to permit renewal that
are being proposed in these rules, includes: (1) adding refer-
ences to "shelter care" to several rules applicable to shelter care
operations that lacked those references; (2) clarifying the defini-
tion for the term "regulation;" (3) adding items to the lists of re-
quired application materials in order to be consistent with other
rule changes that have been made or are being proposed in
other rule packets; (4) removing the initial license fee as an item
required for a completed application for a license because the
fee will be required for issuance of an initial permit; (5) clarifying
that Licensing's 10-day time frame for reviewing an application
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pertains to an application for a compliance certificate; (6) clar-
ifying that an applicant for a compliance certificate has unlim-
ited attempts to submit all of the information and material that
is required for Licensing to accept an application; (7) clarifying
when Licensing issues an initial license; (8) replacing "initial per-
mit' with "initial license;" (9) removing outdated language that no
longer is applicable; and (10) making minor corrections to im-
prove the reader's understanding of the subject matter or to im-
prove sentence flow.

A summary of the changes is as follows:

The amendment to §745.21: (1) adds references to "shelter care
operations" to several definitions that lacked those references;
(2) defines the terms "full license," "full permit," and "initial li-
cense"; and (3) clarifies the definition of "regulation."

The amendment to §745.243: (1) adds items to the lists of re-
quired application materials in order to be consistent with other
rule changes that have been made or are being proposed in
other rule packets; (2) removes the initial license fee as an item
required for a completed application for a license (changes to
§745.345 of this chapter proposed in this packet require the ini-
tial license fee be paid prior to issuance of the initial permit); and
(3) makes minor corrections to improve the reader's understand-
ing of the subject matter.

The amendment to §745.301: (1) clarifies that Licensing's
10-day time frame for reviewing an application pertains to both
temporary shelter and employer-based child care operations
by replacing "employer-based child care" with "compliance
certificate;" and (2) makes minor corrections to improve the
sentence flow.

The amendment to §745.303 clarifies that an applicant for a com-
pliance certificate has unlimited attempts to submit a completed
application. The childcare at these operations is derivative of a
broader purpose; for example, a domestic violence shelter may
have an on-site daycare so that a mother will be able to search
for employment or a home. Moreover, Subchapters F and G,
HRC, require a streamlined application process for compliance
certificates.

The amendment to §745.321: (1) adds "shelter care" to the same
places where employer-based child care is referenced since the
requirements are the same for both; and (2) makes minor cor-
rections to improve the sentence flow.

The amendment to §745.341: (1) removes the term "non-expir-
ing permit" and includes the terms "initial license," "full license,"
and "full permit" that were added to §745.21 of this chapter; and
(2) adds a reference to "shelter care operations" to the list of op-
erations that receive a full permit.

The amendment to §745.343: (1) removes the term "non-ex-
piring permit" and includes the terms "initial license" and "full
license;" and (2) adds language to indicate a full license is ef-
fective as long as it has not expired.

The amendment to §745.345: (1) clarifies when Licensing issues
an initial license; (2) replaces "initial permit' with "initial license;"
and (3) makes minor corrections to improve the reader's under-
standing of the subject matter.

The amendment to §745.347: (1) replaces "initial permit' with
"initial license;" (2) replaces "non-expiring permit" with "full li-
cense;" and (3) makes a minor correction to improve the sen-
tence flow.

The amendment to §745.351: (1) replaces "initial permit' with
"initial license;" (2) replaces "non-expiring permit" with "full li-
cense;" and (3) makes a minor correction to improve the reader's
understanding of the subject matter.

The amendment to §745.385 adds language to indicate a license
or certificate expires.

The amendment to §745.403 removes outdated references to
timeframes that are no longer applicable.

The amendment to §745.439 adds a reference to a "shelter
care operation" to ensure shelter care operations are treated
the same as employer-based child care operations since they
have the same type of permit.

New §745.471: (1) indicates a full license, certificate, or registra-
tion will expire if it is not renewed; and (2) conveys that there are
no renewal requirements for a compliance certificate or listing.

New §745.473: (1) requires an operation with a permit that re-
quires renewal to apply for its renewal every two years; (2) des-
ignates a time frame for the operation's "renewal period" during
which the operation is to apply for renewal of its permit; (3) allows
an operation 30 additional days after the renewal period to apply
for renewal if the operation is late in applying for renewal; and
(4) creates a staggered renewal schedule for existing operations
and operations that receive a permit on or after the effective date
of these rules.

New §745.475: (1) requires a completed renewal application in
order for Licensing to evaluate a permit for renewal; and (2) in-
dicates what the operation must submit to Licensing in order for
the application to be complete.

New §745.477: (1) details what happens after Licensing
receives a renewal application; (2) indicates Licensing will
evaluate whether the criteria for renewal are met; (3) indicates
how and when Licensing will notify the operation that Licensing
has approved the renewal of the permit or that the renewal
application is incomplete; (4) allows the operation unlimited
attempts to submit any missing information and to correct the
deficiencies during the renewal period; (5) allows the operation
15 days to submit a completed application from the date it was
rejected if the application was submitted during the late renewal
period; and (6) provides that CCL may exceed the 15-day limit
for good cause.

New §745.479 requires the operation to post the notice of the
permit's renewal at the operation.

New §745.481 explains when a permit expires.

New §745.483: (1) requires an operation to cease operating im-
mediately if its permit expires; and (2) requires an operation to
submit a new application (as required by §745.243 of this chap-
ter) and pay any necessary fees before resuming operation.

New §745.485 clarifies that a permit is subject to renewal re-
quirements even if Licensing is taking an enforcement action.

The amendment to §745.8521: (1) replaces "non-expiring per-
mit" with "registration or full license;" and (2) requires a regis-
tered home or licensed operation to apply for renewal if the per-
mit is due for renewal while it is voluntarily suspended.

While developing the proposed rules for this packet, CCL re-
ceived feedback from two different workgroups: (1) Between
June and September 2015, CCL staff from different areas of
the program and parts of the state met three times to develop
the renewal policy that would later be incorporated into rule for-
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mat; and (2) On February 2, 2016, CCL met with a workgroup
of providers to discuss what renewal policy was developed and
how providers would be affected and Licensing incorporated the
workgroup's recommendations into the proposed rules.

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that
for the first five-year period the proposed sections will be in effect
there will be a fiscal impact to state government of $1,410,607 in
General Revenue and All Funds as a result of enforcing or ad-
ministering the sections. Implementation of a renewal process
for licenses, certifications, and registrations requires automation
changes and funding was appropriated during the 84th Legisla-
tive Session to support these costs.

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first five
years the sections are in effect the public benefit anticipated as a
result of enforcing the sections will be that the safety of children
in care and the quality of their care will be improved. There is
not an anticipated adverse on small, or micro-businesses which
must comply with the rule sections. The proposed changes do
not add fees or require the purchase of any additional material
or resources. There is no anticipated economic cost to persons
who are required to comply with the proposed sections. The
rules relating to permit renewal add a minimal amount of work to
providers' workload.

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed sections do not re-
strict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that would
otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, there-
fore, do not constitute a taking under §2007.043, Government
Code.

Questions about the content of the proposal may be directed
to Ryan Malsbary at (512) 438-5836 in DFPS's Licens-
ing Division.  Electronic comments may be submitted to
CCLRules@dfps.state.tx.us, Attention: Ryan Malsbary. Written
comments on the proposal may be submitted to Texas Reg-
ister Liaison, Legal Services-547, Department of Family and
Protective Services E-611, P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas
78714-9030, within 30 days of publication in the Texas Register.

SUBCHAPTER A. PRECEDENCE AND
DEFINITIONS
DIVISION 3.
40 TAC §745.21

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §42.042.

§$745.21.  What do the following words and terms mean when used in
this chapter?

DEFINITIONS FOR LICENSING

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, have the
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1)-(5) (No change.)

(6) Child-care facility--An establishment subject to regu-
lation by Licensing which provides assessment, care, training, educa-
tion, custody, treatment, or supervision for a child who is not related by
blood, marriage, or adoption to the owner or operator of the facility, for
all or part of the 24-hour day, whether or not the establishment oper-
ates for profit or charges for its services. A child-care facility includes
the people, administration, governing body, activities on or off the
premises, operations, buildings, grounds, equipment, furnishings, and
materials. A child-care facility does not include child-placing agen-
cies, listed family homes, [ex] employer-based child care operations,
or shelter care operations.

(7) - (19) (No change.)

(20) Full license--The type of full permit that is issued to
an operation that requires a license.

(21) Full permit--A full permit is valid as long as it does
not expire, if applicable, and is not suspended, revoked, or voluntarily
surrendered. A full license is a type of full permit. Other types of
full permits include listings, registrations, certificates, and compliance
certificates. An initial license is not a full permit.

(22) [209)] Governing body--The entity with ultimate au-
thority and responsibility for the operation.

(23) [2B)] Governing body designee--The person named
on the application as the designated representative of a governing body
who is officially authorized by the governing body to speak for and act
on its behalf in a specified capacity.

(24) [22)] Household member--An individual, other than
the caregiver(s), who resides in an operation.

(25) Initial license--A time-limited license that we issue an
operation in lieu of a full license so that we can subsequently determine
whether to issue or deny a full license to the operation.

(26) [23)] Kindergarten age--As defined in §745.101(1) of
this title (relating to What words must I know to understand this sub-
chapter?).

(27) [24)] Licensed administrator--As defined in
§745.8905 of this title (relating to What is a licensed administrator?).

(28) [25)] Minimum standards--The rules contained in
Chapter 743 of this title (relating to Minimum Standards for Shelter
Care), Chapter 744 of this title (relating to Minimum Standards for
School-Age and Before or After-School Programs), Chapter 746 of
this title (relating to Minimum Standards for Child-Care Centers),
Chapter 747 of this title (relating to Minimum Standards for Child-Care
Homes), Chapter 748 of this title (relating to Minimum Standards for
General Residential Operations), Chapter 749 of this title (relating
to Minimum Standards for Child-Placing Agencies), Chapter 750
of this title (relating to Minimum Standards for Independent Foster
Homes), and Subchapter D, Division 11 of this chapter (relating to
Employer-Based Child Care), which are minimum requirements for
permit holders that are enforced by DFPS to protect the health, safety
and well-being of children.

(29) [26)] Neglect--As defined in the Texas Family Code,
§261.401(3) (relating to Agency Investigation) and §745.8559 of this
title (relating to What is neglect?).

(30) [€D] Operation--A person or entity offering a pro-
gram that may be subject to Licensing's regulation. An operation in-
cludes the building and grounds where the program is offered, any
person involved in providing the program, and any equipment used
in providing the program. An operation includes a child-care facility,
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child-placing agency, listed family home, [er] employer-based child
care operation, or shelter care operation.

(31) [€28)] Parent--A person that has legal responsibility
for or legal custody of a child, including the managing conservator or
legal guardian.

(32) [29)] Permit--A license, certification, registration,
listing, compliance certificate, or any other written authorization
granted by Licensing to operate a child-care facility, child-placing
agency, listed family home, [er] employer-based child care operation,
or shelter care operation. This also includes an administrator's license.

(33) [39)] Permit holder--The person or entity granted the
permit.

(34) [BBH] Pre-kindergarten age--As defined in
§745.101(2) of this title (relating to What words must I know to
understand this subchapter?).

(35) [B2)] Program--Activities and services provided by
an operation.

(36) [33)] Regulation--Includes the following: [The en-

&fymg{be%hsta&emﬂaﬁd%mpleyer—b&sedapem&eﬂs—}
listing of an operation or the licensing of an administrator.

(A) The development of rules, including minimum
standards, as provided by statutory authority; and

(B) The enforcement of these rules and relevant statutes
in relation to anyone providing care or a service that is subject to the
regulation, including a permit holder, an applicant for a permit, and
anyone doing so illegally without a permit.

(37) [B4] Report--An expression of dissatisfaction or
concern about an operation, made known to DFPS staff, that alleges a
possible violation of minimum standards or the law and involves risk
to a child/children in care.

(38) [635)] Residential child care--As defined in §745.35 of
this title (relating to What is residential child care?).

(39) [B6)] State Office of Administrative Hearings
(SOAH)--See §745.8831 and §745.8833 of this title (relating to What
is a due process hearing? and What is the purpose of a due process
hearing?).

(40) [3D] Sustained perpetrator--See §745.731 of this title
(relating to What are designated perpetrators and sustained perpetrators
of child abuse or neglect?).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602370

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

L4 L4 ¢
SUBCHAPTER D. APPLICATION PROCESS

DIVISION 3. SUBMITTING THE
APPLICATION MATERIALS

40 TAC §745.243

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §42.042.

§745.243.  What does a completed application for a permit include?
Application forms vary according to the type of permit. We will pro-
vide you with the required forms. Contact your local Licensing office
for additional information. The following table outlines the require-
ments for a completed application:

Figure: 40 TAC §745.243

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602371

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

L4 L4 L4
DIVISION 5. ACCEPTING OR RETURNING
THE APPLICATION

40 TAC §745.301, §745.303

The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §42.042.

§745.301.  How long does Licensing have to review my application
and let me know my application status?

(a) If you are applying for a permit [Fer all types of permits]
other than a compliance certificate [employer-based child eare], we
have 21 days after receiving your application [fer a permit] to review
the paperwork. After the review, we will notify you in writing that your
application is either:

(1)-(2) (No change.)
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(b) Ifyouare applying for a compliance certificate [Fer an em-

child-eare permit], we have 10 days after receiving your

application [for a permit] to review the paperwork. After the review,
we will notify you in writing that your application is either:

(1)-(2) (No change.)

§745.303.  How many chances do I have to submit all of the required
information?

(a) Unless you are applying for a compliance certificate, you
[Yeu] have three times to submit all required material. If we return
your application as incomplete three times, you may not apply again
until one year from the date that we returned your last application as
incomplete.

(b) Ifyou are applying for a compliance certificate to operate
an employer-based child care operation or shelter care operation, you
have an unlimited amount of times to submit the required material.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602372

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 6. REVIEWING THE APPLICATION
FOR COMPLIANCE WITH MINIMUM
STANDARDS, RULES, AND STATUTES

40 TAC §745.321

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §42.042.

§745.321.  What will Licensing do after accepting my application?

After we accept your application, our process of deciding to issue or
deny varies depending on the type of permit you requested. For exam-
ple, we must conduct an on-site inspection before issuing a compliance
certificate, registration, or license to determine compliance with licens-
ing minimum standards, rules, and/or statutes. We [However, unless
you are applying for an employer-based child-care permit; we] will de-
cide to issue or deny you a [the] permit no later than two months after
we accept your application, unless you are applying for an employer-
based child care operation or shelter care operation permit. For an em-
ployer-based child care operation or shelter care operation [ehild-eare]
permit, we will decide to issue or deny you a [the] permit no later than
30 days after we accept your application.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602373

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 7. THE DECISION TO ISSUE OR
DENY A PERMIT
40 TAC §§745.341, 745.343, 745.345, 745.347, 745.351

The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §8§42.042, 42.048, 42.050,
and 42.052.

§745.341.  What type of permit will Licensing issue me if I qualify for
a permit after my application is accepted?

(a) We issue a full [nen-expiring] permit for listed family
homes, registered child-care homes, employer-based child care
operations, shelter care operations, and certified operations.

(b) We issue either an initial license [permit {time-limited)] or
a full license [non-expiting permit] to all licensed operations.
§745.343.  What is the difference between an initial license and full
license [non-expiring permit]?
An initial license [permit] is a [time-limited] permit allowing you to
operate pending the issuance of a full license [ron-expiring permit]. A
full license [non-expiring permit] is effective as long as:

(1)-(3) (No change.)

(4) Your permit is not suspended, expired, revoked, or vol-
untarily surrendered.

$§745.345.  When does Licensing issue an initial license [fieenses]?

We [must] issue you an initial license instead of a full license when we
accept your application and determine that you qualify for a license,
you pay the initial license fee, [you meet our Licensing minimum stan-
dards; rules; and statutes] and one of the following situations exists:

(1)  You have not yet operated with children in care or you
have been operating without a license; [You are not currently in oper-
ation but meet the appropriate minimum standards; execept those with
which compliance cannot be determined in the absence of children;]

H2) You are operating but not eurrently licensed:}

(2) [63)] Your operation has changed location and [and/er]
has made changes in the type of child-care services it offers;

PROPOSED RULES May 27, 2016 41 TexReg 3893



(3) [] We licensed you for one type of child care, and
you apply to add another type of child care to your program (an initial
license [permit] is issued for the new type of child care); or

(4) [€5)] Change in ownership results in changes in policy
and procedure or in the staff who have direct contact with the children.
(See §745.437 of this title (relating to What is a change in the ownership
of an operation?)).

$745.347.  How long is an initial license [permit] valid?

An initial license [permit] is valid for six months from the date we
issue it. We may renew it up to an additional six months. You may
only have an initial license [permit] for a maximum of one year. The
initial license [permit] expires when we issue or deny you a full license
[nen-expiring ene], even if the six-month period for the initial license
[permit] has not yet expired at the time the full license [non-expiring
permit] is issued or denied.

$745.351.  IfI have an initial license [permit], when will I be eligible
for a full license [non-expiring permit]?

You will be eligible for a full license [ron-expiring permit] when:

(1) Your initial license [permit] has been in effect for at
least three months;

(2) - (4) (No change.)

(5) You have paid your full license [non-expiring license]
fee in accordance with Subchapter E of this chapter (relating to Fees).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602375

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 8. DUAL AND MULTIPLE PERMITS

40 TAC §745.385

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §§42.042, 42.048, 42.050,
and 42.052.

§745.385.
(a) (No change.)

(b) A permit that we issued prior to September 1, 2005, that
allows multiple residential child-care operations to operate under that

Can multiple operations operate under one permit?

permit remains valid regarding the addresses listed on the permit until
it expires or is revoked or voluntarily relinquished.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602376

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 9. REAPPLYING FOR A PERMIT
40 TAC §745.403

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §42.042.

$745.403.  Can I apply for another permit after Licensing denies or
revokes my permit?

(a) If we revoke your [ehild day-eare] permit or deny you a
permit to operate a child care [day-eare] operation [en or after Septem-
ber 1; 2009], you may not apply for another permit before the fifth
anniversary of the date on which the denial or revocation takes effect.

by If we revoke your child day-care permit or deny you a
permit to operate a child day-care operation prior to September 15 2009;
you may not apply for anether permit before the second anniversary of
the date on which the denial or revocation takes effect.]

ey I we revoke your residential child-care permit or deny
you & permit to eperate a residential operation on or after September 15
2005; you may not apply for another permit before the fifth anniversary
of the date on which the denial or revocation takes effect.]

(b) [€)] A revocation or denial takes effect when:

(1) You have waived or exhausted your due process rights
regarding the revocation or denial; and

(2) Our revocation or denial of your permit is upheld.

(c) [€e)] This rule does not apply if your permit is revoked
solely because you have relocated your operation or changed owner-
ship.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.
TRD-201602377
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Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 10. RELOCATION OF OPERATION
40 TAC §745.439

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §42.042.
§$745.439.  What must I do if the ownership of my employer-based

child care operation or shelter care operation changes?
(a) - (b) (No change.)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602378

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ 14 ¢

DIVISION 12. PERMIT RENEWAL

40 TAC §§745.471, 745.473, 745.475, 745.477, 745.479,
745.481, 745.483, 745.485

The new sections are proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The new sections implement HRC §§42.042, 42.048, 42.050,
and 42.052.

$§745.471.  What types of permits need to be renewed?

(a) A full license, certificate, and registration will expire if it
is not renewed.

(b) There are no renewal requirements for a compliance cer-
tificate or listing.

§745.473.  When do I need to apply to renew my full license, certifi-
cate, or registration?

(a) Ifyour permit is subject to renewal as outlined in §745.471
of'this title (relating to What types of permits need to be renewed?), you
must do so every two years. During the year that you must renew your
permit, your renewal period:

(1) begins 60 calendar days before the anniversary of when
we issued your full permit to you; and

(2) ends on the date of the anniversary.

(b) Ifyou are late in applying for the renewal of your permit,
you have 30 additional calendar days after your renewal period to apply
for renewal.

(c) Ifweissued your permit on or after December 1, 2017, you
must apply to renew it two years from the date we issued it to you and
every two years thereafter.

(d) Ifweissued your permit to you prior to December 1, 2017,
your first renewal period as described in subsection (a) of this rule will

(1) 2018 if we issued your permit to you in an even-num-
bered year; or

(2) 2019 if we issued your permit to you in an odd-num-
bered year.

§$745.475.
include?

What does a completed renewal application for a permit

(a) A completed renewal application includes the following in-
formation:

(1) Verification that the following information is current
and accurate:

(A) Your operation's basic information on the DFPS

website;

(B) The list of controlling persons at your operation;

(C) The list of your governing body's members, such as
officers and owners, if applicable;

(2) Whether your operation continues to need any existing
waivers and variances; and

(3) A list of all persons who require a background check
because of their affiliation with your operation, as described in
§745.615 of this chapter (relating to On Whom Must I Request
Background Checks?).

(b) You must submit a completed renewal application in order
for us to evaluate your permit for renewal.

§745.477.
cation?

What happens after Licensing receives my renewal appli-

(a) After receiving your renewal application, we evaluate
whether you:
(1) Submitted all documentation and information required

by §745.475 of this title (relating to What does a completed renewal
application for a permit include?);

(2) Are currently meeting all background check require-
ments; and

(3) Have paid:
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(A) All fees required by Subchapter E of this chapter
(relating to Fees); and

(B) Each administrative penalty that you owe after
waiving or exhausting any due process provided under Tex. Hum.

Res. Code §42.078

(b) Within 15 days of receiving your renewal application, we
will either send you written notice that:

(1)  We have renewed your permit; or

(2) Your renewal application is incomplete, you are not
meeting all background check requirements, and/or you have not paid
a fee or administrative penalty.

(c) If your renewal application is incomplete and you submit-
ted it during the renewal period, you have unlimited attempts to submit
the missing information and to correct the deficiencies until the end of

the renewal period.
(d) Ifyour renewal application is incomplete and you submit-

ted it during the late renewal period, you have 15 days to submit a
completed renewal application from the date it was rejected.

(e) Notwithstanding any of the other provisions of this sub-
chapter, we may determine that we have good cause to exceed the
15-day timeframe for processing your renewal application in circum-
stances that would allow us to exceed our timeframes for processing
an application for a permit. See §745.327 of this chapter (relating to
When does Licensing have good cause for exceeding its timeframes for
processing my application?).

§745.479.
newal?

Will I need to post the written notice of my permit's re-

Yes. Upon receiving the written notice of your permit's renewal, you
must post the notice at your operation.

§745.481.

Your permit expires if:

When does my permit expire?

(1) youdo not submit your renewal application during your
renewal period or the late renewal period;

(2) you submit your renewal application during the renewal
period, we reject your application as incomplete, and you do not sub-
mit a completed renewal application before the end of the late renewal
period; or

(3) you submit your renewal application during the late re-
newal period, we reject your application as an incomplete application,
and you do not submit a completed renewal application within 15 cal-
endar days after rejection.

§745.483.

If your permit expires, your operation must cease operating immedi-
ately. Before you can operate again, you will have to submit a new
application as required by §745.243 of this chapter (relating to What
does a completed application for a permit include?) and pay any nec-
essary fees.

§745.485. Do I have to comply with the renewal requirements if Li-
censing is taking an enforcement action against my permit?

What must I do if my permit expired?

Yes, your permit is subject to renewal requirements even if we are tak-
ing an enforcement action against your permit.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602379

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER K. INSPECTIONS AND
INVESTIGATIONS

DIVISION 4. VOLUNTARY ACTIONS
40 TAC §745.8521

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §§42.042, 42.048, 42.050,
and 42.052.

§745.8521.  How long can I voluntarily suspend my permit?

(a) Ifyou are registered or licensed to provide child day care,
then you can request suspension of your registration or full license

[nen-expiring permit] for a maximum of 90 days.
(b) If you are licensed to provide residential child care, then

you can request a suspension of your license for a maximum of two
years.

(c) Ifyour permit is due for renewal while it is voluntarily sus-
pended, you must apply to renew the permit so that it does not expire.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 16, 2016.

TRD-201602380

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ L4 ¢
CHAPTER 745. LICENSING

The Health and Human Services Commission proposes, on
behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Services
(DFPS), new §§745.8581, 745.8583, 745.8585, 745.8600,
745.8633, 745.8635, 745.8637, 745.8639, 745.8641, 745.8643,
745.8649, 745.8650, 745.8651, 745.8652, and 745.8654;
amendments to §§745.8601, 745.8603, 745.8605, 745.8607,
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745.8609, 745.8611, 745.8613, 745.8631, 745.8657, 745.8659
and 745.8713; and the repeal of §§745.8633, 745.8635, and
745.8651 in Chapter 745, concerning Licensing. The purpose
of the new sections, amendments, and repeals is to implement
recommendations the Sunset Advisory Commission made in
the Department of Family and Protective Services Staff Report
with Commission Decisions published in August 2014, and
required by Senate Bill (S.B.) 206, Sections 81 and 82, that was
passed by the 84th Texas Legislature in 2015. These sections
respectively created Human Resources Code (HRC) §42.0704
and amended §42.078(a-2).

HRC §42.0704 requires DFPS to adopt rules that outline a
general enforcement policy that describes the department's
approach to enforcement, including: (1) A summary of the de-
partment's general expectations in enforcing Human Resources
Code, Chapter 42; and (2) A methodology for determining ap-
propriate action to take when a permit holder violates Licensing
laws or rules that allows the department to consider the circum-
stances of the particular case, the nature and seriousness of the
violation, history of previous violations, and other aggravating
and mitigating factors.

HRC §42.0704 also requires the department to develop a plan
for strengthening its enforcement efforts and for making objec-
tive regulatory decisions. Prior to the effective date of the rules
proposed in this rule packet, Licensing will require all Licensing
staff to receive training to promote staff's understanding of the
policy and their ability to apply it appropriately and clearly ex-
plain it to providers. After the initial training, the concepts will be
incorporated into Licensing's Basic Skills Development training,
which all new Licensing staff receives, moving forward. Licens-
ing's Performance Management Unit (PMU) performs quality as-
surance activities to ensure Licensing staff are adhering to policy
and consistently enforcing licensing laws and regulations and will
evaluate the effectiveness of the enforcement policy through a
quality assurance review scheduled to be completed in early fis-
cal year 2018 (one year after implementation of the new enforce-
ment policy). In addition PMU risk analysts conduct neutral as-
sessments of an operation's compliance history when Licensing
staff identifies the operation as having a compliance history that
is atincreased risk for children. As part of this process, PMU pro-
vides recommendations for enforcement actions and, six months
later, reviews the operation's record to determine what enforce-
ment action was taken and whether risk was reduced. This work
enables Licensing to assess the effectiveness of the enforce-
ment policy on an ongoing basis.

The new version of HRC §42.078(a-2) expands the department's
authority to impose administrative penalties before taking correc-
tive action to all high risk violations, not just violations related to
background checks.

A summary of the changes to create an enforcement framework
include: (1) changing the title of Subchapter L from "Remedial
Actions" to "Enforcement Actions"; (2) defining "technical assis-
tance" and outlining when and why technical assistance is pro-
vided; (3) clarifying that enforcement actions are not progressive
in nature, meaning they are not necessarily recommended or im-
posed from least to most restrictive; (4) clarifying that CCL may
end an enforcement action at any time to impose a more se-
rious enforcement action; (5) removing the ability to extend an
enforcement action; (6) identifying a voluntary plan of action as
a voluntary enforcement action; (7) defining voluntary plan of ac-
tion as a collaborative effort between CCL and the provider; (8)
identifying factors CCL considers when deciding to recommend

a voluntary plan of action; (9) limiting the number of times a plan
of action may be recommended if an operation has already been
on a plan of action for similar issues within the previous year; (10)
providing a more clearly defined delineation between evaluation
and probation by restricting the circumstances under which CCL
may consider imposing evaluation; (11) decreasing the length of
time an operation may remain on evaluation to six months; (12)
identifying factors CCL considers when deciding to impose eval-
uation; (13) identifying factors CCL considers when deciding to
impose probation; (14) identifying factors CCL considers when
deciding to impose each adverse action; and (15) adding lan-
guage allowing CCL to impose administrative penalties prior to
taking corrective action for violations of high risk standards.

A summary of the changes are as follows:

New Division 6, in Subchapter K, to house rules related to tech-
nical assistance.

New §745.8581 defines technical assistance and clarifies that
technical assistance is not a deficiency or an enforcement action
and is not used in lieu of citing a deficiency.

New §745.8583 identifies when and how Licensing may provide
technical assistance.

New §745.8585 clarifies that a permit holder may not request
an administrative review of Licensing providing technical assis-
tance.

New §745.8600 outlines the general purpose of enforcement ac-
tions.

Amendment to §745.8601 clarifies that Licensing may provide
technical assistance in response to a deficiency in addition to
recommending or imposing another enforcement action.

Amendment to §745.8603: (1) replaces the term "remedial ac-
tion" with "enforcement action"; (2) adds voluntary actions to the
chart in subsection (a) listing the types of enforcement actions
Licensing may take; (3) rewords and clarifies that listed family
homes are not subject to voluntary or corrective action; (4) adds
subsection (b) to clarify that Licensing recommends or imposes
enforcement actions based on risk and that CCL does not have
to impose a less restrictive action if it is determined that a more
restrictive action is warranted; and (5) adds subsection (c) to
clarify that Licensing may take multiple actions at the same time.

Amendment to §745.8605 replaces the term "remedial action"
with "enforcement action" and deletes outdated date references
in regards to operations that are ineligible to receive for a permit
for a period of 5 years.

Amendment to §745.8607 replaces the term "remedial action"
with "enforcement action". It also clarifies in paragraph (5) that
CCL also considers the permit holder's ability to maintain compli-
ance with standards, rules, and laws, when deciding which type
of enforcement action to recommend or impose.

Amendment to §745.8609: (1) replaces the term "remedial ac-
tion" with "enforcement action"; (2) adds voluntary actions to sec-
tion (1) of the chart; and (3) clarifies in section (2) that Licensing
notifies a permit holder of the intent to impose adverse action in
writing.

Amendment to §745.8611: (1) replaces the term "remedial ac-
tion" with "enforcement action" and removes language referring
to extensions; (2) adds new section (1) "Voluntary Action" to the
chart in subsection (a) and includes a maximum timeframe of
six months for a voluntary plan of action; (3) makes the following
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changes to new sections (2) and (3) in the chart in subsection
(a): (A) Removes the minimum length of time evaluation and
probation may be imposed; (B) Removes language referring to
extensions for evaluation and probation; and (C) Reduces the
amount of time evaluation may be imposed from a maximum of
one year to six months; (4) renumbers existing section (3) to new
section (4) and clarifies that the suspension period will be up to
120 days as necessary to resolve the danger or threat of danger;
(5) renumbers existing section (4) to new section (5) in the chart
in subsection (a); and (6) adds subsection (b) stating that Licens-
ing may end voluntary or corrective action early if compliance is
met and maintained, or if compliance is not met and Licensing
determines a more restrictive enforcement action is necessary.

Amendment to §745.8613: (1) replaces the term "remedial ac-
tion" with "enforcement action"; (2) adds new section (1) to the
chart in subsection (a) to include voluntary plan of action and
clarifies that a permit holder does not have the right to challenge
a plan of action, since it is a voluntary action; and (3) renumbers
the existing numbers in the chart in subsection (a).

Division 2, in Subchapter L, is being renamed to "Voluntary and
Corrective Actions."

Amendment to §745.8631: (1) adds a new section (1) to include
a voluntary plan of action and describes a voluntary plan as an
action that Licensing recommends and is a collaborative effort
between Licensing and the operation to improve compliance with
minimum standards; (2) renumbers existing sections (1) and (2)
to new sections (2) and (3); and (3) makes changes regarding
evaluation and probation, including: removing language outlin-
ing the actions Licensing may take if compliance is not met, or if
deficiencies worsen since this information is included in the new
proposed §745.8641 of this title (relating to What requirements
must | meet during the evaluation or probation period?); and clar-
ifying that Licensing will conduct inspections at least monthly dur-
ing the evaluation and probation period.

Section §745.8633 is repealed and the content is incorporated
into new §745.8641.

New §745.8633 outlines when Licensing may recommend a vol-
untary plan of action, including: (1) outlining the criteria Licens-
ing considers to determine whether to recommend a plan of ac-
tion in subsection (a); (2) stating that Licensing may take into
consideration the compliance history for each operation the per-
mit holder oversees when determining whether a plan of action
is appropriate in subsection (b); and (3) outlining when Licensing
may consider imposing a more restrictive enforcement action in
lieu of a voluntary plan of action in subsection (c).

Section §745.8635 is repealed and is being proposed with
changes in §745.8643.

New §745.8635 outlines when Licensing may impose evalua-
tion, including: (1) listing the circumstances under which Licens-
ing may impose evaluation in subsection (a); and (2) stating that
Licensing may impose probation or adverse action if Licensing
determines the operation is not eligible for evaluation in subsec-
tion (b).

New §745.8637 outlines when Licensing may impose probation,
including: (1) listing the circumstances under which Licensing
may impose probation in subsection (a); and (2) stating that Li-
censing may impose adverse action if Licensing determines the
operation is not eligible for probation in subsection (b).

New §745.8639 lists the requirements a permit holder must meet
during a voluntary plan of action.

New §745.8641 contains the same language as repealed
§745.8633. The language remains mostly the same as the
repealed rule. However, language has been amended in para-
graph (3) to clarify what must be posted during evaluation and
probation.

New §745.8643 clarifies that CCL may increase inspections or
recommend a more serious enforcement action if an operation
does not comply with conditions of evaluation or probation. This
language is similar to content in repealed rule §745.8635.

New §745.8649 contains the exact language as repealed
§745.8651, which describes types of adverse actions.

New §745.8650 outlines the circumstances under which Licens-
ing may deny a permit.

Section §745.8651 is repealed and re-proposed as the new
§745.8649.

New §745.8651 outlines the circumstances under which Licens-
ing may impose an adverse amendment on a permit.

New §745.8652 outlines the circumstances under which Licens-
ing may suspend an operation's permit.

New §745.8654 outlines the circumstances under which Licens-
ing may revoke a permit.

Amendment to §745.8657 updates the department's name and
a program offered through a different state agency.

Amendment to §745.8659 removes the requirement for the de-
partment publish adverse actions in a local newspaper and pub-
lish denials when the operation was previously operating. Li-
censing posts information regarding suspensions and revoca-
tions on the department's public website per the requirements in
Human Resources Code §42.025 and §42.077.

Amendment to §745.8713: (1) adds that Licensing may impose
an administrative penalty for a violation of a high risk standard;
and (2) deletes old paragraph (2) since new paragraph (2)(A)
and (B) sufficiently address the issue of timely submitting infor-
mation required to conduct a background and criminal history
check.

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that
for the first five-year period the amendments, new, and repeals
will be in effect, there will not be costs or revenues to state or
local government as a result of enforcing or administering the
sections.

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first five
years the sections are in effect, the public benefit anticipated as
a result of enforcing the amendments, new, and repealed rules
will be: (1) compliance with HRC §42.0704 and §42.078(a-2);
(2) implementation of the Sunset Recommendations; (3) trans-
parency between providers, the public, and CCL staff who will
have a common understanding of the decision making process
as it relates to enforcement actions; (4) improved consistency
in decision-making; and (5) increased use of voluntary plans of
action will reduce the number of corrective action imposed or
adverse actions taken. There is no anticipated economic cost
to persons who are required to comply with the proposed sec-
tion. There is no anticipated adverse impact on small or micro
businesses as a result of the proposed rule changes because
the proposed rule changes should not affect the cost of doing
business; does not impose new requirements on any business;
and does not require the purchase of any new equipment or any
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increased staff time in order to comply. There is no anticipated
impact on technology as a result of the proposed rule change.

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed amendments,
new and repeal do not restrict or limit an owner's right to his
or her property that would otherwise exist in the absence of
government action and, therefore, do not constitute a taking
under §2007.043, Government Code.

Questions about the content of the proposal may be submitted
via electronically to CCLRules@dfps.state.tx.us, DFPS's Child
Care Licensing Division, attention: Jennifer Ritter and Aimee
Perry. Written comments on the proposal may be submitted
to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Services-548, Department of
Family and Protective Services E-611, P.O. Box 149030, Austin,
Texas 78714-9030, within 30 days of publication in the Texas
Register.

SUBCHAPTER K.
INVESTIGATIONS
DIVISION 6. TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE
40 TAC §§745.8581, 745.8583, 745.8585

The new sections proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The new sections implement the HRC §42.042 and §42.0704.

§745.8581.

Technical assistance is information we provide to help you improve or
maintain compliance with minimum standards, rules, and laws. Tech-
nical assistance itself is not a deficiency or enforcement action, and we

INSPECTIONS AND

What is technical assistance?

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3971

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER L. ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS
DIVISION 1. OVERVIEW OF ENFORCEMENT
ACTIONS

40 TAC §§745.8600, 745.8601, 745.8603, 745.8605,
745.8607, 745.8609, 745.8611, 745.8613

The amendments and new section are proposed under Human
Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services
Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation
and provision of services by the health and human services
agencies, including the Department of Family and Protective
Services; and HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family and
Protective Services Council shall study and make recommen-
dations to the Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner
regarding rules governing the delivery of services to persons
who are served or regulated by the department.

The amendments and new section implement the HRC §42.042
and §42.0704.

§745.8600.
ter?

What is the general purpose of the rules in this subchap-

(a) The rules in this subchapter contain:

(1) the different types of actions that we use to enforce the
requirements in rules, minimum standards, and statute; and

(2) the criteria that we use to determine what type of en-
forcement action we will take in specific circumstances.

(b) Our goal with respect to enforcement is to ensure the safety
of children in care that is subject to our regulation. Our use of enforce-

do not use it in lieu of citing a deficiency of a minimum standard.

§745.8583.
We may provide technical assistance in writing or in person:

When does Licensing provide technical assistance?

(1) at any time during an inspection or investigation;

(2) as part of the ongoing regulatory process; or

(3) at your request.

§745.8585.  May I request an administrative review for technical as-

sistance offered?

No. We provide technical assistance in order to help you with your
compliance with minimum standards and other laws. Technical assis-
tance does not include a decision or action you may challenge through
an administrative review. If we offer you technical assistance in addi-
tion to citing you for a deficiency in a minimum standard, you would
have the right to request an administrative review related to the defi-
ciency, but not the technical assistance.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.
TRD-201602283

ment actions is tailored toward the objective of safety and not to be
punitive in nature.

§$745.8601. What happens if I am deficient in a minimum standard,
rule, law, specific term of my permit, or condition of evaluation, pro-
bation, or suspension?

If you are deficient in a minimum standard, rule, law, specific term of
your permit, or a condition of evaluation, probation, or suspension, we
may offer one or both of the following: [We may make recommenda-
tions and/or impese remedial actions for any deficieney:|

(1) offer technical assistance; or

(2) recommend or impose an enforcement action against

your permit.

$§745.8603. What enforcement [remediat] actions may Licensing
recommend or impose?

(a) We may recommend a voluntary plan of action or impose
a more serious enforcement action as outlined in the following chart
and monetary actions: These actions are:]:
Figure: 40 TAC §745.8603(a)

(b) We may impose an action listed in subsection (a) of this
rule any time we determine there is a reason for imposing the action.
We will choose the action based on its appropriateness in relation to the
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situation we are seeking to address. We do not have to recommend or
impose a less restrictive action if we determine that a more restrictive
action is more appropriate.

(c) In some situations, we may take multiple types of actions
against your operation at the same time. For example, if you continue
to operate pending the appeal of a denial, we may pursue a judicial
action in order to prevent you from operating illegally.

§745.8605. When can Licensing recommend or impose an enforce-
ment [take remedial] action against my operation [me]?

We can recommend or impose an enforcement [a remedial] action any
time we find one of the following:

(1) - (14) (No change.)

(15)  You apply for a permit to operate a child-care opera-
tion within five years after [Eeor residential ehild-eare eperations on or
after September 1; 2005, and all other child-care operations on or after
September 1; 20H]:

(A) - (B) (No change.)

(16) - (26) (No change.)
$745.8607.  How will Licensing decide which type of enforcement
[remedial] action to recommend or impose?

We decide to recommend or impose enforcement [take remedial] ac-
tions based upon our [an] assessment of the following:

(1) - (4) (No change.)

(5) Whether you demonstrate the responsibility and ability
to maintain [for] compliance with minimum standards, rules, and laws;

(6) - (8) (No change.)

$§745.8609.  How will I know when Licensing is recommending or im-
posing an enforcement [taking remedial] action against my operation

[me]?

We will notify you in the following manner:
Figure: 40 TAC §745.8609

$745.8611. How long do enforcement [Fer remedial] actions that

cover a specific period of time [te- g evalnation, probation, suspen-
ston; ete); how tong do they] last [and can they be extended]?

(a) The following chart describes [when eorrective actions are
taken and] the length of time that we may recommend or impose an

enforcement action [they can be imposed]:
Figure: 40 TAC 745.8611(a)

(b) We may end a voluntary or corrective action early if we
determine:

(1) that you meet minimum standards and/or the imposed
conditions and we are able to evaluate for ongoing compliance; or

(2) your compliance does not improve and a more restric-
tive enforcement action is necessary.

§745.8613.  What rights do I have [if ¥ disagree with the decision of
Licensing] to challenge an enforcement action [impese & remedial ae-
tion]?

(a) The rights you have vary depending upon the type of ac-
tion that we recommend or take [impesed] against you. The chart in
this subsection describes your rights to challenge [fer] each type of
enforcement [remedial] action:

Figure: 40 TAC §745.8613(a)

(b) (No change.)

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602284

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3971

¢ L4 ¢
DIVISION 2. VOLUNTARY AND
CORRECTIVE ACTIONS

40 TAC §§745.8631, 745.8633, 745.8635, 745.8637,
745.8639, 745.8641, 745.8643

The amendments and new sections are proposed under Hu-
man Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services
Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation and
provision of services by the health and human services agencies,
including the Department of Family and Protective Services; and
HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective
Services Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendments and new sections implement the HRC §42.042
and §42.0704.

$745.8631.  What types of voluntary or corrective actions may Licens-
ing recommend or impose?

We may recommend or impose the following types of voluntary or cor-
rective actions:

Figure: 40 TAC §745.8631

§745.8633.
tion ?

(a) We may recommend a voluntary plan of action for your
operation for an issue identified in §745.8605 of this title (relating
to When can Licensing recommend or impose an enforcement action
against my operation?) if we determine that:

(1)  You:
(A) demonstrate the ability to identify risk;

When may Licensing recommend a voluntary plan of ac-

(B) accept responsibility for correcting deficiencies;

and

(C) have the ability to make corrections;

(2) If applicable, your operation has a history of making
corrections to maintain compliance;

(3)  Your operation will be able to mitigate risk by following
the plan in addition to complying with minimum standards; and

(4) Your operation has not participated in a voluntary plan
of action during the previous 12 months for similar issues.

(b) If you have multiple operations we may consider the fac-
tors listed in subsection (a) of this section for each of your operations
when determining your eligibility to participate in a voluntary plan of
action.
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(c) We will impose a more restrictive enforcement action in-

§745.8643. What may Licensing do if my operation's compliance

stead of recommending a voluntary plan of action when appropriate

with standards does not improve as a result of the voluntary or

under the criteria for that enforcement action.

§$745.8635.  When may Licensing place my operation on evaluation?

corrective action?

If your operation's compliance with minimum standards does not im-

(a) We may place your operation on evaluation for an issue
identified in §745.8605 of this title (relating to When can Licensing
recommend or impose an enforcement action against my operation?)
if:

(1) you are eligible to participate in a plan of action but
refuse to do so;

(2) your operation is unable to resolve its deficiencies and
reduce risk through your implementation or failure to implement the

plan;

(3) you have not completed a voluntary plan of action or
evaluation for similar deficiencies within the previous 12 months; or

(4) a more restrictive enforcement action is necessary to
reduce risk.

(b) If we determine that you are not eligible for evaluation, we
will consider imposing probation or an adverse action.

§745.8637.  When may Licensing place my operation on probation?

(a) We may place your operation on probation for an issue
identified in §745.8605 of this title (relating to When can Licensing
recommend or impose an enforcement action against my operation?)
if we determine that:

(1) your operation does not qualify for a less restrictive en-
forcement action;

(2) you have not demonstrated the ability to make the nec-
essary changes to address risk, but express a willingness to comply and
make corrections;

(3) your operation will be able to mitigate risk by comply-
ing with the conditions identified in the plan in addition to minimum
standards; and

(4) a more restrictive enforcement action is not necessary
to reduce risk.

(b) If we determine that are you not eligible for probation, we
will consider imposing an adverse action.
§745.8639.
of action?

You must:

What requirements must I meet during a voluntary plan

(1) correct your operation's deficiencies with minimum
standards and reduce risk; and

(2) maintain compliance with all other Licensing statutes,
rules, and minimum standards.

§745.8641. What requirements must I meet during the evaluation or

probation period?
You must:

(1) comply with all of the conditions imposed by the cor-
rective action plan;

(2) correct the minimum standards that were deficient;

(3) unless you are an independent or agency foster family
home, post the evaluation letter or the probation notice in a prominent
place(s) near all public entrances; and

(4) maintain compliance with all other Licensing statutes,
rules, and minimum standards.

prove sufficiently to reduce risk at your operation as a result of the vol-
untary or corrective action, we will reevaluate your plan to determine
the appropriateness of its terms and conditions. As a result, we may:

(1) recommend or impose additional conditions and/or in-
crease inspections; or

(2) impose a more serious enforcement action.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602285

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3971

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 2. CORRECTIVE ACTIONS
40 TAC §745.8633, §745.8635

The repeals are proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department.

The repeals implement the HRC §42.042 and §42.0704.

$§745.8633.  What requirements must I meet during the evaluation or
probation period?

§$745.8635.  What happens if I do not comply with the terms and con-
ditions of the evaluation or probation?

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602286

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3971

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. ADVERSE ACTIONS

40 TAC §§745.8649 - 745.8652, 745.8654, 745.8657,
745.8659
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The amendments and new sections are proposed under Hu-
man Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services
Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation and
provision of services by the health and human services agencies,
including the Department of Family and Protective Services; and
HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective
Services Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendments and new sections implement the HRC §42.042
and §42.0704.

$745.8649.

We may impose the following adverse actions:
Figure: 40 TAC §745.8649

$745.8650.

We may deny you a permit for an issue identified in §745.8605 of this
title (relating to When can Licensing recommend or impose an enforce-
ment action against my operation?) if we determine that:

What adverse actions may Licensing impose?

When may Licensing deny me a permit?

(1) a background check result makes you ineligible for a
permit, because either the result is ineligible for a risk evaluation or
the Department of Family and Protective Services Central Background
Check Unit informs us that it will not approve a risk evaluation as pro-
vided in Subchapter F of this chapter (relating to Background Checks);

(2) your operation does not demonstrate the ability to com-
ply with minimum standards and other applicable laws during your ini-
tial permit period, if applicable;

(3) the results of a public hearing make you ineligible for
a permit;

(4) your operation presents an immediate threat to the
health or safety of children; or

(5) You are otherwise ineligible for a permit because of a
criteria identified in §745.8605 of this title.

$745.8651.
my permit?
We may impose an adverse amendment on your permit for an issue
identified in §745.8605 of this title (relating to When can Licensing

recommend or impose an enforcement action against my operation?)
if we determine:

When may Licensing impose an adverse amendment on

(1) that an amendment on your permit will mitigate any

risks;

(2) the amendment would be the most effective enforce-
ment action for addressing risk at your operation; and

(3) you are capable of following the restrictions of the
amendment.

§745.8652.

We may suspend your permit for an issue identified in §745.8605 of
this title (relating to When can Licensing recommend or impose an
enforcement action against my operation?) if we determine that:

When will Licensing suspend my permit?

(1) your operation will pose a danger or threat of danger to
the health or safety of children in your operation's care until the issue
is resolved;

(2) you cannot correct the issue while children are in care,
but you can do so during a specific period of time;

(3) you are capable of making the necessary corrections
while your permit is suspended; and

(4) there are no additional concerns about your compliance
history that would make revocation a more appropriate enforcement
action for the health or safety of children.

§$745.8654.  When may Licensing revoke my permit?

We may revoke your permit for an issue identified in §745.8605 of
this title (relating to When can Licensing recommend or impose an
enforcement action against my operation?) if we determine that:

(1) your operation is ineligible for corrective action;

(2) we cannot address the risk at your operation by taking
corrective action or another type of adverse action;

(3) abackground check result or a finding of abuse or ne-
glect makes you ineligible for a permit, either because the result is inel-
igible for a risk evaluation or the Department of Family and Protective
Services (DFPS) Central Background Check Unit informs us that it will
not approve a risk evaluation as provided in Subchapter F of this chap-
ter (relating to Background Checks); or

(4) revocation is otherwise necessary to address the issue
identified in §745.8605 of this title.

§745.8657.  Will Licensing inform anyone that they are attempting to
deny, suspend, or revoke my permit?

Yes, the fact that we are attempting to enforce any adverse action
against you is available to the public. If you are a child day-care
operation participating in the Child Care Services [Management]
Program or the Child and Adult Care Food Program, we will inform
the staff of those programs of any suspension or revocation that we
are attempting to enforce. If a child in your care is in the custody of
Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) [PRS], then
we will also inform the Child Protective Services Division of DFPS
[PRS], and, as appropriate, any other state or federal programs. We
will tell these programs that we are attempting to suspend or revoke
your permit, that you may request an administrative review and a due
process hearing concerning this action, and whether you may care for
children pending the administrative review and due process hearing.

$745.8659.  Will there be any publication of the denial, suspension,
or revocation of my permit?

(a) If you waive the administrative review and due process
hearing or if the denial, suspension, or revocation is upheld in the
process, we will publish a notice of the adverse action taken against
you[:]

[(D] on[On] DFPS's Internet website along with other in-
formation regarding your child-care services.[; of]

2) In the section of a local newspaper of general eireula-
tion in the county where your operation is loeated:]
1) Feor a denial; we will publish the notice only if you were
(b) [e)] In addition, we will send notification of the outcomes
of the administrative review and the due process hearing to those state

and federal programs and agencies that we previously informed of the
adverse action.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.
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TRD-201602287

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3971

3 ¢ *
40 TAC §745.8651

The repeal is proposed under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department.

The repeal implements the HRC §42.042 and §42.0704.

§745.8651.  What adverse actions may Licensing impose?

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602288

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3971

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 5. MONETARY ACTIONS
40 TAC §745.8713

The amendment proposed under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements the HRC §42.042) and §42.078(a-
2).

§745.8713.  When may Licensing impose a monetary penalty before
a corrective action?

‘We may impose a monetary penalty before imposing a corrective action
any time we find [ene of the folowing]:

(1) aviolation of a high risk standard, as identified on the
DFPS public website, along with the Licensing enforcement method-

ology; or
(2) one of the following:

(A) [D)] a failure to timely submit the information re-
quired to conduct a background and criminal history check under Sub-
chapter F of this chapter (relating to Background Checks) on two or
more occasions;

[€2) A failure to timely submit the information required to
conduet a background and eriminal history cheek under Subchapter E
of this ehapter before the 30th day after the date we notify you that the
information is overdue;|

(B) [3)] except as provided in §745.626 of this title
(relating to How soon after I request a background check on a person
can that person provide direct care or have direct access to a child?),
you knowingly allow a person to be present in your child-care operation
before you have received the results of the person's background and
criminal history check;

(C) [4] You knowingly allow a person to be present
in your child-care operation after you have received the person's back-
ground and criminal history check, if the results contain criminal his-
tory or central registry findings that preclude the person from being
present in the child-care operation; or

(D) [5)] You violate a condition or restriction we have
placed on a person's presence at your child-care operation as part of
a pending or approved risk evaluation of the person's background and
criminal history or central registry findings.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on May 9, 2016.

TRD-201602289

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: June 26, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3971
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