PROPOSED

ULE

Proposed rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing rules.
A state agency shall give at least 30 days' notice of its intention to adopt a rule before it

adopts the rule. A state agency shall give all interested persons a reasonable opportunity to
submit data, views, or arguments, orally or in writing (Government Code, Chapter 2001).

Symbols in proposed rule text. Proposed new language is indicated by underlined text. [Square-brackets-and-strikethrough]
indicate existing rule text that is proposed for deletion. “(No change)” indicates that existing rule text at this level will not be

amended.

TITLE 4. AGRICULTURE

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE

CHAPTER 30. COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
SUBCHAPTER A. TEXAS COMMUNITY
DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT PROGRAM
DIVISION 3. ADMINISTRATION OF
PROGRAM FUNDS

4 TAC §§30.50, 30.55, 30.58

The Texas Department of Agriculture (Department) proposes
amendments to Title 4, Chapter 30, Subchapter A, Division 3,
§§30.50, 30.55, and 30.58, relating to the Texas Community
Development Block Grant (CDBG) Program. The Department
proposes the amendments to CDBG programs to permit flex-
ibility in the application and eligibility process, and enable
maximum benefit to those communities in need.

The Department proposes amendments to §30.50 to revise
state scoring criteria of the Community Development Fund and
to allow flexibility in Regional Review Committee membership.
Amendments to §30.55 allow counties to submit more than
one application for the Colonia Fund Construction program.
Amendments to §30.58, relating to the Colonia Economically
Distressed Areas Program (CEDAP) Set-Aside, will allow flex-
ibility in identifying the funding program partner for CEDAP
applications, should the legislature allow CEDAP to partner with
programs other than the Texas Water Development Board -
Economically Distressed Areas Program.

Suzanne Barnard, Director for CDBG Programs at the Depart-
ment, has determined that for the first five years there will be no
fiscal implications for state or local governments as a result of
the proposed rule changes.

Ms. Barnard has also determined that for each year of the first
five years these sections are in effect, the public benefit antici-
pated as a result of administering the sections will be the timely
expenditure of federal funding in accordance with federal re-
quirements and the opportunity to apply for additional projects
through the modification of program application and eligibility re-
quirements. There will be no adverse economic effect on micro-
businesses, small businesses or individuals who are required to
comply with the sections.

Written comments on the proposal may be submitted for
30 days following publication of this proposal to Suzanne
Barnard, Office of Rural Affairs, Texas Department of Agri-

culture, P.O. Box 12847, Austin, Texas 78711, or by email at
Suzanne.Barnard@ TexasAgriculture.gov.

The amendments are proposed under Texas Government Code
§487.051, which provides the Department the authority to admin-
ister the state's CDBG non-entitlement program, and §487.052,
which provides authority for the Department to adopt rules as
necessary to implement Chapter 487.

The code affected by the proposal is Texas Government Code
Chapter 487.

§30.50.  Community Development (CD) Fund.
(a) - (b) (No change.)
(c) Regional allocations.

(1) Regional review committees (RRC). There is a RRC in
each of the 24 state planning regions. Each RRC is comprised of up to
[at least] 12 members appointed by the Commissioner, who serve until
replaced at the discretion of the Commissioner.

(2) - (3) (No change.)
(d) (No change.)
(e) Scoring criteria.

(1) Department scoring criteria. The following factors are
considered by the department when scoring CD Fund applications (de-
tailed application and scoring information are available in the applica-
tion guidelines):

HA) past awards—whether @ community has reeeived
TxCPBG fund awards in the past two application eyeles before the
apphication deadhines}

(A) [B)] past performance--the department will con-
sider a community's performance on previously awarded TxCDBG
contracts within the past 4 years preceding the application deadline.
(Adjustments may be made for contracts that are engaged in appropri-
ately pursuing due diligence such as bonding remedies or litigation to
ensure adequate performance under the TxCDBG contract.) Evalua-
tion of a community's past performance will include the following:

(i) (No change.)

(i) submission of environmental review [all eon-
traet repoerting] requirements within prescribed deadlines; and

(iii)  submission of the required close-out documents
within the period prescribed for such submission.[;]

[(iv) timely response to monitoring findings on pre-
vieus TxCDBG contraets; espeeially any instances when the menitor-
ing findings included disallowed costs;}

£ timely response to audit findings on previous
TxCDBG contracts; and]
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[(vi) expenditure timeframes on the applicable Tx-
CDBG contracts.|

(B) [€©&)] proposed project--whether all activities pro-
posed in the application involve basic infrastructure (water, sewage,
roads, and flood drainage) or housing activities.

(2) RRC scoring criteria. Each RRC is responsible for de-
termining local project priorities and objective scoring factors for its
region in accordance with the requirements of this section and the cur-
rent TXCDBG Action Plan. Each RRC must establish the numerical
value of the points assigned to each scoring factor as described in the
current Regional Review Committee Guidelines [and determine the to-
tal combined points for all RRC secoring factors].

(A) Procedures for selecting scoring criteria. The pub-
lic must be given an opportunity to comment on the priorities and the
scoring criteria considered. RRCs are responsible for convening public
hearings to discuss and select the objective scoring criteria that will be
used to score and rank applications at the regional level.

(i) (No change.)

(i) Attendance at meetings. [A quoram is required
for all public meetings:|

(I) A quorum is required for all public meetings.

(1) A RRC member may designate a proxy to
attend the meeting. Proxies are counted for purposes of determining
the presence of a quorum and may vote on all matters before the RRC.

(iii) (No change.)
(B) (No change.)

(D -(g) (No change.)

$30.55.  Colonia Funds (CF)--General Provisions.
(a) - (b) (No change.)

(¢) A community may submit two applications [ene applica-
tien] for Colonia Fund Construction for separate colonia areas, and one
application for Colonia Fund Planning (either Area Planning or Com-
prehensive Planning).

(d) - (f) (No change.)
§30.58.  Colonia Economically Distressed Areas Program Set-Aside

(CEDAP).
(a) Eligibility.

(1)-(3) (No change.)

(4) Eligible activities. Eligible CEDAP activities are lim-
ited to those that provide assistance to low and moderate income per-
sons residing in colonias who cannot afford the costs of residential
service lines, hookups, and minor plumbing improvements associated
with connection to a water supply or sewer system, any part of which
is financed through the TWDB EDAP or similar federal or state fund-
ing as permitted by statute and the current application guide (funding

program partner).
(b) Application cycle.
(1) (No change.)

(2) An application may not be submitted until after con-
struction begins on the water or sewer system financed through the
funding program partner [FWDB EDAP].

(3) (No change.)

(c) Selection procedures. Applications will be evaluated by
the department based on the following factors (detailed application and
evaluation information are available in the application guidelines):

(1) the proposed use of the TXCDBG funds including the
eligibility of the proposed activities and the effective use of the funds to
provide water or sewer connections/yard lines to water/sewer systems
funded through the funding program partner [FWDB EDAP program];

(2) - (6) (No change.)

Hd) Etigit vities. Elisible € ivities are limited
to these that provide assistanee to low and moderate income persons
connection to a water supply or sewer system, any part of which is
financed through the TWDB EDAP.]

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 29, 2016.

TRD-201603296

Jessica Escobar

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Department of Agriculture

Earliest possible date of adoption: August 14, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 463-4075

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS

PART 1. TEXAS BOARD OF
ARCHITECTURAL EXAMINERS

CHAPTER 1. ARCHITECTS
SUBCHAPTER B. ELIGIBILITY FOR
REGISTRATION

22 TAC §1.22

The Texas Board of Architectural Examiners (Board) proposes
the amendment of 22 TAC §1.22, pertaining to registration of
architects by reciprocal transfer.

Under Texas law, an applicant for registration as an architect
in Texas must qualify either by examination under Occupations
Code §1051.705, or through reciprocity based on registra-
tion issued by another jurisdiction, under Occupations Code
§1051.305.

Section 1051.305 states that a person may apply for reciprocal
registration if the person holds an architectural registration that is
active and in good standing in another jurisdiction, and the other
jurisdiction has licensing or registration requirements substan-
tially equivalent to Texas registration requirements. The Board
has adopted §1.22 to define this requirement. Subsection (a)(1)
of the rule repeats the statutory requirement that an applicant
must hold an active registration in good standing from another ju-
risdiction with licensing or registration requirements substantially
equivalent to Texas registration requirements. Subsection (b)(1)
provides more specific requirements, stating that a reciprocity
applicant may demonstrate eligibility by either becoming certi-
fied by the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards
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(NCARB), or by demonstrating completion of the intern develop-
ment program (IDP) and the architect registration exam (ARE).
The rule does not address any specific education requirement,
which, along with examination and experience, is the "third leg"
of Texas architect registration requirements by examination, as
discussed below.

The eligibility requirements for Texas registration by examina-
tion, are defined under Occupations Code §1051.705, which
states that an applicant for registration by examination must be
a graduate of a university or college of architecture approved
by the Board and have satisfactory experience in architecture
as defined under Board rule. Section 1.21, which further de-
fines the requirements for eligibility by examination, requires
applicants to have graduated with a professional degree from
an educational program accredited by the National Architectural
Accreditation Board (NAAB), in addition to completing IDP
and the ARE. Since §1.22(b) does not specifically address
educational requirements, it is unclear what level of education
a reciprocity applicant must attain in order to demonstrate that
he or she holds "a license or certificate of registration issued
by another jurisdiction...that has licensing or registration re-
quirements substantially equivalent to those of this state," as
required for reciprocity under §1051.305 and §1.22(a).

The purpose of the proposed amendment is to reconcile the
Board's reciprocity eligibility rule with the statutory requirements
for reciprocity eligibility and, by reference, examination eligibil-
ity. The proposed amendment would implement a two-stage
adoption of educational requirements for reciprocity eligibility.
An Applicant who applies for architectural registration by reci-
procity on or before December 31, 2020 would be required to
successfully complete a pre-professional bachelor's degree in
architecture by a U.S. regionally-accredited institution. An appli-
cant who applies for architectural registration by reciprocity on
January 1, 2021 or later would be required to successfully com-
plete a NAAB-accredited professional degree in architecture as
described by §1.21(a)(1). Alternatively, the proposed rule would
retain the provision that would allow a reciprocity applicant who
does not meet the educational requirement to demonstrate el-
igibility through NCARB certification. NCARB certification is a
process by which educational deficiencies resulting from the lack
of a NAAB-accredited degree may be supplemented through
demonstration of experience in relevant practice areas. This
process allows an applicant to demonstrate substantial equiv-
alence with the Board's eligibility requirements, as required by
Tex. Occ. Code §1051.305(a)(1) and §1.22(a)(1).

Fiscal Note Guidelines

Lance Brenton, General Counsel, Texas Board of Architectural
Examiners, has determined that for the first five-year period the
amended rule is in effect, the amendment will have no significant
adverse fiscal impact upon state government, local government,
or the Texas Board of Architectural Examiners.

Public Benefit/Cost Note Guidelines

For the first five-year period the amended rule is in effect, the ex-
pected public benefit is the removal of ambiguity in the Board's
reciprocal registration requirements, the promotion of the public
health and safety by requiring an appropriate educational back-
ground for applicants for architectural registration, and consis-
tency within the Board's rules relating to eligibility requirements
for registration by examination and reciprocity, resulting in a sub-
stantially equivalent standard for both registration methods.

The cost of compliance with this rule depends on the educational
background of the applicant for registration by reciprocity. An in-
dividual who applies for reciprocity with a bachelor's degree in
architecture prior to December 31, 2020 will not face any addi-
tional costs of compliance. An individual with such a degree who
applies on January 1, 2021 or later would be eligible for regis-
tration by obtaining NCARB certification. The Board is unable
to state with certainty what the cost of NCARB certification will
be at that time. However, the Board notes that the current cost
of NCARSB certification for an individual with a bachelor's degree
in architecture is $1,100, provided that the applicant has been
registered as an architect in another jurisdiction for at least three
years and has completed two times the required hours in the
IDP program. Alternatively, such an individual could qualify for
NCARB certification without doubling the IDP requirements by
undergoing an educational portfolio review, as discussed below.

An individual who seeks reciprocity eligibility without a profes-
sional degree or four-year bachelor's degree in architecture will
be subject to increased costs of compliance when the proposed
rule takes effect. Such an individual would be required to demon-
strate eligibility for registration through NCARB certification. An
individual without a four-year bachelor's degree in architecture is
required to undergo an educational portfolio review by NCARB.
During this process, NAAB compares the applicant's educational
background with the course of study for an accredited profes-
sional degree. If this review identifies educational deficiencies,
an experience dossier must be prepared by the applicant that will
allow NCARB's committee to review the applicant's work experi-
ence to demonstrate learning through experience. An evaluation
by NAAB costs $2,138. The cost of a dossier review by NCARB
ranges from $500 to $5,000, depending on the extent of an ap-
plicant's educational deficiency. It should be noted that the costs
of NCARB certification are only necessary for applicants with a
four-year degree or less. As such, it is likely that these individ-
uals, who do not meet the standard requirement for a five-year
professional degree in architecture, bear a decreased financial
cost compared to the cost of an additional year or more of tuition.
The amendment to the rule will have no negative fiscal impact on
small or micro-business, as current registrants and currently oc-
curring small business activity will be unaffected by the prospec-
tive changes to reciprocity eligibility requirements. Therefore, no
Economic Impact Statement or Regulatory Flexibility Analysis is
required.

Public Comment

Comments may be submitted to Lance Brenton, General Coun-
sel, Texas Board of Architectural Examiners, P.O. Box 12337,
Austin, Texas 78711-2337. Comments must be received by May
10, 2016.

Statutory Authority

The amendment is proposed pursuant to Texas Occupations
Code §1051.202, which provides the Texas Board of Architec-
tural Examiners with authority to promulgate rules to implement
Chapters 1051, 1052, and 1053 of the Texas Occupations Code,
Texas Occupations Code §1051.705, which grants the Board au-
thority to recognize and approve architecture educational pro-
grams, and §1051.305, which grants the Board authority to issue
registration by reciprocity for an applicant who holds a license or
certificate of registration issued by another jurisdiction that has
licensing or registration requirements substantially equivalent to
those of Texas.

Cross Reference to Statute
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The proposed amendments to this rule do not affect any other
statutes.

§1.22.  Registration by Reciprocal Transfer.

(a) A person may apply for architectural registration by recip-
rocal transfer if the person holds an architectural registration that is
active and in good standing in another jurisdiction and the other juris-
diction:

(1) has licensing or registration requirements substantially
equivalent to Texas registration requirements; or

(2) has entered into a reciprocity agreement with the Board
that has been approved by the Governor of Texas.

(b) In order to obtain architectural registration by reciprocal
transfer, an Applicant must demonstrate the following:

(1) the Applicant has:

(A) successfully completed a professional degree in ar-
chitecture as described by §1.21(a)(1) of this Subchapter;

(B) [€A)] successfully completed the Architect Regis-
tration Examination (ARE) or another architectural registration exami-
nation which the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards
(NCARB) has approved as conforming to NCARB's examination stan-
dards; and

(C) [B)] successfully completed the requirements of
the Intern Development Program (IDP) or acquired at least three years
of acceptable architectural experience following registration in another
jurisdiction; or

(2) the Applicant has been given Council Certification by
NCARB and such Council Certification is not currently in an expired
or revoked status.

(c) An Applicant who applies for architectural registration by
reciprocity on or before December 31, 2020, and otherwise demon-
strates satisfaction of all requirements for registration at that time, is
not required to complete a professional degree in architecture, as de-
scribed by §1.21(a)(1) of this Subchapter, provided that the applicant
has successfully completed a pre-professional bachelor's degree in ar-
chitecture by a U.S. regionally accredited institution. This subsection
is repealed effective December 31, 2020.

(d) [€e)] An Applicant for architectural registration by recipro-
cal transfer must remit the required registration fee to the Board within
60 days after the date of the tentative approval letter sent to the Appli-
cant by the Board.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 28, 2016.

TRD-201603261

Lance Brenton

General Counsel

Texas Board of Architectural Examiners

Earliest possible date of adoption: August 14, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 305-8519

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC
ACCOUNTS

CHAPTER 3. TAX ADMINISTRATION
SUBCHAPTER V. FRANCHISE TAX
34 TAC §3.583

The Comptroller of Public Accounts proposes amendments to
§3.583, concerning margin: exemptions. The amendments im-
plement House Bill 500, 83rd Legislature, 2013; House Bill 2358,
84th Legislature, 2015; and Senate Bill 1563, 84th Legislature,
2015.

Throughout the section, titles are added to statutory citations.

Subsection (b)(2), regarding application for exemption, is
amended to add new subsection (n), related to out-of-state
entities performing disaster- or emergency-related work, to the
list of subsections providing an exemption that does not require
application under subsection (b). Paragraph (2)(B) is amended
for clarity and no substantive change is intended.

Subsection (c)(1) is amended to correct a grammatical error.
Paragraph (2)(C) is amended to correctly include a jeopardy de-
termination as a reason for which an entity may request a re-
determination hearing when an exemption has been denied or
revoked.

The title and contents of subsection (d)(1) are amended to the
singular form for consistency with the other paragraphs in this
section. The information provided in paragraph (1) is reorga-
nized into subparagraphs (A) - (C) and amended to implement
House Bill 500. Subparagraph (A), which provides information
on the exemption for insurance organizations authorized to do
business in this state, is amended to implement House Bill 500
by deleting the reference to Insurance Code, Chapters 221-224,
and inserting instead "authorized to engage in insurance busi-
ness in this state that are required to pay an annual tax mea-
sured by their gross premiums receipts" to identify authorized in-
surance organizations that are exempt from franchise tax. Sub-
paragraph (B), which provides information on the exemption for
insurance organizations not authorized to do business in this
state (non-admitted insurance organizations), is also amended
to implement House Bill 500, which provides an exemption for
a non-admitted insurance organization that pays a gross premi-
ums tax in another state or foreign jurisdiction. A title is added to
subparagraph (C), which provides information on the period cov-
ered by the exemption, previously provided in subsection (d)(1)
without changes. Titles are added to paragraphs (2) - (6) and
paragraph (2) is amended for clarity with no substantive change
intended.

The title and purpose of subsection (g) are amended to be con-
sistent with other subsections in this section by providing the ex-
emption for an entity with business interest in solar energy de-
vices rather than providing only the definition of "solar energy
device." The definition of "solar energy device" remains in the
subsection for reference.

The title of subsection (h), exemption for recycling operation, is
amended to be consistent with other titles in the section. Also,
the definition of "sludge" from Health and Safety Code, §361.003
(Definitions), is added without change.

Subsection (i)(2) and (4) are amended to refer to paragraph (6)
of the subsection for information on the meaning of "timely man-
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ner." Paragraphs (3), (4), (5) and (6)(B) are amended to correct
grammatical errors.

Subsection (j)(2)(A) and (B) are amended to add "for example" to
clarify that the information provided in the subparagraphs apply
also to other periods, not just the periods specified.

Subsection (k) is amended to add a title and also to include a
cooperative credit association, previously omitted in error in this
subsection but eligible for exemption under Tax Code §171.076
(Exemption--Cooperative Credit Association).

New subsection (m) is added to implement Senate Bill 1563,
which exempts from franchise tax nonprofit corporations created
by the TexAmericas Center.

New subsection (n) is added to implement House Bill 2358,
which provides a franchise tax exemption for out-of-state busi-
ness entities performing disaster- or emergency-related work
in Texas during a disaster response period. The reference to
"transaction of business" in Texas from House Bill 2358 is re-
placed with a form of "doing business in Texas" to be consistent
with Tax Code, §171.001 (Tax Imposed), related to the impo-
sition of the franchise tax. Paragraph (1) provides information
regarding notification requirements and paragraph (2) provides
definitions for "affiliate," "critical infrastructure," "declared state
disaster or emergency," "disaster- or emergency-related work,"
"disaster response period," "in-state business entity," "mutual
assistance agreement," and "out-of-state business entity," taken
directly from Business & Commerce Code, §112.003 (Defini-
tions), without change and included as subparagraphs (A) - (H),
respectively.

Tom Currah, Chief Revenue Estimator, has determined that for
the first five-year period the rule will be in effect, there will be no
significant revenue impact on the state or units of local govern-
ment.

Mr. Currah also has determined that for each year of the first five
years the rule is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a re-
sult of enforcing the rule will be by conforming the rule to current
statutes and clarifying agency policy. This rule is proposed un-
der Tax Code, Title 2, and does not require a statement of fiscal
implications for small businesses. There is no significant antic-
ipated economic cost to individuals who are required to comply
with the proposed rule.

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Teresa G.
Bostick, Director, Tax Policy Division, P.O. Box 13528, Austin,
Texas 78711-3528. Comments must be received no later than
30 days from the date of publication of the proposal in the Texas
Register.

The amendments are proposed under Tax Code, §111.002
(Comptroller's Rules; Compliance; Forfeiture), which provides
the comptroller with the authority to prescribe, adopt, and
enforce rules relating to the administration and enforcement of
the provisions of Tax Code, Title 2.

The amendments implement Tax Code, §171.052 (Certain Cor-
porations), and §171.086 (Exemption: Political Subdivision Cor-
poration); Business & Commerce Code, §112 (Facilitating Busi-
ness Rapid Response to State Declared Disasters Act); Special
District Local Laws Code, §3503.111 (Nonprofit Corporations);
and Local Government Code, §304.001 (Aggregation by Politi-
cal Subdivisions).

$3.583. Margin: Exemptions.

(a) Effective date. This section applies to franchise tax reports
originally due on or after January 1, 2008, except as otherwise noted.

(b) Application for exemption. An entity that has not previ-
ously established an exemption from franchise tax with the comptrol-
ler must apply for an exemption. An entity that is not a corporation,
but whose activities would qualify it for a specific exemption under
Tax Code, Chapter 171, Subchapter B, if it were a corporation, may
qualify for the exemption from the tax in the same manner and un-
der the same conditions as a corporation. See Tax Code, §171.088
(Exemption--Noncorporate Entity Eligible for Certain Exemptions).
For provisional exemptions for certain entities, see subsection (i) of
this section; for trade show exemptions, see subsection (j) of this sec-
tion.

(1) An entity that believes it is exempt from [payment of]
franchise tax must furnish to the comptroller sufficient evidence to es-
tablish its exempt status. The entity claiming the exemption bears the
burden to establish its entitlement to exempt status and any doubts will
result in a denial of the application for exemption.

(2) Except as otherwise provided in subsections (f), (i),
[and] (j), and (n) of this section, each entity must submit to the
comptroller:

(A) arequest for exemption in writing, which may re-
quire using forms developed by the comptroller for requesting exemp-
tions, indicating the particular provision of Tax Code, Chapter 171,
under which exemption is claimed;

(B) adetailed statement of both the entity's past and cur-
rent activities, if any, and its future plan of activities, each [beth] in
relation to the manner in which the entity proposes [adepts] to imple-
ment the purposes clause in its certificate of formation or application
for registration;

(C) an entity formed or created under Texas law whose
articles of organization or formation is on file with the Texas Secretary
of State need not submit copies of those documents with its request for
exemption. A Texas entity that is not required to file organizational
documents with the Texas Secretary of State must furnish a signed and
dated copy of its organizational documents with its exemption request.
If anon-Texas entity is required to file articles of organization or forma-
tion with its home jurisdiction Secretary of State, or other designated
agency or officer, the entity must provide file-stamped copies of those
filed organizational or formation documents. If a non-Texas entity is
not required to file its articles of organization with the Secretary of State
or other authority of its home jurisdiction, it must furnish a signed and
dated copy of its organizational or formation documents with its ex-
emption request; and

(D) any additional information the comptroller may re-
quire to make a determination whether the entity is eligible for a fran-
chise tax exemption.

(c) Actions by comptroller. Upon receipt of an application for
exemption, the comptroller's representative will review the application
and send the applicant a notification either granting the exemption or
denying the exemption, or requesting additional information.

(1) If the exemption is granted, the exemption will be ef-
fective from the first date the entity was eligible for exemption. If the
entity paid any franchise taxes prior to the comptroller's notification
granting the exemption for a privilege period after the effective date of
the exemption, the entity may request a refund, subject to the applicable
statute of limitations. Ifthe effective date of the exemption occurs after
the beginning of a privilege period, the entity must pay through the end
of such privilege period. An entity that has been subject to the tax and
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becomes eligible for exemption is liable for the [Tax Cede, §171.0011;]
additional tax under Tax Code, §171.0011 (Additional Tax).

(2) If the exemption is denied or revoked, the entity may
contest the denial or revocation by filing all reports due as required by
the comptroller; and

(A) paying all amounts of tax, penalty, and interest due
and requesting a refund hearing pursuant to the provisions of Tax Code,
Chapter 111 (Collection Procedures);

(B) paying all amounts of tax, penalty, and interest due,
accompanying the payment with a written protest, and filing suit for
the recovery of amounts paid pursuant to the provisions of Tax Code,
Chapter 112 (Taxpayers' Suits); or

(C) requesting a redetermination hearing pursuant to
Tax Code, §111.009 (Redetermination), if the comptroller issues a
deficiency or jeopardy determination.

(d) Qualification for exemption.

(1) Entity [Entities

(A) Insurance organization authorized to do business in

this state. An [AHl] insurance, surety, guaranty, fidelity or [and] title in-

surance company [eompanies], title insurance agent [agents], or [and]

other insurance organization authorized to engage in insurance busi-

ness in this state, that is required to pay an annual tax measured by its

gross premium receipts is [erganizations that are subjeet to the annual

gross prentiums tax levied by Insurance Code, Chapters 221 - 224, are]

exempt from payment of the franchise tax, regardless of whether any
gross premiums taxes are actually paid in any given year.

] subject to insurance premium taxes.

(B) Insurance organization not authorized to do busi-
ness in this state (non-admitted insurance organization). A non-admit-
ted insurance [eempany o] organization [thatis] required to pay a gross
premium receipts tax during a tax year is exempted from the franchise
tax for the same tax year. A non-admitted insurance organization that
is subject to an occupation tax or any other tax that is imposed for the
privilege of doing business in another state or foreign jurisdiction, in-
cluding a tax on gross premium receipts, is exempted from the franchise
tax.

(C) Period covered. The exemption in this paragraph
covers the periods upon which the franchise tax is based, provided the
gross premium receipts tax is required to be paid on premiums received
or written, as applicable, during the same period. For example, an in-
surance organization's gross premium receipts tax is due and payable
on March 1, 2009, for premiums received during calendar year 2008.
The entity would be exempt from franchise tax for the 2009 annual
report covering the January 1, 2009 - December 31, 2009, privilege
period, for margin attributable to calendar year 2008. An entity is sub-
ject to the franchise tax, however, for a tax year in any portion of which
it is in violation of an order issued by the Texas Department of Insur-
ance under Insurance Code, §2254.003(b) (Refund or Discount Based
on Excessive or Unfairly Discriminatory Premium Rates), that is final
after appeal or that is no longer subject to appeal.

(2) Nonprofit entity organized to promote county, city, or
another area. A nonprofit entity [These entities] organized for the ex-
clusive purpose of promoting the public interest of any county, city,
town, or other area within the state, must show that promotion of the
public interest is the exclusive purpose of the entity and not merely an
incidental result. An entity will not be considered to be promoting the
public interest if it engages in activities to promote or protect the pri-
vate, business, or professional interests of its members or patronage.

(3) Nonprofit entity organized for religious purposes. A
nonprofit entity seeking franchise tax exemption as a religious organi-

zation must be an organized group of people regularly meeting for the
primary purpose of holding, conducting, and sponsoring religious wor-
ship services according to the rites of their sect. The entity must be able
to provide evidence of an established congregation showing that there
is an organized group of people regularly attending these services. An
entity that supports and encourages religion as an incidental part of its
overall purpose, or one whose general purpose is furthering religious
work or instilling its membership with a religious understanding, will
not qualify for exemption under this provision. No part of the net earn-
ings of the organization may inure to the benefit of any private party
or individual other than as reasonable compensation for services ren-
dered to the organization. Some examples of entities that do not meet
the requirements for exemption under this definition are conventions
or associations of churches, evangelistic associations, churches with
membership consisting of family members only, missionary organiza-
tions, and groups that meet for the purpose of holding prayer meetings,
Bible study or revivals. Although these organizations do not qualify
for exemption under this category of exemption as religious organiza-
tions, they may qualify for the exemption under Tax Code, §171.063
(Exemption-Nonprofit Corporation Exempt from Federal Income Tax),
if they obtain an exemption from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
under Internal Revenue Code (IRC), §501(c).

(4) Nonprofit entity organized for public charity. A non-
profit entity seeking a franchise tax exemption as organized for purely
public charity must devote all or substantially all of its activities to the
alleviation of poverty, disease, pain, and suffering by providing food,
clothing, drugs, treatment, shelter, or psychological counseling directly
to indigent or similarly deserving members of society with its funds de-
rived primarily from sources other than fees or charges for its services.
If an entity engages in any substantial activity other than the activities
that are described in this paragraph, it will not be considered as hav-
ing been organized for purely public charity, and therefore, will not
qualify for exemption under this provision. No part of the net earn-
ings of the organization may inure to the benefit of any private party
or individual other than as reasonable compensation for services ren-
dered to the organization. Some examples of organizations that do not
meet the requirements for exemption under this definition are frater-
nal organizations, lodges, fraternities, sororities, service clubs, veter-
ans groups, mutual benefit or social groups, professional groups, trade
or business groups, trade associations, medical associations, chambers
of commerce, and similar organizations. Even though not organized
for profit and performing services that are often charitable in nature,
these types of organizations do not meet the requirements for exemp-
tion under this provision. Although these organizations do not qualify
for exemption under this category of exemption as charitable organiza-
tions, they may qualify for the exemption under Tax Code, §171.063,
if they obtain an exemption from the IRS under IRC, §501(c).

(5) Nonprofit entity organized for educational purposes. A
nonprofit entity seeking a franchise tax exemption as an educational or-
ganization must show that its activities are devoted solely to systematic
instruction, particularly in the commonly accepted arts, sciences, and
vocations, and has a regularly scheduled curriculum, using the com-
monly accepted methods of teaching, a faculty of qualified instructors,
and an enrolled student body or students in attendance at a place where
the educational activities are regularly conducted. An entity that has
activities consisting solely of presenting public discussion groups, fo-
rums, panels, lectures, or other similar programs, may qualify for ex-
emption under this provision, if the presentations provide instruction in
the commonly accepted arts, sciences, and vocations. The entity will
not be considered for exemption under this provision if the systematic
instruction or educational classes are incidental to some other facet of
the organization's activities. No part of the net earnings of the organiza-
tion may inure to the benefit of any private party or individual other than
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as reasonable compensation for services rendered to the organization.
Some examples of organizations that do not meet the requirements for
exemption under this definition are professional associations, business
leagues, information resource groups, research organizations, support
groups, home schools, and organizations that merely disseminate infor-
mation via tangible or electronic media. Although these organizations
do not qualify for exemption under this category of exemption as edu-
cational organizations, they may qualify for the exemption under Tax
Code, §171.063, if they obtain an exemption from the IRS under IRC,
§501(c).

(6) Certain homeowners' associations. A nonprofit entity
requesting franchise tax exemption as a homeowners' association must
prove that it meets all requirements to qualify for the exemption. The
entity must show that it is organized and operated to obtain, manage,
construct, and maintain the property in or of a residential condominium
or residential real estate development. The entity also must prove that
the condominium project, or, for a real estate development, the related
property, is legally restricted for use as residences. Furthermore, the
entity must establish that the collective resident owners of individual
lots, residences or units control at least 51% of the votes of the entity
and that voting control, however acquired, is not held by: a single indi-
vidual or family; one or more developers, declarants, banks, investors,
or other similar parties. For example, an association is formed for a
residential condominium consisting of 12 units with each unit being
entitled to one vote. Each of five individuals separately owns and oc-
cupies one unit, a total of five units. A sixth individual owns two units,
living in one unit and leasing the other. A seventh individual owns and
leases the remaining five units. None of the owners are related. In de-
termining whether the collective resident owners control at least 51%
of the votes of the organization, the sixth owner is a resident owner
regarding the one unit in which the owner lives and an investor regard-
ing the other. The collective resident owners, therefore, have a total
of six votes. Consequently, since the collective resident owners only
have 50% of the votes of the entity, the association does not meet the
requirement that the resident owners must control at least 51% of the
votes of the organization. Accordingly, the entity does not qualify for
the franchise tax exemption as a homeowners' association.

(e) Revocation, withdrawal, or loss of exemptions.

(1) An entity that no longer qualifies for the franchise tax
exemption is required to notify the comptroller in writing of its change
in status. Except as provided in paragraph (2) of this subsection, if at
any time the comptroller has reason to believe that an exempt entity no
longer qualifies for exemption, the comptroller's representative will no-
tify the entity that its exempt status is under review. The comptroller's
representative may request additional information necessary to ascer-
tain the continued validity of the entity's exempt status. If the comp-
troller determines that an entity is no longer entitled to its exemption,
notification to that effect will be sent to the entity. The effective date of
revocation is the date the entity no longer qualified for the exemption.
The day immediately following the date of withdrawal, loss, or revo-
cation shall be the beginning date for determining the entity's privilege
period and for all other purposes related to franchise tax.

(2) For nonprofit entities granted an exemption under Tax
Code, §171.063, the revocation, withdrawal, or loss of the federal in-
come tax exemption automatically terminates the franchise tax exemp-
tion. A nonprofit entity that no longer qualifies for the federal income
tax exemption which was the basis for obtaining the franchise tax ex-
emption must notify the comptroller in writing within 30 days of its
change in status and must provide a copy of the notice of such revo-
cation, withdrawal, or loss. The effective date of withdrawal or loss
is the date of withdrawal or loss of the federal tax exemption. The ef-
fective date of a revocation is the date the IRS serves written notice of

the revocation to the non-profit entity or the date the IRS serves written
notice of revocation to the comptroller, whichever is earlier. The day
immediately following the date of withdrawal, loss, or revocation shall
be the entity's beginning date for determining its privilege periods and
for all other purposes of the franchise tax.

(3) An electric cooperative entity previously exempted
from franchise tax under Tax Code, §171.079 (Exemption--Electric
Cooperative Corporation), that subsequently participates in a joint
powers agency thereby loses its franchise tax exemption. The com-
mencing date of participation in the joint powers agency shall be
considered the entity's beginning date for purposes of determining the
entity's privilege periods and for all other purposes of the franchise
tax. The electric cooperative must notify the comptroller in writing
that it is a participant in a joint powers agency within 30 days after the
commencing date of its participation.

(f) Federal exemption. An entity meeting the requirements of
any paragraph of this subsection establishes its exempt status by fur-
nishing to the comptroller a copy of a current exemption letter from the
IRS.

(1) A nonprofit entity that has been exempted from federal
income tax under the provisions of IRC, §501(c)(3) - (8), (10), (19); or

(2) any entity that has been exempted from federal income
tax under the provisions of IRC, §501(c)(2) or (25), if the entity or
entities for which it holds title to property are either exempt from or
not subject to the franchise tax; and

(3) any entity that has been exempted from federal income
tax under IRC, §501(c)(16).

(g) Solar energy devices exemption. An entity engaged solely
in the business of manufacturing, selling, or installing solar energy de-
vices is exempted from the franchise tax. [Selar energy deviee:] For
purposes of this section [Fax Cede; §171-.056], the term "solar energy
device" includes, but is not limited to:

(1) devices used in the conversion of solar thermal energy
into electrical or mechanical power;

(2) devices used in the photovoltaic (solar cell) generation
of electricity;

(3) systems used in the heating of water and the heating
and cooling of structures by use of solar collectors to gather the sun's
energy; and

(4) heat pumps used as an integral part of a system designed
to make the best combined use of solar energy and conventional heat-

ing.

(h) Recycling [Exemption for reeyeling] operation exemption.
An entity engaged solely in the business of recycling sludge [as defined
§361.003;] is exempt from franchise tax. For purposes of this subsec-
tion, "sludge" means solid, semisolid, or liquid waste generated from a
municipal, commercial, or industrial wastewater treatment plant, wa-
ter supply treatment plant, or air pollution control facility, excluding
the treated effluent from a wastewater treatment plant, as provided un-
der Health and Safety Code, Chapter 361 (Solid Waste Disposal Act),
§361.003 (Definitions).

(1) Provisional exemptions.

(1) If established with the comptroller, the following enti-
ties may be granted a temporary exemption from franchise tax:

(A) a nonprofit entity that has applied for exemption
from federal income tax under IRC, §501(c)(3) - (8), (10), (19); or
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(B) an entity that has applied for exemption from fed-
eral income tax under IRC, §501(c)(2) or (25), if the entity or entities
for which it holds title to property is either exempt from or not subject
to the franchise tax; and

(C) an entity that has applied for exemption from fed-
eral income tax under IRC, §501(c)(16).

(2) To obtain a temporary franchise tax exemption with the
comptroller, an entity that has applied for but has not yet received a
letter of exemption from the IRS must timely file, as provided in para-
graph (6) of this subsection, with the comptroller:

(A) acopy ofthe application for recognition of exemp-
tion that has been filed with the IRS; and

(B) acopy of:

(i) a written notice from the IRS stating that the ap-
plication for recognition of exemption has been received; or

(i) a receipt as proof that the application has been
sent to the IRS by means of the United States Postal Service, other
carrier, or hand delivery to the IRS.

(3) Paragraph [Paragraphs] (2)(A) and [(2)] (B)(ii) of this
subsection, applies [apply] only if the organization has filed its appli-
cation for recognition of exemption during the 14th or 15th month after
its beginning date. Beginning date means:

(A) for an entity organized under the laws of this state,
the date on which the entity's certificate of formation or other similar
document takes effect; and

(B) for a foreign entity, the date on which the entity be-
gins doing business in this state.

(4) If the information required in paragraph [paragraphs]
(2)(A) and (B)(i) of this subsection is provided in a timely manner,
as provided in paragraph (6) of this subsection, a 90-day provisional
franchise tax exemption will be granted.

(5) An entity qualifying under paragraph [paragraphs]
(2)(A) and (B)(ii) of this subsection, will be granted a 90-day provi-
sional exemption with the condition that a copy of the notice required
in paragraph (2)(B)(i) of this subsection be provided to the comptroller
within 30 days from the date of the letter notifying the entity of the
provisional exemption. If the IRS notification is not provided within
the 30-day period, the provisional exemption will be canceled. An
entity whose provisional exemption is canceled will be subject to all
tax, penalty, and interest that has accrued since the entity's beginning
date.

(6) The information necessary for obtaining a temporary
franchise tax exemption will be considered to be provided to the comp-
troller in a timely manner if:

(A) the application for recognition of exemption is pro-
vided to the IRS within their timely filing guidelines; and

(B) the information required in paragraph [paragraphs]
(2)(A) and (B)(i) or (B)(ii) of this subsection, is postmarked within 15
months after the day that is the last day of a calendar month and that is
nearest to the entity's beginning date.

(7) Before the expiration of the 90-day provisional exemp-
tion, the entity must provide the comptroller a copy of the letter from
the IRS showing that the decision on the federal exemption is still pend-
ing or stating that the federal exemption is either granted or denied.

(8) If the comptroller is notified as required in paragraph
(7) of this subsection, that the decision on the federal exemption is still
pending, an extension of the provisional exemption may be considered.

(9) Ifthe information in paragraph (7) of this subsection, is
not provided as required, the provisional exemption may be canceled.
If the provisional exemption is canceled, the entity will be responsible
for all franchise tax reports and payments that have become due since
its beginning date, and penalty and interest will be based on the original
due date of each report.

(10) An entity that provides the comptroller a copy of the
letter from the IRS stating that the federal exemption has been granted
will be considered for franchise tax exemption under subsection (f) of
this section.

(11) If the federal exemption is denied by the IRS, the en-
tity is responsible for all franchise tax reports and payments that have
become due since its beginning date and interest will be based on the
original due date of each report. Late filing and payment penalties will
be waived for any reports and payments postmarked within 90 days af-
ter the date of the final denial of the federal exemption. The penalty
waiver process will begin when the entity submits a written request for
penalty waiver and a copy of the letter denying the federal exemption
when filing reports and payment.

(j) Trade show exemption. See Tax Code, §171.084
(Exemption--Certain Trade Show Participants), for the requirements
for exemption for certain foreign entities that participate in trade
shows in Texas.

(1) Notification to comptroller. Entities need not apply for
an exemption under Tax Code, §171.084.

(A) If aforeign entity has obtained a registration or has
already notified the comptroller that it is doing business in Texas, the
entity must notify the comptroller in writing by the due date of the first
report for which the entity is exempt that the report and payment are
not due because the entity is exempt under Tax Code, §171.084. After
such notification, the entity must notify the comptroller in writing only
when the organization no longer qualifies for exemption.

(B) Ifa foreign entity has not obtained a registration or
otherwise qualified to do business in the state, if applicable, and if the
entity has not notified the comptroller that it is doing business in Texas,
the entity must notify the comptroller in writing only when the entity
no longer qualifies for exemption under Tax Code, §171.084. There is
no need to apply for exemption as long as the entity qualifies for the
exemption.

(2) Solicitation periods. If the solicitation of orders is con-
ducted during more than five periods during the business period upon
which tax is based as set out in Tax Code, §171.1532 (Business on
Which Tax on Net Taxable Margin is Based), the entity does not qual-
ify for exemption.

(A) For example, an [An] entity with its fiscal year end-
ing December 31, 2008, that filed a 2008 annual report, will not have
to file and pay a 2009 annual report if it did not solicit orders for more
than five periods during 2008.

(B) Forexample, assume [Assume] a foreign entity par-
ticipated in its first trade show in Texas on April 1, 2008. It also par-
ticipated in trade shows in 2009 on January 1, March 1, May 1, June
1, August 1, and October 1. The entity's fiscal year ends are December
31, 2008, and 2009. The entity would be exempt for its initial report
and payment (covering the privilege periods from April 1, 2008 - De-
cember 31, 2009) because it only solicited for one period from April
1, 2008 - December 31, 2008 (i.e., the business upon which the initial
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report is based). The entity would be required to file a 2010 annual
report and pay tax, however, because it solicited for six periods from
January 1, 2009 - December 31, 2009 (i.e., the period upon which the
2010 annual report is based).

(3) One hundred twenty hours. A solicitation period may
not exceed 120 consecutive hours. If the solicitation of orders is con-
ducted during a single period of more than 120 consecutive hours, the
entity does not qualify for exemption. For example, an entity that meets
the other requirements of Tax Code, §171.084, will meet the 120 hours
requirement if the solicitation occurs Monday - Friday, but will not
meet the 120 hours requirement if the solicitation occurs Monday -
Saturday. If none of the solicitation limits prescribed in this subsec-
tion are exceeded, an entity may qualify for the exemption even if it
leases space at a wholesale center for the entire period upon which the
tax is based.

(k) Credit association exemption. A cooperative credit asso-
ciation incorporated under Agriculture Code, Chapter 55 (Cooperative
Credit Associations), an [A#] entity organized under 12 U.S.C. §2071,
or an agricultural credit association regulated by the Farm Credit Ad-
ministration is exempt from franchise tax.

(1) Bingo unit exemption. For reports originally due on or after
October 1, 2009, a bingo unit formed under Occupations Code, Chap-
ter 2001, Subchapter I-1 (Unit Accounting), is exempt from franchise
tax. "Unit" means two or more licensed authorized organizations that
conduct bingo at the same location joining together to share revenues,
authorized expenses, and inventory related to bingo operation.

(m) TexAmericas Center nonprofit corporation exemption.

(C) Declared state disaster or emergency--A disaster or
emergency event that occurs in this state and:

(i) in response to which the governor issues an ex-
ecutive order or proclamation declaring a state of disaster or a state of
emergency; or

(ii) _that the president of the United States declares a
major disaster or emergency.

(D) Disaster- or emergency-related work--Repairing,
renovating, installing, building, rendering services, or performing
other business activities relating to the repair or replacement of critical
infrastructure that has been damaged, impaired, or destroyed by a
declared state disaster or emergency.

(E) Disaster response period--
(i) the period that:

(I) begins on the 10th day before the date of the
earliest event establishing a declared state disaster or emergency by
the issuance of an executive order or proclamation by the governor or
a declaration of the president of the United States; and

(II) _ends on the earlier of the 120th day after the
start date or the 60th day after the ending date of the disaster or emer-
gency period established by the executive order or proclamation or
declaration, or on a later date as determined by an executive order or
proclamation by the governor; or

(i) the period that, with respect to an out-of-state
business entity:

Effective June 16, 2015, a nonprofit entity created by the TexAmericas
Center under Special District Local Laws Code, §3503.111 (Nonprofit
Corporations), is exempt from franchise tax.

(n) Disaster response exemption for an out-of-state business

(I) begins on the date that the out-of-state busi-
ness entity enters this state in good faith under a mutual assistance
agreement and in anticipation of a state disaster or emergency, regard-
less of whether a state disaster or emergency is actually declared; and

entity. Effective June 16, 2015, an out-of-state business entity is not
required to file a franchise tax report with or pay franchise tax to this
state if the performance of disaster- and emergency-related work during
a disaster response period is the only business the entity does in Texas.
An out-of-state business entity that remains in Texas after a disaster
response period is not entitled to this exemption.

(1) Notification to comptroller. An entity need not apply
for an exemption from franchise tax under Business & Commerce
Code, §112.004 (Exemption of Out-of-State Business Entity From

(II) _ends on the earlier of the date that the work
is concluded or the seventh day after the out-of-state business entity
enters this state.

(F) In-state business entity--A domestic entity or for-
eign entity that is authorized to transact business in this state immedi-
ately before a disaster response period.

(G) Mutual assistance agreement--An agreement to
which one or more business entities are parties and under which a

Certain Obligations During Disaster Response Period). An entity

public utility, municipally owned utility, or joint agency owning,

must notify the comptroller in writing only when the entity no longer

operating, or owning and operating critical infrastructure used for

qualifies for the exemption.

(2) Definitions. For the purpose of this subsection, the
terms defined in subparagraphs (B) - (H) of this paragraph have the
meanings given in Business & Commerce Code, §112.003 (Defini-

tions).

(A) Affiliate--A member of a combined group as that
term is described by Tax Code §171.1014 (Combined Reporting; Af-
filiated Group Engaged in Unitary Business).

(B) Critical infrastructure--Equipment and property
that is owned or used by a telecommunications provider or cable

electric generation, transmission, or distribution in this state may
request that an out-of-state business entity perform work in this state
in anticipation of a state disaster or emergency.

(H) Out-of-state business entity--A foreign entity that
enters this state at the request of an in-state business entity under a
mutual assistance agreement or is an affiliate of an in-state business

entity and;

(i) that:

(I) _except with respect to the performance of a
disaster- or emergency-related work:

operator or for communications networks, electric generation, electric
transmission and distribution systems, natural gas and natural gas lig-

(-a-) hasno physical presence in this state and
is not authorized to transact business in this state immediately before a

uids gathering, processing, and storage, transmission and distributions

disaster response period; and

systems, and water pipelines and related support facilities, equipment,
and property that serve multiple persons, including buildings, offices,

(-b-) is not registered with the secretary of
state to transact business in this state, does not file a tax report with this

structures, lines, poles, and pipes.

state or a political subdivision of this state, and does not have nexus
with this state for the purpose of taxation during the year immediately
preceding the disaster response period; and
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(1l) enters this state at the request of an in-state
business entity, the state, or a political subdivision of this state to per-
form disaster- or emergency-related work in this state during the dis-
aster response period; or

(ii) that performs work in this state under a mutual
assistance agreement.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 30, 2016.

TRD-201603308

Lita Gonzalez

General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Earliest possible date of adoption: August 14, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387

¢ ¢ ¢

TITLE 37. PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORREC-
TIONS

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
PUBLIC SAFETY

CHAPTER 16. COMMERCIAL DRIVER
LICENSE

SUBCHAPTER A. LICENSING REQUIRE-
MENTS, QUALIFICATIONS, RESTRICTIONS,
AND ENDORSEMENTS

37 TAC §§16.1 - 16.7

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) pro-
poses new §§16.1 - 16.7, concerning Licensing Requirements,
Qualifications, Restrictions, and Endorsements. This proposal
is necessary to align commercial driver licensing requirements
with existing federal regulations governing commercial drivers.

In the May 6, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg
3254), the department published proposed new §§16.1 - 16.7.
The department received comments on the May 6th proposal
from numerous members of the commercial driving community.
In response to their written comments, the department withdrew
the May 6th proposal and is republishing this proposal.

Several of the comments received pertained to §16.1(2)(G)
which excepted from adoption 49 CFR §383.75, regarding third
party commercial driver license skill testing. These commenters
expressed the desire to have the flexibility to provide third party
commercial skills testing to commercial driver license applicants
in Texas. In response to their written comments, the department
deleted the exception noted in §16.1(2)(G). While this change
will not allow the department to immediately establish a third
party commercial driver license skills testing program, the
incorporation and adoption by reference of 49 CFR §383.75
will provide the department with the flexibility to adopt rules
regarding third party commercial skills testing at a later date
if the department chooses to take such action and will avoid
confusion among the commercial driving community since that

provision is referenced in §522.023 of the Texas Transportation
Code

Additionally, the department received one comment related to
the inclusion of the word "only" in §16.2(5) concerning the def-
inition of recreational vehicle. The department included "only"
in error so the word has been deleted from §16.2(5) in order to
conform the language to §522.004(a)(4) and §522.004(b) of the
Texas Transportation Code.

No changes have been made to §§16.3 - 16.7 from the original
May 6th proposal.

Suzy Whittenton, Chief Financial Officer, has determined that
for each year of the first five-year period these rules are in effect
there will be no fiscal implications for state or local government,
or local economies.

Ms. Whittenton has also determined that there will be no ad-
verse economic effect on small businesses or micro-businesses
required to comply with the rules as proposed. There is no antic-
ipated economic cost to individuals who are required to comply
with the rules as proposed. There is no anticipated negative im-
pact on local employment.

In addition, Ms. Whittenton has also determined that for each
year of the first five-year period the rules are in effect, the public
benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the rules will be the
alignment of both state and federal commercial driver license
laws, thereby increasing effective enforcement and compliance
of commercial laws.

The department has determined that this proposal is not a "ma-
jor environmental rule" as defined by Texas Government Code,
§2001.0225. "Major environmental rule" is defined to mean a
rule that the specific intent of which is to protect the environment
or reduce risk to human health from environmental exposure and
that may adversely affect, in a material way, the economy, a sec-
tor of the economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environ-
ment or the public health and safety of a state or a sector of the
state. This proposal is not specifically intended to protect the en-
vironment or reduce risks to human health from environmental
exposure.

The department has determined that Chapter 2007 of the Texas
Government Code does not apply to this proposal. Accordingly,
the department is not required to complete a takings impact as-
sessment regarding this proposal.

Comments on this proposal may be submitted to Ron Coleman,
Driver License Division, Texas Department of Public Safety, P.O.
Box 4087 (MSC 0300), Austin, Texas 78773; by fax to (512) 424-
5233; or by email to DLDrulecomments@dps.texas.gov. Com-
ments must be received no later than thirty (30) days from the
date of publication of this proposal.

This proposal is proposed pursuant to Texas Government Code,
§411.004(3), which authorizes the Public Safety Commission to
adopt rules considered necessary for carrying out the depart-
ment's work, and Texas Transportation Code, §522.005, which
authorizes the department to adopt rules necessary to carry out
Chapter 522 and the federal act and to maintain compliance with
49 CFR Parts 383 and 384.

Texas Government Code, §411.004(3) and Texas Transportation
Code, §522.005 are affected by this proposal.
§16.1.

All rules and regulations adopted in this chapter apply to every person,
including employers of such persons, who holds a Texas commercial

General Requirements.
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driver license (CDL) or operates a commercial motor vehicle (CMV)
in this state, regardless if they are operating in interstate, foreign, or

(C) One who purchases a crop in a field and only har-
vests and transports the produce, but takes no part in the planting and

intrastate commerce.

(1) The department incorporates by reference and adopts:

(A) The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, Ti-
tle 49, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 383 including all in-
terpretations thereto, as amended through March 1, 2016. Where there
is conflict between 49 CFR Part 383 and Texas Transportation Code,

cultivating of the product, is not considered a farmer.

(D) One who purchases acres of growing timber and
cultivates and harvests it over a period of months or years is consid-
ered a farmer.

(2) A person operating a fire fighting or emergency vehicle
necessary to the preservation of life or property or the execution of

Chapter 522, Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 522 controls.
(B) 49 CFR §390.5.
(2) The CFRs detailed in this paragraph are excepted from

emergency governmental functions, whether operated by an employee
of a political subdivision or by a volunteer fire fighter, or a fire fighter
employed by a private company, for example, a refinery. This would
not exempt operators of vehicles used by utility companies.

adoption:
(A) 49 CFR §383.3(d)(3).
(B) 49 CFR §383.3(e).
(C) 49 CFR §383.3(g).
(D) 49 CFR §383.31(a).
(E) 49 CFR §383.31(b).
(F) 49 CFR §383.51(c)(9).
(G) 49 CFR §383.153(10).

§16.2. Chapter Definitions.

The terms in this section have the following meanings when used in
this chapter unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Act--Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 522.

(2) Disqualifying offense--Has the meaning assigned by
Texas Transportation Code, §522.081.

(3) Knowledge exam--Written, computerized, or auto-
mated exam.

(4) Out-of-service order--Has the meaning assigned by 49
CFR §383.5 or Texas Transportation Code, §522.003(23).

(5) Recreational vehicle--A vehicular type unit primarily
designed as temporary living quarters for recreational camping or travel
use that either has its own mode of power or is mounted on or towed
by another vehicle and is driven for personal use.

(6) Serious traffic conviction--Has the meaning assigned
by Texas Transportation Code, §522.003.

(7) Serious traffic violation--Has the meaning assigned by
Texas Transportation Code, §522.003(25) and §16.62 of this title (re-
lating to Serious Traffic Violations and Habitual Violators).

(8) Skills exam--Driver or road exam.

§16.3. Persons Exempted.

Persons exempted from commercial driver license (CDL) requirements
are:

(1) A person operating a vehicle that is controlled and op-
erated by a farmer which is used to transport agricultural products, farm
machinery, or farm supplies to or from a farm and which is not used
in the operations of a common or contract carrier and used within 150
miles of the person's farm.

(A) Under this exemption, a rancher is considered a

farmer.

(B) A farmer and his farmhands are equally exempt

(A) Drivers of industrial emergency response vehicles,
including an industrial ambulance are exempt only if the vehicle is op-
erated in compliance with criteria established by the Texas Industrial
Fire Training Board or the State Firemen's and Fire Marshall's Associ-
ation of Texas.

(B) Drivers of public or private ambulances are exempt
only if they have been issued a license by the Department of State
Health Services.

(C) Electric company employees repairing downed
power lines are not exempt.

(3) A person operating a military vehicle or a commercial
motor vehicle, when operated for military purposes by military person-
nel, members of the reserves and national guard on active duty (includ-
ing personnel on full-time national guard duty), personnel on part-time
training duty, and national guard military technicians. This exemption
includes the operation of vehicles leased by the United States govern-
ment for use by the military branches of government.

(4) A person operating a vehicle that is a recreational vehi-
cle that is driven for personal use.

(A) For purposes of this exemption recreational vehi-
cle means a vehicular type unit primarily designed as temporary living
quarters for recreational camping or travel use that either has its own
motive power or is mounted on or towed by another vehicle.

(B) This exemption includes travel trailers, camping
trailers, truck campers, and motor homes.

(5) A person operating a vehicle that is owned, leased, or
controlled by an air carrier, as defined by Texas Transportation Code,
§21.155(d), and that is driven or operated exclusively by an employee
of the air carrier only on the premises of an airport, as defined by Texas
Transportation Code, §22.001(2), on service roads to which the public
does not have access.

(6) A person operating a vehicle used exclusively to trans-
port seed cotton modules or cotton burrs.

§16.4.  Manufactured Housing.

Drivers who transport manufactured housing on highways must have
the proper commercial driver license (CDL) if the vehicle meets the
weight criteria for a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) as defined in 49
CFR §390.5. In determining whether the towed unit exceeds 10,000
pounds and whether the gross combination weight rating (GCWR) to-
tals 26,001 or more pounds, the manufactured housing being drawn
and trailers carrying the manufactured housing are motor vehicles for
purposes of the Act.

§16.5.  Qualifications to Drive in Intrastate Commerce.

A person applying for a commercial driver license (CDL) which au-

when the farmhands are in the employ of the farmer.

thorizes operation of a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) in intrastate
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commerce must meet the same requirements as those for interstate driv-
ing (49 CFR § 391.41), except for:

(1) The applicant must be at least 18 years of age.

(2) The applicant must have held a driver license for a min-

(C) contains no convictions for a disqualifying offense
or more than one serious traffic conviction during the three-year pe-
riod, which disqualified or should have disqualified the applicant in
accordance with the driver disqualification provisions of Texas Trans-
portation Code, §522.081; or

imum of 3 years.

(3) An applicant may present the department's vision

(D) contains no more than two convictions for moving
violations in a CMV.

or limb waiver certificate instead of meeting the vision or physical
requirements of 49 CFR §391.41. Waivers may only be renewed
through the Texas Department of Public Safety, Driver License Divi-
sion/Enforcement and Compliance Service, P.O. Box 4087, Austin,
Texas 78773-0310.

(4) A driver who operates a motor vehicle in intrastate

(7) If'the driving record shows either convictions for mov-
ing violations or crash involvement but does not indicate the type of
vehicle operated or the number of miles per hour above the posted
speed limit, the department may request additional official documen-
tation (e.g., a copy of the citation or crash report, or copies of court
records) from the applicant.

commerce only, and does not transport property requiring a hazardous
material placard, and was regularly employed operating a CMV in
Texas prior to August 28, 1989, is not required to meet the federal
physical and vision standards.

(5) A driver who operates a CMV in intrastate commerce

(8) If the applicant is arrested, cited for, or convicted of
any disqualifying offense or other moving violations during the pe-
riod an application is pending, the applicant must immediately report
such arrests, citations, or convictions to the Texas Department of Pub-
lic Safety, Driver License Division/Enforcement and Compliance Ser-

only may obtain a vision or limb waiver from the department provided

vice, P.O. Box 4087, Austin, Texas 78773-0310. No waiver determina-

the qualifications detailed in this section are met: (Only one waiver can

tion will be completed while any charge against the applicant, for what

be used to obtain a CDL.)
(A) Vision waiver requirements:
(i) _The applicant has 20/40 (Snellen) or better dis-

would be a disqualifying offense, is still pending. Convictions occur-
ring during the processing of an application will be considered in the
overall driving record. The applicant must also report any conviction
that is not listed on the driving record because of processing delays. Ifa

tant visual acuity with corrective lenses in the better eye; or

(ii) The applicant's vision is uncorrectable in one eye
and the applicant does not wear corrective lenses, then uncorrected vi-
sion must be at least 20/25 (Snellen) in the better eye;

(iii) The applicant has the ability to recognize the
colors of traffic signals and devices showing standard red, green, and
amber, and

(iv) The applicant must present a medical certificate
as required under 49 CFR §391.43.

(v) Applicants may be referred to a vision specialist
in cases involving a failure on the vision examination:

(I) When the applicant protests the results of the

subsequent review of the applicant's driving record identifies incidents
that should have been reported, any waiver issued may be revoked.

(9) Applicants for a Texas intrastate vision or limb waiver
must be able to meet all other physical requirements specified in 49
CFR §391.41 without the benefit of any other waiver.

(10) Applicants for a CDL must present a valid vision or
limb waiver certificate obtained from the department's Enforcement
and Compliance Service in Austin. A vision waiver may be used to

obtain a Hazardous Materials Endorsement; however, a limb waiver

cannot be used to obtain this endorsement.

(11)  All recipients of a Texas intrastate vision/limb waiver
will be required to have a license with the appropriate restrictions as

they apply. Waiver recipients will be notified in writing by means of

vision examination; or

(II)  When other conditions necessitate verifica-
tion by a medical professional.

(B) Limb waiver requirements:
(i) Medical certificate required under 49 CFR

the most recent address on file of the requirement to add the restrictions

and will be given 60 days to comply. Failure to comply within the

specified period may result in the revocation of any waiver and their

disqualification as a CMV driver.

(12) Applications for the renewal of the vision or limb
waiver certificates will be granted provided the applicant's driving

§391.43; and

(ii) Pass a comprehensive driving examination in the
appropriate class vehicle (equipped with all necessary vehicle modifi-
cations) for the CDL for which the applicant is applying.

(6) Applications for a Texas intrastate vision or limb
waiver will include a review of the applicant's driving record for the
three-year period immediately preceding the date of the application.

history continues to meet the requirements as detailed in paragraph (5)

of this subsection and the applicant for:

(A) a vision waiver continues to meet the vision stan-
dards listed in paragraph (5)(A) of this subsection and all other require-

ments of 49 CFR §391.41; or

(B) alimb waiver certificate continues to meet all other
requirements of 49 CFR §391.41.

An applicant may obtain a waiver from the department only if their
driving record:
(A) contains no suspensions, revocations, disqualifica-

(13) Applicants denied a vision/limb waiver may appeal
the decision of the department by contacting the department's designee,

in writing, within 20 days after receiving notification of the denial. The

tions or cancellations of the driver license based on an alcohol, drug

request for an appeal must contain the name, address, and driver license

or driving related conviction or an administrative action resulting from

number of the applicant, the reasons why the waiver should be granted,

the operation of any motor vehicle, including a personal vehicle;

(B) contains no involvement in an crash for which a ci-
tation was issued resulting in a conviction for a moving violation;

and include all pertinent documents which support the reasons why the

waiver should be granted. The denial is stayed pending the review of

the director or his designee. The decision of the department's designee

is final.
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(14) Waiver certificates will be approved by department's
designee and are valid for a period not to exceed 2 years after the date

(d) In order to satisfy the requirements of this section the in-
dividual must provide two documents, which contain the applicant's

of the applicant's medical examiner's physical examination.

(15) If the vision or limb waiver application is approved,
the applicant must obtain a CDL with the appropriate restrictions within
60 days of the approval. Failure to obtain the CDL with the appropriate
restrictions within the 60 day period may result in the cancellation of
the waiver certificate. Any cancellations will require the applicant to
reapply for the waiver.

(16) If the vision or limb waiver application is denied and
the applicant currently holds a CDL, the CDL privilege will be can-
celled and a demand for the surrender of the CDL will be made.

(17) Ifthe holder of a Texas vision/limb waiver fails to re-
new the waiver, the driver will be notified in writing by the department
of this requirement via the most recent address on file. Proper noti-
fication is presumed if the notification is mailed by first-class mail to
the applicant or licensee at the last mailing address on file with the de-

name and domicile address, from the acceptable proof of domicile list
in subsection (e) of this section.

(e) Acceptable proof of domicile documents are:

(1) A deed, mortgage, monthly mortgage statement, cur-
rent mortgage payment booklet, or a current residential rental/lease

agreement.
(2) A valid, unexpired Texas voter registration card.

(3) A valid, unexpired Texas motor vehicle registration or

title.

(4) A valid, unexpired Texas boat registration or title.

(5) A valid, unexpired Texas license to carry a handgun.

(6) Anelectric, water, natural gas, satellite television, cable
television, or non-cellular telephone statement dated within 90 days of

partment. Failure to comply within a 60 day period may result in the

the date of application.

cancellation of their CDL and the demand for the surrender of the CDL
currently held.
(18) Prior to the renewal of their CDL those applicants who

were previously issued a vision waiver with an indefinite expiration
date must comply with this section in order to retain their CDL. Notice

(7) A Selective Service card.
(8) A medical or health card.

(9) A current homeowners' or renters' insurance policy or
homeowners' or renters' insurance statement.

of this requirement will be sent to the mailing address on record. Fail-
ure to comply with this section will result in the denial of their renewal
application and the cancellation of their CDL operating privilege.

§16.6. Farm-Related Service Industry Waiver.

(a) The department must waive the commercial driver license
(CDL) knowledge and skill exams required by Texas Transportation
Code, §522.022, and provide for the issuance of a restricted CDL to an
employee of a farm-related service industry (FRSI) in accordance to 49
CFR 383. The department is subject to any condition or requirement
established for the waiver by the Federal Highway Administration. In
addition to any restriction or limitation imposed by this section, a re-
stricted CDL issued under this regulation is subject to any restriction
or limitation imposed by the secretary of the highway administration.

(b) Fees for an FRSI CDL are the same as for a regular CDL
and will be calculated the same way. A $10 duplicate fee must be
charged each time an applicant revalidates the waiver period.

(c) The FRSI CDL must have a P restriction. The validity pe-
riod must be continuous, for a minimum period of 30 days, and cannot
exceed 180 days in any 12 month period. The FRSI CDL cannot be
renewed more than 30 days prior to the expiration date of the existing
FRSI CDL issuance period and cannot exceed the expiration date of
the CDL.

§16.7. Proof of Domicile.

(a) A person applying for a commercial driver license (CDL)
which authorizes operation of a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) in
interstate commerce must be domiciled in Texas. For purposes of this
requirement, the state of domicile means the state where a person has
the person's true, fixed, and permanent home and principal residence
and to which the person intends to return whenever absent. A person
may have only one state of domicile.

(b) In order to prove domicile, all original applicants for a
CDL must present two acceptable documents verifying the applicant's
domicile address in Texas.

(¢) The department may require individuals renewing or ob-
taining a duplicate CDL to present proof of domicile prior to issuance.

(10) A current automobile insurance policy or an automo-
bile insurance statement.

(11) A Texas high school, college, or university report card
or transcript for the current school year.

(12) A W-2 or 1099 tax form from the current tax year.

(13) Mail from financial institutions; including checking,
savings, investment account, and credit card statements dated within
90 days of the date of application.

(14) Mail from a federal, state, county, or city government
agency dated within 90 days of the date of application.

(15) A current automobile payment booklet.

(16) A pre-printed paycheck or payment stub dated within
90 days of the date of application.

(17)  Current documents issued by the U.S. military indi-
cating residence address.

(18) A document from the Texas Department of Criminal
Justice indicating the applicant's recent release or parole.

(f) Both documents may not be from the same source. For
example, an individual may not use vehicle registration and vehicle
title for the same or different vehicles from the same registration office
or a water and gas bill from the same utility. Mail addressed with a
forwarding label or address label affixed to the envelope or contents

are not acceptable.
(g) If the individual cannot provide two documents from the

acceptable proof of domicile list, the individual may submit a Texas
residency affidavit submitted by:

(1) An individual who resides at the same residence ad-
dress as the applicant.

(A) For related individuals, the applicant must present
a document acceptable to the department indicating a family relation-
ship to the person who completed the Texas residency affidavit and
present two acceptable proof of domicile documents with the name of
the person who completed the Texas residency affidavit. Acceptable
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documents demonstrating family relationship may include but are not
limited to:

(i) marriage license;

(i) _military dependent identification card;

(iii) _ birth certificate; and

(iv) adoption records.

(B) For unrelated individuals, the individual must ac-
company the applicant, present a valid Texas driver license or identi-
fication card, and present two acceptable proof of domicile documents
from the acceptable proof of domicile list in subsection (d) of this sec-
tion.

(2) Arepresentative of a governmental entity, not-for-profit
organization, assisted care facility/home, adult assisted living facil-
ity/home, homeless shelter, transitional service provider, or group/half
way house certifying to the address where the applicant resides or re-
ceives services. The organization must provide a notarized letter veri-
fying that they receive mail for the individual.

(h) An individual is not required to comply with this section
if the applicant is subject to the address confidentiality program ad-
ministered by the Office of the Attorney General, judicial address con-
fidentiality under Texas Transportation Code, §521.121, or currently
incarcerated in a Texas Department of Criminal Justice facility.

(i) All documents submitted by an individual must be accept-
able to the department. The department has the discretion to reject or
require additional evidence to verify domicile address.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on June 30, 2016.
TRD-201603301

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Earliest possible date of adoption: August 14, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848
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TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE

PART 1. DEPARTMENT OF AGING
AND DISABILITY SERVICES

CHAPTER 95. MEDICATION AIDES--
PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

40 TAC §§95.101, 95.103, 95.105, 95.107, 95.109, 95.113,
95.115, 95.117, 95.119, 95.121, 95.123, 95.125, 95.127 -
95.129

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
proposes, on behalf of the Department of Aging and Disabil-
ity Services (DADS), amendments to §§95.101, 95.103, 95.105,
95.107, 95.109, 95.113, 95.115, 95.117, 95.119, 95.121, 95.123,
95.125, 95.127, and 95.128; and new §95.129, in Chapter 95,
Medication Aides--Program Requirements.

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE

The proposed amendments and new section in Chapter 95 pro-
vide that DADS does not issue or renew a permit if an applicant
or a medication aide is listed as unemployable on the Employee
Misconduct Registry (EMR), listed as revoked on the Nurse Aide
Registry (NAR), or has been convicted of certain offenses. The
proposed amendments specify criteria used to determine if a re-
newal application is late and allow DADS to use an applicant's
email address of record as contact information. Certain prac-
tices, currently described as exceptions to prohibited practices,
are listed as permissible practices. The rule clarifies that any
practice not listed in the rule is prohibited. Throughout the chap-
ter, the amendments change the term "permit holder" to "medi-
cation aide" to be consistent and to use a defined term.

The proposed amendments and new section also implement
Senate Bill (S.B.) 807 and S.B. 1307, 84th Legislature, Regular
Session, 2015, which amended Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ter 55, Licensing of Military Service Members, Military Veterans,
and Military Spouses. The proposed amendments add defini-
tions of terms related to these provisions and the new section
addresses several areas that relate to issuing medication aide
permits to military service members, military veterans, and mili-
tary spouses.

Throughout the chapter, grammatical and editorial changes were
made for clarity and consistency, and to correct formatting struc-
ture.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

The proposed amendment in §95.101 adds definitions for "ac-
tive duty," "armed forces of the United States," "military service
member," "military spouse," and "military veteran," because
those terms are used in proposed new §95.129. The proposed
amendment adds definitions for "EMR" (employee misconduct
registry) and "NAR" (nurse aide registry) because provisions are
added related to those registries. The proposed amendment
adds definitions for "HCSSA" (home and community support
services agency), "client," "day," and "PRN medication" (pro re
nata medication) and amends the definition of "facility" to clarify
the meaning of those terms. The proposed amendment uses the
acronyms for several terms that are currently defined and puts
the terms in alphabetical order based on the acronyms. The
proposed amendment also includes editorial and grammatical
changes for consistency.

The proposed amendment in §95.103 deletes references to the
statutes under which medication aides practice because it du-
plicates information in §95.101(a), explaining the purpose of the
chapter. The proposed amendment clarifies that a medication
aide who works in a Medicare skilled nursing facility or a Med-
icaid nursing facility must also be a nurse aide in accordance
with Chapter 94 of Title 40. The proposed amendment also
makes minor editorial changes to use terminology that is con-
sistent throughout the chapter.

The proposed amendment in §95.105(a)(3) clarifies that a medi-
cation aide may administer regularly prescribed medication if the
aide personally sets up the medication from a unit dose pack.
Currently, the rule requires an aide to "personally prepare" med-
ication and the amendment clarifies how that requirement ap-
plies to dose packs. The proposed amendment moves the re-
quirements that a medication aide must meet to administer pre-
viously ordered PRN medication, crush medication, and elec-
tronically order refills, from subsection (b)(3), (6), and (9) to sub-
section (a)(6), (9), and (10). The requirements are more appro-
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priately listed in subsection (a), which describes actions that a
medication aide may perform, rather than subsection (b), which
describes prohibited actions. Similarly, examples of actions that
a medication aide may perform in subsection (b)(5)(A) and (B),
which are currently provided as exceptions to the prohibition on
calculating a dosage, are moved to subsection (a)(7) and (8). In
subsection (b)(8), the phrase "physician, dentist, or podiatrist" is
replaced with "healthcare professional" because the prohibition
on a medication aide receiving or reducing an order to writing ap-
plies to an order from any healthcare professional, not just the
three professionals identified in the current rule. The proposed
amendment states that any practice not listed in §95.105(a) is
a prohibited practice for a medication aide. This provision is
added to clarify permissible practices of a medication aide. The
proposed amendment makes editorial changes for clarity and to
correctly format the section.

The proposed amendment in §95.107 adds a new requirement
that an applicant must not have been convicted of a crimi-
nal offense listed in Texas Health and Safety Code (THSC),
§250.006(a) and not have been convicted of a criminal offense
listed in §250.006(b) within the preceding five years. The
proposed amendment also states that an applicant must not be
listed as unemployable on the EMR or listed with a revoked or
suspended status on the NAR. These additional requirements
are designed to protect the health and safety of persons to
whom medication aides administer medication.  Additional
editorial changes are made for clarity and to correctly format the
section.

The proposed amendment in §95.109 changes the time period
allowed for an applicant to submit a permit application and other
required documentation from 30 days to 20 days after enroliment
in a training program. This shorter time period is designed to give
DADS adequate time to review a permit applicant and address
any deficiencies, which increases the likelihood that an applicant
will meet the application requirements before the exam date.
The proposed amendment also allows, in addition to cashier's
check and money order, payment of fees by methods approved
by DADS. This provision allows DADS to authorize other forms of
payment in the future without amending the rule. The proposed
amendment identifies other sections in Chapter 95 that include
fee schedules for correctional medication aides and home health
medication aides. This information is included for clarification.
The proposed amendment states that DADS verifies the accred-
itation of the high school that issues a diploma or testing service
or program that certifies the general educational development
(GED) test. The proposed amendment also states that if DADS
is unable to verify the accreditation status of the school, testing
service, or program, the applicant must provide documentation
to DADS verifying the accreditation status of the school, testing
service, or program. Additional editorial changes are made for
clarity and to correctly format the section.

The proposed amendment in §95.113 states that DADS denies
an application for a permit if the applicant is listed on the NAR in
revoked or suspended status; if the applicant has a conviction of
a criminal offense listed on THSC §250.006(a), or a conviction of
a criminal offense in §250.006(b) within five years before DADS
receives the application or if the applicant is listed on the EMR.
These changes are consistent with the proposed amendment to
§95.107 and are designed to protect the health and safety of
persons to whom medication aides administer medication. The
proposed amendment makes grammatical and editorial changes
for clarity and consistency.

The proposed amendment in §95.115 states that DADS denies
renewal of a permit to a medication aide who has a criminal con-
viction of an offense listed in THSC §250.006(a), or a criminal
conviction of an offense listed in THSC §250.006(b) within five
years before the date DADS receives the renewal application; is
listed as unemployable on the EMR; or is listed with a revoked
or suspended status on the NAR. The changes are consistent
with the proposed amendments to §95.107 and §95.113 and are
designed to protect the health and safety of persons to whom
medication aides administer medication. The proposed amend-
ment also states that DADS denies renewal of a permit if the
medication aide is in default on a guaranteed student loan as
described in Texas Education Code §57.491. This change re-
flects DADS current practice. The proposed amendment also
addresses how DADS determines if an application is late and
when DADS denies the late renewal of a permit. The proposed
amendment makes grammatical and editorial changes for clarity
and consistency.

The proposed amendment in §95.117 specifies that a medica-
tion aide must notify DADS within 30 days after changing any
contact information, including name, preferred mailing address,
and email address.

The proposed amendment in §95.119 adds requirements that
a training program must comply with before a student begins
the program. These requirements include ensuring the student
meets training requirements in §95.107, performing a criminal
history check, checking the EMR and NAR, and documenting
the program's findings. The proposed amendment allows a phar-
macist instructor in a training program to have a minimum of one
year of experience as a pharmacist in a correctional facility set-
ting and be employed as a pharmacist in a correctional facility.
The rule currently requires the experience to be in a facility, so
the proposed amendment also allows pharmacists with experi-
ence in a correctional facility to qualify to be training instructors.
The proposed amendment allows a continuing education training
program to consist of online instruction. This change will allow
continuing education to be provided more conveniently and in-
crease access to it. The proposed amendment also changes the
time period for a training program to notify DADS that a medica-
tion aide has completed a continuing education course from 15
days to 10 days. This change will provide DADS with informa-
tion about an aide's continuing education status sooner, which
allows the medication aide to get appropriate credit for the con-
tinuing education program in a more timely manner. The pro-
posed amendment makes editorial and grammatical changes for
clarity and consistency.

The proposed amendment in §95.121 contains editorial changes
to correct references and the formatting of the section.

The proposed amendment in §95.123 clarifies that DADS may
suspend a permit in an emergency or rescind approval for a train-
ing program if requirements of Chapter 95 are not met. Addi-
tional grammatical and editorial changes are made for clarity and
consistency.

The proposed amendment in §95.125 deletes subsection (m)
which was used for implementation of the correctional medica-
tion aide program. The program is now operating and, therefore,
the implementation requirements are no longer needed. Exam-
ples of actions that a correctional medication aide may perform
in subsection (c)(2)(C)(i) and (ii), which are currently provided
as exceptions to the prohibition on calculating a dosage, are
moved to subsection (c)(1)(I) and (J). The actions are more
appropriately listed in subsection (c)(1), which describes actions
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that a correctional medication aide may perform, rather than
subsection (c)(2), which describes prohibited actions. Similarly,
the amendment moves the requirements that a correctional
medication aide must meet to crush medication from subsection
(c)(2)(D) to subsection (c)(1)(K). Additional grammatical and
editorial changes were made for clarity and consistency and to
correct the formatting of the section.

The proposed amendment in §95.127 deletes the term "work-
days" and replaces it with "days" throughout the section for
consistency. The time periods are also modified to accommo-
date the change from workdays to days. Additional editorial
and grammatical changes are made throughout the section for
clarity and consistency.

The proposed amendment in §95.128 moves the examples of
actions that a home health medication aide may perform in sub-
section (d)(5)(A) and (B), which are currently provided as ex-
ceptions to the prohibition on calculating a dosage, to subsec-
tion (c)(8) and (9). The actions are more appropriately listed in
subsection (c), which describes actions that a home health med-
ication aide may perform, rather than subsection (d), which de-
scribes prohibited actions. Similarly, the amendment moves the
requirements that a home health medication aide must meet to
crush medication from subsection (d)(6) to subsection (c)(10).
The proposed amendment adds to the list of applicant qualifi-
cations that the applicant must not have been convicted of a
criminal offense listed in THSC §250.006(a) and not have been
convicted of a criminal offense listed in §250.006(b) within the
preceding five years. The proposed amendment also states that
an applicant must not be listed as unemployable on the EMR
or listed with a revoked or suspended status on the NAR. The
proposed amendment also states that DADS denies renewal
of the permit of a medication aide if the medication aide has
been convicted of those offenses, listed as unemployable on the
EMR, or listed with a revoked or suspended status on the NAR.
These new requirements are designed to protect the health and
safety of persons to whom medication aides administer medi-
cation. The proposed amendment adds the address to which
an applicant sends a request for reimbursement. The proposed
amendment also updates references and includes grammatical
and editorial changes for clarity and consistency and to correct
the formatting structure of the section.

Proposed new §95.129 describes the process that an applicant
who is a military service member or a military veteran must fol-
low to request a waiver of the combined permit application and
examination fee based on military service, training, or education.
The proposed new rule also describes the process that an ap-
plicant who is a military service member, a military veteran, or
a military spouse, and who holds a permit in good standing in
another jurisdiction must follow to request a waiver of the com-
bined permit application and examination fee. In addition, the
proposal describes the process that a medication aide who is
a military service member must follow to request two additional
years to complete permit renewal requirements. Finally, the pro-
posal describes the process that a former medication aide who is
a military service member, a military veteran, or a military spouse
must follow to request renewal of an expired permit. This sec-
tion has been added to comply with Texas Occupations Code,
Chapter 55, as recently amended by S.B. 807 and S.B. 1307.

FISCAL NOTE

David Cook, DADS Chief Financial Officer, has determined that,
for the first five years the proposed amendments and new sec-
tion are in effect, enforcing or administering the amendments

and new section does not have foreseeable implications relat-
ing to costs or revenues of state or local governments. The new
section allows certain fees to be waived, which will decrease rev-
enue to the state, but DADS does not anticipate a large number
of fee waivers, so the decrease will likely be minimal.

SMALL BUSINESS AND MICRO-BUSINESS IMPACT ANALY-
SIS

DADS has determined that the proposed amendments and
new section will not have an adverse economic effect on small
businesses or micro-businesses because the proposed amend-
ments and new section do not impose new requirements on any
persons regulated by the rules.

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COSTS

Mary T. Henderson, Assistant Commissioner for Regulatory Ser-
vices, has determined that, for each year of the first five years the
amendments and new section are in effect, the public will benefit
from rules that prohibit applicants with a history of particular con-
victions or misconduct from obtaining a medication aide permit.
The public will also benefit from having rules that reduce financial
and administrative barriers for military service members, military
veterans, and military spouses to receive and renew a medica-
tion aide permit.

Ms. Henderson anticipates that there will not be an economic
cost to persons who are required to comply with the amendments
and new section. The amendments and new section will not
affect a local economy.

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT

DADS has determined that this proposal does not restrict or limit
an owner's right to his or her property that would otherwise exist
in the absence of government action and, therefore, does not
constitute a taking under Texas Government Code, §2007.043.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Questions about the content of this proposal may be directed to
Laura Bagheri at (512) 438-4836 in DADS Regulatory Services
Division. Written comments on the proposal may be submitted
to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Services-15R04, Department of
Aging and Disability Services W-615, P.O. Box 149030, Austin,
Texas 78714-9030, or street address 701 West 51st St., Austin,
Texas 78751; faxed to (512) 438-5759; or e-mailed to rulescom-
ments@dads.state.tx.us. To be considered, comments must be
submitted no later than 30 days after the date of this issue of the
Texas Register. The last day to submit comments falls on a Sun-
day; therefore, comments must be: (1) postmarked or shipped
before the last day of the comment period; (2) hand-delivered
to DADS before 5:00 p.m. on DADS last working day of the
comment period; or (3) faxed or e-mailed by midnight on the
last day of the comment period. When faxing or e-mailing com-
ments, please indicate "Comments on Proposed Rule 15R04" in
the subject line.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments and new rule are proposed under Texas Gov-
ernment Code, §531.0055, which provides that the HHSC exec-
utive commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provi-
sion of services by the health and human services agencies, in-
cluding DADS; Texas Health and Safety Code, §142.023, which
authorizes the HHSC executive commissioner to establish stan-
dards for home health medication aides, and §242.608, which
authorizes the HHSC executive commissioner to adopt rules reg-
ulating medication aides in nursing facilities; Texas Human Re-
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sources Code, §161.083, which authorizes the executive com-
missioner to establish minimum standards and requirements for
the issuance of corrections medication aide permits; and Texas
Occupations Code, Chapter 55, which requires a state agency
to adopt rules related to licensure of military service members,
military veterans, and military spouses.

The amendments and new rule implement Texas Government
Code, §531.0055; Texas Health and Safety Code, §142.023 and
§242.608; Texas Human Resources Code, §161.083; and Texas
Occupations Code, Chapter 55.

$95.101. Introduction.

(a) Purpose. The purpose of this chapter is to implement the
provisions of the:

(1) Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchap-
ter N, concerning the administration of medications to facility resi-
dents;

(2) Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 142, Subchap-
ter B, concerning the administration of medication by a home and com-
munity support services agency; and

(3) Texas Human Resource Code, §161.083, concerning
the administration of medication to an inmate in a correctional facil-
ity.

(b) Corrections medication aide permit requirements. Section
95.125 of this chapter (relating to Requirements for Corrections Med-
ication Aides) applies to a corrections medication aide or an applicant
for a corrections medication aide permit.

(¢) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in
this chapter, have the following meanings, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise.

(1) Abuse--The willful infliction of injury, unreasonable
confinement, intimidation, or punishment with resulting physical harm,
pain, or mental anguish.

(2) Active duty--Current full-time military service in the
armed forces of the United States or as a member of the Texas military
forces, as defined in Texas Government Code §437.001, or similar mil-
itary service of another state.

(3) Armed forces of the United States--The Army, Navy,
Air Force, Coast Guard, or Marine Corps of the United States, includ-
ing reserve units of those military branches.

(4) [€2)] BON--Texas Board of Nursing.

(5) Client--An individual receiving home health, hospice,
or personal assistance services from a HCSSA.

(6) [3)] Correctional facility--A facility operated by or un-
der contract with the Texas Department of Criminal Justice.

(7) [¢H] DADS--Department of Aging and Disability Ser-

vices.

(8) Day--Any day, including a Saturday, a Sunday, and a

holiday.

(9) EMR--Employee misconduct registry. The registry
maintained by DADS in accordance with Texas Health and Safety
Code, Chapter 253, to record findings of reportable conduct by certain
unlicensed employees.

(10) [65)] Examination--A written competency evaluation
for medication aides administered by DADS.

(11) [¢®)] Facility--An institution licensed under Texas
[the] Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242; a state supported living
center as defined in Texas [the] Health and Safety Code, §531.002(19)
[§531+002(17A)]; a licensed [an] intermediate care facility for an indi-
vidual [persens] with an intellectual disability or related condition as
defined in the Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 252; an inter-
mediate care facility for an individual with an intellectual disability
or related condition operated by a community center as described in
Texas [established under] Health and Safety Code, Chapter 534; or an
assisted living facility licensed under Texas [the] Health and Safety
Code, Chapter 247.

(12) HCSSA--A home and community support services
agency licensed under Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 142,
and Chapter 97 of this title.

(13) [EA] Licensed nurse--A licensed vocational nurse or
an RN [a licensed registered nurse].

(14) [(8)] LVN--Licensed vocational nurse.[--]A person li-
censed by the BON, or who holds a license from another state recog-
nized by the BON, to practice vocational nursing in Texas.

(15) [9)] Medication aide--A person who is issued a per-
mit by DADS under Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 242, Sub-

chapter N, Texas Human Resources Code, Chapter 161, Subchapter
D, and Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 142, Subchapter B
[permitted by DADS] to administer medications to facility residents,
correctional facility inmates, or to persons served by home and com-
munity support services agencies.

(16) Military service member--A person who is on active

duty.

(17) Military spouse--A person who is married to a military
service member.

(18) Military veteran--A person who has served on active
duty and who was discharged or released from active duty.

(20) NAR--Nurse aide registry. A state listing of nurse
aides maintained by DADS in accordance with Texas Health and Safety
Code, Chapter 250 that indicates if a nurse aide has active status, re-
voked status, or is unemployable based on a finding of having commit-
ted an act of abuse, neglect or misappropriation of resident property.

(19) [E9)] Misappropriation of resident property--The de-
liberate misplacement, exploitation, or wrongful temporary or perma-
nent use of a resident's belongings or money without the resident's con-
sent.

(21) [EBD] Neglect--The failure to provide goods and ser-
vices necessary to avoid physical harm, mental anguish, or mental ill-
ness.

(22) [E2)] Non-licensed direct care staff--Employees of
facilities other than Medicare-skilled nursing facilities or Medicaid
nursing facilities who are primarily involved in the delivery of services
to assist with residents' activities of daily living or active treatment
programs.

(23) [(43)] Nurse aide--An individual who has completed
a nurse aide training and competency evaluation program (NATCEP)
approved by DADS [the state] as meeting the requirements of 42 Code
of Federal Regulations (CFR), §§483.15 - 483.154, or has been deter-
mined competent as provided in 42 CFR, §483.150(a) and (b), and is
listed as certified on DADS nurse aide registry.

(24) PRN medication--Pro re nata medication. Medication
administered as the occasion arises or as needed.
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[(14) Registered nurse (RN)--A person licensed by the
BON, or who holds a license from another state recognized by the
BON; to practice professional nursing in Texas-}

(25) [E45)] Registered pharmacist--An individual currently
licensed by the Texas Board of Pharmacy to practice pharmacy.

(26) RN--Registered nurse. A person who is licensed by
the BON, or who holds a license from another state recognized by the
BON, to practice professional nursing in Texas.

(27) [(46)] TDCJ--Texas Department of Criminal Justice.

(28) [ED] Training program--A program approved by
DADS to instruct individuals to act as medication aides.

$§95.103.  Requirements for Administering Medications.
(a) General. A person may not administer medication to a res-
ident in a facility or a correctional facility unless the person:

(1) holds a current license under state law which authorizes
the licensee to administer medication; or

(2) if administering medication in a facility, holds a cur-
rent permit issued under Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242,
Subchapter N, or if administering medication in a correctional facil-
ity, holds a current permit issued under Texas Human Resources Code,
§161.083 or Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter
N and acts under the authority of a person who holds a current license
under state law which authorizes the licensee to administer medication.

(b) Supervision and applicable law and rules. A medication
aide [permit helder] must function under the direct supervision of a
licensed nurse on duty or on call by the facility or correctional facility
using the medication aide [permit holder]. A medication aide [permit
helder] must:

(1) function in accordance with applicable law and rules
relating to administration of medication and operation of a facility or a
correctional facility; and

(2) comply with DADS rules applicable to personnel used
in a facility or TDCIJ rules applicable to personnel in a correctional
facility.

(¢) Governmental employees. Governmental employees may
receive a permit to administer medications under this chapter as autho-
rized by Texas Health and Safety Code, §242.610(f) or Texas Human
Resources Code, §161.083:

(1) State supported living center employees and employees
of an intermediate care facility for persons with an intellectual disabil-
ity operated by a community center established under Texas Health
and Safety Code, Chapter 534 must comply with subsection (b) of this
section and §§95.105, 95.107, 95.109, 95.111, 95.113, 95.115, 95.117,
95.119, 95.121, and 95.123 of this chapter (relating to Allowable and
Prohibited Practices of a Medication Aide [Permit Helder]; Training
Requirements; Nursing Graduates; Reciprocity; Application Proce-
dures; Examination; Determination of Eligibility; Permit Renewal;
Changes; Training Program Requirements; Permitting of Persons with
Criminal Backgrounds; and Violations, Complaints, and Disciplinary
Actions).

(2) Correctional facility employees and employees of med-
ical services contractors for a correctional facility who administer med-
ication as medication aides must comply with §95.125 of this chapter
(relating to Requirements for Corrections Medication Aides).

(d) Medication aides in nursing facilities. Persons employed
as medication aides in a Medicare skilled nursing facility or a Med-
icaid nursing facility must comply with the requirements relating to

nurse aides as set forth in United States Code, Part 42, §1396r(b)(5)
[the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987, Public Law 100-203,
§4201-4214; December 22; 1987 as amended;] and Chapter 94 of this
title (relating to Nurse Aides).

(e) Exemptions.

(1) A person may administer medication to a resident in a
facility without the license or permit as required in subsection (a) of
this section, if the person is:

(A) agraduate nurse holding a temporary permit issued
by the BON;

(B) astudent enrolled in an accredited school of nursing
or program for the education of registered nurses who is administering
medications as part of the student's clinical experience;

(C) a graduate vocational nurse holding a temporary
permit issued by the BON;

(D) a student enrolled in an accredited school of voca-
tional nursing or program for the education of vocational nurses who is
administering medications as part of the student's clinical experience;
or

(E) atrainee in a medication aide training program ap-
proved by DADS under this chapter who is administering medications
as part of the trainee's clinical experience.

(2) A student described in paragraph (1)(B), (D), or (E) of
this subsection may administer medication only as part of the student's
clinical experience.

(3) A person described in paragraph (1) of this subsection
must act under the supervision of an individual as set forth in applicable
law and rules.

$95.105.  Allowable and Prohibited Practices of a Medication Aide
[Permit Holder].

(a) A medication aide [permit holder] under Texas Health and
Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N, may:

(1) observe and report to the facility's charge licensed nurse
reactions and side effects to medication shown by a resident;

(2) take and record vital signs before [prior to] the adminis-
tration of medication that [whieh] could affect or change the vital signs;

(3) administer regularly prescribed medication to a resident
if the medication aide: [whieh the permit holder has been trained to ad-
minister only after personally preparing (setting up) the medication to

ication in the resident's chinical k]

(A) s trained to administer the medication;

(B) personally prepares the medication or sets up the
medication to be administered from a unit dose pack; and

(C) documents the administration of the medication in
the resident's clinical record;

(4) administer oxygen per nasal canula or a non-sealing
mask only in an emergency,[- lmmediately] after which [the emer-
geney;| the medication aide [permit helder] must verbally notify the
licensed nurse on duty or on call and appropriately document the ac-
tion and notification; [and]

(5) apply specifically ordered ophthalmic, otic, nasal, vagi-
nal, and rectal medication;|[-]

(6) administer previously ordered PRN medication, if:

41 TexReg 5146 July 15, 2016 Texas Register



(A) the facility's licensed nurse on duty or on call au-
thorizes the medication;

(B) the medication aide documents in the resident's
records the symptoms indicating the need for the medication and the
time the symptoms occurred;

(C) the medication aide documents in the resident's
records that the facility's licensed nurse was contacted, symptoms were
described, and the licensed nurse granted permission to administer the
medication, including the time of contact;

(D) the medication aide obtains authorization to admin-
ister the medication from the facility's licensed nurse on duty or on call
each time the symptoms occur; and

(E) the medication aide ensures that the resident's
record is co-signed by the licensed nurse who gave authorization by
the end of the nurse's shift or, if the nurse was on call, by the end of
the nurse's next shift;

(7) measure a prescribed amount of a liquid medication to
be administered to a resident;

(8) break a tablet to be administered to a resident, if:

(A) the resident's medication card or its equivalent ac-
curately documents how the tablet must be broken before administra-
tion; and

(B) the licensed nurse on duty or on call has calculated

the dosage;
(9) crush medication, if the medication aide:

(A) obtains authorization to crush the medication from
the licensed nurse on duty or on call; and

(B) documents the authorization on the resident's med-
ication card or its equivalent; and

(10) electronically order a refill of medication from a phar-
macy, if the refill request is signed by the licensed nurse on duty or on

eentaet;]

HC) obtai ssion fo admini the licati
each time the symptoms occur in the resident; and]
licensed nurse whe gave permission by the end of the nurse's shift; or
i the nurse was on eall; by the end of the nurse's next tour of duty}

(4) administer [the initial dose of a] medication that, ac-
cording to the resident's clinical records, has not been previously ad-
ministered to the [a] resident[- Whether a medication has been previ-
ously administered must be determined by the resident's eurrent elinieal
reecords];

(5) calculate a resident's medication doses for administra-
tion;[; exeept that the permit helder may:|
HA) measure a preseribed amount of a liquid medica-
tion to be administered; and]
fB) break a tablet for administration to a resident; pro-
vided the licensed nurse on duty or on call has ealeulated the dosage-
The resident's medication eard or its equivalent must aceurately doeu-
ment how the tablet must be altered prior to administration:}
(6) crush medication, except in accordance with subsection
(2)(9) of this section [unless authorization is obtained from the licensed
nurse on duty or on eall: The autherization to erush the speeifie med-
ication must be documented on the resident's medication card or its
equivalent|;
(7) administer medications or feedings by way of a tube
inserted in a cavity of the body;

(8) receive or assume responsibility for reducing to writing
a verbal or telephone order from a healthcare professional [physieian;
dentist; or podiatrist];

(9) order a resident's medications from a pharmacy, except
in accordance with subsection (a)(10) of this section;

call.

(b) A medication aide [permit holder] under Texas Health and
Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N, may not:

(1) administer medication by the injection route including:
(A) intramuscular route;
(B) intravenous route;
(C) subcutaneous route;
(D) intradermal route; and
(E) hypodermoclysis route;

(2) administer medication used for intermittent positive
pressure breathing [(HPPB)] treatments or any form of medication
inhalation treatments;

(3) administer previously ordered PRN [pre re nata (PRN)]
medication, except in accordance with subsection (a)(6) of this section;

(10) apply topical medications that involve the treatment
of skin that is broken or blistered or when a specified aseptic technique
is ordered by the attending physician;

(11) steal, divert, or otherwise misuse medication;

(12) violate any provision of the Texas Health and Safety
Code or this chapter;

(13) fraudulently procure or attempt to procure a permit;

(14) neglect to administer appropriate medications, as pre-
scribed, in a responsible manner; or

(15) administer medications if the person is unable to do so
with reasonable skill and safety to residents by reason of drunkenness
or [and/er] excessive use of drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any other
type of material.

(c) Ifapracticeis not described in subsection (a) of this section
the practice is prohibited for a medication aide under Texas Health and

duty or on call. If authorization is obtained, permit holders must:]
HA) decument; in the resident's records; symptoms in-
dicating the need for the medication and the time the symptoms oe-
eurred:}
fB) document in the resident's records that the facility's
lieensed nurse was contacted; symptoms were deseribed; and permis-

Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N.
$95.107.

Training Requirements; Nursing Graduates, Reciprocity.

(a) Each applicant for a permit issued under Texas Health and
Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N, must complete a training pro-
gram unless the applicant meets the requirements of subsection (c) or

(e) [€e) o ()] of this section.
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(b) Before submitting an [Prier te] application for a permit un-
der Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N, an ap-
plicant must:

(1) be able to read, write, speak, and understand English;
(2) be at least 18 years of age;

(3) be free of communicable diseases and in suitable phys-
ical and emotional health to safely administer medications;

(4) be a graduate of an accredited [a] high school or have
proof of successfully passing a general educational development test
[equivaleney diplomal;

(5) be [eurrently| employed in a facility as a nurse aide or
nonlicensed direct care staff person on the first official day of an appli-
cant's medication aide training program; and

(6) have been employed: [in a facility for 90 days as a non-
eempletedw&hm%hei%—meﬂﬁhpe%dpfeeedmg%heﬁfs{eﬁﬁaalday
of the applicant's medication aide training program: An applicant em-
ployed as a nurse aide in a Medicare-skilled nursing facility or a Med-
teatd nursing faecility is exempt from the 90-day requirement:|

(A) asanurseaide in a Medicare-skilled nursing facility
or a Medicaid nursing facility; or

(B) ina facility for 90 days as a nonlicensed direct care
staff person during the 12-month period before the first official day of
the applicant's medication aide training program;

(7) not have been convicted of a criminal offense listed in
Texas Health and Safety Code, §250.006(a), and not have been con-
victed of a criminal offense listed in Texas Health and Safety Code,
§250.006(b) within five years before the date DADS receives the per-

mit application;
(8) not be listed as unemployable on the EMR; and

(9) not be listed with a revoked or suspended status on the

NAR.

(c) A person who is attending or has attended an accredited
school of nursing and who does not hold a license to practice profes-
sional or vocational nursing meets the training requirement for issuance
of a permit under Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242, Sub-
chapter N, if the person:

(1) attended the nursing school no earlier than January 1
of the year immediately preceding the year of application for a permit
under this chapter;

(2) successfully completed courses at the nursing school
that cover DADS curriculum for a medication aide training program;

(3) submits a statement, with the application for a permit
and combined permit application and examination fee as provided in
§95.109 of this chapter (relating to Application Procedures), on the
form provided by DADS, [that is] signed by the nursing school's admin-
istrator or other authorized individual, certifying [and eertifies] that the
person completed the courses specified in paragraph (2) of this subsec-
tion[- The administrator is responsible for that the courses
he certifies cover DADS curriculum. The statement must be submitted
with the person's application for a permit and permit application fee
as provided in §95-109 of this chapter (relating to Application Proce-
dures)|; and

(4) complies with subsection (e)(5) [(d)}5)] and (6) of this

section.

(d) The administrator or other authorized individual referred to
in subsection (c)(3) of this section is responsible for determining that
the nursing school courses cover DADS curriculum.

(e) [€)] A person who is a graduate of an accredited school
of nursing and who does not hold a license to practice professional
or vocational nursing meets the training requirement for issuance of a
permit under Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter
N, provided the date of graduation from the nursing school was no
earlier than January 1 of the year immediately preceding the year of
application for a permit under this chapter.

(1) The graduate must submit an official application form
to DADS. The applicant must meet the requirements of subsection

(b)(1) - (4) and (7) - (8) of this section.

(2) The application must be accompanied by the combined
permit application and examination fee as set out in §95.109(c) of this
chapter.

(3) The applicant must include an official transcript docu-
menting graduation from an accredited school of nursing.

(4) DADS acknowledges receipt of the application by
sending the applicant a copy of this chapter and DADS open book
examination.

(5) The applicant must complete the open book examina-
tion and return it to DADS by the date given in the examination notice.

(6) The applicant must complete DADS written examina-
tion. DADS denies the application of an applicant failing to schedule
and take the examination by the date given in the examination notice.

(7) An open-book or written examination may not be re-
taken if the applicant fails.

(8) Upon successful completion of the two examinations,
DADS evaluates all application documents submitted by the applicant.

(9) DADS notifies the applicant in writing of the examina-
tion results.

(f) [€e)] A person who holds a valid license, registration, cer-
tificate, or permit as a medication aide issued by another state whose
minimum standards or requirements are substantially equivalent to or
exceed the requirements of Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242,
Subchapter N, in effect at the time of application, may request a waiver
of the training program requirement as follows:

(1) The applicant must submit an official application form
to DADS. The applicant must meet the requirements of subsection

(b)(1) - (4) and (7) - (8) of this section.

(2) The application must be accompanied by the combined
permit application and examination fee required in §95.109(c) of this
chapter.

(3) The application must include a current copy of the rules
of the other state governing its licensing and regulation of medication
aides, a copy of the legal authority (law, act, code, or other) for the
state's licensing program, and a certified copy of the license or certifi-
cate for which the reciprocal permit is requested.

(4) DADS acknowledges receipt of the application by
sending the applicant a copy of this chapter and DADS open book
examination.

(5) DADS may contact the issuing agency to verify the ap-
plicant's status with the agency.
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(6) The applicant must complete DADS open-book exam-
ination and return it to DADS by the date given in the examination
notice.

(7) The applicant must complete DADS written examina-
tion. The site of the examination is determined by DADS. DADS de-
nies the application of an applicant failing to schedule and take the
examination by the date given in the examination notice.

(8) An open-book or written examination may not be re-
taken if the applicant fails.

(9) Upon successful completion of the two examinations,
DADS evaluates all application documents submitted by the applicant.

(10) DADS notifies the applicant in writing of the exami-
nation results.

$95.109. Application Procedures.

(a) An applicant for a permit under Texas Health and Safety
Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N, who complies with §95.107(a) of
this chapter (relating to Training Requirements; Nursing Graduates;
Reciprocity) must submit to DADS, no later than 20 [30] days after
enrollment in a training program, an application, including all required
information and documentation on DADS forms.

(b) DADS considers an application under subsection (a) of this
section as officially submitted when DADS receives the permit appli-
cation and examination fee.

(c) An applicant must pay the combined permit and examina-
tion [Payment of] fees [must be] by cashier's check or money order
made payable to the Department of Aging and Disability Services, or
by other DADS-approved payment methods. All fees are nonrefund-
able, except as provided by Texas Government Code, Chapter 2005.

(1) The fee schedule is as follows:

(A) combined permit application and examination fee-
-$25;

(B) renewal fee--$15;

(C) late renewal fees for permit renewals made after the
permit expires:

(i) $22.50 for an expired permit renewed from one
to 90 days after expiration;

(ii)  $30 for an expired permit renewed from 91 days
to one year after expiration;

(iii)) $30 for a former medication aide [permit
helder] who meets the criteria in §95.115(c)(5) of this chapter (relating
to Permit Renewal); and

(D) permit replacement fee--$5.

(2) Aninitial or a renewal application is considered incom-
plete until the fee has been received and cleared through the appropriate
financial institution.

(3) The fee schedule that applies to the correctional medi-
cation aide is in §95.125 of this chapter (relating to Requirements for
Corrections Medication Aides), and the fee schedule that applies to the
home health medication aide is in §95.128 of this chapter (relating to
Home Health Medication Aides).

(d) An applicant [AH applieants] must submit the following
application materials:[<]

(1) the [The] general statement enrollment form, which
must contain:

(A) specific information regarding personal data, cer-
tain misdemeanor and felony convictions, work experience, education,
and training;

(B) a statement that all the requirements in §95.107(b)
of this chapter were met before [prior to] the start of the program;

(C) a statement that the applicant understands that ap-
plication fees submitted in the permit process are nonrefundable;

(D) astatement that the applicant understands materials
submitted in the application process are nonreturnable;

(E) a statement that the applicant understands that it is
a misdemeanor to falsify any information submitted to DADS; and

(F) the applicant's signature, which has been dated and
notarized; and[-]

(2) a[A]certified copy or a notarized photocopy of an unal-
tered, original, high school diploma or transcript [whieh has been nota-
rized as a true and exact copy of an unaltered original of the applicant's
high seheol of transeript] or the written results of
a general educational development (GED) test demonstrating that the
applicant passed the GED test [equivaleney diplema], unless the appli-
cant is applying under §95.107(e) [§95-107(d)] of this chapter.

(e) DADS verifies the accreditation of the high school that is-
sued the diploma or transcript, or the testing service or program that
certified the GED test required by subsection (d)(2) of this section. If
DADS is unable to verify the accreditation status of the school, test-
ing service, or program, and DADS requests additional documentation
from the applicant to verify the accreditation status, the applicant must
provide the documentation to DADS.

(f) [€e)] DADS sends a notice listing the additional materials
required to an applicant who does not submit a complete [the] appli-
cation. An applicant must submit a complete application by the date
of DADS final exam. [An application not completed by the day of the
medication aide final exam must be voided.]

(g) [(—t}] DADS sends notice of DADS application approval

[aeeep%aﬂee of ;] or deficiency to an applicant
in accordance with §95. 127 of'this chapter (relating to Application Pro-

cessing).
§95.113.  Determination of Eligibility.

(a) DADS approves or denies each application for a permit.

(b) Notices of application approval, denial, or deficiency must
be in accordance with §95.127 of this chapter (relating to Application
Processing).

(c) DADS denies an application for a permit if the person
[has]:

(1) does not meet [met] the requirements in §95.107 of this
chapter (relating to Training Requirements; Nursing Graduates; Reci-
procity), or §95.125 of this chapter (relating to Requirements for Cor-
rections Medication Aides);

(2) fails [£a14e€l] to pass the examination prescribed by
DADS, as referenced in §95.111 of this chapter (relating to Exami-
nation), or developed by TDCJ, as referenced in §95.125(g) of this
chapter;

(3) fails [failed to] or refuses [refused] to properly com-
plete or deliberately submit an [any] application form or fee, or submits
[presented] false information on any form or document required by
DADS;
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(4) violates [vielated] or conspires [eonspired] to violate
the Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N, Texas
Human Resources Code, §161.083, or any provision of this chapter;
[er]

(5) has a felony or misdemeanor conviction of a [been eon-
vieted of a felony or misdemeaneor if the] crime that directly relates to
the duties and responsibilities of a medication aide [permit helder] as
described [set eut] in §95.121 of this chapter (relating to Permitting of
Persons with Criminal Backgrounds);[-]

(6) is listed with a revoked or suspended status on the
DADS NAR;

(7) has a conviction of a criminal offense listed in Texas
Health and Safety Code §250.006(a), or has a conviction of a criminal
offense listed in Texas Health and Safety Code §250.006(b) within five
years before the date DADS receives the permit application; or

(8) is listed as unemployable on the EMR.

(d) If, after review, DADS determines that the application
should be denied [not be appreved], DADS gives the applicant written
notice of the reason for the proposed decision and of the opportunity
for a formal hearing in accordance with §95.123(c)(3) of this chapter
(relating to Violations, Complaints, and Disciplinary Actions).

§$95.115.  Permit Renewal.
(a) General.

(1) When issued, an initial permit is valid for 12 months
from the date of issue.

(2) A medication aide [permit holder] must renew the per-
mit annually.

(3) Each medication aide [permit helder] is responsible for
renewing the permit before the expiration date. Failure to receive noti-
fication from DADS before [prior to] the expiration date of the permit
does not excuse the medication aide's [permit holder's] failure to file
for timely renewal.

(4) A medication aide [permit helder] must complete a
seven hour [seven-eloek-hour] continuing education program ap-
proved by DADS before [prior to] expiration of the permit in order
to renew the permit. Continuing education hours are not required
for the first renewal. After a permit is renewed for the first time,
the medication aide [permit helder] must earn approved continuing
education hours to have the permit renewed again.

(5) DADS denies renewal of the permit of a medication
aide [permit helder] who: [is in vielation of Health and Safety Ceode;
Chapter 242; Subechapter N; Human Resourees Code; §161.083; or this
chapter at the time of application for renewal:|

(A) is in violation of Texas Health and Safety Code,
Chapter 242, Subchapter N, Texas Human Resources Code, §161.083,
or this chapter at the time of application for renewal,

(B) hasaconviction of a criminal offense listed in Texas
Health and Safety Code §250.006(a), or a conviction of a criminal of-
fense listed in Texas Health and Safety Code §250.006(b) within five
years before the date DADS receives the renewal application;

(C) s listed as unemployable on the EMR;

(D) s listed with a revoked or suspended status on the

NAR; or

(E) is in default on a guaranteed student loan as de-
scribed in Texas Education Code, §57.491.

(6) A person whose permit has expired may not engage in
activities that require a permit until the permit has been renewed.

(b) Permit renewal procedures.

(1) After receiving proof of the successful completion of
the seven hour [seven-eleek-hour] continuing education requirement,
DADS sends [to the permit helder; at the address listed in DADS
reeords;] notice of the expiration date of the permit, [ard] the amount
of the renewal fee due, and a renewal form to the medication aide
physical or email address listed in DADS records [that the permit
DADS does net receive proof of the sueecessful completion of the
continuing education requirement; DADS sends the permit hoelder a

(2) The renewal form, which includes the contact infor-
mation and preferred mailing address of the medication aide [permit
helder] and information on certain misdemeanor and felony convic-
tions,[- }] must be completed and signed by the medication aide and
returned to DADS with the required renewal fee [permit holder].

(3) DADS issues a renewal permit to a medication aide
[permit holder] who meets [has met] all requirements for renewal, in-
cluding payment of the renewal fee.

[(4) A person who is otherwise eligible to renew a permit
may renew an unexpired permit by paying the required renewal fee to

(c) Late renewal procedures.

(1) If a medication aide submits a renewal application to
DADS that is late or incomplete, DADS assesses the appropriate late
fee described in §95.109(c)(1)(C) of this chapter (relating to Applica-
tion Procedures). DADS uses the postmark date to determine if a re-
newal application is late. If there is no postmark or the postmark is not
legible, DADS uses the date the renewal application was received and
recorded by the DADS Medication Aide Program to determine if the
renewal application is late.

(2) [€H] A person whose permit has been expired for less
than one year may renew the permit by submitting to DADS:

(A) the permit renewal form;
(B) all accrued renewal fees;

(C) proof of having earned, during the expired period,
seven hours in an approved continuing education program for each
year, or part of a year, since the permit expired; and

(D) proof of having earned, before [prier te] expiration
of the permit, seven hours in an approved continuing education pro-
gram as required by [in] subsection (a)(4) of this section.

(3) [€] A person whose permit has been expired for
90 days or less must pay DADS the late renewal fee stated in
§95.109(c)(1)(C)(1) of this chapter (relating to Application Proce-
dures) or §95.125()(3)(A) of this chapter (relating to Requirements
for Corrections Medication Aides).

(4) [63)] A person whose permit has been expired for more
than 90 days but less than one year must pay DADS the late renewal
fee stated in §95.109(c)(1)(C)(ii) or §95.125(f)(3)(B) of this chapter.

4y A person whese permit has been expired for one year
or more may not renew the permit. The person may obtain a new per-
) . for obtaining an oiginal it]
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(5) A person who previously held a permit in Texas issued
under Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N, may
obtain a new permit without reexamination if the person holds a facility
medication aide permit from another state, practiced in that state for at
least the two years preceding the application date, and pays to DADS
the late renewal fee stated in §95.109(c)(1)(C)(iii) of this chapter.

(6) DADS denies late renewal of the permit if a permit

holder:

(A) s in violation of Texas Health and Safety Code,
Chapter 242, Subchapter N, Texas Human Resources Code, §161.083,

(3) DADS may conduct an inspection of the classroom site.

(4) DADS sends notice of approval or proposed denial of
the application to the program within 30 days after receiving [of the
reeeipt of] a complete application. If DADS proposes to deny the ap-
plication due to noncompliance with the requirements of Texas Health
and Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N, or this chapter, the rea-
sons for denial are given in the notice.

(5) Anapplicant may request in writing a hearing on a pro-
posed denial. The applicant must submit a request within 15 [10] days
after the applicant receives [of reeeipt of the] notice of the proposed de-

or this chapter on the date DADS receives the application for late re-
newal,

(B) hasaconviction of a criminal offense listed in Texas
Health and Safety Code §250.006(a), or a conviction of a criminal of-
fense listed in Texas Health and Safety Code §250.006(b) within five
years before the date DADS receives the application for late renewal;

(C) s listed as unemployable on the EMR; or

(D) s listed with a revoked or suspended status on the

NAR; or

(E) is in default on a guaranteed student loan as de-
scribed in Texas Education Code, §57.491.

(d) A person whose permit has been expired for one year or
more may not renew the permit. To obtain a new permit, the person
must apply for a permit in accordance with §95.109 of this chapter (re-
lating to Application Procedures) and in §95.111 of this chapter (relat-
ing to Examination).

$95.117.  Changes.

(a) A medication aide [permit helder] must notify DADS
within 30 days after changing the medication aide's required contact
information, including name, preferred mailing address, or email [his
or her] address [er name].

(b) DADS replaces a lost, damaged, or destroyed permit upon
receipt of a completed duplicate permit request form and permit re-
placement fee as set out in §95.109(c) of this chapter (relating to Ap-
plication Procedures) and §95.125(f) of this chapter (relating to Re-
quirements for Corrections Medication Aides).

$95.119.  Training Program Requirements.

(a) Application. An educational institution accredited by the
Texas Workforce Commission or Texas Higher Education Coordinat-
ing Board that desires to offer a training program must file an appli-
cation for approval on a DADS form. Programs sponsored by state
agencies for the training and preparation of their own employees are
exempt from the accreditation requirement. An approved institution
may offer the training program and a continuing education program.

(1) All signatures on DADS forms and supporting docu-
mentation must be originals.

(2) The application must include:
(A) the anticipated dates of the program;
(B) the location(s) of the classroom course(s);
(C) the name of the coordinator of the program;

(D) alist that includes the address and telephone num-
ber of each instructor [instruetors] and any other persons responsible
for the conduct of the program[- The list must inclade addresses and
telephone numbers for each instruetor]; and

(E) an outline of the program content and curriculum if
the curriculum covers more than DADS established curricula.

nial. The hearing is governed by Texas Administrative Code, Title 1,
[conducted in accordance with + FAC] Chapter 357, Subchapter I (re-
lating to Hearings under the Administrative Procedure Act);[;] Chapter
91 of'this title (relating to Hearings under the Administrative Procedure
Act);[5] and Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001. If no request is
made, the applicant has waived the opportunity for a hearing, and the
proposed action may be taken.

(b) Basic training program.

(1) A training [The] program must include[; but is not lim-
ited te;] the following instruction and training:

(A) procedures for preparation and administration of
medications;

(B) responsibility, control, accountability, storage, and
safeguarding of medications;

(C) use of reference material;

(D) documentation of medications in resident's clinical
records, including PRN [pre re nata (PRN)] medications;

(E) minimum licensing standards for facilities covering
pharmaceutical service, nursing service, and clinical records;

(F) federal and state certification standards for partici-
pation under Title XVIII (Medicare) and Title XIX (Medicaid) of the
Social Security Act pertaining to pharmaceutical service, nursing ser-
vice, and clinical records;

(G) lines of authority in the facility, including facility
personnel who are immediate supervisors;

(H) responsibilities and liabilities associated with the
administration and safeguarding of medications;

(I) allowable and prohibited practices of medication
aides [permit holders] in the administration of medication;

(J) drug reactions and side effects of medications com-
monly administered to facility residents; and

(K) rules covering the medication aide program.

(2) The program must consist of 140 hours in the following
sequence: 100 hours of classroom instruction and training;[;] 20 hours
of return skills demonstration laboratory;[;] 10 hours of clinical expe-
rience, including clinical observation and skills demonstration under
the direct supervision of a licensed nurse in a facility;[;] and 10 [mere]
hours of [in the] return skills demonstration laboratory. A classroom
or laboratory hour must include 50 [eleek]| minutes of actual classroom
or laboratory time.

(A) Class time must not exceed:

(i) four hours in a 24-hour period for a facility train-
ing program; or

(ii) eight hours in a 24-hour period for a correctional
facility training program.
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(B) The completion date of the program must be:

(i) a minimum of 60 days and a maximum of 180
days after [frem] the starting date of the facility training program; or

(i) a minimum of 30 days and a maximum of 180
days after [frem] the starting date of a correctional facility training pro-
gram.

(3) Each program must follow the curricula established by
DADS.

(4) Before a student begins a training program, the program

must:

(A) ensure the student meets training requirements in
§95.107(b)(1) - (9) of this chapter (relating to Training Requirements;
Nursing Graduates; Reciprocity);

(B) perform a criminal history check with the Texas De-
partment of Public Safety to verify that the student does not have a con-
viction of a criminal offense listed in Texas Health and Safety Code,
§250.006(a), or a conviction of a criminal offense listed in Texas Health
and Safety Code, §250.006(b) within five years before the date the stu-
dent begins the training program;

(C) check the EMR to verify that the student is not listed
as unemployable;

(D) check the NAR to verify if the student is listed in
revoked or suspended status; and

(E) document the findings of the criminal history check
and employability check in its records.

(5) [(] At least seven days before [prior to] the beginning
of a training [eaeh]| program, the coordinator must notify DADS in
writing of the dates and daily hours of the program, and the projected
number of students.

(6) [€5)] A change in any information presented by the pro-
gram in an approved application, including[; but net limited to;] lo-
cation, instructors [instraetorship], and content must be approved by
DADS before [prior to] the change is implemented [pregram's effee-
tive date of the change].

(7) [€6)] The program instructors of the classroom hours
must be a registered nurse and registered pharmacist.

(A) The nurse instructor must have:

(i) a minimum of two years of experience in caring
for individuals in a long-term care setting or be an instructor in a school
of nursing, for a facility training program; or

(i) aminimum of two years of experience employed
in a correctional setting or be an instructor in a school of nursing, for a
correctional facility program.

(B) The pharmacist instructor must have: [a minimum
of ene year of experience and be eurrently employed as a consultant
pharmacist in a facility.]

(i) aminimum of one year of experience and be cur-
rently employed as a consultant pharmacist in a facility; or

(ii) a minimum of one year of experience employed
as a pharmacist in a correctional setting.

(8) [€H] The program coordinator must provide clearly de-
fined and written policies regarding each student's clinical experience

to the student, the administrator, and the director of nursing in the fa-
cility used for the clinical experience.

(A) The clinical experience must be counted only when
the student is performing functions involving medication administra-
tion and under the direct[; eontaet] supervision of a licensed nurse.

(B) The program coordinator must be responsible for
final evaluation of the student's clinical experience.

(9) [€8)] Each program must issue to each student, upon
successful completion of the program, a certificate of completion,
which must include the program's name, the student's name, the
date of completion, and the signature of the program coordinator or
administrative official.

(10) [9] Each program must inform DADS on the DADS
class roster form of the final grade results for each student within 15
days after the student's completion of the course.

(c) Continuing education training program.

(1) The program must consist of at least seven [eloek]
hours of classroom or online instruction.

(2) The instructors must meet the requirements in subsec-

tion (b)(7) [(b)(6)] of this section.

(3) Each program must follow the curricula established by
DADS or the curriculum established by TDC]J for corrections medica-
tion aides, as applicable.

(4) Within 10 [15] days after a medication aide's comple-
tion of the course, each program must inform DADS on the DADS
class roster form of the name of each medication aide [permit holder]
who has completed the course.

a training program and eurriculum for corrections medication aides that
complies with Government Code; §501-1485 (relating to Corrections
Medication Aides)-}

(d) [€e)] Indeveloping a training program for corrections med-
ication aides that complies with Texas Government Code §501.1485,
TDCJ may modity, as appropriate, the content of the training program
curriculum originally developed under Texas Health and Safety Code,
Chapter 242, to produce content suitable for administering medication
in a correctional facility. The training program curriculum must be ap-
proved by DADS.

(e) Subsection (¢) of this section applies to a training program
for medication aides and correction medication aides.

HDH Subsection (¢) of this section applies to a training program
developed by the TDCIJ.}
$§95.121.

(a) DADS may suspend or revoke an existing permit, deny
[disqualifyy a persen from reeeiving] a permit, or deny [te] a person
the opportunity to take the examination [be &eammed] for a permit if
a person has been convicted [because of a pepseﬁs convietion] of a
felony or misdemeanor offense that [if] the crime directly relates to the
duties and responsibilities of a medication aide.

Permitting of Persons with Criminal Backgrounds.

(b) [€H] When [11] considering whether a criminal conviction
directly relates to the duties and responsibilities [eeeupation] of a med-
ication aide, DADS considers:

(1) [€A)] the nature and seriousness of the offense [erime];
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(2) [B)] that the following offenses may reflect [the rela-
tionship of the crime to the purposes for requiring a permit to be a
medication aide. The following felonies and misdemeanors relate to
the permit of a medication aide because these criminal offenses indi-
eate] an actual or potential inability [er a tendeney to be unable] to
perform as a medication aide:

(A) [6)] the misdemeanor of knowingly or intentionally
acting as a medication aide without a permit issued under the Texas
Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242;

(B) [@GH] any conviction for an offense listed in
§250.006 of the Texas Health and Safety Code;

(C) [@i)] any conviction, other than a Class C Misde-
meanor, for an offense defined under Texas Penal Code, Chapter 22,
as assault; sexual assault; intentional exposure of another to AIDS or
HIV; aggravated assault or sexual assault; injury to a child, elderly per-
son, or person with disabilities; or aiding suicide;

(D) [6w)] any conviction, except Class C Misde-
meanors, with a final disposition within the last ten years, for an
offense defined in the Texas Penal Code as burglary under Chapter
30; theft under §31.03; sale or display of harmful material to minors;
sexual performance by a child; and possession or promotion of child
pornography;

(E) [69)] any conviction for an offense defined in the
Texas Penal Code as an attempt, solicitation, conspiracy, or organized
criminal activity for any offense listed in subparagraphs (B) - (D) of
this paragraph [elauses (i) - (iv) of this subparagraph]; and [and/er]

(F) [6)] any conviction under United States statutes or
jurisdiction other than Texas for any offense equivalent to those listed
in subparagraphs (B) - (E) of this paragraph [elauses (i) - () of this
subparagraph

s

(3) [€6)] the extent to which a permit might offer an oppor-
tunity to engage in further criminal activity of the same type as that in
which the person previously had been involved; [and]

(4) [)] the relationship of the crime to the ability, capac-
ity, or fitness required to perform the duties and discharge the responsi-
bilities of a medication aide; and[- In determining the present fitness of
a persoen; DADS econsiders the evidence deseribed in the Oceupations
Code, §53.023.]

(5) other factors related to the fitness of a person to perform
the duties and discharge the responsibilities of a medication aide, as
described in Texas Occupations Code §53.023.

(c) [€)] DADS gives written notice to the person that DADS
proposes to deny the application or suspend or revoke the permit after
a hearing, in accordance with the provisions of §95.123(c)(3) of this

chapter [title] (relating to Violations, Complaints, and Disciplinary Ac-
tions). If DADS denies, suspends, or revokes an application or permit
under this chapter, DADS gives the person written notice:

(1) [€A)] of the reasons for the decision;

(2) [B)] that the person, after exhausting administrative
appeals, may file an action in a district court of Travis County for re-
view of the evidence presented to DADS and DADS final action [its
deeision]; and

(3) [€E©)] that the person must begin the judicial review by
filing a petition with the court within 30 days after DADS [DADS!|
action is final and appealable.

§95.123.

Violations, Complaints, and Disciplinary Actions.

(a) Filing of complaints. Any person may complain to DADS
alleging that a person or program has violated the Texas Health and
Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N; Texas Human Resources
Code, §161.083; or this chapter.

(1) Persons who want to file a complaint against a
medication aide [permit holder], training program, or another person,
must notify DADS by calling 1-800-458-9858 or by writing the
Medication Aide Permit Program, Department of Aging and Dis-
ability Services, P.O. Box 149030, Mail Code E-416, Austin, Texas
78714-9030.

(2) Anonymous complaints may be investigated by DADS
if the complainant provides sufficient information.

(b) Investigation of complaints. If DADS initial investigation
determines:

(1) the complaint does not come within DADS jurisdiction,
DADS advises the complainant and, if possible, refers the complainant
to the appropriate governmental agency for handling the complaint;

(2) there are insufficient grounds to support the complaint,
DADS dismisses the complaint and gives written notice of the dis-
missal to the medication aide [permit helder] or person against whom
the complaint has been filed and the complainant; or

(3) there are sufficient grounds to support the complaint,
DADS may propose to deny, suspend, emergency suspend, revoke, or
not renew a permit or to rescind program approval.

(c) Disciplinary actions. DADS may revoke, suspend, or
refuse [revokes; suspends; or refuses| to renew a permit, or reprimand
[reprimands] a medication aide [permit helder] for a violation of Texas
Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242, Subchapter N; Texas Human
Resources Code, §161.083; or this chapter. [1n additien;] DADS may
suspend a permit in an emergency or rescind DADS approval for an
educational institution to offer a training program if the medication
aide or educational institution fails to comply with the requirements in
this chapter [appreval].

(1) DADS may place on probation a person whose permit
is suspended. DADS may require the person on probation:

(A) toreport regularly to DADS on matters that are the
basis of the probation;

(B) to limit practice to the areas prescribed by DADS;
or

(C) to continue or pursue professional education until
the person attains a degree of skill satisfactory to DADS in those areas
that are the basis of the probation.

(2) Before [Prior to] institution of formal proceedings to
revoke or suspend a permit or rescind program approval, DADS gives
written notice to the medication aide [permit holder] or program of the
facts or conduct alleged to warrant revocation, suspension, or rescis-
sion, and the medication aide [permit hoelder] or program must be given
an opportunity, as described in the notice, to show compliance with all
requirements of the Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242, Sub-
chapter N; Texas Human Resources Code, §161.083; or this chapter.
When there is a finding of an alleged act of abuse, neglect, or misap-
propriation of resident property by a medication aide [permit holder]
employed at a Medicaid-certified nursing facility or a Medicare-certi-
fied skilled nursing facility, DADS complies with the hearings process
as provided in 42 Code of Federal Regulations §488.335.

(3) If denial, revocation, or suspension of a permit or
rescission of program approval is proposed, DADS gives written no-
tice that the medication aide [permit holder] or program must request,
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in writing, a [formal] hearing within 30 days after [ef] receipt of the
notice, or the right to a hearing is waived and the permit is denied,
revoked, or suspended or the program approval is rescinded.

(4) A [The formal] hearing is governed by Texas Admin-
istrative Code, Title 1, [eonducted according to formal hearing proce-
dures at + FAC] Chapter 357, Subchapter I (relating to Hearings under
the Administrative Procedure Act) and Chapter 91 of this title (relating
to Hearings under the Administrative Procedure Act).

(5) Ifanalleged act of abuse, neglect, or misappropriation
by a medication aide who also is a certified nurse aide under the pro-
visions of Chapter 94 of this title (relating to Nurse Aides) violates the
rules in this chapter and Chapter 94, DADS complies with the [formal]
hearing process described in paragraph (4) of this subsection. Through
the [formal] hearing, determinations will be made on both the permit
for medication aide practice and the certification [eertifieate] for nurse
aide practice.

(d) Suspension, revocation, or nonrenewal. IfDADS suspends
a permit, the suspension remains in effect until DADS determines that
the reason for suspension no longer exists or DADS revokes or deter-
mines not to renew the permit. DADS investigates before [prior to]
making a determination, and:

(1) during the time of suspension, the suspended
medication aide [permit holder] must return his permit to DADS;

(2) ifasuspension overlaps a permit renewal date, the sus-
pended medication aide [permit holder] may comply with the renewal
procedures in §95.115 of this chapter (relating to Permit Renewal);
however, DADS does not renew the permit until DADS determines
that the reason for suspension no longer exists;

(3) if DADS revokes or does not renew a permit, a person
may reapply for a permit by complying with the requirements and pro-
cedures in this chapter at the time of reapplication. DADS may refuse
to issue a permit if the reason for revocation or nonrenewal continues
to exist; and

(4) ifapermitis revoked or not renewed, a medication aide
[permit helder] must immediately return the permit to DADS.

(e) Complaints of abuse and neglect by medication aides who
are issued a permit under Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 242,
Subchapter N, and employed in a correctional facility, are investigated
as described in §95.125(k) of this chapter (relating to Requirements for
Corrections Medication Aides).

$95.125.  Requirements for Corrections Medication Aides.

(a) Purpose. The purpose of this section is to provide the qual-
ifications, conduct, and practice activities of a medication aide em-
ployed in a correctional facility or employed by a medical services con-
tractor for a correctional facility.

(b) Supervision and applicable law and rules. A medication
aide [permit helder] must function under the direct supervision of a
licensed nurse on duty or on call by the correctional facility using the
medication aide [permit holder]. A medication aide [permit helder]

must:

(1) function in accordance with applicable law and rules
relating to administration of medication and operation of a correctional
facility; and

(2) comply with TDCJ rules applicable to personnel used
in a correctional institution.

(c) Allowable and prohibited practices of a medication aide

[permit holder].

(1) A medication aide [permit holder] may:

(A) observe and report to the correctional facility's
charge nurse reactions and side effects to medication shown by an
inmate;

(B) take and record vital signs before [prier te] the ad-
ministration of medication which could affect or change the vital signs;

(C) administer regularly prescribed medication to an in-
mate if the medication aide: [which the permit holder has been trained
to administer only after personally preparing (setting up) the mediea-

.. Lication in the i 's elinical ]

(i) is trained to administer the medication;

(i) personally prepares the medication or sets up the
medication to be administered; and

(iii) documents the administration of the medication
in the inmate's clinical record;

(D) administer oxygen per nasal cannula or a non-seal-
ing mask only in an emergency,[- Immediately] after which [the emer-
geney;| the medication aide [permit helder] must verbally notify the
licensed nurse on duty or on call and appropriately document the ac-
tion and notification;

(E) apply specifically ordered ophthalmic, otic, nasal,
vaginal, and rectal medication;

(F) administer previously ordered PRN [pre re nata
(PRN)] medication. A medication aide [permit helder] must docu-
ment in the inmate's records, symptoms indicating the need for the
medication, and the time the symptoms occurred;

(G) administer the initial dose of a medication; [and)]

(H) order an inmate's medications from the correctional
institution's pharmacy;|[-]

(I) measure a prescribed amount of a liquid medication
to be administered;

(J) break a tablet for administration to an inmate if:

(i) the licensed nurse on duty or on call has calcu-
lated the dosage; and

(it) the inmate's medication card or its equivalent ac-
curately documents how the tablet must be altered before administra-
tion; and

(K) crush medication if:

(i) authorization is obtained from the licensed nurse
on duty or on call; and

(ii) the authorization is documented on the inmate's
medication card or its equivalent.

(2) A medication aide [permit helder] may not:

(A) administer medication by the injection route includ-
ing:
(i) intramuscular;
(i) intravenous;
(iii)  subcutaneous;
(iv) intradermal; and

(v) hypodermoclysis;
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(B) administer medication used for intermittent positive
pressure breathing [(IPPB)] treatments or any form of medication in-
halation treatments;

(C) calculate an inmate's medication dose for adminis-
tration; [exeept that the permit holder may:]

/i) measure a preseribed amount of a liquid medi-
cation to be administered; and]

i) ‘break a tablet for administration to an inmate
provided the licensed nurse on duty or on call has caleulated the dosage-
The inmate's medication card or its equivalent must aceurately doeu-
ment how the tablet must be altered prior to administration:}

(D) crush medication, except in accordance with sub-
section (c)(1)(K) of this section [unless authorization is obtained from
the licensed nurse on duty or on eall: The autherizatien to erush the
eard or its equivalent];

(E) administer medications or feedings by way of a tube
inserted in a cavity of the body;

(F) receive or assume responsibility for reducing to
writing a verbal or telephone order from a physician, dentist, or
podiatrist;

(G) apply topical medications that involve the treatment
of skin that is broken or blistered or when a specified aseptic technique
is ordered by the attending licensed practitioner;

(H) steal, divert, or otherwise misuse medications;

(I) violate any provision of Texas Human Resources
Code, §161.083, or this chapter;

(J) fraudulently procure or attempt to procure a permit;

(K) neglect to administer appropriate medications, as
prescribed, in a responsible manner; or

(L) administer medications if the person is unable to do
so with reasonable skill and safety to residents by reason of drunken-
ness or [and/er] excessive use of drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or any
other type of material.

(d) Background and education requirements. Before [Prior to]
applying for a corrections medication aide permit under Texas Human
Resources Code, §161.083, an applicant must be:

(1) able to read, write, speak, and understand English;
(2) atleast 18 years of age;

(3) free of communicable diseases and in suitable physical
and emotional health to safely administer medications;

(4) a graduate of a high school or successfully passed
[hawve] a general educational development test [equivaleney diplomal;

and

(5) employed in a correctional facility or by a medical ser-
vice contractor for a correctional facility on the first day of an appli-
cant's medication aide training program.

(e) Application. An applicant for a corrections medication
aide permit under Texas Human Resources Code, §161.083 must sub-
mit an official Corrections Medication Aide application form to DADS.

(1) An applicant must submit the general statement enroll-
ment form that contains:

(A) specific information regarding personal data, cer-
tain misdemeanor and felony convictions, work experience, education,
and training;

(B) a statement that all the requirements in subsection
(d) of this section were met before [prier to] the start of the program;

(C) a statement that the applicant understands that ap-
plication fees submitted in the permit process are nonrefundable;

(D) a statement that the applicant understands material
submitted in the application process are nonreturnable;

(E) a statement that the applicant understands that it is
a misdemeanor to falsify any information submitted to DADS; and

(F) the applicant's dated and notarized signature.

(2) An applicant must submit a certified copy or a photo-
copy that has been notarized as a true and exact copy of an unaltered
original of the applicant's high school graduation diploma or transcript.

(3) DADS considers a corrections medication aide permit
application as officially submitted when DADS receives the permit ap-
plication.

(4) DADS sends a notice listing the additional materials
required to an applicant who does not complete the application. An
application not completed by the day of the TDCJ [medication aide]
final exam is void.

(5) DADS sends notice of application approval

or ineligibility; disappreval] or deficiency in accordance
with §95.127 of this chapter (relating to Application Processing).

(f) Fees. An applicant must pay [The permit] application and
permit renewal fees for a corrections medication aide permit [must be
submitted] by cashier's check or money order made payable to the De-
partment of Aging and Disability Services. All fees are nonrefundable,
except as provided by Texas Government Code, Chapter 2005. The fee
schedule is as follows:

(1) permit application fee--$15;
(2) renewal fee--$15;

(3) laterenewal fees for permit renewals made after the per-
mit expires:

(A) $22.50 for an expired permit renewed from one to
90 days after expiration;

(B) $30 for an expired permit renewed from 91 days to
one year after expiration; and

(4) permit replacement fee--$5.

(g) Examination procedures. TDCJ gives a written examina-
tion to each applicant at a site determined by TDCJ. An applicant with a
disability, including an applicant with dyslexia as defined in Texas Ed-
ucation Code, §51.970 (relating to Instructional Material for Blind and
Visually Impaired Students and Students with Dyslexia), may request
a reasonable accommodation for the examination under the Americans
with Disabilities Act.

(1) The applicant must meet the requirements of the TDCJ
training program described in §95.119(d) of this chapter (relating to
Training Program Requirements) before taking the written examina-
tion.

(2) The applicant must be tested on the subjects taught in
the TDCJ training program curriculum and correctional facility clinical
experience. The examination must test an applicant's knowledge of
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accurate and safe drug therapy administered to a correctional facility
inmate.

(3) [#] TDCJ administers the examination and determines
the passing grade.

4) [65] TDCJ mustinform DADS, on the DADS class ros-
ter form, of the final exam results for each applicant within 15 days after
completion of the exam.

(5) [€6)] An applicant who is unable to attend the appli-
cant's scheduled examination due to unforeseen circumstances must
contact TDC]J to reschedule.

(6) [€A] If an applicant fails the examination, TDCJ noti-
fies DADS and the applicant in writing of the failure to pass the exam-
ination. The applicant may take one subsequent examination without
having to re-enroll in the training program described in §95.119 of this
chapter.

(7) [€8)] An applicant whose application for a permit is de-
nied under §95.113 of this chapter (relating to Determination of Eligi-
bility) is ineligible to take the examination.

(h) Determination of eligibility. DADS determines eligibility
for a corrections medication aide permit applicant according to §95.113
of this chapter and subsections (d), (e), (f), and (g) of this section.

(i) Renewal. A permit must be renewed in accordance with
§95.115 of this chapter (relating to Permit Renewal).

(j) Changes. Medication aides [Permit helders] must report
changes in accordance with §95.117 of this chapter (relating to
Changes).

(k) Violations, complaints, and disciplinary actions.

(1) Complaints. Any person may complain to DADS al-
leging that a person or program has violated Texas Human Resources
Code, §161.083, or this chapter. DADS handles complaints in the man-
ner set forth in §95.123 of this chapter (relating to Violations, Com-
plaints, and Disciplinary Actions).

(2) Investigations of abuse and neglect complaints. Allega-
tions of abuse and neglect of inmates by corrections medication aides
are investigated by the TDCJ Office of Inspector General. After an
investigation, the TDCJ Office of Inspector General issues a report to
DADS with findings of abuse or neglect against the corrections medi-
cation aide. After reviewing the report and findings, DADS determines
whether to initiate a formal proceeding to revoke, suspend, or refuse to
renew a corrections medication aide permit. If DADS determines a
formal proceeding to revoke, suspend, or refuse to renew a corrections
medication aide permit should be initiated, §95.123(c) and (d) of this
chapter apply. If DADS determines that no formal proceeding to re-
voke, suspend, or refuse to renew a corrections medication aide permit
should be initiated, DADS dismisses the complaint against the correc-
tions medication aide and gives written notice of the dismissal to the
corrections medication aide.

(1) Section 95.121 of this chapter (relating to Permitting of
Persons with Criminal Backgrounds) applies to corrections medication
aides [aide permit helders] under this chapter.

Hm) Verification of . lication aide training ]

D A person employed as a medication aide in a corree-
tional facility under a permit issued by DADS under Health and Safety
Code; Chapter 242; Subchapter N; must submit to DADS a verification

the person is employed as a medication aide in a correctional facility
in good standing and received training equivalent to the TDCIJ training
deseribed in §95-H9 of this chapter I the person fails to submit the
verifieation by the person's first permit renewal date after January
2012; the person must:}

[A) comply with subsections (e); (f); and (g) of this
section to obtain a corrections medication aide permit; or}

HB) comply with this chapter to obtain a nursing faeil-

[(2) A medication aide who submits the verification de-

scribed in paragraph (1) of this subsection must comply with the permit
to his name and address as required by §95-H7 of this chapter}

$95.127.  Application Processing.

(a) Time periods. DADS complies with the following proce-
dures in processing applications for a facility and corrections medica-
tion aide permit and renewal.

(1) The following periods of time [must] apply from the
date DADS receives [of receipt of] an application until the date DADS
issues [of issuanee of] a written notice that the application is complete
and accepted for filing or that the application is deficient and additional
specific information is required. DADS may issue a [A] written notice
stating that the application has been approved instead [may be sent in
Heu] of a [the] notice that the application is complete [of aceeptance of
a complete application]. The time periods are as follows:

(A) letter of acceptance of application for a permit--21
days [14 werkdays];

(B) letter of application deficiency or [and/er] ineligi-
bility--21 days [14 werkdays];

(C) acceptance of renewal permit--21 days [20 werk-

days]; and

(D) letter of renewal of permit deficiency--21 days [20
workdays].

(2) The following periods of time [must] apply from the
date DADS receives [reeeipt of] the last item necessary to complete the
application until the date DADS issues [of issuanece of] written notice
approving or denying the application. For the purpose of this section,
an application is not considered complete until any required examina-
tion has been successfully completed by the applicant. The time peri-
ods for denial include notification of a [the] proposed decision and an
[ef the] opportunity, if required, for the applicant to show compliance
with law, and an [ef the] opportunity to request [for] a [formal] hear-
ing. The time periods are as follows:

(A) issuance of initial permit--60 days [90 werkdays];
(B) letter of denial for a permit or renewal permit--60
days [90 wetkdays]; and

(C) issuance of renewal permit after receipt of doc-
umentation of the completion of all renewal requirements--20 days

[wotkdays].

(b) Reimbursement of fees.

(1) If [In the event] an application is not processed in the
time periods stated in subsection (a) of this section, the applicant has
the right to request reimbursement of all fees paid in that particular ap-
plication process. Application for reimbursement must be made to the
program administrator for DADS Medication Aide Permit Program. If
the program administrator does not agree that the time period has been
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violated or finds that good cause existed for exceeding the time period,
the request must be denied.

(2) Good cause for exceeding the time period exists if the
number of applications for a permit and permit renewal exceeds by
15 percent [15%] or more the number of applications processed in the
same calendar quarter the preceding year; another public or private
entity relied upon by DADS in the application process caused the delay;
or any other condition exists giving DADS good cause for exceeding
the time period.

(c) Appeal. If a request for reimbursement under subsection
(b) of this section is denied by the program administrator, the applicant
may appeal in writing to the Texas Health and Human Services Com-
mission's hearings section to request a hearing on the reimbursement
denial. A [The] hearing is governed by Texas Administrative Code, Ti-
tle 1, [will be held pursuant to applicable provisions of the procedures
at + TAC] Chapter 357, Subchapter I (relating to Hearings under the
Administrative Procedure Act), and Chapter 91 of this title (relating to
Hearings under the Administrative Procedure Act).

$95.128. Home Health Medication Aides.
(a) General.

(1) A person may not administer medication to a client un-
less the person:

(A) holds a current license under state law that [whieh]
authorizes the licensee to administer medication;

(B) holds a current permit issued under this section and
acts under the delegated authority of an RN [a registered nurse (RN)
licensed by the Texas Board of Nursing which authorizes the licensee]
to administer medication;

(C) administers a medication to a client [ef an ageney]
in accordance with rules of the BON [Texas Board of Nursing] that
permit delegation of the administration of medication to a person not
holding a permit under this section; or

(D) administers noninjectable medication under cir-
cumstances authorized by the memorandum of understanding between
the BON [Fexas Beard of Nursing] and DADS.

(2) A HCSSA that provides [An ageney providing| li-
censed and certified home health services, licensed home health

services, hospice services, or personal assistance services may use a
home health medication aide. If there is a direct conflict between the
requirements of this chapter and federal regulations, the requirements
that are more stringent apply to the licensed and certified HCSSA
[heme health serviees ageney].

(3) Exemptions are as follows.

(A) A person may administer medication to a client [ef
an ageney| without the license or permit as required in paragraph (1)
of this subsection if the person is:

(i) a graduate nurse holding a temporary permit is-
sued by the BON [Fexas Beard of Nursing];

(i) a student enrolled in an accredited school of
nursing or program for the education of RNs who is administering
medications as part of the student's clinical experience;

(iii)  agraduate vocational nurse holding a temporary
permit issued by the BON [Texas Board of Nursing];

(iv) astudent enrolled in an accredited school of vo-
cational nursing or program for the education of vocational nurses who
is administering medications as part of the student's clinical experience;
or

(v) a trainee in a medication aide training program
approved by DADS under this chapter who is administering medica-
tions as part of the trainee's clinical experience.

(B) Supervision of an exempt person described in sub-
paragraph (A) of this paragraph is as follows.

(i) A person described in:

(I) subparagraph (A)(i) of this paragraph shall be
supervised by an RN;

(II)  subparagraph (A)(ii) or (iv) of this paragraph
shall be supervised by the student's instructor; or

(III)  subparagraph (A)(iii) of this paragraph shall
be supervised by an RN or licensed vocational nurse.

(i)  Supervision must be on-site.

(C) An exempt person described in this subsection may
not be used in a supervisory or charge position.

(b) Required actions.

(1) IfaHCSSA provides home health medication aide ser-
vices the HCSSA must employ [are provided; an ageney employs] a
home health medication aide to provide the home health medication
aide services. The HCSSA must employ or contract with[; and] an RN
[shall be employed by or under contraet with the ageney] to perform
the initial health assessment,[;] prepare the client care plan,[;] establish
the medication list, medication administration record, and medication
aide assignment sheet,[;] and supervise the home health medication
aide. The RN must be available to supervise the home health medica-
tion aide when home health medication aide services are provided.

(2) The clinical records of a client [patient] using a home
health medication aide must include a statement signed by the client
or family acknowledging receipt of the list of permitted and prohibited
acts of a home health medication aide.

(3) The RN must be knowledgeable of [the rules of] DADS
rules governing home health medication aides and must ensure [assure]
that the home health medication aide is in compliance with the Texas
Health and Safety Code, Chapter 142, Subchapter B.

(4) A home health medication aide [permit holder] must:

(A) function under the supervision of an RN;

(B) comply with [funetion in accordanee with] applica-
ble law and this chapter relating to administration of medication and
operation of the HCSSA [ageney];

(C) comply with DADS rules applicable to personnel
used in a HCSSA [an ageney]; and

(D) comply with this section and §97.701 of this title
(relating to Home Health Aides) if the person will be used as a home
health aide and a home health medication aide.

(5) The RN must make a supervisory visit while the med-
ication aide is in the client's residence in accordance with §97.298 of
this title (relating to Delegation of Nursing Tasks by Registered Profes-
sional Nurses to Unlicensed Personnel and Tasks Not Requiring Dele-
gation).

(c) Permitted actions. A home health medication aide [permit
helder] is permitted to:

(1) observe and report to the HCSSA [ageney's] RN and
document in the clinical record any [nete] reactions and side effects to
medication shown by a client;
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(2) take and record vital signs of a client before administer-
ing [prier to the administration of] medication that [whieh] could affect
or change the vital signs;

(3) administer regularly prescribed medication to a client if
the medication aide: [whiech the permit holder has been trained to ad-
minister only after personally preparing (setting up) the medication to

Lication in the client's chnical N

(A) s trained to administer the medication;

(B) personally prepares the medication or sets up the
medication to be administered; and

(C) documents the administration of the medication in
the client's clinical record;

(4) administer oxygen per nasal cannula or a non-sealing
face mask only in an emergency,[- Immediately] after which [the emer-
geney;| the medication aide [permit helder] must verbally notify the su-
pervising RN and appropriately document the action and notification;

(5) apply specifically ordered ophthalmic, otic, nasal,
vaginal, topical, and rectal medication unless prohibited by subsection
(d)(10) of this section; [ane]

(6) administer medications only from the manufacturer's
original container or the original container in which the medication had
been dispensed and labeled by the pharmacy with all information man-
dated by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy; and|[-]

(7) administer previously ordered PRN medication if}
(A) the HCSSA's RN authorizes the medication;

(B) the medication aide documents in the client's clini-
cal notes the symptoms indicating the need for medication and the time

(1) administer a medication by any injectable route, includ-
ing:[;]

(A) intramuscular route;

(B) intravenous route;

(C) subcutaneous route;

(D) intradermal route; and

(E) hypodermoclysis route;

(2) administer medication used for intermittent positive
pressure breathing [(HPPB)] treatment or any form of medication
inhalation treatments;

(3) administer previously ordered PRN [pro re nata (PRN)]
medication except in accordance with subsection (¢)(7) of this section;
[HB—I%SS autherization is obtained from the ageney's RN: If autherization
is obtained; the permit holder must;|

document in the client's elinical notes symptoms
indicating the need for medication and the time the symptoms ee-
curred:]

[(B) document in the client's clinical notes that the
ageney's RN was contacted; symptoms were deseribed; and permission
was granted to administer the medieation and the time of eontact;]

HC)  obtai ission o admini the ficati
each time the symptoms occur in the client; and]

D) insure that the elient's elinieal record is eo-signed

by the RN whe gave permission within seven calendar days of incor-
poration of the netes into the elinieal record:}

(4) administer [the initial dose of a] medication that, ac-
cording to the client's clinical records, has not been previously admin-

the symptoms occurred;

(C) the medication aide documents in the client's clin-
ical notes that the HCSSA's RN was contacted, symptoms were de-
scribed, and the HCSSA's RN granted permission to administer the
medication, including the time of contact;

(D) the medication aide obtains authorization to admin-
ister the medication each time the symptoms occur; and

(E) the medication aide ensures that the client's clinical
record is co-signed by the RN who gave permission within seven days
after the notes are incorporated into the clinical record;

(8) measure a prescribed amount of a liquid medication to
be administered;

(9) break a tablet for administration to a client if:

(A) the client's medication administration record accu-
rately documents how the tablet must be altered before administration;
and

(B) the licensed nurse on duty or on call has calculated
the dosage;

(10) crush medication, if:

(A) authorization has been given in the original physi-
cian's order or the medication aide obtains authorization from the HC-
SSA's RN; and

(B) the medication aide documents the authorization on
the client's medication administration record.

(d) Prohibited actions. A home health medication aide [Permit
helders] must not:

istered to the [a] client[- Whether a medication has been previously ad-
ministered must be determined by the elient's eurrent elinical records];

(5) calculate a client's medication doses for administration;
[exeept that the permit holder may measure a preseribed amount of a
liquid medication to be administered or break a seored tablet for ad-
ministration to a client provided the RN has caleulated the dosage:
The elient's medication administration record must aceurately doeu-
ment how the tablet must be altered prior to administration;]

(6) crush medication, except in accordance with subsection
(c)(10) of this section [anless authorization has been given in the orig-
inal physician's order or obtained from the agency's RN. The autho-
rization to erush the speecific medication must be documented on the

lent! L i . i

(7) administer medications or feedings by way of a tube in-
serted in a cavity of the body except as specified §97.404(h) [§97-298]
of this title;

(8) receive or assume responsibility for reducing to writing
a verbal or telephone order from a physician, dentist, [e¥] podiatrist or
advanced practice nurse;

(9) order a client's medication from a pharmacy;

(10) apply topical medications that involve the treatment
of skin that is broken or blistered when a specified aseptic technique is
ordered by the attending physician;

(11) administer medications from any container other than
the manufacturer's original container or the original container in which
the medication had been dispensed and labeled by the pharmacy with
all information mandated by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy;
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(12) steal, divert, or otherwise misuse medications;
(13) violate any provision of the statute or of this chapter;
(14) fraudulently procure or attempt to procure a permit;

(15) neglect to administer appropriate medications, as pre-
scribed, in a responsible manner; or

(16) administer medications if the person is unable to do
so with reasonable skill and safety to clients by reasons of drunken-
ness, inappropriate [exeessive] use of drugs, narcotics, chemicals, or
any other type of material.

(e) Applicant qualifications. Each applicant for a permit is-
sued under Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 142, Subchapter B
must complete a training program. Before enrolling [Prier te enrell-
ment] in a training program and applying [prier to application] for a
permit under this section, all applicants [persens]:

(1) mustbe able to read, write, speak, and understand Eng-
lish;

(2) must be at least 18 years of age;

(3) must be free of communicable diseases and in suitable
physical and emotional health to safely administer medications;

(4) must be a graduate of an accredited [a] high school or
have proof of successfully passing a general educational development
test; [an equivalent diploma or higher degree; and]

(5) must have satisfactorily completed a home health aide
training and competency evaluation program or a competency evalua-
tion program under §97.701 of this title;[-]

(6) must not have been convicted of a criminal offense
listed in Texas Health and Safety Code, §250.006(a), or convicted of a
criminal offense listed in Texas Health and Safety Code, §250.006(b)
within five years before the date DADS receives a permit application;

(7) must not be listed as unemployable on the EMR; and

(8) must not be listed with a revoked or suspended status
on the NAR.

(f) Nursing graduates. A person who is a graduate of an ac-
credited school of nursing and who does not hold a license to practice
professional or vocational nursing meets the training requirements for
issuance of a permit under this section if the date of graduation from
the nursing school was no earlier than January 1 of the year immedi-
ately preceding the year of application for a permit under this section.

(1) The applicant must submit a DADS application form to
DADS. The applicant must meet the requirements of subsection (e)(1)

(7) An open book or written examination may not be re-
taken if the applicant fails.

(8) Upon successful completion of the two examinations,
DADS evaluates all application documents submitted by the applicant.

(9) DADS notifies the applicant in writing of the examina-
tion results.

(g) Nursing students. A person who is attending or has at-
tended an accredited school of nursing and who does not hold a li-
cense to practice professional or vocational nursing meets the training
requirements for issuance of a permit under this section if the person:

(1) attended the nursing school no earlier than January 1
of the year immediately preceding the year of application for a permit
under this section;

(2) successfully completed courses at the nursing school
that cover DADS curriculum for a home health medication aide training
program;

(3) submits a statement with the person's application for a
permit under this section, that is signed by the nursing school's adminis-
trator or other authorized individual who is responsible for determining
that the courses that he or she certifies cover DADS curriculum and cer-
tifies that the person completed the courses specified under paragraph
(2) of this subsection[- The administrator is responsible for determin-
ing that the courses that he or she certifies eover DADS currieulum-
The statement must be submitted with the person's application for a
permit under this seetion]; and

(4) complies with subsection (f)(1) - (2) and (4) - (9) of this
section.

(h) Reciprocity. A person who holds a valid license, registra-
tion, certificate, or permit as a home health medication aide issued by
another state whose minimum standards or requirements are substan-
tially equivalent to or exceed the requirements of this section in effect
at the time of application may request a waiver of the training program
requirement as follows:

(1) The applicant must submit a DADS application form to
DADS. The applicant must meet the requirements of subsection (e)(1)
- (4) of this section.

(2) The application must be accompanied by the combined
permit application and exam fee.

(3) The application must include a current copy of the rules
of the other state governing its licensing and regulation of home health
medication aides, a copy of the legal authority, including the law, act,
code, or section, [{ taw; aet; eode; seetion; or otherwise)] for the state's

- (6) [fe¥D - (D] of this section.

(2) The application must be accompanied by the combined
permit application and examination fee.

(3) The applicant must include an official transcript docu-
menting graduation from an accredited school of nursing.

(4) DADS acknowledges receipt of the application by
sending the applicant a copy of this chapter and DADS open book
examination.

(5) The applicant must complete the open book examina-
tion and return it to DADS by the date given in the examination notice.

(6) The applicant must complete DADS written examina-
tion. DADS determines the site of the examination. DADS denies the
application of an applicant failing to schedule and take the examination
by the date given in the examination notice.

licensing program, and a certified copy of the license or certificate by
which the reciprocal permit is requested.

(4) DADS acknowledges receipt of the application by
sending the applicant a copy of this chapter and of DADS open book
examination.

(5) DADS may contact the issuing agency to verify the ap-
plicant's status with the agency.

(6) The applicant must complete DADS open book exam-
ination and return it to DADS by the date given in the examination
notice.

(7) The applicant must complete DADS written examina-
tion. The site of the examination is determined by DADS. DADS de-
nies the application of an applicant failing to schedule and take the
examination by the date given in the examination notice.
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(8) An open book or written examination may not be re-
taken if the applicant fails.

(9) Upon successful completion of the two examinations,
DADS evaluates all application documents submitted by the applicant.

(10) DADS notifies the applicant in writing of the exami-
nation results.

(i) Application by trainees. An applicant under subsection (e)
of this section must submit to DADS, no later than 30 [ealendar] days
after enrollment in a training program, an application, including all
required information and documentation on DADS forms.

(1) DADS considers an application as officially submitted
when DADS receives the nonrefundable combined permit application
and examination fee payable to the Department of Aging and Disabil-
ity Services. The fee required by subsection (n) of this section must
accompany the application form.

(2) The general statement enrollment form must contain
the following application material that is required of all applicants:

(A) specific information regarding personal data, cer-
tain misdemeanor and felony convictions, work experience, education,
and training;

(B) a statement that all of the requirements in subsec-
tion (e) of this section were met before [prior to] the start of the pro-
gram;

(C) a statement that the applicant understands that the
application fee submitted in the permit process is nonrefundable;

(D) astatement that the applicant understands that ma-
terials submitted in the application process are not returnable;

(E) a statement that the applicant understands that it is
a misdemeanor to falsify any information submitted to DADS; and

(F) the applicant's signature that has been dated and no-
tarized.

(3) The applicant must submit a certified copy or notarized
[a] photocopy [that has been netarized as a true and exaet eopy] of
an unaltered original of the applicant's high school graduation diploma
or transcript, or an equivalent document demonstrating that the appli-
cant successfully passed a general educational development test, [GED

diploma or higher degree] unless the applicant is applying under sub-

section (f) of this section.

(4) DADS sends a notice listing the additional materials
required to an applicant who does not complete the application. An
application not completed within 30 [ealendar]| days after the date of
the notice will be void.

(5) DADS sends notice of application acceptance, disap-
proval, or deficiency in accordance with subsection (q) of this section.

(j) Examination. DADS gives a written examination to each
applicant at a site DADS determines.

(1) No final examination may be given to an applicant until
the applicant has met the requirements of subsections () and (i) of this
section, and if applicable, subsections (f), (g), or (h) of this section.

(2) An applicant with a disability, including an applicant
with dyslexia as defined in Texas Education Code §51.970 (relating
to Instructional Material for Blind and Visually Impaired Students and
Students with Dyslexia), may request a reasonable accommodation for
the examination under the Americans with Disabilities Act.

(3) The applicant must be tested on the subjects taught in
the training program curricula and clinical experience. The examina-
tion covers an applicant's knowledge of accurate and safe drug therapy

to [an ageney's] clients.

(4) A training program must notify DADS at least four
weeks before [prior to] its requested examination date.

(5) DADS determines the passing grade on the examina-
tion.

(6) DADS notifies in writing an applicant who fails the ex-
amination.

(A) DADS may give an applicant under subsection ()
of this section one subsequent examination, without additional pay-
ment of a fee, upon the applicant's written request to DADS.

(B) A subsequent examination must be completed by
the date given on the failure notification. DADS determines the site of
the examination.

(C) Another examination will not be permitted if the
student fails the subsequent examination unless the student enrolls and
successfully completes another training program.

(7) An applicant who is unable to attend the applicant's
scheduled examination due to unforeseen circumstances may be given
an examination at another time without payment of an additional fee
upon the applicant's written request to DADS. The examination must
be completed within 45 [ealendar] days from the date of the originally
scheduled examination. DADS determines the site for the rescheduled
examination.

(8) Anapplicant whose application for a permit will be dis-
approved under subsection (k) of this section is ineligible to take the
examination.

(k) Determination of eligibility. DADS approves or disap-
proves all applications. DADS sends notices of application approval,
disapproval, or deficiency in accordance with subsection (q) of this sec-
tion.

(1) DADS denies an application for a permit if the person
has:

(A) not met the requirements of subsections (e) - (i) of
this section, if applicable;

(B) failed to pass the examination prescribed by DADS
as set out in subsection (j) of this section;

(C) failed to or refused to properly complete or submit
any application form, endorsement, or fee, or deliberately presented
false information on any form or document required by DADS;

(D) violated or conspired to violate the Texas Health
and Safety Code, Chapter 142, Subchapter B, or any provision of this
chapter; or

(E) Dbeen convicted of a felony or misdemeanor if the
crime directly relates to the duties and responsibilities of a medication
aide [permit helder] as set out in subsection (r) of this section.

(2) [If, after review, DADS determines that the application
should not be approved, DADS gives the applicant written notice of
the reason for the proposed decision and of the opportunity for a formal
hearing in accordance with subsection (r) of this section.

(1) Medication aide [Permit renewal]. Home health medica-
tion aides must comply with the following permit renewal require-
ments.
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(1) When issued, a permit is valid for one year.

(2) A medication aide [permit holder] must renew the per-
mit annually.

(3) The renewal date of a permit is the last day of the cur-
rent permit.

(4) Each medication aide [permit helder] is responsible for
renewing the permit before the expiration date. Failure to receive no-
tification from DADS before the expiration date of the permit does not
excuse the medication aide's [permit helder's] failure to file for timely
renewal.

(5) A medication aide [permit helder] must complete a
seven hour [eleek-hoeur] continuing education program approved by
DADS before [prior to] expiration of the permit in order to renew
the permit. Continuing education hours are not required for the first
renewal. After a permit is renewed for the first time, the medication
aide [permit holder] must earn approved continuing education hours
to have the permit renewed again.

(6) DADS denies renewal of the permit of a medication
aide [permit hoelder] who is in violation of the Texas Health and Safety
Code, Chapter 142, Subchapter B, or this chapter at the time of appli-
cation for renewal.

(7) DADS denies renewal of the permit of a medication
aide who has been convicted of a criminal offense listed in Texas Health
and Safety Code, §250.006(a), or convicted of a criminal offense listed
in Texas Health and Safety Code, §250.006(b) within five years before
the date DADS receives the renewal application.

(8) DADS denies renewal of the permit of a medication
aide who is listed as unemployable on the EMR.

(9) [H] Home health medication aide permit renewal pro-
cedures are as follows.

(A) At least 30 [ealendar] days before the expiration
date of a permit, DADS sends to the medication aide [permit holder] at
the address in DADS records notice of the expiration date of the per-
mit and the amount of the renewal fee due and a renewal form that the
medication aide [permit helder] must complete and return with the re-
quired renewal fee.

(B) The renewal form must include the preferred mail-
ing address of the medication aide [permit holder] and information on
certain misdemeanor and felony convictions. It must be signed by the

medication aide [permit holder].

(C) DADS issues a renewal permit to a medication aide
[permit helder] who has met all requirements for renewal.

(D) DADS does not renew a permit if the medication
aide [permit holder] does not complete the required seven-hour contin-
uing education requirement. Successful completion is determined by
the student's instructor. An individual who does not meet the continu-
ing education requirement must complete a new program, application,
and examination in accordance with the requirements of this section.

(E) DADS does not renew a permit if renewal is pro-
hibited by the Texas Education Code, §57.491, concerning defaults on
guaranteed student loans.

(i) Renewal of the permit may be requested by the
medication aide [permit helder], the medication aide's [permit helder's]
spouse, or an individual having power of attorney from the medication
aide [permit helder]. The renewal form must include a current address
and telephone number for the individual requesting the renewal.

(i) Renewal may be requested before or after the ex-
piration of the permit.

(iii) A copy of the official orders or other official
military documentation showing that the medication aide [permit
helder] is or was on active military duty serving outside the State of
Texas must be filed with DADS along with the renewal form.

(iv) A copy of the power of attorney from the
medication aide [permit helder] must be filed with DADS along
with the renewal form if the individual having the power of attorney
executes any of the documents required in this subparagraph.

(v) A medication aide [permit holder] renewing un-
der this subparagraph must pay the applicable renewal fee.

(vi) A medication aide [permit helder] is not autho-
rized to act as a home health medication aide after the expiration of the

permit unless and until the medication aide [permit holder] actually re-
news the permit.

(vii) A medication aide [permit helder] renewing
under this subparagraph is not required to submit any continuing
education hours.

(10) [€8)] A person whose permit has expired for not more
than two years may renew the permit by submitting to DADS:

(A) the permit renewal form;
(B) all accrued renewal fees;

(C) proof of having earned, during the expired period,
seven hours in an approved continuing education program for each year
or part of a year that the permit has been expired; and

(D) proof of having earned, before [prier to] expiration
of the permit, seven hours in an approved continuing education pro-
gram as required in paragraph (5) of this subsection.

(11) [9] A permit that is not renewed during the two years
after expiration may not be renewed.

(12) [(0)] DADS issues notices [Netices] of permit re-
newal approval, disapproval, or deficiency must be in accordance with

subsection (q) of this section [(relating to Processing Procedures)].
(m) Changes.

(1) A medication aide [permit holder] must notify DADS
within 30 [ealendar] days after changing his or her address or name.

(2) DADS replaces a lost, damaged, or destroyed permit
upon receipt of a completed duplicate permit request form and permit
replacement fee.

(n) Fees.
(1) The schedule of fees is:

(A) combined permit application and examination fee-

(F) If a medication aide [permit holder] fails to timely "2
renew his or her permit because the medication aide [permit holder] (B) renewal fee--$15; and
is or was on active duty with the armed forces of the United States of (C) permit replacement fee--$5.00
America serving outside the State of Texas, the medication aide [permit p P R
helder] may renew the permit pursuant to this subparagraph. (2) All fees are nonrefundable.
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http:fee--$5.00

(3) An applicant or home health medication aide [permit
helder] must pay the required fee by cashier's check or money order
made payable to the Department of Aging and Disability Services.
All fees are nonrefundable, except as provided by Texas Government
Code, Chapter 2005.

(o) Training program requirements.

(1) An educational institution accredited by the Texas
Workforce Commission or Texas Higher Education Coordinating
Board that desires to offer a training program must file an application
for approval on a DADS form. Programs sponsored by state agencies
for the training and preparation of its own employees are exempt from
the accreditation requirement. An approved institution may offer the
training program and a continuing education program.

(A) Allsignatures on DADS forms and supporting doc-
umentation must be originals.

(B) The application includes:
(i) the anticipated dates of the program;
(ii) the location(s) of the classroom course(s);
(iii)  the name of the coordinator of the program;

(iv) a list that includes the address and telephone
number of each instructor [instruetors] and any other person responsi-
ble for the conduct of the program[- The list must include addresses
and telephone numbers for each instruetor]; and

(v) anoutline of the program content and curriculum
if the curriculum covers more than DADS established curricula.

(C) DADS may conduct an inspection of the classroom
site.

(D) DADS sends notice of approval or proposed disap-
proval of the application to the program within 30 [ealendar| days of
the receipt of a complete application. If the application is proposed
to be disapproved due to noncompliance with the requirements of the
Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 142, Subchapter B, or of this
chapter, the reasons for disapproval are given in the notice.

(E) An applicant may request a hearing on a proposed
disapproval in writing within ten [ealendar] days of receipt of the notice
of the proposed disapproval. The hearing must be in accordance with
subsection (r) of this section and the Administrative Procedure Act,
Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001. If no request is made, the
applicant is deemed to have waived the opportunity for a hearing, and
the proposed action may be taken.

(2) The program includes, but is not limited to, the follow-
ing instruction and training:
(A) procedures for preparation and administration of
medications;

(B) responsibility, control, accountability, storage, and
safeguarding of medications;

(C) use of reference material;

(D) documentation of medications in the client's clini-
cal records, including PRN medications;

(E) minimum licensing standards for agencies covering
pharmaceutical service, nursing service, and clinical records;

(F) federal and state certification standards for partici-
pation under the Social Security Act, Title XVIII (Medicare), pertain-
ing to pharmaceutical service, nursing service, and clinical records;

(G) lines of authority in the agency, including agency
personnel who are immediate supervisors;

(H) responsibilities and liabilities associated with the
administration and safeguarding of medications;

(I) allowable and prohibited practices of a medication
aide [permit holders] in the administration of medication;

(J) drug reactions and side effects of medications com-
monly administered to home health clients;

(K) instruction on universal precautions; and
(L) the provisions of this chapter.

(3) The program consists of 140 hours in the following or-
der: 100 hours of classroom instruction and training, 20 hours of re-
turn skills demonstration laboratory, ten hours of clinical experience
including clinical observation and skills demonstration under the su-
pervision of an RN in an agency, and ten more hours in the return
skills demonstration laboratory. A classroom or laboratory hour is 50
minutes [eleek-minutes] of actual classroom or laboratory time.

(A) Class time will not exceed four hours in a 24-hour
period.

(B) The completion date of the program must be a min-
imum of 60 [ealendar] days and a maximum of 180 [ealendar] days
from the starting date of the program.

(C) Each program must follow the curricula established
by DADS.

(4) Atleastseven [ealendar] days before [prior to] the com-
mencement of each program, the coordinator must notify DADS in
writing of the starting date, the ending date, the daily hours of the pro-
gram, and the projected number of students.

(5) A change in any information presented by the program
in an approved application including, but not limited to, location, in-
structorship, and content must be approved by DADS before [prior to]
the program's effective date of the change.

(6) The program instructors of the classroom hours must
be an RN and registered pharmacist.

(A) The nurse instructor must have a minimum of two
years of full-time experience in caring for the elderly, chronically ill, or
pediatric clients or been employed full time for a minimum of two years
as an RN with a home and community support services agency. An
instructor in a school of nursing may request a waiver of the experience
requirement.

(B) The pharmacist instructor must have a minimum of
one year of experience and be currently employed as a practicing phar-
macist.

(7) The coordinator must provide clearly defined and writ-
ten policies regarding each student's clinical experience to the student,
the administrator, and the supervising nurse of the agency used for the
clinical experience.

(A) The clinical experience must be counted only when
the student is observing or involved in functions involving medication
administration and under the direct, contact supervision of an RN.

(B) The coordinator is responsible for final evaluation
of the student's clinical experience.

(8) Upon successful completion of the program, each pro-
gram issues to each student a certificate of completion, including the
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program's name, the student's name, the date of completion, and the
signature of the program coordinator.

(9) Within 15 [ealendar] days after completion of the
course, each program must inform DADS on the DADS class roster
form of the satisfactory completion for each student.

(p) Continuing education. The continuing education training
program is as follows.

(1) The program must consist of at least seven clock hours
of classroom instruction.

(2) The instructor must meet the requirements in subsec-
tion (0)(6) of this section.

(3) Each program must follow the curricula established by
DADS.

(4) Within 15 days after completion of the course, each pro-
gram must inform DADS on the DADS class roster form of the name
of each medication aide [permit holder] who has completed the course.

(qQ) Processing procedures. DADS complies with the follow-
ing procedures in processing applications of home health medication
aide permits and renewal of permits.

(1) The following periods of time apply from the date of
receipt of an application until the date of issuance of a written notice
that the application is complete and accepted for filing or that the ap-
plication is deficient and additional specific information is required. A
written notice stating that the application has been approved may be
sent in lieu of the notice of acceptance of a complete application. The
time periods are:

(A) letter of acceptance of an application for a home
health medication aide permit--14 [wetking] days; and

(B) letter of application or renewal deficiency--14
[wetking] days.

(2) The following periods of time shall apply from the re-
ceipt of the last item necessary to complete the application until the date
of issuance of written notice approving or denying the application. The
time periods for denial include notification of proposed decision and of
the opportunity, if required, to show compliance with the law and of
the opportunity for a formal hearing. An application is not considered
complete until the required documentation and fee have been submit-
ted by the applicant. The time periods are as follows:

(A) the issuance of an initial permit--90 [ealendar]

days;

(B) the letter of denial for a permit--90 [ealendar] days;
and

(C) the issuance of a renewal permit--20 [ealendar]
days.

(3) In the event an application is not processed in the time
period stated in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection, the applicant
has the right to request reimbursement of all fees paid in that particular
application process. Request for reimbursement is made to the [direetor
of the] Home Health Medication Aide Permit Program. If the director
of the Home Health Medication Aide Permit Program does not agree
that the time period has been violated or finds that good cause existed
for exceeding the time period, the request will be denied.

(4) Good cause for exceeding the time period exists if the
number of applications for initial home health medication aide permits
and renewal permits exceeds by 15 percent [+5%] or more the number
of applications processed in the same calendar quarter of the preceding

year; another public or private entity relied upon by DADS in the ap-
plication process caused the delay; or any other condition exists giving
DADS good cause for exceeding the time period.

(5) If a request for reimbursement under paragraph (3) of
this subsection is denied by the director of the Home Health Medication
Aide Permit Program, the applicant may appeal to the DADS commis-
sioner [ef PADS] for a timely resolution of any dispute arising from a
violation of the time periods. The applicant must give written notice to
the DADS commissioner [at the address of DADS] that the applicant
[he or she] requests full reimbursement of all fees paid because the
[kis er her] application was not processed within the applicable time
period. The applicant must mail the reimbursement request to Texas
Department of Aging and Disability Services, John H. Winters Human
Services Complex, 701 W. 51st St., P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas
78714-9030. The director of the Home Health Medication Aide Per-
mit Program must submit a written report of the facts related to the
processing of the application and of any good cause for exceeding the
applicable time period to the DADS commissioner. The DADS com-
missioner provides written notice of the commissioner's decision to the
applicant and the director of the Home Health Medication Aide Permit
Program. An appeal is decided in the applicant's favor if the applicable
time period was exceeded and good cause was not established. If the
appeal is decided in favor of the applicant, DADS reimburses in full,
[reimbursement of] all fees paid in that particular application process
[are made].

(r) Denial, suspension, or revocation.

(1) DADS may deny, suspend, emergency suspend, or
revoke a permit or program approval if the medication aide [permit
helder] or program fails to comply with any provision of the Texas
Health and Safety Code, Chapter 142, Subchapter B, or this chapter.

(2) DADS may also take action under paragraph (1) of this
subsection for fraud, misrepresentation, or concealment of material fact
on any documents required to be submitted to DADS or required to
be maintained or complied by the medication aide [permit holder]| or
program pursuant to this chapter.

(3) DADS may suspend or revoke an existing permit or
program approval or disqualify a person from receiving a permit or
program approval because of a person's conviction of a felony or mis-
demeanor if the crime directly relates to the duties and responsibilities
of a home health medication aide or training program. In determining
whether a conviction directly relates, DADS considers the elements set
forth in Texas Occupations Code §55.022 and §55.023 [§97.60+ of this

title (relating to Enforcement Actions)].

(4) If DADS proposes to deny, suspend, or revoke a home
health medication aide permit or to rescind a home health medication
aide program approval, DADS notifies the medication aide [permit
helder] or home health medication aide program by certified mail, re-
turn receipt requested, of the reasons for the proposed action and offers
the medication aide [permit holder] or home health medication aide
program an opportunity for a hearing.

(A) The medication aide [permit helder] or home health
medication aide program must request a hearing within 15 [ealendar]
days after [ef] receipt of the notice. Receipt of notice is presumed to
occur on the tenth [ealendar] day after the notice is mailed to the last
address known to DADS unless another date is reflected on a United
States Postal Service return receipt.

(B) The request must be in writing and submitted to the
Department of Aging and Disability Services, Medication Aide Pro-
gram, Mail Code E-416, P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030.
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(C) If the medication aide [permit holder] or home
health medication aide program does not request a hearing, in writ-
ing, [within] 15 [ealendar| days after [ef] receipt of the notice, the
medication aide [permit helder] or home health medication aide
program is deemed to have waived the opportunity for a hearing and
the proposed action is taken.

(5) DADS may suspend a permit to be effective immedi-
ately when the health and safety of persons are threatened. DADS no-
tifies the medication aide [permit helder| of the emergency action by
certified mail, return receipt requested, or personal delivery of the no-
tice and of the effective date of the suspension and the opportunity for
the medication aide [permit holder] to request a hearing.

(6) All hearings are governed by [eendueted pursuant| to
Texas Government Code, Chapter 2001, and Texas Administrative
Code, Title 1, [the formal hearing proecedures at + TAC] §§357.481 -
357.490.

(7) If the medication aide [permit holder] or program fails
to appear or be represented at the scheduled hearing, the medication

(B) documentation of the type and dates of the service,
training, and education the applicant received and an explanation as to
why the applicant's military service, training or education substantially
meets all of the requirements for a permit under this chapter.

(3) Documentation of military status that is acceptable to
DADS includes:

(A) for status as a military service member, a copy of
a current military service order issued to the applicant by the armed
forces of the United States, the State of Texas, or another state; and

(B) for status as a military veteran, a copy of a military
service discharge order issued to the applicant by the armed forces of
the United States, the State of Texas, or another state.

(4) If DADS requests additional documentation, the appli-
cant must submit the requested documentation.

(5) DADS approves a request for a waiver of fees submit-
ted in accordance with this subsection if DADS determines that the
applicant is a military service member or a military veteran and the ap-

aide [permit holder] or program has waived the right to a hearing and
the proposed action is taken.

(8) If DADS suspends a home health medication aide per-
mit, the suspension remains in effect until DADS determines that the
reason for suspension no longer exists, revokes the permit, or deter-
mines not to renew the permit. DADS investigates before [prier to]
making a determination.

(A) During the time of suspension, the suspended
medication aide [permit holder] must return the [his or her] permit to
DADS.

(B) If a suspension overlaps a renewal date, the sus-
pended medication aide [permit helder] may comply with the renewal
procedures in this chapter; however, DADS does not renew the permit
until DADS determines that the reason for suspension no longer exists.

(9) If DADS revokes or does not renew a permit, a person
may reapply for a permit by complying with the requirements and pro-
cedures in this chapter at the time of reapplication.

(A) DADS may refuse to issue a permit if the reason for
revocation or nonrenewal continues to exist.

(B) When a permit is revoked or not renewed, a
medication aide [permit holder] must immediately return the [license
er] permit to DADS.

§95.129. Alternate Licensing Requirements for Military Service.
(a) Fee waiver based on military experience.

(1) DADS waives the combined permit application and ex-
amination fee described in §95.109(c)(1)(A) of this chapter (relating to

plicant's military service, training, or education substantially meets all
of the requirements for licensure under this chapter.

(b) Fee waiver based on reciprocity.

(1) DADS waives the combined permit application and
examination fee described in §95.109(c)(1)(A) of this chapter and
§95.128(n)(1)(A) of this chapter and the permit application fee de-
scribed in §95.125(f)(1) of this chapter for an applicant if DADS
receives and approves a request for a waiver of fees from the applicant
in accordance with this subsection.

(2) To request a waiver of the fee under this subsection, an
applicant must include a written request for a waiver of the fee with the
applicant's application that is submitted to DADS in accordance with
§95.128(h) of this chapter. The applicant must include with the request
documentation of the applicant's status as a military service member,
military veteran, or military spouse that is acceptable to DADS.

(3) Documentation of military status that is acceptable to
DADS includes:

(A) for status as a military service member, a copy of
a current military service order issued to the applicant by the armed
forces of the United States, the State of Texas, or another state;

(B) for status as a military veteran, a copy of a military
service discharge order issued to the applicant by the armed forces of
the United States, the State of Texas, or another state; and

(C) for status as a military spouse:

(i) acopy of a marriage certificate issued to the ap-
plicant by a state of the United States or a foreign government; and

Application Procedures) and §95.128(n)(1)(A) of this chapter (relat-
ing to Home Health Medication Aides) and the permit application fee
described in §95.125(f)(1) (relating to Requirements for Corrections
Medication Aides) for an applicant if DADS receives and approves a
request for a waiver of fees from the applicant in accordance with this
subsection.

(2) To request a waiver of fees under this subsection, an
applicant must submit a written request for a waiver with the applicant's

(ii) acopy of a current military service order issued
to the applicant's spouse by the armed forces of the United States, the
State of Texas, or another state.

(4) If DADS requests additional documentation, the appli-
cant must submit the requested documentation.

(5) DADS approves a request for a waiver of the fee sub-
mitted in accordance with this subsection if DADS determines that:

application for a permit submitted to DADS in accordance with this
section. The applicant must include with the request:

(A) documentation of the applicant's status as a military

(A) the applicant holds a license, registration, certifi-
cate, or permit as a medication aide in good standing in another juris-
diction with licensing requirements substantially equivalent to or that

service member or military veteran that is acceptable to DADS; and

exceed the requirements for a permit under this chapter; and
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(B) the applicant is a military service member, a mili-
tary veteran, or a military spouse.

(c) Additional time for permit renewal.

(1) DADS gives a medication aide an additional two years
to complete the permit renewal requirements described in §95.115 of
this chapter (relating to Permit Renewal), if DADS receives and ap-
proves a request for additional time to complete the permit renewal re-
quirements from a medication aide in accordance with this subsection.

(2) To request additional time to complete permit renewal
requirements, a medication aide must submit a written request for addi-
tional time to DADS before the expiration date of the medication aide's

(A) for status as a military service member, a copy of a
current military service order issued to the former medication aide by
the armed forces of the United States, the State of Texas, or another
state;

(B) for status as a military veteran, a copy of a military
service discharge order issued to the former medication aide by the
armed forces of the United States, the State of Texas, or another state;
and

(C) for status as a military spouse:

(i) acopy of a marriage certificate issued to the for-
mer medication aide by a state of the United States or a foreign gov-

permit. The medication aide must include with the request documen-

ernment; and

tation of the medication aide's status as a military service member that
is acceptable to DADS. Documentation as a military service member
that is acceptable to DADS includes a copy of a current military service
order issued to the medication aide by the armed forces of the United
States, the State of Texas, or another state.

(3) If DADS requests additional documentation, the medi-
cation aide must submit the requested documentation.

(4) DADS approves a request for two additional years
to _complete permit renewal requirements submitted in accordance
with this subsection if DADS determines that the medication aide is
a military service member, except DADS does not approve a request

(i) a copy of a current military service order issued
to the former medication aide's spouse by the armed forces of the
United States, the State of Texas, or another state.

(4) IfDADS requests additional documentation, the former
medication aide must submit the requested documentation.

(5) DADS approves arequest for renewal of an expired per-
mit submitted in accordance with this subsection if DADS determines
that:

(A) the former medication aide is a military service
member, military veteran, or military spouse;

if DADS granted the medication aide a previous extension and the
medication aide has not completed the permit renewal requirements
during the two-year extension period.

(5) Ifamedication aide does not submit the written request

(B) the former medication aide has not committed an
offense listed in Texas Health and Safety Code §250.006(a) and has
not committed an offense listed in Texas Health and Safety Code
§250.006(b) during the five years before the date the former medica-

described by paragraph (2) of this subsection before the expiration date

tion aide submitted the initial permit application;

of the medication aide's permit, DADS will consider a request after
the expiration date of the permit if the medication aide establishes to
the satisfaction of DADS that the request was not submitted before the
expiration date of the medication aide's permit because the medication
aide was serving as military service member at the time the request was
due.

(d) Renewal of expired permit.

(1) DADS renews an expired permit if DADS receives and
approves a request for renewal from a former medication aide in accor-
dance with this subsection.

(2) To request renewal of an expired permit, a former med-
ication aide must submit a written request with a permit renewal ap-
plication within five years after the former medication aide's permit
expired. The former medication aide must include with the request
documentation of the former medication aide's status as a military ser-
vice member, military veteran, or military spouse that is acceptable to
DADS.

(3) Documentation of military status that is acceptable to
DADS includes:

(C) the former medication aide is not listed on the EMR;

and

(D) the former medication aide is not listed on the NAR.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority
to adopt.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 1, 2016.
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Lawrence Hornsby

General Counsel

Department of Aging and Disability Services
Earliest possible date of adoption: August 14, 2016
For further information, please call: (512) 438-4836
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