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Adopted rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing
LE S rules. A rule adopted by a state agency takes effect 20 days after the date on which it is
filed with the Secretary of State unless a later date is required by statute or specified in
the rule (Government Code, §2001.036). If a rule is adopted without change to the text of the proposed rule, then the
Texas Register does not republish the rule text here. If a rule is adopted with change to the text of the proposed rule, then
the final rule text is included here. The final rule text will appear in the Texas Administrative Code on the effective date.

TITLE 19. EDUCATION
PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY

CHAPTER 97. PLANNING AND
ACCOUNTABILITY

SUBCHAPTER AA. ACCOUNTABILITY AND
PERFORMANCE MONITORING

19 TAC §97.1001

(Editor's note: In accordance with Texas Government Code,
$2002.014, which permits the omission of material which is "cum-
bersome, expensive, or otherwise inexpedient,” the figure in 19 TAC
$§97.1001 is not included in the print version of the Texas Register. The
figure is available in the on-line version of the August 5, 2016, issue
of the Texas Register.)

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) adopts an amendment
to §97.1001, concerning accountability. The amendment is
adopted with changes to the proposed text as published in
the May 27, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg
3807). The section describes the state accountability rating
system and annually adopts the most current accountability
manual. The amendment adopts applicable excerpts of the
2016 Accountability Manual. Earlier versions of the manual will
remain in effect with respect to the school years for which they
were developed.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. The TEA has adopted its aca-
demic accountability manual in rule since 2000. The account-
ability system evolves from year to year, so the criteria and stan-
dards for rating and acknowledging schools in the most current
year differ to some degree over those applied in the prior year.
The intention is to update 19 TAC §97.1001 annually to refer to
the most recently published accountability manual.

The amendment to 19 TAC §97.1001 adopts excerpts of the
2016 Accountability Manual into rule as a figure. The excerpts,
Chapters 2-9 of the 2016 Accountability Manual, specify the indi-
cators, standards, and procedures used by the commissioner of
education to determine accountability ratings for districts, cam-
puses, and charter schools. These chapters also specify indi-
cators, standards, and procedures used to determine distinc-
tion designations on additional indicators for Texas public school
campuses and districts. The TEA will issue accountability rat-
ings under the procedures specified in the 2016 Accountabil-
ity Manual by August 15, 2016. Distinction designations will be
awarded by September 16, 2016. Ratings and distinction desig-
nations may be revised as a result of investigative activities by
the commissioner as authorized under Texas Education Code
(TEC), §39.056 and §39.057.

In 2016, campuses and districts will be evaluated using a
performance index framework. The framework includes four in-
dices. These indices include performance on the State of Texas
Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR®) assessments
for Grades 3-8 and end-of-course, longitudinal graduation
rates, four-year Recommended High School Program/Dis-
tinguished Achievement Program (RHSP/DAP) graduation
rate, four-year Foundation High School Program (FHSP) with
endorsement/distinguished level of achievement graduation
rate, and annual dropout rates. These indices incorporate the
various criteria mandated by statute as set out in the statutory
authority section. In 2016, the distinction designations system
will award seven distinctions to eligible campuses that receive
a Met Standard rating: Academic Achievement in English Lan-
guage Arts/Reading, Academic Achievement in Mathematics,
Academic Achievement in Science, Academic Achievement
in Social Studies, Top 25 Percent Student Progress, Top 25
Percent Closing Performance Gaps, and Postsecondary Readi-
ness. Districts will be eligible for a distinction designation for
Postsecondary Readiness.

There are four substantive changes to the accountability sys-
tem for 2016. First, results of STAAR® assessments for math-
ematics, Grades 3-8, are included. These assessments were
excluded from the 2015 accountability ratings due to the imple-
mentation of the new mathematics Texas Essential Knowledge
and Skills (TEKS) at Grades 3-8 in 2014-2015. Second, the re-
sults of STAAR® A are included in all four indices and STAAR®
Alternate 2 results are included in Index 1, Index 2, and Index 3.
These assessments were excluded from the 2015 accountabil-
ity ratings because they were administered for the first time in
2014-2015. Third, the calculation for the graduation plan com-
ponent of Index 4 now includes students who graduate under
the FHSP. This year, two percentages are calculated: the per-
centage of students graduating under the RHSP/DAP; and the
percentage of students graduating under either the RHSP/DAP
or the FHSP with an endorsement (FHSP-E) or the distinguished
level of achievement (DLA).

The percentage that contributes the most points to the Index 4
score will be used.

This change was made so that districts with students graduating
under the FHSP sooner than required would not be disadvan-
taged.

Fourth, and finally, the Texas Success Initiative (TSI) assess-
ment is replacing the exit-level Texas Assessment of Knowledge
and Skills (TAKS) in the postsecondary component of Index 4.
This change is being made because the results of the exit-level
TAKS are no longer available.

The adopted amendment to 19 TAC §97.1001 includes minor
technical changes such as date changes and new language in
Chapter 2 that explains the special processing rules that will be
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applied to tests affected by the spring 2016 testing issues. It also
includes the following changes in response to public comment.

The chart on page 63 was updated to show that Grade 6 Mathe-
matics Performance (Level lll) is included in distinction designa-
tion calculations for elementary schools with students who take
the Grade 6 mathematics test. This modification was made to
reflect the use of assessment results in distinction designation
calculations.

Language was revised on pages 20, 60, 77, 81, 82, 84, 85, and
89 to reflect the updated schedule for the release of account-
ability ratings, the release of data tables and other accountabil-
ity reports, and the deadline for appealing accountability ratings.
This modification was made to ensure that affected parties are
aware of the new timetable put in place because of the delays
in reporting the spring 2016 assessment results by the test con-
tractor, Educational Testing Service (ETS).

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSES. The
public comment period on the proposal began May 27, 2016, and
ended June 27, 2016. Following is a summary of public com-
ments received and corresponding agency responses regarding
the proposed amendment to 19 TAC Chapter 97, Planning and
Accountability, Subchapter AA, Accountability and Performance
Monitoring, §97.1001, Accountability Rating System.

Comment. The Texas Parents' Educational Rights Network
(TPERN) suggested adding the following language to §97.1001:
No state assessment instrument may be used in the deter-
mination of district or campus accountability ratings unless
such assessment complies with the requirements of the TEC,
Texas Administrative Code, and any applicable federal law or
regulation. TPERN contended that the STAAR® assessment
administered during the 2015-2016 school year did not comply
with completion-time requirements specified in the TEC. Twelve
parents and two individuals submitted similar comments.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The agency com-
plied with House Bill (HB) 743, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015,
by making modifications intended to shorten all the relevant as-
sessment instruments so that 85% of the students in Grades 3-5
would be able to complete the test in two hours and 85% of the
students in Grades 6-8 would be able to complete the assess-
ment instruments in three hours, while still maintaining valid and
reliable assessment instruments. The agency removed all em-
bedded field test items, which reduced the length of each as-
sessment by five to eight questions. This resulted in a signif-
icant reduction in the amount of material on the assessments.
The agency also shortened the 2016 STAAR® Grades 4 and 7
writing tests so that these tests will be completed in one testing
administration instead of two administrations over two days. The
agency also collected timing data on all the shortened assess-
ment instruments in order to assess whether any assessment
instrument needs additional modification.

Comment. Eight district personnel, five parents, and the Texas
School Alliance (TSA) expressed concern about testing irreg-
ularities associated with the administration of the STAAR®
and STAAR® A assessments, including examples such as lost
documents, students attributed to the wrong school district,
assessment questions with no correct answers, and other
technical issues. Commenters questioned whether the results
will be accurate. Some commenters asked that the ratings
be withheld, that a not-rated rating be issued, that the agency
allow districts with results lower than in the previous year to be
held harmless, and that the ratings be information only. Other

commenters suggested that the district decide whether or not
to include data from the affected tests in the accountability
determinations. Other commenters suggested that no new
interventions be taken based on the results. Other commenters
asked that STAAR® A results be withheld from accountability
calculations.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The agency un-
derstands the concerns that have been raised regarding using
STAAR® results in accountability ratings. The agency's test-
ing contractor, Educational Testing Service, has conducted ad-
ditional quality checks and verifications to ensure that results for
all students for which answer documents or online records were
submitted are reported error-free and attributed to the correct
campus and district. The agency has worked closely with the
testing contractor to ensure that the data files used to calculate
and assign accountability ratings are reliable. Furthermore, the
agency has revised the schedule for releasing accountability rat-
ings and related reports in order to ensure that the accountability
ratings are reliable.

Comment. An individual requested that the criteria for campus
comparison groups be reconfigured to include the percentage of
students served by special education programs.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The campus com-
parison groups that are constructed annually for the distinction
designations are based on the student demographic char-
acteristics of a campus (e.g., mobility rates, percent English
language learners (ELLs), and percent economically disadvan-
taged) rather than student participation rates in program areas
such as special education, gifted/talented, or bilingual/English
as a second language. TEA has taken this approach since
campus comparison groups were first created for the compa-
rable improvement acknowledgements in 1998. Within certain
parameters, districts and campuses determine locally how best
to serve their respective student populations in the various
program areas. The campus comparison group methodology
is designed to select comparable schools based on the student
demographic indicators, which are not determined by local
policy, rather than program areas that are determined by local
policy.

Comment. Anindividual requested that TEA identify schools that
have an advantage due to selection bias in their student popu-
lation such as charters, early college high schools, and magnet
schools.

Agency Response. The agency understands the concern and
plans to explore options that address this issue in future account-
ability cycles. At this point, the agency does not have a defini-
tive way to identify these campuses, particularly open-enroliment
charter campuses that have a specific set of student recruitment
procedures and admission policies that warrant evaluation as a
separate group of campus types. Therefore, the campus com-
parison group methodology is unchanged for 2016.

Comment. An individual requested the creation of separate tar-
gets for accountability, Public Education Grant (PEG), and Per-
formance-Based Monitoring Analysis System (PBMAS) for three
types of schools: (1) schools that have an advantage due to se-
lection bias, (2) schools that serve all students in their commu-
nities, and (3) schools that are disadvantaged due to selection
bias.

Agency Response. The agency understands the concern re-
garding the accountability system and plans to explore options
that address this issue in future accountability cycles. For the
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PEG program, state law that establishes the PEG program (TEC,
Chapter 29, Subchapter G, §§29.201-29.205) describes how a
PEG campus is identified: less than 50% of its students passed
a STAAR® assessment in any two of the prior three years or it
has been rated Improvement Required anytime in the prior three
years. TEA does not have the statutory authority to modify these
criteria. The comment regarding PBMAS is outside the scope of
the proposed rulemaking.

Comment. An individual requested that TEA, the regional edu-
cation service centers, local districts, and institutions of higher
education conduct studies of the effect of student recruitment
and admission policies on student performance to quantify the
extent to which ratings, distinction designations, PEG list sta-
tus, and PBMAS interventions are determined by selection bias
rather than the quality of instruction or other relevant factors.

Agency Response. The comment is outside the scope of the
proposed rulemaking.

Comment. Two parents requested the reconsideration of how
students served by special education and ELL programs are
included in accountability calculations. The commenters con-
tended that accommodations allowable during STAAR® testing
do not meet the accommodations outlined in Section 504 plans
and Individualized Education Programs developed to ensure
children who have a disability receive appropriate specialized
instruction, related services, and/or accommodations.

Agency Response. The comment is outside the scope of the pro-
posed rulemaking. Districts decide which STAAR® assessment
will be administered and which accommodations will be allowed
during the administration of the test based on input from parents
and staff during 504 and admission, review, and dismissal meet-
ings.

Comment. A parent requested that the TEA push the legislature
to broaden accountability indicators to include additional sources
of data beyond STAAR® (e.g., teacher turnover rates; level of
experience of teachers; level of experience of administrators;
satisfaction ratings by parents; whether a school has physical
education, music, and art programs; special education referral
rates; how many kids go on to pass classes at the next level,
discipline statistics; and whether a counselor, nurse, librarian, or
social worker is on the campus).

Agency Response. The comment is outside the scope of the pro-
posed rulemaking. Legislation has already been broadened by
HB 2804, 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2015. New
indicators will be implemented in the 2017-2018 school year.

Comment. Two principals, one district administrator, and one
teacher requested that Grade 6 mathematics performance be
included as an indicator for the distinction designation in mathe-
matics for elementary campuses.

Agency Response. The agency agrees. The chart on page 63
of the 2016 Accountability Manual was updated at adoption to
reflect that Grade 6 mathematics performance is included as an
indicator for the distinction designation in mathematics for ele-
mentary schools with students who take the Grade 6 mathemat-
ics test.

Comment. The TSA requested that, for 2016, the agency not
issue PEG identification on the basis of preliminary ratings.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has changed the
release of the 2017-2018 PEG schools to December 2016, after
the resolution of the 2016 accountability rating appeals.

Comment. A district administrator requested that 2016 state ac-
countability ratings not be cancelled.

Agency Response. The agency agrees. State accountability
ratings and distinction designations will be issued for 2016.

Comment. A principal made suggestions for additional wording
in the STAAR® Test Administrator Manual.

Agency Response. The comment is outside the scope of the
proposed rulemaking, but the comment has been provided to
the TEA Division of Student Assessment.

Comment. A district administrator recommended excluding all
"New to Texas" student results from district and campus account-
ability calculations for 2016 and subsequent years.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. HB 2349, 84th Texas
Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, required the commissioner
to report the results of state assessments for students who re-
cently moved from another state separately from the results of
other students. The agency met the requirements of this statute
by reporting the results for students identified as "New to Texas"
on the assessment summary reports produced by the testing
contractor. For accountability purposes, Texas public schools
are only accountable for students who have been enrolled in
their district or campus as of the fall Public Education Information
Management System snapshot date regardless of whether the
student moved to their school from another public school district
in Texas or from another state.

Comment. A district administrator recommended including Final
Level Il results on the "PDF summary reports" because Final
Level Il has been consistent since its inception.

Agency Response. The comment is outside the scope of the
proposed rulemaking assuming the referenced reports are the
assessment summary reports produced by the testing contrac-
tor. Final Level |l results are provided in the accountability data
tables and data downloads.

Comment. The Texas Charter Schools Association (TCSA)
contended that the proposed rule item limits the ratings appeal
process as described in Chapter 7 by stating that the basis upon
which a ratings appeal would be granted is narrow and limited
and does not address concerns of unintended consequences.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. A school district or
charter school can appeal a rating for any reason, but the rule
allows a change in rating for only certain specific reasons.

Comment. TCSA proposed that when a charter school receives
an accountability rating that is low due to a data calculation or
entry error made by the school, it should have the opportunity to
fully appeal that rating, including the opportunity to demonstrate
to the commissioner, with supporting evidence, that it should re-
ceive a higher accountability rating if the error is corrected.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. Because accurate
data is the foundation of a meaningful accountability system,
TEA must take the approach that most encourages accurate
data submission. The responsibility for accurate data submis-
sion lies with the district or charter school; accordingly, the ap-
peals process is not the appropriate avenue to correct data re-
ported inaccurately by a district or charter school. Districts and
charter schools are responsible for providing accurate informa-
tion to the agency, including information provided on student an-
swer documents. School districts and charter schools have sev-
eral opportunities to confirm and correct data submitted for ac-
countability purposes. Once these opportunities have passed,
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data must be considered final to effectuate the purposes of the
academic accountability and accreditation systems.

The following public feedback was received outside the com-
ment period. However, the agency has elected to provide brief
responses.

Public Feedback. The law firm of Schulman, Lopez, Hoffer &
Adelstein, LLP, contended that the proposed rule item limits the
ratings appeal process as described in Chapter 7 by stating that
the basis upon which a ratings appeal would be granted is nar-
row and limited and does not address concerns of unintended
consequences.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. A school district or
charter school can appeal a rating for any reason, but the rule
allows a change in rating for only certain specific reasons.

Public Feedback. The law firm of Schulman, Lopez, Hoffer
& Adelstein contended that the rule item does not meet the
statutory requirement for Required Improvement under TEC,
§39.053(e).

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. In 2015, results
of STAAR® assessments in mathematics for Grades 3-8 and
STAAR® A and STAAR® Alternate 2 for all subjects and grade
levels were excluded from accountability. Because of this, and
the inclusion of these assessments in 2016 accountability, a sep-
arate required improvement calculation at the index level for dis-
tricts and campuses that do not meet the accountability target for
the index cannot be calculated. Required improvement will be
considered when the underlying indicators can be more appro-
priately used for year-to-year comparisons. Furthermore, TEC,
§39.053(e), was repealed by HB 2804, 84th Texas Legislature,
Regular Session, 2015.

Public Feedback. The law firm of Schulman, Lopez, Hoffer &
Adelstein contended that in Index 3, economically disadvan-
taged students are held to higher standards of performance
than any other student in the state.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The agency does not
hold economically disadvantaged students to a higher standard
than other students.

Public Feedback. The law firm of Schulman, Lopez, Hoffer
& Adelstein contended that there is a redundancy in index
calculations that weights the performance of economically
disadvantaged, minority, special needs, and limited English
proficient (LEP) students more than other students. Further-
more, the firm stated that economically disadvantaged and
minority students failing to meet the standard for Index 1 are
counted against the school two more times in Index 3. The firm
stated that small schools targeting populations of high-needs
students, such as economically disadvantaged, minority, and
underserved students, are not only held to higher standards for
larger proportions of their student populations than other schools
(Index 3), but are also penalized more for students not meeting
standards since high-needs students are counted more often in
the accountability system. Additionally, the firm contended that
small schools serving primarily high-needs students are held
to higher standards and the students' test scores count more
times in the calculations than other schools.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. Districts and cam-
puses earn points toward their Index 3 score for not only students
who score at the advanced Level Il standard, but also those
who meet the Level Il Satisfactory Standard. Index 3 measures
performance from a different perspective than does Index 1. In

2015, most schools with a student population that is more than
90% economically disadvantaged and missed the target for In-
dex 1 did meet the target for Index 3. The performance of special
needs, LEP, low socio-economic, and minority students are not
calculated at a higher weight than any other statutorily required
subpopulation. Furthermore, including an index that measures
the performance of students who have historically performed
lower than the general student population encourages districts
to work to close the performance gap.

Public Feedback. The law firm of Schulman, Lopez, Hoffer &
Adelstein contended that small-numbers analysis penalizes the
smallest of schools for previous years' performances and is con-
tradictory to the agency's stance on required improvement.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The use of small-
numbers analysis provides a three-year average performance
used at the indicator level to calculate indicators for small dis-
tricts and campuses that do not meet minimum-size criteria us-
ing current-year data. Furthermore, small-numbers analysis is
just as likely to help campuses and districts that performed well
in previous years.

Public Feedback. The law firm of Schulman, Lopez, Hoffer &
Adelstein stated that the rule item provides a limited growth met-
ric that recognizes growth only at the satisfactory level of perfor-
mance and does not recognize growth toward the college readi-
ness or advanced levels of performance. The firm added that
schools with large populations of underserved students exhibit
growth but are still penalized for underperformance in Indexes 3
and 4.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. Index 2 measures
growth but does not measure growth toward a specific standard.
All students, regardless of whether they meet the satisfactory
standard, are included in Index 2, and the growth of those stu-
dents is measured against growth expectations, not against ei-
ther the satisfactory or college-readiness standard. Additionally,
distinction designations for English language arts/reading and
mathematics award credit for greater than expected growth. ltis
possible for a campus or district, regardless of the demographics
of its population, to meet the target for Index 2 (exhibit accept-
able growth) and not meet the targets for Index 3 and/or Index 4.
The accountability system uses four indices, each measuring a
different aspect of performance, and campuses and district must
show acceptable performance in three of these aspects (either
performance or growth and closing performance gaps and post-
secondary readiness).

Public Feedback. The law firm of Schulman, Lopez, Hoffer &
Adelstein expressed concerns that the rule item disproportionally
affects small schools. The firm contended that schools labeled
Improvement Required have been smaller and served more mi-
nority and economically disadvantaged students than schools la-
beled Met Standard, which they attribute to a bias in accountabil-
ity calculations rather than actual performance.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The same standards
and minimum-size criteria are applied to all districts and cam-
puses. Furthermore, alternative education campuses and char-
ter districts with large populations of at-risk students are evalu-
ated under alternative education accountability provisions.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is adopted under
the Texas Education Code (TEC), §39.052(a) and (b)(1)(A),
which require the commissioner to evaluate and consider the
performance on achievement indicators described in TEC,
§39.053(c), when determining the accreditation status of each
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school district and open-enroliment charter school; TEC,
§39.053, which requires the commissioner to adopt a set of
performance indicators related to the quality of learning and
achievement in order to measure and evaluate school districts
and campuses; TEC, §39.0535, which provides a temporary
provision that the commissioner shall assign each district and
campus a performance rating not later than August 15 of each
year; TEC, §39.054, which requires the commissioner to adopt
rules to evaluate school district and campus performance
and to assign a performance rating; TEC, §12.104(b)(2)(L),
which subjects open-enrollment charter schools to the rules
adopted under public school accountability in Chapter 39; TEC,
§39.0545, which requires each school district to evaluate and
report to the agency its own performance and the performance
of each of its campuses in community and student engagement;
TEC, §29.081(e), which defines criteria for alternative educa-
tion programs for students at risk of dropping out of school
and subjects those campuses to the performance indicators
and accountability standards adopted for alternative education
programs; TEC, §39.0548, which requires the commissioner
to designate campuses that meet specific criteria as dropout
recovery schools and to use specific indicators to evaluate them;
TEC, §39.055, which prohibits the use of assessment results
and other performance indicators of students in a residential
facility in state accountability; TEC, §39.151, which provides
a process for a school district or an open-enroliment charter
school to challenge an academic or financial accountability
rating; TEC, §39.201, which requires the commissioner to award
distinction designations to a campus or district for outstanding
performance; TEC, §39.2011, which makes charter districts
and campuses that earn a Met Standard rating eligible for
distinction designations; and TEC, §39.202 and §39.203, which
authorize the commissioner to establish criteria for distinction
designations for campuses and districts.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment
implements the Texas Education Code, §§39.052(a) and
(b)(1)(A), 39.053, 39.0535, 39.054, 39.0545, 39.0548, 39.055,
39.151, 39.201, 39.2011, 39.202, 39.203, 29.081(e), and
12.104(b)(2)(L).

§97.1001.  Accountability Rating System.

(a) The rating standards established by the commissioner
of education under Texas Education Code (TEC), §§39.052(a) and
(b)(1)(A); 39.053, 39.0535, 39.054, 39.0545, 39.0548, 39.055 , 39.151
,39.201 , 39.2011, 39.202 , 39.203 , 29.081(e) , and 12.104(b)(2)(L),
shall be used to evaluate the performance of districts, campuses, and
charter schools. The indicators, standards, and procedures used to de-
termine ratings will be annually published in official Texas Education
Agency publications. These publications will be widely disseminated
and cover the following:

(1) indicators, standards, and procedures used to determine
district ratings;

(2) indicators, standards, and procedures used to determine
campus ratings;

(3) indicators, standards, and procedures used to determine
distinction designations; and

(4) procedures for submitting a rating appeal.

(b) The procedures by which districts, campuses, and charter
schools are rated and acknowledged for 2016 are based upon specific
criteria and calculations, which are described in excerpted sections of
the 2016 Accountability Manual provided in this subsection.

Figure: 19 TAC §97.1001(b)

(c) Ratings may be revised as a result of investigative activities
by the commissioner as authorized under TEC, §39.056 and §39.057.

(d) The specific criteria and calculations used in the account-
ability manual are established annually by the commissioner of educa-
tion and communicated to all school districts and charter schools.

(e) The specific criteria and calculations used in the annual ac-
countability manual adopted for prior school years remain in effect for
all purposes, including accountability, data standards, and audits, with
respect to those school years.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 22, 2016.

TRD-201603635

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: August 11, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 27, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

¢ ¢ ¢
19 TAC §97.1005

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) adopts an amendment to
§97.1005, concerning accountability and performance monitor-
ing. The amendment is adopted without changes to the pro-
posed text as published in the May 20, 2016 issue of the Texas
Register (41 TexReg 3595) and will not be republished. The sec-
tion describes the purpose of the Performance-Based Monitor-
ing Analysis System (PBMAS) and manner in which school dis-
tricts and charter school performance is reported. The section
also adopts the most recently published PBMAS Manual. The
amendment adopts the 2016 PBMAS Manual. Earlier versions
of the manual will remain in effect with respect to the school years
for which they were developed.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. House Bill 3459, 78th Texas Leg-
islature, 2003, added the Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.027,
limiting and redirecting monitoring done by the TEA to that re-
quired to ensure school district and charter school compliance
with federal law and regulations; financial accountability, includ-
ing compliance with grant requirements; and data integrity for
purposes of the Public Education Information Management Sys-
tem (PEIMS) and accountability under TEC, Chapter 39. Legis-
lation passed in 2005 renumbered TEC, §7.027, to TEC, §7.028.
To meet this monitoring requirement, the agency developed the
PBMAS, which is used in conjunction with other evaluation sys-
tems, to monitor performance and program effectiveness of spe-
cial programs in school districts and charter schools.

The TEA has adopted its PBMAS Manual in rule since 2005.
The PBMAS is a dynamic system that evolves over time, so the
specific criteria and calculations for monitoring performance and
program effectiveness may differ from year to year. The intentis
to update 19 TAC §97.1005 annually to refer to the most recently
published PBMAS Manual.

The adopted amendment to 19 TAC §97.1005 updates the cur-
rent rule by adopting the 2016 PBMAS Manual, which describes
the specific criteria and calculations that will be used to assign
2016 PBMAS performance levels.
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The 2016 PBMAS includes several key changes from the 2015
system. The ongoing transition to the State of Texas Assess-
ments of Academic Readiness (STAAR®) is reflected in the
2016 PBMAS with the incorporation of STAAR® performance
standards in accordance with 19 TAC §101.3041, Performance
Standards. Any STAAR® mathematics data from the 2015
PBMAS used in the 2016 PBMAS for aggregation or required
improvement purposes reflect the new Grades 3-8 STAAR®
mathematics performance standards. Additionally, the 2016
PBMAS includes STAAR® data based on the Student Success
Initiative grade-advancement requirements that were reinsti-
tuted for mathematics in the 2015-2016 school year. New cut
points that reflect the ongoing STAAR® transition were imple-
mented for the STAAR® end-of-course (EOC) indicators, and
performance level assignments were added for the STAAR®
EOC English language arts (ELA, i.e., English | and English 1)
indicators.

New cut points were implemented for the annual dropout rate
and graduation rate indicators in all four program areas to ac-
count for statutory changes in graduation requirements and ex-
pectations. The Recommended High School Program and Dis-
tinguished Achievement Program indicators in all four program
areas were deleted since these indicators no longer correspond
with current state graduation requirements and expectations.

In addition to the new cut points for the graduation rate indi-
cators referenced above, the graduation rate in the Bilingual
Education/English as a Second Language program area is de-
termined based on students identified as an English language
learner (ELL) at any time while attending Grades 9-12 in a Texas
public school rather than determined only based on students
identified as ELLs in their last year in a Texas public school. This
change provides a more comprehensive evaluation of ELL grad-
uation rates and increases the number of students included in
the indicator, thereby increasing the number of districts meeting
minimum size requirements and evaluated under the indicator.

For the 2015 PBMAS, special performance level (PL) provisions
were added to the Career and Technical Education (CTE) EOC
indicator that evaluates students served in special education
(SPED): Indicator #4(i-iv) (CTE SPED STAAR EOC Passing
Rate). These provisions were designed to address the inclusion
of STAAR® A and STAAR® Alternate 2 results. For the 2016
PBMAS, the targeted hold harmless component of those provi-
sions was discontinued, and PL assignments will be based on
the new cut points applicable to the other CTE EOC indicators.

For the 2015 PBMAS, special PL provisions were added to
SPED Indicator #1(i-v) (SPED STAAR 3-8 Passing Rate) and
SPED Indicator #3(i-iv) (SPED STAAR EOC Passing Rate).
These provisions were designed to address the inclusion of
STAAR® A and STAAR® Alternate 2 results. For the 2016 PB-
MAS, the targeted hold harmless component of those provisions
was discontinued. However, the PL 4 assignment added in the
2015 PBMAS will continue to be assigned in the 2016 PBMAS.
Additionally, the PL 3 and PL 4 assignments for SPED Indicator
#1(i-v) are based on adjusted cut points.

The 6-11 and 12-21 age groups that were used for the SPED
Regular Class ?80% Rate and SPED Regular Class <40% Rate
indicators have been combined into one 6-21 age group, result-
ing in the deletion of two indicators. To meet federal require-
ments under 20 U.S.C. §1418(d) and 34 Code of Federal Reg-
ulations §300.646, the two remaining 6-21 age group indicators
include Report Only designations of significant disproportionality
based on race or ethnicity.

Additionally, the 2016 PBMAS marks the beginning of a transi-
tion to a new PL structure for SPED Indicator #11 (SPED African
American [Not Hispanic/Latino] Representation), SPED Indica-
tor #12 (SPED Hispanic Representation), and SPED Indicator
#13 (SPED LEP Representation). This new structure aligns with
the transition already made in the 2015 PBMAS for the special
education discipline indicators' PL structure and will, beginning
with the 2017 PBMAS, replace the current percentage point dif-
ference with a disproportionality rate. Changes to the PBMAS
indicators for 2016 are marked in the manual as "New!" for easy
reference.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSES. The
public comment period on the proposal began May 20, 2016, and
ended June 20, 2016. Following is a summary of public com-
ments received and corresponding agency responses regarding
the proposed amendment to 19 TAC Chapter 97, Planning and
Accountability, Subchapter AA, Accountability and Performance
Monitoring, §97.1005, Performance-Based Monitoring Analysis
System.

Comment. The Texas Council of Administrators of Special
Education (TCASE), the Texas Association of School Admin-
istrators (TASA), and the Texas Elementary Principals and
Supervisors Association (TEPSA) stated their agreement with
proposals in the 2016 PBMAS Manual related to the (1) PL
4 assignments for the SPED Indicators #1(i-v) and #3(i-iv);
(2) deletion of the Recommended High School Program and
Distinguished Achievement Program indicators; (3) combining
of the 6-11 and 12-21 age groups that were used for the SPED
Regular Class 280% Rate and SPED Regular Class <40% Rate
indicators into one 6-21 age group, resulting in the deletion
of two indicators; (4) assignment of Report Only designations
of significant disproportionality based on race or ethnicity for
the 6-21 age groups; and (5) modification of the SPED African
American (Not Hispanic/Latino) Representation indicator to in-
clude African American students reported with only one race as
African American. The Texas School Alliance (TSA) expressed
support for this comment.

Agency Response. The agency agrees those proposals in the
2016 PBMAS Manual are appropriate.

Comment. TCASE, TASA, and TEPSA recommended aligning
the PBMAS PL 0 cut points for SPED Indicators #1(i-v), #2(i-v),
and #3(i-iv) with a 60% Index 1 target used in the state account-
ability system, contending it is unfair, unaligned, and disjointed
to have conflicting thresholds for the same data element. TSA
expressed support for this comment.

Agency Response. The agency agrees that the PLs proposed
for use in the 2016 PBMAS are different from the Index 1 target
proposed in the 2016 state accountability system but disagrees
that the PBMAS and the state accountability system are mea-
suring the same data elements. Because the PBMAS and the
state accountability systems are designed differently, and the in-
dicators evaluated are substantially different, each system in-
cludes targets or PLs appropriate for the purposes, goals, de-
sign, and requirements of the particular system. One of the crit-
ical differences between the two systems is evident in the dis-
tinction between a single, pass/fail accountability index target
and a range of PBMAS PL assignments. The comment related
to the alignment of standards incorrectly equates a single-stan-
dard, pass/fail system (the state accountability system) with a
multi-level PL system (PBMAS). Because of this fundamental
difference between a single standard/target in the accountability
system and a range of PLs in PBMAS, the agency disagrees that
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the values associated with assigning PBMAS PLs are unfair. In
fact, compared to the single 60% Index 1 target, only districts
with passing rates less than 20% on Indicator 1(i-v), 50% on In-
dicator 2(i-v), and (depending on subject area) less than 19% to
35% on Indicator 3(i-iv) are assigned the lowest PL in the 2016
PBMAS.

Comment. TCASE, TASA, and TEPSA recommended moving
SPED Indicator #4 to Report Only to comply with the Every Stu-
dent Succeeds Act (ESSA), contending ESSA specifically pro-
hibits setting a cap on local districts for the percentage of stu-
dents who can take an alternate assessment. TSA expressed
support for this comment.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees that SPED Indicator
#4 sets a cap on local districts for the percentage of students who
can take an alternate assessment. Comparisons between the
ESSA requirements regarding alternate assessments and SPED
Indicator #4 are not appropriate given the purpose, definitions,
and methodology are significantly different between ESSA and
PBMAS. SPED Indicator #4 does not set a cap on local districts
for the percentage of students who can take an alternate assess-
ment, and regardless of how many students are administered the
STAAR® Alternate 2 in any district, there are no limits in PBMAS
on the number or percent of those results that may be included
in other PBMAS indicators that evaluate districts' STAAR® sub-
ject-area proficiency rates.

Independent from ESSA's provisions related to alternate as-
sessments, however, there are state and federal requirements
that SPED Indicator #4 is specifically designed to meet. These
include state statute (TEC, §39.057) that requires the agency
to determine when "excessive numbers of students in special
education programs under Subchapter A, Chapter 29, are
assessed through instruments developed or adopted under
Section 39.023(b) [alternate assessments]." Additionally, a key
component of the U.S. Department of Education (USDE) state
assessments peer review process requires each state to monitor
(1) the administration of its state assessments to ensure stan-
dardized test administration procedures are implemented with
fidelity across districts and schools; and (2) test administration
in its districts and schools to ensure appropriate assessments,
with or without appropriate accommodations, are selected for
students with disabilities under the Individuals with Disabilities
Education Act (IDEA), students covered by Section 504, and
English language learners so that they are appropriately in-
cluded in assessments and receive accommodations that are
consistent with the state's policies for accommodations; appro-
priate for addressing a student's disability or language needs for
each assessment administered; consistent with accommoda-
tions provided to the students during instruction and/or practice;
consistent with the assessment accommodations identified by
a student's Individualized Education Program (IEP) team or
504 team for students with disabilities, or another process for
an ELL; and administered with fidelity to test administration
procedures.

The agency is also required to ensure it has implemented a state
data audit system that assesses data quality, validity, and reli-
ability of individual student data, including student assessment
data. Furthermore, in making state determinations under IDEA,
§616(d), USDE holds states accountable for the percentage of
children with disabilities who participate in regular statewide as-
sessments compared to the percentage who participate in alter-
nate assessments.

SPED Indicator #4 enables the agency to respond to these, and
other, diverse state and federal requirements while at the same
time allowing districts make appropriate assessment decisions
for students based on individual students' needs and the ex-
tent to which students meet the eligibility requirements for a par-
ticular assessment or accommodation. Moreover, because the
STAAR® Alternate 2 does have specific eligibility requirements,
and districts evaluated by the agency's monitors for their stu-
dents' participation in the STAAR® Alternate 2 have not always
been able to provide evidence that justified the administration of
the alternate assessment, SPED Indicator #4 will continue to be
an important component of the agency's monitoring system.

Comment. TCASE, TASA, and TEPSA recommended that Re-
port Only designations be assigned for SPED Indicators #5, #6,
and #7 if, for example, a district earns a PL 0 or 1 on SPED
Indicators #1, #2, and #3, contending this would recognize and
balance achievement and compliance ratings. The commenters
stated that Disability Rights Texas (DRTx) agrees with this rec-
ommendation. TSA expressed support for this comment.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. By design, PBMAS
is comprised solely of indicators of student performance and pro-
gram effectiveness. Additionally, irrespective of a district's per-
formance on SPED Indicators #1, #2, and #3, the PBMAS en-
sures that districts are held accountable for the extent to which
their special education programs effectively ensure that students
with disabilities have access to the least restrictive environment
(LRE).

Comment. TCASE, TASA, and TEPSA recommended consol-
idating SPED Indicators #5, #6, and #7 into one indicator with
sub-indicators resulting in one PL while changing all sub-indica-
tors to Report Only. TSA expressed support for this comment.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. SPED Indicators #5,
#6, and #7 are designed to meet federal requirements specific
to certain discrete education environments and, as applicable,
specific racial and ethnic student groups.

Comment. TCASE, TASA, and TEPSA recommended replacing
the current calculations for SPED Indicators #8 and #9 and using
Senate Bill (SB) 1867, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015, to calculate
graduation and dropout rates or to create an appeals process
for PL assignments to be adjusted based on data analysis using
SB 1867 rate calculations. Additionally, TCASE offered a gen-
eral recommendation regarding the use of endorsement data in
future iterations of PBMAS. The commenters stated that DRTx
agrees with these recommendations. TSA expressed support
for this comment.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. SPED Indicators #8
and #9 are designed to meet federal requirements specific to
dropout and graduation rates. Provisions under SB 1867 do not
meet federal requirements. The comment about future iterations
of the PBMAS is outside the scope of the current rule proposal.

Comment. TCASE, TASA, and TEPSA recommended consoli-
dating Indicators #10, #11, #12, and #13 into one Representation
and Disproportionality indicator resulting in one PL with sub-indi-
cators as Report Only. TSA expressed support for this comment.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. However, as
noted in A Report on the Texas Education Agency's Ef-
forts in Implementing the Provisions of Rider 70, available
at http://tea.texas.gov/Reports_and_Data/Legislative_Re-
ports/Legislative_Reports/, the agency is engaged in an ongoing
process of integrating and aligning its special education mon-
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itoring responsibilities and as part of that process will continue
the phase-in transitional approach to indicator redevelopment
evident in previous years' PBMAS releases. While the 2016
PBMAS includes an initial redevelopment of the SPED repre-
sentation indicators, the agency anticipates it will be the 2017
PBMAS before additional considerations could be implemented
with existing agency resources.

Comment. TCASE, TASA, and TEPSA recommended clarifying
the identification of a Hispanic student to one in which that is
his/her only race in order to align with the new changes proposed
for African American identification. TSA expressed support for
this comment.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. Hispanic is an eth-
nicity, not a race. Commenters may wish to review the USDE's
final guidance on the collection and reporting of racial and ethnic
data published in the Federal Register on October 19, 2007 (72
Fed Reg 59267).

Comment. TCASE, TASA, and TEPSA recommended consoli-
dating SPED Indicators #14, #15, and #16 into one discipline and
disproportionality indicator, resulting in one PL with sub-indica-
tors as Report Only. TSA expressed support for this comment.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. However, as
noted in A Report on the Texas Education Agency's Ef-
forts in Implementing the Provisions of Rider 70, available
at http://tea.texas.gov/Reports_and_Data/Legislative_Re-
ports/Legislative_Reports/, the agency is engaged in an ongoing
process of integrating and aligning its special education mon-
itoring responsibilities and as part of that process will continue
the phase-in transitional approach to indicator redevelopment
evident in previous years' PBMAS releases. While an initial
redevelopment of the SPED discipline indicators began with
the 2015 PBMAS, the agency anticipates it will be the 2017
PBMAS before additional considerations could be implemented
with existing agency resources.

Comment. TCASE, TASA, and TEPSA recommended continu-
ing SPED Indicators #14, #15, and #16 as Report Only indicators
for two more years. TSA expressed support for this comment.

Agency Response. The comment is outside the scope of the
current rule proposal.

Comment. TCASE, TASA, and TEPSA recommended adding
an appeals process to incentivize greater student achievement
and allow use of the most current data. The commenters stated
that DRTx agrees with this recommendation. TSA expressed
support for this comment.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The data used in
the monitoring system are the most current data available to the
agency. Districts, however, have earlier access to their data than
the agency does. Therefore, districts that engage in robust and
ongoing self-monitoring prior to the agency's annual PBMAS re-
porting can best assure the data the agency uses in its monitor-
ing system reflect, as closely as possible, the most recent state
of performance and program effectiveness at the district level.
Additionally, although districts have always been able to request
a review of incorrect PL assignments, more specific information
detailing the process for doing so was formally adopted begin-
ning with the 2010 PBMAS. The agency will continue to make
appropriate adjustments to any PL assignments that are deter-
mined to be assigned erroneously.

Comment. TCASE, TASA, and TEPSA offered general recom-
mendations concerning the PEIMS, proposed USDE risk ratio

calculations, user-friendly communication tools, the State Per-
formance Plan, and residential facilities monitoring. The com-
menters stated that DRTx agrees with the recommendations re-
lated to PEIMS and user-friendly communication tools. TSA ex-
pressed support for this comment.

Agency Response. This comment is outside the scope of the
current rule proposal.

Comment. DRTx commented that the PBMAS provides a wealth
of information regarding students with disabilities; that, in gen-
eral, it helps hold school districts serving students with disabili-
ties accountable; and that the organization appreciates that the
agency has considered changes and updates to the PBMAS
Manual over time.

Agency Response. The agency agrees the PBMAS provides
a wealth of information regarding students with disabilities and
that it helps hold school districts serving students with disabilities
accountable.

Comment. DRTx commented that it sees no benefit to changing
the number of years' data available for analysis under SPED
Indicator #5 from one to two.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees that there is no ben-
efit to increasing the number of years' data available for analy-
sis under SPED Indicator #5 from one to two. As articulated in
the proposed rule's guiding principles, PBMAS evaluates a max-
imum number of school districts by using appropriate alterna-
tives to analyze the performance of districts with small numbers
of students. Allowing districts to meet the minimum size require-
ment (MSR) based on two years of data increases the number
of districts that can be evaluated under SPED Indicator #5 each
year. The agency anticipates, for example, that nearly 100 more
districts will be evaluated under SPED Indicator #5 in the 2016
PBMAS when the number of years' data available for analysis
increases from one to two.

Comment. Regarding SPED Indicator #6 and SPED Indicator
#7, DRTx commented that maintaining the age reporting cate-
gories of 6 to 11 and 12 to 21 better ensures compliance with
IDEA's mandate that students with disabilities be educated and
served in the LRE. DRTx further stated, given the distribution
of students with disabilities by age is not even, and there is
a far greater number of students with disabilities ages 12 to
21, blending the four age-based indicators is likely to mask the
experiences of younger students with disabilities as those stu-
dents will be underrepresented in the proposed aggregated indi-
cator. DRTx maintained that ensuring compliance with the LRE
mandate necessitates two indicators for mainstreaming by age
groupings. One individual commented that elementary school
versus middle school versus high school is very different, and
putting the indicators together does not give that representation.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees that maintaining the
age reporting categories of 6 to 11 and 12 to 21 better ensures
compliance with IDEA's mandate that students with disabilities
be educated and served in the LRE. The proposed 6-21 age
category for SPED Indicator #6 and SPED Indicator #7 is directly
aligned with the federally defined age category for LRE.

Comment. DRTx commented that the disproportionality rate cal-
culation proposed under SPED Indicators #6 and #7 for sub-
groups of students with disabilities from minority backgrounds
will be beneficial.

41 TexReg 5722 August 5, 2016 Texas Register


http://tea.texas.gov/Reports_and_Data/Legislative_Re

Agency Response. The agency agrees the proposed dispro-
portionality rate calculation for disaggregated racial and ethnic
groups will be beneficial.

Comment. DRTx commented that there is no authority to include
SPED Indicator #10 and that the indicator is contrary to TEC,
§29.010(f).

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. In addition to
a wide range of state and federal authority authorizing the
agency to monitor districts' special education programs, IDEA,
§612(a)(24), requires states to have a process in place to
prevent not only the disproportionate representation of children
by race and ethnicity, but also the over-identification of children
with disabilities. Like all SPED indicators in the 2016 PBMAS,
SPED Indicator #10 is consistent with both federal law and TEC,
§29.010(f).

Comment. DRTx expressed a grave concern that SPED Indica-
tor #10 sets a target for districts to enroll students with disabilities
at only a certain rate and that the indicator does not account for
school districts that do not identify enough students with disabil-
ities. DRTx indicated it has received numerous complaints over
the years about referrals not being made because of a concern
about this indicator affecting districts' choices.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees that SPED Indicator
#10 sets a target for districts to enroll students with disabilities
at only a certain rate. As stated in the proposed rule, a district is
obligated to identify and provide a free appropriate public edu-
cation to all students with disabilities who require special educa-
tion services. Furthermore, the agency has consistently upheld,
through numerous PBMAS rule adoptions, that districts are re-
quired to adhere to all state and federal requirements pertaining
to serving students with disabilities irrespective of districts' antic-
ipated PL assignment on any PBMAS indicator.

Concurrently, the agency is obligated to ensure districts place
students in special education services through an evaluation
process that is aligned with IDEA requirements, monitor districts
to ensure those placements are not inappropriate, and comply
with IDEA's regulations specifically designed to minimize the
number of misidentifications, including separate evaluation
measures to ensure those placements are not racially or cultur-
ally discriminatory. If the commenter has evidence that districts
have not initiated referrals because of a concern about any
PBMAS indicator and has evidence of a violation of processes
and procedures resulting in the denial of special education
services to an eligible student, it should file a special education
complaint with the agency.

Comment. The Texas Charter Schools Association (TCSA) com-
mented that all schools have a federal responsibility to evaluate
and identify all students suspected of having a disability, that
SPED Indicator #10 suggests to schools that they are not al-
lowed to have more than 8.5% of students identified as a stu-
dent with a disability even though they may believe more stu-
dents should be receiving services, and that SPED Indicator #10
is at odds with the federal Child Find mandate. TCSA further
commented that by accepting all students who were identified
by previous school districts, by attracting families with children
with disabilities, and by having geographic boundaries that of-
ten overlap more than one school district, some charter schools
may have higher than average special education representation
and that SPED Indicator #10, therefore, unfairly penalizes char-
ter schools. TCSA stated that SPED Indicator #10 could directly
resultin the non-renewal or closure of a charter school as a result

of the Charter School Performance Framework. TCSA recom-
mended that SPED Indicator #10 be changed to a Report Only
indicator.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees that SPED Indicator
#10 suggests to schools that they are not allowed to have more
than 8.5% of their students identified as a student with a dis-
ability even though they may believe more students should be
receiving services. As stated in the proposed rule, a district is
obligated to identify and provide a free appropriate public edu-
cation to all students with disabilities who require special educa-
tion services. Furthermore, the agency has consistently upheld,
through numerous PBMAS rule adoptions, that districts are re-
quired to adhere to all state and federal requirements pertaining
to serving students with disabilities irrespective of districts' antic-
ipated PL assignment on any PBMAS indicator.

Concurrently, the agency is obligated to ensure students are
placed in special education services through an evaluation
process that is aligned with IDEA requirements, monitor districts
to ensure those placements are not inappropriate, and comply
with IDEA's regulations specifically designed to minimize the
number of misidentifications and provide protections against
evaluation measures that are racially or culturally discriminatory.

The agency disagrees that SPED Indicator #10 unfairly penal-
izes charter schools, noting there is no evidence that charters in
general are unfairly assigned the lowest PLs for the indicator or
that when a charter is assigned the PLs, it is because the char-
ter accepted all students who were identified by previous school
districts, attracted families with children with disabilities, or has
geographic boundaries that overlap more than one school dis-
trict. Additionally, the agency notes that although the Charter
School Performance Framework is outside the scope of the pro-
posed rule action, it is not aware of any circumstances whereby
charter revocation or nonrenewal ensues from a charter school
appropriately meeting its obligation to identify and provide a free
appropriate public education to all students with disabilities who
require special education.

Comment. TCSA recommended that PBMAS offer greater flex-
ibility for school districts and charter schools that are under the
Alternative Education Accountability (AEA) system so that the
agency's measure of student success matches the mission of
the school. TCSA requested a distinction between standard ac-
countability and alternative accountability in the PBMAS, as seen
with the AEA.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The PBMAS is de-
signed to align with the program requirements and priorities of
state and federal programs that apply to all districts serving stu-
dents in those programs, irrespective of district type or "mis-
sion." Additionally, although the AEA system is only applicable
to the state accountability system, because the PBMAS was
specifically developed to be different from a pass/fail system,
it appropriately takes into consideration the diversity that exists
across districts, not only in terms of charter districts, but also the
considerable diversity that exists among non-charter districts.
This diversity is accommodated in the PBMAS through a vari-
ety of unique components, including ranges of PL cut points,
special analysis, minimum size requirements, and required im-
provement. Moreover, any district (regardless of type or mission)
performing at the lower end of the PBMAS indicators is likely
to benefit from the implementation of local improvement efforts
given the strong alignment between the PBMAS and other fed-
eral accountability measures.

ADOPTED RULES

August 5, 2016 41 TexReg 5723



Comment. TSCA commented that, unlike the proposed 2016
Accountability Manual, the 2016 PBMAS Manual does not ad-
dress the various issues raised during the administration of the
2016 STAAR®.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. As noted in Section
Il of the 2016 PBMAS Manual in the section entitled Data
Sources, "a data source used in the PBMAS may be uninten-
tionally affected by unforeseen circumstances, including natural
disasters or test contractor administration issues. Should
those circumstances occur, [the agency] will consider how
or whether that data source will be used to ensure PBMAS
calculations, performance level assignments, and interven-
tions are implemented appropriately and in alignment with the
system's guiding principles." The commissioner of education
clarified, in correspondence dated April 29, 2016, that March
2016 test results affected by online testing issues will only be
included in the PBMAS if the student meets or exceeds the
applicable standard for Satisfactory Academic Performance
(http://tea.texas.gov/taa_letters.aspx). Districts received further
information from the test contractor on June 1, 2016, regarding
the identification of students affected by online testing issues in
March 2016.

Comment. TSCA commented that the 2016 PBMAS STAAR®
and EOC assessment indicators set a higher cut score than the
2016 Accountability Manual and that the PBMAS indicators pe-
nalize schools that receive anything less than 65% on the math-
ematics, science, social studies, reading, and writing assess-
ments.

Agency Response. The agency agrees that the PLs proposed
for use in the 2016 PBMAS are different from the Index 1 target
proposed in the 2016 state accountability system but disagrees
that the PBMAS and the state accountability system are mea-
suring the same data elements or that the PBMAS PL cut points
are higher and penalize schools that receive anything less than
65% on mathematics, science, social studies, reading, and writ-
ing assessments. Because the PBMAS and the state account-
ability systems are designed differently, and the indicators eval-
uated are substantially different, each system includes targets
or PLs appropriate for the purposes, goals, design, and require-
ments of the particular system. One of the critical differences
between the two systems is evident in the distinction between a
single, pass/fail accountability index target and a range of PB-
MAS PL assignments. The comment related to the alignment of
standards incorrectly equates a single-standard, pass/fail sys-
tem (the state accountability system) with a multi-level PL sys-
tem (PBMAS). In fact, compared to the single 60% Index 1 tar-
get, only districts with passing rates less than 20% on Indicator
1(i-v), 50% on Indicator 2(i-v), and (depending on subject area)
less than 19% to 35% on Indicator 3(i-iv) are assigned the lowest
PL in the 2016 PBMAS.

Comment. The Arc of Texas (The Arc) commented that SPED
Indicator #10 suggests to school districts they should aim to have
an 8.5% enroliment rate for special education services and re-
quested the agency reconsider using it as a PL. The Arc sug-
gested the indicator had a significant impact on the number of
students enrolled in special education services and that enroll-
ment mirrored the national average at 11.5% in 2006, but quickly
dropped to 8.5% after the PL was implemented, which to The Arc
indicates school districts are using it as a hard line determinate
for the number of students permitted to be enrolled in special ed-
ucation. The Arc stated that roughly 3% of students in Texas are
not getting the supports and services they need and that school

districts are working to meet the 8.5% rather than identifying stu-
dents with disabilities.

The Arc further commented that having unidentified students
with special needs contributes to the strain on teachers and the
consequential teacher shortage. Lastly, The Arc stated that if
students are not getting the supports they need and teachers
are not prepared to support them, this will be reflected in test
scores, dropout rates, and graduation levels.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees that SPED Indicator
#10 suggests to school districts they should aim to have an 8.5%
enrollment rate for special education. As stated in the proposed
rule, a district is obligated to identify and provide a free appropri-
ate public education to all students with disabilities who require
special education services. Furthermore, the agency has con-
sistently upheld, through numerous PBMAS rule adoptions, that
districts are required to adhere to all state and federal require-
ments pertaining to serving students with disabilities irrespective
of districts' anticipated PL assignment on any PBMAS indicator.

Concurrently, the agency is obligated to ensure districts place
students in special education services through an evaluation
process that is aligned with IDEA requirements, monitor districts
to ensure those placements are not inappropriate, and comply
with IDEA's regulations specifically designed to minimize the
number of misidentifications, including separate evaluation
measures to ensure those placements are not racially or cultur-
ally discriminatory. If the commenter has evidence that a district
has denied special education services to an eligible student
because of a concern about a PBMAS indicator or that eligible
students in Texas are not getting the supports and services
they need, it should file a special education complaint with the
agency.

Comment. A representative of the Coalition of Human Rights
Policy Advocates commented that she has attended many
admission, review, and dismissal (ARD) committee meetings
where there was a clear indication a student would qualify for
special education services and a parent requested an indepen-
dent evaluation to further advocate for that and that children
should receive services if they qualify, not based on an 8.5%
cap or limit.

Agency Response. If the commenter has evidence that, during
any initial evaluation, a school district engaged in a violation of
processes and procedures resulting in the denial of special ed-
ucation services to an eligible student, she should file a special
education complaint with the agency. The agency agrees that
children should receive services if they qualify and notes that
there are many reasons a student may not be eligible based on
the considerable amount of evidence the ARD committee is re-
quired to consider in making that determination. The agency dis-
agrees there is an 8.5% cap or limit. As stated in the proposed
rule, a district is obligated to identify and provide a free appropri-
ate public education to all students with disabilities who require
special education services. Furthermore, the agency has con-
sistently upheld, through numerous PBMAS rule adoptions, that
districts are required to adhere to all state and federal require-
ments pertaining to serving students with disabilities irrespective
of districts' anticipated PL assignment on any PBMAS indicator.

Comment. An individual commented that we need to assess our
students and decide whether they belong in special education
based on the student, not based on an indicator that places the
school in trouble for going over 8.5%. The individual further com-
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mented that there are a lot of bad outcomes for not identifying 1
out of 3 students.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees that SPED Indicator
#10 suggests to school districts they should aim to have an 8.5%
enrollment rate for special education. As stated in the proposed
rule, a district is obligated to identify and provide a free appropri-
ate public education to all students with disabilities who require
special education services. Furthermore, the agency has con-
sistently upheld, through numerous PBMAS rule adoptions, that
districts are required to adhere to all state and federal require-
ments pertaining to serving students with disabilities irrespective
of districts' anticipated PL assignment on any PBMAS indicator.

Concurrently, the agency is obligated to ensure districts place
students in special education services through an evaluation
process that is aligned with IDEA requirements, monitor districts
to ensure those placements are not inappropriate, and comply
with IDEA's regulations specifically designed to minimize the
number of misidentifications, including separate evaluation
measures to ensure those placements are not racially or cultur-
ally discriminatory. If the commenter has evidence that a district
has denied special education services to an eligible student
because of a concern about a PBMAS indicator or that eligible
students in Texas are not getting the supports and services
they need, it should file a special education complaint with the
agency.

Comment. DRTx commented that the MSR for SPED Indicators
#14, #15, and #16 adopted under the 2015 PBMAS are more
appropriate and beneficial to ensure that students with disabili-
ties are not unfairly assigned to disciplinary placements and that
the organization sees no benefit to change the MSR numerator
to 30. DRTx further stated there is no justification to move away
from special analysis for those indicators and that the adoption
of a disproportionality rate calculation does not appear to require
a larger numerator.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees that the MSR adopted
for SPED Indicators #14, #15, and #16 adopted under the 2015
PBMAS are more appropriate and beneficial than the MSR pro-
posed for those indicators in the 2016 PBMAS. While the MSR
under the 2015 PBMAS was based on both the number of place-
ments and the number of students, the 2016 MSR for those in-
dicators is based on the number of placements irrespective of
the number of students. Prioritizing the number of placements
over the number of students recognizes that students with dis-
abilities are not only disproportionately placed in disciplinary set-
tings generally relative to their non-disabled peers, but they are
also more likely to be placed repeatedly. MSR for each PBMAS
indicator is evaluated annually to ensure an appropriate balance
between the proposed rule's guiding principle of maximum inclu-
sion and the essential requirement for statistical reliability and
validity.

The agency disagrees that there is no justification to move away
from special analysis. The initial redevelopment of the SPED
discipline indicators began with the 2015 PBMAS and continues
with the 2016 PBMAS. When the redevelopment process has
been fully implemented, the agency anticipates it will propose
reinstating the special analysis process for these indicators as it
has done with other redeveloped PBMAS indicators in the past.

Comment. Enabled Advocacy commented that the number of
students for the SPED discipline indicators MSR had tripled and
that change was not in alignment with the stated purpose of PB-
MAS to include as many districts as possible.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees that the number of
students for the SPED discipline indicators MSR has tripled.
While the MSR under the 2015 PBMAS was based on both the
number of placements and the number of students, the 2016
MSR for those indicators is based on the number of placements
irrespective of the number of students. Prioritizing the number
of placements over the number of students recognizes that
students with disabilities are not only disproportionately placed
in disciplinary settings generally relative to their non-disabled
peers but are also more likely to be placed repeatedly. MSR
for each PBMAS indicator is evaluated annually to ensure
an appropriate balance between the proposed rule's guiding
principle of maximum inclusion and the essential requirement
for statistical reliability and validity.

Comment. Enabled Advocacy commented that the PBMAS
MSR for the SPED indicators are not in alignment with the stated
purpose of PBMAS to include as many districts as possible and
that one quarter of districts do not meet the MSR for any of the
PBMAS special education indicators. Enabled Advocacy further
commented that for the SPED EOC, graduation, and dropout
indicators, as many as 60% do not meet MSR.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees that the PBMAS MSR
for the SPED indicators are not in alignment with the stated pur-
pose of PBMAS to include as many districts as possible. MSR
for each PBMAS indicator is evaluated annually to ensure an ap-
propriate balance between the proposed rule's guiding principle
of maximum inclusion and the essential requirement for statisti-
cal reliability and validity.

Comment. Enabled Advocacy commented that special analysis
does not apply to 14 out of the 16 SPED indicators.

Agency Response. The agency recognizes that the proposed
rule's guiding principle of system evolution creates a dynamic
in which indicators are added, revised, or deleted in response
to changes and developments that occur outside of the system,
including new legislation and the development of new assess-
ments. The 2016 PBMAS will be implemented not only within
the context of ongoing changes to the assessment system but
also within the context of a phased-in, transitional approach to
indicator redevelopment in the SPED program area resulting
from recommendations adopted in A Report on the Texas Ed-
ucation Agency's Efforts in Implementing the Provisions of Rider
70, available at http://tea.texas.gov/Reports_and_Data/Legisla-
tive_Reports/Legislative_Reports/. Given those contexts, it is
not surprising there will be fewer indicators eligible for the special
analysis process (which requires multiple years of comparable
data) until all of those changes have been fully implemented.

Comment. One individual requested an analysis of an IEP goal
directly correlated to a STAAR® Alternate 2 test item to monitor
how well IEPs are being implemented.

Agency Response. This comment is outside the scope of the
current rule proposal.

Comment. A school district special services director recom-
mended that all PBMAS indicators that rely on state assessment
data be revised to Report Only in light of the ongoing concerns
with the STAAR® and STAAR® Accommodated test adminis-
trations.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. As noted in Section
Il of the 2016 PBMAS Manual in the section entitled Data
Sources, "a data source used in the PBMAS may be uninten-
tionally affected by unforeseen circumstances, including natural
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disasters or test contractor administration issues. Should
those circumstances occur, [the agency] will consider how
or whether that data source will be used to ensure PBMAS
calculations, performance level assignments, and interven-
tions are implemented appropriately and in alignment with the
system's guiding principles." The commissioner of education
clarified, in correspondence dated April 29, 2016, that March
2016 test results affected by online testing issues will only be
included in the PBMAS if the student meets or exceeds the
applicable standard for Satisfactory Academic Performance
(http://tea.texas.gov/taa_letters.aspx). Districts received further
information from the test contractor on June 1, 2016, regarding
the identification of students affected by online testing issues in
March 2016.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is adopted under
the Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.028, which authorizes
the agency to monitor as necessary to ensure school district
and charter school compliance with state and federal law and
regulations; TEC, §29.001(5), which authorizes the agency
to effectively monitor all local educational agencies (LEAs) to
ensure that rules relating to the delivery of services to children
with disabilities are applied in a consistent and uniform manner,
to ensure that LEAs are complying with those rules, and to
ensure that specific reports filed by LEAs are accurate and
complete; TEC, §29.010(a), which authorizes the agency to
adopt and implement a comprehensive system for monitoring
LEA compliance with federal and state laws relating to special
education, including ongoing analysis of LEA special education
data; TEC, §29.062, which authorizes the agency to monitor the
effectiveness of LEA programs concerning students with limited
English proficiency; TEC, §39.051 and §39.052, which authorize
the commissioner to determine criteria for accreditation statuses
and to determine the accreditation status of each school district
and open-enrollment charter school; TEC, §39.054(b-1), which
authorizes the agency to consider the effectiveness of district
programs for special populations, including career and technical
education programs, when determining accreditation statuses;
TEC, §8§839.056-39.058, which authorize the commissioner to
adopt procedures relating to on-site and special accreditation
investigations; and TEC, §39.102 and §39.104, which authorize
the commissioner to implement procedures to impose interven-
tions and sanctions for school districts and open-enroliment
charter schools.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment im-
plements the Texas Education Code, §§7.028, 29.001(5),
29.010(a), 29.062, 39.051, 39.052, 39.054(b-1), 39.056-39.058,
39.102, and 39.104.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 20, 2016.

TRD-201603594

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: August 9, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497
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TITLE 31. NATURAL RESOURCES AND
CONSERVATION

PART 2. TEXAS PARKS AND
WILDLIFE DEPARTMENT

CHAPTER 65. WILDLIFE

SUBCHAPTER B. DISEASE DETECTION AND
RESPONSE

DIVISION 2. CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE -
MOVEMENT OF DEER

The Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission (Commission) in a
duly noticed meeting on June 20, 2016 adopted the repeal of
§865.90 - 65.94 and new §§65.90 - 65.99 concerning Chronic
Wasting Disease - Movement of Deer. New §§65.90 - 65.92 and
65.94 - 65.98 are adopted with changes to the proposed text as
published in the April 22, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41
TexReg 2853). The repeals, new §65.93, and new §65.99 are
adopted without changes and will not be republished.

Change to Definitions

The change to §65.90, concerning Definitions, adds a definition
for "Interim Breeder Rules." The rules as adopted, include pro-
visions predicated upon compliance with previous rules. There-
fore, a definition of "Interim Breeder Rules" was added to provide
a shorthand reference for those rules.

Changes to General Provisions

The change to §65.91, concerning General Provisions, alters
subsection (a). As proposed, the subsection provided that to the
extent any provision of the proposed new rules conflicted with
any other provision of Chapter 65, the new rules would control;
however, Chapter 65, Subchapter B, Division 1 contains provi-
sions regarding Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) management
zones that are intended to function on their own terms. There-
fore, it is necessary to clarify that fact.

The change to §65.91 also adds new subsection (d) to clarify
that a deer breeding facility is prohibited from moving deer out
of the breeding facility if such movement is prohibited under a
hold order or quarantine imposed on the breeding facility by the
Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC). Under the rules as
proposed, and as adopted, the lawful movement of breeder deer
is predicated on a facility's designation as Movement Qualified
(MQ). Although the provisions of §65.99 as adopted, concerning
Violations and Penalties, provide that a person who possesses
or receives white-tailed deer or mule deer pursuant to a Triple
T permit, DMP or a deer breeder permit is subject to the provi-
sions of TAHC regulations regarding Chronic Wasting Disease,
subsection (d) was clarified to state that if a facility is prohibited
from moving deer under a hold order or quarantine issued by
TAHC, movement of deer under those circumstances is prohib-
ited.

In addition, a change was made to §65.91(e) (which was
§65.91(d) as proposed) to modify the cross-reference to the
subsection regarding receipt of deer by a release site. The
rules as adopted adjust the time period for release site testing.
As a result, it is more appropriate to reference the entirety of
§65.95(c) regarding release sites, rather than the more specific
§65.95(c)(1)(D).

41 TexReg 5726 August 5, 2016 Texas Register


http://tea.texas.gov/taa_letters.aspx

Changes to CWD Testing

The change to §65.92, concerning CWD Testing, clarifies who
may collect the tissue upon which ante-mortem tests are to
be conducted and provides additional detail to ensure that a
valid sample is collected. As proposed, §65.92(b) required
ante-mortem test samples be collected "by or under the super-
vision of a qualified licensed veterinarian." However, to ensure
compliance with statutory requirements regarding the practice
of veterinary medicine, as well as regulatory requirements of
TAHC and the Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners
regarding the collection of ante-mortem samples, the change to
§65.92(b) provides that ante-mortem samples must be collected
by a "licensed veterinarian authorized pursuant to statutes and
regulations governing the practice of veterinary medicine in
Texas and regulations of the TAHC." In addition, to ensure that
samples are sufficient to accommodate ante-mortem testing,
§95.92(b) was modified to require that at least six lymphoid
follicles be collected.

The change to §65.92(b) also eliminates the 16-month residency
requirement for ante-mortem testing of breeder deer imposed by
proposed subsection (b)(2). The intent of proposed subsection
(b)(2) was to ensure that animals subjected to ante-mortem test-
ing had been in a facility long enough to have contracted CWD
if it were present. However, while a deer with a residency in a
facility of less than 16 months may not have had sufficient incu-
bation time to detect CWD if it was contracted in that facility, a
test of that deer would provide information about any previous
facility in which the deer was held. Therefore, the residency re-
quirement was eliminated.

Another change to §65.92 reduces the interval of ante-mortem
testing eligibility established in subsection (b)(3) from 36 months
to 24 months. The intent of proposed subsection (b)(3) was to
ensure that the epidemiological value of ante-mortem testing is
not compromised. Repeated testing of a single animal for which
"not detected" test results have been obtained would compro-
mise the value of ante-mortem testing within a deer herd. In
addition, ante-mortem testing is an invasive procedure that re-
moves tissues and those tissues do not immediately regenerate;
therefore, after several biopsies, sample quality may diminish.
However, because most breeding facilities contain fewer than
50 deer, the rule as proposed would have made compliance with
the 36-month interval between testing difficult for small herds. In
addition, veterinarians have indicated that testing a deer every
24 months can be accomplished without significantly compro-
mising sample quality. Therefore, the department reduced the
testing frequency interval.

The change to proposed §65.92 also removes proposed sub-
section (c)(3), which imposed a five-month "window" for ante-
mortem test results to be submitted to the department for pur-
poses of increasing status. The rules as proposed included a
mechanism to enable a deer breeding facility to achieve Trans-
fer Category (TC) 1 by annually submitting "not detected" ante-
mortem CWD tests of at least 25 percent of eligible-aged deer
in the facility's inventory at the time the testing is conducted and
annual post-mortem tests of at least 50 percent of eligible mor-
talities. As a result, the proposal included a testing "window"
to preserve administrative efficiency by restricting testing for the
purpose of "upgrading" from a lower status to the time of year
when deer breeders are typically handling deer for other pur-
poses. However, because this option for "upgrading" has been
eliminated as described in the discussion of changes to §65.95,

the department has determined that year-round submission of
ante-mortem test results can be sustained.

The change to §65.92 also clarifies who may collect tissue sam-
ples for post-mortem CWD testing. As proposed, §65.92(c) (pro-
posed §65.92(d)) stipulated that to be valid for testing, an obex
had to be collected by a qualified licensed veterinarian or other
person certified by TAHC, and that a medial retropharyngeal
lymph node collected by a qualified licensed veterinarian or other
person approved by the department could be submitted in ad-
dition to or in lieu of an obex. In the interests of simplifica-
tion, the provision has been altered to state that a sample is not
valid unless it was collected by a qualified licensed veterinarian,
TAHC-certified CWD sample collector, or other person approved
by the department.

Finally, the change to §65.92 alters the ratio of ante-mortem test
results that may be substituted for post-mortem test results in
subsection (d)(proposed subsection (e)). As proposed, the ratio
was two ante-mortem test results for every required post-mortem
test result, provided at least two eligible mortalities had occurred
in the facility during the corresponding reporting year and post-
mortem test results equivalent to 50 percent of the total required
results had been submitted. In other words, ante-mortem test
results could be substituted for no more than 50 percent of the
required post-mortem test results. As adopted, that ratio is three
ante-mortem test results for every required post-mortem test re-
sult (i.e., a 3:1 ratio), but there is no limit on the number of
post-mortem tests for which ante-mortem tests can be substi-
tuted. An ante-mortem to post-mortem ratio that is higher than
1:1 is necessary to compensate for the fact that deer that have
died from natural causes are far more epidemiologically valuable
than live and apparently healthy deer selected for ante-mortem
testing. A deer that has died naturally, by definition, died as are-
sult of some causal agent. As aresult, it is more likely that a deer
that has died naturally would test positive for CWD than an ap-
parently healthy deer. During the public comment period, there
was discussion of eliminating the maximum use of ante-mortem
substitution. However, if no mortalities are tested, a higher num-
ber of ante-mortem tests would be required to achieve the same
epidemiological benefits as post-mortem tests, perhaps as much
as 6:1. There was stakeholder input suggesting a 4:1 substitu-
tion if less than 50 percent of mortalities were tested, and re-
taining the 2:1 ratio if the number of post-mortem tests sub-
mitted was equal to at least 50 percent of eligible mortalities.
The department also received public comment and discussion
suggesting the simplification of the regulations wherever pos-
sible. Therefore, in an effort to simplify this requirement, an
ante-mortem substitution ratio of 3:1 was selected. From an epi-
demiological perspective, while more testing is preferred, a sub-
stitution ratio of 3:1 was determined to be adequate.

Changes to Breeding Facility Minimum Movement Qualifications
(§65.94) and Movement of Breeder Deer (§65.95) - Generally

With regard to the changes to §65.94, concerning Breeding Fa-
cility Minimum Movement Qualification, and §65.95 concerning
Movement of Breeder Deer, several changes were made in re-
sponse to comments, stakeholder input, and public testimony.

The rules as proposed and as adopted (as well as the Emer-
gency and Interim Breeder Rules) establish three categories of
breeding facilities based on level of epidemiological risk, with
Transfer Category 1 (TC 1) representing the lowest risk of har-
boring or transmitting CWD and TC 3 representing the highest
risk. Similarly, three levels of release sites (sites onto which
breeder deer had been liberated) are established, also based on
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the level of epidemiological risk, with Class | release sites rep-
resenting the lowest risk of harboring or transmitting CWD and
Class lll release sites representing the highest risk.

The Emergency Rules and the Interim Breeder Rules required
testing of hunter-harvested deer from sites on which breeder
deer had been released, except for release sites that received
deer only from Transfer Category 1 (TC 1) facilities. Under the
Emergency and Interim Breeder Rules, only breeding facilities
that had achieved "fifth year" or "certified status" in the TAHC
CWD Herd Certification Program were TC 1 facilities.

As the department worked with stakeholders to develop the pro-
posed rules, deer breeders continued to state that the elimina-
tion or reduction of testing at release sites was important to them.
Out of the facilitated process, described elsewhere herein, came
additional options for achieving TC 1 status that also incorpo-
rated ante-mortem testing. More specifically, three additional
options were developed to enable breeding facilities that were
not "fifth year" or "certified status" facilities to obtain TC 1 status
and to provide for the use of ante-mortem tests to achieve TC 1
status more quickly.

As with previous rules, the proposed rules also established min-
imum testing requirements that a deer breeder must meet to
transfer deer to another facility, including a release site. A breed-
ing facility that met the minimum requirements for the transfer of
deer (i.e., a breeding facility that was "movement qualified" or
"MQ") but did not meet the requirements for being a TC 1 facility
(and was not a TC 3 facility) would be classified as TC 2 facility.
Because TC 2 represented a higher risk of harboring or trans-
mitting CWD than a TC 1 breeding facility, under the proposed
rules, a release site (which was not a Class lll release site) onto
which a deer from a TC 2 facility was liberated (classified as a
Class Il release site) would be required to submit CWD tests for
hunter-harvested deer as provided in the rules.

During the public comment period and in testimony before the
Commission, concerns continued to be raised about the con-
tinuation of required testing at release sites that received deer
from TC 2 facilities (Class Il release sites). As a result of those
comments and additional discussions among stakeholders, the
rules, as adopted, provide for the elimination of release site test-
ing at Class Il release sites after the 2018-2019 hunting year.
To accomplish the elimination of Class |l release site testing,
it was necessary to adjust the provisions for classifying a facil-
ity as MQ or NMQ so that the probability of detection of CWD
in all breeding facilities would increase to an acceptable level
by the time no release site testing (except for Class Il release
sites) was required. As a result, changes were made in the
rules as adopted to §65.94 concerning Breeding Facility Mini-
mum Movement Qualifications and to §65.95 concerning Move-
ment of Breeder Deer. In the rules as proposed and as adopted,
the classification of TC 3 for breeding facilities and Class Il for
release sites is reserved for those breeding facilities and release
sites that have been received deer from an originating facility
that is a TC 3 facility, received an exposed deer within the previ-
ous five years, transferred deer to a CWD-positive facility within
the five-year period preceding the confirmation of CWD in the
CWD-positive facility, and have not been released from a TAHC
hold order).

Changes to Breeding Facility Minimum Movement Qualifications
(§65.94)

Changes were made to §65.94 concerning Breeding Facility Min-
imum Movement Qualifications to clarify the MQ requirements

applicable upon the rules' effective date, to incorporate the mod-
ified MQ requirements that will go into effect April 1, 2017, and
to make minor clarifying changes.

With regard to §65.94(a)(1)(A), under the proposed rules as well
as the adopted rules, upon the rule's effective date, a breeding
facility will be MQ if it has complied with the historic CWD testing
requirement which required submission of CWD "not detected"
test results for at least 20 percent of the total number of eligi-
ble mortalities that occurred in the facility since May 23, 2006.
However, to accommodate facilities (mostly newer facilities) that
had experienced a low number of mortalities, a provision was
added that incorporated §65.604(d)(2) of the previous MQ re-
quirements to provide that no testing was required if a breeding
facility has had less than five eligible mortalities from May 23,
2006 through March 31, 2016.

The change to §65.94(a)(1)(B) sets out the MQ testing standard
that will be effective with the reporting year beginning April 1,
2017. Under the rules as proposed, a deer breeder seeking to
be MQ would be required to submit a number of "not-detected"
post-mortem test results equal to least 50 percent of the total
number of eligible mortalities in the facility each year, and be-
ginning April 1, 2021, a minimum number of post-mortem "not
detected" results for each of the previous five years of 2.25 per-
cent of the eligible-aged population in the breeding facility. This
standard is replaced with a requirement that to be MQ, a deer
breeder must submit "not detected" test results for at least 80
percent of the eligible mortalities that occurred in the facility dur-
ing the previous reporting year (i.e., the report year that ended
March 31), with a minimum annual number of post-mortem "not
detected" results for facilities that have been permitted for six
months or more that is equal to at least 3.6 percent of the eligi-
ble aged population in the breeding facility. As explained below,
3.6 percent is 80 percent of the average expected annual mor-
tality in a breeding facility. In addition, a provision was added
to clarify that a breeding facility that had achieved "fifth-year" or
"certified" status in the TAHC CWD Herd Certification Program
meets the testing requirements to be considered MQ.

The change to §65.94 also inserts the word "or" after subsection
(a)(3) because the list of criteria in subsection (a) is intended to
be a list of criteria that are individually grounds for being desig-
nated NMQ.

The change to §65.94 also alters subsection (a)(4) to clarify that
in addition to the recordkeeping and reporting provisions of 31
TAC §65.608, a permittee must be compliant with the record-
keeping and reporting provisions of the rules as adopted.

Finally, the change to §65.94 alters subsections (b) and (c) to
clarify that "facility" as used in those subsections means deer
breeding facility, and alters subsection (d) by replacing the word
"received" with the phrase "have been in possession of," which
is intended to clarify that the provision applies to deer that were
ever in a facility as well as to deer that are within the facility at
the current time.

Changes to Movement of Breeder Deer

The changes to §65.95, concerning Movement of Breeder Deer,
consists of several alterations. As noted in the general discus-
sion of the changes to §65.94 and §65.95, as a result of public
comment and extensive outreach to the regulated community
and stakeholders, the rule as adopted provides a testing pro-
gram that eventually eliminates release site testing for all re-
lease sites (except for Class Ill release sites), and offers an
ante-mortem testing component as a pathway for TC 2 breed-
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ing facilities to achieve TC 1 status (which would eliminate re-
lease-site testing obligations immediately).

Proposed §65.95(b)(1) would have assigned TC 1 status to a
breeding facility if it satisfied one of three testing regimes: (1)
submission of "not detected" post-mortem test results for at least
80 percent of eligible mortalities in each of the preceding five re-
port years and then 80 percent of eligible mortalities annually
thereafter, provided the "not detected" post-mortem test results
for the five-year period were equal to or greater than the an-
nual sum of the eligible-aged population and the eligible mortal-
ities during the five-year period, multiplied by 3.6 percent; (2) a
one-time ante-mortem "not detected" test result for 80 percent
of the population of eligible-aged deer in the facility, followed by
annual "not detected" post-mortem testing of 80 percent of eligi-
ble mortalities, provided that after April 1, 2021, "not detected"
post-mortem test results for the preceding five-year period are
equal to or greater than the sum of the eligible-aged population
in the facility at the end of each report year and the eligible mor-
talities during the five-year period, multiplied by 3.6 percent; or
(3) the annual submission of "not detected" ante-mortem test re-
sults for 25 percent of the facility's eligible-aged population and
50 percent of eligible mortalities.

In response to comments, §65.95(b)(1) was modified to simplify
the mechanisms for obtaining TC 1 status by providing two meth-
ods of achieving TC 1 status, in addition to the "fifth year" or
"certified" TAHC herds. The first method recognizes that there
are some deer breeding facilities that, although not "fifth year"
or "certified status," have been testing at a high level for a num-
ber of years. Under the first method, a breeding facility will be
designated as a TC 1 breeding facility if it has submitted "not de-
tected" test results for at least 80 percent of the total number of
eligible mortalities over the preceding five report years, provided
the number of "not detected" results is equivalent to or greater
than the sum of the eligible-aged population in the facility at the
end of each report year and the eligible mortalities during the
five-year period, multiplied by 3.6 percent. This option is similar
to the option provided in §65.95(b)(1)(A)(ii) of the proposed rules.
However, the rule as adopted allows TC 1 status to be attained
by providing "not detected" test results for 80 percent of the fotal
number of eligible mortalities over the preceding five-year pe-
riod, rather than 80 percent of eligible mortalities in each year of
the preceding five-years.

In lieu of the other two options contained in proposed
§65.95(b)(1)(A)(iii) and (iv) for achieving TC 1 status more
quickly, the rules as adopted provide a simplified option for
achieving TC 1 status more quickly. Under this option, a deer
breeder can obtain TC 1 status by submitting "not detected"
ante-mortem test results for at least 50 percent of the eligi-
ble-aged deer in the facility as of the date on which ante-mortem
testing begins. However, to facilitate the transition to the new
rules, and recognizing that in anticipation of the adoption of
these rules some deer breeders may have already begun
conducting ante-mortem testing but not yet tested 50 percent of
eligible-aged deer, a temporary provision is included to allow a
breeding facility that submits "not detected" ante-mortem test
results for at least 25 percent of the eligible aged deer in the
facility to be temporarily classified as TC 1; however, the facility
must provide the balance of the required tests by May 15, 2017.

In addition, the change eliminates proposed §65.95(b)(1)(B) re-
garding the failure to comply with TC 1 testing requirements. Un-
der the rules as proposed, a TC 1 breeding facility that ante-
mortem tested 80% of the eligible deer in the facility but failed

to submit the required post-mortem test results to retain its TC
1 status would be reduced in status to a TC 2 facility, but would
have been given a 60-day window to submit the substitution test
results necessary to regain TC 1 status. If, however, a TC 1
breeding facility that had been reduced in status for failure to
provide sufficient post-mortem test results did not provide suffi-
cient substitution test results within the 60-day period to regain
TC 1 status, the breeding facility would not be eligible to regain
TC 1 status for two years. This was necessary due to the higher
minimum post-mortem testing standard set forth for TC 1 status
as opposed to the lower standard for basic MQ testing require-
ments. Conversely, the MQ requirements in §65.94(b), as pro-
posed and as adopted, provide that a breeding facility that has
been designated as NMQ for failure to comply with the MQ test-
ing requirements, would be restored to MQ upon submission of
the required test results. Because the adopted rule applies a
standard MQ testing requirement to all facilities, it is unneces-
sary to retain the requirement for regaining TC 1 status within
60-days, as the provisions for regaining MQ status will suffice,
so long as lower status breeder deer are not introduced into the
TC 1 facility.

The change to §65.95(b) also modifies proposed paragraph
(3)(A) and (C) to add the word "quarantine" to the list of TAHC
actions that could result in the designation of a breeding facility
as a TC 3 facility. A TAHC quarantine would prevent movement
of deer. As a result, it is necessary to include quarantine, in
addition to other TAHC actions impacting the movement of deer.

Several changes are made to §65.95(c), which addresses re-
lease sites. As proposed, §65.95(c)(1)(A) stipulated that a re-
lease site consisted solely of the specific tract of land to which
deer are released and acreage designated as a release site.
However, commenters were concerned that this provision would
prevent a landowner from altering the release site by remov-
ing cross-fencing or making other changes following changes in
ownership. The department has determined that such release
site modifications need not be prohibited, although any testing
obligations should also apply to the new acreage. Therefore,
the change allows modification of the release site description
provided the department is notified prior to the physical modi-
fication.

As proposed, §65.95(c)(1)(B) stipulated that liberated breeder
deer must have complete, unrestricted access to the entirety of
the release site. This provision was intended to ensure clarity re-
garding the sites on which release site testing obligations apply.
As a result of public comment, the department determined that
there are circumstances under which a landowner legitimately
should be able to exclude deer from certain areas, such as land-
ing strips and crops. Therefore, the change allows the exclusion
of deer for purposes of human safety or the protection of agricul-
tural resources.

As proposed, §65.95(c)(1)(C) stipulated that breeder deer could
be liberated only to release sites surrounded by a fence capable
of retaining deer at all times and that the owner of the release
site was required to ensure the integrity of gates and fencing.
As a result of public comment, the department determined that
it was necessary to acknowledge that the provision is subject
to mitigating circumstances such as natural disasters and other
unintentional disruptors. Therefore, the change specifies that
infrastructure integrity be maintained under "reasonable and or-
dinary" circumstances.

As proposed, §65.95(c)(1)(D) would have release-site testing re-
quirements continue in effect for five consecutive years following

ADOPTED RULES

August 5, 2016 41 TexReg 5729



the date of each liberation that resulted in release-site testing.
With the elimination of the proposed release-site testing require-
ments after March 1, 2019 (except for sites that have not sub-
mitted the required test results), the five-year time period is no
longer necessary. In addition, for consistency with subsection
(c)(3), a statement was added regarding the requirement that a
release site submit release site test results until the release site's
testing obligations have been satisfied, regardless of the March
1, 2019 general expiration of Class Il release site testing.

The change to §65.95 also rewords subsection (c)(2) to provide
that a facility will be considered a Class | release site if (in addi-
tion to not being a Class Il of Class Il release site), it receives
deer only from a TC 1 facility after August 15, 2016. As noted
elsewhere in this preamble, the department intends for the rules
to go into effect August 15, 2016. Under the provisions of §65.98
as adopted, a release site that is in compliance with the provi-
sions of the Interim Breeder Rules as of August 15, 2016 will
not be subject to release site testing until deer are liberated onto
the release site that would trigger release site testing under the
rules as adopted. Since release sites that were compliant with
the Interim Rules will be "reset," it is necessary to clarify that the
release of deer from other than a TC 1 facility prior to August 15,
2016 will not result in a compliant release site being considered
other than a Class | release site, so long as the only breeder deer
released on the release site after August 15, 2016, are from TC
1 facilities.

The change to §65.95 also alters (c)(3) to replace the testing
obligations for Class Il release sites with a less complicated stan-
dard and to provide for the expiration of Class Il release site test-
ing. As discussed earlier in this preamble, the changes to the
proposed rulemaking are intended to address public comment
and reflect intensive interactions with the regulated community
and stakeholder groups, particularly the desire to minimize or
eliminate release-testing obligations. Therefore, the change to
§65.95(c) requires Class Il release sites to test the first deer har-
vested and every deer harvested after the first deer, with no re-
lease-site owner required to test more than 15 deer in a single
season for each year that release site testing is required. As pro-
posed, Class Il release site owners would have been required to
provide "not detected" test results for 50 percent of harvested
liberated breeder deer or, if no liberated breeder deer were har-
vested, 50 percent of hunter-harvested deer, and would have
been required to test for a minimum of five years following any
release of TC 2 deer. However, in an effort to simplify the re-
quirements, which will in turn facilitate compliance and enforce-
ment, the rules as adopted provide for testing up to the first 15
deer harvested at the release site. After analyzing 2015-2016
harvest data at Class Il release sites, the department concluded
that requiring every deer harvested at a site (but not more than
15) to be tested would enhance the level of release site testing at
most sites. Thus, the change results in a simpler standard that
is easier to comply with and enforce while remaining epidemio-
logically efficacious.

The change to §65.95(c)(3) also provides for the expiration of
release site testing for Class Il release sites in subparagraph
(C). As discussed above, in response to comments and con-
cerns about release site testing, required release site testing is
being eliminated after March 1, 2019. However, the expiration
of release site testing does not obviate the requirement that re-
lease sites provide required tests. Therefore, §65.95(c)(3)(C)
provides that release site testing for Class Il release sites ex-
pires on March 1, 2019, for release sites that are in compliance
with the release site testing requirements. For release sites that

are not compliant with release site testing requirements, the re-
quirements shall continue until the required tests have been sub-
mitted.

Finally, the change to §65.95 adds an inadvertently omitted
pronoun "it" and to add the term "quarantine" in subsection
(c)(4)(A)(ii), for the same reason discussed in the change to
§65.95(b) previously in this preamble.

Changes to Movement of DMP Deer

The change to §65.96, concerning Movement of DMP Deer, re-
places the CWD testing obligations in proposed paragraph (1)(B)
with a requirement for the landowner of the release site to test
the first hunter-harvested deer and every hunter-harvested deer
thereafter, but no more than 15 hunter-harvested deer are re-
quired to be tested in a single season. The change is made for
the same reasons discussed in the change to testing require-
ments for Class Il release sites discussed in the changes to
§65.95(c).

The change to §65.96(1) also adds subparagraph (C) to clarify
the expiration of release site testing on March 1, 2019, and the
obligation to continue to provide test results until test result sub-
mission requirements have been met, regardless of the March 1,
2019 release site testing expiration. The reason for this change
is the same as was discussed in connection with the changes to
§65.95(c)(3)(C), above.

The change to §65.96 also alters paragraph (2) to clarify that the
department will not authorize the transfer of deer to a DMP facil-
ity from a Class Il release site or from a release site or breeding
facility that is not in compliance with the testing requirements of
the section. As proposed, the transfer of a deer to a DMP facility
from a TC 3 breeding facility would not be authorized. However,
like deer in a TC 3 breeding facility, deer from a Class Il release
site or a release site that is not in compliance with applicable
rules also pose a higher risk of having been exposed to CWD.
A Class lll release site is an unsuitable source of deer for DMP
activities because it has received exposed deer or is under a
hold order or quarantine issued by TAHC. Also, under §65.97 as
proposed and as adopted, the department will not issue a Triple
T permit for any trap site that has received breeder deer within
the previous five years. A Triple T permit is the only method
by which deer may be introduced to a DMP facility other than
by deer breeder permit or by trapping of free-ranging deer resi-
dent on the property for which the DMP is issued. Additionally,
any source of deer that is delinquent or deficient in complying
with CWD testing obligations should not be authorized to transfer
deer because of the possibility of spreading CWD. The change
to §65.96(2) will provide greater consistency with the provisions
regarding Triple T permits in §65.97.

Changes to Testing and Movement of Deer Pursuant to Triple T
or TTP Permit

The change to §65.97(a)(1) stipulates that "unless expressly pro-
vided otherwise in this section," the disease detection provisions
of 31 TAC §65.102 cease effect upon the effective date of the
new section. Because of the change to §65.97(a)(5) to refer-
ence the marking requirements of §65.102, it is necessary to
recognize that a provision of §65.102 will continue to apply.

The change to §65.97, concerning Testing and Movement of
Deer Pursuant to a Triple T or TTP Permit, alters subsection
(a)(5) to clarify that the tagging requirements imposed by the rule
as adopted are in addition to existing identification requirements
imposed by current regulation at 31 TAC §65.102. The depart-
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ment received several comments concerning the tagging of deer
released pursuant to a Triple T permit. This change is necessary
to ensure clarity. In addition, as a result of public comment, the
testing requirement for Triple T release sites was eliminated. As
a result, provisions requiring or referencing release site testing
in subsection (a)(9)-(12) have been removed. The requirement
to conduct trap site testing, in addition to the limitations on the
sites from which deer may be trapped, has been determined to
be epidemiologically sufficient to dispense with required Triple T
release site testing.

Changes to Transition Provisions

The change to §65.98, concerning Transition Provisions, alters
the provisions of proposed subsection (c) to harmonize the rule
with the changes made to §65.94 and §65.95, discussed earlier
in this preamble. The change allows Class | release sites that
receive breeder deer from a TC 2 breeding facility after the ef-
fective date of the rule to be designated Class | at the close of
the 2016/17 hunting year if release site complies with all testing
requirements in that season and the source breeding facility or
facilities have subsequently become TC 1 or all deer received
from TC 2 source facilities are harvested and tested with "not
detected" test results. In addition, subsection (d)(1) (subsection
(c)(1) as proposed) was modified to specify that noncompliant
release sites must comply with the adopted rules' requirements
for three "consecutive" years. In addition, subsection (d)(2) (sub-
section (c)(2) as proposed) was modified to clarify that noncom-
pliant release sites would be ineligible to receive deer transferred
pursuant to a DMP, in addition to a Triple T permit.

Under Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter E, the
department may issue permits authorizing the trapping, trans-
porting, and transplanting of game animals and game birds for
better wildlife management (popularly referred to as "Triple T"
permits). In addition, the department may issue permits au-
thorizing the trapping, transporting and processing of surplus
white-tailed deer (popularly referred to as TTP permits) and per-
mits for the removal of urban white-tailed deer.

Under Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter L, the
department regulates the possession of captive-raised deer
within a facility for breeding purposes and the release of such
deer. A deer breeder permit affords deer breeders certain
privileges, such as (among other things) the authority to buy,
sell, transfer, lease, and release captive-bred white-tailed and
mule deer, subject to the regulations of the Commission and
the conditions of the permit. Breeder deer may be purchased,
sold, transferred, leased, or received only for purposes of
propagation or liberation. There are currently approximately
1,200 permitted deer breeders (operating more than 1,250 deer
breeding facilities) in Texas.

Under Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapters R and
R-1, and Deer Management Permit (DMP) regulations for white-
tailed deer at 31 TAC Chapter 65, Subchapter D, the department
may allow the temporary possession of free-ranging white-tailed
or mule deer for propagation within an enclosure on property
surrounded by a fence capable of retaining deer. At the current
time, there are no rules authorizing DMP activities for mule deer.

In addition, department regulations authorize the introduction of
a deer from a deer breeding facility into a DMP facility for prop-
agation. Deer breeders are permitted under Parks and Wildlife
Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter L and 31 TAC Chapter 65, Sub-
chapter T.

The new rules include requirements regarding the release, reten-
tion and movement of deer pursuant to DMPs, Triple T permits,
TTP permits, and deer breeder permits.

CWD Background

The department and TAHC have been concerned for over a
decade about the possible emergence of CWD in free-ranging
and captive deer populations in Texas. TAHC is the state
agency authorized to manage "any disease or agent of trans-
mission for any disease that affects livestock, exotic livestock,
domestic fowl, or exotic fowl, regardless of whether the disease
is communicable, even if the agent of transmission is an animal
species that is not subject to the jurisdiction" of TAHC. Tex.
Agric. Code §161.041(b).

As a result, the department and the TAHC have worked closely
to protect susceptible species of exotic and native wildlife from
CWD, and developed a Chronic Wasting Disease Management
Plan (the Plan) to guide the department and TAHC in address-
ing risks, developing management strategies, and protecting big
game resources from CWD in captive or free-ranging cervid pop-
ulations. The most recent version of the Plan was finalized in
March 2015. Much of the information provided in this preamble
is also contained in the Plan.

CWD is a fatal neurodegenerative disorder that affects
some cervid species, including white-tailed deer, mule deer,
black-tailed deer, elk, red deer, sika, moose, and their hybrids
(susceptible species). It is classified as a TSE (transmissible
spongiform encephalopathy), a family of diseases that includes
scrapie (found in sheep), bovine spongiform encephalopathy
(BSE, found in cattle), and variant Creutzfeldt-Jakob disease
(vCJD) (found in humans). Much remains unknown about CWD.
The peculiarities of its transmission (how it is passed from
animal to animal), infection rate (the frequency of occurrence
through time or other comparative standard), incubation period
(the time from exposure to clinical manifestation), and potential
for transmission to other species are still being investigated.
There is no scientific evidence to indicate that CWD is transmis-
sible to humans.

What is known is that it is a progressive, fatal disease with no
known immunity or treatment. CWD is known to occur via nat-
ural transmission in white-tailed deer, mule deer, black-tailed
deer, red deer, sika deer, elk, and moose (Sohn et al. 2011,
CWD Alliance 2012, Saunders et al. 2012). There are two
primary sources of exposure to CWD for uninfected deer: (1)
CWD infected deer, and (2) CWD contaminated environments
(Williams et al. 2002, Miller et al. 2004, Mathiason et al. 2009).
It is believed that some TSE prions may appear spontaneously
and sporadically, but there is no evidence of spontaneous CWD
(Chesebro 2004). The presence of infected deer over time in-
creases the number of infectious CWD prions in the environ-
ment. As CWD becomes established in an area, environmen-
tal contamination may become the primary source of exposure
for uninfected deer. Conversely, in areas where CWD is not es-
tablished, and where the environment is relatively uncontami-
nated, direct animal contact is considered the most likely source
of transmission of CWD to uninfected deer.

CWD is an additional mortality factor in deer populations, and
data indicate that mortality rates can surpass fawn recruitment
in local populations with high CWD prevalence. This additive
mortality can result in declining population trends. CWD does
not have the immediate short-term impacts to deer populations
that may be seen with some other diseases such as anthrax or
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epizootic hemorrhagic disease (EHD); however, insidious, per-
sistent diseases that increase in prevalence in early years with
no noticeable impacts, such as CWD, may be more likely to influ-
ence long-term population dynamics. CWD prevalence is much
higher and has increased more rapidly in some populations than
what is often proclaimed. For example, the Wyoming Game
and Fish Department has been monitoring an infected mule deer
population in southeast Wyoming since 2001, when there were
an estimated 14,393 mule deer and a CWD prevalence of 15%.
Ten years later, the disease prevalence was 57% and the mule
deer population was estimated at less than 7,500 deer.

In addition, studies have found that CWD-positive deer were
much more likely to die as compared to their uninfected coun-
terparts. While CWD-positive deer in the studies that did sur-
vive to the clinical stages of the disease did eventually succumb
to CWD, preclinical CWD-positive animals were also shown to
be more vulnerable to other mortality factors such as predation,
hunter harvest, and vehicle collisions.

In early stages of infection, limiting the growth of environmental
contamination through the reduction of infected individuals may
offer some control in limiting disease prevalence and distribu-
tion (Wasserberg et al. 2009, Almberg et al. 2011). However,
infected individuals on the landscape serve as a reservoir for
prions which will be shed into the environment. Prions are shed
from infected animals in saliva, urine, blood, soft-antler material,
and feces (Gough et al. 2009, Mathiason et al. 2009, Saun-
ders et al. 2012). There are no known management strategies
to mitigate the risk of indirect transmission of CWD once an en-
vironment has been contaminated with infectious prions. This
makes eradication of CWD very difficult, if not impossible in ar-
eas where CWD has been established for a long period before
initial detection. Although the incubation period for CWD is not
fully understood, a susceptible species infected with CWD is ex-
pected to display symptoms within five years after infection.

As CWD is invariably fatal, a high prevalence of the disease in
free-ranging populations has been correlated to deer population
declines. Human dimensions research suggests that hunters
will avoid areas of high CWD prevalence (See, e.g. Duda 2011,
Needham et al. 2007, Vaske 2009, Zimmer 2012). The poten-
tial implications of CWD for Texas and its annual, multi-billion
dollar ranching, hunting, real estate, tourism, and wildlife man-
agement-related economies could be significant, unless it is con-
tained and controlled.

The number of states and provinces in which CWD has been
discovered has steadily increased in the past decade, forcing
many state and provincial wildlife agencies, hunters, and stake-
holders to confront the myriad of consequences and implications
this disease presents. Implications of CWD are often centered
on the anticipated, or unknown potential impacts to wild cervid
populations, most notably concerns for population declines re-
sulting from infected herds. Disease eradication is expected to
become less attainable as CWD becomes more established in a
population, emphasizing the criticality of a sound CWD surveil-
lance and response plan. Of course, disease prevention is the
best approach to protecting cervid populations and avoiding so-
cial and economic repercussions resulting from CWD or other
wildlife diseases (Sleeman & Gillin 2012).

In addressing CWD, the CWD Management Plan sets forth three
major goals: (1) Minimize CWD risks to the free-ranging and cap-
tive white-tailed deer, mule deer, and other susceptible species
in Texas; (2) Establish and maintain support for prudent CWD
management with hunters, landowners, and other stakeholders;

and (3) Minimize direct and indirect impacts of CWD to hunting,
hunting related economies, and conservation in Texas. The de-
partment is guided by these three goals in the development of
rules needed to address CWD. The intent of the new rules is to
increase the probability of detecting and containing CWD where
it exists.

Discovery of CWD

As noted above, the department has been concerned for over a
decade about the possible emergence of CWD in free-ranging
and captive deer populations in Texas. Since 2002, more than
45,000 "not detected" CWD test results have been obtained from
free-ranging (i.e., not breeder) deer in Texas, and deer breeders
have submitted approximately 20,000 "not detected" test results
as well. The intent of the proposed new rules is to reduce the
probability of CWD being spread from facilities where it might
exist and to increase the probability of detecting and containing
CWD if it does exist.

On June 30, 2015, the department received confirmation that a
two-year-old white-tailed deer held in a deer breeding facility in
Medina County ("index facility") had tested positive for CWD. Un-
der the provisions of the Agriculture Code, §161.101(a)(6), CWD
is a reportable disease and requires a veterinarian, veterinary
diagnostic laboratory, or person having care, custody, or control
of an animal to report the existence of CWD to TAHC within 24
hours after diagnosis. Subsequent testing confirmed the pres-
ence of CWD in additional white-tailed deer at the index facility.
The source of the CWD at the index facility is unknown at this
time. Within the five years preceding the discovery of CWD in the
index facility, the index facility had accepted deer from 30 other
Texas deer breeders and transferred 835 deer to 147 separate
sites (including 96 deer breeding facilities, 46 release sites, and
two DMP facilities in Texas, as well as two destinations in Mex-
ico). The department estimates that more than 728 locations in
Texas (including 384 deer breeders) either received deer from
the index facility or received deer from a deer breeder who had
received deer from the index facility. At least one of those loca-
tions, a deer breeding facility in Lavaca County, was also con-
firmed to have a CWD positive white-tailed deer acquired from
the index facility.

Heightened testing requirements resulted in additional discov-
eries. A total of 25 white-tailed breeder deer have now been
confirmed positive at four facilities (including the index facility).
A total of four CWD positive deer were found in the index fa-
cility. Five CWD positive deer that originated from the index
facility were discovered in the Lavaca County facility. A CWD
positive deer was harvested from a Medina County release site
and another CWD positive deer was sampled in the associated
breeding facility located on the same ranch. While this breed-
ing facility is epidemiologically linked to the index facility, neither
positive deer at this location originated from the index facility.
More recently, another CWD positive deer was reported in an-
other Medina County deer breeding facility and subsequent test-
ing revealed an additional thirteen CWD positive deer from the
same facility, totaling 14. A free-ranging hunter-harvested mule
deer in Hartley County was also confirmed to have CWD, as well
as another hunter-harvested deer in the Hueco Mountains.

Previous CWD Rulemaking

The department has engaged in several rulemakings over the
years to address the threat posed by CWD. In 2005, the de-
partment closed the Texas border to the entry of out-of-state
captive white-tailed and mule deer and increased regulatory re-
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quirements regarding disease monitoring and record keeping.
(The closing of the Texas border to entry of out-of-state cap-
tive white-tailed and mule deer was updated, effective in January
2010, to address other disease threats to white-tailed and mule
deer (35 TexReg 252).)

On July 10, 2012, the department confirmed that two mule deer
sampled in the Texas portion of the Hueco Mountains tested pos-
itive for CWD. In response, the department and TAHC convened
the CWD Task Force, comprised of wildlife-health professionals
and cervid producers, to advise the department on the appropri-
ate measures to be taken to protect white-tailed and mule deer in
Texas. Based on recommendations from the CWD Task Force,
the department adopted new rules in 2013 (37 TexReg 10231)
to implement a CWD containment strategy in far West Texas.
The rules (31 TAC §§65.80-65.88), among other things, require
deer harvested in a specific geographical area (the Containment
Zone), to be presented at check stations to be tested for CWD.

In response to the first discovery of CWD in a deer breeding facil-
ity in Medina County, the department adopted emergency rules
on August 18, 2015 (40 TexReg 5566) to address deer breed-
ing facilities and release sites for breeder deer. The department
followed the emergency rulemaking with the "interim" rules that
are proposed for repeal as part of this rulemaking, which were
published for public comment in the October 2, 2015, issue of
the Texas Register, adopted by the Commission on November
5, 2015, and published for adoption in the January 29, 2016, is-
sue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 815).

The department also adopted emergency rules governing DMP
and Triple T activities (effective October 5, 2015, published in the
October 23, 2015, issue of the Texas Register (40 TexReg 7305,
7307) and followed with interim DMP rules published for public
comment in the December 18, 2015, issue of the Texas Register
(40 TexReg 9086), adopted by the Commission on January 21,
2016, and published for adoption in the February 19, 2016, issue
of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 1250).

Current Rulemaking

To ensure that the concerns and interests of the regulated
community were fully understood and considered, the depart-
ment engaged the Center for Public Policy Dispute Resolution
(CPPDR) at the University of Texas School of Law to provide
facilitation services for the spectrum of stakeholders (includ-
ing deer breeders, landowners and land managers, hunters,
veterinarians, wildlife enthusiasts, the Texas Animal Health
Commission (TAHC), and the department), the purpose of
which was to negotiate and develop a consensus concerning
the essential components of eventual regulations to compre-
hensively address and implement effective chronic wasting
disease (CWD) management strategies. The stakeholder group
convened three times during February and March, at which
time apparent consensus was reached. The stakeholders also
participated in a final phone conference on March 21. The
official report of the facilitator is available on the department's
website at http://tpwd.texas.gov/huntwild/wild/diseases/cwd/.

At the March 23, 2016 meeting of the Texas Parks and Wildlife
Commission (Commission), department staff briefed the Com-
mission on the process and results of the facilitation and
presented a synoptic overview of the substantive regulatory
provisions being recommended for proposal by staff to address
both the consensus issues that emerged from the facilitation and
additional regulatory components necessary to operationalize

consensus decisions, as well as other regulatory components
deemed necessary but on which there was no consensus.

Following the publication of the proposed rules in the Texas Reg-
ister, on April 22, 2016, as part of the process for soliciting public
comment, the department staff, as well as a facilitator from CP-
PDR continued to engage stakeholders. At the May 26, 2016
Commission meeting, the Commission heard public testimony
regarding the rules. However, the Commission postponed ac-
tion on the proposed rules in order to facilitate additional efforts
to arrive at consensus with stakeholders and the regulated com-
munity. A special Commission meeting was held on June 20,
2016, at which time the Commission heard additional public tes-
timony.

In addition to the facilitated process, and responses to com-
ments and public testimony, the new rules, as adopted, are a re-
sult of extensive cooperation between the department and TAHC
to protect susceptible species of exotic and native wildlife from
CWD. TAHC is the state agency authorized to manage "any dis-
ease or agent of transmission for any disease that affects live-
stock, exotic livestock, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl, regardless
of whether the disease is communicable, even if the agent of
transmission is an animal species that is not subject to the juris-
diction" of TAHC. Tex. Agric. Code §161.041(b).

Although a lasting consensus among all participants was not
achieved through the facilitated rulemaking, the basis for the
rules as proposed was developed through this process.

The rules being repealed were intended to function as interim
rules (referred to herein as Interim Deer Breeder Rules) in order
to maintain regulatory continuity for the duration of the 2015-16
deer season and the period immediately thereafter. As stated in
previous rulemakings, the department's intent was to review the
interim rules, as well as the emergency rules regarding Triple
T and TTP permits and DMP, and, based on additional infor-
mation from the ongoing epidemiological investigation, disease
surveillance data collected from captive and free ranging deer
herds, guidance from TAHC, and input from stakeholder groups,
present the results of that review to the Commission in the spring
of 2016 for possible modifications. The rules adopted herein re-
sulted from that process.

New §65.90, concerning Definitions, sets forth the meanings of
specialized words and terms in order to eliminate ambiguity and
enhance compliance and enforcement.

New §65.90(1) defines "accredited testing facility" as "a labora-
tory approved by the United States Department of Agriculture to
test white-tailed deer or mule deer for CWD." The definition is
necessary in order to provide a standard for testing facilities.

New §65.90(2) defines "ante-mortem" testing as "a CWD test
performed on a live deer." The definition is necessary because
the new rules allow or require ante-mortem testing in addition to
post-mortem testing.

New §65.90(3) defines "breeder deer" as "a white-tailed deer or
mule deer possessed under a permit issued by the department
pursuant to Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter L,
and Subchapter T of this chapter." The definition is necessary to
establish a shorthand term for a phrase that is used frequently
in the new rules but cumbersome to repeat.

New §65.90(4) defines "confirmed" as "a CWD test result of "pos-
itive" received from the National Veterinary Service Laboratories
(NVSL) of the United States Department of Agriculture." The def-
inition is necessary in order to provide a definitive standard for
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asserting the presence of CWD in a sample. Samples collected
from breeder deer are sent initially to an accredited testing facil-
ity, such as the Texas Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory
(TVMDL). A test result of "suspect" is returned when CWD is
detected, and a tissue sample is forwarded to the NVSL for con-
firmation.

New §65.90(5) defines "CWD" as "chronic wasting disease." The
definition is necessary to provide an acronym for a term that is
used repeatedly in the rules.

New §65.90(6) defines "CWD-positive facility" as "a facility
where CWD has been confirmed." The definition is necessary
because the new rules contain provisions that are predicated
on whether or not CWD has been detected and confirmed in a
given deer breeding, deer management permit (DMP), nursing,
or other facility authorized to possess white-tailed deer or mule
deer.

New §65.90(7) defines "deer breeder" as "a person who holds a
valid deer breeder's permit issued pursuant to Parks and Wildlife
Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter L, and Subchapter T of this chap-
ter." As with several other definitions in the new rules, the defini-
tion is necessary to establish a shorthand term for a phrase that
is used frequently in the new rules but cumbersome to repeat.

New §65.90(8) defines "deer breeding facility (breeding facility)"
as "a facility permitted to hold breeder deer under a permit is-
sued by the department pursuant to Parks and Wildlife Code,
Chapter 43, Subchapter L, and Subchapter T of this chapter."
As with several other definitions in the new rules, the definition
is necessary to establish a shorthand term for a phrase that is
used frequently in the new rules but cumbersome to repeat.

New §65.90(9) defines "department (department)" as "Texas
Parks and Wildlife Department." The definition is necessary
to avoid confusion, since the new rules contain references to
another state agency.

New §65.90(10) defines "Deer Management Permit (DMP)" as
"a permit issued under the provisions of Parks and Wildlife Code,
Subchapter R or R-1 and Subchapter D of this chapter (relating
to Deer Management Permit (DMP)) that authorizes the tem-
porary detention of deer for the purpose of propagation." The
new rules regulate certain aspects of activities conducted under
a DMP and a definition is necessary to avoid any confusion as
to what is meant by the term.

New §65.90(11) defines "eligible-aged deer." This definition pro-
vides two standards for determining if a deer is an "eligible-aged
deer." Under §65.90(11)(A), "if the deer is held in a breeding fa-
cility enrolled in the TAHC CWD Herd Certification Program" an
eligible-aged deer is a deer that is "12 months of age or older."
However, for any other deer, an eligible-aged deer is a deer
that is "16 months of age or older." CWD is difficult to detect in
deer younger than 12 months of age. The department's previous
CWD testing rules at §65.604(e) of this title provided for testing
of mortalities that were 16 months or older. The departmentis re-
taining that standard but is also recognizing that the TAHC and
the United States Department Agriculture (USDA) use a stan-
dard of 12 months.

New §65.90(12) defines "eligible mortality" as "an eligible-aged
deer that has died." Because the rules provide for post-mortem
testing of deer, it is necessary to define an "eligible" mortality"
from which a valid post-mortem sample can be collected and
tested. As mentioned earlier, CWD is difficult to detect in younger
animals; therefore, the test results required to engage in cer-

tain activities under the new rules must be obtained from eligible
aged deer.

New §65.90(13) defines "exposed deer." This definition replaces
the former definition used in the Interim Breeder Rules for "Tier
1," which proved to be easily confused with other terms used
in the rules, such as "TC 1." The definition provides that "un-
less the department determines through an epidemiological in-
vestigation that a specific breeder deer has not been exposed to
CWD, an exposed deer is a white-tailed deer or mule deer that is
in a CWD-positive facility or was in a CWD-positive facility within
the five years preceding the confirmation of CWD in that facility."
The definition is necessary to distinguish the circumstances un-
der which certain provisions of the new rules are applicable. The
five-year timeframe was selected because a deer infected with
CWD could shed prions (the infectious agent believed to cause
CWD) and infect other animals during this period before exhibit-
ing clinical symptoms of the disease. However, if an epidemio-
logical investigation concludes that any part of the five-year win-
dow is unnecessary, the status of "exposed" could be altered.

New §65.90(14) defines "facility" as "any location required to be
registered in TWIMS under a deer breeder permit, Triple T per-
mit, or DMP, including release sites and/or trap sites." The defi-
nition is necessary to provide a shorthand term for the locations
to which the new rules apply, rather than having to enumerate
a cumbersome list of sites. (As explained below, TWIMS is the
department's Texas Wildlife Information Management Services
online application.)

New §65.90(15) defines "hunter-harvested deer" as "a deer re-
quired to be tagged under the provisions of Subchapter A of
this chapter (relating to Statewide Hunting Proclamation)." The
definition is necessary because the proposed rules in some in-
stances require deer harvested by hunters (as opposed to other
types of mortality) to be tested for CWD.

New §65.90(16) defines "hunting year." Because the new rules
stipulate the testing of deer harvested by lawful hunting, it is
necessary to create a term that covers hunting under the nor-
mal seasons and bag limits established for each county by the
Commission and hunting that occurs during the period of validity
of tags issued pursuant to the Managed Lands Deer program;
therefore, "hunting year" is defined as "that period of time be-
tween September 1 and August 31 of any year when it is lawful
to hunt deer under the provisions of Subchapter A of this chapter
(relating to Statewide Hunting Proclamation)."

New §65.90(17) defines "Interim Breeder Rules" as "rules re-
garding Chronic Wasting Disease-Movement of Deer, approved
by the Commission on November 5, 2015, and published in the
Texas Register on January 29, 2016 (41 TexReg 815)." The defi-
nition is necessary because the new rules reference compliance
with the Interim Breeder Rules; therefore, a definition is neces-
sary to establish a shorthand term for a phrase that is used in
the new rules but cumbersome to repeat.

New §65.90(18) defines "landowner (owner)" as "any person
who has an ownership interest in a tract of land, and includes a
landowner's authorized agent." The definition is necessary be-
cause the new rules set forth testing requirements and other
obligations for persons who own land where breeder deer are
released.

New §65.90(19) defines "landowner's authorized agent (agent)"
as "a person designated by a landowner to act on the
landowner's behalf." The definition is necessary for the same
reason set forth in the discussion of new §65.90(18).

41 TexReg 5734 August 5, 2016 Texas Register



New §65.90(20) defines "liberated deer" as "a free-ranging deer
that bears evidence of a tattoo (including partial or illegible tat-
tooing) or of having been eartagged at any time (holes, rips,
notches, etc. in the ear tissue)." The definition is necessary be-
cause the new rules, in certain circumstances, require the test-
ing of hunter-harvested deer that could be identified as deer that
have been liberated.

New §65.90(21) defines "Movement Qualified (MQ) as "a desig-
nation made by the department pursuant to this division that al-
lows a deer breeder to lawfully transfer breeder deer." The new
rules impose requirements, including a minimum level of testing,
that deer breeding facilities must meet in order to be authorized
by the department to transfer breeder deer under the rules. ltis
therefore necessary to create a shorthand term to reference that
ability.

New §65.90(22) defines "Not Movement Qualified (NMQ)" as "a
designation made by the department pursuant to this division
that prohibits the transfer of deer by a deer breeder." Because
the new rules prohibit the movement of deer from any facility that
is not MQ, a definition for that condition is necessary.

New §65.90(23) defines "NUES tag" as "an ear tag approved
by the United States Department of Agriculture for use in the
National Uniform Eartagging System (NUES)." The definition is
necessary because the new rules require certain breeder deer
and Triple T deer released to a release site to be tagged with
either a RFID or NUES tag.

New §65.90(24) defines "originating facility" as "any facility from
which deer have been transported, transferred, or released, as
provided in this division or as determined by an investigation of
the department, including for breeder deer, the source facility
identified on a transfer permit and for deer being moved under
a Triple T permit, the trap site." The new rules impose certain
requirements, restrictions, or prohibitions, based on the status
of the property or facility from which deer are moved. Therefore,
a shorthand definition is necessary to ensure clarity.

New §65.90(25) defines "post-mortem test" as "a CWD test per-
formed on a dead deer," which is necessary in order to delineate
post-mortem testing from ante-mortem testing. The new rules
impose requirements and restrictions based on the type of test
being performed.

New §65.90(26) defines "properly executed." Because the new
rules require the submission of electronic reports and forms that
provide critical information to the department, it is necessary to
make clear that all information on such a form or report must be
provided. Therefore, the new rules define "properly executed" as
"a form or report required by this division on which all required
information has been entered."

New §65.90(27) defines "reconciled herd" as "the deer held in
a breeding facility for which the department has determined that
the deer breeder has accurately reported every birth, mortality,
and transfer of deer in the previous reporting year." The definition
is necessary because the proposed rules require a deer breeder
to have a reconciled herd in order to transfer or release breeder
deer. Herd reconciliation is a necessary component of disease
management.

New §65.90(28) defines "release site" as "a specific tract of land
that has been approved by the department for the release of deer
under this division." The definition is necessary because the new
rules impose CWD testing and other requirements for certain
tracts of land where breeder deer are liberated or transferred.

New §65.90(29) defines "reporting year" as "the period of time
from April 1 of one calendar year to March 31 of the next calen-
dar year." Deer breeders are required to file annual reports with
the department. The new rules condition the eligibility of deer
breeders to transfer and release deer on the completeness and
accuracy of those reports. In addition, the new rules contain pro-
visions that begin or end with a specified reporting year. There-
fore, it is necessary to clarify the definition of "reporting year."

New §65.90(30) defines "RFID tag" as "a button-type ear tag
conforming to the 840 standards of the United States Depart-
ment of Agriculture's Animal Identification Number system." The
definition is necessary because the new rules require certain
breeder deer and Triple T deer released to release sites to be
tagged with either an RFID or NUES tag.

New §65.90(31) defines "status" as "the level of testing required
by this division for any given deer breeding facility or release
site." The definition also clarifies that the highest status for a
deer breeder is Transfer Category is 1 and the lowest status is
Transfer Category 3. Similarly, Class | is the highest status for
release sites and Class lll is the lowest. As noted previously, the
new rules categorize breeding facilities and release sites based
on relative risk. The definition is necessary because the new
rules include regulatory requirements that are predicated upon
the status of a breeding facility or release site.

New §65.90(32) defines "submit." In order to eliminate lengthy
repetition throughout the new rules, "submit" is defined as "when
used in the context of test results, provided to the department,
either directly from a deer breeder or via an accredited testing
laboratory."

New §65.90(33) defines "suspect." The testing process for de-
termining that a deer is, in fact, infected with CWD is two-fold.
If the initial test on a sample indicates the presence of the dis-
ease, the sample or another sample from the same animal is
re-tested by the National Veterinary Service Laboratories of the
United States Department of Agriculture. Because the new rules
make any facility NMQ pending confirmation (i.e., the re-test), it
is necessary to create a term for the initial test result that causes
the re-test. Therefore, "suspect" is defined as "an initial CWD
test result of "detected" that has not been confirmed."

New §65.90(34) defines "TAHC" as "Texas Animal Health Com-
mission." As noted elsewhere in this preamble, the Texas Ani-
mal Health Commission is the Texas state agency authorized to
manage "any disease or agent of transmission for any disease
that affects livestock, exotic livestock, domestic fowl, or exotic
fowl, regardless of whether the disease is communicable, even
if the agent of transmission is an animal species that is not sub-
ject to the jurisdiction" of TAHC. Tex. Agric. Code §161.041(b).
Because the new rules include provisions that are based on de-
terminations or actions of TAHC, a short-hand reference to the
agency is necessary.

New §65.90(35) defines "TAHC CWD Herd Certification Pro-
gram" as "the disease-testing and herd management require-
ments set forth in 4 TAC §40.3 (relating to Herd Status Plans
for Cervidae)." The new rules have provisions specific to deer
breeders who participated in the TAHC herd certification pro-
gram. The definition makes it clear that references to herd cer-
tification are references to the herd certification program admin-
istered by TAHC.

New §65.90(36) defines "TAHC Herd Plan" as "a set of require-
ments for disease testing and management developed by TAHC
for a specific facility." In response to the discovery of a disease
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over which TAHC has jurisdiction, including CWD, the TAHC
may issue a herd plan which imposes certain testing require-
ments and movement restrictions. The new rules in some cases
make eligibility to transfer or receive breeder deer contingent on
compliance with a herd plan developed by TAHC. The definition
makes it clear that references to herd plans are references to
herd plans developed by TAHC.

New §65.90(37) defines "Test, Test Result(s), or Test Require-
ment" as "a CWD test, CWD test result or CWD test requirement
as provided in this division." This definition is provided to ensure
clarity regarding the type of test referenced whenever the word
"test" is used without the acronym "CWD."

New §65.90(38) defines "trap site" as "a specific tract of land
approved by the department for the trapping of deer under this
chapter and Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapters
E, L, R, and R-1," which is necessary because the new rules
impose testing and reporting requirements on trap sites under
various permits.

New §65.90(39) defines "Triple T permit." Because the new rules
affect certain activities conducted under Triple T permits, the
term is defined in order to eliminate any confusion. A Triple
T permit is "a permit issued under the provisions of Parks and
Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter E, and Subchapter C of
this chapter (relating to Permits for Trapping, Transporting, and
Transplanting Game Animals and Game Birds)." In the context
of the new rules, a reference to Triple T permit is limited to a
Triple T permit for activities involving white-tailed and mule deer.

New §65.90(40) defines "Trap, Transport and Process (TTP)
permit"-as "a permit issued under the provisions of Parks and
Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter E, and Subchapter C of
this chapter (relating to Permits for Trapping, Transporting, and
Transplanting Game Animals and Game Birds), to trap, trans-
port, and process surplus white-tailed deer (TTP permit)." The
proposed definition is necessary to clarify and distinguish TTP
and Triple T permit requirements.

New §65.90(41) defines "TWIMS" as "the department's Texas
Wildlife Information Management Services (TWIMS) online ap-
plication." TWIMS is the system that is required to be used to file
required notifications and reports under the rules.

New §65.91, concerning General Provisions, sets forth a number
of provisions that are applicable to the transfer or release of deer.

New §65.91(a) stipulates that in the event that a provision of the
new rules conflicts with any other provision of 31 TAC Chap-
ter 65, other than Division 1 of Subchapter B (regarding Dis-
ease Detection and Response), the new rules apply. This provi-
sion is necessary to avoid confusion resulting from a conflict be-
tween the new rules and the agency's existing rules governing
white-tailed deer and mule deer. Provided, however, in the event
of a conflict between the new rules and Division 1 of Subchapter
B of Chapter 65, Division 1 would control. Division 1 addresses
the establishment of zones within which movement and testing
requirements apply to minimize the risk of CWD expanding be-
yond the area(s) in which it currently exists in free-ranging deer
populations. Although the new rules are intended to be indepen-
dent of the rules in Division 1, there may be instances in which
the new rules would appear to authorize an activity that is pro-
hibited by Division 1. In such a case, the provisions of Division
1 would control.

New §65.91(b) prohibits the transfer of live breeder deer or deer
trapped under a Triple T permit, TTP permit or DMP for any pur-

pose except as provided by the new rules. Because deer breed-
ers, landowners, and wildlife managers frequently transfer deer
under various permits, it is necessary in light of the emergence of
CWD in Texas deer breeding facilities as well as in free-ranging
deer to prohibit the movement of breeder deer except as autho-
rized by the proposed rules.

New §65.91(c) prohibits the movement of deer to or from any
facility where CWD has been detected, beginning with the no-
tification that a "suspect" test result has been received from an
accredited testing laboratory, irrespective of how the sample was
obtained or who collected the sample. New §65.91(c) also stipu-
lates that such prohibition takes effect immediately upon the no-
tification of a CWD "suspect" test result and continues in effect
until the department expressly authorizes the resumption of per-
mitted activities at that facility. The new provision is necessary
because CWD is an infectious disease, which makes it neces-
sary to prohibit certain activities that could result in the spread of
the disease while test results are confirmed. If a "suspect” test
result is determined to be "not detected" then the department
may authorize resumption of permitted activities. However, if
the result is "confirmed" then provisions of the rule regarding ex-
posed facilities would govern.

New §65.91(d) provides that notwithstanding any provisions of
the division, a facility may not move deer to any location if prohib-
ited by a TAHC herd plan associated with a TAHC hold order or
TAHC quarantine. As noted elsewhere in this preamble, TAHC
is the state agency authorized to manage "any disease or agent
of transmission for any disease that affects livestock, exotic live-
stock, domestic fowl, or exotic fowl, regardless of whether the
disease is communicable, even if the agent of transmission is
an animal species that is not subject to the jurisdiction" of TAHC.
Tex. Agric. Code §161.041(b). In accordance with that author-
ity, TAHC may issue a hold order or quarantine preventing the
movement of deer. New §65.91(c) clarifies that movement of
deer in violation of a TAHC hold order or quarantine is not au-
thorized.

New §65.91(e) provides that a facility (including a facility permit-
ted after the effective date of this division) that receives breeder
deer from an originating facility of lower status automatically as-
sumes the status associated with the originating facility and be-
comes subject to the testing and release requirements of the
division at that status for a minimum of two years, if the facil-
ity is a breeding facility, or for the period specified for release
sites in §65.95(c) of this title (relating to Movement of Breeder
Deer). The new rules create a tiered system of testing require-
ments based on the level of risk of transmission of CWD for each
deer breeding facility or release site. The level of risk is based
on the degree to which the facility has been monitored for the
presence of CWD, or contains or is connected to exposed ani-
mals. Epidemiological science dictates that a population receiv-
ing individuals from a higher risk population is itself at greater
risk; therefore, the new rules address such transfers from higher
risk to lower risk populations by requiring the receiving facility or
release site to comply with the testing requirements associated
with the originating facility, and stipulates a duration for the ap-
plication of continued testing requirements.

New §65.91(f) provides that a deer breeding facility that was
initially permitted after March 31, 2016 will assume the lowest
status among all originating facilities from which deer are re-
ceived. The new subsection is necessary for the same reasons
addressed in the discussion of new §65.91(e).
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New §65.91(g) provides that the designation of status by the de-
partment in and of itself does not authorize the transfer or move-
ment of deer. New §65.91(g) also prohibits any person from re-
moving or causing the removal of deer from a facility that has
been designated NMQ by the department. The provision is nec-
essary because a breeding facility of any status can be desig-
nated NMQ.

New §65.91(h) requires all applications, notifications, and re-
quests for change in status required by this division shall be sub-
mitted electronically via TWIMS or by another method expressly
authorized by the department. To provide greater regulatory effi-
ciency, itis necessary to require the use of an automated system.

New §65.91(i) provides that in the event that technical or other
circumstances prevent the development or implementation of
automated methods for collecting and submitting the data re-
quired by this division via TWIMS, the department may prescribe
alternative methods for collecting and submitting the data re-
quired by this division, which is necessary to provide for con-
tinuity of administration in the event of technical disruptions.

New §65.92, concerning CWD Testing, establishes the general
provisions regarding the collection and submission of CWD test
samples.

New §65.92(a) requires all CWD test samples at the time of sub-
mission for testing to be accompanied by a properly executed,
department-prescribed form provided for that purpose. The tech-
nical response being developed by the department provides for
Texas Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory (TVMDL), an
accredited laboratory that performs CWD testing, to notify the
department of test results electronically. By requiring persons
who submit test samples to those laboratories to use a depart-
ment-supplied form that contains data fields that can be entered
by the laboratory, the process of notification and the sharing of
records is enhanced by eliminating the need for manual upload
of test results by the permitted deer breeder and manual data en-
try by the department after the test results have been received.

New §65.92(b) sets forth the requirements for valid ante-mortem
testing, including the identification of the specific tissues that
may be used. New §65.92(b) also requires that tissue sam-
ples be collected by a licensed veterinarian, that the testing be
done by an accredited laboratory, that at least six lymphoid fol-
licles be collected, and that samples be submitted within six
months of submission from a live deer that is at least 16 months
of age and that has not been the source of a "not detected"
ante-mortem test result submitted within the previous 24 months.
To ensure consistency with the Texas Veterinary Practices Act
(Occupations Code, Chapter 801), regulations applicable to the
practice of veterinary medicine in Texas, and regulations of the
TAHC, this subsection requires that ante-mortem samples be
collected by a licensed veterinarian authorized to do so by the
referenced statutes and regulations. Additionally, in order to be
epidemiologically valuable, tissue samples must be extracted
from deer older than 16 months of age. Finally, the most sig-
nificant epidemiological distinction between ante-mortem testing
and post-mortem testing is that the testing of animals that have
died provides a much higher likelihood of detecting the presence
of disease, since diseased animals are more likely to die than
healthy animals. In order to prevent the repeated use of tissues
from an animal that has produced "not detected" results in the
recent past, it is necessary to stipulate a minimum frequency
that an animal may be used to provide tissue samples. The de-
partment has chosen the 24-month interval to increase the like-
lihood that sufficient host tissues are available for testing and to

prevent the continued use of a single deer to provide tests. It
should also be noted that although ante-mortem testing has not
yet been acknowledged as an official test protocol by the USDA,
the submission of a "suspect" ante-mortem test may cause the
subject animal to be euthanized and subjected to post-mortem
testing for confirmation.

New §65.92(c) sets forth the requirements for post-mortem test-
ing, stipulating that a post-mortem CWD test is not valid unless
it is performed by an accredited testing laboratory on the obex
or the medial retropharyngeal lymph node of an eligible mortality
and may be collected only by a qualified licensed veterinarian,
TAHC-certified CWD sample collector, or other person approved
by the department. Obviously, the department's efforts to de-
tect and contain CWD depend on the quality of the testing itself.
At the current time, USDA will not certify herd plans for deer
unless post-mortem CWD testing is performed by laboratories
that have been approved by USDA. The standard for approval
is compliance with 9 CFR §55.8, which sets forth the specific
tests, methodology, and procedure for conducting post-mortem
CWD tests. Therefore, in order to ensure that post-mortem CWD
tests are performed in accordance with uniform standards, the
new rules require all CWD tests to be performed by a laboratory
approved by USDA. Additionally, the new subsection specifies
which tissues must be submitted and who is authorized to col-
lect those tissues. At the current time, the only CWD testing
approved by USDA must be performed on certain tissues from
eligible mortalities, such as the obex (a structure in the brain)
or certain lymph nodes. To ensure that valid samples are col-
lected, the new subsection also stipulates that the sample may
only be collected by a qualified licensed veterinarian, TAHC-cer-
tified CWD sample collector, or other person approved by the
department.

New §65.92(d) allows ante-mortem tests to be substituted for
required post-mortem tests at a ratio of 3:1. The department ac-
knowledges that natural mortality is unpredictable and that there
will be time periods when test results for a sufficient number of
mortalities cannot be submitted; therefore, the new rule allows
substitution of ante-mortem tests for post-mortem tests. For rea-
sons noted earlier in this preamble, test results from natural mor-
talities have a higher epidemiological value than ante-mortem
tests; therefore, if ante-mortem tests are being conducted in lieu
of post-mortem tests, the new rules provide that three "not de-
tected" ante-mortem test results are required for each "not de-
tected" post-mortem test result required.

New §65.92(e) prohibits the use of a single ante-mortem test re-
sult more than once to satisfy any testing requirement of the di-
vision. From an epidemiological perspective, the use of one test
result to satisfy more than one testing requirement (especially
if the submissions take place in more than one reporting year)
creates a weakness in disease mitigation because the different
ante-mortem testing requirements were developed to be used
in combination, and to submit one test to meet two independent
criteria does not provide the probability of detection anticipated
by the department and on which the rules were based.

New §65.92(f) stipulates that the testing requirements of the di-
vision cannot be altered by the sale or subdivision of a property
to a related party if the purpose of the sale or subdivision is to
avoid the requirements of this division. The department believes
that a person subject to the provisions of the new rules should
not be able to avoid compliance simply by selling, donating, or
trading property to another person related to the seller for the
purpose of avoiding the requirements of the rules.

ADOPTED RULES

August 5, 2016 41 TexReg 5737



New §65.92(g) provides that the owner of a release site agrees,
by consenting to the release of breeder deer on the release site,
to submit all required CWD test results to the department as soon
as possible but not later than May 1 of each year for as long as
CWD testing is required at the release site under the provisions
of this division. The new rules contemplate a disease manage-
ment strategy predicated on the results of CWD testing. Incom-
plete, inadequate, or tardy reporting of test results confound that
strategy. For this reason, the new rule establishes a date certain
for reporting test results to the department.

New §65.93, concerning Harvest Log, sets forth the elements
and requirements for on-site harvest documentation. The new
rules require a harvest log to be maintained on Class Il and
Class lll release sites. For each deer harvested from a Class
Il or Class lll release site for which a harvest log is required, the
new rules require the hunter's name and hunting license number
(or driver's license number, if the daily harvest log is also being
used as a cold storage/processing book) to be entered into the
harvest log, along with the date of kill, type of deer killed, any
alphanumeric identifier tattooed on the deer, the tag number of
any RFID or NUES tag affixed to the deer, and any other identi-
fier and identifying number on the deer. The new provision will
enable the department to identify all deer harvested at a given
release site (including deer that were released breeder deer) if
an epidemiological investigation becomes necessary. The new
paragraph also requires the daily harvest log to be presented to
any department employee acting within the scope of official du-
ties and for the contents of the daily harvest log to be reported to
the department via TWIMS by no later than April 1 of each year,
and also provides for the format and retention of the harvest log.

New §65.94, concerning Breeding Facility Minimum Movement
Qualification, sets forth the testing requirements necessary for a
breeding facility to be able to transfer deer to other deer breeders
or for purposes of liberation.

New §65.94(a) provides that a breeding facility will be NMQ (Not
Movement Qualified--prohibited from transferring breeder deer
anywhere for any purpose) if it has not met the testing, inven-
tory, reporting, and recordkeeping, and TAHC Herd Plan require-
ments set forth in that subsection.

New §65.94(a)(1) sets forth the CWD testing requirements
that must be met to avoid being NMQ. Pursuant to new
§65.94(a)(1)(A), from the effective date of the rules through
March 31, 2017, a breeding facility must have either had less
than five eligible mortalities from May 23, 2006 through March
31, 2016, or obtained "not detected" test results for at least 20
percent of the eligible mortalities that occurred in the facility
since May 23, 2006. The provisions of §65.94(a)(1)(A) are
essentially the same as that provided in the deer breeder
movement rules that existed prior to the June 2015 discovery of
CWD in a deer breeding facility. Although this standard provides
a very low statistical confidence of detecting CWD if it exists
in a facility, this standard is the standard contained in previous
rules, as well as the Interim Rules. In addition, the department
reasons that any breeding facility not in compliance with this
standard should not be allowed to move breeder deer until it
has "tested out," or submitted sufficient test samples of "not
detected" to provide a higher level of confidence that CWD will
not be transmitted from the facility.

New §65.94(a)(1)(B)(i) provides that beginning April 1, 2017,
and each April 1 thereafter, a breeding facility that has achieved
"fifth-year" or "certified" status in the TAHC CWD Herd Certifi-
cation Program will be considered to have met the testing re-

quirements necessary to be considered MQ. In order to achieve
and maintain "fifth-year" or "certified" status, a deer breeder must
comply with certain disease monitoring protocols, including the
testing of 100% of eligible mortalities and not receiving deer from
facilities that have not obtained that "fifth year" or "certified" sta-
tus. See, 4 TAC §40.3. For breeding facilities that have not
achieved "fifth-year" or "certified status," beginning April 1, 2017
and each April 1 thereafter, annual CWD "not detected" test re-
sults for at least 80% of eligible mortalities occurring in the facility
during the previous reporting year must be submitted. However,
the department recognizes that if a breeding facility has an un-
usually low number of eligible mortalities, this provision could
result in the submission of few test results. Therefore a provi-
sion is included to require that for breeding facilities that have
been permitted at least six months, the number of "not detected"
post-mortem test results submitted during each reporting year
must be equal to or greater than the eligible-aged population in
the breeding facility at the end of the reporting year, plus the eligi-
ble mortalities that occurred within the breeding facility in the re-
porting year, multiplied by 3.6 percent. This provision is intended
to provide a minimum number of tests that must be submitted
each year to achieve the epidemiological goals of the rules. To
develop this number, the department considered that the aver-
age natural mortality in a deer breeding facility is approximately
4.5 percent of the eligible-aged deer population in the breed-
ing facility each year. Therefore, if a deer breeding facility that
has an average natural mortality rate among eligible-aged deer
tested 80% of those mortalities, the breeding facility would test
3.6 percent (i.e., 80% of 4.5%) of the eligible-aged population
each year. As explained elsewhere in this preamble, the rules
provide for ante-mortem substitution for these test results at ratio
of three "not detected" ante-mortem test results for each required
"not detected" post-mortem test result.

New §65.94 also provides additional criteria for designating
NMQ status. Section 65.94(a)(2) - (3) provides that a breeding
facility may be NMQ if it is not authorized to transfer deer
pursuant to a TAHC Herd Plan associated with a TAHC hold
order or quarantine, does not have a reconciled herd inven-
tory, or is not in compliance with reporting and recordkeeping
requirements. Department rules at §65.608 of this title (relating
to Annual Reports and Records) require deer breeders to
submit an annual report. The annual report must include a
herd reconciliation that accounts for every breeder deer held,
acquired, or transferred by a breeding facility, as well as births
and mortalities. A breeding facility that is not in compliance
with the reporting requirements or has submitted incomplete
or inaccurate records frustrates efforts to determine the source
and/or disposition of every deer in the facility, as a reconciled
herd inventory is a necessary component of disease manage-
ment. Also, as noted elsewhere in this preamble, a TAHC Herd
Plan may contain provisions that impose movement restrictions
in which case the TAHC Herd Plan will control. In addition, to
ensure compliance with applicable regulatory provisions, it is
imperative that the facility have an accurate herd inventory that
accounts for the movement of breeder deer into and out of the
breeding facility, as well as deaths and births within the facility.

New §65.94(b) provides that a breeding facility that has been
designated NMQ for failure to comply with testing requirements
will be restored to MQ when sufficient "not detected" test re-
sults are submitted. The department has determined that once
a breeding facility is compliant with applicable testing require-
ments, MQ status should be restored, so long as all other re-
quirements for MQ status are met. The "not detected" test results
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can be provided through ante-mortem substitution as provided
in §65.92(d) or by the submission of additional post-mortem test
results. It should be noted, however, that if post-mortem test
results are being submitted to satisfy the requirement to submit
"not detected" post-mortem test results for 80% of the annual
mortalities, the creation of additional mortalities will alter the cal-
culation (i.e., the total number of mortalities will change, which
will, in turn, alter the number of post-mortem tests required to
achieve 80%).

New §65.94(c) requires a breeding facility designated NMQ to
report all mortalities within the facility to the department imme-
diately upon discovery. From an epidemiological perspective,
once a breeding facility cannot provide the minimum assurance
that adequate disease surveillance is being maintained, there
is an increased risk that if CWD is present it could be spread.
Therefore, the new rule requires facilities that are not in compli-
ance with movement qualification requirements to report all mor-
talities immediately, rather than at the end of the reporting year.

New §65.94(d) provides that immediately upon the notification
that a facility has received a "suspect" test result, all facilities that
have been in possession of deer that were held in the suspect
facility within the previous five years will be designated NMQ until
a determination is made that the facility is not epidemiologically
linked to the suspect deer, or upon further testing, the "suspect”
deer is determined not to be positive. The new rules are intended
to detect CWD if it is present and prevent the spread of CWD
once it is detected; therefore, once a "suspect" test result has
been returned, all movement to and from all connected facilities
should be stopped until the "suspect" test is either confirmed or
determined to be non-positive.

New §65.95, concerning Movement of Deer, establishes the var-
ious status levels and attendant testing requirements for breed-
ing facilities and release sites.

New §65.95(a) allows a TC 1 or TC 2 breeding facility designated
MQ and in compliance with the applicable provisions of the di-
vision to transfer breeder deer under existing rules to another
breeding facility, an approved release site, a DMP facility, or to
another person for nursing purposes. This subsection is neces-
sary to set out the types of transfers that may be authorized by
the rules.

New §65.95(b) establishes three categories of breeding facilities
based on level of epidemiological risk: Transfer Category (TC)
1, TC 2, and TC 3. As noted in the discussion of the definition
of "status" earlier in this preamble, the highest level/status (i.e.,
the level with the least risk for CWD) for a breeding facility is TC
1 and the lowest level is TC 3.

Under new §65.95(b)(1)(A), a breeding facility will be classified
as a TC 1 facility if it has achieved "fifth-year" or "certified"
status in the TAHC Herd Certification Program. Under new
§65.95(b)(1)(B)(i), a breeding facility will be classified as a
TC 1 facility if it has obtained "not detected" CWD test results
for at least 80% of total eligible mortalities over the last five
report years, with a minimum number of post-mortem test
results over that five-year period equal to at least 3.6% of the
eligible-aged population during that period. The 3.6% minimum
testing requirement is calculated as the sum of the eligible-aged
population in the breeding facility at the end of each of the
previous five consecutive reporting years, plus the sum of the
eligible mortalities that have occurred within the breeding facility
for each of the five consecutive years, multiplied by 3.6 percent.
To develop this number, the department considered that the av-

erage natural mortality in a deer breeding facility is 4.5 percent
of the eligible-aged deer population in the breeding facility each
year. Therefore, if a breeding facility with an average number of
natural mortalities among eligible-aged deer tested 80% of those
mortalities, the breeding facility would test 3.6 percent (i.e., 80%
of 4.5%) of the eligible-aged population each year. In order to
calculate this number over a five-year period, the eligible-aged
population of the breeding facility plus eligible-aged mortalities
for each of the previous five report years is added together, and
that sum is then multiplied by 3.6 percent. The resulting number
is 80 percent of the average expected eligible-aged mortality for
a deer breeding facility over a five-year period.

Alternatively, under new §65.95(b)(1)(B)(ii), a breeding facility
that has submitted ante-mortem "not detected" CWD test results
for 50% of eligible-aged deer in the breeding facility will be con-
sidered a TC 1 facility. The department understands that in antic-
ipation of being able to use ante-mortem test results to achieve
TC 1 status, some deer breeders may already have been con-
ducting ante-mortem tests. Therefore, to facilitate the transition
to the new rules for the report year beginning April 1, 2016 and
ending March 31, 2017, a breeding facility that has submitted
"not detected" ante-mortem test results for at least 25% of el-
igible-aged deer in the facility will be temporarily considered a
TC-1, so long as the remaining "not detected" results are sub-
mitted by May 15, 2017.

New §65.95(b)(2) establishes that the testing requirements for
TC 2 breeding facilities are the minimum testing requirements
for MQ status stipulated in §65.94, relating to Breeding Facility
Minimum Movement Qualification. A TC 2 breeding facility is a
facility that is neither a TC 1 breeding facility nor a TC 3 facility.

New §65.95(b)(3) establishes provisions regarding classification
and requirements for TC 3 breeding facilities. A TC 3 breeding
facility is any breeding facility registered in TWIMS that is under
a TAHC hold order, quarantine and/or herd plan and received an
exposed deer within the previous five years, transferred deer to
a CWD-positive facility within the five-year period preceding the
confirmation of CWD in the CWD-positive facility, or possessed
a deer that was in a CWD-positive facility within the previous
five years. As such, TC 3 breeding facilities are the facilities with
the highest risk of harboring and spreading CWD. Therefore, the
new rule prohibits the transfer of deer from any TC 3 facility un-
less such transfer is expressly authorized in a TAHC herd plan,
and then only in accordance with the provisions of the division
and the TAHC herd plan, and requires all transferred deer to
be tagged in one ear with a NUES tag or button-type RFID tag
approved by the department. The tagging requirement is neces-
sary because breeder deer translocated from a TC 3 breeding fa-
cility are epidemiologically valuable. Should a released breeder
deer test positive, the department and TAHC can use the eartag
to quickly identify the source facility and initiate necessary epi-
demiological investigations and responses to prevent additional
spread of CWD.

New §65.95(c) sets forth provisions governing release sites.
New §65.95(c)(1)(A) provides that an approved release site
consists solely of the specific tract of land to which deer are re-
leased and the acreage designated as a release site in TWIMS.
In order to determine where release site testing requirements
apply, and to provide a measure of confidence that CWD is not
spread from those places where breeder deer are released, it is
necessary to identify the specific locations where breeder deer
are authorized to be released. However, this provision does
allow a release site owner to modify the registered release site
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in order to reflect changes in acreage (such as the removal of
cross-fencing), so long as the release site owner notifies the
department of such modifications prior to the acreage modifica-
tion. Any release site requirements provided in this subsection
will also fully apply to the modified release site.

New §65.95(c)(1)(B) requires that liberated breeder deer have
complete, unrestricted access to the entirety of the release site.
Such a provision is necessary to ensure that released deer are
not confined in smaller enclosures within a permitted release
site. The testing requirements are based on the assumption
that liberated deer commingle with the rest of the population, to
which testing requirements apply. To keep the populations seg-
regated defeats the purpose of release-site testing on the larger
site. Additionally, for potential epidemiological investigations it
is necessary that the release site information registered with the
department be an accurate reflection of the acreage on which
the deer were released. However, a release site owner is not
prohibited from fencing areas that may be considered part of the
release site, but from which deer should be excluded for safety
reasons (e.g., air strips) or to prevent depredation (e.g., crops,
ornamental plants).

New §65.95(c)(1)(C) stipulates that all release sites onto which
breeder deer are liberated be surrounded by a fence of at least
seven feet in height that is capable of retaining deer at all times
under reasonable and ordinary circumstances. In addition, the
owner of the release site is responsible for ensuring that the
fence and associated infrastructure retain deer under reason-
able and ordinary circumstances. It is necessary to establish
a level of vigilance sufficient to give reasonable assurance that
breeder deer are not allowed to leave the specific premise where
they were released.

New §65.95(c)(1)(D) provides that any testing requirements of
the division continue in effect until all required "not detected" test
results are submitted and that a release site not in compliance
with the testing requirements of the subsection is ineligible to
receive deer and must continue to submit testing results until the
testing requirements are satisfied. The epidemiological value of
release site testing is compromised if release site tests are not
submitted. Therefore, the department reasons that release sites
should not be allowed to obtain liberated breeder deer until the
release site demonstrates compliance with existing or previous
requirements.

New §65.95(c)(1)(E) prohibits any intentional act that allows any
live deer to leave or escape from a release site. As noted else-
where in this preamble, itis important to ensure that breeder deer
do not escape from the acreage onto which the deer have been
liberated.

New §65.95(c)(1)(F) requires the owner of a Class Il or Class lll
release site to maintain a harvest log. The requirements for the
harvest log are set out in new §65.93. A harvest log is necessary
to ensure that the release site keeps accurate records of deer
harvested on the property.

New §65.95(c)(2) - (4) establishes classes of release sites. New
§65.95(c)(2) establishes that a Class | release site is a release
site that has received deer only from TC 1 facilities since August
15, 2016 (the effective date of the new rules). Class | release
sites represent the lowest risk of harboring or spreading CWD
and are therefore not required to perform CWD testing.

New §65.95(c)(3) establishes criteria and requirements for Class
Il release sites. New §65.95(c)(3)(A) provides that a Class Il
release site is a release site that receives deer from a TC 2

breeding facility (but not a breeding facility of lower status). New
§65.95(c)(3)(B) requires that for each hunting year following the
release of deer from a TC 2 breeding facility, the owner of the
release site must submit "not detected" post-mortem test re-
sults for the first deer harvested and every deer harvested there-
after up to the first 15 deer harvested. Because a Class Il re-
lease site has received breeder deer that represent a higher
risk of harboring or transmitting CWD, some level of testing is
necessary. However, as described elsewhere in this pream-
ble, as a result of changes to the MQ requirements, the rules
as adopted provide for the elimination of release-site testing at
Class Il release sites after the 2018-2019 hunting year. There-
fore, §65.95(c)(3)(C) provides that the Class Il testing require-
ments contained in §65.95(c)(3)(B) expire March 1, 2019 for
Class Il release sites that have submitted all of the required test
results. For release sites that have not submitted the required
test results, testing obligations continue until all required test re-
sults are submitted.

New §65.95(c)(4) establishes criteria and requirements regard-
ing Class Il release sites. New §65.95(c)(4)(A) establishes that
a Class lll release site is a release site that has received deer
from an originating facility that is a TC 3 facility, received an ex-
posed deer within the previous five years, transferred deer to
a CWD-positive facility within the five-year period preceding the
confirmation of CWD in the CWD-positive facility and has not
been released from a TAHC hold order. Class Il release sites
represent the highest level of risk of harboring or transmitting
CWD. As a result, new §65.95(c)(4)(B) requires the landowner
of a Class lll release site to submit post-mortem CWD test re-
sults for 100 percent of all hunter-harvested deer or one hunter-
harvested deer per liberated deer released on the release site
between the last day of lawful hunting on the release site in
the previous hunting year and the last day of lawful hunting on
the release site during the current hunting year, whichever is
greater, and provides that the minimum harvest and testing pro-
visions may be as prescribed in a TAHC herd plan. Similarly,
new §65.95(c)(4)(C) prohibits the transfer of a breeder deer to a
Class lll release site unless the deer has been tagged in one ear
with a NUES tag or button-type RFID tag. Since deer released
onto a Class lll release site pose a much higher epidemiological
risk, it is important that such deer be easily identifiable as liber-
ated deer.

New §65.96, concerning Movement of DMP Deer, sets forth the
movement and testing requirements associated with DMP activ-
ities. The new rule requires a DMP release site to which breeder
deer from a TC 2 breeding facility are released, or if the DMP
property from which deer are trapped for DMP purposes is a
Class Il release site, to submit "not detected" test results for the
first deer harvested and every deer harvested thereafter up to
the first 15 deer harvested. As discussed elsewhere in this pre-
amble, a TC 2 breeding facility or Class Il release site represents
a higher risk of transmitting CWD than a TC 1 breeding facility or
Class | release site; therefore some level of testing is appropri-
ate. The department has determined that testing the first 15 deer
harvested each year through March 1, 2019, provides a reason-
able assurance that CWD will be detected if it were present. The
new rule prohibits the transfer of deer from a TC 3 breeding facil-
ity, Class Il release site or from a release site or deer breeding
facility that is not in compliance with applicable testing require-
ments. Breeder deer in a TC 3 breeding facility, deer in a Class
Il release site and deer from breeding facilities and release sites
that are not in compliance with the applicable regulatory require-
ments pose an unacceptable risk of spreading CWD to free-rang-
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ing populations. The rule does not impose testing requirements
on any DMP facility that either does not receive breeder deer or
receives breeder deer solely from TC 1 deer breeding facilities.

New §65.97, concerning Testing and Movement of Deer Pur-
suant to a Triple T or TTP Permit, sets forth general provisions
and testing requirements applicable to the movement of deer un-
der a Triple T or TTP permit.

New §65.97(a)(1) stipulates that unless expressly provided
otherwise, the disease detection provisions of 31 TAC §65.102
cease effect upon the effective date of the new section. This is
necessary to prevent regulatory conflict.

New §65.97(a)(2) provides that the department may require a
map of any prospective Triple T trap site to be submitted as part
of the application process, which is necessary to address situa-
tions in which the exact nature of a prospective Triple T site and
its relationship to nearby or adjoining tracts of land is unclear
with respect to previous releases.

New §65.97(a)(3) further enumerates the criteria under which
the department will not authorize deer to be trapped for Triple T
purposes, including a release site that has received breeder deer
within five years of the application for a Triple T permit, a release
site that has failed to fulfill testing requirements, any site where
a deer has been confirmed positive for CWD, any site where a
deer has tested "suspect" for CWD, or any site under a TAHC
hold order or quarantine.

Further, new §65.97(a)(4) provides that in addition to the rea-
sons for denying a Triple T permit listed in 31 TAC §65.103(c)
(concerning Trap, Transport, and Transplant Permit), the de-
partment will not issue a Triple T permit if the department de-
termines, based on epidemiological assessment and consulta-
tion with TAHC that to do so creates an unacceptable risk for
the spread of CWD. Each of the enumerated criteria for permit
refusal represents an unacceptable risk of spreading CWD to
free-ranging populations.

In addition, new §65.97(a)(5) requires all Triple T deer to be
tagged prior to release in one ear with a button-type RFID tag
approved by the department, in addition to the marking required
by §65.102 (relating to Permits for Trapping, Transporting, and
Transplanting Deer - Disease Detection Requirements) and for
the RFID tag information to be submitted to the department. The
new provision enables the department to identify all released
deer harvested at a given release site (including deer that were
released breeder deer) if an epidemiological investigation be-
comes necessary.

New §65.97(a)(6) further stipulates that a Triple T permit does
not authorize the take of deer except as authorized by applicable
laws and regulations, including but not limited to laws and regu-
lations regarding seasons, bag limits, and means and methods
as provided in Subchapter A of this chapter (relating to Statewide
Hunting Proclamation), which is necessary to ensure that all deer
are harvested by hunters under the regulations established for
lawful hunting.

New §65.97(a)(7) requires all test samples to be collected or
tested after the Saturday closest to September 30 (the first day
of lawful hunting in any year), which is necessary to ensure that
test samples are temporally linked to the year for which activities
of the permit are authorized; however, new §65.97(a)(8) clarifies
that this requirement does not apply to permits issued for the
removal of urban deer, for which test samples may be collected
between April 1 and the time of application.

New §65.97(b)(1) establishes the testing requirements for Triple
T trap sites. At a Triple T trap site, the new rule requires 15 "not
detected" post-mortem test results to be submitted prior to permit
issuance. The department is confident that a sample of 15 deer
from a prospective trap site that is not otherwise prevented from
being a trap site by the new rules is sufficient to establish that
CWD is not present and will not be spread.

New §65.97(b)(2) stipulates that CWD testing is not required for
deer trapped on any property if the deer are being moved to ad-
jacent, contiguous tracts owned by the same person who owns
the trap site property. The department does not believe that
deer trapped from a free-ranging population to be released else-
where within that same population represent a significant dis-
ease-transmission risk.

New §65.97(c) sets forth the testing requirements for TTP per-
mits. The new provision requires "not detected" test results for
at least 15 eligible-aged deer from the trap site to be submitted
and requires the landowner of a Class Il release site where TTP
deer are trapped to submit CWD test results for 100% of the
deer trapped. The new rule also requires test results related to
a TTP permit to be submitted to the department by the method
prescribed by the department by the May 1 immediately follow-
ing the completion of permit activities.

Transition Provisions

New §65.98, concerning Transition Provisions sets forth provi-
sions to clarify enforcement of regulations with respect to the
effective dates of various provisions and stipulates that the de-
partment's executive director develop a transition plan and issue
appropriate guidance documents to facilitate an effective transi-
tion to this division from previously applicable regulations.

New §65.98(a) provides that offenses committed before the ef-
fective date of the new rules will be governed by the law in effect
at the time, which is necessary to provide clear guidance for en-
forcement and judicial processes.

New §65.98(b) provides that a release site in compliance with
the Interim Breeder Rules as of August 15, 2016 (the effective
date of the new rules) is not subject to the testing requirements
of the new rules until deer are liberated onto the release site.

New §65.98(c) provides that if a Class | release site becomes a
Class Il release site as a result of the release of deer onto the
release site on or after August 15, 2016, the release site will be
designated a Class | release site if all TC 2 breeding facilities that
provided deer to the release site achieve TC 1 status by May 15,
2017, or if all breeder deer released on the release site between
August 15, 2016 and October 1, 2016 are harvested during the
2016-2017 hunting season and return "not detected" CWD re-
sults and no deer from a TC 2 or TC 3 facility are released on
the release site after October 1, 2016. This provision is intended
to provide breeding facilities and release sites an opportunity to
"test up" to a level sufficient to eliminate the requirement for fu-
ture release-site testing. However, it should be noted that the
"reset" will occur after the 2016-2017 hunting season and that
release sites will be required to fulfill the release-site testing re-
quirements for the 2016-2017 hunting season.
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NOTE: Between the publication date of the proposed rules (April
22, 2016) and the Commission meeting held on May 26, 2016,
the department received a total of 605 comments regarding
adoption of the proposed new rules (501 comments submitted
via the department's website, 77 comments in writing, and 27
comments submitted in person at the May 26, 2016 Commission
meeting).

Veterinary

A total of 414 comments opposing adoption were received,
including a form letter submitted by 72 commenters. At the June
20, 2016, special Commission meeting, an additional 52 com-
ments opposing adoption were received. The department notes
that because many individual comments contained multiple
statements, and multiple individuals made similar comments,
the number of responses does not equal the total number of
comments.

Perceived Emergency

Seventy-three commenters opposed adoption and stated that
the rules were based on a perceived emergency. The depart-
ment disagrees with the comments and responds that if the com-
ments refer to the previously adopted emergency CWD breeder
rules, since the rules being adopt herein are not being adopted
as emergency rules, the issue of whether an emergency exists or
existed is not germane to the adopted rules. If the commenters
intend to suggest that the rules are unnecessary, the department
disagrees and notes that CWD is a communicable, fatal disease
that has the potential to profoundly alter the dynamics of deer
hunting and deer management. Because there is no question
that CWD exists in captive cervid populations in Texas and has
been spread by the movement of captive cervids in Texas, there

continues to be an immediate danger to Texas deer populations
that warrants regulatory action by the department. No changes
were made as a result of the comments.

Scientific Methodology

Four commenters opposed adoption and stated that the de-
partment should use or follow science to develop rules, two
commenters opposed adoption and stated that the department
should listen to the experts, and one commenter opposed adop-
tion and stated that the department should look at history and
facts. The department agrees with the comments and responds
that, as explained elsewhere in this preamble, the importance
of the role of science was paramount in the development of
the rules as adopted. The department sought the expertise of
numerous highly qualified veterinarians, epidemiologists, and
wildlife disease specialists to advise and guide the department
in the development of the rules. No changes were made as a
result of the comments.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that more re-
search is needed before making rules. The department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that there is sufficient
scientific evidence to conclude that CWD is a credible and po-
tent threat to native wildlife and that the use of the regulatory
process to protect native cervid species from that threat is justi-
fied. No changes were made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the depart-
ment should "look into genetics." The department agrees that
there is value and promise in continued research into the role
of genetics in contracting CWD. However, the department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that although there ap-
pears to be a predisposition to susceptibility for the contraction
of CWD in certain white-tailed deer genotypes, genetics is not
germane to the intent of the rulemaking, which is to implement
a reasonable surveillance program to detect CWD if it exists so
that it can be contained. No changes were made as a result of
the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that by restrict-
ing CWD testing to deer breeders, the "sample survey" was "too
small for scientific study." The department disagrees with the
comment and responds that the rules are intended to address
disease mitigation in processes involving the unnatural move-
ment of deer by human agency (deer breeder, Triple T, DMP), are
based on epidemiological models for disease-testing and prop-
agation in captive populations, and produce meaningful data
that allow the department to characterize and qualify the sta-
tus of captive populations with regard to risk for the spread of
CWD. The department also notes that voluntary CWD testing by
landowners and hunters has been more than sufficient in most
parts of the state to establish confidence that if CWD exists on
the landscape, it is at extremely low prevalence. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

Epidemiology

Seventy-four commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
department doesn't know how CWD spreads. The department
disagrees with the comments and responds that scientific stud-
ies have demonstrated that CWD can be transmitted by ani-
mal-to-animal contact, by contact with bodily fluids, and by envi-
ronmental contamination. No changes were made as a result of
the comments.

Seventy-four commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
department doesn't know where CWD originated. The depart-
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ment agrees with the comments and responds that although
CWD has been detected in three free-ranging mule deer, 24
white-tailed deer from four deer-breeding facilities, and one
white-tailed deer that had been liberated from one of the four
positive breeding facilities, the source of CWD is unknown.
However, although the exact source of CWD is unknown, given
the high interconnectivity of breeding facilities in Texas, only
those facilities with rigorous testing histories can categorically
be excluded as disease reservoirs. No changes were made as
a result of the comments.

Eighteen commenters opposed adoption and stated that CWD
cannot be either controlled or stopped. The department dis-
agrees with the comments. The department acknowledges that
stopping, containing, or attenuating CWD is very difficult once an
environment has been contaminated with infectious prions and
where CWD has been established for a long period before ini-
tial detection. As a result, for disease management and control,
early detection of CWD infected animals is paramount. The time
between introduction and detection of the disease is the most
critical factor impacting the ability to control and possibly eradi-
cate the disease before it can become established. Therefore,
the rules provide for enhanced surveillance in an effort to detect
CWD. No changes were made as a result of the comments.

Eleven commenters opposed adoption and stated that CWD isn't
a problem, has no impact, and deer herds in states where CWD
has been detected are thriving and growing. The department
disagrees with the comments and responds that in most states
where CWD has been detected in free-ranging deer, its preva-
lence has increased over time, and in some cases is exerting
measurable negative impacts on deer populations and hunting
behaviors. The long-term results of CWD are pernicious, be-
cause prions (the infectious agent) remain viable in the environ-
ment long after a host organism has died, which potentially ex-
poses new animals to the infectious agent even after the infected
animal has expired. In addition, human dimensions research in-
dicating that hunters will avoid areas of high CWD prevalence is
cause for concern as well. Therefore, the department believes
it is prudent to treat CWD as a serious threat in order to pro-
tect Texas deer populations and the economies dependent upon
them. No changes were made as a result of the comments.

Three commenters opposed adoption and stated that CWD has
no impacts on human health. The department agrees that there
has been no scientific evidence of transmission of CWD to hu-
mans; however, the department notes that although at the cur-
rent time there is no evidence that CWD is transmissible to hu-
mans, the World Health Organization advises that no part or
product of an animal which has shown signs of a TSE (i.e., the
family of diseases that includes CWD) should enter the food
chain. No changes were made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that CWD has
been around for centuries. The department disagrees with the
comment and responds that although TSEs have been known
since the 18th century, CWD was first recognized in 1967 but
was not identified as a TSE until 1978. No changes were made
as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that deer will die
of something anyway. The department agrees that deer have a
finite lifespan, but disagrees that this fact reduces or eliminates
the need to implement regulatory provisions to address disease
detection and response measures. No changes were made as
a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that CWD is not
contagious. The department disagrees with the comment and
responds that scientific evidence has established that CWD is a
transmissible infectious disease. No changes were made as a
result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that nothing
should be done about CWD because it will run its course and the
deer that survive will be resistant. The department disagrees
that doing nothing is an option. The department is unaware of
any strain of white-tailed deer or mule deer that can survive
CWD if contracted. No changes were made as a result of the
comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that no animals
have died from CWD so the increased prevalence is due to in-
creased testing. The department disagrees with the assertion
that there is a causal relationship between the magnitude of test-
ing and the prevalence of CWD and responds that those two val-
ues are independent of one another. The department does ac-
knowledge that increased testing, particularly in herds that have
not been testing adequately, has resulted in more CWD discov-
eries, but such testing does not increase the prevalence rate of
the disease. With regard to CWD causing the death of deer, al-
though the deer in Texas that tested positive for CWD died from
a cause other than CWD, the science evidence clearly estab-
lishes that CWD is a fatal disease and does result in mortalities.
In addition, it should also be noted that CWD is an additional
mortality factor in deer populations; data indicate that mortal-
ity rates can surpass fawn recruitment in local populations with
high CWD prevalence. Studies have found that CWD-positive
deer were much more likely to die as compared to their unin-
fected counterparts. (See, e.g., Edmunds 2013, DeVivo 2015).
While CWD-positive deer in the studies that did survive to the
clinical stages of the disease did eventually succumb to CWD,
preclinical CWD-positive animals were also shown to be more
vulnerable to other mortality factors such as predation, hunter
harvest, and vehicle collisions. This additive mortality can result
in declining population trends. No changes were made as a re-
sult of the comment.

Three commenters opposed adoption and stated that CWD is
political disease. The department disagrees with the comments
and responds that, as noted elsewhere in this preamble (and in
response to the previous comment), CWD is an insidious, per-
sistent disease that, if not controlled, increases in prevalence in
early years with no noticeable impacts, but can have long-term
negative impacts on population dynamics. No changes were
made as a result of the comments.

Impact on Deer Breeders

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that breeder deer
are the most tested and protected deer in the state. The de-
partment disagrees with the comment and responds that while
there are many deer breeders who have taken appropriate, nec-
essary, and effective steps to ensure that CWD is not present in
their inventories, that fact alone cannot be extrapolated to pro-
vide epidemiological confidence for the entirety of the regulated
community. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that breeder
deer are tested and regulated 1,000 times more than wild deer.
The department disagrees with the comment and responds
that white-tailed deer and mule deer are public resources and
cannot be lawfully possessed alive except as provided by law. In
addition, the assertion that breeder deer are tested 1,000 times
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more than free-ranging deer is not correct; in fact, free-ranging
deer populations in most areas of the state have been sampled
at statistical confidence levels higher than most deer breeding
facilities. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the first case
of CWD in the wild was found with .1% testing, but many deer
breeders test at 100%; deer breeders test at 20-100% to find it,
but it was found in the wild with little testing. The department
infers that the commenter believes that the rules impose testing
requirements on deer breeders are more intensive than those
used to detect CWD in free-ranging deer. If that is the case, the
department disagrees with the comment and responds that the
sampling of free-ranging deer in most parts of the state has been
sufficient to detect CWD if it exists at very low prevalence. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that deer breed-
ers shouldn't have to analyze failures in other states because
that is the department's job. The department disagrees with the
comment and responds that the rules as adopted do not require
deer breeders to analyze events occurring in another state. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules will
not work because CWD has nothing to do with breeder deer. The
department disagrees with the comment and responds that CWD
has, in fact, been discovered within deer breeding facilities and
the rules as adopted have been in part developed according to
accepted principles of epidemiological response for the purpose
of detecting it if it exists in any given deer breeding facility. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that CWD is not
a deer breeder disease. The department agrees that breeder
deer are not the only deer susceptible to CWD, but responds that
CWD has been discovered in deer breeding facilities, which by
necessity means that deer breeding facilities must be addressed
by any rules intended to detect and control CWD. No changes
were made as a result of the comments.

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that "it is
absolutely imperative that deer breeders and release sites must
have the ability to live test out of loss of status" and suggested
that the rules be changed to allow "for the facility that received
the originating deer secures a "non detected" test result through
post-mortem or live tonsil test from the specific deer transferred
to the facility." The department interprets this comment to sug-
gest that a facility or release site should be able to regain TC 1 or
Class | status by conducting ante-mortem tests on TC 2 deer re-
ceived at breeding facilities or by performing post-mortem testing
of all TC 2 deer received at a release site. The department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that the statistical confi-
dence used to establish minimum testing standards is based on
herd-level sampling, and cannot be used to determine the prob-
ability of detection for individual animals. It should be noted that
the rules as adopted provide a means for breeding facilities to
"test up" to TC 1 status. It should also be noted that rules allow
release sites an opportunity to "test-up" during the 2016-2017
season in order to regain Class | status. No changes were made
as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that rules
shouldn't punish facilities unconnected to the index herd. The
department disagrees that the rules are intended to be punitive.
With regard to facilities believed to be unconnected to the index
herd, the department responds that during the epidemiological

investigation of the first CWD-positive in a breeding facility, the
department determined that over 75 percent of the deer breed-
ers in Texas were linked to the CWD-positive facility by no more
than three degrees of separation. Although many deer breeders
may believe they are "unconnected" to a CWD-positive facility,
the investigation alluded to demonstrates that most facilities
were epidemiologically connected to the CWD-positive facility
to some degree. As a result, it is necessary to obtain sufficient
epidemiological evidence through testing to establish a level of
confidence that CWD is not present in a facility prior to deer
being transferred from the facility. No changes were made as
a result of the comment.

Ninety-one commenters opposed adoption and stated that deer
breeders are being singled out, targeted, punished, discrimi-
nated against, destroyed, and/or decimated by the department.
The department disagrees that the rules are intended to be puni-
tive or otherwise harm deer breeders. The risk of inadvertently
moving CWD to new areas of the state is highest with the artificial
movement of deer (i.e., in trailers). The only lawful methods for
moving deer via human agency are permits for that purpose is-
sued by the department (Triple T, DMP, deer breeder); therefore,
rules designed to address the epidemiological risk associated
with such confinement and movement in order to protect a pub-
lic resource must necessarily regulate the persons authorized by
permit to engage in those activities. For approximately a decade
the department has required CWD testing at all sites of origin,
whether these sites were deer breeding facilities or Triple T trap
sites. Under the proposed and adopted rules (as well as previous
rules), those who do not wish to move deer by Triple T permit are
not required to CWD test, and deer breeders who do not wish to
move deer are not required to CWD test. In comparing the level
of CWD testing conducted in the last five years, deer breeders
tested liberated deer for CWD at much lower percentage com-
pared to CWD testing of deer moved via TTT permits. It should
also be noted that when CWD was discovered in free-ranging
mule deer in the Hueco Mountains of West Texas in 2012, the de-
partment established a 3.1 million acre Containment Zone (CZ).
Within this zone no artificial movement of deer has been allowed.
Additionally, every white-tailed deer and mule deer harvested by
hunters in the CZ has been required to be presented at a check
station for CWD testing. The CWD regulations in the CZ apply
not only to the CWD-positive population, but to adjoining and
surrounding populations as well. Given the high degree of inter-
connectivity of the deer breeding network in Texas (deer moving
back and forth between and among deer breeders), if the regu-
lations for deer breeders were consistent with the regulations in
West Texas, all deer breeders would be required to test 100% of
all mortalities, which would include hunter-harvested deer. No
changes were made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the state is
imposing rules, but only deer breeders are paying. The depart-
ment disagrees with the comment and responds that the rules as
adopted are intended to prevent the spread of CWD as a result
of human agency. Because deer breeders, Triple T permit hold-
ers, and DMP holders (under some circumstances) are agents of
unnatural deer movement, they are directly affected by the rules
while other parties (those who don't possess or move deer) are
not. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

Fifteen commenters opposed adoption and stated that the in-
tent of the department is to put deer breeders out of business
or trample an industry. The department disagrees with the com-
ment and responds that sole intent of the rules as adopted is to
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protect a public resource. No changes were made as a result of
the comments.

Four commenters opposed adoption and stated that third-party
associations and "anti-breeders" are trying to put deer breeders
out of business. The department disagrees with the comment
and responds that the rules as adopted were created with the
invited input of a number of stakeholder groups, including deer
breeders. The department is not aware of any groups or associ-
ations trying to put deer breeders out of business. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the depart-
ment is trying to control deer breeders. The department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that the department has
a statutory duty to protect and conserve the wildlife resources of
the state; therefore, rules designed to address the epidemiologi-
cal risks associated with the confinement and artificial movement
of wildlife resources, such as those associated with deer breed-
ing, are necessary. No changes were made as a result of the
comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the increase
in CWD proves there is no connection to captive deer. The de-
partment disagrees with the comment and responds that CWD
has been found in multiple deer breeding facilities. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that all testing
is aimed at deer breeders. The department disagrees with the
comment and responds that in some cases there are CWD test-
ing requirements for certain release sites that receive breeder
deer or deer from certain DMP facilities. No changes were made
as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that CWD isn't be-
ing handled properly because the rules are being forced on deer
breeders, forcing people out of business and severely hurting
the deer breeding industry. The department disagrees with the
comment and responds that the rules are the minimum neces-
sary to allow the department to determine the extent and combat
the spread of CWD. As mentioned elsewhere in this preamble,
because deer breeders physically move deer in ways that nature
does not, and in the process magnify the possibility of spread-
ing disease, the rules as adopted must necessarily affect deer
breeders. The department also disagrees that the rules force
anyone out of business. A relatively small number of breeding
facilities are prohibited from transferring deer (i.e., buying and
selling deer) because they either received deer from an infected
herd or cannot provide epidemiological evidence that CWD is not
present. Even if the rules of the department and TAHC allowed
such facilities to move deer, it is unlikely that possible customers
(other deer breeders and persons who wish to have breeder deer
released on their property) would consider obtaining deer from
such sources because of the possibility of exposure to CWD. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

Nine commenters opposed adoption and stated that the rules
are unfair to deer breeders and that breeders should be treated
the same as any other landowner. The department disagrees
with the comments and responds that deer breeders are afforded
the privilege of possessing live deer (a public resource) under
rules promulgated by the department. The department also has
a statutory duty to protect and conserve the wildlife resources of
the state. The rules as adopted represent the minimum mea-
sures necessary to discharge the department's statutory duty
to protect the state's wildlife resources and were promulgated

with the intent to minimize intrusiveness and regulatory burden
as much as possible while achieving the goals of the depart-
ment to determine the extent and prevent the spread of CWD.
No changes were made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the status of
a deer breeding facility should not be determined by a five-year
testing history. The department disagrees with the comment and
responds that if the commenter is referring to one of the op-
tions for obtaining TC 1 status under the rules, the scientifically
accepted incubation period for CWD is up to five years, there-
fore it is important to calculate risk based on a five-year testing
history. However, the department also notes that the rules as
adopted provide another method of obtaining TC 1 status for the
2016-2017 hunting year that does not include a five-year testing
history. In addition, as explained elsewhere in this preamble, be-
ginning in 2019 the distinctions between TC 1 and TC 2 will be
of no consequence. No changes were made as a result of the
comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the depart-
ment focuses on deer breeders, high-fences, and white-tailed
deer when 50 percent of CWD is found in mule deer. The de-
partment disagrees with the comment and responds that even if
half the CWD cases in Texas were found in mule deer (which is
not the case), the fact remains that CWD has been discovered
in captive white-tailed deer populations and must be addressed
in order to protect all deer populations. No changes were made
as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that CWD did not
originate in Texas white-tails or breeder deer. The department
agrees that while an exact understanding of the source or origin
of CWD is unknown, what is known is that it has been detected
in captive white-tailed in deer breeding facilities and must be ad-
dressed in order to protect all deer populations. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

Breeding Facility Testing

Seventy-four commenters opposed adoption and stated that
rules should not include a testing "window" for ante-mortem
testing. The department agrees with the comments and the
rules have been changed accordingly.

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
rules should be altered to change "the definitions for "Failure to
Comply" for TC 1 facilities, including clarification of testing lan-
guage to reflect both ante- and post-mortem testing, as well as
setting a 90-day window for the TC 1 breeder to furnish neces-
sary test results to return to his TC 1 status and setting a one-
year moratorium on reapplication to TC 1 status if the breeder
does not meet this 90-day requirement." The department agrees
that the "testing window" for regaining TC 1 status should be
eliminated and the rule as adopted does not contain a "testing
window". The department infers that the comment relates to the
provisions of proposed §65.95(b)(1)(B) which would have im-
posed a 60-day window for a TC 1 facility that had failed to submit
sufficient test results to retain TC 1 status to submit substitution
test results or be classified as a TC 2 facility for a two-year pe-
riod. Because the adopted rule applies a standard MQ testing
requirement to both TC 1 and TC 2 facilities, it is unnecessary to
retain the requirement for regaining TC 1 status within 60-days,
as the provisions for regaining MQ status will suffice, so long as
lower status breeder deer are not introduced into the TC 1 facil-

ity.
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Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that
"timeframes need to maximize the breeder's ability to achieve a
higher status - not set them up for certain failure." The depart-
ment agrees that the rules as adopted impose standards that
prevent the movement of breeder deer under circumstances in
which the epidemiological risk is significant, but disagrees that
any aspect of the rules as adopted are designed or intended to
prevent breeding facilities from increasing in status, or to coerce
any person into imprudent or unwise decisions. No changes
were made as a result of the comments.

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
rules' testing requirements should be "realistic and reliable" in-
stead of punishing "those facilities with the best stewardship of
their animals by being below an arbitrary standard of "average
mortality." The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that the rules as adopted are not intended to be puni-
tive. In addition, the testing requirements within the rules as
adopted were developed based on principles of science and epi-
demiology, including the use of an average mortality rate as a
reasonable baseline to determine the level of testing within any
given facility, which is necessary to generate statistical confi-
dence through time that CWD is not present. If anything, the
rules provide the greatest degree of flexibility to those with the
highest testing performance. No changes were made as a result
of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules
shouldn't apply to deer breeders who haven't received deer
in "awhile." The department disagrees with the comment and
responds that the rules are designed to achieve a level of
confidence that CWD is not present in any given breeding
facility, irrespective of the length of time since breeder deer were
acquired. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that pro-
posed §65.95 should be altered to allow "the at least 80 percent
of the total number of eligible mortalities that occurred in the
breeding facility of the immediately preceding five-year period
and each year thereafter, rather than making this requirement
applicable annually." The department interprets this comment to
mean that the commenters opposed the portion of the proposed
rule that provided an option to achieve TC 1 status by providing
"not detected" results for 80% of the mortalities that occurred in
each of the preceding five report years, and that instead a facil-
ity should be allowed to provide "not detected" results for 80% of
the cumulative mortalities that occurred in the previous five re-
port years. If this interpretation is correct, the department agrees
with the comment and the rules have been changed accordingly.

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that
there must be "an additional option added to ensure deer tested
prior to trade or release are allowed to move freely with a TC
1 classification. The new option requested would include (l)
ante-mortem tests of any deer transferred from the facility; and
(II) post-mortem tests of at least 50 percent of eligible mortali-
ties. This would ensure that any deer that moves from a facility
which had received a "not-detected" live test result carries no
movement restrictions or further testing with it." The department
interprets part (1) of this comment to suggest that even if a deer
comes from a TC 2 facility, if it has been live-tested it should
be treated as coming from a TC 1 facility. The department
disagrees and responds that the statistical confidence used
to establish minimum testing standards is based on herd-level
sampling, and cannot be used to determine the probability of de-
tection for individual animals. The department interprets part (Il)

of this comment to recommend that a 50 percent post-mortem
testing standard be the new standard for obtaining TC 1 status.
The department disagrees with the comment and responds that
given the strong desire on the part of the regulated community
to eliminate release-site requirements, a higher post-mortem
testing standard is necessary. No changes were made as a
result of the comments.

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
rules should be adopted with the following provisions to "allow
breeders the ability to test cumulatively over the course of one
reporting year" as follows: (i) Upon the processing of the annual
report, if a facility has met any of the requirements of this section,
the facility shall be designated a TC 1 facility for the next report-
ing year, so long as the facility does not accept a breeder deer
from a lower status breeding facility; and (ii) Upon the process-
ing of the annual report, if a facility has cumulatively tested equal
to or greater than any of the ante-mortem testing requirements
of this section during the entire reporting year, the facility shall
be designated a TC 1 facility based upon their cumulative test-
ing percentages." The department disagrees with the comments
and responds that risk mitigation is not achieved by conferring
TC 1 status on the random satisfaction of testing requirements.
Allowing breeding facilities to achieve TC 1 status when the fa-
cility is not compliant with TC 1 testing requirements defeats the
purpose of the rules. No changes were made as a result of the
comments.

One commenter stated that he had recommended a testing
regime which provided for 100% post-mortem testing, but that
the recommendation had been rejected by staff. The depart-
ment understands that this recommendation was combined with
a more immediate elimination of release site testing. While the
department acknowledges the value of a testing regime that
tests 100% of mortalities in a breeding facility, the evaluation of
the adequacy of such a regime must take into consideration the
breeding facility's previous testing history. As noted elsewhere
in this preamble, even with a higher level of mortality testing
it would take several years to achieve a sufficient level of
confidence that CWD would be detected in a facility if it existed
at a low prevalence. No changes were made as a result of this
comment.

May 6 Recommendation

Twenty-six commenters opposed adoption of rules and urged
the Commission to adopt what was referred to as the "May 6
proposal," the "Texas Deer Association proposal" or the "unified
industry proposal." The department interprets these comments
to refer to a proposal put forth in a stakeholder meeting held on
May 6, 2016, during the public comment period. This meeting,
among other things, sought comments on the proposed rules. At
the meeting, certain representatives of the deer breeding com-
munity put forth recommendations for revisions to the rules as
proposed. The elements of this recommendation (referred to
herein as the "May 6 recommendation") were documented in
a letter dated May 7, 2016, signed by representatives of the
Texas Deer Association, the Deer Breeders Corporation, the Ex-
otic Wildlife Association and the North American Deer Farmers
Association. The department disagrees with the comment and
responds generally that although certain elements of the recom-
mendation were determined to be effective in enhancing efforts
for the surveillance and detection of CWD and have been incor-
porated into the rule as adopted, when considered as a whole the
recommendation would not provide an adequate level of confi-
dence that CWD would be detected if it existed a low prevalence.
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As a result, when the May 6 recommendation taken a whole is
considered, it was determined to be inadequate. The various
elements of the recommendation are set forth separately as fol-
lows.

Twenty-six commenters opposed adoption of the proposed rules
and urged the Commission to adopt the portion of the May 6 rec-
ommendation that would have made a deer breeder that meets
the following criteria movement qualified (MQ): has "fifth year" or
"certified" status in the TAHC CWD Herd Certification Program;
has tested 80% of its eligible mortalities; and, has a minimum
number of tests equal to or greater than 3.6% of the herd in-
ventory at the end of the reporting year, with at least half of the
required test conducted post-mortem. The department agrees
that each of these elements has value and has incorporated
some of these into the rules as adopted. Specifically, the de-
partment agrees that "fifth-year" or "certified status" breeding fa-
cilities should be MQ and the rules as proposed and adopted
provide for that. The department also agrees that a breeding
facility that tests 80% of its eligible mortalities each year with a
minimum number of post-mortem tests equal to or greater than
3.6% of the herd inventory at the end of each reporting year pro-
vides sufficient confidence to be designated as MQ. Therefore,
the rules as adopted include a provision that beginning with the
report year that starts April 1, 2017, and for each report year
thereafter, a deer breeder that has "fifth year" or "certified status"
in the TAHC CWD Herd Certification Program is considered MQ,
as is a deer breeder that has submitted CWD "not detected" test
results for at least 80% of eligible mortalities occurring in the fa-
cility during the previous reporting year, so long as the number of
"not detected" test results submitted during the previous report-
ing year are equal to or greater than 3.6% of the eligible-aged
deer reported in the breeding facility inventory at the end of the
previous reporting year. However, a release site that receives
deer from a breeding facility that only meets the minimum MQ re-
quirements in the 2016-2017 permit year (and is not a "fifth year"
or "certified" facility), would be subject to release-site testing as
provided in the rules as adopted. Changes were made to the
rules as adopted to incorporate an annual testing level of 80% of
eligible mortalities with a minimum number of post-mortem tests
required, in part in response to these comments. However, al-
though changes were made to the rules as adopted to eventually
eliminate release site testing, such changes are not a result of
the May 6 recommendation.

Twenty-six commenters opposed adoption of rules and urged
the Commission to adopt the portion of the May 6 recommen-
dation that would have required a deer breeder to test half of
the 80% of eligible mortalities through post-mortem testing (i.e.,
ante-mortem substitution would not be authorized for more than
50% of the tests required to achieve 80% testing of mortali-
ties). In addition, the commenters requested that substitution
of ante-mortem tests be allowed at a ratio of two ante-mortem
mortem tests for one post-mortem test. The ante-mortem substi-
tution ratio included in the May 6 recommendation is consistent
with provisions of the proposed rules; however, the department
disagrees with the comments and responds that, as noted else-
where in this preamble and in response to comments about max-
imizing ante-mortem testing, the department considered several
options that would allow ante-mortem substitution for all required
post-mortem tests. If no mortalities are tested, a higher num-
ber of ante-mortem tests would be required to achieve the same
epidemiological confidence as post-mortem tests, perhaps at as
much as a 6:1 substitution ratio. Stakeholders suggested a 4:1
substitution if less than 50 percent of mortalities were tested but

retaining the 2:1 ratio if the number of post-mortem tests submit-
ted was equal to at least 50 percent of eligible mortalities. The
department also received public comment and engaged in dis-
cussions concerning the simplification of the regulations. There-
fore, in an effort to simplify this requirement, an ante-mortem
substitution ratio of 3:1 was selected. From an epidemiological
perspective, while more testing is preferred, a substitution ratio
of 3:1 was determined to be adequate. Although changes in the
use of ante-mortem substitution were made in the adopted rules,
no changes were made as a result of these comments.

Twenty-six commenters opposed adoption of rules and urged
the Commission to adopt the portion of the May 6 recommenda-
tion that recommended elimination of all release site testing after
the 2016-2017 hunting year. The department disagrees with this
comment and responds that, as noted elsewhere in this pream-
ble, while breeding facility testing of 80% of eligible mortalities
with a minimum number of post-mortem tests equal to or greater
than 3.6% of the herd inventory at the end of each reporting year,
will, over time, provide sufficient confidence that CWD would be
detected if it existed in a breeding facility at a low prevalence,
given the historic variability among deer breeders' testing history,
not until March 1, 2019 will there be sufficient testing history at
this level to dispense with release-site testing for deer released
from facilities that meet only the MQ requirement. No changes
were made in response to the comments.

Twenty-six commenters opposed adoption of the rules and urged
the Commission to adopt the portion of the May 6 recommenda-
tion that urged elimination of release-site testing for the first year
of the rule's effectiveness for release sites that met the following:
received deer only from breeding facilities with "fifth year" or "cer-
tified" status in the TAHC Herd Certification program; was classi-
fied as a Class | release site and was in full compliance with the
Interim Breeder Rules; only received deer from a breeding facil-
ity that had tested 80% of its eligible mortalities in the preceding
reporting year; or received deer only from a breeding facility that
had obtained ante-mortem test results for more than 25% of el-
igible-aged deer. The commenters also recommended that any
release site in compliance with the requirements of the Interim
Breeder Rules be "reset" to Class | for the 2016-2017 hunting
season. The department agrees that a release site in compli-
ance with the requirements of the Interim Breeder Rules should
be "reset" to Class | for the 2016-2017 hunting season (so long
as the release site does not receive deer of a lower status after
the effective date of the rules). The department also agrees with
the portion of the recommendation seeking the elimination of re-
lease-site testing in the 2016-2017 hunting year for release sites
that received deer only from herds with "fifth year" or "certified"
status in the TAHC Herd Certification program (Class | release
sites) and notes that this part of the May 6 recommendation is
consistent with the rules as proposed. However, the department
disagrees with the remainder of this portion of the May 6 recom-
mendation. As explained elsewhere in this preamble, given the
historic variability among deer breeders' testing history, not until
March 1, 2019, will there be sufficient testing history at the 80%
level to dispense with release-site testing for deer released from
such breeding facilities. Further, statistical analyses conducted
by the department found that a breeding facility that has submit-
ted "not detected" ante-mortem test results for at least 50 percent
of the eligible-aged deer in the facility as of the date on which
ante-mortem testing begins has a sufficiently low level of risk to
be classified as TC 1, meaning deer released from that facility
would not trigger release-site testing requirements. However, to
facilitate the transition to the new rules and recognizing that in
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anticipation of the adoption of these rules some deer breeders
may have already begun conducting ante-mortem testing but not
yet tested 50 percent of eligible-aged deer, a temporary provision
is included in the rules as adopted to allow a breeding facility that
submits "not detected" ante-mortem test results for at least 25
percent of the eligible aged deer in the facility to be temporarily
classified as TC 1; however, the facility must provide the balance
of the required testing by May 15, 2017 to maintain TC 1 status.
No changes were made as a result of these comments.

Twenty-six commenters opposed adoption of the rules and urged
the Commission to adopt the portion of the May 6 recommenda-
tion that recommended that there be only one year of release site
testing following the adoption of the rules (i.e., the 2016-2017
hunting year) and that those release sites be required to test the
first 15 hunter-harvested deer (but not to exceed 15). As ex-
plained elsewhere in this preamble, the department agrees that
the number of tests required to be submitted from release sites
where hunter-harvested deer are required to be tested should
be modified to require such tests from the first 15 hunter-har-
vested deer at the site and the rules as adopted, contain such
a modification. However, for reasons explained in response to
the previous comments, the department disagrees that release
site testing should cease after the 2016-2017 hunting year. No
changes were made in response that portion of the comments.

Ante-Mortem Testing

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that pro-
posed §65.92(f) "undermines the value of a non-detected live
test. A result of non-detected should have the same weight and
value in all applicable sections of this division. To suggest that a
non-detected result should not count towards other sections or
portions of this rules, directly devalues the finding of a non-de-
tected result." The provision in question prohibits the use of an
ante-mortem test result more than once to satisfy any testing re-
quirement of the division. The department understands the com-
ment to mean that a permittee should be able to use the same
"not detected" test result multiple times to satisfy any testing re-
quirement of the proposed rules. The department disagrees with
the comment and responds that the epidemiological value of a
"not detected" ante-mortem test result is unique in time and appli-
cation and cannot be used to satisfy multiple requirements. For
example, the epidemiological importance of the 3.6% require-
ment is independent of the 50% ante-mortem testing, and thus
independent samples must be used to achieve the level of confi-
dence intended. No changes were made as a result of the com-
ments.

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that
"live animal testing protocols must maximize and value "not
detected" results. Restricting animals that can be tested and
limiting the number of times an animal can be tested undermines
the true value of "not detected" results as well as the producer's
willingness to comply." The department disagrees that the
rules as adopted do not "maximize and value" test results of
"not detected." While the department agrees that ante-mortem
testing can be an effective component of an overall testing
regime, as explained previously in this preamble in connection
with the substitution of ante-mortem for post-mortem tests
provided in §65.92(b), testing animals that have died provides a
much higher likelihood of detecting the disease, since diseased
animals are more likely to die than healthy animals. The rules
as adopted contain changes to allow for the more frequent
ante-mortem testing of a single animal (from no more than once
every 36 months to once every 24 months). In addition, the rules

as adopted were changed to eliminate the minimum number of
test results that must be post-mortem (i.e., to allow ante-mortem
substitution for all required post-mortem test results). To com-
pensate for the enhanced use of ante-mortem testing, the ratio
at which ante-mortem tests may be substituted was adjusted
from two ante-mortem test results for each required post-mortem
test results to three ante-mortem test results for each required
post-mortem test result. In addition, the rules as adopted were
modified to eliminate the residency prerequisite (i.e. the time in
which a breeder deer must have been in the breeding facility)
for testing validity. The rules as adopted retain a minimum age
requirement and testing frequency limitation for ante-mortem
test validity. The literature indicates that animals younger than
16 months of age are problematic because if they are infected,
the disease may not have had enough time to manifest itself
in lymphatic or brain tissue. The testing frequency limitation is
necessary because the affected tissues must be given sufficient
time to regenerate before they can be tested again with efficacy.
The department also disagrees that the standards contained
in the rules as adopted function to discourage compliance. No
additional changes were made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that live testing
should be allowed. The department agrees with the comment
and responds that, as noted above, both the rules as proposed
and the rules as adopted allow for ante-mortem (live) testing of
deer. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there should
not be residency requirements for ante-mortem testing. The de-
partment agrees with the comment and responds that, as previ-
ously noted, changes have been made accordingly.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules
do not specifically provide for live testing. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that the rules as
proposed and as adopted contain provisions that specifically
provide for and allow ante-mortem testing of breeder deer. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
provisions of proposed §65.92(e)(1) should be eliminated be-
cause there are small facilities that may not experience two nat-
ural mortalities in one year. As proposed, §65.92 would have
limited the number of post-mortem tests for which ante-mortem
substitution was allowed. As noted elsewhere in this preamble,
the department agrees with the comment and has made changes
accordingly.

Release Site Requirements

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that re-
lease-site testing should be required for three years following
release, rather than five. The department agrees and responds
that as explained in the discussion of §65.95(c)(1), the rules as
adopted eliminate release-site testing requirements for Class I
release sites after March 1, 2019 (except for sites that have not
submitted the required test results).

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that re-
lease-site testing should be a "three consecutive hunting year
period for the submission of "non-detected" post-mortem results,
specifying a threshold of 50% of either liberated or hunter-har-
vested deer, whichever is less." With regard to the time period
for release site testing and as explained in response to the pre-
vious comment, the department agrees and responds that as
explained in the discussion of §65.95(c)(1), the rules as adopted
eliminate release-site testing requirements for Class Il release
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sites after March 1, 2019 (except for sites that have not sub-
mitted the required test results). However, the department dis-
agrees that Class Il release-site testing requirements should be
the lesser of 50 percent of either liberated or hunter-harvested
deer as provided in the proposed rules. Instead, the department
responds that after analyzing 2015-2016 harvest data at Class
Il release sites, the department concluded that requiring every
deer harvested at a site (but not more than 15) to be tested would
enhance the level of release site testing at most sites. Thus, the
change results in a simpler standard that is easier to comply with
and enforce while remaining epidemiologically efficacious.

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
testing requirements for DMP facilities affected by the proposed
rules should apply for three years. The department agrees and
responds that as explained in connection with the discussion of
§65.96, the rules as adopted eliminate the proposed release-
site testing requirements for Class Il release sites after March 1,
2019 (except for sites that have not submitted the required test).
It should also be noted that §65.98 as adopted reduces the time
period for which release sites not in compliance with the Interim
Breeder Rules must submit tests (from five years to three years).

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that pro-
posed §65.98 should be changed "to only require testing for
one year." The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that although §65.98 is adopted with changes to reduce
the number of years that testing is required by release sites notin
compliance with Interim Breeder Rules (from five years to three
years), further reduction of such release site testing is insufficient
to establish epidemiological confidence that CWD is not likely
present. No changes were made as a result of the comments.

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that
"the five year testing protocols for unconnected, currently tested
Class Il release sites is excessive and unwarranted. Deer
that are released on Class |l release sites come from tested,
unconnected breeding facilities. They should not be treated
similarly to exposed release sites." The department disagrees
with the comment and responds that the proposed five-year
testing history under the rules as proposed was not excessive
or unwarranted; however, in light of changes made to the testing
requirements as adopted, and as explained in the discussion
of §65.95, modification of release-site testing requirements
is appropriate. Therefore, the rules as adopted eliminate the
proposed release-site testing requirements for Class Il release
sites after March 1, 2019, thus reducing the five-year time
period to three years or less. It should also be noted that
§65.98 as adopted reduces the time period for which release
sites not in compliance with the Interim Breeder Rules must
submit tests (from five years to three years). With regard to
the portion of this comment regarding "unconnected" breeding
facilities, the department disagrees and responds that during
the epidemiological investigation of the first CWD-positive in
a breeding facility, it was determined that over 75% of deer
breeders in Texas were linked to the CWD-positive facility by no
more than three degrees of separation. As a result, although
many deer breeders may believe they are "unconnected" to a
CWD-positive facility, the investigation demonstrated that most
facilities were epidemiologically connected to a CWD-positive
facility to some degree. However, the rules as proposed and as
adopted do make a distinction between breeding facilities that
are more directly exposed to CWD (TC 3 facilities) and other
breeding facilities. Except with regard to the change to the time
period for which release-site testing is required, no changes
were made as a result of this comment.

Seven commenters opposed adoption and stated that there
should be no release-site testing. The department agrees that
except for Class Il release sites (which have been more directly
exposed to CWD), when deer breeders seeking to move deer
have uniformly achieved a higher level of testing (80% of mortal-
ities each year, with a minimum expected annual post-mortem
test equal to at least 3.6% of the eligible aged population), the
confidence level of detecting CWD if it exists in a breeding
facility will be at a level sufficient to dispense with release-site
testing for most release sites beginning in 2019. However, the
department disagrees that release-site testing can be eliminated
immediately and responds that epidemiological science dictates
thatitis prudent to require release-site testing in conjunction with
testing at deer breeding facilities until the statistical probability
of detecting CWD has reached an acceptable level. With regard
to testing at Class Il release sites, the department disagrees
with the comment and responds that if deer are released from
a facility that is either connected to another facility where CWD
has been confirmed or cannot provide adequate testing history
to conclude that CWD is not present in facility, the release site
poses a much higher epidemiological risk; therefore, continued
Class lll release site testing is appropriate. No changes were
made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there should
be no testing required of any deer breeding facility or release
site. The department disagrees with the comment and responds
that the only way to prevent CWD from threatening all deer in
the state is to determine its prevalence and spread by sampling
free-ranging and captive populations of deer. No changes were
made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that release site
owners shouldn't have to test 50 percent of harvested deer for
five years. The department agrees with the comment and re-
sponds that the release-site testing requirements of the rules
as adopted have been changed to require the first harvested
deer and every deer subsequently harvested to be tested, but
require no release site owner to test more than 15 deer in any
year. In addition, as explained in connection with the discussion
of §65.96, the rules as adopted eliminate release-site testing re-
quirements for Class Il release sites after March 1, 2019 (except
for sites that have not submitted the required test).

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that "re-
lease site requirements must maintain a commitment to the best
practices for deer management, promoting the health and vitality
of the deer herd by allowing soft release and transition sites as
options." The department disagrees that "soft release" is not al-
lowed by the rules as adopted and notes that current regulations
in 31 TAC §65.610 provide for "soft release" of breeder deer to
allow acclimation, so long as such "soft release" complies with
the requirements of that section. The department is uncertain
what the commenters mean by "transition sites" or the intended
purpose of such sites. To the extent that the commenter is refer-
ring to alterations in fencing, the department notes that the rules
as adopted allow for release sites to be modified, but continue
to require that deer have access to the entirety of the release
site (with certain exceptions for safety and protection of agricul-
ture), which is necessary to establish epidemiological certainty
regarding the exact locations where liberated deer are confined.
Except for the changes to clearly allow modification of a release
site and the fencing of areas for safety and to prevent depreda-
tion, no changes were made as a result of these comments.
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Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that a re-
lease site should consist of the specific tract of land to which deer
are released and the acreage designated as a release site in
TWIMS or any contiguous tract of land owned by the landowner
designated as a release site in TWIMS. The department dis-
agrees with the comments and responds that for purposes of
disease management, if the department is to allow the release
of breeder deer, it must be able to know the exact geographical
parameters of the release site. The rules as adopted have been
changed to allow for release sites to be modified with the prior
notification of the department and to allow for enclosures for the
purpose of safety or the protection of crops. No changes other-
wise were made as a result of the comments.

Seventy-four commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
department does not have the authority to stipulate fence height
requirements for release sites, especially when a breeding fa-
cility is releasing deer directly from the facility to adjoining low-
fenced property owned by the same person. The department
disagrees with the comments and responds that under the pro-
visions of Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter L,
the Commission is authorized to regulate the possession of deer
held under a deer breeder permit, which includes establishing
the circumstances under which the possession of breeder deer
may legally cease. No changes were made as a result of the
comments.

Testing of Free-Ranging Deer

Three commenters opposed adoption and stated that testing re-
quirements should apply to all wild deer and all landowners. Four
commenters opposed adoption and stated that all deer should
be tested. The department assumes that these commenters
are all referring to testing of free-ranging deer. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that there is a com-
mon misperception that free-ranging deer populations and cap-
tive deer populations present identical epidemiological contexts
for disease sampling. Free-ranging deer populations are resi-
dent for the entirety of their lifespans within an extremely nar-
row geospatial extent (compared to the range of the species),
whereas captive deer are commingled within facilities with deer
from various other populations and are quite often relocated to
destinations far beyond what would occur with normal natural
movement. The sizes of the populations of inference are also
disparate. Therefore, the two types of populations present two
entirely different epidemiological situations that require different
responses. The department's long-term CWD sampling efforts
in free-ranging deer in almost every region of the state have pro-
duced epidemiological results that allow the department to con-
clude with 99 percent confidence that if CWD exists, it is at a
prevalence of less than 1 percent. This statistical confidence
cannot be achieved in captive populations (because even large
breeding facilities contain an infinitesimally small statistical sam-
ple size) except over long periods of time. No changes were
made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that hunter-killed
deer should be tested at the same rate as breeder deer. While
the department agrees that the testing of hunter-harvested deer
is an important component of disease management, and notes
that the rules as adopted require the testing of hunter-harvested
deer at some release sites, the department disagrees that all
hunter-harvested deer should be required to be tested for CWD.
As explained in more detail in the response to other comments,
through voluntary cooperation by hunters and sampling of road-
kills, the department has obtained sufficient samples from free-

ranging deer to provide an enhanced level of assurance of de-
tection of CWD in the free-ranging population. The department
also notes that the rate of testing is immaterial; the sheer num-
ber of hunter-harvested deer tested (over time) is more signifi-
cant, from a statistical point of view, than the rate of testing. As
noted elsewhere in this preamble, at the current time the depart-
ment is confident that surveillance of free-ranging populations is
adequate in almost every region of the state to detect CWD in
free-ranging populations at a very low prevalence. No changes
were made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that TPWD should
test wild deer. The department assumes the commenter is refer-
ring to free-ranging deer. The department agrees with the com-
ment and responds the department conducts a robust sampling
effort on a continual basis. No changes were made as a result
of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that 50 percent of
hunter killed deer should be tested. The department disagrees
with the comment and responds that it is not necessary to sample
50 percent of hunter-harvested to achieve confidence that CWD
can be detected at extremely low prevalence, which is explained
in detail elsewhere in this preamble. As general background re-
garding the level of surveillance of free ranging deer, the depart-
ment notes that testing a higher proportion of mortalities within
a herd/population does not necessarily equate to more intensive
sampling and/or a higher probability of detecting the disease. In
calculating appropriate sample sizes, the department relies on
probability detection tables constructed from a computation put
forward by researchers Cannon and Roe that has been used
extensively over many years for sample-size detection determi-
nations. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

Three commenters opposed adoption and stated that low-fenced
deer aren't being tested or aren't being tested at the same in-
tensity as breeder deer. The department disagrees with the
comments and responds that if by "low-fenced deer" the com-
menter means free-ranging deer (which, it should be noted, in-
cludes deer on high-fenced properties), sufficient numbers of
deer have been tested to yield high confidence that if CWD ex-
ists on the landscape, even at extremely low prevalence, it would
have been detected in most regions of Texas. No changes were
made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that only a small
percentage of native deer are tested. The department assumes
the commenters are referring the testing of free-ranging deer.
The department agrees with the comment and responds that with
regard to the level of surveillance of free ranging deer, testing a
higher proportion of mortalities within a herd/population does not
necessarily equate to more intensive sampling and/or a higher
probability of detecting the disease. In calculating appropriate
sample sizes, the department relies on probability detection ta-
bles constructed from a computation put forward by researchers
Cannon and Roe that have been used extensively over many
years for sample-size detection determinations. Simply put, as
the population size increases, the proportion of the population
that must be sampled to yield an equivalent confidence level de-
creases. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that more wild
deer have tested positive for CWD than captive deer. The
department disagrees with the comment and responds that
although it is a fact that more breeder deer than free-ranging
deer have been confirmed with CWD, it is irrelevant because the
presence of the disease in even a single deer in either captive
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or free-ranging populations is cause for concern and action. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

Triple T

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
rules should not include the provision prohibiting the issuance of
a Triple T permit to trap deer at a site that has been a release
site for breeder deer within the previous five years and should
be changed to allow for deer to be trapped at Class | release site
for Triple T purposes. The department disagrees with the com-
ments and responds that any release site that received breeder
deer within the last five years cannot be definitively excluded as
a possible place where CWD has been introduced; similarly, a
Class | status for a release site reflects only the source of breeder
deer that have been released at that site since August of 2015
and does not account for the epidemiological status of deer that
were previously released or resident on the site prior to the liber-
ation of breeder deer. Therefore, the rules prohibit the trapping
of deer for Triple T purposes at any location where breeder deer
have been liberated within the previous five years (the accepted
incubation period for CWD).

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
identification requirements for released Triple T deer should be
eliminated. The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that it is imperative that translocated deer be identifiable
in order to facilitate epidemiological investigations in the event
that CWD is discovered in a free-ranging deer population that
has received Triple T deer. No changes were made as a result
of the comments.

Twelve commenters opposed adoption by stating in identical or
nearly identical fashion that the rules would severely limit Triple
T activities. The commenters stated that instead of release site
testing, the requirement should be for 10% testing at the trap
site (no more than 10 deer per year per trap site) and that there
should be uniformity of test requirements between all classes
and levels. The department disagrees with the comments and
responds that both trap site testing and release testing are imper-
ative under certain circumstances. As proposed, the rules would
have required 15 "not detected" post-mortem test results from
the trap site to be submitted prior to permit issuance. For release
sites, the proposed rules would have required the landowner of
a Triple T release site to submit "not detected" post-mortem test
results for a period of five consecutive hunting years immedi-
ately following the release for either 50 percent of liberated deer
that are harvested at the Triple T release site, or if no liberated
deer were harvested at the Triple T release site in any hunting
year, 50 percent of hunter-harvested deer. However, the rules
as adopted retain the requirement for 15 deer from the trap site
to be tested with "not detected" results, but release-site testing
has been eliminated.

Four commenters opposed adoption and stated that there should
be no Triple T release-site testing. The department agrees with
the comments and has made changes accordingly.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the proposed
Triple T provisions are burdensome, excessive, and unneces-
sary. The department disagrees that the rules as proposed were
onerous, but responds that the rules have been adopted with
changes to facilitate compliance while still achieving a scientifi-
cally acceptable level of surveillance.

Administrative Procedure, Governmental Efficiency, and Public
Policy

Ninety-four commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
rules are overregulation, overreach, overkill, overreaction, over-
bearing, unwarranted, unjustified, or unnecessary. The depart-
ment disagrees with the comments and responds that the rules
as adopted are intended to represent a narrowly drawn, sci-
entifically efficacious mechanism for increasing disease surveil-
lance in captive populations and populations that receive deer
from captive populations. In addition, the rules' requirements
are based on the risk of exposure to and spread of CWD and
the need for surveillance as part of the department's effort to en-
sure that the rules were not, in fact, broader than necessary. In
addition, the department is undertaking efforts to educate those
required to comply about the rules' requirements and modifying
TWIMS (the department's online reporting system) to facilitate
compliance. No changes were made as a result of the com-
ments.

Eighty commenters opposed adoption and stated that the rules
are an excessive expenditure of or waste of tax money. The de-
partment disagrees with the comments and responds that the
administration and enforcement of fish and game laws in Texas
is funded primarily by revenues from the sale of hunting and fish-
ing licenses and permits; therefore, the cost of administering and
enforcing the rules as adopted is already part of the department's
existing duties. No changes were made as a result of the com-
ments.

Eight commenters opposed adoption and stated that the rules
are shady, the result of political influence and backroom deal-
ing, promulgated according to a hidden agenda, or written by
unknown "stakeholders" in closed-door meetings with no notice.
The department disagrees with the comments and responds that
the rules were developed in an open, inclusive, and transparent
process that involved the invited participation of the regulated
community and stakeholders (including trade associations rep-
resenting deer breeders) with facilitation provided by of the Cen-
ter for Public Policy Dispute Resolution of the University of Texas
School of Law and regular contact with interested legislators. No
changes were made as a result of the comments.

Seventy-four commenters stated that the rules are burdensome.
One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules are
too stringent. The department disagrees with the comments and
responds that as noted in the proposal preamble, the department
recognizes that the rules will have an impact on those required
to comply. However, the rules' classification of breeding facilities
and release sites based on risk of exposure to CWD, with re-
quirements based on a breeding facility's and release site's risk
of exposure to CWD, was part of the department's effort to en-
sure that the rules were not, in fact, broader than necessary. In
addition, the department is undertaking efforts to educate those
required to comply about the rules' requirements and modifying
TWIMS (the department's online reporting system) to facilitate
compliance. No changes were made as a result of the com-
ments.

Three commenters opposed adoption and stated that rules are
excessively complicated. The department disagrees with the
comment and responds that the rules as adopted to the greatest
extent possible avoid complexity, but that by the very nature of
the regulatory terrain (disease management in a large state with
large populations of landowners and deer, and more than 1,000
deer breeders, Triple T, and DMP cooperators), some regulatory
complexity is unavoidable. No changes were made as a result
of the comments.
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Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the costs of
the rules outweigh the benefits and the risk of CWD is less than
the value of the rules. The department disagrees with the com-
ments and responds that the cost of not having the rules could
be severe if CWD becomes established at landscape scale, af-
fecting the state's deer populations and the multi-billion dollar
economies surrounding hunting, ranching, real estate, and con-
servation. No changes were made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules were
arbitrary and inefficient. The department disagrees with the com-
ment and responds that, as explained elsewhere in this pream-
ble, the rules were developed based on scientific principles of
epidemiology and disease management, and are intended to be
as efficient as possible under the circumstances. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there were
now over 500 pages of regulations governing deer breeders.
The department disagrees with the comment and responds that
depending on how the rules and statutes are quantified, there
appears to be fewer than 20 pages of regulatory material that
applies to deer breeders. No changes were made as a result of
the comment.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the Com-
mission should adopt the recommendation of the Texas Deer
Association. The department disagrees with the comment and
responds that persons associated with the Texas Deer Associa-
tion made a number of recommendations, some of which have
been incorporated into the rules adopted, although other recom-
mendations from the Texas Deer Association were insufficient
to meet responsible disease-management goals. With regard
to the recommendations made by the Texas Deer Association
and others on May 6, 2016, the department's response to the
comments regarding those recommendations are provided else-
where in this preamble. No changes were made as a result of
the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules
cause landowners to buy deer only from TC 1 breeding facilities.
The department disagrees with the comment and responds that
the rules do not determine who buys or sells deer for whatever
reason, rather, it is the emergence of CWD acting to make
potential customers anxious about the health of breeder deer
being purchased. No changes were made as a result of the
comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the federal
government was regulating where they have no business at tax-
payer expense. The department disagrees with the comment
and responds that the rules are not the result of a requirement
of the federal government. No changes were made as a result
of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the govern-
ment tells people how to raise deer but not cattle. The depart-
ment disagrees with the comment and responds that unlike cat-
tle, which are considered livestock, mule deer and white-tailed
deer are public resources. In addition, it should be noted that
state and federal agencies have enacted regulations regarding
cattle production. No changes were made as a result of the com-
ment.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that government
shouldn't be involved in deer breeding and that deer breeding is
a private enterprise that government should stay out of. The de-
partment disagrees with the comment and responds that under

Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter L, the depart-
ment is required to regulate the possession of live deer under a
deer breeder's permit. No changes were made as a result of the
comments.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that TPWD
violated the Open Meeting Act. The department disagrees with
the comment and responds that although the commenter did
not specify the actions that the commenter believes violated
the Open Meetings Act or when they occurred, the rules were
adopted by the Parks and Wildlife Commission in a lawfully
noticed meeting in compliance with applicable provisions of the
Texas Open Meetings Act, following publication of a Notice of
Proposed Rulemaking in the Texas Register and solicitation
of public comment as required under the Texas Administrative
Procedure Act. No changes were made as a result of the
comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules
constituted a destruction of freedom of commerce. The depart-
ment disagrees with the comment and responds that the rules
as adopted are not for the purpose of regulating commercial
activity. As noted in the proposal preamble, the department
acknowledges that the rules may have an economic impact on
persons required to comply. No changes were made as a result
of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the stake-
holder groups that provided input to the department were not
representative of the public. The department agrees that the var-
ious stakeholder groups are not demographically reflective of the
state's population as a whole; however, the stakeholder groups
were representative of the persons impacted by the rules. The
department considers that a stakeholder is a person or organiza-
tion that has a direct interest in the department's actions, objec-
tives, and policies. On that basis, the composition of the stake-
holder groups was focused on the parties directly affected by po-
tential rules addressing the nexus of disease management and
the unnatural movement of a popular game species. The stake-
holder groups therefore included individuals and associations
that could knowledgably inform the department about the per-
spectives of affected regulatory agencies, landowners, wildlife
managers, hunters, and deer breeders. In addition, through the
notice and comment process required for the adoption of the
rules, any person with an interest in the rules was given an op-
portunity to participate. No changes were made as a result of
the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the depart-
ment is too political, and one commenter opposed adoption and
stated that the rules are part of TPWD's political agenda. The
department disagrees with the comments and responds that, as
explained in more detail elsewhere in this preamble, the basis
for the rules was the protection of a public resource using bio-
logically defensible measures intended to minimize CWD risks to
free-ranging and captive white-tailed deer, mule deer, and other
susceptible species in Texas while minimizing direct and indi-
rect impacts of CWD to hunting, hunting-related economies, and
conservation in Texas. No changes were made as a result of the
comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules are
just a way for the department to create more government jobs.
The department disagrees with the comment and responds that,
as mentioned elsewhere in this preamble, the rules are for the
purpose of protecting a public resource. Although the depart-
ment has engaged additional manpower on a temporary basis
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to enhance customer service to the regulated community, the
administration and enforcement of the rules as adopted will be
effected by existing personnel. No changes were made as a re-
sult of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules are
a "cash cow" for the department and one commenter opposed
adoption and stated that the department was trying to add
more government jobs and increase budget. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that the rules are
not motivated by and do not affect the department's revenue
stream. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that politics
should be kept out of rulemaking. The department agrees with
the comment and responds that the rules as adopted are for
the purpose of protecting a public resource based on the best
epidemiological science available. No changes were made as
a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that TPWD is cor-
rupt because testing goals in the two counties where CWD was
discovered were not attained. The department assumes that the
commenter is referring to the fact that although the department
exceeded its goal for collection of CWD samples from hunter-
harvested deer on a statewide basis, the department did not
achieve its goal for hunter-harvest sample collection in the Cen-
tral Texas areas surrounding the sites on which CWD was de-
tected. The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that every effort was and is being made to accumulate
an epidemiologically complete picture of the prevalence of CWD
in every part of the state. The department also responds that
suboptimal sampling in any given location does not make the
department "corrupt" or the rules as adopted unnecessary. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules
change constantly, which is illegal. The department disagrees
with the comment and responds that as explained elsewhere in
this preamble, while the department acknowledges that there
have been several iterations of regulations regarding CWD, the
emergency rules and the Interim Breeder Rules were developed
for the stated purpose of providing an immediate response in the
wake of the June 2015 discovery of CWD in a breeding facility,
to enable breeders, release sites, land managers, hunters,
and wildlife enthusiasts some degree of certainty through the
2015-2016 hunting season, and to afford the department an op-
portunity, through a process that included extensive stakeholder
input, to develop regulations that would provide a mechanism
for responding to CWD for the long term. No changes were
made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the per-ani-
mal testing costs in the preamble are too high. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that because the pro-
cedures for CWD sample collection were relatively new and only
a small number of persons at the time the proposed rules were
published had been trained or certified to perform those proce-
dures, the department based the estimates of the cost of compli-
ance on information solicited from a number of private veterinar-
ians. As more people become trained and certified to become
sample collectors, the cost of compliance will be reduced, which
has proven to be the case. No changes were made as a result
of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that TPWD ad-
mitted there were no goals. The department disagrees with the

comment and responds that it is unaware of any statement to
the effect that there is no goal for this rulemaking. The depart-
ment stated numerous times in numerous rulemakings, as well
as continuously to the public via the department's communica-
tions efforts since the discovery of CWD in a deer breeding fa-
cility in June 2015, that the department is guided by the three
major goals set forth in the CWD Management Plan: (1) Mini-
mize CWD risks to the free-ranging and captive white-tailed deer,
mule deer, and other susceptible species in Texas; (2) Estab-
lish and maintain support for prudent CWD management with
hunters, landowners, and other stakeholders; and (3) Minimize
direct and indirect impacts of CWD to hunting, hunting related
economies, and conservation in Texas. No changes were made
as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that it is unethi-
cal to have unreasonable rules. The department disagrees that
the rules are unethical or unreasonable and responds that as
explained elsewhere in this preamble, the department has un-
dertaken considerable efforts to involve affected parties in the
process of developing these rules to ensure that the rules as
adopted provide a reasonable mechanism for the surveillance
and containment of CWD based on scientific principles of dis-
ease management while still allowing regulated activities to oc-
cur. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

Three commenters opposed adoption and stated that the original
rules worked just fine. The department disagrees with the com-
ment and responds that the while the original rules (i.e., the rules
that existed at the time CWD was discovered in a Medina County
breeding facility in June 2015) provided an adequate initial base-
line for testing, the rules were inadequate to provide a level of
assurance that CWD would be detected if it existed in a breed-
ing facility. It should be noted that although the minimum testing
requirement under the original rule was 20%, the average test-
ing rate for breeding facilities was previously 40%. Also, every
Texas deer breeding facility where CWD has been discovered
had tested more than 90% of eligible mortalities. In the first deer
breeding facility where CWD was discovered (Medina County),
95% of the eligible mortalities were tested. In the second facility
(Lavaca County), the facility owner was required as prescribed
in a TAHC herd plan to test 100% of eligible mortalities, and it
was under this testing rate that CWD was discovered. The third
and fourth discoveries of CWD in white-tailed deer occurred at
facilities under a TAHC herd plan or subject to enhanced testing
under the Interim Breeder Rules. No changes were made as a
result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules have
too many traps and holes. The department disagrees with the
commenter, especially in the absence of the identification of spe-
cific problematic provisions, and responds that the rules were not
intended to include traps and holes. In addition, as noted in re-
sponse to other comments, through outreach and modifications
to TWIMS, the department is seeking to address concerns about
compliance with the rules.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules are
"not right." The department understand this comment to be stat-
ing a general objection to the rules. The department disagrees
with the comment and responds that it is discharging a statutory
duty to protect the wildlife resources of the state. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that CWD cannot
be regulated away. The department agrees with the comment
and responds that the rules as adopted are not intended to elim-
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inate CWD, but to detect it where it exists so that it can be con-
tained. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules do
not account for long-term impacts. The department disagree
with the comment and responds that the rules actually are in-
tended to avoid long-term impacts. By providing a pathway for
most, if not all, breeding facilities to achieve movement status
without release-site testing requirements, the rules intentionally
seek to minimize long-term impacts for those deer breeders who
are willing to conduct adequate testing. No changes were made
as a result of the comment.

Nature of Breeder Deer

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
rules shouldn't "interfere with the private property rights of the in-
dividual landowner." The department agrees with the comments
and responds that the rules as adopted do not affect the private
property rights of any individual landowner. No changes were
made as a result of the comments.

Seventy-five commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
rules should not require breeder deer to be killed. The depart-
ment disagrees that the rules require breeder deer to be killed.
The rules provide for testing requirements that must be met in
order to be able to move deer and provide the option of sacrific-
ing deer in order to meet those requirements, but do not require
any deer breeder to kill any deer. No changes were made as a
result of the comment.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that breeder deer
are private property and should be treated like cattle. The depart-
ment disagrees with the comments and responds that breeder
deer are the property of the people of the state under the provi-
sions of the Parks and Wildlife Code, while cattle are considered
livestock. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules vi-
olate property rights. The department disagrees with the com-
ment and responds that the rules as adopted do not regulate the
acquisition, use, or transfer of private property, real or personal.
No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that breeder deer
are livestock and shouldn't be regulated by the state. The de-
partment disagrees with the comment and responds that deer
are not livestock under the laws of this state, and that under the
Parks and Wildlife Code, white-tailed deer and mule deer are the
property of the people of the state. No changes were made as a
result of the comment.

Economic Impacts

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the rules
will destroy property values. The department disagrees with the
comments and responds that the presence of CWD in an area,
rather than the presence of rules designed to detect and con-
tain CWD, would seem to be the major determinant of the effect
of CWD on property values. In addition, while the department
recognizes that there could be costs associated with additional
testing under the rules, the detection and containment of CWD
is necessary to protect the state from the threat of CWD to the
state's multi-billion dollar ranching, hunting, real estate, tourism,
and wildlife management-related economies, which should posi-
tively impact property values. No changes were made as a result
of the comments.

Eighty-one commenters opposed adoption and stated that the
rules will hurt state and local economies and cost jobs. Six com-
menters opposed adoption and stated that the rules will kill the
deer breeding industry and put people out of business. Two com-
menters opposed adoption and stated that the rules will create fi-
nancial burdens, economic hardship, and hurt families. Similarly,
one commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules will
hurt thousands of businesses and people. One commenter op-
posed adoption and stated that the rules will jeopardize 800,000
jobs. The department disagrees with the comments and re-
sponds that depending on a breeding facility's classification un-
der the rules and the types of activities that the breeding facil-
ity seeks to undertake, there may be costs associated with ad-
ditional testing. If the comment is referring to marketplace be-
havior, the proposal preamble also noted that to the extent that
any marketplace analysis can be conducted, it is difficult, if not
impossible, to accurately separate and distinguish marketplace
behavior that is the result of the proposed rules from market-
place behavior that is the result of the discovery of CWD. With
regard to the comment about jeopardizing jobs, an unpublished
study conducted by the Agricultural and Food Policy Center at
Texas A&M University in 2007 estimated the number of jobs cre-
ated by the deer breeding industry at that time to be 7,335 jobs
with the "multiplier effect." The department further responds that
detection and containment of CWD is necessary to protect the
state's multi-billion dollar ranching, hunting, real estate, tourism,
and wildlife management-related economies. No changes were
made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules will
result in a loss of at least $1.2 million in revenue to the depart-
ment in the form of deer breeders going out of business and lost
license revenue from non-resident hunters. The department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that department data
indicate a steady trend line for the number of permitted deer
breeders, that there is no data to estimate what percentage of
non-resident hunters hunt released breeder deer, and that sig-
nificant revenue loss and economic harm could result if CWD is
not contained and managed. No changes were made as a result
of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules
constituted an unfunded mandate, because deer breeders
must bear the cost of CWD testing while free-ranging deer are
tested by the state at no cost to hunters and landowners. The
department disagrees with the comment and responds that deer
breeding is a commercial enterprise that is voluntarily engaged
in by deer breeders and much the same as the cost of fencing,
feed, and medical care, the testing requirements imposed by
the rules are a cost of doing business that can be passed to the
consumer if the business operator so chooses. It should also be
noted that persons transporting deer pursuant to Triple T or TTP
permit must pay costs associated with the movement of deer,
including the cost of CWD testing. Hunter-harvested deer are
tested at no cost because the department finds an imperative
need to develop an epidemiological characterization of CWD in
free-ranging populations everywhere in the state. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the rules will
hurt or kill hunting. The department disagrees with the com-
ments and responds that the rules adopted will protect hunting
by protecting the resources that are hunted. No changes were
made as a result of the comments.
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One commenter opposed adoption and stated that because deer
breeders provide the lion's share of hunting opportunity, and the
rules will hurt department revenue and the economy. The depart-
ment disagrees with the comment and responds that although
breeder deer compose a very small percentage of the deer har-
vest, the threat to the economy arises from failing to respond
responsibly to CWD, which, if not managed, has the potential
to negatively impact the state's hunting economy. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

Compliance and Enforcement

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that
"Any penalties for non-compliance must accurately reflect the
actions and requirements of the current rules, not extending
penalties beyond what is reasonable or just." The department is
uncertain exactly what is meant by the comment, but responds
that the penalties for violations of the rules as adopted are stip-
ulated by statute and do not differ from the penalties currently in
effect. No changes were made as a result of the comments.

Miscellaneous

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there should
be no rules whatsoever. The department disagrees with the
comment and responds that the department has a statutory duty
to protect public wildlife resources and it is imperative to do so
because CWD poses a threat to those resources. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

Seventy-two commenters opposed adoption and stated that "It
is imperative that any rules regarding standards for testing and
release be based on the overall stewardship and health of the
deer herd, the true impacts of this disease on the population
in Texas, the continuity, applicability, and practicality within a
once-prosperous business environment, and should account for
the economic burden they place on the producer, permit holder,
or release site registrant." The department agrees with the com-
ment, with the caveat that the assertion of a "once-prosperous
business environment" is an unsubstantiated comparative. No
changes were made as a result of the comments.

Rules Not Stringent Enough

Twelve commenters opposed adoption and stated that deer
breeding should not be legal. The department disagrees with
the comment and responds that pursuant to Parks and Wildlife
Code, §43.352(a), the department is required to issue a permit
to a qualified person to possess live breeder deer in captivity.
No changes were made as a result of the comments.

Nine commenters opposed adoption and stated that all released
breeder deer should bear visible tags or other means of ready
identification and released only to double-fenced release sites.
The department disagrees with the comments and responds that
the rules as adopted require only Triple T deer and breeder deer
being released from a TC 3 breeding facility to be eartagged.
The department also believes that the current standard for re-
lease-site fencing, which requires a fence to be at least seven
feet in height, and more importantly, capable of retaining deer at
all times, to be sufficient for keeping liberated deer from commin-
gling with free-ranging deer. The department notes that Parks
and Wildlife Code, §43.3561, does include identification require-
ments associated with breeder deer. No changes were made as
a result of the comments.

Four commenters opposed adoption and stated that the fence re-
quirement should be eight feet, not seven feet. The department

disagrees with the comments and responds that the rules as
adopted require release-site fencing to be at least seven feet in
height, which the department believes is sufficient to reasonably
retain breeder deer on the release site under ordinary circum-
stances. The department also notes that the rules as adopted
do not prevent a landowner from erecting a fence of greater than
seven feet in height. No changes were made as a result of the
comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules do
not require notification of neighboring landowners when a CWD-
positive deer is found. The department acknowledges that the
rules do not require adjoining landowners to be notified if CWD
is discovered on a property, but disagrees that such a require-
ment would increase the department's ability to detect and con-
tain CWD. The department reasons that because it notifies the
public when CWD is discovered and under other rules may des-
ignate any area of the state as a Containment Zone or Surveil-
lance Zone for purposes of CWD management, landowners of
property surrounding a site where CWD is discovered will quickly
learn of the disease's emergence, if it occurs. No changes were
made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rules
should not allow release to low-fenced property. The depart-
ment agrees with the comment and responds that the rules
prohibit the release of deer to low-fenced acreage. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that ante-mortem
testing at 25 percent will allow young animals that have CWD that
is not yet detectable to be moved, thus spreading the disease.
The department disagrees with the comment and responds that
the 25 percent ante-mortem test value is a preliminary testing
requirement to temporarily achieve TC 1 status during the ini-
tial year of the new rules effectiveness; to maintain TC 1 sta-
tus, another 25 percent of the source facility's inventory would
have to be ante-mortem tested by May 1. The department is
attempting to allow as many TC 2 facilities as possible to "test
up" to TC 1 status and reasons that some facilities might not be
able to ante-mortem test 50 percent of their inventory immedi-
ately; therefore, the 25 percent value was selected. It should
also be noted that irrespective of the testing level, young ani-
mals could be moved with CWD because it is not normally yet
detectable, even with 100% ante-mortem testing. The depart-
ment also notes that if CWD is present in a breeding facility it
will be discovered through time, and because breeder deer can
be liberated only to high-fenced release sites, if CWD is discov-
ered in a breeding facility after it has met an initial 25 percent
"not detected" ante-mortem standard, the department will know
the exact location where deer from the facility have been trans-
ferred or liberated and will be able to take immediate steps to
address the situation. No changes were made as a result of the
comment.

The department received a total of 422 comments supporting
adoption of the proposed rules. Between April 22, 2016 and
May 26, 2016 the department received 178 comments support-
ing adoption: 111 comments via the department's website and
67 written comments. At the June 20, 2016, special Commis-
sion meeting, the department received 244 comments support-
ing adoption of the rules.

The Texas Deer Association, Exotic Wildlife Association,
AgriSense Texas, and the Deer Breeder Corporation com-
mented against adoption of the rules as proposed.
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The following groups and associations commented in support
of adoption of the rules: Texas Farm Bureau, King Ranch,
Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association, Ducks
Unlimited, Archery Trade Association, Caesar Kleberg Wildlife
Management Institute, Plateau Land and Wildlife Management,
Audubon Texas, Pope and Young Club, Austin Woods and
Waters Club, Quality Deer Management Association, Bexar
Audubon Society, Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation, Boone and
Crockett Club, Safari Club International - Houston Chapter,
Coastal Bend Bays and Estuaries Program, Sierra Club - Lone
Star Chapter, Hill Country Alliance, Mule Deer Foundation,
Shikar Safari Club International, Texans For Saving Our Hunting
Heritage, Hill Country Conservancy, Texas Bighorn Society,
Texas Agricultural Land Trust, Texas Cattle Feeders Associa-
tion, Lone Star Bow Hunters Association, Texas Chapter of The
Wildlife Society, National Wild Turkey Federation, Texas Sports-
man's Association, National Wildlife Federation, Texas Wildlife
Association, Orion - The Hunters Institute, Native American
Seed, Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies, Bear Trust,
Catch a Dream Foundation, Council to Advance Hunting and the
Shooting Sports, National Shooting Sports Foundation, National
Trappers Association, North American Grouse Partnership,
Pheasants Forever - Quail Forever, Tennessee Wildlife Foun-
dation, Theodore Roosevelt Conservation Partnership, Tread
Lightly!, Wildlife Management Institute, Wildlife Mississippi,
Wildlife Forever, Texas Conservation Alliance, Nina Sinclair
Trust, Whitetails Unlimited, Wild Sheep Foundation, and the
East Texas Woods and Waters Club.

31 TAC §§65.90 - 65.94

The repeals are adopted under the authority of Parks and Wildlife
Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter L, which authorizes the commis-
sion to make regulations governing the possession, transfer, pur-
chase, and sale of breeder deer held under the authority of the
subchapter; Subchapter R, which authorizes the commission to
establish the conditions of a deer management permit, including
the number, type, and length of time that white-tailed deer may
be temporarily detained in an enclosure; Subchapter R-1, which
authorizes the commission to establish the conditions of a deer
management permit, including the number, type, and length of
time that mule deer may be temporarily detained in an enclosure
(although the department has not yet established a DMP pro-
gram for mule deer authorized by Subchapter R-1); and §61.021,
which provides that no person may possess a game animal at
any time or in any place except as permitted under a proclama-
tion of the commission.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 25, 2016.

TRD-201603643

Ann Bright

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: August 15, 2016

Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775

. . .
31 TAC §§65.90 - 65.99

The new rules are adopted under the authority of Parks and
Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter L, which authorizes the
commission to make regulations governing the possession,
transfer, purchase, and sale of breeder deer held under the
authority of the subchapter; Subchapter R, which authorizes the
commission to establish the conditions of a deer management
permit, including the number, type, and length of time that
white-tailed deer may be temporarily detained in an enclosure;
Subchapter R-1, which authorizes the commission to establish
the conditions of a deer management permit, including the
number, type, and length of time that mule deer may be tem-
porarily detained in an enclosure (although the department has
not yet established a DMP program for mule deer authorized by
Subchapter R-1); and §61.021, which provides that no person
may possess a game animal at any time or in any place except
as permitted under a proclamation of the commission.

§65.90.  Definitions.

The following words and terms shall have the following meanings, ex-
cept in cases where the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(1) Accredited testing laboratory--A laboratory approved
by the United States Department of Agriculture to test white-tailed deer
or mule deer for CWD.

(2) Ante-mortem test--A CWD test performed on a live
deer.

(3) Breeder deer--A white-tailed deer or mule deer pos-
sessed under a permit issued by the department pursuant to Parks and
Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter L, and Subchapter T of this
chapter.

(4) Confirmed--A CWD test result of "positive" received
from the National Veterinary Service Laboratories of the United States
Department of Agriculture.

(5) CWD--Chronic wasting disease.

(6) CWD-positive facility--Any facility in or on which
CWD has been confirmed.

(7) Deer breeder--A person who holds a deer breeder's per-
mit issued pursuant to Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter
L, and Subchapter T of this chapter.

(8) Deerbreeding facility (breeding facility)--A facility au-
thorized to hold breeder deer under a permit issued by the department
pursuant to Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter L, and
Subchapter T of this chapter (Deer Breeder's Permit).

(9) Department (department)--Texas Parks and Wildlife
Department.

(10) Deer Management Permit (DMP)--A permit issued
under the provisions of Parks and Wildlife Code, Subchapter R or
R-1 and Subchapter D of this chapter (relating to Deer Management
Permit (DMP)) that authorizes the temporary detention of deer for the
purpose of propagation.

(11) Eligible-aged deer--

(A) if the deer is held in a breeding facility enrolled
in the TAHC CWD Herd Certification Program, 12 months of age or
older; or

(B) for any other deer, 16 months of age or older.

(12) Eligible mortality--An eligible-aged deer that has
died.
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(13) Exposed deer--Unless the department determines
through an epidemiological investigation that a specific deer has not
been exposed, an exposed deer is a white-tailed deer or mule deer that:

(A) is in a CWD-positive facility; or

(B) wasina CWD-positive facility within the five years
preceding the confirmation of CWD in the CWD-positive facility.

(14) Facility--Any location required to be registered in
TWIMS under a deer breeder's permit, Triple T permit, or DMP,
including release sites and/or trap sites.

(15) Hunter-harvested deer--A deer required to be tagged
under the provisions of Subchapter A of this chapter (relating to
Statewide Hunting Proclamation).

(16) Hunting year--That period of time between Septem-
ber 1 and August 31 of any year when it is lawful to hunt deer under
the provisions of Subchapter A of this chapter (relating to Statewide
Hunting Proclamation).

(17) Interim Breeder Rules--31 TAC §§65.90 - 65.93, con-
cerning Chronic Wasting Disease - Movement of Deer, adopted by the
Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission on November 5, 2015, and pub-
lished in the January 29, 2016 issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg
815).

(18) Landowner (owner)--Any person who has an owner-
ship interest in a tract of land and includes landowner's authorized
agent.

(19) Landowner's authorized agent (agent)--A person des-
ignated by a landowner to act on the landowner's behalf.

(20) Liberated deer--A free-ranging deer that bears evi-
dence of having been liberated including, but not limited to a tattoo
(including partial or illegible tattooing) or of having been eartagged at
any time (holes, rips, notches, etc. in the ear tissue).

(21) Movement Qualified (MQ)--A designation made by
the department pursuant to this division that allows a deer breeder to
lawfully transfer breeder deer.

(22) Not Movement Qualified (NMQ)--A designation
made by the department pursuant to this division that prohibits the
transfer of deer by a deer breeder.

(23) NUES tag--An ear tag approved by the United States
Department of Agriculture for use in the National Uniform Eartagging
System (NUES).

(24) Originating facility--Any facility from which deer
have been transported, transferred, or released, as provided in this
definition or as determined by an investigation of the department,
including:

(A) for breeder deer, the source facility identified on a
transfer permit; and

(B) for deer being moved under a Triple T permit, the
trap site.

(25) Post-mortem test--A CWD test performed on a dead
deer.

(26) Properly executed--A form or report required by this
division on which all required information has been entered.

(27) Reconciled herd--The breeder deer held in a breeding
facility for which every birth, mortality, and transfer of breeder deer in
the previous reporting year has been accurately reported.

(28) Release site--A specific tract of land to which deer are
released, including the release of deer under the provisions of this chap-
ter or Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapters E, L, R, or R-1.

(29) Reporting year--For a deer breeder's permit, the period
of time from April 1 of one calendar year through March 31 of the next
calendar year.

(30) RFID tag--A button-type ear tag conforming to the
840 standards of the United States Department of Agriculture's Ani-
mal Identification Number system.

(31) Status--A level assigned under this division for any
given facility on the basis of testing performance and the source of the
deer. For the transfer categories established in §65.95(b) of this title
(relating to Movement of Breeder Deer), the highest status is Transfer
Category 1 (TC 1) and the lowest status is Transfer Category 3 (TC 3).
For the release site classes established in §65.95(¢c) of this title, Class I
is the highest status and Class 111 is the lowest.

(32) Submit--When used in the context of test results, pro-
vided to the department, either directly from a deer breeder or via an
accredited testing laboratory.

(33) Suspect--An initial CWD test result of "detected" that
has not been confirmed.

(34) TAHC--Texas Animal Health Commission.

(35) TAHC CWD Herd Certification Program--The dis-
ease-testing and herd management requirements set forth in 4 TAC
§40.3 (relating to Herd Status Plans for Cervidae).

(36) TAHC Herd Plan--A set of requirements for disease
testing and management developed by TAHC for a specific facility.

(37) Test, Test Result(s), or Test Requirement--A CWD
test, CWD test result, or CWD test requirement as provided in this di-
vision.

(38) Trap Site--A specific tract of land approved by the
department for the trapping of deer under this chapter and Parks and
Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapters E, L, R, and R-1.

(39) Triple T permit--A permit to trap, transport, and trans-
plant white-tailed or mule deer (Triple T permit) issued under the provi-
sions of Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, Subchapter E, and Sub-
chapter C of this chapter (relating to Permits for Trapping, Transport-
ing, and Transplanting Game Animals and Game Birds),

(40) Trap, Transport and Process (TTP) permit--A permit
issued under the provisions of Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43,
Subchapter E, and Subchapter C of this chapter (relating to Permits for
Trapping, Transporting, and Transplanting Game Animals and Game
Birds), to trap, transport, and process surplus white-tailed deer (TTP
permit).

(41) TWIMS--The department's Texas Wildlife Informa-
tion Management Services (TWIMS) online application.

$65.91.  General Provisions.

(a) To the extent that any provision of this subchapter conflicts
with any provision of this chapter other than Division 1 of this subchap-
ter, this subchapter prevails.

(b) Except as provided in this division, no live breeder deer
or deer trapped under a Triple T permit, TTP permit or DMP may be
transferred anywhere for any purpose.

(c) Except as provided in this division, no person shall intro-
duce into or remove deer from or allow or authorize deer to be intro-
duced into or removed from any facility for which a CWD test result
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of "suspect" has been obtained from an accredited testing laboratory,
irrespective of how the sample was obtained or who collected the sam-
ple. The provisions of this subsection take effect immediately upon the
notification of a CWD "suspect" test result, and continue in effect until
the department expressly authorizes the resumption of permitted activ-
ities at that facility.

(d) Notwithstanding any provision of this division, no person
may cause or allow breeder deer to be moved from a facility for any
purpose if such movement is prohibited by a TAHC Herd Plan associ-
ated with a TAHC hold order or TAHC quarantine.

(e) A facility (including a facility permitted after the effective
date of this division) that receives breeder deer from an originating
facility of lower status automatically assumes the status associated with
the originating facility and becomes subject to the testing and release
requirements of this division at that status for:

(1) a minimum of two years, if the facility is a breeding
facility; or

(2) forthe period specified in §65.95(c) of this title (relating
to Movement of Breeder Deer), if the facility is a release site.

(f) A deer breeding facility that was initially permitted after
March 31, 2016 will assume the lowest status among all originating
facilities from which deer are received.

(g) The designation of status by the department in and of itself
does not authorize the transfer or movement of deer. No person may
remove or cause the removal of deer from a facility that has been des-
ignated NMQ by the department pursuant to this division.

(h) Unless expressly provided otherwise in this division, all
applications, notifications, and requests for change in status required
by this division shall be submitted electronically via TWIMS or by
another method expressly authorized by the department.

(1) In the event that technical or other circumstances prevent
the development or implementation of automated methods for collect-
ing and submitting the data required by this division via TWIMS, the
department may prescribe alternative methods for collecting and sub-
mitting the data required by this division.

§65.92.  CWD Testing.

(a) AllCWD test samples at the time of submission for testing
shall be accompanied by a properly executed, department-prescribed
form provided for that purpose.

(b) For the purposes of this division, an ante-mortem CWD
test is not valid unless it is performed by an accredited laboratory on
retropharyngeal lymph node, rectal mucosa, or tonsillar tissue with at
least 6 lymphoid follicles collected within six months of submission by
a licensed veterinarian authorized pursuant to statutes and regulations
governing the practice of veterinary medicine in Texas and regulations
of the TAHC from a live deer that:

(1) is at least 16 months of age; and

(2) hasnot been the source of a "not detected" ante-mortem
test result submitted within the previous 24 months.

(c) A post-mortem CWD test is not valid unless it is performed
by an accredited testing laboratory on the obex or medial retropharyn-
geal lymph node of an eligible mortality, and may be collected only by
a qualified licensed veterinarian, TAHC-certified CWD sample collec-
tor, or other person approved by the department.

(d) To meet the requirements of §65.94(a)(1)(A) and (B) of
this title (relating to Breeding Facility Minimum Movement Qualifica-
tions), or §65.95 of this title (relating to Movement of Breeder Deer),

ante-mortem test results may be substituted for post-mortem test re-
sults at a ratio of three "not detected" ante-mortem test results for each
required "not detected" post-mortem test result.

(e) Except as provided in this section, an ante-mortem test re-
sult may not be used more than once to satisfy any testing requirement
of this division.

(f) The testing requirements of this division cannot be altered
by the sale or subdivision of a property to a related party if the purpose
of the sale or subdivision is to avoid the requirements of this division.

(g) The owner of a release site agrees, by consenting to the
release of breeder deer on the release site, to submit all required CWD
test results to the department as soon as possible but not later than May
1 of each year for as long as CWD testing is required at the release site
under the provisions of this division.

§65.94.  Breeding Facility Minimum Movement Qualification.

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this division, a
breeding facility is designated NMQ and is prohibited from transfer-
ring breeder deer anywhere for any purpose if the breeding facility:

(1) has not:
(A) met the provisions of this subparagraph:

(i) had less than five eligible mortalities from May
23, 2006 through March 31, 2016; or

(i) submitted CWD "not detected" test results for at
least 20% of the total number of eligible mortalities that occurred in
the facility since May 23, 2006; and

(B) Dbeginning with the report year that starts April 1,
2017, and each April 1 thereafter

(i) achieved "fifth-year" or "certified" status in the
TAHC CWD Herd Certification Program; or

(i) submitted CWD "not detected" test results for at
least 80% of eligible mortalities occurring in the facility during the
previous reporting year; provided, however, if the facility has been
permitted for six months or more, the number of "not detected" test
results submitted during the previous reporting year must be equal to
or greater than the following number: the sum of the eligible-aged deer
reported in the breeding facility inventory on March 31 of the previous
reporting year, plus the sum of the eligible mortalities that occurred
within the breeding facility for the previous reporting year, multiplied
by 3.6 percent;

(2) is not authorized pursuant to a TAHC Herd Plan asso-
ciated with a TAHC hold order or TAHC quarantine;

(3) does not have a reconciled herd inventory; or

(4) 1isnotin compliance with the reporting and recordkeep-
ing provisions of this division and §65.608 of this title (relating to An-
nual Reports and Records).

(b) A breeding facility that has been designated as NMQ for
failure to comply with the testing requirements specified in subsection
(a) of this section will be restored to MQ when the required "not de-
tected" test results prescribed by subsection (a) of this section are sub-
mitted.

(c) Abreeding facility designated NMQ shall report all mortal-
ities within the facility to the department immediately upon discovery
of the mortality.

(d) Immediately upon the notification that a facility has re-
ceived a CWD "suspect" test result (a CWD suspect facility), all fa-
cilities that have been in possession of a deer that was held in the CWD
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suspect facility within the previous five years shall be designated NMQ
by the department until it is determined that the facility is not epidemi-
ologically linked to the CWD suspect deer, or it is determined upon
further testing that the "suspect" deer is not a confirmed positive.

$§65.95. Movement of Breeder Deer:

(a) General. Except as otherwise provided in this division, a
TC 1 or TC 2 breeding facility may transfer breeder deer under a trans-
fer permit that has been activated and approved by the department as
provided in §65.610(e) of this title (relating to Transfer of Deer) to:

(1) another breeding facility;

(2) anapproved release site as provided in paragraph (3) of
this subsection;

(3) a DMP facility; or
(4) to another person for nursing purposes.
(b) Breeder Facilities.

(1) TC 1. Except as may be otherwise provided in this di-
vision, a breeding facility that is in compliance with the requirements
in 65.94(a) of this title(relating to Breeding Facility Minimum Move-
ment Qualification) is a TC 1 facility if:

(A) the breeding facility has "fifth-year" or "certified"
status in the TAHC CWD Herd Certification Program; or

(B) the breeding facility has submitted one of the fol-
lowing:

(i) "not detected" post-mortem test results for at
least 80 percent of the total number of eligible mortalities that occurred
in the breeding facility over the previous five consecutive reporting
years, so long as the total number of "not detected" post-mortem
test results submitted during the previous five consecutive reporting
years is equal to or greater than the following number: the sum of
the eligible-aged population in the breeding facility at the end of each
of the previous five consecutive reporting years, plus the sum of the
eligible mortalities that occurred within the breeding facility for each
of the previous five consecutive reporting years, multiplied by 3.6
percent; or

(ii) "not detected" ante-mortem test results for at
least 50 percent of eligible-aged deer in the facility's inventory as of
the date the facility initiates the ante-mortem testing process. For the
report year beginning April 1, 2016, a breeding facility will be con-
strued to have temporarily complied with this item upon submission
of "not detected" ante-mortem test results for at least 25 percent of
eligible-aged deer in the facility as of the date the facility initiates
the ante-mortem testing process; however, the breeding facility must
submit the remaining ante-mortem tests results to achieve 50% testing
by May 15, 2017.

2) TC2.
(A) A breeding facility is a TC 2 facility if:
(i) itisnota TC 1 facility; and
(i) itis not a TC 3 facility.

(B) The testing requirements for a TC 2 facility are
the minimum testing requirements established for MQ designation
in §65.94(a)(1) of this title (relating to Breeding Facility Minimum
Movement Qualification).

(3) TC3.

(A) ATC 3 facility is any breeding facility registered in
TWIMS that is under a TAHC hold order, quarantine, and/or herd plan
and meets any of the following criteria:

(i) received an exposed deer within the previous five
years;

(ii) transferred deer to a CWD-positive facility
within the five-year period preceding the confirmation of CWD in the
CWD-positive facility; or

(iii) possessed a deer that was in a CWD-positive
facility within the previous five years.

(B) No deer from a TC 3 facility may be transferred or
liberated unless expressly authorized in a TAHC herd plan and then
only in accordance with the provisions of this division and the TAHC
herd plan.

(C) A TC 3 breeding facility remains a TC 3 breeding
facility until the TAHC hold order or quarantine in effect at the breeding
facility has been lifted.

(D) A TC 3 breeding facility may not transfer a breeder
deer for any purpose unless the deer has been tagged in one ear with a
NUES tag or button-type RFID tag approved by the department.

(c) Release Sites.
(1) General.

(A) An approved release site consists solely of the spe-
cific tract of land to which deer are released and the acreage desig-
nated as a release site in TWIMS. A release site owner may mod-
ify the acreage registered as the release site to recognize changes in
acreage (such as the removal of cross-fencing or the purchase of ad-
joining land), so long as the release site owner notifies the department
of such modifications prior to the acreage modification. The release
site requirements set forth in this division apply to the entire acreage
modified under the provisions of this subparagraph.

(B) Liberated breeder deer must have complete, unre-
stricted access to the entirety of the release site; provided, however,
deer may be excluded from areas for safety reasons (such as airstrips)
or for the purpose of protecting areas such as crops, orchards, orna-
mental plants, and lawns from depredation.

(C) All release sites onto which breeder deer are liber-
ated must be surrounded by a fence of at least seven feet in height that
is capable of retaining deer at all times under reasonable and ordinary
circumstances. The owner of the release site is responsible for ensuring
that the fence and associated infrastructure retain deer under reasonable
and ordinary circumstances.

(D) The testing requirements of this subsection con-
tinue in effect until "not detected" test results have been submitted as
required by this subsection. A release site that is not in compliance
with the requirements of this subsection is ineligible to receive deer
and must continue to submit test results until the testing requirements
of this subsection are satisfied.

(E) No person may intentionally cause or allow any live
deer to leave or escape from a release site onto which breeder deer have
been liberated.

(F) The owner of a Class II or Class III release site shall
maintain a harvest log at the release site that complies with §65.93 of
this title (relating to Harvest Log).

(2) Class I Release Site. Except as provided in §65.98, a
release site is a Class I release site and is not required to perform CWD
testing if the release site
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(A) isnota Class II or Class III release site; and

(B) after August 15, 2016, the release site has received
deer only from TC 1 facilities

(3) Class II Release Site.

(A) A release site that is not a Class III release site and
receives deer from a TC 2 breeding facility is a Class II release site.

(B) Beginning the first hunting year following the re-
lease of deer from any TC 2 breeding facility and continuing for each
hunting year thereafter, the owner of a Class Il release site must sub-
mit "not detected" post-mortem test results for the first deer harvested
and each deer harvested thereafter at the release site; however, no re-
lease site owner is required to submit more than 15 "not detected"
post-mortem test results in any hunting year.

(C) The requirements of subparagraph (B) cease as fol-
lows:

(i) forrelease sites that have submitted all test results
required by this division, the requirements of subparagraph (B) cease
on March 1, 2019;

(ii) for release sites that have not submitted all the
test results required by this division, the requirements of subparagraph
(B) shall cease upon submission of all required test results.

(4) Class III Release Site.
(A) A release site is a Class III release site if:
(i) it has:
(1) received deer from an originating facility that
is a TC 3 facility; or

(II) received an exposed deer within the previous
five years or has transferred deer to a CWD-positive facility within
the five-year period preceding the confirmation of CWD in the CWD-
positive facility; and

(ii) it has not been released from a TAHC hold order
or quarantine related to activity described in clause (i) of this subpara-
graph.

(B) The landowner of a Class III release site must sub-
mit post-mortem CWD test results for one of the following values,
whichever represents the greatest number of deer tested:

(i) 100 percent of all hunter-harvested deer; or

(ii) one hunter-harvested deer per liberated deer re-
leased on the release site between the last day of lawful hunting on
the release site in the previous hunting year and the last day of lawful
hunting on the release site during the current hunting year; provided,
however, this minimum harvest and testing provision may only be sub-
stituted as prescribed in a TAHC herd plan.

(C) No breeder deer may be transferred to a Class III
release site unless the deer has been tagged in one ear with a NUES tag
or button-type RFID tag approved by the department.

§65.96. Movement of DMP Deer:
This section applies to the movement of deer under a DMP.
(1) Testing Requirements.

(A) There are no CWD testing requirements for a DMP
facility that:

(i) does not receive breeder deer; or

(ii) receives breeder deer solely from TC 1 deer
breeding facilities.

(B) Beginning the first hunting year after the release of
deer from the following facilities, and continuing for each hunting year
thereafter, the owner of the release site must submit "not detected" post-
mortem test results for the first deer harvested and each deer harvested
thereafter at the release site; however, no release site owner is required
to submit more than 15 "not detected" post-mortem test results in any
hunting year:

(i) deer from a DMP facility that receives breeder
deer from a TC 2 deer breeding facility; or

(i) deer from a DMP facility that receives deer
trapped deer from a Class II release site.

(C) The requirements of subparagraph (B) cease as fol-
lows:

(i) forrelease sites that have submitted all test results
required by this division, the requirements of subparagraph (B) cease
on March 1, 2019;

(i) for release sites that have not submitted all the
test results required by this division, the requirements of subparagraph
(B) shall cease upon submission of all required test results.

(2) The department will not authorize the transfer of deer
to a DMP facility from a TC 3 breeding facility, a Class III release site,
or from a release site or deer breeding facility that is not in compliance
with the requirements of this division.

$65.97.
Permit.

Testing and Movement of Deer Pursuant to a Triple T or TTP

(a) General.

(1) Unless expressly provided otherwise in this section, the
provisions of §65.102 of this title (relating to Disease Detection Re-
quirements) cease effect upon the effective date of this section.

(2) The department may require a map of any Triple T trap
site to be submitted as part of the application process.

(3) The department will not issue a Triple T permit autho-
rizing deer to be trapped at a:

(A) release site that has received breeder deer within
five years of the application for a Triple T permit;

(B) release site that has failed to fulfill testing require-

ments;

(C) any site where a deer has been confirmed positive
for CWD;

(D) any site where a deer has tested "suspect" for CWD;
or

(E) any site under a TAHC hold order or quarantine.

(4) In addition to the reasons for denying a Triple T per-
mit listed in §65.103(c) of this title (relating to Trap, Transport, and
Transplant Permit), the department will not issue a Triple T permit if
the department determines, based on epidemiological assessment and
consultation with TAHC that to do so would create an unacceptable
risk for the spread of CWD.

(5) All deer released under the provisions of this section
must be tagged prior to release in one ear with a button-type RFID
tag approved by the department, in addition to the marking required
by §65.102 of this title (relating to Disease Detection Requirements).
RFID tag information must be submitted to the department.
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(6) Nothing in this section authorizes the take of deer ex-
cept as authorized by applicable laws and regulations, including but
not limited to laws and regulations regarding seasons, bag limits, and
means and methods as provided in Subchapter A of this chapter (relat-
ing to Statewide Hunting Proclamation).

(7)  Except for a permit issued for the removal of urban
deer, a test result is not valid unless the sample was collected and tested
after the Saturday closest to September 30 of the year for which activ-
ities of the permit are authorized.

(8) For permits issued for the removal of urban deer, test
samples may be collected between April 1 and the time of application.

(b) Testing Requirements for Triple T Permit.

(1) The department will not issue a Triple T permit unless
"not detected" post-mortem test results have been submitted for 15 el-
igible-aged deer from the trap site.

(2) CWD testing is not required for deer trapped on any
property if the deer are being moved to adjacent, contiguous tracts
owned by the same person who owns the trap site property.

(c) Testing Requirements for TTP Permit.

(1) "Not detected" test results for at least 15 eligible-aged
deer from the trap site must be submitted.

(2) The landowner of a Class III release site must submit
CWD test results for 100% of the deer harvested pursuant to a TTP
permit, which may include the samples required under paragraph (1)
of this subsection.

(3) Test results related to a TTP permit must be submitted
to the department by the method prescribed by the department by the
May 1 immediately following the completion of permit activities.

$65.98.  Transition Provisions.

(a) This division does not apply to an offense committed be-
fore the effective date of this division. An offense committed before
the effective date of this division is governed by the regulations that
existed on the date the offense was committed, including, but not lim-
ited to the following:

(1) Deer Breeder: published in the Texas Register Septem-
ber4, 2015 (40 TexReg 5566); January 1, 2016 (41 TexReg 9); January
29, 2016 (41 TexReg 815);

(2) DMP: published in the Texas Register October 23, 2015
(40 TexReg 7305); February 12,2016 (41 TexReg 1049); February 19,
2016 (41 TexReg 1250); and,

(3) Triple T/TTP: published in the Texas Register October
23, 2015 (40 TexReg 7307); January 1, 2016 (41 TexReg 9).

(b) A release site that as of August 15, 2016, is in compliance
with the Interim Deer Breeder Rules shall be not subject to testing re-
quirements of this division until deer are liberated or released onto the
release site under the provisions of this division.

(c) A release site that becomes a Class Il release site as a result
of the receipt of deer on or after August 15,2016 from a TC 2 breeding
facility will be designated as a Class I release site if the release site is
in compliance with all Class II requirements as provided in §65.95(c)
of this title (relating to Movement of Breeder Deer) in that season; and

(1) all TC 2 breeding facilities that provided deer to the
release site achieve TC 1 status by May 15, 2017, as provided in
65.95(b)(1) of this title (relating to Movement of Breeder Deer); or

(2) allbreeder deer liberated to the release site after August
15, 2016 and prior to October 1, 2016:

(A) are harvested and CWD-tested during the
2016-2017 hunting year; and

(B) no additional deer are received from a TC 2 or TC
3 facility during the 2016-2017 hunting year.

(d) A release site that was not in compliance with the Interim
Deer Breeder Rules shall be:

(1) required to comply with the applicable provisions of
this division regarding Class II or Class III sites for a period of three
consecutive years beginning on the first day of lawful hunting for the
2016-2017 hunting year; and

(2) 1ineligible to be a release site for breeder deer or deer
transferred pursuant to a Triple T permit or DMP until the release site
has complied with paragraph (1) of this subsection.

(¢) The department's executive director shall develop a tran-
sition plan and issue appropriate guidance documents to facilitate an
effective transition to this division from previously applicable regula-
tions. The transition plan shall include, but is not limited to, provision
addressing a mechanism for classifying facilities that have obtained
"not detected" ante-mortem test results at a level that meets or exceeds
that required in this division prior to the effective date of this division.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 25, 2016.

TRD-201603644

Ann Bright

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: August 15, 2016

Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775

¢ 14 ¢
TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC
ACCOUNTS

CHAPTER 3. TAX ADMINISTRATION
SUBCHAPTER O. STATE AND LOCAL SALES
AND USE TAXES

34 TAC §3.286

The Comptroller of Public Accounts adopts amendments to
§3.286, concerning seller's and purchaser's responsibilities,
including nexus, permits, returns and reporting periods, and
collection and exemption rules, without changes to the proposed
text as published in the June 17, 2016, issue of the Texas Reg-
ister (41 TexReg 4383). The amendments implement statutory
changes enacted in 2015 by the 84th Legislature and clarify
agency policy regarding direct payment permit holders and
prepayment discounts. House Bill 2358, 84th Legislature, 2015,
added Tax Code, §151.0241 (Persons Performing Disaster- or
Emergency-Related Work).

A new defined term is added to subsection (a) to implement
House Bill 2358, 84th Legislature, 2015. New subsection (a)(3)
is added to define the term "disaster- or emergency-related
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work." This definition is taken from Business & Commerce
Code, §112.003, and incorporates the definitions of the terms
“critical infrastructure" and "disaster- or emergency-related
work." Subsequent paragraphs are renumbered accordingly. In
addition, renumbered subsection (a)(4), defining the term "en-
gaged in business," is amended to add new subparagraph (J)
to implement House Bill 2358. New subparagraph (J) provides
that certain out-of-state business entities who come to Texas
for the sole purpose of repairing or replacing critical infrastruc-
ture damaged in a disaster or emergency are not engaged in
business in this state. This provision is effective June 16, 2015.

Subsection (c)(1), relating to obtaining a sales and use tax per-
mit, is amended to implement Senate Bill 853, 84th Legisla-
ture, 2015, which provides that a sales tax permit application
filed electronically on a form prescribed by the comptroller is
deemed to be signed by the applicant for purposes of Tax Code,
§151.202(b)(5).

Subsection (d)(2)(B) is amended to reinstate the requirement
that out-of-state sellers identify the tax on their bills or invoices
as Texas tax. The following sentence was first added to the sec-
tion in 1988: "Out-of-state sellers must identify the tax as Texas
sales or use tax." See 13 TexReg 3988 (1988). During the draft-
ing of the amendments to the section that were adopted effective
June 3, 2015, the sentence was inadvertently deleted. Because
the deletion was inadvertent, it was not explained or addressed
in the preamble to the 2015 amendment. See 40 TexReg 3183
(2015) (addressing revisions to subsection (d)(2)(A) but not sub-
section (d)(2)(B)). The language is revised to describe out-of-
state sellers as sellers who do not maintain a physical location
in Texas.

Subsection (d)(2)(B) is further amended to memorialize current
comptroller procedure that when an invoice or bill does not iden-
tify tax as Texas tax, it is presumed that the seller did not collect
Texas tax. The subsection further explains that the presumption
is rebuttable.

Subsection (f)(3), relating to extensions for persons located in
a disaster area, is amended to use terminology consistent with
House Bill 2358 and amended subsection (a). For example, the
term "natural disaster area" is replaced with the phrase "an area
designated in a state of disaster or emergency declaration.”

Subsection (g)(8), relating to direct payment permit holders, is
also revised. This subsection states that "prepayment proce-
dures and discounts for timely filing, as discussed in subsec-
tion (h) of this section, do not apply to holders of direct payment
permits." Because subsection (h) addresses discounts for timely
filing and for prepayment, subsection (g)(8) is amended to re-
place the phrase "prepayment procedures" with the more accu-
rate phrase "prepayment discounts."

No comments were received regarding adoption of the amend-
ment.

The amendment is adopted under Tax Code, §111.002, which
provides the comptroller with the authority to prescribe, adopt,
and enforce rules relating to the administration and enforcement
of the provisions of Tax Code, Title 2.

The amendment implements Tax Code, §151.0241 ("Persons
Performing Disaster Or Emergency-Related Work") and Busi-
ness & Commerce Code, Chapter 112 et seq.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 25, 2016.

TRD-201603658

Lita Gonzalez

General Counsel

Comptroller of Public Accounts

Effective date: August 14, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 17, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387

¢ ¢ ¢

TITLE 37. PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORREC-
TIONS

PART 5. TEXAS BOARD OF PARDONS
AND PAROLES

CHAPTER 147. HEARINGS
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL RULES FOR
HEARINGS

37 TAC §§147.1 - 147.6

The Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles adopts amendments to
37 TAC Chapter 147, Subchapter A, §§147.1 - 147.6, concerning
general rules for hearings. The rules are adopted without change
to the proposed text as published in the May 6, 2016, issue of
the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3266). The text of the rules will
not be republished.

The amended rules are adopted to capitalize titles throughout
the rules, change the section symbol to the word "Section" in
147.5 and update the language in 147.6 to reflect the Texas De-
partment of Criminal Justice Parole Division as the custodian of
record.

No public comments were received regarding adoption of these
amendments.

The amended rules are adopted under §§508.036 508.0441,
508.281, and 508.283, Government Code. Section 508.036
authorizes the Board to adopt rules relating to the decision-mak-
ing processes used by the board and parole panels. Section
508.0441 relates to the board members' and parole com-
missioners' release and revocation duties. Sections 508.281
and 508.283 relate to hearings to determine violations of the
releasee's parole or mandatory supervision.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 22, 2016.

TRD-201603628

Bettie Wells

General Counsel

Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles

Effective date: August 11, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 6, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 406-5388

¢ L4 ¢
SUBCHAPTER B. EVIDENCE

ADOPTED RULES
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37 TAC §§147.21 - 147.24, 147.27

The Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles adopts amendments
to 37 TAC Chapter 147, Subchapter B, §§147.21 - 147.24 and
147.27, concerning evidence. The amendments are adopted
without changes to the proposed text as published in the May
6, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3267). The text
of the rules will not be republished.

The amended rules are adopted to capitalize hearing officer
throughout the rules.

No public comments were received regarding adoption of these
amendments.

The amended rules are adopted under §§508.0441, 508.045,
508.281, and 508.283, Government Code. Section 508.0441
relates to the board members' and parole commissioners' re-
lease and revocation duties. Section 508.045 provides parole
panels with the authority to grant, deny, revoke parole, or revoke
mandatory supervision. Section 508.281 and §508.283 relate
to hearings to determine violations of the releasee's parole or
mandatory supervision.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 22, 2016.

TRD-201603629

Bettie Wells

General Counsel

Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles

Effective date: August 11, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 6, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 406-5388

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 148. SEX OFFENDER CONDITIONS
OF PAROLE OR MANDATORY SUPERVISION
37 TAC §148.48

The Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles adopts amendments
to 37 TAC Chapter 148, §148.48, concerning record. The rule
is adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in
the May 6, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3268).
The text of the rule will not be republished.

The amended rule is adopted to reflect the Texas Department of
Criminal Justice Parole Division as the custodian of record.

No public comments were received regarding adoption of these
amendments.

The amended rule is adopted under §§508.036, 508.0441,
508.045, 508.141 and 508.147, Government Code. Section
508.036 authorizes the board to adopt rules relating to the de-
cision-making processes used by the board and parole panels.
Section 508.0441 and §508.045 authorize the Board to adopt
reasonable rules as proper or necessary relating to the eligibility
of an offender for release to mandatory supervision and to act on
matters of release to mandatory supervision. Section 508.0441
provides the board with the authority to adopt reasonable rules
as proper or necessary relating to the eligibility of an inmate for
release on parole or release to mandatory supervision. Section

508.147 authorizes parole panels to determine the conditions of
release to mandatory supervision.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 22, 2016.

TRD-201603632

Bettie Wells

General Counsel

Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles

Effective date: August 11, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 6, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 406-5388

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 149. MANDATORY SUPERVISION
SUBCHAPTER B. SELECTION FOR
MANDATORY SUPERVISION

37 TAC §149.16

The Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles adopts amendments
to 37 TAC Chapter 149, Subchapter B, §149.16, concerning se-
lection for mandatory supervision. The rule is adopted without
changes to the proposed text as published in the May 6, 2016,
issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3269). The text of the
rule will not be republished.

The amended rule is adopted to capitalize chair within §149.16.

No public comments were received regarding adoption of this
amendment.

The amended rule is adopted under §508.0441 and §508.045,
Government Code. Section 508.0441 vests the Board with the
authority to determine the continuation, modification, and revo-
cation of parole or mandatory supervision. Section 508.045 pro-
vides parole panels with the authority to grant, deny, revoke pa-
role, or revoke mandatory supervision.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 22, 2016.

TRD-201603630

Bettie Wells

General Counsel

Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles

Effective date: August 11, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 6, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 406-5388

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 150. MEMORANDUM OF
UNDERSTANDING AND BOARD POLICY
STATEMENTS

SUBCHAPTER A. PUBLISHED POLICIES OF
THE BOARD
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37 TAC §150.55, §150.56

The Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles adopts amendments to
37 TAC Chapter 150, Subchapter A, §150.55 and §150.56, con-
cerning published policies of the board. The rules are adopted
without changes to the proposed text as published in the May 6,
2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3269). The text of
the rules will not be republished.

The amended rules are adopted to capitalize titles throughout
the rules.

No public comments were received regarding adoption of these
amendments.

The amended rules are adopted under Subtitle B, Ethics, Chap-
ter 572 and §508.0441, Government Code. Subtitle B, Ethics,
Chapter 572, is the ethics policy of this state for state officers or
state employees. Section 508.0441 requires the board to imple-
ment a policy under which a board member or parole commis-
sioner should disqualify himself or herself on parole or manda-
tory supervision decisions.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 22, 2016.

TRD-201603631

Bettie Wells

General Counsel

Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles

Effective date: August 11, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 6, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 406-5388

¢ ¢ ¢
PART 13. TEXAS COMMISSION ON
FIRE PROTECTION

CHAPTER 437. FEES
37 TAC §437.13, §437.17

The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (the commis-
sion) adopts amendments to Chapter 437, Fees, concerning,
§437.13, Processing Fees for Test Application, and §437.17,
Records Review Fees.

The amendments are adopted without changes to the proposed
text as published in the June 3, 2016, Texas Register (41 TexReg
3987) and will not be republished.

The amendments are adopted to adjust the fee charged for sec-
tional exams, which are typically administered as retests follow-
ing an initial exam failure; and to adjust fees charged for records
review.

The adopted amendments will assure that all individuals will
have passed each section of a multiple-section exam in order to
qualify for certification. The records review fee increase reflects
the amount of staff time committed to the review of the records.

No comments were received from the public regarding adoption
of the amendments.

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code,
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-

thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties; and §419.026, which allows the commission to set exami-
nation fees for certification of fire protection personnel.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 20, 2016.

TRD-201603597

Tim Rutland

Executive Director

Texas Commission on Fire Protection

Effective date: January 1, 2017

Proposal publication date: June 3, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 439. EXAMINATIONS FOR
CERTIFICATION

SUBCHAPTER A. EXAMINATIONS FOR
ON-SITE DELIVERY TRAINING

37 TAC §§439.1, 439.3, 439.7, 439.9, 439.11, 439.19

The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (the commission)
adopts amendments to Chapter 439, Examinations For Cer-
tification, Subchapter A, Examinations For On-Site Delivery
Training, concerning, §439.1, Requirements - General; §439.3,
Definitions; §439.7, Eligibility; §439.9, Grading; §439.11,
Commission-Designated Performance Skill Evaluations; and
§439.19, Number of Test Questions. The amendments are
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in
the June 3, 2016, Texas Register (41 TexReg 3988) and will not
be republished.

The amendments are adopted to require an individual to pass
all sections of a multiple-section examination, define sectional
exam, place an expiration on certificates of completion, place a
limit on the amount of time required for a person to complete
skills evaluations and adjust the number of questions on certain
state examinations.

The adopted amendments will ensure that all individuals tested
to become certified fire protection personnel will have passed
each section of a multiple examination with at least seventy per-
cent.

No comments were received from the public regarding adoption
of the amendments.

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code,
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties; and §419.026, which allows the commission to set exami-
nation fees for certification.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 20, 2016.
TRD-201603598
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Tim Rutland

Executive Director

Texas Commission on Fire Protection

Effective date: January 1, 2017

Proposal publication date: June 3, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812

¢ L4 ¢
CHAPTER 451. FIRE OFFICER

The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (the commission)
adopts new sections to Chapter 451, Fire Officer, Subchapter
C, Minimum Standards For Fire Officer Ill, §451.307, Inter-
national Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) Seal;
and Subchapter D, Minimum Standards For Fire Officer IV,
§451.407, International Fire Service Accreditation Congress
(IFSAC) Seal. The new sections are adopted with changes to
the text as proposed in the June 3, 2016, Texas Register (41
TexReg 3991). The changes from the proposed text consists
of added language requiring an individual to have a current
examination on file in order to qualify for an IFSAC seal and to
submit an application for that seal prior to the expiration of their
examination.

The proposal is adopted to add language and new requirements
for the issuance of IFSAC seals for Fire Officer Il and Fire Officer
IV.

The adopted new sections will assure that individuals seeking to
acquire IFSAC seals are in compliance with the requirements of
the International Fire Service Accreditation Congress.

No comments from the public were received regarding the adop-
tion of the new sections.

SUBCHAPTER C. MINIMUM STANDARDS
FOR FIRE OFFICER III
37 TAC §451.307

The new section is adopted under Texas Government Code,
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties; and §419.032, which allows the commission to establish
qualifications for certifying individuals as fire protection person-
nel.

$451.307.
SAC) Seal.

International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IF-

(a) Individuals holding a current commission Fire Officer II1
certification that was issued from a commission examination and re-
ceived prior to September 1, 2016, may be granted an International
Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) seal as a Fire Officer 111
by making application to the commission for the IFSAC seal and pay-
ing applicable fees. This subsection will expire on August 31, 2017.

(b) Individuals completing a commission approved Fire Offi-
cer III program; documenting IFSAC seals for Fire Fighter II, Instruc-
tor II and Fire Officer II; and passing the applicable state examination,
may be granted an IFSAC seal as a Fire Officer 111 by making applica-
tion to the commission for the IFSAC seal and paying applicable fees.
In order to qualify for an IFSAC seal, an individual must submit the
application for the seal prior to the expiration of the examination.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 20, 2016.

TRD-201603599

Tim Rutland

Executive Director

Texas Commission on Fire Protection

Effective date: August 9, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 3, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812

¢ 14 ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. MINIMUM STANDARDS
FOR FIRE OFFICER IV
37 TAC §451.407

The new section is adopted under Texas Government Code,
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties; and §419.032, which allows the commission to establish
qualifications for certifying individuals as fire protection person-
nel.

$§451.407. International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IF-
SAC) Seal.

(a) Individuals holding a current commission Fire Officer IV
certification that was issued from a commission examination and re-
ceived prior to September 1, 2016, may be granted an International
Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) seal as a Fire Officer [V
by making application to the commission for the IFSAC seal and pay-
ing applicable fees. This subsection will expire on August 31, 2017.

(b) Individuals completing a commission approved Fire Offi-
cer IV program; documenting IFSAC seals for Fire Fighter 11, Instruc-
tor II and Fire Officer I1I; and passing the applicable state examination,
may be granted an IFSAC seal as a Fire Officer IV by making applica-
tion to the commission for the IFSAC seal and paying applicable fees.
In order to qualify for an IFSAC seal, an individual must submit the
application for the seal prior to the expiration of the examination.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 20, 2016.

TRD-201603600

Tim Rutland

Executive Director

Texas Commission on Fire Protection

Effective date: August 9, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 3, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812

¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 43. TRANSPORTATION

PART 10. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
MOTOR VEHICLES

CHAPTER 217. VEHICLE TITLES AND
REGISTRATION

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (department) adopts
amendments to Chapter 217, Subchapter A, §217.2, Defini-
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tions; §217.3, Motor Vehicle Titles; §217.4, Initial Application
for Title; §217.5, Evidence of Motor Vehicle Ownership; §217.7,
Replacement of Title; Subchapter B, §217.26, Identification
Required; §217.33, Commercial Farm Motor Vehicles, Farm
Trailers, and Farm Semitrailers; §217.40, Special Registration
Permits; §217.43, Military Specialty License Plates; §217.45,
Specialty License Plates, Symbols, Tabs, and Other Devices;
§217.46, Commercial Vehicle Registration; §217.54, Regis-
tration of Fleet Vehicles; §217.55, Exempt and Alias Vehicle
Registration; Subchapter D, §217.88, Sale, Transfer, or Release
of Ownership of a Non-repairable or Salvage Motor Vehicle;
and Subchapter F, §217.123, Access to Motor Vehicle Records.
The amendments to §§217.3, 217.33, 217.40, 217.43, 217.45,
217.46, and 217.54 are adopted without changes to the pro-
posed text as published in the April 22, 2016, issue of the
Texas Register (41 TexReg 2895) and will not be republished.
The amendments to §§217.2, 217.4, 217.5, 217.7, 217.26,
217.55, 217.88, and 217.123 are adopted with changes to the
proposed text and will be republished. Changes in the adopted
amendments respond to public comments or otherwise reflect
nonsubstantive variations from the proposed amendments.

Several bills from the 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015,
amended sections of the Transportation Code. Because of
these statutory changes, several rules required amendment to
maintain consistency with the amended statutes. Amendments
throughout Chapter 217, Subchapters A, B, D, and F reflect
the statutory changes and correct statutory citations; delete
unnecessary language, including language that repeats statute;
and update and clarify various requirements and procedures.

COMMENT

The following individuals or entities furnished written comments
opposed to the proposed amendment to §217.4 prescribing
requirements applicable to "even trade" title transactions: Linda
Bridge, Bee County Tax Assessor-Collector (TAC); Sharon
Long, Bell County TAC; Ro'Vin Garrett, Brazoria County TAC;
Jackie Moore, Carson County TAC; Becky Watson Fant, Cass
County TAC; Cathy C. Talcott, Comal County TAC; Michelle
French, Denton County TAC; Gaye Whitehead, Gray County
TAC; Bruce Stidham, Grayson County TAC; Linda Cummings,
Hansford County TAC; Debra L. Ford, Hemphill County TAC;
Mary Ann Lovelady, Jones County TAC; Deborah A. Sevcik,
Lavaca County TAC; Ronnie Keister, Lubbock County TAC;
Karen M. Lane, Madison County TAC; Randy Riggs, McLennan
County TAC; Karen Hood, Midland County TAC; Tammy McRae,
Montgomery County TAC; Nikki McDonald, Moore County
TAC; Gail Smith, Navarro County TAC; Linda Brown, Oldham
County TAC; Sherri Aylor, Potter County TAC; Tonya Martin,
Red River County TAC; Ida M. Turner, Refugio County TAC;
Dalia Sanchez, San Patricio County TAC; Patrick L. Kubala,
Wharton County TAC; Deborah M. Hunt, Williamson County
TAC; Monte S. Shaw, Wise County TAC; and Thelma "Midget"
Sherman, President, Tax Assessor-Collectors Association of
Texas (TACA).

The TACs for Bee, Brazoria, Grayson, Hemphill, Hansford, Madi-
son, Red River, San Patricio, Wharton, and Williamson Counties,
and TACA commented that the amendment was too onerous, too
burdensome a process for the public, and would create a hard-
ship for individuals wishing to conduct an "even trade."

RESPONSE

While the proposed amendment related to even trade transac-
tions may create a more onerous or burdensome process for the

public, the department does not agree that this is a compelling
reason not to adopt the amendment. Even trade transactions
are more susceptible to fraud since no sales taxes are paid. The
proposed rules had the potential to more effectively deter fraud-
ulent actors from committing a crime.

COMMENT

The TACs for Bee, Bell, Brazoria, Denton, Potter, San Patri-
cio, Wharton, and Wise Counties and TACA commented that the
amendment did not provide any guidance for motor vehicle deal-
ers.

RESPONSE

The department disagrees that guidance is necessary for mo-
tor vehicle dealers. Dealers are expressly authorized to deduct
the trade-in value of a vehicle from the purchase price for the
purposes of calculating sales tax owed. If a dealer accepts a ve-
hicle as a trade-in for a new or used motor vehicle, a sale has
still occurred, and consideration has passed from the buyer to
the dealer for that vehicle. An "even trade," as defined by pro-
posed amended §217.2, is a "transaction involving the even ex-
change of two automobiles with comparable standard presump-
tive value."

COMMENT

The TACs for Bee, Bell, Brazoria, Carson, Cass, Gray, Jones,
Madison, Moore, Oldham, Potter, Red River, Refugio, San Patri-
cio and Wharton Counties, and TACA commented that the pro-
posed amendment could be a violation of the Health Insurance
Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).

RESPONSE

HIPAA protects individuals' identifiable health information held
by covered entities and their business associates (called "pro-
tected health information" or "PHI"). Covered entities under
HIPAA are health care clearinghouses, health plans, and most
health care providers. Business associates generally are per-
sons or entities that perform functions or activities on behalf of, or
provide certain services to, a covered entity that involve access
to PHI. See generally http:.//www.hhs.gov/hipaa/for-profes-
sionals/privacy/quidance/index.html. As such, the department
disagrees that a TAC is a covered entity or a business associate
under HIPAA and disagrees that a TAC is covered by the HIPAA
privacy rule.

COMMENT

The Jones County TAC also commented that the amendment
would be a violation of privacy.

RESPONSE

The department would point out that the proposed amendment
does not require detailed medical information, but rather docu-
mentation from the applicant's physician attesting that the appli-
cant is unable to be physically present.

COMMENT

The TACs from Bee, Bell, Brazoria, Cass, Comal, Denton,
Hansford, Lavaca, Madison, Montgomery, Refugio, San Patri-
cio, Wharton and Williamson County suggested that instead of
adopting the amendments for an even trade transaction, the
process should be similar to the "gift affidavit" process.

RESPONSE
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The department notes that the "gift affidavit" statement is specif-
ically authorized by Tax Code, §152.062(b-2) and is applicable
only to the transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle as the result
of a gift. As such, the "gift affidavit" may not be used for an even
trade.

COMMENT

The TACs from Bee, Bell, Brazoria, Carson, Cass, Denton,
Gray, Hansford, Hemphill, Lavaca, Lubbock, McLennan, Mid-
land, Montgomery, Moore, Navarro, Potter, Red River, Wharton,
Williamson, and Wise Counties and TACA commented that
the proposed amendment is a sales tax issue, and that the
Comptroller of the State of Texas should be consulted.

RESPONSE

The department responds that while the issue does relate to the
proper payment of sales tax, it involves the transfer of owner-
ship of motor vehicles, and, as such, is within the department's
statutory authority to "adopt rules to administer the Certificate of
Title Act, Chapter 501 of the Texas Transportation Code." See
Transportation Code, §501.0041.

Despite the above responses to comments, the department has
determined that the proposed definition for "even trade" and the
requirements applicable to an even trade transaction will not
be added to Chapter 217, Subtitle A, at this time. The depart-
ment intends to either propose a similar rule in the future, or
pursue other avenues for addressing the risks associated with
even trade transactions. As such, proposed amendments to
§217.2 and §217.4 related to even trade transactions will not be
adopted.

COMMENT

Insurance Auto Auctions (IAA) commented on §217.88, Sale,
Transfer, or Release of Ownership of a Non-repairable or Sal-
vage Motor Vehicle, recommending that the section be further
amended to comply with Transportation Code, §501.095 by elim-
inating the limitations on sales by insurance companies, includ-
ing a reference to electronic titling, and including out-of-state
documents.

RESPONSE

Having reviewed the comment and Transportation Code,
§501.095, the department agrees that the rule and statute are
not consistent, and amended the rule to align with the language
of the Transportation Code.

Lastly, proposed amendments to §217.5, Evidence of Motor
Vehicle Ownership; §217.7, Replacement of Title; §217.26,
Identification Required; and §217.123, Access to Motor Vehicle
Records, added a concealed handgun license issued by the
Texas Department of Public Safety under Government Code,
Chapter 411, Subchapter H as an acceptable form of identi-
fication to support an application for a title, replacement title,
initial registration, or a request for personal information. House
Bill 910, 84th Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, amended
Government Code, Chapter 411, Subchapter H, to change the
term "concealed handgun license" to "license to carry a hand-
gun" in most sections. To maintain consistency with statute,
the department is adding "license to carry a handgun" to the
proposed rule text, in addition to "concealed handgun license."
This change is nonsubstantive and made only to align with the
Government Code.

SUBCHAPTER A. MOTOR VEHICLE TITLES

43 TAC §§217.2 - 217.5, 217.7
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code,
§1002.001, which provides the board of the Texas Department
of Motor Vehicles (board) the authority to adopt rules necessary
and appropriate to implement the powers and the duties of
the department under the Transportation Code; Transportation
Code, §501.0041, which provides the department may adopt
rules to administer Chapter 501, Certificate of Title Act; Trans-
portation Code, §502.0021, which provides the department
may adopt rules to administer Chapter 502, Registration of
Vehicles; and Transportation Code, §504.0011, which provides
the department may adopt rules to implement and administer
Chapter 504, License Plates. More specifically, amendments
are also adopted under Transportation Code, §501.0235, which
provides the department may require an applicant for a title
to provide current personal identification as determined by
department rule.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE

Transportation Code, §§501.022, 501.023, 502.095, 502.453,
502.456, and 504.202.

$§217.2.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise.

(1) Alias--The name of a vehicle owner reflected on a title,
when the name on the title is different from the name of the legal owner
of the vehicle.

(2) Alias title--A title document issued by the department
for a vehicle that is used by an exempt law enforcement agency in
covert criminal investigations.

(3) Bond release letter--Written notification from the
United States Department of Transportation authorizing United States
Customs to release the bond posted for a motor vehicle imported into
the United States to ensure compliance with federal motor vehicle
safety standards.

(4) Title application--A form prescribed by the division di-
rector that reflects the information required by the department to create
a motor vehicle title record.

(5) Date of sale--The date of the transfer of possession of
a specific vehicle from a seller to a purchaser.

(6) Division director--The director of the department's Ve-
hicle Titles and Registration Division.

(7) Executive administrator--The director of a federal
agency, the director of a Texas state agency, the sheriff of a Texas
county, or the chief of police of a Texas city who by law possesses the
authority to conduct covert criminal investigations.

(8) Exempt agency--A governmental body exempt by law
from paying title or registration fees for motor vehicles.

(9) Federal motor vehicle safety standards--Motor vehicle
safety requirements promulgated by the United States Department of
Transportation, National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, set
forth in Title 49, Code of Federal Regulations.

(10) House moving dolly--An apparatus consisting of
metal beams and axles used to move houses. House moving dollies, by
nature of their construction and use, actually form large semitrailers.
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(11) Identification certificate--A form issued by an inspec-
tor of an authorized safety inspection station in accordance with Trans-
portation Code, Chapter 548.

(12) Implements of husbandry--Farm implements, ma-
chinery, and tools used in tilling the soil, including self-propelled
machinery specifically designed or especially adapted for applying
plant food materials or agricultural chemicals. This term does not
include an implement unless it is designed or adapted for the sole
purpose of transporting farm materials or chemicals. This term does
not include any passenger car or truck. This term does include a towed
vehicle that transports to the field and spreads fertilizer or agricultural
chemicals; or a motor vehicle designed and adapted to deliver feed to
livestock.

(13) Manufacturer's certificate of origin--A form pre-
scribed by the department showing the original transfer of a new motor
vehicle from the manufacturer to the original purchaser, whether
importer, distributor, dealer, or owner, and when presented with an
application for title, showing, on appropriate forms prescribed by the
department, each subsequent transfer between distributor and dealer,
dealer and dealer, and dealer and owner.

(14) Moped--A motor driven cycle whose attainable speed
is not more than 30 miles per hour and that is equipped with a mo-
tor that produces not more than two-brake horsepower. If an internal
combustion engine is used, the piston displacement may not exceed 50
cubic centimeters and the power drive system may not require the op-
erator to shift gears.

(15) Motor vehicle importation form--A declaration form
prescribed by the United States Department of Transportation and cer-
tified by United States Customs that relates to any motor vehicle being
brought into the United States and the motor vehicle's compliance with
federal motor vehicle safety standards.

(16) Non United States standard motor vehicle--A motor
vehicle not manufactured in compliance with federal motor vehicle
safety standards.

(17) Obligor--An individual who is required to make pay-
ments under the terms of a support order for a child.

(18) Person--An individual, firm, corporation, company,
partnership, or other entity.

(19) Safety certification label--A label placed on a motor
vehicle by a manufacturer certifying that the motor vehicle complies
with all federal motor vehicle safety standards.

(20) Statement of fact--A written declaration that supports
an application for a title, that is executed by an involved party to a trans-
action involving a motor vehicle, and that clarifies an error made on a
title or other negotiable evidence of ownership. An involved party is
the seller or an agent of the seller involved in the motor vehicle trans-
action. When a written declaration is necessary to correct an odometer
disclosure error, the signatures of both the seller and buyer when the
error occurred are required.

(21) Verifiable proof--Additional documentation required
of a vehicle owner, lienholder, or agent executing an application for a
certified copy of a title.

(A) Individual applicant. If the applicant is an individ-
ual, verifiable proof consists of a copy of a current photo identification
issued by this state or by the United States or foreign passport.

(B) Business applicant. If the applicant is a business,
verifiable proof consists of an original or copy of a letter of signature
authority on letterhead, a business card, or employee identification and

a copy of current photo identification issued by this state or by the
United States or foreign passport.

(C) Power of attorney. If the applicant is a person in
whose favor a power of attorney has been executed by the owner or
lienholder, verifiable proof consists of the documentation required un-
der subparagraph (A) or (B) of this paragraph both for the owner or
lienholder and for the person in whose favor the power of attorney is
executed.

§217.4.

(a) Time for application. A person must apply for the title not
later than the 30th day after the date of assignment, except:

Initial Application for Title.

(1) inaseller-financed sale, the title must be applied for not
later than the 45th day after the date the motor vehicle is delivered to
the purchaser;

(2) amember of the armed forces or a member of a reserve
component of the United States, a member of the Texas National Guard
or of the National Guard of another state serving on active duty, must
apply not later than the 60th day after the date of assignment of own-
ership; or

(3) asotherwise provided by Transportation Code, Chapter
501.

(b) Place of application. When motor vehicle ownership is
transferred, a title application must be filed with the county tax as-
sessor-collector in the county in which the applicant resides or in the
county in which the motor vehicle was purchased or encumbered, as
selected by the applicant, except:

(1) as provided by Transportation Code, Chapters 501 and
502 and by §217.84(a) of this title (relating to Application for Non-
repairable or Salvage Vehicle Title);

(2) if a county has been declared a disaster area, the resi-
dent may apply at the closest unaffected county if the affected county
tax assessor-collector estimates the county offices will be inoperable
for a protracted period; or

(3) ifthe county tax assessor-collector office in the county
in which the owner resides is closed for more than one week, the res-
ident may apply to the county tax assessor-collector in a county that
borders the closed county if the adjacent county agrees to accept the
application.

(c) Information to be included on application. An applicant
for an initial title must file an application on a form prescribed by the
department. The form will at a minimum require the:

(1) motor vehicle description including, but not limited to,
the motor vehicle:

(A) year;

(B) make;

(C) identification number;
(D) body style; and

(E) empty weight;

(2) license plate number, if the motor vehicle is subject to
registration under Transportation Code, Chapter 502;

(3) odometer reading and brand, or the word "exempt" if
the motor vehicle is exempt from federal and state odometer disclosure
requirements;

(4) previous owner's legal name and complete mailing ad-
dress, if available;
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(5) legal name as stated on the identification presented and
complete address of the applicant;

(6) name and mailing address of any lienholder and the date
of lien, if applicable;

(7) signature of the seller of the motor vehicle or the seller's
authorized agent and the date the title application was signed; and

(8) signature of the applicant or the applicant's authorized
agent and the date the title application was signed.

(d) Accompanying documentation. The title application must
be supported by, at a minimum, the following documents:

(1) evidence of vehicle ownership, as described in §217.5
of this title (relating to Evidence of Motor Vehicle Ownership);

(2) anodometer disclosure statement properly executed by
the seller of the motor vehicle and acknowledged by the purchaser, if
applicable;

(3) proof of financial responsibility in the applicant's name,
as required by Transportation Code, §502.046, unless otherwise ex-
empted by law;

(4) an identification certificate if required by Transporta-
tion Code, Chapter 548, and Transportation Code, §501.030, and if the
vehicle is being titled and registered, or registered only;

(5) arelease of any liens, provided that if any liens are not
released, they will be carried forward on the new title application with
the following limitations:

(A) A lien recorded on out-of-state evidence as de-
scribed in §217.5 cannot be carried forward to a Texas title when there
is a transfer of ownership, unless a release of lien or authorization
from the lienholder is attached; and

(B) A lien recorded on out-of-state evidence as de-
scribed in §217.5 is not required to be released when there is no
transfer of ownership from an out-of-state title and the same lienholder
is being recorded on the Texas application as is recorded on the
out-of-state title; and

(6) any documents required by §217.9 of this title (relating
to Bonded Titles).

$§217.5. Evidence of Motor Vehicle Ownership.

(a) Evidence of motor vehicle ownership properly assigned to
the applicant must accompany the title application. Evidence must in-
clude, but is not limited to, the following documents.

(1) New motor vehicles. A manufacturer's certificate of
origin assigned by the manufacturer or the manufacturer's representa-
tive or distributor to the original purchaser is required for a new motor
vehicle that is sold or offered for sale.

(A) The manufacturer's certificate of origin must be in
the form prescribed by the department and must contain, at a minimum,
the following information:

(i) motor vehicle description including, but not lim-
ited to, the motor vehicle year, make, identification number, and body
style;

(i) the empty or shipping weight;

(iii) the gross vehicle weight when the manufac-
turer's certificate of origin is invoiced to a licensed Texas motor vehicle

dealer and is issued for commercial motor vehicles as that term is
defined in Transportation Code, Chapter 502;

(iv) astatement identifying a motor vehicle designed
by the manufacturer for off-highway use only; and

(v) if the vehicle is a "neighborhood electric vehi-
cle," a statement that the vehicle meets Federal Motor Vehicle Safety
Standard 500 (49 C.F.R. §571.500) for low-speed vehicles.

(B) When a motor vehicle manufactured in another
country is sold directly to a person other than a manufacturer's repre-
sentative or distributor, the manufacturer's certificate of origin must be
assigned to the purchaser by the seller.

(2) Used motor vehicles. A title issued by the department,
a title issued by another state if the motor vehicle was last registered
and titled in another state, or other evidence of ownership must be re-
linquished in support of the title application for any used motor vehicle.
A registration receipt is required from a vehicle owner coming from a
state that no longer titles vehicles after a certain period of time.

(3) Motor vehicles brought into the United States. An ap-
plication for title for a motor vehicle last registered or titled in a foreign
country must be supported by documents including, but not limited to,
the following:

(A) the motor vehicle registration certificate or other
verification issued by a foreign country reflecting the name of the ap-
plicant as the motor vehicle owner, or reflecting that legal evidence of
ownership has been legally assigned to the applicant;

(B) unless the applicant is an active duty member of the
U.S. Armed Forces or is from the immediate family of such a member
returning to Texas with proof of the active duty status of the family
member, verification of the vehicle identification number of the vehi-
cle, on a form prescribed by the department, executed by a member of:

(i) the National Insurance Crime Bureau;
(ii) the Federal Bureau of Investigation; or
(iii) alaw enforcement auto theft unit; and

(C) for motor vehicles that are less than 25 years old,
proof of compliance with United States Department of Transportation
(USDOT) regulations including, but not limited to, the following doc-
uments:

(i) the original bond release letter with all attach-
ments advising that the motor vehicle meets federal motor vehicle
safety requirements or a letter issued by the USDOT, National High-
way Traffic Safety Administration, verifying the issuance of the
original bond release letter;

(ii) alegible copy of the motor vehicle importation
form validated with an original United States Customs stamp, date, and
signature as filed with the USDOT confirming the exemption from the
bond release letter required in clause (i) of this subparagraph, or a copy
thereof certified by United States Customs;

(iii) a verification of motor vehicle inspection by
United States Customs certified on its letterhead and signed by its agent
verifying that the motor vehicle complies with USDOT regulations;

(iv) awritten confirmation that a physical inspection
of the safety certification label has been made by the department and
that the motor vehicle meets United States motor vehicle safety stan-
dards;

(v) the original bond release letter, verification
thereof, or written confirmation from the previous state verifying that
a bond release letter issued by the USDOT was relinquished to that
jurisdiction, if the non United States standard motor vehicle was last
titled or registered in another state for one year or less; or
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(vi) verification from the vehicle manufacturer on its
letterhead stationery.

(b) Alterations to documentation. An alteration to a registra-
tion receipt, title, manufacturer's certificate, or other evidence of own-
ership constitutes a valid reason for the rejection of any transaction to
which altered evidence is attached.

(1) Altered lien information on any surrendered evidence
of ownership requires a release from the original lienholder or a state-
ment from the proper authority of the state in which the lien originated.
The statement must verify the correct lien information.

(2) A strikeover that leaves any doubt about the legibility
of any digit in any document will not be accepted.

(3) A corrected manufacturer's certificate of origin will be
required if the manufacturer's certificate of origin contains an:

(A) incomplete or altered vehicle identification num-
ber;

(B) alteration or strikeover of the vehicle's model year;

(C) alteration or strikeover to the body style, or omitted
body style on the manufacturer's certificate of origin; or

(D) alteration or strikeover to the weight.

(4) A Statement of Fact may be requested to explain errors,
corrections, or conditions from which doubt does or could arise con-
cerning the legality of any instrument. A Statement of Fact will be
required in all cases:

(A) in which the date of sale on an assignment has been
erased or altered in any manner; or

(B) of alteration or erasure on a Dealer's Reassignment
of Title.

(c) Rights of survivorship. A signed "rights of survivorship"
agreement may be executed by a natural person acting in an individual
capacity in accordance with Transportation Code, §501.031.

(d) Identification required.

(1) An application for title is not acceptable unless the ap-
plicant presents a current photo identification of the owner containing
a unique identification number and expiration date. The identification
document must be a:

(A) driver's license or state identification certificate is-
sued by a state or territory of the United States;

(B) United States or foreign passport;
(C) United States military identification card;

(D) North Atlantic Treaty Organization identification or
identification issued under a Status of Forces Agreement;

(E) United States Department of Homeland Security,
United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, or United States
Department of State identification document; or

(F) concealed handgun license or license to carry a
handgun issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety under
Government Code, Chapter 411, Subchapter H.

(2) If the motor vehicle is titled in:

(A) more than one name, then the identification of one
owner must be presented;

(B) the name of a leasing company, then:

(i) proof of the Federal Employer Identification
Number/Employee Identification Number (FEIN/EIN) of the leasing
company must be submitted, written on the application, and can
be entered into the department's titling system. The number must
correspond to the name of the leasing company in which the vehicle
is being titled; and

(ii)  the leasing company may submit:

(I) a government issued photo identification, re-
quired under paragraph (1) of this subsection, of the lessee listed as the
registrant; or

(II) agovernment issued photo identification, re-
quired under paragraph (1) of this subsection, of the employee or au-
thorized agent who signed the application for the leasing company, and
the employee's or authorized agent's employee identification, letter of
authorization written on the lessor's letterhead, or a printed business
card. The printed business card, employee identification, or letter of
authorization written on the lessor's letterhead must contain the name
of'the lessor, and the employee's or authorized agent's name must match
the name on the government issued photo identification;

(C) the name of a trust, then a government issued photo
identification, required under paragraph (1) of this subsection, of a
trustee must be presented; or

(D) the name of a business, government entity, or or-
ganization, then:

(i) proof of the Federal Employer Identification
Number/Employee Identification Number (FEIN/EIN) of the business,
government entity, or organization must be submitted, written on the
application, and can be entered into the department's titling system.
The number must correspond to the name of the business, government
entity, or organization in which the vehicle is being titled;

(i) the employee or authorized agent must present a
government issued photo identification, required under paragraph (1)
of this subsection; and

(iii) the employee's or authorized agent's employee
identification; letter of authorization written on the business', govern-
ment entity's, or organization's letterhead; or a printed business card.
The printed business card, employee identification, or letter of autho-
rization written on the business', government entity's, or organization's
letterhead must contain the name of the business, governmental entity,
or organization, and the employee's or authorized agent's name must
match the name on the government issued photo identification.

(3) In addition to the requirements of paragraphs (1) and
(2) of this subsection, if a power of attorney is being used to apply for
a title, then the applicant must show:

(A) identification, required under paragraph (1) of this
subsection, matching the person named as power of attorney; or

(B) identification, required under paragraph (1) of this
subsection, and employee identification or a printed business card or
authorization written on the letterhead of the entity named as power of
attorney that matches the identification of the employee if the power of
attorney names an entity.

(4) Within this subchapter, "current” is defined as not to
exceed 12 months after the expiration date, except that a state-issued
personal identification certificate issued to a qualifying person is con-
sidered current if the identification states that it has no expiration.

(5) Within this subsection, an identification document such
as a printed business card, letter of authorization, or power of attorney,
may be an original or a photocopy.
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(6) A person who holds a general distinguishing number
issued under Transportation Code, Chapter 503 or Occupations Code,
Chapter 2301 is exempt from submitting to the county tax assessor-
collector, but must retain:

(A) the owner's identification, as required under para-
graph (1) of this subsection; and

(B) authorization to sign, as required under paragraph
(2) of this subsection.

(7) A person who holds a general distinguishing number
issued under Transportation Code, Chapter 503 or Occupations Code,
Chapter 2301, is not required to submit photo identification or autho-
rization for an employee or agent signing a title assignment with a se-
cure power of attorney.

$217.7.  Replacement of Title.

(a) Lost or destroyed title. If a title is lost or destroyed, the
department will issue a certified copy of the title to the owner, the lien-
holder, or a verified agent of the owner or lienholder in accordance with
Transportation Code, Chapter 501, on proper application and payment
of the appropriate fee to the department.

(b) Identification required.

(1) An owner or lienholder may not apply for a certified
copy of title unless the applicant presents a current photo identification
of the owner or lienholder containing a unique identification number
and expiration date. The identification document must be a:

(A) driver's license or state identification certificate is-
sued by a state or territory of the United States;

(B) United States or foreign passport;
(C) United States military identification card;

(D) North Atlantic Treaty Organization identification or
identification issued under a Status of Forces Agreement;

(E) United States Department of Homeland Security,
United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, or United States
Department of State identification document; or

(F) concealed handgun license or license to carry a
handgun issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety under
Government Code, Chapter 411, Subchapter H.

(2) If the motor vehicle is titled in:

(A) more than one name, then the identification for each
owner must be presented;

(B) thename ofaleasing company, then the lessor's em-
ployee or authorized agent who signed the application for the leasing
company must present:

(i) a government issued photo identification, re-
quired under paragraph (1) of this subsection; and

(i) employee identification, letter of authorization
written on the lessor's letterhead, or a printed business card. The printed
business card, employee identification, or letter of authorization written
on the lessor's letterhead must contain the name of the lessor, and the
employee's or authorized agent's name must match the name on the
government issued photo identification;

(C) the name of a trust, then a government issued photo
identification, required under paragraph (1) of this subsection, of a
trustee must be presented; or

(D) the name of a business, government entity, or or-
ganization, then:

(i) the employee or authorized agent must present a
government issued photo identification, required under paragraph (1)
of this subsection; and

(i) the employee's or authorized agent's employee
identification; letter of authorization written on the business', govern-
ment entity's, or organization's letterhead; or a printed business card.
The printed business card, employee identification, or letter of autho-
rization written on the business', government entity's, or organization's
letterhead must contain the name of the business, governmental entity,
or organization, and the employee's or authorized agent's name must
match the name on the government issued photo identification.

(3) In addition to the requirements of paragraphs (1) and
(2) of this subsection, if a power of attorney is being used to apply for
a certified copy of title, then the applicant must show:

(A) identification, required under paragraph (1) of this
subsection, matching the person named as power of attorney;

(B) identification, required under paragraph (1) of this
subsection, and employee identification or a printed business card or
authorization written on the letterhead of the entity named as power of
attorney that matches the identification of the employee if the power of
attorney names an entity; or

(C) identification, required under paragraph (1) of this
subsection, of the owner or lienholder.

(4) Within this subchapter, "current" is defined as within
12 months after the expiration date, except that a state-issued personal
identification certificate issued to a qualifying person is considered cur-
rent if the identification states that it has no expiration.

(5) Within this subsection, an identification document,
such as a printed business card, letter of authorization, or power of
attorney, may be an original or a photocopy.

(c) Issuance. An application for a certified copy must be prop-
erly executed and supported by appropriate verifiable proof of the ve-
hicle owner, lienholder, or agent regardless of whether the application
is submitted in person or by mail. A certified copy will not be issued
until after the 14th day that the original title was issued.

(d) Denial. If issuance of a certified copy is denied, the ap-
plicant may resubmit the request with the required verifiable proof or
may pursue the privileges available in accordance with Transportation
Code, §501.052 and §501.053.

(e) Additional copies. An additional certified copy will not be
issued until 30 days after issuance of the previous certified copy.

(f) Fees. The fee for obtaining a certified copy of a title is $2
if the application is submitted to the department by mail and $5.45 if
the application is submitted in person for expedited processing at one
of the department's regional offices.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 19, 2016.

TRD-201603562

David D. Duncan

General Counsel

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Effective date: August 8, 2016

Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665
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SUBCHAPTER B. MOTOR VEHICLE
REGISTRATION

43 TAC §§217.26, 217.33, 217.40, 217.43, 217.45, 217.46,
217.54, 217.55

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code,
§1002.001, which provides the board of the Texas Department
of Motor Vehicles (board) the authority to adopt rules necessary
and appropriate to implement the powers and the duties of
the department under the Transportation Code; Transportation
Code, §501.0041, which provides the department may adopt
rules to administer Chapter 501, Certificate of Title Act; Trans-
portation Code, §502.0021, which provides the department
may adopt rules to administer Chapter 502, Registration of
Vehicles; and Transportation Code, §504.0011, which provides
the department may adopt rules to implement and administer
Chapter 504, License Plates. More specifically, amendments
are also adopted under Transportation Code, §501.0235, which
provides the department may require an applicant for a title
to provide current personal identification as determined by
department rule.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE

Transportation Code, §§501.022, 501.023, 502.095, 502.453,
502.456, and 504.202.

$§217.26. Identification Required.

(a) An application for initial registration is not acceptable un-
less the applicant presents a current photo identification of the owner
containing a unique identification number and expiration date. The
identification document must be a:

(1) driver's license or state identification certificate issued
by a state or territory of the United States;

(2) United States or foreign passport;
(3) United States military identification card,;

(4) North Atlantic Treaty Organization identification or
identification issued under a Status of Forces Agreement;

(5) United States Department of Homeland Security,
United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, or United States
Department of State identification document; or

(6) concealed handgun license or license to carry a hand-
gun issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety under Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 411, Subchapter H.

(b) If the motor vehicle is titled in:

(1) more than one name, then the identification of one
owner must be presented;

(2) the name of a leasing company, then:

(A) proof of the Federal Employer Identification Num-
ber/Employee Identification Number (FEIN/EIN) of the leasing com-
pany must be submitted, written on the application, and can be entered
into the department's titling system. The number must correspond to
the name of the leasing company in which the vehicle is being titled,;
and

(B) the leasing company may submit:

(i) a government issued photo identification, re-
quired under this section, of the lessee listed as the registrant; or

(i) a government issued photo identification, re-
quired under this section, of the employee or authorized agent who
signed the application for the leasing company, and the employee's
or authorized agent's employee identification, letter of authorization
written on the lessor's letterhead, or a printed business card. The
printed business card, employee identification, or letter of authoriza-
tion written on the lessor's letterhead must contain the name of the
lessor, and the employee's or authorized agent's name must match the
name on the government issued photo identification;

(3) the name of a trust, then a government issued photo
identification, required under this section, of a trustee must be pre-
sented; or

(4) the name of a business, government entity, or organiza-
tion, then:

(A) proof of the Federal Employer Identification Num-
ber/Employee Identification Number (FEIN/EIN) of the business, gov-
ernment entity, or organization must be submitted, written on the ap-
plication, and can be entered into the department's titling system. The
number must correspond to the name of the business, government en-
tity, or organization in which the vehicle is being titled;

(B) the employee or authorized agent must present a
government issued photo identification, required under this section;
and

(C) the employee's or authorized agent's employee
identification; letter of authorization written on the business', govern-
ment entity's, or organization's letterhead; or a printed business card.
The printed business card, employee identification, or letter of autho-
rization written on the business', government entity's, or organization's
letterhead must contain the name of the business, governmental entity,
or organization, and the employee's or authorized agent's name must
match the name on the government issued photo identification.

(c) Within this section, "current" is defined as not to exceed
12 months after the expiration date, except that a state-issued personal
identification certificate issued to a qualifying person is considered cur-
rent if the identification states that it has no expiration.

(d) Within this section, an identification document such as a
printed business card, letter of authorization, or power of attorney, may
be an original or photocopy.

(e) A personwho holds a general distinguishing number issued
under Transportation Code, Chapter 503 or Occupations Code, Chapter
2301, is exempt from submitting to the county tax assessor-collector,
but must retain:

(1) the owner's identification, as required under this sec-
tion; and

(2) authorization to sign, as required under this section.

(f) A person who holds a general distinguishing number issued
under Transportation Code, Chapter 503 or Occupations Code, Chapter
2301, is not required to submit photo identification or authorization for
an employee or agent signing a title assignment with a secure power of
attorney.

(g) This section does not apply to non-titled vehicles.

$§217.55. Exempt and Alias Vehicle Registration.
(a) Exempt plate registration.

(1) Issuance. Pursuant to Transportation Code, §502.453
or §502.456, certain vehicles owned by and used exclusively in the
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service of a governmental agency, owned by a commercial transporta-
tion company and used exclusively for public school transportation ser-
vices, designed and used for fire-fighting or owned by a volunteer fire
department and used in the conduct of department business, privately
owned and used in volunteer county marine law enforcement activi-
ties, used by law enforcement under an alias for covert criminal in-
vestigations, owned by units of the United States Coast Guard Auxil-
iary headquartered in Texas and used exclusively for conduct of United
States Coast Guard or Coast Guard Auxiliary business and operations,
or owned or leased by a non-profit emergency medical service provider
is exempt from payment of a registration fee and is eligible for exempt
plates.

(2) Application for exempt registration.

(A) Application. An application for exempt plates shall
be made to the county tax assessor-collector, shall be made on a form
prescribed by the department, and shall contain the following informa-
tion:

(i) vehicle description;
(i) name of the exempt agency;

(iii) an affidavit executed by an authorized person
stating that the vehicle is owned or under the control of and will be
operated by the exempt agency; and

(iv)  acertification that each vehicle listed on the ap-
plication has the name of the exempt agency printed on each side of the
vehicle in letters that are at least two inches high or in an emblem that
is at least 100 square inches in size and of a color sufficiently different
from the body of the vehicle as to be clearly legible from a distance of
100 feet.

(B) Emergency medical service vehicle.

(i) The application for exempt registration must con-
tain the vehicle description, the name of the emergency medical service
provider, and a statement signed by an officer of the emergency med-
ical service provider stating that the vehicle is used exclusively as an
emergency response vehicle and qualifies for registration under Trans-
portation Code, §502.456.

(ii) A copy of an emergency medical service
provider license issued by the Department of State Health Services
must accompany the application.

(C) Fire-fighting vehicle. The application for exempt
registration of a fire-fighting vehicle or vehicle owned privately by a
volunteer fire department and used exclusively in the conduct of de-
partment business must contain the vehicle description, including a de-
scription of any fire-fighting equipment mounted on the vehicle if the
vehicle is a fire-fighting vehicle. The affidavit must be executed by the
person who has the proper authority and shall state either:

(i) the vehicle is designed and used exclusively for
fire-fighting; or

(ii) the vehicle is owned by a volunteer fire depart-
ment and is used exclusively in the conduct of its business.

(D) County marine law enforcement vehicle. The ap-
plication for exempt registration of a privately owned vehicle used by
a volunteer exclusively in county marine law enforcement activities,
including rescue operations, under the direction of the sheriff's depart-
ment must include a statement signed by a person having the authority
to act for a sheriff's department verifying that fact.

(E) United States Coast Guard Auxiliary vehicle. The
application for exempt registration of a vehicle owned by units of the

United States Coast Guard Auxiliary headquartered in Texas and used
exclusively for conduct of United States Coast Guard or Coast Guard
Auxiliary business and operation, including search and rescue, emer-
gency communications, and disaster operations, must include a state-
ment by a person having authority to act for the United States Coast
Guard Auxiliary that the vehicle or trailer is used exclusively in ful-
fillment of an authorized mission of the United States Coast Guard or
Coast Guard Auxiliary, including search and rescue, emergency com-
munications, or disaster operations.

(3) Exception. A vehicle may be exempt from payment of
a registration fee, but display license plates other than exempt plates if
the vehicle is not registered under subsection (b) of this section.

(A) Ifthe applicant is a law enforcement office, the ap-
plicant must present a certification that each vehicle listed on the ap-
plication will be dedicated to law enforcement activities.

(B) If the applicant is exempt from the inscription
requirements under Transportation Code, §721.003, the applicant
must present a certification that each vehicle listed on the application
is exempt from inscription requirements under Transportation Code,
§721.003. The applicant must also provide a citation to the section
that exempts the vehicle.

(C) If the applicant is exempt from the inscription
requirements under Transportation Code, §721.005 the applicant must
present a certification that each vehicle listed on the application is
exempt from inscription requirements under Transportation Code,
§721.005. The applicant must also provide a copy of the order or
ordinance that exempts the vehicle.

(D) If the applicant is exempt from the inscription re-
quirements under Education Code, §51.932, the applicant must present
a certification that each vehicle listed on the application is exempt from
the inscription requirements under Education Code, §51.932. Exempt
plates will be marked with the replacement year.

(b) Affidavit for issuance of exempt registration under an alias.

(1) On receipt of an affidavit for alias exempt registration,
approved by the executive administrator of an exempt law enforcement
agency, the department will issue alias exempt license plates for a ve-
hicle and register the vehicle under an alias for the law enforcement
agency's use in covert criminal investigations.

(2) The affidavit for alias exempt registration must be in a
form prescribed by the director and must include the vehicle descrip-
tion, a sworn statement that the vehicle will be used in covert criminal
investigations, and the signature of the executive administrator or the
executive administrator's designee as provided in paragraph (3) of this
subsection. The vehicle registration insignia of any vehicles no longer
used in covert criminal investigations shall be surrendered immediately
to the department.

(3) The executive administrator, by annually filing an au-
thorization with the director, may appoint a staff designee to execute
the affidavit. A new authorization must be filed when a new executive
administrator takes office.

(4) The letter of authorization must contain a sworn state-
ment delegating the authority to sign the affidavit to a designee, the
name of the designee, and the name and the signature of the executive
administrator.

(5) The affidavit for alias exempt registration must be ac-
companied by a title application under §217.103 of this title (relating
to Restitution Liens). The application must contain the information
required by the department to create the alias record of vehicle regis-
tration and title.
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(c) Replacement of exempt registration.

(1) If an exempt plate is lost, stolen, or mutilated, a prop-
erly executed application for exempt plates must be submitted to the
county tax assessor-collector.

(2) An application for replacement exempt plates must
contain the vehicle description, original license number, and the sworn
statement that the license plates furnished for the vehicle have been
lost, stolen, or mutilated and will not be used on any other vehicle.

(d) Title requirements. Unless exempted by statute, a vehicle
must be titled at the time the exempt registration is issued.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 19, 2016.

TRD-201603563

David D. Duncan

General Counsel

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Effective date: August 8, 2016

Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. NON-REPAIRABLE AND
SALVAGE MOTOR VEHICLES

43 TAC §217.88

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code,
§1002.001, which provides the board of the Texas Department
of Motor Vehicles (board) the authority to adopt rules necessary
and appropriate to implement the powers and the duties of
the department under the Transportation Code; Transportation
Code, §501.0041, which provides the department may adopt
rules to administer Chapter 501, Certificate of Title Act; Trans-
portation Code, §502.0021, which provides the department
may adopt rules to administer Chapter 502, Registration of
Vehicles; and Transportation Code, §504.0011, which provides
the department may adopt rules to implement and administer
Chapter 504, License Plates. More specifically, amendments
are also adopted under Transportation Code, §501.0235, which
provides the department may require an applicant for a title
to provide current personal identification as determined by
department rule.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE

Transportation Code, §§501.022, 501.023, 502.095, 502.453,
502.456, and 504.202.

$217.88. Sale, Transfer, or Release of Ownership of a Non-repairable
or Salvage Motor Vehicle.

(a) With a non-repairable or salvage motor vehicle title. The
ownership of a motor vehicle for which a non-repairable vehicle title,
non-repairable record of title, salvage vehicle title, salvage record of
title, or a comparable out-of-state ownership document has been issued,
including a motor vehicle that has a "Flood Damage" notation on the
title, may be sold, transferred, or released to anyone.

(b) Without a non-repairable or salvage motor vehicle title. If
a non-repairable vehicle title, non-repairable record of title, salvage

vehicle title, salvage record of title, or a comparable out-of-state own-
ership document has not been issued for a non-repairable or salvage
motor vehicle, only a salvage vehicle dealer, used automotive parts re-
cycler, metal recycler, insurance company, or governmental entity may
sell, transfer, or otherwise release ownership of the motor vehicle. Such
person may only sell, transfer, or otherwise release ownership of a mo-
tor vehicle to which this subsection applies to:

(1) asalvage vehicle dealer;

(2) aused automotive parts recycler;
(3) ametal recycler;

(4) a governmental entity; or

(5) an insurance company.

(c) Sale of self-insured non-repairable or salvage motor vehi-
cle. The owner of a self-insured non-repairable or salvage motor ve-
hicle that has been damaged and removed from normal operation shall
obtain a non-repairable or salvage vehicle title before selling or other-
wise transferring ownership of the motor vehicle.

(d) Casual sales. A salvage vehicle dealer, salvage pool opera-
tor, or insurance company may sell up to five non-repairable or salvage
motor vehicles, for which non-repairable or salvage vehicle titles have
been issued, to a person in a casual sale during a calendar year.

(e) Records of casual sales.

(1) A salvage vehicle dealer, salvage pool operator, or in-
surance company must maintain records of each casual sale made dur-
ing the previous 36 months, in accordance with Transportation Code,
§501.108, that at a minimum contain:

(A) the date of sale;
(B) the sales price;
(C) the name and address of the purchaser;

(D) alegible photocopy of the purchaser's government-
issued photo identification;

(E) the form of identification provided, the identifica-
tion document number, and the name of the jurisdiction that issued the
identification document;

(F) the description of the motor vehicle, including
the vehicle identification number, model year, make, body style, and
model,

(G) a photocopy of the front and back of the properly
assigned ownership document provided to the purchaser; and

(H) the purchaser's certification, on a form provided by
the department, that the purchase of motor vehicles in a casual sale
is not intended to circumvent the provisions of Transportation Code,
Chapter 501 (relating to Certificates of Title) and Occupations Code,
Chapter 2302 (relating to Salvage Vehicle Dealers).

(2) Records may be maintained on a form provided by the
department or in an electronic format.

(3) Records must be maintained on the business premises
of the seller, and shall be made available for inspection upon request.

(f) Export-only sales.

(1) In accordance with Transportation Code, §501.099,
only a licensed salvage vehicle dealer, including a salvage pool
operator acting as agent for an insurance company, or governmental
entity may sell a non-repairable or salvage motor vehicle to a person
who resides outside the United States, and only:
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(A) when a non-repairable or salvage vehicle title has
been issued for the motor vehicle prior to offering it for export-only
sale; and

(B) prior to the sale, the seller obtains a legible photo-
copy of a government-issued photo identification of the purchaser that
can be verified by law enforcement, issued by the jurisdiction in which
the purchaser resides that may consist of:

(i) a passport;
(i) a driver's license;
(iii) consular identity document;

(iv)  national identification certificate or identity
document; or

(v) other government-issued identification that
includes the name of the jurisdiction issuing the document, the pur-
chaser's full name, foreign address, date of birth, photograph, and
signature.

(2) The seller must obtain the purchaser's certification, on
a form prescribed by the department, that the purchaser will remove
the motor vehicle from the United States and will not return the motor
vehicle to any state of the United States as a motor vehicle titled or
registered under its manufacturer's vehicle identification number.

(3) The seller must provide the buyer with a properly as-
signed non-repairable or salvage vehicle title.

(4) The seller must stamp FOR EXPORT ONLY and the
seller's salvage vehicle dealer license number or the governmental en-
tity's name, whichever applies, on the face of the title and on any unused
reassignments on the back of the title.

(g) Records of export-only sales.

(1) A salvage vehicle dealer or governmental entity that
sells a non-repairable or salvage motor vehicle for export-only must
maintain records of all export-only sales.

(2) Records of each sale must include:

(A) alegible copy of the stamped and properly assigned
non-repairable or salvage vehicle title;

(B) the buyer's certified statement required by subsec-
tion (f)(2) of this section;

(C) a legible copy of the buyer's photo identification
document;

(D) alegible copy of any other documents related to the
sale of the motor vehicle; and

(E) alisting of each motor vehicle sold for export-only
that states the:

(i) date of sale;

(ii) name and address of the seller;

(iii) name and address of the purchaser;

(iv) purchaser's identification document number;

(v) name of the country that issued the identification
document;

(vi) the form of identification provided by the pur-
chaser; and

(vii)  description of the motor vehicle that includes
the year, make, model, and vehicle identification number of the motor
vehicle.

(3) The listing required by paragraph (2)(E) of this subsec-
tion must be maintained either on a form provided by the department
or in an electronic format approved by the department.

(4) The salvage vehicle dealer or governmental entity shall
submit the listing prescribed by paragraph (2)(E) of this subsection to
the department within 30 days from the date of sale.

(5) Upon receipt of the listing prescribed by paragraph
(2)(E) of this subsection, the department will place an appropriate
notation on the motor vehicle record to identify it as a motor vehicle
sold for export-only that may not be operated, retitled, or registered in
this state.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 19, 2016.

TRD-201603564

David D. Duncan

General Counsel

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Effective date: August 8, 2016

Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665
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SUBCHAPTER F. MOTOR VEHICLE RECORD
INFORMATION

43 TAC §217.123

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code,
§1002.001, which provides the board of the Texas Department
of Motor Vehicles (board) the authority to adopt rules necessary
and appropriate to implement the powers and the duties of
the department under the Transportation Code; Transportation
Code, §501.0041, which provides the department may adopt
rules to administer Chapter 501, Certificate of Title Act; Trans-
portation Code, §502.0021, which provides the department
may adopt rules to administer Chapter 502, Registration of
Vehicles; and Transportation Code, §504.0011, which provides
the department may adopt rules to implement and administer
Chapter 504, License Plates. More specifically, amendments
are also adopted under Transportation Code, §501.0235, which
provides the department may require an applicant for a title
to provide current personal identification as determined by
department rule.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE

Transportation Code, §§501.022, 501.023, 502.095, 502.453,
502.456, and 504.202.

$217.123.  Access to Motor Vehicle Records.

(a) Request for records. A person seeking motor vehicle
record information shall submit a written request on the form required
by the department. Information will be released in accordance with
Title 18 U.S.C. §2721 et seq., Transportation Code, Chapter 730, and
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Government Code, §552.130. A completed and properly executed
form must include, at a minimum:

(1) the name and address of the requestor;

(2) the Texas license number, title or document number, or
vehicle identification number of the motor vehicle about which infor-
mation is requested;

(3) aphotocopy of the requestor's identification;

(4) astatement that the requested information may only be
released if the requestor is the subject of the record, if the requestor has
written authorization for release from the subject of the record, or if the
intended use is for a permitted use as indicated on the form;

(5) acertification that the statements made on the form are
true and correct; and

(6) the signature of the requestor.

(b) Identification required. A person may not apply for receipt
of personal information unless the person presents current photo iden-
tification containing a unique identification number. The identification
document must be a:

(1) driver's license or state identification certificate issued
by a state or territory of the United States;

(2) United States or foreign passport;
(3) United States military identification card;

(4) United States Department of Homeland Security,
United States Citizenship and Immigration Services, or United States
Department of State identification document; or

(5) concealed handgun license or license to carry a hand-
gun issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety under Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 411, Subchapter H.

(c) Electronic access. The department may make motor vehi-
cle record information available under the terms of a written service
agreement.

(1) Agreement with business or individuals. The written
service agreement with a business or individual must contain:

(A) the specified purpose of the agreement;

(B) anadjustable account, if applicable, in which an ini-
tial deposit and minimum balance is maintained in the amount of:

(i)  $200 for an on-line access account; or

(i)  $1,000 for a prepaid account for batch purchase
of motor vehicle record information;

(C) termination and default provisions;

(D) service hours for access to motor vehicle records
for on-line access;

(E) the contractor's signature;

(F) a statement that the use of motor vehicle record in-
formation obtained by virtue of a service agreement is conditional upon
its being used:

(i) in accordance with 18 U.S.C. §2721 et seq. and
Transportation Code, Chapter 730; and

(i) only for the purposes defined in the agreement;
and

(G) the statements required by subsection (a) of this
section.

(2) Agreements with governmental agencies.

(A) The written service agreement with an agency must
contain:

(i) the specified purpose of the agreement;
(ii) method of payment;
(iii) notification regarding the charges;

(iv) a statement that the use of motor vehicle record
information obtained by virtue of a service agreement is conditional
upon its being used in accordance with 18 U.S.C. §2721 et seq. and
Transportation Code, Chapter 730, and only for the purposes defined
in the agreement;

(v) the statements required by subsection (a) of this
section;

(vi) the signature of an authorized official; and

(vii) an attached statement citing the agency's au-
thority to obtain social security number information, if applicable.

(B) Texas Law Enforcement Telecommunication Sys-
tem access is exempt from the payment of fees.

(d) Ineligibility to receive personal information. The depart-
ment may prohibit a person, business, or agency from receiving per-
sonal information if the department finds a violation of a term or con-
dition of the agreement entered into in accordance with subsection (c)
of this section.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 19, 2016.

TRD-201603565

David D. Duncan

General Counsel

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Effective date: August 8, 2016

Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 217. VEHICLE TITLES AND
REGISTRATION

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (department) adopts
amendments to §217.23, Initial Application for Vehicle Registra-
tion; §217.24, Vehicle Last Registered in Another Jurisdiction;
§217.29, Vehicle Registration Renewal via Internet; §217.32,
Replacement of License Plates, Symbols, Tabs, and Other De-
vices; §217.52, Marketing of Specialty License Plates through a
Private Vendor; §217.53, Removal of License Plates and Regis-
tration Insignia upon Sale of Motor Vehicle; and §217.72, Auto-
mated Equipment. The department also adopts new Subchap-
ter I, Fees; §217.181, Purpose and Scope; §217.182, Regis-
tration Transaction; §217.183, Fee Amount; §217.184, Exclu-
sions; and §217.185, Allocation of Processing and Handling Fee.
In addition, the department adopts the repeal of §217.31, Li-
cense Plate Reissuance Program. The amendments to §217.29
and §217.52, and new §§217.183 - 217.185 are adopted with
changes to the proposed text as published in the April 22, 2016,
issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 2920). The amendments
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t0 §§217.23,217.24,217.32,217.53, and 217.72; new §217.181
and §217.182; and the repeal of §217.31 are adopted without
changes to the proposed text, and will not be republished.

EXPLANATION OF ADOPTED AMENDMENTS, NEW SUB-
CHAPTER AND REPEAL

House Bill 2202, 83rd Legislature, Regular Session, 2013,
added new §502.1911 to the Transportation Code, which autho-
rizes the department to establish a processing and handling fee
to be collected to cover the expenses of collecting registration
fees. House Bill 2202 further directs the Board of the Texas
Department of Motor Vehicles (board) to "set the fee in an
amount that . . ., is sufficient to cover the expenses associated
with collecting registration fees[.]" The proposed rules set the
processing and handling at $5 and allocated the fee to the
department, county tax assessor-collectors, and deputies. The
rules also define the scope of a registration transaction and
those transactions that are exempt from the processing and
handling fee.

The rules also shift responsibilities related to renewal registra-
tions from the county tax assessor-collectors and transfers these
obligations to the department. The rules provide for replacement
of alicense plate if the license plate needs to be replaced for cos-
metic or readability reasons, and eliminate no-charge replace-
ment of specialty plates if the plate is at least seven years old.
The rules reduce the automated registration and titling system
fee required by Transportation Code, §502.356 from $1 to $.50.

COMMENTS

The department received comments from Sen. Robert Nichols
and Sen. Charles Perry requesting that the department carefully
consider the effect of the rules on counties. Sen. Don Huffines
commented that the department should reexamine the process-
ing and handling fee. Rep. Joe Pickett asked the department
to look carefully at the percentage splits. Rep. Ken King com-
mented that the rules will have adverse consequences for rural
counties and expressed concern that the county would face re-
duced revenues and increased customer volumes. Rep. James
White expressed support for the cost-saving efficiencies con-
tained in the proposed rule, and asked the department to con-
sider the impact of the fee changes on working class families.
Rep. Dawnna Dukes expressed opposition to the proposed rules
and asked the department to withdraw the proposed changes.
Rep. Dukes commented that the rules shift duties to the coun-
ties without providing resources. The Travis County Legislative
delegation commented that the rules as proposed increase costs
for vehicle owners while providing less funding to perform titling
and registration transactions.

The department received a letter from the Office of the Governor,
Greg Abbott, urging the board to reduce the processing handling
fee if possible.

The Travis County Commissioners Court opposes rule changes
that will add to county administrative duties without providing
necessary resources, and asks that the proposal be shelved.
The Dallas County Commissioners Court and the Dallas County
Tax Assessor-Collector (TAC), and the Ochiltree County Com-
missioners Court and the Ochiltree County TAC commented that
they are opposed to the fee schedule, as it unfairly burdens
walk-in customers with an increased fee burden, and reduces
revenues to the counties. In addition, they oppose the shift in
responsibilities for online registration renewals from the counties
to the department, and oppose the removal of the requirement to
replace license plates every seven years, raising concerns about

reflectivity and readability. Brazoria County Judge L.M. "Matt"
Sebesta, Jr. opposed the rule changes as they would adversely
affect the county's revenue stream, increase county costs and
reduce local control. Samuel Neal Jr., Nueces County Judge op-
posed the rule in the current (proposed) form because of reduced
revenues to the county. Keith Mitchell, Lamar County Commis-
sioner expressed concern that the rules reduce the amount of
local retained revenue.

The Texas Conference of Urban Counties (TCUC) expressed
concern that the rules result in decreased county revenues.
TCUC also opposed the fee schedule because it deprives coun-
ties of revenue from online transactions and requires counties
to perform high-cost in person transactions for a fee that is
below the actual average cost to counties as determined by
the Texas Transportation Institute (TTI) study. TCUC contends
that the rules violate Transportation Code, §502.1911(b)(2)
because the fee is insufficient to cover the cost of providing
vehicle registration services. The Texas Association of Counties
(TAC) expressed concerns that the rules, as proposed, will
cost counties significant revenue. The Tax Assessor-Collectors
Association of Texas (TACA) opposed the proposed changes
to §217.29 as lacking statutory authority to remove any part of
the online renewal process from the office of the TAC. TACA
also commented that there should be no reduction in the cur-
rent fees received for processing any vehicle registration or
renewal. David Brooks, on behalf of TACA, contends that the
changes to §217.29 are not authorized by Transportation Code,
§520.005(d), which states that "[e]ach county assessor-collector
shall process a registration renewal through an online system
designated by the department.”

The Harris County Toll Authority supported the rule changes that
require plate replacement when there is reduced plate readability
or reflectivity. The 3M Company (3M) commented on the rules
affecting license plate replacement, expressing concerns about
declines in license plate reflectivity, readability and toll revenue.
3M also expressed concerns about the effect of the rule changes
on red light cameras and registration revenue.

The department also received comments from the following
group of full service deputies (the "Deputies") from Bexar and
Travis Counties, represented by attorney Bill Aleshire: Auto
Title Express; GM&N Auto Title Service; San Antonio Auto Title,
Inc.; Tisdale LLC; Texas Auto Title; Texas Tag and Title; River
City Auto Title; Auto Title Service; Auto Title Service of Oakhill;
Fry Auto Title Service; and Universal Auto Title Service. The
comments noted that the proposed fees were not sufficient
for the Deputies to cover the expenses associated with titling
and registration, and therefore violate Transportation Code,
§502.1911(b)(2). The Deputies also oppose the prohibition on
charges for certain transactions in proposed §217.184, such
as temporary permits, which the FSDs have been charging for
years. The Deputies also expressed concern that the TTI study
was not independently conducted and contains understated,
false and incomplete data regarding deputy costs. The Deputies
also contend that §217.29 conflicts with Transportation Code,
§520.005.

The department received comments opposed to the proposed
rule from the following Tax Assessor-Collectors (TAC): Jeri D.
Cox, Aransas County; Gwenda Tschirhart, Bandera County;
Linda G. Bridge, Bee County; Sharon Long, Bell County; Al-
bert Uresti, Bexar County; Ro'Vin Garrett, Brazoria County;
Kristeen Roe, Brazos County; Christine Pentecost, Brown
County; Jackie Moore, Carson County; Becky Watson Fant,
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Cass County; Cathy C. Talcott, Comal County; John R. Ames,
Dallas County; Michelle French, Denton County; Sandra Cagle,
Eastland County; Ruben P. Gonzalez, El Paso County; Jennifer
Schlicke-Carey, Erath County; Gail Young, Fannin County;
Gaye Whitehead, Gray County; Bruce Stidham, Grayson
County; Linda Cummings, Hansford County; Mike Sullivan,
Harris County; Debra L. Ford, Hemphill County; Pablo (Paul)
Villarreal Jr., Hidalgo County; Scott Porter, Johnson County;
Mary Ann Lovelady, Jones County; Tonya Ratcliff, Kaufman
County; Deborah A. Sevcik, Lavaca County; Ronnie Keister,
Lubbock County; Karen M. Lane, Madison County; Randy
H. Riggs, McLennan County; Karen Hood, Midland County;
Tammy McRae, Montgomery County; Nikki McDonald, Moore
County; Kim Morton, Nacogdoches County; Gail Smith, Navarro
County; Kevin Kieschnick, Nueces County; Linda Womble,
Ochiltree County; Linda Brown, Oldham County; Sherri Aylor,
Potter County; Tonya Martin, Red River County; Ida Turner,
Refugio County; Dalia Sanchez, San Patricio County; Gary B.
Barber, Smith County; Darlene Chambers, Somervell County;
Ron Wright, Tarrant County; Becky Robles, Tom Green County;
Bruce Elfant, Travis County; Patrick L. Kubala, Wharton County;
Deborah M. Hunt, Williamson County; and Monte S. Shaw,
Wise County. The comments from the TACs contend that the
proposed changes to §217.29 are not authorized or allowed by
Transportation Code, §520.005, and that the rules reduce the
amount of revenue counties receive from registration transac-
tions by encouraging online renewals. The comments from the
TACs also expressed concern about driver safety as a result
of ending mandatory plate replacement at seven years, and
that TACs were personally liable for dollars that are required
to flow through their offices. Some TACs expressed a concern
that walk-in customers are subject to a higher fee for vehicle
registration.

The department also received comments from 46 individuals
who submitted letters or e-mails. Most, but not all, of the indi-
vidual commenters were opposed to the rule as proposed.

The department received resolutions in opposition adopted by
the Commissioners Courts of Bee, Bexar, Brown, Castro, Collin,
Denton, DeWitt, El Paso, Grayson, Jackson, Kaufman, Lamar,
Lynn, Lubbock, Midland, Panola, San Patricio, and Sutton Coun-
ties. The resolutions opposed the rules because of a revenue
loss to the counties, an increase in county costs and a loss of
local control.

The department did not receive a request for a public hearing
pursuant to Government Code, §2001.029(b).

GENERAL COMMENTS

Several of the individual commenters expressed opposition to
the proposed rules in general, with some opposing the plan for
its emphasis on increasing online registration renewal. Others
opposed the "outsourcing” of vehicle registration with a private
vendor, and moving registration processing from local county of-
fices to Austin. Other comments opposed dedicating more funds
to roads and bridges.

RESPONSE

The board is statutorily required by the Transportation Code,
§502.1911 and §520.004 to adopt a processing and handling fee
by rule, and to provide services that are reasonable, adequate
and efficient. The department has determined that the process
for renewing registrations online can be made more efficient by
contracting with a private vendor for the fulfillment part of the

registration renewal process. Only part of the vehicle registra-
tion renewal process will be moved to Austin. Texas citizens will
continue to visit in person or mail in their registrations to their
local TACs, and TACs will retain authority to review and reject
online transactions. The decision to dedicate additional funds to
roads and bridges is not made by the department or board, but
by the Texas Legislature.

COMMENTS TO SPECIFIC RULE SECTIONS
§217.29, Vehicle Registration Renewal via Internet
COMMENT

The Texas Association of Counties comments that the regulation
is invalid because it conflicts with the Transportation Code. Many
of the comments from individual TACs articulate an argument
similar to the TACA comment, and the response covers those
comments. More specifically, TACA argues that the changes
to §217.29, which eliminate some of the duties of the TAC and
transfer those duties to the department, conflict with Transporta-
tion Code, §520.005, which states that: "Each county asses-
sor-collector shall process a registration renewal through an on-
line system designated by the department." TACA also argues
that the proposed rule is in conflict with Transportation Code,
§502.040(b)(1), which states that an application for vehicle reg-
istration is made "through the county assessor-collector of the
county in which the owner resides|[.]"

RESPONSE

The department disagrees with the TACA comment. Transporta-
tion Code, §520.004 gives the department jurisdiction over vehi-
cle registrations, and requires the department to provide by rule
services that are "reasonable, adequate, and efficient." The pro-
posed changes to §217.29 reflect the department's efforts to ful-
fill its statutory duty to provide reasonable, adequate and efficient
registration renewal services. Both §520.005(d) and §502.040
use almost identical language when referring to the county's role
in the registration of vehicles: - "process . . . through an on-
line system" and "application must be . . . made in a manner
prescribed by the department . . . through the county asses-
sor-collector." There is no definition of the term "through" in either
statutory section. The department, in light of its role in the effi-
cient and orderly processing of registrations, and consistent with
the Legislature's directives in HB 2202 (83rd RS, 2013), is cre-
ating a more efficient method of fulfilling the online transactions,
which is only one aspect of the process of registration renewal,
and includes printing, assembling and mailing renewal stickers.
The department's interpretation of §520.005 and §502.040 is en-
titled to "serious consideration" by the courts of the state. Rail-
road Comm'n v. Texas Citizens for a Safe Future & Clean Wa-
ter, 336 S.W.3d 619, 624 (Tex. 2011). If "there is an ambiguity
in the governing framework, '[a court] will generally uphold an
agency's interpretation of an ambiguous statute that it is charged
with enforcing provided that the construction is reasonable and
'in accord with the plain language of the statute.™ Id. at 625.
The department has consistently maintained that the county tax
assessor-collectors will have some part in "processing” the on-
line transactions, whereas much of the work of fulfillment will be
satisfied by the department. This is consistent with current ap-
plications for registration in International Registration Plan (IRP)
registrations, token trailers, and forestry vehicles where the de-
partment has long performed the registration work and routed
compensation for the entire registration plus the county portion
to the county of registration in spite of the TAC performing no
work on these registrations.
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TACA also misreads the meaning and effect of Transportation
Code, §520.005(d). That section requires a TAC to process
a registration renewal through an online system designated by
the department. Section 520.005(d) does not say "all registra-
tion renewals," but instead speaks of "a registration renewal"
meaning a registration renewal received by the TAC. Section
520.005(d) does not require all aspects of registration renewals
be processed by a TAC; it merely requires a TAC process those
that it receives. Moreover, even if one interprets §520.005(d) as
requiring TACs to process all registration renewals, payments
for online registration renewals will be processed through each
county TAC as they currently are processed. The proposed rule
merely takes part of the registration renewal process and moves
it from the TAC to the department, meeting the requirement of
Transportation Code, §520.004 that the department provide ef-
ficient registration services.

The effect of TACA's argument is to interpret §520.005 as
prohibiting the department from processing or approving vehicle
registration renewals. Such an interpretation conflicts with
several Transportation Code sections that clearly establish the
department's lead role in processing and approving vehicle
registration and registration renewal applications. For example,
Transportation Code, §502.042 identifies the department, not
a county tax assessor-collector, as the entity that "may not
register or renew the registration of a motor vehicle" unless
certain requirements are met. In addition, Transportation Code,
§502.191 identifies the department and its employees, along
with TACs, as being authorized to collect registration fees.
TACA's statutory interpretation ignores other Transportation
Code sections that give the department primary jurisdiction over
vehicle registrations.

TACA also argues that the proposed changes to §217.29 conflict
with Transportation Code, §502.040(b), which it argues requires
a registration application be made "through" the county tax as-
sessor-collector. This section of the Transportation Code applies
to an initial registration application, and not to vehicle registra-
tion renewals, and therefore does not conflict with the proposed
changes to §217.29, which only applies to vehicle registration
renewals.

The department has made changes to the rule as proposed to
clarify the timing and applicability of the shift in responsibilities
as it relates to vehicle registration renewals.

Additional comments from several of the TACs emphasize that
the county TAC is personally liable for every dollar that is re-
quired to flow through their office. The Hidalgo County TAC,
Pablo (Paul) Villarreal, Jr., commented that county deputies must
check an internal scofflaw database of individuals that have cita-
tions due to local municipalities, justice of the peace courts, and
county and district courts.

In response to the comments relating to personal liability and
scofflaw checks, the department has added language back to the
county responsibilities section in §217.29 giving the counties the
ability to reject applications that do not meet the requirements of
Chapter 217 or Transportation Code, Chapter 502. The online
registration renewal process will be designed to automatically
put a system hold on an application to give TACs the opportu-
nity to decline or reject a registration renewal transaction. Cir-
cumstances that may result in a TAC rejecting an application for
renewal include the discovery of fees or other amounts owed to
the county by the applicant (scofflaw). After the hold is released,
the application will be automatically approved, and the remain-
ing work of fulfilling the registration (printing the sticker, stuffing

the envelope and mailing) will be performed by the department
at its expense.

§217.31, License Plate Reissuance Program
COMMENT

The 3M Company (3M) commented on the rules affecting li-
cense plate replacement, expressing concerns about declines
in license plate reflectivity and readability, and the effect on law
enforcement. 3M also expressed concerns about the effect of
the rule changes on toll revenue, red light camera programs,
and registration revenue. A commenter opposed extending li-
cense plate renewal beyond seven years. The Harris County
Toll Road Authority expresses support for the proposed rules af-
fecting license plate replacement, and asked that improvement
be sought in license plate fonts.

RESPONSE

The elimination of mandatory plate replacement at seven years
affects only a small percentage of Texas motorists, and the re-
quirement that license plates be legible with proper reflectivity
remains in effect. The department received no comments from
law enforcement entities expressing concern with the rule as pro-
posed. The changes to the plate replacement do not relieve a
motorist of the requirement to comply with Transportation Code,
§502.475.

§217.183, Fee Amount
COMMENT

State Sen. Don Huffines commented that the fee structure that
encourages online registration was misguided and unwarranted.
Sen. Huffines also expressed his concern that the department
was burdening Texas drivers with increased fees, and should
work within its existing budgeting capabilities.

RESPONSE

The board is required by Transportation Code, §502.1911 to set
the processing and handling fee at a level sufficient to cover the
costs associated with collecting registration fees. The depart-
ment interprets the passage of HB 2202 by the 83rd Texas Leg-
islature as a mandate to establish a processing and handling
fee. The department will continue to eliminate redundancies,
inefficiencies and misallocations consistent with Transportation
Code, §520.004, which requires the department to provide effi-
cient registration services.

COMMENT

State Rep. Ken King expressed concern that the additional fee
would burden farmers and oil and gas companies.

RESPONSE

While the department acknowledges that the cost to renew regis-
trations by mail and in-person will increase, the overall increase
was mandated by HB 2202. The fee structure seeks to encour-
age all Texans to renew registrations online and pay less than
they currently pay.

COMMENT

TCUC and other commenters contend that the proposed rules
violate Transportation Code, §502.1911(b)(2), which directs the
board to set the processing and handling fee in an amount that is
sufficient to cover the expenses associated with collecting reg-
istration fees by the department, TACs, and deputies. TCUC
argues that the department will be depriving counties of revenue
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from online registrations, leaving counties with high-cost in-per-
son transactions without the benefit of revenue from online reg-
istrations. TCUC contends that its member counties will all see
annual revenue losses, and that the efficiencies the department
offsets the revenue losses with are overstated.

RESPONSE

The department disagrees with the TCUC comment. The pro-
cessing and handling fee, and the allocation to the TACs of a por-
tion of that fee, are set at amounts that compensate the TACS for
their expenses in collecting registration fees. Costs for collecting
registration fees vary depending on the type of transaction and
from county to county. In some cases, the fee allocation to a TAC
may not entirely compensate the TAC for a specific transaction.
However, when considering the variety of registration transac-
tions covered by this rule, the department contends that the al-
locations fairly compensate the TACs for their work, comply with
the requirement of Transportation Code, §502.1911(b)(2), and
encourage the efficient processing of registration transactions
at the county level, consistent with the department's statutory
duty to provide for reasonable, adequate, and efficient registra-
tion and titling services, along with county standards for unifor-
mity and service quality, in compliance with Transportation Code,
§520.004(1) and (2). The TACs also receive revenue from trans-
actions where they are not involved in processing an application
or collecting a registration fee. Those transactions include In-
ternational Registration Plan registrations under Transportation
Code, §502.091, token trailer registrations under Transportation
Code, §502.255, and commercial fleet registrations under Trans-
portation Code, §502.0023. TACs will receive $2.30 for those
transactions even though the transaction is processed by the
department. TACs also receive compensation for certain trans-
actions that require a minimal amount of staff time, such as du-
plicate receipts, inquiry receipts, and replacement registration
stickers. The TACs will also benefit from lower costs, including
postage, from the elimination of mandatory plate replacement at
seven years.

The TAC comments which contained arguments regarding re-
ductions due to the rules did so in light of revenues, not based
on the expenses associated with collecting registration fees by
the county TACs. The department cannot extrapolate the county
cost of performing registration services solely from a compari-
son of county revenue per transaction before and after the rule
change. TACs will be see a significant reduction in the amount
of work performed for online transactions, and consequently,
county costs will decrease. TACs will no longer will be print-
ing, assembling and mailing online renewal registrations, as that
function will be completed by the department. The department
calculated the reduced costs for TACs based on worker time in
processing online renewals, combined with postage and enve-
lope costs. The estimates for reduced costs are not understated,
and represent real costs that will no longer be incurred by TACs.

COMMENT

The Office of Texas Governor Greg Abbott submitted a comment
that urges the department to allocate any additional funding iden-
tified since the proposal to reduce the processing and handling
fee paid by consumers.

RESPONSE

The department agrees with the comment from the Governor's
Office. Setting the processing and handling fee at $4.75 will min-
imize the financial impact of the fee on Texas drivers to the great-
est extent possible, drive greater efficiency in the state's regis-

tration system, and provide sufficient funding for the department
and TACs to cover the expenses associated with collecting the
registration fees.

§217.185, Allocation of the Processing and Handling Fee
COMMENT

State Sen. Robert Nichols requested that the board carefully
consider the full effect of the proposed rules on all Texas coun-
ties. State Sen. Charles Perry expressed concern about the
impact of the proposed rule on local tax assessor-collectors and
taxpayers. State Rep. Joseph Pickett asked that the board look
carefully at the decrease in revenue to the counties and the allo-
cation of the processing and handling fee. State Rep. Ken King
expressed concern that the proposed rules will have an adverse
effect on rural areas. State Rep. Dawnna Dukes expressed
concern that the proposed rules shift administrative duties to the
counties without providing necessary resources to fulfill county
obligations.

The department received resolutions from several Texas coun-
ties, and comments from Texas county judges. The resolutions
from the commissioner's courts of Bee, Brown, Castro, DeWitt,
Donley, Jackson, Kaufman, Lamar, Lynn, Midland, Panola, San
Patricio and Sutton counties state that the rules as proposed will
decrease county revenues, increase county costs and reduce
local control. Brazoria County Judge L.M. "Matt" Sebesta, Jr.
submitted a comment similar to those counties listed above. The
resolutions from the commissioner's courts of Collin, Denton, El
Paso, Grayson and Lubbock counties state that the proposed
rules will result in a revenue loss to counties. Nueces County
Judge Samuel L. Neal, Jr. suggested that counties be allowed
to voluntarily "opt-out" of turning over online registrations to the
state. The Travis County Commissioners Court commented that
the proposal will reduce county fee revenue and increase costs
to county vehicle owners. The department also received com-
ments from many TACs concerned about the loss of revenue to
the counties from registration transactions. The Harris County
TAC, Mike Sullivan, commented that the rules as proposed fail
to sufficiently cover the expenses associated with collecting reg-
istration fees, as required by Transportation Code, §502.1911.
The Harris County comments also contends that the amount of
"cost savings" in the proposed rule is overestimated and leave
the county with a revenue shortfall. The comments also question
the results of the TTI study and contend that the study neglected
to consider certain cost factors, such as an increase in average
transaction time due to the implementation of "single-sticker," in-
creased transaction time due to the October 2015 Registration
and Title System (RTS) refactoring, overtime costs, and other
factors. In addition, the comments question some of the assump-
tions that the department used in the fiscal note for the proposed
rules, such as the yearly increase in registration transactions and
the yearly increase in online registration renewals. The com-
ments also contend that the allocation of $.25 to the TACs for
online registration renewals is not equitable or reflective of ac-
tual costs. Travis County TAC Bruce Elfant commented that the
TTI study does not take into account the consequences of Two
Steps One Sticker and National Motor Vehicle Title Information
System (NMVTIS) compliance and that the department is not au-
thorized to shift the responsibility for online registration renewals
from the counties.

RESPONSE

The department agrees that the proposed rules will result in a
loss of revenue to counties. The department disagrees that the
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proposed rules will result in increased county costs. The pro-
posed rules shift the responsibility for fulfilling internet vehicle
registration renewals from counties to the department, result-
ing in decreased expenses for the counties, not increased costs.
The department has also made changes to the rule as proposed
to clarify the timing and applicability of the changes to fee allo-
cation.

There is a limited effect on local control for internet registration
renewals, and that is necessary to achieve efficiency in the pro-
cessing of vehicle registrations, as required by Transportation
Code, §520.004(2), which requires the department to provide
reasonable, adequate and efficient registration and titling ser-
vices. TACs will continue to administer in person and mail-in
registration transactions, and will continue to have the author-
ity to reject online registration renewals. In addition, revenue
from online registration renewals will continue to flow through lo-
cal TACs, not a private vendor. In response to Nueces County
Judge Neal, the department disagrees with the comment, as al-
lowing counties to "opt-out" of the proposed online renewal reg-
istration would reduce the projected efficiencies. In response to
the Travis County Commissioners Court, the department notes
that Travis County vehicle owners who renew their registrations
online will pay less to renew their registrations.

The department disagrees with the comments from the Harris
County TAC. The TTI study represents the most comprehensive
compilation of costs incurred in processing registration transac-
tions, and is an estimate. The department's assumption relating
to yearly registration transaction volume and online transaction
increases are based on statewide data, and it is entirely plausible
that Harris County data will vary from the department's data. Re-
garding the allocation of $.25 for online transactions, the depart-
ment disagrees with the comment, as most of the TAC's respon-
sibilities for these transactions are shifted to the department.

The department disagrees with the comments from the Travis
County TAC. The department contends that TAC assistance
with Two Steps One Sticker and NMVTIS compliance provides a
great benefit to Texans in safety, efficiency and fraud prevention,
and that the impact on TACs is overstated. The Two Steps One
Sticker and NMVTIS programs are also mandated by law and
cannot be affected by this rulemaking.

COMMENT

One commenter noted that the proposed rules are not clear as
to whether they apply to vehicle registrations for commercial ve-
hicles or vehicles registered under the International Registration
Plan (IRP).

RESPONSE

The department agrees with the comment, and has made
changes to §217.183 and §217.185 to clarify the applicability of
the rules to commercial vehicles and those registered under the
IRP.

SUBCHAPTER B. MOTOR VEHICLE
REGISTRATION

43 TAC §§217.23, 217.24, 217.29, 217.32, 217.52, 217.53
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code,
§1002.001, which provides the board with the authority to adopt
rules necessary and appropriate to implement the powers and
the duties of the department under the Transportation Code;

Transportation Code, §501.0041, which provides the depart-
ment may adopt rules to administer Chapter 501, Certificate of
Title Act; Transportation Code, §502.0021, which provides the
department may adopt rules to administer Transportation Code,
Chapter 502, Registration of Vehicles; and more specifically,
Transportation Code, §520.0071, which provides the board by
rule shall prescribe the fees that may be charged or retained by
deputies; Transportation Code, §502.1911, which authorizes the
department to collect a fee to cover the expenses of collecting
registration fees and that is in an amount sufficient to cover
the expenses of collecting registration fees by the department,
a county tax assessor-collector, a private entity with which
a county tax assessor-collector contracts under Transporta-
tion Code, §502.197, or a deputy assessor-collector that is
deputized in accordance with board rule under Transportation
Code, §520.0071; and Transportation Code, §504.0011, which
provides the department may adopt rules to implement and
administer Chapter 504, License Plates.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE

Finance Code, §348.005 and §353.006; and Transportation
Code, §§502.0023, 502.010, 502.011, 502.040, 502.042,
502.060, 502.091 - 502.095, 502.191, 502.1911, 502.197,
502.255, 502.356, 504.002, 504.007, and 520.0071.

§217.29. Vehicle Registration Renewal via Internet.

(a) Internetregistration renewal program. The department will
maintain a uniform Internet registration renewal process. This process
will provide for the renewal of vehicle registrations via the Internet
and will be in addition to vehicle registration procedures provided for
in §217.28 of this title (relating to Vehicle Registration Renewal). The
Internet registration renewal program will be facilitated by a third-party
vendor.

(b) County participation in program. All county tax assessor-
collectors shall process registration renewals through an online system
designated by the department.

(c) Eligibility of individuals for participation. To be eligible to
renew a vehicle's registration via the Internet, the vehicle owner must
meet all criteria for registration renewal outlined in this subchapter and
in Transportation Code, Chapter 502.

(d) Fees. This subsection applies to vehicle registrations ex-
piring prior to January 1, 2017 that are submitted for renewal prior to
July 1,2017. A vehicle owner who renews registration via the Internet
must pay:

(1) registration fees prescribed by law;

(2) any local fees or other fees prescribed by law and col-
lected in conjunction with registering a vehicle;

(3) afee of $1 for the processing of a registration renewal
by mail in accordance with Transportation Code, §502.197(a); and

(4) a convenience fee of $2 for the processing of an elec-
tronic registration renewal paid by a credit card payment in accordance
with Transportation Code, §1001.009.

(e) Information to be submitted by vehicle owner. A vehicle
owner who renews registration via the Internet must submit or verify
the following information:

(1) registrant information, including the vehicle owner's
name and county of residence;

(2) wvehicle information, including the license plate number
of the vehicle to be registered;
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(3) insurance information, including the name of the insur-
ance company, the name of the insurance company's agent (if applica-
ble), the telephone number of the insurance company or agent (local
or toll free number serviced Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00
p.m.), the insurance policy number, and representation that the policy
meets all applicable legal standards;

(4) credit card information, including the type of credit
card, the name appearing on the credit card, the credit card number,
and the expiration date; and

(5) other information prescribed by rule or statute.

(f) Duties of the county. For vehicle registrations that expire
prior to January 1, 2017 that are submitted for renewal prior to July 1,
2017, a county tax assessor-collector shall:

(1) accept electronic payment for vehicle registration re-
newal via the Internet;

(2) execute an agreement with the department as provided
by the director;

(3) process qualified Internet registration renewal transac-
tions as submitted by the third-party vendor;

(4) communicate with the third-party vendor and appli-
cants via email, regular mail, or other means, as specified by the
director;

(5) promptly mail renewal registration validation stickers
and license plates to applicants;

(6) ensure that all requirements for registration renewal are
met, including all requirements set forth in this subchapter, and in
Transportation Code, Chapter 502;

(7) reject applications that do not meet all requirements set
forth in this chapter, and in Transportation Code, Chapter 502; and

(8) register each vehicle for a 12-month period.

(g) Duties of the county. For vehicle registrations that expire
on or after January 1, 2017, and registrations that expired prior to Jan-
uary 1, 2017 that are submitted for renewal on or after July 1, 2017, a
county tax assessor-collector shall:

(1) accept electronic payment for vehicle registration re-
newal via the Internet;

(2) execute an agreement with the department as provided
by the director;

(3) process qualified Internet registration renewal transac-
tions as submitted by the third-party vendor;

(4) communicate with the third-party vendor and appli-
cants via email, regular mail, or other means, as specified by the
director;

(5) reject applications that do not meet all requirements set
forth in this chapter, and in Transportation Code, Chapter 502; and

(6) register each vehicle for a 12-month period.

(h) Duties of the department. For vehicle registrations that ex-
pire on or after January 1, 2017, and registrations that expired prior
to January 1, 2017 that are submitted for renewal on or after July 1,
2017, the department shall promptly mail renewal registration valida-
tion stickers and license plates to applicants.

§217.52.  Marketing of Specialty License Plates through a Private
Vendor:

(a) Purpose and scope. The department will enter into a con-
tract with a private vendor to market department-approved specialty
license plates in accordance with Transportation Code, Chapter 504,
Subchapter J. This section sets out the procedure for approval of the
design, purchase, and replacement of vendor specialty license plates.
In this section, the license plates marketed by the vendor are referred
to as vendor specialty license plates.

(b) Application for approval of vendor specialty license plate
designs.

(1) Approval required. The vendor shall obtain the ap-
proval of the Board for each license plate design the vendor proposes
to market in accordance with this section and the contract entered into
between the vendor and the department.

(2) Application. The vendor must submit a written appli-
cation on a form approved by the executive director to the department
for approval of each license plate design the vendor proposes to mar-
ket. The application must include:

(A) adraft design of the specialty license plate;

(B) projected sales of the plate, including an explana-
tion of how the projected figure was determined,;

(C) a marketing plan for the plate including a descrip-
tion of the target market;

(D) a licensing agreement from the appropriate third
party for any design or design element that is intellectual property; and

(E) other information necessary for the Board to reach
a decision regarding approval of the requested vendor specialty plate.

(c) Review and approval process. The Board will review ven-
dor specialty license plate applications. The Board:

(1) will not consider incomplete applications; and

(2) may request additional information from the vendor to
reach a decision.

(d) Board decision.
(1) Decision. The decision of the Board will be based on:

(A) compliance with Transportation Code, Chapter
504, Subchapter J;

(B) the proposed license plate design, including:

(i) whether the design meets the legibility and reflec-
tivity standards established by the department;

(i) whether the design meets the standards estab-
lished by the department for uniqueness to ensure that the proposed
plate complies with Transportation Code, §504.852(c);

(iii)  whether the license plate design can accommo-
date the International Symbol of Access (ISA) as required by Trans-
portation Code, §504.201(f);

(iv)  the criteria designated in §217.27 of this title (re-
lating to Vehicle Registration Insignia) as applied to the design;

(v) whether a design is similar enough to an existing
plate design that it may compete with the existing plate sales; and

(vi) other information provided during the applica-
tion process.

(2) Public comment on proposed design. All proposed
plate designs will be considered by the Board as an agenda item at a
regularly or specially called open meeting. Notice of consideration
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of proposed plate designs will be posted in accordance with Office
of the Secretary of State meeting notice requirements. Notice of
each license plate design will be posted on the department's Internet
web site to receive public comment at least 25 days in advance of
the meeting at which it will be considered. The department will
notify all specialty plate organizations and the sponsoring agencies
who administer specialty license plates issued in accordance with
Transportation Code, Chapter 504, Subchapter G, of the posting. A
comment on the proposed design can be submitted in writing through
the mechanism provided on the department's Internet web site for
submission of comments. Written comments are welcome and must be
received by the department at least 10 days in advance of the meeting.
Public comment will be received at the Board's meeting.

(e) Final approval and specialty license plate issuance.

(1) Approval. The Board will approve or disapprove the
specialty license plate application based on all of the information pro-
vided pursuant to this subchapter in an open meeting.

(2) Application not approved. If the application is not ap-
proved, the applicant may submit a new application and supporting
documentation for the design to be considered again by the Board if:

(A) the applicant has additional, required documenta-
tion; or

(B) the design has been altered to an acceptable degree.
(3) Issuance of approved specialty plates.

(A) If the vendor's specialty license plate is approved,
the vendor must submit the non-refundable start-up fee before any fur-
ther design and processing of the license plate.

(B) Approval of the plate does not guarantee that the
submitted draft plate design will be used. The Board has final approval
of all specialty license plate designs and will provide guidance on the
submitted draft design to ensure compliance with the format and license
plate specifications.

(f) Redesign of vendor specialty license plates.

(1) Onreceipt of a written request from the vendor, the de-
partment will allow a redesign of a vendor specialty license plate.

(2) The vendor must pay the redesign administrative costs
as provided in the contract between the vendor and the department.

(g) Multi-year vendor specialty license plates. Purchasers will
have the option of purchasing vendor specialty license plates for a one-
year, a three-year, or a five-year period.

(h) License plate categories and associated fees. The cate-
gories and the associated fees for vendor specialty plates are set out
in this subsection.

(1) Custom license plates. Custom license plates include
license plates with a variety of pre-approved background and character
color combinations that may be personalized with either three alpha and
two or three numeric characters or two or three numeric and three alpha
characters. Generic license plates on standard white sheeting with the
word "Texas" that may be personalized with up to six alphanumeric
characters are considered custom license plates before December 2,
2010. The fees for issuance of Custom and Generic license plates are
$150 for one year, $400 for three years, and $450 for five years.

(2) T-Plates (Premium) license plates. T-Plates (Premium)
license plates may be personalized with up to seven alphanumeric char-
acters, including the "T," on colored backgrounds or designs approved
by the department. The fees for issuance of T-Plates (Premium) li-

cense plates are $150 for one year, $400 for three years, and $450 for
five years.

(3) Luxury license plates. Luxury license plates may be
personalized with up to six alphanumeric characters on colored back-
grounds or designs approved by the department. The fees for issuance
of luxury license plates are $150 for one year, $400 for three years, and
$450 for five years.

(4) Freedom license plates. Freedom license plates include
license plates with a variety of pre-approved background and character
color combinations that may be personalized with up to seven alphanu-
meric characters. The fees for issuance of freedom license plates are
$195 for one year, $445 for three years, and $495 for five years.

(5) Background only license plates. Background only li-
cense plates include non-personalized license plates with a variety of
pre-approved background and character color combinations. The fees
for issuance of background only license plates are $50 for one year,
$130 for three years, and $175 for five years.

(6) Vendor souvenir license plates. Vendor souvenir
license plates are replicas of vendor specialty license plate designs that
may be personalized with up to twenty-four alphanumeric characters.
Vendor souvenir license plates are not street legal or legitimate in-
signias of vehicle registration. The fee for issuance of souvenir license
plates is $40.

(7) Auction of alphanumeric patterns. The vendor may
auction alphanumeric patterns for one, three, or five year terms with
options to renew indefinitely at the current price established for a one,
three, or five year luxury category license plate. The purchaser of the
auction pattern may select from the vendor background designs at no
additional charge at the time of initial issuance. The auction pattern
may be moved from one vendor design plate to another vendor design
plate as provided in subsection (n)(1) of this section. The auction pat-
tern may be transferred from owner to owner as provided in subsection
(1)(2) of this section.

(8) Personalization and specialty plate fees.

(A) The fee for the personalization of license plates ap-
plied for prior to November 19, 2009 is $40 if the plates are renewed
annually.

(B) The personalization fee for plates applied for after
November 19, 2009 is $40 if the plates are issued pursuant to Trans-
portation Code, Chapter 504, Subchapters G and I.

(C) Ifthe plates are renewed annually, the personaliza-
tion and specialty plate fees remain the same fee as at the time of is-
suance if a sponsor of a specialty license plate authorized under Trans-
portation Code, Chapter 504, Subchapters G and I signs a contract with
the vendor in accordance with Transportation Code, Chapter 504, Sub-
chapter J.

(i) Payment of fees.

(1) Payment of specialty license plate fees. The fees for
issuance of vendor specialty license plates will be paid directly to the
state through vendor and state systems for the license plate category
and period selected by the purchaser. A person who purchases a multi-
year vendor specialty license plate must pay upon purchase the full fee
which includes the renewal fees.

(2) Payment of statutory registration fees. To be valid for
use on a motor vehicle, the license plate owner is required to pay, in
addition to the vendor specialty license plate fees, any statutorily re-
quired registration fees in the amount as provided by Transportation
Code, Chapter 502, and this subchapter.
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(j) Refunds. Fees for vendor specialty license plate fees will
not be refunded after an application is submitted to the vendor and the
department has approved issuance of the license plate.

(k) Replacement.

(1) Application. An owner must apply directly to the
county tax assessor-collector for the issuance of replacement vendor
specialty license plates and must pay the fee described in paragraphs
(2) or (3) of this subsection, whichever applies.

(2) Lost or mutilated vendor specialty license plates. To
replace vendor specialty license plates that are lost or mutilated, the
owner must pay the statutory replacement fee provided in Transporta-
tion Code, §504.007.

(3) Optional replacements. An owner of a vendor specialty
license plate may replace vendor specialty license plates by submitting
a request to the county tax assessor-collector accompanied by the pay-
ment of a $6 fee.

(4) Interim replacement tags. If the vendor specialty li-
cense plates are lost or mutilated to such an extent that they are unus-
able, replacement license plates will need to be remanufactured. The
county tax assessor-collector will issue interim replacement tags for
use until the replacements are available. The owner's vendor specialty
license plate number will be shown on the interim replacement tags.

(5) Stolen vendor specialty license plates. The county tax
assessor-collector will not approve the issuance of replacement vendor
specialty license plates with the same license plate number if the de-
partment's records indicate that the vehicle displaying that license plate
number was reported stolen or the license plates themselves were re-
ported stolen.

(1) Transfer of vendor specialty license plates.

(1) Transfer between vehicles. The owner of a vehicle with
vendor specialty license plates may transfer the license plates between
vehicles by filing an application through the county tax assessor-col-
lector if the vehicle to which the plates are transferred:

(A) s titled or leased in the owner's name; and

(B) meets the vehicle classification requirements for
that particular specialty license plate.

(2) Transfer between owners. Vendor specialty license
plates may not be transferred between persons unless the license
plate pattern was initially purchased through auction as provided in
subsection (h)(7) of this section. An auctioned alphanumeric pattern
may be transferred as a specialty license plate or as a virtual pattern to
be manufactured on a new background as provided under the restyle
option in subsection (n)(1) of this section. In addition to the fee paid at
auction, the new owner of an auctioned alphanumeric pattern or plate
will pay the department a fee of $25 to cover the cost of the transfer,
and complete the department's prescribed application at the time of
transfer.

(m) Gift plates.

(1) A person may purchase plates as a gift for another per-
son if the purchaser submits a statement that provides:

(A) the purchaser's name and address;

(B) thename and address of the person who will receive
the plates; and

(C) the vehicle identification number of the vehicle on
which the plates will be displayed or a statement that the plates will not
be displayed on a vehicle.

(2) To be valid for use on a motor vehicle, the recipient of
the plates must file an application with the county tax assessor-collec-
tor and pay the statutorily required registration fees in the amount as
provided by Transportation Code, Chapter 502, and this subchapter.

(n) Restyled vendor specialty license plates. A person who
has purchased a multi-year vendor specialty license plate may request
a restyled license plate at any time during the term of the plate.

(1) For the purposes of this subsection, "restyled license
plate" is a vendor specialty license plate that has a different style from
the originally purchased vendor specialty license plate but:

(A) is within the same price category, except if the pat-
tern is an auction pattern; and

(B) has the same alpha-numeric characters and expira-
tion date as the previously issued multi-year license plates.

(2) The fee for each restyled license plate is $50.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 19, 2016.

TRD-201603572

David D. Duncan

General Counsel

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Effective date: August 8, 2016

Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665

¢ ¢ ¢
43 TAC §217.31
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is adopted under Transportation Code, §1002.001,
which provides the board with the authority to adopt rules
necessary and appropriate to implement the powers and the
duties of the department under the Transportation Code; Trans-
portation Code, §501.0041, which provides the department
may adopt rules to administer Chapter 501, Certificate of Title
Act; Transportation Code, §502.0021, which provides the de-
partment may adopt rules to administer Transportation Code,
Chapter 502, Registration of Vehicles; and more specifically,
Transportation Code, §520.0071, which provides the board by
rule shall prescribe the fees that may be charged or retained by
deputies; Transportation Code, §502.1911, which authorizes the
department to collect a fee to cover the expenses of collecting
registration fees and that is in an amount sufficient to cover
the expenses of collecting registration fees by the department,
a county tax assessor-collector, a private entity with which
a county tax assessor-collector contracts under Transporta-
tion Code, §502.197, or a deputy assessor-collector that is
deputized in accordance with board rule under Transportation
Code, §520.0071; and Transportation Code, §504.0011, which
provides the department may adopt rules to implement and
administer Chapter 504, License Plates.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE

Finance Code, §348.005 and §353.006; and Transportation
Code, §§502.0023, 502.010, 502.011, 502.040, 502.042,
502.060, 502.091-502.095, 502.191, 502.1911, 502.197,
502.255, 502.356, 504.002, 504.007, and 520.0071.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 19, 2016.

TRD-201603573

David D. Duncan

General Counsel

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Effective date: August 8, 2016

Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. REGISTRATION AND
TITLE SYSTEM

43 TAC §217.72

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code,
§1002.001, which provides the board with the authority to adopt
rules necessary and appropriate to implement the powers and
the duties of the department under the Transportation Code;
Transportation Code, §501.0041, which provides the depart-
ment may adopt rules to administer Chapter 501, Certificate of
Title Act; Transportation Code, §502.0021, which provides the
department may adopt rules to administer Transportation Code,
Chapter 502, Registration of Vehicles; and more specifically,
Transportation Code, §520.0071, which provides the board by
rule shall prescribe the fees that may be charged or retained by
deputies; Transportation Code, §502.1911, which authorizes the
department to collect a fee to cover the expenses of collecting
registration fees and that is in an amount sufficient to cover
the expenses of collecting registration fees by the department,
a county tax assessor-collector, a private entity with which
a county tax assessor-collector contracts under Transporta-
tion Code, §502.197, or a deputy assessor-collector that is
deputized in accordance with board rule under Transportation
Code, §520.0071; and Transportation Code, §504.0011, which
provides the department may adopt rules to implement and
administer Chapter 504, License Plates.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE

Finance Code, §348.005 and §353.006; and Transportation
Code, §§502.0023, 502.010, 502.011, 502.040, 502.042,
502.060, 502.091-502.095, 502.191, 502.1911, 502.197,
502.255, 502.356, 504.002, 504.007, and 520.0071.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 19, 2016.

TRD-201603575

David D. Duncan

General Counsel

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Effective date: August 8, 2016

Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER I. FEES
43 TAC §§217.181 - 217.185
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new subchapter is adopted under Transportation Code,
§1002.001, which provides the board with the authority to adopt
rules necessary and appropriate to implement the powers and
the duties of the department under the Transportation Code;
Transportation Code, §501.0041, which provides the depart-
ment may adopt rules to administer Chapter 501, Certificate of
Title Act; Transportation Code, §502.0021, which provides the
department may adopt rules to administer Transportation Code,
Chapter 502, Registration of Vehicles; and more specifically,
Transportation Code, §520.0071, which provides the board by
rule shall prescribe the fees that may be charged or retained by
deputies; Transportation Code, §502.1911, which authorizes the
department to collect a fee to cover the expenses of collecting
registration fees and that is in an amount sufficient to cover
the expenses of collecting registration fees by the department,
a county tax assessor-collector, a private entity with which
a county tax assessor-collector contracts under Transporta-
tion Code, §502.197, or a deputy assessor-collector that is
deputized in accordance with board rule under Transportation
Code, §520.0071; and Transportation Code, §504.0011, which
provides the department may adopt rules to implement and
administer Chapter 504, License Plates.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE

Finance Code, §348.005 and §353.006; and Transportation
Code, §§502.0023, 502.010, 502.011, 502.040, 502.042,
502.060, 502.091 - 502.095, 502.191, 502.1911, 502.197,
502.255, 502.356, 504.002, 504.007, and 520.0071.

$217.183.  Fee Amount.

Except as limited by §217.184 of this title (relating to Exclusions),
a processing and handling fee in the amount of $4.75 shall be col-
lected with each registration transaction processed by the department,
the county tax assessor-collector, or a deputy appointed by the county
tax assessor-collector. For registrations processed through the TxIRP
system, the applicant shall pay any applicable service charge. Ifa trans-
action includes both registration and issuance of a license plate or spe-
cialty plate, the processing and handling fee shall be collected on the
registration transaction only.

$217.184.  Exclusions.

The following transactions are exempt from the processing and han-
dling fee established by §217.183 of this title (relating to Fee Amount),
but are subject to any applicable service charge set pursuant to Govern-
ment Code, §2054.2591, Fees. The processing and handling fee may
not be assessed or collected on the following transactions:

(1) areplacement registration sticker under Transportation
Code, §502.060;

(2) a registration transfer under Transportation Code,
§502.192;

(3) an exempt registration under Transportation Code,
§502.451;

(4) a vehicle transit permit under Transportation Code,
§502.492;

(5) areplacement license plate under Transportation Code,
§504.007,
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(6) aregistration correction receipt, duplicate receipt, or in-
quiry receipt;

(7) an inspection fee receipt; or

(8) an exchange of license plate for which no registration
fees are collected.

$217.185.  Allocation of Processing and Handling Fee.

(a) Forregistrations that expire on or after January 1, 2017 and
registrations that expired prior to January 1, 2017 that are submitted
for renewal on or after July 1, 2017, except as provided in subsection
(b) of this section, the fee amount established in §217.183 of this title
(relating to Fee Amount) shall be allocated as follows:

(1) If the registration transaction was processed in person
at the office of the county tax assessor-collector:

(A) the county tax assessor-collector may retain $2.30;
and

(B) the remaining amount shall be remitted to the de-
partment.

(2) Iftheregistration transaction was mailed to office of the
county tax assessor-collector:

(A) the county tax assessor-collector may retain $2.30;
and

(B) the remaining amount shall be remitted to the de-
partment.

(3) If the registration transaction was processed through
the department or the TXIRP system or is a registration processed
under Transportation Code, §§502.0023, 502.091, or 502.255; or
§217.46(b)(5) or (d)(1)(B)(i) of this title (relating to Commercial
Vehicle Registration):

(A) $2.30 will be remitted to the county tax assessor-
collector; and

(B) the remaining amount shall be retained by the de-
partment.

(4) Iftheregistration transaction was processed through the
department's online registration portal, the fee established in §217.183
is discounted by $1:

(A) Texas Online receives the amount set pursuant to
Government Code, §2054.2591, Fees;

(B) the county tax assessor-collector may retain $.25;
and

(C) the remaining amount shall be remitted to the de-
partment.

(5) Iftheregistration transaction was processed by a deputy
appointed by the county tax assessor-collector in accordance with Sub-
chapter H of this chapter (relating to Deputies):

(A) the deputy may retain:

(i)  the amount specified in §217.168(c) of this title
(relating to Deputy Fee Amounts). The deputy must remit the remain-
der of the processing and handling fee to the county tax assessor-col-
lector; and

(i)  the convenience fee established in §217.168, if
the registration transaction is processed by a full service deputy;

(B) the county tax assessor-collector may retain $1.30;
and

(C) the county tax assessor-collector must remit the re-
maining amount to the department.

(b) For transactions under Transportation Code, §§502.092-
502.095, the entity receiving the application and processing the trans-
action collects and retains the entire processing and handling fee es-
tablished in §217.183. A full service deputy processing a temporary
permit transaction may not charge a convenience fee for that transac-
tion.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 19, 2016.

TRD-201603576

David D. Duncan

General Counsel

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Effective date: August 8, 2016

Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER H. DEPUTIES
43 TAC §§217.161 - 217.164, 217.166 - 217.168

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (department) adopts
amendments to §217.161, Deputies. The department also
adopts new sections §217.162, Definitions; §217.163, Full Ser-
vice Deputies; §217.164, Limited Service Deputies; §217.166,
Dealer Deputies; §217.167, Bonding Requirements; and
§217.168, Deputy Fee Amounts. The amendments to §217.161
and §217.164 are adopted without changes to the proposed text
as published in the April 22, 2016, issue of the Texas Register
(41 TexReg 2930) and will not be republished. New §§217.162,
217.163, and 217.166 - 217.168 are adopted with changes
to the proposed text and will be republished. The proposal
included new §217.165, Inspection Deputies. However, as
further detailed below, the department withdraws this section.

Changes in the new sections respond to public comments and/or
reflect nonsubstantive variations from the proposed new sec-
tions.

EXPLANATION OF ADOPTED AMENDMENTS AND NEW
SECTIONS

House Bill 2202 and House Bill 2741, 83rd Legislature, Regu-
lar Session, 2013, added Transportation Code, §520.0071 and
repealed Transportation Code, §§520.008, 520.009, 520.0091,
and 520.0092. As a result, the legislature directed the depart-
ment to prescribe rules governing deputies performing titling and
registration duties. The legislation authorized deputies to con-
tinue to perform services under §§520.008, 520.009, 520.0091,
and 520.0092 until the effective date of the rules adopted by the
board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (board) regard-
ing the types of deputies authorized to perform titling and regis-
tration duties under §520.0071. The amendments and new sec-
tions implement the legislative directive of House Bills 2202 and
2741.

As required by Transportation Code, §520.0071, the amend-
ments and new sections establish the classification types of
deputies performing titling and registration duties, the duties and
obligations of deputies, the type and amount of any bonds that

ADOPTED RULES
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may be required by a county tax assessor-collector for deputies
to perform titling and registration duties, and the fees that
may be charged or retained by deputies. The rules authorize
deputies to continue to operate under the repealed statutes, as
prescribed by current §217.161, through December 31, 2016.
Beginning January 1, 2017, all deputies must be deputized in
accordance with and comply with Subchapter H in full.

The rules proposed for adoption follow at least two years of work
by department staff analyzing the legislation, previous and exist-
ing statute, the data gathered and analyzed by the Texas A&M
Transportation Institute (TTI), additional data gathered by de-
partment staff, and information from multiple conversations and
meetings with stakeholders, including county tax assessor-col-
lectors, full and limited service deputies and their representa-
tives, representatives of motor vehicle dealers, and state govern-
ment leadership. The rules proposed for adoption reflect the de-
partment's effort to establish the appropriate classification types
of deputies, to prescribe the duties and obligations of deputies
in a useful and meaningful way, to set bonds in an amount that
adequately protect the level of state property inventory that may
be at risk, and to set the fees that may be charged or retained
by deputies in amounts that comply with the statute. Full ser-
vice deputies are unique in that their business model includes
the provision of government services under contract, and they
are operating in a changing business environment. As such, the
adopted rules reflect a balance between what is an appropriate
amount for private citizens to pay for government services with
what is an appropriate amount for these private businesses to
charge for the provision of government services.

COMMENTS

The department received comments from Rep. Joe Pickett;
Rep. Dawnna Dukes; the Travis County Legislative delegation
(consisting of Sen. Donna Campbell, Sen. Kirk Watson, Sen.
Judith Zaffirini, Rep. Donna Howard, Rep. Celia Israel, Rep.
Elliott Naishtat, Rep. Eddie Rodriguez, and Rep. Paul Work-
man); the Travis County Commissioners Court; L.M. "Matt"
Sebesta, Jr.,, Brazoria County Judge; Samuel L. Neal, Jr.,
Nueces County Judge; the Tax Assessor-Collectors Association
of Texas (TACA); the Texas Association of Counties; the Texas
Conference of Urban Counties; the North Central Texas Council
of Governments (NCTCOG) and the Regional Transporta-
tion Council, the Metropolitan Planning Organization for the
Dallas-Fort Worth area; EAN Holdings, LLC (dba Enterprise,
Alamo, and National rental car brands); Kroger; Food Town;
and Clearwater Transportation (dba Dollar, Thrifty, and Hertz
Car Rental).

The department also received comments from the following
group of full service deputies (the "Deputies") from Bexar and
Travis Counties, represented by attorney Bill Aleshire: Auto
Title Express; GM&N Auto Title Service; San Antonio Auto Title,
Inc.; Tisdale LLC; Texas Auto Title; Texas Tag and Title; River
City Auto Title; Auto Title Service; Auto Title Service of Oakhill;
Fry Auto Title Service; and Universal Auto Title Service.

The department received comments from the following Tax
Assessor Collectors (TAC): Jeri D. Cox, Aransas County; Linda
G. Bridge, Bee County; Albert Uresti, Bexar County; Ro'Vin
Garrett, Brazoria County; Kristeen Roe, Brazos County; Becky
Watson Fant, Cass County; Ruben P. Gonzalez, El Paso
County; Jennifer Schlicke-Carey, Erath County; Bruce Stidham,
Grayson County; Pablo (Paul) Villarreal Jr., Hidalgo County;
Mary Ann Lovelady, Jones County; Tonya Ratcliff, Kaufman
County; Deborah A. Sevcik, Lavaca County; Ronnie Keister,

Lubbock County; Randy H. Riggs, McLennan County; Tammy
McRae, Montgomery County; Kim Morton, Nacogdoches
County; Gail Smith, Navarro County; Kevin Kieschnick, Nueces
County; Dalia Sanchez, San Patricio County; Bruce Elfant,
Travis County; Patrick L. Kubala, Wharton County; and Deborah
M. Hunt, Williamson County.

The department also received comments from 1,184 individuals,
as follows: 32 individuals submitted letters or e-mails; 552 indi-
viduals signed pre-printed forms, some with additional hand-writ-
ten notes; 256 individuals submitted pre-printed postcards; and
the department received a petition with 341 signatures in re-
sponse to the proposed rules.

The department received resolutions adopted by the Commis-
sioners Courts of Bee, Bexar, Brown, Castro, Collin, Denton, De-
Witt, Donley, El Paso, Grayson, Jackson, Lamar, Lynn, Lubbock,
Midland, Moore, Panola, San Patricio, and Sutton Counties op-
posing the rules to the extent they decrease county revenues,
increase county costs, and reduce local control.

The department received four comments from individuals related
to annual safety inspections of motor vehicles. One individual
expressed support for eliminating mandatory safety inspections;
three individuals expressed opposition to eliminating mandatory
safety inspections. The adopted rules do not relate to manda-
tory safety inspections, which are required under Transportation
Code, Chapter 548. The Texas Department of Public Safety
administers and enforces requirements related to motor vehicle
safety inspections. As such, comments for or against mandatory
safety inspections do not relate to the proposed rules regarding
the classification types of deputies performing titling and regis-
tration duties, the duties and obligations of deputies, the type
and amount of any bonds that may be required by a county tax
assessor-collector for deputies to perform titling and registration
duties, and the fees that may be charged or retained by deputies.

The department also received multiple pages of signatures of
individuals acknowledging support for private title service com-
panies. These signature pages were forwarded to the depart-
ment by Bill Aleshire, who explains they are "from customers of
full-service deputies (FSD) in Bexar County and Travis County

. collected by the FSDs from their customers in response to
TxDMV's rule proposal to limit the price FSDs can charge their
customers to $5 per registration and $15 per title transactions."
The department would note, however, that only 341 of these sig-
natures are dated on or after the April 7, 2016 board meeting
at which the board voted to publish the proposed rules. In fact,
many of the signatures are from August of 2015, and several
pages are photo-copied duplicates. Any signature that predates
the April 7 board meeting cannot be considered a comment to the
proposed amendments and new sections. Even so, the depart-
ment acknowledges the support private title service companies
have from their customer base and does not seek to diminish the
value of title service companies to their customers.

The department did not receive a request for a public hearing.
GENERAL POSITION OF COMMENTERS

In general, most of the commenters oppose the proposed new
sections. Most of the commenters expressed support for the
private title service companies who operate as full service
deputies, including the prices they charge. The individuals
submitting comments generally expressed their support for
private title service companies, many by name; commented that
they do not mind the fees they pay to use these companies; and
asked the department to not shut these companies down.
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RESPONSE

The department in no way seeks to shut down private title service
companies, and believes they can provide a valuable service to
those counties that choose to use them. However, the depart-
ment has a legislative mandate to prescribe rules that establish
the classification types of deputies performing titling and regis-
tration duties, the duties and obligations of deputies, the type
and amount of any bonds that may be required by a county tax
assessor-collector for deputies to perform titling and registration
duties, and the fees that may be charged or retained by deputies.

COMMENT

The Texas Association of Counties submitted a general com-
ment encouraging the department to consider seriously each
comment provided by county officials and other county official
associations regarding the impact of the proposed rule changes.
The Texas Association of Counties also offered to assist the de-
partment with outreach efforts to county officials.

The Travis County Legislative delegation, Aransas and El Paso
Counties, and the Brazoria and Nueces County Judges submit-
ted comments opposing rule changes that would cause private
title service companies to close, that set limits on what private
title services may charge, and that will add to the duties of the
counties without providing the necessary resources to accom-
plish them or otherwise generally increasing the burden on the
counties. Representative Dawnna Dukes and the Texas Confer-
ence of Urban Counties submitted similar comments, requesting
that the department withdraw the proposed rules and develop a
new proposal to include fees that are sufficient to cover the costs
of providing the services.

The Travis County Commissioners Court similarly commented
that it opposes any rule changes that will add to the administra-
tive duties counties perform on behalf of the department without
providing the necessary resources to accomplish them, and that
the proposed rules should be shelved so that department staff
can work with tax offices and other stakeholders to fashion a
more reasonable proposal.

RESPONSE

The department disagrees that the proposed rules will add to the
duties of the counties. Counties have a responsibility to process
registration and title transactions. The department, through this
rulemaking, has provided the counties with various ways to ful-
fill these obligations. The rules do not specify which method of
fulfilling these obligations a county must choose.

The Transportation Code, Chapters 501, 502, and 520, and cur-
rent Texas Administrative Code, Title 43, Part 10, Chapter 217,
require the department and the county to perform certain title and
registration transactions. See, e.g., Transp. Code, §§501.023,
Application for Title; 501.145, Filing by Purchaser; Application
for Transfer of Title; 502.041, Initial Registration; 502.057, Reg-
istration Receipt; 520.005, Duty and Responsibilities of County
Assessor-Collector; 43 TAC §217.23, Initial Application for Vehi-
cle Registration, §217.28, Vehicle Registration Renewal.

On the other hand, no statute or rule requires a county to uti-
lize a deputy authorized under Transportation Code, §520.0071.
Thus, a county's duties have clearly been provided for by statute
and administrative rule; a county's election to deputize private
entities to perform services is entirely at a county's discretion.

Furthermore, in developing the proposed fee amounts, the
department considered information gathered over the past two

years from multiple conversations and meetings with stakehold-
ers, including county tax assessor-collectors, full and limited
service deputies and their representatives, representatives of
motor vehicle dealers, and state government leadership, in an
effort to propose fee amounts that comply with the statute and
legislative intent. With the increased fee amounts in the adopted
rule, the department believes that all full service deputies should
be able to maintain operations. This is based on a review of
the current charges as reported by all of the deputy offices,
noting that the adopted fee is at or above what at least half of
the deputies currently charge for their services and within $10
of those that currently charge more, as well as an analysis of
impact performed against the confidential financial information
submitted by the full service deputies, including those that
charge more, represented by Mr. Aleshire.

COMMENTS TO SPECIFIC RULE SECTIONS.
SECTION 217.162 - DEFINITIONS
COMMENT

EAN Holdings provided comment explaining that EAN business
units hold General Distinguishing Numbers with the department
and are also classified as commercial fleet buyers pursuant to
Transportation Code, §501.0234(b)(4). EAN Holdings explains
that these relationships are mutually beneficial, in that they
allow EAN business units to manage titling and registration
while relieving tax offices of processing burdens associated
with a large vehicle fleet. EAN Holdings recommends including
commercial fleet buyers, as defined by Transportation Code,
§501.0234(b)(4), in the definition of dealer deputy to accurately
reflect the current classification provided by statute. This will
allow commercial fleet buyers to qualify under the Dealer Deputy
category in §217.166.

RESPONSE

The department agrees that a commercial fleet buyer should be
eligible to serve as a dealer deputy. The department added a
definition of commercial fleet buyer and amended the definition
of dealer deputy to include a commercial fleet buyer.

SECTION 217.163(j) - FULL SERVICE DEPUTIES
COMMENT

The department received many comments opposing the
three-party agreement proposed in subsection 217.163()).
TACA, and Bee, Brazoria, Brazos, Cass, Erath, Grayson,
Hidalgo, Jones, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Montgomery,
Nacogdoches, Navarro, San Patricio, and Wharton Counties
each submitted individual comments generally opposing de-
partment involvement in the agreement between the TACs and
full service deputies, including the ability for the department to
approve or terminate the agreement. Many of these comments
expressed a preference that the department notify the TAC
should the department receive knowledge of a bad actor.

Travis County commented that the three-party agreement is un-
necessary and would usurp county authority to be able to de-
termine for themselves who they may contract with for services.
Travis County also commented that the department's authority
to terminate a full service deputy's access to the department's
registration and titling system (RTS) should require the depart-
ment to first work with TACs to attempt to address the issues, an
administrative appeal process, or the filing of criminal charges.

The Deputies commented that the proposed rules give the de-
partment the authority to directly interfere in the relationship be-
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tween the TACs and the full service deputies, asserting instead
that the department's authority is limited to "merely setting and
allocating fees and authorizing a lease of RTS terminals."

RESPONSE

Initially, the department disagrees that its authority is so lim-
ited as stated by the Deputies. In 2013, the legislature added
§520.0071 to the Transportation Code (HB 2202 by Pickett/Mc-
Clendon and HB 2741 by Phillips). Section 520.0071(a) requires
the board to adopt rules that prescribe: (1) the classification
types of deputies performing titling and registration duties; (2)
the duties and obligations of deputies; (3) the type and amount
of any bonds that may be required by a TAC for a deputy to per-
form titling and registration duties; and (4) the fees that may be
charged or retained by deputies. That same statute, in subsec-
tion (b), permits a TAC, with approval of the county commission-
ers court, to deputize an individual or business entity to perform
titing and registration services in accordance with rules adopted
under subsection (a). Subsection (b) ties together all three enti-
ties - the department, who outlines the duties and obligations of
deputies; the TAC, who chooses who to deputize with commis-
sioners court approval; and the deputy, who agrees to adhere to
the duties and obligations required under rules adopted by the
board, in addition to any additional obligations a TAC may wish
to impose.

In addition, Transportation Code, §520.004, Department Re-
sponsibilities, states that the department has jurisdiction over
the registration and titling of, and the issuance of license plates
to, motor vehicles in compliance with the applicable statutes.
Further, Transportation Code, §1001.002 requires the depart-
ment to administer and enforce Transportation Code, Title 7,
Subtitle A (which includes Chapters 501, 502, 503, 504, and
520) in addition to other chapters of the Transportation Code
and Occupations Code.

The department does not seek, by this rule, to select who a
county chooses to deputize. However, the department is aware
of instances where full service deputies have processed ques-
tionable vehicle titling transactions through the RTS system.
This has resulted in the service of criminal search warrants in
at least two cases. The department must maintain appropriate
controls over the processing of transactions through its system,
and must take measures to ensure that all transactions follow
legal requirements in order to appropriately administer and
enforce Transportation Code, Title 7, Subtitle A.

The department appreciates the concerns that have been raised
by commenters regarding a three-party agreement and modified
the rule to instead require an addendum that sets forth the limita-
tions and responsibilities of having access to RTS. A full service
deputy's access to RTS will be dependent on acknowledgment
of the addendum and its inclusion into the full service deputy's
contract or agreement with a county.

The addendum will be drafted by the department, must be signed
by a full service deputy, and must be specifically incorporated by
reference into the county's contract or agreement with the full
service deputy. The addendum will include some, but not all, of
the terms originally proposed for the three-party agreement, in-
cluding: (1) the full service deputy must identify owners; (2) the
full service deputy must identify all personnel who will be given
access to the department's registration and titling system (RTS);
(3) the full service deputy agrees to cooperate with any inves-
tigation by law enforcement; (4) access to RTS may be termi-
nated if a full service deputy is the subject of a criminal investi-

gation involving a crime of moral turpitude, but the department
will provide for an appeal process to adequately address any
due process concerns; (5) a full service deputy must reject any
transaction that appears irregular on its face; (6) the department
may conduct an inventory of state assets and accountable items
provided by the state via the county; and (7) the department may
conduct an audit of the full service deputy's operations governed
by the Transportation Code and department rules.

COMMENT

The Deputies commented that paragraphs 217.163(j)(1) - (9)
should be eliminated entirely or amended to require the depart-
ment to provide information to a TAC to support a request that
the TAC suspend or cancel deputy status of any person the de-
partment believes should not be operating as the TAC's deputy,
but ultimately leave the decision to the TAC. The Deputies
also contend that the department has no direct enforcement
authority over a TAC's deputies, but that the department is
limited to merely providing equipment or adopting forms. The
Deputies question the department's authority to promulgate
each requirement in subsection 217.163(j), asserting that the
department has only general rulemaking authority, and only
authority for rules that are "necessary and appropriate," citing
Transportation Code, §1002.001. The Deputies suggest that at
most, §217.163(j) should require the TAC to collect the informa-
tion the department proposes to collect, and require the TAC to
perform audits of full service deputies, not the department.

RESPONSE

The department agrees that Transportation Code, §1002.001
gives the department general rulemaking authority. The depart-
ment was also given clear rulemaking authority by the legislature
in Transportation Code, §520.0071, which specifically mandated
that the department adopt rules that establish the classification
types of deputies performing titling and registration duties, the
duties and obligations of deputies, the type and amount of any
bonds that may be required by a county tax assessor-collector
for deputies to perform titling and registration duties, and the fees
that may be charged or retained by deputies. The legislative bill
analyses on both HB 2202 and HB 2741 acknowledge the ex-
press grant of rulemaking authority to the board in Transporta-
tion Code, §520.0071. The rules are clearly within this specific
statutory grant of authority.

COMMENT

TACA commented that the record retention portion of the rule
should require full service deputies to follow the retention sched-
ules as directed by the Texas Library and State Archives Com-
mission since a full service deputy's records are governmental
records.

RESPONSE

The department agrees with this comment, and has amended
the rule accordingly. The records retention requirement was orig-
inally proposed as part of the three-party agreement between the
TAC, full service deputy, and the department. However, since the
rule will not require a three-party agreement, the department has
made the record retention requirement an individual subsection
of §217.163.

COMMENT

The Deputies comment that each provision of §217.163(j) in-
creases the full services deputies' costs of doing business.

RESPONSE

41 TexReg 5790 August 5, 2016 Texas Register



The department disagrees that identifying owners, identifying
personnel with access to RTS, cooperating with law enforce-
ment, rejecting irregular transactions, and allowing the state
to conduct an inventory of its assets or audit a full service
deputy's operations or similar requirements could increase an
entity's costs of doing business. Full service deputies should
already be performing many if not all of these requirements.
Furthermore, the Deputies have provided no data reflecting how
these requirements will increase their costs.

COMMENT

NCTCOG commented that participants in the Mobile Emissions
Enforcement Working Group, which includes law enforce-
ment representatives from emissions enforcement task forces
throughout Texas, have reported increased fraud in certain
areas surrounding vehicle inspection and registration, and there-
fore is concerned about the potential for increased fraudulent
activity with the deputy structure without adequate oversight.
NCTCOG suggest that registration renewals issued by deputies
be audited in a timely manner to ensure the emissions inspec-
tion was properly performed prior to registration issuance, and
that the department should perform these audits in consultation
with the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality and the
Texas Department of Public Safety.

RESPONSE

The department agrees with the need for adequate oversight and
works with the other named state agencies to review transac-
tions that were unable to be electronically verified. As such, no
rule change is needed at this time.

SECTION 217.165 - INSPECTION DEPUTIES
COMMENT

Rep. Pickett, TACA, and Aransas, Bee, Brazoria, Hidalgo,
Jones, Lavaca, McLennan, Montgomery, Nacogdoches, and
San Patricio Counties each submitted comments expressing
general opposition to the creation of an Inspection Deputy. Sev-
eral of the commenters expressed that the proposed category
of Inspection Deputy was redundant of limited service deputy
and unnecessary.

RESPONSE

The department does not agree that an Inspection Deputy would
be redundant, as an Inspection Deputy would have to be certi-
fied as an inspection station under Transportation Code, Chapter
548, and could be subject to additional requirements as specified
by the TAC. However, the department will not adopt §217.165,
Inspection Deputies at this time, and is withdrawing that section.

SECTION 217.167 - BONDING REQUIREMENTS
COMMENT

EAN Holdings commented requesting that the maximum per-
missible bonding limit for dealer deputies be increased from
$2,000,000 to $5,000,000. EAN Holdings explained that the
current EAN bond in force in Dallas County and Harris County
exceeds the maximum amount in the proposed rule, and if
adopted as proposed, the rule would conflict with the agree-
ments currently in place with local tax offices. EAN Holdings
explains that if the current bonding level is reduced to match
the proposed rule, their ability to keep vehicles in service will
be significantly reduced. The suggested increased maximum
amount would accommodate what is in place today, which is
an amount that is a function of the number of outstanding titling

and registration authorizations allowed by each tax office, with
an additional allowance to address the foreseeable need to
increase initial titling and registration authorizations.

RESPONSE

The department agrees with this comment and amended the rule
accordingly.

COMMENT

Hidalgo County commented that the proposed minimum bond
amount required of dealer deputies is too high, explaining that
their office only enters agreements with franchise dealerships,
and the current bond amount required is $5,000. Hidalgo County
comments that higher bond amounts will discourage participa-
tion in the webDEALER program.

RESPONSE

The department disagrees that a $5,000 bond is a sufficient
amount for the state property inventory a franchise dealer
might hold. The department also disagrees that a higher bond
amount will discourage participation in webDEALER. A dealer
is only required to be deputized if the dealer maintains inventory
and issues license plates and registration stickers through the
webDEALER application.

COMMENT

Bexar County commented that bonding requirements for limited
and full service deputies should be set by the TAC according to
value and length of time that inventory is held.

RESPONSE

The rule as proposed gives the TAC the authority to set the
amount of the required bond, subject to a minimum and maxi-
mum amount set in rule. As such, the department is complying
with the legislative directive to prescribe the bonding amount by
rule, but giving the counties some flexibility within the established
guidelines.

SECTION 217.168 - DEPUTY FEE AMOUNTS
SECTION 217.168(b)(1) AND (c)(1)
COMMENT

The Deputies assert that the price limits on full service deputies
are too low, citing the many years they have been in business
without complaint to the department, that no one is required to
use a full service deputy, and explaining that their prices are
based on the competitive market for their services and their nec-
essary expenses to operate profitably. The Deputies also point
out there are two distinct markets for their services with differ-
ing dynamics affecting prices and costs: (1) car dealers and
other high-volume customers (who usually get a discount); and
(2) walk-in customers who often require a lot of time and atten-
tion. The Deputies assert the proposed price limits would affect
each full service deputy differently depending on the customer
and transaction mix.

RESPONSE

The assertion that the department has not received complaints
against full service deputies is not instructive, as the depart-
ment would not necessarily be the entity to receive any such
complaints. The department is not aware that any existing title
service company provides department contact information to its
customers or any information regarding complaints in general.
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Further, it would seem more logical for a customer to complain
about a full service deputy to the county that deputized the entity.

The department appreciates that private title service companies
have been operating under a particular business model for many
years. However, a private company's business model does not
provide the legal justification for adopting a rule one way or an-
other in light of the specific statutory authority granted to the
department, especially when those businesses may not have
been charging fees consistent with statute. The department set
the fee amounts after reviewing financial data provided by sev-
eral full service deputies as well as data gathered by TTI. The
fee amounts appear to be more than sufficient for full service
deputies to maintain their operations statewide.

With the increased fee amounts in the adopted rule, the depart-
ment believes that all full service deputies should be able to
maintain operations. This is based on a review of the current
charges as reported by all of the deputy offices, noting that the
adopted fee is at or above what at least half of the deputies cur-
rently charge for their services and within $10 of those that cur-
rently charge more, as well as an analysis of impact performed
against the confidential financial information submitted by the full
service deputies, including those that charge more, represented
by Mr. Aleshire.

COMMENT

The Deputies commented that during all of the decades they
have been in business, no state rule or law has set the prices
they could charge for their services.

RESPONSE

The department disagrees with this comment. At least as
far back as 1995, the Transportation Code authorized a full
service deputy to charge an additional fee not to exceed $5
for each motor vehicle registration issued. See former Transp.
Code, §502.114, Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 165, (S.B. 971),
eff. Sept. 1, 1995; transferred, redesignated, and amended as
former Transp. Code, §520.008 by Acts 2011, 82nd Leg., Ch.
1296 (H.B. 2357), eff. January 1, 2012. As noted above, the
legislation authorized deputies to continue to perform services
under §§520.008, 520.009, 520.0091, and 520.0092 until the
effective date of the rules adopted by the board regarding the
types of deputies authorized to perform titling and registration
duties under §520.0071.

The language of former §520.008 and §502.114, subsection (b),
is as follows: "A full-service deputy may charge and retain an ad-
ditional motor vehicle registration fee not to exceed $5 for each
motor vehicle registration issued." By way of example, a regular
registration fee for a vehicle with a gross weight of 6,000 pounds
or less is $50.75, unless otherwise provided in Transportation
Code, Chapter 502. Applying the former statute, a full service
deputy would have been permitted by law to charge an addi-
tional $5 to the regular registration fee.

As to charges for title transactions, the deputies are correct in
that the department is also not aware of any statute that autho-
rized a charge for full service deputies. The department would
caution full service deputies in relying on silence in the law as
a basis for charging any amount they deem appropriate. See,
e.g., Texas Attorney General Opinion JM-348 (1985) ("It has
long been established that unless a fee is provided by law for
an official service required to be performed and the amount is
fixed by law, a fee may not be charged."). The Transportation
Code authorizes fees for various title transactions. See, e.g.,

Transportation Code, §501.097, authorizing $8 application fee
for nonrepairable or salvage vehicle title; §501.100, authorizing
$65 rebuilder fee for rebuilt salvage title; and §501.138, autho-
rizing $28 or $33 title application fees.

COMMENT

The Deputies also commented that all of the "fees" they collect
have been turned over daily to the TACs, including the "$5 regis-
tration fee." They charge a "voluntary service charge" which their
customers choose to pay.

RESPONSE

The proposed fee amounts in the rules apply to services spe-
cific to processing a registration or title transaction. The rule
specifically excludes related transactions by a full service deputy
that are not transactions performed through the department's au-
tomated vehicle registration and title system, such as fees for
copying, faxing, transporting, or delivering documents required
to obtain or correct a motor vehicle title or registration. A full ser-
vice deputy may charge any "voluntary service charge" it deems
appropriate for such services.

COMMENT

The Deputies commented that the proposed rules will cause
each full service deputy to become unprofitable.

RESPONSE

The department has reviewed the information provided by the
Deputies and believes the proposed fee amounts would pro-
vide sufficient revenue for the full service deputies to stay in
business, cover costs, and make a profit, depending on the full
service deputy's business model. However, in response to the
comments, the department has modified the rule by increas-
ing the amounts to $10 for a registration or registration renewal
transaction ($1 retained from the processing and handling fee
in §217.183 of this title and a $9 convenience fee) and up to
$20 for a title transaction. As stated elsewhere in this preamble,
the department believes these amounts are sufficient for current
full service deputies to continue operation based on their current
charges and historical income statements.

COMMENT

The Deputies commented that the study performed by TTI was
flawed and contained unsubstantiated and false, incomplete
data as to what it cost deputies to be available for, and to
provide, the registration and titling services they provide.

RESPONSE

The department contracted with TTI to conduct research regard-
ing the costs associated with processing vehicle registration and
title transactions. The TTI report was one of several pieces of in-
formation used by the department in proposing the fees in this
chapter. TTI reviewed a statistically significant sample of all
transaction types and conducted its study using established in-
ternal methodologies. The full service deputies were given the
opportunity to participate in the study and provide relevant data
and information. TTI used what was provided by the deputies in
conducting the study.

COMMENT

The Deputies commented that the proposed rule has no mech-
anism adjusting the price in the future.

RESPONSE
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The department believes the adopted fee amounts are sufficient
for the full service deputies to continue business operations. The
board has the discretion to amend the rule when necessary, con-
sistent with the requirements of the Administrative Procedure
Act, Government Code, Chapter 2001. The board is also com-
mitted to reviewing the fee amounts after six months of imple-
mentation (January 1, 2017) to ensure the rules are still appro-
priate as adopted.

COMMENT

The Deputies suggest that the final rule include a clause grand-
fathering the rates full service deputies currently charge.

RESPONSE

The department disagrees with this comment. Allowing full
service deputies to charge any amount the full service deputy
deems appropriate would be contrary to the legislative mandate
that the department set the amounts a deputy may charge for
registration and title transactions. As stated above, the depart-
ment has reviewed the information provided by the Deputies
and believes the fee amounts will provide sufficient revenue for
the full service deputies to stay in business, cover costs, and
make a profit, depending on the full service deputy's business
model.

COMMENT

The Deputies suggest that the department delay the effective
date of the rules to September 1, 2016, to give the legislature
time to amend the statutes.

RESPONSE

The department assumes that the Deputies mean to suggest
that the effective date of the rules be amended to September 1,
2017. However, the department does not agree that it should de-
lay its mandate established by the legislature in 2013 any longer
based on legislation that may or may not be passed in the future.
Should the legislature amend the Transportation Code so as to
render the adopted rules unnecessary, the statutes would control
and the department would amend or repeal rules, as necessary.
The rules clearly indicate that deputies must be in compliance
beginning January 1, 2017. Assuming the rules are effective no
later than September 1, 2016, the deputies will have at least four
months to prepare for the upcoming changes, and the deputies
are already on notice of the rule contents. As stated before, this
proposal follows at least two years of work by department staff
analyzing the legislation, previous and existing statute, the data
gathered and analyzed by TTI, additional data gathered by de-
partment staff, and information from multiple conversations and
meetings with stakeholders, including county tax assessor-col-
lectors, full and limited service deputies and their representa-
tives, representatives of motor vehicle dealers, and state gov-
ernment leadership.

COMMENT

The Deputies suggest that the rules allow the TACs to deter-
mine the maximum amount a full service deputy may charge
and retain. Bexar County commented that the full and limited
service deputies should be allowed to charge the fees they cur-
rently charge, or that the fee amounts in the rules be modified
to avoid any negative impact to the deputies, because the de-
partment deviated from the TTI Report and the department has
no record of complaints against any full service title company in
Texas.

RESPONSE

The department disagrees with this suggestion. The statute
mandates that the department set the fee amounts, and does
not give the department the discretion to delegate this duty.
By setting a maximum authorized fee amount, the department
is complying with the legislative directive to prescribe the fee
amount by rule, but giving the counties some flexibility to work
with full service deputies within the established guidelines.

COMMENT

Travis County commented that the proposed fee amounts for full
service deputies are too low; the department should consider an
alternative since the proposal was based in part on the TTI Re-
port; there are no provisions to adjust fees periodically; capping
fees runs contrary to free market principles; and if the full service
deputies are closed, Tax Office employees would have to imme-
diately begin processing about 100,000 additional vehicle titles
at an estimated cost to local taxpayers of about $1 million plus
space for 17 new employees. Travis County recommends that
the department delegate setting auto title service fees to coun-
ties or set a broad fee range for registration and title fees as was
done with bonds and authorize tax assessors to establish fee
caps within the range.

Bexar County commented that the proposed fee of $5 for a
registration and $15 for a title transaction will cause full service
deputies to close and will therefore increase costs to Bexar
County taxpayers. The closing of full service title companies
would require a minimum of three additional tax offices in Bexar
County plus personnel staffing, with estimated start-up costs
between three and six million dollars and annual operational
costs between two and three million dollars. The closure of full
service deputies would also reduce options to the citizens of
Bexar County by eliminating the availability of 21 additional lo-
cations for citizens to choose from, while impacting established
small businesses and causing the layoff of their employees.

RESPONSE

As stated above, the department has reviewed information pro-
vided by the Deputies and believes the proposed fee amounts
would provide sufficient revenue for the full service deputies to
stay in business, cover costs, and make a profit, depending on
the full service deputy's business model. However, in response
to the comments, the department has modified the rule by in-
creasing the amounts to $10 for a registration or registration re-
newal transaction ($1 retained from the processing and handling
fee in §217.183 of this title and a $9 convenience fee) and up to
$20 for a title transaction.

Counties have a responsibility to process registration and title
transactions. The department, through this rulemaking, has pro-
vided the counties with various ways to fulfill these obligations.
The rules do not specify which method of fulfilling these obliga-
tions a county must choose.

COMMENT

Williamson County commented that it would be preferable to see
a range of fees allowed for full service deputies instead of the
proposed $15, and that the fee should be reflective of the current
market and agreed upon, contractually, by the full service deputy
and the TAC. Nueces County commented that there should be
no rule dictating what a full service deputy is allowed to charge.
Instead, Nueces County commented that the open market and
what people are willing to pay should determine what they should
charge.
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The Texas Conference of Urban Counties (TCUC) commented
that arbitrary price caps on the amount that title service providers
can recover threatens a successful public-private partnership,
and will increase costs to counties. TCUC requested that the
department conduct a "serious, data intensive examination of
the impact of these proposed rules in collaboration with [their]
association and other impacted stakeholders - including each
major urban county."

RESPONSE

As discussed above, the legislature has mandated that the de-
partment set the fee amounts a deputy may charge or retain,
and did not give the department the authority to delegate this
duty. Furthermore, the department would note that based on
comments received during its April 7, 2016 Board Meeting, sig-
nificant barriers to entry may exist in counties currently utilizing
full service deputies -- markets may not be open to competition in
the form of new entrants and the department is not aware of any
county that awards full service deputy contracts through compet-
itive bidding processes.

The department has reviewed information provided by the
Deputies and believes the proposed fee amounts would pro-
vide sufficient revenue for the full service deputies to stay in
business, cover costs, and make a profit, depending on the full
service deputy's business model. However, in response to the
comments, the department has modified the rule by increasing
the amounts to $10 for a registration or registration renewal
transaction ($1 retained from the processing and handling fee in
§217.183 of this title and a $9 convenience fee) and up to $20
for a title transaction.

Counties have a responsibility to process registration and title
transactions. The department, through this rulemaking, has pro-
vided the counties with various ways to fulfill these obligations.
The rules do not specify which method of fulfilling these obliga-
tions a county must choose.

COMMENT

Bee County commented that no deputy, whether a full service,
limited service, or dealer deputy, should be allowed to retain any
amount from the processing and handling fee referenced in the
proposed rules. Bee County recommends that in order to allow
for proper disbursement of fees and allow counties to continue to
receive current revenue levels, §217.168(a) should be deleted,
and the remainder of the rule should allow a full service deputy
to charge a convenience fee of $5 and allow a limited service
deputy to charge a fee of $1. TACA also submitted a comment
recommending that a limited service deputy be allowed to charge
the customer a convenience fee of $1 so there is no reduction in
fees paid to the county.

RESPONSE

The department disagrees with this comment. The proposed fee
structure and fee amounts follow at least two years of work by
department staff analyzing the legislation, previous and existing
statute, the data gathered and analyzed by the TTI, additional
data gathered by department staff, and information from mul-
tiple conversations and meetings with stakeholders, including
county tax assessor-collectors, full and limited service deputies
and their representatives, representatives of motor vehicle deal-
ers, and state government leadership.

SECTION 217.168(b)(2)
COMMENT

The Deputies commented that there is no factual basis why
the proposed rule permits dealer deputies to charge the same
amount for title transactions as a full service deputy, and noted
that the department charges $15 for a bonded title rejection
letter.

Jones and Lubbock Counties submitted comments opposing al-
lowing dealer deputies to charge for title transactions as pro-
posed by the rule. Jones and Lubbock Counties each com-
mented generally that a dealer should not be permitted to charge
for title transactions, as they have the authority to charge a docu-
mentary fee for the handling and processing of documents for the
sale of the motor vehicle and allowing a fee for title transactions
would amount to allowing a dealer deputy to charge customers
twice. Lubbock County also commented that dealers should not
be paid to perform a job function that is required and for which
they are already reimbursed.

TACA and Bee County commented that a dealer deputy should
only be allowed to retain $10 from the $15 fee for title trans-
actions, and the remaining $5 should be remitted to the TAC to
compensate the TAC for their continued service in reviewing and
accepting the title transaction.

RESPONSE

Initially, the department addresses the Deputies' comment re-
garding compensation amounts for different entities or transac-
tion types. The objective in setting the fees for deputies was
to recognize the costs involved in providing the service and set
the appropriate fee. While the department has strived to stan-
dardize fees for customers, a uniform fee among deputy types
is not a requirement under Transportation Code, §520.0071. In
addition, the department would note that under these rules, full
service deputies are compensated at a higher rate than counties
for title transactions.

The amount the department charges for a bonded title rejection
letter, authorized by Transportation Code, §501.053, was es-
tablished in Texas Administrative Code, §217.3(g), later renum-
bered as §217.9, following publication in the Texas Register for
public comment and final adoption at a department board meet-
ing.

The department does not agree with the comments that suggest
a dealer deputy not be allowed to charge for a title transaction
or that the dealer deputy should remit a portion of the fee to the
counties. Transportation Code, §520.0071 authorizes the de-
partment to prescribe an amount a dealer deputy may charge
or retain for title transactions. A dealer deputy may not wish
to charge any amount for a title transaction and cover its costs
for such work with the documentary fee. The documentary fee
a dealer deputy may charge is authorized by Finance Code,
§348.006. The Texas Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner
has jurisdiction over the filing of documentary fees by motor ve-
hicle dealers.

However, in response to the remaining comments regarding the
fee amount for dealer deputies for title transactions, the depart-
ment reduced the maximum amount that a dealer deputy may
charge for such transaction to $10.

SECTION 217.168(c)(2)
COMMENT

Kroger and Food Town both submitted comments recommend-
ing that the fee amount a limited service deputy be permitted to
retain be increased from $1 to $2 to cover increased expenses.
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Kroger also recommended the increased fee amount to assist
with covering increased labor time for transactions that require
verification of safety inspections.

RESPONSE

The department disagrees with this comment and will not amend
the amount a limited service deputy is permitted to retain. The
amount proposed for adoption was developed based on at least
two years of work by department staff analyzing the legislation,
previous and existing statute, the data gathered and analyzed
by the TTI, additional data gathered by department staff, and in-
formation from multiple conversations and meetings with stake-
holders, including county tax assessor-collectors, full and lim-
ited service deputies and their representatives, representatives
of motor vehicle dealers, and state government leadership.

COMMENT

Travis County commented that it disagrees with the department's
conclusion that the rules would have no adverse impact on lo-
cal government or small and micro-businesses, because the fee
limits would force full service deputies to close, and the depart-
ment appears to assume the counties could cover the shortfall
full service deputies may experience.

RESPONSE

The department disagrees with the contention that the rules will
have an adverse impact on local government or small and mi-
cro-businesses. The department has reviewed the information
provided by the Deputies and believes the fee amounts will pro-
vide sufficient revenue for the full service deputies to stay in busi-
ness, cover costs, and make a profit, depending on the full ser-
vice deputy's business model. In addition, the adopted rules in-
crease compensation for full service deputies. Until the effective
date of these rules, statute authorizes full service deputies to
charge $5 for a registration transaction and does not authorize
a fee for title transactions. Adoption of these rules, authorized
by Transportation Code, §520.0071, increases compensation by
$5 for a registration transaction and $20 for a title transaction.

COMMENT

The Deputies assert that the rule proposal fails to comply with
Government Code, Chapter 2006. They assert specifically that
alleging the full service deputies' prices have been previously
regulated at $5 for a registration transaction is false, and re-
gardless, the department's justification admits the full service
deputies almost universally have been charging $10 to $15 for
registration transactions. The Deputies also commented that the
proposal fails to provide the required assessment and fails to
provide a means by which to mitigate the harm the rules will have
on small business.

RESPONSE

As discussed above, former Transportation Code, §520.008,
and former §502.114 before that, authorized a full service
deputy to charge an additional $5 for a registration transaction.
No statute authorized a full service deputy to charge an ad-
ditional fee for a title transaction. The fee amounts proposed
were developed following at least two years of work by de-
partment staff analyzing all relevant legislation, previous and
existing statute, the data gathered and analyzed by the TTI,
additional data gathered by department staff, and information
from multiple conversations and meetings with stakeholders,
including county tax assessor-collectors, full and limited service
deputies and their representatives, representatives of motor

vehicle dealers, and state government leadership. Additional
information provided by the deputies confirms the fee amounts
will provide sufficient revenue for the full service deputies to stay
in business, cover costs, and make a profit, depending on the
full service deputy's business model. In addition, the adopted
rules increase compensation amounts for full service deputies.

Government Code, §2006.002 requires a state agency consid-
ering adoption of a rule that would have an adverse economic
impact on small businesses or micro-businesses to reduce the
effect if doing so is legal and feasible considering the purpose of
the statute under which the rule is to be adopted. The depart-
ment has stated multiple reasons why the proposed rules would
not have an adverse economic impact on small or micro-busi-
nesses, including the increase in allowable charges by the adop-
tion of these rules. While the Deputies may disagree with the
department's reasons, the department complied with Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 2006 by analyzing any potential for impact
against the statutory standards applicable to full service deputies
prior to the rule proposal, and by adopting the rules based on
data provided by deputies, data gathered by TTI, public com-
ment and feedback, and its review of the legislation authorizing
the rules.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments and new sections are adopted under Trans-
portation Code, §1002.001, which provides the board with
the authority to adopt rules necessary and appropriate to im-
plement the powers and the duties of the department under
the Transportation Code; Transportation Code, §501.0041,
which provides the department may adopt rules to administer
Transportation Code, Chapter 501, Certificate of Title Act;
Transportation Code, §502.0021, which provides the depart-
ment may adopt rules to administer Transportation Code,
Chapter 502, Registration of Vehicles; Transportation Code,
§520.003, which provides the department may adopt rules to
administer Chapter 520, Miscellaneous Provisions; and more
specifically, Transportation Code, §520.004, which provides
the department by rule shall establish standards for uniformity
and service quality for counties and dealers; and Transporta-
tion Code, §520.0071, which provides the board by rule shall
prescribe the classification types of deputies performing titling
and registration duties, the duties and obligations of deputies,
the type and amount of any bonds that may be required by a
county tax assessor-collector for a deputy to perform titling and
registration duties, and the fees that may be charged or retained
by deputies.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE

Finance Code, §348.005 and §353.006; and Transportation
Code, §§501.076, 502.191, 502.1911, 502.197, and 520.007.

$§217.162.  Definitions.

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall
have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise.

(1) Board--Board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehi-
cles.

(2) Commercial fleet buyer--An entity that, in compliance
with Transportation Code, §501.0234(b), is deputized under this sub-
chapter, utilizes the dealer title application process developed to pro-
vide a method to submit title transactions to the county in which the
commercial fleet buyer is a deputy, and has authority to accept an ap-
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plication for registration and application for title transfer that the county
tax assessor-collector may accept.

(3) Dealer deputy--A motor vehicle dealer, as defined by
Transportation Code, §503.001(4), including a commercial fleet buyer,
who is deputized to process motor vehicle titling and registration trans-
actions, and who may be authorized to provide registration renewal
services. Dealer deputy includes an individual, who is not himself or
herself appointed as a deputy, employed, hired, or otherwise engaged
by the dealer deputy to serve as the deputy's agent in performing motor
vehicle titling, registration or registration renewal services.

(4) Department--Texas Department of Motor Vehicles.

(5) Deputy--A person appointed to serve in an official gov-
ernment capacity to perform, under the provisions of this subchapter,
designated motor vehicle titling, registration, and registration renewal
services as a deputy assessor-collector. The term "deputy" does not in-
clude an employee of a county tax assessor-collector.

(6) Full service deputy--A deputy appointed to accept and
process applications for motor vehicle title transfers and initial registra-
tions, and process registration renewals and other transactions related
to titling and registration. Full service deputy includes an individual,
who is not himself or herself appointed as a deputy, employed, hired,
or otherwise engaged by the full service deputy to serve as the deputy's
agent in performing motor vehicle titling, registration or registration
renewal services.

(7) Limited service deputy--A deputy appointed to accept
and process motor vehicle registration renewals. Limited service
deputy includes an individual, who is not himself or herself appointed
as a deputy, employed, hired, or otherwise engaged by the limited
service deputy to serve as the deputy's agent in performing motor
vehicle registration renewals.

(8) Person--An individual, business organization, govern-
mental subdivision or agency, or any other legal entity.

$§217.163.  Full Service Deputies.

(a) A county tax assessor-collector, with the approval of the
commissioners court of the county, may deputize a person to act as a
full service deputy in the same manner and with the same authority as
though done in the office of the county tax assessor-collector, subject
to the criteria and limitations of this section, including entering into the
agreement specified in subsection (j) of this section.

(b) A full service deputy must offer and provide titling and reg-
istration services to the general public, and must accept any application
for registration, registration renewal, or title transfer that the county tax
assessor-collector would accept and process, unless otherwise limited
by the county.

(c) The county tax assessor-collector may impose reasonable
obligations or requirements upon a full service deputy in addition to
those set forth in this section. The additional obligations or require-
ments must be reflected in the agreement specified in subsection (j) of
this section.

(d) To be eligible to serve as a full service deputy, a person
must be trained, as approved by the county tax assessor-collector, to
perform motor vehicle titling, registration, and registration renewal
services, or otherwise be deemed competent by the county tax asses-
sor-collector to perform such services.

(e) To be eligible to serve as a full service deputy, a person
must post a bond payable to the county tax assessor-collector consistent
with §217.167 of this title (relating to Bonding Requirements) with the
bond conditioned on the person's proper accounting and remittance of
the fees the person collects.

(f) A person applying to be a full service deputy must complete
the application process as specified by the county tax assessor-collec-
tor. The application process may include satisfaction of any bonding
requirements and completion of any additional required documentation
or training of the deputy before the processing of any title, registration,
or registration renewal applications may occur.

(g) A full service deputy must provide the physical address at
which services will be offered, the mailing address, the phone number,
and the hours of service. This information may be published on the
department's website and may be published by the county if the county
publishes a list of deputy locations.

(h) A full service deputy shall keep a separate accounting of
the fees collected and remitted to the county and a record of daily re-
ceipts.

(i) A full service deputy may charge or retain fees consistent
with the provisions of §217.168 of this title (relating to Deputy Fee
Amounts).

() A full service deputy must maintain records in compliance
with the State of Texas Records Retention Schedule as promulgated by
the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.

(k) Beginning January 1, 2017, a full service deputy must sign
an addendum provided by the department outlining the terms and con-
ditions of the full service deputy's access to and use of the department's
registration and titling system. Any contract or agreement, or renewal
of the contract or agreement, between the county and the full service
deputy that authorizes the full service deputy to provide registration
and titling services in the county must specifically incorporate the ad-
dendum by reference, and the contract or agreement may not supersede
or contradict any term within the addendum. An addendum described
by this subsection is required for each location at which the full ser-
vice deputy operates. The addendum must be incorporated into any
agreement or contract between the full service deputy and the county
beginning January 1, 2017. The county must provide the department
a current copy of each contract or agreement, including any amend-
ments, with a full service deputy within 60 days of execution.

§217.166. Dealer Deputies.

(a) A county tax assessor-collector, with the approval of the
commissioners court of the county, may deputize a motor vehicle dealer
to act as a dealer deputy to provide motor vehicle titling and registration
services in the same manner and with the same authority as though done
in the office of the county tax assessor-collector, except as limited by
this section.

(b) A dealer deputy must hold a valid general distinguishing
number (GDN) under Transportation Code, Chapter 503, Subchapter
B, and may act as a dealer deputy only for a type of motor vehicle for
which the dealer holds a GDN. A dealer may not continue to act as a
dealer deputy if the GDN is cancelled or suspended.

(c) A county tax assessor-collector may impose reasonable
obligations or requirements upon a dealer deputy in addition to those
set forth in this section. The county tax assessor-collector may, at the
time of deputation or upon renewal of deputation, impose specified
restrictions or limitations on a dealer deputy's authority to provide
certain titling or registration services.

(d) Upon the transfer of ownership of motor vehicles pur-
chased, sold or exchanged by the dealer deputy, the dealer deputy may
process titling transactions in the same manner and with the same
authority as though done in the office of the county tax assessor-col-
lector. The dealer deputy may not otherwise provide titling services to
the general public.
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(e) Upon the transfer of ownership of a motor vehicle pur-
chased, sold or exchanged by the dealer deputy, the dealer deputy may
process initial registration transactions in the same manner and with
the same authority as though done in the office of the county tax asses-
sor-collector. The dealer deputy may not otherwise offer initial regis-
tration services to the general public.

(f) The county tax assessor-collector may authorize a dealer
deputy to provide motor vehicle registration renewal services. A dealer
deputy offering registration renewal services must offer such services
to the general public, and must accept and process any proper appli-
cation for registration renewal that the county tax assessor-collector
would accept and process.

(g) To be eligible to serve as a dealer deputy, a person must
be trained to perform motor vehicle titling and registration services, as
approved by the county tax assessor-collector, or otherwise be deemed
competent by the county tax assessor-collector to perform such ser-
vices.

(h) To be eligible to serve as a dealer deputy, a person must
post a bond payable to the county tax assessor-collector consistent with
§217.167 of this title (relating to Bonding Requirements) with the bond
conditioned on the person's proper accounting and remittance of the
fees the person collects.

(i) A person applying to be a dealer deputy must complete the
application process as specified by the county tax assessor-collector.
The application process may include satisfaction of any bonding re-
quirements and completion of any additional required documentation
or training of the deputy before the processing of any title or registra-
tion transactions may occur.

(j) Ifadealer deputy offers registration renewal services to the
general public, the deputy must provide the physical address at which
services will be offered, the mailing address, the phone number, and
the hours of service. This information may be published on the de-
partment's website and may be published by the county if the county
publishes a list of deputy locations.

(k) A dealer deputy shall keep a separate accounting of the fees
collected and remitted to the county, and a record of daily receipts.

(I) A dealer deputy may charge or retain fees consistent
with the provisions of §217.168 of this title (relating to Deputy Fee
Amounts).

(m) This section does not prevent a county tax assessor-collec-
tor from deputizing a dealer as a full service deputy under §217.163 of
this title (relating to Full Service Deputies) or a limited service deputy
under §217.164 of this title (relating to Limited Service Deputies) in-
stead of a dealer deputy under this section.

§217.167. Bonding Requirements.

(a) A deputy appointed under this subchapter shall post a
surety bond payable to the county tax assessor-collector.

(b) A deputy is required to post a single bond for a county
in which the deputy performs titling, registration, or registration re-
newal services, regardless of the number of locations in that county
from which that deputy may provide these services.

(c) A full service deputy or dealer deputy must post a bond
in an amount between $100,000 and $5,000,000, as determined by the
county tax assessor-collector.

(d) A limited service deputy must post a bond in an amount
between $2,500 and $1,000,000, as determined by the county tax as-
sessor-collector.

(e) A deputy that is an agency or subdivision of a governmen-
tal jurisdiction of the State of Texas is not required to post a bond
pursuant to this section, unless the county tax assessor-collector de-
termines that a bond should be required in an amount consistent with
subsection (d) of this section.

§217.168. Deputy Fee Amounts.

(a) Fees. A county tax assessor-collector may authorize a
deputy to charge or retain the fee amounts prescribed by this section
according to the type of deputy and transaction type.

(b) Title transactions. For each motor vehicle title transaction
processed:

(1) A full service deputy may charge the customer a fee of
up to $20, as determined by the full service deputy and approved by
the tax assessor-collector. The full service deputy retains the entire fee
charged to the customer.

(2) A dealer deputy may charge the customer a fee of up to
$10, as determined by the dealer deputy and approved by the tax as-
sessor-collector. The dealer deputy retains the entire fee charged to the
customer. This section does not preclude a dealer deputy from charg-
ing a documentary fee authorized by Finance Code, §348.006.

(c) Registration and registration renewals. For each registra-
tion transaction processed:

(1) A full service deputy may:

(A) retain $1 from the processing and handling fee es-
tablished by §217.183 of this title (relating to Fee Amount); and

(B) charge a convenience fee of $9, except as limited
by §217.184 of this title (relating to Exclusions).

(2) A limited service deputy may retain $1 from the pro-
cessing and handling fee established by §217.183.

(3) A dealer deputy may retain $1 from the processing and
handling fee established by §217.183. This section does not preclude a
dealer deputy from charging a documentary fee authorized by Finance
Code, §348.006.

(d) Temporary permit transactions under Transportation Code,
§502.094 or §502.095. For each temporary permit transaction pro-
cessed by a full service deputy, the full service deputy may retain the
entire processing and handling fee established by §217.183.

(e) Full service deputy convenience fee. The convenience fee
authorized by this section is collected by the full service deputy directly
from the customer and is in addition to the processing and handling fee
established by §217.183. A full service deputy may not charge any
additional fee for a registration or registration renewal transaction.

(f) Related transactions by a full service deputy. The limita-
tions of subsections (b), (¢), (d), and (e) of this section do not apply to
other services that a full service deputy may perform that are related to
titles or registrations, but are not transactions that must be performed
through the department's automated vehicle registration and title sys-
tem. Services that are not transactions performed through the depart-
ment's automated vehicle registration and title system include, but are
not limited to, the additional fees a full service deputy may charge for
copying, faxing, or transporting documents required to obtain or cor-
rect a motor vehicle title or registration. However, the additional fees
that a full service deputy may charge for these other services may be
limited by the terms of the county tax assessor-collector's authorization
to act as deputy.

(g) Posting of fees. At each location where a full service
deputy provides titling or registration services, the deputy must
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prominently post a list stating all fees charged for each service related
to titling or registration. The fee list must specifically state each
service, including the additional fee charged for that service, that is
subject to subsections (b), (c), (d), or (e) of this section. The fee list
must also state that each service subject to an additional fee under
subsection (b), (c), (d), or (e) of this section may be obtained from
the county tax assessor-collector without the additional fee. If the full
service deputy maintains a website advertising or offering titling or
registration services, the deputy must post the fee list described by this
subsection on the website.

(h) Additional compensation. The fee amounts set forth in this
section do not preclude or limit the ability of a county to provide addi-
tional compensation to a deputy out of county funds.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 19, 2016.

TRD-201603569

David D. Duncan

General Counsel

Texas Department of Motor Vehicle

Effective date: August 8, 2016

Proposal publication date: April 22, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 465-5665

L4 L4 L4
SUBCHAPTER J. PERFORMANCE QUALITY
RECOGNITION PROGRAM

43 TAC §§217.201 - 217.207

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (department) adopts
new Subchapter J, Performance Quality Recognition Pro-
gram: §217.201, Purpose and Scope; §217.202, Definitions;
§217.203, Recognition Criteria; §217.204, Applications;
§217.205, Department Decision to Award, Deny, Revoke, or
Demote a Recognition Level; §217.206, Term of Recognition
Level;, and §217.207, Review Process. Sections 217.203,
217.204, 217.205, and 217.206 are adopted with changes to
the proposed text as published in the April 22, 2016, issue of
the Texas Register (41 TexReg 2937) and will be republished.
The department amended §217.206 to clarify the language, and
the amendments to §§217.203, 217.204, and 217.205 were
made in response to comments. Sections 217.201, 217.202,
and 217.207 are adopted without changes to the proposed text
as published and will not be republished.

EXPLANATION OF ADOPTED NEW SUBCHAPTER

Transportation Code, §520.004 requires the department to es-
tablish standards for uniformity and service quality for county
tax assessor-collectors regarding vehicle titles and registration.
New Subchapter J prescribes the procedures and general crite-
ria the department will use to establish and administer a volun-
tary program called the Performance Quality Recognition Pro-
gram (Recognition Program).

The department will use the Recognition Program to recognize
county tax assessor-collectors and their offices for outstanding
performance and efficiency in processing title and registration
transactions. The recognition criteria contain the standards for
uniformity and service quality, such as processing transactions

in a timely fashion and consistently applying statutes, rules, and
policies governing motor vehicle transactions.

The department drafted Subchapter J after doing the following:
1) conducting an audit of the department's administration of
statutes and rules through the county tax assessor-collectors;
2) reviewing recognition or accountability programs created
by other state agencies; and 3) meeting with the Performance
Quality Recognition Program Working Group (Working Group).

The department's internal audit division audited the department's
administration of statutes and rules through county tax asses-
sor-collectors. The audit report presented information and ideas,
which the department used as a starting point to draft Subchap-
ter J. The audit methodology for compiling information and ideas
included the following: 1) conducting research into achievement
programs, such as the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency
Encouraging Environmental Excellence Program; 2) obtaining
feedback from the Tax Assessor-Collectors Association of Texas
(TACA); 3) interviewing senior managers at the department; and
4) conducting a survey of 50 county tax assessor-collector of-
fices that are geographically dispersed and of various sizes to
gain a better understanding of current practices and how these
practices could relate to a recognition program. The department
received 44 (88 percent) responses; however, the respondents
skipped some questions.

The department reviewed recognition or accountability programs
created by other Texas state agencies, such as the following
programs: 1) the Job Corps Diploma Program, 19 Tex. Admin.
Code §97.2001 (2009) (Tex. Educ. Agency, Job Corps Diploma
Program Accountability Procedures); and 2) the Nursing Educa-
tion Performance Recognition Program, 19 Tex. Admin. Code
§4.183 (2007) (Tex. Higher Educ. Coordinating Bd., Nursing Ed-
ucation Performance Recognition Program).

The department created the Working Group, which is made up
of department employees and nine county tax assessor-collec-
tors from counties that are geographically dispersed and of vari-
ous sizes. The Working Group was charged with providing input
on the development of a program and rules to recognize out-
standing performance and efficiency in processing title and reg-
istration transactions in a county tax assessor-collector office. In
addition to reviewing the audit report and discussing the reason
for the Recognition Program, the Working Group reviewed, dis-
cussed, and provided input on the draft of Subchapter J at three
meetings.

Subchapter J provides standards for the uniformity and service
quality for counties by establishing objective criteria for the differ-
ent levels of recognition. Most of the current recognition criteria
for the minimum recognition level contain the standards for uni-
formity because the factors indicate whether the county tax as-
sessor-collector complied with statutes, rules, and policies gov-
erning motor vehicle transactions. Most of the current recogni-
tion criteria for a higher recognition level are based on factors
that indicate service quality, such as low error rates and whether
transactions are processed in a timely manner.

Subchapter J also states the nature and requirements of the pro-
cedures for the Recognition Program, as required by Govern-
ment Code, §2001.004. For example, Subchapter J provides
when an application can be submitted and how a county tax as-
sessor-collector can request the department to review its deci-
sion to deny an application or to demote or revoke a recognition
level.

COMMENTS AND RESPONSES
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The department received written comments from TACA and from
county tax assessor-collectors from certain counties, which are
referenced by county.

COMMENT

Hansford County commented that the Recognition Program
would: 1) enforce the department's and the county's office
policies; and 2) help encourage the county with its quality of
service to the public.

Hemphill County commented that it does not favor the Recogni-
tion Program because: 1) itis just an additional form of spending
money when the county doesn't need to be spending money; and
2) their customers are the ones who show the county tax asses-
sor-collectors how they are doing. Wharton County objects to
the Recognition Program because: 1) county tax assessor-col-
lectors take their responsibility and their constitutional liability
very seriously; 2) the county doesn't see the benefit of having
the Recognition Program; and 3) each county tax assessor-col-
lector should implement their own incentive program, rather than
having another program regulated by the state. Lubbock County
commented that: 1) the Recognition Program must remain vol-
untary because the criteria require the county to maintain an ex-
cessive amount of recordkeeping, and the Recognition Program
will require a huge amount of man hours to track, document, and
maintain; and 2) the same criteria should be applied to the de-
partment.

RESPONSE

The department will proceed with adopting the proposed new
Subchapter J to implement the voluntary Recognition Program.
The department is adopting this subchapter to comply with
Transportation Code, §520.004, which requires the department
by rule to establish standards for uniformity and service quality
for counties.

COMMENT

Williamson County commented that criteria in §217.203(c)
should include the criteria in §217.203(b) because the Recogni-
tion Program was intended to build on each level of recognition.

RESPONSE

The department made the suggested change in §217.203(c), as
well as a conforming change in §217.203(d).

COMMENT

Brazoria County commented that §217.204(d) should be deleted
and the language in §217.204(c)(2) should be amended be-
cause a county tax assessor-collector who is exonerated after
their recognition level has been revoked should not have to
wait to be re-elected to be eligible for reinstatement of their
previously awarded recognition level. They should be allowed to
follow the same procedure as the county tax assessor-collector
whose recognition level was demoted to a lower level. Bee
County, Cass County, Midland County, Montgomery County,
Moore County, Navarro County, Refugio County, San Patricio
County, and TACA made similar comments.

RESPONSE

The department amended §217.204(d) to allow a county tax as-
sessor-collector whose recognition has been revoked to follow
the same procedure as a county tax assessor-collector whose
recognition was demoted to a lower level. However, when a
recognition level is demoted or revoked, the county tax asses-
sor-collector must wait an entire state fiscal year before apply-

ing for: 1) a higher recognition level if the recognition level was
demoted; or 2) a recognition level if the recognition level was re-
voked. The recognition level is not reinstated. Any recognition
level will be based on the county tax assessor-collector's per-
formance during the state fiscal year immediately preceding the
application, regardless of the reason for the demotion or revoca-
tion.

If a county tax assessor-collector's recognition level is demoted
or revoked, §217.207 provides a review process that allows a
county tax assessor-collector to request the department to re-
view its decision. In addition, the decision to demote or revoke
will be made based on the same criteria that is used to award
the recognition level. Some of the comments talked about a sit-
uation in which the county tax assessor-collector is exonerated,
which means a conviction for a crime is reversed. The burden
of proof in a criminal case is much higher than the burden of
proof used for the Recognition Program. Also, the elements of
a crime in a criminal case are different than the criteria used in
the Recognition Program.

COMMENT

Hansford County and Hemphill County object to the requirement
for the county to timely pay registration fee collections because
the COGNOS system does not timely provide the county with the
report and does not work properly. Also, Hansford County stated
the county may have to wait for funds from any IRP registrations.

RESPONSE

The department will not hold it against a county tax assessor-
collector if the department or a department system is responsible
for the county tax assessor-collector's failure to comply with the
recognition criteria.

COMMENT

Aransas County commented that §217.205 is not specific
enough regarding when the department would revoke or demote
a recognition level if the department discovers information that
shows the county tax assessor-collector no longer complies
with the criteria for the recognition level.

RESPONSE

The department amended §217.205(c) to clarify when the de-
partment may revoke a recognition level and when the depart-
ment may demote a recognition level if the department discov-
ers information which shows the county tax assessor-collector
no longer complies with the criteria for the recognition level.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The new subchapter is adopted under Transportation Code,
§1002.001, which provides the board of the Texas Department
of Motor Vehicles (board) with the authority to adopt rules neces-
sary and appropriate to implement the powers and the duties of
the department under the Transportation Code; Transportation
Code, §520.003, which states the department may adopt rules
to administer Chapter 520, Miscellaneous Provisions; and more
specifically, Transportation Code, §520.004, which states the
department by rule shall establish standards for uniformity and
service quality for counties; and Government Code, §2001.004,
which requires a state agency to adopt rules of practice stating
the nature and requirements of all available formal and informal
procedures.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE
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Government Code, §2001.004;
§520.004.

$§217.203. Recognition Criteria.

(a) Levels of recognition. The department will establish crite-
ria for multiple levels of recognition for performance.

and Transportation Code,

(b) Recognition criteria for minimum recognition level. The
recognition criteria shall include, but are not limited to, factors that
indicate whether the office:

(1) timely remits registration fee collections;
(2) timely remits motor vehicle sales tax and penalties;

(3) consistently applies statutes, rules, and policies govern-
ing motor vehicle transactions; and

(4) maintains bonds as required by statute or administrative
rule.

(c) Recognition criteria for a higher recognition level. In ad-
dition to the recognition criteria listed in subsection (b) of this section,
the recognition criteria shall include, but are not limited to, factors that
indicate whether the office:

(1) performs efficiently and with low error rates;
(2) processes transactions in a timely fashion;
(3) has customer feedback programs; and

(4) has fraud, waste, and abuse awareness and prevention
programs.

(d) Possible additional criteria for a higher recognition level.
In addition to the recognition criteria listed in subsections (b) and (c)
of this section, the department may include recognition criteria, such
as the following, that indicate whether the office:

(1) implements cost-saving measures; and

(2) has customer feedback metrics to measure customer
satisfaction.

(e) Posting recognition criteria. The department shall post the
recognition criteria on its website.

§217.204. Applications.

(a) Application deadline. If a county tax assessor-collector
chooses to apply for a recognition level or to apply for a higher level
of recognition under the Performance Quality Recognition Program,
the county tax assessor-collector must submit an application to the de-
partment during any year of the county tax assessor-collector's term of
office. The application must be received by the department or post-
marked no later than October 31st.

(b) Application from a successor county tax assessor-collector.
A successor county tax assessor-collector is not eligible for a recogni-
tion level until after serving as the county tax assessor-collector during
an entire state fiscal year, which is September 1st through August 31st.

(c) Application for a higher level of recognition.

(1) If a county tax assessor-collector obtains a recognition
level and chooses to apply for a higher level of recognition during the
term of the existing recognition level, the county tax assessor-collector
is not eligible to apply for a higher level until after serving as the county
tax assessor-collector during an entire state fiscal year subsequent to the
state fiscal year for which the existing recognition level was awarded.

(2) If the department demotes a county tax assessor-col-
lector's recognition level, the county tax assessor-collector is not eli-
gible to apply for a higher level of recognition until after serving as

the county tax assessor-collector during an entire state fiscal year sub-
sequent to the state fiscal year during which the existing recognition
level was demoted.

(d) Application for a recognition level after revocation of
recognition level. If the department revokes a county tax assessor-col-
lector's recognition level, the county tax assessor-collector is not
eligible to apply for a recognition level until after serving as the county
tax assessor-collector during an entire state fiscal year subsequent to
the state fiscal year during which the recognition level was revoked.

(e) Application form. The application must be submitted on a
form prescribed by the department.

(f) Signature on application. The county tax assessor-collector
must sign the application.

(g) Additional information, documentation, or clarification.
At the department's discretion, the department may request additional
information, documentation, or clarification from the county tax
assessor-collector after the department receives an application. The
department shall provide the county tax assessor-collector with a
deadline to respond to the request.

$§217.205. Department Decision to Award, Deny, Revoke, or Demote
a Recognition Level.

(a) Award of recognition level. The department may award a
recognition level based on the following for the time frame of Septem-
ber Ist through August 31st immediately preceding the application
deadline:

(1) information and documents contained in the applica-
tion;

(2) any additional information, documentation, or clarifi-
cation requested by the department; and

(3) information and documentation from department
records.

(b) Denial of recognition level. The department may deny an
award of recognition if:

(1) the application contains any incomplete or inaccurate
information,;

(2) the applicant fails to provide requested documents;
(3) the application contains incomplete documents;

(4) the application was not received by the department or
postmarked by the department's deadline;

(5) the county tax assessor-collector who applied for recog-
nition no longer holds the office of county tax assessor-collector;

(6) the county tax assessor-collector did not sign the appli-
cation; or

(7) the department discovers information which shows the
applicant does not comply with the criteria to receive a recognition
level.

(c) Revocation of recognition level or demotion of recognition
level.

(1) The department may revoke a recognition level if the
department discovers information which shows the county tax asses-
sor-collector no longer complies with the criteria for any recognition
level.

(2) The department may demote a recognition level if the
department discovers information which shows the county tax asses-
sor-collector no longer complies with the criteria for the current recog-
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nition level, but still complies with the criteria for a recognition level.
The recognition level will be demoted to the highest recognition level
for which the county tax assessor-collector qualifies.

(d) Notice of department decision to award, deny, revoke, or
demote a recognition level. The department shall notify the county
tax assessor-collector of the department's decision via email, facsimile
transmission, or regular mail.

(e) Deadline for department decision to award or to deny a
recognition level. No later than 90 calendar days after receiving the
application for recognition, the department shall send a written notice
to the applicant stating:

(1) the department's decision to award or to deny a recog-
nition level; or

(2) there will be a delay in the department's decision.

§217.206. Term of Recognition Level.

(a) Expiration of recognition level. Except as provided in sub-
sections (b), (c), (d), and (e) of this section, the recognition level ex-
pires on the later of the end of the county tax assessor-collector's term
of office during which the recognition was awarded or the one-year an-
niversary of the start of their re-election term of office.

(b) Demoted recognition level. If a recognition level is de-
moted during the term of a recognition level, the demoted recognition
level expires on the later of the end of the county tax assessor-collec-
tor's term of office during which the recognition level was demoted or
the one-year anniversary of the start of their re-election term of office,
except as provided in subsections (c), (d), and (e) of this section. If
a recognition level is demoted during the first year of the county tax
assessor-collector's re-election term of office and the recognition level

was awarded during the county tax assessor-collector's prior term of
office, the demoted recognition level expires on the one-year anniver-
sary of the start of their re-election term of office, except as provided
in subsections (c¢) and (e) of this section.

(c) Revoked recognition level. A recognition level that is re-
voked will terminate on the effective date of the revocation.

(d) Decision on application for a higher level of recognition.
If a county tax assessor-collector chooses to apply for a higher level of
recognition, the existing recognition level terminates once the depart-
ment makes a decision on the application for a higher level of recogni-
tion.

(e) County tax assessor-collector no longer holds office. The
recognition level awarded to a county tax assessor-collector expires
when the county tax assessor-collector no longer holds the office of
county tax assessor-collector.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 19, 2016.

TRD-201603558

David D. Duncan

General Counsel

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
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