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Adopted rules include new rules, amendments to existing rules, and repeals of existing
LE S rules. A rule adopted by a state agency takes effect 20 days after the date on which it is
filed with the Secretary of State unless a later date is required by statute or specified in
the rule (Government Code, §2001.036). If a rule is adopted without change to the text of the proposed rule, then the
Texas Register does not republish the rule text here. If a rule is adopted with change to the text of the proposed rule, then
the final rule text is included here. The final rule text will appear in the Texas Administrative Code on the effective date.

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION

PART 15. TEXAS HEALTH AND
HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

CHAPTER 371. MEDICAID AND OTHER
HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FRAUD
AND ABUSE PROGRAM INTEGRITY
SUBCHAPTER G. ADMINISTRATIVE
ACTIONS AND SANCTIONS

DIVISION 3. ADMINISTRATIVE ACTIONS
AND SANCTIONS

1 TAC §371.1713

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC)
adopts the repeal of §371.1713, concerning Restricted Reim-
bursement, without changes to the proposed text as published
in the January 29, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg
717) and will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

Section 371.1713 is repealed because it contains a process the
Office of the Inspector General no longer uses."

COMMENTS

The 30-day comment period ended February 29, 2016. No com-
ments were received regarding the repeal of §371.1713.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The repeal is adopted under Texas Government Code
§531.102(a-2), which requires the Executive Commissioner
to work in consultation with the Office of Inspector General
to adopt rules necessary to implement a power or duty of the
office; Texas Government Code §531.033, which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with broad rulemaking
authority; and Texas Human Resources Code §32.021 and
Texas Government Code §531.021(a), which provide HHSC
with the authority to administer the federal medical assistance
(Medicaid) program in Texas, to administer Medicaid funds, and
to adopt rules necessary for the proper and efficient regulations
of the Medicaid program.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 28, 2016.
TRD-201603734

Karen Ray

Chief Counsel

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Effective date: August 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: January 29, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-6900
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TITLE 10. COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
HOUSING AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS

CHAPTER 5. COMMUNITY AFFAIRS
PROGRAMS
SUBCHAPTER H. SECTION 8 HOUSING

CHOICE VOUCHER PROGRAM
10 TAC §5.802

The Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (the
"Department") adopts an amendment to 10 TAC Chapter 5
Community Affairs Programs, Subchapter H, Section 8 Housing
Choice Voucher Program, §5.802, Local Operators for the
Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program without changes to
the proposed text as published in the June 10, 2016, issue of
the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4136). The amended rule will
not be republished.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. The purpose of the amendment
to 10 TAC §5.802 is to remove definitions, eligibility criteria, the
application process, and requirements relating to procuring new
Local Operators because the Department is no longer utilizing
new Local Operators, and clarifies the responsibilities and eligi-
bility criteria and performance requirements for Local Operators.

SUMMARY OF PUBLIC COMMENT AND STAFF RECOMMEN-
DATIONS. The public comment period was held June 6, 2016,
through July 6, 2016. No comment was received during this pe-
riod.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is adopted pur-
suant to Texas Government Code §2306.053, which authorizes
the Department to adopt rules, and Chapter 2306, Subchapter
E, which authorizes the Department to administer its Community
Affairs programs.

The adopted amendment affects no other code, article, or
statute.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.
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Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 28, 2016.

TRD-201603736

Timothy K. Irvine

Executive Director

Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs
Effective date: August 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 10, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 475-3803
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TITLE 13. CULTURAL RESOURCES

PART 2. TEXAS HISTORICAL
COMMISSION

CHAPTER 13. TEXAS HISTORIC
PRESERVATION TAX CREDIT PROGRAM
13 TAC §§13.1, 13.2, 13.6

The Texas Historical Commission adopts amendments to 13
Texas Administrative Code §13.1, relating to Definitions, §13.2,
relating to Qualification Requirements, and §13.6, relating to the
application review process, with changes to the proposed text
as published in the May 20, 2016, issue of the Texas Register
(41 TexReg 3571). These changes are necessary to clarify the
circumstances under which lessees may be eligible to apply for
the franchise tax credit and to clarify requirements for non-profit
entities newly allowed to participate in the program, and to allow
certain partial rehabilitations to participate in the program.

Section 13.1 defines the words and terms used in the rules. The
amendment to that section specifies which long-term lessees
may be considered to be an owner of a property and thus
may become eligible to receive a tax credit. The requirement
is consistent with the requirements of Internal Revenue Code
§47(c)(2). A long-term lessee of a property may be considered
an owner if their current lease term is at minimum 27.5 years
for residential rental property, or 39 years for nonresidential real
property.

The second amendment implements changes to the Tax Code
made by House Bill 3230, 84th Texas Legislature. This legis-
lation established that entities not subject to the franchise tax
under §171.063, Tax Code, are not ineligible to claim eligible
costs and expenses as part of the tax credit program. Although
this policy change was directly addressed by a previous amend-
ment to §13.1, eligibility for these projects is secondarily con-
strained by an existing rule in §13.2 that disqualifies applicants
if they fail to submit an application prior to project completion.
Some otherwise eligible projects could be incidentally disquali-
fied by this provision due to the timing of the legislative change.
The amendment to §13.2 will waive this requirement only for the
affected projects in the calendar year between the date when
this program went into effect, and the date when H.B. 3230 went
into effect, thus eliminating this inconsistency and ensuring these
projects will remain eligible.

Section 13.6 describes the application review process and fur-
ther specifies how the scope of the project may be defined for
review purposes. The third amendment will, under certain cir-
cumstances, allow portions of a larger scope of work to be con-
sidered as an individual project.

During the public comment period for the proposed rules, com-
ments were provided by Kennedy Sutherland LLP regarding
these proposed amendments. As a result, a reference in the
text of the third amendment has been edited for clarity, but no
further changes have been made.

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code
§442.005 and Texas Tax Code §171.909, which provide the
Commission with authority to promulgate rules that will reason-
ably effect the purposes of those chapters.

§13.1.  Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in these rules shall have the
following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) Applicant--The entity that has submitted an application
for a building or structure it owns or for which it has a contract to
purchase.

(2) Application--A fully completed Texas Historic Preser-
vation Tax Credit Certification Application form submitted to the Com-
mission, which includes three parts:

(A) Part A - Evaluation of Significance, to be used by
the Commission to make a determination whether the building is a cer-
tified historic structure;

(B) Part B - Description of Rehabilitation, to be used by
the Commission to review proposed projects for compliance with the
Standards for Rehabilitation; and

(C) Part C - Request for Certification of Completed
Work, to be used by the Commission to review completed projects for
compliance with the work approved under Part B.

(3) Application fee--The fee charged by the Commission
and paid by the applicant for the review of Part B and Part C of the
application as follows:

Figure: 13 TAC §13.1(3) (No change.)

(4) Audited cost report--Such documentation as defined by
the Comptroller in 34 TAC Chapter 3, Tax Administration.

(5) Building--Any edifice enclosing a space within its
walls, and usually covered by a roof, the purpose of which is prin-
cipally to shelter any form of human activity, such as shelter or
housing, or to provide working, office, parking, display, or sales space.
The term includes among other examples, banks, office buildings,
factories, warehouses, barns, railway or bus stations, and stores and
may also be used to refer to a historically and functionally related
unit, such as a courthouse and jail or a house and barn. Functional
constructions made usually for purposes other than creating human
shelter or activity such as bridges, windmills, and towers are not
considered buildings under this definition and are not eligible to be
certified historic structures.

(6) Certificate of eligibility--A document issued by the
Commission to the Owner, following review and approval of a Part C
application, that confirms the property to which the eligible costs and
expenses relate is a certified historic structure and the rehabilitation
qualifies as a certified rehabilitation; and specifies the date the certified
historic structure was first placed in service after the rehabilitation.

(7) Certified historic structure--A building or buildings lo-
cated on a property in Texas that is certified by the Commission as:

(A) listed individually in the National Register of His-
toric Places;

(B) designated as a Recorded Texas Historic Landmark
under §442.006, Texas Government Code, or as a State Antiquities
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Landmark under Chapter 191, Texas Natural Resources Code; §21.6
and §26.3(63) - (64) of this title; or

(C) certified by the Commission as contributing to the
historic significance of:

(i) a historic district listed in the National Register
of Historic Places; or

(ii) a certified local district as per 36 CFR §67.9.

(8) Certified local district--A local historic district certified
by the United States Department of the Interior in accordance with 36
C.FR. §67.9.

(9) Certified rehabilitation--The rehabilitation of a certified
historic structure that the Commission has certified as meeting the Stan-
dards for Rehabilitation. If the project is submitted for the federal re-
habilitation tax credit it must be reviewed by the National Park Service
prior to a determination that it meets the requirements for a certificated
rehabilitation under this rule. In the absence of a determination for the
federal rehabilitation tax credit, the Commission shall have the sole re-
sponsibility for certifying the project.

(10) Commission--The Texas Historical Commission. For
the purpose of notifications or filing of any applications or other cor-
respondence, delivery shall be made via postal mail to: Texas His-
toric Preservation Tax Credit Program, Texas Historical Commission,
P.O. Box 12276, Austin, Texas 78711-2276; or by overnight delivery
at: Texas Historic Preservation Tax Credit Program, Texas Historical
Commission, 1700 North Congress Avenue, Suite B-65, Austin, Texas
78701.

(11) Comptroller--The Texas Comptroller of Public Ac-
counts.

(12) Contributing--A building in a historic district consid-
ered to be historically, culturally, or architecturally significant accord-
ing to the criteria established by state or federal government, includ-
ing those formally promulgated by the National Park Service and the
United States Department of the Interior at 36 C.F.R. Part 60 and ap-
plicable National Register bulletins.

(13) Credit--The tax credit for the certified rehabilitation
of certified historic structures available pursuant to Chapter 171, Sub-
chapter S of the Texas Tax Code.

(14) District--A geographically definable area, urban or ru-
ral, possessing a significant concentration, linkage, or continuity of
sites, buildings, structures, or objects united by past events or aesthet-
ically by plan or physical development. A district may also comprise
individual elements separated geographically but linked by association
or history.

(15) Eligible costs and expenses--The qualified rehabilita-
tion expenditures as defined by §47(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code, in-
cluding rehabilitation expenses as set out in 26 C.F.R. §1.48-12(c), in-
curred during the project. The depreciation and tax-exempt use provi-
sions of §47(c)(2) do not apply to the costs and expenses incurred by
an entity exempt from the tax imposed by Section 171.063 of the Tax
Code.

(16) Federal rehabilitation tax credit--A federal income tax
credit for 20% of qualified rehabilitation expenditures with respect to
a certified historic structure, as defined in §47, Internal Revenue Code;
26 C.F.R. §1.48-12; and 36 C.F.R. Part 67.

(17) National Park Service--The agency of the U.S. De-
partment of the Interior that is responsible for certifying projects to
receive the federal rehabilitation tax credit.

(18) Owner--A person, partnership, company, corporation,
whether for profit or not, governmental body, or other entity holding a
legal or equitable interest in a Property or Structure, which can include
a full or partial ownership interest. A long-term lessee of a property
may be considered an owner if their current lease term is at minimum
27.5 years for residential rental property, or 39 years for nonresidential
real property, as referenced by §47(c)(2), Internal Revenue Code.

(19) Phased development--A rehabilitation project which
may reasonably be expected to be completed in two or more distinct
states of development, as defined by United States Treasury Regula-
tion 26 C.F.R. §1.48-12(b)(2)(v). Each phase of a phased development
can independently support an Application for a credit as though it was
a stand-alone rehabilitation. If any completed phase of the rehabilita-
tion project does not meet the requirements of a certified rehabilitation,
future applications by the same owner for the same certified historic
structure will not be considered.

(20) Placed in service--A status obtained upon completion
of the rehabilitation project when the building is ready to be reoccupied
and any permits and licenses needed to occupy the building have been
issued. Evidence of the date a property is placed in service includes a
certificate of occupancy issued by the local building official and/or an
architect's certificate of substantial completion.

(21) Property--A parcel of real property containing one or
more buildings or structures that is the subject of an application for a
credit.

(22) Rehabilitation--The process of returning a building or
buildings to a state of utility, through repair or alteration, which makes
possible an efficient use while retaining those portions and features of
the building and its site and environment which are significant.

(23) Rehabilitation plan--Descriptions, drawings, con-
struction plans, and specifications for the proposed rehabilitation of a
certified historic structure in sufficient detail to enable the Commission
to evaluate compliance with the Standards for Rehabilitation.

(24) Standards for Rehabilitation--The United States Sec-
retary of the Interior's Standards for Rehabilitation as defined in 36
C.FR. §67.7.

(25) Structure--A building; see also certified historic struc-
ture.

§13.2.  Qualification Requirements.
(a) Qualification for credit.

(1) An Owner is eligible for a credit for eligible costs and
expenses incurred in the certified rehabilitation of a certified historic
structure if:

(A) therehabilitated certified historic structure is placed
in service on or after September 1, 2013;

(B) the Owner has an ownership interest in the certified
historic structure in the year during which the structure is placed in
service after the rehabilitation; and

(C) the total amount of the eligible costs and expenses
incurred exceeds $5,000.

(2) A property for which eligible costs and expenses are
submitted for the credit must meet Internal Revenue Code §47(c)(2)
which includes:

(A) non-residential real property; or

(B) residential rental property.
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(b) Eligible costs and expenses. Eligible costs and expenses
means those costs and expenses allowed pursuant to Internal Revenue
Code §47(c)(2). Such eligible costs and expenses, include, but are not
limited to:

(1) expenditures associated with structural components as
defined by United States Treasury Regulation §1.48-1(e)(2) including
walls, partitions, floors, ceilings, windows and doors, stairs, elevators,
escalators, sprinkling systems, fire escapes, components of central air
conditioning, heating, plumbing, and electrical systems and other com-
ponents related to the operation or maintenance of the building;

(2) architectural services;
(3) engineering services;

(4) construction management and labor, materials, and rea-
sonable overhead;

(5) subcontracted services;
(6) development fees;
(7) construction period interest and taxes; and

(8) other items referenced in Internal Revenue Code
§47(c)(2).
(c) Ineligible costs and expenses. Eligible costs and expenses

as defined in Internal Revenue Code §47(c)(2) do not include the fol-
lowing:

(1) the cost of acquiring any interest in the property;
(2) the personal labor by the applicant;

(3) any cost associated with the enlargement of an existing
building;

(4) site work expenditures, including any landscaping,
sidewalks, paving, decks, outdoor lighting remote from the building,
fencing, retaining walls or similar expenditures; or

(5) any cost associated with the rehabilitation of an out-
building or ancillary structure unless it is certified by the Commission
to contribute to the historical significance of the property.

(d) Eligibility date for costs and expenses.

(1) If the rehabilitated certified historic structure is placed
in service on or after September 1, 2013, but before January 1, 2015,
the Application may include eligible costs and expenses for the project
incurred up to 60 months prior to the date the property is placed in
service.

(2) If the rehabilitated certified historic structure is placed
in service on or after January 1, 2015, Part A of the Texas Historic
Preservation Tax Credit Certification Application must be submitted
prior to the building being placed in service. Projects completed on
or after January 1, 2015, but before January 1, 2016, are exempt from
this requirement only if their costs and expenses were incurred by an
entity exempt from the tax imposed by Section 171.063 of the Tax Code
within a 60 month period prior to the building's placed in service date.

(3) While the credit may be claimed for eligible costs and
expenses incurred prior to the filing of an application, potential appli-
cants are urged to file Parts A and B of the application at the earliest
possible date. This will allow the Commission to review the applica-
tion and provide guidance to the applicant that will increase the chances
that the application will ultimately be approved and the credit received.

(e) Phased development. Part B applications for rehabilita-
tion of the same certified historic structure may be submitted by the

same owner only if they describe clearly defined phases of work that
align with a cost report that separates the eligible costs and expenses
by phase. Separate Part B and C applications shall be submitted for re-
view by the Commission prior to issuance of a certificate of eligibility
for each phase.

(f) Amount of credit. The total amount of credit available is
twenty-five percent (25%) of the aggregate eligible costs and expenses
incurred in the certified rehabilitation of the certified historic structure.

§13.6. Application Review Process.

(a) Application form. The Commission staff will develop the
application and may modify it as needed over time. All required forms,
including application Parts A, B, C, and amendment forms, are avail-
able from the Commission at no cost.

(b) Delivery. Applications will be accepted beginning on Jan-
uary 1, 2015 and continuously thereafter. Applications should be de-
livered to the Commission by mail, hand delivery, or courier service.
Faxed or emailed applications will not be accepted.

(c) Application Part A - Evaluation of Significance. Part A
of the application will be used by the Commission to confirm historic
designation or to determine if the property is eligible for qualification
as a certified historic structure.

(1) Ifaproperty is individually listed in the National Regis-
ter of Historic Places or designated as a Recorded Texas Historic Land-
mark or State Antiquities Landmark, the property is qualified as a cer-
tified historic structure.

(2) The applicant will be responsible for providing suffi-
cient information to the Commission with which the Commission staff
may make a determination. If all requested information is not provided
to make a determination that a building is eligible for designation as a
certified historic structure, the staff may request additional information
from the applicant. If the additional information requested is not pro-
vided in a timely manner, the application will be considered incomplete
and review of the application will be placed on hold until sufficient in-
formation is received.

(3) The Commission staff review of Part A of a complete
application, unless otherwise provided in §13.8 of this title, and shall
notify the applicant in writing of any determination it makes upon com-
pleting the review of Part A of the application.

(4) There is no fee to review Part A of the application.

(d) Application Part B - Description of Rehabilitation. Part B
of the application will be used by the Commission to review proposed
projects for compliance with the Standards for Rehabilitation.

(1) The applicant will be responsible for providing suffi-
cient information, including photographs taken prior to the project, to
the Commission with which the Commission staff may make a deter-
mination. If all requested information is not provided to make a deter-
mination that a project is eligible as a certified rehabilitation, staff may
request additional information from the applicant, usually required to
be submitted within 30 days. If the additional information requested
is not provided in a timely manner, the application will be considered
incomplete and review of the application will be placed on hold until
sufficient information is received.

(2) The Commission staff will review Part B of a complete
application, unless otherwise provided in §13.8 of this title, and shall
notify the applicant in writing of any determination it makes upon com-
pleting the review of Part B of the application. In reviewing Part B of
the application, the Commission shall determine if Part B is approved
or not as follows:
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(A) Consistent with the Standards for Rehabilitation as
determined by the Commission. If all aspects of the Part B of the appli-
cation meet the standards for rehabilitation, no additional information
is required, and no conditions are imposed on the work, Part B is ap-
proved.

(B) Consistent with the Standards for Rehabilitation
with specific conditions of work required. The Commission may
determine that the work described in the plan must be performed in
a specific manner or with specific materials in order to fully comply
with the Standards for Rehabilitation. In such cases, the Part B may
be approved with specific conditions required. For applications found
to be consistent with the Standards for Rehabilitation with specific
conditions required, the applicant shall provide written acceptance
to the Commission of all specific conditions required. Otherwise the
application will be determined to be not consistent with the Standards
for Rehabilitation; applications found to be consistent with the Stan-
dards for Rehabilitation with specific conditions required may proceed
with the work but will only be eligible for the credit if the conditions
listed are met as part of the rehabilitation work. Failure to follow the
conditions may result in a determination by the Commission that the
project is not consistent with the Standards for Rehabilitation; or

(C) Not consistent with the Standards for Rehabilita-
tion. Applications found not to be consistent with the Standards for Re-
habilitation will be considered to be ineligible applications; the Com-
mission shall make recommendations to the applicant that might bring
the project into conformance with the Standards for Rehabilitation,
however no warranty is made that the recommendations will bring the
project into compliance with the Standards for Rehabilitation; the ap-
plicant may reapply and it will be treated as a new application and will
be subject to a new application fee.

(3) An application fee is required to be received by the
Commission before Commission review of Part B of the application.
The fee is based on the estimated amount of eligible costs and expenses
listed by the applicant on Part B of the application.

(A) Applicants must submit the fee with their Part B
application or the application will be placed on hold until the fee is
received. The fee is calculated according to a fee schedule approved
by the Commission and included in the application.

(B) The fee is based on the estimated aggregate eligi-
ble costs and expenses indicated in the Part B application and is not
refundable. Resubmission of a rejected application or under any other
circumstances will require a new fee. Amendments to a pending appli-
cation or approved project do not require additional fees.

(4) Amendment Sheet. Changes to the project not antic-
ipated in the original application shall be submitted to the Commis-
sion on an amendment sheet and must be approved by the Commission
as consistent with the Standards for Rehabilitation before they are in-
cluded in the project. The Commission shall review the amendment
sheet and issue a determination in writing regarding whether or not the
proposed change in the project is consistent with the Standards for Re-
habilitation.

(5) Scope of Review. The review encompasses the build-
ing's site and environment as well as any buildings that were function-
ally related historically. Therefore, any new construction and site im-
provements occurring on the historic property are considered part of
the project. Individual condominiums or commercial spaces within a
larger historic building are not considered individual properties apart
from the whole. The scope of review for a project is not limited to the
work that qualifies as an eligible expense. Likewise, all work com-
pleted by the current owner twenty-four (24) months before the sub-

mission of the application is considered part of the project, as is the cu-
mulative effect of any work in previously completed or future phases.

(A) Anapplicant may elect to apply to receive the credit
on only the exterior portions of a larger project that includes other work,
in which case the scope of review will be limited to the exterior work.
For properties that are individually listed on the National Register of
Historic Places, are designated as a Recorded Texas Historic Landmark
or State Antiquities Landmark, or determined to be eligible for these
designations, the scope of review must also include primary interior
spaces.

(B) For these projects described in part (5)(A) above,
all work completed by the current owner twenty-four (24) months be-
fore the submission of the application, and within the same scope of
review (e.g. exterior and/or primary interior) is considered part of the
project, as is the cumulative effect of any work in previously completed
or future phases within the same scope of review.

(e) Application Part C - Request for Certification of Com-
pleted Work. Part C of the application will be used by the Commission
to review completed projects for compliance with the work approved
under Part B.

(1) The applicant shall file Part C of the application after
the building is placed in service.

(2) The applicant will be responsible for providing suffi-
cient information, including photographs before and after the project,
to the Commission by which the Commission staff may verify com-
pliance with the approved Part B. If all requested information is not
provided to make a determination that a project is eligible as a certified
rehabilitation, the application is incomplete and review of the applica-
tion will be placed on hold until sufficient information is received.

(3) The Commission staff will review Part C of a complete
application, unless otherwise provided in §13.8 of this title, and shall
notify the applicant in writing of any determination it makes upon com-
pleting the review of Part C of the application.

(A) If the completed project is found to be in compli-
ance with the approved Part B and any required conditions and consis-
tent with the Standards for Rehabilitation, and the building is a certified
historic structure at the time of the application, the Commission shall
approve the project. The Commission then shall issue to the applicant a
certificate of eligibility that confirms the property to which the eligible
costs and expenses relate is a certified historic structure and the reha-
bilitation qualifies as a certified rehabilitation and specifies the date the
certified historic structure was first placed in service after the rehabili-
tation.

(B) If the completed project is not consistent with the
Standards for Rehabilitation, with the approved Part B, and/or the spe-
cific conditions required, and the project cannot, in the opinion of the
Commission, be brought into compliance, or if the building is not a cer-
tified historic structure at the time of the application, then the Commis-
sion shall deny Part C of the application and no certificate of eligibility
shall be issued.

(C) If the completed project is not consistent with the
Standards for Rehabilitation, with the approved Part B, and/or the spe-
cific conditions required, and the project can, in the opinion of the
Commission, be brought into compliance, the Commission may issue
remedial conditions that will bring the project into compliance. The
applicant shall complete the remedial work and file an amended Part
C. If the remedial work, in the opinion of the Commission, brings the
project into compliance, then the Commission shall issue a certificate
of eligibility.
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(4) An application fee is charged before Commission re-
view of the Part C of the application based on the amount of eligible
costs and expenses listed by applicant on Part C of the application.

(A) Applicants must submit the fee with their Part C
application or the application will be placed on hold until the fee is
received. The fee is calculated according to a fee schedule approved
by the Commission and included in the application.

(B) The fee is based on the eligible costs and expenses
as indicated in the audited cost report and is not refundable. Resub-
mission of a rejected application or under any other circumstances will
require a new fee. Amendments do not require additional fees.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 26, 2016.

TRD-201603689

Mark Wolfe

Executive Director

Texas Historical Commission

Effective date: August 15, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 463-6100
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CHAPTER 19. TEXAS MAIN STREET
PROGRAM
13 TAC §19.1, §19.5

The Texas Historical Commission (hereinafter referred to as the
"commission") adopts amendments to §19.1 and §19.5 of Chap-
ter 19 (Title 13, Part 2 of the Texas Administrative Code) relat-
ing to the Texas Main Street Program ("the program") without
changes to the proposed text as published in the May 20, 2016,
issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3575).

The Texas Historical Commission's Texas Main Street Program
is the agency's responsibility under §442.014, Title 4 Subtitle D
of the Texas Government Code. The Texas Main Street Pro-
gram utilizes a national model established by the National Trust
for Historic Preservation and the agency has been the state coor-
dinating program for thirty-five years. Administration of the pro-
gram must comply with the requirements of the national Main
Street America Program. Local communities in Texas wishing
to participate in the program must apply and participate under
the auspices of the Texas Historical Commission. Currently,
eighty-seven communities with populations from approximately
1,800 to 325,000 actively participate in the program statewide.

The purpose of the Texas Main Street Program is to assist com-
munities in the preservation and revitalization of their historic
downtowns and commercial neighborhood districts. The Main
Street Approach advocates a return to community self-reliance,
local empowerment and the rebuilding of traditional commercial
districts based on their unique assets: distinctive architecture, a
pedestrian-friendly environment, personal service, local owner-
ship and a sense of community. The Main Street Approach is a
comprehensive strategy tailored to meet local needs and oppor-
tunities. It encompasses work in four distinct areas combined
to address all of the commercial district's needs. The model is
based on the premise of a local organization of volunteers led
by a local professional manager working in cooperation with the

city and business communities. The Texas Historical Commis-
sion provides training, technical, and organizational assistance
to the local participants.

The amendment of Chapter 19 is adopted to clarify language
in the administration of the Texas Main Street Program. The
National Trust for Historic Preservation, through its non-profit
subsidiary the National Main Street Center has revised nomen-
clature within their Main Street America model of the program.
For consistency, amended §19.1 and §19.5 will refer to the Main
Street Approach rather than the specific points for which nomen-
clature has changed and may change again in the future.

The commission received no comments on the adoption of the
amendments.

Amendment of §19.1 and §19.5 of Chapter 19 is adopted under
§442.005(q), Title 4 Subtitle D of the Texas Government Code,
which provides the Texas Historical Commission with the author-
ity to promulgate rules and conditions to reasonably effect the
purposes of this chapter.

No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by these
amendments.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 26, 2016.

TRD-201603692

Mark Wolfe

Executive Director

Texas Historical Commission

Effective date: August 15, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 463-6100

¢ ¢ ¢
CHAPTER 24. RESTRICTED CULTURAL
RESOURCE INFORMATION

13 TAC §§24.7, 24.13, 24.15, 24.17, 24.19

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) adopts amendments
to §24.7, related to Definitions, §24.13, related to Restricted
Information, §24.15, related to Access to Both Public and Re-
stricted Cultural Resource Information, §24.17, related to Crite-
ria for Access to Restricted Information, and §24.19, related to
Restricted Information Application Submission and Review Pro-
cedures, without changes to the proposed text as published in
the May 20, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3576).
These changes are needed to further clarify the conditions and
procedures related to access to restricted information under the
control of the Commission.

Mark Wolfe, Executive Director, has determined that for the first
five-year period the amended rules are in effect there will be no
fiscal implications for state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering these rule amendments.

Mr. Wolfe has also determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the rule amendments are in effect the public
benefit anticipated as a result of these amendments will be im-
proved care of site locational information associated with cultural
resources in the State of Texas. Additionally, Mr. Wolfe as deter-
mined that there will be no effect on small businesses, and there
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is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to
comply with these rule amendments as adopted.

No comments were received regarding adoption of the amend-
ments.

Adoption of these amendments is authorized under Title 9,
Chapter 191 of the Texas Natural Resources Code, which
provides the Commission with authority to promulgate rules that
will reasonably effect the purposes of this chapter.

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by these
adopted amendments.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 27, 2016.

TRD-201603697

Mark Wolfe

Executive Director

Texas Historical Commission

Effective date: August 16, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 463-1858

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 28. HISTORIC SHIPWRECKS
13 TAC §28.6, §28.9

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) adopts amendments to
Texas Administrative Code, Title 13, Part 2, Chapter 28, §28.6,
related to Conduct of Activities, and §28.9, related to Analysis
and Presentation of Data, without changes to the proposed text
as published in the May 20, 2016, issue of the Texas Register
(41 TexReg 3578). These changes are needed to further clarify
the collection and presentation of marine remote-sensing data
as part of permitted underwater archeological investigations.

Mark Wolfe, Executive Director, has determined that for the first
five-year period the amended rules are in effect there will be no
fiscal implications for state or local government as a result of
enforcing or administering these rule amendments.

Mr. Wolfe has also determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the rule amendments are in effect the public
benefit anticipated as a result of these amendments will be im-
proved care of site locational information associated with cultural
resource in the State of Texas. Additionally, Mr. Wolfe has deter-
mined that there will be no effect on small businesses, and there
is no anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to
comply with these rule amendments as proposed.

No comments were received regarding adoption of the amend-
ments.

Adoption of these amendments is authorized under Title 9,
Chapter 191 of the Texas Natural Resources Code, which
provides the Commission with authority to promulgate rules that
will reasonably effect the purposes of this chapter.

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by these amend-
ments.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 27, 2016.

TRD-201603698

Mark Wolfe

Executive Director

Texas Historical Commission

Effective date: August 16, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 463-1858

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 29. MANAGEMENT AND CARE
OF ARTIFACTS AND COLLECTIONS
13 TAC §§29.4 - 29.6

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) adopts amendments
to §29.4, related to Definitions; §29.5, related to Disposition of
Archeological Collections; and §29.6, related to Certification of
Curatorial Facilities for State-Associated Held-in-Trust Collec-
tions without changes to the proposed text as published in the
May 20, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3580).
The amendments are adopted under the jurisdiction of the An-
tiquities Code of Texas (Title 9, Chapter 191, of the Texas Natural
Resources Code). These changes are needed to further clarify
the conditions and procedures related to the management and
care of artifacts and collections under the control of the Commis-
sion.

Mark Wolfe, Executive Director, has determined that for the first
five-year period the amended rules are in effect there will be min-
imal fiscal implications for state or local governments as a result
of enforcing or administering the amended rules.

Mr. Wolfe has also determined that for each year of the first
five-year period the rules are in effect the public benefit antic-
ipated as a result of the implementation of these rules will be
better care of artifacts collected with public funds. There will be
minimal effects on small businesses or micro-businesses. There
are minimal anticipated economic costs to persons who are re-
quired to comply with the rules as adopted.

No comments were received regarding adoption of the amend-
ments.

The rule amendments are adopted under both §442.005(q) of
the Texas Government Code and §191.052, Title 9, Chapter 191
of the Texas Natural Resources Code, which provides the Texas
Historical Commission with the authority to promulgate rules and
conditions to reasonably effect the purposes of this chapter.

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by these amend-
ments.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 27, 2016.

TRD-201603699

Mark Wolfe

Executive Director

Texas Historical Commission

Effective date: August 16, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 463-1858

ADOPTED RULES

August 12, 2016 41 TexReg 5997



¢ L4 ¢
TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION

PART 3. TEXAS ALCOHOLIC
BEVERAGE COMMISSION

CHAPTER 31. ADMINISTRATION
16 TAC §31.4

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission adopts amendments
to §31.4, relating to Public Information Signs, with changes to the
proposal as published in the June 10, 2016, issue of the Texas
Register (41 TexReg 4139).

Section 31.4 addresses signs that must be posted at a licensed
premises informing consumers how to file a complaint with the
commission about the sale or service of alcoholic beverages at
the establishment, and signs that must be posted at licensed or
permitted premises that are authorized to sell alcoholic bever-
ages for consumption on the premises informing consumers of
health risks associated with drinking alcohol during pregnancy.

The amendments provide the statutory authorization for each
sign requirement. The amendments clarify that the complaint
sign requirement applies to businesses that hold permits as well
as to those which hold licenses. The amendments also indicate
that complaints may be filed by using the commission's website
or a commission-authorized mobile application, as well as by
mail or telephone.

Section 31.4 was also reviewed under Government Code
§2001.039, which requires each state agency to periodically
review and consider for readoption each of its rules. The com-
mission has determined that the need for the section continues
to exist but that it should be amended.

Although the commission received no comments on the pro-
posed amendments, the commission is making one change to
the published proposal. The published amendments did not pro-
pose to change the commission's telephone number as it ap-
peared in the version of the rule adopted in 2008. That number
is the 512 area code number at the commission's headquarters
in Austin. The commission is instead adopting a change that
substitutes the toll-free commission number (1-888-THE-TABC).
This change does not involve any new subject or affect any new
persons, and therefore republication is not required. (See Board
of Insurance v. Deffebach, 631 SW2d 794 (Tex. App. Austin
1982).

The amendments are adopted pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary
to carry out the provisions of the Code.

$31.4.  Public Information Signs.

(a) Complaint Sign. In accordance with Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.53(d), any licensed or permitted business location in the state
which sells or serves alcoholic beverages to the ultimate consumer shall
display at his place of business in a prominent place easily seen by the
public, i.e. near the door or by the cash register, a sign that provides
the following information: "If you have a complaint about the sale or
service of alcoholic beverages in this establishment, please contact the
Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission by mail at P.O. Box 13127,
Austin, Texas 78711-3127, by phone at 1-888-THE-TABC, by internet
at www.tabc.texas.gov, or by a TABC-authorized mobile application."

(1) This sign shall be no smaller than 6 inches by 3-1/2
inches and shall be in lettering or type of a size sufficient to render
it both conspicuous and readily legible.

(2) The sign shall be made of sturdy material; if made of
paper, the weight shall be no less than 65# stock.

(b) Health Risk Warning Sign. In accordance with Alcoholic
Beverage Code §§11.042 and 61.111, a holder of a license or permit
authorizing the sale of alcoholic beverages for on premises consump-
tion shall display a health risks warning sign. The health risks warning
sign must:

(1) be posted at each egress of all public restrooms on the
licensed premises;

(2) be placed at a level where the sign can be easily seen
by persons exiting the restroom;

(3) be not less than 8 1/2 x 11 inches in size;

(4) the following language shall be printed in English and
in Spanish, in bold black type on a white surface, or other clearly legible
graphic design, with a font or type set size of not less than 28 point Arial
or Helvetica:

Figure: 16 TAC §31.4(b)(4)

(c) The responsibility of furnishing the required signs in this
section is the sole responsibility of the licensee or permittee.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 27, 2016.

TRD-201603707

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Effective date: August 16, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 10, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489

¢ L4 ¢
CHAPTER 33. LICENSING
SUBCHAPTER A. APPLICATION
PROCEDURES
16 TAC §33.7

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission adopts amendments
to §33.7, relating to Monitoring Sales Data, without changes to
the proposal as published in the June 10, 2016, issue of the
Texas Register (41 TexReg 4140).

Section 33.7 implements Alcoholic Beverage Code §104.06(b),
which requires the commission to adopt rules for making a deter-
mination whether 51 percent of the gross receipts of a premises
for which the license or permit is issued are from the sale or ser-
vice of alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption. If the
commission determines that 51 percent of the gross receipts are
from such sales or service, Alcoholic Beverage Code §104.06(c)
requires the license or permit holder to comply with Government
Code §411.204. That section of the Government Code requires
certain types of license or permit holders who meet the 51 per-
cent threshold to post a sign that gives notice to persons who are
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licensed to carry a handgun that it is unlawful for them to carry a
handgun on the premises.

The amendments retitle the section to more precisely reflect the
commission's role, which is to monitor sales data and make the
51 percent determination. The amendments more accurately re-
flect the statutory requirement that the commission make such
determination regarding any premises that allows on-premises
consumption and not just those premises that are subject to the
posting requirements in Government Code §411.204. For the
same reason, the exemption for food and beverage certificate
holders in subsection (c) of the current rule is deleted in the
amendments.

Section 33.7 was also reviewed under Government Code
§2001.039, which requires each state agency to periodically
review and consider for readoption each of its rules. The com-
mission has determined that the need for the section continues
to exist but that it should be amended.

No comments were received.

The amendments are adopted pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary
to carry out the provisions of the Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 28, 2016.

TRD-201603730

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Effective date: August 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 10, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. LICENSE AND PERMIT
ACTION
16 TAC §33.34

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission adopts new rule
§33.34, relating to Reporting Permit or License Changes, with-
out changes to the proposal as published in the June 10, 2016
issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4140).

New §33.34 establishes timelines for permittees and licensees
to report changes to the information provided in their original ap-
plications (or most recent renewal applications) prior to renewal.

Subsection (a) provides the reason for the rule and the statu-
tory authority for it. It also establishes that the rule applies to
changes in the information that was provided to the commission
in connection with an original application, or changes to the most
recent information that has been provided to the commission.

Subsection (b) sets forth the types of changes that must be re-
ported within 30 days following the date the change occurred,
including changes to the type of business, contact information,
criminal history, property ownership, arrangements with man-
agement companies or concession companies, the employer of
certain agent permittees or licensees, or (in most circumstances)
the organization (as that term is defined by Business Organi-

zations Code §1.002(62), which includes corporations, partner-
ships, limited liability companies, etc.). Certain organizational
changes that fall under subsection (d) have a different timeline.

Subsection (c) provides that changes to the corporate control of
a mixed beverage permittee (as described in Alcoholic Beverage
Code §28.04) or to the tradename of any permit or license must
be reported prior to the date the change will occur.

Subsection (d) provides that a change to a business entity that
is described in Alcoholic Beverage Code §11.12 or §61.14 must
be reported not later than the 11th day preceding the date the
change will occur, as prescribed by those sections of the Code.

Subsection (e) refers to two types of changes (a change of the
mailing address or of the licensed or permitted location) that are
subject to the timelines established by other commission rules.

Subsection (f) provides that all changes subject to the section
must be reported on forms prescribed by the commission.

Subsection (g) clarifies that nothing in the section restricts the
commission's authority under Alcoholic Beverage Code §5.32 to
get necessary information at any time.

No comments were received.

The amendments are adopted pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary
to carry out the provisions of the Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603782

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Effective date: August 18, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 10, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489

. . .
CHAPTER 35. ENFORCEMENT
SUBCHAPTER A. TRANSPORTATION OF
LIQUOR
16 TAC §35.2

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission adopts amendments
to §35.2, relating to Transportation of Imported Liquor, without
changes to the proposal as published in the June 10, 2016, issue
of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4142).

Section 35.2 addresses the transportation by holders of carrier
permits or private carrier permits of liquor imported into the state.
Although both types of carriers are required by subsection (b)
to have invoices covering a shipment of liquor into the state,
formerly subsection (c) only applied its obligation regarding the
specificity of such an invoice to private carrier permittees. Simi-
larly, subsection (d) formerly only imposed the obligation to use
the most direct route practical on private carrier permittees.

The amendments change the title of the section to more
precisely reflect that the substance of the rule deals with the
transportation, rather than the actual importation, of liquor. The
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amendments also apply the obligations imposed by subsections
(c) and (d) to any type of carrier.

Section 35.2 was also reviewed under Government Code
§2001.039, which requires each state agency to periodically
review and consider for readoption each of its rules. The com-
mission has determined that the need for the section continues
to exist but that it should be amended.

No comments were received.

The amendments are adopted pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary
to carry out the provisions of the Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 28, 2016.

TRD-201603732

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Effective date: August 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 10, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489
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SUBCHAPTER D. PLACE OR MANNER
16 TAC §35.32

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission adopts amendments
to §35.32, relating to Reporting a Breach of the Peace, without
changes to the proposal as published in the June 10, 2016, issue
of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4142).

Section 35.32 addresses the procedures to be followed by a per-
mittee or licensee who is reporting to the commission a breach of
the peace that has occurred at a licensed or permitted location.
Subsection (c) describes the methods by which such reports may
be made.

The amendments to subsection (c) update the commission's
e-mail address. Also, new paragraph (5) allows reports to be
made using a commission-authorized mobile application. The
commission anticipates rolling out such an application soon.

No comments were received.

The amendments are adopted pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary
to carry out the provisions of the Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 27, 2016.

TRD-201603706

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Effective date: August 16, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 10, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489
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CHAPTER 39 PORT OF ENTRY
16 TAC §39.1

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission adopts amendments
to §39.1, relating to Personal Importation, without changes to the
proposal as published in the June 10, 2016, issue of the Texas
Register (41 TexReg 4144).The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Com-
mission proposes amendments to §39.1, relating to Tax Stamps.

Formerly, §39.1 applied to stamps used in connection with the
commission's tax collection activities at ports of entry. Subsec-
tions (a) and (b) addressed the liability of commission represen-
tatives relating to the value of the stamps and the funds collected
for their issuance. Subsections (c) and (d) addressed classes of
stamps and types of beverages.

The commission has determined that the rule is archaic and pro-
poses amendments to make the section more current and useful,
including a change to the title of the section.

The amendments to subsection (a) state the commission's statu-
tory authority regarding the use of stamps to demonstrate the
payment of taxes.

The amendments to subsection (b) clarify that alcoholic bever-
ages imported into the state for personal consumption must pay
the applicable state tax plus a $3.00 administrative fee. The
amendments also provide that the posted tax rates will include
the administrative fee.

The amendments to subsection (c) provide that the payment of
the fees and taxes described in subsection (b) must be docu-
mented by a tax stamp.

The amendments delete subsection (d) as unnecessarily du-
plicative of the Alcoholic Beverage Code §1.04(4) definition of
"illicit beverage".

Section 39.1 was also reviewed under Government Code
§2001.039, which requires each state agency to periodically
review and consider for readoption each of its rules. The
commission has determined that the need for a rule addressing
taxation at ports of entry continues to exist but that it should be
amended.

No comments were received.

The amendments are adopted pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary
to carry out the provisions of the Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 28, 2016.

TRD-201603733

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Effective date: August 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 10, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489
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CHAPTER 41. AUDITING
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SUBCHAPTER C. RECORDS AND REPORTS
BY LICENSEES AND PERMITTEES
16 TAC §41.28

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission adopts amend-
ments to §41.28, relating to Sale and Delivery of Beer to Retail
Premises and Private Clubs, with changes to the proposal as
published in the June 10, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41
TexReg 4145).

Section 41.28 addresses transporting beer through a dry area
and consummating its sale at a retailer's premise or a private
club located in a wet area. The amendments clarify the language
of the rule and include references to additional authorized sellers
who may engage in the activity.

The commission received one comment on the proposed rule.
Cheri Huddleston suggested that there might be ambiguity be-
cause the term "authorized seller" was not defined. The com-
mission addresses this concern by amending subsection (a) to
characterize as "authorized sellers" those specific licensees who
are authorized to engage in the activities described in the rule.
When reference is made to "authorized sellers" thereafter in the
rule, it will be clear that the reference is to these licensees specif-
ically characterized as such. This change does not involve any
new subject or affect any new persons, and therefore republica-
tion is not required. (See Board of Insurance v. Deffebach, 631
SW2d 794 (Tex. App. Austin 1982).

Section 41.28 was also reviewed under Government Code
§2001.039, which requires each state agency to periodically
review and consider for readoption each of its rules. The com-
mission has determined that the need for the section continues
to exist but that it should be amended.

The amendments are adopted pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary
to carry out the provisions of the Code.

$41.28.  Sale and Delivery of Beer to Retail Premises and Private
Clubs.

(a) Beerintended to be delivered in sales transactions consum-
mated at a licensed retailer's place of business or at a private club lo-
cated in a wet area may be transported through dry areas upon vehicles
owned or leased and operated by one of these authorized sellers, who
are authorized to sell to retailers or private clubs located in wet ar-
eas: the holder of a manufacturer's self-distribution license; the holder
of any type of distributor license; or the holder of a brewpub license.
The person directly in charge of the vehicle used in such transportation
must possess a written statement furnished and signed by the autho-
rized seller showing the quantity of beer so delivered to such person,
the origin thereof, and the fact that said beer is intended for delivery
only upon any sale that may be consummated by such person acting
as agent for the authorized seller at the place of business of a licensed
retail dealer or a private club located in a wet area.

(b) A person into whose charge beer is delivered as provided
in this section and who is delivering and obtaining payment for any
such beer at a licensed retailer's place of business or at a private club
located in a wet area must at that time provide a sales invoice for such
beer that must be signed by the purchaser of the beer. The invoice must
show the purchaser, the quantity of each type of container sold, and the
price. A copy of such invoice shall be furnished to the purchaser at the
time of sale and a copy of the signed sales invoice must be furnished
to the authorized seller of such beer within 24 hours from the time of
its delivery.

(c) A person into whose charge beer is delivered as provided
in this section must possess the signed sales invoices required by sub-
section (b) for any such beer that is not in the person's possession. The
records pertaining to any such shipment must be shown to any repre-
sentative of the commission or any peace officer on demand.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 28, 2016.

TRD-201603738

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Effective date: August 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 10, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489

3 s 3
16 TAC §41.30

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission adopts amendments
to §41.30, relating to Sale and Delivery of Ale to Retail Premises,
without changes to the proposal as published in the June 10,
2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4146).

Section 41.30 addresses transporting ale through a dry area and
consummating its sale at a retailer's premise or a private club
located in a wet area. The amendments clarify the language of
the rule and include references to additional authorized sellers
who may engage in the activity.

Section 41.30 was also reviewed under Government Code
§2001.039, which requires each state agency to periodically
review and consider for readoption each of its rules. The com-
mission has determined that the need for the section continues
to exist but that it should be amended.

No comments were received.

The amendments are adopted pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary
to carry out the provisions of the Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 28, 2016.

TRD-201603740

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Effective date: August 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 10, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489

L4 ¢ L4
16 TAC §41.48

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission adopts amend-
ments to §41.48, relating to Changes Relating to Control,
without changes to the proposal as published in the June 10,
2016 issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4147).
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Section 41.48 applies to mixed beverage permits and private
club permits. It defines "effective control" and "managerial con-
trol" and addresses how they relate to qualifications for holding a
mixed beverage or private club permit. Subsection (d) described
certain changes relating to these permits that must be reported
to the commission. The commission is separately adopting new
§33.34 which sets forth timelines for reporting certain changes
relating to permits and licenses. To avoid any conflict in the re-
porting obligations of mixed beverage or private club permittees,
the commission amends §41.48 by deleting subsection (d) simul-
taneously with its adoption of §33.34. Subsequent subsections
in §41.48 are relettered appropriately.

No comments were received.

The amendments are adopted pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary
to carry out the provisions of the Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603783

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Effective date: August 18, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 10, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489
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16 TAC §41.49

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission adopts amendments
to §41.49, relating to Private Clubs - Temporary Memberships,
without changes to the proposal as published in the June 10,
2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4148).

Section 41.49 addresses requirements relating to temporary
memberships at private clubs pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage
Code §32.09.

The amendments eliminate a reference in subsection (c) to type-
writers as a means of filling blanks on temporary membership
cards. In its place the amendments impose a requirement that
the name of the temporary member, the name of the club, the city
and the time period covered be legibly completed on the tempo-
rary membership card.

In subsection (d), the amendments substitute the title of execu-
tive director for administrator, consistent with Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.11(b).

Section 41.49 was also reviewed under Government Code
§2001.039, which requires each state agency to periodically
review and consider for readoption each of its rules. The com-
mission has determined that the need for the section continues
to exist but that it should be amended.

No comments were received.

The amendments are adopted pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary
to carry out the provisions of the Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 28, 2016.

TRD-201603747

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Effective date: August 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 10, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489

¢ ¢ ¢
16 TAC §41.51

The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission adopts amendments
to §41.51, relating to Private Clubs--Purchases--Pool Systems,
without changes to the proposal as published in the June 10,
2016 issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4149).

Section 41.51 addresses pool systems used by private clubs to
purchase alcoholic beverages.

The amendments add the words "pool systems" to the title to ac-
curately reflect the scope of the rule as amended, and add a new
subsection (b) describing the authorized operation of pool re-
placement systems. Subsequent subsections are appropriately
renumbered, and subsection (a) is clarified to appropriately de-
scribe the authorized operation of pool equal assessment sys-
tems.

The amendments make appropriate changes in newly renum-
bered subsection (c) to clarify that its requirements apply to both
types of pool systems, and make a grammatical change in newly
renumbered subsection (d) to accurately reflect the intent of the
requirement.

Section 41.51 was also reviewed under Government Code
§2001.039, which requires each state agency to periodically
review and consider for readoption each of its rules. The com-
mission has determined that the need for the section continues
to exist but that it should be amended.

No comments were received.

The amendments are adopted pursuant to Alcoholic Beverage
Code §5.31, which grants authority to prescribe rules necessary
to carry out the provisions of the Code.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603781

Martin Wilson

Assistant General Counsel

Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission

Effective date: August 18, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 10, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 206-3489
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TITLE 19. EDUCATION

PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY

CHAPTER 33. STATEMENT OF INVESTMENT
OBJECTIVES, POLICIES, AND GUIDELINES
OF THE TEXAS PERMANENT SCHOOL FUND
SUBCHAPTER A. STATE BOARD OF
EDUCATION RULES

19 TAC §§33.5, 33.15, 33.20, 33.25, 33.30, 33.35, 33.60

The State Board of Education (SBOE) adopts amendments
to §§33.5, 33.15, 33.20, 33.25, 33.30, 33.35, and 33.60, con-
cerning the statement of investment objectives, policies, and
guidelines of the Texas Permanent School Fund (PSF). The
amendments are adopted with changes to the proposed text
as published in the May 13, 2016 issue of the Texas Register
(41 TexReg 3401). The sections address provisions related
to the PSF code of ethics, objectives, responsible parties and
their duties, permissible and restricted investments and general
guidelines for investment managers, standards of performance,
guidelines for the custodian and the securities lending agent,
and performance and review procedures. The adopted amend-
ments better reflect the PSF asset allocation and consolidate
some provisions to avoid repetition.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. In accordance with statute, the
rules in 19 TAC Chapter 33, Subchapter A, establish investment
objectives, policies, and guidelines for the investment and man-
agement of the Texas Permanent School Fund.

The adopted amendments to 19 TAC Chapter 33, Subchapter
A, reflect the changing PSF investment portfolio, including in-
vestments of the PSF in investment funds, and changing market
conditions.

The adopted amendment to 19 TAC §33.5, Code of Ethics, pro-
vides various clarifications to the rule, including how it applies to
investments of the PSF in investment funds.

In accordance with the Texas Education Code, §43.0031(c), a
copy of the proposed amendment to 19 TAC §33.5 was sub-
mitted to the Texas Ethics Commission and the State Auditor's
Office for review and comment following SBOE approval of the
proposed amendment for first reading and filing authorization
at the April 2016 meeting. The SBOE is to consider any com-
ments from the commission or state auditor received prior to fi-
nal adoption. In a letter dated June 22, 2016, the State Audi-
tor's Office advised that it had no comments on the proposed
amendment to §33.5. The Texas Ethics Commission provided
comments, which can be found in the Summary of Comments
and Responses section of this notice.

At adoption, §33.5(f)(1) was modified to include two additional
Texas Government Code references to the list of statutes ap-
plicable to State Board of Education Members and Permanent
School Fund Service Providers, as requested by the Texas
Ethics Commission.

The adopted amendment to 19 TAC §33.15, Objectives, reflects
the current objectives for the management of the PSF, including
the asset allocation policy, established by the SBOE.

The adopted amendment to 19 TAC §33.20, Responsible Parties
and Their Duties, provides various clarifications to the rule to
accurately reflect the responsibilities, respectively, of the SBOE,
the PSF staff, and other parties retained by the SBOE to assist
with aspects of the PSF.

The adopted amendment to 19 TAC §33.25, Permissible and
Restricted Investments and General Guidelines for Investment
Managers, reflects the SBOE's general management authority
over the PSF, including permitted and prohibited transactions as
currently established or as may be established from time to time
by the SBOE.

The adopted amendment to 19 TAC §33.30, Standards of Per-
formance, reflects the SBOE's general management authority
over the PSF, including standards of performance for each as-
set class as currently established or as may be established from
time to time by the SBOE.

The adopted amendment to 19 TAC §33.35, Guidelines for the
Custodian and the Securities Lending Agent, provides various
clarifications to the rule and reflect the changing PSF invest-
ment portfolio and changing market conditions. At adoption,
§33.35(2)(H)(i)(I)(-e-) and (VI)(-d-) was amended to clarify that
the long-term rating of AA2 and AA by Moody's Investor Service
and Standard & Poor's Corporation is required at the time of pur-
chase.

The adopted amendment to 19 TAC §33.60, Performance and
Review Procedures, clarifies aspects of the SBOE's oversight
role with respect to all asset classes.

The amendments were approved by the SBOE for first reading
and filing authorization at its April 8, 2016 meeting and for second
reading and final adoption at its July 22, 2016 meeting.

In accordance with the TEC, §7.102(f), the SBOE approved the
amendments for adoption by a vote of two-thirds of its members
to specify an effective date earlier than the beginning of the 2017-
2018 school year. The earlier effective date will implement the
latest policy in a timely manner.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES. Following is a
summary of the public comments received and the correspond-
ing responses regarding the proposed amendments to Chapter
33, Subchapter A.

Comment. The Texas Ethics Commission requested that §33.5
be amended in subsection (f)(1) to include Texas Government
Code, §572.021, Financial Statement Required, and §2252.908,
Disclosure of Interested Parties, in the list of statutes applicable
to State Board of Education Members and Permanent School
Fund Service Providers.

Response. The SBOE agreed and took action to add Texas Gov-
ernment Code, §572.021 and §2252.908, to §33.5(f)(1).

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments are adopted
under the Texas Education Code (TEC), §7.102(c)(31), which
states that the State Board of Education (SBOE) may invest the
Permanent School Fund (PSF) within the limits of the authority
granted by the Texas Constitution, Article VII, §5, and the TEC,
Chapter 43; TEC, §7.102(c)(33), which authorizes the SBOE to
adopt an annual report on the status of the guaranteed bond
program and states that the SBOE may adopt rules as neces-
sary to administer the guaranteed bond program as provided
under the TEC, Chapter 45, Subchapter C; TEC, §43.0031,
which requires the SBOE to adopt and enforce an ethics pol-
icy regarding management and investment of the PSF; TEC,
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§43.0032, which requires disclosure of certain relationships
with entities that provide services relating to the management
and investment of the PSF, requires the board to define those
relationships, and prohibits giving advice when relationships
exist in certain circumstances; TEC, §43.0033, which requires
certain persons providing services to the SBOE regarding
management and investment of the PSF to file expenditure
reports; TEC, §43.0034, which requires the SBOE to adopt
forms for conflicts of interest and expenditure reports; TEC,
§43.004, which requires the SBOE to adopt written investment
objectives for the PSF and employ a service to analyze the
performance of the PSF; Texas Government Code, §2263.004,
which requires the SBOE to adopt by rule standards of conduct
applicable to certain financial advisors or service providers; and
Texas Constitution, Article VII, §5, which describes the PSF, the
limit on distributions to the Available School Fund, the setting of
spending rates by the SBOE, and the ten-year distribution test;
authorizes a bond guarantee utilizing the PSF; and describes
the management of the PSF by the SBOE.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendments im-
plement the Texas Education Code, §§7.102(c)(31) and (33),
43.0031-43.0034, and 43.004; Texas Government Code,
§2263.004; and the Texas Constitution, Article VII, Section
5(a)(2), (d), and (f).

$§33.5.  Code of Ethics.

(a) General principles. The Texas Permanent School Fund
(PSF) is held in public trust for the benefit of the schoolchildren of
Texas. All those charged with the management of the PSF will aspire
to the highest standards of ethical conduct. The purpose of the PSF
code of ethics is to assist and help guide all such persons in the proper
discharge of their duties and to assist them in avoiding even the appear-
ance of impropriety.

(b) Fiduciary responsibility. The members of the State Board
of Education (SBOE) serve as fiduciaries of the PSF and are responsible
for prudently investing its assets. The SBOE members or anyone acting
on their behalf shall comply with the provisions of this section, the
Texas Constitution, Texas statutes, and all other applicable provisions
governing the responsibilities of a fiduciary.

(c) Compliance with constitution and code of ethics. The
SBOE members are public officials governed by the provisions of
the Texas Government Ethics Act, as stated in the Texas Government
Code, Chapter 572.

(d) Definitions. For purposes of this chapter, the following
terms shall have the following meanings.

(1) SBOE Member, for the purposes of the PSF code of
ethics, means a member of the SBOE shall be deemed to include the
SBOE Member or a person related to the member within the second
degree of affinity or consanguinity.

(2) Person means any individual, corporation, firm, limited
liability company, limited partnership, trust, association, or other legal
entity.

(3) Investment manager or manager means a Person who
manages and invests PSF assets and may be either an internal invest-
ment manager or an external investment manager.

(4) PSF Service Providers are the following Persons:

(A) any Person who is an external investment manager,
as described in §33.20(b)(1) of this title (relating to Responsible Par-
ties and Their Duties), or who is responsible by contract for providing

legal advice regarding the PSF, executing PSF brokerage transactions,
or acting as a custodian of the PSF;

(B) any Person except the Texas Education Agency
(TEA) or a member of the PSF staff who acts as the sponsor, general
partner, managing member, manager, or adviser to an investment fund
or other investment vehicle (which, by way of example but without
limitation, may include a partnership, a limited liability company,
trust, association, or other entity) in which the PSF is invested. Such
Persons hereafter in this chapter referred to as Fund Managers;

(C) a member of the Committee of Investment Advi-
sors;

(D) any Person who is Investment Counsel as described
in §33.20(b)(4) of this title or provides consultant services for compen-
sation regarding the management and investment of the PSF;

(E) any Person who provides investment and manage-
ment advice to an SBOE Member, with or without compensation, if an
SBOE Member:

(i) gives the Person access to PSF records or infor-
mation that are identified as confidential; or

(ii)  asks the Person to interview, meet with, or oth-
erwise confer with a PSF Service Provider or TEA staff;

(F) any Person who is a member of the PSF staff who
is responsible for managing or investing assets of the PSF, executing
brokerage transactions, acting as a custodian of the PSF, or providing
investment or management advice regarding the investment or man-
agement of the PSF to an SBOE Member or PSF staff;

(G) any Person who is a member of TEA legal staff who
is responsible for providing legal advice regarding the investment or
management of the PSF; or

(H) any Person who submits a response to a Request for
Proposal (RFP) or Request for Qualifications (RFQ), or similar types
of solicitations, while such response is pending. An applicant is not
required to file reports under this section except as required in the RFP
or RFQ process.

(5) Expenditure, for purposes of this section, means any
expenditure other than an expenditure made on behalf of an employee
acting in the scope of their employment.

(6) For purposes of this chapter, Fund Managers are not
considered to be external investment managers, consultants, or Invest-
ment Counsel.

(e) Assets affected by this section. The provisions of this sec-
tion apply to all PSF assets, both publicly and nonpublicly traded in-
vestments.

(f) General ethical standards.

(1) SBOE Members and PSF Service Providers must com-
ply with all laws applicable to them, which may include one or more of
the following statutes: Texas Government Code, Chapter 2263 (Ethics
and Disclosure Requirements for Outside Financial Advisors and Ser-
vice Providers), §572.051 (Standards of Conduct; State Agency Ethics
Policy), §552.352 (Distribution or Misuse of Confidential Informa-
tion), §572.002 (General Definitions), §572.004 (Definition: Regu-
lation), §572.054 (Representation by Former Officer or Employee of
Regulatory Agency Restricted; Criminal Offense), §572.058 (Private
Interest in Measure or Decision; Disclosure; Removal from Office for
Violation), §572.021 (Financial Statement Required), §2252.908 (Dis-
closure of Interested Parties), and Chapter 305 (Registration of Lob-
byists); Texas Penal Code, Chapter 36 (Bribery and Corrupt Influ-
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ence) and Chapter 39 (Abuse of Office); and Texas Education Code,
§43.0031 (Permanent School Fund Ethics Policy), §43.0032 (Conflicts
of Interest), and §43.0033 (Reports of Expenditures). The omission of
any applicable statute listed in this paragraph does not excuse violation
of its provisions.

(2) SBOE Members and PSF Service Providers must be
honest in the exercise of their duties and must not take actions that will
discredit the PSF.

(3) SBOE Members and PSF Service Providers shall be
loyal to the interests of the PSF to the extent that such loyalty is not in
conflict with other duties, which legally have priority (which, by way
of example but without limitation, may include obligations of Fund
Managers to other investors in commingled funds). SBOE Members
and PSF Service Providers shall avoid personal, employment, or busi-
ness relationships that create conflicts of interest as defined in subsec-
tion (i)(1) of this section. Should an SBOE Member or a PSF Service
Provider become aware of any conflict of interest involving himself or
herself or another SBOE Member or PSF Service Provider, he or she
has an affirmative duty to disclose the conflict to the SBOE chair and
vice chair and the commissioner within seven days of discovering the
conflict and, in the case of a conflict involving himself or herself, to
cure the conflict in a manner provided for under this section prior to
the next SBOE or committee meeting and such SBOE Member shall
take no action nor participate in the RFP or RFQ process, or similar
types of solicitations, that concerns the conflict.

(4) SBOE Members and PSF Service Providers shall not
use nonpublic information gained through their relationship with the
PSF to seek or obtain personal gain beyond agreed compensation
and/or any properly authorized expense reimbursement. This should
not be interpreted to forbid the use of PSF as a reference or the
communication to others of the fact that a relationship with PSF exists,
provided that no misrepresentation is involved.

(5) An SBOE Member shall report in writing the name and
address of any PSF Service Provider, as defined by subsection (d)(4)(E)
of this section, who provides investment and management advice to
that SBOE Member. The SBOE Member shall submit the report to
the commissioner of education for distribution to the SBOE within 30
days of the PSF Service Provider first providing investment and man-
agement advice to that SBOE Member.

(6) SBOE Members and PSF Service Providers shall report
in writing any action described by the Texas Education Code, §7.108,
to the commissioner of education for distribution to the SBOE within
seven days of discovering the violation.

(7) A PSF Service Provider shall not make any gift or do-
nation to a school or other charitable interest on behalf of, at the re-
quest of, or in coordination with an SBOE Member. Any PSF Service
Provider or SBOE Member shall disclose in writing to the commis-
sioner of education any information regarding such a donation.

(8) A PSF Service Provider shall disclose in writing to the
commissioner of education for dissemination to all SBOE Members
any business or financial transaction greater than $50 in value with an
SBOE Member, the commissioner of education, or any member of PSF
staff or TEA legal staff who is a PSF Service Provider within 30 days of
the transaction. Excluded from this subsection are checking accounts,
savings accounts, credit cards, brokerage accounts, mutual funds, or
other financial accounts that are provided to the SBOE Member or to a
member of the PSF staff or TEA legal staff under the same terms and
conditions as they are provided to members of the general public.

(9) An SBOE Member shall disclose in writing to the com-
missioner of education on a quarterly basis any business or financial

transaction greater than $50 in value between the SBOE Member, or
a business entity in which the SBOE Member has a significant owner-
ship interest, and a PSF Service Provider. A report shall be filed even
if there has not been a business or financial transaction greater than
$50 in value between the SBOE Member, or a business entity in which
the SBOE Member has a significant ownership interest, and a PSF Ser-
vice Provider. Excluded from this subsection are checking accounts,
savings accounts, credit cards, brokerage accounts, mutual funds, or
other financial accounts that are provided to an SBOE Member under
the same terms and conditions as they are provided to members of the
general public. The reports shall be filed on or before January 15, April
15, July 15, and October 15 and shall cover the preceding three calen-
dar months. The first report filed for each SBOE Member shall cover
the preceding one-year period. Subsection (u) of this section does not
apply to the first report filed. The commissioner of education shall
communicate the information included in the disclosure to all SBOE
Members.

(g) Notification of disclosure. In order to preserve the integrity
and public trust in the PSF, it is deemed necessary and appropriate to
allow all SBOE Members a reasonable time to promptly review and
respond to any disclosures or written inquiries made by applicants or
made by PSF Service Providers as provided in SBOE operating pro-
cedures. In compliance with Texas Government Code, §2156.123, no
SBOE Member or PSF Service Provider should publicly disclose any
submission materials prior to completion of the RFP or RFQ process.
For purposes of this subsection, an RFP or RFQ is completed upon
final award of an RFP, or selection of qualified bidders for an RFQ,
or closure without any selection. This subsection does not allow an
SBOE Member to refrain from publicly disclosing a conflict of interest
as required by subsections (f)(3) and (i)(4) of this section and Texas
Government Code, §572.058.

(h) Disclosure.

(1) Ifan SBOE Member solicited a specific investment ac-
tion by the PSF staff or a PSF Service Provider, the SBOE Member
shall publicly disclose the fact to the SBOE in a public meeting. The
disclosure shall be entered into the minutes of the meeting. For pur-
poses of this section, a matter is a prospective directive to the PSF staff
or a PSF Service Provider to undertake a specific investment or divesti-
ture of securities for the PSF. This term does not include ratification of
prior securities transactions performed by the PSF staff or a PSF Ser-
vice Provider and does not include an action to allocate classes of assets
within the PSF.

(2) In addition, an SBOE Member shall fully disclose any
substantial interest in any publicly or nonpublicly traded PSF invest-
ment (business entity) on the SBOE Member's annual financial report
filed with the Texas Ethics Commission pursuant to Texas Government
Code, §572.021. An SBOE Member has a substantial interest if the
SBOE Member:

(A) has a controlling interest in the business entity;

(B) owns more than 10% of the voting interest in the
business entity;

(C) owns more than $25,000 of the fair market value of
the business entity;

(D) has a direct or indirect participating interest by
shares, stock, or otherwise, regardless of whether voting rights are
included, in more than 10% of the profits, proceeds, or capital gains
of the business entity;

(E) is a member of the board of directors or other gov-
erning board of the business entity;
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(F) serves as an elected officer of the business entity; or
(G) is an employee of the business entity.
(i) Conflicts of interest.

(1) A conflict of interest exists whenever SBOE Members
or PSF Service Providers have business, commercial, or other relation-
ships, including, but not limited to, personal and private relationships,
that could reasonably be expected to diminish their independence of
judgment in the performance of their duties. For example, a person's
independence of judgment is diminished when the person is in a posi-
tion to take action or not take action with respect to PSF and such act
or failure to act is, may be, or reasonably appears to be influenced by
considerations of personal gain or benefit rather than motivated by the
interests of the PSF. Conflicts include, but are not limited to, beneficial
interests in securities, corporate directorships, trustee positions, famil-
ial relationships, or other special relationships that could reasonably
be considered a conflict of interest with the duties to the PSF. Further,
Texas Education Code, §43.0032, requires disclosure and no partici-
pation, unless a waiver is granted, when an SBOE Member or a PSF
Service Provider has a business, commercial, or other relationship that
could reasonably be expected to diminish a person's independence of
judgment in the performance of the person's responsibilities relating to
the management or investment of the PSF. Such business, commercial,
or other relationship is defined to be a relationship that is prohibited
under Texas Government Code, §572.051, or that would require public
disclosure under Texas Government Code, §572.058, or a relationship
that does not rise to this level but that is determined by the SBOE to
create an unacceptable risk to the integrity and reputation of the PSF
investment program.

(2) Any SBOE Member or PSF Service Provider who has
a possible conflict of interest as defined in paragraph (1) of this subsec-
tion shall disclose the possible conflict to the commissioner of educa-
tion and the chair and vice chair of the SBOE on the disclosure form.
The disclosure form is provided in this paragraph entitled "Potential
Conflict of Interest Disclosure Form."
Figure: 19 TAC §33.5(i)(2) (No change.)

(3) A person who files a statement under paragraph (2) of
this subsection disclosing a possible conflict of interest may not give
advice or make decisions about a matter affected by the possible con-
flict of interest unless the SBOE, after consultation with the general
counsel of the TEA, expressly waives this prohibition. The SBOE
may delegate the authority to waive this prohibition. If a waiver is
not granted by the SBOE or its delegate to an SBOE Member or a PSF
Service Provider for a possible conflict of interest, the SBOE Mem-
ber or PSF Service Provider may request an opinion from the Texas
Ethics Commission as to a determination of whether a conflict of inter-
est exists. An SBOE Member will be given the assistance of the TEA
ethics advisor to help draft a request for an opinion, if such assistance
is requested. When the SBOE Member or PSF Service Provider re-
ceives the opinion of the Texas Ethics Commission and if a waiver is
still sought, the SBOE Member or PSF Service Provider shall forward
the opinion to the SBOE chair and vice chair and the commissioner.
An opinion of the Texas Ethics Commission that determines a conflict
exists is final and the SBOE may not waive the conflict of interest. An
opinion of the Texas Ethics Commission that determines that no con-
flict exists will automatically result in an SBOE waiver.

(4) If an SBOE Member believes he or she has a conflict
of interest based on the existence of certain relationships described in
Texas Government Code, §572.058, the SBOE Member shall publicly
disclose the conflict at an SBOE meeting or committee meeting and
the SBOE Member shall not vote or otherwise participate in any de-
cision involving the conflict. In accordance with Texas Government

Code, §572.058, the SBOE may not waive the prohibition under this
paragraph. This requirement is in addition to the requirement of filing
a disclosure under paragraph (2) of this subsection.

(5) Texas Government Code, §572.051, establishes stan-
dards of conduct for state officers and employees. SBOE Members
and TEA employees shall abide by these standards.

(j) Prohibited transactions and interests.

(1) For purposes of this section, the term "direct place-
ment" (with respect to investments that are not publicly traded) is de-
fined as a direct sale of fixed income securities, generally to institu-
tional investors, with or without the use of brokers or underwriters,
primarily offered to Qualified Institutional Buyers (QIBs) and not reg-
istered by the Securities and Exchange Commission. The term does
not include offerings or sales of interests in investment funds or invest-
ment vehicles.

(2) For the purposes of this section, the term "placement
agent" is defined as any third party, whether or not affiliated with a
PSF Service Provider, that is a party to an agreement or arrangement
(whether written or oral) with a PSF Service Provider for direct or in-
direct payment of a fee in connection with a PSF investment.

(3) No SBOE Member or PSF Service Provider shall:

(A) have a financial interest in a direct placement in-
vestment of the PSF;

(B) serve as an officer, director, or employee of an entity
in which a direct placement investment is made by the PSF; or

(C) serve as a consultant to, or receive any fee, commis-
sion or payment from, an entity in which a direct placement investment
is made by the PSF.

(4) No SBOE Member shall:

(A) act as a representative or agent of a third party in
dealing with a PSF investment manager, Investment Counsel, or con-
sultant in connection with a PSF investment; or

(B) be employed for two years after the end of his or
her term on the SBOE with an organization in which the PSF invested,
unless the organization's stock or other evidence of ownership is traded
on the public stock or bond exchanges.

(5) A PSF Service Provider shall:

(A) notactas arepresentative or agent of a third party in
dealing with a PSF investment manager, Investment Counsel, or con-
sultant in connection with a PSF investment; and

(B) except as approved by the SBOE, not use a place-
ment agent in connection with a PSF investment unless:

(i) the relationship of the PSF Service Provider with
the placement agent, any compensation, and a description of the ser-
vices provided by the placement agent in connection with a PSF in-
vestment are disclosed in writing to PSF staff;

(ii) the placement agent is registered with the Secu-
rities and Exchange Commission (SEC) or the Financial Industry Reg-
ulatory Authority (FINRA) or, if not required to register with the SEC
or FINRA, is registered with an applicable regulatory body;

(iii) such placement agent does not share any fees
with a non-registered person or entity; and

(iv) in executed closing documents for the PSF in-
vestment, the PSF Service Provider contractually represents and war-
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rants that the information provided about the placement agent is true,
correct, and complete in all material respects.

(6) A placement agent shall file campaign contribution re-
ports in the same manner as does a PSF Service Provider under sub-
section (0)(1) of this section for the period during which the placement
agent provides services in connection with a PSF investment.

(k) Solicitation of support. No SBOE Member shall solicit or
receive a campaign contribution on behalf of any political candidate,
political party, or political committee from a PSF Service Provider. The
PSF Service Provider shall report any such incident in writing to the
commissioner of education for distribution to the SBOE.

() Hiring external professionals. The SBOE may contract
with investment managers to make or assist with PSF investments. The
SBOE has the authority and responsibility to hire other external pro-
fessionals, including custodians, Investment Counsel, or consultants.
The SBOE shall select each professional based on merit and cost and
subject to the provisions of §33.55 of this title (relating to Standards
for Selecting Consultants, Investment Managers, Custodians, and
Other Professionals To Provide Outside Expertise for the Fund).

(m) Responsibilities of PSF Service Providers. The PSF Ser-
vice Providers shall be notified in writing of the code of ethics con-
tained in this section. Any existing contracts for investment and any
future investment shall strictly conform to this code of ethics. The PSF
Service Provider shall report in writing any suggestion or offer by an
SBOE Member to deviate from the provisions of this section to the
commissioner of education for distribution to the SBOE within 30 days
of the PSF Service Provider discovering the violation. The PSF Ser-
vice Provider shall report in writing any violation of this code of ethics
committed by another PSF Service Provider to the commissioner of ed-
ucation for distribution to the SBOE within 30 days of the PSF Service
Provider discovering the violation. A PSF Service Provider or other
person retained in a fiduciary capacity must comply with the provi-
sions of this section.

(n) Gifts and entertainment.

(1) Bribery. SBOE Members are prohibited from solicit-
ing, offering, or accepting gifts, payments, and other items of value
in exchange for an official act, including a vote, recommendation, or
any other exercise of official discretion pursuant to Texas Penal Code,
§36.02.

(2) Acceptance of gifts.

(A) An SBOE Member may not accept gifts, favors,
services, or benefits that may reasonably tend to influence the SBOE
Member's official conduct or that the SBOE Member knows or should
know are intended to influence the SBOE Member's official conduct.
For purposes of this paragraph, a gift does not include an item with a
value of less than $50, excluding cash, checks, loans, direct deposit, or
negotiable instruments.

(B) An SBOE Member may not accept a gift, favor, ser-
vice, or benefit from a Person that the SBOE Member knows is inter-
ested or is likely to become interested in a charter, contract, purchase,
payment, claim, or other pecuniary transaction over which the SBOE
has discretion.

(C) An SBOE Member may not accept a gift, favor, ser-
vice, or benefit from a Person that the SBOE Member knows to be sub-
ject to the regulation, inspection, or investigation of the SBOE or the
TEA.

(D) An SBOE Member may not solicit, accept, or agree
to accept a gift, favor, service, or benefit from a Person with whom the

SBOE Member knows that civil or criminal litigation is pending or
contemplated by the SBOE or the TEA.

(E) Except as prohibited in subparagraphs (A)-(D)
of this paragraph and subject to the requirements for PSF Service
providers and lobbyists in subparagraph (F) of this paragraph, an
SBOE Member may accept a gift, favor, service, or benefit if it fits
into one of the following categories:

(i) items worth less than $50, but may not be cash,
checks, loans, or negotiable instruments;

(i) item is given in the context of a relationship,
such as kinship, or a personal, professional, or business relationship
that is independent of the SBOE Member's official capacity;

(iii) fees for services rendered outside the SBOE
Member's official capacity;

(iv) government property issued by a governmental
entity that allows the use of the property; or

(v) food, lodging, entertainment, and transportation,
if accepted as a guest and the donor is present.

(F) In addition to the requirements of subparagraph (E)
of this paragraph, the following provisions govern the disposition of an
individual who is a PSF Service Provider or who is both a lobbyist reg-
istered with the Texas Ethics Commission and who represents a person
subject to the SBOE's or the TEA's regulation, inspection, or investi-
gation. A gift, favor, service, or benefit from a PSF Service Provider or
lobbyist will not be considered a violation of the prohibition set forth
in subparagraph (C) of this paragraph.

(i) An SBOE Member may not accept the following
from a PSF Service Provider or lobbyist, even if otherwise permitted
under subparagraph (E) of this paragraph:

(1) loans, cash, checks, direct deposits, or nego-
tiable instruments;

(II) transportation or lodging for a pleasure trip;

(IIl) transportation or lodging in connection with
a fact-finding trip or to a seminar or conference at which the SBOE
Member does not provide services;

(IV) entertainment worth more than $250 in a
calendar year;

(V) gifts, other than awards and mementos, that
combined are worth more than $250 in value for a calendar year. Gifts
do not include food, entertainment, lodging, and transportation if ac-
cepted as a guest and the PSF Service Provider or lobbyist is present;
or

(VI) individual awards and mementos worth
more than $250 each if from a lobbyist or worth $50 or more each if
from a PSF Service Provider.

(ii) An SBOE Member may accept food and bever-
ages as a guest if the PSF Service Provider or lobbyist is present.

(G) An SBOE Member may not solicit, agree to accept,
or accept an honorarium in consideration for services that the SBOE
Member would not have been asked to provide but for the SBOE Mem-
ber's official position. An SBOE Member may accept food, transporta-
tion, and lodging in connection with a speech performed as a result of
the SBOE Member's position in accordance with the rulings with the
Texas Ethics Commission, which may place limitations on the type of
entity that may fund such travel. An SBOE Member must report the

ADOPTED RULES

August 12, 2016 41 TexReg 6007



food, lodging, or transportation accepted under this subparagraph in
the SBOE Member's annual personal financial statement.

(H) Under no circumstances shall an SBOE Member
accept a prohibited gift if the source of the gift is not identified or if
the SBOE Member knows or has reason to know that the gift is being
offered through an intermediary.

(I) If an unsolicited prohibited gift is received by an
SBOE Member, he or she should return the gift to its source. If that
is not possible or feasible, the gift should be donated to charity. The
SBOE Member shall report the return of the gift or the donation of the
gift to the commissioner of education.

(J) A PSF Service Provider shall file a report annually
on January 31 of each year on the expenditure report provided in this
subparagraph entitled "Report of Expenditures of Persons Providing
Services to the State Board of Education Relating to the Management
and Investment of the Permanent School Fund." The report shall be for
the time period beginning on January 1 and ending on December 31 of
the previous year. The expenditure report must describe in detail any
expenditure of more than $50 made by the Person on behalf of:
Figure: 19 TAC §33.5(n)(2)(J)

(i) an SBOE Member;
(i) the commissioner of education; or

(iii) an employee of the TEA or of a nonprofit cor-
poration created under the Texas Education Code, §43.006.

(K) A PSF Service Provider shall file a report annually
with the TEA's PSF office, in the format specified by the PSF staff, on
or before January 31 of each year. The report will be deemed to be filed
when it is actually received. The report shall be for the time period
beginning on January 1 and ending on December 31 of the previous
year. It shall list any individuals who served in any of the following
capacities at any time during the reporting period:

(i) all members of the governing body of the PSF
Service Provider;

(ii) the officers of the PSF Service Provider;

(iii) any broker who conducts transactions with PSF
funds;

(iv)  all members of the governing body of the firm
of a broker who conducts transactions with PSF funds; and

(v) all officers of the firm of a broker who conducts
transactions with PSF funds.

(L) This subsection does not apply to campaign contri-
butions.

(M) Each SBOE Member and each PSF Service
Provider shall, no later than April 15, file an annual report affirmatively
disclosing any violation of this code of ethics known to that Person
during the time period beginning January 1 and ending December
31 of the previous year which has not previously been disclosed in
writing to the commissioner of education for distribution to all board
members, or affirmatively state that the Person has no knowledge of
any such violation. For purposes of this subparagraph only, "SBOE
Member" means only the individual elected official.

(o) Campaign contributions.

(1) A PSF Service Provider shall, no later than January 31
and July 31, file a semi-annual report of each political contribution that
the PSF Service Provider has made to an SBOE Member or a candidate

seeking election to the SBOE in writing to the commissioner of educa-
tion. The report shall be for the six-month time period preceding the
reporting dates and include the name of each SBOE Member or can-
didate seeking election to the SBOE who received a contribution, the
amount of each contribution, and date of each contribution. Subsection
(u) of this section does not apply to the first report filed. A report shall
be filed even if the PSF Service Provider made no reportable contri-
bution during the reporting period to an SBOE Member or a candidate
seeking election to the SBOE. The commissioner of education shall
communicate the information included in the disclosure to all SBOE
Members.

(2) Any person or firm filing a response to an RFP or RFQ
relating to the management and investments of the PSF shall disclose
in the response whether at any time in the preceding four years from the
due date of the response to the RFP or RFQ the person or firm has made
a campaign contribution to a candidate for or member of the SBOE.

(p) Compliance with professional standards.

(1) SBOE Members and PSF Service Providers who are
members of professional organizations which promulgate standards of
conduct must comply with those standards.

(2) To the extent applicable to them, PSF Service Providers
must comply with the Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional
Conduct of the Chartered Financial Analyst Institute.

(q) Transactions involving PSF Service Providers.

(1) A PSF Service Provider other than a PSF executing bro-
ker shall not engage in any transaction involving the assets of the PSF
with a Person who is an SBOE Member, Investment Counsel, a con-
sultant to the SBOE or to an SBOE Member, or a member of the PSF
staff or TEA legal staff who is responsible for managing or investing
assets of the PSF or providing investment or management advice or le-
gal advice regarding the investment or management of the PSF.

(2) A PSF Service Provider other than a PSF executing bro-
ker shall report to the SBOE on a quarterly basis all investment trans-
actions or trades and any fees or compensation paid or received in con-
nection with the transactions or trades with a Person who is an SBOE
Member, Investment Counsel, a consultant to the SBOE or an SBOE
Member, or a member of the PSF staff or TEA legal staft who is respon-
sible for managing or investing assets of the PSF or providing invest-
ment or management advice or legal advice regarding the investment
or management of the PSF.

(r) Compliance and enforcement.

(1) The SBOE will enforce this section through its chair or
vice chair or the commissioner of education.

(2) Any violation of this section will be reported to the
chair and vice chair of the SBOE and the commissioner of education
and a recommended action will be presented to the SBOE by the chair
or the commissioner. A violation of this section may result in the termi-
nation of the contract or a lesser sanction. Repeated minor violations
may also result in the termination of the contract.

(3) The PSF compliance officer under the direction of the
TEA confidentiality officer shall act as custodian of all statements,
waivers, and reports required under this section for purposes of pub-
lic disclosure requirements.

(4) The ethics advisor of the TEA shall respond to inquiries
from the SBOE Members and PSF Service Providers concerning the
provisions of this section. The ethics advisor may confer with the gen-
eral counsel and the executive administrator of the PSF.
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(5) No payment shall be made to a PSF Service Provider
who has failed to timely file a completed report as described by sub-
section (m) of this section, until a completed report is filed.

(s) Ethics training. The SBOE shall receive annual training
regarding state ethics laws through the Texas Ethics Commission and
the TEA's ethics advisor.

(t) TEA general ethical standards. The commissioner of edu-
cation and PSF staff shall comply with the General Ethical Standards
for the Staff of the Permanent School Fund and the Commissioner of
Education.

(u) Reporting period. A new report required by an amendment
to the code of ethics need only concern events after the effective date of
the amendment. An amendment to a rule that presently requires a report
does not affect the reporting period unless the amendment explicitly
changes the reporting period.

(v) Statutory statement.

(1) A "statutory financial advisor or service provider" as
defined in this subsection shall on or before April 15 file a statement
as required by Texas Government Code, §2263.005, with the commis-
sioner of education and the state auditor, for the previous calendar year.
The statement will be deemed filed when it is actually received. A
statutory financial advisor or service provider shall promptly file a new
or amended statement with the commissioner of education and the state
auditor whenever there is new information required to be reported un-
der Texas Government Code, §2263.005(a).

(2) A "statutory financial advisor or service provider" is a
member of the Committee of Investment Advisors or an individual
or business entity, including a financial advisor, financial consultant,
money or investment manager, or broker, who is not an employee of
the TEA, but who provides financial services or advice to the TEA or
the SBOE or an SBOE member in connection with the management
and investment of the PSF and who may reasonably be expected to re-
ceive, directly or indirectly, more than $5,000 in compensation from
the TEA or the SBOE during a fiscal year.

(3) Anannual statement required to be filed under this sub-
section will be made using the form developed by the state auditor.

$33.15.  Objectives.
(a) Investment objectives.

(1) Investment objectives have been formulated based on
the following considerations:

(A) the anticipated financial needs of the Texas public
free school system in light of expected future contributions to the Texas
Permanent School Fund (PSF);

(B) the need to preserve capital;

(C) the risk tolerance set by the State Board of Educa-
tion (SBOE) and the need for diversification;

(D) observations about historical rates of return on var-
ious asset classes;

(E) assumptions about current and projected capital
market and general economic conditions and expected levels of
inflation;

(F) the need to invest according to the prudent person
rule; and

(G) the need to document investment objectives, guide-
lines, and performance standards.

(2) Investment objectives represent desired results and are
long-term in nature, covering typical market cycles of three to five
years. Any shortfall in meeting the objectives should be explainable
in terms of general economic and capital market conditions and asset
allocation.

(3) The investment objectives are consistent with generally
accepted standards of fiduciary responsibility.

(4) Under the provisions of this chapter, investment man-
agers shall have discretion and authority to implement security selec-
tion and timing.

(b) Goal and objectives for the PSF.

(1) Goal. The goal of the SBOE for the PSF shall be to in-
vest for the benefit of current and future generations of Texans consis-
tent with the safety of principal, in light of the strategic asset allocation
plan adopted. To achieve this goal, PSF investment shall be carefully
administered at all times.

(2) Objectives.

(A) The preservation and safety of principal shall be a
primary consideration in PSF investment.

(B) Fixed income securities shall be purchased at the
highest total return consistent with the preservation and safety of prin-
cipal.

(C) To the extent possible, the PSF management shall
hedge against inflation.

(D) Securities, except investments for cash man-
agement purposes, shall be selected for investment on the basis of
long-term investment merits rather than short-term gains.

(c) Investment rate of return and risk objectives.

(1) Because the education needs of the future generations
of Texas school children are long-term in nature, the return objective
of the PSF shall also be long-term and focused on fairly balancing the
benefits between the current generation and future generations while
preserving the real per capita value of the PSF.

(2) Investment rates of return shall adhere to the Chartered
Financial Analyst (CFA) Institute Global Investment Performance
Standards (GIPS) guidelines in calculating and reporting investment
performance return information.

(3) The overall risk level of PSF assets in terms of potential
for price fluctuation shall not be extreme and risk variances shall be
acceptable in the context of the overall goals and objectives for the
investment of the PSF assets. The primary means of achieving such a
risk profile are:

(A) abroad diversification among asset classes that re-
act as independently as possible through varying economic and market
circumstances;

(B) careful control of risk level within each asset class
by avoiding over-concentration and not taking extreme positions
against the market indices; and

(C) adegree of emphasis on stable growth.

(4) Over time, the volatility of returns (or risk) for the total
fund, as measured by standard deviation of investment returns, should
be comparable to investments in market indices in the proportion in
which the PSF invests.

(5) The rate of return objective of the total PSF fund shall
be to earn, over time, an average annual total rate of return that meets or
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exceeds the rate of return of a composite benchmark index, consisting
of representative benchmark indices for the asset classes in which the
PSF is invested that are aggregated in proportion to the actual asset
allocation of the PSF for the relevant time period, while maintaining
an acceptable risk level compared to that of the composite benchmark
index.

(6) The rate of return objective of each asset class in which
the PSF is invested, other than the short-term cash fund, shall be to
earn, over time, an average annual average rate of return that meets or
exceeds that of a representative benchmark index for such asset class
in U.S. dollars, combining dividends, capital appreciation, income, and
interest income, as applicable, while maintaining an acceptable risk
level compared to that of the representative benchmark index.

(7) The objective of the short-term cash fund shall be to
provide liquidity for the timely payment of security transactions, while
earning a competitive return. The expected return, over time, shall
meet or exceed that of the representative benchmark index, while main-
taining an acceptable risk level compared to that of the representative
benchmark index.

(8) Notwithstanding the risk parameters specified in para-
graphs (4)-(6) of this subsection, consideration shall be given to mar-
ginal risk variances exceeding the representative benchmark indices if
returns are commensurate with the risk levels of the respective portfo-
lios.

(d) Asset allocation policy.

(1) The SBOE shall adopt and implement a strategic asset
allocation plan based on a well diversified, balanced investment ap-
proach that uses a broad range of asset classes indicated by the follow-
ing characteristics of the PSF:

(A) the long-term nature of the PSF;
(B) the spending policy of the PSF;
(C) therelatively low liquidity requirements of the PSF;

(D) the investment preferences and risk tolerance of the
SBOE;

(E) the rate of return objectives; and

(F) thediversification objectives of the PSF, specified in
the Texas Constitution, Article VII, §5(d), the Texas Education Code,
Chapter 43, and the provisions of this chapter.

(2) The strategic asset allocation plan shall contain guide-
line percentages, at market value of the total fund's assets, to be in-
vested in various asset classes. The guideline percentages will include
both a target percentage and an acceptable strategic range for each asset
class, recognizing that the target mix may not be attainable at a specific
point in time since actual asset allocation will be dictated by current
and anticipated market conditions, as well as the overall directions of
the SBOE.

(3) The SBOE Committee on School Finance/Permanent
School Fund, with the advice of the PSF investment staff, shall re-
view the provisions of this section at least annually and, as needed,
rebalance the assets of the portfolio according to the asset allocation re-
balancing procedure specified in the PSF Investment Procedures Man-
ual. The SBOE Committee on School Finance/Permanent School Fund
shall consider the industry diversification and the percentage allocation
within the following asset classes:

(A) domestic equities;

(B) international equities;

(C) emerging market equities;

(D) domestic fixed income;

(E) emerging market debt local currency;

(F) real estate;

(G) private equity;

(H) absolute return;

(I) real return;

(J) risk parity;

(K) cash; and

(L) other asset classes as approved by the SBOE.

(4) To the extent practicable, investments shall not exceed
the strategic ranges the SBOE establishes for each asset class, recogniz-
ing the inability to actively reduce allocations to certain asset classes.

(5) Periodically, the SBOE shall allocate segments of the
total fund to each investment manager and specify guidelines, invest-
ment objectives, and standards of performance that apply to those as-
sets.

§$33.20.  Responsible Parties and Their Duties.

(a) The Texas Constitution, Article VII, §§1-8, establishes the
Available School Fund, the Texas Permanent School Fund (PSF), and
the State Board of Education (SBOE), and specifies the standard of care
SBOE members must exercise in managing PSF assets. In addition,
the constitution directs the legislature to establish suitable provisions
for supporting and maintaining an efficient public free school system,
defines the composition of the PSF and the Available School Fund, and
requires the SBOE to set aside sufficient funds to provide free instruc-
tional materials for the use of children attending the public free schools
of this state.

(b) The SBOE shall be responsible for overseeing all aspects
of the PSF and may contract with any of the following parties, whose
duties and responsibilities are as follows.

(1) An external investment manager is a Person the SBOE
retains by contract to manage and invest a portion of the PSF assets
under specified guidelines.

(2) A custodian is an organization, normally a financial
company, the SBOE retains to safe keep, and provide accurate and
timely reports of, PSF assets.

(3) A consultant is a Person the SBOE retains to advise the
SBOE on PSF matters based on professional expertise.

(4) Investment Counsel is a Person retained under criteria
specified in the PSF Investment Procedures Manual to advise PSF in-
vestment staff and the SBOE Committee on School Finance/Permanent
School Fund within the policy framework established by the SBOE.
Investment Counsel may be assigned such tasks as asset allocation re-
views, manager searches, spending policy recommendations and re-
search related to the management of PSF assets.

(5) A performance measurement consultant is a Person re-
tained to provide the SBOE Committee on School Finance/Permanent
School Fund an analysis of the PSF portfolio performance. The out-
side portfolio performance measurement service firm shall perform the
analysis on a quarterly or as-needed basis. Quarterly reports shall be
distributed to each member of the SBOE Committee on School Fi-
nance/Permanent School Fund, and a representative of the firm shall
be available as necessary to brief the committee.
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(6) The State Auditor's Office is an independent state
agency that performs an annual financial audit of the Texas Education
Agency (TEA) at the direction of the Texas Legislature. The financial
audit, conducted according to generally accepted auditing standards,
is designed to test compliance with generally accepted accounting
principles. The state auditor performs tests of the transactions of
the PSF Investment Office as part of this annual audit, including
compliance with governing statutes and SBOE policies and directives.
The TEA Internal Audit Division will participate in the audit process
by participating in entrance and exit conferences, being provided
copies of all reports and management letters furnished by the external
auditor, and having access to the external auditor's audit programs and
working papers.

(7) The SBOE may retain independent external auditors to
review the PSF accounts annually or on an as-needed basis. The TEA
Internal Audit Division will participate in the audit process by partic-
ipating in entrance and exit conferences, being provided copies of all
reports and management letters furnished by the external auditor, and
having access to the external auditor's audit programs and working pa-
pers.

(c) The SBOE shall meet on a regular or as-needed basis to
conduct the affairs of the PSF.

(d) Incase of emergency or urgent public necessity, the SBOE
Committee on School Finance/Permanent School Fund or the SBOE,
as appropriate, may hold an emergency meeting under the Texas Gov-
ernment Code, §551.045.

(¢) The SBOE shall have the following exclusive duties:

(1) determining the strategic asset allocation mix between
asset classes based on the attending economic conditions and the PSF
goals and objectives;

(2) ratifying all investment transactions pertaining to the
purchase, sale, or reinvestment of assets by all internal and external
investment managers for the current reporting period;

(3) appointing members to the SBOE Investment Advisory
Committee;

(4) approving the selection of, and all contracts with, ex-
ternal investment managers, financial advisors, Investment Counsel,
financial or other consultants, or other external professionals retained
to help the SBOE invest PSF assets;

(5) approving the selection of, and the performance
measurement contract with, a well-recognized and reputable firm
retained to evaluate and analyze PSF investment results. The service
shall compare investment results to the written investment objectives
of the SBOE and also compare the investment of the PSF with the
investment of other public and private funds against market indices
and by managerial style;

(6) setting policies, objectives, and guidelines for investing
PSF assets; and

(7) representing the PSF to the state.

(f) The SBOE may establish committees to administer the af-
fairs of the PSF. The duties and responsibilities of any committee es-
tablished shall be specified in the PSF Investment Procedures Manual.

(g) The PSF shall have an executive administrator, with a staff
to be adjusted as necessary, who functions directly with the SBOE
through the SBOE Committee on School Finance/Permanent School
Fund concerning investment matters, and who functions as part of the
internal operation under the commissioner of education. At all times,

the PSF executive administrator and staff shall invest PSF assets as di-
rected by the SBOE according to the Texas Constitution and all other
applicable Texas statutes, as amended, and SBOE rules governing the
operation of the PSF. The PSF staff shall:

(1) administer the PSF, including investing and managing
assets and contracting in connection therewith, according to SBOE
goals and objectives;

(2) execute all directives, policies, and procedures from the
SBOE and the SBOE Committee on School Finance/Permanent School
Fund;

(3) keep records and provide a continuous and accurate ac-
counting of all PSF transactions, revenues, and expenses and provide
reports on the status of the PSF portfolio;

(4) advise any officials, investment firms, or other inter-
ested parties about the powers, limitations, and prohibitions regarding
PSF investments that have been placed on the SBOE or PSF investment
staff by statutes, attorney general opinions and court decisions, or by
SBOE policies and operating procedures;

(5) continuously research all internally managed securi-
ties held by the PSF and report to the SBOE Committee on School
Finance/Permanent School Fund and the SBOE any information
requested, including reports and statistics on the PSF, for the purpose
of administering the PSF;

(6) establish and maintain a procedures manual that imple-
ments this section to be approved by the SBOE;

(7) make recommendations regarding investment and
policy matters to the SBOE Committee on School Finance/Permanent
School Fund and the SBOE; and

(8) establish and maintain accounting policies and internal
control procedures concerning all receipts, disbursements and invest-
ments of the PSF, according to the procedures adopted by the SBOE.

$33.25.  Permissible and Restricted Investments and General Guide-
lines for Investment Managers.

(a) Permissible investments. Any investment that satisfies the
prudence standard, is consistent with the Fund's investment policy and
portfolio objectives, and is used in executing investment strategies ap-
proved by the State Board of Education (SBOE).

(b) Prohibited transactions and restrictions. Except as pro-
vided in subsection (a) of this section or as approved or delegated by
the SBOE, the following prohibited transactions and restrictions apply
to all Texas Permanent School Fund (PSF) investment managers with
respect to the investment or handling of PSF assets, except as other-
wise noted:

(1) short sales of any kind;
(2) purchasing letter or restricted stock;
(3) buying or selling on margin;

(4) engaging in purchasing or writing options or similar
transactions;

(5) purchasing or selling futures on commodities contracts;

(6) borrowing by pledging or otherwise encumbering PSF
assets;

(7) purchasing the equity or debt securities of the PSF in-
vestment manager's own organization or an affiliated organization;

(8) engaging in any purchasing transaction, after which the
cumulative market value of common stock in a single corporation ex-
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ceeds 2.5% of the PSF total market value or 5.0% of the manager's total
portfolio market value;

(9) engaging in any purchasing transaction, after which the
cumulative number of shares of common stock in a single corporation
held by the PSF exceeds 5.0% of the outstanding voting stock of that
issuer;

(10) engaging in any purchasing transaction, after which
the cumulative market value of fixed income securities or cash equiva-
lent securities in a single corporation (excluding the U.S. government,
its federal agencies, and government sponsored enterprises) exceeds
2.5% of the PSF total market value or 5.0% of the investment man-
ager's total portfolio market value with the PSF;

(11) purchasing tax exempt bonds;

(12) purchasing guaranteed investment contracts (GICs)
from an insurance company or bank investment contracts (BICs) from
a bank not rated at least AAA by Standard & Poor's or Moody's;

(13) purchasing any publicly traded fixed income security
not rated investment grade by Standard & Poor's (BBB-), Moody's
(Baa3), or Fitch (BBB-), subject to the provisions of the PSF Invest-
ment Procedures Manual and the following restrictions:

(A) when ratings are provided by the three rating agen-
cies, the middle rating shall be used;

(B) when ratings are provided by two ratings agencies,
the lower rating is used; or

(C) when a rating is provided by one rating agency, the
sole rating is used;

(14) purchasing short-term money market instruments
rated below A-1 by Standard & Poor's or P-1 by Moody's;

(15) engaging in any transaction that results in unrelated
business taxable income (excluding current holdings);

(16) engaging in any transaction considered a "prohibited
transaction" under the Internal Revenue Code or the Employee Retire-
ment Income Security Act (ERISA);

(17) purchasing precious metals or other commodities;

(18) engaging in any transaction that would leverage a
manager's position;
(19) lending securities owned by the PSF, but held in cus-

tody by another party, such as a bank custodian, to any other party for
any purpose, unless lending securities according to a separate written
agreement the SBOE approved; and

(20) purchasing fixed income securities without a stated
par value amount due at maturity.

(c) General guidelines for investment managers.

(1) Each investment manager retained to manage a portion
of PSF assets shall be aware of, and operate within, the provisions of
this chapter and all applicable Texas statutes.

(2) As fiduciaries of the PSF, investment managers shall
discharge their duties solely in the interests of the PSF according to the
prudent expert rule, engaging in activities that include the following.

(A) Diversification. Each manager's portfolio should be
appropriately diversified within its applicable asset class.

(B) Securities trading.

(i) Each manager shall send copies of each transac-
tion record to the PSF investment staff and custodians.

(i) Each manager shall be required to reconcile the
accounts under management on a monthly basis with the PSF invest-
ment staff and custodians.

(iii) Each manager shall be responsible for comply-
ing fully with PSF policies for trading securities and selecting broker-
age firms, as specified in §33.40 of this title (relating to Trading and
Brokerage Policy). In particular, the emphasis of security trading shall
be on best execution; that is, the highest proceeds to the PSF and the
lowest costs, net of all transaction expenses. Placing orders shall be
based on the financial viability of the brokerage firm and the assurance
of prompt and efficient execution.

(iv) The SBOE shall require each external manager
to indemnify the PSF for all failed trades not due to the negligence of
the PSF or its custodian in instances where the selection of the broker
dealer is not in compliance with §33.40 of this title (relating to Trading
and Brokerage Policy).

(C) Acknowledgments in writing.

(i) Each external investment manager retained
by the PSF must be a person, firm, or corporation registered as an
investment adviser under the Investment Adviser Act of 1940, a
bank as defined in the Act, or an insurance company qualified to do
business in more than one state, and must acknowledge its fiduciary
responsibility in writing. A firm registered with the Securities and
Exchange Commission (SEC) must annually provide a copy of its
Form ADV, Section II.

(i) The SBOE may require each external manager to
obtain coverage for errors and omissions in an amount set by the SBOE,
but the coverage shall be at least the greater of $500,000 or 1.0% of the
assets managed, not exceeding $10 million. The coverage should be
specific as to the assets of the PSF. The manager shall annually provide
evidence in writing of the existence of the coverage.

(iii)  Each external manager may be required by the
SBOE to obtain fidelity bonds, fiduciary liability insurance, or both.

(iv) Each manager shall acknowledge in writing re-
ceiving a copy of, and agreeing to comply with, the provisions of this
chapter.

(D) Discretionary investment authority. Subject to the
provisions of this chapter, any investment manager of marketable se-
curities or other investments, retained by the PSF, shall have full dis-
cretionary investment authority over the assets for which the manager
is responsible. Specialist advisors and investment managers retained
for alternative asset investments may have a varying degree of discre-
tionary authority, which will be outlined in contract documentation.

(d) Reporting procedures for investment managers. The in-
vestment manager shall:

(1) prepare a monthly and quarterly report for delivery to
the SBOE, the SBOE Committee on School Finance/Permanent School
Fund, and the PSF investment staff that shall include, in the appropriate
format, items requested by the SBOE. The monthly reports shall briefly
cover the firm's economic review; a review of recent and anticipated in-
vestment activity; a summary of major changes that have occurred in
the investment markets and in the portfolio, particularly since the last
report; and a summary of the key characteristics of the PSF portfolio.
Quarterly reports shall comprehensively cover the same information as
monthly reports but shall also include any changes in the firm's struc-
ture, professional team, or product offerings; a detail of the portfolio
holdings; and transactions for the period. Periodically, the PSF invest-
ment staff shall provide the investment manager a detailed description
of, and format for, these reports;
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(2) when requested by the SBOE Committee on School Fi-
nance/Permanent School Fund, make a presentation describing the pro-
fessionals retained for the PSF, the investment process used for the PSF
portfolio under the manager's responsibility, and any related issues;

(3) when requested by the PSF investment staff, meet to
discuss the management of the portfolio, new developments, and any
related matters; and

(4) implement a specific investment process for the PSF.
The manager shall describe the process and its underlying philosophy
in an attachment to its investment management agreement with the PSF
and manage according to this process until the PSF and manager agree
in writing to any change.

§33.30.  Standards of Performance.

(a) The State Board of Education (SBOE) Committee on
School Finance/Permanent School Fund shall set and maintain perfor-
mance standards for the total Texas Permanent School Fund (PSF), for
each asset class in which the assets of the PSF are invested, and for all
investment managers based on criteria that include the following:

(1) time horizon;
(2) real rate of return;
(3) representative benchmark index;

(4) wvolatility of returns (or risk), as measured by standard
deviation; and

(5) universe comparison.

(b) The SBOE Committee on School Finance/Permanent
School Fund shall develop and implement the procedures necessary
to establish and recommend to the SBOE the performance standards
criteria.

(c) Performance standards shall be included in the PSF Invest-
ment Procedures Manual.

$§33.35.  Guidelines for the Custodian and the Securities Lending
Agent.

Completing custodial and security lending functions in an accurate and
timely manner is necessary for effective investment management and
accurate records.

(1) A custodian shall have the following responsibilities re-
garding the segments of the funds for which the custodian is responsi-
ble.

(A) Provide complete custody and depository services
for the designated accounts.

(B) Provide for investment of any cash on a daily basis
to avoid uninvested amounts.

(C) Implement the investment actions in a timely and
effective manner as directed by the investment managers.

(D) Collect all realizable income and principal and
properly report the information on the periodic statements to the
Texas Permanent School Fund (PSF) investment staff, the investment
managers, or other appropriate parties.

(E) Provide monthly and annual accounting statements,
as well as on-line, real-time accounting, that includes all transactions.
Accounting shall be based on accurate security values for cost and mar-
ket value and provided within a time frame acceptable to the State
Board of Education (SBOE).

(F) Report to the PSF investment staff situations in
which security pricing is either not possible or subject to considerable
uncertainty.

(G) Distribute all proxy voting materials in a timely
manner.

(H) Provide research and assistance to the SBOE and
the PSF investment staff on all issues related to accounting and admin-
istration.

(I) Confirm that the depth of resources and personnel
associated with the designated funds are comparable to those of the
nation's leading custodial banks.

(2) A securities lending agent for the PSF shall have the
following responsibilities.

(A) Provide complete transaction reporting for the des-
ignated funds.

(B) Provide a monthly accounting, as well as on-line,
real-time accounting for securities lending transactions, based on ac-
curate security values.

(C) Report to the PSF investment staff any irregular sit-
uation that is outside the standard of practice for securities lending or
inconsistent with the provisions of the securities lending agreement.

(D) Implement a securities lending program for the PSF
in a manner that does not impair any rights of the PSF by virtue of PSF
ownership in securities.

(E) Asrequested, provide research and assistance to the
SBOE and the PSF investment staff on all issues related to accounting
and administration.

(F) Provide indemnification to the PSF satisfactory to
the SBOE in the event of default on securities lending transactions.

(G) Fully disclose all revenues and other fees associated
with the securities lending program.

(H) Comply with restrictions on types of securities
lending transactions or eligible investments of cash collateral or any
other restrictions imposed by the SBOE or the PSF investment staff.
Unless the SBOE gives its written approval, the following guidelines
apply to the PSF Securities Lending Program. Cash collateral rein-
vestment guidelines must meet the following standards.

(i) Permissible investments.

(1) U.S. Government and U.S. Agencies, under
the following criteria:

(-a-) any security issued by or fully guaran-
teed as to payment of principal and interest by the U.S. Government
or a U.S. Government Agency or sponsored Agency, and eligible for
transfer via Federal Reserve Bank book entry, Depository Trust Com-
pany book entry, and/or Participants Trust Company book entry;

(-b-) maximum 397-day maturity on fixed
rate;

(-c-) maximum three-year maturity on float-
ing rate, with maximum reset period of 94 days and use a standard
repricing index such as London InterBank Offered Rate (LIBOR), Fed-
eral Funds, Treasury Bills, or commercial paper; and

(-d-) no maximum dollar limit.

(II) Bank obligations, under the following crite-

ria:
(-a-) time deposits with maximum 60-day
maturity on fixed rate or three-year maturity for floating rate, with
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maximum reset period of 60 days and use a standard repricing index
such as LIBOR, Federal Funds, Treasury Bills, or commercial paper;

(-b-) negotiable Certificates of Deposit with
maximum 397-day maturity on fixed rate or three-year maturity for
floating rate, with maximum reset period of 94 days and use a standard
repricing index such as LIBOR, Federal Funds, Treasury Bills, or com-
mercial paper;

(-c-) bank notes with maximum 397-day ma-
turity on fixed rate or three-year maturity on floating rate, with maxi-
mum reset period of 94 days and use a standard repricing index such
as LIBOR, Federal Funds, Treasury Bills, or commercial paper;

(-d-) bankers acceptances with maximum
45-day maturity;

(-e-) issued by banks with at least $25 billion
in assets and, for floating rate bank obligations with a maturity greater
than 397 days, a long-term rating of AA2 and AA by Moody's Investor
Service and Standard & Poor's Corporation at time of purchase; and,
for fixed rate or floating rate bank obligations with a remaining maturity
of 397 days or less, a short-term rating of "Tier 1" as defined in clause
(i1))(IV) of this subparagraph or, for such bank obligations without a
short-term rating, an issuer rating of Tier 1. In addition, placements
can be made in branches within the following countries:

(-1-) Canada;

(-2-) France;

(-3-) United Kingdom; and
(-4-) United States; and

(-f-) dollar limit maximum per institution of
5.0% of investment portfolio at time of purchase.

(III) Commercial paper, under the following cri-
teria:

(-a-) dollar limit maximum per issuer of 5.0%
of investment portfolio at time of purchase including any other obliga-
tions of that issuer as established in subclause (II)(-d-) of this clause.
If backed 100% by bank Letter of Credit, then dollar limit is applied
against the issuing bank;

(-b-) must be rated "Tier 1" as defined in
clause (i1)(IV) of this subparagraph; and

(-c-) maximum 397-day maturity.

(1V)  Asset backed commercial paper, under the
following criteria:
(-a-) dollar limit maximum per issuer of 5.0%
of investment portfolio;
(-b-) must be rated "Tier 1" as defined in
clause (ii)(IV) of this subparagraph; and
(-c-) maximum 397-day maturity.

(V) Asset backed securities, under the following
criteria:

(-a-) maximum 397-day weighted average
life on fixed rate;

(-b-) maximum three-year weighted average
life on floating rate, with maximum reset period of 94 days and use
a standard repricing index such as LIBOR, Federal Funds, Treasury
Bills, or commercial paper; and

(-c-) rated Aaa and AAA by Moody's In-
vestor Service and Standard & Poor's Corporation at time of purchase.
One AAA rating may suffice if only rated by one Nationally Recog-
nized Securities Rating Organization (NRSRO).

(VI) Corporate debt (other than commercial pa-
per), under the following criteria:
(-a-) must be senior debt;

(-b-) maximum 397-day maturity on fixed
rate;

(-c-) maximum three-year maturity on float-
ing rate, with maximum reset period of 94 days and use a standard
repricing index such as LIBOR, Federal Funds, Treasury Bills, or com-
mercial paper;

(-d-) for floating rate corporate obligations
with a maturity greater than 397 days, a long-term rating of AA2 and
AA by Moody's Investor Service and Standard & Poor's Corporation
at time of purchase; and, for fixed rate or floating rate corporate
obligations with a remaining maturity of 397 days or less, a short-term
rating of "Tier 1" as defined in clause (ii)(IV) of this subparagraph or,
for such corporate obligations without a short-term rating, an issuer
rating of Tier 1; and

(-e-) dollar limit maximum per issuer of 5.0%
of investment portfolio at time of purchase, including any other obli-
gations of that issuer.

(VIl) Reverse repurchase agreements, under the
following criteria:

(-a-) counterparty must be "Tier 1" rated as
defined in clause (ii)(IV) of this subparagraph for fixed rate and AA2
and AA by Moody's Investor Service and Standard & Poor's Corpora-
tion for floating rate or be a "Primary Dealer" in Government Securities
as per the New York Federal Reserve Bank;

(-b-) underlying collateral may be any secu-
rity permitted for direct investment;

(-c-) lending agent or a third party custodian
must hold collateral under tri-party agreement;

(-d-) collateral must be marked to market
daily and maintained at the following margin levels;

(-1-) U.S. Government, U.S. Gov-
ernment Agency, sponsored Agency, International Organization at
100%;

(-2-) Certificate of  Deposits,
Bankers Acceptance, bank notes, commercial paper at 102% under
one year to maturity and rated at least "Tier 1" as defined in clause
(11)(IV) of this subparagraph; and

(-3-) corporate debt (other than
commercial paper) at 105% rated at least AA2/AA or better by
Moody's Investor Service and Standard & Poor's Corporation at time
of purchase;

(-e-) due to daily margin maintenance, dollar
limits and maturity limits of underlying collateral are waived, except
with respect to the maturity limit in subclause (II)(-d-) of this clause;

(-f-) maximum 180-day maturity; and

(-g-) dollar limit for total reverse repurchase
agreements is the greater of $300 million or 15% of value of cash col-
lateral portfolio with one counterparty at time of purchase.

(VIII) Foreign sovereign debt, under the follow-

(-a-) any security issued by or fully guaran-
teed as to payment of principal and interest by a foreign government
whose sovereign debt is rated AA2/AA or better by Moody's Investor
Service and Standard & Poor's Corporation at time of purchase. Se-
curities must be delivered to Lending Agent or a third party under a
Tri-Party agreement;

ing criteria:

(-b-) dollar limit maximum per issuer or guar-
antor of 2.5% of investment portfolio; and
(-c-) maximum maturity of 397 days.

(IX)  Short Term Investment Fund (STIF) and/or
Registered Mutual Funds, under the following criteria:
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(-a-) funds must comprise investments simi-
lar to those that would otherwise be approved for securities lending
investment under the provisions of this subparagraph, not invest in
derivatives, and not re-hypothecate assets;

(-b-) lender must approve each fund in writ-
ing and only upon receipt of offering documents and qualified letter;
and

(-c-) fund must have an objective of a con-
stant share price of one dollar.

(i) Investment parameters.

(1) Maximum weighted average maturity of in-
vestment portfolio must be 180 days.

(1) Maximum weighted average interest rate ex-
posure of investment portfolio must be 60 days.

(11I)  All investments must be U.S. dollar-denom-
inated.

(1V) "Tier 1" credit quality is defined as the high-
est short-term rating category by the following NRSROs:
(-a-) Standard & Poor's;
(-b-) Moody's Investors Service;
(-c-) Fitch Investors Service; and
(-d-) Duff & Phelps, LLC.

(V) At time of purchase all investments must
be rated in the highest short-term numerical category by at least two
NRSROs, one of which must be either Standard & Poor's or Moody's
Investors Service.

(VI) Issuer's ratings cannot be on negative credit
watch at the time of purchase.

(Vil) Interest and principal only (IO, PO)
stripped mortgages are not permitted.

(VIIl) Mortgage backed securities are not per-
mitted.

(IX) Complex derivative or structured securities,
including, but not limited to the following are not permitted:
(-a-) inverse floating rate notes;
(-b-) defined range floating rate notes;
(-c-) trigger notes; and
(-d-) set-up notes.

(I) Provide a copy of the investment policy governing
the custodian's securities lending program, as amended, to the PSF in-
vestment staff.

(J) Confirm that the depth of resources and personnel
associated with the designated funds are comparable to those of the
nation's leading securities lending agents.

§33.60. Performance and Review Procedures.

As requested by the State Board of Education (SBOE) or Texas Perma-
nent School Fund (PSF) investment staff, evaluation and periodic in-
vestment reports shall supply critical information on a continuing basis,
such as the amount of trading activity, investment performance, cash
positions, diversification ratios, rates of return, and other perspectives
of'the portfolios. The reports shall address compliance with investment
policy guidelines.

(1) Performance measurements. The SBOE Committee on
School Finance/Permanent School Fund shall review the quarterly per-
formance of each portfolio of the PSF in terms of the provisions of
this chapter. The investment performance review shall include com-
parisons with representative benchmark indices, a broad universe of

investment managers, and the consumer price index. A time-weighted
return formula (which minimizes the effect of contributions and with-
drawals) shall be used for investment return analysis. The review also
may include quarterly performance analysis and comparisons of re-
tained firms. The services of an outside, independent consulting firm
that provides performance measurement and evaluation shall be re-
tained.

(2) Meeting and reports. Upon request, the SBOE Com-
mittee on School Finance/Permanent School Fund shall meet with the
PSF investment managers and custodian to review their responsibili-
ties, the PSF portfolio, and investment results in terms of the provisions
of this chapter.

(3) Review and modification of investment policy state-
ment. The SBOE Committee on School Finance/Permanent School
Fund shall review the provisions of this chapter at least once a year to
determine if modifications are necessary or desirable. Upon approval
by the SBOE, any modifications shall be promptly reported to all in-
vestment managers and other responsible parties.

(4) Compliance with this chapter and Texas statutes. An-
nually, the SBOE Committee on School Finance/Permanent School
Fund shall confirm that the PSF and each of its managed portfolios
have complied with the provisions of this chapter concerning exclu-
sions imposed by the SBOE, proxy voting, and trading and brokerage
selection.

(5) Significant events. The SBOE must be notified
promptly if any of the following events occur within the custodian or
external investment manager organizations:

(A) any event that is likely to adversely impact to a sig-
nificant degree the management, professionalism, integrity, or financial
position of the custodian or investment manager. A custodian must re-
port the loss of an account of $500 million or more. An investment
manager must report the loss of an account of $25 million or more;

(B) aloss of one or more key people;
(C) asignificant change in investment philosophy;

(D) the addition of a new portfolio manager on the
sponsor's account;

(E) a change in ownership or control, through any
means, of the custodian or investment manager; or
(F) any violation of policy.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.
TRD-201603834

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: August 21, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497
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SUBCHAPTER C. TEXAS CERTIFICATE OF
HIGH SCHOOL EQUIVALENCY
19 TAC §§89.42, 89.43, 89.46, 89.47

The State Board of Education (SBOE) adopts amendments to
§§89.42, 89.43, 89.46, and 89.47, concerning the Texas Certifi-
cate of High School Equivalency. The amendments are adopted
without changes to the proposed text as published in the May
13, 2016 issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3414) and will
not be republished. The sections address official testing cen-
ters, eligibility for a Texas Certificate of High School Equivalency,
accommodations, and issuance of the certificate. The adopted
amendments update provisions related to the administration of
high school equivalency examinations by multiple providers, in-
cluding offering both paper-based and computer-based testing
formats; accommodations for applicants with documented dis-
abilities; court-ordered examinations; and fees and other provi-
sions for the issuance of certificates.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. In November 2011, the com-
mittee discussed proposed modifications to the current high
school equivalency program. The board asked Texas Education
Agency (TEA) staff to produce a Request for Information (RFI)
to identify available options for the operation of the Texas Cer-
tificate of High School Equivalency and report to the board the
results of the RFI. At the November 2012 committee meeting,
TEA staff presented the results of the RFI and provided informa-
tion regarding the potential development of a new Texas High
School Equivalency Examination. The committee requested
that the TEA continue its relationship with the GED® Testing
Service and not issue a Request for Proposals (RFP) for a
Texas High School Equivalency Examination.

At the September 2013 meeting, the board approved for sec-
ond reading and final adoption proposed amendments to 19 TAC
Chapter 89, Adaptations for Special Populations, Subchapter
C, Texas Certificate of High School Equivalency, to update the
rules, including the expansion of eligible entities that may apply
to become testing centers and the change in the fee structure.

In November 2013, the committee requested that the TEA draft
an RFP to solicit proposals for a provider for the Texas Certificate
of High School Equivalency examination.

Beginning in January 2014, all tests administered as part of the
Texas Certificate of High School Equivalency, with the exception
of tests provided by correctional institutions, transitioned from
paper-based tests to computer-based tests.

On January 5, 2015, the TEA released a competitive RFP. Re-
sponses were due to the TEA on February 17, 2015. At the
April 2015 SBOE meeting, the TEA staff presented the results
of the RFP. The SBOE requested that the TEA extend the ex-
isting provider's Memorandum of Understanding for six months
beyond the expiration date and begin the development of a new
RFP to potentially identify multiple test providers.

At the July 2015 meeting, the board approved a decision ma-
trix of requirements to be included in a future RFP. During the
September 2015 meeting, the board approved the competitive
RFP to be released in fall 2015. On October 6, 2015, the TEA
released a competitive RFP. Responses were due to the TEA on
November 17, 2015.

On January 29, 2016, the board voted to award contracts to three
separate companies to provide high school equivalency assess-
ments in Texas. The three companies are Data Recognition Cor-

poration, Educational Testing Service, and GED® Testing Ser-
vice.

The rules in 19 TAC Chapter 89, Subchapter C, provide for ad-
ministration of high school equivalency testing and certification,
including provisions relating to official testing centers, test taker
eligibility, accommodations for examinees with disabilities, and
the issuance of high school equivalency certificates.

Adopted amendments to 19 TAC Chapter 89, Subchapter C, up-
date the rules as follows.

Section 89.42, Official Testing Centers, was amended to estab-
lish entities eligible to serve as official paper-based testing cen-
ters, identify potential testing center violations, and update pro-
visions related to the administration of high school equivalency
examinations as both paper-based and computer-based testing
formats.

Section 89.43, Eligibility for a Texas Certificate of High School
Equivalency, was amended to add the statutory reference for
court-ordered examinations and the high school equivalency
program and to clarify the age requirements.

Section 89.46, Accommodations, was amended to prohibit test-
ing centers from charging fees or prepayments to evaluate re-
quests for accommodations and from charging additional fees
for the administration of examinations with approved accommo-
dations.

Section 89.47, Issuance of the Certificate, was amended to up-
date the total state administrative fee and the calculation of that
administrative fee; clarify that the certificate must indicate the
language, format, and provider of each test taken; and specify
that notification of nonissuance or cancellation of a certificate will
be made by the state administrator instead of the testing entity.

The amendments to 19 TAC Chapter 89, Subchapter C, were
approved by the SBOE for first reading and filing authorization
at its April 8, 2016 meeting and for second reading and final
adoption at its July 22, 2016 meeting.

In accordance with the TEC, §7.102(f), the SBOE approved the
amendments for adoption by a vote of two-thirds of its members
to specify an effective date earlier than the beginning of the 2017-
2018 school year. The earlier effective date will allow the agency
to implement the multiple vendor system as soon as possible.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES. Following is a
summary of the public comments received and the correspond-
ing responses regarding the proposed amendments to 19 TAC
Chapter 89, Subchapter C.

Comment. An individual commented that the SBOE should al-
low more than the three named testing agencies for paper-based
tests for adults with learning disabilities that need formal accom-
modations.

Response. The SBOE provides the following clarification. Cur-
rently only three entities provide high school equivalency exams
nationwide. No additional vendors are in the market at this time.

Comment. Tarrant Literacy Coalition and one individual com-
mented that additional locations, including local workforce de-
velopment boards, should be approved test centers.

Response. The SBOE provides the following clarification. Cur-
rently, local workforce development boards are eligible to admin-
ister computer-based testing. The SBOE will consider expand-
ing the list of eligible paper-based testing centers as a separate
rule action at a future date.
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Comment. Data Recognition Corporation requested that the list
of approved paper-based testing centers be expanded to include
adult education providers and workforce development boards.

Response. The SBOE will consider expanding the list of eligible
paper-based testing centers as a separate rule action at a future
date.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments are adopted un-
der the Texas Education Code, §7.111, which requires the SBOE
to adopt rules to develop and deliver high school equivalency
examinations and provide for the administration of the examina-
tions online.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendments imple-
ment the Texas Education Code, §7.111.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603836

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: August 21, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497
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CHAPTER 103. HEALTH AND SAFETY
SUBCHAPTER DD. COMMISSIONER'S
RULES CONCERNING VIDEO SURVEILLANCE
OF CERTAIN SPECIAL EDUCATION SETTINGS
19 TAC §103.1301

The Texas Education Agency (TEA) adopts new §103.1301, con-
cerning video surveillance of certain special education settings.
The new section is adopted with changes to the proposed text
as published in the April 8, 2016 issue of the Texas Register (41
TexReg 2567). The adopted new section reflects the require-
ments in Texas Education Code (TEC), §29.022, as added by
Senate Bill (SB) 507, 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session,
2015.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. In order to promote the safety of
students receiving special education and related services in cer-
tain self-contained classrooms and other special education set-
tings, SB 507, 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2015,
added TEC, §29.022, to require video surveillance.

Beginning with the 2016-2017 school year, on request by a par-
ent, trustee, or staff member, a school district or open-enroliment
charter school must provide video equipment, including video
cameras with audio recording capabilities, to campuses. Cam-
puses that receive such equipment must place, operate, and
maintain video cameras in certain self-contained classrooms or
other special education settings. Video recordings are confiden-
tial under the section and may only be released for viewing to
certain individuals.

The adopted new rule reflects the requirements in TEC, §29.022,
and provides clarification. Specifically, the rule specifies the spe-
cial educational settings to which the new law applies; defines

terms; clarifies that special education funds cannot be used to
implement the law; includes a provision relating to dispute reso-
lution; requires that school district boards of trustees and charter
school governing bodies adopt policies and procedures to imple-
ment the law; and includes provisions relating to confidentiality
issues and child abuse reporting.

In response to public comment, the following changes were
made at adoption.

In subsection (b)(1) and (2), the definitions of "parent" and "staff
member" were modified to clarify that a parent or staff member
that makes a request for video surveillance in a specific class-
room must be the parent of a child in the classroom or a staff
member assigned to the classroom.

Subsection (b)(9)(A) was amended to replace the word "or" with
the word "and" to correct a typographical error.

Subsection (f) was amended to specify that TEC, §29.022, and
the rule apply to video surveillance during the regular school year
and during extended school year services.

Subsection (g)(2) was amended to specify that local policies and
procedures must include the procedures for responding to a re-
quest for video surveillance.

Subsection (g)(3) was modified to clarify that the written notice
provided to campus staff and parents that video and audio
surveillance will be conducted in the classroom setting must be
provided in advance.

Subsection (g)(5) was amended to clarify that the statement re-
garding the personnel who will have access to video equipment
or video recordings is intended for personnel whose positions
have some role or responsibility for the operation or maintenance
of the video equipment or the video recordings.

The term "routine" was deleted from subsection (g)(9) to align
with the rule's authorizing statute.

Subsection (h)(3) was modified to clarify that training in de-es-
calation and restraint techniques applies only to administrators
and not to peace officers or school nurses.

The term "notify" in subsection (i) was replaced with the phrase
"submit a report to" to align with 19 TAC §61.1051, Reporting
Child Abuse and Neglect.

Finally, subsection (j) was amended to specify that a record-
ing believed to document a possible violation of school district,
open-enroliment charter school, or campus policy may be used
in a disciplinary action against district or charter school person-
nel and must be released for viewing by the district or charter
school employee who is the subject of the disciplinary action at
the request of the employee.

The agency has determined that for the first five-year period the
new section is in effect, enforcing or administering the new sec-
tion has no foreseeable economic implications relating to costs
or revenues of the state or local governments. However, the au-
thorizing statute, TEC, §29.022, has fiscal implications for school
districts and open-enrollment charter schools. The agency is not
able to report the total number of self-contained classrooms or
other special education settings that may be subject to the re-
quirements in TEC, §29.022. Whether a classroom or setting
is subject to the statute is dependent upon whether a majority of
the students in regular attendance receive special education ser-
vices in the classroom or setting for a majority of the instructional
day. According to school district representatives, the costs asso-
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ciated with implementing TEC, §29.022, will vary widely from dis-
trict to district based on the number of self-contained classrooms
and other special education settings in the district, the number of
cameras needed to cover each classroom or setting, the district's
existing technological infrastructure, the economies of scale (i.e.,
smaller districts will purchase fewer video cameras at a higher
price while larger ones will purchase more cameras at a lower
price), and other factors. On a per classroom basis, school dis-
tricts have estimated costs ranging between $3,500 and $5,500.
School districts have estimated that conducting video surveil-
lance districtwide could cost anywhere from $350,000 to $6.8
million.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSES. The
public comment period on the proposal began April 8, 2016, and
ended May 9, 2016. In addition, a public hearing was held on
May 19, 2016. Following is a summary of public comments
received and corresponding agency responses regarding pro-
posed new 19 TAC Chapter 103, Health and Safety, Subchap-
ter DD, Commissioner's Rules Concerning Video Surveillance of
Certain Special Education Settings, §103.1301, Video Surveil-
lance of Certain Special Education Settings.

Comment. An individual expressed concern that the agency has
noted that the proposed rule does not fall under the Individuals
with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA).

Agency Response. The comment is outside of the scope of the
proposed rulemaking. The agency clarifies that IDEA and its im-
plementing regulations do not require video surveillance of class-
rooms in which special education and related services are pro-
vided to eligible students.

Comment. A special education teacher commented that these
matters are scary, threatening, and a bad idea. The teacher
further commented that the technology will be costly and that
schools are already shorthanded on technology services. Fi-
nally, the teacher stated that a couple of bad apples should not
bring on such a huge undertaking.

Agency Response. The comments are outside of the scope of
the proposed rulemaking.

Comment. A school district administrator expressed disagree-
ment with various aspects of TEC, §29.022. The administrator
further stated that it is the hope of many that as the process un-
folds, it can be done with guidance and consideration from the
legislature and the agency.

Agency Response. The comment is outside of the scope of the
proposed rulemaking.

Comment. A school district administrator expressed support for
video surveillance in special education classrooms and com-
mented that cameras will be a safeguard for all concerned. Two
individuals also expressed support for video surveillance in spe-
cial education classrooms.

Agency Response. The agency agrees that the rule is appropri-
ate. In response to other comments, the agency has amended
§103.1301(b)(1), (2), and (9); (9)(2). (3), (5), and (9); (h)(3); (i);
and (j) at adoption.

Comment. A school district administrator commented that find-
ing a particular incident on a video recording will not be easy as
no one will be monitoring the video feed. The commenter further
stated that districts will spend a significant amount of time and
funds to defend what, in many cases, are ethically appropriate
practices. Finally, the commenter expressed concern that the

mandate is unfunded and will cost the administrator's district $1
million.

Agency Response. The comment regarding finding a particular
incident on a video recording is outside of the scope of the pro-
posed rulemaking. The agency agrees that there will be certain
costs to districts associated with implementation of the require-
ments related to video surveillance.

Comment. A school district administrator commented that
the administrator's district estimates that implementing TEC,
§29.022, will cost the district $350,000. The commenter further
stated that the district is eager for the rulemaking process to be
completed.

Agency Response. The agency agrees that there will be certain
costs to districts associated with implementation of the require-
ments related to video surveillance.

Comment. The law firm of Thompson & Horton submitted
comments on behalf of its attorneys and four school districts.
Thompson & Horton commented that the fiscal note for the
proposed rules is wholly inadequate and asserted that Texas
Education Agency has a duty to calculate all costs of SB 507
and include them in its notice. Thompson & Horton further
stated that if the rule is not in substantial compliance with the
fiscal note requirement, it is voidable under Texas Government
Code, §2001.035(a). Thompson & Horton also asserted that
the commissioner's duty to accurately estimate the cost to
school districts of whichever construction he adopts is impor-
tant because of the potential conflict between TEC, §29.022,
and other statutes relating to how districts budget and spend
funds. According to Thompson & Horton, if the proposed rule
interprets TEC, §29.022, broadly, a single member of a board
of trustees, a single employee, or a single parent could force
the district to spend millions of dollars in a manner that is not in
accordance with the budget adopted by the school board. The
Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) submitted similar
comments related to the fiscal note and recommended that
the agency include an estimate of costs in compliance with the
Texas Administrative Procedure Act.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. It remains the
agency's position that the costs to school districts and open-en-
rollment charter schools related to operating and maintaining
video equipment and video recordings result from the enact-
ment of TEC, §29.022, not from enforcing or administering the
new rule. The agency is not able to report the total number of
self-contained classrooms or other special education settings
that may be subject to the requirements in TEC, §29.022.
Whether a classroom or setting is subject to the statute is
dependent upon whether a majority of the students in regular
attendance receive special education services in the classroom
or setting for a majority of the instructional day. According to
school district representatives, the costs associated with imple-
menting TEC, §29.022, will vary widely from district to district
based on the number of self-contained classrooms and other
special education settings in the district, the number of cameras
needed to cover each classroom or setting, the district's exist-
ing technological infrastructure, the economies of scale (i.e.,
smaller districts will purchase fewer video cameras at a higher
price while larger ones will purchase more cameras at a lower
price), and other factors. On a per classroom basis, school
districts have estimated costs ranging between $3,500 and
$5,500. School districts have estimated that conducting video
surveillance districtwide could cost anywhere from $350,000 to
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$6.8 million. The agency will revise the fiscal note at adoption
to include this additional information.

Comment. A school district's general counsel commented that
the cost of complying with the statute is overwhelming and that
the logistics of complying with it are extremely complicated. The
commenter further stated that the commenter's district antici-
pates spending over $1 million to install the video cameras and
storage equipment and will spend additional amounts to maintain
the cameras and implement other requirements in the statute.

Agency Response. The agency agrees that there will be certain
costs to districts associated with implementation of the require-
ments related to video surveillance.

Comment. An individual commented that while some may dis-
like the fact that TEC, §29.022, has fiscal implications for school
districts and open-enroliment charter schools, the financial bur-
den is not undue and will be more than offset by three probable
benefits: (1) the deterrence of abuse and neglect by educators;
(2) the deterrence of false accusations against educators; and
(3) increased public confidence that classroom safety is being
monitored.

Agency Response. The comment is outside of the scope of the
proposed rulemaking.

Comment. A school district employee submitted excerpts from
an agency letter requesting the Texas Attorney General's opin-
ion regarding the proper construction of TEC, §29.022, and com-
mented that the statute should clarify the questions the agency
asked.

Agency Response. The comment is outside of the scope of the
proposed rulemaking.

Comment. A school district employee asked various questions
regarding the requirements for video cameras and storage
servers and how to deal with technical problems and other
events that may arise.

Agency Response. The comment is outside of the scope of the
proposed rulemaking.

Comment. A school district administrator asked various ques-
tions about the intent of TEC, §29.022, and the proposed rule.

Agency Response. The comment is outside of the scope of the
proposed rulemaking.

Comment. A school district employee commented that SB 507 is
not fair and that a few instances of misconduct should not mark
all school staff. The commenter further stated that more money
should be put toward increasing salaries and hiring additional
staff so that no staff members are alone with students.

Agency Response. The comment is outside of the scope of the
proposed rulemaking.

Comment. A special education teacher commented that the
teacher was allowed to survey special education teachers who
are members of the Houston Federation of Teachers and that
more than 300 teachers responded to the survey. According to
the commenter, 64% of respondents indicated that they would
either leave teaching or teaching students with special needs
if cameras were installed in their classrooms. The commenter
further stated that the shortage of special education teachers
should be expected to get worse in the next few years.

Agency Response. The comment is outside of the scope of the
proposed rulemaking.

Comment. An individual commented that the proposed rule
leaves too much up to school districts.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that the rule appropriately addresses issues that fall within the
commissioner's rulemaking authority.

Comment. An individual asked whether something must occur
before a parent can request video surveillance.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. Neither TEC, §29.022, nor the rule require that an incident
occur before a parent may request video surveillance.

Comment. An individual commented that placing video cameras
in every special education classroom after someone merely re-
quests it is poor governmental planning. The commenter fur-
ther stated that the statute is an unfunded mandate that is not
needed. The commenter also stated that schools go out of their
way to be problem solvers to help students and that video cam-
eras should only be required when evidence shows a need for
them.

Agency Response. The comment is outside of the scope of the
proposed rulemaking.

Comment. An individual commented that video surveillance
should not be limited to certain special education settings
and should be conducted at bus stops, in cafeterias, and in
restrooms. Two individuals commented that video surveillance
should be conducted in all places that a child goes during the
day or week.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. TEC, §29.022, re-
quires video surveillance in limited special education instruc-
tional settings.

Comment. An individual commented that he is amazed at the
agency's efforts to stop the installation of video cameras in spe-
cial needs classrooms.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The rule does not contain a provision that allows a school
district or charter school a means to opt out of the requirements
in TEC, §29.022.

Comment. Several individuals commented that the agency has
created a "loophole" for school districts to opt out of installing
video cameras in special education classrooms and encour-
aged the agency to ensure that the statute is implemented as
intended.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The rule does not
contain a provision that allows a school district or charter school
a means to opt out of the requirements in TEC, §29.022.

Comment. An individual commented that a single request needs
to justify the installation of video cameras.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. TEC, §29.022(a), requires a school district or open-en-
roliment charter school to provide equipment, including a video
camera, to each school in the district or each charter school cam-
pus in which a student who receives special education services
in a self-contained classroom or other special education setting
is enrolled on request by a parent, trustee, or staff member.

Comment. An individual commented that it is imperative to the
health and safety of children with special needs that all class-
rooms in all schools be required to install and maintain cameras
anytime the classrooms are being used. Another individual com-
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mented that video cameras should be installed inside all special
needs classrooms beginning with the 2016-2017 school year.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. TEC, §29.022(a), requires a school district or open-en-
rollment charter school to provide equipment, including a video
camera, to each school in the district or each charter school cam-
pus in which a student who receives special education services
in a self-contained classroom or other special education setting
is enrolled on request by a parent, trustee, or staff member. The
agency further clarifies that the requirements in TEC, §29.022,
begin with the 2016-2017 school year.

Comment. A school district employee recommended that the
proposed rule include minimum requirements for video cameras
such as how many frames per second will be required to be
recorded, the camera resolution, whether motion only record-
ing is permitted, etc. A school district administrator also recom-
mended that technical specifications and minimum requirements
for cameras be included in the rule.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. TEC, §29.022, does not include any
specifications for video cameras except that it requires that they
be capable of (1) covering all areas of the classroom or setting,
except for a bathroom or other area in which a student's clothes
are changed, and (2) recording audio from all areas of the class-
room or setting. The agency has determined that school districts
and charter schools are in the best position to determine the type
of equipment that is needed to conduct the required surveillance
in a particular special education instructional setting.

Comment. An individual asked whether the requirement that
campuses that receive video equipment must place, operate,
and maintain video cameras in self-contained classrooms
means that all video equipment and recordings be located in the
self-contained classroom. The commenter also asked whether
the systems will be under lock and key and whether staff who
work in self-contained classrooms will have access to the video
equipment and recordings.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The agency does not interpret TEC, §29.022, to require
that video recordings be stored in the classroom in which the
video cameras are located. The agency also clarifies that the
individuals who have access to video recordings are outlined in
subsection (h).

Comment. A school district administrator, a school district em-
ployee, and the Austin Independent School District (ISD) re-
quested clarification on the timeline for placing video cameras
in a classroom after a request for video surveillance has been
made. The administrator commented that with the Education
Department General Administrative Regulations (EDGAR), it is
a much longer and more tedious process to purchase equipment
and, in some cases, may take up to six months for bids, con-
tracts, and purchase orders to be completed. Three individuals
commented that the proposed rule should include timelines for
installing video cameras once a request has been made.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. TEC, §29.022, does not include a
timeline for installing video equipment after a request for video
surveillance has been received. Because the number of class-
rooms and settings that are subject to the requirements of the
statute could vary significantly from one school district or charter
school to another, school districts and charter schools are in the

best position to determine a reasonable time period for installing
the equipment after a request has been received. The agency
clarifies that the EDGAR regulations only apply to expenditures
for which federal grant funds are used. As stated in subsection
(d), neither IDEA funds nor state special education funds may
be used to implement the requirements of TEC, §29.022.

Comment. An individual recommended that the proposed rule
should require that school districts and charter schools provide
a response to a request for video surveillance within 10 days of
receipt of the request and should require the installation of the
video equipment between 30 to 60 days after the initial 10-day
period.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. TEC, §29.022, does not include a
timeline for installing video equipment after a request for video
surveillance has been received. Because the number of class-
rooms and settings that are subject to the requirements of the
statute could vary significantly from one school district or charter
school to another, school districts and charter schools are in the
best position to determine a reasonable time for installing the
equipment after a request has been received.

Comment. The Houston ISD commented that the authors of SB
507 intended for video cameras to be installed only in a specific
classroom but that the language in the bill causes confusion as
to whether a request requires video surveillance districtwide or
only in a specific classroom. Houston ISD further stated that it
is glad that the commissioner has requested an opinion from the
Texas Attorney General regarding this issue. Houston ISD also
commented that the bill could potentially affect its ability to recruit
and retain special education teachers because many have ex-
pressed concerns that the bill does not require video surveillance
of general education teachers. Houston ISD stated that if one re-
quest triggers the installation of video cameras districtwide, the
cost will be approximately $6.8 million and that its implemen-
tation costs would be significantly reduced if a request only re-
quires the installation of video cameras in a specific classroom.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. While the express language in TEC, §29.022(a), reflects
that a single request requires that video surveillance be con-
ducted districtwide, some legislators have made post-enactment
statements that the intent was for one request to trigger video
surveillance in one instructional setting. The agency has sought
guidance from the Texas Attorney General regarding whether
TEC, §29.022(a), can reasonably be construed to mean that a
request for video surveillance only requires that video surveil-
lance be conducted in one self-contained instructional setting.
The agency will modify the rule, as necessary, upon receipt of
the Texas Attorney General's opinion.

Comment. TASB and Thompson & Horton recommended that
subsection (a) be changed to specify that one request only trig-
gers a requirement that video equipment be placed in the class-
room that the parent, staff member, or trustee designates. The
commenters further stated that the commissioner has broad rule-
making authority under TEC, §29.022, and should adopt rules
that limit a single request to a single special education setting.
Alternatively, the commenters recommended that the commis-
sioner adopt a rule stating that a requestor can limit his or her
request to a single classroom. Two school district administra-
tors and a school district's general counsel also recommended
that the rules clarify that a single request for video surveillance
applies to a single classroom.
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Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. Stakeholders disagree as to the number
of self-contained instructional settings affected by a single
request for video surveillance. While the express language in
TEC, §29.022(a), reflects that a single request requires that
video surveillance be conducted districtwide, some legislators
have made post-enactment statements that the intent was for
one request to trigger video surveillance in one instructional set-
ting. The agency has sought guidance from the Texas Attorney
General regarding whether TEC, §29.022(a), can reasonably
be construed to mean that a request for video surveillance only
requires that video surveillance be conducted in one self-con-
tained instructional setting. The agency will modify the rule,
as necessary, upon receipt of the Texas Attorney General's
opinion.

Comment. A school district administrator commented that there
are concerns regarding whether a request for video surveillance
requires that cameras be placed in every classroom in the school
district that is subject to TEC, §29.022. The commenter further
stated that while one parent may have the right to request video
surveillance, that right should not overshadow the rights of other
students. Two individuals commented that the proposed rule
should clarify whether a single request triggers a school district's
duty to install cameras at a single campus or across the entire
district. Two school district employees asked whether a request
for video surveillance triggers a requirement that cameras be
installed at all of a district's campuses.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The agency has sought guidance from the Texas Attorney
General regarding whether TEC, §29.022(a), can reasonably be
construed to mean that a request for video surveillance only re-
quires that video surveillance be conducted in one self-contained
instructional setting. The agency will modify the rule, as neces-
sary, upon receipt of the Texas Attorney General's opinion.

Comment. The Texas affiliate of the American Federation of
Teachers (Texas AFT) and approximately 60 individuals com-
mented that the commissioner should construe the statute as
requiring video surveillance in one classroom when a request
for video surveillance is received.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. The agency has sought guidance from
the Texas Attorney General regarding whether TEC, §29.022(a),
can reasonably be construed to mean that a request for video
surveillance only requires that video surveillance be conducted
in one self-contained instructional setting. The agency will mod-
ify the rule, as necessary, upon receipt of the Texas Attorney
General's opinion.

Comment. A school district administrator asked whether a board
member's request for video surveillance triggers a requirement
to place video cameras throughout the entire district, at a specific
campus, or a specific classroom.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The agency has sought guidance from the Texas Attorney
General regarding whether TEC, §29.022(a), can reasonably be
construed to mean that a request for video surveillance only re-
quires that video surveillance be conducted in one self-contained
instructional setting. The agency will modify the rule, as neces-
sary, upon receipt of the Texas Attorney General's opinion.

Comment. A teacher and an education service center (ESC)
employee asked for clarification regarding whether audio surveil-
lance is required in bathrooms and changing areas. The teacher

also asked how the other students' confidentiality rights are not
violated when a parent requests video surveillance.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. TEC, §29.022(c), reflects that audio surveillance must be
conducted in bathrooms and areas in which a student's clothes
are changed but that no video surveillance may be conducted in
such areas.

Comment. A lawyer and two school district administrators rec-
ommended that language be added to the rule to clarify that
video surveillance may be discontinued if the teacher or student
whose parent requested video surveillance is no longer assigned
to the classroom. A former school district administrator asked
what happens if video surveillance is requested and the individ-
ual who made the request is no longer associated with the dis-
trict.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clar-
ification. TEC, §29.022, does not address whether video
surveillance in a classroom may be discontinued under the
circumstances described by the commenters. The agency
has requested the Texas Attorney General's opinion regarding
whether the statute may reasonably be construed to allow a
school district or charter school to discontinue video surveillance
in a self-contained instructional setting if the circumstances
surrounding the request have changed substantially (e.g., the
student whose parent requested video surveillance is no longer
assigned to the classroom or has left the campus or district, the
teacher who requested video surveillance is no longer assigned
to the classroom, the term of office of the trustee who requested
video surveillance has ended, etc.). The agency will modify the
rule, as necessary, upon receipt of the Texas Attorney General's
opinion.

Comment. A school district administrator commented that the
rule needs greater specificity as to which classes are covered
and when cameras may be removed.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The agency has
determined that the definitions of "self-contained classroom”
and "other special education setting" in subsection (b) make
clear which classrooms are subject to the requirements of TEC,
§29.022.

Comment. A school district administrator commented that the
definitions of "parent," "staff member," and "trustee" are very
helpful. The commenter also stated that she appreciated the
definition of "self-contained classroom." A former school district
administrator also commented in support of the agency's desire
to provide clarification by providing definitions.

Agency Response. The agency agrees. In response to other
comments, the agency has amended §103.1301(b)(1), (2), and
(9)-

Comment. Several school district administrators and employ-
ees, the Texas Council of Administrators of Special Education
(TCASE), a lawyer, and two ESC employees recommended that
the definitions of "parent" and "staff member" be modified to clar-
ify that a parent or staff member that makes a request for video
surveillance in a specific classroom must be the parent of a child
in the classroom or a staff member assigned to the classroom.
Specifically, the commenters recommended that the article "a"
preceding the term "self-contained classroom" be changed to the
article "the."

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has modified the
definitions of "parent" and "staff member" in subsection (b)(1)
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and (2) by replacing the article "a" with the article "the" as rec-
ommended.

Comment. Thompson & Horton commented that it agrees with
the definitions in subsection (b) but recommended that the defi-
nitions of "parent" and "staff member" be modified to clarify that
a parent or staff member who makes a request for video surveil-
lance must be the parent of a child in the classroom or a staff
member assigned to the classroom.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has modified the
definitions of "parent" and "staff member" in subsection (b)(1)
and (2) by replacing the article "a" with the article "the" as rec-
ommended.

Comment. TASB expressed its support for the definitions of
"staff member," "self-contained classroom," and "other special
education setting." The Texas Classroom Teachers Association
(TCTA) commented that it supports the definition of "staff mem-
ber."

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has maintained the
definitions of "self-contained classroom," and "other special ed-
ucation setting" as proposed. In response to other comments,
the agency has modified the definition of "staff member" in sub-
section (b)(2) by replacing the article "a" with the article "the."

Comment. A school district's general counsel commented
that the definition of "parent" is unclear and recommended
that the rule state that "parent" has the same meaning it does
under IDEA. Disability Rights Texas (DRTx), The Arc of Texas
(The Arc), and Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities
(TCDD) also recommended that the term "parent" be defined
as the term is defined in IDEA. One school district administrator
recommended that the term "parent" be defined.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The rule incorpo-
rates the definition of "parent" in TEC, Chapter 26, which out-
lines the parental rights and responsibilities concerning various
educational activities and matters. This basic definition is more
appropriate for the implementation of TEC, §29.022, than the in-
tricate definition of "parent" in IDEA, which includes surrogate
parents whose appointments are for the sole purpose of repre-
senting the child in matters related to the child's special educa-
tion evaluation and programming but not in other general mat-
ters. In response to other comments, the agency has modified
the definition of "parent” in subsection (b)(1) by replacing the ar-
ticle "a" with the article "the."

Comment. DRTx, The Arc, and TCDD recommended that the
term "staff member" be revised to include all school employ-
ees and contractors of the campus at which a self-contained
classroom or other special education setting is located within the
school district or open-enroliment charter school. An individual
commented that the intent of SB 507 was for any staff member
to be able to request video surveillance.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and finds no indica-
tion that there was a legislative intent for any district or campus
employee or contractor to be allowed to request video surveil-
lance. Therefore, the rule defines the term "staff member" as
a teacher, related service provider, paraprofessional, or educa-
tional aide assigned to work in the self-contained instructional
setting and a campus principal or assistant principal of the cam-
pus at which the self-contained instructional setting is located.
The agency has sought guidance from the Texas Attorney Gen-
eral regarding whether the term "staff member" in TEC, §29.022,
can reasonably be construed in this manner. The agency will

modify the rule, as necessary, upon receipt of the Texas Attorney
General's opinion. In response to other comments, the agency
has modified the definition of "staff member" in subsection (b)(2)
by replacing the article "a" with the article "the."

Comment. The Texas Association of School Administrators
(TASA) recommended that the term "related service provider"
be deleted from the definition of "staff member" because a
related service provider is not a school district employee.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees with the assertion
that related service providers are not school district employees.
While some related service providers are contractors, many are
school district and charter school employees. In response to
other comments, the agency has modified the definition of "staff
member" in subsection (b)(2) by replacing the article "a" with the
article "the."

Comment. TCASE, two school district administrators, and
Austin ISD commented that they agree with the definitions in
subsection (b)(3)-(8).

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has maintained lan-
guage as proposed.

Comment. A school district administrator asked whether the
term "residential care" in paragraphs (5) and (6) of subsection
(b) of the proposed rule refers to private facilities that a district
might contract with or to residential facilities that a district oper-
ates. The commenter also questioned how a district can spend
public funds to ensure that a private facility complies with a re-
quest for video surveillance.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clar-
ification. The definitions of "self-contained classroom" and
"other special education setting" in subsection (b) refer to
certain instructional arrangements/settings described in the
student attendance accounting handbook adopted under 19
TAC §129.1025, Adoption by Reference: Student Attendance
Accounting Handbook.  The instructional arrangement/set-
ting "residential care and treatment facility--self-contained
(mild/moderate/severe) regular campus" applies to a student
who resides in a residential facility and receives special edu-
cation and related services in a self-contained classroom on a
local school district campus for 50% or more of the instructional
day. The instructional arrangement/setting "residential care and
treatment facility--full-time early childhood special education
setting" applies to a student who is three to five years of age,
resides in a residential facility, and receives full-time special
education and related services in educational programs de-
signed primarily for children with disabilities on a local school
district campus (other than a separate campus). The instruc-
tional arrangement/setting "residential care and treatment
facility--separate campus" applies to a student who resides in
a residential facility and receives special education and related
services on a local school district campus in a self-contained
classroom at a separate campus (i.e., a campus that serves only
students who receive special education and related services).
With regard to all three instructional arrangements/settings, the
term "residential care and treatment facility" refers to where
the student lives, not the setting in which the student receives
instruction.

Comment. Approximately 60 individuals commented that the
definitions of "self-contained classroom" and "other special edu-
cation setting" in subsection (b) of the proposed rule should be
modified to clarify that a majority of the students in regular at-
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tendance "in the classroom" are provided with special education
and related services.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that additional clarification is not necessary.

Comment. A school district administrator thanked the agency
for defining "other special education setting" and encouraged the
agency not to modify the definition.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has maintained lan-
guage as proposed.

Comment. An individual asked how the term "certain special ed-
ucation settings" is defined and whether the term "self-contained
classroom" includes "learning resource rooms."

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The term "certain special education settings" is not defined
in the rule. The term is used in the title of the rule to indicate that
the rule applies to some, but not all, settings where students re-
ceive special education services. The specific settings to which
the rule applies are "self-contained classrooms" and "other spe-
cial education settings" as those terms are described in sub-
section (b)(5)-(8). "Learning resource room" is not an instruc-
tional arrangement/setting described in the student attendance
accounting handbook adopted under 19 TAC §129.1025. The
handbook, however, includes an instructional arrangement/set-
ting referred to as "resource room/services" that applies to a
student who is provided special education and related services
in a setting other than general education for less than 50% of
the instructional day. In determining whether a classroom is a
"self-contained classroom" or "other special education setting"
for purposes of TEC, §29.022, the focus must be on whether a
majority of the students in regular attendance have one of the
instructional arrangements/settings listed in the definitions.

Comment. An individual recommended that the definition of
"self-contained classroom" in subsection (b) be modified to state
that part-time early childhood special education settings are
also included. The commenter also stated that video cameras
should be set up on playgrounds because abuse is not limited
to classroom settings.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. There is no instructional arrange-
ment/setting for "part-time early childhood (preschool program
for children with disabilities) special education setting" in the
student attendance accounting handbook adopted under 19
TAC §129.1025. Furthermore, TEC, §29.022, requires video
surveillance in limited special education instructional settings
and does not require video surveillance of playgrounds.

Comment. An individual commented that the inclusion of the
term "other special education setting" in TEC, §29.022, was in-
tended to apply to other small rooms on a campus.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. The term "other special education set-
ting" was added through an amendment to SB 507 and intended
to apply to classrooms located on separate campuses (i.e., cam-
puses that serve only students who receive special education
and related services) because the introduced bill only included
the term "self-contained classroom," which only applies to cer-
tain classrooms on regular school campuses (i.e., campuses that
serve both students in general education and students in special
education).

Comment. Houston ISD asked how school districts determine
whether an elementary classroom is subject to the video surveil-
lance requirements where some students are in and out of gen-
eral education during the day. Houston ISD also asked whether a
district is required to have a head and minute count to determine
"majority." Finally, Houston ISD asked what a district's rights are
when a parent requests video surveillance for a classroom that
is not subject to the video surveillance requirements. A former
school district administrator expressed confusion over how to
determine if a classroom meets the definition of "self-contained
classroom" or "other special education setting" when the class-
room serves students with varying instructional arrangements.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. A classroom is subject to the video surveillance if a ma-
jority of the students in regular attendance have one of the in-
structional arrangements/settings listed in subsections (b)(5) or
(6), as applicable. For example, if a classroom on a regular
school campus serves 12 students who receive special educa-
tion services and 9 spend 50% or more of the instructional day
in the classroom and have an instructional arrangement/setting
of "self-contained (mild/moderate/severe) regular campus" while
3 spend between 21% and 50% of the instructional day in the
classroom and have an instructional arrangement/setting of "re-
source room/services," the classroom would be subject to the re-
quirements in TEC, §29.022, because a majority of the students
in regular attendance have an instructional arrangement/setting
listed in subsection (b)(5).

Comment. Many commenters noted that there appears to be
a typographical error in subsection (b)(9)(A) and recommended
that the term "or" at the end of the subsection be replaced with
the term "and."

Agency Response. The agency agrees that the inclusion of the
term "or" at the end of subsection (b)(9)(A) was an error. The
rule has been modified at adoption to replace the term "or" with
the term "and."

Comment. The Association of Texas Professional Educators
(ATPE) recommended that language be added to the definition
of "incident" in subsection (b)(9) stating that an incident also in-
cludes the alleged assault of or injury to a teacher or other school
employee.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed The stated purpose of TEC, §29.022, is to
promote student safety and there are no provisions in the statute
that support the recommendation.

Comment. TASA recommended that in subsection (b)(9)(A), the
term "described" be changed to "defined" and that the term "em-
ployee" be changed to "staff member." TASA commented that
the changes would clarify the meanings of the terms and be con-
sistent with the definition of "staff member" in subsection (b)(2).

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The term "de-
scribed" is used throughout the rule. Furthermore, the term
"employee" is used in subsection (b)(9)(A) to correspond to
the terminology used in TEC, §29.022(i)(1), and applies to
an employee who is involved in an incident documented by a
recording. The term "staff member" in the rule refers to the
campus personnel who may request video surveillance of the
special education instructional setting. In response to other
comments, the agency has amended subsection (b)(9)(A) to
replace the term "or" with the term "and."
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Comment. Two individuals commented that the definition of "in-
cident" in subsection (b)(9) should be broader. An individual
commented that the definition of "incident" should include emo-
tional abuse. An individual commented that the definition should
include mental and verbal abuse. An individual commented that
the definition of "incident" should not be limited to events or cir-
cumstances that involve alleged abuse or neglect.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The intent of TEC,
§29.022, is to promote student safety by documenting and de-
terring incidents involving child abuse or neglect under the Texas
Family Code in certain special education instructional settings.
Therefore, the rule defines the term "incident" consistent with the
intent of the statute. In response to other comments, the agency
has amended subsection (b)(9)(A) to replace the term "or" with
the term "and."

Comment. DRTx, The Arc, and TCDD recommended that the
definition of "incident" be revised to include abuse and neglect
perpetrated by employees, contractors, volunteers, or other per-
sons on the campus, including guests.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The term "em-
ployee" is used in subsection (b)(9)(A) to correspond to the
terminology used in TEC, §29.022(i)(1), which outlines the
individuals who may view a video recording. In response to
other comments, the agency has amended subsection (b)(9)(A)
to replace the term "or" with the term "and."

Comment. TCASE, two school district administrators, and a
school district employee recommended that a definition for "in
regular attendance" be added to subsection (b) to clarify that the
child is enrolled in a class for which attendance is regularly taken
for state attendance accounting purposes.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees with the recommen-
dation and has determined that additional clarification is not
necessary. In response to other comments, the agency has
amended §103.1301(b)(1), (2), and (9) at adoption.

Comment. Five individuals expressed disagreement with the
language in subsection (c) of the proposed rule and do not be-
lieve that state agencies should be excluded from the require-
ments in TEC, §29.022.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. There is no lan-
guage in TEC, §29.022, reflecting that it applies to the state
agencies that operate educational programs.

Comment. A school district employee commented that an un-
funded initiative to require video surveillance in special educa-
tion classrooms while not allowing the use of special education
funds to implement the requirement places a significant burden
on school districts and may cause some to eliminate quality in-
structional programs. The commenter further stated that while
the costs of the camera equipment and installation are nomi-
nal, the costs of video storage are significant. An individual re-
quested that the agency reconsider the language in subsection

(d).

Agency Response. The agency understands the commenters'
concerns and clarifies that neither federal nor state special edu-
cation funds may be used to implement the requirements of TEC,
§29.022, because IDEA does not require video surveillance in
special education classrooms. The purpose of TEC, §29.022, is
to promote student safety.

Comment. TCASE, two school district administrators, and
Austin ISD commented that they agree with subsection (d).

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has maintained lan-
guage as proposed.

Comment. A school district administrator and Thompson &
Horton commented that they agree that the special education
dispute resolution procedures are not applicable because the
statute is designed to promote student safety, not the provision
of a free appropriate public education.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has maintained lan-
guage as proposed.

Comment. Four special education advocates and an individual
recommended that the second sentence in subsection (e) of
the proposed rule be modified to state that complaints must
be addressed initially through local grievance procedures or
other dispute resolution options. The commenters further rec-
ommended that the following sentence be added to the end of
subsection (e): "A decision is appealable to the commissioner of
the (Texas Education Agency) or, at the commissioner's discre-
tion, to the (State Office of Administrative Hearings)." Another
individual commented that the proposed rule allows disputes to
begin and end with the school district and recommended that a
step be added to allow parents to appeal to the commissioner.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. There is no provision in TEC, §29.022,
establishing a complaint or appeal process for complaints re-
lating to the statute. While TEC, §7.057(a), allows a person
who is aggrieved by actions or decisions of a school district
board of trustees that violate the school laws of Texas to file
an appeal with the commissioner, the agency notes that com-
missioner decisions have held that the statute does not apply
to decisions made by the governing body of an open-enroliment
charter school.

Comment. DRTx, The Arc, TCDD, and an individual recom-
mended that language be added to subsection (e) stating that
parents dissatisfied with the action or inaction of a school district
or charter school may file a grievance with the commissioner of
education under TEC, §7.057.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. TEC, §7.057(a), allows a person who
is aggrieved by actions or decisions of a school district board of
trustees that violate the school laws of Texas to file an appeal
with the commissioner; however, commissioner decisions have
held that the statute does not apply to decisions made by the
governing body of an open-enroliment charter school.

Comment. An individual commented that she does not under-
stand subsection (e) because parents do not have a way to ap-
peal a decision.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. There is no provision in TEC, §29.022, establishing a com-
plaint or appeal process for complaints relating to TEC, §29.022.
While TEC, §7.057(a), allows a person who is aggrieved by ac-
tions or decisions of a school district board of trustees that violate
the school laws of Texas to file an appeal with the commissioner,
commissioner decisions have held that the statute does not ap-
ply to decisions made by the governing body of an open-enroll-
ment charter school.

Comment. One individual requested that the agency reconsider
the language in subsection (e).

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. There is no provision in TEC, §29.022,
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establishing a complaint or appeal process for complaints relat-
ing to TEC, §29.022. Furthermore, it is important for the rule to
clarify that the special education dispute resolution procedures
do not apply to alleged violations of TEC, §29.022.

Comment. Several individuals expressed their disapproval of
the provision requiring that complaints alleging violations of TEC,
§29.022, be addressed through local grievance procedures or
other dispute resolution channels. Some of the commenters
stated that the provision will enable school districts and open-en-
rollment charter schools to circumvent or opt out of the statute.
Two individuals commented that the special education dispute
resolution procedures should apply to disputes relating to video
surveillance.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. There is no provision
in TEC, §29.022, establishing a complaint or appeal process for
complaints relating to TEC, §29.022. In addition, the agency
clarifies that the rule does not contain a provision that allows a
school district or charter school a means to opt out of the re-
quirements in the statute. Finally, the special education dispute
resolution procedures do not apply to alleged violations of TEC,
§29.022, because IDEA does not require video surveillance in
special education classrooms.

Comment. TCASE and several school district administrators and
employees recommended that "other dispute resolution chan-
nels" be changed to "other local dispute resolution channels" in
subsection (e). One of the administrators commented that the
recommendation is necessary so as not to allow Office of Civil
Rights (OCR) or other state or federal claims.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. It is not the agency's role to attempt to
limit an individual's right to file a complaint or claim with OCR or
any other agency.

Comment. An individual commented that the dispute resolution
channels must be posted and known and that the parent or care-
giver should not feel at a loss due to lack of information on how
to pursue the process.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and clarifies that sub-
section (g) requires that each school district board of trustees
and open-enroliment charter school governing body adopt writ-
ten policies relating to TEC, §29.022, so that parents, school per-
sonnel, and other interested persons have access to the policies
and procedures related to video surveillance. Although the rule
does not specifically require that a copy of the policies be pro-
vided to each parent or posted at a particular location, there is
nothing in the rule that would prohibit a school district or charter
school from doing so if it so chooses.

Comment. DRTx, The Arc, TCDD, and several individuals com-
mented that there is no language in TEC, §29.022, that supports
subsection (f). Two individuals expressed their disagreement
with subsection (f).

Agency Response. The agency agrees. In response to the com-
ments, the agency has amended subsection (f) to state that TEC,
§29.022, and the rule apply to video surveillance during the reg-
ular school year and during extended school year services.

Comment. A school district administrator commented that the
clarification regarding extended school year services is helpful.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. TEC, §29.022, does
not expressly state that the requirements do not apply to ex-
tended school year services. In response to other comments,

the agency has amended subsection (f) to specify that the statute
and the rule apply to the regular school year and to extended
school year services.

Comment. TCASE, TASB, Thompson & Horton, Austin ISD, and
two school district administrators commented that they agree
with subsection (f).

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. TEC, §29.022, does
not expressly state that the requirements do not apply to ex-
tended school year services. In response to other comments,
the agency has amended subsection (f) to specify that the statute
and the rule apply to the regular school year and to extended
school year services.

Comment. A school district employee asked for clarification
regarding whether the proposed rule requires school district
boards of trustees and governing bodies of open-enroliment
charter schools to adopt policies for conducting video surveil-
lance in special education classrooms or for conducting video
surveillance generally.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clar-
ification. The rule states that each school district board of
trustees and open-enrollment charter school governing body
must adopt written policies relating to video surveillance under
TEC, §29.022, which relates to video surveillance in certain
special education settings.

Comment. A school district administrator commented that sub-
section (g) of the proposed rule is comprehensive enough for ev-
eryone to understand what must be included in the district policy.
TCASE and two school district administrators commented that
they agree with subsection (g).

Agency Response. The agency agrees. In response to other
comments, the agency has amended subsection (g) to provide
further clarification regarding what must be contained in local
policies and procedures.

Comment. TCTA recommended that subsection (g) be amended
to include a requirement for board policies to address training on
confidentiality issues for staff who are charged with overseeing
the use, release, and storage of video recordings.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. TEC, §29.022, does
not include a training requirement for school personnel. Local
officials are in the best position to determine the training needs
of the personnel involved with implementing the statute. In re-
sponse to other comments, the agency has amended subsection
(g) to provide further clarification regarding what must be con-
tained in local policies and procedures.

Comment. TCTA commented that it supports the inclusion of
subsection (g)(2) and recommended that language be added
stating that board policies must include the procedures for the
school district or open-enrollment charter school to respond to
requests for video surveillance. TCTA also recommended that
language be added to subsection (g)(3) clarifying that notice
must be provided before video cameras are placed in a class-
room.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has added language
to subsection (g)(2) stating that the policies must include the pro-
cedures for responding to a request for video surveillance. The
agency has also amended subsection (g)(3) to clarify that ad-
vanced written notice must be provided to campus staff and par-
ents.

ADOPTED RULES

August 12, 2016 41 TexReg 6025



Comment. Two individuals recommended that the proposed rule
specify how and when a parent must be notified if a report of an
incident is made by someone other than the parent.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. School districts and
open-enrollment charter schools are in the best position to de-
velop procedures for notifying parents of alleged incidents involv-
ing their children. In response to other comments, the agency
has amended subsection (g) to provide further clarification re-
garding what must be contained in local policies and procedures.

Comment. TASB commented that school districts would benefit
from guidance regarding how notice should be provided when
new staff is employed at a campus, new students enroll in a
class, or video surveillance is conducted in a classroom for mul-
tiple years. TASB also recommended that subsection (g)(3) be
amended to clarify that a school district can comply with the no-
tice requirement by providing written notice to the applicable staff
and parents by a certain time period, such as before the first in-
structional day of a school year.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. TEC, §29.022, re-
quires that before video cameras will be placed in a special edu-
cation instructional setting, campus staff and parents be notified
of the placement. There is no express requirement that notice
be provided to new campus staff or the parents of new students.
If video surveillance in a special education instructional setting
will continue the next school year, the school district or open-en-
rollment charter school can meet the notice requirement by pro-
viding notice to all campus staff and to the parents of students
receiving special education services in the setting before the first
instructional day of the new school year.

Comment. Texas AFT and approximately 60 individuals recom-
mended that language be added to subsection (g)(4) stating that
video and audio recording is not to be conducted at times when
students are not in the classroom such as planning and prepa-
ration periods, duty-free lunch periods, and before and after the
instructional day. A school district administrator recommended
that the rule clarify whether video cameras must be operated be-
fore or after school, during teacher conference periods, or during
lunch when no students are in the classroom.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that additional clarification is not necessary. Subsection (g)(4)
specifies that cameras must be operated during the instructional
day when students are present.

Comment. An individual commented that he is opposed to video
cameras being turned off at any time during the instructional day
and stated that SB 507 requires that cameras be in operation at
all times during the instructional day when students are in the
self-contained classroom or other special education setting.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. Subsection (g)(4)
specifies that cameras must be operated during the instructional
day when students are present.

Comment. TCTA asked for clarification regarding the distinction
between subsections (g)(5) and (g)(13) and recommended that
the agency clarify the meanings of "access to" and "viewing."
TCTA also recommended that the language "and by whom, and
a description of the procedures for viewing the videos" be added
to the end of subsection (g)(13). Finally, TCTA commented that if
it is not the agency's intent to distinguish between the individuals
who will have "access to" video cameras and video recordings
and those who may "view" video recordings, then the agency

should combine subsections (g)(5) and (g)(13) into one subsec-
tion.

Agency Response. The agency agrees that subsection (g)(5) re-
quires additional clarification and has amended the subsection at
adoption to state that the policy adopted by the school district or
charter school must include a statement regarding the person-
nel who will have access to video equipment or video record-
ings for purposes of operating and maintaining the equipment or
recordings. Subsection (g)(5) relates to the personnel whose po-
sitions have some role or responsibility for the operation or main-
tenance of the video equipment or the video recordings. The
agency has determined that it is important for a school district's
or open-enrollment charter school's policies to identify the staff
responsible for the operation and maintenance of the equipment
and the maintenance of the recordings. Subsection (g)(13) re-
lates to TEC, §29.022(i), which states that a video recording is
confidential and may not be released or viewed except as pro-
vided by the TEC, §29.022(i) or (j).

Comment. ATPE recommended that language be added to sub-
section (g)(6) to clarify that school officials may remove video
equipment or make other modifications upon the withdrawal of a
request for video surveillance or when the student is no longer
assigned to the classroom or setting. Thompson & Horton and
a school district administrator also recommended that subsec-
tion (g)(6) be amended to state that video equipment need not
remain in a classroom after the circumstances that led to the
placement of the equipment have changed. Thompson & Hor-
ton further recommended that the rule be amended to make clear
that the placement of video equipment in a classroom is confined
to one academic year because student placements, teacher as-
signments, and even classrooms may change during the sum-
mer months. TASB commented that the agency has the author-
ity to adopt a rule defining when a special education setting no
longer meets the requirements of TEC, §29.022(a), because, for
example, the student who was the subject of a parent's request is
no longer assigned to that setting. TASB also commented that
TEC, §26.009, prohibits a school district from recording a stu-
dent's image or voice without parental consent unless a statu-
tory exception applies and recommended that the agency adopt
a rule requiring a district to no longer record students without
parental consent once the circumstances underlying the request
have changed.

Agency Response. The agency understands the commenters'
concerns but has maintained language as proposed at this time.
TEC, §29.022, does not address whether video surveillance in
a classroom may be discontinued under the circumstances de-
scribed. The agency has requested the Texas Attorney Gen-
eral's opinion regarding whether the statute may reasonably be
construed to allow a school district or charter school to discon-
tinue video surveillance in a self-contained instructional setting if
the circumstances surrounding the request have changed sub-
stantially. The agency will modify the rule, as necessary, upon
receipt of the Texas Attorney General's opinion.

Comment. Austin ISD asked for clarification regarding how long
video cameras must be kept in a classroom if the circumstances
surrounding the request for video surveillance have changed.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The agency has requested the Texas Attorney General's
opinion regarding whether the statute may reasonably be con-
strued to allow a school district or charter school to discontinue
video surveillance in a self-contained instructional setting if the
circumstances surrounding the request have changed substan-
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tially. The agency will modify the rule, as necessary, upon receipt
of the Texas Attorney General's opinion.

Comment. An individual commented that the intent of the law
was to not be able to remove video equipment once installed and
stated that the rule should specify that video equipment should
remain in the classroom as long as the classroom remains a spe-
cial education classroom used for students who meet the criteria
of the law.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The agency has requested the Texas Attorney General's
opinion regarding whether the statute may reasonably be con-
strued to allow a school district or charter school to discontinue
video surveillance in a self-contained instructional setting if the
circumstances surrounding the request have changed substan-
tially. The agency will modify the rule, as necessary, upon receipt
of the Texas Attorney General's opinion.

Comment. A lawyer recommended that subsection (g)(7) of the
proposed rule be amended to clarify whether audio surveillance
may be conducted inside bathrooms and other areas used for toi-
leting or diapering a student or removing or changing a student's
clothes. A school district administrator commented that the au-
dio specifications for bathrooms and changing areas need to be
specified in the rule.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. The agency has determined that TEC,
§29.022(c), and subsection (g)(7) clearly reflect that audio
surveillance must be conducted in bathrooms and areas in
which a student's clothes are changed but that no video surveil-
lance may be conducted in such areas. TEC, §29.022, does
not include any specifications for video cameras except that it
requires that they be capable of (1) covering all areas of the
classroom or setting, except for a bathroom or other area in
which a student's clothes are changed, and (2) recording audio
from all areas of the classroom or setting. School districts and
charter schools are in the best position to determine the type of
equipment that is needed to conduct the required surveillance
in a particular area.

Comment. Texas AFT and approximately 60 individuals com-
mented that the term "routine" in subsection (g)(9) should be
deleted because it does not appear in TEC, §29.022.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has deleted the term
"routine" from subsection (g)(9).

Comment. An individual expressed disagreement with subsec-
tion (g)(9).

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. Subsection (g)(9) is
based on TEC, §29.022(h), which prohibits a school district or
open-enrollment charter school from allowing regular or contin-
ual monitoring of a video recorded under the statute or the use
of video recorded under the statute for teacher evaluation or for
any other purpose other than the promotion of safety of students
receiving special education services in a self-contained class-
room or other special education setting. In response to other
comments, the agency has amended subsection (g)(9) to delete
the term "routine."

Comment. Approximately 60 individuals and Texas AFT's gen-
eral counsel recommended that subsection (g)(10) of the pro-
posed rule be modified to require that campuses post notices at
the entrances of classrooms in which video and audio surveil-
lance is conducted.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. TEC, §29.022, does not require that no-
tices be posted at the entrances of classrooms in which video
and audio surveillance is conducted. Though the agency be-
lieves that it would be good practice for campuses to post such
notices, it would be unnecessarily prescriptive to require cam-
puses to do so by rule.

Comment. Two individuals commented that the language in sub-
sections (g)(2) and (g)(11) of the proposed rule is too vague.

Agency Response. The agency agrees that subsection (g)(2)
requires additional clarification and has amended the subsection
to clarify that the policy adopted by the school district or charter
school must include the procedures for responding to a request
for video surveillance. The agency disagrees that subsection
(g)(11) is too vague and has maintained language as proposed.

Comment. A school district's general counsel commented that
the term "complaint” in subsection (g)(11) is confusing and stated
that school districts interpret "complaint" to mean a complaint
filed under Board Policies DGBA, FNG, or GF. The commenter
recommended that the term "complaint”" be deleted and that the
provision be modified to state, "the procedures for reporting that
an incident occurred in a self-contained classroom..."

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. The use of the term "complaint” in the
rule is consistent with the terminology in TEC, §29.022(i).

Comment. Anindividual commented that parents and caregivers
of students being recorded must be given a copy of the policies
and procedures developed in accordance with subsection (g) of
the proposed rule.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. Subsection (g) requires that each school district board
of trustees and open-enroliment charter school governing body
adopt written policies relating to TEC, §29.022, so that parents,
school personnel, and other interested persons have access to
the policies and procedures related to video surveillance. Al-
though the rule does not specifically require that a copy of the
policies be provided to each parent or posted at a particular lo-
cation, there is nothing in the rule that would prohibit a school
district or charter school from doing so if it so chooses.

Comment. An individual commented that video recordings
should be retained for at least a year instead of six months.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. TEC, §29.022(e),
expressly states that video recorded from a camera placed under
the statute must be retained for at least six months after the date
the video was recorded.

Comment. A school district administrator requested that the
commissioner work with the legislature to address the unreason-
able requirement for six months of video storage.

Agency Response. The comment is outside of the scope of the
proposed rulemaking. Furthermore, the agency clarifies that
Texas Government Code, §556.006, prohibits state agencies
from attempting to influence the passage or defeat of a legisla-
tive measure.

Comment. An individual recommended that subsection (g)(13)
define the limited circumstances under which video recordings
may be viewed. The commenter further stated that parents
should have the right to view video recordings before filing a
formal complaint or requesting an investigation or legal pro-
ceeding.
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Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. Subsection (g)(13) relates to TEC,
§29.022(i), which states that a video recording is confidential
and may not be released or viewed except as provided in the
TEC, §29.022(i) or (j). The agency has determined that it is not
necessary for the rule to restate the circumstances under which
video recordings may be viewed. The agency also clarifies that
TEC, §29.022, does not require that a parent have the right to
view video recordings before filing a complaint. Instead, TEC,
§29.022(i), expressly states that a school district or open-enroll-
ment charter school may release a recording for viewing by a
parent of a student who is involved in an incident documented
by the recording "for which a complaint has been reported to
the district" on request of the parent.

Comment. Three individuals recommended that subsection
(9)(13) be deleted.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees that subsection
(9)(13) should be deleted. The agency has determined that it
is important that a local policy include a statement regarding
confidentiality and provide notice of circumstances under which
recordings may be viewed.

Comment. DRTx, The Arc, and TCDD recommended that sub-
section (g) be revised to include uniform statewide guidelines
for requesting video surveillance. The commenters also recom-
mended that uniform statewide guidelines for reporting a com-
plaint be included. Finally, the commenters recommended that
subsection (g) be revised to require that school districts and
charter schools develop policies that prohibit staff, volunteers,
students, and others from obstructing video and audio record-
ings and requiring staff with concerns about the functioning or
maintenance of the equipment to report it to an appropriate con-
tact in the information technology department.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. It is not the agency's
role to develop specific board policies. In addition, the agency
has determined that it would be unnecessarily prescriptive to re-
quire by rule that board policies include a statement prohibiting
individuals from obstructing recordings and requiring staff to re-
port concerns about the functioning or maintenance of the equip-
ment. In response to other comments, the agency has amended
subsection (g) to provide further clarification regarding what must
be contained in local policies and procedures.

Comment. An ESC employee recommended that language be
added to the rule stating that technology staff or other designated
personnel must ensure that video equipment is in working order.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The agency has de-
termined that it would be unnecessarily prescriptive to require by
rule that board policies include the recommended statement.

Comment. An individual asked who will be in charge of monitor-
ing video equipment and to whom incidents must be reported.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. Subsection (g) requires that each school district board
of trustees and open-enroliment charter school governing body
adopt written policies that include, among other things, the in-
dividuals responsible for the operation or maintenance of video
equipment and the procedures for reporting a complaint alleging
that an incident occurred in a special education setting in which
video surveillance is conducted.

Comment. An individual commented that subsection (g) is too
vague and gives the false impression that school districts have
discretion on how TEC, §29.022, is interpreted. The commenter

further stated that the agency should create clear and precise
policies for implementing the statute.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. Subsection (g) re-
quires that boards adopt policies that are consistent with specific
requirements in TEC, §29.022, while also giving them discretion
in developing policies and procedures that are not specifically
prescribed in the statute.

Comment. TCASE recommended that the agency provide
school districts with "bright line guidance and resources" to assist
in making Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA),
confidentiality, and education record decisions. TCASE further
commented that the rules may not be the most practical avenue
for providing such guidance and recommended that the agency
develop a guidance letter that provides examples as well as
relevant legal citations. A school district administrator com-
mented that guidance outlining what constitutes an education
record and how video and audio recordings relate to FERPA
and confidentiality requirements would be helpful. Several other
school district administrators and employees also requested
that the agency consider developing a guidance letter.

Agency Response. The agency agrees that it would not be
practical to attempt to address the FERPA implications of video
recordings in the rule. While the agency understands the com-
menters' concerns, the agency is unable to provide bright-line
guidance for school districts and charter schools due to the fact
that the U.S. Department of Education's Family Policy Compli-
ance Office (FPCO) has yet to issue formal guidance relating
to the disclosure of video surveillance recordings. Accordingly,
school districts and open-enroliment charter schools that con-
duct video surveillance under TEC, §29.022, will need to care-
fully evaluate each request to view a video recording and consult
with their legal counsel as necessary.

Comment. TCTA recommended that the phrase "documented
by a video recording” in subsection (h)(1) be changed to "doc-
umented by the video recording." According to TCTA, use of
the term "the" clarifies that the recording is the one that can be
viewed.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. The agency has determined that the
subsection does not require clarification.

Comment. The Texas Computer Education Association (TCEA)
asked whether subsection (h)(1) allows for the superintendent to
designate school district employees who may view video record-
ings or whether it refers to staff members and employees who
are involved in an incident described in subsection (b)(9). TCEA
further stated that technology staff will need to be involved in
this process as they will monitor and access the video equip-
ment to ensure that it is functioning properly. TCEA also recom-
mended that language be added stating that outside contractors
who provide technical support for the video and audio equipment
to troubleshoot any technical problems with the system may view
recordings.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. Subsection (h)(1) refers to staff members and employees
who are involved in an incident described in subsection (b)(9).

Comment. A school district administrator requested that the
rule be amended to include language allowing access to tech-
nical support staff who implement the camera systems. An-
other school district administrator asked whether staff who are
responsible for operating and maintaining the video equipment
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and burning the video are allowed to view the recordings. A
school district employee recommended that language be added
to the rule stating that appropriate technology staff may have ac-
cess to video recordings as necessary. TASB commented that
the rule should clarify that incidental viewing by school district
employees or contractors who are responsible for operating and
maintaining video equipment is not a violation of the statute.

Agency Response. The agency agrees that the rule requires
additional clarification. Subsection (g)(5) requires that a board's
policies include a statement regarding the staff whose positions
have some role or responsibility for the operation or maintenance
of the video equipment or the video recordings. The language
in subsection (g)(5) has been modified at adoption to provide
additional clarification. It is implicit in TEC, §29.022, that cer-
tain school district or open-enroliment charter school personnel
will be required to operate and maintain video equipment and to
maintain video recordings, and the agency has determined that
TEC, §29.022(i), is not intended to restrict appropriate person-
nel from carrying out the activities necessary to implement the
statute. TEC, §29.022(i), provides that the video recordings are
confidential (as opposed to being public information) and out-
lines a few limited circumstances under which a school district
or open-enrollment charter school shall "release a recording for
viewing" by certain individuals.

Comment. An ESC employee requested clarification regarding
whether subsection (h)(3) requires that peace officers and
school nurses be trained in de-escalation and restraint tech-
niques.

Agency Response. The agency clarifies that the phrase "trained
in de-escalation and restraint techniques" in subsection (h)(3)
is derived from TEC, §29.022(i)(3), and is intended to modify
the term "administrator." The agency has modified subsection
(h)(3) at adoption to clarify that the phrase only applies to an
administrator and not to a peace officer or school nurse.

Comment. An ESC employee requested that the agency con-
sider removing "a human resources staff member" from subsec-
tion (h)(3) and merely allow a human resources staff member to
become involved once it has been determined that a possible
violation of policy has occurred.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. TEC, §29.022(i)(3),
expressly provides that a school district or open-enrollment char-
ter school shall release a recording for viewing by a human re-
sources staff member designated by the board of trustees of the
school district or the governing body of the open-enroliment char-
ter school in response to a complaint or an investigation of district
or school personnel or a complaint of abuse committed by a stu-
dent. In response to other comments, the agency has amended
subsection (h)(3) to provide further clarification on who must be
trained in de-escalation and restraint techniques.

Comment. ATPE recommended that additional guidance be
added to subsections (h)(3) and (j) with regard to the availability
of recordings to human resources personnel. ATPE stated
that human resources personnel do not have "a legitimate
educational interest" in student records under FERPA and that
school officials could unintentionally violate FERPA in reliance
on the proposed rule.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. To the extent that
a video recording made under TEC, §29.022, is an education
record under FERPA, it is not the agency's role to determine
which school officials within a school district or open-enroliment
charter school have legitimate educational interests in the infor-

mation. FERPA requires that schools specify criteria for deter-
mining who constitutes a school official and what constitutes a le-
gitimate educational interest. The agency also notes that FPCO
guidance has advised that an official has a legitimate educational
interest if the official needs to review an education record in or-
der to fulfill his or her professional responsibility.

Comment. An individual commented that subsection (h) is
redundant and should be removed because confidentiality is
clearly addressed in TEC, §29.022(i).

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
subsection (h) in the rule. While subsection (h) restates lan-
guage in TEC, §29.022(i), the subsection also adds clarifying
language that is not in the statute.

Comment. Approximately 60 individuals and Texas AFT's gen-
eral counsel recommended that language be added to subsec-
tion (h)(1) stating that a staff member involved in an incident doc-
umented by a video recording is considered to be a school official
with legitimate educational interests as described in 34 Code of
Federal Regulations, §99.31(a)(1)(i)(A).

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. It is not the agency's role to determine
which school officials within a school district or open-enroliment
charter school have legitimate educational interests to FERPA-
protected information.

Comment. One individual commented that the proposed rule
should include timelines for saving and providing access to video
recordings. Another individual also recommended that the pro-
posed rule include a timeline for providing a parent access to a
video recording once a suspected incident has been reported.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. TEC, §29.022(i),
does not impose a timeline for releasing a video recording for
viewing. The agency has determined that school districts and
open-enrollment charter schools are in the best position to de-
termine a reasonable time period for providing access to video
recordings. To the extent that a video recording made under
TEC, §29.022, is an education record under FERPA, a school
would be required to comply with a request for access to the
record within a reasonable period of time, but not more than 45
days after it has received the request.

Comment. A former school district administrator raised ques-
tions about how schools should respond to requests for video
recordings in human resources matters, due process hearings,
police matters, and court proceedings. The administrator and
Houston ISD asked how schools should address situations
where one or more parents wants video surveillance in a class-
room but other parents do not.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. TEC, §29.022(i) and (j), outline the limited circumstances
under which a school district or open-enrollment charter school
must or may release a recording for viewing or allow access to
a recording. The agency also clarifies that TEC, §29.022, does
not require that each parent consent to the placement of video
cameras in his or her child's special education instructional set-
ting.

Comment. Houston ISD asked what a school district's rights are
when a parent regularly alleges potential abuse and wants to
view video recordings on a frequent basis.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. In order for a parent to have a right to view a video recording
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of his or her child under TEC, §29.022(i)(1), the following cir-
cumstances must apply: (1) the parent's child must have been
involved in an "incident" (as that term is described in subsection
(b)(9)); (2) the incident must be documented by the video record-
ing; (3) a complaint relating to the incident must have been re-
ported to the school district or open-enroliment charter school;
and (4) the parent must request to view the video recording.

Comment. A school district employee asked how SB 507 works
in conjunction with FERPA and commented that it seems to be
a complicated relationship. The commenter also stated that if
recordings are education records under FERPA, they must be
maintained for five to seven years, not just six months.

Agency Response. The agency agrees that the FERPA impli-
cations of TEC, §29.022, are complex and cannot be easily laid
out in the rule. The agency disagrees with the comment that if a
video recording is an education record under FERPA, it must be
maintained for five to seven years. The agency clarifies that not
all education records under FERPA become part of a student's
cumulative record or special education eligibility folder. The
agency also notes that video recordings under TEC, §29.022,
are not addressed in the Retention Schedule for Records of
Public School Districts (Local Schedule SD) adopted by the
Texas State Library and Archives Commission and do not fit
precisely into any of the categories listed in the schedule.

Comment. A school district administrator asked whether video
recordings are education records under FERPA.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The agency's review of the available FPCO guidance re-
flects that video surveillance recordings of students can be con-
sidered education records under FERPA in some situations. The
FERPA implications of TEC, §29.022, are complex and cannot
be easily laid out in the rule.

Comment. Three individuals recommended that the rule be
amended to give parents the right to bring an advocate or other
individual to view a recording of their child.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. There is no lan-
guage in TEC, §29.022, that supports the recommendation.

Comment. An ESC employee recommended that language be
added stating that video recordings are safety records, not edu-
cation records.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The agency's review
of the available FPCO guidance reflects that video surveillance
recordings of students can be considered education records un-
der FERPA in some situations.

Comment. TASB expressed support for the reference to FERPA
in subsection (h).

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has maintained the
reference to FERPA in subsection (h) as proposed.

Comment. Austin ISD requested guidance on conflicts that
may arise when students are administered state assessments
in classrooms in which video surveillance is conducted and
stated that it would be helpful to have the rule state that no
professional educator will be penalized if the administration of
a state assessment is captured on a video recording and test
security is somehow compromised.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. School district and
open-enroliment charter school personnel must follow the pro-
cedures for maintaining the security and confidentiality of state

assessments that are specified in the Test Security Supplement
adopted in 19 TAC §101.3031, Required Test Administration
Procedures and Training Activities to Ensure Validity, Reliabil-
ity, and Security of Assessments, and in the appropriate test
administration materials.

Comment. A school district administrator commented that the
rules should provide clarification regarding whether school dis-
tricts are required to redact the images of other students before
allowing a parent to view a video of his or her child.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. TEC, §29.022, does
not address redactions from video recordings. To the extent
a video recording made under TEC, §29.022, is an education
record under FERPA, a school should follow the relevant FPCO
guidance in determining whether the images of other students
must be redacted.

Comment. An individual questioned the applicability of FERPA
to video recordings if the video surveillance requirements in TEC,
§29.022, do not fall under IDEA.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifica-
tion. The fact that video surveillance is not required by IDEA
is not relevant to the applicability of FERPA to video recordings
made under TEC, §29.022.

Comment. An individual asked for clarification regarding the re-
quirements for a parent to obtain a copy of a video recording of
the parent's child.

Agency Response. The agency provides the following clarifi-
cation. TEC, §29.022, does not expressly give a parent the
right to "obtain a copy" of a video recording of his or her child.
The statute merely describes situations in which a school district
or open-enroliment charter school "shall release a recording for
viewing" by a parent of a student who is involved in an incident
documented by the recording for which a complaint has been
reported. In order for a parent to have a right to view a video
recording of his or her child under TEC, §29.022(i)(1), the follow-
ing circumstances must apply: (1) the parent's child must have
been involved in an "incident" (as that term is described in sub-
section (b)(9)); (2) the incident must be documented by the video
recording; (3) a complaint relating to the incident must have been
reported to the school district or open-enroliment charter school;
and (4) the parent must request to view the video recording.

Comment. TCDD recommended that the rule include the exist-
ing laws and rules governing the reporting and the investigation
of child abuse and neglect. TCDD also recommended that the
rule include the requirements for reporting instances of abuse
and neglect to the State Board for Educator Certification.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that subsection (i) contains sufficient information. In response
to other comments, the agency has amended subsection (i) to
replace the term "notify" with the phrase "submit a report."

Comment. TCDD commented that the agency should identify
gaps in existing laws and rules governing the investigation and
resolution of abuse and neglect allegations involving school dis-
tricts and charter schools and take action to secure a legislative
or regulatory remedy. TCDD also recommended that the agency,
either independently or in collaboration with the Texas Depart-
ment of Family Protective Services, should create and maintain
a central registry of both alleged and confirmed perpetrators of
child abuse.
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Agency Response. The comment is outside of the scope of the
proposed rulemaking. Furthermore, the agency clarifies that
Texas Government Code, §556.006, prohibits state agencies
from attempting to influence the passage or defeat of a legisla-
tive measure.

Comment. TASA recommended that the term "notify" in subsec-
tion (i) be changed to "report."

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has replaced the
term "notify" in subsection (i) with the phrase "submit a report
to," which is consistent with 19 TAC §61.1051, Reporting Child
Abuse and Neglect.

Comment. TCASE and several school district administrators and
employees recommended that language be added to clarify that
in order to view a video recording based on a policy violation,
the video recording must document a violation of policy related
to abuse or neglect. The commenters further recommended that
language be added to clarify that a video recording cannot be
used in a due process hearing or legal proceeding unless the
hearing or proceeding involves allegations of abuse or neglect.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The language in
subsection (j) is derived from TEC, §29.022(j). The agency has
determined that the rule should align with the language in the au-
thorizing statute, and the statute does not specify that a violation
of policy refers only to a policy related to abuse or neglect.

Comment. TASB commented that districts would benefit from
guidance regarding their obligation to release a video recording
in a legal proceeding when a recording documents a violation of
district policy that does not rise to the level of abuse or neglect.
TASB recommended that the rule be amended to clarify that a
recording that documents a violation of district or campus policy
other than the policies that prohibit abuse or neglect do not give
rise to a parent's right to request that the recording be released
in a legal proceeding. TASB further recommended that the rule
define the term "legal proceeding" to clarify that the term does
not include a special education due process hearing.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The agency has
determined that the rule should align with the language in the
authorizing statute, and the statute does not specify that a vi-
olation of policy refers only to a policy related to abuse or ne-
glect. Similarly, the agency has determined that the authorizing
statute does not limit the types of legal proceedings to which
TEC, §29.022(j), applies.

Comment. TCTA recommended that language be added to clar-
ify that a school district or charter school staff member who is
the subject of the video recording and believed to have possibly
violated a policy may have access to the video recording.

Agency Response. The agency agrees and has amended the
language in subsection (j) to state that a recording believed to
document a possible violation of school district, open-enroliment
charter school, or campus policy may be used in a disciplinary
action against district or charter school personnel and must be
released for viewing by the district or charter school employee
who is the subject of the disciplinary action at the request of the
employee. Given that TEC, §29.022(i)(1), gives a school em-
ployee who is the subject of a complaint the right to view the
video recording, an employee who is the subject of a disciplinary
action should have a right to view the recording.

Comment. TASA recommended that the term "believes" in sub-
section (j) be replaced with "has cause to believe."

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. The language in the
rule is consistent with the language in TEC, §29.022(j). In re-
sponse to other comments, the agency has amended subsec-
tion (j) to provide further clarification.

Comment. A school district administrator recommended adding
language to clarify that a video recording will only become a
student's education record if an incident involving the student
occurs. Another school district administrator asked that the
agency define when a video recording is an education record
under FERPA and recommended that a video recording only
be considered an education record if an incident is observed
involving student safety. An individual commented that it would
be helpful if the agency added guidance as to when a video
recording will become part of a student's education record.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has maintained
language as proposed. The FERPA implications of TEC,
§29.022, are complex, and it would not be practical to attempt to
address them in the rule or this response. The agency is unable
to provide clear guidance for school districts and charter schools
concerning the application of FERPA to the video recordings
due to the fact that FPCO has yet to issue formal guidance
relating to the disclosure of video surveillance recordings.

Comment. An individual commented that the proposed rule
should clarify the rules for a parent's viewing a video recording
that includes the parent's child and other children.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. TEC, §29.022, does
not address the issue raised in the comment. To the extent a
video recording is an education record under FERPA, a school
district or charter school will need to act in accordance with the
available FPCO guidance.

Comment. A school district employee recommended that the
rule state that parents cannot just come in and watch video
recordings of their child just to see how the child's day is going.
The commenter further stated that parents need to know that
they only have a right to view video recordings when an alleged
incident has occurred.

Agency Response. The agency agrees that the rule does not al-
low for a parent to watch video recordings of his or her child just
to see how the child's day is going. The agency provides the fol-
lowing clarification. Subsection (h) outlines the circumstances
under which a video recording may be released for viewing. In
order for a parent to have a right to view a video recording of
his or her child under TEC, §29.022(i)(1), the following circum-
stances must apply: (1) the parent's child must have been in-
volved in an "incident" (as that term is described in subsection
(b)(9)); (2) the incident must be documented by the video record-
ing; (3) a complaint relating to the incident must have been re-
ported to the school district or open-enrollment charter school;
and (4) the parent must request to view the video recording.

Comment. An individual commented that subsection (k) of the
proposed rule conflicts with TEC, §29.022(i).

Agency Response. The agency disagrees. Subsection (k) in-
cludes two sentences. The first sentence corresponds to the last
sentence in TEC, §29.022(j). The second sentence is based on
the supremacy clause in the U.S. Constitution, which provides
that the federal government, in exercising any of the powers enu-
merated in the Constitution, must prevail over any conflicting or
inconsistent state exercise of power.

Comment. A school district's general counsel commented that
further clarification is needed to determine under what specific
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circumstances a parent is entitled to view video camera footage.
The commenter further stated that parents should only be al-
lowed to view footage if it shows abuse or neglect as defined in
Texas Family Code, Chapter 261.

Agency Response. The agency disagrees and has determined
that further clarification is not needed. Subsection (h) outlines
the circumstances under which a video recording may be re-
leased for viewing. In order for a parent to have a right to view a
video recording of his or her child under TEC, §29.022(i)(1), the
following circumstances must apply: (1) the parent's child must
have been involved in an "incident" (as that term is described
in subsection (b)(9)); (2) the incident must be documented by
the video recording; (3) a complaint relating to the incident must
have been reported to the school district or open-enrollment
charter school; and (4) the parent must request to view the
video recording.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The new section is adopted under
the Texas Education Code (TEC), §29.022, as added by Senate
Bill (SB) 507, 84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session, 2015,
which requires video surveillance in certain special education
settings in order to promote student safety. TEC, §29.022(k),
authorizes the commissioner to adopt rules to implement and
administer TEC, §29.022, including rules regarding the special
education settings to which the section applies.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The new section imple-
ments the Texas Education Code, §29.022, as added by Senate
Bill 507, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015.

$103.1301.
tings.

Video Surveillance of Certain Special Education Set-

(a) Requirement to implement. Beginning with the 2016-2017
school year, in order to promote student safety, on request by a parent,
trustee, or staff member, a school district or open-enrollment charter
school must provide video equipment to campuses in accordance with
Texas Education Code (TEC), §29.022, and this section. Campuses
that receive video equipment must place, operate, and maintain video
cameras in self-contained classrooms or other special education set-
tings in accordance with TEC, §29.022, and this section.

(b) Definitions. For purposes of TEC, §29.022, and this sec-
tion, the following terms have the following meanings.

(1) Parent means a person described in TEC, §26.002,
whose child receives special education and related services for at least
50 percent of the instructional day in the self-contained classroom
or other special education setting. Parent also means a student who
receives special education and related services for at least 50 percent
of the instructional day in the self-contained classroom or other special
education setting and who is 18 years of age or older or whose disabil-
ities of minority have been removed for general purposes under Texas
Family Code, Chapter 31, unless the student has been determined to
be incompetent or the student's rights have been otherwise restricted
by a court order.

(2) Staff member means a teacher, related service provider,
paraprofessional, or educational aide assigned to work in the self-con-
tained classroom or other special education setting. Staff member also
includes the principal or an assistant principal of the campus at which
the self-contained classroom or other special education setting is lo-
cated.

(3) Trustee means a member of a school district's board of
trustees or a member of an open-enrollment charter school's governing
body.

(4) Open-enrollment charter school means a charter
granted to a charter holder under TEC, §12.101 or §12.152, identified
with its own county district number.

(5) Self-contained classroom means a classroom on a reg-
ular school campus (i.e., a campus that serves students in general ed-
ucation and students in special education) of a school district or an
open-enrollment charter school in which a majority of the students in
regular attendance are provided special education and related services
and have one of the following instructional arrangements/settings de-
scribed in the student attendance accounting handbook adopted under
§129.1025 of this title (relating to Adoption by Reference: Student At-
tendance Accounting Handbook):

(A) self-contained (mild/moderate/severe) regular

campus;

(B) full-time early childhood (preschool program for
children with disabilities) special education setting;

(C) residential care and treatment facility--self-con-
tained (mild/moderate/severe) regular campus;

(D) residential care and treatment facility--full-time
early childhood special education setting;

(E) off home campus--self-contained (mild/moder-
ate/severe) regular campus; or

(F) off home campus--full-time early childhood special
education setting.

(6) Other special education setting means a classroom on a
separate campus (i.e., a campus that serves only students who receive
special education and related services) of a school district or open-en-
rollment charter school in which a majority of the students in regular at-
tendance are provided special education and related services and have
one of the following instructional arrangements/settings described in
the student attendance accounting handbook adopted under §129.1025
of this title:

(A) residential care and treatment facility--separate
campus; or

(B) off home campus--separate campus.

(7) Video camera means a video surveillance camera with
audio recording capabilities.

(8) Video equipment means one or more video cameras and
any technology and equipment needed to place, operate, and maintain
video cameras as required by TEC, §29.022, and this section. Video
equipment also means any technology and equipment needed to store
and access video recordings as required by TEC, §29.022, and this sec-
tion.

(9) Incident means an event or circumstance that:

(A) involves alleged "abuse" or "neglect," as those
terms are described in Texas Family Code, §261.001, of a student
by an employee of the school district or charter school or alleged
"physical abuse" or "sexual abuse," as those terms are described in
Texas Family Code, §261.410, of a student by another student; and

(B) allegedly occurred in a self-contained classroom or
other special education setting in which video surveillance under TEC,
§29.022, and this section is conducted.

(c) Exclusions. A school district or open-enrollment charter
school is not required to provide video equipment to a campus of an-
other district or charter school or to a nonpublic school. In addition, the
Texas School for the Deaf, the Texas School for the Blind and Visually

41 TexReg 6032 August 12, 2016 Texas Register



Impaired, the Texas Juvenile Justice Department, and any other state
agency that provides special education and related services to students
are not subject to the requirements in TEC, §29.022, and this section.

(d) Use of funds. A school district or open-enrollment charter
school may solicit and accept gifts, grants, and donations from any per-
son to implement the requirements in TEC, §29.022, and this section.
A district or charter school is not permitted to use Individuals with Dis-
abilities Education Act, Part B, funds or state special education funds
to implement the requirements of TEC, §29.022, and this section.

(e) Dispute resolution. The special education dispute resolu-
tion procedures in 34 Code of Federal Regulations, §§300.151-300.153
and 300.504-300.515, do not apply to complaints alleging that a school
district or open-enrollment charter school has failed to comply with
TEC, §29.022, and/or this section. Complaints alleging violations of
TEC, §29.022, and/or this section must be addressed through the dis-
trict's or charter school's local grievance procedures or other dispute
resolution channels.

(f) Regular school year and extended school year services.
TEC, §29.022, and this section apply to video surveillance during the
regular school year and during extended school year services.

(g) Policies and procedures. Each school district board of
trustees and open-enrollment charter school governing body must
adopt written policies relating to video surveillance under TEC,
§29.022, and this section. At a minimum, the policies must include:

(1) astatement that video surveillance is for the purpose of
promoting student safety in certain self-contained classrooms and other
special education settings;

(2) the procedures for requesting video surveillance and the
procedures for responding to a request for video surveillance;

(3) the procedures for providing advanced written notice
to the campus staff and the parents of the students assigned to a self-
contained classroom or other special education setting that video and
audio surveillance will be conducted in the classroom or setting;

(4) a requirement that video cameras be operated at all
times during the instructional day when students are in the self-con-
tained classroom or other special education setting;

(5) a statement regarding the personnel who will have ac-
cess to video equipment or video recordings for purposes of operating
and maintaining the equipment or recordings;

(6) a requirement that a campus continue to operate and
maintain any video camera placed in a self-contained classroom or
other special education setting for as long as the classroom or setting
continues to satisfy the requirements in TEC, §29.022(a);

(7) arequirement that video cameras placed in a self-con-
tained classroom or other special education setting be capable of
recording video and audio of all areas of the classroom or setting,
except that no video surveillance may be conducted of the inside of
a bathroom or other area used for toileting or diapering a student or
removing or changing a student's clothes;

(8) a statement that video recordings must be retained for
at least six months after the date the video was recorded;

(9) a statement that the regular or continual monitoring of
video is prohibited and that video recordings must not be used for
teacher evaluation or monitoring or for any purpose other than the pro-
motion of student safety;

(10) at the school district's or open-enrollment charter
school's discretion, a requirement that campuses post a notice at the

entrance of any self-contained classroom or other special education
setting in which video cameras are placed stating that video and audio
surveillance are conducted in the classroom or setting;

(11)  the procedures for reporting a complaint alleging that
an incident occurred in a self-contained classroom or other special ed-
ucation setting in which video surveillance under TEC, §29.022, and
this section is conducted;

(12) the local grievance procedures for filing a complaint
alleging violations of TEC, §29.022, and/or this section; and

(13) a statement that video recordings made under TEC,
§29.022, and this section are confidential and a description of the lim-
ited circumstances under which the recordings may be viewed.

(h) Confidentiality of video recordings. A video recording
made under TEC, §29.022, and this section is confidential and may
only be viewed by the following individuals, to the extent not limited
by the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA)
or other law:

(1) astaff member or other school district or charter school
employee or a parent of a student involved in an incident described in
subsection (b)(9) of this section that is documented by a video record-
ing for which a complaint has been reported to the district or charter
school;

(2) appropriate Texas Department of Family and Protec-
tive Services personnel as part of an investigation under Texas Family
Code, §261.406;

(3) a peace officer, school nurse, administrator trained in
de-escalation and restraint techniques as provided by commissioner
rule, or a human resources staff member designated by the school dis-
trict's board of trustees or open-enrollment charter school's governing
body in response to a complaint or an investigation of an incident de-
scribed in subsection (b)(9) of this section; or

(4) appropriate Texas Education Agency or State Board for
Educator Certification personnel or agents as part of an investigation.

(i) Child abuse and neglect reporting. If a person described
in subsection (h)(3) or (4) of this section views a video recording and
has cause to believe that the recording documents possible abuse or
neglect of a child under Texas Family Code, Chapter 261, the person
must submit a report to the Texas Department of Family and Protective
Services or other authority in accordance with the local policy adopted
under §61.1051 of this title (relating to Reporting Child Abuse and
Neglect) and Texas Family Code, Chapter 261.

(j) Disciplinary actions and legal proceedings. If a person de-
scribed in subsection (h)(2), (3), or (4) of this section views a video
recording and believes that it documents a possible violation of school
district, open-enrollment charter school, or campus policy, the person
may allow access to the recording to appropriate legal and human re-
sources personnel of the district or charter school to the extent not lim-
ited by FERPA or other law. A recording believed to document a pos-
sible violation of school district, open-enrollment charter school, or
campus policy may be used in a disciplinary action against district or
charter school personnel and must be released in a legal proceeding at
the request of a parent of the student involved in the incident docu-
mented by the recording. A recording believed to document a possible
violation of school district, open-enrollment charter school, or campus
policy must be released for viewing by the district or charter school
employee who is the subject of the disciplinary action at the request of
the employee.

(k) Access rights. Subsections (i) and (j) of this section do not
limit the access of a student's parent to an educational record of the
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student under FERPA or other law. To the extent any provisions in
TEC, §29.022, and this section conflict with FERPA or other federal
law, federal law prevails.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 26, 2016.

TRD-201603686

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: August 15, 2016

Proposal publication date: April 8, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 129. STUDENT ATTENDANCE
SUBCHAPTER B. STUDENT ATTENDANCE
ACCOUNTING

19 TAC §129.21

The State Board of Education (SBOE) adopts an amendment
to §129.21, concerning student attendance accounting. The
amendment is adopted without changes to the proposed text
as published in the May 13, 2016 issue of the Texas Register
(41 TexReg 3417) and will not be republished. The section
addresses requirements for student attendance accounting for
state funding purposes. The adopted amendment modifies the
requirements for taking attendance for board-approved off-cam-
pus activities to allow paraprofessionals to take attendance.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION. Section 129.21 provides the stu-
dent attendance accounting requirements school districts must
follow and describes the manner in which student attendance is
earned. The rule also provides a list of conditions under which
a student who is not actually on campus at the time attendance
is taken may be considered in attendance for FSP funding pur-
poses.

The adopted amendment to 19 TAC §129.21(j)(1) allows
paraprofessionals to take attendance at off-campus activities
approved by the local school board.

The amendment to 19 TAC §129.21 was approved by the SBOE
for first reading and filing authorization at its April 8, 2016 meet-
ing and for second reading and final adoption at its July 22, 2016
meeting.

In accordance with the TEC, §7.102(f), the SBOE approved the
amendment for adoption by a vote of two-thirds of its members to
specify an effective date earlier than the beginning of the 2017-
2018 school year. The earlier effective date will allow districts
flexibility in a timely manner and align the rule with the student at-
tendance accounting handbook adopted by commissioner rule.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND RESPONSES. No public
comments were received on the proposal.

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is adopted under
the Texas Education Code (TEC), §42.004, which requires the
commissioner, in accordance with rules adopted by the State
Board of Education, to take such action and require such reports
as are necessary to administer the Foundation School Program

under the TEC, Chapter 42; and TEC, §12.106, which provides
for charter schools to receive funding under certain conditions
through the TEC, Chapter 42.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment imple-
ments the Texas Education Code, §42.004 and §12.106.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603837

Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez

Director, Rulemaking

Texas Education Agency

Effective date: August 21, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS

PART 18. TEXAS STATE BOARD OF
PODIATRIC MEDICAL EXAMINERS

CHAPTER 371. EXAMINATION AND
LICENSURE
22 TAC §371.3

The Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners adopts
amendments to §371.3, regarding Fees without changes to the
proposed text as published in the June 3, 2016, issue of the
Texas Register (41 TexReg 3971). The text will not be repub-
lished.

The changes to §371.3 are being adopted to cover the require-
ments of Senate Bill 195 (84th Texas Legislature; relating to
prescriptions for certain controlled substances, access to infor-
mation about those prescriptions, and the duties of prescribers
and other entities registered with the Federal Drug Enforcement
Administration; authorizing fees) which requires the board to
assess or increase fees sufficient to generate during FY 2017
$10,000.00 in funds to be transferred to the Texas State Board
of Pharmacy to administer the Prescription Drug Monitoring
Program.

Texas Occupations Code §202.153 Fees states that the board by
rule shall establish fees in amounts reasonable and necessary
to cover the cost of administering this chapter.

No comments were received in response to the proposed rule
amendments.

The amendments are being adopted under Texas Occupations
Code, §202.151, which provides the Texas State Board of Podi-
atric Medical Examiners with the authority to adopt reasonable
or necessary rules and bylaws consistent with the law regulating
the practice of podiatry, the laws of this state, and the law of the
United States to govern its proceedings and activities, the regu-
lation of the practice of podiatry and the enforcement of the law
regulating the practice of podiatry.

The adopted amendment for §371.3 implements Texas Occupa-
tions Code §202.153 Fees.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603795

Hemant Makan

Executive Director

Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners
Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: June 3, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 305-7000

L4 L4 ¢
TITLE 28. INSURANCE

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
INSURANCE

CHAPTER 21. TRADE PRACTICES
SUBCHAPTER V. PHARMACY BENEFITS

The Texas Department of Insurance adopts amendments to 28
TAC Chapter 21, Subchapter V, relating to Pharmacy Benefits,
§§21.3001 - 21.3004, 21.3010, 21.3011, and 21.3023; repeals
§21.3005 and §21.3021; and it adds new §21.3030 without
changes from the proposal that was published in the February
5, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 917). TDI
adopts amendments to §21.3020 and §21.3022, and it adds
new §§21.3031 - 21.3034 with nonsubstantive changes to the
text as proposed.

REASONED JUSTIFICATION.

HB 1624, 84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015) relates to
the transparency of certain information related to health benefit
plan coverage. During the legislative session, interested parties
asserted that health benefit plan issuers do not post complete or
easily accessible prescription drug formularies online. The par-
ties noted that there is often no information available to health
insurance shoppers about cost sharing for prescription drugs un-
der the plans until after they purchase a plan.

HB 1624 requires a health benefit plan issuer to display formu-
lary information on a public website maintained by the issuer, as
required by the commissioner by rule. The bill requires a direct
electronic link to the formulary information to be displayed in a
conspicuous manner in the electronic summary of benefits and
coverage portion of each plan issued by a health benefit plan is-
suer on the issuer's website, and it requires the information to be
publicly accessible to enrollees, prospective enrollees, and oth-
ers without providing a password, user name, or personally iden-
tifiable information. The bill also requires a health benefit plan
issuer to make plan-specific formulary information available, in-
cluding disclosures relating to the cost-sharing amount for each
drug, prior authorization requirements, a description of how the
drug will be included or excluded from the deductible, and an ex-
planation of coverage for each formulary drug.

HB 1624 requires the commissioner to develop and adopt by
rule requirements to promote consistency and clarity in the dis-
closure of formularies to facilitate comparison shopping among
health benefit plans. New §§21.3030 - 21.3034 implement this
requirement. For example, §21.3033 requires a health bene-

fit plan issuer to create a "Summary of Formulary Benefits" de-
signed to help consumers understand the prescription drug ben-
efits offered under a specific plan so they can compare the ben-
efits to those offered by other plans. The information is intended
to help consumers compare both the value and scope of the for-
mulary benefits.

HB 1624 added Insurance Code §§1369.0542 - 1369.0544, re-
lating to formulary disclosures, and Insurance Code §§1451.501
- 1451.505, relating to health care provider directories. This
adoption addresses only the Insurance Code sections relating
to formulary disclosures, as new or amended sections are not
necessary to implement the Insurance Code sections relating to
health care provider directories.

Amendments.

The amendments to §§21.3001 - 21.3004, 21.3010, 21.3011,
and 21.3023 make nonsubstantive changes to the rule text
for consistency with current TDI rule-drafting style; correct
typographical, grammatical, and punctuation errors; simplify
and clarify certain provisions; update Insurance Code citations;
and conform TDI rules to current law.

The amendments to §21.3020 add terms, and the amendments
to §21.3022 clarify notice of modifications to drug coverage.

An amendment conforms §21.3002(7) to Insurance Code
§1369.151, which states the subchapter is applicable to state
employees, Medicaid, and the Child Health Insurance Program
(CHIP) plans. Another amendment conforms §21.3003 to
Insurance Code §1369.153, which designates the information
that must be located on the front and back of an enrollee's
identification card. An amendment conforms the term "health
benefit plan" in §21.3020(10) to Insurance Code §1369.052
and §1369.053, which state that the subchapter is applicable to
individual, small group, and large group health benefit plans, but
that it is not applicable to CHIP and Medicaid Managed Care
Organizations, respectively. An amendment conforms §21.3022
to Insurance Code §1369.0541, which specifies conditions
under which modifications of drug coverage may occur and
adds notice requirements.

The repeal of §21.3005 is necessary because it applies to iden-
tification cards that were in effect on September 1, 1999, and it
is no longer applicable.

The repeal of §21.3021 streamlines the rules implementing In-
surance Code Chapter 1369, Subchapter B. The requirements
contained in §21.3021 are included in §21.3030(a) to implement
Insurance Code §1369.054.

New §§21.3030 - 21.3034 implement the portions of HB 1624,
84th Legislature, Regular Session (2015) that added Insurance
Code §§1369.0542 - 1369.0544, which require health benefit
plan issuers to post on their website formulary information for
each health benefit plan they issue, and make the information
available to enrollees, prospective enrollees, and others through
a toll-free telephone number.

Amendments to Subchapter V divide the subchapter into
four new divisions for ease of reference and organizational
purposes. New Division 1, titled "General Provisions," en-
compasses existing §21.3001 and relates to applicability and
severability. New Division 2, titled "ldentification Cards," encom-
passes existing §§21.3002 - 21.3004 and relates to pharmacy
cards and standard identification cards. Division 2 does not
include §21.3005, as that section is repealed. New Division
3, titled "Off-Label Drugs," encompasses existing §21.3010
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and §21.3011 and relates to coverage of off-label drugs. New
Division 4, titled "Prescription Drug Formulary Coverage and
Disclosure Requirements," encompasses existing §§21.3020,
21.3022, and 21.3023, relating to continuation of benefits and
adverse determination of nonformulary prescription drugs, and
new §§21.3030 - 21.3034, relating to required drug formulary
disclosures. Division 4 does not include §21.3021, as that sec-
tion is repealed. The provisions contained in repealed §21.3021
are incorporated in §21.3030(a).

Amendments throughout Subchapter V remove the word "group”
where it precedes "health benefit plan" to conform with Insur-
ance Code §1369.151. In addition to the substantive amend-
ments and additions, the amendments also contain conforming
changes for clarity and agency style, and to update Insurance
Code citations.

The following explanation provides an overview and description
of additional reasoned justification for the amendments to the
rules.

§21.3001.  Applicability and Severability. An amendment
to §21.3001 deletes the word "scope" from the title of the
section and replaces it with "applicability." Amendments to
§21.3001(a)(1) - (3) add language to clarify which sections in
Subchapter V apply to subchapters of Insurance Code Chapter
1369, and delete text referencing Insurance Code articles that
have been recodified.

§21.3002. Definitions; Pharmacy Identification Cards. The
amendment to §21.3002(1) deletes and replaces current text
with new text that defines "administrator" as it is defined in
Insurance Code §4151.001(1).

The amendment to §21.3002(7) replaces current text with new
text that defines "health benefit plan" as it is described in Insur-
ance Code §1369.151, and includes a health benefit plan pro-
viding coverage for pharmacy benefits. The amendment also
adds the phrase "exempt from state regulation under," so the
definition now reads, "This definition includes the term, 'plan,' as
defined in Insurance Code §4151.001(4), but does not include
a self-funded employee welfare benefit plan exempt from state
regulation under ERISA, 29 U.S.C. §1002(1)(A)."

The amendment to §21.3002(9) replaces current text with new
text that defines "issuer" as those entities described in Insurance
Code §1369.151, but not those excluded by Insurance Code
§1369.152.

The amendment to §21.3002(10) adds new text "exempt from
state regulation under" to clarify the definition of "pharmacy ben-
efit manager." The definition now reads, "As defined in Insur-
ance Code §4151.151, but does not include a pharmacy benefit
manager for a self-funded employee welfare benefit plan exempt
from state regulation under ERISA, 29 U.S.C. §1002(1)(A)."

§21.3003. Standard Identification Cards. The amendment to
§21.3003(b) adds the requirement that the information listed in
§21.3003(b)(1) - (7) be included on the front of each identification
card. The amendment to §21.3003(b)(2) incorporates language
from current §21.3003(b)(3) and provides an option to include
either the name or logo of the issuer, the administrator, or the
pharmacy benefit manager on the front of the card.

Current §21.3003(b)(4) is redesignated §21.3003(b)(3), and
current §21.3003(b)(5) is redesignated §21.3003(b)(4). The
amendment to current §21.3003(b)(6) moves the text to new
§21.3003(c), and redesignates current §21.3003(b)(7) as
§21.3003(b)(5) and current §21.3003(b)(8) as §21.3003(b)(6).

The amendment to new §21.3003(7) adds the requirement that
for a plan issued under Insurance Code Chapters 843 or 1301,
the letters "TDI" or "DOI" be prominently displayed on the front
of each identification card.

New §21.3003(c) requires the issuer of a health benefit plan
to include the information described in current §21.3003(b)(6)
on the identification card of each enrollee, but does not spec-
ify which side of the card. Current §21.3003(c) is redesignated
§21.3003(d).

§21.3004. Issuance of Standard Identification Cards. Amend-
ments to §21.3004(c) - (d) remove references to §21.3005, as
this adoption repeals §21.3005.

§21.3005. Previously Issued Identification Cards. Section
21.3005 is repealed because both subsections of §21.3005
relate to updating information on enrollee identification cards
in effect on September 1, 1999, and therefore, are no longer
relevant.

§21.3010. Definitions; Coverage of Off-Label Drugs. Amend-
ments to §21.3010 make changes for clarity, to conform to
agency style, and to update Insurance Code citations.

§21.3011. Minimum Standards of Coverage for Off-Label Drug
Use. Amendments to §21.3011 make changes for clarity, to con-
form to agency style, and to update Insurance Code citations.

§21.3020. Definitions; Prescription Drug Formulary. Amend-
ments to §21.3020 make changes for clarity, to conform to
agency style, update Insurance Code citations, and remove
the word "group" preceding "health benefit plan" to comply with
Insurance Code §1369.052. Revisions to this section also add
definitions for terms used in new §§21.3030 - 21.3033.

An amendment to §21.3020 deletes the current definition for
the term "adverse determination" and replaces it with a refer-
ence to the definition for the term as defined in Insurance Code
§4201.002.

The new term, "allowed amount," is added to §21.3020(2) and is
defined as "the amount the health benefit plan issuer allows as
reimbursement for a health care service, supply, or prescription
drug, including reimbursement amounts for which a patient is
responsible due to deductibles, payments, or coinsurance."

In response to comments, the proposed term, "commonly pre-
scribed drug list," defined as "alist of the 150 most frequently pre-
scribed drugs published annually by the New York State Board
of Pharmacy, available at https://apps.health.ny.gov/pdpw/Drug-
Info/Druglnfo.action," is removed from the requirements of
§21.3033.

The definition of "delegated entity" clarifies that third-party ad-
ministrators are those defined in Insurance Code §4151.001(1)
and pharmacy benefits are those defined in Insurance Code
§4151.151.

The term, "direct electronic link," is defined as "a hyperlink that,
when clicked, delivers a user directly to the applicable website
destination."

The term, "drug," is added and defined by referencing the term
in the Texas Pharmacy Act, Occupations Code §551.003.

The definition for "drug formulary or formulary" is clarified on
adoption in response to comment to exclude open formularies.
The definition states that "This term does not include a health
benefit plan that: (A) offers coverage for any FDA-approved
drug; (B) does notinclude a tiered structure; (C) does not contain
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a list of drugs; and (D) does not include utilization requirements
for particular drugs or classes of drugs. This removes the re-
quirements for an open formulary to comply with this division.

Amendments to current "health group benefit plan" remove the
word "group" from the defined term, and define it as an insur-
ance policy or evidence of coverage as described in Insurance
Code §1369.052, but not those described in Insurance Code
§1369.053, that provides coverage for a discrete package of
benefits, paired with specific cost-sharing parameters.

The term, "off-label drug use," is added and defined as "the use
of a drug that is approved by the Food and Drug Administration
for the treatment of one medical condition, but is used to treat
another medical condition or at different dosage forms, dosage
regimens, populations, or other parameters not mentioned in the
approved labeling."

The term, "summary health plan document," is added and de-
fined as "a document summarizing the coverage provided under
a health benefit plan, including a summary of benefits and cov-
erage, as required under 42 U.S. Code §300gg-15 and 45 CFR
§147.200; and a disclosure of terms and conditions of a policy,
as required under §3.3705(b) of this title (relating to Nature of
Communications with Insureds; Readability, Mandatory Disclo-
sure Requirements, and Plan Designations), or an evidence of
coverage, as required under §11.1600(b) of this title (relating to
Information to Prospective and Current Contract Holders and En-
rollees)."

The definitions are redesignated to conform to the changes.

§21.3021. Required Disclosure of Drug Formulary. The repeal
of §21.3021 is necessary in order to group all the formulary dis-
closure requirements in §§21.3030 - 21.3033. The requirements
under §21.3021 are included under §21.3030(a) and Insurance
Code §1369.054.

§21.3022. Continuation of Benefits. Amendments to §21.3022
remove the word, "group," preceding "health benefit plan," for
consistency with Insurance Code §1369.052.

Amendments also add new text to specify conditions under
which health benefit plans may make modifications to drug
coverage under Insurance Code §1369.0541. Specifically, the
amendment to §21.3022(a) clarifies that modifications to drug
coverage are not permitted until the plan's renewal date. The
amendment to §21.3022(b) replaces existing text with new text
describing the conditions under which a health benefit plan
issuer may make modifications to drug coverage. In response
to comments, TDI moved the substance of proposed subsection
(c) to subsection (b) to clarify the text regarding the modifications
that require notice. Also in response to comments, TDI created
new subsection (c), which allows modifications more favorable
to the consumer to be made without notice and at any time,
including the addition of drugs to formularies, a reduction in cost
sharing, or the deletion of utilization management requirements.

§21.3023. Nonformulary Prescription Drugs; Adverse Determi-
nation. Amendments to §21.3023 correct typographical, gram-
matical, and punctuation errors; make changes to conform to
agency style; update Insurance Code citations; and remove the
word, "group," preceding "health benefit plan," to comply with In-
surance Code §1369.052.

§21.3030. Availability of Formulary Information. New
§21.3030(a) incorporates provisions from repealed §21.3021
and requires an issuer of a health benefit plan or its delegated

entity to include plain language disclosures related to formula-
ries in the coverage documentation provided to enrollees, which
is consistent with Insurance Code §1369.054. New §21.3030(b)
requires an issuer of a health benefit plan to make a paper
copy of the formulary information required under new §21.3032
and §21.3033, available to a current or prospective enrollee on
request. New §21.3030(c) permits a health benefit plan issuer
to exclude the plan-level cost-sharing information on the paper
copy as long as the enrollee can obtain the information by
calling a toll-free number. New §21.3030(d) requires the paper
copy to use at least 10-point font.

§21.3031. Formulary Information on Issuer's Website. New
§21.3031 describes how the issuer of a health benefit plan dis-
plays the formulary information required under new §21.3032
and §21.3033.

New §21.3031(a) requires a health benefit plan issuer to dis-
play the formulary information on a website that is publicly
accessible without requiring the use of paid software, a pass-
word, user name, or personally identifiable information. New
§21.3031(a)(1) - (2) state that formulary information must be
electronically searchable by drug name and use at least 10-point
font.

New §21.3031(b) requires that each health plan document in-
clude a direct link to the website containing the formulary infor-
mation and describes the direct-link requirements.

New §21.3031(c) permits an issuer of a health benefit plan to
develop a web-based tool to display plan-specific cost-sharing
information required under §21.3032(c). New §21.3032(c)(1) -
(4) describe the required elements that the web-based tool must
contain. Section 21.3031(c)(1) requires the web-based tool to
be publicly accessible to enrollees, prospective enrollees, and
others without the use of a password or user name. Section
21.3031(c)(2) requires the tool to allow consumers to electroni-
cally search formulary information by the name under which the
health benefit plan is marketed. Section 21.3031(c)(3) requires
the tool to contain plan-specific cost-sharing information for each
drug. Section 21.3031(c)(3)(A) - (C) describe the plan-specific
cost-sharing information the health benefit plan issuer must in-
clude.

In response to comments, TDI has removed the requirement for
the formulary information to state the amount of the deductible in
§21.3031(c)(3)(B), but adds that the formulary information must
state where the deductible can be found.

In response to a comment suggesting that using the actual cost
of the drug would be more feasible than the median for drug
calculation purposes, TDI revises §21.3031(c)(3)(B) to adopt an
alternative option. The health benefit plan issuer has the choice
to provide the actual cost or median, but the rules require that
the information be identified as either actual cost or median so
that the option being used is clear to the consumer.

To clarify §21.3031(c)(3)(C), the proposed language has been
changed from the cost-sharing amount to be calculated "after
the enrollee has met any deductible requirement," to "excluding
any deductible requirement.”

Section 21.3031(c)(4) requires that the web tool include a direct
electronic link to a chart displaying each formulary that applies
to each health benefit plan issued by the health benefit plan is-
suer and include a direct electronic link to the Summary of Bene-
fits and Coverage and formulary document for each health plan
listed. The chart may be limited to health benefit plans being
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sold in the market in which the applicable health benefit plan is
issued.

§21.3032. Formulary Disclosure Requirements. New
§21.3032(a) requires the information provided under the section
to include each prescription drug dispensed in a pharmacy or
administered by a physician, and it specifies that the information
must differentiate between drugs covered under the plan's
pharmacy benefits and medical benefits. In response to a
comment, the word, "direct electronic link," was added to this
subsection so that the last sentence now reads: "Information
pertaining to drugs covered under the plan's medical benefits
may be provided as an addendum or direct electronic link and
must include each parameter that is applicable." This clarifies
that a link is the electronic equivalent of an addendum.

New §21.3032(b)(1) - (4) describe the coverage information that
must be included for each drug. In response to a comment, the
phrase "that limits access to the drug" has been removed from
the disclosure "of any prior authorization, step therapy, or other
protocol requirement," because the phrase is unnecessary.

New §21.3032(c) requires the formulary information to include
plan-specific cost-sharing information for each drug. New
§21.3032(c)(1) requires the formulary information to indicate
whether the drug is subject to a pharmacy or medical deductible.
In response to comments, TDI has removed the requirement for
the formulary information to state the amount of the deductible,
but adds that the formulary information must state where the
deductible can be found.

New §21.3032(c)(2) requires the formulary information to include
the cost-sharing amount for each drug under the pharmacy or
medical benefit in a retail, mail order, or physician- or practi-
tioner-administered setting, if applicable, after the enrollee has
met any deductible requirement. New §21.3032(c)(2)(A) - (B)
describe the cost-sharing information that must be included.

In response to a comment, the "practitioner-administered" set-
ting was added to the physician-administered setting. For clar-
ity, the proposed language has been changed from the cost-
sharing amount to be calculated "after the enrollee has met any
deductible requirement," to "excluding any deductible require-
ment."

New §21.3032(d) requires the cost-sharing amounts to reflect
the cost to the consumer for a month-long supply of the pre-
scribed drug, unless otherwise noted, and it describes the re-
quirements for calculating the cost-sharing amount for the drug.

In response to a comment suggesting that using the actual cost
of the drug would be more feasible than the median for drug
calculation purposes, TDI adopts an alternative option. The for-
mulary information may provide the actual cost or median, but
the rule requires that the information be identified as either ac-
tual cost or median so that the option being used is clear to the
consumer.

New §21.3032(e) requires a legend on each page of the formu-
lary information and describes the required elements of the leg-
end.

§21.3033. Facilitating Comparison Shopping. New §21.3033(a)
requires that the formulary information must include a summary
titted "Summary of Formulary Benefits." The summary is de-
signed to help current and prospective enrollees understand the
prescription drug benefits offered under the plan and to com-
pare the benefits by one plan to those offered by other plans.
New §21.3033(a)(1) - (5) describe the title of each section of the

summary, the elements the summary must include, and the or-
der in which to include them. A citation is added to the language
for clarity.

New §21.3033(a)(1) requires a section in the summary titled
"How to Find Information on the Cost of Prescription Drugs,"
which explains how a consumer can determine cost sharing from
the plan's summary health plan document, formulary informa-
tion, and web-based tool, if applicable.

For clarity, the proposed language has been changed from the
cost-sharing amount to be calculated "after the enrollee has met
any deductible requirement," to "excluding any deductible re-
quirement." In response to a comment suggesting that using the
actual cost of the drug would be more feasible, TDI adopts an
alternative option. The formulary information may provide the
actual cost or median, but the rule requires that the information
be identified as either actual cost or median so that option being
used is clear to the consumer.

New §21.3033(a)(2) requires a section in the summary titled
"Formulary by Health Benefit Plan," which includes a chart dis-
playing each formulary that applies to each health benefit plan
issued by the issuer and a direct electronic link to the Summary of
Benefits and Coverage and formulary document for each health
plan listed. This chart may be limited to health benefit plans be-
ing sold in the market in which the health benefit plan is issued.

New §21.3033(a)(3) requires a section in the summary titled
"Drugs by Cost-Sharing Tier."

In response to comments, TDI removed the proposed require-
ment for a list of total number of drugs because it was not infor-
mative. TDI retains the requirement for the percent of drugs in
each cost-sharing tier for all drugs in the formulary.

The proposed new §21.3033(a)(4) titled "Coverage for Com-
monly Prescribed Drugs," is deleted. The proposal included
a requirement for information on coverage for commonly
prescribed drugs for comparison purposes. In response to
comments, this paragraph is not included in the adopted rule,
deleting the requirement that prices be compared to the New
York List of Commonly Prescribed Drugs.

The next paragraph is redesignated §21.3033(a)(4). It requires
a section in the summary titled "How Prescription Drugs are Cov-
ered under the Plan," to include information on how prescription
drugs are covered under the plan. New §21.3033(a)(4)(A) - (F)
describe the information an issuer must include in the summary.

New §21.3033(a)(4)(A) requires a section in the summary titled
"Formulary Composition," which explains the method the health
benefit plan issuer uses to determine the prescription drugs to
include or exclude from the formulary, whether the formulary is
open or closed, and a statement on how often the issuer reviews
the formulary.

New §21.3033(a)(4)(B) requires a section in the summary titled
"Right to Appeal," which explains an enrollee's right to appeal a
denial of a medically necessary drug that is not covered under
the formulary.

New §21.3033(a)(4)(C) requires a section in the summary titled
"Continuation of Coverage," which explains the consumer's right
to continued coverage consistent with amended §21.3022 and
Insurance Code §1369.055 and §1369.0541.

New §21.3033(a)(4)(D) requires a section in the summary titled
"Off-Label Drug Use," which explains coverage for off-label drug
use.
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New §21.3033(a)(4)(E) requires a section in the summary titled
"Cost Sharing," which explains how cost sharing is determined
under the plan, including: information on deductibles; formulary
tiers or cost-sharing levels if the formulary is multitier; the differ-
ence between preferred and nonpreferred drugs, if applicable;
differences in coverage for in-network and out-of-network phar-
macies; and the difference in coverage between retail pharmacy
and mail-order pharmacy, if applicable.

New §21.3033(a)(4)(F) requires a section in the summary titled
"Medical Management Requirements," which explains each type
of medical management requirement used by the health benefit
plan, including prior authorization, step therapy, or other protocol
requirements that limit access to prescription drugs, as applica-
ble.

New §21.3033(b) requires the summary information under sub-
section (a) to be located on the first page of the formulary docu-
ment under the title "Summary of Formulary Benefits."

§21.3034. Effective Date. In response to comments, another
subsection is added to this section. Subsection (a) extends the
effective date of the changes to the identification cards under
§8§21.3002 - 21.3004 of this title (relating to Definitions; Phar-
macy ldentification Cards, Standard Identification Cards, and Is-
suance of Standard Identification Cards) to January 1, 2017.
Subsection (a) is redesignated as subsection (b). It states the
effective dates of new §§21.3030 - 21.3033 for plans being mar-
keted in the individual market. Subsection (b) is redesignated as
subsection (c) and states the effective dates of new §§21.3030
- 21.3033 for plans being marketed in the group market.

SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSE. A
hearing was held on February 24, 2016, and oral and written
comments were received. Comments were received from the
Coalition for Nurses in Advanced Practice; Office of Public
Insurance Counsel; Pharmaceutical Care Management As-
sociation; American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network,
Inc.; Prime Therapeutics; Center for Public Policy Priorities;
America's Health Insurance Plans; Texas Association of Health
Plans; and the National Multiple Sclerosis Society.

Comment: Regarding §21.3003, one commenter stated that the
front of the identification card is getting crowded.

Agency Response: The requirement to place "TDI" or "DOI" on
the front of the card is already required under §21.2820; the ad-
dition of §21.3003 is intended to simplify compliance by locat-
ing all requirements for pharmacy ID cards in one section of the
code. The other content requirements for the front of the card
are required by Insurance Code §1369.153. However, TDI has
revised §21.3034 to move the effective date of this requirement
to January 1, 2017.

Comment: Regarding §21.3020, one commenter stated that
the definition for "summary health plan document,” should not
specifically incorporate federal requirements, which are subject
to change.

Agency Response: TDI disagrees with the comment and de-
clines to make a change. The definition incorporates the statu-
tory requirement at TIC §1369.0542(b), requiring issuers to in-
clude a link to the formulary information from the summary of
benefits and coverage. If the requirements change, the defini-
tion will also change.

Comment: Regarding §21.3021, one commenter stated that
they were pleased to see the dollar amount rather that the dollar
range required in the web tool and for the cost-sharing amount

after meeting the deductible. The commenter pointed out that
the predeductible and postdeductible cost of prescription drugs
is important to consumers.

Another commenter supported both web-based tool and online
formulary to provide information on the dollar cost, including
coinsurance.

Agency Response: TDI appreciates the supportive comments.

Comment: Regarding §21.3022, one commenter interpreted the
proposed rule to allow mid-year modifications if moving a drug
to a higher cost-sharing tier if there is a generic drug available,
although the statute only allows modifications at renewal. An-
other commenter suggested the rule should prohibit a plan from
moving a drug to a higher cost-sharing tier midyear if a generic
is available.

A third commenter acknowledged that the renewal date in the
proposed rule conformed to statute, but emphasized the need
for flexibility in formula modifications.

Two commenters stated that formularies are updated during
the year to include the release of new prescription drugs and
to update usage warnings or FDA notices to discontinue use.
The commenters stated they would like to be able to move a
brand-name drug to a higher-cost tier if a generic is released
midyear. Both entities consider only allowing modifications on
the plan's renewal date to be administratively unmanageable
because plans become effective and expire at different times of
the year. Restricting formulary changes limits the plans' abilities
to mitigate the excessive price hikes by drug manufacturers.
One commenter pointed out that prohibiting the movement of
brand-names to a higher tier when generics are available hurts
businesses and consumers.

Agency Response: TDI disagrees with the comments and has
revised the rule text to provide clarification.

Insurance Code §1369.0541 only authorizes modifications of
drug coverage on the plan's renewal date. The "at the time of
coverage renewal" language has existed in the statute since
2011. The language in subsection (b)(5) referencing moving
a drug to a higher cost-sharing tier if there is a generic drug
available concerns whether notice must be given when cover-
age is modified at renewal under subsection (a) and does not
permit that type of change to be accomplished midyear. TDI
has clarified this in the rule text.

Doctors must use their judgment about whether to prescribe
drugs if the FDA has withdrawn approval or the drugs have been
recalled. TDI has revised the rule so that modifications more
favorable to the consumer may be made without notice and at
any time, including the addition of drugs to formularies, a reduc-
tion in cost sharing, or the deletion of utilization management
requirements. The legislative history of HB 1405, 82nd Legis-
lature, Regular Session (2011) demonstrates that the intent of
the bill was to prevent occurrences that were detrimental to the
consumer such as increasing the cost of a drug or dropping a
drug altogether, before the renewal date.

Comment: Regarding §21.3030, two commenters pointed
out a typographical error referencing §21.3032(c), formulary
information on issuer's website, when it should have referenced
§21.3032(c), formulary disclosure requirements.

One commenter also recommended that plans provide a state-
ment clearly explaining that consumers can obtain actual drug
cost-sharing information by calling the toll-free number.
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Another commenter suggested that there be a direct link to either
the web tool or formulary that includes cost-sharing information
with the toll-free number on every page of the mailed copy.

Agency Response: TDI agrees with the comment regarding a
typographical error, and the change has been made regarding
the citation.

TDI disagrees with the recommendations regarding an ad-
ditional statement and the toll-free number. An additional
statement would be an additional cost to the insurer and thus
cannot be made at this time. Notice of the toll-free number is
available in the summary health plan document. An issuer has
the option of providing a direct link to the web tool or formulary.
Adding a requirement for the toll-free number on every page of
the mailed copy would be an additional cost.

Comment: Regarding §21.3031(a), one commenter supported
the drug coverage information being available to enrollees and
potential enrollees. The commenter stated the online tool and
formulary is very important to cancer patients, especially being
able to see what their coinsurance means as far as out-of-pocket
costs.

Regarding §21.3031(b), another commenter supported lan-
guage that requires a direct link to the formulary information.
It supported the web-based tool language, and points out that
some health plans are already providing drug cost information
via web tools, and health plans are already providing postde-
ductible cost-sharing information to their members.

Agency Response: TDI appreciates the supportive comments.

Comment: Regarding §21.3031(c)(3)(A), a commenter stated
that the information provided should describe whether the drug
is subject to a pharmacy or medical deductible, not the actual
deductible.

Agency Response: TDI agrees with the commenter and has re-
vised the proposed text. TDI has removed the requirement to
state the actual deductible. TDI has added that the web-based
tool must indicate where that deductible can be found, so that
consumers can find it in their plan documents.

Comment: Regarding §21.3031(c)(3)(B), a commenter stated
that the rule should not specify that the cost-sharing amount be
rounded to the next highest dollar because some plans may be
able to calculate specific amounts without rounding, and some
may prefer to round down as appropriate. The commenter said
the median is not feasible because the contracts are not based
on the simple monetary amount for each drug, but rather are of-
ten tied to Maximum Allowable Cost pricing, average wholesale
pricing, etc.

Another commenter suggested that the wording regarding "the
full price of the drug" in §21.3031(c)(3)(B) and (c)(3)(C)(ii) be
changed because although the commenter thinks the median
price is reasonable, if it is not feasible then TDI should consider
using a different definition for full cost that is consistent across
carriers.

Agency Response: TDI agrees in part with the commenters and
has added an alternative option in the text as adopted to address
these concerns. The health benefit plan issuer has the choice
whether to provide the exact cost-sharing amount or round up.
This issuer also has the choice whether to provide the actual cost
or median, but the rules require that the information be identi-
fied as either actual cost or median so that option is clear to the
consumer. Subsection (c)(3)(C) is also changed to clarify that

cost-sharing information is required excluding any deductible re-
quirements.

Comment: Regarding §21.3031(c)(3)(C) and §21.3032(c)(2), a
commenter stated that the phrase "physician-administered set-
ting" should include other practitioners or providers who may
legally prescribe in Texas. The commenter suggested revising
the term so that it reads "physician- or practitioner-administered
setting."

In both §21.3031 and §21.3032, another commenter indicated
support for the requirement that information covered under both
medical and pharmacy benefits be shared; and asked that plan
specificity, including the amount of the copayment and amount
or range of coinsurance after the deductible, be retained in the
rule.

In both §21.3031 and §21.3032, a third commenter stated
that they consider the statute to require a description of the
deductible, but not the actual deductible. The commenter ex-
pressed concern that calculating for each deductible will be very
complex. The commenter asked that the disclosure assume
100 percent enrollee cost sharing.

Agency Response: TDI agrees with the comments in part and
has made the change to "physician- or practitioner-administered
setting." TDI has eliminated the actual deductible language, but
retains the requirements addressing cost sharing as it relates to
copayments and coinsurance excluding the deductible. Taking
the deductible out of the calculation should reduce the complex-
ity of the different products. A 100 percent cost sharing would
be 100 percent of the negotiated price; this does not give the
necessary copay and coinsurance dollar amounts. Some plans
already provide the copay and coinsurance amounts for existing
enrollees.

Comment: Regarding §21.3032(a), a commenter commended
TDI for requiring that coverage and cost information for drugs
covered under a plan's medical benefit be included in the
formulary information. The commenter added that many cancer
treatment medications are administered intravenously by a
provider. Another commenter stated that including the medical
benefit will greatly benefit consumers who receive provider-ad-
ministered drugs.

Another commenter stated their support that the information for
prescription drugs covered both medical and pharmacy, and
found providing drugs covered under medical benefits as an
addendum acceptable. The commenter suggested that if the
direct link takes you to the pharmacy drug list and the addendum
is located elsewhere, TDI should require information about the
separate addendum, including where to find it and how to use it.

A third commenter stated that because costs are not tied to
pharmacy rates and the benefits are considered to be medical
rather than pharmacy benefits, that the medical drug coverage
is not part of a formulary. The commenter stated that provid-
ing cost-sharing and other information will be more complex and
take longer to implement. The commenter also stated that it
would be more feasible and informative to provide general infor-
mation regarding application of deductibles to prescription drug
benefits, and that calculation of the drug cost sharing is difficult.

Agency Response: TDI appreciates the supportive comments
and agrees to revise the section to provide additional clarifica-
tion. Insurance Code Chapter 1369 Subchapter B specifically
applies to drugs dispensed in a pharmacy and to those typically
administered by a physician or provider. The proposal delayed

41 TexReg 6040 August 12, 2016 Texas Register



the effective date of this part of the rule until November 1, 2016.
TDI will limit the requirement to an amount excluding the de-
ductible requirement. This significantly reduces the complexity
of the algorithm.

The words "direct electronic link" was added to §21.3032(a), so
that the last sentence is, "Information pertaining to drugs cov-
ered under the plan's medical benefits may be provided as an
addendum or direct electronic link to the formulary and must in-
clude each parameter that is applicable." This clarifies that a link
is the electronic equivalent of an addendum.

Comment: Regarding §21.3032(b), one commenter stated they
were not opposed to disclosures of prior authorization require-
ments, but found the characterization of prior authorization to be
unnecessary and potentially misleading.

Agency Response: TDI agrees that the verbiage "limiting
access," as it refers to prior authorization, is unnecessary.
However, the term "other protocol requirement,” should be
interpreted to mean any plan provision that limits access to a
formulary drug, regardless of whether limiting access is the
primary intent of the provision.

Comment: Regarding §21.3032(c) and (d), four commenters
stated that the calculation related to the postdeductible amounts
would be very complex because of the variety of benefit de-
signs. One of the commenters estimated that it would have
to customize over 1,700 formularies. The commenters added
that the complexity of separately postdeductible cost sharing will
take years, millions of dollars to implement, and the calculations
would require hundreds of pages. One commenter stated that it
has over 4,000 pages for open formularies.

Another commenter estimates a build out would cost $3 million
even if the rule is delayed to November 2017. The commenter
stated that they do not want to pass these costs on to consumers.
Another commenter stated that including all drugs within an open
formulary creates a technical challenge and provides little benefit
to the consumer. This is especially difficult for the medical drugs
because they are not considered part of the formulary. The com-
menter adds that since they are a pharmacy benefit manager,
they do not have access to medical drug pricing.

Another commenter supports the option for carriers to disclose
patient costs in online formulary documents, specifically in dollar
costs or a dollar cost range.

Agency Response: TDI disagrees with the comments and de-
clines to change the requirement for cost-sharing information.
The requirement for cost-sharing information cannot be changed
because Insurance Code §1369.0543(d)(1) requires "the dollar
amount of a copayment,” and "an enrollee's cost-sharing amount
stated in dollars." The web tool requirement in Insurance Code
§1369.0543(e) provides for a search for drug information "by the
name under which the health benefit plan is marketed."

However, TDI adopts §21.3032(c) and (d) with changes so that
the cost-sharing amount can be calculated as if there is not a
deductible. Regarding open formularies, the definition of "drug
formulary" in Insurance Code §1369.051 references a "list" of
covered drugs. In light of the comment, TDI has modified the
definition of "drug formulary” in §21.3020 to make it clear that
the rule does not apply to a true open formulary which does not
list, tier, or restrict access to covered drugs. This reduces the
complexity of the calculation. Regarding access to medical drug
pricing, although one commenter may not have access to the

information as a pharmacy benefit manager, it is working with an
issuer that has that information.

Comment: A commenter stated that for the group fully insured
market, the rule would require a long list of plans and associ-
ated formularies and summary-of-benefits links that would not
be available to the consumer.

Agency Response: TDI disagrees with the comment and de-
clines to make a change. In this case, the consumer is the em-
ployer. The statute does not exempt group plans.

Comment: Regarding §21.3032(e), a commenter asked that the
legend be added to the web tool. Another commenter supports
the use of a legend to make disclosures more consumer friendly.

Agency Response: TDI agrees that the legend will be useful
for consumers, but does not think a change is necessary. The
wording of §21.3032(e) requires a legend whether it is on the
website or on paper.

Comment: Regarding §21.3033, two commenters stated that
having the total number of drugs and each cost-sharing amount
will not help with comparison shopping. They stated that pro-
viding the information is likely to be more confusing than helpful
to consumers because it would not account for generics versus
brand-name drugs, different dosages available, etc. In addition,
displaying the long list of plans and formulas for the group fully
insured market could add confusion for the consumers because
it could lead to consumers reviewing information that is not ap-
plicable to their plan. One of the commenters stated that most
consumers shop primarily on premium rates.

Another commenter appreciated having all the information in
one place when comparison shopping. The commenter added
that complexity of understanding formulary costs and the per-
sonal costs that come with choosing the wrong plan are borne
by consumers today. This shifts some of that burden from con-
sumers to insurers and pharmacy benefits managers who are
better equipped to efficiently compile this information.

Agency Response: TDI agrees to revise the text as adopted to
avoid confusion for consumers. The adopted rules delete the
requirement to list the total number of drugs, but retains the re-
quirement to list the percent of drugs in each cost-sharing tier.
TDI agrees that having all the information in one place is bene-
ficial to consumers.

Comment: One commenter said they anticipate that §21.3033
will be extremely helpful to Texas consumers. It will help con-
sumers who are shopping for the most comprehensive prescrip-
tion drug cover and those consumers living with a chronic illness.
People living with multiple sclerosis may also develop other con-
ditions. Although it may be challenging for health plans and phar-
macy benefit managers, it should not be the consumer's burden
to piece together information from several sources. The com-
menter believes that creating consistent headings and a consis-
tent order for information will help consumers when comparing
formularies, but notes that under the header, "How to Find Infor-
mation on the Cost of Prescription Drugs" in §21.3033(a)(1), an
addendum with medical-benefit drugs should be included.

Agency Response: TDI agrees with the commenter. The adden-
dum should include the medical drugs under §21.3032(a).

Comment: Regarding §21.3033(a)(2), one commenter would
like a clearly marked link to the chart from the disclosure and
web tool.
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Agency Response: TDI does not agree that a revisions is nec-
essary to address the commenter's concern. The Summary of
Formulary Benefits, including the chart, is required to be included
as part of the formulary disclosure document under §21.3033(b).
The web tool is required to link to the chart under §21.3031(c)(4).

Comment: Regarding §21.3033(a)(4), two commenters stated
they were unable to find any evidence that consumers use a list
like the New York list when deciding which company to choose.
The rules infer that reduced management is a greater value;
this minimizes the value of safety and efficacy oversight. The
New York List of Commonly Prescribed Drugs is not meaning-
ful, is confusing, and does not provide much value. Another
commenter suggested the alternative of providing drugs by drug
class.

Agency Response: TDI agrees to revise the rule text as adopted
to address the commenters' concern. The adopted rules remove
the comparison to the New York list. Providing information only
by drug class would be too general.

Comment: Three commenters urged TDI not to implement prod-
uct disclosures that go beyond the federal regulations. Specifi-
cally, a commenter asked TDI to delete the requirement that pa-
per copies of formularies would have to calculate the cost to the
enrollee in dollar amounts of each covered drug based on their
benefit plan cost sharing and deductible.

Another commenter expressed concern that requiring more de-
tailed information than what is required under federal regula-
tions will make the consumer research and shopping experi-
ences overwhelming and confusing. The commenter added that
these disclosures may not be seen by consumers who work di-
rectly with the online shopping sites or exchanges and brokers
or agents, which could add unnecessary costs and confusion to
the health care system.

Agency Response: TDI disagrees with the commenters and
declines to make the requested change. Insurance Code
§1369.0543 requires TDI to go beyond the federal require-
ments. Calculations will be made as if there is no deductible,
which reduces the complexity of the calculations. In addition,
publishing the information on the website will greatly reduce the
requests for paper copies.

Comment: Regarding §21.3033(a)(4), one commenter stated
that §21.3033(a)(4) included an excessive list of additional dis-
closures that are redundant or unnecessary.

Agency Response: TDI disagrees with the commenter and de-
clines to revise the provision. This paragraph standardizes im-
portant information and places it in one area to provide consis-
tency and clarity.

Comment: Regarding §21.3034, two commenters indicated that
they would like to see the individual market rules take effect when
proposed so the information is available during the next open
enrollment period.

Another commenter requested that TDI take into consideration
the complexity of the new requirements and extend the effective
date appropriately. The commenter requested that the changes
to the identification cards be effective January 1, 2017, or after.

Agency Response: TDI agrees with the first two commenters re-
garding a need for the rules to be effective for the individual mar-
ket during the next open enrollment period. HB 1624, 84th Leg-
islature, Regular Session (2015), was passed in May 2015. TDI
is extending the effective date for the group market until Septem-

ber 2017. The effective date for the individual market needs to
be before the next enroliment period.

In response to the third commenter, TDI agrees to extend the ef-
fective date for the changes to identification cards. TDI is adding
a subsection to §21.3034 that extends the effective date for the
identification cards to January 1, 2017.

DIVISION 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
28 TAC §21.3001

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments to §21.3001
are adopted under Insurance Code §§1369.005, 1369.057,
1369.151, 1369.154, and 36.001.

Section 1369.005 provides that the commissioner may adopt
rules to implement Insurance Code Chapter 1369, Subchapter
A. Section 1369.057 provides that the commissioner may adopt
rules to implement Insurance Code Chapter 1369, Subchapter
B. Section 1369.151 extends the applicability of Insurance Code
Chapter 1369, Subchapter D, to include state employee, Medic-
aid, and CHIP plans. Section 1369.154 provides that the com-
missioner may adopt rules to implement Insurance Code Chap-
ter 1369, Subchapter D. Section 36.001 provides that the com-
missioner may adopt any rules necessary and appropriate to im-
plement the powers and duties of TDI under the Insurance Code
and other laws of this state.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603786

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: August 18, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 5, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584
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DIVISION 2. IDENTIFICATION CARDS
28 TAC §§21.3002 - 21.3004

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments to §§21.3002
- 21.3004 are adopted under Insurance Code §§843.209,
1369.052, 1369.151, 1369.153, 1369.154, 1301.162, and
36.001.

Section 843.209 requires that HMO identification cards indicate
that the HMO is regulated under Insurance Code. Section
1369.052 extends the applicability of Subchapter B to individual,
small group, and large group health benefit plans. Section
1369.151 extends the applicability of Insurance Code Chapter
1369, Subchapter D, to include state employee, Medicaid, and
CHIP plans. Section 1369.153 designates identification card
content that must be located on the front of the card. Section
1369.154 provides that the commissioner may adopt rules to
implement Chapter 1369, Subchapter D. Section 1301.162
requires that identification cards issued by insurers regulated by
the Insurance Code display the first date on which an individual
became insured under the plan or a toll-free number a physician
or health care provider may use to obtain that date. Section
36.001 provides that the commissioner may adopt any rules
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necessary and appropriate to implement the powers and duties
of TDI under the Insurance Code and other laws of this state.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603787

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: August 18, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 5, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. OFF-LABEL DRUGS
28 TAC §21.3010, §21.3011

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments are adopted un-
der Insurance Code §§1369.004, 1369.005, and 36.001.

Section 1369.004 describes the drug coverage a health benefit
plan that covers drugs is required to provide for treatment of an
enrollee for a chronic, disabling, or life-threatening illness. Sec-
tion 1369.005 provides that the commissioner may adopt rules
to implement Insurance Code Chapter 1369, Subchapter A. Sec-
tion 36.001 provides that the commissioner may adopt any rules
necessary and appropriate to implement the powers and duties
of TDI under the Insurance Code and other laws of this state.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603788

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: August 18, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 5, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 4. PRESCRIPTION DRUG
FORMULARY COVERAGE AND DISCLOSURE
REQUIREMENTS

28 TAC §§21.3020, 21.3022, 21.3023, 21.3030 - 21.3034

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendments to §§21.3020,
21.3022, and 21.3023; and new §§21.3030 - 21.3034 are
adopted under Insurance Code §§1369.005, 1369.052 -
1369.054, 1369.0541 - 1369.0544, 1369.055 - 1369.057,
1369.151, 1369.154, and 36.001.

Section 1369.005 provides that the commissioner may adopt
rules to implement Insurance Code Chapter 1369, Subchapter
A. Section 1369.052 extends the applicability of Subchapter B
to individual, small group, and large group health benefit plans.

Section 1369.053 provides exceptions to the applicability of In-
surance Code Chapter 1369 Subchapter B, and it exempts CHIP
and Medicaid Managed Care Organizations. Section §1369.054
describes the notice and disclosure of certain information re-
quired if an issuer of a health benefit plan covers prescription
drugs and uses one or more drug formularies to specify the
prescription drugs covered under the plan. Section 1369.0541
specifies conditions under which modifications of drug coverage
may occur and creates notice requirements. Section 1369.0542
requires a health benefit plan issuer to post formulary information
on its website as required by the commissioner by rule. Section
1369.0543 describes the required formulary disclosures and re-
quires the commissioner to adopt rule requirements to promote
consistency and clarity in the disclosure of formularies to facili-
tate consumers when comparison shopping among health ben-
efit plans. Section 1369.0544 allows a health benefit plan issuer
to make the formulary information available through a toll-free
telephone number. Section 1369.055 describes the continuation
of drug coverage requirements an issuer of a health benefit plan
must offer if prescription drugs are covered. Section 1369.056
describes the circumstances under which a refusal of a health
benefit plan issuer to provide benefits to an enrollee for a pre-
scription drug is an adverse determination. Section 1369.057
provides that the commissioner may adopt rules to implement
Insurance Code Chapter 1369, Subchapter B. Section 1369.151
extends the applicability of Insurance Code Chapter 1369, Sub-
chapter D, to include state employee, Medicaid, and CHIP plans.
Section 1369.154 provides that the commissioner may adopt
rules to implement Insurance Code Chapter 1369, Subchapter
D. Section 36.001 provides that the commissioner may adopt
any rules necessary and appropriate to implement the powers
and duties of TDI under the Insurance Code and other laws of
this state.

§21.3020.  Definitions; Prescription Drug Formulary.

The following words and terms when used in this division have the
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

(1) Adverse determination--As defined in Insurance Code
§4201.002.

(2) Allowed amount--The amount that the applicable
health benefit plan issuer allows as reimbursement for a health care ser-
vice, supply, or prescription drug, including reimbursement amounts
for which a patient is responsible due to deductibles, copayments, or
coinsurance.

(3) Contracted benefit level--The copayment amount or
coinsurance percentage established at the beginning of the current plan
year and described in the coverage documentation.

(4) Coverage documentation--A policy, certificate of cov-
erage, evidence of coverage, enrollee handbook, or a plan document
distributed by an issuer or its delegated entity to an enrollee or to the
master contract holder, for distribution to enrollees.

(5) Delegated entity--An entity or an association of enti-
ties, including third-party administrators, as they are defined in Insur-
ance Code §4151.001(1), and pharmacy benefit managers, as they are
defined in Insurance Code §4151.151, that provides reimbursement for
covered services or undertakes to arrange for or provide benefits or ser-
vices to an enrollee under a health benefit plan, and that performs on
behalf of the issuer of a health benefit plan, any function regulated by
this division.

(6) Direct electronic link--A hyperlink that, when clicked,
delivers a user directly to the applicable website destination.
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(7) Drug--As defined in the Texas Pharmacy Act, Occupa-
tions Code §551.003.

(8) Drug formulary or formulary--A list of drugs for which
a health benefit plan provides coverage, approves payment, or encour-
ages or offers incentives for physicians or other health care providers
to prescribe. This term does not include a health benefit plan that:

(A) offers coverage for any FDA approved drug;
(B) does not include a tiered structure;
(C) does not contain a list of drugs; and

(D) does not include utilization requirements for partic-
ular drugs or classes of drugs.

(9) Enrollee--As defined in Insurance Code §1369.051(2).

(10) Health benefit plan--An insurance policy or evidence
of coverage as described in Insurance Code §1369.052, but not those
described in Insurance Code §1369.053, that provides coverage for a
discrete package of benefits, paired with specific cost-sharing param-
eters. This term includes health benefit plans providing coverage for
pharmacy benefits only.

(11) Issuer--Those entities described in Insurance Code
§1369.052, but not those excluded by Insurance Code §1369.053.

(12) Multitier formulary--A drug formulary with benefit
levels in addition to generic and brand-name prescription drug benefit
levels.

(13) Off-label drug use--The use of a drug that is approved
by the Food and Drug Administration for the treatment of one medical
condition but is used to treat another medical condition, or at different
dosage forms, dosage regimens, populations, or other parameters not
mentioned in the approved labeling.

(14) Plain language--As prescribed in §3.602 of this title
(relating to Plain Language Requirements).

(15) Plan year--A 365-day period that begins on the date
the health benefit plan's coverage commences, or a period of one full
calendar year as defined in the health benefit plan's coverage documen-
tation.

(16) Prescription drug--As defined in Insurance Code
§1369.051(4).

(17) Renewal date--For each health benefit plan, the earlier
of the date specified in the coverage documentation for renewal or the
policy anniversary date. In determining the renewal date for associ-
ation or multiple employer trust health benefit plans, issuers may use
the date specified for renewal or the policy anniversary date of either
the master contract, plan document, or certificate of coverage of each
group in the association or trust. Issuers must use the same method of
determining renewal dates for all health benefit plans.

(18) Summary health plan document--A document sum-
marizing the coverage provided under a health benefit plan, including:

(A) asummary of benefits and coverage, as required un-
der 42 U.S.C. §300gg-15 and 45 CFR §147.200; and

(B) adisclosure of terms and conditions of a policy, as
required under §3.3705(b) of this title (relating to Nature of Commu-
nications with Insureds; Readability, Mandatory Disclosure Require-
ments, and Plan Designations), or an evidence of coverage, as required
under §11.1600(b) of this title (relating to Information to Prospective
and Current Contract Holders and Enrollees).

§21.3022.  Continuation of Benefits.

(a) An issuer of a health benefit plan that offers prescription
drug benefits must make a prescription drug that was approved or cov-
ered for a medical condition or mental illness available to each enrollee
at the contracted benefit level until the health benefit plan renewal date.
Modifications to drug coverage are not permitted until the plan's re-
newal date.

(b) A health benefit plan issuer may make modifications to
drug coverage provided under a health benefit plan if:

(1) the modification occurs at the time of coverage renewal,

(2) the modification is effective uniformly among all group
health benefit plan sponsors covered by identical or substantially iden-
tical health benefit plans, or all individuals covered by identical or sub-
stantially identical individual health benefit plans, as applicable; and

(3) not later than the 60th day before the date the modifica-
tion is effective, the issuer provides written notice of the modification
to the commissioner, each affected group health benefit plan sponsor,
each affected enrollee in an affected group health benefit plan, and each
affected individual health benefit plan holder for modifications that:

(A) remove a drug from a formulary;

(B) add arequirement that an enrollee receive prior au-
thorization for a drug;

(C) impose or alter a quantity limit for a drug;
(D) impose a step-therapy restriction for a drug; or

(E) move a drug to a higher cost-sharing tier unless a
generic drug alternative is available.

(c) For purposes of this section, modifications that are more
favorable to the consumer may be made without notice at any time,
including modifications that:

(1) add drugs to formularies;
(2) reduce cost sharing; or
(3) delete a utilization review requirement.

§21.3031.  Formulary Information on Issuer's Website.

(a) Except as permitted under subsection (c) of this section, an
issuer of a health benefit plan must display the formulary information
required under §21.3032 and §21.3033 of this title (relating to Formu-
lary Disclosure Requirements and Facilitating Comparison Shopping)
on a website that is publicly accessible to enrollees, prospective en-
rollees, and others without requiring the use of paid software, a pass-
word, user name, or personally identifiable information. The formulary
information must:

(1) be electronically searchable by drug name; and
(2) use at least 10-point font.

(b) Each summary health plan document must include a direct
electronic link to the website that contains the formulary information.
The direct electronic link must deliver the user directly to the formulary
information associated with the health benefit plan described by the
health plan document, without requiring additional navigation or user
input.

(c) Asanalternative to displaying the information required un-
der §21.3032(c) of this title alongside the formulary information re-
quired generally under subsection (a) of this section, a health bene-
fit plan issuer may elect to make plan-specific cost-sharing informa-
tion available through a web-based tool. A direct electronic link to the
web-based tool must be included on each page of the formulary disclo-
sure that lists each drug. The purpose of this alternative method is to
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encourage the provision of the most timely and accurate drug price in-
formation. In order to qualify for this alternative method, a web-based
tool must:

(1) be publicly accessible to enrollees, prospective en-
rollees, and others without requiring the use of paid software or
the necessity of a password, user name, or personally identifiable
information;

(2) allow consumers to electronically search formulary in-
formation by the name under which the health benefit plan is marketed;

(3) include the following plan-specific cost-sharing infor-
mation for each drug:

(A) whether the drug is subject to a pharmacy or medi-
cal deductible and where the deductible may be found;

(B) the full price of the drug, based on the plan's median
allowed amount or the actual cost for the drug using the most up-to-date
data available, and a statement as to whether the price is based on the
median or the actual cost;

(C) the cost-sharing amount the enrollee will owe for
each drug under the pharmacy or medical benefit in a retail, mail or-
der, or physician- or practitioner-administered setting, if applicable, ex-
cluding any deductible requirement, including as applicable:

(i) the dollar amount of a copayment; and

(i) for a drug subject to coinsurance, the dollar
amount of cost sharing the enrollee will owe, calculated based on
the full price of the drug and the cost-sharing parameters under the
enrollee's health benefit plan for the tier under which the drug is
assigned; and

(4) include, prominently displayed on the web page under
the header "Formulary by Health Benefit Plan," a direct electronic link
to a chart displaying each formulary that applies to each health benefit
plan issued by the issuer and includes a direct electronic link to the
Summary of Benefits and Coverage and formulary document for each
health plan listed. This chart may be limited to health benefit plans
being sold in the market in which the applicable health benefit plan is
issued.

§21.3032.  Formulary Disclosure Requirements.

(a) The formulary information required under this section
must include each prescription drug covered under the plan that is
dispensed in a network pharmacy or administered by a physician or
health care provider and clearly differentiate between drugs covered
under the plan's pharmacy benefits and medical benefits. Information
pertaining to drugs covered under the plan's medical benefits may be
provided as an addendum or link to the formulary and must include
each parameter that is applicable.

(b) The formulary information must include the following
coverage information for each drug:

(1) an explanation of coverage under the health benefit
plan;

(2) an indication of whether the drug is preferred, if appli-
cable, under the plan;

(3) adisclosure of any prior authorization, step therapy, or
other protocol requirement; and

(4) the specific tier the drug falls under, if the plan uses a
multitier formulary.

(¢) The formulary information must include the following
plan-specific cost-sharing information for each drug:

(1) whether the drug is subject to a pharmacy or medical
deductible and where the deductible may be found;

(2) the cost-sharing amount for each drug under the phar-
macy or medical benefit, in a retail, mail order, or physician- or prac-
titioner-administered setting, if applicable, excluding any deductible
requirement, including, as applicable:

(A) the dollar amount of a copayment; and
(B) for a drug subject to coinsurance:

(i) an enrollee's cost-sharing amount stated in dol-
lars; or

(i)  a cost-sharing range denoted as follows:
(D) under $100 - $;
(I)  $100 - $250 - $$;
(1)  $251 - $500 - $$$;
(V) $501 - $1,000 - $$38; or
(V) over $1,000 - $$$$$.

(d) Cost-sharing amounts must reflect the cost to the con-
sumer, rounded to the next highest dollar amount, for a month-long
supply unless otherwise noted. Cost-sharing information reflecting
the cost for a different duration supply should indicate the applicable
duration. The cost-sharing amount for a given drug must be calculated
based on the plan's median allowed amount or the actual cost for the
drug, using the most up-to-date data available and the cost-sharing
parameters under the enrollee's health benefit plan for the tier under
which the drug is assigned. The information must include whether the
cost-sharing amount is based on the median or the actual cost.

(¢) Any formulary information presented using abbreviations
must provide a legend on each page explaining the meaning of each
abbreviation used, including the dollar amounts that correspond to the
cost-sharing range.

§21.3033.  Facilitating Comparison Shopping.

(a) The formulary information required by §21.3032 of this
title (relating to Formulary Disclosure Requirements) must include a
summary titled "Summary of Formulary Benefits" that includes this
statement: "The information in this document is designed to help you
understand the prescription drug benefits offered under this plan and
to compare these benefits to those offered by other plans. Information
contained in this summary is designed to help you compare both the
value and scope of formulary benefits." The summary must also in-
clude, in the following order:

(1) Under the header, "How to Find Information on the
Cost of Prescription Drugs," a description of how a consumer may use
the plan's summary health plan document, formulary information, and
web-based tool, if applicable, to determine the cost sharing they may
owe, and an explanation that cost-sharing information reflects a con-
sumer's share of the cost excluding any deductible requirement, calcu-
lated using an estimate of the full price of the drug, which is based on
the plan's median or the actual cost allowed amount at a given point in
time.

(2) Under the header, "Formulary by Health Benefit Plan,"
a chart that displays each formulary that applies to each health benefit
plan issued by the issuer and includes a direct electronic link to the
Summary of Benefits and Coverage for each health plan listed. This
chart may be limited to health benefit plans being sold in the market in
which the applicable health benefit plan is issued.
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(3) Under the header, "Drugs by Cost-Sharing Tier," if the
drug formulary is a multitier formulary, a summary that displays the
percent of drugs in each cost-sharing tier for all drugs in the formulary.

(4) Under the header, "How Prescription Drugs are Cov-
ered under the Plan":

(A) underasection titled, "Formulary Composition," an
explanation of the method the issuer uses to determine the prescription
drugs to be included in or excluded from the formulary, an explanation
of whether the formulary is open or closed, and a statement of how
often the issuer reviews the contents of the formulary.

(B) Under a section titled, "Right to Appeal," an expla-
nation that if a drug is not covered under the formulary, but the en-
rollee's physician has determined that the drug is medically necessary,
the consumer has the right to appeal, consistent with §21.3023 of this ti-
tle (relating to Nonformulary Prescription Drugs; Adverse Determina-
tion) and Insurance Code §1369.056. A statement of how cost sharing
will be determined for drugs covered as a result of a successful appeal.

(C) Under a section titled, "Continuation of Coverage,"
an explanation of a consumer's right to continued coverage for a pre-
scription drug at the coverage level or tier at which the drug was cov-
ered at the beginning of the plan year, until the enrollee's plan renewal
date, consistent with §21.3022 of this title (relating to Continuation of
Benefits) and Insurance Code §1369.055 and §1369.0541.

(D) Under a section titled, "Off-Label Drug Use," an
explanation of how formulary drugs are covered under the plan, in-
cluding an explanation of coverage for off-label drug use.

(E) Under a section titled, "Cost Sharing," an expla-
nation of how cost sharing is determined under the plan, including
whether a deductible applies to prescription drug coverage; how cost
sharing for prescription drugs counts towards the plan's deductible;
how drugs are categorized into each of the formulary tiers or cost-shar-
ing levels, whether the drug formulary is a multitier formulary; the
difference between preferred and nonpreferred drugs, if applicable;
the difference in coverage for drugs dispensed from in-network and
out-of-network pharmacies; and the difference in coverage for drugs
dispensed in a retail pharmacy and a mail-order pharmacy, if applica-
ble.

(F) Under a section titled, "Medical Management Re-
quirements," an explanation of each type of medical management re-
quirement used by the health benefit plan, including prior authoriza-
tion, step therapy, or other protocol requirements that limit access to
prescription drugs, as applicable.

(b) Formulary information must include the summary infor-
mation required under subsection (a) of this section beginning on the
first page of the formulary document under the title, "Summary of For-
mulary Benefits."

$21.3034.  Effective Date.

(a) The requirements under §§21.3002 - 21.3004 of this title
(relating to Definitions; Pharmacy Identification Cards, Standard Iden-
tification Cards, and Issuance of Standard Identification Cards) are ef-
fective January 1, 2017.

(b) The requirements under §§21.3030 - 21.3033 of this title
(relating to Availability of Formulary Information, Formulary Disclo-
sure Requirements, and Facilitating Comparison Shopping) are effec-
tive for plans marketed in the individual market on or after November
1, 2016, with an effective date on or after January 1, 2017.

(c) The requirements under §§21.3030 - 21.3033 of this title
are effective for plans marketed in the group market on or after Septem-
ber 1, 2017.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603789

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: August 18, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 5, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ 14
28 TAC §21.3005, §21.3021

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The repeal of §21.3005 and
§21.3021 is adopted under Insurance Code §§1369.052,
1369.054, 1369.057, 1369.154, and 36.001.

Section 1369.052 extends the applicability of Subchapter B, to
individual, small group, and large group health benefit plans.
Section 1369.054 provides the notice and disclosure of certain
information required by issuers of a health benefit plan that cov-
ers prescription drugs and uses one or more drug formularies
to specify the prescription drugs covered under the plan. Sec-
tion 1369.057 provides that the commissioner may adopt rules
to implement Chapter 1369, Subchapter B. Section §1369.154
provides that the commissioner may adopt rules to implement
Chapter 1369, Subchapter D. Section 36.001 provides that the
commissioner may adopt any rules necessary and appropriate
to implement the powers and duties of TDI under the Insurance
Code and other laws of this state.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603785

Norma Garcia

General Counsel

Texas Department of Insurance

Effective date: August 18, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 5, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 676-6584

¢ ¢ ¢

TITLE 31. NATURAL RESOURCES AND
CONSERVATION

PART 2. TEXAS PARKS AND
WILDLIFE DEPARTMENT

CHAPTER 51. EXECUTIVE
SUBCHAPTER B. AUTHORITY TO
CONTRACT

31 TAC §51.60, §51.61

The Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission (Commission) in a
duly noticed meeting on March 24, 2016, adopted an amend-
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ment to §51.60, concerning Authority to Contract, and new
§51.61, concerning Enhanced Contract Monitoring, without
changes to the proposed text as published in the February 19,
2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 1198).

The amendment and new rule implement the requirements of
Senate Bill (S.B.) 20 as enacted by the 84th Texas Legislature
(2015). Senate Bill 20 amended Government Code, Chapter
2261, by adding new §2261.253(c), which states "each state
agency by rule shall establish a procedure to identify each
contract that requires enhanced contract or performance mon-
itoring and submit information on the contract to the governing
board...." Government Code, §2261.253(c) further requires that
the agency's governing body be immediately notified of any
serious issue or risk that is identified with respect to a contract
monitored under that section.

S.B. 20 also added Government Code, §2261.254, which re-
quires a state agency's governing board to approve contracts
with a value in excess of $1 million, and requires the presiding
officer of the state agency to sign such contract. However, the
approval and signature of such contracts may be delegated to
the state agency's executive director. Department regulations
(31 TAC §51.60) currently delegate authority to enter contracts
to the department's executive director.

The amendment to §51.60 alters the current delegation of con-
tracting authority to ensure compliance with S.B. 20 and to en-
sure proper review and approval of agency contracts. Subsec-
tion (a) clarifies that the delegation of authority includes, but is
not limited to, contacts for the purchase of goods or services with
a value exceeding $1 million. The Commission is a part-time
body that generally holds five meetings each year. Given the
number of contracts entered by the department and the part-time
nature of the Commission, delegating contracting authority to the
executive director will help ensure that contracts are processed
more efficiently.

The amendment to §51.60 also adds new subsection (b) to
require the executive director to implement appropriate policies
and procedures regarding the solicitation and signature of
agency contracts. New subsection (b)(1) requires the imple-
mentation of policies and procedures to ensure that contracts
are awarded in a manner that is fair and equitable and in
accordance with applicable law. New subsection (b)(2) ensures
proper review and approval of agency contracts, including
review by department legal staff. The department currently
has internal policies, procedures and processes for soliciting,
awarding, reviewing and approving agency contracts. The
amendment codifies a requirement to maintain such policies
and procedures.

The amendment to §51.60 also adds new subsection (c) to
clearly authorize the executive director to delegate authority to
sign department contracts with a value of less than $1 million
to appropriate department staff, unless otherwise prohibited
by statute or regulation. The delegation of contract signature
authority would be subject to the requirements of subsection (b)
of the section. In other words, a contract for which signature
has been delegated would still be required to go through the
appropriate review and approval process.

New §51.61 sets forth the criteria to be used by the department
in determining whether a contract should be subject to enhanced
contract monitoring. New subsection (a) requires the department
to determine if enhanced contract monitoring is needed based on
the criteria set out in subsection (b) of the section.

New §51.61(b) lists and describes the criteria to be considered
by the department, to the extent applicable, in determining if en-
hanced contract monitoring is necessary. The criteria to be con-
sidered are: Total Contract Price; Total Contract Duration; Fund-
ing Source; User Impacts; Criticality of Deliverable Timing; Im-
pact of Contract Failure; Locations Impacted; Availability of Re-
sources for Contract Management; Complexity of Project; Health
and Safety Risk; Business Process Impact; Payment Methodol-
ogy Risks; and, End Users' Training Needs. In addition, for tech-
nology contracts, the department will consider Software Tech-
nology Customization; Impact on Existing Technology; and, In-
terface Connectivity. The department intends to rate proposed
contracts using the criteria listed in proposed new subsection (b).
Those contracts with a higher rating will receive enhanced mon-
itoring and oversight by the department.

New §51.61(c) provides that the department may determine, af-
ter considering the factors listed in subsection (b), that certain
types or classes of contracts are low-risk and have a low likeli-
hood of serious issues. As a result, there would be no require-
ment to individually evaluate whether such contracts require en-
hanced contract monitoring. For example, certain very low-dol-
lar, short-term contracts may be categorically excluded from the
assessment required by subsection (b).

New §51.61(d) requires the department's director of contracting
and procurement to notify the executive director regarding any
serious risk or issue identified in connection with a contract sub-
ject to enhanced contract monitoring. The executive director will
then be required to notify the Parks and Wildlife Commission of
any such serious risk or issue identified.

The department received no comments opposing adoption of the
proposed rules.

The department received two comments supporting adoption of
the proposed rules.

No groups or associations commented concerning adoption of
the proposed rules.

The amendment and new rule are adopted under the authority of
Government Code, §2261.253, which requires state agencies to
identify each contract that requires enhanced contract or perfor-
mance monitoring and submit information on the contract to the
agency's governing board and requires that the agency's gov-
erning body be immediately notified of any serious issue or risk
that is identified with respect to a contract monitored under that
section; §2261.254, which requires a state agency's governing
board to approve and the presiding officer of the governing body
to sign contracts with a value in excess of $1 million, but autho-
rizes the delegation of approval and signature authority for such
contracts to the state agency's executive director; and Parks and
Wildlife Code, §11.0171, which requires the commission to adopt
by rule policies and procedures consistent with state procure-
ment practices for soliciting and awarding contracts under that
section.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 27, 2016.
TRD-201603716
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Ann Bright

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: August 16, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 19, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 57. FISHERIES
SUBCHAPTER N. STATEWIDE RECRE-
ATIONAL AND COMMERCIAL FISHING
PROCLAMATION

The Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission in a duly noticed
meeting on March 24, 2016 approved adoption of amendments
to §§57.972, 57.973, and 57.981, concerning the Statewide
Recreational and Commercial Fishing Proclamations, as pub-
lished in the February 19, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41
TexReg 1200). The rules are adopted without changes to the
proposed text.

The amendment to §57.972, concerning General Rules, im-
plements the provisions of House Bill (H.B.) 1579, enacted by
the 84th Texas Legislature (2015), which amended Parks and
Wildlife Code, §66.216, to provide that no person may possess a
finfish of any species taken from coastal water, except broadbill
swordfish, shark, or king mackerel, that has the head removed
unless the fish has been finally processed and delivered to the
final destination or to a certified wholesale or retail dealer; and
that no person may possess a finfish of any species taken from
coastal water, except broadbill swordfish or king mackerel, that
has the tail removed unless the fish has been finally processed
and delivered to the final destination or to a certified wholesale
or retail dealer.

The amendment to §57.973, concerning Devices, Means, and
Methods, clarifies regulations governing gear restrictions on
pole-and-line. The department has received several comments
to the effect that the current wording of paragraph (13)(A) is
confusing and does not make it clear that "snagging" and "jerk-
ing" are unlawful acts included in the provision. The amendment
makes that distinction clear.

The amendment to §57.981, concerning Bag, Possession, and
Length Limits, consists of several components.

The amendment to §57.981 alters harvest regulations for small-
mouth bass on Lake Meredith in Hutchinson, Moore, and Potter
counties, replacing the current 12-15 inch slot length limit and
three-fish daily bag with the statewide standard (14-inch mini-
mum length limit and a daily bag limit of five fish). Lake Mered-
ith contained a smallmouth bass population until approximately
2011, when golden alga blooms extirpated the population in the
reservoir. Drought has also had an impact as the reservoir was
below 1% capacity from 2011 to 2014. Restocking of smallmouth
bass is being evaluated, and the 14-inch limit is an appropriate
regulation for managing a newly-stocked population.

The amendment to §57.981 also eliminates the current statewide
standard regulation for saugeye and merges saugeye regula-
tions with the current statewide standard regulation for walleye.
The previous harvest regulations for saugeye (18-inch minimum
and three-fish daily bag limit) are replaced with no minimum
length limit and a five-fish daily bag limit, of which no more than
two fish less than 16 inches could be lawfully retained. The saug-

eye is a hybrid between walleye and sauger, stocked to prey on
stunted crappie populations and to provide another fishing op-
portunity for anglers. Stockings were not successful in achiev-
ing those goals, and the saugeye stocking program has been
discontinued. Existing saugeye populations will likely be gone
within the next 5-10 years. A separate regulation is not needed
since saugeye will no longer be stocked.

The amendment to §57.981 also alters harvest regulations for
largemouth bass on Lake Naconiche in Nacogdoches County.
Current harvest regulations consist of an 18-inch minimum
length limit and a five-fish daily bag limit. The amendment
imposes a 16-inch maximum length limit and five-fish daily bag;
however, one fish 24 inches or greater may be retained alive for
immediate weighing using personal scales. Bass weighing 13
pounds or more may be donated to the ShareLunker Program;
otherwise, fish must be immediately released. Lake Naconiche
was opened in 2012 with an 18-inch minimum length limit. The
bass population is still developing and has trophy potential.
Establishing a maximum length limit of 16 inches could increase
numbers of trophy-sized bass in the population by providing
protection to large bass currently vulnerable to harvest (larger
than 18 inches). A maximum length limit that allows retention
of only ShareLunker bass (13 pounds or larger) could increase
contributions to the ShareLunker program. Allowing harvest of
bass less than 16 inches could decrease intraspecific competi-
tion and increase growth rates.

The amendment to §57.981 also alters harvest regulations for
largemouth bass in Chambers, Galveston, Jefferson, Newton,
and Orange counties. The current harvest regulations in these
counties consists of a 14-inch minimum length limit and a five-
fish daily bag limit. The amendment imposes a 12-inch minimum
length limit (the five-fish daily bag would be retained). Additional
changes affect the Sabine River from the Toledo Bend dam to
a line across Sabine Pass between Texas Point and Louisiana
Point and in Chambers, Galveston, Jefferson, and Orange coun-
ties, including any waters that form boundaries with adjacent
counties. There has been increased local interest in bass fish-
ing and tournament angling in this area of Southeast Texas. Nu-
merous professional and high school/college bass tournaments
have occurred. Anglers have noted catching numerous bass
over 12 inches but less than 14 inches. The department has
agreed to investigate bass populations in that area and has de-
termined that populations are abundant but slow-growing, with
few fish exceeding 14 inches. These population characteristics
mirror those in coastal bass populations along the Gulf. The
amendment will have minimal impact to the population but will
allow anglers the option of weighing in 12- and 13-inch bass in
catch-and-release tournaments.

The amendment to §57.981 also affects harvest regulations for
channel and blue catfish on Lake Tawakoni in Hunt, Raines, and
Van Zandt counties. The current harvest regulations consist of
a 14-inch minimum length limit and a 25-fish daily bag limit. The
amendment eliminates the minimum length limit and retains the
25-fish bag limit, but anglers would be allowed to retain only
seven fish 20 inches or greater in length, and of these seven fish,
only two could be 30 inches or greater. The blue catfish fishery
in Tawakoni was the result of a stocking in 1989 of 366,675 blue
catfish fingerlings. The harvest of large fish concerned some
anglers and those anglers have expressed a desire for reduced
harvest of catfish larger than 30 inches. Staff question whether
the trophy fishery can be sustained at its current level into the
future. Special sampling was started in 2013 to assess the blue
catfish fishery. An angler survey was conducted and most an-
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glers were satisfied with current limits but respondents did sup-
port reducing harvest of large blue catfish. Population modeling
was done to assess potential impacts on 20- to 30-inch fish under
various regulation scenarios. The regulation as adopted was se-
lected to best address concerns about over-harvest of large blue
catfish, redirect some of the harvest, and to potentially increase
the catch of blue catfish greater than 30 inches. Blue catfish are
the focus of the regulation; channel catfish will be minimally im-
pacted.

The amendment to §57.981 also corrects the maximum length
limit stated for black drum. Last year, the department eliminated
an awkward tabular format for establishing bag, possession, and
length limits. In the process, the 30-inch maximum length limit for
black drum was inadvertently eliminated. The amendment cor-
rects that oversight. The 30-inch maximum size limit was origi-
nally selected in 1990 and was in effect continuously since that
time. This length limit was selected to protect spawning adults,
especially during the spring spawning run when these fish are
most accessible by anglers.

The amendment to §57.981 also increases the recreational
minimum length limit for amberjack to reflect recent federal
actions regarding that species. The amendment increases the
recreational minimum size limit for amberjack from 34 inches to
38 inches (total length). The National Marine Fisheries Service
(NMFS) recently issued regulations to implement management
measures in the Fishery Management Plan for the Reef Fish
Resources of the Gulf of Mexico, one of which was to increase
the recreational minimum size limit for amberjack. The change
is intended to provide an opportunity for a greater number of
sexually mature greater amberjack to spawn, which could assist
in efforts to end overfishing and rebuild stock. The department
has determined that the federal action is consistent with sound
fisheries management principles and that making the state
regulation identical to the federal regulation will help achieve
management goals, be beneficial to the resource, and prevent
angler confusion.

The department received nine comments opposing adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.973 that affects
pole-and-line gear restrictions. Of those comments, two articu-
lated a reason or rationale for opposing adoption. Those com-
ments, accompanied by the department's response to each, fol-
low.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rule
should not apply to nongame fish. The department disagrees
with the comment and responds that snagging is an indiscrimi-
nant method of catching fish, which could lead to the accidental
snagging of game fish, potentially resulting in high mortality of
non-targeted game fish. No changes were made as a result of
the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated opposition to rules
requiring live wells to be drained. The department disagrees
that the comment is germane to pole-and-line gear restrictions
or to other amendments to the statewide fishing proclamation.
No changes were made as a result of the comment.

The department received 50 comments supporting adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.973 that affects
pole-and-line gear restrictions.

The department received five comments opposing adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects
smallmouth bass on Lake Meredith. All five commenters pro-
vided a reason or rationale for opposing adoption. Those com-

ments, accompanied by the department's response to each, fol-
low.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that smallmouth
bass have no place in Texas waters and should not be managed
at all other than to be eliminated. The department disagrees with
the comment and responds that the construction of reservoirs in
Texas created artificial habitats that were not suitable for some
native fishes; in order to provide beneficial recreational uses of
these reservoirs, the department stocks fishes native to nearby
states that are compatible with native species and that can pro-
vide recreational benefit to anglers. No changes were made as
a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rule
should impose a minimum length of 15 inches and a bag limit
of three per day. The department disagrees with the comment
and responds that the 12-15 inch slot limit was implemented
on Lake Meredith in 1992 because abundant spawning of
smallmouth bass was resulting in an overabundance of small
bass. A 14-inch limit will provide sufficient protection from
harvest to achieve the goal of reestablishing smallmouth bass.
No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there is
too much emphasis on trophy fishing and that people should
be allowed to keep more of what they catch. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that the rule is
intended to protect a newly-stocked population from overfishing.
No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the current
limits should be retained until a healthy smallmouth bass popu-
lation is confirmed. While the department agrees that retaining
a healthy smallmouth bass population is a goal, the department
disagrees that the rule as adopted is contradictory to that goal.
The department also responds that the rule as adopted will af-
ford more, not less protection, than the current regulation while
the population is becoming established following restocking. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated opposition to rules
requiring live wells to be drained. The department disagrees that
the comment is germane to harvest regulations on Lake Meredith
or to other amendments to the statewide fishing proclamation.
No changes were made as a result of the comment.

The department received 39 comments supporting the adoption
of the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects
smallmouth bass on Lake Meredith.

The department received two comments opposing adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects
saugeye. Both commenters provided a reason or rationale for
opposing adoption. Those comments, accompanied by the de-
partment's response to each, follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated opposition to rules
requiring live wells to be drained. The department disagrees that
the comment is germane to harvest regulations for saugeye or
to other amendments to the statewide fishing proclamation. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that harvest regu-
lations for saugeye should be eliminated completely. The depart-
ment disagrees with the comment and responds that two reser-
voirs have both walleye and saugeye. Anglers could have diffi-
culty distinguishing between these fishes and could be subject to
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fines if they harvested walleye mistakenly identified as saugeye.
No changes were made as a result of the comment.

The department received 41 comments supporting the adoption
of the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects
saugeye.

The department received eight comments opposing adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects
largemouth bass on Lake Naconiche. Of those comments, three
provided a reason or rationale for opposing adoption. Those
comments, accompanied by the department's response to each,
follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that anglers
should be allowed to retain trophy fish. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that allowing the
retention of numerous larger, older fish would have a deleterious
impact on populations. No changes were made as a result of
the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there is too
much emphasis on the trophy fishery and that people should
be allowed to keep more of what they catch. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that the protection
of older, larger fish results in a healthier and more sustainable
populations, while the removal of such fish, in sufficient numbers,
has the opposite effect. No changes were made as a result of
the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rule will
result in the overharvest of younger fish and that the department
instead should implement a 12-16 inch slot limit. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that there are numer-
ous slot limits on other waterbodies that allow the harvest of bass
smaller than 14 or 16 inches in length in addition to two reser-
voirs that have harvest regulations similar to those adopted for
Lake Naconiche. The department has not detected overharvest
in any of those populations and does not believe that overhar-
vest will occur Lake Naconiche as a result of the same harvest
regulation. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

The department received 41 comments supporting adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects
largemouth bass on Lake Naconiche.

The department received nine comments opposing adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects
largemouth bass in Chambers, Galveston, Jefferson, Newton,
and Orange counties. Of those comments, five articulated a
reason or rationale for opposing adoption. Those comments,
accompanied by the department's response to each, follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that reducing the
minimum size limit will prevent larger numbers of larger fish in
the future. The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that bass mortality rates calculated from population data
indicate that natural mortality is high, resulting in few fish reach-
ing 14 inches, the current length limit. Population model data
indicate that reducing the length limit to 12 inches will have min-
imal impact on the production of larger fish. No changes were
made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that management
should not be changed for tournament anglers. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that while the change
to 12 inches will benefit tournament anglers, the change will also
allow non-tournament anglers the opportunity to harvest some
bass. In addition, population model data indicate that reducing

the length limit to 12 inches will have minimal impact on bass
populations. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that a three-fish
bag limit with a 15-inch should be implemented. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that bass mortality
rates calculated from population data indicate that natural mor-
tality is high resulting in few fish reaching 14 inches, the current
length limit. Population model data indicate that reducing the
length limit to 12 inches will have minimal impact on the produc-
tion of larger fish. Increasing the length limit to 15 would further
exacerbate the negative impacts of high natural mortality. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rule is
being implemented to benefit trophy anglers and tournaments.
The department disagrees with the comment and responds that
while the change to 12 inches will benefit tournament anglers,
the change will also allow non-tournament anglers the opportu-
nity to harvest some bass. In addition, population models indi-
cate that reducing the length limit to 12 inches will have minimal
impact on bass populations. No changes were made as a result
of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated opposition to rules
requiring live wells to be drained. The department disagrees that
the comment is germane to harvest regulations for largemouth
bass or to other amendments to the statewide fishing proclama-
tion. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

The department received 47 comments supporting adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects
largemouth bass in Chambers, Galveston, Jefferson, Newton,
and Orange counties.

The department received 14 comments opposing adoption of the
portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects chan-
nel and blue catfish on Lake Tawakoni. Of those comments, 11
articulated a reason or rationale for opposing adoption. Those
comments, accompanied by the department's response to each,
follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there is too
much emphasis on the trophy fishery and that people should
be allowed to keep more of what they catch. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that the regulation is
intended to protect older, larger fish, which results in a healthier
and more sustainable population. No changes were made as a
result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated opposition to rules
requiring live wells to be drained. The department disagrees
that the comment is germane to harvest regulations for catfish or
to other amendments to the statewide fishing proclamation. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the same ob-
jective could be achieved by allowing angler to retain only five
fish of over 25 inches in length. The department disagrees with
the comment and responds that population modeling data indi-
cate that reducing the harvest of 20-30 inch blue catfish will pro-
vide the optimal long-term benefits for maintaining the population
at its current levels. No changes were made as a result of the
comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that flathead cat-
fish should be included because they are a desirable species
for hand-fishing. The department disagrees with the comment
and responds that flathead catfish are managed under sepa-
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rate, more restrictive regulations consisting of an 18-inch min-
imum length limit and a five-fish daily bag limit. Population stud-
ies done on hand-fishing activities at Lake Palestine in Texas
have not indicated any negative impacts to flathead catfish pop-
ulations. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the rule
should be similar to the rules for red drum (one "trophy" per year)
because large blue catfish will be overharvested under the rule
as proposed. The department disagrees with the comment and
responds that population modeling data indicate that reducing
harvest to one trophy fish per year is not necessary because
the bag limit as adopted is sufficient to sustain the population
structure in Lake Tawakoni. No changes were made as a result
of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the current
minimum length limit should be retained, but the take of fish 30
inches or more in length should be prohibited. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that population mod-
eling data indicate that the regulation as adopted will protect the
sustainability of the population. No changes were made as a re-
sult of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that only one fish
over 30 inches should be allowed to be retained, there should
be a boat limit of five fish of greater than twenty inches, and
that fish greater than thirty inches in length should be required
to be tagged. The department disagrees with the comment and
responds that population modeling data indicate that severe har-
vest reduction is not necessary and that the bag limit as adopted
is sufficient to sustain the population structure. No changes were
made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that only one fish
larger than 30 inches and one fish larger than 40 inches should
be allowed to be retained. The department disagrees with the
comment and responds that population modeling data indicate
that severe harvest reduction is not necessary and that the bag
limit as adopted is sufficient to sustain the population structure.
No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that only one fish
of greater than 30 inches in length should be allowed to be re-
tained. The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that population modeling data indicate that reducing har-
vest to this level is not necessary, and the bag limit being imple-
mented is sufficient to sustain the population structure in Lake
Tawakoni. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that by limiting
the harvest to 20-inch fish, the regulations would prevent an-
glers from retaining fish large enough to eat. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that a 20-inch blue
catfish on average weighs 3 pounds, which most anglers would
judge as more than adequate for harvest. No changes were
made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the regula-
tions seemed to be intended to aid fishing guides. The depart-
ment disagrees with the comment and responds that the rule
as adopted will protect the sustainability of the population and
benefit all anglers. No changes were made as a result of the
comment.

The department received 46 comments supporting adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects
channel and blue catfish on Lake Tawakoni.

The department received six comments opposing adoption of the
portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects black
drum. Of those comments, two articulated a reason or rationale
for opposing adoption. Those comments, accompanied by the
department's response to each, follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that management
goals are not needed. The department disagrees with the com-
ment and responds that the department has a statutory duty to
manage black drum, along with all other native fishes. As a re-
sult, management goals are necessary. No changes were made
as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that one black
drum over 30 inches should be allowed to be retained. The de-
partment disagrees with the comment and responds that estab-
lishing the minimum length limit for black drum is not the intent of
the rule. The rule is intended to restore a pre-existing regulation
that was inadvertently omitted during an administrative reorga-
nization of the rules. In addition, as noted elsewhere in this pre-
amble, the 30-inch maximum size limit was originally selected in
1990 and was in effect continuously since that time. This length
limit was selected to protect spawning adults, especially during
the spring spawning run when these fish are most accessible by
anglers. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

The department received 44 comments supporting adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects
black drum.

The department received nine comments opposing adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects
greater amberjack. Of those comments, three articulated a rea-
son or rationale for opposing adoption. Those comments, ac-
companied by the department's response to each, follow.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that negative
population impacts on amberjack are a result of commercial fish-
ing activities, not recreational. The department disagrees with
the comment and responds that the federal fisheries manage-
ment plan recommends the minimum length increase as a way
to replenish stocks and the department agrees, irrespective of
the cause of overfishing. No changes were made as a result of
the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that management
goals are not needed and that the money should instead be
spent protecting our borders. The department disagrees with
the comment and responds that the department has a statutory
duty to manage all native fishes and that border security is be-
yond the scope of the rules. No changes were made as a result
of the comment.

The department received 35 comments supporting adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §57.981 that affects
greater amberjack.

DIVISION 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
31 TAC §57.972, §57.973

The amendments are adopted under the authority of Parks and
Wildlife Code, §47.004 and §47.005, which authorize the com-
mission to adopt rules governing the issuance and use of resi-
dent and nonresident fishing guide licenses; Chapter 61, which
requires the commission to regulate the periods of time when
it is lawful to hunt, take, or possess aquatic animal life in this
state; the means, methods, and places in which it is lawful to
take, or possess aquatic animal life in this state; the species,
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quantity, age or size, and, to the extent possible, the sex of the
aquatic animal life authorized to be taken or possessed; and the
region, county, area, body of water, or portion of a county where
aquatic animal life may be taken or possessed; and §67.004,
which requires the commission to establish any limits on the tak-
ing, possession, propagation, transportation, importation, expor-
tation, sale, or offering for sale of nongame fish or wildlife that the
department considers necessary to manage the species.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 27, 2016.

TRD-201603718

Ann Bright

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 19, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775
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DIVISION 2. STATEWIDE RECREATIONAL
FISHING PROCLAMATION

31 TAC §57.981

The amendment is adopted under the authority of Parks and
Wildlife Code, Chapter 61, which requires the commission to
regulate the periods of time when it is lawful to take or possess
aquatic animal life in this state; the means, methods, and places
in which it is lawful to take or possess aquatic animal life in this
state; the species, quantity, age or size, and, to the extent pos-
sible, the sex of the aquatic animal life authorized to be taken
or possessed; and the region, county, area, body of water, or
portion of a county where aquatic animal life may be taken or
possessed.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 27, 2016.

TRD-201603719

Ann Bright

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 19, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775
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CHAPTER 65. WILDLIFE
SUBCHAPTER A. STATEWIDE HUNTING
PROCLAMATION

The Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission in duly noticed meet-
ing on March 24, 2016, adopted the repeal of §65.27 and amend-
ments to §§65.3, 65.7, 65.9, 65.10, 65.24, 65.25, and 65.42,
concerning the Statewide Hunting Proclamation. Section 65.42
is adopted with changes to the proposed text as published in

the February 19, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg
1205). The repeal of §65.27 and the amendments to §§65.3,
65.7,65.9, 65.10, 65.24, and 65.25 are adopted without changes
and will not be republished.

The change to §65.42, concerning Deer, replaces inaccurate
rule text concerning the implementation of the open season for
white-tailed deer in Winkler County. In the proposal preamble,
the department stated the intent to open both a general and spe-
cial archery-only season for white-tailed deer in Winkler County,
with the take of antlerless deer restricted to MLD Permit only
(to be consistent with the harvest regulations in adjacent coun-
ties); however, the published rule text indicated that no permit is
required to hunt antlerless deer unless MLD antlerless permits
have been issued for the tract of land, which isn't the case. The
change rectifies the oversight.

The repeal of §65.27, concerning Antlerless and Spike-buck
Deer Control Permits (control permits) is necessary because
the department is eliminating that permit program. Participation
has diminished to the point that fewer than five permits per year
are issued, which does not justify the administrative costs to
the department, especially considering that the department's
Managed Lands Deer Permit (MLDP) program (and its suc-
cessor program, scheduled to take effect September 1, 2017)
allows landowners and land managers to achieve the same
goals without having to purchase a permit. As a result of the
elimination of the program, the amendments to §65.7, concern-
ing Harvest Log; §65.10, concerning Possession of Wildlife
Resources; §65.24, concerning Permits; §65.25, concerning
Wildlife Management Plan (WMP); and §65.42, concerning
Deer are necessary to remove references to the control permit.

The amendment to §65.3, concerning Definitions, adds a new
definition for "unbranched antlered deer", defined as "a buck
deer having at least one unbranched antler." The new defini-
tion is necessary because the amendment to §65.42, concerning
Deer, among other things, eliminates the current late antlerless
and spike buck season and replaces it with a special late sea-
son during which harvest would be restricted to antlerless and
unbranched antlered deer.

The amendment to §65.9, concerning Open Seasons: Gen-
eral Rules, adds language to subsection (b) to clarify that the
provision applies only to white-tailed deer. The provisions of
§65.42(c) specify the permit requirements for the harvest of
antlerless mule deer during archery-only open seasons and
thus there is an unintentional conflict with the current provisions
of §65.9(b). The amendment would eliminate that conflict.

The amendment to §65.42, concerning Deer, consists of several
actions.

As mentioned previously in this preamble, the department has
eliminated the Late Antlerless and Spike Buck Season and re-
placed it with a Special Late Season, during which harvest is re-
stricted to antlerless and unbranched antlered deer. In another
rulemaking, the department adopted new §65.29 (41 TexReg
806) to create a Managed Lands Deer Program (MLDP) begin-
ning September 1, 2017. In order to provide greater manage-
ment flexibility to program participants, new §65.29 in certain sit-
uations allows for the harvest of unbranched antlered deer. The
department considers that in those counties where the "antler
restriction rule" (defining a legal buck as a buck with at least one
unbranched antler or an inside spread of 13 inches or greater
and limiting the harvest to no more than one buck with an inside
spread of 13 inches or greater) is in place, the new MLDP rule
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could cause confusion with respect to which buck deer are lawful
to take. Therefore, the department has chosen to create a single
standard (the unbranched antlered deer) to facilitate compliance
and enforcement.

The amendment to §65.42 also expands the number of "doe
days" (time periods when antlerless deer may be taken without
a permit in parts of the state where antlerless harvest regula-
tions are conservative) in 23 counties. The current deer harvest
regulations in Bell (east of IH35), Burleson, Ellis, Falls, Free-
stone, Kaufman, Limestone, Milam, Navarro, and Williamson
(east of IH35) counties have allowed the harvest of antlerless
deer only by permit. Deer population trends in this area have ex-
perienced a 23% population increase during the past six years.
The doe/buck ratio of 3.5 is considered relatively high and likely
extends both the breeding and fawning seasons, thus resulting
in poor recruitment (33-42%). The implementation of antler-re-
striction regulations in these counties has helped improve the
adult sex ratio, but current antlerless deer harvest regulations
are a barrier to successful management of the increasing deer
population. The fifteen-year average hunter success in the Post
Oak region is 45.2% and trends suggest an increasing hunter
success, but antlerless harvest comprises only 34.5% of total
harvest (15-year avg.). Increased doe harvest during the general
season is needed to reduce the impact of the deer herd upon the
habitat, improve the sex ratio, shorten the breeding season, and
improve fawning success. Therefore, the department is imple-
menting four "doe days" in these counties, during which hunters
may harvest antlerless deer without a permit. The amendment
will also have the additional benefit of increasing hunting oppor-
tunity.

The amendment also expands "doe days" in Anderson, Bra-
zos, Camp, Gregg, Grimes, Henderson, Lamar, Leon, Madison,
Morris, Red River, Robertson, and Upshur counties, from the
current four days to 16 days. These counties span the east-
ern edge of the Post Oak Savannah and the western edge of
the Pineywoods ecoregions. Deer populations in this group of
counties appear to be on an increasing trend (based on survey
results), and data indicate that populations are currently at or
slightly above desired densities. At current population and har-
vest levels, habitat quality and quantity will be degraded, affect-
ing all species on the landscape. The doe/buck ratio is skewed
towards does (6.3:1), and the reduced number of bucks cre-
ates increased hunting pressure on the buck segment of the
deer herd. Buck harvest in these counties appears to have in-
creased slightly, while antlerless deer harvest has remained sta-
ble, based on age/weight/antler data collection efforts. Most of
these counties are experiencing suboptimal antlerless harvest,
which is indicated by an increasing trend in the age structure
of the doe population. Antlerless harvest remains well below
50% of the total harvest, which is undesirable. Overall, the deer
herd in these counties appears to be above carrying capacity
and not responding satisfactorily to the current number of "doe
days." The expansion from four "doe days" to 16 "doe days" is ex-
pected to provide additional hunting opportunity while reducing
the number of deer to benefit the deer population and the native
habitat. The additional doe harvest may also alleviate some of
the harvest pressure on the buck segment of the herd and result
in a more balanced sex ratio, ultimately increasing the number
of bucks in the population.

The department has received requests to open a white-tailed
deer season in several counties in the western panhandle. This
area of the state encompasses the western edge of the white-
tailed deer range in Texas. The department has confirmed that

white-tailed deer populations have expanded westward towards
the New Mexico border and continued westward expansion is ex-
pected. Therefore, the amendment to §65.42 implements both
general and special archery-only seasons for white-tailed deer
in Andrews, Bailey, Castro, Cochran, Gaines, Hale, Hockley,
Lamb, Lubbock, Lynn, Parmer, Terry and Yoakum counties, with
a bag limit of three deer (no more than one buck and no more
than two antlerless), which is identical to adjoining/nearby coun-
ties that currently have a season. The amendment also im-
plements both a general and special archery-only season for
white-tailed deer in Winkler County, with a bag limit of three deer
(no more than one buck and no more than two antlerless, with
the take of antlerless deer restricted to MLD Permit only). The
new season is identical to adjoining/nearby counties that cur-
rently have a season. The new seasons are not expected to
result in negative population impacts but will provide additional
hunting opportunity where white-tailed deer populations are ex-
panding.

The amendment to §65.42 also implements a late muzzleloader-
only season in Anderson, Bell (East of IH 35), Brazos, Burleson,
Comal (East of IH 35), Delta, Ellis, Fannin, Falls, Franklin, Free-
stone, Grimes, Hays (East of IH 35), Henderson, Hopkins, Hunt,
Kaufman, Lamar, Leon, Limestone, Madison, Milam, Navarro,
Rains, Red River, Robertson, Smith, Titus, Travis (East of IH 35),
Van Zandt, Williamson (East of IH 35), and Wood counties. The
department has determined that additional conservative harvest
in these counties will provide increased hunting opportunity while
potentially helping achieve antlerless deer harvest goals, which
is necessary to stabilize deer populations and reduce adverse
habitat impacts.

The department has received several requests from the U.S.
Forest Service (USFS) to allow youth on USFS lands to harvest
antlerless deer without a permit during youth-only seasons. The
department does not believe the resulting harvest would exert
any negative impacts on deer populations in any county where
USFS lands are located and would have the benefit of providing
additional youth hunting opportunity. Therefore, the amendment
to §65.42 authorizes the take of antlerless deer by youth without
a permit during youth-only seasons. Additionally, the amend-
ment clarifies that the harvest of deer during youth seasons is
restricted to persons 16 years of age and younger, except on
properties where Level 2 or Level 3 MLDPs have been issued.
Under the provisions of §65.26 of this subchapter, concerning
Managed Lands Deer Permits, harvest of deer on Level 2 and
Level 3 MLDP properties is authorized during the period of valid-
ity of the permits, not by the season and bag limit established for
counties in §65.42; however, harvest on Level 1 MLDP proper-
ties is lawful during any open season. The department seeks to
clarify that Level 1 MLDPs cannot be used by adults to harvest
deer during the youth-only season.

The department received 14 comments opposing adoption
of the proposed amendments that collectively eliminate the
antlerless and spike buck deer control permit. None of the com-
menters provided a reason or rationale for opposing adoption.
No changes were made as a result of the comments.

The department received 302 comments supporting adoption of
the proposed amendments that collectively eliminate the antler-
less and spike buck deer control permit.

The department received 10 comments opposing adoption of the
proposed amendments to §65.3 and §65.42, concerning Defini-
tions, that adds a new definition for "unbranched antlered deer",
defined as "a buck deer having at least one unbranched antler"
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and creates a special late season for the take of antlerless and
unbranched antlered deer. Of the 10 comments, three offered
a reason or rationale for opposing adoption. Those comments,
accompanied by the department's response to each, follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that antlerless
deer should not be harvested after November in order to avoid
the harvest of bred does. The department disagrees with the
comment and responds that the primary goal of regulations gov-
erning the harvest of antlerless deer is to prevent depletion of
the resource. The current harvest regulations for antlerless deer
will not result in any negative impacts on the reproductive po-
tential in any RMU ("resource management unit," a subset of an
ecological area with similar hunting pressure, deer harvest, deer
density, and deer production estimates). No changes were made
as a result of the comment.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that harvest reg-
ulations should protect spikes in order to allow them to become
branch-antlered deer. The department disagrees with the com-
ments and responds that the special late season is implemented
in those RMUs where biological data indicated populations that
can withstand additional harvest of deer and is intended to give
landowners and wildlife managers additional opportunity to pro-
tect habitat quality and quantity. No changes were made as a
result of the comments.

The department received 386 comments supporting adoption
of the proposed amendments to §65.3 and §65.42, that adds
a new definition for "unbranched antlered deer", defined as "a
buck deer having at least one unbranched antler" and creates
a special late season for the take of antlerless and unbranched
antlered deer.

The department received no comments supporting or opposing
adoption of the proposed amendment to §65.9 that clarified pro-
visions governing the harvest of antlerless deer during archery
seasons.

The department received 47 comments opposing adoption of the
portion of the proposed amendment to §65.42 that expanded
"doe days" in 23 counties or portion of counties. Of the 47 com-
ments, 24 offered a reason or rationale for opposing adoption.
Those comments, accompanied by the department's response
to each, follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that "doe days"
should be implemented in Kaufman County. The department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that Kaufman County is
characterized by increasing urbanization and habitat fragmenta-
tion, small deer populations, small acreages, and relatively high
hunting pressure, which dictates that the department implement
the most restrictive harvest regime for does (harvest by permit
only) in order to ensure that populations are able to sustain them-
selves. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that there are
too many unnecessary regulations. The department disagrees
with the comment and responds that the rule is not unnecessary
because it represents the discharge of the department's statutory
duty to manage and conserve wildlife resources. No changes
were made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that "doe days"
should be eliminated and the department should instead estab-
lish a bag limit for does. The department disagrees with the
comment and notes that there is an overall bag limit on deer,
so unlimited take of doe deer is not allowed. The department

also responds that eliminating "doe days" would probably be
widely unpopular and is not biologically necessary. The under-
lying concept of "doe days" is the fair distribution of hunting op-
portunity while simultaneously reducing the possibility of exces-
sive harvest and subsequent negative population impacts. "Doe
days" are implemented in RMUs where habitat quality/availabil-
ity, tract sizes, and hunting pressure data are predictors of po-
tential undesirable harvest of antlerless deer under the tradi-
tional "either-sex" hunting seasons. Properties under depart-
ment management plans receive a specific number of antlerless
permits representing a biologically sustainable harvest. The lim-
ited harvest of antlerless deer during specified "doe days" (i.e.,
without a permit requirement) allows landowners and hunters
who either don't want to participate in department management
programs or have properties too small to justify permit issuance
the opportunity to harvest antlerless deer without permits during
a limited time period. The department believes that under this
harvest structure, the antlerless segment of the population re-
ceives adequate protection and hunting opportunity is distributed
as equitably as possible. An antlerless bag limit in the absence
of doe days would have to take the form of a permit program in
which owners/lessees of smaller tracts and tracts consisting of
suboptimal habitat would receive permits infrequently, if at all.
Under the current harvest structure, opportunity is more equi-
tably distributed. No changes were made as a result of the com-
ment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that "doe days"
should not be increased in Red River or Lamar counties because
the doe population needs to be conserved. The department dis-
agrees that the rule as adopted will result in negative impacts to
doe populations in Red River or Lamar counties and responds
that the deer herd in these counties appears to be above carry-
ing capacity and antlerless harvest remains well below 50% of
the total harvest, which is undesirable. The expansion from four
"doe days" to 16 "doe days" is expected to provide additional
hunting and management opportunity while improving habitat
quality. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there should
be at least 30 "doe days" in Lamar County because the doe pop-
ulation is too large. The department disagrees with the comment
and responds that although there may be localized instances of
overabundance of antlerless deer in Lamar County, in general
there is a need to impose somewhat conservative harvest strat-
egy in order to prevent overharvest of the doe segment of the
population. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated the season in
Titus County should be shortened because deer numbers are
down; similarly, three commenters opposed adoption and stated
that "doe days" should not be increased in Leon County because
the deer population is not increasing, one commenter opposed
adoption and stated that there are not enough deer in Morris
County to sustain additional "does days", and four commenters
opposed adoption and stated that there is a lack of deer in Milam
County. The department disagrees with the comments and re-
sponds, as stated in the proposal preamble, that the biological
parametrics indicate that additional antlerless harvest is not only
sustainable in these counties, but desirable. No changes were
made as a result of the comments.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the increase
in "doe days" will kill off the deer population. The department
disagrees with the comments and responds that as stated in the
proposal preamble, the biological data from the affected RMUs
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indicate that population levels have reached a point that an in-
crease in antlerless harvest is necessary in order to prevent habi-
tat degradation. No changes were made as a result of the com-
ment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that more does
should be harvested. The department agrees with the comment.
No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that "doe days"
should be implemented in Gonzales County. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that the rules as pro-
posed were intended to address deer populations in specific
RMUs on the basis of biological trend data. Trend data for Gon-
zales County indicates that the current antlerless harvest regula-
tion (harvest by permit only) should be maintained. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

The department received several comments opposing adoption
because specific counties in East Texas were not selected for
additional "doe days." Two commenters opposed adoption and
stated that "doe days" should be increased in Wood County;
one commenter opposed adoption and stated that "doe days"
should be increased in Van Zandt County; one commenter op-
posed adoption and stated that "doe days" should be increased
in Fannin County; and one commenter opposed adoption and
stated that additional "doe days" should be implemented in Mar-
ion County. The department disagrees with the comments and
responds that biological data indicate that the current number
of "doe days" established in the respective counties are provid-
ing effective management of the antlerless segment of the pop-
ulation at the current time and do not need to be altered. No
changes were made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that deer census
data is inaccurate due to double-counting. The department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that although statisti-
cal analysis of a mobile population of inference is inherently im-
precise, various indices in addition to census data (locker plant
visits, harvest logs, browse surveys, etc.), gathered systemati-
cally over time will produce accurate population trend data. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there should
be 10 "doe days" instead of 16. In a similar vein, one commenter
opposed adoption and stated that all counties should have seven
"doe days." The department disagrees with the comments and
responds that in an effort to systematize harvest regulations to
make analysis more effective and meaningful, the department
several years ago implemented a three-tiered system of "doe
days" (4 days, 16 days, and from opening day until the Sunday
following Thanksgiving). This system basically provides for a
high, medium, and low control of antlerless harvest. The depart-
ment believes that either seven or 10 "doe days" would provide
very little in the way of additional management opportunity, as
these values fall between the "high" and "medium" values for
antlerless harvest control, which isn't necessary to avoid nega-
tive population impacts and isn't justifiable in terms of the addi-
tional regulatory complexity. No changes were made as a result
of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that allowing four
does to be harvested during the "doe days" in Limestone County
will damage the population. The department agrees with the
comment and responds that the bag limit for antlerless deer in
Limestone County is two. No changes were made as a result of
the comment.

The department received 404 comments supporting adoption of
the proposed amendment to §65.42 that expanded "doe days"
in 23 counties or portions of counties.

The department received 18 comments opposing adoption of the
proposed amendment to §65.42 that implements both general
and special archery-only seasons for white-tailed deer in An-
drews, Bailey, Castro, Cochran, Gaines, Hale, Hockley, Lamb,
Lubbock, Parmer, Terry, Winkler, and Yoakum counties. Of the
15 comments, three offered a reason or rationale for opposing
adoption. Those comments, accompanied by the department's
response to each, follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that Grayson
County should be included. The department disagrees with the
comment and responds that the intent of the rule is to address
deer population expansion in the Panhandle. Grayson County
is not in the Panhandle. No changes were made as a result of
the comment.

The department received 385 comments supporting adoption of
the proposed amendment to §65.42 that implements both gen-
eral and special archery-only seasons for white-tailed deer in An-
drews, Bailey, Castro, Cochran, Gaines, Hale, Hockley, Lamb,
Lubbock, Parmer, Terry, and Yoakum counties.

The department received 108 comments opposing adoption of
the proposed amendment to §65.42 that implements both gen-
eral and special archery-only seasons for white-tailed deer in
Lynn County. Of the 108 comments (105 of which were via pe-
tition), all offered a reason or rationale for opposing adoption.
Those comments, accompanied by the department's response
to each, follow.

One-hundred seven commenters opposed adoption and stated
that the season would allow hunters in the field during the mule
deer rut, creating the possibility of mule deer being harvested
by accident. The department disagrees with the comment and
responds that there are many counties in Texas that have con-
current seasons for white-tail and mule deer and that misidenti-
fication of species does not appear to be a common occurrence.
No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One-hundred six commenters opposed adoption and stated that
there is no habitat for white-tailed deer in the western two-thirds
of Lynn County and that poaching will increase if a season is
opened. The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that because habitat on the edge of the white-tailed deer
range in the Panhandle is ephemeral, the deer population re-
sponds by expanding and contracting in response to the pres-
ence or absence of habitat; thus, harvest has little to no neg-
ative impacts on the population. Additionally, the department
responds that there is no correlation between poaching and the
presence or absence of a hunting season. No changes were
made as a result of the comment.

One-hundred five commenters opposed adoption and stated that
game wardens will be spread too thin. The department under-
stands the commenters to be raising concerns (much like the
comments described above) that the opening of a white-tailed
deer season in Lynn County will result in the need for additional
game wardens to address possible poaching. As noted above,
there is no correlation between poaching and the presence or
absence of a hunting season. However, the department is com-
mitted to ensuring the availability of an appropriate number of
game wardens and the ability of game wardens to enforce de-
partment regulations. No changes were made as a result of the
comments.
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The department received 385 comments supporting adoption of
the proposed amendment to §65.42 that implements both gen-
eral and special archery-only seasons for white-tailed deer in
Lynn County.

The department received 18 comments opposing adoption of
the proposed amendment to §65.42 that allows youth on USFS
lands to harvest antlerless deer without a permit during youth-
only seasons and clarifies rules affecting MLDP use during the
youth seasons. Of those comments, six provided a reason or ra-
tionale for opposing adoption. Those comments, accompanied
by the department's response to each, follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that youth-only
seasons are discriminatory and should be eliminated. The de-
partment disagrees with the comments and responds that the
rules as adopted do not violate any provision of the state or fed-
eral constitutions with respect to discrimination against any class
of individuals. No changes were made as a result of the com-
ments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that allowing
youth to hunt without a permit might lead them to believe that
permits are never required and that there could be confusion
with respect to enforcement. The department disagrees with
the comment and responds that in addition to the duty of all
hunters to know the rules, youth taking advantage of hunting
opportunity that is specifically restricted to persons 17 years
of age or younger likely know that eventually they will be too
old to take advantage of that opportunity. The department also
is confident that enforcement personnel are able to enforce
youth-only seasons. No changes were made as a result of the
comment.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the youth
seasons are abused by adults. The department disagrees with
the comment and responds that adult abuse of youth seasons is
not believed to be a common occurrence and that if it is detected,
the persons responsible will be cited for violations. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there should
be an antlerless-only season for disabled hunters. The depart-
ment disagrees with the comment and responds that youth sea-
sons are intended to increase youth interest in hunting and to
offer adults the opportunity to mentor youth. No changes were
made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that no white-
tailed deer should be taken without a permit/tag. The depart-
ment disagrees with the comment and responds that the rule as
adopted does not waive any tagging requirements, only permit
requirements in those counties in which the antlerless harvest is
controlled by means of permits. The antlerless harvest caused
by harvest during the youth season is biologically insignificant
and the elimination of permit requirements is intended to make it
easier for youth to become engaged with hunting. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

The department received 315 comments supporting adoption of
the proposed amendment to §65.42 that allows youth on USFS
lands to harvest antlerless deer without a permit during youth-
only seasons and clarifies rules affecting MLDP use during the
youth seasons.

The department received 28 comments opposing adoption of the
portion of the proposed amendment to §65.42 that implements a
muzzleloader season in 32 additional counties. Of the 28 com-

ments, 10 offered a reason or rationale for opposing adoption.
Those comments, accompanied by the department's response
to each, follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that a muz-
Zleloader season is not necessary to manage the deer herd.
The department agrees with the comment and responds that
while the general season presents the greatest opportunity for
management, the muzzleloader season is provided as a method
of providing hunter opportunity with a very low impact to the
resource, although it does provide an additional opportunity for
landowners and wildlife managers to meet management goals
that might not have been completely accomplished during the
general season. No changes were made as a result of the
comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that since muz-
Zleloaders are legal during the general season, there is no rea-
son for the general season to be reduced. The department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that the muzzleloader
season is in addition to the general season. In other words, the
general season is not reduced to accommodate a muzzleloader
season. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that either the
general season should be extended or a special late firearm
season should be added. The department disagrees with the
comment and responds that to extend the general season, bag
limits would have to be reduced in order to prevent overharvest.
Additionally, the muzzleloader season is a special late firearm
season. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the season
should be modified to allow handguns and shotguns. The de-
partment disagrees with the comment and responds that the late
muzzleloader season is intended to provide primitive firearms
enthusiasts with a limited opportunity to hunt without competi-
tion from modern firearms. No changes were made as a result
of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the season
should be restricted to antique weapons because modern muz-
Zleloaders are the same thing as a single-shot rifle. The depart-
ment disagrees with the comment and responds that the current
restriction (to firearms loaded only through the muzzle) is suf-
ficient in preserving the essential distinction between primitive
firearms and firearms that employ cartridges. No changes were
made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the muz-
Zleloader season should be restricted to open-sights, caplock or
flintlock ignition, patched round ball or full-caliber conical ball,
and loose powder, and should be implemented in McLennan
County. The department disagrees with the comment and
responds that the current restriction (to firearms loaded only
through the muzzle) is sufficient to preserve the essential
distinction between primitive firearms and firearms that employ
cartridges, and that additional regulatory complexity would be
unnecessary and unwelcome. No changes were made as a
result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there should
be no weapons restrictions during late seasons. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that in some RMUs
there could be negative population impacts from overharvest if
there are no weapons restrictions. No changes were made as a
result of the comment.
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One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the season
should be extended into mid-January. The department agrees
with the comment and responds that the late muzzleloader sea-
son as adopted begins in mid-January. No changes were made
as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there should
be a late archery season for bucks only. The department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that there is already a
special archery-only open season that is twice as long as the
muzzleloader season. No changes were made as a result of the
comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that instead of
a late muzzleloader season, the general season should be
lengthened. The department disagrees with the comment and
responds that in some RMUs there could be negative population
impacts from overharvest if the general season were to be
extended, and that to counterbalance that the bag limits would
have to be reduced during the general season.

The department received 331 comments supporting adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §65.42 that imple-
ments a muzzleloader in 32 additional counties.

DIVISION 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
31 TAC §§65.3, 65.7, 65.9, 65.10, 65.24, 65.25

The amendments are adopted under the authority of Parks and
Wildlife Code, Chapter 42, which allows the department to issue
tags for deer during each year or season; and Chapter 61, which
requires the commission to regulate the periods of time when it
is lawful to hunt, take, or possess game animals, game birds, or
aquatic animal life in this state; the means, methods, and places
in which itis lawful to hunt, take, or possess game animals, game
birds, or aquatic animal life in this state; the species, quantity,
age or size, and, to the extent possible, the sex of the game ani-
mals, game birds, or aquatic animal life authorized to be hunted,
taken, or possessed; and the region, county, area, body of wa-
ter, or portion of a county where game animals, game birds, or
aquatic animal life may be hunted, taken, or possessed.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 27, 2016.

TRD-201603721

Ann Bright

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 19, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775

¢ ¢ ¢
31 TAC §65.27

The repeal is adopted under the authority of Parks and Wildlife
Code, Chapter 42, which allows the department to issue tags for
animals during each year or season; and Chapter 61, which re-
quires the commission to regulate the periods of time when it is
lawful to hunt, take, or possess game animals, game birds, or
aquatic animal life in this state; the means, methods, and places
in which itis lawful to hunt, take, or possess game animals, game
birds, or aquatic animal life in this state; the species, quantity,

age or size, and, to the extent possible, the sex of the game ani-
mals, game birds, or aquatic animal life authorized to be hunted,
taken, or possessed; and the region, county, area, body of wa-
ter, or portion of a county where game animals, game birds, or
aquatic animal life may be hunted, taken, or possessed.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 27, 2016.

TRD-201603720

Ann Bright

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 19, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 2. OPEN SEASONS AND BAG
LIMITS
31 TAC §65.42

The amendment is adopted under the authority of Parks and
Wildlife Code, Chapter 42, which allows the department to issue
tags for deer during each year or season; and Chapter 61, which
requires the commission to regulate the periods of time when it
is lawful to hunt, take, or possess game animals, game birds, or
aquatic animal life in this state; the means, methods, and places
in which it is lawful to hunt, take, or possess game animals, game
birds, or aquatic animal life in this state; the species, quantity,
age or size, and, to the extent possible, the sex of the game ani-
mals, game birds, or aquatic animal life authorized to be hunted,
taken, or possessed; and the region, county, area, body of wa-
ter, or portion of a county where game animals, game birds, or
aquatic animal life may be hunted, taken, or possessed.

$65.42.  Deer.

(a) No person may exceed the applicable county bag limit or
the annual bag limit of five white-tailed deer (no more than three bucks)
and two mule deer (no more than one buck), except as provided by:

(1) §65.26 of this title (relating to Managed Lands Deer
Permits (MLDP)--White-tailed Deer);

(2) §65.34 of this title (relating to Managed Lands Deer
Permits (MLDP)--Mule Deer);

(3) §65.28 of this title (relating to Landowner Assisted
Management Permits (LAMPS));

(4) an antlerless mule deer permit issued under §65.32 of
this title (relating to Antlerless Mule Deer Permits);

(5) special permits under the provisions of Subchapter H of
this chapter (relating to Public Lands Proclamation); or

(6) special antlerless permit issued by the U.S. Forest Ser-
vice (USFS) for use on USFS lands that are part of the department's
public hunting program.

(b) White-tailed deer. The open seasons, annual bag limits,
and special provisions for white-tailed deer shall be as follows. If Man-
aged Lands Deer Permits (MLDPs) have been issued for a tract of land
in any county, they must be attached to all deer harvested on the tract of
land, regardless of season. An MLDP buck permit may not be used to
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harvest or tag an antlerless deer. An MLDP antlerless permit may not
be used to tag a buck deer. The counties and parts of counties listed in
paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection section are in the South Zone.
All other counties and parts of counties listed in this subsection are in
the North Zone.

(1) In Aransas, Bee, Brooks, Calhoun, Cameron, Dimmit,
Duval, Frio, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kinney (south of
U.S. Highway 90), Kleberg, LaSalle, Live Oak, Maverick, McMullen,
Medina (south of U.S. Highway 90), Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio,
Starr, Uvalde (south of U.S. Highway 90), Val Verde (that southeastern
portion located both south of U.S. Highway 90 and east of Spur 239),
Webb, Willacy, Zapata, and Zavala counties, there is a general open
season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the third Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: five deer, no more than three bucks.

(C) Special late general season. In the counties listed
in this paragraph there is a special late general season for the take of
antlerless and unbranched antlered deer only. Open season: 14 con-
secutive days starting the first Monday following the third Sunday in
January.

(D) No permit is required to hunt antlerless deer unless
MLDP antlerless permits have been issued for the tract of land.

(2) In Atascosa County there is a general open season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the third Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: five deer, no more than two bucks.

(C) Special late general season. In the counties listed
in this paragraph there is a special late general season for the take of
antlerless and unbranched antlered deer only. Open season: 14 con-
secutive days starting the first Monday following the third Sunday in
January.

(D) No permit is required to hunt antlerless deer unless
MLDP antlerless permits have been issued for the tract of land.

(3) In Bandera, Baylor, Bexar, Blanco, Burnet, Callahan,
Coke, Coleman, Comal (west of Interstate 35), Concho, Crockett, Ed-
wards, Gillespie, Glasscock, Haskell, Hays (west of Interstate 35),
Howard, Irion, Jones, Kendall, Kerr, Kimble, Kinney (north of U.S.
Highway 90), Knox, Llano, Mason, McCulloch, Medina (north of U.S.
Highway 90), Menard, Mitchell, Nolan, Pecos, Real, Reagan, Run-
nels, San Saba, Schleicher, Shackelford, Sterling, Sutton, Taylor, Ter-
rell, Throckmorton, Tom Green, Travis (west of Interstate 35), Upton,
Uvalde (north of U.S. Highway 90), Val Verde (north of U.S. Highway
90; and that portion located both south of U.S. 90 and west of Spur
239), and Wilbarger counties, there is a general open season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the first Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: five deer, no more than two bucks.

(C) Special late general season. In the counties listed
in this paragraph there is a special late general season for the take of
antlerless and unbranched antlered deer only. Open season: 14 con-
secutive days starting the first Monday following the first Sunday in
January.

(D) No permit is required to hunt antlerless deer unless
MLDP antlerless permits have been issued for the tract of land.

(4) In Archer, Bell (west of [H 35), Bosque, Brown, Clay,
Coryell, Hamilton, Hill, Jack, Lampasas, McLennan, Mills, Palo Pinto,
Somervell, Stephens, Wichita, Williamson (west of [H 35) and Young
counties, there is a general open season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the first Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: five deer, no more than two bucks.

(C) Special late general season. In the counties listed
in this paragraph there is a special late general season for the take of
antlerless and unbranched antlered deer only. Open season: 14 con-
secutive days starting the first Monday following the first Sunday in
January.

(D) Special provisions.

(i) Buck deer. The provisions of this clause do not
apply on properties for which Level 2 or Level 3 MLDPs have been
issued. In the counties listed in this paragraph, a legal buck is a buck
deer having:

(1) at least one unbranched antler; or

(II) an inside spread of 13 inches or greater. The
inside spread requirement does not apply to any buck that has an un-
branched antler. Not more than one buck with an inside spread of 13
inches or greater may be taken.

(i) Antlerless deer. No permit is required to hunt
antlerless deer unless MLDP antlerless permits have been issued for
the tract of land.

(5) In Armstrong, Borden, Briscoe, Carson, Childress,
Collingsworth, Cottle, Crosby, Dickens, Donley, Fisher, Floyd, Foard,
Garza, Gray, Hall, Hardeman, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Kent, King,
Lipscomb, Motley, Ochiltree, Roberts, Scurry, Stonewall, and Wheeler
counties, there is a general open season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the first Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: five deer, no more than one buck.

(C) Special late general season. In the counties listed
in this paragraph there is a special late general season for the take of
antlerless and unbranched antlered deer only. Open season: 14 con-
secutive days starting the first Monday following the first Sunday in
January.

(D) No permit is required to hunt antlerless deer unless
MLDP antlerless permits have been issued for the tract of land.

(6) In Brewster, Culberson, Jeff Davis, Presidio, and
Reeves counties, there is a general open season.

(A) Open season: from first Saturday in November
through the first Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: four deer, no more than two bucks.

(C) No permit is required to hunt antlerless deer unless
MLDP antlerless permits have been issued for the tract of land.

(7) In Comanche, Cooke, Denton, Eastland, Erath, Hood,
Johnson, Montague, Parker, Tarrant, and Wise counties, there is a gen-
eral open season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the first Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: four deer, no more than two bucks and
no more than two antlerless.
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(C) Special late general season. In the counties listed
in this paragraph there is a special late general season for the take of
antlerless and unbranched antlered deer only. Open season: 14 con-
secutive days starting the first Monday following the first Sunday in
January.

(D) Special provisions.

(i) Buck deer. The provisions of this clause do not
apply on properties for which Level 2 or Level 3 MLDPs have been
issued. In the counties listed in this paragraph, a legal buck is a buck
deer having:

(I) atleast one unbranched antler; or

(1I) an inside spread of 13 inches or greater. The
inside spread requirement does not apply to any buck that has an un-
branched antler. Not more than one buck with an inside spread of 13
inches or greater may be taken.

(ii) Antlerless deer.

(I) On USFS, Corps of Engineers, and river au-
thority lands in the counties listed in this paragraph, the take of antler-
less deer shall be by permit only, except on USFS lands in Montague
and Wise counties, where antlerless deer may be taken without per-
mits from Thanksgiving Day through the Sunday immediately follow-
ing Thanksgiving Day.

(1) On all tracts of land other than those listed in
subclause (I) of this clause, no permit is required to hunt antlerless deer
unless MLDP antlerless permits have been issued for the tract of land.

(8) In Angelina, Brazoria, Chambers, Cherokee, Fort
Bend, Galveston, Goliad (south of U.S. Highway 59), Hardin, Harris,
Houston, Jackson (south if U.S. Highway 59), Jasper, Jefferson,
Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Polk, San Jacinto,
Trinity, Tyler, Victoria (south of U.S. Highway 59), Walker, and
Wharton (south of U.S. Highway 59) counties, there is a general open
season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the first Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: Four deer, no more than two bucks and
no more than two antlerless.

(C) Special provisions.

(i) Buck deer. The provisions of this clause do not
apply on properties for which Level 2 or Level 3 MLDPs have been
issued. In the counties listed in this paragraph, a legal buck is a buck
having:

(1) at least one unbranched antler; or

(II) an inside spread of 13 inches or greater. The
inside spread requirement does not apply to any buck that has an un-
branched antler. Not more than one buck with an inside spread of 13
inches or greater may be taken.

(i) Antlerless deer. If permits have been issued for
the harvest of antlerless deer, they must be attached to all antlerless
deer harvested on the tract of land.

(I) On USFS, Corps of Engineers, and river au-
thority lands in the counties listed in this paragraph, the take of antler-
less deer shall be by permit only.

(II) On all other tracts of land in the counties
listed in this paragraph, antlerless deer may be taken without permits
from opening day through the Sunday immediately following Thanks-
giving Day. From the Monday immediately following Thanksgiving

Day until the end of the season, antlerless deer may be taken by
antlerless MLD permit or LAMPS permit only.

(1II)  On tracts of land for which LAMPS permits
have been issued, no LAMPS permit is required for the harvest of
antlerless deer during the archery-only or muzzleloader-only open sea-
son.

(9) In Anderson, Bowie, Brazos, Camp, Cass, Gregg,
Grimes, Harrison, Henderson, Lamar, Leon, Madison, Marion, Morris,
Nacogdoches, Panola, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Sabine, San Au-
gustine, Shelby, and Upshur counties, there is a general open season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the first Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: four deer, no more than two bucks and
no more two antlerless.

(C) Special provisions.

(i) Buck deer. The provisions of this clause do not
apply on properties for which Level 2 or Level 3 MLDPs have been
issued. In the counties listed in this paragraph, a legal buck is a buck
deer having:

(I) at least one unbranched antler; or

(II) aninside spread of 13 inches or greater. The
inside spread requirement does not apply to any buck that has an un-
branched antler. Not more than one buck with an inside spread of 13
inches or greater may be taken.

(i) Antlerless deer. If permits have been issued for
the harvest of antlerless deer, they must be attached to all antlerless
deer harvested on the tract of land.

(I) On USFS, Corps of Engineers, and river au-
thority lands in the counties listed in this paragraph, the take of antler-
less deer shall be by permit only.

(1) On all other tracts of land in the counties
listed in this paragraph, antlerless deer may be taken without permits
during the first 16 days of the season. After the first 16 days of the
season, antlerless deer may be taken by antlerless MLD permit or
LAMPS permit only.

(1II)  On tracts of land for which LAMPS permits
have been issued, no LAMPS permit is required for the harvest of
antlerless deer during the archery-only or muzzleloader-only open sea-
son.

(10) In Bell (East of IH 35), Burleson, Delta, Ellis, Falls,
Fannin, Franklin, Freestone, Hopkins, Hunt, Kauffman, Limestone,
Milam, Navarro Rains, Smith, Titus, Van Zandt, Williamson (East of
IH 35), and Wood counties, there is a general open season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the first Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: four deer, no more than two antlerless
and no more than two bucks.
(C) Special provisions.

(i) Buck deer. The provisions of this clause do not
apply on properties for which Level 2 or Level 3 MLDPs have been
issued. In the counties listed in this paragraph, a legal buck is a buck
deer having:

(1) at least one unbranched antler; or

(II) an inside spread of 13 inches or greater. The
inside spread requirement does not apply to any buck that has an un-
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branched antler. Not more than one buck with an inside spread of 13
inches or greater may be taken.

(i) Antlerless deer. If permits have been issued for
the harvest of antlerless deer, they must be attached to all antlerless
deer harvested on the tract of land.

(I) On USFS, Corps of Engineers, and river au-
thority lands in the counties listed in this paragraph, the take of antler-
less deer shall be by permit only, except in Fannin County.

(II) On all other tracts of land in the counties
listed in this paragraph, antlerless deer may be taken without permits
from Thanksgiving Day through the Sunday immediately following
Thanksgiving Day. At all other times, antlerless deer may be taken by
antlerless MLD permit or LAMPS permit only.

(1II)  On tracts of land for which LAMPS permits
have been issued, no LAMPS permit is required for the harvest of
antlerless deer during the archery-only or muzzleloader-only open sea-
son.

(11) In Collin, Dallas, Grayson, and Rockwall counties
there is a general open season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the first Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: four deer, no more than two antlerless
and no more than two bucks.

(C) Special provisions. Lawful means are restricted to
lawful archery equipment and crossbows only, including MLDP prop-
erties.

(i) Buck deer. The provisions of this clause do not
apply on properties for which Level 2 or Level 3 MLDPs have been
issued. In the counties listed in this paragraph, a legal buck is a buck
deer having:

() at least one unbranched antler; or

(II) aninside spread of 13 inches or greater. The
inside spread requirement does not apply to any buck that has an un-
branched antler. Not more than one buck with an inside spread of 13
inches or greater may be taken.

(i) Antlerless deer. No permit is required to hunt
antlerless deer unless MLD antlerless permits have been issued for the
tract of land.

(12) In Austin, Bastrop, Caldwell, Colorado, Comal (east
of IH 35), De Witt, Fayette, Goliad (north of U.S. Highway 59), Gonza-
les, Guadalupe, Hays (east of IH 35), Jackson (north of U.S. Highway
59), Karnes, Lavaca, Lee, Travis (east of IH 35), Victoria (north of
U.S. Highway 59), Waller, Washington, Wharton (north of U.S. High-
way 59), and Wilson counties, there is a general open season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the first Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: four deer, no more than two antlerless
and no more than two bucks.
(C) Special provisions.

(i) Buck deer. The provisions of this clause do not
apply on properties for which Level 2 or Level 3 MLDPs have been
issued. In the counties listed in this paragraph, a legal buck is a buck
deer having:

(1) at least one unbranched antler; or

(1l) an inside spread of 13 inches or greater. The
inside spread requirement does not apply to any buck that has an un-
branched antler. Not more than one buck with an inside spread of 13
inches or greater may be taken.

(ii) Antlerless deer.

(1) Antlerless deer may be taken by MLD antler-
less or LAMPS permits only.

(1I) On tracts of land for which LAMPS permits
have been issued, no LAMPS permit is required for the harvest of
antlerless deer during the archery-only or muzzleloader-only open sea-
son.

(13) In Andrews, Bailey Castro, Cochran, Dallam, Daw-
son, Deaf Smith, Gaines, Hale, Hansford, Hartley, Hockley, Lamb,
Lubbock, Lynn, Martin, Moore, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall,
Sherman, Swisher, Terry, and Yoakum counties, there is a general
open season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the first Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: three deer, no more than one buck and
no more than two antlerless.

(C) No permit is required to hunt antlerless deer unless
MLDP antlerless permits have been issued for the tract of land.

(14) In Crane, Ector, Loving, Midland, Ward, and Winkler
counties, there is a general open season.

(A) Open season: from the first Saturday in November
through the first Sunday in January.

(B) Bag limit: three deer, no more than one buck and
no more than two antlerless.

(C) Antlerless deer may be taken by MLD antlerless
permits only.

(15)

(16) Archery-only open seasons. In all counties where
there is a general open season for white-tailed deer, there is an
archery-only open season during which either sex of white-tailed deer
may be taken as provided for in §65.11(2) and (3) of this title (relating
to Means and Methods).

In all other counties, there is no general open season.

(A) Open season: from the Saturday closest to Septem-
ber 30 for 35 consecutive days.

(B) Bag limit: the bag limit in any given county is as
provided for that county during the general open season.

(C) No permit is required to hunt antlerless deer unless
MLDP permits have been issued for the property.

(17) Muzzleloader-only open seasons, and bag and pos-
session limits shall be as follows. In Anderson, Angelina, Austin,
Bastrop, Bell (East of IH 35), Bowie, Brazoria, Brazos, Brewster,
Burleson, Caldwell, Camp, Cass, Chambers, Cherokee, Colorado,
Comal (East of IH 35), Culberson, Delta, DeWitt, Ellis, Fannin, Falls,
Fayette, Fort Bend, Franklin, Freestone, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales,
Gregg, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Harrison, Hays (East of IH
35), Henderson, Hopkins, Houston, Hunt, Jackson, Jasper, Jeff Davis,
Jefferson, Karnes, Kaufman, Lamar, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty,
Limestone, Madison, Marion, Matagorda, Milam, Montgomery, Mor-
ris, Nacogdoches, Navarro, Newton, Orange, Panola, Polk, Presidio,
Rains, Red River, Reeves, Robertson, Rusk, Sabine, San Augustine,
San Jacinto, Shelby, Smith, Titus, Travis (East of IH 35), Trinity, Tyler,
Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton,
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Williamson (East of IH 35), Wilson and Wood counties, there is an
open season during which deer may be taken only with a muzzleloader.

(A) Open Season: 14 consecutive days starting the first
Monday following the first Sunday in January.

(B) Baglimit: as specified in this section for the general
season in the county in which take occurs.

(C) Special provisions:

(i) Buck deer. In any given county, all restrictions
established in this subsection for the take of buck deer during the gen-
eral season remain in effect.

(i) Antlerless deer. No permit is required for the
take of antlerless deer, except:

(I) on properties for which antlerless MLDPs
have been issued; and

(II) in the counties that are also listed in para-
graph (12) of this section.

(18) Special Youth-Only Seasons. There shall be special
youth-only general hunting seasons in all counties where there is a gen-
eral open season for white-tailed deer.

(A) early open season: the Saturday and Sunday imme-
diately before the first Saturday in November.

(B) late open season: 14 consecutive days starting the
first Monday following the first Sunday in January.

(C) Baglimits, provisions for the take of antlerless deer,
and special requirements in the individual counties listed in paragraphs
(1) - (14) of this subsection shall be as specified for the first two days
of the general open season in those counties, except as provided in
subparagraph (D) of this paragraph.

(D) Provisions for the take of antlerless deer in the in-
dividual counties listed in paragraph (10) of this subsection shall be as
specified in those counties for the period of time from Thanksgiving
Day through the Sunday immediately following Thanksgiving Day.

(E) Other than properties where Level 2 or Level 3
MLDPs have been issued, only licensed hunters 16 years of age or
younger may hunt deer during the seasons established by subpara-
graphs (A) and (B) of this paragraph, and any lawful means may be
used.

(F) The stamp requirement of Parks and Wildlife Code,
Chapter 43, Subchapter I, does not apply during the seasons established
by this paragraph.

(G) Antlerless deer may be taken without an antlerless
deer permit on USFS lands.

(¢) Mule deer. The open seasons and annual bag limits for
mule deer shall be as follows:

(1) In Armstrong, Borden, Briscoe, Carson, Childress,
Coke, Collingsworth, Cottle, Crosby, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Dickens,
Donley, Fisher, Floyd, Foard, Garza, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman,
Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Kent, King, Knox, Lipscomb, Moore,
Motley, Ochiltree, Oldham, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Scurry, Sherman,
Stonewall, Swisher, and Wheeler counties, there is a general open
season.

(A) Open season: Saturday before Thanksgiving for 16
consecutive days.

(B) Bag limit: two deer, no more than one buck.

(C) Antlerless deer may be taken only by Antlerless
Mule Deer or MLD Permits.

(2) In Brewster, Crane, Crockett, Culberson, Ector, El
Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, Loving, Midland, Pecos, Presidio, Rea-
gan, Reeves, Terrell, Upton, Val Verde, Ward, and Winkler counties,
there is a general open season.

(A) Open season: the Friday immediately following
Thanksgiving for 17 consecutive days.

(B) Bag limit: two deer, no more than one buck.

(C) Antlerless deer may be taken only by Antlerless
Mule Deer or MLD Permits.

(3) In Andrews, Bailey, Castro, Cochran, Dawson, Gaines,
Hale, Hockley, Lamb, Lubbock, Martin, Parmer, Terry, and Yoakum
counties, there is a general open season.

(A) Open season: Saturday before Thanksgiving for
nine consecutive days.

(B) Bag limit: two deer, no more than one buck.
(C) Antlerless deer may be taken by permit only.

(4) Inall other counties, there is no general open season for
mule deer.

(5) Archery-only open seasons and bag and possession lim-
its shall be as follows. During an archery-only open season, deer may
be taken only as provided for in §65.11(2) and (3) of this title (relating
to Lawful Means).

(A) In Armstrong, Borden, Briscoe, Carson, Childress,
Coke, Collingsworth, Cottle, Crane, Crockett, Crosby, Culberson,
Dallam, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Ector, El Paso, Fisher, Floyd,
Foard, Garza, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hardeman, Hartley, Hemphill,
Hudspeth, Hutchinson, Jeff Davis, Kent, King, Knox, Lipscomb,
Loving, Midland, Moore, Motley, Ochiltree, Oldham, Potter, Presidio,
Randall, Reagan, Reeves, Roberts, Scurry, Sherman, Stonewall,
Swisher, Upton, Val Verde, Ward, Wheeler, and Winkler counties,
there is an open season.

(i) Open season: from the Saturday closest to
September 30 for 35 consecutive days.

(i) Bag limit: one buck deer.

(B) In Brewster, Pecos, and Terrell counties, there is an
open season.

(i) Open season: from the Saturday closest to
September 30 for 35 consecutive days.

(ii) Bag limit: two deer, no more than one buck.
Antlerless deer may be harvested without a permit unless MLD antler-
less permits have been issued for the property.

(C) Inall other counties, there is no archery-only open
season for mule deer.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 27, 2016.
TRD-201603722
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Ann Bright

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 19, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER N. MIGRATORY GAME BIRD
PROCLAMATION
31 TAC §§65.315, 65.318 - 65.321

The Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission (Commission) in a
duly noticed meeting on March 24, 2016, adopted amendments
to §§65.315 and 65.318 - 65.321, concerning the Migratory
Game Bird Proclamation. The amendment to §65.315 is
adopted with changes to the proposed text as published in the
February 19, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg
1216). The amendments to §§65.318 - 65.321 are adopted
without change and will not be republished.

The change to §65.315, concerning Open Seasons and Bag and
Possession Limits - Early Season, alters season dates for dove
in the Special White-winged Dove Area (SWWDA). The depart-
ment proposed a season to run from September 23 to November
13, 2016, and December 17, 2016, to January 19, 2017. The
Commission instead adopted a season to run from September
23 to November 9 and December 17 to January 23, removing
four days from the end of the first segment and adding those
days to the end of the second segment. The change is intended
to provide for greater hunting opportunity later in the season.

The United States Fish and Wildlife Service (Service) issues an-
nual frameworks for the hunting of migratory game birds in the
United States. Regulations adopted by individual states may
be more restrictive than the federal frameworks, but may not
be less restrictive. Responsibility for establishing seasons, bag
limits, means, methods, and devices for harvesting migratory
game birds within Service frameworks is delegated to the Texas
Parks and Wildlife Commission (Commission) under Parks and
Wildlife Code, Chapter 64, Subchapter C. Parks and Wildlife
Code, §64.022, authorizes the Commission to delegate rulemak-
ing authority to the Executive Director. Department regulations
(31 TAC §65.313(f)) authorize the Executive Director, after noti-
fication of the Chairman of the Commission, to engage in rule-
making.

Until this year, the Service issued annual regulatory frameworks
for migratory game birds at different times of the year (the prelim-
inary early-season (dove, teal, snipe, woodcock, rails, gallinules)
frameworks in late June and the preliminary late-season (ducks,
geese, cranes) frameworks in early August). Because no regu-
lar Commission meetings occur between May and August, the
early-season regulations were normally adopted by the Exec-
utive Director in early July. Beginning this year, however, the
Service will issue all final migratory game bird frameworks in
November of the previous year, which means that the Commis-
sion is able to adopt migratory game bird regulations as part of
the regular statewide hunting proclamation process and hunters
of migratory game birds will know season dates, bag limits, and
other regulations much earlier than in previous years.

The amendment to §65.315, concerning Open Seasons and Bag
and Possession Limits - Early Season, adjusts the season dates
for early-season migratory game birds to allow for calendar shift

(i.e., to ensure that seasons open on the desired day of the week,
since dates from a previous year do not fall on the same days
in following years). With regard to dove, the amendment differs
from last year in that this year the Service is allowing Texas 90
days of dove hunting opportunity within the current frameworks
for all three dove zones, an increase of 20 days per zone. The
amendment therefore adds 19 days of additional hunting oppor-
tunity to the end of the first segment and one day to the end of
the second segment in the North Zone; 12 days to the end of
the first segment and eight days to the end of the second seg-
ment in the Central Dove Zone; and 18 days to the end of the
first segment and two days to the end of the second segment in
the South Dove Zone (with the exception noted previously with
respect to the SWWDA). The department believes the amend-
ment as adopted appropriately distributes the additional days of
hunting opportunity in each zone to coincide with hunter prefer-
ence.

The amendment to §65.315 also implements a 16-day statewide
teal season to run from September 10 - 25, 2016. By federal
rule, the number of days in the September teal season count
against the 107 days of total hunting opportunity allowed for
ducks, coots, and mergansers. In addition, the amendment im-
plements a 16-day early Canada goose season in the Eastern
Zone to run from September 10 - 25, 2016.

The amendment to §65.318, concerning Open Seasons and Bag
and Possession Limits - Late Season, alters season dates in
both duck zones compared to last year and adjusts the season
dates to account for calendar shift while retaining the bag and
possession limits from last year. The North Zone last year had
a 12-day split starting the Monday after Thanksgiving. For the
2016-17 season, there will be a five-day split starting the Satur-
day after Thanksgiving. Staff intends the altered season struc-
ture to provide additional December and January weekend op-
portunity, allowing hunting every weekend during peak migration
of December and January, which harvest data shows to be the
two best months of the season for overall duck harvest in the
North Zone.

In the South Duck Zone, the season will run to the end of the
federal framework, unlike last year. Last year, the department
determined that running the season to the end of the framework
(January 31) was undesirable because it would have resulted
in a very late closure and it was more advantageous to offer
more time in November, which is the best harvest month in the
South Zone. This year, the department returns to a season that
runs to the end of framework because calendar shift offers a
more reasonable closure date (January 29) that provides ample
hunting opportunity both early and late in the season.

With respect to geese, the season structure (adjusted for calen-
dar shift) and bag and possession limits from last year are re-
tained, except that the opening date in the West Zone is delayed
by one week. Department data indicate that due to continuing
delayed migrations in the fall and the persistence of very large
numbers of geese in west Texas in early February, opening the
season one week later will result in additional hunting opportu-
nity.

The amendment to §65.319, concerning Extended Falconry
Season--Early Season Species, adjusts season dates to reflect
calendar shift; however, the season length for doves will be
reduced by 17 days because the federal frameworks allow 107
days of total opportunity for doves and the proposed amendment
to §65.315 would allow 90 full days of gun-hunting opportunity
for doves.
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The amendment to §65.320, concerning Extended Falconry
Season--Late Season Species, adjusts season dates to reflect
calendar shift.

The amendment to §65.321, concerning Special Management
Provisions, adjusts the dates for the conservation season on light
geese to account for calendar shift.

The proposed amendments are generally necessary to imple-
ment commission policy to provide the greatest hunter opportu-
nity possible, consistent with hunter and landowner preference
for starting dates and segment lengths, under frameworks is-
sued by the Service. It is the policy of the commission to adopt
the most liberal provisions possible, consistent with hunter pref-
erence, under the Service frameworks in order to provide maxi-
mum hunter opportunity.

The department received 17 comments opposing adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §65.315 that estab-
lishes season dates and bag limits for the North Dove Zone. Of
those comments, 12 articulated a reason or rationale for oppos-
ing adoption. Those comments, accompanied by the depart-
ment's response to each, follow.

Eleven commenters opposed adoption and stated that the sec-
ond season segment should be longer. The department dis-
agrees with the comments and responds that hunter preference
is for a longer first segment, when there are more hunters in the
field. No changes were made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there are not
enough birds to justify lengthening the season. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that dove populations
are believed to be able to withstand an additional 20 days of hunt-
ing pressure and there is no biological reason not to lengthen the
season. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

The department received 84 comments supporting adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §65.315 that estab-
lishes season dates and bag limits for the North Dove Zone.

The department received five comments opposing adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §65.315 that estab-
lishes season dates and bag limits for the Central Dove Zone.
Of those comments, three articulated a reason or rationale for
opposing adoption. Those comments, accompanied by the de-
partment's response to each, follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the additional
days of hunting opportunity should be added to the end of the
second season segment. The department disagrees with the
comment and responds that hunter preference is for a longer
first segment, when most hunters are in the field. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that dove season
should not be concurrent with deer season. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that making opening
day for both deer and dove seasons provides additional hunting
opportunity because hunters can hunt two popular species. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that all 20 days
of additional opportunity should be added to the first season
segment. The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that additional days have been added to both segments
in order to distribute hunting opportunity equitably. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

The department received 95 comments supporting adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §65.315 that estab-
lishes season dates and bag limits for the Central Dove Zone.

The department received five comments opposing adoption of
the portion of proposed §65.315 that establishes season dates
and bag limits for the South Dove Zone (which includes the Spe-
cial White-winged Dove Area). All five commenters articulated
a reason or rationale for opposing adoption. Those comments,
accompanied by the department's response to each, follow.

Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the season
should open on the first day allowable under the federal frame-
work. The department agrees with the comments and responds
that the season as adopted opens on the earliest day allowed
under the federal frameworks. No changes were made as a re-
sult of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the depart-
ment should petition the Service to allow a statewide September
1 opening day. The department disagrees with the comment
and responds that at the current time a September 1 opener in
the South Zone is not possible because it is not permitted under
the federal frameworks and is not likely to be permitted because
of nesting success interruption and survivability concerns. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that all of the ad-
ditional days of opportunity should be added to the first season
segment. The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that additional days have been added to both segments
in order to distribute hunting opportunity equitably. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that early hunting
opportunity in the SWWDA should be full-day. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that although the fed-
eral frameworks authorize four full days of opportunity prior to
September 23 in the SWWDA, the commission had traditionally
adopted four half-days of opportunity. No changes were made
as a result of the comment.

The department received 77 comments supporting adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §65.315 that estab-
lishes season dates and bag limits for the South Dove Zone.

The department received 11 comments opposing adoption of the
portion of proposed §65.318 that establishes season dates and
bag limits for the North Duck Zone. Of those comments, six
articulated a reason or rationale for opposing adoption. Those
comments, accompanied by the department's response to each,
follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the duck mi-
gration in Central Texas is from early November until Thanksgiv-
ing. The department agrees with the comment and responds that
the first season segment as adopted is from November 12 - 27,
which is from early November until Thanksgiving. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there should
be a weekend closure in the middle of the season to allow pres-
sured birds to rest. The department disagrees with the comment
and responds that although the season as adopted includes a
split in order to afford ducks a chance to rally and congregate,
there is no biological or sociological reason for such a split to in-
clude a weekend, which is the time of week when most hunters
are able to get out into the field. No changes were made as a
result of the comment.
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Two commenters opposed adoption and stated that the North
Zone should open earlier than the South Zone. The department
disagrees with the comment and responds that the peak harvest
of ducks in the North Zone occurs later in the year. Although
huntable numbers of ducks are available in November, the de-
partment has selected an opening date intended to maximize
hunting opportunity when ducks numbers are at their highest,
migration is at its peak, and habitat conditions are at their best.
No changes were made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that if the split is
only going to be five days it should be done away with in favor of
a continuous season. The department disagrees with the com-
ment and responds that a split is necessary to give ducks the
opportunity to rally and congregate with enough time left in the
framework to allow for additional quality hunting opportunity, and
that a five-day period is certainly sufficient for this to occur. The
season structure as adopted is designed to open and close on
a weekend and to contain a split. A continuous season would
result in the season closing on a weekday, which frustrates the
commission's desire to maximize weekend hunting opportunity.
Without a minimum split of five days, a weekend of hunting would
be lost. No changes were made as a result of the comments.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the split
should be longer to allow ducks to rest. The department dis-
agrees with the comment and responds that a five-day period
is certainly sufficient for ducks to rally and congregate. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

The department received 75 comments supporting adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §65.318 that estab-
lishes season dates and bag limits for the North Duck Zone.

The department received eight comments opposing adoption of
the portion of proposed §65.318 that establishes season dates
and bag limits for the South Duck Zone. Of those comments two
articulated a reason or rationale for opposing adoption. Those
comments, accompanied by the department's response to each,
follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the season
should open earlier, the split should be longer, and that snow
goose hunting under the conservation order should be allowed
during the split. The department disagrees with the comment
and responds that the season as adopted was selected to take
advantage of the time period when the greatest number of ducks
are migrating to the South Zone, that a 12-day split is suffi-
cient time to allow ducks to rally and congregate, and that the
light-goose conservation season cannot be opened unless all
other migratory bird hunting seasons are closed. To open the
conservation season during a split in the duck season, the de-
partment would have to close seasons for geese and sandhill
crane, which would reduce overall hunter opportunity and con-
flict with commission policy to provide the maximum hunter op-
portunity possible under federal frameworks issued by the Ser-
vice. No changes were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated a preference for a
five-day split. The department disagrees with the comment and
responds that a 12-day split in the South Zone was chosen in
order to allow ducks to increase their numbers with late arrivals.
No changes were made as a result of the comment.

The department received 73 comments supporting adoption of
the portion of the proposed amendment to §65.315 that estab-
lishes season dates and bag limits for the South Duck Zone.

The department received three comments opposing adoption of
the portion of proposed §65.318 that establishes season dates
and bag limits for the Western Goose Zone. Of those com-
ments, two articulated a reason or rationale for opposing adop-
tion. Those comments, accompanied by the department's re-
sponse to each, follow.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that there should
be a moratorium on goose hunting because of population de-
clines. The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that the season length and bag limits as adopted are con-
sistent with the department's management plan for geese and
there is no threat of negative population impacts. No changes
were made as a result of the comment.

One commenter opposed adoption and stated that the conser-
vation season should begin January 1 and run through Febru-
ary 20. The department disagrees with the comment and re-
sponds that hunter preference for other species of waterfowl pre-
cludes the opening of the conservation season any earlier, since
under the federal frameworks all other seasons would have to
be closed in order to implement the conservation season. No
changes were made as a result of the comment.

No groups or associations commented on the adoption of the
proposed rules.

The amendments are adopted under Parks and Wildlife Code,
Chapter 64, which authorizes the Commission and the Executive
Director to provide the open season and means, methods, and
devices for the hunting and possessing of migratory game birds.

§65.315.  Open Seasons and Bag and Possession Limits---Early Sea-
son.

(a) Rails.

(1) Dates: September 10 - 25,2016 and November 5 - De-
cember 28, 2016.

(2) Daily bag and possession limits:

(A) king and clapper rails: 15 in the aggregate per day;
45 in the aggregate in possession.

(B) soraand Virginia rails: 25 in the aggregate per day;
75 in the aggregate in possession.

(b) Dove seasons.
(1) North Zone.

(A) Dates: September 1 - November 13, 2016 and De-
cember 17, 2016 - January 1, 2017.

(B) Daily bag limit: 15 mourning doves, white-winged
doves, and white-tipped (white-fronted) doves in the aggregate, includ-
ing no more than two white-tipped doves per day.

(C) Possession limit: 45 mourning doves, white-
winged doves, and white-tipped doves in the aggregate, including no
more than 6 white-tipped doves in possession.

(2) Central Zone.

(A) Dates: September 1 - November 6, 2016 and De-
cember 17, 2016 - January 8, 2017.

(B) Daily bag limit: 15 mourning doves, white-winged
doves, and white-tipped (white-fronted) doves in the aggregate, includ-
ing no more than two white-tipped doves per day.
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(C) Possession limit: 45 mourning doves, white-
winged doves, and white-tipped doves in the aggregate, including no
more than 6 white-tipped doves in possession.

(3) South Zone.

(A) Dates: Except in the special white-winged dove
area as defined in §65.314 of this title (relating to Zones and Bound-
aries for Early Season Species), September 23 - November 13, 2016
and December 17, 2016 - January 23, 2017.

(B) Daily bag limit: 15 mourning doves, white-winged
doves, and white-tipped (white-fronted) doves in the aggregate, includ-
ing no more than two white-tipped doves per day.

(C) Possession limit: 45 mourning doves, white-
winged doves, and white-tipped doves in the aggregate, including no
more than 6 white-tipped doves in possession.

(4) Special white-winged dove area.
(A) Dates: September 3, 4, 10, and 11, 2016.

(i) Daily bag limit: 15 white-winged doves, mourn-
ing doves, and white-tipped (white-fronted) doves, in the aggregate to
include no more than two mourning doves and two white-tipped doves
per day.

(i) Possession limit: 45 white-winged doves,
mourning doves, and white-tipped doves in the aggregate to include no
more than 6 mourning doves and 6 white-tipped doves in possession.

(B) Dates: September 23 - November 9, 2016 and De-
cember 17, 2016 - January 23, 2017
(i) Daily bag limit: 15 white-winged doves, mourn-
ing doves, and white-tipped (white-fronted) doves, in the aggregate to
include no more than two white-tipped doves per day;

(ii) Possession limit: 45 white-winged doves,
mourning doves, and white-tipped doves in the aggregate to include
no more than 6 white-tipped doves in possession.

(c) Gallinules.

(1) Dates: September 10 - 25,2016 and November 5 - De-
cember 28, 2016.

(2) Daily bag and possession limits: 15 in the aggregate per
day; 45 in the aggregate in possession.

(d) September teal-only season.
(1) Dates: September 10-25, 2016.

(2) Daily bag and possession limits: six in the aggregate
per day; 18 in the aggregate in possession.

(e) Red-billed pigeons, and band-tailed pigeons. No open sea-
son.

(f) Shorebirds. No open season.

(g) Woodcock: December 18, 2016 - January 31, 2017. The
daily bag limit is three. The possession limit is nine.

(h) Wilson's snipe (Common snipe): October 29, 2015 - Feb-
ruary 12,2017. The daily bag limit is eight. The possession limit is 24.

(i) Canada geese: September 10 - 25, 2016 in the Eastern
Goose Zone as defined in §65.317(b) of this title (relating to Zones
and Boundaries for Late Season Species). The daily bag limit is five.
The possession limit is 15.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 27, 2016.

TRD-201603723

Ann Bright

General Counsel

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: February 19, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 389-4775
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TITLE 37. PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORREC-
TIONS

PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
PUBLIC SAFETY

CHAPTER 28. DNA, CODIS, FORENSIC
ANALYSIS, AND CRIME LABORATORIES
SUBCHAPTER B. CODIS RESPONSIBILITIES
OF THE DIRECTOR

37 TAC §28.24, §28.31

The Texas Department of Public Safety (the department) adopts
amendments to §28.24 and §28.31, concerning CODIS Respon-
sibilities of the Director. The amendments are adopted without
changes to the proposed text as published in the July 1, 2016,
issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4793) and will not be
republished.

Amendments to §28.24 are necessary to ensure compliance with
Texas Government Code, §411.147. The amendment to §28.31
is necessary to correct an incorrect reference to statute.

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these
amendments.

These amendments are adopted pursuant to Texas Government
Code, §411.144(a), which authorizes the director by rule to
establish procedures for a DNA laboratory or criminal justice
agency in the collection, preservation, shipment, analysis, and
use of DNA sample for forensic DNA analysis in a manner
that permits the exchange of DNA evidence between DNA
laboratories and the use of the evidence in a criminal case and
§8411.144(e), 411.147(a), and 411.152(a).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 28, 2016.

TRD-201603729

D. Phillip Adkins

General Counsel

Texas Department of Public Safety

Effective date: August 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: July 1, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-5848
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TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE

PART 2. DEPARTMENT OF ASSISTIVE
AND REHABILITATIVE SERVICES

CHAPTER 104. INDEPENDENT LIVING
SERVICES

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), on
behalf of the Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative
Services (DARS), adopts new Subchapter A, General Rules,
§104.101, concerning Purpose, §104.103, concerning Legal
Authority, §104.105, concerning Definitions; new Subchapter B,
Allocation of Funds, §104.201, concerning Allocation of Funds;
new Subchapter C, Independent Living Services, §104.301,
concerning Purpose, §104.305, concerning Eligibility, §104.307,
concerning Independent Living Plan, §104.309, concerning
Waiting List, §104.311, concerning Scope of Services; new
Subchapter D, Consumer Participation, §104.401, concerning
Consumer Participation System, §104.403, concerning Fee
Schedule Amount, §104.405, concerning Insurance Payments;
new Subchapter E, Consumer Rights, §104.501, concern-
ing Rights of Consumers, §104.503, concerning Complaint
Process; new Subchapter F, Technical Assistance and Training,
§104.601 concerning Administering Agency's Role in Provid-
ing Technical Assistance; and new Subchapter G, Referrals,
§104.701, concerning Expectations of Administering Agency's
Employees.

New §§104.101, 104.103, 104.105, 104.201, 104.301, 104.305,
104.307, 104.309, 104.311, 104.401, 104.403, 104.405,
104.501, 104.503, 104.601, and 104.701 are adopted without
changes to the proposed text as published in the May 13, 2016,
issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3433) and will not be
republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The new sections are being adopted pursuant to H.B. 2463, 84th
Legislature, Regular Session, 2015, which requires the integra-
tion of independent living services for individuals who are blind
or visually impaired and independent living services for individu-
als with significant disabilities. The bill further requires the inde-
pendent living services program that DARS operates under Title
VIl of the federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 U.S.C. Section
796 et seq.) are directly provided by centers for independent liv-
ing, except as provided by the Texas Human Resources Code,
§117.080(b), and are not directly provided by the department.

Effective September 1, 2016, responsibility for independent
living services for individuals with significant disabilities will
transfer to HHSC. Under Texas Government Code, §§531.0201,
531.02011, and 531.02012, a rule adopted by or on behalf of
DARS that relates to a function that is transferred under one
of those sections becomes a rule of the receiving state agency
upon transfer of the related function and remains in effect:

« until altered by the commission or other receiving state agency,
as applicable; or

« unless it conflicts with a rule of the receiving state agency.
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

DARS adopts §104.101, Purpose, establishing the purpose of
DARS independent living services.

DARS adopts §104.103, Legal Authority, establishing the legal
authority under which independent living services are adminis-
tered.

DARS adopts §104.105, Definitions, establishing definitions for
Ability to pay, Act, Accessible format, Adjusted income, Allot-
ment, Allowable deductions, Attendant care, Blind, Center for In-
dependent Living (CIL), Client Assistance Program (CAP), Com-
parable services or benefits, Consumer, Consumer participa-
tion, Consumer participation system, Consumer representative,
DARS, Fee, Federal poverty level guidelines, Independent living
plan, Nonprofit, Private, Service provider, Severe visual impair-
ment, Significant disability, Sliding fee scale, Transition services,
and Waived independent living plan.

DARS adopts §104.201, Allocation of Funds, establishing the
method by which DARS allocates funds to a service provider.
The section further establishes that service provider ensures
comparable services or benefits are exhausted before using
funds allocated under adopted Chapter 104.

DARS adopts §104.301, Purpose, establishing the purpose for
the adopted subchapter.

DARS adopts §104.305, Eligibility, establishing the eligibility cri-
teria for independent living services. The section establishes
that eligibility is determined by the service provider, based on
the documented diagnosis of a licensed practitioner. The sec-
tion establishes that consumers who are determined to be eligi-
ble for independent living services on or before August 31, 2016,
remain eligible on September 1, 2016. The section further es-
tablishes requirements of the service provider when a consumer
is determined eligible and when a consumer is determined inel-
igible.

DARS adopts §104.307, Independent Living Plan, establishing
that services are provided in accordance with an independent
living plan that is developed jointly between the service provider
and the consumer, unless the consumer signs a waiver giving
up their right to participate in the development of the indepen-
dent plan, in which case services are provided in accordance
with a waived independent living plan developed by the service
provider. The section further establishes that the independent
living plan must be coordinated, to the extent possible, with vo-
cational rehabilitation, habilitation, and education services. The
section further establishes under what conditions services are
terminated.

DARS adopts §104.309, Waiting list, establishing that a con-
sumer is placed on a waiting list by the service provider when
the consumer is determined eligible, has a signed independent
living plan or waived independent living plan, and there is no
funding for a service on the independent living plan that must be
purchased. The section establishes that the waiting list must be
reviewed every six months by the service provider. The section
further establishes that a consumer is removed from the waiting
list when funding becomes available, the consumer is no longer
eligible, or the consumer is no longer interested.

DARS adopts §104.311, Scope of Services, establishing that the
service provider may provide independent living core services
and independent living services under adopted Chapter 104.

DARS adopts §104.401, Consumer Participation System, estab-
lishing that the service provider administers the consumer par-
ticipation system and establishes the elements of that system.
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The section establishes that a service provider must develop a
process to reconsider and adjust the consumer's fee for service
based on circumstances that are both extraordinary and docu-
mented, and establishes those extraordinary circumstances.

DARS adopts §104.403, Fee Schedule Amount, establishing the
method for calculating the fee paid by the consumer for pur-
chased services, including factors that affect the fee paid by
the consumer for purchased services allowable deductions. The
section establishes that consumer's fee for service is equal to the
amount on the DARS sliding fee scale according to the house-
hold's annual adjusted income. The section establishes that the
consumer is required to provide proof of annual gross income
and allowable deductions. The section further establishes that
if the consumer does not provide the service provider with sup-
porting documentation for the household's allowable deductions,
the service provider determines the consumer's fee for service
based on the consumer's documented annual gross income with
no allowable deductions.

DARS adopts §104.405, Insurance Payments, establishing that
if the consumer has medical and dental insurance that covers
an independent living service received by the consumer and the
agreement for in-network services made between the insurance
company and the service provider or service provider's subcon-
tractor requires that the service provider or subcontractor accept
as payment in full the deductible, copayment, or coinsurance and
insurance reimbursement, then the consumer's fee for service is
either the deductible, copayment, or coinsurance, or the amount
calculated by the DARS fee schedule, whichever is less. The
section further establishes that the consumer pays the premiums
for medical and dental insurance and that neither DARS nor the
service provider pays the premiums.

DARS adopts §104.501, Rights of Consumers, establishing the
rights of the consumer and when those rights must be provided
to the consumer in writing.

DARS adopts §104.503, Complaint Process, establishing the
process by which a consumer may file a complaint with DARS
or the Client Assistance Program implemented in Texas by Dis-
ability Rights Texas.

DARS adopts §104.601, Administering Agency's Role in Provid-
ing Technical Assistance, establishing that DARS gives the ser-
vice provider technical assistance, as needed, to help the service
provider offer a full range of independent living services.

DARS adopts §104.701, Expectations of Administering Agency's
Employees, establishing that when individuals contact DARS
seeking independent living services, DARS will refer those in-
dividuals to the local service provider.

COMMENTS

DARS received three comments from the American Foundation
for the Blind Center on Vision Loss, Disability Rights Texas, and
an individual during the 30-day comment period.

Comment: A commenter questioned why DARS is mentioned in
the rules since DARS will be abolished on September 1, 2016,
when the rules will become effective.

Response: DARS recommends no changes to the rules based
on this comment. The responsibility for independent living ser-
vices for individuals with significant disabilities will transfer to
HHSC on September 1, 2016. The adopted rules will become
effective on August 31, 2016. A rule adopted by or on behalf
of DARS that relate to a function that is transferred under Texas

Government Code, §§531.0201, 531.02011, and 531.02012, be-
comes a rule of the receiving state agency upon transfer of the
related function and remains in effect:

« until altered by the commission or other receiving state agency,
as applicable; or

« unless it conflicts with a rule of the receiving state agency.

Comment: A commenter stated that it would be appropriate
to include a definition for the meaning of "history of service
delivery" in §104.201(a)(3). Texas Human Resources Code,
§117.080(b) states that the rules include an equitable and trans-
parent methodology for allocating funds under the independent
living services program. The commenter recommends that a
definition to the phrase be included in the rule text.

Response: DARS recommends no changes to the rules based
on this comment. The history of service delivery is the number
of previous consumers served and the cost of services provided
by county. This is explained in the independent living standards
for the service providers.

Comment: A commenter wanted to ensure that the indepen-
dent living services for older individuals who are blind continue to
serve consumers in the home. The commenter suggested lan-
guage to add to §104.311(b) that includes all services are avail-
able at an accessible location for consumers who rely on public
transportation. The commenter also wanted to add that the in-
dependent living services be provided in the consumer's home
when there is no public transportation.

Response: DARS recommends no changes to the rules based
on this comment. The scope of services in the rules describes
the service arrays that are provided under the independent liv-
ing services program. The independent living services stan-
dards describe the service delivery method for the services of
the program. The standards include providing services in the
consumer's home when necessary.

Comment: A commenter questioned the consumer participation
requirement in §§104.401, 104.403, and 104.405 that is based
on the consumer's adjusted gross income and percentage of the
federal poverty level for that income. The commenter is con-
cerned that using the adjusted gross income could lead to more
disposable income than what the consumer actually is able to
access and, therefore, may end up requiring more financial par-
ticipation then the consumer can contribute without hardship.

Response: DARS recommends no changes to the rules based
on this comment. The requirement for consumer participation
has been part of the independent living services program and is
being revised to be similar to other HHSC programs. The ser-
vice provider will explain the cost participation requirement to
the consumer to ensure the consumer understands and can ful-
fill this requirement before agreeing to a plan of services. The
consumer can request a re-review at any time. The consumer
will need to provide information regarding any new or excep-
tional circumstances (documentation), and the service provider
can re-assess the consumer's ability to pay.

Comment: A commenter appreciated that the rules included a
new Subchapter E, Consumer Rights, but would like to expand
on the service provider requirements when notifying the con-
sumer in writing about the rights. The commenter stated that
it would be more beneficial if the consumers are informed of
the ability to utilize the Client Assistance Program (CAP) any-
time during the independent living services process. The CAP is
available for the consumers to resolve issues that include the se-
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lection of the service provider, if there is a disagreement of what
type of service is needed, and other issues that arise. The rules
only mention that CAP is available at ineligibility and closure of
a case.

Response: DARS recommends no changes to the rules based
on this comment. The rules explain the complaint process to the
consumers and state that the consumer may file a complaint al-
leging that a requirement of the independent living services was
violated. The independent living standards provide detailed in-
formation about filing of a complaint with CAP and state that the
service provider should notify the consumers of CAP at applica-
tion, the development of the independent living plan, and any-
time services are reduced, suspended, or terminated.

SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL RULES

40 TAC §§104.101, 104.103, 104.105
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rules are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These new rules are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603748

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER B. ALLOCATION OF FUNDS
40 TAC §104.201
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rule is authorized by the Texas Human Re-
sources Code, Chapter 117. This new rule is adopted pursuant
to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides the Ex-
ecutive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to promulgate
rules for the operation of and provision of health and human
services by the health and human services agencies. No other
statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.
TRD-201603749

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER C. INDEPENDENT LIVING
SERVICES

40 TAC §§104.301, 104.305, 104.307, 104.309, 104.311
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rules are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These new rules are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603750

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. CONSUMER PARTICIPA-
TION

40 TAC §§104.401, 104.403, 104.405

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rules are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These new rules are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.
TRD-201603751
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Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER E. CONSUMER RIGHTS
40 TAC §104.501, §104.503
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rules are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These new rules are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §5631.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603752

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER F. TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE
AND TRAINING

40 TAC §104.601
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rule is authorized by the Texas Human Re-
sources Code, Chapter 117. This new rule is adopted pursuant
to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides the Ex-
ecutive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to promulgate
rules for the operation of and provision of health and human
services by the health and human services agencies. No other
statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.
TRD-201603753

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER G. REFERRALS
40 TAC §104.701
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rule is authorized by the Texas Human Re-
sources Code, Chapter 117. This new rule is adopted pursuant
to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides the Ex-
ecutive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to promulgate
rules for the operation of and provision of health and human
services by the health and human services agencies. No other
statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603754

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 106. DIVISION FOR BLIND
SERVICES
SUBCHAPTER C.
PROGRAM

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC),
on behalf of the Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative
Services (DARS), adopts the repeal of Chapter 106, Division
for Blind Services, Subchapter C, Independent Living Program,
Division 1, General Information, §§106.901, 106.903, 106.905,
and 106.907; Division 2, Program Requirements, §§106.1007,
106.1009, 106.1011, 106.1013, 106.1015, and 106.1017; Divi-
sion 3, Independent Living Services, §106.1107 and §106.1109;
Division 4, Consumer Participation, §§106.1207, 106.1209,
106.1211, 106.1213, 106.1215, and 106.1217; and Division 5,
Maximum Affordable Payment, §106.1307.

The repeals of §§106.901, 106.903, 106.905, 106.907,
106.1007, 106.1009, 106.1011, 106.1013, 106.1015, 106.1017,
106.1107, 106.1109, 106.1207, 106.1209, 106.1211, 106.1213,
106.1215, 106.1217, and 106.1307 are adopted without
changes to the proposed text as published in the May 13, 2016,
issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3442) and will not be
republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

INDEPENDENT LIVING

ADOPTED RULES

August 12, 2016 41 TexReg 6069



The repeal is being adopted pursuant to H.B. 2463, 84th Legisla-
ture, Regular Session, 2015. The bill requires the integration of
independent living services for individuals who are blind or visu-
ally impaired and independent living services for individuals with
significant disabilities. The bill further requires the independent
living services program that DARS operates under Title VII of
the federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 U.S.C. Section 796 et
seq.) are directly provided by centers for independent living, ex-
cept as provided by the Texas Human Resources Code, Section
117.080 (b), and are not directly provided by the department.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

The sections are being repealed to create a new Subchapter D,
Independent Living Services for Older Individuals who are Blind,
which willimplement the integration of the independent living ser-
vices. The repeals include the following:

Division 1, General Information

Division 2, Program Requirements
Division 3, Independent Living Services
Division 4, Consumer Participation
Division 5, Maximum Affordable Payment
COMMENTS

DARS did not receive any comments regarding the proposed
repeal of the sections during the comment period. DARS did
receive two comments for the new Subchapter D, Independent
Living Services for Older Individuals who are Blind. These com-
ments are addressed in the Subchapter D adoption preamble,
which is published elsewhere in this issue.

DIVISION 1. GENERAL INFORMATION
40 TAC §§106.901, 106.903, 106.905, 106.907
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted repeals are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These repeals are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603755

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 2.  PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS

40 TAC §§106.1007, 106.1009, 106.1011, 106.1013,
106.1015, 106.1017

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted repeals are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These repeals are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603756

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. INDEPENDENT LIVING

SERVICES
40 TAC §106.1107, §106.1109
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted repeals are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These repeals are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603757

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 4. CONSUMER PARTICIPATION

40 TAC §§106.1207, 106.1209, 106.1211, 106.1213,
106.1215, 106.1217

STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted repeals are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These repeals are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
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Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603758

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 5. MAXIMUM AFFORDABLE

PAYMENT
40 TAC §106.1307
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted repeal is authorized by the Texas Human Re-
sources Code, Chapter 117. The repeal is adopted pursuant to
HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas Government
Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides the Executive
Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to promulgate rules
for the operation of and provision of health and human services
by the health and human services agencies. No other statute,
article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603759

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. INDEPENDENT LIVING
SERVICES FOR OLDER INDIVIDUALS WHO
ARE BLIND

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC),
on behalf of the Texas Department of Assistive and Rehabilita-
tive Services (DARS), adopts new Subchapter D, Independent
Living Services for Older Individuals who are Blind. The
subchapter consists of Division 1, General Rules: §106.901,
concerning Purpose; §106.903, concerning Legal Authority;
and §106.905, concerning Definitions; Division 2, Allocation of
Funds: §106.1001, concerning Allocation of Funds; Division 3,
Independent Living Services for Older Individuals Who are Blind:

§106.1101, concerning Purpose; §106.1105, concerning Eligibil-
ity; §106.1107, concerning Independent Living Plan; §106.1109,
concerning Waiting List; and §106.1111, concerning Scope
of Services; Division 4, Consumer Participation: §106.1201,
concerning Consumer Participation System; §106.1203, con-
cerning Fee Schedule Amount; and §106.1205, concerning
Insurance Payments; Division 5, Consumer Rights: §106.1301,
concerning Rights of Consumers; and §106.1303, concern-
ing Complaint Process; Division 6, Technical Assistance and
Training: §106.1351, concerning Administering Agency's Role
in Providing Technical Assistance; and Division 7, Referrals:
§106.1371, concerning Expectations of Administering Agency's
Employees.

New §§106.901, 106.903, 106.905, 106.1001, 106.1101,
106.1105, 106.1107, 106.1109, 106.1111, 106.1201, 106.1203,
106.1205, 106.1301, 106.1303, 106.1351, and 106.1371 are
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published
in the May 13, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg
3444) and will not be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The new rules are being adopted pursuant to H.B. 2463, 84th
Legislature, Regular Session, 2015. The bill requires the integra-
tion of independent living services for individuals who are blind
or visually impaired and independent living services for individu-
als with significant disabilities. The bill further requires the inde-
pendent living services program that DARS operates under Title
VIl of the federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 U.S.C. Section
796 et seq.) are directly provided by centers for independent liv-
ing, except as provided by the Texas Human Resources Code,
§117.080(b), and are not directly provided by the department.

Effective September 1, 2016, responsibility for independent liv-
ing services for older individuals who are blind will transfer to the
Texas Workforce Commission. Under Texas Government Code,
§8§531.0201, 531.02011, and 531.02012, a rule adopted by or
on behalf of DARS that relate to a function that is transferred un-
der one of those sections becomes a rule of the receiving state
agency upon transfer of the related function and remains in ef-
fect:

« until altered by the commission or other receiving state agency,
as applicable; or

« unless it conflicts with a rule of the receiving state agency.
SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

DARS adopts §106.901, Purpose, establishing the purpose of
DARS independent living services for older individuals who are
blind.

DARS adopts §106.903, Legal Authority, establishing the legal
authority under which independent living services for older indi-
viduals who are blind are administered.

DARS adopts §106.905, Definitions, establishing definitions for
Ability to pay, Act, Accessible format, Adjusted income, Allot-
ment, Allowable deductions, Attendant care, Blind, Center for In-
dependent Living (CIL), Client Assistance Program (CAP), Com-
parable services or benefits, Consumer, Consumer participa-
tion, Consumer participation system, Consumer representative,
DARS, Fee, Federal poverty level guidelines, Independent living
plan, Nonprofit, Older individual who is blind, Private, Service
provider, Severe visual impairment, Significant disability, Sliding
fee scale, Transition services, and Waived independent living
plan.

ADOPTED RULES
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DARS adopts §106.1001, Allocation of Funds, establishing the
method by which DARS allocates funds to a service provider.
The section further establishes that service provider ensures
comparable services or benefits are exhausted before using
funds allocated under adopted Chapter 106, Subchapter D.

DARS adopts §106.1101, Purpose, establishing the purpose for
the adopted Division.

DARS adopts §106.1105, Eligibility, establishing the eligibility cri-
teria for independent living services for older individuals who are
blind. The section establishes that eligibility is determined by
the service provider, based on the documented diagnosis of a
licensed practitioner. The section establishes that consumers
who are determined to be eligible for independent living services
for older individuals who are blind on or before August 31, 2016,
remain eligible on September 1, 2016. The section further es-
tablishes requirements of the service provider when a consumer
is determined eligible and when a consumer is determined inel-
igible.

DARS adopts §106.1107, Independent Living Plan, establishing
that services are provided in accordance with an independent
living plan that is developed jointly between the service provider
and the consumer, unless the consumer signs a waiver giving
up their right to participate in the development of the indepen-
dent plan, in which case services are provided in accordance
with a waived independent living plan developed by the service
provider. The section further establishes that the independent
living plan and services must be coordinated, to the extent pos-
sible, with vocational rehabilitation, habilitation, and education
services. The section further establishes under what conditions
services are terminated.

DARS adopts §106.1109, Waiting List, establishing that a con-
sumer is placed on a waiting list by the service provider when
the consumer is determined eligible, has a signed independent
living plan or waived independent living plan, and there is no
funding for a service on the independent living plan that must be
purchased. The section establishes that the waiting list must be
reviewed every six months by the service provider. The section
further establishes that a consumer is removed from the waiting
list when funding becomes available, the consumer is no longer
eligible, or the consumer is no longer interested.

DARS adopts §106.1111, Scope of Services, establishing that
the service provider may provide independent living core ser-
vices, independent living services, and independent living ser-
vices for older individuals who are blind under adopted Chapter
106, Subchapter D.

DARS adopts §106.1201, Consumer Participation System, es-
tablishing that the service provider administers the consumer
participation system and establishes the elements of that sys-
tem. The section establishes that a service provider must de-
velop a process to reconsider and adjust the consumer's fee
for service based on circumstances that are both extraordinary
and documented, and establishes those extraordinary circum-
stances.

DARS adopts §106.1203, Fee Schedule Amount, establishing
the method for calculating the fee paid by the consumer for pur-
chased services, including factors that affect the fee paid by the
consumer for purchased services allowable deductions. The
section establishes that consumer's fee for service is equal to the
amount on the DARS sliding fee scale according to the house-
hold's annual adjusted income. The section establishes that the
consumer is required to provide proof of annual gross income

and allowable deductions. The section further establishes that
if the consumer does not provide the service provider with sup-
porting documentation for the household's allowable deductions,
the service provider determines the consumer's fee for service
based on the consumer's documented annual gross income with
no allowable deductions.

DARS adopts §106.1205, Insurance Payments, establishing that
if the consumer has medical and dental insurance that covers
an independent living service received by the consumer and the
agreement for in-network services made between the insurance
company and the service provider or service provider's subcon-
tractor requires that the service provider or subcontractor accept
as payment in full the deductible, copayment, or coinsurance and
insurance reimbursement, then the consumer's fee for service is
either the deductible, copayment, or coinsurance, or the amount
calculated by the DARS fee schedule, whichever is less. The
section further establishes that the consumer pays the premiums
for medical and dental insurance and that neither DARS nor the
service provider pays the premiums.

DARS adopts §106.1301, Rights of Consumers, establishing the
rights of the consumer and when those rights must be provided
to the consumer in writing.

DARS adopts §106.1303, Complaint Process, establishing the
process by which a consumer may file a complaint with DARS
or the Client Assistance Program implemented in Texas by Dis-
ability Rights Texas.

DARS adopts §106.1351, Administering Agency's Role in Pro-
viding Technical Assistance, establishing that DARS gives the
service provider technical assistance, as needed, to help the ser-
vice provider offer a full range of independent living services for
older individuals who are blind.

DARS adopts §106.1371, Expectations of Administering
Agency's Employees, establishing that when individuals contact
DARS seeking independent living services for older individuals
who are blind, DARS will refer those individuals to the local
service provider.

COMMENTS

DARS received two comments from the American Foundation
for the Blind Center on Vision Loss and an individual during the
30-day comment period.

Comment: A commenter questioned why DARS is mentioned in
the rules since DARS will be abolished on September 1, 2016,
when the rules will become effective.

Response: DARS recommends no changes to the rules based
on this comment. The responsibility for independent living ser-
vices for older individuals who are blind will transfer to the Texas
Workforce Commission on September 1, 2016. The adopted
rules will become effective on August 31, 2016. A rule adopted
by or on behalf of DARS that relates to a function that is trans-
ferred under Texas Government Code, §§531.0201, 531.02011,
and 531.02012, becomes a rule of the receiving state agency
upon transfer of the related function and remains in effect:

« until altered by the commission or other receiving state agency,
as applicable; or

* unless it conflicts with a rule of the receiving state agency.

Comment: A commenter wanted to ensure that the indepen-
dent living services for older individuals who are blind continue
to serve consumers in the home. The commenter suggested
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language to add to §106.1111(b) that includes all services are
available at an accessible location for consumers who rely on
public transportation. The commenter also wanted to add that
the independent living services be provided in the consumer's
home when there is no public transportation.

Response: DARS recommends no changes to the rules based
on this comment. The scope of services in the rules describes
the service arrays that are provided under the independent liv-
ing services program. The independent living services stan-
dards describe the service delivery method for the services of
the program. The standards include providing services in the
consumer's home when necessary.

DIVISION 1. GENERAL RULES
40 TAC §§106.901, 106.903, 106.905
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rules are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These new rules are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603760

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 2.  ALLOCATION OF FUNDS
40 TAC §106.1001
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rule is authorized by the Texas Human Re-
sources Code, Chapter 117. This new rule is adopted pursuant
to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides the Ex-
ecutive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to promulgate
rules for the operation of and provision of health and human
services by the health and human services agencies. No other
statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.
TRD-201603761

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. INDEPENDENT LIVING
SERVICES FOR OLDER INDIVIDUALS WHO
ARE BLIND

40 TAC §§106.1101, 106.1105, 106.1107, 106.1109, 106.1111
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rules are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These new rules are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603762

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 4. CONSUMER PARTICIPATION
40 TAC §§106.1201, 106.1203, 106.1205
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rules are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These new rules are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.
TRD-201603763
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Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

L4 L4 L4
DIVISION 5.  CONSUMER RIGHTS
40 TAC §106.1301, §106.1303
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rules are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These new rules are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §5631.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603764

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 6. TECHNICAL ASSISTANCE AND
TRAINING

40 TAC §106.1351
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rule is authorized by the Texas Human Re-
sources Code, Chapter 117. This new rule is adopted pursuant
to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides the Ex-
ecutive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to promulgate
rules for the operation of and provision of health and human
services by the health and human services agencies. No other
statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.
TRD-201603765

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 7. REFERRALS
40 TAC §106.1371
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted new rule is authorized by the Texas Human Re-
sources Code, Chapter 117. This new rule is adopted pursuant
to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas Govern-
ment Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides the Ex-
ecutive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to promulgate
rules for the operation of and provision of health and human
services by the health and human services agencies. No other
statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603766

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 107. DIVISION FOR
REHABILITATION SERVICES
SUBCHAPTER E. INDEPENDENT LIVING
SERVICES PROGRAM

The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC), on
behalf of the Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
(DARS), adopts the repeal of Chapter 107, Division for Reha-
bilitation Services, Subchapter E, Independent Living Services
Program, Division 1, General Information, §§107.801, 107.803,
and 107.805; Division 2, Program Requirements, §§107.907,
107.909, and 107.911; Division 3, Independent Living Services,
§107.1007 and §107.1009; and, Division 4, Consumer Partici-
pation, §107.1107.

The repeal of §§107.801, 107.803, 107.805, 107.907, 107.909,
107.911, 107.1007, 107.1009, and 107.1107 are adopted with-
out changes to the proposed text as published in the May 13,
2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3453) and will not
be republished.

BACKGROUND AND JUSTIFICATION

The repeal is being adopted pursuant to H.B. 2463, 84th Legis-
lature, Regular Session, 2015. The bill requires the integration
of independent living services for individuals who are blind or vi-
sually impaired and independent living services for individuals
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with significant disabilities. The bill further requires the indepen-
dent living services program that DARS operates under Title VII
of the federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 U.S.C. Section 796
et seq.) are directly provided by centers for independent living,
except as provided by the Texas Human Resources Code, Sec-
tion 117.080(b), and are not directly provided by the department.

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY

The sections are being repealed to create a new Chapter 104,
Independent Living Services, which will implement the integra-
tion of the independent living services. The repeals include the
following:

Division 1, General Information
Division 2, Program Requirements
Division 3, Independent Living Services
Division 4, Consumer Participation
COMMENTS

DARS did not receive any comments regarding the proposed
repeal of the sections during the comment period. DARS did
receive two comments for the new Chapter 104, Independent
Living Services. These comments are addressed in the adoption
preamble for Chapter 104, which is published elsewhere in this
issue.

DIVISION 1. GENERAL INFORMATION
40 TAC §§107.801, 107.803, 107.805
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted repeals are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These repeals are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603767

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ 14 ¢

DIVISION 2.  PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS
40 TAC §§107.907, 107.909, 107.911
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted repeals are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These repeals are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides

the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603768

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. INDEPENDENT LIVING

SERVICES

40 TAC §107.1007, §107.1009
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted repeals are authorized by the Texas Human
Resources Code, Chapter 117. These repeals are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603769

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 4. CONSUMER PARTICIPATION
40 TAC §107.1107
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The adopted repeal is authorized by the Texas Human Re-
sources Code, Chapter 117. These repeals are adopted
pursuant to HHSC's statutory rulemaking authority under Texas
Government Code, Chapter 531, §531.0055(e), which provides
the Executive Commissioner of HHSC with the authority to
promulgate rules for the operation of and provision of health and
human services by the health and human services agencies.
No other statute, article, or code is affected by this adoption.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 29, 2016.

TRD-201603770

Sylvia F. Hardman

General Counsel

Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services
Effective date: August 31, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 424-4050

¢ ¢ ¢

PART 19. DEPARTMENT OF FAMILY
AND PROTECTIVE SERVICES

CHAPTER 700. CHILD PROTECTIVE
SERVICES

SUBCHAPTER D. SCHOOL INVESTIGATIONS
40 TAC §§700.401 - 700.412

The Health and Human Services Commission adopts, on behalf
of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS),
amendments to §§700.401 - 700.412, concerning school inves-
tigations, in Chapter 700, Child Protective Services (CPS), with-
out changes to the proposed text published in the May 20, 2016,
issue of the Texas Register (41 Tex Reg 3630).

The justification of the amendments is to comply with legislative
changes from the most recent legislative session. Senate Bill
(SB) 206, enacted during the 84th Regular Session of the Texas
Legislature, amended Texas Family Code §261.406(b) regard-
ing entities that must be notified when DFPS completes an in-
vestigation of alleged abuse or neglect of a child by school per-
sonnel or volunteers in a school setting. Prior law mandated that
upon completion of a school investigation, DFPS send a copy of
the investigation report to the Texas Education Agency (TEA),
the State Board for Educator Certification, the local school board
or the school's governing body, the superintendent of the school
district, and the school principal or director (unless the principal
or director is alleged to have committed the abuse and neglect),
to allow those officials to take appropriate action. The statute
was amended to limit DFPS's duty to only providing notification
of the completed report to TEA. The rationale for the change was
that the notice requirement was unnecessarily burdensome for
CPS caseworkers and that other provisions in the Family Code
already contained more appropriate reporting provisions to en-
sure proper steps are taken to notify any entity within the school
hierarchy as necessary to protect a child from potential harm.
The entities other than TEA may still receive copies of the com-
pleted report upon request.

In addition, minor edits were made to update and "clean-up" the
current rules.

The amendment to §700.401: (1) clarifies that CPS inves-
tigates abuse and neglect in a school setting as defined in
§700.402(a)(2) of this title (relating to What do the terms used
in this subchapter mean when Child Protective Services in-
vestigates reports of child abuse and neglect in a school?);
(2) updates the rule to a question and answer format; and

(3) updates the name of the department to the Department of
Family and Protective Services.

The amendment to §700.402: (1) clarifies which terms and def-
initions only apply to school investigations and which terms and
definitions apply to school investigations as well as investiga-
tions that are not conducted in a school setting; (2) deletes terms
and definitions that are already defined in Subchapter E of this
chapter (relating to Intake, Investigation, and Assessment In-
vestigations); (3) updates the definition of school personnel and
volunteers to persons who have access to children in a school
setting and are providing services to or caring for children (4)
clarifies that a school setting for purposes of a Child Protec-
tive Services school investigation does not include school set-
tings involving only children in facilities of the Texas Department
of Aging and Disability Services and the Texas Department of
State Health Services when the facility contracts with the local
school district to provide educational services and does not in-
clude school settings that are a part of childcare operations reg-
ulated by the Child Care Licensing division of the Texas Depart-
ment of Family and Protective Services (DFPS); (5) updates the
definition of a reporter as the person who makes a report of child
abuse or neglect to DFPS or a law enforcement agency; (6) adds
the definition for alleged victim; (7) updates the rule to a question
and answer format; and (8) reorganizes the structure of the rule.

The amendment to §700.403: (1) deletes the definition of "rea-
sonable physical discipline" as it is already defined in Subchap-
ter E of this chapter; (2) rewrites subsection (b) to clarify that
any action that school personnel or volunteers take to avoid im-
minent harm to the child or others should not involve acts of un-
necessary force or inappropriate use of restraints or seclusion;
(3) adds a new subsection (c) to clarify that notwithstanding sub-
section (b), which concerns acts that are not considered abuse
and neglect in a school setting, allegations that otherwise meet
the definition of abuse or neglect will be investigated by the de-
partment; (4) updates the rule to a question and answer format;
and (5) updates a citation in subsection (a).

The amendment to §700.404: (1) updates the rule to a question
and answer format; (2) updates a citation in subsection (a)(1);
and (3) updates the name of the department to the Department
of Family and Protective Services in subsection (a)(6).

The amendment to §700.405: (1) updates the rule to a question
and answer format; and (2) and clarifies that Child Protective
Services is not the only division in the Department of Family and
Protective Services that provides notice to law enforcement of a
report of child abuse or neglect occurring in a school setting.

The amendment to §700.406: (1) updates the rule to a ques-
tion and answer format; (2) clarifies that in addition to a CPS
supervisor, an Investigation Screener may also review intake re-
ports and approve or change the initial priority and action rec-
ommended for the report; and (3) changes Child Protective Ser-
vices (CPS) to the Department of Family and Protective Services
(DFPS) to clarify that CPS is not the only division of DFPS that
assigns priorities for investigations.

The amendment to §700.407 updates the rule to a question and
answer format.

The amendment to §700.408: (1) updates the rule to a question
and answer format; (2) clarifies that investigative action and su-
pervisor approval of an investigation must be completed within
30 calendar days and 10 calendar days respectively; (3) adds a
citation from rule §700.507 of this title (relating to Response to
Allegations of Abuse or Neglect) in subsection (d) to clarify when
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an investigation may be closed administratively; and (4) updates
an incorrect citation in subsection (d).

The amendment to §700.409: (1) clarifies that interviews and
examinations conducted in a school investigation must follow all
applicable standards; (2) clarifies that appropriate school per-
sonnel must be notified when the investigator interviews and ex-
amines a child on school premises; (3) updates the rule to a
question and answer format; and (4) updates the name of the
department to the Department of Family and Protective Services
in subsection (a).

The amendment to §700.410 are non-substantive and include
updating the rule to a question and answer format.

The amendment to §700.411: (1) updates the rule to clarify that
DFPS is only mandated to send a copy of the completed report of
the investigation to the Texas Education Agency (TEA) and that
DFPS will send a copy of the report to State Board for Educa-
tion Certification, the president of the local school board or local
governing body for the school, the superintendent of the school
district, and the school principal only upon request; (2) adds new
subsection (b) to notify the entities other than TEA that they can
find information on obtaining a redacted copy of the report from
the DFPS public website; (3) new subsection (c) clarifies that
when the overall investigation disposition is "reason-to-believe in
an investigation in a school under the jurisdiction of TEA, the re-
port of the investigation must include information about the des-
ignated perpetrator's right to challenge the disposition through
the Office of Consumer Affairs review process, in addition to an
administrative review of the investigation findings; (4) new sub-
section (d) clarifies that after the completion of an investigation of
a school that is not under the jurisdiction of TEA, DFPS does not
release the results of the investigation to persons having control
over the designated perpetrator's access to children, but instead
follows the provisions in Subchapter F of this chapter (relating to
Release Hearings) prior to releasing the results of the investiga-
tion; (5) changes Child Protective Services (CPS) to Department
of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) throughout the rule to
clarify that CPS is not the only agency in DFPS that provides no-
tification to school officials when a school investigation is closed;
(6) updates the department's name to the Department of Family
and Protective Services in subsection (e); and (7) updates the
rule to a question and answer format.

The amendment to §700.412: (1) updates the rule to a question
and answer format; (2) updates a citation within the rule; and
(3) changes Child Protective Services to Department of Family
and Protective Services (DFPS) to clarify that other divisions in
DFPS are involved in notifying school and non-school entities
when a school investigation is closed.

The sections will function so that the public will have a better
understanding of what constitutes abuse and neglect in a school
setting and how DFPS investigates abuse and neglect in a
school setting. In addition, the amendment to §700.411, which
will require DFPS to send a copy of the completed investigation
report in a school investigation to TEA only, rather than several
other entities with the knowledge that the other entities already
communicate with each other and still have the option of re-
questing the report, will allow caseworkers to spend more time
on other pertinent issues.

No comments were received regarding adoption of the section.

The amendments are adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-

missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment to §700.409 implements Texas Family Code
§261.303. The amendment to §700.411 implements revised
Texas Family Code §261.406(b).

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 28, 2016.
TRD-201603731

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services

Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-4358

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER Q. PURCHASED PROTECTIVE
SERVICES
DIVISION 1.
CONTRACTS
40 TAC §700.1701

The Health and Human Services Commission adopts, on behalf
of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS),
new §700.1701, in Chapter 700, concerning Child Protective
Services without changes to the proposed text published in the
May 20, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 Tex Reg 3635).
The text of this rule will not be republished.

RESIDENTIAL CHILD-CARE

The justification of the new section is to comply with the man-
dates of Senate Bill 830 from the 84th Texas Legislature, Reg-
ular Session 2015, which amended Chapter 531 of the Texas
Government Code by adding Subchapter Y and also amended
§40.0041 of the Human Resources Code by adding Subsections
(9) and (h) concerning the Ombudsman For Children and Youth
in Foster Care. Pursuant to the bill, the Health and Human Ser-
vices Commission was tasked with appointing an ombudsman
for children and youth in the conservatorship of DFPS to serve
as a neutral party in assisting the children and youth with com-
plaints regarding issues concerning any Health and Human Ser-
vices (HHSC) agency, including DFPS.

The summary of the changes is as follows:

New §700.1701: (1) specifies in subsection (a) that residential
child-care facilities that care for children in the conservatorship of
DFPS must prominently display a sign produced by DFPS or the
Ombudsman For Children and Youth in Foster Care related to
the existence and contact information for the ombudsman office;
and (2) specifies in subsection (b) that the residential child care
facilities must implement procedures to allow children and youth
in the conservatorship of DFPS to make complaints in private or
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in a space that is separate from facility staff, volunteers, or the
foster family.

The Department discussed the rule proposal and collaborated
with HHSC's Office of the Ombudsman prior to drafting the rules.
Additional stakeholder input will be obtained during the public
comment period for the rules.

The new section will function so that children and youth in foster
care will have an avenue to make complaints regarding any is-
sues or concerns they have while in foster care to an entity that
is independent of DFPS in order to ensure that their rights are
protected.

No comments were received regarding adoption of the section.

The new section is adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The new section implements Texas Human Resources Code
§40.0041.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 26, 2016.

TRD-201603680

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 929-6739

¢ L4 ¢
CHAPTER 702. GENERAL ADMINISTRATION

The Health and Human Services Commission adopts, on behalf
of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS),
amendments to §§702.801, 702.811, 702.813, 702.841,
702.843, 702.845, 702.847, and 702.849; repeal of §§702.815,
702.817, 702.819, 702.821, 702.823, and 702.825; and new
§§702.815, 702.817, 702.819, 702.821, 702.823, 702.825,
702.827, and 702.829, in Chapter 702, concerning General
Administration, without changes to the proposed text published
in the May 20, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg
3636). The text of the rules will not be republished.

The justification of the amendments, repeals, and new sections
is to comply with the mandates of Senate Bill 830 from the
84th Texas Legislature, Regular Session 2015, which amended
Chapter 531 of the Texas Government Code by adding Sub-
chapter Y and also amended Section 40.0041 of the Human
Resources Code by adding Subsections (g) and (h) concerning
the Ombudsman For Children and Youth in Foster Care.

Pursuant to the bill, the Health and Human Services Commission
(HHSC) was tasked with appointing an ombudsman for children
and youth in the conservatorship of DFPS to serve as a neutral
party in assisting the children and youth with complaints regard-
ing issues concerning any HHSC agency, including DFPS. Pur-
suant to the bill, the following new rules are being adopted:

(1) New rule §702.815 which clarifies that a current foster child
or youth may file complaints with the Ombudsman For Children
and Youth in Foster Care and explains the types of issues for
which the foster children or youth may file a complaint and seek
assistance from the office.

(2) New rule §702.817 which explains how DFPS will assist the
Ombudsman for Children and Youth in Foster Care in reviewing
and investigating complaints.

In addition to the above changes, the purpose of the amend-
ments and repeals to Subchapter | of this chapter is also to up-
date the rules where they are no longer accurate, as the rules
were last updated in 2002. The updates seek to conform the
rules to the Office of Consumer Affairs' (OCA's) current practice
and policy concerning its process for receiving and reviewing
complaints regarding case-specific activities of the DFPS pro-
gram areas as well as reviewing substantiated findings of child
abuse or neglect.

The summary of the changes is as follows:

The amendment to §702.801: (1) clarifies that OCA only reviews
designated perpetrator findings for child abuse and neglect alle-
gations; and (2) updates the name of the department and OCA.

The amendment to §702.811 updates the names of the depart-
ment and OCA as well as the link to the DFPS public website.

The amendment to §702.813 clarifies that the following individ-
uals may file complaints with OCA, in addition to the individuals
already listed in the rule: (1) consumers, service recipients, and
persons or entities regulated by DFPS who have a concern or
complaint regarding a specific case; (2) individuals from the pub-
lic who have a concern or complaint regarding a specific case,
including but not limited to extended family, friends of the family,
or foster parents; (3) other state agencies when the complaint
is regarding a specific case; (4) government officials, including
judges; and (5) former foster children or youth, including youth
that are 18 years of age or older and are in extended foster care.
The rule also updates the names of the department and OCA.

Section 702.815 is being repealed and incorporated into new
§702.819.

New §702.815 explains (1) that children and youth under 18
years of age that are currently in the conservatorship of DFPS
may file complaints with HHSC's Ombudsman For Children and
Youth in Foster Care regarding any issues that are within the
authority of any agency under HHSC, including DFPS, and fur-
ther provides the various methods of contacting the office to file
a complaint; (2) that current foster youth and children may also
contact the office to seek assistance in reporting allegations of
abuse or neglect to DFPS.

Section 702.817 is being repealed and incorporated into new
§702.821.

New §702.817 explains that DFPS will assist the Ombudsman
For Children and

Youth in Foster Care in reviewing and investigating complaints
filed by current foster children and youth by: (1) collaborating
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with the office to develop and implement an annual outreach
plan to promote awareness of the office among the youth and
children; (2) providing the office with access to DFPS records
relating to complaints, cooperating with the office in responding
to questions that the office may have regarding complaints, and
providing information requested by the office in order to assist in
resolving complaints; and (3) cooperating with the office to cre-
ate consequences, based on the circumstances of the complaint
and the severity of the retaliation, for any person who is found to
have retaliated against a child or youth in the conservatorship of
DFPS because of a complaint made to the office.

Section 702.819 is being repealed and incorporated into new
§702.823.

New §702.819 incorporates the contents of repealed §702.815
except for the following changes: (1) clarifies that the Review
of Perpetrator Designation is only available for substantiated
child abuse and neglect findings; (2) clarifies that the complaint
process is not available for complaints related to civil rights
issues and DFPS personnel issues, or when OCA determines
that a review of the complaint would interfere with an ongoing
litigation, investigation, or prosecution; (3) updates the title of
the rule; and (4) updates the names of the department and OCA.

Section 702.821 is being repealed and incorporated into new
§702.825.

New §702.821 incorporates the contents of repealed §702.817
except for the following changes: (1) updates OCA's toll-free
number, fax number, email, and link to the DFPS public web-
site for purposes of contacting OCA to file a complaint; and (2)
updates the names of the department and OCA.

Section 702.823 is being repealed and incorporated into new
§702.827.

New §702.823 incorporates the contents of repealed §702.819
except that the names of the department and OCA have been
updated.

New §702.825 incorporates the contents of repealed §702.821
except for the following changes: (1) updates the rule to clarify
that the Office of Consumer Affairs provides the complainant in-
formation by mail or telephone regarding the procedure for inves-
tigating and resolving a complaint; and (2) updates the names of
the department and OCA.

Section 702.827 is being repealed and incorporated into new
§702.823.

New §702.827 incorporates the contents of repealed §702.823
except for the following changes: (1) clarifies that OCA reviews
complaints to determine whether applicable rule and statute
were violated in addition to DFPS's policies and procedures;
(2) clarifies that OCA adheres to confidentiality requirements
specified in state and federal law in addition to the Texas Open
Records Act; (3) deletes the part of subsection (a) that states
that OCA does not investigate issues in ongoing or forthcoming
litigation or when the complaint relates to a law enforcement
investigation or criminal prosecution if OCA determines it would
interfere with the litigation and investigation as it has been
incorporated into new rule §702.819; (4) clarifies that OCA
provides status information on a quarterly basis to all persons
or entities who file a complaint regarding a specific case, if there
is a pending complaint, unless the information would jeopardize
an undercover investigation; (5) updates the rule to reflect that
electronic and paper copies of OCA case files will be purged

every two years after the complaint is closed; and (6) updates
the names of the department and OCA.

New §702.829 incorporates the contents of repealed §702.825
except for the following changes: (1) clarifies that reports regard-
ing the number, type, and resolution of complaints made against
DFPS must be sent to the State Office Program Administrators,
and not the executive director; (2) updates the rule to note that
OCA also provides monthly reports to the HHSC's Office of the
Ombudsman that is included in the written report to HHSC's ex-
ecutive director; and (3) updates the names of department and
OCA.

The amendment to §702.841: (1) reflects that a Review of Per-
petrator Designation is only available for substantiated findings
of child abuse or neglect; (2) clarifies that a review is not avail-
able if the request for review is to challenge orders or findings
made by the court in which the suit affecting the parent-child
relationship has been filed, if there is pending litigation against
DFPS that relates to the designation, or if the requestor does
not otherwise qualify for a review regardless of if the requestor
qualified for an Administrative Review of Investigation Findings
(ARIF); and (3) updates the names of the department and OCA.

The amendment to §702.843: (1) updates OCA's toll-free num-
ber, fax number, email, and link to the DFPS public website for
purposes of contacting OCA to request a Review of Perpetrator
Designation; (2) clarifies that a designated perpetrator of child
abuse or neglect has 45 days from the date of the ARIF to re-
quest a review; and (3) updates the names of the department
and OCA.

The amendment to §702.845 updates the name of OCA and
deletes the timeframe for acknowledgement of a request for a
Review of Perpetrator Designation.

The amendment to §702.847 clarifies that a Review of Perpetra-
tor Designation is conducted as a desk review and updates the
names of the department and OCA.

The amendment to §702.849 reflects the current procedure OCA
follows once a Review of Perpetrator Designation is complete,
including clarifying that: (1) if OCA does not concur with the
ARIF, the ARIF documents and OCA review material are for-
warded to the CPS assistant commissioner or designee for con-
sideration; (2) if OCA and the program assistant commissioner or
designee do not agree on the disposition, the case is forwarded
to the DFPS general counsel who reviews the case and makes
the final decision as the DFPS commissioner's designee. It also
updates the names of the department and OCA.

The Department discussed the rule proposals and collaborated
with HHSC's Office of the Ombudsman prior to drafting the rules.
Additional stakeholder input will be obtained during the public
comment period for the rules.

The amendments, repeals, and new sections will function so that
children and youth in foster care will have an avenue to make
complaints regarding any issues or concerns they have while in
foster care to an entity that is independent of DFPS in order to
ensure that their rights are protected.

No comments were received regarding adoption of these sec-
tions.

SUBCHAPTER I. OFFICE OF CONSUMER
AFFAIRS SERVICES
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DIVISION 1.
AFFAIRS
40 TAC §702.801

The amendment is adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

OFFICE OF CONSUMER

The amendment generally implements Human Resources Code
§40.0041.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 26, 2016.

TRD-201603682

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 929-6739

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 2. OFFICE OF CONSUMER
AFFAIRS COMPLAINT PROCESS

40 TAC §§702.811, 702.813, 702.815, 702.817, 702.819,
702.821, 702.823, 702.825, 702.827, 702.829

The amendments and new sections are adopted under Human
Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services
Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation
and provision of services by the health and human services
agencies, including the Department of Family and Protective
Services; and HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family and
Protective Services Council shall study and make recommen-
dations to the Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner
regarding rules governing the delivery of services to persons
who are served or regulated by the department.

The amendments and new sections implement Texas Govern-
ment Code §§531.992; 531.993; 531.995 and Texas Human Re-
sources Code §40.0041.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 26, 2016.
TRD-201603683

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 929-6739

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 2.  OMBUDSMAN COMPLAINT
PROCESS

40 TAC §§702.815, 702.817, 702.819, 702.821, 702.823,
702.825

The repeals are adopted under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-
vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department.

The repeals generally implement Human Resources Code
§40.0041.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 26, 2016.

TRD-201603684

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 929-6739

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 3. OFFICE OF CONSUMER
AFFAIRS REVIEW OF PERPETRATOR
DESIGNATION

40 TAC §§702.841, 702.843, 702.845, 702.847, 702.849

The amendments are adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment generally implements Human Resources Code
§40.0041.
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 26, 2016.

TRD-201603685

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 929-6739

¢ ¢ ¢

CHAPTER 711. INVESTIGATIONS IN DADS
AND DSHS FACILITIES AND RELATED
PROGRAMS

SUBCHAPTER O. EMPLOYEE MISCONDUCT
REGISTRY

The Health and Human Services Commission adopts, on
behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Services
(DFPS), amendments to §§711.1402, 711.1404, 711.1408,
711.1413, 711.1414, 711.1415, 711.1417, 711.1427, 711.1429,
711.1431, 711.1432, and 711.1434, the repeal of §711.1406
and §711.1411, and new §711.1406 in Chapter 711, concerning
Investigations in Department of Aging and Disability Services
(DADS) and Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Fa-
cilities and Related Programs, without changes to the proposed
text published in the May 20, 2016, issue of the Texas Register
(41 TexReg 3646).

The justification of the amendments, new section and repeals is
to update the terminology and process requirements regarding
the due process rights of an employee prior to placement on the
Emergency Misconduct Registry (EMR).

The EMR is a publicly available, searchable database main-
tained by the Department of Aging and Disability Services pur-
suant to Chapter 253 of the Texas Health and Safety Code. The
EMR is a list of persons who are not permitted to work in cer-
tain settings because they have been found to have committed
reportable conduct. A finding of reportable conduct is a finding
that an employee has been found to have committed certain,
more serious abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a person who is
elderly or a person with a disability.

Under authority in Chapter 48 of the Texas Human Resources
Code, Subchapter I, DFPS is required to submit the names of
certain employees whom Adult Protective Services (APS) has
determined committed reportable conduct to DADS for place-
ment on the EMR. If APS determines an employee has commit-
ted reportable conduct, the employee is offered a due process
hearing prior to placement on the EMR, and if the finding is up-
held, the employee is given an opportunity to file for judicial re-
view of the finding.

The changes make APS' requirements consistent with governing
Texas law, the Administrative Procedure Act, found in Chapter
2001 of the Texas Government Code. In addition, they standard-
ize terminology so that the employee's administrative remedies
are more clearly explained. They also make modest updates
to reflect changes enacted in the 84th Regular Session of the

Texas legislature that expanded APS' investigative scope and
jurisdiction in certain settings, including some settings in which
employees are eligible for potential placement on the EMR. Fi-
nally, the changes streamline unnecessary provisions out of the
subchapter so that it is easier to follow.

A summary of the changes follows:

Amendment to §711.1402 removes definitions of terms not used
in the subchapter and updates definitions for changes made in
84th Regular Session, including changes in Senate Bill (SB)
1880 and SB 760: (1) makes definition of "agency" consistent
with law; (2) updates terminology from "facility investigation" to
"provider investigation" and clarifies meaning; (3) adds definition
of "individual receiving services"; and (4) renumbers and makes
minor edits.

Amendments to §711.1404: (1) updates section title so that it
is comprehensive; and (2) modifies sections defining physical
abuse, sexual abuse, emotional or verbal abuse, neglect, ex-
ploitation and financial exploitation for in-home and provider in-
vestigations by referring to the identical definitions already in
rule. Specifically, for in-home investigations the operative terms
are defined in 40 TAC Chapter 705, Subchapter A. For provider
investigations the operative terms are defined in Subchapter A
of Chapter 711. Rather than repeat the definitions in full, rules
were modified to refer back to the definitions in other provisions
of the rules.

The repeal of §711.1406 modifies definitions for provider inves-
tigations as described above and combines the remaining sub-
section into §711.1404 of this chapter.

New §711.1406 adds clarity regarding the meaning of the term
"agency", the employees of which are potentially subject to the
EMR.

Amendment to §711.1408 has minor rewording for clarity and
consistency.

The repeal of §711.1411 deletes unnecessary provision as the
substance of the rule is also covered in §711.1432 of this chapter.

Amendment to §711.1413: (1) clarifies terminology regarding the
"appeal" of a finding of reportable conduct. Terminology was
used inconsistently to refer both to the EMR hearing as well as a
subsequent request for judicial review; and (2) adds a provision
to the notice of finding letter for an employee who is found to
have committed reportable conduct, requiring the employee to
keep DFPS informed of the employee's current employment and
residential contact information.

Amendment to §711.1414: (1) updates terminology; shortens
and clarifies provision; and (2) adds requirement that the em-
ployee is responsible for providing DFPS with current telephone
numbers in addition to the physical address the employee is al-
ready required to provide to DFPS.

Amendment to §711.1415 updates terminology regarding EMR
hearings for consistency.

Amendment to §711.1417 updates terminology regarding EMR
hearings for consistency.

Amendment to §711.1427 adds requirement that the costs of
transcribing testimony from an EMR hearing be paid by the em-
ployee seeking judicial review unless the employee establishes
indigence.

Amendment to §711.1429 updates terminology and cross-refer-
ence.
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Amendment to §711.1431 makes timelines and requirements for
requesting judicial review of a finding of reportable conduct con-
sistent with the Texas Administrative Procedure Act. Specifically:
(1) makes the filing of a timely motion for rehearing in accordance
with Subchapters F and G of Government Code Chapter 2001 a
prerequisite to judicial review; (2) updates the guidance regard-
ing seeking judicial review by referring to the operative law on
point, Subchapters F and G of Government Code Chapter 2001;
and (3) clarifies the time frame for reporting a finding to the EMR
after an order becomes final.

Amendment to §711.1432 provides clarity regarding the exhaus-
tion of an employee's administrative remedies and DFPS' ac-
tions once those rights have been exhausted.

Amendment to §711.1434 updates terminology.

The amendments, new section and repeals will function so that
employees who are potentially subject to the EMR will have a
better understanding of the process for disputing a finding made
against them that is eligible for the EMR. In addition, employers
will have a greater understanding of the process that may lead
to an employee's placement on the EMR.

No comments were received regarding adoption of the sections.

40 TAC §§711.1402, 711.1404, 711.1406, 711.1408, 711.1413
- 711.1415, 711.1417, 711.1427, 711.1429, 711.1431,
711.1432, 711.1434

The amendments and new section are adopted under Human
Resources Code (HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code
§531.0055, which provide that the Health and Human Services
Executive Commissioner shall adopt rules for the operation
and provision of services by the health and human services
agencies, including the Department of Family and Protective
Services; and HRC §40.021, which provides that the Family and
Protective Services Council shall study and make recommen-
dations to the Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner
regarding rules governing the delivery of services to persons
who are served or regulated by the department.

The amendments and new section implement Human Re-
sources Code §§48.401 - 48.408.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 25, 2016.

TRD-201603660

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: August 14, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854

¢ ¢ ¢
40 TAC §711.1406, §711.1411

The repeals are adopted under Human Resources Code (HRC)
§40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which provide that
the Health and Human Services Executive Commissioner shall
adopt rules for the operation and provision of services by the
health and human services agencies, including the Department
of Family and Protective Services; and HRC §40.021, which pro-

vides that the Family and Protective Services Council shall study
and make recommendations to the Executive Commissioner and
the Commissioner regarding rules governing the delivery of ser-
vices to persons who are served or regulated by the department

The repeals implement Human Resources Code §§48.401 -
48.408.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 25, 2016.

TRD-201603661

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: August 14, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 20, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854

¢ L4 ¢
CHAPTER 745. LICENSING

The Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) adopts,
on behalf of the Department of Family and Protective Services
(DFPS), amendments to §§745.21, 745.243, 745.301, 745.303,
745.321, 745341, 745.343, 745.345, 745.347, 745.351,
745.385, 745.403, 745.439, and 745.8521; and new §§745.471,
745.473, 745.475, 745.477, 745.479, 745.481, 745.483, and
745.485. The sections are adopted without changes to the
proposed text as published in the May 27, 2016, issue of the
Texas Register (41 TexReg 3889) and will not be republished.

The justification of the revisions are needed to: (1) implement
recommendations the Sunset Advisory Commission made in the
Department of Family and Protective Services Staff Report with
Commission Decisions published in August 2014, and required
by Senate Bill (S.B.) 206, Sections 77, 78, and 79, that was
passed by the 84th Texas Legislature in 2015 relating to the re-
newal of permits; (2) make conforming changes in Subchapters
D and K relating to the implementation of a renewal process; and
(3) make other clarifying changes and updates to Subchapters
A and D of this chapter, as part of Licensing's comprehensive
review of all Licensing rules and minimum standards.

S.B. 206 amended §§42.048, 42.050, and 42.052 of the Human
Resources Code (HRC). The amended statute requires a re-
newal process for child care licenses, certifications, and registra-
tions and directs DFPS to develop rules relating to: (1) renewal
periods; (2) a process for staggered renewals; (3) a process for
resolving a late application for renewal; (4) expiration dates; and
(5) conditions for renewal.

A summary of the changes related to permit renewal includes:
(1) defining the terms "full license," "full permit," and "initial li-
cense;" (2) removing references to a "non-expiring" permit or li-
cense; (3) requiring the renewal of a full license, certificate, and
registration every two years to avoid expiration; (4) designating
a "renewal period" during which the operation is to apply for re-
newal of its permit; (5) allowing an operation 30 additional days
after the renewal period to apply for renewal if the operation is
late in applying; (6) staggering the renewals so that all affected
operations would not have to renew their permits at the same
time; (7) outlining what an operation must submit as part of a
renewal application; (8) detailing what happens after Licensing
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receives a renewal application; (9) explaining under what circum-
stances a permit expires and how an expired permit affects an
operation; (10) adding language to indicate a full license is effec-
tive as long as it has not expired; (11) clarifying that a permit is
subject to renewal requirements even if an enforcement action
is being taken by Licensing; (12) requiring a registered home or
licensed operation to apply for renewal if the permit is due for
renewal while it is voluntarily suspended; and (13) requiring an
operation to post the written notice of the permit's renewal.

DFPS also requested HHSC to propose changes to Subchap-
ter D of this chapter (relating to Application Process), that were
not related to permit renewal. HRC §42.042(b) requires DFPS
to evaluate rules at least every six years. In addition, part of Li-
censing's business plan is to review, analyze, and update rules
to strengthen the protection of children in out-of-home care and
improve providers' understanding of the rules. DFPS revised
some of the rules in Subchapter D to clarify and update them with
current laws and practices in the industry. DFPS has requested
HHSC to propose rule changes to the remaining Subchapters in
Chapter 745 at a later date.

A summary of the changes not related to permit renewal that
were proposed in these rules, include: (1) adding references to
"shelter care" to several rules applicable to shelter care oper-
ations that lacked those references; (2) clarifying the definition
for the term "regulation;" (3) adding items to the lists of required
application materials in order to be consistent with other rule
changes that have been made or are being proposed in other
rule packets; (4) removing the initial license fee as an item re-
quired for a completed application for a license because the fee
will be required for issuance of an initial permit; (5) clarifying
that Licensing's 10-day time frame for reviewing an application
pertains to an application for a compliance certificate; (6) clar-
ifying that an applicant for a compliance certificate has unlim-
ited attempts to submit all of the information and material that
is required for Licensing to accept an application; (7) clarifying
when Licensing issues an initial license; (8) replacing "initial per-
mit' with "initial license;" (9) removing outdated language that no
longer is applicable; and (10) making minor corrections to im-
prove the reader's understanding of the subject matter or to im-
prove sentence flow.

A summary of the changes follows:

The amendment to §745.21: (1) adds references to "shelter care
operations" to several definitions that lacked those references;
(2) defines the terms "full license," "full permit," and "initial li-
cense"; and (3) clarifies the definition of "regulation.”

The amendment to §745.243: (1) adds items to the lists of re-
quired application materials in order to be consistent with other
rule changes that have been made or are being proposed in
other rule packets; (2) removes the initial license fee as an item
required for a completed application for a license (changes to
§745.345 of this chapter proposed in this packet require the ini-
tial license fee be paid prior to issuance of the initial permit); and
(3) makes minor corrections to improve the reader's understand-
ing of the subject matter.

The amendment to §745.301: (1) clarifies that Licensing's
10-day time frame for reviewing an application pertains to both
temporary shelter and employer-based child care operations
by replacing "employer-based child care" with "compliance
certificate;" and (2) makes minor corrections to improve the
sentence flow.

The amendment to §745.303 clarifies that an applicant for a com-
pliance certificate has unlimited attempts to submit a completed
application. The childcare at these operations is derivative of a
broader purpose; for example, a domestic violence shelter may
have an on-site daycare so that a mother will be able to search
for employment or a home. Moreover, Subchapters F and G,
HRC, require a streamlined application process for compliance
certificates.

The amendment to §745.321: (1) adds "shelter care" to the same
places where employer-based child care is referenced since the
requirements are the same for both; and (2) makes minor cor-
rections to improve the sentence flow.

The amendment to §745.341: (1) removes the term "non-expir-
ing permit" and includes the terms "initial license," "full license,"
and "full permit" that were added to §745.21 of this chapter; and
(2) adds a reference to "shelter care operations" to the list of op-
erations that receive a full permit.

The amendment to §745.343: (1) removes the term "non-ex-
piring permit" and includes the terms "initial license" and "full
license;" and (2) adds language to indicate a full license is ef-
fective as long as it has not expired.

The amendment to §745.345: (1) clarifies when Licensing issues
an initial license; (2) replaces "initial permit' with "initial license;"
and (3) makes minor corrections to improve the reader's under-
standing of the subject matter.

The amendment to §745.347: (1) replaces "initial permit' with
"initial license;" (2) replaces "non-expiring permit" with "full li-
cense;" and (3) makes a minor correction to improve the sen-
tence flow.

The amendment to §745.351: (1) replaces "initial permit' with
"initial license;" (2) replaces "non-expiring permit" with "full li-
cense;" and (3) makes a minor correction to improve the reader's
understanding of the subject matter.

The amendment to §745.385 adds language to indicate a license
or certificate expires.

The amendment to §745.403 removes outdated references to
timeframes that are no longer applicable.

The amendment to §745.439 adds a reference to a "shelter
care operation" to ensure shelter care operations are treated
the same as employer-based child care operations since they
have the same type of permit.

New §745.471: (1) indicates a full license, certificate, or registra-
tion will expire if it is not renewed; and (2) conveys that there are
no renewal requirements for a compliance certificate or listing.

New §745.473: (1) requires an operation with a permit that re-
quires renewal to apply for its renewal every two years; (2) des-
ignates a time frame for the operation's "renewal period" during
which the operation is to apply for renewal of its permit; (3) allows
an operation 30 additional days after the renewal period to apply
for renewal if the operation is late in applying for renewal; and
(4) creates a staggered renewal schedule for existing operations
and operations that receive a permit on or after the effective date
of these rules.

New §745.475: (1) requires a completed renewal application in
order for Licensing to evaluate a permit for renewal; and (2) in-
dicates what the operation must submit to Licensing in order for
the application to be complete.
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New §745.477: (1) details what happens after Licensing
receives a renewal application; (2) indicates Licensing will
evaluate whether the criteria for renewal are met; (3) indicates
how and when Licensing will notify the operation that Licensing
has approved the renewal of the permit or that the renewal
application is incomplete; (4) allows the operation unlimited
attempts to submit any missing information and to correct the
deficiencies during the renewal period; (5) allows the operation
15 days to submit a completed application from the date it was
rejected if the application was submitted during the late renewal
period; and (6) provides that CCL may exceed the 15-day limit
for good cause.

New §745.479 requires the operation to post the notice of the
permit's renewal at the operation.

New §745.481 explains when a permit expires.

New §745.483: (1) requires an operation to cease operating im-
mediately if its permit expires; and (2) requires an operation to
submit a new application (as required by §745.243 of this chap-
ter) and pay any necessary fees before resuming operation.

New §745.485 clarifies that a permit is subject to renewal re-
quirements even if Licensing is taking an enforcement action.

The amendment to §745.8521: (1) replaces "non-expiring per-
mit" with "registration or full license;" and (2) requires a regis-
tered home or licensed operation to apply for renewal if the per-
mit is due for renewal while it is voluntarily suspended.

While developing the proposed rules for this packet, CCL re-
ceived feedback from two different workgroups: (1) Between
June and September 2015, CCL staff from different areas of
the program and parts of the state met three times to develop
the renewal policy that would later be incorporated into rule for-
mat; and (2) On February 2, 2016, CCL met with a workgroup
of providers to discuss what renewal policy was developed and
how providers would be affected and Licensing incorporated the
workgroup's recommendations into the proposed rules.

The sections will function by enforcing these sections so that
the safety of children in care and the quality of their care will be
improved.

No comments were received regarding the adoption of these
rules.

SUBCHAPTER A. PRECEDENCE AND
DEFINITIONS
DIVISION 3.
40 TAC §745.21

The amendment is adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §42.042.

DEFINITIONS FOR LICENSING

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603806

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: December 1, 2017

Proposal publication date: May 27, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. APPLICATION PROCESS
DIVISION 3. SUBMITTING THE
APPLICATION MATERIALS

40 TAC §745.243

The amendment is adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §42.042.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603807

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: December 1, 2017

Proposal publication date: May 27, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 5. ACCEPTING OR RETURNING
THE APPLICATION
40 TAC §745.301, §745.303

The amendments are adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
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governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendments implement HRC §42.042.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603808

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 27, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 6. REVIEWING THE APPLICATION
FOR COMPLIANCE WITH MINIMUM
STANDARDS, RULES, AND STATUTES

40 TAC §745.321

The amendment is adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §42.042.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603809

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 27, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 7. THE DECISION TO ISSUE OR
DENY A PERMIT

40 TAC §§745.341, 745.343, 745.345, 745.347, 745.351

The amendments are adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including

the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendments implement HRC §§42.042, 42.048, 42.050,
and 42.052.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603810

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: December 1, 2017

Proposal publication date: May 27, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 8. DUAL AND MULTIPLE PERMITS

40 TAC §745.385

The amendment is adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §§42.042, 42.048, 42.050,
and 42.052.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603811

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: December 1, 2017

Proposal publication date: May 27, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 9. REAPPLYING FOR A PERMIT
40 TAC §745.403

The amendment is adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
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services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §42.042.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603812

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 27, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 10. RELOCATION OF OPERATION
40 TAC §745.439

The amendment is adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §42.042.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603813

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: September 1, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 27, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

DIVISION 12. PERMIT RENEWAL

40 TAC §§745.471, 745.473, 745.475, 745.477, 745.479,
745.481, 745.483, 745.485

The new sections are adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of

services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The new sections implement HRC §§42.042, 42.048, 42.050,
and 42.052.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603815

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: December 1, 2017

Proposal publication date: May 27, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER K. INSPECTIONS AND
INVESTIGATIONS

DIVISION 4. VOLUNTARY ACTIONS
40 TAC §745.8521

The amendment is adopted under Human Resources Code
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of
services by the health and human services agencies, including
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or
regulated by the department.

The amendment implements HRC §§42.042, 42.048, 42.050,
and 42.052.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on August 1, 2016.

TRD-201603816

Trevor Woodruff

General Counsel

Department of Family and Protective Services
Effective date: December 1, 2017

Proposal publication date: May 27, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 438-5836

¢ ¢ ¢
TITLE 43. TRANSPORTATION
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PART 1. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF
TRANSPORTATION

CHAPTER 1. MANAGEMENT

The Texas Department of Transportation (department) adopts
amendments to §1.4, Public Access to Commission Meetings;
§1.5, Public Hearings; and §1.11, Petition, concerning manage-
ment of the department. The amendments to §§1.4, 1.5and 1.11
are adopted without changes to the proposed text as published
in the May 13, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg
3454) and will not be republished.

EXPLANATION OF ADOPTED AMENDMENTS

Government Code, §2001.039 requires a state agency to review
each of its rules every four years or more frequently and, as the
result of the review, to decide whether to readopt, amend, or re-
peal the rule. In the course of reviewing 43 TAC Chapter 1, the
department identified several changes that need to be made as
technical corrections of the rules or to accurately reflect proce-
dures currently being followed by the department.

Amendments to §1.4, Public Access to Commission Meetings,
correct information related to special accommodations. Subsec-
tion (e) is amended to clarify that requests for disability accom-
modations should be made to the person or office specified in the
notice of the hearing and to extend the period of prior notice to
the department, so that appropriate arrangements can be made
for such a request. Each notice contains information for making
a request for a disability accommodation.

Amendments to §1.5, Public Hearings, correct the listing of rea-
sons for which the commission may hold public hearings. Cur-
rently, subsection (a)(6) provides that the commission may hold
hearings to receive comments before converting a segment of
the non-tolled state highway system to a toll project under Trans-
portation Code, §228.203. Section 228.203 was repealed by
S.B. No. 1029, Acts of the 83rd Legislature, Regular Session,
2013; therefore, subsection (a)(6) is deleted, the paragraphs of
subsection (a) are redesignated accordingly, and references to
the redesignated paragraphs are changed.

The amendments also change subsection (d) relating to dis-
ability accommodations to correspond to the changes made to
§1.4(e). The changes relate to where requests for accommoda-
tions should be directed and the period for making such a re-
quest.

Amendments to §1.11, Petition, clarify the term "interested per-
son" is subject to the limitations provided by Government Code,
§2001.021, the provision in the Administrative Procedure Act re-
lating to a petition to a state agency to request the adoption of
arule. Under §2001.021, an interested person must be a Texas
resident or a business entity, governmental subdivision, or pub-
lic or private organization located in this state. The amendments
also correct the term used for the administrative head of the de-
partment.

COMMENTS

No comments concerning the amendments to §§1.4, 1.5 and
1.11 were received.

SUBCHAPTER B. PUBLIC MEETINGS AND
HEARINGS

43 TAC §1.4, §1.5
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code,
§201.101, which provides the Texas Transportation Commission
(commission) with the authority to establish rules for the conduct
of the work of the department.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE

Government Code, Chapter 2001, Subchapter B. Transportation
Code, Sec. 228.204.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 28, 2016.

TRD-201603744

Joanne Wright

Deputy General Counsel

Texas Department of Transportation

Effective date: August 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 463-8630

¢ ¢ ¢

SUBCHAPTER D. PROCEDURE FOR
ADOPTION OF RULES

43 TAC §1.11
STATUTORY AUTHORITY

The amendments are adopted under Transportation Code,
§201.101, which provides the Texas Transportation Commission
(commission) with the authority to establish rules for the conduct
of the work of the department.

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE

Government Code, Chapter 2001, Subchapter B. Transportation
Code, Sec. 228.204.

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority.

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on July 28, 2016.

TRD-201603745

Joanne Wright

Deputy General Counsel

Texas Department of Transportation

Effective date: August 17, 2016

Proposal publication date: May 13, 2016

For further information, please call: (512) 463-8630

¢ ¢ ¢
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