
TITLE 16. ECONOMIC REGULATION 

PART 2. PUBLIC UTILITY 
COMMISSION OF TEXAS 

CHAPTER 25. SUBSTANTIVE RULES 
APPLICABLE TO ELECTRIC SERVICE 
PROVIDERS 
SUBCHAPTER S. WHOLESALE MARKETS 
16 TAC §25.507 
The Public Utility Commission of Texas (commission) proposes 
amendment to §25.507, relating to Electric Reliability Council of 
Texas (ERCOT) Emergency Response Service (ERS). The pro-
posed amendment will enable the deployment of ERS to help 
prevent or mitigate involuntary load curtailment by ERCOT in the 
event of actual or anticipated localized transmission congestion, 
and will excuse an ERS participant from ERS contractual obliga-
tions in order to permit that participant to serve as an alternative 
to a reliability-must-run agreement. Project Number 45927 is as-
signed to this proceeding. 

Mark Bryant, Senior Economist, Competitive Markets Division, 
has determined that for each year of the first five-year period the 
proposed section is in effect there will be no fiscal implications 
for state or local government as a result of enforcing or admin-
istering the section. 

Dr. Bryant has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the proposed section is in effect the public benefit antici-
pated as a result of enforcing the section will be a reduced like-
lihood of involuntary load curtailment due to localized transmis-
sion congestion and potential cost savings in the procurement 
of MRA resources. There will be no adverse economic effect 
on small businesses or micro-businesses as a result of enforc-
ing this section. Therefore, no regulatory flexibility analysis is 
required. There is no anticipated economic cost to persons who 
are required to comply with the section as proposed. 

Dr. Bryant has also determined that for each year of the first five 
years the proposed section is in effect there should be no effect 
on a local economy, and therefore no local employment impact 
statement is required under Administrative Procedure Act (APA), 
Texas Government Code §2001.022. 

The commission staff will conduct a public hearing on this rule-
making, if requested pursuant to the Administrative Procedure 
Act, Texas Government Code §2001.029, at the commission's 
offices located in the William B. Travis Building, 1701 North Con-
gress Avenue, Austin, Texas 78701 on November 30, 2016. The 
request for a public hearing must be received within 30 days af-
ter publication. 

Comments on the proposed amendment may be submitted to 
the Filing Clerk, Public Utility Commission of Texas, 1701 North 
Congress Avenue, P.O. Box 13326, Austin, Texas 78711-3326, 
within 31 days after publication. Sixteen copies of comments to 
the proposed amendment are required to be filed pursuant to 
§22.71(c) of this title. Reply comments may be submitted within 
45 days after publication. Comments should be organized in a 
manner consistent with the organization of the proposed rule. 
The commission invites specific comments regarding the costs 
associated with, and benefits that will be gained by, implementa-
tion of the proposed section. The commission will consider the 
costs and benefits in deciding whether to adopt the section. All 
comments should refer to Project Number 45927. 

This amendment is proposed under the Public Utility Regula-
tory Act, Texas Utilities Code Annotated §14.002 (West 2016) 
(PURA), which provides the Public Utility Commission with the 
authority to make and enforce rules reasonably required in the 
exercise of its powers and jurisdiction; and specifically, PURA 
§39.151, which provides the commission with the authority to 
oversee ERCOT. 

§25.507. Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) Emergency 
Response Service (ERS). 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) ERS procurement. ERCOT shall procure ERS, a special 
emergency response service that is intended to be deployed by ERCOT 
in an Energy Emergency Alert (EEA) event, or to forestall or mitigate 
involuntary load curtailment in the event of actual or anticipated local-
ized transmission congestion. 

(1) (No change.) 

(2) ERCOT may spend a maximum of $50 million per cal-
endar year on ERS. ERCOT may determine cost limits for each ERS 
contract period in order to ensure that the ERS cost cap is not exceeded. 
To minimize the cost of ERS, ERCOT may reject any offer that ER-
COT determines to be unreasonable or outside of the parameters of an 
acceptable offer. ERCOT may also reject any offer placed on behalf of 
any ERS resource if ERCOT determines that it lacks a sufficient basis 
to verify whether the ERS resource complied with ERCOT-established 
performance standards in an ERS deployment event [EEA] during the 
preceding ERS contract period. 

(c) (No change.) 

(d) Participation in ERS. In addition to requirements estab-
lished by ERCOT, the following requirements shall apply for the pro-
vision of ERS: 

(1) - (9) (No change.) 

(10) If, during an ERS contract period, the owner of a par-
ticipating ERS resource enters into an agreement with ERCOT under 
which the resource serves as an alternative to a reliability-must-run 
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(RMR) resource, the ERS resource's obligation shall be extinguished 
on the effective date of the agreement for the remainder of the contract 
period for all hours in any ERS time period that coincides in part or in 
whole with any hours for which the resource is obligated to provide ser-
vice as an RMR alternative. The QSE representing the resource shall 
receive no payment for that resource for such ERS time periods for the 
remainder of the ERS contract period. Any ERS resource or group of 
sites in an ERS resource that is obligated to provide ERS for the pur-
pose of addressing local congestion, or that has offered to provide such 
ERS, may not be offered to provide service as an RMR alternative for 
any hours in which the resource is already obligated to provide ERS. 

(e) - (i) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605140 
Adriana Gonzales 
Rules Coordinator 
Public Utility Commission of Texas 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7223 

PART 4. TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF 
LICENSING AND REGULATION 

CHAPTER 140. ORTHOTICS AND 
PROSTHETICS 
16 TAC §§140.1 - 140.31 
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (De-
partment) proposes the repeal of current rules at 16 Texas 
Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 140, §§140.1 - 140.31, 
regarding the Orthotics and Prosthetics program. 

The Texas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 202 (S.B. 202), 84th 
Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which in part, transferred 
13 occupational licensing programs in two phases from the 
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas 
Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commission) and 
the Department. Under Phase 1, the following seven programs 
were transferred from DSHS to the Commission and the De-
partment: (1) Midwives, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 203; 
(2) Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, Chapter 
401; (3) Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers, Chapter 
402; (4) Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners and Licensed Dyslexia 
Therapists, Chapter 403; (5) Athletic Trainers, Chapter 451; 
(6) Orthotists and Prosthetists, Chapter 605; and (7) Dietitians, 
Chapter 701. The statutory amendments transferring regulation 
of these seven Phase 1 programs from DSHS to the Commis-
sion and the Department took effect on September 1, 2015. 

On April 13, 2016, the Commission adopted its own set of rules 
for the Orthotics and Prosthetics program located at 16 TAC 
Chapter 114. The Commission's rules were effective October 1, 
2016. (41 TexReg 4467). The Department officially commenced 
all regulatory functions for the Orthotics and Prosthetics program 
on October 3, 2016. 

The current 16 TAC Chapter 140 rules were transferred from 
DSHS to be repealed to eliminate industry and public confusion. 
(41 TexReg 7585). These rules were formerly located at 22 TAC 
Chapter 821. The proposed repeal is necessary to complete the 
implementation of S.B. 202. 

The proposed repeal of §§140.1 - 140.31 eliminates industry and 
public confusion by removing duplicate rules for the Orthotics 
and Prosthetics program. 

Brian E. Francis, Executive Director, has determined that for the 
first five-year period the proposed rule repeal is in effect, there 
will be no direct cost to state or local government related to the 
repeal. There is no estimated increase or decrease in revenue 
to the state as a result of the proposed repeal. 

Mr. Francis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five-year period the proposed repeal of the rules is in effect, the 
public will benefit from the elimination of confusion that would 
result from the location of two sets of rules for the Orthotics and 
Prosthetics program in chapter 16 of the Texas Administrative 
Code. 

The proposed rule repeal has no anticipated economic effect on 
small and micro-businesses and the repeal requires no compli-
ance by any persons. 

Since the agency has determined that the proposed repealed 
rules will have no adverse economic effect on small or micro-
businesses, preparation of an Economic Impact Statement and 
a Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, under Texas Government Code 
§2006.002, is not required. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted by mail to Pauline 
Easley, Legal Assistant, General Counsel's Office, Texas De-
partment of Licensing and Regulation, P.O. Box 12157, Austin, 
Texas 78711; or by facsimile to (512) 475-3032; or electronically 
to erule.comments@tdlr.texas.gov. The deadline for comments 
is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register. 

The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51 and 605, which authorize the Commission, the Depart-
ment's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement 
these chapters and any other law establishing a program regu-
lated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 605. No other 
statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposal. 

§140.1. Introduction.
 
§140.2. Definitions.
 
§140.3. Operation of the Board.
 
§140.4. Fees.
 
§140.5. General Application Procedures.
 
§140.6. General Licensing Procedures.
 
§140.7. Examinations for Licensure as a Prosthetist, Orthotist, or
 
Prosthetist/Orthotist.
 
§140.8. Acquiring Professional Licensure as a Uniquely Qualified
 
Person.
 
§140.9. Licensing by Examination.
 
§140.10. Assistant License.
 
§140.11. Technician Registration.
 
§140.12. Temporary License.
 
§140.13. Student Registration.
 
§140.14. Upgrading a Student Registration.
 

41 TexReg 8236 October 21, 2016 Texas Register 

mailto:erule.comments@tdlr.texas.gov


♦ ♦ ♦ 

§140.15. Accreditation of Prosthetic and Orthotic Facilities.
 
§140.16. Standards, Guidelines, and Procedures for a Professional
 
Clinical Residency.
 
§140.17. License Renewal.
 
§140.18. Continuing Education.
 
§140.19. Change of Name and Address.
 
§140.20. Complaints.
 
§140.21. Professional Standard and Disciplinary Provisions.
 
§140.22. Licensing Persons with Criminal Backgrounds.
 
§140.23. Default Orders.
 
§140.24. Surrender of License.
 
§140.25. Suspension of License under the Family Code.
 
§140.26. Civil Penalty.
 
§140.27. Program Accessibility.
 
§140.28. Consumer Notification.
 
§140.29. Petition for the Adoption of a Rule.
 
§140.30. Criminal History Evaluation Letter.
 
§140.31. Licensing of Military Service Members, Military Veterans,
 
and Military Spouses.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605141 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

CHAPTER 141. DIETITIANS 
SUBCHAPTER A. LICENSED DIETITIANS 
16 TAC §§141.1 - 141.22 
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (Depart-
ment) proposes the repeal of current rules at 16 Texas Admin-
istrative Code (TAC), Chapter 141, Subchapter A, §§141.1 -
141.22, regarding the Dietitians program. 

The Texas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 202 (S.B. 202), 84th 
Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which in part, transferred 
13 occupational licensing programs in two phases from the 
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas 
Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commission) and 
the Department. Under Phase 1, the following seven programs 
were transferred from DSHS to the Commission and the De-
partment: (1) Midwives, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 203; 
(2) Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, Chapter 
401; (3) Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers, Chapter 
402; (4) Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners and Licensed Dyslexia 
Therapists, Chapter 403; (5) Athletic Trainers, Chapter 451; 
(6) Orthotists and Prosthetists, Chapter 605; and (7) Dietitians, 
Chapter 701. The statutory amendments transferring regulation 
of these seven Phase 1 programs from DSHS to the Commis-
sion and the Department took effect on September 1, 2015. 

On April 13, 2016, the Commission adopted its own set of rules 
for the Dietitians program located at 16 TAC Chapter 116. The 
Commission's rules were effective October 1, 2016. (41 TexReg 
4481). The Department officially commenced all regulatory func-
tions for the Dietitians program on October 3, 2016. 

The current 16 TAC Chapter 141 rules were transferred from 
DSHS to be repealed to eliminate industry and public confusion. 
(41 TexReg 7585). These rules were formerly located at 22 TAC 
Chapter 711. The proposed repeal is necessary to complete the 
implementation of S.B. 202. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter A, §§141.1 - 141.22 elimi-
nates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate and 
inactive rules for the Dietitians program. 

Brian E. Francis, Executive Director, has determined that for the 
first five-year period the proposed rule repeal is in effect, there 
will be no direct cost to state or local government related to the 
repeal. There is no estimated increase or decrease in revenue 
to the state as a result of the proposed repeal. 

Mr. Francis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five-year period the proposed repeal of the rules is in effect, the 
public will benefit from the elimination of confusion that would 
result from the location of two sets of rules for the Dietitians pro-
gram in chapter 16 of the Texas Administrative Code. 

The proposed rule repeal has no anticipated economic effect on 
small and micro-businesses and the repeal requires no compli-
ance by any persons. 

Since the agency has determined that the proposed repealed 
rules will have no adverse economic effect on small or micro-
businesses, preparation of an Economic Impact Statement and 
a Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, under Texas Government Code 
§2006.002, is not required. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted by mail to Pauline 
Easley, Legal Assistant, General Counsel's Office, Texas De-
partment of Licensing and Regulation, P.O. Box 12157, Austin, 
Texas 78711; or by facsimile to (512) 475-3032; or electronically 
to erule.comments@tdlr.texas.gov. The deadline for comments 
is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register. 

The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51 and 701, which authorize the Commission, the Depart-
ment's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement 
these chapters and any other law establishing a program regu-
lated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 701. No other 
statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposal. 

§141.1. Definitions.
 
§141.2. The Board's Operation.
 
§141.3. Fees.
 
§141.4. The Profession of Dietetics and Code of Ethics.
 
§141.5. Academic Requirements for Licensure.
 
§141.6. Preplanned Professional Experience Requirements for Li-
censure.
 
§141.7. Examination for Dietitian Licensure.
 
§141.8. Application Procedures.
 
§141.9. Determination of Eligibility for Licensure.
 
§141.10. Provisional Licensed Dietitians.
 
§141.11. Qualifications of Licensed Dietitians to Provide Diabetes
 
Self-Management Training.
 
§141.12. Licensing.
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§141.13. Temporary License.
 
§141.14. Changes of Name or Address.
 
§141.15. License Renewal.
 
§141.16. Continuing Education Requirements.
 
§141.17. Licensing of Persons with Criminal Convictions.
 
§141.18. Violations, Complaints and Subsequent Board Actions.
 
§141.19. Formal Hearings.
 
§141.20. Informal Disposition.
 
§141.21. Default Orders.
 
§141.22. License Suspension or Denial Relating to Child Support
 
and Child Custody.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605142 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

CHAPTER 142. ATHLETIC TRAINERS 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL GUIDELINES 
AND REQUIREMENTS 
16 TAC §§142.1 - 142.20 
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (Depart-
ment) proposes the repeal of current rules at 16 Texas Admin-
istrative Code (TAC), Chapter 142, Subchapter A, §§142.1 -
142.20, regarding the Athletic Trainers program. 

The Texas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 202 (S.B. 202), 84th 
Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which in part, transferred 
13 occupational licensing programs in two phases from the 
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas 
Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commission) and 
the Department. Under Phase 1, the following seven programs 
were transferred from DSHS to the Commission and the De-
partment: (1) Midwives, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 203; 
(2) Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, Chapter 
401; (3) Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers, Chapter 
402; (4) Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners and Licensed Dyslexia 
Therapists, Chapter 403; (5) Athletic Trainers, Chapter 451; 
(6) Orthotists and Prosthetists, Chapter 605; and (7) Dietitians, 
Chapter 701. The statutory amendments transferring regulation 
of these seven Phase 1 programs from DSHS to the Commis-
sion and the Department took effect on September 1, 2015. 

On April 13, 2016, the Commission adopted its own set of rules 
for the Athletic Trainers program located at 16 TAC Chapter 110. 
The Commission's rules were effective October 1, 2016. (41 
TexReg 4435). The Department officially commenced all regu-
latory functions for the Athletic Trainers program on October 3, 
2016. 

The current 16 TAC Chapter 142 rules were transferred from 
DSHS to be repealed to eliminate industry and public confusion. 

(41 TexReg 7585). These rules were formerly located at 22 TAC 
Chapter 871. The proposed repeal is necessary to complete the 
implementation of S.B. 202. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter A, §§142.1-142.20 elimi-
nates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate and 
inactive rules for the Athletic Trainers program. 

Brian E. Francis, Executive Director, has determined that for the 
first five-year period the proposed rule repeal is in effect, there 
will be no direct cost to state or local government related to the 
repeal. There is no estimated increase or decrease in revenue 
to the state as a result of the proposed repeal. 

Mr. Francis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five-year period the proposed repeal of the rules is in effect, the 
public will benefit from the elimination of confusion that would re-
sult from the location of two sets of rules for the Athletic Trainers 
program in Chapter 16 of the Texas Administrative Code. 

The proposed rule repeal has no anticipated economic effect on 
small and micro-businesses and the repeal requires no compli-
ance by any persons. 

Since the agency has determined that the proposed repealed 
rules will have no adverse economic effect on small or micro-
businesses, preparation of an Economic Impact Statement and 
a Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, under Texas Government Code 
§2006.002, is not required. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted by mail to Pauline 
Easley, Legal Assistant, General Counsel's Office, Texas De-
partment of Licensing and Regulation, P.O. Box 12157, Austin, 
Texas 78711; or by facsimile to (512) 475-3032; or electronically 
to erule.comments@tdlr.texas.gov. The deadline for comments 
is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register. 

The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51 and 451, which authorize the Commission, the Depart-
ment's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement 
these chapters and any other law establishing a program regu-
lated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 451. No other 
statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposal. 

§142.1. Definitions.
 
§142.2. Scope of Practice.
 
§142.3. The Board's Operation.
 
§142.4. Petition for Rulemaking.
 
§142.5. Processing Applications.
 
§142.6. Fees.
 
§142.7. Qualifications.
 
§142.8. Student Athletic Trainer Activities.
 
§142.9. Examination for Licensure.
 
§142.10. Temporary License.
 
§142.11. License Renewal.
 
§142.12. Continuing Education Requirements.
 
§142.13. Standards for Conduct.
 
§142.14. Violations, Complaints and Disciplinary Actions.
 
§142.15. Licensing of Persons with Criminal Backgrounds to be Ath-
letic Trainers.
 
§142.16. Formal Hearings.
 
§142.17. Suspension of License Relating to Child Support and Child
 
Custody.
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§142.18. Administrative Penalties. 

§142.19. Request for Criminal History Evaluation Letter. 

§142.20. Licensing of Military Service Members, Military Veterans, 
and Military Spouses. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605143 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

CHAPTER 143. MIDWIFERY 
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (De-
partment) proposes the repeal of current rules at 16 Texas 
Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 143, Subchapter A, 
§§143.1 - 143.4 and 143.7; Subchapter B, §§143.11 - 143.17 
and 143.20 - 143.25; Subchapter C, §§143.31 - 143.37, and 
143.40; Subchapter D, §§143.51, 143.52, 143.57, 143.58, 
143.60, 143.65, 143.70, 143.75, 143.101, 143.111, 143.121, 
143.131, and 143.141; and Subchapter E, §§143.161 - 143.174, 
regarding the Midwives program. 

The Texas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 202 (S.B. 202), 84th 
Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which in part, transferred 
13 occupational licensing programs in two phases from the 
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas 
Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commission) and 
the Department. Under Phase 1, the following seven programs 
were transferred from DSHS to the Commission and the De-
partment: (1) Midwives, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 203; 
(2) Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, Chapter 
401; (3) Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers, Chapter 
402; (4) Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners and Licensed Dyslexia 
Therapists, Chapter 403; (5) Athletic Trainers, Chapter 451; 
(6) Orthotists and Prosthetists, Chapter 605; and (7) Dietitians, 
Chapter 701. The statutory amendments transferring regulation 
of these seven Phase 1 programs from DSHS to the Commis-
sion and the Department took effect on September 1, 2015. 

On April 13, 2016, the Commission adopted its own set of rules 
for the Midwives program located at 16 TAC Chapter 115. The 
Commission's rules were effective October 1, 2016. (41 TexReg 
4477). The Department officially commenced all regulatory func-
tions for the Midwives program on October 3, 2016. 

The current 16 TAC Chapter 143 rules were transferred from 
DSHS to be repealed to eliminate industry and public confusion. 
(41 TexReg 7585). These rules were formerly located at 22 TAC 
Chapter 831. The proposed repeal is necessary to complete the 
implementation of S.B. 202. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter A, §§143.1 - 143.4 and 
143.7 eliminates industry and public confusion by removing 
duplicate and inactive rules for the Midwives program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter B, §§143.11 - 143.17 and 
§§143.20 - 143.25 eliminates industry and public confusion by 
removing duplicate rules for the Midwives program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter C, §§143.31 - 143.37, and 
§143.40 eliminates industry and public confusion by removing 
duplicate rules for the Midwives program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter D, §§143.51, 143.52, 
143.57, 143.58, 143.60, 143.65, 143.70, 143.75, 143.101, 
143.111, 143.121, 143.131, and 143.141 eliminates industry and 
public confusion by removing duplicate rules for the Midwives 
program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter E, §§143.161 - 143.174 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Midwives program. 

Brian E. Francis, Executive Director, has determined that for the 
first five-year period the proposed rule repeal is in effect, there 
will be no direct cost to state or local government related to the 
repeal. There is no estimated increase or decrease in revenue 
to the state as a result of the proposed repeal. 

Mr. Francis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five-year period the proposed repeal of the rules is in effect, the 
public will benefit from the elimination of confusion that would 
result from the location of two sets of rules for the Midwives pro-
gram in chapter 16 of the Texas Administrative Code. 

The proposed rule repeal has no anticipated economic effect on 
small and micro-businesses and the repeal requires no compli-
ance by any persons. 

Since the agency has determined that the proposed repealed 
rules will have no adverse economic effect on small or micro-
businesses, preparation of an Economic Impact Statement and 
a Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, under Texas Government Code 
§2006.002, is not required. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted by mail to Pauline 
Easley, Legal Assistant, General Counsel's Office, Texas De-
partment of Licensing and Regulation, P.O. Box 12157, Austin, 
Texas 78711; or by facsimile to (512) 475-3032; or electronically 
to erule.comments@tdlr.texas.gov. The deadline for comments 
is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register. 

SUBCHAPTER A. THE BOARD 
16 TAC §§143.1 - 143.4, 143.7 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51 and 203, which authorize the Commission, the Depart-
ment's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement 
these chapters and any other law establishing a program regu-
lated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 203. No other 
statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposal. 

§143.1. Introduction.
 
§143.2. Definitions.
 
§143.3. Midwifery Board.
 
§143.4. Board Member Training.
 
§143.7. Petition for the Adoption of a Rule.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 
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Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605146 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER B. LICENSURE 
16 TAC §§143.11 - 143.17, 143.20 - 143.25 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51 and 203, which authorize the Commission, the Depart-
ment's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement 
these chapters and any other law establishing a program regu-
lated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 203. No other 
statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposal. 

§143.11. License Required.
 
§143.12. Fees.
 
§143.13. Initial Application for Licensure.
 
§143.14. License Renewal.
 
§143.15. Late Renewal.
 
§143.16. Renewal for Retired Midwives Performing Charity Work.
 
§143.17. State Roster of Licensed Midwives.
 
§143.20. Grounds for Denial of Application or Disciplinary Action.
 
§143.21. Application or Renewal with Criminal Conviction.
 
§143.22. License Surrender.
 
§143.23. Application for a New License after Revocation, Suspen-
sion, or Surrender.
 
§143.24. Request for a Criminal History Evaluation Letter.
 
§143.25. Licensing of Military Service Members, Military Veterans,
 
and Military Spouses.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605147 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER C. EDUCATION AND 
EXAMINATION 
16 TAC §§143.31 - 143.37, 143.40 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51 and 203, which authorize the Commission, the Depart-
ment's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement 
these chapters and any other law establishing a program regu-
lated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 203. No other 
statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposal. 

§143.31. Education Committee.
 
§143.32. Basic Midwifery Education.
 
§143.33. Education Course Approval.
 
§143.34. Education Course Denial or Revocation of Approval.
 
§143.35. Exam Approval, Denial, or Revocation of Approval.
 
§143.36. Complaints Concerning Education Courses and Compre-
hensive Exams.
 
§143.37. Jurisprudence Examination.
 
§143.40. Continuing Education.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605148 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER D. PRACTICE OF MIDWIFERY 
16 TAC §§143.51, 143.52, 143.57, 143.58, 143.60, 143.65, 
143.70, 143.75, 143.101, 143.111, 143.121, 143.131, 143.141 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51 and 203, which authorize the Commission, the Depart-
ment's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement 
these chapters and any other law establishing a program regu-
lated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 203. No other 
statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposal. 

§143.51. Standards for the Practice of Midwifery in Texas.
 
§143.52. Inter-professional Care.
 
§143.57. Termination of the Midwife-Client Relationship.
 
§143.58. Transfer of Care in An Emergency Situation.
 
§143.60. Prenatal Care.
 
§143.65. Labor and Delivery.
 
§143.70. Postpartum Care.
 
§143.75. Newborn Care During the First Six Weeks After Birth.
 
§143.101. Administration of Oxygen.
 
§143.111. Eye Prophylaxis.
 
§143.121. Newborn Screening.
 
§143.131. Informed Choice and Disclosure Statement.
 
§143.141. Provision of Support Services.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 
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Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605149 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER E. COMPLAINT REVIEW 
16 TAC §§143.161 - 143.174 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51 and 203, which authorize the Commission, the Depart-
ment's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement 
these chapters and any other law establishing a program regu-
lated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 203. No other 
statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposal. 

§143.161. Complaint Review Committee.
 
§143.162. Reporting Violations and/or Complaints.
 
§143.163. Records of Complaints.
 
§143.164. Complaint Categories.
 
§143.165. Disciplinary Action and Guidelines.
 
§143.166. Complaint Investigation.
 
§143.167. Informal Settlement Conferences.
 
§143.168. Formal Hearings.
 
§143.169. Disciplinary Action.
 
§143.170. Complaint Disposition and Appeals.
 
§143.171. Refunds.
 
§143.172. Cease and Desist Order.
 
§143.173. Emergency Suspension.
 
§143.174. Default Orders.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605150 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

CHAPTER 144. FITTING AND DISPENSING 
OF HEARING INSTRUMENTS 
16 TAC §§144.1 - 144.31 
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (De-
partment) proposes the repeal of current rules at 16 Texas 
Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 144, §§144.1 - 144.31, re-
garding the Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers program. 

The Texas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 202 (S.B. 202), 84th 
Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which in part, transferred 
13 occupational licensing programs in two phases from the 
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas 
Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commission) and 
the Department. Under Phase 1, the following seven programs 
were transferred from DSHS to the Commission and the De-
partment: (1) Midwives, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 203; 
(2) Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, Chapter 
401; (3) Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers, Chapter 
402; (4) Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners and Licensed Dyslexia 
Therapists, Chapter 403; (5) Athletic Trainers, Chapter 451; 
(6) Orthotists and Prosthetists, Chapter 605; and (7) Dietitians, 
Chapter 701. The statutory amendments transferring regulation 
of these seven Phase 1 programs from DSHS to the Commis-
sion and the Department took effect on September 1, 2015. 

On April 13, 2016, the Commission adopted its own set of rules 
for the Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers program lo-
cated at 16 TAC Chapter 112. The Commission's rules were 
effective October 1, 2016. (41 TexReg 4458). The Department 
officially commenced all regulatory functions for the Hearing In-
strument Fitters and Dispensers program on October 3, 2016. 

The current 16 TAC Chapter 144 rules were transferred from 
DSHS to be repealed to eliminate industry and public confusion. 
(41 TexReg 7585). These rules were formerly located at 22 TAC 
Chapter 141. The proposed repeal is necessary to complete the 
implementation of S.B. 202. 

The proposed repeal of §§144.1 - 144.31 eliminates industry and 
public confusion by removing duplicate and inactive rules for the 
Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers program. 

Brian E. Francis, Executive Director, has determined that for the 
first five-year period the proposed rule repeal is in effect, there 
will be no direct cost to state or local government related to the 
repeal. There is no estimated increase or decrease in revenue 
to the state as a result of the proposed repeal. 

Mr. Francis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five-year period the proposed repeal of the rules is in effect, the 
public will benefit from the elimination of confusion that would 
result from the location of two sets of rules for the Hearing In-
strument Fitters and Dispensers program in Chapter 16 of the 
Texas Administrative Code. 

The proposed rule repeal has no anticipated economic effect on 
small and micro-businesses and the repeal requires no compli-
ance by any persons. 

Since the agency has determined that the proposed repealed 
rules will have no adverse economic effect on small or micro-
businesses, preparation of an Economic Impact Statement and 
a Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, under Texas Government Code 
§2006.002, is not required. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted by mail to Pauline 
Easley, Legal Assistant, General Counsel's Office, Texas De-
partment of Licensing and Regulation, P.O. Box 12157, Austin, 
Texas 78711; or by facsimile to (512) 475-3032; or electronically 
to erule.comments@tdlr.texas.gov. The deadline for comments 
is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register. 

The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 402 and 401 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

PROPOSED RULES October 21, 2016 41 TexReg 8241 

mailto:erule.comments@tdlr.texas.gov


♦ ♦ ♦ 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 402 and 401 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§144.1. Purpose.
 
§144.2. Definitions.
 
§144.3. The Committee.
 
§144.4. Licensees and the Committee.
 
§144.5. Consumer Information and Display of License.
 
§144.6. Application Procedures.
 
§144.7. Processing Procedures.
 
§144.8. Issuance of Permits.
 
§144.9. Issuance of Licenses.
 
§144.10. Application By License Holder From Another State.
 
§144.11. Filing of Bond.
 
§144.12. Surrender of a License or Permit.
 
§144.13. Renewal of License.
 
§144.14. Continuing Education Requirements.
 
§144.15. Examination.
 
§144.16. Conditions of Sales.
 
§144.17. Complaints and Violations.
 
§144.18. Formal Hearings.
 
§144.19. Administrative Penalties.
 
§144.20. Informal Disposition.
 
§144.21. Suspension of License Relating to Child Support and Child
 
Custody Orders.
 
§144.22. Code of Ethics.
 
§144.23. Relevant Factors.
 
§144.24. Severity Level and Sanction Guide.
 
§144.25. Request for Criminal History Evaluation Letter.
 
§144.26. Criminal History Record Information Requirement for Li-
cense or Permit Issuance.
 
§144.27. Criminal History Record Information Requirement for Li-
cense Renewal.
 
§144.28. Licensing of Military Service Members, Military Veterans,
 
and Military Spouses.
 
§144.29. Joint Rule Regarding the Sale of Hearing Instruments.
 
§144.30. Joint Rule Regarding the Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing
 
Instruments by Telepractice.
 
§144.31. Petition for Adoption of a Rule.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605144 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

CHAPTER 145. SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGISTS AND AUDIOLOGISTS 
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (De-
partment) proposes the repeal of current rules at 16 Texas 
Administrative Code (TAC), Chapter 145, Subchapter A, §145.1; 

Subchapter       
- 145.33; Subchapter D, §§145.41 - 145.45; Subchapter E, 
§§145.61 - 145.66; Subchapter F, §§145.81 - 145.86; Sub-
chapter G, §145.91; Subchapter H, §§145.101 - 145.104; 
Subchapter I, §145.111 and §145.112; Subchapter J, §145.121 
and §145.122; Subchapter K, §145.141 and §145.142; Sub-
chapter L, §§145.161 - 145.165; Subchapter M, §145.181 and 
§145.182; Subchapter N, §§145.191 - 145.204; Subchapter 
O, §§145.211 - 145.216; Subchapter P, §§145.231 - 145.233, 
regarding the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

The Texas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 202 (S.B. 202), 84th 
Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which in part, transferred 
13 occupational licensing programs in two phases from the 
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas 
Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commission) and 
the Department. Under Phase 1, the following seven programs 
were transferred from DSHS to the Commission and the De-
partment: (1) Midwives, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 203; 
(2) Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, Chapter 
401; (3) Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers, Chapter 
402; (4) Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners and Licensed Dyslexia 
Therapists, Chapter 403; (5) Athletic Trainers, Chapter 451; 
(6) Orthotists and Prosthetists, Chapter 605; and (7) Dietitians, 
Chapter 701. The statutory amendments transferring regulation 
of these seven Phase 1 programs from DSHS to the Commis-
sion and the Department took effect on September 1, 2015. 

On April 13, 2016, the Commission adopted its own set of 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program located at 16 TAC Chapter 111. The Commission's 
rules were effective October 1, 2016. (41 TexReg 4441). The 
Department officially commenced all regulatory functions for the 
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists program on 
October 3, 2016. 

The current 16 TAC Chapter 145 rules were transferred from 
DSHS to be repealed to eliminate industry and public confusion. 
(41 TexReg 7585). These rules were formerly located at 22 TAC 
Chapter 741. The proposed repeal is necessary to complete the 
implementation of S.B. 202. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter A, §145.1 eliminates in-
dustry and public confusion by removing duplicate rules for the 
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter B, §§145.11 - 145.15 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter C, §§145.31 - 145.33 elim-
inates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate and 
inactive rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audi-
ologists program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter D, §§145.41 - 145.45 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter E, §§145.61 - 145.66 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

B, §§145.11 - 145.15; Subchapter C, §§145.31
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The proposed repeal of Subchapter F, §§145.81 - 145.86 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter G, §145.91 eliminates in-
dustry and public confusion by removing duplicate rules for the 
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter H, §§145.101 - 145.104 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter I, §145.111 and §145.112 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter J, §145.121 and §145.122 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter K, §145.141 and §145.142 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter L, §§145.161 - 145.165 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter M, §145.181 and §145.182 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter N, §§145.191 - 145.204 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter O, §§145.211 - 145.216 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter P, §§145.231 - 145.233 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
rules for the Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists 
program. 

Brian E. Francis, Executive Director, has determined that for the 
first five-year period the proposed rule repeal is in effect there 
will be no direct cost to state or local government. There is no 
estimated increase or decrease in revenue to the state as a result 
of the proposed repeal. 

Mr. Francis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five-year period the proposed repeal of the rules is in effect, the 
public will benefit by the elimination of confusion that would result 
that would result from the location of two sets of rules for the 
Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists in Chapter 16 
of the Texas Administrative Code. 

The proposed rule repeal has no anticipated economic effect on 
small and micro-businesses and the repeal requires no compli-
ance by any persons. 

Since the agency has determined that the proposed repealed 
rules will have no adverse economic effect on small or micro-
businesses, preparation of an Economic Impact Statement and 
a Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, under Texas Government Code 
§2006.002, is not required. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted by mail to Pauline 
Easley, Legal Assistant, General Counsel's Office, Texas De-
partment of Licensing and Regulation, P.O. Box 12157, Austin, 
Texas 78711; or by facsimile to (512) 475-3032; or electronically 
to erule.comments@tdlr.texas.gov. The deadline for comments 
is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register. 

SUBCHAPTER A. DEFINITIONS 
16 TAC §145.1 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.1. Definitions. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605152 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER B. THE BOARD 
16 TAC §§145.11 - 145.15 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.11. Officers.
 
§145.12. Committees.
 
§145.13. Transaction of Official Business.
 
§145.14. Petition for Adoption of a Rule.
 
§145.15. Impartiality and Nondiscrimination.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 
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Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605153 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER C. SCREENING PROCEDURES 
16 TAC §§145.31 - 145.33 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.31. Communication Screening.
 
§145.32. Hearing Screening.
 
§145.33. Newborn Hearing Screening.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605155 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER D. CODE OF ETHICS; DUTIES 
AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF SUPERVISORS 
16 TAC §§145.41 - 145.45 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.41. Professional Responsibilities of License Holders.
 
§145.42. Advertising.
 
§145.43. Recordkeeping and Billing.
 
§145.44. Requirements, Duties, and Responsibilities of Supervisors.
 

§145.45. Consumer Information and Display of License. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605157 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER E. REQUIREMENTS FOR 
LICENSURE OF SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGISTS 
16 TAC §§145.61 - 145.66 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.61. Requirements for a Speech-Language Pathology License.
 
§145.62. Requirements for an Intern in Speech-Language Pathology
 
License.
 
§145.63. Waiver of Clinical and Examination Requirements for
 
Speech-Language Pathologists.
 
§145.64. Requirements for an Assistant in Speech-Language Pathol-
ogy License.
 
§145.65. Requirements for a Temporary Certificate of Registration in
 
Speech-Language Pathology.
 
§145.66. Licensing in Speech-Language Pathology for Military Ser-
vice Members, Military Veterans, and Military Spouses.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605158 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER F. REQUIREMENTS FOR 
LICENSURE OF AUDIOLOGISTS 
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16 TAC §§145.81 - 145.86 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.81. Requirements for an Audiology License. 

§145.82. Requirements for an Intern in Audiology License. 

§145.83. Waiver of Clinical and Examination Requirements for Au-
diologists. 

§145.84. Requirements for an Assistant in Audiology License. 

§145.85. Requirements for a Temporary Certificate of Registration in 
Audiology. 

§145.86. Licensing in Audiology for Military Service Members, Mil-
itary Veterans, and Military Spouses. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605159 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of LIcensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER G. REQUIREMENTS FOR 
DUAL LICENSURE AS A SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGIST AND AN AUDIOLOGIST 
16 TAC §145.91 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.91. Requirements for Dual Licenses in Speech-Language 
Pathology and Audiology. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 

TRD-201605160 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER H. FITTING AND DISPENSING 
OF HEARING INSTRUMENTS 
16 TAC §§145.101 - 145.104 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.101. Registration of Audiologists and Interns in Audiology to 
Fit and Dispense Instruments. 
§145.102. General Practice Requirements of Audiologists and In-
terns in Audiology who Fit and Dispense Hearing Instruments. 
§145.103. Requirements of Audiologists and Interns in Audiology 
Conducting Audiometric Testing for the Purpose of Fitting and Dis-
pensing Hearing Instruments. 
§145.104. Joint Rule Regarding the Sale of Hearing Instruments. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605161 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER I. APPLICATION 
PROCEDURES 
16 TAC §145.111, §145.112 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.111. Application Process. 
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§145.112. Required Application Materials. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605162 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER J. LICENSURE EXAMINA-
TIONS 
16 TAC §145.121, §145.122 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.121. Examination Administration. 
§145.122. Jurisprudence Examination. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605164 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER K. ISSUANCE OF LICENSE 
16 TAC §145.141, §145.142 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.141. Issuance of License. 

§145.142. Criminal History Record Information Requirement for Li-
censure Issuance. 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605165 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER L. LICENSE RENEWAL AND 
CONTINUING PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION 
16 TAC §§145.161 - 145.165 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.161. Renewal Procedures.
 
§145.162. Requirements for Continuing Professional Education.
 
§145.163. Criminal History Record Information Requirement for Li-
cense Renewal.
 
§145.164. Late Renewal of a License.
 
§145.165. Renewal of Licensee on Active Military Duty.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605166 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER M. FEES AND PROCESSING 
PROCEDURES 
16 TAC §145.181, §145.182 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 
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The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.181. Schedule of Fees.
 
§145.182. Time Periods For Processing Applications and Renewals.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605167 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER N. COMPLAINTS, 
VIOLATIONS, PENALTIES, AND 
DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 
16 TAC §§145.191 - 145.204 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.191. Complaint Procedures.
 
§145.192. Disciplinary Action; Notices.
 
§145.193. Revocation, Suspension, Emergency Suspension, or De-
nial.
 
§145.194. Informal Disposition.
 
§145.195. Formal Hearings; Surrender of License.
 
§145.196. Default Orders.
 
§145.197. Monitoring of Licensees.
 
§145.198. Administrative Penalties.
 
§145.199. Schedule of Sanctions.
 
§145.200. Licensing of Persons with Criminal Convictions.
 
§145.201. Suspension of License Relating to Child Support and Child
 
Custody.
 
§145.202. Request for Criminal History Evaluation Letter.
 
§145.203. Board Ordered Refund.
 
§145.204. Cease and Desist Order.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605168 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER O. TELEHEALTH 
16 TAC §§145.211 - 145.216 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.211. Definitions Relating to Telehealth.
 
§145.212. Service Delivery Models of Speech-Language Patholo-
gists.
 
§145.213. Requirements for the Use of Telehealth by Speech-Lan-
guage Pathologists.
 
§145.214. Limitations on the Use of Telecommunications Technology
 
by Speech-Language Pathologists.
 
§145.215. Requirements for Providing Telehealth Services in Speech-

Language Pathology.
 
§145.216. Requirements for Providing Telepractice Service in Audi-
ology.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605169 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

SUBCHAPTER P. JOINT RULES FOR 
FITTING AND DISPENSING OF HEARING 
INSTRUMENTS BY TELEPRACTICE 
16 TAC §§145.231 - 145.233 
The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51, 401 and 402 as applicable, which authorize the Commis-
sion, the Department's governing body, to adopt rules as neces-
sary to implement these chapters and any other law establishing 
a program regulated by the Department. 
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The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51, 401 and 402 as 
applicable. No other statutes, articles, or codes are affected by 
the proposal. 

§145.231. Purpose.
 
§145.232. Definitions.
 
§145.233. Requirements for Providing Telehealth Services for the
 
Fitting and Dispensing of Hearing Instruments.
 
The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605170 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-8179 

CHAPTER 146. DYSLEXIA THERAPISTS 
AND DYSLEXIA PRACTITIONERS 
SUBCHAPTER K. DYSLEXIA THERAPISTS 
AND DYSLEXIA PRACTITIONERS 
16 TAC §§146.575 - 146.596 
The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (Depart-
ment) proposes the repeal of current rules at 16 Texas Admin-
istrative Code (TAC), Chapter 146, Subchapter K, §§146.575 
- 146.596, regarding the Licensed Dyslexia Therapists and 
Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners program. 

The Texas Legislature enacted Senate Bill 202 (S.B. 202), 84th 
Legislature, Regular Session (2015), which in part, transferred 
13 occupational licensing programs in two phases from the 
Department of State Health Services (DSHS) to the Texas 
Commission of Licensing and Regulation (Commission) and 
the Department. Under Phase 1, the following seven programs 
were transferred from DSHS to the Commission and the De-
partment: (1) Midwives, Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 203; 
(2) Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, Chapter 
401; (3) Hearing Instrument Fitters and Dispensers, Chapter 
402; (4) Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners and Licensed Dyslexia 
Therapists, Chapter 403; (5) Athletic Trainers, Chapter 451; 
(6) Orthotists and Prosthetists, Chapter 605; and (7) Dietitians, 
Chapter 701. The statutory amendments transferring regulation 
of these seven Phase 1 programs from DSHS to the Commis-
sion and the Department took effect on September 1, 2015. 

On March 9, 2016, the Commission adopted its own set of rules 
for the Licensed Dyslexia Therapists and Licensed Dyslexia 
Practitioners program located at 16 TAC Chapter 120. Part of 
the Commission's rules were effective April 15, 2016, and the 
remaining sections were effective October 1, 2016. (41 TexReg 
2476). The Department officially commenced all regulatory 
functions for the Licensed Dyslexia Therapists and Licensed 
Dyslexia Practitioners program on October 3, 2016. 

The current 16 TAC Chapter 146 rules were transferred from 
DSHS to be repealed to eliminate industry and public confusion. 

(41 TexReg 7585). These rules were formerly located at 25 TAC 
Chapter 140. The proposed repeal is necessary to complete the 
implementation of S.B. 202. 

The proposed repeal of Subchapter K, §§146.575 - 146.596 
eliminates industry and public confusion by removing duplicate 
and inactive rules for the Licensed Dyslexia Therapists and 
Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners program. 

Brian E. Francis, Executive Director, has determined that for the 
first five-year period the proposed rule repeal is in effect, there 
will be no direct cost to state or local government related to the 
repeal. There is no estimated increase or decrease in revenue 
to the state as a result of the proposed repeal. 

Mr. Francis also has determined that for each year of the first 
five-year period the proposed repeal of the rules is in effect, the 
public will benefit from the elimination of confusion that would 
result from the location of two sets of rules for the Licensed 
Dyslexia Therapists and Licensed Dyslexia Practitioners pro-
gram in Chapter 16 of the Texas Administrative Code. 

The proposed rule repeal has no anticipated economic effect on 
small and micro-businesses and the repeal requires no compli-
ance by any persons. 

Since the agency has determined that the proposed repealed 
rules will have no adverse economic effect on small or micro-
businesses, preparation of an Economic Impact Statement and 
a Regulatory Flexibility Analysis, under Texas Government Code 
§2006.002, is not required. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted by mail to Pauline 
Easley, Legal Assistant, General Counsel's Office, Texas De-
partment of Licensing and Regulation, P.O. Box 12157, Austin, 
Texas 78711; or by facsimile to (512) 475-3032; or electronically 
to erule.comments@tdlr.texas.gov. The deadline for comments 
is 30 days after publication in the Texas Register. 

The repeal is proposed under Texas Occupations Code, Chap-
ters 51 and 403, which authorize the Commission, the Depart-
ment's governing body, to adopt rules as necessary to implement 
these chapters and any other law establishing a program regu-
lated by the Department. 

The statutory provisions affected by the proposal are those set 
forth in Texas Occupations Code, Chapters 51 and 403. No other 
statutes, articles, or codes are affected by the proposal. 

§146.575. Introduction.
 
§146.576. Definitions.
 
§146.577. Fees.
 
§146.578. Petition for Rulemaking.
 
§146.579. Dyslexia Licensing Advisory Committee.
 
§146.580. Application Requirements and Procedures.
 
§146.581. Application Processing.
 
§146.582. Qualifications for Licensure as a Dyslexia Therapist.
 
§146.583. Qualifications for Licensure as a Dyslexia Practitioner.
 
§146.584. Requirements for Training Programs and Qualified In-
structors.
 
§146.585. Examination for Licensure.
 
§146.586. Code of Ethics; Duties and Responsibilities of License
 
Holders.
 
§146.587. Renewal of License.
 
§146.588. Changes of Name or Address.
 
§146.589. Continuing Education Requirements.
 
§146.590. Filing Complaints and Complaint Investigations.
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§146.591. Disciplinary Action. 

§146.592. Informal Disposition. 

§146.593. Formal Hearings. 

§146.594. Schedule of Sanctions. 

§146.595. Licensing of Persons with Criminal Backgrounds. 

§146.596. Licensing of Military Service Members, Military Veterans, 
and Military Spouses. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605145 
Brian E. Francis 
Executive Director 
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463 - 8179 

TITLE 19. EDUCATION 

PART 1. TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION 
COORDINATING BOARD 

CHAPTER 27. FIELDS OF STUDY 
SUBCHAPTER I. COMPUTER SCIENCE/IN-
FORMATION TECHNOLOGY FIELD OF STUDY 
ADVISORY COMMITTEE 
19 TAC §§27.261 - 27.267 
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating 
Board) proposes new §§27.261 - 27.267, concerning Computer 
Science/Information Technology Field of Study Advisory Com-
mittee. The proposed new rules authorize the Board to create an 
advisory committee to develop a computer science/information 
technology field of study. The newly added rules will affect stu-
dents when the computer science/information technology field of 
study is adopted by the Board. 

Dr. Rex Peebles, Assistant Commissioner for Academic Quality 
and Workforce has determined that for the first five years there 
will be no fiscal implications for state or local governments as a 
result of adding the new sections. 

Dr. Peebles has also determined that for the first five years the 
rules are in effect, the public benefits anticipated as a result of 
administering the sections will be the clarification of which lower 
division courses are required in a computer science/information 
technology degree and improved transferability and applicability 
of courses. There are no anticipated economic costs to persons 
who are required to comply with the section as proposed. There 
is no impact on local employment. 

Comments on the proposed new sections may be submitted by 
mail to Rex C. Peebles, Assistant Commissioner, Texas Higher 
Education Coordinating Board, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 
78711 or via email at AQWcomments@THECB.state.tx.us. 

Comments will be accepted for 30 days following publication of 
the proposal in the Texas Register. 

The new sections are proposed under the Texas Education 
Code, §61.823(a), which provides the Coordinating Board with 
the authority to develop fields of study curricula with the assis-
tance of advisory committees and Texas Government Code, 
§2110.005, which requires a state agency that establishes an 
advisory committee to adopt rules that state the purpose and 
tasks of the committee and describe the manner in which the 
committee will report to the agency. 

The new sections affect the implementation of Texas Education 
Code, Chapter 61. 

§27.261. Authority and Specific Purposes of the Computer Sci-
ence/Information Technology Field of Study Advisory Committee. 

(a) Authority. Statutory authority for this subchapter is pro-
vided in the Texas Education Code, §61.823(a). 

(b) Purpose. The Computer Science/Information Technology 
Field of Study Advisory Committee is created to provide the Com-
missioner and the Board with guidance regarding the Computer Sci-
ence/Information Technology Field of Study Curricula. 

§27.262. Definitions. 
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall 
have the following meanings: 

(1) Board--The Texas Higher Education Coordinating 
Board. 

(2) Commissioner--The Commissioner of Higher Educa-
tion, the Chief Executive Officer of the Board. 

(3) Field of Study Curricula--The block of courses which 
may be transferred to a general academic teaching institution and must 
be substituted for that institution's lower division requirements for the 
degree program into which the student transfers, and the student shall 
receive full academic credit toward the degree program for the block 
of courses transferred. 

(4) Institutions of Higher Education--As defined in Texas 
Education Code, Chapter 61.003(8) 

§27.263. Committee Membership and Officers. 
(a) The advisory committee shall be equitably composed of 

representatives of institutions of higher education. 

(b) Each university system or institution of higher education 
which offers a degree program for which a field of study curriculum is 
proposed shall be offered participation on the advisory committee. 

(c) At least a majority of the members of the advisory commit-
tee named under this section shall be faculty members of an institution 
of higher education. An institution shall consult with the faculty of the 
institution before nominating or recommending a person to the board 
as the institution's representative on an advisory committee. 

(d) Board staff will recommend for Board appointment indi-
viduals who are nominated by institutions of higher education. 

(e) Members of the committee shall select co-chairs, who will 
be responsible for conducting meetings and conveying committee rec-
ommendations to the Board. 

(f) The number of committee members shall not exceed 
twenty-four (24). 

(g) Members shall serve staggered terms of up to three years. 
The terms of chairs and co-chairs (if applicable) will be two years dat-
ing from their election. 
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§27.264. Duration. 

The Committee shall be abolished no later than January 31, 2021, in ac-
cordance with Texas Government Code, §2110.008. It may be reestab-
lished by the Board. 

§27.265. Meetings. 

The Committee shall meet as necessary. Special meetings may be 
called as deemed appropriate by the presiding officer. Meetings shall 
be open to the public and broadcast via the web, unless prevented by 
technical difficulties, and minutes shall be available to the public after 
they have been prepared by the Board staff and reviewed by members 
of the Committee. 

§27.266. Tasks Assigned to the Committee. 

Tasks assigned to the Committee include: 

(1) Advise the Board regarding the Computer Science/In-
formation Technology Field of Study Curricula; 

(2) Provide Board staff with feedback about processes and 
procedures related to the Computer Science/Information Technology 
Field of Study Curricula; and 

(3) Any other issues related to the Computer Science/In-
formation Technology Field of Study Curricula as determined by the 
Board. 

§27.267. Report to the Board; Evaluation of Committee Costs and 
Effectiveness. 

The Committee shall report recommendations to the Board. The Com-
mittee shall also report Committee activities to the Board to allow the 
Board to properly evaluate the Committee work, usefulness, and the 
costs related to the Committee existence. The Board shall report its 
evaluation to the Legislative Budget Board in its biennial Legislative 
Appropriations Request. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605151 
Bill Franz 
General Counsel 
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114 

SUBCHAPTER J. CRIMINAL JUSTICE FIELD 
OF STUDY ADVISORY COMMITTEE 
19 TAC §§27.281 - 27.287 
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating 
Board) proposes new §§27.281 - 27.287, concerning Criminal 
Justice Field of Study Advisory Committee. The proposed new 
rules authorize the Board to create an advisory committee to de-
velop a Criminal Justice field of study. The newly added rules will 
affect students when the criminal justice field of study is adopted 
by the Board. 

Dr. Rex Peebles, Assistant Commissioner for Academic Quality 
and Workforce has determined that for the first five years there 

will be no fiscal implications for state or local governments as a 
result of adding the new sections. 

Dr. Peebles has also determined that for the first five years the 
rules are in effect, the public benefits anticipated as a result of 
administering the sections will be the clarification of which lower 
division courses are required in a criminal justice degree and 
improved transferability and applicability of courses. There are 
no anticipated economic costs to persons who are required to 
comply with the section as proposed. There is no impact on 
local employment. 

Comments on the proposed new sections may be submitted by 
mail to Rex C. Peebles, Assistant Commissioner, Texas Higher 
Education Coordinating Board, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 
78711 or via email at AQWcomments@THECB.state.tx.us. 
Comments will be accepted for 30 days following publication of 
the proposal in the Texas Register. 

The new sections are proposed under the Texas Education 
Code, §61.823(a), which provides the Coordinating Board with 
the authority to develop fields of study curricula with the assis-
tance of advisory committees and Texas Government Code, 
§2110.005, which requires a state agency that establishes an 
advisory committee to adopt rules that state the purpose and 
tasks of the committee and describe the manner in which the 
committee will report to the agency. 

The new sections affect the implementation of Texas Education 
Code, Chapter 61. 

§27.281. Authority and Specific Purposes of the Criminal Justice 
Field of Study Advisory Committee. 

(a) Authority. Statutory authority for this subchapter is pro-
vided in the Texas Education Code, §61.823(a). 

(b) Purpose. The Criminal Justice Field of Study Advisory 
Committee is created to provide the Commissioner and the Board with 
guidance regarding the criminal justice field of study curricula. 

§27.282. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall 
have the following meanings: 

(1) Board--The Texas Higher Education Coordinating 
Board. 

(2) Commissioner--The Commissioner of Higher Educa-
tion, the Chief Executive Officer of the Board. 

(3) Field of Study Curricula--The block of courses which 
may be transferred to a general academic teaching institution and must 
be substituted for that institution's lower division requirements for the 
degree program into which the student transfers, and the student shall 
receive full academic credit toward the degree program for the block 
of courses transferred. 

(4) Institutions of Higher Education--As defined in Texas 
Education Code, Chapter 61.003(8). 

§27.283. Committee Membership and Officers. 

(a) The advisory committee shall be equitably composed of 
representatives of institutions of higher education. 

(b) Each university system or institution of higher education 
which offers a degree program for which a field of study curriculum is 
proposed shall be offered participation on the advisory committee. 

(c) At least a majority of the members of the advisory commit-
tee named under this section shall be faculty members of an institution 
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of higher education. An institution shall consult with the faculty of the 
institution before nominating or recommending a person to the board 
as the institution's representative on an advisory committee. 

(d) Board staff will recommend for Board appointment indi-
viduals who are nominated by institutions of higher education. 

(e) Members of the committee shall select co-chairs, who will 
be responsible for conducting meetings and conveying committee rec-
ommendations to the Board. 

(f) The number of committee members shall not exceed 
twenty-four (24). 

(g) Members shall serve staggered terms of up to three years. 
The terms of chairs and co-chairs (if applicable) will be two years dat-
ing from their election. 

§27.284. Duration. 

The Committee shall be abolished no later than January 31, 2021, in 
accordance with Texas Government Code, Chapter 2110. It may be 
reestablished by the Board. 

§27.285. Meetings. 

The Committee shall meet as necessary. Special meetings may be 
called as deemed appropriate by the presiding officer. Meetings shall 
be open to the public and broadcast via the web, unless prevented by 
technical difficulties, and minutes shall be available to the public after 
they have been prepared by the Board staff and reviewed by members 
of the Committee. 

§27.286. Tasks Assigned to the Committee. 

Tasks assigned to the Committee include: 

(1) Advise the Board regarding the Criminal Justice Field 
of Study Curricula; 

(2) Provide Board staff with feedback about processes and 
procedures related to the Criminal Justice Field of Study Curricula; and 

(3) Any other issues related to the Criminal Justice Field of 
Study Curricula as determined by the Board. 

§27.287. Report to the Board; Evaluation of Committee Costs and 
Effectiveness. 

The Committee shall report recommendations to the Board. The Com-
mittee shall also report Committee activities to the Board to allow the 
Board to properly evaluate the Committee work, usefulness, and the 
costs related to the Committee existence. The Board shall report its 
evaluation to the Legislative Budget Board in its biennial Legislative 
Appropriations Request. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605154 
Bill Franz 
General Counsel 
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114 

SUBCHAPTER K. PERFORMING 
ARTS/DRAMA FIELD OF STUDY ADVISORY 
COMMITTEE 
19 TAC §§27.301 - 27.307 
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating 
Board) proposes new §§27.301 - 27.307, concerning Performing 
Arts/Drama Field of Study Advisory Committee. The proposed 
new rules authorize the Board to create an advisory committee 
to develop a Performing Arts/Drama field of study. The newly 
added rules will affect students when the criminal justice field of 
study is adopted by the Board. 

Dr. Rex Peebles, Assistant Commissioner for Academic Quality 
and Workforce has determined that for the first five years there 
will be no fiscal implications for state or local governments as a 
result of adding the new sections. 

Dr. Peebles has also determined that for the first five years the 
rules are in effect, the public benefits anticipated as a result of 
administering the sections will be the clarification of which lower 
division courses are required in a performing arts/drama degree 
and improved transferability and applicability of courses. There 
are no anticipated economic costs to persons who are required 
to comply with the section as proposed. There is no impact on 
local employment. 

Comments on the proposed new sections may be submitted by 
mail to Rex C. Peebles, Assistant Commissioner, Texas Higher 
Education Coordinating Board, P.O. Box 12788, Austin, Texas 
78711 or via email at AQWcomments@THECB.state.tx.us. 
Comments will be accepted for 30 days following publication of 
the proposal in the Texas Register. 

The new sections are proposed under the Texas Education 
Code, §61.823(a), which provides the Coordinating Board with 
the authority to develop fields of study curricula with the assis-
tance of advisory committees and Texas Government Code, 
§2110.005, which requires a state agency that establishes an 
advisory committee to adopt rules that state the purpose and 
tasks of the committee and describe the manner in which the 
committee will report to the agency. 

The new sections affect the implementation of Texas Education 
Code, Chapter 61. 

§27.301. Authority and Specific Purposes of the Performing 
Arts/Drama Field of Study Advisory Committee. 

(a) Authority. Statutory authority for this subchapter is pro-
vided in the Texas Education Code, §61.823(a). 

(b) Purpose. The Performing Arts/Drama Field of Study Advi-
sory Committee is created to provide the Commissioner and the Board 
with guidance regarding the performing arts/drama field of study cur-
ricula. 

§27.302. Definitions. 
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall 
have the following meanings: 

(1) Board--The Texas Higher Education Coordinating 
Board. 

(2) Commissioner--The Commissioner of Higher Educa-
tion, the Chief Executive Officer of the Board. 

(3) Field of Study Curricula--The block of courses which 
may be transferred to a general academic teaching institution and must 
be substituted for that institution's lower division requirements for the 
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degree program into which the student transfers, and the student shall 
receive full academic credit toward the degree program for the block 
of courses transferred. 

(4) Institutions of Higher Education--As defined in Texas 
Education Code, Chapter 61.003(8). 

§27.303. Committee Membership and Officers. 
(a) The advisory committee shall be equitably composed of 

representatives of institutions of higher education. 

(b) Each university system or institution of higher education 
which offers a degree program for which a field of study curriculum is 
proposed shall be offered participation on the advisory committee. 

(c) At least a majority of the members of the advisory commit-
tee named under this section shall be faculty members of an institution 
of higher education. An institution shall consult with the faculty of the 
institution before nominating or recommending a person to the board 
as the institution's representative on an advisory committee. 

(d) Board staff will recommend for Board appointment indi-
viduals who are nominated by institutions of higher education. 

(e) Members of the committee shall select co-chairs, who will 
be responsible for conducting meetings and conveying committee rec-
ommendations to the Board. 

(f) The number of committee members shall not exceed 
twenty-four (24). 

(g) Members shall serve staggered terms of up to three years. 
The terms of chairs and co-chairs (if applicable) will be two years dat-
ing from their election. 

§27.304. Duration. 
The Committee shall be abolished no later than January 31, 2021, in 
accordance with Texas Government Code, Chapter 2110. It may be 
reestablished by the Board. 

§27.305. Meetings. 
The Committee shall meet as necessary. Special meetings may be 
called as deemed appropriate by the presiding officer. Meetings shall 
be open to the public and broadcast via the web, unless prevented by 
technical difficulties, and minutes shall be available to the public after 
they have been prepared by the Board staff and reviewed by members 
of the Committee. 

§27.306. Tasks Assigned to the Committee. 
Tasks assigned to the Committee include: 

(1) Advise the Board regarding the Performing Arts/Drama 
Field of Study Curricula; 

(2) Provide Board staff with feedback about processes and 
procedures related to the Performing Arts/Drama Field of Study Cur-
ricula; and 

(3) Any other issues related to the Performing Arts/Drama 
Field of Study Curricula as determined by the Board. 

§27.307. Report to the Board; Evaluation of Committee Costs and 
Effectiveness. 
The Committee shall report recommendations to the Board. The Com-
mittee shall also report Committee activities to the Board to allow the 
Board to properly evaluate the Committee work, usefulness, and the 
costs related to the Committee existence. The Board shall report its 

evaluation to the Legislative Budget Board in its biennial Legislative 
Appropriations Request. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605156 
Bill Franz 
General Counsel 
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114 

PART 2. TEXAS EDUCATION AGENCY 

CHAPTER 61. SCHOOL DISTRICTS 
SUBCHAPTER AA. COMMISSIONER'S 
RULES ON SCHOOL FINANCE 
19 TAC §61.1011 
The Texas Education Agency (TEA) proposes an amendment to 
§61.1011, concerning school finance. The section establishes 
in rule the definitions, assumptions, and calculations used in 
determining a district's Additional State Aid for Tax Reduction 
(ASATR). The proposed amendment would enable a school dis-
trict receiving a reduced local share of Foundation School Pro-
gram funding as a result of being combined with an academically 
unacceptable school district to receive the entire benefit of the 
adjustment rather than having it reduced by the ASATR calcula-
tion. 

The Texas Education Code (TEC), §42.2516, allows school dis-
tricts to be held harmless for the loss in local tax collections 
for maintenance and operations caused by the compression of 
adopted tax rates by one third. Section 61.1011, adopted under 
the TEC, §42.2516, details the calculation of the hold harmless 
levels for each district, known as revenue targets, as well as how 
to determine whether hold harmless money is needed or if the 
state and local revenue received through formula funding is suf-
ficient so that hold harmless money is not needed. Since the 
annexation of an academically unacceptable school district un-
der the TEC, §13.054, rarely occurs, neither the TEC, §42.2516, 
nor §61.1011 address the impact on the ASATR calculation of 
the state assistance provided under the TEC, §13.054(f), which 
requires the commissioner to annually adjust the local fund as-
signment for a district to which territory of an academically un-
acceptable district is annexed. 

Because of the recent annexation of an academically unac-
ceptable school district, the TEA has determined that §61.1011 
should be modified to ensure the extra state aid under the 
TEC, §13.054(f), is not reduced by a reduction to the ASATR 
calculation. The proposed amendment would add language to 
subsection (b)(5)(C) to describe the calculation adjustment for 
districts entitled to the state assistance provided under the TEC, 
§13.054(f). 
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The proposed amendment would have no procedural or report-
ing implications. The proposed amendment would have no lo-
cally maintained paperwork requirements. 

FISCAL NOTE. Leo Lopez, associate commissioner for school 
finance/chief school finance officer, has determined that for the 
first five-year period the amendment is in effect, there will be fis-
cal implications for state and local government as a result of the 
proposed amendment. For fiscal year (FY) 2017, the anticipated 
cost to TEA is $12,489,972. One school district, Texas City In-
dependent School District (ISD), will be eligible for the adjusted 
state aid and will receive $12,489,972 in additional funding in 
FY 2017. There are no anticipated costs or benefits beyond FY 
2017. 

There is no effect on local economy for the first five years that 
the proposed amendment is in effect; therefore, no local em-
ployment impact statement is required under Texas Government 
Code, §2001.022. 

PUBLIC BENEFIT/COST NOTE. Mr. Lopez has determined that 
for each year of the first five years the amendment is in effect the 
public benefit anticipated as a result of enforcing the amendment 
will be allowing the TEA to provide Texas City ISD, which has 
been consolidated with an academically unacceptable school 
district for school year 2016-2017, with the full amount of the 
state aid intended under the TEC, §13.054(f). This would enable 
Texas City ISD to complete renovations to facilities and modifi-
cations to educational programs to benefit the students in the 
formerly academically unacceptable district. There is no antici-
pated economic cost to persons who are required to comply with 
the proposed amendment. 

ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT AND REGULATORY 
FLEXIBILITY ANALYSIS FOR SMALL BUSINESSES AND 
MICROBUSINESSES. There is no direct adverse economic 
impact for small businesses and microbusinesses; therefore, 
no regulatory flexibility analysis, specified in Texas Government 
Code, §2006.002, is required. 

REQUEST FOR PUBLIC COMMENT. The public comment 
period on the proposal begins October 21, 2016, and ends 
November 21, 2016. Comments on the proposal may be sub-
mitted to Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez, Rulemaking, Texas 
Education Agency, 1701 North Congress Avenue, Austin, Texas 
78701. Comments may also be submitted electronically to 
rules@tea.texas.gov. A request for a public hearing on the 
proposal submitted under the Administrative Procedure Act 
must be received by the commissioner of education not more 
than 14 calendar days after notice of the proposal has been 
published in the Texas Register on October 21, 2016. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY. The amendment is proposed under 
the Texas Education Code (TEC), §42.2516, which provides for 
hold harmless payments for school districts for the loss of local 
tax collections due to the tax rate compression instituted in 2006. 
TEC, §42.2516(g), authorizes the commissioner to adopt rules 
necessary to implement additional state aid for tax reduction. 

CROSS REFERENCE TO STATUTE. The amendment imple-
ments the Texas Education Code, §42.2516. 

§61.1011. Additional State Aid for Tax Reduction (ASATR). 
(a) (No change.) 

(b) Additional State Aid for Tax Reduction (ASATR). A 
school district may be entitled to receive ASATR under the TEC, 
§42.2516(b). The entitlement to ASATR for a given fiscal year is de-
termined by calculating the minimum revenue entitlement applicable 

to that fiscal year and comparing the minimum revenue entitlement to 
the total state and local formula revenue based on the CTR for that 
fiscal year. 

(1) - (4) (No change.) 

(5) Fiscal year 2011-2012 and subsequent fiscal years. 
Minimum revenue; adjusted minimum revenue; state and local rev-
enue (S4); and ASATR are calculated as follows for the 2011-2012 
fiscal year and each subsequent fiscal year. 

(A) - (B) (No change.) 

(C) State and local revenue (S4) for the applicable year 
is calculated as follows [by adding Tier 1 state aid for that year to M&O 
tax collections at the CTR for that year and then subtracting from that 
sum recapture at the CTR for that year] . 

(i) State and local revenue (S4) for the applicable 
year is calculated by adding Tier 1 state aid for that year to M&O tax 
collections at the CTR for that year and then subtracting from that sum 
recapture at the CTR for that year. 

(ii) For the 2016-2017 fiscal year, the sum described 
by paragraph (5)(C)(i) of this subsection is adjusted for districts receiv-
ing an adjustment to the local fund assignment (LFA) under the TEC, 
§13.054(f), by subtracting the amount of additional Tier 1 state aid that 
results from the adjustment to the LFA from the Tier 1 state aid amount 
used in the calculation of state and local revenue (S4) for the applicable 
year. 

(D) - (F) (No change.) 

(c) - (d) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605163 
Cristina De La Fuente-Valadez 
Director, Rulemaking 
Texas Education Agency 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-1497 

TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE 

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC 
ACCOUNTS 

CHAPTER 3. TAX ADMINISTRATION 
SUBCHAPTER V. FRANCHISE TAX 
34 TAC §3.574 
The Comptroller of Public Accounts proposes new §3.574, con-
cerning margin: new veteran-owned businesses. 

This section implements Senate Bill 1049, 84th Legislature, 
2015, effective January 1, 2016, which amended Tax Code, 
Chapter 171, to provide that qualifying new veteran-owned 
businesses are not subject to the franchise tax during an initial 
5-year period of operation in Texas. 
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Throughout the section, the comptroller interprets the phrase 
"begins doing business in Texas" as used in SB 1049 to mean 
the date a new veteran-owned business is chartered, organized, 
or otherwise formed in Texas. As defined in SB 1049, a new 
veteran-owned business must be a Texas entity. Interpreting its 
formation date as the date a new veteran-owned business "be-
gins doing business in Texas" is consistent with the imposition 
of franchise tax on all Texas entities from the date of formation. 
This interpretation is also consistent with the SB 1049 provision 
that allows for a 5-year waiver of fees collected by the Secre-
tary of State for new veteran-owned businesses based on the 
entity's date of formation. Further, this interpretation provides a 
clear and unambiguous beginning date for new veteran-owned 
businesses that will make it easier for the owners to comply with 
their franchise tax obligations. 

Subsection (a) provides the effective date of the provisions in 
this section as established in SB 1049. 

Subsection (b) provides definitions for certain terms used 
throughout the section. Paragraph (1) defines the term "be-
ginning date" for a taxable entity that qualifies as a new 
veteran-owned business as the fifth anniversary of the date the 
entity is chartered, organized, or otherwise formed in Texas or 
the date the entity ceases to qualify as a new veteran-owned 
business. Paragraph (1) also includes an example for illustra-
tion. Paragraph (2) defines "Letter of Verification of Veteran's 
Honorable Discharge." This is the written verification Texas 
Veterans Commission issues to a veteran, under Tax Code, 
§171.0005(b), for the comptroller to verify the veteran's dis-
charge status. Paragraph (3) defines the term "new business" 
and is taken from the definition of the term "new veteran-owned 
business" in Tax Code, §171.0005, with changes. The statu-
tory definition of new business only requires that a qualifying 
business begins doing business in Texas on or after January 
1, 2016; however, SB 1049 also provides that this statutory 
provision expires effective January 1, 2020. The comptroller's 
definition of new business, therefore, requires that a qualifying 
business is chartered, organized, or otherwise formed in Texas 
on or after January 1, 2016, and before January 1, 2020. 
Paragraph (4) defines the term "new veteran-owned business" 
and is taken directly from Tax Code, §171.0005. 

Subsection (c) provides that the franchise tax is not imposed on 
a qualifying new veteran-owned business for an initial five-year 
period provided that the business continues to qualify as a new 
veteran-owned business during that period. 

Subsection (d) requires a qualifying new veteran-owned busi-
ness to verify that all of the owners of its business are qualifying 
veterans. Paragraph (1) lists the documents required for verifi-
cation. Paragraph (2) specifies when a taxable entity must sub-
mit the required documents to the secretary of state and when a 
taxable entity must submit the required documents to the comp-
troller. 

Subsection (e) provides the reporting requirements for a qualify-
ing new veteran-owned business. A taxable entity that meets all 
the qualifications of a new veteran-owned business is required 
to file a No Tax Due Report for each reporting period that the 
franchise tax is not imposed on the taxable entity to verify that 
the entity continues to qualify as a new veteran-owned business. 
The comptroller is authorized to require this information under 
Tax Code, §171.204(d). Paragraph (1) provides that, under Tax 
Code, §171.362(f), a $50 penalty will be assessed if the No Tax 
Due Report is not filed as required. Paragraph (2) provides that a 
qualifying new veteran-owned business may not file a franchise 

tax report with a combined group because the franchise tax is 
not imposed on qualifying veteran-owned businesses and they 
are, therefore, not subject to the combined reporting require-
ment during an initial five-year period. Paragraph (3) provides 
that a qualifying new veteran-owned business is not required to 
file a Public Information Report or an Ownership Information Re-
port under Tax Code, §171.203 because the franchise tax is not 
imposed on qualifying veteran-owned businesses for an initial 
five-year period. 

Subsection (f) provides the franchise tax beginning date for a 
qualifying new veteran-owned business that is exempt from fran-
chise tax under Tax Code, §171.063, and subsequently has its 
federal tax exemption withdrawn. Paragraph (1) provides the 
beginning date if the new veteran-owned business loses its fed-
eral tax exemption before its first five years of business have 
elapsed. Paragraph (2) provides the beginning date if the new 
veteran-owned business loses its federal tax exemption after its 
first five years of business have elapsed. 

Subsection (g) provides the expiration date of the provisions in 
this section as established in SB 1049. 

Tom Currah, Chief Revenue Estimator, has determined that for 
the first five-year period the rule will be in effect, there will be no 
significant revenue impact on the state or units of local govern-
ment. 

Mr. Currah also has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the rule is in effect, the public benefit anticipated as a result 
of enforcing the rule will be by implementing recent changes in 
statutes and by providing clear guidance to businesses. This 
rule is proposed under Tax Code, Title 2, and does not require 
a statement of fiscal implications for small businesses. There is 
no significant anticipated economic cost to individuals who are 
required to comply with the proposed rule. 

Comments on the proposal may be submitted to Teresa G. 
Bostick, Director, Tax Policy Division, P.O. Box 13528, Austin, 
Texas 78711-3528. Comments must be received no later than 
30 days from the date of publication of the proposal in the Texas 
Register. 

This new section is proposed under Tax Code, §111.002 (Comp-
troller's Rules; Compliance; Forfeiture) which provides the 
comptroller with the authority to prescribe, adopt, and enforce 
rules relating to the administration and enforcement of the 
provisions of Tax Code, Title 2, and taxes, fees, or other charges 
which the comptroller administers under the law. 

This new section implements Tax Code, §§171.0001 (General 
Definitions), 171.0005 (Definition of New Veteran-Owned Busi-
ness), 171.001 (Tax Imposed), 171.063 (Exemption-Nonprofit 
Corporation Exempt from Federal Income Tax), and 171.204 (In-
formation Report). 

§3.574. Margin: New Veteran-Owned Businesses. 

(a) Effective date. This section is effective January 1, 2016. 

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used 
in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) Beginning date--

(A) For a taxable entity that qualifies as a new veteran-
owned business, the earlier of: 

(i) the fifth anniversary of the date on which the tax-
able entity was chartered, organized, or otherwise formed in Texas; or 
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(ii) the date the taxable entity ceases to qualify as a 
new veteran-owned business. 

(B) For example, if a qualifying entity files its certifi-
cate of formation with the secretary of state on June 1, 2016, and re-
mains wholly-owned by honorably discharged veterans throughout its 
first five years of business, the entity becomes subject to franchise tax 
June 1, 2021. If one of the owners of this same new veteran-owned 
business sells his or her ownership percentage to anyone other than a 
qualifying veteran on December 31, 2017, the entity no longer qualifies 
as a new veteran-owned business and becomes subject to franchise tax 
January 1, 2018. 

(2) Letter of Verification of Veteran's Honorable Dis-
charge--A letter issued by the Texas Veterans Commission, upon 
request by a veteran, verifying the honorable discharge of the veteran. 

(3) New business--A taxable entity that is chartered, orga-
nized, or otherwise formed in Texas on or after January 1, 2016, and 
before January 1, 2020. 

(4) New veteran-owned business--A taxable entity that is a 
new business in which each owner is a natural person who: 

(A) served in and was honorably discharged from a 
branch of the United States armed forces; and 

(B) provides verification to the comptroller of the per-
son's service and discharge, as required by subsection (d) of this sec-
tion. 

(c) Tax not imposed. The franchise tax is not imposed on a 
taxable entity that qualifies as a new veteran-owned business until the 
earlier of: 

(1) the fifth anniversary of the date on which the taxable 
entity was chartered, organized, or otherwise formed in Texas; or 

(2) the date the taxable entity ceases to qualify as a new 
veteran-owned business. 

(d) Verification. A taxable entity that qualifies as a new vet-
eran-owned business must verify that it is owned entirely by qualifying 
veterans. 

(1) Required documents. A taxable entity must submit the 
following documents as required in paragraph (2) of this subsection: 

(A) a "Letter of Verification of Veteran's Honorable 
Discharge" from the Texas Veterans Commission for each owner of 
the business; and 

(B) comptroller Form 05-904, Certification of New Vet-
eran-Owned Business, or any successor to the form promulgated by the 
comptroller. 

(2) Submission. A taxable entity must submit the required 
documents identified in paragraph (1) of this subsection to the: 

(A) secretary of state, if the taxable entity is formed 
with the secretary of state on or after January 1, 2016; or 

(B) comptroller, along with the appropriate comptroller 
franchise tax questionnaire, if necessary, if the taxable entity is not 
required to file a certificate of formation with the secretary of state. 

(e) Reporting requirement for a new veteran-owned business. 
A taxable entity that meets all of the qualifications of a new veteran-
owned business is required to file a No Tax Due Report for each report-
ing period that the franchise tax is not imposed on the taxable entity. 

(1) A qualifying new veteran-owned business that fails to 
file a No Tax Due Report as required shall pay a penalty of $50 under 
Tax Code, §171.362(f). 

(2) A qualifying new veteran-owned business may not file 
with a combined group for each reporting period that the franchise tax 
is not imposed. 

(3) A qualifying new veteran-owned business is not re-
quired to file a Public Information Report or an Ownership Information 
Report for each reporting period that the franchise tax is not imposed. 

(f) Beginning date upon withdrawal of federal tax exemption. 
A qualifying new veteran-owned business that is exempt from fran-
chise tax under Tax Code, §171.063 (Exemption for a Non-profit Cor-
poration Exempt from Federal Income Tax) and subsequently has its 
federal tax exemption withdrawn by the Internal Revenue Service for 
failure to qualify or maintain its qualification for the exemption has a 
beginning date: 

(1) as provided in subsection (b)(1) of this section if: 

(A) in the absence of the federal tax exemption, the 
franchise tax would not have been imposed on the taxable entity under 
subsection (c) of this section; and 

(B) the effective date of the withdrawal is before the 
beginning date determined under subsection (b)(1) of this section; or 

(2) that is the effective date of the withdrawal, if either 
paragraph (1)(A) or (B) of this subsection does not apply. 

(g) Expiration. The provisions of this section expire January 
1, 2020; however, a business that first qualifies as a new veteran-owned 
business before January 1, 2020, continues to qualify as a new veteran-
owned business as provided by this section. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605171 
Lita Gonzalez 
General Counsel 
Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0387 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE 

PART 19. DEPARTMENT OF FAMILY 
AND PROTECTIVE SERVICES 

CHAPTER 748. MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 
GENERAL RESIDENTIAL OPERATIONS 
SUBCHAPTER F. TRAINING AND 
PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT 
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DIVISION 5. PRE-SERVICE TRAINING 
REGARDING EMERGENCY BEHAVIOR 
INTERVENTION 
40 TAC §748.901 
The Texas Health and Human Services Commission, on behalf 
of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS), 
proposes amendments to §§748.901, 748.2451, 748.2551, 
748.2601, 748.2603, 748.2701, 748.2751, 748.2801, 748.2805, 
748.2807, 748.2855, 748.2901, 748.2905, and 748.2907 in 
Chapter 748, concerning Minimum Standards for General 
Residential Operations. 

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE 

The purpose of the amendments are to clarify the purpose, 
scope and notification requirements related to the use of Emer-
gency Behavior Intervention (EBI) on a child in care. In late 
2015, DFPS began development of rules related to Child Pro-
tective Services (CPS) and the provision of notice of significant 
events to key parties involved in the life of a child in care. See 
the February 12, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 
1372) and the May 20, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 
TexReg 3754). In the course of discussions related to what 
constitutes a significant event, several stakeholders voiced con-
cern regarding when or whether those parties would learn about 
the use of Emergency Behavior Intervention (EBI) on a child 
in care. In particular, there was general consensus that while 
CPS as the parent would not receive notice of each use of EBI, 
if the use of EBI reached the threshold at which an operation 
was required to hold a triggered review of EBI, CPS should be 
notified. However, this notification requirement was not clear in 
the relevant Minimum Standards, nor were all in agreement that 
the threshold for a review to be triggered was set appropriately. 

Given the critical nature of the issues, DFPS undertook an im-
mediate review of the related Minimum Standards. See the May 
20, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3754). As a 
part of this review, the agency convened a temporary workgroup 
of affected providers, advocates, and agency staff in accordance 
with Texas Human Resources Code §42.042(i). The workgroup 
reached consensus regarding the need to clarify notification re-
quirements related to triggered reviews, to add specificity regard-
ing the purpose and scope of a triggered review, and to putting 
into place additional parameters if the operation is authorized 
to utilize personal restraints in excess of the limit ordinarily in 
place for the operation. DFPS also received information from in-
dividual workgroup members regarding other state and national 
practices and standards around EBI, which it reviewed in order 
to make additional recommendations to the Executive Commis-
sioner and Executive Council. DFPS also included in the pro-
posal changes that relate to EBI but were identified as part of the 
separate comprehensive review of Chapter 748. Those changes 
are primarily related to updating and clarifying existing language, 
and DFPS determined it would be of maximum clarity to the pub-
lic to bundle the proposed changes together rather than propose 
two separate packets that affect Minimum Standards related to 
EBI. 

Finally, in order to make its rules consistent as appropriate, 
DFPS is proposing corresponding amendments to those identi-
fied for Chapter 748, related to General Residential Operations 
in Chapter 749, related to Child-Placing Agencies. 

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

The amendment to §748.901 adds a component to the pre-ser-
vice training regarding emergency behavior intervention, which 
will require addressing the circumstances when all de-escalation 
strategies fail. 

The amendment to §748.2451 updates the treatment services 
terminology. 

The amendment to §748.2551 deletes a masculine pronoun. 

The amendment to §748.2601 clarifies that a personal restraint 
must be monitored to make sure the restraint is being performed 
appropriately. 

The amendment to §748.2603 deletes a masculine pronoun. 

The amendment to §748.2701 requires an operation to provide 
notification to the parent within 72 hours of any utilization of a 
mechanical restraint on the child. 

The amendment to §748.2751 clarifies that in an emergency be-
havior intervention (EBI), a child must have bathroom privileges 
"as needed". 

The amendment to §748.2801 limits the maximum length of time 
a personal restraint, other than a prone or supine restraint, may 
be utilized on a child of any age to 30 minutes. 

The amendment to §748.2805 places limitations on exceeding 
the maximum length of time for EBI as follows: (1) eliminates 
possibility of an extension past the maximum length of time for a 
personal restraint; and (2) specifies that a seclusion or mechan-
ical restraint may never exceed four hours. 

The amendment to §748.2807 reiterates limit on exceeding time 
limits in seclusions and mechanical restraints. 

The amendment to §748.2855: (1) clarifies that a caregiver 
"involved with the intervention" must document in the child's 
record the intervention; and (2) adds to the documentation 
requirements for an EBI to include: (a) the names of any 
witnesses to the EBI, including child witnesses in the home; 
and (b) the name of the person providing medical treatment or 
assistance to the child. 

The amendment to §748.2901: (1) modifies threshold for trig-
gered review of personal restraints to require a review if the same 
child is restrained either four times in a seven-day period or more 
than 12 times in a single 30-day period; and (2) retains existing 
authority for qualified individuals to authorize personal restraints 
in excess of the threshold above; adds requirement that in any 
30-day period during which such excess restraints are autho-
rized, the operation must conduct at least one triggered review 
in accordance with the subchapter. 

The amendment to §748.2905: (1) specifies that parents and 
child, as applicable, must be invited to a triggered review so that 
they are given notice and an opportunity to participate; and (2) 
clarifies that if parent or child is invited but cannot participate, the 
operation is not required to delay the review so that the parent 
or child can participate. 

The amendment to §748.2907 clarifies content and focus of a 
triggered review meeting. 

FISCAL NOTE 

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that 
for the first five-year period the proposed amendments will be in 
effect there will be no fiscal implications for state or local govern-
ment as a result of enforcing or administering the amendments. 
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SMALL BUSINESS AND MICRO-BUSINESS IMPACT ANALY-
SIS 

There will be no effect on small or micro-businesses because 
the proposed changes do not impose new requirements on any 
business and does not require the purchase of any new equip-
ment or any increased staff time in order to comply. There is no 
anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to com-
ply with the proposed amendments. 

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST 

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the amendments are in effect the public benefit anticipated 
is that requirements regarding the use of EBI will be clarified 
and, as appropriate, limited to further improve the safety and 
well-being of children in the care of a regulated operation. 

The rule changes do impose some additional limitation on the 
use of EBI. However, they are not anticipated to have any direct 
fiscal implications. Requiring notification of a triggered review 
to the parent and child, as applicable, was arguably implied in 
prior standards and presents an insubstantial outlay of time and 
effort. Additional limitations related to mechanical restraints are 
unlikely to have any implications. Agency data reflect that there 
have been only 3 instances of mechanical restraints being uti-
lized on children in care in the preceding 3 years. Decreasing the 
time limit for personal restraints and disallowing extension orders 
should have minimal impact in that lengthy personal restraints 
are not known to be common, and if the emergency continues, 
the operation may initiate a new restraint. The same is true for 
seclusion. Requiring a triggered review in any 30-day period in 
which personal restraints are authorized in excess of the general 
limitation should also have minimal impact, if any. Providers who 
participated in the temporary workgroup reported that such au-
thorization is extremely rare, and only one provider could recall 
an instance of it occurring over the preceding decade. Clarifying 
the scope of a triggered review is a simplification for providers, 
and will permit them to focus on the issues related to EBI rather 
than being required to undergo a full service plan update. Fi-
nally, many of the rules relate primarily to updating and clarify-
ing terminology and are similarly not expected to have any fiscal 
consequences. 

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed amendments do 
not restrict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that 
would otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, 
therefore, do not constitute a taking under §2007.043, Govern-
ment Code. 

PUBLIC COMMENT 

Questions about the content of the proposal may be directed to 
Audrey Carmical at (512) 438-3854 in DFPS's Legal Division. 
Electronic comments may be submitted to audrey.carmi-
cal@dfps.state.tx.us. Written comments on the proposal may 
be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal Services-559, 
Department of Family and Protective Services E-611, P.O. Box 
149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, within 30 days of publica-
tion in the Texas Register. 

STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 

services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042. 

§748.901. If I do not allow the use of emergency behavior interven-
tion, what curriculum components must be included in the pre-service 
training regarding emergency behavior intervention? 

If you do not allow the use of emergency behavior intervention, your 
pre-service training curriculum regarding emergency behavior inter-
vention must focus on early identification of potential problem behav-
iors and strategies and techniques of less restrictive interventions, in-
cluding the following components: 

(1) - (6) (No change.) 

(7) Less restrictive strategies caregivers can use to work 
with oppositional children; [and] 

(8) Addressing circumstances when all de-escalation 
strategies fail; and 

(9) [(8)] The risks associated with the use of prone or 
supine restraints, including positional, compression, or restraint 
asphyxia. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605175 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER N. EMERGENCY BEHAVIOR 
INTERVENTION 
DIVISION 2. TYPES OF EMERGENCY 
BEHAVIOR INTERVENTION THAT MAY BE 
ADMINISTERED 
40 TAC §748.2451 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042. 

§748.2451. What types of emergency behavior intervention may I ad-
minister? 

(a) If permitted in your policies and you meet the requirements 
of this subchapter, you may administer the following types of emer-
gency behavior intervention to a child in your care: 

(1) - (3) (No change.) 

(4) Seclusion: 

(A) Only for a child [children] with an emotional 
disorder or an Autism Spectrum Disorder [disorders or pervasive 
developmental disorders]; and only if you provide treatment services 
to 25 or more children with emotional disorders or Autism Spectrum 
Disorder [pervasive developmental disorders], or if more than 30% 
of the children in your care receive treatment services for emotional 
disorders or Autism Spectrum Disorder [pervasive development dis-
orders]. Seclusion is not permitted for children receiving therapeutic 
camp services; or 

(B) (No change.) 

(5) Mechanical restraint, only if you are [have] a Residen-
tial Treatment Center [permit]. 

(b) - (c) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605177 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854 

DIVISION 4. RESPONSIBILITIES DURING 
ADMINISTRATION OF ANY TYPE OF 
EMERGENCY BEHAVIOR INTERVENTION 
40 TAC §748.2551 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042. 

§748.2551. What responsibilities does a caregiver have when imple-
menting a type of emergency behavior intervention? 

(a) - (e) (No change.) 

(f) If the child does not appear to understand what the child 
[he] must do to be released from the emergency behavior intervention, 
the caregiver must attempt to re-explain it every 15 minutes until the 
child understands or is released from the intervention. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605180 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854 

DIVISION 5. ADDITIONAL RESPONSIBIL-
ITIES DURING ADMINISTRATION OF A 
PERSONAL RESTRAINT 
40 TAC §784.2601, §748.2603 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042. 

§748.2601. Who must monitor a personal restraint? 

(a) During any personal restraint, a caregiver qualified in 
emergency behavior intervention must: 

(1) Monitor [monitor] the: 

(A) Personal restraint to make sure it is being performed 
appropriately; and 

(B) Child's [child's] breathing and other signs of phys-
ical distress; and 

(2) Take [take] appropriate action to ensure adequate res-
piration, circulation, and overall well-being. 

(b) If available, a caregiver who is not restraining the child 
should monitor the child. However, general residential operations [and 
residential treatment centers] with a capacity of more than 16 children 
must monitor prone and supine restraints as required in §748.2605(b) 
of this title (relating to What personal restraint techniques are prohib-
ited?). 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

§748.2603. What is the appropriate action for a caregiver to take to 
ensure the child's adequate respiration, circulation, and overall well-
being? 

Appropriate action includes responding prudently to a potentially life-
threatening situation, for example, releasing a child when a child is un-
responsive or indicates the child [he] cannot breathe and immediately 
seeking medical assistance from a health-care professional. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605183 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854 

DIVISION 7. ADDITIONAL RESPONSIBIL-
ITIES DURING ADMINISTRATION OF A 
MECHANICAL RESTRAINT 
40 TAC §748.2701 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042. 

§748.2701. What are the additional responsibilities for implementing 
a mechanical restraint? 

(a) - (d) (No change.) 

(e) You must notify a child's parent that mechanical restraint 
was used on the child within 72 hours after the restraint is concluded. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605185 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854 

DIVISION 8. SUCCESSIVE USE AND 
COMBINATIONS OF EMERGENCY BEHAVIOR 
INTERVENTION 
40 TAC §748.2751 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042. 

§748.2751. May a caregiver successively use emergency behavior in-
terventions on a child? 

(a) - (b) (No change.) 

(c) A caregiver must allow the child: 

(1) Bathroom privileges as needed and at least once every 
two hours; 

(2) - (5) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605186 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854 

DIVISION 9. TIME RESTRICTIONS FOR 
EMERGENCY BEHAVIOR INTERVENTION 
40 TAC §§748.2801, 748.2805, 748.2807 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 
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The amendment implements HRC §42.042. 

§748.2801. What is the maximum length of time that an emergency 
behavior intervention can be administered to a child? 
The maximum length of time that certain emergency behavior inter-
ventions can be administered to a child is as follows:
 
Figure: 40 TAC §748.2801
 
[Figure: 40 TAC §748.2801]
 

§748.2805. Can a caregiver exceed the maximum length of time that 
an emergency behavior intervention can be administered to a child? 
A caregiver may exceed the maximum length of time for certain emer-
gency behavior interventions as follows:
 
Figure: 40 TAC §748.2805
 
[Figure: 40 TAC §748.2805]
 

§748.2807. May continuation orders be obtained verbally to exceed 
the maximum length of time that seclusion or mechanical restraint can 
be administered to a child? 

(a) (No change.) 

(b) If the seclusion and mechanical restraint continues beyond 
the maximum length of time, then the caregiver must allow the child: 

(1) Bathroom privileges as needed and at least once every 
two hours; 

(2) - (5) (No change.) 

(c) (No change.) 

(d) In no event may the order permit the seclusion or mechan-
ical restraint to exceed four hours. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605187 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854 

DIVISION 10. GENERAL CAREGIVER 
RESPONSIBILITIES, INCLUDING 
DOCUMENTATION, AFTER THE 
ADMINISTRATION OF EMERGENCY 
BEHAVIOR INTERVENTION 
40 TAC §748.2855 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendment is proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 

Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042. 

§748.2855. When must a caregiver document the use of an emergency 
behavior intervention, and what must the documentation include? 

(a) As soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours after the ini-
tiation of the emergency behavior intervention, the caregiver involved 
in the intervention must document in the child's record the following 
information: 

(1) - (8) (No change.) 

(9) The names of any witnesses to the emergency behavior 
intervention, including any child in care who witnessed the interven-
tion; 

(10) [(9)] All attempts to explain to the child what behav-
iors were necessary for release from the intervention; 

(11) [(10)] The child's condition following the use of the 
medication or release from the intervention, including any injury the 
child sustained as a result of the intervention or any adverse effects 
caused by the use of the intervention. If the child received medical 
assistance or treatment, the caregiver must document the name of the 
person(s) who provided medical assistance or treatment; and 

(12) [(11)] The actions the caregiver(s) took to facilitate the 
child's return to normal activities following the end of the intervention. 

(b) - (f) (No change.) 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605188 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854 

DIVISION 11. TRIGGERED REVIEWS 
40 TAC §§748.2901, 748.2905, 748.2907 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendment implements HRC §42.042. 
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§748.2901. What circumstances trigger a review of the use of emer-
gency behavior intervention for a specific child? 

(a) The following circumstances trigger a review for certain 
emergency behavior interventions: 
Figure: 40 TAC §748.2901(a) 
[Figure: 40 TAC §748.2901] 

(b) You may exceed the number of restraints otherwise al-
lowed in (2) Personal restraint of Figure: 40 TAC §748.2901(a) for a 
child if a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist issues a written order or 
if a service planning team makes a recommendation allowing you to 
do so and you ensure the following: 

(1) If applicable, the recommendation from the service 
planning team includes the same written information as an order, as 
specified in §748.2505 of this title (relating to What information must 
a written order include?); and 

(2) At least one triggered review is conducted in accor-
dance with §748.2907 of this title (relating to What must the triggered 
review include and what must be documented in the child’s record?) 
every 30 days that personal restraints in excess of the threshold are au-
thorized. 

§748.2905. Who must participate in the triggered review? 
(a) A full service planning team must participate in the trig-

gered review. You must invite the child, as appropriate, and the parents 
to the review, so they may have the opportunity to participate and pro-
vide input into the content of the review. However, you are not required 
to delay a review because a parent or child is unable to participate in 
the review at its scheduled time. 

(b) Even if the child is not receiving treatment services, the 
two additional professions required in §748.1339(b) of this title (relat-
ing to Who must be involved in developing an initial service plan?) 
must be involved in the triggered review. 

§748.2907. What must the triggered review include and what must be 
documented in the child’s record? 

(a) Except in cases in which the regularly scheduled review of 
the child's service plan also addresses the requirements of a triggered 
review in accordance with §748.2903(b) of this title (relating to When 
must a triggered review occur?), a triggered review is not a full review 
of the child's service plan and is focused on the requirements identified 
in subsection (c) of this section. 

(b) Other than the requirements in this section and in 
§748.2905 of this title (relating to Who must participate in the trig-
gered review?), the notification, participation, implementation, and 
documentation requirements in Division 4 of Subchapter I (relating to 
Admission, Service Planning, And Discharge) do not otherwise apply 
to a triggered review. 

(c) The following must be included in a triggered review and 
documented in the child’s record: 

[(1) The same items that must be included and documented 
in an initial service plan (see §748.1337 of this title (relating to What 
must a child’s initial service plan include?));] 

(1) [(2)] A review of the records and orders of the emer-
gency behavior interventions; 

(2) [(3)] A review and documentation of any potential med-
ical or psychiatric reason for not using emergency behavior interven-
tions on the child, including the prescribing professional’s considera-
tion of any potential medical and/or psychiatric contraindications for 
the specific child, such as a history of physical or sexual abuse or vic-
timization involving the type of intervention; 

(3) [(4)] An examination of identified behaviors and pat-
terns, any significant events leading up to the use of emergency be-
havior intervention, and all attempted de-escalation methods, whether 
successful or unsuccessful; [alternatives to manage the child's behavior 
and to assist the child in managing his own behavior; and] 

(4) Identification of alternatives to manage the child's be-
havior and more effectively prevent the use of emergency behavior in-
tervention in the future; and 

(5) A written plan for reducing the need for emergency be-
havior intervention. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605189 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854 

CHAPTER 749. MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 
CHILD-PLACING AGENCIES 
SUBCHAPTER L. FOSTER CARE SERVICES: 
EMERGENCY BEHAVIOR INTERVENTION 
The Texas Health and Human Services Commission, on behalf 
of the Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS), 
proposes amendments to §§749.2281, 749.2283, 749.2331, 
749.2335, and 749.2337, in Chapter 749, concerning Minimum 
Standards for Child-Placing Agencies (CPAs). 

BACKGROUND AND PURPOSE 

The purpose of the amendments are to clarify the purpose, 
scope and notification requirements related to the use of 
Emergency Behavior Intervention (EBI) on a child in care. In 
late 2015, DFPS began development of rules related to Child 
Protective Services and the provision of notice of significant 
events to key parties involved in the life of a child in care. See 
the February 12, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 
1372) and the May 20, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 
TexReg 3754). In the course of discussions related to what 
constitutes a significant event, several stakeholders voiced con-
cern regarding when or whether those parties would learn about 
the use of Emergency Behavior Intervention (EBI) on a child 
in care. In particular, there was general consensus that while 
CPS as the parent would not receive notice of each use of EBI, 
if the use of EBI reached the threshold at which an operation 
was required to hold a triggered review of EBI, CPS should be 
notified. However, this notification requirement was not clear in 
the relevant Minimum Standards, nor were all in agreement that 
the threshold for a review to be triggered was set appropriately. 

Given the critical nature of the issues, DFPS undertook an im-
mediate review of the related Minimum Standards. See the May 
20, 1026, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 3754). As a 
part of this review, the agency convened a temporary workgroup 
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of affected providers, advocates, and agency staff in accordance 
with Texas Human Resources Code §42.042(i). The workgroup 
reached consensus regarding the need to clarify notification re-
quirements related to triggered reviews, to add specificity regard-
ing the purpose and scope of a triggered review, and to putting 
into place additional parameters if the operation is authorized 
to utilize personal restraints in excess of the limit ordinarily in 
place for the operation. DFPS also received information from in-
dividual workgroup members regarding other state and national 
practices and standards around EBI, which it reviewed in order 
to make additional recommendations to the Executive Commis-
sioner and Executive Council. DFPS also included in the pro-
posal changes that relate to EBI but were identified as part of the 
separate comprehensive review of Chapter 748. Those changes 
are primarily related to updating and clarifying existing language, 
and DFPS determined it would be of maximum clarity to the pub-
lic to bundle the proposed changes together rather than propose 
two separate packets that affect Minimum Standards related to 
EBI. 

Finally, in order to make its rules consistent as appropriate, 
DFPS is proposing corresponding amendments to those identi-
fied for Chapter 748, related to General Residential Operations 
in Chapter 749, related to Child-Placing Agencies. 

SECTION-BY-SECTION SUMMARY 

The amendment to §749.2281 limits the maximum length of time 
a personal restraint, other than a prone or supine restraint, may 
be utilized on a child of any age to 30 minutes. 

The amendment to §749.2283: eliminates the possibility of an 
extension past the maximum length of time for a personal re-
straint. 

The amendment to §749.2331: (1) modifies threshold for trig-
gered review of personal restraints to require a review if the same 
child is restrained either four times in a seven-day period or more 
than 12 times in a single 30-day period; and (2) retains existing 
authority for qualified individuals to authorize personal restraints 
in excess of the threshold above; adds requirement that in any 
30-day period during which such excess restraints are autho-
rized, the operation must conduct at least one triggered review 
in accordance with the subchapter. 

The amendment to §749.2335: (1) specifies that parents and 
child, as applicable, must be invited to a triggered review so that 
they are given notice and an opportunity to participate; and (2) 
clarifies that if parent or child is invited but cannot participate, the 
operation is not required to delay the review so that the parent 
or child can participate. 

The amendment to §749.2337 clarifies content and focus of a 
triggered review meeting. 

FISCAL NOTE 

Lisa Subia, Chief Financial Officer of DFPS, has determined that 
for the first five-year period the proposed amendments will be in 
effect there will be no fiscal implications for state or local govern-
ment as a result of enforcing or administering the new sections. 

SMALL BUSINESS AND MICRO-BUSINESS IMPACT ANALY-
SIS 

There will be no effect on small or micro-businesses because 
the proposed change does not impose new requirements on any 
business and does not require the purchase of any new equip-
ment or any increased staff time in order to comply. There is no 

anticipated economic cost to persons who are required to com-
ply with the proposed amendments. 

PUBLIC BENEFIT AND COST 

Ms. Subia also has determined that for each year of the first five 
years the amendments are in effect the public benefit anticipated 
is that requirements regarding the use of EBI will be clarified 
and, as appropriate, limited to further improve the safety and 
well-being of children in the care of a regulated operation. 

The rule changes do impose some additional limitation on the 
use of EBI. However, they are not anticipated to have any direct 
fiscal implications. Requiring notification of a triggered review 
to the parent and child, as applicable, was arguably implied in 
prior standards and presents an insubstantial outlay of time and 
effort. Additional limitations related to mechanical restraints are 
unlikely to have any implications. Agency data reflect that there 
have been only 3 instances of mechanical restraints being uti-
lized on children in care in the preceding 3 years. Decreasing the 
time limit for personal restraints and disallowing extension orders 
should have minimal impact in that lengthy personal restraints 
are not known to be common, and if the emergency continues, 
the operation may initiate a new restraint. The same is true for 
seclusion. Requiring a triggered review in any 30-day period in 
which personal restraints are authorized in excess of the general 
limitation should also have minimal impact, if any. Providers who 
participated in the temporary workgroup reported that such au-
thorization is extremely rare, and only one provider could recall 
an instance of it occurring over the preceding decade. Clarifying 
the scope of a triggered review is a simplification for providers, 
and will permit them to focus on the issues related to EBI rather 
than being required to undergo a full service plan update. Fi-
nally, many of the rules relate primarily to updating and clarify-
ing terminology and are similarly not expected to have any fiscal 
consequences. 

TAKINGS IMPACT ASSESSMENT 

Ms. Subia has determined that the proposed amendments do 
not restrict or limit an owner's right to his or her property that 
would otherwise exist in the absence of government action and, 
therefore, do not constitute a taking under §2007.043, Govern-
ment Code. 

PUBLIC COMMENT 

Questions about the content of the proposal may be directed 
to Audrey Carmical at (512) 438-3854 in DFPS's Legal Ser-
vices Division. Electronic comments may be submitted to 
Audrey.Carmical@dfps.state.tx.us. Written comments on the 
proposal may be submitted to Texas Register Liaison, Legal 
Services-559, Department of Family and Protective Services 
E-611, P.O. Box 149030, Austin, Texas 78714-9030, within 30 
days of publication in the Texas Register. 

DIVISION 7. TIME RESTRICTIONS FOR 
EMERGENCY BEHAVIOR INTERVENTION 
40 TAC §749.2281, §749.2283 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
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§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC §42.042. 

§749.2281. What is the maximum length of time that an emergency 
behavior intervention can be administered to a child? 
The maximum length of time that certain emergency behavior inter-
ventions can be administered to a child is as follows:
 
Figure: 40 TAC §749.2281
 
[Figure: 40 TAC §749.2281]
 

§749.2283. Can a caregiver exceed the maximum length of time that 
an emergency behavior intervention can be administered to a child? 
A caregiver may exceed the maximum length of time for certain emer-
gency behavior interventions as follows:
 
Figure: 40 TAC §749.2283
 
[Figure: 40 TAC §749.2283]
 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016. 
TRD-201605172 
Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854 

DIVISION 9. TRIGGERED REVIEWS 
40 TAC §§749.2331, 749.2335, 749.2337 
STATUTORY AUTHORITY 

The amendments are proposed under Human Resources Code 
(HRC) §40.0505 and Government Code §531.0055, which 
provide that the Health and Human Services Executive Com-
missioner shall adopt rules for the operation and provision of 
services by the health and human services agencies, including 
the Department of Family and Protective Services; and HRC 
§40.021, which provides that the Family and Protective Ser-
vices Council shall study and make recommendations to the 
Executive Commissioner and the Commissioner regarding rules 
governing the delivery of services to persons who are served or 
regulated by the department. 

The amendments implement HRC §42.042. 

§749.2331. What circumstances trigger a review of the use of emer-
gency behavior intervention for a specific child? 

(a) The following circumstances trigger a review for certain 
emergency behavior interventions: 
Figure: 40 TAC §749.2331(a) 
Figure: 40 TAC §749.2331 

(b) You may exceed the number of restraints otherwise al-
lowed in (2) Personal restraint of Figure: 40 TAC §749.2331(a) for a 
child if a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist issues a written order or 

if a service planning team makes a recommendation allowing you to 
do so and you ensure the following: 

(1) If applicable, the recommendation from the service 
planning team includes the same written information as an order, as 
specified in §749.2105 of this title (relating to What information must 
a written order include?); and 

(2) At least one triggered review is conducted in accor-
dance with §749.2337 of this title (relating to What must the triggered 
review include and what must be documented in the child's record?) 
every 30 days that personal restraints in excess of the threshold are au-
thorized. 

§749.2335. Who must participate in the triggered review? 

(a) The service planning team must participate in the triggered 
review. 

(b) You must invite the child, as appropriate, and the parents to 
the review, so they may have the opportunity to participate and provide 
input into the content of the review. However, you are not required to 
delay a review because a parent or child is unable to participate in the 
review at its scheduled time. 

§749.2337. What must the triggered review include and what must be 
documented in the child's record? 

(a) Except in cases in which the regularly scheduled review of 
the child's service plan also addresses the requirements of a triggered 
review in accordance with §749.2333(b) of this title (relating to When 
must a triggered review occur?), a triggered review is not a full review 
of the child's service plan and is focused on the requirements identified 
in subsection (c) of this section. 

(b) Other than the requirements in this section and in 
§749.2335 of this title (relating to Who must participate in the trig-
gered review?), the notification, participation, implementation, and 
documentation requirements in Division 4 of Subchapter I (relating 
to Admission, Service Planning, And Discharge) do not apply to a 
triggered review. 

(c) The following must be included in a triggered review and 
documented in the child's record: 

[(1) The same items that must be included and documented 
in an initial service plan, (see §749.1309 of this title (relating to What 
must a child's initial service plan include?));] 

(1) [(2)] A review of the records and orders of the emer-
gency behavior interventions; 

(2) [(3)] A review and documentation of any potential med-
ical or psychiatric reason for not using emergency behavior interven-
tions on the child, including the prescribing professional's considera-
tion of any potential medical and/or psychiatric contraindications for 
the specific child, such as a history of physical or sexual abuse or vic-
timization involving the type of intervention; 

(3) [(4)] An examination of identified behaviors and pat-
terns, any significant events leading up to the use of emergency be-
havior intervention, and all attempted de-escalation methods, whether 
successful or unsuccessful; [alternatives to manage the child's behavior 
and to assist the child in managing his own behavior; and] 

(4) Identification of alternatives to manage the child's be-
havior and more effectively prevent the use of emergency behavior in-
tervention in the future; and 

(5) A written plan for reducing the need for emergency be-
havior intervention. 
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The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the pro-
posal and found it to be within the state agency's legal authority 
to adopt. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on October 10, 

2016.
 
TRD-201605174
 

Trevor Woodruff 
General Counsel 
Department of Family and Protective Services 
Earliest possible date of adoption: November 20, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 438-3854
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