
♦ ♦ ♦ TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

PART 3. OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY 
GENERAL 

CHAPTER 70. COST OF COPIES OF PUBLIC 
INFORMATION 
1 TAC §70.13 
The Office of the Attorney General (OAG), Open Records Divi-
sion, adopts §70.13, of Title 1 of the Texas Administrative Code, 
regarding the fee for obtaining a copy of a body worn camera 
recording, without changes as published in the July 22, 2016, 
issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 5286), and the new rule 
will not be republished. 

Pursuant to §1701.661(g) of the Occupations Code, the OAG is 
to set a fee for obtaining a copy of a body worn camera record-
ing. Section 1701.661(g) states this amount shall be sufficient 
to cover the cost of reviewing and making the recording when 
release of a body worn camera recording is required. 

The new rule allows a law enforcement agency to recover costs 
for providing a copy of a body worn camera recording. It allows 
a law enforcement agency to charge a $10.00 fee for each body 
worn camera recording provided. It also allows a flat fee of $1.00 
per minute of footage required to be reviewed if an identical copy 
has not previously been released. 

No comments were received regarding the new rule. 

The new rule is adopted under §1701.661(g) of the Occupations 
Code, which requires the OAG to set a proposed fee to obtain a 
copy of a body worn camera recording from a law enforcement 
agency under that section. 

Chapter 552 of the Government Code is affected by this new 
rule. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 4, 

2016. 
TRD-201605717 
Amanda Crawford 
General Counsel 
Office of the Attorney General 
Effective date: November 24, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-4163 

TITLE 7. BANKING AND SECURITIES 

PART 6. CREDIT UNION 
DEPARTMENT 

CHAPTER 91. CHARTERING, OPERATIONS, 
MERGERS, LIQUIDATIONS 
SUBCHAPTER G. LENDING POWERS 
7 TAC §91.709 
The Credit Union Commission (Commission) adopts amend-
ments to Texas Administrative Code Title 7, §91.709, Member 
Business Loans, with non-substantive changes from the pro-
posed rule published in the July 22, 2016, issue of the Texas 
Register (41 TexReg 5301). 

Section 15.402 of the Texas Finance Code authorizes the 
Commission to adopt reasonable rules for administering Title 
2, Chapter 15 and Title 3, Subchapter D of the Finance Code 
(the "Texas Credit Union Act"). In adopting any such rules, the 
Legislature has directed the Commission to consider the need 
to: 

1. promote a stable credit union environment; 

2. provide credit union members with convenient, safe, and com-
petitive services; 

3. preserve and promote the competitive parity of credit unions 
with regard to other depository institutions consistent with the 
safety and soundness of credit unions; and 

4. promote or encourage economic development in this state. 

Section 121.0011 of the Texas Finance Code sets out the policy 
of the Texas Credit Union Act. In relevant part, it states: "The 
purposes of this subtitle are .... to delegate to the department 
rulemaking and discretionary authority that may be necessary 
to assure that credit unions operating under this subtitle may 
be sufficiently flexible and readily responsive to changes in eco-
nomic conditions and practices, to maintain sound credit union 
growth ... to permit credit unions to effectively provide a full ar-
ray of financial and financially related services, to provide effec-
tive supervision and regulation of credit unions and their fields of 
membership, and to clarify and modernize the law governing the 
credit unions doing business in this state. This subtitle is the pub-
lic policy of this state and necessary to the public welfare." Fur-
thermore, §121.004 of the Texas Finance Code expressly states: 
"This subtitle shall be liberally construed to effect its purposes." 

As published, the amendments to the rule will promote a sta-
ble credit union environment, provide credit union members with 
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convenient, safe, and competitive services, preserve and pro-
mote the competitive parity of credit unions with regard to other 
depository institutions consistent with the safety and soundness 
of credit unions, and promote or encourage economic develop-
ment in Texas by providing state chartered credit unions parity, 
under Texas Finance Code §123.003, with federal credit unions 
engaged in the business of making member business loans in 
Texas. The amendments will eliminate detailed collateral crite-
ria and portfolio limits, and instead will focus on broad, yet well-
defined, principles that clarify regulatory expectation for credit 
unions engaged in member business lending activities, thus pro-
moting a stable credit union environment and providing credit 
union members with convenient, safe and competitive services. 
The proposed amendments also distinguish between the broad 
commercial lending activities in which a credit union is authorized 
to engage, and the more narrowly defined category of mem-
ber business loans subject to statutory aggregate limits in 12 
U.S.C. §1757a, thus promoting the safety and soundness of 
credit unions. Additional safety and soundness considerations 
are addressed by the proposed amendments clarification that, 
in addition to the other limitations set forth in the amendments, 
a credit union may not make a loan to a member or a busi-
ness interest of the member if the loan would cause the aggre-
gate amount of loans to the member and the member's busi-
ness interests to exceed an amount equal to 10 percent of the 
credit union's total assets as provided by Texas Finance Code 
§124.003. 

In general, the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) 
adopted a final rule to modernize its member business loans 
rule (12 C.F.R. Part 723) to provided federally insured credit 
unions with greater flexibility and autonomy to provide com-
mercial and business loans to their members. The final rule, 
effective January 1, 2017, amends NCUA's current regulatory 
requirements pertaining to credit union commercial lending 
activities by replacing the existing prescriptive requirements 
with a broad, principles-based regulatory approach. NCUA's 
final rule eliminates most of the regulatory thresholds and limits, 
and replaces those provisions with expanded requirements 
pertaining to policies, procedures, and oversight by credit union 
management and credit union directors. NCUA's final rule also 
provides that federally insured credit unions in a given state 
are exempted from compliance with 12 C.F.R. Part 723 if a 
state supervisory authority administers a state commercial and 
member business loan rule for use by federally insured credit 
unions in that state, provided that the state rule at least covers 
all the provisions in 12 C.F.R. Part 723 and is no less restrictive 
(based on NCUA's determination). 

States that currently have exemptions from the previous 12 
C.F.R. Part 723 are grandfathered in NCUA's final rule. As a 
result, without action by the Commission, the grandfathered 
Texas Administrative Code Title 7, §91.709, Member Business 
Loans, will continue to require state chartered credit unions 
to comply with the extensive regulatory thresholds and limits 
and will place them at a competitive disadvantage to federally 
chartered credit unions when offering commercial and busi-
ness loans to their members. The Commission thus proposed 
amendments to address this competitive disadvantage and to 
promote economic development in the state. 

In keeping with NCUA's "no less restrictive" requirement to ob-
tain an exemption from the new 12 C.F.R. Part 723, the proposed 
amendments closely track the provisions of NCUA's final rule 
and remove the current credit union requirements for collateral 
and security, equity, loans limits, and waiver processes, and re-

place them with broad principles intended to permit credit unions 
to govern safe and sound member business lending as part of 
their commercial lending program. Under the amendments, the 
Commission requires credit unions to maintain and update writ-
ten policies concerning the maximum amount of assets, credit 
underwriting standards, loan approval standards, loan monitor-
ing standards and loan documentation standards. Credit unions 
are also required to have qualified staff and commercial loan 
risk management systems. In addition, the amendments con-
tain prohibitions on certain types of commercial loans and con-
tain an aggregate member business loan limit. The amendments 
will not take effect until January 1, 2017, to coincide with the ef-
fective date of NCUA's final 12 C.F.R. Part 723. 

As adopted, the amendments make three non-substantive 
changes. The first non-substantive change is in Subsection 
(c)(1)(D) adding the missing verb "evaluating" between the 
words "in" and "collateral". The second non-substantive change 
is in Subsection (i)(1)(C), changing the (4) to a (3). The third 
non-substantive change is in Subsection (k) changing 121.003 
to 124.003. 

The Commission received fifteen (15) written comments on the 
proposed rule amendments during the comment period. Twelve 
(12) commenters were in favor of the proposed rule. One com-
menter, GECU Credit Union (GECU) was partially in favor and 
partially opposed to the proposed rule. GECU stated that clar-
ification is needed as to whether the parity provision applies to 
both making and purchasing loans, in addition to servicing the 
loans. The Commission disagrees with this need for clarifica-
tion and notes that the plain language of Texas Finance Code 
§123.003(a) governs. That language states: "A credit union may 
engage in any activity in which it could engage, exercise any 
power it could exercise, or make any loan or investment it could 
make, if it were operating as a federal credit union." 

GECU also makes the following objections: (1) that for construc-
tion and development loans, the term "cost to complete" does not 
align with NCUA's rule; and (2) that NCUA's "regulation ensures 
that if the land was purchased over 12 months ago (for example 
in the 1950s, when the cost to purchase land was substantially 
less than current prices), then the appraised market value should 
be utilized." These objections are based on an inaccurate read-
ing of the NCUA final rule. The NCUA final rule does not contain 
the language that GECU quotes. 

GECU also objects that the proposed Subsection (h)(2) "indi-
cates that these exceptions are not commercial loans if the out-
standing aggregate net MBL balance is $50,000 or greater. Con-
versely, the NCUA indicates that such loans are not commercial 
loans, but are MBLs and must be counted toward the aggre-
gate limit." GECU's statement is based on an inaccurate read-
ing of the NCUA final rule. In that rule, NCUA defines commer-
cial loan as "Commercial loan means any loan ... and loans 
that would otherwise meet the definition of commercial loan and 
which, when the aggregate outstanding balances plus unfunded 
commitments less any portion secured by shares in the credit 
union to a borrower or an associated borrower, are equal to less 
than $50,000." The Commission amendments define commer-
cial loan as "a loan ... and a loan that would otherwise meet 
the definition of commercial loan and which, when the aggregate 
outstanding balance plus unfunded commitments less any por-
tion secured by shares in the credit union to a borrower, is equal 
to less than $50,000." Additionally, NCUA's rule in 12 C.F.R. 
§723.8 states: "Exceptions. Any loan secured by a lien on a 
1- to 4-family residential property that is not a member's primary 
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residence, and any loan secured by a vehicle manufactured for 
household use that will be used for a commercial, corporate, 
or other business investment property or venture, or agricultural 
purpose, is not a commercial loan but it is a member business 
loan (if the outstanding aggregate net member business loan bal-
ance is $50,000 or greater) and must be counted toward the ag-
gregate limit on a federally insured credit union's member busi-
ness loans." The proposed aggregate member business loan 
limit in the Commission's Subsection (h) provides: "(2) Excep-
tions. Any loan secured by a lien on a 1- to 4-family residential 
property that is not a member's primary residence, any loan se-
cured by a lien on a vehicle manufactured for household use that 
will be used for commercial, corporate, or other business invest-
ment property or venture, and any other loan for an agricultural 
purpose are not commercial loans (if the outstanding aggregate 
net member business loan balance is $50,000 or greater), and 
must be counted toward the aggregate limit on a credit union's 
member business loans under this subsection." The Commis-
sion thus determines that there is no substantive difference be-
tween the NCUA final rule and the amendments. 

GECU also objects that the list in the Commission amendment 
Subsection (i)(3) should be exclusive. The Commission dis-
agrees that the amendments should be an exclusive list and 
notes the Commission's direction under Texas Finance Code, 
§15.402(b-1): "In adopting rules under this section, the commis-
sion shall consider the need to: (1) promote a stable credit union 
environment; (2) provide credit union members with convenient, 
safe, and competitive services; (3) preserve and promote the 
competitive parity of credit unions with regard to other depository 
institutions consistent with the safety and soundness of credit 
unions; and (4) promote or encourage economic development 
in this state." 

Finally, GECU seeks clarification concerning Subsection (k)'s 
reference to Texas Finance Code §121.003. The Commission 
acknowledges this typo and is making a non-substantive change 
in Subsection (k) changing 121.003 to 124.003. 

The Texas Banker's Association objected to the amendments 
on the following grounds: (1) the amendments are beyond the 
scope of powers of the Commission; and (2) the amendments 
pose safety and soundness concerns, as does the federal rule. 
The Commission disagrees that it does not have the power to 
adopt the amendments. In general, a court will presume a rule 
adopted by an administrative agency to be valid, and the party 
challenging the rule has the burden of demonstrating its invalid-
ity. See Texas Ass'n of Psychological Assocs. v. Texas State Bd. 
of Exam'rs of Psychologists, 439 S.W.3d 597, 603 (Tex. App. -
Austin 2014, no pet.). To establish a rule's facial invalidity, the 
challenger must show that the rule (1) contravenes specific statu-
tory language; (2) is counter to the statute's general objectives; 
or (3) imposes additional burdens, conditions, or restrictions in 
excess of or inconsistent with the relevant statutory provisions. 
See Ware v. Texas Comm'n on Law Enforcement Officer Stan-
dards & Educ., No. 03-12-00740-CV, 2013 WL2157244, at *2 
(Tex. App. - Austin May 16, 2013, no pet.) (mem. op.). Texas Fi-
nance Code §15.402 clearly authorizes the Commission to adopt 
reasonable rules for administering Title 2, Chapter 15 and Title 
3, Subchapter D of the Finance Code (the "Texas Credit Union 
Act"). Additionally, Texas Finance Code §121.0011 sets out the 
policy of the Texas Credit Union Act. In relevant part, §121.0011 
states: "The purposes of this subtitle are .... to delegate to the 
department rulemaking and discretionary authority that may be 
necessary to assure that credit unions operating under this subti-
tle may be sufficiently flexible and readily responsive to changes 

in economic conditions and practices, to maintain sound credit 
union growth ... to permit credit unions to effectively provide a full 
array of financial and financially related services, to provide ef-
fective supervision and regulation of credit unions and their fields 
of membership, and to clarify and modernize the law governing 
the credit unions doing business in this state. This subtitle is the 
public policy of this state and necessary to the public welfare." 
Furthermore, Texas Finance Code §121.004 expressly states: 
"This subtitle shall be liberally construed to effect its purposes." 
The Commission also disagrees that the proposed amendments 
pose safety and soundness concerns and finds instead that the 
amendments "preserve and promote the competitive parity of 
credit unions with regard to other depository institutions consis-
tent with the safety and soundness of credit unions" in accor-
dance with Texas Finance Code §15.402(b-1). 

The Independent Bankers Association of Texas (IBAT) com-
ment letter received during the comment period objected that 
the amendments circumvent the statutory requirement limiting 
member business loans to 12.25% of total credit union assets. 
The Commission notes that there is no statutory requirement 
limiting member business loans to 12.25% of total credit 
union assets. The 12.25% requirement was from the existing 
Commission rule found in Texas Administrative Code Title 7, 
§91.709, Member Business Loans, which the Commission 
has the statutory authority to change. IBAT also objects that 
credit unions may develop a policy that diminish safety and 
soundness principles; however, the Commission finds that the 
controls in the amendments are adequate to ensure safety 
and soundness. IBAT further objects that the Commission has 
not performed an analysis that reflects a need for increased 
commercial lending and that the Commission should provide 
proof there is a need for additional credit union lending and the 
benefit. The Commission notes that IBAT's final two objections 
concern items that are neither required under the Administrative 
Procedure Act nor under the Texas Finance Code. 

The Commission received one comment from IBAT outside the 
comment period. That comment urged the Commission to sus-
pend adoption of the rule until the outcome of the Independent 
Community Bankers of America's lawsuit against NCUA. The 
Commission disagrees with this suggested action. The Com-
mission disagrees about the success of the challenge against 
the NCUA rule. The Commission also notes that even if the 
challenge is successful, the Commission independently has suf-
ficient authority and justification under §15.402 of the Finance 
Code to adopt reasonable rules for administering Title 2, Chap-
ter 15 and Title 3, Subchapter D of the Finance Code (the "Texas 
Credit Union Act"). 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Finance Code 
§15.402, which authorizes the Commission to adopt reasonable 
rules for administering Title 2, Chapter 15 and Title 3, Sub-
chapter D of the Texas Finance Code, and under and Texas 
Finance Code §123.003, which authorizes the Commission, in 
conjunction with the exercise of its specific rulemaking authority, 
to adopt rules reflecting the statutory right of a state credit union 
to engage in any activity in which it could engage, exercise any 
power it could exercise, or make any loan or investment it could 
make, if it were operating as a federal credit union. 

The specific sections affected by the amendments are Texas Fi-
nance Code, §124.001 and §124.003. 

§91.709. Member Business and Commercial Loans. 
(a) Definitions. Definitions in TEX. FIN. CODE §121.002, are 

incorporated herein by reference. As used in this section, the following 
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words and terms shall have the following meanings, unless the context 
clearly indicates otherwise. 

(1) "Borrower" means a member or any other person 
named as a borrower, obligor, or debtor in a loan or extension of credit; 
or any other person, including, but not limited to, a comaker, drawer, 
endorser, guarantor or surety who is considered to be a borrower 
under the requirements of subsection (i) of this section concerning 
aggregation and attribution for commercial loans. 

(2) "Commercial loan" means a loan or an extension of 
credit to an individual, sole proprietorship, partnership, corporation, 
or business enterprise for commercial, industrial, agricultural, or pro-
fessional purposes, including construction and development loans, any 
unfunded commitments, and any interest a credit union obtains in such 
loans made by another lender. A commercial loan does not include a 
loan made for personal expenditure purposes; a loan made by a corpo-
rate credit union; a loan made by a credit union to a federally insured 
credit union; a loan made by a credit union to a credit union service 
organization; a loan secured by a 1- to 4-family residential property 
(whether or not the residential property is the borrower's primary res-
idence); a loan fully secured by shares in the credit union making the 
extension of credit or deposits in another financial institution; a loan 
secured by a vehicle manufactured for household use; and a loan that 
would otherwise meet the definition of commercial loan and which, 
when the aggregate outstanding balance plus unfunded commitments 
less any portion secured by shares in the credit union to a borrower, is 
equal to less than $50,000. 

(3) "Control" means a person directly or indirectly, or act-
ing through or together with one or more persons who: 

(A) own, control, or have the power to vote twenty-five 
(25) percent or more of any class of voting securities of another person; 

(B) control, in any manner, the election of a majority of 
the directors, trustees, or other persons exercising similar functions of 
another person; or 

(C) have the power to exercise a controlling influence 
over the management or policies of another person. 

(4) "Immediate family member" means a spouse or other 
family member living in the same household. 

(5) "Loan secured by a lien on a 1- to 4-family residential 
property" means a loan that, at origination, is secured wholly or sub-
stantially by a lien on a 1- to 4-family residential property for which 
the lien is central to the extension of the credit; that is the borrower 
would not have been extended credit in the same amount or on terms 
as favorable without the lien. A loan is wholly or substantially secured 
by a lien on a 1- to 4-family residential property if the estimated value 
of the real estate collateral at origination (after deducting any senior 
liens held by others) is greater than fifty (50) percent of the principal 
amount of the loan. 

(6) "Loan secured by a lien on a vehicle manufactured for 
household use" means a loan that, at origination, is secured wholly or 
substantially by a lien on a new and used passenger car or other vehicle 
such as a minivan, sport-utility vehicle, pickup truck, and similar light 
truck or heavy-duty truck generally manufactured for personal, family, 
or household use and not used as a fleet vehicle or to carry fare-pay-
ing passengers, for which the lien is central to the extension of credit. 
A lien is central to the extension of credit if the borrower would not 
have been extended credit in the same amount or on terms as favorable 
without the lien. A loan wholly or substantially secured by a lien on 
a vehicle manufactured for household use if the estimated value of the 
collateral at origination (after deducting any senior liens held by others) 
is greater than fifty (50) percent of the principal amount of the loan. 

(7) "Loan-to-value ratio for collateral" means the aggre-
gate amount of all sums borrowed and secured by the collateral, in-
cluding outstanding balances plus any unfunded commitment or line 
of credit from another lender that is senior to the credit union's lien, di-
vided by the current collateral value. The current collateral value must 
be established by prudent and accepted commercial loan practices and 
comply with all regulatory requirements. 

(8) "Member business loan" has the meaning assigned by 
12 C.F.R. Part 723. 

(9) "Net worth" has the meaning assigned by 12 C.F.R. Part 
702.2. 

(10) "Readily marketable collateral" means financial 
instruments and bullion that are salable under ordinary market condi-
tions with reasonable promptness at a fair market value determined by 
quotations based upon actual transactions on an auction or similarly 
available daily bid and ask price market. 

(11) "Residential property" means a house, townhouse, 
condominium unit, cooperative unit, manufactured home, a combina-
tion of a home or dwelling unit and a business property that involves 
only minor or incidental business use, real property to be improved by 
the construction of such structures, or unimproved land zoned for 1-
to 4-family residential use but does not include a boat, motor home, or 
timeshare property, even if used as a primary residence. This applies 
to such structure whether under construction or completed. 

(b) Parity. A credit union may make, commit to make, pur-
chase, or commit to purchase any member business loan it could make 
if it were operating as a federal credit union domiciled in this state, 
so long as for each transaction the credit union complies with all ap-
plicable regulations governing such activities by federal credit unions. 
However, all such loans must be documented in accordance with the 
applicable requirements of this chapter. 

(c) Commercial Loan Responsibilities and Operational Re-
quirements. Prior to engaging in the business of making commercial 
loans, a credit union must address the responsibilities and operational 
requirements under this subsection: 

(1) Written policies. A credit union must establish com-
prehensive written commercial loan policies approved by its board of 
directors instituting prudent loan approval, credit underwriting, loan 
documentation, and loan monitoring standards in accordance with this 
paragraph. The board must review its policies at least annually and, ad-
ditionally, prior to any material change in the credit union's commercial 
lending program or related organizational structure, in response to any 
material change in the credit union's overall portfolio performance, or 
in response to any material change in economic conditions affecting 
the credit union. The board must update its policies when warranted. 
Policies under this paragraph must be designed to identify: 

(A) type(s) of commercial loans permitted; 

(B) trade area; 

(C) the maximum amount of assets, in relation to net 
worth, allowed in secured, unsecured, and unguaranteed commercial 
loans and in any given category or type of commercial loan and to any 
one borrower; 

(D) credit underwriting standards including potential 
safety and soundness concerns to ensure that action is taken to address 
those concerns before they pose a risk to the credit union's net worth; 
the size and complexity of the loan as appropriate to the size of the 
credit union; the scope of the credit union's commercial loan activ-
ities; the level and depth of financial analysis necessary to evaluate 
financial trends and the condition of the borrower and the ability of the 
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borrower to meet debt service requirements; requirements for a bor-
rower-prepared projection when historic performance does not support 
projected debt payments; the financial statement quality and degree of 
verification sufficient to support an accurate financial analysis and risk 
assessment; the methods to be used in evaluating collateral authorized, 
including loan-to-value ratio limits; the means to secure various types 
of collateral; and other risk assessment analyses including analysis of 
the impact of current market conditions on the borrower. 

(E) loan approval standards including consideration, 
prior to credit commitment, of the borrower's overall financial con-
dition and resources; the financial stability of any guarantor; the 
nature and value of underlying collateral; environmental assessment 
requirements; the borrower's character and willingness to repay as 
agreed; the use of loan covenants when warranted; and the levels of 
loan approval authority commensurate with the proficiency of the 
individuals or committee of the credit union tasked with such approval 
authority in evaluating and understanding commercial loan risk, when 
considered in terms of the level of risk the borrowing relationship 
poses to the credit union; 

(F) loan monitoring standards including a system of in-
dependent, ongoing credit review and appropriate communication to 
senior management and the board of directors; the concentration of 
credit risk; and the risk management systems under subsection (d) of 
this section; and 

(G) loan documentation standards including enabling 
the credit union to make informed lending decisions and assess risk, 
as necessary, on an ongoing basis; identifying the purpose of each loan 
and source(s) of repayment; assessing the ability of each borrower to 
repay the indebtedness in a timely manner; ensuring that any claim 
against a borrower is legally enforceable; and demonstrating appropri-
ate administration and monitoring of each loan. 

(2) Qualified Staff. A credit union must ensure that it is 
appropriately staffed with qualified personnel with relevant and neces-
sary expertise and experience for the types of commercial lending in 
which the credit union is engaged, including appropriate experience in 
underwriting, processing, overseeing and evaluating the performance 
of a commercial loan portfolio, including rating and quantifying risk 
through a credit risk rating system and collections and loss mitigation 
activities for the types of commercial lending in which the credit union 
is engaged. At a minimum, a credit union making, purchasing, or hold-
ing any commercial loans must internally have a senior management 
employee that has a thorough understanding of the role of commercial 
lending in the credit union's overall business model and establish risk 
management processes and controls necessary to safely conduct com-
mercial lending as provided by subsection (d) of this section. 

(3) Use of Third-Party Experience. A third party may pro-
vide the requisite expertise and experience necessary for a credit union 
to safely conduct commercial lending if: 

(A) the third party has no affiliation or contractual rela-
tionship with the borrower; 

(B) the third party is independent from the commercial 
loan transaction and does not have a participation interest in a loan or 
an interest in any collateral securing a loan that the third party is re-
sponsible for reviewing, or an expectation of receiving compensation 
of any sort that is contingent on the closing of the loan, with the fol-
lowing exceptions: 

(i) the third party may provide a service to the credit 
union that is related to the transaction, such as loan servicing; 

(ii) the third party may provide the requisite experi-
ence to a credit union and purchase a loan or a participation interest in 
a loan originated by the credit union that the third party reviewed; and 

(iii) the third party is a credit union service organiza-
tion and the credit union has a controlling financial interest in the credit 
union service organization as determined under generally accepted ac-
counting principles. 

(C) the actual decision to grant a commercial loan re-
sides with the credit union; and 

(D) qualified credit union staff exercise ongoing over-
sight over the third party by regularly evaluating the quality of any 
work the third party performs for the credit union. 

(4) De Minimis Exception. The responsibilities and oper-
ational requirements described in paragraphs (1) and (2) of this sub-
section do not apply to a credit union if it meets all of the following 
conditions: 

(A) the credit union's total assets are less than $250 mil-
lion; 

(B) the credit union's aggregate amount of outstanding 
commercial loan balances (including any unfunded commitments, any 
outstanding commercial loan balances and unfunded commitments of 
participations sold, and any outstanding commercial loan balances and 
unfunded commitments sold and serviced by the credit union) total less 
than fifteen (15) percent of the credit union's net worth; and 

(C) in a given calendar year, the amount of originated 
and sold commercial loans and the amount of originated and sold com-
mercial loans the credit union does not continue to service, total fifteen 
(15) percent or less of the credit union's net worth. 

(D) A credit union that relies on this de minimis excep-
tion is prohibited from engaging in any acts or practices that have the 
effect of evading the requirements of this subsection. 

(d) Commercial Loan Risk Management Systems. 

(1) Risk Management Processes. A credit union's risk 
management process must be commensurate with the size, scope and 
complexity of the credit union's commercial lending activities and 
borrowing relationships. The processes must, at a minimum, address 
the following: 

(A) use of loan covenants, if appropriate, including fre-
quency of borrower and guarantor financial reporting; 

(B) periodic loan review, consistent with loan 
covenants and sufficient to conduct portfolio risk management, which, 
based upon current market conditions and trends, loan risk, and 
collateral conditions, must include a periodic reevaluation of the value 
and marketability of any collateral, and an updated loan-to-value ratio 
for collateral calculation; 

(C) a credit risk rating system under paragraph (2) of 
this subsection; and 

(D) a process to identify, report, and monitor commer-
cial loans that are approved by the credit union as exceptions to the 
credit union's loan policies. 

(2) Credit Risk Rating System. The credit risk rating sys-
tem must be a formal process that identifies and assigns a relative credit 
risk rating to each commercial loan in a credit union's portfolio, using 
ordinal ratings to represent the degree of risk. The credit risk score must 
be determined through an evaluation of quantitative factors based on 
the financial performance of each commercial loan and qualitative fac-
tors based on the credit union's management, operational, market, and 
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business environment factors. A credit risk rating must be assigned to 
each commercial loan at the inception of the loan. A credit risk rating 
must be reviewed as frequently as necessary to satisfy the credit union's 
risk monitoring and reporting policies, and to ensure adequate reserves 
as required by generally accepted accounting principles. 

(3) Independent Review. Periodic independent reviews 
should be conducted by a person who is both qualified to conduct such 
a review and independent of the function being reviewed. The review 
should provide an objective assessment of the overall commercial loan 
portfolio quality and verify the accuracy of ratings and the operational 
effectiveness of the credit union's risk management processes. A 
credit union is not required to hire an outside third party to conduct 
this independent review, if it can be done in-house by a competent 
person that is considered unconnected to the function being reviewed. 

(e) Collateral and Security for Commercial Loans. 

(1) Collateral. A commercial loan must be secured by col-
lateral commensurate with the level of risk associated with the size and 
type of the commercial loan. The collateral must be sufficient to ensure 
the credit union is protected by a prudent loan-to-value ratio for collat-
eral along with appropriate risk sharing with the borrower and prin-
cipal(s). A credit union making an unsecured commercial loan must 
determine and document in the loan file that mitigating factors suffi-
ciently offset the relevant risk of making an unsecured loan. 

(2) Personal Guarantees. A credit union that does not re-
quire the full and unconditional personal guarantee from all principals 
of the borrower who have a controlling interest, as defined by subsec-
tion (a)(3) of this section, in the borrower must determine and docu-
ment in the loan file that mitigating factors sufficiently offset the rele-
vant risk. 

(f) Construction and Development Loans. 

(1) Terms. In this subsection: 

(A) "construction or development loan" means any fi-
nancing arrangement to enable the borrower to acquire property or 
rights to property, including land or structures, with the intent to con-
struct or renovate an income producing property, such as residential 
housing for rental or sale, or a commercial building, that may be used 
for commercial, agricultural, industrial, or other similar purposes. It 
also means a financing arrangement for the construction, major ex-
pansion or renovation of the property types referenced in this subsec-
tion. The collateral valuation for securing a construction or develop-
ment loan depends on the satisfactory completion of the proposed con-
struction or renovation where the loan proceeds are disbursed in incre-
ments as the work is completed. A loan to finance maintenance, repairs, 
or other improvements to an existing income-producing property that 
does not change the property's use or does not materially impact the 
property is not a construction or development loan. 

(B) "cost to complete" means the sum of all qualifying 
costs necessary to complete a construction project and documented in 
an approved construction budget. Qualifying costs generally include 
on- or off-site improvements; building construction; other reasonable 
and customary costs paid to construct or improve a project, including 
a general contractor's fees; other expenses normally included in a con-
struction contract such as bonding and contractor insurance; the value 
of the land, determined as the sum of the cost of any improvements 
to the land and the lesser of appraised market value or purchase price; 
interest as provided by this subparagraph; project costs as provided by 
this subparagraph; a contingency account to fund unanticipated over-
runs; and other development costs such as fees and related pre-develop-
ment expenses. Interest expense is a qualifying cost only to the extent 
it is included in the construction budget and is calculated based on the 

projected changes in the loan balance up to the expected "as-complete" 
date for owner-occupied non-income-producing commercial real prop-
erty or the "as stabilized" date for income-producing real estate. Project 
costs for related parties, such as developer fees, leasing expenses, bro-
kerage commissions and management fees, are included in qualifying 
costs only if reasonable in comparison to the cost of similar services 
from a third party. Qualifying costs exclude interest or preferred returns 
payable to equity partners or subordinated debt holders, the developer's 
general corporate overhead, and selling costs to be funded out of sales 
proceeds such as brokerage commissions and other closing costs. 

(C) "prospective market value" means the market value 
opinion determined by an independent appraiser in compliance with the 
relevant standards set forth in the Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice. Prospective value opinions are intended to reflect 
the current expectations and perceptions of market participants, based 
on available data. Two (2) prospective value opinions may be required 
to reflect the time frame during which development, construction, or 
occupancy occur. The prospective market value "as-completed" re-
flects the real property's market value as of the time that development 
is to be completed. The prospective market value "as-stabilized" re-
flects the real property's market value as of the time the real property 
is projected to achieve stabilized occupancy. For an income producing 
property, stabilized occupancy is the occupancy level that a property 
is expected to achieve after the real property is exposed to the market 
for lease over a reasonable period of time and at comparable terms and 
conditions to other similar real properties. 

(2) Policies. A credit union that elects to make a construc-
tion or development loan must ensure that its commercial loan policies 
under subsection (c) of this section meets the following conditions: 

(A) qualified personnel representing the interest of the 
credit union must conduct a review and approval of any line item con-
struction budget prior to closing the loan; 

(B) a requisition and loan disbursement process ap-
proved by the credit union is established; 

(C) release or disbursement of loan funds occurs only 
after on-site inspections which are documented in a written report by 
qualified personnel who represents the interest of the credit union and 
certifies that the work requisitioned for payment has been satisfactorily 
completed, and the remaining funds available to be disbursed from the 
construction and development loan is sufficient to complete the project; 
and 

(D) each loan disbursement is subject to confirmation 
that no intervening liens have been filed. 

(3) Establishing Collateral Values. The current collateral 
value must be established by prudent and accepted commercial loan 
practices and comply with all regulatory requirements. The collateral 
value depends on the satisfactory completion of the proposed construc-
tion or renovation where the loan proceeds are disbursed in increments 
as the work is completed and is the lesser of the project's cost to com-
plete or its prospective market value. 

(4) Controls and Processes for Loan Advances. A credit 
union that elects to make a construction and development loan must 
have effective commercial loan control procedures in place to ensure 
sound loan advances and that liens are paid and released in a timely 
manner. Effective controls should include segregation of duties, dele-
gation of duties to appropriate qualified personnel, and dual approval 
of loan disbursements. 

(g) Commercial Loan Prohibitions. 
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(1) Ineligible borrowers. A credit union may not grant a 
commercial loan to the following: 

(A) any senior management employee directly or indi-
rectly involved in the credit union's commercial loan underwriting, ser-
vicing, and collection process, and any of their immediate family mem-
bers; 

(B) any person meeting the requirements of subsection 
(i) of this section concerning aggregations and attribution for commer-
cial loans, with respect to persons identified in subparagraph (A) of this 
paragraph; or 

(C) any director, unless the credit union's board of di-
rectors approves granting the loan and the borrowing director was re-
cused from the board's decision making process. 

(2) Equity Agreements and Joint Ventures. A credit union 
may not grant a commercial loan if any additional income received by 
the credit union or its senior management employees is tied to the profit 
or sale of any business or commercial endeavor that benefits from the 
proceeds of the loan. 

(3) Fees. No director, committee member, volunteer offi-
cial, or senior management employee of a credit union, or immediate 
family member of such director, committee member, volunteer official, 
or senior management employee, may receive, directly or indirectly, 
any commission, fee, or other compensation in connection with any 
commercial loan made by the credit union. Employees, other than se-
nior management, may be partially compensated on a commission or 
performance based incentive, provided the compensation is governed 
by a written policy and internal controls established by the board of 
directors. The board must review the policies and controls at least an-
nually to ensure that such compensation is not excessive or expose the 
credit union to inappropriate risks that could lead to material finan-
cial loss. Loan origination employees are prohibited from receiving, 
in connection with any commercial loan made by the credit union, any 
compensation from any source other than the credit union. For the pur-
poses of this paragraph, compensation includes non-monetary items 
and anything reasonably regarded as pecuniary gain or pecuniary ad-
vantage, including a benefit to any other person in whose welfare the 
beneficiary has a direct and substantial interest, but compensation does 
not include nonmonetary items of nominal value. 

(h) Aggregate Member Business Loan Limit. 

(1) Limits. The aggregate limit on a credit union's net 
member business loan balances is the lesser of 1.75 times the actual 
net worth of the credit union, or 1.75 times the minimum net worth 
required under 12 U.S.C. §1790d(c)(1)(A). For purposes of this calcu-
lation, member business loan means any commercial loan, except that 
the following commercial loans are not member business loans and 
are not counted toward the aggregate limit on member business loans: 

(A) any loan in which a federal or state agency (or its 
political subdivision) fully insures repayment, fully guarantees repay-
ment, or provides an advance commitment to purchase the loan in full; 
and 

(B) any non-member commercial loan or non-member 
participation interest in a commercial loan made by another lender, pro-
vided the credit union acquired the non-member loans or participation 
interest in compliance with applicable laws and the credit union is not, 
in conjunction with one or more other credit unions, trading member 
business loans to circumvent the aggregate limit under this subsection. 

(2) Exceptions. Any loan secured by a lien on a 1- to 
4-family residential property that is not a member's primary residence, 
any loan secured by a lien on a vehicle manufactured for household 

use that will be used for commercial, corporate, or other business 
investment property or venture, and any other loan for an agricultural 
purpose are not commercial loans (if the outstanding aggregate net 
member business loan balance is $50,000 or greater), and must 
be counted toward the aggregate limit on a credit union's member 
business loans under this subsection. 

(3) Exemption. A credit union that has a federal low-in-
come designation, or participates in the federal Community Develop-
ment Financial Institution program, or was chartered for the purpose of 
making member business loans, or which as of the date of the Credit 
Union Membership Access Act of 1998 had a history of primarily mak-
ing commercial loans, is exempt from compliance with the aggregate 
member business loan limits in paragraph (1) of this subsection. 

(4) Method of Calculation for Net Member Business Loan 
Balance. For the purposes of NCUA form 5300 reporting (call report), 
a credit union's net member business loan balance is determined by 
calculating the sum of the outstanding loan balance plus any unfunded 
commitments and reducing that sum by any portion of the loan that 
is: secured by shares in the credit union, by shares or deposits in other 
financial institutions, or by a lien on a borrower's primary residence; in-
sured or guaranteed by any agency of the federal government, a state, 
or any political subdivision of a state; or subject to an advance com-
mitment to purchase by any agency of the federal government, a state, 
or any political subdivision of a state; or sold as a participation interest 
without recourse and qualifying for true sales accounting under gener-
ally accepted accounting principles. 

(i) Aggregation and Attribution for Commercial Loans. 

(1) General Rule. A commercial loan or extension of credit 
to one borrower is attributed to another person, and each person will 
be considered a borrower, when: 

(A) the proceeds of the commercial loan or extension 
of credit are to be used for the direct benefit of the other person, to the 
extent of the proceeds so used, as provided by paragraph (2) of this 
subsection; 

(B) a common enterprise is deemed to exist between the 
persons as persons as provided by paragraph (3) of this subsection; or 

(C) the expected source of repayment for each commer-
cial loan or extension of credit is the same for each person as provided 
by paragraph (3) of this subsection. 

(2) Direct Benefit. The proceeds of a commercial loan or 
extension of credit to a borrower is considered used for the direct ben-
efit of another person and attributed to the other person when the pro-
ceeds, or assets purchased with the proceeds, are transferred in any 
manner to or for the benefit of the other person, other than in a bona 
fide arm's length transaction where the proceeds are used to acquire 
property, goods, or services from such other person. 

(3) Common Enterprise. 

(A) Description. A common enterprise is considered to 
exist and commercial loans to separate borrowers will be aggregated 
when: 

(i) the expected source of repayment for each loan or 
extension of credit is the same for each borrower and neither borrower 
has another source of income from which the loan (together with the 
borrower's other obligations) may be fully repaid. An employer will not 
be treated as a source of repayment under this subparagraph because of 
wages and salaries paid to an employee, unless the standards of clause 
(ii) of this subparagraph are met: 

(ii) the loans or extension of credit are made: 
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(I) to borrowers who are related directly or indi-
rectly through control as defined by subsection (a) of this section; and 

(II) substantial financial interdependence exists 
between or among the borrowers. Substantial financial interdepen-
dence is deemed to exist when fifty (50) percent or more of one bor-
rower's gross receipts or gross expenditures (on an annual basis) are de-
rived from transactions with the other borrower. Gross receipts and ex-
penditures include gross revenues/expenses, intercompany loans, div-
idends, capital contributions, and other similar receipts or payments; 

(iii) separate persons borrow from a credit union to 
acquire a business of enterprise of which those borrowers will own 
more than fifty (50) percent of the voting securities of voting interest, 
in which case a common enterprise is deemed to exist between the 
borrowers for purposes of combining the acquisition loans; or 

(iv) the Department determines, based upon an eval-
uation of the facts and circumstances of particular transactions, that a 
common enterprise exists. 

(B) Commercial Loans to Certain Entities. A commer-
cial loan or extension of credit: 

(i) to a partnership or joint venture is considered to 
be a commercial loan or extension of credit to each member of the part-
nership or joint venture. Excepted from this subdivision is a partner or 
member who: is not held generally liable, by the terms of the partner-
ship or membership agreement or by applicable law, for the debts or 
actions of the partnership, joint venture, or association, provided those 
terms are valid against third parties under applicable law; and has not 
otherwise agreed to guarantee or be personally liable on the loan or ex-
tension of credit. 

(ii) to a member of a partnership, joint venture, or 
association is generally not attributed to the partnership, joint venture, 
or associations, or to other members of the partnership, joint venture, or 
association, except as otherwise provided by paragraphs (2) and (3) of 
this subsection, provided that a commercial loan or extension of credit 
made to a member of a partnership, joint venture or association for the 
purpose of purchasing an interest in the partnership, joint venture or 
association, is attributed to the partnership, joint venture or association. 

(C) Guarantors and Accommodation Parties. The 
derivative obligation of a drawer, endorser, or guarantor of a commer-
cial loan or extension of credit, including a contingent obligation to 
purchase collateral that secures a commercial loan, is aggregated with 
other direct commercial loans or extensions of credit to such a drawer, 
endorser, or guarantor. 

(j) Commercial Loans to One Borrower Limit. The total ag-
gregate dollar amount of commercial loans by a credit union to any 
borrower at one time may not exceed the greater of fifteen (15) per-
cent of the credit union's net worth or $100,000, plus an additional ten 
(10) percent of the credit union's net worth if the amount that exceeds 
the credit union's fifteen (15) percent general limit is fully secured at 
all times with a perfected security interest in readily marketable col-
lateral. Any insured or guaranteed portion of a commercial loan made 
through a program in which a federal or state agency (or its political 
subdivision) insures repayment, guarantees repayment, or provides an 
advance commitment to purchase the commercial loan in full, is ex-
cluded from this limit. 

(k) Finance Code Limitation. In addition to the other limita-
tions of this section, a credit union may not make a loan to a member or 
a business interest of the member if the loan would cause the aggregate 
amount of loans to the member and the member's business interests to 
exceed an amount equal to 10 percent of the credit union's total assets 
as provided by TEX. FIN. CODE §124.003. 

(l) Commercial Loans Regarding Federal or State Guaranteed 
Loan Programs. A credit union may follow the loan requirements and 
limits of a guaranteed loan program for loans that are part of a loan 
program in which a federal or state agency (or its political subdivision) 
insures repayment, guarantees repayment, or provides an advance com-
mitment to purchase the loan in full if that program has requirements 
that are less restrictive than those required by this section. 

(m) Transitional Provisions. 

(1) Waivers. Upon the effective date of this section, any 
waiver approved by the Department concerning a credit union's com-
mercial lending activity is rendered moot, except for waivers granted 
for the commercial loan to one borrower limit. Borrowing relationships 
granted by waivers will be grandfathered however, the debt associated 
with those relationships may not be increased. 

(2) Administrative Constraints. Limitations or other con-
ditions imposed on a credit union in any written directive from the De-
partment are unaffected by the adoption of this section. As of the effec-
tive date of this section, all such limitations or other conditions remain 
in place until such time as they are modified by the Department. 

(n) Effective Date. This section takes effect on January 1, 
2017. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 4, 

2016. 
TRD-201605721 
Harold E. Feeney 
Commissioner 
Credit Union Department 
Effective date: November 24, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 837-9236 

PART 8. JOINT FINANCIAL 
REGULATORY AGENCIES 

CHAPTER 153. HOME EQUITY LENDING 
7 TAC §§153.5, 153.8, 153.13, 153.14, 153.17 
The Finance Commission of Texas and the Texas Credit Union 
Commission ("commissions") adopt amendments to the follow-
ing home equity lending interpretations: §153.5, concerning 
Three percent fee limitation, §153.8, concerning Security of 
the Equity Loan, §153.13, concerning Preclosing Disclosures, 
§153.14, concerning One Year Prohibition, and §153.17, con-
cerning Authorized Lenders. 

The commissions adopt the amendments without changes to the 
proposed text as published in the July 22, 2016, issue of the 
Texas Register (41 TexReg 5309). 

The amendments apply the administrative interpretation of the 
home equity lending provisions of Article XVI, Section 50 of the 
Texas Constitution ("Section 50") allowed by Section 50(u) and 
Texas Finance Code, §11.308 and §15.413. 
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In general, the purpose of the amendments to Chapter 153 is 
to implement changes resulting from the commissions' review 
of this chapter under Texas Government Code, §2001.039. The 
notice of intention to review 7 TAC, Chapter 153 was published in 
the Texas Register on February 26, 2016 (41 TexReg 1503). The 
Texas Department of Banking, the Texas Department of Savings 
and Mortgage Lending, the Office of Consumer Credit Commis-
sioner, and the Texas Credit Union Department ("agencies") re-
ceived one comment on the notice of intention to review. The 
comment was submitted by Black, Mann & Graham, L.L.P. 

The agencies prepared an initial draft of amendments with tech-
nical corrections and updates to Chapter 153. The agencies 
distributed the initial draft to home equity stakeholders for pre-
comments, in order to prepare an informed and well-balanced 
proposal for the commissions. The agencies received written 
precomments from several stakeholders. The agencies incorpo-
rated suggestions offered by stakeholders into the amendments. 
The agencies believe that this early participation of stakeholders 
has greatly benefited the resulting adoption. 

The individual purposes of the adopted amendments to each rule 
are provided in the following paragraphs. 

The purpose of the amendments to §153.5 is to use terminology 
that is consistent with other interpretations. In paragraphs (3)(B) 
and (7), the amendments add "equity" before "loan" to ensure 
that the provisions use the term "equity loan," which is defined 
in §153.1(7). 

The purpose of the amendment to §153.8(5) is to make a techni-
cal correction in a citation to Section 50(a)(6)(H). In the comment 
on the notice of intention to review, the commenter notes that 
this section currently contains an incorrect reference to "Section 
50(a)(H)." In response to this comment, the amendment corrects 
the provision to cite Section 50(a)(6)(H). 

The purpose of the adopted amendments to §153.13 is to specify 
how lenders can comply with the preclosing disclosure require-
ment in Section 50(a)(6)(M)(ii), and to include updated citations 
to federal rules. Under Section 50(a)(6)(M)(ii), a home equity 
loan may not be closed before "one business day after the date 
that the owner of the homestead receives . . . a final item-
ized disclosure of the actual fees, points, interest, costs, and 
charges that will be charged at closing." Previously, §153.13(3) 
explained that lenders could comply with this requirement by 
providing a properly completed HUD-1 form from the U.S. De-
partment of Housing and Urban Development. The Consumer 
Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) recently adopted a closing 
disclosure that integrates and replaces the HUD-1 form. The 
CFPB's rules containing the requirements for the integrated clos-
ing disclosure are located at Regulation Z, 12 C.F.R. §1026.19(f) 
and §1026.38. The requirement to provide the closing disclosure 
went into effect on October 3, 2015. The requirement gener-
ally applies to closed-end residential mortgage loans for which 
the lender or servicer received a loan application on or after that 
date. For loans where the application was received before Octo-
ber 3, 2015, the HUD-1 form (rather than the CFPB closing dis-
closure) was the appropriate form for lenders to use. The closing 
disclosure requirement does not apply to home equity lines of 
credit, which require separate account-opening disclosures un-
der a different section of Regulation Z, 12 C.F.R. §1026.6(a). 

In the comment on the notice of intention to review, the com-
menter recommends replacing the reference to the HUD-1 form 
in §153.13(3) with a reference to the CFPB's closing disclosure. 
Based on this recommendation and the federal rules discussed 

above, the adopted amendments to §153.13(3) delete the ref-
erence to the HUD-1 form, and add new references to the dis-
closures currently required under Regulation Z: the closing dis-
closure (for closed-end equity loans) and the account-opening 
disclosures (for home equity lines of credit). When these disclo-
sures are properly completed, they provide borrowers with a final 
itemized disclosure of the actual fees, points, interest, costs, and 
charges that will be charged at closing, in accordance with Sec-
tion 50(a)(6)(M)(ii). 

The purpose of the amendment to §153.14(2)(A) is to update a 
citation to federal law. Previously, this provision cited the Sol-
diers' and Sailors' Civil Relief Act. In 2003, the Servicemembers 
Civil Relief Act replaced the former Soldiers' and Sailors' Civil 
Relief Act. The amendment to §153.14(2)(A) replaces a citation 
to the previous law with a citation to the current law. 

The purpose of the amendments to §153.17 is to specify who 
is authorized to make a home equity loan, in light of recent 
changes in federal policy and amendments to the licensing 
provisions of Texas Finance Code, Chapters 156 and 342. 
Section 50(a)(6)(P) lists the types of lenders that are authorized 
to make home equity loans, including "a person approved as a 
mortgagee by the United States government to make federally 
insured loans," "a person licensed to make regulated loans, as 
provided by statute of this state," and "a person regulated by 
this state as a mortgage broker." 

In §153.17(2), an adopted amendment removes a reference to 
"Approved correspondents" and replaces it with "Loan corre-
spondents." In 2010, the Department of Housing and Urban De-
velopment ended its program of approving loan correspondents, 
as described in mortgagee letter 2010-20. As amended by the 
adoption, §153.17(2) explains that loan correspondents to an ap-
proved mortgagee are not authorized lenders unless they qual-
ify under another provision of Section 50(a)(6)(P). In addition, in 
the comment on the notice of intention to review, the commenter 
recommends correcting a reference in §153.17(2) to "another 
section of (a)(6)(P)." In response to this recommendation, an 
adopted amendment replaces this phrase with "another provi-
sion of Section 50(a)(6)(P)." 

Adopted new §153.17(3) explains that a person who is li-
censed under Texas Finance Code, Chapter 156 is a person 
regulated by this state as a mortgage broker for purposes of 
Section 50(a)(6)(P)(vi). Until 2011, Chapter 156 of the Texas 
Finance Code described the licensing requirements for mort-
gage brokers. In 2011, the chapter was amended to replace 
the term "mortgage broker" with the terms "residential mortgage 
loan company" and "residential mortgage loan originator." In 
2011, the Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending 
published a "Home Equity Terminology Advisory Bulletin," ex-
plaining that a person licensed under Chapter 156 is a mortgage 
broker for purposes of the constitution. In the comment on 
the notice of intention to review, the commenter recommends 
an amendment to §153.17 describing this interpretation. In 
response to this comment, adopted new §153.17(3) explains 
that a person licensed under Chapter 156 is a mortgage broker 
for purposes of the constitution. 

Adopted new §153.17(4) replaces former paragraphs (3) and (4), 
and explains that a Chapter 342 licensee is a regulated lender for 
purposes of the constitution. Former §153.17(3) explained that 
a nondepository lender must hold a license under Chapter 342 to 
make, transact, or negotiate a secondary mortgage loan. Former 
§153.17(4) explained that if a person does not meet the definition 
of Section 50(a)(6)(P)(i), (ii), (iv), (v), or (vi), the person must ob-
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tain a Chapter 342 license to be authorized to make home equity 
loans. In 2007, Texas Finance Code, §342.051 was amended to 
include an exemption for a person licensed under Chapter 156. 
In a precomment, one stakeholder recommends deleting former 
paragraph (3), because the paragraph does not acknowledge 
the exemption for Chapter 156 licensees, and because current 
paragraph (1) already explains that lenders must comply with 
statutory licensing requirements. In response to this precom-
ment, the adoption replaces paragraphs (3) and (4) with a new 
paragraph (4). The new paragraph explains that a Chapter 342 
licensee is a regulated lender for purposes of the constitution, 
and that if a person is not described by Section 50(a)(6)(P)(i), 
(ii), (iv), (v), or (vi), the person must obtain a Chapter 342 license 
to be authorized to make home equity loans. 

The commissions received no written comments on the pro-
posal. 

The amendments are adopted under Article XVI, Section 50(u) 
of the Texas Constitution and Texas Finance Code, §11.308 and 
§15.413, which authorize the commissions to adopt interpreta-
tions of Article XVI, Section 50(a)(5) - (7), (e) - (p), (t), and (u) of 
the Texas Constitution. The constitutional provisions affected by 
the adopted amendments are contained in Article XVI, Section 
50 of the Texas Constitution. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 4, 

2016. 
TRD-201605722 
Leslie L. Pettijohn 
Consumer Credit Commissioner 
Joint Financial Regulatory Agencies 
Effective date: November 24, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-7621 

TITLE 13. CULTURAL RESOURCES 

PART 2. TEXAS HISTORICAL 
COMMISSION 

CHAPTER 17. STATE ARCHITECTURAL 
PROGRAMS 
13 TAC §17.2 
The Texas Historical Commission (hereinafter referred to as the 
"commission") adopts the amendments to §17.2, concerning Re-
view of Work on County Courthouses without changes to the text 
as published in the August 12, 2016, issue of the Texas Register 
(41 TexReg 5862), and will not be republished. 

The Texas Historical Commission adopted an amendment to Ti-
tle 13 of the Texas Administrative Code, Part 2, Chapter 17, 
§17.2 in July 2013. The amendment included an inadvertent re-
vision to the text that created a grammatical error and confused 
the rule. The purpose of this revision is to correct that text so 
that it forms a complete sentence and replicates the text in the 
statute §442.008 of the Texas Government Code, as intended 

by the July 2013 amendment. In addition, the commission takes 
this opportunity to rearrange the procedure section text in order 
to form a more logical sequence. 

Section 17.2 relates to Review of Work on County Courthouses. 
The commission's Review of Work on County Courthouses is the 
agency's responsibility under Texas Government Code (TGC) 
§442.008. 

The adoption of this amendment by the commission is needed to 
correct an inadvertent revision to the text of §17.2 that created a 
grammatical error during a previous amendment adopted in the 
August 30, 2013, issue of the Texas Register (38 TexReg 5711). 
The text will be updated so that it forms a complete sentence 
and replicates the statute TGC §442.008 as intended by the July 
2013 amendment. In addition, the text of the procedure section 
of the rule will be rearranged to form a more logical sequence. 

No comments were received regarding adoption of amend-
ments. 

These amendments are adopted under the authority of Texas 
Government Code §442.005(q), which provides the Texas His-
torical Commission with the authority to promulgate rules to rea-
sonably affect the purposes of those chapters. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605701 
Mark Wolfe 
Executive Director 
Texas Historical Commission 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 463-6100 

TITLE 19. EDUCATION 

PART 1. TEXAS HIGHER EDUCATION 
COORDINATING BOARD 

CHAPTER 5. RULES APPLYING TO 
PUBLIC UNIVERSITIES, HEALTH-RELATED 
INSTITUTIONS, AND/OR SELECTED PUBLIC 
COLLEGES OF HIGHER EDUCATION IN 
TEXAS 
SUBCHAPTER B. ROLE AND MISSION, 
TABLES OF PROGRAMS, COURSE 
INVENTORIES 
19 TAC §§5.21, 5.23 - 5.25 
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating 
Board) adopts amendments to Chapter 5, Rules Applying to 
Public Universities, Health-Related Institutions, and/or Selected 
Public Colleges of Higher Education in Texas, Subchapter B, 
§§5.21 and 5.23 - 5.25, concerning role and mission statements 
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for public institutions of higher education and submission of 
planning notifications with changes to proposed text as pub-
lished in the August 12, 2016, issue of the Texas Register 
(41 TexReg 5877). The intent of the amendments is to clarify 
and streamline rules regarding the submission of changes to 
the role and mission statements and submission of planning 
notifications from public institutions of higher education to the 
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board. 

Six comments were received from The University of Texas at 
Austin (UT Austin), the Texas Tech University System (TTU Sys-
tem), the Texas A&M University System, and the University of 
North Texas System. 

Comment: Texas A&M University System expressed concern 
that the proposed notification process would hinder the ability 
of institutions to respond to market needs, student demand, and 
opportunity, and noted that private/for-profit institutions do not 
have the same limitations. Texas A&M University System es-
timated that the proposed planning notification would delay re-
sponsiveness to need/opportunity by at least three months (time 
from one THECB meeting to another), and would require consid-
erably longer preparation times and approval delays. The Uni-
versity of North Texas System submitted a similar comment. 

Staff Response: The program approval process for Texas public 
institutions of higher education is not required for private institu-
tions of higher education, as they do not submit their proposed 
programs for approval by the Board. The approval process for 
new programs at public higher education institutions includes 
many factors prescribed by statute and administrative code, in-
cluding input from the Board. This revised planning notification 
process will improve the Board's ability to carry out its statu-
tory mission to provide leadership and coordination for the Texas 
higher education system. No change was made in the rules as 
a result of these comments. 

Comment: Texas A&M University System noted that the pro-
posed language is logistically problematic, saying the proposed 
language requires institutions to submit materials at the point 
where they "intend to engage in planning." Elsewhere the pro-
posed language notes institutions must submit planning notifi-
cation if they "intend to engage in any action that leads to the 
preparation of a proposal for a new program including but not 
limited to...." It is not possible to submit anticipated costs and 
revenues without first planning. The University of North Texas 
System (UNTS), The University of Texas System, and the Texas 
Tech University System submitted similar comments. 

Staff Response: Staff agrees with the institutional comments, 
and made the revisions to §§5.23(1) and (6) of the proposed 
rules by deleting references to the terms "intent to plan" and "in-
tends to engage in." The amended rules now require institutions 
to submit planning notification in order to notify the Board that 
planning for a new degree program has begun. 

Comment: Texas A&M University System commented that the 
information to be submitted in the planning notification is signifi-
cant: "Anticipated costs and revenues during the first five years, 
and identify the existing or new administrative unit." To provide 
this information requires planning and is more appropriate for 
the proposal stage of review. The Texas Tech University System 
submitted a similar comment. 

Staff Response: Staff agrees with this comment, and made the 
corresponding corrections to section 5.24(a) of the proposed 
rules by removing the requirement to submit "anticipated costs 
and revenues during the first five years" and "identify the existing 

or new administrative unit in which the proposed program would 
be offered." 

Comment: Texas A&M University System commented that the 
proposed planning notification requirement would be redundant 
with the program approval process, requiring some of the same 
elements, and therefore will render the program submission 
process less efficient. 

Staff Response: This revised planning notification process will 
improve the Board's ability to carry out its statutory mission to 
provide leadership and coordination for the Texas higher educa-
tion system. No change was made in the proposed rules as a 
result of this comment. 

Comment: The University of North Texas System expressed 
their concern that the proposed changes to rules exceed 
the statutory authority provided under Texas Education Code 
§61.0512 by requiring an institution to notify the Board before 
any planning work has begun. The University of Texas System 
submitted a similar comment. 

Staff Response: The proposed rules have been amended in 
§5.23(1) to clarify that planning notification is "Formal notifica-
tion from an institution that planning has begun for a proposal 
for a new degree program," rather than notification before plan-
ning begins. Once recognition from the Board is obtained, an 
institution would complete its planning and then submit its pro-
posal. 

Comment: The University of North Texas System expressed 
their objection to provisions in the proposed rules that define 
"planning" in an unduly broad manner, based upon intent to com-
mit certain actions rather than the actions themselves. The def-
inition also prescribes certain actions, along with the phrase "in-
cluding but not limited to", which suggests that almost any action 
could be prohibited. 

Staff Response: Staff agrees with the institution's comments, 
and deleted references to "intent to plan" and "including but not 
limited to" in §5.23(1) and (6) of the proposed rules. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Education Code, 
Chapter 61, Subchapter C, §61.0512(a-5) and (b), which autho-
rizes the Coordinating Board to evaluate the role and mission of 
public institutions of higher education and requires institutions of 
higher education to notify the Coordinating Board when planning 
for a new degree program. 

§5.21. Purpose. 

The purpose of this subchapter is to implement rules regarding the role 
and mission for each public institution of higher education in Texas 
and for submission of the role and mission statements, submission of 
planning notification, and periodic review of all degree and certificate 
programs offered by a public institution of higher education. Section 
5.24(a) of this title (relating to Submission of Mission Statements and 
Planning       

§5.23. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall 
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise. 

(1) Planning Notification--Formal notification from an in-
stitution that planning has begun for a proposal for a new degree pro-
gram. 

(2) Board--The Texas Higher Education Coordinating 
Board. 

Notification) applies to selected Public Colleges.
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(3) Commissioner--The Commissioner of Higher Educa-
tion. 

(4) Mission Statement--A narrative description of the gen-
eral mission of each institution prepared by the institution and approved 
by its Board of Regents. The statement should address the fundamen-
tal purpose of the institution with respect to its teaching, research, and 
public service responsibilities. The institution's special concerns for 
quality and access, liberal arts, admissions, career-oriented program-
ming, extension and articulation with community colleges and pub-
lic schools, traditional and nontraditional education, and similar issues 
also may be described. The mission statement must be consistent with 
any statutory mission description. 

(5) Organized classes--Classes whose primary mode of in-
struction is lecture, laboratory, or seminar. 

(6) Planning--An institution is considered by the Board to 
be planning for a new degree program if it takes any action that leads to 
the preparation of a proposal for a new program, including hiring per-
sonnel, including consultants and planning deans, leasing and/or pur-
chasing real estate, building facilities, and/or developing curriculum. 

(7) Program Inventory--The official list of all degree and 
certificate programs approved for a public community college, univer-
sity or health-related institution. 

(8) Role and Mission or Role and Scope--Equivalent 
phrases used to refer to the overall purpose of an institution, including 
its role within the overall system of Texas higher education. The role 
and mission for a university or health-related institution are described 
in its Mission Statement. 

(9) Texas Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) 
Coding System--The Texas adaptation of the federal Classification of 
Instructional Programs taxonomy developed by the National Center 
for Education Statistics and used nationally to classify instructional 
programs and report educational data. 

(10) Selected Public Colleges--Those public colleges au-
thorized to offer baccalaureate degrees in Texas. 

(11) Statutory mission description--A statement of an insti-
tution's mission or purpose that is established directly in statute. 

§5.24. Submission of Mission Statements and Planning Notification. 

(a) When submitting a Planning Notification to add a degree 
program (baccalaureate, master's, and doctoral) to the institution's pro-
gram inventory, an institution of higher education may be requested 
to address the Board at a regularly scheduled meeting to describe how 
the institution believes the potential program contributes to the efficient 
and effective diffusion of education throughout the state while avoiding 
costly duplication in program offerings, faculties, and physical plants. 
An institution shall submit written information to the Board including 
the title of the potential proposed program, level, Classification of In-
structional Program (CIP) Code, anticipated date of proposal submis-
sion, and provide a brief description of the proposed program. Planning 
Notification must occur prior to an institution beginning planning for 
or submitting a proposal for a new degree program that requires Board 
approval. 

(b) Review Process. 

(1) As provided by Texas Education Code, §61.051(a-5) 
and §61.052, the Board shall regularly review the role and mission 
statements, and all similar degree and certificate programs offered by 
each public senior university or health related institution. 

(2) The Boards of Regents shall approve or re-approve in-
stitutional mission statements. Each Board of Regents shall provide the 

Coordinating Board with its current institutional mission statements af-
ter any change has been approved. 

(3) Planning Notification must be submitted at least one 
year prior to submission of a proposal to offer the degree if the pro-
posed program would be a program leading to the award of a "profes-
sional degree," as defined by Texas Education Code 61.306, including 
Doctor of Medicine (M.D.), Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O.), Doctor of 
Dental Surgery (D.D.S.), Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (D.V.M.), Ju-
ris Doctor (J.D.), and Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.). 

§5.25. Course Inventories at Public Universities. 

(a) Each institution shall report its course offerings and 
changes to its course offerings following procedures established by 
the Commissioner. The report must specifically identify any course 
included in the common course numbering system approved by the 
Board that has been added to or removed from the institution's list 
of courses, beginning with course lists submitted for the 2014-2015 
academic year. 

(b) Institutions may not offer courses at levels or in programs 
not approved by the Board. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605707 
Bill Franz 
General Counsel 
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114 

SUBCHAPTER D. OPERATION OF 
OFF-CAMPUS EDUCATIONAL UNITS OF 
PUBLIC SENIOR COLLEGES, UNIVERSITIES 
AND HEALTH-RELATED INSTITUTIONS 
19 TAC §§5.71 - 5.73, 5.76, 5.78 
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating 
Board) adopts amendments to Chapter 5, Rules Applying to 
Public Universities, Health-Related Institutions, and/or Selected 
Public Colleges of Higher Education in Texas, Subchapter D, 
Operation of Off-Campus Educational Units of Public Senior 
Colleges, Universities and Health-Related Institutions, §§5.71 -
5.73, 5.76, and 5.78, concerning the approval and operation of 
off-campus educational units with changes to proposed text as 
published in the August 12, 2016, issue of the Texas Register 
(41 TexReg 5878). The intent of the amendments is to clarify 
and streamline rules to reflect current statute, rule references, 
policies, and practices regarding the approval processes and 
operation of off-campus educational units. 

Four comments were received from the Texas Tech University 
System, The University of Texas System, The University of North 
Texas System, and the Texas A&M University System regarding 
these proposed rules. 
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Comment: The Texas Tech University System, The University of 
Texas System, and the Texas A&M University System expressed 
their objection to language in §5.76(b) that provides the Com-
missioner authority to establish policies to designate off-campus 
educational units. 

Staff Response: The rule to which the system offices are refer-
ring was adopted in 2003 as §5.76(i). The rule was not changed, 
only reorganized and renumbered in the proposed rules. No 
change was made in the proposed rules as a result of these com-
ments. 

Comment: The Texas Tech University System, The University of 
Texas System, The University of North Texas System, and the 
Texas A&M University System expressed their objection to lan-
guage in §5.76(c) that provides the Board authority to withdraw 
the approval of an off-campus educational unit. Their opinion is 
that withdrawing the approval of the off-campus educational unit 
would, in effect, constitute the elimination of degree programs 
and would be in conflict with statute. 

Staff Response: In §5.76 (c), the word "recognition" was re-
placed with "approval" in the proposed rule. Staff has reverted 
the rule back to its original language giving the board authority 
to withdraw the recognition of an off-campus educational unit, 
instead of the approval of an off-campus educational unit. 

Comment: The Texas Tech University System expressed their 
objection to language in section 5.76(d) that prohibits off-cam-
pus educational units from requesting legislative funding sepa-
rate from their parent institutions. 

Staff Response: The rule to which the system offices are refer-
ring was adopted in 2003 as §5.76(h). The rule was not changed, 
only reorganized and renumbered in the proposed rules. No 
change was made in the proposed rules as a result of these com-
ments. 

Comment: The Texas A&M University System requested that 
staff revisit the policy requiring an institution to notify other public 
institutions within a 50-mile radius of the off-campus teaching site 
of its intention to offer new programs at the site 60 days prior to 
proposed first day of instruction. 

Staff Response: No time frame is specified in the proposed rules 
regarding area notification to institutions within a 50-mile radius 
of off-campus educational units relating to new program delivery. 
This rule does not apply to notification of planning related to new 
sites. No change was made in the proposed rules as a result of 
this comment. 

Comment: The Texas A&M University System requested that 
staff eliminate the repeated definition of multi-institution teaching 
center from §5.73(4) and §5.73(5)(C). 

Staff Response: The language in the proposed rules serves the 
purpose of defining the multi-institutional teaching center and 
how it relates to an off-campus educational unit. No change was 
made in the proposed rules as a result of this comment. 

Comment: The Texas A&M University System expressed their 
objection to the revision in the language of the University Sys-
tem Center definition in §5.73(5)(g) that specifies the partners of 
the center to be two or more of the system's parent institutions. 
It believes that this language discourages collaboration between 
community colleges and universities in the operation of the cen-
ter. 

Staff Response: The language in the proposed rules does not 
prohibit or restrict collaboration with community college partners 

within a University System Center. No change was made in the 
proposed rules as a result of this comment. 

Comment: The Texas A&M University System expressed their 
objection to language in §5.76(e)(1) that requires research at the 
center be limited to that necessary for the courses and programs 
offered. 

Staff Response: The rule to which the system offices are 
referring was adopted in 2003 as §5.76(c)(1). The rule was not 
changed, only reorganized and renumbered in the proposed 
rules. No change was made in the proposed rules as a result 
of these comments. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Education Code, 
Chapter 61, Subchapter G, §61.0512 (g), which authorized the 
Coordinating Board to approve off-campus courses offered by 
institutions of higher education within the state. 

§5.71. Purpose. 
The provisions of this subchapter define off-campus educational units, 
establish criteria and procedures applicable to the classification, autho-
rization, operation, and reclassification of these units. The provisions 
of this subchapter are applicable to all units of public senior colleges, 
universities and health-related institutions which offer instruction for 
credit but are geographically separate from their institutions' main cam-
puses. 

§5.72. Authority. 
The authority for this subchapter is Texas Education Code, §61.051 and 
§61.0512(g). 

§5.73. Definitions. 
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall 
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise: 

(1) Board--The Texas Higher Education Coordinating 
Board. 

(2) Commissioner--The Commissioner of Higher Educa-
tion. 

(3) Memorandum of Understanding (MOU)--Formal 
Agreement between two or more public institutions of higher edu-
cation that define their roles in the establishment and operation of a 
multi-institutional teaching center. One or more private institutions 
may be included in the memorandum of understanding. 

(4) Multi-Institution Teaching Center (MITC)--An 
off-campus educational unit administered under a memorandum of 
understanding (MOU) between two or more public higher education 
institutions. It may also involve one or more private institutions. It 
has minimal administration and locally provided facilities. 

(5) Off-campus educational unit--A subdivision under the 
management and control of a parent institution(s), in a separate geo-
graphic setting with varying degrees of dependence in academic, ad-
ministrative and fiscal matters. Off-campus education units include: 

(A) Branch campus--A major, secondary location of an 
institution offering multiple programs, usually with its own adminis-
trative structure and usually headed by a Dean. A branch campus must 
be established by the Legislature or approved by the Board. 

(B) Higher education teaching site--An off-campus 
teaching location that promotes access to a very limited array of 
courses and/or programs. Teaching sites may not own facilities, nor are 
they eligible for state support to acquire or build facilities, and do not 
entail a permanent commitment for continued service. See §5.76(i). 
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While higher education teaching sites do not require Board approval 
or recognition, institutions must notify the Board and institutions 
within a 50-mile radius of the teaching site and/or Higher Education 
Regional Council(s) prior to offering courses and/or programs. Issues 
and concerns must be resolved following Board policy related to 
approval of distance education off-campus courses and programs. 

(C) Multi-Institution Teaching Center (MITC)--An off-
campus educational unit administered under a memorandum of under-
standing (MOU) between two or more public higher education insti-
tutions. It may also involve one or more private institutions. It has 
minimal administration and locally provided facilities. 

(D) Regional Academic Health Center (RAHC)--A 
special purpose campus of parent health-related institution(s) that 
may be used to provide undergraduate clinical education, graduate 
education, including residency training programs, or other levels of 
medical education in specifically identified counties. 

(E) Single institution center--An off-campus educa-
tional unit administered by a single parent institution. It has minimal 
administration and locally provided facilities. 

(F) Special Purpose Campus--A major, secondary loca-
tion of an institution offering programs related to specific and limited 
field(s) of study, usually with its own administrative structure and usu-
ally headed by a Dean. Regional Academic Health Centers are consid-
ered special-purpose campuses. Special Purpose Campuses must be 
established by the Legislature or approved by the Board. 

(G) University System Center (USC)--An off-campus 
educational unit administered by a single university system comprised 
of two or more of the system's parent institutions. A memorandum 
of understanding must be established between all parties that governs 
the operations of the USC. It has minimal administration and locally 
provided facilities. 

(6) Parent institution--General academic teaching institu-
tion, medical or dental unit, or university system as defined in TEC 
§61.003 that offers its courses, programs or training at an off-campus 
educational unit. Credit hours are reported by the parent institution and 
degrees are awarded in the name of the parent institution. 

§5.76. General Principles for Off-Campus Educational Units. 

(a) The general purpose of off-campus educational units of all 
sizes is to meet the education needs of the people of Texas with a level 
of service that is appropriate for the area and cost effective to offer. 
Their specific purpose is directly related to the teaching of courses for 
academic credit from the parent institution(s) and/or for health profes-
sions' medical training. 

(b) The Commissioner shall establish policies concerning how 
a location receives designation as a specific type of off-campus educa-
tional unit and how to expand educational activities. 

(c) The type and name of all off-campus educational units, 
with the exception of higher education teaching sites, must be approved 
by the Board. Recognition of an off-campus educational unit may be 
withdrawn by the Board. 

(d) An off-campus educational unit is financially dependent 
upon its parent institution(s) and is supported by the budget of the in-
stitution(s). It is not eligible to request separate legislative funding. 
Off-campus educational units should use locally provided facilities, 
where possible. 

(1) Degree programs offered at off-campus educational 
units must be offered by and in the name of the parent institution(s). 

(2) The parent institution must commit to providing a pro-
gram long enough for a student to have a reasonable opportunity to 
graduate before the resource is withdrawn or to make other reasonable 
arrangements for students to complete programs that they have started. 

(3) The Board must be notified of programs offered or dis-
continued at off-campus educational units. The Board shall maintain a 
list of these degree programs and make that list readily available to the 
public. 

(4) Courses offered at off-campus educational units must 
be reported separately and accurately in required Board reports. 
Semester credit hours completed at the unit must be reported appro-
priately by the parent institution(s) and shall be funded as determined 
by the Legislature. 

(5) The facilities of off-campus educational units shall 
comply with Chapter 17 of this title, relating to Resource Planning. 

(e) Off-campus educational units are not intended to duplicate 
the full array and types of offerings available at regular general aca-
demic campuses. Their specific purpose is to: 

(1) Focus on teaching and on delivery of high demand 
courses and programs for academic credit from the parent institu-
tion(s) and/or for health professions' training. Research conducted at 
off-campus educational units should be limited to that necessary for 
the courses and programs offered. 

(2) Develop articulation agreements with community col-
leges in the area for provision of lower-division courses. In general, 
off-campus educational units are not intended to offer lower-division 
courses. Lower-division courses can only be offered in accordance 
with Chapter 4, subchapter Q of this title, relating to Approval of Off-
Campus and Self-Supporting Courses and Programs for Public Institu-
tions, and related Board procedures. 

(f) Degree programs offered at off-campus educational units 
must be offered by and in the name of the parent institution(s). 

(g) Off-campus educational units shall adhere to quality and 
approval criteria regarding courses, programs, student services and 
other academic matters contained in §§4.101 - 4.108 of this title (re-
lating to Approval of Distance Education and Off-Campus Instruction 
for Public Colleges and Universities), and in the Approval of Distance 
Education, including Off-Campus Courses and Programs located in 
Board policies. 

(h) The facilities of off-campus educational units shall comply 
with Chapter 17 of this title, relating to Resource Planning. 

(i) Courses offered at off-campus educational units must be re-
ported separately and accurately in required Board reports. Semester 
credit hours completed at the unit must be reported appropriately by 
the parent institution(s) and shall be funded as determined by the Leg-
islature. 

§5.78. Supply/Demand Pathway. 
(a) The Board has developed the Supply/Demand Pathway 

(SDP) as a particular way to address anticipated large-scale enrollment 
demand in a specified region. The SDP shall be used as the model 
to address higher education needs in areas without ready geographic 
access to existing public higher education institutions. The general 
principles set forth in §5.76 of this title (relating to General Principals 
for Off-Campus Educational Units) are even more significant in regard 
to the larger scale efforts designated as SDP initiatives. 

(b) An off-campus educational unit is on the "Pathway" when 
it is awarded that designation by the Board. 

(c) The SDP consists of three categories: 
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(1) Category A. Institutions temporarily test the market 
both in terms of demand and staying power by providing off-campus 
courses and/or programs by one or more institutions. Should demand 
decrease or not materialize, courses and programs can be discontinued 
and resources moved to areas of greater demand. 

(2) Category B. As demand increases, offerings may be or-
ganized through a multi-institution teaching center or as a university 
system center as a Pathway Education Center (PEC). A group of in-
stitutions may request that the Board authorize the establishment of a 
MITC. Alternatively, a university system may request that the Board 
authorize the establishment of a university system center. In either case, 
a lead institution shall be designated to provide leadership for the cen-
ter and facilitate the provision of programs and resources from other 
institutions. 

(3) Category C. After an entity in Category B has attained 
a full-time equivalent upper-level and graduate enrollment of 3,500 for 
one fall semester, the parent institution(s) and Board(s) of Regents may 
request that the Board review the status of the center and recommend 
that the Legislature reclassify the unit as an upper-level general aca-
demic institution--a university. The 3,500 FTSE standard approximates 
the headcount enrollment included in the current university funding 
formula as the minimum size needed to achieve economies of scale. 

(d) Counting. The following general criteria and standards 
will be used to determine enrollments applicable to the SDP thresh-
olds. 

(1) Upper-division and graduate semester credit hours gen-
erated in academic courses delivered by the parent universities or by 
other institutions to on-site students at a PEC shall be counted towards 
the relevant SDP threshold. 

(2) Upper-division and graduate semester credit hours gen-
erated in academic courses delivered electronically to students on-site 
at a PEC shall be counted towards the SDP threshold. For interactive 
video courses that originate at a PEC, only students taking the course 
at the PEC shall be counted. 

(3) Upper-division and graduate semester credit hours gen-
erated in academic Internet-based courses and other courses offered in 
non-traditional formats that do not require the physical presence of the 
student at a PEC for a normal number of contact hours shall not be 
counted. 

(4) Lower-division semester credit hours generated in aca-
demic courses offered at PECs shall not be counted towards the thresh-
olds except when: 

(A) the courses are required at the lower-division level 
for degree programs offered at the PEC, 

(B) the courses are not offered by community colleges 
in the vicinity of the Center, 

(C) the courses have been reviewed by Higher Educa-
tion Regional Councils as described in Chapter 4.107(b) of this title, re-
lating to Approval of Distance Education and Off-Campus Instruction 
for Public Colleges and Universities, and related Board procedures, and 

(D) the Board has granted permission to teach the 
courses at the PEC. 

(5) Enrollments in extension courses, continuing educa-
tion and non-formula funded courses shall not be counted towards the 
thresholds. 

(6) Semester credit hours generated in courses that do not 
receive formula funding (e.g., military science, theology and religious 

vocations, some basic skills, personal awareness) shall not be counted 
toward the thresholds. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605708 
Bill Franz 
General Counsel 
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114 

CHAPTER 7. DEGREE GRANTING 
COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES OTHER THAN 
TEXAS PUBLIC INSTITUTIONS 
SUBCHAPTER A. GENERAL PROVISIONS 
19 TAC §§7.3 - 7.8, 7.10, 7.11, 7.14 
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating 
Board) adopts amendments to Chapter 7, Subchapter A, Rules 
Applying to Degree Granting Colleges and Universities Other 
Than Texas Public Institutions, §§7.3 - 7.8, 7.10, 7.11, and 7.14 
concerning the oversight of new postsecondary educational in-
stitutions with changes to proposed text as published in the Au-
gust 12, 2016 issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 5882). 
The intent of the amendments is to provide clearer guidance to 
degree granting colleges and universities other than Texas pub-
lic institutions and accrediting agencies and ensure continuing 
protection of students. 

Ten comments were received from Western Technical College, 
El Paso; the Career Colleges & Schools of Texas board of direc-
tors; the Texas Workforce Commission; and Education Corpora-
tion of America regarding these proposed rules. 

Comment: Western Technical College, El Paso, Texas (Western 
Tech), is one of two Texas institutions which have been grand-
fathered in and allowed to grant AOS degrees. Western Tech 
asked if the associate of occupational studies (AOS) degree pro-
grams will be limited to 72 Semester Credit Hours, as defined in 
revised §7.3(4)(B). 

Staff Response: The definition in revised §7.3(4)(B) specifically 
provides a semester credit hour range for associate of applied 
arts and associate of applied science degrees. AOS degrees are 
not included in the semester credit hour range. Revised §7.5(u) 
sets forth the limitations on AOS degrees, but does not require 
a semester credit range. Neither the current rule nor the revised 
rule include a semester credit hour limitation of AOS degrees. 
No further change is needed in the proposed rules. 

Comment: Western Tech referred to revised §7.3(20) defining 
experiential learning. Experiential learning for medical, nursing, 
allied health, and other health professions degree programs are 
included in the definition. Western Tech asked if it, as a Texas-
based campus, would be required to provide a listing of all its 
clinical sites for its AAS Physical Therapist Assistant program. 
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Staff Response: Current §7.7(1)(A)(ii) requires institutions which 
are only providing clinicals or internships in Texas to list the phys-
ical location of its clinical or internship sites. These clinicals 
or internships are included in the experiential learning definition 
found in revised §7.3(2). However, §7.7(1)(A)(ii) does not re-
quire institutions which have campus locations in Texas to report 
their clinical or internship sites. No further change is needed in 
the proposed rules. 

Comment: Western Tech stated that its accreditor, the Accredit-
ing Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC), re-
quires general education instructors to have a Master's degree 
and a minimum of 15 hours in their discipline. The current and 
revised §7.4(11)(C) requires at least 18 graduate semester credit 
hours in the discipline, or closely related discipline, being taught. 
Western Tech asked if general education faculty will be required 
to have 18 semester credit hours, all at the master's level. 

Staff Response: The 18 graduate semester credit hours in the 
discipline taught is a current requirement for general education 
faculty that has not been changed in the revised §7.4(11)(C). 
This requirement will remain in the rule. The subsection was 
revised to require a Master's degree for general education fac-
ulty. This revision aligns with the requirements of most accredit-
ing agencies and clarifies that general education faculty should 
hold at least a Master's degree with 18 of the graduate semester 
credit hours in the discipline taught. No further change is needed 
in the proposed rules. 

Comment: The Career Colleges & Schools of Texas board of di-
rectors (CCST) asked if, under revised §7.4(11)(C), a long-time 
faculty member, with a successful program, would be grandfa-
thered in and considered to have exceptional experience in the 
field. 

Staff response: Institutions continue to have the option found 
in §7.4(11)(E) to document justification for faculty with excep-
tional experience in the field of appointment. Such documenta-
tion includes continuous documented excellence in teaching. A 
long-time faculty member, with a successful program, may meet 
this standard. No further change is needed to the proposed 
rules. 

Comment: Western Tech asked if in revised §7.4(24)(b), faculty 
qualifications were being removed for faculty size. 

Staff Response: Revised §7.4(24) was revised to clarify that the 
only standards for operation which may be deviated for a com-
pelling academic reason are the standards relating to faculty size 
and credit for work completed outside a collegiate setting. Fac-
ulty qualifications remain in subsection (11) of §7.4. No further 
change is needed in the proposed rules. 

Comment: Texas Workforce Commission staff noted that re-
vised §7.5(u) states that Texas has two career schools or col-
leges awarding the AOS degree, Universal Technical Institute 
and Western Technical College. Southwest Institute of Technol-
ogy is no longer in operation. However, the revised rule later 
refers to three institutions. 

Staff Response: Staff agrees with this change. Further revision 
is made to correctly state the number of career schools or col-
leges allowed to award the AOS degree. 

Comment: Western Tech asked if they will not be allowed to add 
any further sub-specialties or concentrations to the AOS degree 
programs under §7.5(u). 

Staff Response: The current §7.5(u) limits the AOS degree to 
the following fields: automotive mechanics, diesel mechanics, 
refrigeration, electronics, and business. The grandfathered insti-
tutions may continue to award the AOS degree for those fields 
listed in this subsection and shall be restricted to those fields. 
The revised rule does not change this restriction. No further 
change is needed in the proposed rules. 

Comment: Education Corporation of America (ECA), on behalf 
of Brightwood College, Golf Academy of America, and Virginia 
College locations in Texas, requested additional revisions in §7.7 
to clarify procedures to request a provisional time period if an 
institution's accrediting agency is removed from the US Depart-
ment of Education and/or the Board's list of approved accredi-
tors. 

Staff Response: Staff agrees with this change. Further revisions 
are made to clarify what an institution must do in order to stay a 
revocation of its Certificate of Authorization. 

Comment: CCST noted inconsistencies in revised §7.7(2) and 
(3) regarding the language of revocation. 

Staff response: Clarifications based on changes suggested by 
ECA and made to §7.7(2) and (3) addressed inconsistencies. 
No further change is needed in the proposed rules. 

Comment: CCST asked for clarification of revised §7.11, specif-
ically subsection (a) regarding voiding a Certificate of Authoriza-
tion and subsection (b)(3) and (4) of this section regarding doc-
umentation. CCST asked if a time lapse will occur for approval 
of a Change of Ownership, noting there have been delays in the 
past. 

Staff response: A Certificate of Authorization will only be auto-
matically void if the institution does not meet the requirements of 
this section. Requirements include documentation showing the 
new owner has been approved by the institution's Board-recog-
nized accreditor or is able to meet the requirements of the ex-
isting Certificate of Authority; and that the institution has the fi-
nancial ability to adequately support and conduct all approved 
programs. Inadequate documentation or inability to meet the re-
quirements of this Rule may result in a delay for approval of a 
Change of Ownership. Sufficient notification and submission of 
documentation prior to a change of ownership should mitigate 
unnecessary delays. No further change is needed in the pro-
posed rules. 

The amendments are adopted under the Texas Education Code, 
Chapter 61, Subchapter G, §61.311, which authorized the Coor-
dinating Board to promulgate standards, rules, and regulations 
governing the administration of the subchapter. 

§7.3. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall 
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise. 

(1) Accreditation--The status of public recognition that an 
accrediting agency grants to an educational institution. 

(2) Accrediting Agency--A legal entity recognized by the 
Secretary of Education of the United States Department of Education 
as an accrediting agency that conducts accreditation activities through 
voluntary peer review and makes decisions concerning the accredita-
tion status of institutions, including ensuring academic, financial, and 
operational quality. A Board-recognized Accrediting Agency is any ac-
crediting agency authorized by the Secretary of Education of the United 
States Department of Education to accredit educational institutions that 
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offer the associate degree or higher, the standards of accreditation or 
membership for which have been found by the Board to be sufficiently 
comprehensive and rigorous to qualify its institutional members for an 
exemption from certain provisions of this chapter. 

(3) Agent--A person employed by or representing a post-
secondary educational institution that does not have a Certificate of 
Authorization or Certificate of Authority, within or without Texas who: 

(A) solicits any Texas student for enrollment in the in-
stitution (excluding the occasional participation in a college/career fair 
involving multiple institutions or other event similarly limited in scope 
in the state of Texas); 

(B) solicits or accepts payment from any Texas student 
for any service offered by the institution; or 

(C) while having a physical presence in Texas, solicits 
students or accepts payment from students who do not reside in Texas. 

(4) Associate Degree Program--A grouping of courses de-
signed to lead the individual directly to employment in a specific career 
or to transfer to an upper-level baccalaureate program. This specifi-
cally refers to the associate of arts (AA), the associate of science (AS), 
the associate of applied arts (AAA), the associate of applied science 
(AAS), and the associate of occupational studies (AOS) degrees. 

(A) Academic Associate Degree Program--A grouping 
of courses designed to transfer to an upper-level baccalaureate program 
and that includes sixty (60) semester credit hours and not more than 
sixty-six (66) semester credit hours or ninety (90) quarter credit hours 
and not more than ninety-nine (99) quarter credit hours. An academic 
associate degree must include at least twenty (20) semester credit hours 
or thirty (30) quarter credit hours of general education courses. This 
specifically refers to the associate of arts (AA) and the associate of 
science degrees (AS). 

(B) Applied Associate Degree Program--A grouping of 
courses designed to lead the individual directly to employment in a spe-
cific career and that includes at least sixty (60) semester credit hours 
and not more than seventy-two (72) semester credit hours or ninety 
(90) quarter credit hours and not more than one hundred eight (108) 
quarter hours. An applied associate degree must include at least fifteen 
(15) semester credit hours or twenty-three (23) quarter credit hours of 
general education courses. This specifically refers to the associate of 
applied arts (AAA) and the associate of applied science (AAS) degrees. 
Associate of Occupational Studies (AOS) degrees are only allowed un-
der §7.5(u) of this chapter. 

(5) Board--The Texas Higher Education Coordinating 
Board. 

(6) Board Staff--The staff of the Texas Higher Education 
Coordinating Board including the Commissioner of Higher Education 
and all employees who report to the Commissioner. 

(7) Career School or College--Any business enterprise op-
erated for a profit, or on a nonprofit basis, that maintains a place of 
business in the state of Texas or solicits business within the state of 
Texas, and that is not specifically exempted by Texas Education Code, 
§132.002 or §7.4 of this chapter (relating to Standards for Operations 
of Institutions), and: 

(A) that offers or maintains a course or courses of in-
struction or study; or 

(B) at which place of business such a course or courses 
of instruction or study is available through classroom instruction, by 
electronic media, by correspondence, or by some or all, to a person for 
the purpose of training or preparing the person for a field of endeavor 

in a business, trade, technical, or industrial occupation, or for career or 
personal improvement. 

(8) Certificate of Approval--The Texas Workforce Com-
mission's approval of career schools or colleges with operations in 
Texas to maintain, advertise, solicit for, or conduct any program of in-
struction in this state. 

(9) Certificate of Authority--The Board's approval of post-
secondary institutions (other than exempt institutions), with operations 
in the state of Texas, to confer degrees or courses applicable to degrees, 
or to solicit students for enrollment in institutions that confer degrees 
or courses applicable to degrees, while seeking Board-recognized ac-
creditation. Additional conditions, restrictions, or requirements will be 
placed on a Certificate of Authority, including, but not limited to, appli-
cation and review requirements for the initial application and supple-
mentary reporting requirements during the first two years of operation, 
if an institution does not meet one of the three previous operational 
history conditions described by §7.8(1)(A)(ii)(I)-(III) of this chapter. 
Additional conditions, restrictions, or requirements may be placed on 
any Certificate of Authority if recommended to and approved by the 
Board. 

(10) Certificate of Authorization--The Board's acknowl-
edgment that an institution is qualified for an exemption from certain 
identified regulations in this subchapter. 

(A) A Certificate of Authorization for an institution of-
fering degrees or courses leading to degrees at a physical location in 
Texas will be issued for the period of time in the institution's current 
grant of accreditation by its Board-recognized accreditor. 

(B) A Certificate of Authorization may be issued as pro-
visional for a 15-month temporary exemption from certain identified 
regulations in this subchapter based on its main campus' accreditation 
while seeking final approval for the new Texas-based campus from its 
Board-recognized accreditor and the Texas Workforce Commission. 

(C) An out-of-state institution may be issued a renew-
able one-year Certificate of Authorization in order to allow students to 
complete experiential learning experiences in Texas. 

(11) Certificate of Registration--The Board's approval of an 
agent to solicit students on behalf of a private postsecondary educa-
tional institution in the state of Texas. 

(12) Certification Advisory Council--The Council as estab-
lished by Board rules Chapter 1, Subchapter H, §§1.135 - 1.141 of this 
title (relating to Certification Advisory Council). 

(13) Change of Ownership or Control--Any change in 
ownership or control of a career school or college, or a postsecondary 
educational institution, or an agreement to transfer control of such 
institution. 

(A) The ownership or control of a career school or 
college or postsecondary educational institution is considered to have 
changed: 

(i) in the case of ownership by an individual, when 
more than fifty (50) percent of the institution has been sold or trans-
ferred; 

(ii) in the case of ownership by a partnership or a 
corporation, when more than fifty (50) percent of the institution or of 
the owning partnership or corporation has been sold or transferred; or 

(iii) when the board of directors, officers, sharehold-
ers, or similar governing body has been changed to such an extent as 
to significantly alter the management and control of the institution. 
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(B) A change of ownership or control does not include a 
transfer that occurs as a result of the retirement or death of the owner if 
transfer is to a member of the owner's family who has been directly and 
constantly involved in the management of the institution for a minimum 
of two years preceding the transfer. For the purposes of this section, 
a member of the owner's family is a parent, sibling, spouse, or child; 
spouse's parent or sibling; or sibling's or child's spouse. 

(14) Cited--Any reference to an institution in a negative 
finding or action by an accrediting agency. 

(15) Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) Code--
The four (4) or six (6)-digit code assigned to an approved degree pro-
gram in accordance with the CIP manual published by the U.S. De-
partment of Education, National Center for Education Statistics. CIP 
codes define the authorized teaching field of the specified degree pro-
gram, based upon the occupation(s) for which the program is designed 
to prepare its graduates. 

(16) Commissioner--The Commissioner of Higher Educa-
tion. 

(17) Degree--Any title or designation, mark, abbreviation, 
appellation, or series of letters or words, including "associate," "bache-
lor's," "master's," "doctor's" and their equivalents and foreign cognates, 
which signify, purport to signify, or are generally taken to signify sat-
isfactory completion of the requirements of all or part of a program 
of study which is generally regarded and accepted as an academic de-
gree-level program by accrediting agencies recognized by the Board. 

(18) Educational or Training Establishment--An enterprise 
offering a course of instruction, education, or training that is not repre-
sented as being applicable to a degree. 

(19) Exempt Institution--A postsecondary educational in-
stitution that is accredited by an agency recognized by the Board under 
§7.6 of this chapter (relating to Recognition of Accrediting Agencies), 
is defined as a "private or independent institution of higher education" 
under Texas Education Code, §61.003(15), a career school or college 
that applies for and is declared exempt under this chapter, an institution 
that has received approval by a state agency authorizing the institution's 
graduates to take a professional or vocational state licensing examina-
tion administered by that agency as described in Texas Education Code, 
§61.303(a), or an institution exempted by the Texas Workforce Com-
mission under Texas Education Code, §132.002. Exempt institutions 
must comply with certain Board rules. 

(20) Experiential Learning--Process through which stu-
dents develop knowledge, skills, and values from direct experiences 
outside an institution's classrooms. Experiential learning encom-
passes a variety of activities including, but not limited to, internships, 
externships, practicums, clinicals, field experience, or other profes-
sional work experiences. References to clinicals within this chapter 
encompasses all site-specific health professions experiential learning. 
Clinicals include site experiences for medical, nursing, allied health, 
and other health professions degree programs. 

(21) Fictitious Degree--A counterfeit or forged degree or a 
degree that has been revoked. 

(22) Fraudulent or Substandard Degree--A degree con-
ferred by a person who, at the time the degree was conferred, was: 

(A) operating in this state in violation of this subchap-
ter; 

(B) not eligible to receive a Certificate of Authority un-
der this subchapter and was operating in another state in violation of 
a law regulating the conferral of degrees in that state or in the state in 
which the degree recipient was residing or without accreditation by a 

recognized accrediting agency, if the degree is not approved through 
the review process described by §7.12 of this chapter (relating to Re-
view and Use of Degrees from Institutions Not Eligible for Certificates 
of Authority); or 

(C) not eligible to receive a Certificate of Authority un-
der this subchapter and was operating outside the United States, and 
whose degree the Board, through the review process described by §7.12 
of this chapter, determines is not the equivalent of an accredited or au-
thorized degree. 

(23) Out-of-State Public Postsecondary Institution--Any 
senior college, university, technical institute, junior or community 
college, or the equivalent which is controlled by a public body orga-
nized outside the boundaries of the state of Texas. For purposes of 
this chapter, out-of-state public institutions of higher education are 
considered postsecondary educational institutions. 

(24) Person--Any individual, firm, partnership, associa-
tion, corporation, enterprise, postsecondary educational institution, 
other private entity, or any combination thereof. 

(25) Physical Presence--

(A) While in Texas, a representative of the school or a 
person being paid by the school, who conducts an activity related to 
postsecondary education, including for the purposes of recruiting stu-
dents (excluding the occasional participation in a college/career fair 
involving multiple institutions or other event similarly limited in scope 
in the state of Texas), teaching or proctoring courses including in-
ternships, clinicals, externships, practicums, and other similarly con-
structed educational activities (excluding those individuals that are in-
volved in teaching courses in which there is no physical contact with 
Texas students or in which visiting students are enrolled), or grants cer-
tificates or degrees; and/or 

(B) The institution has any location within the state of 
Texas which would include any address, physical site, telephone num-
ber, or facsimile number within or originating from within the bound-
aries of the state of Texas. Advertising to Texas students, whether 
through print, billboard, internet, radio, television, or other medium 
alone does not constitute a physical presence. 

(26) Postsecondary Educational Institution--An educa-
tional institution which: 

(A) is not a public community college, public technical 
college, public senior college or university, medical or dental unit or 
other agency as defined in Texas Education Code, §61.003; 

(B) is incorporated under the laws of this state, or main-
tains a place of business in this state, or has an agent or representative 
present in this state, or solicits business in this state; and 

(C) furnishes or offers to furnish courses of instruction 
in person, by electronic media, by correspondence, or by some means 
or all leading to a degree; provides or offers to provide credits alleged 
to be applicable to a degree; or represents that credits earned or granted 
are collegiate in nature, including describing them as "college-level," 
or at the level of any protected academic term. 

(27) Private Postsecondary Educational Institution--An in-
stitution which: 

(A) is not an institution of higher education as defined 
by Texas Education Code, §61.003; 

(B) is incorporated under the laws of this state, main-
tains a place of business in this state, has an agent or representative 
presence in this state, or solicits business in this state; and 
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(C) furnishes or offers to furnish courses of instruction 
in person, by electronic media, or by correspondence leading to a de-
gree or providing credits alleged to be applied to a degree. 

(28) Professional Degree--A degree that is awarded for a 
Doctor of Medicine (M.D.), Doctor of Osteopathy (D.O.), Doctor of 
Dental Surgery (D.D.S.), Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (D.V.M.), Ju-
ris Doctor (J.D.), and Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) and their equivalents 
and foreign cognates. 

(29) Program or Program of Study--Any course or group-
ing of courses which are represented as entitling a student to a degree 
or to credits applicable to a degree. 

(30) Protected Term--The terms "college," "university," 
"school of medicine," "medical school," "health science center," 
"school of law," "law school," or "law center," its abbreviation, foreign 
cognate or equivalents. 

(31) Reciprocal State Exemption Agreement--An agree-
ment entered into by the Board with an out-of-state state higher 
education agency or higher education system for the purpose of 
creating a reciprocal arrangement whereby that entity's institutions 
are exempted from the Board oversight for the purposes of distance 
education. In exchange, participating Texas public or private institu-
tions of higher education as defined in Texas Education Code, §61.003 
would be exempted from that state's oversight for the purposes of 
distance education. 

(32) Representative--A person who acts on behalf of an in-
stitution regulated under this subchapter. The term includes, without 
limitation, recruiters, agents, tutors, counselors, business agents, in-
structors, and any other instructional or support personnel. 

(33) Required State or National Licensure--The require-
ment for graduates of certain professional programs to obtain a license 
from state or national entities for entry-level practice. 

(34) Single Point of Contact--An individual who is desig-
nated by an institution as the person responsible for receiving and con-
veying information between an institution and the Board or Board staff. 
The Board will direct all communications regarding an institution to the 
Single Point of Contact. Institutions must inform the Board of changes 
in the designated Single Point of Contact within 30 days of change. 

(35) Substantive Change--Any change in principal loca-
tion, ownership, or governance of an institution, change in accrediting 
agency or final action by an accrediting agency changing such institu-
tion's status with such accrediting agency, including negative actions 
taken by the accrediting agency against an institution, change in 
degree- or credential-level for an approved program, addition of new 
programs, degrees or credentials offered, or change in United States 
Department of Education requirements for receipt of federal financial 
aid based on financial or accreditation status. 

(36) Visiting Student--A student pursuing a degree at an 
out-of-state institution (i.e., home institution) with no physical pres-
ence in Texas who has permission from the home institution and a 
Texas institution, which is either exempt from Board rules or currently 
in compliance with Board rules, to take specific courses at the Texas 
institution. The two institutions have an agreement that courses taken 
at the Texas institution will transfer back to the home institution. 

§7.4. Standards for Operation of Institutions. 

(a) All institutions that operate within the state of Texas are 
required to meet the following standards. These standards will be en-
forced through the Certificate of Authority process. Standards address-
ing the same principles will be enforced by Board-recognized accredit-
ing agencies under the Certificate of Authorization process. Particular 

attention will be paid to the institution's commitment to education, re-
sponsiveness to recommendations and suggestions for improvement, 
and, in the case of a renewal of a Certificate of Authority, record of 
improvement and progress. These standards represent generally ac-
cepted administrative and academic practices and principles of accred-
ited postsecondary institutions in Texas. Such practices and principles 
are generally set forth by institutional and specialized accrediting bod-
ies and the academic and professional organizations. 

(1) Legal Compliance. The institution shall be maintained 
and operated in compliance with all applicable ordinances and laws, 
including the rules and regulations adopted to administer those ordi-
nances and laws. Postsecondary educational institutions shall demon-
strate compliance with Texas Education Code, Chapter 132 by supply-
ing either a copy of a Certificate of Approval to operate a career school 
or college or a Letter of Exemption from the Texas Workforce Com-
mission. 

(2) Qualifications of Institutional Officers. 

(A) The character, education, and experience in higher 
education of governing board administrators, supervisors, counselors, 
agents, representatives, and other institutional officers shall reasonably 
ensure that the institution can maintain the standards of the Board and 
progress to accreditation within the time limits set by the Board. 

(B) The chief academic officer shall hold an earned ad-
vanced degree appropriate for the mission of the institution, prefer-
ably, an earned doctorate awarded by an institution accredited by a 
recognized accrediting agency, and shall demonstrate sound aptitude 
for and experience with curriculum development and assessment; ac-
creditation standards and processes as well as all relevant state regula-
tions; leadership and development of faculty, including the promotion 
of scholarship, research, service, academic freedom and responsibility, 
and tenure (where applicable); and the promotion of student success. 

(C) In the case of a renewal of a Certificate of Authority, 
the institutional officers also shall demonstrate a record of effective 
leadership in administering the institution. 

(3) Governance. The institution shall have a system of gov-
ernance that facilitates the accomplishment of the institution's mis-
sion and purposes, supports institutional effectiveness and integrity, 
and protects the interests of its constituents, including students, fac-
ulty and staff. If the institution has a governing board consisting of at 
least three (3) members, and that board focuses on the accomplishment 
of the institution's mission and purposes, supports institutional effec-
tiveness and integrity, and protects the interests of its constituents, this 
standard will be considered as met. In the absence of such a governing 
board, the burden to establish appropriate safeguards within its system 
of governance and to demonstrate their effectiveness falls upon the in-
stitution. 

(4) Distinction of Roles. The institution shall define the 
powers, duties and responsibilities of the governing body and the ex-
ecutive officers. There shall be a clear distinction in the roles and per-
sonnel of the chief business officer and the chief academic officer. 

(5) Financial Resources and Stability. The institution shall 
have adequate financial resources and financial stability to provide ed-
ucation of good quality and to be able to fulfill its commitments to 
students. The institution shall have sufficient reserves, line of credit, 
or surety instrument so that, together with tuition and fees, it would be 
able to complete its educational obligations to currently enrolled stu-
dents if it were unable to admit any new students. 

(6) Financial Records. Financial records and reports of the 
institution shall be kept and made separate and distinct from those of 
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any affiliated or sponsoring person or entity. Financial records and re-
ports at a not-for-profit institution shall be kept in accordance with the 
guidelines of the National Association of College and University Busi-
ness Officers as set forth in College and University Business Admin-
istration (Sixth Edition), or such later editions as may be published. 
An annual independent audit of all fiscal accounts of the educational 
institution shall be authorized by the governing board and shall be per-
formed by a properly authorized certified public accountant. 

(7) Institutional Assessment. Continual and effective as-
sessment, planning, and evaluation of all aspects of the institution shall 
be conducted to advance and improve the institution. These aspects 
include, but are not limited to, the academic program of teaching, re-
search, and public service; administration; financial planning and con-
trol; student services; facilities and equipment, and auxiliary enter-
prises. 

(8) Program Evaluation. 

(A) The institution shall establish adequate procedures 
for planning and evaluation, define in measurable terms its expected 
educational results, and describe how those results will be achieved. 

(B) For all associate degree programs, the evaluation 
criteria shall include the following: mission, labor market need, cur-
riculum, enrollment, graduates, student placement, follow-up results, 
ability to finance each program of study, facilities and equipment, 
instructional practices, student services, public and private linkages, 
qualifications of faculty and administrative personnel, and success of 
its students. 

(C) For applied associate degree programs relating to 
occupations where state or national licensure is required, graduates 
must pass the licensing examination at a rate acceptable to the related 
licensing agency. 

(9) Administrative Resources. The institution has the ad-
ministrative capacity to meet the daily needs of the administration, fac-
ulty and students, including facilities, laboratories, equipment, technol-
ogy and learning resources that support the institution's mission and 
programs. 

(10) Student Admission and Remediation. 

(A) Upon the admission of a student to any undergradu-
ate program, the institution shall document the student's level of prepa-
ration to undertake college level work by obtaining proof of the stu-
dent's high school graduation or General Educational Development 
(GED) certification. If a GED is presented, to be valid, the score must 
be at or above the passing level set by the Texas Education Agency. 
The academic skills of each entering student may be assessed with an 
instrument of the institution's choice. The institution may provide an 
effective program of remediation for students diagnosed with deficien-
cies in their preparation for collegiate study. 

(B) Upon the admission of a student to any graduate 
program, the institution shall document that the student is prepared to 
undertake graduate-level work by obtaining proof that the student holds 
a baccalaureate degree from an institution accredited by a recognized 
accrediting agency, or an institution holding a Certificate of Authority 
to offer baccalaureate degrees under the provisions of this chapter, or a 
degree from a foreign institution equivalent to a baccalaureate degree 
from an accredited institution. The procedures used by the institution 
for establishing the equivalency of a foreign degree shall be consistent 
with the guidelines of the National Council on the Evaluation of For-
eign Education Credentials or its successor. 

(11) Faculty Qualifications. The character, education, and 
experience in higher education of the faculty shall be such as may rea-

sonably ensure that the students will receive an education consistent 
with the objectives of the course or program of study. 

(A) Each faculty member, except as provided by sub-
paragraph (E) of this paragraph, teaching in an academic associate, ap-
plied associate leading to required state or national licensure, or bac-
calaureate level degree program shall have at least a master's degree 
from an institution accredited by a recognized agency with at least eigh-
teen (18) graduate semester credit hours in the discipline, or closely 
related discipline, being taught. 

(B) Each faculty member except, as provided by sub-
paragraph (E) of this paragraph, teaching career and technical courses 
in an applied associate degree program, or career and technical courses 
that academic associate or baccalaureate students may choose to take, 
shall have at least an associate degree in the discipline being taught 
from an institution accredited by a recognized agency and or at least 
three (3) years of full-time direct or closely related experience in the 
discipline being taught. 

(C) Each faculty member, except as provided by sub-
paragraph (E) of this paragraph, teaching general education courses in 
an applied associate degree program shall have at least a master's de-
gree from an institution accredited by a recognized accrediting agency 
with at least eighteen (18) graduate semester credit hours in the disci-
pline, or closely related discipline, being taught. 

(D) Except as provided by subparagraph (E) of this 
paragraph, graduate-level degree programs shall be taught by faculty 
holding doctorates, or other degrees generally recognized as the high-
est attainable in the discipline, or closely related discipline, awarded 
by institutions accredited by an agency recognized by the Board. 

(E) With the approval of a majority of the institu-
tion's governing board, an individual with exceptional experience 
in the field of appointment, which may include direct and relevant 
work experience, professional licensure and certification, honors 
and awards, continuous documented excellence in teaching, or other 
demonstrated competencies and achievements, may serve as a faculty 
member without the degree credentials specified in subparagraphs (A) 
- (D) of this paragraph. Such appointments shall be limited and the 
justification for each such appointment shall be fully documented. The 
Board may review the qualifications of the full complement of faculty 
providing instruction at the institution to verify that such appointments 
are justified. 

(12) Faculty Size. There shall be a sufficient number of 
faculty holding full-time teaching appointments that are accessible to 
the students to ensure continuity and stability of the education pro-
gram, adequate educational association between students and faculty 
and among the faculty members, and adequate opportunity for proper 
preparation for instruction and professional growth by faculty mem-
bers. At the associate and baccalaureate levels, there shall be at least 
one (1) full-time faculty member in each program. At the graduate 
level, there shall be at least two (2) full-time faculty members in each 
program. 

(13) Academic Freedom and Faculty Security. The institu-
tion shall adopt, adhere to, and distribute to all members of the faculty a 
statement of academic freedom assuring freedom in teaching, research, 
and publication. All policies and procedures concerning promotion, 
tenure, and non-renewal or termination of appointments, including for 
cause, shall be clearly stated and published in a faculty handbook, ad-
hered to by the institution, and supplied to all faculty. The specific 
terms and conditions of employment of each faculty member shall be 
clearly described in a written document to be given to that faculty mem-
ber, with a copy to be retained by the institution. 
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(14) Curriculum. 

(A) The quality, content, and sequence of each course, 
curriculum, or program of instruction, training, or study shall be appro-
priate to the purpose of the institution and shall be such that the institu-
tion may reasonably and adequately achieve the stated objectives of the 
course or program. Each program shall adequately cover the breadth 
of knowledge of the discipline taught and coursework must build on 
the knowledge of previous courses to increase the rigor of instruction 
and the learning of students in the discipline. A majority of the courses 
in the areas of specialization required for each degree program shall 
be offered in organized classes by the institution. An institution may 
offer for-credit coursework that does not directly relate to approved 
programs, provided that it does not exceed twenty-five (25) percent of 
all courses. 

(B) Academic associate degrees must consist of at 
least sixty (60) semester credit hours and not more than sixty-six (66) 
semester credit hours or ninety (90) quarter credit hours and not more 
than ninety-nine (99) quarter credit hours. Applied associate degrees 
must consist of at least sixty (60) semester credit hours and not more 
than seventy-two (72) semester credit hours or ninety (90) quarter 
credit hours and not more than one hundred eight (108) quarter hours. 
A baccalaureate degree must consist of at least one hundred twenty 
(120) semester credit hours or one hundred eighty (180) quarter credit 
hours. A master's degree must consist of at least thirty (30) semester 
credit hours and not more than thirty-six (36) semester credit hours 
or forty-five (45) quarter credit hours and not more than fifty-four 
(54) quarter credit hours of graduate level work past the baccalaureate 
degree. 

(C) Courses designed to correct deficiencies, remedial 
courses for associate and baccalaureate programs, and leveling courses 
for graduate programs, shall not count toward requirements for com-
pletion of the degree. 

(D) The degree level, degree designation, and the des-
ignation of the major course of study shall be appropriate to the cur-
riculum offered and shall be accurately listed on the student's diploma 
and transcript. 

(15) General Education. 

(A) Each academic associate degree program shall con-
tain a general education component consisting of at least twenty (20) 
semester credit hours or thirty (30) quarter credit hours. Each applied 
associate degree program shall contain a general education component 
of at least fifteen (15) semester credit hours or twenty-three (23) quarter 
credit hours. Each baccalaureate degree program shall contain a gen-
eral education component consisting of at least twenty-five (25) percent 
of the total hours required for graduation from the program. 

(B) This component shall be drawn from each of the 
following areas: Humanities and Fine Arts, Social and Behavioral Sci-
ences, and Natural Sciences and Mathematics. It shall include courses 
to develop skills in written and oral communication and basic computer 
instruction. 

(C) The applicant institution may arrange to have all or 
part of the general education component taught by another institution, 
provided that: 

(i) the applicant institution's faculty shall design the 
general education requirement; 

(ii) there shall be a written agreement between the 
institutions specifying the applicant institution's general education re-
quirements and the manner in which they will be met by the providing 
institution; and 

(iii) the providing institution shall be accredited by a 
Board-recognized accrediting agency or hold a Certificate of Authority. 

(16) Credit for Work Completed Outside a Collegiate Set-
ting. 

(A) An institution awarding collegiate credit for work 
completed outside a collegiate setting (outside a degree-granting insti-
tution accredited by a recognized agency) shall establish and adhere to 
a systematic method for evaluating that work, shall award credit only 
in course content which falls within the authorized degree programs 
of the institution or, if by evaluative examination, falls within the stan-
dards for awarding credit by exam used by public universities in Texas, 
in an appropriate manner shall relate the credit to the student's current 
educational goals, and shall subject the institution's process and pro-
cedures for evaluating work completed outside a collegiate setting to 
ongoing review and evaluation by the institution's teaching faculty. To 
these ends, recognized evaluative examinations such as the Advanced 
Placement program (AP) or the College Level Examination Program 
(CLEP) may be used. 

(B) No more than one half of the credit applied toward 
a student's associate or baccalaureate degree program may be based 
on work completed outside a collegiate setting. Those credits must 
be validated in the manner set forth in subparagraph (A) of this para-
graph. No more than fifteen (15) semester credit hours or twenty-three 
(23) quarter credit hours of that credit may be awarded by means other 
than recognized evaluative examinations. No graduate credit for work 
completed outside a collegiate setting may be awarded. In no instance 
may credit be awarded for life experience per se or merely for years of 
service in a position or job. 

(17) Learning Resources. The institution shall maintain 
and ensure that students have access to learning resources with a collec-
tion of books, educational material and publications, on-line materials 
and other resources and with staff, services, equipment, and facilities 
that are adequate and appropriate for the purposes and enrollment of the 
institution. Learning resources shall be current, well distributed among 
fields in which the institution offers instructions, cataloged, logically 
organized, and readily located. The institution shall maintain a con-
tinuous plan for learning resources development and support, includ-
ing objectives and selections of materials. Current and formal written 
agreements with other institutions or with other entities may be used. 
Institutions offering graduate work shall provide access to learning re-
sources that include basic reference and bibliographic works and major 
journals in each discipline in which the graduate program is offered. 
Applied associate degree programs shall provide adequate and appro-
priate resources for completion of course work. 

(18) Facilities. The institution shall have adequate space, 
equipment, and instructional materials to provide education of good 
quality. Student housing owned, maintained, or approved by the insti-
tution, if any, shall be appropriate, safe, adequate, and in compliance 
with applicable state and local requirements. 

(19) Academic Records. Adequate records of each stu-
dent's academic performance shall be securely and permanently main-
tained by the institution. 

(A) The records for each student shall contain: 

(i) student contact and identification information, 
including address and telephone number; 

(ii) records of admission documents, such as high 
school diploma or GED (if undergraduate) or undergraduate degree (if 
graduate); 
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(iii) records of all courses attempted, including 
grade; completion status of the student, including the diploma, degree 
or award conferred to the student; and 

(iv) any other information typically contained in 
academic records. 

(B) Two copies of said records shall be maintained in 
separate secure places. 

(C) Transcripts shall be provided upon request by a stu-
dent, subject to the institution's obligation, if any, to cooperate with the 
rules and regulations governing state and federally guaranteed student 
loans. 

(20) Accurate and Fair Representation in Publications, Ad-
vertising, and Promotion. 

(A) Neither the institution nor its agents or other rep-
resentatives shall engage in advertising, recruiting, sales, collection, 
financial credit, or other practices of any type which are false, decep-
tive, misleading, or unfair. Likewise, all publications, by any medium, 
shall accurately and fairly represent the institution, its programs, avail-
able resources, tuition and fees, and requirements. 

(B) The institution shall provide students, prospective 
students prior to enrollment, and other interested persons with a printed 
or electronically published catalog. Institutions relying on electronic 
catalogs must ensure the availability of archived editions in order to 
serve the needs of alumni and returning students. The catalog must 
contain, at minimum, the following information: 

(i) the institution's mission; 

(ii) a statement of admissions policies; 

(iii) information describing the purpose, length, and 
objectives of the program or programs offered by the institution; 

(iv) the schedule of tuition, fees, and all other 
charges and expenses necessary for completion of the course of study; 

(v) cancellation and refund policies; 

(vi) a definition of the unit of credit as it applies at 
the institution; 

(vii) an explanation of satisfactory progress as it ap-
plies at the institution, including an explanation of the grading or mark-
ing system; 

(viii) the institution's calendar, including the begin-
ning and ending dates for each instructional term, holidays, and regis-
tration dates; 

(ix) a complete listing of each regularly employed 
faculty member showing name, area of assignment, rank, and each 
earned degree held, including degree level, degree designation, and in-
stitution that awarded the degree; 

(x) a complete listing of each administrator showing 
name, title, area of assignment, and each earned degree held, includ-
ing degree level, degree designation, and institution that awarded the 
degree; 

(xi) a statement of legal control with the names of 
the trustees, directors, and officers of the corporation; 

(xii) a complete listing of all scholarships offered, if 
any; 

(xiii) a statement describing the nature and extent of 
available student services; 

(xiv) complete and clearly stated information about 
the transferability of credit to other postsecondary institutions includ-
ing two-year and four-year colleges and universities; 

(xv) any such other material facts concerning the in-
stitution and the program or course of instruction as are reasonably 
likely to affect the decision of the student to enroll therein; and 

(xvi) any disclosures specified by the Board or de-
fined in Board rules. 

(C) The institution shall adopt, publish, and adhere to a 
fair and equitable cancellation and refund policy. 

(D) The institution shall provide to each prospective 
student, newly-enrolled student, and returning student, complete and 
clearly presented information indicating the institution's current grad-
uation rate by program and, if required by the Board, job placement 
rate by program for applied associate degree programs. 

(E) Any special requirements or limitations of program 
offerings for the students at the Texas location must be made explicit in 
writing. This may be accomplished by either a separate section in the 
catalog or a brochure separate from the catalog. However, if a brochure 
is produced, the student must also be given the regular catalog. 

(F) Upon satisfactory completion of the program of 
study, the student shall be given appropriate educational credentials 
indicating the degree level, degree designation, and the designation of 
the major course of study, and a transcript accurately listing the infor-
mation typically found on such a document, subject to the institution's 
obligation, if any, to enforce with the rules and regulations governing 
state, and federally guaranteed student loans by temporarily withhold-
ing such credentials. 

(21) Academic Advising and Counseling. The institution 
shall provide an effective program of academic advising for all stu-
dents enrolled. The program shall include orientation to the academic 
program, academic counseling, career information and planning, place-
ment assistance, and testing services. 

(22) Student Rights and Responsibilities. The institution 
shall establish and adhere to a clear and fair policy regarding due 
process in disciplinary matters; outline the established grievance 
process of the institution, which shall indicate that students should 
follow this process and may contact the Board using the student com-
plaint procedures established by Board rules Chapter 1, Subchapter H, 
§§1.110 - 1.120 of this title (relating to Student Complaint Procedure) 
and/or the Texas Attorney General to file a complaint about the 
institution if all other avenues have been exhausted, and publish these 
policies in a handbook, which shall include other rights and respon-
sibilities of the students. This handbook shall be supplied in print or 
electronically to each student upon enrollment in the institution. 

(23) Health and Safety. The institution shall provide an 
effective program of health and safety education reflecting the needs of 
the students. The program shall include information on emergency and 
safety procedures at the institution, including appropriate responses to 
illness, accident, fire, and crime. 

(24) Learning Outcomes. An institution must have an ob-
jective system of assessing learning outcomes in place for each part 
of the curriculum and the institution can demonstrate that appropriate 
learning outcomes are being achieved. 

(b) An institution may deviate, for a compelling academic rea-
son, from Standard (12) relating to Faculty Size and Standard (16) re-
lating to Credit for Work Completed Outside a Collegiate Setting, as 
long as academic objectives are fully met. 
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§7.5. Administrative Penalties and Injunctions. 

(a) A person or institution may not: 

(1) Granting of Degrees--Grant, award, or offer to award a 
degree on behalf of a nonexempt institution unless the institution has 
been issued a Certificate of Authority to grant the degree by the Board; 

(2) Transferability of Credit--Represent that credits earned 
or granted by that person or institution are applicable for credit toward 
a degree to be granted by some other person or institution unless the 
institution is operating under a Certificate of Authority or Certificate of 
Authorization and has written agreement(s) with the institution which 
will accept the credit in transfer; 

(3) Honorary Degrees--Award or offer to award an hon-
orary degree on behalf of a private postsecondary institution subject 
to the provisions of this subchapter, unless the institution has been 
awarded a Certificate of Authority or Certificate of Authorization to 
award such a degree, or solicits another person to seek or accept an 
honorary degree and, further, unless the degree shall plainly state on 
its face that it is honorary; 

(4) Protected Terms--Use a protected term in the official 
name or title of a nonexempt private postsecondary institution, an edu-
cational or training establishment, or describe an institution using any 
of these terms or a term having a similar meaning, except as autho-
rized by the Board, or solicit another person to seek a degree or to earn 
a credit that is offered by an institution or training establishment that is 
using a term in violation of this section; 

(5) Agent--Act as an agent who solicits students for enroll-
ment in a private postsecondary institution subject to the provisions of 
this subchapter without a Certificate of Registration, if required by this 
chapter; 

(6) Fraudulent Degree--Use or claim to hold a degree that 
the person knows is a fraudulent, substandard, or is a fictitious degree: 

(A) in a written or oral advertisement or other promo-
tion of a business; or 

(B) with the intent to: 

(i) obtain employment; 

(ii) obtain a license or certificate to practice a trade, 
profession, or occupation; 

(iii) obtain a promotion, compensation or other ben-
efit, or an increase in compensation or other benefit, in employment or 
in the practice of a trade, profession, or occupation; 

(iv) obtain admission to an educational program in 
this state; or 

(v) gain a position in government with authority 
over another person, regardless of whether the actor receives compen-
sation for the position. 

(C) The use of fictitious, fraudulent, or substandard de-
grees--The Board shall provide the following information through the 
Board's Internet website: 

(i) the accreditation status or the status regarding au-
thorization or approval under this subchapter, to the extent known by 
the Board, of each exempt institution operating in the state, each post-
secondary educational institution or other person that is regulated under 
§§7.7 - 7.11 of this chapter or for which a determination is made under 
§7.12 of this chapter (relating to Review and Use of Degrees from In-
stitutions Not Eligible for Certificates of Authority), and any institution 
offering fraudulent, substandard, or fictitious degrees, including: 

(I) the name of each educational institution ac-
credited, authorized, or approved to offer or grant degrees in this state; 

(II) the name of each educational institution 
whose degrees the Board has determined may not be legally used in 
this state; 

(III) the name of each educational institution that 
the Board has determined to be operating in this state in violation of this 
chapter; and 

(IV) any other information considered by the 
Commissioner to be useful to protect the public from fraudulent, 
substandard, or fictitious degrees. 

(ii) the Board shall utilize such usual and customary 
sources for determining the accreditation status of institutions, such 
as: guides to international education; the Board's knowledge of legal 
actions taken against institutions, either by an agency of the state of 
Texas or agencies of other states or nations; or civil actions against 
institutions brought by governmental agencies or individuals. 

(D) In determining the legitimacy of institutions head-
quartered or operating outside of Texas, the Board may determine if 
the state or nation in which the person or institution is headquartered, 
operates, or holds legal authorization to operate has standards and prac-
tices that are as rigorous as those of the Board's. A determination that a 
particular state or nation's standards or practices are not appropriately 
rigorous shall be sufficient reason to disapprove the use of the degrees 
of a person or institution. 

(b) Institutions Located on Federal Land in Texas--An institu-
tion that is operating on land in Texas over which the federal govern-
ment has exclusive jurisdiction: 

(1) shall limit to the confines of the federal land and to the 
military or civilian employees and their dependents who work or live 
on that land: 

(A) the recruitment of students; 

(B) advertising of the postsecondary educational insti-
tution or its programs or courses; and 

(C) providing degree programs or courses leading to de-
grees. 

(2) shall be subject to compliance with all rules under this 
chapter when recruiting students, advertising the postsecondary insti-
tution or its programs or courses, or providing degree programs or 
courses leading to degrees on land over which the federal government 
does not have exclusive jurisdiction. 

(c) Offenses--A violation of this subsection may constitute a 
violation of the Texas Penal Code, §32.52, or Texas Education Code 
§§61.312, 61.313. An offense under subsection (a)(1) - (5) of this sec-
tion may be a Class A misdemeanor and an offense under subsection 
(a)(6) of this section may be a Class B misdemeanor. 

(d) Transfer of Records--In the event any institution now or 
hereafter operating in this state proposes to discontinue its operation, 
the chief administrative officer, by whatever title designated, of said 
institution shall cause to be filed with the Board the original or legible 
true copies of all such academic records of said institution as may be 
specified by the Commissioner. Such records shall include, without 
limitation: 

(1) such academic information as is customarily required 
by colleges when considering students for transfer or advanced study; 
and 

(2) the academic records of each former student. 
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(e) Record Protection--In the event it appears to the Commis-
sioner that any records of an institution that is discontinuing its opera-
tions are in danger of being destroyed, secreted, mislaid, or otherwise 
made unavailable to the Board, the Commissioner may seek, on the 
Board's behalf, court authority to take possession of such records. 

(f) Maintenance of Records--The Board shall maintain or 
cause to be maintained a permanent file of such records coming into 
its possession. 

(g) Administrative Penalties--If a person or institution violates 
a provision of this subchapter, the Commissioner may assess an admin-
istrative penalty against the person or institution as provided in this sec-
tion. 

(h) Notice of Violation--The Commissioner shall send written 
notice by certified mail to the person or institution charged with the vi-
olation. The notice shall state the facts on which the penalty is based, 
the amount of the penalty assessed, and the right of the person or insti-
tution to request a hearing. 

(i) Appeal of Assessment--The Commissioner's assessment 
shall become final and binding unless, within forty-five (45) days of 
receipt of the notice of assessment, the person or institution invokes 
the administrative remedies contained in Chapter 1, Subchapter B of 
this title (relating to Dispute Resolution). 

(j) Collection of Assessment--If the person or institution does 
not pay the amount of the penalty within thirty (30) days of the date on 
which the assessment becomes final, the Commissioner may refer the 
matter to the attorney general for collection of the penalty, plus court 
costs and attorney fees. 

(k) Specific Administrative Penalty--Any person or institution 
that is neither exempt nor the holder of a Certificate of Authority to 
grant degrees, shall be assessed an administrative penalty of not less 
than $1,000 or more than $5,000 for, either individually or through an 
agent or representative: 

(1) conferring or offering to confer a degree; 

(2) awarding or offering to award credits purported to be 
applicable toward a degree to be awarded by another person or institu-
tion (except under conditions and in a manner specified and approved 
by the Board); 

(3) representing that any credits offered are collegiate in 
nature subject to the provisions of this subchapter; and 

(4) with regard to assessment of such specific administra-
tive penalties, each degree conferred without authority, and each per-
son enrolled in a course or courses at the institution whose decision to 
enroll was influenced by the misrepresentations, constitutes a separate 
offense. 

(l) Other Administrative Penalties--Any person or institution 
that violates subsection (a)(4) of this section shall be assessed an ad-
ministrative penalty of not less than $1,000 or more than $3,000. 

(m) Specific Administrative Penalties for Agents--Any agent 
who solicits students for enrollment in an institution subject to the pro-
visions of this subchapter without a Certificate of Registration shall be 
assessed an administrative penalty of not less than $500 or more than 
$1,000. Each student solicited without authority constitutes a separate 
offense. 

(n) Termination of Operation--Any operations which are 
found to be in violation of the law shall be terminated. 

(o) Report to Attorney General--The Commissioner may re-
port possible violations of this subchapter to the attorney general. The 

attorney general, after investigation and consultation with the Board, 
shall bring suit to enjoin further violations. 

(p) Venue--An action for an injunction under this section shall 
be brought in a district court in Travis County. 

(q) Civil Penalties--A person who violates this subchapter or 
a rule adopted under this subchapter is liable for a civil penalty in ad-
dition to any injunctive relief or any other remedy allowed by law. A 
civil penalty may not exceed $1,000 a day for each violation. 

(r) Civil Litigation--The attorney general, at the request of the 
Board, shall bring a civil action to collect a civil penalty under this 
section. 

(s) Deceptive Trade Practice Act--A person who violates this 
subchapter commits a false, misleading, or deceptive act or practice 
within the meaning of the Texas Business and Commerce Code, 
§17.46. 

(t) Applicability of Other Law--A public or private right or 
remedy under the Texas Business and Commerce Code, Chapter 17, 
may be used to enforce this section. 

(u) Associate of Occupational Studies (AOS Degree- Texas 
has three career schools or colleges awarding the AOS degree: Univer-
sal Technical Institute, and Western Technical College. The AOS de-
gree shall be awarded in only the following fields: automotive mechan-
ics, diesel mechanics, refrigeration, electronics, and business. Each of 
the two Institutions may continue to award the AOS degree for those 
fields listed in this subsection and shall be restricted to those fields. The 
Board shall not consider new AOS degree programs from any other 
career schools or colleges. A career school or college authorized to 
grant the AOS degree shall not represent such degree by using the terms 
"associate" or "associate's" without including the words "occupational 
studies." An institution authorized to grant the AOS degree shall not 
represent such degree as being the equivalent of the AAS or AAA de-
grees. 

§7.6. Recognition of Accrediting Agencies. 

(a) Eligibility Criteria--The Board may recognize accrediting 
agencies with a commitment to academic quality and student achieve-
ment that demonstrate, through an application process, compliance 
with the following criteria: 

(1) Eligibility. The accrediting agency's application for 
recognition must demonstrate that the entity: 

(A) Is recognized by the Secretary of Education of the 
United States Department of Education as an accrediting agency autho-
rized to accredit educational institutions that offer the associate degree 
or higher. Demonstration of authorization shall include clear descrip-
tion of the scope of recognized accreditation. 

(B) Is applying for the same scope of recognition as that 
for which it is recognized by the Secretary of Education of the United 
States Department of Education: 

(i) Using the U.S. Department of Education classifi-
cation of instructional programs (CIP) code at the two-digit level, the 
applicant shall identify all fields of study in which institutions it ac-
credits may offer degree programs. 

(ii) Accrediting agencies shall, for each field of 
study in which an accredited institution may offer degree programs, 
specify the levels of degrees that may be awarded. Levels must be 
differentiated at least to the following, as defined in §7.3 of this chapter 
(relating to Definitions): applied associate degree, academic associate 
degree, baccalaureate degree, master's degree, first professional degree 
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and doctoral degree. Associate of occupational studies (AOS) degrees 
are only allowed under §7.5(u) of this chapter. 

(iii) Only institutions that qualify as eligible for 
United States Department of Education Title IV programs as a result 
of accreditation by the applicant agency will be considered exempt 
under §7.7 of this chapter (relating to Institutions Accredited by 
Board-Recognized Accreditors). 

(C) Accredits institutions that have legal authority to 
confer postsecondary degrees as its primary activity: 

(i) Accrediting agencies must identify all institu-
tions accredited by the agency that either the majority of the accredited 
institutions have the legal authority to award postsecondary degrees 
or that it accredits at least fifty (50) institutions that have the legal 
authority to award postsecondary degrees. 

(ii) An accrediting agency that accredits programs 
as well as institutions shall demonstrate that either it accredits more 
institutions than programs or that it has policies, procedures and staff 
sufficient to address institutional standards of quality in addition to pro-
gram standards of quality. 

(iii) Accrediting agencies must have standards that 
require all accredited institutions to comply with all applicable laws in 
the state and local jurisdiction in which they operate and that require 
accredited institutions to clearly and accurately communicate their ac-
creditation status to the public. 

(D) Requires an on-site review by a visiting team as part 
of initial and continuing accreditation of educational institutions: 

(i) Each accrediting agency shall demonstrate, 
through its documented practices and/or its official policies, that it 
requires no fewer than three (3) members on a team when conducting 
initial and continuing accreditation visits, that none have a monetary 
or personal interest in the findings of the on-site review, that all have 
professional experience and knowledge that qualifies them to review 
the institution's compliance with the standards of the agency, and that 
the combined team experience and knowledge are sufficient to review 
all applicable standards of the agency. 

(ii) Accrediting agencies may conduct site visits for 
reasons other than initial and continuing accreditation with fewer team 
members. 

(iii) Accrediting agencies shall provide a list of the 
visiting team members for the five (5) most recently completed on-site 
reviews. The list shall show name, employer, title of positions held 
with that employer and the standards for which the individual was re-
sponsible in that on-site review. 

(E) Has policies or procedures that ensure the entity will 
promptly respond to requests for information from the Board: 

(i) Each accrediting agency shall provide the Board 
its official policy regarding disclosure of information about institutions 
that are or have been candidates for accreditation and are or have been 
accredited. Agencies shall provide to the Board, within ten (10) work-
ing days, any new information and any requested information about a 
Texas institution that would be available to the public under that offi-
cial policy. 

(ii) Each accrediting agency shall include in its stan-
dards for accreditation of Texas institutions that the institutions disclose 
publicly and to the Board the number of degrees awarded at each level 
each year and the number of students enrolled in the fall of each year. 

(F) Has sufficient resources to carry out its functions: 

(i) Accrediting agencies shall identify the number of 
on-site reviews conducted during the most recent twelve (12) month 
period, the number of staff members who participated in those on-site 
reviews and the maximum number of on-site reviews conducted by 
any individual staff member. If that maximum number exceeds thirty 
(30), the agency shall explain how it expects to carry out its function 
of enforcing its standards on Texas institutions. 

(ii) Each accrediting agency shall provide evidence 
that its ratio of current assets to current liabilities equals or exceeds 1.2. 

(iii) Each accrediting agency shall demonstrate that 
its fees are reasonable for the accreditation services provided. 

(2) Recognition--To receive and maintain recognition from 
the Board, the accrediting agency must, in addition to the items listed 
in paragraph (1) of this subsection: 

(A) Provide the Board with current standards used by 
the entity in initial and ongoing accreditation reviews of educational 
institutions and invite the Board to participate in such reviews: 

(i) Accrediting agencies must have publicly dis-
closed standards that address at a minimum the following issues: 
student achievement in relation to the institution's mission; curricula; 
faculty; facilities, equipment and supplies; fiscal and administrative 
capacity; student support services; recruiting and admissions practices; 
academic calendars; catalogs; grading; measures of program length; 
objectives of the degrees or credentials offered; record of student 
complaints received by or available to the agency; management and 
financial control. 

(ii) In the application process, the accrediting 
agency must indicate how its standards address each of the quality 
assessment categories outlined in clause (i) of this subparagraph 
which represent the underlying principles described in the institutional 
standards of §7.4 of this chapter (relating to Standards for Operations 
of Institutions). Comparison of its standards with the standards in §7.4 
of this chapter is required as a means of indicating how its standards 
meet those principles. 

(iii) Each accrediting agency shall provide its pol-
icy for periodic reviews of institutions under its accreditation. At a 
minimum, the accrediting agency must conduct on-site reviews at least 
every ten (10) years. 

(iv) At least ten (10) working days before each 
scheduled periodic on-site review of a Texas institution, accrediting 
agencies shall invite the Board staff to participate in the review. Such 
participation shall be at no expense to the institution or the accrediting 
agency. 

(v) Within ten (10) working days of an official 
change in standards, the agency shall notify the Board of those 
changes. 

(vi) By providing a copy of its publicly disclosed 
policies and procedures, each accrediting agency shall demonstrate that 
its initial and ongoing reviews and the resultant accreditation decisions 
are fair and consistent with the available evidence. 

(vii) Accrediting agencies that use an advisory body, 
similar to the Certification Advisory Council described in §7.8 of this 
chapter (relating to Institutions Not Accredited by a Board-Recognized 
Accreditor), shall describe the advisory body's composition and author-
ity. Accrediting agencies that do not use such a body shall describe the 
process used to ensure that the evidence obtained from reviews results 
in appropriate accreditation decisions. 
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(viii) The initial and ongoing reviews shall include 
an institutional self-evaluation process or a documented alternative 
process to promote continuous quality improvement. 

(ix) Each accrediting agency shall have and publicly 
disclose its processes for appealing accreditation decisions. 

(B) Provide the Board with written evidence of contin-
uing recognition by the Secretary of Education of the United States 
Department of Education. Loss of recognition from the Secretary au-
tomatically results in loss of Board recognition at the same time. Writ-
ten evidence may consist of a letter from the chief executive officer of 
the accrediting agency. Accrediting agencies shall submit the evidence 
upon notice of continued recognition or upon a change in recognition 
status, scope or level; 

(C) Provide a list of Texas educational institutions ac-
credited by it; notify the Board in writing of any change to its list of 
Texas accredited institutions within ten (10) days of the change; 

(D) Notify the Board of any investigated complaints 
concerning a Texas institution where the accrediting agency took 
official action on issues of non-compliance and the disposition of 
those complaints; 

(E) Seek Board approval for any expansion of its rec-
ognized scope of accreditation authority; and 

(F) Demonstrate that the ownership and control of the 
accrediting agency is sufficiently independent to ensure that the accred-
itation process is conducted in the public interest. 

(G) Each time the accrediting agency applies for contin-
ued recognition by the Secretary of Education of the United States De-
partment of Education, the accrediting agency must apply for contin-
ued recognition by the Coordinating Board. Applications forms will be 
provided by Board staff. Application for continued recognition must, 
at a minimum, contain all information required for initial eligibility and 
recognition by the Coordinating Board under this rule. 

(b) Other Information, Denial or Withdrawal of Recognition 
and Appeals. 

(1) Once recognized, an accrediting agency retains that 
recognition unless and until the Board withdraws the recognition. Fail-
ure to comply with any of the requirements in this chapter, including 
failure to comply with information requests during periodic reviews, 
will be grounds for the Board to consider withdrawing recognition. 

(2) Each accrediting agency shall provide its policy for pe-
riodic reviews. Periodic review shall be conducted at the time an ac-
crediting agency applies for continued recognition by the Secretary of 
the United States Department of Education. The Coordinating Board 
reserves the right to request and review current policies at other times 
for good cause, including, but not limited to, student complaints, ac-
credited institution complaints, or concerns raised by the United States 
Department of Education or other state or federal agencies. 

(3) The Board may use information provided by parties 
other than the accrediting agency to assess the accrediting agency's 
commitment to academic quality and student achievement. The Board 
will consider any such information in an open, public meeting during 
which the accrediting agency may challenge the information. 

(4) The Board will make any decision to deny recognition 
of an accrediting agency or to withdraw recognition from an accrediting 
agency in a public meeting. 

(5) An institution operating in Texas as an exempt insti-
tution pursuant to §7.7 of this chapter when its recognized accredit-
ing agency loses or voluntarily relinquishes its recognition will have a 

provisional time period set by the Board, or Board staff as delegated, 
within which the institution may continue to operate pursuant to the 
requirements in §7.7(2) and (3). 

(6) An accrediting agency or institution affected by any fi-
nal decision under this subchapter may appeal that decision as provided 
in Chapter 1, Subchapter B of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution). 

§7.7. Institutions Accredited by Board-Recognized Accreditors. 

An institution which does not meet the definition of institution of higher 
education contained in Texas Education Code §61.003, is accredited 
by a Board-recognized accreditor, and is interested in offering degrees 
or courses leading to degrees in the State of Texas must follow the 
requirements in paragraphs (1) - (4) of this section. 

(1) Authorization to Offer Degrees or Courses Leading to 
Degrees in Texas. 

(A) Each institution and/or campus location must sub-
mit an application for a Certificate of Authorization to offer degree(s) 
or courses leading to degrees in Texas. The application form for the 
Certificate of Authorization may be found on the Board's website. The 
application must contain the following information: 

(i) Name of the institution; 

(ii) Physical location of campus, or in the case of 
only providing clinicals or internships in Texas, the physical location 
of all clinical or internship sites, number of students in clinicals or in-
ternships and start and end date of clinicals or internships; 

(iii) Name and contact information of the Chief Ad-
ministrative Officer of the campus and name and contact information of 
the designated Single Point of Contact as defined in §7.3 of this chapter 
(relating to Definitions). In the case of an application based on clinicals 
or internships, name and contact information of clinical or internship 
site supervisors; 

(iv) Name of Board-recognized accreditor; 

(v) Level of degree, degree program name, and CIP 
code as authorized by the Board-recognized accreditor; 

(vi) Documentation of notification to students and 
potential students of any program which does not make the graduate 
eligible to take required professional examinations in that field or to 
practice regulated professions in that field in Texas; 

(vii) Dates of accreditation granted by the Board-
recognized accreditor. 

(I) If the institution is currently subject to a nega-
tive or adverse action by its Board-recognized accreditor, the institution 
must provide documentation explaining its current status and actions 
taken to reverse the negative or adverse action. 

(II) If the institution applies based on accred-
itation of its main campus while seeking final approval for the new 
Texas-based campus from its Board-recognized accreditor and the 
Texas Workforce Commission, the institution must provide documen-
tation from its accreditor acknowledging that a decision on campus 
accreditation can be made within fifteen (15) months of the issuance 
of a provisional Certificate of Authorization. 

(viii) Acknowledgement of student complaint pro-
cedure, compliance with the institutional accrediting agency's stan-
dards for operation of institutions, annual review reporting require-
ments, substantive change notification, and student data reporting re-
quirements contained in this section, §§1.110 - 1.120 of this title (relat-
ing to Student Complaint Procedure), §7.4 of this chapter (relating to 
Standards for Operation of Institutions), §7.11 of this chapter (relating 
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to Changes of Ownership and Other Substantive Changes), and §7.13 
of this chapter (relating to Student Data Reporting), respectively; 

(ix) Texas Workforce Commission Certificate of 
Approval or a Texas Workforce Commission exemption or exclusion 
from Texas Education Code, Chapter 132; 

(x) Disclosure of most recent United States Depart-
ment of Education financial responsibility composite score, including 
applicable academic year for score. If the institution has a score un-
der 1.5, the institution must provide documentation of all actions taken 
since date of calculation to raise the score. 

(B) Board staff will verify information and accredita-
tion status. Upon determination that an institution is in good standing 
with its Board recognized accreditor, has sufficient financial resources, 
and, if applicable, has provided sufficient documentation of correcting 
accreditation or financial issues, Board staff will provide a Certificate 
of Authorization to offer in Texas those degrees or courses leading to 
degrees for which it is accredited. If an institution is only providing 
clinicals or internships in the state of Texas, a Certificate of Autho-
rization will be issued for the institution to offer in the state of Texas 
identified clinicals or internships in connection with those degrees or 
courses leading to degrees for which the institution is accredited. The 
Certificate of Authorization will be issued to the institution by name, 
city and state. 

(C) Certificates of Authorization are subject to annual 
review for continued compliance with the Board-recognized accredi-
tor's standards of operation, student complaint processes, financial via-
bility, and accurate and fair representation in publications, advertising, 
and promotion. 

(i) Institutions must submit the following documen-
tation on an annual basis for Board staff review and recommendation 
to the Board for continuation or revocation of the Certificate of Autho-
rization: 

(I) Annual audited financial statements, issued 
less than one year from time of submission, prepared in accordance 
with Generally Accepted Accounting Principles by an independent 
certified public accountant; 

(II) Certification that the institution is providing 
accurate and fair representation in publications, advertising, and pro-
motion, including disclosure to students and potential students of any 
program which does not make the graduate eligible to take required 
professional examinations in that field or to practice regulated profes-
sions in that field in Texas. The institution shall further certify that it is 
maintaining any advertising used in Texas for a minimum of five years 
and shall make any such advertisements available to the Board for in-
spection upon request. 

(III) An annotated copy of the student catalog or 
student handbook showing compliance with the principles addressed 
in §7.4 of this chapter with cross-reference to the operational standards 
of its institutional accrediting agency; 

(IV) A copy of the institution's student complaint 
policy, links to online student complaint procedures and forms, and 
summary of all complaints made by Texas residents or students en-
rolled at a Texas-based institution concerning the institution in accor-
dance with §§1.110 - 1.120 of this title. The complaint summary shall 
include complaints which have been filed, with the institution, its ac-
crediting agency, or the Board within the 12 months prior to the annual 
review reporting date and shall indicate whether pending or resolved; 

(V) Official statement of current accreditation 
status and any pending or final actions that change the institution's 

accreditation status from the institution's Board-recognized accreditor, 
including changes in degree levels or programs offered approvals, 
changes in ownership or management, and changes in physical loca-
tion within the 12 months prior to the annual review reporting date; 

(VI) Attestation that all documentation submit-
ted is true and correct and continued acknowledgement of student com-
plaint procedure, annual review reporting requirements, substantive 
change notification, and student data reporting requirements contained 
herein this section, §§1.110 - 1.120 of this title, §§7.4, 7.11, and 7.13 
of this chapter, respectively. 

(ii) Annual reviews are conducted based on an insti-
tution's name and initial date of authorization. 

(I) Institutions with names starting with "A" 
through "O" must submit annual review documentation by January 
15 of each year. The Board will review staff recommendations at the 
annual July Board meeting. 

(II) Institutions with names starting with "P" 
through "Z" must submit annual review documentation by July 15 of 
each year. The Board will review staff recommendations at the annual 
January Board meeting. 

(III) Institutions that have received their first 
Certificate of Authorization less than six months from the due date 
for submission of annual review documentation may wait to submit 
documentation until the following annual review submission date. 

(iii) Prior to making a recommendation to the Board, 
staff has discretion to conduct a site visit at the institution if warranted 
by facts disclosed in the annual review documentation. The Board-
recognized accreditor will be notified and invited to participate. 

(D) Certificates of Authorization for institutions offer-
ing degrees or courses leading to degrees at a physical location in Texas, 
upon Board staff recommendation after annual review, expire at the end 
of the grant of accreditation by the Board-recognized accreditor. 

(i) If a new grant of accreditation is awarded by the 
Board-recognized accreditor, the Certificate of Authorization may be 
renewed upon submission of documentation of the new grant of ac-
creditation. 

(ii) If an institution changes recognized accreditors, 
the institution must submit a new application for a Certificate of Au-
thorization. 

(E) Certificates of Authorizations based solely on pro-
viding clinicals or internships in Texas expire one year from date of 
issuance. 

(i) If clinicals or internships are ongoing in Texas, 
the Certificate of Authorization based solely on providing clinicals or 
internships in Texas must be renewed on an annual basis. At least thirty 
(30) days, but no more than ninety (90) days, prior to the expiration of 
the current Certification of Authorization, an institution, if it desires re-
newal, is required to provide updated information regarding the phys-
ical location of all clinical or internship sites, number of students in 
clinicals or internships, and the start and end date of the clinicals or 
internships. 

(ii) The Board shall renew the Certificate of Autho-
rization based solely on providing clinicals or internships in Texas if it 
finds that the institution has maintained all requisite standards. 

(F) Certificates of Authorization for Texas-based cam-
puses which are provisionally-granted based on their main campus' ac-
creditation expire at the end of fifteen (15) months. 
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(i) If accreditation has not been achieved by the 
expiration date, the provisionally-granted Certificate of Authorization 
will be withdrawn, the institution's authorization to offer degrees will 
be terminated, and the institution will be required to comply with 
the provisions of §7.8 of this chapter (relating to Institutions Not 
Accredited by a Board-Recognized Accreditor). 

(ii) Subsequent provisionally-granted Certificates of 
Authorization will not be issued. 

(iii) At least ninety (90) days prior to expiration of 
the certificate, institutions operating under a provisionally-granted Cer-
tificate of Authorization must submit either an application for a Certifi-
cate of Authorization under this section or an application for a Certifi-
cate of Authority under §7.8 of this chapter. 

(2) Grounds for Revocation of any Certificate of Autho-
rization. 

(A) Institution no longer holds a Certificate of Approval 
or Letter of Exemption issued by the Texas Workforce Commission. 

(B) Institution loses accreditation from Board-recog-
nized accreditor. 

(C) Institution's Accreditor is removed from the U.S. 
Department of Education or the Board's list of approved accreditors. 

(i) If the institution's Certificate of Authorization is 
revoked due to its accrediting agency's removal from the U.S. Depart-
ment of Education and/or the Board's list of approved accreditors, the 
Board, or Board staff as delegated, shall set a provisional time period 
within which institutions may continue to operate, not to exceed any 
provisional time period set by the United States Department of Educa-
tion. 

(ii) If the institution's Certificate of Authorization is 
revoked due to its accrediting agency's removal from the U.S. Depart-
ment of Education or the Board's list of approved accreditors, a request 
to extend its Certificate of Authorization for the provisional time pe-
riod set under paragraph (2)(C) of this section, must be submitted to 
the Commissioner within ten (10) days of publication, by either the 
U.S. Department of Education or the Board, of such revocation. 

(D) Institution fails to comply with data reporting, sub-
stantive change notification requirements, or annual review reporting 
requirements. 

(E) Board staff recommends revocation based on defi-
ciencies in compliance with the principles addressed in §7.4 of this 
chapter as evidenced by lack of compliance with the Board-recognized 
accreditor's standards, which are found in annual review documenta-
tion and not corrected by the institution upon request by Board staff. 

(F) Institution offers degrees for which it does not have 
accreditor approval. 

(3) Process for Removal of Authorization. 

(A) Commissioner notifies institution of grounds for re-
vocation as outlined in paragraph (2) of this section unless paragraph 
(2)(C) above applies and the Board sets a provisional time period for 
compliance. 

(B) Upon receipt of the notice of revocation, the institu-
tion shall not enroll new students and may only grant or award degrees 
or offer courses leading to degrees in Texas to students enrolled on the 
date of notice of revocation until it has either been granted a Certificate 
of Authority to grant degrees, or has received a determination that it 
did not lose its qualification for a Certificate of Authorization. 

(C) Within ten (10) days of its receipt of the Commis-
sioner's notice, the institution must provide, as directed by Board staff, 
one or more of the following: 

(i) proof of its continued qualification for the ex-
emption; or 

(ii) submit data as required by §7.13 of this chapter; 
or 

(iii) a plan to correct any non-compliance or defi-
ciencies which lead to revocation; or 

(iv) a plan to seek new Board-recognized accredita-
tion; or 

(v) written intention to apply for a Certificate of Au-
thority within 60 days of the notice of revocation; or 

(vi) a written teach-out plan, which must be ap-
proved by Board staff before implementation. 

(D) After reviewing the evidence, the Commissioner 
will issue a notice of determination, which in the case of an adverse 
determination, shall contain information regarding the reasons for the 
denial, and the institution's right to a hearing. 

(E) If a determination under this section is adverse to an 
institution, it shall become final and binding unless, within forty-five 
(45) days of its receipt of the adverse determination, the institution in-
vokes the administrative remedies contained in Chapter 1, Subchapter 
B of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution). 

(F) If a determination allows the institution to continue 
operating, a new Certificate of Authorization will be provisionally-
granted. Provisions for continued operation under the new Certificate 
of Authorization may include, but are not limited to: 

(i) requirements to provide updates to Board staff on 
a monthly basis; 

(ii) continued progress toward full compliance with 
all Board rules and requirements; 

(iii) continued progress toward new Board-recog-
nized accreditation, if applicable, or toward approval for a Certificate 
of Authority; and 

(iv) other requirements imposed by the Board. 

(G) Certificates of Authorization which are provision-
ally-granted after a notice of revocation continue only as long as the 
institution complies with all such provisions. 

(4) Closure of an Institution. 

(A) The governing board, owner, or chief executive of-
ficer of an institution that plans to cease operation shall provide the 
Board with written notification of intent to close at least ninety (90) 
days prior to the planned closing date. 

(B) If an institution closes unexpectedly, the governing 
board, owner, or chief executive officer of the school shall provide the 
Board with written notification immediately. 

(C) If an institution closes or intends to close before all 
currently enrolled students have completed all requirements for grad-
uation, the institution shall assure the continuity of students' education 
by entering into a teach-out agreement with another institution autho-
rized by the Board to hold a Certificate of Authority, with an institution 
operating under a Certificate of Authorization, or with a public or pri-
vate institution of higher education as defined in Texas Education Code 
§61.003. The agreement shall be in writing, shall be subject to Board 
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approval, shall contain provisions for student transfer, and shall specify 
the conditions for completion of degree requirements at the teach-out 
institution. The agreement shall also contain provisions for awarding 
degrees. 

(D) The Certificate of Authorization for an institution 
is automatically withdrawn when the institution closes. The Commis-
sioner may grant to an institution that has a degree-granting authority 
temporary approval to award a degree(s) in a program for which the 
institution does not have approval in order to facilitate a formal agree-
ment as outlined under this section. 

(E) The curriculum and delivery shall be appropriate to 
accommodate the remaining students. 

(F) No new students shall be allowed to enter the trans-
ferred degree program unless the new entity seeks and receives perma-
nent approval for the program(s) from the Board. 

(G) The institution shall transfer all academic records 
pursuant to §7.5(d) of this chapter (relating to Administrative Penalties 
and Injunctions). 

§7.8. Institutions Not Accredited by a Board-Recognized Accreditor. 

An institution which is not accredited by a Board-recognized accredi-
tor and which does not meet the definition of institution of higher ed-
ucation contained in Texas Education Code, §61.003, must follow the 
Certificate of Authority process in paragraphs (1) - (9) of this section 
in order to offer degrees or courses leading to degrees in the state of 
Texas. Institutions are encouraged to contact the Board staff before fil-
ing a formal application. 

(1) Certificate of Authority Eligibility. 

(A) The Board will accept applications for a Certificate 
of Authority only from those applicants: 

(i) proposing to offer a degree or credit courses lead-
ing to a degree; and 

(ii) which meet one of the following conditions: 

(I) has been legally operating, enrolling students, 
and conducting classes in Texas and has complied with state law as ei-
ther a non-degree-granting institution or an exempt institution only of-
fering degrees in religious disciplines for a minimum of two (2) years; 

(II) has been legally operating, enrolling stu-
dents, and conducting classes in Texas and has complied with state 
law as a degree-granting institution and seeks to open a new campus; 

(III) has been legally operating as a de-
gree-granting institution in another state for a minimum of four (4) 
years and can verify compliance with all applicable laws and rules in 
that state; or 

(IV) does not meet one of the three previous op-
erational history conditions, but meets additional application and re-
view requirements for its initial application, and agrees to meet addi-
tional conditions, restrictions, or reporting requirements during its first 
two years of operation under a Certificate of Authority. The Certificate 
of Authority will be issued with written, specific conditions, restric-
tions, or reporting requirements placed upon the institution. 

(V) The Board may not issue a Certificate of Au-
thority for a private postsecondary institution to grant a professional 
degree, as defined in §7.3 of this title (relating to Definitions) or to rep-
resent that credits earned in this state are applicable toward a degree 
if the institution is chartered in a foreign country or has its principal 
office or primary educational program in a foreign country. 

(B) To be considered by the Board as operating, means 
to have assembled a governing board, developed policies, materials, 
and resources sufficient to satisfy the requirements for a Certificate of 
Authority, and either have enrolled students and conducted classes or 
accumulated sufficient financing to do so for at least one year upon cer-
tification based on reasonable estimates of projected enrollment and 
costs. Sufficient financing may be demonstrated by proof of an ade-
quate surety instrument, including but not limited to, a surety bond, 
an assignment of a savings or escrow account, certificate of deposit, 
irrevocable letter of credit, or a properly executed participation con-
tract with a private association, partnership, corporation, or other entity 
whose membership is comprised of postsecondary institutions, which 
is: 

(i) In a form and amount acceptable to the Board; 

(I) The amount of the surety instrument submit-
ted to the Board with an application shall be equal to or greater than 
the cost of providing a refund, including administrative costs associ-
ated with processing claims, for the maximum prepaid, unearned tu-
ition and fees of the school for a period or term during the applicable 
school year for which programs of instruction are offered, including, 
but not limited to, on a semester, quarter, monthly, or class basis; ex-
cept that the period or term of greatest duration and expense shall be 
utilized for this computation where a school's year consists of one or 
more such periods or terms; 

(II) The applicant shall include a letter signed by 
an authorized representative of the institution showing in detail the cal-
culations made pursuance to this section and explaining the method 
used for computing the amount of the surety instrument; 

(ii) Conditioned to provide indemnification to any 
student or enrollee of the school or his/her parent or guardian deter-
mined by the Board to have suffered loss of prepaid tuition or any fees 
as a result of violation of any minimum standard or as a result of a 
holder of a Certificate of Authority ceasing operation, and provides ev-
idence satisfactory to the Board of its financial ability to provide such 
indemnification and lists the amount of surety liability the guarantee-
ing entity will assume; and 

(iii) Held in Travis County, Texas, and conditioned 
to allow only the Board to withdraw funds for the benefit of persons 
identified in clause (ii) of this paragraph. 

(2) Certificate of Authority Application Submission and 
Requirements. 

(A) An applicant must submit an application to the 
Board to be considered for a Certificate of Authority to offer identified 
proposed degree(s), and courses which may be applicable toward a 
degree, in Texas. 

(i) Applications must be submitted as an original 
and a copy in an electronic format as specified by Board staff, and 
accompanied by the application fee described in paragraph (3) of this 
section. 

(ii) A single desk review of the application will be 
conducted to determine completeness and readiness for a site team visit. 

(iii) The desk review will be done by a reviewer who 
will act as the site review team leader if the application is deemed com-
plete and ready for a site team visit. 

(iv) The desk reviewer, in consultation with Board 
staff, will make three possible recommendations. Board staff will make 
a final determination on acceptability of the application based on one 
of the three recommendations: 
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(I) The application is determined to be founda-
tionally incomplete in one or more Standards for Operation of Institu-
tions as described in §7.4 of this chapter and not ready for submission. 
A foundationally incomplete application is one where the Standards for 
Operation of Institutions have not been met to such a degree that the 
institution is unlikely to be sustainable or operational. 

(II) The application may be resubmitted after in-
corporating revisions or additions suggested by the reviewer. The revi-
sions or additions must allow the application to meet all Standards for 
Operation of Institutions. 

(III) The application is acceptable and ready for 
a site review visit. 

(v) If the application is foundationally incomplete 
and not ready for submission, a portion of the application fee, if not 
expended during the desk review, may be returned and another appli-
cation may not be submitted for one year from the date of rejection of 
the foundationally incomplete application. 

(B) The application form for the Certificate of Author-
ity may be found on the Board's website. 

(C) The Certificate of Authority application must in-
clude: 

(i) The name and address of the institution; 

(ii) The purpose and mission of the institution; 

(iii) Documentary evidence of compliance with 
paragraph (1)(A)(i)-(iii) of this section; 

(iv) Documentary evidence of either a Letter of Ex-
emption or Certificate of Approval from the Texas Workforce Commis-
sion pursuant to Texas Education Code, Chapter 132; 

(v) Documentary evidence of articles of incorpora-
tion or other Texas-authorized organizational documents, regulations, 
rules, constitutions, bylaws, or other regulations established for the 
governance and operation of the institution; 

(vi) Identification, by name and contact information, 
of: 

(I) The sponsors or owners of the institution; 

(II) The designated Single Point of Contact as 
defined in §7.3 of this chapter (relating to Definitions) ; 

(III) The chief administrative officer, the princi-
pal administrators, and each member of the board of trustees or other 
governing board; 

(IV) Identification of faculty who will, in fact, 
teach in each program of study, including identification of colleges at-
tended and copies of transcripts for every degree held by each faculty 
member; 

(vii) Information regarding each degree or course 
leading to a degree which the applicant proposes to offer, including a 
full description of the proposed degree or degrees to be awarded and 
the course or courses of study prerequisite thereto; 

(viii) A description of the facilities and equipment 
utilized by the applicant, including, if applicable, all equipment, soft-
ware, platforms and other resources used in the provision of education 
via online or other distance education; 

(ix) Detailed information describing the manner in 
which the applicant complies with each of the Standards of Operations 

of Institutions contained in §7.4 of this chapter (relating to Standards 
for Operations of Institutions); 

(x) If applicable, institutions accredited by entities 
which are not recognized by the Board must submit all accrediting 
agency reports and any findings and institutional responses to such re-
ports and findings for ten years immediately preceding the application 
for a Certificate of Authority. Accreditation by entities which are not 
recognized by the Board does not allow an institution to offer a degree 
or courses leading to a degree without a Certificate of Authority to of-
fer such degree or courses; 

(xi) A written accreditation plan, identifying: 

(I) The Board-recognized accrediting agency 
with which the applicant intends to apply for institutional accredita-
tion; 

(II) The planned timeline for application with 
and approval by the Board-recognized accrediting agency; 

(III) Any contacts already made with the Board-
recognized accrediting agency, including supporting documents. 

(xii) Any additional information which the board 
may request. 

(D) An applicant that does not meet the previous op-
erational history conditions described by §7.8(1)(A)(ii)(I)-(III) of this 
chapter must be able to demonstrate it is able to meet all Standards for 
Operation of Institutions found in §7.4 of this chapter through docu-
mentation and/or possession of adequate resources. Such demonstra-
tion includes, but is not limited to: 

(i) Executed agreements with all administration and 
faculty identified in the application; 

(ii) Complete curriculum, assessment, and learning 
tools for each proposed degree; 

(iii) Possession of all listed facilities and resources. 

(E) An applicant that does not meet the previous op-
erational history conditions described by §7.8(1)(A)(ii)(I)-(III) of this 
chapter may not apply for a graduate degree or for more than one area 
of study as part of its initial application for a Certificate of Authority. 

(3) Fees Related to Certificates of Authority. 

(A) Each biennium the Board shall set the fees for ap-
plications for Certificates of Authority, which shall not exceed the av-
erage cost, in the preceding two fiscal years, of staff time, review and 
consultation with applicants, and evaluation of the applications by nec-
essary consultants, including the cost of such consultants. 

(B) Each biennium, the Board shall also set the fees for 
amendments to add additional degree programs to Certificates of Au-
thority. 

(C) The Commissioner shall request changes in the fees 
at a Board quarterly meeting. 

(4) Authorization Process. 

(A) Based upon the information contained in the appli-
cation, the Commissioner or his/her designee shall determine whether 
a site review team is necessary. A site review team is always required 
for applications for an initial Certificate of Authority. 

(B) A site review team shall be composed of no fewer 
than three (3) members, all of whom have experience and knowledge in 
postsecondary education. The combined team experience and knowl-
edge shall be sufficient to review all applicable standards of the agency. 
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(C) An institution must demonstrate it is prepared to be 
fully operational as of the date of the on-site evaluation; i.e., it must 
have in-hand or under contract all the human, physical, administrative, 
and financial resources necessary to demonstrate its capability to meet 
the standards for nonexempt institutions. 

(D) The conditions found at the institution as of the 
date of the on-site evaluation review team's visit will provide the 
basis for the team's evaluation and report, the Certification Advisory 
Council's recommendation, the Commissioner's recommendation, 
and the Board's determination of the institution's qualifications for a 
Certificate of Authority. 

(E) The site review team shall conduct an on-site review 
of the institution and prepare a report regarding the institution's ability 
to meet the Standards of Operation. 

(F) The applicant shall have thirty (30) days in which to 
respond in writing to the report. 

(G) The Certification Advisory Council shall review the 
site review team's report and the applicant's response and make a rec-
ommendation regarding disposition to the Board and Commissioner. 

(i) If the applicant has no previous operational his-
tory as described by §7.8(1)(A)(ii)(I)-(III) of this chapter, the Council 
shall make recommendations for additional conditions, restrictions, or 
reporting requirements during the first two years of operation under a 
Certificate of Authority. 

(ii) If the applicant has previous operational history 
as described by §7.8(1)(A)(ii)(I)-(III) of this chapter, the Council may 
make recommendations for additional conditions, restrictions, or re-
porting requirements during the first two years of operation under a 
Certificate of Authority. 

(H) The Commissioner shall make his/her recommen-
dation regarding the application to the Board. The Commissioner's 
recommendation shall be made independent of the Certification Ad-
visory Council's recommendation. The Commissioner may make rec-
ommendations for additional conditions, restrictions, or reporting re-
quirements for the time the institution is operating under a Certificate 
of Authority. 

(I) After review of the Commissioner's and Council's 
recommendations, if the Board approves the application, the Commis-
sioner shall immediately have prepared a Certificate of Authority con-
taining the issue date, a list of the approved degree(s) or courses leading 
to degrees, and the period for which the Certificate is valid. If applica-
ble, the Certificate of Authority will be issued with any written, specific 
conditions, restrictions, or reporting requirements placed upon the in-
stitution and approved by the Board. 

(J) After review of the Commissioner's and Council's 
recommendations, if the Board does not approve the application, the 
Commissioner shall immediately notify the applicant of the denial and 
the reasons for the denial. 

(K) Upon denial, an applicant that has met the previ-
ous operational history conditions described by §7.8(1)(A)(ii)(I)-(III) 
of this chapter may not reapply for a period of one hundred eighty (180) 
days from date of denial. 

(L) Upon denial, an applicant that has not met the previ-
ous operational history conditions described by §7.8(1)(A)(ii)(I)-(III) 
of this chapter may not reapply for a period of one year from date of 
denial. 

(5) Terms and Limitations of a Certificate of Authority. 

(A) The Certificate of Authority to grant degrees is 
valid for a period of two (2) years from the date of issuance. 

(B) Certification by the state of Texas is not accredita-
tion, but merely a protection of the public interest while the institution 
pursues accreditation from a recognized agency, within the time lim-
itations expressed in subparagraph (A) of this paragraph. Therefore, 
the institution awarded a Certificate of Authority shall not use terms 
to interpret the significance of the certificate which specify, imply, or 
connote greater approval than simple permission to operate and grant 
certain specified degrees in Texas. Terms which may not be used in-
clude, but are not limited to, "accredited," "supervised," "endorsed," 
and "recommended" by the state of Texas or agency thereof. Specific 
language prescribed by the Commissioner which explains the signifi-
cance of the Certificate of Authority shall be included in all publica-
tions, advertisements, and other documents where certification and the 
accreditation status of the institution are mentioned. 

(C) Institutions holding a Certificate of Authority will 
be required to: 

(i) furnish a list of their agents to the Board; 

(ii) maintain records of students enrolled, credits 
awarded, and degrees awarded, in a manner specified by the Board; 
and 

(iii) report any substantive change, including 
changes in administrative personnel, faculty, or facilities. 

(D) Institutions that, upon application, did not meet 
one of the three previous operational history conditions described by 
§7.8(1)(A)(ii)(I)-(III) of this chapter, in addition to the requirements 
of subparagraph (C) of this paragraph, are required to provide, at the 
end of the first year of the initial Certificate of Authority: 

(i) Documentary evidence of continued exemption 
or approval from the Texas Workforce Commission pursuant to Texas 
Education Code, Chapter 132; 

(ii) Current audited financial statements, including a 
balance sheet, income statement, statement of changes in net worth, and 
statement of cash flow, updated since issuance of the initial Certificate 
of Authority; 

(iii) Documentation of continued validity of any re-
quired financial surety instrument; 

(iv) Current enrollment, retention, and graduation 
numbers for students in all approved degree programs; and 

(v) An updated accreditation plan, including any 
progress made toward obtaining Board-recognized accreditation 
identified in the initial application or a change in plans to apply for 
accreditation with another Board-recognized accreditation agency. 

(E) Authority to Represent Transferability of Course 
Credit. Any institution as defined in §7.3 of this chapter, whether 
it offers degrees or not, may solicit students for and enroll them in 
courses on the basis that such courses will be credited to a degree 
program offered by another institution, provided that: 

(i) the other institution is named in such representa-
tion, and is accredited by a Board-recognized accrediting agency or has 
a Certificate of Authority; 

(ii) the courses are identified and documented for 
which credit is claimed to be applicable to the degree programs at the 
other institution; and 
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(iii) the written agreement between the institution 
subject to these rules and the accredited institution is approved by both 
institutions' governing boards in writing, and is filed with the Board. 

(6) Amendments to a Certificate of Authority. 

(A) An institution seeking to amend its Certificate of 
Authority to award a new or different degree during the period of time 
covered by its current Certificate of Authority may file an application 
for amendment, on forms provided by the Board upon request, subject 
to the following exceptions: 

(i) An institution with no previous operational his-
tory described by §7.8(1)(A)(ii)(I)-(III) of this chapter which has been 
granted a Certificate of Authority may not apply for an amendment dur-
ing the period of time covered by its initial Certificate of Authority. 

(ii) An institution with operational history described 
by §7.8(1)(A)(ii)(I)-(III) of this chapter which has been granted a Cer-
tificate of Authority may not apply for an amendment within the first 
one hundred eighty (180) days after the grant of its initial Certificate of 
Authority. 

(iii) An institution with operational history de-
scribed by §7.8(1)(A)(ii)(I)-(III) of this chapter which has been 
granted a Certificate of Authority with restrictions may not apply for 
an amendment during the period of time covered by the restricted 
Certificate of Authority. 

(iv) An institution seeking to discontinue a degree 
program, without closure of the institution, shall assure the continuity 
of students' education by entering into a teach-out agreement with: 

(I) another institution authorized by the Board to 
hold a Certificate of Authority; 

(II) an institution operating under a Certificate of 
Authorization; or 

(III) a public or private institution of higher edu-
cation as defined in Texas Education Code §61.003. 

(v) The teach-out agreement shall be in writing, 
shall be subject to Board staff approval, shall contain provisions for 
student transfer, and shall specify the conditions for completion of 
degree requirements at the teach-out institution. The agreement shall 
also contain provisions for awarding degrees. 

(B) Applications for amendments shall be accompanied 
by the fee described in paragraph (3) of this subsection for each amend-
ment to an existing degree or for each application to award a new or 
different degree. 

(C) Based upon the information contained in the appli-
cation for amendment, the Commissioner or his/her designee may uti-
lize an outside consultant, the Certification Advisory Council, or both, 
to review the application for amendment in order to make a recommen-
dation to the Board. 

(D) Upon Board approval that the new or revised de-
gree program meets the required standards, the Board shall amend the 
institution's Certificate of Authority accordingly. 

(E) A change of degree level or additional program 
would require an amended Certificate of Authority prior to beginning 
the program. 

(7) Renewal of Certificate of Authority. 

(A) At least one hundred eighty (180) days, but no more 
than two hundred ten (210) days, prior to the expiration of the current 
Certificate of Authority, an institution seeking renewal shall make ap-

plication to the Board on forms provided upon request. The renewal 
application must include any applications for or renewal of accredita-
tion by national or regional accrediting agencies. The renewal applica-
tion shall be accompanied by the fee described in paragraph (3) of this 
subsection. 

(B) The application for renewal of the Certificate of Au-
thority will be evaluated in the same manner as that prescribed for eval-
uation of an initial application, except that the renewal application must 
include the institution's record of improvement and progress toward ac-
creditation. Evaluation of the renewal application will include review 
of compliance with any specific conditions, restrictions, or reporting 
requirements placed upon the institution during the period of the pre-
vious Certificate of Authority and whether continuation or addition of 
conditions, restrictions or reporting requirements is warranted. 

(C) An institution may be granted consecutive Certifi-
cates of Authority for a total grant of no longer than eight (8) years. 
Absent sufficient cause, at the end of the eight (8) years, the institution 
must be accredited by a recognized accrediting agency. 

(D) Subject to the application and authorization restric-
tions of this section, the Board shall renew the certificate if it finds 
that the institution has maintained all requisite standards and is making 
sufficient progress toward accreditation by a Board-recognized accred-
iting agency. 

(8) Revocation of Certificate of Authority. 

(A) Grounds for revocation include: 

(i) Institution no longer holds a Certificate of Ap-
proval or Letter of Exemption issued by the Texas Workforce Com-
mission; or 

(ii) Institution fails to comply with substantive 
change notification and data reporting requirements as outlined in 
§7.11 of this chapter (relating to Changes of Ownership and Other 
Substantive Changes) and §7.13 of this chapter (relating to Student 
Data Reporting), respectively; or 

(iii) Institution offers degrees or courses leading to 
a degree for which it does not have Board approval; or 

(iv) Institution fails to maintain the Standards of Op-
eration as defined in §7.4 of this chapter; or 

(v) Failure to comply with the requirement to sub-
mit all accrediting agency correspondence, reports, or findings and in-
stitutional responses to such correspondence, reports, and findings if 
an institution is accredited by entities which are not recognized by the 
Board; or 

(vi) Failure to fully comply with any additional con-
ditions, restrictions, or reporting requirements placed upon the institu-
tion as part of its current Certificate of Authority. 

(B) Process for revocation of Certificate of Authority to 
offer degrees in Texas: 

(i) Board notifies institution of grounds for revoca-
tion as outlined in this paragraph via registered or certified mail; 

(ii) Within ten (10) days of its receipt of the Com-
missioner's notice, the institution must either cease and desist opera-
tions or respond and offer proof of its continued qualification for the 
authorization, and/or submit data as required by this chapter; 

(iii) After reviewing the evidence, the Commis-
sioner will issue a notice of determination, which in the case of an 
adverse determination, shall contain information regarding the reasons 
for the denial, and the institution's right to a hearing; 
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(iv) If a determination under this section is adverse 
to an institution, it shall become final and binding unless, within forty-
five (45) days of its receipt of the adverse determination, the institution 
invokes the administrative remedies contained in Chapter 1, Subchap-
ter B of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution). 

(C) Without a valid Certificate of Authority, the institu-
tion must immediately cease and desist all operations, including grant-
ing degrees, offering courses leading to degrees, receiving payments 
from students for courses which may be applicable toward a degree, or 
enrolling new students. 

(i) If an institution must cease and desist operations, 
within forty-five (45) days of the adverse determination becoming final 
and binding, the institution must assure the continuity of students' ed-
ucation by entering into a teach-out agreement with another institution 
authorized by the Board to hold a Certificate of Authority, with an insti-
tution operating under a Certificate of Authorization, or with a public 
or private institution of higher education as defined in Texas Education 
Code §61.003. 

(ii) The teach-out agreement shall be in writing, 
shall be subject to Board staff approval prior to implementation, shall 
contain provisions for student transfer, and shall specify the conditions 
for completion of degree requirements at the teach-out institution. The 
agreement shall also contain provisions for awarding degrees. 

(D) Reapplication After Revocation of Certificate of 
Authority. 

(i) The institution will not be eligible to reapply for 
a period of one hundred eighty (180) days. 

(ii) The subsequent application must show, in addi-
tion to all other requirements described herein, correction of the defi-
ciencies which led to the denial. 

(iii) The period of time during which the institution 
does not hold a Certificate of Authority shall not be counted against the 
eight (8) year period within which the institution must achieve accred-
itation from a Board-recognized accrediting agency absent sufficient 
cause, as described in paragraph (7)(C) of this section; the time period 
begins to run again upon reinstatement. 

(9) Closure of an Institution. 

(A) The governing board, owner, or chief executive of-
ficer of an institution that plans to cease operation in the state of Texas 
shall provide the Board with written notification of intent to close at 
least ninety (90) days prior to the planned closing date. 

(B) If an institution closes unexpectedly, the governing 
board, owner, or chief executive officer of the school shall provide the 
Board with written notification immediately. 

(C) If an institution closes or intends to close before all 
currently enrolled students have completed all requirements for grad-
uation, the institution shall assure the continuity of students' education 
by entering into a teach-out agreement with another institution autho-
rized by the Board to hold a Certificate of Authority, with an institution 
operating under a Certificate of Authorization, or with a public or pri-
vate institution of higher education as defined in Texas Education Code 
§61.003. The agreement shall be in writing, shall be subject to Board 
approval prior to implementation, shall contain provisions for student 
transfer, and shall specify the conditions for completion of degree re-
quirements at the teach-out institution. The agreement shall also con-
tain provisions for awarding degrees. 

(D) The Certificate of Authority for an institution is au-
tomatically withdrawn as of the date the institution closes. The Com-

missioner may grant to an institution that has existing degree-granting 
authority temporary approval to award a degree(s) in a program for 
which the institution does not have approval in order to facilitate a for-
mal agreement as outlined under this section. 

(i) The curriculum and delivery shall be appropriate 
to accommodate the remaining students. 

(ii) No new students shall be admitted to the trans-
ferred degree program unless the new entity seeks and receives per-
manent approval for the program(s) from the Board, or Board staff, as 
delegated, or the transferred degree program already has such approval. 

§7.10. Registration of Agents. 
(a) Application for Registration--An agent as defined in §7.3 

of this chapter (relating to Definitions) shall submit an application to 
the Board in the following manner: 

(1) The application shall be accompanied by the fee de-
scribed in this subsection. 

(A) Each biennium, the Commissioner shall set the fee 
for Certificates of Registration of agents. 

(B) The Commissioner shall report changes in the fee 
to the Board at a quarterly meeting. 

(2) Upon request of the Commissioner or the Commis-
sioner's designee, the agent shall provide sufficient evidence of good 
character. 

(3) The agent's Certificate of Registration shall be issued 
for a five-year period. 

(4) If the Commissioner denies the application for a Cer-
tificate of Registration, or a renewal of the Certificate of Registration, 
the applicant shall be notified in writing, and shall be given the rea-
sons for the denial. Additionally, the Commissioner shall notify the 
institution or institutions which the agent represented or proposed to 
represent, according to the records of the Board, in the same manner. 

(5) At least sixty (60), but no more than one hundred 
twenty (120), days prior to the expiration of an agent's certificate, the 
agent may complete and file with the Board an application for renewal, 
accompanied by the registration fee described in this section. 

(6) If a determination under this section is adverse to a 
person or institution, it shall become final and binding unless, within 
forty-five (45) days of the receipt of the adverse determination, the 
person or institution invokes the administrative remedies contained in 
Chapter 1, Subchapter B of this title (relating to Dispute Resolution). 

(b) Revocation of Registration--The Commissioner may re-
voke an agent's Certificate of Registration at any time if the Commis-
sioner finds that: 

(1) Any statement contained in the application is untrue; 

(2) The institution represented has had its Certificate of Au-
thority revoked; 

(3) The agent has made false, deceptive, or misleading 
statements while attempting to solicit residents of this state as students; 
or 

(4) The agent has violated any provision of this subchapter. 

(c) Notice of Revocation--Notice under subsection (b) of this 
section shall be given to the agent and to the institution that the agent 
represented or purported to represent. Immediately upon receipt of ac-
tual knowledge of the agent's violation, or upon receipt of the Com-
missioner's notice, whichever is earlier, the institution shall make ev-
ery effort to: 
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(1) divest the agent of the authority and of the apparent au-
thority to represent the institution; 

(2) notify the media through which the agent made the mis-
representations of the actual facts; and 

(3) notify all students whose decision to enroll in the insti-
tution was affected by the agent's misrepresentation, of the actual facts. 

(d) Administrative Remedies--A revocation made pursuant to 
this section shall become final and binding unless, within forty-five (45) 
days of its receipt of the notice of revocation, the institution or agent 
invokes the administrative remedies contained in Chapter 1, Subchap-
ter B of this title. 

§7.11. Changes of Ownership and Other Substantive Changes. 
(a) Change of Ownership or Control for Career Schools and 

Colleges. In the event of a change in ownership or control of a career 
school or college, the Certificate of Authority or Certificate of Autho-
rization is automatically void unless the institution meets the require-
ments of this section. 

(b) The Commissioner may authorize the institution to retain 
the Certificate of Authority or Certificate of Authorization during and 
after a change of ownership or control, provided that the institution 
notifies Board staff of the impending transfer in time for staff to receive, 
review, and approve the documents listed in paragraphs (1) - (3) of this 
subsection and provided that the following conditions are met: 

(1) The institution must submit acceptable evidence that 
the new owner is complying with all Texas Workforce Commission 
requirements regarding the purchase or transfer of ownership of a ca-
reer school or college; 

(2) The institution must submit an acceptable written state-
ment of assurance that the new owner understands and undertakes to 
fully comply with all applicable Board rules, regulations, and/or poli-
cies; 

(3) The institution must submit documentation that the new 
owner has been approved by the institution's Board-recognized accred-
itor to operate the institution or is able to meet the requirements of the 
existing Certificate of Authority; and 

(4) The institution must submit satisfactory evidence of fi-
nancial ability to adequately support and conduct all approved pro-
grams. Documentation shall include but may not be limited to indepen-
dently audited financial statements and auditor's reports and assurance 
that the new owner does not currently own or operate any institutions 
under financial restrictions for, or is not permanently debarred from 
participating in, federal financial aid by the United States Department 
of Education. 

(c) If the institution does not meet the conditions outlined un-
der this section prior to completion of transfer of ownership or control 
and the institution loses its Certificate of Authority or Certificate of 
Authorization, the new owner(s) shall submit a new application for a 
Certificate of Authority as outlined under §7.8 of this chapter (relating 
to Institutions Not Accredited by a Board-Recognized Accreditor) or 
a new application for a Certificate of Authorization as outlined under 
§7.7 of this chapter (relating to Institutions Accredited by Board-Rec-
ognized Accreditors). 

(d) Any modification of an approved degree program that re-
sults from a change of ownership or control constitutes a program revi-
sion. Requests for approval of program revisions or other substantive 
changes as defined in §7.3 of this chapter (relating to Definitions) shall 
conform to the procedures and requirements contained in §7.7 and §7.8 

   of this chapter.

(e) If the ownership or control of a career school or college is 
transferred within, among, or between different subsidiaries, branches, 
divisions, or other components of a corporation and if said transfer in 
no way diminishes the career school or college's administrative capa-
bility or educational program quality, the Commissioner may permit 
the school to retain its Certificate of Authority or Certificate of Autho-
rization during the transfer period. In such cases, the career school or 
college shall fully comply with all provisions outlined in this section. 

(f) All notifications regarding changes of ownership or other 
substantive changes should be provided to the Board via the institu-
tion's designated Single Point of Contact. 

§7.14. Distance Education Approval Processes for Degree Granting 
Colleges and Universities Other Than Texas Public Institutions. 

An institution which does not meet the definition of institution of higher 
education contained in Texas Education Code §61.003 and wishes to 
offer distance education to students in Texas must follow the require-
ments in paragraph (1) or (2) of this section. For the purposes of this 
section distance education shall mean education or training delivered 
off campus via educational technologies where the student(s) and the 
instructor(s) are separated by physical distance and/or time. 

(1) Exempt Institutions. 

(A) An institution is exempt and does not need to re-
ceive permission from the Board to offer distance education programs 
and courses to Texas students if it fulfills the following: 

(i) Accredited to offer degrees at a specific level ei-
ther by an accrediting agency recognized by the Board or an accrediting 
agency recognized by the Secretary of Education of the U.S. Depart-
ment of Education or approved by a Texas state agency which autho-
rizes the school's graduates to take a professional or career and techni-
cal state licensing examination administered by that agency; 

(ii) No physical presence in the state as defined by 
§7.3 of this chapter (relating to Definitions); and 

(iii) Meets and agrees to comply with Council of Re-
gional Accrediting Commissions (C-RAC) provisions as listed in this 
section. 

(B) An institution is also exempt and does not need to 
receive permission from the Board to offer distance education pro-
grams and courses to Texas students if it is covered by a reciprocal 
state exemption agreement. 

(C) An institution's exemption applies only to the de-
gree level for which the programs or institution is accredited. 

(D) An institution's exemption under subparagraph (A) 
or (B) of this paragraph continues as long as it is in compliance with 
subparagraph (A) or (B) of this paragraph. Exempt institutions must 
also maintain compliance with subparagraph (C) of this paragraph. If 
an institution is no longer accredited by an accrediting agency recog-
nized by the Board or an accrediting agency recognized by the Secre-
tary of Education of the U.S. Department of Education or no longer ap-
proved by a Texas state agency which authorizes the school's graduates 
to take a professional or career and technical state licensing examina-
tion administered by that agency and/or maintains a physical presence 
in Texas or if an institution is no longer covered by a reciprocal state 
exemption agreement, the institution is no longer eligible for an ex-
emption and must receive Board authority to offer distance education 
to Texas students. The institution would need to either submit an appli-
cation for a Certificate of Authority as outlined under §7.8 of this chap-
ter (relating to Institutions Not Accredited by a Board-Recognized Ac-
creditor) or for a Certificate of Authorization as outlined under §7.7 of 
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this chapter (relating to Institutions Accredited by Board-Recognized 
Accreditors). 

(2) Nonexempt Institutions. 

(A) An institution is not exempt and must receive Board 
permission to offer distance education programs and courses to Texas 
students if it fulfills any of the following: 

(i) Is accredited to offer degrees at a specific level by 
an accrediting agency recognized by the Board or approved by a Texas 
state agency which authorizes the school's graduates to take a profes-
sional or career technical state licensing examination administered by 
that agency and maintains a physical presence in Texas as defined by 
§7.3 of this chapter; the institution would need to submit an application 
for a Certificate of Authorization as outlined under §7.7 of this chapter; 
or 

(ii) Is not accredited to offer degrees at a specific 
level by an accrediting agency recognized by the Board or an accred-
iting agency recognized by the Secretary of Education of the U.S. De-
partment of Education nor approved by a Texas state agency which au-
thorizes the school's graduates to take a professional or career technical 
state licensing examination administered by that agency. The institu-
tion, whether or not it maintains a physical presence in Texas as defined 
by §7.3 of this chapter, would need to submit an application for a Cer-
tificate of Authority as outlined under §7.8 of this chapter. 

(B) An institution that would like to offer a degree pro-
gram or courses leading to a degree in a religious discipline via distance 
education is exempt from seeking Board approval. A religious institu-
tion that would like to offer a degree program or courses leading to a 
degree in a non-religious discipline via distance education must follow 
the requirements outlined in subparagraph (A)(i) and (ii) of this para-
graph. 

(C) As part of its qualification or continued approval for 
a Certificate of Authorization or a Certificate of Authority, a nonexempt 
institution must meet and agree to comply with C-RAC provisions as 
listed in this section before offering distance education. 

(3) Board staff shall utilize the best practices in postsec-
ondary distance education as adopted by the C-RAC as standards for 
approval of distance education offered in Texas or to Texas residents. 
C-RAC provisions applicable to all institutions offering distance edu-
cation under this section include: 

(A) Online learning is appropriate to the institution's 
mission and purposes; 

(B) The institution's plans for developing, sustaining, 
and, if appropriate, expanding online learning offerings are integrated 
into its regular planning and evaluation processes; 

(C) Online learning is incorporated into the institution's 
systems of governance and academic oversight; 

(D) Curricula for the institution's online learning offer-
ings are coherent, cohesive, and comparable in academic rigor to pro-
grams offered in traditional instructional formats; 

(E) The institution evaluates the effectiveness of its on-
line learning offerings, including the extent to which the online learning 
goals are achieved, and uses the results of its evaluations to enhance the 
attainment of the goals; 

(F) Faculty responsible for delivering the online 
learning curricula and evaluating the students' success in achieving 
the online learning goals are appropriately qualified and effectively 
supported; 

(G) The institution provides effective student and aca-
demic services to support students enrolled in online learning offerings; 

(H) The institution provides sufficient resources to sup-
port and, if appropriate, expand its online learning offerings; and 

(I) The institution assures the integrity of its online of-
ferings. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605709 
Bill Franz 
General Counsel 
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114 

CHAPTER 21. STUDENT SERVICES 
SUBCHAPTER B. DETERMINATION OF 
RESIDENT STATUS 
19 TAC §§21.21 - 21.30 
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (Coordinating 
Board) adopts amendments to §§21.21 - 21.30, concerning De-
termination of Resident Status, with changes to the proposed 
text of §21.22 as published in the August 12, 2016, issue of the 
Texas Register (41 TexReg 5898). Section 21.21 and §§21.23 -
21.30 are adopted without change and will not be re-published. 

The amended §21.21 specifies Chapter 54 of the Texas Edu-
cation Code (TEC) as the chapter requiring the Board to adopt 
these rules. 

The amended §21.22 removes outdated language and terms 
that are not used in Subchapter B, Determination of Resident 
Status, and to clarify certain definitions. This section is also 
amended to add a definition for deferred action. 

The amended §21.23 clarifies that the rules adopted by the 
Board in October 2016 are effective beginning with residency 
decisions made after the census date of the 2017 fall semester. 

The amended §21.24 adds a new subsection (b), Texas Resi-
dency, to list required documentation to support a physical pres-
ence in the state. This language was formerly in Chart II, which 
is proposed for repeal. The following subsections are renum-
bered accordingly. Renumbered §21.24(c) removes the term 
"residence." For those persons trying to establish domicile un-
der §21.24(a)(2) and (3), domicile is the defining factor in es-
tablishing whether a person may pay in-state tuition and a resi-
dence in this state merely lends support to the establishment and 
maintenance of domicile in Texas. Renumbered §21.24(d)(3) is 
amended to clarify that certain nonresident classifications are 
eligible to maintain domicile. Renumbered new §21.24(d)(5) is 
amended to delete "special agricultural worker" as that category 
was repealed by §219(ee)(1) of the Immigration and Nationality 
Act of 1994 (Pub. L. 103-416, 108 Stat. 4319, Oct. 25, 1994). 
Current subsection (e) is being re-designated as subsection (f), 
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which is amended to clarify how a person who qualifies as a 
resident under §21.24(a)(2) and (a)(3) may establish and main-
tain a Texas domicile for the requisite number of months. Cur-
rent §21.24(e)(1) through (e)(4) are proposed for repeal. New 
§21.24(f)(1) and (f)(2) contain language from Chart II to provide 
more detailed information about how to establish and maintain 
domicile. 

The amended §21.25(b) is amended to delete the Attached 
Graphic titled, "Chart II, Documentation to Support Establishing 
and Maintaining Domicile in Texas," and the chart's key ele-
ments are integrated into §21.24(b) and (f) in order to better tie 
the bases for establishing and maintaining domicile to relevant 
documentation. (Chart I will no longer be referred to as such 
since Chart II has been deleted. Rather, it will be referred to as 
Figure: 19 TAC §21.25(a)(1)(B), Affidavit.) 

The amended §21.26 more clearly states the instances when a 
student is entitled to remain classified as a resident of this state 
and when a student must provide updated information to prove 
he or she is entitled to resident tuition. 

The amended §21.27 is amended to remove the reference to 
Chart II and because the language in repealed Chart II is now in 
§21.24 and §21.25, adds a reference to §21.24. 

The amended §21.28 more closely aligns with the language of 
TEC §54.056. In accordance with this statutory provision, re-
gardless of the reason, if an institution of higher education er-
roneously classifies a person as a nonresident of this state, the 
institution must refund to the person the amount of tuition the 
person paid in excess of resident tuition. 

The amended §21.29 clarifies that an institution's Residence De-
termination Official is responsible for residency determinations 
for the institution. 

The amended §21.30 clarifies that an institution must retain doc-
umentation proving that the person is a resident of this state for 
those individuals described in §21.25(a)(1)(B). 

Corrections to rule structure and terminology were made 
throughout Subchapter B, as appropriate. 

The following comments were received regarding the amend-
ments: 

Comment: Texas State University suggested the addition of lan-
guage to §21.21 to bolster the weight of Residency Determina-
tion Officials' decisions as their "judgment has always been im-
plied, but needs to be put in the code to answer challenges." 

Staff Response: Staff does not agree that additional language 
to §21.21 is necessary as this issue has been addressed in pro-
posed 19 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §21.29, which clari-
fies the role of the Residency Determination Official. No change 
was made in the rules as a result of this comment. 

Comment: Texas State University suggests the addition of the 
following language to the definition of "gainful employment" in 
proposed §21.22(11) to clarify what documentation may be con-
sidered earnings to support a claim of gainful employment: pen-
sions, veterans' benefits, social security, and savings from pre-
vious earnings. 

Staff Response: Staff agrees with the institution's comment and 
has amended the definition of "gainful employment" to include 
pensions, veterans' benefits, social security, and savings from 
previous earnings as examples of what may constitute earnings 
for the purpose of determining gainful employment. 

Comment: Texas State University suggests the addition of 
language to the definition of "temporary absence" in proposed 
§21.22(29) to expand its applicability to anyone who has estab-
lished residency in this state. Currently, it's limited to those who 
have established domicile and excludes those who have met the 
criteria for in-state residency through the 36-month approach. 

Staff Response: Staff agrees with the institution's suggestion 
and has amended the definition of "temporary absence" to in-
dicate the definition applies to those who have previously met 
the criteria for in-state residency. 

Comment: Texas State University suggests a change to the ex-
ample of what is considered a short duration from 30 days to 
one year since a person must generally live in Texas for a year 
to establish residency. 

Staff Response: Staff agrees with the institution's suggestion 
and has amended the definition of "temporary absence" to 
change the example of what is considered a short duration from 
30 days to one year. 

Comment: Texas State University suggests staff clarify whether 
a person granted Deferred Action for Childhood Arrival (DACA) 
status is able to establish and maintain domicile as is indicated in 
proposed §21.24(d)(5) ("a person granted deferred action status 
by USCIS"). 

Staff Response: Staff agrees with the institution's comment. The 
definition of a person granted deferred action status by USCIS 
as described in §21.24(d)(5) could be clearer. Therefore, staff 
has added a definition of "deferred action status" to §21.22, Def-
initions. 

Comment: Texas State University suggests adding language to 
§21.24(f)(1)(A)(i) to specify what may be considered earnings to 
support a claim of gainful employment for purposes of establish-
ing residency. 

Staff Response: Staff agrees with the institution's suggestion 
and has added additional examples of what constitutes earnings 
to proposed §21.24(f)(1)(A)(i). 

Comment: Texas State University commented that the proposed 
change to §21.30 implies the new rule requires retention of ALL 
residency-related documentation, but the actual rule language 
seems to only address the affidavit. 

Staff Response: Staff believes the proposed rule is clear as 
to which documentation must be retained. §21.30 references 
§21.25(a)(1)(B), which only refers to a student's submission 
of an affidavit if the person qualifies for residency under 
§21.24(a)(1). No change was made in the rules as a result of 
this comment. 

Comment: Texas State University suggest the proposed rule 
should also specify institutions retain records until students who 
establish domicile under §21.24 have actually achieved perma-
nent resident status (whether via green card, or I-797 receipt for 
I-485 application). 

Staff Response: TEC §54.053(3)(B), establishes the require-
ment for persons who are not citizens or permanent residents 
to submit an affidavit to their institutions if they are trying to es-
tablish a claim to residency under TEC §54.052(a)(3). It further 
indicates that the affidavit is to state, "that the person will apply 
to become a permanent resident of the United States as soon as 
the person becomes eligible to apply." Staff believes the institu-
tion's obligation is met once the student submits an application 
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for Permanent Resident status. No change was made to the 
rules as a result of this comment. 

Comment: The University of Texas (UT) System expressed its 
objection to the repeal of the definition in §21.22 of "Erroneously 
classifies a person as a nonresident" as it believes the applicable 
statute requiring the refund of excess tuition charged a student 
who the institution classifies as a nonresident and who should 
have been classified as a resident "pertains only when 'an insti-
tution of higher education erroneously classifies a person as a 
nonresident of the state,' not when the student is the source of 
the error." 

Staff Response: The proposed rule change will align residency 
rules with TEC §54.056(b), which states that "[r]egardless of the 
reason for the error," an institution must refund a student erro-
neously charged nonresident tuition. No change was made in 
the rules as a result of this comment. 

Comment: The UT System expressed its objection to the pro-
posed change to the existing definition of "temporary absence" 
in §21.22(29). UT System believes the proposed change "will 
introduce ambiguity likely to make the rule more difficult to ad-
minister." 

Staff Response: Staff believes that five years is too long a pe-
riod of absence to be considered "temporary," however, staff is in 
agreement with another stakeholders' suggestion that one year 
is a more appropriate timeframe than 30 days. Therefore, al-
though the agency recognizes there may be circumstances in 
which a longer term may be considered temporary, staff has 
amended the proposed language in this definition to one year. 

The amendments are adopted under the Texas Education Code, 
§54.075, which provides the Coordinating Board with the author-
ity to adopt rules for the Determination of Resident Status. 

§21.22. Definitions. 
The following words and terms, when used in this subchapter, shall 
have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates oth-
erwise: 

(1) Census date--The date in an academic term for which an 
institution is required to certify a person's enrollment in the institution 
for the purposes of determining formula funding for the institution. 

(2) Clear and Convincing Evidence--That degree of proof 
that will produce a firm conviction or a firm belief as to the facts sought 
to be established. The evidence must justify the claim both clearly and 
convincingly. 

(3) Coordinating Board or Board--The Texas Higher Edu-
cation Coordinating Board. 

(4) Core Residency Questions--The questions promulgated 
by the Board to be completed by a person and used by an institution as 
a significant aid in determining if the person is a Texas resident. The 
core questions shall be those set forth in the ApplyTexas Application 
or posted on the Board web site. 

(5) Deferred action--Discretionary determination to defer a 
removal action of an individual as an act of prosecutorial discretion. An 
individual who has received deferred action is authorized by Depart-
ment of Homeland Security (DHS) to be present in the United States, 
and is therefore considered by DHS to be lawfully present during the 
period deferred action is in effect. 

(6) Dependent--A person who: 

(A) is less than 18 years of age and has not been eman-
cipated by marriage or court order; or 

(B) is eligible to be claimed as a dependent of a parent 
of the person for purposes of determining the parent's income tax lia-
bility under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986. 

(7) Domicile--A person's principal, permanent residence to 
which the person intends to return after any temporary absence. 

(8) Eligible for Permanent Resident Status--A person who 
has filed an I-485 application for permanent residency and has been 
issued a fee/filing receipt or notice of action by the United States Cit-
izenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) showing that his or her 
I-485 has been reviewed and has not been rejected. 

(9) Eligible Nonimmigrant--A person who has been issued 
a type of nonimmigrant visa by the USCIS that permits the person to 
establish and maintain domicile in the United States. 

(10) Established domicile in Texas--Physically residing in 
Texas, with the intent to maintain domicile in Texas, for at least the 12 
consecutive months immediately preceding the census date of the term 
of enrollment, allowing for documented temporary absences. 

(11) Gainful employment--Employment intended to pro-
vide an income to a person or allow a person to avoid the expense of 
paying another person to perform the tasks (as in child care) that is suf-
ficient to provide at least one-half of the individual's tuition, fees and 
living expenses as determined in keeping with the institution's student 
financial aid budget or that represents an average of at least twenty 
hours of employment per week. A person who is self-employed or 
who is living off his/her earnings (present or past - such as pensions, 
veterans' benefits, social security, and savings from previous earnings) 
may be considered gainfully employed for purposes of establishing res-
idency, as may a person whose primary support is public assistance. 
Employment conditioned on student status, such as work study, the 
receipt of stipends, fellowships, or research or teaching assistantships 
does not constitute gainful employment for purposes of residency de-
termination. 

(12) General Academic Teaching Institution--As defined in 
Texas Education Code §61.003(3). 

(13) Independent institution--As defined in Texas Educa-
tion Code §61.003(15). 

(14) Institution or institution of higher education--Any 
public technical institute, public junior college, public senior college or 
university, medical or dental unit, or other agency of higher education 
as defined in Texas Education Code §61.003(8). 

(15) Legal guardian--A person who is appointed guardian 
under the Texas Probate Code, Chapter 693, or a temporary or succes-
sor guardian. 

(16) Maintain domicile--Physically residing in Texas such 
that the person always intends to return to the state after a temporary 
absence. The maintenance of domicile is not interrupted by a tempo-
rary absence from the state. 

(17) Managing conservator--A parent, a competent adult, 
an authorized agency, or a licensed child-placing agency appointed by 
court order issued under the Texas Family Code, Title 5. 

(18) Nonresident tuition--The amount of tuition paid by a 
person who is not a Texas resident and who is not entitled or permitted 
to pay resident tuition under this subchapter. 

(19) Nontraditional secondary education--A course of 
study at the secondary school level in a nonaccredited private school 
setting, including a home school. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

(20) Parent--A natural or adoptive parent, managing or 
possessory conservator, or legal guardian of a person. The term would 
not otherwise include a step-parent. 

(21) Possessory conservator--A natural or adoptive parent 
appointed by court order issued under the Texas Family Code, Title 5. 

(22) Private high school--A private or parochial school in 
Texas. 

(23) Public technical institute--As defined in Texas Educa-
tion Code §61.003(7). 

(24) Regular semester--A fall or spring semester, typically 
consisting of 16 weeks. 

(25) Residence--A person's home or other dwelling place; 
where a person resides. 

(26) Residence Determination Official--The primary indi-
vidual at each institution who is responsible for the accurate application 
of state statutes and rules to individual student cases. 

(27) Resident tuition--The amount of tuition paid by a per-
son who qualifies as a Texas resident under this subchapter. 

(28) Residential real property--Real property on which a 
dwelling fit for long-term human habitation is located. 

(29) Temporary absence--Absence from the State of Texas 
by a person who previously met the criteria for in-state residency, with 
the intention to return, generally for a period of short duration (i.e., 
less than one year). However, in some situations, the absence can be 
significantly longer. For example, the temporary absence of a person 
or a dependent's parent from the state for the purpose of service in the 
U. S. Armed Forces, U. S. Public Health Service, U. S. Department of 
Defense, U. S. Department of State, as a result of an employment as-
signment, or for educational purposes, shall not affect a person's ability 
to continue to claim that Texas is his permanent residence. 

(30) United States Citizenship and Immigration Services 
(USCIS)--The bureau of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security 
that is responsible for the administration of immigration and natural-
ization adjudication functions and establishing immigration services 
policies and priorities. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605710 
Bill Franz 
General Counsel 
Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 427-6114 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 22. EXAMINING BOARDS 

PART 16. TEXAS BOARD OF 
PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINERS 

CHAPTER 323. POWERS AND DUTIES OF 
THE BOARD 
22 TAC §323.4 
The Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners adopts new 
§323.4, concerning Request for Proposals for Outsourced Ser-
vices without changes to the proposed text as published in the 
September 9, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 
6915). 

The new rule will allow the Board to develop a process for out-
sourcing services through a request for proposal (RFP) method 
to ensure fairness and transparency. 

No comments were received regarding the proposal. 

The new rule is adopted under the Physical Therapy Practice 
Act, Title 3, Subtitle H, Chapter 453, Occupations Code, which 
provides the Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners with 
the authority to adopt rules consistent with this Act to carry out 
its duties in administering this Act. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 7, 

2016. 
TRD-201605729 
John P. Maline 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners 
Effective date: November 27, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 9, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6900 

PART 24. TEXAS BOARD OF 
VETERINARY MEDICAL EXAMINERS 

CHAPTER 573. RULES OF PROFESSIONAL 
CONDUCT 
SUBCHAPTER G. OTHER PROVISIONS 
22 TAC §573.80 
The Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (Board) 
adopts amendments to §573.80, concerning Definitions. The 
amendments are adopted without changes to the proposed text 
published in the September 9, 2016, issue of the Texas Register 
(41 TexReg 6917). 

The purpose of the amendment is to remove the definition of 
"designated caretaker." The Third Court of Appeals upheld a dis-
trict court's determination that the definition was invalid. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of the 
amendments to the rule. 

The amendments are adopted under the authority of the Vet-
erinary Licensing Act, Texas Occupations Code, §801.151(a), 
which states that the Board may adopt rules necessary to ad-
minister the chapter. 

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by the adoption. 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605705 
Loris Jones 
Executive Assistant 
Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 9, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7563 

CHAPTER 577. GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE 
DUTIES 
SUBCHAPTER A. BOARD MEMBERS AND 
MEETINGS--DUTIES 
22 TAC §577.5 
The Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (Board) 
adopts amendments to §577.5, concerning Advisory Commit-
tees. The amendments are adopted without changes to the 
proposed text published in the September 9, 2016, issue of the 
Texas Register (41 TexReg 6918). The adopted rule therefore 
will not be republished. 

The purpose of the amendment is to comply with Texas Occupa-
tions Code §801.163, which requires the Board to adopt rules re-
garding training requirements for advisory committee members, 
if training is deemed necessary. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of the 
amendments to the rule. 

The amendments are adopted under the authority of the Vet-
erinary Licensing Act, Texas Occupations Code, §801.151(a), 
which states that the Board may adopt rules necessary to ad-
minister the chapter; and §801.163(c)(7) which states that the 
Board shall adopt rules regarding the purpose, structure, and 
use of an advisory committee, including rules on the training re-
quirements for advisory committee members, if necessary. 

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by the adoption. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605706 
Loris Jones 
Executive Assistant 
Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 9, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7563 

SUBCHAPTER B. STAFF 
22 TAC §577.18 
The Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (Board) 
adopts the repeal of §577.18, concerning Historically Under-
utilized Businesses without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the September 9, 2016, issue of the Texas Register 
(41 TexReg 6919) and will not be republished. 

The rule references the Texas Building and Procurement Com-
mission, an agency that has become inactive since the rule was 
last amended, and references rule sections that are no longer 
correct. In conjunction with this repeal, the Board proposed new 
§577.18 to replace the repealed language. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of the re-
peal. 

The repeal is adopted under the authority of Texas Government 
Code §2161.003, which requires the agency to adopt rules relat-
ing to historically underutilized businesses, and Texas Occupa-
tions Code, §801.151(a), which states that the Board may adopt 
rules necessary to administer the chapter. 

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by the adoption. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605704 
Loris Jones 
Executive Assistant 
Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 9, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7563 

22 TAC §577.18 
The Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (Board) 
adopts new §577.18, concerning Historically Underutilized Busi-
nesses without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the September 9, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 
6919) and will not be republished. 

Texas Government Code requires a state agency to adopt rules 
regarding the use of historically underutilized businesses. The 
current rule references an agency that has become inactive 
since the rule was last amended, and references rule sections 
that are no longer correct. The proposed new rule references 
the Comptroller of Public Account's rules regarding historically 
underutilized businesses. 

No comments were received regarding the adoption of the new 
rule. 

The new rule is adopted under the authority of Texas Govern-
ment Code §2161.003, which requires the agency to adopt rules 
relating to historically underutilized businesses, and Texas Oc-
cupations Code, §801.151(a), which states that the Board may 
adopt rules necessary to administer the chapter. 

No other statutes, articles or codes are affected by the adoption 
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605703 
Loris Jones 
Executive Assistant 
Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 9, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-7563 

PART 39. TEXAS BOARD OF 
PROFESSIONAL GEOSCIENTISTS 

CHAPTER 851. TEXAS BOARD OF 
PROFESSIONAL GEOSCIENTISTS LICENSING 
AND ENFORCEMENT RULES 
The Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists (TBPG) adopts 
amendments to 22 TAC §§851.29, 851.31, and 851.32, and 
adopts new rules §§851.35, 851.113, 851.203 and 851.204, 
concerning the licensure and regulation of Professional Geosci-
entists. The new rules and amendments in 22 TAC §§851.29, 
851.31, 851.32, 851.35, 851.203 and 851.204 are adopted 
without changes from the proposed text as published in the 
September 16, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 
7246). New rule 22 TAC §851.113 is adopted with changes. 

Adopted amendments to 22 TAC §851.29 clarify the require-
ments regarding Endorsement and Reciprocal Licensure. 
Adopted amendments clarify language to show that a licensing 
qualification can be endorsed by another licensing board for an 
applicant for P.G. licensure who is currently or has been licensed 
in the last ten years to practice a discipline of geoscience in 
Texas or another U.S. jurisdiction. Adopted amendments also 
clarify under "Licensure by similar examination" that an individ-
ual who has applied for licensure as a Professional Geoscientist 
in Texas may meet the licensing examination requirement by 
submitting proof of passage of examinations that are substan-
tially similar to the applicable examination(s) as specified in 
§851.21. 

Adopted amendments to 22 TAC §851.31 clarify the process of 
obtaining a temporary license and to be consistent with the re-
quirements of temporary licensure authorized in Texas Occupa-
tions Code 1002.258. Adopted amendments clarify and simplify 
the process for obtaining a temporary P.G. license in Texas. 

Adopted amendments to 22 TAC §851.32 clarify a licensee's 
duty to comply with continuing education (CE) program require-
ments, adding a specific 30-day deadline for when a licensee 
must respond and produce a CE activity log and supporting 
records. Adopted amendments also clarify that a licensee is 
subject to disciplinary action for failure to satisfy CE program re-
quirements during the applicable period, and that it is a separate 
violation to falsely report CE requirements for a renewal period. 
Board rules already provide that these actions are violations 
and are subject to disciplinary action, but the language is added 
in this section of the rules for ease of reference. 

Adopted new rule 22 TAC §851.35 outlines the process for vol-
untary surrender of a license, registration, or certification. 

Adopted new rule 22 TAC §851.113 requires all persons who are 
the subject of a Board order to abide by the terms of that order, 
and that failure to abide by the terms of a Board order is grounds 
for disciplinary action. Additionally, the adopted new rule adds 
that the Board may deny a person's request for a license, regis-
tration or certification, or deny renewal of a license, registration 
or certification if the person has failed to timely pay an adminis-
trative penalty. This rule also allows the Board to apply money 
received from an individual to outstanding administrative penal-
ties owed by that individual before applying it to any other fee or 
cost. 

Adopted new rule 22 TAC §851.203 clarifies that the Board may 
serve a notice of hearing on a respondent by sending it to his 
or her last known address as shown by the Board's records. 
The adopted rule also outlines the procedures for default cases, 
and details a procedure for informal disposition of cases in ac-
cordance with §2001.056 of the Texas Government Code. The 
adopted rule also addresses the process taken when an appli-
cant with a criminal history applies for a license and does not 
show up at the hearing at the State Office of Administrative Hear-
ings. 

Adopted new rule 22 TAC §851.204 provides that the costs of 
an administrative hearing shall be borne by the licensee who 
chooses to appeal a Board Order. Specifically, the cost of tran-
scribing the contested-case hearing and the cost of preparing the 
record shall be assessed to the person appealing the Board's or-
der. This rule also outlines how these costs may be recovered. 

Adopted amendment to 22 TAC §851.29 adds language in (a)(2) 
regarding the licensure endorsement process to show that an ap-
plicant for a P.G. license who is currently or has been licensed or 
registered "in the last ten years" to practice a discipline of geo-
science in "Texas or" another U.S. jurisdiction or another coun-
try may be eligible to demonstrate having met all or some of the 
qualifications for licensure through endorsement. It adds lan-
guage in (a)(4) to show that the Board staff considers evidence 
"supporting the endorsement of a licensing qualification" of an 
applicant, and adds language in (a)(4)(A) to show that verifica-
tion may be provided if the license is current or "was held in the 
past ten years from the date of application." In subsection (b)(2), 
regarding licensure by similar examination, words are added to 
show that an individual who is licensed or registered to practice 
a discipline of geoscience in another United States jurisdiction, 
or another country, "...who has applied for licensure as a Profes-
sional Geoscientist" under this subsection "may meet the licens-
ing examination requirement by submitting" proof of passage of 
examination(s) that is/are substantially similar to the applicable 
examination(s) as specified in §851.21. 

Adopted amendment to 22 TAC §851.31 removes subsections 
(b), (c), and (d), which were redundant of language already in 
statute, to clarify that "TBPG may issue a temporary license to 
an applicant as described in §1002.258(a) of the Act." 

Adopted amendment to 22 TAC §851.32 adds language in sub-
section (p)(2) regarding noncompliance with the continuing edu-
cation program (CEP) to show that "a licensee must submit the 
CEP certification log and supporting records for credits claimed 
not later than 30 days after the Board sends by certified mail 
an audit notification and request for a log and supporting docu-
mentation to the licensee's last known address as shown by the 
Board's records. Failure to timely submit a CEP certification log 
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and supporting records for credits claimed is grounds for disci-
plinary action." New subsection (p)(3) adds that "A licensee must 
satisfy CEP requirements. Failure to satisfy CEP requirements 
during the applicable period is grounds for disciplinary action." A 
sentence previously located in (p)(2) is moved to new subsec-
tion (p)(4) and is reworded to state, "Falsely reporting that CEP 
requirements have been met for a renewal period is misconduct 
and will subject the licensee to disciplinary action." 

Adopted new rule 22 TAC §851.35, entitled, "Voluntary Surren-
der of a License, Registration or Certification" adds language to 
outline the process for voluntary surrender of a license, regis-
tration, or certification. New subsection (a) states, "A license 
holder who does not wish to maintain a license, registration, or 
certification may voluntarily surrender the license, registration, 
or certification by submitting a request in writing on a form pre-
scribed by the TBPG, provided that the license holder: (1) has 
a current license, registration, or certification; (2) is not out of 
compliance with a disciplinary order; (3) does not have a com-
plaint pending; and (4) is not under a continuing education au-
dit." New subsection (b) states, "The effective date of a voluntary 
surrender of a license shall be the date that the Board accepts 
the surrender and will mark the termination of the licensee's li-
cense, registration, or certification." New subsection (c) states, 
"Any fees paid on the license, registration, or certification shall 
not be refunded upon surrender." New subsection (d) states, "A 
license, registration, or certification that has been voluntarily sur-
rendered may not be renewed. A licensee who has voluntarily 
surrendered a license, registration, or certification may apply for 
a new license, registration, or certification." New subsection (e) 
states, "The Board maintains jurisdiction over a complaint filed 
against a licensee alleging violation of the TBPG's Code of Pro-
fessional Conduct that occurred prior to the date of surrender of 
the license, registration, or certification." 

Adopted new rule 22 TAC §851.113, entitled "Duty to Abide by 
Board Order and Timely Pay Administrative Penalty" adds new 
subsection (a) which states, "All persons who are the subject of 
a Board order shall abide by the terms of that order. Failure to 
abide by the terms of a Board order is grounds for disciplinary ac-
tion." New subsection (b) adds, "All persons who are assessed 
an administrative penalty must pay the administrative penalty not 
later than the 30th day after the date the Board's order becomes 
final or timely satisfy section 1002.454(b) of the Texas Occupa-
tions Code." New subsection (c) states, "Failure to timely pay 
an administrative penalty is grounds for disciplinary action. This 
subsection does not apply if a person timely complies with sec-
tion 1002.454(b) of the Texas Occupations Code regarding stay-
ing the enforcement of the administrative penalty at issue." New 
subsection (d) is changed to read, "The Board may deny a per-
son's request for a license, registration or certification, or the re-
newal of a license, registration, or certification if the person has 
failed to timely pay an administrative penalty." New subsection 
(e) adds, "When a person pays money to the Board, the Board 
may first apply that money to outstanding administrative penal-
ties owed by that person before applying it to any other fee or 
cost." 

Adopted new rule 22 TAC §851.203 entitled "Defaults" adds new 
subsection (a) which states, "The Board may serve the notice of 
hearing on the respondent by sending it to his or her last known 
address as shown by the Board's records." New subsection (b) 
adds, "Default. If the party who does not have the burden of proof 
fails to appear at a contested-case hearing at the State Office of 
Administrative Hearings, the administrative law judge may issue 
a default proposal for decision that can be adopted by the Board." 

New subsection (c) adds, "Failure to issue default proposal for 
decision. If the administrative law judge grants a default but does 
not issue a default proposal for decision and instead issues an 
order dismissing the case and returning the file to the Board for 
informal disposition on a default basis in accordance with sec-
tion 2001.056 of the Texas Government Code, the allegations in 
the notice of hearing will be deemed as true and proven and the 
Board will issue a final order imposing a sanction requested in 
the notice of hearing." New subsection (d) adds, "Contesting a fi-
nal order issued following a default. In the event that the respon-
dent wishes to contest a final order issued following a default, the 
respondent must timely file a motion for rehearing as provided 
by Chapter 2001 of the Texas Government Code, and the motion 
for rehearing must show the following: (1) the default was nei-
ther intentional nor the result of conscious indifference; (2) the 
respondent has a meritorious defense; (3) a new hearing will not 
cause delay or otherwise injure the Board; and (4) the motion for 
rehearing must be supported by affidavits and documentary evi-
dence of the above and show a prima facie case for meritorious 
defense." New subsection (e) adds, "Failure to prosecute. If a 
party who does not represent TBPG Board or staff and who has 
the burden of proof fails to appear at a contested case hearing 
at the state Office of Administrative Hearings, the administrative 
law judge must dismiss the case for want of prosecution, any 
relevant application will be withdrawn, and the Board may not 
consider a subsequent petition from the party until the first an-
niversary of the date of dismissal of the case." New subsection 
(f) adds, "Applicants for licensure bear the burden to prove fit-
ness for licensure." 

Adopted new rule 22 TAC §851.204 outlines TBPG's policies 
regarding the costs of administrative hearings. New subsec-
tion (a) adds, "If a person files a suit for judicial review of an 
agency decision in a contested case, the Board shall request 
that the contested-case hearing be transcribed." New subsection 
(b) adds, "Costs. The costs of transcribing the contested-case 
hearing and preparing the record for appeal in a suit for judicial 
review shall be paid by the party who appeals to district court." 
New subsection (c) adds, "Documentation of costs. Documen-
tation supporting the costs of transcribing the testimony in a con-
tested-case proceeding and preparing the record for appeal shall 
be included in the administrative record or filed with the court." 
New subsection (d) adds, "Recovery as court costs. The costs 
of transcribing the testimony in a contested-case proceeding and 
preparing the record for appeal in a suit for judicial review may be 
recovered as court costs." New subsection (e) adds, "Addition-
ally and alternatively, failure to timely pay the cost of transcrib-
ing the contested-case hearing is grounds for disciplinary action, 
and payment of the cost of transcribing the contested-case hear-
ing is due no later than 60 days after the Board sends a request 
for payment and copy of the documentation of costs to the re-
spondent's last known address as shown by the Board's records 
or to the respondent's attorney if any." New subsection (f) adds, 
"The Board may deny a person's request to issue or renew a li-
cense, registration, or certification if the person has failed to pay 
the cost of transcribing the contested-case hearing." New sub-
section (g) adds, "When a person pays money to the Board, the 
Board may first apply that money to outstanding transcript costs 
owed by that person before applying it to any other fee or cost." 

No comments were received regarding the proposed amend-
ments and new rule. 

SUBCHAPTER B. P.G. LICENSING, FIRM 
REGISTRATION, AND GIT CERTIFICATION 
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22 TAC §§851.29, 851.31, 851.32, 851.35 
Adopted amendments and new rule are authorized by the 
Texas Occupations Code §1002.151 which provides that the 
Board shall adopt and enforce rules consistent with the Texas 
Geoscience Practice Act (the Act); by Occupations Code 
§1002.154 which provides that Board shall enforce the Act; by 
Occupations Code §1002.255, which defines license eligibility; 
by Occupations Code §1002.257, which allows for reciprocity of 
licensure; by Occupations Code §1002.258, which authorizes 
temporary licenses. 

Adopted amendments implement the Texas Occupations Code, 
§§1002.151, 1002.154, 1002.255, 1002.257, and 1002.258. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 4, 

2016. 
TRD-201605726 
Charles Horton 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists 
Effective date: November 24, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 16, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-4405 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER C. CODE OF PROFESSIONAL 
CONDUCT 
22 TAC §851.113 
Adopted new rules are authorized by the Texas Occupations 
Code §1002.151 which provides that the Board shall adopt and 
enforce rules consistent with the Texas Geoscience Practice Act 
(the Act); by Occupations Code §1002.153 which provides that 
the Board shall adopt a code of professional conduct that is 
binding on all license holders; by Occupations Code §1002.154 
which provides that Board shall enforce the Act; and by Occupa-
tions Code §1002.351 which provides that the Board may adopt 
rules relating to the public practice of geoscience by a firm or 
corporation. 

Adopted new rules implement the Texas Occupations Code, 
§§1002.151, 1002.153, 1002.154, and 1002.351. 

§851.113. Duty to abide by Board order and timely pay administra-
tive penalty. 

(a) All persons who are the subject of a Board order shall abide 
by the terms of that order. Failure to abide by the terms of a Board order 
is grounds for disciplinary action. 

(b) All persons who are assessed an administrative penalty 
must pay the administrative penalty not later than the 30th day after 
the date the Board's order becomes final or timely satisfy section 
1002.454(b) of the Texas Occupations Code. 

(c) Failure to timely pay an administrative penalty is grounds 
for disciplinary action. This subsection does not apply if a person 
timely complies with section 1002.454(b) of the Texas Occupations 
Code regarding staying the enforcement of the administrative penalty 
at issue. 

(d) The Board may deny a person's request for a license, regis-
tration or certification, or the renewal of a license, registration, or certi-
fication if the person has failed to timely pay an administrative penalty. 

(e) When a person pays money to the Board, the Board may 
first apply that money to outstanding administrative penalties owed by 
that person before applying it to any other fee or cost. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 4, 

2016. 
TRD-201605727 
Charles Horton 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists 
Effective date: November 24, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 16, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-4401 

♦ ♦ ♦ 

SUBCHAPTER E. HEARINGS--CONTESTED 
CASES 
22 TAC §851.203, §851.204 
Adopted new rules are authorized by the Texas Occupations 
Code §1002.151 which provides that the Board shall adopt and 
enforce rules consistent with the Texas Geoscience Practice Act 
(the Act); by Occupations Code §1002.154 which provides that 
Board shall enforce the Act; by Occupations Code §1002.351 
which provides that the Board may adopt rules relating to the 
public practice of geoscience by a firm or corporation; and by 
1002.453, which provides that the Board adopt rules of proce-
dure for the imposition of an administrative penalty, and that such 
rules must conform to the requirements of Chapter 2001, Gov-
ernment Code. 

Adopted new rules implement the Texas Occupations Code, 
§§1002.151, 1002.154, 1002.351, and 1002.453. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 4, 

2016. 
TRD-201605728 
Charles Horton 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists 
Effective date: November 24, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 16, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-4401 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 30. ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

PART 1. TEXAS COMMISSION ON 
ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
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CHAPTER 9. TRAINING 
SUBCHAPTER B. EMPLOYEE TRAINING 
AND EDUCATION 
30 TAC §§9.11 - 9.13, 9.15 - 9.17 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ, 
agency, or commission) adopts amended §§9.11 - 9.13 and 
9.15 - 9.17. 

Sections 9.11 - 9.13, 9.16, and 9.17 are adopted without changes 
to the proposed text as published in the July 8, 2016, issue of the 
Texas Register (41 TexReg 4947) and, therefore, will not be re-
published. Section 9.15 is adopted with change to the proposed 
text and, therefore, will be republished. 

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Adopted 
Rules 

House Bill (HB) 3337, 84th Texas Legislature, 2015, requires 
the commission to adopt rules requiring that before an agency 
administrator or employee may be reimbursed for tuition 
expenses, the executive director must authorize the tuition 
reimbursement payment (Texas Government Code, §656.048). 
HB 3337, which became effective September 1, 2015, was 
intended to provide the appropriate executive-level oversight 
for authorizing payments for potentially costly reimbursements. 
Along with revisions to agency policy, Chapter 9, Subchapter B, 
Employee Training and Education, will also need to be updated 
to reflect the changes of HB 3337. 

In addition to updating §9.15, Reimbursement, revisions are 
adopted to other areas of Chapter 9, to improve clarity and 
reflect current TCEQ training practices. 

Section by Section Discussion 

The commission adopts amended §9.11, Definitions, in order to 
reduce repetition in the existing rule. Additionally, the commis-
sion adopts amending the title of §9.11 from "Definition" to "Def-
inition of Training." 

The commission adopts amended §9.12, Scope, in order to re-
duce repetition in the existing rule. Additionally, the commis-
sion adopts amending the title of §9.12 from "Scope" to "Training 
Components." 

The commission adopts amended §9.13, Eligibility, to remove 
outdated program language and to clarify the functions of the 
Training Unit to mirror updates to agency policy (OPP 16.01, 
Training and Development). 

The commission adopts amended §9.15, Reimbursement, to 
implement HB 3337, which requires the commission to adopt 
rules requiring that before an agency administrator or employee 
may be reimbursed for tuition expenses, the executive director 
must authorize the tuition reimbursement payment (Texas Gov-
ernment Code, §656.048). Additionally, the commission adopts 
amended §9.15 to remove outdated program language and to 
clarify the functions of the Training Unit to mirror updates to 
agency policy (OPP 16.01, Training and Development). 

The commission adopts amended §9.16, Training Records, to 
remove outdated program language and to clarify the functions 
of the Training Unit to mirror updates to agency policy (OPP 
16.01, Training and Development). 

The commission adopts amended §9.17, At-Will Employment 
Status, to clarify that participation in the agency's training and 

education programs does not affect an employee's at-will sta-
tus. 

Final Regulatory Impact Determination 

The commission reviewed the adopted rulemaking in light of the 
regulatory analysis requirements of Texas Government Code, 
§2001.0225, and determined that the adopted rulemaking is not 
subject to Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 because it does 
not meet the definition of a "major environmental rule" as de-
fined in the statute. Furthermore, it does not meet any of the 
four applicability requirements listed in Texas Government Code, 
§2001.0225(a). 

A "major environmental rule" means a rule, the specific intent 
of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks to human 
health from environmental exposure and that may adversely af-
fect in a material way the economy, productivity, competition, 
jobs, the environment, or the public health and safety of the 
state or a sector of the state. Because the specific intent of the 
adopted rulemaking is procedural in nature and revises proce-
dures concerning how training reimbursements are approved, 
the rulemaking does not meet the definition of a "major environ-
mental rule." 

The commission invited public comment regarding the Draft 
Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination during the public 
comment period. No comments were received during the public 
comment period. 

Takings Impact Assessment 

The commission evaluated this adopted rulemaking action and 
performed a preliminary analysis of whether the adopted rule-
making is subject to Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007. 
The primary purpose of the adopted rulemaking is to revise 
TCEQ rules regarding the approval process for reimbursing 
trainings and to reflect current changes to how TCEQ conducts 
training. Promulgation and enforcement of the rules will not 
burden private real property. Further, the adopted rulemaking 
does not affect private property in a manner which restricts 
or limits an owner's right to the property that would otherwise 
exist in the absence of governmental action. Consequently, the 
adopted rulemaking action does not meet the definition of a 
takings under Texas Government Code, §2007.002(5). 

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program 

The commission reviewed the adopted rules and found that they 
are neither identified in Coastal Coordination Act Implementa-
tion Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(b)(2) or (4), nor will they affect any 
action/authorization identified in Coastal Coordination Act Imple-
mentation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(a)(6). Therefore, the adopted 
rules are not subject to the Texas Coastal Management Program 
(CMP). 

The commission invited public comment regarding the consis-
tency with the CMP during the public comment period. No com-
ments were received on the CMP. 

Public Comment 

The commission offered a public hearing on August 2, 2016. The 
comment period closed on August 8, 2016. The commission did 
not receive any comments on this rulemaking. 

Statutory Authority 

The amendments are adopted under the authority of the Texas 
Government Code, §656.048, concerning Rules Relating to 
Training and Education, which provides the commission au-
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♦ ♦ ♦ 

thority to adopt rules requiring that before an administrator 
or employee of the agency may be reimbursed under Texas 
Government Code, §656.047(b), the executive head of the 
agency must authorize the tuition reimbursement payment; and 
Texas Government Code, §2001.004, concerning Requirement 
to Adopt Rules of Practice and Index Rules, Orders, and Deci-
sions, which requires state agencies to adopt procedural rules. 

Additionally, the amendments are adopted under the Texas Wa-
ter Code (TWC), §5.103, concerning Rules, which authorizes the 
commission to adopt rules necessary to carry out its powers and 
duties under the TWC; and TWC, §5.105, concerning General 
Policy, which authorizes the commission by rule to establish and 
approve all general policy of the commission. 

The adopted amendments implement House Bill 3337, Texas 
Government Code, §656.041 et seq. (State Employee's Training 
Act), and TWC, §5.103, Rules. 

§9.15. Reimbursement. 

(a) Employee training opportunities. 

(1) Funding for employee training is provided by the Hu-
man Resources and Staff Services Division or the employee's division. 

(2) The employee's division also funds travel-related ex-
penses for training participation. 

(b) Education assistance program. Upon the recommendation 
of the employee's division director and with approval of the executive 
director, the employee's respective division funds may be used to re-
imburse the employee for specific tuition-related expenses. To qualify 
for reimbursement, the employee must successfully complete the re-
quested course at an accredited institution of higher education, and the 
course must be: 

(1) directly related to improving specific knowledge and 
skills pertinent to essential job functions of the current or prospective 
position; 

(2) needed for a special job assignment; or 

(3) required for a career ladder promotion. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 4, 

2016 

TRD-201605711 
David Timberger 
Director, General Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: November 24, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2613 

CHAPTER 101. GENERAL AIR QUALITY 
RULES 
SUBCHAPTER F. EMISSIONS EVENTS AND 
SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE, STARTUP, AND 
SHUTDOWN ACTIVITIES 

DIVISION 3. OPERATIONAL REQUIRE-
MENTS, DEMONSTRATIONS, AND ACTIONS 
TO REDUCE EXCESSIVE EMISSIONS 
30 TAC §101.222 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ, 
agency, or commission) adopts an amendment to §101.222, 
concerning Demonstrations. 

The amendment to §101.222 is adopted with change to the pro-
posed text as published in the July 22, 2016, issue of the Texas 
Register (41 TexReg 5343) and will be republished. 

The adoption of §101.222(k) and (l) will be submitted to the 
United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as a 
revision to the State Implementation Plan (SIP). 

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Adopted 
Rule 

Texas Rules' 

In 2003, TCEQ established an affirmative defense rule for "cer-
tain emissions events." The rule sets forth criteria that incentivize 
good operation and maintenance practices to minimize or avoid 
excess emissions and, if met, allow an owner or operator to avail 
itself of the affirmative defense. 

The affirmative defense in §101.222(b) - (e) is available only 
for certain types of excess emissions, specifically from non-ex-
cessive upset events and unplanned maintenance, startup, and 
shutdown (MSS) activities. To be eligible for the affirmative de-
fense, these events must have been unplanned and unavoid-
able, and properly reported. 

The affirmative defense rules were last amended in 2005 and 
approved by EPA in 2010 (75 FR 68989 (November 10, 2010)). 
When EPA approved the Texas affirmative defense criteria as 
part of the Texas SIP in 2010, EPA acknowledged that there may 
be times when a source may not be able to meet emission limita-
tions during periods of startup, shutdown, or malfunction (SSM). 
In this approval, EPA referenced its 1999 policy, stating "in the 
course of an enforcement action for penalties, a source could 
assert the affirmative defense and the burden would be on the 
source to prove enumerated factors, including that the period of 
excess emissions was minimized to the extent practicable and 
that the emissions were not due to faulty operations or disrepair 
of equipment." 

EPA defended its 2010 SIP approval of §101.222(b) - (e) when 
this approval was challenged, and ultimately upheld by the 
United States Circuit Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit (Fifth 
Circuit) in 2013. (Luminant Generation Co. LLC v. EPA, 714 
F.3d 841 (5th Cir. 2013)) 

Petition to EPA 

On June 30, 2011, Sierra Club filed a petition for rulemaking 
with the EPA Administrator regarding, among other things, how 
state and local air agencies' rules in EPA-approved SIPs treat 
excess emissions during periods of SSM. In response, on Feb-
ruary 12, 2013, EPA proposed its finding that numerous SIPs 
across the country were approved with "broad and loosely de-
fined provisions to control excess emissions." Although Texas 
was not included in the Sierra Club's petition nor subject to the 
2013 proposal, on September 17, 2014 (79 FR 55945), EPA sup-
plemented its original proposal to add the Texas SIP, specifically 
finding that §101.222(b) - (e) is substantially inadequate to meet 
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Federal Clean Air Act (FCAA) requirements, and adopted this 
position in its final rulemaking. On June 12, 2015, EPA published 
its final action on the petition (80 FR 33839). In that notice, EPA 
stated it was clarifying, restating, and revising its guidance con-
cerning its interpretation of the FCAA requirements with respect 
to treatment in SIPs of excess emissions during periods of SSM. 

Specifically, EPA rescinded its interpretation that the FCAA al-
lows states to elect to create narrowly tailored affirmative de-
fense provisions in SIPs. Instead, EPA promulgated its new in-
terpretation of the FCAA as prohibiting affirmative defense pro-
visions in SIPs based on EPA's conclusion that the enforcement 
structure in FCAA, §113 and §304 precludes any affirmative de-
fense provisions that would operate to limit a court's jurisdiction 
or discretion to determine the appropriate remedy in an enforce-
ment action. As a result, in the final rule, EPA issued a SIP Call 
for 36 states, including Texas, finding that certain SIP provisions 
regarding excess emissions due to SSM are substantially inad-
equate to meet FCAA requirements and established a due date 
of November 22, 2016, for submittal of SIP revisions to address 
this finding. EPA based its final rule position on the decision in 
NRDC v. EPA, 749 F.3d (District of Columbia Circuit (D.C. Cir-
cuit) 2014), regarding an EPA National Emission Standards for 
Hazardous Air Pollutants rule. 

TCEQs Response to EPAs SSM SIP Call'' 

The commission disagrees with EPA's interpretation that an af-
firmative defense as to penalties is not available for enforcement 
of SIP violations. EPA's SSM SIP Call has been challenged, and 
is pending in the United States Court of Appeals for the District 
of Columbia (D.C. Circuit), by the State of Texas, TCEQ, several 
Texas industry groups, 18 other states, approximately 23 indus-
try groups and trade associations, and several electric generat-
ing companies. Five environmental groups have intervened on 
behalf of EPA. 

While the commission's rule adoption is not removing its affirma-
tive defense rule from the Texas SIP, the commission is adding 
§102.222(k) to address EPA's SSM SIP Call. EPA's SSM SIP 
Call states, "the EPA has now concluded that the enforcement 
structure of the (f)CAA, embodied in section 113 and section 304, 
precludes any affirmative defense provisions that would operate 
to limit a court's jurisdiction or discretion to determine the appro-
priate remedy in an enforcement action." (80 FR 33851 (June 
12, 2015)) Because adopted §101.222(k) clarifies that the sec-
tion does not operate to limit a court's jurisdiction, it directly re-
sponds to and satisfies EPA's SSM SIP Call with regard to Texas. 

Adopted subsection (l) provides that adopted subsection (k) will 
not be applicable until all appeals regarding the EPA's SSM SIP 
Call, as it applies to §101.222(b) - (e), have ended and there is a 
final and non-appealable court decision that upholds the EPA's 
SSM SIP Call. 

Subsections (k) and (l) are not severable and are adopted to be 
submitted to EPA for approval of both subsections as part of the 
Texas SIP. 

Section Discussion 

§101.222, Demonstrations 

Adopted §101.222(k) states that the use of the affirmative de-
fenses in subsections (b) - (e) are not intended to limit a fed-
eral court's jurisdiction or discretion to determine the appropriate 
remedy in an enforcement action. 

Adopted §101.222(l) delays the applicability of §101.222(k) until 
all appeals regarding the EPA's SSM SIP Call, as it applies to 
§101.222(b) and (e), have ended and there is a final and nonap-
pealable court decision that upholds the EPA's SSM SIP Call. 

The commission is not adopting and does not intend to amend 
or remove subsections (a) - (j) and, therefore, did not solicit com-
ment on those subsections. The references to "the effective date 
of this section" in subsection (h) was adopted by the commission 
on December 14, 2005, and because those deadlines have ex-
pired, the commission is not extending those deadlines with the 
new effective date of the rule due to the addition of subsections 
(k) and (l). 

Final Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination 

The commission reviewed the adopted rulemaking in light of the 
regulatory impact analysis (RIA) requirements of Texas Govern-
ment Code, §2001.0225, and determined that the rulemaking 
does not meet the definition of a "major environmental rule" as 
defined in that statute, and in addition, if it did meet the definition, 
would not be subject to the requirement to prepare an RIA. 

A major environmental rule means a rule, the specific intent of 
which is to protect the environment or reduce risks to human 
health from environmental exposure, and that may adversely af-
fect in a material way the economy, a sector of the economy, pro-
ductivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the public health 
and safety of the state or a sector of the state. The specific 
intent of the adopted rule is to respond to the EPA's SSM SIP 
Call by adding new text to explain that the use of the affirma-
tive defenses in §101.222(b) - (e) are not intended to limit a fed-
eral court's jurisdiction or discretion to determine the appropriate 
remedy in an enforcement action, with delayed applicability until 
completion of the litigation and a final and non-appealable court 
decision that upholds the EPA's SSM SIP Call. 

Additionally, even if the rule met the definition of a "major 
environmental rule," the rulemaking does not meet any of the 
four applicability criteria for requiring an RIA for a major envi-
ronmental rule, which are listed in Texas Government Code, 
§2001.0225(a). Texas Government Code, §2001.0225, applies 
only to a major environmental rule, the result of which is to: 1) 
exceed a standard set by federal law, unless the rule is specif-
ically required by state law; 2) exceed an express requirement 
of state law, unless the rule is specifically required by federal 
law; 3) exceed a requirement of a delegation agreement or 
contract between the state and an agency or representative 
of the federal government to implement a state and federal 
program; or 4) adopt a rule solely under the general powers of 
the agency instead of under a specific state law. 

The adopted rule would implement requirements of the FCAA. 
Under 42 United States Code (USC), §7410, each state is re-
quired to adopt and implement a SIP containing adequate pro-
visions to implement, attain, maintain, and enforce the National 
Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) within the state. While 
42 USC, §7410, generally does not require specific programs, 
methods, or emission reductions in order to meet the standard, 
state SIPs must include specific requirements as specified by 42 
USC, §7410. The provisions of the FCAA recognize that states 
are in the best position to determine what programs and controls 
are necessary or appropriate in order to meet the NAAQS. This 
flexibility allows states, affected industry, and the public to collab-
orate on the best methods for attaining the NAAQS for the spe-
cific regions in the state. Even though the FCAA allows states 
to develop their own programs, this flexibility does not relieve a 
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state from developing a program that meets the requirements of 
42 USC, §7410. States are not free to ignore the requirements 
of 42 USC, §7410, and must develop programs to assure that 
their SIPs provide for implementation, attainment, maintenance, 
and enforcement of the NAAQS within the state. The specific 
intent of the adopted rule is to respond to the EPA's SSM SIP 
Call by adding new text to explain that the use of the affirma-
tive defenses in §101.222(b) - (e) is not intended to limit a fed-
eral court's jurisdiction or discretion to determine the appropriate 
remedy in an enforcement action, with delayed applicability until 
completion of the litigation and a final and non-appealable court 
decision that upholds the EPA's SSM SIP Call. 

The requirement to provide a fiscal analysis of regulations in the 
Texas Government Code was amended by Senate Bill 633 (SB 
633 or bill) during the 75th Texas Legislature, 1997. The intent 
of SB 633 was to require agencies to conduct an RIA of extra-
ordinary rules. These are identified in the statutory language as 
major environmental rules that will have a material adverse im-
pact and will exceed a requirement of state law, federal law, or a 
delegated federal program, or are adopted solely under the gen-
eral powers of the agency. With the understanding that this re-
quirement would seldom apply, the commission provided a cost 
estimate for SB 633 that concluded, "based on an assessment 
of rules adopted by the agency in the past, it is not anticipated 
that the bill will have significant fiscal implications for the agency 
due to its limited application." The commission also noted that 
the number of rules that would require assessment under the 
provisions of the bill was not large. This conclusion was based, 
in part, on the criteria set forth in the bill that exempted rules from 
the full RIA unless the rule was a major environmental rule that 
exceeds a federal law. Because of the ongoing need to meet 
federal requirements, the commission routinely proposes and 
adopts rules incorporating or designed to satisfy specific fed-
eral requirements. The legislature is presumed to understand 
this federal scheme. If each rule proposed by the commission 
to meet a federal requirement was considered to be a major en-
vironmental rule that exceeds federal law, then each of those 
rules would require the RIA contemplated by SB 633. This con-
clusion is inconsistent with the conclusions reached by the com-
mission in its cost estimate and by the Legislative Budget Board 
in its fiscal notes. The commission contends that the intent of 
SB 633 was only to require the full RIA for rules that are extra-
ordinary in nature. While the adopted rule may have a broad 
impact, that impact is no greater than is necessary or appropri-
ate to meet the requirements of the FCAA and, in fact, creates no 
additional impacts since the adopted rule does not exceed the re-
quirement to attain and maintain the NAAQS. For these reasons, 
the adopted rule falls under the exception in Texas Government 
Code, §2001.0225(a), because it is required by, and does not 
exceed, federal law. 

The commission consistently applied this construction to its rules 
since this statute was enacted in 1997. Since that time, the legis-
lature revised the Texas Government Code, but left this provision 
substantially unamended. It is presumed that "when an agency 
interpretation is in effect at the time the legislature amends the 
laws without making substantial change in the statute, the legis-
lature is deemed to have accepted the agency's interpretation." 
(Central Power & Light Co. v. Sharp, 919 S.W.2d 485, 489 
(Tex. App. Austin 1995), writ denied with per curiam opinion 
respecting another issue, 960 S.W.2d 617 (Tex. 1997); Bullock 
v. Marathon Oil Co., 798 S.W.2d 353, 357 (Tex. App. Austin 
1990, no writ); Cf. Humble Oil & Refining Co. v. Calvert, 414 
S.W.2d 172 (Tex. 1967); Dudney v. State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. 

Co., 9 S.W.3d 884, 893 (Tex. App. Austin 2000); Southwestern 
Life Ins. Co. v. Montemayor, 24 S.W.3d 581 (Tex. App. Austin 
2000, pet. denied); and Coastal Indust. Water Auth. v. Trinity 
Portland Cement Div., 563 S.W.2d 916 (Tex. 1978)) 

The commission's interpretation of the RIA requirements is 
also supported by a change made to the Texas Administrative 
Procedure Act (APA) by the legislature in 1999. In an attempt 
to limit the number of rule challenges based upon APA require-
ments, the legislature clarified that state agencies are required 
to meet these sections of the APA against the standard of "sub-
stantial compliance" (Texas Government Code, §2001.035). 
The legislature specifically identified Texas Government Code, 
§2001.0225, as falling under this standard. As discussed in this 
analysis and elsewhere in this preamble, the commission sub-
stantially complied with the requirements of Texas Government 
Code, §2001.0225. 

The specific intent of the adopted rule is to respond to the EPA's 
SSM SIP Call by adding new text to explain that the use of the 
affirmative defenses in §101.222(b) - (e) are not intended to limit 
a federal court's jurisdiction or discretion to determine the ap-
propriate remedy in an enforcement action, with delayed appli-
cability until completion of the litigation and a final and non-ap-
pealable court decision that upholds the EPA's SSM SIP Call. 
The adopted rule was not developed solely under the general 
powers of the agency, but is authorized by specific sections of 
Texas Health and Safety Code, Chapter 382 (also known as 
the Texas Clean Air Act (TCAA)), and the Texas Water Code, 
which are cited in the Statutory Authority section of this pream-
ble. Therefore, this adopted rulemaking action is not subject to 
the regulatory analysis provisions of Texas Government Code, 
§2001.0225(b). 

The commission invited public comment regarding the Draft 
Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination during the public 
comment period. No comments were received on the RIA 
determination. 

Takings Impact Assessment 

Under Texas Government Code, §2007.002(5), taking means a 
governmental action that affects private real property, in whole or 
in part or temporarily or permanently, in a manner that requires 
the governmental entity to compensate the private real property 
owner as provided by the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to 
the United States Constitution or the Texas Constitution, §17 or 
§19, Article I or restricts or limits the owner's right to the property 
that would otherwise exist in the absence of the governmental 
action; and is the producing cause of a reduction of at least 25% 
in the market value of the affected private real property, deter-
mined by comparing the market value of the property as if the 
governmental action is not in effect and the market value of the 
property determined as if the governmental action is in effect. 

The commission completed a takings impact analysis for the 
adopted rulemaking action under Texas Government Code, 
§2007.043. The primary purpose of this adopted rulemaking 
action, as discussed elsewhere in this preamble, is to respond 
to the EPA's SSM SIP Call by adding new text to explain that 
the use of the affirmative defenses in §101.222(b) - (e) are not 
intended to limit a federal court's jurisdiction or discretion to 
determine the appropriate remedy in an enforcement action, 
with delayed applicability until completion of the litigation and a 
final and non-appealable court decision that upholds the EPA's 
SSM SIP Call. The adopted rule does not create any additional 
burden on private real property. The adopted rule does not 
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affect private real property in a manner that would require 
compensation to private real property owners under the United 
States Constitution or the Texas Constitution. The adoption 
does not affect private real property in a manner that restricts 
or limits an owner's right to the property that would otherwise 
exist in the absence of the governmental action. Therefore, 
the adopted rulemaking does not cause a taking under Texas 
Government Code, Chapter 2007. 

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program 

The commission determined that this rulemaking action relates 
to an action or actions subject to the Texas Coastal Manage-
ment Program (CMP) in accordance with the Coastal Coordina-
tion Act of 1991, as amended (Texas Natural Resources Code, 
§§33.201, et seq.), and commission rules in 30 TAC Chapter 
281, relating to Applications Processing, Subchapter B. As re-
quired by §281.45(a)(3) and 31 TAC §505.11(b)(2), relating to 
Actions and Rules Subject to the Coastal Management Program, 
commission rules governing air pollutant emissions must be con-
sistent with the applicable goals and policies of the CMP. The 
commission reviewed this action for consistency with the CMP 
goals and policies in accordance with the rules of the Coastal 
Coordination Advisory Committee and determined that the ac-
tion is consistent with the applicable CMP goals and policies. 

The CMP goal applicable to this adopted rulemaking action is 
the goal to protect, preserve, and enhance the diversity, quality, 
quantity, functions, and values of coastal natural resource areas 
(31 TAC §501.12(1)). The adopted rule complies with this goal 
by ensuring that the rule meets applicable federal and state re-
quirements for regulation of air quality in these areas. The CMP 
policy applicable to this rulemaking action is the policy that com-
mission rules comply with federal regulations in 40 Code of Fed-
eral Regulations (CFR), to protect and enhance air quality in the 
coastal areas (31 TAC §501.32). Therefore, in accordance with 
31 TAC §505.22(e), the commission affirms that this rulemaking 
action is consistent with CMP goals and policies. 

The commission invited public comment regarding the consis-
tency with the CMP during the public comment period. No com-
ments were received on the CMP. 

Effect on Sites Subject to the Federal Operating Permits Pro-
gram 

Section 101.222 is an applicable requirement under 30 TAC 
Chapter 122, Federal Operating Permits Program. Owners 
or operators subject to the federal operating permit program 
must revise their operating permit consistent with the revision 
process in Chapter 122, upon the effective date of the adopted 
rulemaking. 

Public Comment 

The commission held a public hearing on August 8, 2016. The 
comment period closed on August 8, 2016. The commission 
received comments from Association of Electric Companies of 
Texas (AECT), Environment Texas and Lone Star Chapter of the 
Sierra Club (Environment Texas and LSCSC), Environmental In-
tegrity Project (EIP), EPA, Luminant, Sierra Club, Texas Chem-
ical Council (TCC), Texas Industry Project (TIP), and Texas Oil 
& Gas Association (TXOGA). 

Response to Comments 

General Comments Regarding §101.222 

Comment 

AECT commented that it strongly supports the affirmative de-
fenses in §101.222(b) - (e) for upsets or unplanned MSS activi-
ties, because the affirmative defenses are necessary and critical 
to the air quality regulatory program in Texas. TCEQ's affirmative 
defenses establish stringent criteria that incent operational and 
maintenance practices that help minimize and avoid emissions 
from upsets and unplanned MSS activities. These affirmative 
defenses were developed at EPA's request and were approved 
as part of the Texas SIP. Therefore, AECT, strongly supports re-
taining the affirmative defenses as proposed. 

Response 

The commission agrees that the stringent criteria of the affirma-
tive defense incentivize good operational and maintenance prac-
tices. EPA's comments in response to this rulemaking also ac-
knowledge that the TCEQ's affirmative defenses are "narrowly 
drawn," thus supporting the TCEQ's position that these affirma-
tive defenses are appropriate for minimizing adverse impacts 
from emissions. 

TCEQ continues to maintain that an affirmative defense is appro-
priate for violations that are excess emissions due to emissions 
events (which are upsets and unscheduled MSS activities); un-
planned MSS activities; opacity events; and opacity events re-
sulting from unplanned MSS activities, as long as the criteria for 
an affirmative defense are rigorous and narrowly tailored for con-
sistent and meaningful enforcement while protecting air quality, 
as are those in TCEQ's affirmative defense rule. 

Comment 

TXOGA commented that the TCEQ has an extensive base of 
experience applying EPA- and court-approved criteria to eval-
uate these unavoidable air emissions, and the regulated com-
munity likewise understands the framework and its obligations 
under this program. TXOGA is supportive of the TCEQ's efforts 
in the rule proposal to uphold the law as it specifically applies to 
Texas. 

Response 

The commission appreciates the support and agrees that with 
more than ten years of applying these particular criteria, TCEQ's 
experience is extensive. TCEQ consistently pursues adminis-
trative, as well as civil, enforcement against non-compliant regu-
lated industries in accordance with a vigorous, clearly articulated 
regulatory framework. Texas does not allow industries to release 
excess amounts of air pollution when equipment breaks down 
and when facilities undergo maintenance work. Rather, TCEQ 
has a multifaceted approach to minimize emissions. Scheduling 
MSS activities in an expedited manner prevents greater emis-
sions from malfunctions in the future. For upsets (malfunctions), 
these must be unavoidable to be eligible for an affirmative de-
fense. 

Use of Affirmative Defense 

Comment 

TCC commented that the proposed rule does not alter or restrict 
the authority of federal courts to impose liability, and that the Fifth 
Circuit agrees with this position. 

Response 

The commission agrees that §101.222(k) addresses EPA's con-
cern. In its final rulemaking for the SSM SIP Call, the EPA "con-
cluded that the enforcement structure of the (F)CAA, embodied 
in section 113 and section 304, precludes any affirmative de-
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fense provisions that would operate to limit a court's jurisdiction 
or discretion to determine the appropriate remedy in an enforce-
ment action." (80 FR 88339, 88351(June 12, 2015)). Because 
adopted §101.222(k) clarifies that the section does not operate 
to limit a court's jurisdiction, it directly responds to and satisfies 
EPA's SSM SIP Call with regard to Texas. Further, the commis-
sion agrees that the Fifth Circuit agrees with this position. (Lumi-
nant Generation Co. LLC v. EPA, 714 F.3d 841 (5th Cir. 2013)) 

Comment 

TCC commented that the current Texas affirmative defenses for 
excess emissions due to unplanned MSS activities, upsets, or 
excess opacity events resulting from upsets or MSS activities are 
federally enforceable and operative in federal district court. TCC 
will continue to support TCEQ's efforts to uphold the current case 
law as it specifically applies to Texas through this rule proposal. 

Response 

The commission agrees that the affirmative defense rule is fed-
erally enforceable as an applicable requirement in the Title V 
program, and as part of the SIP. To the extent which some have 
argued that a court or an administering permit authority did not 
have discretion to allow an affirmative defense, enforcement dis-
cretion and use of an affirmative defense remains within their au-
thority, which is appropriate under FCAA, §113 and §304, as well 
as separation of powers principles. In Luminant Generation Co. 
LLC v. EPA, the Fifth Circuit held, contrary to EPA's new find-
ing, that affirmative defenses do not "negate the district court's 
jurisdiction to assess civil penalties using the criteria outlined in 
section 7413(e), or the state permitting authority's power to re-
cover civil penalties." (Luminant Generation Co. LLC v. EPA, 
714 F.3d 841, 853 n. 9 (5th Cir. 2013)) 

Comment 

Environment Texas and LSCSC, EIP, and the Sierra Club com-
mented that the substantive questions regarding the availability 
of an affirmative defense for violations resulting from upsets has 
been largely resolved by federal courts, and by EPA's revised 
policy. The commenters noted that while the affirmative defense 
applied only to penalties and not to injunctive relief, nothing in 
TCEQ's rules trumps the wide discretion that federal courts have 
to adjudicate federal actions. 

Response 

The commission does not agree that the availability of an affirma-
tive defense for violations resulting from upsets has largely been 
resolved by federal courts and by EPA's revised policy with re-
gard to use of affirmative defense for excess emissions from lim-
its in a state's SIP. Rather, EPA erroneously applied the opinion 
of the D.C. Circuit stating that EPA could not include an affirma-
tive defense in its Portland Cement National Emission Standards 
for Hazardous Air Pollutants (NESHAP) rules, which specifically 
noted that the opinion was not a determination for violations of 
SIP limits under FCAA, §110, referencing the Luminant Gener-
ation Co. LLC v. EPA opinion. (NRDC v. EPA, 749 F.3d 1055, 
1064, n.2 (D.C. Circuit 2014)) 

The commission agrees that the TCEQ's current affirmative de-
fense rule does not apply to administrative technical orders and 
actions for injunctive relief. TCEQ has not and does not dispute 
that the federal courts have the discretion and authority to al-
low an affirmative defense, and that is appropriate under FCAA, 
§113 and §304, as well as under separation of powers principles. 

In Luminant Generation Co. LLC v. EPA, the Fifth Circuit held, 
contrary to EPA's new finding, that affirmative defenses do not 
"negate the district court's jurisdiction to assess civil penalties us-
ing the criteria outlined in section 7413(e), or the state permitting 
authority's power to recover civil penalties." (Luminant Genera-
tion Co. LLC v. EPA, 714 F.3d 841, 853 n. 9 (5th Cir. 2013)) 
In the Luminant Generation Co. LLC v. EPA case, TCEQ's am-
icus curie brief stated that, as EPA recognized in its approval of 
TCEQ's affirmative defense rule, "...it is the court that determines 
whether an operator has proved its affirmative defense. And if 
not, it is the court that determines the amount of the penalty. 75 
Fed. Reg. at 68999 ('(I)f the affirmative defense is rejected by 
the court, a judge is still required to determine the appropriate 
penalties in a given case.'). Thus, the availability of the affirma-
tive defense in certain limited cases does not tread on the courts' 
jurisdiction to determine-consistent with EPA's interpretation of 
the Act and the special regime for MSS emissions-whether a 
penalty is appropriate, and, if so, to determine the appropriate 
amount of that penalty. Accordingly, the approved affirmative 
defense rules are entirely consistent with the Clean Air Act's en-
forcement and penalty assessment criteria." 

Comment 

Environment Texas and LSCSC, EIP, and Sierra Club com-
mented that violations of the FCAA are subject to federal civil 
judicial enforcement actions and citizen suits and that, in such 
suits, federal district courts have jurisdiction to assess penalties 
for each violation. Commenters noted that, specifically, FCAA, 
§113(e) lists the criteria the district court must consider in as-
sessing penalties, and because assessing penalties is expressly 
reserved to the federal district courts, neither EPA nor the states 
have the authority under the FCAA to alter the jurisdiction of fed-
eral courts by adopting rules limiting the district courts' penalty 
assessment authority. They further commented that the D.C. 
Circuit agreed with this reasoning, holding that an affirmative 
defense for private civil suits exceeds EPA's statutory authority 
because, under FCAA, §113(e)(1) and §304(a), the decision 
whether to award penalties is for a court, citing NRDC v. EPA, 
749 F.3d 1055 (D.C. Circuit 2014). The commenters noted that 
they agreed with EPA that the reasoning of this opinion applies 
squarely to the question of whether the FCAA allows states to 
establish affirmative defenses in their regulations through the 
SIP process. 

Response 

The commission agrees that FCAA violations are subject to en-
forcement actions by EPA and citizens in federal district court. 

The current affirmative defense criteria are used by the TCEQ in 
making its own enforcement decisions and were never intended 
to restrict the authority of federal courts. The commission does 
not agree that the NRDC v. EPA opinion applies to affirmative 
defenses in SIPs. The D.C. Circuit held that EPA improperly al-
lowed an affirmative defense in its Portland Cement NESHAP 
rule. The court specifically noted that the opinion was not a de-
termination for violations of SIP limits under FCAA, §110, refer-
encing the Fifth Circuit's Luminant Generation Co. LLC v. EPA 
opinion. (NRDC v. EPA, 749 F.3d 1055, 1064, n.2 (D.C. Circuit 
2014)) Further, EPA's revised policy is not consistent with the 
opinion of the Fifth Circuit, which held that TCEQ's affirmative 
defenses are and were never intended to bind a federal court. 

Comment 

AECT commented that any comments suggesting that the affir-
mative defenses in §101.222(b) - (e) interfere with the rights of 
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citizens, such as environmental groups, to pursue enforcement 
under the citizen suit provision of FCAA, §304 are baseless be-
cause AECT is aware of at least four instances in the last few 
years in which environmental groups were allowed to pursue cit-
izen suits against Texas companies based on alleged upsets or 
unplanned MSS activities (including at least two suits that con-
tinued through trial). 

AECT further commented that a defendant company's claim of 
an affirmative defense does not place any additional burden on 
an environmental group plaintiff in a citizen suit because it is 
clear that the defendant company carries the burden to demon-
strate that all of the conditions of the claimed affirmative defense 
are met, citing Luminant Generation Co. LLC v. EPA, 714 F.3d 
841, 855 (5th Cir. 2013); and, went on to comment that even 
when a defendant company claims one of the affirmative de-
fenses in §101.222(b) - (e) in a citizen suit (or an EPA enforce-
ment action in federal district court), the court has the ability to 
determine whether each of the stringent conditions of the affir-
mative defense is met. The commenter also noted that if the 
court determines that any one of those conditions is not met, the 
court should reject the affirmative defense claim. 

Response 

The commission agrees that a party asserting an affirmative de-
fense has the burden of proving to the court that it has met all of 
the elements of the defense. (Luminant Generation Co. LLC v. 
EPA, 714 F.3d 841, 853 n. 9 (5th Cir. 2013)) To the extent which 
some have argued that a court or an administering permit au-
thority did not have discretion to allow an affirmative defense, en-
forcement discretion and use of an affirmative defense remains 
within their authority, which is appropriate under FCAA, §113 and 
§304, as well as separation of powers principles. In Luminant 
Generation Co. LLC v. EPA the Fifth Circuit held, contrary to 
EPA's new finding, that affirmative defenses do not "negate the 
district court's jurisdiction to assess civil penalties using the crite-
ria outlined in section 7413(e), or the state permitting authority's 
power to recover civil penalties." (Luminant Generation Co. LLC 
v. EPA, 714 F.3d 841, 853 n. 9 (5th Cir. 2013)) 

Comment 

Environment Texas and LSCSC, EIP, and Sierra Club com-
mented that while it appeared clear to EPA and to the Fifth 
Circuit that the TCEQ's affirmative defense rules are limited to 
penalties and would not thwart citizen enforcement, TCEQ's 
practices allow industries to treat the narrow defense to penal-
ties as a blanket exemption. The commenters noted that in 
practice, as long as a Texas source reports the excess emis-
sions, state regulators typically "determine," without on-site 
investigations, that all of the affirmative defense criteria are met 
and that, therefore, there were "no violations." The commenters 
noted that in doing so, the State has effectively, and improperly, 
treated the affirmative defense as a blanket exemption. In 
addition, the commenters noted that the affirmative defense as 
it currently exists is also subject to misinterpretation by courts. 

Response 

TCEQ disagrees with the commenters' assertion that its prac-
tices are the equivalent of a blanket exemption from compli-
ance with emission limits. The commission reaffirms its posi-
tion that emissions events are violations. As part of the most 
recent amendment to §101.222, effective January 5, 2006, the 
commission agreed with EPA's comment that assertion of an af-
firmative defense to an enforcement action does not relieve the 
source from liability for a violation of the SIP, but instead allows 

the source to avoid civil penalties when certain criteria are met 
in a judicial or administrative enforcement action. (30 TexReg 
8884, 8922 - 8923 (December 30, 2005)) 

TCEQ consistently pursues administrative, as well as civil, en-
forcement against non-compliant regulated industries in accor-
dance with a vigorous, clearly articulated regulatory framework. 
Texas does not indiscriminately allow industries to release ex-
cess amounts of air pollution when equipment breaks down and 
when facilities undergo maintenance work. Rather, TCEQ has a 
multifaceted approach to minimize emissions from maintenance 
activities and upsets (malfunctions). When a source reports ex-
cess emissions, each report is reviewed by an investigator. Al-
though most investigations occur in-house, the investigations in-
clude a thorough review of the incident. Investigators may ask 
questions pertaining to, for example, the number of previous 
events in order to assess whether there is a pattern of excess 
emissions. Investigators may ask for further information regard-
ing how the event could have been avoided by good design, 
maintenance, and operation. At the conclusion of the investi-
gation, if the regulated entity meets all criteria, and provides suf-
ficient documentation in response to agency requests, then the 
investigator may not penalize the regulated entity for the viola-
tion. The determination does not limit enforcement actions taken 
by other parities for that violation. Further, in Fiscal Year 2015, 
the TCEQ assessed $2,875,661 in administrative penalties re-
lated to emissions events. 

Comment 

Sierra Club commented that power plants and other facilities can 
emit massive amounts of dangerous pollution during periods of 
SSM. Specifically, Sierra Club mentioned that the TCEQ issued 
ten permits in 2011 which authorize particulate matter emissions 
from coal-fired power plants during SSM periods up to 7,616 
pounds per hour, which is far higher than allowable emission 
rates during normal operations, and these permits do not restrict 
the number of SSM events or hours during which the higher lim-
its apply. Further, the commenter noted that based on its' re-
view of 2012 emission inventory data, if a plant were to release 
the amount of particulate pollution allowed during SSM periods, 
those emissions would be so high that the emissions would ac-
count for between 15% and 66% of what is normally emitted dur-
ing an entire year of operations, and these emissions have se-
rious, day-to-day impacts on ordinary Texans. The commenter 
noted that the TCEQ's proposal turns a blind eye to these im-
pacts and will only preserve the status quo. 

Response 

In 2005, the TCEQ amended §101.222 by including an enforce-
ment-based strategy for permitting planned MSS emissions. The 
rule includes a seven-year schedule, for owners and operators 
to obtain authorization of MSS activities for their facilities. In 
response, the regulated community sought and obtained au-
thorization, either through a Permit by Rule, Standard Permit, 
or a case-by-case permit. During the schedule provided for in 
the rule, which has now expired, the regulated community over-
whelmingly responded by seeking authorization of MSS activi-
ties. The authorizations include specific emission limitations and 
durations for planned MSS activities or require certain work prac-
tices be followed. Furthermore, TCEQ reviews maintenance ac-
tivity emissions for Best Available Control Technology, ensures 
an off-property impacts analysis is performed, and the results are 
protective emissions limits on the Maximum Allowable Emission 
Rates Table. Texas is one of very few states that has exten-
sively authorized planned MSS emissions to be permitted in a 
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collaborative effort to control emissions during these operating 
scenarios. 

With regard to power plants, owners and operators of all of the 
electric generating facilities in Texas applied for and were is-
sued permit amendments that authorized MSS activities. When 
these authorizations for MSS activities were sought, increases 
in annual emission rates for the boilers were not requested, be-
cause the owners and operators were able to include the emis-
sions from these additional activities as part of their current al-
lowable emission rates. TCEQ disagrees that these authorized 
emissions are inappropriate and that the proposed amendments 
to the affirmative defense rule ignores impacts from unautho-
rized emissions because they were subject to the permit review 
process described earlier. 

Any planned maintenance activities that TCEQ determines are 
not in compliance with the applicable permit are not authorized 
and may result in additional requirements through enforcement 
actions. Emissions from upsets (also commonly referred to as 
malfunctions) are not authorized and are subject to enforcement. 

As discussed elsewhere, TCEQ consistently pursues adminis-
trative, as well as civil, enforcement against non-compliant reg-
ulated industries in accordance with a vigorous, clearly articu-
lated regulatory framework. Texas does not allow industries to 
release excess amounts of air pollution when equipment breaks 
down and when facilities undergo maintenance work. Rather, 
TCEQ has a multifaceted approach to minimize emissions from 
maintenance activities and upsets (malfunctions). 

Comment 

Environment Texas and LSCSC, EIP, and Sierra Club com-
mented that the EPA's SSM SIP Call to eliminate Texas' 
affirmative defense will deter massive and avoidable emissions 
by driving industries to fix problems rather than hiding behind af-
firmative defenses. The commenters also included a discussion 
regarding a number of specific examples of upsets reported by 
specific companies. 

Response 

TCEQ disagrees that the EPA's SSM SIP Call to eliminate the 
TCEQ's rule regarding affirmative defenses will deter massive 
and avoidable emissions. This is because the affirmative de-
fense rule is applicable only to emissions that were unavoid-
able, among other criteria. Emissions that are avoidable are 
subject to administrative enforcement without an opportunity to 
claim an affirmative defense. The availability of an affirmative 
defense in civil actions will be at the discretion of the court. In 
addition, the criteria used to determine eligibility for the affirma-
tive defense require that regulated entities properly operate and 
maintain pollution control equipment, take prompt action, and 
minimize emissions. The criteria also require that emissions are 
not part of a recurring pattern and that the percentage of a fa-
cility's total annual operating hours during which unauthorized 
emissions occurred are not unreasonably high. This program 
of evaluation and oversight as implemented by TCEQ drives in-
dustries to fix problems in order to be eligible for the affirmative 
defense, not the converse. As stated elsewhere in this pream-
ble, TCEQ has a multifaceted approach to minimize emissions 
from maintenance activities and upsets (malfunctions). When 
a source reports excess emissions, each report is reviewed by 
an investigator. TCEQ consistently pursues administrative, as 
well as civil, enforcement against non-compliant regulated indus-
tries in accordance with a vigorous, clearly articulated regulatory 
framework. 

Comment 

Environment Texas and LSCSC, EIP, and Sierra Club com-
mented that the actual volatile organic compound (VOC) and 
nitrogen oxide (NOX) emissions for flares during SSM events are 
likely significantly higher than what is reported based on EPA's 
recent finding that current VOC and NOx "AP-42" emission 
factors grossly underestimate releases by a factor of 4 and 42 
respectively. 

Response 

The commission disagrees with the commenters' assertion that 
NO x and VOC emissions from flares during SSM events are likely 
much greater than reported based on the EPA's recent finding 
concerning AP-42 emission factors for flares. The EPA did not 
finalize the proposed AP-42 NOx emission factor for flares that 
were 42 times higher than the current factor due to data qual-
ity issues associated with the NOx data. Information regarding 
the EPA's finalized AP-42 emission factors for industrial flares 
and details regarding the data quality issues with the EPA's NOx 

data are available at https://www3.epa.gov/ttn/chief/consentde-
cree/index_consent_decree.html. 

While the EPA's new VOC emission factor for industrial flares 
in AP-42, Section 13.5, is approximately four times higher than 
the previous total hydrocarbon emission factor, the commission 
notes that the TCEQ's emissions inventory guidance (TCEQ 
Publication RG-360/15, January 2016, page A-47) specifies 
that emission factors cannot be used to determine uncom-
busted flared gas emissions and specifically states that the total 
hydrocarbon and VOC emission factors from AP-42, Section 
13.5 should not be used. According to the emissions inventory 
guidance, flare VOC emissions should be calculated using the 
flared gas flow rate, composition, and permitted destruction and 
removal efficiency (DRE). Additionally, the commission expects 
that during SSM events a flare would be likely receiving gas 
streams that are high heat content, i.e., the British thermal units 
per cubic foot of the gas stream is much higher than during 
normal operations. If the flare is operated properly, the DRE 
would be expected to be higher than normal while receiving a 
gas stream that is high in heat content. 

Response to the EPA's SSM SIP Call 

Comment 

EPA commented that the SIP submittal letter should state that 
the submission of the proposed SIP revisions by Texas is being 
made in response to the EPA's SSM SIP Call 80 FR 33839, at 
33968, 33969 (June 12, 2015). 

Response 

The commission's SIP submittal letter states that the submis-
sion of the proposed SIP revisions by Texas is being made in 
response to the EPA's SSM SIP Call. 

Comment 

Luminant commented that each of its lignite and subbituminous 
coal-fired facilities, to varying degrees of significance and along 
with most other sources of air emissions in Texas, are affected 
by EPA's June 12, 2015, EPA's SSM SIP Call, which seeks to 
eliminate the affirmative defenses in §101.222(b) - (e). Thus, 
the TCEQ's response to the EPA's SSM SIP Call directly affects 
Luminant and, in no small measure, the future viability of some of 
its facilities, specifically those that use electrostatic precipitators 
to control particulate matter emissions and opacity. 
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Response 

The commission agrees that, given the broad definition of "emis-
sions event," which applies to all facilities owned or operated by 
regulated entities in Texas, the impact of any rule change is also 
broad. 

Comment 

Luminant commented that EPA's reinterpretation of FCAA re-
quirements that underpin the EPA's SSM SIP Call is just the 
latest flip in a decades-long series of EPA interpretations that 
it seeks to impose on Texas. The commenter noted that from a 
regulated entity perspective, it seems that just as Texas comes 
into compliance with an EPA pronouncement as to the proper 
handling of emissions events, EPA pivots and instructs the State 
to redo its SIP, and Texas, in good faith, tries to comply. 

Response 

Luminant is correct that this rulemaking is the TCEQ's latest re-
sponse to EPA's policy changes over more than 40 years regard-
ing emissions from MSS activities and upsets (or malfunctions), 
following EPA's 1972 approval of the original Texas SIP. (37 FR 
10842, 10895 (May 31, 1972)) 

Until planned MSS emissions began to be authorized by per-
mit on a wide-scale basis in 2007, SIP-approved regulation of all 
MSS activities and upsets generally involved 1) notification of an 
MSS activity or upset to TCEQ (or its predecessor agency); and 
2) a determination by TCEQ whether the emissions occurring 
during the MSS activities or upsets were exempted from com-
plying with any applicable emissions limits. 

In 2000, the commission amended its rules, in response to EPA's 
review of rule amendments made in 1991 and 1997 by TCEQ's 
predecessor agencies, by adding criteria that an owner or op-
erator was required to satisfy before the TCEQ's executive di-
rector would determine that the exemption applied to emissions 
from MSS activities not authorized by a permit (25 TexReg 6750 
- 6751 (Jul. 14, 2000)) EPA approved the exemption language 
that included the more stringent criteria as part of the Texas SIP. 
(65 FR 70729 (Nov. 28, 2000)) Because the criteria must be sat-
isfied before the exemption would apply to emissions from MSS 
activities, the exemption was not automatic, and, instead, it was 
effectively an affirmative defense. (25 TexReg 6750 - 6751 (Jul. 
14, 2000)) 

In response to legislation amending the TCAA, the commission's 
rules were amended to distinguish between "planned" MSS ac-
tivities and "unplanned" MSS activities, as well as adopting as-
sociated specific definitions, including one for "Emissions event." 
That distinction was important for both authorizing MSS activi-
ties and reporting, and possible enforcement of, emissions from 
these activities. TCEQ rules do not define "planned MSS activ-
ity," but define "Unplanned maintenance, startup, or shutdown 
activity" in §101.1(109); "planned" generally means "authorized" 
emissions. It should be noted that "planned" is not the equivalent 
of "scheduled." The use of the term "Scheduled maintenance, 
startup, or shutdown activities" is related to the TCEQ report-
ing requirements for unauthorized emissions, as required by the 
TCAA, THSC, §382.0215; and §101.1(91) and §101.221 of the 
commission's rules. 

In 2003, in response to a subsequent EPA request, TCEQ 
amended language in its rules to replace "exempt from com-
pliance" with applicable limits to "subject to an 'affirmative 
defense'" to enforcement penalties for planned MSS activities. 

(28 TexReg 118 (Jan. 2, 2004)) This affirmative defense for 
emissions from planned MSS activities was temporary. 

In 2005, TCEQ adopted a schedule for phasing out the use of 
that affirmative defense as an incentive for owners and oper-
ators to obtain permit authorization for their planned MSS ac-
tivities, codified in §101.222(h)(1). (30 TexReg 8956 (Dec. 30, 
2005)) EPA approved the commissions' affirmative defense rule, 
§101.222(b) - (e) in 2010. (75 FR 68989 (Nov. 10, 2010)) The 
benefit of authorizing planned MSS activities is broad. Specify-
ing controls or work practices for emissions, as well as including 
monitoring, recordkeeping, and reporting requirements in a per-
mit results in greater environmental benefit and is a more stream-
lined approach to compliance for regulated entities. 

With its SSM SIP Call, EPA is changing its interpretation of the 
FCAA and its policies, requiring yet another change in regulatory 
oversight of emissions from emissions events and unplanned 
MSS activities. 

Comment 

EPA acknowledged that this rulemaking is TCEQ's response to 
the EPA's SSM SIP Call. Sierra Club commented that the pro-
posed rule fails to satisfy the requirements of the FCAA or EPA's 
final policy expressed in the EPA's SSM SIP Call and should not 
be approved. 

TIP supports the TCEQ's proposed changes to §101.222, which 
constitute a response to EPA's SSM SIP Call that is consistent 
with the legal basis for pending judicial challenges to the EPA's 
SSM SIP Call. AECT strongly supports TCEQ's plan to respond 
to the SIP Call by revising §101.222 to explicitly address EPA's 
purported, and recently developed, basis for the SIP Call, which 
is not legally supportable. 

Response 

As stated elsewhere in this preamble, in its final rulemaking for 
the SSM SIP Call, the EPA "concluded that the enforcement 
structure of the (F)CAA, embodied in section 113 and section 
304, precludes any affirmative defense provisions that would op-
erate to limit a court's jurisdiction or discretion to determine the 
appropriate remedy in an enforcement action." (80 FR 88339, 
88351) Because adopted §101.222(k) clarifies that the section 
does not operate to limit a court's jurisdiction, it directly responds 
to and satisfies EPA's SSM SIP Call with regard to Texas. 

Comment 

Environment Texas and LSCSC, EIP, and Sierra Club com-
mented that while Texas is well within its right to challenge the 
EPA's SSM SIP Call in federal court, Texas cannot unilaterally 
choose to ignore the EPA's SSM SIP Call, as it is doing with this 
proposed rule. Rather than following the law, which requires 
compliance with a duly adopted federal rule, Texas is refusing 
to make any changes to its rules unless and until a court makes 
Texas do it. The commenters noted that the proper avenue 
would be for Texas to seek a stay in federal court. The com-
menter also noted that absent a stay, Texas must comply with 
the EPA's SSM SIP Call. 

Response 

The commission initiated this rulemaking in response to EPA's 
SSM SIP Call and §101.222(k) addresses EPA's concern. As 
stated elsewhere in this preamble, in its final rulemaking for the 
EPA's SSM SIP Call, the EPA "concluded that the enforcement 
structure of the (F)CAA, embodied in section 113 and section 
304, precludes any affirmative defense provisions that would 
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operate to limit a court's jurisdiction or discretion to determine 
the appropriate remedy in an enforcement action." (80 FR 
88339, 88351) Therefore, subsection (k) directly responds to 
EPA's SSM SIP Call. 

As the commenters state, Texas is well within its rights to chal-
lenge the EPA's SSM SIP Call. However, revising its SIP to re-
move the affirmative defense rule during the pending litigation 
could be perceived that TCEQ is waiving its position in the litiga-
tion. While EPA calls for removal of the affirmative defense rule, 
its notice in the Federal Register, as quoted earlier, supports the 
rule amendment the commission is adopting in §101.222(k). Al-
though Texas is challenging the EPA's SSM SIP Call, the com-
mission is not ignoring the requirement that Texas submit a re-
vision to its affirmative defense rule. This adopted rule satisfies 
the requirement that TCEQ submit a SIP revision by November 
22, 2016. The adopted amendments will address EPA's concern 
whether Texas and other petitioners prevail, or if EPA prevails. 

Comment 

Environment Texas and LSCSC, EIP, and Sierra Club com-
mented that it seems almost absurd that TCEQ should choose 
to fight EPA on this SIP Call when making a small rule change 
would allow it to continue its current administrative enforcement 
policies without violating federal law. 

EPA commented that it strongly recommends that the TCEQ 
submit a SIP revision that will simply remove §101.222(b) - (e) 
from the Texas SIP. The EPA added that such a SIP revision 
would meet the requirements of the EPA's SSM SIP Call and 
bring the Texas SIP into compliance with FCAA requirements on 
this issue. 

Response 

The commission has made no change to the rule in response 
to these comments. Environment Texas and LSCSC, EIP, and 
Sierra Club characterize the response required by EPA in the 
EPA's SSM SIP Call as "making a small rule change." Presum-
ably, based on their comments, and the fact that EPA "strongly 
recommends" removal of the affirmative defense, these com-
menters are referring to removing the affirmative defense or re-
vising it to be a state-only enforcement option. The affirmative 
defense provisions in §101.222(b) - (e) are an important com-
ponent in the SIP to maintain air quality. When sources ex-
ceed permitted limits due to unplanned MSS activities or mal-
functions, TCEQ reviews these events against these criteria to 
determine if the event was avoidable and assesses whether or 
not operators took measures to minimize emissions. TCEQ has 
extensive reporting requirements for these types of events, and 
every incident reported to the agency is reviewed. Once a re-
port is received, investigators first determine whether the event 
was excessive. This determination hinges on six criteria relat-
ing to the frequency, cause, quantity and impact of emissions, 
duration, percentage of annual operating hours during which the 
emissions event occurred, and the need for MSS activities. In 
order to assess the quantity and impact on human health or the 
environment for excessive emissions events, air modeling of the 
emissions is conducted. The results are compared to state and 
federal standards such as the NAAQS and may also be evalu-
ated by TCEQ toxicologists. The commission seeks to maintain 
the affirmative defense provisions as an integral part of the SIP 
and the air quality program. 

Although the commission is not removing the affirmative de-
fenses in §101.222(b) - (e), this rulemaking is in response to the 

EPA's SSM SIP Call by adoption of rule text that incorporates 
EPA's own language that expresses the EPA's basis for the SIP 
Call. EPA's notice in the Federal Register supports the rule 
amendment the commission is adopting in §101.222(k). The 
EPA "concluded that the enforcement structure of the (F)CAA, 
embodied in section 113 and section 304, precludes any affir-
mative defense provisions that would operate to limit a court's 
jurisdiction or discretion to determine the appropriate remedy 
in an enforcement action." (80 FR 88339, 88351) As some 
commenters for this §101.222(k) rulemaking acknowledge, 
Texas is well within its rights to challenge the EPA's SSM SIP 
Call. Revising the Texas SIP to remove the affirmative defense 
rule during the pending litigation could be perceived that TCEQ 
is waiving its position in the litigation. 

Comment 

Environment Texas and LSCSC, EIP, and Sierra Club com-
mented that TCEQ could remove the affirmative defense 
provisions, as EPA has recommended. The commenters noted 
that this change would give the state maximum enforcement 
discretion while allowing the FCAA, and not state rules, to 
guide enforcement in federal actions by EPA and citizens. 
Alternatively, the commenters noted that TCEQ could retain 
the affirmative defense provisions and explicitly make them 
state-only rules. The commenters noted that this change would 
mean that federal courts would not be bound by the TCEQ's 
affirmative defense rules or decisions, but that state regulators 
would continue to be guided by the affirmative defense criteria 
when deciding whether to pursue enforcement. 

EPA commented that the existing affirmative defenses in 
§101.222(b) - (e) are narrowly drawn and the EPA does not 
believe that the affirmative defenses would interfere with the 
state's required enforcement authority to meet other applicable 
FCAA requirements if TCEQ chooses to retain the affirmative 
defenses for state law purposes. 

Response 

It is the commission's position that the current affirmative de-
fense rule does not limit EPA or citizens from taking enforcement 
action, nor the federal district courts in which the enforcement 
case is brought. The commission recognizes that even with good 
operation and maintenance, mechanical failures occur. When 
these unavoidable events happen, the affirmative defense provi-
sions serve in concert with other program requirements to create 
an incentive for prompt corrective action to minimize emissions. 
As discussed elsewhere, the affirmative defense is an important 
component of the SIP, and therefore, the commission chooses 
to maintain the integrity of the state's plan to control the qual-
ity of the state's air. However, this rulemaking is performed in 
response to EPA's SSM SIP Call to clarify the intent of the appli-
cability and use of an affirmative defense in federal court. The 
commission appreciates EPA's acknowledgement that the previ-
ously approved affirmative defense provisions are narrowly tai-
lored, and do not interfere with the state's enforcement authority. 
The TCEQ enforces against emissions events on a regular ba-
sis. 

With regard to any SIP inadequacy regarding lack of continu-
ous compliance requirements, EPA has failed to actually identify 
a legally sufficient basis for the alleged inadequacies (beyond 
inclusion of an affirmative defense) so that TCEQ can appropri-
ately respond. 

Comment 
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EPA commented that the EPA does not agree that states may in-
clude affirmative defenses in SIP provisions, because such pro-
visions are by design created to alter or eliminate the statutory ju-
risdiction of the federal courts to determine liability and to impose 
the full range of remedies provided in the FCAA. The commenter 
also noted that to the extent that a state elects to have such af-
firmative defense provisions for purposes of state law only, such 
provisions may be appropriate but should not be included in the 
SIP. 

Response 

In its final rulemaking for the SSM SIP Call, the EPA "concluded 
that the enforcement structure of the (F)CAA, embodied in sec-
tion 113 and section 304, precludes any affirmative defense pro-
visions that would operate to limit a court's jurisdiction or discre-
tion to determine the appropriate remedy in an enforcement ac-
tion." (80 FR 88339, 88351) This statement is from the portion of 
the EPA's SSM SIP Call notice regarding EPA's change in policy. 
The commission understands this statement means that EPA is 
not opposed to affirmative defenses in SIPs, but rather affirma-
tive defenses that operate to limit a court's jurisdiction. Because 
adopted §101.222(k) clarifies that §101.222(b) - (e) does not op-
erate to limit a court's jurisdiction, it directly responds to and sat-
isfies EPA's SSM SIP Call with regard to Texas. 

Possible EPA Action 

Comment 

Luminant commented that EPA fails to recognize and acknowl-
edge that Texas has always had a complementary set of rules 
to address SSM in its SIP and many, if not all, of the present 
Texas SIP emissions limits were developed and exist in parallel 
with provisions that applied during these specific phases of op-
eration. Therefore, Luminant expressed concern that the EPA 
intends to act in Texas before judicial review is complete and 
that EPA is attempting to justify that action based on its mistaken 
belief or intentional mischaracterization that its SSM SIP Call is 
requiring Texas to remove a provision that it has only had for a 
few years, as EPA expresses in its initial brief to the D.C. Circuit 
in the EPA's SSM SIP Call litigation. 

Luminant further commented that EPA should exercise restraint, 
accept the proposed rules and not proceed with a Federal Imple-
mentation Plan (FIP) until its latest reinterpretation of the FCAA 
is vetted by the courts. The commenter noted that this is partic-
ularly true for Texas, which is in the enviable position of having 
a decision of the Fifth Circuit that upholds the Texas affirmative 
defense provisions. (Luminant Generation Co. LLC v. EPA, 714 
F.3d 841 (5th Cir. 2013)) 

AECT commented that without this rulemaking by TCEQ, EPA 
could immediately act to issue a FIP to remove §101.222(b) - (e) 
from the SIP prior to a ruling by the Circuit Court for the District of 
Columbia on the litigation challenging the EPA's SSM SIP Call. 

Response 

The commission agrees that the affirmative defense provisions 
are longstanding, and have been effective since 2005. As previ-
ously discussed, the affirmative defense rule is the latest appli-
cable regulatory response to emissions from MSS activities and 
upsets. 

The commission acknowledges that EPA may elect to issue a 
FIP prior to the conclusion of the litigation challenging the EPA's 
SSM SIP Call, but supports EPA exercising restraint in doing so 
until the EPA's SSM SIP Call litigation is complete and acting to 

issue a FIP only if the judicial opinions support such an action by 
EPA. Although Texas is challenging the EPA's SSM SIP Call, the 
commission is not ignoring the requirement that Texas submit a 
revision to its affirmative defense rule. This adopted rule satisfies 
the requirement that TCEQ submit a SIP revision by November 
22, 2016. The adopted amendment addresses EPA's concern 
whether Texas and other petitioners prevail, or if EPA prevails. 
However, if EPA issues a FIP prior to the conclusion of all of the 
litigation regarding the EPA's SSM SIP Call with regard to Texas, 
the commission will review EPA's action and determine what its 
response will be, which may include challenging any final action 
brought by EPA to remove §101.222(b) - (e) from the Texas SIP. 

§101.222(k) and (l) 

Comment 

Luminant commented that proposed §101.222(k) clearly indi-
cates TCEQ's intent to accommodate EPA's concerns if the out-
come of the litigation challenging the EPA's SSM SIP Call is re-
solved in favor of EPA. TIP supports the combination of proposed 
§101.222(k) and (l), which would provide that if the existing affir-
mative defense becomes prohibited based on the pending judi-
cial challenges to the EPA's SSM SIP Call, then the affirmative 
defense will not limit a federal court's jurisdiction or discretion to 
determine the appropriate remedy in an enforcement action. 

Luminant further commented that it is a petitioner alongside the 
State of Texas and other states challenging EPA's SSM SIP Call 
in the D. C. Circuit. (Walter Coke, Inc. v EPA, Case No. 15-1166 
(D.C. Circuit)) Luminant appreciates that implementation of the 
proposed revision in this rulemaking to address EPA's SSM SIP 
Call concerns is made directly dependent on the completion and 
outcome of that litigation. 

Response 

The commission agrees that this rulemaking is to respond to EPA 
and also allow for the resolution of the pending litigation. 

§101.222(k) 

Comment 

AECT commented that the current affirmative defenses in 
§101.222(b) - (e) does not limit a court's jurisdiction or discretion 
to determine the appropriate remedy in an enforcement act, and 
no federal court has interpreted the rule in that way. Therefore, 
the commenter notes that proposed §101.222(k) addresses 
EPA's concern that formed the basis for the EPA's SSM SIP 
Call. 

Response 

The commission agrees that §101.222(k) addresses EPA's con-
cern. In its final rulemaking for the SSM SIP Call, the EPA 
"concluded that the enforcement structure of the (F)CAA, em-
bodied in section 113 and section 304, precludes any affirma-
tive defense provisions that would operate to limit a court's juris-
diction or discretion to determine the appropriate remedy in an 
enforcement action." (80 FR 88339, 88351) Because adopted 
§101.222(k) clarifies that the section does not operate to limit 
a court's jurisdiction, it directly responds to and satisfies EPA's 
SSM SIP Call with regard to Texas. 

In addition, in response to a comment regarding the effect of 
the commission's affirmative defense rules on EPA or citizen en-
forcement, the TCEQ responded, and has since maintained the 
position, that there is no intent to affect those cases, which are 
required to be brought in federal district court. 
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Comment 

EPA commented that merely adding a statement to the SIP that 
the existing affirmative defense provisions "are not intended" to 
affect the federal courts is insufficient because the provisions 
will be perceived as imposing binding requirements that courts 
must adhere to, rather than exercising the full range of authority 
conferred upon the federal courts in the FCAA. The commenter 
noted that to retain such provisions would, at a minimum, lead to 
confusion on the part of regulated entities, regulators, the public, 
and the courts. The commenter noted that in the EPA's SSM SIP 
Call, the EPA has directed states to remove existing affirmative 
defense provisions from SIPs, including those in §101.222(b) 
- (e). Thus, the commenter noted that the proposed revisions 
to add §101.222(k) will not meet the requirements of the EPA's 
SSM SIP Call. 

Response 

As previously discussed, in the EPA's final rulemaking for the 
SSM SIP Call, the EPA "concluded that the enforcement struc-
ture of the (F)CAA, embodied in section 113 and section 304, 
precludes any affirmative defense provisions that would operate 
to limit a court's jurisdiction or discretion to determine the appro-
priate remedy in an enforcement action." (80 FR 88339, 88351). 
Because adopted §101.222(k) clarifies that the section does not 
operate to limit a court's jurisdiction, it directly responds to and 
satisfies EPA's SSM SIP Call with regard to Texas. 

The commission disagrees that this text would lead to confusion 
because it would be perceived or applied as a binding require-
ment on a court. Rather, this rulemaking clarifies that the TCEQ's 
affirmative defense does not bind a court, and therefore, elimi-
nates EPA's concern about its unsupported perception. 

EPA's basis for the SIP call is stated as concern regarding af-
firmative defenses that could be interpreted to impair a federal 
court's jurisdiction. Since that basis is not expressly stated in 
TCEQ's rules, adopted §101.222(k) addresses the basis for the 
EPA's SSM SIP Call, rendering the alleged confusion moot. 

§101.222(l) 

Comment 

AECT commented that the delay in the effective date of 
§101.222(k) that would be provided by §101.222(l) is anticipated 
by EPA. The commenter noted that this is because the EPA's 
SSM SIP Call states that "EPA notes that the state regulatory 
revisions that the state has adopted and submitted for SIP 
approval will most likely be already in effect at the state level 
during the pendency of the EPA's evaluation of and action upon 
the new SIP revision." (80 FR 33849) The commenter noted 
that EPA's use of the term "most likely" shows that it anticipates 
that the rule revisions that are in some proposed SIP revisions 
that states will submit in response to their SIP Calls will not 
be effective while EPA is reviewing and deciding whether to 
approve the states' proposed SIP revisions. 

Luminant commented that to the extent that EPA may voice con-
cerns about a SIP revision that is made contingent on an ex-
ternal event, such as the outcome of the D.C. Circuit litigation, 
that concern would not be a lawful basis for EPA to disapprove 
§101.222(l). Luminant supports establishing a compliance date 
that is contingent on a final decision of the D.C. Circuit holding 
that Texas' affirmative defense is contrary to the FCAA. 

Response 

Adopted §101.222(l) does not establish a requirement con-
tingent on an external event, but rather establishes when the 
adopted amendments become applicable. The rule amendment 
in §101.222(k) fully responds to the EPA's SSM SIP Call and 
is anticipated to become effective on or about November 24, 
2016. Although the final, binding outcome of the litigation is 
likely to be an opinion issued by the D.C. Circuit, that court is not 
named in the rule because that court's opinion could possibly 
be appealed to the United States Supreme Court. 

Comment 

EPA commented that the practical effect of §101.222(l) is that 
substantially inadequate SIP provisions (§101.222(b) - (e)) 
would remain in the SIP for an indefinite period of time, perhaps 
a period of several additional years. The commenter noted that 
even if §101.222(k) were otherwise valid, the EPA does not 
agree that states may include provisions that have the effect of 
deferring a required SIP revision as provided in §101.222(l). The 
commenter noted that such an approach is inconsistent with the 
explicit statutory requirement that states make corrective SIP 
submissions no later than 18 months after the EPA's issuance 
of a SIP call. Thus, the commenter noted that the revision to 
add §101.222(l) will not meet the requirements of the EPA's 
SSM SIP Call. 

Response 

EPA's SSM SIP Call has been challenged and is pending in the 
D.C. Circuit by the State of Texas, TCEQ, several Texas industry 
groups, 18 other states, approximately 23 industry groups and 
trade associations, and several electric generating companies. 
Five environmental groups have intervened on behalf of EPA. 
Section 101.222(l) provides that §101.222(k) would not be ap-
plicable until all appeals regarding the EPA's SSM SIP Call, as it 
applies to §101.222(b)- (e), have ended and the EPA's SSM SIP 
Call is upheld. 

EPA's finding of substantial inadequacy of §101.222(b) - (e) is 
being challenged and until all challenges, including any chal-
lenge of a FIP by EPA, are complete, there is no final determi-
nation that the Texas SIP would include any substantially inad-
equate provisions. The results of this challenge will determine if 
§101.222(b) - (e) are truly inadequate; therefore what revisions, 
if any, are needed for the Texas SIP. In addition, EPA's concern 
that "substantially inadequate SIP provisions (§101.222(b) - (e)) 
would remain in the SIP for an indefinite period of time, perhaps 
a period of several additional years" is not supported by any ev-
idence that retaining the affirmative defense in the Texas SIP 
renders the Texas SIP inadequate to protect air quality. 

The commission agrees that the FCAA requires states revise 
their SIPs in response to a SIP Call. TCEQ is meeting the dead-
line for the EPA's SSM SIP Call required revision with the adop-
tion of §101.222(k) and (l). EPA's conclusion that disagrees with 
the commission's response and basis for the response ignores 
EPA's own SSM SIP Call notice, as previously discussed. 

EPA's comment that the §101.222(l) has the effect of deferring 
a required SIP revision is without merit. However, because the 
rule amendment responds to the EPA's SSM SIP Call, will be ef-
fective as law in the State of Texas, and will be timely submitted 
to EPA, the requirements for a SIP revision will be met. There-
fore, unless EPA is prepared to propose approval and adopt the 
commission's response to the EPA's SSM SIP Call, the commis-
sion urges EPA to exercise restraint in responding to this SIP 
revision. EPA has 18 months to act on the SIP submittal. The 
ongoing litigation, and any potential litigation regarding a FIP, if 
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issued, could be completed within the next 18 months. However, 
if EPA issues a FIP prior to the conclusion of all of the litigation 
regarding the EPA's SSM SIP Call with regard to Texas, the com-
mission will review EPA's action and determine what its response 
will be, which may include challenging any final action brought 
by EPA to remove §101.222(b) - (e) from the Texas SIP. 

Comment 

AECT suggested that part of §101.222(l) be revised to state 
"(p)rovisions Applying..., as it applies to subsections (b) - (e) 
of this section, (SIP Call) have ended and there is a final and 
non-appealable court decision that upholds the SIP Call." AECT 
commented that these changes are necessary because if the af-
firmative defenses in §101.222(b) - (e) were to be "prohibited," 
there would be no need for proposed new §101.222(k). The 
commenter noted that the only scenario in which the affirma-
tive defenses in §101.222(b) - (e) would have any meaning or 
purpose would be if the court upholds the EPA's SSM SIP Call, 
which would leave §101.222(b) - (e) in place for TCEQ to ad-
dress in a proposed SIP revision in response to the EPA's SSM 
SIP Call. 

Response 

If the EPA's SSM SIP Call is upheld, the commission can 
consider a further response to the EPA's SSM SIP Call, and 
may consider maintaining the affirmative defense provisions in 
§101.222(b) - (e) outside of the SIP. If the result of the pending 
litigation results in affirmative defenses not being allowed for 
SIP violations, then the affirmative provisions would be prohib-
ited in that context. The commission is adopting changes to 
§101.222(l) in response to this comment. 

Work Practices for Certain Activities 

Comment 

AECT requested that TCEQ be open to considering the future 
development of rules that would establish work practice stan-
dards based on the existing work practice standards that EPA 
adopted in its rules that apply to MSS activities, such as the work 
practice standards identified in Table 3 of the Mercury and Air 
Toxics Standards (MATS) in 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart UUUUU. 

Response 

The commission acknowledges AECT's request for rules that 
would establish work practice standards be considered. Be-
cause this comment pertains to consideration of a future rule-
making, the commission has made no change to §101.222 in 
response to this comment. 

The federal rule, 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart UUUUU, is an ap-
plicable requirement for the Title V Federal Operating Permit 
Program. As with all rules that are applicable requirements, the 
holder of a Title V permit should evaluate its compliance or per-
mitting obligations. 

Comment 

Luminant recommended that TCEQ consider the incorporating 
work practices recently adopted by EPA in its MATS rule as Max-
imum Achievable Control Technology (MACT) into the TCEQ-is-
sued air permits for these units as emission limits for the startup 
and shutdown phases of operation, regardless as to whether the 
startup or shutdown is planned, unplanned, or as a result of a 
malfunction. The commenter noted that the MATS work prac-
tices function to limit emissions during the startup and shutdown 
phases of operation in a manner that is similar to the elements of 

an affirmative defense. The commenter noted that perhaps most 
important, EPA has determined the steps of the work practices 
to constitute MACT and it is difficult to imagine how EPA could 
object to MACT during the startup and shutdown phases of op-
eration for these units. The commenter noted that as recently as 
July 2016, EPA has defended its final MATS startup and shut-
down work practice standards as a FCAA requirement for con-
tinuous emission standards. See Denial of Petitions for Recon-
sideration of Certain Startup/Shutdown Issues: MATS, page 29, 
as referenced in 81 FR 52347 (August 8, 2016). 

Response 

The commission already authorizes startups and shutdowns 
due to planned maintenance in New Source Review permits. 
The commission acknowledges Luminant's request for New 
Source Review permit conditions that would establish work 
practice standards for startup and shutdowns that are due to 
unplanned circumstances or malfunctions. Because permitting 
practices and rules regarding permitting are located in 30 TAC 
Chapters 106, 116, and 122, the commission has made no 
change to §101.222 regarding incorporating work practices as 
part of permits. 

The federal rule, 40 CFR Part 63, Subpart UUUUU, commonly 
referred to as the "MATS Rule" is an applicable requirement for 
the Title V Federal Operating Permit Program, and therefore Ti-
tle V permittees should evaluate their compliance or permitting 
obligations. 

Statutory Authority 

The amended rule is adopted under Texas Water Code (TWC), 
§5.013, concerning General Jurisdiction of Commission, which 
establishes the general jurisdiction of the commission; TWC, 
§5.102, concerning General Powers, which provides the com-
mission with the general powers to carry out its duties under 
the TWC; TWC, §5.103, concerning Rules, which authorizes 
the commission to adopt rules necessary to carry out its powers 
and duties under the TWC; and TWC, §5.105, concerning Gen-
eral Policy, which authorizes the commission by rule to estab-
lish and approve all general policy of the commission. The rule 
amended is also adopted under Texas Health and Safety Code 
(THSC), §382.002, concerning Policy and Purpose, which es-
tablishes the commission's purpose to safeguard the state's air 
resources, consistent with the protection of public health, gen-
eral welfare, and physical property; THSC, §382.011, concern-
ing General Powers and Duties, which authorizes the commis-
sion to control the quality of the state's air; THSC, §382.012, 
concerning State Air Control Plan, which authorizes the com-
mission to prepare and develop a general, comprehensive plan 
for the proper control of the state's air; THSC, §382.017, con-
cerning Rules, which authorizes the commission to adopt rules 
consistent with the policy and purposes of the Texas Clean Air 
Act; THSC, §382.0215, concerning Assessment of Emissions 
Due to Emissions Events, which defines "emissions event," re-
quires owners and operators of regulated entities to meet certain 
requirements, and requires the commission to centrally track and 
collect information relating to emissions events, including the use 
of electronic reporting; and THSC, §382.0216, concerning Regu-
lation of Emissions Events, which establishes and prescribes cri-
teria for and requires responses to excessive emissions events, 
allows for use of corrective action plans in response to excessive 
emissions events, and authorizes the commission to establish 
an affirmative defense to a commission enforcement action for 
emissions events. 
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In addition, the amended rule is also adopted under Federal 
Clean Air Act, 42 United States Code, §§7401, et seq., which 
requires states to submit State Implementation Plan revisions 
that specify the manner in which the National Ambient Air Qual-
ity Standards will be achieved and maintained within each air 
quality control region of the state. 

The adopted amendment will implement THSC, §§382.002, 
382.011, 382.012, and 382.017. 

§101.222. Demonstrations. 

(a) Excessive emissions event determinations. The executive 
director shall determine when emissions events are excessive. To de-
termine whether an emissions event or emissions events are excessive, 
the executive director will evaluate emissions events using the follow-
ing criteria: 

(1) the frequency of the facility's emissions events; 

(2) the cause of the emissions event; 

(3) the quantity and impact on human health or the envi-
ronment of the emissions event; 

(4) the duration of the emissions event; 

(5) the percentage of a facility's total annual operating 
hours during which emissions events occur; and 

(6) the need for startup, shutdown, and maintenance activ-
ities. 

(b) Non-excessive upset events. Upset events that are deter-
mined not to be excessive emissions events are subject to an affirmative 
defense to all claims in enforcement actions brought for these events, 
other than claims for administrative technical orders and actions for 
injunctive relief, for which the owner or operator proves all of the fol-
lowing: 

(1) the owner or operator complies with the requirements 
of §101.201 of this title (relating to Emissions Event Reporting and 
Recordkeeping Requirements). In the event the owner or operator fails 
to report as required by §101.201(a)(2) or (3), (b), or (e) of this title, the 
commission will initiate enforcement for such failure to report and for 
the underlying emissions event itself. This subsection does not apply 
when there are minor omissions or inaccuracies that do not impair the 
commission's ability to review the event according to this rule, unless 
the owner or operator knowingly or intentionally falsified the informa-
tion in the report; 

(2) the unauthorized emissions were caused by a sudden, 
unavoidable breakdown of equipment or process, beyond the control 
of the owner or operator; 

(3) the unauthorized emissions did not stem from any ac-
tivity or event that could have been foreseen and avoided or planned 
for, and could not have been avoided by better operation and main-
tenance practices or technically feasible design consistent with good 
engineering practice; 

(4) the air pollution control equipment or processes were 
maintained and operated in a manner consistent with good practice for 
minimizing emissions and reducing the number of emissions events; 

(5) prompt action was taken to achieve compliance once 
the operator knew or should have known that applicable emission lim-
itations were being exceeded, and any necessary repairs were made as 
expeditiously as practicable; 

(6) the amount and duration of the unauthorized emissions 
and any bypass of pollution control equipment were minimized and all 

possible steps were taken to minimize the impact of the unauthorized 
emissions on ambient air quality; 

(7) all emission monitoring systems were kept in operation 
if possible; 

(8) the owner or operator actions in response to the unau-
thorized emissions were documented by contemporaneous operation 
logs or other relevant evidence; 

(9) the unauthorized emissions were not part of a frequent 
or recurring pattern indicative of inadequate design, operation, or main-
tenance; 

(10) the percentage of a facility's total annual operating 
hours during which unauthorized emissions occurred was not unrea-
sonably high; and 

(11) the unauthorized emissions did not cause or con-
tribute to an exceedance of the national ambient air quality standards 
(NAAQS), prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) increments, 
or to a condition of air pollution. 

(c) Unplanned maintenance, startup, or shutdown activity. 
Emissions from an unplanned maintenance, startup, or shutdown 
activity that are determined not to be excessive are subject to an 
affirmative defense to all claims in enforcement actions brought for 
these activities, other than claims for administrative technical orders 
and actions for injunctive relief, for which the owner or operator 
proves the emissions were from an unplanned maintenance, startup, 
or shutdown activity, as defined in §101.1 of this title (relating to 
Definitions), and all of the following: 

(1) for a scheduled maintenance, startup, or shutdown 
activity, the owner or operator complies with the requirements of 
§101.211 of this title (relating to Scheduled Maintenance, Startup, 
and Shutdown Reporting and Recordkeeping Requirements). For an 
unscheduled maintenance, startup, and shutdown activity, the owner 
or operator complies with the requirements of §101.201 of this title 
and demonstrates that reporting under §101.211(a) of this title was 
not reasonably possible. Failure to report information that does not 
impair the commission's ability to review the activity, such as minor 
omissions or inaccuracies, will not result in enforcement action and 
loss of opportunity to claim the affirmative defense, unless the owner 
or operator knowingly or intentionally falsified the information in the 
report; 

(2) the periods of unauthorized emissions from any un-
planned maintenance, startup, or shutdown activity could not have 
been prevented through planning and design; 

(3) the unauthorized emissions from any unplanned main-
tenance, startup, or shutdown activity were not part of a recurring pat-
tern indicative of inadequate design, operation, or maintenance; 

(4) if the unauthorized emissions from any unplanned 
maintenance, startup, or shutdown activity were caused by a bypass of 
control equipment, the bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 
personal injury, or severe property damage; 

(5) the facility and air pollution control equipment were op-
erated in a manner consistent with good practices for minimizing emis-
sions; 

(6) the frequency and duration of operation in an unplanned 
maintenance, startup, or shutdown mode resulting in unauthorized 
emissions were minimized and all possible steps were taken to mini-
mize the impact of the unauthorized emissions on ambient air quality; 

(7) all emissions monitoring systems were kept in opera-
tion if possible; 
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(8) the owner or operator actions during the period of unau-
thorized emissions from any unplanned maintenance, startup, or shut-
down activity were documented by contemporaneous operating logs or 
other relevant evidence; and 

(9) unauthorized emissions did not cause or contribute to 
an exceedance of the NAAQS, PSD increments, or a condition of air 
pollution. 

(d) Excess opacity events. Excess opacity events due to an 
upset that are subject to §101.201(e) of this title, or for other opacity 
events where there was no emissions event, are subject to an affirmative 
defense to all claims in enforcement actions for these events, other than 
claims for administrative technical orders and actions for injunctive 
relief, for which the owner or operator proves all of the following: 

(1) the owner or operator complies with the requirements 
of §101.201 of this title. Failure to report information that does not im-
pair the commission's ability to review the event, such as minor omis-
sions or inaccuracies, will not result in enforcement action and loss of 
opportunity to claim the affirmative defense, unless the owner or oper-
ator knowingly or intentionally falsified the information in the report; 

(2) the opacity was caused by a sudden, unavoidable break-
down of equipment or process beyond the control of the owner or op-
erator; 

(3) the opacity did not stem from any activity or event that 
could have been foreseen and avoided or planned for, and could not 
have been avoided by better operation and maintenance practices or by 
technically feasible design consistent with good engineering practice; 

(4) the air pollution control equipment or processes were 
maintained and operated in a manner consistent with good practice for 
minimizing opacity; 

(5) prompt action was taken to achieve compliance once 
the operator knew or should have known that applicable opacity lim-
itations were being exceeded and any necessary repairs were made as 
expeditiously as practicable; 

(6) the amount and duration of the opacity event and any 
bypass of pollution control equipment were minimized and all possible 
steps were taken to minimize the impact of the opacity on ambient air 
quality; 

(7) all emission monitoring systems were kept in operation 
if possible; 

(8) the owner or operator actions in response to the opacity 
event were documented by contemporaneous operation logs or other 
relevant evidence; 

(9) the opacity event was not part of a frequent or recurring 
pattern indicative of inadequate design, operation, or maintenance; and 

(10) the opacity event did not cause or contribute to a con-
dition of air pollution. 

(e) Opacity events resulting from unplanned maintenance, 
startup, or shutdown activity. Excess opacity events, or other opacity 
events where there was no emissions event, that result from an un-
planned maintenance, startup, or shutdown activity that are determined 
not to be excessive are subject to an affirmative defense to all claims 
in enforcement actions brought for these activities, other than claims 
for administrative technical orders and actions for injunctive relief, 
for which the owner or operator proves the opacity resulted from an 
unplanned maintenance, startup, or shutdown activity, as defined in 
§101.1 of this title, and all of the following: 

(1) for excess opacity events that result from a scheduled 
maintenance, startup, or shutdown activity, the owner or operator com-
plies with the requirements of §101.211 of this title. For excess opacity 
events that result from an unscheduled maintenance, startup, and shut-
down activity, the owner or operator complies with the requirements 
of §101.201 of this title and demonstrates that reporting pursuant to 
§101.211(a) of this title was not reasonably possible. Failure to report 
information that does not impair the commission's ability to review the 
event, such as minor omissions or inaccuracies, will not result in en-
forcement action and loss of opportunity to claim the affirmative de-
fense, unless the owner or operator knowingly or intentionally falsified 
the information in the report; 

(2) the opacity was caused by a sudden, unavoidable break-
down of equipment or process beyond the control of the owner or op-
erator; 

(3) the periods of opacity could not have been prevented 
through planning and design; 

(4) the opacity was not part of a recurring pattern indicative 
of inadequate design, operation, or maintenance; 

(5) if the opacity event was caused by a bypass of control 
equipment, the bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, personal 
injury, or severe property damage; 

(6) the facility and air pollution control equipment were op-
erated in a manner consistent with good practices for minimizing opac-
ity; 

(7) the frequency and duration of operation in a startup or 
shutdown mode resulting in opacity were minimized; 

(8) all emissions monitoring systems were kept in opera-
tion if possible; 

(9) the owner or operator actions during the opacity event 
were documented by contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant 
evidence; and 

(10) the opacity event did not cause or contribute to a con-
dition of air pollution. 

(f) Obligations. Subsections (b) - (e) and (h) of this section do 
not remove any obligations to comply with any other existing permit, 
rule, or order provisions that are applicable to an emissions event or 
a maintenance, startup, or shutdown activity. Any affirmative defense 
provided by subsections (b) - (e) and (h) applies only to violations of 
state implementation plan requirements. An affirmative defense cannot 
apply to violations of federally promulgated performance or technol-
ogy based standards, such as those found in 40 Code of Federal Regu-
lations Parts 60, 61, and 63. The affirmative defense is available only 
for emissions that have been reported or recorded. 

(g) Frequent or recurring pattern. Evidence of any past event 
subject to subsections (b) - (e) of this section is admissible and relevant 
to demonstrate a frequent or recurring pattern of events, even if all of 
the criteria in that subsection are proven. 

(h) Planned maintenance, startup, or shutdown activity. Unau-
thorized emissions or opacity events from a maintenance, startup, or 
shutdown activity that are not unplanned that have been reported or 
recorded in compliance with §101.211 of this title are subject to an af-
firmative defense to all claims in enforcement actions brought for these 
activities, other than claims for administrative technical orders and ac-
tions for injunctive relief, for which the owner or operator proves all 
of the criteria listed in subsection (c)(1) - (9) of this section for emis-
sions, or subsection (e)(1) - (9) of this section for opacity events and 
the following: 
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(1) the owner or operator has filed an application to autho-
rize the emissions or opacity by the following dates: 

(A) for facilities in Standard Industrial Classification 
(SIC) code 2911 (Petroleum Refining), one year after the effective date 
of this section; 

(B) for facilities in major group SIC code 28 (Chemi-
cals and Allied Products), except SIC code 2895, two years after the 
effective date of this section; 

(C) for facilities in SIC code 2895 (Carbon Black), four 
years after the effective date of this section; 

(D) for facilities in SIC code 4911 (Electric Services), 
five years after the effective date of this section; 

(E) for facilities in SIC codes 1311 (Crude Petroleum 
and Natural Gas), 1321 (Natural Gas Liquids), 4612 (Crude Petro-
leum Pipelines), 4613 (Refined Petroleum Pipelines), 4922 (Natural 
Gas Transmission), 4923 (Natural Gas Transmission and Distribution), 
six years after the effective date of this section; and 

(F) for all other facilities, seven years after the effective 
date of this section. 

(2) an owner or operator who filed an application listed in 
paragraph (1) of this subsection has provided prompt response for any 
requests by the executive director for information regarding that appli-
cation. 

(i) The affirmative defense in subsection (h) of this section will 
expire upon the earlier of one year after the application deadlines in 
subsection (h)(1)(A) and (C) - (F) of this section, or the issuance or 
denial of a permit applied for under subsection (h)(1)(A) and (C) - (F) 
of this section, or voidance of an application filed under subsection 
(h)(1)(A) and (C) - (F) of this section. The affirmative defense in sub-
section (h) of this section will expire upon the earlier of two years after 
the application deadline in subsection (h)(1)(B) of this section or the 
issuance or denial of a permit applied for under subsection (h)(1)(B) 
of this section, or voidance of an application filed under subsection 
(h)(1)(B) of this section. If the permit application remains pending 
after the affirmative defense expires, the commission will use enforce-
ment discretion for all claims in enforcement actions brought for excess 
emissions from planned maintenance, startup, or shutdown activities, 
other than claims for administrative technical orders and actions for in-
junctive relief for which the owner or operator proves the criteria in 
subsections (c) and (e) of this section, until the issuance or denial of a 
permit applied for under subsection (h)(1) of this section, or voidance 
of an application filed under subsection (h)(1) of this section. 

(j) The executive director shall process permit applications 
referenced in subsection (h) of this section in accordance with the 
schedule set out in §116.114 of this title (relating to Application 
Review Schedule). 

(k) Federal court jurisdiction. Subsections (b) - (e) of this sec-
tion are not intended to limit a federal court's jurisdiction or discretion 
to determine the appropriate remedy in an enforcement action. 

(l) Delayed applicability. Subsection (k) of this section does 
not apply until all appeals regarding the United States Environmental 
Protection Agency's rulemaking entitled "State Implementation Plans: 
Response to Petition for Rulemaking; Restatement and Update of 
EPA's SSM Policy Applicable to SIPs; Findings of Substantial In-
adequacy; and SIP Calls To Amend Provisions Applying to Excess 
Emissions During Periods of Startup, Shutdown and Malfunction," 
published in the Federal Register on June 12, 2015, (SIP Call) as it 
applies to subsections (b) - (e) of this section, have ended, and there is 
a final and nonappealable court decision that upholds the SIP Call. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 4, 

2016. 
TRD-201605718 
Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: November 24, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 22, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

CHAPTER 116. CONTROL OF AIR 
POLLUTION BY PERMITS FOR NEW 
CONSTRUCTION OR MODIFICATION 
SUBCHAPTER B. NEW SOURCE REVIEW 
PERMITS 
DIVISION 3. PUBLIC NOTIFICATION AND 
COMMENT PROCEDURES 
30 TAC §§116.130 - 116.134, 116.136, 116.137 
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ, 
agency, or commission) adopts the repeal of §§116.130 -
116.134, 116.136, and 116.137. 

The repeal of §§116.130 - 116.134, 116.136, and 116.137 is 
adopted without changes to the proposal as published in the July 
8, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 4950), with a 
correction on July 22, 2016 (41 TexReg 5458), and will not be 
republished. 

The commission will submit the repeal of §§116.130 - 116.134, 
116.136, and 116.137 to the United States Environmental Pro-
tection Agency (EPA) as a revision to the state implementation 
plan (SIP). 

Background and Summary of the Factual Basis for the Adopted 
Rules 

Sections 116.130 - 116.134, 116.136, and 116.137 were adopted 
August 27, 1993 (18 TexReg 5746), as public notification and 
comment procedures for New Source Review air permit appli-
cations in a rulemaking action that restructured the existing air 
quality permit program rules for the Texas Air Control Board. 
Except for §116.136, these rules were repealed and readopted 
by the Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission 
(TNRCC, predecessor of the TCEQ) on June 17, 1998, and 
re-submitted to the EPA. With the exception of §116.130(c) 
(regarding hazardous air pollutants which are not part of the 
SIP), these rules were approved into the SIP, as published in 
the September 18, 2002, issue of the Federal Register (67 FR 
58709). 

In 1999, the 76th Texas Legislature enacted House Bill (HB) 801, 
which revised public participation in environmental permitting. 
TCEQ adopted rules to implement HB 801 (and other bills) that 
consolidated the public participation rules across the agency as 
published in the September 24, 1999, issue of the Texas Reg-
ister (24 TexReg 8190). That rulemaking included rules in 30 
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TAC Chapter 39 (Public Notice), Subchapters H (Applicability 
and General Provisions) and K (Public Notice of Air Quality Per-
mit Applications), that apply to certain air quality permit applica-
tions declared administratively complete on or after September 
1, 1999. TCEQ submitted portions of the rulemaking to imple-
ment HB 801 to the EPA as revisions to the SIP. The public partic-
ipation rules in Chapter 116 that were superseded by the rules 
adopted to implement HB 801 were not repealed at that time 
because the rules applied to pending applications that were de-
clared administratively complete before September 1, 1999. 

In 2010, TCEQ conducted a rulemaking, published in the June 
18, 2010, issue of the Texas Register (35 TexReg 5198), that 
clarified the public participation requirements for air quality appli-
cations. TCEQ's adoption notice included discussions address-
ing EPA's concerns about TCEQ's SIP submittal of the 1999 
rules to implement HB 801, as well as several TCEQ public par-
ticipation rulemakings for air quality permit applications adopted 
from 1999 - 2010, and the final set of rules submitted as SIP revi-
sions in 2010. EPA's approvals of the 2010 submittal were pub-
lished in the January 6, 2014, issue of the Federal Register (79 
FR 551); the March 30, 2015, issue of the Federal Register (80 
FR 16573); and the October 6, 2015, issue of the Federal Reg-
ister (80 FR 60295). In addition, EPA has approved subsequent 
changes to public participation rules adopted by the commission 
in 2014, as published in the November 20, 2014, issue of the 
Federal Register (79 FR 66626). At the time of this adoption, no 
public participation rules remain pending EPA review. Inclusion 
in the SIP ensures the public participation requirements are fed-
erally enforceable. 

No applications for which §§116.130 - 116.134, 116.136, and 
116.137 are applicable remain pending with the commission. 
Repealing the obsolete rules and revising the SIP by removing 
§§116.130 - 116.134, 116.136, and 116.137 will eliminate any 
possible confusion as to what the applicable public participation 
requirements are in the SIP. The public's opportunity to partici-
pate in the air permitting process will not change nor be affected 
in any way as a result of this repeal. 

Federal Clean Air Act §110(l) 

All revisions to the SIP are subject to EPA's finding that the revi-
sion will not interfere with any applicable requirement concern-
ing attainment and reasonable further progress of the National 
Ambient Air Quality Standards, or any other requirement of the 
Federal Clean Air Act, 42 United States Code (USC), §7410(l). 
This statute has been interpreted to be whether the revision will 
"make air quality worse" (Kentucky Resources Council, Inc. v. 
EPA, 467 F.3d 986 (6th Cir. 2006), cited with approval in Galve-
ston-Houston Association for Smog Prevention (GHASP) v. U.S. 
EPA, 289 Fed. Appx. 745, 2008 WL 3471872 (5th Cir.)). Be-
cause procedural rules have no direct nexus with air quality, and 
because the current applicable public participation rules are ap-
proved as part of the Texas SIP, EPA should find that there is no 
backsliding from the current SIP and that this SIP revision com-
plies with 42 USC, §7410(l). 

Section by Section Discussion 

The commission adopts the repeal of §116.130 (Applicability); 
§116.131 (Public Notification Requirements); §116.132 (Pub-
lic Notice Format); §116.133 (Sign Posting Requirements); 
§116.134 (Notification of Affected Agencies); §116.136 (Public 
Comment Procedures); and §116.137 (Notification of Final 
Action by the Commission), because the rules were superseded 

and are obsolete. These rules apply to air permitting applica-
tions that were administratively complete before September 1, 
1999. No pending applications meet that criterion. 

Final Regulatory Impact Determination 

The commission reviewed the rulemaking action in light of the 
regulatory analysis requirements of Texas Government Code, 
§2001.0225, and determined that the action is not subject to 
Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 because it does not meet 
the definition of a "major environmental rule" as defined in that 
statute. A "major environmental rule" is a rule the specific intent 
of which is to protect the environment or reduce risks to human 
health from environmental exposure and that may adversely af-
fect in a material way the economy, a sector of the economy, pro-
ductivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or the public health 
and safety of the state or a sector of the state. The adopted re-
peal of §§116.130 - 116.134, 116.136, and 116.137 is procedural 
in nature and is not specifically intended to protect the environ-
ment or reduce risks to human health from environmental expo-
sure, nor does it affect in a material way the economy, a sector of 
the economy, productivity, competition, jobs, the environment, or 
the public health and safety of the state or a sector of the state. 
Rather, this rulemaking repeals obsolete rules and proposes that 
EPA remove them from the SIP to ensure there is no confusion 
regarding the applicable rules for public participation for air qual-
ity permit applications. 

As defined in the Texas Government Code, §2001.0225 only ap-
plies to a major environmental rule, the result of which is to: ex-
ceed a standard set by federal law, unless the rule is specifically 
required by state law; exceed an express requirement of state 
law, unless the rule is specifically required by federal law; exceed 
a requirement of a delegation agreement or contract between the 
state and an agency or representative of the federal government 
to implement a state and federal program; or adopt a rule solely 
under the general authority of the commission. The adopted re-
peal of §§116.130 - 116.134, 116.136, and 116.137 does not ex-
ceed an express requirement of state law or a requirement of a 
delegation agreement, and was not developed solely under the 
general powers of the agency, but is authorized by specific sec-
tions of the Texas Government Code and the Texas Water Code 
that are cited in the Statutory Authority section of this preamble. 
Therefore, this rulemaking is not subject to the regulatory anal-
ysis provisions of Texas Government Code, §2001.0225(b). 

The commission invited public comment regarding the Draft 
Regulatory Impact Analysis Determination during the public 
comment period. The commission received no comments. 

Takings Impact Assessment 

The commission evaluated the adopted rulemaking and per-
formed an analysis of whether Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 2007, is applicable. The repeal of §§116.130 - 116.134, 
116.136, and 116.137 is procedural in nature and will not burden 
private real property. The adopted rulemaking does not affect 
private property in a manner that restricts or limits an owner's 
right to the property that would otherwise exist in the absence 
of a governmental action. Consequently, this rulemaking action 
does not meet the definition of a taking under Texas Government 
Code, §2007.002(5). The adopted rulemaking does not directly 
prevent a nuisance or prevent an immediate threat to life or 
property. Therefore, this rulemaking action will not constitute a 
taking under Texas Government Code, Chapter 2007. 

Consistency with the Coastal Management Program 

ADOPTED RULES November 18, 2016 41 TexReg 9157 



♦ ♦ ♦ 

The commission reviewed the rulemaking and found the adop-
tion is a rulemaking identified in the Coastal Coordination Act Im-
plementation Rules, 31 TAC §505.11(b)(2) relating to rules sub-
ject to the Coastal Management Program and will, therefore, re-
quire that goals and policies of the Texas Coastal Management 
Program (CMP) be considered during the rulemaking process. 

The commission reviewed this rulemaking for consistency with 
the CMP goals and policies in accordance with the regulations 
of the Coastal Coordination Advisory Committee and determined 
that the rulemaking is procedural in nature and will have no sub-
stantive effect on commission actions subject to the CMP and is, 
therefore, consistent with CMP goals and policies. 

The commission invited public comment regarding the consis-
tency with the CMP during the public comment period. The com-
mission received no comments. 

Effect on Sites Subject to the Federal Operating Permits Pro-
gram 

All of the requirements in Chapter 116 are applicable require-
ments under 30 TAC Chapter 122 (Federal Operating Permits 
Program). However, the repealed sections are procedural rules 
applicants must follow to be issued a New Source Review per-
mit for applications administratively complete prior to September 
1, 1999, and would not have been directly referenced in Title V 
permits. Therefore, no effect on sites subject to the Federal Op-
erating Permits program is expected because the commission 
adopted the repeal of these rules. 

Public Comment 

The commission held a public hearing on August 2, 2016. The 
comment period closed on August 8, 2016. The commission 
received no comments. 

Statutory Authority 

The repeal is adopted under Texas Water Code, §5.103, Rules 
and §5.105, General Policy; Texas Health and Safety Code 
(THSC), §382.002, Policy and Purpose; THSC, §382.003, 
Definitions; THSC, §382.011, General Powers and Duties; 
THSC, §382.012, State Air Control Plan; THSC, §382.017, 
Rules; THSC, §382.051, Permitting Authority of Commission; 
Rules; THSC, §382.0511, Permit Consolidation and Amend-
ment; THSC, §382.0518, Preconstruction Permit; THSC, 
§382.055, Review and Renewal of Preconstruction Permit; 
THSC, §382.056, Notice of Intent to Obtain Permit or Permit 
Review; Hearing; THSC, §382.058, Notice of and Hearing on 
Construction of Concrete Plant Under Permit by Rule, Standard 
Permit, or Exemption; and 42 United States Code (USC), 
§7401, et seq. 

The adopted repeal implements TWC, §5.103 and §5.105; 
THSC, §§382.002, 382.003, 382.011, 382.012, 382.017, 
382.051, 382.0511, 382.0518, 382.055, 382.056, and 382.058; 
and 42 USC, §7401, et seq. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 4, 

2016. 
TRD-201605719 

Robert Martinez 
Director, Environmental Law Division 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
Effective date: November 24, 2016 
Proposal publication date: July 8, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 239-2141 

TITLE 34. PUBLIC FINANCE 

PART 1. COMPTROLLER OF PUBLIC 
ACCOUNTS 

CHAPTER 3. TAX ADMINISTRATION 
SUBCHAPTER V. FRANCHISE TAX 
34 TAC §3.598 
The Comptroller of Public Accounts adopts amendments to 
§3.598, concerning margin: tax credit for certified rehabilitation 
of certified historic structures, without changes to the proposed 
text as published in the September 30, 2016, issue of the Texas 
Register (41 TexReg 7690). The amendments implement House 
Bill 3230, 84th Legislature, 2015, and memorialize recent policy 
determinations made by the comptroller. Additionally, amend-
ments are made to include the titles of statutes referenced in 
this section. 

Subsection (a) is amended to provide that the effective date is 
January 1, 2015, unless it is otherwise noted. 

Subsection (b)(1), which defines the term "audited cost report," 
is amended to incorporate the definition of "certified public ac-
countant" in the Occupations Code as someone who holds a 
certificate issued under Occupations Code, Chapter 901 (Ac-
countants) or who is an out-of-state practitioner with substantially 
equivalent qualifications, rather than simply referencing the def-
inition. 

Subsection (b)(2), which defines a "certificate of eligibility," is 
amended to identify the information contained in the certificate. 

Subsection (b)(4) is amended to capitalize the title "Secretary of 
the Interior." 

Subsection (b)(6) is amended to implement House Bill 3230, 
which expanded the definition of "eligible costs and expenses" 
in Tax Code, §171.901(4) (Definitions) to include costs and ex-
penses incurred by a nonprofit entity exempt from federal in-
come tax, effective January 1, 2016. Subsection (b)(6) is also 
amended to remove the reference to the Texas Historical Com-
mission's definition of "eligible costs and expenses" provided in 
13 TAC §13.1. The comptroller has determined that the refer-
ence is unnecessary. The Commission's definition, which in-
cludes a reference to 26 C.F.R. §1.48-12(c) (Definition of Qual-
ified Rehabilitation Expenditures), does not provide any addi-
tional information, as the definition of "Internal Revenue Code" in 
Tax Code, §171.0001(9) (General Definitions) already includes 
related regulations adopted by the Internal Revenue Service. 

Subsection (b)(7) is amended to correct a typographical error. 

Subsection (b)(8) is amended to delete the cross-reference to 
Tax Code, §101.003 (Definitions). 

Subsection (h)(2) is amended to provide that a credit for eligible 
costs and expenses that a pass-through entity allocates to its 
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partners, members, or shareholders may be further allocated, 
sold, or assigned. This is based on the comptroller's interpreta-
tion of Tax Code, §171.908 (Sale or Assignment of Credit). 

No comments were received regarding adoption of the amend-
ment. 

This amendment is adopted under Tax Code, §111.002 (Comp-
troller's Rules; Compliance; Forfeiture), which provides the 
comptroller with the authority to prescribe, adopt, and enforce 
rules relating to the administration and enforcement of the 
provisions of Tax Code, Title 2. 

The amendment implements Tax Code, §171.901 (Definitions). 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 2, 

2016. 
TRD-201605686 
Lita Gonzalez 
General Counsel 
Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Effective date: November 22, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 30, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 475-0389 

♦ ♦ ♦ 
TITLE 37. PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORREC-
TIONS 

PART 5. TEXAS BOARD OF PARDONS 
AND PAROLES 

CHAPTER 145. PAROLE 
SUBCHAPTER A. PAROLE PROCESS 
37 TAC §145.18 
The Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles adopts amendments to 
37 TAC Chapter 145, §145.18, concerning action upon review; 
extraordinary vote (HB 1914). The amendments to §145.18 are 
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in the 
August 5, 2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 5712). 
The text of the rule will not be republished. 

The adopted amendment is to add 36 months to subsection 
(a)(3)(A). 

No public comments were received regarding adoption of these 
amendments. 

The amended rule is adopted under Texas Government Code 
§§508.036 508.0441, 508.045, 508.141 and 508.149. Section 
508.036 requires the board to adopt rules relating to the deci-
sion-making processes used by the board and parole panels. 
Sections 508.0441 and 508.045 authorize the Board to adopt 
reasonable rules as proper or necessary relating to the eligibility 
of an offender for release to mandatory supervision and to act on 
matters of release to mandatory supervision. Section 508.141 
provides the board authority to adopt policy establishing the date 
on which the board may reconsider for release an inmate who 
has previously been denied release. Section 508.149 provides 

authority for the discretionary release of offenders on mandatory 
supervision. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 4, 

2016. 
TRD-201605725 
Bettie Wells 
General Counsel 
Texas Board of Pardons and Paroles 
Effective date: November 24, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 5, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 406-5388 

PART 13. TEXAS COMMISSION ON 
FIRE PROTECTION 

CHAPTER 423. FIRE SUPPRESSION 
The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (the commission) 
adopts amendments to Chapter 423, Fire Suppression, Sub-
chapter A, Minimum Standards for Structure Fire Protection 
Personnel Certification, §423.13, concerning International Fire 
Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) Seal, and Subchap-
ter B, Minimum Standards for Aircraft Rescue Fire Fighting 
Personnel §423.211, concerning International Fire Service 
Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) Seal. The amendments are 
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the August 12, 2016, Texas Register (41 TexReg 5965) and will 
not be republished. 

The amendments are adopted to delete "grandfather" language 
that allowed persons holding an active certification issued prior 
to a certain date to automatically qualify for the applicable IFSAC 
seal(s). New language is added to clarify the requirement that 
an individual may only apply for an IFSAC seal from an active 
(non-expired) exam. 

The adopted amendments will ensure that agency rules are in 
compliance with the recommendations of the International Fire 
Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) 

No comments were received regarding the proposal. 

SUBCHAPTER A. MINIMUM STANDARDS 
FOR STRUCTURE FIRE PROTECTION 
PERSONNEL CERTIFICATION 
37 TAC §423.13 
The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties, and §419.032 which allows the commission to appoint fire 
protection personnel. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 
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Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605689 
Tim Rutland 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812 

SUBCHAPTER B. MINIMUM STANDARDS 
FOR AIRCRAFT RESCUE FIRE FIGHTING 
PERSONNEL 
37 TAC §423.211 
The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties and §419.032, which allows the commission to appoint fire 
protection personnel. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605690 
Tim Rutland 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812 

CHAPTER 425. FIRE SERVICE INSTRUCTORS 
37 TAC §425.11 
The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (the commission) 
adopts amendments to Chapter 425, Fire Service Instructors, 
concerning §425.11, International Fire Service Accreditation 
Congress (IFSAC) Seal. The amendments are adopted without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the August 12, 
2016, Texas Register (41 TexReg 5966) and will not be repub-
lished. 

The amendments are adopted to delete "grandfather" language 
that allowed persons holding an active certification issued prior 
to a certain date to automatically qualify for the applicable IFSAC 
seal(s). New language is added to clarify the requirement that 
an individual may only apply for an IFSAC seal from an active 
(non-expired) exam. 

The adopted amendments will ensure that agency rules are in 
compliance with the recommendations of the International Fire 
Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC). 

No comments were received from the public regarding adoption 
of the amendments. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties; and §419.032 which allows the commission to appoint fire 
protection personnel. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605691 
Tim Rutland 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812 

CHAPTER 429. MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 
FIRE INSPECTOR CERTIFICATION 
37 TAC §429.211 
The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (the commission) 
adopts amendments to Chapter 429, Minimum Standards for 
Fire Inspector Certification, concerning §429.211, International 
Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) Seal. The amend-
ments are adopted without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the August 12, 2016, Texas Register (41 TexReg 
5967) and will not be republished. 

The amendments are adopted to delete "grandfather" language 
that allowed persons holding an active certification issued prior 
to a certain date to automatically qualify for the applicable IFSAC 
seal(s). New language is added to clarify the requirement that 
an individual may only apply for an IFSAC seal from an active 
(non-expired) exam. 

The adopted amendments will ensure that agency rules will be in 
compliance with the recommendations of the International Fire 
Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC). 

No comments were received regarding the proposal. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties and §419.032, which allows the commission to appoint fire 
protection personnel. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605692 
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Tim Rutland 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812 

CHAPTER 431. FIRE INVESTIGATION 
The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (the commis-
sion) adopts amendments to Chapter 431, Fire Investigation, 
Subchapter A, Minimum Standards for Arson Investigator 
Certification, §431.13, concerning International Fire Service 
Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) Seal, and Subchapter B, Min-
imum Standards for Fire Investigator Certification, §431.211, 
concerning International Fire Service Accreditation Congress 
(IFSAC) Seal. The amendments are adopted without changes 
to the proposed text as published in the August 12, 2016, Texas 
Register (41 TexReg 5968) and will not be republished. 

The amendments are adopted to delete "grandfather" language 
that allowed persons holding an active certification issued prior 
to a certain date to automatically qualify for the applicable IFSAC 
seal(s). New language is added to clarify the requirement that 
an individual may only apply for an IFSAC seal from an active 
(non-expired) exam. 

The adopted amendments will ensure that agency rules will be in 
compliance with the recommendations of the International Fire 
Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC). 

No comments were received regarding the proposal. 

SUBCHAPTER A. MINIMUM STANDARDS 
FOR ARSON INVESTIGATOR CERTIFICATION 
37 TAC §431.13 
The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties, and §419.032, which allows the commission to appoint fire 
protection personnel. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605693 
Tim Rutland 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812 

SUBCHAPTER B. MINIMUM STANDARDS 
FOR FIRE INVESTIGATOR CERTIFICATION 

37 TAC §431.211 
The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties and §419.032, which allows the commission to appoint fire 
protection personnel. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605694 
Tim Rutland 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812 

CHAPTER 433. MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR 
DRIVER/OPERATOR-PUMPER 
37 TAC §433.7 
The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (the commission) 
adopts amendments to Chapter 433, Minimum Standards for 
Driver/Operator-Pumper, concerning §433.7, International Fire 
Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) Seal. The amend-
ments are adopted without changes to the proposed text as 
published in the August 12, 2016, Texas Register (41 TexReg 
5969) and will not be republished. 

The amendments are adopted to delete "grandfather" language 
that allowed persons holding an active certification issued prior 
to a certain date to automatically qualify for the applicable IFSAC 
seal(s). New language is added to clarify the requirement that 
an individual may only apply for an IFSAC seal from an active 
(non-expired) exam. 

The adopted amendments will ensure that agency rules will be in 
compliance with the recommendations of the International Fire 
Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC). 

No comments were received from the public regarding adoption 
of the amendments. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties; and §419.032 which allows the commission to appoint fire 
protection personnel. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605696 
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Tim Rutland 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812 

CHAPTER 435. FIRE FIGHTER SAFETY 
37 TAC §435.25 
The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (the commission) 
adopts amendments to Chapter 435, Fire Fighter Safety, con-
cerning §435.25, Courage to be Safe So Everyone Goes Home 
Program. The amendments are adopted without changes to 
the proposed text as published in the August 12, 2016, Texas 
Register (41 TexReg 5969) and will not be republished. 

The amendments are adopted to delete obsolete language 
and update ongoing requirements for persons completing the 
Courage to Be Safe course. 

The adopted amendments will ensure that all certified fire pro-
tection personnel appointed to duties with regulated entities will 
be in compliance with the rule requirement. 

No comments were received from the public regarding the adop-
tion of the amendments. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties; and §419.032 which allows the commission to appoint fire 
protection personnel. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605700 
Tim Rutland 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812 

CHAPTER 451. FIRE OFFICER 
The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (the commission) 
adopts amendments to Chapter 451, Fire Officer, Subchapter A, 
Minimum Standards for Fire Officer I, §451.7, concerning Inter-
national Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) Seal, and 
Subchapter B, Minimum Standards for Fire Officer II, §451.207, 
concerning International Fire Service Accreditation Congress 
(IFSAC) Seal. The amendments are adopted without changes 
to the proposed text as published in the August 12, 2016, Texas 
Register (41 TexReg 5970) and will not be republished. 

The amendments are adopted to delete "grandfather" language 
that allowed persons holding an active certification issued prior 
to a certain date to automatically qualify for the applicable IFSAC 

seal(s). New language is added to clarify the requirement that 
an individual may only apply for an IFSAC seal from an active 
(non-expired) exam. 

The adopted amendments will ensure that agency rules will be in 
compliance with the recommendations of the International Fire 
Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC). 

No comments were received regarding the proposal. 

SUBCHAPTER A. MINIMUM STANDARDS 
FOR FIRE OFFICER I 
37 TAC §451.7 
The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties; and §419.032, which allows the commission to appoint fire 
protection personnel. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605697 
Tim Rutland 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812 

SUBCHAPTER B. MINIMUM STANDARDS 
FOR FIRE OFFICER II 
37 TAC §451.207 
The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties, and §419.032, which allows the commission to appoint fire 
protection personnel. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605698 
Tim Rutland 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812 

CHAPTER 453. HAZARDOUS MATERIALS 
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SUBCHAPTER A. MINIMUM STANDARDS 
FOR HAZARDOUS MATERIALS TECHNICIAN 
37 TAC §453.7 
The Texas Commission on Fire Protection (the commission) 
adopts amendments to Chapter 453, Hazardous Materials, 
Subchapter A, Minimum Standards for Hazardous Materials 
Technician §453.7, concerning International Fire Service Ac-
creditation Congress (IFSAC) Seal. The amendments are 
adopted without changes to the proposed text as published in 
the August 12, 2016, Texas Register (41 TexReg 5971) and will 
not be republished. 

The amendments are adopted to delete "grandfather" language 
that allowed persons holding an active certification issued prior 
to a certain date to automatically qualify for the applicable IFSAC 
seal(s). New language is added to clarify the requirement that 
an individual may only apply for an IFSAC seal from an active 
(non-expired) exam. 

The adopted amendments will ensure that agency rules will be in 
compliance with the recommendations of the International Fire 
Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC). 

No comments were received regarding the proposal. 

The amendments are adopted under Texas Government Code, 
Chapter 419, §419.008, which provides the commission the au-
thority to adopt rules for the administration of its powers and du-
ties; and §419.032 which allows the commission to appoint fire 
protection personnel. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 3, 

2016. 
TRD-201605699 
Tim Rutland 
Executive Director 
Texas Commission on Fire Protection 
Effective date: November 23, 2016 
Proposal publication date: August 12, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 936-3812 

TITLE 40. SOCIAL SERVICES AND ASSIS-
TANCE 

PART 12. TEXAS BOARD OF 
OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 
EXAMINERS 

CHAPTER 369. DISPLAY OF LICENSES 
40 TAC §369.1 
The Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners adopts an 
amendment to §369.1, concerning display of licenses, without 
changes to the proposed text as published in the September 9, 
2016, issue of the Texas Register (41 TexReg 6970). The rule 
will not be republished. 

The amendment will remove the requirement regarding the wal-
let-sized license and clarify the online verification of a license. 

The amendment will clarify the section by removing the provi-
sion that the wallet-sized license must be carried by the licensee 
when in practice settings other than the licensee's principal place 
of business. The amendment will also clarify in this section that 
a licensee may provide occupational therapy services accord-
ing to the terms of the license upon online verification of current 
licensure and license expiration date from the Board's license 
verification page by removing language referring only to a new 
licensee with a regular or temporary license. This change will 
align this section with other existing sections that refer to addi-
tional license types that may be verified online. 

No comments were received regarding adoption of the amend-
ment. 

The amendment is adopted under the Occupational Therapy 
Practice Act, Title 3, Subtitle H, Chapter 454, Occupations Code, 
which provides the Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Exam-
iners with the authority to adopt rules consistent with this Act to 
carry out its duties in administering this Act. 

The agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adop-
tion and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency's legal au-
thority. 

Filed with the Office of the Secretary of State on November 7, 

2016. 
TRD-201605730 
John P. Maline 
Executive Director 
Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners 
Effective date: December 1, 2016 
Proposal publication date: September 9, 2016 
For further information, please call: (512) 305-6900 
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